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Coastal 
Coastal Area Management Act (CAMA) General Permit  
 
What Activities Require This Permit? You must obtain a CAMA (Coastal Area Management Act) permit for your 
project if it meets all the following conditions: 
 

• it is in one of the 20 counties covered by CAMA; 
• it is considered “development” under CAMA; 
• it is in, or it affects, an Area of Environmental Concern (AEC) established by the Coastal Resources Commission 

(CRC); 
• it doesn’t qualify for an exemption; 
• the project requires another state or federal permit(s). 

 
What Is the Purpose of This Permit? General permits are used for routine projects that usually pose little or no threat 
to the environment. CAMA general permits are intended for major development such as, but not limited to, docks, piers, 
bulkheads, the placement of riprap and maintenance excavation of canals, channels, basins, and ditches. Its purpose is to 
protect, manage and promote the environment, public trust rights, and the economy of the North Carolina coast. 
 
Who Issues This Permit? Contact the Division of Coastal Management (DCM) district office that serves your area. A 
field representative will evaluate the proposal to determine if your project is eligible for a general permit. If it is, the 
representative will provide you with the appropriate forms required for permit issuance and guide you through the 
permitting process.  
 
How Much Will This Permit Cost? You must pay a fee to cover the costs of processing the request when you apply for 
a general permit. This should be paid with a check made out to the North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality 
or NCDEQ. The fee for most general permits is $200, but some have a fee of $400 depending upon the type of project. If 
a project has multiple water-dependent structures proposed, then general permits fees may stack upon each other. For 
example, a proposed project consisting of a bulkhead ($400) and a docking facility ($200) will have a total fee of $600. 
 
What Are My Payment Options for Permit Application Fees?  The application fee may be paid by check or money 
order. 
 
If Paying by Check, who do I Make the Check Payable to and Where Do I Send the Check? Checks should be 
made out to the North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality, or NCDEQ. They may be given to the field 
representative at the time of the site visit or delivered to the DCM district office. 
 
Where Can I Get the Application for This Permit? While there is no formal application for a general permit, 
applicants should contact the appropriate DCM district office and request approval for development. The applicant shall 
provide information on site location, dimensions of the project area and the applicant’s name and address. In addition, 
the applicant shall provide (1) confirmation that a written statement has been obtained and signed by the adjacent 
riparian property owner(s) indicating they have no objections to the proposed work; or (2) confirmation that the adjacent 
property owners have been notified by certified mail of the proposed work by providing the signed and dated certified 
mail green return cards. The notice shall instruct property owners to provide written comments on the proposed 
development to the Division of Coastal Management within 10 days of receipt of the notice. The notice must also say that 
no response shall be interpreted as no objection. A copy of this notice and project drawings must be provided to the field 
representative. 
 
How Long Will It Take to Review My Application? Most general permits are issued on site and appointments are 
typically scheduled within one to two weeks after a permit request is made, depending on the field representative’s 
schedule and workload. 
 
Where Do I Submit My Application? Contact the DCM district office that serves your area with the requested 
information.  

 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/coastal-management/coastal-management-permit-guidance/areas-of-concern
https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/coastal-management/coastal-resources-commission
https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/coastal-management/coastal-resources-commission
https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/coastal-management/about-coastal-management/dcm-offices-program-areas#dcm-offices
https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/coastal-management/about-coastal-management/dcm-offices-program-areas#dcm-offices
https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/coastal-management/about-coastal-management/dcm-offices-program-areas#dcm-offices
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Coastal           (continued) 

Coastal Area Management Act (CAMA) General Permit  
 
How Long Is My Permit or License or Certificate Valid? The activity authorized by general permits must be 
completed within 120 days of the issuance of the permit. If more time is needed to complete the project, it will be 
necessary to re-examine the project to determine if the general permit will need to be re-issued for an additional 120 
days. Prior to a permit re-issue, the appropriate permit fee must be submitted again.  
 
Notes/Comments: The Coastal Area Management Act defines development as: "any activity in a duly designated area 
of environmental concern ... involving, requiring or consisting of the construction or enlargement of a structure; 
excavation; dredging; filling; dumping; removal of clay, silt, sand, gravel or minerals; bulkheading; driving of pilings; 
clearing or alteration of land as an adjunct of construction; alteration or removal of sand dunes; alteration of the shore, 
bank or bottom of the Atlantic Ocean or any sound, bay, river, creek, stream, lake or canal" {NCGS 113A-103(5)(a)}. The 
20 coastal counties are: Beaufort, Bertie, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Gates, 
Hertford, Hyde, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Tyrrell and Washington. 
 
Legal Authority/Statute Reference: North Carolina General Statutes §113A-118, §113-229 and 15A NCAC 07J .0201 
 
Link: https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/coastal-management/coastal-management-permits/permit-types 
 
Statewide Contact Information:  
NC Division of Coastal Management Headquarters 
400 Commerce Avenue  
Morehead City, NC 28557-3421 
Telephone: (252) 808-2808 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/coastal-management/coastal-management-permits/permit-types
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