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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 11 – DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Fire and Rescue Commission intends to 

readopt without substantive changes the rule cited as 11 NCAC 

05B .0301. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published. The text of the rules are available on the OAH website: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdoi.gov/insurance-industry/rules-and-rules-

review 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  July 18, 2022 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  NCDOI Albemarle Building, 325 North Salisbury 

Street, Raleigh, NC 27603, Hearing Room 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  This rule is being readopted as 

part of the periodic review of rules pursuant to the periodic review 

and expiration of existing rules as set forth in G.S. 150B-21-

3A(c)(2)g. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Loretta Peace-Bunch, 325 N. 

Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27603; email Loretta.Peace-

Bunch@ncdoi.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  August 30, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 05 - OFFICE OF STATE FIRE MARSHAL 

 

SUBCHAPTER 05B - N.C. STATE FIRE COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .0300 - CERTIFICATION OF FIRE SERVICE 

PERSONNEL 

 

11 NCAC 05B .0301 MINIMUM PROFESSIONAL 

QUALIFICATIONS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission intends 

to amend the rules cited as 12 NCAC 10B .0205, .0301-.0307, 

.0408, .0410, .0713 and .0803. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/sheriffs/all-

commission-forms-publications/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2023 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  July 26, 2022 

Time:  09:00 a.m. 

Location:  1700 Tryon Park Drive, Raleigh, NC 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

Senate Bill 300 requires uniform minimum standards for justice 

officers. The following rules are affected: 12 NCAC 10B .0301, 

12 NCAC 10B .0302, 12 NCAC 10B .0304, 12 NCAC 10B .0306, 

12 NCAC 10B .0307, 12 NCAC 10B .0408, 12 NCAC 10B .0410; 

12 NCAC 10B 0713.  

Senate Bill 300 also requires Rap Back service for law 

enforcement: 12 NCAC 10B .0303 

12 NCAC 10B .0713: Section (b) is affected by Senate Bill 300; 

Section (e) Although the information is collected, there is not a 

reading grade requirement for entry into the basic training 

courses. 

12 NCAC 10B .0803: amendment based on removal of the 

requirement in .0713 
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Comments may be submitted to:  Sirena Jones, 1700 Tryon 

Park Drive, Raleigh, NC 27610 

 

Comment period ends:  August 30, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 10 - SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10B - N.C. SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .0200 - ENFORCEMENT RULES 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0205 PERIOD OF SUSPENSION: 

REVOCATION: OR DENIAL 

When the Commission suspends, revokes, or denies the 

certification of a justice officer, the period of sanction shall be: 

(1) permanent where the cause of sanction is: 

(a) commission or conviction of a felony; 

(b) commission or conviction of a crime 

for which authorized punishment 

included imprisonment for more than 

two years; or 

(c) the second revocation, suspension, or 

denial of an officer's certification for 

any of the causes requiring a five-year 

period of revocation, suspension, or 

denial as set out in Item (2) of this 

Rule. 

(2) not less than five years where the cause of 

sanction is: 

(a) commission or conviction of offenses 

as specified in 12 NCAC 10B 

.0204(d)(1); 

(b) material misrepresentation of any 

information required for certification 

or accreditation from the Commission 

or the North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards 

Commission; 

(c) knowingly and designedly by any 

means of false pretense, deception, 

fraud, misrepresentation or cheating 

whatsoever, obtained or attempted to 

obtain credit, training or certification 

from the Commission or the North 

Carolina Criminal Justice Education 

and Training Standards Commission; 

(d) knowingly and designedly by any 

means of false pretense, deception, 

fraud, misrepresentation or cheating 

whatsoever, aiding another in 

obtaining or attempting to obtain 

credit, training, or certification from 

the Commission or the North Carolina 

Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission. This 

Sub-Item also applies to obtaining or 

attempting to obtain credit for in-

service training as required by 12 

NCAC 10B .1700, .1800, .2000, 

or.2100; 

(e) failure to make either of the 

notifications as required by 12 NCAC 

10B .0301(a)(7); 12 NCAC 10B 

.0301(13) 

(f) removal from office under the 

provisions of G.S. 128-16 or the 

provisions of G.S. 14-230; or 

(g) a positive result on a drug screen, or a 

refusal to submit to drug testing as 

required by the rules in this Chapter or 

the rules of the Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards 

Commission or has refused to submit 

to an in-service drug screen pursuant 

to the guidelines set forth in the Drug 

Screening Implementation Guide as 

required by the employing agency 

through which the officer is certified. 

The Commission may either reduce or suspend the periods of 

sanction under this Item or substitute a period of probation in lieu 

of revocation, suspension or denial following an administrative 

hearing. This authority to reduce or suspend the period of sanction 

may be utilized by the Commission when extenuating 

circumstances brought out at the administrative hearing warrant 

such a reduction or suspension. 

(3) for an indefinite period, but continuing so long 

as the stated deficiency, infraction, or 

impairment continues to exist, where the cause 

of sanction is: 

(a) failure to meet or satisfy relevant basic 

training requirements; 
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(b) failure to meet or maintain the 

minimum standards of employment or 

certification; 

(c) failure to meet or satisfy the in-service 

training requirements as prescribed in 

12 NCAC 10B .2000 or .2100 or 12 

NCAC 09E .0100; 

(d) commission or conviction of offenses 

as specified in 12 NCAC 10B 

.0204(d)(2), (3), (4) and (5); or 

(e) denial, suspension, or revocation of 

certification pursuant to 12 NCAC 

10B .0204(c)(5). 

The Commission may either reduce or suspend the periods of 

sanction where revocation, denial or suspension of certification is 

based upon the Subparagraphs set out in 12 NCAC 10B .0204(d) 

or substitute a period of probation in lieu of revocation, 

suspension or denial following an administrative hearing. This 

authority to reduce or suspend the period of sanction may be 

utilized by the Commission when extenuating circumstances 

brought out at the administrative hearing warrant such a reduction 

or suspension. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7. 

 

SECTION .0300 – MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

EMPLOYMENT AND CERTIFICATION AS A JUSTICE 

OFFICER 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0301 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

JUSTICE OFFICERS 

(a)  Every Justice Officer justice officer employed or certified in 

North Carolina shall: 

(1) be a citizen of the United States; 

(2) be 21 at least 20 years of age for all deputies 

and detention officers and [and be at least 18 

years of age for all telecommunicators; 

telecommunicators;] 

(3) be a high school graduate, or the equivalent 

(GED); as defined in 12 NCAC 10B .0302; 

(4) have been fingerprinted by the employing 

agency; in the manner provided in 12 NCAC 

10B .0303; 

(5) have had a medical examination as required by 

12 NCAC 10B .0304; 

(6) have produced a negative result on a drug 

screen administered according to the following 

specifications: as described in 12 NCAC 10B 

.0410; 

(A) the drug screen shall be a urine test 

consisting of an initial screening test 

using an immunoassay method and a 

confirmatory test on an initial positive 

result using a gas 

chromatography/mass spectrometry 

(GC/MS) or other initial and 

confirmatory tests as may be 

authorized or mandated by the 

Department of Health and Human 

Services for Federal Workplace Drug 

Testing Programs 

[https://www.samhsa.gov/workplace]; 

(B) a chain of custody shall be maintained 

on the specimen from collection to the 

eventual discarding of the specimen; 

(C) the drugs whose use shall be tested for 

shall include cannabis, cocaine, 

phencyclidine (PCP), opiates, and 

amphetamines or their metabolites; 

(D) the test threshold values established by 

the Department of Health and Human 

Services for Federal Workplace Drug 

Testing Programs are incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. Copies of 

this information may be obtained from 

the National Institute on Drug Abuse, 

5600 Fisher Lane, Rockville, 

Maryland 20857 

[http://www.drugabuse.gov/] at no 

cost; 

(E) the test results shall be dated no more 

than 60 days before employment or 

appointment, whichever is earlier; 

(F) the laboratory conducting the test shall 

be certified for federal workplace drug 

testing programs, and shall adhere to 

applicable federal rules, regulations, 

and guidelines pertaining to the 

handling, testing, storage, and 

preservation of samples; and 

(G) each drug test laboratory report shall 

be reviewed by a medical review 

officer (MRO), who shall be a licensed 

physician; 

(7) make the following notifications: 

(A) within five business days, notify the 

Standards Division and the appointing 

department head in writing of all 

criminal offenses with which the 

officer is charged. This shall include 

all criminal offenses except minor 

traffic offenses. A minor traffic 

offense means any offense under G.S. 

20 or similar laws of other 

jurisdictions; except those Chapter 20 

offenses defined as either a Class A or 

B Misdemeanor in 12 NCAC 10B 

.0103(10). The initial notification 

required must specify the nature of the 

offense, the date of offense, and the 

arresting agency. Within five business 

days, notify the Standards Division of 

all Domestic Violence Orders (G.S. 

50B) and Civil No Contact Orders 

(G.S. 50C) that are issued by a judicial 

official against the justice officer and 
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that provide an opportunity for both 

parties to be present; 

(B) within 20 days of the date the case was 

disposed, notify the appointing 

department head of the adjudication of 

these criminal charges, Domestic 

Violence Orders (G.S. 50B), and Civil 

No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C). The 

department head, provided he or she 

has knowledge of the officer's charges, 

Domestic Violence Orders (G.S. 50B), 

and Civil No Contact Orders (G.S. 

50C), shall also notify the Division 

within 30 days of the date the case or 

order was disposed of in court. 

(C) within 30 days of the date the case was 

disposed, notify the Standards 

Division of the adjudication of these 

criminal charges, Domestic Violence 

Orders (G.S. 50B), and Civil No 

Contact Orders (G.S. 50C); 

(D) the required notifications of 

adjudication shall specify the nature of 

the offense, the court in which the case 

was handled, and the date of 

disposition and shall include a 

certified copy of the final disposition 

from the Clerk of Court in the county 

of adjudication; 

(E) receipt by the Standards Division of 

timely notification of the initial 

offenses charged and of adjudication 

of those offenses, from either the 

officer or the department head, shall 

be sufficient notice for compliance 

with this Subparagraph; 

(7) have been administered a psychological 

screening examination as described by G.S. 

17E-7. This psychological screening 

examination shall be valid for a period of one 

year from the date on which it was 

administered; 

(8) be of good moral character as defined in: In re 

Willis, 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E.2d 771 (1975), 

appeal dismissed 423 U.S. 976 (1975); State v. 

Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E.2d 854 (1940); In 

re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E.2d 174 (1989); 

In re Applicants for License, 143 N.C. 1, 55 

S.E. 635 (1906); In re Dillingham, 188 N.C. 

162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State v. Benbow, 309 

N.C. 538, 308 S.E.2d 647 (1983); and later 

court decisions that cite these cases as 

authority; 

(8) have been interviewed as described in 12 

NCAC 10B .0306; 

(9) have a background investigation conducted by 

the employing agency agency, including a 

personal interview prior to employment as 

required by Rules .0305 and .0306 of this 

Section. as required by 12 NCAC 10B .0305; 

(10) not have committed or been convicted of a 

crime or crimes specified in 12 NCAC 10B 

.0307; 

(11) for personnel who are authorized to carry a 

firearm in the execution of their duties, 

satisfactorily complete the employing agency's 

in-service firearms training program as 

prescribed in 12 NCAC 10B .2103 and .2104. 

Such firearms training compliance must have 

occurred prior to submission of the application 

for appointment to the Commission and must be 

completed using the agency approved service 

handgun(s) and any other weapons(s) that the 

applicant has been issued or authorized to use 

by the agency; 

(12) be of good moral character as defined in: In re 

Willis, 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E.2d 771 (1975), 

appeal dismissed 423 U.S. 976 (1975); State v. 

Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E.2d 854 (1940); In 

re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E.2d 174 (1989); 

in re Applicants for License, 143 N.C. 1, 55 

S.E. 635 (1906); In re Dillingham, 188 N.C. 

162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State v. Benbow, 309 

N.C. 538, 308 S.E.2d 647 (1983); and later 

court decisions. 

(13) make the following notifications: 

(a) within five business days of the 

qualifying event, notify the Standards 

Division and the appointing agency 

head in writing of all criminal offenses 

for which the officer is charged or 

arrested. This shall include traffic 

offenses identified in the Class B 

Misdemeanor Manual and offenses of 

driving under the influence (DUI) or 

driving while impaired (DWI); 

(b) within five business days of the 

qualifying event notify the Standards 

Division and the appointing agency 

head in writing of all criminal offenses 

for which the officer pleads no contest, 

pleads guilty, or of which the officer is 

found guilty. This shall include traffic 

offenses identified in the Class B 

Misdemeanor Manual and offenses of 

driving under the influence (DUI) or 

driving while impaired (DWI); 

(c) within five business days of service, 

officers shall notify the Standards 

Division of all Domestic Violence 

Protective Order (G.S. 50B) and Civil 

No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C) that are 

issued by a judicial official against the 

officer; 

(d) within five business days of the date 

the case was disposed of in court, the 

agency head, provided he or she has 
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knowledge of the officer's arrests or 

criminal charges and final 

dispositions, shall also notify the 

Standards Division of arrests or 

criminal charges and final disposition; 

(e) within five business days of the 

issuance of all Domestic Violence 

Protective Orders (G.S. 50B) and Civil 

No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C), the 

agency head, provided he or she has 

knowledge of the order, shall also 

notify the Standards Division of these 

orders. 

(f) The required notifications in this Rule 

shall be in writing and shall specify the 

nature of the offense or order, the court 

in which the case was handled, the 

date of the arrest, criminal charge, or 

service of the order, and the final 

disposition. The notification shall 

include a certified copy of the order or 

court documentation and final 

disposition from the Clerk of Court in 

the county of adjudication. The 

requirements of this Item shall be 

applicable at all times during which 

the officer is employed and certified 

by the Commission and shall also 

apply to all applicants for certification. 

Receipt by the Standards Division of a 

single notification, from the officer or 

the agency head, shall be sufficient 

notice for compliance with this Item. 

(b)(14) The the requirements of this Rule shall apply to 

all applications for certification and shall also 

apply at all times during which the justice 

officer is certified by the Commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-7. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0302 DOCUMENTATION OF 

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENT 

(a)  Each applicant for Justice Officer certification shall furnish 

documentary evidence of high school, college or university 

graduation to the employing agency. Documentary evidence of 

high school graduation consists of diplomas or transcripts from 

public schools or private schools which meet standards adopted 

by either the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction, the 

Division of Non-Public Instruction, or a comparable out of state 

agency. agency; or such documentation as described in 

Paragraphs (b), (c), (d) and (e) of this Rule. Documentary 

evidence of college or university graduation consists of diplomas 

or transcripts from colleges or universities accredited as such by 

the Department of Education of the state in which the institution 

is located, an accredited body recognized by either the U.S. 

Department of Education or Council for Higher Education 

Accreditation, or the state university of the state in which the 

institution is located. 

(b)  High School Diplomas earned through home school programs 

must be accompanied by a true and accurate or certified transcript 

and must meet the requirements of Part 3 of Article 39 of Chapter 

115C of the North Carolina General Statutes, or a comparable out-

of-state statute. 

(c)  Diplomas earned from High Schools high schools or 

equivalent institutions outside of the United States must be 

translated into English and be accompanied by an authentic 

transcript. Transcripts shall be evaluated to ensure they are 

scholastically comparable to United States curriculum 

requirements. 

(d)  High School school diplomas earned through on-line or 

correspondence courses shall be evaluated on a case by case basis. 

Such diplomas must meet state and local requirements for the 

jurisdiction from which the diploma was issued. 

(e)  Documentary evidence of having earned a High School 

Equivalency (HSE) Diploma diploma shall be satisfied by a 

certified copy of a high school equivalency credential or an adult 

high school diploma, recognized both of which must be 

recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, or the state 

Department of Education, in the issuing state or educational 

agency that is authorized in the state to issue a High School 

Equivalency (HSE) diploma. 

(f)  Documentary evidence of the attainment of satisfactory scores 

on any military high school equivalency examination is 

acceptable as evidence of high school graduation if verified by a 

true copy of the veteran's DD214. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-4. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0303 FINGERPRINT CRIMINAL 

HISTORY RECORDS CHECK 

(a)  Each applicant for certification shall be fingerprinted. A 

criminal history records check against State and Federal files will 

be conducted by both the State Bureau of Investigation (SBI) and 

the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) based on those prints. 

Upon receipt from the SBI, the Division shall forward a copy of 

the results of the criminal history records check, to the employing 

agency which shall be retained in the applicant's personnel file. 

(b)  The employing agency shall forward the applicant's 

fingerprint record to the North Carolina State Bureau of 

Investigation for criminal history record check utilizing 

fingerprints against state and federal files. Certifications issued 

prior to the receipt by the Division of the fingerprint and criminal 

history records check of state and federal files, as conducted by 

the SBI and FBI, are conditional. Such conditional certifications 

may summarily be suspended by the Commission upon receipt 

from the SBI or FBI of a fingerprint or criminal history records 

check that indicates that the officer has been convicted of an 

offense as specified in 12 NCAC 10B .0307. 

(c)  The employing agency will receive a report of the results of 

the criminal history record check against state and federal files. 

The employing agency shall retain the results of the criminal 

history records check utilizing fingerprints in compliance with the 

North Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural Resources 

Retention Schedule established pursuant to G.S. 121 and G.S. 

132. The employing agency shall include the results of the 

fingerprint criminal history record check with the applications 

submitted to the Commission. In compliance with 12 NCAC 10B 
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.0404(a)(1), a justice officer shall not be eligible for general 

certification and shall remain on probationary certification until 

the requirements of this Rule have been met. 

(d)  An applicant for certification as a justice officer may not 

perform any action requiring certification by the Commission 

prior to the date on which the employing agency receives the 

report of the result of the criminal history record check unitizing 

fingerprints. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-7. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0304 MEDICAL EXAMINATION 

(a)  Each applicant for certification or enrollee enrollment in a 

Commission-certified basic training course shall complete, sign, 

and date the Commission's Medical History Statement Form (F-1) 

and shall be examined by a either a physician, surgeon, 

physician's assistant, nurse practitioner, or other licensed 

independent practitioner who is licensed to practice in North 

Carolina or who is authorized to practice medicine in accordance 

with the rules and regulations of the United States Armed Forces 

to help determine his or her fitness to carry out the physical 

requirements of the position of justice officer. Effective January 

1, 2018, Telecommunicators who have not previously held 

certification with this Commission, but who have been 

continuously employed by an entity other than a Sheriff's Office, 

and who have previously provided a valid Medical History 

Statement (F-1) and Medical Examination Report (F-2) for 

admission into a Commission accredited Telecommunicator 

Certification Course shall not be required to submit additional F-

1 and F-2 forms for the purpose of obtaining certification. 

(b)  Prior to conducting the examination, the physician, surgeon, 

physician's assistant, or nurse practitioner, or other licensed 

independent practitioner shall: 

(1) read the "Medical Screening Guidelines 

Implementation Manual for Certification of 

Justice Officers" in the State of North Carolina 

as published by the North Carolina Department 

of Justice. Copies of this publication may be 

obtained at no cost by contacting the North 

Carolina Department of Justice, Sheriffs' 

Standards Division, PO Box 629, Raleigh, 

North Carolina 27602; at https://ncdoj.gov/law-

enforcement-training/sheriffs/; 

(2) read, sign, and date the Medical History 

Statement Form (F-1); and 

(3) read the F-2A Instructions to Agency and 

Examiner for Completion of Medical 

Examination Report Form (F-2A) attached to 

the Medical Examination Report Form (F-2). 

(c)  The examining physician, surgeon, physician's assistant, or 

nurse practitioner, or other licensed independent practitioner shall 

record the results of the examination on the Medical Examination 

Report Form (F-2) and shall sign and date the form. 

(d)  The Medical Examination Report Form (F-2) and the Medical 

History Statement Form (F-1) shall be valid for one year after the 

date the examination was conducted and shall be completed prior 

to: 

(1) the applicant's beginning the Detention Officer 

Certification Course, the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course, or the 

Telecommunicator Certification Course; and 

(2) the applicant's applying to the Commission for 

Certification. the agency submission of 

application for certification to the Commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-7. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0305 BACKGROUND 

INVESTIGATION 

(a)  Prior to the background investigation conducted by the 

employing agency to determine the applicant's suitability for 

employment and certification, the applicant shall complete the 

Commission's Personal History Statement (F-3) to provide 

information regarding his or her former names, education, 

address(es), family, financial, employment, and military history, 

as well as any prior criminal or civil charges, actions, or behavior. 

The information provided on this form shall serve as a basis for 

the investigation. The Commission-mandated Personal History 

Statement (F-3) submitted to the Division shall be completed no 

more than 120 days prior to the applicant's date of appointment. 

Prior to employment, an agency shall complete a background 

investigation on all applicants for certification. The investigation 

shall examine the applicant's character traits and habits relevant 

to performance as a justice officer and shall determine whether 

the applicant is of good moral character. This examination 

includes completion of the Commission's Personal History 

Statement Form (F-3) and Mandated Background Investigation 

Form (F-8), ensuring the proper certification and criminal history 

record check required by each. The Personal History Statement 

(F-3) and the Mandated Background Investigation (F-8) forms are 

is available on the Commission's website at https://ncdoj.gov/law-

enforcement-training/sheriffs/all-commission-forms-

publications/. 

(b)  If the Personal History Statement (F-3) was completed more 

than 120 days prior to the applicant's date of appointment, the 

Personal History Statement (F-3) shall be updated by the applicant 

who shall initial and date all changes or a new Personal History 

Statement (F-3) must be completed. 

(b)  Prior to the investigation, the applicant shall complete the 

Commission's Personal History Statement Form (F-3) to provide 

a basis for the investigation. The agency shall certify that the 

results of the background investigation are consistent with the 

information provided by the applicant on the Personal History 

Statement Form (F-3) and give the applicant the opportunity to 

update the Personal History Statement Form (F-3) prior to 

submission to the Division. 

(c)  The employing agency shall ensure the properly notarized and 

dated signatures are affixed to the Personal History Statement (F-

3). It shall also certify that the results of the background 

investigation are consistent with the information provided by the 

applicant on the Personal History Statement (F-3); if not, the 

employing agency shall provide the applicant the opportunity to 

update the F-3 prior to submission to the Division. The agency 

shall utilize an investigator with prior experience or training in 

conducting background investigations. The investigator shall 

document the results of the investigation on the Mandated 

Background Investigation Form (F-8) and shall include in the 

report of investigation: 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

37:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2022 

21 

(1) biographical data; 

(2) family data; 

(3) scholastic data; 

(4) employment data; 

(5) criminal history data; 

(6) interviews with the applicant's references; and 

(7) a summary of the investigator's findings and 

conclusions regarding the applicant's moral 

character known to the agency or listed on the 

applicant's Personal History Statement (F-3). 

This documentation shall be included with all 

other documentation required in 12 NCAC 10B 

.0408. 

(d)  The employing agency, prior to employment, shall examine 

the applicant's character traits and habits displayed in his or her 

performance as a justice officer and shall determine whether the 

applicant is of good moral character as defined in Rule 

.0301(a)(8). The investigator shall summarize the results of the 

investigation on the Commission-mandated Background 

Investigation Form (F-8) which shall be signed and dated by the 

investigator. The Background Investigation Form (F-8) is 

available on the Commission's website. The employing agency 

shall include a signed and notarized Release Authorization Form 

that authorizes the Division staff to obtain documents and records 

pertaining to the applicant for certification that may be required 

in order to determine whether certification may be granted. 

(e)  The Background Investigation Form (F-8) shall include 

records checks from: 

(1) a Statewide search of the Administrative Office 

of the Courts (AOC) computerized system; 

(2) the national criminal record database accessible 

through the Division of Criminal Information 

(DCI) network; 

(3) the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles, 

if the applicant has ever possessed a driver's 

license issued in North Carolina; and 

(4) out-of-state motor vehicles check obtained 

through the Division of Criminal Information or 

obtained through the any other state's Division 

of Motor Vehicles if the applicant held a license 

in that state(s) within the 10 year period prior to 

the date of appointment. 

(f)  The background investigation must also include records 

checks from jurisdictions where the applicant resided within the 

10 year period prior to the date of appointment and where the 

applicant attended high school, as follows: 

(1) Where the applicant resided in jurisdictions in 

North Carolina, Clerk of Court records checks 

shall be acceptable; 

(2) Where the applicant resided in another country, 

an Interpol records check shall be acceptable 

provided the country is a member of Interpol; 

or if the applicant was in the United States 

military, a military records check shall be 

acceptable; or if neither, efforts shall be made 

and documented to attempt to obtain a records 

check from the country and submitted if 

available; and 

(3) Where the applicant resided in a state other than 

North Carolina, a records check through the 

Division of Criminal Information using the 

Out-of-State Computer Name Query (IQ) shall 

be acceptable provided the state will respond to 

that type of inquiry. If not, then either a records 

check response from both the municipality, 

city, or town where the applicant resided and 

the county-wide Sheriff's Office or Police 

Department obtained through traditional 

correspondence, or a records check from the 

appropriate county-wide or state-wide record 

holding agency shall be acceptable. 

(g)  If the applicant had prior military service, the Background 

Investigation must also include a copy of the applicant's DD214 

that shows the characterization of discharge for each discharge 

that occurred and military discipline received, if any. If the 

DD214 indicates a discharge characterization of any type other 

than Honorable, then a military records check shall also be 

required. 

(h)  All records checks shall be performed on each name by which 

the applicant for certification has ever been known since the age 

of 12. If the applicant has had an official name change that 

occurred after the applicant had reached the age of 12 years of 

age, then the name change shall be documented. 

(i)  The employing agency shall forward to the Division certified 

copies of any criminal charge(s) and disposition(s) known to the 

agency or listed on the applicant's Personal History Statement (F-

3). The employing agency shall explain any charges or other 

violations that may result from the records checks required in 

Paragraph (e) of this Section that do not pertain to the applicant 

for certification. This documentation shall be included with all 

other documentation required in 12 NCAC 10B .0408. 

(j)  The employing agency shall include a signed and notarized 

Release Authorization Form that authorizes the Division staff to 

obtain documents and records pertaining to the applicant for 

certification that may be required in order to determine whether 

certification may be granted. 

(k)(e)  The employing agency shall provide the results of a 

completed and processed form AOC-CR-280, Law Enforcement 

Application for Verification of Expunction under G.S. 15A-145.4, 

15A-145.5, 15A-145.6, 15A-145.8A or 15A-146, for each 

applicant presented for certification. The AOC-CR-280 form is 

available on the Commission's website. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-7. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0306 EMPLOYMENT INTERVIEW 

(a)  Prior to employment, the employing agency shall conduct an 

interview of the applicant to determine the applicant's abilities and 

potential for success as a justice officer. 

(b)  The sheriff or agency head may conduct the interview 

personally, or he may delegate personally or by delegating the 

responsibility to a qualified staff member or panel. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-7. 
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12 NCAC 10B .0307 CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD 

(a)  Consistent with and subject to the requirements of 12 NCAC 

10B .0204, every justice officer employed or certified in North 

Carolina shall not have committed or been convicted by a local, 

state, federal or military court of: 

(1) a felony; or 

(2) a crime for which the punishment could have 

been imprisonment for more than two years. 

years; 

(b)  Consistent with and subject to the requirements of 12 NCAC 

10B .0204, every justice officer employed or certified in North 

Carolina should not have committed or been convicted by a local, 

state, federal or military court of: 

(3) a crime or unlawful act defined as a "Class B 

Misdemeanor" and which occurred after the 

date of appointment; 

(1)(4) a crime or unlawful act defined as a "Class B 

Misdemeanor" within the five year period prior 

to the date of appointment; or 

(2)(5) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as 

"Class B Misdemeanors" regardless of the date 

of conviction or commission; or 

(3)(6) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as 

"Class A Misdemeanors" except the applicant 

can be employed if the last conviction or 

commission occurred more than two years prior 

to the date of appointment; or 

(4)(7) a combination of four or more "Class A or B 

Misdemeanors" regardless of the date. 

(8) for personnel who carry a firearm in the 

execution of their duties, an offense that, 

pursuant to 18 USC 922 (g)(8), would prohibit 

the possession of a firearm or ammunition. 

(c)(b)  The requirements of this Rule shall be applicable at all 

times during which the officer is certified by the Commission and 

shall also apply to all applications for certification. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-7. 

 

SECTION .0400 - CERTIFICATION OF JUSTICE 

OFFICERS 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0408 VERIFICATION OF RECORDS 

TO DIVISION 

(a)  Prior to issuing certification of each justice officer, for the 

purpose of verifying compliance with these Rules, the employing 

agency shall submit to the Division, along with the Report of 

Appointment (F-4), the following documents: 

(1) verification of the applicant's compliance with 

the educational requirement pursuant to 12 

NCAC 10B .0302(a); 

(2) certified copy of the applicant's Oath of Office, 

if applying for certification as a deputy sheriff; 

(3) the applicant's Medical History Statement 

(F-1); 

(4) the applicant's Medical Examination Report 

(F-2 and F-2A); 

(5) the applicant's notarized Personal History 

Statement (F-3); 

(6) the Commission-mandated Background 

Investigation Form (F-8) with all 

accompanying documentation set out in 12 

NCAC 10B .0305; 

(7) documentation of negative results on a drug 

screen pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0301(6); and 

(8) verification of the applicant's compliance with 

the probationary certification requirements 

pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0403(b), if the 

applicant is a deputy sheriff or a detention 

officer. 

(b)  Compliance with this Rule is waived, with the exception of 

the requirements of 12 NCAC 10B .0408(a)(8), for officers 

applying for dual certification as defined in 12 NCAC 10B 

.0103(12) provided that: 

(1) the officer holds a valid certification as either a 

deputy sheriff, detention officer, or 

telecommunicator with the employing agency 

requesting dual certification; and 

(2) the officer has not had a break in service since 

initial certification with the employing agency 

requesting dual certification. 

(c)  Where the Division has previously received a complete 

Background Investigation Form (F-8) with all accompanying 

documentation set out in 12 NCAC 10B .0305 in connection with 

another application for certification to this Commission, the 

Background Investigation need only be updated from the date of 

the last background investigation on file in the Division with 

documentation of compliance with 12 NCAC 10B .0305(e)(1), 

(2), (3), and a county-wide and certified records check for each 

name used by the applicant for each jurisdiction where the 

applicant has resided in North Carolina since the initial 

Background Investigation (Form F-8) was completed. In addition: 

(1) If the applicant has been issued an out-of-state 

driver=s driver's license by a state other than 

North Carolina since obtaining certification, 

then compliance with 12 NCAC 10B 

.0408(f)(4), is required; and 

(2) If the applicant has resided in a state other than 

North Carolina since obtaining certification, a 

certified and county-wide record check from 

each jurisdiction (if available) shall be 

provided. 

(d)  If the Personal History Statement (F-3) required in 

Subparagraph (a)(5) of this Rule was completed more than 120 

days prior to the applicant's date of appointment, the Personal 

History Statement (F-3) shall be updated by the applicant who 

shall initial and date all changes or a new Personal History 

Statement (F-3) shall be completed. 

(e)  If the Mandated Background Investigation Form (F-8) 

required in Subparagraph (a)(6) of this Rule was completed more 

than 120 days prior to the applicant's date of appointment, the 

Mandated Background Investigation Form (F-8), shall be updated 

by the background investigator who shall initial and date all 

changes or a new Mandated Background Investigation Form (F-

8), must be completed. 

(f)  The Background Investigation Form (F-8) shall include 

records checks from: 
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(1) a Statewide search of the Administrative Office 

of the Courts (AOC) computerized system; 

(2) the national criminal record database accessible 

through the Division of Criminal Information 

(DCI) network; 

(3) the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles, 

if the applicant has ever possessed a driver's 

license issued in North Carolina; and 

(4) out-of-state motor vehicles check obtained 

through the Division of Criminal Information or 

obtained through the other state's Division of 

Motor Vehicles if the applicant held a license in 

that state(s) within the 10 year period prior to 

the date of appointment. 

(g)  The Background Investigation shall include records checks 

from jurisdictions where the applicant resided within the 10 year 

period prior to the date of appointment and where the applicant 

attended high school, as follows: 

(1) Where the applicant resided in jurisdictions in 

North Carolina, Clerk of Court records checks 

shall be acceptable; 

(2) Where the applicant resided in another country, 

an Interpol records check shall be acceptable 

provided the country is a member of Interpol; 

or if the applicant was in the United States 

military, a military records check shall be 

acceptable; or if neither, efforts shall be made 

and documented to attempt to obtain a records 

check from the country and submitted if 

available; and 

(3) Where the applicant resided in a state other than 

North Carolina, a records check through the 

Division of Criminal Information using the 

Out-of-State Computer Name Query (IQ) shall 

be acceptable provided the state will respond to 

that type of inquiry. If not, then either a records 

check response from both the municipality, 

city, or town where the applicant resided and 

the county-wide Sheriff's Office or Police 

Department obtained through traditional 

correspondence, or a records check from the 

appropriate county-wide or state-wide record 

holding agency shall be acceptable. 

(h)  If the applicant had prior military service, the Background 

Investigation shall also include a copy of the applicant's DD214 

that shows the characterization of discharge for each discharge 

that occurred and military discipline received, if any. If the 

DD214 indicates a discharge characterization of any type other 

than Honorable, then a military records check shall also be 

required. 

(i)  All records checks shall be performed on each name by which 

the applicant for certification has ever been known since the age 

of 12. If the applicant has had an official name change that 

occurred after the applicant had reached the age of 12 years of 

age, then the name change shall be documented. 

(j)  The employing agency shall forward to the Division certified 

copies of any criminal charge(s) and disposition(s) known to the 

agency or listed on the applicant's Personal History Statement (F-

3). The employing agency shall explain any charges or other 

violations that may result from the records checks required in 

Paragraph (f) of this Rule that do not pertain to the applicant for 

certification. 

(d)(k)  All information maintained pursuant to the requirements 

of this Rule shall be subject to all state and federal laws governing 

confidentiality. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0410 AGENCY REPORTING OF 

DRUG SCREENING RESULTS 

(a)  Every justice officer shall be examined and certified by a 

licensed surgeon, physician, physician assistant, nurse 

practitioner or other licensed independent practitioner to meet 

physical requirements necessary to fulfill the officer's particular 

responsibilities and shall have produced a negative result on a 

drug screen administered according to the following 

specifications: 

(1) the drug screen shall be a urine test consisting 

of an initial screening test using an 

immunoassay method and a confirmatory test 

on an initial positive result using a gas 

chromatography/mass spectrometry (GC/MS) 

or other initial and confirmatory tests 

authorized or mandated by the Department of 

Health and Human Services for Federal 

Workplace Drug Testing Programs; 

(2) a chain of custody shall be maintained on the 

specimen from collection to the eventual 

discarding of the specimen; 

(3) the drug screen shall test for the presence of at 

least cannabis, cocaine, phencyclidine (PCP), 

opiates, and amphetamines or their metabolites; 

(4) the test threshold values meet the requirements 

established by the Department of Health and 

Human Services for Federal Workplace Drug 

Testing Programs, as found in 82 FR 7920 

(2017) incorporated by reference, including 

later amendments and editions found at no cost 

at 

https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/20

17/01/23/2017-00979/mandatory-guidelines-

for-federal-workplace-drug-testing-programs; 

(5) the test conducted shall be not more than 60 

days old, calculated from the time when the 

laboratory reports the results to the date of 

employment; and 

(6) the laboratory conducting the test shall be 

certified for federal workplace drug testing 

programs, and shall adhere to applicable federal 

rules, regulations, and guidelines pertaining to 

the handling, testing, storage, and preservation 

of samples. 

(a)(b)  Each agency that is required to report individuals to the 

Commission for certification, or that voluntarily reports 

telecommunicators to the Commission for certification, shall 

report in writing to the Division all refusals and all positive results 

of drug screening obtained from applicants and lateral transfers 

pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0301(6) unless transfers. If the 
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positive result has been explained to the satisfaction of the 

agency's medical review officer officer, who shall be a licensed 

physician. physician, the positive results are not required to be 

reported. 

(b)(c)  Each agency that is required to report individuals to the 

Commission for certification, or that voluntarily reports 

telecommunicators to the Commission for certification, and that 

conducts a drug screen for in-service officers, shall report in 

writing positive results or refusals to submit to an in-service drug 

screening to the Sheriffs' Standards Division within 30 days of the 

positive result or refusal, unless the positive result has been 

explained to the satisfaction of the agency's medical review 

officer, who shall be a licensed physician to the extent the drug 

screen conducted conforms to the specifications of provided the 

drug screen conducted conforms to 12 NCAC 10B .0301(6)(a), 

(b), (c), (d) and (f). this Rule. 

(c)(d)  For reporting purposes, a result will be is considered 

"positive" only in the cases where the drug screen reveals the 

presence of an illegal drug at a level equal to or greater than the 

threshold value as established by the Department of Health and 

Human Services for Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs 

and adopted by reference in 12 NCAC 10B .0301(6). this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7. 

 

SECTION .0700 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR JUSTICE 

OFFICER SCHOOLS AND TRAINING PROGRAMS OR 

COURSES OF INSTRUCTION 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0713 ADMISSION OF TRAINEES 

(a)  The school director shall not admit any individual as a trainee 

in any commission-certified basic training course who is not a 

citizen of the United States. 

(b)  The school shall not admit any individual younger than 21 20 

years of age as a trainee in the Detention Officer Certification 

Course and shall not admit any individual younger than 18 years 

of age as a trainee in the Telecommunicator Certification Course 

without the prior written approval of the Director of the Standards 

Division. The Director shall approve those individuals who will 

turn 21 20 years of age prior to the end of the Detention Officer 

Certification Course and, those individuals who will turn 18 years 

of age prior to the end of the Telecommunicator Certification 

Course. 

(c)  The school shall not admit any individual who has not 

provided documentation that he or she meets the educational 

requirement set out in 12 NCAC 10B .0302. 

(d)  The school shall give priority admission in commission-

certified basic training courses to individuals holding full-time 

employment with criminal justice agencies. 

(e)  The school shall administer the reading component of a 

standardized test that reports a grade level for each trainee 

participating in either the Telecommunicator or Detention Officer 

Certification Course. The specific test instrument shall be 

determined by the school director and shall be administered 

within the first week of the Course. The grade level results for 

each trainee shall be submitted to the Commission on each 

trainee's Report of Student Course Completion. 

(f)(e)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a 

presentation of the Detention Officer Certification Course or the 

Telecommunicator Certification Course unless the individual has 

provided to the School Director a Medical Examination Report 

Form (F-2) and the Medical History Statement Form (F-1) in 

compliance with 12 NCAC 10B .0304. The Medical Examination 

Report Form (F-2) and the Medical History Statement Form (F-1) 

required by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission shall be recognized by the 

Commission for the purpose of complying with this Rule. 

(g)(f)  The school shall not admit any individual trainee in 

commission-certified basic training courses unless the individual 

has provided the School Director a certified criminal record check 

for local and state records where the trainee has resided within the 

past 10 years and where the trainee attended high school. An 

Administrative Office of the Courts criminal record check or a 

comparable out-of-state criminal record check shall satisfy this 

requirement. If an individual trainee has received a probationary 

certificate from the Commission at the time of enrollment, this 

records check requirement shall be waived. 

(h)(g)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in 

commission-certified basic training courses who has been 

convicted of the following: 

(1) a felony; 

(2) a crime for which the punishment could have 

been imprisonment for more than two years; 

(3) a crime or unlawful act defined as a "Class B 

Misdemeanor" within the five year period prior 

to the date of appointment; 

(4) four or more crimes or unlawful acts as defined 

as "Class B Misdemeanors" regardless of the 

date of conviction; 

(5) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as 

"Class A Misdemeanors" except the trainee 

may be enrolled if the last conviction occurred 

more than two years prior to the date of 

enrollment; or 

(6) a combination of four or more "Class A 

Misdemeanors" or "Class B Misdemeanors" 

regardless of the date of conviction. 

(i)  Individuals charged with crimes specified in this Paragraph 

that were dismissed or the person was found not guilty may be 

admitted into the commission-certified basic training courses, but 

completion will not ensure that certification as a justice officer 

through the Commission will be issued. Every individual who is 

admitted as a trainee in a presentation of the Commission-certified 

Basic Law Enforcement Training Course shall notify the School 

Director of all criminal offenses that the trainee is arrested for, 

charged with, pleads no contest to, pleads guilty to, or is found 

guilty of, and shall notify the School Director of all Domestic 

Violence Orders (G.S. 50B) and Civil No Contact Orders (50C) 

that are issued by a judicial official that provide an opportunity 

for both parties to be present, including all criminal offenses 

except minor traffic offenses. A minor traffic offense is defined 

for purposes of this Paragraph as any offense under G.S. 20 or 

similar laws of other jurisdictions except those Chapter 20 

offenses published in the Class B Misdemeanor Manual. Other 

traffic offenses under laws of other jurisdictions that shall be 

reported to the School Director include driving while impaired if 

the maximum allowable punishment is for a term of more than six 

months but not more than two years and driving while license 
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permanently revoked or permanently suspended. The 

notifications required under this Paragraph shall be in writing and 

shall specify the nature of the offense, the court in which the case 

was handled, the date of the arrest or criminal charge, the date of 

issuance of the Domestic Violence Order (G.S 50B) or Civil No 

Contact Order (G.S. 50C), and the final disposition and the date 

thereof. The notifications required under this Paragraph shall be 

received by the School Director within 30 days of the date the case 

was disposed of in court. The requirements of this Paragraph shall 

apply at all times during which the trainee is enrolled in a Basic 

Law Enforcement Training Course. The requirements of this 

Paragraph shall be in addition to the notifications required under 

12 NCAC 10B .0301 and 12 NCAC 09B .0101(8). 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-4; 17E-7. 

 

SECTION .0800 - ACCREDITATION OF JUSTICE 

OFFICER SCHOOLS AND TRAINING COURSES 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0803 REPORTS/DETENTION 

OFFICER CERT COURSE 

PRESENTATION/COMPLETION 

Each presentation of the Detention Officer Certification Course 

shall be reported to the Commission as follows: 

(1) After acquiring accreditation for the course and 

before commencing each delivery of the course, 

the school director shall, no less than 30 days 

prior to the scheduled delivery, notify the 

Division of the school's intent to offer the 

training course by submitting a Pre-Delivery 

Report of Training Course Presentation (Form 

F-7A); and 

(2) Upon completing delivery of the accredited 

course, and not more than ten days after 

receiving from the Commission's representative 

the Report of Examination Scores, the school 

director shall notify the Division regarding the 

progress and achievement of each enrolled 

trainee by submitting a Post-Delivery Report of 

Training Course Presentation (Form F-7B). 

This report shall also include each trainee's 

reading grade level as determined by testing 

required in 12 NCAC 10B .0601(c). 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7. 

 

 

TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Private Protective Services Board intends to amend the rules cited 

as 14B NCAC 16 .0103 and .0807. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdps.gov/dps-services/permits-licenses/private-

protective-services-board 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  July 19, 2022 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  3101 Industrial Dr., Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The definition of "Armed Security 

Guard" is being amended to remove "private detective" and the 

rule governing training requirements for Armed Security Guard 

is being amended to clarify that the 90 day restriction for training 

prior to registration only applies to the initial training. (For re-

qualification it is 180 days.) 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Paul Sherwin, 3101 Industrial 

Dr., Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (919) 788-5320; fax 

(919) 715-0370; email paul.sherwin@ncdps.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  August 30, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 16 - PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES 

BOARD 

 

SECTION .0100 - ORGANIZATION AND GENERAL 

PROVISIONS 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0103 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 74C, the following 

definitions shall apply throughout this Subchapter: 

(1) "Agency Head" means the Chairman of the 

Board. 

(2) "Applicant" means any person, firm, or 

corporation applying to the Board for a license, 

trainee permit, registration, or firearms trainer 

certificate. 
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(3) "Armed Private Security Guard" means an 

individual employed, full time or part time, by 

a contract security company or a proprietary 

security organization: 

(a) who at any time wears, carries, or 

possesses a firearm in the performance 

of his or her duties; and 

(b) whose principal duty is that of: 

(i) an armed security guard, 

officer, patrol, or watchman; 

(ii) an armed armored car service 

guard; guard; or 

(iii) a private detective; or 

(iv)(iii) an armed courier service 

guard. 

(4) "Board" means the Private Protective Services 

Board established by G.S. 74C. 

(5) "Branch Manager or Operator" means the 

individual endowed with the responsibility and 

liability for a branch office. 

(6) "Branch Office" means a separate but 

dependent part of a central organization 

engaged in the business of providing private 

protective services established for the purpose 

of extending the activities of the central 

organization. The establishment of a telephone 

number or mailing address in the company 

name constitutes prima facie evidence of a 

branch office. If an out-of-state person, firm, 

association, or corporation opens an office in 

North Carolina, the North Carolina office shall 

be deemed the principal place of business and 

shall have a resident licensed qualifying agent. 

(7) "Chairman" means the Chairman of the Private 

Protective Services Board. 

(8) "Contract Security Company" means any 

person, firm, association, or corporation 

engaging in a private protective services 

business as defined in G.S. 74C-3 that provides 

the services on a contractual basis for a fee or 

other valuable consideration to any other 

person, firm, association, or corporation. 

(9) "Direct Supervision" means personal, face-to-

face contact and direction of the trainee's 

activities on a frequent and reasonable basis 

based upon the trainee's level of experience. 

(10) "Investigative Capacity" means any law 

enforcement agency position for which the 

duties include conducting investigations and 

interviews, completing reports, and testifying in 

courts, administrative hearings, or military 

tribunals. 

(11) "Law Enforcement Officer" means a sworn 

peace officer who has the power of arrest, and 

who is an employee of the United States, any 

state, or any political subdivision of a state. 

(12) "Licensee" means any person licensed to 

perform private protective services in North 

Carolina in accordance with G.S. 74C. 

(13) "Proprietary Security Organization" means any 

person, firm, association, corporation, or 

department that employs watchmen, security 

guards or "officers," patrol personnel, or 

couriers in connection with the business affairs 

of the employer. 

(14) "Qualifying Agent" means the individual 

licensee who is responsible for the private 

protective services business. If the licensee 

maintains an office in North Carolina, the 

Qualifying Agent must be a resident of North 

Carolina. 

(15) "Registered agent" means the individual 

resident of North Carolina designated by the 

business entity in lieu of the Qualifying Agent 

as allowed by G.S. 74C-8(c)(1) who may be, 

but is not required to be, the registered agent 

required by G.S. 55D-30. 

(16) "Restored" means that an individual is no 

longer in need of psychiatric care as determined 

by a physician. 

(17) "Temporary unarmed security guard" means an 

individual who is hired for a period of 30 days 

or less within a calendar year and who is 

designated by his or her employer as a 

temporary security guard at the start of 

employment. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 74C-8. 

 

SECTION .0800 - ARMED SECURITY GUARD FIREARM 

REGISTRATION PERMIT 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0807 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR ARMED SECURITY GUARDS 

(a)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 

permit shall first complete the basic unarmed security guard 

training course set forth in Rule .0707 of this Chapter. 

(b)  Private investigator licensees applying for an armed security 

guard firearm registration permit shall first complete a five-hour 

training course consisting of the courses set forth in Rule 

.0707(a)(1) and (2) of this Chapter and all additional training 

requirements set forth in that Rule. 

(c)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 

permit shall complete a basic training course for armed security 

guards which consists of at least 20 hours of classroom instruction 

including: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of handguns and on 

the powers and authority of an armed security 

guard, including familiarity with rules and 

regulations relating to armed security guards 

(minimum of four hours); 

(2) handgun safety, including range firing 

procedures (minimum of one hour); 

(3) handgun operation and maintenance (minimum 

of three hours); 

(4) handgun fundamentals (minimum of eight 

hours); and 

(5) night firing (minimum of four hours). 
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Subparagraph (c)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (c)(3), and 

Subparagraph (c)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to the 

applicant's participation in range firing. 

(d)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 

permit shall attain a score of at least 80 percent accuracy on a 

firearms range qualification course adopted by the Board and the 

Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is on file in the 

Director's office, once in three consecutive attempts. Should a 

student fail to attain a score of 80 percent accuracy, the student 

may be given a second opportunity to qualify once in three 

consecutive attempts on the course of fire the student did not pass. 

Failure to qualify after the second series of attempts shall require 

the student to repeat the entire basic training course for armed 

security guards. All attempts must take place within 20 days of 

the completion of the initial 20 hour course. For rifle qualification 

all shots shall be located on the target. 

(e)  All initial armed security guard training required by this 

Chapter shall be administered by a certified trainer and shall be 

completed no more than 90 days prior to the date of issuance of 

the armed security guard firearm registration permit. 

(f)  All applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 

permit shall obtain training under the provisions of this Section 

using their duty weapon and their duty ammunition or ballistic 

equivalent ammunition, to include lead-free ammunition that 

meets the same point of aim, point of impact, and felt recoil of the 

duty ammunition, for all weapons. 

(g)  No more than six new or renewal armed security guard 

applicants per one instructor shall be placed on the firing line at 

any one time during firearms range training for armed security 

guards. 

(h)  Applicants for re-certification of an armed security guard 

firearm registration permit shall complete a basic recertification 

training course for armed security guards that consists of at least 

four hours of classroom instruction and is a review of the 

requirements set forth in Subparagraphs (c)(1) through (c)(5) of 

this Rule. The recertification course is valid for 180 days after 

completion of the course. Applicants for recertification of an 

armed security guard firearm registration permit shall also 

complete the requirements of Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(i)  An armed guard registered with one company may be 

registered with a second company. The registration shall be 

considered "dual." The registration with the second company shall 

expire at the same time that the registration expires with the first 

company. An updated application shall be required to be 

submitted by the applicant, along with the digital photograph, 

updated criminal records checks, and a forty dollar ($40.00) 

registration fee. If the guard will be carrying a firearm of the same 

make, model, and caliber, then no additional firearms training 

shall be required. The licensee shall submit a letter stating the 

guard will be carrying the same make and model firearm. If the 

guard will be carrying a firearm of a different make and model, 

the licensee shall submit a letter to the Board advising of the 

make, model, and caliber of the firearm the guard will be carrying 

and the guard shall be required to qualify at the firing range on 

both the day and night qualification course. The qualification 

score is valid for 180 days after completion of the course. 

(j)  To be authorized to carry a standard 12 gauge shotgun in the 

performance of his or her duties as an armed security guard, an 

applicant shall complete, in addition to the requirements of 

Paragraphs (a), (c), and (d) of this Rule, six hours of classroom 

training that shall include the following: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of shotgun 

(minimum of one hour); 

(2) shotgun safety, including range firing 

procedures (minimum of one hour); 

(3) shotgun operation and maintenance (minimum 

of one hour); 

(4) shotgun fundamentals (minimum of two hours); 

and 

(5) night firing (minimum of one hour). 

Subparagraph (j)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (j)(3), and 

Subparagraph (j)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to the 

applicant's participation in range firing. 

(k)  An applicant may take the additional shotgun training at a 

time after the initial training in this Rule. If the shotgun training 

is completed at a later time, the shotgun certification shall run 

concurrent with the armed registration permit. In addition to the 

requirements set forth in Paragraph (j) of this Rule, applicants 

shall attain a score of at least 80 percent accuracy on a shotgun 

range qualification course adopted by the Board and the Secretary 

of Public Safety, a copy of which is on file in the Director's office. 

(l)  Applicants for shotgun recertification shall complete one hour 

of classroom training covering the topics set forth in Paragraph (j) 

of this Rule and shall also complete the requirements of Paragraph 

(d) of this Rule. 

(m)  To be authorized to carry a rifle in the performance of his or 

her duties as an armed security guard, an applicant shall complete, 

in addition to the requirements of Paragraphs (a), (c), and (d) of 

this Rule, 16 hours of classroom training which shall include the 

following: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of rifles (minimum 

of one hour); 

(2) rifle safety, including range firing procedures 

(minimum of one hour); 

(3) rifle operation and maintenance (minimum of 

two hours); 

(4) rifle fundamentals (minimum of ten hours); and 

(5) night firing (minimum two hours). 

Subparagraph (m)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (m)(3), 

and Subparagraph (m)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to 

the applicant's participation in range firing. 

(n)  The applicant shall pass a skills course that tests each basic 

rifle skill and the test of each skill shall be completed within three 

attempts. 

(o)  An applicant may take the additional rifle training at a time 

after the initial training in this Rule. If the rifle training is 

completed at a later time, the rifle certification shall run 

concurrent with the armed registration permit. In addition to the 

requirements set forth in Paragraphs (m) and (n) of this Rule, 

applicants shall attain a score of at least 80 percent accuracy on a 

rifle range qualification course adopted by the Board and the 

Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is on file in the 

Director's office. 

(p)  Applicants for rifle recertification shall complete an 

additional one hour of classroom training covering the topics set 

forth in Paragraph (m) of this Rule and shall also complete the 

requirements of Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 
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(q)  Upon written request, an applicant for an armed security guard 

firearm registration permit who possesses a current firearms 

trainer certificate shall be given a firearms registration permit that 

will run concurrent with the trainer certificate upon completion of 

an annual qualification with the applicant's duty firearms as set 

forth in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(r)  An armed security guard is required to qualify annually both 

for day and night firing with his or her duty handgun, shotgun, 

and rifle, if applicable. If the security guard fails to qualify on any 

course of fire, the security guard shall not carry the firearm until 

such time as he or she meets the qualification requirements. Upon 

failure to qualify, the firearm instructor shall notify the security 

guard that he or she is no longer authorized to carry the firearm 

and the firearm instructor shall notify the employer and the Private 

Protective Services Board staff on the next business day. 

(s)  A firearm training certificate of an armed security guard 

remains valid even if the guard leaves the employment of one 

company for the employment of another. The range qualifications 

shall remain valid if the guard will be carrying a firearm of the 

same make, model, and caliber and no additional firearms training 

shall be required. The licensee shall submit a letter stating the 

guard will be carrying the same make and model firearm. If the 

guard will be carrying a firearm of a different make and model, 

the licensee shall submit a letter to the Board advising of the 

make, model, and caliber of the firearm the guard will be carrying 

and the guard shall be required to qualify at the firing range on 

both the day and night qualification course. The qualification 

score is valid for 180 days after completion of the course. 

However, nothing herein shall extend the period of time the 

qualification is valid. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-9; 74C-13. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 32 - MEDICAL BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Medical Board intends to adopt the rule cited as 21 NCAC 32A 

.0115. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncmedboard.org/about_the_board/rule_changes 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  August 30, 2022 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  The public hearing will be held remotely via 

teleconference 1-919-518-9840; Conference ID: 957 499 419# 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To establish a rule for petitioning 

the NC Medical Board for rule making. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Wanda Long, P.O. Box 20007, 

Raleigh, NC 27619-0007; phone (919) 326-1109; email 

rules@ncmedboard.org  

 

Comment period ends:  August 30, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32A - ORGANIZATION 

 

21 NCAC 32A .0115 PETITION FOR RULE-MAKING 

(a)  Any person submitting a petition to adopt, amend, or repeal a 

rule by the Board shall address a petition to the Board's Rule 

Making Coordinator at the office address in 21 NCAC 32A .0101. 

(1) The petition shall contain the following: 

(A) for petitions to adopt or amend a rule, 

a draft of the proposed rule or 

amendment; 

(B) a statement of the effect of the 

requested rule change; and 

(C) the name and address of the petitioner. 

(2) The petition may contain the following: 

(A) the reason for the proposal; 

(B) the effect of the new rule on existing 

rules; or 

(C) any data supporting the rule proposal. 

(b)  Within 120 days of submission of the petition, the Board shall 

render a final decision. If the decision is to grant the petition, the 

Board shall initiate a rule-making proceeding by issuing a notice 

as provided for in G.S. 150B-20(c). If the decision is to deny the 

petition, the Board shall send the petitioner written notice of the 

decision. The notice shall state the reasons for denying the petition 

and refer to the appeal rights set forth in G.S. 150B-20(d). 

 

Authority G.S. 150B-20. 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on May 19, 2022 Meeting. 
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Petitions for Rulemaking 03 NCAC 01 .0301* 36:14 NCR 

COMMERCE - EMPLOYMENT SECURITY, DIVISION OF 

Signatures on Reports and Forms 04 NCAC 24A .0108* 36:16 NCR 

Appeals Hearing Notice 04 NCAC 24C .0204* 36:16 NCR 

Telephone Hearings 04 NCAC 24C .0205 36:16 NCR 

Rescheduling a Hearing 04 NCAC 24C .0207* 36:16 NCR 

Conduct of Hearings 04 NCAC 24C .0209* 36:16 NCR 

Withdrawal of Appeal 04 NCAC 24C .0214* 36:16 NCR 

New Filing After Withdrawal of Appeal 04 NCAC 24C .0215* 36:16 NCR 
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Application 07 NCAC 02H .0303* 36:14 NCR 
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Emergencies 15A NCAC 01C .0108* 36:08 NCR 

Preparation of Environmental Documents 15A NCAC 01C .0109 36:08 NCR 

Implementation 15A NCAC 01C .0205 36:08 NCR 

When to Prepare Environmental Documents 15A NCAC 01C .0206 36:08 NCR 

Incorporation by Reference 15A NCAC 01C .0207 36:08 NCR 

Incomplete or Unavailable Information 15A NCAC 01C .0208* 36:08 NCR 

Activities Above the Minimum Criteria 15A NCAC 01C .0304 36:08 NCR 

Activities Undertaken by DEQ 15A NCAC 01C .0305* 36:08 NCR 

Activities of a Special Nature 15A NCAC 01C .0306* 36:08 NCR 

Purpose of the Minimum Criteria Thresholds 15A NCAC 01C .0405 36:08 NCR 

Sampling, Survey, Monitoring, and Related Research Activi... 15A NCAC 01C .0406 36:08 NCR 

Standard Maintenance or Repair Activities 15A NCAC 01C .0407 36:08 NCR 

Minor Construction Activities 15A NCAC 01C .0408 36:08 NCR 

Management Activities 15A NCAC 01C .0409* 36:08 NCR 

Private Use of Public Lands 15A NCAC 01C .0410* 36:08 NCR 

Remediation Activities 15A NCAC 01C .0411* 36:08 NCR 
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ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02B .0202* 35:22 NCR 

Fresh Surface Water Quality Standards for Class C Waters 15A NCAC 02B .0211* 35:22 NCR 

Fresh Surface Water Quality Standards for Class B Waters 15A NCAC 02B .0219* 35:22 NCR 

Tidal Salt Water Quality Standards for Class SC Waters 15A NCAC 02B .0220 35:22 NCR 

Classifications: General 15A NCAC 02B .0301 35:22 NCR 

Cape Fear River Basin 15A NCAC 02B .0311* 35:22 NCR 

Purpose 15A NCAC 02L .0101 36:08 NCR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02L .0102* 36:08 NCR 

Policy 15A NCAC 02L .0103* 36:08 NCR 

Restricted Designation 15A NCAC 02L .0104* 36:08 NCR 

Initial Response, Site Assessment, and Corrective Action 15A NCAC 02L .0106* 36:08 NCR 

Compliance Boundary 15A NCAC 02L .0107* 36:08 NCR 

Review Boundary 15A NCAC 02L .0108* 36:08 NCR 

Delegation 15A NCAC 02L .0109 36:08 NCR 

Monitoring 15A NCAC 02L .0110* 36:08 NCR 

Reports 15A NCAC 02L .0111* 36:08 NCR 

Analytical Procedures 15A NCAC 02L .0112 36:08 NCR 

Variance 15A NCAC 02L .0113* 36:08 NCR 

Notification Requirements 15A NCAC 02L .0114* 36:08 NCR 

MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION 

Definitions 15A NCAC 03I .0101* 36:07 NCR 

Pound Net Set Permit Application and Processing 15A NCAC 03J .0502* 36:07 NCR 

Pound Net Set Permit Renewal 15A NCAC 03J .0503 36:07 NCR 

Pound Net Set Permit Transfer 15A NCAC 03J .0504* 36:07 NCR 

Pound Net Set Permit Conditions 15A NCAC 03J .0505 36:07 NCR 

Permits for Relaying Shellfish from Polluted Areas 15A NCAC 03K .0104 36:07 NCR 

Recreational Harvest of Shellfish 15A NCAC 03K .0105 36:07 NCR 

Taking or Unloading Oysters and Clams on Sunday or at Night 15A NCAC 03K .0106 36:07 NCR 

Permits to Use Mechanical Methods for Shellfish on Shellf... 15A NCAC 03K .0111 36:07 NCR 

Oyster Harvest Management 15A NCAC 03K .0201* 36:07 NCR 

Mechanical Harvest of Clams from Public Bottom 15A NCAC 03K .0302 36:07 NCR 

Shrimp Harvest Restrictions 15A NCAC 03L .0101 36:07 NCR 

Striped Bass Season, Size, and Harvest Limit: Atlantic Ocean 15A NCAC 03M .0204 36:07 NCR 

Auxiliary Vessels 15A NCAC 03O .0103* 36:07 NCR 

Requirements for Bait and Mussel Dealers 15A NCAC 03O .0105 36:07 NCR 

License Replacement and Fees 15A NCAC 03O .0107 36:07 NCR 

License Refunds 15A NCAC 03O .0110 36:07 NCR 

Shellfish Lease Application Processing 15A NCAC 03O .0203 36:07 NCR 

Shellfish Lease Renewal 15A NCAC 03O .0205 36:07 NCR 

Shellfish Lease Application: Request for Review 15A NCAC 03O .0206 36:07 NCR 

Shellfish Lease and Franchise Production Reports 15A NCAC 03O .0207* 36:07 NCR 

Termination Procedures for Shellfish Leases and Franchises 15A NCAC 03O .0208 36:07 NCR 

Standards and Requirements for Franchises 15A NCAC 03O .0210 36:07 NCR 

Standard Commercial Fishing License Eligibility Board 15A NCAC 03O .0401 36:07 NCR 

Standard Commercial Fishing License Eligibility Applicati... 15A NCAC 03O .0402* 36:07 NCR 
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Standard Commercial Fishing License Eligibility Board Review 15A NCAC 03O .0403 36:07 NCR 

Standard Commercial Fishing License Eligibility Criteria 15A NCAC 03O .0404* 36:07 NCR 

Standard Commercial Fishing License Eligibility Pool Cert... 15A NCAC 03O .0406 36:07 NCR 

License, Permit, or Certificate Denial: Request for Review 15A NCAC 03P .0101* 36:07 NCR 

Crab Spawning Sanctuaries 15A NCAC 03R .0110 36:07 NCR 

Purse Seines Prohibited 15A NCAC 03R .0111 36:07 NCR 

Crab Harvest Management Areas 15A NCAC 03R .0118 36:07 NCR 

 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

     

Henderson County 15A NCAC 10F .0312 36:14 NCR 

Stanly County 15A NCAC 10F .0317 36:14 NCR 

Warren County 15A NCAC 10F .0318 36:14 NCR 

Burke County 15A NCAC 10F .0323 36:14 NCR 

Montgomery County 15A NCAC 10F .0327* 36:14 NCR 

Mecklenburg and Gaston Counties 15A NCAC 10F .0333 36:14 NCR 

Northampton and Warren Counties 15A NCAC 10F .0336 36:14 NCR 

Pitt County 15A NCAC 10F .0354 36:14 NCR 

Halifax County 15A NCAC 10F .0378 36:14 NCR 

MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION 

Relaying Permits 15A NCAC 18A .0303 36:07 NCR 

Depuration Harvesting Permits 15A NCAC 18A .0304 36:07 NCR 

Shellfish Management Areas 15A NCAC 18A .0912 36:07 NCR 

ARCHITECTURE AND REGISTERED INTERIOR DESIGNERS, BOARD OF 

Organization of Board and Officers 21 NCAC 02 .0102 36:15 NCR 

Seal of Board 21 NCAC 02 .0106 36:15 NCR 

Fees 21 NCAC 02 .0108 36:15 NCR 

Definitions 21 NCAC 02 .0109* 36:15 NCR 

Architect, Registered Interior Designer, Firm or Partners... 21 NCAC 02 .0201 36:15 NCR 

Applicability of Board Rules 21 NCAC 02 .0202 36:15 NCR 

Rules of Professional Conduct 21 NCAC 02 .0203* 36:15 NCR 

Forms of Practice 21 NCAC 02 .0204 36:15 NCR 

Name of Firm 21 NCAC 02 .0205* 36:15 NCR 

Requirement for and Use of Professional Seal by an Architect … 21 NCAC 02 .0206* 36:15 NCR 

Dishonest Conduct 21 NCAC 02 .0208 36:15 NCR 

Unprofessional Conduct 21 NCAC 02 .0209 36:15 NCR 

Independent Judgement and Disclosure 21 NCAC 02 .0212 36:15 NCR 

Individual Licenses and Registrations 21 NCAC 02 .0213* 36:15 NCR 

Firm Practice of Architecture and Registered Interior Design 21 NCAC 02 .0214 36:15 NCR 

Out of State Firms 21 NCAC 02 .0215 36:15 NCR 

Architect Emeritus 21 NCAC 02 .0217* 36:15 NCR 

Limited Liability Companies 21 NCAC 02 .0218 36:15 NCR 

Architectural Licensure by Examination 21 NCAC 02 .0302* 36:15 NCR 

Architecture Licensure by Reciprocity 21 NCAC 02 .0303 36:15 NCR 

Interior Design Registration 21 NCAC 02 .0306* 36:15 NCR 

Scope 21 NCAC 02 .0901 36:15 NCR 

Requirements 21 NCAC 02 .0903* 36:15 NCR 
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Determination of Credit 21 NCAC 02 .0904 36:15 NCR 

Record Keeping 21 NCAC 02 .0905* 36:15 NCR 

Exceptions 21 NCAC 02 .0906* 36:15 NCR 

Reinstatement 21 NCAC 02 .0907 36:15 NCR 

Continuing Education Reciprocity 21 NCAC 02 .0908* 36:15 NCR 

Documentation and Audits 21 NCAC 02 .0909 36:15 NCR 

Non-Compliance 21 NCAC 02 .0910* 36:15 NCR 

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

Broker-in-Charge Course 21 NCAC 58A .1712* 36:16 NCR 

Application For Registration 21 NCAC 58B .0101* 36:16 NCR 

Registration Fee 21 NCAC 58B .0102 36:16 NCR 

Renewal of Timeshare Program Registration 21 NCAC 58B .0103* 36:16 NCR 

Amendments to Timeshare Program Registration 21 NCAC 58B .0104* 36:16 NCR 

Notice of Termination 21 NCAC 58B .0105 36:16 NCR 

General Provisions 21 NCAC 58B .0201 36:16 NCR 

Public Offering Statement Summary 21 NCAC 58B .0202* 36:16 NCR 

Receipt for Public Offering Statement 21 NCAC 58B .0203 36:16 NCR 

Proof of Cancellation 21 NCAC 58B .0301* 36:16 NCR 

Retention of Timeshare Records 21 NCAC 58B .0401* 36:16 NCR 

Timeshare Agency Agreements and Disclosure 21 NCAC 58B .0402 36:16 NCR 

Timeshare Trust Funds 21 NCAC 58B .0501* 36:16 NCR 

Designation of Program Broker 21 NCAC 58B .0601* 36:16 NCR 

Duties of the Program Broker 21 NCAC 58B .0602* 36:16 NCR 

Limitation, Denial, Withdrawal, or Termination of Educati... 21 NCAC 58H .0210* 36:16 NCR 

Limitation, Denial, or Withdrawal of Instructor Approval 
 
The following rules are subject to Legislative Review. 
 
MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION 

21 NCAC 58H .0303* 36:16 NCR 
 
 
 

Introduce, Transfer, or Hold Imported Marine and Estuarin... 15A NCAC 03I .0104* 36:07 NCR 

Leaving Devices Unattended 15A NCAC 03I .0105* 36:07 NCR 

Biological Sampling 15A NCAC 03I .0113 36:07 NCR 

Recordkeeping Requirements 15A NCAC 03I .0114* 36:07 NCR 

Disposal of Evidence 15A NCAC 03I .0118 36:07 NCR 

Fixed or Stationary Nets 15A NCAC 03J .0101* 36:07 NCR 

Purse Seines 15A NCAC 03J .0105* 36:07 NCR 

Long Haul and Swipe Net Requirements 15A NCAC 03J .0109 36:07 NCR 

Seines 15A NCAC 03J .0110* 36:07 NCR 

Pots 15A NCAC 03J .0301* 36:07 NCR 

Recreational Use of Pots 15A NCAC 03J .0302 36:07 NCR 

Trotlines (Multiple Hook or Multiple Bait) 15A NCAC 03J .0305* 36:07 NCR 

Definitions and Standards for Pound Nets and Pound Net Sets 15A NCAC 03J .0501* 36:07 NCR 

Prohibited Activities in Polluted Shellfish Areas 15A NCAC 03K .0101* 36:07 NCR 

Rakes Prohibited 15A NCAC 03K .0102 36:07 NCR 

Shellfish Management Areas 15A NCAC 03K .0103 36:07 NCR 

Depuration of Clams and Oysters 15A NCAC 03K .0107 36:07 NCR 

Dredges and Mechanical Methods Prohibited 15A NCAC 03K .0108 36:07 NCR 
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Shellfish Harvest Tags 15A  NCAC 03K .0109 36:07 NCR  

Culling Requirements for Oysters 15A NCAC 03K .0202 36:07 NCR 

Mechanical Methods for Oystering Prohibited 15A NCAC 03K .0204* 36:07 NCR 

Marketing Oysters Taken from a Shellfish Lease or Franchise 15A NCAC 03K .0205 36:07 NCR 

Oyster Size and Harvest Limit Exemptions 15A NCAC 03K .0207 36:07 NCR 

Seed Oyster Management Areas 15A NCAC 03K .0208 36:07 NCR 

Oyster Sanctuaries 15A NCAC 03K .0209 36:07 NCR 

Size and Harvest Limits of Clams 15A NCAC 03K .0301* 36:07 NCR 

Prohibited Taking of Clams 15A NCAC 03K .0304* 36:07 NCR 

Clam Size and Harvest Limit Exemptions 15A NCAC 03K .0305 36:07 NCR 

Polluted Area Permit Requirements 15A NCAC 03K .0401 36:07 NCR 

Sea Scallops Size Limit and Tolerance 15A NCAC 03K .0505* 36:07 NCR 

Marketing Scallops Taken from a Shellfish Lease or Franchise 15A NCAC 03K .0507 36:07 NCR 

Weekend Shrimping Prohibited 15A NCAC 03L .0102 36:07 NCR 

Prohibited Nets, Mesh Lengths, and Areas 15A NCAC 03L .0103 36:07 NCR 

Recreational Shrimp Limits 15A NCAC 03L .0105* 36:07 NCR 

Crab Harvest Restrictions 15A NCAC 03L .0201 36:07 NCR 

Crab Trawling 15A NCAC 03L .0202 36:07 NCR 

Crab Dredging 15A NCAC 03L .0203 36:07 NCR 

Crab Pots 15A NCAC 03L .0204 36:07 NCR 

Crab Spawning Sanctuaries 15A NCAC 03L .0205 36:07 NCR 

Striped Bass Requirements; General 15A NCAC 03M .0201* 36:07 NCR 

Striped Bass Season, Size, and Harvest Limit: Internal Wa... 15A NCAC 03M .0202 36:07 NCR 

Striped Bass; Prohibited Trawling 15A NCAC 03M .0205* 36:07 NCR 

Flounder 15A NCAC 03M .0503* 36:07 NCR 

Prohibited Gear, Primary Nursery Areas 15A NCAC 03N .0104 36:07 NCR 

Prohibited Gear, Secondary Nursery Areas 15A NCAC 03N .0105 36:07 NCR 

Procedures and Requirements to Obtain Licenses, Endorseme... 15A NCAC 03O .0101 36:07 NCR 

Procedures and Requirements to Renew Licenses, Endorsemen... 15A NCAC 03O .0102 36:07 NCR 

Commercial Unloading of Fish 15A NCAC 03O .0104 36:07 NCR 

Assignment of Standard Commercial Fishing License 15A NCAC 03O .0109 36:07 NCR 

Surrender of Licenses 15A NCAC 03O .0111 36:07 NCR 

Ocean Fishing Pier Reporting Requirements 15A NCAC 03O .0113 36:07 NCR 

Fishing Gear Requirements for Shellfish Leases and Franch... 15A NCAC 03O .0211 36:07 NCR 

Eligibility for Recreational Commercial Gear Licenses 15A NCAC 03O .0301* 36:07 NCR 

Authorized Gear for Recreational Commercial Gear Licenses 15A NCAC 03O .0302 36:07 NCR 

Possession Limits for Recreational Commercial Gear Licenses 15A NCAC 03O .0303* 36:07 NCR 

Standard Commercial Fishing License Eligibility Pool Appl... 15A NCAC 03O .0405* 36:07 NCR 

General Permit Conditions 15A NCAC 03O .0502* 36:07 NCR 

Suspension and Revocation of Permits 15A NCAC 03O .0504* 36:07 NCR 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Inland Game Fishes Designated 15A NCAC 10C .0301 36:14 NCR 

Manner of Taking Inland Game Fishes 15A NCAC 10C .0302 36:14 NCR 

Taking Possession of Inland Game Fishes 15A NCAC 10C .0304 36:14 NCR 

Largemouth Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0305 36:14 NCR 

Crappie 15A NCAC 10C .0306 36:14 NCR 

Flounder 15A NCAC 10C .0307 36:14 NCR 
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Kokanee Salmon 15A NCAC 10C .0308 36:14 NCR 

American Shad and Hickory Shad 15A NCAC 10C .0313 36:14 NCR 

Striped Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0314* 36:14 NCR 

White Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0318 36:14 NCR 

White Perch 15A NCAC 10C .0319 36:14 NCR 

Smallmouth Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0321 36:14 NCR 

Alabama Bass and Spotted Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0322 36:14 NCR 

Redeye Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0323 36:14 NCR 

Bullheads 15A NCAC 10C .0324 36:14 NCR 

Sea Trout 15A NCAC 10C .0325 36:14 NCR 

Red Drum 15A NCAC 10C .0326 36:14 NCR 

Manner of Taking Nongame Fishes 15A NCAC 10C .0401 36:14 NCR 

Taking Nongame Fishes by Special Device for Bait or Perso... 15A NCAC 10C .0402 36:14 NCR 

Special Devices 15A NCAC 10C .0404 36:14 NCR 

Possession of Licenses 15A NCAC 10C .0405 36:14 NCR 

Trawls and Dredges 15A NCAC 10C .0406 36:14 NCR 

Permitted Special Devices and Open Seasons 15A NCAC 10C .0407 36:14 NCR 

Taking and Possession of Nongame Fishes 15A NCAC 10C .0409 36:14 NCR 

American Eel 15A NCAC 10C .0410 36:14 NCR 

Atlantic Croaker 15A NCAC 10C .0411 36:14 NCR 

Black Drum 15A NCAC 10C .0412 36:14 NCR 

Blue Crab 15A NCAC 10C .0413 36:14 NCR 

Bluefish 15A NCAC 10C .0414 36:14 NCR 

Bowfin 15A NCAC 10C .0415 36:14 NCR 

Blue Catfish, Channel Catfish, and Flathead Catfish 15A NCAC 10C .0416 36:14 NCR 

Cobia 15A NCAC 10C .0417 36:14 NCR 

Freshwater Mussels 15A NCAC 10C .0418 36:14 NCR 

Grass Carp 15A NCAC 10C .0419 36:14 NCR 

King Mackerel 15A NCAC 10C .0420 36:14 NCR 

Margined Madtom and Tadpole Madtom 15A NCAC 10C .0421 36:14 NCR 

Striped Mullet and White Mullet 15A NCAC 10C .0422 36:14 NCR 

Alewife and Blueback Herring 15A NCAC 10C .0423 36:14 NCR 

Sharks 15A NCAC 10C .0424 36:14 NCR 

Sheepshead 15A NCAC 10C .0425 36:14 NCR 

Spanish Mackerel 15A NCAC 10C .0426 36:14 NCR 

Spot 15A NCAC 10C .0427 36:14 NCR 

Tarpon 15A NCAC 10C .0428 36:14 NCR 

Weakfish (Gray Trout) 15A NCAC 10C .0429 36:14 NCR 

Other Fish 15A NCAC 10C .0430 36:14 NCR 

Inland Game Fishes Designated in Coastal Fishing Waters 15A NCAC 10C .0701 36:14 NCR 

Bear Sanctuaries 15A NCAC 10D .0106 36:11 NCR 

 
MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION 

     

Permits 15A NCAC 18A .0135 36:07 NCR 

Permits 15A NCAC 18A .0302 36:07 NCR 

Dealer Tags 
 

15A NCAC 18A .0425* 36:07 NCR 
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TITLE 03 - OFFICE OF THE STATE AUDITOR 

 

03 NCAC 01 .0301 PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

(a)  Any person may request the adoption of a new rule, or the 

amendment or repeal of an existing rule promulgated by the 

Office of the State Auditor by addressing a petition to the 

Rulemaking Coordinator, Office of the State Auditor, 20601 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, N.C. 27699-0600. 

