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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 07 – DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL AND 

CULTURAL RESOURCES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Department of Natural and Cultural Resources intends to adopt 

the rules cited as 07 NCAC 14B .0608, .0609, amend the rule cited 

as 07 NCAC 14B .0403, and repeal the rule cited as 07 NCAC 

14B .0404. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 

on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdcr.gov/request-public-comments 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2023 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 13, 2023 

Time:  1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. 

Location:  This public hearing will be held by teleconference at 

(919) 814-6771 (no access code needed) 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The following rules are being 

amended to reflect current operating procedures of the managing 

state agency: 07 NCAC 14B .0403. The following rules are being 

adopted and updated to reflect current Zoo operations: 07 NCAC 

14B .0608; 07 NCAC 14B .0609. The following rules are being 

repealed because they are no longer necessary because of 

proposed changes in the amended rules: 07 NCAC 14B .0404. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Jonathan Avery, 4601 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-4601; phone (919) 814-6771; 

email jonathan.avery@ncdcr.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  June 16, 2023 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 14 - NORTH CAROLINA ZOOLOGICAL 

PARK REGULATIONS 

 

SUBCHAPTER 14B - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

SECTION .0400 - FIREARMS: FIRES: ETC. 

 

07 NCAC 14B .0403 FIRES: LIGHTED 

CIGARETTES: ETC. SMOKING AND FIRES 

All fires except for personal smoking materials are prohibited 

except in designated areas. A competent person 16 

years old or older must continuously tend any fire from the time 

it is kindled until it is extinguished. 

(a)  Smoking, vaping or the use of similar devices or materials is 

prohibited on Zoo property except where designated through 

posted signage. 

(b)  Starting or maintaining a fire on Zoo property is prohibited 

except as part of an organized Zoo program. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-135.204(a). 

 

07 NCAC 14B .0404 SMOKING 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-135.204(a). 

 

SECTION .0600 - COMMERCIAL ENTERPRISES: 

ADVERTISING: MEETINGS: EXHIBITIONS: ETC. 

 

07 NCAC 14B .0608 ROCK CLIMBING 

(a)  Rock climbing, bouldering, or rappelling is prohibited except 

in areas designated by the Zoo Director or their designee. The Zoo 

Director or their designee may designate a daily capacity limit for 

specific climbing routes and bouldering areas based on public 

safety and the protection and use of state property. 

(b)  A Day-Use Climbing Permit is required for each individual 

participating in climbing, rappelling, and bouldering on Zoo 

property. Applications for permits may be made at 

www.nczoo.org. A completed Day-Use Climbing Permit shall 

include the following information: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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(1) the permittee's name, address, and contact 

information; 

(3) the permittee's expected time to return to their 

vehicle; 

(4) the permittee's vehicle registration number and 

state of vehicle registration; 

(5) name and contact information of an emergency 

contact; and 

(6) signature indicating agreement to abide by the 

terms and conditions of the permit. 

(c)  Day-Use Climbing Permits shall be issued upon receipt of a 

completed application unless: 

(1) the daily capacity limit for a specific climbing 

route or area has been reached prior to receipt 

of the completed application; 

(2) the activity would be detrimental to the 

protection and use of state property or threaten 

the health or safety of the public; or 

(3) The activity or use would constitute a violation 

of applicable law or the rules of this 

Subchapter. 

(d)  The permit may contain such additional conditions or 

restrictions as are consistent with protection and use of the Zoo 

and public safety and health. 

(e)  If a permit is denied, the applicant shall be informed in writing 

with the reason(s) for the denial set forth. 

(f)  Permittees shall maintain a copy of their signed Day-Use 

Climbing Permit with them at all times while on Zoo property. 

(g)  The following prohibitions shall apply to rock climbing on 

Zoo property: 

(1) The installation of permanent or fixed rock 

climbing anchors, such as pitons and expansion 

bolts, is prohibited; 

(2) Chipping or gluing holds onto the rock face is 

prohibited; 

(3) The removal of rock from its natural position is 

prohibited except where failure to remove the 

rock poses a risk to public safety and such 

removal has been approved by the Zoo Director 

or their designee; and 

(4) The intentional removal of vegetation to clean 

a climbing route is prohibited. 

(h)  Violation of the terms and conditions of a Day-Use Climbing 

permit issued in accordance with this Section is prohibited and 

shall result in the revocation of the permit and removal of the 

violator from Zoo property. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-135.204(a). 

 

07 NCAC 14B .0609 TRAIL ACCESS AND 

ACTIVITIES 

(a)  Public access to Zoo property, including all hiking trails, is 

available only between opening and closing hours as posted at 

www.nczoo.org. 

(b)  Public use of hiking trails on Zoo property shall be limited to 

each trail's designated uses as posted. The Division may prohibit 

or restrict public activity occurring on Zoo property if such 

activity would be detrimental to the protection and use of state 

property or threaten the health or safety of the public. 

(c)  A person using Zoo property located outside of the perimeter 

fence must remain on the marked trails or in a designated climbing 

area at all times. 

(d)  Use of bicycles, all-terrain vehicles, dirt bikes, golf carts, go-

karts, scooters, skateboards, and other similar conveyances is 

prohibited on Zoo property outside of a trail designated for such 

use. Public use of motorized vehicles is prohibited on Zoo 

property except on public roads and designated parking areas. 

(e)  Horseback riding is prohibited on Zoo property outside of a 

trail designated for such use. 

(f)  The following activities are prohibited on Zoo property: 

(1) Hunting; 

(2) Littering; and 

(3) Camping, except through a Zoo organized 

camping program. 

(g)  Public use of Ridges Mountain trails is available only by a 

reservation approved by the Zoo Director or their designee. 

Reservations shall be approved unless such use would be 

detrimental to the protection and use of state property or threaten 

the health or safety of the public. A completed reservation request 

shall include the following: 

(1) Requestor's name and contact information; 

(2) The name of an organization or group 

coordinating the use; 

(3) The number of users; 

(4) The date of the requested use; and 

(5) The intended use. 

(h)  Pets, except as required by applicable federal and state law 

for service animals assisting individuals with disabilities, are not 

permitted on the Ridges Mountain property. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-135.204(a). 

 

 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Child Care Commission intends to amend the rule cited as 10A 

NCAC 09 .2703. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Whats-New 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2023 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 15, 2023 

Time:  11:00 a.m. 

Location:  Division of Child Development and Early Education, 

333 E. Six Forks, Rd., Conference Room 165, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed amendments to rule 

10A NCAC 09 .2703 are necessary to align the rule with recent 

changes to the child care statute. Session Law 2022-74 (Sections 

9C.3.(a) and (b), Align State Criminal Background Checks for 

Prospective Child Care Providers with Federal Block Grant 

Requirements/Report) amended G.S. 110-90.2 (Mandatory child 

care providers’ criminal history checks) and brought North 
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Carolina into alignment with 45 CFR § 98.43 (Criminal 

background checks). Specifically, the session law changed the 

frequency at which criminal background checks are required for 

child care providers from every three years to every five years. 

The session law also established a 45-day timeline for qualifying 

a child care provider that is under provisional status, as long as 

there are no disqualifying results from the criminal background 

checks. Currently, Rule .2703 has a timeframe of six months for 

provisional status.  Other proposed changes are for the purpose 

of making the application process more efficient and to provide 

clarity. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Dedra Alston, 2201 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2200; phone (919) 814-6307; 

fax (919) 715-0970; email Dedra.Alston@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  June 16, 2023 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 09 - CHILD CARE RULES 

 

SECTION .2700 - CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2703 CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD 

CHECK REQUIREMENTS FOR CHILD CARE 

PROVIDERS 

(a)  In addition to the requirements in Rules .0302 and .1702 of 

this Chapter, a child care provider shall submit the following to 

the Division prior to the issuance of a license or prior to beginning 

employment: 

(1) a signed and completed Authority for Release 

of Information form; and 

(2) fingerprint impressions submitted on the forms 

required by the Division and State Bureau of 

Investigation; 

(3) if a child care provider is an out-of-state 

resident, he or she shall also submit a certified 

local history from the Clerk of Superior Court 

in his or her county of residence. any applicant 

who has lived outside of North Carolina in the 

previous five years, shall submit an affidavit 

verifying they have completed a request for an 

out-of-state background check for each state in 

which they resided in the preceding five years. 

All required forms can be found on the Division's website at 

http://ncchildcare.dhhs.state.nc.us/general/dhhscrc_childcare.asp

. 

(b)  If the child care provider has a criminal history of convictions, 

pending indictment of a crime, or pending criminal charges, he or 

she they may submit to the Division additional information 

concerning the conviction or charges that the Division shall use in 

making the determination of the child care provider's 

qualification. The Division shall also consider the following in 

making its decision: 

(1) the length of time since conviction; 

(2) whether the child care provider is currently on 

probation; 

(3) the nature of the offense; 

(4) the circumstances surrounding the commission 

of the offense or offenses; 

(5) the evidence of rehabilitation; 

(6) the number and type of prior offenses; and 

(7) the age of the child care provider at the time of 

occurrence. 

(c)  If the child care provider is a firm, partnership, association, or 

corporation, the chief executive officer or other person serving in 

like capacity or a person designated by the chief executive officer 

as responsible for the operation of the facility, shall complete the 

criminal history record check as specified in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule. 

(d)  If a Letter of Intent to Operate pursuant to G.S. 110-106 is 

submitted to the Division, the person signing the Letter of Intent 

shall submit all forms as required in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(e)  Child care providers shall have a valid qualification letter 

prior to employment or living in the family child care home, and 

the qualification letter shall be kept on file at the facility for 

review by representatives of the Division. 

(f)  Provisional child care providers may be employed at a child 

care facility or reside in a family child care home, nonlicensed 

home, or child care center in a residence and shall be counted in 

staff/child ratio. Provisional child care providers shall be 

supervised at all times by an individual who received a qualifying 

result on a criminal background check within the past three five 

years and may not be left alone with children. Owners found to be 

in violation of this Paragraph may be issued an administrative 

action up to and including revocation of their child care license or 

notice of compliance in accordance with Section .2200 of this 

Chapter. 

(g)  Within five days of When applying for provisional status 

through the Division's online portal, the applicant shall complete 

and submit any documents specific to their former state(s) of 

residence that are necessary to complete the out-of-state portion 

of their background check. The applicant shall also certify in 

writing within five days to the Division that they have made the 
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required requests. When requested by the Division, the applicant 

shall submit a copy and proof of submission of the documents 

necessary to complete the out-of-state portion of their background 

check. The Division shall provide to the applicant the necessary 

information to make these requests, if applicable. 

(h)  After six months, Within 45 days of issuing a provisional 

status to an applicant, the Division shall issue a qualification letter 

to a provisional child care provider if the Division does not 

receive a response to its request no criminal background check 

results that would disqualify the applicant are returned or if there 

is no response to the applicant's or the Division's request for the 

state sex offender registry check, the state abuse and neglect 

registry, or the state criminal history check from the state or states 

in which the provisional provider currently resides or has resided 

at any time during the preceding years. five years prior to 

submitting documents for a criminal history check. However, 

nothing in this Rule shall prevent the Division from disqualifying 

a provisional child care provider at a later date based upon failure 

to comply with the requirements of Paragraph (g) of this Rule or 

if the Division determines the applicant has submitted false 

information to the Division or if information is received from any 

other state after the qualification letter has been issued. six months 

have elapsed. 

(i)  Child care providers found to be disqualified shall not be 

eligible for employment in child care until a qualification letter 

has been issued by the Division. 

(j)  Child care providers determined by the Division to be 

disqualified shall be have their employment terminated by the 

center or family child care home immediately upon receipt of the 

disqualification notice. 

(k)  Disqualification of a child care provider living in a family 

child care home or a center located in a residence shall be grounds 

for issuance of a summary suspension of the license in accordance 

with 10A NCAC 09 .2213. 

(l)  Refusal on the part of the employer to dismiss a child care 

provider who has been found to be disqualified shall be grounds 

for suspension, denial, or revocation of the license or any other 

administrative action or civil penalty permitted by law or rule. If 

an applicant appeals the disqualification, the child care provider 

shall not be employed during the appeal process. 

(m)  Operators, as defined by G.S. 110-86(7), shall include the 

criminal history mandatory reporting requirement in all new 

employee orientation information. All child care providers and 

household members who have incurred any pending charges, 

indictments, or convictions (other than minor traffic offenses) 

since the last qualification letter was issued by the Division shall 

notify the operator of such charges within five business days or 

before returning to work, whichever comes first. The operator 

shall notify the Division of any such pending charges, 

indictments, or convictions within one business day of being 

notified. 

