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EXPLANATION OF THE PUBLICATION SCHEDULE

This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.
Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6.

GENERAL

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice
a month and contains the following information
submitted for publication by a state agency:

(1)  temporary rules;

(2)  text of proposed rules;

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules
Review Commission;

(4)  emergency rules

(5)  Executive Orders of the Governor;

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney
General concerning changes in laws affecting
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by
G.S. 120-30.9H; and

(7)  other information the Codifier of Rules
determines to be helpful to the public.

COMPUTING TIME: In computing time in the schedule,
the day of publication of the North Carolina Register
is not included. The last day of the period so computed
is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State
holiday, in which event the period runs until the
preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or
State holiday.

FILING DEADLINES

ISSUE DATE: The Register is published on the first and
fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the
month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for
employees mandated by the State Personnel
Commission. If the first or fifteenth of any month is a
Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees,
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be
published on the day of that month after the first or
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for
State employees.

LAST DAY FOR FILING: The last day for filing for any
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees.

NOTICE OF TEXT

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing
date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of
the hearing is published.

END OF REQUIRED COMMENT  PERIOD
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a
proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is
published or until the date of any public hearings held
on the proposed rule, whichever is longer.

DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW
COMMISSION: The Commission shall review a rule
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month
by the last day of the next month.



IN ADDITION

North Carolina License and Theft Bureau

PUBLIC NOTICE

This serves as a notice pursuant to G.S. § 20-288 of a license application submission by a
manufacturer, factory branch, factory representative, distributor, distributor branch, or distributor
representative that has not been previously issued a license by the Division.

Applicant’s Name: MV Agusta Motorcycles North America Inc
Applicant’s Address: 38429 Innovation CT, Murrieta CA 92563
Application Date: 12-28-2022

Names and titles of any individual listed on the application as an owner, partner, member or
officer of the applicant:

John Hinz CEO
Qana D Roth CFO

Elisabeth Steinacker Secretary
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IN ADDITION

North Carolina License and Theft Bureau

PUBLIC NOTICE

This serves as a notice pursuant to G.S. § 20-288 of a license application submission by a
manufacturer, factory branch, factory representative, distributor, distributor branch, or distributor
representative that has not been previously issued a license by the Division.

Applicant’s Name: Legend Manufacturing Inc
Applicant’s Address: 7945 N Alger Rd, Alma, MI 48801
Application Date: 1/17/2023

Names and titles of any individual listed on the application as an owner, partner, member or
officer of the applicant:

Jason Beck owner

37:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 3, 2023
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PROPOSED RULES

Statutory reference: G.S. 150B-21.2.

Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules. The agency
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later
date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice,
the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days.

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN
SERVICES

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and
G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Radiation Protection
Commission intends to amend the rule cited as 10A NCAC 15
.1001, repeal the rules cited as 10A NCAC 15 .1002, .1003, .1005,
.1006, readopt with substantive changes the rule cited as 10A
NCAC 15 .1601 and repeal through readoption the rules cited as
10A NCAC 15 .1004, .1007, .1008, .1602-.1649, and .1653.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it
impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless
the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available
on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ruleactions.html

Proposed Effective Date: October 1, 2023

Public Hearing:

Date: May 1, 2023

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: Dorothea Dix Park, Edgerton Building, Room 026,
809 Ruggles Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603

Reason for Proposed Action: Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A,
Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are
reviewed at least every 10 years, or they shall expire. As a result
of the periodic review of the rules in Chapter 10A NCAC 15,
Radiation Protection, 53 rules proposed for readoption were part
of the 257 rules from the N.C. Radiation Protection Commission
determined as “Necessary With Substantive Public Interest,”
requiring readoption. With input from advisory committees and
working groups of the N.C. Radiation Protection Commission,
substantive changes are proposed to one rule for readoption, one
rule is proposed for amendment, and 56 rules are proposed for
repeal or as readoption as a repeal for a total of 58 proposed
rules.

The two rules proposed for amendment or readoption with
substantive changes have been reorganized to incorporate by
reference the federal Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) for
Parts 19, and 20. Fifty -six rules are proposed for repeal or
readoption as a repeal because they have are redundant and are
therefore unnecessary because the federal regulations for these
rules are incorporated by reference in Rules 10A NCAC 15 .1001
and .1601.

Comments may be submitted to: Nadine Pfeiffer, 809 Ruggles
Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; email
DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov

Comment period ends: June 2, 2023

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XXOOO

CHAPTER 15 - RADIATION PROTECTION

SECTION .1000 - NOTICES: INSTRUCTIONS: REPORTS
AND INSPECTIONS

10A NCAC 15 .1001 SCORE NOTICES
INSTRUCTIONS, AND REPORTS TO EMPLOYEES

Section .0200 of this Chapter and persons licensed under the rules
in Sections .0300, .0900, .1200, and .1300 of this Chapter shall
comply with the provisions of 10 CFR 19 as follows, which are
hereby incorporated by reference including subsequent
amendments and editions, except that references to and
requirements for 10 CFR 2, 50, 52, 54, 60, 63, 72, and 76 shall

not apply:
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10 CFR 19.1, "Purpose;"

10 CFR 19.2, "Scope;"

10 CFR 19.3, "Definitions," except that the

definition of "requlated activities" and

"requlated entities" shall not apply. For persons

registered with the agency pursuant to the rules

in Section .0200 of this Chapter, the following

terms used in 19.3 shall have the following

substitutions:

(A) "license" shall have the same meaning
as "registration” as defined in Rule
.0104(131) of this Chapter;

(B) "licensed" means registered pursuant
to the rules in Section .0200 of this
Chapter;

© "licensee” shall have the same

meaning as "registrant” as defined in
Rule .0104(130) of this Chapter;

(E) "materials" shall have the same
meaning as "radiation _machine" as
defined in Rule .0104(122) of this
Chapter;

(F) "NRC-licensed” means registered
pursuant to the rules in Section .0200
of this Chapter; and

(D) "radioactive material™ shall have the
same meaning as "radiation machine"
as defined in Rule .0104(122) of this
Chapter;

10 CFR 19.5, "Communications," except that

licensees and registrants shall address

communications and reports to the agency at
the address shown in Rule .0111 of this Chapter
in lieu of the NRC;

10 CFR 19.11, "Posting of notices to workers,"

except that 19.11(b) and (e) shall not apply;

(A) NRC Form 3 shall not be used in lieu
of the Notice to Employees issued by
the agency, except as authorized by
the agency in writing;

(B) licensees and registrants shall not post

(8) 10 CFR 19.14, "Presence of representatives of
licensees and requlated entities, and workers
during inspections;"

[€)] 10 CFR 19.15, "Consultation with workers
during inspections;"

(10) 10 CFR 19.16, "Requests by workers for
inspections." Requests for inspections shall be
submitted to the agency at the address shown in
Rule .0111 of this Chapter in lieu of the NRC;

11 10 CFR 19.17, "Inspections not warranted;
informal review." Communications regarding
the agency's decisions with respect to a request
for_inspection submitted to the agency under
Subparagraph (a)(10) shall be submitted to the
agency at the address shown in Rule .0111 of
this Chapter in lieu of the NRC;

(12) 10 CFR 19.18, "Sequestration of witnesses and
exclusion of counsel in interviews conducted
under subpoena;"

(13) 10 CFR 19.20, "Employee protection;"

(14 10 CFR 19.31, "Application for exemptions,"”
except that the request for exemption shall be
made on the licensee's or registrant's business
letterhead. Requests for exemptions from the
requirements of this Rule shall be made to the
agency at the address shown in Rule .0111 of
this Chapter in lieu of the NRC or as otherwise
instructed by the agency. To request an
exemption, the following information shall be
submitted to the agency:

licensee or registrant name;

license or registration number;

name of the individual requesting the

exemption:;

contact information for the individual

requesting the exemption;

a description of the exemption being

requested; and

an_explanation describing why the

exemption is necessary.

(b) Notwithstanding Subparagraph (a)(5) of this Rule, registrants

5 B B BEE

other notices, postings, notes, or other

temporarily working in North Carolina and licensees working in

materials _over the notice to

North Carolina under reciprocity may post the Notice to

employees, nor shall equipment be

Employees, NRC Form 3, or an equivalent form issued under the

placed in such a manner that the notice

authority of the requlatory agency issuing the registration or

to employees is obscured or hidden by

license.

that equipment; and
© additional copies of the Notice to

(c) Copies of these requlations are available free of charge at
https://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/doc-collections/cfr/part019/.

Employees may be obtained free of
charge from the agency by contacting
the agency at the address shown in
Rule .0111 of this Chapter in lieu of
the NRC, or online at
https://radiation.ncdhhs.gov/;

10 CFR 19.12, "Instructions to workers;"

10 CFR 19.13, "Notifications and reports to

individuals;"

Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-12.

10A NCAC 15 .1002 POSTING OF NOTICES TO
WORKERS

10A NCAC 15 .1003 INSTRUCTIONS TO WORKERS

Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-10; 104E-12.
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10A NCAC 15 .1004 NOTIFICATIONS AND
REPORTS TO INDIVIDUALS

Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-10(b); 104E-12.

10A NCAC 15 .1005 PRESENCE OF
REPRESENTATIVES DURING INSPECTIONS
10A NCAC 15 .1006 CONSULTATION WITH
WORKERS

Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-10; 104E-11.
10A NCAC 15 .1007

10A NCAC 15 .1008
WARRANTED

REQUESTS FOR INSPECTIONS
INSPECTIONS NOT

Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-10.

SECTION .1600 - STANDARDS FOR PROTECTION
AGAINST RADIATION

10A NCAC 15 .1601 PURPOSE-AND-SCOPE
STANDARDS FOR PROTECTION AGAINST
RADIATION

n I , , blict : :

e e f this Section.
(a) Persons reqgistered with the agency pursuant to the rules in

Section .0200 of this Chapter and persons licensed pursuant to the
rules in Section .0300, .0900, .1200, or .1300 of this Chapter shall
comply with the provisions of 10 CFR 20 as follows, which are

amendments and editions, except references to and requirements
for 10 CFR 50, 52, 60, 63, 72, 73, and 76 shall not apply:

Q) 20.1001, "Purpose," except that non-ionizing
radiation from radiation machines registered in
accordance with the rules in Section .0200 of
this Chapter shall also be regulated by this Rule;

2) 20.1002, "Scope;"

3) 20.1003, "Definitions," except that for persons
registered with the agency pursuant to the rules
in Section .0200 of this Chapter, the following
terms used in 20.1003 shall have the following
substitutions:

(A) "license" shall have the same meaning
as "registration” as defined in Rule
.0104(131) of this Chapter;

(B) "licensed" means registered pursuant
to the rules in Section .0200 of this
Chapter;

© "licensed material" shall have the

same meaning as "radiation machine"
as defined in Rule .0104(122) of this
Chapter, and

(D) "licensee™ shall have the same
meaning as "registrant” as defined in
Rule .0104(130) of this Chapter;

20.1004, "Units of radiation dose;"

20.1005, "Units of radioactivity;"

BBE

20.1007, "Communications," except that
licensees and  registrants shall address
communications  regarding  these  rules,

notifications, and reports to the agency at the
address shown in Rule .0111 of this Chapter in
lieu of the NRC;

20.1101, "Radiation protection programs;"
20.1201, "Occupational dose limits for adults;"
20.1202, "Compliance with requirements for
summation of external and internal doses;"
20.1203, "Determination of external dose from
airborne radioactive material;"

20.1204, "Determination of internal exposure;"
20.1206, "Planned special exposures;"
20.1207, "Occupational dose limits for
minors;"

20.1208, "Dose equivalent to an embryo/fetus;"
20.1301, "Dose limits for individual members
of the public;"

20.1302, "Compliance with dose limits for
individual members of the public;"

20.1401, "General provisions and scope;"
20.1402, "Radiological criteria for unrestricted
use;"

20.1403, "Criteria for license termination under
restricted conditions;"

BB EBE B BE BEE B ©EB

0 20.1404, "Alternate criteria _for _license
termination;"
21 20.1405, "Public notification and public

participation,” except the agency shall not
publish a notice in the Federal Register;

hereby incorporated by reference including subsequent (22) 20.1406, "Minimization of contamination;"
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20.1501, "General;"
20.1502, "Conditions
monitoring __ of
occupational dose;"
20.1601, "Control of access to high radiation
areas;"

20.1602, "Control of access to very high
radiation areas;"

20.1701, "Use of process or other engineering

individual
internal

requiring
external __and

controls;"
20.1702, "Use of other controls;"
20.1703, "Use of individual respiratory

protection equipment;”
20.1704, "Further restrictions on the use of
respiratory equipment;"
20.1705, "Application for
assigned protection factors;"
20.1801, "Security of stored material;"
20.1802, "Control of material not in storage;"
20.1901, "Caution signs;"

20.1902, "Posting requirements;"

20.1903, "Exceptions to posting requirements;"
20.1904, "Labeling containers;"
20.1905, "Exemptions to

requirements;"
20.1906, "Procedures for receiving and opening

packages;"

20.2001, "General requirements;"

20.2002, "Method for obtaining approval of
proposed disposal procedures;"

20.2003, "Disposal by release to sanitary
sewerage;"

20.2004, "Treatment or
incineration;"

20.2005, "Disposal of specific wastes;"
20.2006, "Transfer for disposal and manifests;"
20.2007, "Compliance with environmental and
health protection regulations;"

20.2008, "Disposal of certain byproduct
material;"

20.2101, "General provisions;"

20.2102, "Records of radiation protection
programs;"

20.2103, "Records of surveys;"

20.2104, "Determination of prior occupational
dose;"
20.2105,
exposures;"
20.2106, "Records of individual monitoring
results;"”

20.2107, "Records of dose to
members of the public;"

20.2108, "Records of waste disposal;"”
20.2110, "Form of records;"

20.2201, "Reports of theft or loss of material."

use of higher

labeling

disposal by

"Records of planned special

individual

e

60

61

B BB

62

(63)

radiation _machines in _accordance with
20.2201(a)(1)(i);

20.2202, "Notifications of incidents;"

20.2203, "Reports of exposures, radiation
levels, and concentrations of radioactive
material exceeding the constraints or limits;"
20.2204, "Reports of planned  special
exposures;"

20.2205, "Reports to individuals exceeding
dose limits;"

20.2206, "Reports of individual monitoring,”
except 20.2206(a)(3). The report required by
20.2206(b) shall be submitted upon request by
the agency in lieu of the requirements of
20.2206(c);

20.2207, "Reports of transactions involving
nationally tracked sources." Notwithstanding
Subparagraph (a)(6) of this Rule, reports
required by this Subparagraph shall be made in
accordance with 20.2207(f) and (@);

20.2301, "Application for exemptions," except
that the request for exemption shall be made on
the licensee's or registrant's business letterhead.
Requests for exemptions from the requirements
of this Rule shall be made to the agency at the
address shown in Rule .0111 of this Chapter in
lieu of the NRC or as otherwise instructed by
the agency. To reqguest an exemption, the
following information shall be submitted to the

agency:

licensee or registrant name;

license or registration number;

name and contact information for the
individual requesting the exemption;
a description of the exemption being
requested, and

an_explanation describing why the
exemption is necessary;

20.2302, "Additional requirements;"

Appendix A to Part 20, "Assigned Protection
Factors for Respirators;"

Appendix B to Part 20, "Annual Limits on
Intake (ALIs) and Derived Air Concentrations
(DACs) of Radionuclides for Occupational
Exposure; Effluent Concentrations;
Concentrations for Release to Sewerage;"
Appendix C to Part 20, "Quantities of
Radioactive Material Requiring Labeling;"
Appendix E to Part 20, "Nationally Tracked
Source Thresholds," and

Appendix G to Part 20, "Requirements for
Transfers of Low-Level Radioactive Waste
Intended for Disposal at Licensed Land
Disposal Facilities and Manifests."

B & BEE

(b) Exposure of a personnel monitoring device to deceptively

Persons registered with the agency pursuant to

indicate a dose delivered to an individual is prohibited.

the rules in Section .0200 of this Chapter shall

(c) Licensees and registrants shall continue to perform all

make telephone reports of the theft or loss of

activities _required by the rules of this Chapter, license or

registration condition, and shall pay annual fees as instructed on
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an invoice issued by the agency until the license or registration is

terminated. Registrants shall maintain registration of all radiation

machines under their control until those units are disposed.
(d) Nothing in the rules of this Chapter shall relieve any person

of responsibility for complying with other applicable North

Carolina laws and rules.
(e) _Copies of these requlations are available free of charge at

https://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/doc-collections/cfr/part020/.

Authority G.S. 104E-7(a)(2).

10A NCAC 15 .1602 IMPLEMENTATION

10A NCAC 15 .1603 RADIATION PROTECTION
PROGRAMS

10A NCAC 15 .1604 OCCUPATIONAL DOSE LIMITS
FOR ADULTS

10A NCAC 15 .1605 REQUIREMENTS FOR
SUMMATION OF EXTERNAL, INTERNAL DOSES

10A NCAC 15 .1606 EXTERNAL DOSE FROM
AIRBORNE RADIOACTIVE MATERIAL

10A NCAC 15 .1607 DETERMINATION OF
INTERNAL EXPOSURE

10A NCAC 15 .1608 PLANNED SPECIAL
EXPOSURES

10A NCAC 15 .1609 OCCUPATIONAL DOSE LIMITS
FOR MINORS

10a ncac 15 .1610 DOSE EQUIVALENT TO AN
EMBRYO/FETUS

10A NCAC 15 .1611 DOSE LIMITS FOR INDIVIDUAL
MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC

10A NCAC 15 .1612 COMPLIANCE WITH
LIMITS FOR MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC

10a ncac 15 .1613 SURVEYS

10A NCAC 15 .1614 MONITORING OF EXTERNAL
AND INTERNAL OCCUPATIONAL DOSE

10A NCAC 15 .1615 CONTROL OF ACCESS TO
HIGH RADIATION AREAS

10A NCAC 15 .1616 CONTROL OF ACCESS TO
VERY HIGH RADIATION AREAS

10A NCAC 15 .1617 ACCESS TO VERY HIGH
RADIATION AREAS: IRRADIATORS

10A NCAC 15 .1618 USE OF PROCESS OR OTHER
ENGINEERING CONTROLS

10A NCAC 15 .1619 USE OF OTHER CONTROLS TO
RESTRICT INTERNAL EXPOSURE

10A NCAC 15 .1620 USE OF INDIVIDUAL
RESPIRATORY PROTECTION EQUIPMENT

10A NCAC 15 .1621 RESTRICTIONS ON THE USE OF
RESPIRATORY PROTECTION EQUIPMENT

10A NCAC 15 .1622 SECURITY OF SOURCES OF
RADIATION

10A NCAC 15 .1623
10A NCAC 15 .1624
10A NCAC 15 .1625
REQUIREMENTS
10A NCAC 15 .1626
AND EXEMPTIONS
10A NCAC 15 .1627 PROCEDURES FOR RECEIVING
AND OPENING PACKAGES

DOSE

CAUTION SIGNS
POSTING REQUIREMENTS
EXCEPTIONS TO POSTING

LABELING REQUIREMENTS

10A NCAC 15 .1628 GENERAL
FOR WASTE DISPOSAL

10A NCAC 15 .1629 METHOD FOR OBTAINING
APPROVAL OF DISPOSAL PROCEDURES

10A NCAC 15 .1630 DISPOSAL BY RELEASE INTO
SANITARY SEWERAGE

10A NCAC 15 .1631 TREATMENT OR DISPOSAL BY

REQUIREMENTS

INCINERATION

10A NCAC 15 .1632 DISPOSAL OF SPECIFIC
WASTES

10A NCAC 15 .1633 TRANSFER FOR DISPOSAL AND
MANIFESTS

10A NCAC 15 .1634 COMPLIANCE WITH ENV. AND
HEALTH PROTECTION REGULATIONS

10A NCAC 15 .1635 GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR
RECORDS

10A NCAC 15 .1636 RECORDS OF RADIATION
PROTECTION PROGRAMS
10A NCAC 15 .1637 RECORDS OF SURVEYS

10A NCAC 15 .1638 DETERMINATION OF PRIOR
OCCUPATIONAL DOSE

10A NCAC 15 .1639 RECORDS OF PLANNED
EXPOSURES

10A NCAC 15 .1640 RECORDS OF INDIVIDUAL
MONITORING RESULTS

10A NCAC 15 .1641 RECORDS OF DOSE TO
INDIVIDUAL MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC

10A NCAC 15 .1642 RECORDS OF WASTE

DISPOSAL

10A NCAC 15 .1643
CONTROL DEVICES
10A NCAC 15 .1644 FORM OF RECORDS

10A NCAC 15 .1645 REPORTS OF THEFT OR LOSS
OF LICENSED RADIOACTIVE MATERIAL

10A NCAC 15 .1646 NOTIFICATION OF INCIDENTS

RECORDS OF TESTING ENTRY

10A NCAC 15 .1647 REPORTS OF RADIATION
EXCEEDING THE LIMITS

10A NCAC 15 .1648 REPORTS OF PLANNED
SPECIAL EXPOSURES

10A NCAC 15 .1649 REPORTS OF INDIVIDUAL

MONITORING

Authority G.S. 104E-7(a)(2); 104E-7(a)(3); 104E-7(a)(5); 104E-
12; 104E-12(a); 104E-15; 10 C.F.R. Chapter 1, Commission
Notices, Policy Statements, Agreement States, 46 F.R 7540.

10A NCAC 15 .1653 RADIOLOGICAL
REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE TERMINATION

Authority G.S. 104E-7(a)(2); 104E-10(b).

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission
intends to amend the rules cited as 12 NCAC 09B .0101, .0209,
.0403, .0501, .0502; 09C .0306; 09F .0103-.0105; 09G .0405 and
.0406.
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Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-
justice/forms-and-publications/

Proposed Effective Date: October 1, 2023

Public Hearing:

Date: August 9, 2023

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: Wake Technical Community College, Public Safety
Training Center, 321 Chapanoke Road, Raleigh, NC 27603

Reason for Proposed Action: To update -certification
requirements for School Directors, CCH Instructors and Law
Enforcement Officers, to update course requirements for the
Instructor Training course and CCH Course.

Comments may be submitted to: Michelle Schilling, NC
Department of Justice, Criminal Justice Standards Division, PO
Drawer 149, Raleigh, NC 27602-0149; email
MSchilling@ncdoj.gov

Comment period ends: August 9, 2023

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

CHAPTER 09 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND
TRAINING STANDARDS

SUBCHAPTER 09B - STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL
JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT: EDUCATION: AND
TRAINING

SECTION .0100 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
CRIMINAL JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT

12 NCAC 09B .0101 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS
Every law enforcement officer who is employed in or has received
a conditional offer of employment for a certified position by an
agency in North Carolina shall:
1) be a citizen of the United States;
) be at least 20 years of age;
3 be a high school graduate, or the equivalent as
defined in 12 NCAC 09B .0106;
4 have been fingerprinted by the employing
agency in the manner provided in 12 NCAC

09B .0103;

(5) have had a medical examination as required by
12 NCAC 09B .0104;

(6) have produced a negative result on a drug
screen as described in 12 NCAC 09C .0310;

@) have been administered a psychological

screening examination in accordance with G.S.
17C-10(c). The psychological screening shall
be valid for a period of one year from the date
on which it was administered.

(8) have been interviewed as described in 12
NCAC 09B .0105;
9 have a background investigation conducted by

the employing agency, including a personal
interview as required by 12 NCAC 09B .0102;

(10) not have committed or been convicted of a
crime or crimes as specified in 12 NCAC 09B
.0111;

11) not have committed or been convicted of a
crime that requires registration under Article
27A of Chapter 14 of the General Statutes.

&5(12) for personnel who are authorized to carry a
firearm in the execution of their duties,
satisfactorily complete the employing agency's
in-service firearms training program as
prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E .0105 and .0106.
Such firearms training compliance must have
occurred prior to submission of the application
for appointment to the Commission and must be
completed using the agency approved service
handgun(s) and any other weapon(s) that the
applicant has been issued or authorized to use
by the agency; and

£2(13) be of good moral character as defined in: : Inre
Willis, 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E. 2d 771 appeal
dismissed 423 U.S. 976 (1975); State v. Harris,
216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E. 2d 854 (1940); In re Legg,
325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E. 2d 174 (1989); in re
Applicants for License, 143 N.C. 1,55 S.E. 635
(1906); In re Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124
S.E. 130 (1924); State v. Benbow, 309 N.C.
538, 308 S.E. 2d 647 (1983); and later court
decisions.

3)(14) Make the following notifications:

(@) within five business days of the
qualifying event notify the Standards
Division and the appointing agency
head in writing of all criminal offenses

37:19
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for which the officer is charged,
arrested, pleads no contest, pleads
guilty, or of which the officer is found
guilty. This shall include traffic
offenses identified in the Class B
Misdemeanor Manual and offenses of
driving under the influence (DUI) or
driving while impaired (DWI);

(b) within five business days of service,
officers shall notify the Standards
Division and the appointing agency
head of all Domestic Violence
Protective Order (G.S. 50B) and Civil
No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C) that are
issued by a judicial official against the
officer;

(c) within five business days of the date
the case was disposed of in court, the
agency head, provided he or she has
knowledge of the officer's arrests or
criminal charges and final
dispositions, shall also notify the
Standards Division of arrests or
criminal charges and final disposition;

(d) within five business days of the
issuance of all Domestic Violence
Protective Orders (G.S. 50B) and Civil
No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C), the
agency head, provided he or she has
knowledge of the order, shall also
notify the Standards Division of these
orders.

(e) The required notifications in this Rule
shall be in writing and shall specify the
nature of the offense or order, the court
in which the case was handled, the
date of the arrest, criminal charge, or
service of the order, and the final

SECTION .0200 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
CRIMINAL JUSTICE SCHOOLS AND CRIMINAL
JUSTICE TRAINING PROGRAMS OR COURSES OF
INSTRUCTION

12 NCAC 09B .0209 CRIMINAL JUSTICE
INSTRUCTOR TRAINING

(a) The Instructor Training course required for General Instructor
certification shall consist of a minimum of 40 hours of classroom
instruction, plus the time required to conduct practical exercises,
student presentations, and post testing presented during a period
of no more than 15 business days. If the Governor declares a State
of Emergency pursuant to G.S. 166A-19.3(19), the Director of the
Criminal Justice Standards Division shall allow additional breaks
in a specific course delivery when the Director determines that
doing so is necessary based on consideration of the following
factors:

1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or
whether course initiation may be postponed;

2) The risk of harm to students that may be caused
by continuation of the course;

©) Whether those enrolled in the course have been

or will likely be called on action to help address
the State of Emergency;
4) The specific need for the waiver; and
5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing
a break in instruction.
Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted
on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-
training/criminal-justice/. The waivers granted pursuant to this
Section shall only apply to courses that began during the effective
period of the State of Emergency.
(b) Each Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide
the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the functions
of a criminal justice instructor.
(c) Each Instructor Training course shall include the following
identified topic areas and minimum instructional hours for each
area:

disposition. The notification shall @ Orientation and Pre-Test 1 2 Hour
include a certified copy of the order or 2 Instructional Systems Design (ISD) 5 3 Hours
court documentation and final 3 Law Enforcement Instructor Liabilities and
disposition from the Clerk of Court in Legal Responsibilities 2 Hours
the county of adjudication. The (@) Criminal Justice Instructional Leadership
requirements of this Item shall be 4 Hours
applicable at all times during which 5) Lesson Plan  Preparation:  Professional
the officer is employed and certified Resources 2 Hours
by the Commission and shall also (6) Lesson Plan Development and Formatting
apply to all applicants for certification. 3 Hours
Receipt by the Standards Division of a @) Adult Learning 2 Hours
single notification, from the officer or (8) Instructional Styles and Platform Skills
the agency head, shall be sufficient 5 Hours
notice for compliance with this Item. 9 Classroom Management 3 Hours
4)(15) The requirements of this Rule shall apply to all (10) Active Learning: Demonstration and Practical
applicants for certification and shall also apply Exercises 3 Hours
at all times during which the law enforcement (11) The Evaluation Process of Learning
officer is certified by the Commission. 4 3 Hours
(12) Audio Visual Aids 5 Hours
Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. (13) Course Closing and Post-test 1 Hour
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(14)

Completion of tasks associated with practical
exercises, student presentations, and post
testing; the number of hours required to
complete this portion of the curriculum shall be
based on the number of enrolled students,
available facilities, and number of instructors.

(d) The most current version of the "Instructor Training" manual

published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be the
curriculum for instructor training courses. Copies of this
publication may be inspected at the agency:

Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice

1700 Tryon Park Drive
Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602

and may be purchased at the cost of printing and postage from

the Academy at the following address:

North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Drawer 99

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

SECTION .0400 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR

12 NCAC 09B .0403

WAIVER

COMPLETION OF TRAINING

EVALUATION FOR TRAINING

(@ The Standards Division staff shall evaluate each law
enforcement officer's training and experience to determine if
equivalent training has been completed as specified in Rule
.0402(a) of this Section. Applicants for certification with prior law
enforcement experience shall have been employed in a full-time,
sworn law enforcement position in order to be considered for
training evaluation under this Rule. Applicants for certification
with a combination of full-time and part-time experience shall be
evaluated on the basis of the full-time experience only. The
following criteria shall be used by Standards Division staff in
evaluating a law enforcement officer's training and experience to
determine eligibility for a waiver of training requirements:

(1)

Persons having completed a Commission-
accredited basic training program and not
having been duly appointed and sworn as a law
enforcement officer within one year of
completion of the program shall complete a
subsequent  Commission-accredited  basic
training program, as prescribed in Rule .0405(a)
of this Section, and shall achieve a passing
score on the State Comprehensive Examination
prior to obtaining probationary law
enforcement certification, unless the Director
determines that a delay in applying for
certification was not due to neglect on the part
of the applicant, in which case the Director shall
accept a Commission-accredited basic training
program that is over one year old. The
appointing agency shall request in writing the
extension of the one year period, which shall
not exceed 30 days from the first year

@

©)

(4)

anniversary of the passing of the State
Comprehensive Examination;

Out-of-state transferees shall be evaluated to
determine the amount and quality of their
training and  experience.  Out-of-state
transferees shall not have a break in service
exceeding three years. At a minimum,
out-of-state transferees shall have two years'
full-time, sworn law enforcement experience
and have completed a basic law enforcement
training course accredited by the transferring
state. An individual's attendance at his or her
basic law enforcement class shall not count
towards the two years' full-time sworn law
enforcement experience. Prior to employment
as a certified law enforcement officer,
out-of-state transferees shall complete with a
passing score the employing agency's in-service
firearms training and qualification program as
prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E .0106. In addition,
out-of-state transferees shall complete the
Legal Unit in a Commission-accredited Basic
Law Enforcement Training Course as
prescribed in Rule .0205(b)(1) of this
Subchapter and shall achieve a passing score on
the State Comprehensive Examination within
the 12 month probationary period;

Persons who have completed a 369-hour basic
law enforcement training program accredited
by the Commission under guidelines
administered beginning October 1, 1984, have
been separated from a sworn position for over
one year but less than three years, and who have
had a minimum of two years' experience as a
full-time, sworn law enforcement officer in
North Carolina shall complete the Legal Unitin
a  Commission-accredited  Basic  Law
Enforcement Training Course as prescribed in
Rule .0205(b)(1) of this Subchapter and shall
achieve a passing score on the State
Comprehensive Examination within the 12
month  probationary  period.  Prior to
employment as a certified law enforcement
officer, these persons shall complete with a
passing score the employing agency's in-service
firearms training and qualification program as
prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E;

Persons who have completed a 396-hour basic
law enforcement training program accredited
by the Commission under guidelines
administered beginning October 1, 1984, have
been separated from a sworn position more than
one year but less than five years and who have
a minimum of two years' experience as a full-
time, sworn law enforcement officer in North
Carolina, who have not been convicted of a
disqualifying criminal offense as listed in Rule
.0111(1) of this Subchapter, and who have
successfully completed the mandatory in-

37:19
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service training requirements pursuant to 12

NCAC 09E .0105 or 12 NCAC 10B .2005, with

the exception of Firearms Training and

Requalification, during each year the person

was separated from a sworn position prior to

employment as a certified law enforcement
officer shall complete the topic areas within the
following time frames:

(A) Prior to employment as a certified law
enforcement officer, the person shall
complete the appointing agency's in-
service  firearms  training and
qualification program as prescribed in
12 NCAC 09E;

(B) Prior to employment as a certified law
enforcement officer, the person shall
achieve a passing score on the
practical skills testing for the First
Responder, Law Enforcement Driver
Training, and Subject Control Arrest
Techniques topics set forth in Rule
.0205(b)(5) of this Subchapter. The
person shall also  successfully
complete the Police Officer Physical
Abilities Test. The practical skills
testing and the Police Officer Physical
Abilities Test may be completed either
in a Commission-accredited Basic
Law Enforcement Training course or
under the instruction of a
Commission-certified instructor for
that particular skill. The person shall
also meet the requirements per Rule
.0101 of this Subchapter; and

© Within 12 months of being issued
probationary certification, the person
shall complete the remaining topics in
the legal unit of instruction in the
Basic Law Enforcement Training
course as set forth in Rule .0205(b)(1)
of this Subchapter. The person shall
achieve a passing score on the
appropriate topic tests for each course.
The person may undertake each of
these legal unit topics of instruction
either in a Commission-accredited
Basic Law Enforcement Training
course or under the instruction of a
Commission-certified instructor for
that particular topic of instruction.

An individual's attendance at his or her basic

law enforcement class shall not count towards

the two years' full-time sworn law enforcement
experience. Persons who meet the criteria of
this Part shall be processed as a probationary
certification and shall serve a one-year
probationary period as defined in 12 NCAC
09C .0303;

®)

(6)

Y]

®)

©)

(10)

Persons out of the law enforcement profession
for over one year but less than three years who
have had less than two years' experience as a
full-time, sworn law enforcement officer in
North Carolina shall complete a Commission-
accredited basic training program, as prescribed
in Rule .0405(a) of this Section, and achieve a
passing score on the State Comprehensive
Examination;

Persons out of the law enforcement profession
for over three years who do not meet the criteria
of Subparagraph (4) of this Paragraph shall
complete a Commission-accredited basic
training program, as prescribed in Rule .0405(a)
of this Section, regardless of prior training or
experience, and shall achieve a passing score on
the State Comprehensive Examination;

Persons who separated from law enforcement
employment during their probationary period
after having completed a Commission-
accredited basic training program and who have
separated from a sworn law enforcement
position for more than one year shall complete
a subsequent Commission-accredited basic
training program and shall achieve a passing
score on the State  Comprehensive
Examination;

Persons who separated from a sworn law
enforcement position during their probationary
period after having completed a Commission-
accredited basic training program and who have
separated from a sworn law enforcement
position for less than one year shall serve a new
12 month probationary period as prescribed in
Rule .0401(a) of this Section, but shall not be
required to complete an additional training
program;

Persons who have completed a minimum
160-hour basic law enforcement training
program accredited by the North Carolina
Criminal Justice Training and Standards
Council under guidelines administered
beginning on July 1, 1973, and continuing
through September 30, 1978, and who have
separated from a sworn law enforcement
position for over one year but less than two
years shall complete the Legal Unit and the
topical area entitled "Law Enforcement Driver
Training" of a Commission-accredited Basic
Law Enforcement Training Course as
prescribed in  Rule .0205(b)(1) and
.0205(b)(5)(C) of this Subchapter and shall
achieve a passing score on the State
Comprehensive Examination within the 12
month probationary period,;

Persons who have completed a minimum
160-hour basic law enforcement training
program accredited by the North Carolina
Criminal Justice Training and Standards
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(11)

(12)

(13)

Council  under guidelines administered
beginning on July 1, 1973, and continuing
through September 30, 1978, and have been
separated from a sworn law enforcement
position for two or more years shall complete a
Commission-accredited basic training program,
as prescribed in Rule .0405 of this Section,
regardless of training and experience, and shall
achieve a passing score on the State
Comprehensive Examination;

Persons who have completed a minimum
240-hour basic law enforcement training
program accredited by the Commission under
guidelines administered beginning October 1,
1978, and continuing through September 30,
1984, and have been separated from a sworn
position over one year but less than three years
shall complete the Legal Unit in a Commission-
accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training
Course as prescribed in Rule .0205(b)(1) of this
Subchapter and shall achieve a passing score on
the State Comprehensive Examination within
the 12 month probationary period;

Persons previously holding law enforcement
certification in accordance with G.S. 17C-10(a)
who have been separated from a sworn law
enforcement position for over one year and who
have not previously completed a minimum
basic training program accredited by either the
North Carolina Criminal Justice Training and
Standards Council or the Commission shall
complete a Commission-accredited basic
training program, as prescribed in Rule .0405 of
this Section, and shall achieve a passing score
on the State Comprehensive Examination prior
to employment;

Individuals seeking certification with the
Commission who have been appointed as a
Criminal Investigator, as defined in 5 U.S.C.
5541(3) and the Office of Personnel
Management GS-1811 series in the General

Schedule classification system, Special-Agents
: toral ‘ iation:

Marshals; who have not had a break in service
exceeding three years, shall be evaluated to
determine the amount and quality of their
training and experience. At a minimum, federal
law enforcement officers shall have two years'
full-time, sworn law enforcement experience
and have completed a basic law enforcement
training course as required by their appointing
federal agency. Prior to employment as a
certified law enforcement officer, these
individuals shall complete with a passing score
the employing agency's in-service firearms

(14)

(15)

(16)

training and qualification program as
prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E .0106. These
individuals shall complete the Basic Law
Enforcement Training topics pursuant to 12
NCAC 09B .0205(b)(1)(A), (b)(1)(C),
(D)D),  O)D)(F).,  ©))(A), (b)2)(C),
M@E), BA)EF), ®E®D). (bB)E)B),
(M)E)D),  (B)AE), B)B)A), (b)6)(A),
(b)(6)(B), (b)(6)(C), and shall achieve a passing
score on the State Comprehensive Examination
pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0406 within the 12
month probationary period. Individuals who
submit to the Commission documentation of
completion of training equivalent to the topics
set forth in 12 NCAC 09B .0205(b)(2)(A),
d@(C), ®EP)E), ®))(F), ((b))D),
(d)E)B), b)ER)D), (B)A(E), (()B)A),
(b)(6)(A), (b)(6)(B), and (b)(6)(C) shall not be
required to complete those topics;

Federal law enforcement transferees other than
those listed in Paragraph (13) of this Rule who
have not had a break in service exceeding three
years shall be evaluated to determine the
amount and quality of their training and
experience. At a minimum, federal law
enforcement officers shall have two years' full-
time, sworn law enforcement experience and
have completed a basic law enforcement
training course as required by their appointing
federal agency. Prior to employment as a
certified law enforcement officer, transferees
shall complete with a passing score the
employing agency's in-service firearms training
and qualification program as prescribed in 12
NCAC 09E .0106. At a minimum, transferees
shall complete the Legal Unitin a Commission-
accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training
Course as prescribed in Rule .0205(b)(1) of this
Subchapter and shall achieve a passing score on
the State Comprehensive Examination within
12 month probationary period,;

Applicants with part-time experience who have
a break in service in excess of one year shall
complete a Commission-accredited basic
training program, as prescribed in Rule .0405 of
this Section, and shall achieve a passing score
on the State Comprehensive Examination prior
to employment;

Applicants who hold or previously held
certification issued by the North Carolina
Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards
Commission (Sheriffs' Commission) shall be
subject to evaluation based on the applicant's
active or inactive certification status with the
Sheriffs' Commission. A deputy sheriff
certified with the Sheriffs' Commission shall be
considered active if he or she has performed any
law enforcement function during the previous
12 months. A deputy sheriff certified with the

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

APRIL 3, 2023

1932



PROPOSED RULES

Sheriffs' Commission shall be considered

inactive if he or she has not performed a law

enforcement function during the previous 12

months.

