



MICHAEL S. REGAN

MICHAEL A. ABRACZINSKAS

Acting Director

DRAFT

Mr. W. Burch Perry Vice President Edenton Boatworks, LLC 140 Midway Drive Edenton, North Carolina 27932

Dear Mr. Perry:

SUBJECT: Air Quality Permit No. 08995T08

Facility ID: 2100080 Edenton Boatworks, LLC Edenton, Chowan County

Fee Class: Title V PSD Class: Minor

In accordance with your completed Air Quality Permit Application for a Renewal of your Title V permit received March 8, 2016, we are forwarding herewith Air Quality Permit No. 08995T08 to Edenton Boatworks, LLC, Edenton, Chowan County, North Carolina authorizing the construction and operation, of the emission source(s) and associated air pollution control device(s) specified herein. Additionally, any emissions activities determined from your Air Quality Permit Application as being insignificant per 15A North Carolina Administrative Code 02Q .0503(8) have been listed for informational purposes as an "ATTACHMENT." Please note the requirements for the annual compliance certification are contained in General Condition P in Section 3. The current owner is responsible for submitting a compliance certification for the entire year regardless of who owned the facility during the year.

As the designated responsible official it is your responsibility to review, understand, and abide by all of the terms and conditions of the attached permit. It is also your responsibility to ensure that any person who operates any emission source and associated air pollution control device subject to any term or condition of the attached permit reviews, understands, and abides by the condition(s) of the attached permit that are applicable to that particular emission source.

If any parts, requirements, or limitations contained in this Air Quality Permit are unacceptable to you, you have the right to request a formal adjudicatory hearing within 30 days following receipt of this permit, identifying the specific issues to be contested. This hearing request must be in the form of a written petition, conforming to NCGS (North Carolina General Statutes) 150B-23, and filed with both the Office of Administrative Hearings, 6714 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-6714 and the Division of Air Quality, Permitting Section, 1641 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1641. The form for requesting a formal adjudicatory hearing may be obtained upon request from the Office of Administrative Hearings. Please note that this permit will be stayed in its entirety upon receipt of the request for a hearing. Unless a request for a hearing is made pursuant to NCGS 150B-23,

Mr. W. Burch Perry DRAFT Page 2

this Air Quality Permit shall be final and binding 30 days after issuance.

You may request modification of your Air Quality Permit through informal means pursuant to NCGS 150B-22. This request must be submitted in writing to the Director and must identify the specific provisions or issues for which the modification is sought. Please note that this Air Quality Permit will become final and binding regardless of a request for informal modification unless a request for a hearing is also made under NCGS 150B-23.

The construction of new air pollution emission source(s) and associated air pollution control device(s), or modifications to the emission source(s) and air pollution control device(s) described in this permit must be covered under an Air Quality Permit issued by the Division of Air Quality prior to construction unless the Permittee has fulfilled the requirements of GS 143-215.108A(b) and received written approval from the Director of the Division of Air Quality to commence construction. Failure to receive an Air Quality Permit or written approval prior to commencing construction is a violation of GS 143-215.108A and may subject the Permittee to civil or criminal penalties as described in GS 143-215.114B.

Chowan County has not triggered increment tracking under PSD for any pollutants, so no tracking is required.

This Air Quality Permit shall be effective from XXXX until XXXX is nontransferable to future owners and operators, and shall be subject to the conditions and limitations as specified therein.

Should you have any questions concerning this matter, please contact Kevin Godwin, at (919) 707-8480.

Sincerely yours,

William D. Willets, P.E., Chief, Permitting Section Division of Air Quality, NCDENR

Enclosure

c: Heather Ceron, EPA Region 4
 Washington Regional Office
 Central Files
 Connie Horne (cover letter only)

ATTACHMENT 1

Air Quality Permit No. 08895T08 Edenton Boatworks, LLC Edenton North Carolina Facility Insignificant Activities under 15A NCAC 02Q .0503(8)

Emission Source I.D.	Emission Source Description	Regulatory Basis for Exemption
IES-6	Woodworking spray booth	02Q .0503(8)
IEP-11	Woodworking spray booth	02Q .0503(8)
IES-G1	Emergency generator (570 kW) MACT ZZZZ	02Q .0503(8)
IEP-8	Tooling room operations	02Q .0503(8)
IEP-9	Tooling room operations	02Q .0503(8)

- 1. Because an activity is insignificant does not mean that the activity is exempted from an applicable requirement or that the owner or operator of the source is exempted from demonstrating compliance with any applicable requirement.
- 2. When applicable, emissions from stationary source activities identified above shall be included in determining compliance with the permit requirements for toxic air pollutants under 15A NCAC 02D .1100 "Control of Toxic Air Pollutants" or 02Q .0711 "Emission Rates Requiring a Permit".
- 3. For additional information regarding the applicability of GACT see the DAQ page titled "The Regulatory Guide for Insignificant Activities/Permits Exempt Activities". The link to this site is as follows: http://daq.state.nc.us/permits/insig/

ATTACHMENT 2

Air Quality Permit No. 08895T08 Edenton Boatworks, LLC Edenton North Carolina Facility

The following changes were made to the Edenton Boatworks, LLC Air Permit No. 08895T07:

Page No.	Section	Description of Change
Cover letter	N/A	Amended application type; permit revision numbers,
		dates and included updated letterhead.
1	Permit cover page	Amended permit revision numbers and all dates.
N/A	All, Header	Updated permit revision number. Added 0 to 2D and
		2Q regulations.
4	2.1 A.	Removed applicability of 15A NCAC 02D .0958.
6	2.1 B.5.	Included a new condition referencing the
		requirements under 15A NCAC 02D .1111, MACT,
		Subpart DDDDD.
Old page No.	2.1 A.4.	Removed specific condition pertaining to 15A
7		NCAC 02D .0958.
Global	Global	Replaced the word assure with ensure throughout
		permit, except General Conditions.
7	3	Updated General Conditions to latest shell version
		(v4.0).



State of North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality Division of Air Quality

AIR QUALITY PERMIT

Permit No.	Replaces Permit No.(s)	Effective Date	Expiration Date
08895T08	08895T07	DRAFT	DRAFT

Until such time as this permit expires or is modified or revoked, the below named Permittee is permitted to construct and operate the emission source(s) and associated air pollution control device(s) specified herein, in accordance with the terms, conditions, and limitations within this permit. This permit is issued under the provisions of Article 21B of Chapter 143, General Statutes of North Carolina as amended, and Title 15A North Carolina Administrative Codes (15A NCAC), Subchapters 02D and 02Q, and other applicable Laws.

Pursuant to Title 15A NCAC, Subchapter 02Q, the Permittee shall not construct, operate, or modify any emission source(s) or air pollution control device(s) without having first submitted a complete Air Quality Permit Application to the permitting authority and received an Air Quality Permit, except as provided in this permit.

Permittee: Edenton Boatworks, LLC

Facility ID: 2100080

Facility Site Location: 140 Midway Drive

City, County, State, Zip: Edenton, Chowan County, NC 27932

Mailing Address: 140 Midway Drive City, State, Zip: Edenton, NC 27932

Application Number: 2100080.16A Complete Application Date: March 8, 2016

Primary SIC Code: 3732

Division of Air Quality, Washington Regional Office Regional Office Address: 943 Washington Square Mall Washington, NC 27889

Permit issued this the XXth day of XX, XXXX

William D. Willets, P.E., Chief, Permits Section By Authority of the Environmental Management Commission

Table Of Contents

SECTION 1: PERMITTED EMISSION SOURCE (S) AND ASSOCIATED AIR POLLUTION CONTROL DEVICE (S) AND APPURTENANCES

SECTION 2: SPECIFIC LIMITATIONS AND CONDITIONS

- 2.1 Emission Source(s) Specific Limitations and Conditions (Including specific requirements, testing, monitoring, recordkeeping, and reporting requirements)
- 2.2 Multiple Emission Source(s) Specific Limitations and Conditions (Including specific requirements, testing, monitoring, recordkeeping, and reporting requirements)

SECTION 3: GENERAL PERMIT CONDITIONS

ATTACHMENT List of Acronyms

SECTION 1- PERMITTED EMISSION SOURCE (S) AND ASSOCIATED AIR POLLUTION CONTROL DEVICE (S) AND APPURTENANCES

The following table contains a summary of all permitted emission sources and associated air pollution control devices and appurtenances:

Emission Source ID No.	Emission Source Description	Control Device ID No.	Control Device Description
ES-1 MACT VVVV	Assembly Operations	N/A	N/A
ES-2 MACT VVVV	Liner lamination/gelcoating	CD-1	Dry filter system
ES-3 MACT VVVV	Deck Lamination/gelcoating	CD-2 and CD-3	Synthetic filter media
ES-4 MACT VVVV	Hull lamination/gelcoating	CD-4	Synthetic filter media
ES-7 MACT VVVV	Secondary production area	N/A	N/A
ES-5 02D .1109 Case-by- Case MACT, MACT DDDDD	8.9 million Btu per hour No. 2 fuel oil and propane-fired boiler ^{1, 2}	N/A	N/A

The Permittee shall comply with this CAA §112(j) standard until **May 19, 2019**.

The Permittee shall comply with 40 CFR Part 43, Subpart DDDDD, "National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Industrial, Commercial, and Institutional Boilers and Process Heaters," beginning **May 20, 2019**.

SECTION 2 - SPECIFIC LIMITATIONS AND CONDITIONS

2.1 - Emission Source(s) and Control Devices(s) Specific Limitations and Conditions

The emission source(s) and associated air pollution control device(s) and appurtenances listed below are subject to the following specific terms, conditions, and limitations, including the testing, monitoring, recordkeeping, and reporting requirements as specified herein:

A. Fiberglass boat manufacturing operation consisting of:

- Assembly Operations (ID No. ES-1),
- Liner lamination/gelcoating (ID No. ES-2),
- Deck lamination/gelcoating (ID No. ES-3),
- Hull lamination/gelcoating (ID No. ES-4), and
- Secondary production area (ID No. ES-7)

The following table provides a summary of limits and standards for the emission source(s) described above:

The following table provides a summary of films and standards for the emission source(s) described above.			
Regulated Pollutant	Limits/Standards	Applicable Regulation	
Particulate Matter	E=4.10(P ^{0.67}) where P=process weight in tons per hour	15A NCAC 02D .0515	
Visible Emissions	20 percent opacity	15A NCAC 02D .0521	
Odorous Emissions	State-enforceable only - odorous emissions must be controlled	15A NCAC 02D .1806	
Toxic Air	State-enforceable only - See Section 2.2.A.2.	15A NCAC 02D .1100	
Pollutants	State-enforceable only - See Section 2.2.A.1.	15A NCAC 02Q .0711	
Hazardous Air Pollutants	40 CFR 63, Subpart VVVV: MACT for Boat Manufacturing See Section 2.2.B	15A NCAC 02D .1111	

1. 15A NCAC 02D .0515: PARTICULATES FROM MISCELLANEOUS INDUSTRIAL PROCESSES

a. Emissions of particulate matter from this source shall not exceed an allowable emission rate as calculated by the following equation: [15A NCAC 02D .0515(a)]

E = 4.10 x P 0.67 Where E = allowable emission rate in pounds per hour P = process rate in tons per hour

Liquid and gaseous fuels and combustion air are not considered as part of the process weight.

Testing [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(f)]

b. If emissions testing is required, the testing shall be performed in accordance with General Condition JJ. If the results of this test are above the limit given in Section 2.1 A.1.a., above, the Permittee shall be deemed in noncompliance with 15A NCAC 02D .0515.

Monitoring/Recordkeeping/Reporting [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(f)]

c. No monitoring/recordkeeping/reporting is required for particulate emissions from these sources.

2. 15A NCAC 2D .0521: CONTROL OF VISIBLE EMISSIONS

a. Visible emissions from this source shall not be more than 20 percent opacity when averaged over a six-minute period except that six-minute periods averaging not more than 87 percent opacity may occur not more than once in any hour nor more than four times in any 24-hour period.