(b)  The petition must be titled "Petition for Rulemaking" and 

contain the following information: 

(1) name, address and email address of each 

petitioner; 

(2) a citation to any rule petitioner desires to amend 

or repeal with either a draft of the proposed rule 

or amendment, or a summary of the major 

elements of a proposed rule. 

(c)  The petition may contain the following information: 

(1) the reason for submitting the petition; 

(2) the anticipated cost factors; 

(3) any additional data supporting the petition. 

(d)  Within 30 days of submission of the petition, the State 

Auditor, or deputy pursuant to G.S. 147-64.10, shall render a final 

decision. If the decision is to deny the petition, the petitioner shall 

be notified in writing, stating the reasons for the denial and refer 

to the appeal rights set forth in G.S. 150B-20(d). If the decision is 

to grant the petition, written notice of the decision shall be 

provided as set forth in G.S. 150B-20(c) and rulemaking 

proceedings shall be initiated. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 147-64.9; 150B-20; 

Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

 

TITLE 04 - DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 

 

04 NCAC 24A .0108 SIGNATURES ON REPORTS 

AND FORMS 

Where DES requires a signature on a report or form, the writing 

shall be signed by: 

(1) the individual, if the person required to submit 

the report or form is an individual; 

(2) the president, vice president, or other officer if 

the employing unit required to submit the report 

or form is a corporation; 

(3) a partner, if the employing unit required to 

submit the report or form is a partnership or 

limited liability partnership; 

(4) a member, if the employing unit required to 

submit the form is a limited liability company 

or professional limited liability company; 

(5) an authorized member or officer having 

knowledge of its affairs, if the employing unit 

required to submit the report or form is an 

unincorporated organization; 

(6) the fiduciary, if the employing unit required to 

submit the report or form is a trust or estate;  

(7) an authorized representative of a governmental 

entity; or 

(8) an agent appointed by the employing unit under 

a power of attorney in accordance with 04 

NCAC 24A .0109. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-9.15; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

04 NCAC 24C .0204 APPEALS HEARING NOTICE 

(a)  The Appeals Section shall mail notice of the hearing to each 

party at least 14 days before the hearing date. 

(b)  A party who elects to receive correspondence and notices by 

electronic transmission shall receive an email notification, at least 

14 days before the hearing date, indicating that the hearing notice 

is available in their SCUBI account. 

(c)  Notice of the hearing shall include: 

(1) the determination appealed; 

(2) the appealing party; 

(3) the time of the hearing; 

(4) the date of the hearing; 

(5) if requested at the time of filing the appeal, the 

physical location of an in-person hearing; 

(6) the telephone number of each party for 

telephone hearings; 

(7) each issue, with statutory reference, to be heard 

and decided; 

(8) the name and contact information of the 

designated Appeals Referee; 

(9) the manner by which witnesses may offer 

evidence and participate in the hearing; 

(10) each party's right to legal representation; 

(11) instructions for requesting a rescheduling of the 

hearing pursuant to 04 NCAC 24C .0207; 

(12) each party's right to request the issuance of a 

subpoena for the production of records or for 

individuals to appear and testify, as well as 

instructions for making these requests pursuant 

to 04 NCAC 24C .0401; 

(13) instructions on how to request an in-person 

hearing;  

(14) instructions on how to give evidence at a 

hearing pursuant to 04 NCAC 24C .0209; 

(15) notice that documents accompanying the 

hearing notice are available in their SCUBI 

account; and 

(16) instructions that if the individual's telephone 

number is not listed or is incorrect to contact the 

Appeals Referee prior to the scheduled start 

time of the hearing to provide the correct 

telephone number pursuant to 04 NCAC 24C 

.0205. 

(d)  The determination, the written appeal, the claimant's 

application for unemployment insurance, the employer's response 

to claimant's application for unemployment insurance, if any, and 

any documents provided to the Appeals Section with the appeal 

shall accompany the hearing notice. If a party desires to introduce 

additional documents or other evidence, e.g., audio or video 

recordings, photographs, or screenshots, at a hearing, the party 

shall submit the additional documents or other evidence to the 
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Appeals Referee or hearing officer and to all other parties prior to 

the hearing in accordance with 04 NCAC 24C .0209(a), (c), and 

(d). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022; September 1, 2017. 

 

04 NCAC 24C .0205 TELEPHONE HEARINGS 

(a)  Hearings shall be conducted by telephone conference call, 

unless a request is made for an in-person hearing at the time the 

appeal is filed or an objection is made pursuant to Rule .0206 of 

this Section. 

(b)  The Appeals Hearing Notice will list a telephone number for 

each party. This is the telephone number the Appeals Referee will 

call unless a different telephone number is provided in accordance 

with this Rule. 

(1) If no telephone number is listed for a party, that 

party shall provide a telephone number directly 

to the Appeals Referee prior to the scheduled 

start time of the hearing. 

(2) If a party wishes to be called at a telephone 

number other than the one listed, that party shall 

provide a telephone number directly to the 

Appeals Referee prior to the scheduled start 

time of the hearing. 

(3) If a party wishes to have witnesses called for 

participation in the hearing, that party shall 

provide the name and telephone number for 

each witness directly to the Appeals Referee 

prior to the scheduled start time of the hearing. 

(c)  Telephone numbers for parties and additional witnesses shall 

be provided to the Appeals Referee by telephone or by email. The 

telephone number and email address for the Appeals Referee are 

listed on the Appeals Hearing Notice. 

(d)  If a party fails to provide a telephone number to the Appeals 

Referee prior to the scheduled start time of the hearing, the 

Appeals Referee shall call the party at the telephone number listed 

on the Appeals Hearing Notice. If no telephone number is listed 

for a party, and no number has otherwise been provided in 

accordance with this Rule, no call will be placed to that party for 

the hearing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022; October 1, 2017. 

 

04 NCAC 24C .0207 RESCHEDULING A HEARING 

(a)  An Appeals Referee may continue a hearing for "good cause" 

as defined in 04 NCAC 24A .0105. In addition to the reasons set 

forth in G.S. 96-15(d1), the reasons for which a continuance may 

be granted include, but are not limited to, the following: 

(1) illness; 

(2) death of an immediate family member. 

Immediate family member is defined as an 

individual's wife, husband, mother, father, 

brother, sister, son, daughter, grandmother, 

grandfather, grandson, granddaughter, 

regardless of whether the relationship is a 

biological, adoptive, step-, half-, or in-law 

relationship; 

(3) a need to obtain an interpreter or translator; 

(4) a religious observance; 

(5) jury duty; 

(6) actively seeking legal representation; 

(7) appearance in another proceeding before the 

Division or the Board of Review; 

(8) active military duty; 

(9) a scheduling conflict created by or to 

accommodate return-to-employment activities 

of the claimant;  

(10) to accommodate the business needs of the 

employer; 

(11) a scheduling conflict of the Appeals Referee; or 

(12) based on the operation and scheduling needs of 

the Appeals Section. 

(b)  Any request for continuance by a party prior to the hearing 

shall be made in writing to the Appeals Referee listed on the 

Appeals Hearing Notice, or where applicable, Order for 

Continuance or Order for Adjournment. The written request shall 

explain the reasons the request is being sought.  

(c)  Unless the parties are notified by the Appeals Referee or the 

Appeals Section that a request for continuance has been granted, 

the hearing will be conducted as scheduled. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

04 NCAC 24C .0209 CONDUCT OF HEARINGS 

(a)  Hearings may be conducted by a Hearing Officer or an 

Appeals Referee, including the Chief Appeals Referee and the 

Deputy Chief Appeals Referee. Consistent with G.S. 96-15(f), all 

hearings shall be conducted in a manner to preserve the substantial 

rights of the parties. 

(1) The parties to an appeal before an Appeals 

Referee have the right to present relevant and 

material evidence as determined by the Appeals 

Referee. 

(2) The Appeals Referee may ask questions to 

develop the record as to the relevant facts, 

circumstances, and issues presented at the 

hearing. 

(3) The Appeals Referee may examine parties and 

witnesses, and shall allow cross-examination.  

(4) All issues relevant to the appeal shall be 

considered and ruled upon. 

(b)  The Appeals Referee shall give each party 10 minutes from 

the time of the scheduled hearing to appear for the hearing. If the 

appealing party fails to appear at the hearing and a continuance 

had not been previously granted, the Appeals Referee shall issue 

an Appeals Decision dismissing the appeal. If the appealing party 

appears and the non-appealing party fails to appear, the Appeals 

Referee shall proceed with the hearing . 

(c)  If a party wishes to introduce documents or other evidence not 

provided by the Appeals Section with the Appeals Hearing 

Notice, the party shall provide a copy to the Appeals Referee and 

to all other parties prior to the hearing.  
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(d)  Any party propounding in excess of 25 pages of documents, 

photographs, or screen shots shall number and paginate each 

exhibit, and provide an index listing each exhibit and its 

corresponding page number, which will become part of the 

official record.  

(e)  Official notice may be taken by the Appeals Referee of all 

facts for which judicial notice may be taken as well as other facts 

within the specialized knowledge of the DES. The official notice 

and its source shall be stated on the record. Each party shall be 

given an opportunity to dispute the noticed fact by argument and 

submission of evidence on the record. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 20 CFR 650.2; 

Eff. July 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

04 NCAC 24C .0214 WITHDRAWAL OF APPEAL 

(a)  The appealing party may request to withdraw an appeal. Any 

request to withdraw an appeal must be made to the Appeals 

Referee scheduled to conduct the hearing. 

(b)  A request to withdraw an appeal may be made in writing or 

orally. 

(1) If the request is made in writing, it shall be 

made part of the record and include: 

(A) the Appeals Docket Number; 

(B) the names of parties to the appeal; 

(C) the name of the individual making the 

request, and the individual's job title if 

the employer is the requesting party; 

and 

(D) a telephone number where the 

individual making the request to 

withdraw may be reached. The written 

request to withdraw shall be made part 

of the record. 

(2) If the request is made orally, it shall be recorded 

by the Appeals Referee using the digital 

recording system used to record hearings in 

accordance with G.S. 96-15(c). 

(c)  If a request to withdraw the appeal is granted, the Appeals 

Referee shall issue a written order. The order shall contain no right 

to appeal the withdrawal of the appeal. 

(d)  If the request to withdraw the appeal is denied, the Appeals 

Referee shall notify the requesting party and make an oral ruling 

on the record providing the information considered and the reason 

the request was denied. The order shall contain no right to appeal 

the denial of the withdrawal of the appeal. 

(e)  The Appeal Referee's order granting or denying the request 

shall be included in the official record of the case. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 

Eff. July 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

04 NCAC 24C .0215 NEW FILING AFTER 

WITHDRAWAL OF APPEAL 

A party who has withdrawn their appeal pursuant to 04 NCAC 

24C .0214 may file a new appeal of the determination by the 

Adjudicator consistent with 04 NCAC 24C .0203. The refiled 

appeal shall be scheduled for hearing before an Appeals Referee 

consistent with G.S. 96-15(c). Either the DES or a party may raise 

the issue of timeliness if the refiled appeal is received after the 

appeal rights to the determination have expired. The issue of 

timeliness shall be determined in accordance with G.S. 96-

15(b)(2). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-4; 96-15; 

Eff. July 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

 

TITLE 07 – DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL AND 

CULTURAL RESOURCES 

 

07 NCAC 02H .0303 APPLICATION 

(a)  To obtain services from Accessible Books and Library 

Services, users shall submit an application to the Library, 1841 

Capital Boulevard, Raleigh, North Carolina 27635. Applications 

shall be submitted on a form prepared by the Library and include 

the user's: 

(1) applicant's basic facts, such as applicant name 

and contact information; 

(2) name, address, and telephone number of an 

alternative contact; 

(3) status as an honorably discharged veteran of the 

Armed Forces of the United States; 

(4) qualifying disability, as outlined in 36 CFR 

701.6(b)(1); 

(5) degree of hearing impairment, if any; and 

(6) language, reading and service delivery method 

preferences. 

(b)  Applications shall be certified by an individual authorized 

under 36 CFR 701.6 to certify an applicant's eligibility pursuant 

to 07 NCAC 02H .0302 and shall include the certifying 

individual's name, address and telephone number, title and 

occupation, and an original signature. The certifying individual 

shall not be a relative of the applicant, even if otherwise qualified. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 125-2; 

Eff. April 1, 2011; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

07 NCAC 02H .0305 CIRCULATION 

(a)  The Library shall provide materials and playback equipment 

to users in accordance with the Library of Congress' NLS 

Network Library Manual hereby incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions, and accessible to 

users free of charge at https://statelibrary.ncdcr.gov/blind-print-

disabled/apply-services/loan-policies-and-handbook#nls-

administrative-procedures. 

(b)  The Director of Accessible Books and Library Services may 

suspend a user's Library services for one or more violations of the 

following: 

(1) failure to return materials within the borrowing 

period. The borrowing period for materials are 

as follows: 

(A) six weeks for books; 
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(B) two weeks for magazines; and 

(C) three weeks for DVD and VHS tapes; 

(2) damage to equipment or materials; 

(3) unauthorized use of materials or equipment, 

such as loaning materials or equipment to an 

ineligible person or modification of items 

owned by the Library; or 

(4) exhibiting verbal or physical behavior toward 

Library staff that is abusive, offensive, or 

threatening. 

(c)  The Director of Accessible Books and Library Services shall 

determine the period of suspension not to exceed six months. In 

determining whether a violation shall result in suspension, the 

Director shall consider the violation, the extent of harm to the 

Library's property, and any violations previously committed by 

the user. The Director shall send a letter of suspension to the user 

via U.S. Mail. The letter shall specify the violation and the period 

of suspension. Upon expiration of the suspension period, the user 

may contact the Library for resumption of services. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 125-2; 

Eff. May 1, 2011; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. July 22, 

2017; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022; January 1, 2022; February 1, 2018. 

 

07 NCAC 02H .0307 VOLUNTEERS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 125-2; 143B-10; 

Eff. April 1, 2011; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. July 22, 

2017; 

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 01C .0101 STATEMENT OF PURPOSE, 

POLICY, AND SCOPE 

(a)  The purpose of the rules in this Subchapter is to establish 

procedures within the Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) related to the North Carolina Environmental Policy Act 

(NCEPA). 

(b)  Environmental documents shall be available to public 

officials and citizens before decisions are made and before actions 

are taken. The information shall be reliable and sufficient to allow 

selection among alternatives. 

(c)  The Secretary is the "responsible state official" for DEQ. The 

Secretary may delegate responsibility for the implementation of 

the NCEPA to staff. 

(d)  The provisions of the rules in this Subchapter, the Department 

of Administration's rules (01 NCAC 25), and the NCEPA shall be 

read together as a whole in order to comply with the spirit and 

letter of the law. 

(e)  These Rules establish minimum criteria to determine when 

preparation of an environmental document is not required when 

DEQ is the state project agency. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-2; 113A-6; 113A-9; 

143B-10; 

Eff. August 1, 1989; 

Transferred from T15.01D .0201 Eff. November 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; August 1, 1996; March 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 01C .0103 DEFINITIONS 

The definition of any word or phrase used in rules of this 

Subchapter is the same as given in G.S. 113A-9. The following 

words and phrases have the following meaning. 

(1) "Channel Disturbance" means activities that 

permanently remove or degrade the natural 

functions of the stream such as culverting, 

relocation, channelization, or streambank 

stabilization methods including gabions, rip 

rap, or similar hard structures. 

(2) "Cumulative Impacts" means environmental 

impacts resulting from incremental effects of an 

activity when added to other past, present, and 

reasonably foreseeable future activities 

regardless of what entities undertake such other 

actions. Cumulative impacts are the reasonably 

foreseeable impacts from individually minor 

but collectively significant activities. 

(3) "Direct Impacts" mean environmental impacts 

which are caused by an activity and occurring 

at the same time and place. 

(4) "Disposal" means the discharge, deposit, 

injection, dumping, spilling, leaking, or placing 

of any waste into or on any land or water so that 

the waste or any constituent part of the waste 

may enter the environment or be emitted into 

the air or discharged into any waters, including 

groundwaters, or beneath or on the surface of 

the land. 

(5) "Ecosystem" means all the interrelated 

organisms and their environment within a 

defined area. 

(6) "Forestry Management Plan" means a 

document that guides the practical and 

sustainable application of biological, physical, 

quantitative, managerial, economic, social, and 

policy principles to the regeneration, 

management, utilization, and conservation of 

forests to meet specified goals, and objectives 

while maintaining the productivity of the forest. 

Forest management includes management for 

aesthetics, fish, recreation, urban values, water, 

wilderness, wildlife, wood products and other 

forest resource values. 

(7) "Hazardous Waste" means a waste, or 

combination of wastes, in any state or form 

including gas, liquid, or solid, that because of 

its quantity, concentration, or physical, 
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chemical, or infectious characteristics may 

cause or contribute to an increase in mortality 

or an increase in irreversible or incapacitating 

reversible illness, or pose a present or potential 

hazard to human health or the environment 

when improperly treated, stored, transported, 

disposed of, or otherwise managed. 

(8) "High Quality Waters (HQW)" has the same 

meaning as in 15A NCAC 02B .0224.  

(9) "Inlet" means a waterway between islands 

connecting a lagoon, estuary, sound, or similar 

water body with the ocean. 

(10) "Instream Flow" means the amount of water 

needed in a stream to adequately provide for 

downstream uses occurring within the stream 

channel, including some or all of the following: 

aquatic habitat, recreation, wetlands 

maintenance, navigation, hydropower, riparian 

vegetation, and water quality. 

(11) "Land-Disturbing Activity" has the same 

meaning as in G.S. 113A-52.  

(12) "Lead Division" means the division within 

DEQ that has been appointed by the Secretary, 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 01C .0105, to have 

primary responsibility for preparation of an 

environmental document when DEQ is the state 

project agency. 

(13) "Perennial Stream" means a channel that 

contains water year round during a year of 

normal rainfall with the aquatic bed located 

below the water table for most of the year. 

Groundwater is the primary source of water for 

a perennial stream, but it also carries 

stormwater runoff. A perennial stream exhibits 

the typical biological, hydrological, and 

physical characteristics commonly associated 

with the continuous conveyance of water. 

(14) "Prime agricultural and forest land" means 

lands that possess the best combination of 

physical and chemical characteristics for 

producing food, feed, fiber (including forest 

products), forage, oilseed, and other 

agricultural products (including livestock), 

without intolerable soil erosion. This does not 

apply to lands that are already in or committed 

to development projects such as water 

impoundment, transportation, and urban 

development. 

(15) "Reclaimed Water" has the same meaning as in 

15A NCAC 02U .0103. 

(16) "Resource" means any natural product or value, 

not necessarily economic, but including trees, 

minerals, wildlife, clean air and water, fisheries, 

ecosystems, landscapes, and open space. 

(17) "River Basin" means the watershed of a major 

river system. 

(18) "Secondary Impacts" mean indirect impacts 

caused by and resulting from a specific activity 

that occur later in time or further removed in 

distance than direct impacts, but are reasonably 

foreseeable. Indirect impacts may include 

growth inducing effects and other effects 

related to induced changes in the pattern of land 

use, population density or growth rate, and 

related effects on air, water, and other natural 

systems, including ecosystems. 

(19) "Secretary" means the Secretary of DEQ. 

(20) "State Project Agency" means the state 

department or council of state agency that has 

been designated pursuant to 01 NCAC 25 

.0210(a) for ensuring compliance with NCEPA. 

(21) "Stream Enhancement" means the process of 

implementing stream rehabilitation practices in 

order to improve water quality or ecological 

function. These practices are typically 

conducted on the stream bank or in the flood 

prone area. Enhancement activities may also 

include the placement of in-stream habitat 

structures. 

(22) "Stream Restoration" means the process of 

converting an unstable, altered, or degraded 

stream corridor, including adjacent riparian 

zone and flood prone areas to its natural or 

referenced, stable conditions considering recent 

and future watershed conditions. This process 

also includes restoring the geomorphic 

dimension, pattern, and profile as well as 

biological and chemical integrity, including 

transport of water and sediment produced by 

the stream's watershed in order to achieve 

dynamic equilibrium. 

(23) "Total Design Withdrawal" means the pumping 

rate at which water can be removed from the 

contributing stream. It is the sum of any pre-

existing withdrawal capacity plus any 

withdrawal increase. 

(24) "Wetlands" has the same meaning as in 15A 

NCAC 02B .0202. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-2; 113A-6; 113A-9; 

143B-10; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 01C .0104 AGENCY COMPLIANCE 

(a)  DEQ shall interpret the provisions of the NCEPA as a 

supplement to its existing authority and as a mandate to view its 

policies and programs in the light of the NCEPA's comprehensive 

environmental objectives. 

(b)  As part of making a decision on a project for which an 

environmental document has been prepared, DEQ shall review the 

document and incorporate it as part of continuing deliberations. 

The resulting decision shall be made after weighing all of the 

impacts and mitigation measures presented in the environmental 

document, which shall become part of the decision-making 

record. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-2; 113A-5; 113A-6; 

113A-10; 143B-10; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 01C .0105 LEAD AND COOPERATING 

DIVISIONS RESPONSIBILITY 

Where DEQ is the state project agency and more than one of its 

divisions must issue a permit or other authorization for the project 

requiring review under NCEPA, the Secretary shall appoint a lead 

division to be responsible for preparation of the environmental 

document. The lead and cooperating divisions' responsibilities 

shall be established by the Secretary. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-2; 113A-4; 113A-6; 

113A-7; 143B-10; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 01C .0106 SCOPING AND HEARINGS 

When DEQ is the state project agency, DEQ shall utilize scoping 

and hearing processes to the extent appropriate to the complexity, 

potential for environmental effects, and level of expressed interest 

associated with the proposed action. Scoping and hearing 

processes are public processes designed to determine the types of 

environmental issues to be addressed in environmental 

documents. They are open processes intended to obtain the view 

of other agencies and the public in order for state agencies to make 

informed decisions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-2; 113A-4; 113A-6; 

143B-10; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 01C .0107 LIMITATION ON ACTIONS 

DURING NCEPA PROCESS 

(a)  If an environmental document is required under NCEPA, 

DEQ shall not undertake an action until the environmental 

document for that action is final. 

(b)  If DEQ is considering a proposed action for which an 

environmental document is to be or is being prepared under 

NCEPA, DEQ shall promptly notify the applicant that DEQ 

cannot take final action until the environmental document is 

completed and available for use as a decision-making tool. The 

notification shall be consistent with the statutory and regulatory 

requirements of DEQ and may be in the form of a notification that 

the application is incomplete. 

(c)  When a program within DEQ decides that a proposed action, 

for which other DEQ actions are pending or have been taken, 

requires environmental documentation, then that program shall 

promptly notify all the other relevant DEQ programs of the 

decision.  

(d)  When statutory and regulatory requirements prevent DEQ 

from suspending action, DEQ shall deny any action for which it 

determines an environmental document is required under NCEPA 

but not yet available as a decision-making tool. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-2; 113A-4; 113A-6; 

113A-7; 143B-10; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 01C .0108 EMERGENCIES 

(a)  If there is an immediate threat to public health, safety, and 

welfare, DEQ may take otherwise lawful actions with potential 

environmental effects without preparing an environmental 

document. In those emergency circumstances, DEQ shall limit 

actions to those necessary to control and mitigate for the 

immediate threat to the public health, safety, and welfare. 

(b)  DEQ may prepare and maintain environmental documents for 

repetitive emergency programs affecting the public to review the 

scope of involved activities, identify specific effects to be 

expected, and identify mitigation measures that can be employed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-4; 113A-6; 113A-7; 

143B-10; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 01C .0109 PREPARATION OF 

ENVIRONMENTAL DOCUMENTS 

(a)  When DEQ is the state project agency, DEQ may request 

information from an applicant to prepare an environmental 

document. DEQ shall independently evaluate the information 

provided and shall be responsible for its accuracy. 

(b)  When DEQ is the state project agency, an environmental 

document may be prepared by a consultant, including the 

applicant for the action's consultant. If DEQ allows an applicant 

for the action to prepare an environmental document, DEQ shall 

furnish guidance and participate in the preparation, and take 

responsibility for its scope, objectivity, content, and accuracy. 

(c)  The Environmental Assessment Guidance Document 

available through the State Clearinghouse provides guidance in 

preparing environmental documents. 

(d)  When DEQ is the state project agency, the content and 

finalization of an environmental document shall comply with 

NCEPA, DEQ's rules, and the Department of Administration's 

rules (01 NCAC 25). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-4; 113A-5; 113A-6; 

113A-9; 143B-10; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 01C .0205 IMPLEMENTATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-2; 113A-4; 113A-5; 

113A-6; 143B-10; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 01C .0206 WHEN TO PREPARE 

ENVIRONMENTAL DOCUMENTS 

(a)  When an environmental document is required under NCEPA 

and DEQ is the state project agency, DEQ shall prepare an 

environmental document unless the action falls below the 
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minimum criteria set forth in Section .0400 of this Subchapter. As 

described in 15A NCAC 01C .0306, the Secretary may require 

preparation of an environmental document that would otherwise 

not be required through application of DEQ's minimum criteria. 

(b)  An environmental assessment is not necessary if DEQ has 

decided to prepare an environmental impact statement.  

(c)  DEQ shall ensure that the activity that is the subject of the 

environmental document is properly defined. Closely connected 

activities should be reviewed together. Closely connected 

activities include: 

(1) activities that automatically trigger other 

activities that may require environmental 

impact statements; 

(2) activities that cannot or will not proceed unless 

other activities occur either previously or 

simultaneously; and 

(3) activities that are interdependent parts of a 

larger plan of development and depend on the 

larger plan of development for justification. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-2; 113A-4; 113A-6; 

143B-10; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 01C .0207 INCORPORATION BY 

REFERENCE 

(a)  DEQ shall incorporate material into environmental documents 

by reference to cut down on bulk without impeding DEQ and 

public reviews of the action. The incorporated material shall be 

cited in the document and its contents briefly described. 

(b)  Incorporated-by-reference material shall be made available by 

the applicant for inspection by reviewers and potentially 

interested persons within the time allowed for comment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-4; 113A-6; 113A-10; 

143B-10; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 01C .0208 INCOMPLETE OR 

UNAVAILABLE INFORMATION 

(a)  Where DEQ is evaluating effects upon the environment in an 

environmental document and there are gaps in relevant 

information or scientific uncertainty, DEQ shall make clear that 

such information is lacking or that uncertainty exists. 

(b)  In considering whether unavailable information should be 

sought and included in the environmental document, DEQ shall 

consider whether the information can be obtained, how long it 

would take to obtain that information, and the significance of the 

information to understanding the effects of the proposed action or 

alternative. If, after considering those factors, DEQ proceeds with 

preparation of the environmental document without the 

information, DEQ shall include within the environmental 

document: 

(1) a statement that such information is incomplete 

or unavailable; 

(2) a statement of the relevance of the incomplete 

or unavailable information to evaluating 

reasonably foreseeable significant adverse 

impacts on the human environment; 

(3) a summary of existing credible scientific 

evidence which is relevant to evaluating the 

reasonably foreseeable significant adverse 

impacts on the human environment; and 

(4) DEQ's evaluation of such impacts based upon 

theoretical approaches or research methods 

generally accepted in the scientific community. 

(c)  For the purposes of this Section, "reasonably foreseeable" 

includes impacts which have catastrophic consequences, even if 

their probability of occurrence is low, provided that the analysis 

of the impacts is supported by credible scientific evidence, is not 

based on pure conjecture, and is within the rule of reason. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-4; 113A-6; 143B-10; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 01C .0304 ACTIVITIES ABOVE THE 

MINIMUM CRITERIA 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-2; 113A-4; 113A-6; 113A-

11; 143B-10; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 01C .0305 ACTIVITIES UNDERTAKEN BY 

DEQ  

The following activities, when undertaken by DEQ, shall require 

preparation of an environmental document unless they satisfy the 

minimum criteria set out in Section .0400 of this Subchapter. 

(1) Construction of facilities or infrastructures on 

lands and waters owned or managed by DEQ. 

(2) Demolition of or additions, rehabilitation, and 

or renovations to a structure listed in the 

National Register of Historic Places or more 

than 50 years of age except where agreement 

exists with the Department of Natural and 

Cultural Resources that the structure lacks 

architectural or historical significance. 

(3) Ground disturbances involving National 

Register listed archaeological sites or areas 

around buildings 50 years old or older, except 

where agreement exists with the Department of 

Natural and Cultural Resources. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-4; 113A-6; 113A-8; 

113A-9; 113A-10; 143B-10; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 01C .0306 ACTIVITIES OF A SPECIAL 

NATURE 

The Secretary may require preparation of an environmental 

document that would otherwise not be required through 

application of DEQ's minimum criteria if the Secretary 

determines: 
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(1) the proposed activity may have a potential for 

significant adverse effects on wetlands; surface 

waters such as rivers, streams, and estuaries; 

parklands; game lands; prime agricultural or 

forest lands; or areas of local, state, or federally 

recognized scenic, recreational, archaeological, 

ecological, scientific research, or historical 

value, including secondary impacts; or would 

threaten a species identified on the Department 

of Interior's or the State's threatened and 

endangered species lists;  

(2) the proposed activity could cause changes in 

industrial, commercial, residential, agricultural, 

or silvicultural land use concentrations or 

distributions which would be expected to create 

adverse water quality, instream flow, air 

quality, or ground water impacts; or affect 

long-term recreational benefits, fish, wildlife, 

or their natural habitats;  

(3) the proposed activity has secondary impacts, or 

is part of cumulative impacts, not generally 

covered in the approval process for the state 

action, and that may result in a potential risk to 

human health or the environment; or 

(4) the proposed activity is of such an unusual 

nature or has such widespread implications that 

a concern for its environmental effects has been 

identified by DEQ or expressed to DEQ. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-4; 113A-6; 113A-9; 

113A-10; 113A-11; 113A-12; 143B-10; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 01C .0405 PURPOSE OF THE MINIMUM 

CRITERIA THRESHOLDS 

If NCEPA requires preparation of an environmental document 

and DEQ is the state project agency, the minimum criteria set 

forth in this Section determine when preparation of an 

environmental document is not required because the action or 

class of actions have no significant long-term impact on the 

environment. An activity shall satisfy each applicable minimum 

criteria threshold to maintain this status. As set out in Rule .0306 

of this Subchapter, the Secretary may require preparation of an 

environmental document that would otherwise not be required 

through application of DEQ's minimum criteria.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-2; 113A-4; 113A-6; 113A-

11; 143B-10; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 01C .0406 SAMPLING, SURVEY, 

MONITORING, AND RELATED RESEARCH 

ACTIVITIES 

Sampling, survey, monitoring and research activities do not 

require the preparation of environmental documents. These 

activities include, but are not limited to the following: 

(1) Aerial photography projects involving the 

photographing or mapping of the lands of the 

state; 

(2) Biology sampling and monitoring of: 

(a) Fisheries resources through the use of 

traditional commercial fishing gear, 

electricity, and rotenone; and 

(b) Wildlife resources through the use of 

traditional techniques, including but 

not limited to traps, drugs, and 

firearms; 

(3) Soil survey projects involving the sampling or 

mapping of the soils of the state; 

(4) Establishing stream gaging stations for the 

purpose of measuring water flow at a particular 

site; 

(5) Placement of monitoring wells for the purpose 

of measuring groundwater levels, quantity, or 

quality; 

(6) Gathering surface or subsurface information on 

the geology, minerals, or energy resources, of 

the state. 

(7) Placement and use of geodetic survey control 

points; 

(8) Other routine survey and resource monitoring 

activities, or other temporary activities required 

for research into the environment that do not 

have adverse effects; and 

(9) Investigation and assessment of sites 

contaminated with regulated substances. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-4; 113A-6; 113A-9; 

113A-10; 113A-11; 113A-12; 143B-10; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 01C .0407 STANDARD MAINTENANCE OR 

REPAIR ACTIVITIES 

Standard maintenance or repair activities, if needed to maintain 

the originally defined function of an existing project or facility 

(but without expansion, increase in quantity, decrease in quality, 

use, or release of hazardous waste), do not require the preparation 

of environmental documents. These activities include but are not 

limited to maintenance and repair of the following: 

(1) Housekeeping projects that maintain a facility's 

original condition and physical features, 

including re-roofing and minor alterations 

where in-kind materials and techniques are 

used. This also encompasses structures 50 years 

of age and older and for which no separate law, 

rule, or regulation dictates a formal review and 

approval process; 

(2) Roads, bridges, parking lots, and their related 

facilities; 

(3) Utilities on their existing rights-of-way; 

(4) Surface drainage systems; 

(5) Boat ramps, docks, piers, bulkheads, rip rap, 

breakwaters and associated facilities; 
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(6) Diked, high ground dredge-material disposal 

areas; 

(7) Activities necessary to fulfill the existing 

requirements of in-effect permits for the 

protection of the environment and human 

health; 

(8) Other maintenance and repair activities on 

projects that are consistent with previously 

approved environmental documents; and 

(9) Routine grounds maintenance and landscaping 

of sidewalks, trails, walls, gates, and related 

facilities, including outdoor exhibits. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-4; 113A-6; 113A-9; 

113A-10; 113A-11; 113A-12; 143B-10; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 01C .0408 MINOR CONSTRUCTION 

ACTIVITIES 

This Rule sets out the general and specific minimum criteria for 

construction activities. Construction and land disturbing activities 

that satisfy both the general minimum criteria and any specific 

minimum criteria applicable to the project do not require 

preparation of environmental documents. 

(1) General criteria.  

(a) In the 20 coastal counties, land 

disturbing activity that: 

(i) is located more than 575 feet 

away from waters classified 

as High Quality Waters 

(HQW) or impacts less than 

five acres located all or in 

part within 575 feet of waters 

classified as High Quality 

Waters (HQW); 

(ii) is located outside of any 

Outstanding Resource 

Waters (ORW) watershed or 

area that requires specific 

management actions to 

protect ORW waters as 

defined in 15A NCAC 02B 

.0225; and 

(iii) impacts less than five acres 

located in any Outstanding 

Resource Waters (ORW) 

watershed or in any area that 

requires specific 

management actions to 

protect ORW waters as 

defined in 15A NCAC 02B 

.0225. 

(b) Land disturbing activity outside the 20 

coastal counties that: 

(i) is located more than one mile 

from waters classified as 

HQW or impacts less than 

five acres located within one 

mile of and draining to 

waters classified as HQW; 

(ii) is located outside of any 

Outstanding Resource 

Waters (ORW) watershed or 

area that requires specific 

management actions to 

protect ORW waters as 

defined in 15A NCAC 02B 

.0225; 

(iii) impacts less than five acres 

located in any Outstanding 

Resource Waters (ORW) 

watershed or in any area that 

requires specific 

management actions to 

protect ORW waters as 

defined in 15A NCAC 02B 

.0225; and 

(iv) is located more than 25 feet 

from any waters classified as 

Trout (Tr) waters or impacts 

less than five acres located all 

or in part within 25 feet of 

any waters classified as Trout 

(Tr) waters. 

(c) Channel disturbance and land 

disturbing activities associated with 

non-compensatory stream restoration 

or stream enhancement. 

(d) Land disturbing activities impacting 

wetlands if the activity will result in 

the loss of one acre or less of Class WL 

wetlands. 

(e) Land disturbing activities impacting 

streams if the activity will result in 

channel disturbance of less than 500 

linear feet of perennial streams. Land 

disturbing activities that impact 500 

linear feet or more of perennial 

streams do not require preparation of 

an environmental document if stream 

restoration or stream enhancement is 

performed. 

(2) Specific Criteria.  

(a) The following activities related to 

wastewater treatment systems. 

(i) Relocation of discharge 

points within the same river 

basin; 

(ii) New discharge facilities with 

a proposed permitted 

expansion of less than 

500,000 gallons per day and 

producing an instream waste 

concentration of less than 33 

percent during the 7-day 10-

year low flow conditions; 
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(iii) Expansion of an existing 

discharge facility of less than 

500,000 gallons per day 

additional flow; 

(iv) New surface irrigation, high 

rate infiltration, or subsurface 

waste water systems with a 

proposed permitted capacity 

not exceeding 100,000 

gallons per day; 

(v) Reclaimed water utilization 

systems with reclaimed water 

utilization being the sole 

disposal option with a 

proposed permitted capacity 

not exceeding 200,000 

gallons per day; 

(vi) New reclaimed water 

utilization sites with a 

proposed permitted capacity 

not to exceed 500,000 

gallons per day when the 

reclaimed water utilization 

system is required for 

compliance with any other 

wastewater disposal permit; 

(vii) New reclaimed water 

utilization sites with a 

proposed permitted capacity 

not to exceed 1,000,000 

gallons per day when the 

reclaimed water utilization 

system is not required for 

compliance with any other 

wastewater disposal permit; 

(viii) New reclaimed water 

utilization distribution lines; 

(ix) New permits or modification 

to existing permits for land 

application of residuals 

utilization, where less than 

10 acres not previously 

permitted is prior converted 

within three years or will be 

converted from a non-

plantation forested area to 

application area; 

(x) New or expanding surface 

disposal sites disposing less 

than 3000 dry tons of 

residuals per year; 

(xi) Gravity sewer extensions 

with less than three miles of 

new lines or lines of less than 

18 inches in diameter; and 

(xii) New or expanding individual 

pump stations and associated 

force mains with a proposed 

permitted capacity of less 

than 1750 gallons per minute. 

(b) The following activities related to 

potable water systems. 

(i) Improvements to water 

treatment plants that involve 

less than 1,000,000 gallons 

per day added capacity and 

total design withdrawal less 

than one-fifth of the 7-day, 

10-year low flow of the 

contributing stream; 

(ii) Improvements not intended 

to add capacity to the facility; 

(iii) Installation of appurtenances 

in existing rights-of-way for 

streets or utilities, or water 

lines and appurtenances less 

than five miles in length and 

having only directional bore 

stream crossings or no stream 

crossings; and 

(iv) Construction of water tanks, 

or booster pumping or 

secondary or remote 

disinfection stations. 

(c) Groundwater withdrawals of less than 

1,000,000 gallons per day where such 

withdrawals are not expected to cause 

alterations in established land use 

patterns, or degradation of 

groundwater or surface water quality. 

(d) The following activities related to 

solid waste disposal: 

(i) Construction of solid waste 

management facilities, other 

than landfills exempt 

pursuant to G.S. 130A-294 

(a)(4), which store, treat, 

process incinerate, or dispose 

of less than 350 tons per day 

(averaged over one year) of 

solid waste; and 

(ii) Disposal of solid waste by 

land application on 100 total 

acres or less, where less than 

10 percent of the total land 

application area is converted 

from a non-plantation 

forested area. 

(e) Construction of a minor source or 

modification of a minor source of air 

emissions as defined in 15A NCAC 

02D .0530, that are less than 100 tons 

per year or 250 tons per year as 

defined therein. 

(f) Construction relating to the 

reclamation of underground storage 
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tanks and restoration of groundwater 

quality. 

(g) The construction, repair or removal of 

dams less than 25 feet in height and 

having less than 50 acre-feet of 

effective storage capacity. 

(h) Any new construction for a building 

that involves all of the following; 

(i) A footprint of less than 

10,000 square feet; 

(ii) A location that is not a 

National Register 

Archaeological site; and 

(iii) The building's purpose is not 

for storage of hazardous 

waste. 

(i) Demolition of or additions, 

rehabilitation or renovations to a 

structure not listed in the National 

Register of Historic places or less than 

50 years of age. 

(j) Routine grounds construction and 

landscaping of sidewalks, trails, walls, 

gates and related facilities, including 

outdoor exhibits. 

(k) Installation of on-farm Best 

Management Practices that meet the 

standards of the North Carolina Soil 

and Water Conservation Commission 

and the federal Natural Resources 

Conservation Service. 

(l) Construction or remodeling of 

swimming pools. 

(m) Construction of a new two-lane road in 

accordance with DOT accepted design 

practices and DOT standards and 

specifications involving less than a 

total of 25 cumulative acres of ground 

surface limited to a single project, and 

not contiguous to any other project 

making use of this provision. 

(n) Expansion of a two-lane road in 

accordance with DOT accepted design 

practices and DOT standards and 

specifications involving less than a 

total of 10 cumulative acres of ground 

surface limited to a single project, and 

not contiguous to any other project 

making use of this provision. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-4; 113A-6; 113A-9; 

113A-10; 113A-11; 113A-12; 143B-10; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 01C .0409 MANAGEMENT ACTIVITIES 

Management activities do not require the preparation of 

environmental documents. These activities include but are not 

limited to the following: 

(1) Replenishment of shellfish beds through the 

placement of seed oysters, seed clams or 

shellfish cultch on marine or estuarine habitats. 

(2) Creation and enhancement of marine fisheries 

habitat through the establishment of artificial 

reefs in accordance with the Division of Marine 

Fisheries' Artificial Reef Master Plan. 

(3) Placement of fish attractors and shelter in 

public waters managed by the N.C. Wildlife 

Resources Commission. 

(4) Translocation and stocking of native or 

naturalized fish and wildlife in accordance with 

appropriate DEQ species management plans, 

watershed management plans, or other state 

agency approved resource management plans. 

(5) Reintroduction of native endangered or 

threatened species in accordance with state or 

federal guidelines or recovery plans. 

(6) Production of native and agricultural plant 

species to create or enhance fish or wildlife 

habitat and forest resources, including 

fertilization, planting, mowing, and burning in 

accordance with fisheries, wildlife, or forestry 

management plans. 

(7) Forest products harvest in accordance with the 

forestry Best Management Practices (BMPs) 

and the performance standards in the Forest 

Practice Guidelines (FPGs) Related to Water 

Quality (02 NCAC 60C) and the United States 

Forest Service or the N.C. Division of Forest 

Resources forest management plans. 

(8) Reforestation of woodlands in accordance with 

the United States Forest Service or the N.C. 

Division of Forest Resources forest 

management plans. 

(9) Use of forestry best management practices to 

meet the performance standards in Forest 

Practice Guidelines Related to Water Quality 

codified as in 02 NCAC 60C. 

(10) The control of forest or agricultural insects and 

disease outbreaks by biological treatments, 

mechanical treatments, or the lawful 

application of labeled pesticides by licensed 

applicators, or any combination of those 

practices, on areas of no more than 100 acres. 

(11) Control of species composition on managed 

forestlands as prescribed by approved forest 

management plans by the lawful application of 

labeled herbicides by licensed applicators, on 

areas no more than 100 acres. 

(12) Control of aquatic weeds in stream channels, 

canals and other water bodies, by the lawful 

application of labeled herbicides by licensed 

applicators pursuant to Article 15, Chapter 

113A of the NC General Statutes. 

(13) Removal of logs, stumps, trees, and other debris 

from stream channels where there is no channel 

excavation, and activities are carried out in 

accordance with "Best Management Practices 
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(BMPs) for Selective Clearing and Snagging," 

Appendix B in Incremental Effects of Large 

Woody Debris Removal on Physical Aquatic 

Habitat, US Army Corps of Engineers 

Technical Report EL-92-35, Smith et al, 1992, 

or other guidelines approved through the 

Intergovernmental Review process as set out at 

01 NCAC 25 .0211. 

(14) Dredging of existing navigation channels and 

basins to originally approved specifications, 

provided that the spoil is placed in existing and 

approved high ground disposal areas. 

(15) Controlled or prescribed burning for wildlife, 

timber enhancement, and hazard reduction in 

accordance with applicable management plans. 

(16) Plowing fire lines with tractor plow units, or 

other mechanized equipment, for the purpose of 

suppressing wildland (brush, grass, or 

woodland) fires and prescribed burning. 

(17) Scooping or dipping water from streams, lakes, 

or sounds with aircraft or helicopters for the 

purpose of suppressing wild land (brush, grass, 

or woodland) fires. 

(18) Drainage projects where the mean seasonal 

water table elevation will be lowered less than 

one foot over an area of one square mile or less, 

and riparian and wetland areas will not be 

affected. 

(19) Manipulation of water levels in reservoirs or 

impoundments in accordance with approved 

management plans, for the purpose of providing 

for water supply storage, flood control, 

recreation, hydroelectric power, fish and 

wildlife, downstream water quality and aquatic 

weed control. 

(20) Installation of on-farm Best Management 

Practices that meet the standards of the North 

Carolina Soil and Water Conservation 

Commission and the federal Natural Resources 

Conservation Service. 

(21) Continuation of previously permitted activities 

where no increase in quantity or decrease in 

quality are proposed. 

(22) Acquisition or acceptance of real property to be 

retained in a totally natural condition for its 

environmental benefits. 

(23) Acquisition or acceptance of real property to be 

managed in accordance with plans for which 

environmental documents have been approved. 

(24) Care of all trees, plants, and groundcovers on 

public lands. 

(25) Care, including medical treatment, of all 

animals maintained for public display. 

(26) Activities authorized for control of mosquitoes 

such as the following: 

(a) Mosquito control water management 

work in freshwater streams performed 

in accordance with "Best Management 

Practices (BMPs) for Selective 

Clearing and Snagging" Appendix B 

in Incremental Effects of Large 

Woody Debris Removal on Physical 

Aquatic Habitat, US Army Corps of 

Engineers Technical Report EL-92-

35, Smith et al, 1992, or other 

guidelines reviewed through the 

Intergovernmental Review process as 

set out at 01 NCAC 25 .0211; 

(b) Mosquito control water management 

work in salt marsh environments 

performed under Open Marsh Water 

Management guidelines reviewed 

through the Intergovernmental 

Review process as set out at 01 NCAC 

25 .0211; 

(c) Lawful application of chemicals 

approved for mosquito control by the 

United States Environmental 

Protection Agency and the State when 

performed under the supervision of 

licensed operators; and 

(d) Lawful use of established species to 

control mosquitoes. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-4; 113A-6; 113A-9; 

113A-10; 113A-11; 113A-12; 143B-10; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 01C .0410 PRIVATE USE OF PUBLIC 

LANDS 

Activities related to the private use of public lands, when 

conducted in accordance with permit requirements, do not require 

the preparation of environmental documents. These activities 

include but are not limited to the following: 

(1) use of pound nets; 

(2) shellfish, relaying and transplanting; 

(3) harvest of shellfish during closed season; 

(4) special fisheries management activities under 

15A NCAC 03O .0506; 

(5) aquaculture operations within coastal waters; 

(6) scientific collecting within coastal waters; 

(7) introduction and transfer of marine and 

estuarine organisms. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-4; 113A-6; 113A-9; 

113A-10; 113A-11; 113A-12; 143B-10; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 01C .0411 REMEDIATION ACTIVITIES 

Activities that seek to clean up, remove, remediate, abate, contain, 

or otherwise protect public health or the environment from the 

effect of contamination released to the environment do not require 

the preparation of environmental documents. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-4; 113A-6; 113A-9; 113A-

10; 113A-11; 113A-12; 143B-10; 
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Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0202 DEFINITIONS 

The definition of any word or phrase used in this Section shall be 

the same as given in G.S. 143, Article 21. The following words 

and phrases shall be defined as follows: 

(1) "Acute toxicity to aquatic life" means lethality 

or other harmful effects sustained by either 

resident aquatic populations or indicator 

species used as test organisms in a controlled 

toxicity test due to a short-term exposure 

(relative to the life cycle of the organism) of 96 

hours or less to a specific chemical or mixture 

of chemicals (as in an effluent). Acute toxicity 

shall be determined using the following 

procedures: 

(a) for specific chemical constituents or 

compounds, acceptable levels shall be 

equivalent to a concentration of 

one-half or less of the Final Acute 

Value (FAV) as determined according 

to "Guidelines for Deriving Numerical 

Water Quality Criteria for the 

Protection of Aquatic Life and its 

Uses" published by the Environmental 

Protection Agency and referenced in 

the Federal Register (50 FR 30784, 

July 29, 1985) which is incorporated 

by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. 

(b) for specific chemical constituents or 

compounds for which values 

described under Sub-Item (a) of this 

Item cannot be determined, acceptable 

levels shall be equivalent to a 

concentration of one-third or less of 

the lowest available LC50 value. 

(c) for effluents, acceptable levels shall be 

defined as no statistically measurable 

lethality (99 percent confidence level 

using Student's t-test) during a 

specified exposure period. 

Concentrations of exposure shall be 

based on permit requirements and 

procedures in accordance with 15A 

NCAC 02H .1110. 

(d) in instances where detailed dose 

response data indicate that levels of 

acute toxicity are different from those 

defined in this Rule, the Director may 

determine on a case-by-case basis an 

alternate acceptable level through 

statistical analyses of the dose 

response in accordance with 15A 

NCAC 02H .1110. 

(2) "Acute to Chronic Ratio" or "ACR" means the 

ratio of acute toxicity expressed as an LC50 for 

a specific toxicant or an effluent to the chronic 

value for the same toxicant or effluent. 

(3) "Agricultural uses" means the use of waters for 

stock watering, irrigation, and other farm 

purposes. 

(4) "Applicator" means any person, firm, 

corporation, wholesaler, retailer, or distributor; 

any local, State, or federal governmental 

agency; or any other person who applies 

fertilizer to the land of a consumer or client or 

to land that they own, lease, or otherwise hold 

rights. 

(5) "Approved treatment," as applied to water 

supplies, means treatment approved by the 

Division in accordance with 15A NCAC 18C 

.0301 through .0309, as authorized by G.S. 

130A-315 and G.S. 130A-317. 

(6) "Attainable water uses" means uses that can be 

achieved by the imposition of effluent limits 

and cost effective and reasonable best 

management practices (BMP) for nonpoint 

source control. 

(7) "Available cyanide" means inorganic cyanides 

that are free (HCN and CN-) and metal-cyanide 

complexes that are dissociated into free cyanide 

ions under mildly acidic conditions (pH 3 to 6). 

(8) "Average" means the arithmetical average of 

the analytical results of all representative 

samples taken under prevailing environmental 

conditions during a specified period (for 

example: daily, weekly, or monthly). 

(9) "Best Management Practice" or "BMP" means 

a structural or nonstructural management-based 

practice used singularly or in combination to 

reduce point source or nonpoint source inputs 

to receiving waters in order to achieve water 

quality protection goals. 

(10) "Best usage" or "Best use" of waters, as 

specified for each class, means those uses as 

determined by the Environmental Management 

Commission in accordance with the provisions 

of G.S. 143-214.1. 

(11) "Bioaccumulation factor" or "BAF" means a 

unitless value that describes the degree to which 

substances are taken up or accumulated into 

tissues of aquatic organisms from water directly 

and from food or other ingested materials 

containing the accumulated substances, and is 

measured as a ratio of a substance's 

concentration in tissue versus its concentration 

in water in situations where exposure to the 

substance occurs from both water and the food 

chain. 

(12) "Bioconcentration factor" or "BCF" means a 

unitless value that describes the degree to which 

substances are absorbed or concentrated into 

tissues of aquatic organisms from water directly 
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and is measured as a ratio of substance's 

concentration in tissue versus its concentration 

in water in situations where exposure to the 

substance occurs from water only. 

(13) "Biological integrity" means the ability of an 

aquatic ecosystem to support and maintain a 

balanced and indigenous community of 

organisms having species composition, 

diversity, population densities, and functional 

organization similar to that of reference 

conditions. 

(14) "Buffer" means a natural or vegetated area 

through which stormwater runoff flows in a 

diffuse manner so that the runoff does not 

become channelized and which provides for 

infiltration of the runoff and filtering of 

pollutants. 

(15) "Chronic toxicity to aquatic life" means any 

harmful effect sustained by either resident 

aquatic populations or indicator species used as 

test organisms in a controlled toxicity test due 

to long-term exposure (relative to the life cycle 

of the organism) or exposure during a 

substantial portion of the duration of a sensitive 

period of the life cycle to a specific chemical 

substance or mixture of chemicals (as in an 

effluent). In absence of extended periods of 

exposure, early life stage or reproductive 

toxicity tests may be used to define chronic 

impacts. 

(16) "Chronic value for aquatic life" means the 

geometric mean of two concentrations 

identified in a controlled toxicity test as the No 

Observable Effect Concentration (NOEC) and 

the Lowest Observable Effect Concentration 

(LOEC). 

(17) "Commercial applicator" means any person, 

firm, corporation, wholesaler, retailer, 

distributor, or any other person who for hire or 

compensation applies fertilizer to the land of a 

consumer or client. 

(18) "Concentration" means the mass of a substance 

per volume of water and, for the purposes of 

this Section, shall be expressed as milligrams 

per liter (mg/l), micrograms per liter (ug/l), or 

nanograms per liter (ng/l). 

(19) "Contiguous" means those wetlands landward 

of the mean high water line or normal water 

level and within 575 feet of classified surface 

waters that appear as solid blue lines on the 

most recently published versions of U.S.G.S. 

1:24,000 (7.5 minute) scale topographic maps, 

which are available at no cost at 

http://www.usgs.gov/pubprod/. 

(20) "Critical area" means the area adjacent to a 

water supply intake or reservoir where risk 

associated with pollution is greater than risk 

associated with pollution from the remaining 

portions of the watershed. The boundary of a 

critical area is defined as: 

(a) extending either 1/2 mile in a straight 

line fashion upstream from and 

draining to the normal pool elevation 

of the reservoir in which the intake is 

located or to the ridge line of the 

watershed, whichever is nearest the 

normal pool elevation of the reservoir; 

(b) extending either 1/2 mile in a straight 

line fashion upstream from and 

draining to the intake (or other 

appropriate downstream location 

associated with the water supply) 

located directly in the stream or river 

(run-of-the-river) or to the ridge line of 

the watershed, whichever is nearest 

the intake; or 

(c) extending a different distance from the 

reservoir or intake as adopted by the 

Commission during the 

reclassification process pursuant to 

Rule .0104 of this Subchapter. 

Since WS-I watersheds are essentially 

undeveloped, establishment of a critical area is 

not required. 

(21) "Cropland" means agricultural land that is not 

covered by a certified animal waste 

management plan and is used for growing corn, 

grains, oilseed crops, cotton, forages, tobacco, 

beans, or other vegetables or fruits. 

(22) "Designated Nonpoint Source Agency" means 

an agency specified by the Governor in the 

North Carolina Nonpoint Source Management 

Program, as approved by the Environmental 

Protection Agency pursuant to the 1987 

amendments to the federal Clean Water Act 33 

U.S.C. 1329 that established Section 319 

Nonpoint source management programs. 

(23) "Director" means the Director of the Division. 

(24) "Discharge" means the addition of any 

man-induced waste effluent either directly or 

indirectly to State surface waters. 

(25) "Division" means the Division of Water 

Resources or its successors. 

(26) "Domestic wastewater discharge" means the 

discharge of sewage, non-process industrial 

wastewater, other domestic wastewater, or any 

combination of these items. Domestic 

wastewater includes, but is not limited to, liquid 

waste generated by domestic water using 

fixtures and appliances from any residence, 

place of business, or place of public assembly, 

even if it contains no sewage. Examples of 

domestic wastewater include once-through 

non-contact cooling water, seafood packing 

facility discharges, and wastewater from 

restaurants. 
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(27) "Effluent channel" means a discernable 

confined and discrete conveyance that is used 

for transporting treated wastewater to a 

receiving stream or other body of water, as 

provided in Rule .0228 of this Section. 

(28) "Existing uses" mean uses actually attained in 

the water body on or after November 28, 1975, 

whether or not they are included in the water 

quality standards. 

(29) "Fertilizer" means any substance containing 

nitrogen or phosphorus that is used primarily as 

plant food. 

(30) "Fishing" means the taking of fish by 

recreational or commercial methods, the 

consumption of fish or shellfish, the 

propagation of fish, or the propagation of other 

aquatic life as is necessary to protect the 

biological integrity of the environment for fish. 

(31) "Forest vegetation" means the plants of an area 

that grow in disturbed or undisturbed 

conditions in wooded plant communities in any 

combination of trees, saplings, shrubs, vines, 

and herbaceous plants, including mature and 

successional forests and cutover stands. 

(32) "Freshwater" means all waters that under 

natural conditions have a chloride ion content 

of 500 mg/l or less. 

(33) "Industrial discharge" means the discharge of 

industrial process treated wastewater or 

wastewater other than sewage. Stormwater 

shall not be considered to be an industrial 

wastewater unless it is contaminated with 

industrial wastewater. Industrial discharge 

includes: 

(a) wastewater resulting from any process 

of industry or manufacture or from the 

development of any natural resource; 

(b) wastewater resulting from processes 

of trade or business, including 

wastewater from laundromats and car 

washes, but not wastewater from 

restaurants; and 

(c) for the purpose of prohibiting 

discharges to waters classified as 

Water Supply (WS) in accordance 

with Rules .0212, .0214, .0215, .0216, 

and .0218 of this Section, wastewater 

discharged from a municipal 

wastewater treatment plant required to 

administer a pretreatment program 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02H .0904. 

(34) "Land-disturbing activity" means any use of the 

land that results in a change in the natural cover 

or topography that may cause or contribute to 

sedimentation. 

(35) "LC50" means that concentration of a toxic 

substance that is lethal or immobilizing to 50 

percent of the sensitive aquatic toxicity testing 

species tested during a specified exposure 

period, as required by NPDES permit, under 

aquatic conditions characteristic of the 

receiving waters. Sensitive species for aquatic 

toxicity testing is defined by Subparagraph (50) 

of this Rule. 

(36) "Lentic" means an aquatic ecosystem with 

standing or slow flowing water such as a lake, 

pond, or reservoir. 

(37) "Local government" means a city or county in 

singular or plural as defined in G.S. 160A-1(2) 

and G.S. 158A-10. 

(38) "Lotic" means an aquatic ecosystem with 

rapidly flowing water such as a stream or river. 

(39) "Lower piedmont and coastal plain waters" 

means those waters of the Catawba River Basin 

below Lookout Shoals Dam; the Yadkin River 

Basin below the junction of the Forsyth, 

Yadkin, and Davie County lines; and all of the 

waters of Cape Fear, Lumber, Roanoke, Neuse, 

Tar-Pamlico, Chowan, Pasquotank, and White 

Oak River Basins; except tidal salt waters 

which are assigned S classifications. 

(40) "MF" means the membrane filter procedure for 

bacteriological analysis. 

(41) "Mixing zone" means a region of the receiving 

water in the vicinity of a discharge within which 

dispersion and dilution of constituents in the 

discharge occurs. Zones shall be subject to 

conditions established in accordance with Rule 

.0204(b) of this Section. 

(42) "Mountain and upper piedmont waters" means 

all of the waters of the Hiwassee; Little 

Tennessee, including the Savannah River 

drainage area; French Broad; Broad; New; and 

Watauga River Basins; and those portions of 

the Catawba River Basin above Lookout Shoals 

Dam and the Yadkin River Basin above the 

junction of the Forsyth, Yadkin, and Davie 

County lines. 

(43) "Nonpoint source pollution" means pollution 

that enters waters mainly as a result of 

precipitation and subsequent runoff from lands 

that have been disturbed by man's activities and 

includes all sources of water pollution that are 

not required to have a permit in accordance with 

G.S. 143-215.1(c). 

(44) "Non-process discharge" means industrial 

effluent not directly resulting from the 

manufacturing process. An example is 

non-contact cooling water from a compressor. 

(45) "Offensive condition" means any condition or 

conditions resulting from the presence of 

sewage, industrial wastes, or other wastes 

within the waters of the State or along the 

shorelines thereof that shall either directly or 

indirectly cause foul or noxious odors, 

unsightly conditions, or breeding of abnormally 

large quantities of mosquitoes or other insect 

pests; damage private or public water supplies 
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or other structures; result in the development of 

gases which destroy or damage surrounding 

property, herbage, or grasses; cause the 

impairment of taste such as from fish flesh 

tainting; or affect the health of any person 

residing or working in the area. 

(46) "Primary contact recreation" means swimming, 

diving, skiing, and similar uses involving 

human body contact with water where such 

activities take place in an organized or on a 

frequent basis. 

(47) "Primary nursery area" or "PNA" means tidal 

saltwaters that provide essential habitat for the 

early development of commercially important 

fish and shellfish and are so designated by the 

Marine Fisheries Commission. 

(48) "Protected area" means the area adjoining and 

upstream of the critical area in a WS-IV water 

supply in which protection measures are 

required. The boundary of a protected area is 

defined as: 

(a) extending either five miles in an as-

the-river-runs manner upstream from 

and draining to the normal pool 

elevation of the reservoir in which the 

intake is located or to the ridge line of 

the watershed, whichever is nearest 

the normal pool elevation of the 

reservoir; 

(b) extending either 10 miles in an as-the-

river-runs manner upstream from and 

draining to the intake located directly 

in the stream or river run-of-the-river 

or to the ridge line of the watershed, 

whichever is nearest the intake. In 

some cases the protected area shall 

encompass the entire watershed; or 

(c) extending a different distance from the 

reservoir or intake as adopted by the 

Commission during the 

reclassification process pursuant to 

Rule .0104 of this Subchapter. 

(49) "Residential development" means buildings for 

residence such as attached and detached single 

family dwellings, apartment complexes, 

condominiums, townhouses, cottages, and their 

associated outbuildings such as garages, 

storage buildings, and gazebos. 

(50) "Residuals" has the same meaning as in 15A 

NCAC 02T .0103. 

(51) "Riparian area" means an area that is adjacent 

to a body of water. 

(52) "Secondary contact recreation" means wading, 

boating, other uses not involving human body 

contact with water, and activities involving 

human body contact with water where such 

activities take place on an infrequent, 

unorganized, or incidental basis. 

(53) "Sensitive species for aquatic toxicity testing" 

means any species utilized in procedures 

accepted by the Commission or its designee in 

accordance with Rule .0103 of this Subchapter, 

and the following genera: 

(a) Arbacia; 

(b) Ceriodaphnia; 

(c) Champia; 

(d) Chironomus; 

(e) Cyprinodon; 

(f) Daphnia; 

(g) Hyalella; 

(h) Lumbriculus; 

(i) Menidia; 

(j) Mysidopsis; 

(k) Notropis; 

(l) Oncorhynchus; 

(m) Penaeus; 

(n) Pimephales; 

(o) Salmo; 

(p) Salvelinus; 

(q) Selenastrum. 

(54) "Shellfish culture" means the use of waters for 

the propagation, storage, and gathering of 

oysters, clams, and other shellfish for market 

purposes. 

(55) "Swamp waters" means those waters that are 

classified as such by the Environmental 

Management Commission, pursuant to Rule 

.0101 of this Subchapter, and that have natural 

characteristics due to topography, such as low 

velocity, dissolved oxygen, or pH, that are 

different from streams draining steeper 

topography. 

(56) "Tidal salt waters" means all waters that have a 

natural chloride ion content in excess of 500 

parts per million. 

(57) "Toxic substance" or "Toxicant" means any 

substance or combination of substances 

(including disease-causing agents) that, after 

discharge and upon exposure, ingestion, 

inhalation, or assimilation into any organism, 

either directly from the environment or 

indirectly by ingestion through food chains, has 

the potential to cause death, disease, behavioral 

abnormalities, cancer, genetic mutations, 

physiological malfunctions (including 

malfunctions or suppression in reproduction or 

growth), or physical deformities in such 

organisms or their offspring. 

(58) "Trout waters" means those waters that are 

classified as such by the Environmental 

Management Commission, pursuant to Rule 

.0101 of this Subchapter, and have conditions 

that sustain and allow for natural trout 

propagation and survival and for year-round 

maintenance of stocked trout. 

(59) "Water dependent structures" means those 

structures that require access or proximity to or 
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siting within surface waters to fulfill its 

purpose, such as boat ramps, boat houses, 

docks, and bulkheads. Ancillary facilities such 

as restaurants, outlets for boat supplies, parking 

lots, and commercial boat storage areas are not 

water dependent structures. 

(60) "Water quality based effluent limits (or 

limitations) and management practices" mean 

limits and practices developed by the Division 

to protect water quality standards and best uses 

of surface waters, consistent with the 

requirements of G.S. 143-214.1 and the federal 

Water Pollution Control Act, as amended. 

(61) "Waters with quality higher than the standards" 

means waters that the Director determines 

(pursuant to Rule .0206 of this Section) have 

the capacity to receive additional pollutant 

loading and continue to meet applicable water 

quality standards. 

(62) "Watershed" means a natural area of drainage, 

including all tributaries contributing to the 

supply of at least one major waterway within 

the State, the specific limits of each separate 

watershed to be designated by the Commission 

as defined by G.S. 143-213(21). 

(63) "WER" or "Water effect ratio" expresses the 

difference between the measures of the toxicity 

of a substance in laboratory waters and the 

toxicity in site water. 

(64) "Wetlands" are "waters" as defined by G.S. 

143-212(6) that are inundated or saturated by an 

accumulation of surface or ground water at a 

frequency and duration sufficient to support, 

and that under normal circumstances do 

support, a prevalence of vegetation typically 

adapted for life in saturated soil conditions. 

Wetlands do not include prior converted 

cropland as defined in the National Food 

Security Act Manual, Fifth Edition, which is 

hereby incorporated by reference, not including 

subsequent amendments and editions, and is 

available free of charge at 

https://directives.sc.egov.usda.gov/RollupVie

wer.aspx?hid=29340. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-213; 143-214.1; 

143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1995; February 1, 1993; August 3, 1992; 

August 1, 1990; 

RRC Objection Eff. July 18, 1996 due to lack of authority and 

ambiguity; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; October 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0211 FRESH SURFACE WATER 

QUALITY STANDARDS FOR CLASS C WATERS 

In addition to the standards set forth in Rule .0208 of this Section, 

the following water quality standards shall apply to all Class C 

waters. Additional standards applicable to other freshwater 

classifications are specified in Rules .0212, .0214, .0215, .0216, 

.0218, .0219, .0223, .0224, .0225, and .0231 of this Section. 

(1) The best usage of waters shall be aquatic life 

propagation, survival, and maintenance of 

biological integrity (including fishing and fish); 

wildlife; secondary contact recreation; 

agriculture; and any other usage except for 

primary contact recreation or as a source of 

water supply for drinking, culinary, and food 

processing purposes. All freshwaters shall be 

classified to protect these uses at a minimum. 

(2) The conditions of waters shall be such that 

waters are suitable for all best uses specified in 

this Rule. Sources of water pollution that 

preclude any of these uses on either a short-term 

or long-term basis shall be deemed to violate a 

water quality standard; 

(3) Chlorine, total residual: 17 ug/l; 

(4) Chlorophyll a (corrected): not greater than 40 

ug/l for lakes, reservoirs, and other waters 

subject to growths of macroscopic or 

microscopic vegetation not designated as trout 

waters, and not greater than 15 ug/l for lakes, 

reservoirs, and other waters subject to growths 

of macroscopic or microscopic vegetation 

designated as trout waters (not applicable to 

lakes or reservoirs less than 10 acres in surface 

area). The Commission or its designee may 

prohibit or limit any discharge of waste into 

surface waters if the surface waters experience 

or the discharge would result in growths of 

microscopic or macroscopic vegetation such 

that the standards established pursuant to this 

Rule would be violated or the intended best 

usage of the waters would be impaired; 

(5) Cyanide, available or total: 5.0 ug/l; 

(6) Dissolved oxygen: not less than 6.0 mg/l for 

trout waters; for non-trout waters, not less than 

a daily average of 5.0 mg/l with an 

instantaneous value of not less than 4.0 mg/l; 

swamp waters, lake coves, or backwaters, and 

lake bottom waters may have lower values if 

caused by natural conditions; 

(7) Fecal coliform: shall not exceed a geometric 

mean of 200/100ml (MF count) based upon at 

least five samples taken over a 30-day period, 

nor exceed 400/100ml in more than 20 percent 

of the samples examined during such period. 

Violations of this Item are expected during 

rainfall events and may be caused by 

uncontrollable nonpoint source pollution. All 

coliform concentrations shall be analyzed using 

the membrane filter technique. If high turbidity 

or other conditions would cause the membrane 
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filter technique to produce inaccurate data, the 

most probable number (MPN) 5-tube multiple 

dilution method shall be used. 

(8) Floating solids, settleable solids, or sludge 

deposits: only such amounts attributable to 

sewage, industrial wastes, or other wastes as 

shall not make the water unsafe or unsuitable 

for aquatic life and wildlife or impair the waters 

for any designated uses; 

(9) Fluoride: 1.8 mg/l; 

(10) Gases, total dissolved: not greater than 110 

percent of saturation; 

(11) Metals: 

(a) With the exception of mercury, acute 

and chronic freshwater aquatic life 

standards for metals shall be based 

upon measurement of the dissolved 

fraction of the metal. Mercury water 

quality standards shall be based upon 

measurement of the total recoverable 

metal; 

(b) With the exception of mercury, 

aquatic life standards for metals listed 

in this Sub-Item shall apply as a 

function of the pollutant's water effect 

ratio (WER). The WER shall be 

assigned a value equal to one unless 

any person demonstrates to the 

Division's satisfaction in a permit 

proceeding that another value is 

developed in accordance with the 

"Water Quality Standards Handbook: 

Second Edition" published by the US 

Environmental Protection Agency 

(EPA-823-B-12-002), which is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions, 

and can be obtained free of charge at 

http://water.epa.gov/scitech/swguidan

ce/standards/handbook/. Alternative 

site-specific standards may also be 

developed when any person submits 

values that demonstrate to the 

Commission that they were derived in 

accordance with the "Water Quality 

Standards Handbook: Second Edition, 

Recalculation Procedure or the 

Resident Species Procedure", which is 

hereby incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and 

can be obtained free of charge at 

http://water.epa.gov/scitech/swguidan

ce/standards/handbook/. 

