A1

15A NCAC 02D .1001 is proposed for readoption without substantive changes as follows:

SECTION .1000 - MOTOR VEHICLE EMISSION CONTROL STANDARD

15A NCAC 02D .1001 PURPOSE
This Section sets forth motor vehicle emission control standards in areas where a motor vehicle

inspection/maintenance program is implemented pursuant to State faw law.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(3); 143-215.107(a)(6); 143-215.107(a)(7);
Eff. December 1, 1982;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2002-2002;
Readopted Eff.
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A-2

15A NCAC 02D .1002 is proposed for readoption with substantive changes as follows:

15A NCAC 02D .1002  APPLICABILITY

(a) Until the events described in Paragraph (b) of this section occur, 15A NCAC 02D-Rules .1002 through .1006 of
this-Section are applicable to all light-duty gasoline vehicles for model years 1996 or more recent model years,
excluding the three most recent model years with less than 70,000 miles on their odometers eurrent-medel-year, and

applies to all vehicles that are:

1) required to be registered by the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles in the counties identified

in Paragraph (d) of this Rule;

2) part of a fleet primarily operated within the counties identified in Paragraph (d) of this Rule; or

60 days after the Secretary of the Department of Environmental Quality certifies to the Revisor of Statutes that the

United States Environmental Protection Agency has approved an amendment to the North Carolina State
Implementation Plan, 15A NCAC 02D Rules .1002 through .1006 ef-this-Seetion-shall apply to-1996-or-morerecent

70,000-miles-on-theirodometers all light-duty gasoline vehicles that are a model year within 20 years of the current
year, excluding the three most recent model years with less than 70,000 miles on their odometers, and to all vehicles

that are:
(1) required to be registered by the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles in the counties identified
in Paragraph (d) of this Rule;
(2) part of a fleet primarily operated within the counties identified in Paragraph (d) of this Rule; or

(3) otherwise required under G.S. 20-183.2(b)(5).
(c) Rules15A NCAC 02D .1002 through .1006 efthis-Section-shall not apply to motorcycles, plug-in electric vehicles
or fuel cell electric vehicles as specified in G.S. 20-183.2(b).

(d) The emission control standards of this Section shall become effective in the counties identified in G.S. 143-
215.107A.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 20-128.2(a); 20-183.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(3); 143-215.107(a)(6);
143-215.107(a)(7); 143-215.107A;
Eff. December 1, 1982;
Amended Eff. July 1, 1992; April 1, 1991;
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Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1993 for a period of 180 days or until the permanent rule
becomes effective, whichever is sooner;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2014; August 1, 2002; July 1, 1994; July 1, 1993.

Readopted Eff.
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A-4

15A NCAC 02D .1003 is proposed for readoption without substantive change as follows:

15ANCAC 02D .1003 DEFINITIONS
The following definitions of terms apply to Rules 15A NCAC 02D .1002 through .1006 ef-this-Seetion regulating

either gasoline-powered or hybrid-powered motor vehicles:

(1)
)

3)

(4)

Q)

(6)

(7)
(8)
(9)
(10)

(11)

"Fuel Cell Electric Vehicle" means as defined in G.S. 20-4.01.

"Gasoline-powered Motor Vehicle" means a four-wheeled motor vehicle designed primarily to be

propelled by the burning of gasoline in an internal combustion engine.

"Heavy-duty Gasoline Vehicle" means as defined in either a gasoline-powered or hybrid-powered

motor vehicle which is designed primarily for:

€)] transportation of property and has a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of more than
8,500 pounds but less than 14,001 pounds;

(b) transportation of persons and has a capacity of more than 12 persons; or

(© use as a recreational motor vehicle that is designed primarily to provide temporary or
permanent living quarters for travel, camping, or other recreational use and has a GVWR
of more than 8,500 pounds.

"Hybrid-powered Motor Vehicle” means a four-wheeled motor vehicle designed to be propelled by

a combination of one or more electric motors and the burning of gasoline in an internal combustion

engine.

"Light-duty Gasoline Vehicle" means either a gasoline-powered or hybrid-powered motor vehicle

which is designed primarily for:

@ transportation of property and has a GVWR of 8,500 pounds or less; or

(b) transportation of persons and has a capacity of 12 persons or less.

"Model year" means the year used to designate a discrete vehicle model, irrespective of the calendar

year in which the vehicle was actually produced, provided that the production period does not

exceed 24 months.

"Motorcycle" means as defined in G.S. 20-4.01.

"Motor Vehicle" means as defined in G.S. 20-4.01.

"Plug-in Electric Vehicle" means as defined in G.S. 20-4.01.

"Three most recent model years." For the purposes of Rules 1I5A NCAC 02D .1002 through .1006

of-this-Section, the term "Three most recent model years" shall be calculated by adding three years

to the vehicle's Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) or the registration card model year to

determine the first calendar year an emissions inspection is required.

"Vendor" means any person who sells or leases equipment to inspection stations that is used to

perform on-board diagnostic tests to show compliance with Rule 15A NCAC 02D .1005. ef-this

Section:
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History Note:

Authority G.S. 20-4.01; 143-215.3(a)(1);
Eff. December 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2634 2014;
Readopted Eff.
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A-6

15A NCAC 02D .1005 is proposed for readoption without substantive change as follows:

15ANCAC 02D .1005 ON-BOARD DIAGNOSTIC STANDARDS
() This Rule shall apply to all vehicles set forth in Rede 15A NCAC 02D .1002. -1002-of this-Section-
(b) Vehicles covered under this Rule shall pass annually the on-board diagnostic test described in 40 CFR 85.2222.