Testing [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(f)]

b. If emissions testing is required, the testing shall be performed in accordance with General Condition JJ. If the results of this test are above the limit given in Section 2.1 A.2.a., above, the Permittee shall be deemed in noncompliance with 15A NCAC 02D .0521.

Monitoring/Recordkeeping/Reporting [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(f)]

c. No monitoring/recordkeeping/reporting is required for visible emissions from these sources.

STATE-ENFORCEABLE ONLY

3. 15A NCAC 02D .1806: CONTROL AND PROHIBITION OF ODOROUS EMISSIONS

a. The Permittee shall not operate the facility without implementing management practices or installing and operating odor control equipment sufficient to prevent odorous emissions from the facility from causing or contributing to objectionable odors beyond the facility's boundary.

B. No. 2 Fuel Oil and Propane-fired boiler (ID No. ES-5)

The following table provides a summary of limits and standards for the emission source(s) described above:

Regulated Pollutant	Limits/Standards	Applicable Regulation
Particulate Matter	0.567 pounds per million Btu heat input	15A NCAC 02D .0503
Sulfur Dioxide	2.3 pounds per million Btu heat input	15A NCAC 02D .0516
Visible Emissions	20 percent opacity	15A NCAC 02D .0521
Hazardous Air Pollutants	Case-By-Case Maximum Achievable Control Technology (until May 19, 2019)	15A NCAC 02D .1109 (112(j) Case-by-Case MACT)
Hazardous Air Pollutants	Work Practice Standards, Recordkeeping, and Reporting (starting May 20, 2019)	15A NCAC 02D .1111 [40 CFR 63 Subpart DDDDD]

1. 15A NCAC 02D .0503: PARTICULATES FROM FUEL BURNING INDIRECT HEAT EXCHANGERS

a. Emissions of particulate matter from the combustion of list subject fuels that are discharged from this source into the atmosphere shall not exceed 0.567 pounds per million Btu heat input. [15A NCAC 2D .0503(a)]

Testing [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(f)]

b. If emissions testing is required, the testing shall be performed in accordance with General Condition JJ. If the results of this test are above the limit given in Section 2.1 B.1.a., above, the Permittee shall be deemed in noncompliance with 15A NCAC 02D .0503.

Monitoring/Recordkeeping/Reporting [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(f)]

c. No monitoring/recordkeeping/reporting is required for particulate emissions from the firing of No. 2 fuel oil or propane in this source.

2. 15A NCAC 2D .0516: SULFUR DIOXIDE EMISSIONS FROM COMBUSTION SOURCES

a. Emissions of sulfur dioxide from this source shall not exceed 2.3 pounds per million Btu heat input. Sulfur dioxide formed by the combustion of sulfur in fuels, wastes, ores, and other substances shall be included when determining compliance with this standard.

Testing [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(f)]

b. If emissions testing is required, the testing shall be performed in accordance with General Condition JJ. If the results of this test are above the limit given in Section 2.1 B.2.a., above, the Permittee shall be deemed in noncompliance with 15A NCAC 02D .0516.

Monitoring/Recordkeeping/Reporting [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(f)]

c. No monitoring/recordkeeping/reporting is required for sulfur dioxide emissions from the combustion of No. 2 fuel oil or propane for this source.

3. 15A NCAC 2D .0521: CONTROL OF VISIBLE EMISSIONS

a. Visible emissions from this source shall not be more than 20 percent opacity when averaged over a six-minute period except that six-minute periods averaging not more than 87 percent opacity may occur not more than once in any hour nor more than four times in any 24-hour period.

Testing [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(f)]

b. If emissions testing is required, the testing shall be performed in accordance with General Condition JJ. If the results of this test are above the limit given in Section 2.1 B.3.a., above, the Permittee shall be deemed in noncompliance with 15A NCAC 02D .0521.

Monitoring/Recordkeeping/Reporting [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(f)]

c. No monitoring/recordkeeping/reporting is required for visible emissions from the firing of No. 2 fuel oil or propane in this source.

4. 15A NCAC 2D .1109: CAA § 112(j); Case-by-Case MACT for Boilers & Process Heaters

a. The Permittee shall use best combustion practices when operating the affected boiler (ID No. ES-5). The initial compliance date for this work practice standard and the associated monitoring, recordkeeping, and reporting requirements is April 7, 2013. These conditions need not be included on the annual compliance certification until after the initial compliance date.

Monitoring [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(f)]

- b. To assure compliance, the Permittee shall perform an annual boiler inspection and maintenance as recommended by the manufacturer, or as a minimum, the inspection and maintenance requirement shall include the following:
 - i. Inspect the burner, and clean or replace any components of the burner as necessary;
 - ii. Inspect the flame pattern and make any adjustments to the burner necessary to optimize the flame pattern; and,
 - iii. Inspect the system controlling the air-to-fuel ratio, and ensure that it is correctly calibrated and functioning properly.

The Permittee shall conduct at least one tune-up per calendar year to demonstrate compliance with this requirement. The Permittee shall be deemed in noncompliance with 15A NCAC 02D .1109 if the affected boilers are not inspected and maintained as required above.

Recordkeeping [15A NCAC 02O .0508(f)]

- c. The results of inspection and maintenance shall be maintained in a logbook (written or electronic format) on-site and made available to an authorized representative upon request. The logbook shall record the following:
 - The date of each recorded action;
 - ii. The results of each inspection; and,
 - iii. The results of any maintenance performed on the boilers.

The Permittee shall be deemed in noncompliance with 15A NCAC 02D .1109 if these records are not maintained.

Reporting [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(f)]

d. No reporting is required for hazardous air pollutants from the firing of No. 2 fuel oil or propane in this boiler.

5. 15A NCAC 02D .1111: MAXIMUM ACHIEVABLE CONTROL TECHNOLOGY

<u>Applicability</u> [40 CFR 63.7485, §63.7490(d), §63.7499(l)]

- a. For existing units designed to burn liquid fuel, the Permittee shall comply with all applicable provisions, including the monitoring, recordkeeping, and reporting contained in Environmental Management Commission Standard 15A NCAC 02D .1111 "Maximum Achievable Control Technology" (MACT) as promulgated in 40 CFR 63, Subpart DDDDD. "National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Major Sources: Industrial, Commercial, and Institutional Boilers and Process Heaters" and Subpart A "General Provisions."
 - i. For the existing boiler (ID No. ES-5), the Permittee must comply with this Subpart no later than May 20, 2019.

Definitions and Nomenclature [§63.7575]

b. For the purpose of this permit condition, the definitions and nomenclature contained in 40 CFR 63.7575 shall apply.

40 CFR Part 63 Subpart A General Provisions [§63.7565]

c. The Permittee shall comply with the requirements of 40 CFR 63 Subpart A General Provisions according to the applicability of Subpart A to such sources as identified in Table 10 to 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart DDDDD.

Compliance Date [40 CFR 63.7510(e), 63.56(b)]

d. The Permittee shall complete the initial tune up and the one-time energy assessment no later than May 20, 2019.

Notifications [40 CFR 63.7545(e)(8), 63.7530(d),(e),(f)]

- e. The Permittee shall submit a Notification of Compliance Status. The notification shall contain the following:
 - i. A description of the affected unit(s) including identification of which subcategories the unit is in, the design heat input capacity of the unit, and description of the fuel(s) burned.
 - ii. the following certification(s) of compliance, as applicable:
 - A. "This facility complies with the required initial tune-up according to the procedures in.40 CFR 63.7540(a)(10)(i) through (vi)' [i.e condition g.i. through g.v. and m. i.]; and
 - B. "This facility has had an energy assessment performed according to 40 CFR 63.7530(e)" [i.e., condition 2.1 F. 6. k.] and is an accurate depiction of the facility at the time of the assessment.

The notification must be signed by a responsible official and sent before the close of business on the 60th day following the completion of the initial tune up and one-time energy assessment (whichever is later).

General Compliance Requirements [40 CFR 63.7505(a), 63.7500(f)]

f. The Permittee shall be in compliance with the work practice standards in this subpart. These standards apply at all times the affected unit is operating.

Work Practice Standards [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(f)]

- g. The Permittee shall conduct a tune-up of the boiler biennially as specified below.
 - i. As applicable, inspect the burner, and clean or replace any components of the burner as necessary (the Permittee may delay the burner inspection until the next scheduled or unscheduled unit shutdown, but the burner must be inspected at least once every 72 months
 - ii. Inspect the flame pattern, as applicable, and adjust the burner as necessary to optimize the flame pattern. The adjustment should be consistent with the manufacturer's specifications, if available;
 - iii. Inspect the system controlling the air-to-fuel ratio, as applicable, and ensure that it is correctly calibrated and functioning properly (you may delay the inspection until the next scheduled unit shutdown)'
 - iv. Optimize total emissions of carbon monoxide. This optimization should be consistent with the manufacturer's specifications, if available, and with any NO_X requirement to which the unit is subject.
 - v. Measure the concentrations in the effluent stream of carbon monoxide in parts per million, by volume, and oxygen in volume percent, before and after the adjustments are made (measurements may be either on a dry or wet basis, as long as it is the same basis before and after the adjustments are made). Measurements may be taken using a portable CO analyzer.

[40CFR 63.7500(a), (e), 63.7540(a)(10), (a)(11)]

- h. Each biennial tune-up shall be conducted no more than 25 months after the previous tune-up. [40CFR 63.7515(d)]
- i. If the unit is not operating on the required date for a tune-up, the tune-up must be conducted within 30 calendar days of startup. [40 CFR 63.7540(a)(13), 63.7515(g)]
- j. At all times, you must operate and maintain any affected source, including associated air pollution control equipment and monitoring equipment, in a manner consistent with safety and good air pollution control practices for minimizing emissions. Determination of whether such operation and maintenance procedures are being used will be based on information available to the Administrator that may include, but is not limited to, monitoring results, review of operation and maintenance procedures, review of operation and maintenance

records, and inspection of the source. [40 CFR 63.7500(a)(3)]

The Permittee shall be deemed in noncompliance with $15A\ NCAC\ 02D\ .1111$ if these requirements are not met.

Energy Assessment Requirements [§63.7530, §63.7540, 15A NCAC 02Q .0508(f)]

- k. For the existing boiler, the Permittee must have a one-time energy assessment performed by a qualified energy assessor. An energy assessment completed on or after January 1, 2008 satisfies this requirement. The energy assessment must include the following:
 - i. a visual inspection of the boilers,
 - ii. an evaluation of operating characteristics, specifications of energy using systems, operating and maintenance procedures,
 - iii. an inventory of major energy use systems,
 - iv. a review of available architecture and engineering plans, facility operation and maintenance procedures and logs, and fuel usage,
 - v. a review of the facility's energy management program and provide recommendations for improvements consistent with the definition of energy management program,
 - vi. a list of cost-effective energy conservation measures that are within the facility's control,
 - vii. a list of energy savings potential of the energy conservation measures identified,
 - viii. a comprehensive report detailing ways to improve efficiency, the cost of specific improvements, benefits, and the time frame for recouping those investments.

Pursuant to §63.7530(f), the Permittee must submit a Notification of Compliance Status containing the results of the initial compliance demonstration. The Notice of Compliance Status must include a signed certification that the energy assessment has been completed according to Table 3, and that the assessment is an accurate depiction of the facility at the time of the assessment.

The Permittee shall be deemed in noncompliance with 15A NCAC 02D .1111 if the requirements in condition k, are not met.

Subcategory Switch Notification [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(f)]

- 1. If the Permittee switches fuels or makes a physical change to the boiler and the fuel switch or physical change results in the applicability of a different subcategory, the Permittee must provide notice of the date upon which the Permittee switched fuels or made the physical change within 30 days of the switch/change. The notification must identify:
 - i. The name of the owner or operator of the affected source, as defined in §63.7490, the location of the source, the boiler(s) and process heater(s) that have switched fuels, were physically changed, and the date of the notice.
 - ii. The currently applicable subcategory under this subpart.
 - iii. The date upon which the fuel switch or physical change occurred.
- m. The notification required in condition i. above shall be submitted with a permit application consistent with 15A NCAC 02Q .0500 to update the permit with the requirements for the applicable subcategory under 40 CFR 63 Subpart DDDDD.

