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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission intends 

to amend the rule cited as 12 NCAC 10B .2201. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/sheriffs/all-

commission-forms-publications/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2023 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 6, 2023 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  1700 Tryon Park Dr., Raleigh, NC 27610 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  This rule contains the contents of 

the forms utilized to fulfill the requirements established by the 

Commission for certification processes. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Melissa Bowman, 1700 Tryon 

Park Dr., Raleigh, NC 27610; phone (919) 779-8213; email 

mbowman@ncdoj.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  June 30, 2023 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 10 - SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10B - N.C. SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .2200 – FORMS 

 

12 NCAC 10B .2201 CERTIFICATION FORMS 

(a)  The following are Commission approved forms to be used by 

agencies in making reports, applications, or requests for 

certification of justice officers: 

(a)(1) Form F-1, Medical History Statement, is 

completed by an applicant and consists of the 

applicant's medical information, information 

including medication, allergies, and 

immunizations, present and past physical 

condition, conditions, injuries, diseases, or 

operations. 

(b)(2) Form F-2, Medical Examination Report, is a 

form provided to the examining physician to 

record the results of the applicant's medical 

examination. The form consists of information 

about the applicant's biographical information, 

vision, hearing, cardiovascular and circulator 

circulatory health, urinalysis, TB skin test, 

other medical conditions relevant to the 

applicant's physical fitness to perform the 

duties of a justice officer, biographical 

information about the applicant, and the 

medical professional's recommendation and 

concerns as to an applicant's physical fitness to 

perform the duties of a justice officer. 

(c)(3) Form F-3, the (Personal Personal History 

Statement), Statement, is completed by the 

applicant and consists of information regarding 

the applicant's work, residential, military, and 

criminal history, history; financial condition, 

condition; and references. 

(d)(4) Form F-8, the Mandated Background 

Summary, Investigation Form, is completed by 

an agency's background investigator and 

consists of the applicant applicant's for 

certification's biographical data, family data, 

scholastic data, employment data, criminal 

history, interviews and references, and a 

summary of the background investigator's 

findings. 

(e)(5) Form F-4 and F-4T, Report of Appointment, is 

completed by the reporting agency for the 

appointment of justice officers and shall contain 

a checklist indicating the applicant's progress 
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toward completing the requirements for 

certification, certification; the applicant 

applicant's appointment date, position title title, 

and status, status; the applicant's contact 

information, information; and prior 

certification history. The F-4 form is utilized for 

appointments as a deputy sheriff or detention 

officer. The form F-4T is utilized for 

appointments as a telecommunicator. 

(6) Form F-6 and F-6R, Professional 

Certificate/Service Award, consists of 

information regarding the education, training, 

and experience qualifying the applicant for 

various levels of professional recognition under 

the Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards 

Commission's Professional Certificate 

Program. The F-6 form is utilized for full-time 

justice officers and the F-6R form is utilized for 

reserve justice officers. 

(7) Form F-7 and F-7T, Request for Certification, 

is completed by institutions and agencies 

requesting certification to deliver Detention 

Officer and Telecommunicator Courses. The 

form consists of information regarding the 

institution name, institution or agency head, 

school director, and facilities. Form F-7 is used 

when requesting certification to deliver 

Detention Officer courses and Form F-7T is 

used when requesting certification to deliver 

Telecommunicator courses. 

(8) Form F-7A and F-7A-T, Pre-Delivery Report of 

Training Course Presentation, is completed by 

the institution or agency delivering Detention 

Officer and Telecommunicator Training 

Courses and consists of information on the 

course delivery location, school director, class 

schedule, anticipated date of the State 

Comprehensive Exam, and any planned 

instructional hours exceeding the minimum 

requirements. Form F-7A is utilized for 

Detention Officer courses and Form F-7A-T is 

utilized for Telecommunicator courses. 

(9) Form F-7B and F-7B-T, Post-Delivery Report 

of Training Course Presentation, is completed 

by the institution or agency delivering 

Detention Officer and Telecommunicator 

Training Courses and consists of information 

on any substitutions of instructors as originally 

reported on the Pre-Delivery Report, any 

trainees who were not recommended for the 

state exam due to withdrawal or deficiencies, 

and the students who participated in and 

completed the course. Form F-7B is utilized for 

Detention Officer courses and Form F-7B-T is 

utilized for Telecommunicator courses. 

(10) Form F-9 and F-9T, Change in Status, is 

completed by the employing agency and 

consists of any change in status for justice 

officers including full-time or part-time status, 

active or inactive status, changes to identifying 

information, and changes to firearms status. 

Form F-9 is utilized for any change in status for 

justice officers appointed as a deputy sheriff or 

detention officer. Form F-9T is utilized for any 

change in status for a justice officer appointed 

as a telecommunicator. 

(11) Form F-9A, Firearms Qualification Record, is 

completed by the employing agency to record 

the annual In-Service Firearms Training and 

Qualifications for justice officers who are 

authorized by the Sheriff to carry a shotgun, 

rifle, automatic weapon, or handgun. The form 

consists of training and qualification scores 

completed by the officer. 

(12) Form F-16, Criminal Justice Instructor 

Evaluation, is completed by the Certified 

School Director and In-Service Coordinator of 

the school and consists of a rating of 

instructional ability, student participation, and 

presentation of the lesson plan by the Instructor. 

(13) Form F-20, School Resource Officer 

Certification, is completed by an employing 

agency requesting certification of a justice 

officer as a School Resource Officer. The form 

consists of the officer's name, date of birth, 

name of agency and address, date awarded 

general certification, completion date of School 

Resource Officer training, and date assigned as 

a School Resource Officer. 

(14) Form I-2 and I-2-T, Request for Instructor 

Certification, is completed by an applicant for 

certification as an Instructor to deliver 

Detention Officer and Telecommunicator 

courses. The form consists of information about 

the applicant's experience and qualifications. 

Form I-2 is utilized by an applicant for 

certification as an Instructor to deliver 

Detention Officer courses and Form I-2-T is 

utilized by an applicant for certification as an 

Instructor to deliver Telecommunicator 

courses. 

(b)  All forms contained in this Rule may be accessed on the 

agency's website at http://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-

training/sheriffs/all-commission-forms-publications/. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 52 – BOARD OF PODIATRY EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Podiatry Examiners intends to amend the rule cited as 

21 NCAC 52 .0208. 
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Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncbpe.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  September 1, 2023 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 13, 2023 

Time:  6:30 p.m. 

Location:  https://us02web.zoom.us/j/82712924883 Meeting ID: 

827 1292 4883 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed amendment to 21 

NCAC 52 .0208 will enable the Board to take advantage of 

technology to simplify and streamline the documentation and 

record keeping associated with tracking continuing education 

hours for the regulated professions. The proposed amendment 

will also allow for synchronous virtual learning in addition to in 

person learning. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Tracy Steadman, 3739 

National Drive, Suite 102, Raleigh, NC 27612; phone (919) 861-

5583; fax (919) 787-4916; email info@ncbpe.org 

 

Comment period ends:  June 30, 2023 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0200 - EXAMINATION AND LICENSING 

 

21 NCAC 52 .0208 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

(a)  An additional requirement for issuance of the annual renewal 

certificate shall be certification to the Board of proof of 

compliance with the continuing education provisions of the 

General Statutes. The Board shall notify all podiatrists that 25 

hours are required annually, including one hour of controlled 

substances prescribing practices and controlled substance 

prescribing for chronic pain management. 

(b)  General CME policy - 25 hours per year as follows: 

(1) Completion of 25 hours of Continuing Medical 

Education (CME) is required per year (July 1-

June 30) for renewal of licensure. CME credits 

shall not be carried over from the previous 

licensure year. 

(2) It shall be the responsibility of the individual 

podiatrist to ascertain in advance that the 

courses he or she attends have received proper 

approval of the certifying organizations, and 

comply with the Standards, Requirements, and 

Guidelines for Approval of Sponsors of 

Continuing Education in Podiatric Medicine of 

the Council on Podiatric Medical Education 

(http://www.cpme.org/education/content.cfm?I

temNumber=2440&navItemNumber0=2249), 

including updates. The website may be 

accessed at no charge. The Board shall respond 

in writing within 45 days of receipt by the 

Board of all needed documentation with 

approval or denial to individuals requesting 

approval of CME courses and credit hours. 

Decisions by the Board are the final agency 

decision and may be appealed as set out in G.S. 

150B-23. 

(3) Certificates of completion of courses other than 

those sponsored by the NC Foot and Ankle 

Society (NCF&AS) shall be submitted to the 

Board online using a CE Broker account which 

can be established at www.cebroker.com and 

that submission shall be on or before the 

submission of on a form provided by the Board 

with the podiatrist's annual license renewal 

documents. Completion certificates shall be 

typed and contain the following information: 

(A) Podiatrist's name; 

(B) Course name, location, and date; 

(C) Number of hours CME completed; 

(D) Signature of seminar chairperson; and 

(E) Name of certifying or sponsoring 

agency; and 

(F) Confirmation that the Course was 

either held in person or was 

synchronous virtual learning. 

(4) A licensed podiatrist participating in the second 

or third year of a medical residency or 

fellowship may submit a letter signed by the 

podiatric residency or fellowship director 

stating the podiatrist's name and dates of 

residency. This shall substitute for the 25-credit 

hour requirement and CME certificate required 

by this Rule. 

(5) A podiatrist may submit his or her CME 

certificate(s) to the Board in facsimile, 

electronic, or hard copy format at any time 

during the renewal year.  
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(5)(6) The Board shall retain access to the CME 

documentation with the individual podiatrist's 

license renewal information. 

(c)  Category 1: Minimum requirement 20 hours per year, as 

follows: 

(1) CME credit shall be granted for attendance at 

educational seminars offered by the NCF&AS. 

The number of qualifying hours of continuing 

education shall be determined and approved by 

the Board in advance based on the standards in 

90-202.11. NCF&AS shall submit to the Board 

a listing of individuals attending its CME 

events and credits earned. 

(2) CME credit shall be granted for attendance at 

educational seminars offered by other national, 

state, and podiatric education providers, as 

certified by the Council on Podiatric Medical 

Education (CPME) of the American Podiatric 

Medical Association (APMA). The number of 

qualifying hours of continuing education shall 

be determined and approved by the Board. 

(3) Lecturers shall be granted one hour of credit for 

each hour of CPME- or APMA- approved 

lectures given, but such credit shall be limited 

to one hour for each discrete topic. A brief 

summary of the content of each lecture shall be 

submitted to the Board for approval. 

(4) Category 1 is limited to live in person or live 

synchronous virtual educational seminars either 

offered by NCF&AS or by sponsors pre-

approved by CPME: 

http://www.cpme.org (CPME 700: "Approved 

Sponsors of Continuing Education in 

Podiatry"). (APMA or CPME-approved online 

or journal courses are considered Category 2.) 

(5) Since CPME evaluates only CME conducted in 

the United States, North Carolina-licensed 

podiatrists practicing outside the United States 

or participating in a foreign fellowship or other 

short-term residency abroad may apply to the 

Board to have their continuing medical 

education credits from their country of practice 

considered and evaluated by the Board on an 

individual basis. 

(d)  Category 2: A maximum of only 5 of the total 25 CME hours 

per year shall be allowed as follows: 

(1) CME credit shall be allowed for educational 

programs approved for Category 1 credit by the 

American Medical Association (AMA) and the 

American Osteopathic Association (AOA) or 

their affiliated organizations. 

(2) CME credit shall be allowed for courses 

approved by North Carolina Area Health 

Education Centers (AHEC). 

(3) Online or medical journal courses approved by 

CPME are permitted. 

(4) For courses not pre-approved by AHEC, AOA, 

or AMA, all requests for CME approval must 

contain a timeline and course description and be 

submitted to the Board for approval. 

(e)  Waiver for Certified Illness, Medical Condition, Natural 

Disaster, or Undue Hardship. The Board may waive the 

continuing education requirement for license renewal in the 

following cases that preclude a licensed podiatrist from 

completing his or her CME requirement within the 18-month 

timeframe from July 1 of the year of the last license or renewal 

issuance through December 31 of the following year: 

(1) An unexpected illness or medical condition 

certified by a letter from a licensed physician, 

nurse practitioner (NP), or physician assistant 

(PA) regarding the licensee or the licensee's 

parents, spouse, children and other persons 

dependent upon the podiatrist for daily living 

supports; or 

(2) An undue hardship (such as active military 

service or natural disaster). 

In such cases, the Board shall issue a conditional license 

predicated on the licensee acquiring all of the required continuing 

education credits in a mutually-agreeable timeframe, but no later 

than 24 months after December 31 of the year following the latest 

year of license or renewal issuance. Requests for CME waiver 

shall be received by the Board before the end of the grace period 

deadline for license renewal. The Board may require additional 

information when necessary to confirm the need for exemption to 

support the licensee's claim. The Board shall notify the licensee 

of its decision in writing within 45 days of receipt by the Board of 

all needed documentation. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-202.4(g); 90-202.11; S.L. 2015-241, s. 

12F.16(b) and (c). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 66 - VETERINARY MEDICAL BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Veterinary Medical Board intends to amend the rule cited as 21 

NCAC 66 .0206. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncvmb.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  September 1, 2023 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  To request a public 

hearing contact Keith West via email at kwest@ncvmb.org. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Revise continuing education 

requirements to allow live online interactive presentations and 

reduce continuing education hours for veterinarians to 15 hours. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Keith West, 1611 Jones 

Franklin Road Suite 106, Raleigh, NC 27606; email 

kwest@ncvmb.org 

 

Comment period ends:  June 30, 2023 
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Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0200 - PRACTICE OF VETERINARY 

MEDICINE 

 

21 NCAC 66 .0206 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CONTINUING EDUCATION 

Each person holding a veterinary license, limited license, a faculty 

certificate, or a zoo veterinary certificate (collectively referred to 

herein as "veterinarian") or a veterinary technician registration 

issued by the Board shall comply with the standards in this Rule. 

The standards shall be a condition precedent to the renewal of a 

license, certificate, or registration respectively. The standards are 

as follows: 

(1) Continuing education credit hours shall relate to 

veterinary medicine. 

(2)(1) A veterinarian shall earn 20 15 continuing 

education credit hours for the calendar year 

license renewal period. A maximum of five 

hours may be obtained pursuant to courses 

described in Item (3) of this Rule. 

(3)(2) A registered veterinary technician shall earn 12 

continuing education credit hours for the two-

calendar year registration renewal period. A 

maximum of four hours may be obtained 

pursuant to course described in Item (3) of this 

Rule. 

(3) One continuing education hour may be earned 

for each hour of independent self-study courses, 

prerecorded webinars, audio conferences, and 

non-interactive on-line presentations approved 

by approved continuing education credit 

providers. 

(4) One continuing education credit hour may be 

earned for each hour of in-person attendance or 

live interactive attendance at courses presented 

or approved by approved continuing education 

credit providers. 

(5) A live interactive presentation shall: 

(a) include instant or synchronous two-

way communication: 

(b) provide access to both technical 

personnel and professional faculty, as 

well as interactivity among 

participants for the exchange of 

questions and answers via instant 

messaging or a moderated 

teleconference, and 

(c) document the level of participation by 

keeping a record of the participant's 

activity in asking or answering 

questions during the presentation and 

the score of any examination 

administered at the end or the 

presentation. 

(4)(6) A veterinarian or registered veterinary 

technician may request and be granted an 

extension of time, not to exceed six months, to 

satisfy the continuing education requirement if 

the veterinarian or registered veterinary 

technician provides evidence of a debilitating 

injury or illness or circumstance that prevents 

the veterinarian or registered veterinary 

technician from being able to obtain continuing 

education. The Board shall consider any 

evidence submitted of a circumstance 

preventing the veterinarian or registered 

veterinary technician from being able to obtain 

continuing education on a case-by-case basis. If 

the veterinarian or veterinary technician 

submits evidence of failure to complete 

continuing education due to debilitating injury 

or illness or hardship, the Board shall consider 

the evidence submitted on a case-by-case basis. 

If the board finds that the debilitating injury or 

illness or hardship was the basis for non-

compliance with the continuing education 

requirement, the Board shall exempt that 

individual from completing the unearned 

portion of the continuing education for that 

renewal period. 

(7) If the Board finds that the circumstance that was 

the basis for non-compliance with the 

continuing education requirement justified the 

non-compliance, the Board may exempt that 

individual from completing the unearned 

portion of the continuing education for that 

renewal period. 

(5)(8) Continuing education credits hours may be 

earned from courses, programs, or materials 

presented or approved by the following 

providers: 

(a) the American Veterinary Medical 

Association (AVMA); 
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(b) the American Animal Hospital 

Association (AAHA); 

(c) the North Carolina Veterinary Medical 

Association (NCVMA); 

(d) the United Stated Department of 

Agriculture-Animal and Plant Health 

Inspection Service; 

(d)(e) the American Association of 

Veterinary State Boards' (AAVSB) 

Registry of Approved Continuing 

Education (RACE); and 

(e)(f) academies, schools, or colleges of 

veterinary medicine. 

These providers are designated herein as 

"approved continuing education credit 

providers." The Board shall consider additional 

courses, presentations, or materials eligible for 

approval for continuing education credit hours, 

provided that the individual seeking the credit 

furnishes the Board with information to 

establish that the content of the course, 

presentation, or material are of an education 

level reflective of the audience (veterinarians or 

veterinary technicians). sufficiently educational 

for veterinarians or registered veterinary 

technicians. Board approval for continuing 

education credits for such additional courses, 

presentations, or materials shall be obtained 

prior to attendance or participation; however, 

the Board shall waive the requirement of prior 

approval if illness, injury, or natural disaster 

prevented the individual from obtaining the 

prior approval. 

(6) Subject to the limitations in this Rule, 

continuing education credit hours may be 

earned by: 

(a) attendance at in-person courses or 

presentations; 

(b) completion of independent self-study 

courses; 

(c) non-interactive on-line presentations, 

courses, or materials; or 

(d) completion of live interactive on-line 

presentations or courses. 

(7) One continuing education credit hour, up to 

100% of the CE requirement for renewal, may 

be earned for each hour of in-person attendance 

at courses presented or approved by approved 

continuing education credit providers. Up to 

25% of the CE requirement for renewal may be 

obtained from independent self-study courses, 

videos, DVDs, CDs, prerecorded webinars, 

audio conferences, and non-interactive on-line 

presentations approved by approved continuing 

education credit providers. Up to 50% of the CE 

requirement for renewal may be obtained from 

live interactive on-line presentations or courses 

approved by approved continuing education 

credit providers. However, the number of credit 

hours earned from live interactive on-line 

presentations or courses shall be reduced by the 

number of credit hours earned from 

independent self-study courses or materials and 

non-interactive on-line presentations or 

courses. A live interactive on-line presentation 

or course shall: 

(a) include instant or asynchronous two-

way communication; 

(b) provide access to both technical 

personnel and professional faculty, as 

well as interactivity among 

participants for the exchange of 

questions and answers via instant 

messaging or a moderated 

teleconference; and 

(c) document the level of participation by 

keeping a record of the participant's 

activity in asking or answering 

questions during the presentation and 

the score of any examination 

administered at the end or the 

presentation. 

(8)(9) Each veterinarian and registered veterinary 

technician shall keep a record file containing 

for the three most recent renewal periods of the 

content of courses submitted to the Board for 

continuing education credit hours. 

(9)(10) A veterinarian licensed in the year of 

graduation from a veterinary medical college is 

not required to earn continuing education credit 

hours to be eligible for license renewal for the 

next renewal period. 

(10)(11) A veterinary technician registered in the year of 

graduation from a veterinary medical 

technology program is not required to earn 

continuing education credit hours to be eligible 

for registration renewal for the next renewal 

period. 

(11)(12) A veterinarian or veterinary technician serving 

in the armed forces of the United States and to 

whom an extension of time to file a tax return is 

granted pursuant to G.S. 105-249.2 is granted 

the same extension of time to comply with the 

continuing education requirement of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-185(6); 90-186(1); 93B-15. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Veterinary Medical Board intends to adopt the rules cited as 21 

NCAC 66 .0901-.0905 and amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 66 

.0108. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncvmb.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 2, 2023 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

37:21 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 1, 2023 

2050 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  To request a public 

hearing contact Keith West at kwest@ncvmb.org. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Session Law 2019-170. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Keith West, 1611 Jones 

Franklin Road Suite 106, Raleigh, NC 27606; email 

kwest@ncvmb.org 

 

Comment period ends:  June 30, 2023 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0100 - STATUTORY AND ADMINISTRATIVE 

PROVISIONS 

 

21 NCAC 66 .0108 FEES 

The following fees established by the Board shall be paid in 

advance to the Executive Director of the Board: 

(1) Veterinary License 

(a) Issuance or Renewal $170.00 

(b) North Carolina License Examination 

$250.00 

(c) Late Renewal Fee $50.00 

(d) Reinstatement $100.00 

(2) Veterinary Technician Registration 

(a) Issuance or Renewal $50.00 

(b) North Carolina Veterinary Technician 

Examination $50.00 

(c) Late Renewal Fee $50.00 

(d) Reinstatement $100.00 

(3) Professional Corporation Certificate of 

Registration 

(a) Issuance or Renewal $160.00 

(b) Late Renewal Fee $50.00 

(c) Reinstatement $100.00 

(4) Limited Veterinary License 

(a) Issuance or Renewal $170.00 

(b) Late Renewal Fee $50.00 

(c) Reinstatement $100.00 

(5) Veterinary Faculty Certificate 

(a) Issuance or Renewal $170.00 

(b) Late Renewal Fee $50.00 

(c) Reinstatement $100.00 

(6) Zoo Veterinary Certificate 

(a) Issuance or Renewal $170.00 

(b) Late Renewal Fee $50.00 

(c) Reinstatement $100.00 

(7) Temporary Permit: Issuance $150.00 

(8) Veterinary Student Intern Registration: 

Issuance $25.00 

(9) Veterinary Student Preceptee Registration: 

Issuance $25.00 Veterinary Facility Permit 

(a) Issuance or Renewal $150.00 

(b) Late Renewal Fee $50.00 

(c) Reinstatement $100.00 

(10) Veterinary Practice Facility Inspection $125.00 

(11)(10) Copies of Board publications, rosters, or other 

materials available for distribution from the 

Board shall be free or at a minimal cost unless 

otherwise specifically provided by law. As used 

herein, "minimal cost" shall mean the actual 

cost of reproducing the public record or public 

information. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-185(6); 90-186(6); 90-187(b); 90-187.5; 132-

6.2. 

 

SECTION .0900 – VETERINARY FACILITY PERMITS 

 

21 NCAC 66. 0901 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the terms set forth in G.S. 90-181, the following 

definitions apply to this Subchapter: 

(1) "Owner" means the person whose business 

provides services that constitute the practice of 

veterinary medicine as defined by G.S. 90-

181(6). 

(2) "Facility" means any physical location, 

including mobile units, in which the practice of 

veterinary medicine occurs. 