The vehicle shall fail the on-board diagnostic test if any of the conditions of 40 CFR 85.2207 are met. Equipment
used to perform on-board diagnostic tests shall meet the requirements of 40 CFR 85.2231.

(c) The tester shall provide the owner of a vehicle that fails the on-board diagnostic test described in Paragraph (b) of
this Rule a report of the test results. This report shall include the codes retrieved per 40 CFR 85.2223(a), the status of
the malfunction indicator light illumination command, and the customer alert statement described in 40 CFR
85.2223(c).

(d) Persons performing on-board diagnostic tests shall provide the Division of Air Quality data necessary to determine
the effectiveness of the on-board diagnostic testing program. The data submitted shall be what is necessary to satisfy
the requirements of 40 CFR 51.365, Data Collection, and 40 CFR 51.366, Data Analysis and Reporting, and 40 CFR
51.358, Test Equipment.

(e) All references to federal regulations include subsequent amendments and editions. All federal regulations
referenced in this Rule can be accessed free of charge at

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collectionCfr.action?collectionCode=CFR.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 20-128.2(a); 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(6); 143-215.107(a)(7); 143-
215.107A(b);
Eff. December 1, 1982;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2014; August 1, 2002; July 1, 1998; April 1, 1991; November 1, 1986
1986;
Readopted Eff.
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15A NCAC 02D .1006 is proposed for readoption without substantive change as follows:

15ANCAC 02D .1006  SALE AND SERVICE OF ANALYZERS

(@) Requirements. A vendor shall not sell or lease equipment unless it meets the requirements of 40 CFR 85.2231
Onboard Diagnostic Test Equipment Requirements, and has the software necessary to record and transmit the data
required by the Division of Motor Vehicles and the Division of Air Quality to determine compliance with the
inspection/maintenance program requirements of this Section.

(b) Hardware repair. When equipment hardware fails to meet the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule for a
particular analyzer, the vendor, after receiving a call from an inspection station to its respective service call center,
shall communicate with the impacted station within 24 hours and:

(1) Where the hardware problem is stopping 20 percent or more inspections for a particular analyzer or
is compromising the security of the inspection system, the vendor shall repair the problem within
48 hours after the initial call to its respective service call center.

(2) Where the hardware problem is stopping less than 20 percent of all inspections for a particular
analyzer and is not compromising the security of the inspection system, the vendor shall repair the
problem within 72 hours after the initial call to its respective service call center.

3 Where the hardware problem is not stopping inspections and is not compromising the security of
the inspection system, the vendor shall repair the problem within 96 hours after the initial call to its
respective service call center.

(c) Software repair revisions. When analyzer software fails to meet the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule,
the vendor, after receiving a call from an inspection station to its respective service call center, shall communicate
with the station within 24 hours. The vendor shall identify and characterize the software problem within 5 five days.
The vendor shall, within that same 5-day five-day period, inform the station owner and the Division as to the nature
of the problem and the proposed corrective course of action; and:

@ Where the software problem is stopping 20 percent or more inspections for a particular analyzer or
is compromising the security of the inspection system, the vendor shall submit a new revision of the
software to the Division for approval within 19 days after receiving the initial call to its service call
center.

(2) Where the software problem is stopping less than 20 percent of all inspections for a particular
analyzer and is not compromising the security of the inspection system, the vendor shall submit a
new revision of the software to the Division for approval within 33 days after receiving the initial
call to its service call center.

3) The vendor shall distribute the new revision of the software to all impacted stations within 14 days
after the vendor receives written notification from the Division that the software has been approved
as meeting the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

(d) Documentation of the initial service call. The vendor's service call center shall assign a unique service response

number to every reported new hardware or software problem. The time and date of the initial call shall be recorded
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and identified with the service response number. The service response number shall be communicated to the

inspection station operator at the time of the initial contact.

History Note:

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(6),(14);
Eff. January 1, 2007;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2034.2014;

Readopted Eff.
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A-9

15A NCAC 02D .1008 is proposed for readoption without change as follows:

15A NCAC 02D .1008 HEAVY DUTY DIESEL ENGINE REQUIREMENTS
(a) Definitions. For the purposes of this Rule, the following definitions apply:

1) "Heavy duty diesel engine," means any diesel engine used in a vehicle with a gross vehicle weight

rating of 14,001 pounds and greater.

2) "Model year" means model year as defined in 40 CFR Section 85.2302.
(b) Requirement. No model year 2005 or 2006 heavy duty diesel engine may be sold, leased, or registered within
North Carolina unless it has been certified by the California Air Resources Board as meeting the requirements of Title
13 of the California Code of Regulations, Section 1956.8 (as amended).
(c) Referenced Regulation. A copy of Title 13 of the California Code of Regulations, Section 1956.8, may be obtained
free of charge via the internet from the Office of Administrative Law California Code of Regulations website at
http://ccr.oal.ca.gov/, or a hard copy may be obtained at a cost of five dollars ($5.00) from the Public Information
Office, California Air Resources Board, P.O. Box 2815, Sacramento, CA, 95812.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(6)-(7);
Eff. December 31, 2001 by Exec. Order No. 15;
Amended Eff. July 18, 2002-2002;
Readopted Eff.
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