Recordkeeping Requirements [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(f), 40 CFR 63.7555]

- n. The Permittee shall keep the following:
 - i. A copy of each notification and report submitted to comply with this subpart, including all documentation supporting any Initial Notification or Notification of Compliance Status, or semiannual compliance report that has been submitted, according to the requirements in 40 CFR 63.10(b)(2)(xiv). [40 CFR 63.7555(a)(1)]
 - ii. Maintain on-site and submit, if requested by the Administrator, an annual report containing the information in paragraphs (A) through (C) below:
 - (A) The concentrations of carbon monoxide in the effluent stream in parts per million by volume, and oxygen in volume percent, measured before and after the adjustments of the source;
 - (B) A description of any corrective actions taken as a part of the combustion adjustment; and
 - (C) The type and amount of fuel used over the 12 months prior to the annual adjustment, but only if the unit was physically and legally capable of using more than one type of fuel during that period. Units

sharing a fuel meter may estimate the fuel use by each unit. [40 CFR 63.7540(a)(10)(vi)]

- iii. The associated records for conditions f. through l. including:
 - (A) the occurrence and duration of each malfunction of operation (i.e., process equipment) or the required air pollution control and monitoring equipment. [40 CFR 63.10(b)(2)(ii)]
- iv. maintain records of the calendar date, time, occurrence and duration of each startup and shutdown. [40 CFR 63.7555(i)]
- v. maintain records of the type(s) and amount(s) of fuels used during each startup and shutdown. [40 CFR 63.7555(j)]
- o. The Permittee shall:
 - i. maintain records in a form suitable and readily available for expeditious review;
 - ii. keep each record for 5 years following the date of each occurrence, measurement, maintenance, corrective action, report, or record; and
 - iii. keep each record on site for at least 2 years after the date of each occurrence, measurement, maintenance, corrective action, report, or record. The Permittee can keep the records offsite for the remaining 3 years. [40 CFR 63.7560, 63.10(b)(1)]

The Permittee shall be deemed in noncompliance with 15A NCAC 02D .1111 if records are not maintained.

Reporting Requirements [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(f)]

- p. The Permittee shall submit compliance reports to the DAQ on a 5-year basis. The first report shall cover the period beginning on the compliance date specified in condition d. and ending on the earliest December 31st following a complete 5-year period. Subsequent 5-year reports shall cover the periods from January 1 to December 31. The Permittee shall submit the compliance reports postmarked on or before January 31. 40 CFR 63.7550(a), (b)
 - i. This report must also be submitted electronically through the EPA's Central Data Exchange (CDX) (www.epa.gov/cdx). However, if the reporting form specific to this subpart is not available in CEDRI at the time that the report is due the report the Permittee submit the report to the at the appropriate address listed in 40 CFR 63.13. [40 CFR 63.7550(h)(3)]
- q. The compliance report must contain the following information:
 - Company name and address;
 - ii. Process unit information, emissions limitations, and operating parameter limitations;
 - iii. Date of report and beginning and ending dates of the reporting period;
 - iv. The total operating time during the reporting period;
 - iv. If there are no deviations from the requirements of the work practice requirements in condition g. above, a statement that there were no deviations from the work practice standards during the reporting period; and
 - v. Include the date of the most recent tune-up for each unit required according to condition g. Include the date of the most recent burner inspection if it was not done as scheduled and was delayed until the next scheduled or unscheduled unit shutdown. [40 CFR 63.7550(a) and (c), Table 9]
- r. If you have a deviation from a work practice standard during the reporting period, the report must contain the following information:
 - i. A description of the deviation and which emission limit or operating limit from which you deviated; and
 - ii. Information on the number, duration, and cause of deviations (including unknown cause), as applicable, and the corrective action taken. [40 CFR 63.7550(a) and (d), 63.7540(b), Table 9]

The Permittee shall be deemed in noncompliance with 15A NCAC 02D .1111 if the reporting requirements above are not met.

2.2 - Multiple Emission Source(s) Specific Limitations and Conditions

A. All Emissions Sources

The following table provides a summary of limits and standards for the emission source(s) described above:

Regulated Pollutant	Limits/Standards	Applicable Regulation
Toxic Air	State-enforceable only – See Section 2.2.A.2	15A NCAC 02D .0711
Pollutants	State-enforceable only – See Section 2.2.A.3	15A NCAC 02D .1100

STATE-ENFORCEABLE ONLY

1. 15A NCAC 2Q .0711: TOXIC AIR POLLUTANT EMISSIONS LIMITATION REQUIREMENT

- a. Pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0711 "Emission Rates Requiring a Permit," for each of the below listed toxic air pollutants (TAPs), the Permittee has made a demonstration that facility-wide actual emissions do not exceed the Toxic Permit Emission Rates (TPERs) listed in 15A NCAC 2Q .0711. The facility shall be operated and maintained in such a manner that emissions of any listed TAPs from the facility, including fugitive emissions, will not exceed TPERs listed in 15A NCAC 02Q .0711.
- b. A permit to emit any of the below listed TAPs shall be required for this facility if actual emissions from all sources will become greater than the corresponding TPERs.
- c. PRIOR to exceeding any of these listed TPERs, the Permittee shall be responsible for obtaining a permit to emit TAPs and for demonstrating compliance with the requirements of 15A NCAC 02D.1100 "Control of Toxic Air Pollutants".
- d. In accordance with the approved application, the Permittee shall maintain records of operational information demonstrating that the TAP emissions do not exceed the TPERs as listed below:

TPERs Limitations				
Pollutant (CAS Number)	Carcinogens (lb/yr)	Chronic Toxicants (lb/day)	Acute Systemic Toxicants (lb/hr)	Acute Irritants (lb/hr)
Acetaldehyde (75-07-0)				6.8
Acrolein (107-02-8)				0.02
Aniline (62-53-3)			0.25	
Benzene (71-43-2)	8.18			
Benzo(a)pyrene (50-32-8)	2.2			
Beryllium (7440-41-7)	0.28			
Cadmium (7440-43-9)	0.37			
Ethyl Acetate (141-78-6)			36	
Glycol Ethers (110-80-5)		2.5	0.48	

TPERs Limitations				
Pollutant (CAS Number)	Carcinogens (lb/yr)	Chronic Toxicants (lb/day)	Acute Systemic Toxicants (lb/hr)	Acute Irritants (lb/hr)
Fluorides		0.34	0.064	
Formaldehyde (50-00-0)				0.04
Manganese (7439-96-5)		0.63		
Mercury		0.013		
Methyl Chloroform (71-55-6)		250		64
Methylene Chloride (75-09-2)	1600		0.39	
Methyl Ethyl Ketone (78-93-3)		78		22.4
Methyl Isobutyl Ketone (108-10-1)		52		7.6
n-Hexane (110-54-3)		23		
Sulfuric Acid Mist (7664-93-9)		0.25	0.025	
Toluene (108-88-3)		98		14.4
Xylene (1330-20-7)		57		16.4

STATE-ENFORCEABLE ONLY

3. 15A NCAC 02D .1100: TOXIC AIR POLLUTANT EMISSIONS LIMITATIONS AND REQUIREMENTS

a. Pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .1100 and in accordance with the approved application for an air toxic compliance demonstration, the following permit limit shall not be exceeded:

Emission Source	Toxic Air Pollutant	Emission Limit
Facility-Wide	Arsenic (7440-38-2)	0.028 lbs/yr
Facility-Wide	Styrene (100-42-5)	63.39 lb/Hr
Facility-Wide	2,4- Toluene Diisocyanate (584-84-9)	0.14 lb/Day

- b. For compliance purposes, the Permittee shall submit a semiannual summary report to the Regional Supervisor, DAQ as follows:
 - i. A summary report of the maximum emission rate of each TAP in the appropriate units (pounds/hr or pounds/day) for the pollutants listed in Section 2.2.A.3.a postmarked on or before January 30 of each calendar year for the preceding six-month period between July and December and July 30 of each calendar year for the preceding six-month period between January and June.

B. National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Boat Manufacturing effected sources (ID Nos. ES-1, ES-2, ES-3, ES-4, and ES-7)

1. 15A NCAC 02D .1111: MAXIMUM ACHIEVABLE CONTROL TECHNOLOGY (MACT) – 40 CFR Part 63 Subpart VVVV

a. For all sources located at this facility, the Permittee shall comply with all applicable provisions contained in Environmental Management Commission Standard 15A NCAC 02D .1111, "Maximum Achievable Control Technology" (MACT) as promulgated in 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart VVVV. In the event of any wording discrepancy between the terms of this permit and Federal requirements found at 40 CFR 63, the language found at 40 CFR 63 shall control.

2. 40 CFR 63.5698 OPEN MOLDING RESIN AND GEL COAT OPERATIONS

- a. Excluding those processes listed in Section 2.2.A.2.d below, the Permittee shall limit organic HAP emissions from any open molding operations listed above to the emission limit specified in paragraph (b) of this condition. Operations listed in paragraph (d) are exempt from this limit.
 - i. Production resin.
 - ii. Pigmented gel coat.
 - iii. Clear gel coat.
 - iv. Tooling resin.
 - v. Tooling gel coat.
- b. Limit organic HAP emissions from open molding operations to the limit specified by equation 1 of this condition, based on a 12-month rolling average.

HAP Limit =
$$[46(MR) + 159(MPG) + 291(MCG) + 54(MTR) + 214(MTG)]$$
 (Equation 1)

Where:

HAP Limit = total allowable organic HAP that can be emitted from the open molding operations, kilograms.

MR = mass of production resin used in the past 12 months, excluding any materials exempt under paragraph (d) of this condition, megagrams.

MPG = mass of pigmented gel coat used in the past 12 months, excluding any materials exempt under paragraph (d) of this condition, megagrams.

MCG = mass of clear gel coat used in the past 12 months, excluding any materials exempt under paragraph (d) of this condition, megagrams.

MTR = mass of tooling resin used in the past 12 months, excluding any materials exempt under paragraph (d) of this condition, megagrams.

MTG = mass of tooling gel coat used in the past 12 months, excluding any materials exempt under paragraph (d) of this condition, megagrams.

- c. The open molding emission limit is the same for both new and existing sources.
- d. The materials specified in paragraphs (d)(i) through (iii) of this condition are exempt from the open molding emission limit specified in paragraph (b) of this condition.
 - Production resins (including skin coat resins) that must meet specifications for use in military vessels or must be approved by the U.S. Coast Guard for use in the construction of lifeboats, rescue boats, and other life-saving appliances approved under 46 CFR subchapter Q or the construction of small passenger vessels regulated by 46 CFR subchapter T. Production resins for which this exemption is used must be applied with non-atomizing (non-spray) resin application equipment. A record must be kept of the resins which are being used for this exemption.
 - ii. Pigmented, clear, and tooling gel coat used for part or mold repair and touch up. The total gel coat materials included in this exemption must not exceed 1 percent by weight of all gel coat used at the facility on a 12-month rolling-average basis. A record must be kept of the amount of gel coats which are being used for this exemption and copies of calculations showing that the exempt amount does not exceed 1 percent of all gel coat used.
 - iii. Pure, 100 percent vinylester resin used for skin coats. This exemption does not apply to blends of vinylester and polyester resins used for skin coats. The total resin materials included in the exemption cannot exceed 5 percent by weight of all resin used at the facility on a 12-month rolling-average basis. A record must be kept

of the amount of 100 percent vinylester skin coat resin used per month that is eligible for this exemption and copies of calculations showing that the exempt amount does not exceed 5 percent of all resin used.

3. 40 CFR 63.5731 STANDARDS FOR RESIN AND GEL COAT MIXING OPERATIONS

- a. All resin and gel coat mixing containers with a capacity equal to or greater than 208 liters, including those used for on-site mixing of putties and polyputties, must have a cover with no visible gaps in place at all times.
- b. The work practice standard in paragraph (a) of this condition does not apply when material is being manually added to or removed from a container, or when mixing or pumping equipment is being placed in or removed from a container.
- c. To demonstrate compliance with the work practice standard in paragraph (a) of this condition, the Permittee must visually inspect all mixing containers subject to this standard at least once per month. The inspection should ensure that all containers have covers with no visible gaps between the cover and the container, or between the cover and equipment passing through the cover.
- d. The Permittee must keep records of which mixing containers are subject to this standard and the results of the inspections, including a description of any repairs or corrective actions taken.