(3) "Veterinary Facility Permit" means a document 

authorizing an owner to operate a facility which 

engages in the practice of veterinary medicine. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-185(6); 90-186(8). 

 

21 NCAC 66 .0902 VETERINARY FACILITY 

PERMITS 

(a)  Any person who owns a business which operates a facility 

providing services that constitute the "practice of veterinary 

medicine" on a full, part-time, or temporary basis shall have a 

veterinary facility permit issued by the Board prior to offering or 

delivering any veterinary medical services to the public. 
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Veterinary or Veterinary Technician teaching programs offering 

services to the public shall have a veterinary facility permit. 

(b)  As a condition of any veterinary facility permit issued by the 

Board, the owner shall designate a supervising veterinarian to 

oversee practice of veterinary medicine. 

(c)  The Board shall issue a veterinary facility permit to an owner 

after the owner submits an application, pays the veterinary facility 

permit fee, and passes a facility inspection. The Board shall 

inspect the veterinary facility pursuant to Rule .0207(b)(16) of this 

Chapter if an inspection has not been performed in the last two 

years. The facility inspection shall be conducted to ensure 

compliance with statutes and the rules of this Chapter, particularly 

Rules .0207 and .0208 of this Chapter. It is the responsibility of 

the owners to ensure that the veterinary facility meets the 

minimum veterinary facility standards in Rules .0207 and .0208 

of this Chapter. 

(d)  The application for a veterinary facility permit shall be on a 

form prescribed by the Board and available on the Board's 

website. The application shall contain: 

(1) the owner's name, physical address, mailing 

address, email address, and telephone number; 

(2) proposed or existing name of the facility, as set 

forth in G.S. 90-181.1, physical address, 

mailing address, email address, and telephone 

number; and 

(3) designation of a supervising veterinarian of the 

facility subject to the provisions of Rules .0903 

of this Section. 

(e)  Each veterinary facility permit shall be renewed yearly. The 

veterinary facility must have passed an inspection pursuant to 

Rule .0207(b)(16) of this Chapter within the 24 months prior to 

renewal. 

(f)  Each veterinary facility that is identified by a separate physical 

address or that is located at the same physical address as another 

veterinary facility but has different owners or supervising 

veterinarians shall be a separate veterinary facility requiring a 

separate veterinary facility permit. 

(g)  The owner shall notify the Board within five business days of 

any changes in contact information. 

(h)  The owner shall notify the Board in writing of a planned 

change in the ownership or in the supervising veterinarian of the 

veterinary facility at least 20 business days prior to the planned 

change. 

(i)  In the event of an owner's inability to maintain the facility's 

compliance with Chapter 90 of the General Statutes and the rules 

of this Chapter, the Board shall be notified within 10 business 

days by one of the following: an owner, the supervising 

veterinarian, or a member of the veterinary facility's staff. 

(j)  In the event of a natural or physical event that results in the 

loss of the safe and effective utilization of the facility, pursuant to 

the rules of this Chapter, particularly Rules .0207 and .0208 of 

this Chapter, the Board shall be notified within 10 business days 

by the owner(s) or the supervising veterinarian. 

(k)  In the event that the Board is notified that the owner to whom 

a facility permit is issued is dissolved voluntarily, 

administratively, or by operation of law, suspended by the NC 

Department of Revenue, or has its certificate of authority revoked 

by the NC Secretary of State, the Board shall also suspend the 

permit issued to the owner. The suspension shall remain in effect 

until the suspension has been lifted by NC Department of 

Revenue, or the person has been reinstated by the NC Secretary 

of State, or both. 

(l)  The Board may issue a temporary veterinary facility permit to 

the owners of a veterinary facility for a period of 35 business days 

to allow the owners to address and resolve violations of the rules 

of this Chapter, particularly, Rules .0207 and .0208 of this 

Chapter, discovered during the veterinary facility inspection. 

However, the Board shall not issue a temporary veterinary facility 

permit if the violations present a danger to the health or safety of 

the public or animals. Upon request of the owner, the Board may 

extend a temporary permit for an additional period of no more 

than 35 business days. In the event of the death of an owner, the 

permit remains valid for 35 business days from the date of the 

death of the owner, so long as the facility continues to have an 

active, supervising veterinarian registered with the Board. 

(m)  The following are exempt from the requirement for a 

veterinary facility permit: 

(1) those exempted by licensure under G.S. 90-

187.10; 

(2) a veterinary facility owned and operated by the 

State of North Carolina, a political subdivision 

thereof, or the federal government, so long as 

the facility does not offer or provide veterinary 

services to the public; or 

(3) a temporary veterinary facility established as a 

result of an emergency declared by the 

Governor of North Carolina. 

(n)  A person operating without a veterinary facility permit is 

subject to the provisions of G.S. 90-187.13. 

(o)  The veterinary facility permit shall be displayed by the owners 

at the facility at a location viewable by the public. Veterinary 

facility permits for mobile facilities shall be available upon 

request. 

(p)  An owner or supervising veterinarian shall provide a copy of 

medical records maintained pursuant to Rule .0207 of this Chapter 

within 10 business days of receipt of a request by a current or 

former patient's owner. The veterinary facility may charge the 

patient's owner the actual cost of reproducing the records as a 

reasonable fee. 

(q)  Owners shall post on the veterinary facility website home 

page, the emergency services available at the veterinary facility 

when the veterinary facility is open and the veterinary facility 

name, address, and telephone number for the provider of after-

hours emergency services. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-185; 90-186(2); 90-186(8); 90-186(9). 

 

21 NCAC 66 .0903 SUPERVISING VETERINARIAN 

(a)  The owners of a veterinary facility shall designate a 

supervising veterinarian who shall be responsible for informing 

the owners as to the instances of non-compliance of Board Rules 

.0207 and .0208 of this Chapter at the veterinary facility. 

(b)  The supervising veterinarian shall be currently licensed by 

and in good standing with the Board. 

(c)  The owners may designate an interim supervising veterinarian 

to serve as the supervising veterinarian for a period not to exceed 

25 business days. 
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(d)  A veterinarian may be a supervising veterinarian at more than 

one veterinary facility. The supervising veterinarian shall be 

physically onsite at each veterinary facility that is open for 159 

hours or less per month, for a minimum of 25 percent of the total 

time a veterinary facility is open. The supervising veterinarian 

shall be physically onsite at each veterinary facility that is open 

for 160 hours or more per month, for a minimum of 40 hours per 

month. Electronic or handwritten documentation stating the dates 

and times that the supervising veterinarian was present at the 

veterinary facility shall be maintained by the supervising 

veterinarian at each individual facility and made available by the 

owner, supervising veterinarian, or the staff at each facility at the 

time of inspection or investigation by the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-185(6); 90-186(9). 

 

21 NCAC 66 .0904 DISCIPLINE VETERINARY 

FACILITY PERMITS 

(a)  The Board shall investigate any complaint or information 

within its jurisdiction. Following an investigation and the owner's 

opportunity to be heard pursuant to the provisions of Sections 

.0600 and .0700 of this Chapter, the Board may: 

(1) revoke or suspend a veterinary facility permit 

issued under this Article; 

(2) discipline the owner of a facility permitted 

under this Article in accordance with the 

disciplinary measures set forth in Sections 

.0600 and .0700 of this Chapter; 

(3) deny a veterinary facility permit required by 

this Article in accordance with the provisions of 

G.S. 90 Article 11 and the rules of this Chapter 

based on violations of Board Rules including 

but not limited to .0207 and .0208 of this 

Chapter. 

References to licensee or registrant in the provisions of Sections 

.0600 and .0700 of this Chapter are treated as references to owner 

and permittee. References to license are treated as references to 

facility permit. 

(b)  The Board may suspend, revoke, or deny issuance of a 

veterinary facility permit, without hearing, if: 

(1) A veterinary facility has not had a supervising 

veterinarian or an interim supervising 

veterinarian serving in that capacity for more 

than five business days. 

(2) Per summary emergency order pursuant to the 

provisions of G.S. 90-186(3). 

(3) The owners of the veterinary facility have failed 

to notify the Board after 10 business days of a 

change in ownership of the facility or change in 

the supervising veterinarian. 

(c)  An owner shall cease to operate a veterinary facility as of the 

date the Board notifies the owner of the revocation of his or her 

veterinary facility permit. Within 24 hours of receiving 

notification of revocation, an owner shall display the following 

information at the facility and through any existing medium of 

communication with the public, such as social media, a telephone 

answering system, or facility website: 

(1) information that the veterinary facility is 

closed; 

(2) the means by which clients may obtain their 

animal's medical records; and 

(3) notice of the Board's revocation of the facility 

permit. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-185(6); 90-186(8); 90-186(9). 

 

21 NCAC 66 .0905 REINSTATEMENT AFTER 

REVOCATION OF FACILITY PERMIT 

Any person whose facility permit been suspended or revoked 

pursuant to the provisions of Rule .0904 of this Section may apply 

for reinstatement subject to any terms and conditions contained in 

the final agency decision issued by the Board upon revoking or 

suspending the person's facility permit. The Board may conduct 

an inspection prior to reinstatement to determine if the terms and 

conditions stated in the final agency decision have been 

addressed. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-185(6); 90-186(8); 90-186(9). 

 

 

TITLE 26 – OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Office of Administrative Hearings intends to amend the rule cited 

as 26 NCAC 03 .0401. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

oah.nc.gov 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  September 1, 2023 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Contact Ashley 

Snyder via email at ashley.snyder@oah.nc.gov or via mail at 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, NC 27609. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  OAH separately proposed an 

amendment to 26 NCAC 03 .0106, requiring agencies to file 

copies of settlement agreements with OAH.  This amendment 

clarifies that requirement will not apply to contested Medicaid 

cases commenced by Medicaid applicants or recipients. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Ashley Snyder, 1711 New 

Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Comment period ends:  June 30, 2023 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
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The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 03 - HEARINGS DIVISION 

 

SECTION .0400 – SIMPLIFIED PROCEDURES FOR 

MEDICAID APPLICANT AND RECIPIENT APPEALS 

 

26 NCAC 03 .0401 MEDICAID HEARING 

PROCEDURES RULES 

(a)  The rules in 26 NCAC 03 .0100 apply to contested Medicaid 

cases commenced by Medicaid applicants or recipients under S.L. 

2008-107, s. 10.15A.(h1) as rewritten by S.L. 2008-118, s. 3.13 

except: 

(1) 26 NCAC 03 .0101(b); 

(2) 26 NCAC 03 .0102(a)(3), (b) – (e); 

(3) 26 NCAC 03 .0103(a); 

(4) 26 NCAC 03 .0104; 

(5) 26 NCAC 03 .0106(b); 

(5)(6) 26 NCAC 03 .0107; 

(6)(7) 26 NCAC 03 .0108; 

(7)(8) 26 NCAC 03 .0112(b), (c), (e), (f), (g); 

(8)(9) 26 NCAC 03 .0115; 

(9)(10) 26 NCAC 03 .0117; 

(10)(11) 26 NCAC 03 .0118; 

(11)(12) 26 NCAC 03 .0120(e); 

(12)(13) 26 NCAC 03 .0123; 

(13)(14) 26 NCAC 03 .0125; and 

(14)(15) 26 NCAC 03 .0127(a). 

(b)  Nothing in this Section Rule affects discretionary powers 

granted to an administrative law judge as set out in G.S. 150B-

33(b). 

 

Authority G.S. 7A-751(a); S.L. 2008-107, s. 10.15A.(h1) as 

rewritten by S.L. 2008-118, s. 3.13. 

 

 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

37:21 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 1, 2023 

2054 

This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 
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TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 41C .1001 DEFINITIONS 

For the purposes of this Section, the following definitions shall 

apply: 

(1) "Department" means the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(2) "Licensed child care facility" means a child care 

facility as defined at G.S. 110-86(3). 

(3) "Public school" means a public school unit as 

defined at G.S. 115C-5(7a). 

(4) "Program" means the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services, 

Division of Public Health, Environmental 

Health Section. 

(5) "Responsible individual" means the 

superintendent of a public school operated by a 

local school administrative unit, as defined in 

G.S. 115C-5(6), or the superintendent's 

designee(s); the governing body of any charter 

school or school operated under Article 7A or 

Article 9C of G.S. 115C or that body's 

designee(s); or the operator of a licensed child 

care facility or the operator's designee(s), as 

applicable. 

 

History Note: Authority S.L. 2021-180, s. 9G.8; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 29, 2022; 

Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 41C .1002 FUNDING 

(a)  Public schools and licensed child care facilities in North 

Carolina shall be eligible to participate in the funding mechanisms 

established in accordance with S.L. 2021-180, s. 9G.8. to fully or 

partially offset the cost of conducting testing for lead in water and 

inspections for asbestos and lead-based paint hazards, when a test 

for lead in water is conducted by May 1, 2024 or an inspection for 

lead-based paint or asbestos is conducted by May 1, 2024 and the 

test or inspection is conducted in accordance with the rules of this 

Section. 

(b)  Public schools and licensed child care facilities that are 

eligible to participate under Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall also 

be eligible to participate in the funding mechanisms established in 

accordance with S.L. 2021-180, s. 9G.8. to fully or partially offset 

the cost of conducting remediation of lead in water and abatement 

of asbestos and lead-based paint hazards identified under this 

Section when the following requirements are met: 

(1) lead or asbestos is detected that meets the 

requirements under the rules of this Section for 

abatement or remediation; 

(2) the abatement or remediation, as applicable, is 

performed in accordance with the rules of this 

Section; and 

(3) replacement materials used to abate asbestos 

hazards do not contain more than 1 percent 

asbestos and replacement materials used to 

abate lead-based paint hazards do not contain 

lead in excess of 90 parts per million as 

confirmed by a safety data sheet, letter from the 

manufacturer, or laboratory test results. 

(c)  Notwithstanding Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule, licensed 

child care centers conducting testing and remediation of water 

outlets used for drinking or food preparation pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 18A .2816 shall be eligible to participate in the funding 

mechanisms established in accordance with S.L. 2021-180, s. 

9G.8. for testing conducted in accordance with that Rule by May 

1, 2024 and remediation conducted in accordance with that Rule 

between May 1, 2020 and the date on which funds are no longer 

available in accordance with S.L. 2021-180, s. 9G.8.(d). 
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(d)  Notwithstanding Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule, if 

asbestos or lead-based paint is detected during a capital, 

renovation, or repair project in a public school or licensed child 

care facility, the public school or licensed child care facility shall 

be eligible to participate in the funding mechanisms established in 

accordance with S.L. 2021-180, s. 9G.8. as follows: 

(1) to fully or partially offset the cost of conducting 

an inspection in accordance with Rules 

.1003(b) or .1004(b) of this Section, as 

applicable, except that the inspection may be 

limited to the area in the public school or 

licensed child care facility where the capital, 

renovation, or repair project is being conducted; 

and 

(2) to fully or partially offset the cost of conducting 

abatement when lead-based paint or asbestos is 

detected that meets the requirements under the 

Rules of this Section for abatement and 

abatement is conducted in accordance with 

Rules .1003(e) and .1004(e) of this Section and 

with the limitation on materials set out in 

Subparagraph (b)(3) of this Rule, except that 

the abatement may be limited to the area in the 

public school or licensed child care facility 

where the capital, renovation, or repair project 

is being conducted. 

(e)  Inspections and abatements described in Paragraph (d) of this 

Rule that are limited to the area in the public school or licensed 

child care facility where the capital, renovation, or repair project 

is being conducted shall not satisfy the facility-wide inspection 

requirements for public schools and licensed child care facilities 

set out in Rules .1003 and .1004 of this Section. 

(f)  Notwithstanding the foregoing, to be eligible to participate in 

any funding mechanism under this Rule, responsible individuals 

shall make all records regarding testing, inspection, abatement, 

and remediation available to the Department upon request, 

including, but not limited to, itemized expense reports for 

activities funded under S.L. 2021-180, s. 9G.8. 

(g)  Nothing in this Rule shall require the Department to provide 

funding if the Department determines there are not sufficient 

funds available in accordance with S.L. 2021-180, s. 9G.8.(d). 

 

History Note: Authority S.L. 2021-180, s. 9G.8; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 29, 2022; 

Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 41C .1003 ASBESTOS INSPECTIONS AND 

ABATEMENT IN NORTH CAROLINA PUBLIC 

SCHOOLS AND LICENSED CHILD CARE FACILITIES 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, the following definitions shall 

apply: 

(1) "Abatement" means as defined at G.S. 130A-

444(4), and also includes renovation activities 

that are carried out to repair, maintain, remove, 

isolate, enclose, replace, or encapsulate 

asbestos containing material. Abatement shall 

not be considered complete until a final 

clearance inspection of the public school or 

licensed child care facility is performed by an 

air monitor in accordance with 40 C.F.R. 

763.90(i). 

(2) "Air monitor" means as defined at G.S. 130A-

447 and 10A NCAC 41C .0601(a)(3).  

(3) "Asbestos" means as defined at G.S. 130A-

444(2). 

(4) "Asbestos containing material" means as 

defined at G.S. 130A-444(3). 

(5) "Asbestos hazard" means a condition that 

results in exposure to asbestos in excess of the 

standards set forth in 10A NCAC 41C .0607(a) 

or to a category of asbestos containing material 

defined at 40 C.F.R. 763.88(b)(1)-(4). 

(6) "Inspection" in a licensed child care facility 

means an examination of the facility for the 

presence of asbestos hazards that is conducted 

by an inspector in accordance with the rules of 

Section .0600 of this Subchapter. "Inspection" 

in a public school means a reinspection 

conducted in alignment with G.S. 130A-445, 

10A NCAC 41C .0604, and 40 

C.F.R.763.85(b). 

(7) "Inspector" means as defined at G.S. 130A-447 

and 10A NCAC 41C .0601(a)(7). 

(8) "Management Planner" means as defined at 

G.S. 130A-447 and 10A NCAC 41C 

.0601(a)(9). 

(b)  Each responsible individual shall ensure that an inspection is 

conducted for asbestos hazards in each public school or licensed 

child care facility for which he or she is responsible by May 1, 

2024. Inspections for asbestos hazards shall be performed by an 

inspector and documented in an inspection report in accordance 

with 40 C.F.R. 763, Subpart E. A management planner shall 

review the inspection report to determine whether an asbestos 

hazard has been detected and shall document his or her findings 

in an asbestos management plan in accordance with Rule 10A 

NCAC 41C .0604. 

(c)  If the management planner determines that an asbestos hazard 

has been detected, then the responsible individual shall restrict 

access to the identified asbestos hazard until it is abated in 

accordance with this Rule. 

(d)  A determination by a management planner that an asbestos 

hazard is present in a public school or licensed child care facility 

that is documented in an asbestos management plan in accordance 

with Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall satisfy the requirement of 

Rule .1002(b)(1) or (d)(2) of this Section, as applicable, that 

asbestos is detected that meets the requirements for abatement. 

(e)  Abatement shall be performed by one or more professionals 

who are accredited in accordance with 10A NCAC 41C .0602 and 

shall be performed in accordance with Rules .0605-.0607 of this 

Subchapter. 

(f)  The information listed in this Paragraph shall be submitted to 

the Program by email to ARPA-Reimbursement@dhhs.nc.gov: 

(1) Within 45 calendar days following the date on 

which an inspection is completed pursuant to 

this Rule, the management planner shall report 

the following on a form provided by the 

Department: 
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(A) the name, address, email address, and 

phone number of the responsible 

individual; 

(B) the name, address, email address, 

phone number, and accreditation 

number of the management planner; 

(C) the name and address, including 

county, of the individual school and 

the public school unit or the licensed 

child care facility; 

(D) whether the facility for which the 

responsible individual is submitting 

the information is a public school or a 

licensed child care facility; 

(E) whether the inspection identified the 

presence of an asbestos hazard; 

(F) a description of any identified asbestos 

hazard; and 

(G) the results of any laboratory testing 

conducted during the inspection. 

(2) If the public school or licensed child care 

facility plans to use a previous inspection or 

documentation under Paragraph (h) of this 

Rule, then the responsible individual shall 

submit a copy of the inspection report, 

reinspection report, or management plan 

associated with the previous inspection or the 

documentation by May 1, 2024 in lieu of 

meeting the requirements in Subparagraph 

(f)(1) of this Rule. 

(3) At least 10 calendar days before abatement 

conducted pursuant to this Rule begins, the 

responsible individual shall report the 

following on a form provided by the 

Department: 

(A) the name, address, email address, and 

phone number of the responsible 

individual; 

(B) the name and address, including 

county, of the individual school and 

the public school unit or the licensed 

child care facility, as applicable; 

(C) the names and accreditation numbers 

of the professionals who will conduct 

the abatement and the email address 

and phone number of the on-site 

asbestos supervisor who will oversee 

the abatement; 

(D) whether the facility for which the 

responsible individual is submitting 

the report is a public school or a 

licensed child care facility;  

(E) the dates on which the abatement is 

scheduled to occur; and 

(F) a description of the planned abatement 

that contains information on the type 

of materials to be abated, the location 

of the abatement, the quantity of 

material to be abated, and the method 

of abatement. 

(4) Within 45 calendar days following the date on 

which an abatement completed pursuant to this 

Rule, the responsible individual shall report the 

following: 

(A) the name, address, email address, and 

phone number of the responsible 

individual; 

(B) the name and address, including 

county, of the individual school and 

the public school unit or the licensed 

child care facility; 

(C) whether the facility for which the 

responsible individual is submitting 

the report is a public school or a 

licensed child care facility; 

(D) the date on which the abatement was 

completed; and 

(E) a report of the results of the final 

clearance inspection. 

(g)  In accordance with 10A NCAC 09 .0601 and 10A NCAC 09 

.1719, as applicable, licensed child care facilities shall inspect for 

asbestos hazards in accordance with this Rule to ensure these 

facilities are safe and free from hazards that may injure children. 

The failure of a responsible individual in licensed child care 

facility to inspect for asbestos hazards or to restrict access to or 

abate identified asbestos hazards in accordance with this Rule 

shall be considered a violation of 10A NCAC 09 .0601 and 10A 

NCAC 09 .1719, as applicable. 

(h)  The requirements of Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be 

considered met if: 

(1) the public school or licensed child care facility 

previously completed an inspection of its 

buildings that meets the requirements of 40 

C.F.R. 763, Subpart E, provided that building 

material that was sampled during a previous 

inspection and reported as trace asbestos or less 

than 10 percent asbestos content shall be 

reinspected in accordance with the process 

established in Paragraphs (b) - (f) of this Rule; 

(2) the public school or licensed child care facility 

produces documentation in accordance with 40 

C.F.R. 763.99(a)(7); or 

(3) the licensed child care facility produces a 

property tax record that shows the building 

occupied by the licensed child care facility was 

built after October 12, 1988. 

 

History Note: Authority S.L. 2021-180, s. 9G.8; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 29, 2022; 

Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 41C .1004 LEAD-BASED PAINT 

INSPECTIONS AND ABATEMENT IN NORTH 

CAROLINA PUBLIC SCHOOLS AND LICENSED CHILD 

CARE FACILITIES 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, the following definitions shall 

apply: 
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(1) "Abatement" means as defined at 40 C.F.R. 