(A) The Standards Division shall issue
certification to an applicant holding
active general certification with the
Sheriffs' Commission provided that
the applicant:

M Does not have a break in
service of greater than 12
months;

(i) Has completed the
mandatory in-service
training requirements
pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B
2005 for each  year
certification was held; and

(iii) Held active status with the
Sheriffs' Commission within
12 months of the date the
applicant achieved a passing
score on the Basic Law
Enforcement Training State
Comprehensive
Examination.

(B) The Standards Division shall issue
certification to an applicant holding
inactive certification with the Sheriffs'
Commission  provided that the
applicant:

0] Holds inactive probationary
or general certification with
the Sheriffs' Commission;

(i) Has served a minimum of 24
months of full time sworn
service or does not have a
break in service of greater
than 12 months;

(iii) Has completed the
mandatory in-service
training requirements

pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B
.2005, with the exception of
Firearms  Training  and
lification, > |
year—certification—was—held;
Requalification; and
(iv) Held active status with the
Sheriffs' Commission within
12 months of the date the
applicant achieved a passing
score on the Basic Law
Enforcement Training State
Comprehensive
Examination.
(© An applicant awarded certification
with the Sheriffs' Commission by
means of the Sheriffs' Standards

a7

(18)

(19)

BLET Challenge as prescribed in 12

NCAC 10B .0505(6)(b) shall meet the

following requirements in order to

obtain probationary certification from
the Commission:

(i) Have a minimum of 24
months of sworn, full-time
law enforcement service;

(i) Not have a break in service of
greater than 12 months; and

(iii) Have completed all
mandatory in-service
requirements pursuant to 12
NCAC 10B .0505 during the
previous two years.

(D) An applicant who is a criminal justice
officer, as defined in G.S. 17C-2(3),
and who is elected Sheriff shall be
reinstated by the Commission upon
the conclusion of the period of service
as Sheriff and in conformance with 12
NCAC 09C .0303;

Alcohol law enforcement agents who received

basic alcohol law enforcement training prior to

November 1, 1993, and transfer to another law

enforcement agency in a sworn capacity shall

be subject to evaluation of their prior training
and experience on an individual basis. The

Standards Division staff shall determine the

amount of training required of these applicants,

based upon the type of certification held by the
applicant and the length of any break in the
applicant's sworn, full-time service;

Wildlife enforcement officers who separate

from employment with the  Wildlife

Enforcement Division and transfer to another

law enforcement agency in a sworn capacity

shall be subject to evaluation of their prior
training and experience on an individual basis.

The Standards Division staff shall determine

the amount of training required of these

applicants, based upon the type of certification
held by the applicant and the length of any
break in the applicant's sworn, full-time service;

Active duty, guard, or reserve military members

failing to complete all of the required annual in-

service training topics, as defined in 12 NCAC
09E .0105 of this Chapter, due to military
obligations are subject to the following training
requirements as a condition for return to active
criminal justice status. The agency head shall
verify the person's completion of the
appropriate training by submitting a statement,
on Form F-9C, Return to Duty Request form.

This form is located on the agency's website:

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/forms-and-
publications/;
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(A)

(B)

Active duty members of the armed
forces eligible for probationary
certification ~ pursuant to  this
Paragraph and active duty, guard, or
reserve military members holding
probationary or general certification as
a criminal justice officer who fail to
complete all of the required annual in-
service training topics due to military
obligations for up to a period of three
years shall complete the previous
year's required in-service training
topics, the current year's required in-
service training topics, and complete
with a passing score the appointing
agency's in-service firearms training
and qualification  program  as
prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E prior to
their return to active criminal justice
status;
Active duty, guard, or reserve military
members holding probationary or
general certification as a criminal
justice officer who fail to complete all
of the required annual in-service
training topics due to military
obligations for a period greater than
three years shall complete the
following topic areas within the
following time frames:

(i) The person shall complete
the previous year's required
in-service training topics, the
current year's required in-
service training topics, and
complete the appointing
agency's in-service firearms
training and qualification
program as prescribed in 12
NCAC 09E prior to their
return to active criminal
justice status;

(i) The person shall achieve a
passing score on the practical
skills testing for the First
Responder, Law
Enforcement Driver
Training, and Subject
Control Arrest Techniques
topics enumerated in Rule
.0205(b)(5) of this
Subchapter prior to returning
to active criminal justice
status. This practical skills
testing may be completed
either in a Commission-
accredited Basic Law
Enforcement Training course
or under the instruction of a

(20)

Commission-certified
instructor for that particular
skill.  The person shall
complete one physical fitness
assessment in lieu of the
Fitness  Assessment and
Testing topic. The person
shall also be examined by a
physician per Rule .0104(b)
of this Subchapter; and
(iii) The person shall complete
some of the topics in the legal
unit of instruction in the
Basic Law Enforcement
Training course as set forth in
Rule .0205(b)(1) of this
Subchapter. The required
topics include Motor Vehicle
Law; Juvenile Laws and
Procedures; Arrest, Search
and  Seizure/Constitutional
Law; and ABC Laws and
Procedures. The person shall
achieve a passing score on
the appropriate topic tests for
each course. The person may
undertake each of these legal
unit topics of instruction
either in a Commission-
accredited Basic Law
Enforcement Training course
or under the instruction of a
Commission-certified
instructor for that particular
topic of instruction. The
person shall complete each of
the enumerated topics of
instruction within 12 months
from the beginning of his or
her return to active criminal
justice status; and
An active duty member of the armed forces who
completes the basic training course in its
entirety as prescribed in Rule .0405 of this
Subchapter, annually completes the mandatory
in-service training topics as prescribed in 12
NCAC 09E .0105, with the exception of the
Firearms and Qualification testing
requirements contained in 12 NCAC 09E
.0105(a)(3) for each year subsequent to the
completion of the basic training course, and
achieves a passing score on the State
Comprehensive Examination as prescribed in
Rule .0406 of this Subchapter within five years
of separating from active duty status shall be
eligible for probationary certification as
prescribed in 12 NCAC 09C .0303 for a period
of 12 months from the date he or she separates
from active duty status in the armed forces. All
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mandatory in-service training topics as
prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E .0105 shall be
completed by the individual prior to receiving
probationary certification.
(b) In the event the applicant's prior training is not equivalent to
the Commission's standards, the Commission shall prescribe as a
condition of certification supplementary or remedial training to
equate previous training with current standards.
(c) If certifications issued by the Commission require satisfactory
performance on a written examination as part of the training, the
Commission shall require the examinations for the certification.
(d) If an evaluation of the applicant's prior training and
experience determines that required attendance in the entire Basic
Law Enforcement Training Course is unnecessary, the Director of
the Standards Division shall determine the amount of training the
individual shall complete during his or her probationary period.
(e) The following criteria shall be used by Standards Division
staff in evaluating prior training and experience of local
confinement personnel to determine eligibility for a waiver of
training requirements:

@ Persons who hold probationary, general, or
grandfather certification as local confinement
personnel and separate after having completed
a Commission-accredited course as prescribed
in Rule .0224 or .0225 of this Subchapter and
have been separated for one year or more shall
complete a subsequent Commission-accredited
training course and achieve a passing score on
the State Comprehensive Examination during
the probationary period as prescribed in Rule
.0401(a) of this Section;

)] Persons who separated from a local
confinement personnel position after having
completed a Commission-accredited course as
prescribed in Rule .0224 or .0225 of this
Subchapter and who have been separated for
less than one year shall serve a new 12 month
probationary period, but shall be required to
complete an additional training program;

3) Applicants who hold or previously held
"Detention Officer Certification" issued by the
North  Carolina  Sheriffs' Education and
Training Standards Commission shall be
subject to evaluation of their prior training and
experience on an individual basis. No
additional training shall be required where the
applicant obtained certification and
successfully completed the required 120 hour
training course and has not had a break in
service in excess of one year; and

4) Persons holding certification for local
confinement facilities who transfer to a district
or county confinement facility shall complete
the course for district and county confinement
facility personnel, as adopted by reference in
Rule .0224 of this Subchapter, and achieve a
passing score on the State Comprehensive
Examination during the probationary period as
prescribed in Rule .0401(a) of this Section.

Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6; 17C-10; 93B-15.1.

SECTION .0500 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
CRIMINAL JUSTICE SCHOOL DIRECTORS

12 NCAC 09B .0501
DIRECTORS

(a) Any person designated to act as, or who performs the duties
of, a School Director in the delivery or presentation of a
Commission-certified criminal justice training course shall be and
continuously remain certified by the Commission as a school
director.

(b) To qualify for initial certification as a School Director, an
applicant shall:

1) - .
Ationd -and-complete a-Commission-ceriified
HStFUCtor—{aining —course —oF —an—oquivalent

st ;HGEQI traini Eg_ﬁpleg_ﬁa_ II asF de}tel “I,I ;e;d; b?_

Hold current General Instructor certification as

issued by the North Carolina Criminal Justice

Education and Training Standards

Commission;

2 Present documentary evidence showing that the
applicant:

(A) is a high school, college, or university
graduate or has received a high school
equivalency credential as awarded
from  colleges  or  universities
accredited by the Department of
Education of the state in which the
institution _is located, from an
accredited body recognized by either
the U.S. Department of Education or
the Council for Higher Education
Accreditation, or from the state
university of the state in which the

institution is located recognized-by-the

issuing—state and has acquired five
years of practical experience as a

criminal justice officer or as an
administrator or specialist in a field
directly related to the criminal justice
system. At least one year of the
required five years experience must
have been while actively participating
in criminal justice training as a
Commission-certified instructor; or

(B) has been awarded an associate degree
and has acquired four years of
practical experience as a criminal
justice officer or as an administrator or
specialist in a field directly related to
the criminal justice system. At least
one year of the required four years
experience must have been while
directly participating in criminal
justice training as a Commission-
certified instructor; or

CERTIFICATION OF SCHOOL
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© has been awarded a baccalaureate
degree from a regionally accredited
institution of higher learning;

3) Attend or must have attended the most current
offering of the School Director's orientation as
developed and presented by the Commission
staff, otherwise an individual orientation with a
staff member shall be required; and

4) Submit a written request for the issuance of
such certification executed by the executive
officer of the institution or agency currently
certified, or which may be seeking certification,
by the Commission to make presentation of
certified training programs and for whom the
applicant will be the designated School
Director.

(c) To qualify for certification as a School Director in the
presentation of the Criminal Justice Instructor Training Course,
an applicant shall:

(1) Document that he or she has been awarded a
baccalaureate degree from colleges or
universities accredited by the Department of
Education of the state in which the institution is
located, from an accredited body recognized by
either the U.S. Department of Education or the
Council for Higher Education Accreditation, or

QD Participate in annual training conducted by
commission staff;
2 Maintain and comply with the current version

of the "Basic Law Enforcement Training
Course Management Guide";
3 Maintain and ensure compliance with the
current version of the "Basic Law Enforcement
Training Instructor Notebook™ assigned to each
certified school; and
4 Perform the duties and responsibilities of a
School Director as specifically required in Rule
.0202 of this Subchapter.
(c) To retain certification as a Speed Measuring Instrument,
Instructor Training, er Specialized Instructor Training, Fraining
School— Director;  Juvenile  Justice, or  Diversion
Investigator/Supervisor Training School Director, the school
director shall:

1) Participate in annual training conducted by
commission staff;
2) Maintain and ensure compliance with the

current version of the specific speed measuring
instrument or Instructor Training notebook
assigned to each certified school; and
©) Perform the duties and responsibilities of a
School Director as specifically required in Rule
.0202 of this Subchapter.
(d) _The Director may grant a waiver of attendance at the annual

from the state university of the state in which
the institution is located; aregionally-accredited
TR ¢ higher | ing:

Be currently certified as a eriminaljustice

832
General Instructor  instructor by  the
Commission; and

4)(3) Document completion of a-special-program the

Instructor Training Orientation presented by the
North Carolina Justice Academy on delivery of
the instructor training course and trainee
evaluation.

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

12 NCAC 09B .0502 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF
SCHOOL DIRECTOR CERTIFICATION

(@ The term of certification as a School Director is two years
from the date the Commission issues the certification, unless
earlier terminated by action of the Commission. Upon application,
the certification may subsequently be renewed by the
Commission for three-year periods. The application for renewal
shall contain documentation meeting the requirements of Rule
.0501(b)(2) and (3) of this Section.

(b) To retain certification as a Basic Law Enforcement Training
School Director, the School Director shall:

training for just cause. For purposes of this Rule, just cause means
accident, illness, emergency, or other exceptional circumstances,
which precluded the School Director from attending the
scheduled annual training. School Directors who receive a waiver
of attendance shall be required to complete a make up training
session prior to the end of the calendar year in which the training
requirement applies.

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

SUBCHAPTER 09C - ADMINISTRATION OF CRIMINAL
JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS

SECTION .0300 - CERTIFICATION OF CRIMINAL
JUSTICE OFFICERS

12 NCAC 09C .0306 LATERAL TRANSFER OF LAW
ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS

(@) A law enforcement officer with general certification from
either the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards
Commission or the Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards
Commission may transfer from one law enforcement agency to
another law enforcement agency with less than a 12 month break
in law enforcement service. Prior to employing the officer, the
employing agency shall:

1) verify the certification of the officer with the
Criminal Justice Standards Division or the
Sheriffs' Standards Division;

2 submit a new fingerprint check to the North
Carolina State Bureau of Investigation, in
compliance with the requirements set forth in
12 NCAC 09B .0103(a) and (b), in the same
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manner as prescribed for non-certified new
applicants. No certification shall be transferred
if the holder has been convicted since initial
certification of any offense for which
revocation or suspension of certification is

authorized;

3) advise the officer that he will be serving under
a probationary appointment with the agency for
one year; and

4) notify the Commission by submitting a Report
of Appointment that the officer is being
employed and stating the date on which
employment will eemmenee. commence; and

(5) complete a background investigation on all
applicants for certification, as set forth in 12
NCAC 09B .0102.

(b) Prior to transfer of certification, the law enforcement officer
shall:

(1) complete a Medical History Statement Form
within one year prior to the transfer to the
employing agency;

)] submit to examination by a surgeon, physician,
physician assistant, or nurse practitioner
licensed to practice medicine in North Carolina
in the same manner prescribed for non-certified
new applicants in 12 NCAC 09B .0104 within
one year prior to the transfer to the employing
agency;

3) submit results of the physical examination to
the employing agency for placement in the
officer's permanent personnel file;

(@) produce a negative result on a drug screen
administered according to the specifications
outlined in 12 NCAC 09B :6101(5); .0101(6);

the Standards Division the requirements of Subparagraphs of
(b)(2), (b)(2), (b)(3), (b)(4), and (b)(5) of this Rule. The Report of
Appointment Form is located on the agency's website:
http://www.ncdoj.gov/getdoc/64d263a3-a598-4c45-9541-
04ef088cf288/F-5A-(DJIDP)--6-11.aspx.

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10.

SUBCHAPTER 09F - CONCEALED HANDGUN
TRAINING

SECTION .0100 - CONCEALED HANDGUN TRAINING
PROGRAM

12 NCAC 09F .0103 APPROVAL OF COURSES
(a) An approved course is one that:

@ meets or exceeds the criteria as specified in
Rule .0102 of this Section;

2 is certified or sponsored by one of the agencies
listed in G.S. 14-415.12(a)(4)(a), (b), and (c);
and

©) is approved by the Commission.

(b) The Commission shall review and ensure that submitted
courses meet or exceed the general guidelines as specified in Rule
.0102 of this Section.

(c) Courses submitted for review shall be submitted by the
instructor who is to deliver the instruction by mailing the course
to the Commission.

(d) Any modification of an approved course shall be submitted
for approval and approved prior to the delivery of any such
modified course and shall be submitted by the instructor who is to
deliver the instruction by mailing the course to the Commission.
(e) All courses are to be taught in person. Virtually delivered
courses are not approved by the Commission.

and
(5) either:

(A) submit a copy of the Commission's
annual in-service training report form
to the employing agency for
placement in the officer's permanent
personnel file when the duty and off
duty weapons remain the same as
those previously used to qualify. Such
in-service training compliance shall
have occurred within the 12 month
period preceding transfer; or

(B) satisfactorily complete the employing
agency's in-service firearms training
program as prescribed in 12 NCAC
09E .0105 and .0106.

(c) Officers previously certified who were not previously
required to meet the educational or basic training requirements
shall not be required to meet such requirements when laterally
transferring to another agency with less than a 12-month break in
law enforcement service.

(d) For currently certified full time officers with no break in
service, upon written request from the department head of the
hiring agency, the Division shall waive for a period of no more
than 60-days from the receipt of the Report of Appointment by

Authority G.S. 14-415.12.

12 NCAC 09F .0104
QUALIFICATIONS
(@) To be approved to deliver the" Concealed Carry Handgun
Training" course, instructors shall:

INSTRUCTOR

1) hold one of the following certifications:
@ “Specific  "Specialized Instructor

Certification-Firearms" issued by the
Criminal Justice Education and
Training  Standards  Commission
(Commission);
|u_ate |et_eﬁe_ E"‘e. S;eerl HEES—Firearms
{e)}(b) "Firearms Instructor Certification" in
Personal Protection, Basic Pistol, or
Police Firearms issued by the National
Rifle Association; or
(c) "Firearms Instructor Certification —
Concealed Carry and Home Defense"
issued by the United States Concealed
Carry Association;
2 hold a certificate issued by the North Carolina
Justice Academy showing completion of the
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course "Laws Governing Concealed Handgun
and Use of Deadly Force"; and
3) be eligible to receive or possess a firearm under
Federal and North Carolina State Law.
(b) If the instructor fails to file with the Commission a concealed
carry handgun course outline and proof of firearm's instructor
certification as specified in Paragraph (a)(1) of this Rule for two
consecutive years, he or she must repeat the course "Laws
Governing Concealed Handgun and Use of Deadly Force"
conducted by the North Carolina Justice Academy, provide to the
Commission proof of a current firearms instructor certification as
specified in Paragraph (a)(1) of this Rule, and maintain eligibility
to possess a firearm as specified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule prior
to instructing a concealed carry handgun course.

Division (Division) Director for approval. The
written request shall include the following:

(a) instructor name and identification
number;

(b) name of business;

(c) business phone number and email
address;

(d) recipient  instructor name and
identification number;

(e) recipient business name;

()] recipient business phone number,
email address; and

(9) list of the assigned certificate numbers

for participants to be transferred;

(c) The instructor shall notify the Criminal Justice Standards (6) affix the student's name to one certificate and
Division of all court orders, domestic violence orders of issue that certificate to the student who
protection, and criminal offenses for which the instructor is successfully completes the “Cencealed-Carry
charged which would prohibit the instructor from being eligible Handgun-Training" CCH course;
to receive or possess a firearm under Federal and North Carolina @) conduct the training consistent with the
State Law. The notifications required under this Paragraph must guidelines established in Rule .0102 of this
be in writing, must specify the nature of the offense, the court in Section;
which the case is being handled, the date of arrest, court order, (8) administer a written examination, that includes
and domestic violence order of protection or criminal charge. The at a minimum questions provided by the
notification required under this Paragraph must be received by the Commission, which the student shall pass with
Criminal Justice Standards Division within 10 days of the date of a minimum score of 70 percent on the questions
the court order, domestic violence order of protection, arrest, or provided by the Commission; and
criminal charge. ©)] administer a proficiency examination that
demonstrates the student is competent in the
Authority G.S. 14-415.12. firing and safe handling of a handgun. Such
examination shall include, at a minimum, the
12 NCAC 09F .0105 INSTRUCTOR following:
RESPONSIBILITIES (@) The student fires 30 rounds of
In delivering the "Concealed Carry Handgun Training” (CCH) ammunition at a bulls-eye or
course the instructor shall: silhouette target from three, five, and

(D) have a wvalid Concealed Carry Handgun seven yard distances;
instructor certification issued by the Criminal (b) At each yard distance the student shall
Justice Standards—Bivision; Education and fire @ minimum ten rounds; and
Training Standards Commission (c) 21 of the 30 rounds fired by the student
(Commission); hit the target.

(2) file a copy of the proposed firearms course (d) For safety purposes, steel or metal
description, outline, and proof of instructor targets will not be used at distances
certification along with a written request to less than 10 yards from the target.
conduct the “Cencealed—Carry—Handgun (10) Not fewer than 30 days before commencing
Fraining” CCH course for approval by the delivery of the course, submit to the
Commission prior to delivery of any instruction Commission a Pre-Delivery Report of Training
required by G.S. 14-415.12; Course Presentation [Form F-10A (CCH)] with

3 file a copy of all modifications; the following information:

(@) be issued by Commission staff a quantity of (@ Instructor(s) name(s);
certificates as requested by the instructor for (b) Type of course (NCJA model, NRA,
course participants that shall bear the or USCCA as approved by the
instructor's name, the instructor's assigned Commission);
number, be sequentially numbered, and bear the (©) Date and location of course;
raised seal of the Commission; (d) Hours of course (minimum of 8

(5) if a Concealed Carry Handgun Instructor hours);
relinquishes his or her certification and wants to (11) Not more than 10 days after course completion,
transfer his or her assigned participants' submit to the Commission a Post-Delivery
certificates to another Concealed Carry Report [Form F-10B(CCH)] containing the
Handgun instructor, a written request shall be following information:
submitted to the Criminal Justice Standards
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(a) Instructor(s) name(s), if changes were
made;
(b) Actual number of attendees;

(12) Maintain a roster of all students completing
each CCH course in compliance with the North
Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural
Resources Retention and Disposition Schedule
established to G.S. 121-4 and G.S. 132-8.1.
This roster must include, at a minimum, each
student's legal name and contact information.
The instructor must be able to produce the
student list for inspection by Division staff for
audit purposes.

a3) Provide each student with a current copy of the
"Concealed Carry Handgun Training" (Red
book) manual as published by the North
Carolina Justice Academy. The contents of this
manual must be included in the curriculum for
the CCH course. Copies of this publication may
be inspected at the agency:

Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tryon Park Drive
Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
and may be purchased at the cost of printing and

2 present documentary evidence showing that the
applicant:

(A)

is a high school, college or university
graduate or has received a high school
equivalency credential as awarded
from  colleges or universities
accredited by the Department of
Education of the state in which the
institution is located, or from an
accredited body recognized by either
the U.S. Department of Education or
the Council for Higher Education
Accreditation recognized—by—the
St gﬁstate.a Id as aeq'uueel Hve
issuing—state and has acquired five
years of practical experience as a
criminal justice officer, corrections
officer, or as an administrator or
specialist in a field directly related to
the corrections system. At least one
year of the required five years
experience must have been while
actively participating in corrections
training as a Commission-certified
instructor;

postage from the Academy at the following (B) has been awarded an associate degree

address: from  colleges or  universities

North Carolina Justice Academy accredited by the Department of

Post Office Drawer 99 Education of the state in which the

Salemburg, NC 28385 institution is located, from an

accredited body recognized by either

Authority G.S. 14-415.12; 14-415.13. the U.S. Department of Education or

the Council for Higher Education

SUBCHAPTER 09G - STANDARDS FOR CORRECTIONS Accreditation, or from the state

EMPLOYMENT, TRAINING, AND CERTIFICATION university of the state in which the

institution is located recognized-by-the

SECTION .0400 — MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR issuing—state and has acquired four

TRAINING OF CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS, years of practical experience as a

PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICER, AND criminal justice officer, corrections

PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS-SURVEILLANCE officer, or as an administrator or

specialist in a field directly related to

12 NCAC 09G .0405 CERTIFICATION OF SCHOOL the corrections system. At least one

DIRECTORS year of the required four years

(&) Any person designated to act as, or who performs the duties experience must have been while

of, a School Director in the delivery or presentation of a directly participating in corrections

Commission-certified corrections training course shall be and training as a Commission-certified
continuously remain certified by the Commission as a School instructor; or

Director. © has been awarded a baccalaureate

(b) To qualify for initial certification as a corrections School degree from colleges or universities

Director, an applicant shall: accredited by the Department of

1) Attend—and——successfully—complete—a Education of the state in which the

Commission-certified-instructor-training-course institution is located, from an

or-an-eguivalentinstructor-training-program-as accredited body recognized by either

determined—by—the—Commission—{H—certified the U.S. Department of Education or

afterJanuary—1.-2006); Hold current General the Council for Higher Education

Instructor Certification as issued by the North Accreditation, or from the state

Carolina_Criminal Justice Education and university of the state in which the

Training Standards Commission; institution is located; recognized—by
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3) attend or have attended the most current
offering of the School Director's orientation as
developed and presented by the Commission
staff, otherwise an individual orientation with a
staff member shall be required; and

4) submit a completed Form F-10(SD), Request
for School Director Certification to the
Commission for the issuance of such
certification. This request shall be executed by
the executive officer of the Office of Staff
Development and Training of the North
Carolina Department of Public-Safety, Bivision
of Adult Correction and-JuvenileJustice. The
Form F-10(SD) is located on the agency's
website: http://ncdoj.gov/getdoc/f23e5e4d-
d56d-4aba-afle-44712690d5d5/F-10(SD)-6-
11.aspx.

(c) To qualify for certification as a School Director in the
presentation of the "Criminal Justice Instructor Training Course"
an applicant shall:

@ document that he or she has been awarded a
baccalaureate degree from colleges or
universities accredited by the Department of
Education of the state in which the institution is
located, from an accredited body recognized by
either the U.S. Department of Education or the
Council for Higher Education Accreditation, or
from the state university of the state in which
the institution is located; aregionaly-accredited

(2) present——evidence—showing—sueeessful
cor pletior _e_l a—Gommissio ce tifed
ASHUGIOF —raining—course —oF—an equ_lualent
the—Commission; Hold
Instructor certification; and
b. e—surrently Iee f'"eg a5 a;eu I“ ab—justice

4)(3) document suecessful-participation-in-a-special
program successful completion of Instructor
Training Orientation presented by the North
Carolina Justice Academy for purposes of
familiarization and supplementation relevant to
delivery of the instructor training course and
trainee evaluation.

current  General

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

12 NCAC 09G .0406 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF
SCHOOL DIRECTOR CERTIFICATION

(@ The term of certification as a School Director is two years
from the date the Commission issues the certification, unless
earlier terminated by action of the Commission. Upon application
the certification may subsequently be renewed by the
Commission for two-year periods. The application for renewal

shall contain documentation meeting the requirements of 12
NCAC 09G .0405(b)(2) and (b)(3).

(b) To retain certification as a School Director, the School
Director shall perform the duties and responsibilities of a School
Director as specifically required in 12 NCAC 09G .0408.

(c) To retain certification, School Directors must participate in
annual training conducted by commission staff. The Director may
grant a waiver of attendance at the annual training for just cause.
For purposes of this Rule, just cause means accidents, illness,
emergency, or other exceptional circumstances which precluded
the School Director from attending the scheduled annual training.
School Directors who receive a waiver of attendance shall be
required to complete a make up training session prior to the end
of the calendar year in which the training requirement applies.

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Private Protective Services Board intends to amend the rules cited
as 14B NCAC 16 .0205 and .1101.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://www.ncdps.gov/about-dps/boards-commissions/private-
protective-services-board

Proposed Effective Date: August 1, 2023

Public Hearing:

Date: April 18, 2023

Time: 2:00 p.m.

Location: 3101 Industrial Dr., Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609

Reason for Proposed Action: A corporation ceases to exist
(except for "winding up") immediately upon dissolution or
suspension of its corporate status. During a recent complaint
investigation the Board discovered it had no rule governing a
corporate licensee in such instances therefore the "company
business license" rule is being amended. During the discussions
regarding the new Digital Forensics Examiner license the Board
made the decision that the Associate should maintain the trainee
log and not the Associate's supervisor. A corresponding change
is being made for the Private Investigator Associates.

(Note: A Notice of Text for these rule amendments was published
in 37:15 NCR 1034, however the agency failed to post them on its
website. They are being re-noticed.)

Comments may be submitted to: Paul Sherwin, 3101 Industrial
Dr., Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (919) 788-5320; fax
(919) 715-0370; email paul.sherwin@ncdps.gov

Comment period ends: June 2, 2023
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
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Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(bh2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

CHAPTER 16 - PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES
BOARD

SECTION .0200 - LICENSES: TRAINEE PERMITS

14B NCAC 16 .0205 COMPANY BUSINESS LICENSE
(@ Any firm, association, or corporation required to be licensed
pursuant to G.S. 74C-2(a) shall upload on the Board's website an
application for a company business license on a form provided by
the Board. Only a sole proprietorship that is owned and operated
by an individual licensee shall be exempt from this Rule. This
application for license shall require such information as the firm,
association, or corporation name; the address of its principal
office within the State; any past conviction for criminal offenses
of any company director, or officer; information concerning the
past revocation, suspension, or denial of a business or professional
license to any director or officer; a list of all directors and officers
of the firm, association, or corporation; a list of all persons, firms,
associations, corporations or other entities owning 10 percent or
more of the outstanding shares of any class of stock; and the name
and address of the qualifying agent.

(b) In addition to the items required in Paragraph (a) of this Rule,
an out-of-state corporation shall file with its application for a
license, a copy of its certificate of authority to transact business in
this State issued by the North Carolina Secretary of State in
accordance with G.S. 55-15-01. The corporation shall also file a
consent to service of process and pleadings that shall be
authenticated by its corporate seal and accompanied by a duly
certified copy of the resolution of the board of directors
authorizing the proper officer or officers to execute the consent.
(c) After filing a completed application with the Board, the Board
shall conduct a background investigation to determine if the
qualifying agent is in a management position. The Board shall
also determine if the directors or officers have the requisite good
moral character as defined in G.S. 74C-8(d)(2). For purposes of
this Rule, "conviction" means and includes the entry of a plea of

guilty or no contest or a verdict rendered in open court by a judge
or jury.

(d) Upon satisfactory completion of the background
investigation, a company business license shall be issued. This
license shall be conspicuously displayed at the principle place of
business within North Carolina.

(e) The company business license shall be issued only to the
business entity and shall not be construed to extend to the
licensing of its officers and employees.

(f) The issuance of the company business license is issued to the
firm, association, or corporation in addition to the license issued
to the qualifying agent. The qualifying agent for the firm,
association, or corporation which has been issued the company
business license shall be responsible for assuring compliance with
G.S. 74C.

(g) Dissolution or administrative suspension of corporate status
shall result in suspension of the company business license by
operation of law and may result in disciplinary action for
unlicensed activity.

Authority G.S. 74C-2(a); 74C-5.

SECTION .1100 - TRAINING AND SUPERVISION FOR
PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR ASSOCIATES

14B NCAC 16 .1101 DEFINITIONS
In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 74C, the following
definitions shall apply to this Section:
1) "Private Investigator Associate” refers to an
individual training to become a Private
Investigator. A Private Investigator Associate
may also be referred to as a "trainee" in these
Rules. A Private Investigator Associate must
complete three training levels as set out in this

Section.

2 "One-on-one Supervision" means person-to-
person contact whereby the licensed
investigator is personally and directly

supervising or training the Associate. The
training investigator must be the sponsoring
licensed Private Investigator or any licensed
Private Investigator who is a member of the
sponsoring  Private  Investigator's ~ firm,
association, or corporation. The Private
Investigator Associate may not subcontract his
or her employment to another Private
Investigator. However, the sponsoring Private
Investigator may subcontract the Private
Investigator Associate if the sponsor obtains
prior written approval from the Board's
Director by showing that the Private
Investigator  Associate  will receive an
educational benefit from the subcontract
employment and the Associate will receive one-
on-one supervision from another licensed
Private Investigator. One-on-one supervision
may also be satisfied if the Associate undergoes
training from an individual or educational
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course approved by the Board's Director prior
to the Associate receiving the training.

3) "Training Checklist" refers to the document(s)
that shall state all areas of training and work
that the Associate has performed. The
supervising Private Investigator is responsible
for maintaining the training checklist and
providing a copy of the checklist to the
Associate. The Training Checklist must reflect
the date the Associate advances from one level
to another. The training checklist must be
signed by the Associate and the sponsoring
Private Investigator at the end of each reporting
period. In the event the Associate transfers
employment to another Private Investigator, the
Associate must provide the new supervising
Private Investigator with the training checklist
and the new sponsoring Private Investigator
will then be responsible for the maintenance of
the checklist. The Training Checklist must be
updated on a quarterly basis for Level One
Associates and on a yearly basis for Level Two
and Level Three Associates. The training
checklist must be maintained pursuant to Rule
.0108 of this Chapter. When an Associate
completes Level Three, the Training Checklist
must be made a part of the Associate's
application for a Private Investigator's license.
The Board shall have immediate access to the
training checklist.

4) "Associate Log" refers to the document(s)
maintained by the spensering—Private
vestigator Associate which shall list each case
the Associate has worked, the number of hours
spent on the case, and the type of work
performed. Details of the one-on-one training
must be documented within the Associate's log.

Authority G.S. 74C-2(c); 74C-5(2).

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Wildlife Resources Commission intends to amend the rules cited
as 15A NCAC 10B .0113; 10F .0102, .0104 and .0109.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://www.ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations

Proposed Effective Date: August 1, 2023

Zoom meeting. Registration required at: https://ncwildlife-
org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_C0ogNGdXSvivwd5xGjp
iJg

Reason for Proposed Action: The proposed amendments to 15A
NCAC 10B .0113 expand the recording and reporting options to
include new technology the WRC is implementing as part of its
transition to a third-party license vendor, that will allow hunters
to validate and register their big game harvests through the
WRC'’s mobile app.

Amendments to 15A NCAC 10F .0100 Rules are needed to update
vessel data collection points and certificate of number
terminology to match United States Coast Guard regulations.