(c) Freshwater metals standards that are 

not hardness-dependent shall be as 

follows: 

(i) Arsenic, dissolved, acute: 

WER∙ 340 ug/l; 

(ii) Arsenic, dissolved, chronic: 

WER∙ 150 ug/l; 

(iii) Beryllium, dissolved, acute: 

WER∙ 65 ug/l; 

(iv) Beryllium, dissolved, 

chronic: WER∙ 6.5 ug/l; 

(v) Chromium VI, dissolved, 

acute: WER∙ 16 ug/l; 

(vi) Chromium VI, dissolved, 

chronic: WER∙ 11 ug/l; 

(vii) Mercury, total recoverable, 

chronic: 0.012 ug/l; 

(viii) Silver, dissolved, chronic: 

WER∙ 0.06 ug/l; 

(d) Selenium, chronic: The standard for chronic selenium has the following components: fish egg/ovary tissue, 

fish whole body or muscle tissue, and water column (lentic and lotic). These components shall be used in the 

following order of preference provided data is available: 

(i) Fish egg/ovary tissue; 

(ii) Fish whole body or muscle tissue; 

(iii) Water column. 

Fish tissue concentrations are determined as dry weight and water column concentrations are based on the 

dissolved fraction of selenium. Fish tissue components are expressed as steady-state concentrations and 

provide instantaneous point measurements that reflect integrative accumulation of selenium over time and 

space in fish populations at a given site. Fish tissue components supersede the water column component when 

both fish tissue and water concentrations are measured. Egg-ovary tissue results, where available, supersede 

all other tissue and water column components. The chronic selenium standards are as follows: 

 

Component Magnitude Duration 

Fish tissue 

Fish 

egg/ovary 

tissue 

15.1 mg/kg Instantaneous 

Fish whole 

body or 

muscle 

tissue 

8.5 mg/kg 

whole body 

Instantaneous 

11.3 mg/kg 

muscle 

Instantaneous 

Water column 
Lentic or 

Lotic 

1.5 ug/l lentic 30-day average 

3.1 ug/l lotic 30-day average 
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(e) Hardness-dependent freshwater metals standards shall be derived using the equations specified in Table A: 

Dissolved Freshwater Standards for Hardness-Dependent Metals. If the actual instream hardness (expressed 

as CaCO3 or Ca+Mg) is less than 400 mg/l, standards shall be calculated based upon the actual instream 

hardness. If the instream hardness is greater than 400 mg/l, the maximum applicable hardness shall be 400 

mg/l. 

Table A: Dissolved Freshwater Standards for Hardness-Dependent Metals 

Numeric standards calculated at 25 mg/l hardness are listed below for illustrative purposes. The Water Effects 

Ratio (WER) is equal to one unless determined otherwise under Sub-Item (11)(b) of this Rule. 

 

Metal Equations for Hardness-Dependent Freshwater Metals (ug/l) Standard at 25 

mg/l hardness 

(ug/l) 

Cadmium, Acute WER∙[{1.136672-[ln hardness](0.041838)} ∙ e^{0.9789 [ln 

hardness]-3.443}] 

 0.75 

Cadmium, Acute, 

Trout waters 

WER∙[{1.136672-[ln hardness](0.041838)} ∙ e^{0.9789 [ln 

hardness]-3.866}] 

0.49 

Cadmium, Chronic  WER∙[{1.101672-[ln hardness](0.041838)} ∙ e^{0.7977[ln 

hardness]-3.909}] 

0.25 

Chromium III, Acute WER∙ [0.316 ∙ e^{0.8190[ln hardness]+3.7256}] 180 

Chromium III, Chronic WER∙ [0.860 ∙ e^{0.8190[ln hardness]+0.6848}] 

 

24 

 

Copper, Acute WER∙ [0.960 ∙ e^{0.9422[ln hardness]-1.700}] 

Or, 

Aquatic Life Ambient Freshwater Quality Criteria-Copper 2007 

Revision 

(EPA-822-R-07-001) 

 

3.6 

 

 

NA 

Copper, Chronic WER∙ [0.960 ∙ e^{0.8545[ln hardness]-1.702}] 

Or, 

Aquatic Life Ambient Freshwater Quality Criteria-Copper 2007 

Revision 

(EPA-822-R-07-001) 

2.7 

 

NA 

Lead, 

Acute 

WER∙ [{1.46203-[ln hardness](0.145712)} ∙ e^{1.273[ln hardness]-

1.460}]  

14 

Lead, Chronic WER∙ [{1.46203-[ln hardness](0.145712)} ∙ e^{1.273[ln hardness]-

4.705}]  

0.54 

Nickel, Acute WER∙ [0.998 ∙ e^{0.8460[ln hardness]+2.255}] 140 

Nickel, Chronic WER∙ [0.997 ∙ e^{0.8460[ln hardness]+0.0584}] 16 

Silver, Acute WER∙ [0.85 ∙ e^{1.72[ln hardness]-6.59}] 0.30 

Zinc, Acute WER∙ [0.978 ∙ e^{0.8473[ln hardness]+0.884}] 36 

Zinc, Chronic WER∙ [0.986 ∙ e^{0.8473[ln hardness]+0.884}]  36 

 

(f) Compliance with acute instream 

metals standards shall only be 

evaluated using an average of two or 

more samples collected within one 

hour. Compliance with chronic 

instream metals standards, except for 

selenium shall only be evaluated using 

an average of a minimum of four 

samples taken on consecutive days or 

as a 96-hour average; 

(12) Oils, deleterious substances, or colored or other 

wastes: only such amounts as shall not render 

the waters injurious to public health, secondary 

recreation, or to aquatic life and wildlife, or 

adversely affect the palatability of fish, 

aesthetic quality, or impair the waters for any 

designated uses. For the purpose of 

implementing this Rule, oils, deleterious 

substances, or colored or other wastes shall 

include substances that cause a film or sheen 

upon or discoloration of the surface of the water 

or adjoining shorelines, as described in 40 CFR 

110.3(a)-(b), incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions. 

This material is available, free of charge, at: 

http://www.ecfr.gov/; 

(13) Pesticides: 

(a) Aldrin: 0.002 ug/l; 

(b) Chlordane: 0.004 ug/l; 

(c) DDT: 0.001 ug/l; 
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(d) Demeton: 0.1 ug/l; 

(e) Dieldrin: 0.002 ug/l; 

(f) Endosulfan: 0.05 ug/l; 

(g) Endrin: 0.002 ug/l; 

(h) Guthion: 0.01 ug/l; 

(i) Heptachlor: 0.004 ug/l; 

(j) Lindane: 0.01 ug/l; 

(k) Methoxychlor: 0.03 ug/l; 

(l) Mirex: 0.001 ug/l; 

(m) Parathion: 0.013 ug/l; and 

(n) Toxaphene: 0.0002 ug/l; 

(14) pH: shall be between 6.0 and 9.0 except that 

swamp waters may have a pH as low as 4.3 if it 

is the result of natural conditions; 

(15) Phenolic compounds: only such levels as shall 

not result in fish-flesh tainting or impairment of 

other best usage; 

(16) Polychlorinated biphenyls (total of all PCBs 

and congeners identified): 0.001 ug/l; 

(17) Radioactive substances, based on at least one 

sample collected per quarter: 

(a) Combined radium-226 and 

radium-228: the average annual 

activity level for combined 

radium-226 and radium-228 shall not 

exceed five picoCuries per liter; 

(b) Alpha Emitters: the average annual 

gross alpha particle activity (including 

radium-226, but excluding radon and 

uranium) shall not exceed 15 

picoCuries per liter; 

(c) Beta Emitters: the average annual 

activity level for strontium-90 shall 

not exceed eight picoCuries per liter, 

nor shall the average annual gross beta 

particle activity (excluding 

potassium-40 and other naturally 

occurring radionuclides) exceed 50 

picoCuries per liter, nor shall the 

average annual activity level for 

tritium exceed 20,000 picoCuries per 

liter; 

(18) Temperature: not to exceed 2.8 degrees C (5.04 

degrees F) above the natural water temperature, 

and in no case to exceed 29 degrees C (84.2 

degrees F) for mountain and upper piedmont 

waters and 32 degrees C (89.6 degrees F) for 

lower piedmont and coastal plain waters; the 

temperature for trout waters shall not be 

increased by more than 0.5 degrees C (0.9 

degrees F) due to the discharge of heated 

liquids, but in no case to exceed 20 degrees C 

(68 degrees F); 

(19) Toluene: 0.36 ug/l in trout classified waters or 

11 ug/l in all other waters; 

(20) Trialkyltin compounds: 0.07 ug/l expressed as 

tributyltin; 

(21) Turbidity: the turbidity in the receiving water 

shall not exceed 50 Nephelometric Turbidity 

Units (NTU) in streams not designated as trout 

waters and 10 NTU in streams, lakes, or 

reservoirs designated as trout waters; for lakes 

and reservoirs not designated as trout waters, 

the turbidity shall not exceed 25 NTU; if 

turbidity exceeds these levels due to natural 

background conditions, the existing turbidity 

level shall not be increased. Compliance with 

this turbidity standard shall be deemed met 

when land management activities employ Best 

Management Practices (BMPs), as defined by 

Rule .0202 of this Section, recommended by the 

Designated Nonpoint Source Agency, as 

defined by Rule .0202 of this Section. 

(22) Toxic Substance Level Applicable to NPDES 

Permits: Chloride: 230 mg/l. If chloride is 

determined by the waste load allocation to be 

exceeded in a receiving water by a discharge 

under the specified 7Q10 criterion for toxic 

substances, the discharger shall monitor the 

chemical or biological effects of the discharge. 

Efforts shall be made by all dischargers to 

reduce or eliminate chloride from their 

effluents. Chloride shall be limited as 

appropriate in the NPDES permit if sufficient 

information exists to indicate that it may be a 

causative factor resulting in toxicity of the 

effluent. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; May 1, 2007; April 1, 2003; 

August 1, 2000; October 1, 1995; August 1, 1995; April 1, 1994; 

February 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0219 FRESH SURFACE WATER 

QUALITY STANDARDS FOR CLASS B WATERS 

The following water quality standards shall apply to surface 

waters that are for primary contact recreation as defined in Rule 

.0202 of this Section, and are classified as Class B waters. Water 

quality standards applicable to Class C waters as described in Rule 

.0211 of this Section also apply to Class B waters. 

(1) The best usage of Class B waters shall be 

primary contact recreation and any other best 

usage specified for Class C waters. 

(2) Class B waters shall meet the standards of water 

quality for outdoor bathing places as specified 

in Item (3) of this Rule and shall be of sufficient 

size and depth for primary contact recreation. In 

assigning the B classification to waters intended 

for primary contact recreation, the Commission 

shall consider the relative proximity of sources 

of water pollution and the potential hazards 

involved in locating swimming areas close to 

sources of water pollution and shall not assign 

this classification to waters in which such water 

pollution could result in a hazard to public 
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health. Sources of water pollution that preclude 

any of these uses on either a short-term or 

long-term basis shall be deemed to violate a 

water quality standard. 

(3) Quality standards applicable to Class B waters: 

(a) Sewage, industrial wastes, or other 

wastes: none shall be allowed that are 

not treated to the satisfaction of the 

Commission. In determining the 

degree of treatment required for such 

waste when discharged into waters to 

be used for bathing, the Commission 

shall consider the quality and quantity 

of the sewage and wastes involved and 

the proximity of such discharges to 

waters in this class. Discharges in the 

immediate vicinity of bathing areas 

shall not be allowed if the Director 

determines that the waste cannot be 

treated to ensure the protection of 

primary contact recreation; 

(b) Fecal coliforms shall not exceed a 

geometric mean of 200/100 ml (MF 

count) based on at least five samples 

taken over a 30 day period, nor exceed 

400/100 ml in more than 20 percent of 

the samples examined during such 

period. 

(4) Wastewater discharges to waters classified as B 

shall meet the reliability requirements specified 

in 15A NCAC 02H .0124. Discharges to waters 

where a primary contact recreational use is 

determined by the Director to be attainable shall 

be required to meet water quality standards and 

reliability requirements to protect this use 

concurrently with reclassification efforts. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. January 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1995; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0220 TIDAL SALT WATER QUALITY 

STANDARDS FOR CLASS SC WATERS 

In addition to the standards set forth in Rule .0208 of this Section, 

the following water quality standards shall apply to all Class SC 

waters. Additional standards applicable to other tidal salt water 

classifications are specified in Rules .0221 and .0222 of this 

Section. 

(1) The best usage of waters classified as SC shall 

be aquatic life propagation, survival, and 

maintenance of biological integrity (including 

fishing, fish, and Primary Nursery Areas 

(PNAs)); wildlife; secondary contact recreation 

as defined in Rule .0202 in this Section; and any 

usage except primary contact recreation or 

shellfishing for market purposes. All saltwaters 

shall be classified to protect these uses at a 

minimum. 

(2) The best usage of waters classified as SC shall 

be maintained as specified in this Rule. Any 

source of water pollution that precludes any of 

these uses on either a short-term or a long-term 

basis shall be deemed to violate a water quality 

standard; 

(3) Chlorophyll a (corrected): not greater than 40 

ug/l in sounds, estuaries, and other waters 

subject to growths of macroscopic or 

microscopic vegetation. The Commission or its 

designee may prohibit or limit any discharge of 

waste into surface waters if the Director 

determines that the surface waters experience or 

the discharge would result in growths of 

microscopic or macroscopic vegetation such 

that the standards established pursuant to this 

Rule would be violated or the intended best 

usage of the waters would be impaired; 

(4) Cyanide: 1 ug/l; 

(5) Dissolved oxygen: not less than 5.0 mg/l, 

except that swamp waters, poorly flushed 

tidally influenced streams or embayments, or 

estuarine bottom waters may have lower values 

if caused by natural conditions; 

(6) Enterococcus, including Enterococcus faecalis, 

Enterococcus faecium, Enterococcus avium 

and Enterococcus gallinarium: not exceed a 

geometric mean of 35 enterococci per 100 ml 

based upon a minimum of five samples taken 

over a 30-day period. For the purposes of beach 

monitoring and notification, "Coastal 

Recreational Waters Monitoring, Evaluation 

and Notification" regulations (15A NCAC 18A 

.3400), available free of charge at: 

http://www.ncoah.com/, are incorporated by 

reference including subsequent amendments 

and editions; 

(7) Floating solids, settleable solids, or sludge 

deposits: only such amounts attributable to 

sewage, industrial wastes, or other wastes as 

shall not make the waters unsafe or unsuitable 

for aquatic life and wildlife, or impair the 

waters for any designated uses; 

(8) Gases, total dissolved: not greater than 110 

percent of saturation; 

(9) Metals: 

(a) With the exception of mercury and 

selenium, acute and chronic tidal salt 

water quality standards for metals 

shall be based upon measurement of 

the dissolved fraction of the metals. 

Mercury and selenium shall be based 

upon measurement of the total 

recoverable metal; 

(b) With the exception of mercury and 

selenium, acute and chronic tidal 

saltwater quality aquatic life standards 
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for metals listed in this Sub-Item shall 

apply as a function of the pollutant's 

water effect ratio (WER). The WER 

shall be assigned a value equal to one 

unless any person demonstrates to the 

Division in a permit proceeding that 

another value is developed in 

accordance with the "Water Quality 

Standards Handbook: Second Edition" 

published by the US Environmental 

Protection Agency (EPA-823-B-12-

002). Alternative site-specific 

standards may also be developed when 

any person submits values that 

demonstrate to the Commission that 

they were derived in accordance with 

the "Water Quality Standards 

Handbook: Second Edition, 

Recalculation Procedure or the 

Resident Species Procedure." 

(c) Acute and chronic tidal salt water 

quality metals standards shall be as 

follows: 

(i) Arsenic, acute: WER∙ 69 

ug/l; 

(ii) Arsenic, chronic: WER∙ 36 

ug/l; 

(iii) Cadmium, acute: WER∙ 33 

ug/l; 

(iv) Cadmium, chronic: WER∙ 

7.9 ug/l; 

(v) Chromium VI, acute: WER∙ 

1100 ug/l; 

(vi) Chromium VI, chronic: 

WER∙ 50 ug/l; 

(vii) Copper, acute: WER∙ 4.8 

ug/l; 

(viii) Copper, chronic: WER∙ 3.1 

ug/l; 

(ix) Lead, acute: WER∙ 210 ug/l; 

(x) Lead, chronic: WER∙ 8.1 

ug/l; 

(xi) Mercury, total recoverable, 

chronic: 0.025 ug/l; 

(xii) Nickel, acute: WER∙ 74 ug/l; 

(xiii) Nickel, chronic: WER∙ 8.2 

ug/l; 

(xiv) Selenium, total recoverable, 

chronic: 71 ug/l; 

(xv) Silver, acute: WER∙ 1.9 ug/l; 

(xvi) Silver, chronic: WER∙ 0.1 

ug/l; 

(xvii) Zinc, acute: WER∙ 90 ug/l; 

and 

(xviii) Zinc, chronic: WER∙ 81 ug/l; 

(d) Compliance with acute instream 

metals standards shall only be 

evaluated using an average of two or 

more samples collected within one 

hour. Compliance with chronic 

instream metals standards shall only 

be evaluated using averages of a 

minimum of four samples taken on 

consecutive days, or as a 96-hour 

average; 

(10) Oils, deleterious substances, or colored or other 

wastes: only such amounts as shall not render 

the waters injurious to public health, secondary 

recreation, aquatic life, and wildlife or 

adversely affect the palatability of fish, 

aesthetic quality, or impair the waters for any 

designated uses. For the purpose of 

implementing this Rule, oils, deleterious 

substances, or colored or other wastes shall 

include substances that cause a film or sheen 

upon or discoloration of the surface of the water 

or adjoining shorelines, as described in 40 CFR 

110.3, incorporated by reference including any 

subsequent amendments and editions. This 

material is available free of charge at 

https://www.govinfo.gov. 

(11) Pesticides: 

(a) Aldrin: 0.003 ug/l; 

(b) Chlordane: 0.004 ug/l; 

(c) DDT: 0.001 ug/l; 

(d) Demeton: 0.1 ug/l; 

(e) Dieldrin: 0.002 ug/l; 

(f) Endosulfan: 0.009 ug/l; 

(g) Endrin: 0.002 ug/l; 

(h) Guthion: 0.01 ug/l; 

(i) Heptachlor: 0.004 ug/l; 

(j) Lindane: 0.004 ug/l; 

(k) Methoxychlor: 0.03 ug/l; 

(l) Mirex: 0.001 ug/l; 

(m) Parathion: 0.178 ug/l; and 

(n) Toxaphene: 0.0002 ug/l; 

(12) pH: shall be between 6.8 and 8.5, except that 

swamp waters may have a pH as low as 4.3 if it 

is the result of natural conditions; 

(13) Phenolic compounds: only such levels as shall 

not result in fish-flesh tainting or impairment of 

other best usage; 

(14) Polychlorinated biphenyls: (total of all PCBs 

and congeners identified) 0.001 ug/l; 

(15) Radioactive substances, based on at least one 

sample collected per quarter: 

(a) Combined radium-226 and 

radium-228: the average annual 

activity level for combined 

radium-226, and radium-228 shall not 

exceed five picoCuries per liter; 

(b) Alpha Emitters: the average annual 

gross alpha particle activity (including 

radium-226, but excluding radon and 

uranium) shall not exceed 15 

picoCuries per liter; 

(c) Beta Emitters: the average annual 

activity level for strontium-90 shall 
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not exceed eight picoCuries per liter, 

nor shall the average annual gross beta 

particle activity (excluding 

potassium-40 and other naturally 

occurring radionuclides exceed 50 

picoCuries per liter, nor shall the 

average annual activity level for 

tritium exceed 20,000 picoCuries per 

liter; 

(16) Salinity: changes in salinity due to hydrological 

modifications shall not result in removal of the 

functions of a PNA. Projects that are 

determined by the Director to result in 

modifications of salinity such that functions of 

a PNA are impaired shall employ water 

management practices to mitigate salinity 

impacts; 

(17) Temperature: shall not be increased above the 

natural water temperature by more than 0.8 

degrees C (1.44 degrees F) during the months 

of June, July, and August, shall not be increased 

by more than 2.2 degrees C (3.96 degrees F) 

during other months, and shall in no case 

exceed 32 degrees C (89.6 degrees F) due to the 

discharge of heated liquids; 

(18) Trialkyltin compounds: 0.007 ug/l expressed as 

tributyltin; 

(19) Turbidity: the turbidity in the receiving water 

shall not exceed 25 Nephelometric Turbidity 

Units (NTU); if turbidity exceeds this level due 

to natural background conditions, the existing 

turbidity level shall not be increased. 

Compliance with this turbidity standard shall be 

deemed met when land management activities 

employ Best Management Practices (BMPs), 

defined by Rule .0202 of this Section, 

recommended by the Designated Nonpoint 

Source Agency, as defined by Rule .0202 of this 

Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. October 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; May 1, 2007; August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0301 CLASSIFICATIONS: GENERAL 

(a)  The classifications assigned to the waters of the State of North 

Carolina are set forth in river basin classification schedules 

provided at https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-

resources/water-planning/classification-standards/river-basin-

classification and in Rules .0302 to .0317 of this Section. These 

classifications are based upon procedures described in Rule .0101 

of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Classifications. The classifications assigned to the waters of 

North Carolina are denoted by the letters C, B, WS-I, WS-II, WS-

III, WS-IV, WS-V, WL, SC, SB, SA, SWL, Tr, Sw, NSW, ORW, 

HQW, and UWL. The "best usage", as defined in Rule .0202 of 

this Subchapter, for each classification is defined in the rules as 

follows: 

(1) Fresh Waters Classifications: 

(A) Class C: Rule .0211 of this 

Subchapter; 

(B) Class B: Rule .0219 of this 

Subchapter; 

(C) Class WS-I (Water Supply): Rule 

.0212 of this Subchapter; 

(D) Class WS-II (Water Supply): Rule 

.0214 of this Subchapter; 

(E) Class WS-III (Water Supply): Rule 

.0215 of this Subchapter; 

(F) Class WS-IV (Water Supply): Rule 

.0216 of this Subchapter; 

(G) Class WS-V (Water Supply): Rule 

.0218 of this Subchapter; and 

(H) Class WL (Wetlands): Rule .0231 of 

this Subchapter. 

(2) Tidal Salt Waters Classifications: 

(A) Class SC: Rule .0220 of this 

Subchapter;  

(B) Class SB: Rule .0222 of this 

Subchapter; 

(C) Class SA: Rule .0221 of this 

Subchapter; and 

(D) Class SWL: Rule .0231 of this 

Subchapter. 

(3) Supplemental Classifications: 

(A) Class Tr (Trout Waters): Rule .0202 of 

this Subchapter; 

(B) Class Sw (Swamp): Rule .0202 of this 

Subchapter; 

(C) Class NSW (Nutrient Sensitive 

Waters): Rule .0223 of this 

Subchapter; 

(D) Class ORW (Outstanding Resource 

Waters): Rule .0225 of this 

Subchapter; 

(E) Class HQW (High Quality Waters): 

Rule .0224 of this Subchapter; and 

(F) Class UWL (Unique Wetlands): Rule 

.0231 of this Subchapter. 

(c)  Water Quality Standards. The water quality standards 

applicable to each classification assigned are those established in 

the rules of Section .0200 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  Index Number. The index number is an identification number 

assigned to each stream or segment of a stream, indicating the 

specific tributary progression between the main stem stream and 

tributary stream. The index number can be referenced to the 

Division's river basin classification schedules (hydrologic and 

alphabetic) for each river basin. 

(e)  Classification Date. The classification date indicates the date 

on which enforcement of the provisions of General Statutes 143-

215.1 became effective with reference to the classification 

assigned to the various streams in North Carolina. 

(f)  Unnamed Streams. 

(1) Any stream that is not listed in a river basin 

classification schedule carries the same 
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classification as that assigned to the stream 

segment to which it is tributary except: 

(A) unnamed freshwaters tributary to tidal 

saltwaters will be classified "C"; or 

(B) after November 1, 1986, any areas of 

tidal saltwater created by dredging 

projects approved in accordance with 

15A NCAC 07H .0208 and connected 

to Class SA waters shall be classified 

"SC" unless case-by-case 

reclassification proceedings are 

conducted per Rule .0101 of this 

Subchapter. 

(2) In addition to Subparagraph (1) of this 

Paragraph, for unnamed streams entering other 

states, tribes approved for treatment as a state 

and administering a U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency approved water quality 

standards program, or for specific areas of a 

river basin, the following Rules shall apply: 

(A) Hiwassee River Basin (Rule .0302 of 

this Section); 

(B) Little Tennessee River Basin and 

Savannah River Drainage Area (Rule 

.0303 of this Section); 

(C) French Broad River Basin (Rule .0304 

of this Section); 

(D) Watauga River Basin (Rule .0305 of 

this Section); 

(E) Broad River Basin (Rule .0306 of this 

Section); 

(F) New River Basin (Rule .0307 of this 

Section); 

(G) Catawba River Basin (Rule .0308 of 

this Section); 

(H) Yadkin-Pee Dee River Basin (Rule 

.0309 of this Section); 

(I) Lumber River Basin (Rule .0310 of 

this Section); 

(J) Roanoke River Basin (Rule .0313 of 

this Section); 

(K) Tar-Pamlico River Basin (Rule .0316 

of this Section); and 

(L) Pasquotank River Basin (Rule .0317 

of this Section). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.5; 

143-215.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1995; August 3, 1992; August 1, 1990; 

October 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0311 CAPE FEAR RIVER BASIN 

(a)  Classifications assigned to the waters within the Cape Fear 

River Basin are set forth in the Cape Fear River Basin 

Classification Schedule, which may be inspected at the following 

places: 

(1) the Internet at  

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-

resources/water-planning/classification-

standards/river-basin-classification; and 

(2) the following offices of the North Carolina 

Department of Environmental Quality: 

(A) Winston-Salem Regional Office 

450 West Hanes Mill Road 

Winston-Salem, North Carolina; 

(B) Fayetteville Regional Office 

225 Green Street 

Systel Building Suite 714 

Fayetteville, North Carolina; 

(C) Raleigh Regional Office 

3800 Barrett Drive 

Raleigh, North Carolina; 

(D) Washington Regional Office 

943 Washington Square Mall 

Washington, North Carolina; 

(E) Wilmington Regional Office 

127 Cardinal Drive Extension 

Wilmington, North Carolina; and 

(F) Division of Water Resources 

Central Office 

512 North Salisbury Street 

Raleigh, North Carolina. 

(b)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective: 

(1) March 1, 1977; 

(2) December 13, 1979; 

(3) December 14, 1980; 

(4) August 9, 1981; 

(5) April 1, 1982; 

(6) December 1, 1983; 

(7) January 1, 1985; 

(8) August 1, 1985; 

(9) December 1, 1985; 

(10) February 1, 1986; 

(11) July 1, 1987; 

(12) October 1, 1987; 

(13) March 1, 1988; 

(14) August 1, 1990. 

(c)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective June 1, 1988 as follows: 

(1) Cane Creek [Index No. 16-21-(1)] from source 

to a point 0.5 mile north of N.C. Hwy. 54 (Cane 

Reservoir Dam) including the Cane Creek 

Reservoir and all tributaries has been 

reclassified from Class WS-III to WS-I. 

(2) Morgan Creek [Index No. 16-41-1-(1)] to the 

University Lake dam including University Lake 

and all tributaries has been reclassified from 

Class WS-III to WS-I. 

(d)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective July 1, 1988 by the reclassification of Crane 

Creek (Crains Creek) [Index No. 18-23-16-(1)] from source to 

mouth of Beaver Creek including all tributaries from C to WS-III. 

(e)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective January 1, 1990 as follows: 
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(1) Intracoastal Waterway (Index No. 18-87) from 

southern edge of White Oak River Basin to 

western end of Permuda Island (a line from 

Morris Landing to Atlantic Ocean), from the 

eastern mouth of Old Topsail Creek to the 

southwestern shore of Howe Creek and from 

the southwest mouth of Shinn Creek to channel 

marker No. 153 including all tributaries except 

the King Creek Restricted Area, Hardison 

Creek, Old Topsail Creek, Mill Creek, Futch 

Creek and Pages Creek were reclassified from 

Class SA to Class SA ORW. 

(2) Topsail Sound and Middle Sound ORW Area 

which includes all waters between the Barrier 

Islands and the Intracoastal Waterway located 

between a line running from the western most 

shore of Mason Inlet to the southwestern shore 

of Howe Creek and a line running from the 

western shore of New Topsail Inlet to the 

eastern mouth of Old Topsail Creek was 

reclassified from Class SA to Class SA ORW. 

(3) Masonboro Sound ORW Area which includes 

all waters between the Barrier Islands and the 

mainland from a line running from the 

southwest mouth of Shinn Creek at the 

Intracoastal Waterway to the southern shore of 

Masonboro Inlet and a line running from the 

Intracoastal Waterway Channel marker No. 153 

to the southside of the Carolina Beach Inlet was 

reclassified from Class SA to Class SA ORW. 

(f)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective January 1, 1990 as follows: Big Alamance 

Creek [Index No. 16-19-(1)] from source to Lake Mackintosh 

Dam including all tributaries has been reclassified from Class 

WS-III NSW to Class WS-II NSW. 

(g)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective August 3, 1992 with the reclassification of all 

water supply waters (waters with a primary classification of WS-

I, WS-II or WS-III). These waters were reclassified to WS-I, WS-

II, WS-III, WS-IV or WS-V as defined in the revised water supply 

protection rules (15A NCAC 02B .0100, .0200 and .0300), which 

became effective on August 3, 1992. In some cases, streams with 

primary classifications other than WS were reclassified to a WS 

classification due to their proximity and linkage to water supply 

waters. In other cases, waters were reclassified from a WS 

classification to an alternate appropriate primary classification 

after being identified as downstream of a water supply intake or 

identified as not being used for water supply purposes. 

(h)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective June 1, 1994 as follows: 

(1) The Black River from its source to the Cape 

Fear River [Index Nos. 18-68-(0.5), 18-68-(3.5) 

and 18-65-(11.5)] was reclassified from Classes 

C Sw and C Sw HQW to Class C Sw ORW. 

(2) The South River from Big Swamp to the Black 

River [Index Nos. 18-68-12-(0.5) and 18-68-

12(11.5)] was reclassified from Classes C Sw 

and C Sw HQW to Class C Sw ORW. 

(3) Six Runs Creek from Quewhiffle Swamp to the 

Black River [Index No. 18-68-2] was 

reclassified from Class C Sw to Class C Sw 

ORW. 

(i)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective September 1, 1994 with the reclassification of 

the Deep River [Index No. 17-(36.5)] from the Town of Gulf-

Goldston water supply intake to US highway 421 including 

associated tributaries from Class C to Classes C, WS-IV and WS-

IV CA. 

(j)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective August 1, 1998 with the revision to the primary 

classification for portions of the Deep River [Index No. 17-(28.5)] 

from Class WS-IV to Class WS-V, Deep River [Index No. 17-

(41.5)] from Class WS-IV to Class C, and the Cape Fear River 

[Index 18-(10.5)] from Class WS-IV to Class WS-V. 

(k)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective April 1, 1999 with the reclassification of 

Buckhorn Creek (Harris Lake)[Index No. 18-7-(3)] from the 

backwaters of Harris Lake to the Dam at Harris Lake from Class 

C to Class WS-V. 

(l)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective April 1, 1999 with the reclassification of the 

Deep River [Index No. 17-(4)] from the dam at Oakdale-Cotton 

Mills, Inc. to the dam at Randleman Reservoir (located 1.6 mile 

upstream of U.S. Hwy 220 Business), and including tributaries 

from Class C and Class B to Class WS-IV and Class WS-IV & B. 

Streams within the Randleman Reservoir Critical Area have been 

reclassified to WS-IV CA. The Critical Area for a WS-IV 

reservoir is defined as 0.5 mile and draining to the normal pool 

elevation of the reservoir. All waters within the Randleman 

Reservoir Water Supply Watershed are within a designated 

Critical Water Supply Watershed and are subject to a special 

management strategy specified in Rule .0248 of this Subchapter. 

(m)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective August 1, 2002 as follows: 

(1) Mill Creek [Index Nos. 18-23-11-(1), 18-23-

11-(2), 18-23-11-3, 18-23-11-(5)] from its 

source to the Little River, including all 

tributaries was reclassified from Class WS-III 

NSW and Class WS-III B NSW to Class WS-

III NSW HQW@ and Class WS-III B NSW 

HQW@. 

(2) McDeed's Creek [Index Nos. 18-23-11-4, 18-

23-11-4-1] from its source to Mill Creek, 

including all tributaries was reclassified from 

Class WS III NSW and Class WS-III B NSW to 

Class WS-III NSW HQW@ and Class WS-III 

B NSW HQW@. 

The "@" symbol as used in this Paragraph means that if the 

governing municipality has deemed that a development is covered 

under a "5/70 provision" as described in Rule .0624 of this 

Subchapter, then that development is not subject to the stormwater 

requirements as described in 15A NCAC 02H .1021. 

(n)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective November 1, 2004 as follows: 

(1) the portion of Rocky River [Index Number 17-

43-(1)] from a point 0.3 mile upstream of Town 

of Siler City upper reservoir dam to a point 0.3 
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mile downstream of Lacy Creek from WS-III to 

WS-III CA. 

(2) the portion of Rocky River [Index Number 17-

43-(8)] from dam at lower water supply 

reservoir for Town of Siler City to a point 65 

feet below dam (site of proposed dam) from C 

to WS-III CA. 

(3) the portion of Mud Lick Creek (Index No. 17-

43-6) from a point 0.4 mile upstream of 

Chatham County SR 1355 to Town of Siler City 

lower water supply reservoir from WS-III to 

WS-III CA. 

(4) the portion of Lacy Creek (17-43-7) from a 

point 0.6 mile downstream of Chatham County 

SR 1362 to Town of Siler City lower water 

supply reservoir from WS-III to WS-III CA. 

(o)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective November 1, 2007 with the reclassifications 

listed below, and the North Carolina Division of Water Resources 

maintains a Geographic Information Systems data layer of these 

UWLs. 

(1) Military Ocean Terminal Sunny Point Pools, all 

on the eastern shore of the Cape Fear River 

[Index No. 18-(71)] were reclassified to Class 

WL UWL. 

(2) Salters Lake Bay near Salters Lake [Index No. 

18-44-4] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(3) Jones Lake Bay near Jones Lake [Index No. 18-

46-7-1] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(4) Weymouth Woods Sandhill Seep near Mill 

Creek [18-23-11-(1)] was reclassified to Class 

WL UWL. 

(5) Fly Trap Savanna near Cape Fear River [Index 

No. 18-(71)] was reclassified to Class WL 

UWL. 

(6) Lily Pond near Cape Fear River [Index No. 18-

(71)] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(7) Grassy Pond near Cape Fear River [Index No. 

18-(71)] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(8) The Neck Savanna near Sandy Run Swamp 

[Index No. 18-74-33-2] was reclassified to 

Class WL UWL. 

(9) Bower's Bog near Mill Creek [Index No. 18-23-

11-(1)] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(10) Bushy Lake near Turnbull Creek [Index No. 18-

46] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(p)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective January 1, 2009 as follows: 

(1) the portion of Cape Fear River [Index No. 18-

(26)] (including tributaries) from Smithfield 

Packing Company's intake, located 

approximately 2 miles upstream of County 

Road 1316, to a point 0.5 miles upstream of 

Smithfield Packing Company's intake from 

Class C to Class WS-IV CA. 

(2) the portion of Cape Fear River [Index No.18-

(26)] (including tributaries) from a point 0.5 

miles upstream of Smithfield Packing 

Company's intake to a point 1 mile upstream of 

Grays Creek from Class C to Class WS-IV. 

(q)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective August 11, 2009 with the reclassification of all 

Class C NSW waters and all Class B NSW waters upstream of the 

dam at B. Everett Jordan Reservoir from Class C NSW and Class 

B NSW to Class WS-V NSW and Class WS-V & B NSW, 

respectively. All waters within the B. Everett Jordan Reservoir 

Watershed are within a designated Critical Water Supply 

Watershed and are subject to a special management strategy 

specified in Rules .0262 through .0273 of this Subchapter. 

(r)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective September 1, 2009 with the reclassification of 

a portion of the Haw River [Index No. 16-(28.5)] from the Town 

of Pittsboro water supply intake, which is located approximately 

0.15 mile west of U.S. 15/501, to a point 0.5 mile upstream of the 

Town of Pittsboro water supply intake from Class WS-IV to Class 

WS-IV CA. 

(s)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective March 1, 2012 with the reclassification of the 

portion of the Haw River [Index No. 16-(1)] from the City of 

Greensboro's intake, located approximately 650 feet upstream of 

Guilford County 2712, to a point 0.5 miles upstream of the intake 

from Class WS-V NSW to Class WS-IV CA NSW, and the 

portion of the Haw River [Index No. 16-(1)] from a point 0.5 miles 

upstream of the intake to a point 0.6 miles downstream of U.S. 

Route 29 from Class WS-V NSW to Class WS-IV NSW. 

(t)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective November 1, 2019 with the reclassification of 

a portion of Sandy Creek [Index No. 17-16-(1)] (including 

tributaries) from a point 0.4 mile upstream of SR-2481 to a point 

0.6 mile upstream of N.C. Hwy 22 from WS-III to WS-III CA. 

The reclassification resulted in an updated representation of the 

water supply watershed for the Sandy Creek reservoir. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 

143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. June 30, 2017; March 1, 2012; September 1, 2009; 

August 11, 2009; January 1, 2009; November 1, 2007; November 

1, 2004; August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999; August 1, 1998; 

September 1, 1994; June 1, 1994; August 3, 1992; August 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022; July 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0101 PURPOSE 

(a)  N.C. General Statute 143-214.1 directs that the Commission 

develop and adopt, after proper study, a series of classifications 

and standards which will be appropriate for the purpose of 

classifying each of the waters of the State in such a way as to 

promote the policy and purposes of the act. Pursuant to this 

statute, the rules in Sections .0200 and .0300 of this Subchapter 

establish a series of classifications and water quality standards 

applicable to the groundwaters of the State. 

(b)  The rules in Section .0100 of this Subchapter shall apply to 

all permitted and unpermitted activities or actions, intentional or 

accidental, that contribute to the degradation of groundwater 

quality, regardless of any permit issued by a governmental agency 

authorizing such action or activity. An innocent landowner who 
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is a bona fide purchaser of property which contains a source of 

groundwater contamination, who purchased such property 

without knowledge or a reasonable basis for knowing that 

groundwater contamination had occurred, or a person whose 

interest or ownership in the property is based or derived from a 

security interest in the property, shall not be considered a 

responsible party. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.2; 

143-215.3(a)(1); 143B-282; 

Eff. June 10, 1979; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1989; July 1, 1988; September 1, 1984; 

December 30, 1983; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0102 DEFINITIONS 

The definition of any word or phrase used in the Rules in this 

Subchapter shall be the same as given in G.S. 143-212 and G.S. 

143-213 except that the following words and phrases shall have 

the following meanings: 

(1) "Active remediation" means corrective action 

that includes active physical, biological, or 

chemical manipulation of groundwater or of the 

rock or soil media for the purpose of reducing 

the amount of contamination or minimizing the 

spread of contamination. 

(2) "Anthropogenic" means of, relating to, or 

resulting from the influence of human beings on 

nature. 

(3) "Background threshold values" mean 

statistically derived values of the 

concentrations of substances in environmental 

media not affected by site conditions, actions, 

or activities for use as a basis for compliance 

with the rules in this Subchapter. 

(4) "Bedrock" means any consolidated rock 

encountered in the place in which it was formed 

or deposited and which cannot be readily 

excavated without the use of explosives or 

power equipment. 

(5) "Chief administrative officer" shall be, for the 

purposes of this Rule, the mayor, chairman of 

the county commissioners, the county manager, 

or the city manager who is responsible for 

environmental issues in their jurisdiction. 

(6) "Compliance boundary" means a boundary 

around the waste disposal area of a disposal 

system at and beyond which standards may not 

be exceeded and applies to facilities which have 

received an individual permit issued under the 

authority of G.S. 143-215.1, Article 9 of G.S. 

130A, or Article 11 of G.S. 130A. 

(7) "Compliance zone" means the area 

encompassed within the compliance boundary. 

(8) "Constituent of interest" means any substance 

that is manmade or naturally occurring that is 

associated with or influenced by site activities 

or actions and that is of interest to the protection 

of public health or the environment. 

(9) "Contaminant" means any substance that 

occurs in groundwater as a result of 

anthropogenic sources or activities in 

concentrations which exceed the standards. 

(10) "Control" means the ability to physically, 

mechanically, or chemically influence sources 

of contamination and contaminant distribution. 

(11) "Corrective action plan" means a plan for 

controlling or eliminating sources of 

groundwater contamination or for restoring 

groundwater quality.  

(12) "Director" means Director of the Division of 

Water Resources or Waste Management or their 

delegate. 

(13) "Division" means the Division of Water 

Resources or Waste Management. 

(14) "Exposure pathway" means a course taken by a 

contaminant by way of a transport medium after 

its release to the environment. 

(15) "Free product" means a non-aqueous phase 

liquid which may be present within the 

saturated zone or in surface water. 

(16) "Fresh waters" means those groundwaters 

having a chloride concentration equal to or less 

than 250 milligrams per liter. 

(17) "Groundwaters" means waters occurring in the 

subsurface under saturated conditions. 

(18) "Hazardous substance" means any substance as 

defined by 42 U.S.C. 9601(14). 

(19) "Licensed geologist" means a person who has 

been licensed as a geologist in accordance with 

the requirements of G.S. 89E. 

(20) "Licensed soil scientist" means a person who 

has been licensed as a soil scientist in 

accordance with the requirements of G.S. 89F. 

(21) "Natural attenuation" means those natural 

processes acting to restore groundwater quality, 

including dilution, filtration, sorption, 

ion-exchange, chemical transformation, and 

biodegradation. 

(22) "Natural conditions or naturally occurring" 

means the physical, biological, chemical, and 

radiological conditions which occur naturally 

and are not a result of anthropogenic sources or 

activities. 

(23) "Person" shall be as defined in G.S. 130A-

290(22). 

(24) "Potable waters" means those waters suitable 

for drinking by humans. 

(25) "Practical Quantitation Limit" means the lowest 

concentration of a given material that can be 

reliably achieved by a particular analytical 

technique operated within specified parameters 

of a given analytical method during routine 

laboratory analysis while following all 

applicable state or federal quality assurance and 

quality control requirements. 

(26) "Professional Engineer" means a person who 

has been registered and licensed as a 
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professional engineer in accordance with the 

requirements of G.S. 89C. 

(27) "Receptor" is as defined in G.S. 130A-309.201 

and, for the purposes of this Rule, shall also 

include waters of the State as defined in G.S. 

143-212(6). 

(28) "Review boundary" means a boundary around a 

permitted waste disposal area midway between 

a waste boundary and a compliance boundary at 

which groundwater monitoring may be 

required. 

(29) "Saturated zone" means that part of the 

subsurface below the water table in which all 

the interconnected voids are filled with water 

under pressure at or greater than atmospheric. It 

does not include the capillary fringe. 

(30) "Secretary" means the Secretary of the 

Department of Environmental Quality or his or 

her delegate. 

(31) "Standard" or "standards" means groundwater 

quality standards as specified in Rule .0202 of 

this Subchapter and any interim maximum 

allowable concentrations established by the 

Director per Rule .0202(c) of this Subchapter. 

(32) "Suitable for drinking" means a quality of water 

that does not contain substances in 

concentrations which, either singularly or in 

combination, if ingested into the human body, 

may cause death, disease, behavioral 

abnormalities, congenital defects, genetic 

mutations, or result in an incremental lifetime 

cancer risk in excess of 1x10-6, or result in 

adverse effects to the consumer due to aesthetic 

qualities, including taste, odor, or appearance. 

(33) "Waste boundary" means the perimeter of the 

permitted waste disposal area. 

(34) "Waste disposal area" means that portion of a 

disposal system permitted under authority of 

G.S 143-215.1, Article 9 of G.S. 130A, or 

Article 11 of G.S. 130A whose purpose is the 

temporary or permanent disposal of waste. 

(35) "Water table" means the surface of the saturated 

zone below which all interconnected voids are 

filled with water and at which the pressure is 

atmospheric. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215; 143B-282; 

Eff. June 10, 1979. 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; August 1, 1989; July 1, 1988; 

March 1, 1985; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0103 POLICY 

(a)  The rules established in this Subchapter are intended to 

maintain and preserve the quality of the groundwaters, prevent 

and abate pollution and contamination of the waters of the State, 

protect public health, and permit management of the 

groundwaters for their best usage. It is the policy of the 

Commission that the best usage of the groundwaters of the State 

is as a source of drinking water. These groundwaters generally are 

a potable source of drinking water without the necessity of 

significant treatment. It is the intent of these Rules to protect the 

overall high quality of North Carolina's groundwaters to the level 

established by the standards and to enhance and restore the quality 

of degraded groundwaters where feasible and necessary to protect 

human health and the environment, or to ensure their suitability 

as a future source of drinking water. 

(b)  The Commission shall not approve any disposal system 

subject to the provisions of G.S. 143-215.1 which would result in 

any of the following: 

(1) The significant degradation of groundwaters 

which have existing quality that is better than 

the assigned standard, unless such degradation 

is found to be in the best interests of the public 

based upon the projected economic benefits of 

the facility and that public health will be 

protected. 

(2) A violation of a standard beyond a designated 

compliance boundary as a result of the 

permitted activities. 

(3) The impairment of existing groundwater uses or 

increased risk to public health due to the 

operation of a disposal system. 

(c)  Violations of the standards resulting from groundwater 

withdrawals which are in compliance with water use permits 

issued pursuant to G.S. 143-215.15, shall not be subject to the 

corrective action requirements of Rule .0106 of this Section. 

(d)  No person shall conduct or cause to be conducted, any activity 

which causes the concentration of any substance to exceed the 

standards, except as authorized by the rules of this Subchapter. 

(e)  Work that is within the scope of the practice of geology and 

engineering, performed pursuant to the requirements of this 

Subchapter, that involves site assessment, the interpretation of 

geologic conditions, preparation of corrective action plans, or any 

work requiring detailed technical knowledge of site conditions 

which is submitted to the Director, shall be performed by persons, 

firms, or professional corporations who are licensed to offer 

geological or engineering services by the appropriate 

occupational licensing board or are exempted from such licensing 

by G.S. 89E-6. Work which involves design of remedial systems 

or specialized construction techniques shall be performed by 

persons, firms, or professional corporations who are licensed to 

offer engineering services. Corporations that are authorized by 

law to perform engineering or geological services and are exempt 

from the Professional Corporation Act, G.S. 55B, may perform 

these services. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.2; 

143-215.3(a)(1); 

143B-282; 

Eff. June 10, 1979; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1989; July 1, 1988; September 1, 1984; 

December 30, 1983; 

RRC Objection Eff. September 17, 1993, due to lack of necessity 

for Paragraph (e); 

Amended Eff. November 4, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 
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15A NCAC 02L .0104 RESTRICTED DESIGNATION 

(a)  The restricted designation (RS) means that groundwater may 

not be suitable for use as a drinking water supply without 

treatment.  

(b)  Upon application by a responsible party, the Director is 

authorized to apply the RS to GA or GSA groundwaters, as 

defined under Rule .0201 of this Subchapter, under any of the 

following circumstances: 

(1) For sites undergoing risk-based remediation per 

Rule .0106(i) of this Section. 

(2) Areas of remaining contamination where the 

Secretary has approved the termination of an 

approved corrective action per Rule .0106(j) of 

this Section. 

(3) Where a variance has been granted by the 

Commission as provided in Rule .0113 of this 

Section. 

(c)  Groundwaters occurring within an area defined by a 

compliance boundary in a waste disposal permit are deemed RS. 

(d)  The boundary of the RS area shall be located 250 feet or 

greater from the boundary of the contaminant plume and shall 

include any areas into which the contamination is predicted 

through modeling or expected through professional judgment to 

migrate.  

(e)  Where the RS area crosses, intercepts, or adjoins surface 

waters, the RS shall not give the right to cause or contribute to an 

exceedance of the surface water standards established under 15A 

NCAC 02B .0200. 

(f)  Application for RS. The person requesting a RS shall provide 

to the Director a plan that includes the following: 

(1) The person's name, address, and phone number. 

(2) The physical location of the of facility or site 

where the contamination originated. 

(3) If applicable, a copy of the Secretary's approval 

for termination of corrective action or a 

variance granted by the Commission as 

provided in Rule .0113 of this Section. 

(4) A summary of the site assessment and 

corrective actions including the results of any 

predictive modeling that estimates the time to 

return compliance for the RS area. 

(5) Maps showing the current horizontal and 

vertical extent of any contamination and the 

areas where the contamination is predicted or 

expected to migrate including the current and 

predicted quantities of any contaminants and all 

current and potential future receptors within 

1,500 feet of contamination. 

(6) A map showing the proposed RS area including 

the county title number, county tax 

identification number, or the property tax book 

and page identifiers of the properties included 

within the proposed RS area. 

(7) A plan for monitoring the groundwater quality 

within the RS area that includes the current or 

proposed wells to be monitored, the frequency 

of the monitoring, and the constituents of 

interest to be monitored. 

(8) If the proposed RS area extends beyond the 

source property's boundary, a signed statement 

from each property owner agreeing to the 

proposed RS area on their property if required 

by statute. 

(9) If the proposed RS area crosses, intercepts, or 

adjoins surface waters, a plan to ensure the 

surface water standards established under 15A 

NCAC 02B .0200 are not violated. 

(g)  The Director shall review whether the proposed plan is 

protective of public health and the environment for receptors 

within the RS area and otherwise complies with requirements of 

this Rule. The Director may require a person who proposes a plan 

to supply any additional information not provided that is 

necessary to satisfy the requirements of Paragraph (f) of this Rule. 

(h)  Prior to approving the proposed plan in Paragraph (f) of this 

Rule, the Division shall provide public notice of the intent to 

designate any groundwater with RS as follows: 

(1) Provide notice at least 30 days prior to any 

proposed final action to all property owners 

with signed statements per Subparagraph (f)(8) 

of this Rule, to the local County Health 

Director, and the chief administrative officer of 

the jurisdiction(s) in which the contamination 

occurs. 

(2) The notice shall contain the following 

information: 

(A) Name, address, and phone number of 

the agency issuing the public notice; 

(B) A copy of the plan in Paragraph (f) of 

this Rule or where the plan can be 

obtained. 

(C) Conditions applicable to removal of 

the RS designation; and 

(D) Address and phone number of a 

Division contact from whom 

interested parties may obtain further 

information. 

(3) The Director shall consider all requests for a 

public hearing, and if he or she determine that 

there is significant public interest, he or she 

shall issue public notice and hold a public 

hearing in accordance with G.S 143-215.4(b) 

and Rule .0113(e)(2) of this Section. 

(4) The requirements of this Paragraph shall not 

apply to groundwaters defined in Paragraph (c) 

of this Rule. 

(i)  The Director shall approve the plan if the proposal complies 

with Paragraph (g) of this Rule. Upon making a determination, the 

Director shall provide specific findings to support their decision 

to approve or disapprove a proposed plan.  

(j)  The process for recordation, application, and removal of an 

approved RS shall be in accordance with G.S. 143B-279.10 or 

G.S. 143B-279.11. The land use restriction shall be that 

groundwater within the RS area may not be suitable for drinking 

without treatment. 

(k)  The RS shall also be removed if the groundwater within the 

RS is reclassified by the Commission per G.S. 143-214.1. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143B-282(a)(2); 143B-279.9; 143B-279.10; 143B-279.11; 

Eff. June 10, 1979; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; December 1, 1989; August 1, 

1989; December 30, 1983; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0106 INITIAL RESPONSE, SITE 

ASSESSMENT, AND CORRECTIVE ACTION 

(a)  Where groundwater quality has been degraded, the required 

corrective action shall be restoration to the level of the standards, 

or as closely thereto as is economically and technologically 

feasible in accordance with this Rule. The corrective action 

strategies addressed in this Rule can be through either active 

remediation in Paragraph (g), natural attenuation in Paragraph (h), 

or risk-based remediation in Paragraph (i). In all cases involving 

requests to the Secretary for approval of corrective action plans or 

termination of corrective action, the responsibility for providing 

all information required by this Rule lies with the person(s) 

making the request. 

(b)  Any person conducting or controlling an activity, permitted 

or unpermitted, that results in the discharge of a waste or 

hazardous substance or oil to the ground surface, vadose zone, or 

groundwaters of the State shall take action upon discovery to 

terminate and control the discharge, mitigate any hazards 

resulting from exposure to the contaminants, and follow the 

requirements in Paragraphs (c), (d), or (e) of this Rule. 

(c)  Any person conducting or controlling an activity that has not 

been permitted by the Department pursuant to G.S. 143-215.1, 

Article 9 of G.S. 130A, or Article 11 of G.S. 130A that results in 

an increase in the concentration of a substance in excess of the 

standard, other than agricultural operations defined under G.S. 

106-581.1, shall take the following steps: 

(1) Within 24 hours of discovery of the violation, 

notify the Department of the activity that has 

resulted in the increase and the contaminant 

concentration levels, if known. 

(2) Respond in accordance with Paragraph (f) of 

this Rule. 

(3) Implement a monitoring program in accordance 

with Rule .0110 of this Section. 

(4) Submit a site assessment report to the Director 

in accordance with Rule .0111 of this Section. 

(5) Submit a notification in accordance with the 

requirements of Rule .0114(a) of this Section. 

(6) If required, submit a corrective action plan to 

the Director in accordance with Rule .0111 of 

this Section or pursue risk-based remediation 

per Paragraph (i) of this Rule. If a corrective 

action plan is submitted for active remediation 

or natural attenuation, then: 

(A) Submit a notification in accordance 

with the requirements of Rule .0114(b) 

of this Section. 

(B) Implement the corrective action plan 

upon its approval by the Secretary. 

(C) Submit a notification in accordance 

with the requirements of Rule .0114(c) 

of this Section. 

(d)  For any person conducting or controlling an activity that is 

conducted under the authority of a permit issued by the 

Department pursuant to G.S. 143-215.1, Article 9 of G.S. 130A, 

or Article 11 of G.S. 130A that results in an increase in 

concentration of a substance in excess of the standards at or 

beyond the review boundary: 

(1) The Director may require, based on information 

including data trends, geologic and 

hydrogeologic conditions, and spacing between 

the review and compliance boundaries, that the 

person shall demonstrate, through predictive 

calculations or modeling, that one or more of 

the following will prevent a violation of 

standards at the compliance boundary: 

(A) geologic or hydrogeologic conditions; 

(B) facility design; or 

(C) operational controls. 

(2) If an exceedance of the standards is expected 

through professional judgment or predicted 

through modeling at or beyond the compliance 

boundary, the person may submit a plan for 

alteration of existing site conditions, facility 

design, or operational controls that will prevent 

a violation at the compliance boundary, and 

implement that plan upon its approval by the 

Director. In approving the plan, the Director 

shall consider geologic and hydrogeologic 

conditions, the nature and extent of the 

contamination, technical and economic 

feasibility, and public health impacts on all 

potential receptors should the contaminated 

plume reach them. 

(e)  For any person conducting or controlling an activity that is 

conducted under the authority of a permit issued by the 

Department pursuant to G.S. 143-215.1, Article 9 of G.S. 130A, 

or Article 11 of G.S. 130A that results in an increase in 

concentration of a substance in excess of the standards beyond the 

compliance boundary or within the compliance zone as specified 

by Rule .0107(p) of this Section, the person shall take the 

following steps: 

(1) Within 24 hours of discovery of the initial 

violation, notify the Department of the activity 

that has resulted in the increase, the 

contaminants that are in exceedance, and the 

contaminant concentration levels. 

(2) Respond in accordance with Paragraph (f) of 

this Rule. 

(3) Implement a monitoring program in accordance 

with Rule .0110 of this Section. 

(4) Submit a site assessment report to the Director 

in accordance with Rule .0111 of this Section. 

(5) Submit a notification in accordance with the 

requirements of Rule .0114(a) of this Section. 

(6) If required, submit a corrective action plan to 

the Director in accordance with Rule .0111 of 

this Section or pursue risk-based remediation 

per Paragraph (i) of this Rule. The corrective 

action plan may include alteration of existing 

site conditions, facility design, or operational 
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controls that will prevent a violation at the 

compliance boundary. If a corrective action 

plan is submitted for active remediation or 

natural attenuation, then: 

(A) Submit a notification in accordance 

with the requirements of Rule .0114(b) 

of this Section. 

(B) Implement the corrective action plan 

upon its approval by the Secretary. 

(C) Submit a notification in accordance 

with the requirements of Rule .0114(c) 

of this Section. 

(f)  Initial response actions required to be conducted prior to or 

concurrent with the site assessment required in Paragraphs (c) and 

(e) of this Rule shall include: 

(1) Prevention of fire, explosion, or the spread of 

noxious fumes. 

(2) Abatement, containment, or control of the 

migration of contaminants. 

(3) Removal, treatment, or control of any primary 

pollution source such as buried waste, waste 

stockpiles, or surficial accumulations of free 

products. 

(4) Removal, treatment, or control of secondary 

pollution sources that would be potential 

continuing sources of pollutants to the 

groundwaters, such as contaminated soils and 

non-aqueous phase liquids. Contaminated soils 

that threaten the quality of groundwaters shall 

be treated, contained, or disposed of in 

accordance with rules in this Subchapter and in 

15A NCAC 13 applicable to such activities. 

The treatment or disposal of contaminated soils 

shall be conducted in a manner that will not 

result in a violation of the standards or 15A 

NCAC 13 Rules. 

The initial response actions shall be documented in the 

site assessment report required under Rule .0111(b) of 

this Section. The Director may request written 

documentation of the response actions in advance of the 

site assessment report if the Director determines that 

there is an immediate threat to human health based on 

information including the nature and extent of the 

release, the potential exposure pathways, and proximity 

to human receptors. 

(g)  Corrective action using active remediation. A corrective 

action plan prepared pursuant to Paragraphs (c) or (e) of this Rule 

shall be implemented using a remedial technology demonstrated 

to the Director to provide the most effective means, taking into 

consideration geological and hydrogeological conditions at the 

contaminated site, for restoration of groundwater quality to the 

level of the standards. Corrective action plans for active 

remediation shall include the information in Rule .0111(c) of this 

Section. 

(h)  Corrective action using natural attenuation. Any person 

required to implement an approved corrective action plan for a 

site subject to Paragraphs (c) or (e) of this Rule may request that 

the Secretary approve such a plan based upon natural processes of 

degradation and attenuation of contaminants. Corrective action 

plans for natural attenuation shall make the demonstration and 

include the information in Rule .0111(d) of this Section. 

(i)  Corrective action using risk-based remediation. A person 

choosing to use risk-based remediation shall comply with the 

requirements in G.S. 130A Article 9 Part 8. 

(j)  Termination of active remediation prior to achieving the 

standards. Any person required to implement an approved 

corrective action plan for a site subject to Paragraph (g) of this 

Rule may request that the Secretary approve termination of the 

active remediation prior to achieving the standards. The owner 

and operator of an active remediation system shall demonstrate, 

by terminating the active remediation and then implementing an 

approved natural attenuation corrective action under Paragraph 

(h) of this Rule, that all potential receptors will be protected. A 

request submitted to the Secretary under this Paragraph shall 

include: 

(1) A discussion of the duration of the corrective 

action, the total project cost, projected annual 

cost for continuance, and evaluation of the 

success of the corrective action. 

(2) An evaluation of alternate treatment 

technologies that could potentially result in 

further reduction of contaminant levels, 

projected capital, and annual operating costs for 

each technology. 

(3) The effects, including public health impacts, on 

groundwater users if contaminant levels remain 

at levels existing at the time corrective action is 

terminated. 

(4) The proposed contaminant concentrations to 

actively remediate to prior to reaching the 

standards in the source area and all predictive 

calculations and model runs demonstrating that 

the standards will be met at all existing or 

potential receptors, based on travel time and the 

natural attenuation capacity of subsurface 

materials or on a barrier to groundwater 

migration that exists or will be installed by the 

person making the request. 

(5) A demonstration that continuation of active 

remediation would not result in a significant 

reduction in the concentration of contaminants. 

This demonstration shall show the duration and 

degree of success of existing remedial efforts to 

attain the standards. For the purpose of this 

Rule, a "significant reduction" is demonstrated 

by showing that the asymptotic slope of the 

contaminant concentrations over time is less 

than a ratio of 1:40 over a term of one year 

based on four consecutive quarters with 

sampling events spaced at least three months 

apart. 

(6) A natural attenuation corrective action plan for 

the remaining contamination in accordance 

with Paragraph (h) of this Rule. 

(k)  The Secretary shall not authorize termination of active 

remediation for any area that, at the time the request is made, has 

been identified by a State or local groundwater use planning 

process for resource development. 
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(l)  The Secretary may authorize the termination of active 

remediation, or amend the corrective action plan after considering 

all the information in the request. In making the authorization, the 

Secretary shall consider geologic and hydrogeologic conditions, 

the nature and extent of the contamination, technical and 

economic feasibility, and public health impacts on all potential 

receptors should the contaminated plume reach them. The 

Secretary will review the request for completeness and may 

request any additional information necessary to make their 

authorization.  

(m)  In the evaluation of active remediation or natural attenuation 

corrective action plans, the Secretary shall consider the extent of 

any violations, the extent of any threat to human health, the extent 

of damage or potential adverse impact to the environment, 

technology available to accomplish restoration, the potential for 

degradation of the contaminants in the environment, geologic and 

hydrogeologic conditions, the time estimated to achieve 

groundwater quality restoration, technical and economic 

feasibility, and the public and economic benefits to be derived 

from groundwater quality restoration. 

(n)  Where continued corrective action would result in no 

significant reduction in contaminant concentrations as determined 

in Subparagraph (j)(5) of this Rule, the person may request that 

the Secretary designate the area of degraded groundwater RS. The 

Commission may also consider a request for reclassification of 

the groundwater to a GC classification as outlined in Rule .0319 

of this Subchapter. 

(o)  If at any time the Secretary determines that a new technology 

is available that would remediate the contaminated groundwater 

to the standards specified in Rule .0202 of this Subchapter, the 

Secretary may require the person to evaluate the economic and 

technological feasibility of implementing the new technology in 

an active remediation corrective action plan. The Secretary's 

determination to utilize new technology at any site or for any 

particular contaminant or constituent of interest shall include a 

consideration of the factors in Rule .0111(c) of this Section. 

(p)  Where the standards are exceeded as a result of the application 

of pesticides or other agricultural chemicals, the Secretary shall 

request the Pesticide Board or the Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services to assist the Department in determining the 

cause of the violation. If the violation is determined to have 

resulted from the use of pesticides, the Secretary shall request the 

Pesticide Board to take appropriate regulatory action to control 

the use of the chemical or chemicals responsible for, or 

contributing to, such violations, or to discontinue their use. 

(q)  If a discharge or release is not governed by the rules in Section 

.0400 of this Subchapter and the increase in the concentration of 

a substance in excess of the standard resulted in whole or in part 

from a release from a commercial or noncommercial underground 

storage tank as defined in G.S. 143-215.94A, any person required 

to implement an approved corrective action plan pursuant to this 

Rule and seeking reimbursement for the Commercial or 

Noncommercial Leaking Petroleum Underground Storage Tank 

Cleanup Funds shall implement a corrective action plan meeting 

the requirements of Paragraph (g) or (h) of this Rule unless the 

person demonstrates to the Secretary that: 

(1) contamination resulting from the discharge 

cannot qualify for approval of a plan based on 

the requirements of the Paragraphs (g) or (h) of 

this Rule; or 

(2) the cost of making such a demonstration would 

exceed the cost of implementing a corrective 

action plan submitted pursuant to Rule .0111(c) 

of this Section. 

(r)  If a discharge or release is not governed by the rules in Section 

.0400 of this Subchapter and the increase in the concentration of 

a substance in excess of the standard resulted in whole or in part 

from a release from a commercial or noncommercial underground 

storage tank as defined in G.S. 143-215.94A, the Secretary may 

require any person implementing or operating a previously 

approved corrective action plan pursuant to this Rule to: 

(1) develop and implement a corrective action plan 

meeting the requirements of Paragraphs (g) and 

(h) of this Rule; or 

(2) seek discontinuance of corrective action 

pursuant to Paragraph (j) of this Rule. 

(s)  Pursuant to this Rule, the approval of any corrective action 

plan, modification, or termination thereof, that permits the 

migration of a contaminant onto adjacent property, shall not affect 

any private right of action by any party that may be affected by 

that contaminant. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1; 143-215.3; 143-

215.94T; 143-215.94V; 143B-282; 

Eff. August 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; September 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 2, 1998; January 2, 1996; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2016; October 29, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0107 COMPLIANCE BOUNDARY 

(a)  For disposal systems individually permitted prior to 

December 30, 1983, the compliance boundary shall be established 

at a horizontal distance of 500 feet from the waste boundary or at 

the property boundary, whichever is closer to the source. 

(b)  For disposal systems individually permitted on or after 

December 30, 1983, a compliance boundary shall be established 

at a horizontal distance of 250 feet from the waste boundary, or 

50 feet within the property boundary, whichever point is closer to 

the source. 

(c)  The compliance boundary shall be established at the time of 

permit issuance and shall remain in place for the duration of the 

permit.  

(d)  The compliance boundary and zone shall extend vertically 

from the surface through the water table to the maximum depth of 

saturation. 

(e)  The permitted activity shall not cause or contribute to an 

exceedance of the surface water standards established under 15A 

NCAC 02B .0200. 

(f)  Multiple contiguous properties under common ownership and 

permitted for use as a waste disposal area shall be treated as a 

single property with regard to determination of a compliance zone 

and setbacks to property lines as per Paragraphs (a) or (b) of this 

Rule. 

(g)  Where compliance zones for separately permitted waste 

disposal areas under the same ownership on the same property 
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intersect, the Director shall combine the compliance zones into 

one single compliance zone with a single compliance boundary. 

(h)  The permittee shall establish a monitoring program within the 

compliance zone per the requirements in Rule .0110 of this 

Section. 

(i)  Except as provided in Paragraph (m) of this Rule, no new 

water supply wells shall be constructed within the compliance 

zone of a disposal system individually permitted after January 1, 

1993. 

(j)  Except as provided in Paragraph (m) of this Rule, if the land 

within an established compliance zone of a disposal system 

permitted after January 1, 1993 is transferred and that land is 

serviced by a community water system as regulated under 15A 

NCAC 18C, the source of which is located outside the compliance 

boundary, the deed shall contain notice of the permit, including 

the permit number, a description of the type of permit, and the 

name, address and telephone number of the permitting agency. 

(k)  Except as provided in Paragraph (m) of this Rule, if at the 

time a permit is issued after January 1, 1993, the permittee is not 

the owner of the land within the compliance zone, it shall be a 

condition of the permit issued or renewed that the landowner of 

the land within the compliance zone, if other than the permittee, 

execute and file in the Register of Deeds in the county in which 

the land is located, an easement running with the land that 

contains either a notice of the permit, including the permit 

number, a description of the type of permit, and the name, address 

and telephone number of the permitting agency; or a reference to 

a notice of the permit with book and page number of its 

recordation if such notice is required to be filed by statute. The 

Director shall, upon request by the landowner, file a document 

terminating the easement with the appropriate Register of Deeds 

once the following conditions have been met: 

(1) all required groundwater remediation has been 

completed; 

(2) groundwater monitoring is no longer required 

per Rule .0110(f) of this Section; and 

(3) monitoring wells have been abandoned in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 02C .0113. 

(l)  Any sale or transfer of property which affects a compliance 

boundary shall be reported to the Director within seven days of 

the final sale or transfer. For disposal systems which are not 

governed by Paragraphs (j) or (k) of this Rule, the compliance 

boundary affected by the sale or transfer of property shall be 

reestablished consistent with this Rule. 

(m)  For ground adsorption sewage treatment and disposal 

systems serving four or fewer single family dwellings or multiunit 

dwellings of four or fewer units regulated under 15A NCAC 02T 

.0600, the requirements of Paragraphs (i). (j), and (k) of this Rule 

shall not be applicable. 

(n)  For ground absorption sewage treatment and disposal systems 

which are regulated under 15A NCAC 02T .0600, the compliance 

boundary shall be established at the property boundary. 

(o)  Penalties authorized pursuant to G.S. 143-215.6A(a)(1) shall 

not be assessed for violations of the standards within a compliance 

zone unless the violations are of permit conditions or negligence 

in the management of the facility. 

(p)  The Director shall require that exceedances of the standards 

resulting from activities conducted by the permitted facility 

within the compliance zone be remedied through clean-up, 

recovery, containment, facility design, or operational control if 

any of the following occur: 

(1) A violation of the standards occurs or is 

expected through professional judgment or 

predicted through modeling to occur in 

groundwater at or beyond the compliance 

boundary as a result of the permitted activities. 

(2) A violation of the surface water standards 

established under 15A NCAC 02B .0200 occurs 

or is expected through professional judgment or 

predicted through modeling to occur as a result 

of the permitted activities. 

(3) An imminent hazard as defined in G.S. 130A-2 

exists. 

(4) An exceedance of the standards occurs in 

bedrock within the compliance zone as a result 

of the permitted activities, unless it can be 

demonstrated that the violation will not 

adversely affect any receptor. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143B-282; 

Eff. August 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; November 2, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0108 REVIEW BOUNDARY 

A review boundary is established around any waste disposal area 

half way between the compliance boundary and the waste 

boundary. When the concentration of any substance equals or 

exceeds the standard at the review boundary as determined by 

monitoring, the permittee shall be required to take action in 

accordance with the provisions of Rule .0106(d) of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(b); 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143B-282; 

Eff. August 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0109 DELEGATION 

(a)  The Director is delegated the authority to enter into consent 

special orders under G.S. 143-215.2 for violations of the standards 

except when a public meeting is required as provided in 15A 

NCAC 02H .1203. 

(b)  The Director is delegated the authority to prepare a proposed 

special order to be issued by the Commission without the consent 

of the person affected and to notify the affected person of that 

proposed order and of the procedure set out in G.S. 150B-23 to 

contest the proposed special order. 

(c)  The Director shall give public notice of proposed consent 

special orders as specified in 15A NCAC 02H .1203. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(4); 

Eff. August 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; October 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 
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15A NCAC 02L .0110 MONITORING 

(a)  Except where exempted by statute or this Subchapter, the 

Director may require any person who causes, permits, or has 

control over any discharge of waste or cleanup program, to 

implement a monitoring program in such detail as required to 

evaluate the effects of the discharge upon the environment or 

waters of the State, including the effect of any actions taken to 

restore groundwater quality, as well as the efficiency of any 

treatment facility. The Director shall consider information 

including the geologic and hydrogeologic conditions, potential 

receptors, and risks to public health and the environment in 

determining the nature and extent of any required monitoring 

program. The monitoring program plan shall be prepared under 

the charge of a professional engineer or licensed geologist and 

bear the seal of the same if required under G.S. 89C or G.S. 89E. 

(b)  Monitoring systems within the monitoring program shall be 

constructed and operated in a manner that will not result in the 

contamination of waters of the State. 

(c)  The Director may require modification of a monitoring 

program or system or require additional monitoring of a 

contaminant or constituent of interest if new information indicates 

such modification or additional monitoring is necessary to protect 

public health or the environment. 

(d)  Monitoring systems within the monitoring program shall be 

able to: 

(1) Track the migration, degradation, and 

attenuation of contaminants and contaminant 

by-products from the source area through a 

point of compliance such as a compliance 

boundary (if applicable), within a contaminant 

plume, and in areas where the contaminant 

plume is expected through professional 

judgment or predicted through modeling to 

migrate. 

(2) Be used to determine the background 

groundwater quality that is not affected by site 

conditions, actions, or activities. 

(3) Detect contaminants and contaminant 

by-products prior to their reaching any potential 

receptor. 

(4) Detect if a groundwater contaminant plume is 

causing or contributing to exceedances of the 

surface water standards established under 15A 

NCAC 02B .0200. 

(e)  Monitoring shall be conducted and results reported in a 

manner and at a frequency specified by the Director based on 

information including the geologic and hydrogeologic conditions, 

potential receptors, and risks to public health and the 

environment. 