4. 40 CFR 63.5734 STANDARDS FOR RESIN AND GEL COAT APPLICATION EQUIPMENT CLEANING OPERATIONS

- a. For routine flushing of resin and gel coat application equipment (e.g., spray guns, flowcoaters, brushes, rollers, and squeegees), the Permittee must use a cleaning solvent that contains no more than 5 percent organic HAP by weight. For removing cured resin or gel coat from application equipment, no organic HAP content limit applies.
- b. The Permittee must store organic HAP-containing solvents used for removing cured resin or gel coat in containers with covers. The covers must have no visible gaps and must be in place at all times, except when equipment to be cleaned is placed in or removed from the container. On containers with a capacity greater than 7.6 liters, the distance from the top of the container to the solvent surface must be no less than 0.75 times the diameter of the container. Containers that store organic HAP-containing solvents used for removing cured resin or gel coat are exempt from the requirements of 40 CFR part 63, subpart T (National Emission Standards for Halogenated Solvent Cleaning). Cured resin or gel coat means resin or gel coat that has changed from a liquid to a solid.

5. 40 CFR 63.5701 COMPLYING WITH THE OPEN MOLDING EMISSION LIMIT

Use one or more of the options listed in paragraphs (a) through (b) of this condition to meet the emission limit in 40 CFR 63.5698 for the resins and gel coats used in open molding operations at the facility.

- a. Maximum achievable control technology (MACT) model point value averaging (emissions averaging) option.
 - Demonstrate that emissions from the open molding resin and gel coat operations that are averaged meet the
 emission limit in 40 CFR 63.5698 using the procedures described in 40 CFR 63.5710. Compliance with this
 option is based on a 12-month rolling average.
 - Those operations and materials not included in the emissions average must comply with paragraph (b) of this condition.
- b. Compliant materials option. Demonstrate compliance by using resins and gel coats that meet the organic HAP content requirements in Table 2 (given below) as contained in 40 CFR 63 subpart VVVV. Compliance with this option is based on a 12-month rolling average.

Table 2 to Subpart VVVV of Part 63 – Alternative Organic HAP Content Requirements for Open Molding Resin and Gel Coat Operations:

For this operation:	And this application method:	You must not exceed this weighted-average organic HAP content (weight percent) requirement:
1. Production resin operations	Atomized (spray)	28 percent
2. Production resin operations	Non-atomized (non-spray)	35 percent
3. Pigmented gel coat operations	Any method	33 percent
4. Clear gel coat operations	Any method	48 percent
5. Tooling resin operations	Atomized (spray)	30 percent
6. Tooling resin operations	Non-atomized (non-spray)	39 percent
7. Tooling gel coat operations	Any method	40 percent

6. 40 CFR 63.5704 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS FOR COMPLYING WITH THE OPEN MOLDING EMISSION LIMIT

- a. Emissions averaging option. For those open molding operations and materials complying using the emissions averaging option, compliance must be demonstrated by performing the steps in paragraphs (a)(1) through (5) of this condition.
 - i. Use the methods specified in 40 CFR 63.5758 to determine the organic HAP content of resins and gel coats.
 - ii. Complete the calculations described in 40 CFR 63.5710 to show that the organic HAP emissions do not exceed the limit specified in 40 CFR 63.5698.
 - iii. Keep records as specified in paragraphs (a)(iii)(1) through (4) of this condition for each resin and gel coat.
 - 1) Hazardous air pollutant content.
 - 2) Amount of material used per month.
 - 3) Application method used for production resin and tooling resin. This record is not required if all production resins and tooling resins are applied with non-atomized technology.
 - Calculations performed to demonstrate compliance based on MACT model point values, as described in 40 CFR 63.5710.
 - iv. Prepare and submit the implementation plan described in 40 CFR 63.5707 to the Division and keep it up to date.
 - v. Submit semiannual compliance reports to the Division as specified in 40 CFR 63.5764.
- b. Compliant materials option. For each open molding operation complying using the compliant materials option, compliance must be demonstrated by performing the steps in paragraphs (b)(i) through (iv) of this condition.
 - i. Use the methods specified in 40 CFR 63.5758 to determine the organic HAP content of resins and gel coats.
 - ii. Complete the calculations described in 40 CFR 63.5713 to show that the weighted-average organic HAP content does not exceed the limit specified in Table 2 40 CFR 63 subpart VVVV.
 - iii. Keep records as specified in paragraphs (b)(iii)(1) through (4) of this condition for each resin and gel coat.
 - 1) Hazardous air pollutant content.
 - 2) Application method for production resin and tooling resin. This record is not required if all production resins and tooling resins are applied with non-atomized technology.
 - 3) Amount of material used per month. This record is not required for an operation if all materials used for that operation comply with the organic HAP content requirements.
 - 4) Calculations performed, if required, to demonstrate compliance based on weighted-average organic HAP content as described in 40 CFR 63.5713.
 - iv. Submit semiannual compliance reports to the Division as specified in 40 CFR 63.5764.

7. 40 CFR 63.5707 IMPLEMENTATION PLAN FOR OPEN MOLDING OPERATIONS

- a. An implementation plan must be prepared for all open molding operations that show compliance by using the emissions averaging option described in 40 CFR 63.5704(a).
- b. The implementation plan must describe the steps that will be taken to bring the open molding operations covered by this subpart into compliance. For each operation included in the emissions average, the Permittee's implementation plan must include the elements listed in paragraphs (b)(i) through (iii) of this condition.
 - i. A description of each operation included in the average.
 - ii. The maximum organic HAP content of the materials used, the application method used (if any atomized resin application methods are used in the average), and any other methods used to control emissions.

- iii. Calculations showing that the operations covered by the plan will comply with the open molding emission limit specified in 40 CFR 63.5698.
- The Permittee must submit the implementation plan to the Division with the notification of compliance status specified in 40 CFR 63.5761.
- The Permittee must keep the implementation plan on site and provide it to the Division when asked.
- If the Permittee revises the implementation plan, the revised plan must be submitted with the next semiannual compliance report specified in 40 CFR 63.5764.

40 CFR 63.5710 DEMONSTRATING COMPLIANCE USING EMISSIONS AVERAGING

- Compliance using the emissions averaging option is demonstrated on a 12-month rolling-average basis and is determined at the end of every month (12 times per year). The first 12-month rolling-average period begins on the compliance date specified in 40 CFR 63.5695.
- At the end of the twelfth month after the Permittee's compliance date and at the end of every subsequent month, use equation 1 of this condition to demonstrate that the organic HAP emissions from those operations included in the average do not exceed the emission limit in 40 CFR 63.5698 calculated for the same 12-month period. (Include terms in equation 1 of 40 CFR 63.5698 and equation 1 of this condition for only those operations and materials included in the average.)

HAP emissions = [(PVR)(MR) + (PVPG)(MPG) + (PVCG)(MCG) + (PVTR)(MTR) + (PVTG)(MTG)] (Equation 1)

Where:

= Organic HAP emissions calculated using MACT model point values for each operation included **HAP** emissions in the average, kilograms.

PVR = Weighted-average MACT model point value for production resin used in the past 12 months, kilograms per megagram.

Mass of production resin used in the past 12 months, megagrams. MR

Weighted-average MACT model point value for pigmented gel coat used in the **PVPG** past 12 months, kilograms per megagram.

Mass of pigmented gel coat used in the past 12 months, megagrams. MPG

PVCG Weighted-average MACT model point value for clear gel coat used in the past 12 months,

kilograms per megagram.

Mass of clear gel coat used in the past 12 months, megagrams. MCG

PVTR Weighted-average MACT model point value for tooling resin used in the past 12 months, kilograms per megagram.

Mass of tooling resin used in the past 12 months, megagrams. MTR

Weighted-average MACT model point value for tooling gel coat used in the past 12 months, **PVTG**

kilograms per megagram.

MTG Mass of tooling gel coat used in the past 12 months, megagrams.

At the end of every month, use equation 2 of this condition to compute the weighted-average MACT model point value for each open molding resin and gel coat operation included in the average.

$$PV_{OP} = \frac{\sum_{i=1}^{n} M_{i} PV_{i}}{\sum_{i=1}^{n} M_{i}}$$
 (Equation 2)

Where:

PVOP weighted-average MACT model point value for each open molding operation (PVR, PVPG, PVCG,

PVTR, and PVTG) included in the average, kilograms of HAP per megagram of material applied.

Mi mass of resin or gel coat i used within an operation in the past 12 months, megagrams.

N number of different open molding resins and gel coats used within an operation in the past 12 months.

PVi the MACT model point value for resin or gel coat i used within an operation in the past 12 months,

kilograms of HAP per megagram of material applied.

The equations in Table 3 (given below), as contained in 40 CFR 63 subpart VVVV, must be used to calculate the MACT model point value (PVi) for each resin and gel coat used in each operation in the past 12 months.

Table 3 to Subpart VVVV of Part 63 – MACT Model Point Value Formulas for Open Molding Operations¹

unit to bunpuit + + + + or ruit of	11110111101110111	tor open more governous
	a. Atomizedb. Atomized, plus vacuum bagging with roll-out.	0.014 x (Resin HAP%) ^{2.425} 0.01185 x (Resin HAP%) ^{2.425}
Production resin, tooling resin.	c. Atomized, plus vacuum bagging without roll-out.	0.00945 x (Resin HAP%) ^{2.425}
1. I founction result, tooling result.	d. Non-atomized e. Non-atomized, plus vacuum bagging with roll-out.	0.014 x (Resin HAP%) ^{2.275} 0.0110 x (Resin HAP%) ^{2.275}
	f. Non-atomized, plus vacuum bagging without roll-out.	0.0076 x (Resin HAP%) ^{2.275}
Pigmented gel coat, clear gel coat, tooling gel coat.	All methods	0.445 x (Gel coat HAP%) 1.675

Equations calculate MACT model point value in kilograms of organic HAP per megagrams of resin or gel coat applied. The equations for vacuum bagging with roll-out are applicable when a facility rolls out the applied resin and fabric prior to applying the vacuum bagging materials. The equations for vacuum bagging without roll-out are applicable when a facility applies the vacuum bagging materials immediately after resin application without rolling out the resin and fabric. HAP% = organic HAP content as supplied, expressed as a weight-percent value between 0 and 100 percent.

e. If the organic HAP emissions, as calculated in paragraph (b) of this condition, are less than the organic HAP limit calculated in 40 CFR 63.5698(b) for the same 12-month period, then the Permittee is in compliance with the emission limit in 40 CFR 63.5698 for those operations and materials included in the average.

9. 40 CFR 63.5713 DEMONSTRATING COMPLIANCE USING COMPLIANT MATERIALS

a. Compliance using the organic HAP content requirements listed in Table 2 (given below), as contained in 40 CFR 63 subpart VVVV, is based on a 12-month rolling average that is calculated at the end of every month. The first 12-month rolling-average period begins on the compliance date specified in 40 CFR 63.5695. If the Permittee is using filled material (production resin or tooling resin), the Permittee must comply according to the procedure described in 40 CFR 63.5714.