(n)  The qualification letter shall be valid for a maximum of three 

five years from the date of issuance. 

(o)  Prior to the expiration date of the qualification letter, the child 

care provider shall complete and submit the forms listed in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(p)  After a child care provider has been qualified, the Division 

shall complete a new criminal history record check if the Division 

of Child Development and Early Education conducts an 

investigation involving alleged criminal activity by the child care 

provider. 

(q)  Individuals who live in the household use a family child care 

home or center located in a residence on a permanent or temporary 

basis as their place of residence, including those who have had 

their 16th birthday after the initial licensing of a family child care 

home or center located in a residence, shall complete and submit 

the forms listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule to the Division within 

five business days of using the home as their permanent or 

temporary residence or their 16th birthday. 

(r)  Child care operators shall notify the Division of all new child 

care providers who are hired or have moved into the home or 

center located with a residence within five business days by 

submitting the form provided by the Division. 

(s)  Any application for a criminal background check that is not 

complete, including the required components in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule, within 30 days of beginning the application, will expire 

and be withdrawn by the Division. 

(t)  The Division shall disqualify any child care provider or 

household member of a family child care home or center located 

in a residence if they fail to comply with the requirements of 

Paragraph (g) of this Rule or if the Division determines the 

applicant has submitted false information in connection with their 

criminal background check or application to the Division or if 

information that disqualifies the child care provider is received 

from any state during the qualification time period. 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-86(7); 110-90.2; 110-106; 114-19.5; 

143B-168.3. 

 

 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Department of Justice intends to amend the rule cited as 12 NCAC 

02J .0201. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-

justice/forms-and-publications/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2023 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  August 9, 2023 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Wake Tech Community College Public Safety Center, 

321 Chapanoke Road, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To update reporting requirements 

for Campus Police Officers to be consistent with requirements for 

all law enforcement officers as published in amended rules 

previously submitted. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Michelle Schilling, NC 

Department of Justice, Criminal Justice Standards Division, PO 

Drawer 149, Raleigh, NC 27602-0149; email 

MSchilling@ncdoj.gov 
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Comment period ends:  August 9, 2023 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 02 - OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL 

 

SUBCHAPTER 02J – CAMPUS POLICE 

 

SECTION .0200 - COMMISSIONING 

 

12 NCAC 02J .0201 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CAMPUS POLICE OFFICERS 

Every campus police officer must meet the following 

requirements to obtain and maintain a campus police commission: 

(1) be a citizen of the United States; 

(2) be a high school graduate or have passed the 

General Educational Development Test 

indicating high school equivalency. A specific 

exception to this educational requirement is 

granted to: 

(a) an applicant who was the holder of a 

valid campus police commission on 

June 30, 1972; or 

(b) an applicant properly certified as a law 

enforcement officer by the Criminal 

Justice Education and Training 

Standards Commission on March 14, 

1973. 

In either case, the exception will not be applicable if the applicant 

has had more than a 12 month break in service; 

(3) have attained a score of not less than 80 percent 

on a written examination of basic knowledge of 

laws of arrest, search, and investigation, and of 

these Rules to be administered by a 

representative of the North Carolina 

Department of Justice; 

Note: All examination questions will be based on the book Arrest, 

Search, and Investigation as published by and available from the 

Institute School of Government, the University of North Carolina 

at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27514, and these 

Rules. 

Applicants will be advised in writing of test dates and sites at least 

five days prior to the examination. In the event an applicant fails 

to successfully complete the examination, only one re-test will be 

allowed. Upon an applicant's failure to successfully complete the 

second test, the applicant must successfully complete accredited 

Basic Law Enforcement Training coursework prior to re-testing; 

(4) meet the minimum standards for criminal 

justice officers established by the North 

Carolina Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission, appearing in 

Title 12, Chapter 9 of the North Carolina 

Administrative Code; which Standards are 

hereby incorporated by reference, and shall 

automatically include any later amendments 

and editions of the referenced material; 

(5) applicants who do not hold general certification 

as a law enforcement officer issued by the 

Criminal Justice Education and Training 

Standards Commission or the North Carolina 

Sheriff's Education and Training Standards 

Commission, must submit to and successfully 

complete a polygraph examination 

administered by the State Bureau of 

Investigation; 

(6) be at least 20 years of age; 

(7) have produced a negative result on a drug 

screen administered according to the following 

specifications: 

(a) the drug screen shall be a urine test 

consisting of an initial screening test 

using an immunoassay method and a 

confirmatory test on an initial positive 

test result using a gas chromatography 

mass spectrometry (GC/MS) or other 

reliable initial and confirmatory tests 

as may, from time to time, be 

authorized or mandated by the 

Department of Health and Human 

Services for Federal Workplace Drug 

Testing Programs; 

(b) a chain of custody shall be maintained 

on the specimen from collection to the 

eventual discarding of the specimen; 

(c) the drugs whose use shall be tested for 

shall include at least cannabis, 

cocaine, phencyclidine (PCP), opiates 

and amphetamines or their 

metabolites; 

(d) the test threshold values established by 

the Department of Health and Human 

Services for Federal Workplace Drug 

Testing Programs are hereby 

incorporated by reference, and shall 

automatically include any later 
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amendments and editions of the 

referenced material. Copies of this 

publication may be inspected at the 

office of the agency: 

Campus Police Program 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

114 West Edenton Street PO Drawer 179 

Old Education Building 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be obtained at no charge from the office of the 

agency: 

Campus Police Program 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

Post Office Box 310 Drawer 179 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

(e) the test conducted shall be not more 

than 60 days old, calculated from the 

time when the laboratory reports the 

results to the date of employment; 

(f) the laboratory conducting the test must 

be certified for federal workplace drug 

testing programs, and must adhere to 

applicable federal rules, regulations 

and guidelines pertaining to the 

handling, testing, storage and 

preservation of samples, except that 

individual agencies may specify other 

drugs to be tested for in addition to 

those drugs set out in Item (7)(c) of 

this Rule; and 

(g) every agency head shall be responsible 

for making adequate arrangements for 

the services of a Medical Review 

officer (MRO) for the purpose of 

review of drug tests reported by the 

laboratory and such officer shall be a 

licensed physician;  

(8) notify the Campus Police Administrator in 

writing of all criminal offenses for which the 

officer is arrested, pleads no contest, pleads 

guilty, or is found guilty of. This shall include 

all criminal offenses except minor traffic 

offenses and shall specifically include any 

offense of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) 

or Driving While Impaired (DWI). A minor 

traffic offense is defined, for purposes of this 

Item, as an offense where the maximum 

punishment allowable is 60 days or less. The 

notifications required must specify the nature of 

the offense, the court in which the case was 

handled and the date of the conviction if 

applicable. The notifications must be received 

by the Campus Police Administrator within 30 

five days of the date of the case disposition. 

Applicants and officers required to notify the 

Campus Police Administrator under this Item 

shall also make the same notification to their 

Department Head within 20 five days of the 

date the case was disposed of in court. 

However, the notification to the Campus Police 

Administrator does not excuse the officer from 

making an independent notification otherwise 

required by either the Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards Commission 

or the Sheriffs' Education and Training 

Standards Commission. The notifications 

required by this section shall be required while 

the application is pending as well as subsequent 

to a commission being issued; 

(9) be of good moral character as referred to in G.S. 

17C-10(c); and 

(10) not have committed or been convicted of a 

crime or crimes as specified in 12 NCAC 2J 

.0209(b), such that the applicant would be 

ineligible for commissioning as a Campus 

Police officer. 

 

Authority G.S. 74G-4. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 08 – BOARD OF CERTIFIED PUBLIC 

ACCOUNTANT EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Certified Public Accountant Examiners intends to 

amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 08F .0103, .0105, .0401, .0410; 

08H .0101; 08M .0105; 08N .0205, .0209, .0211, .0215, .0304, 

.0305, .0307-.0309, .0403-.0406, .0409 and .0410. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://nccpaboard.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  September 1, 2023 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 20, 2023 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  NC State Board of CPA Examiners, 1101 Oberlin 

Road, Suite 104, Raleigh, NC  27605 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Proposed amendments to the 

Rules are to align the rules for NC CPAs with changes occurring 

within the profession.  Several amendments recognize more 

current operating processes for dealing with applicants and 

changes that are coming to the Uniform CPA Examination.  Many 

of the amendments provide the internet location whereby persons 

can access the documentation for free versus previously being 

directed to hard copies for a standard fee. Clarifying language 

has been added to better assist CPAs in the performance of their 

work. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  David R. Nance, 1101 Oberlin 

Rd, Raleigh, NC 27605; phone (919) 733-4215; email 

dnance@nccpaboard.gov 

 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

37:20 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 17, 2023 

2020 

Comment period ends:  June 20, 2023 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 08F - REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTIFIED 

PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT EXAMINATION AND 

CERTIFICATE APPLICANTS 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

21 NCAC 08F .0103 FILING OF EXAMINATION 

APPLICATIONS AND FEES 

(a)  All applications for CPA examinations shall be filed with the 

Board and accompanied by the examination fee. The Board sets 

the fee for each examination at the amount that enables the Board 

to recover its actual costs of examination services. If a check or 

credit card authorization fails to clear the bank, the application 

shall be deemed incomplete and returned. CPA Exam 

examination applications and fee information are on the Board's 

website at www.nccpaboard.gov nccpaboard.gov and may be 

requested from the Board. 

(b)  The initial application filed to take the examination shall 

include supporting documentation demonstrating that all legal 

requirements have been met, including: 

(1) minimum legal age; 

(2) education; and 

(3) good moral character. 

(c)  Any In addition, any person born outside the United States 

shall furnish to the Board office evidence of citizenship; evidence 

of resident alien status; or office: 

(1) evidence of citizenship; or 

(2) evidence of resident alien status; or 

(1)(3) other bona fide evidence that the applicant is 

legally allowed to remain in the United States; 

or 

(2)(4) a notarized affidavit of intention to become a 

U.S. citizen; or 

(3)(5) evidence that the applicant is a citizen of a 

foreign jurisdiction that extends to citizens of 

this State like or similar privileges to be 

examined. 

(d)  Official transcripts (originals, not photocopies) Education and 

degree requirements shall be proven by submission of either 

original official transcripts, not photocopies, signed by the college 

registrar and bearing the college seal are required to prove 

education and degree requirements. or by electronic delivery of 

official transcripts directly from the college registrar or through 

the institution's chosen provider. A letter from the college 

registrar of the school may be filed as documentation that the 

applicant has met the graduation requirements if the degree has 

not been awarded and posted to the transcript. No examination 

grades shall be released until an official transcript is filed with the 

Board confirming the education requirement as stated in the 

college registrar's letter. 

(e)  Applicants for re-examination shall not re-submit official 

transcripts, additional statements, or affidavits regarding 

education. 

(f)  To document good moral character as required by G.S. 93-

12(5), three persons not related by blood or marriage to the 

applicant shall sign the application certifying the good moral 

character of the applicant and the Board shall conduct a 

background check of the applicant including a check of criminal 

records. 

(g)  An applicant shall include as part of any application for the 

CPA examination a statement of explanation and a certified copy 

of the final disposition if the applicant has been arrested, charged, 

convicted or found guilty of, received a prayer for judgment 

continued, or pleaded nolo contendere to any criminal offense. An 

applicant shall not be required to disclose any arrest, charge, or 

conviction that has been expunged by the court. a court. 

(h)  If an applicant has been denied any license by any state or 

federal agency, the applicant shall include as part of the 

application for the CPA examination a statement explaining such 

denial. An applicant shall include a statement of explanation and 

a certified copy of applicable license records if the applicant has 

been registered with or licensed by a state or federal agency and 

has been disciplined by that agency. 

(i)  Two identical photographs shall accompany An applicant shall 

submit one photograph or digital image as part of the application 

for the CPA examination. These photographs The photograph or 

digital image shall be of the applicant alone, 2x2 inches in size, 

front view, full face, taken in normal street attire without a hat or 

dark glasses, printed on paper with a plain light background 

background, and taken within the last six months. Photographs 

The photograph or digital image may be in black and white or in 

color. Retouched photographs or digital images shall not be 

accepted. If submitting a photograph, Applicants applicants shall 

write their names on the back of their photographs. photograph, 

with the photograph 2x2 inches in size. 

(j)  If an applicant's name has legally changed and is different from 

the name on any transcript or other document supplied to the 

Board, the applicant shall furnish copies of the documents legally 

authorizing the name change. 
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(k)  Candidates shall file initial and re-exam applications to sit for 

the CPA Examination examination on forms provided by the 

Board. 