745.223, and also includes "interim controls" as 

defined at 40 C.F.R. 745.83. Abatement shall 

not be considered complete until a final 

clearance inspection of the public school or 

licensed child care facility is performed by a 

certified risk assessor in accordance with the 

standards set forth at 40 C.F.R. 745.227. 

(2) "Certified Project Designer" means an 

individual who meets the requirements for a 

project designer as set forth in G.S. 130A-

453.03 and Rule .0802 of this Subchapter. 

(3) "Certified Supervisor" means an individual 

who meets the requirements for a supervisor as 

set forth in G.S. 130A-453.03 and Rule .0802 

of this Subchapter. 

(4) "Certified Risk Assessor" means an individual 

who meets the requirements for a risk assessor 

as set forth in G.S. 130A-453.03 and Rule .1006 

of this Section. 

(5) "Inspection" means a risk assessment 

conducted in accordance with 40 C.F.R. 

745.223. 

(6) "Inspection report" means a summary prepared 

in accordance with Rule .0807(b) of this 

Subchapter. 

(7) "Lead-based paint hazard" means as defined at 

G.S. 130A-131.7(6). 

(8) "Lead poisoning hazard" means as defined at 

G.S. 130A-131.7(7). 

(9) "Occupant protection plan" means as defined at 

Rule .0801(a)(6) of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Each responsible individual shall ensure that an inspection is 

conducted for lead-based paint hazards in each public school or 

licensed child care facility for which he or she is responsible by 

May 1, 2024. Inspections for lead-based paint hazards shall be 

performed by a certified risk assessor and documented in an 

inspection report. The certified risk assessor shall determine 

whether a lead-based paint hazard is present in the public school 

or licensed child care facility based on the inspection, and 

document the determination in the inspection report. If the 

certified risk assessor determines that a lead-based paint hazard 

exists, then an occupant protection plan shall be written by a 

certified supervisor or certified project designer in accordance 

with 40 C.F.R. 745.227(e)(5) and Rule .0801(a)(6) of this 

Subchapter. 

(c)  If the certified risk assessor detects a lead-based paint hazard, 

then the responsible individual shall restrict access to the 

identified lead-based paint hazard until abated in accordance with 

this Rule. 

(d)  A determination by a certified risk assessor that a lead-based 

paint hazard is present in the public school or licensed child care 

facility that is documented in the inspection report in accordance 

with Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall satisfy the requirement of 

Rule .1002(b)(1) or (d)(2) of this Section, as applicable, that lead 

is detected that meets the requirements for abatement. 

(e)  Abatement shall be performed by one or more professionals 

who are certified in accordance with G.S. 130A-453.03 and Rules 

.0802 or .0902 of this Subchapter and shall be performed in 

accordance with Rules .0807-.0809 and .0906 of this Subchapter, 

as applicable. 

(f)  The information listed in this Paragraph shall be submitted to 

the Program by email to ARPA-Reimbursement@dhhs.nc.gov: 

(1) Within 45 calendar days following the date on 

which an inspection is completed pursuant to 

the Rule, the certified risk assessor shall report 

the following on a form provided by the 

Department: 

(A) the name, address, email address, and 

phone number of the responsible 

individual; 

(B) the name, address, email address, 

phone number, and certification 

number of the certified risk assessor; 

(C) the name and address, including 

county, of the individual school and 

the public school unit or the licensed 

child care facility; 

(D) whether the facility for which the 

responsible individual is submitting 

the report is a public school or a 

licensed child care facility; 

(E) whether the inspection identified the 

presence of a lead-based paint hazard; 

(F) a description of any identified lead-

based paint hazard; and 

(G) the results of any laboratory testing 

conducted during the inspection. 

(2) If the public school or licensed child care 

facility plans to use a previous inspection or a 

signed attestation under Paragraph (h) of this 

Rule, then the responsible individual shall 

submit a copy of the inspection report 

associated with the previous inspection or the 

signed attestation by May 1, 2024 in lieu of 

meeting the requirements in Subparagraph 

(f)(1) of this Rule. 

(3) At least 10 calendar days before abatement 

conducted pursuant to this Rule begins, the 

responsible individual shall report the 

following on a form provided by the 

Department: 

(A) the name, address, email address, and 

phone number of the responsible 

individual; 

(B) the name and address, including 

county, of the individual school and 

the public school unit or the licensed 

child care facility, as applicable; 

(C) the names and certification numbers of 

the professionals who will conduct the 

abatement and the email address and 

phone number of the on-site lead 

supervisor who will oversee the 

abatement; 

(D) whether the facility for which the 

responsible individual is submitting 
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the report is a public school or a 

licensed child care facility;  

(E) the dates on which the abatement is 

scheduled to occur; and 

(F) a description of the planned abatement 

that contains information on the type 

of materials to be abated, the location 

of the abatement, the quantity to be 

abated, and the method of abatement. 

(4) Within 45 calendar days following the date on 

which abatement is completed pursuant to this 

Rule, the responsible individual shall report the 

following: 

(A) the name, address, email address, and 

phone number of the responsible 

individual; 

(B) the name and address, including 

county, of the individual school and 

the public school unit or the licensed 

child care facility; 

(C) whether the facility for which the 

responsible individual is submitting 

the report is a public school or a 

licensed child care facility; 

(D) the date on which the abatement was 

completed; and 

(E) a report of the results of the final 

clearance inspection. 

(g)  In accordance with 15A NCAC 18A .2816(a), 10A NCAC 09 

.0601(f), and 10A NCAC 09 .1707(2), as applicable, licensed 

child care facilities shall inspect for lead-based paint hazards in 

accordance with this Rule to ensure these facilities are free from 

lead poisoning hazards. The failure of a responsible individual in 

licensed child care facility to inspect for lead-based paint hazards 

or to restrict access to or abate identified lead-based paint hazards 

in accordance with this Rule shall be considered a violation of 

15A NCAC 18A .2816(a), 10A NCAC 09 .0601(f), or 10A NCAC 

09 .1707(2), as applicable. 

(h)  The requirements of Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be 

considered met if: 

(1) the public school or licensed child care facility 

has previously completed a risk assessment of 

its buildings that meets the requirements of 40 

C.F.R. 745.223; or 

(2) the responsible individual of a public school or 

licensed child care facility located in a building 

that was built after February 28, 1978 signs a 

statement attesting that no lead-based paint was 

used in the building. 

 

History Note: Authority S.L. 2021-180, s. 9G.8; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 29, 2022; 

Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 41C .1005 LEAD POISONING HAZARDS IN 

DRINKING WATER IN NORTH CAROLINA PUBLIC 

SCHOOLS 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, the following definitions shall 

apply: 

(1) "Lead poisoning hazard" means as defined at 

G.S. 130A-131.7(7)g.  

(2) "Testing" means the process described in 

Subparagraphs (b)(1)-(4) of this Rule. 

(3) "Remediation" means as defined at G.S. 130A-

131.7(15). 

(b)  The following actions shall be taken to ensure that drinking 

water in public schools are free of identified lead poisoning 

hazards: 

(1) Responsible individuals at public schools shall 

complete a one-time test of all water outlets 

used for drinking or food preparation. The 

responsible individual shall provide 

documentation of testing results for review by 

the Department during routine sanitation 

inspections under Rule 15A NCAC 18A 

.2402(a). 

(2) Initial water samples shall be collected by the 

responsible individual and tested in accordance 

with Subparagraph (b)(3) of this Rule by May 

1, 2024. 

(3) The responsible individual shall collect samples 

and submit them for testing in accordance with 

guidance specified by the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency in its 

publication, 3Ts for Reducing Lead in Drinking 

Water in Schools and Child Care Facilities, 

which is hereby incorporated by reference, 

including any subsequent editions or 

amendments, and available free of charge at: 

https://www.epa.gov/ground-water-and-

drinking-water/3ts-reducing-lead-drinking-

water. Notwithstanding the foregoing guidance, 

samples may be collected with a stagnation 

period of up to 72 hours. Samples shall be 

analyzed by a laboratory certified by the North 

Carolina State Laboratory of Public Health to 

analyze for lead in drinking water. 

(4) When a water sample is analyzed for lead 

content by a laboratory under this Rule, the 

laboratory shall notify the Department of the 

test results by electronic submission of the 

elements set out in G.S. 130A-131.8. 

(5) When a public school receives test results from 

a laboratory indicating that a water sample 

collected by the responsible individual contains 

a lead concentration at or above the lead 

poisoning hazard level, the responsible 

individual shall: 

(A) restrict access to any water outlet(s) 

used for drinking or food preparation 

that have lead concentrations at or 

above the lead poisoning hazard level; 

(B) ensure that all students and staff have 

access to water free of cost that does 

not contain lead concentrations at or 

above the lead poisoning hazard level 

for drinking and food preparation; and 
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(C) continue to follow Parts (b)(5)(A) - 

(B) of this Rule until the Department 

determines in accordance with 

Subparagraph (b)(10) of this Rule that 

the water outlet(s) are not producing 

water lead levels at or above the lead 

poisoning hazard level and notifies the 

responsible individual and the 

Department of Public Instruction in 

writing of this determination. 

(6) If a water sample collected by the responsible 

individual reveals a water lead level at or above 

the lead poisoning hazard level then the 

requirement of Rule .1002(b)(1) of this Section 

shall be considered met. 

(7) Within five business days of receiving the test 

results of a water analysis that shows a water 

lead level at or above the lead poisoning hazard 

level, the responsible individual shall provide 

written notification of the test results to the 

parents or legal guardians of the children 

attending the public school and the staff of the 

public school in accordance with the United 

States Environmental Protection Agency 

guidance specified in Subparagraph (b)(3) of 

this Rule. 

(8) Within five business days of receiving the test 

results of a water analysis that shows a water 

lead level at or above the lead poisoning hazard 

level, the public school shall make the test 

results available to the public, free of charge. 

The responsible individual may post test results 

to the public school's website to satisfy the 

requirement to make the test results available to 

the public. 

(9) Remediation of water outlet(s) producing water 

lead levels at or above the lead poisoning 

hazard level shall ensure that water produced is 

below the lead poisoning hazard level and may 

include replacement of service lines, pipes, and 

fixtures and the installation of filters at affected 

faucets. Within 30 business days from the date 

on which remediation is conducted under this 

Rule, the responsible individual shall submit 

the following information to the Program: 

(A) the name and contact information of 

the responsible individual; 

(B) the name and address, including 

county, of the public school; 

(C) the steps taken to remediate the lead 

poisoning hazard; and 

(D) the date on which the remediation was 

completed. 

(10) Remediation shall not be considered complete 

until the Department conducts sampling at the 

water outlet identified to have a water lead level 

at or above the lead poisoning hazard level to 

confirm that the remediated water outlet is no 

longer producing water lead levels at or above 

the lead poisoning hazard level. 

 

History Note: Authority S.L. 2021-180, s. 9G.8; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 29, 2022; 

Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 41C .1006 CERTIFIED RISK ASSESSORS 

(a)  For the purposes of this Section, a certified risk assessor is 

defined as an individual who meets the requirements of Rule 

.0802 of this Subchapter, except that the individual shall be 

required to complete an accredited refresher course for risk 

assessors every 36 months from the date of completion of initial 

training or last training instead of every 24 months as set forth in 

10A NCAC 41C .0802(b). 

(b)  A certified risk assessor who is certified under Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule shall be considered a certified risk assessor solely for 

the purposes of conducting inspections and determinations about 

the existence of lead-based paint hazards in public schools and 

licensed child care facilities under Rule .1004 of this Section. 

 

History Note: G.S. 130A-453.03; 130A-453.05; S.L. 2021-

180, s. 9G.8; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 29, 2022; 

Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 41C. 1007 INCORPORATION BY 

REFERENCE 

For the purposes of this Section, 40 C.F.R. 763, Subpart E and 40 

C.F.R. 745, Subparts L and E are hereby incorporated by 

reference, including any subsequent amendments or editions, and 

available free of charge at www.ecfr.gov/. 

 

History Note: Authority S.L. 2021-180, s. 9G.8; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 29, 2022; 

Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

14B NCAC 03 .0401 PURPOSE 

(a)  The purpose of this section is to prescribe requirements 

pertaining to the North Carolina Department of Public Safety's 

Division of Emergency Management administered North 

Carolina Search and Rescue System. 

(b)  This Section applies to all persons or entities of the North 

Carolina Search and Rescue Program made parties pursuant to 

G.S. 166A-66(a)(9). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 166A-66; 

Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

14B NCAC 03 .0402 ABBREVIATIONS AND 

DEFINITIONS 

As used in this Section the following abbreviations and terms 

mean: 

(1) "Activation" means the status of a system 

resource placed at the direction, control, and 
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funding of NCEM as part of the NC SAR 

System. 

(2) "All-hazards Disaster Response Model" means 

a response methodology where system 

resources provide all applicable capability to 

respond to any threat or hazard that is impacting 

the State or is forecasted to impact the State as 

determined by the NCEM Director. 

(3) "Authority Having Jurisdiction" (AHJ) means 

those local, state, or federal entities having a 

duty to act over a specific aspect of search and 

rescue in a specific geographic area. 

(4) "Contract Response Team" means a regional 

all-hazards disaster response team as defined in 

G.S. 166A-65 capable of conducting urban 

search and rescue, swiftwater rescue, and wide 

area search operations with self-sustaining 

logistical support allowing for responses into 

disaster areas. 

(5) "County to County Mutual Aid" means public 

safety resource sharing between local 

governments under the conditions of the NC 

Statewide Mutual Aid Agreement or another 

similar agreement between local governments. 

(6) "Federal Emergency Management Agency" 

(FEMA) means an agency of the United States 

Department of Homeland Security with the 

responsibility to coordinate the federal response 

to Presidentially-declared disasters that has 

occurred in the United States.  

(7) "FEMA Public Assistance Program" means a 

federal reimbursement grant program that 

provides federal funding to help communities 

respond to and recover from disasters. 

(8) "Functionally equivalent" means an item or 

group of items that can be used in the same 

basic manner as another item or items to 

perform a task to the same standard. 

(9) "Local Emergency Management Coordinator" 

(LEMC) means the County Emergency 

Management Coordinator as defined in G.S. 

166A-19.15 who is responsible for all local 

disaster preparedness, response, and recovery 

activities in a specific county. 

(10) "NC All-Hazards Incident Management Team" 

(NCAHIMT) mean the North Carolina Division 

of Emergency Management's program 

responsible for supporting local and state 

incident management during disaster response 

activities. 

(11) "North Carolina Search and Rescue System" 

(NC SAR System) means the NC Search and 

Rescue Program established in Article 6 of 

Chapter 166A of the North Carolina General 

Statutes. The NC SAR System includes five 

individual programs: Urban Search and Rescue, 

Swiftwater Rescue, Helicopter Rescue, 

Mountain Rescue, and Wilderness Search and 

Rescue. 

(12) "North Carolina Search and Rescue Team 

Advisory Committee" (NC SAR TAC) means 

an advisory committee established in Article 6 

of Chapter 166A of the North Carolina General 

Statutes to advise the Secretary of the North 

Carolina Department of Public Safety on the 

establishment of the North Carolina Search and 

Rescue System. 

(13) "North Carolina Division of Emergency 

Management" (NCEM) means a division of the 

North Carolina Department of Public Safety 

established in G.S. 143B-1000 with the 

responsibility to coordinate the mitigation, 

planning, preparedness, response, and recovery 

to a disaster or emergency that has or could is 

forecasted to occur in the State as determined 

by the NCEM Director. 

(14) "North Carolina Emergency Management 

Operations Chief" (NCEM OSC) means the 

Assistant Director of Operations for the North 

Carolina Division of Emergency Management. 

(15) "North Carolina Emergency Management 

Director" (NCEM Director) means the Director 

of the North Carolina Division of Emergency 

Management. 

(16) "National Incident Management System" 

(NIMS) means a federal policy that provides a 

systematic, proactive approach guiding 

government agencies at all levels, 

nongovernmental organizations, and the private 

sector to work to prevent, protect against, 

respond to, recover from, and mitigate the 

effects of incidents, regardless of cause, size, 

location, or complexity, to reduce the loss of 

life or property and harm to the environment. 

(17) "On-duty" means when a person is acting as an 

agent of their Sponsoring or Participating 

Agency or of the NC Division of Emergency 

Management as part of the NC Search and 

Rescue System. 

(18) "Participating Agency" means an entity that 

assists a Sponsoring Agency with the formation 

of a search and rescue team by providing 

personnel or equipment. 

(19) "Program costs" means training, equipment, 

personnel, or administrative expenses incurred 

by a Sponsoring or Participating Agency during 

activities of the NC SAR System. 

(20) "Resource typing" means a document defining 

and categorizing, by capability, the system 

resources requested, deployed, and used in 

incidents. 

(21) "Responsible Party" means the entity whose 

actions or inactions caused an event as 

determined by the authority having jurisdiction 

requiring system resources to respond and incur 

costs. 

(22) "Sensitive information" means any 

information, to include audio recordings, 
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images, and video recordings, obtained during 

an activation that has not been released to the 

public by the AHJ. 

(23) "Specialty Rescue Team" means a group of 

response personnel who provide technical 

search and rescue capability as part of the North 

Carolina Search and Rescue System that is not 

a contract response team as defined in G.S. 

166A-65. 

(24) "Sponsoring Agency" means a local or tribal 

unit of government or a corporation with an 

active response agreement with a local unit of 

government that organizes and coordinates a 

search and rescue team in the North Carolina 

Search and Rescue System. This entity serves 

as the lead agency for teams comprised of 

multiple agencies. 

(25) "State Emergency Operations Plan" (SEOP) 

means a document maintained under the 

authority of G.S. 166A-19.12(2) that details 

how the State of North Carolina will respond to 

a disaster or emergency requiring State 

assistance utilizing an All-Hazards Disaster 

Response Model. 

(26) "State Mission Assignment" (State Mission) 

means a NCEM approved request for assistance 

to deploy system resources at the request of a 

local unit of government. 

(27) "System agreements" means contracts, 

memoranda of agreements, or memoranda of 

understanding between NCEM and Contract 

Response Teams for the purposes of 

establishing and maintaining the NC SAR 

System. 

(28) "System personnel" means human resources 

from a Contract Response or Specialty Rescue 

Team or human resources employed by the 

Division of Emergency Management with a 

responsibility for search and rescue response. 

(29) "System resource" means personnel or 

equipment from a or specialty rescue team that 

is participating in the NC Search and Rescue 

System with the North Carolina Division of 

Emergency Management for search and rescue 

response. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 166A-65; 166A-66; 166A-67; 

166A-69; 

Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

14B NCAC 03 .0403 DISPATCH OF A CONTRACT 

RESPONSE TEAM TO A SEARCH AND RESCUE TEAM 

OR SPECIALTY RESCUE TEAM MISSION 

(a)  North Carolina Search and Rescue System's (NC SAR 

System) system resources shall employ the All-Hazards Disaster 

Response Model.  

(b)  The North Carolina Division of Emergency Management 

(NCEM) shall maintain direction and control of any deployed 

system resources that have been deployed through action of 

NCEM until a time that they have been demobilized or the system 

resource is needed by the Sponsoring Agency. 

(c)  Any resource of the NC SAR System remains a local resource 

when not deployed by NCEM and may deploy under their local 

authorities or agreements notwithstanding any action by the State. 

Participation in the NC SAR System shall not limit or supersede 

their local authorities, responsibilities, or agreements when the 

system resource is deploying under those authorities or 

agreements. 

(d) The County Local Emergency Management Coordinator 

(LEMC) shall have the authority to request system resources. 

Local law enforcement agencies, fire departments, rescue squads, 

and any other local AHJ shall route requests for activation of NC 

SAR System resources to their LEMC who will make the request 

for support to NCEM. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 166A-66; 

Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

14B NCAC 03 .0404 ON-SITE OPERATIONS OF 

SYSTEM RESOURCES 

All search and rescue system resources shall operate in 

accordance with the following standards of response: 

(1) FEMA National Incident Management System 

standards which are adopted and are 

incorporated by reference with subsequent 

changes or amendments pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.6 and can be found at no cost at: 

https://www.fema.gov/sites/default/files/2020-

07/fema_nims_doctrine-2017.pdf; 

(2) following all direction from NCEM personnel 

acting pursuant to G.S. 166A-19.12(1) when 

deploying as a system resource; 

(3) when responding in support of law enforcement 

operations, system resources shall coordinate 

activities with the law enforcement authorities 

to ensure their actions support any potential 

criminal investigation; and 

(4) system resources shall not release any sensitive 

information to the public or media during 

operations without the consent of the local, 

state, or federal authority having jurisdiction 

consistent with Chapter 132 of the North 

Carolina General Statutes. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 166A-66;  

Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

14B NCAC 03 .0405 STANDARDS FOR 

ADMINISTRATION OF A CONTRACT RESPONSE 

TEAM, INCLUDING PROCEDURES FOR 

REIMBURSEMENT OF RESPONSE COSTS 

(a)  Contract Response Teams and Specialty Rescue Teams shall 

maintain the following personnel records and have them available 

for audit:  

(1) responder medical history; 

(2) emergency contact information; 

(3) current pay and benefit rates, including 

overtime rates; and 
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(4) policies for overtime pay if deploying paid 

persons. 

(b)  System personnel shall be in an on-duty status as an 

emergency management worker as defined in G.S. 166A-19.60(e) 

during all training and responses.  

(c)  System resources shall maintain a current team roster. 

(d)  System resources shall maintain all system personnel training, 

certification, and credentials as outlined in Rule .0409 in this 

Section. 

(e)  System resources shall maintain all inventory and 

maintenance records for deployable equipment. 

(f)  Resource records shall be available for review by NCEM 

officials to ensure compliance. 

(g)  Within 90 days of demobilization from a State mission, 

system resources shall submit receipts, expense reports, and 

supporting documentation of actual costs to NCEM for 

reimbursement consistent with the FEMA Public Assistance 

Program and Policy Guide which is adopted and incorporated by 

reference with subsequent changes or amendments pursuant to 

G.S. 150B-21.6 and is available at no cost at: 

https://www.fema.gov/sites/default/files/documents/fema_pappg

-v4-updated-links_policy_6-1-2020.pdf.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 166A-19.60; 166A-66;  

Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

14B NCAC 03 .0406 RECOVERING THE COSTS OF 

A SEARCH AND RESCUE TEAM OR SPECIALTY 

RESCUE TEAM MISSION 

(a)  NCEM shall seek reimbursement from the Responsible Party 

for system response costs in cases of negligence or intentional 

disaster. 

(b)  NCEM shall bill the Responsible Parties costs to include 

personnel and equipment costs consistent with current protocols 

established for the recovery of cost of activation of a response 

team for a hazardous materials emergency response set out in G.S. 

166A-27 or civil liability of persons who willfully ignore a 

warning in an emergency pursuant to G.S. 166A-19.62.  