Table 2 to Subpart VVVV of Part 63 – Alternative Organic HAP Content Requirements for Open Molding Resin and Gel Coat Operations

For this operation:	And this application method:	You must not exceed this weighted-average organic HAP content (weight percent) requirement:
1. Production resin operations	Atomized (spray)	28 percent
2. Production resin operations	Non-atomized (non-spray)	35 percent
3. Pigmented gel coat operations	Any method	33 percent
4. Clear gel coat operations	Any method	48 percent
5. Tooling resin operations	Atomized (spray)	30 percent
6. Tooling resin operations	Non-atomized (non-spray)	39 percent
7. Tooling gel coat operations	Any method	40 percent

- b. At the end of the twelfth month after the Permittee's compliance date and at the end of every subsequent month, review the organic HAP contents of the resins and gel coats used in the past 12 months in each operation. If all resins and gel coats used in an operation have organic HAP contents no greater than the applicable organic HAP content limits in Table 2, as contained in 40 CFR 63 subpart VVVV, then the Permittee is in compliance with the emission limit specified in 40 CFR 63.5698 for that 12-month period for that operation. In addition, the Permittee does not need to complete the weighted- average organic HAP content calculation contained in paragraph (c) of this condition for that operation.
- c. At the end of every month, the Permittee must use equation 1 of this condition to calculate the weighted-average organic HAP content for all resins and gel coats used in each operation in the past 12 months.

Weighted-Average HAP Content (%) =
$$\frac{\sum_{i=1}^{n} M_{i} HAP_{i}}{\sum_{i=1}^{n} M_{i}}$$
 (Equation 1)

Where:

Mi = mass of open molding resin or gel coat i used in the past 12 months in an operation, megagrams.

HAPi = Organic HAP content, by weight percent, of open molding resin or gel coat i used in the past 12 months

in an operation. Use the methods in 40 CFR 63.5758 to determine organic HAP content.

N = number of different open molding resins or gel coats used in the past 12 months in an operation.

d. If the weighted-average organic HAP content does not exceed the applicable organic HAP content limit specified in Table 2 as contained in 40 CFR 63 subpart VVVV, then the Permittee is in compliance with the emission limit specified in 40 CFR 63.5698.

10. 40 CFR 63.5714 DEMONSTRATING COMPLIANCE IF USING FILLED RESINS

a. If the Permittee is using a filled production resin or filled tooling resin, the Permittee must demonstrate compliance for the filled material on an as-applied basis using equation 1 of this condition.

$$PV_F = PV_U \frac{100 - \% Filler}{100}$$
 (Equation 1)

Where:

PVF = The as-applied MACT model point value for a filled production resin or tooling resin, kilograms organic

HAP per megagram of filled material.

PVu = The MACT model point value for the neat (unfilled) resin, before filler is added, as calculated using the

formulas in Table 3 (given below) as contained in 40 CFR 63 subpart VVVV.

% Filler = The weight-percent of filler in the as applied filled resin system.

Table 3 to Subpart VVVV of Part 63 – MACT Model Point Value Formulas for Open Molding Operations¹

1. Production resin, tooling resin.	a. Atomized	0.014 x (Resin HAP%) ^{2.425}
	b. Atomized, plus vacuum bagging	0.01185 x (Resin HAP%) ^{2.425}
	with roll-out.	
	c. Atomized, plus vacuum bagging	0.00945 x (Resin HAP%) ^{2.425}
	without roll-out.	
	d. Non-atomized	0.014 x (Resin HAP%) ^{2.275}
	e. Non-atomized, plus vacuum	0.0110 x (Resin HAP%) ^{2.275}
	bagging with roll-out.	
	f. Non-atomized, plus vacuum	0.0076 x (Resin HAP%) ^{2.275}
	bagging without roll-out.	
2. Pigmented gel coat, clear gel	A 1141 4-	0.445 (C-1 HAD)() 1675
coat, tooling gel coat.	All methods	0.445 x (Gel coat HAP%) ^{1.675}

Equations calculate MACT model point value in kilograms of organic HAP per megagrams of resin or gel coat applied. The equations for vacuum bagging with roll-out are applicable when a facility rolls out the applied resin and fabric prior to applying the vacuum bagging materials. The equations for vacuum bagging without roll-out are applicable when a facility applies the vacuum bagging materials immediately after resin application without rolling out the resin and fabric. HAP% = organic HAP content as supplied, expressed as a weight-percent value between 0 and 100 percent.

- b. If the filled resin is used as a production resin and the value of PVF calculated by equation 1 of this condition does not exceed 46 kilograms of organic HAP per megagram of filled resin applied, then the filled resin is in compliance.
- c. If the filled resin is used as a tooling resin and the value of PVF calculated by equation 1 of this condition does not exceed 54 kilograms of organic HAP per megagram of filled resin applied, then the filled resin is in compliance.
- d. If the Permittee is including a filled resin in the emissions averaging procedure described in 40 CFR 63.5710, then use the value of PVF calculated using equation 1 of this condition for the value of PVi in equation 2 of 40 CFR 63.5710.

11. 40 CFR 63.5737 DEMONSTRATING COMPLIANCE WITH THE RESIN AND GEL COAT APPLICATION EQUIPMENT CLEANING STANDARDS

- a. Determine and record the organic HAP content of the cleaning solvents subject to the standards specified in 40 CFR 63.5734 using the methods specified in 40 CFR 63.5758.
- b. If the Permittee recycles cleaning solvents on site, the Permittee may use documentation from the solvent manufacturer or supplier or a measurement of the organic HAP content of the cleaning solvent as originally obtained from the solvent supplier for demonstrating compliance, subject to the conditions in 40 CFR 63.5758 for demonstrating compliance with organic HAP content limits.
- c. At least once per month, the Permittee must visually inspect any containers holding organic HAP-containing solvents used for removing cured resin and gel coat to ensure that the containers have covers with no visible gaps. Keep records of the monthly inspections and any repairs made to the covers.

12. 40 CFR 63.5740 DEMONSTRATING COMPLIANCE WITH CARPET AND FABRIC ADHESIVE OPERATIONS

- a. The Permittee must use carpet and fabric adhesives that contain no more than 5 percent organic HAP by weight.
- b. To demonstrate compliance with the emission limit in paragraph (a) of this section, you must determine and record the organic HAP content of the carpet and fabric adhesives using the methods in 40 CFR 63.5758.

13. 40 CFR 63.5758 DETERMINE THE ORGANIC HAP CONTENT OF MATERIALS

- a. Determine the organic HAP content for each material used. To determine the organic HAP content for each material used in the Permittee's open molding resin and gel coat operations, carpet and fabric adhesive operations, or aluminum recreational boat surface coating operations, the Permittee must use one of the options in paragraphs (a)(i) through (vi) of this condition.
 - i. Method 311 (appendix A to 40 CFR part 63). The Permittee may use Method 311 for determining the mass fraction of organic HAP. Use the procedures specified in paragraphs (a)(i)(1) and (2) of this condition when determining organic HAP content by Method 311.
 - 1) Include in the organic HAP total each organic HAP that is measured to be present at 0.1 percent by mass or more for Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)-defined carcinogens as specified in 29 CFR 1910.1200(d)(4) and at 1.0 percent by mass or more for other compounds. For example, if toluene (not an OSHA carcinogen) is measured to be 0.5 percent of the material by mass, the Permittee does not need to include it in the organic HAP total. Express the mass fraction of each organic HAP the Permittee measures as a value truncated to four places after the decimal point (for example, 0.1234).
 - 2) Calculate the total organic HAP content in the test material by adding up the individual organic HAP contents and truncating the result to three places after the decimal point (for example, 0.123).
 - ii. Method 24 (appendix A to 40 CFR part 63). The Permittee may use Method 24 to determine the mass fraction of non-aqueous volatile matter of aluminum coatings and use that value as a substitute for mass fraction of organic HAP.
 - iii. ASTM D1259-85 (Standard Test Method for Nonvolatile Content of Resins). The Permittee may use ASTM D1259-85 (available for purchase from ASTM) to measure the mass fraction of volatile matter of resins and gel coats for open molding operations and use that value as a substitute for mass fraction of organic HAP.
 - iv. Alternative method. The Permittee may use an alternative test method for determining mass fraction of organic HAP if the Permittee obtains prior approval by EPA Region IV. The Permittee must follow the procedure in 40 CFR 63.7(f) to submit an alternative test method for approval.
 - v. Information from the supplier or manufacturer of the material. The Permittee may rely on information other than that generated by the test methods specified in paragraphs (a)(i) through (iv) of this condition, such as manufacturer's formulation data, according to paragraphs (a)(v)(1) through (3) of this condition.
 - 1) Include in the organic HAP total each organic HAP that is present at 0.1 percent by mass or more for OSHA-defined carcinogens as specified in 29 CFR 1910.1200(d)(4) and at 1.0 percent by mass or more for other compounds. For example, if toluene (not an OSHA carcinogen) is 0.5 percent of the material by mass, the Permittee does not have to include it in the organic HAP total.
 - 2) If the organic HAP content is provided by the material supplier or manufacturer as a range, then the Permittee must use the upper limit of the range for determining compliance. If a separate measurement of the total organic HAP content using the methods specified in paragraphs (a)(i) through (iv) of this condition exceeds the upper limit of the range of the total organic HAP content provided by the material supplier or manufacturer, then the Permittee must use the measured organic HAP content to determine compliance.
 - a. If the organic HAP content is provided as a single value, the Permittee may assume the value is a manufacturing target value and actual organic HAP content may vary from the target value. If a

separate measurement of the total organic HAP content using the methods specified in paragraphs (a)(i) through (iv) of this condition is less than 2 percentage points higher than the value for total organic HAP content provided by the material supplier or manufacturer, then the Permittee may use the provided value to demonstrate compliance. If the measured total organic HAP content exceeds the provided value by 2 percentage points or more, then the Permittee must use the measured organic HAP content to determine compliance.

vi. Solvent blends. Solvent blends may be listed as single components for some regulated materials in certifications provided by manufacturers or suppliers. Solvent blends may contain organic HAP which must be counted toward the total organic HAP content of the materials. When detailed organic HAP content data for solvent blends are not available, the Permittee may use the values for organic HAP content that are listed in Table 5 or 6 as contained in 40 CFR 63 subpart VVVV. The Permittee may use Table 6 as contained in 40 CFR 63 subpart VVVV, and the Permittee use do not match any of the solvent blends in Table 5 as contained in 40 CFR 63 subpart VVVV, and the Permittee know only whether the blend is either aliphatic or aromatic. However, if test results indicate higher values than those listed in Table 5 or 6 as contained in 40 CFR 63 subpart VVVV, then the test results must be used for determining compliance.

14. 40 CFR 63.5764 WHAT REPORTS MUST BE SUBMITTED AND WHEN?

- a. The Permittee must submit the applicable reports specified in paragraphs (b) through (c) of this condition. To the extent possible, the Permittee must organize each report according to the operations covered by this subpart and the compliance procedure followed for that operation.
- b. Under 40 CFR 63.10(a), the Permittee must submit each report by the dates in paragraphs (b)(i) through (v) of this condition.
 - i. If the Permittee's source is not controlled by an add-on control device (i.e., the Permittee is complying with organic HAP content limits, application equipment requirements, or MACT model point value averaging provisions), the first compliance report must cover the period beginning 12 months after the compliance date specified for the Permittee's source in 40 CFR 63.5695 and ending on June 30 or December 31, whichever date is the first date following the end of the first 12-month period after the compliance date that is specified for the Permittee's source in 40 CFR 63.5695. If the Permittee's source is controlled by an add-on control device, the first compliance report must cover the period beginning on the compliance date specified for the Permittee's source in 40 CFR 63.5695 and ending on June 30 or December 31, whichever date is the first date following the end of the first calendar half after the compliance date that is specified for the Permittee's source in 40 CFR 63.5695.
 - ii. The first compliance report must be postmarked or delivered no later than 60 calendar days after the end of the compliance reporting period specified in paragraph (b)(i) of this condition.
 - iii. Each subsequent compliance report must cover the applicable semiannual reporting period from January 30 of each calendar year for the preceding six-month period between July and December and July 30 of each calendar year for the preceding six-month period between January and June. All instances of deviations from the requirements of this permit must be clearly identified.
 - iv. Each subsequent compliance report must be postmarked or delivered no later than 60 calendar days after the end of the semiannual reporting period.
 - v. For each affected source that is subject to permitting regulations pursuant to 40 CFR part 70 or 71, and if the permitting authority has established dates for submitting semiannual reports pursuant to 40 CFR 70.6(a)(3)(iii)(A) or 40 CFR 71.6(a)(3)(iii)(A), the Permittee may submit the first and subsequent compliance reports according to the dates the permitting authority has established instead of according to the dates in paragraphs (b)(i) through (iv) of this condition.
- c. The compliance report must include the information specified in paragraphs (c)(i) through (vii) of this condition.
 - i. Company name and address.
 - ii. A statement by a responsible official with that official's name, title, and signature, certifying the truth, accuracy, and completeness of the report.
 - iii. The date of the report and the beginning and ending dates of the reporting period.
 - iv. A description of any changes in the manufacturing process since the last compliance report.
 - v. A statement or table showing, for each regulated operation, the applicable organic HAP content limit, application equipment requirement, or MACT model point value averaging provision with which the Permittee is complying. The statement or table must also show the actual weighted-average organic HAP content or weighted-average MACT model point value (if applicable) for each operation during each of the rolling 12-month averaging periods that end during the reporting period.
 - vi. If the Permittee was in compliance with the emission limits and work practice standards during the reporting period, the Permittee must include a statement to that effect.