(f)  Monitoring programs shall remain in effect until it is 

demonstrated that the contaminant concentrations resulting from 

site activities or actions have been reduced to a level at or below 

the standards for a minimum of four consecutive quarters with 

monitoring events spaced at least three months apart. The Director 

may require an extension of monitoring if the Director determines 

that concentrations are fluctuating at or near the standards or the 

data trends suggest that concentrations are increasing. Once the 

Director is satisfied that the concentrations are at or below 

standards or that corrective action is no longer necessary to ensure 

compliance with the Rules of this Subchapter, the Director shall 

furnish a letter stating that no further action is required. The 

Director shall also require a plan be submitted for maintaining or 

abandoning the monitoring wells in accordance with 15A NCAC 

02C .0100. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(b); 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.65; 143-215.66; 143B-282; 

Eff. August 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0111 REPORTS 

(a)  Any person subject to the requirements in Rule .0106 of this 

Section shall submit to the Director, plans or reports including 

those associated with initial response, site assessment, and 

corrective action. Reports shall be submitted in accordance with a 

schedule established by the Director. In establishing a schedule, 

the Director shall consider a proposal by the person submitting the 

plan or report. 

(b)  A site assessment conducted pursuant to the requirements of 

Paragraphs (c) or (e) in Rule .0106 of this Section shall include: 

(1) a description of the site including current and 

historical operations at the facility and all 

current and historical waste streams; 

(2) the source and cause of contamination; 

(3) any imminent hazards to public health and any 

actions taken to mitigate them; 

(4) a description of the initial response actions 

taken in accordance with Rule .0106(f) of this 

Section; 

(5) all potential receptors and expected exposure 

pathways; 

(6) the horizontal and vertical extent of soil and 

groundwater contamination and all significant 

factors affecting contaminant transport; 

(7) background threshold values for affected 

media; 

(8) geological and hydrogeological features 

influencing the movement, chemical, and 

physical character of the contaminants; 

(9) the nature and extent of any surface water or 

sediment contamination resulting from 

interactions with contaminated soil or 

groundwater; 

(10) a description of the sampling procedures 

followed, and methods of chemical analyses 

used; 

(11) all technical data utilized in support of any 

interpretations, conclusions, determinations, or 

evaluations made; and 

(12) the results of predictive calculations or 

modeling, including a copy of the calculations 

or model runs and all supporting technical data. 

(c)  Corrective action plans submitted pursuant to Paragraphs (c) 

or (e) in Rule .0106 of this Section for active remediation shall 

include: 
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(1) a summary of the results of the site assessment 

submitted in accordance with Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule; 

(2) the technical basis for the requested corrective 

action; 

(3) an evaluation of risk to receptors within the 

contaminant plume and in areas where the 

plume is expected through professional 

judgment or predicted through modeling to 

migrate;  

(4) an evaluation of projected groundwater use 

within 1,500 feet of the predicted impacted area 

based on current State or local government 

planning efforts; 

(5) a summary of the available technology that 

could feasibly be used as a potential remedial 

strategy based on the specific site conditions 

and nature and extent of the contamination that 

includes the predicted time to return to 

compliance with the standards and the 

estimated costs to implement each potential 

strategy; 

(6) the proposed remedial technology that the 

person proposes to implement that includes: 

(A) the rationale for selecting the proposed 

technology; 

(B) plans and specifications, including 

engineering details; 

(C) a schedule for implementation and 

operation of the technology; 

(D) the predicted time to return to 

compliance with the standards; 

(E) the estimated costs to implement and 

operate the technology; 

(F) a monitoring plan to evaluate the 

effectiveness of the technology; and 

(G) the results of any modeling or 

predictive calculations that shows the 

projected movement of the 

contaminant plume until the predicted 

time to return to compliance with the 

standards; 

(7) all technical data utilized in support of any 

interpretations, conclusions, determinations, or 

evaluations made; 

(8) a copy of the calculations or model runs and all 

supporting technical data; and 

(9) a demonstration that: 

(A) all necessary access agreements 

needed to monitor groundwater 

quality have been or can be obtained; 

and 

(B) the proposed corrective action plan 

would be consistent with all other 

environmental laws. 

(d)  Corrective action plans submitted pursuant to Paragraphs (c) 

or (e) in Rule .0106 of this Section for natural attenuation shall 

include:  

(1) a summary of the results of the site assessment 

submitted in accordance with Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule; 

(2) the technical basis for the requested corrective 

action; 

(3) an evaluation of risk to receptors within the 

contaminant plume and in areas where the 

plume is expected through professional 

judgment or predicted through modeling to 

migrate;  

(4) an evaluation of projected groundwater use 

within 1,500 feet of the predicted impacted area 

based on current State or local government 

planning efforts; 

(5) the predicted time to return to compliance with 

the standards; 

(6) the results of any modeling or predictive 

calculations that show the projected movement 

of the contaminant plume until the predicted 

time to return to compliance with the standards; 

(7) all technical data utilized in support of any 

interpretations, conclusions, determinations, or 

evaluations made; 

(8) a copy of the calculations or model runs and all 

supporting technical data; 

(9) a monitoring plan to evaluate the effectiveness 

of the natural attenuation; and 

(10) a demonstration that: 

(A) all sources of contamination and free 

product have been removed or 

controlled pursuant to Rule .0106(f) of 

this Section; 

(B) the contaminant has the capacity to 

degrade or attenuate under the 

site-specific conditions; 

(C) the time and direction of contaminant 

travel can be predicted based on 

subsurface conditions and the 

contaminant's physical and chemical 

properties; 

(D) contaminant migration will not result 

in any violation of applicable 

standards at any existing or potential 

receptor; 

(E) contaminants have not and will not 

migrate onto adjacent properties, or 

that: 

(i) such properties are served by 

an existing public water 

supply system dependent on 

surface waters or 

hydraulically isolated 

groundwater; or 

(ii) the owners of such properties 

have consented in writing to 

the request; 

(F) if the contaminant plume is expected 

through professional judgment or 

predicted through modeling to 
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intercept surface waters, the 

groundwater discharge will not 

possess contaminant concentrations 

that would result in violations of the 

surface water standards established 

under 15A NCAC 02B .0200; 

(G) all necessary access agreements 

needed to monitor groundwater 

quality have been or can be obtained; 

(H) public notice of the request has been 

provided in accordance with Rule 

.0114(b) and (c) of this Section; and 

(I) the proposed corrective action plan 

would be consistent with all other 

environmental laws. 

(e)  All reports and plans shall be prepared under the charge of a 

professional engineer, licensed soil scientist, or licensed geologist 

if required under G.S. 89C, G.S. 89E, or G.S. 89F. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(b); 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.65; 143B-282; 

Eff. August 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0112 ANALYTICAL PROCEDURES 

Tests or analytical procedures to determine compliance or 

noncompliance with the standards established in Rule .0202 of 

this Subchapter shall be in accordance with 15A NCAC 02H 

.0805(a)(1). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143B-282; 

Eff. August 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0113 VARIANCE 

(a)  The Commission, on its own initiative or pursuant to a request 

under G.S. 143-215.3(e), may grant variances to the rules of this 

Subchapter. 

(b)  Requests for variances are submitted by the applicant to the 

Commission. The application shall be submitted in writing to the 

chairman of the Commission in care of the Director. 

(c)  The application shall contain the following information: 

(1) Applications filed by counties or municipalities 

shall include a resolution of the County Board 

of Commissioners or the governing board of the 

municipality requesting the variance. 

(2) A description of the past, existing, or proposed 

activities or operations that have or would result 

in a discharge of contaminants to the 

groundwaters. 

(3) Description of the proposed area for which a 

variance is requested. A location map showing 

the orientation of the facility, potential for 

groundwater contaminant migration, as well as 

the area covered by the variance request, with 

reference to at least two geographic references 

including numbered roads, named 

streams/rivers, etc. shall be included. 

(4) Supporting information to establish that the 

variance will not endanger the public health, 

including health and environmental effects 

from exposure to groundwater contaminants. 

Location of wells and other water supply 

sources including details of well construction, 

if known, within 1/2 mile of site shall be shown 

on a map. 

(5) Supporting information to establish that 

requirements of this Rule cannot be achieved by 

providing the best available technology 

economically reasonable. This information 

shall identify specific technology considered, 

the costs of implementing the technology, and 

the impact of the costs on the applicant. 

(6) Supporting information to establish that 

compliance would produce serious financial 

hardship on the applicant. 

(7) Supporting information that compliance would 

produce serious financial hardship without 

equal or greater public benefit. 

(8) A copy of any Special Order that was issued in 

connection with contaminants in the proposed 

area and supporting information that applicant 

has complied with the Special Order. 

(9) A list of the names and addresses of any 

property owners within the proposed area of the 

variance, as well as property owners adjacent to 

the site covered by the variance. 

(d)  Upon receipt of the application, the Director shall review it 

for completeness and request additional information if 

incomplete. When the application is complete, the Director shall 

give public notice of the application and schedule the matter for a 

public hearing in accordance with G.S. 143-215.4(b) and the 

procedures set out in Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(e)  Notice of Public Hearing: 

(1) Notice of public hearing on any variance 

application shall be circulated in the 

geographical areas of the proposed variance. At 

least 20 days prior to the date of the hearing, the 

Director shall: 

(A) publish the notice one time in a 

newspaper having general circulation 

in said county; 

(B) submit the notice to the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human 

Services, Environmental Health 

Section and appropriate local health 

director; 

(C) submit the notice to any other federal, 

state or local agency upon request; 

(D) submit the notice to the local 

governmental unit or units having 

jurisdiction over the geographic area 

covered by the variance; 

(E) submit the notice to any property 

owner within the proposed area of the 
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variance, as well as any property 

owners adjacent to the site covered by 

the variance; 

(F) submit the notice to any person or 

group upon request; and 

(G) post the notice on the Department 

website. 

(2) The contents of public notice of any hearing 

shall include the following: 

(A) name, address, and phone number of 

agency holding the public hearing; 

(B) name and address of each applicant 

whose application will be considered 

at the meeting; 

(C) a brief summary of the variance 

request; 

(D) a geographic description of a proposed 

area for which a variance is requested; 

(E) a brief description of activities or 

operations which have or will result in 

the discharge of contaminants to the 

waters of the State described in the 

variance application; 

(F) a brief reference to the public notice 

issued for each variance application; 

(G) information regarding the time and 

location for the hearing; 

(H) the purpose of the hearing; 

(I) the address and phone number of 

premises at which interested persons 

may obtain further information, 

request a copy of each application, and 

inspect and copy forms and related 

documents; and 

(J) a brief description of the nature of the 

hearing including the rules and 

procedures to be followed. The notice 

shall also state that additional 

information is on file with the Director 

and may be inspected at any time 

during normal working hours. Copies 

of the information on file will be made 

available upon request and payment of 

cost or reproduction. 

(f)  All comments received within 30 days following the date of 

publication in the newspaper in Part (e)(1)(A) of this Rule shall 

be made part of the application file and shall be considered by the 

Commission prior to taking final action on the application. 

(g)  In determining whether to grant a variance, the Commission 

shall consider whether the applicant has complied with any 

Special Order or Special Order by Consent issued under G.S. 

143-215.2. 

(h)  The applicant may file a petition for a contested case in 

accordance with Chapter 150B of the General Statutes. If the 

petition is not filed within 60 days, the decision on the variance 

shall be final and binding. 

(i)  A variance shall not operate as a defense to an action at law 

based upon a public or private nuisance theory or any other cause 

of action. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(a)(3); 143-215.3(a)(4); 143-215.3(e); 143-215.4; 

Eff. August 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0114 NOTIFICATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Any person subject to the requirements of Rule .0106(c) or (e) 

of this Section shall submit to the local health director and the 

chief administrative officer of the jurisdictions in which the 

groundwater contamination has occurred, a copy of the site 

assessment report as required by Rule .0111(b) of this Section. 

(b)  Any person who submits a request under Rule .0106(g) or (h) 

of this Section shall notify the local health director and the chief 

administrative officer of the jurisdictions in which the 

contaminant plume occurs, and all property owners and occupants 

within or contiguous to the area underlain by the contaminant 

plume, and under the areas where it is predicted through modeling 

or expected through professional judgment to migrate, a summary 

of the request and reasons supporting it. Notification shall be 

made by certified mail concurrent with the submittal of the request 

to the Director. Individuals interested in the request may submit 

written comments to the Director within 30 days of the receipt of 

the notification. The Director shall issue a final decision after 

considering the written comments. 

(c)  Any person whose request under Rule .0106(g) or (h) of this 

Section is granted by the Director shall notify parties specified in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule of the Director's decision and a 

summary of the actions to be taken. Notification shall be made by 

certified mail within 30 days of receipt of the Director's decision. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143B-282(a)(2)(c); 

Eff. October 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 03I .0101 DEFINITIONS 

All definitions set out in G.S. 113, Subchapter IV and the 

following additional terms shall apply to this Chapter: 

(1) enforcement and management terms: 

(a) "Commercial quota" means total 

quantity of fish allocated for harvest 

by commercial fishing operations. 

(b) "Educational institution" means a 

college, university, or community 

college accredited by an accrediting 

agency recognized by the U.S. 

Department of Education; an 

Environmental Education Center 

certified by the N.C. Department of 

Environmental Quality Office of 

Environmental Education and Public 

Affairs; or a zoo or aquarium certified 

by the Association of Zoos and 

Aquariums. 
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(c) "Internal Coastal Waters" or "Internal 

Waters" means all Coastal Fishing 

Waters except the Atlantic Ocean. 

(d) length of finfish: 

(i) "Curved fork length" means a 

length determined by 

measuring along a line 

tracing the contour of the 

body from the tip of the upper 

jaw to the middle of the fork 

in the caudal (tail) fin. 

(ii) "Fork length" means a length 

determined by measuring 

along a straight line the 

distance from the tip of the 

snout with the mouth closed 

to the middle of the fork in 

the caudal (tail) fin, except 

that fork length for billfish is 

measured from the tip of the 

lower jaw to the middle of the 

fork of the caudal (tail) fin. 

(iii) "Pectoral fin curved fork 

length" means a length of a 

beheaded fish from the dorsal 

insertion of the pectoral fin to 

the fork of the tail measured 

along the contour of the body 

in a line that runs along the 

top of the pectoral fin and the 

top of the caudal keel. 

(iv) "Total length" means a length 

determined by measuring 

along a straight line the 

distance from the tip of the 

snout with the mouth closed 

to the tip of the compressed 

caudal (tail) fin. 

(e) "Nongovernmental conservation 

organization" means an organization 

whose primary mission is the 

conservation of natural resources. 

(f) "Polluted" means any shellfish 

growing waters as defined in 15A 

NCAC 18A .0901: 

(i) that are contaminated with 

fecal material, pathogenic 

microorganisms, poisonous 

or deleterious substances, or 

marine biotoxins that render 

the consumption of shellfish 

from those growing waters 

hazardous; 

(ii) that have been determined 

through a sanitary survey as 

defined in 15A NCAC 18A 

.0901 to be adjacent to a 

sewage treatment plant 

outfall or other point source 

outfall with public health 

significance; 

(iii) that have been determined 

through a sanitary survey as 

defined in 15A NCAC 18A 

.0901 to be in or adjacent to a 

marina; 

(iv) that have been determined 

through a sanitary survey as 

defined in 15A NCAC 18A 

.0901 to be impacted by other 

potential sources of pollution 

that render the consumption 

of shellfish from those 

growing waters hazardous; or 

(v) where the Division of Marine 

Fisheries is unable to 

complete the monitoring 

necessary to determine the 

presence of contamination or 

potential pollution sources. 

(g) "Recreational possession limit" means 

restrictions on size, quantity, season, 

time period, area, means, and methods 

where take or possession is for a 

recreational purpose. 

(h) "Recreational quota" means total 

quantity of fish allocated for harvest 

for a recreational purpose. 

(i) "Regular closed oyster season" means 

March 31 through October 15, unless 

amended by the Fisheries Director 

through proclamation authority. 

(j) "Scientific institution" means one of 

the following entities: 

(i) an educational institution as 

defined in this Item; 

(ii) a state or federal agency 

charged with the 

management of marine or 

estuarine resources; or 

(iii) a professional organization 

or secondary school working 

under the direction of, or in 

compliance with mandates 

from, the entities listed in 

Sub-items (j)(i) and (ii) of 

this Item. 

(2) fishing activities: 

(a) "Aquaculture operation" means an 

operation that produces artificially 

propagated stocks of marine or 

estuarine resources, or other non-

native species that may thrive if 

introduced into Coastal Fishing 

Waters, or obtains such stocks from 

permitted sources for the purpose of 

rearing on private bottom (with or 

without the superadjacent water 
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column) or in a controlled 

environment. A controlled 

environment provides and maintains 

throughout the rearing process one or 

more of the following: 

(i) food; 

(ii) predator protection; 

(iii) salinity; 

(iv) temperature controls; or 

(v) water circulation, utilizing 

technology not found in the 

natural environment. 

(b) "Attended" means being in a vessel, in 

the water or on the shore, and 

immediately available to work the 

gear and be within 100 yards of any 

gear in use by that person at all times. 

Attended does not include being in a 

building or structure. 

(c) "Blue crab shedding" means the 

process whereby a blue crab emerges 

soft from its former hard exoskeleton. 

A shedding operation is any operation 

that holds peeler crabs in a controlled 

environment. A controlled 

environment provides and maintains 

throughout the shedding process one 

or more of the following: 

(i) food; 

(ii) predator protection; 

(iii) salinity; 

(iv) temperature controls; or 

(v) water circulation, utilizing 

technology not found in the 

natural environment. A 

shedding operation does not 

include transporting pink or 

red-line peeler crabs to a 

permitted shedding 

operation. 

(d) "Depuration" means mechanical 

purification or the removal of 

adulteration from live oysters, clams, 

or mussels by any artificially 

controlled means. 

(e) "Long haul operation" means fishing a 

seine towed between two vessels. 

(f) "Peeler crab" means a blue crab that 

has a soft shell developing under a 

hard shell and having a white, pink, or 

red-line or rim on the outer edge of the 

back fin or flipper. 

(g) "Possess" means any actual or 

constructive holding whether under 

claim of ownership or not. 

(h) "Recreational purpose" means a 

fishing activity that is not a 

commercial fishing operation as 

defined in G.S. 113-168. 

(i) "Shellfish marketing from leases and 

franchises" means the harvest of 

oysters, clams, scallops, or mussels 

from privately held shellfish bottoms 

and lawful sale of those shellfish to the 

public at large or to a licensed shellfish 

dealer. 

(j) "Shellfish planting effort on leases and 

franchises" means the process of 

obtaining authorized cultch materials, 

seed shellfish, and shellfish stocks 

from polluted waters and the 

placement of those materials on 

privately held shellfish bottoms for 

increased shellfish production. 

(k) "Shellfish production on leases and 

franchises" means: 

(i) the culture of oysters, clams, 

scallops, or mussels on 

shellfish leases and 

franchises from a sublegal 

harvest size to a marketable 

size. 

(ii) the transplanting (relay) of 

oysters, clams, scallops, or 

mussels from areas closed 

due to pollution to shellfish 

leases and franchises in open 

waters and the natural 

cleansing of those shellfish. 

(l) "Swipe net operations" means fishing 

a seine towed by one vessel. 

(m) "Transport" means to ship, carry, or 

cause to be carried or moved by public 

or private carrier by land, sea, or air. 

(n) "Use" means to employ, set, operate, 

or permit to be operated or employed. 

(3) gear: 

(a) "Bunt net" means the last encircling 

net of a long haul or swipe net 

operation constructed of small mesh 

webbing. The bunt net is used to form 

a pen or pound from which the catch is 

dipped or bailed. 

(b) "Channel net" means a net used to take 

shrimp that is anchored or attached to 

the bottom at both ends or with one 

end anchored or attached to the bottom 

and the other end attached to a vessel. 

(c) "Commercial fishing equipment or 

gear" means all fishing equipment 

used in Coastal Fishing Waters except: 

(i) cast nets; 

(ii) collapsible crab traps, a trap 

used for taking crabs with the 

largest open dimension no 

larger than 18 inches and that 

by design is collapsed at all 

times when in the water, 
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except when it is being 

retrieved from or lowered to 

the bottom; 

(iii) dip nets or scoops having a 

handle not more than eight 

feet in length and a hoop or 

frame to which the net is 

attached not exceeding 60 

inches along the perimeter; 

(iv) gigs or other pointed 

implements that are 

propelled by hand, whether 

or not the implement remains 

in the hand; 

(v) hand operated rakes no more 

than 12 inches wide and 

weighing no more than six 

pounds and hand operated 

tongs; 

(vi) hook and line, and bait and 

line equipment other than 

multiple-hook or multiple-

bait trotline; 

(vii) landing nets used to assist in 

taking fish when the initial 

and primary method of taking 

is by the use of hook and line; 

(viii) minnow traps when no more 

than two are in use; 

(ix) seines less than 30 feet in 

length; 

(x) spears, Hawaiian slings, or 

similar devices that propel 

pointed implements by 

mechanical means, including 

elastic tubing or bands, 

pressurized gas, or similar 

means. 

(d) "Corkline" means the support 

structure a net is attached to that is 

nearest to the water surface when in 

use. Corkline length is measured from 

the outer most mesh knot at one end of 

the corkline following along the line to 

the outer most mesh knot at the 

opposite end of the corkline. 

(e) "Dredge" means a device towed by 

engine power consisting of a frame, 

tooth bar or smooth bar, and catchbag 

used in the harvest of oysters, clams, 

crabs, scallops, or conchs. 

(f) "Fixed or stationary net" means a net 

anchored or staked to the bottom, or 

some structure attached to the bottom, 

at both ends of the net. 

(g) "Fyke net" means an entrapment net 

supported by a series of internal or 

external hoops or frames, with one or 

more lead or leaders that guide fish to 

the net mouth. The net has one or more 

internal funnel-shaped openings with 

tapered ends directed inward from the 

mouth, through which fish enter the 

enclosure. The portion of the net 

designed to hold or trap fish is 

completely enclosed in mesh or 

webbing, except for the openings for 

fish passage into or out of the net 

(funnel area). 

(h) "Gill net" means a net set vertically in 

the water to capture fish by 

entanglement of the gills in its mesh as 

a result of net design, construction, 

mesh length, webbing diameter, or 

method in which it is used. 

(i) "Headrope" means the support 

structure for the mesh or webbing of a 

trawl that is nearest to the water 

surface when in use. Headrope length 

is measured from the outer most mesh 

knot at one end of the headrope 

following along the line to the outer 

most mesh knot at the opposite end of 

the headrope. 

(j) "Hoop net" means an entrapment net 

supported by a series of internal or 

external hoops or frames. The net has 

one or more internal funnel-shaped 

openings with tapered ends directed 

inward from the mouth, through which 

fish enter the enclosure. The portion of 

the net designed to hold or trap the fish 

is completely enclosed in mesh or 

webbing, except for the openings for 

fish passage into or out of the net 

(funnel area). 

(k) "Lead" means a mesh or webbing 

structure consisting of nylon, 

monofilament, plastic, wire, or similar 

material set vertically in the water and 

held in place by stakes or anchors to 

guide fish into an enclosure. Lead 

length is measured from the outer most 

end of the lead along the top or bottom 

line, whichever is longer, to the 

opposite end of the lead. 

(l) "Mechanical methods for clamming" 

means dredges, hydraulic clam 

dredges, stick rakes, and other rakes 

when towed by engine power, patent 

tongs, kicking with propellers or 

deflector plates with or without trawls, 

and any other method that utilizes 

mechanical means to harvest clams. 

(m) "Mechanical methods for oystering" 

means dredges, patent tongs, stick 

rakes, and other rakes when towed by 

engine power, and any other method 
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that utilizes mechanical means to 

harvest oysters. 

(n) "Mesh length" means the distance 

from the inside of one knot to the 

outside of the opposite knot, when the 

net is stretched hand-tight in a manner 

that closes the mesh opening. 

(o) "Pound net set" means a fish trap 

consisting of a holding pen, one or 

more enclosures, lead or leaders, and 

stakes or anchors used to support the 

trap. The holding pen, enclosures, and 

lead(s) are not conical, nor are they 

supported by hoops or frames. 

(p) "Purse gill net" means any gill net used 

to encircle fish when the net is closed 

by the use of a purse line through rings 

located along the top or bottom line or 

elsewhere on such net. 

(q) "Seine" means a net set vertically in 

the water and pulled by hand or power 

to capture fish by encirclement and 

confining fish within itself or against 

another net, the shore or bank as a 

result of net design, construction, 

mesh length, webbing diameter, or 

method in which it is used. 

(4) "Fish habitat areas" means the estuarine and 

marine areas that support juvenile and adult 

populations of fish species, as well as forage 

species utilized in the food chain. Fish habitats 

as used in this definition, are vital for portions 

of the entire life cycle, including the early 

growth and development of fish species. Fish 

habitats in all Coastal Fishing Waters, as 

determined through marine and estuarine 

survey sampling, include: 

(a) "Anadromous fish nursery areas" 

means those areas in the riverine and 

estuarine systems utilized by post-

larval and later juvenile anadromous 

fish. 

(b) "Anadromous fish spawning areas" 

means those areas where evidence of 

spawning of anadromous fish has been 

documented in Division sampling 

records through direct observation of 

spawning, capture of running ripe 

females, or capture of eggs or early 

larvae. 

(c) "Coral" means: 

(i) fire corals and hydrocorals 

(Class Hydrozoa); 

(ii) stony corals and black corals 

(Class Anthozoa, Subclass 

Scleractinia); or 

(iii) Octocorals; Gorgonian corals 

(Class Anthozoa, Subclass 

Octocorallia), which include 

sea fans (Gorgonia sp.), sea 

whips (Leptogorgia sp. and 

Lophogorgia sp.), and sea 

pansies (Renilla sp.). 

(d) "Intertidal oyster bed" means a 

formation, regardless of size or shape, 

formed of shell and live oysters of 

varying density. 

(e) "Live rock" means living marine 

organisms or an assemblage thereof 

attached to a hard substrate, excluding 

mollusk shells, but including dead 

coral or rock. Living marine 

organisms associated with hard 

bottoms, banks, reefs, and live rock 

include: 

(i) Coralline algae (Division 

Rhodophyta); 

(ii) Acetabularia sp., mermaid's 

fan and cups (Udotea sp.), 

watercress (Halimeda sp.), 

green feather, green grape 

algae (Caulerpa sp.)(Division 

Chlorophyta); 

(iii) Sargassum sp., Dictyopteris 

sp., Zonaria sp. (Division 

Phaeophyta); 

(iv) sponges (Phylum Porifera); 

(v) hard and soft corals, sea 

anemones (Phylum 

Cnidaria), including fire 

corals (Class Hydrozoa), and 

Gorgonians, whip corals, sea 

pansies, anemones, 

Solengastrea (Class 

Anthozoa); 

(vi) Bryozoans (Phylum 

Bryozoa); 

(vii) tube worms (Phylum 

Annelida), fan worms 

(Sabellidae), feather duster 

and Christmas treeworms 

(Serpulidae), and sand castle 

worms (Sabellaridae); 

(viii) mussel banks (Phylum 

Mollusca: Gastropoda); and 

(ix) acorn barnacles (Arthropoda: 

Crustacea: Semibalanus sp.). 

(f) "Nursery areas" means areas that for 

reasons such as food, cover, bottom 

type, salinity, temperature, and other 

factors, young finfish and crustaceans 

spend the major portion of their initial 

growing season. Primary nursery areas 

are those areas in the estuarine system 

where initial post-larval development 

takes place. These are areas where 

populations are uniformly early 

juveniles. Secondary nursery areas are 
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those areas in the estuarine system 

where later juvenile development 

takes place. Populations are composed 

of developing sub-adults of similar 

size that have migrated from an 

upstream primary nursery area to the 

secondary nursery area located in the 

middle portion of the estuarine system. 

(g) "Shellfish producing habitats" means 

historic or existing areas that shellfish, 

such as clams, oysters, scallops, 

mussels, and whelks use to reproduce 

and survive because of such favorable 

conditions as bottom type, salinity, 

currents, cover, and cultch. Included 

are those shellfish producing areas 

closed to shellfish harvest due to 

pollution. 

(h) "Strategic Habitat Areas" means 

locations of individual fish habitats or 

systems of habitats that provide 

exceptional habitat functions or that 

are particularly at risk due to imminent 

threats, vulnerability, or rarity. 

(i) "Submerged aquatic vegetation (SAV) 

habitat" means submerged lands that: 

(i) are vegetated with one or 

more species of submerged 

aquatic vegetation including 

bushy pondweed or southern 

naiad (Najas guadalupensis), 

coontail (Ceratophyllum 

demersum), eelgrass (Zostera 

marina), horned pondweed 

(Zannichellia palustris), 

naiads (Najas spp.), redhead 

grass (Potamogeton 

perfoliatus), sago pondweed 

(Stuckenia pectinata, 

formerly Potamogeton 

pectinatus), shoalgrass 

(Halodule wrightii), slender 

pondweed (Potamogeton 

pusillus), water stargrass 

(Heteranthera dubia), water 

starwort (Callitriche 

heterophylla), waterweeds 

(Elodea spp.), widgeongrass 

(Ruppia maritima), and wild 

celery (Vallisneria 

americana). These areas may 

be identified by the presence 

of above-ground leaves, 

below-ground rhizomes, or 

reproductive structures 

associated with one or more 

SAV species and include the 

sediment within these areas; 

or 

(ii) have been vegetated by one 

or more of the species 

identified in Sub-item 

(4)(i)(i) of this Rule within 

the past 10 annual growing 

seasons and that meet the 

average physical 

requirements of water depth 

(six feet or less), average 

light availability (secchi 

depth of one foot or more), 

and limited wave exposure 

that characterize the 

environment suitable for 

growth of SAV. The past 

presence of SAV may be 

demonstrated by aerial 

photography, SAV survey, 

map, or other documentation. 

An extension of the past 10 

annual growing seasons 

criteria may be considered 

when average environmental 

conditions are altered by 

drought, rainfall, or storm 

force winds. 

This habitat occurs in both subtidal 

and intertidal zones and may occur in 

isolated patches or cover extensive 

areas. In defining SAV habitat, the 

Marine Fisheries Commission 

recognizes the Aquatic Weed Control 

Act of 1991 (G.S. 113A-220 et. seq.) 

and does not intend the submerged 

aquatic vegetation definition, or this 

Rule or 15A NCAC 03K .0304 and 

.0404, to apply to or conflict with the 

non-development control activities 

authorized by that Act. 

(5) licenses, permits, leases and franchises, and 

record keeping: 

(a) "Assignment" means temporary 

transferal to another person of 

privileges under a license for which 

assignment is permitted. The person 

assigning the license delegates the 

privileges permitted under the license 

to be exercised by the assignee, but 

retains the power to revoke the 

assignment at any time, and is still the 

responsible party for the license. 

(b) "Designee" means any person who is 

under the direct control of the 

permittee or who is employed by or 

under contract to the permittee for the 

purposes authorized by the permit. 

(c) "For hire vessel", as defined by G.S. 

113-174, means when the vessel is 

fishing in State waters or when the 
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vessel originates from or returns to a 

North Carolina port. 

(d) "Franchise" means a franchise 

recognized pursuant to G.S. 113-206. 

(e) "Holder" means a person who has 

been lawfully issued in the person's 

name a license, permit, franchise, 

lease, or assignment. 

(f) "Land" means: 

(i) for commercial fishing 

operations, when fish reach 

the shore or a structure 

connected to the shore. 

(ii) for purposes of trip tickets, 

when fish reach a licensed 

seafood dealer, or where the 

fisherman is the dealer, when 

fish reach the shore or a 

structure connected to the 

shore. 

(iii) for recreational fishing 

operations, when fish are 

retained in possession by the 

fisherman. 

(g) "Licensee" means any person holding 

a valid license from the Department to 

take or deal in marine fisheries 

resources. 

(h) "Logbook" means paper forms 

provided by the Division and 

electronic data files generated from 

software provided by the Division for 

the reporting of fisheries statistics by 

persons engaged in commercial or 

recreational fishing or for-hire 

operators. 

(i) "Master" means captain or operator of 

a vessel or one who commands and 

has control, authority, or power over a 

vessel. 

(j) "New fish dealer" means any fish 

dealer making application for a fish 

dealer license who did not possess a 

valid dealer license for the previous 

license year in that name. For purposes 

of license issuance, adding new 

categories to an existing fish dealers 

license does not constitute a new 

dealer. 

(k) "Office of the Division" means 

physical locations of the Division 

conducting license and permit 

transactions in Wilmington, 

Washington, Morehead City, Roanoke 

Island, and Elizabeth City, North 

Carolina. Other businesses or entities 

designated by the Secretary to issue 

Recreational Commercial Gear 

Licenses or Coastal Recreational 

Fishing Licenses are not considered 

Offices of the Division. 

(l) "Responsible party" means the person 

who coordinates, supervises, or 

otherwise directs operations of a 

business entity, such as a corporate 

officer or executive level supervisor of 

business operations, and the person 

responsible for use of the issued 

license in compliance with applicable 

statutes and rules. 

(m) "Tournament organizer" means the 

person who coordinates, supervises, or 

otherwise directs a recreational fishing 

tournament and is the holder of the 

Recreational Fishing Tournament 

License. 

(n) "Transaction" means an act of doing 

business such that fish are sold, 

offered for sale, exchanged, bartered, 

distributed, or landed. 

(o) "Transfer" means permanent 

transferal to another person of 

privileges under a license for which 

transfer is permitted. The person 

transferring the license retains no 

rights or interest under the license 

transferred. 

(p) "Trip ticket" means paper forms 

provided by the Division and 

electronic data files generated from 

software provided by the Division for 

the reporting of fisheries statistics by 

licensed fish dealers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-174; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1995; March 1, 1994; October 1, 1993; 

July 1, 1993; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 03I .0001 Eff. December 17, 1996; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; August 1, 1998; April 1, 1997; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 1, 2000; August 1, 1999; July 1, 

1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2015; April 1, 2014; April 1, 2011; April 1, 

2009; October 1, 2008; December 1, 2007; December 1, 2006; 

September 1, 2005; April 1, 2003; April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 03I .0104 INTRODUCE, TRANSFER, OR 

HOLD IMPORTED MARINE AND ESTUARINE 

ORGANISMS 

(a)  To protect the marine and estuarine resources of North 

Carolina from unacceptable risks from predators, pests, parasites, 

and disease, it shall be unlawful, except for American eels 

imported from Maryland, Virginia, or South Carolina for use in 

an aquaculture operation, without first obtaining a Permit to 
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Introduce, Transfer, or Hold Imported Marine and Estuarine 

Organisms from the Fisheries Director or without obtaining live 

marine or estuarine organisms from a permittee to: 

(1) place into the Coastal Fishing Waters of the 

State live marine or estuarine organisms non-

native to the State. For the purpose of this Rule, 

this action is an introduction. 

(2) place into the coastal fishing waters of the State 

live marine or estuarine organisms that are 

native but that originated outside the State's 

boundaries. For the purpose of this Rule, this 

action is a transfer. 

(3) hold or maintain any live marine or estuarine 

organisms, including non-native species that 

may thrive if introduced into Coastal Fishing 

Waters, imported into the State in a quarantine 

or isolation system for live bait or use in an 

aquaculture operation as defined in Rule .0101 

of this Section. 

(4) sell for bait any live marine or estuarine 

organisms, including non-native species that 

may thrive if introduced into Coastal Fishing 

Waters, imported into the State. 

(b)  Any person desiring to obtain a Permit to Introduce, Transfer, 

or Hold Imported Marine and Estuarine Organisms shall submit a 

complete application to the Division of Marine Fisheries, 3441 

Arendell Street, P.O. Box 769, Morehead City, NC 28557. The 

procedures and requirements for obtaining permits are found in 

15A NCAC 03O .0500. For the Fisheries Director to determine 

the level of risk to any native marine or estuarine resource or the 

environment, the applicant shall also provide a certification from 

a: 

(1) pathologist that a sample of 60 organisms from 

proposed shipments are disease free or a 

certification from a governmental veterinary 

service that the organisms to be shipped were 

produced in an area or facility free of diseases 

posing a risk to North Carolina's marine or 

estuarine resources, or their environment, as 

determined by the Fisheries Director; and 

(2) biologist or veterinarian that macroscopic and 

microscopic examination indicates the 

shipment contains only those species, sizes, and 

quantities identified on the permit application. 

(c)  The Fisheries Director shall require disinfection, quarantine, 

or destruction of organisms and transfer materials as a condition 

of the permit, upon finding the importation poses a risk to North 

Carolina's marine or estuarine resources, or their environment. 

(d)  The Fisheries Director may hold public meetings prior to 

granting permits for activities specified in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule to gather information concerning risks to native marine or 

estuarine resources or the environment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-170; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; S.L. 2017-190; S.L. 2018-114; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1991; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 3I .0004 Eff. December 17, 1996; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2009; 

Amended Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2017-

190 and S.L. 2019-198). 

 

15A NCAC 03I .0105 LEAVING DEVICES 

UNATTENDED 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to leave stakes, anchors, nets, buoys, or 

floating devices in Coastal Fishing Waters if such devices are not 

being employed in commercial fishing operations, except as 

otherwise provided by rule or General Statute. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to use or possess fishing equipment in 

Coastal Fishing Waters in violation of this Section or that contains 

edible species of fish unfit for human consumption. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful to leave pots in Coastal Fishing Waters 

for more than five consecutive days if such pots are not being 

employed in commercial fishing operations, except upon a timely 

and sufficient showing of hardship as set forth in Paragraph (d) of 

this Rule or as otherwise provided by General Statute. The 

Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, modify the five-day 

requirement if necessary due to hurricanes, tropical storms, other 

severe weather events recognized by the National Weather 

Service, or other variable conditions pursuant to 15A NCAC 03H 

.0103. Inspectors may tag pots with a device approved by the 

Fisheries Director to aid and assist in the investigation and 

identification of unattended pots. Any such device attached to a 

pot by agents of the Fisheries Director shall be removed by the 

individual using the pot within five days of attachment in order to 

demonstrate that the pot is being employed in commercial fishing 

operations. 

(d)  For the purpose of this Rule, a timely and sufficient showing 

of hardship in a commercial fishing operation shall be a statement 

in writing from the owner of the pot or the owner's immediate 

family, as defined in G.S. 113-168, submitted to the Fisheries 

Director that a mechanical breakdown of the pot owner's vessel 

currently registered with the Division of Marine Fisheries 

pursuant to G.S. 113-168.6, or the death, illness, or incapacity of 

the owner of the pot or the owner's immediate family prevented 

or will prevent employing such pots in commercial fishing 

operations for more than five consecutive days. Statements and 

supporting documentation shall be mailed to the Division of 

Marine Fisheries, 3441 Arendell Street, P.O. Box 769, Morehead 

City, NC 28557. Mailing a statement does not automatically 

exempt a fisherman from the requirements of this Rule. The 

statement shall specify the number and specific location of the 

pots, the date by which the pots will be employed in commercial 

fishing operations or removed from Coastal Fishing Waters, and: 

(1) in the case of a mechanical breakdown, the 

Commercial Fishing Vessel Registration 

number, owner's N.C. motor boat registration 

number of the disabled vessel, date disabled, 

and description of the arrangements being made 

to repair the vessel or a copy of the work order 

showing the name, address, and phone number 

of the repair facility; or 

(2) in the case of the death, illness, or incapacity of 

the owner of the pot or the owner's immediate 

family, the name of the owner or immediate 

family member and either the date of death or 

the date of the illness or incapacity. The 

Fisheries Director may require a doctor's 
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verification that the illness or incapacity 

occurred. 

(e)  It shall be unlawful to fail to employ in commercial fishing 

operations or remove from Coastal Fishing Waters all pots for 

which a hardship request is granted under this Rule within 14 days 

of the expiration of the hardship. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-136; 113-137; 

113-182; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1996; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 03I .0005 Eff. December 17, 1996; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2005; August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03I .0113 BIOLOGICAL SAMPLING 

It shall be unlawful for any licensee under Chapter 113, 

Subchapter IV, of the General Statutes to refuse to allow the 

Fisheries Director or the Fisheries Director's agents to obtain 

biological data, harvest information, or other statistical data 

necessary or useful to the conservation and management of 

marine and estuarine resources from fish in the licensee's 

possession. Such data shall include, but is not limited to, species 

identification, length, weight, age, sex, number, area of catch, 

harvest method, and quantity of catch. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-170.3; 113-174.1; 

113-182; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 3I .0013 Eff. December 17, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03I .0114 RECORDKEEPING 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful for a licensed fish dealer: 

(1) to record false information on the North 

Carolina trip ticket or to fail to legibly record 

all items on the North Carolina trip ticket for 

each transaction and submit the trip ticket in 

accordance with G.S. 113-168.2, including the 

following: 

(A) fisherman's name; 

(B) fisherman's North Carolina license 

number; 

(C) dealer's North Carolina license 

number; 

(D) start date of trip, including year, 

month, and day; 

(E) unload date of trip, including year, 

month, and day; 

(F) North Carolina Division of Marine 

Fisheries Vessel Identification 

Number or indicate if no vessel was 

used; 

(G) crew size; 

(H) gear fished; 

(I) waterbody fished; 

(J) species landed; 

(K) quantity of each species landed in 

pounds, numbers of fish, bushels, or 

other units of measurement; 

(L) disposition of species; 

(M) transaction number; 

(N) number of crab pots or peeler pots 

fished, if applicable; 

(O) state where species was taken if other 

than North Carolina; 

(P) lease number, if applicable; 

(Q) bottom type, if applicable; and 

(R) shellfish harvest area, if applicable. 

(2) to fail to provide to the Division a Trip Ticket 

Submittal/Transaction form indicating the 

number of transactions that occurred during the 

previous month; 

(3) to fail to make paper copies or electronic copies 

of trip tickets or N.C. Trip Ticket Program 

Dock Tickets available at the dealer location for 

inspection by Marine Fisheries inspectors; 

(4) to fail to submit trip tickets to the Division via 

electronic file transfer if that dealer reported an 

annual average of greater than 50,000 pounds 

of finfish for the previous three calendar years. 

Dealers subject to the electronic reporting 

requirement shall be notified by the Division 

via certified mail and within 120 days of receipt 

shall: 

(A) initiate electronic file transfer of trip 

tickets; and 

(B) continue to report by electronic file 

transfer until the dealer no longer 

holds a fish dealer license with finfish 

or consolidated categories; 

(5) to fail to use software or web-based utilities 

authorized by the Division when reporting 

electronically; and 

(6) to fail to keep all trip tickets and all supporting 

documentation for each transaction including 

receipts, checks, bills of lading, records, 

electronic files, and accounts for a period of not 

less than three years. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful for a seller licensed under G.S. 113, 

Article 14A or donor to fail to provide to the fish dealer, at the 

time of transaction, the following: 

(1) a current and valid license or permit to sell the 

type of fish being offered and if a vessel is used, 

the Commercial Fishing Vessel Registration; 

and 

(2) complete and accurate information on harvest 

method and area of catch and other information 

required by the Division, in accordance with 

G.S. 113-168.2 and G.S. 113-169.3. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful to transport fish without having ready at 

hand for inspection a bill of consignment, bill of lading, or other 
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shipping documentation provided by the shipping dealer showing 

the following items: 

(1) name of the consignee; 

(2) name of the shipper; 

(3) date of the shipment; 

(4) name of fish being shipped; and 

(5) quantity of each fish being shipped. 

In the event the fisherman taking the fish is also a licensed fish 

dealer and ships from the point of landing, all shipping records 

shall be recorded at the point of landing. Fishermen who transport 

their fish directly to licensed fish dealers are exempt from this 

Paragraph. 

(d)  It shall be unlawful to export fish landed in the State in a 

commercial fishing operation without a North Carolina licensed 

fish dealer completing all the recordkeeping requirements in G.S. 

113-168.2(i). 

(e)  It shall be unlawful to offer for sale fish purchased from a 

licensed fish dealer without having ready at hand for inspection 

by Marine Fisheries inspectors or other agents of the Fisheries 

Director written documentation of purchase showing the 

following items: 

(1) name of the licensed fish dealer; 

(2) name of the purchaser; 

(3) date of the purchase; 

(4) name of fish purchased; and 

(5) quantity of each fish purchased. 

(f)  It shall be unlawful for a holder of a Fish Dealer License to 

have fish in possession at a licensed location without written 

documentation from a licensed fish dealer or a completed North 

Carolina trip ticket to show the quantity and origin of all fish. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-168.2; 113-168.3; 

113-169.3; 113-170; 113-170.3; 113-170.4; 113-182; 143B-

289.52; 

Eff. March 1, 1994; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 3I .0014 Eff. December 17, 1996; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2013; August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03I .0118 DISPOSAL OF EVIDENCE 

It shall be unlawful for any person to dispose of fish, parts of fish, 

fishing equipment or gear, or other matter preparatory to, during, 

or subsequent to the taking of fish after any communication or 

signal from an inspector, or after the approach of an inspector or 

an enforcement vessel. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-

289.52; 

Eff. March 1, 1996; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 3I .0018 Eff. December 17, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0101 FIXED OR STATIONARY NETS 

It shall be unlawful to use or set fixed or stationary nets for any of 

the following: 

(1) in the channel of the Intracoastal Waterway; 

(2) to block more than two-thirds of a natural or 

manmade waterway, sound, river, bay, creek, 

inlet, or other body of water under the authority 

of the Marine Fisheries Commission; 

(3) in the middle third of a navigation channel 

marked by State or federal agencies; or 

(4) in a location where it may interfere with 

navigation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-181; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0105 PURSE SEINES 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to use purse seines except for the taking 

of menhaden, Atlantic thread herring, gizzard shad, or pinfish. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to use a purse seine in accordance with 

the following: 

(1) in the Atlantic Ocean as described in 15A 

NCAC 03R .0111. 

(2) except as provided in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, 

between January 16 and May 14 in: 

(A) internal waters; and 

(B) the Atlantic Ocean within one mile of 

shore. 

(3) between January 16 and March 31 in Core 

Sound. 

(4) from beyond one mile of shore in the Atlantic 

Ocean and transported to port between sunset 

on any Friday and sunrise of the following 

Monday from the Friday of the Memorial Day 

weekend through sunset on Labor Day. 

(5) from beyond one mile of shore in the Atlantic 

Ocean and transported to port between the 

hours of sunrise and sunset on the following 

holidays: 

(A) Memorial Day; 

(B) Fourth of July, when the Fourth of July 

falls on any calendar day Friday 

through Monday; and 

(C) Labor Day. 

(c)  The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, open the 

Atlantic Ocean within one mile of shore and the internal waters 

specified in Paragraph (d) of this Rule between April 1 and May 

14, and may impose any of the following restrictions: 

(1) specify time; 

(2) specify area; 

(3) specify means and methods; 

(4) specify record keeping requirements; 

(5) specify season; and 

(6) specify quantity. 

(d)  The internal waters specified in Paragraph (c) of this Rule are 

as follows: 

(1) Pamlico Sound; 

(2) Pamlico River east of a line from Wades Point 

to Intracoastal Waterway Marker No. 1 at the 

mouth of Goose Creek; 
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(3) Neuse River east of a line from Wilkinson Point 

to Cherry Point; 

(4) Adams Creek; 

(5) Core Sound and its tributaries; 

(6) Back Sound, the Straits, and North River; 

(7) Newport River; 

(8) North River; and 

(9) Bogue Sound. 

(e)  Menhaden, Atlantic thread herring, gizzard shad, or pinfish 

may be taken at any time with a purse seine from beyond one mile 

of shore in the Atlantic Ocean and transported to port except as 

specified by Session Law 2012-190 and Subparagraphs (b)(4) and 

(b)(5) of this Rule. 

(f)  It shall be unlawful for the responsible party to fail to carry 

out the following requirements when a fish spill from a purse 

seine occurs: 

(1) within two hours of the spill, notify the Division 

of Marine Fisheries Communications Center of 

the spill by phone at 800-682-2632 or 252-726-

7021; and 

(2) report to the Fisheries Director of the North 

Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries in 

writing within 30 days of the completion of spill 

clean-up on the circumstances associated with 

each spill and costs of its clean-up. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-187; 

113-221.1; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0109 LONG HAUL AND SWIPE NET 

REQUIREMENTS 

It shall be unlawful to use a net in a long haul or swipe net fishing 

operation: 

(1) without a floating buoy that shall be 

international orange, no less than five inches in 

diameter, and no less than 11 inches in length 

attached a minimum of every 100 yards along 

the cork line; 

(2) without a flag that shall be square in shape, 

international orange in color, and at least 24 

inches by 24 inches in size flying in the rigging 

so as to be visible when approaching the vessel 

from any direction; and 

(3) in the Internal Coastal Waters south and west of 

a line beginning on the west shore of Pamlico 

Sound at Bluff Point at a point 35° 19.5333' N 

– 76° 09.3333' W; running southeasterly to 

Ocracoke Island to a point 35° 08.0000' N – 75° 

55.0000' W; without escape panels as follows: 

(a) for long haul operations, two panels 

four feet deep and six feet long 

installed with the entire panel within 

10 feet of the staff on the end of the 

bunt net from which the fish are being 

bailed, with panels in the water while 

fish are harvested; 

(b) for swipe net operations, two panels 

three feet deep and five feet long 

installed with the entire panel within 

10 feet of the staff on the end of the 

bunt net from which the fish are being 

bailed, with panels in the water while 

fish are harvested; 

(c) the upper edge of one panel installed 

within 12 to 24 inches of the float line 

and the lower edge of the other panel 

installed within 12 to 24 inches of the 

lead line; and 

(d) panels constructed of unobstructed 

trawl rings with a minimum inside 

diameter of one and nine-sixteenth 

inches, with the rings fastened 

together at a maximum of four points 

per ring. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-

289.52; 

Eff. January 1991; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; April 1, 1999; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0110 SEINES 

It shall be unlawful to use seines 30 feet or longer for recreational 

purposes unless the net is marked by attaching to the corkline a 

floating buoy, any shade of hot pink in color. Buoys shall be of 

solid foam or other solid buoyant material no less than five inches 

in diameter and no less than five inches in length. The gear 

owner's last name and initials shall be engraved on the attached 

buoy or identified by attaching engraved metal or plastic tags to 

the buoy. If a vessel is used, the identification shall also include 

one of the following: 

(1) gear owner's current motor boat registration 

number; or 

(2) owner's U.S. vessel documentation name. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-173; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0301 POTS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to use pots except during time periods and 

in areas specified herein: 

(1) in Internal Waters from December 1 through 

May 31, except that: 

(A) in the Northern Region designated in 

15A NCAC 03R .0118(1) all pots shall 

be removed from Internal Waters from 

January 1 through January 31. Fish 

pots upstream of the U.S. 17 Bridge 
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across Chowan River and upstream of 

a line across the mouth of Roanoke, 

Cashie, Middle, and Eastmost Rivers 

to the Highway 258 Bridge are exempt 

from this removal requirement. 

(B) in the Southern Region designated in 

15A NCAC 03R .0118(2) all pots shall 

be removed from Internal Waters from 

March 1 through March 15. 

(2) in Internal Waters from June 1 through 

November 30 in the Northern Region 

designated in 15A NCAC 03R .0118(1): 

(A) in areas described in 15A NCAC 03R 

.0107(a). 

(B) to allow for the variable spatial 

distribution of crustacea and finfish, 

the Fisheries Director may, by 

proclamation, specify time periods for 

and designate the areas described in 

15A NCAC 03R .0107(b) or any part 

thereof, for the use of pots. 

(3) in Internal Waters from May 1 through 

November 30 in the Southern Region 

designated in 15A NCAC 03R .0118(2), the 

Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, 

specify time periods and areas for the use of 

pots. 

(4) in the Atlantic Ocean from May 1 through 

November 30 the Fisheries Director may, by 

proclamation, specify time periods and areas 

for the use of pots. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to use pots: 

(1) in any navigation channel marked by State or 

Federal agencies; or 

(2) in any turning basin maintained and marked by 

the North Carolina Ferry Division. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful to use pots in a commercial fishing 

operation unless each pot is marked by attaching a floating buoy 

of any color except any shade of yellow or any shade of hot pink, 

or any combination of colors that include any shade of yellow or 

any shade of hot pink. Buoys shall be of solid foam or other solid 

buoyant material no less than five inches in diameter and no less 

than five inches in length. The gear owner's last name and initials 

shall be engraved on the attached buoy or identified by attaching 

engraved metal or plastic tags to the buoy. If a vessel is used, the 

identification shall also include one of the following: 

(1) gear owner's current motor boat registration 

number; or 

(2) gear owner's U.S. vessel documentation name. 

(d)  Pots attached to shore or a pier shall be exempt from 

Subparagraphs (a)(2) and (a)(3) of this Rule. 

(e)  It shall be unlawful to use shrimp pots with mesh lengths 

smaller than one and one-fourth inches stretch or five-eighths-

inch bar. 

(f)  It shall be unlawful to use pots to take eels with mesh lengths 

smaller than one-half inch by one-half inch. 

(g)  Except for unbaited pots or pots baited with a male crab, it 

shall be unlawful to use crab pots in Coastal Fishing Waters unless 

each pot contains no less than three unobstructed escape rings that 

are at least two and five-sixteenth inches inside diameter and: 

(1) for pots with a divider: 

(A) two escape rings shall be located on 

opposite panels of the upper chamber 

of the pot; and 

(B) at least one escape ring shall be 

located within one full mesh of the 

corner and one full mesh of the bottom 

of the divider in the upper chamber of 

the pot. 

(2) for pots without a divider: 

(A) two escape rings shall be located on 

opposite panels of the pot; and 

(B) at least one escape ring shall be 

located within one full mesh of the 

corner and one full mesh of the bottom 

of the pot. 

For the purpose of this Rule, a "divider" shall mean a panel that 

separates the crab pot into upper and lower sections. 

(h)  The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, impose on a 

commercial fishing operation and for recreational purposes any of 

the following restrictions for pots: 

(1) specify time; 

(2) specify area; 

(3) specify means and methods; 

(4) specify record keeping and reporting 

requirements; 

(5) specify season, including a closed season for 

removal of all pots from Internal Waters; 

(6) specify species; and 

(7) specify quantity. 

(i)  It shall be unlawful to use more than 150 crab pots per vessel 

in Newport River. 

(j)  It shall be unlawful to remove crab pots from the water or 

remove crabs from crab pots between one hour after sunset and 

one hour before sunrise. 

(k)  It shall be unlawful to use pots to take crabs unless the line 

connecting the pot to the buoy is non-floating. 

(l)  It shall be unlawful to use pots with leads or leaders to take 

shrimp. For the purpose of this Rule, "leads" or "leaders" shall 

mean any fixed or stationary net or device used to direct fish into 

any gear used to capture fish. Any device with leads or leaders 

used to capture fish shall not be a pot. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-173; 113-182; 

113-221.1; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; May 1, 1997; March 1, 1996; 

March 1, 1994; October 1, 1992; September 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2015; April 1, 2014; September 1, 2005; 

August 1, 2004; August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 
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15A NCAC 03J .0302 RECREATIONAL USE OF POTS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful for a Recreational Commercial Gear 

License holder to use pots authorized by 15A NCAC 03O .0302 

unless each pot is marked by attaching a floating buoy, any shade 

of hot pink in color. Buoys shall be of solid foam or other solid 

buoyant material no less than five inches in diameter and no less 

than five inches in length. The gear owner's last name and initials 

shall be identified on the attached buoy using an engraved buoy 

or by attaching engraved metal or plastic tags to the buoy. If a 

vessel is used, the identification shall also include one of the 

following: 

(1) gear owner's current motor boat registration 

number; or 

(2) owner's U.S. vessel documentation name. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful for a person to use more than one crab pot 

attached to the shore along privately owned land or to a privately 

owned pier without possessing a valid Recreational Commercial 

Gear License. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-173; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0305 TROTLINES (MULTIPLE HOOK 

OR MULTIPLE BAIT) 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to use multiple hook or multiple bait 

trotlines for recreational purposes unless each multiple hook or 

multiple bait trotline is marked by attaching to them at each end a 

floating buoy, any shade of hot pink in color. Buoys shall be of 

solid foam or other solid buoyant material no less than five inches 

in diameter and no less than five inches in length. The gear 

owner's last name and initials shall be engraved on the attached 

buoy or identified by attaching engraved metal or plastic tags to 

the buoy. If a vessel is used, the identification shall also include 

one of the following: 

(1) gear owner's current motor boat registration 

number; or 

(2) gear owner's U.S. vessel documentation name. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to use multiple hook or multiple bait 

trotlines in a commercial fishing operation unless each multiple 

hook or multiple bait trotline is marked by attaching to them at 

each end a floating buoy of any color except any shade of yellow 

or any shade of hot pink, or any combination of colors that include 

any shade of yellow or any shade of hot pink. Buoys shall be of 

solid foam or other solid buoyant material no less than five inches 

in diameter and no less than five inches in length. The gear 

owner's last name and initials shall be engraved on the attached 

buoy or identified by attaching engraved metal or plastic tags to 

the buoy. If a vessel is used, the identification shall also include 

one of the following: 

(1) gear owner's current motor boat registration 

number; or 

(2) gear owner's U.S. vessel documentation name. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-173; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0501 DEFINITIONS AND 

STANDARDS FOR POUND NETS AND POUND NET 

SETS 

(a)  The following definitions shall apply to this Section: 

(1) "Deployed pound net" means setting of any part 

of a pound net except for a location 

identification stake or, for a pound net used in 

the Atlantic Ocean, a location identification 

buoy placed at each end of a proposed new 

location. 

(2) "Flounder pound net" means a pound net set 

that produces a catch consisting of 50 percent 

or more flounder by weight of the entire landed 

catch, excluding blue crabs or a pound net set 

with all pounds (holding pen) constructed of 

four inch stretch mesh or greater. 

(3) "Operational pound net set" means a pound net 

set as defined in 15A NCAC 03I .0101 and 

deployed according to rules and permit 

conditions with net attached to stakes or 

anchors for the lead and pound, including only 

a single pound in a multi-pound set, and a non-

restricted opening leading into the pound such 

that the set is able to catch and hold fish. 

(4) "Permit period" means from the date of 

issuance of a new or renewal Pound Net Set 

Permit to the expiration date. 

(5) "Pound Net Set Permit" means a Division of 

Marine Fisheries authorization to set and fish a 

pound net set in a commercial fishing operation 

in a specified location in a specified fishery. 

(6) "Shrimp pound net" means a pound net set with 

all pounds (holding pen) constructed of stretch 

mesh equal to or greater than one and one-

fourth inches and less than or equal to two 

inches. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful for a pound net used in a commercial 

fishing operation to: 

(1) be deployed on a site without first obtaining a 

Pound Net Set Permit from the Fisheries 

Director. 

(2) fail to be operational for a minimum of 30 

consecutive days during the Pound Net Set 

Permit period, except the Fisheries Director 

may, by proclamation, waive this requirement 

if a season for the fishery for which the pound 

net set is permitted is ended earlier due to a 

quota being met or for compliance with the 

N.C. Southern Flounder Fishery Management 

Plan. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful for a pound net set in a commercial fishing 

operation in coastal fishing waters to fail to: 
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(1) have the permittee's identification legibly 

printed on a sign no less than six inches square, 

securely attached to a stake at the permitted 

ends of each set at all times. For pound net sets 

in the Atlantic Ocean using anchors instead of 

stakes, the set shall be identified with a yellow 

buoy that shall be of solid foam or other solid 

buoyant material no less than five inches in 

diameter and no less than 11 inches in length. 

The permittee's identification shall be legibly 

printed on the buoy. The identification on signs 

or buoys shall include the Pound Net Set Permit 

number and the permittee's last name and 

initials. 

(2) have yellow light reflective tape or yellow light 

reflective devices on each pound. The yellow 

light reflective tape or yellow light reflective 

devices shall be affixed to a stake of at least 

three inches in diameter on any outside corner 

of each pound, shall cover a vertical distance of 

not less than 12 inches, and shall be visible from 

all directions. 

(3) have a marked navigational opening at least 25 

feet wide at the end of every third pound. The 

opening shall be marked with yellow light 

reflective tape or yellow light reflective devices 

on each side of the opening. The yellow light 

reflective tape or yellow light reflective devices 

shall be affixed to a stake of at least three inches 

in diameter, shall cover a vertical distance of 

not less than 12 inches, and shall be visible from 

all directions. 

If a permittee notified of a violation under this Paragraph fails or 

refuses to take corrective action sufficient to remedy the violation 

within 10 days of receiving notice of the violation, the Fisheries 

Director shall revoke the permit. 

(d)  It shall be unlawful to use a Recreational Commercial Gear 

License (RCGL) shrimp pound net as defined in 15A NCAC 03O 

.0302(a)(8) in coastal fishing waters unless the shrimp pound net 

is: 

(1) marked by attaching to the offshore lead, a 

floating buoy, any shade of hot pink in color. 

Buoys shall be of solid foam or other solid 

buoyant material no less than five inches in 

diameter and no less than five inches in length. 

The gear owner's last name and initials shall be 

engraved on the attached buoy or identified by 

attaching engraved metal or plastic tags to the 

buoy. If a vessel is used, the identification shall 

also include one of the following: 

(A) gear owner's current motor boat 

registration number; or 

(B) gear owner's U.S. vessel 

documentation name. 

(2) set a minimum of 100 yards from a RCGL 

shrimp pound net set or 300 yards from a 

commercial permitted shrimp pound net set. 

(e)  Escape Panels: 

(1) The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, 

require escape panels in pound net sets and may 

impose any of the following requirements on 

the use of escape panels: 

(A) specify size, number, and location; 

(B) specify mesh length, but not more than 

six inches; 

(C) specify time or season; and 

(D) specify areas. 

(2) It shall be unlawful to use flounder pound net 

sets without four unobstructed escape panels in 

each pound. The escape panels shall be fastened 

to the bottom and corner ropes on each wall on 

the side and back of the pound opposite the 

heart. The escape panels shall be a minimum 

mesh size of five and one-half inches, hung on 

the diamond, and shall be at least six meshes 

high and eight meshes long. 

(f)  The Fisheries Director shall by proclamation establish time 

periods between December 1 through February 1 and areas where 

it shall be unlawful to fail to remove all nets from pound net sets 

in commercial fishing operations in internal coastal waters. 

(g)  It shall be unlawful within 30 days of abandonment of a 

permitted pound net set to fail to remove all stakes and associated 

gear from coastal fishing waters. The responsible party for 

abandoned pound net gear may be charged the costs incurred by 

the Division when the Division undertakes removal of the 

abandoned pound net gear. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-169.1; 113-181; 

113-182; 113-221.1; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. April 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0502 POUND NET SET PERMIT 

APPLICATION AND PROCESSING 

(a)  All initial, renewal, or transfer applications for Pound Net Set 

Permits, and the operation of such pound net sets, shall comply 

with the requirements governing all permits as provided in 15A 

NCAC 03O .0502. The procedures and requirements for obtaining 

permits are set forth in 15A NCAC 03O .0501. 

(b)  Applicants for Pound Net Set permits shall meet the following 

eligibility requirements as determined by the Fisheries Director: 

(1) the applicant is an individual and not a 

corporation, partnership, organization, or other 

entity; 

(2) the applicant has in the past complied with 

fisheries rules and laws and does not have any 

licenses under suspension or revocation as set 

forth in 15A NCAC 03O .0114 or any pound 

net set permits under suspension or revocation 

as set forth in 15A NCAC 03O .0504. In 

addition, a history of habitual fisheries 

violations evidenced by eight or more 

convictions as specified in 15A NCAC 03O 

.0114, G.S. 14-223, Chapter 75A, or G.S. 76-40 

in 10 years shall make an individual ineligible. 
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(3) the applicant has in the past complied with all 

permit conditions, rules, and laws related to 

pound nets. 

(4) the applicant holds proper valid licenses and 

permits necessary to fish the type of net 

indicated in the application. 

(c)  Applications for Pound Net Set permits shall include the 

following: 

(1) a base map provided by the Division of Marine 

Fisheries indicating the proposed set location 

including an inset vicinity map showing the 

location of the proposed set with detail 

sufficient to permit on-site identification and 

location. 

(2) declaration of the type of pound net that will be 

deployed at the site. One of the following pound 

net fisheries shall be specified: 

(A) flounder pound net set; 

(B) bait pound net set; 

(C) shrimp pound net set; 

(D) blue crab pound net set; or 

(E) other finfish pound net set. 

(d)  For proposed new locations, the Fisheries Director shall issue 

a public notice of intent to consider issuance of a Pound Net Set 

Permit allowing for public comment for 20 days, and after the 

comment period, may hold public meetings to take comments on 

the proposed pound net set. If the Director does not approve or 

deny the application within 90 days of receipt of a complete and 

verified application, the application shall be deemed denied. The 

applicant shall be notified of denial in writing. Approval shall be 

conditional based upon the applicant's continuing compliance 

with eligibility requirements set out in Paragraph (e) of this Rule 

and specific conditions contained on the Pound Net Set Permit. 

The applicant may contest the denial of a Pound Net Set Permit 

application by filing a petition for a contested case under G.S. 

150B-23. 

(e)  In order for a site to be deemed suitable for a pound net set, 

the proposed set location shall meet the following criteria as 

determined by the Fisheries Director: 

(1) the proposed pound net set, either alone or 

when considered cumulatively with other 

existing pound net sets in the area, will not 

interfere with navigation or with existing, 

traditional uses of the area other than 

navigation, and will not violate 15A NCAC 03J 

.0101 and .0102; 

(2) the proposed pound net set will not interfere 

with the rights of any riparian or littoral 

landowner, including the construction or use of 

piers; 

(3) the proposed pound net set will not, by its 

proximate location, interfere with existing 

pound net sets in the area. Flounder or other 

finfish pound net sets will be a minimum of 

1,000 yards, as measured in a perpendicular 

direction, from any point on a line following the 

permitted location of existing pound net sets; 

except 

(A) in Chowan River as referenced in 15A 

NCAC 03J .0203; and 

(B) for renewal of pound net sets 

permitted prior to January 1, 2003; 

(4) the proposed shrimp or blue crab pound net set 

will be a minimum of 300 yards, as measured 

in a perpendicular direction, from any point on 

a line following the permitted location of 

existing pound net sets; 

(5) the proposed pound net set is not located in 

Core Sound in areas designated in 15A NCAC 

03R .0113 except that only those Pound Net Set 

permits valid within the specified area as of 

March 1, 1994, may be renewed or transferred 

subject to the requirements of this Rule; and 

(6) issuance of the proposed Pound Net Set Permit 

is in compliance with management measures 

adopted in fishery management plans. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-169.1; 113-181; 

113-182; 113-182.1; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. April 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0503 POUND NET SET PERMIT 

RENEWAL 

An application for renewal of an existing Pound Net Set Permit 

shall be filed not less than 30 days prior to the date of expiration 

of the existing permit and shall not be processed unless filed by 

the permittee. The Fisheries Director shall review the renewal 

application under the criteria for issuance of a new Pound Net Set 

Permit, as set forth in the rules of this Section. The Fisheries 

Director may hold public meetings and may conduct such 

investigations necessary to determine if the permit should be 

renewed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-169.1; 113-181; 

113-182; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. April 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0504 POUND NET SET PERMIT 

TRANSFER 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to transfer a Pound Net Set Permit without 

a completed application for transfer being submitted to the 

Division of Marine Fisheries not less than 45 days before the date 

of the transfer. The application shall be made by the proposed new 

permittee in writing and shall be accompanied by a copy of the 

current permittee's permit and an application for a Pound Net Set 

Permit in the new permittee's name. The Fisheries Director may 

hold a public meeting and verify the location of the pound net set 

and that it is in compliance with all laws and rules to determine if 

the permit should be transferred. The transferred permit expires 

on the same date as the initial permit. 

(b)  Upon death of the permittee, the permit may be transferred to 

the Administrator/Executor of the estate of the permittee if 

transferred within six months of the Administrator/Executor's 

qualification in accordance with Chapter 28A of the North 

Carolina General Statutes. The Administrator/Executor shall 
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provide a copy of the deceased permittee's death certificate, a 

copy of letters of administration/letters testamentary, and a list of 

eligible immediate family members as defined in G.S. 113-168 to 

the Morehead City Office of the Division. Once transferred to the 

Administrator/Executor, the Administrator/Executor may transfer 

the permit or permits to eligible immediate family members of the 

deceased permittee. 

(c)  No transfer is effective until approved and processed by the 

Division in accordance with 15A NCAC 03O .0501. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-169.1; 113-181; 

113-182; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. April 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0505 POUND NET SET PERMIT 

CONDITIONS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful for a permittee to: 

(1) fail to notify the Division of Marine Fisheries 

Communications Center by phone at 800-682-

2632 or 252-726-7021 within 72 hours of: 

(A) an operational pound net set. 

Notification shall include the name of 

permittee, type of net, Pound Net Set 

Permit number, county where located, 

a specific location site, and how many 

pounds are in the set; and 

(B) a change to the type of net being set at 

the permitted site. 

(2) make false notifications. 

(3) fail to render the pound net set inoperable 

during any closed season for the type of fishery 

for which the pound net is permitted. 

Failure to comply with this Paragraph shall be grounds for the 

Fisheries Director to revoke any Pound Net Set Permits held by 

the permittee and for denial of any future applications for Pound 

Net Set Permits. 

(b)  Pound net sets shall be subject to inspection at all times. 

(c)  Daily reporting may be a condition of the permit for a pound 

net set for fisheries under a quota. 

(d)  It shall be unlawful to fail to remove all pound net stakes and 

associated gear within 30 days after expiration of the permit or 

notice by the Fisheries Director that an existing Pound Net Set 

Permit has been revoked or denied. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-169.1; 113-181; 

113-182; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. April 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0101 PROHIBITED ACTIVITIES IN 

POLLUTED SHELLFISH AREAS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to possess, sell, or take oysters, clams, or 

mussels from areas that have been designated as polluted by 

proclamation by the Fisheries Director except as provided in 

Rules .0103, .0104, .0107, and .0401 of this Subchapter. The 

Fisheries Director shall issue shellfish polluted area 

proclamations if criteria for approved shellfish harvest areas in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 18A .0900 have not been met. The 

Fisheries Director may reopen any such closed area by 

proclamation if criteria for approved shellfish harvest areas in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 18A .0900 have been met. Copies of 

these proclamations and maps of these areas are available upon 

request at the Division of Marine Fisheries, 3441 Arendell Street, 

P.O. Box 769, Morehead City, NC 28557; 800-682-2632 or 252- 

726-7021. 

(b)  The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, close areas to 

the taking of oysters, clams, scallops, and mussels to protect the 

shellfish populations for management purposes or for protection 

of public health related to the public health programs that fall 

under the authority of the Marine Fisheries Commission not 

specified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful to possess or sell oysters, clams, or 

mussels taken from polluted waters outside North Carolina, 

except as provided in 15A NCAC 03I .0104. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-168.5; 113-169.2; 

113-182; 113-221.1; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1993; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2008; April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0102 RAKES PROHIBITED 

It shall be unlawful to use a rake more than 12 inches wide or 

weighing more than six pounds to take: 

(1) oysters or scallops; or 

(2) clams in any live oyster bed, or in any 

established bed of submerged aquatic 

vegetation as defined in 15A NCAC 03I .0101 

or salt water cordgrass (Spartina alterniflora) 

that may exist together or separately. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2008; February 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0103 SHELLFISH MANAGEMENT 

AREAS 

(a)  For the purpose of this Rule, "Shellfish Management Area" 

shall mean an area that has environmental conditions suitable for 

shellfish growth and survival that is designated to establish a 

localized regulatory strategy to improve the propagation of 

shellfish and has at least one of the following: 

(1) planted cultch; 

(2) existing shell; or 

(3) existing live shellfish. 

(b)  The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, designate and 

modify Shellfish Management Areas based on biological impacts 

or variable spatial distribution, including shifted material. 
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(c)  It shall be unlawful to use a trawl net, long haul seine, or swipe 

net in any designated Shellfish Management Area.  

(d)  It shall be unlawful to take shellfish from any Shellfish 

Management Area that has been closed in accordance with 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule, except the Fisheries Director may, by 

proclamation, open specific areas to allow the taking of shellfish 

and may impose any of the following requirements based on 

biological impacts or user conflicts: 

(1) specify time; 

(2) specify area; 

(3) specify means and methods except as set forth 

in Paragraph (c) of this Rule; 

(4) specify season; 

(5) specify size; 

(6) specify quantity; and 

(7) specify marking requirements. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-204; 

113.221.1; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2008; February 1, 2008; April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0104 PERMITS FOR RELAYING 

SHELLFISH FROM POLLUTED AREAS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to take shellfish from polluted public 

waters or franchises for planting on shellfish leases and franchises 

except as authorized by G.S. 113-203. Shellfish lease and 

franchise holders shall first obtain a relay permit from the 

Fisheries Director setting forth the time, area, and method by 

which such shellfish may be taken. The procedures and 

requirements for obtaining permits are found in 15A NCAC 03O 

.0500. 

(b)  The application for a relay permit shall be received by the 

Division of Marine Fisheries at least 15 days prior to the start of 

relaying activities. 

(c)  All relaying activities, including removal, transport, and 

planting, shall be monitored and observed by the Division. 

