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Marketplace Facilitator and Marketplace Seller FAQs 
 
When does North Carolina require marketplace facilitators to begin collecting and 
reporting sales and use tax on behalf of their marketplace sellers?   
 
The marketplace facilitator provisions are effective February 1, 2020 and apply to sales occurring on or 
after that date.  Refer to Session Law 2019-246. 
 
Is the marketplace facilitator required to collect and remit tax on behalf of all its 
marketplace sellers?   
 
Yes.  Once the Threshold is met, the marketplace facilitator is required to collect and remit sales tax on 
behalf of all its marketplace sellers regardless of whether the marketplace seller:  
 

• has a physical presence in North Carolina; 
• is registered as a retailer in North Carolina; 
• would have been required to collect and remit sales and use tax had the sales not been made 

through a marketplace; or 
• would not have been required to collect and remit sales and use tax had the sales not been made 

through a marketplace. 
 
Is the marketplace seller required to collect and remit tax on its sales through a 
marketplace facilitator? 
 
Generally, no.  However, if the marketplace seller has met the Threshold through multiple channels and 
also sells through a marketplace facilitator that has not met the Threshold, the marketplace seller would 
be responsible for collecting and remitting sales and use tax on such sales.  Refer to the Remote Sales 
webpage for additional details. 
 
Is the Threshold computed on the previous calendar year’s sales, current calendar year’s 
sales, or both?  
 
Both.  
 
How is the Threshold computed? 
 
The sales price of all sales of tangible personal property, digital property, and services sourced to North 
Carolina are added together to determine whether the marketplace facilitator or marketplace seller meets 
or exceeds the Threshold, including taxable sales, sales for resale, exempt sales, nontaxable sales, 
marketplace-facilitated sales, and sales as a marketplace seller.  
 

https://www.ncleg.gov/Sessions/2019/Bills/Senate/PDF/S557v7.pdf
https://www.ncdor.gov/taxes-forms/sales-and-use-tax/remote-sales
https://www.ncdor.gov/taxes-forms/sales-and-use-tax/remote-sales


February 6, 2020 Page 2 of 5 
 
 

When computing the Threshold for multi-channel sellers (e.g., sellers that sell on 
marketplaces, on their own websites, and ship from their physical locations), do you 
combine the number of transactions/dollar amount of sales for all the channels or treat 
each sales channel separately? 
 
The number of transactions/dollar amount of sales for all the channels are combined in determining if the 
seller is engaged in business in North Carolina. 
 
Example – 

• Seller ABC offers its items for sale on Marketplace XYZ, on Seller ABC’s website, and at Seller ABC’s 
brick and mortar store. 

• Seller ABC’s sales on Marketplace XYZ are $120,000 sourced to North Carolina, $95,000 sourced 
to State B, and $25,000 sourced to State C. 

• Seller ABC’s sales from its own website are $75,000 sourced to North Carolina, $20,000 sourced 
to State B, and $80,000 sourced to State C. 

• Seller ABC’s sales from its brick and mortar location in State D are $30,000. 
 
In the example above, seller ABC had $120,000 in sales sourced to North Carolina on Marketplace XYZ and 
$75,000 in sales sourced to North Carolina from its website for purposes of determining whether the seller 
has met or exceeded the Threshold.  Similarly, Marketplace XYZ would include the $120,000 in sales 
sourced to North Carolina in its own computation to determine if it has met or exceeded the Threshold.  
 
Are marketplace facilitators and marketplace sellers required to collect and remit sales tax 
on sales made via the Internet? 
 
A marketplace facilitator that has met the Threshold is required to collect and remit tax on all taxable 
marketplace-facilitated sales sourced to North Carolina, including sales made online.   
 
A marketplace seller that has met the Threshold is generally required to collect and remit tax on all taxable 
sales sourced to North Carolina except for marketplace-facilitated sales where the marketplace facilitator 
is required to collect and remit the sales and use tax.  Refer to the Remote Sales webpage for additional 
details. 
 
Is a non-U.S. marketplace facilitator that makes remote sales sourced to North Carolina 
that has met the Threshold required to collect and remit North Carolina sales and use tax?  
 
Yes.  A marketplace facilitator that has met the Threshold is engaged in business in North Carolina and is 
considered the retailer of each marketplace-facilitated sale it makes and is liable for collecting and 
remitting the sales and use tax due on all such sales.  
 
Is the marketplace facilitator required to provide certification that it will collect and remit 
tax on behalf of the marketplace seller? 
 

https://www.ncdor.gov/taxes-forms/sales-and-use-tax/remote-sales
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No.  The marketplace facilitator is the retailer required to collect and remit tax on marketplace-facilitated 
sales. 
 
Is a marketplace facilitator required to collect any other types of taxes? 
 
Yes.  If a marketplace facilitator meets the Threshold, the marketplace facilitator is required to collect and 
remit motor vehicle lease and subscription tax, scrap tire disposal tax, white goods disposal tax, dry-
cleaning solvent tax, and the 911 service charge for prepaid wireless telecommunications service, as 
applicable.  Consult your tax professional regarding other types of taxes that may be due in North Carolina. 
 
Is a marketplace seller who only sells through a marketplace facilitator and does not have 
a physical presence in North Carolina required to register and file a return if the 
marketplace facilitator is required to collect and remit on all the marketplace seller’s 
transactions?   
 
No. 
 
Is a marketplace seller who only sells through a marketplace facilitator but has a physical 
presence in North Carolina required to register and file a return if the marketplace 
facilitator is required to collect and remit tax on all the marketplace seller’s transactions?   
 