Comments may be submitted to:
1701 Mail Service Center,
regulations@ncwildlife.org

Rulemaking Coordinator,
Raleigh, NC 27699; email

Comment period ends: June 2, 2023

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

OXOOX

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER
SAFETY

SUBCHAPTER 10B - HUNTING AND TRAPPING

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL REGULATIONS

15ANCAC 10B .0113  BIG GAME HARVEST REPORTS

Public Hearing: w ) o o

Date: May 16, 2023 (a) Definitions. The following definitions shall apply in this Rule:

Time: 2:30 p.m. ® "Authorization number” means the number or

Location: code issued by the Electronic—Big—Game
Reporting—Systems  Commission  upon
completion of big game harvest registration,
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which shall serve as proof of registration and
allow continued possession of the carcass.

(2) "Big Game" means bear, wild turkey, and
white-tailed deer, as defined in G.S. 113- 129.
(3) "Big Game Harvest Report Card" means the
non-transferrable  physical or electronic

reporting card supplied issued to the-hunter an
individual by the Commission as part of the
their big game license, upon which the
sucecesstul-hunter—validates—and-—records they
validate and record the authorization # umber
for a big game harvest.
4 "DMAP" means Deer Management Assistance
Program as defined in G.S. 113-291.2(e).
4)(5) "Field Dress" means the bleeding or removal of
the digestive, respiratory, and circulatory
organs.
"Validate" or "validation™ means electronically
recording a harvest or cutting or punching-out
the day and month of the harvest eccurred on
the appropriatetine—of-the Big Game Harvest
Report Card or Bonus Antlerless Deer Harvest
Report Card or by affixing a Commission-

issued DMAP tag. Deer—Management
) E , .
"Register" or "Registration" means the process
by which the big game harvest ef-big-game is
reported threugh—theElectronic—Big—Game
Reporting-System to the Commission and an
authorization number is issued- issued by the
Commission.
"Remote Area" means an area where aceessto
I | ) . .
cellular_phone signal, internet access or the
Mobile app is unavailable.
"Site of kill" or "site of harvest” means the
location that a person takes possession of
harvested big game.
"Successful hunter" means a person that has
lawfully taken and reduced to possession a big
game animal.

1) "Mobile app" means a unique Commission
application that may be downloaded to a mobile
device allowing successful hunters to validate
and register a big game harvest.

(b) Any individual hunting big game animals, including license
exempt individuals, shall have an electronic or paper version of
the Big Game Harvest Report Card, Bonus Antlerless Deer
Harvest Report Card, or DMAP tag pursuant to G.S. 113-291.2,
on their person while hunting.

{b)(c) Validation. Fhe A successful hunter shall validate the their
Big Game Harvest Report Card or the Bonus Antlerless Deer
Harvest Report Card or affix a Commission-issued DMAP tag

(5)(6)

610

(8)

(S E)]

9)(10)

before movmg any blg game from the S|te of kill. Beerharvested

{e)(d) Field Dressing. Harvested big game may be field dressed
at the site of kill or before registration. Further processing that
obscures the identification of the harvested animal's species, age,
or sex shall be prohibited without a valid authorization number.

{d)(e) Registration. Harvested big game shall be registered via
the—ElectronicBig—GameReporting—System the Commission's

mobile app, online at www-newildhife-org-or www.ncwildlife.org,
by calling 1-800-446-8663. 1-800-446-8663, or as described in

the DMAP license. Harvested big game shall be registered before
the animal is:
(D) skinned; or

2 dismembered; or
?3) left unattended by the successful hunter; or
4 placed in the possession of another person.

Harvested big game animals that are not skinned, dismembered,
left unattended by the successful hunter, or placed in the
possession of another person, shall be registered by 12pm noon
the day following the harvest.

{&)(f) Registration in Remote Areas. Big game harvested in
remote areas shall be registered by 12pm noon, the day after
leaving the remote area. Notwithstanding the registration
requirements in Paragraph {e)(e) of this Rule, big game harvested
in remote areas may:

(8] be placed in the possession of another, provided
that the person in possession of the big game
has the successful hunter's name and date of kill
on their person; and

2) be skinned and dismembered before
registration, if the carcass cannot be transported
intact.

H(a) Authorization number. Successful hunters using the paper
Big Game Harvest Report Card or Bonus Antlerless Deer Harvest
Report Card, the Fhe authorization number shall be recorded in
the space prowded for the approprlate harvested blg game animal.

hunters

A—H{IGFIGSS—DGH—H&FVGSI—RGPGH—G&FG- Successful
validating-a-deer-harvest-by-affixing using a Commission-issued

DMAP tag shall record and maintain the authorization number
upon-registration- as described in the DMAP license.

{g}(h) Unattended Harvests. Except as otherwise provided by rule
or law, successful hunters that leave a harvested big game animal
unattended or in the possession of another person shall identify
the carcass by attaching the authorization number issued at the
time of registration. Except as provided in Paragraph {e}(f) of this
Rule, a person that takes possession of a big game animal from a
successful hunter shall retain the authorization number of that
animal.
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Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.3; 113-276.1; 113-291.

SUBCHAPTER 10F - MOTORBOATS AND WATER
SAFETY

SECTION .0100 - MOTORBOAT REGISTRATION

15A NCAC 10F .0102  APPLICATION FOR
CERTIFICATE OF VESSEL NUMBER
(@) Definitions. The definitions in G.S. 75A-2 shall apply
throughout this Subchapter and to all forms prescribed pursuant
to this Subchapter. As used in this Subchapter, the following
definitions shall also apply:
(1) "Boating Accident" means a collision, accident,
casualty, or occurrence involving a vessel or its
equipment and resulting in:

(A) damage by or to the wvessel, its
equipment, or other property;

(B) injury or loss of life to any person; or

© the disappearance of any person from

a vessel under circumstances that
indicate the possibility of death or
injury.
A "boating accident" includes capsizing,
collision, foundering, flooding, fire, explosion,
and the disappearance of a vessel other than by

theft.
)] "Certificate of Title" means a document that
serves as evidence of ownership of a vessel.
3) "Charter Fishing Vessel” means a vessel

carrying passengers for hire who are engaged in
recreational fishing.

"Dealer" means a person, firm, or corporation
engaged in the business of offering vessels for
sale at retail or wholesale from an established
location.

"Government Agency Vessel" means a vessel
owned and operated by the United States or a
federal agency, a state, or a subdivision of a
state.

“Livery-Vessel” "Rent or Lease Vessel” means
a vessel that is rented or leased by the owners
to an individual for a defined period of time.
"Manufacturer” means a person, firm, or
corporation engaged in the business of
manufacturing vessels either upon prior
commission or for the purpose of sale after
manufacture.

"Nonprofit Rescue Squad Vessel" means a
vessel owned and operated by a nonprofit
rescue squad exclusively for rescue purposes,
including rescue training.

"Proof of Ownership Document” means a
document that provides evidence of ownership,
including a Certificate of Number or a

&34

H()

6X(6)

67

H(8)

8)(9)

Certificate of Title issued by the Commission
or any similar document issued by another state
or country, an affidavit, a bill of sale, a
manufacturer's statement of origin, or any other
document that establishes ownership.

{9)(10) "Vessel Agent" means an individual or business
authorized by the Commission to conduct
vessel transactions.

(b) General. The certificate of numbering and certificate of titling
requirements of G.S. 75A-4, 75A-7, 75A-34, and 75A-35 shall
apply to all vessels operated on the public waters of North
Carolina, including lvery rented and leased vessels, commercial
fishing vessels, and commercial passenger vessels. Vessels
operated pursuant to a dealer's or manufacturer's certificate of
number for demonstration or testing purposes, government
agency vessels, and non-profit rescue squad vessels shall not be
subject to the titling requirements of G.S. 75A-34 and G.S. 75A-
35 but shall remain subject to the certificate of numbering
requirements of G.S. 75A-4 and G.S. 75A-7. Every owner
applying for a certificate of number and certificate of title of a
vessel, if applicable, shall apply to the Commission or to one of
its vessel agents using an application available on the Commission
website at www.ncwildlife.org. The application shall include the
following information:

(8] the name of the owners;

2 the address, telephone number, date of birth,
and North Carolina driver license number of the

OWNETS;

3 the current or previous certificate of number, if
applicable;

(@) the desired period of certificate of number,

either one or three years;

5) the primary use operation of the vessel:
(A) pleasure;
(B) Hvery: rent or lease;

© dealer or manufacturer demonstration;
(D) commercial fishing;
(BE) commercial passenger;
(P other commercial; of
(G) other; charter fishing; or
H) other.

(6) the model of the vessel, if known;

) the manufacturer, if known;

(8) the year of manufacture or model year, if
known;

9 the manufacturer's hull identification number, if
any;

(10) the length of the vessel in feet and inches;
(11) the type of vessel:
(A) epen; open motorboat;
(B) €abin; cabin motorboat;
© houseboat;
(D) personal watercraft;
(E) pontoon; ef
(F other; air boat;
(G) auxiliary sail;
(H)
0]
)

inflatable;
paddlecraft/canoe;
paddlecraft/kayak;
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K) rowboat;
L) sail only; or

™M) other.
(12) the hull material:
(A) wood,;

(B) metal; aluminum;
(C)  fiberglass; steel;
(D) plastie; fiberglass;
(E) inflatable;or rubber/vinyl/canvas;
(P other; plastic; or
[(S)] other.
(13) the type of propulsion:
(A) inboeard: propeller;
(B) outbeard; sail;
© inbeard-outdrive; water jet;
(D) satk: manual;

(E) auxitiary-sail-with-inbeard; air thrust;
or
(F) auxthianysatbwith-outboard;-or other.
(14) the type of fuel:
(A) gasoline;
(B) diesel;
© electric; or

(D) other; other.
a5 the engine drive type:

(A) inboard;
(B) outboard;
© stern drive;
(D) pod drive;
(E) other; or
(F) none.

{&5)(16) a proof of ownership document;

{&6)(17) the signature of the owners;

&AH(18) the make of motor if over 25 horsepower,
including serial number and purchase price of
meter; motor, if known;

££8)(19) the lien holder name, address, and telephone
number; number, if applicable;

££9)(20) the effective lien date: date, if applicable;

£20)(21) the county where vessel is taxed; and

25H(22) proof of United States Coast

documentation, if applicable.

(c) Application for certificate of number and certificate of title.
The owners shall complete and submit an application for a
certificate of number, proof of ownership documents, and
applicable fees to the Commission or one of its vessel agents for
processing within 15 days of the date of sale. A new certificate of
number shall be issued for new or never-before registered vessels.
For a period of 60 days following the date of sale, the new owners
may use a copy of the proof of ownership document as a
temporary certificate of number pending receipt of the original
certificate, provided it contains the date of sale. If required, a
certificate of title shall be issued and all reported liens shall be
recorded.
(d) Livery Rented or Leased Vessel Owners. Upon receipt of a
completed application and a copy of the lease or rental agreement
form and fee, the Commission shall issue to the applicant a
certificate of number and, if applicable, a certificate of title.

Guard

(e) Dealers and Manufacturers of Vessels. Upon receipt of a
completed application and fee, the Commission shall issue to the
applicant a certificate of number that may be used in connection
with the operation of any vessel in the possession of the dealer or
manufacturer when the vessel is being demonstrated. Dealer and
manufacturer certificates of number shall not be transferred. A
new certificate of number shall be issued upon sale or transfer.
Demonstration vessels shall not be titled so long as the vessel is
owned by the dealer or manufacturer. Vessels owned or possessed
by dealers or manufacturers for personal use or for any use other
than for demonstration and testing purposes shall be individually
registered in the name of the dealer or manufacturer in accordance
with the certificate of number requirements of Paragraph (b) of
this Rule. Additional dealer or manufacturer certificates of
number may be obtained by making application in the same
manner as prescribed for the initial certificate with payment of a
fee for each additional certificate. Dealers and manufacturers may
register individual vessels in accordance with Rule .0104(a) of
this Section.

(f) Government Agency and Nonprofit Rescue Squad Vessels.
Upon receipt of a completed application and proof of ownership
documents from a government agency or non-profit rescue squad,
the Commission shall issue to the applicant a permanent
certificate of number. There shall be no fee for a permanent
government agency or non-profit rescue squad certificate of
number and the certificate shall be valid until the vessel is
transferred to another government agency, an individual, a
business, or a dealer. Government agency and nonprofit rescue
squad registered vessels shall not be titled.

(g) Commercial Fishing Vessel. The standard application for a
certificate of number shall be used for commercial fishing vessels
with the term "commercial fishing” marked in the section
designated for “"primary use.” Upon receipt of a completed
application, proof of ownership document, and fee, the
Commission shall issue to the applicant a certificate of number
and, if applicable, a certificate of title.

(h) Commercial Passenger Vessel. Upon receipt of a completed
application, proof of ownership document, and fee, the
Commission shall issue to the applicant a certificate of number
and, if applicable, a certificate of title.

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-5; 75A-7; 75A-19; 75A-34; 75A-35;
33 GFR474:17; CFR 174.17.

15A NCAC 10F .0104 CERTIFICATE OF NUMBER
(a) General. Upon receipt of a completed application, a proof of
ownership document, and the applicable fees as provided in G.S.
75A-5(al) and G.S. 75A-5.2(c), the Commission shall issue to the
applicant a certificate of number authorizing the operation of the
vessel. The certificate of number shall be carried while operating
the vessel and shall be presented for inspection to any law
enforcement officer upon request. The certificate of number shall
include the following information:
1) the name of the
manufacturer;
2 the address, including zip code, of the primary
owners, dealer, or manufacturers;
3 the title indicator;
@) the certificate of number awarded to vessel;

owners, dealer, or
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(5)
(6)

(7)
(8)
©)

(10)
(11)

(12)

(13)

(14)

(15)

(16)

the expiration date of the certificate of number;

vessel-use-type: the primary operation of the

vessel;
(A) pleasure;
(B) ivery; rent or lease;

© dealer or manufacturer demonstration;
(D) commercial fishing;

(E) commercial passenger;

(P other commercial; of

(©)] other; charter fishing; or

(H) other.

the model of vessel, if known;
the manufacturer, if known;
the year of manufacture or model year, if
known;
the manufacturer's hull identification number, if
any;
the everall length of vessel; vessel in feet and
inches;
the type of vessel:
(A) open; open motorboat;
(B) cabin; cabin motorboat;
© houseboat;
(D) personal watercraft;
(E) pontoon; ¢
(F) other; air boat;
(6] auxiliary sail;
H) inflatable;
(0]
J
(K)
(L)
(M)

paddlecraft/canoe;
[6)] paddlecraft/kayak;
rowboat;
sail only; or
other.
the hull material:
(A) wood;
(B) metal: aluminum;
(©) fiberglass; steel;
(D) plastic; fiberglass;
(E) inflatable:or rubber/vinyl/canvas;
(F) other; plastic; or
(G) other.
the type of Propulsion: propulsion:
(A) inbeard; propeller;
(B) outhoard; sail;
© inboard-outdrive; water jet;
(D) sail: manual;

(E) auxihany-sail-with-inbeard: air thrust;
or

(F) awxthary-saHwith-outbeard: other.

G)  jetdrive;

the type of fuel:

(A) gasoline;

(B) diesel;

© electric; or

(D) other; other.
the engine drive type:

(A) inboard;
(B) outboard;
© stern drive;

(D) pod drive;

(E) other; or

(F) none.

£6)(17) a notice to owner that he shall report within 30
days changes of address or ownership, and
destruction or abandonment of vessel,

A(18) the signature of the owners; and

£8)(19) a notice to the owner that the operator shall:

(A) always carry this certificate on vessel
when in use;

(B) report any accident involving injury or
death to persons or property damage in
excess of two thousand dollars
($2,000.00); and

© stop and render assistance if involved
in boating accident.

(b) Dealers and Manufacturers. A dealer or manufacturer
demonstrating or testing a vessel may use a set of dealer numbers
and the corresponding dealer certificate of number to operate a
vessel held for sale, but only for demonstration or testing
purposes. Vessels owned or possessed by dealers or
manufacturers for personal use or for any use other than for
demonstration and testing purposes shall be individually
registered in the name of the dealer in accordance with Paragraph
(a) of this Rule.

(c) Government agency. There shall be no title indicator or
expiration date listed for permanent certificate of numbers.

(d) Vessel Agents. Vessel dealers, manufacturers, and other
businesses that operate from locations within North Carolina may
be appointed as vessel agents of the Commission and be
authorized to issue temporary certificates of number for new
registrations, transfers of ownership, renewals, and duplicate
transactions. All official certificates of number shall be processed
and mailed from the Commission headquarters. Rules governing
the appointment and operations of vessel agents are contained in
15A NCAC 10G .0400 WILDLIFE SERVICE AGENTS.

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-5; 75A-5.2; 75A-7; 75A-19; 33 G-FR-
174:19; CFR 174.19.

15A NCAC 10F .0109
OF NUMBER

(&) When a vessel agent processes the final transaction to issue,
renew, or transfer a certificate of number or to issue a duplicate
certificate of number, the new owner shall be issued a temporary
certificate of number. For a period not exceeding 60 days
following the date of the transaction, the vessel may be operated
with the temporary certificate of number.

(b) The temporary certificate of number shall contain the

TEMPORARY CERTIFICATE

following:

1) the name of issuing wildlife service agent;

2) the name and address of the owners, dealer, or
manufacturer;

?3) the title indicator;

(@) the certificate of number;

(5) the wvessel-use-type: primary operation of the
vessel:

(A) pleasure;
(B) Hivery: rent or lease;
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(6)
(7)
(8)

©)

(10)
(11)

(12)

(13)

(14)

(15)

© dealer or manufacturer; manufacturer
demonstration;

(D) permanent: commercial fishing;
(E) commercial fishing; passenger;
(F) commercial——passenger;
commercial;
(©)] othercommereial; charter fishing; or
(H) other; other.
the model of vessel; the vessel, if known;
the manufacturer; manufacturer, if known:;
the year of manufacture or model year; year, if
known;
the manufacturer's hull identification number;
number, if any;
the length of vessel; vessel in feet and inches;
the type of vessel:
(A) open; open motorboat;
(B) cabin: cabin motorboat;
© houseboat;
(D) personal watercraft;
(E) pontoon; o
other; air boat;
auxiliary sail;
inflatable;
paddlecraft/canoe;

)

©)

(H)

()]

) paddlecraft/kayak;
(K)

(L)

(M)

other

rowboat;
sail only; or
other.
the hull material:
(A) wood,;
(B) metal: aluminum;
(€ fiberglass; steel;
(D) plastie; fiberglass;
(E) nflatablesor rubber/vinyl/canvas;
(F) other; plastic; or
[(S)] other.
the type of propulsion:
(A) inbeard; propeller;
(B) outbeard; sail;
© inboard-outdrive; water jet;
(D) satk manual;

(E) auxiHary-sailb-with-inbeard:; air thrust;
or

(F) awxHiary-saH-with-outbeard—er other.

(6)  jetdrive;

the type of fuel:

(A) gasoline;

(B) diesel;

© electric; or

(D) other; other.
the engine drive type:

(A) inboard;
(B) outboard;
© stern drive;
(D) pod drive;
(E) other; or
(F) none.

{45)(16) the date the temporary certificate of number is
issued;

{46)(17) the date the temporary certificate of number
expires;

A)(18) the type of transaction pending; and

£48)(19) the signature of the owners.

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-5; 33 G-F-R—17#4-21; CFR 174.21.

EE IR S S I I I S S S I I S

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Wildlife Resources Commission intends to amend the rules cited
as 15A NCAC 10F .0310 and .0374.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations

Proposed Effective Date: August 1, 2023

Public Hearing:

Date: May 11, 2023

Time: 2:00 p.m.

Location:

Virtual Hearing. Registration required at: https://ncwildlife-
org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_otwI8dcASaOxwdBycQ

gurQ

Reason for Proposed Action:

Proposed amendments to 15A NCAC 10F .0310 will create no-
wake zones in the waters of Motts Creek and at seven boating
access areas in Dare County that are owned or operated by the
Wildlife Resources Commission.

Proposed amendments to the 15A NCAC 10F .0347 change the
name Cube Yadkin Generation to Cube Hydro Carolinas and add
Safety Zones and Restricted Areas at High Rock Hydroelectric
Station,  Tuckertown  Hydroelectric ~ Station,  Narrows
Hydroelectric Station, and Falls Hydroelectric Station, located in
Rowan, Davidson, Stanly, and Montgomery counties on the
Yadkin River chain.

Comments may be submitted to:
1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh,
regulations@ncwildlife.org

Rulemaking Coordinator,
NC 27699; email

Comment period ends: June 2, 2023

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
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service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.

XOOOO

State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER

SAFETY

SUBCHAPTER 10F - MOTORBOATS AND WATER

SAFETY

SECTION .0300 - LOCAL WATER SAFETY

15A NCAC 10F .0310

REGULATIONS

DARE COUNTY

(a) Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters
and portions of waters in Dare County:

1)

)

©)

(4)

Manteo.

(A) the waters of Doughs Creek eff-of off
Shallowbag Bay and all canals off of
Shallowbag Bay.

(B) within 50 yards of the Bowsertown
Boating Access Area on Croatan
Sound at 35.89810 N, 75.67710 W.

Hatteras.

(A) the waters of Pamlico Sound
otherwise known as Hatteras Harbor
and Muddy Creek bounded on the
north and south by the high-water
mark, on the west by a straight line
between channel markers number 20
and 17 at the entrance to Hatteras
Harbor, and on the east by the mouth
of Muddy Creek at Sandy Bay at a
point at 35.22801 N,75.68050 W; and

(B) Hatteras Ferry Terminal and United
States Coast Guard basins ending at
Coast Guard Beacon Number One in
the Hatteras Channel.

Mann's Manns Harbor.

(A) Old Ferry Dock Road Canal,
beginning at a point at 35.90654 N,
75.76916 W.

(B) within 50 yards of the Manns Harbor
Boating Access Area on Croatan
Sound at 35.91020 N, 75.77150 W.

©) within 50 vyards of the Mashoes
Boating Access Area on East Lake at
35.92820 N, 75.81470 W.

Nags Head.

(A) the canals of Old Nags Head Cove
where the canal entrance meets

®)

(6)

®)

©)

(10)

11)

(12)

Roanoke Sound beginning at a point at
35.94192 N, 75.62571 W;

(B) the Roanoke Sound inlets at Pond
Island on either side of W. Marina
Drive extending north from U.S.
Highway 64-264.

Wanchese.

(A) Wanchese Harbor otherwise known as
Mill Landing Creek, beginning at its
entrance from Roanoke Sound at a
point at 35.84006 N, 75.61726 W; and

(B) the canal from its beginning where it
connects with Roanoke Sound south
of the dead-end road SR 1141
otherwise known as Thicket Lump
Drive, extending northwest roughly
parallel to SR 1141, SR 1142
otherwise known as The Lane, and SR
1143 otherwise known as Tink Tillet
Road, then westward roughly parallel
to N.C. Highway 345, and finally
curving to the southwest roughly
parallel to SR 1289 otherwise known
as C B Daniels SR Road to its end.

Stumpy Point.

(A) Stumpy Point Canal shore to shore on
Pamlico Sound, beginning 50 yards
west of the Wildlife—Resources
Stumpy Point Boating Access Area,
321 Bayview Drive.

A(B) Stumpy Point Basin off ef Stumpy
Point Bay, east of U.S. Highway 264
where it intersects Stumpy Point Bay
at a point at 35.69591 N, 75.77264 W.

Rodanthe. Within 50 yards of the Rodanthe

Boating Access Area in Roanoke Sound, 23170

Myrna Peters Road.

Town of Southern Shores. Ganals The canals

and lagoons within the Town of Southern

Shores north of U.S. Highway 158.

Colington Harbour. The waters in the canals of

Colington Harbour Subdivision on Albemarle

Sound.

Kitty Hawk. The waters eentained in the canals

of Kitty Hawk Landing Subdivision.

Washington Baum Bridge: Bridge Boating

Access Area. Roaneke-Seund-frem-marker24B

north-ofthe-bridge-to-marker24A-south-of-the

bridge-a dl595a||els eastellt e-Ravigation-span

appropriate—markers: The waters within 150

yards north and south and 300 yards east of the

Washington Baum Boating Access Area in

Roanoke Sound, at 35.89380 N, 75.63710 W.

Kill Devil Hills.

(A) Baum Bay Harbor, beginning at a
point at 36.00572 N, 75.68105 W.
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(B) the waters within 50 yards of the
Avalon Beach Boating Access Area in
Kitty Hawk Bay, 2025 Bay Street.

(13) Avon. The waters of Pamlico Sound shore to
shore beginning at a line from a point on the
east shore of Big Island at 35.36653 N,
75.50770 W westward to a point on the
mainland at 35.36653 N, 75.50556 W, south to
include the waters of the cove between North
Albacore Lane and South Albacore Lane and
the waters of Mill Creek, and ending east of a
line from a point on the south shore of Big
Island at 35.36500 N, 75.50820 W southward to
a point on the mainland at 35.36358 N,
75.50826 W.

(14) Jean Guite Creek. The waters of Jean Guite
Creek from where it meets Kitty Hawk Bay at
36.04887 N, 75.72754 W, north to a line from a
point on the east shore in Southern Shores at
36.10460 N, 75.74192 W to a point on the west
shore in Martin's Point Subdivision at 36.10452
N, 75.73948 W.

(15) Frisco. The waters of the marina canal and boat
basin at Palmetto Shores Subdivision, shore to
shore beginning at the canal's entrance at
Pamlico Sound at a point at 35.25427 N,
75.60301 W.

(16) Cape Hatteras National Seashore. The waters of
Motts Creek in Roanoke Sound, shore to shore
at a line from a point on the north shore where
the Oregon Inlet U.S. Coast Guard Station is
located, to a point near the south shore of Motts

2) the Board of Commissioners of Dare County
for the areas designated in Paragraph (c),
Subparagraphs (a)(2); (a)(4); (a)(5); (a)(8)
through (10); (a)(13) through (15); and Parts
(@)(3)(A); (a)(6)(B); and (a)(12)(A) of this
Rule;

3 the Board of Commissioners of the Town of
Southern Shores for the areas indicated
designated in Subparagraph (a)(8) of this Rule;
and Rule;

4 the Board of Commissioners of the Town of
Kitty Hawk for the area indicated designated in
Subparagraph (2)(10) of this Rule: Rule;

(5) the National Park Service for the area
designated in Subparagraph (a)(16) of this
Rule; and

(6) the North Carolina Wildlife Resources
Commission for the areas designated in
Subparagraphs (a)(7) and (a)(11); and Parts
(@)(1)(B); (a)(3)(B) and (C); (a)(6)(A); and
(a)(12)(B) of this Rule.

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15.

15A NCAC 10F .0374 GUBEYADKIN-GENERATION
CUBE HYDRO CAROLINAS SAFETY ZONES AND
RESTRICTED ZONES AREAS

(a) Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the area—one

folowing—stations: following hydroelectric stations,

associated structures, abutments, and equipment:

dams,

Creek at 35.792070 N, 75.54903 W, then
northward to include the waters at the Oregon
Inlet Fishing Center and Marina, Oregon Inlet
Public Boat Ramp, kayak launch area, and U. S.
Coast Guard Station and Launch Area.
(b) Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than
no-wake speed within any of the regulated areas described in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
(c) Swimming Area. No person operating or responsible for the
operation of any vessel—surfboard—water-skis—orjet-skis vessel
shall permit it to enter the marked swimming area at Colington
Island on the west shore, from a point where the canal enters the
harbor at 36.01797 N, 75.72681 W, north 600 feet to a point at
36.01964 N, 75.72683 W and extending 300 feet west into
Albemarle Sound.
(d) Placement of Markers. The following agencies shal-be are
the designated agencies for placement of markers implementing
this Rule, subject to the approval of the United States Coast Guard
and the United States Army Corps of Engineers:
1) the Board of Commissioners of the Town of
Manteo for the areas indicated designated in
Subparagraph-(a)(1) Part (a)(1)(A) of this Rule;
&) the-Board-ef-Commissioners—of-Dare-County

@ rooloctric. Stati I "

@ - . A Ki

(€] High Rock Hydroelectric Station on the Yadkin
River in Rowan and Davidson counties;

2) Tuckertown Hydroelectric Station on the
Yadkin River in Stanly and Montgomery
counties;

(3) Narrows Hydroelectric Station on the Yadkin

River in Stanly and Montgomery counties; and
4) Falls Hydroelectric Station on the Yadkin River
in Stanly and Montgomery counties.
(b) Safety Zones. With the exception of authorized persons and
vessels, no entry shall be allowed in the waters listed below:
(€] Yadkin River in Rowan and Davidson counties,
200 feet downstream from the powerhouse,
turbines, or generator  discharge  that
mechanically propels or accelerates the flow of
water at the High Rock Hydroelectric Station;
2) Yadkin River in Stanly and Montgomery
counties, 200 feet downstream from the
powerhouse, turbines, or generator discharge
that mechanically propels or accelerates the
flow of water at the Tuckertown Hydroelectric
Station;
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3) Yadkin River in Stanly and Montgomery
counties, one hundred feet directly in front of
the powerhouse, turbines, or generator
discharge that mechanically propel or
accelerate the flow of water at the Narrows
Hydroelectric Station; and

4) Yadkin River in Stanly and Montgomery
counties, 100 feet downstream from the
powerhouse, turbines, or generator discharge
that _mechanically propels or accelerates the
flow of water at the Falls Hydroelectric Station.

(c) Restricted Areas. Restricted Areas shall be located 200 feet
upstream and 200 feet downstream from the hydroelectric stations
described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. Individuals in or upon a
vessel in a restricted area shall wear a U.S. Coast Guard-approved
personal flotation device as described in Rule .0201 of this
Subchapter at all times.

(d) Swimming. Swimming shall be prohibited in restricted areas.
(e) Firearms. No person shall discharge a firearm within a

restricted area.

{)(f) No vessel shall tie off to any part of the hydroelectric station
structure or the accessory portions thereof within restricted areas
described in Raragraph-(a)-of this Rule er nor anchor or otherwise
secure a vessel in these areas.

{e)(q) Paragraph-{d} Paragraph (f) of this Rule shall not apply to
persons who enter with consent of Gube-Yadkin-Generation Cube
Hydro Carolinas for the purpose of maintaining, repairing, or
evaluating facilities of CubeYadkin-Generation; Cube Hydro
Carolinas; law enforcement or emergency personnel; or N.C. state
employees acting in an official capacity.

H(h) Placement and Maintenance of Markers. Cube—Yadkin
Generation Cube Hydro Carolinas shall be the designated entity
for placement and maintenance of buoys and other signs
implementing this Rule.

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15.

TITLE 20 - OFFICE OF THE STATE TREASURER

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Local Government Commission intends to adopt the rules cited as
20 NCAC 03 .0710-.0715 and repeal the rules cited as 20 NCAC
03 .0701-.0709.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it
impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless
the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available
on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://www.nctreasurer.com/about/transparency/commitment-
transparency/nc-administrative-code-rules

Proposed Effective Date: August 1, 2023

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be
requested in writing within 15 days of notice): Submit a written
request for public hearing within 15 days after publication of the
Notice of Text to: Dept of State Treasurer, Attn: Rulemaking
Coordinator, 3200 Atlantic Avenue, Raleigh, NC 27604 or
DST.NCAC@nctreasurer.com.

Reason for Proposed Action: Based on research and analysis
performed by Commission and Department of State Treasurer
staff, Commission staff determined that the current mutual fund
rules should be revised to better align both the requirements of
the Administrative Code and the process of mutual fund
certification with current legal and regulatory requirements.

Comments may be submitted to: Laura Rowe, 3200 Atlantic
Avenue, Raleigh, NC 27604

Comment period ends: June 2, 2023

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

CHAPTER 03 - LOCAL GOVERNMENT COMMISSION

SECTION .0700 - MUTUAL FUND FOR LOCAL
GOVERNMENT INVESTMENT
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20 NCAC 03 .0701
20 NCAC 03 .0702
20 NCAC 03 .0703
20 NCAC 03 .0704

GENERAL INFORMATION
DEFINITION OF TERMS
MINIMUM FUND STANDARDS
REQUIREMENTS FOR THE RFP
20 NCAC 03 .0705 ISSUANCE OF THE RFP
20 NCAC 03 .0706 CERTIFICATION
TERMINATION OF MANAGER

20 NCAC 03 .0707 TERMINATION FOR CAUSE

20 NCAC 03 .0708 REVIEW OF MANAGER

20 NCAC 03 .0709 DELEGATION OF AUTHORITY

AND

Authority G.S. 159-3(f); 159-30(c)(7); 159-(c6a).

20 NCAC 03.0710 GENERAL INFORMATION
(a)_This Section sets forth the manner in which a mutual fund for
local government investment shall be certified as required by G.S.
159-30(c)(8).

(b) All correspondence to the State Treasurer under this Section
shall be addressed to: Secretary, Local Government Commission,
Department of State Treasurer, 3200 Atlantic Avenue, Raleigh,
North Carolina 27604.

Authority G.S. 159-3(f); 159-30(c)(8).

20 NCAC 03 .0711 DEFINITION OF TERMS
The following words and phrases used in this Section are defined
as follows:
@) "Active Participants" means local governments
and public authorities as defined in G.S. 159-7,

Manager, or any Affiliate of a Fund or
Manager

(b) any notice from the SEC that SEC
staff intends to recommend an
enforcement action against a Fund, a
Manager, or any Affiliate of a Fund or
Manager, or

(c) any non-routine SEC inquiry or
investigation or any similar inquiry or
investigation from any similar federal,
state, or self-requlatory body or
organization against a Fund, a
Manager, or any Affiliate of a Fund or
Manager.

(6) "Fund" means a mutual fund certified under this
Section.

@ "Manager" means the investment adviser
managing a Fund certified under this Section as
required by Rule .0712(f) of this Section.

(8) "Money Market Mutual Fund" means a money
market fund that complies with 17 CFR 270.2a-
7 and which maintains a stable one-dollar net
asset value (NAV) per share.

9) "SEC" means the U.S. Securities and Exchange
Commission.

Authority G.S. 159-3(f); 159-30(c)(8).

20 NCAC 03 .0712 MINIMUM FUND STANDARDS

school administrative units, local ABC boards,

(a) Moneys of a Fund may be invested only in securities permitted

community colleges, public hospitals, and other

by G.S. 159-30. The maximum maturity of any security purchased

entities authorized by law to use forms of

shall not be set by the Commission; however, no maturity shall

investment allowed by G.S. 159-30, that are

exceed seven years.

currently invested in a Fund.
2 "Affiliate” means, with respect to any party,

(b) A Fund shall be registered with the SEC as an investment
company under the Investment Company Act of 1940 and shall

any person, entity, or organization that either

comply with all applicable SEC rules, regulations, and reporting

directly or indirectly controls, is controlled by,

requirements. The SEC requirements of 17 CFR Chapter 2 are

or_is under common control with such party,

hereby incorporated by reference, including subsequent

including any employee, officer, or director of

amendments and editions, and are available online, at no cost, at

such party. https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-17/chapter-11. SEC registration
3) "Broker-Dealer" means either a "broker" or a  and compliance do not modify the requirement that a Fund

"dealer" as both are defined in the Securities

comply with G.S. 159-30. The Investment Company Act of 1940

Exchange Act of 1934 which is hereby

is _hereby incorporated by reference, including subsequent

incorporated by reference, including

amendments and editions and is available online, at no cost, at

subsequent _amendments and editions and is

https://uscode.house.gov/browse/prelim@title15/chapter2D/subc

available online, at no COst, at

hapterl&edition=prelim.

https://uscode.house.gov/browse/prelim@title

(c) A Fund shall be established and operated in such a manner

15/chapter2B&edition=prelim.
4 "Decertification Period" means the period of

that any local, state, or federal income tax liability will be passed
through to the Active Participants.

time beginning on the date the Commission

(d) A Fund shall assign a benchmark that is specified in advance

adopts a resolution terminating the certification

and is representative of the Fund's current investment strateqy and

of a Fund and ending either 30 calendar days

shall periodically report performance in conformance with SEC

thereafter or on a date specified in such

rules and requlations, 17 CFR Chapter 2.

resolution. (e) A Fund shall calculate a daily net asset value according to US
(5) "Enforcement Event" means: "generally accepted accounting principles” (GAAP) and allow
(a) any civil, administrative, or criminal investors to transact daily at the net asset value.

enforcement action under either state

(f)_A Fund shall be managed by an investment adviser registered

or federal law against a Fund, a

with either the SEC as an investment adviser under the Investment

Advisers Act of 1940, or the North Carolina Secretary of State as
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an_investment adviser under the North Carolina Investment
Advisers Act, and such investment adviser shall comply with all
applicable federal and state rules, regulations, and reporting
requirements. The Investment Advisers Act of 1940 is hereby
incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and
editions _and is available online, at no cost, at
https://uscode.house.gov/browse/prelim@title15/chapter2D/subc
hapter2&edition=prelim. The North Carolina _Investment
Advisers Act, G.S. 78C is hereby incorporated by reference,
including subseguent amendments and editions and is available
online, at no cost, at
https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedL egislation/Statutes/HTML/ByC
hapter/Chapter 78C.html.