(d)  The season for relaying shellfish may occur within a specified 

six week period between the date of the statewide closure of 

oyster season and June 30, as determined by the Fisheries Director 

based on the following factors: 

(1) the status of shellfish resources available for 

harvest from public bottom; 

(2) surface water temperatures that are below 50° F 

(10° C), when shellfish relay shall not occur; 

(3) market factors affecting sale of shellfish from 

public bottom; and 

(4) availability of Division of Marine Fisheries 

staff to monitor and observe the shellfish 

relaying activity. 

(e)  The Fisheries Director, shall close by proclamation any 

shellfish lease or franchise for which the owner has obtained a 

permit to relay shellfish from polluted public waters or franchises. 

The leases and franchises shall remain closed until the Fisheries 

Director issues a proclamation to reopen the leases and franchises 

to harvest. The reopening of the leases and franchises shall not 

occur any sooner than 21 days after the end of the relay season 

described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-203; 

113-221.1; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1996; September 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0105 RECREATIONAL HARVEST OF 

SHELLFISH 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to take oysters or clams from public 

bottom on Sundays, and scallops from public bottom on Saturdays 

and Sundays except: 

(1) during open seasons; and 

(2) for recreational purposes. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to possess, for recreational purposes, more 

than: 

(1) 10 conchs or whelks per person per day, not to 

exceed 20 conchs or whelks per vessel per day; 

(2) 100 mussels per person per day, not to exceed 

200 mussels per vessel per day; and 

(3) 100 clams per person per day, not to exceed 200 

clams per vessel per day. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-169.2; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1994; February 1, 1992; September 1, 

1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 9, 1995 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1997; March 1, 1996; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2008; August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0106 TAKING OR UNLOADING 

OYSTERS AND CLAMS ON SUNDAY OR AT NIGHT 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to take oysters or clams between the hours 

of sunset and sunrise on any day. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to unload oysters or clams from any vessel 

or remove any vessel containing oysters or clams from the water 

on Sundays or between sunset and sunrise on any day except that 

in New Hanover, Pender, and Brunswick counties, oysters and 

clams may be unloaded until two hours after sunset. 

(c)  Oysters and clams taken on Sundays from public bottom 

under the provisions of Rule .0105 of this Section or from 

shellfish leases and franchises pursuant to G.S. 113-208 shall be 

exempt from Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-

289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 
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Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2008; August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0107 DEPURATION OF CLAMS AND 

OYSTERS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to take clams or oysters from polluted 

public waters or franchises of the State for the purpose of 

depuration except when the harvest will utilize clams or oysters 

that would otherwise be destroyed in maintenance dredging 

operations. All harvest and transport activities within the State of 

North Carolina related to depuration shall be under the 

supervision of the Division of Marine Fisheries. 

(b)  The Fisheries Director, may, by proclamation, impose any of 

the following restrictions on the harvest of clams or oysters for 

depuration: 

(1) specify species; 

(2) specify areas, except harvest shall not be 

allowed from designated buffer zones adjacent 

to sewage outfall facilities; 

(3) specify harvest days; 

(4) specify time; 

(5) specify size; 

(6) specify quantity; 

(7) specify harvest methods; and 

(8) specify record keeping requirements. 

(c)  Depuration permits: 

(1) it shall be unlawful for individuals to harvest 

clams or oysters from polluted waters for the 

purpose of depuration unless they have 

obtained a Depuration Permit or are listed as 

designees on a Depuration Permit from the 

Division setting forth the method of harvest to 

be employed. Permits shall be issued to licensed 

North Carolina clam or oyster dealers only. 

Permittees and designees harvesting under 

Depuration Permits shall have a current 

Shellfish License or Shellfish Endorsement on 

a Standard or Retired Standard Commercial 

Fishing License. The procedures and 

requirements for obtaining permits are found in 

15A NCAC 03O .0500. 

(2) in addition to information required in 15A 

NCAC 03O .0501, the permit application shall 

provide the name, address, location, and 

telephone number of the depuration operation 

where the shellfish will be depurated. 

(3) clam or oyster dealers desiring to obtain clams 

or oysters from polluted waters for the purpose 

of depuration shall apply for a depuration 

permit at least 15 days prior to initiation of 

operation. 

(d)  Transport of clams or oysters for depuration: 

(1) clams or oysters harvested from polluted waters 

for depuration in a depuration operation located 

within the State of North Carolina shall be 

transported under the supervision of the 

Division. 

(2) clams or oysters harvested from polluted waters 

for depuration in a depuration operation outside 

the State of North Carolina shall not be 

transported within the State of North Carolina 

except under the supervision of the Division. 

(e)  It shall be unlawful to ship clams or oysters harvested for 

depuration to depuration facilities located in a state other than 

North Carolina unless the facility is in compliance with the 

applicable rules and laws of the shellfish control agency of that 

state. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

113-221.1; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2008; April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0108 DREDGES AND MECHANICAL 

METHODS PROHIBITED 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to use mechanical methods, except 

mechanical methods for clamming and mechanical methods for 

oystering as defined in 15A NCAC 03I .0101, to take shellfish. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to use mechanical methods for oystering 

or clamming to take shellfish not subject to the restrictions in 

Rules .0201, .0204, .0302, .0304, .0404, .0501, and .0503 of this 

Subchapter: 

(1) within any established bed of submerged 

aquatic vegetation as defined in 15A NCAC 03I 

.0101 or salt water cordgrass (Spartina 

alterniflora) that may exist together or 

separately; 

(2) in areas designated in 15A NCAC 03R .0108, 

except on shellfish leases and franchises with a 

Permit to Use Mechanical Methods for 

Shellfish on Shellfish Leases and Franchises; 

(3) in areas designated in Rule .0204 of this 

Subchapter and 15A NCAC 03R .0103; and 

(4) except following restrictions for the use of 

mechanical methods specified pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 03J .0303 and Rules .0201, .0302, 

.0404, .0501, and .0503 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0109 SHELLFISH HARVEST TAGS 

Consistent with the requirements of this Rule, it shall be unlawful 

to possess or sell oysters, clams, or mussels taken in a commercial 

fishing operation without a harvest tag affixed to each container 

of oysters, clams, or mussels. Tags shall be affixed by the 

harvester and remain in place while being transported to a 

certified shellfish dealer. Harvest tags shall remain attached to the 

container until the certified shellfish dealer breaks open the 

container for washing, grading, packing, other processing, or the 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

37:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2022 

89 

container is shipped. Once the initial container is broken open or 

is emptied the harvest tag shall be kept on file, in chronological 

order, by the certified shellfish dealer for 90 days. It shall be 

unlawful for the tag to fail to meet the following criteria: 

(1) harvest tags shall be identified as harvest tags. 

They shall be durable for at least 90 days, 

waterproof, and a minimum of two and 

five-eighths inches by five and one-fourth 

inches in size. 

(2) harvest tags shall be securely fastened to each 

container in which shellstock is transported. A 

harvest tag shall remain securely fastened to 

each container at a certified shellfish dealer 

until replaced by a dealer tag once the container 

is broken open for processing or is shipped. 

Requirements for dealer tags are described in 

15A NCAC 18A .0425. Harvesters who are also 

certified shellfish dealers may use only their 

dealer tag if it contains the required harvest and 

dealer information. The required information 

shall be included on all lots of shellfish 

subdivided or combined into market grades or 

market quantities by a harvester or a certified 

shellfish dealer. 

(3) bulk harvest tags may be used when shellfish 

are harvested from one growing area on a single 

day by an individual harvester. Multiple 

containers may be utilized on a wrapped pallet, 

in a single boat, vehicle, conveyance, or other 

container, and tagged with a single harvest tag 

containing the information required in this 

Rule. The bulk tag shall also include a 

statement that "All shellstock containers in this 

lot have the same harvest date and area of 

harvest.", and include the number of individual 

containers in the unit or an estimate of the total 

weight, volume, or count. 

(4) tags shall contain legible information arranged 

in the specific order as follows: 

(a) the harvester's name, address, and 

Shellfish License or Standard or 

Retired Standard Commercial Fishing 

License with shellfish endorsement 

number; 

(b) the date of harvest; 

(c) the most precise identification of the 

harvest location as is practicable (e.g., 

Long Bay, Rose Bay), including the 

State's two initials "N.C." and the 

growing area designation; 

(d) the shellfish lease or franchise 

number, if applicable; 

(e) type and quantity of shellfish; 

(f) the following statement in bold, 

capitalized font: "THIS TAG IS 

REQUIRED TO BE ATTACHED 

UNTIL CONTAINER IS EMPTY 

AND THEREAFTER KEPT ON 

FILE, IN CHRONOLOGICAL 

ORDER, FOR 90 DAYS."; and 

(g) the time of the start of harvest. The 

time of the start of harvest shall be the 

time when the first shellfish is initially 

removed from the water. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-168.5; 113-169.2; 

113-182; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0111 PERMITS TO USE 

MECHANICAL METHODS FOR SHELLFISH ON 

SHELLFISH LEASES OR FRANCHISES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-169.1; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. May 1, 2015; 

Repealed Eff. (Pending legislative review of 15A NCAC 03O 

.0211). 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0201 OYSTER HARVEST 

MANAGEMENT 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to take or possess oysters from public 

bottom except from October 15 through March 31. 

(b)  The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, impose any of 

the following restrictions on the taking of oysters: 

(1) specify time; 

(2) specify area; 

(3) specify means and methods; 

(4) specify season within the period set forth in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule; 

(5) specify size, but the minimum size limit 

specified shall not be less than three inches, 

unless a smaller minimum size limit is 

necessary to prevent loss of oysters due to 

predators, pests, or infectious oyster diseases. 

In no case shall the minimum size limit be less 

than two and one-half inches; and 

(6) specify quantity, but the quantity shall not 

exceed possession of more than 20 standard 

U.S. bushels in a commercial fishing operation 

per day. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

113-221.1; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2017; October 1, 2008; March 1, 1996; 

September 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0202 CULLING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR OYSTERS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to possess oysters that have accumulated 

dead shell, accumulated oyster cultch material, a shell length less 

than that specified by proclamation issued under the authority of 

Rule .0201 of this Section, or any combination thereof that 
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exceeds a five-percent tolerance limit by volume. Oysters shall be 

culled where harvested and all oysters of less than legal size, 

accumulated dead shell, and cultch material shall be immediately 

returned to the bottom from which it was taken. In determining 

whether the tolerance limit has been exceeded, Marine Fisheries 

Inspectors shall be authorized and empowered to grade all, or any 

portion, or any combination of portions of the entire quantity 

being graded, and in cases of violations, may seize and return to 

public bottom or otherwise dispose of the oysters as authorized by 

law the entire quantity being graded or any portion therof. 

(b)  This Rule shall not apply to oysters imported from out-of-state 

solely for shucking by shucking and packing plants permitted by 

the Division of Marine Fisheries. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-136; 113-137; 

113-182; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1996; September 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2017; August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0204 MECHANICAL METHODS FOR 

OYSTERING PROHIBITED 

It shall be unlawful to use any mechanical methods for oystering 

as defined in 15A NCAC 03I .0101 to take oysters: 

(1) in the Mechanical Methods Prohibited areas 

designated in 15A NCAC 03R .0108, except on 

shellfish leases and franchises by a Permit to 

Use Mechanical Methods for Shellfish on 

Shellfish Leases or Franchises; and 

(2) on any posted bottom upon which oysters or 

shells have been planted by the State, unless 

such bottom has been opened to the public and 

mechanical methods for oystering are allowed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-204; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; May 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0205 MARKETING OYSTERS TAKEN 

FROM A SHELLFISH LEASE OR FRANCHISE 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to take, possess, buy, or sell oysters from 

a shellfish lease or franchise during the open season unless such 

oysters have been culled in accordance with Rule .0202 of this 

Section. 

(b)  All commercial oyster harvesting operations shall operate in 

accordance with any proclamations issued under the authority of 

Rule .0110 of this Subchapter. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful for a shellfish lease or franchise holder or 

the holder's designees to take or possess oysters from public 

bottom while possessing aboard a vessel oysters taken from a 

lease or franchise. 

(d)  It shall be unlawful for a shellfish lease or franchise holder or 

the holder's designees to fail to obtain an Aquaculture Operation 

Permit if the lease or franchise has material extending more than 

18 inches above the leased bottom or uses equipment including 

cages, bags, or predator nets to cultivate shellfish. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

113-202; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff October 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0207 OYSTER SIZE AND HARVEST 

LIMIT EXEMPTIONS 

Possession and sale of oysters by a hatchery or aquaculture 

operation and purchase and possession of oysters from a hatchery 

or aquaculture operation shall be exempt from bag and size limit 

restrictions as set forth in Rules .0201 and .0202 of this Section. 

It shall be unlawful to possess, sell, purchase, or transport such 

oysters unless they are in compliance with all conditions of the 

Aquaculture Operation Permit as set forth in 15A NCAC 03O 

.0503. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

143B-289.52; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 1, 2001; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0208 SEED OYSTER MANAGEMENT 

AREAS 

(a)  For the purpose of this Rule and 15A NCAC 03R .0116, "Seed 

Oyster Management Area" shall mean a shellfish producing 

habitat area located in open harvest waters that has environmental 

conditions unsuitable for shellfish growth and survival that is 

designated to establish a localized regulatory strategy to allow the 

transfer of oysters to shellfish leases or franchises that have more 

suitable environmental conditions for further grow-out. 

(b)  The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, modify or close 

Seed Oyster Management Areas designated in 15A NCAC 03R 

.0116 for the protection of public health related to the public 

health programs under the authority of the Marine Fisheries 

Commission. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful to take oysters from Seed Oyster 

Management Areas designated in 15A NCAC 03R .0116 for 

planting on shellfish leases or franchises without first obtaining a 

Permit to Transplant Oysters from Seed Oyster Management 

Areas from the Fisheries Director. The procedures and 

requirements for obtaining permits are set forth in 15A NCAC 

03O .0501. 

(d)  It shall be unlawful to use a trawl net, long haul seine, or swipe 

net in any designated Seed Oyster Management Area. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-203; 

113-221.1; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 2008; 
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Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0209 OYSTER SANCTUARIES 

(a)  For the purpose of this Rule and 15A NCAC 03R .0117, 

"Oyster Sanctuary" shall mean a type of artificial reef and 

shellfish producing habitat constructed for the purpose of oyster 

restoration that is managed to sustain populations of oyster 

broodstock. An Oyster Sanctuary is constructed to maximize 

habitat complexity and designed to meet its intended function for 

a minimum of 30 years. 

(b)  The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, close Oyster 

Sanctuary areas designated in 15A NCAC 03R .0117 to the use of 

specific fishing gears based on biological impacts or user 

conflicts. 

(c)  The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, designate and 

modify Oyster Sanctuaries based on biological impacts or 

variable spatial distribution, including shifted material. 

(d)  It shall be unlawful to use mechanical methods in, or take 

shellfish from, Oyster Sanctuaries designated in 15A NCAC 03R 

.0117 or in accordance with Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(e)  It shall be unlawful to use a trawl net, long haul seine, or swipe 

net in any designated Oyster Sanctuary. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

113-204; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0301 SIZE AND HARVEST LIMITS OF 

CLAMS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to take, land, or possess aboard a vessel 

more than 6,250 hard clams per commercial fishing operation 

from public bottom in internal waters. It shall be unlawful to take, 

possess, sell, or purchase any clams (except Rangia or freshwater 

clams) less than one inch thick except in accordance with Rule 

.0305 of this Section. Clams shall be culled where harvested and 

all clams of less than legal size with their shell, shall be 

immediately returned to the bottom from which they were taken. 

In determining whether the size and harvest limits have been 

exceeded, Marine Fisheries Inspectors shall be authorized and 

empowered to grade all, or any portion, or any combination of 

portions of the entire quantity being graded, and in cases of 

violations, may seize and return to public bottom or otherwise 

dispose of the clams as authorized by law the entire quantity being 

graded or any portion thereof. 

(b)  Size and harvest limits established in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule and the season and area limitations established in Rule .0302 

of this Section may or may not apply for: 

(1) harvest limits for temporary openings 

consistent with the requirements of 15A NCAC 

18A .0900 and the North Carolina Hard Clam 

Fishery Management Plan; 

(2) maintenance dredging operations, when clams 

would otherwise be destroyed, upon approval 

by the Division of Marine Fisheries and 

consistent with the North Carolina Hard Clam 

Fishery Management Plan; or 

(3) relaying of clams from polluted waters to 

private shellfish bottom as permitted by Rule 

.0104 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-136; 113-137; 

113-182; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0302 MECHANICAL HARVEST OF 

CLAMS FROM PUBLIC BOTTOM 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to take, buy, sell, or possess any clams 

taken by mechanical methods for clamming as defined in 15A 

NCAC 03I .0101 from public bottom unless the season is open. 

(b)  The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, open and close 

the season for the taking of clams by mechanical methods from 

public bottom at any time in the Atlantic Ocean and only from 

December 1 through March 31 in Internal Waters. 

(c)  The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, open to the 

taking of clams by mechanical methods from public bottom 

during open seasons only areas that were opened at any time from 

January 1979 through September 1988 in: 

(1) Newport, North, White Oak, and New rivers; 

(2) Core and Bogue sounds; 

(3) the Intracoastal Waterway north of "BC" 

Marker at Topsail Beach; and 

(4) the Atlantic Ocean. 

Other areas opened for purposes as set out in Rule .0301(b) of this 

Section shall open only for those purposes. A list of areas as 

described in this Paragraph is available upon request at the 

Division of Marine Fisheries, 3441 Arendell Street, P.O. Box 769, 

Morehead City, NC 28557. 

(d)  The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, impose any of 

the following additional restrictions for the taking of clams by 

mechanical methods from public bottom during open seasons: 

(1) specify time; 

(2) specify means and methods; 

(3) specify size; and 

(4) specify quantity. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.1; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2017; April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0304 PROHIBITED TAKING OF 

CLAMS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to take clams by mechanical methods for 

clamming as defined in 15A NCAC 03I .0101, except as provided 

in Rule .0302 of this Section. Regardless of the areas that may be 

opened, it shall be unlawful to take clams by hand tongs in any 

established bed of submerged aquatic vegetation as defined in 

15A NCAC 03I .0101 or salt water cordgrass (Spartina 

alterniflora) that may exist together or separately. 
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(b)  It shall be unlawful to possess clam trawls or cages aboard a 

vessel at any time, or have kick or deflector plates otherwise used 

in the mechanical harvest of clams affixed to a vessel at any time, 

except during the time period specified for a mechanical clam 

harvest season in Internal Waters in accordance with Rule 

.0302(a) of this Section. A period of 14 days before and after the 

season as specified by proclamation shall be allowed for the 

installation and removal of kick or deflector plates and clam 

trawls or cages. Vessels with permits for activities provided for in 

Rules .0104, .0107, and .0401 of this Subchapter shall be exempt 

from this Rule during the times those activities are permitted. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2008; February 1, 2008; May 1, 1997; 

July 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0305 CLAM SIZE AND HARVEST 

LIMIT EXEMPTIONS 

Possession and sale of clams by a hatchery or aquaculture 

operation and purchase and possession of clams from a hatchery 

or aquaculture operation shall be exempt from bag and size limit 

restrictions as set forth in Rule .0301 of this Section. It shall be 

unlawful to possess, sell, purchase, or transport such clams unless 

they are in compliance with all conditions of the Aquaculture 

Operation Permit as set forth in 15A NCAC 03O .0503. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0401 POLLUTED AREA PERMIT 

REQUIREMENTS 

It shall be unlawful to take Rangia clams or their shells by any 

method from polluted waters without first obtaining a Permit to 

Harvest Rangia Clams from Polluted Areas from the Fisheries 

Director. The permit application shall include a list of all 

designees operating under the permit. The permit shall designate 

the area, means and methods, and times in which Rangia clams 

may be taken. The permit applicant shall designate the licensed 

fish dealer where the Rangia clams are to be landed and the 

method for disposing of Rangia clam meats. The procedures and 

requirements for obtaining permits are found in 15A NCAC 03O 

.0500. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

113-202; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0505 SEA SCALLOPS SIZE LIMIT 

AND TOLERANCE 

It shall be unlawful to land or possess more than 10 percent by 

number sea scallops with a shell height of less than three and 

one-half inches. In determining whether the 10 percent tolerance 

limit has been exceeded, Marine Fisheries Inspectors shall be 

authorized and empowered to grade all, or any portion, or any 

combination of portions of the entire quantity being graded, and 

in cases of violations, may seize and return to public bottom or 

otherwise dispose of the sea scallops as authorized by law the 

entire quantity being graded or any portion therof. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-136; 113-137; 

113-182; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03K .0507 MARKETING SCALLOPS 

TAKEN FROM A SHELLFISH LEASE OR FRANCHISE 

(a)  All commercial scallop harvesting operations shall operate in 

accordance with any proclamations issued under the authority of 

Rule .0110 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful for a shellfish lease or franchise holder or 

the holder's designees to take or possess scallops from public 

bottom while possessing aboard a vessel scallops taken from a 

lease or franchise. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful for a shellfish lease or franchise holder or 

the holder's designees to fail to obtain an Aquaculture Operation 

Permit if the lease or franchise has material extending more than 

18 inches above the leased bottom or uses equipment including 

cages, bags, or predator nets to cultivate shellfish. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. May 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03L .0101 SHRIMP HARVEST 

RESTRICTIONS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to take shrimp until the Fisheries Director, 

by proclamation, opens the season. 

(b)  The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, impose any of 

the following restrictions on the taking of shrimp: 

(1) specify time; 

(2) specify area; 

(3) specify means and methods; 

(4) specify season; 

(5) specify size; and 

(6) specify quantity. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.1; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 
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15A NCAC 03L .0102 WEEKEND SHRIMPING 

PROHIBITED 

It shall be unlawful to take shrimp by any method from 9:00 p.m. 

on Friday through 5:00 p.m. on Sunday, except: 

(1) in the Atlantic Ocean; 

(2) with the use of fixed nets, channel nets, hand 

seines, shrimp pots, or cast nets; or 

(3) for a holder of a Permit for Weekend Trawling 

for Live Shrimp in accordance with 15A NCAC 

03O .0503. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2017; August 1, 2004; March 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03L .0103 PROHIBITED NETS, MESH 

LENGTHS, AND AREAS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to take shrimp with nets with mesh lengths 

less than the following: 

(1) trawl nets: one and one-half inches; 

(2) fixed nets, channel nets, float nets, butterfly 

nets, and hand seines: one and one-fourth 

inches; and 

(3) cast nets: no restriction. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to take shrimp with a net constructed in 

such a manner as to contain an inner or outer liner of any mesh 

length. Net material used as chafing gear shall be no less than four 

inches mesh length, except that chafing gear with smaller mesh 

may be used only on the bottom one-half of the tailbag. Such 

chafing gear shall not be tied in a manner that forms an additional 

tailbag. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful to take shrimp with trawls that have a 

combined headrope of greater than 90 feet in Internal Waters in 

the following areas: 

(1) north of the 35° 46.3000' N latitude line; 

(2) Core Sound south of a line beginning at a point 

34° 59.7942' N - 76° 14.6514' W on Camp 

Point; running easterly to a point 34° 58.7853' 

N - 76° 09.8922' W on Core Banks; to the South 

Carolina State Line; 

(3) Pamlico River upstream of a line from a point 

35° 18.5882' N - 76° 28.9625' W at Pamlico 

Point; running northerly to a point 35° 22.3741' 

N - 76° 28.6905' W at Willow Point; and 

(4) Neuse River southwest of a line from a point 

34° 58.2000' N - 76° 40.5167' W at Winthrop 

Point on the eastern shore of the entrance to 

Adams Creek; running northerly to a point 35° 

01.0744' N - 76° 42.1550' W at Windmill Point 

at the entrance of Greens Creek at Oriental. 

(d)  It shall be unlawful to take shrimp with trawls that have a 

combined headrope of greater than 220 feet in Internal Waters in 

the following areas: 

(1) Pamlico Sound south of the 35° 46.3000' N 

latitude line and north of a line beginning at a 

point 34° 59.7942' N - 76° 14.6514' W on Camp 

Point; running easterly to a point 34° 58.7853' 

N - 76° 09.8922' W on Core Banks; 

(2) Pamlico River downstream of a line from a 

point 35° 18.5882' N - 76° 28.9625' W at 

Pamlico Point; running northerly to a point 35° 

22.3741' N - 76° 28.6905' W at Willow Point; 

and 

(3) Neuse River northeast of a line from a point 34° 

58.2000' N - 76° 40.5167' W at Winthrop Point 

on the eastern shore of the entrance to Adams 

Creek; running northerly to a point 35° 01.0744' 

N - 76° 42.1550' W at Windmill Point at the 

entrance of Greens Creek at Oriental. 

(e)  It shall be unlawful to use a shrimp trawl in the areas described 

in 15A NCAC 03R .0114. 

(f)  It shall be unlawful to use channel nets except as provided in 

15A NCAC 03J .0106. 

(g)  It shall be unlawful to use shrimp pots except as provided in 

15A NCAC 03J .0301. 

(h)  It shall be unlawful to use a shrimp trawl that does not 

conform with the federal rule requirements for Turtle Excluder 

Devices (TED) as specified in 50 CFR Part 222.102 Definitions, 

50 CFR Part 223.205 (a) and Part 223.206 (d) Gear Requirements 

for Trawlers, and 50 CFR Part 223.207 Approved TEDs. These 

federal rules are incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. Copies of these rules are available via 

the Code of Federal Regulations posted on the Internet at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/ECFR and at the Division of Marine 

Fisheries, 3441 Arendell Street, P.O. Box 769, Morehead City, 

NC 28557 at no cost. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2015; April 1, 2009; July 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03L .0105 RECREATIONAL SHRIMP 

LIMITS 

It shall be unlawful to: 

(1) possess from areas open to the harvest of 

shrimp more than 48 quarts, heads on or 30 

quarts, heads off, of shrimp per person per day 

or if a vessel is used, per vessel per day for 

recreational purposes except as provided in 15A 

NCAC 03O .0303(e) and (f). 

(2) take or possess more than four quarts, heads on 

or two and one-half quarts, heads off, of shrimp 

per person per day with a cast net from areas 

closed to the commercial taking of shrimp. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-

289.52; 

Eff. April 1, 2009; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2015; June 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 
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15A NCAC 03L .0201 CRAB HARVEST 

RESTRICTIONS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to possess blue crabs taken from Crab 

Harvest Management Areas designated in 15A NCAC 03R 

.0118(1) from January 1 through January 31, except dealers shall 

have seven days after the beginning of the closure to sell, offer for 

sale, or transport blue crabs that were taken from this area prior to 

the closure. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to possess blue crabs taken from Crab 

Harvest Management Areas designated in 15A NCAC 03R 

.0118(2) from March 1 through March 15, except dealers shall 

have seven days after the beginning of the closure to sell, offer for 

sale, or transport blue crabs that were taken from this area prior to 

the closure. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful to possess more than five percent by 

number of the following hard blue crabs in any combination in 

any container: 

(1) male hard blue crabs less than five inches from 

tip of spike to tip of spike; 

(2) immature female hard blue crabs; 

(3) mature female hard blue crabs less than five 

inches from tip of spike to tip of spike; and 

(4) mature female hard blue crabs with a dark 

(brown or black) sponge from April 1 through 

April 30 statewide. For the purpose of this Rule, 

a "mature female hard blue crab with a dark 

sponge" shall mean a mature female hard crab 

that has extruded her eggs on the abdomen or 

abdominal flap and the eggs have developed a 

coloration ranging from any shade of brown 

through black. 

(d)  It shall be unlawful to possess blue crabs described in 

Subparagraphs (c)(1) through (c)(3) of this Rule unless individual 

crabs are sorted and placed into separate containers for each of the 

following categories: 

(1) soft crabs; 

(2) pink and red-line peeler crabs; 

(3) white line peeler crabs; and 

(4) from March 1 through October 31, male crabs 

to be used as peeler crab bait. 

All blue crabs not sorted into containers as specified shall be 

deemed hard blue crabs for the purpose of establishing the five 

percent tolerance described in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(e)  It shall be unlawful to possess more than five percent by 

number of white-line peeler crabs in a container of pink and red-

line peeler crabs. 

(f)  It shall be unlawful to: 

(1) sell white-line peeler crabs; 

(2) possess white-line peeler crabs unless they are 

to be used in the harvester's permitted blue crab 

shedding operation; or 

(3) possess male white-line peeler crabs from June 

1 through September 1. 

(g)  It shall be unlawful to possess more than 50 blue crabs per 

person per day, not to exceed 100 blue crabs per vessel per day 

for recreational purposes. 

(h)  In order to comply with management measures adopted in the 

N.C. Blue Crab Fishery Management Plan, the Fisheries Director 

may, by proclamation, close the harvest of blue crabs and may 

further restrict commercial and recreational blue crab harvest by 

imposing any of the following requirements on the taking of blue 

crabs: 

(1) specify areas; 

(2) specify seasons; 

(3) specify time periods; 

(4) specify means and methods; 

(5) specify culling tolerance; and 

(6) specify limits on harvest based on size, 

quantity, sex, reproductive stage, or peeler 

stage. 

(i)  It shall be unlawful to fail to immediately return hard blue 

crabs not meeting the requirements of this Rule to the waters from 

which they were taken. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-182.1; 

113-221.1; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; July 1, 1993; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; September 1, 2005; August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03L .0202 CRAB TRAWLING 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to take or possess aboard a vessel crabs 

taken by trawl in internal waters except in areas and during such 

times as the Fisheries Director may specify by proclamation. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to use a trawl to take crabs that does not 

meet mesh length requirements, except as provided in 15A NCAC 

03J .0104. The minimum mesh length to take hard crabs with a 

trawl shall be three inches, except: 

(1) the minimum mesh length shall be four inches 

in the area of western Pamlico Sound west of a 

line beginning at a point 35° 48.3693' N - 75° 

43.7232' W on Roanoke Marshes Point; 

running easterly to a point 35° 48.3000' N - 75° 

37.1167' W near Beacon "1" at the southern end 

of Roanoke Island; running southerly to a point 

35° 30.7500' N - 75° 40.5667' W near the "S" 

Beacon at Long Shoal; running southwesterly 

to a point 35° 12.6167' N - 76° 04.3833' W near 

the "BL" Beacon on Bluff Shoal; running 

westerly to a point 35° 08.1000' N - 76° 

17.5000' W near the "BI" Beacon at Brant 

Island Shoal; running southwesterly to a point 

35° 04 .6167' N - 76° 27.8000' W on Point of 

Marsh; and 

(2) the Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, 

specify areas other than the area described in 

Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule for trawl mesh 

length use and increase the minimum trawl 

mesh length to no more than four inches to take 

hard crabs. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful to use a trawl with a mesh length less than 

two inches or with a combined total headrope length exceeding 

25 feet to take soft or peeler crabs, except as provided in 15A 

NCAC 03J .0104. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.1; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; September 1, 2005; August 1, 2004; 

March 1, 1994; September 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03L .0203 CRAB DREDGING 

It shall be unlawful to take crabs with dredges except incidental 

to lawful oyster dredging operations provided the weight of the 

crabs shall not exceed the lesser of: 

(1) 10 percent of the total weight of the combined 

oyster and crab catch; or 

(2) 100 pounds. 

The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation authority 

established in 15A NCAC 03L .0201, further restrict the use of 

dredges to take blue crabs. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.1; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; May 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03L .0204 CRAB POTS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to take crabs with pots except as provided 

in 15A NCAC 03J .0301 and .0302. The Fisheries Director may, 

by proclamation authority established in 15A NCAC 03L .0201, 

further restrict the use of pots to take blue crabs. 

(b)  The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, require the use 

of terrapin excluder devices in each funnel entrance in crab pots 

and impose the following restrictions concerning terrapin 

excluder devices: 

(1) specify areas; 

(2) specify time periods; and 

(3) specify means and methods. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.1; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03L .0205 CRAB SPAWNING 

SANCTUARIES 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to set or use trawls, pots, or mechanical 

methods for shellfish or take crabs with the use of commercial 

fishing equipment in crab spawning sanctuaries: 

(1) from March 1 through August 31 for the crab 

spawning sanctuaries described in 15A NCAC 

03R .0110(1); and 

(2) from March 1 through October 31 for the crab 

spawning sanctuaries described in 15A NCAC 

03R .0110(2). 

(b)  The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, designate 

additional areas as crab spawning sanctuaries and may impose the 

following restrictions in any crab spawning sanctuary: 

(1) specify areas; 

(2) specify time periods; 

(3) specify means and methods; and 

(4) specify limits on harvest based on size, 

quantity, sex, reproductive stage, or peeler 

stage. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-182.1; 

113-221.1; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1997; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 2, 1999; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0201 STRIPED BASS 

REQUIREMENTS; GENERAL 

(a)  For the purpose of this Section, "striped bass" shall mean 

striped bass (Morone saxatilis) and its hybrids taken in Coastal 

and Joint Fishing Waters or imported from other states. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to possess striped bass that are less than 

18 inches long (total length) imported from other states. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful to import, buy, sell, transport, offer to buy 

or sell, or possess striped bass except during any: 

(1) open striped bass season established for Internal 

Waters; 

(2) open striped bass season established for the 

Atlantic Ocean; or 

(3) open striped bass season of another state while 

in possession of the following: 

(A) a bill of lading as described in 15A 

NCAC 03I .0114; and 

(B) a numbered, state-issued tag from the 

state of origin affixed through the 

mouth and gill cover. This tag must 

remain affixed until processed for 

consumption by the consumer. 

(d)  The management areas for estuarine striped bass fisheries in 

coastal North Carolina are designated in 15A NCAC 03R .0201. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-

289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1994; September 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2013; October 1, 2008; October 1, 2004; 

April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0202 STRIPED BASS SEASON, SIZE, 

AND HARVEST LIMIT: INTERNAL WATERS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to possess striped bass from the Coastal 

Fishing Waters of the Cape Fear River and its tributaries. 
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(b)  It shall be unlawful to possess striped bass from the Roanoke 

River Management Area, as designated in 15A NCAC 03R .0201, 

in a commercial fishing operation. 

(c)  The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, impose any of 

the following restrictions on the taking of striped bass in a 

commercial fishing operation or for recreational purposes in 

Internal Waters during the period from October 1 through April 

30: 

(1) specify fishing days and times; 

(2) specify area; 

(3) specify means and methods; 

(4) specify size, but the minimum size specified 

shall not be less than 18 inches total length; and 

(5) specify quantity, except possession for 

recreational purposes shall not exceed: 

(A) more than three fish in any one day in 

the Albemarle Sound Management 

Area, as designated in 15A NCAC 

03R .0201; and 

(B) more than two fish in any one day in 

the Joint and Coastal Fishing Waters 

of the Central Southern Management 

Area, as designated in 15A NCAC 

03R .0201. 

Fish that do not meet the minimum size limit specified by 

proclamation shall immediately be returned to the waters from 

which taken regardless of condition. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.1; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1996; November 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2013; July 1, 2008; August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0204 STRIPED BASS SEASON, SIZE, 

AND HARVEST LIMIT: ATLANTIC OCEAN 

It shall be unlawful to possess striped bass taken from the Atlantic 

Ocean other than the size limit as established by the Atlantic 

States Marine Fisheries Commission Interstate Fishery 

Management Plan for Atlantic Striped Bass. The Fisheries 

Director shall issue proclamations necessary to bring North 

Carolina's size limit in compliance with the Interstate Fishery 

Management Plan. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-182.1; 

113-221.1; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1996; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2008; July 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0205 STRIPED BASS; PROHIBITED 

TRAWLING 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to possess striped bass on a vessel with a 

trawl net on that vessel in Internal Waters except during transit 

from ocean fishing grounds to port during any open striped bass 

trawl season in the Atlantic Ocean established by proclamation. 

Striped bass so possessed shall meet the minimum size limit set 

by proclamation issued under the authority of Rules .0204 or 

.0512 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to possess striped bass on a vessel in the 

Atlantic Ocean with a trawl net on that vessel except during any 

open striped bass trawl season in the Atlantic Ocean established 

by proclamation issued under the authority of Rules .0204 or 

.0512 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0503 FLOUNDER 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to possess flounder less than 14 inches 

total length taken from the Atlantic Ocean in a commercial fishing 

operation. 

(b)  From October 1 through April 30, it shall be unlawful to use 

a trawl in the Atlantic Ocean within three miles of the ocean beach 

from the North Carolina/Virginia state line (36° 33.000'N) to 

Cape Lookout (34° 36.000'N) unless each trawl has a mesh length 

of five and one-half inches or larger diamond mesh (stretched) or 

six inches or larger square mesh (stretched) applied throughout 

the body, extensions, and the cod end (tailbag) of the net except 

as provided in Paragraphs (g) and (h) of this Rule. 

(c)  License to Land Flounder from the Atlantic Ocean: 

(1) it shall be unlawful to land more than 100 

pounds per trip of flounder taken from the 

Atlantic Ocean unless the owner of the vessel, 

or in the case of Land or Sell Licenses, the 

responsible party, has been issued a License to 

Land Flounder from the Atlantic Ocean and the 

vessel in use is the vessel specified on the 

License to Land Flounder from the Atlantic 

Ocean. 

(2) it shall be unlawful for a fish dealer to purchase 

or offload more than 100 pounds of flounder 

taken from the Atlantic Ocean by a vessel 

whose owner, or in the case of Land or Sell 

Licenses, the responsible party, has not first 

procured a valid North Carolina License to 

Land Flounder from the Atlantic Ocean and the 

vessel in use is the vessel specified on the 

License to Land Flounder from the Atlantic 

Ocean. 

(3) it shall be unlawful for any person to land 

flounder from the Atlantic Ocean under a 

License to Land Flounder from the Atlantic 

Ocean unless that person is the holder of the 

license or the master designated on the license. 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

37:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2022 

97 

(4) it shall be unlawful for any individual to land 

flounder from the Atlantic Ocean without 

having ready at hand for inspection a valid 

License to Land Flounder from the Atlantic 

Ocean, except as specified in Subparagraph (1) 

of this Paragraph. 

(d)  All fish dealer transactions in flounder landed from the 

Atlantic Ocean shall be conducted in accordance with the Atlantic 

Ocean Flounder Dealer Permits in 15A NCAC 03O .0503 and 

permit requirements in 15A NCAC 03O .0500. 

(e)  It shall be unlawful to transfer flounder taken from the 

Atlantic Ocean from one vessel to another. 

(f)  Tailbag liners of any mesh size, the multiple use of two or 

more cod ends, or other netting material that in any way could 

restrict the legal size mesh shall not be used or possessed on the 

deck of a vessel in the Atlantic Ocean from October 1 through 

April 30 from the North Carolina/Virginia state line (36° 33.000' 

N) to Cape Lookout (34° 36.0000'N). 

(g)  Trawls with a cod end mesh size smaller than described in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule may be used or possessed on the deck 

of a vessel provided not more than 100 pounds of flounder per trip 

from May 1 through October 31 or more than 200 pounds from 

November 1 through April 30 is possessed aboard or landed from 

that vessel. 

(h)  Flynets are exempt from the flounder trawl mesh requirements 

if they meet the following requirements: 

(1) the net has large mesh in the wings that measure 

eight inches to 64 inches; 

(2) the first body section (belly) of the net has 35 or 

more meshes that are at least eight inches; and 

(3) the mesh decreases in size throughout the body 

of the net to as small as two inches or smaller 

towards the terminus of the net. 

(i)  Commercial Season: 

(1) the North Carolina season for landing ocean-

caught flounder shall open January 1 each year. 

If 80 percent of the quota allocated to North 

Carolina in accordance with the joint Mid-

Atlantic Fishery Management Council/Atlantic 

States Marine Fisheries Commission Fishery 

Management Plan for Summer Flounder is 

projected to be taken, the Fisheries Director 

shall, by proclamation, close North Carolina 

ports to landing of flounder taken from the 

ocean. 

(2) the season for landing flounder taken in the 

Atlantic Ocean shall reopen November 1 if any 

of the quota allocated to North Carolina in 

accordance with the joint Mid-Atlantic Fishery 

Management Council/Atlantic States Marine 

Fisheries Commission Fishery Management 

Plan for Summer Flounder remains. If after 

reopening, 100 percent of the quota allocated to 

North Carolina in accordance with the joint 

Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management 

Council/Atlantic States Marine Fisheries 

Commission Fishery Management Plan for 

Summer Flounder is projected to be taken prior 

to the end of the calendar year, the Fisheries 

Director shall, by proclamation, close North 

Carolina ports to landing of flounder taken from 

the ocean. 

(3) during any closed season prior to November 1, 

vessels may land up to 100 pounds of flounder 

per trip taken from the Atlantic Ocean. 

(j)  The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, establish trip 

limits for the taking of flounder from the Atlantic Ocean to assure 

that the individual state quota allocated to North Carolina in the 

joint Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council/Atlantic States 

Marine Fisheries Commission Fishery Management Plan for 

Summer Flounder is not exceeded. 

(k)  The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, based on 

variability in environmental and local stock conditions, take any 

of the following actions in the flounder fishery: 

(1) specify time; 

(2) specify area; 

(3) specify means and methods; 

(4) specify season; 

(5) specify size; 

(6) specify quantity; and 

(7) require submission of statistical and biological 

data. 

(l)  Possession and sale of flounder by a hatchery or flounder 

aquaculture operation and purchase and possession of flounder 

from a hatchery or flounder aquaculture operation shall be exempt 

from season and size limit restrictions set under Paragraph (k) of 

this Rule. It shall be unlawful to possess, sell, purchase, or 

transport such flounder unless they are in compliance with all 

conditions of the Aquaculture Operation Permit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-169.5; 113-182; 

113-221.1; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1996; February 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 1995 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 23, 1996; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 1998; August 18, 1997; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 1, 2000; July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; August 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2004; 

Temporary Amendment Expired June 12, 2005; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03N .0104 PROHIBITED GEAR, PRIMARY 

NURSERY AREAS 

It shall be unlawful to use any trawl net, long haul seine, swipe 

net, dredge, mechanical methods for clamming, or mechanical 

methods for oystering for the purpose of taking any marine fishes 

in any of the primary nursery areas described in 15A NCAC 03R 

.0103. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1991; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 3N .0004 Eff. May 1, 1997; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03N .0105 PROHIBITED GEAR, 

SECONDARY NURSERY AREAS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to use trawl nets for any purpose in any of 

the permanent secondary nursery areas designated in 15A NCAC 

03R .0104. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to use trawl nets for any purpose in any 

of the special secondary nursery areas designated in 15A NCAC 

03R .0105, except that the Fisheries Director, may, by 

proclamation, open any of the special secondary nursery areas, or 

any portion thereof, designated in 15A NCAC 03R .0105 to 

shrimp or crab trawling from August 16 through May 14 subject 

to the provisions of 15A NCAC 03L .0100 and .0200. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.1; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1991; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 03N .0005 Eff. May 1, 1997; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; May 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0101 PROCEDURES AND 

REQUIREMENTS TO OBTAIN LICENSES, 

ENDORSEMENTS, AND COMMERCIAL FISHING 

VESSEL REGISTRATIONS 

(a)  Division of Marine Fisheries licenses are available at offices 

of the Division or by mail from the Morehead City Office of the 

Division, unless otherwise specified. In addition, Recreational 

Commercial Gear Licenses are available at license agents of the 

Wildlife Resources Commission in accordance with G.S. 113-

270.1. 

(b)  For the purpose of this Rule, the procedures and requirements 

for the licensee shall also apply to the responsible party, the 

person holding power of attorney, the tournament organizer, and 

the vessel master. 

(c)  To obtain Division of Marine Fisheries licenses, 

endorsements, and Commercial Fishing Vessel Registrations, a 

licensee shall provide a completed application to an office of the 

Division by mail or in person. Applications submitted without 

complete and required information shall not be processed until all 

required information has been submitted. Incomplete applications 

shall be returned to the applicant with deficiency in the application 

so noted. The following shall be required for the application: 

(1) full name, physical address, mailing address, 

date of birth, and signature of the licensee. If the 

licensee is not appearing before a license agent 

or a representative of the Division, the 

licensee's signature shall be notarized. 

(2) a statement from the licensee that the 

information and supporting documentation 

submitted with the application is true and 

correct. 

(3) current and valid picture identification of the 

licensee. Acceptable forms of picture 

identification are state driver's license, state 

identification card issued by the Division of 

Motor Vehicles, military identification card, 

resident alien card (green card), or passport; or 

if purchased by mail, a copy thereof. 

(4) certification that the applicant does not have 

four or more marine or estuarine resource 

convictions during the previous three years. 

(5) current articles of incorporation and a current 

list of corporate officers when purchasing a 

license or Commercial Fishing Vessel 

Registration in a corporate name. In the case of 

incorporation of an individual fishing vessel, 

the name of the vessel master shall also be 

specified. The licensee shall notify the 

Morehead City Office of the Division within 

five days of changing the vessel master. 

(6) a current copy of a written partnership 

agreement shall be provided when purchasing a 

license, endorsement, or Commercial Fishing 

Vessel Registration in a partnership name, if a 

partnership is established. 

(7) valid documentation papers or current motor 

boat registration, or copy thereof when 

purchasing a Commercial Fishing Vessel 

Registration. If an application for transfer of 

documentation is pending, a copy of the 

pending application and a notarized bill of sale 

may be submitted. 

(8) affirmation of liability insurance and that the 

operator is knowledgeable of United States 

Coast Guard (USCG) safety requirements for 

the vessels used in the operation in accordance 

with G.S. 113-168.6 when purchasing a 

Commercial Fishing Vessel Registration with a 

for-hire endorsement. 

(d)  In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (c) of this Rule, 

proof of residency for non-residents shall be documented by the 

licensee with certification of the state of residency. Proof of 

residency for residents of North Carolina shall be documented by 

the licensee as follows: 

(1) Standard or Retired Standard Commercial 

Fishing Licenses: A notarized certification 

from the applicant that the applicant is a 

resident of the State of North Carolina as 

defined by G.S. 113-130(4) and: 

(A) a notarized certification from the 

applicant that a North Carolina State 

Income Tax Return was filed for the 

previous calendar or tax year as a 

North Carolina resident; 

(B) a notarized certification that the 

applicant was not required to file a 
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North Carolina State Income Tax 

Return for the previous calendar or tax 

year; or 

(C) military identification or military 

dependent identification, and 

permanent change of station orders or 

assignment orders substantiating the 

military individual's active duty 

assignment at a military facility in 

North Carolina. 

(2) All other types of licenses: 

(A) North Carolina voter registration card; 

(B) current North Carolina Driver's 

License; 

(C) current North Carolina Certificate of 

Domicile; 

(D) current North Carolina Identification 

Card issued by the North Carolina 

Division of Motor Vehicles; or 

(E) military identification or military 

dependent identification, and 

permanent change of station orders or 

assignment orders substantiating the 

military individual's active duty 

assignment at a military facility in 

North Carolina. 

(e)  In addition to the requirements in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of 

this Rule, the following shall be required: 

(1) Blanket For-Hire Captain's CRFL: a valid 

certification from the USCG that allows 

carrying six or fewer passengers or a 

certification from the USCG that allows 

carrying more than six passengers. 

(2) Blanket For-Hire Vessel CRFL or Non-Blanket 

For-Hire Vessel License: 

(A) valid documentation papers or current 

motor boat registration, or copies 

thereof for the vessel engaged as for-

hire; or 

(B) a copy of the pending application and 

a notarized bill of sale if an application 

for transfer of documentation is 

pending. 

(3) Fish Dealer License: 

(A) the physical address of the established 

location where business is conducted 

and, if different, the address where 

records are kept; and 

(B) a valid Permit and Certificate of 

Compliance from the Division of 

Marine Fisheries Shellfish Sanitation 

and Recreational Water Quality 

Section, if purchasing a Fish Dealer 

License with clam or oyster categories 

or a consolidated license. 

(4) Land or Sell License: 

(A) valid documentation papers or current 

motor boat registration, or copy 

thereof; or 

(B) a copy of the pending application and 

a notarized bill of sale if an application 

for transfer of documentation is 

pending. 

The fees for a Land or Sell License shall be based on the vessel's 

homeport as it appears on the USCG documentation papers or the 

state in which the vessel is registered, in accordance with G.S. 

113-169.5. 

(5) Ocean Fishing Pier License: 

(A) the information required in G.S. 113-

169.4; and 

(B) linear length of the pier. A Marine 

Fisheries inspector's signature is 

required to verify the linear length of 

the pier before the license can be 

issued. 

(6) Recreational Fishing Tournament License to 

Sell Fish: name and date or dates of the 

tournament. 

(7) Spotter Plane License: 

(A) the information required in G.S. 113-

171.1; 

(B) the current aircraft registration; and 

(C) a list of operators. 

(f)  For a License to Land Flounder from the Atlantic Ocean, in 

addition to the requirements in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule, 

the following shall be applicable: 

(1) for the purpose of this Paragraph, "license year" 

means the period beginning July 1 of a year 

through June 30 of the following year. 

(2) to qualify for a License to Land Flounder from 

the Atlantic Ocean, the applicant shall: 

(A) have landed in North Carolina at least 

1,000 pounds of flounder from a single 

vessel each year from the Atlantic 

Ocean during any two of the 1992-93, 

1993-94, 1994-95 license years for 

which the person had a vessel that was 

licensed to land in North Carolina; 

(B) have been licensed under G.S. 113-

152 or 113-153 during any two of the 

1992-93, 1993-94, or 1994-95 license 

years; and 

(C) hold a valid Standard or Retired 

Standard Commercial Fishing License 

or valid Land or Sell License. 

(3) it shall be unlawful for a person to hold more 

Licenses to Land Flounder from the Atlantic 

Ocean than the number of vessels that the 

person owns that individually met the eligibility 

requirements of Parts (f)(2)(A) and (f)(2)(B) of 

this Rule. 

(4) the License to Land Flounder from the Atlantic 

Ocean is only valid when used on the vessel 

specified at the time of license issuance. 

(5) at the time of issuance, the applicant for the 

License to Land Flounder from the Atlantic 

Ocean shall specify the name of the vessel 
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master for each License to Land Flounder from 

the Atlantic Ocean issued. 

(6) the holder of the License to Land Flounder from 

the Atlantic Ocean shall notify the Morehead 

City Office of the Division of Marine Fisheries 

within five days of change as to the vessel 

master identified on the license. 

(7) Licenses to Land Flounder from the Atlantic 

Ocean are issued for the current license year. 

(g)  For a Recreational Fishing Tournament License to Sell Fish, 

in addition to the requirements in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this 

Rule, the following shall be applicable: 

(1) it shall be unlawful for anyone other than the 

holder of the Recreational Fishing Tournament 

License to Sell Fish to sell fish taken during a 

recreational fishing tournament. 

(2) fish to be sold under the Recreational Fishing 

Tournament License to Sell Fish shall be sold 

only to licensed fish dealers and shall comply 

with all applicable rules of the Marine Fisheries 

Commission or provisions of proclamations 

issued by the Fisheries Director as authorized 

by the Marine Fisheries Commission. 

(3) it shall be unlawful for a licensed recreational 

fishing tournament organizer to fail to 

accurately and legibly complete a North 

Carolina Recreational Fishing Tournament 

Disposition of Proceeds from the Sale of Fish 

Form provided by the Division of Marine 

Fisheries and submit the form to the Division 

within 30 days after the last day of the 

tournament. 

(h)  It shall be unlawful for a license, endorsement, or Commercial 

Fishing Vessel Registration holder to fail to notify the Division of 

Marine Fisheries within 30 days of a change of name or address, 

in accordance with G.S. 113-169.2. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-168; 113-168.1-6; 

113-169.2-5; 113-171.1; 113-174.3; 113-182; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1997; March 1, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2015; July 1, 2008; December 1, 2006; 

August 1, 2004; August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0102 PROCEDURES AND 

REQUIREMENTS TO RENEW LICENSES, 

ENDORSEMENTS, AND COMMERCIAL FISHING 

VESSEL REGISTRATIONS 

(a)  For the purpose of this Rule, the procedures and requirements 

for the licensee shall also apply to the responsible party, the 

person holding power of attorney, the tournament organizer, and 

the vessel master. 

(b)  To renew Division of Marine Fisheries licenses, 

endorsements, and Commercial Fishing Vessel Registrations, 

except Recreational Commercial Gear Licenses, a renewal 

application shall be submitted by the licensee. Applications 

submitted without complete and required information shall not be 

processed until all required information has been submitted. 

Incomplete applications shall be returned to the licensee with 

deficiency in the application so noted. The following is required 

for the renewal application: 

(1) full name, physical address, mailing address, 

date of birth, and signature of the licensee. 

(2) a statement from the licensee that the 

information and supporting documentation 

submitted with the application is true and 

correct. 

(3) current and valid picture identification of the 

licensee. Acceptable forms of picture 

identification are state driver's license, state 

identification card issued by the Division of 

Motor Vehicles, military identification card, 

resident alien card (green card), or passport; or 

if purchased by mail, a copy thereof. 

(4) the information required in Rule .0101(c)(4) 

through (c)(8) of this Section, if changed since 

last issuance of the license, endorsement, or 

Commercial Fishing Vessel Registration. 

(5) the information required in Rule .0101(e)(1) of 

this Section, if the linear length of the Ocean 

Fishing Pier has changed. 

(6) a valid Permit and Certificate of Compliance 

from the Division's Shellfish Sanitation and 

Recreational Water Quality Section, if 

renewing a Fish Dealer License with clam or 

oyster categories or a consolidated license. 

(7) certification that all information on the 

application is true and accurate. Notarization of 

the signature on renewal applications shall not 

be required. 

The Division may require current copies of documentation for 

licenses, endorsements, and Commercial Fishing Vessel 

Registrations upon renewal when necessary to verify inconsistent 

information or the information cannot be verified by independent 

sources. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-168; 113-168.1-6; 

113-169.2-5; 113-171.1; 113-174.3; 113-182; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2006; August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0103 AUXILIARY VESSELS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to fail to comply with Commercial Fishing 

Vessel Registration requirements set forth in G.S. 113-168.6 to 

operate a vessel used in conjunction with a commercial fishing 

operation. 

(b)  An individual in command of a vessel that is auxiliary to a 

vessel with a Commercial Fishing Vessel Registration with an 

individual aboard who holds a Standard Commercial Fishing 
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License or a Retired Standard Commercial Fishing License 

engaged in a commercial fishing operation using a pound net, long 

haul, or beach seine is exempt from the provisions of G.S. 113-

168.2 (a1). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-168.1; 113-168.2; 

113-168.5; 113-168.6; 113-182; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0104 COMMERCIAL UNLOADING 

OF FISH 

It shall be unlawful to unload fish from a vessel in North Carolina 

that has been engaged in a commercial fishing operation outside 

State waters without possessing a valid: 

(1) Standard or Retired Standard Commercial 

Fishing License with applicable endorsement; 

(2) Shellfish License for North Carolina Residents 

without a Standard Commercial Fishing 

License; or 

(3) Land or Sell License. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-168.1; 113-168.2; 

113-168.4; 113-169.5; 113-182; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0105 REQUIREMENTS FOR MUSSEL 

DEALERS 

Persons dealing in mussels who are subject to licensing 

requirements under the provisions of G.S. 113-169.3 shall be 

required to purchase only the license applicable to clam dealers 

and shall be required to hold a valid Permit and Certificate of 

Compliance from the Division of Marine Fisheries Shellfish 

Sanitation and Recreational Water Quality Section, as described 

in Rule .0101 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-169.3; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0107 LICENSE REPLACEMENT AND 

FEES 

(a)  A licensee shall receive a replacement for a commercial 

license, endorsement, Commercial Fishing Vessel Registration 

decal, or Recreational Commercial Gear License upon payment to 

the Division of Marine Fisheries a fee of ten dollars ($10.00) or a 

fee equal to the initial cost of the license, endorsement, or 

Commercial Fishing Vessel Registration, whichever is less. 

(b)  A licensee shall receive a replacement Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License or a for-hire license as defined in G.S. 113-174.3 

upon payment to the Division of Marine Fisheries a fee of five 

dollars ($5.00). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-168.1; 113-168.6; 

113-169.4; 113-173; 113-174.1; 113-174.2; 113-174.3; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2006; August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0109 ASSIGNMENT OF STANDARD 

COMMERCIAL FISHING LICENSE 

(a)  For the purpose of this Rule, "licensee" shall mean the person 

issued a Standard Commercial Fishing License and "assignee" 

shall mean the individual to whom the licensee assigns a Standard 

Commercial Fishing License in accordance with the requirements 

of this Rule. 

(b)  The Division of Marine Fisheries shall provide assignment 

forms to the licensee upon request. Only Division assignment 

forms shall be used to obtain an assignment. On the assignment 

form, the licensee shall designate what, if any, endorsements are 

included in the assignment. Endorsements shall not be assigned 

independent of the Standard Commercial Fishing License. It shall 

be unlawful for the licensee or the assignee to fail to submit within 

five days the completed assignment form to any office of the 

Division in person or by mail to the Morehead City Office. The 

Morehead City Office is located at 3441 Arendell Street, 

Morehead City, North Carolina, 28557. If the completed 

assignment form is not received by the Division within five days 

from the date it was signed, the assignment shall be null and void. 

Incomplete forms shall be returned to the licensee with deficiency 

in the form so noted. An assignment is in effect from the date 

specified on the assignment form and when: 

(1) the assignment form is complete with all 

required information; 

(2) signatures of the current license holder and the 

assignee are notarized; and 

(3) the assignee has in the assignee's possession the 

current licensee's original actual Standard 

Commercial Fishing License, including 

applicable endorsements in accordance with 

G.S. 113-169.2. 

(c)  For an extension of time for assignments, a new assignment 

form shall be completed in accordance with Subparagraphs (b)(1) 

through (b)(3) of this Rule. 

(d)  Assignments shall terminate: 

(1) when the date specified on the assignment form 

is reached; 

(2) if the licensee or assignee are determined 

ineligible for a license or assignment; 

(3) if the Division receives a notarized statement 

from the current license holder stating a revised 

date for an earlier assignment termination; 

(4) upon the licensee or assignee's death; or 

(5) when the Standard Commercial Fishing 

License expires. 

(e)  It shall be unlawful for an individual assigned a Standard 

Commercial Fishing License when involved in a commercial 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

37:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2022 

102 

fishing operation to fail to have the original actual Standard 

Commercial Fishing License, any assigned endorsements, and a 

copy of the assignment form in the individual's possession ready 

at hand for inspection in accordance with G.S. 113-168.1. 

(f)  All landings occurring during the time of the assignment shall 

be credited to the licensee, not the assignee. 

(g)  It shall be unlawful to be assigned more than a single Standard 

Commercial Fishing License at any one time. It shall be unlawful 

to assign a Standard Commercial Fishing License to more than 

one individual at any one time. Assignments shall only be made 

by the licensee and shall not be further assigned by assignees. 

Masters identified on the Standard Commercial Fishing Licenses 

of corporations consisting of an individual fishing vessel shall not 

assign such licenses. 

(h)  It shall be unlawful for a person to accept assignment of a 

Standard Commercial Fishing License for which they are 

ineligible. 

(i)  It shall be unlawful for any assignee of a Standard Commercial 

Fishing License not to return the assignment and the Standard 

Commercial Fishing License with any assigned endorsements to 

the licensee within five days of notice that the assignment has 

been terminated or a demand by the licensee to return the license. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-135; 113-168.1; 

113-168.2; 113-168.5; 113-169.2; 113-182; 113-187; 143B-

289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 2, 1999; July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

15A NCAC 03O .0110 LICENSE REFUNDS 

All license fees are non-refundable except if licenses are issued 

by the Division of Marine Fisheries in error. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-

289.52; 147-84;  

Eff. March 1, 1995; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0111 SURRENDER OF LICENSES 

(a)  It shall be unlawful for any licensee to refuse to surrender to 

an agent of the Secretary all licenses, license receipts, 

endorsements, commercial fishing vessel registration or decals, 

and other forms and records relating to the license following 

service of notice of suspension or revocation of licenses in 

accordance with G.S. 113-171 and Rule .0114 of this Section. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful for any person in custody or possession 

of any licenses, license receipt, endorsements, commercial fishing 

vessel registration or decals, and other documentation required to 

be surrendered to refuse to surrender same to an agent of the 

Secretary making such demand. 

(c)  A license issued by the Division in error shall be required to 

be surrendered immediately upon service of a notice by an agent 

of the Fisheries Director to surrender the license. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-171; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; S.L. 2010-145, s. 1; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0113 OCEAN FISHING PIER 

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

It shall be unlawful for the responsible party of the Ocean Fishing 

Pier License to fail to provide to the Division of Marine Fisheries 

by the 10th of each month a daily count of anglers fishing from 

the licensed pier from the previous month, including a daily count 

of zero for days when anglers did not fish. The information shall 

be submitted on a paper form provided by the Division or via 

electronic mail to the electronic mail address provided at the time 

of license issuance. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-169.4; 113-170.3; 

113-174.1; 113-182; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. April 1, 2011; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0203 SHELLFISH LEASE 

APPLICATION PROCESSING 

(a)  After acceptance of a completed shellfish lease application as 

set forth in Rule .0202 of this Section, the proposed shellfish lease 

area shall be inspected by agents of the Division of Marine 

Fisheries. Proposed shellfish lease areas inconsistent with 

applicable standards contained or referenced in Rule .0201 of this 

Section shall result in the return of the application for amendment 

to remove the inconsistencies. If the boundaries of the proposed 

shellfish lease area are modified, the stakes identifying such areas 

shall be relocated accordingly by the applicant or applicants. The 

failure of the applicant or applicants to amend the application or 

modify the shellfish lease area identification, when required, 

within 30 days of notification shall result in denial of the 

application. 

(b)  If the initial or amended shellfish lease application is deemed 

consistent with all applicable requirements, the Secretary or the 

Secretary's designee shall notify the applicant and publish notices 

of intention to lease in accordance with the standards in G.S. 

113-202(f). 

(c)  The Secretary shall consider the shellfish lease application, 

the Division's proposed lease area analysis, and public comments, 

and may in the Secretary's discretion lease or decline to lease the 

proposed lease area or any part thereof. Special conditions may be 

imposed so that shellfish leases may be issued that would 

otherwise be denied. Should an applicant decide not to accept any 

special condition imposed on the shellfish lease by the Secretary, 

the application shall be considered denied. 

(d)  After approval of a shellfish lease by the Secretary, the 

applicant or applicants shall mark the lease in accordance with 

Rule .0204 of this Section within 30 days of approval. 

(e)  Proposed shellfish bottom lease areas remain public bottom 

until a lease contract has been executed by the Secretary. 
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(f)  Proposed shellfish water column lease areas superjacent to 

bottom leases and franchises remain public water until a lease 

contract has been executed by the Secretary. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

113-202; 113-202.1; 113-202.2; 113-206; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2008; March 1, 1994; September 1, 

1991; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0205 SHELLFISH LEASE RENEWAL 

(a)  Shellfish lease renewal applications shall be provided to lease 

holders by the Division of Marine Fisheries as follows: 

(1) for a shellfish bottom lease, a renewal 

application shall be provided in January of the 

year of expiration. 

(2) for a shellfish water column lease, a renewal 

application shall be provided at least 90 days 

prior to the expiration date. 

(b)  A shellfish lease renewal application shall be accompanied by 

a Shellfish Lease Management Plan that meets the requirements 

of Rule .0202 of this Section. The non-refundable filing fee set 

forth in G.S. 113-202(j) shall accompany each renewal 

application for a shellfish bottom lease. 

(c)  To be eligible to renew a shellfish lease, persons holding any 

acres under a shellfish lease or franchise shall meet the 

requirements established in Rules .0201 and .0204 of this Section 

and 15A NCAC 03O .0503(a). 

(d)  If it is determined, after due notice to the shellfish lease holder 

and after opportunity for the lease holder to be heard, that the lease 

holder has not complied with the requirements of this Section or 

that the lease as issued is inconsistent with this Section, the 

Secretary may decline to renew, at the end of the current terms, 

any lease. The shellfish lease holder may appeal the Secretary's 

decision by filing a petition for a contested case under G.S. 150B-

23. 

(e)  Pursuant to G.S. 113-202(a)(6), the Secretary is not authorized 

to approve renewal of a shellfish lease in an area designated as 

polluted by a proclamation issued by the Fisheries Director. 

Excluded from this requirement are shellfish leases located in 

conditionally approved waters that have been temporarily closed 

when the conditions of the written management plan are not met 

as described in 15A NCAC 18A .0905. Shellfish leases partially 

closed due to pollution shall be amended to exclude the area 

closed to shellfish harvest prior to renewal. 

(f)  If the Secretary declines to renew a shellfish lease that has 

been determined to be inconsistent with the standards of this 

Section, the Secretary, with the agreement of the lease holder, 

may issue a renewal lease for all or part of the area previously 

leased to the lease holder that contains conditions necessary to 

conform the renewal lease to the requirements of this Section for 

new leases. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

113-202; 113-202.1; 113-202.2; 113-206; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2005; May 1, 1997; March 1, 1995; 

March 1, 1994; October 1, 1992; September 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0206 SHELLFISH LEASE 

APPLICATION: REQUEST FOR REVIEW 

(a)  Any member of the public shall be allowed an opportunity to 

comment on any shellfish lease application during the public 

comment period and subsequent public hearing at which the lease 

application is being considered by the Secretary as set forth in 

G.S. 113-202. 

(b)  Procedures for how an applicant or a person other than the 

applicant who is aggrieved may proceed with a contested case 

based on dissatisfaction of the Secretary's decision on a shellfish 

lease application are provided in G.S. 113-202(g). Additionally, a 

person other than the applicant who is aggrieved may submit a 

request for a determination of the appropriateness of a contested 

case hearing. The request and any supporting documentation for 

the basis of the aggrieved person seeking to commence a 

contested case shall be submitted within 30 days after the disputed 

decision is made to the Shellfish Cultivation Lease Review 

Committee and addressed to the Marine Fisheries Commission 

Office, Division of Marine Fisheries, 3441 Arendell Street, P.O. 

Box 769, Morehead City, NC 28557. The request shall be 

submitted on a form provided by the Division. 

(c)  The Shellfish Cultivation Lease Review Committee shall 

notify the aggrieved person of the date of the public meeting for 

the Committee to consider the request no later than seven calendar 

days before the date of the public meeting. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

113-202; 143B-289.52; 143B-289.57; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1994; September 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0207 SHELLFISH LEASE AND 

FRANCHISE PRODUCTION REPORTS 

(a)  The holder or holders of a shellfish lease or franchise shall 

provide an annual production report to the Division of Marine 

Fisheries by March 31 of each year showing the amounts of 

material planted, purchased, and harvested; where and when the 

material was obtained; and when the material was planted in 

accordance with Rules .0201 and .0202 of this Section. The report 

shall include documentation of purchased seed in accordance with 

Rule .0201 of this Section. 

(b)  The Division shall provide reporting forms annually to each 

shellfish lease or franchise holder to be used for the annual 

production report. 

(c)  Failure by the holder or holders of the shellfish lease or 

franchise to submit the required annual production report or filing 

an incomplete report or a report containing false information 

constitutes grounds for termination as set forth in Rule .0208 of 

this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

113-202; 113-202.1; 113-202.2; 113-206; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 
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15A NCAC 03O .0208 TERMINATION PROCEDURES 

FOR SHELLFISH LEASES AND FRANCHISES 

(a)  Procedures for termination of shellfish leases and franchises 

are provided in G.S. 113-202.  

(b)  Consistent with G.S. 113-202(l1) and G.S. 113-201(b), a 

shellfish lease or franchise holder that failed to meet the 

requirements in G.S. 113-202, G.S. 113-202.1, G.S. 113-202.2, or 

the rules of this Section that govern a determination of failure to 

utilize the lease on a continuing basis for the commercial 

production of shellfish may be granted a single extension period 

of no more than two years per contract period upon a showing of 

hardship by written notice to the Fisheries Director or the 

Fisheries Director's designee received prior to the expiration of 

the lease term that documents one of the following occurrences 

caused or will cause the lease or franchise holder to fail to meet 

lease requirements: 

(1) death, illness, or incapacity of the shellfish 

lease or franchise holder or the holder's 

immediate family as defined in G.S. 113-168 

that prevented or will prevent the lease or 

franchise holder from working the lease; 

(2) damage to the shellfish lease or franchise from 

hurricanes, tropical storms, or other severe 

weather events recognized by the National 

Weather Service; 

(3) shellfish mortality caused by disease, natural 

predators, or parasites; or 

(4) damage to the shellfish lease or franchise from 

a manmade disaster that triggers a state 

emergency declaration or federal emergency 

declaration. 

(c)  In the case of hardship as described in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule, the notice shall state the shellfish lease or franchise number. 

In the case of hardship as described in Subparagraph (b)(1) of this 

Rule, the notice shall also state the name of the shellfish lease or 

franchise holder or immediate family member and either the date 

of death or the date of the illness or incapacity. The Fisheries 

Director may require a doctor's verification that the illness or 

incapacity occurred. In the case of hardship as described in 

Subparagraphs (b)(2) through (b)(4) of this Rule, the notice shall 

also include documentation of damage to the shellfish lease or 

franchise. Written notice and supporting documentation shall be 

addressed to the Director of the Division of Marine Fisheries, 

3441 Arendell Street, P.O. Box 769, Morehead City, NC 28557. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

113-202; 113-202.1; 113-202.2; 113-205; 113-206; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1997; March 1, 1995; March 1, 1994; 

October 1, 1992; September 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2002; October 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2017; April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0210 STANDARDS AND 

REQUIREMENTS FOR FRANCHISES 

(a)  Shellfish Management Plans, prepared in accordance with the 

standards in Rule .0202 of this Section, shall be provided to the 

Division of Marine Fisheries within 30 days following formal 

recognition of a valid chain of title and at ten-year intervals 

thereafter. 

(b)  The Shellfish Management Plan requirements in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule and all other requirements and conditions of this 

Section affecting management of franchises shall apply to all 

valid franchises. 

(c)  Commercial production requirements for franchises shall be 

identical to that required for shellfish bottom leases in accordance 

with Rules .0201 and .0207 of this Section averaged over the most 

recent three-year period after January 1 following the second 

anniversary of the dates of recognition of claims as valid 

franchises and continuing throughout the term of Shellfish 

Management Plans required in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

113-202; 113-202.2; 113-205; 113-206; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2008; September 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0211 FISHING GEAR 

REQUIREMENTS FOR SHELLFISH LEASES AND 

FRANCHISES 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to use any trawl net, long haul seine, swipe 

net, dredge, or mechanical method for shellfish on any shellfish 

lease or franchise except:  

(1) for a holder of a Permit to Use Mechanical 

Methods for Shellfish on Shellfish Leases or 

Franchises; or 

(2) for the purpose of placing and retrieving cages, 

bags, or other aquaculture gear within any 

shellfish lease or franchise. 

(b)  Permits to Use Mechanical Methods for Shellfish on Shellfish 

Leases or Franchises shall be issued by the Division of Marine 

Fisheries in compliance with 15A NCAC 03O .0500. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 

113-206; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0301 ELIGIBILITY FOR 

RECREATIONAL COMMERCIAL GEAR LICENSES 

Recreational Commercial Gear Licenses shall only be issued to 

individuals. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-173; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. August 9, 1994, for a period of 180 days 

or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Eff. February 1, 1995; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 
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15A NCAC 03O .0302 AUTHORIZED GEAR FOR 

RECREATIONAL COMMERCIAL GEAR LICENSES 

(a)  The following are the only commercial fishing gear authorized 

(including restrictions) for use under a valid Recreational 

Commercial Gear License: 

(1) one seine 30 feet or over in length but not 

greater than 100 feet with a mesh length less 

than two and one-half inches when deployed or 

retrieved without the use of a vessel or any 

other mechanical methods. A vessel may be 

used only to transport the seine; 

(2) one shrimp trawl with a headrope not exceeding 

26 feet in length per vessel; 

(3) with or without a vessel, five eel, fish, shrimp, 

or crab pots in any combination, except only 

two pots of the five may be eel pots. Peeler pots 

are not authorized for recreational purposes; 

(4) one multiple hook or multiple bait trotline up to 

100 feet in length; 

(5) gill nets: 

(A) not more than 100 yards of gill nets 

with a mesh length equal to or greater 

than two and one-half inches except as 

provided in Part (C) of this 

Subparagraph. Attendance shall be 

required at all times; 

(B) not more than 100 yards of gill nets 

with a mesh length equal to or greater 

than five and one-half inches except as 

provided in Part (C) of this 

Subparagraph. Attendance shall be 

required when used from one hour 

after sunrise through one hour before 

sunset in Internal Waters east and 

north of the Highway 58 Bridge at 

Emerald Isle and in the Atlantic Ocean 

east and north of 77 04.0000' W. 