- vii. If the Permittee deviated from an emission limit or work practice standard during the reporting period, the Permittee must also include the information listed in paragraphs (c)(vii)(1) through (4) of this condition in the semiannual compliance report.
 - 1) A description of the operation involved in the deviation.
 - The quantity, organic HAP content, and application method (if relevant) of the materials involved in the deviation.
 - 3) A description of any corrective action the Permittee took to minimize the deviation and actions the Permittee has taken to prevent it from happening again.
 - 4) A statement of whether or not the Permittee was in compliance for the 12 month averaging period that ended at the end of the reporting period.

15. 40 CFR 63.5767 RECORDS

The Permittee must keep the records specified in paragraphs (a) through (c) of this condition in addition to records specified in individual conditions of this subpart.

- a. The Permittee must keep a copy of each notification and report that the Permittee submitted to comply with this subpart.
- b. The Permittee must keep all documentation supporting any notification or report that the Permittee submitted.
- c. If the Permittee is not controlled by an add-on control device (i.e., the Permittee is complying with organic HAP content limits, application equipment requirements, or MACT model point value averaging provisions), the Permittee must keep the records specified in paragraphs (c)(a) through (c) of this condition.
 - i. The total amounts of open molding production resin, pigmented gel coat, clear gel coat, tooling resin, and tooling gel coat used per month and the weighted-average organic HAP contents for each operation, expressed as weight-percent. For open molding production resin and tooling resin, the Permittee must also record the amounts of each applied by atomized and non-atomized methods.
 - ii. The total amount of each aluminum coating used per month (including primers, top coats, clear coats, thinners, and activators) and the weighted-average organic HAP content as determined in 40 CFR 63.5752.
 - The total amount of each aluminum wipe down solvent used per month and the weighted-average organic HAP content as determined in 40 CFR 63.5749.

16. 40 CFR 63.5770 HOW LONG MUST RECORDS BE KEPT

- a. The Permittee's records must be readily available and in a form so they can be easily inspected and reviewed.
- b. The Permittee must keep each record for 5 years following the date that each record is generated.
- c. The Permittee must keep each record on site for at least 2 years after the date that each record is generated. The Permittee can keep the records offsite for the remaining 3 years.
- d. The Permittee can keep the records on paper or an alternative media, such as microfilm, computer, computer disks, magnetic tapes, or on microfiche.

17. 40 CFR 63.5761 NOTIFICATIONS

a. The Permittee must submit all of the notifications in Table 7 as contained in 40 CFR 63 subpart VVVV, that apply to the Permittee by the dates in the table. The notifications are described more fully in 40 CFR part 63, subpart A, General Provisions, referenced in Table 8 as contained in 40 CFR 63 subpart VVVV.

If the Permittee changes any information submitted in any notification, the Permittee must submit the changes in writing to the Division within 15 calendar days after the change.

The Permittee may switch between the compliance options (Emissions Averaging and Compliant Materials) in 40CFR63, Subpart VVVV per the following requirements. In all cases, the Permittee shall submit notification to change options, in writing, to the Division of Air Quality, 15 days prior to changing compliance options.

- i. Changing from Compliant Materials (40 CFR 63.5713) to 12-month Emissions Averaging (40 CFR 63.5710): The Permittee shall begin collecting resin and gel coat usage data on the date the compliance option is switched. The source shall demonstrate compliance using the Emissions Averaging option for at least 12 consecutive months
- ii. Changing from 12-month Emissions Averaging (40 CFR 63.5710) to Compliant Materials (40 CFR 63.5713): The Permittee shall begin complying with the Compliant Materials option on the date the compliance option is switched. Until the full 12-month compliance period has ended the Permittee shall continue to collect resin and gel coat usage data and calculate the 12-month emissions average.

Permit 08895T08 Page 21

This permit contains compliance certification, monitoring, reporting, and record keeping requirements sufficient to assure compliance with the terms and conditions of this permit. All submittals required by these conditions shall be sent to the North Carolina Division of Air Quality at the following address:

North Carolina Division of Air Quality Washington Regional Office 943 Washington Square Mall Washington, North Carolina 27889

SECTION 3 - GENERAL CONDITIONS (version 4.0 12/17/15)

This section describes terms and conditions applicable to this Title V facility.

A. General Provisions [NCGS 143-215 and 15A NCAC 02Q .0508(i)(16)]

- 1. Terms not otherwise defined in this permit shall have the meaning assigned to such terms as defined in 15A NCAC 02D and 02Q.
- 2. The terms, conditions, requirements, limitations, and restrictions set forth in this permit are binding and enforceable pursuant to NCGS 143-215.114A and 143-215.114B, including assessment of civil and/or criminal penalties. Any unauthorized deviation from the conditions of this permit may constitute grounds for revocation and/or enforcement action by the DAQ.
- 3. This permit is not a waiver of or approval of any other Department permits that may be required for other aspects of the facility which are not addressed in this permit.
- 4. This permit does not relieve the Permittee from liability for harm or injury to human health or welfare, animal or plant life, or property caused by the construction or operation of this permitted facility, or from penalties therefore, nor does it allow the Permittee to cause pollution in contravention of state laws or rules, unless specifically authorized by an order from the North Carolina Environmental Management Commission.
- 5. Except as identified as state-only requirements in this permit, all terms and conditions contained herein shall be enforceable by the DAQ, the EPA, and citizens of the United States as defined in the Federal Clean Air Act.
- 6. Any stationary source of air pollution shall not be operated, maintained, or modified without the appropriate and valid permits issued by the DAQ, unless the source is exempted by rule. The DAQ may issue a permit only after it receives reasonable assurance that the installation will not cause air pollution in violation of any of the applicable requirements. A permitted installation may only be operated, maintained, constructed, expanded, or modified in a manner that is consistent with the terms of this permit.

B. **Permit Availability** [15A NCAC 02Q .0507(k) and .0508(i)(9)(B)]

The Permittee shall have available at the facility a copy of this permit and shall retain for the duration of the permit term one complete copy of the application and any information submitted in support of the application package. The permit and application shall be made available to an authorized representative of Department of Environmental Quality upon request.

C. **Severability Clause** [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(i)(2)]

In the event of an administrative challenge to a final and binding permit in which a condition is held to be invalid, the provisions in this permit are severable so that all requirements contained in the permit, except those held to be invalid, shall remain valid and must be complied with.

D. **Submissions** [15A NCAC 02Q .0507(e) and 02Q .0508(i)(16)]

Except as otherwise specified herein, two copies of all documents, reports, test data, monitoring data, notifications, request for renewal, and any other information required by this permit shall be submitted to the appropriate Regional Office. Refer to the Regional Office address on the cover page of this permit. For continuous emissions monitoring systems (CEMS) reports, continuous opacity monitoring systems (COMS) reports, quality assurance (QA)/quality control (QC) reports, acid rain CEM certification reports, and NOx budget CEM certification reports, one copy shall be sent to the appropriate Regional Office and one copy shall be sent to:

Supervisor, Stationary Source Compliance North Carolina Division of Air Quality 1641 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-1641

All submittals shall include the facility name and Facility ID number (refer to the cover page of this permit).

E. **Duty to Comply** [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(i)(3)]

The Permittee shall comply with all terms, conditions, requirements, limitations and restrictions set forth in this permit. Noncompliance with any permit condition except conditions identified as state-only requirements constitutes a violation of the Federal Clean Air Act. Noncompliance with any permit condition is grounds for enforcement action, for permit termination, revocation and reissuance, or modification, or for denial of a permit renewal application.

F. Circumvention - STATE ENFORCEABLE ONLY

The facility shall be properly operated and maintained at all times in a manner that will effect an overall reduction in air pollution. Unless otherwise specified by this permit, no emission source may be operated without the concurrent operation of its associated air pollution control device(s) and appurtenances.

G. Permit Modifications

- 1. Administrative Permit Amendments [15A NCAC 02Q .0514]
 - The Permittee shall submit an application for an administrative permit amendment in accordance with 15A NCAC 02Q .0514.
- 2. Transfer in Ownership or Operation and Application Submittal Content [15A NCAC 02Q .0524 and 02Q .0505]
 - The Permittee shall submit an application for an ownership change in accordance with 15A NCAC 02Q.0524 and 02Q .0505.
- 3. Minor Permit Modifications [15A NCAC 02Q .0515]
 - The Permittee shall submit an application for a minor permit modification in accordance with 15A NCAC 02Q .0515.
- 4. Significant Permit Modifications [15A NCAC 02Q .0516]
 - The Permittee shall submit an application for a significant permit modification in accordance with 15A NCAC 02Q .0516.
- 5. Reopening for Cause [15A NCAC 02Q .0517]
 - The Permittee shall submit an application for reopening for cause in accordance with 15A NCAC 02Q .0517.

H. Changes Not Requiring Permit Modifications

1. Reporting Requirements

Any of the following that would result in new or increased emissions from the emission source(s) listed in Section 1 must be reported to the Regional Supervisor, DAQ:

- a. changes in the information submitted in the application;
- b. changes that modify equipment or processes; or
- c. changes in the quantity or quality of materials processed.

If appropriate, modifications to the permit may then be made by the DAQ to reflect any necessary changes in the permit conditions. In no case are any new or increased emissions allowed that will cause a violation of the emission limitations specified herein.

2. Section 502(b)(10) Changes [15A NCAC 02Q .0523(a)]

- a. "Section 502(b)(10) changes" means changes that contravene an express permit term or condition. Such changes do not include changes that would violate applicable requirements or contravene federally enforceable permit terms and conditions that are monitoring (including test methods), recordkeeping, reporting, or compliance certification requirements.
- b. The Permittee may make Section 502(b)(10) changes without having the permit revised if:
 - i. the changes are not a modification under Title I of the Federal Clean Air Act;
 - ii. the changes do not cause the allowable emissions under the permit to be exceeded;
 - iii. the Permittee notifies the Director and EPA with written notification at least seven days before the change is made; and
 - iv. the Permittee shall attach the notice to the relevant permit.
- c. The written notification shall include:
 - i. a description of the change;
 - ii. the date on which the change will occur;
 - iii. any change in emissions; and
 - iv. any permit term or condition that is no longer applicable as a result of the change.
- d. Section 502(b)(10) changes shall be made in the permit the next time that the permit is revised or renewed, whichever comes first.
- 3. Off Permit Changes [15A NCAC 02Q .0523(b)]

The Permittee may make changes in the operation or emissions without revising the permit if:

- a. the change affects only insignificant activities and the activities remain insignificant after the change; or
- b. the change is not covered under any applicable requirement.
- 4. Emissions Trading [15A NCAC 02Q .0523(c)]

To the extent that emissions trading is allowed under 15A NCAC 02D, including subsequently adopted maximum achievable control technology standards, emissions trading shall be allowed without permit revision pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0523(c).

I.A <u>Reporting Requirements for Excess Emissions and Permit Deviations</u> [15A NCAC 02D .0535(f) and 02Q .0508(f)(2)]

"Excess Emissions" - means an emission rate that exceeds any applicable emission limitation or standard allowed by any rule in Sections .0500, .0900, .1200, or .1400 of Subchapter 02D; or by a permit condition; or that exceeds an emission limit established in a permit issued under 15A NCAC 02Q .0700. (Note: Definitions of excess emissions under 02D .1110 and 02D .1111 shall apply where defined by rule.)