(a) The sale and marketing of a Fund must adhere to all applicable
state and federal laws and regulations.

(h) A Fund shall bear one of the two highest ratings of at least

Q) attesting that the Fund continues to meet all
minimum Fund standards provided in Rule
.0712 of this Section;

2) attesting that no Enforcement Event has
occurred;

(3) attesting that the sale and marketing of the Fund
adheres to all applicable state and federal laws
and regulations;

4) if the Fund is a Certified Money Market Mutual
Fund, attesting that the Fund continues to
comply with the definition in Rule .07110f this
Section; and

(5) providing a list of all Broker-Dealers selling or

marketing the Fund.
(b) The Commission may request an attestation at any other time
to review and confirm compliance of the Fund with the rules in

one nationally recognized rating service and shall not bear a rating

this Section.

below one of the two highest ratings by any nationally recognized

(c) _Any changes to a Fund's or investment adviser's federal or

rating service which rates the Fund.

Authority G.S. 159-3(f); 159-30(c)(8).

20 NCAC 03 .0713 CERTIFICATION OF A FUND
(a) Certification of a Fund may be requested by submitting a

state registration documents shall be reported to the Secretary
within 30 days of the filing of the updated registration documents,
with all changes marked and identified.

(d) The Manager shall, upon request from the Commission,
provide documentation supporting any attestation with specific
reference to the location within such supporting documentation

proposal to the Secretary, in a method prescribed by the Secretary,

which demonstrates that the minimum Fund standards of Rule

containing the following information:

.0712 of this Section have been met.

@) the name of the Fund; (e) The Commission shall have access to all Fund documents,
(2) the address of the Fund; shall be able to make any examinations it deems necessary to
3) the Fund prospectus; ensure compliance with the rules in this Section, and shall have
4 the most recent holdings report; the right to copies of all Fund documents at the expense of the
(5) the most recent annual report; Manager of the Fund.
(6) an attestation that the Fund meets, and will
maintain compliance with, the minimum Fund Authority G.S. 159-3(f); 159-30(c)(8).
standards set forth in Rule .0712 of this Section;
@ if the Fund is seeking certification as a Money 20 NCAC 03 .0715 TERMINATION OF
Market Mutual Fund, an attestation that the CERTIFICATION
Fund meets, and will maintain compliance with, (a) The Commission may adopt a resolution terminating the
the definition of Money Market Mutual Fund:; certification of a Fund due to one or more of the following:
and Q) A Manager or a Fund violates any of the rules
(8) a list of all Broker-Dealers selling or marketing in this Section.
the Fund. 2) A Fund fails to meet any state or federal legal
(b) The Commission will review the proposal and may request requirement.
supporting information as needed to assist in its review of the (3) A Fund fails to submit an attestation pursuant

proposal.
(c) _If the Commission certifies a Fund, it shall identify the Fund

as a "Certified Money Market Mutual Fund," if the Fund is a
Money Market Mutual Fund as defined in this Section; otherwise,
it shall identify the Fund as a "Certified Mutual Fund."

(d) Certification is effective the day after the Commission adopts

to Rule .0714 of this Section within 30 calendar
days of the due date.
4) The Manager of a Fund requests termination of
certification.
(5) A Fund is dissolved or terminated.
(b) A Decertification Period shall commence upon the

a resolution certifying the Fund and is effective until termination

Commission's adoption of a resolution terminating certification of

of certification pursuant to Rule .0715 of this Section.

Authority G.S. 159-3(f); 159-30(c)(8).

20 NCAC 03 .0714 REVIEW OF FUND

(a) Beginning one year after the effective date of the certification
of a Fund, and by December 31 each year thereafter, the Manager
shall submit an attestation to the Secretary, in a method prescribed

by the Secretary:

a Fund, during which time the Manager of the Fund shall notify
all Active Participants of the termination of certification and
provide instructions on withdrawing assets from the Fund.

(c) Termination of certification shall be effective upon the
conclusion of the Decertification Period.

Authority G.S. 159-3(f); 159-30(c)(8).
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TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 06 - BOARD OF BARBER AND
ELECTROLYSIS EXAMINERS
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Board of Barber and Electrolysis Examiners intends to adopt the
rule cited as 21 NCAC 06N .0117 and amend the rule cited as 21
NCAC 06N .0111.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://www.barbers.nc.gov/news.html

Proposed Effective Date: August 1, 2023

Public Hearing:

Date: April 19, 2023

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: By videoconference at
https://bit.ly/bbeeapr2023permrules or by teleconference at (984)
204-1487, conference ID 278 048 985#

Reason for Proposed Action:

The amendment to 21 NCAC 06N .0111 would require schools to
report student hours online rather than by paper forms. The rule
saves time for and reduces errors by both schools and the board.
The adoption in 21 NCAC 06N .0117 sets the requirements for a
request for a temporary permit under G.S. 86B-27. It also
requires requests to submitted through an online process except
for extraordinary circumstances.

Comments may be submitted to: Dennis Seavers, 7001 Mail
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-7000; phone (919) 814-0641;
fax (919) 981-5068; email dennis.seavers@nc.gov

Comment period ends: June 2, 2023

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.

L] State funds affected

L] Local funds affected

] Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)

] Approved by OSBM
X No fiscal note required

SUBCHAPTER 06N — FEES AND FORMS

21 NCAC 06N .0111 FORM BAR-10
(a) The Form BAR-10 is a report that shall be filed monthly by
the manager—of-the school for each student enrolled in barber
school. It requires the following:
(D) the name of the school submitting the report;
2 the name-and-date-of-enrolment of the student;
student's name;
?3) the month and year for which the report is filed;
and
{5)(4) the datesand number of hours ef the students
attendance; student attended during the month
and year for which the report is filed.
6) the—pumber—of—patrons—served—for—clinical
@ b L ical

theory-courses:
(b) The school shall submit Form BAR-10 shal-be-submitted to

the Board everthesignature-of-the-managerof-the-schooland-co-

sighed-by-the-student: online at the website address listed in 21
NCAC 06A .0102.

(c) H Notwithstanding the requirement in Paragraph (b) of this
Rule to submit the Form BAR-10 online, if a student completes
his or her course of study, drops out of school, or transfers to
another school, the barber school shall return submit a paper
version of the Form BAR-10 to the Board:
(8] within five business days; or
2 within 30 days if the student's enrollment ends
during the effective period of a state of
emergency declared by the Governor.

Authority G.S. 86B-38.

21 NCAC 06N .0117
PERMIT
(a) An individual who wishes to request a temporary permit shall
submit the following information using the form available at the
website listed in 21 NCAC 06A .0102:
(€] the requester's name, mailing address, phone
number, and email address;

REQUEST FOR TEMPORARY

(2) if the requester attended a North Carolina
barber school, the name of the school;

(3) the type of license application the requester has
submitted; and

4) the name, permit number, and physical address

of the barbershop where the requester would
like to work.
(b) Except as set forth in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, the Board
shall not accept requests for temporary permits submitted in paper
form.
(c) _If an individual wishes to submit a request for a temporary
permit in paper form because he or she cannot submit the request
online, the individual shall submit a paper version of the form in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule to the address listed in 21 NCAC 06A
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.0102, along with an explanation for why the request cannot be
submitted online. The Board shall determine whether good cause
exists for the individual not to submit a request online. For the
purpose of this Rule, "good cause" means that the applicant could
not have submitted the request online as set forth in Paragraph (a)
of this Rule due to circumstances such as disability or lack of
access to a computer or mobile device.

Authority G.S. 86B-2; 86B-27.

TITLE 26 — OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Office of Administrative Hearings intends to amend the rule cited
as 26 NCAC 03 .0106.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
oah.nc.gov

Proposed Effective Date: August 1, 2023

Public Hearing:

Date: April 18, 2023

Time: 2:00 p.m.

Location: Commission Room, Office of Administrative Hearings,
1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609

Reason for Proposed Action: The Office of Administrative
Hearings is proposing this change to promote transparency and
provide easier access to public records.

Comments may be submitted to:
Hope Church  Rd., Raleigh, NC
ashley.snyder@oah.nc.gov

Ashley Snyder, 1711 New
27609;  email

Comment period ends: June 2, 2023

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

CHAPTER 03 - HEARINGS DIVISION
SECTION .0100 - HEARING PROCEDURES

26 NCAC 03 .0106 CONSENT ORDER:
SETTLEMENT: STIPULATION

(a) Informal disposition may be made of a contested case or an
issue in a contested case by stipulation, agreement, or consent
order at any time during the proceedings. Parties may enter into
such agreements on their own or may ask for a settlement
conference with an administrative law judge to promote
consensual disposition of the case.

(b) If an agency enters into a settlement agreement after the
commencement of a contested case, the agency shall file a copy
of the settlement agreement with OAH. The settlement agreement
shall be included in the official record of the contested case
consistent with G.S. 132-1.3.

Authority G.S. 7A-750; 7A-751; 150B-31(b); 150B-37.
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APPROVED RULES

This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules. The rules
that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required
to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules. Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17.

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on February 16, 2023 Meeting.

REGISTER CITATION TO THE

NOTICE OF TEXT
MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION
Nutrition and Food Service 10A NCAC 13F .0904* 36:24 NCR
Nutrition and Food Service 10A NCAC 13G .0904* 36:24 NCR
LABOR, DEPARTMENT OF
Introduction 13 NCAC 18 .0101* G.S. 150B-21.5(b)(1)
Definitions 13 NCAC 18 .0102* G.S. 150B-21.5(b)(1)
Licensing Procedures 13 NCAC 18 .0103* G.S. 150B-21.5(b)(1)
Surety Bonds 13 NCAC 18 .0104* G.S. 150B-21.5(b)(1)
Contracts 13 NCAC 18 .0105* G.S. 150B-21.5(b)(1)
Records 13 NCAC 18 .0106* G.S. 150B-21.5(b)(1)
Advertising 13 NCAC 18 .0107* G.S. 150B-21.5(b)(1)
Prohibited Acts 13 NCAC 18 .0108* G.S. 150B-21.5(b)(1)
Review of Job Listing Services 13 NCAC 18 .0109* G.S. 150B-21.5(b)(1)
Penalty 13 NCAC 18 .0110* G.S. 150B-21.5(b)(1)
ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION
Purpose 15A NCAC 02E .0401* 36:20 NCR
Definitions 15A NCAC 02E .0402* 36:20 NCR
Applicability 15A NCAC 02E .0403* 36:20 NCR
Notifications 15A NCAC 02E .0404 36:20 NCR
Environmental Documents 15A NCAC 02E .0405* 36:20 NCR
Petition 15A NCAC 02E .0406* 36:20 NCR
Settlement/Mediation 15A NCAC 02E .0407 36:20 NCR
Final Determination 15A NCAC 02E .0408* 36:20 NCR
Emergency Transfers 15A NCAC 02E .0409* 36:20 NCR
COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION
Consideration of Application by Local Permit Officer 15A NCAC 071 .0508* 34:09 NCR
Commitment to Adopt Local Management Plan as Ordinance 15A NCAC 071 .0511* 34:09 NCR
Policy Statements 15A NCAC 07M .1102* 34:09 NCR
WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION
Safety Equipment 15A NCAC 10F .0201* 36:11 NCR

TEACHERS' AND STATE EMPLOYEES' RETIREMENT SYSTEM BOARD OF TRUSTEES/LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL
EMPLOYEES' RETIREMENT SYSTEM BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Organization: Authority 20 NCAC 02A .0101* 36:23 NCR
Exercise of Authority 20 NCAC 02A .0102* 36:23 NCR
Delegation of Authority to Director 20 NCAC 02A .0103* 36:23 NCR
Exercise of Employer Options 20 NCAC 02A .0104* 36:23 NCR
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Establishment of Procedural Rights 20 NCAC 02A .0201 36:23 NCR
Definitions 20 NCAC 02A .0202* 36:23 NCR
Establishment of Procedural Rights 20 NCAC 02A .0301 36:23 NCR
Definitions 20 NCAC 02A .0302* 36:23 NCR
Reconsideration of Declaratory Rulings 20 NCAC 02A .0303 36:23 NCR
Establishment of Procedural Rights 20 NCAC 02A .0401* 36:23 NCR
Dual Membership - Computation of Service and Benefits 20 NCAC 02A .0503* 36:23 NCR
Direct Deposit of Monthly Benefit Payments 20 NCAC 02A .0504* 36:23 NCR
Administrative Fees for Service Purchasers 20 NCAC 02A .0505* 36:23 NCR
TEACHERS' AND STATE EMPLOYEES' RETIREMENT SYSTEM BOARD OF TRUSTEES

General Information 20 NCAC 02B .0101* 36:23 NCR
Actuarial Tables: Rates and Assumptions 20 NCAC 02B .0202* 36:23 NCR
Medical Board 20 NCAC 02B .0210* 36:23 NCR
Optional Retirement Program 20 NCAC 02B .0211* 36:23 NCR
Disability Retirement Allowance Defined 20 NCAC 02B .0213 36:23 NCR
Designation 20 NCAC 02B .0301 36:23 NCR
Principal Beneficiary 20 NCAC 02B .0302* 36:23 NCR
Contingent Beneficiary 20 NCAC 02B .0303* 36:23 NCR
No Living Beneficiary 20 NCAC 02B .0304* 36:23 NCR
Beneficiary Who Is Minor 20 NCAC 02B .0305* 36:23 NCR
Change in Beneficiary 20 NCAC 02B .0307* 36:23 NCR
Special Rule: Beneficiary Before July 1, 1967 20 NCAC 02B .0308* 36:23 NCR
Refunds 20 NCAC 02B .0401* 36:23 NCR
Forwarding Of Employer Contributions 20 NCAC 02B .0402* 36:23 NCR
Due Date Of Contributions 20 NCAC 02B .0404* 36:23 NCR
Anti-Pension Spiking Contribution-Based Benefit Cap Facto... 20 NCAC 02B .0405 36:23 NCR
Disability Retirement Examination 20 NCAC 02B .0501* 36:23 NCR
Disability Retirement Reports 20 NCAC 02B .0502* 36:23 NCR
Fees: Independent Medical Exam-Disability Retirements 20 NCAC 02B .0503 36:23 NCR
Interest Credits 20 NCAC 02B .0504 36:23 NCR
Pensions 20 NCAC 02B .0510 36:23 NCR
Educational Leaves of Absence 20 NCAC 02B .0701* 36:23 NCR
Workers' Compensation Leaves of Absence 20 NCAC 02B .0706* 36:23 NCR
Fee 20 NCAC 02B .0801 36:23 NCR
Quialifying for Credit 20 NCAC 02B .0802 36:23 NCR
Computation of Cost 20 NCAC 02B .0803 36:23 NCR
Civil Service Participation 20 NCAC 02B .0804* 36:23 NCR
Service Connected Disability 20 NCAC 02B .0805* 36:23 NCR
Recalculation of Benefits 20 NCAC 02B .0806* 36:23 NCR
Change in Benefits 20 NCAC 02B .0807* 36:23 NCR
Restoring Membership 20 NCAC 02B .0810* 36:23 NCR
Fee 20 NCAC 02B .0901 36:23 NCR
Qualifying for Credit 20 NCAC 02B .0902* 36:23 NCR
Definition 20 NCAC 02B .0903* 36:23 NCR
Computation of Cost 20 NCAC 02B .0904 36:23 NCR
Recalculation of Benefits 20 NCAC 02B .0905* 36:23 NCR
Change in Benefits 20 NCAC 02B .0906 36:23 NCR
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Prior Service with General Assembly 20 NCAC 02B .1003 36:23 NCR
Temporary Service Purchase (Inchoate Rights Only) 20 NCAC 02B .1004* 36:23 NCR
Temporary Service Purchase: Full Actuarial Liability 20 NCAC 02B .1005 36:23 NCR
Part-Time Service Purchase: Full Actuarial Liability 20 NCAC 02B .1006* 36:23 NCR
Local Government Service Purchase: Full Actuarial Liability 20 NCAC 02B .1007 36:23 NCR
Fee 20 NCAC 02B .1101 36:23 NCR
Qualification 20 NCAC 02B .1102 36:23 NCR
Recalculation of Benefits 20 NCAC 02B .1104 36:23 NCR
Definitions 20 NCAC 02B .1204 36:23 NCR
Computation of Cost 20 NCAC 02B .1205 36:23 NCR
Special Rule for Retired Applicants 20 NCAC 02B .1207 36:23 NCR
LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL EMPLOYEES' RETIREMENT SYSTEM BOARD OF TRUSTEES

General Information 20 NCAC 02C .0101* 36:23 NCR
Actuarial Tables: Rates and Assumptions 20 NCAC 02C .0201* 36:23 NCR
Facility of Payment 20 NCAC 02C .0204* 36:23 NCR
Medical Board 20 NCAC 02C .0205* 36:23 NCR
Designation 20 NCAC 02C .0301* 36:23 NCR
Principal Beneficiary 20 NCAC 02C .0302* 36:23 NCR
No Living Beneficiary 20 NCAC 02C .0303* 36:23 NCR
Payment to Beneficiaries 20 NCAC 02C .0304* 36:23 NCR
Beneficiary Change 20 NCAC 02C .0306* 36:23 NCR
Contingent Beneficiary 20 NCAC 02C .0307* 36:23 NCR
Employer's Contributions 20 NCAC 02C .0402* 36:23 NCR
Refunds 20 NCAC 02C .0403* 36:23 NCR
Due Date of Contributions 20 NCAC 02C .0404* 36:23 NCR
Anti-Pension Spiking Contribution-Based Benefit Cap Facto... 20 NCAC 02C .0405 36:23 NCR
Disability Examination 20 NCAC 02C .0501* 36:23 NCR
Disability Retirement Reports 20 NCAC 02C .0502* 36:23 NCR
Fees: Independent Medical Exam-Disability Retirements 20 NCAC 02C .0503 36:23 NCR
Reinstatement to Active Service 20 NCAC 02C .0504 36:23 NCR
Workers' Compensation Leaves of Absence 20 NCAC 02C .0704* 36:23 NCR
Leave 20 NCAC 02C .0901* 36:23 NCR
Fee 20 NCAC 02C .0902 36:23 NCR
Computation of Cost 20 NCAC 02C .0904 36:23 NCR
Civil Service Program 20 NCAC 02C .0906* 36:23 NCR
Exclusion 20 NCAC 02C .0907* 36:23 NCR
Recalculation of Benefits 20 NCAC 02C .0908* 36:23 NCR
Change in Benefits 20 NCAC 02C .0909 36:23 NCR
Fee 20 NCAC 02C .1001 36:23 NCR
Qualifying for Credit 20 NCAC 02C .1002 36:23 NCR
Other Governmental Subdivision 20 NCAC 02C .1003* 36:23 NCR
Computation of Cost 20 NCAC 02C .1004 36:23 NCR
Recalculation of Benefits 20 NCAC 02C .1006* 36:23 NCR
Change in Benefits 20 NCAC 02C .1007 36:23 NCR
Service Retirement 20 NCAC 02C .1201 36:23 NCR
Fee 20 NCAC 02C .1301 36:23 NCR
Qualifying for Credit 20 NCAC 02C .1302 36:23 NCR
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Application of Section

Definitions

Computation of Cost

Extent of Service to be Purchased
Special Rule for Retired Applicants

20 NCAC 02C
20 NCAC 02C
20 NCAC 02C
20 NCAC 02C
20 NCAC 02C

1501
.1503
.1504
.1505
.1506

TEACHERS' AND STATE EMPLOYEES' RETIREMENT SYSTEM BOARD OF TRUSTEES

General Information

Actuarial Tables: Rates and Assumptions

Final Compensation for Three-Fourths Limitation
Full Actuarial Cost

TEACHERS' AND STATE EMPLOYEES' RETIREMENT SYSTEM BOARD OF TRUSTEES/LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL
EMPLOYEES' RETIREMENT SYSTEM BOARD OF TRUSTEES

20 NCAC 02F
20 NCAC 02F
20 NCAC 02F
20 NCAC 02F

.0101*
.0104~*
.0107*
.0108

36:23 NCR
36:23 NCR
36:23 NCR
36:23 NCR
36:23 NCR

36:23 NCR
36:23 NCR
36:23 NCR
36:23 NCR

General Information 20 NCAC 02L .0101* 36:23 NCR
Definitions 20 NCAC 02L .0103* 36:23 NCR
Retired Members 20 NCAC 02L .0202 36:23 NCR
Accident and Hospital Benefits 20 NCAC 02L .0302 36:23 NCR
Definitions 20 NCAC 02M .0101* 36:23 NCR
Agency and Authority of Director 20 NCAC 02M .0102* 36:23 NCR
Time and Date 20 NCAC 02M .0104 36:23 NCR
Eligibility to Elect Coverage 20 NCAC 02M .0201* 36:23 NCR
When First Eligible 20 NCAC 02M .0202 36:23 NCR
Reinstatement 20 NCAC 02M .0206* 36:23 NCR
Contribution Rates 20 NCAC 02M .0301* 36:23 NCR
Member Contribution 20 NCAC 02M .0302* 36:23 NCR
Payment of Contribution 20 NCAC 02M .0303* 36:23 NCR
Amount of Benefit Payable 20 NCAC 02M .0304 36:23 NCR
Payment of Interest on Benefit 20 NCAC 02M .0305* 36:23 NCR
Benefits Payable after Cancellation 20 NCAC 02M .0307 36:23 NCR
LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL EMPLOYEES' RETIREMENT SYSTEM BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Office of The Director 20 NCAC 02N .0106* 36:23 NCR
Divisional Rules 20 NCAC 02N .0108* 36:23 NCR
Applying for Membership 20 NCAC 02N .0208* 36:23 NCR
Military Service 20 NCAC 02N .0215* 36:23 NCR
Retirement Benefits 20 NCAC 02N .0218 36:23 NCR
Refunds of Deceased Members' Payments 20 NCAC 02N .0219* 36:23 NCR
ELECTRICAL CONTRACTORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF

Reqguirements for All Examination Applicants 21 NCAC 18B .0201 37:05 NCR
Alternative Examination 21 NCAC 18B .0213 37:05 NCR
Bidding Projects Pursuant to G.S. 87-1.1 21 NCAC 18B .0308* 37:05 NCR
OPTOMETRY, BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN

Approved Schools of Optometry 21 NCAC 42B .0101* 37:09 NCR
Failure to Meet Continuing Education Requirement 21 NCAC 42B .0303* 37:09 NCR
Definitions 21 NCAC 42D .0101 37:09 NCR
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Function
Definitions
Termination

PHARMACY, BOARD OF
COVID-19 Drug Preservation Rule

PLUMBING, HEATING AND FIRE SPRINKLER CONTRACTORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF

Use of License

Proposal, Bid, Estimate, Performance Under G.S. 87-1.1
Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractor License
Examination Fees

ENGINEERS AND SURVEYORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR
Disbursement of Funds

Requirements for Licensing

Surveyor Intern

Definitions

Requirements

Units

Determination of Credit

Exemptions

Sponsors

21 NCAC 42D .0102* 37:09 NCR
21 NCAC 42M .0101* 37:09 NCR
21 NCAC 42M .0106* 37:09 NCR
21 NCAC 46 .1819 37:08 NCR
21 NCAC 50 .0403* 37:05 NCR
21 NCAC 50 .0415* 37:05 NCR
21 NCAC 50 .0519* 37:05 NCR
21 NCAC 50 .1101* 37:05 NCR
21 NCAC 56 .0303* 37:04 NCR
21 NCAC 56 .0601* 37:04 NCR
21 NCAC 56 .0608* 37:04 NCR
21 NCAC 56 .1702* 37:04 NCR
21 NCAC 56 .1703* 37:04 NCR
21 NCAC 56 .1704* 37:04 NCR
21 NCAC 56 .1705* 37:04 NCR
21 NCAC 56 .1707 37:04 NCR
21 NCAC 56 .1713* 37:04 NCR

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN
SERVICES

10A NCAC 13F .0904 NUTRITION AND FOOD

SERVICE

(@) Food Procurement and Safety in Adult Care Homes:

(1) Facilities with a licensed capacity of 7 to 12
residents shall ensure food services comply
with Rules Governing the Sanitation of
Residential Care Facilities set forth in 15A
NCAC 18A .1600 which are hereby
incorporated by  reference, including
subsequent amendments, assuring storage,
preparation, and serving food and beverage
under sanitary conditions.

(2) Facilities with a licensed capacity of 13 or more
residents shall ensure food services comply
with Rules Governing the Sanitation of
Hospitals, Nursing Homes, Adult Care Homes
and Other Institutions set forth in 15A NCAC
18A .1300 which are hereby incorporated by
reference, including subsequent amendments,
assuring storage, preparation, and serving of
food and beverage under sanitary conditions.

3) Only meat processed at a USDA-approved
processing plant shall be served.

4) There shall be a three-day supply of perishable
food and a five-day supply of non-perishable
food in the facility based on the menus

)

@

®)

established in Paragraph (c) of this Rule for
both regular and therapeutic diets. For the
purpose of this Rule "perishable food" is food
that is likely to spoil or decay if not kept
refrigerated at 40 degrees Fahrenheit or below,
or frozen at zero degrees Fahrenheit or below
and "non-perishable food" is food that can be
stored at room temperature and is not likely to
spoil or decay within seven days.

(b) Food Preparation and Service in Adult Care Homes:

Table service shall include a napkin and non-
disposable place setting consisting of at least a
knife, fork, spoon, plate, and beverage
containers.

Hot foods shall be served hot and cold foods
shall be served cold as set forth in Rule 15A
NCAC 18A .1620(a) for facilities with a
licensed capacity of 7 to 12 residents and as set
forth in Rule 15A NCAC 18A .1323 Food
Protection in Activity Kitchens, Rehabilitation
Kitchens, and Nourishment Stations for
facilities with a licensed capacity of 13 or more
residents, which are hereby incorporated by
reference, including subsequent amendments.
If residents require feeding assistance, food
shall be maintained at serving temperature until
assistance is provided.

(c) Menus in Adult Care Homes:
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1) Menus shall be prepared at least one week in
advance with serving quantities specified and in
accordance with the daily food requirements in
Paragraph (d) of this Rule.

(2) Menus shall be maintained in the kitchen and
identified as to the current menu day for
guidance of food service staff.

3) Any substitutions made in the menu shall be of
equal nutritional value, in order to maintain the
daily dietary requirements in Subparagraph
(d)(3) of this Rule, appropriate for therapeutic
diets, and documented in records maintained in
the Kitchen to indicate the foods actually served
to residents.

4) Menus shall be planned to take into account the
food preferences of the residents as documented
on the Resident Register.

(5) Menus as served, invoices, and other receipts
for food or beverage purchases shall be
maintained in the facility for 30 days.

(6) Menus for all therapeutic diets shall be planned
or reviewed by a licensed dietitian/nutritionist.
The facility shall maintain verification of the
licensed dietitian/nutritionist's approval of the
therapeutic diets.

@) The facility shall have a matching therapeutic
diet menu for any resident's physician-ordered
therapeutic diet for guidance of food service

staff.
(d) Food Requirements in Adult Care Homes:
1) Each resident shall be served a minimum of

three nutritionally adequate meals based on the
requirements in Subparagraph (d)(3) of this
Rule. Meals shall be served at regular times
comparable to normal meal times in the
community. There shall be at least 10 hours
between the breakfast and evening meals.

(2) Foods and beverages shall be offered in
accordance with each residents' prescribed diet
or made available to all residents as snhacks
between each meal for a total of three snacks
per day and shown on the menu as snacks.

3) Daily menus for regular diets shall be based on
the U.S. Department of Agriculture Dietary
guidelines for Americans 2020-2025, which are
hereby incorporated by reference including
subsequent amendments and editions. These
guidelines can be found at
https://dietaryguidelines.gov/sites/default/files/
2021-03/Dietary_Guidelines_for_Americans-
2020-2025.pdf for no cost.

4) Water shall be served to each resident at each
meal, in addition to other beverages.

(e) Therapeutic Diets in Adult Care Homes:

1) All therapeutic diet orders including thickened
liquids shall be in writing from the resident's
physician. Where applicable, the therapeutic
diet order shall be specific to calorie, gram, or
consistency, such as for calorie-controlled

ADA diets, low sodium diets, or thickened
liquids, unless there are written orders that
include the definition of any therapeutic diet
identified in the facility's therapeutic menu
approved by a licensed dietitian/nutritionist.
For the purpose of this Rule "therapeutic diet"
is a diet ordered by a physician, physician
assistant, nurse practitioner, or a licensed
dietician/nutritionist as delegated by the
physician that is part of the treatment for a
disease or clinical condition, to eliminate,
decrease, or increase certain substances in the
diet (e.g., sodium or potassium), or to provide
mechanically altered food when indicated.

2 Physician orders for nutritional supplements
shall be in writing from the resident's physician
and be brand-specific, unless the facility has
defined a house supplement in its
communication to the physician, and shall
specify quantity and frequency.

©) The facility shall maintain a current listing of
residents with physician-ordered therapeutic
diets for guidance of food service staff.

4) All therapeutic diets, including nutritional
supplements and thickened liquids, shall be
served as ordered by the resident's physician.

(f) Individual Feeding Assistance in Adult Care Homes:

1) The facility shall provide staff for individual
feeding assistance in accordance to residents'
needs.

2) Residents needing help in eating shall be
assisted upon receipt of the meal and the
assistance shall be unhurried and in a manner
that maintains or enhances each resident's
dignity and respect.

(g) Variations from the required three meals or time intervals
between meals to meet individualized needs or preferences of
residents shall be documented in the resident's record. Each
resident shall receive three meals in accordance with resident
preferences as documented in the resident's record.

History Note:
4.4; 143B-165;
Eff. January 1, 1977;

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977;
Amended Eff. April 1, 1984;

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2003;
Amended Eff. June 1, 2004;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 131D-2.1(4); 131D-2.16; 131D-

10A NCAC 13G .0904 NUTRITION AND FOOD

SERVICE
(a) Food Procurement and Safety in Family Care Homes:
1) Food services shall comply with Rules

Governing the Sanitation of Residential Care
Facilities set forth in 15A NCAC 18A .1600
which are hereby incorporated by reference,
including subsequent amendments, assuring
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)
3)

storage, preparation, and serving food under
sanitary conditions.

Only meat processed at a USDA-approved
processing plant shall be served.

There shall be a three-day supply of perishable
food and a five-day supply of non-perishable
food in the facility based on the menus
established in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, for
both regular and therapeutic diets. For the
purpose of this Rule "perishable food" is food
that is likely to spoil or decay if not kept
refrigerated at 40 degrees Fahrenheit or below,
or frozen at zero degrees Fahrenheit or below
and "non-perishable food" is food that can be
stored at room temperature and is not likely to
spoil or decay within seven days.

(b) Food Preparation and Service in Family Care Homes:

1)

)

®3)

Table service shall include a napkin and non-
disposable place setting consisting of a knife,
fork, spoon, plate, and beverage containers.
Hot foods shall be served hot and cold foods
shall be served cold as set forth in Rule 15A
NCAC 18A .1620(a) which is hereby
incorporated by  reference, including
subsequent amendments.

If residents require feeding assistance, food
shall be maintained at serving temperature until
assistance is provided.

(c) Menus in Family Care Homes:

(1)

)

©)

(4)

()

(6)

()

Menus shall be prepared at least one week in
advance with serving quantities specified and in
accordance with the daily food requirements in
Paragraph (d) of this Rule.

Menus shall be maintained in the kitchen and
identified as to the current menu day for
guidance of food service staff.

Any substitutions made in the menu shall be of
equal nutritional value, in order to maintain the
daily dietary requirements in Subparagraph
(d)(3) of this Rule, appropriate for therapeutic
diets, and documented in records maintained in
the kitchen to indicate the foods actually served
to residents.

Menus shall be planned to take into account the
food preferences of the residents as documented
on the Resident Register.

Menus as served, invoices, and other receipts
for food or beverage purchases shall be
maintained in the facility for 30 days.

Menus for all therapeutic diets shall be planned
or reviewed by a licensed dietitian/nutritionist.
The facility shall maintain verification of the
licensed dietitian/nutritionist's approval of the
therapeutic diets.

The facility shall have a matching therapeutic
diet menu for any resident's physician-ordered
therapeutic diet for guidance of food service
staff.

(d) Food Requirements in Family Care Homes:

M

@

@)

(4)

Each resident shall be served a minimum of
three nutritionally adequate meals based on the
requirements in Subparagraph (d)(3) of this
Rule. Meals shall be served at regular times
comparable to normal meal times in the
community. There shall be at least 10 hours
between the breakfast and evening meals.
Foods and beverages shall be offered in
accordance with each residents' prescribed diet
or made available to all residents as snacks
between each meal for a total of three snacks
per day and shown on the menu as snacks.
Daily menus for regular diets shall be based on
the U.S. Department of Agriculture Dietary
Guidelines for Americans 2020-2025, which
are hereby incorporated by reference, including
subsequent amendments and editions. These
guidelines can be found at
https://dietaryguidelines.gov/sites/default/files/
2021-03/Dietary_Guidelines_for_Americans-
2020-2025.pdf, at no cost.

Water shall be served to each resident at each
meal, in addition to other beverages.

(e) Therapeutic Diets in Family Care Homes:

)

)

®)

(4)

All therapeutic diet orders including thickened
liquids shall be in writing from the resident's
physician. Where applicable, the therapeutic
diet order shall be specific to calorie, gram, or
consistency, such as for calorie-controlled
ADA diets, low sodium diets, or thickened
liquids, unless there are written orders that
include the definition of any therapeutic diet
identified in the facility's therapeutic menu
approved by a licensed dietitian/nutritionist.
For the purpose of this Rule "therapeutic diet"”
is a diet ordered by a physician, physician
assistant, nurse practitioner, or a licensed
dietician/nutritionist as delegated by the
physician that is part of the treatment for a
disease or clinical condition, to eliminate,
decrease, or increase certain substances in the
diet (e.g., sodium or potassium), or to provide
mechanically altered food when indicated.
Physician orders for nutritional supplements
shall be in writing from the resident's physician
and be brand-specific, unless the facility has
defined a house supplement in its
communication to the physician, and shall
specify quantity and frequency.

The facility shall maintain a current listing of
residents with physician-ordered therapeutic
diets for guidance of food service staff.

All therapeutic diets, including nutritional
supplements and thickened liquids, shall be
served as ordered by the resident's physician.

(f) Individual Feeding Assistance in Family Care Homes:

)

The facility shall provide staff for individual
feeding assistance as in accordance with
residents' needs.

37:19

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

APRIL 3, 2023

1961



APPROVED RULES

)

History Note:

Residents needing help in eating shall be
assisted upon receipt of the meal and the
assistance shall be unhurried and in a manner
that maintains or enhances each resident's

dignity and respect.

(9) Variations from the required three meals or time intervals
between meals to meet individualized needs or preferences of
residents shall be documented in the resident's record. Each
resident shall receive three meals in accordance with resident
preferences as documented in the resident's record.

Authority G.S. 131D-2.1(4); 131D-2.16; 131D-

4.4; 143B-165;

Eff. January 1, 1977;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1977; April 22, 1977;
Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977;
Amended Eff. August 3, 1992; July 1, 1990; September 1, 1987;

April 1, 1987,

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2003;
Amended Eff. June 1, 2004;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

TITLE 13- DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

13NCAC 18
13 NCAC 18
13 NCAC 18
13 NCAC 18
13 NCAC 18
13 NCAC 18
13 NCAC 18
13 NCAC 18
13NCAC 18
SERVICES

13NCAC 18

History Note:

Eff. January 1, 1996;

.0101
.0102
.0103
.0104
.0105
.0106
.0107
.0108
.0109

.0110

INTRODUCTION
DEFINITIONS

LICENSING PROCEDURES
SURETY BONDS

CONTRACTS

RECORDS

ADVERTISING

PROHIBITED ACTS

REVIEW OF JOB LISTING

PENALTY

Authority G.S. 95-47.4; 95-47.9; 95-47.19; 95-
47.21; 95-47.22; 95-47.23; 95-47.24; 95-47.25; 95-47.26; 95-
47.29; 95-47.30; 95-47.31;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. July 22,

2018;

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2023.

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL

15A NCAC 02E .0401

QUALITY

PURPOSE

The purpose of the rules in this Section is to implement the
provisions of G.S. 143-215.22L..