Attendance shall be required at all 

times in Internal Waters west and 

south of the Highway 58 Bridge at 

Emerald Isle and in the Atlantic Ocean 

west and south of 77 04.0000' W; 

(C) not more than 100 yards of gill net 

may be used at any one time, except 

that when two or more Recreational 

Commercial Gear License holders are 

on board a vessel, a maximum of 200 

yards may be used from a vessel; and 

(D) it shall be unlawful to possess on 

board a vessel more than 100 yards of 

gill nets with a mesh length less than 

five and one-half inches and more than 

100 yards of gill nets with a mesh 

length equal to or greater than five and 

one-half inches identified as 

recreational commercial fishing 

equipment when only one 

Recreational Commercial Gear 

License holder is on board a vessel. It 

shall be unlawful to possess on board 

a vessel more than 200 yards of gill 

nets with a mesh length less than five 

and one-half inches and more than 200 

yards of gill nets with a mesh length 

equal to or greater than five and one-

half inches identified as recreational 

commercial fishing equipment when 

two or more Recreational Commercial 

Gear License holders are on board a 

vessel; 

(6) one hand-operated device generating pulsating 

electrical current for the taking of catfish in the 

area described in 15A NCAC 03J .0304; 

(7) skimmer trawls not exceeding 26 feet in total 

combined width; and 

(8) one pound net used to take shrimp with each 

lead 10 feet or less in length and with a 

minimum lead net mesh of one and one-half 

inches, and enclosures constructed of net mesh 

of one and one-fourth inches or greater and with 

all dimensions being 36 inches or less. 

Attendance shall be required at all times and all 

gear shall be removed from the water when not 

being fished. Gear is to be marked and set as 

specified in 15A NCAC 03J .0501. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to use more than the quantity of authorized 

gear specified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, regardless of the 

number of individuals on board a vessel possessing a valid 

Recreational Commercial Gear License. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful for an individual to violate the restrictions 

of or use gear other than that authorized by Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule. 

(d)  Unless otherwise provided, this Rule does not exempt 

Recreational Commercial Gear License holders from the 

provisions of other applicable rules of the Marine Fisheries 

Commission or provisions of proclamations issued by the 

Fisheries Director as authorized by the Marine Fisheries 

Commission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-173; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. August 9, 1994, for a period of 180 days 

or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Eff. February 1, 1995; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 1999; July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2009; July 1, 2006; November 1, 2005; 

August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0303 POSSESSION LIMITS FOR 

RECREATIONAL COMMERCIAL GEAR LICENSES 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to possess more than a single recreational 

possession limit when only one individual on board a vessel 

possesses a valid Recreational Commercial Gear License, 
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regardless of the number of Recreational Commercial Gear 

Licenses an individual holds, and recreational commercial fishing 

equipment as described in Rule .0302(a) of this Section is used, 

regardless of the number of individuals on board a vessel. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to possess individual recreational 

possession limits in excess of the number of individuals on board 

a vessel holding a valid Recreational Commercial Gear License 

except as provided in Paragraph (f) of this Rule. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful for any individual who holds both a 

Recreational Commercial Gear License and a Standard or Retired 

Standard Commercial Fishing License and who is in possession 

of identified recreational commercial fishing equipment as 

described in Rule .0302(a) of this Section to exceed the single 

recreational possession limit. 

(d)  It shall be unlawful for individuals on board a vessel 

collectively holding only one Recreational Commercial Gear 

License and any Standard Commercial Fishing License or Retired 

Standard Commercial Fishing License and who are in possession 

of any identified recreational commercial fishing equipment as 

described in Rule .0302(a) of this Section to exceed the single 

recreational possession limit. 

(e)  It shall be unlawful to possess more than 48 quarts, heads on, 

or 30 quarts, heads off, of shrimp when only one individual on 

board a vessel possesses a valid Recreational Commercial Gear 

License, regardless of the number of Recreational Commercial 

Gear Licenses an individual holds, and recreational commercial 

fishing equipment as described in Rule .0302(a) of this Section is 

used. 

(f)  It shall be unlawful to possess more than 96 quarts, heads on, 

or 60 quarts, heads off, of shrimp if more than one individual on 

board a vessel possesses a valid Recreational Commercial Gear 

License and recreational commercial fishing equipment as 

described in Rule .0302(a) of this Section is used. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-170.4; 113-173; 

113-182; 143B-289.52; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. August 9, 1994, for a period of 180 days 

or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Eff. February 1, 1995; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 7, 1998; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2006; August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0401 STANDARD COMMERCIAL 

FISHING LICENSE ELIGIBILITY BOARD 

(a)  The Chair of the Marine Fisheries Commission, the Secretary 

of the Department of Environmental Quality, and the Fisheries 

Director may each name a designee and an alternate designee to 

serve on the Standard Commercial Fishing License Eligibility 

Board as their representative in their absence. 

(b)  The Standard Commercial Fishing License Eligibility Board 

shall not review an application for eligibility without a quorum of 

the Eligibility Board members or designees being present. Two or 

more members of the Standard Commercial Fishing License 

Eligibility Board or their designees constitute a quorum. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-

289.52; S.L. 1998-225, s. 4.24; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0402 STANDARD COMMERCIAL 

FISHING LICENSE ELIGIBILITY APPLICATION 

PROCESS 

(a)  Application forms for determination of eligibility for the 

Standard Commercial Fishing License Eligibility Pool are 

available at all offices of the Division of Marine Fisheries and 

online at https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/marine-

fisheries/licenses-permits-and-leases/commercial-fishing-

licenses/eligibility-pool and shall be submitted to any Office of 

the Division for processing. 

(b)  Only one application per individual for determination of 

eligibility for the Standard Commercial Fishing License 

Eligibility Pool shall be accepted or may be pending at any one 

time. An applicant may have only one entry in the Standard 

Commercial Fishing License Eligibility Pool at any one time. 

(c)  Individuals who currently hold or are eligible to purchase a 

Standard or Retired Standard Commercial Fishing License shall 

not be eligible to apply for additional Standard Commercial 

Fishing Licenses through the Standard Commercial Fishing 

License Eligibility Pool. 

(d)  If an applicant has died or becomes ineligible and is 

subsequently selected from the Standard Commercial Fishing 

License Eligibility Pool, that license eligibility shall automatically 

revert to the Eligibility Pool. 

(e)  Persons claiming retirement from commercial fishing or 

transferring their Standard Commercial Fishing License shall not 

be eligible to apply for a Standard Commercial Fishing License 

through the Standard Commercial Fishing License Eligibility 

Pool for two years from the date of the last transfer, except as 

provided in Rule .0404(3) of this Section. 

(f)  Applicants shall notify the Division within 30 days of a change 

of address. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-

289.52; S.L. 1998-225, s. 4:24; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2008; February 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0403 STANDARD COMMERCIAL 

FISHING LICENSE ELIGIBILITY BOARD REVIEW 

(a)  After determination of eligibility by the Standard Commercial 

Fishing License Eligibility Board, applicants will be notified in 

writing as to the applicant meeting or not meeting required 

eligibility criteria for the Standard Commercial Fishing License 

Eligibility Pool. 

(b)  The Marine Fisheries Commission shall determine the 

number of licenses available from the Standard Commercial 

Fishing License Eligibility Pool at its first regularly scheduled 

meeting following July 1 of each year. 
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(c)  The Standard Commercial Fishing License Eligibility Board 

shall meet to review applications as often as deemed necessary by 

the Chair of the Eligibility Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-

289.52; S.L. 1998-225, s. 4.24; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0404 STANDARD COMMERCIAL 

FISHING LICENSE ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA 

In determining eligibility of an applicant for the Standard 

Commercial Fishing License Eligibility Pool, the Standard 

Commercial Fishing License Eligibility Board shall apply the 

following criteria: 

(1) involvement in commercial fishing: 

(a) significant involvement in the 

commercial fishing industry for three 

of the last five years; 

(b) significant involvement in commercial 

fishing or in the commercial fishing 

industry prior to the last five years; 

(c) in the case of an applicant who is 

under 16 years of age, significant 

involvement in commercial fishing for 

two out of the last five years with a 

parent, legal guardian, grandparent, or 

other adult; or 

(d) significant involvement of the 

applicant's family in commercial 

fishing. For the purpose of this Sub-

Item, family shall include mother, 

father, brothers, sisters, spouse, 

children, grandparents, or legal 

guardian. 

For the purposes of this Rule, "significant 

involvement" shall mean persons or 

corporations who are engaged in the actual 

taking of fish for sale, from the waters of the 

State, or other states, jurisdictions, or federal 

waters, or any licensed dealer or the dealer's 

employees who purchase fish at the point of 

landing. Significant involvement does not 

include activities such as those who transport 

fish from the point of landing, those who sell or 

make commercial or recreational fishing gear, 

those who operate bait and tackle shops unless 

they are engaged in the actual taking of bait for 

sale, or those who work in fish markets or crab 

picking operations; 

(2) compliance with applicable laws, regulations, 

and rules: 

(a) the applicant shall not have any 

licenses, endorsements, or 

Commercial Fishing Vessel 

Registrations issued by the Division of 

Marine Fisheries or the right to hold 

them under suspension or revocation 

at the time of application or during the 

eligibility review; 

(b) if selected for the Standard 

Commercial Fishing License 

Eligibility Pool, the applicant shall 

become ineligible for the Standard 

Commercial Fishing License 

Eligibility Pool if any licenses, 

endorsements, or Commercial Fishing 

Vessel Registrations or the right to 

hold them issued by the Division are 

suspended or revoked; 

(c) four convictions within the last three 

years or the number of convictions that 

would cause suspension or revocation 

of licenses, endorsements, or 

Commercial Fishing Vessel 

Registrations as set forth in Rule .0114 

of this Subchapter within the last three 

years shall result in the application 

being denied. An applicant for the 

Standard Commercial Fishing License 

Eligibility Pool shall provide 

certification that the applicant does not 

have four or more marine or estuarine 

resource convictions during the 

previous three years, as set forth in 

Rule .0101 of this Subchapter; and 

(d) a record of habitual violations 

evidenced by eight or more 

convictions in the last 10 years shall 

result in the application being denied. 

For purposes of eligibility for the Standard 

Commercial Fishing License Eligibility Pool, 

the term convictions shall include any 

conviction for violation of any provision of 

Chapter 113 of the North Carolina General 

Statutes and any rule implementing or 

authorized by such statutes, any conviction for 

violation of G.S. 76-40 and any rule 

implementing or authorized by such statute, any 

conviction of Chapter 75A of the North 

Carolina General Statutes and any rule 

implementing or authorized by such statutes, 

any conviction for violation of any provision of 

Article 7 of Chapter 143B of the North Carolina 

General Statutes and any rule implementing or 

authorized by such statutes, any conviction of 

resist, obstruct, or delay involving a Marine 

Fisheries Inspector or Wildlife Protector under 

G.S. 14-223, and any conviction involving 

assaultive behavior toward a Marine Fisheries 

Inspector or other governmental official of the 

Department of Environmental Quality or the 

Wildlife Resources Commission; 

(3) the applicant shall not have transferred a 

Standard Commercial Fishing License granted 
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by the Standard Commercial Fishing License 

Eligibility Board; and 

(4) an applicant for the Standard Commercial 

Fishing License Eligibility Pool shall meet all 

other statutory eligibility requirements for a 

Standard Commercial Fishing License. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-168.1; 113-168.2; 

113-182; 143B-289.52; S.L. 1998-225, s. 4.24; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2008; February 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0405 STANDARD COMMERCIAL 

FISHING LICENSE ELIGIBILITY POOL APPLICATION 

DOCUMENTATION 

(a)  The Standard Commercial Fishing License Eligibility Pool 

application form required by Rule .0402 of this Section to be 

submitted to the Division of Marine Fisheries shall include the 

following items for the applicant: 

(1) participant identification number; 

(2) full name; 

(3) if applying as a business: 

(A) business name; 

(B) state of incorporation; 

(C) charter state; 

(D) full name of business owner; 

(E) full names of business agents, if 

applicable; and 

(F) type of business entity, either 

corporation, partnership, sole 

proprietorship, or limited liability 

company; 

(4) type of picture identification used to verify the 

applicant's identify, either state driver's license, 

state identification card issued by the Division 

of Motor Vehicles, military identification card, 

resident alien card, or passport, and 

identification number and identification 

expiration date; 

(5) date of birth; 

(6) state of primary residence; 

(7) e-mail address, if applicable; 

(8) physical address; 

(9) mailing address; 

(10) home phone number, business phone number, 

fax number, and cellular phone number, if 

applicable; and 

(11) race, gender, height, weight, eye color, and hair 

color. 

If applying as a business, the business agent's information is 

required for Subparagraphs (a)(2) and (a)(4) through (a)(11) of 

this Rule. 

(b)  Documentation for applications for determination of 

eligibility for the Standard Commercial Fishing License 

Eligibility Pool shall include: 

(1) statements from individuals verifying the 

applicant's involvement in commercial fishing 

or the commercial fishing industry, which shall 

contain the individual's name, address, and 

telephone number, and the individual's 

signature shall be notarized; 

(2) proof of income derived from commercial 

fishing or the commercial fishing industry. 

Proof of this income shall be tax records; and 

(3) the extent to which the applicant has complied 

with federal and state laws, regulations, and 

rules relating to coastal fishing and protection 

of the environment. Federal compliance will be 

verified by a notarized statement from the 

applicant that the applicant has complied with 

federal laws, as set forth in Rule .0101 of this 

Subchapter. 

(c)  All documents required by this Rule shall be notarized. 

(d)  Applications shall be legible and complete or they will be 

returned. 

(e) It shall be unlawful to submit false statements on applications 

or supporting documents. If eligibility is based on false 

information provided by the applicant, this eligibility shall be 

automatically revoked. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-

289.52; S.L. 1998-225, s. 4.24; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0406 STANDARD COMMERCIAL 

FISHING LICENSE ELIGIBILITY POOL 

CERTIFICATION 

Annual certification to maintain an eligible application in the 

Standard Commercial Fishing License Eligibility Pool shall be as 

follows: 

(1) the applicant shall certify that the information 

on the applicant's original application is correct 

and that the applicant desires to remain in the 

Standard Commercial Fishing License 

Eligibility Pool. A certification form shall be 

provided and mailed to the applicant at the last 

known address by the Division of Marine 

Fisheries; 

(2) the certification form with any changes, such as 

address, phone number, or updated fisheries 

involvement information since the last 

application or certification, shall be notarized 

and submitted to the Division within 12 months 

of the initial application and annually 

thereafter; and 

(3) failure to return certification that an application 

is correct or with changes within 30 days from 

when the Division mailed the form to the 

applicant shall result in the application being 

removed from the Standard Commercial 

Fishing License Eligibility Pool. An applicant 

that has been removed from the Standard 
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Commercial Fishing License Eligibility Pool 

shall receive a notice from the Division. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-

289.52; S.L. 1998-225, s. 4.24; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0502 GENERAL PERMIT 

CONDITIONS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to violate any permit condition. 

(b)  The following conditions shall apply to all permits issued by 

the Fisheries Director: 

(1) it shall be unlawful to: 

(A) operate under the permit except in 

areas, at times, and under conditions 

specified on the permit. 

(B) operate under a permit without having 

the permit or copy thereof in 

possession of the permittee or the 

permittee's designees at all times of 

operation and the permit or copy 

thereof shall be ready at hand for 

inspection, except for a Pound Net Set 

Permit. 

(C) operate under a permit without having 

a current picture identification in 

possession and ready at hand for 

inspection. 

(D) refuse to allow inspection and 

sampling of a permitted activity by an 

agent of the Division of Marine 

Fisheries. 

(E) fail to provide complete and accurate 

information requested by the Division 

in connection with the permitted 

activity. 

(F) provide false information in the 

application for initial issuance, 

renewal, or transfer of a permit. 

(G) hold a permit issued by the Fisheries 

Director if not eligible to hold any 

license required as a condition for that 

permit as stated in Rule .0501 of this 

Section. 

(H) fail to provide reports within the 

timeframe required by the specific 

permit conditions. 

(I) fail to keep such records and accounts 

as required by the rules in this Chapter 

for determination of conservation 

policy, equitable and efficient 

administration and enforcement, or 

promotion of commercial or 

recreational fisheries. 

(J) assign or transfer permits issued by the 

Fisheries Director, except for a Pound 

Net Set Permit as authorized by 15A 

NCAC 03J .0504. 

(2) the Fisheries Director or the Fisheries Director's 

agent may, by conditions of the permit, impose 

on a commercial fishing operation and for 

recreational purposes any of the following 

restrictions for the permitted purposes: 

(A) specify time; 

(B) specify area; 

(C) specify means and methods; 

(D) specify record keeping and reporting 

requirements; 

(E) specify season; 

(F) specify species; 

(G) specify size; 

(H) specify quantity; 

(I) specify disposition of resources; 

(J) specify marking requirements; and 

(K) specify harvest conditions. 

(3) unless specifically stated as a condition on the 

permit, all statutes, rules, and proclamations 

shall apply to the permittee and the permittee's 

designees. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-169.1; 113-170.2; 

113-170.3; 113-182; 113-210; 143B-289.52; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. May 1, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2009; September 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03O .0504 SUSPENSION AND 

REVOCATION OF PERMITS 

(a)  All commercial and recreational permits issued under Article 

14A, Article 14B, and Article 25A of Chapter 113, and rules of 

the Marine Fisheries Commission shall be subject to suspension 

and revocation. For the purpose of this Rule and in accordance 

with G.S. 150B-2, "permit" includes "certification" and 

"certificate of compliance". 

(b)  If a license is required to hold a permit: 

(1) all permits shall be suspended or revoked if the 

permittee's license privilege has been 

suspended or revoked as set forth in G.S. 113-

171 and Rule .0114 of this Subchapter. The 

duration of the permit suspension or revocation 

shall be the same as the license suspension or 

revocation. 

(2) in the event a person makes application for a 

new permit during any period of license or 

permit suspension, no new permit shall be 

issued during the suspension period. 

(3) in the case of revocation of license privileges, 

the former licensee shall not be eligible to apply 

for reinstatement of a revoked permit while 

license privileges are revoked. 

(c)  If a license is not required to hold a permit, in the case of 

revocation of a permit, the former permittee shall not be eligible 
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to apply for reinstatement of a revoked permit for a period of six 

months. 

(d)  It shall be unlawful to violate any permit condition. For 

violation of permit conditions as specified on the permit, permits 

may be suspended or revoked according to the following 

schedule: 

(1) violation of one permit condition in a three-year 

period, permit shall be suspended for 10 days. 

(2) violation of two permit conditions in a three-

year period, permits shall be suspended for 30 

days. 

(3) violation of three permit conditions in a three-

year period, permits shall be revoked for a 

period not less than six months. 

(4) violation of any permit conditions as set forth 

in 15A NCAC 03J .0505(a), permits may be 

revoked and the former permittee may not be 

eligible to apply for any future Pound Net Set 

Permits. 

If several permit conditions are violated as a result of a single 

transaction or occurrence, the permit violations shall be treated as 

a single violation for the purpose of suspension or revocation.  

(e)  Permit designees shall not be permitted to participate in a 

permit operation during any period they are under license 

suspension or revocation. 

(f)  If violation of permit conditions requires suspension or 

revocation of a permit, the Fisheries Director shall cause the 

permittee to be served with written notice of the intent to 

commence suspension or revocation. If the permittee is not an 

individual, the written notice shall be served upon any responsible 

individual affiliated with the corporation, partnership, or 

association. The notice of the intent to commence suspension or 

revocation shall be served by an inspector or other agent of the 

Department or by certified mail, and shall state the grounds upon 

which it is based. 

(g)  The Fisheries Director shall order summary suspension of a 

permit if he or she finds that the public health, safety, or welfare 

requires emergency action. Upon such determination, the 

Fisheries Director shall issue an order giving the reasons for the 

emergency action. The effective date of the order shall be the date 

specified on the order or the date of service of a certified copy of 

the order at the last known address of the permittee, whichever is 

later. 

(h)  Upon service of a notice of suspension or revocation of a 

permit, it shall be unlawful to fail to surrender any permit so 

suspended or revoked. 

(i)  It shall be unlawful to fail to surrender a permit issued by the 

Division in error immediately upon service of a notice by an agent 

of the Fisheries Director to surrender the permit. 

(j)  It shall be unlawful to fail to remove all gear, markers, and 

devices associated with an Aquaculture Operation Permit within 

30 days after expiration of the Aquaculture Operation Permit, 

termination of a shellfish lease for which the Aquaculture 

Operation Permit was issued, or notice by the Fisheries Director 

that an existing Aquaculture Operation Permit has been revoked 

or denied. Similar requirements for gear removal for a Pound Net 

Set Permit are described in 15A NCAC 03J .0505. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-171; 113-182; 

113-202; 113-221.2; 143B-289.52; 150B-3; S.L. 2010-145; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. May 1, 2000; 

Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 03P .0101 LICENSE, PERMIT, OR 

CERTIFICATE DENIAL: REQUEST FOR REVIEW 

(a)  Except in cases where summary suspension is applicable, 

before the Division of Marine Fisheries may commence 

proceedings for suspension, revocation, annulment, withdrawal, 

recall, cancellation, or amendment of a license, notice shall be 

given to the license holder that the license holder may file a 

petition for a contested case in accordance with G.S. 113-171(e) 

and may request a final agency decision in accordance with G.S. 

113-171(f). 

(b)  For the purpose of this Rule and in accordance with G.S. 

150B-2, "permit" includes "certification" and "certificate of 

compliance." 

(c)  Except in cases where G.S. 113-171, 15A NCAC 03O .0114, 

or summary suspension is applicable, before the Division may 

commence proceedings for suspension, revocation, annulment, 

withdrawal, recall, cancellation, or amendment of a permit, notice 

shall be given to the permittee that the permittee: 

(1) may request an opportunity to show compliance 

with all requirements for retention of the permit 

by submitting a statement in writing to the 

personnel designated in the notice to commence 

proceedings; and 

(2) has the right, through filing a request for a 

contested case hearing in the Office of 

Administrative Hearings, to a hearing before an 

administrative law judge. 

(d)  For a permit related to endangered or threatened species or a 

species managed by a quota, any statements submitted by the 

permittee to show compliance with all requirements for retention 

of the permit shall be postmarked or emailed within five days of 

receipt of the notice to commence proceedings. For all other 

permits, any statements submitted by the permittee to show 

compliance with all requirements for retention of the permit shall 

be postmarked or emailed within 10 days of receipt of the notice 

to commence proceedings. Statements and any supporting 

documentation shall be addressed to the personnel designated in 

the notice and if mailed, sent to the Division of Marine Fisheries, 

3441 Arendell Street, P.O. Box 769, Morehead City, NC 28557, 

or if emailed, sent to the email address provided in the notice for 

the designated personnel. 

(e)  Upon receipt of a statement and any supporting 

documentation from the permittee, the Division shall review the 

statement and, within 10 days, shall notify the permittee in writing 

with the Division's determination whether the permittee 

demonstrated compliance with all requirements for retention of 

the permit. In making this determination, the Division may 

consider changes the permittee made enabling the permittee to 

conduct the operations for which the permit is held in accordance 

with all applicable laws and rules, and processing errors made by 

the Division. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-171; 113-182; 

113-221.2; 143B-289.52; 150B-3; 150B-23; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2017; August 1, 1999; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 03R .0110 CRAB SPAWNING 

SANCTUARIES 

The crab spawning sanctuaries referenced in 15A NCAC 03L 

.0205 are delineated in the following coastal fishing waters: 

(1) in Areas from Barden Inlet and North: 

(a) in the Oregon Inlet Area: beginning at 

a point on the Atlantic Ocean shore of 

Bodie Island 35° 47.7054' N - 75° 

32.3522' W; running northeasterly to a 

point in the Atlantic Ocean 35° 

47.9833' N - 75° 31.8500' W; running 

southerly to a point in the ocean 35° 

46.3500' N - 75° 30.6666' W; running 

westerly to a point on the Atlantic 

Ocean shore at 35° 46.1037' N - 75° 

31.2785' W; running northerly along 

the Atlantic shore of Pea Island to and 

around South Point and continuing 

southerly along the shore of Pamlico 

Sound to a point on the south point of 

Eagle Nest Bay at 35° 43.7085' N - 75° 

30.8009' W; running westerly to a 

point in Pamlico Sound at 35° 

43.7100' N - 75° 32.2113' W; running 

northerly to a point 35° 47.3992' 

N - 75° 34.1650' W in Pamlico Sound; 

running northerly to a point on Bodie 

Island 35° 48.7740' N – 75° 33.8722' 

W; running southerly along the shore 

to and around North Point at Oregon 

Inlet and then northerly on the Atlantic 

shore to the point of beginning; 

(b) in the Hatteras Inlet Area: beginning at 

a point on the Pamlico Sound 

shoreline of Hatteras Island 35° 

12.0846' N – 75° 43.3514' W; running 

northwesterly to a point in Pamlico 

Sound 35° 13.6361' N – 75° 45.4451' 

W; running southwesterly to a point 

near Outer Green Island 35° 11.0794' 

N – 75° 48.4440' W; running 

southeasterly to a point on the Pamlico 

Sound shore of Ocracoke Island 35° 

10.7004' N – 75° 47.9094' W; running 

northeasterly along the shoreline to a 

point on the northeastern tip of 

Ocracoke Island 35° 11.2340' N – 75° 

46.3051' W; running southeasterly to a 

point in the Atlantic Ocean at 35° 

10.6644' N – 75° 44.5221' W; running 

northeasterly to a point on the ocean 

shoreline of Hatteras Island 35° 

11.7895' N – 75° 43.5947' W; running 

southwesterly around the tip of 

Hatteras Island to the point of 

beginning; 

(c) in the Ocracoke Inlet Area: beginning 

at a point on Ocracoke Island 35° 

06.2555' N –75° 59.3722' W; running 

westerly through Shellcastle Island to 

a point in Pamlico Sound 35° 05.8599' 

N – 76° 04.3639' W; running southerly 

to a point on Portsmouth Island 35° 

03.7379' N – 76° 04.7850' W; running 

northeasterly along the shore of 

Pamlico Sound around the western 

side of Ocracoke Inlet and 

southwesterly along the shore of the 

Atlantic Ocean to a point 35° 03.0500' 

N – 76° 03.0833' W; running 

southeasterly offshore to a point in the 

Atlantic Ocean 35° 02.6333' N - 76° 

02.7166' W; running northeasterly to a 

point in the ocean 35° 03.9666' N - 75° 

59.3000' W; running northwesterly to 

a point on the Atlantic shore of 

Ocracoke Island 35° 04.7402' N –75° 

59.7124' W; running southwesterly 

along the shore around the eastern side 

of Ocracoke Inlet and northeasterly 

along the shore to the point of 

beginning; 

(d) Ophelia and Drum Inlet Area: 

beginning at a point on the Core Sound 

shore of Core Banks 34 º 51.7718' N - 

76º 18.5093' W; running 

northwesterly to a point in Core Sound 

34º 52.3431' N - 76º 19.1661' W; 

running southwesterly to a point near 

Marker "27" in Core Sound 34º 

50.6411' N - 76º 22.0094' W; running 

southwesterly to a point in Core Sound 

34º 49.0120' N - 76º 23.0288' W; 

running southeasterly to a point on the 

Core Sound shore of Core Banks 34º 

48.6143' N - 76º 22.3033' W; 

following the shoreline in a 

northeasterly direction around the 

western side of Ophelia Inlet then 

along the Atlantic Ocean shoreline 

southwesterly to a point on Core 

Banks 34º 48.9349' N - 76º 21.4582' 

W; extending 100 yards seaward from 

the shoreline from the mean high 

water line and the COLREG 

Demarcation Line in the Atlantic 

Ocean and running northeasterly and 

returning to shore parallel to a point on 

Core Banks 34º 51.6790' N - 76º 

18.3829' W; running southwesterly 

along the Atlantic Ocean shoreline 

toward and around the eastern side of 
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Ophelia Inlet, then northeasterly along 

the Core Sound shore of Core Banks 

to the point of beginning; and 

(e) Barden Inlet Area: beginning at a point 

on the Core Sound shore of Core 

Banks 34º 40.7131' N – 76º 28.9495' 

W; running northwesterly to a point on 

Harkers Island 34º 41.0674' N – 76º 

31.5834' W; running southwesterly to 

a point on Shackleford Banks 34º 

39.5418' N - 76º 34.0451' W; 

following the shoreline in 

southeasterly direction around the 

northern side of Barden Inlet then 

along the Atlantic Ocean shoreline 

northwesterly to a point on 

Shackleford Banks 34º 38.7748' N - 

76º 32.8463' W; running 

southwesterly to a point in the Atlantic 

Ocean 34º 38.2938' N - 76º 33.5130' 

W; running southerly to a point near 

Buoy "2" at the end of the Cape 

Lookout Jetty in the Atlantic Ocean 

34º 37.1253' N - 76º 33.7446' W; 

running southeasterly to a point on 

Cape Lookout 34º 36.7229' N - 76º 

33.0514' W; running northerly along 

the Atlantic Ocean shoreline toward 

and around the southern side of 

Barden Inlet to a point on Cape 

Lookout 34º 36.5492' N - 76º 32.2416' 

W, then running northeasterly along 

the Core Sound shore of Core Banks 

to the point of beginning. 

(2) in Areas from Beaufort Inlet and West and 

South: 

(a) Beaufort Inlet Area: beginning at a 

point on the Back Sound side of 

Shackleford Banks 34º 41.0017' N - 

76º 37.7538' W; running northerly to a 

point on Carrot Island 34º 42.3553' N 

- 76º 37.1124' W; running westerly 

along the shoreline to a point on Carrot 

Island 34º 42.6291' N - 76º 38.6608' 

W; running westerly to a point on 

Town Marsh 34º 42.6394' N - 76º 

38.7442' W; running westerly along 

the shoreline to a point on Town 

Marsh 34º 42.7915' N - 76º 40.2489' 

W; running westerly to a point on Bird 

Shoal 34º 42.7694' N - 76º 40.4764' 

W; running northerly to a point on 

Pivers Island 34º 42.9294' N - 76º 

40.4301' W; running northerly along 

the shoreline to a point on Pivers 

Island 34º 43.1892' N - 76º 40.3873' 

W; running northerly to a point on 

Radio Island 34º 43.2344' N - 76º 

40.4099' W; running along the 

shoreline to a point on Radio Island 

34º 43.2770' N - 76º 41.2422' W; 

running along the south side of the 

Highway 70 Bridge over the Newport 

River to a point near the Morehead 

City Port 34º 43.2419' N - 76º 41.7067' 

W; running southerly along the shore 

to a point near the Morehead City Port 

34º 42.9560' N - 76º 41.6986' W; 

running southwesterly to a point on 

Goat Island 34º 42.7185' N - 76º 

41.9145' W; running southeasterly 

along the shoreline to a point on Goat 

Island 34º 42.2031' N - 76º 41.3923' 

W; running southwesterly to a point on 

shore near Fort Macon State Park 34º 

42.1709' N - 76º 41.3693' W; 

following the shoreline in a 

southwesterly direction around the 

western shoreline of Beaufort Inlet 

then along the Atlantic Ocean 

shoreline to a point on Bogue Banks 

34º 41.6480' N - 76º 42.0986' W; 

extending 100 yards seaward from the 

shoreline from the mean high water 

line and the COLREG Demarcation 

Line in the Atlantic Ocean and running 

easterly then southeasterly and 

returning to shore parallel to a point on 

Shackleford Banks 34º 40.6129' N - 

76º 38.1521' W; running 

northwesterly along the Atlantic 

Ocean shoreline around the eastern 

side of Beaufort Inlet, then running 

easterly along the Back Sound shore of 

Shackleford Banks to the point of 

beginning; 

(b) Bogue Inlet Area: beginning at a point 

on Bogue Banks 34º 39.1828' N - 77º 

05.8503' W; running northerly to a 

point 34º 40.1526' N - 77º 05.6346' W; 

running northerly to a point 34º 

40.2531' N - 77º 05.6385' W; running 

westerly to a point 34º 40.2550' N - 77º 

05.9450' W; running southerly to a 

point 34º 40.1732' N - 77º 05.9616' W; 

running southerly to a point 34º 

39.9629' N - 77º 06.1038' W; running 

southerly to a point 34º 39.5209' N - 

77º 06.4042; running southwesterly to 

a point 34º 39.0599' N - 77º 07.3287' 

W; running southerly to a point on 

Bear Island 34º 38.3856' N - 77º 

07.2373'; following the shoreline in a 

northeasterly direction around the 

western shoreline of Bogue Inlet then 

along the Atlantic Ocean shoreline to 

a point on Bear Island 34º 37.5607' N 

- 77º 09.5752' W; extending 100 yards 
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seaward from the shoreline from the 

mean high water line and the 

COLREG Demarcation Line in the 

Atlantic Ocean and running 

northeasterly and returning to shore 

parallel to a point on Bogue Banks 34º 

38.7491' N - 77º 05.2548' W; running 

southwesterly along the Atlantic 

Ocean shoreline around the eastern 

side of Bogue Inlet to a point 34º 

38.7686' N - 77º 06.0596' W; running 

northerly to a point 34º 38.9900' N - 

77º 06.1269' W, then running 

northeasterly to the point of 

beginning; 

(c) Bear Inlet Area: beginning at a point 

on Bear Island 34º 37.7852' N - 77º 

09.7128' W; running northerly to a 

point 34º 37.8817' N - 77º 09.7698' W; 

running southwesterly to a point 34º 

37.6695' N - 77º 10.4134' W; running 

northwesterly to a point 34º 37.8105' 

N - 77º 10.5849' W; running 

southwesterly to a point on Saunders 

Island 34º 37.4531' N - 77º 11.0624' 

W; running southeasterly to a point on 

Browns Island 34º 37.2216' N - 77º 

10.8461' W; following the shoreline in 

northeasterly direction around the 

western shoreline of Bear Inlet then 

along the Atlantic Ocean shoreline to 

a point on Browns Island 34º 36.1188' 

N - 77º 13.0193' W; extending 100 

yards seaward from the shoreline from 

the mean high water line and the 

COLREG Demarcation Line in the 

Atlantic Ocean and running 

northeasterly and returning to shore 

parallel to a point on Bear Island 34º 

37.5607' N - 77º 09.5752' W; running 

southwesterly along the Atlantic 

Ocean shoreline around the eastern 

shoreline of Bear Inlet, then 

northeasterly along the shore to the 

point of beginning; 

(d) Browns Inlet Area: beginning at a 

point on Browns Island 34º 35.8978' N 

- 77º 13.8409' W; running 

northwesterly to a point 34º 36.0015' 

N - 77º 13.9606' W; running westerly 

to a point 34º 35.9360' N - 77º 

14.1340' W; running southerly to a 

point 34º 35.6631' N - 77º 14.1270' W; 

following the shoreline in a 

northeasterly direction around the 

western shoreline of Browns Inlet then 

along the Atlantic Ocean shoreline to 

a point 34º 33.7692' N - 77º 16.8043' 

W; extending 100 yards seaward from 

the shoreline from the mean high 

water line and the COLREG 

Demarcation Line in the Atlantic 

Ocean and running northeasterly and 

returning to shore parallel to a point on 

Browns Island 34º 36.1188' N - 77º 

13.0193' W; running southwesterly 

along the Atlantic Ocean shoreline 

around the eastern shoreline of 

Browns Inlet, then northerly along the 

shore to the point of beginning; 

(e) New River Inlet Area: beginning at a 

point on shore on the south side of 

Wards Channel 34º 32.2064' N - 77º 

19.8404' W; running northwesterly to 

a point 34º 33.1386' N - 77º 20.8902' 

W; running westerly to a point 34º 

33.1097' N - 77º 21.1013' W; running 

southeasterly to a point 34º 32.3473' N 

- 77º 20.6013' W; running 

southwesterly to a point on Topsail 

Island 34º 32.1096' N - 77º 20.8447' 

W; following the shore line in a 

southerly direction around the western 

shoreline of New River Inlet then 

along the Atlantic Ocean shoreline to 

a point 34º 31.3352' N - 77º 21.1694' 

W; extending 100 yards seaward from 

the shoreline from the mean high 

water line and the COLREG 

Demarcation Line in the Atlantic 

Ocean and running northeasterly and 

returning to shore parallel to a point 

34º 33.7692' N - 77º 16.8043' W; 

running southwesterly along the 

Atlantic Ocean shoreline around the 

eastern shoreline of New River Inlet, 

then northeasterly along the shore to 

the point of beginning; 

(f) Topsail Inlet Area: beginning at a 

point on Topsail Island 34º 21.9619' N 

- 77º 37.8381' W; running 

northwesterly to a point in Topsail 

Sound 34º 22.1071' N - 77º 37.9944' 

W; running southwesterly to a point 

near Marker "5" 34º 21.7185' N - 77º 

38.3499' W; running southwesterly to 

a point near Marker "3" 34º 21.5798' 

N - 77º 38.5928' W; running 

southwesterly to a point near Marker 

"1" 34º 21.1055' N - 77º 39.1749' W; 

running northwesterly to a point 34º 

21.2065' N - 77º 39.6127' W; running 

southwesterly to a point 34º 20.7450' 

N - 77º 40.3682' W; running southerly 

to a point 34º 20.3011' N - 77º 

40.3728' W; following the shoreline in 

a northeasterly direction around the 

western shoreline of Topsail Inlet then 
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along the Atlantic Ocean shoreline to 

a point on Lea-Hutaff Island 34º 

20.0228' N - 77º 40.4332' W; 

extending 100 yards seaward from the 

shoreline from the mean high water 

line and the COLREG Demarcation 

Line in the Atlantic Ocean and running 

northeasterly and returning to shore 

parallel to a point on Topsail Island 

34º 20.8762' N - 77º 38.9403' W; 

running southwesterly along the 

Atlantic Ocean shoreline around the 

eastern shore of Topsail Inlet, then 

northeasterly along the Topsail Sound 

shore of Topsail Island to the point of 

beginning; 

(g) Rich Inlet Area: beginning at a point 

on Lea-Hutaff Island 34º 18.1292' N - 

77º 42.6492' W; running 

northwesterly to a point 34º 18.2851' 

N - 77º 42.9352' W; running 

southwesterly to a point 34º 18.0190' 

N - 77º 43.2798' W; running southerly 

to a point on Figure Eight Island 34º 

17.5649' N - 77º 43.1649' W; 

following the shoreline in an easterly 

direction around the southern 

shoreline of Rich Inlet then along the 

Atlantic Ocean shoreline to a point on 

Figure Eight Island 34º 17.2243' N - 

77º 43.2491' W; extending 100 yards 

seaward from the shoreline from the 

mean high water line and the 

COLREG Demarcation Line in the 

Atlantic Ocean and running 

northeasterly and returning to shore 

parallel to a point on Lea-Hutaff Island 

34º 18.1251' N - 77º 42.4352' W; 

running southwesterly along the 

Atlantic Ocean shoreline around the 

northern shoreline of Rich Inlet, then 

northeasterly along the shore to the 

point of beginning; 

(h) Mason Inlet Area: beginning at a point 

on Figure Eight Island 34º 14.9536' N 

- 77º 45.9567' W; running 

northwesterly to a point 34º 15.0409' 

N - 77º46.1766' W; running 

southwesterly to a point 34º 14.8657' 

N - 77º 46.4044' W; running 

southwesterly to a point 34º 14.7256' 

N - 77º 46.5348' W; running southerly 

to a point on Shell Island 34º 14.2036' 

N - 77º 46.5189' W; following the 

shoreline in a northeasterly direction 

around the southern shoreline of 

Mason Inlet then along the Atlantic 

Ocean shoreline to a point on Shell 

Island 34º 14.1375' N - 77º 46.4263' 

W; extending 100 yards seaward from 

the shoreline from the mean high 

water line and the COLREG 

Demarcation Line in the Atlantic 

Ocean and running northeasterly and 

returning to shore parallel to a point on 

Figure Eight Island 34º 14.8474' N - 

77º 45.7857' W; running 

southwesterly along the Atlantic 

Ocean shoreline around the northern 

shoreline of Mason Inlet, then 

northeasterly along the shore to the 

point of beginning; 

(i) Masonboro Inlet Area: beginning at a 

point on Wrightsville Beach 34º 

11.3446' N - 77º 48.7458' W; running 

northwesterly to a point 34º 11.4604' 

N - 77º 49.0510' W; running 

northwesterly to a point 34º 11.5164' 

N - 77º 49.2368' W; running 

northwesterly to a point 34º 11.5255' 

N - 77º 49.2652' W; running 

northwesterly to a point 34º 11.5700' 

N - 77º 49.4425' W; running 

southwesterly to a point 34º 11.3553' 

N - 77º 49.5924' W; running easterly 

to a point 34º 11.3737' N - 77º 

49.4628' W; running easterly to a point 

34º 11.3737' N - 77º 49.4345' W; 

following the shoreline southeasterly 

to a point 34º 11.2551' N - 77º 

49.2287' W; running southerly to a 

point on Masonboro Island 34º 

10.8451' N - 77º 49.0242' W; 

following the shoreline in an easterly 

direction around the southern 

shoreline of Masonboro Inlet through 

a point at the base of the jetty 34º 

10.8814' N - 77º 48.7074' W; running 

southwesterly along the Atlantic 

Ocean shoreline to a point on 

Masonboro Island 34º 10.5221' N - 77º 

49.1658' W; extending 100 yards 

seaward from the shoreline and the 

Atlantic Ocean side of the jetties from 

the mean high water line and the 

COLREG Demarcation Line in the 

Atlantic Ocean and returning to shore 

parallel to a point 34º 11.5753' N - 77º 

48.3061' W; running southwesterly 

along the Atlantic Ocean shoreline 

through a point at the base of the jetty 

34º 11.2076' N - 77º 48.5555' W, 

around the northern shoreline of 

Masonboro Inlet then northeasterly 

along the shore to the point of 

beginning; 

(j) Carolina Beach Inlet Area: beginning 

at a point on Masonboro Island 34º 
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04.8168' N - 77º 52.8796' W; running 

southerly to a point 34º 04.4997' N - 

77º 53.0080' W; following the 

shoreline in an easterly direction to a 

point 34º 04.5022' N - 77º 52.7982' W; 

running easterly to a point on Pleasure 

Island 34º 04.5102' N - 77º 52.7340' 

W; following the shoreline in an 

easterly direction around the southern 

shoreline of Carolina Beach Inlet then 

along the Atlantic Ocean shoreline to 

a point on Pleasure Island 34º 04.3505' 

N - 77º 52.5048' W; extending 100 

yards seaward from the mean high 

water line and the COLREG 

Demarcation Line in the Atlantic 

Ocean and running northeasterly and 

returning to shore parallel to a point on 

Masonboro Island 34º 05.2151' N - 77º 

52.1472' W; running southeasterly 

along the Atlantic Ocean shoreline 

around the northern shoreline of 

Carolina Beach Inlet, then westerly 

along the shore to the point of 

beginning; 

(k) Cape Fear River Inlet Area: beginning 

at a point on Bald Head Island 33º 

52.7072' N - 78º 00.0449' W; running 

northeasterly to a point 33º 53.6135' N 

- 77º 59.2549' W; running northerly to 

a point 33º 54.4086' N - 77º 59.0330' 

W; running northerly to a point 33º 

54.8399' N - 77º 58.9115' W; running 

westerly to a point at Southport 33º 

54.9503' N - 78º 01.3581' W; running 

southerly to a point on Fort Caswell 

33º 53.7948' N - 78º 01.0782' W; 

following the shoreline in a southerly 

direction around the western shoreline 

of Cape Fear River Inlet then westerly 

along the Atlantic Ocean shoreline to 

a point on Caswell Beach 33º 53.4293' 

N - 78º 01.7604' W; extending 100 

yards seaward from the mean high 

water line and the COLREG 

Demarcation Line in the Atlantic 

Ocean and running southerly to point 

near Buoy "12" 33º 51.8213' N - 78º 

01.0179' W; running southeasterly to a 

point 33º 51.1999' N - 78º 00.0632' W; 

running northeasterly to a point on 

Bald Head Island 33º 51.3488' N - 77º 

59.9222' W; running northwesterly 

along the Atlantic Ocean shoreline 

around the eastern shore of Cape Fear 

River Inlet, then northeasterly along 

the shore to the point of beginning; 

(l) Lockwoods Folly Inlet Area: 

beginning at a point on Oak Island 33º 

54.9392' N - 78º 13.6711' W; running 

northerly to a point on Sheep Island 

33º 55.0837' N - 78º 13.6753' W; 

following the shoreline northwesterly 

to a point on Sheep Island 33º 55.2263' 

N - 78º 13.9395' W; running westerly 

to a point on Holden Beach 33º 

55.1794' N - 78º 14.3132' W; 

following the shoreline in a 

southwesterly direction around the 

western shore of Lockwoods Folly 

Inlet then along the Atlantic Ocean 

shoreline to a point on Holden Beach 

33º 54.8695' N - 78º 14.6180' W; 

running southerly to a point in the 

Atlantic Ocean 33º 54.6076' N - 78º 

14.6026' W; running easterly to a point 

in the Atlantic Ocean 33º 54.5564' N - 

78 14.0529' W; running northerly to a 

point on Oak Island 33º 54.8853' N - 

78º 14.0041' W; running 

northwesterly along the Atlantic 

Ocean shoreline around the eastern 

shore of Lockwoods Folly Inlet, then 

easterly along the shore to the point of 

beginning; 

(m) Shallotte Inlet Area: beginning at a 

point near Monks Island 33º 54.5773' 

N - 78º 22.8077' W; running 

southwesterly to a point on Ocean Isle 

Beach 33º 54.2436' N - 78º 23.2758' 

W; following the shoreline in a 

southerly direction around the western 

shore of Shallotte Inlet then along the 

Atlantic Ocean shoreline to a point on 

Ocean Isle Beach 33º 53.8151' N - 78º 

23.7753' W; extending 100 yards 

seaward from the mean high water line 

and the COLREG Demarcation Line 

in the Atlantic Ocean and running 

easterly and returning to shore parallel 

to a point on Big Beach 33º 54.1103' 

N - 78º 21.9540' W; running westerly 

along the Atlantic Ocean shoreline 

around the eastern shore of Shallotte 

Inlet, then northerly along the shore to 

the point of beginning; and 

(n) Tubbs Inlet Area: beginning at a point 

on the Jinks Creek shore of Ocean Isle 

Beach 33º 52.5844' N - 78º 28.6583' 

W; running northerly to a point 33º 

52.7734' N - 78º 28.7428' W; running 

southwesterly to a point 33º 52.6815' 

N - 78º 29.0080' W; running 

southwesterly to a point on the Eastern 

Channel shore of Sunset Beach 33º 

52.3878' N - 78º 29.1301' W; 

following the shoreline in an easterly 

direction around the western shore of 
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Tubbs Inlet then along the Atlantic 

Ocean shoreline to a point on Sunset 

Beach 33º 52.3250' N - 78º 29.1865' 

W; extending 100 yards seaward of the 

mean high water line and the 

COLREG Demarcation Line in the 

Atlantic Ocean and running 

northeasterly and returning to shore 

parallel to a point on Ocean Isle Beach 

33º 52.5676' N - 78º 28.4027' W; 

running southwesterly along the 

Atlantic Ocean shoreline around the 

eastern shore of Tubbs Inlet then in a 

northerly direction along the shore to 

the point of beginning. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1991; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 03R .0010 Eff. December 17, 1996; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. (Pending legislative review of 15A NCAC 03L 

.0205). 

 

15A NCAC 03R .0111 PURSE SEINES PROHIBITED 

The areas referenced in 15A NCAC 03J .0105(b)(1) are delineated 

in the following coastal fishing waters of the Atlantic Ocean: 

(1) in the Atlantic Ocean within an area bounded 

by a line extending from a point near the Bald 

Head Lighthouse 33° 52.3500' N - 78° 00.3000' 

W; running southwesterly to a point near the 

Cape Fear River ship channel buoy "9" 33° 

51.5500' N – 78° 01.5500' W; running 

northwesterly to a point near the foot of the 

Yaupon Beach Fishing Pier on Oak Island 33° 

54.2000' N – 78° 04.9333' W; following the 

shoreline easterly to a point near Fort Caswell 

33° 53.2166' N – 78° 01.1833' W; running 

southeasterly to the point of beginning; 

(2) in the Atlantic Ocean from May 1 through 

September 30: 

(a) in the area bounded by a line 

beginning at a point onshore at the 

northern boundary of Dare County 36° 

13.8536' N - 75° 46.3914'W; running 

easterly 1.5 nautical miles to a point 

offshore 36° 13.8536'N - 75° 44.3814' 

W; running southerly parallel to and 

1.5 nautical miles from the ocean 

beach to a point 1.5 nautical miles 

offshore at the northern town limits of 

Southern Shores 36° 09.0673' N - 75° 

44.2225' W; running westerly to a 

point onshore at the northern town 

limits of Southern Shores 36° 09.0673' 

N - 75° 42.2416' W; and 

(b) in the area bounded by a line 

beginning at a point at the southern 

limits of Kitty Hawk 36° 03.3187' 

N - 75° 40.9503' W; running easterly 

1.5 nautical miles to a point offshore 

36° 03.3187' N - 75° 38.8029' W; 

running southerly parallel to and 1.5 

nautical miles from the ocean beach to 

a point 1.5 nautical miles offshore of 

the rock jetty south of Oregon Inlet 

35° 46.4052' N - 75° 29.2379' W; 

running westerly to a point onshore at 

the rock jetty south of Oregon Inlet 

35° 46.4052' N - 75° 31.5369' W; and 

(3) in the Atlantic Ocean from October 1 through 

December 31: 

(a) in the area bounded by a line 

beginning at a point onshore at the 

northern boundary of Dare County 36° 

13.8536' N - 75° 46.3914' W; running 

easterly 0.5 nautical miles to a point 

offshore 36° 13.8536' N - 75° 45.6977' 

W; running southerly parallel to and 

0.5 nautical miles off the ocean beach 

to a point 0.5 nautical miles offshore 

at the northern town limits of Southern 

Shores 36° 09.0673' N - 75° 43.5514' 

W; running westerly 0.5 nautical miles 

to a point onshore at the northern town 

limits of Southern Shores 36° 09.0673' 

N - 75° 44.2416' W; and 

(b) in the area bounded by a line 

beginning at a point at the southern 

limits of Kitty Hawk 36° 03.3187' 

N - 75° 40.9503' W; running easterly 

0.5 nautical miles to a point offshore 

36° 03.3187' N - 75° 40.2033' W; 

running southerly parallel to and 0.5 

nautical miles off the ocean beach to a 

point offshore at the rock jetty south of 

Oregon Inlet 35° 46.4052' N - 75° 

30.6134' W; running westerly to a 

point onshore at the rock jetty south of 

Oregon Inlet 35° 46.4052' N - 75° 

31.5369' W. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 03R .0011 Eff. December 17, 1996; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. (Pending legislative review of 15A NCAC 03J 

.0105). 
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15A NCAC 03R .0118 CRAB HARVEST 

MANAGEMENT AREAS 

The areas referenced in 15A NCAC 03L .0201(a) and (b) are 

delineated in the following coastal fishing waters: 

(1) Northern Region: All Coastal Fishing Waters of 

the state north and east of a line extending 

southeast from the Highway 58 Bridge to a 

point offshore at 34° 36.3292' N - 77° 02.5940' 

W to the North Carolina/Virginia state line. 

(2) Southern Region: All Coastal Fishing Waters of 

the State south and west of a line extending 

southeast from the Highway 58 Bridge to a 

point offshore at 34° 36.3292' N - 77° 02.5940' 

W to the North Carolina/South Carolina state 

line. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-

289.52; 

Eff. April 1, 2014; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. (Pending legislative review of 15A NCAC 03L 

.0201). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0301 INLAND GAME FISHES 

DESIGNATED 

(a)  The following fishes are classified and designated as inland 

game fishes in inland, joint, and coastal fishing waters: 

(1) Alabama bass, largemouth bass, redeye bass, 

smallmouth bass, and spotted bass; 

(2) black crappie and white crappie; 

(3) chain pickerel (jack), muskellunge, and redfin 

pickerel; 

(4) kokanee salmon; 

(5) mountain trout, all species including but not 

limited to brook trout, brown trout, and rainbow 

trout; 

(6) sauger and walleye; and 

(7) sunfish, including bluegill (bream), flier, 

pumpkinseed, redbreast (robin), redear 

(shellcracker), Roanoke bass, rock bass 

(redeye), warmouth, and all other species of the 

sunfish family (Centrarchidae) not specifically 

listed in this Rule. 

(b)  The following fishes are classified as inland game fishes when 

found in inland fishing waters: 

(1) American shad and hickory shad;  

(2) black bullhead, brown bullhead, flat bullhead, 

snail bullhead, white catfish, and yellow 

bullhead;  

(3) flounder; 

(4) red drum (channel bass, red fish, puppy drum); 

(5) spotted sea trout (speckeled trout); 

(6) striped bass, white bass, white perch, and 

Morone hybrids (striped bass-white bass); and 

(7) yellow perch. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2005; June 1, 2004; July 1, 1996; July 1, 

1990; July 1, 1983; January 1, 1981; January 1, 1980; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0302 MANNER OF TAKING INLAND 

GAME FISHES 

(a)  Inland game fishes may only be taken with hook and line 

unless otherwise provided. 

(b)  Landing nets may be used to land fishes caught on hook and 

line. 

(c)  Game fishes taken incidental to the use of special devices for 

taking nongame fishes from inland fishing waters as authorized in 

15A NCAC 10C .0402 or as authorized by 15A NCAC 10C .0407 

by anglers licensed under G.S. 113-272.2(c) shall be immediately 

returned to the water unharmed except: 

(1) that a daily creel limit of American and hickory 

shad may be taken with dip nets and bow nets 

from March 1 through April 30 in those waters 

where such gear may be lawfully used; and 

(2) white perch may be taken when captured in a 

cast net being used to collect nongame fishes in 

all impounded waters west of Interstate 95 and 

in the Tar River Reservoir (Nash County). 

(d)  Inland game fishes taken from Inland Fishing Waters shall not 

be sold. 

(e)  In the inland waters of the Roanoke River upstream of U.S. 

258 bridge, only a single barbless hook or a lure with a single 

barbless hook may be used from 1 April to 30 June. "Barbless" as 

used in this Rule requires that the hook does not have a barb or 

the barb is bent down. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-272.3; 113-292; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1996; October 1, 1994; July 1, 1993; May 

1, 1992; January 1, 1982; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2021; 

Amended Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0304 TAKING AND POSSESSION OF 

INLAND GAME FISHES 

(a)  Individuals shall only take up to the daily creel limit of those 

species of inland game fish having a specified creel limit. 

(b)  Individuals shall only possess on those waters being fished: 

(1) the specified daily creel limit for the species; 

(2) fish conforming to the size limit for the species; 

and 

(3) the daily creel limit while fishing or afield. 

(c)  Individuals shall only possess up to three days creel limit at 

any place. 

(d)  No person, while fishing or afield, shall:  

(1) unnecessarily destroy any inland game fish 

taken from inland fishing waters; 
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(2) remove the head or tail or otherwise change the 

appearance of any game fish having a size limit 

so to render it impracticable to measure its total 

original length; or 

(3) change the appearance of any game fish having 

a daily creel limit so to obscure its identification 

or render it impracticable to count the number 

of fish in possession. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-135; 113-135.1; 

113-292; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1991; July 1, 1988; January 1, 

1981; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 

150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0305 LARGEMOUTH BASS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass is five fish, except 

in waters identified in Paragraphs (d), (e), (f), (l), (m), and (n) of 

this Rule. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass, but only 

two of them may be less than 14 inches except in waters identified 

in Paragraphs (d) through (n) of this Rule. 

(c)  There is no closed season, except for waters identified in 

Paragraph (l) of this Rule. 

(d)  In Lake Cammack in Alamance County, and Lake Holt in 

Granville County the daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass is 10 

fish and no more than two fish greater than 14 inches may be 

possessed. 

(e)  In Lake Santeetlah in Graham County, there is no daily creel 

limit for Largemouth Bass and Smallmouth Bass less than 14 

inches. The daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass and 

Smallmouth Bass greater than 14 inches is five fish in aggregate. 

(f)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit for 

Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, Alabama Bass, and Spotted 

Bass is 10 fish in aggregate. The minimum size limit for 

Largemouth Bass is 12 inches. 

(g)  The minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 14 inches in 

the following: 

(1) Lake Raleigh in Wake County; 

(2) Lake Sutton in New Hanover County; 

(3) Pungo Lake in Washington and Hyde counties; 

(4) New Lake in Hyde County; and 

(5) Currituck, Roanoke, Croatan, Albemarle 

sounds, and all their tributaries including 

Roanoke River downstream of Roanoke Rapids 

Dam, Chowan River, Meherrin River, Yeopim 

River, Pasquotank River, Perquimans River, 

Little River, Big Flatty Creek, North River, 

Northwest River, Scuppernong River, Alligator 

River, including the Alligator/Pungo Canal east 

of the NC Hwy 264/45 bridge, and all other 

associated tributaries and canals in these river 

systems. 

(h)  In Cane Creek Lake in Union County, and Buckhorn 

Reservoir in Wilson and Nash counties, the minimum size limit 

for Largemouth Bass is 16 inches. 

(i)  In Lake Phelps in Tyrrell and Washington counties, the 

minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 14 inches, and no fish 

between 16 and 20 inches may be possessed. 

(j)  In Shearon Harris Reservoir in Chatham and Wake counties 

and Lake Hampton in Yadkin County, there is no minimum size 

limit for Largemouth Bass, but only two Largemouth Bass less 

than 14 inches and no Largemouth Bass between 16 and 20 inches 

may be possessed. 

(k)  In Lake Thom-A-Lex in Davidson County, the minimum size 

limit for Largemouth Bass is 18 inches. 

(l)  In the Alleghany County portion of New River downstream of 

Fields Dam (Grayson County, Virginia), the daily creel limit for 

Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, and Spotted Bass is five fish 

in aggregate. There is no minimum size limit for Largemouth 

Bass, but no fish between 14 and 22 inches in length may be 

possessed and only one Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, or 

Spotted Bass greater than 22 inches may be possessed. 

(m)  In Lake Mattamuskeet and associated canals in Hyde County, 

the minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 16 inches and only 

one Largemouth Bass greater than 20 inches may be possessed. 

(n)  In Jean Guite Creek and associated canals within the Town of 

Southern Shores in Dare County and in the ponds associated with 

Martin Marietta Park in Craven County, no Largemouth Bass may 

be possessed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 10, 1990, for a period of 180 

days to expire on November 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 22, 1990, for a period of 168 

days to expire on November 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 1, 1991, for a period of 180 days 

to expire on November 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; July 1, 1993; October 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 1994 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1997; July 1, 1996; July 1, 

1995; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 8, 2002 [This rule replaces the 

rule proposed for permanent amendment effective July 1, 2002 

and approved by RRC in May 2001]; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (approved by RRC in April 2002); 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004 (this amendment replaces the 

amendment approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; 

November 1, 2013; August 1, 2012; March 1, 2012; August 1, 

2011; August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; July 1, 2008; May 1, 2008; 

May 1, 2007; May 1, 2006; June 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; August 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.3). 
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15A NCAC 10C .0306 CRAPPIE 

(a)  There is no daily creel limit for Crappie, except for waters 

identified in Paragraphs (d) through (h) of this Rule. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit except in waters identified in 

Paragraphs (f) through (h) of this Rule. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  In Buckhorn Reservoir in Wilson and Nash counties, the daily 

creel limit is 20 fish. 

(e)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit is 30 

fish. 

(f)  In the following waters, the daily creel limit is 20 fish and the 

minimum size limit is 10 inches: 

(1) B. Everett Jordan Reservoir; 

(2) Roanoke River and its tributaries downstream 

of Roanoke Rapids dam; 

(3) Cashie River and its tributaries; 

(4) Middle River and its tributaries; 

(5) Eastmost River and its tributaries; and 

(6) Lake Mattamuskeet and associated canals in 

Hyde County. 

(g)  In the following waters, the daily creel limit is 20 fish and the 

minimum size limit is eight inches: 

(1) Lake Norman; 

(2) Lake Hyco; 

(3) Lake Ramseur; 

(4) Cane Creek Lake (Union County); 

(5) Lake Hampton (Yadkin County); 

(6) Tar River downstream of Tar River Reservoir 

Dam and all tributaries; 

(7) Neuse River downstream of Falls Lake Dam 

and all tributaries; 

(8) Haw River downstream of Jordan Lake Dam 

and all tributaries; 

(9) Deep River downstream of Lockville Dam and 

all tributaries; 

(10) Cape Fear River and all tributaries; 

(11) Waccamaw River downstream of Lake 

Waccamaw Dam and all tributaries; 

(12) Lumber River including Drowning Creek and 

all tributaries; 

(13) all other public fishing waters east of Interstate 

95, except Tar River Reservoir in Nash County, 

Sutton Lake in New Hanover County, and 

waters listed in Paragraph (f) of this Rule; and 

(14) all public waters west of Interstate 77, except 

Lake Chatuge. 

(h)  In John H. Kerr Reservoir, the daily creel limit is 25 fish and 

the minimum size limit is nine inches. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 

Eff. November 1, 2013; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; August 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0307 FLOUNDER 

(a) The daily creel limit for flounder is four fish. 

(b) The minimum size limit is 15 inches. 

(c) The season for taking and possessing flounder is September 1 

through September 14. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. November 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2021; 

Amended Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0308 KOKANEE SALMON 

(a)  The daily creel limit for kokanee salmon is four fish. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit.  

(c)  There is no closed season.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 

Eff. November 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0313 AMERICAN SHAD AND 

HICKORY SHAD 

(a)  The daily creel limit for American and hickory shad in the 

aggregate is 10 fish, only one of which may be an American shad, 

except for waters identified in Paragraphs (d) through (f) of this 

Rule. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit.  

(c)  There is no closed season, except for waters identified in 

Paragraph (g) of this Rule. 

(d)  In the inland waters of the Tar-Pamlico River, Pungo River, 

Pee Dee River, and their tributaries, the daily creel limit for 

American and hickory shad is 10 in the aggregate. 

(e)  In the inland waters of the Cape Fear River and its tributaries, 

the daily creel limit for American and hickory shad is 10 in the 

aggregate, only five of which may be American shad. 

(f)  In Roanoke Rapids Reservoir, Lake Gaston and John H. Kerr 

Reservoir, no American shad may be possessed. 

(g)  The season for taking American and hickory shad with dip 

nets and bow nets is March 1 through April 30. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 

Eff. November 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0314 STRIPED BASS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for striped bass and its hybrids is four 

fish in the aggregate, except in waters identified in Paragraphs (d) 

and (g) through (l) of this Rule. 

(b)  The minimum size limit for these fish is 20 inches, except in 

waters identified in Paragraphs (d) through (l) of this Rule. 

(c)  There is no closed season, except for waters identified in 

Paragraphs (i) through (m) of this Rule. 

(d)  In the Dan River upstream from its confluence with Bannister 

River to the dam at Union Street in Danville, VA and in John H. 

Kerr Reservoir, the daily creel limit on striped bass and its hybrids 
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is two in the aggregate and the minimum size limit is 20 inches 

from October 1 through May 31. From June 1 through September 

30, the daily creel limit on striped bass and its hybrids is four in 

the aggregate with no minimum size limit. 

(e)  In Lake Gaston and Roanoke Rapids Reservoir, the minimum 

size limit for striped bass and its hybrids is 20 inches from October 

1 through May 31. There is no minimum size limit for these fish 

from June 1 through September 30. 

(f)  In Hyco Lake, Moss Lake, Mountain Island Reservoir, Oak 

Hollow Lake, Lake Thom-A-Lex, Lake Townsend, and Salem 

Lake the minimum size limit for striped bass and its hybrids is 16 

inches. 

(g)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit is 15 in 

the aggregate. There is no minimum size limit, but only two may 

be greater than 22 inches. 

(h)  In Lake Mattamuskeet, and in the Pee Dee River and its 

tributaries downstream from the Blewett Falls Dam to the South 

Carolina state line, the daily creel limit for striped bass and its 

hybrids is three fish in the aggregate, and the minimum size limit 

is 18 inches. 

(i)  In the inland fishing waters of Neuse, Pungo, and Tar Pamlico 

rivers and their tributaries extending upstream to the first 

impoundment of the main course on the river or its tributaries, and 

in all other inland fishing waters east of Interstate 95 not specified 

in Paragraphs (h) and (j) through (l) of this Rule, the daily creel 

limit for striped bass and its hybrids is two fish in the aggregate. 

The minimum size limit is 26 inches. In these waters, the season 

for taking and possessing striped bass is closed from May 1 

through September 30. 

(j)  In the inland fishing waters of the Cape Fear River and its 

tributaries downstream of Buckhorn Dam and in the ponds 

associated with Martin Marietta Park in Craven County, the 

season for taking and possessing striped bass is closed year-round. 

(k)  In the inland and joint fishing waters of the Roanoke River 

Striped Bass Management Area, as established in 15A NCAC 

03R .0201 and identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0110, which 

includes the Roanoke, Cashie, Middle, and Eastmost rivers and 

their tributaries, the open season for taking and possessing striped 

bass and its hybrids is March 1 through April 30 from the joint-

coastal fishing waters boundary at Albemarle Sound upstream to 

Roanoke Rapids Lake dam. During the open season, the daily 

creel limit for striped bass and its hybrids is one fish in the 

aggregate, and the minimum size limit is 18 inches. No fish 

between 22 inches and 27 inches in length shall be possessed in 

the daily creel limit.  

(l)  In designated inland and joint fishing waters of Roanoke 

Sound, Croatan Sound, Albemarle Sound, Chowan River, 

Currituck Sound, Alligator River, Scuppernong River, and their 

tributaries (excluding the Roanoke River and Cashie River and 

their tributaries), the striped bass fishing season, size limits, and 

creel limits are the same as those established by rules or 

proclamations of the Marine Fisheries Commission in adjacent 

coastal fishing waters. 

(m)  In accordance with G.S. 113-292, the Executive Director 

may, by proclamation, suspend or extend the hook-and-line 

season for striped bass in the inland and joint waters of coastal 

rivers and their tributaries. It is unlawful to violate the provisions 

of any proclamation issued under this authority. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. November 1, 2013; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2018; August 1, 2016; August 1, 2015; 

August 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; August 1, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2022; 

Amended Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0318 WHITE BASS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for white bass is 10 fish. 

(b)  There is a 14-inch minimum size limit.  

(c)  There is no closed season.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 

Eff. November 1, 2013. 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0319 WHITE PERCH 

(a)  There is no daily creel limit for white perch. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  In and west of Haywood, Buncombe, and Rutherford 

counties, it is unlawful to transport, possess, or release live white 

perch. 

(e)  White perch may be taken when captured in a cast net being 

used to collect nongame fishes for bait or personal consumption 

in all impounded waters west of I-95 and in the Tar River 

Reservoir (Nash County). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. November 1, 2013; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2016; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2021; 

Amended Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0321 SMALLMOUTH BASS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for smallmouth bass is five fish, except 

in waters identified in Paragraphs (d) through (f) of this Rule. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit for smallmouth bass, but only 

two of them may be less than 14 inches except in waters identified 

in Paragraphs (d) through (f) of this Rule. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  In Lake Santeetlah in Graham County, there is no daily creel 

limit for largemouth bass and smallmouth bass less than 14 

inches. The daily creel limit for largemouth bass and smallmouth 

bass greater than 14 inches is five fish in aggregate. 

(e)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit for 

largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, Alabama bass, and spotted 

bass is 10 fish in aggregate. There is no minimum size limit for 

smallmouth bass. 
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(f)  In the Alleghany County portion of New River downstream of 

Fields Dam (Grayson County, Virginia), the daily creel limit for 

largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, and spotted bass is five fish in 

aggregate. There is no minimum size limit for smallmouth bass, 

but no fish between 14 and 22 inches in length may be possessed 

and only one largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, or spotted bass 

greater than 22 inches may be possessed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 

Eff. August 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; 

Amended Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0322 ALABAMA BASS AND SPOTTED 

BASS 

(a)  There is no daily creel limit for Alabama bass or spotted bass, 

except for waters identified in Paragraphs (d) and (e) of this Rule. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit for 

largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, Alabama bass, and spotted 

bass is 10 fish in aggregate. 

(e)  In the Alleghany County portion of New River downstream 

of Fields Dam (Grayson County, Virginia), the daily creel limit 

for largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, and spotted bass is five fish 

in aggregate. There is no minimum size limit for spotted bass, but 

no fish between 14 and 22 inches in length may be possessed and 

only one largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, or spotted bass 

greater than 22 inches may be possessed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 

Eff. August 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; 

Amended Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0323 REDEYE BASS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for redeye bass is five fish. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit for redeye bass, but only two 

of them may be less than 14 inches. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 

Eff. August 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0324 BULLHEADS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for black bullhead, brown bullhead, flat 

bullhead, snail bullhead, white catfish, and yellow bullhead is 10 

fish in aggregate. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit. 

(c)  There is no closed season.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 

Eff. August 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.3). 

15A NCAC 10C .0325 SEA TROUT 

(a)  The daily creel limit for sea trout (spotted or speckled) is four 

fish. 

(b)  The minimum size limit is 14 inches. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0326 RED DRUM 

(a)  The daily creel limit for red drum (also known as channel bass, 

red fish or puppy drum) is one fish. 

(b)  The minimum size limit is 18 inches and no fish over 27 

inches may be possessed in the daily creel limit. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0401 MANNER OF TAKING 

NONGAME FISHES 

(a)  Except as permitted by the rules in this Section, no person 

shall take nongame fishes from the inland fishing waters of North 

Carolina in any manner other than with hook and line, grabbling, 

or special device with a special device fishing license, or inland 

fishing license. 

(b)  Nongame fishes may be taken from inland fishing waters at 

any time without restriction as to size limits or creel limits, except 

as specified in this Section. 

(c)  Special devices used with a special device fishing license shall 

only be used in those counties and waters with open season 

designated in 15A NCAC 10C .0407. 

(d)  Archery equipment used with either a hunting license or 

inland fishing license may be used to take nongame fishes year-

round in all inland fishing waters, except: 

(1) in the Pee Dee River downstream of Blewett 

Falls Dam to the South Carolina state line and 

in all tributaries, where only catfish can be 

taken; 

(2) in impounded waters located on the Sandhills 

Game Land; and 

(3) in public mountain trout waters. 

(e)  Set hooks, jug hooks, and trotlines may be used to take 

nongame fishes as designated in 15A NCAC 10C .0206. 

(f)  The season for taking nongame fishes by hook and line in 

designated public mountain trout waters is the same as the trout 

fishing season. Trout seasons are designated in 15A NCAC 10C 

.0316. 

(g)  Nongame fishes taken by hook and line, grabbling, or by 

special device with a special device fishing license may be sold 

unless otherwise specified in this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-272; 113-292; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; July 1, 1993; May 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1996; July 1, 1995; 
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Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; July 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (approved by RRC on 06/21/01 and 

04/18/02); 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2004 (this amendment replaces the 

amendment approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019; August 1, 2018; August 1, 2016; 

August 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; August 1, 2013; August 1, 2012; 

August 1, 2011; August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; May 

1, 2007; May 1, 2006; June 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; 

Amended Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0402 TAKING NONGAME FISHES BY 

SPECIAL DEVICE FOR BAIT OR PERSONAL 

CONSUMPTION 

(a)  The use of equipment specified in this Rule requires a valid 

license that provides basic inland fishing privileges. 

(b)  It is unlawful to take nongame fish for bait or personal 

consumption in the inland waters of North Carolina using 

equipment other than: 

(1) a net of dip net design not greater than six feet 

across; 

(2) a seine of not greater than 12 feet in length 

(except in Lake Waccamaw in Columbus 

County where there is no length limitation) and 

with a bar mesh measure of not more than one-

fourth inch; 

(3) a cast net; 

(4) a bow net for the seasons and waters in which 

the use of bow nets is authorized in 15A NCAC 

10C .0407; 

(5) a dip net when used in conjunction with a 

licensed hand-crank electrofisher; 

(6) a gig (except in Public Mountain Trout Waters); 

(7) up to three traps for the seasons and waters in 

which the use of traps is authorized in 15A 

NCAC 10C .0407; 

(8) up to two eel pots; 

(9) a spear gun for the seasons and waters in which 

the use of a spear gun is authorized in 15A 

NCAC 10C .0407; 

(10) minnow traps not exceeding 12 inches in 

diameter and 24 inches in length, with funnel 

openings not exceeding one inch in diameter, 

from which all fish and animals are removed 

daily, and that are labeled with the user's 

Wildlife Resources Commission customer 

number or name and address; 

(11) a hand-held line with a single bait attached; 

(12) a single, multiple-bait line for taking crabs not 

to exceed 100 feet in length, marked on each 

end with a solid float no less than five inches in 

diameter, bearing legible and indelible 

identification of the user's name and address, 

and under the immediate control and attendance 

of the person using the device, with a limit of 

one line per person and no more than one line 

per vessel; or 

(13) a collapsible crab trap with the largest open 

dimension not greater than 18 inches and that 

by design is collapsed at all times when in the 

water, except when it is being retrieved or 

lowered to the bottom, with a limit of one trap 

per person. 

(c)  It is unlawful to sell nongame fishes or aquatic animals taken 

under this Rule. 

(d)  Game fishes taken shall be returned unharmed to the water, 

except for the following:  

(1) American and hickory shad may be taken when 

captured with dip nets and bow nets from 

March 1 through April 30 subject to the size and 

creel limits specified in 15A NAC 10C .0313. 