(l)  Examination fees are valid for a six-month period from the 

date of the applicant's notice to schedule for the examination from 

the examination vendor. 

(m)  No application for examination shall be considered while the 

applicant is serving a sentence for any criminal offense. Serving 

a sentence includes incarceration, probation (supervised or 

unsupervised), parole, or conditionally suspended sentence, any 

of which are imposed as a result of having been convicted or 

having pled to a criminal charge. 

 

Authority G.S. 93-2; 93-9(12); 93-10; 93-12(3); 93-12(4); 93-

12(5); 93-12(7). 

 

21 NCAC 08F .0105 CONDITIONING 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Passing Grades. A candidate shall pass all sections of the 

examination with a grade of 75 or higher on each section. 

(b)  Military Service. A candidate who is on active military service 

shall not have the time on active military service counted against 

Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule unless the candidate applies to 

take the examination during the active military service, in which 

case each month a candidate sits shall be counted toward 

Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule. 

(c)  A candidate is subject to the following conditioning 

requirements: 

(1) a candidate shall obtain earn a passing grade on 

all sections of the examination within an 18-

month period; 

(2) a candidate may sit for any section of the 

examination individually; individually and in 

any order; 

(3) a candidate may retake the same section of the 

examination as many times during a one-year 

period as determined by the examination 

vendors but shall not retake a failed test section 

until the candidate has been notified of the score 

of the most recent attempt of that failed section; 

vender(s); and 

(4) credit awarded by the Board for passage of a 

section of the examination is shall be valid for 

an 18-month period beginning on the date the 

section is taken. from the date the passing 

scores are released by the examination vendors; 

(5) the 18-month period begins on the date the first 

passing score is released to the candidate and 

concludes with the sit date of the final passed 

examination section, regardless of when the 

score is released by the examination vendors for 

the final passed section. A candidate, after 

earning credit for the initial passed section, 

must complete the remaining test sections of the 

examination by the last day of the 18-month 

period. If all four sections of the examination 

are not passed within the 18-month period, 

credit for any test section passed outside of the 

18-month period shall expire; and 

(6) notwithstanding Subparagraphs (c)(1), (c)(4), 

and (c)(5) of this Rule, the period of time in 

which to pass all test sections of the 

examination may be extended by the Board 

upon a showing that the credit was lost by 

reason of circumstances beyond the testing 

candidate's control. 

 

Authority G.S. 93-12(3); 93-12(4); 93-12(5). 

 

SECTION .0400 - EXPERIENCE 

 

21 NCAC 08F .0401 WORK EXPERIENCE 

REQUIRED OF CANDIDATES FOR CPA 

CERTIFICATION 

(a)  G.S. 93-12(5)c G.S. 93-12(5)(c) sets forth work experience 

alternatives, one of which is required of candidates applying for 

CPA certification. In connection with those requirements, the 

following provisions apply: 

(1) the work experience shall be acquired prior to 

the date a candidate applies for certification; 

and 

(2) all experience that is required to be under the 

direct supervision of a CPA shall be under the 

direct supervision of a licensed CPA on active 

status. status in one of the U.S. states or 

jurisdictions. 

(b)  The following provisions apply to all candidates seeking to 

meet the work experience requirement of G.S. 93-12(5)c.3 G.S. 

93-12(5)(c)(3) by working in the field of accounting: 

(1) One year of work experience is 52 weeks of 

full-time employment. The candidate is 

employed full-time when the candidate is 

expected by the employer to work for the 

employer at least 30 hours each week. Any 

other work is working part-time. 

(2) All weeks of actual full-time employment are 

added to all full-time equivalent weeks in order 

to calculate how much work experience a 

candidate has acquired. Dividing that number 

by 52 results in the years of work experience the 

candidate has acquired. 

(3) Full-time-equivalent weeks are determined by 

the number of actual part-time hours the 

candidate has worked. Actual part-time hours 

do not include hours paid for sick leave, 

vacation leave, attending continuing education 

courses, or other time not spent directly 

performing accounting services. For each 

calendar week during which the candidate 

worked actual part-time hours of 30 hours or 

more, the candidate receives one full-time-

equivalent week. The actual part-time hours 

worked in the remaining calendar weeks are 

added together and divided by 30. The resulting 

number is the additional number of full-time-

equivalent weeks to which the candidate is 

entitled. 
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(4) The candidate shall submit experience 

affidavits on a form provided by the Board from 

all of the relevant employers; provided that 

when such experience was not acquired while 

employed with a CPA firm, the candidate shall 

also submit details of the work experience and 

supervision on a form provided by the Board. 

Experience affidavits for part-time work shall 

contain a record of the actual part-time hours 

the candidate has worked for each week of part-

time employment. Both the experience affidavit 

and the form for additional detail shall be 

certified by the employer's office supervisor or 

an owner of the firm who is a certificate holder. 

(c)  Rule .0409 of this Section applies to teaching experience 

acquired pursuant to G.S. 93-12(5)c.2 and 4. G.S. 93-12(5)(c)(2) 

and (4). 

 

Authority G.S. 93-12(3); 93-12(5). 

 

21 NCAC 08F .0410 EDUCATION REQUIRED OF 

CANDIDATES FOR CPA CERTIFICATION 

(a)  G.S. 93-12(5)a G.S. 93-12(5)(a) sets forth the education 

required of candidates applying for CPA certification. The 150 

semester hours required include include: 

(1) a concentration in accounting, as defined by 21 

NCAC 08A .0309; and 

(b)(2) 24 semester hours of coursework that include 

includes one three semester hour course from at 

least eight of the following 10 fields of study: 

(1)(A) communications; 

(2)(B) computer technology; 

(3)(C) economics; 

(4)(D) ethics; 

(5)(E) finance; 

(6)(F) humanities or social science; 

(7)(G) international environment; 

(8)(H) law; 

(9)(I) management; or 

(10)(J) statistics. 

(c)(b)  Anyone applying for CPA certification who holds a 

Master's or more advanced degree in accounting, tax law, 

economics, finance, business administration, or a law degree from 

an accredited college or university is in compliance with 

Paragraph (b) Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 93-12(5). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 08H – RECIPROCITY 

 

21 NCAC 08H .0101 RECIPROCAL CERTIFICATES 

(a)  A Unless utilizing a practice privilege per G.S. 93-10(a), a 

person having a CPA certificate from another jurisdiction who 

desires to utilize the CPA title in this State or offer or render 

professional services as a CPA to his or her employer or a client 

in this State shall meet all the requirements imposed on an 

applicant under G.S. 93-12(5) or the requirements of G.S. 93-

12(6). obtain a reciprocal North Carolina CPA certificate. 

(b)  The fee for a reciprocal certificate shall be the maximum 

amount allowed by G.S. 93-12(7a). 

(c)  An applicant for a reciprocal certificate shall meet the 

following requirements: 

(1) The applicant has the legal authority to use the 

CPA title and to practice public accountancy in 

a jurisdiction. United States jurisdiction; and 

(2) The applicant has received a passing score on 

each part section of the Uniform CPA 

Examination. 

 

Authority G.S. 93-12(6); 93-12(7a). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 08M - STATE QUALITY REVIEW 

PROGRAM 

 

21 NCAC 08M .0105 PEER REVIEW 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  A CPA or CPA firm providing any of the following services 

to the public shall participate in a peer review program: 

(1) audits; 

(2) reviews of financial statements; 

(3) compilations of financial statements; or 

(4) any engagement to be performed in accordance 

with the Statements on Standards for 

Attestation Engagements. 

(b)  A CPA or CPA firm not providing any of the services listed 

in Paragraph (a) of this Rule is exempt from peer review until the 

issuance of the first report provided to a client. A CPA or CPA 

firm shall register with the peer review program as listed in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule within 30 days of the issuance of the 

first report provided to a client. 

(c)  A CPA, a new CPA firm, or a CPA firm exempt from peer 

review that starts providing any of the services in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule shall furnish to the peer review program selected 

financial statements, corresponding work papers, and any 

additional information or documentation required for the peer 

review program within 18 months of the issuance of the first 

report provided to a client. 

(d)  Participation in and completion of the AICPA Peer Review 

Program Program, or a program that substantially complies with 

the AICPA Standards for Performing and Reporting on Peer 

Reviews, shall be required. The AICPA Standards for Performing 

and Reporting on Peer Reviews are incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. This document 

may be accessed at 

https://us.aicpa.org/research/standards/peerreview at no cost. 

(e)  CPA firms shall not rearrange their structure or act in any 

manner with the intent to avoid participation in peer review. 

(f)  A CPA firm that does not have offices in North Carolina and 

that has provided any services as listed in G.S. 93-10(c)(3) to 

North Carolina clients shall participate in a peer review program. 

(g)  Subsequent peer reviews of a CPA firm are due three years 

and six months from the year end of the 12-month period of the 

first peer review, unless granted an extension by the peer review 

program. 

(h)  All CPA firms enrolled in the AICPA Peer Review Program 

shall also participate in the AICPA Facilitated State Board Access 

process. 
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Authority G.S. 93-12(3); G.S. 93-10(c); 93-12(8c). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 08N – PROFESSIONAL ETHICS AND 

CONDUCT 

 

SECTION .0200 - RULES APPLICABLE TO ALL CPAS 

 

21 NCAC 08N .0205 CONFIDENTIALITY 

(a)  Nondisclosure. A CPA shall not disclose any confidential 

information obtained in the course of employment or a 

professional engagement except with the consent of the employer 

or client. 

(b)  Exceptions. This Rule shall not be construed: 

(1) to relieve a CPA of any reporting obligations 

pertaining to Section .0400 of this Subchapter; 

(2) to affect in any way the CPA's compliance with 

an order of a court or a validly issued subpoena 

by this Board; 

(3) to preclude the CPA from responding to any 

inquiry made by the AICPA Ethics Division or 

Trial Board, by a duly constituted investigative 

or disciplinary body of a state CPA society, or 

under state statutes; 

(4) to preclude the disclosure of confidential client 

information necessary for the peer review 

process or for any quality review program; 

process; 

(5) to preclude the CPA from assisting the Board in 

enforcing the accountancy statutes and rules; 

(6) to affect a CPA's disclosure of confidential 

information to state or federal authorities when 

the CPA concludes in good faith based upon 

professional judgment that a crime is being or 

is likely to be committed; or 

(7) to affect a CPA's disclosure of confidential 

information when such disclosure is required by 

state or federal laws or regulations. regulations; 

or 

(8) to prohibit a CPA from revealing information: 

(A) in order to establish a claim or defense 

on behalf of the CPA in a controversy 

between the CPA and a client; 

(B) to establish a defense to a criminal 

charge or civil claim against the CPA 

based upon conduct in which the client 

was involved; or 

(C) to respond to allegations in any 

proceeding concerning the CPA's 

professional services to the client. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57D-2-02; 93-12(9). 

 

21 NCAC 08N .0209 ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES 

(a)  Generally Accepted Accounting Principles. A CPA shall not 

express an opinion that financial statements are presented in 

conformity with generally accepted accounting principles if such 

statements contain any departure from an accounting principle 

that has a material effect on the statements taken as a whole, 

unless the CPA can demonstrate that due to unusual 

circumstances the financial statements would otherwise have been 

misleading. In such cases the CPA's report shall describe the 

departure, the approximate effects thereof, if practicable, and the 

reasons why compliance with the principle would result in a 

misleading statement. 

(b)  Financial Accounting Standards Board Accounting Standards 

Codification. The Financial Accounting Standards Board 

Accounting Standards. Codification, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, are hereby adopted by reference, as 

provided by G.S. 150B-21.6, and shall be considered generally 

accepted accounting principles for the purposes of Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule. 

(c)  Copies of Standards. Copies of the Financial Accounting 

Standards Board Accounting Standards Codification may be 

inspected in the offices of the Board, as described in 21 NCAC 

08A .0102. Copies may be obtained from the FASB, Post Office 

Box 5116, Norwalk, CT 06856 as part of the "FASB Accounting 

Standards." They are available at cost, which is two hundred 

fifteen dollars ($215.00) in paperback form. Codification is 

incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and 

editions and shall be considered generally accepted accounting 

principles for the purposes of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. This 

document may be accessed at https://asc.fasb.org at no cost. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57D-2-02; 93-12(9). 