<u>"Deviations"</u> - for the purposes of this condition, any action or condition not in accordance with the terms and conditions of this permit including those attributable to upset conditions as well as excess emissions as defined above lasting less than four hours.

Excess Emissions

- 1. If a source is required to report excess emissions under NSPS (15A NCAC 02D .0524), NESHAPS (15A NCAC 02D .1110 or .1111), or the operating permit provides for periodic (e.g., quarterly) reporting of excess emissions, reporting shall be performed as prescribed therein.
- 2. If the source is not subject to NSPS (15A NCAC 02D .0524), NESHAPS (15A NCAC 02D .1110 or .1111), or these rules do NOT define "excess emissions," the Permittee shall report excess emissions in accordance with 15A NCAC 02D .0535 as follows:
 - a. Pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .0535, if excess emissions last for more than four hours resulting from a malfunction, a breakdown of process or control equipment, or any other abnormal condition, the owner or operator shall:

- i. notify the Regional Supervisor or Director of any such occurrence by 9:00 a.m. Eastern Time of the Division's next business day of becoming aware of the occurrence and provide:
 - name and location of the facility;
 - nature and cause of the malfunction or breakdown;
 - time when the malfunction or breakdown is first observed;
 - expected duration; and
 - estimated rate of emissions;
- ii. notify the Regional Supervisor or Director immediately when corrective measures have been accomplished; and
- iii. submit to the Regional Supervisor or Director within 15 days a written report as described in 15A NCAC 02D .0535(f)(3).

Permit Deviations

- 3. Pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0508(f)(2), the Permittee shall report deviations from permit requirements (terms and conditions) as follows:
 - a. Notify the Regional Supervisor or Director of all other deviations from permit requirements not covered under 15A NCAC 02D .0535 quarterly. A written report to the Regional Supervisor shall include the probable cause of such deviation and any corrective actions or preventative actions taken. The responsible official shall certify all deviations from permit requirements.

I.B Other Requirements under 15A NCAC 02D .0535

The Permittee shall comply with all other applicable requirements contained in 15A NCAC 02D .0535, including 15A NCAC 02D .0535(c) as follows:

- 1. Any excess emissions that do not occur during start-up and shut-down shall be considered a violation of the appropriate rule unless the owner or operator of the sources demonstrates to the Director, that the excess emissions are a result of a malfunction. The Director shall consider, along with any other pertinent information, the criteria contained in 15A NCAC 02D .0535(c)(1) through (7).
- 2. 15A NCAC 02D .0535(g). Excess emissions during start-up and shut-down shall be considered a violation of the appropriate rule if the owner or operator cannot demonstrate that excess emissions are unavoidable.

J. Emergency Provisions [40 CFR 70.6(g)]

The Permittee shall be subject to the following provisions with respect to emergencies:

- 1. An emergency means any situation arising from sudden and reasonably unforeseeable events beyond the control of the facility, including acts of God, which situation requires immediate corrective action to restore normal operation, and that causes the facility to exceed a technology-based emission limitation under the permit, due to unavoidable increases in emissions attributable to the emergency. An emergency shall not include noncompliance to the extent caused by improperly designed equipment, lack of preventive maintenance, careless or improper operation, or operator error.
- 2. An emergency constitutes an affirmative defense to an action brought for noncompliance with such technology-based emission limitations if the conditions specified in 3. below are met.
- 3. The affirmative defense of emergency shall be demonstrated through properly signed contemporaneous operating logs or other relevant evidence that include information as follows:
 - a. an emergency occurred and the Permittee can identify the cause(s) of the emergency;
 - b. the permitted facility was at the time being properly operated;

- c. during the period of the emergency the Permittee took all reasonable steps to minimize levels of emissions that exceeded the standards or other requirements in the permit; and
- d. the Permittee submitted notice of the emergency to the DAQ within two working days of the time when emission limitations were exceeded due to the emergency. This notice must contain a description of the emergency, steps taken to mitigate emissions, and corrective actions taken.
- 4. In any enforcement proceeding, the Permittee seeking to establish the occurrence of an emergency has the burden of proof.
- 5. This provision is in addition to any emergency or upset provision contained in any applicable requirement specified elsewhere herein.

K. **Permit Renewal** [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(e) and 02Q .0513(b)]

This 15A NCAC 02Q .0500 permit is issued for a fixed term not to exceed five years and shall expire at the end of its term. Permit expiration terminates the facility's right to operate unless a complete 15A NCAC 02Q .0500 renewal application is submitted at least nine months before the date of permit expiration. If the Permittee or applicant has complied with 15A NCAC 02Q .0512(b)(1), this 15A NCAC 02Q .0500 permit shall not expire until the renewal permit has been issued or denied. Permit expiration under 15A NCAC 02Q .0400 terminates the facility's right to operate unless a complete 15A NCAC 02Q .0400 renewal application is submitted at least six months before the date of permit expiration for facilities subject to 15A NCAC 02Q .0400 requirements. In either of these events, all terms and conditions of these permits shall remain in effect until the renewal permits have been issued or denied.

L. Need to Halt or Reduce Activity Not a Defense [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(i)(4)]

It shall not be a defense for a Permittee in an enforcement action that it would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions of this permit.

M. Duty to Provide Information (submittal of information) [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(i)(9)]

- 1. The Permittee shall furnish to the DAQ, in a timely manner, any reasonable information that the Director may request in **writing** to determine whether cause exists for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating the permit or to determine compliance with the permit.
- 2. The Permittee shall furnish the DAQ copies of records required to be kept by the permit when such copies are requested by the Director. For information claimed to be confidential, the Permittee may furnish such records directly to the EPA upon request along with a claim of confidentiality.

N. **Duty to Supplement** [15A NCAC 02Q .0507(f)]

The Permittee, upon becoming aware that any relevant facts were omitted or incorrect information was submitted in the permit application, shall promptly submit such supplementary facts or corrected information to the DAQ. The Permittee shall also provide additional information as necessary to address any requirement that becomes applicable to the facility after the date a complete permit application was submitted but prior to the release of the draft permit.

O. **Retention of Records** [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(f) and 02Q .0508 (l)]

The Permittee shall retain records of all required monitoring data and supporting information for a period of at least five years from the date of the monitoring sample, measurement, report, or application. Supporting information includes all calibration and maintenance records and all original strip-chart recordings for continuous monitoring information, and copies of all reports required by the permit. These records shall be maintained in a form suitable and readily available for expeditious

inspection and review. Any records required by the conditions of this permit shall be kept on site and made available to DAQ personnel for inspection upon request.

P. Compliance Certification [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(n)]

The Permittee shall submit to the DAQ and the EPA (Air and EPCRA Enforcement Branch, EPA, Region 4, 61 Forsyth Street SW, Atlanta, GA 30303) postmarked on or before March 1 a compliance certification (for the preceding calendar year) by a responsible official with all federally-enforceable terms and conditions in the permit, including emissions limitations, standards, or work practices. It shall be the responsibility of the current owner to submit a compliance certification for the entire year regardless of who owned the facility during the year. The compliance certification shall comply with additional requirements as may be specified under Sections 114(a)(3) or 504(b) of the Federal Clean Air Act. The compliance certification shall specify:

- 1. the identification of each term or condition of the permit that is the basis of the certification;
- 2. the compliance status (with the terms and conditions of the permit for the period covered by the certification);
- 3. whether compliance was continuous or intermittent; and
- 4. the method(s) used for determining the compliance status of the source during the certification period.

Q. Certification by Responsible Official [15A NCAC 02Q .0520]

A responsible official shall certify the truth, accuracy, and completeness of any application form, report, or compliance certification required by this permit. All certifications shall state that based on information and belief formed after reasonable inquiry, the statements and information in the document are true, accurate, and complete.

R. Permit Shield for Applicable Requirements [15A NCAC 02Q .0512]

- 1. Compliance with the terms and conditions of this permit shall be deemed compliance with applicable requirements, where such applicable requirements are included and specifically identified in the permit as of the date of permit issuance.
- 2. A permit shield shall not alter or affect:
 - a. the power of the Commission, Secretary of the Department, or Governor under NCGS 143-215.3(a)(12), or EPA under Section 303 of the Federal Clean Air Act;
 - b. the liability of an owner or operator of a facility for any violation of applicable requirements prior to the effective date of the permit or at the time of permit issuance;
 - c. the applicable requirements under Title IV; or
 - d. the ability of the Director or the EPA under Section 114 of the Federal Clean Air Act to obtain information to determine compliance of the facility with its permit.
- 3. A permit shield does not apply to any change made at a facility that does not require a permit or permit revision made under 15A NCAC 02Q .0523.
- 4. A permit shield does not extend to minor permit modifications made under 15A NCAC 02Q .0515.

S. Termination, Modification, and Revocation of the Permit [15A NCAC 02Q .0519]

The Director may terminate, modify, or revoke and reissue this permit if:

- 1. the information contained in the application or presented in support thereof is determined to be incorrect;
- 2. the conditions under which the permit or permit renewal was granted have changed;
- 3. violations of conditions contained in the permit have occurred;
- 4. the EPA requests that the permit be revoked under 40 CFR 70.7(g) or 70.8(d); or

5. the Director finds that termination, modification, or revocation and reissuance of the permit is necessary to carry out the purpose of NCGS Chapter 143, Article 21B.

T. Insignificant Activities [15A NCAC 02Q .0503]

Because an emission source or activity is insignificant does not mean that the emission source or activity is exempted from any applicable requirement or that the owner or operator of the source is exempted from demonstrating compliance with any applicable requirement. The Permittee shall have available at the facility at all times and made available to an authorized representative upon request, documentation, including calculations, if necessary, to demonstrate that an emission source or activity is insignificant.

U. **Property Rights** [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(i)(8)]

This permit does not convey any property rights in either real or personal property or any exclusive privileges.

V. **Inspection and Entry** [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(1) and NCGS 143-215.3(a)(2)]

- 1. Upon presentation of credentials and other documents as may be required by law, the Permittee shall allow the DAQ, or an authorized representative, to perform the following:
 - a. enter the Permittee's premises where the permitted facility is located or emissions-related activity is conducted, or where records are kept under the conditions of the permit;
 - b. have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any records that are required to be kept under the conditions of the permit;
 - c. inspect at reasonable times and using reasonable safety practices any source, equipment (including monitoring and air pollution control equipment), practices, or operations regulated or required under the permit; and
 - d. sample or monitor substances or parameters, using reasonable safety practices, for the purpose of assuring compliance with the permit or applicable requirements at reasonable times.
 Nothing in this condition shall limit the ability of the EPA to inspect or enter the premises of the

Permittee under Section 114 or other provisions of the Federal Clean Air Act.

2. No person shall refuse entry or access to any authorized representative of the DAQ who requests entry for purposes of inspection, and who presents appropriate credentials, nor shall any person obstruct, hamper, or interfere with any such authorized representative while in the process of carrying out his official duties. Refusal of entry or access may constitute grounds for permit revocation and assessment of civil penalties.

W. Annual Fee Payment [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(i)(10)]

- 1. The Permittee shall pay all fees in accordance with 15A NCAC 02Q .0200.
- 2. Payment of fees may be by check or money order made payable to the N.C. Department of Environmental Quality. Annual permit fee payments shall refer to the permit number.
- 3. If, within 30 days after being billed, the Permittee fails to pay an annual fee, the Director may initiate action to terminate the permit under 15A NCAC 02Q .0519.

X. Annual Emission Inventory Requirements [15A NCAC 02Q .0207]

The Permittee shall report by **June 30 of each year** the actual emissions of each air pollutant listed in 15A NCAC 02Q .0207(a) from each emission source within the facility during the previous calendar year. The report shall be in or on such form as may be established by the Director. The accuracy of the report shall be certified by a responsible official of the facility.