History Note:

Eff. September 1, 1994;

Authority G.S. 143-215.22L; 143B-282(a)(2);

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

15A NCAC 02E .0402

DEFINITIONS

The following definitions apply to this Section.

M

@
@)
(4)
®)

(6)

Y]

®)

©)

"Co-applicant" means an entity other than the
primary applicant identified on an Interbasin
Transfer Certificate, issued after 30 June 1993,
as being eligible to send or receive transferred
water, often purchased from the primary
applicant. A co-applicant is subject to all the
terms, conditions, limitations, benefits, and
entitlements applicable to the primary
applicant.

"Commission" means the

Management Commission.

"Department” means the North Carolina

Department of Environmental Quality.

"Division" means the Division of Water

Resources.

"Emergency transfer" means a temporary

transfer of surface water meeting the

requirements of, and satisfying water demand
needs, defined in G.S. 143-215.22L(q), for
situations in which the public health, safety, or
welfare requires a transfer of water between

river basins as defined in G.S. 143-

215.22G(1b).

"Interbasin Transfer Certificate” or "IBT

Certificate" means an authorization issued by

the Commission to transfer up to a specified

amount of water between two river basins as
defined in G.S. 143-215.22G(1b).

"Large community water system" means a

community water system, as defined in G.S.

130A-313(10), that regularly serves 1,000 or

more service connections or 3,000 or more
individuals.

"Major river basin" means the combination of

the river basins, as defined in G.S .143-

215.22G(1b), sharing the numerical digits

preceding the hyphen.

"Preexisting transfer capacity" means the

existing water system transfer capacity prior to

1 July 1993, as defined in G.S. 143-215.22L (b).

The transfer capacity of a water system is

limited by its most restrictive system element:

potable water capacity, maximum transfer
capacity of distribution system, or discharge
capacity in receiving basin.

(@) Potable water (treatment and/or
purchase) capacity is the sum of all
surface water inputs to the system,
including water treatment plant
capacity and regular surface water
contracts.

(b) Maximum transfer capacity of the
distribution network is the calculation
of the physical ability of the
distribution system to transmit water
across a basin boundary, based on pipe
sizing or pump systems.

Environmental
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(© Discharge capacity in the receiving
basin is a combination of wastewater
discharges and consumptive losses.

(10) "Primary applicant" means the entity who owns

an existing or planned water line used to
transmit raw or finished water from one river
basin to another, as defined in G.S. 143-
215.22G(1b). For water systems that involve
crossing multiple river basin boundaries, the
primary applicant represents the transfer pipe
owner where the first river basin boundary
crossing occurs.

History Note:  Authority G.S 143-215.22L; 143B-282(a)(2);
Eff. September 1, 1994;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

15ANCAC 02E .0403  APPLICABILITY

(@) The amount of a transfer shall be calculated as a net total,
determined by the amount of surface water moved from the source
river basin to the receiving basin, minus any water returned to the
source river basin.

(b) Notwithstanding the definition of "river basin" in G.S. 143-
215.22G, the following are not transfers that require issuance of
an IBT Certificate:

@ The discharge point is situated upstream of the
withdrawal point such that the water discharged
will naturally flow past the withdrawal point.

(2) The discharge point is situated downstream of
the withdrawal point such that water flowing
past the withdrawal point will naturally flow
past the discharge point.

3 The withdrawal and discharge points are
located in the same water impoundment.

(c) The withdrawal of surface water from one river basin by one
entity and the transmission of all or any part of this water between
river basins by one or more entities, resulting in a discharge to
another river basin, shall be considered a transfer. The entity
owning the pipe or other conveyance that carries the surface water
across the basin boundary shall be responsible for obtaining an
IBT Certificate from the Commission. Another entity involved in
the transfer may assume responsibility for obtaining the IBT
Certificate, with approval by the Department.

(d) The full capacity of a facility to transfer water shall be
determined by the facility's potable water treatment capacity,
maximum transfer capacity of distribution system, or discharge
capacity in the receiving basin, limited by the element of this
system with the least capacity as existing or under construction on
1 July 1993. Existing conveyances and infrastructure for basin
transfers in place before 1 July 1993 are deemed a preexisting
transfer capacity per G.S. 143-215.22L (b).

(e) To calculate a preexisting transfer capacity the applicant shall
provide data regarding the movement of water within and outside
of the water system distribution system. The applicant shall
provide to the Department a current and projected water balance
that includes:

(1) the total withdrawal from the surface water
source;
(2) the treatment capacities;

?3) the consumptive losses, meaning water
withdrawn from a stream, reservoir, river, or
other surface water source for any use which is
not directly returned to a waterbody, for both
the source and receiving river basins;

4 the treated wastewater discharges in both the
source and receiving river basins;

(5) the total return to the source river basin; and

(6) the total surface water transfer.

The applicant shall provide this information for the current or
baseline year and projected data for a minimum of 30-years into
the future in no less than 10-year intervals. Water balances are to
be conducted on an annual average day basis and a maximum-
month average day basis. The applicant may use the Preexisting
Transfer Capacity Worksheet as a guide to complete the required
information to help calculate and document a system's transfer
capacity. A copy of the Preexisting Transfer Capacity Worksheet
can be obtained free of charge from the Water Supply Planning
Branch, located in the Archdale Building at 512 N. Salisbury
Street, Raleigh, NC 27604.

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.22L; 143B-282(a)(2);
Eff. March 1, 2023.

15A NCAC 02E .0404 NOTIFICATION

(@) As used in G.S. 143-215.22L(c)(3)(c), notification of the
"governing body of any public water system" refers to public
water systems that use surface water as their source rather than
groundwater. The governing body may be located in a state
adjoining North Carolina that is located in whole or in part of the
surface drainage basin area of the source river basin.

(b) Notice shall be provided to all persons who hold a National
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) wastewater
discharge permit for 100,000 gallons per day or more for a
discharge located within the area denoted by one of the eight-digit
cataloging units listed in G.S. 143-215.22L(c)(2)(b) in which the
withdrawal or discharge will occur.

(c) Comments submitted pursuant to G.S. 143-215.22L(c), (e),
and (j) that are received after the 30-calendar day comment period
shall not be considered in making determinations unless the
Department extends the comment period.

(d) Notification is to be printed in a single newspaper of general
circulation, as defined in G.S. 1-597, for each county in which
notification is required as defined in G.S. 143-215.22L(c)(2)(b).

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.22L; 143B-282(a)(2);
Eff. March 1, 2023.

15A NCAC 02E .0405
DOCUMENTS

(a) An evaluation of beneficial and adverse impacts pursuant to
G.S. 143-215.22L(d) shall include, but not be limited to, the
results of an approved basinwide hydrologic model specified in
G.S. 143-355(0), if available. The Applicant is responsible for any
necessary model modifications, scenario development, and
analysis of results. All model modifications and scenarios must be
approved by the Department. All basinwide models used and the
corresponding modeling results shall be made publicly available.

ENVIRONMENTAL

37:19

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

APRIL 3, 2023

1963



APPROVED RULES

(b) For purposes of this Rule, an alternative is considered
economically infeasible if the demonstrated financial costs exceed
the applicants' ability to cover the cost of the alternative over the
span of the planning horizon.

() The required environmental document shall include
projections of future water supply, transfers, and demands with a
planning horizon of at least 30-years. The baseline year for the
planning horizon shall be determined based on project-specific
considerations, including the applicant's proposed baseline year,
the timing of the submission of the environmental documents
required by G.S. 143-215.22L(d), the applicant's demonstrated
current and projected water demand, and any other project-
specific considerations related to the needs of the requested
transfer. Projections shall be conducted on 10-year increments, at
a minimum.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-215.22L; 143B-282(a)(2);
Eff. March 1, 2023.

15A NCAC 02E .0406  PETITION

() Pursuantto G.S. 143-215.22L.(g)(7), the petition shall include
an evaluation of impacts to reservoir water levels that take into
consideration the purposes for which the reservoir was
constructed, and any mandatory management activities required
to maintain the reservoir per any binding agreements between two
or more parties related to such purposes.

(b) Reasonably foreseeable future water supply needs shall mean
the projected water transfers necessary to meet demands for not
less than 30-years from the year in which the Notice of Intent is
filed in compliance with G.S. 143-215.22L (c).

(c) Unless already approved by the Division, an updated local
water supply plan meeting the requirements set forth in G.S. 143-
355(1) for the previous full calendar year shall be submitted to the
Division for review and approval. Once approved, the plan shall
be adopted by the local government or large community water
system governing board.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-215.22L; 143B-282(a)(2);
Eff. March 1, 2023.

15A NCAC 02E .0407 SETTLEMENT/MEDIATION

The Commission may appoint a mediation officer to initiate
settlement discussions. The mediation officer shall follow the
most recent guidance or mediation and settlement procedures
approved by the Commission.

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.22L; 143B-282(a)(2);
Eff. March 1, 2023.

15A NCAC 02E .0408 FINAL DETERMINATION

(@) The water conservation plan shall meet all the requirements
of G.S. 143-215.22L(n)(1). Any proposed ordinances, initiatives,
or programs shall be approved by the unit of local government
within 90 calendar days of issuance of the IBT Certificate to
document the water conservation efforts. Consistent with the
requirements contained in G.S. 143-215.22L (n)(1) an applicant
shall demonstrate, through its water conservation plan, that its
existing or proposed water conservation measures are equal to or
exceed the most stringent water conservation plan implemented

by any public water system in the source basin. The required
demonstration shall be based on the existing water conservation
measures implemented by each of the public water supply systems
that withdraw from the source river basin. The water conservation
plan is subject to approval by the Department.

(b) Examples of metrics for supply-side water conservation
measures may include:

1) regularly conducted water system water audits,
where the schedule and methodology used are
outlined;

2 a flushing optimization plan and accounting of
use by a fire department;

?3) a leak detection program where the repair
program abilities are described;

(@) storage tank level and pressure management;

(5) water meter replacement;

(6) metering testing schedule;

@) a plan to identify failing meters; and

8) details of any existing water reuse programs.

(c) Examples of metrics for demand-side water conservation
measures may include:

(8] a tiered-rate pricing structure that incentivizes
and promotes customer conservation;

2 public outreach and education programs;

©) encouraging all households to conduct simple

water audits to improve individual water
conservation and efficiency measures;

(@) the use of irrigation controls, including
schedule restrictions, a ban on watering
impervious surfaces, a separate conservation
rate pricing structure;

5) encourage the use of mulch, and the use of
drought tolerant plants and grass species;
(6) the use of water conservation irrigation devices

including rain or soil moisture sensors, rain
barrels, or cisterns to collect rainwater for
outdoor irrigation;

) registration of, and accounting for, pre-
arranged (bulk) potable water usage sales;
8) separate meters for outdoor irrigation; and

(C)] encouraging the replacement of older,
inefficient water fixtures with more water-
efficient fixtures and devices.

(d) Pursuant to G.S. 143-215.22L(n)(7), the certificate shall
include all current and anticipated applicants and co-applicants.
To be eligible to receive transferred water under a certificate, any
public water system not listed as the primary applicant on a
certificate but is anticipated to receive transferred water made
available through a certificate at any time, present or future, shall
be identified as a co-applicant on the certificate. All water systems
beyond the applicant, that serve customers or sell transferred
water in the receiving basin, shall be listed as co-applicants in the
petition document. This shall include any projected water sales
that are anticipated to occur during the planning period identified
in the petition. A modification to the certificate shall be necessary
for sales to entities not listed on the certificate.

(e) Pursuant to G.S. 143-215.22L(n)(7), water sales to water
systems or wholesale customers not listed as co-applicants in
receiving basins, or are not listed in a modification, shall be
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considered a violation of the terms of the certificate and could
result in the Commission rescinding the certificate. Allowable
emergency transfers as outlined in Rule .0409 of this Section are
not subject to this Paragraph.

(f) Asusedin G.S. 143-215.22L (m), detriment means harmful or
damaging conditions not caused by a natural condition where an
entity with a Department approved water use cannot carry out the
beneficial uses for which the water use was granted.

(@) As used in G.S. 143-215.22L (k) and G.S. 143-215.22L(n),
detrimental effects means harmful or damaging effects to the
water quality, water quantity, fish and wildlife habitat, wastewater
assimilation, navigation, electric power generation, public water
supplies, and other industrial, economic, recreational, or
agricultural water supply needs within either the source or
receiving river basins due to the proposed water transfer.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-215.22L; 143B-282(a)(2);
Eff. March 1, 2023.

15A NCAC 02E .0409 EMERGENCY TRANSFERS
(@) Pursuant to G.S. 143-215.22L(q), an emergency transfer of
water may be requested in situations resulting from water supply
problems caused by a water quality incident, temporary failure of
a water plant or infrastructure, or any other temporary condition
in which the public health, safety, or welfare requires the transfer
of water. With the understanding that these proposed actions are
occurring under emergency situations, the Secretary shall make
reasonable attempts to consult with parties described in G.S. 143-
215.22L(3)(c) prior to making a determination. Emergency
transfers shall not take the place of, or be issued in lieu of, a
permanent or modified transfer certificate. Per G.S. 143-
215.221.(q), as a condition of the transfer, the applicant shall
demonstrate and convey to the Department that the amount of
water transferred shall be minimized through water efficiency
measures for the duration of the transfer.
(b) When possible, a request for an emergency transfer shall be
submitted to the Department prior to the transfer, such as in the
case of drought, plant maintenance, or other planned or
foreseeable activities. Prior to starting the emergency transfer, the
applicant shall submit a request to the Department for Secretary
approval, either in writing or electronically, which shall include:
(1) the nature or circumstances of the event that is
prompting the transfer request;
2 the affected river basins between which the
requested emergency transfer would occur;
3 the estimated quantity of water to be
transferred; and
(@) the anticipated duration of the requested
emergency transfer.
No water shall be transferred prior to Secretary approval.
(c) Where an unplanned situation necessitates a transfer of water
and a request cannot be made to the Secretary prior to the transfer
event, the applicant, within 72 hours of the start of the transfer,
shall provide to the Department the information in Subparagraphs
(b)(1) through (b)(4) of this Rule. Provided conditions of this
Paragraph are met, the Secretary shall consider the emergency
transfer approved.
(d) With any emergency transfer approval, the applicant shall,
within 60 calendar days from the end of the transfer period, submit

to the Department a summary report detailing the transfer event.
The report shall include, to the extent possible, updated
information required in Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (b)(4) of
this Rule based on the actual event.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-215.22L; 143B-282(a)(2);
Eff. March 1, 2023.

sk ock sk sk ok sk ok ok ok ok sk ok sk sk sk sk sk sk ok ok

15A NCAC 071 .0508  CONSIDERATION OF
APPLICATION BY LOCAL PERMIT OFFICER

(@) The method of consideration of minor development permit
requests by the local permit officer shall be uniform in application
and shall be set out in writing and available for public inspection.
The Local Permit Officer (LPO) shall use only forms approved by
the Coastal Resources Commission in handling of any minor
development permit application.

(b) The local implementation and enforcement plan shall specify
the procedures which will be followed in the handling and
consideration of all applications for a minor development permit,
including response to receipt of an application for a major
development permit.

(c) The LPO shall maintain a record of all applications,
correspondence, public notices, responses from public notices,
and a copy of the final disposition for all permit applications
whether issued or denied.

(d) The LPO, in handling of all minor development permit
applications, shall use a numbering system developed by the
Coastal Resources Commission in consultation with local
government.

(e) The local government implementation and enforcement plan
submitted to the Commission shall state how the local government
will coordinate its review of minor development permits with all
other local permits and approvals.

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-117(c);
Eff. November 1, 1984;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

15A NCAC 071 .0511 COMMITMENT TO ADOPT
LOCAL MANAGEMENT PLAN AS ORDINANCE

In order for the Commission to approve a local implementation
and enforcement program the local governing body shall enter
into a commitment to accept the local management plan as part of
the city or county code of ordinances within a three-month period.

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-111; 113A-117(c);
Eff. November 1, 1984;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

15A NCAC 07M .1102 POLICY STATEMENTS

(a) Clean, beach quality material that meets the criteria set forth
in Rule 15A NCAC 07H .0312 dredged from navigation channels
within the active nearshore or ocean beach as defined in 15A
NCAC 07H .0305 or inlet hazard area as defined in 15A NCAC
07H .0304(2) shall not be removed permanently from the active
nearshore, beach or inlet hazard area unless the Director of the
Division of Coastal Management determines that no practicable
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alternative exists pursuant to the criteria in G.S. 113A-120(a)(9).
Preferably, this dredged material will be disposed of on the ocean
beach or shallow active nearshore area where environmentally
acceptable and compatible with other uses of the beach.

(b) The Division of Coastal Management shall grant proposals
for the use of dredged material in disposal sites not privately
owned shall be available by anyone proposing placement in or on
the active nearshore, ocean beach, or inlet hazard area in a manner
not inconsistent with Paragraph (a) of this Rule based on the
availability of dredged material, priority of the requests, and
consideration of the criteria in G.S. 113A-120(a).

History Note:
229;
Eff. October 1, 1992;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-118(f); 113-

sk osk sk sk sk sk sk sk sk sk ok ok ok ok ok ok ok sk sk sk

15A NCAC 10F .0201 SAFETY EQUIPMENT

(&) All vessels subject to the rules of this Section shall meet the
vessel equipment requirements set forth in G.S. 75A-6(n), 46 CFR
25, and 33 CFR 175. 46 CFR 25 and 33 CFR 175 are incorporated
by reference, including subsequent amendments and editions, and
can be found free of charge online at www.ecfr.gov.
Notwithstanding the federal regulations incorporated in this
Paragraph, Paragraphs (b) through (g) shall apply to vessels

© in an enclosed cabin.
This Subparagraph shall not apply to a vessel
that is registered as a commercial vessel.

4 No person shall operate a vessel unless each
required PFD is:
(A) in a condition allowing it to work as
intended;

(B) of appropriate size and fit for the
intended wearer;

© U.S. Coast Guard approved; and

(D) legibly marked with its approval
number, as specified in 46 CFR 25
Uninspected Vessels, Requirements,
and 33 CFR 175 Personal Flotation
Devices.

(5) Exemptions shall apply as follows:

(A) Canoes and kayaks 16 feet in length
and over shall be exempted from the
requirements for carriage of the
additional U.S. Coast Guard approved
throwable PFD as specified in
Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule.

(B) Sailboards, surfboards, tubes,
swimming rafts, inflatable toys, and
similar devices used as water toys or
swimming aids shall be exempted
from the requirements for carriage of

operating in State waters. To the extent these vessel equipment any PFD required under this
requirements conflict with the incorporated federal regulations, Paragraph.
federal regulations shall supersede any and all State laws or © Manually propelled vessels such as
regulations. racing shells, rowing sculls, racing
(b) Personal flotation devices (PFDs) shall be required as follows: canoes, and racing kayaks that are
@ No person may operate a vessel unless, for each recognized by  national and
person on the vessel, at least one U.S. Coast international racing associations for
Guard approved wearable PFD as defined in 33 use in competitive racing, that are not
CFR 175.13 is on board and readily accessible. designed to carry any equipment not
Any U.S. Coast Guard approved wearable PFD solely for competitive racing, and in
may be carried to meet the requirement, which all occupants with the with
provided: exception of a coxswain, if one is
(A) the approved label for the PFD present, row, scull, or paddle, shall be
indicates that the device is approved exempted from the requirements for
for the activity for which the vessel is carriage of any type PFD required
being used; or under this Paragraph.

(B) the PFD is used in accordance with the (¢) U.S. Coast Guard marine approved and labeled fire
requirements on the approval label and extinguishers shall be required as follows:
with the requirements in its owner's (8] All motorboats shall carry at least the minimum
manual. number of U.S. Coast Guard approved hand

2 No person shall operate a vessel 16 feet or more portable fire extinguishers specified in this Rule
in length unless one U.S. Coast Guard approved if:
throwable PFD as defined in 33 CFR 175.13 is (A) the motorboat has closed
on board and, readily accessible, in addition to compartments under thwarts and seats
the total number of PFDs required in in which portable fuel tanks may be
Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph. stored;

3) No person shall operate a vessel while the (B) the motorboat has double bottoms that
vessel is underway with any child under 13 are not sealed to the hull or that are not
years old aboard unless each child is: completely filled with flotation
(A) wearing an appropriate PFD approved material;

by the U.S. Coast Guard,; © the motorboat has closed living
(B) below decks; or spaces;
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(D) the motorboat has closed stowage
compartments in which combustible
or flammable materials are stowed;

(E) the motorboat has permanently
installed fuel tanks; or

(F) the motorboat is Class 2 or longer.

(2) Class A and Class 1 Motorboats less than 26
feet in length shall carry one Type B-I
extinguisher.

3) Class 2 Motorboats shall carry two Type B-I
extinguishers.

4) Class 3 Motorboats shall carry three Type B-I
extinguishers.

(5) One Type B-11 hand held fire extinguisher may
be substituted for two B-I hand portable fire
extinguishers. A fixed fire extinguishing
system installed in the engine compartment
shall be deemed equal to one Type B-I hand
portable fire extinguisher.

Open Vessels. Vessels less than 26 feet in length, propelled by
outboard motors and not carrying passengers for hire, shall not be
required to carry portable fire extinguishers if the construction of
the vessels will not permit the entrapment of explosive or
flammable gases or vapors.

(d) Every engine, except outboard motors, using gasoline as fuel
and installed in a vessel shall be equipped with an acceptable
means of backfire flame control that meets the requirements of 46
CFR 25 and 33 CFR 175.

(e) Every vessel, except open vessels using liquid of a volatile
nature, including gasoline or diesel, as fuel, shall be equipped with
an operable ventilation system as required by 33 CFR 175.201 and
to remove any explosive or flammable gases from the bilges of
the engine and fuel tank compartments that meets the
requirements of 46 CFR 25 and 33 CFR 175.

(f) Sound devices shall be required as follows:

(D) Vessels less than 12 meters or 39.4 feet in
length shall be equipped with some means of
making an audible sound signal; and

(2) Vessels equal to or greater than 12 meters or
39.4 feet in length shall be equipped with a
whistle and a bell that comply with 33 USC
2033.

(g) Lights. The lights prescribed by this Paragraph shall be
exhibited from sunset to sunrise and in fog, mist, falling snow,
heavy rainstorms, sandstorms, or any other similar circumstances
of restricted visibility. They may be exhibited in all other
circumstances when deemed necessary by the operator of the
vessel. During such times no other lights shall be exhibited, except
those that cannot be mistaken for the required navigation lights,
which impair their visibility or distinctive character, or interfere
with keeping a proper lookout as defined in 33 CFR 83.20(b).
Lights shall be required as follows:

1) Vessels, other than those vessels described in
Subparagraphs (g)(3)-(7) of this Rule, equal to
or greater than 12 meters or 39.4 feet but less
than 20 meters or 65.6 feet in length shall
exhibit:

(A) a masthead light forward visible for
three miles;

(B) sidelights, green to starboard and red
to port, visible for two miles; and

© a stern light visible for two miles.

2 Vessels, other than those vessels described in
Subparagraphs (9)(3)-(7) of this Rule, less than
12 meters or 39.4 feet in length shall exhibit:
(A) an all-round white light visible for two

miles; and

(B) sidelights, green to starboard and red
to port, visible for 1 mile.

?3) Sailing vessels underway that are seven meters
or 23 feet in length or greater shall exhibit:

(A) a stern light visible for two miles; and

(B) sidelights, green to starboard and red
to port, visible for two miles.

4 In a sailing vessel less than 20 meters or 65.6
feet in length, the lights prescribed in
Subparagraph (3) of this Paragraph may be
combined in one lantern carried at or near the
top of the mast where it can be best seen.

5) A sailing vessel of less than seven meters or 23
feet in length shall, if practicable, exhibit the
lights prescribed in Subparagraph (3) or (4) of
this Paragraph; if not practicable the vessel
shall have ready at hand an electric torch or
lighted lantern showing a white light that shall
be exhibited in sufficient time to prevent a
collision.

(6) A vessel under oars shall either:

(A) exhibit the lights prescribed in
Subparagraph (g)(5) of this Rule for
sailing vessels; or

(B) have an electric torch or lighted
lantern showing a white light readily
available to be exhibited in sufficient
time to prevent a collision.

@) On public waters not subject to the jurisdiction
of the United States, vessels propelled by
machinery of 10 horsepower or less, in lieu of
the foregoing requirements in this Paragraph,
may carry from one-half hour after sunset to
one-half hour before sunrise a white light in the
stern or have on board a hand flashlight in good
working condition which shall be ready at hand
and shall be temporarily displayed in sufficient
time to prevent collision. This Subparagraph
shall not apply to vessels in waters of this State
that are subject to the jurisdiction of the United
States.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-6; 113-307;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. November 1, 2013; April 1, 2009; March 1, 2008;
April 1, 1999; August 1, 1988; May 1, 1976;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023; November 1, 2018.
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TITLE 20 - DEPARTMENT OF STATE TREASURER

20 NCAC 02A .0101 ORGANIZATION: AUTHORITY
The Retirement Systems Division of the Department of State
Treasurer provides the staffing for the administration of the
following agencies where either the Board of Trustees of the
Teachers' and State Employees' Retirement System or the Board
of Trustees of the Local Governmental Employees' Retirement
System is a rulemaking body. The agencies and the statutory
authority of each are:
1) Teachers' and State Employees' Retirement
System of North Carolina -- G.S. 135, Article
1
2 North  Carolina  Local = Governmental
Employees' Retirement System -- G.S. 128,
Article 3;
3) Legislative Retirement System of North
Carolina -- G.S. 120, Article 1A,
4) Consolidated Judicial Retirement System of
North Carolina -- G.S. 135, Article 4;
(5) Disability Income Plan of
Carolina -- G.S. 135, Article 6;
(6) Firefighters' and Rescue Squad Workers'
Pension Fund -- G.S. 58, Article 86;
@) Register of Deeds' Supplemental
Fund -- G.S. 161, Article 3; and
(8) National Guard Pension Fund — G.S. 127A,
Article 3.

North

Pension

History Note:  Authority G.S. 58-86-10; 120-4.9; 127A-40(f);
128-28(g); 135-6(f); 135-52; 135-102; 161-50.1(b);

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; August 1, 1988; April 1, 1985;
October 1, 1983;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. October 21, 2018;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02A .0102 EXERCISE OF AUTHORITY
History Note:  Authority G.S. 128-28(g); 135-6(f);

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;

Amended Eff. October 29, 1979;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. October 21, 2018;

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02A .0103
TO DIRECTOR

Whenever the statutes under Article 58 of G.S. 86, Article 1A of
G.S. 120, Article 3 of G.S. 127A, Article 3 of G.S. 128, Articles
1, 4, or 6 of G.S. 135, or Article 3 of G.S. 161 specify that the
Board of Trustees will make specific findings in specific matters
relating to specific persons, the Director of the Retirement
Systems Division may make the decisions in accordance with law
and the rules, regulations, and previous decisions of this Board.
Appeals may be made from the decision of the Director under the

DELEGATION OF AUTHORITY

procedures used for contested cases as provided under Section
.0400 of this Subchapter.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 128-28(g); 128-28(h); 135-6(f);
135-6(g); 150B-22;

Eff. September 21, 1977;

Amended Eff. October 29, 1979;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02A .0104
OPTIONS

When an employer elects to participate in an optional element of
a retirement system, the election shall not be considered effective
by the Retirement System unless the employer provides the
Retirement Systems Division with a certified copy of the minutes
of the governing board of the employer and the terms under which
the option is elected do not discriminate in favor of the more
highly compensated employees. The terms "discriminate™ and
"highly compensated employee™ have the same meanings as under
26 CFR of the Internal Revenue Code. The Internal Revenue Code
Title 26 CFR is hereby incorporated by reference, including
subsequent amendments and editions, and is available online, at
no cost, at https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-26/chapter-
I/subchapter-A/part-1?toc=1.

EXERCISE OF EMPLOYER

History Note: Authority G.S. 128-28(g); 135-6(f);
Eff. November 9, 1979;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02A .0201 ESTABLISHMENT OF
PROCEDURAL RIGHTS

The rules in 20 NCAC O01F .0100 establish rule-making
procedures for the Retirement Systems Division of the
Department of State Treasurer.

History Note: Authority G.S. 128-28(g); 135-6(f);

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; October 29, 1979;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. October 21, 2018;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023; September 1, 2019.

20 NCAC 02A .0202 DEFINITIONS

History Note: Authority G.S. 128-28(g); 135-6(f);

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; October 29, 1979;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. October 21, 2018;

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02A .0301 ESTABLISHMENT OF
PROCEDURAL RIGHTS

The rules in 20 NCAC 01F .0200 establish declaratory ruling
procedures for the Retirement Systems Division of the
Department of State Treasurer, with the following exception. All
requests for declaratory rulings from the Retirement Systems
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Division shall be in writing and mailed to the attention of the
Director at the following address:
Director of the Retirement Systems Division
Department of State Treasurer
3200 Atlantic Avenue
Raleigh, North Carolina 27604.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 128-28(g); 135-6(f);
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02A .0302 DEFINITIONS

History Note:  Authority G.S. 128-28(g); 135-6(f);

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. October 21, 2018;

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02A .0303 RECONSIDERATION OF
DECLARATORY RULINGS

History Note:  Authority G.S. 128-28(g); 135-6(f);
Eff. October 29, 1979;
Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02A .0401 ESTABLISHMENT OF
PROCEDURAL RIGHTS
(@) Article 3 of G.S. 150B establishes contested case procedures
for the Retirement Systems Division of the Department of State
Treasurer. All correspondence with the Retirement Systems
Division shall be addressed to:

Director of the Retirement Systems Division

Department of State Treasurer

3200 Atlantic Avenue

Raleigh, North Carolina 27604.
(b) Informal resolution of a dispute as described in G.S. 150B-
22(a) begins when a person calls, writes, or visits the Retirement
Systems Division's Member Services section and describes the
dispute to a representative.
(c) If the dispute is not resolved during this initial contact, the
person may request a review of the Division's decision or action
in writing to the Director of the Retirement Systems Division at
the address in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
(d) The Director of the Retirement Systems Division, or the
Director's designee, shall issue an agency decision in writing,
which shall document the dispute for any contested case under
G.S. 150B-22(b) and serve as the "agency decision" for purposes
of G.S. 150B-23(f).

History Note:
150B-23;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;
Amended Eff. October 1, 1993;

Authority G.S. 128-28(g); 135-6(f); 150B-22;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02A .0503 DUAL

MEMBERSHIP - COMPUTATION OF SERVICE AND
BENEFITS

(a) This Rule applies to any individual case in which the member
had one or more periods of dual membership in those rare cases
which are permitted by law. "Dual membership” means
membership in both the Teachers' and State Employees'
Retirement System and the Local Governmental Employees'
Retirement System, at the same time, by virtue of the same
position.

(b) Eligibility shall be established for the death benefit, survivor's
alternate benefit, service, early or disability retirement, or other
benefits which are based on creditable or membership service for
both systems whenever eligibility is established in either one of
the systems.

(c) A statute permitting transfer of membership and prior service
shall apply only after the period of dual membership, when a
person becomes a member employed fully under a Retirement
System to which the membership and prior service may be
transferred from one or the other of the systems in which the
member had dual membership.

(d) Death benefits for active members shall be allocated pro rata
between systems based on the total compensation paid during the
period when the member was eligible for dual membership.

(e) Other benefits shall be calculated as follows:

1) Compute "Average Final Compensation™ on the
basis of compensation on which the member
would have contributed had the member's
service not been divided between two
retirement systems as a result of dual
membership.

2 Compute creditable service as follows:

(A) the number of months of creditable
service the member earned or acquired
which were based on compensation
for service in only one of the systems;
plus

(B) the total of the fractional months
earned by the member in each of the
systems during periods of dual
membership, where the fractional
month earned during each month of
dual membership is equal to the
compensation reported to the system
divided by the total compensation
reported to all systems.

© The fractional months are to be
computed as follows. First, identify
the total compensation earned by the
member in each of the systems during
periods of dual membership, as
determined in Part (e)(2)(B) of this
Rule. Second, add together the total
compensation earned by the member
in each of the systems during periods
of dual membership, as determined in
Part (€)(2)(B) of this Rule, to produce
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a Grand Total. Third, divide the total
compensation earned by the member
in each of the systems during periods
of dual membership, as determined in
Part (e)(2)(B) of this Rule, by the
Grand Total, as determined in the
previous sentence, to produce a factor,
carried to the fourth decimal place,
known as the Modification Factor, for
each system. Fourth, multiply the total
of the fractional months, as
determined in Part (e)(2)(B) of this
Rule, by the Modification Factor for
each system, as determined in the
previous sentence, to determine the
actual creditable service allowed for
each system during periods of dual
membership.

3) Compute the annual allowance for a member by
multiplying the average final compensation
times the creditable service as computed in
Subparagraphs (1) and (2) of this Paragraph.

(@) Allocate the benefits to be paid from each
system pro rata on share of creditable service in
each system as computed in Subparagraph
(e)(2) of this Rule.

(f) This Rule shall apply to any individual case in which a
member with dual membership commenced retirement with one
Retirement System prior to the original effective date of this Rule,
December 1, 1981, and continued in service under the other
Retirement System. In such cases, the retirement allowance of the
member from the system with which the member first retired shall
be recomputed in accordance with this Rule and paid retroactively
to the original effective date of this Rule.

History Note:
135-18.1(a);
Eff. December 1, 1981;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023; March 1, 1985.

Authority G.S. 128-28(g); 128-34(b); 135-6(f);

20 NCAC 02A .0504 DIRECT DEPOSIT OF
MONTHLY BENEFIT PAYMENTS

(@ This Rule applies to any individual case in which a
beneficiary's monthly benefit was paid via electronic funds
transfer (EFT) or direct deposit when the EFT was suspended by
the Division in error. This Rule does not apply to any individual
case involving a delay by this Division to initiate an EFT or a
change in an existing EFT arrangement requested by a
beneficiary.

(b) The Division shall reimburse non-sufficient fund charges
incurred by a beneficiary due to the suspension in error of an
existing EFT arrangement when the beneficiary was not notified
of the suspension of the arrangement and upon receipt of proof
that the charges were incurred.

(c) Any other bad check service charges or fees imposed by any
financial institution or merchant may be reimbursed at the
discretion of the Division Director upon receipt of proof that the
charges were incurred.

(d) Any reimbursement of non-sufficient fund or bad check
service charges shall be paid from the Pension Accumulation
Fund of the Retirement System in which the beneficiary is in
receipt of a benefit.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 58-86-10; 120-4.9; 127A-40(f);
128-28(g); 135-6(f); 135-52; 135-102(c); 161-50.1(b);

Eff. March 1, 1992;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02A .0505
SERVICE PURCHASES
(@) This Rule applies to the purchase of creditable service
whenever a statutory provision prescribes that the calculation of
the amount payable shall include an administrative fee to be set
by the Board.

(b) An administrative fee in the amount of twenty-five dollars
($25.00) for each payment shall be assessed, as provided by law,
against members at the time of purchase.

ADMINISTRATIVE FEES FOR

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-86-45; 120-4.15; 120-4.16;
128-26; 128-28(g); 135-4; 135-6(f); 135-56;
Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02B .0101 GENERAL INFORMATION
The following is general information about the Teachers' and
State Employees' Retirement System:
1) The Director is the Director of the Retirement
Systems Division;
2) The mailing address and physical address is
Retirement Systems Division, Department of
State Treasurer, 3200 Atlantic Avenue,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27604.

History Note: Authority G.S. 135-6(f);

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. October 21, 2018;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023; September 1, 2019.

20 NCAC 02B .0202
AND ASSUMPTIONS

ACTUARIAL TABLES: RATES

History Note: Authority G.S. 135-6(f); 135-6(m);
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1981;

Repealed Eff March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02B .0210 MEDICAL BOARD

In accordance with the authority contained in G.S. 135-6(k),
membership of the Medical Board consists of five physicians,
with a quorum of three required at meetings approving
applications for disability retirement.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-6(f); 135-6(k);
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.
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20 NCAC 02B .0211
PROGRAM

An individual who is employed by a state university at a rank or
in a position ineligible for participation in the Optional Retirement
Program, as provided by G.S. 135-5.1, and who later is
reclassified to an eligible rank or position shall be permitted to
elect to withdraw from the Teachers' and State Employees'
Retirement System and to begin participation in the Optional
Retirement Program as though the individual were a new
employee.