(c)  Responsible Parties shall remit payment to NCEM within 30 

days of receipt of invoice.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 166A-27; 166A-66; 166A-19.62; 

Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

14B NCAC 03 .0407 PROCEDURES FOR BIDDING 

AND CONTRACTING FOR SEARCH AND RESCUE 

TEAM AND SPECIALTY RESCUE TEAM MISSION 

(a)  Eligibility for participation as a Contract or Specialty Rescue 

Team: 

(1) Sponsoring agencies shall: 

(A) be a local unit of government, State-

recognized tribal government, or a 

corporation with an active response 

agreement with a local or tribal unit of 

government; 

(B) maintain participation in the statewide 

mutual aid agreement; and 

(C) ensure all personnel possess the 

qualifications as outlined in Rule 

.0409 of this Section.  

(2) Participating agencies shall ensure all personnel 

possess the qualifications as outlined in Rule 

.0409 of this Section.  

(b)  Eligibility for participation as personnel.  

(1) Personnel shall be from the NC SAR System, 

NCEM All-Hazards Incident Management 

Team Program, or an employee of NCEM. If 

not an employee of NCEM, each member's 

Sponsoring Agency shall have an active system 

agreement that outlines the conditions of their 

participation.  

(2) NCEM shall ensure all personnel possess the 

qualifications as outlined in Rule .0409 of this 

Section.  

(c)  Contract Response Teams – Within 18 months of the first day 

of the contractual performance, NCEM shall electronically 

distribute a bid announcement via electronic mail to all system 

resources and local emergency management coordinators for 

interested parties to return a letter of interest. NCEM shall 

distribute an electronic bid package to all interested parties that 

shall be returned to NCEM.  

(1) Contract Response Teams shall be limited to 

seven regionally based all hazard response 

taskforces. Each taskforce will be assigned a 

primary response region in the state. 

(2) The bidding agency and any participating 

agencies shall be located in that specified 

response region. 

(3) A review committee shall be established by the 

NCEM Director or designee. This committee 

will open all completed sealed bid packages and 

evaluate them based on an agreed upon criteria 

as outlined in Rule .0408 of this Section at a 

date set by the NCEM Director or designee. 

(4) The committee shall develop a bid package 

review summary that includes their 

recommendations for selections that will be 

sent to the NCEM Operations Section Chief for 

concurrence before being reviewed and 

approved by the NCEM Director. 

(5) Agencies who are successful in the bid process 

will be notified and system agreements shall be 

drafted and executed.  

(6) NCEM shall draft, execute, and maintain a 

system agreement with the sponsoring agency 

for the resource to maintain participation in the 

NC SAR System. 

(A) NCEM shall execute and maintain a 

system agreement with the sponsoring 

agency that outlines the scope of work 

that the team shall follow to enable 

reimbursement of eligible training, 

equipment, and administrative costs 

associated with maintaining a 

Contract Response Team. The system 
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agreement shall be limited to the 

contract period. 

(B) Funds reimbursed through this 

agreement shall go directly to cover 

program costs and be utilized by the 

Sponsoring and Participating 

agencies. 

(C) The Sponsoring Agency shall 

maintain all records of any NC SAR 

System spending and shall not 

comingle funds or use NC SAR 

System funding for any other purpose.  

(D) Each Sponsoring Agency is 

responsible to draft, execute, and 

maintain agreements with each 

participating agency that is supporting 

their bid for a Contract Response 

Team with personnel, equipment, or 

funding. The Sponsoring Agency may 

include any participating agency 

resources in their bid package.  

(E) Resources shall maintain a response 

agreement with NCEM that outlines 

the activation process and the 

reimbursement process for costs of 

state missions. 

(d)  Specialty Rescue Teams - NCEM shall enter into response 

agreements with Sponsoring Agencies to establish specialty 

rescue teams to ensure statewide response capability in 

established NC SAR System program areas. 

(1) These program areas shall be: 

(A) Swiftwater Search and Rescue; 

(B) Wilderness / Land Search and Rescue; 

(C) Mountain Search and Rescue; and 

(D) Helicopter Search and Rescue 

(2) NCEM shall support system resources with 

training and equipment within the confines of 

available funding. Participation as a Specialty 

Rescue Team is considered at will by either 

party to the extent that agreements can be 

terminated with or without cause by either party 

with a 30-day notice. 

(3) Each Sponsoring Agency shall enter into a 

response agreement specific to each established 

program area with NCEM. The resource will 

then enter into a system agreement with NCEM 

that shall be referred to as a Specialty Rescue 

Team response agreement. 

(4) Specialty Rescue Teams shall demonstrate their 

ability to deploy a self-sufficient team outside 

their jurisdiction to be eligible to participate in 

the NC SAR System. Specialty Rescue Teams 

shall provide all support requirements for their 

deployed personnel and equipment for a period 

of 72 hours from deployment without outside 

support. 

(5) Each Sponsoring Agency of a Specialty Rescue 

Team shall draft, execute, and maintain 

agreements with each Participating Agency that 

is supporting the Sponsoring Agency in 

maintaining a Specialty Response Team with 

personnel, equipment, or funding.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 166A-65; 166A-66; 166A-67; 

Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

14B NCAC 03 .0408 CRITERIA FOR EVALUATING 

BIDS FOR CONTRACT RESPONSE TEAM 

(a)  Bidding agencies shall: 

(1) submit via courier, United States Mail, or hand 

deliver a bid package signed by an authorized 

representative of a local unit of government, 

State recognized tribal government, or 

corporation that maintains an active response 

agreement with a local or tribal unit of 

government; 

(2) provide a plan for the bidding entity to deploy 

the required number of personnel for a period 

of up to 14 days when not required for a local 

response. This may be as a single entity or as a 

collaboration of multiple agencies in the 

specified response region. If a collaboration of 

multiple agencies, the sponsoring or the bidding 

agency shall maintain cooperative agreements 

with all supporting agencies. For the purposes 

of the bid submission, the bidding entity shall 

provide a letter of support from all supporting 

agencies; 

(3) provide a plan for the bidding entity to maintain 

the required number of personnel trained per 

Rule .0409 of this Section; and 

(4) ensure all participating members possess the 

qualifications as outlined in Rule .0409 of this 

Section. 

(b)  Bids shall be evaluated on: 

(1) geographic location of team base; 

(2) ability to maintain required number of trained 

personnel to ensure response readiness;  

(3) ability to maintain and care for any system 

provided equipment; 

(4) availability of local equipment to support 

response activities;  

(5) availability to maintain dedicated 

administrative staff to ensure management of 

administrative duties, training, and logistical 

requirements; and 

(6) consistent with federal procurement rules as 

outlined in 2 CFR Part 200 which is adopted 

and incorporated by reference with subsequent 

changes or amendments pursuant to 150B-21.6 

and can be found at no cost at: 

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-2/subtitle-

A/chapter-II/part-200; and 

(7) consistent with State procurement rules as 

outlined in Chapter 5 of North Carolina 

Administrative Code which is adopted and 

incorporated by reference with subsequent 

changes or amendments pursuant to G.S. 150B-
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21.6 and can be found at no cost at: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp?folderN

ame=\Title%2001%20-

%20Administration\Chapter%2005%20-

%20Purchase%20and%20Contract. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 166A-66; 166A-67; 

Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

14B NCAC 03 .0409 PERSONNEL, TRAINING, AND 

EQUIPMENT STANDARARDS FOR CONTRACT 

RESPONSE TEAMS AND SPECIALTY RESCUE TEAMS 

(a)  Requirements for all system personnel: 

(1) personnel shall be no less than 18 years of age; 

(2) personnel shall be an employee of a Sponsoring 

Agency, Participating Agency, or an employee 

of the North Carolina Division of Emergency 

Management. By participating in this program, 

system personnel remain employees of their 

Sponsoring or Participating Agency and at no 

time become a State employee entitled to State 

benefits unless they are an employee of NCEM;  

(3) personnel shall maintain no less than 24 hours 

of search and rescue training annually; 

(4) while participating in any program activity 

personnel shall be considered emergency 

management workers, as defined in G.S. 166A-

19.60. and 

(5) personnel shall possess the qualifications of 

character and general fitness requisite for a 

public servant and be of good moral character 

and entitled to the high regard and confidence 

of the public as evidenced by: 

(A) not having been convicted by a local, 

state, federal, or military court of a 

felony; 

(B) not having been convicted by a local, 

state, federal, or military court of a 

Class B Misdemeanor as defined in 12 

NCAC 09A .0103(24)(b) which is 

adopted and incorporated by reference 

with subsequent changes or 

amendments pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.6 in the previous five years or the 

completion of any corrections 

supervision imposed by the courts, 

whichever is later; 

(C) not having been convicted of an 

offense by a local, state, federal, or 

military court that would prohibit the 

possession of a firearm or 

ammunition, under 18 U.S.C. 922, 

which is hereby incorporated by 

reference with subsequent 

amendments and editions pursuant to 

G.S. 150B-21.6 can be found at no 

cost 

https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg

/USCODE-2018-

title18/pdf/USCODE-2018-title18-

partI-chap44.pdf; 

(D) being truthful in providing 

information to the appointing agency;  

(E) not having pending or outstanding 

charges in a local, state, federal, or 

military court that, if convicted, would 

exclude eligibility under this Rule.  

(6) make the following notifications: 

(A) within seven days of the qualifying 

event, notify the Sponsoring Agency 

in writing of all criminal or traffic 

offenses for which the individual is 

charged or arrested;  

(B) within seven days of the qualifying 

event, notify the Sponsoring Agency 

in writing of all criminal offenses for 

which the individual pleads no contest, 

pleads guilty, or of which the 

individual is convicted;  

(C) within seven days of service, shall 

notify the Sponsoring Agency that he 

or she has been served by a judicial 

official;  

(D) within seven days of the date the case 

was disposed of in court, the 

Sponsoring Agency, provided they 

have knowledge of system personnel's 

arrests or criminal charges and final 

dispositions, shall also notify NCEM 

of arrests or criminal charges and final 

disposition of the criminal charges 

against system personnel; and 

(E) within seven days of the issuance of all 

Domestic Violence Protective Orders 

pursuant to G.S. 50B and Civil No 

Contact Orders pursuant to G.S. 50C, 

the sponsoring agency, provided they 

have knowledge of the order, shall 

also notify NCEM of these orders. 

(b)  Requirements for all system equipment: 

(1) equipment shall be made available for 

inspections and; inventory by NCEM 

personnel; 

(2) system resources shall maintain any State-

owned equipment per manufacturer's 

recommendations and immediately notify 

NCEM of any damage to State-owned and 

issued equipment; and 

(3) upon separation, all system resources shall 

return all state property in no more than 30 days 

to NCEM. 

(c)  Urban Search and Rescue Team Personnel and Training 

Requirements: 

(1) A Type I or Type II Urban Search and Rescue 

Team shall maintain a roster of 116 personnel 

who have successfully completed the North 

Carolina Urban Search and Rescue Structural 

Collapse Rescue Technician Course or the 
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Federal Emergency Management Agency 

Structural Collapse Specialist Course. 

(2) A Type III Urban Search and Rescue Team 

shall maintain a roster of 58 personnel who 

have successfully completed the NC USAR 

Structural Collapse Rescue Technician Course 

or the Federal Emergency Management Agency 

Structural Collapse Specialist Course. 

(3) North Carolina Division of Emergency 

Management shall be responsible for providing 

qualified structures specialists, medical team 

managers, and canine search specialists for any 

urban search and rescue team as part of this 

program if required for a response. 

(d)  Urban Search and Rescue Team Equipment Requirements: 

(1) Urban Search and Rescue Teams shall maintain 

a functionally equivalent cache of equipment 

based on the appropriate team type with the 

Emergency Management Accreditation 

Program Urban Search and Rescue Cache List 

which is adopted and incorporated by reference 

with subsequent changes or amendments 

pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.6 as outlined in the 

latest published standard by the Emergency 

Management Accreditation Program located at 

no cost at 

https://emap.org/index.php/root/assessor-

resources/87-emap-cache-list. 

(2) Equipment shall be maintained in a manner 

ready to be used and with a means to transport 

all required equipment. 

(e)  Swiftwater Rescue Team Personnel and Training 

Requirements: 

(1) Any Type I Swiftwater Rescue Team shall 

maintain a minimum roster of 32 personnel who 

have successfully completed Swiftwater 

Rescue Technician level training that meets 

requirements of Chapters 5, 11, and 12 of 

National Fire Protection Associations (NFPA) 

1006 which is adopted and incorporated by 

reference with subsequent changes or 

amendments pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.6 and 

can be found at https://www.nfpa.org/codes-

and-standards/all-codes-and-standards/list-of-

codes-and-standards/detail?code=1006 at a cost 

of ninety one dollars ($91.00). From the 

complete roster, the team shall maintain the 

following number of personnel trained in 

position specific advanced roles: 

(A) eight personnel who have completed 

the North Carolina Swiftwater Flood 

Rescue Boat Operator Course; 

(B) two personnel who have completed 

either the North Carolina Swiftwater / 

Flood Rescue Team Leader Course or 

North Carolina Urban Search and 

Rescue Task Force Leader Course; 

and 

(C) two personnel who have completed 

either the North Carolina Swiftwater / 

Flood Rescue Team Communications 

Specialist Course or North Carolina 

Urban Search and Rescue 

Communications Specialist Course. 

(2) Any Type II Swiftwater Rescue Team shall 

maintain a minimum roster of 24 personnel who 

have successfully completed Swiftwater 

Rescue Technician level training that meets 

training requirements of Chapters 5, 11, and 12 

of NFPA 1006. From the complete roster, the 

team shall maintain the following number of 

personnel trained in position specific advanced 

roles: 

(A) four personnel who have completed 

the North Carolina Swiftwater Flood 

Rescue Boat Operator Course; 

(B) two personnel who have completed 

either the North Carolina Swiftwater 

Flood Rescue Team Leader Course or 

North Carolina Urban Search and 

Rescue Task Force Leader Course; 

and 

(C) two personnel who have completed 

either the North Carolina Swiftwater 

Flood Rescue Team Communications 

Specialist Course or North Carolina 

Urban Search and Rescue 

Communications Specialist Course. 

(3) Any Type III Swiftwater Rescue Team shall 

maintain a minimum roster of 16 personnel who 

have successfully completed Swiftwater 

Rescue Technician level training that meets 

training requirements from Chapters 5, 11, and 

12 of NFPA 1006. From the complete roster, 

the team shall maintain the following number 

of personnel trained in position specific 

advanced roles: 

(A) two personnel who have completed 

the North Carolina Swiftwater Flood 

Rescue Boat Operator Course; 

(B) two personnel who have completed 

either the North Carolina Swiftwater 

Flood Rescue Team Leader Course or 

North Carolina Urban Search and 

Rescue Task Force Leader Course; 

and 

(C) two personnel who have completed 

either the North Carolina Swiftwater 

Flood Rescue Team Communications 

Specialist Course or North Carolina 

Urban Search and Rescue 

Communications Specialist Course. 

(f)  Swiftwater Rescue Team Equipment Requirements: 

(1) Any Type I Swiftwater Rescue Team shall 

maintain an equipment cache of no less than: 
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(A) six 800 MHz portable radios 

programed with the NC VIPER Radio 

System template; 

(B) sixteen portable radios capable for 

internal team communications; 

(C) one portable computer with cellular or 

satellite-based internet access; 

(D) sixteen each of dry suits with a liner, 

personal floatation devices with not 

less than 22lbs of floatation, helmet 

with headlamp, rescue knife, pealess 

whistle, boat motor key, water rescue 

throw bag, and pair of water rescue 

boots; 

(E) two each thermal imaging cameras 

and handheld spotlights; 

(F) two State of North Carolina road 

atlases; 

(G) six global positioning system 

receivers; 

(H) two forcible entry kits to include a 

Halligan, axe, sledgehammer, and bolt 

cutters per kit; 

(I) two chain saws; 

(J) four inflatable ridged boats not less 

than four meters in length with not less 

than six total outboard motors; 

(K) one rope rescue kit to include 20 

locking carabiners, four full body 

harnesses, two knot passing pulleys, 

12 tandem prusiks, eight pulleys, two 

200 foot life safety rope in a bag, two 

300 foot life safety rope in a bag, line 

thrower, and six sections of each 5 

foot, 12 foot, 15 foot, 20 foot nylon 

tubular webbing; 

(L) two decontamination kits to include 

one 2.5 gallon pressure sprayer, one 

five gallon bucket, one 40 gallon work 

box, one 110 volt submersible pump, 

two 25 foot sections of garden hose, 

garden hose wye adaptor, a 110 volt 

submersible pump, cleaning solution 

per dry suit manufacturer 

recommendations, and one 1.5 inch to 

.75 inch male garden hose adapter; 

(M) six non-venting fuel cells with fuel 

lines; 

(N) two self-bailing rafts; 

(O) four boat field repair kits to include a 

patch and five clamshells per kit; 

(P) twelve paddles; 

(Q) shelter system for 16 personnel that 

can be assembled in under 30 minutes 

time and does not require power for 

assembly;  

(R) sixteen each of a sleeping kit such as a 

cot, pad, or sleeping bag; 

(S) two each of two kilowatt or larger 

generators with portable lights; and 

(T) two electric air pumps, four manual 

inflation pumps, and eight compressed 

air cylinders with fill systems to inflate 

boats or rafts. 

(2) Any Type II Swiftwater Rescue Team shall 

maintain an equipment cache of no less than: 

(A) four 800 MHz portable radios 

programed with the NC VIPER Radio 

System template; 

(B) ten portable radios capable for internal 

team communications; 

(C) one portable computer with cellular or 

satellite-based internet access; 

(D) ten each of dry suits with a liner, 

personal floatation devices with not 

less than 22lbs of floatation, helmet 

with headlamp, rescue knife, pealess 

whistle, boat motor key, water rescue 

throw bag, and pair of water rescue 

boots; 

(E) two each thermal imaging cameras 

and handheld spotlights; 

(F) two State of North Carolina road 

atlases; 

(G) four global positioning system 

receivers; 

(H) one forcible entry kits to include a 

Halligan, axe, sledgehammer, and bolt 

cutters per kit; 

(I) two chain saws; 

(J) two inflatable ridged boats not less 

than 4 meters in length with not less 

than three total outboard motors; 

(K) one rope rescue kit to include 20 

locking carabiners, four full body 

harness, two knot passing pulleys, 12 

tandem prusiks, eight pulleys, two 200 

foot life safety rope in a bag, two 300 

foot life safety rope in a bag, line 

thrower, and six sections of each 5 

foot, 12 foot, 15 foot, 20 foot nylon 

tubular webbing; 

(L) one decontamination kits to include 

one 2.5 gallon pressure sprayer, one 

five gallon bucket, one 40 gallon work 

box, one 110 volt submersible pump, 

two 25 foot sections of garden hose, 

garden hose wye adaptor, a 110 volt 

submersible pump, cleaning solution 

per dry suit manufacturer 

recommendations, and one 1.5 inch to 

.75 inch male garden hose adapter; 

(M) four non-venting fuel cells with fuel 

lines; 

(N) one self-bailing raft; 

(O) two boat field repair kits to include a 

patch and five clamshells per kit; 
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(P) six paddles; 

(Q) shelter system for ten personnel that 

can be assembled in under 30 minutes 

time and does not require power for 

assembly;  

(R) ten each of a sleeping kit such as a cot, 

pad, or sleeping bag; 

(S) two each of two kilowatt or larger 

generators with portable lights; and 

(T) two electric air pumps, four manual 

inflation pumps, and eight compressed 

air cylinders with fill systems to inflate 

boats or rafts. 

(3) Any Type III Swiftwater Rescue Team shall 

maintain an equipment cache of no less than: 

(A) six 800 MHz portable radios 

programed with the NC VIPER Radio 

System template; 

(B) six portable radios capable for internal 

team communications; 

(C) one portable computer with cellular or 

satellite-based internet access; 

(D) six each of dry suits with a liner, 

personal floatation devices with not 

less than 22lbs of floatation, helmet 

with headlamp, rescue knife, pealess 

whistle, boat motor key, water rescue 

throw bag, and pair of water rescue 

boots; 

(E) one State of North Carolina road atlas; 

(F) two global positioning system 

receivers; 

(G) one forcible entry to include a 

Halligan, axe, sledgehammer, and bolt 

cutters per kit; 

(H) one chain saw; 

(I) one inflatable ridged boats not less 

than 4 meters in length with not less 

than two total outboard motors; 

(J) one rope rescue kit to include 20 

locking carabiners, two full body 

harness, two knot passing pulleys, 12 

tandem prusiks, four pulleys, 200 foot 

life safety rope in a bag, 300 foot life 

safety rope in a bag, line thrower, and 

three sections of each 5 foot, 12 foot, 

15 foot, 20 foot nylon tubular 

webbing; 

(K) one decontamination kits to include 

one 2.5 gallon pressure sprayer, one 

five gallon bucket, one 40 gallon work 

box, one 110 volt submersible pump, 

two 25 foot sections of garden hose, 

garden hose wye adaptor, a 110 volt 

submersible pump, cleaning solution 

per dry suit manufacturer 

recommendations, and one 1.5 inch to 

.75 inch male garden hose adapter; 

(L) two non-venting fuel cells with fuel 

lines; 

(M) one self-bailing raft; 

(N) one boat field repair kits to include a 

patch and five clamshells per kit; 

(O) three paddles; 

(P) shelter system for 16 personnel that 

can be assembled in under 30 minutes 

time and does not require power for 

assembly;  

(R) sixteen each of a sleeping kit such as a 

cot, pad, or sleeping bag; 

(S) one each of two kilowatt or larger 

generators with portable lights; and 

(T) one electric air pumps, one manual 

inflation pumps, and two compressed 

air cylinders with fill system to inflate 

boats or rafts. 

(g)  Helicopter search and rescue technicians shall: 

(1) be a member of the Urban Search and Rescue, 

Swiftwater Rescue, Wilderness Search and 

Rescue, or Mountain Rescue Programs with a 

letter of support from their sponsoring agency; 

(2) complete the North Carolina Division of 

Emergency Management Helicopter Rescue 

Indoctrination Course; and 

(3) attend scheduled training on no less than a 

quarterly basis to maintain their qualification as 

a helicopter rescue technician. 

(h)  Helicopter Rescue Team Equipment Requirements 

(1) Helicopter search and rescue technicians shall 

maintain all issued equipment in accordance 

with the manufacturer recommendations. 

(2) Helicopter search and rescue technicians shall 

inspect their issued equipment prior to and after 

each use and report any damage per 

manufacturer recommendations to the Aviation 

Life Safety Equipment Officer. 

(i)  Wilderness Search and Rescue Team Requirements 

(1) A wilderness search and rescue team shall 

maintain a roster of no less than eight personnel 

that have completed the NC Land Search Field 

Team Member Course or other wilderness 

search course that meets the current 

requirements of the American Society for 

Testing and Materials F2209 standard which is 

adopted and incorporated by reference with 

subsequent changes or amendments pursuant to 

G.S. 150B-21.6 and can be found at: 

https://www.astm.org/f2209-20.html at a cost 

of fifty seven dollars ($57.00). 