 

21 NCAC 08N .0211 RESPONSIBILITIES IN TAX 

PRACTICE 

(a)  Standards for Tax Services. A CPA shall not render services 

in the area of taxation unless the CPA has complied with both the 

standards for tax services. Statements on Standards for Tax 

Services and the Treasury Department Circular 230 as defined in 

this Section. In the event that there is a conflict between the 

Statements on Standards for Tax Services and Treasury 

Department Circular 230, the CPA shall comply with Treasury 

Department Circular 230. 

(b)  Statements on Standards for Tax Services. The Statements on 

Standards for Tax Services issued by the AICPA, including 

subsequent amendments and editions, are hereby incorporated by 

reference, as provided by G.S. 150B-21.6, and shall be considered 

as the standards for tax services for the purposes of Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule. Departures from the statements listed in this 

Paragraph shall be justified by those who do not follow them as 

set out in the statements. AICPA are incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. This document 

may be accessed at 

https://www.aicpa.org/resources/toolkit/statements-on-

standards-for-tax-services at no cost. 

(c)  Copies of Standards. Copies of the Statements on Standards 

for Tax Services may be inspected in the offices of the Board, as 

described in 21 NCAC 08A .0102. Copies may be obtained from 

the AICPA, 220 Leigh Farm Road, Durham, NC, 27707 as part of 

the "AICPA Professional Standards." They are available at cost, 

which is one hundred ninety-four dollars ($194.00) in paperback 

form or one hundred sixty-nine dollars ($169.00) in online 

subscription form. Treasury Department Circular 230. The 

Treasury Department Circular 230 is incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. This document 
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may be accessed at https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/pcir230.pdf 

at no cost. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57D-2-02; 93-12(9). 

 

21 NCAC 08N .0215 INTERNATIONAL FINANCIAL 

ACCOUNTING STANDARDS 

(a)  International Financial Accounting Standards. A CPA shall 

not express an opinion that financial statements are presented in 

accordance with international financial accounting standards if 

such statements contain any departure from an accounting 

standard that has a material effect on the statements, taken as a 

whole, unless the CPA can demonstrate that due to unusual 

circumstances the financial statements would otherwise have been 

misleading. In such cases, the CPA's report shall describe the 

departure, the approximate effect thereof if practicable, and the 

reason(s) reason why compliance with the standard would result 

in a misleading statement. 

(b)  International Financial Accounting Standards consist of the 

following: 

(1) International Financial Reporting Standards 

(IFRS) issued after 2001; 2003; 

(2) International Accounting Standards (IAS) 

issued before 2001; 2004; 

(3) Interpretations originated from the 

International Financial Reporting 

Interpretations Committee (IFRIC) issued after 

2001; 2003; and 

(4) Standing Interpretations Committee (SIC) 

issued before 2001. 2003. 

(c)  Copies of Standards. Copies of International Financial 

Accounting Standards may be inspected in the office of the Board, 

as described in 21 NCAC 08A .0102. Copies may be obtained 

from the International Accounting Standards Board, IASC 

Foundation Publications Department, 30 Cannon Street, London, 

EC4M6XH, United Kingdom. They are available at cost, which 

is approximately one hundred two dollars ($102.00) in paperback 

form or four hundred thirty-two dollars ($432.00) in loose-leaf 

subscription form. issued by IFRS are incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. The documents 

may be accessed at https://www.ifrs.org/issued-standards/list-of-

standards/ at no cost. 

 

Authority G.S. 55-12; G.S. 55B-12; 57D-2-02; 93-12(9). 

 

SECTION .0300 - RULES APPLICABLE TO ALL CPAS 

WHO USE THE CPA TITLE IN OFFERING OR 

RENDERING PRODUCTS OR SERVICES TO CLIENTS 

 

21 NCAC 08N .0304 CONSULTING SERVICES 

STANDARDS 

(a)  Standards for Consulting Services. A CPA shall not render 

consulting services unless the CPA has complied with the 

standards for consulting services. Statements on Standards for 

Consulting Services. 

(b)  Statements on Standards for Consulting Services. The 

Statements on Standards for Consulting Services (including the 

definition of such services) including the definition of such 

services issued by the AICPA, including subsequent amendments 

and editions, are hereby adopted by reference, as provided by G.S. 

150B-21.6, and shall be considered as the approved standards for 

consulting services for the purposes of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

Departures from the statements listed in this Paragraph shall be 

justified by those who do not follow them as set out in the 

statements. 

(c)  Copies of Statements. Copies of the Statements on Standards 

for Consulting Services may be inspected in the offices of the 

Board, as described in 21 NCAC 08A .0102. Copies may be 

obtained from the AICPA, 220 Leigh Farm Road, Durham, NC 

27707 as part of the "AICPA Professional Standards." They are 

available at cost, which is one hundred ninety-four dollars 

($194.00) in paperback form or one hundred sixty-nine dollars 

($169.00) in on-line subscription form. AICPA are incorporated 

by reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. 

This document may be accessed at 

https://www.aicpa.org/resources/download/statement-on-

standards-for-consulting-services-no-1 at no cost. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57D-2-02; 93-12(9). 

 

21 NCAC 08N .0305 RETENTION OF CLIENT 

RECORDS 

(a)  A CPA shall return client-provided records in the CPA's 

custody or control to the client at the client's request. Client-

provided records are accounting or other records, including 

hardcopy and electronic reproductions of such records, belonging 

to the client that were provided to the CPA by, or on behalf of, the 

client. 

(b)  Unless a CPA and the client have agreed to the contrary, when 

a client makes a request for CPA prepared records or a CPA's 

work products that are in the CPA's custody or control that have 

not previously been provided to the client, the CPA shall respond 

to the client's request as follows: 

(1) The CPA shall provide CPA prepared records 

relating to a completed and issued work product 

to the client, except that such records may be 

withheld if fees are due to the CPA for that 

specific work product; and 

(2) CPA's The CPA's work products shall be 

provided to the client, except that such work 

products may be withheld: 

(A) if fees are due to the CPA for the 

specific work product; 

(B) if the work product is incomplete; 

(C) if for purpose of complying with 

professional standards (for example, 

withholding an audit report due to 

outstanding audit issues); standards. 

For example, withholding an audit 

report due to outstanding audit issues; 

or 

(D) if threatened or outstanding litigation 

exists concerning the engagement or 

CPA's work. 

(c)  CPA prepared records are accounting or other records that the 

CPA was not specifically engaged to prepare and that are not in 

the client's books and records or are otherwise not available to the 

client, thus rendering the client's financial information 
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incomplete. Examples include adjusting, closing, combining, or 

consolidating journal entries (including computations supporting 

such entries) including computations supporting such entries and 

supporting schedules and documents that the CPA proposed or 

prepared as part of an engagement, (for an example, an audit). an 

audit being an example. CPA's work products are deliverables set 

forth in the terms of the engagement, such as tax returns. 

(d)  Once a CPA has complied with these requirements, the 

requirements described in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule, he 

or she shall not be under any further ethical obligation to: 

(1) comply with any subsequent requests to again 

provide records or copies of records described 

in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule. If 

subsequent to complying with a request, a client 

experiences a loss of records due to a natural 

disaster, the CPA shall comply with an 

additional request to provide such records; 

records that are in possession of the CPA; and 

(2) retain records for periods that exceed applicable 

professional standards, state and federal 

statutes and regulations, and contractual 

agreements relating to the service performed. 

(e)  A CPA who has provided records to an individual designated 

or held out as the client's representative, such as the general 

partner, or majority shareholder, or spouse, shall not be obligated 

to provide such records to other individuals associated with the 

client. However, in the case of joint individual tax returns, each 

named taxpayer on that return shall be entitled to a copy of the tax 

returns and supporting schedules from the CPA. 

(f)  Work papers shall be the CPA's property, and the CPA is not 

required to provide such information to the client. However, state 

and federal statutes and regulations and contractual agreements 

may impose additional requirements on the CPA. 

(g)  In fulfilling a request for client provided records, CPA 

prepared records, or a CPA's work products, the CPA may: 

(1) charge the client a fee for the time and expense 

incurred to retrieve and copy such records and 

require that the client pay the fee before the 

CPA provides the records to the client; 

(2) provide the requested records in any format 

usable by the client. The CPA is not required to 

convert records that are not in electronic format 

to electronic format. If the client requests 

records in a specific format and the records are 

available in such format within the CPA's 

custody and control, the client's request should 

shall be honored. In addition, the CPA is not 

required to provide the client with formulas, 

unless the formulas support the client's 

underlying accounting or other records or the 

CPA was engaged to provide such formulas as 

part of a completed work product; and product. 

The CPA is not required to provide electronic 

data files to a client if they were created with 

tax preparation software owned or licensed by 

the CPA; and 

(3) make and retain copies of any records that the 

CPA returned or provided to the client. 

(h)  A CPA who is required to return or provide records to the 

client shall comply with the client's request as soon as practicable, 

but no later than 45 days after the request is made. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57D-2-02; 93-12(9). 

 

21 NCAC 08N .0307 CPA FIRM NAMES 

(a)  Deceptive Names Prohibited. A CPA or CPA firm shall not 

trade upon the CPA title through use of any name that would have 

the capacity or tendency to deceive. The name or initials of one or 

more members of a new CPA firm, as defined in 21 NCAC 08A 

.0301, shall be included in the CPA firm name. The name of 

former members and the initials of former members that are 

currently in the CPA firm name and the name of current members 

and the initials of current members may be included in a new CPA 

firm name. The name, the portion of the name, the initials of the 

name or the acronym derived from the name of a firm network 

that includes names that were not previous CPA members or are 

not current CPA members of the CPA firm may be included in the 

CPA firm name. The name or initials of a non-CPA member in a 

CPA firm name may be included in the CPA firm name if certified 

public accountant or CPA is not included in or with the CPA firm 

name. Registration of Firm Names. A business may not use a CPA 

firm name unless that name has been registered with the Board. 

(b)  Style of Practice. It is misleading if a CPA firm practices 

under a name or style that would tend to imply the existence of a 

partnership or registered limited liability partnership or a 

professional corporation or professional limited liability company 

of more than one CPA shareholder or CPA member or an 

association when in fact there is no partnership nor is there more 

than one CPA shareholder or CPA member of a CPA firm. For 

example, no CPA firm having just one CPA member may have as 

a part of its name the words "associates," "group," "firm," or 

"company" or their abbreviations. It is also misleading if a CPA 

renders non-attest professional services through a non-CPA firm 

using a name that implies any non-licensees are CPAs. Misleading 

Names Prohibited. A CPA firm shall not trade upon the CPA title 

through use of any name that is misleading. A misleading CPA 

firm name is one which: 

(1) Implies the existence of a partnership or 

registered limited liability partnership or a 

professional corporation or professional limited 

liability company if the firm is not, in fact, one 

of those entities; 

(2) Includes the name of an individual who is not a 

CPA if the words "certified public accountants" 

or "CPAs" are included in the firm name; 

(3) Includes information about or indicates an 

association with persons who are not current or 

former members of the firm, unless the name is 

that of a firm network; 

(4) Includes the terms "& Company", "& 

Associates", or "Group", but the firm does not 

include, in addition to the named partner, 

shareholder, owner, or member, at least one 

other unnamed partner, shareholder, owner, 

member, or staff employee; 

(5) Contains any representation that would be 

likely to cause a reasonable person to have a 
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false or unjustified expectation of favorable 

results or capabilities, including names 

indicating qualitative superiority or pricing 

differences; 

(6) Claims or implies the ability to influence a 

regulatory body or official; or 

(7) Includes the name of an owner whose license 

has been revoked for disciplinary reasons by the 

Board, whereby the licensee has been 

prohibited from practicing public accountancy 

or prohibited from using the title CPA or 

holding themselves out as a Certified Public 

Accountant. 

(c)  Any CPA firm that has continuously used an assumed name 

approved by the Board prior to April 1, 1999, may continue to use 

the assumed name. A CPA firm (or a successor firm by sale, 

merger, or operation of law) using the name, or a portion of a 

name, or the initials of the name, or the acronym derived from the 

name of a firm association or firm network that was approved by 

the Board prior to April 1, 1999 may continue to use that name so 

long as that use is not deceptive. A CPA firm (or a successor firm 

by sale, merger, or operation of law) may continue to use the 

surname of a retired or deceased partner or shareholder in the CPA 

firm's name so long as that use is not deceptive. Permissible Firm 

Names: The following is a non-exhaustive list of types of CPA 

firm names that are not in and of themselves misleading and are 

permissible so long as they do not violate other firm name 

provisions: 

(1) A firm name that includes the names or initials 

of one or more former or current owners; 

(2) A firm name that excludes the names of one or 

more former or current owners; 

(3) A firm name that uses the "CPA" title as part of 

the firm name when all named individuals are 

owners of the firm who hold the CPA title or 

are former owners who held the CPA title at the 

time they ceased to be owners of the firm; or 

(4) A firm name that includes the name of a non-

CPA owner if the words "certified public 

accountant" or "CPA" title are not a part of the 

firm name. 