OPTIONAL RETIREMENT

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-5.1; 135-6(f);
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

20 NCAC 02B .0213 DISABILITY RETIREMENT
ALLOWANCE DEFINED

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-5(1)(3);
Eff. October 29, 1979;
Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02B .0301 DESIGNATION

Any beneficiaries designated, other than the estate of a member
or a trustee named by and acting for the member, must be living
persons at the time the designation is made. If it is desired that the
estate be beneficiary, this should be indicated on the form.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-5(g); 135-5(1); 135-6(f);
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

20 NCAC 02B .0302 PRINCIPAL BENEFICIARY

(a) More than one principal beneficiary may be designated for the
return of accumulated contributions under the provisions of G.S.
135-5(f) to share equally. In the event of the death of any so
designated principal beneficiary for the return of accumulated
contributions, those surviving principal beneficiaries shall share
equally in the total benefits. However, if there is only one living
designated principal beneficiary for the return of accumulated
contributions at the member's death and the member has met all
other requirements under the provisions of G.S. 135-5(m), the
designated principal beneficiary may elect to receive the
alternative benefit under the provisions of G.S. 135-5(m).

(b) More than one principal beneficiary may be designated for
the death benefit of an active member or a retired member under
the provisions of G.S. 135-5(1) to share equally. In the event of
the death of any so designated principal beneficiary for the death
benefit of an active member or retired member, those surviving
principal beneficiaries shall share equally in the total benefits.

(c) More than one principal beneficiary may be designated for the
guaranteed refund under the provisions of G.S. 135-5(g1) to share
equally. In the event of the death of any so designated principal
beneficiary for the guaranteed refund, those surviving principal
beneficiaries shall share equally in the total benefits.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-5(f); 135-5(g); 135-5(g1);
135-5(1); 135-5(m); 135-6(f);
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

20 NCAC 02B .0303 CONTINGENT BENEFICIARY
(@) The following shall apply to designating a contingent
beneficiary for the return of accumulated contributions under the
provisions of G.S. 135-5(f):

1) A principal beneficiary may be designated for
the return of accumulated contributions with the
stipulation that should the principal beneficiary
predecease the member, payment of the amount
due, if any, shall be made to the designated
contingent beneficiary or beneficiaries for the
return of accumulated contributions.

2 If more than one principal beneficiary is
designated for the return of accumulated
contributions, payment of the amount due, if
any, shall be paid to any surviving principal
beneficiaries designated for the return of
accumulated contributions, sharing equally in
the total benefits payable, and shall not be paid
to any contingent beneficiary.

©) It is permissible to designate more than one
contingent beneficiary for the return of
accumulated contributions. Payment of the
amount due, if any, shall be paid to the
surviving contingent beneficiaries designated
for the return of accumulated contributions,
sharing equally in the total benefits, only in the
event that there is no surviving principal
beneficiary designated for the return of
accumulated contributions.

(b) The following shall apply to designating a contingent
beneficiary for the death benefit under the provisions of G.S. 135-
5(1):

(8] A principal beneficiary may be designated for
the death benefit of an active member or retired
member with the stipulation that should the
principal beneficiary predecease the member,
payment of the amount due, if any, shall be
made to the designated contingent beneficiary
or beneficiaries for the death benefit.

2) If more than one principal beneficiary is
designated for the death benefit, payment of the
amount due, if any, shall be paid to any
surviving principal beneficiaries designated for
the death benefit, sharing equally in the total
benefits payable, and shall not be paid to any
contingent beneficiary.

3) It is permissible to designate more than one
contingent beneficiary for the death benefit.
Payment of the amount due, if any, shall be paid
to the surviving contingent beneficiaries
designated for the death benefit, sharing equally
in the total benefits, only in the event that there
is no surviving principal beneficiary designated
for the death benefit.

(c) The following shall apply to designating a contingent
beneficiary for the guaranteed refund under the provisions of G.S.
135-5(g1):
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1) A principal beneficiary may be designated for
the guaranteed refund with the stipulation that
should the principal beneficiary predecease the
member, payment of the amount due, if any,
shall be made to the designated contingent
beneficiary or beneficiaries for the guaranteed
refund.

(2) If more than one principal beneficiary is
designated for the guaranteed refund, payment
of the amount due, if any, shall be paid to any
surviving principal beneficiaries designated for
the guaranteed refund, sharing equally in the
total benefits payable, and shall not be paid to
any contingent beneficiary.

3) It is permissible to designate more than one
contingent beneficiary for the guaranteed
refund. Payment of the amount due, if any, shall
be paid to the surviving contingent beneficiaries
designated for the guaranteed refund, sharing
equally in the total benefits, only in the event
that there is no surviving principal beneficiary
designated for the guaranteed refund.

History Note: Authority G.S. 135-5(f); 135-5(g); 135-5(gl);
135-5(1); 135-6(f);

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

20 NCAC 02B .0304 NO LIVING BENEFICIARY
If no designated beneficiary, whether principal or contingent, is
living at the time of the member's death, payment of the amount
due, if any, will be made to the administrator or executor of the
estate or the collector of funds for the estate of the member.

History Note: Authority G.S. 135-5(g); 135-6(f);
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

20 NCAC 02B .0305
MINOR

(@) Payments to beneficiaries who are minors will be made to an
appointed guardian or to the clerk of superior court in the county
in which the beneficiary resides to the extent that such payment is
authorized by law.

(b) In the event that the appointed guardian or the clerk of
superior court in the county in which the beneficiary resides is
unwilling or unable to accept payment on behalf of the minor
beneficiary payment may be made to a custodian in accordance
with Chapter 33A of the North Carolina General Statutes, entitled
North Carolina Uniform Transfers to Minors Act.

BENEFICIARY WHO IS A

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-5(g); 135-6(f);
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

20 NCAC 02B .0307 CHANGE IN BENEFICIARY

Prior to retirement, the member may, at any time, change any
beneficiaries designated for the return of accumulated
contributions under the provisions of G.S. 135-5(f) or the death

benefit for active members under the provisions of G.S. 135-5(1).
A retired member may, at any time, change any beneficiaries
designated for:

1) The guaranteed refund under the provisions of
G.S. 135-5(g1) until such time as the funds have
been depleted;

) The death benefit for active members under the
provisions of G.S. 135-5(1) provided the change
is submitted within 180 calendar days after the
member's last day of active service; or

?3) The death benefit for retired members under the
provisions of G.S. 135-5(1).

The member shall submit any such change to the Board of
Trustees using the form approved by the Board of Trustees for
designation of the beneficiary for that purpose.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-5(f); 135-5(g); 135-5(g1);
135-5(1); 135-6(f);

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

20 NCAC 02B .0308
BEFORE JULY 1, 1967
In the event of the death of a person who became a member before
July 1, 1967, the return of a member's contributions shall be paid
to such person as the member intended to receive the return of
contributions and whom the member designated as beneficiary for
the death benefit as if the member had designated such person for
the return of contributions if all of the following conditions are
met:

SPECIAL RULE: BENEFICIARY

1) the member had designated one person for the
death benefit at a time when there were separate
forms for designation of beneficiary for return
of contributions and designation of beneficiary
for the death benefit;

2 the person designated as beneficiary for the
death benefit is living at the time of the
member's death;

3 any previously designated beneficiary for the
return of contributions who is living at the time
of the member's death or, if such previously
designated beneficiary dies between the time of
the member's death and the time of
determination of payment of the return of
accumulated contributions, the legatee or
legatees, heirs at law, successors, or assigns of
such beneficiary, waives all claims to or interest
in the return of the member’s contributions;

4) the member did not designate any other person
for the return of contributions after making a
designation of beneficiary for the death benefit;
and

(5) clear and convincing evidence is presented to
the Division showing that the member thought
the member had or intended to have designated
for the return of contributions the same person
whom the member designated as beneficiary for
the death benefit.
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In such cases, the beneficiary shall be entitled to receive the
survivor's alternate benefit pursuant to G.S. 135-5(m) to the same
extent that the beneficiary would have been entitled to receive the
survivor's alternate benefit under G.S. 135-5(m) if the member
had actually designated such beneficiary for the return of
contributions in a duly executed and filed form for the designation
of beneficiary for return of contributions.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-5(f); 135-5(m);135-6(f);
Eff. October 29, 1979;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02B .0401 REFUNDS

(@) The Retirement System will make no refunds of employer
contributions paid into the pension accumulation fund by the
employer in the amount equal to a percentage of the actual
compensation of each member in cases of erroneous employee
deductions except those which are corrected by the employing
unit on a subsequent payroll within the calendar year in which the
errors occur.

(b) Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, an error occurring
in December may be corrected, and the associated employer
contribution be refunded in the form of a credit toward future
required employer contributions, by the employer's submission of
a revised payroll report for the correct amount before January 31
of the following year.

(c) Ifan employer makes an additional contribution to the pension
accumulation fund as a result of the contribution-based benefit
cap and the Retirement System receives information which alters
the calculation of the retirement benefit used to determine the
contribution under the provisions of G.S. 135-8(f)(2)f., any
contribution not required based on the new information will be
refunded to the employer in the form of a credit toward future
required employer contributions.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-2; 135-6(f); 135-8(f);
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

20 NCAC 02B .0402
CONTRIBUTIONS
All units shall forward to the Retirement System the employer's
contributions monthly at the same time the employee's
contributions are forwarded.

FORWARDING OF EMPLOYER

History Note: Authority G.S. 135-6(f); 135-8(f);
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

20 NCAC 02B .0404
CONTRIBUTIONS
Both the employee and employer contributions are due in the
Raleigh office of the Retirement System no later than the fifth
State government working day of the month succeeding the month
for which the contributions are required. Contributions received
after the fifth State government working day of the month are
delinquent.

DUE DATE OF

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-6(f); 135-8(f);

Eff. March 1, 1992;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02B.0405  ANTI-PENSION SPIKING
CONTRIBUTION-BASED BENEFIT CAP FACTOR
(TSERS)

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-4(jj); 135-5(a3); 135-6(f);
Eff. March 21, 2019;
Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02B .0501
EXAMINATION
The Medical Board is authorized to conduct an examination in
doubtful cases of disability to determine whether the member
continues to be eligible for a disability retirement pursuant to G.S.
135-5(c), paying the expense of the same from the Pension
Accumulation Fund.

DISABILITY RETIREMENT

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-2; 135-5(c); 135-6(f);
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

20 NCAC 02B .0502
REPORTS

When the Medical Board, subsequent to a disability retirement,
reports that the retired member is engaged in or is able to engage
in a gainful occupation, any adjustment required by G.S.
135-5(e)(1) will be made prospectively only and will not require
any refund to the State of payments made during the period before
a report is made indicating changed status.

DISABILITY RETIREMENT

History Note: Authority G.S. 135-5(e)(1); 135-6(f);
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

20 NCAC 02B .0503 FEES: INDEPENDENT
MEDICAL EXAMS-DISABILITY RETIREMENTS

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-6(f); 135-6(k);
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1981;

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02B .0504 INTEREST CREDITS

When members on disability retirement are reinstated to active
service, no interest shall be allowed on their accounts during the
year of reinstatement.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-6(f);
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

20 NCAC 02B .0510 PENSIONS

Payment of a full month's benefit shall be made for the month in
which death occurs, regardless of the date, with no further benefits
to be paid thereafter.
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History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-6(f);
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

20 NCAC 02B .0701
ABSENCE

(@) For the purposes of G.S. 135-8(b)(5), "stipend" shall mean a
fixed sum of money paid periodically for services and to defray
the cost of travel, housing, meals, or other expenses resulting from
participation in a full-time degree program.

(b) If the employer makes the monthly employer contribution
equal to the normal and accrued liability contribution, the
employer shall submit the total employer payment to the
Retirement System.

(c) If the member makes the entire payment, the member shall
submit the total employer and employee contribution to the
Retirement System.

(d) A member, who is currently making contributions to purchase
service for an educational leave of absence, and whose position
before the leave of absence was paid on a less than 12-month
basis, shall make the payment in the month after the regularly
scheduled due date for payment of salary and shall earn service
credits for the contributions in the same manner the member
would if the member was currently being employed in that last
position.

EDUCATIONAL LEAVES OF

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-6(f); 135-8(b)(5);
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;

Amended Eff. March 1, 1982;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02B .0706
LEAVES OF ABSENCE
(a) Purchases of creditable service for leaves of absence prior to
July 1, 1983 shall be made in the same manner as prescribed in 20
NCAC 02B .1200, as then effective.

(b) Purchases of creditable service for leaves of absence on and
after July 1, 1983 shall be paid in the manner prescribed in law
equal to the sum of the total employer and employee percentage
rates of contribution in effect at the time of purchase multiplied
by the annual rate of compensation of the member immediately
prior to the leave of absence applied to the period of the leave
commencing on the first day and ending on the last day before
return to service.

(c) Members who had leaves of absence which otherwise met all
requirements of law for purchase as creditable service except that
the leaves of absence interrupted membership in the Local
Governmental Employees' Retirement System or the Law
Enforcement Officers' Retirement System and whose membership
service before and after the leaves of absence has become
membership service in the Teachers' and State Employees'
Retirement System, may purchase creditable service as in
Paragraph (b) of this Rule.

(d) Members may purchase creditable service for leaves of
absence only when they have membership service credits
immediately prior to and immediately after the leaves of absence
and such membership service is creditable service at the time of
purchase.

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-4(r); 135-6(f);
Eff. December 1, 1983;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1988;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02B .0801 FEE

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-4(f)(6); 135-6(f);
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;
Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02B .0802 QUALIFYING FOR CREDIT
In order to qualify, each individual must pay for the full period of
military service for which the member is eligible.

History Note:
C. 636;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977;

Authority G.S. 135-4(f)(6); 135-6(f); S.L. 1981,

20 NCAC 02B .0803 COMPUTATION OF COST
The cost of purchasing credit for military service is calculated as
follows:
(8] 1/12 of the annualized rate of compensation the
member earned when the member first entered
membership; multiplied by

2) the employee contribution rate at that time;
multiplied by

3 the number of months of military service for
which credit is to be purchased; plus

4) a factor equivalent to interest at the rate of six

and one-half percent, compounded annually,
from the initial year of membership to the year
of payment.

History Note:
636;

Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted September 21, 1977,
Amended Eff. March 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 135-4(f); 135-6(f); S.L. 1981, C.

20 NCAC 02B .0804
PARTICIPATION
A member of the Teachers' and State Employees’ Retirement
System whose employment in this State requires the member to
participate in the Federal Civil Service Program in lieu of the
Social Security program shall not be barred from receiving
military service credit for which the member is otherwise eligible
in the Retirement System, despite the fact that the member may
also receive credit under the Federal Civil Service Program for the
same period of military service, provided that the member makes
the required payment.

CIVIL SERVICE

History Note:
C. 636;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

Authority G.S. 135-4()(6); 135-6(f); S.L. 1981,
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20 NCAC 02B .0805
DISABILITY

The exclusion for purchase of service in the Armed Forces of the
United States as it pertains to credit in any other retirement system
shall not include "service connected disability" benefits received
from the Veteran's Administration of the Federal Government
except when such benefits are a supplement of a military
longevity retirement (“retired pay") benefit. The term "service
connected disability" has the same meaning as used in Title 38,
Chapter 11 of the United States Code which is hereby
incorporated by reference, including subsequent additions and
amendments, and is available online, at no cost, at
https://uscode.house.gov/browse/prelim@title38/part2&edition=
prelim. The term "retired pay" has the same meaning as used in
Title 10, Chapter 71 of the United States Code which is hereby
incorporated by reference, including subsequent additions and
amendments, and is available online, at no cost, at
https://uscode.house.gov/browse/prelim@title10/subtitle A/part2/
chapter71&edition=prelim.

SERVICE CONNECTED

History Note:
C. 636;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

Authority G.S. 135-4(f)(6); 135-6(f); S.L. 1981,

20 NCAC 02B .0806
BENEFITS

For members already retired who purchase service under G.S.
135-4(f)(6), any recalculation of benefits shall be based on the law
in effect at the time of the individual's retirement. The calculation
of both the benefit and the cost of the credit shall include the
effects of the additional service credit resulting from the purchase
and all benefit increases subsequent to the date of retirement.

RECALCULATION OF

History Note:
C. 636;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

Authority G.S. 135-4(f)(6); 135-6(f); S.L. 1981,

20 NCAC 02B .0807 CHANGE IN BENEFITS

For members already retired, any change in benefits resulting
from the purchase of credit pursuant to this Section shall become
effective as of the first of the month following receipt of the
required payment.

History Note:
C. 636;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

Authority G.S. 135-4(f)(6); 135-6(f); S.L. 1981,

20 NCAC 02B .0810 RESTORING MEMBERSHIP
When a member on military leave has withdrawn all of the
member's contributions, the member shall be permitted to pay
back the amount withdrawn, to the extent permitted by law,
restore membership, and receive credit for the associated period
of military leave.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-4(f); 135-4(k1); 135-6(f);
S.L. 1981, C. 636;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.
20 NCAC 02B .0901 FEE

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-4(l); 135-6(f);
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;
Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02B .0902 QUALIFYING FOR CREDIT

In order to qualify for out-of-state service credit, each individual
must pay for all or such portion of the member's out-of-state
service period in full years as the member desires of out-of-state
service for which the member is eligible.

History Note:
636;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

Authority G.S. 135-4(1); 135-6(f); S.L. 1981, C.

20 NCAC 02B .0903 DEFINITION

"Other governmental subdivision of the United States," as used in
G.S. 135-4(1), means a state or territory and its subdivisions but
not the United States government, except as specifically provided
by statute.

History Note:
636;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

Authority G.S. 135-4(1); 135-6(f); S.L. 1981, C.

20 NCAC 02B .0904 COMPUTATION OF COST
The cost of purchasing credit for out-of-state service is calculated
as follows:

(8] the monthly compensation the member earned
when the member first entered membership;
multiplied by

2) the employee contribution rate at that time;
multiplied by

3 the number of months of out-of-state service for

which credit is to be purchased; multiplied by
(@) two; plus
5) a factor equivalent to interest at the rate of six
and one-half percent, compounded annually,
from the initial year of membership to the year
of payment.

History Note:
636;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

Authority G.S. 135-4(1); 135-6(f); S.L. 1981, C.

20 NCAC 02B .0905
BENEFITS

For members already retired who purchase service under G.S.
135-4(1), as repealed by Session Law 1981-636, s. 1, where the
text of the repealed statutory provision may be found in the
Editor's Note to G.S. 135-4 in the 2021 Edition of the General

RECALCULATION OF
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Statutes of North Carolina, any recalculation of benefits shall be
based on the law in effect at the time of the individual's retirement.
The calculation of both the benefit and the cost of the credit shall
include the effects of the additional service credit resulting from
the purchase and all benefit increases subsequent to the date of
retirement.

History Note:
636;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

Authority G.S. 135-4(1); 135-6(f); S.L. 1981, C.

20 NCAC 02B .0906 CHANGE IN BENEFITS

For members already retired, any change in benefits resulting
from the provisions for out-of-state service shall become effective
as of the first of the month following receipt of the required
payment.

History Note:
636;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

Authority G.S. 135-4(1); 135-6(f); S.L. 1981, C.

20 NCAC 02B .1003
GENERAL ASSEMBLY

PRIOR SERVICE WITH

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-4(j1); 135-6(f);
Eff. October 29, 1979;
Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02B .1004 TEMPORARY SERVICE
PURCHASE (INCHOATE RIGHTS ONLY)

(@ A member eligible under G.S. 135-4(p) to purchase service
for temporary State employment shall apply for the purchase.
Employer certification of temporary State employment and the
compensation received for such service shall accompany the
application. The application shall include: the member's Member
Identification Number; last employer under the Retirement
System; and the member's signature and signature date. For each
temporary position for which the member desires to purchase
credit, the application shall identify the government employer,
position title, start date, end date, and the member's last name
while working in the position. The employer' s certification shall
include the position title, start and end date of the eligible period,
number of months in the annual contract to perform services,
beginning and ending months of the annual contract period for
retirement service purposes, and the name, position, employer,
email address, telephone number, signature, and signature date of
the employer contact certifying the information.

(b) Temporary State employment means employment under
which the member would have been unconditionally required to
make contributions at the time of employment if not classified at
the time of employment as a "temporary" employee.

(c) The employer cost, shall be equal to the total employee and
employer rates of contribution at the member's level of
compensation at the time of purchase and for the period of service
being purchased, less the required member contribution.

History Note:
29;

Eff. March 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. March 1, 1985; September 1, 1982;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 135-4(p); 135-6(f); S.L. 2020-

20 NCAC 02B .1005 TEMPORARY SERVICE
PURCHASE: FULL ACTUARIAL LIABILITY

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-4(s); 135-6(f);
Eff. December 1, 1983;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1988; September 1, 1984;
Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02B .1006 PART-TIME SERVICE
PURCHASE: FULL ACTUARIAL LIABILITY

"Part-time" as used in G.S. 135-4(p2) means duties performed on
less than a full-time basis as classified by the employer.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-4(p2); 135-6(f);
Eff. March 1, 1985;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02B .1007 LOCAL GOVERNMENT
SERVICE PURCHASE: FULL ACTUARIAL LIABILITY

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-4(t); 135-6(f);
Eff. March 1, 1985;
Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02B .1101
20 NCAC 02B .1102

FEE
QUALIFICATION

History Note: Authority G.S. 135-4(k); 135-6(f);
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02B .1104
BENEFITS

RECALCULATION OF

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-4(k); 135-6(f);
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02B .1204
20 NCAC 02B .1205

DEFINITIONS
COMPUTATION OF COST

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-6(f);
Eff. October 29, 1979;

Amended Eff. March 1, 1985; June 1, 1982;
Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02B .1207
APPLICANTS

SPECIAL RULE FOR RETIRED

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-4(m); 135-6(f);
Eff. March 1, 1982;
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Amended Eff. March 1, 1985;
Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02C .0101 GENERAL INFORMATION
General information about the Local Governmental Employees'
Retirement System includes the following:
(1) The Director is the Director of the Retirement
Systems Division;
2 The mailing address and physical address is
Retirement Systems Division, 3200 Atlantic
Avenue, Raleigh, North Carolina 27604.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 128-28(qg);

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. October 21, 2018;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023; September 1, 2019.

20 NCAC 02C .0201
AND ASSUMPTIONS

ACTUARIAL TABLES: RATES

History Note: Authority G.S. 128-27(m); 128-28(q);
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1981;

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02C .0204 FACILITY OF PAYMENT
History Note:  Authority G.S. 128-28(g);

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02C .0205 MEDICAL BOARD

In accordance with the authority contained in G.S. 128-28(l),
membership of the Medical Board consists of five physicians,
with a quorum of three required at meetings approving
applications for disability retirement.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 128-28(1);
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

20 NCAC 02C .0301 DESIGNATION

Any beneficiary designated, other than the estate of the member
or a trustee named by and acting for the member, must be a living
person at the time the designation is made. If it is desired that the
estate be beneficiary, this should be indicated on the form.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 128-27; 128-28(g);
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

20 NCAC 02C .0302 PRINCIPAL BENEFICIARY

(a) More than one principal beneficiary may be designated for the
return of accumulated contributions under the provisions of G.S.
128-27(f) to share equally. In the event of the death of any so

designated principal beneficiary for the return of accumulated
contributions, those surviving principal beneficiaries shall share
equally in the total benefits. However, if there is only one living
designated principal beneficiary for the return of accumulated
contributions at the member's death and the member has met all
other requirements under the provisions of G.S. 128-27(m), the
designated principal beneficiary may elect to receive the
alternative benefit under the provisions of G.S. 128-27(m).

(b) More than one principal beneficiary may be designated for
the death benefit of an active member or a retired member under
the provisions of G.S. 128-27(l), 128-27(11), or 128-27(I6) to
share equally. In the event of the death of any so designated
principal beneficiary for the death benefit of an active member or
retired member, those surviving principal beneficiaries shall share
equally in the total benefits.

(c) More than one principal beneficiary may be designated for the
guaranteed refund under the provisions of G.S. 128-27(gl) to
share equally. In the event of the death of any so designated
principal beneficiary for the guaranteed refund, those surviving
principal beneficiaries shall share equally in the total benefits.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 128-27(f); 128-27(gl); 128-
27(1); 128-27(11); 128-27(16); 128-28(9);

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

20 NCAC 02C .0303 NO LIVING BENEFICIARY
If no designated beneficiary, whether principal or contingent, is
living at the time of the member's death, payment of the amount
due, if any, will be made to the administrator or executor of the
estate or the collector of funds for the estate of the member.

History Note: Authority G.S. 128-27(g); 128-28(Q);
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

20 NCAC 02C .0304
BENEFICIARIES
(a) Payments to beneficiaries who are minors will be made to an
appointed guardian or to the clerk of the superior court in the
county which the beneficiary resides to the extent that such
payment is authorized by law.

(b) In the event that the appointed guardian or the clerk of
superior court in the county in which the beneficiary resides is
unwilling or unable to accept payment on behalf of the minor
beneficiary, payment may be made to a custodian in accordance
with Chapter 33A of the North Carolina General Statutes, entitled
North Carolina Uniform Transfers to Minors Act.

PAYMENTS TO

History Note:  Authority G.S. 128-27(g); 128-28(q);
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

20 NCAC 02C .0306 BENEFICIARY CHANGE

Prior to retirement, the member may, at any time, change any
beneficiaries designated for the return of accumulated
contributions under the provisions of G.S. 128-27(f) or the death
benefit for active members under the provisions of G.S. 128-27(l)
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or 128-27(11) A retired member may, at any time, change any
beneficiaries designated for:
1) The guaranteed refund under the provisions of
G.S. 128-27(gl) until such time as the funds
have been depleted;
(2) The death benefit for active members under the
provisions of G.S. 128-27(l) or 128-27(I1)
provided the change is submitted within 180
calendar days after the member's last active day
of service; or
3) The death benefit for retired members under the
provisions of G.S. 128-27(16).
The member shall submit any such change to the Board of
Trustees using the form approved by the Board of Trustees for
designation of the beneficiary for that purpose.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 128-27(g); 128-27(gl); 128-
27(1); 128-27(11); 128-27(16); 128-28(q);

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

20 NCAC 02C .0307 CONTINGENT BENEFICIARY
(@ The following shall apply to designating a contingent
beneficiary for the return of accumulated contributions under the
provisions of G.S. 128-27(f):

@ A principal beneficiary may be designated for
the return of accumulated contributions with the
stipulation that should the principal beneficiary
predecease the member, payment of the amount
due, if any, shall be made to the designated
contingent beneficiary or beneficiaries for the
return of accumulated contributions.

)] If more than one principal beneficiary is
designated for the return of accumulated
contributions, payment of the amount due, if
any, shall be paid to any surviving principal
beneficiaries designated for the return of
accumulated contributions, sharing equally in
the total benefits payable, and shall not be paid
to any contingent beneficiary.

3) It is permissible to designate more than one
contingent beneficiary for the return of
accumulated contributions. Payment of the
amount due, if any, shall be paid to the
surviving contingent beneficiaries designated
for the return of accumulated contributions,
sharing equally in the total benefits, only in the
event that there is no surviving principal
beneficiary designated for the return of
accumulated contributions.

(b) The following shall apply to designating a contingent
beneficiary for the death benefit under the provisions of G.S. 128-
27(1), 128-27(11), or 128-27(16):

1) A principal beneficiary may be designated for
the death benefit of an active member or retired
member with the stipulation that should the
principal beneficiary predecease the member,
payment of the amount due, if any, shall be

made to the designated contingent beneficiary
or beneficiaries for the death benefit.

2 If more than one principal beneficiary is
designated for the death benefit, payment of the
amount due, if any, shall be paid to any
surviving principal beneficiaries designated for
the death benefit, sharing equally in the total
benefits payable, and shall not be paid to any
contingent beneficiary.

?3) It is permissible to designate more than one
contingent beneficiary for the death benefit.
Payment of the amount due, if any, shall be paid
to the surviving contingent beneficiaries
designated for the death benefit, sharing equally
in the total benefits, only in the event that there
is no surviving principal beneficiary designated
for the death benefit.

(c) The following shall apply to designating a contingent
beneficiary for the guaranteed refund under the provisions of G.S.
128-27(gl):

(8] A principal beneficiary may be designated for
the guaranteed refund with the stipulation that
should the principal beneficiary predecease the
member, payment of the amount due, if any,
shall be made to the designated contingent
beneficiary or beneficiaries for the guaranteed
refund.

2) If more than one principal beneficiary is
designated for the guaranteed refund, payment
of the amount due, if any, shall be paid to any
surviving principal beneficiaries designated for
the guaranteed refund, sharing equally in the
total benefits payable, and shall not be paid to
any contingent beneficiary.

3) It is permissible to designate more than one
contingent beneficiary for the guaranteed
refund. Payment of the amount due, if any, shall
be paid to the surviving contingent beneficiaries
designated for the guaranteed refund, sharing
equally in the total benefits, only in the event
that there is no surviving principal beneficiary
designated for the guaranteed refund.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 128-27(f); 128-27(gl); 128-
27(1); 128-27(11); 128-27(16); 128-28(q);
Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02C .0402
CONTRIBUTIONS
All units shall forward to the Retirement System the employer's
contributions monthly at the same time the employee's
contributions are forwarded.

EMPLOYER'S

History Note:  Authority G.S. 128-28(g); 128-30(g)(1);
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.
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20 NCAC 02C .0403 REFUNDS

(@) The Retirement System will make no refunds of employer
contributions, paid into the Pension Accumulation Fund by the
employer in the amount equal to a percentage of the actual
compensation of each member, in cases of erroneous employee
deductions except those which are corrected by the employing
unit on a subsequent payroll within the calendar year in which the
errors occur.

(b) Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, an error occurring
in December may be corrected, and the associated employer
contribution be refunded in the form of a credit toward future
required employer contributions, by the employer's submission of
a revised payroll report for the correct amount before January 31
of the following year.

(c) If an employer makes an additional contribution to the pension
accumulation fund as a result of the contribution-based benefit
cap and the Retirement System receives information which alters
the calculation of the retirement benefit used to determine the
contribution under the provisions of G.S. 128-30(g)(2)b., any
contribution not required based on the new information will be
refunded to the employer in the form of a credit toward future
required employer contributions.

History Note: Authority G.S. 128-22; 128-28(g); 128-30(g);
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

20 NCAC 02C .0404
CONTRIBUTIONS
Both the employee and employer contributions are due in the
Raleigh office of the Retirement System no later than the fifth
State government working day of the month succeeding the month
for which the contributions are required. Contributions received
after the fifth State government working day of the month are
delinquent.

DUE DATE OF

History Note: Authority G.S. 128-28(g); 128-30(g);
Eff. March 1, 1992;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02C .0405  ANTI-PENSION SPIKING
CONTRIBUTION-BASED BENEFIT CAP FACTOR
(LGERS)

History Note:
28(9);

Eff. May 1, 2018;
Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 128-26(y); 128-27(a3); 128-

20 NCAC 02C .0501 DISABILITY EXAMINATION
The Medical Board is authorized to conduct an examination in
doubtful cases of disability to determine whether the member
continues to be eligible for a disability retirement pursuant to G.S.
128-27(c), paying the expense of the same from the Pension
Accumulation Fund.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 128-22; 128-27(c); 128-28(9);
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

20 NCAC 02C .0502
REPORTS

When the Medical Board, subsequent to a disability retirement,
reports that the retired member is engaged in or is able to engage
in a gainful occupation, any adjustment required by G.S.
128-27(e)(1) will be made prospectively only and will not require
any refund to the State of payments made during the period before
a report is made indicating changed status.

DISABILITY RETIREMENT

History Note:  Authority G.S. 128-27(e)(1); 128-28(g);
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

20 NCAC 02C .0503 FEES: INDEPENDENT
MEDICAL EXAMS-DISABILITY RETIREMENTS

History Note:  Authority G.S. 128-27(c); 128-28(9);
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023; August 1, 1981.

20 NCAC 02C .0504
SERVICE

When members on disability retirement are reinstated to active
service, no interest shall be allowed on their accounts during the
year of reinstatement.

REINSTATEMENT TO ACTIVE

History Note:  Authority G.S. 128-28(g); 128-29(b);
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

20 NCAC 02C .0704
LEAVES OF ABSENCE
(a) Purchases of creditable service for leaves of absence prior to
July 1, 1983 shall be made in the same manner as prescribed in 20
NCAC 02C .1500, as then effective.

(b) Members who had leaves of absence which otherwise met all
requirements of law for purchase as creditable service except that
the leaves of absence interrupted membership in the Teachers' and
State Employees' Retirement System or the Law Enforcement
Officers' Retirement System and whose membership service
before and after the leaves of absence has become membership
service in the Local Governmental Employees' Retirement
System, may purchase creditable service as in Paragraph (a) of
this Rule.

(¢) Members may purchase creditable service for leaves of
absence only when they have membership service credits
immediately prior to and immediately after the leaves of absence
and such membership service is creditable service at the time of
purchase.

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

History Note:  Authority G.S. 128-26(1); 128-28(q);
Eff. December 1, 1983;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1988;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02C .0901 LEAVE
When a member on military leave has withdrawn all of the
member's contributions, the member shall be permitted to pay
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back the amount withdrawn, to the extent permitted by law,
restore membership, and receive credit for the associated period
of military leave.

History Note: ~ Authority  G.S.
128-28(g); S.L. 1987, C. 617;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

128-26(i1);  128-27(f);

20 NCAC 02C .0902 FEE

History Note:  Authority G.S. 128-26(a); 128-28(q);
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02C .0904 COMPUTATION OF COST
The cost of purchasing credit for military service is calculated as
follows:

(1) the monthly compensation the member earned
when the member first entered membership;
multiplied by

)] the contribution rate at the time the member
first entered membership; multiplied by

3 the number of months of military service for
which credit is to be purchased; plus

4) a factor equivalent to interest at the rate of six

and one-half percent, compounded annually,
from the initial year of membership to the year
of payment.

History Note:
1987, C. 617;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;
Amended Eff. March 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 128-26(a); 128-28(g); S.L.

20 NCAC 02C .0906 CIVIL SERVICE PROGRAM

A member of the Local Governmental Employees' Retirement
System whose employment in this State requires the member to
participate in the Federal Civil Service Program in lieu of the
Social Security program shall not be barred from receiving
military service credit for which the member is otherwise eligible
in the Retirement System despite the fact that the member may
also receive credit under the Federal Civil Service Program for the
same period of military service, provided that the member makes
the required payment.

History Note:
1987, C. 617;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

Authority G.S. 128-26(a); 128-28(g); S.L.

20 NCAC 02C .0907 EXCLUSION

The exclusion for purchase of service in the Armed Forces of the
United States as it pertains to credit for any other retirement
system shall not include "service-connected disability” benefits
received from the Veterans Administration of the Federal
Government except when such benefits are a supplement to a

military longevity retirement (“retired pay") benefit. The term
"service-connected disability” has the same meaning as used in
Title 38, Chapter 11 of the United States Code which is hereby
incorporated by reference, including subsequent additions and
amendments, and is available online, at no cost, at
https://uscode.house.gov/browse/prelim@title38/part2&edition=
prelim. The term "retired pay" has the same meaning as used in
Title 10, Chapter 71 of the United States Code which is hereby
incorporated by reference, including subsequent additions and
amendments, and is available online, at no cost, at
https://uscode.house.gov/browse/prelim@title10/subtitleA/part2/
chapter71&edition=prelim.

History Note:
1987, C. 617;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

Authority G.S. 128-26(a); 128-28(g); S.L.

20 NCAC 02C .0908
BENEFITS

For members already retired who obtain military service credit,
any recalculation of benefits shall be based on the law in effect at
the time of the individual's retirement. The calculation of both the
benefit and the cost of the credit shall include the effects of the
additional service credit resulting from the purchase and all
benefit increases subsequent to the date of retirement.

RECALCULATION OF

History Note:
1987, C. 617;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

Authority G.S. 128-26(a); 128-28(g); S.L.

20 NCAC 02C .0909 CHANGE IN BENEFITS

For members already retired, any change in benefits resulting
from the provisions for obtaining military service credit shall
become effective as of the first of the month following receipt of
the required payment.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 128-26(a); 128-28(Q);
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.
20 NCAC 02C .1001 FEE

History Note:  Authority G.S. 128-26(j); 128-28(g);
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;
Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02C .1002 QUALIFYING FOR CREDIT

In order to qualify, each individual must pay for all or such portion
in full years as the member desires of out-of-state service for
which the member is eligible.

History Note:
C. 617;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

Authority G.S. 128-26(j); 128-28(g); S.L. 1987,
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20 NCAC 02C .1003
SUBDIVISION
"Other governmental subdivision of the United States" means a
state or territory and its subdivisions but not the United States
Government.

OTHER GOVERNMENTAL

History Note:  Authority G.S. 128-28(g); S.L. 1987, C. 617;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1988;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02C .1004 COMPUTATION OF COST
The cost of purchasing credit for out-of-state service is calculated
as follows:
(1) the monthly compensation the member earned
when the member first entered membership
service; multiplied by

(2) the employee contribution rate at that time;
multiplied by
3 the number of months of out-of-state service for

which credit is to be purchased; multiplied by
(@) two; plus
(5) a factor equivalent to interest at the rate of six
and one-half percent, compounded annually,
from the year of initial membership to the year
of payment.