(2) A wilderness search and rescue team shall 

maintain a team equipment cache of no less 

than eight of the following: 

(A) field pack able to carry required 

equipment; 

(B) multi-purpose knife; 

(C) water containers sufficient to hold two 

quarts of potable water; 
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(D) safety glasses; 

(E) pealess whistle; 

(F) grid reader for 1:24000 scale; 

(G) compass; 

(H) two light sources with spare batteries; 

(I) set of rain gear to include a jacket with 

a hood and a pair of pants; 

(J) tracking stick no less than 42 inches 

long; 

(K) watch; 

(L) equipment needed to start a fire such 

as waterproof matches or fire starting 

steel; 

(M) measuring device capable of 

measuring no less than 18 inches; 

(N) paper and pen or pencil; 

(O) FEMA ICS 214 form which is adopted 

and incorporated by reference with 

subsequent changes or amendments 

pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.6 and can be 

found at: 

https://training.fema.gov/emiweb/is/ic

sresource/assets/ics%20forms/ics%20

form%20214,%20activity%20log%2

0(v3.1).pdf at no cost; 

(P) fifty foot of cordage; 

(Q) eight zip ties; and 

(R) signaling mirror. 

(3) A wilderness search and rescue team shall 

maintain a rescue equipment cache of no less 

than the following: 

(A) two global positioning system 

receivers; and 

(B) two first aid kits to include two 

tourniquets, eight four inch square 

gauze pads, two two inch gauze rolls, 

two rolls of paper tape one inch by ten 

yards, two rolls of moleskin patches 

two inch by five yards, two emergency 

survival blankets, two triangle 

bandages, one SAM splint 36 inches in 

length, five pairs of nitrile gloves, one 

CPR micromask, and one trauma shear 

scissors. 

(j)  Mountain Rescue Team Requirements 

(1) A mountain rescue team shall maintain a roster 

of no less than eight personnel that have 

completed the NC Mountain Rescue Operations 

Course. Of those eight personnel, two personnel 

shall have also completed the NC Mountain 

Rescue Technician Course. 

(2) A mountain rescue team shall maintain a team 

equipment cache of no less than eight of 

following: 

(A) field pack able to carry required 

equipment; 

(B) multi-purpose knife; 

(C) water containers sufficient to hold two 

quarts of potable water; 

(D) grid reader for 1:24000 scale; 

(E) equipment needed to start a fire such 

as waterproof matches or fire starting 

steel; 

(F) compass; 

(G) two light sources with spare batteries; 

(H) set of rain gear to include a jacket with 

a hood and a pair of pants; 

(I) watch; 

(J) paper and pen or pencil; and 

(K) FEMA ICS 214 form; 

(3) A mountain rescue team shall maintain a rescue 

equipment cache of no less than the following: 

(A) two global positioning system 

receivers; 

(B) ten screw gate carabiners; 

(C) four belay type friction devices; 

(D) eight pre-sewn runners; 

(E) eight sets of matching prussik pairs; 

(F) four 30 foot cords suitable for anchor 

and litter rigging; 

(G) eight mountaineering harnesses; 

(H) two rappel type friction devices; 

(I) two each of single and double micro 

pulleys; 

(J) two 150 foot ropes with a rating equal 

to or greater than 20 kilonewtons; 

(K) two 250 foot ropes with a rating equal 

to or greater than 20 kilonewtons; 

(L) eight pairs of snow shoes; 

(M) eight pairs of trekking poles; 

(N) four ice screws; 

(O) eight pairs of slip-on boot traction 

devices; 

(P) four pairs of crampons; 

(Q) a patient litter such as a military type 

stokes basket or sked system; and 

(R) two 800 MHz portable radios 

programed with the NC VIPER Radio 

System template. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 166A-66; 166A-67; 166A-68; 

Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

14B NCAC 03 .0410 PROCEEDURES FOR AUDITING 

CONTRACT RESPONSE TEAMS AND SPECIALTY 

RESCUE TEAMS 

(a)  Teams shall be audited by NCEM no less than every three 

years to ensure compliance with program requirements. Teams 

shall provide the following for review by NCEM personnel within 

five days upon request: 

(1) administrative records such as internal team 

plans and procedures, training records, 

personnel records, equipment maintenance 

records, and any fiscal records pertaining to the 

Contract Response or Specialty Rescue Team; 

(2) equipment cache to include ensuring all 

required equipment is present, operational, and 

in a deployment ready condition; and 
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(3) access to functional exercises that demonstrate 

the ability of the resource to muster, deploy, and 

function.  

(b)  Within 30 days of the audit, NCEM personnel shall complete, 

file, and email to the Sponsoring Agency an audit report 

documenting the audit team's findings. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 166A-66; 166A-67; 

Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 01E .0101 PURPOSE 

The purpose of this Subchapter is to establish procedures and 

standards under which permits for the construction and operation 

of oil refining facilities will be issued or denied.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.101; 

Eff. June 16, 1980; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 01E .0102 DEFINITIONS 

As used in this Subchapter, unless the context otherwise requires: 

(1) "Act" means the Oil Pollution and Hazardous 

Substances Control Act, Article 21A, Chapter 

143, General Statutes. 

(2) "Construction" means: 

(a) construction and operation of a new oil 

refining facility; 

(b) substantial enlargement and operation 

of an existing oil refining facility; or 

(c) substantial change in the physical 

separation or chemical reaction 

process of an existing oil refining 

facility and operation of such facility. 

(3) "Department" means the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

(4) "Oil refining facility" means any facility of any 

kind and related appurtenances located in, on, 

or under the surface of any land, or water, 

including submerged lands, which is used or 

capable of being used for the purpose of 

refining oil. The term "related appurtenances" 

includes pipelines. 

(5) "Publicly owned parks, forests, or recreation 

areas" means lands, including beaches, 

shorelines, and submerged lands, and waters: 

(a) that are owned or controlled by a 

governmental body for purposes of 

conservation of natural resources, 

public recreation, or general public 

use; or 

(b) that the public has a right to use for 

recreation or as a part of the natural 

environment. 

(6) "Secretary" means the Secretary of the 

Department of Environmental Quality.  

(7) "Wildlife" means wild animals and plants. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.77; 143-215.101; 

Eff. June 16, 1980; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1988; October 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 01E .0103 OIL REFINING FACILITY 

PERMIT REQUIRED 

No person shall construct or operate an oil refining facility unless 

and until such person applies for and obtains an oil refining 

facility permit under this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.100; 143-215.101; 

143B-10; 

Eff. June 16, 1980; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 01E .0104 PERMIT APPLICATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  An application for a permit shall be in writing and shall be 

transmitted to the Secretary at the following address: 

Secretary's Office 

North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality 

1601 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1601 

(b)  An application shall be made by and in the names of all 

persons who will be owners or operators of a proposed oil refining 

facility or who are owners or operators of an existing facility. 

(c)  To apply for an oil refining facility permit, a person or persons 

shall submit to the Secretary an application which shall contain: 

(1) a cover sheet shall not exceed one page and 

shall include: 

(A) the title, APPLICATION FOR 

PERMIT TO CONSTRUCT OR 

OPERATE AN OIL REFINING 

FACILITY;  

(B) a short statement of the activity for 

which the permit is sought and the 

name and location of the oil refining 

facility involved;  

(C) the complete name, address, and 

telephone number of each applicant;  

(D) the date of the application;  

(E) the name, address, and telephone 

number of the employee or agent of 

the applicant who can supply further 

information; and 

(F) an abstract of the assessment of the 

effects which the construction or 

operation of the oil refining facility 

will have on the environment; 

(2) a table of contents; 

(3) a description of the proposed or existing oil 

refining facility, including a description of the 

following aspects of the facility's operation: 
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(A) kind of refining process; 

(B) refining capacity; 

(C) kind, character, and volume of raw 

materials, and the source(s) of their 

supply; 

(D) kind, character, and volume of 

products; 

(E) kind, character, and volume of 

by-products; 

(F) kind, character, and volume of effluent 

discharges to waters or lands of the 

State; 

(G) kind, character, and volume of 

emissions to air; 

(H) number of persons in the facility's 

permanent work force; and 

(I) cost of construction of the facility; 

(4) if construction is involved, a description of the 

construction process and the applicant's 

estimate of the timetable for that process; 

(5) an electronic copy or two sets of paper copies 

of the most current reports, drawings, maps, 

plans, and specifications describing the 

location, construction, and operation of the oil 

refining facility; 

(6) a description of the transfer of oil to and from 

the oil refining facility, including a statement of 

the amount and kind of vessel traffic which the 

facility's operation does or will generate; 

(7) an electronic copy or two sets of paper copies 

of the most current reports, drawings, maps, 

plans, specifications, and other information 

describing the transfer of oil, including vessel 

characteristics and ownership, vessel 

navigation to and from the facility, oil loading 

equipment, and pipelines, in such detail as the 

Secretary deems necessary to decide to issue or 

deny the permit; 

(8) upon request of the Secretary, a listing of the 

environmental or health impacts which 

interested or affected persons or their 

representatives have indicated are of concern to 

them. To prepare such a listing, the applicant 

shall: 

(A) inform about the facility those persons 

whom the facility will or may interest 

or affect, including those living within 

one mile of any part of the facility; and 

(B) ascertain the nature of their concerns 

about the effects of the facility and 

their suggestions for meeting those 

concerns. The applicant may 

coordinate efforts in this regard with 

similar efforts required by other 

statutes or regulations, federal or state, 

so as to reduce duplication of effort; 

(9) a list of all federal, state, and local permits or 

approvals related to protection of the 

environment or environmental resources that 

the applicant shall obtain for construction or 

operation of the oil refining facility, the date on 

which each application was submitted, a copy 

of each filed application, and a copy of each 

permit or approval showing that it has been 

issued; 

(10) an analysis of the effects that construction or 

operation of the facility, including the transfer 

of oil to and from the facility, will or may have 

on the environment; 

(11) the applicant's proposals for avoiding or 

minimizing the adverse effects of the 

construction and operation of the oil refining 

facility and the transfer of oil to and from the 

facility on the environment. The applicant's 

proposals shall include: 

(A) a description of the procedures, 

methods, means, and equipment, 

including those relating to vessel 

navigation and design, which the 

applicant will use to prevent any 

discharges to the waters or lands of the 

State;  

(B) a description of the procedures, 

methods, means, and equipment by 

which the applicant will detect and 

report discharges;  

(C) a description of the procedures, 

methods, means, and equipment 

which the applicant will use in the 

containment, removal, and cleaning 

up of discharges and in the restoration 

of any lands or waters affected by a 

discharge; and 

(D) a description and copies of any spill 

prevention and emergency response 

plans required under federal, State, or 

local laws and regulations; 

(12) a list of the names of the persons who were 

primarily responsible for preparing the 

application or any part thereof, together with 

their qualifications, including their expertise, 

experience, professional disciplines, and 

licenses. The persons who were responsible for 

a particular analysis shall be identified; 

(13) a statement and explanation by the applicant 

whether the proposed construction or operation 

of the oil refining facility is subject to Article 1 

of G.S. Chapter 113A, the North Carolina 

Environmental Policy Act. 

(d)  The Secretary shall determine the adequacy and completeness 

of the submitted application based on compliance with the 

requirements in Paragraph (c) and Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(e)  The applicant shall supply such other information as the 

Secretary deems necessary to impose appropriate terms and 

conditions in the permit and to determine appropriate protective 

measures to prevent oil discharges to the lands and waters of the 

State according to the schedule provided by the Secretary. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.101;  

Eff. June 16, 1980; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1990; August 1, 1988; October 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 01E .0105 PERMIT APPLICATION 

PROCEDURE 

(a)  If the Secretary determines the application is incomplete under 

Rule .0104(d) of this Section, the Secretary shall within 60 days 

of its receipt describe in writing to the applicant how the 

application is incomplete. The applicant shall, within 60 days, 

submit such additional information relating to the oil refining 

facility for the application to be complete. If the application is 

complete, the Secretary shall so advise the applicant in writing 

within 60 days of its receipt. 

(b)  Within 30 days of giving notice to the applicant of a 

completed application, in accordance with Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule, the Secretary shall give notice of the application and of a 

public hearing to be held pursuant to Rule .0106 of this 

Subchapter to all of the following state agencies and other 

persons: 

(1) the North Carolina Coastal Resources 

Commission; 

(2) the North Carolina Department of Commerce; 

(3) the North Carolina Department of Natural and 

Cultural Resources; 

(4) the North Carolina Environmental 

Management Commission; 

(5) the North Carolina Forest Service; 

(6) the North Carolina Department of Health and 

Human Services; 

(7) the North Carolina Marine Fisheries 

Commission; 

(8) the North Carolina Department of 

Transportation; 

(9) the North Carolina State Ports Authority; 

(10) the North Carolina Wildlife Resources 

Commission; 

(11) the Boards of County Commissioners for the 

county in which the oil refining facility is 

located or is proposed to be located and for 

contiguous counties; 

(12) the governing body of any incorporated 

municipality within 50 miles of the oil refining 

facility; 

(13) any person whose name is on the mailing list 

required in Rule .0111 of this Section; 

(14) any owner of real property which is contiguous 

to the site of the oil refining facility; and 

(15) the applicant. 

(c)  The notice Paragraph (b) of this Rule requires shall contain 

the following information: 

(1) The title "Notice of Application for Oil 

Refining Facility Permit," and a statement that 

the purpose of the notice is to obtain 

information or comments to assist the Secretary 

in assessing the effects of the oil refining 

facility on the environment. 

(2) The name and address of the applicants and a 

brief description of the name, character, 

location, and capacity of the oil refining facility 

for which the permit is sought. 

(3) A summary of the analysis of effects submitted 

in the application under Rule .0104(c) of this 

Section. 

(4) An invitation to persons who may be interested 

or affected by the facility to present, either in 

writing or at the public hearing held pursuant to 

Rule .0106 of this Section, their information or 

comments concerning the impacts of the 

construction and operation of the oil refining 

facility, including the effects of the transfer of 

oil to and from the facility, on the environment. 

(5) A statement that written information or 

comments may be submitted to the Secretary at 

a specified address at any time until 30 days 

after the close of the public hearing on the 

application. 

(6) An announcement of the date, time, and place 

of the public hearing held pursuant to Rule 

.0106 of this Section. 

(7) A list of the state agencies that may review and 

comment on the application pursuant to 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule and the date by which 

the agencies' comments shall be submitted to 

the Secretary, which shall be within 45 days of 

the date the notice is issued. 

(8) The address on the Department's website at 

which anyone may review the complete 

application. 

(9) A reference to the particular sections of the 

North Carolina General Statutes and the North 

Carolina Administrative Code applicable to the 

issuance or denial of oil refining facility 

permits. 

(10) A description of the nature of the hearing and 

the rules that shall govern its conduct. 

(11) The name, email address, and telephone 

number of a department official from whom 

additional information may be obtained. 

(d)  The Secretary shall arrange for the publication of the notice 

in a regularly published newspaper of general circulation: 

(1) in the county containing the site of the oil 

refining facility; and 

(2) in contiguous counties. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.101; 

Eff. June 16, 1980; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1990; July 1, 1988; October 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 01E .0106 PUBLIC HEARING ON PERMIT 

APPLICATION 

(a)  The Secretary shall hold a public hearing at which any person 

will be given a reasonable opportunity to present information or 

comments concerning the contents of the application and the 

effects of the construction and operation of the oil refining 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

37:21 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 1, 2023 

2074 

facility, including the effects of the transfer of oil to and from the 

facility on the environment. 

(b)  The hearing shall be held between 60 and 90 days after the 

date of the notice required by Rule .0105(b) of this Section. The 

Secretary may arrange for the sending or publication of a second, 

abbreviated notice shortly before the hearing. 

(c)  The state agencies listed in Rule .0105(b) of this Section may 

comment on the effects that construction or operation of an oil 

refining facility will or may have on the environment and in so 

doing should address matters within their jurisdiction, authority, 

or expertise. An agency may reply that it has no comment. 

Agencies shall submit any comments within the time period 

specified for comment in the notice. 

(d)  The hearing shall be held in the county where the oil refining 

facility for which the applicant seeks a permit is located or is 

proposed to be located, unless the Secretary finds and directs that, 

for reasons of public convenience, safety, or health, it should be 

held in a different location or through a virtual application. 

(e)  The hearing shall be informational in nature and shall not be 

a contested case as defined in G.S. 150B-2. The Secretary shall 

hold the hearing or appoint a hearing officer to do so. The person 

holding the hearing has the authority to set reasonable guidelines 

for the hearing, including the length of the hearing and the length 

of time a person may speak. 

(f)  The record of the hearing shall be open for written submissions 

until 30 days after the close of hearing. Any oral or written 

information or comments offered at the hearing and any further 

written information or comments submitted within 30 days after 

the close of the hearing shall be made part of the record of the 

hearing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.100; 143-215.101; 

Eff. June 16, 1980; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 01E .0107 DECISION TO ISSUE OR DENY 

PERMIT 

(a)  Within 60 days of the last day for submitting public comments 

about the permit application, or the last day on which the applicant 

provides additional information requested by the Secretary to 

respond to public comments, the Secretary shall issue or deny the 

permit for the oil refining facility. 

(b)  In deciding to issue or deny the permit, the Secretary shall 

consider: 

(1) the permit application;  

(2) the data, information, and comments which 

have been submitted during the permit process; 

and 

(3) other facts, information, or analyses within the 

specialized knowledge of the Department. 

The Secretary shall base the decision on the effects which the 

construction or operation of the oil refining facility, including the 

transfer of oil to and from the facility, will or may have on the 

environment. 

(c)  The Secretary shall deny the permit upon a finding that: 

(1) The construction or operation of the oil refining 

facility, including the transfer of oil to and from 

the facility, will have substantial adverse effects 

on wildlife or on freshwater, estuarine, or 

marine fisheries;  

(2) The construction or operation of the oil refining 

facility, including the transfer of oil to and from 

the facility, will violate standards of air or water 

quality promulgated or administered by the 

Environmental Management Commission; or 

(3) The construction or operation of the oil refining 

facility, including the transfer of oil to and from 

the facility, will have a substantial adverse 

effect on a publicly owned park, forest, or 

recreation area. 

(d)  In the absence of a finding described in Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule, the Secretary shall issue the permit. 

(1) The Secretary shall impose on any permit he 

issues the following terms and conditions: 

(A) The permit shall not be effective until 

the applicant has obtained all 

necessary environmental permits, 

including without limitation, those 

permits required by Articles 21, 21A, 

and 21B of G.S. Chapter 143, Article 

9 of G.S. Chapter 130A, and Articles 

4 and 7 of G.S. Chapter 113A. When 

the necessary permits have been 

obtained by the applicant, the 

Secretary upon the applicant's request 

shall confirm the effective date of the 

oil refining facility permit. 

(B) The applicant, on February 1 of each 

year following the year in which the 

applicant's permit became effective, 

shall submit to the Secretary a 

description of the following aspects of 

the facility's operation as of that date: 

(i) as they are listed in Rule 

.0104(c)(3)(A), (B), (C), (D), 

(E), (F), (G), and (H) of this 

Section; and 

(ii) transfer of oil to and from the 

facility, including a statement 

of the amount and kind of 

vessel traffic which the 

facility's operation does or 

will generate. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.101;  

Eff. June 16, 1980; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 01E .0108 SUSPENSION: REVOCATION: 

OR AMENDMENT OF PERMITS 

15A NCAC 01E .0109 ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS: 

FINAL DECISION BY SECRETARY 

15A NCAC 01E .0110 SEVERABILITY 

15A NCAC 01E .0111 MAILING LIST 

15A NCAC 01E .0112 FEES 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 7A-308(12); 132-6; 

143-215.101; 150B-3; 150B-23 through 150B-37; 

Eff. June 16, 1980; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1988; October 1, 1984; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 01E .0113 EXTENSIONS OF TIME 

PERIODS 

The Secretary may extend any of the time periods prescribed by 

this Subchapter. Such an extension shall not exceed 15 days.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.100; 143-215.101; 

Eff. June 16, 1980; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 01E .0114 DELEGATIONS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.100; 143-215.101; 

143B-10; 150B-2(2); 

Eff. October 1, 1984; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 01E .0115 UNAUTHORIZED DISCHARGES 

(a)  In addition to any other reporting obligation under State, local, 

or federal law, the operator of any oil refining facility shall report 

in writing via electronic mail, facsimile, or first class mail to the 

Secretary any unauthorized discharge of oil of 500 gallons or 

more or other occurrence prohibited by the Act. Such reporting 

shall occur as soon as practicable, but no later than 24 hours after 

the owner or operator becomes aware of the discharge or 

occurrence. The report shall include an estimated volume of the 

discharge. 

(b)  After an unauthorized discharge of oil, the owner or operator 

shall submit a report to the Secretary describing the actions taken 

to respond to and contain the release. In the event that a release 

cannot be contained within 24 hours after the owner or operator 

becomes aware, the owner or operator shall submit daily reports 

on the status of the response as directed by the Department until 

the discharge is contained. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.101; 

Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

 

TITLE 16 – STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

 

16 NCAC 06E .0204 INTERSCHOLASTIC 

ATHLETICS AND ADMINISTERING ORGANIZATIONS 

FOR HIGH SCHOOL ATHLETICS 

(a)  Definitions: 

(1) "Administering organization" is defined in G.S. 

115C-407.50(1). 

(2) "Participating school" is defined in G.S. 115C-

407.50(7). 

(3) "Public school unit" (PSU) is defined in G.S. 

115C-5(7a). 

(b)  PSUs are authorized to determine whether and to what extent 

students in grades 6 through 12 may participate in interscholastic 

athletics, provided students in grade 6 are not eligible to 

participate in tackle football. This Rule shall not apply to charter 

school athletic programs in kindergarten through grade 8. 

(c)  To participate in public school interscholastic athletics, a 

student shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) A student who attends a school supervised by a 

local board of education shall only participate 

in the school to which the student is assigned 

under G.S. 115C-366. A student enrolled in a 

charter, regional, statewide public school, or 

school operated by the University of North 

Carolina, shall meet all the enrollment criteria 

for that school and attend that school. If a 

student is over the age requirements for the 

school the student attends, the student may 

participate at the school to which the student 

would be assigned or attend at the next higher 

grade level. 

(2) A student shall meet the age requirements at 

each grade level to participate. PSUs shall 

determine the age of participating students 

based on a preponderance of the evidence 

known to them. A student ineligible to 

participate at one grade level due to age shall be 

eligible to participate at the next higher grade 

level only, provided no student shall be eligible 

to participate at the middle school level for a 

period lasting longer than six consecutive 

semesters, beginning with the student's entry 

into grade 6, and no student shall be eligible to 

participate at the high school level for more 

than eight consecutive semesters, beginning 

with the student's first entry into grade 9 or 

participation on a high school team, whichever 

occurs first. 