Y. Confidential Information [15A NCAC 02Q .0107 and 02Q. 0508(i)(9)]

Whenever the Permittee submits information under a claim of confidentiality pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0107, the Permittee may also submit a copy of all such information and claim directly to the EPA upon request. All requests for confidentiality must be in accordance with 15A NCAC 02Q .0107.

Z. Construction and Operation Permits [15A NCAC 02Q .0100 and .0300]

A construction and operating permit shall be obtained by the Permittee for any proposed new or modified facility or emission source which is not exempted from having a permit prior to the beginning of construction or modification, in accordance with all applicable provisions of 15A NCAC 02Q .0100 and .0300.

AA. <u>Standard Application Form and Required Information</u> [15A NCAC 02Q .0505 and .0507] The Permittee shall submit applications and required information in accordance with the provisions of 15A NCAC 02Q .0505 and .0507.

BB. Financial Responsibility and Compliance History [15A NCAC 02Q .0507(d)(4)]

The DAQ may require an applicant to submit a statement of financial qualifications and/or a statement of substantial compliance history.

CC. <u>Refrigerant Requirements (Stratospheric Ozone and Climate Protection)</u> [15A NCAC 02Q .0501(e)]

- 1. If the Permittee has appliances or refrigeration equipment, including air conditioning equipment, which use Class I or II ozone-depleting substances such as chlorofluorocarbons and hydrochlorofluorocarbons listed as refrigerants in 40 CFR Part 82 Subpart A Appendices A and B, the Permittee shall service, repair, and maintain such equipment according to the work practices, personnel certification requirements, and certified recycling and recovery equipment specified in 40 CFR Part 82 Subpart F.
- 2. The Permittee shall not knowingly vent or otherwise release any Class I or II substance into the environment during the repair, servicing, maintenance, or disposal of any such device except as provided in 40 CFR Part 82 Subpart F.
- 3. The Permittee shall comply with all reporting and recordkeeping requirements of 40 CFR 82.166. Reports shall be submitted to the EPA or its designee as required.

DD. <u>Prevention of Accidental Releases - Section 112(r)</u> [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(h)]

If the Permittee is required to develop and register a Risk Management Plan with EPA pursuant to Section 112(r) of the Clean Air Act, then the Permittee is required to register this plan in accordance with 40 CFR Part 68.

EE. <u>Prevention of Accidental Releases General Duty Clause - Section 112(r)(1)</u> – FEDERALLY-ENFORCEABLE ONLY

Although a risk management plan may not be required, if the Permittee produces, processes, handles, or stores any amount of a listed hazardous substance, the Permittee has a general duty to take such steps as are necessary to prevent the accidental release of such substance and to minimize the consequences of any release.

FF. **Title IV Allowances** [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(i)(1)]

This permit does not limit the number of Title IV allowances held by the Permittee, but the Permittee may not use allowances as a defense to noncompliance with any other applicable requirement. The

Permittee's emissions may not exceed any allowances that the facility lawfully holds under Title IV of the Federal Clean Air Act.

GG. <u>Air Pollution Emergency Episode</u> [15A NCAC 02D .0300]

Should the Director of the DAQ declare an Air Pollution Emergency Episode, the Permittee will be required to operate in accordance with the Permittee's previously approved Emission Reduction Plan or, in the absence of an approved plan, with the appropriate requirements specified in 15A NCAC 02D .0300.

HH. **Registration of Air Pollution Sources** [15A NCAC 02D .0202]

The Director of the DAQ may require the Permittee to register a source of air pollution. If the Permittee is required to register a source of air pollution, this registration and required information will be in accordance with 15A NCAC 02D .0202(b).

II. Ambient Air Quality Standards [15A NCAC 02D .0501(c)]

In addition to any control or manner of operation necessary to meet emission standards specified in this permit, any source of air pollution shall be operated with such control or in such manner that the source shall not cause the ambient air quality standards in 15A NCAC 02D .0400 to be exceeded at any point beyond the premises on which the source is located. When controls more stringent than named in the applicable emission standards in this permit are required to prevent violation of the ambient air quality standards or are required to create an offset, the permit shall contain a condition requiring these controls.

- JJ. <u>General Emissions Testing and Reporting Requirements</u> [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(i)(16)] Emission compliance testing shall be by the procedures of Section .2600, except as may be otherwise required in Rules .0524, .0912, .1110, .1111, or .1415 of Subchapter 02D. If emissions testing is required by this permit or the DAQ or if the Permittee submits emissions testing to the DAQ to demonstrate compliance, the Permittee shall perform such testing in accordance with 15A NCAC 02D .2600 and follow the procedures outlined below:
 - 1. The owner or operator of the source shall arrange for air emission testing protocols to be provided to the Director prior to air pollution testing. Testing protocols are not required to be pre-approved by the Director prior to air pollution testing. The Director shall review air emission testing protocols for pre-approval prior to testing if requested by the owner or operator at least **45 days** before conducting the test.
 - 2. Any person proposing to conduct an emissions test to demonstrate compliance with an applicable standard shall notify the Director at least **15 days** before beginning the test so that the Director may at his option observe the test.
 - 3. The owner or operator of the source shall arrange for controlling and measuring the production rates during the period of air testing. The owner or operator of the source shall ensure that the equipment or process being tested is operated at the production rate that best fulfills the purpose of the test. The individual conducting the emission test shall describe the procedures used to obtain accurate process data and include in the test report the average production rates determined during each testing period.
 - 4. Two copies of the final air emission test report shall be submitted to the Director not later than **30 days** after sample collection unless otherwise specified in the specific conditions. The owner or operator may request an extension to submit the final test report. The Director shall approve an extension request if he finds that the extension request is a result of actions beyond the control of the owner or operator.
 - a. The Director shall make the final determination regarding any testing procedure deviation and the validity of the compliance test. The Director may:

- i. Allow deviations from a method specified under a rule in this Section if the owner or operator of the source being tested demonstrates to the satisfaction of the Director that the specified method is inappropriate for the source being tested.
- ii. Prescribe alternate test procedures on an individual basis when he finds that the alternative method is necessary to secure more reliable test data.
- iii. Prescribe or approve methods on an individual basis for sources or pollutants for which no test method is specified in this Section if the methods can be demonstrated to determine compliance of permitted emission sources or pollutants.
- b. The Director may authorize the Division of Air Quality to conduct independent tests of any source subject to a rule in this Subchapter to determine the compliance status of that source or to verify any test data submitted relating to that source. Any test conducted by the Division of Air Quality using the appropriate testing procedures described in Section 02D .2600 has precedence over all other tests.

KK. Reopening for Cause [15A NCAC 02Q .0517]

- 1. A permit shall be reopened and revised under the following circumstances:
 - a. additional applicable requirements become applicable to a facility with remaining permit term of three or more years;
 - b. additional requirements (including excess emission requirements) become applicable to a source covered by Title IV;
 - c. the Director or EPA finds that the permit contains a material mistake or that inaccurate statements were made in establishing the emissions standards or other terms or conditions of the permit; or
 - d. the Director or EPA determines that the permit must be revised or revoked to assure compliance with the applicable requirements.
- 2. Any permit reopening shall be completed or a revised permit issued within 18 months after the applicable requirement is promulgated. No reopening is required if the effective date of the requirement is after the expiration of the permit term unless the term of the permit was extended pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0513(c).
- 3. Except for the state-enforceable only portion of the permit, the procedures set out in 15A NCAC 02Q .0507, .0521, or .0522 shall be followed to reissue the permit. If the State-enforceable only portion of the permit is reopened, the procedures in 15A NCAC 02Q .0300 shall be followed. The proceedings shall affect only those parts of the permit for which cause to reopen exists.
- 4. The Director shall notify the Permittee at least 60 days in advance of the date that the permit is to be reopened, except in cases of imminent threat to public health or safety the notification period may be less than 60 days.
- 5. Within 90 days, or 180 days if the EPA extends the response period, after receiving notification from the EPA that a permit needs to be terminated, modified, or revoked and reissued, the Director shall send to the EPA a proposed determination of termination, modification, or revocation and reissuance, as appropriate.

LL. Reporting Requirements for Non-Operating Equipment [15A NCAC 02Q .0508(i)(16)]

The Permittee shall maintain a record of operation for permitted equipment noting whenever the equipment is taken from and placed into operation. During operation the monitoring recordkeeping and reporting requirements as prescribed by the permit shall be implemented within the monitoring period.

MM. <u>Fugitive Dust Control Requirement</u> [15A NCAC 02D .0540] - STATE ENFORCEABLE ONLY As required by 15A NCAC 02D .0540 "Particulates from Fugitive Dust Emission Sources," the Permittee shall not cause or allow fugitive dust emissions to cause or contribute to substantive

complaints or excess visible emissions beyond the property boundary. If substantive complaints or excessive fugitive dust emissions from the facility are observed beyond the property boundaries for six minutes in any one hour (using Reference Method 22 in 40 CFR, Appendix A), the owner or operator may be required to submit a fugitive dust plan as described in 02D .0540(f).

"Fugitive dust emissions" means particulate matter from process operations that does not pass through a process stack or vent and that is generated within plant property boundaries from activities such as: unloading and loading areas, process areas stockpiles, stock pile working, plant parking lots, and plant roads (including access roads and haul roads).

NN. Specific Permit Modifications [15A NCAC 02Q.0501 and .0523]

- 1. For modifications made pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0501(c)(2), the Permittee shall file a Title V Air Quality Permit Application for the air emission source(s) and associated air pollution control device(s) on or before 12 months after commencing operation.
- 2. For modifications made pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0501(d)(2), the Permittee shall not begin operation of the air emission source(s) and associated air pollution control device(s) until a Title V Air Quality Permit Application is filed and a construction and operation permit following the procedures of Section .0500 (except for Rule .0504 of this Section) is obtained.
- 3. For modifications made pursuant to 502(b)(10), in accordance with 15A NCAC 02Q .0523(a)(1)(C), the Permittee shall notify the Director and EPA (EPA Air Planning Branch, 61 Forsyth Street SW, Atlanta, GA 30303) in writing at least seven days before the change is made. The written notification shall include:
 - a. a description of the change at the facility;
 - b. the date on which the change will occur;
 - c. any change in emissions; and
 - d. any permit term or condition that is no longer applicable as a result of the change.

In addition to this notification requirement, with the next significant modification or Air Quality Permit renewal, the Permittee shall submit a page "E5" of the application forms signed by the responsible official verifying that the application for the 502(b)(10) change/modification, is true, accurate, and complete. Further note that modifications made pursuant to 502(b)(10) do not relieve the Permittee from satisfying preconstruction requirements.

OO. Third Party Participation and EPA Review [15A NCAC 02Q .0521, .0522 and .0525(7)] For permits modifications subject to 45-day review by the federal Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), EPA's decision to not object to the proposed permit is considered final and binding on the EPA and absent a third party petition, the failure to object is the end of EPA's decision-making process with respect to the revisions to the permit. The time period available to submit a public petition pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0518 begins at the end of the 45-day EPA review period.

ATTACHMENT

List of Acronyms

AOS Alternate Operating Scenario
BACT Best Available Control Technology

Btu British thermal unit CAA Clean Air Act

CAIR Clean Air Interstate Rule
CEM Continuous Emission Monitor
CFR Code of Federal Regulations
DAQ Division of Air Quality

DEQ Department of Environmental Quality
EMC Environmental Management Commission

EPA Environmental Protection Agency

FR Federal Register

GACT Generally Available Control Technology

HAP Hazardous Air Pollutant

MACT Maximum Achievable Control Technology

NAA Non-Attainment Area

NCAC North Carolina Administrative Code NCGS North Carolina General Statutes

NESHAP National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants

NO_X Nitrogen Oxides

NSPS New Source Performance Standard OAH Office of Administrative Hearings

PM Particulate Matter

PM₁₀ Particulate Matter with Nominal Aerodynamic Diameter of 10 Micrometers or Less

POS Primary Operating Scenario

PSD Prevention of Significant Deterioration
RACT Reasonably Available Control Technology

SIC Standard Industrial Classification

SIP State Implementation Plan

SO₂ Sulfur Dioxide tpy Tons Per Year

VOC Volatile Organic Compound