History Note:
C.617;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

Authority G.S. 128-26(j); 128-28(g); S.L. 1987,

20 NCAC 02C .1006
BENEFITS

For members already retired who purchase service under G.S.
128-26(j), as repealed by Session Law 1987-617, s. 3, where the
text of the repealed statutory provision may be found in the
Editor's Note to G.S. 128-26 in the 2021 Edition of the General
Statutes of North Carolina, any recalculation of benefits shall be
based on the law in effect at the time of the individual's retirement.
The calculation of both the benefit and the cost of the credit shall
include the effects of the additional service credit resulting from
the purchase and all benefit increases subsequent to the date of
retirement.

RECALCULATION OF

History Note:
C. 617;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.

Authority G.S. 128-26(j); 128-28(g); S.L. 1987,

20 NCAC 02C .1007 CHANGE IN BENEFITS

For members already retired, any change in benefits resulting
from the provisions for obtaining credit for out-of-state service
shall become effective as of the first of the month following
receipt of the required payment.

History Note:
C. 617;

Authority G.S. 128-26(j); 128-28(g); S.L. 1987,

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023; September 21, 1977.
20 NCAC 02C .1201 SERVICE RETIREMENT
History Note:  Authority G.S. 128-24(4)a.; 128-28(g);
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;
Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

FEE
QUALIFYING FOR CREDIT

20 NCAC 02C .1301
20 NCAC 02C .1302

History Note:  Authority G.S. 128-26(i); 128-28(Q);
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02C .1501 APPLICATION OF SECTION
History Note: Authority G.S. 128-26(k); 128-28(q);

Eff. December 1, 1981;

Amended Eff. March 1, 1985;
Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02C .1503
20 NCAC 02C .1504
20 NCAC 02C .1505
PURCHASED

DEFINITIONS
COMPUTATION OF COST
EXTENT OF SERVICE TO BE

History Note:  Authority G.S. 128-26(k); 128-28(Q);
Eff. December 1, 1981;

Amended Eff. March 1, 1985; June 1, 1982;

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02C .1506
APPLICANTS

SPECIAL RULE FOR RETIRED

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1982;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1985;
Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 128-26(k); 128-28(Q);

20 NCAC 02F .0101 GENERAL INFORMATION
The following is general information about the Consolidated
Judicial Retirement System:
(8] For purposes of this Subchapter, "Director”
means the Director of the Retirement Systems
Division;
2) The mailing address and physical address is
Retirement Systems Division, Department of
State Treasurer, 3200 Atlantic Avenue,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27604.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-6(f); 135-54;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 21, 1977;

Amended Eff. March 1, 1985;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2019;
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Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02F .0104
AND ASSUMPTIONS

ACTUARIAL TABLES: RATES

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-69; 135-6(f);
Eff. September 21, 1977;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1981;

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02F .0107 FINAL COMPENSATION FOR
THREE-FOURTHS LIMITATION

For the sole purpose of calculating the "three-fourths" limitation
of the member's final compensation under G.S. 135-58(a6) for a
member whose final state service was not as a member of this
system, the phrase "final compensation™ shall mean the rate of
compensation established for the last position held by the member
applicable to this system.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 135-6(f); 135-58(a6);

Eff. June 1, 1984;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02F .0108 FULL ACTUARIAL COST
History Note: Authority G.S. 135-52; 135-6(f);

Eff. March 1, 1985;

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02L.0101 GENERAL INFORMATION
The following is general information about the Separate Insurance
Benefit Plan for State and Local Governmental Law Enforcement
Officers"
@ For purposes of this Subchapter, "Director”
means the Director of the Retirement Systems
Division;
2 The mailing address and physical address is
Retirement Systems Division, Department of
State Treasurer, 3200 Atlantic Avenue,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27604.

History Note:  Authority G.S.
166.60(b); 143-166.60(d);

Eff. August 1, 1983;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2019;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

128-28(g); 135-6(f); 143-

20 NCAC 02L .0103 DEFINITIONS

The following words as used in this Subchapter, unless a different
meaning is clearly required by the context, shall have the
following meanings:

1) "Officer" shall mean a law enforcement officer
as defined in G.S. 128-21(11d) and G.S. 135-
1(11c).

(2) "Officer Trainee" shall mean a cadet or officer

trainee who is a full-time employee enrolled in
training schools or academies of the State and
any political subdivision thereof and who will
become an officer at the completion of the
training.

?3) "Participant" shall mean an Officer or Officer
Trainee.
4 "Separate Insurance Benefit Plan" shall mean

the employee welfare benefit plan created in
G.S. 143-166.60.

(5) "Service" shall mean service as an Officer for
which compensation is paid.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 128-28(g);
166.60(b); 143-166.60(d);

Eff. August 1, 1983;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1988; April 1, 1985;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

135-6(f); 143-

20 NCAC 02L .0202 RETIRED MEMBERS
History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-166.60;

Eff. August 1, 1983;

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02L .0302
BENEFITS

ACCIDENT AND HOSPITAL

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-166.60;
Eff. August 1, 1983;
Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02M .0101 DEFINITIONS
The following definitions apply to the Contributory Death Benefit
for Retired Members:
@ "Retired member" shall mean a former teacher,
employee, or official in receipt of a monthly
retirement allowance or who has a terminated

retirement  allowance resulting  from
reemployment from the Teachers' and State
Employees' Retirement  System, Local

Governmental Employees' Retirement System,
Consolidated Judicial Retirement System, or
Legislative Retirement System; however,
“retired member" shall not mean any
beneficiary in receipt of a monthly retirement
allowance by reason of the death of a retired
member or former teacher, employee, or
official.

2 "Member" shall mean a retired member of the
Teachers' and State Employees' Retirement
System, Local Governmental Employees'
Retirement System, Consolidated Judicial
Retirement System, Legislative Retirement
System or Legislative Retirement Fund who has
elected coverage and who makes continuous
contributions under the Contributory Death
Benefit for Retired Members.

?3) "Surviving spouse" shall mean a living person
who is legally married to a member covered
under the Contributory Death Benefit for
Retired Members at the date of death of the
member.
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4) "Legal representative” shall mean the
administrator or executor of the estate of a
member or the collector of funds for the estate
of the member.

(5) "Retirement system" shall mean the Teachers'
and State Employees' Retirement System,
Local Governmental Employees' Retirement
System, Consolidated Judicial Retirement
System, or Legislative Retirement System.

(6) "Boards of Trustees" shall mean the Boards of
Trustees of the Teachers' and State Employees'
Retirement  System and the  Local
Governmental Employees' Retirement System,
each acting in accordance with the provisions of
G.S. 128-28(f1) and G.S. 135-6(el).

History Note:  Authority G.S. 120-4.10; 120-4.27; 128-27(12);
128-27(13); 128-27(14); 128-27(15); 128-27(16); 128-28(q);
135-5(1); 135-6(f); 135-64(q);

Eff. February 1, 1989;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02M .0102 AGENCY AND AUTHORITY OF
DIRECTOR

(&) The mailing address for the Contributory Death Benefit for
Retired Members is the Retirement Systems Division,
Department of State Treasurer, 3200 Atlantic Avenue, Raleigh,
North Carolina 27604.

(b) The Director of the Retirement Systems Division shall make
decisions as it relates to the Contributory Death Benefit for
Retired Members in accordance with the statutes and rules and
regulations adopted by the Boards of Trustees and previous
decisions of the Boards of Trustees. Appeals may be made from
the decisions of the Director under the procedures used for
contested cases as provided under Section .0400 of Title 20,
Chapter 02, Subchapter A.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 120-4.10; 120-4.27; 128-27(12);

128-27(13); 128-27(14); 128-27(15); 128-27(16); 128-28(q);
135-5(1); 135-6(f); 135-64(q);

Eff. February 1, 1989;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023; September 1, 2019.

20 NCAC 02M .0104 TIME AND DATE

History Note: Authority G.S. 120-4.10; 120-4.27;

128-27(12); 128-28(g); 135-5(1); 135-6(f); 135-64(q);
Eff. April 1, 1989;

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02M .0201 ELIGIBILITY TO ELECT
COVERAGE

(@) A retired member in receipt of a monthly retirement allowance
as a former teacher, employee, or official of more than one of the
Retirement Systems is eligible to elect coverage under each
Retirement System from which the member receives a retirement
benefit; however, if a retired member is receiving more than one
retirement benefit from the same Retirement System, the member

may elect coverage only on the basis of one retirement benefit
from that Retirement System.

(b) A former teacher, employee or official in receipt of disability
benefits from the Disability Income Plan of North Carolina is not
in receipt of a retirement allowance and is not eligible to elect
coverage under the Contributory Death Benefit for Retired
Members until such time as the disability benefit is converted to
a service retirement allowance.

History Note: Authority G.S. 120-4.10; 120-4.27; 128-27(12);
128-27(13); 128-27(14); 128-27(l5); 128-27(16); 128-28(g);
135-5(1); 135-6(f); 135-64(g);

Eff. February 1, 1989;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02M .0202 WHEN FIRST ELIGIBLE
A retired member's eligibility to make an election for coverage is
based on the following:
1) If retired on or before June 1, 1988, the words
"when first eligible” to make an election for
coverage will mean 60 days from July 1, 1988
or no later than September 1, 1988.
2 If retiring on or after July 1, 1988, the words
"when first eligible” to make an election for
coverage will mean 60 days from the effective
date of retirement under the Retirement System.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 120-4.10; 120-4.27; 128-27(12);
128-27(13); 128-27(14); 128-27(15); 128-27(16); 128-28(q);
135-5(1); 135-6(f); 135-64(q);

Eff. February 1, 1989;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02M .0206 REINSTATEMENT

Upon cancellation of coverage under Rule .0205 of this Section,
coverage cannot be reinstated, nor can a retired member reapply
for coverage.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 120-4.10; 120-4.27; 128-27(12);
128-27(13); 128-27(14); 128-27(15); 128-27(16); 128-28(q);
135-5(1); 135-6(f); 135-64(q);

Eff. February 1, 1989;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02M .0301 CONTRIBUTION RATES

(@) The monthly contribution rates shall be established by
resolution of the Boards of Trustees as recommended by the
consulting actuary. The consulting actuary in making a
recommended schedule of monthly contribution rates shall take
into consideration mortality experience, selection experience,
actuarial interest rate assumption which may be different from the
interest rate assumption used in the valuation of the liabilities of
the Retirement System, administrative and investment costs, and
such other factors as may be appropriate in establishing such
schedule of monthly contribution rates.

(b) The Boards of Trustees may from time to time revise by
resolution the schedule of monthly contribution rates as may be
recommended by the consulting actuary for teachers, employees,
and officials retiring and electing an effective date of coverage
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after the effective date of the revision. Such revision may be, but
is not required to be, applicable to members electing coverage
prior to the effective date of the revision provided that such
revised rates shall not be greater than the rates in effect at the
effective date of coverage for those members electing an effective
date of coverage prior to the effective date of the revision.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 120-4.10; 120-4.27;
128-27(12); 128-27(13); 128-27(l4); 128-27(15); 128-27(16);
128-28(g); 135-5(1); 135-6(f); 135-64(g);

Eff. February 1, 1989;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02M .0302 MEMBER CONTRIBUTION

(@ The monthly contribution rate paid by a member shall be
based on the member's nearest age as of the effective date of
coverage and the applicable rates as of that date as set by the
Boards of Trustees and will remain the same as long as the
coverage is in effect.

(b) Any misstatement as to the age of the member which causes
the contribution of the member to have been paid at a greater or
lesser rate during the period of the coverage of the member not
paid or refunded prior to the death of the member will result in
any underpayment of contributions being offset against the death
benefit and any overpayment of contributions being paid to the

following:
(1) the person or persons designated by the
member;
(2) if the member has not designated a beneficiary,
to the surviving spouse; or
3) if the member is not survived by a designated

beneficiary or
representative.

spouse, to the legal

History Note: Authority G.S. 120-4.10; 120-4.27; 128-27(12);
128-27(13); 128-27(14); 128-27(15); 128-27(16); 128-28(g);
135-5(1); 135-6(f); 135-64(q);

Eff. February 1, 1989;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02M .0303 PAYMENT OF CONTRIBUTION

(@ The monthly contributions of members covered under the
Contributory Death Benefit for Retired Members are to be paid
monthly to the Contributory Death Benefit Trust for Retired
Members beginning in the month in which coverage becomes
effective and shall continue each month thereafter.

(b) Payment of the monthly contributions shall be deducted from
a member's net monthly retirement allowance from the
Retirement System if member's net monthly retirement
allowance, after other required deductions, such as for taxes and
garnishments, is sufficient to cover the cost of the contribution;
however, if the net monthly retirement allowance from the
Retirement System is not sufficient to cover the cost of the
contribution, the Retirement Systems Division shall provide the
member a Notice of Contribution Due within ten days after the
determination of insufficiency with payment of monthly
contributions due not later than the 25th of the month following

of each month with payment due on or before the 25th of that
month.

(c) The contribution due for the month in which the member's
death occurs is to be paid from the final monthly retirement
benefit due in the month of death, or by payment from the
member's surviving spouse or legal representative; provided that,
if member's death occurs during the 24-month period from the
effective date of coverage, the deduction or payment of the
contribution for the month in which death occurs shall be waived
if it has not been received by the Retirement Systems Division
before the Retirement Systems Division issues the return of
contributions.

(d) Once coverage is elected, the member shall pay the required
monthly contribution in order to maintain coverage regardless of
any condition which might occur that would terminate or diminish
the retirement benefit the retired member is receiving, such as
reemployment or the reduction or termination of retirement
benefits by reason of an optional form of retirement allowance
selected by the retired member at retirement.

History Note: Authority G.S. 120-4.10; 120-4.27; 128-27(12);
128-27(13); 128-27(14); 128-27(15); 128-27(16); 128-28(Q);
135-5(1); 135-6(f); 135-64(q);

Eff. February 1, 1989;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02M .0304
PAYABLE

AMOUNT OF BENEFIT

History Note:  Authority G.S. 120-4.10; 120-4.27; 128-27(12);
128-28(g); 135-5(1); 135-6(f); 135-64(g);

Eff. February 1, 1989;

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02M .0305
BENEFIT

The following shall apply to interest payable on the monthly
contributions of a member where the member's death occurs prior
to the first day of the month following the 24th month of coverage:

1) The annual rate of interest shall be set from time
to time by resolution of the Boards of Trustees
and, in setting such annual rate of interest, the
Boards of Trustees may take into consideration
the actuarial interest rate assumption, yields
realized and anticipated on short-term
investments, cost of investing and
administration, and such other factors affecting
interest rates as may be appropriate.

2 Such interest as set by the Boards of Trustees
shall be computed on each monthly payment
from the end of the month in which the monthly
payment is paid and on the balance of the
monthly contributions and interest at the
beginning of the calendar year to the end of the
month in which the member dies.

PAYMENT OF INTEREST ON

History Note:  Authority G.S. 120-4.10; 120-4.27; 128-27(12);

the determination of insufficiency, and thereafter a Notice of 128-27(13); 128-27(14); 128-27(15); 128-27(16); 128-28(qg);
Contribution Due shall be provided between the first and the fifth 135-5(1); 135-6(f); 135-64(0);
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Eff. February 1, 1989;
Amended Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02M .0307
CANCELLATION
Should death of a former member occur on or after the effective
date of cancellation of coverage, benefits under the Contributory
Death Benefit for Retired Members shall not be due and shall not
be payable.

BENEFITS PAYABLE AFTER

History Note: Authority G.S. 120-4.10; 120-4.27; 128-27(12);
128-27(13); 128-27(14); 128-27(15); 128-27(16); 128-28(Q);
135-5(1); 135-6(f); 135-64(q);

Eff. February 1, 1989;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02N .0106 OFFICE OF THE DIRECTOR

The mailing and physical address of the Office of the Director of
the Retirement Systems Division is Retirement Systems Division,
Department of State Treasurer, 3200 Atlantic Avenue, Raleigh,
North Carolina 27604. Office hours are from 8 am. to 5 p.m.,
Mondays - Fridays, except State holidays.

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1988;
Recodified from 3 NCAC 3 Eff. May 1, 1993;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. October 21, 2018;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023; September 1, 2019.

Authority G.S. 58-86-10;

20 NCAC 02N .0108 DIVISIONAL RULES
The following rules are hereby incorporated by reference
including subsequent amendments to the rules:
1) Rules 20 NCAC 02A .0101, .0102, and .0103;
(2) Sections 20 NCAC 02A .0200, .0300, and
.0400; and
(3) Rule 20 NCAC 02A .0504.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 58-86-10; 150B-21.6;
Eff. October 1, 1993;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

20 NCAC 02N .0208 APPLYING FOR MEMBERSHIP
(@) Only eligible firefighters or eligible rescue squad workers may
join the pension fund. In order to join the pension fund they must
complete the application for membership and return it to the office
of the Director.

(b) Applications for membership may be obtained from the office
of the Director at the address shown in Rule .0106 of this
Subchapter. The application asks for general information,
including the applicant's name, address, social security number,
date of birth, phone number, email address, gender, fire
department or rescue squad, his or her first employment date with
that department or squad, and requires a signature by an
authorized representative of the fire department or rescue squad.
(c) After the Director has received and approved the application
and received the monthly payment required by G.S. 58-86-35 or

58-86-40, the Director shall enroll the applicant in the pension
fund.

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1988;
Recodified from 3 NCAC 3 Eff. May 1, 1993;
Amended Eff. December 1, 1993;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 58-86-10; 58-86-35; 58-86-40;,

20 NCAC 02N .0215 MILITARY SERVICE

(a) Any member who enters the armed forces may take a military
leave of absence as provided by Paragraph (b) of this Rule,
continue to receive service credit as provided by Paragraph (c) of
this Rule, or withdraw from the pension fund and seek a refund.
(b) To take a military leave of absence a member shall provide
written notice to the office of the Director that the member is
taking such leave. The member shall specify in the notice the
branch of the armed forces the member is entering and the
expected dates of entry and discharge. The member shall deliver
the notice to the office of the Director no later than six months
after the member ceases service as an eligible firefighter or an
eligible rescue squad worker, whichever is applicable, or the
member will be deemed to have withdrawn from the pension fund.
No member may remain on military leave of absence for more
than one normal draft or enlistment period, whichever is
applicable. Any member who has taken a military leave of
absence shall commence service as either an eligible firefighter or
an eligible rescue squad worker within six months after the
expiration of a normal draft or enlistment period, whichever is
applicable, or within six months after the member's discharge if
that occurs earlier, or else the member will be deemed to have
withdrawn from the pension fund.

(c) Any member who enters the armed forces shall continue to
receive service credit if the member notifies the office of the
Director in writing of the member's intent to do so and if the
member continues to make monthly payments required by G.S.
58-86-35 or 58-86-40. Credit for time served in the armed forces
is limited to one normal draft or enlistment period, whichever is
applicable.

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1988;
Recodified from 03 NCAC 03 Eff. May 1, 1993;
Amended Eff. December 1, 1993;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 58-86-10;

20 NCAC 02N .0218 RETIREMENT BENEFITS
History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1988;
Recodified from 3 NCAC 3 Eff. May 1, 1993;
Amended Eff. December 1, 1993;

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 58-86-10; 58-86-55;

20 NCAC 02N .0219 REFUNDS OF DECEASED
MEMBERS' PAYMENTS

In order to receive the lump sum payment for deceased members
provided by G.S. 58-86-60(2) and (3), the person or persons
entitled to such payment shall file with the office of the Director
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a death certificate and a letter requesting the payment. The amount
of the payment will be determined in accordance with G.S.
58-86-60 and, accordingly, no interest will be paid on the monthly
payments.

History Note:
Eff. June 1, 1988;

Authority G.S. 58-86-10; 58-86-60;

Recodified from 3 NCAC 3 Eff. May 1, 1993;
Amended Eff. December 1, 1993;
Readopted Eff. March 1, 2023.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND

21 NCAC 18B .0201

COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 18 - BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF
ELECTRICAL CONTRACTORS

REQUIREMENTS FOR ALL

EXAMINATION APPLICANTS
(@) To take an examination in any electrical contracting license
classification, the applicant shall:

(1)
()

3)

(4)

be 18 years of age;

submit the required duly filed application as
defined in Rule .0210 of this Section;

submit with the application written statements
from two persons, attesting to the applicant's
good character; and

meet the requirements set out in Paragraph (b)
of this Rule.

(b) Examination applicants shall meet the following requirements
for the specified license classifications:

(1)

)

3)

Limited classification. An applicant shall have
3,000 hours of experience, as defined in Rule
.0202 of this Section, of which 2,000 hours
shall be primary experience. The balance of
experience may be primary, secondary, or both.
Intermediate classification. An applicant shall
have 5,750 hours of experience, as defined in
Rule .0202 of this Section, of which 5,000
hours shall be primary experience. The balance
of experience may be primary, secondary, or
both.
Unlimited classification. An applicant shall:
(A) have 9,000 hours of experience, as
defined in Rule .0202 of this Section,
of which 8,000 hours shall be primary
experience. The balance of experience
may be primary, secondary, or both;
and
(B) submit with the application written
statements from two persons who are
knowledgeable of the applicant's
electrical experience, attesting to the
applicant's ability to supervise and
direct all electrical wiring or electrical
installation work of an electrical
contracting business in the unlimited
classification.

(4)

®)

(6)

U]

Single family detached residential dwelling
(SP-SFD) classification. An applicant shall
have 3,000 hours of experience, as defined in
Rule .0202 of this Section, of which 2,000
hours shall be primary experience. The balance
of experience may be primary, secondary, or
both.
Special restricted fire alarm/low voltage (SP-
FA/LV) classification. An applicant shall have
3,000 hours of experience, as defined in Rule
.0202 of this Section, of which one year 2,000
hours shall be primary experience. The balance
of experience may be primary, secondary, or
both. An applicant in this classification may
also receive creditable experience for service in
any of the capacities listed in Rule .0202 that
the applicant gained in the low voltage field.

Special restricted elevator (SP-EL)

classification. An applicant shall:

(A) have 3,000 hours of experience, as
defined in Rule .0202 of this Section,
of which 2,000 hours shall be primary
experience. The balance of experience
may be primary, secondary, or both.
An applicant in this classification shall
also receive creditable experience for
service in any of the capacities listed
in Rule .0202 that the applicant gained
in the elevator field; and

(B) include on the application information
to establish that the applicant is
regularly on active duty in, and will be
the listed qualified individual for a
firm that is primarily engaged in, a
lawful elevator business in this State,
consistent with G.S. 87-43 and 21
NCAC 18B .0301.

Special restricted plumbing and heating (SP-

PH) classification. An applicant shall:

(A) have 3,000 hours of experience, as
defined in Rule .0202 of this Section,
of which 2,000 hours shall be primary
experience. The balance of experience
may be primary, secondary, or both.
An applicant in this classification shall
also receive creditable experience for
service in any of the capacities listed
in Rule .0202 that the applicant gained
in the plumbing, heating, or air
conditioning field; and

(B) include on the application information
verifying that the applicant is regularly
on active duty in, and will be the listed
qualified individual for a firm that is
primarily engaged in, a lawful
plumbing, heating, or air conditioning
business in this State consistent with
G.S. 87-43 and 21 NCAC 18B .0301.
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(8)

(9)

(10)

Special restricted ground water pump (SP-WP)

classification. An applicant shall:

(A) have 3,000 hours of experience, as
defined in Rule .0202 of this Section,
of which 2,000 hours shall be primary
experience. The balance of experience
may be primary, secondary, or both.
An applicant in this classification shall
also receive creditable experience for
service in any of the capacities listed
in Rule .0202 that the applicant gained
in the ground water pump field; and

(B) include on the application information
to establish that the applicant is
regularly on active duty in, and will be
the listed qualified individual for a
firm that is primarily engaged in, a
lawful ground water pump business in
this State, consistent with G.S. 87-43
and 21 NCAC 18B .0301.

Special restricted electric sign  (SP-ES)
classification. An applicant shall:
(A) have 3,000 hours of experience, as

defined in Rule .0202 of this Section,
of which 2,000 hours shall be primary
experience. The balance of experience
be primary, secondary, or both. An
applicant in this classification shall
also receive creditable experience in
any of the capacities listed in Rule
.0202 that the applicant gained in the
electric sign field; and

(B) include on the application information
to establish that the applicant is
regularly on active duty in, and will be
the listed qualified individual for a
firm that is primarily engaged in, a
lawful electric sign business in this
State.

Special restricted swimming pool (SP-SP)

classification. An applicant shall:

(A) have 3,000 hours of experience, as
defined in Rule .0202 of this Section,
of which 2,000 hours shall be primary
experience. The balance of experience
may be primary, secondary, or both.
An applicant in this classification shall
also receive creditable experience for
service in any of the capacities listed
in Rule .0202 that the applicant gained
in the swimming pool field; and

(B) include on the application information
verifying that the applicant is regularly
on active duty in, and will be the listed
qualified individual for a firm that is
primarily engaged in, a lawful
swimming pool business in this State,
consistent with G.S. 87-43 and 21
NCAC 18B .0301.

History Note:
87-43.4; 87-44;
Eff. October 1, 1988;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2010; March 1, 1999; February 1, 1990;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023; February 1, 2019; October 1, 2017.

Authority S.L. 2022-11; G.S. 87-42; 87-43.3;

21 NCAC 18B .0213 ALTERNATIVE EXAMINATION
() In the alternative to the qualifying examinations administered
by the Board for any license classification, an applicant may
submit an Alternative Test Application form from the Board's
website. The alternative application submission form must
document a passing score from the computer-based examination
entitled "Electrical Contractor" certified by the National
Association State Contractor Licensing Agencies (NASCLA).
(b) In addition to passing the qualifying examinations set forth in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule, applicant must satisfy all experience
requirements, age and character requirements set forth in Rules 21
NCAC 18B .0201 and 21 NCAC 18B .0203.

(c) An applicant under this rule shall further be required to obtain
a passing score of at least 18 of the 25 questions answered
correctly on the North Carolina Laws, Rules and Business
Practices test. The questions for the North Carolina Laws, Rules
and Business Practices test are set forth on the NASCLA
alternative application. Applicants under this rule shall complete
the North Carolina Laws, Rules and Business Practices test
remotely and are permitted to use information from the Board's
website during the test.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 87-42;
Eff. March 1, 2023.

21 NCAC 18B .0308 BIDDING PROJECTS
PURSUANT TO G.S. 87-1.1
For a Contractor licensed by the State Board of Examiners of
Electrical Contractors to qualify to bid either plumbing, heating,
fire sprinkler or general contracting projects pursuant to G.S. 87-
1.1, the building project must be bid and performed subject to the
following conditions:
1) the total amount of work to be performed by all
licensed general contractors shall not exceed 25
percent of the total bid price;
2 the total amount of work to be performed by all
licensed contractors issued by a license by the
State Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating
and Fire Sprinkler Contractors under Article 2
of Chapter 87 of the North Carolina General
Statutes shall not exceed 25 percent of the total
bid price.

History Note:
2022-6;
Eff. March 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 87-1.1; 87-42; S.L. 2021-122;

BRI S S

CHAPTER 42 - BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN
OPTOMETRY
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21 NCAC 42B .0101
OPTOMETRY

The Board may grant recognition and approval, deny or rescind
recognition and approval, or make any recognition and approval
granted by the Board conditional or probational, to any school
accredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric
Education. The Board, in its discretion, may base such
determination on its assessment of the quality of the educational
programs and offerings of each school or college of optometry.

APPROVED SCHOOLS OF

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-117.5; 90-118(a),(b);

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. May 30, 1978;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; April 1, 1993; June 1, 1989;
September 30, 1981;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. May 23,

2015;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023.

21 NCAC 42B .0303 FAILURE TO MEET
CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT

For a first failure to comply with 21 NCAC 42B .0302 the Board
may require that the optometrist complete an additional five hours
of attendance at approved continuing education programs. In the
calendar year following such failure to comply, the optometrist
must complete a sufficient number of hours at approved
continuing education programs to cure the prior year's shortfall,
meet the current year's continuing education obligation, and meet
any penalty imposed as a result of the prior year's shortfall. Any
subsequent failure to comply with 21 NCAC 42B .0302 may
subject the optometrist to disciplinary action under G.S. 90-121.2.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-117.5; 90-121.2; 90-123.1
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. May 30, 1978;

Amended Eff. June 1, 1989; September 30, 1981;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. May 23, 2015;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023.

21 NCAC 42D .0101 DEFINITIONS

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-115.1(6); 90-117.5;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. May 30, 1978;

Amended Eff. June 1, 1989; September 30, 1981;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. May 23, 2015;

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

21 NCAC 42D .0102 FUNCTION

(@ For the purposes of this Rule, "paraoptometric personnel”
means an optometric assistant, optometric technician, or similarly
titled position who qualifies by training and experience to perform
duties of an administrative, technical, or clinical nature and is
directed and supervised by a licensed optometrist.

(b) Paraoptometric personnel shall perform his or her functions
within the scope of his or her training, as directed by and assigned

by an optometrist, so long as those functions are at the specific
direction and under the supervision of the licensee.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-115.1(6); 90-117.5;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. May 30, 1978;

Amended Eff. June 1, 1989; September 30, 1981;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. May 23, 2015;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023.

21 NCAC 42M .0101
As used in this Subchapter:

(D) An "institution" is a school or college of
optometry approved by the Board in accordance
with Rule 21 NCAC 42B .0101.

2 A "preceptee” is an individual who is still
enrolled as a student in a school or college of
optometry approved by the Board and whose
clinical training is continuing under the
auspices and control of the institution in which
he or she is enrolled and under the supervision
of the preceptor to which he or she has been
assigned by his or her institution.

©) A "preceptor” is an optometrist, duly licensed
in the State of North Carolina, credentialed by
the institution for which he is serving as
preceptor and who has been approved by the
Board to act as such and under whose
supervision a preceptee serves.

(@) A "preceptorship" is a course of study in which
students enrolled in a school approved pursuant
to Rule 21 NCAC 42B .0101 receive part of
their clinical training in a private practice
setting outside the direct confines of the
educational institution and whose training is
continuing under the auspices and overall
responsibility of the institution in which he or
she is enrolled and under the supervision of a
preceptor credentialed by the institution for
which he or she is acting as a preceptor and
whose credentials have been approved by the
board.

DEFINITIONS

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-115.1(3); 90-117.5;

Eff. April 1, 1993;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. May 23, 2015;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023.

21 NCAC 42M .0106 TERMINATION

(@) Approval and registration of a preceptor shall continue in
effect until terminated by the Board, by the institution from whom
he or she received his or her credentials as a preceptor, or until 30
days after written notification of termination is submitted by the
preceptor to the Board. The approval and registration of a
preceptor may be terminated, after notice and hearing, for any
violation of these Rules.
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(b) The approval of a preceptee shall be terminated by the Board
no later than 30 days following the date of graduation or when,
after notice and hearing, the Board finds:

(1) that the preceptee has held himself or herself
out or permitted another to represent him or her
as a licensed optometrist;

(2) that the preceptee has in fact performed
professional services while not under the
supervision of an optometrist licensed by the
Board or has been delegated and preformed a
task or tasks beyond his or her competence;

3) that the preceptee is a user of intoxicants or
drugs to such an extent that he or she is unable
to perform as a preceptee to an optometrist;

4) that the preceptee has been convicted in any
court, state or federal, of any felony or other
criminal offense involving moral turpitude;

(5) that the preceptee has been adjudicated a mental
incompetent or whose mental condition renders
him or her unable to safely perform as a
preceptee to an optometrist; or

(6) that the preceptee has committed any act or
omission which would subject him or her to
discipline under G.S. 90-121.2 or under these
Rules.

(c) Approval of a preceptorship shall continue in effect until
terminated by the Board or until 30 days after written notification
of termination is submitted by the institution to the Board. A
preceptorship may be terminated, after notice and hearing, for any
violation of the rules of this Chapter.

History Note:
121.2;

Eff. April 1, 1993;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. May 23, 2015;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023.

Authority G. S. 90-115.1(3); 90-117.5; 90-

EE R R S I S S I S I S I

CHAPTER 46 - BOARD OF PHARMACY

21 NCAC 46 .1819 COVID-19 DRUG
PRESERVATION RULE

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.26; 90-85.32;
Emergency Adoption Eff. April 1, 2020;

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020;

Eff. February 1, 2021;

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2023.

EE R R S I S S S S I S I

CHAPTER 50 - BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF
PLUMBING, HEATING AND FIRE
SPRINKLER CONTRACTORS

21 NCAC 50 .0403 USE OF LICENSE

(a) A licensed contractor or technician shall not permit the use of
his license by any other person.

(b) A contractor licensed by the Board shall not bid or contract
installations requiring license of a type or classification issued by
this Board which the licensee does not have except as a part of a
documented joint venture with a licensee holding the necessary
qualification or in accordance with the provisions set out in 21
NCAC 50 .0415. Bidding without qualification and with an
intention to subcontract the unauthorized work does not satisfy
this requirement. However in a contract administered pursuant to
G.S. 143-129 and in which more than one classification
administered by this Board has been combined in the separate
contract specifications, a licensee of this Board holding either of
such qualifications may bid both of such classifications of work
administered by this Board in addition to the classification for
which he holds license if the successful bidder obtains an executed
written contract with a qualified licensee prior to the award of the
contract by the awarding authority.

(c) A technician licensed by this Board shall not contract work
based on the Technician license.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-23; 87-26; 87-1.1;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted September 29, 1977;

Amended Eff. December 31, 2011; November 1, 1993; May 1,
1989;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015;

Amended Eff. March 1,2023.

21 NCAC 50 .0415 PROPOSAL, BID, ESTIMATE,
PERFORMANCE UNDER G.S. 87-1.1
For a Contractor licensed by the State Board of Examiners of
Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors to qualify to
bid either electrical or general contracting projects pursuant to
G.S. 87-1.1, the building project must be bid and performed
subject to the following conditions:
1) the total amount of work to be performed by all
licensed general contractors shall not exceed 25
percent of the total bid price;
2) the total amount of work to be performed by all
licensed contractors issued a license by the
State Board of Examiners of Electrical
Contractors under Article 4 of Chapter 87 of the
North Carolina General Statutes shall not
exceed 25 percent of the total bid price.

History Note:
2021-122;
Eff. March 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 87-1.1; 87-18; S.L. 2022-6;

21 NCAC 50 .0519 RESIDENTIAL FIRE
SPRINKLER DESIGN CONTRACTOR LICENSE

(&) A licensed Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractor is
authorized to design residential fire sprinkler Systems consistent
with NFPA 13D Residential Multipurpose Fire Sprinkler Systems
as set forth in the North Carolina Plumbing Code.
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(b) An individual who holds an active license as a Plumbing
Contractor and as a Residential Fire Sprinkler Installation
Contractor may obtain license as a Residential Fire Sprinkler
Design Contractor upon meeting the requirements of Rule .0316
of this Chapter.

(c) A licensed Fire Sprinkler Installation Contractor may design
residential fire sprinkler systems consistent with NFPA 13D
Residential Multipurpose Fire Sprinkler Systems without meeting
the requirements of Paragraph (a) and (b) of this Rule.

(d) Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractors shall place their
Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractor license number and
their dated signature on all design drawings and documents.

(e) Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractors shall submit all
NFPA 13D multipurpose fire sprinkler design drawings and
documents to the Residential Fire Sprinkler Installation
Contractors prior to the commencement of the multipurpose fire
sprinkler installation and upon request from the local inspection
department.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 2020;
Amended Eff. March 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-21(b);

21 NCAC 50 .1101 EXAMINATION FEES

(@) An application to reissue or transfer a license to a different
corporation, partnership or individual name requires a fee of
twenty-five dollars ($25.00).

(b) An application to issue or transfer a license to the license of
an existing licensee requires a fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00).
(c) An application for a license by examination requires a fee of
one hundred dollars ($100.00), consisting of an application fee of
twenty-five dollars ($25.00) and an examination fee of seventy-
five dollars ($75.00), which is nonrefundable. Upon passage of
the examination, the license fee set forth in 21 NCAC 50. 1102
must be paid to obtain the license within 45 days of notification
of the result of the examination, except that anyone passing the
examination on or after October 1 of any year may elect to obtain
a license for the following year rather than the year in which the
exam was passed.