(2) white perch may be taken when captured in a 

cast net being used to collect nongame fishes 

for bait or personal consumption in all 

impounded waters west of I-95 and in the Tar 

River Reservoir (Nash County) subject to the 

size and creel limits specified in 15A NCAC 

10C .0319. 

(e)  No person shall take or possess during one day more than 200 

nongame fish, in aggregate, for bait or personal consumption, 

accounting for species specific size and creel limits identified in 

Section .0400 of this Subchapter. 

(f)  Any fishes taken for bait purposes are included within the 

daily possession limit for that species. 

(g)  It is unlawful to take nongame fish for bait from the following 

waters: 

(1) Public Mountain Trout Waters (except in 

impounded waters of power reservoirs and 

municipally-owned water supply reservoirs); 

(2) Bear Creek in Chatham County; 

(3) Deep River in Chatham, Lee, and Moore 

counties and downstream of Coleridge Dam in 

Randolph County; 

(4) Fork Creek in Randolph County; and 

(5) Rocky River in Chatham County. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-272; 113-272.3; 

113-292; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; July 1, 1998; July 1, 1993; July 1, 

1992; May 1, 1992; July 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. July 18, 2002; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004 (this amendment replaces the 

amendment approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019; August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; 

August 1, 2016; August 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; August 1, 2013; 

August 1, 2010; May 1, 2008; May 1, 2007; May 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021; 

Amended Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.3). 
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15A NCAC 10C .0404 SPECIAL DEVICES 

(a)  Archery equipment. Archery equipment, as defined in 15A 

NCAC 10B .0116, is a special device.  

(b)  Nets. Where authorized, manually operated nets, including 

seines and bow, cast, dip, gill, drift, and fyke nets may be used 

under the special device license. No fixed gill net or other 

stationary net which may be authorized as a special device may 

be more than 100 yards in length, nor shall any such net be placed 

within 50 yards of any other fixed net. Fixed nets must be set so 

that they run parallel to the nearest shoreline. No fixed or drift gill 

nets shall be used unless such net is marked for the protection of 

boat operators. A net shall be deemed so marked when there is 

attached to it at each end two separate yellow buoys that shall be 

of solid foam or other solid buoyant material no less than five 

inches in its smallest dimensions. The owner shall be identified 

on a buoy on each end either by using engraved buoys or by 

attaching engraved metal or plastic tags to the buoys. Such 

identification shall include one of the following: 

(1) owner's N.C. motor boat registration number; 

(2) owner's U.S. vessel documentation name; or 

(3) owner's last name, first and middle initials. 

It is unlawful to attach gill nets to any wire, rope, or similar device 

extended across any navigable watercourse. 

(c)  Traps. Baskets and traps, excluding collapsible crab traps, 

may be used under the special device license. Such devices when 

set and left unattended shall be affixed with a card or tag furnished 

by the license holder and upon which his name and address shall 

be legibly and indelibly inscribed. No fish trap may exceed 60 

inches in length or 30 inches in depth or width. No lead nets, wing 

nets, or other device designed to guide or herd fish may be 

attached to the trap or used or set within 25 feet of the trap. 

(d)  Spears. Manually operated gigs or under-water spear or 

harpoon guns may be used under the special device license in the 

inland waters having a season for their use specified in 15A 

NCAC 10C .0407. 

(e)  Crab pots. It is unlawful to use crab pots in inland fishing 

waters, except by persons owning property adjacent to the inland 

fishing waters of coastal rivers and their tributaries who are 

permitted to set two crab pots to be attached to their property and 

not subject to special device license requirements. 

(f)  Eel pots. It is unlawful to use pots with mesh sizes smaller 

than one-half inch by one-half inch. Each pot must be marked by 

attaching a floating buoy that shall be of solid foam or other solid 

buoyant material and no less than five inches in diameter and no 

less than five inches in length. Buoys may be of any color except 

yellow. The owner shall be identified on the attached buoy by 

using engraved buoys or by engraved metal or plastic tags 

attached to the buoy. Such identification shall include one of the 

following: 

(1) owner's N.C. motorboat registration number; 

(2) owner's U.S. vessel documentation name; or 

(3) owner's last name, first and middle initials. 

(g)  Hand-crank electrofisher. For the purposes of this Rule, a 

hand-crank electrofisher is any manually-operated device which 

is capable of generating a low voltage electrical current not 

exceeding 300 volts for the taking of catfish. Hand-crank 

electrofishers may be used only where authorized by local law and 

only in those waters specified in 15A NCAC 10C .0407. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-272.2; 113-276; 

113-292; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1999; July 1, 1996; December 1, 1995; July 

1, 1995; July 1, 1994; July 1, 1993; 

Temporary Amendment Effective July 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; August 1, 2012; May 1, 2008; May 

1, 2007; August 1, 2004; July 18, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 

150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0405 POSSESSION OF LICENSES 

Except as indicated in this Rule, every individual participating in 

the taking of fish through the use of any special device must have 

the special device fishing license issued to him, personally, in his 

possession or readily available for inspection. A bow net or a dip 

net may be used by an individual other than the licensee with the 

licensee's permission, but such user must have the license in his 

possession or readily available for inspection. When using drag 

seines authorized for taking nongame fishes at beaches on inland 

fishing waters where there are migratory saltwater fishes only the 

principal owner and operator is required to be licensed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-275; 113-276; 

113-276.1; 113-292; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 

150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0406 TRAWLS AND DREDGES 

It is unlawful to use a trawl or clam dredge in any inland fishing 

waters. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-276; 113-292; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1988; January 1, 1982; January 1, 1981; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 

150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0407 PERMITTED SPECIAL 

DEVICES AND OPEN SEASONS 

The use of special fishing devices, including crab pots in 

impoundments located entirely on game lands, shall be 

prohibited. Seasons and waters in which the use of other special 

devices is authorized are indicated by counties below: 

(1) Alamance: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in 

Alamance Creek below NC 49 bridge 

and Haw River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(2) Alexander: July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs 

in all public waters; and with spear guns in Lake 

Hickory and Lookout Shoals Reservoir; 

(3) Alleghany: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in New 

River, except designated public mountain trout 

waters; 
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(4) Anson: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Pee Dee River below Blewett Falls 

Dam; 

(c) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except Pee Dee 

River from Blewett Falls downstream 

to the Seaboard Coast Line Railroad 

trestle; 

(5) Ashe: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in New River 

(both forks), except designated public mountain 

trout waters; 

(6) Beaufort: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in the 

Pungo River, and in the Tar and 

Pamlico Rivers above Norfolk and 

Southern Railroad bridge; and with 

gigs in all inland public waters; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters; 

(7) Bertie: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in the 

Broad Creek (tributary of Roanoke); 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except public 

lakes, ponds, and other impounded 

waters; 

(8) Bladen: 

(a) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Black River; 

(b) July 1 to March 1 with hand-crank 

electrofishers (local law) in Cape Fear 

River between Lock and Dam 1 and 3 

and in Black River, except that hand-

crank electrofishing is prohibited 

within 400 yards of Lock and Dam 1, 

2, and 3 on Cape Fear River; 

(9) Brunswick: March 1 to April 30 with bow nets 

in Alligator Creek, Hoods Creek, Indian Creek, 

Orton Creek below Orton Pond, Rices Creek, 

Sturgeon Creek and Town Creek; 

(10) Buncombe: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all 

public waters, except designated public 

mountain trout waters; 

(11) Burke: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except Johns 

River and designated public mountain 

trout waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps, gigs, and 

spear guns in all public waters, except 

designated public mountain trout 

waters and Lake James; 

(12) Cabarrus: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters; 

(13) Caldwell: July 1 to June 30 with traps, gigs, and 

spear guns in all public waters, except 

designated public mountain trout waters; 

(14) Camden: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in all 

inland public waters; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except public 

lakes, ponds, and other impounded 

waters; 

(15) Carteret: March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters except South River and 

the tributaries of the White Oak River; 

(16) Caswell: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(b) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except Moons 

Creek; 

(c) July 1 to June 30 with traps in Hyco 

Reservoir; 

(17) Catawba: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except 

Catawba River below Lookout Dam; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps, spear 

guns, and gigs in all public waters; 

(18) Chatham: 

(a) December 1 to April 15 with dip and 

gill nets in the Cape Fear River, Deep 

River, Haw River and Rocky River 

(local law); 

(b) July 1 to August 31 with seines in the 

Cape Fear River, and Haw River; 

(c) July 1 to June 30 with traps in Deep 

River; and with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(19) Cherokee: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all 

public waters, except designated public 

mountain trout waters; 

(20) Chowan: 

(a) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except public 

lakes, ponds, and other impounded 

waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps in all 

inland public waters, except public 

lakes, ponds, and other impounded 

waters; 

(21) Clay: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(22) Cleveland: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs, traps and 

spear guns in all public waters; 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

37:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2022 

125 

(23) Columbus: 

(a) December 1 to March 1 with gigs in all 

inland public waters, except Lake 

Waccamaw and its tributaries; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Livingston Creek; 

(c) July 1 to March 1 with hand-crank 

electrofishers (local law) in 

Waccamaw and Lumber rivers; 

(24) Craven: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in the main 

run of the Trent and Neuse Rivers; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except Pitch 

Kettle, Grindle, Slocum (downstream 

of the US 70 bridge), Spring, and 

Hancock Creeks and their tributaries; 

and with seines in the Neuse River; 

(25) Currituck: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in Tulls 

Creek and Northwest River; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except public 

lakes, ponds, and other impounded 

waters; 

(26) Dare: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in 

Mashoes Creek, Milltail Creek, East 

Lake, and South Lake; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except public 

lakes, ponds, and other impounded 

waters; 

(27) Davidson: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, and with traps in all public 

waters except Leonard's Creek, 

Abbott's Creek below Lake 

Thom-A-Lex dam, and the Abbott's 

Creek arm of High Rock Lake 

upstream from the NC 8 bridge; 

(28) Davie: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters; 

(b) July 1 to August 31 for taking only 

carp and suckers with seines in 

Dutchmans Creek from US 601 to 

Yadkin River and in Hunting Creek 

from SR 1338 to South Yadkin River; 

(29) Duplin: 

(a) December 1 to June 5 with seines in 

the main run of the Northeast Cape 

Fear River downstream from a point 

one mile above Serecta Bridge; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

the main run of the Northeast Cape 

Fear River downstream from a point 

one mile above Serecta Bridge; 

(30) Durham: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in 

Neuse River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(31) Edgecombe: March 1 to April 30 with bow nets 

in all public waters; 

(32) Forsyth: July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters, except traps may not be used 

in Belews Creek Reservoir; 

(33) Franklin: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in Tar 

River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except Parrish, Laurel Mill, 

Jackson, Clifton, Moore's, and Perry's 

Ponds, and in the Franklinton City 

ponds; 

(34) Gaston: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs, traps, and 

spear guns in all public waters; 

(35) Gates: March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in all 

inland public waters except public lakes, ponds, 

and other impounded waters; 

(36) Graham: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(37) Granville: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except Kerr Reservoir; 

(b) July 1 to August 31 with seines in the 

Tar River below US 158 bridge; 

(c) July 1 to June 30 with dip and cast nets 

in Kerr Reservoir; 

(38) Greene: March 1 to April 30 with bow nets and 

reels in Contentnea Creek; 

(39) Guilford: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in Haw 

River, Deep River below Jamestown 

Dam, and Reedy Fork Creek below 

US 29 bridge; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(40) Halifax: March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Beech Swamp, Clarks Canal, Conoconnara 

Swamp, Fishing Creek below the Fishing Creek 

Mill Dam, Kehukee Swamp, Looking Glass 

Gut, Quankey Creek, and White's Mill Pond 

Run; 

(41) Harnett: 

(a) January 1 to May 31 with gigs in Cape 

Fear River and tributaries; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Cape Fear River; 
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(42) Haywood: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all 

public waters, except Lake Junaluska and 

designated public mountain trout waters; 

(43) Henderson: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all 

public waters, except designated public 

mountain trout waters; 

(44) Hertford: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in 

Wiccacon Creek; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except public 

lakes, ponds, and other impounded 

waters; 

(45) Hyde: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in all 

inland waters; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except public 

lakes, ponds, and other impounded 

waters; 

(46) Iredell: July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters; and with spear guns in 

Lookout Shoals Reservoir and Lake Norman; 

(47) Jackson: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(48) Johnston: March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Black Creek, Little River, Middle Creek, Mill 

Creek, Neuse River and Swift Creek; 

(49) Jones: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in the 

Trent River below US 17 bridge and 

White Oak River below US 17 bridge; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except the 

tributaries to the White Oak River; 

(50) Lee: 

(a) December 1 to April 15 with dip and 

gill nets (local law) in Cape Fear River 

and Deep River; 

(b) July 1 to August 31 with seines in 

Cape Fear River; 

(c) July 1 to June 30 with traps in Deep 

River, and with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(51) Lenoir: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in Neuse 

River below US 70 bridge at Kinston; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Neuse River and Contentnea Creek 

upstream from NC 118 bridge at 

Grifton; and with seines in Neuse 

River; 

(52) Lincoln: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps, gigs, and 

spear guns in all public waters; 

(53) McDowell: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except 

designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps, gigs, and 

spear guns in all public waters, except 

designated public mountain trout 

waters and Lake James; 

(54) Macon: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(55) Madison: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all 

public waters, except designated public 

mountain trout waters; 

(56) Martin: March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except public lakes, 

ponds, and other impounded waters; 

(57) Mecklenburg: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps, gigs, and 

spear guns in all public waters except 

Freedom Park Pond and Hornet's Nest 

Ponds; 

(58) Montgomery: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except that part 

of the Pee Dee River between the Lake 

Tillery dam at Hydro and the mouth of 

Rocky River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters; 

(59) Moore: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters except in Deep 

River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except lakes located on the 

Sandhills Game Land; and with traps 

in Deep River and its tributaries; 

(60) Nash: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except Tar River; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

the Tar River below Harris' Landing 

and Fishing Creek below the Fishing 

Creek Mill Dam; 

(61) New Hanover: March 1 to April 30 with bow 

nets in all inland public waters, except Sutton 

(Catfish) Lake; 

(62) Northampton: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except Gaston and Roanoke 

Rapids Reservoirs and the Roanoke 

River above the US 301 bridge; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Occoneechee Creek, Old River 

Landing Gut, and Vaughans Creek 

below Watsons Mill; 
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(63) Onslow: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in White 

Oak River below US 17 bridge; 

(b) August 1 to March 31 with eel pots in 

the main run of New River between 

US 17 bridge and the mouth of 

Hawkins Creek; 

(c) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

the main run of New River and in the 

main run of the White Oak River; 

(d) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Grant's Creek; 

(64) Orange: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in Haw 

River, 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(65) Pamlico: March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except Dawson Creek; 

(66) Pasquotank: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in all 

inland waters; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except public 

lakes, ponds, and other impounded 

waters; 

(67) Pender: 

(a) December 1 to June 5 with seines in 

the main run of Northeast Cape Fear 

River; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

the Northeast Cape Fear River, Long 

Creek, Moore's Creek approximately 

one mile upstream to New Moon 

Fishing Camp, and Black River; 

(c) July 1 to March 1 with hand-crank 

electrofishers (local law) in Black 

River; 

(68) Perquimans: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in all 

inland waters; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except public 

lakes, ponds, and other impounded 

waters; 

(69) Person: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in 

Hyco Creek and Mayo Creek; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters. 

(70) Pitt: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in Neuse 

River and in Tar River below the 

mouth of Hardee Creek east of 

Greenville; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except 

Grindle Creek, and Contentnea Creek 

between NC 118 bridge at Grifton and 

the Neuse River; 

(c) December 1 to June 5 with seines in 

Tar River; 

(71) Polk: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(72) Randolph: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in 

Deep River above the Coleridge Dam 

and Uwharrie River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(73) Richmond: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except Pee Dee 

River from Blewett Falls downstream 

to the Seaboard Coast Line Railroad 

trestle; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters, except lakes located 

on the Sandhills Game Land; 

(c) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Pee Dee River below Blewett Falls 

Dam; 

(74) Robeson: December 1 to March 1 with gigs in 

all inland public waters. 

(75) Rockingham: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in Dan 

River and Haw River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps in Dan 

River; and with gigs in all public 

waters; 

(76) Rowan: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters; 

(77) Rutherford: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except 

designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps, gigs, and 

spear guns in all public waters, except 

designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(78) Sampson: 

(a) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Big Coharie Creek, Black River and 

Six Runs Creek; 

(b) July 1 to March 1 with hand-crank 

electrofishers (local law) in Black 

River downstream of NC 1105 bridge; 

(79) Stanly: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, except that part 

of the Pee Dee River between the Lake 
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Tillery dam at Hydro and the mouth of 

Rocky River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters; 

(80) Stokes: July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters, except designated public 

mountain trout waters, and traps may not be 

used in Belews Creek Reservoir; 

(81) Surry: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except designated public mountain trout 

waters; and with traps in the main stem of 

Yadkin River; 

(82) Swain: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except designated public mountain trout 

waters; 

(83) Transylvania: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all 

public waters, except designated public 

mountain trout waters; 

(84) Tyrrell: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with traps in 

Scuppernong River and Alligator 

Creek; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

all inland public waters, except Lake 

Phelps, the drainage canals that 

connect Lake Phelps and Scuppernong 

River, public lakes, ponds and other 

impounded waters; 

(85) Union: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in all 

running public waters, 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with traps and gigs in 

all public waters; 

(86) Vance: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in the 

Tar River; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except Rolands, Faulkners, 

Southerlands, and Weldon Ponds, City 

Lake, and Kerr Reservoir; 

(c) July 1 to June 30 with dip and cast nets 

in Kerr Reservoir; 

(87) Wake: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except Sunset, Benson, 

Wheeler, Raleigh, and Johnson Lakes; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

the Neuse River below Falls Lake 

Dam, and Swift Creek below Lake 

Benson Dam; 

(88) Warren: 

(a) July 1 to August 31 with seines in 

Fishing Creek, Shocco Creek, and 

Walker Creek; except Duck and 

Hammes Mill Ponds; 

(b) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, except Duck and Hammes Mill 

Ponds, Kerr Reservoir, and Gaston 

Reservoir; 

(c) July 1 to June 30 with dip and cast nets 

in Kerr Reservoir; 

(89) Washington: March 1 to April 30 with bow nets 

in all inland public waters, except Lake Phelps, 

the drainage canals that connect Lake Phelps 

and Scuppernong River, public lakes, ponds, 

and other impoundments. 

(90) Wayne: March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Little River, Mill Creek and Neuse River. 

(91) Wilkes: July 1 to June 30 with traps in Yadkin 

River below W. Kerr Scott Reservoir; and with 

gigs and spear guns in all public waters, except 

designated public mountain trout waters; 

(92) Wilson: 

(a) July 1 to June 30 with gigs in 

Contentnea Creek (except Buckhorn 

Reservoir), including unnamed 

tributaries between Flowers Mill and 

SR 1163 (Deans) bridge; 

(b) March 1 to April 30 with bow nets in 

Contentnea Creek below US 301 

bridge and in Toisnot Swamp 

downstream from the Lake Toisnot 

Dam; and 

(93) Yadkin: July 1 to June 30 with gigs in all public 

waters, and with traps in the main stem of 

Yadkin River. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-276; 113-292; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 29, 1988; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 1993; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; July 1, 1998; July 1, 1996; December 

1, 1995; July 1, 1995; July 1, 1994; June 1, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; July 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (approved by RRC on 06/21/01 and 

04/18/02); 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019; August 1, 2015; May 1, 2007; June 

1, 2005; August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 

150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0409 TAKING AND POSSESSION OF 

NONGAME FISHES 

(a)  Individuals shall only take up to the daily creel limit of those 

species of nongame fish having a specified creel limit. 

(b)  Individuals shall only possess, on those waters being fished: 

(1) the specified daily creel limit for the species; 

(2) fish conforming to the size limit of the species; 

and 

(3) the daily creel limit while fishing or afield. 

(c)  Individuals shall only possess up to three days creel limit at 

any place. 

(d)  No person, while fishing or afield, shall: 

(1) remove the head or tail or otherwise change the 

appearance of any nongame fish specified in 

Section .0400 of this Subchapter as having a 

size limit, so as to render it impractical to 
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measure its total original length, except as 

provided in 15A NCAC 10C .0410. 

(2) change the appearance of any nongame fish that 

has a species-specific daily creel limit in 

Section .0400 of this Subchapter, as to obscure 

its identification or render it impractical to 

count the number of fish in possession, except 

for American Eel as provided in 15A NCAC 

10C .0410. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 

Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0410 AMERICAN EEL 

(a)  The daily creel limit for American eels taken from or 

possessed, regardless or origin, while boating on or fishing in 

inland fishing waters is 25. 

(b)  The minimum size limit is nine inches. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  Eels greater than nine inches in length and with a minimum 

body depth greater than ½ inch may be cut for use as bait. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0411 ATLANTIC CROAKER 

(a)  The daily creel limit for Atlantic croaker is 50 fish. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  Atlantic croaker shall not be sold. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0412 BLACK DRUM 

(a)  The daily creel limit for black drum is 10 fish. 

(b)  The minimum size limit is 14 inches and no fish over 25 

inches may be possessed in the daily creel limit. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  Black drum shall not be sold. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0413 BLUE CRAB 

(a)  Blue crabs shall have a minimum carapace width of five 

inches (point to point). 

(b)  It is unlawful to possess more than 50 crabs per person per 

day, or to exceed 100 crabs per vessel per day. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  Blue crabs shall not be sold. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3). 

15A NCAC 10C .0414 BLUEFISH 

(a)  The daily creel limit for bluefish is three. 

(b)  There is no size limit. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  Bluefish shall not be sold. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0415 BOWFIN 

(a)  There is no daily creel limit for bowfin. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  Bowfin shall not be sold. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0416 BLUE CATFISH, CHANNEL 

CATFISH, AND FLATHEAD CATFISH 

(a)  There is no daily creel limit for blue, channel, and flathead 

catfish, except for waters identified in Paragraphs (e), (f), and (g) 

of this Rule. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  In waters that are stocked and managed for catfish and located 

on game lands, on Commission-owned property, or on the 

property of a cooperator, including waters within the Community 

Fishing Program, no person shall take channel or blue catfish by 

means other than hook and line. 

(e)  In waters that are stocked and managed for catfish and located 

on game lands, on Commission-owned property, or on the 

property of a cooperator, including waters within the Community 

Fishing Program, the daily creel limit for channel catfish is seven 

on waters posted with signs indicating the creel limit. 

(f)  The daily creel limit for blue catfish greater than 32 inches is 

one fish in the following waters: 

(1) Lake Norman; 

(2) Mountain Island Lake; 

(3) Lake Wylie; 

(4) Badin Lake; 

(5) Lake Tillery; 

(6) John H. Kerr Reservoir (North Carolina 

portion); 

(7) Dan River (Downstream of the Union Street 

Dam in Danville, VA); 

(8) Lake Gaston (North Carolina portion); and 

(9) Roanoke Rapids Reservoir. 

(g)  The daily creel limit is five catfish in aggregate on the Pee 

Dee River downstream of Blewett Falls Dam to the South 

Carolina state line and all tributaries. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3). 
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15A NCAC 10C .0417 COBIA 

(a)  The daily creel limit for cobia is one fish. 

(b)  The minimum size limit is 36 inches. 

(c)  The season for taking and possessing cobia is May 1 to 

December 31. 

(d)  Cobia shall not be sold. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0418 FRESHWATER MUSSELS 

(a)  Freshwater mussels, including the Asiatic clam (Corbicula 

fluminea), may only be taken from impounded waters, except 

mussels shall not be taken in: 

(1) Lake Waccamaw in Columbus County; and 

(2) University Lake in Orange County. 

(b)  The daily possession limit for freshwater mussels is 200 in the 

aggregate, except there is no daily possession limit for the Asiatic 

clam (Corbicula fluminea). 

(c)  There is no minimum size limit. 

(d)  There is no closed season. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0419 GRASS CARP 

(a)  There is no daily creel limit for grass carp, except for waters 

identified in Paragraphs (d) and (e) of this Rule. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  Grass carp shall not be taken or possessed except that one fish 

per day may be taken with archery equipment on the following 

waters: 

(1) Lake James; 

(2) Lookout Shoals Lake; 

(3) Mountain Island Reservoir; and 

(4) Lake Wylie. 

(e)  Grass carp shall not be taken or possessed except for scientific 

study by permit issued by the Wildlife Resources Commission on 

the following waters: 

(1) Lake Gaston (S.L. 2009-261); 

(2) Roanoke Rapids Reservoir (S.L. 2009-261); 

(3) Lake Norman; and 

(4) the North Carolina portion of John H. Kerr 

Reservoir. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0420 KING MACKEREL 

(a)  The daily creel limit for king mackerel is three fish. 

(b)  The minimum size limit is 24 inches. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  King mackerel shall not be sold. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0421 MARGINED MADTOM AND 

TADPOLE MADTOM 

Margined madtom and tadpole madtom shall not be taken or 

possessed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0422 STRIPED MULLET AND WHITE 

MULLET 

(a)  The daily creel limit for striped mullet and white mullet is 200 

fish in aggregate. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0423 ALEWIFE AND BLUEBACK 

HERRING 

(a)  There is no daily creel limit for alewife or blueback herring 

(river herring), except for waters identified in Paragraph (e) of this 

Rule. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit, except for waters identified 

in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  While boating on or fishing in the following inland fishing 

waters, no person shall take alewife and blueback herring that are 

greater than six inches in length, or possess such herring 

regardless of origin in: 

(1) Roanoke River downstream of Roanoke Rapids 

Dam; 

(2) Tar River downstream of Rocky Mount Mill 

Dam; 

(3) Neuse River downstream of Falls Lake Dam; 

(4) Cape Fear River downstream of Buckhorn 

Dam; 

(5) Pee Dee River downstream of Blewett Falls 

Dam; 

(6) Lumber River, including Drowning Creek; 

(7) all the tributaries to the rivers listed above; and 

(8) all other inland fishing waters east of I-95. 

(e)  It shall be unlawful to transport, possess, or release live 

alewife or blueback herring, in the waters of the Little Tennessee 

River in and upstream of Lake Santeetlah and Cedar Cliff Lake, 

including all the tributaries and impoundments thereof, and on 

adjacent shorelines, docks, access ramps, and bridge crossings. 

(f)  Alewife and blueback herring, excluding those less than 6 

inches in length collected from Kerr Reservoir (Granville, Vance, 

and Warren counties), may not be sold. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 
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Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0424 SHARKS 

Sharks shall not be taken or possessed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0425 SHEEPSHEAD 

(a)  The daily creel limit for sheepshead is 10 fish. 

(b)  The minimum size limit is 10 inches. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  Sheepshead shall not be sold. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0426 SPANISH MACKEREL 

(a)  The daily creel limit for Spanish mackerel is 15 fish. 

(b)  The minimum size limit is 12 inches. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  Spanish mackerel shall not be sold. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0427 SPOT 

(a)  The daily creel limit for spot is 50 fish. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  Spot shall not be sold. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0428 TARPON 

Tarpon shall not be taken or possessed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0429 WEAKFISH (GRAY TROUT) 

(a)  The daily creel limit for weakfish (gray trout) is one fish. 

(b)  The minimum size limit is 12 inches. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  Weakfish shall not be sold. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0430 OTHER FISHES 

(a)  For any nongame fish species not specifically listed in this 

Section, there is no daily creel limit. 

(b)  There is no size limit. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 

113-305; 

Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0701 INLAND GAME FISHES 

DESIGNATED IN COASTAL FISHING WATERS 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, only the following fishes are 

classified and designated as inland game fishes in coastal fishing 

waters: 

(1) Alabama bass, largemouth bass, redeye bass, 

smallmouth bass, and spotted bass; 

(2) black crappie and white crappie; 

(3) chain pickerel (jack), muskellunge, and redfin 

pickerel; 

(4) kokanee salmon; 

(5) mountain trout, all species including but not 

limited to brook trout, brown trout, and rainbow 

trout; 

(6) Roanoke bass and rock bass (redeye); 

(7) sauger and walleye; and 

(8) sunfish, including bluegill (bream), flier, 

pumpkinseed, redbreast (robin), redear 

(shellcracker), warmouth, and all other species 

of the sunfish family (Centrarchidae) not 

specifically listed in this Rule. 

(b)  Inland game fishes shall not be taken by any method other 

than with hook and line, except that landing nets may be used to 

land fishes caught on hook and line. 

(c)  Size, creel limits, and seasons for inland game fishes in coastal 

fishing waters shall be the same as those in inland waters 

designated in Section .0300 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  Inland game fishes taken incidental to commercial fishing 

operations shall be immediately returned to the water unharmed. 

(e)  Inland game fishes taken from coastal fishing waters shall not 

be sold. 

(f)  Individuals shall only take up to the daily creel limit of those 

species of inland game fish having a specified creel limit. 

(g)  Individuals shall only possess, on those waters being fished: 

(1) the specified daily creel limit for the species; 

(2) fish conforming to the size limit for the species; 

and 

(3) the daily creel limit while fishing or afield. 

(h)  Individuals shall only possess up to three days creel limit at 

any place. 

(i)  No person, while fishing or afield, shall: 

(1) unnecessarily destroy any inland game fish 

taken from public fishing waters; 

(2) remove the head or tail or otherwise change the 

appearance of any game fish having a size limit 

so to render it impracticable to measure its total 

original length; or 

(3) change the appearance of any game fish having 

a daily creel limit so to obscure its identification 

or render it impracticable to count the number 

of fish in possession. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-135; 113-135.1; 

113-292; 

Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10D .0106 DESIGNATED BEAR 

MANAGEMENT AREAS 

(a)  Bear may be taken on posted designated bear management 

areas specified in Paragraph (c) of this Rule during the open 

season by permit only. Individuals may apply for permits on or 

after July 1 online at ncwildlife.org, by phone, or in person at a 

wildlife service agent location. The number of permits issued 

annually will be based on achieving population management 

objectives of the Commission. The Commission shall issue 

available bear management area permits to applicants selected at 

random by computer. Permits shall be non-transferrable. All 

applicable laws and rules regarding the taking of bear shall apply. 

(b)  The following shall be posted designated bear management 

areas: 

Bachelor Bay designated bear management area – Bertie 

and Washington counties 

Columbus County designated bear management area – 

Brunswick and Columbus counties 

Croatan designated bear management area – Carteret, 

Craven, and Jones counties 

Daniel Boone designated bear management area – 

Avery, Burke, and Caldwell counties 

Dare designated bear management area – Dare and Hyde 

counties 

Fires Creek designated bear management area – Clay 

County 

Flat Top designated bear management area – Mitchell 

and Yancey counties 

Green Swamp designated bear management area – 

Brunswick County 

Gull Rock designated bear management area – Hyde 

County 

Harmon Den designated bear management area – 

Haywood County 

Juniper Creek designated bear management area – 

Brunswick and Columbus counties 

Mt. Mitchell designated bear management area – 

McDowell and Yancey counties 

North River designated bear management area – Camden 

and Currituck counties 

Panthertown – Bonas Defeat designated bear 

management area – Jackson County 

Pisgah designated bear management area – Buncombe, 

Haywood, Henderson and Transylvania 

Pungo River designated bear management area – Hyde 

County 

Rich Mountain designated bear management area – 

Madison County 

Sherwood designated bear management area – Haywood 

County 

Suggs Mill Pond designated bear management area – 

Bladen and Cumberland counties 

Standing Indian designated bear management area – 

Macon County 

Thurmond Chatham designated bear management area – 

Allegheny and Wilkes counties 

Wayah designated bear management area – Macon 

County 

(c)  It shall be lawful to take bear on the following designated 

management areas when authorized by permit issued by the 

Commission in accordance with G.S. 113-264(d): 

Daniel Boone designated bear management area – 

Avery, Burke, and Caldwell counties 

Dare designated bear management area – Dare and Hyde 

counties 

Mt. Mitchell designated bear management area – 

McDowell and Yancey counties 

Panthertown – Bonas Defeat designated bear 

management area – Jackson County 

Pisgah designated bear management area – Buncombe, 

Haywood, Henderson and Transylvania 

Standing Indian designated bear management area – 

Macon County 

(d)  Feral Swine shall not be taken with the use of dogs on 

designated bear management areas. 

(e)  Dogs shall not be trained or allowed to run unleashed between 

March 1 and the Monday on or nearest October 15 on designated 

bear management areas located in and west of the counties and 

parts of counties described in 15A NCAC 10B .0109. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.1; 

113-291.2; 113-291.7; 113-305; 

Eff. August 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.3). 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0312 HENDERSON COUNTY 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0317 STANLY COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

described as follows: 

(1) Badin Lake. 

(A) within 50 yards northeast and 

southwest of the section of the railroad 

trestle designed for vessel traffic, 

northwest of the Old Whitney Boating 

Access Area near the Stanly-

Montgomery County line; 

(B) Old Whitney Boating Access Area on 

Old Whitney Road in New London; 

and 

(C) Badin Lake Boat Ramp, 293 NC 

Highway 740 in Badin. 

(2) Lake Tillery. 

(A) Turner Beach Cove shore to shore, 

south of a point at 35.22529 N, 

80.09318 W;  
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(B) the waters within 50 yards of the fuel 

docks at the Boathouse and Marina at 

712 Berry Hill Drive in Norwood; 

(C) the waters within 50 yards of the 

shoreline at Morrow Mountain State 

Park, from a point north of the Morrow 

Mountain Boathouse at a point at 

35.38256 N, 80.06221 W, to a point 

south of the Morrow Mountain Boat 

Launch at 35.37919 N, 80.06114 W; 

(D) Norwood Boating Access Area, 307-A 

Lakeshore Drive in Norwood; and 

(E) Stony Mountain Boating Access Area, 

22682-A Lake Tillery Road in 

Albemarle. 

(3) Tuckertown Reservoir, within 50 yards of the 

NC Highway 49 Boat Ramp at 36824 NC 

Highway 49 in New London. 

(b)  Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter the waters of the Badin 

Swim Area. 

(c)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any of the regulated area described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  Placement of Markers. 

(1) The North Carolina Wildlife Resources 

Commission shall be the designated agency for 

placement and maintenance of the markers 

implementing Parts (a)(1)(A), (B), (C), 

(a)(2)(D), (E), and Subparagraph (a)(3) of this 

Rule. 

(2) The Board of Commissioners of Stanly County 

shall be the designated agency for placement of 

markers implementing Parts (a)(2)(A), (B) and 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(3) Morrow Mountain State Park shall be the 

designated agency for placement of markers 

implementing Part (a)(2)(C) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1995; March 25, 1978; November 1, 1977; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; April 1, 1999; July 1, 1998; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. July 30, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2020; October 1, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Expired February 26, 2021; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022; October 1, 2021; February 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0318 WARREN COUNTY 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1992; March 25, 1978; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 17, 2002; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2004 (this amendment replaces the 

amendment approved by RRC on February 20, 2003; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2013; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018; 

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0323 BURKE COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule applies to the following waters in 

Burke County: 

(1) Lake Hickory. 

(2) Lake James at the following locations: 

(A) Holiday Shores Subdivision; 

(B) Lake James Campground; 

(C) Laurel Pointe Subdivision; 

(D) the waters of Boyd Moore Cove shore 

to shore, north of a line from a point 

on the northwest shore at 35.76667 N, 

81.82337 W to a point on the southeast 

shore at 35.76558 N, 81.82245 W; 

(E) East Shores development; 

(F) Mallard Cove shore to shore, 

southwest of a point at 35.74437 N, 

81.87053 W; 

(G) the portion of Lake James shore to 

shore, beginning 385 yards northeast 

of the NC Highway 126 bridge at a 

line from a point on the north shore at 

35.74652 N, 81.88231 W to a point on 

the south shore at 35.74440 N, 

81.88017 W, and ending at a line 550 

yards southwest of the NC Highway 

126 bridge and 50 yards south of the 

Canal Bridge Boating Access Area 

dock from a point on the northwest 

shore at 35.74163 N, 81.88943 W to a 

point on the southeast shore at 

35.73869 N, 81.88652 W; 

(H) the waters within 50 yards of the end 

of the South Pointe Subdivision 

peninsula from a point east of the 

peninsula at 35.76399 N, 81.83768 W, 

and surrounding the peninsula from a 

point east of the peninsula at 35.76399 

N, 81.83768 W, and surrounding the 

peninsula to a point west of the 

peninsula at 35.76307 N, 81.83648 W; 

(I) the waters of Sherman's Hollow Cove 

shore to shore, and contiguous with 

those waters beginning at a point on 

the west shore of the mouth of 

Sherman's Hollow Cove at 35.76423 

N, 81.82748 W, extending northeast 

within 50 yards of Linville Point to a 

point on the northeast shore of Linville 

Point at 35.76596 N, 81.82432 W; and 

(J) the waters of Mills Creek at Lake 

James State Park, shore to shore from 
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a point 50 yards northwest of the Cove 

bridge at 35.76469 N, 81.87703 W to 

a point 50 yards southeast of the 

bridge at 35.76406 N, 81.87637 W. 

(3) Lake Rhodhiss. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within the regulated areas described in Paragraph 

(a) of this rule. 

(c)  Speed Limit in Mooring Areas. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed while within a marked 

mooring area on the regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule. 

(d)  Swimming Area. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter the waters of Paddy's 

Creek Swim Area at Lake James State Park Road in Nebo. 

(e)  Placement of Markers. The following agencies shall be 

responsible for placement of the markers implementing this Rule, 

subject to the approval of the United States Coast Guard and the 

United States Army Corps of Engineers: 

(1) the Board of Commissioners of Burke County, 

for the regulated areas designated in Parts 

(a)(2)(A) through (I) of this Rule; and 

(2) Lake James State Park for the regulated areas 

designated in Part (a)(2)(J) and Paragraph (d) of 

this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. July 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1995; December 1, 1994; December 

1, 1992; March 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 2001; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2009; May 1, 2009; August 1, 2002; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. November 2, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 30, 2020; Temporary 

Amendment Expired September 26, 2021; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022; February 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0327 MONTGOMERY COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the waters and 

portions of waters described as follows: 

(1) Badin Lake. 

(A) Lake Forest Drive Cove shore to 

shore, west of a point 50 yards east of 

the fueling site at the marina at 

35.48739 N, 80.10918 W; 

(B) Garr Creek shore to shore, north of a 

line beginning at a point on the east 

shore at 35.47952 N, 80.13633 W to a 

point on the west shore at 35.47946 N, 

80.13932 W; 

(C) the channel between Beyer's Island 

and the mainland, shore to shore 

beginning at a line from a point on 

Beyer's Island at 35.49102 N, 

80.10221 W to a point on the mainland 

at 35.49230 N, 80.10241 W, ending at 

a line westward, from a point on 

Beyer's Island at 35.48988 N, 

80.10573 W to a point on the mainland 

at 35.49077 N, 80.10702 W;  

(D) within 50 yards of the fueling station 

at the Old North State Marina at the 

entrance to a cove within the Uwharrie 

Point . community; 

(E) within 50 yards of the Circle Drive 

Boating Access Area, at 724 Shoreline 

Drive in New London; 

(F) within 50 yards of Lakemont Boating 

Access Area, at 241 Lakemont Road 

in New London; and 

(G) within 50 yards of the Cove Boat 

Ramp at 400 Cove Road in New 

London. 

(2) Lake Tillery. 

(A) the waters within 50 yards of the boat 

ramp in the south end of Woodrun 

Cove at 35.33113 N, 80.06277 W; 

(B) Carolina Forest Cove shore to shore 

and the waters within 50 yards of the 

boat ramps and boat slips at the end of 

Arroyo Drive in Carolina Forest 

Community, from a point on the south 

shore at 35.36276 N, 80.05386 W, 

northeast to a point on the north shore 

at 35.36405 N, 80.05304 W;  

(C) Lilly's Bridge Boating Access Area 

shore to shore, from line 25 feet north 

of the SR 1110 bridge otherwise 

known as Lillys Bridge Road at a point 

on the east shore at 35.23223 N, 

80.06166 W, to a point on the west 

shore at 35.23289 N, 80.06318 W, to a 

line 200 feet southwest of the Lilly's 

Bridge Boating Access Area, from a 

point on the east shore at 35.23067 N; 

80.06262 W, to a point on the west 

shore at 35.23156 N; 80.06437 W; and 

(D) within 50 yards of Swift Island 

Boating Access Area at 4917 NC 

Highway 24/27 in Mount Gilead. 

(3) Tuckertown Reservoir. Pee Dee River, within 

50 yards of the Clarks Creek Boating Access 

Area at 177 Tillery Dam Road in Mount Gilead. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any regulated area described in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Swimming Area. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter the marked swimming 

area on Badin Lake at the Pinehaven Village beach area at 370 

Pinehaven Drive in New London, within 50 feet of the shoreline 

between points at 35.49927 N, 80.11428 W; and 35.49934 N, 

80.11437 W. 
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(e)  Placement of Markers. The following agencies shall be 

responsible for placement or placement and maintenance of the 

markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the 

United States Coast Guard and United States Army Corps of 

Engineers: 

(1) The Board of Commissioners of Montgomery 

County for placement of the markers 

implementing Parts (a)(1)(A), (B), (C), (D), and 

(a)(2)(A), and (B) of this Rule; 

(2) The North Carolina Wildlife Resources 

Commission for placement and maintenance of 

the markers implementing Parts (a)(1)(E), (F), 

(a)(2)(C), (D), and Subparagraph (a)(4) of this 

Rule; 

(3) The Board of Commissioners of Montgomery 

County shall be the designated agency for 

placement and maintenance of the ropes and 

markers implementing Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule; and 

(4) The U.S. Forest Service for placement and 

maintenance of the markers implementing Part 

(a)(1)(G) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. November 1, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1990; May 1, 1989; March 25, 1978; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; July 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2006; June 1, 2005; April 1, 2003; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018; April 1, 2017; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. July 30, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Expired March 12, 2021; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022; October 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0333 MECKLENBURG AND GASTON 

COUNTIES 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

of Lake Wylie in Mecklenburg and Gaston Counties: 

(1) McDowell Park. The waters of the coves 

adjoining McDowell Park and the Southwest 

Nature Preserve in Mecklenburg County shore 

to shore, east of the mouth of the cove at a line 

from a point on the south shore at 35.10272 N, 

81.03026 W to a point on the north shore at 

35.10556 N, 80.02964 W; 

(2) Gaston County Wildlife Club Cove. The waters 

of the cove west of the Gaston County Wildlife 

Club on South Point Road in Belmont, north of 

a line at the mouth of the cove from a point on 

the east shore at 35.15628 N, 81.01427 W to a 

point on the west shore at 35.15628 N, 

81.01615 W; 

(3) Buster Boyd Bridge. The waters from a point 

250 feet east of the Buster Boyd Bridge on N.C. 

Highway 49 in Mecklenburg County at 

35.10293 N, 81.03932 W, to a point 150 feet 

west of the Buster Boyd Bridge at 35.10242 N, 

81.04089 W; 

(4) N.C. Highway 27 bridge. The waters shore to 

shore, from a point 50 yards north of the N.C. 

Highway 27 bridge in Mecklenburg and Gaston 

counties at 35.29849 N, 81.00346 W to a point 

190 yards south of the N.C. Highway 27 bridge 

at 35.29635 N, 81.00424 W; 

(5) Brown's Cove. The area beginning at the mouth 

of Brown's Cove in Mecklenburg County shore 

to shore, at a point at 35.16453 N, 81.00474 W, 

west to a point at 35.16480 N, 81.00309 W; 

(6) Paradise Point Cove. The waters of Paradise 

Point Cove in Gaston County between Paradise 

Circle and Lake Front Drive, west of a line from 

a point on the south shore at 35.18853 N, 

81.04036 W to a point on the north shore at 

35.18991 N, 81.04136 W; 

(7) Withers Cove. The waters from a point 50 feet 

southeast of the Withers Bridge on SR 1116, 

otherwise known as Shopton Road W. in 

Mecklenburg County at 35.14576 N, 81.00187 

W, to a point 50 feet northwest of the bridge at 

35.14599 N, 81.00222 W; 

(8) Sadler Island. The waters shore to shore 

beginning at a line from a point on the west 

shore of Lake Wylie in Gaston County at 

35.27481 N, 81.0138 W east to a point on the 

east shore of the Lake in Mecklenburg County 

at 35.27423 N, 81.01111 W, extending south on 

the Lake west of Sadler Island to a line from a 

point on the west shore of the Lake in Gaston 

County at 35.27079 N, 81.01525 W, east to a 

point on the west side of Sadler Island in 

Mecklenburg County at 35.27051 N, 81.01396 

W, and the waters shore to shore east of Sadler 

Island in Mecklenburg County from a point at 

35.27441 N, 81.01185 W, south-southwest to a 

line from a point on the south shore of Sadler 

Island at 35.26635 N, 81.01432 W, south to a 

point on the Lake shore at 35.26494 N, 

81.01368 W; 

(9) Other bridges. The areas within 50 feet of any 

bridge in North Carolina that crosses the waters 

of Lake Wylie that is not otherwise specifically 

mentioned in this Paragraph; and 

(10) Yachtsman on Lake Wylie Community. The 

waters within 50 yards of the community piers 

near the terminus of Waterside Drive in 

Mecklenburg County, and northward to include 

the waters east of the island that is west of Point 

Lookout Road, ending at a line from a point on 

the northern end of the island at 35.12226 N, 

81.03306 W, east to a point on the shore at 

35.12253 N, 81.03190 W; and 
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(11) Brown's Cove. The waters of Brown's Cove 

beginning at a line from a point on the east 

shore at 35.16892 N, 80.99702 W to a point on 

the west shore at 35.16948 N, 80.99783 W, 

northeast to a line from a point on the south 

shore at 35.16913 N, 80.99556 W to a point on 

the north shore at 35.17043 N, 80.99684 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit Near Ramps. No person shall operate a vessel at 

greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any public boat-

launching ramp, dock, pier, marina, boat storage structure, or boat 

service area. 

(c)  Speed Limit Near Marked Swimming or Mooring Areas. No 

person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed within 

50 yards of any marked mooring area or marked swimming area. 

(d)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The Lake Wylie 

Marine Commission shall be the designated agency for placement 

and maintenance of markers implementing this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. July 1, 1980; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; June 1, 1985; June 1, 1984; March 1, 

1983; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 4, 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2009; June 1, 2004; July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022; May 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0336 NORTHAMPTON AND 

WARREN COUNTIES 

(a)  No person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed 

in the following waters of Lake Gaston and the Roanoke River in 

Northampton and Warren counties. 

(1) Lake Gaston: 

(A) the cove on the north shore of Lake 

Gaston in Northampton County east of 

SR 1252 otherwise known as Vincent 

Lane, shore to shore from a point on 

the north shore at 36.51660 N, 

77.82226 W to a point on the south 

shore at 36.51578 N, 77.82269 W; 

(B) Jimmies Creek in Northampton 

County shore to shore, north of a line 

from a point on the east shore at 

36.52450 N, 77.82600 W to a point on 

the west shore at 36.52445 N, 

77.82810 W; 

(C) within 50 yards of the Henrico Boating 

Access Area in Northampton County, 

142 Wildlife Landing Road, Henrico, 

N.C.; 

(D) within 50 yards of the Vultare Boating 

Access Area in Northampton County, 

773 Old Gaston Road, Gaston, N.C; 

(E) within 50 yards east and west of the 

N.C. Highway 903 Eaton Ferry Road 

Bridge in Warren County; 

(F) within 50 yards of the Hawtree Creek 

Boating Access Area in Warren 

County, 1200 Peete Farm Road, 

Warrenton, N.C.; 

(G) within 50 yards of the Salmons 

Landing Boating Access area in 

Warren County, 129 Salmon Landing 

Road, Littleton, N.C.; 

(H) within 50 yards of the Wildwood Point 

boat ramp in Warren County,184 N. 

Oak Drive, Littleton, N.C.; 

(I) within 50 yards of the Lizard Creek 

boat ramp in Warren County, 417 

Lizard Creek Road, Littleton, N.C.; 

(J) Songbird Creek in Warren County 

within 50 yards of the culvert under 

N.C. Highway 903 at 36.53260 N, 

77.97330 W; and 

(K) Sixpound Creek in Warren County 

within 50 yards of the culvert under 

SR 1704 otherwise known as Nocarva 

Road at 36.52950 N, 78.07283 W; 

(L) Lizard Creek in Warren County within 

50 yards of the culvert under SR 1362 

otherwiseknown as Lizard Creek 

Road at 36.52501 N, 77.91187 W; 

(M) within 50 yards of the Waters View 

Restaurant adjacent to the northwest 

end of the N.C. Highway 903 bridge in 

Warren County; 

(N) the cove west of the Pointe at Lake 

Gaston at the southwest end of the 

N.C. Highway 903 bridge in Warren 

County, south of a point at 36.50937 

N, 77.96644 W; 

(O) Camp Willow Run Canoe and Sail 

Cove in Warren County, beginning at 

a line shore to shore from a point on 

the southwest shore at 36.49355 N, 

77.91795 W, to a point on the north 

shore at 36.49534 N, 77.91508 W; and 

(P) the cove on Hubquarter Creek in 

Warren County, shore to shore 

beginning at a line from a point on the 

northeast shore at 36.50030 N, 

78.00474 W to a point on the 

southwest shore at 36.49947 N, 

78.00553 W. 

(2) Roanoke River. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed in 

Roanoke River in Northampton County within 

50 yards of the Gaston Boating Access Area, 

601 Roanoke Rapids Road, Gaston, N.C. 

(b)  Speed Limit in Mooring Areas. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed while within a marked 
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mooring area on the waters of Lake Gaston within Northampton 

and Warren counties. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The Boards of Commissioners of 

Northampton County and Warren County shall be the designated 

agencies for placement of the markers implementing this Rule, 

subject to the approval of the United States Coast Guard and 

United States Army Corps of Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. March 29, 1981; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1994; March 1, 1993; September 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 15, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Expired October 12, 2003; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2014; May 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022; February 1, 2020; October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0354 PITT COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the waters described 

in this Paragraph: 

(1) the waters of Tar River, known as Hardee 

Creek, shore to shore, west of a line at its 

confluence with the main course of Tar River 

from a point on the north shore at 35.59878 N, 

77.31168 W to a point on the south shore at 

35.59813 N, 77.31157 W;  

(2) the portion of Tranters Creek east of a line from 

a point on the north shore at 35.56961 N, 

77.09159 W to a point on the south shore at 

35.56888 N, 77.09118 W and north of a line 

from a point on the east shore at 35.56714 N, 

77.08941 W to a point on the west shore at 

35.56689 N, 77.09029 W; and 

(3) the waters of Barber Creek at Wildwood Park 

in the City of Greenville shore to shore, north 

of its confluence with Tar River at a point at 

35.60719 N, 77.32890 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within the regulated areas described in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The following agencies shall be 

responsible for placement of the markers implementing this Rule, 

subject to the approval of the United States Coast Guard and the 

United States Army Corps of Engineers: 

(1) The Board of Commissioners of Pitt County for 

those waters listed in Subparagraphs (a)(1) and 

(a)(2) of this Rule; and 

(2) The City of Greenville for the waters listed in 

Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. May 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2014; September 1, 2010; July 1, 1995; 

April 1, 1992; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022; October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0378 HALIFAX COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

in Halifax County: 

(1) Roanoke Rapids Lake. 

(A) within 50 yards north and south of the 

abandoned railroad trestle at the 

location where Deep Creek meets 

Roanoke Raids Lake in Roanoke 

Rapids, northwest of Windsong Drive; 

(B) within 50 yards of the Thelma Boating 

Access Area, 1011 Van Warren Road, 

Roanoke Rapids; and 

(C) within 50 yards of the Fifth Street 

Landing Boating Access Area, 1919 

W. Fifth Street, Roanoke Rapids. 

(2) Roanoke River. 

(A) Within 50 yards of the Weldon 

Boating Access Area, 1090 Rockfish 

Lane, Weldon; and 

(B) within 50 yards of the Edwards Ferry 

Boating Access Area, 89 U.S. 

Highway 258, Scotland Neck. 

(3) Lake Gaston within 50 yards of Summit 

Boating Access Area at 432 Bluebird Lane, 

Littleton. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any of the regulated areas described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The North Carolina Wildlife 

Resources Commission shall be the designated agency for 

placement and maintenance of the markers implementing this 

Rule, subject to the approval of the United States Coast Guard and 

United States Army Corps of Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0135 PERMITS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to operate a processing facility without 

first obtaining a Crustacea Permit and Certificate of Compliance 

from the Division of Marine Fisheries. 

(b)  Application for a permit shall be submitted in writing to the 

Division. Application forms may be obtained from the Division, 

P.O. Box 769, 3441 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557. 

(c)  No permit shall be issued by the Division until an inspection 

by the Division shows that the facility and equipment comply with 

applicable rules of this Section. The owner or responsible person 

shall sign the completed inspection sheet to acknowledge receipt 

of the inspection sheet. 

(d)  The permit shall be posted in a conspicuous place in the 

facility. 

(e)  All permits shall expire on March 31 of each year and are non-

transferrable. 

(f)  Plans and specifications for proposed new construction, 

expansion of operations, or changes in operating processes shall 

be submitted to the Division for review and approval prior to 

beginning construction or making a change. 
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(g)  A permit may be revoked or suspended in accordance with 

15A NCAC 03O .0504. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0302 PERMITS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to operate any of the following facilities 

without first obtaining a Shellfish Dealer Permit and Certificate 

of Compliance from the Division of Marine Fisheries: 

(1) depuration facilities; 

(2) repacking plants; 

(3) shellstock plants; and 

(4) shucking and packing plants. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to operate as a shellstock dealer without 

first obtaining a Shellfish Dealer Permit and Certificate of 

Compliance from the Division. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful to operate as a reshipper without first 

obtaining a Shellfish Dealer Permit and Certificate of Compliance 

from the Division if shellfish are purchased and shipped out of 

state. 

(d)  Approval for wet storage of shellstock shall be granted only 

to persons permitted pursuant to this Rule. 

(e)  Application for a permit shall be submitted in writing to the 

Division. Application forms may be obtained from the Division, 

P.O. Box 769, 3441 Arendell Street, Morehead City, NC 28557. 

(f)  No permit shall be issued by the Division until an inspection 

by the Division shows that the facility and equipment comply with 

all applicable Rules in Sections .0300 through .0800 of this 

Subchapter. The owner or responsible person shall sign the 

completed inspection sheet to acknowledge receipt of the 

inspection sheet. 

(g)  All permits shall be posted in a conspicuous place in the 

facility. 

(h)  All permits shall expire on April 30 of each year and are non-

transferrable. 

(i)  Plans and specifications for proposed new construction, 

expansion of operations, or changes in operating processes shall 

be submitted to the Division for review and approval prior to 

beginning construction or making a change. 

(j)  A permit may be revoked or suspended in accordance with 

15A NCAC 03O .0504. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0303 RELAYING PERMITS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-230; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; 

Repealed Eff. (Pending legislative review of 15A NCAC 03K 

.0104). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0304 DEPURATION HARVESTING 

PERMITS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-230; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; 

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0425 DEALER TAGS 

(a)  Consistent with the rules of this Section, it shall be unlawful 

to possess shellstock without a dealer tag or label affixed after the 

shellstock is processed or shipped by the initial certified shellfish 

dealer. The tag shall be durable, waterproof, and a minimum of 

two and five-eighths inches by five and one-fourth inches in size. 

It shall be unlawful for the tag to fail to contain legible 

information arranged in the specific order as follows: 

(1) the dealer's name, address, and certification 

number assigned by the appropriate shellfish 

control agency; 

(2) the original shipper's certification number; 

(3) the harvest date, or if depurated, the date of 

depuration processing, or if wet stored, the 

original harvest date and the final harvest date, 

which is the date removed from wet storage; 

(4) if wet stored or depurated, the wet storage or 

depuration cycle or lot number. The wet storage 

lot number shall begin with the letter "W"; 

(5) the most precise identification of the harvest 

location as is practicable, including the initials 

of the state of harvest, and the state or local 

shellfish control authority's designation of the 

growing area by indexing, administrative, or 

geographic designation. If the authority in 

another state has not indexed growing areas, 

then a geographical or administrative 

designation shall be used (e.g., Long Bay, 

shellfish lease or franchise number, or lot 

number); 

(6) the type and quantity of shellstock; 

(7) the following statements in bold, capitalized 

font: 

(A) "THIS TAG IS REQUIRED TO BE 

ATTACHED UNTIL CONTAINER 

IS EMPTY AND THEREAFTER 

KEPT ON FILE, IN 

CHRONOLOGICAL ORDER, FOR 

90 DAYS."; and 

(B) "RETAILERS; DATE WHEN LAST 

SHELLFISH FROM THIS 

CONTAINER SOLD OR SERVED 

(INSERT DATE) ______."; 

(8) the following statement, or equivalent: 

"Consumer Advisory 

Eating raw oysters, clams, or mussels may 

cause severe illness. People with the following 

conditions are at especially high risk: liver 
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disease, alcoholism, diabetes, cancer, stomach 

or blood disorder, or weakened immune system. 

Ask your doctor if you are unsure of your risk. 

If you eat raw shellfish and become sick, see a 

doctor immediately."; and 

(9) the following statement, or equivalent: 

"Keep Refrigerated". 

(b)  The dealer tag or label shall remain attached to the shellstock 

container until the container is empty and thereafter shall be kept 

on file, in chronological order, for 90 days. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; January 4, 1994; December 1, 1987; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 12, 1998; February 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0912 SHELLFISH MANAGEMENT 

AREAS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-230; 

Eff. June 1, 1989; 

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 02 – BOARD OF ARCHITECTURE AND 

REGISTERED INTERIOR DESIGNERS 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0102 ORGANIZATION OF BOARD 

AND OFFICERS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 83A-2; 83A-6; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989; November 1, 1979; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021. 

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0106 SEAL OF BOARD 

The official seal adopted by the Board is the Great Seal of the 

State of North Carolina with the inscription of the Board name on 

the perimeter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 83-5; 83A-6; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

21 NCAC 02 .0108 FEES 

The fees required by the Board are set forth below: 

 

Initial License to Practice Architecture: 

By Exam   $50.00 

By Reciprocity   $150.00 

Firm License   $75.00 

 

Annual License to Practice Architecture Renewal: 

Individual   $50.00 

Firm    $100.00 

 

Late Renewal Penalty for Individual Architects and Firms: 

Up-to-30 days   $50.00 

30 days to 1 year   $100.00 

 

Reinstatement of Expired License: 

Architect   $250.00 

Firm    $250.00 

 

Initial Registration to Practice Interior Design: 

By Reciprocity   $150.00 

Firm Registration   $75.00 

 

Annual Registration to Practice Interior Design Renewal: 

Individual   $50.00 

Firm    $100.00 

 

Late Renewal Penalty for Interior Designers and Interior Design 

Firms: 

Up-to-30 days   $50.00 

30 days to 1 year   $100.00 

 

Reinstatement of Expired Registration 

Interior Designer   $250.00 

Interior Design Firm  $250.00 

 

All fees paid to the Board are non-refundable. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-10; 83A-4; 83A-11; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; December 1, 2010; June 1, 1995; 

December 1, 1992; May 1, 1991; May 1, 1989; July 1, 1987; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0109 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the statutory definitions in G.S. 83A-1, as used in 

these Rules, the following terms shall have the following 

meanings: 

(1) "Delinquent" is the status of a license 

registration that has not been renewed in 

accordance with Rule .0213(b) of this Chapter 

for individuals and Rule .0214(c) of this 

Chapter for firms. 
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(2) "Fictitious name" is any assumed name, style, 

or designation other than the proper legal name 

of the entity as registered with the Secretary of 

State. The surname of a person, standing alone 

or coupled with words that describe the 

business, is not a fictitious business name. The 

inclusion of words that suggest additional 

owners, such as "Company," "& Company," "& 

Sons," "& Associates," makes the name an 

assumed or fictitious name. For partnerships, 

the last name of all partners must be listed, or 

the fictitious name definition applies. 

(3) "Procurement" means purchasing or pricing of 

materials to construct a building or structure. 

(4) "Direct Supervision" as used in North Carolina 

G.S. 83A-15(a)(1)b means responsible control 

as defined in Rule .0203 of this Chapter. 

(5) "Continuing Competency" as used in G.S 83A-

6(a) means continuing education obtained post 

licensure or registration that enables an 

architect or registered interior designer to 

increase or update knowledge of and 

competence in technical and professional 

subjects related to the practice of architecture 

and interior design to safeguard the public's 

health, safety, and welfare. 

(6) "Health, safety or, welfare" (HSW) as used in 

G.S. 83A-6(a) means technical and professional 

subjects that according to these rules safeguard 

the public and that are necessary for the proper 

evaluation, design, construction and utilization 

of buildings and the built environment. 

(7) "Architect-of-record" or "Designer-of-record" 

means persons or entities whose seals appear on 

plans, specifications, and contract documents. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 83A-6; 

Eff. November 1, 2010; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0201 ARCHITECT, REGISTERED 

INTERIOR DESIGNER, FIRM OR PARTNERSHIP 

CONTACT INFORMATION AS ON FILE WITH THE 

BOARD 

(a)  Every individual licensee and registrant shall keep the Board 

advised of his or her preferred current contact information. 

Current contact information includes a physical mailing address, 

email, phone numbers, and the name of the firm or partnership 

where he or she is employed. 

(b)  Each firm or partnership shall, within 30 days, notify the 

Board of all changes in ownership, association, contact 

information, email, or physical address. Upon the dissolution of a 

firm, the architect or registered interior designer in responsible 

control of the firm at the time of dissolution shall notify the Board 

within 30 days concerning such dissolution and of the succeeding 

status and addresses of the architects and registered interior 

designers employed by the firm.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 83A-5; 83A-6; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2010; June 1, 1995; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0202 APPLICABILITY OF BOARD 

RULES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 83A-6; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; June 1, 1995; May 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0203 RULES OF PROFESSIONAL 

CONDUCT 

All persons licensed or registered under the provisions of Chapter 

83A of the North Carolina General Statutes are charged with 

having knowledge of the rules of this Chapter and are deemed to 

be familiar with their provisions and to understand them. Each 

licensed or registered person and entity shall sign a statement on 

the renewal notice affirming understanding of the laws and rules. 

(1) Licensees and registrants shall conduct their 

practice in order to safeguard life, health and 

property as provided in G.S. 83A-12. The 

licensee or registrant shall always recognize the 

primary obligation to protect the public in the 

performance of the professional duties. If the 

licensee or registrant's professional judgment is 

overruled under circumstances where the 

licensee or registrant, in their professional 

judgment, believes health, safety, and welfare 

of the public are endangered, the licensee or 

registrant shall inform the employer, the client, 

the contractor, other affected parties, and any 

appropriate regulatory agency of the possible 

consequences of the situation. 

(2) In designing a project, the licensee or registrant 

shall consider all applicable federal, State and 

municipal building laws and rules. A licensee 

or registrant shall undertake to perform 

professional services only when they, together 

with those whom the licensee or registrant may 

engage as consultants, are qualified by 

education, training and experience in the 

specific technical areas involved. While a 

licensee or registrant may rely on the advice of 

other professionals such as attorneys, engineers 

or other qualified persons as to the intent and 
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meaning of such laws and rules, once having 

obtained advice, a licensee or registrant shall 

not design a project in violation of laws and 

rules. 

(3) In practicing architecture or interior design, the 

licensee or registrant shall act with reasonable 

care and competence and shall apply the 

technical knowledge and skill which is 

ordinarily applied by architects or interior 

designers of good standing.  

(4) Responsible Control. No architect or registered 

interior designer shall affix his or her seal and 

signature to contract documents developed by 

others not under the architect's or registered 

interior designer's responsible control. 

"Responsible control" means that amount of 

control over and professional knowledge of the 

content of technical submissions during their 

preparation as is exercised by an architect or 

registered interior designer applying the 

required professional standard of care, 

including: 

(a) dissemination of programmatic 

requirements; 

(b) ongoing coordination and correlation 

of services with other aspects of the 

total design of the project; 

(c) verification with consultant that 

owner's requirements are being met; 

(d) authority over the services of those 

who assisted in the preparation of the 

documents; 

(e) assumption of responsibility for the 

services; 

(f) incorporation of services and technical 

submissions into design documents to 

be issued for permitting purposes; and 

(g) incorporation and integration of 

information from manufacturers, 

suppliers, installers, the architect's or 

registered interior designer's 

consultants, owners, contractors, or 

other sources the architect or 

registered interior designer knows to 

be reliable that is incidental to and 

intended to be incorporated into the 

architect's or registered interior 

designer's technical submissions if the 

architect or registered interior designer 

has coordinated and reviewed such 

information. 

(5) An architect or registered interior designer shall 

not deliberately make a false statement or 

deliberately fail to disclose a fact requested in 

connection with their application for license or 

registration renewal. 

(6) An architect or registered interior designer shall 

not assist in the application for licensure or 

registration of a person known by the architect 

or registered interior designer to be unqualified 

with respect to education, training, experience, 

or character. 

(7) An architect or registered interior designer shall 

issue public statements only in an unbiased and 

truthful manner and: 

(a) shall be objective and truthful in all 

professional reports, statements, or 

testimony. The architect or registered 

interior designer shall include all 

relevant and pertinent information in 

such reports, statements or testimony; 

(b) when serving as an expert or technical 

witness before any court, commission, 

or other tribunal, shall express an 

opinion only when it is founded upon 

knowledge of the facts at issue, upon a 

background of technical competence 

in the subject matter, and of the 

accuracy and propriety of the 

individual's testimony; 

(c) shall issue no statements, criticisms, or 

arguments on architectural or interior 

design matters connected with public 

policy which are inspired or paid for 

by an interested party, or parties, 

unless the architect or registered 

interior designer has prefaced the 

comment by explicitly identifying 

their name, by disclosing the identities 

of the party or parties on whose behalf 

the architect or registered interior 

designer is speaking, and by revealing 

the existence of any pecuniary interest 

the architect or registered interior 

designer may have in the matters; and 

(d) shall not attempt to harm the 

professional reputation, prospects, 

practice, or employment of another 

architect or registered interior 

designer, nor indiscriminately criticize 

another architect's or registered 

interior designer's work. 

Indiscriminate criticism is a statement 

without basis or cause or that is not 

objective and truthful or that fails to 

include all factual information. If the 

architect or registered interior designer 

believes that another architect or 

registered interior designer is in 

violation of G.S. 83A or the Rules of 

this Chapter, such information shall be 

presented to the North Carolina Board 

of Architecture and Registered Interior 

Designers in writing. 

(8) An architect or registered interior designer shall 

avoid conflicts of interest and: 

(a) shall inform the employer or client, 

and any reviewing agency, of any 
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business association, interests, or 

circumstances that attempts to 

influence the judgment or the quality 

of services of the architect or 

registered interior designer. If, in the 

course of their work on a project, an 

architect or registered interior designer 

becomes aware of a decision taken by 

their employer or client, against their 

advice, which violates applicable State 

or municipal building laws or federal 

regulations and which will, in their 

judgment, affect adversely the safety 

to the public of the finished project, 

the architect or registered interior 

designer shall: 

(i) report the decision to the 

local building inspector or 

other public official charged 

with the enforcement of the 

applicable State or municipal 

building laws and 

regulations; 

(ii) refuse to consent to the 

decision; 

(iii) in circumstances where the 

architect or registered 

interior designer reasonably 

believes that other such 

decisions will be taken 

notwithstanding his or her 

objection, terminate their 

services with reference to the 

project; and 

(iv) in the case of termination in 

accordance with clause in 

Sub-Item (a)(iii) of this Rule, 

the architect or registered 

interior designer shall have 

no liability to his or her client 

or employer on account of 

such termination. 

(b) shall not accept compensation, 

financial or otherwise, from more than 

one party for services on the same 

project, or for services pertaining to 

the same project, unless the 

circumstances are disclosed to, and 

agreed to, in writing, by all interested 

parties; 

(c) shall not solicit or accept financial or 

other valuable considerations from 

material, furniture, fixtures, or 

equipment suppliers for specifying 

their products unless disclosed to the 

client; 

(d) shall not pay or offer to pay, a 

commission, political contribution, 

gift, or other consideration in order to 

secure work. Gifts of nominal value 

including entertainment and 

hospitality are permitted; 

(e) when in public service as a member, 

advisor, or employee of a 

governmental body or department, 

shall not participate in considerations 

or actions with respect to services 

provided by the licensee or registrant 

or the licensee's or registrant's firm in 

private architectural or registered 

interior design practices; 

(f) shall not engage in any false, 

deceptive, fraudulent, or misleading 

advertising; 

(g) shall not attempt to supplant another 

architect or registered interior designer 

on a specific project after becoming 

aware that the other has been selected 

for the employment; 

(h) when acting as the interpreter of 

building contract documents and the 

judge of contract performance, an 

architect or interior designer shall 

render decisions in an impartial 

manner; 

(j) if an architect or registered interior 

designer has any business association 

or financial interest which influences 

their judgment in connection with the 

performance of professional services, 

they shall disclose in writing to their 

client or employer the nature of the 

business association or financial 

interest, and if the client or employer 

objects to such association or financial 

interest, they will either terminate such 

association or interest or offer to give 

up the commission or employment; 

(k) an architect or registered interior 

designer making public statements on 

architectural or interior design 

questions shall disclose when they are 

being compensated for making such 

statements. 

(9) A licensee or registrant shall solicit or accept 

work on the basis of qualifications and: 

(a) shall not offer to pay any commission, 

political contribution, gift, or other 

consideration in order to secure work, 

exclusive of securing salaried 

positions through employment 

agencies; 

(b) shall not solicit or submit proposals for 

professional services containing a 

false, fraudulent, misleading, or 

deceptive statement or claim regarding 

the cost, quality, or extent of services 

to be rendered; 
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(c) shall, with regard to fee bidding on 

public projects, comply with, and not 

knowingly cooperate in any violation 

of the provisions of G.S.143-64.31(a), 

(a1), (e), and (f) for state projects and, 

with the Brooks Act, 40 U.S.C. 541 et 

seq. for federal projects; and 

(d) shall not falsify or permit 

misrepresentation of academic or 

professional qualifications and shall 

only report educational qualifications 

when a degree or certificate was 

awarded unless it is stated that no 

degree or certificate was awarded; and 

(e) shall represent to a prospective or 

existing client or employer their 

qualifications and the scope of their 

responsibility in connection with work 

for which they are claiming credit. 

Misrepresentation shall be found if 

any of the following is not complied 

with: 

(i) Each licensee or registrant 

shall state their prior 

professional experience and 

the firm they are representing 

while presenting 

qualifications to all 

prospective clients. If the 

licensee or registrant uses 

visual representations of 

prior projects or experience, 

all designers or architects of 

record shall be identified. 

(ii) An architect or registered 

interior designer who has 

been an employee of another 

firm may not claim credit for 

projects contracted for in the 

name of the previous 

employer. They shall 

indicate, next to the listing 

for each project, that 

individual experience gained 

in connection with the project 

was acquired as an employee 

and identify the previous 

firm. The architect or 

registered interior designer 

shall also describe the nature 

and extent of their 

participation in the project. 

(iii) An architect or registered 

interior designer who 

presents a project that has 

received awards or public 

recognition shall comply 

with the requirements in this 

Sub-Item with regard to 

project presentation to the 

public and prospective 

clients. 

(iv) Projects that remain 

unconstructed and are listed 

as credits in presentation 

items shall be listed as 

"unbuilt" or a similar 

designation, as determined 

by the architect or registered 

interior designer. 

(10) A licensee or registrant shall perform services 

in compliance with all of the provisions of this 

Chapter and any federal, State, and municipal 

laws or regulations that apply and: 

(a) shall not knowingly associate with or 

permit the use of the licensee's or 

registrant's name or firm name in a 

business venture by any person or firm 

which the licensee or registrant knows, 

or has reason to believe, is engaging in 

business or professional practices of a 

fraudulent or dishonest nature or is not 

licensed or registered; 

(b) if the licensee or registrant has 

knowledge or reason to believe that 

another person or firm may be in 

violation of the rules of this Chapter or 

of the North Carolina Architectural 

and Registered Interior Design 

Practice Act (G.S. 83A), they shall 

present such information to the Board 

in writing and shall cooperate with the 

Board in furnishing further 

information or assistance as may be 

required by the Board. 

(c) An architect or registered interior 

designer shall cooperate with the 

Board in connection with any inquiry 

it shall make. Cooperation includes 

responding to all inquiries from the 

Board or its representative and 

claiming correspondence from the U. 

S. Postal Service, or other delivery 

service, sent to the licensee or 

registrant from the Board in a timely 

manner. The Board shall utilize 

electronic mail as its primary method 

of communication with licensees and 

registrants. "Timely" is defined as 

within the time specified in the 

correspondence, or if no time is 

specified, within 15 business days of 

receipt. 

(11) An architect or registered interior designer who 

has received a reprimand or civil penalty or 

whose professional license or registration is 

revoked, suspended, denied, refused renewal, 

refused reinstatement, put on probation, 
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restricted, or surrendered as a result of 

disciplinary action by another jurisdiction is 

subject to discipline by the Board if the 

licensee's or registrant's action constitutes a 

violation of G.S. 83A or the rules of this 

Chapter adopted by the Board. 