(A) A student shall not participate on a 

grade 6, 7, or 8 team if the student 

becomes 15 years of age on or before 

August 31 of that school year. 

(B) A student shall not participate on a 

grade 9 through 12 team if the student 

becomes 19 years of age on or before 

August 31 of that school year. 

(d)  To be eligible to participate during any semester in grades 6, 

7, or 8, the student shall have passed at least one less course than 

the number of required core courses the prior semester and meet 

promotion standards established by the PSU, provided a student 

who is promoted from grade 5 to grade 6 shall be deemed to have 

satisfied the requirement set forth in this Paragraph to participate 

in the first semester of grade 6. To be eligible to compete during 

any semester in grades 9 through 12, the student shall have passed 

at least five courses (or the equivalent for non-traditional school 

schedules) the prior semester and meet promotion standards 

established by the PSU, provided a student who is promoted from 

grade 8 to grade 9 shall be deemed to have satisfied the 

requirement set forth in this Paragraph to participate in the first 

semester of grade 9. 

(e)  To be eligible to participate, a student shall receive a medical 

examination every 395 days by a licensed physician, nurse 
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practitioner, or physician assistant, subject to the provisions of 

G.S. 90-9.1, G.S. 90-9.2, G.S. 90-9.3, G.S. 90-18.1, and G.S. 90-

18.2. 

(f)  A student shall not participate in interscholastic athletics after 

any of the following: 

(1) graduation, except that the student may 

continue to participate in playoff and state 

championship contests in spring sports after 

graduation; 

(2) signing a professional athletic contract, except 

that the student may continue to participate in 

any sport for which the student has not signed a 

professional contract; 

(3) receiving remuneration as a participant in an 

athletic contest, except that the student may 

accept a gift, merchandise, trophy, or other 

thing of value, provided: 

(A) the value does not exceed two hundred 

fifty dollars ($250.00) per student per 

sports season; 

(B) the item is totally consumable and 

nontransferable, or labeled in a 

permanent manner, for example, 

monogrammed or engraved items; and 

(C) the item is approved by the student's 

principal and superintendent; or 

(4) participating on an all-star team or in an all-star 

game that is not sanctioned by the 

administering organization of which the 

student's school is a member, provided the 

student shall be ineligible only for the specific 

sport involved. 

(g)  Each PSU shall require the principal of a school that 

participates in interscholastic athletics to sign and date a list of 

eligible students for each sport. The PSU shall maintain copy of 

the most current list in the principal's office and the office of the 

superintendent. 

(h)  A PSU shall impose at least the following penalties on a 

student, coach, or school official in grades 6 through 12 who is 

ejected from an interscholastic athletic contest: 

(1) for the first offense, the person shall be 

reprimanded and suspended from participating 

in the next game at that level of play (varsity or 

junior varsity);  

(2) for a second offense, the person shall be placed 

on probation and suspended from participating 

in for the next two games at that level of play 

(varsity or junior varsity);  

(3) for a third offense, the person shall be 

suspended for one calendar year; and 

(4) a coach who is suspended shall not coach any 

team for any grade level during the period of 

suspension. 

Penalties are cumulative from sport to sport and from sport season 

to sport season. If no member of the school's coaching staff is 

present to assume an ejected coach's duties, the contest shall be 

terminated by a forfeit. 

(i)  PSUs may allow their schools to belong to an administering 

organization designated by the State Board of Education.  

(j)  An administering organization that has entered into a 

memorandum of understanding with the State Board of Education 

for the purpose of administering interscholastic athletics under 

this Rule shall apply and enforce all of the requirements of this 

Rule. 

(k)  The State Board of Education shall delegate to an 

administering organization its authority over participating schools 

to: 

(1) waive any student eligibility requirement 

contained in this Rule, if it finds in a particular 

case that the requirement fails to promote 

academic progress, health, safety, and fair play, 

or it works an undue hardship on a student who 

has lost eligibility due to circumstances that 

made participation impossible such as 

prolonged illness or injury or if a waiver is 

necessary to reasonably accommodate a 

student's disability, as required under the 

Americans with Disabilities Act, U.S.C. 1201 

et seq.; 

(2) adopt, apply, and enforce penalty rules as 

defined in G.S. 115C-407.55(3) that establish a 

system of demerits that includes reprimands, 

probations, suspensions, forfeitures of contests, 

forfeitures of titles, and disqualifications; 

(3) adopt, apply, and enforce administrative rules, 

as defined in G.S. 115C-407.55(5); 

(4) adopt, apply, and enforce gameplay rules, as 

defined in G.S. 115C-407.55(6); and 

(5) establish and collect from all its members a 

uniform membership fee of either: 

(A) one thousand dollars ($1,000) for each 

participating school, or 

(B) one dollar ($1.00) for each student 

enrolled in a participating school. 

(l)  An administering organization shall: 

(1) enter into a memorandum of understanding 

with the State Board of Education no later than 

March 15 prior to the academic year in which it 

is to begin administering interscholastic 

athletics and no later than the March 15 before 

the expiration of an existing memorandum of 

understanding; 

(2) submit an audit report signed by an independent 

certified public accountant or accounting firm 

in good standing with the North Carolina State 

Board of Certified Public Accountant 

Examiners to the State Board of Education no 

later than March 15 each year; 

(3) broadcast the meetings of its membership and 

board of directors in a manner that is announced 

on its website and which may be viewed 

electronically by any member of the public; 

(4) provide to the State Board of Education within 

30 days any requested organizational records, 

such as, financial information, annual audit 

reports, and any matters related to or impacting 

participating schools; 
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(5) enter into written agreements with PSUs that 

allow their eligible schools to participate in 

interscholastic sports, which agreements shall 

include an explanation of the fees to be charged, 

the obligations of the PSU and participating 

schools, penalties for the violation of this Rule 

at the high school level that may be imposed, 

and an explanation of the process to contest or 

appeal adverse decisions; and 

(6) publish the organization's rules through a link 

on the home page of its website. 

(m)  The State Board of Education will appoint an appeals board 

to hear and act upon appeals from final decisions of an 

administering organization, or from the Department of Public 

Instruction if necessary pursuant to G.S. 115C-407.60(b), 

regarding student eligibility, penalties, fees imposed, retaliation, 

or discrimination. Panels of no fewer than three members of the 

appeals board may hear and decide matters on behalf of the board. 

A PSU aggrieved by a final decision of the administering 

organization may file an appeal with the State Board of 

Education's Office of General Counsel within five days after 

receipt of the administering organization's final decision. 

The final decision shall be mailed to the Superintendent or board 

of trustees of the PSU. 

(1) The administering organization's final decision 

shall contain: 

(A) findings of fact; 

(B) conclusions of law, including citation 

to any rules related to the decision; 

(C) a description of any penalties; and 

(D) a statement that the PSU may file a 

notice of appeal within five days of 

receipt of the administering 

organization's decision by mailing the 

notice to the State Board of 

Education's Office of General 

Counsel, 301 S. Wilmington Street, 

Raleigh, N.C. 27601, and emailing a 

copy of the notice of appeal to Office 

of General for the State Board of 

Education. 

(2) The PSU's appeal shall: 

(A) be in writing; 

(B) include a description of the facts of the 

dispute; 

(C) include any evidence submitted to the 

administering organization; and 

(D) present an argument explaining why 

the PSU believes the administering 

organization's final decision was not 

based on substantial evidence as 

defined in G.S. 150B-2(8c) or is 

affected by an error of law. 

(3) The administering organization may file a 

response to the PSU's submissions within five 

days. The panel may shorten the time for filing 

the administering organization's response if the 

decision affects a student's or coach's eligibility 

to participate in an intervening athletic contest. 

(4) All documents filed in the appeal shall be 

simultaneously served on all parties in the 

manner prescribed in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 5 of the 

North Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure. 

(5) Any hearing shall be recorded. 

(6) No later than 30 days after the State Board of 

Education's receipt of the appeal, a panel of the 

appeals board shall issue its decision. The panel 

shall affirm the administering organization's 

final decision unless a majority of the panel 

determines that the final decision is not 

supported by substantial evidence or is affected 

by an error of law. 

(7) The panel's decision shall be final. 

(n)  The PSU that has jurisdiction over a school may impose 

penalties in addition to those required by an administering 

organization. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12(12); 115C-12(23); 

115C-47(4); 115C-407.50, 115C-407.55; 115C-407.60; 115C-

407.65; 116-235(b); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. August 20, 2019; 

Eff. March 1, 2021; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2022; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2023. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 14 – BOARD OF COSMETIC ART 

EXAMINERS 

 

21 NCAC 14A .0101 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 88B-2, the following 

definitions apply in this Chapter: 

(1) "Beauty Establishment" refers to both cosmetic 

art schools and cosmetic art shops. 

(2) "Clean" is the removal of visible and surface 

debris, washing with soap and water, detergent 

or chemical cleaner that prepares non-porous 

items for disinfection and reduces the number 

and slows the growth of pathogens on both 

porous and non-porous surfaces. Cleaning does 

not make multi-use items safe for use. 

(3) "Cosmetology School" is any cosmetic art 

school that teaches cosmetic art as defined by 

G.S. 88B-2(5), but is not solely a manicurist or 

an esthetics school. 

(4) "Cosmetology Student" is a student in any 

cosmetic art school whose study is the full 

curriculum. 

(5) "Esthetician School" is any cosmetic art school 

that teaches only the cosmetic art of skin care. 

(6) "Esthetician Student" is a student in any 

cosmetic art school whose study is limited to 

the esthetician curriculum set forth in 21 NCAC 

14T .0604. 

(7) "Licensing cycle" shall be as follows: 
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(a) for cosmetologists, the licensing cycle 

is a three-year period beginning on the 

first day of October and ending on the 

third following first day of October 

and continuing thereafter in three year 

intervals; 

(b) for estheticians, natural hair care 

specialists and manicurists, the 

licensing cycle is one year in length 

beginning on the first day of October 

and ending on the next first day of 

October; 

(c) for teachers, the licensing cycle is a 

two-year period beginning on the first 

day of October of an even-numbered 

year and ending on the next first day 

of October of the next even-numbered 

year. 

(8) "Manicurist School" is a cosmetic art school 

that teaches only the cosmetic art of 

manicuring. 

(9) "Manicurist Student" is a student in any 

cosmetic art school whose study is limited to 

the manicurist curriculum set forth in 21 NCAC 

14T .0605. 

(10) "Natural hair care school" is a cosmetic art 

school that teaches only the cosmetic art of 

natural hair care. 

(11) "Natural hair care student" is a student in any 

cosmetic art school whose study is limited to 

the natural hair care curriculum set forth in 21 

NCAC 14T .0606. 

(12) "Porous" is a material that has minute spaces or 

holes through which liquid or air may pass such 

as paper, foam, and wood. Porous may also be 

called permeable, penetrable, or cellular. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1993; October 1, 1991; May 1, 1991; 

January 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2012; July 1, 2010; December 1, 2008; 

May 1, 2005; December 1, 2004; May 1, 2004; February 1, 2004; 

April 1, 2001; August 1, 2000; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; March 1, 2022; September 1, 2018; 

March 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 14H .0201 APPLICATION FOR SHOP 

LICENSE 

(a)  Rules in this Subchapter apply to all cosmetic art shops 

making initial application to operate a cosmetic art shop. 

(b)  Shops licensed prior to March 1, 2012 may choose to comply 

with Rules .0202, .0203(c), .0204 and .0301 of this Subchapter. 

(c)  Shops licensed prior to March 1, 2012 must comply with 

Rules .0201, .0203(a)-(b), .0302-.0304 and Sections .0400 and 

.0500 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  Shops licensed prior to March 1, 2012 that make any 

structural changes that change the physical layout or square 

footage must comply with all rules in this Subchapter. 

(e)  Persons desiring to open a cosmetic art shop, to change 

ownership of a cosmetic art shop, relocate or reopen a shop shall 

make application to the North Carolina State Board of Cosmetic 

Art Examiner on the Board's application form.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14; 88B-22; 

Eff. April 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 14H .0203 NEWLY ESTABLISHED SHOPS 

(a)  All cosmetic art shops shall be separate and apart from any 

building or room used for any other business or purpose, separated 

by a solid wall of at least seven feet in height and must have a 

separate outside entrance. 

(b)  A newly established cosmetic art shop, shall be separate and 

apart from any building or room used for living, dining or sleeping 

and shall be separate and apart from any other room used for any 

other purpose by a solid wall of ceiling height, making separate 

and apart rooms used for a cosmetic art shop. All entrances to the 

cosmetic art shop shall be through solid, full length doors installed 

in solid walls of ceiling height. 

(c)  A residential cosmetic art shop shall furnish bathroom 

facilities separate and apart from the residence. 

(d)  An entrance to a cosmetic art shop from a passageway, 

walkway, or mall area used only for access to the shop, or to the 

shop and other businesses, may be open. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14; 

Eff. April 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 14H .0401 LICENSEES AND STUDENTS 

(a)  For purposes of this Section, sanitation, as described in G.S. 

88B, is defined as "infection control." 

(b)  Notwithstanding Rule .0201 in this Subchapter, this Rule 

applies to licensees and students in practice in cosmetic art 

schools and shops. 

(c)  Each licensee and student shall wash his or her hands with 

soap and water immediately after using the restroom. Each 

licensee and student shall wash his or her hands with soap and 

water or use of a 62 percent to 70 percent alcohol-based hand 

sanitizer immediately before and after serving each client and at 

any point that the student or licensees hands become 

contaminated. 

(d)  Each licensee and student shall wear clean garments and shoes 

while serving patrons. 

(e)  Licensees or students shall not use or possess in a cosmetic 

art school or shop any of the following: 

(1) Methyl Methacrylate Liquid Monomer, a.k.a. 

MMA; 

(2) razor-type callus shavers, hollow needles, or 

blades;  
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(3) carbolic acid (phenol) over two percent 

strength; 

(4) animals including insects, fish, amphibians, 

reptiles, birds, or non-human mammals to 

perform any service; or 

(5) a variable speed electrical nail file unless it has 

been designed for use on a natural nail. 

(f)  A licensee or student shall not: 

(1) use any product, implement, or piece of 

equipment in any manner other than the 

product's, implement's, or equipment's intended 

use as described or detailed by the 

manufacturer; 

(2) treat any medical condition unless referred by a 

physician; 

(3) provide any service unless it falls within the 

license definition listed in G.S. 88B-2 and 

unless trained prior to performing the service; 

(4) perform services on a client if the licensee has 

reason to believe the client has any of the 

following: 

(A) fungus, lice, or nits; 

(B) an inflamed, infected, broken, raised, 

or swollen skin or nail tissue in the 

area to be worked on; or 

(C) an open wound or sore in the area to 

be worked on; 

(5) alter or duplicate a license issued by the Board; 

(6) advertise or solicit clients in any form of 

communication in a manner that is false or 

misleading. A violation of this prohibition is 

considered practicing or attempting to practice 

by fraudulent misrepresentation is set forth in 

21 NCAC 14P .0108; 

(7) cut or remove growths of skin including 

freckles, moles, warts, skin tags, corns, and 

calluses; 

(8) use any product or device that will penetrate the 

dermis; 

(9) make any statement to a member of the public, 

either verbally or in writing, stating or implying 

any action is required or forbidden by Board 

rules when such action is not required or 

forbidden by Board rules. A violation of this 

prohibition is considered practicing or 

attempting to practice by fraudulent 

misrepresentation is set forth in 21 NCAC 14P 

.0108; 

(10) Make any statement to a member of the public 

either verbally or in writing, stating or implying 

the licensee or student has completed training, 

licensure, or certification that the 

licensee/student does not hold or has not 

completed or not recognized by the Board or 

NC General Statutes. A violation of this 

prohibition is considered practicing or 

attempting to practice by fraudulent 

misrepresentation as set forth in 21 NCAC 14P 

.0108; 

(11) use or possess any product banned by the FDA. 

A list of banned products is available at 

www.fda.gov; or 

(12) use or possess any machine for a cosmetic art 

service that is not classified by the FDA. 

Machines that do not require classification by 

the FDA are exempt from this regulation. 

(g)  In using a disinfectant, the user shall wear any personal 

protective equipment, such as gloves, recommended by the 

manufacturer in the Safety Data Sheet. 

(h)  Licensees may only perform services specifically designated 

within their licensure field as defined by G.S. 88B-2. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14; 88B-24; 

Eff. April 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; March 1, 2013; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; September 1, 2020; October 1, 2019; 

March 1, 2019; March 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 14H .0402 COSMETIC ART SHOPS AND 

SCHOOLS 

(a)  Notwithstanding Rule .0201 in this Subchapter, this Rule 

applies to all cosmetic art schools and shops. A cosmetic art 

school or shop shall be kept clean. 

(b)  Waste material shall be kept in receptacles with a disposable 

liner. The area surrounding the waste receptacles shall be 

maintained in a sanitary manner. 

(c)  All doors and windows shall be kept clean. 

(d)  Furniture, equipment, floors, walls, ceilings, and fixtures must 

be clean and in good repair. 

(e)  Work surfaces used for resting dirty implements during 

service performances must be disinfected, before and after each 

service or be protected by a discardable or disinfectable barrier. 

Any barrier used for this purpose must be discarded, disinfected 

or laundered before and after each service. 

(f)  Animals or birds shall not be in a cosmetic art shop or school. 

Fish in an enclosure and animals trained for the purpose of 

accompanying disabled persons are exempt from the prohibition 

in this Paragraph. 

(g)  Cosmetic art shops and schools shall display the name of the 

shop or school and the suite number at the entrance by a sign or 

lettering. 

(h)  The owner of a cosmetic art shop or school shall not post any 

sign that states or implies that some action is required or forbidden 

by Board rules when such action is not required or forbidden by 

Board rules. A violation of this prohibition is considered 

practicing or attempting to practice by fraudulent 

misrepresentation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14; 88B-24; 

Eff. April 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2013; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023. 
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21 NCAC 14H .0403 DISINFECTION PROCEDURES 

(a)  Disinfectant, as applicable in this Subchapter, is defined as a 

disinfectant that is EPA registered as effective against: 

(1) bacteria including Staphylococcus aureus, 

MRSA, and pseudomonas aeruginosa; 

(2) viruses including HIV, Hepatitis B and C; 

(3) fungi including Trichophyton mentagrophytes; 

and 

(4) human coronavirus. 

(b)  Disinfectants that meet the requirements of Subparagraph 

(a)(1), (2), and (3) of this Rule may be used if they are listed on 

EPA list N as effective against pathogen SARS-CoV-2. 

(c)  Infection Control rules that apply to towels and cloths are as 

follows: 

(1) clean protective capes, drapes, linens, and 

towels shall be used for each patron; 

(2) after a protective cape has been in contact with 

a patron's neck it shall be placed in a clean, 

closed container until laundered with soap and 

hot water and dried in a heated dryer. Capes that 

cannot be laundered and dried in a heater dryer 

may be disinfected in accordance with the 

manufacturer directions; and 

(3) after a drape, linen, or towel has been in contact 

with a patron's skin it shall be placed in a clean, 

container until laundered with soap and hot 

water and dried in a heated dryer.  

(d)  Any paper or nonwoven protective drape or covering shall be 

discarded after one use. 

(e)  There shall be a supply of clean protective drapes, linens, and 

towels at all times. Wet towels used in services must be prepared 

fresh each day. Unused, prepared wet towels must be laundered 

daily. 

(f)  Clean drapes, capes, linens, towels and all other supplies shall 

be stored in a clean area. 

(g)  Bathroom facilities must be kept clean. 

(h)  All implements shall be cleaned and disinfected after each use 

in the following manner: 

(1) They shall be washed with warm water and a 

cleaning solution and scrubbed to remove 

debris and dried. 

(2) They shall be disinfected with disinfectant that 

is mixed and used according to the 

manufacturer's directions and manufacturer's 

contact time. They shall be rinsed with hot tap 

water and dried with a clean towel before their 

next use. They shall be stored in a clean, closed 

cabinet or container until they are needed.  

(3) If the implement is shears, a razor, or not 

immersible, it shall be cleaned by wiping it with 

a clean cloth moistened or sprayed with a 

disinfectant used in accordance with the 

manufacturer's directions. 

(i)  All disinfected non-electrical implements shall be stored in a 

clean, closed cabinet or clean, closed container. 

(j)  All disinfected electrical implements shall be stored in a clean 

area separate from other clean implements. 

(k)  Disposable and porous implements and supplies must be 

discarded after use or upon completion of the service. 

(l)  Product that comes into contact with the patron must be 

discarded upon completion of the service. 

(m)  Containers with open faces may be covered or closed with 

plastic wrapping. Disinfected implements must not be stored with 

any implement or item that has not been disinfected. Implements 

that have not been disinfected must be stored in a container and 

labeled as soiled. 

(n)  Lancets, disposable razors, and other sharp objects shall be 

disposed in puncture-resistant containers. 

(o)  All creams, lotions, wax, cosmetics, and other products 

dispensed to come in contact with patron's skin must be kept in 

clean, closed containers and must conform in all respects to the 

requirements of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act as set 

forth in PL 75-717.52 accessible at www.fda.gov. Any product 

apportioned for use and removed from original containers must be 

distributed in a sanitary manner that prevents contamination of 

product or container. Any product dispensed in portions into 

another container must be dispensed into a clean container and 

applied to patrons by means of a disinfected or disposable 

implement or other clean methods. Any product dispensed in 

portions not dispensed into another container must be used 

immediately and applied to patrons by means of a disinfected or 

disposable implement or other clean methods. No product 

dispensed in portions may be returned to the original container. 

(p)  As used in this Rule, "whirlpool" or "footspa" means any 

basin using circulating water. 

(q)  After use by each patron each whirlpool or footspa must be 

cleaned and disinfected as follows: 

(1) all water must be drained and all debris 

removed from the basin; 

(2) the basin must be disinfected by filling the basin 

with water and circulating a surfactant or 

enzymatic soap with a disinfectant used 

according to manufacturer's instructions 

through the unit for 10 minutes; 

(3) the basin must be drained and rinsed with clean 

water; and 

(4) the basin must be wiped dry with a clean towel. 

(r)  At the end of the day each whirlpool or footspa must be 

cleaned and disinfected as follows: 

(1) the screen must be removed and all debris 

trapped behind the screen removed; 

(2) the screen and the inlet must be washed with 

surfactant, enzymatic soap, or detergent and 

rinsed with clean water; 

(3) before replacing the screen it must be totally 

immersed in disinfectant in accordance to the 

manufacturer's instructions; 

(4) the inlet and area behind the screen must be 

cleaned with a brush and surfactant soap and 

water to remove all visible debris and residue; 

and 

(5) the spa system must be flushed with low 

sudsing surfactant, enzymatic soap, and warm 

water for at least 10 minutes and then rinsed and 

drained. 