No.  However, a marketplace seller who has a physical presence in North Carolina is required to register 
and remit use tax on tangible personal property purchased, leased, or rented inside or outside this State 
for storage, use, or consumption in North Carolina pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-164.6.  Use tax is also 
due on taxable services sourced to North Carolina and certain digital property purchased inside or outside 
this State for storage, use, or consumption in North Carolina. 
 
Is a marketplace seller that sells through a marketplace and also has direct sales sourced 
to North Carolina required to register and file a return with North Carolina? 
 
If the marketplace seller has met the Threshold through its multiple channels, the marketplace seller is 
required to collect and remit sales and use tax on its direct sales sourced to North Carolina.  The 
marketplace facilitator is responsible for collecting and remitting sales and use tax on the marketplace-
facilitated sales.  Refer to the Remote Sales webpage for additional details. 
 
Can marketplace facilitators or marketplace sellers register without meeting the 
Threshold? 
 
Yes. 
 
How do marketplace facilitators and marketplace sellers register for North Carolina sales 
and use tax?  
 

https://www.ncdor.gov/taxes-forms/other-taxes-and-fees/motor-vehicle-lease-and-subscription-tax
https://www.ncdor.gov/taxes-forms/other-taxes-and-fees/scrap-tire-disposal-tax
https://www.ncdor.gov/taxes-forms/other-taxes-and-fees/white-goods-disposal-tax
https://www.ncdor.gov/taxes-forms/other-taxes-and-fees/dry-cleaning-solvent-tax
https://www.ncdor.gov/taxes-forms/other-taxes-and-fees/dry-cleaning-solvent-tax
https://www.ncdor.gov/taxes-forms/other-taxes-and-fees/911-service-charge-prepaid-wireless-telecommunications-service
https://www.ncdor.gov/taxes-forms/sales-and-use-tax/remote-sales
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North Carolina is a member of the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Governing Board, Inc. (“SSTGB”).  Sellers 
can register with all 24 Streamlined member states (AR, GA, IN, IA, KS, KY, MI, MN, NE, NV, NJ, NC, ND, 
OH, OK, RI, SD, TN, UT, VT, WA, WV, WI, and WY) by completing one online application through the 
Streamlined Sales Tax Registration System.  There is no fee to complete and submit this online registration 
form, available at www.sstregister.org.  
 
Sellers can also register directly with North Carolina by using the Department’s online business 
registration portal or by submitting a completed Form NC-BR, Business Registration Application for 
Income Tax Withholding, Sales and Use Tax, and Other Tax and Service Charge.  There is no fee to apply 
for a certificate of registration in North Carolina.  General questions about business registrations may be 
directed to 1-877-252-3052.  
 
Is a marketplace seller required to report sales through a marketplace separately from 
direct sales sourced to North Carolina on its sales and use tax return? 
 
A marketplace seller should include marketplace-facilitated sales and direct sales on Line 1, “North 
Carolina Gross Receipts,” of the Sales and Use Tax Return, Form E-500.  Sales through a marketplace 
facilitator should be included on Line 2, “Sales for Resale,” of the Sales and Use Tax Return.  Direct sales 
for which the marketplace seller is responsible for collecting and remitting sales and use tax should be 
reported in the taxable “Receipts” column at the applicable rates of sales and use tax.  The marketplace-
facilitated sales are not reported by a marketplace seller as taxable receipts.    
 
Is a marketplace facilitator required to identify sales made on behalf of marketplace sellers 
separately from its own direct sales sourced to North Carolina on its return? 
 
No.  Sales made on behalf of marketplace sellers and direct sales made by a marketplace facilitator are 
added together and reported in the taxable “Receipts” column at the applicable rates on the marketplace 
facilitator’s return. 
 
Does North Carolina allow the marketplace facilitator to file a separate return for 
marketplace-facilitated sales? 
 
Yes.  Taxpayers seeking to file a separate return for its marketplace-facilitated sales should register for a 
second sales and use tax account identification number using the Department’s online business 
registration portal or by submitting a completed Form NC-BR, Business Registration Application for 
Income Tax Withholding, Sales and Use Tax, and Other Taxes and Service Charge, available on the 
Department’s website, www.ncdor.gov.   
 
Who is responsible for obtaining and maintaining a certificate of exemption for a 
marketplace-facilitated sale? 
 
A marketplace facilitator is the retailer responsible for maintaining records that establish a marketplace-
facilitated sale is exempt from sales and use tax. 
 

http://www.sstregister.org/
https://www.ncdor.gov/taxes-forms/business-registration/online-business-registration
https://www.ncdor.gov/taxes-forms/business-registration/online-business-registration
https://www.ncdor.gov/taxes-forms/business-registration/online-business-registration
https://www.ncdor.gov/taxes-forms/business-registration/online-business-registration
https://www.ncdor.gov/documents/form-nc-br-business-registration-application-income-tax-withholding-sales-and-use-tax-and-other
https://www.ncdor.gov/
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Does a marketplace seller need to receive a certificate of exemption from a marketplace 
facilitator for the marketplace seller’s marketplace-facilitated sales? 
 
No.  A marketplace seller is not required to obtain a certificate of exemption for a marketplace-facilitated 
sale.  The marketplace seller and marketplace facilitator should maintain any contract or agreement 
between the parties, the required monthly marketplace facilitator reports, and any other records that 
establish their sales and use tax liability. 
 
Is liability relief available for the marketplace facilitator or marketplace seller? 
 
Liability relief is available to a marketplace facilitator only in a specific situation as provided in N.C. Gen. 
Stat. 105-164.4J(d).  Refer to Session Law 2019-246, s. 4.(c).  A marketplace facilitator that has met the 
Threshold is required to collect and remit sales tax on behalf of all its marketplace sellers. 

https://www.ncleg.gov/Sessions/2019/Bills/Senate/PDF/S557v7.pdf
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