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Workers’ Compensation Administration

Statutory Authority
The Workers’ Compensation law provides medical benefits and disability compensation including a weekly compensation benefit for time lost.  The weekly benefit is equal to 66 2/3 of the employee’s average weekly earnings up to a maximum established by the Industrial Commission each year.  When an employee is injured, the employee must go on workers’ compensation leave and receive workers’ compensation weekly benefits after the waiting period required by G.S. 97-28.

Purpose
The purpose of this policy is to insure that employees injured on the job are provided compensation in accordance with the Workers’ Compensation Act and to provide consistent application of these rules and regulations.  Further, the purpose is not only to provide swift and certain remedy to an injured employee, but also to insure a limited and determinate liability for the employer.

Covered Employees
All North Carolina State government employees are covered under the North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Act.  This includes:
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all employees and officers of the State,
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elected officials,
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members of the General Assembly, and
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persons appointed to serve on a per diem, part-time or fee basis.

Benefits
Any employee who suffers an accidental injury or contracts an occupational disease within the meaning of the Workers’ Compensation Act is entitled to benefits provided by the Act.

The employee is entitled to medical benefits and compensation for time lost from work and any disability which results from the injury.

The State has a “self-insured” program and expenditures are paid from current operating budgets.
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Refusal of Coverage
Under certain circumstances involving third party liability an employee may elect to refuse workers’ compensation benefits.  If an employee refuses workers’ compensation benefits for injuries resulting from an on-the-job injury, a release statement, provided by the agency, must be signed by the employee.  Unless there is a signed release statement an employee who loses time from work as a result of an on-the-job injury must be placed under the workers’ compensation policy.

Employee Responsibility
Responsibility for claiming compensation is on the injured employee.  The employee or the employee’s representative shall:
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give notice of an accident to the employer as soon as possible, and not later than 30 days after occurrence of the accident or death, and
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file a claim through the appropriate person in the agency with the North Carolina Industrial Commission within two years from the date of injury or knowledge thereof.

Note:  No compensation shall be payable unless written notice is given within 30 days, unless reasonable excuse is made to the satisfaction of the Industrial Commission for not giving such notice and the Commission is satisfied that the employer has not been prejudiced thereby.                                                  

Agency Responsibility
Each State agency is responsible for administering an effective and efficient workers’ compensation program, which may include third party administration of claims.  The agency shall ensure the employee receives the benefits provided by the Workers’ Compensation Act.  To meet these objectives  and to effectively control costs associated with work-related injuries and illnesses, each agency shall: 

· designate a Workers’ Compensation Administrator to be responsible for ensuring effective processing and monitoring of all claims,

· fund medical treatment and compensation for loss of wages,

· effectively communicate WC policy and procedures to all employees,

· participate in compromise settlement agreements and NC Industrial Commission Hearings or Mediations, where appropriate, and

· the agency, or its designated representative, shall report an injury to the North Carolina Industrial Commission, using the NCIC Form 19, within five days from knowledge of any claim that results in more than one day’s absence from work or if medical expenses exceed the reportable amount which is established by the Industrial Commission.
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Office of State Personnel Responsibility
In the administration of the State Government Workers’ Compensation Program, the Office of State Personnel shall:

· act as technical resource, and liaison for Workers’ Compensation Program,

· provide consultation to agency personnel in managing their workers’, compensation programs and insuring that all agencies provide consistent application of coverage and compensation to injured employees,

· contract oversight, monitoring and evaluation of the effectiveness of third party administration of claims, and intermediary between third party administrator and the State,

· measure and evaluate the effectiveness of the workers’ compensation program at each agency and recommend changes to achieve optimum results,

· maintain a statistical data base summarizing statewide analysis of total expenditures and injuries, and

· develop training and educational materials for use in training programs for the agencies.

Return to Work
When an employee, who has been injured on the job and placed on workers’ compensation leave, has been released to return to work by the treating physician, there are three possible return to work situations  The agency shall develop a structured Return to Work Plan to address Items 2 and 3 below.

1. Has Reached Maximum Medical Improvement and Is Released to Return to Work - When an employee has reached maximum medical improvement and has been released to return to work by the treating physician, the agency shall return the employee to the same position or one of like seniority, status and pay held prior to workers’ compensation leave.

2. Has Not Reached Maximum Medical Improvement but Is Ready to Return to Limited Duty - When an employee has not reached maximum medical improvement and is ready to return to limited work duty with approval of the treating physician, but retains some disability which prevents successful performance in the original position, the agency shall provide work reassignment suitable to the employee’s capacity which is both meaningful and productive, and advantageous to the employee and the agency.  This work assignment shall:



Continued on next page

Workers’ Compensation Administration, Continued

Return to Work (con’t)
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be a temporary assignment and 
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not exceed 90 days without approval from the agency personnel officer.

When the employee reaches maximum medical improvement, the agency shall return the employee to the same position or one of like seniority, status and pay held prior to workers’ compensation leave.

3. Has Reached Maximum Medical Improvement But Has a Disability - When an employee has reached maximum medical improvement and has been released to return to work by the treating physician, but has received a disability which prohibits employment in the previous position, the agency shall attempt to place the employee in another position suitable to the employee’s capacity which is both meaningful and productive, and advantageous to the employee and the agency.  This work placement may be a permanent assignment or either a part-time or temporary assignment until a permanent assignment is found.

If a position is not available for work placement, the agency shall appoint the employee to the first suitable vacancy which occurs.  During the interim period a suitable vacancy is not available, the employee shall be referred to the Office of State Personnel for reemployment assistance and a possible return to work in another agency.

Work Placement efforts shall continue for a period not to exceed 12 months, except with the approval of the agency personnel officer.

Refusal of Suitable Employment
The Workers’ Compensation Act prevents employers from firing or demoting employees in retaliation for pursuing remedies under the Act, but does not speak to reemployment after an employee has been released by the treating physician to return to work.  If an employee, who has been on workers’ compensation leave, has reached maximum medical improvement and released to return to work by the treating physician refuses suitable employment in keeping with the employee’s capacity, the employer shall request stop payment of compensation and implement dismissal procedures.


Note:  See Workers’ Compensation Leave on the following pages.
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