(d)  Any CPA firm registered in another jurisdiction that provides 

notification of intent to practice pursuant to G.S. 93-10(c)(3) may 

practice under the name as registered with that jurisdiction. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-12; G.S. 55B-5; 55B-12; 57D-2-02; 93-12(9). 

 

21 NCAC 08N .0308 VALUATION SERVICES 

STANDARDS 

(a)  Standards for Valuation Services. A CPA shall not render 

valuation services of a business, a business ownership interest, 

security, or intangible asset unless the CPA has complied with the 

standards for valuation services. Statements on Standards for 

Valuation Services. 

(b)  Statements on Standards for Valuation Services. The 

Statements on Standards for Valuation Services, Services 

(including the definition of such services) including the definition 

of such services, issued by the AICPA, including amendments and 

editions, are hereby adopted by reference, as provided by G.S. 

150B-21.6, and shall be considered as the approved standards for 

valuation services for the purposes of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

Departures from the standards listed in this Paragraph shall be 

justified by those who do not follow them as set out in the 

statements. 

(c)  Copies of Statements. Copies of the statements on standards 

for valuation services may be inspected in the offices of the Board, 

as described in 21 NCAC 08A .0102. Copies may be obtained 

from the AICPA, 220 Leigh Farm Road, Durham, NC 27707 as 

part of the "AICPA Professional Standards." They are available at 

cost, which is one hundred ninety-four dollars ($194.00) in 

paperback form or one hundred sixty-nine dollars ($169.00) in on-

line subscription form. AICPA are incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. This document 

may be accessed at  

https://www.aicpa.org/resources/download/statement-on-

standards-for-valuation-services-vs-section-100 at no cost. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57D-2-02; 93-12(9). 

 

21 NCAC 08N .0309 PERSONAL FINANCIAL 

PLANNING SERVICES 

(a)  Statement on Standards on Personal Financial Planning 

Services. A CPA shall not render personal financial planning 

services unless the CPA has complied with the applicable 

standards for personal financial planning services. Statement on 

Standards on Personal Financial Planning Services. 

(b)  Statement on Standards on Personal Financial Planning 

Services. The Statement on Standards on Personal Financial 

Planning  Services, Services (including the definition of such 

services) including the definition of such services, issued by the 

AICPA, including subsequent amendments and editions, is hereby 

adopted by reference, as provided by G.S. 150B-21.6, and shall 

be considered as the approved standards for personal financial 

planning services for the purpose of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

Departures from the statements listed in this Paragraph shall be 

justified by those who do not follow them as set out in the 

statements. 

(c)  Copies of Statements. Copies of the Statement on Standards 

on Personal Financial Planning Services may be inspected in the 

office of the Board, as described in 21 NCAC 08A .0102. Copies 

may be obtained from the AICPA, 220 Leigh Farm Road, 

Durham, NC 27707 as part of the "AICPA Professional 

Standards." They are available at cost, which is one hundred sixty-

nine dollars ($169.00) in paperback form or four hundred eighty-

six dollars ($486.00) in online subscription form. AICPA are 

incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and 

editions. This document may be accessed at 

https://aicpa.org/resources/download/statement-on-standards-in-

personal-financial-planning-services at no cost. 

 

Authority G.S. 55-12; G.S. 55B-12; 57D-2-02; 93-12(9). 

 

SECTION.0400 - RULES APPLICABLE TO CPAS 

PERFORMING ATTEST SERVICES 
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21 NCAC 08N .0403 AUDITING STANDARDS 

(a)  Standards for Auditing Services. A CPA shall not render 

auditing services unless the CPA has complied with the applicable 

generally accepted auditing standards. 

(b)  Statements on Auditing Standards. The Statements on 

Auditing Standards issued by the AICPA, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, are hereby adopted by reference, as 

provided by G.S. 150B-21.6, AICPA are incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions, and 

shall be considered generally accepted auditing standards for the 

purposes of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. Departures from the 

statements listed in this Paragraph shall be justified by those who 

do not follow them as set out in the statements. 

(c)  Copies of Statements. Copies of the Statements on Auditing 

Standards may be inspected in the offices of the Board, as 

described in 21 NCAC 08A .0102. Copies may be obtained from 

the AICPA, 220 Leigh Farm Road, Durham, NC 27707 as part of 

the "AICPA Professional Standards." They are available at cost, 

which is one hundred ninety-four dollars ($194.00) in paperback 

form or one hundred sixty-nine dollars ($169.00) in on-line 

subscription form. This document may be accessed at 

https://us.aicpa.org/research/standards/auditattest/clarifiedsas.ht

ml at no cost. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57D-2-02; 93-12(9). 

 

21 NCAC 08N .0404 ACCOUNTING AND REVIEW 

SERVICES STANDARDS 

(a)  Standards for Accounting and Review Services. A CPA shall 

not render accounting and review services unless the CPA has 

complied with the standards for accounting and review services. 

(b)  Statements on Standards for Accounting and Review 

Services. The Statements on Standards for Accounting and 

Review Services issued by the AICPA, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, are hereby adopted by reference, as 

provided by G.S. 150B-21.6, AICPA are incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions, and 

shall be considered as the approved standards for accounting and 

review services for the purposes of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

Departures from the statements listed in this Paragraph shall be 

justified by those who do not follow them as set out in the 

statements. 

(c)  Copies of Statements. Copies may be obtained from the 

AICPA, 220 Leigh Farm Road, Durham, NC 27707 as part of the 

"AICPA Professional Standards." They are available at cost, 

which is one hundred ninety-four dollars ($194.00) in paperback 

form or one hundred sixty-nine dollars ($169.00) in on-line 

subscription form. This document may be accessed at 

https://us.aicpa.org/research/standards/compilationreview.html at 

no cost. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57D-2-02; 93-12(9). 

 

21 NCAC 08N .0405 GOVERNMENTAL 

ACCOUNTING STANDARDS 

(a)  Standards for Governmental Accounting. A CPA shall not 

permit the CPA's name to be associated with governmental 

financial statements for a client unless the CPA has complied with 

the standards for governmental accounting. 

(b)  Statements on Governmental Accounting and Financial 

Reporting Services. The Statements on Governmental Accounting 

and Financial Reporting Services issued by the GASB, including 

subsequent amendments and editions, are hereby adopted by 

reference, as provided by G.S. 150B-21.6, GASB are incorporated 

by reference, including subsequent amendments and editions, and 

shall be considered as the approved standards for governmental 

accounting for the purposes of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

Departures from the statements listed in this Paragraph shall be 

justified by those who do not follow them as set out in the 

statements. 

(c)  Copies of Statements. Copies of the Statements on 

Governmental Accounting and Financial Reporting Standards, 

including technical bulletins and interpretations, may be inspected 

in the offices of the Board, as described in 21 NCAC 08A .0102. 

Copies may be obtained from the GASB, Post Office Box 30784, 

Stamford, CT 06150. They are available at cost, which is one 

hundred eighty-four dollars ($184.00). In addition to the basic set, 

an updating subscription service is available for two hundred 

twenty-five dollars ($225.00) annually. This document may be 

accessed at https://www.gasb.org/standards at no cost. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57D-2-02; 93-12(9). 

 

21 NCAC 08N .0406 ATTESTATION STANDARDS 

(a)  Standards for Attestation Services. A CPA shall not render 

attestation services unless the CPA has complied with the 

applicable attestation standards. 

(b)  Statements on Standards for Attestation Engagements. The 

Statements on Standards for Attestation Engagements issued by 

the AICPA, including subsequent amendments and editions, are 

hereby adopted by reference, as provided by G.S. 150B-21.6, 

AICPA are incorporated by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, and shall be considered attestation 

standards for the purposes of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

Departures from the statements listed in this Paragraph shall be 

justified by those who do not follow them as set out in the 

statements. 

(c)  Copies of Statements. Copies of the Statements on Standards 

for Attestation Engagements may be inspected in the offices of 

the Board, as described in 21 NCAC 08A .0102. Copies may be 

obtained from the AICPA, 220 Leigh Farm Road, Durham, NC 

27707 as part of the "AICPA Professional Standards." They are 

available at cost, which is one hundred ninety-four dollars 

($194.00) in paperback form or one hundred sixty-nine dollars 

($169.00) in on-line subscription form. This document may be 

accessed at  

https://us.aicpa.org/research/standards/auditattest/ssae at no cost. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57D-2-02; 93-12(9). 

 

21 NCAC 08N .0409 GOVERNMENT AUDITING 

STANDARDS 

(a)  Standards for Government Audits. A CPA shall not render 

audit services to a government entity or entity that receives 

government awards and is required to receive an audit in 

accordance with Government Auditing Standards unless the CPA 

has complied with the applicable Generally Accepted 

Government Auditing Standards. 
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(b)  Government Auditing Standards. The Government Auditing 

Standards issued by the United States Government Accountability 

Office, including subsequent amendments and additions, are 

hereby incorporated by reference, as provided by G.S. 150B-21.6, 

Office are incorporated by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, and shall be considered Generally 

Accepted Government Auditing Standards for the purpose of 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. Departures from the standards listed in 

this Paragraph shall be justified by those who do not follow them 

as set out in the standards. 

(c)  Copies of Standards. Copies of the Government Auditing 

Standards may be inspected in the offices of the Board, as 

described in 21 NCAC 08A .0102. Copies may be obtained from 

the Government Printing Office, Washington, D.C. 20402-0001. 

They are available at a cost, which is sixteen dollars ($16.00) in 

paperback form. This document may be accessed at 

https://www.gao.gov/yellowbook at no cost. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57D-2-02; 93-12(9). 

 

21 NCAC 08N .0410 INTERNATIONAL STANDARDS 

ON AUDITING 

(a)  International Standards on Auditing. A CPA shall not render 

auditing services that report to comply with international 

standards unless the CPA has complied with the applicable 

international standards on auditing. 

(b)  Statement on International Standards on Auditing. The 

Statement on International Standards on Auditing issued by the 

International Auditing and Assurance Board, including 

subsequent amendments and additions, are hereby incorporated 

by reference, as provided by G.S. 150B-21.6, Assurance 

Standards Board are incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions, and shall be considered 

International Standards on Auditing for the purpose of Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. Departures from the standards listed in this 

Paragraph shall be justified by those who do not follow them as 

set out in the standards. 

(c)  Copies of the Standards. Copies of the International Standards 

on Auditing may be inspected in the offices of the Board, as 

described in 21 NCAC 08A .0102. Copies may be obtained from 

the International Auditing and Assurance Board at 529 5th 

Avenue, 6th Floor, New York, NY 10017. They are available at a 

cost, which is one hundred sixty dollars ($160.00) in paperback 

form. This document may be accessed at 

https://www.iaasb.org/standards-pronouncements at no cost. 

 

Authority G.S.55-12; G.S. 55B-12; 57D-2-02; 93-12(9). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Certified Public Accountant Examiners intends to adopt 

the rules cited as 21 NCAC 08J .0112; 08N .0411 and .0412. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://nccpaboard.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  September 1, 2023 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 20, 2023 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  NC State Board of CPA Examiners, 1101 Oberlin 

Road, Suite 104, Raleigh, NC  27605 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Proposed rules are to create a 

new CPA-retired status to allow NC CPAs to continue to be 

recognized as a CPA after they cease performing professional 

services.  The Board currently only has Active and Inactive 

designations and the new CPA-retired status mirrors similar 

statuses granted by other jurisdictions around the country and 

aligns with the Uniform Accountancy Act model rules.  In 

addition, the Board is proposing rules related to services 

performed under the federal single audit act and newly created 

forensic audit standards to ensure NC CPAs perform such 

services in accordance with the proper professional standards. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  David R. Nance, 1101 Oberlin 

Rd, Raleigh, NC 27605; phone (919) 733-4215; email 

dnance@nccpaboard.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  June 20, 2023 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0100 -RENEWALS AND REGISTRATIONS  

 

21 NCAC 08J .0112 RETIRED STATUS - CHANGE 

OF STATUS 

(a)  A CPA on active or inactive status may apply to the Board for 

a change to CPA-retired status if that CPA completes an 

application provided by the Board confirming the following: 

(1) they will not perform any of the services listed 

in 21 NCAC 08A .0307(2) except that: 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

37:20 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 17, 2023 

2029 

(A) they may prepare tax returns for 

themselves and their immediate 

family members without 

compensation. Immediate family is 

defined as spouse, domestic partner, 

parent, child, sibling, stepparent, 

parent-in-law, stepchild, child-in-law, 

grandparent, grandchild, sibling-in-

law, or legal dependent; and 

(B) they may prepare tax returns through 

public service programs without 

compensation, such as the Volunteer 

Income Tax Assistance program. 

