Contact: Julia Jarema
Date: May 10, 2011
Phone: (919) 779-8371

Communities Can Seek Additional Federal Disaster Assistance
Residents in Tyrrell County Can Now Apply for Help 

RALEIGH – N.C. Emergency Management Director Doug Hoell today announced that local governments and certain non-profit organizations are now eligible for federal funds to recover more of the costs for rebuilding and recovering after the April 16 tornadoes.

In addition to debris removal and emergency protective services, 18 counties can expect federal funds to cover 75 percent of the cost of storm-related repairs to roads and bridges, water control facilities, public buildings, public parks and recreational facilities, as well as restoration of power, water and sewer systems. State funds are expected to cover the remaining cost.

In addition, Tyrrell County has been added to the federal disaster declaration from FEMA enabling survivors from that county to apply for state and federal financial assistance to recover from the storm. The latest declaration means that residents in 19 counties in central and eastern North Carolina may be eligible for assistance.

The federal declaration makes available low-interest loans or grants to storm victims to help them repair their homes and businesses. Counties previously designated are Bertie, Bladen, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hoke, Johnston, Lee, Onslow, Pitt, Robeson, Sampson, Wake and Wilson. Residents and business owners in the declared counties can apply for low-interest federal loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration in the following amounts:

Homeowners – up to $240,000 to repair or replace their homes and some personal belongings

Renters – up to $40,000 to replace personal belongings

Business Owners – up to $2 million for business property losses

Any who don't qualify for loans may be eligible for an individual assistance grant from FEMA to help repair and replace personal property.

Individuals can register for disaster assistance with FEMA by going online to or by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362) or (TTY) 800-462-7585. Registration deadline is June 20, so applicants are encouraged to apply now.

In-person help is available at any of the 11 Disaster Recovery Centers. Centers are open in Bertie, Bladen, Cumberland, Greene, Harnett, Johnston, Lee, Pitt, Robeson, Sampson and Wake counties. Representatives from the Federal Emergency Management Agency, North Carolina Division of Emergency Management and other agencies are available to explain assistance programs and help survivors apply for disaster aid. Recovery specialists also help disaster survivors get in touch with other programs that may be able to help.

# # #