(s)  A record must be made of the date and time of each cleaning 

and disinfecting as required by this Rule including the date, time, 

reason, and name of the staff member who performed the 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

37:21 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 1, 2023 

2081 

cleaning. This record must be made for each whirlpool or footspa 

and must be kept and made available for at least 90 days upon 

request by either a patron or inspector. 

(t)  The water in a vaporizer machine must be emptied daily and 

the unit disinfected daily after emptying. 

(u)  The area where services are performed that come in contact 

with the patron's skin including treatment chairs, treatment tables, 

and beds shall be disinfected between patrons. 

(v)  A manufacturers label for all products, cleaners, and 

disinfectant concentrate must be available at all times. If a 

concentrate bottle is emptied, it must remain available until a new 

bottle is available. 

(w)  When mixed disinfectant concentrate is placed in a secondary 

container such as a spray bottle, tub, or jar, that container must be 

labeled to indicate what chemical is in the container. SDS sheets 

must be available for all disinfectants in use at all times. 

(x)  Disinfectants must be stored and disposed of in accordance 

with all local, State, and federal requirements. 

(y)  The cabinet and supplies of a towel warmer machine must be 

emptied daily and the unit dried daily after emptying. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14; 

Eff. April 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; September 1, 2021; September 1, 

2020; October 1, 2019; March 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 14H .0501 INSPECTION OF COSMETIC 

ART SHOPS 

(a)  A newly established cosmetic art shop, or a shop which has 

changed ownership must file an application for licensure with the 

Board prior to opening. A newly established cosmetic art shop, a 

shop which has changed ownership or a shop which has been 

operating without a license shall be inspected before a license will 

be issued. 

(b)  Each cosmetic art shop must pass inspection by an agent of 

the Board pursuant to this Subchapter. Inspections shall be 

conducted annually and may be conducted without notice. 

(c)  Mobile cosmetic art shops and schools are prohibited. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14; 88B-27; 

Eff. April 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 14H .0503 SANITARY RATINGS AND 

POSTING OF RATINGS 

(a)  The sanitary rating of a beauty establishment shall be based 

on a system of grading outlined in this Subchapter. The Board's 

agent or inspector shall rate all beauty establishments based on the 

following grading scale: 

(1) all establishments receiving a rating of at least 

90 percent or more shall be awarded a grade A; 

(2) all establishments receiving a rating of at least 

80 percent, and less than 90 percent, shall be 

awarded grade B; 

(3) all establishments receiving a rating of at least 

70 percent and less than 80 percent shall be 

awarded grade C; and 

(4) any cosmetic art shop or school with a 

sanitation grade of below 70 percent shall be 

awarded a failed inspection notice. 

(b)  Every beauty establishment shall be inspected and graded by 

the Board's agent or inspector and given a sanitary rating. A 

cosmetic art school shall be graded no less than three times a year, 

and a cosmetic art shop shall be graded once a year. 

(c)  The sanitary rating or failed inspection notice given to a 

beauty establishment by the Board's agent or inspector shall be 

posted by the owner in plain sight near the front entryway at all 

times. 

(d)  All new establishments must be graded by the Board's agent 

or inspector and receive a rating of at least 90 percent before a 

license will be issued. 

(e)  The operation of a cosmetic art shop or school which fails to 

receive a sanitary rating of at least 70 percent (grade C) shall be 

sufficient cause for revoking or suspending the license. 

(f)  A re-inspection by the Board's agent or inspector for the 

purpose of raising the sanitary rating of a beauty establishment 

shall not be given within 30 days of the last inspection unless the 

rating at the last inspection was less than 80 percent. 

(g)  All cosmetic art shops and schools with a failed inspection 

report shall be sufficient cause for the immediate suspension of 

licensure. All cosmetic art shops and schools with a failed 

inspection report must close until the Board's agent or inspector 

has reinspected and the sanitation conditions have improved to be 

awarded a passing grade. 

(h)  A copy of the itemized and graded inspection report must be 

provided to the operator at the time of the inspection. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14; 88B-26; 

88B-27; 

Eff. April 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 14H .0504 SYSTEMS OF GRADING BEAUTY ESTABLISHMENTS 

The system of grading the sanitary rating of cosmetic art schools and shops based on the rules set out in this subchapter shall be as 

follows, setting out areas to be inspected and considered, and the maximum points given for compliance: 

 

Sanitation Point Value 

Each licensee and student shall wash his or her hands with soap and water or hand sanitizer with the active 

ingredient of 70 percent alcohol or higher before and after serving each client. 2 
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Each licensee and student shall wear clean garments and shoes while serving patrons. 2 

The cosmetic art facility shall be kept clean. 3 

Waste material shall be kept in receptacles with a disposable liner.  4 

All doors and windows shall be kept clean. 2 

Furniture, equipment, floors, walls, ceilings and fixtures shall be clean and in good repair. 3 

Clean protective capes, drapes, linens, and towels shall be used for each patron. 3 

After a cape, drape, linen, or towel has been in contact with a patron's skin, it shall be placed in a clean container 

until laundered with soap and hot water and dried in a heated dryer. 5 

Any paper or nonwoven protective drape or covering shall be discarded after one use. 2 

There shall be a supply of clean protective drapes, linens and towels at all times. 2 

Clean drapes, capes, linens, and towels shall be stored in a clean area. 5 

Bathroom facilities shall be kept clean. 3 

All implements shall be washed with warm water and a cleaning solution and scrubbed to remove debris and 

dried. 2 

All implements shall be disinfected per Rule .0403 of this Subchapter. 10 

All disinfected electrical implements shall be stored in a clean area. 2 

Disposable and porous implements and supplies shall be discarded after use or upon completion of the service. 10 

Any product that comes into contact with the patron shall be discarded upon completion of the service. 3 

Disinfected implements shall be kept in a clean closed cabinet or clean closed container and shall not be stored 

with any implement or item that has not been disinfected. 10 

Lancets, disposable razors, and other sharp objects shall be disposed in puncture-resistant containers. 1 

The presence of animals or birds shall be prohibited as set forth in Rule .0402 of this Subchapter. Fish in an 

enclosure and animals trained for the purpose of accompanying disabled persons are exempt. 1 

All creams, lotions, wax, cosmetics, and other products dispensed to come in contact with patron's skin shall be 

kept in clean, closed containers and dispensed with a clean implement. No product dispensed in portions shall 

be returned to the container. 10 

After each patron's use each whirlpool or footspa shall be cleaned and disinfected. 10 

The water in a vaporizer machine shall be emptied daily and the unit disinfected daily. 2 

The area where services are performed that come in contact with the patron's skin including chairs, tables, and 

beds shall be disinfected between patrons. 3 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14; 88B-23; 88B-26; 

Eff. April 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; September 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 14H .0505 RULE COMPLIANCE AND 

ENFORCEMENT MEASURES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14; 88B-

23; 88B-24; 88B-26; 88B-27; 88B-29; 

Eff. April 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2019; March 1, 2018; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 14P .0105 RENEWALS; EXPIRED 

LICENSES; LICENSES REQUIRED 

(a)  The presumptive civil penalty for operating a cosmetic art 

shop/school with an expired license or temporary permit is: 

(1) 1st offense  $100.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $250.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $500.00 

(b)  The presumptive civil penalty for practicing cosmetology, 

manicuring, esthetics, or natural hair care with an expired 

license is: 

(1) 1st offense  $ 50.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $100.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $250.00 

(c)  The presumptive civil penalty for allowing an apprentice or 

someone with a temporary permit to practice cosmetic art 

without direct supervision is: 

(1) 1st offense  $100.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $300.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $500.00 

(d)  The presumptive civil penalty for practicing in a cosmetic 

art shop with an apprentice license or a temporary permit 

without direct supervision is: 

(1) 1st offense  $100.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $300.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $500.00 

(e)  The presumptive civil penalty for teaching with an expired 

license is: 
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(1) 1st offense  $100.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $250.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $500.00 

(f)  The presumptive civil penalty for allowing a North Carolina 

cosmetic art graduate without a temporary permit to practice 

cosmetic art without direct supervision is: 

(1) 1st offense  $100.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $300.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $500.00 

(g)  The presumptive civil penalty for practicing in a cosmetic 

art shop with as a North Carolina cosmetic art graduate without 

a temporary permit is: 

(1) 1st offense  $100.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $300.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $500.00 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-7; 88B-11; 88B-

12; 88B-14; 88B-21; 88B-22; 88B- 23(a); 88B-24: 88B-29; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 1999; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2011; December 1, 2008; 

September 1, 2006; February 1, 2004; August 1, 2002; April 1, 

2001; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; December 1, 2016. 

 

21 NCAC 14P .0106 LICENSES REQUIRED 

(a)  The presumptive civil penalty for practicing cosmetic art 

without a license is: 

(1) 1st offense  $200.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $250.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $500.00 

(b)  The presumptive civil penalty for performing services 

which the practitioner is not licensed to perform is: 

(1) 1st offense  $100.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $250.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $500.00 

(c)  The presumptive civil penalty for practicing cosmetic art 

teaching without a license is: 

(1) 1st offense  $250.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $350.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $500.00 

(d)  The presumptive civil penalty for allowing an individual to 

perform services which the practitioner is not licensed to 

perform is: 

(1) 1st offense  $100.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $250.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $500.00 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-29; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 1999; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; July 1, 2010; December 1, 2008; 

August 1, 2002; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 14P .0108 REVOCATION OF LICENSES 

AND OTHER DISCIPLINARY MEASURES 

(a)  The presumptive civil penalty for allowing unlicensed 

practitioners to practice in a licensed cosmetic art shop is: 

(1) 1st offense  $500.00 per 

unlicensed practitioner 

(2) 2nd offense  $750.00 per 

unlicensed practitioner 

(3) 3rd offense  $1000.00 per 

unlicensed practitioner 

(b)  The presumptive civil penalty for practicing cosmetology, 

natural hair care, manicuring or esthetics with a license issued 

to another person is: 

(1) 1st offense  $500.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $800.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $1,000.00 

(c)  The presumptive civil penalty for altering a license, permit 

or authorization issued by the Board is: 

(1) 1st offense  $500.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $800.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $1000.00 

(d)  The presumptive civil penalty for submitting false or 

fraudulent documents is: 

(1) 1st offense  $500.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $800.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $1,000.00 

(e)  The presumptive civil penalty for refusing to present 

photographic identification is: 

(1) 1st offense  $100.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $250.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $500.00 

(f)  The presumptive civil penalty for permitting an individual 

to practice cosmetic art with an expired license is: 

(1) 1st offense  $ 50.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $100.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $250.00 

(g)  The presumptive civil penalty for practicing or attempting 

to practice by fraudulent misrepresentation is: 

(1) 1st offense  $500.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $800.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $1000.00 

(h)  The presumptive civil penalty for the illegal use or 

possession of equipment in a cosmetic art shop or school is: 

(1) 1st offense  $300.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $500.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $1000.00 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-24; 88B-29; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 1999; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2013; September 1, 2012; September 1, 

2011; July 1, 2010; December 1, 2008; January 1, 2006; April 

1, 2004; August 1, 2002; April 1, 2001; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023. 
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21 NCAC 14P .0111 ESTABLISHMENT OF 

COSMETIC ART SCHOOLS 

(a)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to provide 

minimum floor space or equipment and supplies as required by 

Subchapter 14T is: 

(1) 1st offense  $200.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $350.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $500.00 

(b)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to provide 

instruction at a ratio required in 21 NCAC 14T .0701 is: 

(1) 1st offense  warning 

($100.00) 

(2) 2nd offense  $250.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $500.00 

(c)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to report a change 

in the teaching staff as required in 21 NCAC 14T .0701 is: 

(1) 1st offense  warning ($50.00) 

(2) 2nd offense  $100.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $200.00 

(d)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to submit an 

application for the approval of a school in the case of a change 

of location or ownership as required in in 21 NCAC 14T .0706 

is: 

(1) 1st offense  $500.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $750.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $1000.00 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4(2); 88B-16; 88B-29; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 1999; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2012; July 1, 2010; February 1, 

2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; December 1, 2016. 

 

21 NCAC 14P .0113 OPERATIONS OF SCHOOLS 

OF COSMETIC ART 

(a)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to record student's 

hours of daily attendance per 21 NCAC 14T .0502 is: 

(1) 1st offense  warning 

($100.00) 

(2) 2nd offense  $200.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $300.00 

(b)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to report 

withdrawal or graduation of a student per 21 NCAC 14T .0502 

is: 

(1) 1st offense  warning ($50.00) 

(2) 2nd offense  $100.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $200.00 

(c)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to submit student 

enrollments per 21 NCAC 14T .0502 is: 

(1) 1st offense  warning ($50.00) 

(2) 2nd offense  $100.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $200.00 

(d)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to display a copy 

of the Infection Control rules is: 

(1) 1st offense  warning ($50.00) 

(2) 2nd offense  $100.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $200.00 

(e)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to post consumer 

sign "Cosmetic Art School - Work Done Exclusively by 

Students" per 21 NCAC 14T .0201 is: 

(1) 1st offense  warning ($50.00) 

(2) 2nd offense  $100.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $200.00 

(f)  The presumptive civil penalty for allowing a cosmetic art 

shop to operate within a cosmetic art school per 21 NCAC 14T 

.0201 is: 

(1) 1st offense  $200.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $400.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $600.00 

(g)  The presumptive civil penalty for a cosmetic art school that 

is not separated from a cosmetic art shop or other business by a 

solid wall, floor to ceiling, with a separate entrance and a door 

that stays closed at all times per 21 NCAC 14T .0201 is: 

(1) 1st offense  $200.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $400.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $600.00 

(h)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to have any 

student wear the required school uniform or identification per 

21 NCAC 14T .0613 is: 

(1) 1st offense  warning ($50.00) 

(2) 2nd offense  $100.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $200.00 

(i)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to renew or file 

school bond or bond alternative per G.S. 88B-17 is: 

(1) 1st offense  $200.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $400.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $600.00 

(j)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to maintain the 

student permanent file with required documents per 21 NCAC 

14T .0502 is: 

(1) 1st offense  warning ($50.00) 

(2) 2nd offense  $100.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $200.00 

(k)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to maintain 

records of daily hours of attendance documents per 21 NCAC 

14T .0502 is: 

(1) 1st offense  warning ($50.00) 

(2) 2nd offense  $100.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $200.00 

(l)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to maintain records 

of performances documents per 21 NCAC 14T .0502 is: 

(1) 1st offense  warning ($50.00) 

(2) 2nd offense  $100.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $200.00 

(m)  The presumptive civil penalty for allowing an unlicensed 

individual to instruct cosmetic art per 21 NCAC 14T .0701 is: 

(1) 1st offense  $500.00 

(2) 2nd offense  $750.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $1000.00 

(n)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to track and record 

the student progression in an online education course per 21 

NCAC 14T .0502 is: 

(1) 1st offense  warning ($50.00) 

(2) 2nd offense  $100.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $200.00 
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(o)  The presumptive civil penalty for allowing more than 50 

percent for teachers and 30 percent of all other courses to be 

done through online education per 21 NCAC 14T .0502 is: 

(1) 1st offense  warning ($50.00) 

(2) 2nd offense  $100.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $200.00 

(p)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to administer 

education as required in 21 NCAC 14T .0612(c) is:  

(1) 1st offense  warning ($50.00) 

(2) 2nd offense  $100.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $200.00 

(q)  The presumptive civil penalty altering the format, school 

name or school code on a Board form per 21 NCAC 14T .0502 

is: 

(1) 1st offense  warning ($50.00) 

(2) 2nd offense  $100.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $200.00 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17; 88B-

29; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 1999; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff August 1, 2014; September 1, 2012; July 1, 2010; 

December 1, 2008; April 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; October 1, 2019; December 1, 

2016. 

 

21 NCAC 14P .0116 CIVIL PENALTY 

PROCEDURES 

(a)  Citations. The Board, through its duly authorized 

representatives, shall issue a citation with respect to any 

violation for which a civil penalty may be assessed. Each 

citation shall be in writing and shall describe the nature of the 

violation, including a reference to the specific provision alleged 

to have been violated. The civil penalty, if any, shall attach at 

the time the citation is written. The citation shall include an 

order to correct any condition or violation which lends itself to 

corrections, as determined by the Board. 

(b)  Correction of Violation. Any licensee who has been issued 

a warning citation must present written proof satisfactory to the 

Board, or its executive director, that the violation has been 

corrected. This provision applies only to a licensee's first 

violation in any one year period for a violation with a first 

offense warning penalty. Proof of correction shall be presented 

to the Board, through its executive director, within 30 days of 

the date the warning citation was issued. The Board may extend 

for a reasonable period, the time within which to correct the 

warning citation in case of a death or hospitalization. Notices of 

correction filed after the prescribed date shall not be acceptable 

and the civil penalty shall be paid. 

(c)  Contested Case. Persons to whom a notice of violation or a 

citation is issued and a civil penalty assessed, may contest the 

civil penalty by filing written notice with the Board. The Board 

shall institute a contested case by sending a notice of hearing 

pursuant to G.S. 150B, Article 3A. The issuance of notice of 

hearing shall stay the civil penalty until the Board renders a 

final agency decision in the contested case. 

(d)  Final Agency Decision. The Board, after the hearing has 

been concluded, may affirm, reduce, or dismiss the charges 

filed in the notice of hearing or any penalties assessed. In no 

event shall the civil penalty be increased. 

(e)  Failure to File. If no written notice contesting the civil 

penalty is filed as set forth in Paragraph (c), the civil penalty 

becomes a final agency decision. 

(f)  Any offender who has not committed a previously cited 

offense for which a civil penalty has been assessed for a three 

year period after the last penalty payment is complete shall have 

his record of the specific offense cleared. The next subsequent 

violation shall be treated as a first offense. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-29; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 1999; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 14P .0117 RULE COMPLIANCE AND 

ENFORCEMENT MEASURES 

(a)  The use of or possession of the following products or 

equipment in a school or shop shall result in civil penalty in the 

amount of three hundred dollars ($300.00) per container of 

product or piece of equipment: 

(1) Methyl Methacrylate Liquid Monomer a.k.a. 

MMA; or 

(2) razor-type callus shavers, hollow needles or 

blades. 

(b)  The use of or possession of the following in a school or 

shop shall result in civil penalty in the amount of one hundred 

dollars ($100.00) per use or possession: 

(1) animals including insects, fish, amphibians, 

reptiles, birds, or non-human mammals to 

perform any service; or 

(2) variable speed electrical nail file unless it has 

been designed for use on the natural nail. 

(c)  The action of any student or licensee to violate the Board 

rules in the following manner shall result in civil penalty in the 

amount of one hundred dollars ($100.00) per instance of each 

action: 

(1) use of any product, implement, or piece of 

equipment in any manner other than the 

product's, implement's, or equipment's 

intended use as described or detailed by the 

manufacturer; 

(2) treatment of any medical condition unless 

referred by a physician; 

(3) use of any product or device that will 

penetrate the dermis; 

(4) provision of any service unless trained prior 

to performing the service; 

(5) performance of services on a client if the 

licensee has reason to believe the client has 

any of the following: 

(A) fungus, lice, or nits; 
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(B) inflamed infected, broken, raised, or 

swollen skin or nail tissue in the area 

to be worked on; or 

(C) an open wound or sore in the area to 

be worked on; 

(6) alteration of or duplication of a license issued 

by the Board; 

(7) advertisement or solicitation of clients in any 

form of communication in a manner that is 

false or misleading; or 

(8) cut growths of skin including skin tags, corns, 

and calluses. 

(d)  The failure to record the date and time of each cleaning and 

disinfecting of a footspa in a cosmetic art school or shop as 

required by this Subchapter including the date, time, reason, 

and name of the staff member who performed the cleaning or 

the failure to keep or make such record available for at least 90 

days upon request by either a patron or inspector shall result in 

civil penalty in the amount of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per 

footspa. 

(e)  The failure to clean and disinfect a footspa in a cosmetic art 

shop or school as required by this Subchapter shall result in civil 

penalty in the amount of one hundred dollars ($100.00) per 

footspa. 

(f)  The failure to maintain in a cosmetic art shop and school 

antiseptics, gloves or finger guards, and sterile bandages 

available to provide first aid shall result in civil penalty in the 

amount of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per item. 

(g)  The failure to maintain in a cosmetic art shop or school a 

sink with hot and cold running water separate from restrooms 

shall result in civil penalty in the amount of one hundred dollars 

($100.00). 

(h)  The failure to provide ventilation at all times in the areas 

where patrons are serviced in cosmetic art shops and schools 

shall result in civil penalty in the amount of twenty-five dollars 

($25.00). 

(i)  The failure to maintain equipment and supplies necessary to 

perform any cosmetic art service offered in the shop or school 

shall result in civil penalty in the amount of one hundred dollars 

($100.00). 

(j)  The failure to maintain a sanitation grade of 80 percent or 

higher shall result in a civil penalty in the amount of two 

hundred dollars ($200.00). 

(k)  Repeated violations of the rules in this Rule exceeding three 

written notifications of any one rule documented to any one 

individual, shop, or school shall result in a mandatory 

disciplinary hearing in accordance with 21 NCAC 14C. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14; 88B-

23; 88B-24; 88B-26; 88B-27; 88B-29; 

Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0101 SCOPE AND DEFINITIONS 

(a)  These Rules apply to existing and new schools as follows: 

(1) Rules in this Subchapter apply to all cosmetic 

art schools making initial application to 

operate a cosmetic art school after the 

effective date of these Rules. 

(2) Schools with a letter of approval dated prior 

to the effective date of the rules in this 

Subchapter may choose to comply with 

Section .0100 and .0200, Rules .0302-.0305 

of this Subchapter. 

(3) Schools with a letter of approval dated prior 

to the effective date of the rules in this 

Subchapter must comply with Rule .0301, 

Section .0400, Rules .0602-.0610, .0614, and 

.0615 of this Subchapter upon the enrollment 

of students after the effective date of these 

Rules. 

(4) Schools with a letter of approval dated prior 

to the effective date of the rules in this 

Subchapter must comply with Rules .0501, 

.0502, .0601, .0611-.0613, .0616, .0901 upon 

the effective date of the rules in this 

Subchapter. 

(b)  The following definitions apply to this Subchapter: 

(1) "Client consultation" is the review and 

discussion of client needs and preferences, 

assessment of client skin, hair, and nails, and 

assessment of product reactions. 

(2) "Clinic" is the area for performance of all 

cosmetic art services. The clinic may also be 

used for practice. 

(3) "Conceptual Education" consists of lectures, 

research, reading, online learning, videos, 

instructional clips, and other non-tactile 

forms of instruction. 

(4) "Demonstration" is when a teacher shows the 

hands-on systematic completion of the steps 

for a safe and effective cosmetic art service. 

(5) "Evaluation" is the assessment of a student's 

independent completion of a practice or 

performance evaluation plan by a teacher. 

(6) "Evaluation plan" is a document that outlines 

the infection control, tool safety, draping, 

safe application, and steps for systematic 

completion of a cosmetic art service. 