(2) they will not hold themselves out to the public 

as a certified public accountant while they 

remain on CPA-retired status except that they 

may use the designation "CPA-retired". 

(3) they consent to the continued regulatory 

authority of the Board. 

(b)  Individuals on CPA-retired status may receive compensation 

for any services that are not listed in 21 NCAC 08A .0307(2). 

(c)  Individuals on CPA-retired status must renew their certificate 

annually as set forth in 21 NCAC 08J .0101. However, individuals 

on CPA-retired status are exempt from the Board's annual CPE 

requirements. 

(d)  An individual on inactive status may change to CPA-retired 

status by submitting an application consistent with 21 NCAC 08F 

.0502. However, they are not required to provide the Board with 

an experience affidavit or three certificates of good moral 

character. 

(e)  An individual on CPA-retired status may change to active 

status by: 

(1) furnishing the Board with evidence of 

satisfactory completion of 40 hours of CPE 

courses during the 12-month period 

immediately preceding the application for 

change of status. Eight of the required hours 

shall be credits derived from a course or 

examination in North Carolina accountancy 

statutes and rules (including the Code of 

Professional Ethics and Conduct as set forth in 

21 NCAC 08N contained therein) as set forth in 

21 NCAC 08F .0504; and 

(2) submitting three certificates of good moral 

character completed by CPAs on active status. 

 

Authority G.S. 93-12(3); 93-12(8); 93-12(8b). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 08N – PROFESSIONAL ETHICS AND 

CONDUCT 

 

SECTION .0400 - RULES APPLICABLE TO CPAS 

PERFORMING ATTEST SERVICES 

 

21 NCAC 08N .0411 AUDITS SUBJECT TO THE 

SINGLE AUDIT ACT 

A CPA rendering audit services to a state or local government 

entity, non-profit organization, or other entity that is subject to the 

Single Audit Act of 1984, P.L. 98-502, and the Single Audit Act 

Amendments of 1996, P.L. 104-156, must comply with the Single 

Audit Act amendments as implemented through Subpart F - Audit 

Requirements of Title 2 of C.F.R., Chapter II, Part 200 Uniform 

Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit 

Requirements for Federal Awards (2 CFR part 200). 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57D-2-02; 93-12(9). 

 

21 NCAC 08N .0412 FORENSIC SERVICES 

(a)  Statement on Standards for Forensic Services. A CPA shall 

not render forensic services unless the CPA has complied with the 

Statement on Standards for Forensic Services. 

(b)  Statement on Standards for Forensic Services. The Statement 

for Forensic Services, including the definition of such services, 

issued by the AICPA are incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. This document may be 

accessed at  

https://www.aicpa.org/resources/download/statement-on-

standards-for-forensic-services at no cost. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-12; 57-D-02; 93-12(9). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 42 – BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN 

OPTOMETRY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Examiners in Optometry intends to amend the rule cited 

as 21 NCAC 42B .0304. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncoptometry.org/proposed-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2023 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Contact the Board 

at (910) 285-3160 or janice@ncoptometry.org 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  All renewals are done online; 

update required information 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Janice K. Peterson, 521 Yopp 

Rd., Suite 214 #444, Jacksonville, NC 28540; phone (910) 285-

3160; fax (910) 285-4546; email janice@ncoptometry.org 

 

Comment period ends:  June 16, 2023 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
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on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 42B - LICENSE TO PRACTICE 

OPTOMETRY 

 

SECTION .0300 - ANNUAL LICENSE RENEWAL 

 

21 NCAC 42B .0304 APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 

RENEWAL 

The application for license renewal shall show the licensee's full 

name, the serial number of his or her license, the address of each 

location in which he or she practices, the county in which each 

such practice is located, licensee's contact information, and 

questions about events or other facts which could impact his or 

her maintenance of licensure. whether the licensee has been 

certified to prescribe and use pharmaceutical agents. The 

application shall be available through the licensee's portal on the 

Board's website mailed to each licensed optometrist at his address 

of record on or before November 15 of each year preceding the 

date on which the application and the fees are due. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-117.5; 90-118.10. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 46 – BOARD OF PHARMACY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Pharmacy intends to adopt the rule cited as 21 NCAC 

46 .1821 and amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 46 .1616. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncbop.org/rulemakings.htm 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  September 1, 2023 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 13, 2023 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  North Carolina Board of Pharmacy, 6015 Farrington 

Road, Suite 201, Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27517. 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The Board of Pharmacy proposes 

to adopt a rule permitting pharmacies to employ certain direct to 

patient systems, which are technologies that dispense drugs 

directly to patients.  The proposed rule contains provisions to 

allow pharmacies to comply with the laws governing dispensing 

drugs, devices, or medical equipment while using these systems.  

The proposed rule further contains provisions that would ensure 

that the systems can be used safely and securely, that required 

records are maintained, that the home pharmacy can adequately 

supervise and service these systems, and that patients may use 

these systems while also receiving information, safeguards and 

counseling that they need to use their drugs, devices, and medical 

equipment safely.  There is an accompanying proposed change to 

the Board of Pharmacy's limited service permit rules to provide 

for permitting of systems that a pharmacy may place in a location 

other than the home pharmacy's facility. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Jay Campbell, 6015 

Farrington Rd Ste 201, Chapel Hill, NC 27517; email 

ncboprulemaking@ncbop.org 

 

Comment period ends:  June 16, 2023 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .1600 - LICENSES AND PERMITS 

 

21 NCAC 46 .1616 LIMITED SERVICE PERMITS 

(a)  The following pharmacy practice locations are eligible to 

apply for "limited service permits" whose operations are modified 

by the provisions set forth in this Rule: 

(1) auxiliary medication inventories permitted and 

operating in health care facilities pursuant to 

Rule .1414(d) of this Chapter; 

(2) automated dispensing or drug supply devices 

permitted and operating in health care facilities 

pursuant to Rule .1419 of this Chapter; 

(3) direct to patient systems that are not located at 

the home pharmacy's facility pursuant to Rule 

.1821 of this Chapter; 
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(3)(4) facilities where drugs are dispensed only by 

nurse practitioners or physician assistants 

pursuant to Section .1700 of this Chapter; 

(4)(5) county health departments or other 

governmental entities providing local health 

services under G.S. 130A-34 where drugs are 

dispensed only by registered nurses and only 

pursuant to G.S. 90-85.34A and Section .2400 

of this Chapter; 

(5)(6) county health departments or other 

governmental entities providing local health 

services under G.S. 130A-34 that engage in 

dispensing beyond that set out in G.S. 90-

85.34A and Section .2400 of this Chapter; 

(6)(7) free clinics, as defined in G.S. 90-85.44(a)(6); 

or 

(7)(8) critical access hospitals, as defined in G.S. 

131E-76. 

(b)  A pharmacist-manager for a limited service permit may 

designate one assistant pharmacist-manager but is not required to 

do so. The assistant pharmacist-manager shall be responsible for 

exercising all of the responsibilities of a pharmacist-manager 

when the assistant pharmacist-manager is present and the 

pharmacist-manager is not present at the limited service permit. If 

the pharmacist-manager chooses to designate an assistant 

pharmacist-manager, the pharmacist-manager shall notify the 

Board on the limited service permit application and, in writing, 

within 15 days of any change in the designation. Notwithstanding 

the pharmacist-manager's designation of an assistant pharmacist-

manager, the pharmacist-manager shall be responsible for 

ensuring the pharmacy's compliance with all statutes, rules, and 

standards at all times. 

(c)  For limited service permits, the pharmacist-manager 

attendance requirements set out in Rule .2502(b) of this Chapter 

are modified only as set forth herein: 

(1) For limited service permits described in 

Subparagraphs (a)(1) and (a)(1), (2) and (3) of 

this Rule, either the pharmacist-manager or the 

assistant pharmacist-manager must perform an 

in-person, on-site visit at least once per calendar 

quarter to inspect the permit, review the 

operations of the permit with the persons 

involved in accessing them, and ensure that the 

permits are operated in compliance with all 

applicable State and federal laws. 

(2) For limited service permits described in 

Subparagraphs (a)(4) and (5)(a)(3) and (4) of 

this Rule, either the pharmacist-manager or the 

assistant pharmacist-manager must perform an 

in-person, on-site visit at least once per week to 

inspect the permit, review the operations of the 

permit with the persons involved in dispensing, 

and ensure that the permits are operated in 

compliance with all applicable State and federal 

laws. 

(3) For limited service permits described in 

Subparagraphs (a)(5), (6), and (a)(6), (7) and 

(8) of this Rule, either the pharmacist-manager 

or the assistant pharmacist-manager employed 

or otherwise engaged to supply pharmaceutical 

services may have a flexible schedule of 

attendance but shall be present for at least one-

half of the hours the pharmacy is open or 20 

hours a week, whichever is less. For the limited 

service permits described in Subparagraphs 

(a)(5) and (6) of this Rule, a licensed 

pharmacist must be present when the pharmacy 

is open as described in Rule .2502(e) of this 

Chapter. For the limited service permits 

described in Subparagraph (a)(7) of this Rule, 

the limited service permit may operate in the 

absence of a pharmacist only as set out in Rule 

.1413 of this Chapter. 

(4) The limited service permit may name a 

temporary pharmacist-manager or assistant 

pharmacist-manager for a period not to exceed 

90 days from the departure date of the previous 

pharmacist-manager or assistant pharmacist-

manager. The temporary pharmacist-manager 

or assistant pharmacist-manager must accept 

the responsibilities of that position and must be 

present as set forth in this Rule. A limited 

service permit may not operate for a period of 

more than 30 days without a pharmacist 

employed or otherwise engaged as a permanent 

or temporary pharmacist-manager who has 

signed the permit for that pharmacy. 

(d)  A person may serve as the pharmacist-manager or the 

assistant pharmacist-manager for multiple limited service permits, 

and may serve as the pharmacist-manager or assistant pharmacist-

manager for limited service permits in addition to serving as the 

pharmacist-manager for a maximum of one permit other than a 

limited service permit. A person may serve multiple limited 

permits only if that person is able to fulfill all of that person's 

duties under State and federal law. 

(e)  Other than as set forth in this Rule, limited service permits 

and their personnel must follow all requirements of State and 

federal law. This Rule does not replace or modify the 

requirements that the pharmacist-manager provide oversight and 

supervision as provided elsewhere in this Chapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-18.1(c); 90-18.2; 90-85.6; 90-85.21; 90-85.32; 

90-85.33; 90-85.34. 

 

SECTION .1800 - PRESCRIPTIONS 

 

21 NCAC 46 .1821 DIRECT-TO-PATIENT 

DELIVERY SYSTEMS 

(a)  This Rule sets out the requirements under which pharmacies 

may utilize "direct-to-patient" or ("DTP") delivery systems for 

dispensing in the State of North Carolina. 

(b)  Definitions. 

(1) "Direct to patient system" or "DTP system" 

means any delivery system through which a 

pharmacy dispenses drugs, devices or medical 

equipment to a patient through any means other 

than: 
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(A) in-person dispensing to a patient by 

pharmacy personnel inside a 

pharmacy,  

(B) in-person dispensing by delivery to a 

patient's residence or to a health care 

provider treating that patient, 

(C) shipping through common carrier to a 

patient or to a health care provider 

treating that patient, or  

(D) the use of an automated dispensing 

device by a health care facility 

pharmacy that is governed by Rule 

.1419 of this Chapter.  

Except as provided in this Rule or one of the 

exceptions set out above, no licensee or 

permittee shall participate in any arrangement 

whereby prescriptions may be left at, picked up 

from, accepted by, or delivered to any other 

place. The only DTP systems allowed are 

"lockers" and "kiosks" as defined herein. 

(2) The "home pharmacy" means the pharmacy 

responsible for dispensing drugs, devices or 

medical equipment through a DTP system. 

(3) A "locker" means a secure container in which 

pharmacy personnel place completed and 

labeled patient-specific drugs, devices, or 

medical equipment to be picked up by the 

patient. 