(12) In addition to the grounds stated in G.S. 83A-

14 and G.S. 83A-15(3), the following acts or 

omissions may be deemed to be 

"unprofessional conduct" and to be cause for 

the levy of a civil penalty or for denial, 

suspension, or revocation of a license or 

registration or firm certificate of licensure or 

registration to practice architecture or 

registered interior design: 

(a) An architect or registered interior 

designer shall not, in the conduct of 

their professional practice, knowingly 

violate any State or federal criminal 

law. A criminal conviction shall be 

deemed prima facie evidence of 

knowingly violating the law. 

(b) Evasion of professional duties. 

(i) An architect or registered 

interior designer shall not, 

through employment by 

contractors whether or not 

the contractors are licensed 

under G.S. 87, or by another 

individual or entity not 

holding an individual or firm 

registration from the Board, 

enable the employer to offer 

or perform architectural 

services or registered interior 

design services. In 

design/build arrangements, 

the architect or registered 

interior designer shall not be 

an employee of a person or 

firm not holding a license to 

practice architecture or 

registered interior design in 

North Carolina. 

(ii) An architect or registered 

interior designer shall not 

furnish limited services in 

such manner as to enable 

owners, draftsmen, or others 

to evade the public health and 

safety requirements of 

Chapter 83A, G.S. 133-2, 

G.S 153A, G.S. 153A-357, 

G.S. 160A-412, or G.S. 

160A-417. 

(iii) When building plans are 

begun or contracted for by 

persons not licensed or 

registered and qualified, an 

architect or registered 

interior designer shall not 

take over, review, revise, or 

sign or seal such drawings or 

revisions thereof for such 

persons or do any act to 

enable either persons or the 

project owners to evade the 

requirements of Chapter 

83A, G.S. 133-2, G.S. 153A-

357, or G.S. 160A-417. 

(c) It is unprofessional conduct for an 

architect or registered interior designer 

to be found by a court to have 

infringed upon the copyrighted works 

of other architects, registered interior 

designers or other design 

professionals. 

(13) An architect, registered interior designer or firm 

shall not maintain or represent by sign, listing, 

or other manner that they have a physical 

presence in North Carolina unless such office 

employs a licensed architect or registered 

interior designer who is a resident in North 

Carolina whose principal place of business 

takes place in that office. This item does not 

apply to on-site project offices during 

construction of a project. 

(14) An architect or registered interior designer shall 

not knowingly continue to offer or render 

architectural or registered interior design 

services as set forth in G.S. 83A after their 

license or registration expires, is placed on 

delinquent status, is revoked, or suspended for 

failure to renew. 

(15) Architects or registered interior designers 

preparing plans for building permits shall 

submit plans that are complete and buildable. 

Such plans shall conform with the State 

Building Code and local plan submission 

requirements. Professional judgment shall be 

exercised to reflect sufficient documentation 

necessary for plan approval. Provided, 

however, this Rule does not alter any standard 

of liability applicable to licensees or registrants. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 83A-6; 83A-14; 83A-15; 83A-

16; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989; November 1, 1979; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0204 FORMS OF PRACTICE 

(a)  The practice of architecture shall be carried out by one of the 

following types of entities: 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

37:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2022 

145 

(1) sole practitioners; 

(2) professional limited liability companies that are 

established under the provisions of G.S. 57D-2-

02; 

(3) limited liability partnerships that are 

established under the provisions of G.S. 59-

84.2; 

(4) professional corporations that are established 

under the provisions of G.S. 55B; or 

(5) general partnerships. 

(b)  The practice of registered interior design shall be carried out 

by one of the following types of entities: 

(1) sole practitioners; 

(2) limited liability companies that are established 

under the provisions of G.S. 57D; 

(3) limited liability partnerships that are 

established under the provisions of G.S. 59-

84.2; 

(4) business corporations that are established under 

the provisions of G.S. 55; or 

(5) general partnerships. 

Each limited liability partnership and each general partnership 

engaged in the practice of architecture or registered interior design 

in North Carolina shall keep a current list of all resident and non-

resident partners of the partnership. One annual listing by a 

representative of the partnership shall satisfy the requirement of 

this Paragraph for all partners in the firm; however, each partner 

shall remain responsible for compliance with the rules. Changes 

in the information required by this Paragraph shall be filed with 

the Board office within 30 days after the change occurs. 

(b)  All individuals who practice through entities described in 

Subparagraphs (a)(1) through (a)(4) of this Rule shall be licensed 

to practice architecture. 

(c)  All individuals who practice architecture through entities 

described in Subparagraphs (a)(1) through (a)(4) of this Rule shall 

be licensed to practice architecture. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B; 57C; 59-84.2; 83A-4; 83A-

6; 83A-8; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2012; December 1, 2010; June 1, 1995; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0205 NAME OF FIRM 

(a)  A licensee or registrant shall not engage in the practice of 

architecture or registered interior design under a firm name which 

is misleading or deceptive in any way as to the legal form of the 

firm or the persons who are partners, officers, members, or 

shareholders in the firm. The Board shall approve all firm names 

to be used in this State. Examples of misleading or deceptive firm 

names include the following: 

(1) use of the plural "architects" or "registered 

interior designers" by a sole practitioner or a 

firm employing only one architect or registered 

interior designer in a firm does not warrant such 

use; 

(2) use of the name of an employee unless that 

employee is a licensed or registered partner, 

licensed or registered officer, licensed or 

registered member or licensed or registered 

shareholder; 

(3) use of the name of a deceased architect or 

registered interior designer in order to benefit 

from their reputation, when that architect or 

registered interior designer was not a former 

partner, officer, member or shareholder in the 

present firm; 

(4) use a name which is deceptively similar to that 

of an existing firm name; and 

(5) use of a fictitious or assumed name by a sole 

proprietor. 

(b)  Failure of the firm to register a fictitious or assumed name 

shall be prima facie evidence of the name being misleading or 

deceptive. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-5; 83A-6; 83A-8; 83A-9; 

83A-12; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2010; July 1, 2006; June 1, 1995, April 

1, 1991; May 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0206 REQUIREMENT FOR AND USE 

OF PROFESSIONAL SEAL BY AN ARCHITECT OR 

REGISTERED INTERIOR DESIGNER 

(a)  An architect shall seal his or her work whether or not the work 

is for an exempt project as defined in G.S. 83A-13. An architect 

shall not sign nor seal drawings, specifications, reports, or other 

professional work that were not prepared by the architect or under 

his or her responsible control. Documents shall be sealed as 

follows: 

(1) An architect may seal those portions of the 

professional work that: 

(A) were prepared by or under the 

responsible control of persons who are 

licensed architects in this State if the 

architect has reviewed in whole or in 

part such portions and has either 

coordinated their preparation or 

integrated them into his or her work; 

and 

(B) are not required by law to be prepared 

by or under the responsible control of 

an architect if the architect has 

reviewed and adopted in whole or in 

part such portions and has integrated 

them into his or her work. 

(2) A registered interior designer may seal those 

portions of the professional work that were 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

37:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2022 

146 

prepared by or under the responsible control of 

persons who are registered interior designers in 

this State if the registered interior designer has 

reviewed in whole or in part such portions and 

has either coordinated their preparation or 

integrated them into their work 

(3) Individual Architect Seal Design shall be as 

follows: 

(A) The seal may be a rubber stamp, 

embossed seal, computer-generated 

seal, or other facsimile that becomes a 

permanent addition to original paper 

drawings or sets of specifications for 

use in this State. For the purposes of 

this Rule, the term "for use in this 

State" means drawings and sets of 

specifications prepared for bidding, 

procurement, permitting, or for 

construction. For purposes of this 

Rule, "original" means the version of 

drawings and sets of specifications 

from which all paper copies can be 

made. 

(B) The standard design of the seal shall 

be two concentric circles in which 

"North Carolina" and the name of the 

licensee are placed within the 

outermost circle and in which the 

license number of the licensee and 

"Licensed Architect" placed within the 

innermost circle. The size shall be 1 ½ 

to 1 ¾ inches in diameter. 

(C) The original, handwritten signature of 

the individual named on the seal shall 

be considered part of the individual 

seal and shall appear across the face of 

each original seal imprint along with 

the date of affixation. The use of 

signature reproductions such as rubber 

stamps, computer generated, or other 

facsimiles on paper copies are not 

permitted in lieu of actual handwritten 

and hand dated signatures. 

(4) Architecture Firm Seal Design shall be as 

follows: 

(A) The seal may be a rubber stamp, 

embossed seal, computer-generated 

seal, or other facsimile that becomes a 

permanent addition to paper drawings 

or sets of specifications.  

(B) The design of the firm seal shall be 

two concentric circles in which the 

architectural firm's approved name 

shall be between the inner and outer 

circles and the firm's license number is 

placed within the innermost circle. 

The size shall be 1 ½ to 1 ¾ inches in 

diameter. For a Professional 

Corporation the words "Architectural 

Corporation, North Carolina" shall be 

along the inside perimeter of the inner 

circle. For a Professional Limited 

Liability Company, the words 

"Architectural Company" shall be 

along the inside perimeter of the inner 

circle. 

(5) Individual Registered Interior Designer Seal 

Design shall be as follows: 

(A) The seal may be a rubber stamp, 

embossed seal, computer-generated 

seal, or other facsimile that becomes a 

permanent addition to original paper 

drawings or sets of specifications for 

use in this State. For the purposes of 

this Rule, the term "for use in this 

State" means drawings and sets of 

specifications prepared for bidding, 

procurement, permitting, or for 

construction. For purposes of this 

Rule, "original" means the version of 

drawings and sets of specifications 

from which all paper copies can be 

made. 

(B) The standard design of the seal shall 

be two concentric ovals in which 

"North Carolina" and the name of the 

registrant are placed within the 

outermost oval and in which the 

registration number of the registrant 

and "Registered Interior Designer" be 

placed within the innermost oval. The 

dimensions shall be two inches tall by 

2.75 inches wide. 

(C) The original, handwritten signature of 

the individual named on the seal shall 

be considered part of the individual 

seal and shall appear across the face of 

each original seal imprint along with 

the date of affixation. The use of 

signature reproductions such as rubber 

stamps, computer generated, or other 

facsimiles on paper are not permitted 

in lieu of actual handwritten and hand 

dated signatures. 

(6) Registered Interior Design Firm Seal Design 

shall be as follows: 

(A) The seal may be a rubber stamp, 

embossed seal, computer-generated 

seal, or other facsimile that becomes a 

permanent addition to drawings or sets 

of specifications. 

(B) The design of the seal shall be two 

concentric ovals in which the 

registered interior design firm's 

approved name shall be between the 

inner and outer ovals and the firm's 

registration number is placed within 

the innermost oval. The size shall be 2 
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to 2 ¾ inches in diameter. For a 

Corporation the words "Registered 

Interior Design Corporation, North 

Carolina" shall be along the inside 

perimeter of the inner circle. For a 

Limited Liability Company, the words 

"Registered Interior Design 

Company" shall be along the inside 

perimeter of the inner oval. 

(7) Architects and registered interior designers 

shall affix their seal on one original of all their 

drawings and sets of specifications prepared by 

them for use in this State as follows: 

(A) on the cover sheet of each design and 

on each drawing prepared by the 

architect or registered interior designer 

for the design; 

(B) on the index page identifying each set 

of specifications; and 

(C) on the index page of all other technical 

submissions. For the purposes of this 

Rule, "technical submissions" refer to 

plans, drawings, specifications, 

studies, addenda, and other technical 

reports prepared in the course of 

practicing architecture or registered 

interior design. 

(8) Presentation documents, such as renderings 

created by an architect or registered interior 

designer used to communicate conceptual 

information, shall not be sealed or signed. 

(9) Documents considered incomplete by the 

architect or registered interior designer may be 

released for interim review without the 

architect's or registered interior designers seal 

or signature affixed, but shall be dated, bear the 

architect's or registered interior designer's 

name, and be marked or designated as follows 

"Incomplete - for interim review only and not 

intended for bidding, procurement, permit, or 

construction purposes." 

(10) Those sheets or pages prepared by licensed 

professional consultants, such as structural, 

mechanical or electrical engineers, retained by 

the architect or registered interior designer shall 

bear the seal and registration or license number 

of the consultant responsible therefore and shall 

not be sealed by the architect or registered 

interior designer. 

(11) The use of the prescribed seal on paper is an 

individual act whereby the architect or 

registered interior designer must personally 

sign over the imprint of the seal. By sealing 

documents for use in this State, an architect or 

registered interior designer is representing that 

he or she is in responsible control over the 

content of such documents and has applied the 

required professional standard of care. The 

architect or registered interior designer is 

responsible for security of the seal when not in 

use. 

(12) Use of Firm Seal. The use of the firm seal does 

not replace the statutory requirement for an 

architect's or registered interior designer's 

individual seal as required in Rule .0203(4) of 

this Chapter. The firm seal must be affixed in 

addition to the individual seal on the cover 

sheet. A firm shall designate a principle or other 

authorized individual to be responsible for the 

security of the firm seal. 

(b)  Prototypical building design documents prepared by 

architects or registered interior designers who are licensed or 

registered in this State or in their state of origin may be sealed by 

a succeeding licensed architect or registered interior designer in 

North Carolina provided: 

(1) the seal of the original architect or registered 

interior designer appears on the documents to 

authenticate authorship; 

(2) the words "Prototypical Design Documents/Not 

for Construction" appear on each sheet of the 

documents by the original architect or 

registered interior designer; 

(3) the succeeding North Carolina architect or 

registered interior designer identifies all 

modifications to the standard design 

documents; 

(4) the succeeding North Carolina architect or 

registered interior designer assumes 

responsibility for the adequacy of the design for 

the specific application in North Carolina and 

for the design conforming with applicable 

building codes, local conditions, site condition; 

and 

(5) the succeeding North Carolina architect or 

registered interior designer affixes his or her 

seal to the prototypical design documents with 

a statement as follows: "These documents have 

been examined by the undersigned. I have 

determined that they comply with existing local 

North Carolina codes, and I assume 

responsibility for the adequacy of the design for 

the specific application in North Carolina." 

(c)  Post construction record drawings prepared by an architect or 

registered interior designer, but based upon representations of 

contractors, are not plans that are for "bidding, procurement, 

permit, or construction purposes" and therefore shall not be sealed 

by the architect or registered interior designer. Post construction 

record drawings shall bear the name of the architect or registered 

interior designer and include language that states "these drawings 

are post construction record drawings and are based in part upon 

the representations of others and are not for bidding, procurement, 

permit, or construction purposes." 

(d)  Documents to be electronically transmitted beyond the direct 

control of the licensee or registrant that are signed using a digital 

signature, shall contain the authentication procedure in a secure 

mode and a list of the hardware, software, and parameters used to 

prepare the document(s). Secure mode means that the 

authentication procedure has protective measures to prevent 
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alteration or overriding of the authentication procedure. The term 

"digital signature" shall be an electronic authentication process 

that is attached to or logically associated with an electronic 

document. The digital signature shall be: 

(1) Unique to the person using it; 

(2) Capable of verification; 

(3) Under the sole control of the person using it; 

and 

(4) Linked to a document in such a manner that the 

digital signature is invalidated if any data in the 

document is changed. 

(e)  Documents for use in this State, that are transmitted 

electronically beyond the direct control of the licensee or 

registrant shall have the computer-generated image of the seal 

removed from the original file, unless signed with a digital 

signature as defined in this Rule. After removal of the image of 

the seal the electronic media shall have the following inserted in 

lieu of the signature and date: "This document was originally 

issued and sealed by (name of sealer), (license or registration 

number), on (date of sealing). This medium shall not be 

considered a certified document." Hardcopy documents 

containing the original seal, signature and date of the licensee or 

registrant may be duplicated by photocopy or electronic scanning 

processes and distributed either in hardcopy or electronic 

medium. The scanned digital files of certified documents are not 

subject to the requirements of this Paragraph. The electronic 

transmission beyond the direct control of the licensee or registrant 

of Computer Aided Design (CAD), vector, or other files subject 

to easy editing are subject to the requirements of this Paragraph. 

A file subject to "easy editing" is one consisting of separate 

elements that can be individually modified or deleted. Documents 

that are excepted from certification by a statement meeting the 

following requirements are not subject to the requirements of this 

Paragraph: 

(1) "Preliminary - Do not use for construction"; 

(2) "Progress Drawings - Do not use for 

construction"; 

(3) "Final Drawing - Not released for 

construction"; 

(4) "Final Drawing - For Review Purposes Only"; 

(5) "Not a Certified Document – This document 

was originally issued and sealed by (name of 

licensee or registrant), (license or registration 

number), on (date of sealing). This document 

shall not be considered a certified document"; 

(6) "Not a Certified Document as to the Original 

Document but Only as to the Revisions - This 

document originally issued and sealed by (name 

of licensee or registrant), (license or registration 

number), on (date of sealing). This document is 

only certified as to the revisions". 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 83A-6; 83A-10; 83A-12; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2010; July 1, 2006; October 1, 1995; 

July 1, 1993; May 1, 1989; October 1, 1985; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022; November 1, 2017. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0208 DISHONEST CONDUCT  

21 NCAC 02 .0209 UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 14-353; 83A-6; 83A-14; 83A-

15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. February 24, 1976; 

Readopted September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2010; July 1, 2006; December 1, 

1995; June 1, 1995; July 1, 1992; October 1, 1989; May 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Temporary Repeal Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0212 INDEPENDENT JUDGMENT 

AND DISCLOSURE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 83A-6; 83A-16; 83A-17; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1995; May 1, 1989; November 1, 1979; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Temporary Repeal Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0213 INDIVIDUAL LICENSES AND 

REGISTRATIONS 

(a)  Renewal. The license to practice architecture or interior 

design registration must be renewed on or before the first day in 

July each year. Continued practice after such date shall constitute 

unlawful practice as set forth in G.S. 83A-12 and may be grounds 

for disciplinary action. No less than 30 days prior to the renewal 

date, the Board shall send a notice of renewal to each individual 

licensee or registrant via electronic mail. The licensee or registrant 

shall submit to the Board the completed license or registration 

renewal documentation, along with the annual license or 

registration renewal fee. The Board shall not accept incomplete 

renewal documentation. If the accompanying payment in the 

amount of the renewal fee is dishonored by the licensee or 

registrant's drawee bank for any reason, the Board shall suspend 

the license or registration until the renewal fees and check charges 

are paid. When the annual renewal has been completed according 

to the provisions of G.S. 83A-11, as well as Section .0900 of this 

Chapter, the Executive Director shall approve renewal of the 

license or registration for the current renewal year. Renewal fees 

are non-refundable. 

(b)  Late Renewal. If the Board has not received the annual 

renewal fee and completed renewal documentation on or before 

the first day of July, each year the license or registration shall 

expire and be placed on delinquent status. For the purpose of this 

Rule, "delinquent status" means an administrative suspension and 

is not considered discipline. The license or registration may be 

renewed at any time within one year of being deemed delinquent, 
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upon the return of the completed renewal documentation, the 

annual renewal fee, and the late renewal penalty and 

demonstration of compliance with Section .0900 of this Chapter. 

(c)  Reinstatement. After one year from the date of expiration, the 

Board shall revoke the license or registration for failure to renew. 

Reinstatement shall occur pursuant to G.S. 83A-11 and Sections 

.0300 and .0900 of this Chapter. 

(d)  Any individual who is currently licensed or registered by and 

in good standing with the Board who is serving in the armed 

forces of the United States shall not be subject to late fees, 

suspension, or revocation for failure to renew licensure on or 

before the first day July each year, provided that the individual 

has been granted an extension of time to file a tax return as set 

forth in G.S. 105-249.2. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 83A-6; 83A-11; 93B-15(b); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2010; July 1, 2006; July 1, 1999; May 

1, 1989; November 1, 1979; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0214 FIRM PRACTICE OF 

ARCHITECTURE AND REGISTERED INTERIOR 

DESIGN 

(a)  Prior to offering and rendering architectural or registered 

interior design services as set forth in G.S. 83A and Rule .0204(a) 

and Rule .0204(c) of this Chapter, all firms shall submit an 

application for firm licensure or registration and be granted 

licensure or registration by the Board. Application for firm 

licensure or registration to practice of architecture or registered 

interior design within the State of North Carolina shall be made 

upon forms provided on the Board web site at www.ncbarch.org 

and include the required application fee as set forth in Rule .0108 

of this Chapter. Licensure for firm practice of architecture shall 

be issued only under the provisions of the Professional 

Corporation Act, G.S. 55B and G.S 57D-2-02. Registration for 

firm practice of interior design shall be issued only under the 

provisions of the Business Corporation G.S. 55 and G.S 57D. 

(b)  Architecture firm licensure and interior design firm 

registration shall be renewed on or before December 31st of each 

year. If the Board has not received the annual renewal fee and 

completed application on or before December 31st of each year, 

the architecture firm license or interior design firm registration 

shall expire. The Board shall send a notice of renewal to each 

licensed and registered firm no less than 30 days prior to the 

renewal date. Renewal documentation shall be accompanied by 

the renewal fee. If the accompanying draft or check in the amount 

of the renewal fee is dishonored by the firm's drawee bank for any 

reason, the Board shall suspend the firm license or registration 

until the renewal fees and returned check charges are paid. When 

the annual renewal has been completed according to the 

provisions of G.S. 83A-11, the Executive Director shall approve 

renewal for the firm for the current renewal year. Upon 

completion of the firm annual renewal, the Board may randomly 

audit the compliance of firm licenses and registrations and require 

proof in the form of corporate records maintained pursuant to 

North Carolina General Statute 55B or 57D. Such records shall be 

maintained for a period of seven years after the renewal is 

submitted. Renewal fees are non-refundable. 

(c)  Failure to Renew and Reinstatement. Within one year of the 

expiration, the firm license or registration may be renewed at any 

time, upon the return of the completed renewal documents, the 

annual renewal fee, and the late renewal fees. After one year from 

the date of expiration for non-payment of the annual renewal fee 

the licensee or registrant shall seek reinstatement, as allowed by 

G.S. 83A-11. The Board may reinstate the firms' license or 

registration, as allowed by G.S. 83A-11. 

(d)  Seal. Each licensed or registered firm shall adopt a seal 

pursuant to Rule .0206 of this Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-5; 55B-10; 55B-15; 83A-6; 

83A-8; 83A-10 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; December 1, 2010; July 1, 1993; May 

1, 1989; November 1, 1979; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0215 OUT OF STATE FIRMS 

(a)  Architectural and interior design firms from other states shall 

be granted firm licensure or registration for practice in this State 

upon receipt by the Board of a completed application, fees, the 

submission of a copy of their firm charter, or other corresponding 

documents, amended as may be necessary to ensure compliance 

with all requirements of Chapter 55B, the Professional 

Corporation Act for architectural firms and Chapter 55, the 

Business Corporation Act for registered interior design firms. In 

addition to the other requirements as set out in G.S. 83A-8, out of 

state interior design firms shall, prior to registration, receive from 

the Secretary of State of North Carolina a certificate of authority 

to do business within the state. Architectural firms shall obtain a 

certificate for filing from the Board prior to submitting application 

to the Secretary of State for a Certificate of Authority. 

(b)  Designated Individuals. If an out of state entity offers both 

architectural and engineering services, then it shall comply with 

requirements set forth in G.S. 89C. An out of state entity shall 

have at least one officer, director and shareholder licensed as an 

architect in this state. Two-thirds of the issued and outstanding 

shares of the out of state corporations shall be owned by licensed 

architects or engineers who are licensed to practice their 

profession in a jurisdiction of the United States. However, the firm 

shall designate at least one architect who is licensed in the State 

of North Carolina to be in responsible control for the firm practice 

of architecture within the State of North Carolina. A registered 

interior design firm shall designate one registered interior 

designer to be in responsible control of all interior design work 

offered and performed by that firm in this State. 

(c)  Partnerships. An out of state architectural or registered interior 

design partnership may practice architecture or registered interior 

design, if every partner in the firm is licensed or registered as an 
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individual in this state under Rule .0213 and the partnership 

complies with Paragraph (f) this Rule . 

(d)  Limited Liability Companies. An out of state Limited 

Liability Company may practice architecture or registered interior 

design if the Limited Liability Company complies with G.S. 57D 

and at least one member and one owner are licensed or registered 

as an individual under Rule .0213 and comply with Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule. 

(e)  Limited Liability Partnerships. An out of state Limited 

Liability Partnership may practice architecture or registered 

interior design, if the Limited Liability Partnership complies with 

G.S. 59, and at least one partner is licensed or registered as an 

individual under Rule .0213. 

(f)  Failure to Renew and Reinstatement. If the Board has not 

received the annual firm renewal fee and completed application 

on or before December 31st each year the firm license or 

registration shall expire and be deemed delinquent. The firm 

registration may be renewed at any time within one year, upon the 

return of the completed application, the annual renewal fee and 

the late renewal fees. After one year from the date of expiration 

for non-payment of the annual renewal fee, the license or 

registration shall be automatically revoked. The Board may 

reinstate the firm's license or registration, as allowed by G.S. 83A-

11. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-6; 83A-6; 83A-8; 83A-9; 

55B-16; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2010; June 1, 1995; July 1, 1993; May 

1, 1989; November 1, 1979; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021;  

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0217 ARCHITECT EMERITUS 

Resident architects who have been registered in this State who are 

retired from active practice or other related professional activities 

in any jurisdiction may apply for "Emeritus Status" by submitting 

a form provided by the Board showing compliance with the 

requirements of this Section. "Retired" means that the architect no 

longer practices architecture as defined in G.S. 83A-1. 

Nonresident architects who have been continuously certified by 

the National Council of Architecture Registration Boards who are 

retired from active practice or other related professional activities 

in any jurisdiction and who are "emeritus," inactive, or retired in 

every other jurisdiction in which they are licensed may also apply 

for "Emeritus Status" by submitting a form provided by the Board 

showing compliance with the requirements of this Section. Any 

reference to an architect on "Emeritus Status" on any letter, title, 

sign, card, or other device shall list such individual as "Architect 

Emeritus."  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 83A-4; 83A-6; 83A-11; 83A-12; 

Eff. November 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2006; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0218 LIMITED LIABILITY 

COMPANIES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 57C-2-01; 83A-6; 

Eff. June 1, 1995; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Temporary Repeal Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0302 ARCHITECTURAL LICENSURE 

BY EXAMINATION 

(a)  Those individuals who wish to take the Architectural 

Registration Exam (ARE) shall contact the National Council of 

Architecture Registration Boards (NCARB) directly to obtain 

exam eligibility. Upon completion of all requirements set forth in 

the NCARB Architecture Experience Program (AXP), a 

candidate seeking licensure by exam in North Carolina shall direct 

NCARB to transmit a completed NCARB AXP record to the 

North Carolina Board of Architecture and Registered Interior 

Designers. 

(b)  Upon passing all sections of the NCARB ARE , fulfillment of 

all NCARB AXP requirements, and completion of the National 

Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) accredited degree, 

NCARB, as directed by the candidate, will transmit a completed 

NCARB AXP file to the Board to determine compliance with G.S. 

83A-7(a)(1)a. shall be deemed satisfied through completion of the 

requirements set forth in Subparagraphs (1) through (5) of this 

Paragraph. The Board shall grant licensure by exam to those 

individuals who: 

(1) are of good moral character as defined in G.S. 

83A-1(5); 

(2) are at least 18 years of age; 

(3) have completed a NAAB accredited 

professional degree in architecture or who have 

completed a NAAB accredited degree program 

that is identified as an NCARB endorsed 

Integrated Path To Architectural Licensure 

Degree Program; 

(4) have completed the NCARB AXP; and 

(5) submit the Application for Licensure by Exam 

and fee. 

(c)  Retention of credit for purposes of licensure by examination 

in North Carolina. 

(1) Passing scores received after July 1, 2006 on 

any part of the ARE remain valid for a period 

of time established by the exam provider, 

NCARB. 

(2) Scores received on any part of the ARE prior to 

July 1, 2006 are invalid. 

(d)  Practical training pursuant to G.S. 83A-7(a)(2) means 

practical experience and diversified training as defined by the 

NCARB AXP. 

(e)  During the application process, Board members, in order to 

augment the evidence submitted in an application may interview 

the applicant regarding qualifications required in Paragraph (b) of 
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this Rule. The Board shall determine whether an interview is 

needed on a case-by-case basis, based upon information in the 

application, including any academic or professional discipline. 

(f)  To complete the ARE, an exam candidate shall receive a 

passing grade in each division of the ARE. Information regarding 

NCARB grading methods and procedures can be found on their 

web site at www.ncarb.org. 

(g)  A person currently employed under the responsible control of 

an architect, who holds a Professional Degree from a NAAB 

accredited program, and who maintains an active NCARB AXP 

record or has completed the NCARB AXP may use the title 

"Architectural Intern" or "Intern Architect" in conjunction with 

his or her current employment. 

(h)  The fees for examination, or parts thereof, are set and 

collected by the NCARB. Fee information is available on the 

NCARB web site www.ncarb.org. 

(i)  The standards of the National Council of Architecture 

Registration Boards and its components are hereby incorporated 

by reference including subsequent amendments and editions, and 

can be accessed at no charge at www.ncarb.org. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 83A-1; 83A-6; 83A-7; 83A-12; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2016; July 1, 2014; November 1, 2010; 

July 1, 2006; July 1, 2000; July 1, 1996; June 1, 1995; December 

1, 1992; July 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0303 ARCHITECTURE LICENSURE 

BY RECIPROCITY 

(a)  An individual who holds a current license in good standing 

from a National Council of Architecture Registration Boards 

(NCARB) recognized jurisdiction and a Certified Council 

Certificate issued by NCARB shall qualify for licensure by 

reciprocity upon receipt of a certified record from NCARB and 

the Board application for licensure by reciprocity and fee as 

provided in G.S. 83A-7(b). Revocation of the certificate by 

NCARB shall automatically suspend the architect's license to 

practice in North Carolina until such time as the certificate is 

reinstated by NCARB. 

(b)  In order to supplement or clarify the contents of a record or 

application, the Board may interview the applicant to ensure that 

the applicant has had sufficient architectural practice experience 

to be able to practice architecture in this State.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 83A-6; 83A-7; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; November 1, 2010; July 1, 2006; July 

1, 2000; October 1, 1995; May 1, 1989; October 1, 1984; 

September 1, 1982; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0306 INTERIOR DESIGNER 

REGISTRATION 

(a)  Those individuals who wish to practice as a registered interior 

designer in North Carolina shall demonstrate that they have 

satisfied the educational and professional experience eligibility 

requirements adopted by the Council for Interior Design 

Qualification (CIDQ) to sit for the National Council for Interior 

Design Qualification Examination (NCIDQ), shall pass the 

NCIDQ Examination, and submit to the Board an application for 

registration and fee. Revocation of the certificate by CIDQ shall 

automatically suspend the interior designer's registration to 

practice in North Carolina until such time as the certificate is 

reinstated by CIDQ. 

(b)  An architect shall be granted registration to practice interior 

design so long as they are currently licensed and in good standing 

in the State of North Carolina and submit the Board application 

for registration and fee. 

(c)  In order to supplement or clarify the contents of a record or 

application, the Board may interview the applicant to ensure that 

the applicant has had interior design experience to be able to 

practice registered interior design in this State. 

(d)  The standards of the CIDQ and its components are hereby 

incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments and 

editions and can be accessed at no charge at www.cidq.org. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 83A-7; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0901 SCOPE 

The rules in this Section set forth the continuing education 

requirements to be complied with by licensees or registrants. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 83A-6(a)(4); 83A-6(a)(5); 83A-

11; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2006; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0903 REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Every licensee and registrant shall obtain 12 contact hours of 

continuing education for each calendar year. "Contact Hour" 

means 50 minutes contact. 

(b)  The contact hours shall be obtained in structured educational 

activities intended to increase or update the architect's or 

registered interior designer's knowledge and competence in 

technical and professional architectural and interior design 

subjects d related to safeguarding public health, safety, and 

welfare("HSW"). "Structured educational activities" are activities 

in which at least 75 percent of an activity's content and 

instructional time is devoted to HSW subjects related to the 

practice of architecture, including courses of study or other 

activities under the areas identified as HSW by individuals or 

organizations, whether delivered by direct contact or distance 

learning methods. 
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(c)  Licensees and registrants shall not carry forward any contact 

hours into the subsequent period. 

(d)  Licensees and registrants shall certify completion of the 

contact hours for the previous calendar year with annual renewal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 83A-6(a)(4); 83A-6(a)(5); 83A-

11; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0904 DETERMINATION OF CREDIT 

The Board may randomly audit the compliance of individual 

licensees and registrants and require proof in the form of records 

maintained pursuant to Rule .0905 of this Section of participation 

in courses or programs that conform with the content and contact 

hours calculation requirements contained in G.S. 83A-6(a) and 

these Rules. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 83A-6(a)(4); 83A-6(a)(5); 83A-

11; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2012; July 1, 2006; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0905 RECORD KEEPING 

(a)  The licensee or registrant shall maintain records to support 

credits claimed. Records shall be any of the following: 

(1) a self-made log showing the type of activity 

claimed, sponsoring organization, location, 

duration, the name of the instructor or speaker 

and contact hours earned; or 

(2) attendance certificates or other evidence of 

participation that includes the type of activity 

claimed, sponsoring organization, location, 

duration, the name of the instructor or speaker 

and contact hours earned; or 

(3) records maintained by the American Institute of 

Architects Continuing Education System 

(AIA/CES) or the International Design 

Continuing Education Council (IDCEC). 

(b)  Records shall be retained by the licensee or registrant for a 

period of six years after the credit is claimed and provided to the 

Board upon request. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 83A-6(a)(4); 83A-6(a)(5); 83A-

11; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

21 NCAC 02 .0906 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

EXCEPTIONS 

A licensee or registrant shall be exempt from the continuing 

education requirements for any of the following reasons: 

(1) new licensees or registrants for the calendar 

year in which they become licensed or 

registered; 

(2) architects or registered interior designers 

currently licensed by or registered and in good 

standing with the Board (whose license or 

registration is not suspended or revoked) who 

are serving in the armed forces of the United 

States and who are eligible for an extension of 

time to file a tax return pursuant to G.S. 105-

249.2 are granted a waiver of their mandatory 

continuing education requirements for the time 

period disregarded pursuant to the Internal 

Revenue Code 26 U.S.C. 7508; 

(3) the Board shall exempt a licensee or registrant 

if the Board determines that the licensee or 

registrant is experiencing physical disability, 

illness, or other extenuating circumstances that 

prevent the licensee or registrant from 

continuing education. Supporting 

documentation must be furnished to the Board. 

(4) licensees who receive emeritus status from the 

Board. In order to return to active practice, 

licensees shall complete continuing education 

requirements for each exempted year not to 

exceed two years. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 83A-6(a)(4); 83A-6(a)(5); 83A-

11; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2012; July 1, 2006; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0907 REINSTATEMENT 

A former licensee or registrant may only apply for reinstatement 

pursuant to G.S. 83A-11 if he or she has earned all delinquent 

contact hours within the 12 months preceding the application. 

However, if the total number of contact hours required to become 

current exceeds 24, then 24 shall be the maximum number 

required. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 83A-6(a)(4); 83A-6(a)(5); 83A-

11; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 
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21 NCAC 02 .0908 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

RECIPROCITY 

The continuing education requirements of North Carolina shall be 

deemed satisfied by a non-resident licensee or registrant provided: 

(1) the licensee or registrant's resident jurisdiction 

has a similar continuing education program; 

and 

(2) the same jurisdiction accepts the North Carolina 

continuing education requirements as satisfying 

their requirements. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 83A-6(a)(4); 83A-6(a)(5); 83A-

11; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0909 DOCUMENTATION AND 

AUDITS 

All renewal applications shall require the completion of a 

continuing education certification provided by the Board 

documenting the contact hours claimed for the renewal period. 

Upon request by the Board, the licensee or registrant shall supply 

documentation as set forth in Rule .0905 of this Chapter to permit 

audit verification.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 83A-6(a)(4); 83A-6(a)(5); 83A-

11; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0910 NON-COMPLIANCE 

(a)  If any credits are disallowed by the Board, then the licensee 

or registrant shall have 60 calendar days from the date on the 

notice to substantiate the original claim or obtain other contact 

hours to meet the minimum requirements. 

(b)  A licensee or registrant who fails to complete the continuing 

education requirement by the end of the previous calendar year 

shall have his or her license or registration placed on probation 

and shall complete the outstanding continuing education by 

December 31st of the current calendar year. If the licensee or 

registrant fails to complete the outstanding continuing education 

requirements his or her license shall be suspended for 60 days or 

until such time as compliance is demonstrated if prior to 60 days. 

If the licensee or registrant fails to complete the outstanding 

continuing education within the 60 days suspension period, his or 

her license or registration shall be revoked. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 83A-6(a)(4); 83A-6(a)(5); 83A-

11; 83A-15; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2012; July 1, 2006; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2022. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 58 - REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

 

21 NCAC 58A .1712 BROKER-IN-CHARGE COURSE 

(a)  The Broker-in-Charge Course is a 12-hour educational course 

that is required for a broker to attain BIC Eligible status under 

Rule .0110 of this Subchapter.  

(b)  In order to receive credit for completing the Broker-in-Charge 

Course, a broker shall: 

(1) personally perform all work required to 

complete the course; and 

(2) complete the 12-hour Broker-in-Charge Course 

no later than 30 days after the broker registers 

for the course and no later than the following 

June 10, whichever comes first. 

(c)  Upon completion of the 12-hour Broker-in-Charge Course, a 

broker shall receive four credit hours of elective continuing 

education. The four credit hours will be awarded in the license 

year in which the broker completes the 12-hour Broker-in-Charge 

Course. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-38.5; 93A-4.2; 

Eff. January 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 58B .0101 APPLICATION FOR 

REGISTRATION 

(a)  A timeshare program seeking registration shall apply to the 

Commission on a form available on the Commission's website and 

shall, in addition to the requirements set forth in G.S. 93A-52, set 

forth: 

(1) the timeshare program's physical and mailing 

address and telephone number; 

(2) the developer's name, address, telephone 

number, email address, type of business 

structure with supporting documentation, and 

legal counsel's contact information, if any; 

(3) information concerning the developer's title or 

right to use the real property on which the 

project is located, including a title opinion 

provided by an independent attorney performed 

within 30 days preceding the date of 

application; 

(4) a description of the timeshare estate to be sold 

or conveyed to purchasers; 

(5) the developer's past real estate development 

experience and any criminal, bankruptcy, and 

occupational licensing history; 

(6) the developer's financial information including 

the following: 

(A) an audited financial statement within 

the previous six months; 
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(B) loan commitments for completion of 

the timeshare program; and 

(C) a projected budget for construction, 

marketing, and operations of the 

timeshare program; 

(7) the Registrar, Program Broker, marketing 

entity, and managing entity's: 

(A) name; 

(B) business and email address; 

(C) real estate license number, if 

applicable; 

(D) telephone number; and 

(E) executed Affidavit of Designation, if 

applicable, that includes: 

(i) the timeshare program name, 

registration number, and 

address; 

(ii) the name of the designated 

individual and license 

number, if applicable, or 

financial institute; 

(iii) the designated individual's 

address, email address, and 

telephone number; and 

(iv) a notarized signature of the 

designated individual. 

(8) the names and real estate license number of 

brokers associated with the timeshare program; 

and 

(9) a signed affidavit by the developer. 

(b)  An entity that owns time shares at a timeshare program where 

there are one or more existing registered developers may also 

apply to the Commission for registration of its timeshares, 

provided that the entity does not control a registered developer, is 

not controlled by a registered developer, and is not in common 

control of the program with a registered developer. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-51; 93A-52; 

Eff. March 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; August 2, 1993; February 1, 1989; 

April 1, 1987; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 58B .0102 REGISTRATION FEE 

The timeshare program registration fee pursuant to Rule .0101 of 

this Subchapter shall be: 

(1) one thousand dollars ($1,000) for programs 

with 16 or more units; 

(2) seven hundred dollars ($700.00) for programs 

with 15 or fewer units; and 

(3) four hundred fifty dollars ($450.00) for 

programs offering to resell 51 or more units 

through a homeowner association which has 

acquired the units in satisfaction of unpaid 

assessments by prior owners. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-51; 93A-52; 

Eff. March 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2016; April 1, 2013; July 1, 2000; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 58B .0103 RENEWAL OF TIMESHARE 

PROGRAM REGISTRATION 

(a)  A developer seeking renewal of a timeshare program 

registration shall submit a renewal application on a form available 

on the Commission's website that sets forth the: 

(1) timeshare program's name, registration number, 

and mailing address; 

(2) developer's name, telephone number, and email 

address; 

(3) names and license numbers of brokers 

associated with the timeshare program; 

(4) exchange programs associated with the 

timeshare program along with a current copy of 

the Exchange Disclosure Report pursuant to 

G.S. 93A-48; 

(5) name, address, email address, telephone 

number, real estate broker license number if 

applicable, and the assignment date for the: 

(A) managing entity; 

(B) marketing entity; 

(C) registrar pursuant to G.S. 93A-58(a); 

(D) independent escrow agent pursuant to 

G.S. 93A-42(a); and 

(E) program broker pursuant to 93A-

58(c); 

(6) certification that the information contained in 

the renewal registration is accurate and current 

on the date of the renewal application; and 

(7) developer's attorney or program broker's 

signature. 

(b)  The developer shall submit a renewal registration fee of eight 

hundred dollars ($800.00) for timeshare programs not offered for 

resale by a homeowners association. A homeowners association 

shall submit a renewal registration fee of four hundred fifty dollars 

($450.00). 

(c)  Making a false certification on a time share project 

registration renewal application shall be grounds for disciplinary 

action by the Commission pursuant to G.S. 93A-54(b)(13). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-51; 93A-52(d); 

Eff. March 1, 1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 23, 1985; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2016; April 1, 2013; February 1, 1989; 

September 1, 1985; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2022; July 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 58B .0104 AMENDMENTS TO 

TIMESHARE PROGRAM REGISTRATION 

(a)  A developer shall notify the Commission within 30 days after 

any material change in the information contained in the timeshare 

program registration. 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

37:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2022 

155 

(b)  A material change shall be any change which reflects a 

difference in the: 

(1) nature, quality, or availability of the purchaser's 

ownership or right to use the timeshare; 

(2) nature, quality, or availability of any amenity at 

the project; 

(3) developer's title, control, or right to use the real 

property on which the project is located; 

(4) information concerning the developer, 

managing or marketing entities, independent 

escrow agent, registrar, or program broker, 

previously filed with the Commission; or 

(5) purchaser's right to exchange his or her unit; 

however, a change in the information required 

to be disclosed to a purchaser by G.S. 93A-48 

shall not be a material change. 

(c)  A timeshare developer seeking to amend a program's 

registration shall submit each document to be amended with new 

or changed information underlined in red. Every amendment 

submitted shall be accompanied by a cover letter signed by the 

developer or the developer's attorney containing a summary of the 

amendment and a statement of reasons for which the amendment 

has been made. The cover letter shall also state: 

(1) the name and address of the timeshare program 

and registration number; 

(2) the name and address of the developer; 

(3) the document or documents to which the 

amendment applies; 

(4) whether or not the changes represented by the 

amendment required the assent of the timeshare 

owners and, if so, how the assent of the 

timeshare owners was obtained; and 

(5) the recording reference in the office of the 

register of deeds for the changes, if applicable. 

(d)  If the ownership of a developer of a registered timeshare 

program changes, the new developer shall file a new timeshare 

program registration application pursuant to Rule .0101 of this 

Subchapter. Said refiling shall be without a fee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-51; 93A-52(a3); 

Eff. March 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2000; February 1, 1989; April 1, 1987; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 58B .0105 NOTICE OF TERMINATION 

A developer seeking to terminate its interest in a timeshare 

program shall file a Notice of Termination form available on the 

Commission's website and shall set forth the timeshare program's: 

(1) name; 

(2) physical, mailing, and email address; 

(3) telephone number; 

(4) reason the developer is terminating its interest; 

(5) date of termination; 

(6) new owner, if the developer's interest will be 

sold or transferred; and 

(7) the signature of the developer. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-51; 93A-52; 

Eff. April 1, 1987; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 58B .0201 GENERAL PROVISIONS 

(a)  Information contained in a public offering statement pursuant 

to G.S. 93A-44(b) shall be accurate on the day it is supplied to a 

purchaser.  

(b)  The inclusion of false or misleading statements in a public 

offering statement shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the 

Commission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-44(b); 93A-51; 

Eff. March 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2000; August 2, 1993; February 1, 1989; 

April 1, 1987; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 58B .0202 PUBLIC OFFERING 

STATEMENT SUMMARY 

In addition to the requirements in G.S. 93A-44, a public offering 

statement shall contain a page prescribed by the Commission and 

completed by the developer entitled Public Offering Statement 

Summary in conspicuous type. The Public Offering Statement 

Summary shall read as follows: 

 

PUBLIC OFFERING STATEMENT SUMMARY 

 

NAME OF PROJECT: 

 

NAME AND REAL ESTATE LICENSE NUMBER OF 

BROKER (IF ANY): 

 

Please study this Public Offering Statement carefully. Satisfy 

yourself that any questions you may have are answered before you 

decide to purchase. If a salesperson or other representative of the 

developer has made a representation which concerns you, and you 

cannot find that representation in writing, ask that it be pointed 

out to you. 

 

NOTICE 

 

UNDER NORTH CAROLINA LAW, YOU MAY CANCEL 

YOUR TIMESHARE PURCHASE WITHOUT PENALTY 

WITHIN FIVE DAYS AFTER SIGNING YOUR 

CONTRACT. TO CANCEL YOUR TIMESHARE 

PURCHASE, YOU MUST MAIL OR HAND DELIVER 

WRITTEN NOTICE OF YOUR DESIRE TO CANCEL 

YOUR PURCHASE TO (name and address of project). IF 

YOU CHOOSE TO MAIL YOUR CANCELLATION 

NOTICE, THE NORTH CAROLINA REAL ESTATE 

COMMISSION RECOMMENDS THAT YOU USE 

REGISTERED OR CERTIFIED MAIL AND THAT YOU 

RETAIN YOUR POSTAL RECEIPT AS PROOF OF THE 

DATE YOUR NOTICE WAS MAILED. UPON 
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CANCELLATION, ALL PAYMENTS WILL BE 

REFUNDED TO YOU. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-44; 93A-51; 

Eff. March 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2006; October 1, 2000; February 1, 1989; 

April 1, 1987; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 58B .0203 RECEIPT FOR PUBLIC 

OFFERING STATEMENT 

(a)  Prior to the execution of any contract to purchase a timeshare, 

a developer or a timeshare salesperson shall obtain from the 

purchaser a written receipt for the public offering statement, 

which shall display, directly over the buyer signature line in type 

in all capital letters, no smaller than the largest type on the page 

on which it appears, the following statement: DO NOT SIGN 

THIS RECEIPT UNLESS YOU HAVE RECEIVED A 

COMPLETE COPY OF THE PUBLIC OFFERING 

STATEMENT. 

(b)  Receipts for public offering statements shall be maintained as 

part of the records of the sales transaction. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-44(b); 93A-51; 

Eff. February 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2000; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 58B .0301 PROOF OF CANCELLATION 

(a)  The postmark date affixed to any written notice of a 

purchaser's intent to cancel a timeshare purchase shall be 

presumed by the Commission to be the date the notice was mailed 

to the developer. Evidence tending to rebut this presumption shall 

be admissible at a hearing before the Commission. 

(b)  Upon receipt of a purchaser's written notice of intent to cancel 

a timeshare purchase, the developer, or the developer's agent or 

representative, shall retain the notice and any enclosure, envelope, 

or other cover in the developer's files, and shall produce the file 

upon the Commission's request. 

(c)  When there is more than one developer at a timeshare program 

and a purchaser gives written notice of intent to cancel a timeshare 

purchase that is received by a developer or sales staff other than 

the one from whom the timeshare was purchased, the developer 

or sales staff receiving such notice shall promptly deliver it to the 

proper developer who shall then honor the notice if it was timely 

sent by the purchaser. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-45; 93A-51; 93A-54(f); 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2000; August 2, 1993; February 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 58B .0401 RETENTION OF TIMESHARE 

RECORDS 

(a)  A developer shall maintain or cause to be maintained 

complete timeshare records for a period of not less than three 

years after the completion or termination of a timeshare sale, 

rental, or exchange. 

(b)  Timeshare records shall include, at a minimum, copies of the 

following: 

(1) offers to purchase; 

(2) applications and contracts to purchase; 

(3) rent or exchange timeshares; 

(4) records of deposits; 

(5) maintenance and disbursement of funds 

required to be held in trust; 

(6) receipts; 

(7) notices of cancellations; 

(8) compensation of timeshare salespersons; 

(9) public offering statement and summary; and 

(10) any other records pertaining to the timeshare 

transaction or termination. 

(c)  Timeshare records shall be made available for inspection and 

reproduction to the Commission or its authorized representatives 

without prior notice. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-51; 93A-54; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2000; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 58B .0402 TIMESHARE AGENCY 

AGREEMENTS AND DISCLOSURE 

Timeshare sales transactions conducted by brokers on behalf of a 

developer are subject to 21 NCAC 58A .0104. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-51; 

Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 58B .0501 TIMESHARE TRUST FUNDS 

(a)  Except as otherwise permitted by G.S. 93A-45(d), all monies 

received by a developer or a timeshare salesperson in connection 

with a timeshare sales transaction shall be deposited into a trust or 

escrow account immediately following receipt and shall remain in 

such account for ten days from the date of sale or cancellation by 

the purchaser, whichever first occurs. 

(b)  All monies received in connection with a timeshare 

transaction shall be delivered immediately to the program broker. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-45; 93A-51; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2006; October 1, 2000; February 1, 1989; 

July 1, 1988; February 1, 1988; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2022. 
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21 NCAC 58B .0601 DESIGNATION OF PROGRAM 

BROKER 

(a)  The developer shall designate a program broker for each 

registered timeshare program. The developer shall file with the 

Commission an Affidavit of Timeshare Program Broker available 

on the Commission's website and shall set forth the timeshare 

program's: 

(1) name and registration number; 

(2) program broker's name, business and email 

address, real estate license number, telephone 

number, and notarized signature. 

(b)  The developer shall file with the Commission a new Affidavit 

of Timeshare Program Broker within 10 days of any change in the 

program broker. 

(c)  Brokers licensed pursuant to 21 NCAC 58A .1800 and 

provisional brokers as defined in G.S. 93A-4(a1) shall not be 

designated as a program broker. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-9; 93A-41(24); 93A-51; 

93A-58(d); 

Eff. February 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2006; July 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 58B .0602 DUTIES OF THE PROGRAM 

BROKER 

(a)  The program broker shall: 

(1) display the timeshare program registration 

certificate at the project; 

(2) ensure that each broker affiliated with the 

program has complied with Rules .0503 and 

.0504 of this Subchapter; 

(3) notify the Commission of any change in the 

developer or material change pursuant to Rule 

.0104(b) of this Subchapter; 

(4) deposit and maintain the trust or escrow 

account of the timeshare program and the 

records pertaining thereto; 

(5) retain and maintain the timeshare program's 

records pursuant to Rule .0401 of this 

Subchapter. 

(b)  The program broker shall review all contracts, public offering 

statements and other documents distributed to the timeshare 

program's purchasers to ensure that the documents comport with 

the requirements of the Article 4 of Chapter 93 of the North 

Carolina Statutes and the rules adopted by the Commission, and 

to ensure that true and accurate documents have been given to the 

purchasers. 

(c)  The program broker shall notify the Commission in writing of 

any change in his or her status as program broker within 10 days. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-51; 93A-58(c); 

Eff. February 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2006; October 1, 2000; February 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2022. 

21 NCAC 58H .0210 LIMITATATION, DENIAL, 

WITHDRAWAL, OR TERMINATION OF EDUCATION 

PROVIDER CERTIFICATION 

(a)  The Commission may limit, deny, or withdraw certification 

of an education provider or suspend, revoke, or deny renewal of 

the certification of an education provider upon finding that an 

education provider: 

(1) was found by a court or government agency of 

competent jurisdiction to have violated any 

state or federal law; 

(2) made any false statements or presented any 

false, incomplete, or incorrect information in 

connection with an application; 

(3) failed to provide or provided false, incomplete, 

or incorrect information in connection with any 

report the education provider is required to 

submit to the Commission; 

(4) presented to its students or prospective students 

false or misleading information relating to its 

instructional program, to the instructional 

programs of other institutions, or related to 

employment opportunities; 

(5) collected money from students but refused or 

failed to provide the promised instruction; 

(6) failed to submit the per student fee as required 

by G.S. 93A-4(a2) or 93A-38.5(e). 

(7) refused at any time to permit authorized 

representatives of the Commission to inspect 

the education provider's facilities or audit its 

courses; 

(8) or education director violated the rules of this 

Subchapter or was disciplined by the 

Commission under G.S. 93A-6; 

(9) obtained or used, or attempted to obtain or use, 

in any manner or form, North Carolina real 

estate license examination questions; 

(10) failed to provide to the Commission, within 30 

days of the Commission's request during an 

investigation or application process, a written 

plan describing the changes the education 

provider made or intends to make in its 

instructional program including instructors, 

course materials, methods of student 

evaluation, and completion standards to 

improve the performance of the education 

provider's students on the license examination; 

(11) provided the Commission a fee that was 

dishonored by a bank or returned for 

insufficient funds; 

(12) has had its Certificate of Authority revoked by 

the NC Secretary of State pursuant to G.S. 55-

15-30; 

(13) has been subject to a revenue suspension or 

suspended by the NC Secretary of State 

pursuant to G.S. 105-230; 

(14) has been administratively dissolved by the NC 

Secretary of State pursuant to G.S. 57D-6-06; 

(15) failed to utilize course materials pursuant to 

Rule .0205 of this Section; 
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(16) failed to submit reports pursuant to Rule .0207 

of this Section; 

(17) provided false, incomplete, or misleading 

information relating to real estate licensing, 

education matters, or the broker's education 

needs or license status; 

(18) discriminated in its admissions policy or 

practice against any person on the basis of age, 

sex, race, color, national origin, familial status, 

handicap status, or religion; or 

(19) refused or failed to comply with the provisions 

of this Subchapter. 

(b)  A broker shall be subject to discipline pursuant to G.S. 93A-

6 if the broker engages in dishonest, fraudulent, or improper 

conduct in connection with the operations of an education 

provider if that broker: 

(1) has an ownership interest in the education 

provider; 

(2) is the education director; or 

(3) is an instructor for an education provider. 

(c)  If an education provider's annual License Examination 

Performance Record fails to exceed 40 percent in each of the 

previous two license years and the education provider was 

certified by the Commission during the entire two years, the 

Commission shall limit the education provider's certification such 

that the education provider shall not offer prelicensing or 

postlicensing courses. Said limitation shall be effective July 1st of 

the calendar year following the Commission's determination. 

The education provider shall be eligible to have the limitation 

removed one year after the limitation is imposed provided that the 

education provider has: 

(1) provided a written plan describing the changes 

the education provider has made or intends to 

make in its instructional program to improve 

the performance of the students on the license 

examination; 

(2) consulted with a designated Commission staff 

member to review the written plan and needs 

for improvement; and 

(3) employed an instructor with no limitations to 

teach prelicensing and postlicensing courses. 

(d)  A limited education provider is eligible to renew its 

certification; however, a renewal shall not remove the limitations 

provided under Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(e)  When ownership of a certified education provider is 

transferred and the education provider ceases to operate as the 

certified entity, the certification is not transferable and shall 

terminate on the effective date of the transfer. All courses shall be 

completed by the effective date of the transfer. The transferring 

owner shall report course completion(s) to the Commission. The 

new entity shall obtain an original certification for each location 

where the education provider will conduct courses as required by 

G.S. 93A-34 and Rule .0202 of this Section prior to advertising 

courses, registering students, accepting tuition, conducting 

courses, or otherwise engaging in any education provider 

operations. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4(d); 93A-34(c); 93A-

35(c); 93A-38; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2022; July 1, 2021; July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0303 LIMITATION, DENIAL, OR 

WITHDRAWAL OF INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL 

(a)  The Commission may limit, deny, or withdraw approval of 

any instructor applicant or approved instructor upon finding that 

the instructor or instructor applicant: 

(1) has failed to meet the criteria for approval 

described in Rule .0302 of this Section or the 

criteria for renewal of approval described in 

Rule .0306 of this Section at the time of 

application or at any time during an approval 

period; 

(2) made any false statements or presented any 

false, incomplete, or incorrect information in 

connection with an application for approval or 

renewal of approval or any report that is 

required to be submitted to the Commission; 

(3) has failed to submit to the Commission any 

report, course examination, or video recording 

required by these Rules; 

(4) has failed to demonstrate the ability to teach a 

Prelicensing, Postlicensing, or Update course in 

a manner consistent with the course materials; 

(5) taught a Prelicensing course and failed to 

provide to the Commission, within 30 days of 

the Commission's request during an 

investigation or application process, a written 

plan describing the changes the instructor has 

made or intends to make in his or her 

instructional program to improve the 

performance of the instructor's students on the 

license examination; 

(6) has been convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or 

pleaded no contest to, a misdemeanor or felony 

violation of state or federal law by a court of 

competent jurisdiction; 

(7) has been found by a court or government 

agency of competent jurisdiction to have 

violated any state or federal regulation 

prohibiting discrimination; 

(8) has obtained, used, or attempted to obtain or 

use, in any manner or form, North Carolina real 

estate license examination questions except that 

the instructor or instructor applicant may sit for 

their own initial examination for licensure; 

(9) has failed to take steps to protect the security of 

end-of-course examinations; 

(10) failed to take any corrective action set out in the 

plan described in Subparagraph (a)(5) of this 

Rule or as otherwise requested by the 

Commission; 

(11) engaged in any other improper, fraudulent, or 

dishonest conduct; 

(12) failed to utilize course materials pursuant to 

Rule .0205 of this Subchapter; 

(13) has taught or conducted a course in any manner 

that discriminated against any person on the 
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basis of age, sex, race, color, national origin, 

familial status, handicap status, or religion; or 

(14) failed to comply with any other provisions of 

this Subchapter. 

(b)  If an instructor's annual License Examination Performance 

Record fails to exceed 40 percent in each of the previous two 

license years and the instructor was approved by the Commission 

during the entire previous two years, the Commission shall limit 

the instructor's approval such that the instructor shall not teach 

prelicensing or postlicensing courses. Said limitation shall be 

effective July 1st of the calendar year following the Commission's 

determination. 

The instructor shall be eligible to have the limitation removed one 

year after the limitation is imposed provided that the instructor 

has: 

(1) provided a written plan describing the changes 

the instructor has made or intends to make in 

his or her instructional program to improve the 

performance of the students on the license 

examination; 

(2) consulted with a designated Commission staff 

member to review the written plan and needs 

for improvement; and 

(3) attended the Commission's New Instructor 

Seminar. 

(c)  A limited instructor is eligible to renew an instructor approval; 

however, a renewal shall not remove the limitations provided 

under Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-34; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2022; July 1, 2021; July 1, 2020. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission July 21, 2022 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
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Jeff Hyde Randy Overton 
Robert A. Rucho Paul Powell 

 
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Brian Liebman  984-236-1948 
Lawrence Duke  984-236-1938 
William W. Peaslee 984-236-1939 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 July 21, 2022 September 15, 2022 
 August 18, 2022 October 20, 2022 

 

 
 

AGENDA 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

Thursday, July 21, 2022, 9:00 A.M. 
1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

 
I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

 
II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting  

 
III. Follow-up matters 

 
A. Board of Agriculture - 02 NCAC 52J .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, 

.0206, .0207, .0208, .0209, .0210, .0301, .0302, .0303, .0304, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, 

.0407, .0408, .0409, .0410, .0411, .0412, .0413, .0414, .0415, .0416, .0417, .0418, .0419, .0501, .0701, 

.0702, .0703, .0704, .0705, .0801, .0802, .0803, .0901, .0902 (Peaslee) 
B. Medical Care Commission - 10A NCAC 13B .3801. .3903, .4103, .4104, .4106, .4305, .4603, .4801, .4805, 

.5102, .5105, .5406, .5408, .5411 (Liebman) 
C. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission - 12 NCAC 09G .0205 (Liebman) 
D. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02B .0208, .0212, .0214, .0215, .0216, .0218, (Duke) 
E. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02H .1301, .1401, .1402, .1403, .1404, .1405 

(Liebman) 
F. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02Q .0103, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0507, .0508, .0509, 

.0514, .0516, .0518, .0521, .0522, .0525, .0526 (Duke) 
G. Coastal Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 07H .0104, .0208, .0304, .0305, .0306, .0308, .0309, .0310, 

.1205, .1801; 07J .0403, .0404, .1201, .1202, .1203, .1204, .1205, .1206, .1301, .1302, .1303; 07K .0208; 
07M .0301, .0302, .0303, .0306, .0307, .0308, .0310 (Duke) 

H. Wildlife Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 10D .0103, .0209, .0226, .0229, .0230, .0239, .0240, .0243, 
.0260, .0276 (Duke) 

 
IV. Review of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between May 23, 2022 through June 20, 2022 

 

• DHHS - Division of Health Benefits (Liebman) 

• Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission (Peaslee) 
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• Alarm Systems Licensing Board (Liebman) 

• Coastal Resources Commission - 07H .0500, .0600, 07I, 07J (Liebman) 

• Coastal Resources Commission - 07H .1300 - .2700 (Duke)  

• Coastal Resources Commission – 07L, M (Peaslee) 

• Board of Physical Therapy Examiners (Peaslee) 

• Board of Recreational Therapy Licensure (Liebman) 
 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting 
 

VI. Existing Rules Review  
 

VII. Commission Business 

• Next meeting: August 18, 2022  

 

 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

May 23, 2022 through June 20, 2022 

HHS - HEALTH BENEFITS, DIVISION OF 

The rules in Subchapter 22Q concern the distribution of federal disproportionate share adjustment receipts arising from 
certified public expenditures. 

Scope 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 22Q .0101 

Definitions 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 22Q .0102 

Distributions 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 22Q .0103 

Certifying Hospital Distribution 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 22Q .0104 

Certifying Hospitals' Outpatient Costs 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 22Q .0105 

Certifying Hospitals' Proportionate Share 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 22Q .0106 

The rules in Subchapter 22R concern the distribution of hospital uncompensated care fund. 

Scope 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 22R .0101 

Definitions 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 22R .0102 

Eligible Hospital 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 22R .0103 

Eligible Outpatient Costs 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 22R .0104 

Distribution of Available Funds 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 22R .0105 

SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 10B govern the commission organization and procedure (.0100); enforcement rules (.0200); 
minimum standards for employment as a justice officer (deputy or jailer) (.0300); certification of justice officers (.0400); 
standards and accreditation for justice officers schools, training programs, and the instructors (.0500-.0900); certificate 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

37:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2022 

162 

and awards programs for sheriffs, deputies, justice officers, jailers, reserve officers, and telecommunicators (.1000-
.1700); in-service training (.2000); and firearms in-service training and re-qualification (.2100). 

Responsibilities: School Directors, Detention Officers 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 10B .0704 

ALARM SYSTEMS LICENSING BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 17 are from the N.C. Alarm Systems Licensing Board and cover the organization and general 
provisions (.0100); provisions for licensees (.0200); provisions for registrants (.0300); the recovery fund (.0400); and 
continuing education for licensees (.0500). 

Application for License 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 17 .0201 

Application for Registration 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 17 .0301 

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 7H are the state guidelines for areas of environmental concern (AECs) including introduction 
and general comments (.0100); the estuarine system (.0200); ocean hazard areas (.0300); public water supplies (.0400); 
natural and cultural resource areas (.0500); development standards (.0600); general permits for construction or 
maintenance of bulkheads and the placement of riprap for shoreline protection in estuarine and public trust waters 
(.1100); piers, docks and boat houses in estuarine and public trust waters (.1200); general permit to construct boat 
ramps along estuarine and public trust shorelines and into estuarine and public trust waters (.1300); groins in estuarine 
and public trust waters (.1400); excavation within or connecting to existing canals, channels, basins, or ditches in 
estuarine waters, public trust waters, and estuarine shoreline AECs (.1500); aerial and subaqueous utility lines with 
attendant structures in coastal wetlands, estuarine waters, public trust waters and estuarine shorelines (.1600); 
emergency work requiring a CAMA or a dredge and fill permit (.1700); beach bulldozing landward of the mean high-
water mark in the ocean hazard AEC (.1800); general permit to allow for temporary structures within the estuarine and 
ocean AECs (.1900); authorizing minor modifications and repair to existing pier/mooring facilities in estuarine and public 
trust waters and ocean hazard areas (.2000); construction of sheetpile sill for shoreline protection in estuarine and public 
trust waters (.2100); construction of freestanding moorings in established waters and public trust areas (.2200); 
replacement of existing bridges and culverts in estuarine waters, estuarine shorelines, public trust areas and coastal 
wetlands (.2300); placement of riprap for wetland protection in estuarine and public trust waters (.2400); emergency 
general permit, to be initiated at the discretion of the Secretary of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources 
for replacement of structures; the reconstruction of primary or frontal dune systems; and the maintenance excavation 
of existing canals, basins, channels, or ditches, damaged, destroyed, or filled in by hurricanes or tropical storms, 
provided all replacement, reconstruction and maintenance excavation activities conform to all current standards (.2500); 
construction of wetland, stream and buffer mitigation sites by the North Carolina Ecosystem Enhancement Program or 
the North Carolina Wetlands Restoration Program (.2600); and the construction of riprap sills for wetland enhancement 
in estuarine and public trust waters (.2700).  

General 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .0501 

Significance 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .0502 

Nomination and Designation Procedures 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .0503 

AECs Within Category 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .0504 

Coastal Areas that Sustain Remnant Species 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .0505 

Coastal Complex Natural Areas 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .0506 

Unique Coastal Geologic Formations  15A NCAC 07H .0507 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

37:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2022 

163 

Readopt without Changes* 

Use Standards 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .0508 

Significant Coastal Archeological Resources 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .0509 

Significant Coastal Historic Architectural Resources 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .0510 

No Violation of any Rule 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .0601 

Pollution of Waters 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .0602 

Minimum Altitudes 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .0603 

Noise Pollution 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .0604 

Purpose 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1301 

Approval Procedures 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1302 

Permit Fee 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1303 

General Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1304 

Specific Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1305 

Purpose 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1401 

Approval Procedures 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1402 

Permit Fee 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1403 

General Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1404 

Specific Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1405 

Purpose 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1501 

Approval Procedures 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1502 

Application Fee 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1503 

General Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1504 

Specific Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1505 

Purpose 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1601 

Approval Procedures 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1602 

Permit Fee 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1603 

General Conditions  15A NCAC 07H .1604 
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Readopt without Changes* 

Specific Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1605 

Specific Conditions 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1805 

Purpose 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2001 

Approval Procedures 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2002 

Permit Fee 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2003 

General Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2004 

Specific Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2005 

Purpose 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2101 

Approval Procedures 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2102 

Permit Fee 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2103 

General Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2104 

Specific Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2105 

Purpose 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2201 

Approval Procedures 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2202 

Permit Fee 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2203 

General Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2204 

Specific Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2205 

Purpose 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2301 

Approval Procedures 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2302 

Permit Fee 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2303 

General Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2304 

Specific Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2305 

Purpose 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2401 

Approval Procedures 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2402 

Permit Fee 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2403 

General Conditions  15A NCAC 07H .2404 
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Readopt without Changes* 

Specific Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2405 

Purpose 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2601 

Approval Procedures 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2602 

Permit Fees 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2603 

General Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2604 

Specific Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2605 

Purpose 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2701 

Approval Procedures 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2702 

Permit Fee 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2703 

General Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2704 

Specific Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .2705 

The rules in Subchapter 7I concern the secretary's grant criteria and procedures for local implementation and 
enforcement programs under the Coastal Area Management Act and include purpose (.0100); policy and standards 
(.0200); application procedures (.0300); generally applicable standards (.0400); local implementation and enforcement 
plans (.0500); amendment of local management plans (.0600); and failure to enforce and administer plans (.0700). 

Local Ordinance Required 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07I .0204 

Application Process 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07I .0302 

Grant Administration 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07I .0305 

Grant Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07I .0306 

Program Costs 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07I .0401 

Ineligible Activities 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07I .0402 

Application Fees 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07I .0406 

Record of Hearings and Comments 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07I .0504 

Content of Plan 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07I .0505 

Allocation of Authority 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07I .0506 

Local Permit Officer 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07I .0507 

Consideration of Application by Permit Officer 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07I .0508 
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Notice of Civil Action 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07I .0509 

Commission Review and Acceptance of the Local Plan 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07I .0510 

Commitment to Adopt Local Management Plan as Ordinance 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07I .0511 

Notice and Public Hearing Requirement 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07I .0601 

Coastal Resources Commission Approval 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07I .0602 

Sanction for Violations by the Local Permit-Letting Agency 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07I .0701 

When an Action Exceeds the Local Authority 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07I .0702 

The rules in Subchapter 7J concern procedures for handling major development permits, variance requests, appeals 
from minor development permit decisions and declaratory rulings. They include definitions (.0100); permit application 
and procedures (.0200); hearing procedures (.0300); final approval and enforcement (.0400); general permits (.0500); 
declaratory rulings and petitions for rulemaking (.0600); procedures for considering variance petitions (.0700); general 
permit procedure (.1100); beach management plan approval procedures (.1200); and development line procedures 
(.1300). 

General Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0102 

Permit Required 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0201 

Preparation of Work Plan 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0203 

Processing the Application 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0204 

Public Notice of the Proposed Development 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0206 

Agency Review/Comments: Major Development/Dredge and Fill 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0207 

Permit Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0208 

Issuance of Permits 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0209 

Replacement of Existing Structures 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0210 

Non-Conforming Development 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0211 

Who is Entitled to a Contested Case Hearing 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0301 

Petition for Contested Case Hearing 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0302 

Settlement 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0312 

Procedure for Requesting Declaratory Rulings 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0602 

Procedures: Considering Requests for Declaratory Rules 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0603 

Federal Activities 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0604 
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Petitions for Rulemaking 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0605 

Variance Petitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0701 

Staff Review of Variance Petitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0702 

Procedures for Deciding Variance Petitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07J .0703 

The rules in Subchapter 7L concern local planning and management grants including purpose and authority (.0100); 
general standards (.0500); application process (.0600); and grant administration. 

Priorities for Funding Land Use Plans and Implementation ... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07L .0503 

The rules in Subchapter 7M concern general policy guidelines for the coastal area including purpose and authority 
(.0100); shoreline erosion response policies (.0200); shorefront access policies (.0300); coastal energy policies (.0400); 
post-disaster policies (.0500); floating structure policies (.0600); mitigation policy (.0700); coastal water quality policies 
(.0800); policies on use of coastal airspace (.0900); policies on water and wetland based target areas for military training 
activities (.1000); policies on beneficial use and availability of materials resulting from the excavation or maintenance of 
navigational channels (.1100); and policies on ocean mining (.1200). 

Declaration of General Policy 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .0201 

Policy Statements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .0202 

Declaration of General Policy 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .0401 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .0402 

Policy Statements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .0403 

Policy Statements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .0503 

Declaration of General Policy 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .0601 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .0602 

Policy Statements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .0603 

Declaration of General Policy 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .0701 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .0702 

Mitigation Candidacy 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .0703 

Policy Statements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .0704 

Review Procedures 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .0705 

Declaration of General Policies 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .0801 

Policy Statements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .0802 
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Policy Statements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .0902 

Declaration of General Policy 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .1001 

Policy Statements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .1002 

Declaration of General Policy 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .1101 

Policy Statements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .1102 

Declaration of General Policy 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .1201 

Policy Statements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .1202 

PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 48B concern types of licenses. 

Licenses by Endorsement 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 48B .0102 

The rules in Subchapter 48E deal with the requirements for application for licensure (.0100). 

Examination Scores 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 48E .0104 

The rules in Subchapter 48F concern certificates, fees, investigation, and record of licensees. 

Licensure Certificate 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 48F .0101 

Investigations 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 48F .0103 

The rules in Subchapter 48G concern retention of license including licensure renewal (.0100); lapsed licenses (.0200); 
refusal to renew or grant license suspension or revocation (.0300); probation or warning (.0400); contested case 
hearings (.0500); and disciplinary action (.0600). 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 48G .0105 

Revival of Lapsed License 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 48G .0203 

Complaints and Investigations 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 48G .0504 

RECREATIONAL THERAPY LICENSURE, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 65 cover the practice of recreational therapy including general provisions (.0100); requirements for 
practice (.0200); requirements for licensure (.0300); application (.0400); fees (.0500); license renewal requirements 
(.0600); reinstatement (.0700); inactive status (.0800); reciprocity (.0900); and revocation, suspension or denial of 
licensure (.1000). 

Minimum Level of Education and Competency for Licensed Re... 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 65 .0301 

Licensure Fees 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 65 .0501 
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Reinstatement of Lapsed License 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 65 .0701 

 

 

 

 


