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Water 
NPDES (National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System) Wastewater 
Treatment/Disposal Permit 
 
What Activities Require This Permit? Direct discharges of wastewater to surface waters of the state. 
 
What Is The Purpose of This Permit? To protect waters of the state through compliance with state and federal water 
quality laws regarding direct discharges of wastewater. The U. S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has delegated 
authority to North Carolina to administer the NPDES program. The N.C. Division of Water Resources issues NPDES 
permits for discharges of treated wastewater to surface waters. Types of facilities permitted to discharge include domestic 
wastewater treatment plants, industrial treatment plants, and water treatment plants. Certificates of Coverage under 
NPDES general permits may be acquired for certain activities that meet thresholds conditions including single-family 
residence discharges.  
 
Who Issues This Permit?  N.C. Division of Water Resources, NPDES Permitting. 
 
How Much Will This Permit Cost?  
New/Annual fee for Major Individual NPDES Permits: $3,440; major modification fee $1,030 
New/Annual fee for Minor Individual NPDES Permits: $860; major modifications fee $260 
New/Annual fee for Certificates of Coverage under General Permits: $100; $60 for single family residences 
 
What Are My Payment Options for Permit Application Fees? Check 
 
If Paying by Check, Who do I Make the Check Payable to and Where Do I Send the Check? Make the check 
payable to: North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality (NCDEQ). Send the check along with the application to 
the address listed under “Where Do I Submit My Application.” 
 
Where Can I Get The Application For This Permit? general permit applications and individual applications 
 
How Long Will It Take To Review My Application?  Approximately six months from the receipt of a complete 
application package; for certificates of coverage under general permits, approximately 60 days.  
 
Where Do I Submit My Application? N.C. Division of Water Resources, NPDES Permitting, 1617 Mail Service Center, 
Raleigh NC 27699-1617 
 
How Long Is My Permit or License or Certificate Valid? Up to five years. 
 
Notes/Comments: 30-day public notice period required for all permits and renewals; Prior to accepting applications, an 
engineering alternative analysis and an environmental assessment may be required for new or expanded discharges.  
Coverage under general wastewater permits may be obtained for a given statewide activity below certain thresholds.  
These activities include discharges from non-contact cooling water, groundwater remediation of petroleum-based 
contaminants, sand dredging, seafood packing and fish farms, and domestic waste from single-family residences.   
 
Legal Authority/Statute Reference:  
Section 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122-125; Parts 130-131; and Part 133; 15A NCAC 2H .0100 
 
Link: https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-quality-permitting/npdes-wastewater/permitting-contacts 
 
Statewide Contact Information: 
NC Division of Water Resources 
NPDES Permitting  
1617 Mail Service Center  
Raleigh, NC 27699-1617  
Telephone: (919) 807-6300  
Fax: (919) 807-6489 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-quality-permitting/npdes-wastewater/npdes-permitting/general
https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-quality-permitting/npdes-wastewater/npdes-permitting-process
https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-quality-permitting/npdes-wastewater/permitting-contacts
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