(4) A "kiosk" means an automated system that is 

capable of filling, labeling and dispensing 

drugs, devices, or medical equipment to be 

dispensed to a patient. 

(c)  Any DTP system located within the State of North Carolina 

(whether a locker or a kiosk) must meet the following 

requirements: 

(1) Before any drugs, devices, or medical 

equipment may be dispensed from a DTP 

system, the home pharmacy must be permitted 

by the Board. In addition, before any drugs, 

devices, or medical equipment may be 

dispensed from the DTP system, the DTP 

system must hold a limited service permit if it 

is not located at the home pharmacy's permitted 

facility. 

(2) The home pharmacy must notify the Board, in 

writing, prior to using any DTP system, 

including the location of the DTP system and 

the licensed pharmacist(s) responsible for the 

DTP system. The home pharmacy must notify 

the Board prior to moving the DTP system and 

must secure a new limited service permit, if one 

is required by Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule, 

before operating the DTP system in the new 

location. The home pharmacy must notify the 

Board within 10 days after discontinuing the 

use of any DTP system. 

(3) The home pharmacy must own or otherwise 

have the legal right to sole use of the DTP 

system. 

(4) Any DTP system must be 60 miles or fewer 

from the home pharmacy (via the shortest 

surface street route) in order to facilitate 

supervision of the DTP system. 

(5) A DTP system may be placed in the office of a 

prescriber only if the DTP system is under the 

ownership and control of the home pharmacy, 

which is responsible for compliance with all 

laws regarding the DTP system. The prescriber 

must offer patients a choice of pharmacy, and 

neither the home pharmacy nor the prescriber 

may compensate the other for the placement of 

the DTP system or for any prescriptions filled 

by the DTP system. 

(6) The DTP system must be secured to prohibit 

access by unauthorized personnel and to 

maintain confidentiality of patient information. 

The DTP system must be under the continuous 

supervision of a pharmacist employed by the 

home pharmacy. To qualify as continuous 

supervision, the pharmacist is not required to be 

physically present at the site of the DTP system 

if the pharmacist electronically supervises the 

DTP system. 

(7) The DTP system must display the home 

pharmacy's name, address, phone number, 

North Carolina permit number, and the name of 

the home pharmacy's pharmacist-manager, as 

well as (where applicable) the limited service 

permit number for the DTP system and the 

name of the limited service permit's 

pharmacist-manager and assistant pharmacist-

manager, if any. 

(8) The home pharmacy must ensure that there is 

video surveillance of the DTP system and any 

persons using or accessing the DTP system. It 

must maintain any recordings for a minimum of 

90 days. 

(9) The home pharmacy shall develop, maintain, 

and follow a manual of policies and procedures 

that includes policies and procedures for: 

(A) Maintaining the security of the DTP 

system and the drugs, devices, and 

medical equipment within the DTP 

system. 

(B) Determining and applying criteria 

regarding which drugs, devices, and 

medical equipment are appropriate for 

placement in the DTP system and 

which patients are eligible to use the 

DTP system. 

(C) Maintaining any drugs, devices, and 

medical equipment at temperatures, 

humidities and other environmental 

conditions to ensure that they do not 

become adulterated under G.S. 106-

133 and to ensure that they are 

transported and stored in accordance 
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with manufacturer's specifications, if 

any, for those items. 

(D) Removing outdated drugs, devices, 

and medical equipment from the DTP 

system as set forth in Subparagraph 

(c)(11) of this Rule on a regular basis 

so that patients do not receive drugs, 

devices, and medical equipment with a 

beyond use date during the period 

when the patient is to use the item. 

(E) Describing the assignment of 

responsibilities to, and training of, 

pharmacy personnel regarding the 

maintenance and filling procedures for 

the DTP system. 

(F) Orienting participating patients on use 

of the DTP system; notifying patients 

when expected drugs, devices, or 

medical equipment are not available in 

the DTP system or when the DTP 

system is not functioning and 

notifying them of alternate methods 

for having those prescriptions filled; 

and ensuring that patient use of the 

DTP system does not interfere with the 

delivery of drugs, devices, and 

medical equipment to patients. 

(G) Inspecting the DTP system during 

each required inspection. 

This written manual of policies and procedures shall be 

reviewed and updated, if needed, annually. 

(10) The home pharmacy shall comply with any 

federal and state controlled substance laws and 

rules, including but not limited to registrations 

that may be required for any DTP systems, 

before any controlled substances are dispensed 

from any DTP systems. The home pharmacy 

must comply with G.S. 90-106.1 in dispensing 

any drugs covered by that statute from a DTP 

system, and must visually confirm that the 

person seeking the dispensation is the same as 

the person on the photographic identification 

provided. 

(11) Drugs, devices, and medical equipment may be 

stocked in, or removed from, a DTP system in 

the State of North Carolina only by pharmacy 

personnel who are licensed with this Board as 

pharmacists or registered with this Board as 

technicians or pharmacy interns. The home 

pharmacy must maintain records of any access 

to the DTP system by pharmacy personnel 

stocking or otherwise accessing the DTP 

system. 

(12) The home pharmacy may use DTP system only 

with prior approval of the patient. 

(13) The dispensing pharmacist on any drugs, 

devices, or medical equipment dispensed from 

a DTP system in the State of North Carolina 

must be licensed with this Board. 

(14) Before a prescription is dispensed from the 

DTP system, the dispensing pharmacist at the 

home pharmacy must verify each prescription 

and must conduct a drug utilization review and 

otherwise assure that the drug, device, or 

medical equipment may safely be dispensed to 

the patient. 

(15) The labels of any drugs, devices, and medical 

equipment dispensed from a DTP system must 

be labeled for the individual patient and contain 

all information required by law, including but 

not limited to having the dispensing pharmacist 

identified on the label. 

(16) The home pharmacy must create and maintain 

all required records for any drugs, devices, and 

medical equipment dispensed in a DTP system. 

Any kiosk must be connected to the home 

pharmacy's automated data processing system, 

and any drugs, devices, or medical equipment 

dispensed from any locker must be recorded in 

the home pharmacy's recordkeeping system. 

The records must reflect that the drugs, devices, 

and medical equipment were dispensed by the 

DTP system, and the recordkeeping system 

must be capable of producing a record of all 

drugs, devices, and medical equipment 

dispensed from the DTP system. 

(17) The DTP system must have a means to identify 

each patient and release only that patient's 

prescription drugs, devices, or medical 

equipment to the patient. In the event that the 

DTP system releases a patient's drugs to the 

agent for a patient, the DTP system must have 

a means to ensure that the agent is authorized to 

receive drugs, devices, or medical equipment 

for that patient. 

(18) The DTP system must offer to counsel a patient 

as required by Rule .2504 of this Chapter and 

must provide the ability for the patient to have 

an immediate real-time consultation with a 

pharmacist licensed by this Board and 

employed by the home pharmacy who has 

access to all of the home pharmacy's 

information related to the patient. The 

communication link shall protect the 

confidentiality of the patient's information. The 

home pharmacy must check the communication 

link at least daily and the DTP system must be 

closed if the link malfunctions or if a licensed 

pharmacist is not available from the home 

pharmacy for counseling, unless a licensed 

pharmacist is physically present at the DTP 

system. A pharmacist who is responsible for 

counseling may not provide that service for 

more than three sites simultaneously. In the 

event that the DTP system is placed in the same 

physical space as the dispensing area of the 

home pharmacy, this provision may be satisfied 

during the time that the pharmacy is open by 
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informing the patient how to receive counseling 

from a pharmacist in the home pharmacy. If the 

dispensing pharmacist has determined that the 

patient should receive counseling before the 

prescription is dispensed, the DTP system must 

provide the ability for the pharmacist to force 

counseling before the DTP system dispenses 

the drug, device, or medical equipment. 

(19) The home pharmacy shall record and review 

any incident involving a complaint, delivery 

error, or omission regarding a DTP as part of 

the home pharmacy's quality assurance 

program. 

(20) Drugs, devices, or medical equipment that are 

not picked up by a patient may be returned to 

stock under the same conditions as if the item 

had been maintained in the pharmacy, as long 

as the requirements of this Rule for operating 

the DTP system have been followed. 

(d)  With respect to drugs, devices, or medical equipment 

dispensed through a kiosk, the following additional requirements 

shall be met: 

(1) The dispensing pharmacist shall electronically 

compare via video link the stock bottle, drug 

dispensed, the strength, and the beyond-use 

date. The dispensing pharmacist must verify the 

entire label for accuracy on the video link. 

(2) The kiosk shall utilize a barcode system that 

prints the barcode of the stock bottle or other 

packaging on the label of the dispensed drug, 

device, or medical equipment. If the stock 

bottle or other packaging does not have a 

barcode, the home pharmacy shall create one. 

Pharmacy personnel shall scan both the stock 

bottle or other packaging and the label of the 

dispensed drug, device, or medical equipment 

to verify that the item dispensed is the same as 

the one in the stock bottle or other packaging 

for each prescription dispensed. 

(3) Drugs, devices, or medical equipment 

dispensed by the kiosk may be packaged only 

by a licensed manufacturer or repackager, or 

prepackaged by the home pharmacy in 

compliance with the Pharmacy Practice Act and 

its rules. 

(4) The home pharmacy shall keep a perpetual 

inventory of controlled substances that are 

received and dispensed from each kiosk. 

(5) The home pharmacy may not dispense 

compounded medications through a kiosk. 

(6) The kiosk shall not accept returns of drugs, 

devices and medical equipment from patients. 

(e)  This Rule does not alter the method by which patients or 

providers may transmit prescriptions to the home pharmacy. 

Prescriptions may not be collected by the home pharmacy through 

the DTP system. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.15A; 90-85.21; 90-85.32. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission March 16, 2023 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Andrew P. Atkins (1st Vice Chair) 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. (2nd Vice Chair) Wayne R. Boyles, III 
Jay R. Hemphill Barbara A. Jackson 

Jeff Hyde Randy Overton 
Robert A. Rucho Paul Powell 

 
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Brian Liebman  984-236-1948 
Lawrence Duke  984-236-1938 
William W. Peaslee 984-236-1939 
Seth M. Ascher  984-236-1934 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 April 20, 2023 June 15, 2023 
 May 18, 2023 July 20, 2023 

 

 
 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING 
MINUTES 

March 16, 2023 
 
The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, March 16, 2023, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church 
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, and via WebEx. 
 
Commissioners Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jeanette Doran, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy 
Overton, and Bob Rucho were present in the Commission Room. Commissioners Jay Hemphill and Paul Powell were 
present via WebEx. 
 
Staff member Alexander Burgos, and Commission Counsel Seth Ascher, Lawrence Duke, Brian Liebman, and Bill Peaslee 
were present in the room.  
 
The meeting was called to order at 9:04 a.m. with Chair Doran presiding. 
 
The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to 
avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest. 
 
APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the February 16, 2023 meeting. 
There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the minutes approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew 
Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and 
Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
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FOLLOW UP MATTERS 
Medical Care Commission 
10A NCAC 13B .3801, .3903, .4103, .4104, .4106, .4305, .4603, .4801, .4805, .5102, .5105, .5406, .5408, and .5411 – 
These Rules remain on the agenda pending the agency’s intention to seek a legislative fix to address the overarching 
objection for lack of statutory authority. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Department of Public Safety 
Upon the call of the Chair, 14B NCAC 03 .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, .0407, .0408, .0409, and .0410 were 
approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby 
Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: 
None. 
 
Department of Environmental Quality 
Upon the call of the Chair, 15A NCAC 01E .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109, .0110, .0111, 
.0112, .0113, .0114, and .0115 were approved contingent upon incorporating a technical change to making these Rules 
effective on April 1, 2023 by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. 
Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting 
in the negative: None. 
 
Philip Reynolds, with the Department of Justice and representing the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 
15A NCAC 02H .1301, .1401, .1402, .1403, .1404, and .1405 - The Commission objected to these Rules at the May 2022 
meeting. The agency has not responded to the Commission’s objection since August 2022. No action was required by the 
Commission. 
 
Coastal Resources Commission  
15A NCAC 07H .0501,. 0502, .0503, .0505, .0506, .0507, .0508, .0509, .0510; 07I .0406, .0506, .0702; 07J .0203, .0204, 
.0206, .0207, .0208, and .0312 – At the February meeting, the Commission continued its objection to these Rules from the 
September 2022 meeting pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.12(c). The agency has not responded to the Commission’s continued 
objection.  No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Coastal Resources Commission 
15A NCAC 07H .2305 – At the February meeting, the Commission continued its objection to this Rule from the September 
2022 meeting pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.12(c). The agency has not responded to the Commission’s continued objection.  
No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Coastal Resources Commission 
15A NCAC 07M .0201, .0202, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0701, .0703, .0704, .1001, .1002, and .1101 – At the February meeting, 
the Commission continued its objection to these Rules from the September 2022 meeting pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.12(c). 
The agency has not responded to the Commission’s continued objection.  No action was required by the Commission. 
 
