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Waste (Solid) 
Yard Waste Treatment & Processing Permit (T&P) 
 
What Activities Require This Permit? This permit is required for the construction and operation of yard waste 
treatment and processing facilities - facilities that receive primarily organic wastes to be treated or processed for recycling 
or reuse in soil or plant related uses (primarily grinding or mulching of wood material). 
 
What Is The Purpose of This Permit? To reduce adverse environmental effects from the treatment and processing of 
yard waste and to protect the health of the citizens of North Carolina. 
 
Who Issues This Permit? N.C. Division of Waste Management, Solid Waste Section  
 
How Much Will This Permit Cost? Fees for yard waste treatment and processing facilities are as follows: 
 

Facility Category Fee 
Annual Permit Fee (except Yard Waste Notification-YWN sites) $500 
New Application – T&P Permit (except YWN sites) $50 
New Application – YWN sites (See YWN Notification, no permit required.  Facility is 
less than 2 acres, and processes or stores less than 6,000 cubic yards per quarter 
of only yard waste and/or clean wood waste) 

$0 

 

See the Solid Waste Section’s schedule of permitting fees. 
 
What Are My Payment Options for Permit Application Fees? Payments may be made by check or electronically by 
echeck or credit card. 
 
If Paying by Check, Who do I Make the Check Payable to and Where Do I Send the Check? Make Check 
payable to: NCDEQ, Solid Waste Section. Mail to: N.C. Division of Waste Management, Solid Waste Section – Permitting 
Branch, 1646 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1646. 
 
Where Can I Get The Application For This Permit? Application guidance can be obtained by contacting Branch staff, 
919-707-8200. Requirements are listed in the .0300 rules and .1400 rules. 
 
How Long Will It Take To Review My Application? As indicated in North Carolina General Statute 130A-295.8(e), 
the Division of Waste Management will make a determination on completeness within 90 days of receipt of the 
application. The division will issue a draft permit decision on an application for a permit within one year after the division 
determines that the application is complete. 
 
Where Do I Submit My Application? One (1) electronic copy of the application should be emailed to 
dwm.swspermitapplications@ncdenr.gov.  The permit engineer may request a hard copy of the application text or 
drawings which can be mailed to N.C. Division of Waste Management, Solid Waste Section – Permitting Branch, 1646 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1646. 
    
How Long Is My Permit or License or Certificate Valid?  Permits can be issued for up to five years.  
 
Notes/Comments: In regard to application submittal, the application fee, zoning approval, operation manual and site 
plan where applicable must be addressed before an application can be considered complete.   
 
Legal Authority/Statute Reference: G.S. 130A-294  
 
Link: https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/waste-management/solid-waste-section  
 
Statewide Contact Information: 
NC Division of Waste Management 
Solid Waste Section - Permitting Branch 
1646 Mail Service Center 
Raleigh, NC 27699-1646  
Telephone: (919) 707-8200 
 

https://ncdenr.s3.amazonaws.com/s3fs-public/Environmental%20Assistance%20and%20Customer%20Service/Permit%20Handbook%20Documents/2016_Revisions/Waste%20Yard%20Waste%20Notification%20Form.pdf
https://files.nc.gov/ncdeq/Waste%20Management/DWM/SW/Guidance/Fee.pdf
http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/waste-management/waste-management-rules/solid-waste-rules
mailto:dwm.swspermitapplications@ncdenr.gov
https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/waste-management/solid-waste-section
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