History Note:
Eff. May 1, 1989;
Temporary Amendment Eff. November 17, 1989 for a period of 77
days to expire on February 1, 1990;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; November 1, 1993; March 1, 1990;
Temporary Amendment Eff. August 31, 2001;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2005; December 1, 2003; April 1, 2003;
December 4, 2002;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-22.1; 87-22; 87-26;

EE R R S S S S S S I S

CHAPTER 56 — BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR
ENGINEERS AND SURVEYORS

21 NCAC 56 .0303 DISBURSEMENT OF FUNDS
The Board may dispense funds for educational programs. Entities
described in G.S. 89C-10(g) may request funds in writing and
provide the following information:

@) The amount needed;

2 The intended use of the funds;

3 Subject material to be presented and

qualifications of instructors to be employed;

4 Itemized breakdown of the amount needed and
the total expected costs; and
(5) Source and amount of assistance being given by

any other person or organization.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 89C-10(g);

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1989; January 1, 1982;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023; July 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 56 .0601
LICENSING

(a) Education. The terms used by the Board for the specific
education requirements to be eligible to be licensed as a
Professional Land Surveyor are defined as follows:

@ "Bachelor of Science degree in surveying or
other equivalent curriculum." These degrees
shall contain a minimum of 45 semester hours,
or their quarter-hour equivalents. Of the 45
semester hours, a minimum of 12 semester
hours of surveying fundamentals, 12 semester
hours of applied surveying practice, and 12
semester hours of advanced or theoretical
surveying courses are required. The remainder
of the required surveying courses may be
elective-type courses in any of the categories;
and

2 "Associate degree in surveying technology."
This degree shall contain a minimum of 20
semester hours, or quarter-hour equivalents.
Courses, completed with a passing grade, shall
be in surveying fundamentals, applied
surveying practice and advanced or theoretical
surveying courses, including courses in
surveying practices, subdivision design and

REQUIREMENTS FOR

planning, surface drainage, and
photogrammetry.
3) "Land Surveyor Apprenticeship.” The applicant

shall have completed one of the following:

(A) Certified Survey Technician Program
(CST) of the National Society of
Surveyors (NSPS) levels I through 1V.

(B) "Technologist" Certification Program
of the American Society for
Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing
(ASPRS).

© The Surveying Education Standard of
the National Council of Examiners for
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(b) Experience:

(1)

Engineering and Surveying (NCEES)
by obtaining college semester credit
hours, as modified to require the
following 39 college semester hours:
(i) Twelve college semester
hours in mathematics beyond
basic mathematics, but the
credits  include  college

algebra or higher
mathematics. These courses
must emphasize

mathematical concepts and
principles rather  than
computation. Course
examples include college
algebra, trigonometry,
analytic geometry,
differential and integral
calculus, linear algebra,
numerical analysis,
probability and statistics, and
advanced calculus; and

(i) Twenty-seven college
semester hours of surveying
science and  surveying
practice. Courses shall be
taught by surveying faculty
qualified by education,
training or experience to
teach the subject matter.
Examples of courses are
basic  surveying, route
surveying, geodesy,
geographic information
systems, land development
design and planning, global
positioning systems,
photogrammetry, mapping,
legal principles of land
surveying, boundary law,
professional surveying and
mapping, and remote
sensing. Graduate-level
surveying courses can be
included to fulfill curricular
requirements in this area.

(D) Apprenticeship program, administered
through ApprenticeshipNC, or
equivalent administrator, approved by
the Board, as including elements
equivalent to Parts (A), (B), or (C) of
this Subparagraph.

Definition. As used in the North Carolina
Engineering and Land Surveying Act, the term
"progressive practical experience" means that
during the period of time in which an applicant
made a practical utilization of the knowledge of
the principles of geometry and trigonometry in

@

@)

M

determining the shape, boundaries, position,
and extent of the earth's surface, a continuous
improvement, growth, and development in the
utilization of that knowledge have been shown.
In addition, the applicant shall show the
continuous assumption of greater individual
responsibility for the work product over that
period of time.

Required Experience. In evaluating the work
experience required, the Board shall consider
the total experience record and the progressive
nature of the record. Not less than half of the
required land surveying experience shall be of
a professional grade and character, and shall be
performed under the responsible charge of a
Professional Land Surveyor. If the work was
not under the responsible charge of a
Professional Land Surveyor, the applicant shall
submit a written explanation to the Board
explaining why the experience should be
considered. The Board shall approve the
experience on a case-by-case basis if it is
satisfied of the grade and character of the
progressive experience. Experience gained
under the technical supervision of an unlicensed
individual shall be considered based upon the
engineering  education and  experience
credential of the unlicensed supervisor.
Experience gained in the armed services,
typically while serving in an engineering or
surveying related group, shall be accepted only
if substantially equivalent to that which would
have been gained in civilian work.

Other Experience. The applicant shall
document the nature and details of the work
done in the following areas to evidence to the
Board its equivalency to land surveying:

(A) construction layout;

(B) engineering surveying; or

© part-time surveying work.

(c) Exhibits, Drawings, Maps:

Required Exhibit Before Principles and

Practice of Surveying Examination:

(A) General. The applicant shall submit,
along with the application, an actual
map of a boundary survey of an actual
project prepared under the direct
supervision and responsible charge of
a Professional Land Surveyor who
states that the applicant did the
preparatory work of the survey; that
shows, by its conformance, that the
applicant is knowledgeable of the
contents of the Standards of Practice
for Land Surveying in North Carolina
as set forth in Section .1600 of this
Chapter; and that shows that the
applicant is able to apply this
knowledge by preparing a map in
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accordance with the various legal and
professional requirements of land
surveying.

(B) Physical Requirement. The map
submitted shall be a clean, clear,
legible print of an original map in the
file of a Professional Land Surveyor.

© Specific Requirements. The details
that shall be evaluated are those
applicable to the particular project as
described in the Standards of Practice
for Land Surveying in North Carolina
as set forth in Section .1600 of this
Chapter, and as described in G.S.
47-30. In addition, the exhibit shall
contain a statement that the field work,
calculation, and mapping were
performed by the applicant under the
supervision of a Professional Land
Surveyor, attested to by that
Professional Land Surveyor.

)] Requirements for Comity Applicant. The map
submitted by an applicant under comity may be
a representative map of an actual survey of a
project or work performed in the state of
licensure that is modified to meet the
requirements in Subparagraph (c)(2) of this
Rule and shall be evaluated in accordance with
the requirements applicable to the particular
project as described in the Standards of Practice
for Land Surveying in North Carolina as set
forth in Section .1600 of this Chapter, and as
described in G.S. 47-30.

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-13;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; July 1, 2009; August 1, 2000;
August 1, 1998; November 2, 1992; April 1, 1989; December 1,
1984; January 1, 1982;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020;

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2022;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023.

21 NCAC 56 .0608 SURVEYOR INTERN
(@) General. To obtain the optional certification as a Surveyor
Intern, an applicant shall:
1) pass the fundamentals of land surveying
examination and make application to the Board
on a form prescribed and furnished by the

(A) Have a bachelor of science degree in
surveying or other equivalent
curricula, approved by the Board and
a record satisfactory to the Board of
one year of progressive practical

experience under a practicing
professional land surveyor.
(B) Have an associate degree in surveying

technology approved by the Board and
a record satisfactory to the Board of
two years of progressive practical
experience under a practicing
professional land surveyor.
© Have graduated from high school or
completed a high school equivalency
certificate and a record satisfactory to
the Board of five years of progressive
practical  experience, under a
practicing professional land surveyor.
(D) Graduation from a high school or the
completion of a high school
equivalency certificate, completion of
a Land Surveyor Apprenticeship, and
a record satisfactory to the Board of
three years of progressive practical
experience under a  practicing
professional land surveyor.
(b) Request. The application form may be requested from the
Board office or obtained from the website.
(c) Application Form. Surveyor Intern Certificate Application
form. After passing the Fundamentals of Land Surveying
examination an applicant may make application to the Board to
become certified as a "Surveyor Intern." This form requires the
applicant to set forth personal history, educational background,
surveying experience, character references and exhibit. A
passport-type photographic quality portrait that is adequate for
current identification purposes is required.
(d) Reference Forms:
1) Persons applying to be certified as a Surveyor
Intern shall submit to the Board names of
individuals who are familiar with the
applicant's work, character and reputation. The
names shall be submitted by the applicant on
the application form.
2 Persons applying for certification as a Surveyor
Intern must submit three references, one of
whom shall be a professional land surveyor.
3) In addition to the applicant submitting names to
the Board of such individuals, those individuals
in submitting to the Board their evaluations of
the applicant shall use the reference forms
supplied them by the applicant.

Board, ()] The reference form requires the individual
2) be of good character and reputation, evaluating the applicant to state the evaluating
3) submit three character references to the Board, individual's profession, knowledge of the
one of whom is a professional land surveyor, applicant, and information concerning the
4) comply with the requirements of this rule, and applicant's land  surveying  experience,
(5) satisfy one of the following requirements character, and reputation.
related to education and experience:
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(5) The Board shall provide the reference forms to
the applicant along with the application for
licensure. The reference forms shall then be
distributed by the applicant to the persons listed
on the application as references. The applicant
is responsible to have the individuals listed as
references return the forms to the Board prior to
the filing deadline for the examination applied
for by the applicant.

(e) Personal Interview. During the application process, the
applicant may be interviewed by Board members if the members
have questions regarding the applicant's education, experience or
character, based upon the information submitted in the
application.

History Note:
14; 89C-15;
Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 2022;
Eff. March 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 89C-2; 89C-10; 89C-13; 89C-

21 NCAC 56 .1702 DEFINITIONS
Terms used in this Section are defined as follows:

@ Professional Development Hour (PDH) - A
contact hour (nominal) of instruction or
presentation. The common denominator for
other units of credit.

(2) Continuing Education Unit (CEU) - Unit of
credit customarily used for continuing
education courses. One continuing education
unit equals 10 contact hours of instruction or
presentation.

3 College or Unit Semester or Quarter Hour -
Credit for Accreditation Board for Engineering
and Technology approved course or other
related college course.

(@) Course or Activity - Any course or activity with
a purpose and objective which will maintain,
improve, or expand the skills and knowledge
relevant to the licensee's field of practice.

(5) Dual Licensee - A person who is licensed as
both an engineer and a land surveyor.
(6) Sponsor - Organization or individual that has

supplied information on a form prescribed and
furnished by the Board with respect to the
organization or individual's ability to provide
instruction in "for credit" courses. Courses
offered by those designated as "Sponsor" must
contain a purpose and objective, and result in
the maintenance, improvement, or expansion of
skills and knowledge relevant to a licensee's
field of practice.

(7 Ethics or Rules of Professional Conduct - A
course or activity with content areas
concerning:
€)] the awareness of ethical concerns and

conflicts;
(b) an enhanced familiarity with codes of
conduct;

(c) an understanding of standards of
practice or care;

(d) project management and  risk-
assessment management; or

(e) other similar topics aimed at
maintaining, improving, or expanding
the skill sets and knowledge relevant
to conducting the practice of the
profession so as to protect the health,
safety, and welfare of the public.

(8) Standards of Practice for Land Surveying - A
course or activity with content areas related to
Standards of Practice for Land Surveying in
Section .1600 of this Chapter.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 89C-10(a); 89C-17; 89C-20
Eff. December 1, 1994;

Amended Eff. May 1, 2009; August 1, 2000;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023.

21 NCAC 56 .1703 REQUIREMENTS

Every licensee shall obtain 15 PDH units during the renewal
period. Effective as of the 2024 license renewal, for all licensees
at least 1 PDH shall be in Ethics or Rules of Professional Conduct.
In addition, for Professional Land Surveyors 1 PDH shall be in
the Standards of Practice for Land Surveying. If a licensee
exceeds the annual requirement in any renewal period, a
maximum of 15 PDH units may be carried forward into the
subsequent renewal period. Selection of courses and activities that
meet the requirements of Rule .1702(4) of this Section is the
responsibility of the licensee. Post evaluation of the courses that
are documented as required by Rule .1706 of this Section for
compliance with Rules .1702, .1703, .1704, and .1705 of this
Section may result in non-acceptance by the Board. PDH units
may be earned as follows:

1) Completion of college courses;

2) Completion of continuing education courses,
seminars, or workshops;

3 Completion of correspondence, televised,

Internet, videotaped, audiotaped, and other
courses or tutorials, provided an exam is
required for completion. No exam is required
for attendance at a webinar presentation if
attendance is documented;

4) Presenting or attending seminars, in-house
courses, workshops, or professional or
technical presentations made at meetings,
conventions or conferences;

(5) Teaching or instructing in Items (1) through (4)

of this Rule;
(6) Authoring published papers, articles, or books;
@) Active participation in professional or technical

societies or accrediting organizations as defined
in Rule .1705(f) of this Section;

8) Patents;

©)] Authoring exam questions accepted for use in
the engineering or land surveying exams; or
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(10) Active participation on boards, commissions,
committees or councils of private, local, state or
federal government entities as defined in Rule
.1705(g) of this Section; or

(112) Active participation in educational outreach
activities pertaining to professional licensure or
the surveying/engineering professions that
involve K-12 or higher education students as
defined in Rule .1705(h) of this Section.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 89C-10(a); 89C-17;

Eff. December 1, 1994;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; August 1, 2011; May 1, 2009;
August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023.

21 NCAC 56 .1704 UNITS
The conversion of units of credit set forth in Rule .1703 of this
Section to PDH units is as follows:

@ 1 College or unit semester hour.
45 PDH
)] 1 College or unit quarter hour.
30 PDH
3 1 Continuing Education Unit.
10 PDH
4) 1 Contact hour of professional development in

course work, seminars, or professional or
technical presentations made at meetings,
conventions or conferences, and for
correspondence, televised, Internet, videotaped,
audiotaped, and other courses or tutorials.
Contact hours equal the actual time of
instruction and shall be credited to the nearest
one-third of an hour.
1 PDH

(5) For teaching in Items (1) — (4) of this Rule, PDH
credits are doubled. Teaching credit is valid for
teaching a course or seminar for the first time
only. Teaching credit does not apply to full-
time faculty, as defined by the institution where
a licensee is teaching.

(6) Each published paper, article or book.

10 PDH

@) Active participation in professional or technical
societies or in accrediting organizations as
defined in Rule .1705(f) of this Section. (Each
society or organization)

2 PDH
(8) Each patent.
10 PDH
9) Each question used.
2 PDH

(10) Active participation on boards, commissions,
committees or councils of private, local, state or
federal government entities as defined in Rule
.1705(g) of this Section. (Each entity)

2 PDH

(11) Active participation in educational outreach
activities pertaining to professional licensure or
the surveying/engineering professions that
involve K-12 or higher education students as
defined in Rule .1705(h) of this Section. (Each
hour)

1 PDH
(not to exceed 3 PDHs)

History Note:  Authority G.S. 89C-10(a); 89C-17;

Eff. December 1, 1994;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; May 1, 2009; August 1, 2000;
August 1, 1998;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023.

21 NCAC 56 .1705 DETERMINATION OF CREDIT
(&) Approval of courses, sponsors, credit, PDH value for courses,
and other methods of earning credit shall meet Rule .1702(4) of
this Section.

(b) Credit for college or community college courses shall be
based upon course credit established by the college.

(c) Credit for continuing education courses, seminars and
workshops shall be based on one PDH unit for each hour of
attendance. Attendance at programs presented at professional and
technical society meetings shall earn PDH units for the actual time
of each program.

(d) Credit for correspondence, televised, Internet, videotaped,
audiotaped, and other courses or tutorials, provided an exam is
required for completion, shall be based upon one PDH unit for
each hour assigned to the course, provided such hours reflect the
course material and content required of the professional to
complete the course.

(e) Credit determination for published papers, articles and books
and obtaining patents is the responsibility of the licensee to
support and document the hours reported in compliance with the
rules of this Section.

(f) Credit for active participation in professional or technical
societies or accrediting organizations (limited to 2 PDH per
society or organization), requires that a licensee serve as an officer
or participate as a member and contribute to the work of a
committee of the society, or for accrediting organizations serve as
an officer or participate in a committee or accreditation visits.
PDH credits are not earned until the end of each year of service is
completed.

(g) Credit for active participation on boards, commissions,
committees or councils of private, local, state or federal
government entities (limited to 2 PDH per entity) requires
utilizing engineering or land surveying knowledge (as applicable)
in the participation. PDH credits are not earned until the end of
each year of service is completed.

(h) Credit for active participation in educational outreach
activities by providing education about professional licensure or
the surveying and engineering professions that involve K-12 or
higher education students (limited to 3 PDH).

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 89C-10(a); 89C-17;
Eff. December 1, 1994;
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Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; August 1, 2011; May 1, 2009;
August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023.

21 NCAC 56 .1707 EXEMPTIONS
A licensee is exempt from the professional development
educational requirements for the following reasons:

1) New licensees by way of examination or comity
are exempt for their first renewal period.
2 If currently licensed by and in good standing

(license is not suspended or revoked) with the
Board a licensee who is serving in the armed
forces of the United States and who is eligible
for an extension of time to file a tax return
pursuant to G.S. 105-249.2 is granted a waiver
of the mandatory continuing education
requirements for the time period disregarded
pursuant to the Internal Revenue Code 26

U.S.C. 7508.
The licensee shall request the waiver as
follows:

@ The licensee shall notify the Board of
eligibility before the current license
expires. Upon such notification, the
Board shall maintain the license in
active status through the extension
period.

(b) If the licensee fails to notify the Board
of eligibility for the extension period
before the current license expires,
upon receipt and acceptance of a
renewal application within the
extension period and presentation of
proof that the licensee was eligible on
the date that is the deadline for
renewal, the expired license or
registration  shall be  deemed
retroactively to have not expired.

(© The licensee who submits a renewal
application within the extension
period shall not be deemed to hold a
lapsed license subject to reinstatement
fees.

(d) The licensee may renew the license
within the extension period despite
failing to complete the specified
continuing education requirements.

(e A licensee shall provide proof of
eligibility for the extension period
when the licensee or registrant submits
the renewal application.

A request shall be administratively approved by

the Executive Director, without waiting for the

next regular meeting of the Board at which time
the action shall be reported to the Board for
final approval.

?3) The Board shall exempt a licensee if the Board
determines that the licensee is experiencing
physical disability, illness, or other extenuating
circumstances that prevent the licensee from
obtaining professional development hours.
Supporting documentation must be furnished to
the Board. A request shall be administratively
approved by the Executive Director, without
waiting for the next regular meeting of the
Board at which time the action shall be reported
to the Board for final approval.

4 Licensees who list their occupation as
"Inactive" on the Board approved renewal form
and who are no longer providing professional
engineering or land surveying services are
exempt from the professional development
hours required. In the event such a person elects
to return to active practice of professional
engineering or land surveying, professional
development hours must be earned in
accordance with the requirements of Rule .1708
in this Section before returning to active
practice for each year exempted not to exceed
the annual requirement for two years.

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10(a); 89C-17; 93B-15;
Eff. December 1, 1994;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2011; May 1, 2009; August 1, 2000;
February 1, 1996;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2023.

21 NCAC 56 .1713 SPONSORS

(a) The Board may approve sponsors of Continuing Professional
Competency (CPC) activities. The Board may maintain a list of
sponsors which have agreed to conduct programs in accordance
with the standards of CPC activities set forth in 21 NCAC 56.
1700. Such sponsors shall indicate their agreement with the
requirements by executing a Sponsor Agreement on a form
provided by the Board. These sponsors shall be designated as
"Approved Sponsors" based upon approval by the Board of the
sponsor application and payment of a one hundred fifty dollar
($150.00) application fee. The application form contains the

following:

(8] Name of applicant, contact name, mailing and
physical address, phone number, and email
address;

2 Type of organization;

?3) Delivery of course type(s), program offerings

(to public or in-house);
()] Offered to Professional Engineers or
Professional Land Surveyors, or both;

(5) Example of certificate of completion that attests
to attendance;

(6) Summary of qualifications of organization;

@) Types (subjects) of courses offered;

8) Sample course outline(s); and

©)] Qualifications of course instructor(s)
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(b) By entering into an agreement with the Board to be designated
as an "Approved Sponsor," the sponsor shall agree to the
following terms as the sole terms of the agreement:

(1) Allow persons designated by this Board to
attend any or all courses, without fee or charge,
for the purpose of determining that said course
meets the standards of the Board;

(2) Allow persons designated by this Board to
review course material for the purpose of
determining that the course meets the standards
of the Board,;

3) State in every brochure, publication or
announcement concerning the course, the
general content of the course and the specific
knowledge or skill to be taught or addressed, as
well as the credit to be earned in Professional
Development Hours (PDH);

4) Ensure that the instructors or presenters of the
course or program are qualified by education,
training or experience to teach the subject
matter;

(5) Provide persons completing the course with
written documentation attesting to that person’s
attendance to the course, as well as the name of
the course, the date and location held, the
instructor's name and the number of PDHs
earned;

(6) Provide attendees an evaluation form as
provided by the Board that is to be collected and
retained for audit by the Board;

) Have a visible, continuous and identifiable
contact person who is charged with the
administration of the sponsor's CPC program
and who has the responsibility for assuring and
demonstrating to the Board compliance with
this Rule, as well as for any other organization
working with the sponsor for the development,
distribution or presentation of CPC courses or
activities; and

(8) Retain for a period of three years a copy of the
documentation required by this Paragraph.

(c) Sponsors shall renew annually on a form provided by the
Board.

(d) Failure of an approved sponsor to comply with the terms of
the CPC sponsor agreement is grounds for the Board to revoke,
suspend or terminate the agreement, to remove the sponsor's name
from the list of approved sponsors and to notify the public of such
action. A sponsor that is given notice of revocation, suspension or
termination may request an administrative hearing to be
conducted as provided in 21 NCAC 56 .1400 Contested Cases.
(e) Approval of a sponsor is equivalent to the language of
licensing a sponsor in G.S. 89C-10(h).

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-17;

Eff. February 1, 1996;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2011; July 1, 2009; August 1, 2002;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019;

Amended Eff. March 1. 2023.
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission April 20, 2023 at 1711 New Hope Church
Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC. Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission
should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners. Specific instructions and
addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850. Anyone wishing to address the Commission
should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2" business day before the meeting. Please refer to
RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05.

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS

Appointed by Senate Appointed by House
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Andrew P. Atkins (1st Vice Chair)
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. (2" Vice Chair) Wayne R. Boyles, llI
Jay R. Hemphill Barbara A. Jackson
Jeff Hyde Randy Overton
Robert A. Rucho Paul Powell

COMMISSION COUNSEL

Brian Liebman 984-236-1948

Lawrence Duke 984-236-1938

William W. Peaslee 984-236-1939

Seth M. Ascher 984-236-1934

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES
April 20, 2023 June 15, 2023
May 18, 2023 July 20, 2023
AGENDA

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION
Thursday, April 20, 2023, 9:00 A.M.
1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609

l. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e)
Il. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting

1. Follow-up matters
A. Medical Care Commission - T0ANCAC 13B .3801, .3903, .4103, .4104, .4106, .4305, .4603, .4801, .4805,
.5102, .5105, .5406, .5408, .5411 (Liebman)
B. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02H .1301, .1401, .1402, .1403, .1404, .1405
(Liebman)
C. Coastal Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 07H .0501, .0502, .0503, .0505, .0506, .0507, .0508, .0509,

.0510; 071 .0406, .0506, .0702; 07J .0203, .0204, .0206, .0207, .0208, .0312 (Liebman)

Coastal Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 07H .2305 (Duke)

Coastal Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 07M .0201, .0202, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0701, .0703, .0704,

.1001, .1002, .1101 (Peaslee)

F. Commission for Public Health - 15A NCAC 18A .2801, .2802, .2803, .2804, .2806, .2807, .2808, .2809,
.2810, .2812, .2814, .2815, .2816, .2817, .2818, .2819, .2820, .2821, .2822, .2823, .2824, .2825, .2826,
.2827, .2829, .2830, .2831, .2832, .2833, .2834, .2835, .2836 (Ascher)

G. Locksmith Licensing Board - 21 NCAC 29 .0705 (Liebman)

H. Department of Health and Human Services - 10A NCAC 14J .1307 (Peaslee)

V. Review of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between February 21, 2023 through March 20, 2023
Radiation Protection Commission (Ascher)

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission (Ascher)

Environmental Management Commission (Duke)

Wildlife Resources Commission (Duke)

Board of Nursing (Peaslee)

mo
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e Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators (Liebman)
e Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors (Liebman)

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting
VI. Existing Rules Review

VII. Commission Business
e Consideration and adoption of proposed changes to 26 NCAC 05 .0100 - .0200
o Next meeting: May 18, 2023

Commission Review
Log of Permanent Rule Filings
February 21, 2023 through March 20, 2023

RADIATION PROTECTION COMMISSION

The rules in Chapter 15 are from the Radiation Protection Commission and include general provisions (.0100);
registration of radiation machines, facilities and services (.0200); licensing of radioactive material (.0300); safety
requirements for industrial radiography operations (.0500); x-rays in the healing arts (.0600); use of radioactive sources
in the healing arts (.0700); requirements for analytical x-ray equipment (.0800); requirements for particle accelerators
(.0900); notices, instructions, reports and inspections (.1000); fees (.1100); land disposal of radioactive waste (.1200);
requirements for wire-line service operators and subsurface-tracer studies (.1300); tanning facilities (.1400); licenses
for disposal site access (.1500); and standards for protections against radiation (.1600).

Classification of Radioactive Material 10A NCAC 15 .0113
Readopt/Repeal*

Specific Licenses: Sealed Sources in Industrial Radiograp... 10A NCAC 15 .0323
Readopt with Changes*

Exemptions: Waste Management by Generators 10A NCAC 15 .0349
Readopt/Repeal*

Purpose and Scope 10A NCAC 15 .1201
Readopt/Repeal*

Definitions 10A NCAC 15 .1202
Readopt/Repeal*

License Required: Land Disposal of Low-Level Radioactive ... 10A NCAC 15 .1203
Readopt with Changes*

Content of Application 10A NCAC 15 .1204
Readopt/Repeal*

General Informations 10A NCAC 15 .1205
Readopt/Repeal*

Specific Technical Information 10A NCAC 15 .1206
Readopt/Repeal*

Environmental Information 10A NCAC 15 .1207
Readopt/Repeal*

Technical and Environmental Analyses 10A NCAC 15 .1208
Readopt/Repeal*

Institutional Information 10A NCAC 15 .1209
Readopt/Repeal*

Financial Information 10A NCAC 15 .1210
Readopt/Repeal*

Filing and Distribution of Application 10A NCAC 15 .1211
Readopt/Repeal*

Elimination of Repetition 10A NCAC 15 .1212
Readopt/Repeal*
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Updating of Application 10A NCAC 15 .1213
Readopt/Repeal*

Standards for Issuance of a License 10A NCAC 15 .1214
Readopt/Repeal*

Conditions of License 10A NCAC 15 .1215
Readopt/Repeal*

Amendment of License 10A NCAC 15 .1216
Readopt/Repeal*

Application for Renewal or Closure 10A NCAC 15 .1217
Readopt/Repeal*

Contents of Application for Closure 10A NCAC 15 .1218
Readopt/Repeal*

Postclosure Observation and Maintenance 10A NCAC 15 .1219
Readopt/Repeal*

Transfer of License 10A NCAC 15 .1220
Readopt/Repeal*

Termination of License 10A NCAC 15 .1221
Readopt/Repeal*

Performance Obijectives: General Requirement 10A NCAC 15 .1222
Readopt/Repeal*

Protection of Population from Release of Radioactivity 10A NCAC 15 .1223
Readopt/Repeal*

Protection of individuals from Inadvertent Intrusion 10A NCAC 15 .1224
Readopt/Repeal*

Protection of Individuals During Operations 10A NCAC 15 .1225
Readopt/Repeal*

Stability of the Disposal Site After Closure 10A NCAC 15 .1226
Readopt/Repeal*

Technical Requirements for Land Disposal Facilities 10A NCAC 15 .1227
Readopt/Repeal*

Disposal Site Suitability Requirements 10A NCAC 15 .1228
Readopt/Repeal*

Site Design for Land Disposal 10A NCAC 15 .1229
Readopt/Repeal*

Facility Operation and Disposal Site Closure 10A NCAC 15 .1230
Readopt/Repeal*

Environmental Monitoring 10A NCAC 15 .1231
Readopt/Repeal*

Waste Classification and Characteristics 10A NCAC 15 .1233
Readopt/Repeal*

Institutional Requirements 10A NCAC 15 .1234
Readopt/Repeal*

Applicant Qualifications and Assurances 10A NCAC 15 .1235
Readopt/Repeal*

Funding of Closure: Stabilization: Institutional Controls 10A NCAC 15 .1236
Readopt/Repeal*

Records: Reports: Tests: and Inspections 10A NCAC 15 .1237
Readopt/Repeal*

Maintenance of Records: Reports and Transfers 10A NCAC 15 .1238
Readopt/Repeal*

Tests at Land Disposal Facilities 10A NCAC 15 .1239
Readopt/Repeal*
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Agency Inspections of Land Disposal Facilities 10A NCAC 15 .1240
Readopt/Repeal*

Inspection 10A NCAC 15 .1241
Readopt/Repeal*

Notifications and Reports 10A NCAC 15 .1242
Readopt/Repeal*

Purpose and Scope 10A NCAC 15 .1501
Readopt/Repeal*

Definitions 10A NCAC 15 .1502
Readopt/Repeal*

License Required 10A NCAC 15 .1503
Readopt/Repeal*

Application for Site Access License: General Requirements 10A NCAC 15 .1504
Readopt/Repeal*

Application for Site Access License - Waste Generators 10A NCAC 15 .1505
Readopt/Repeal*

Content of Application for Waste Collectors 10A NCAC 15 .1506
Readopt/Repeal*

Content of Application for Waste Processors 10A NCAC 15 .1507
Readopt/Repeal*

Certification of Compliance with Applicable Requirements 10A NCAC 15 .1508
Readopt/Repeal*

Prior Notification for Waste Shipments 10A NCAC 15 .1509
Readopt/Repeal*

Radioactive Shipment Manifest 10A NCAC 15 .1510
Readopt/Repeal*

Financial Qualification and Requirements 10A NCAC 15 .1511
Readopt/Repeal*

Waste Management and Reduction Requirements 10A NCAC 15 .1512
Readopt/Repeal*

Issuance and Expiration of Site Access Licenses 10A NCAC 15 .1513
Readopt/Repeal*

Site Access License Renewal 10A NCAC 15 .1514
Readopt/Repeal*

Site Access License Amendment 10A NCAC 15 .1515
Readopt/Repeal*

Modification, Revocation, and Termination of License 10A NCAC 15 .1516
Readopt/Repeal*

Temporary or Emergency Access 10A NCAC 15 .1517
Readopt/Repeal*

Classification/Radioactive Waste for Near-Surface Disposal 10A NCAC 15 .1650
Readopt/Repeal*

Radioactive Waste Characteristics 10A NCAC 15 .1651
Readopt/Repeal*

Labeling 10A NCAC 15 .1652
Readopt/Repeal*

Additional Requirements for Licensees Possessing Category... 10A NCAC 15 .1701
Amend*
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CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION

The rules in Chapter 9 are from the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. This Commission
has primary responsibility for setting statewide education, training, employment, and retention standards for criminal
justice personnel (not including sheriffs).

The rules in Subchapter 9B cover minimum standards for: employment (.0100); schools and training programs (.0200);
criminal justice instructors (.0300); completion of training (.0400); school directors (.0500); and certification of post-
secondary criminal justice education programs (.0600).

Terms and Conditions of Specialized Instructor Certification 12 NCAC 09B .0305
Amend*

The rules in Subchapter 9C concern the administration of criminal justice education and training standards including
responsibilities of the criminal justice standards division (.0100); forms (.0200); certification of criminal justice officers
(.0300); accreditation of criminal justice schools and training courses (.0400); minimum standards for accreditation of
associate of applied science degree programs incorporating basic law enforcement training (.0500); and equipment and
procedures (.0600).

Recertification Following Separation 12 NCAC 09C .0311
Adopt*

The rules in Subchapter 9E relate to the law enforcement officers' in-service training program.

Failure to Qualify: Annual In-Service Firearms Training 12 NCAC 09E .0107
Amend*

The rules in Subchapter 9G are the standards for correction including scope, applicability and definitions (.0100);
minimum standards for certification of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, and probation/parole officers-
intermediate (.0200); certification of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, probation/parole officers intermediate
and instructors (.0300); minimum standards for training of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, and
probation/parole officers-intermediate (.0400); enforcement of rules (.0500); professional certification program (.0600);
and forms (.0700).

Definitions 12 NCAC 09G .0102
Amend*

Documentation of Educational Requirements 12 NCAC 09G .0204
Amend*

Medical Examination 12 NCAC 09G .0205
Amend*

Moral Character 12 NCAC 09G .0206
Repeal*

Fingerprint Criminal History Record Check 12 NCAC 09G .0207
Adopt*

Minimum Standards for Correctional Officers 12 NCAC 09G .0208
Adopt*

Minimum Standards for Probation/Parole Officers 12 NCAC 09G .0209
Adopt*

Background Investigation 12 NCAC 09G .0210
Adopt*

Agency Reporting of Drug Screening Results 12 NCAC 09G .0211
Adopt*

Criminal History Record 12 NCAC 09G .0302
Amend*

General Certification 12 NCAC 09G .0304
Amend*
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Recertification Following Separation 12 NCAC 09G .0305
Amend*
Suspension: Revocation: or Denial of Certification 12 NCAC 09G .0504
Amend*
Period of Suspension: Revocation: or Denial 12 NCAC 09G .0505
Amend*

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION

The rules in Subchapter 2B pertain to surface water standards and monitoring including procedures for assignment of
water quality standards (.0100); the standards used to classify the waters of the state (.0200); stream classifications
(.0300); effluent limitations (.0400); monitoring and reporting requirements (.0500); and water quality management plans
(.0600).

Neuse River Basin 15A NCAC 02B .0315
Amend*

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION

The rules in Chapter 10 are promulgated by the Wildlife Resources Commission and concern wildlife resources and
water safety.

The rules in Subchapter 10B are hunting and trapping rules and cover general hunting and wildlife provisions (.0100),
hunting specific animals (.0200), trapping (.0300), tagging furs (.0400), chronic wasting disease management (.0500).

Attendance of Traps 15A NCAC 10B .0110
Repeal*

Possession of Wildlife Killed Accidentally or Found Dead 15A NCAC 10B .0127
Amend*

Deer (White Tailed) 15A NCAC 10B .0203
Amend*

Wild Quail Management Areas 15A NCAC 10B .0227
Amend*

Definitions 15A NCAC 10B .0301
Amend*

Open Seasons 15A NCAC 10B .0303
Amend*

Attendance and Tagging of Traps 15A NCAC 10B .0306
Adopt*

The rules in Subchapter 10H concern activities regulated by the Commission including controlled hunting preserves for
domestically raised game birds (.0100), holding wildlife in captivity (.0300), commercial trout ponds (.0400), fish
propagation (.0700), falconry (.0800), game bird propagators (.0900), taxidermy (.1000), furbearer propagation (.1100),
controlled fox hunting preserves (.1200), reptiles and amphibians (.1300), wildlife captivity and rehabilitation (.1400),
wildlife and alligator control agents (.1500).

Alligator Control Agent Certification Eligibility and Reaq... 15A NCAC 10H .1506
Amend*

The rules in Subchapter 10J cover wildlife conservation areas.

Designation of Wildlife Conservation Areas 15A NCAC 10J .0101
Readopt with Changes*
General Regulations Regarding Use of Conservation Areas 15A NCAC 10J .0102

Readopt with Changes*
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NURSING, BOARD OF

The rules in Chapter 36 include rules relating to general provisions (.0100); licensure (.0200); approval of nursing
programs (.0300); unlicensed personnel and nurses aides (.0400); professional corporations (.0500); articles of
organization (.0600); nurse licensure compact (.0700); and approval and practice parameters for nurse practitioners
(.0800).

Continuing Education (CE) 21 NCAC 36 .0807
Amend*

NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR
The rules in Subchapter 37B are departmental rules including general provisions (.0100); and definitions (.0200).

Fees 21 NCAC 37B .0104
Adopt*

The rules in Subchapter 37D concern new licenses including general provisions (.0100); application for license (.0200);
education, experience, and required course (.0300); administrators in training (.0400); preceptors (.0500); national exam
(.0600); and state exam (.0700).

Grade Required 21 NCAC 37D .0604
Amend*

Subject Areas 21 NCAC 37D .0605
Amend*

PLUMBING, HEATING AND FIRE SPRINKLER CONTRACTORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF

The rules in Chapter 50 are from the Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors including rules about organization
(.0100); forms (.0200); examinations (.0300); general procedures (.0400); policy statements and interpretative rules
(.0500); contested cases (.1000); fees (.1100); petitions for rules (.1200); declaratory rulings (.1300); and continuing
education (.1400).

Onsite Supervision and Standard of Competence 21 NCAC 50 .0520
Adopt*
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