State Board of Education 
Upon the call of the Chair, 16 NCAC 06E .0204 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, 
Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES) 
Commission for Public Health 10A NCAC 41C 
Upon the call of the Chair, 10A NCAC 41C .1001, .1002, .1003, .1004, .1005, .1006, and .1007 were approved by roll-call 
vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, 
Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Commission for Public Health 15A NCAC 18A 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission extended the period of review for 15A NCAC 18A .2801, .2802, .2803, .2804, 
.2806, .2807, .2808, .2809, .2810, .2812, .2814, .2815, .2816, .2817, .2818, .2819, .2820, .2821, .2822, .2823, .2824, .2825, 
.2826, .2827, .2829, .2830, .2831, .2832, .2833, .2834, .2835, and .2836 by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy 
Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
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Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners 
Upon the call of the Chair,  21 NCAC 14A .0101; 14H .0201, .0203, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0501, .0503, .0504, .0505; 14P 
.0105, .0106, .0108, .0111, .0113, .0116, .0117; 14T .0101, .0102, .0201, .0202, .0301, .0302, .0303, .0304, .0305, .0502, 
.0601, .0602, .0603, .0604, .0605, .0606, .0607, .0608, .0609, .0610, .0611, .0612, .0613, .0614, .0615, .0616, .0617, .0701, 
.0702, .0706, .0802 and .0803 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew 
Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and 
Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Landscape Contractors' Licensing Board 
Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 28B .0402 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, 
Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Locksmith Licensing Board  
Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 29 .0501 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, 
Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
The Commission objected to 21 NCAC 29 .0705 in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.9(a). The Commission voted to adopt 
the staff opinion dated March 14, 2023 objecting to 21 NCAC 29 .0705 for lack of statutory authority to adopt the rule and 
ambiguity contained in the rule by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne 
R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. 
Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Board of Nursing 
Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 36 .0228 and .0817 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy 
Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Office of Administrative Hearings 
Upon the call of the Chair, 26 NCAC 03 .0103, .0112, and .0123 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: 
Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, 
Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (TEMPORARY RULES) 
Department of Health and Human Services 
10A NCAC 14J .1307 - The Commission objected to the rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.1(b1). The Commission voted 
to adopt the staff opinion dated March 8, 2023, objecting to 10A NCAC 14J .1307 for lack of necessity pursuant to G.S. 
150B-21.9(a)(3) by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, 
Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Raj Premakumar with the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Private Protective Services Board 
The rules were withdrawn at the request of the agency. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
COMMISSION BUSINESS 
At 9:30 a.m., upon a motion by the Chair Doran and a second by Commissioner Atkins, the Commission voted to call the 
public meeting of the Rules Review Commission into recess and enter into closed session pursuant to G.S. 143-318.11(a)(3) 
to consult with counsel under the attorney-client privilege regarding the lawsuit filed by the NC Environmental Management 
Commission v NC Rules Review Commission, 23 CV 005003-910 (Wake) by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy 
Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
No action was taken in closed session. 
 
Following the closed session, Commissioner Hemphill left the meeting via Webex. 
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At 10:08 a.m., upon a motion by Commissioner Atkins and a second by Commissioner Bryan, the Commission voted to 
come out of closed session and reconvene the public meeting of the Rules Review Commission by roll-call vote, ayes 8, 
noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, 
Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Upon a motion by Commissioner Atkins and a second by Commissioner Bryan, the Commission voted to exercise its 
discretion pursuant to G.S. 143B-30.1 and hold that G.S. 114-2.3 and G.S. 147-17(a) through (c1) shall not apply to the 
Commission in the matter of the North Carolina Environmental Management Commission v. the North Carolina Rules 
Review Commission file number 23 CV 005003-910 Wake County Superior Court.  Further, that the Commission authorizes 
the Chair to retain private counsel, specifically Higgins Benjamin, PLLC, to represent the Commission in this matter and 
retain substitute counsel should the need arise. Additionally, that the Commission grant the Chair final decision-making 
authority with respect to the defense and disposition of this matter by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, 
and Bob Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
The meeting adjourned at 10:12 a.m. 
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, April 20, 2023, at 9:00 a.m. 
 
 
  
      
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
 
 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Jeanette Doran, Chair 
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Rules Review Commission Meeting March 16, 2023 

Via WebEx 
 

 

Name   Agency  

Ross Smith NCMA 

Joelle Burleson DEQ 

Laura Rowe Treasurer 

Dan Hirschman DOJ 

Angela Willis CRC 

Christine Ryan EMC 

Misty Piekaar DHHS 

Jeff Dellinger DHHS 

Melanie Mabrey Nursing 

Gina Cleary DOJ 

Nathan Vail DHHS 

Peter Daniel ncchamber.com 

Anne Coan NCFB 

Donna Gilbird  

Meredith Parris Nursing 

Dana Lee Auditor 

Calvin Kirven NCLCLB 

Julie Ventaloro OSBM 

David Palmer docsedu.com 

Kimberly Luisana Nursing 

Helen Landi hntb.com 

Carrie Ruhlman WRC 

Jeff Harms DHHS 

Tammy Sylvester DHHS 

Ellen Roeber PT Board 

Rob Pearsall DHHS 

Ryan Collins DPI 

Laura Lansford DOR 

Chris Millis NCHBA 

Jessica Montie DEQ 

Melva Bonner WRC 

Lou Martin DPI 

Brenda Bass DHHS 

Ross Smith MYNCMA 

Edward Norman DHHS 

Jill Cramer DOL 

Hyrum Hemingway DOJ 

Hannah Jernigan DOT 

Laryssa Smith NCBDN 
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Todd Neal DIJ 

Dauna Bartley Dental 

Ellis Angela NCBON 

John Barkley DOJ 

Larry Michael DHHS 

Brian Barnes DPS 

Ann Wall SOS 

Lynda Elliott Cosmetic Arts 

 

 

LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES 

March 16, 2023 Meeting 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

Definitions 10A NCAC 41C .1001 

Funding 10A NCAC 41C .1002 

Asbestos Inspections and Abatement in North Carolina Publ... 10A NCAC 41C .1003 

Lead-Based Paint Inspections and Abatement in North Carol... 10A NCAC 41C .1004 

Lead Poisoning Hazards in Drinking Water in North Carolin... 10A NCAC 41C .1005 

Certified Risk Assessors 10A NCAC 41C .1006 

Incorporation by Reference 10A NCAC 41C .1007 

PUBLIC SAFETY, DEPARTMENT OF 

Purpose 14B NCAC 03 .0401 

Abbreviations and Definitions 14B NCAC 03 .0402 

Dispatch of a Contract Response Team to a Search to a Sea... 14B NCAC 03 .0403 

On-site Operations of a Contract Response Team 14B NCAC 03 .0404 

Standards for Administration of a Contract Response Team,... 14B NCAC 03 .0405 

Recovering the Costs of a Search and Rescue Team or Speci... 14B NCAC 03 .0406 

Procedures for Bidding and Contracting for Search and Res... 14B NCAC 03 .0407 

Criteria for Submitting Bids for Contract Response Team 14B NCAC 03 .0408 

Personnel, Training, and Equipment Standards for Contract... 14B NCAC 03 .0409 

Procedures for Auditing Contract Response Teams and Speci... 14B NCAC 03 .0410 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY, DEPARTMENT OF 

Purpose 15A NCAC 01E .0101 

Definitions 15A NCAC 01E .0102 

Oil Refining Facility Permit Required 15A NCAC 01E .0103 

Permit Application Requirements 15A NCAC 01E .0104 

Permit Application Procedure 15A NCAC 01E .0105 

Public Hearing on Permit Application 15A NCAC 01E .0106 

Decision to Issue or Deny Permit 15A NCAC 01E .0107 

Suspension: Revocation: or Amendment of Permits 15A NCAC 01E .0108 

Administrative Hearings: Final Decision by Secretary 15A NCAC 01E .0109 

Severability 15A NCAC 01E .0110 

Mailing List 15A NCAC 01E .0111 

Fees 15A NCAC 01E .0112 
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Extensions of Time Periods 15A NCAC 01E .0113 

Delegations 15A NCAC 01E .0114 

Unauthorized Discharges 15A NCAC 01E .0115 

EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF 

Interscholastic Athletes and Administering Organizations ... 16 NCAC 06E .0204 

COSMETIC ART EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Definitions 21 NCAC 14A .0101 

Application for Shop License 21 NCAC 14H .0201 

Newly Established Shops 21 NCAC 14H .0203 

Licensees and Students 21 NCAC 14H .0401 

Cosmetic Art Shops and Schools 21 NCAC 14H .0402 

Disinfection Procedures 21 NCAC 14H .0403 

Inspection of Cosmetic Art Shops 21 NCAC 14H .0501 

Sanitary Ratings and Posting of Ratings 21 NCAC 14H .0503 

Systems of Grading Beauty Establishments 21 NCAC 14H .0504 

Rule Compliance and Enforcement Measures 21 NCAC 14H .0505 

Renewals: Expired Licenses: Licenses Required 21 NCAC 14P .0105 

Licenses Required 21 NCAC 14P .0106 

Revocation of Licenses and Other Disciplinary Measures 21 NCAC 14P .0108 

Establishment of Cosmetic Art Schools 21 NCAC 14P .0111 

Operations of Schools of Cosmetic Art 21 NCAC 14P .0113 

Civil Penalty Procedures 21 NCAC 14P .0116 

Rule Compliance and Enforcement Measures 21 NCAC 14P .0117 

Scope and Definitions 21 NCAC 14T .0101 

New School Applications 21 NCAC 14T .0102 

All Cosmetic Art Schools 21 NCAC 14T .0201 

Cosmetology Schools 21 NCAC 14T .0202 

Equipment for All Cosmetic Art Schools 21 NCAC 14T .0301 

Equipment for Cosmetology Schools 21 NCAC 14T .0302 

Equipment for Esthetics Schools 21 NCAC 14T .0303 

Equipment for Manicuring Schools 21 NCAC 14T .0304 

Equipment for Natural Hair Care Styling Schools 21 NCAC 14T .0305 

Permanent Records, Forms and Documentation 21 NCAC 14T .0502 

Cosmetic Art Curricula 21 NCAC 14T .0601 

Cosmetology Curriculum 21 NCAC 14T .0602 

Apprentice Cosmetology Curriculum 21 NCAC 14T .0603 

Esthetics Curriculum 21 NCAC 14T .0604 

Manicuring Curriculum 21 NCAC 14T .0605 

Natural Hair Care Curriculum 21 NCAC 14T .0606 

Cosmetology Teacher Trainee Curriculum 21 NCAC 14T .0607 

Esthetic Teacher Trainee Curriculum 21 NCAC 14T .0608 

Manicurist Teacher Trainee Curriculum 21 NCAC 14T .0609 

Natural Hair Care Teacher Curriculum 21 NCAC 14T .0610 

Online Instruction 21 NCAC 14T .0611 

Instruction Guidelines 21 NCAC 14T .0612 

Uniforms and Identification 21 NCAC 14T .0613 
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Internships 21 NCAC 14T .0614 

Field Trips 21 NCAC 14T .0615 

Additional Hours 21 NCAC 14T .0616 

Teacher Trainees 21 NCAC 14T .0617 

School Operations/Licensure Maintenance 21 NCAC 14T .0701 

Transfer of Credit 21 NCAC 14T .0702 

School Approval Changes and School Closing 21 NCAC 14T .0706 

School Infection Control Grades 21 NCAC 14T .0802 

School Inspections 21 NCAC 14T .0803 

LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS' LICENSING BOARD 

Continuing Education Units 21 NCAC 28B .0402 

LOCKSMITH LICENSING BOARD 

Obligation of Licensed Locksmiths 21 NCAC 29 .0501 

NURSING, BOARD OF 

Clinical Nurse Specialist Practice 21 NCAC 36 .0228 

COVID-19 Drug Preservation Rule 21 NCAC 36 .0817 

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS, OFFICE OF 

Commencement of Contested Case: Notice and Filing Fee 26 NCAC 03 .0103 

Discovery 26 NCAC 03 .0112 

Official Record 26 NCAC 03 .0123 

 
 

 

 