(7) "Guided practice" is when a teacher and 

student work together on systematic 

completion of the steps for a safe and 

effective cosmetic art service. 

(8) "Guided theory" is when a teacher lectures, 

instructs, and coaches the factual basis for 

mechanical operations performed in cosmetic 

art services. 

(9) "Hands-on Education" is the repeated 

physical completion of practice and 

performances, to provide students with the 

tactile interaction of different hair, skin, nail 

types and shapes for the purpose of providing 

experience to safe and effective cosmetic art 

services despite variable circumstances. 

(10) "Independent Theory" is the student study of 

the factual basis for mechanical operations 

performed in cosmetic art services. 
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(11) "Online instruction" is off-site conceptual 

education. 

(12) "Performance" is the hands-on execution of 

the systematic completion of the steps for a 

safe and effective cosmetic art service on a 

live individual by a student. Performance is 

monitored during the execution and checked 

by a teacher upon completion for the purpose 

of pointing out errors in order that the errors 

may be corrected. 

(13) "Performance station" for each cosmetic art 

discipline consists of: 

(A) cosmetology – hydraulic styling 

chair, mirror, and work space for 

supplies; 

(B) manicuring – manicuring table, 

client chair, and student chair; 

(C) esthetics – reclining facial treatment 

table with leg support and student 

stool, work space for supplies; and 

(D) natural hair care - hydraulic styling 

chair, mirror, and work space for 

supplies. 

(14) "Practice" is the independent hands-on 

execution of the systematic completion of the 

steps for a safe and effective cosmetic art 

service on a mannequin by a student. Practice 

is monitored during the execution and 

checked by a teacher upon completion for the 

purpose of pointing out errors in order that 

the errors may be corrected. 

(15) "Practice station" is a minimum of 24 inches 

deep by 36 inches wide of workspace surface 

in an area with hot and cold running water. 

(16) Required Evaluations" are mannequin 

practice evaluations that must be passed prior 

to student performances on a live model. The 

list of required evaluations is specific to each 

discipline and established in rules 21 NCAC 

14T .0602-.0606. 

(17) "Safe and effective" is the completion of the 

systematic steps for a cosmetic art service 

following infection control regulations, 

manufacturer's instructions, and equipment 

handling. 

(18) "Service" is the action of hands-on systematic 

steps for the safe and effective completion of 

a cosmetic art procedure that alters the hair, 

skin, or nails. 

(19) "Theory" is the factual basis for mechanical 

operations performed in cosmetic art 

services. 

(20) "Tool safety" is the factual basis for the safe 

handling and operation of any tool or device 

used in a cosmetic art service. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-

17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0102 NEW SCHOOL 

APPLICATIONS 

(a)  Persons desiring to operate a cosmetic art school in the state 

of North Carolina shall make application for licensure by 

submitting to the Board the Board's School Application. The 

Board's School Application shall include: 

(1) School name; 

(2) Cosmetic Art discipline(s) to be taught; 

(3) Physical address and mailing address; 

(4) Phone number; 

(5) Email address; 

(6) Ownership type; 

(7) Reason for application; 

(8) Owner name; 

(9) School contact person with phone number 

and email address; and 

(10) List of teachers with cosmetic art license 

number. 

(b)  School application forms must be submitted along with 

supporting documents as follows: 

(1) Proof of bond as required by G.S. 88B-17; 

(2) Diagram with location of equipment 

placement and marking square footage of all 

areas including classrooms, dispensary, 

water supplies, stations, locker room or 

dressing room, office areas, reception areas, 

and restroom facilities; 

(3) Course curriculum and required evaluation 

plans for each cosmetic art discipline and 

teacher trainee program to be taught in the 

school; 

(4) Plans for record keeping for compliance with 

21 NCAC 14T .0502;  

(5) The qualifications for passing required 

evaluations and techniques for grading of 

performances; 

(6) Handbook for students containing student 

policies on attendance, leave of absence 

policy, performance assignment, and a plan 

for instruction of students to achieve the 

required minimum hours, practice, and 

performances per 21 NCAC 14T .0602 

through .0610 and any additional academic 

requirements established by the school; 

(7) A raised seal identifying the school name and 

physical location to be used on all Board 

forms, reports, and other official papers; 

(8) Documentation of local municipality fire, 

mechanical code, occupancy, electrical and 

plumbing approval; 

(9) School operation schedule including days, 

hours, and observed holidays; and 

(10) Signed statement that the school owner has 

read and understands the Board's rules in this 

Subchapter. 
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(c)  The Board shall not approve an application for a license 

until all plans, furniture, supplies and equipment as prescribed 

by the rules in this Subchapter have been installed. 

(d)  The Board shall issue a license to any cosmetic art school 

that meets the requirements of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; March 1, 2022; October 1, 2019; 

December 1, 2016. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0201 ALL COSMETIC ART 

SCHOOLS 

(a)  Cosmetology schools must have the following physical 

departments: 

(1) Practice Department – a minimum of 200 

square feet with practice stations to 

accommodate at least 10 students. 

(2) Clinic Department – a minimum of 1200 

square feet of clinic floor with performance 

stations for performance of all cosmetic art 

services. Within the clinic area each school 

shall have: 

(A) 48 inches of space from the center to 

the center of each styling chair, 

esthetics table or manicuring table; 

(B) 24 inches from the center of the 

chair forward; 

(C) 48 inches from the backrest behind 

the chair to any other styling chair, 

reclining or flat facial treatment 

table with leg support or manicuring 

table; and 

(D) at least 30 inches of space from the 

back of each styling chair, reclining 

or flat facial treatment table to the 

wall of the school. 

(3) Dispensary – a room or area to organize and 

maintain supplies, equipment for disinfection 

of all implements and a plumbed sink with 

hot and cold running water. All cosmetic art 

schools must have the required equipment to 

carry out disinfection procedures per 21 

NCAC 14H .0403 and .0404; 

(4) Theory classroom – classroom with a 

minimum of 300 square feet including desks 

and chairs for each student. 

(5) Office – administrative office with a locking 

door for the secure and locked facilitation of 

student records and files. This office shall be 

outfitted with a locking cabinet, electronic 

office equipment suitable for scanning, 

printing and secure document storage and a 

minimum of one desk and one chair; 

(6) Reception area – a reception area for clients 

to wait prior to receiving services; 

(7) Break room for student use; 

(8) Restrooms for student, school personnel, and 

school customer use; 

(9) Locker or room for students to secure and 

lock personal belongings throughout the day; 

and 

(10) All stations as defined in Rule .0302 of this 

Subchapter must be numbered numerically. 

(b)  Manicuring, esthetics and natural hair care schools must 

have the following physical departments: 

(1) Clinic Department – the clinic floor with 

performance stations for performance of all 

cosmetic art services. Within the clinic area 

each school shall have: 

(A) 48 inches of space from the center to 

the center of each styling chair, 

esthetics table or manicuring table; 

(B) 24 inches from the center of the 

chair forward; 

(C) 48 inches from the backrest behind 

the chair to any other styling chair, 

reclining or flat facial treatment 

table with leg support or manicuring 

table; and 

(D) at least 30 inches of space from the 

back of each styling chair or 

reclining or flat facial treatment 

table with leg support to the wall of 

the school. 

(2) Dispensary – a room or area to organize and 

maintain supplies, equipment for disinfection 

of all implements, and a plumbed sink with 

hot and cold running water. All cosmetic art 

schools shall have the required equipment to 

carry out disinfection procedures per 21 

NCAC 14H .0403 and .0404; 

(3) Theory/practice classroom – a room or area 

with equipment for theory training 

appropriate to both practical and theory 

learning including practice stations and 

chairs.  

(4) Office – administrative office with a locking 

door for the secure and locked facilitation of 

student records and files. This office shall be 

outfitted with a locking cabinet, electronic 

office equipment suitable for scanning, 

printing and secure document storage and a 

minimum of one desk and one chair; 

(5) Reception area – a reception area for clients 

to wait prior to receiving services; 

(6) Break room for student use; 

(7) Restrooms for student, school personnel, and 

school customer use; 

(8) Locker or room for students to secure and 

lock personal belongings throughout the day; 

and 

(9) All stations as defined in Rule .0304 of this 

Subchapter must be numbered numerically. 

(c)  Each cosmetic art school must display a sign in the 

reception area meeting the requirements of this Paragraph. The 
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sign cannot be smaller than 12 inches by 18 inches, with 

lettering at least one and one half inches in size and must read 

as follows: "Cosmetic Art School Work Done Exclusively by 

Students." 

(d)  Each of the requirements listed within this Rule must be 

located within the same building with the exception of the 

theory classroom, which may be located in an adjacent building 

or another building within 500 feet of the main cosmetic art 

building and a proctored examination center, which may be 

located on the school campus. Theory classrooms located in an 

adjacent building or another building within 500 feet of the 

main cosmetic art building shall not be used for student 

practice. 

(e)  All Cosmetic Art schools must post hours of operation per 

cosmetic art discipline and submit this information to the 

Board. Any changes to the hours of operation must be posted 

and submitted to the Board. A school shall be considered open 

by the Board when cosmetic art instruction, services, or 

performances are provided. 

(f)  Cosmetic art schools may not offer student hours, practice, 

or performances unless they are in compliance with Paragraph 

(a) or (b) of this Rule. 

(g)  All cosmetic art schools must adhere to any federal, state 

and local government regulation or ordinance regarding fire 

safety codes, mechanical codes, plumbing, and electrical work. 

(h)  All cosmetic art schools must maintain a ventilation system 

with temperature control. During school operating hours the 

temperature must be maintained between 60 and 85 degrees 

Fahrenheit. 

(i)  All equipment in cosmetic art schools shall be in working 

order; kept in repair; and installed in such a manner as to 

facilitate usage. 

(j)  All cosmetic art school buildings shall be maintained. 

Maintenance includes the safe and working condition of the 

physical building, furniture, equipment and supplies. 

(k)  All cosmetic art schools must maintain a bulletin board in 

sight of the clinic floor. The bulletin board shall be used to 

display at all times the Board Infection Control rules in 21 

NCAC 14H .0200, .0300, .0400, and .0500 and the sanitation 

grade card issued to the school. 

(l)  All cosmetic art schools must post together the school letter 

of approval, the school license, and all cosmetic art licenses 

issued to the teachers on staff. 

(m)  Each room in a cosmetic art school must be labeled 

according to its assigned purpose. 

(n)  If a school and shop are located in the same building, they 

must be separated by a solid wall of at least seven feet in height; 

separate restrooms, separate entrances and visitor reception 

areas shall be maintained. If a school and another business are 

located in the same building, they must be separated by a solid 

wall of at least seven feet in height; separate entrances and 

visitor reception areas shall be maintained. If the restroom is in 

a common area of the building a separate restroom need not be 

provided. 

(o)  All schools and shops shall have separate public 

information releases, advertisements, names, and advertising 

signs. 

(p)  A cosmetic art school must maintain space and equipment 

appropriate to both practical and theory learning, including 

desks, chairs, and station requirements so that each student in 

attendance has a location within which to complete assigned 

tasks. Each station or desk space shall be designated for only 

one student at a time. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-

17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; March 1, 2022; September 1, 

2021; October 1, 2019; January 1, 2016. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0202 COSMETOLOGY SCHOOLS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-

17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0301 EQUIPMENT FOR ALL 

COSMETIC ART SCHOOLS 

(a)  All cosmetic art schools shall maintain for student use, in a 

dispensary, supplies for all cosmetic art services in the school. 

Simulated products may be used for demonstrations and 

practice. Simulated products may not be used for required 

evaluation plan assessments with the exception of sodium 

hydroxide relaxers. 

(b)  All cosmetic art schools shall maintain equipment for 

student use for all cosmetic art services offered and for all 

required evaluations in the school. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-

17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; March 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0302 EQUIPMENT FOR 

COSMETOLOGY SCHOOLS 

(a)  The practice department in a cosmetology school shall be 

equipped with the following equipment: 

(1) One shampoo bowl with hot and cold running 

water and chair; 

(2) Visual aids; and 

(3) One practice station to accommodate each 

student in the practice department. 

(b)  The clinic department in a cosmetology school shall be 

equipped with the following for up to 40 students in the 

department: 

(1) 20 stations. Each station shall include one 

mirror, one electrical outlet, and one 

hydraulic chair; 

(2) Four hooded floor type dryers and chairs; 

(3) Four shampoo bowls with hot and cold 

running water and chairs. 
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(A) each side approach shampoo bowl 

shall be at least 40 inches apart, 

center of bowl to center of bowl; 

(B) each free standing shampoo bowl 

shall be at least 31 inches apart, 

center of bowl to center of bowl; 

(C) all other types of shampoo bowls 

shall be at least 31 inches apart, 

center of bowl to center of bowl; 

(4) Two manicure tables and stools; 

(5) One pedicure station that shall include a 

chair, a foot bath, and a stool; and 

(6) One reclining or flat facial treatment table 

with leg support and a stool; and 

(7) One facial vaporizer. 

(c)  The clinic department in a cosmetology school shall be 

equipped with the following equipment if there are more than 

40 enrolled advanced students: 

(1) One station for each additional two students; 

(2) One shampoo bowl with hot and cold running 

water for each additional 20 students; and 

(3) One reclining or flat facial treatment table 

with leg support or chair for each additional 

60 students. 

(d)  Cosmetology schools that also offer the disciplines of 

esthetics, and manicuring shall be equipped with one additional 

station (as defined in this section per discipline) per two 

students and the equipment requirements specific to the 

discipline. 

(e)  The theory department in a cosmetology school shall be 

equipped with desks and chairs. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-

17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; January 1, 2016. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0303 EQUIPMENT FOR 

ESTHETICS SCHOOLS 

(a)  The practice department in an esthetics school shall be 

equipped with one mannequin practice table or stand to 

accommodate each student in the practice department. If the 

practice department is separate from the clinic, in another room 

with a door, the practice department must also have one hand 

washing sink with hot and cold running water, separate from 

restrooms. 

(b)  The clinic department in an esthetics school shall be 

equipped with the following for up to 20 students: 

(1) Ten stations: a station shall include a 

reclining facial treatment table with leg 

support and one stool; 

(2) a waste container at each station; 

(3) One facial vaporizer; 

(4) One galvanic current apparatus; 

(5) One infra-red lamp; 

(6) One woods lamp or skin scope; 

(7) One magnifying lamp; 

(8) One hard wax hair removal system; 

(9) One soft wax system; 

(10) One pore vacuum machine; 

(11) Two stations with electrical outlet; 

(12) One exfoliation machine with brushes; and 

(13) One plumbed hand washing sink with hot and 

cold running water, separate from restrooms. 

(c)  The clinic department in an esthetics school shall be 

equipped with the following if there are more than 20 enrolled 

students: 

(1) One station for each additional two students: 

a station shall include one reclining facial 

treatment table with leg support and one 

stool; and 

(2) Two plumbed hand washing sinks with hot 

and cold running water, separate from 

restrooms. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-

17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; January 1, 2016. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0304 EQUIPMENT FOR 

MANICURING SCHOOLS 

(a)  The practice department in a manicuring school shall be 

equipped with one mannequin practice table or stand to 

accommodate each student enrolled in the practice department. 

If the practice department is separate from the clinic, in another 

room with a door, the practice department must also have one 

hand washing sink with hot and cold running water, separate 

from restrooms. 

(b)  The clinic department in a manicuring school shall be 

equipped with the following for up to 20 students: 

(1) Two plumbed hand washing sinks with hot 

and cold running water, separate from 

restrooms, located in or adjacent to the clinic 

area; 

(2) Ten manicuring tables with two chairs per 

table; 

(3) Ten pedicure chairs and basins; 

(4) Two stations with electrical outlet; 

(5) A waste container at each station; and 

(6) A covered container for soiled or disposable 

towels located in the clinic area. 

(c)  The clinic department in a manicuring school shall be 

equipped with the following if there are more than 20 enrolled 

students: 

(1) One station for each additional two students, 

a station shall include one manicuring table 

and two chairs; and 

(2) Two plumbed hand washing sinks with hot 

and cold running water, separate from 

restrooms. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-

17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; January 1, 2016. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0305 EQUIPMENT FOR NATURAL 

HAIR CARE STYLING SCHOOLS 

(a)  The practice department in a natural hair care styling school 

shall be equipped with the following: 

(1) Styling equipment for the purpose of natural 

hair care; 

(2) Visual aids; and 

(3) Practice station to accommodate each 

student. 

(4) If the practice department is separate from the 

clinic, in another room with a door, the 

practice department must also have one hand 

washing sink with hot and cold running 

water, separate from restrooms. 

(b)  The clinic department in a natural hair care styling school 

shall be equipped with the following for up to 16 students: 

(1) Two shampoo bowls and chairs as follows: 

(A) each side approach shampoo bowl 

shall be 40 inches apart center of 

bowl to center of bowl; and 

(B) each free standing shampoo bowl 

shall be 31 inches apart center of 

bowl to center of bowl; 

(2) Eight stations. A station shall include one 

mirror and one hydraulic chair; 

(3) One station with electrical outlet; 

(4) One hooded floor type dryer; and 

(5) Styling equipment for the purpose of natural 

hair care. 

(c)  The clinic department in a natural hair care styling school 

shall be equipped with an additional station for every two 

students if there are more than 16 enrolled students. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-

17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0502 PERMANENT RECORDS, 

FORMS, AND DOCUMENTATION 

(a)  Cosmetic art schools must maintain locked storage for the 

permanent files of all enrolled students and students who have 

withdrawn or graduated together in one room within the 

approved square footage of the cosmetic art school. Withdrawal 

and graduation forms reviewed by the Board or an agent of the 

Board may be removed from this and stored in accordance with 

Paragraph (i) of this Rule. The permanent file shall include a 

copy of: 

(1) All Board Enrollment Forms with student 

original signature; 

(2) Documentation of student receipt of 

evaluation plans, school policies, school 

handbook, school and student contract; the 

Board Infection Control rules as set forth in 

21 NCAC 14H .0200, .0300, .0400, and 

.0500 and 21 NCAC 14I .0401, and 21 

NCAC 14T .0612 and .0703. 

(3) Social security card for any individual who 

has a social security number or tax ID card or 

Department of Homeland Security ID;  

(4) Government issued photo ID and proof of 

date of birth; 

(5) Documentation of field trip hours, grades for 

all required evaluation plans with date of 

completion and teacher signature.  

(6) Documentation for any leave of absence over 

30 days. Documentation shall include an 

anticipated return date and updated notes 

every 30 days if the return date exceeds the 

anticipated return date; 

(7) Transfer of hours form documenting hours 

earned in other schools for hours accepted by 

current school;  

(8) All Board Withdrawal Forms; 

(9) Internship Form; and 

(10) Graduation Form. 

(b)  The school shall keep onsite, records for all enrolled 

students: 

(1) daily attendance in school; 

(2) daily online hours; 

(3) daily field trip hours;  

(4) weekly guided theory and demonstration; 

(5) weekly subtotal of attendance in school; 

(6) weekly subtotal of online hours; 

(7) running grand total of all earned hours 

through the prior week; and 

(8) performances; 

(c)  Upon withdrawal or graduation the daily records, weekly 

subtotals, and grand total shall be placed in the student's 

permanent file. 

(d)  When a student enrolled in a cosmetic art school withdraws 

from the school, the cosmetic art school shall report the 

withdrawal to the Board. 

(e)  If a student withdraws from a cosmetic art discipline within 

the first five days, the school need not submit the enrollment to 

the Board. The unsubmitted enrollment must be maintained in 

the student file until reviewed by the Board or an agent of the 

Board after which, it may be removed. 

(f)  The graduation form documentation must be signed by on 

site school staff or on site school administrators and must have 

the seal of the school affixed. The original graduation form 

documentation must be prepared on the Board form and shall 

indicate that the applicable requirement of this Chapter have 

been met. The cosmetic art school shall securely submit the 

graduation form to the Board at the Board's address set forth in 

Rule 14A .0104 or submit the graduation form via the Board's 



APPROVED RULES 

 

 

37:21 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 1, 2023 

2092 

school documents portal at www.nccosmeticarts.com within 30 

days of the student's graduation date. 

(g)  All forms submitted to the Board must be sealed originals 

or a digital scan of sealed originals and a copy shall be 

maintained in the school permanent file storage. Except for 

student signatures, all forms submitted to the Board must be 

completed by on site school staff or on site school 

administrators. Board forms shall be used for the sole purpose 

of documenting to the Board student records and shall not be 

used to notify students of enrollment, transfer of hours, 

withdrawal, or graduation. 

(h)  Changes or corrections made by the school to any Board 

form must be submitted to the Board with supporting 

documentation. 

(i)  All cosmetic art schools must maintain on file at the school 

an original daily record of enrolled students' hours and 

performances. This record must be kept in a secured location 

under lock and key but made available for review by the Board 

or its agent at any time. 

(j)  All records kept by a cosmetic art school on a student who 

has withdrawn or graduated must be kept in the school's locked 

files for future reference until the date the student is accepted 

for the Board examination or five years after the date the student 

first enrolled in the school, whichever occurs earlier. Forms 

reviewed by the Board or an agent of the Board may be removed 

from this room. 

(k)  The record of all hours and performance evaluation plans 

must be documented in writing. Credit issued to students that 

cannot be verified shall be eliminated from the student record 

by an agent of the Board. 

(l)  Access to student records must be limited to agents of the 

Board, teachers, and administrators of the school. Electronic 

versions of student records must be kept secure and may only 

be accessed through school authorized equipment. Personal 

devices may not be used to access student records. Records 

shall not be altered offsite. Records that are altered must be 

altered onsite and must have documentation supporting the 

change attached. The format, school name, and school code on 

Board forms cannot be altered. 

(m)  All individuals in a cosmetic art school receiving cosmetic 

art education, earning hours, or performing or practicing 

cosmetic art services must be enrolled in the school. 

(n)  Only teachers reported to the Board as employees of a 

cosmetic art school may grade evaluation plans. Only on site 

teachers, on site school administrators, or on site school staff 

shall record student hours grade examinations, and determine 

completion and record credit.  

(o)  Minimum scores required for examinations and the 

successful completion of practice or performances as 

determined through the school's evaluation plan that is 

approved by the Board at the time of application shall be 

disclosed to students at the time of enrollment. Teachers must 

use the evaluation plan approved by the Board to assess student 

competency. Passing grades and performances shall not be 

credited to students who fail to meet the requirements of the 

evaluation plan. 

(p)  The names of students with unsatisfied academic 

obligations shall not be submitted to the Board as graduates but 

may be submitted as withdrawn. 

(q)  Cosmetic art schools shall not prevent the graduation of 

students who have met the Board minimum requirements and 

passed all school academic requirements. 

(r)  Records of hours must be rounded to no more than the 

nearest quarter hour. Cosmetic art schools shall not give or 

deduct hours or performances as rewards or penalties. 

(s)  An applicant shall receive credit for instruction taken in 

another state if the applicant's record is certified by the state 

agency or department that issues licenses to practice in the 

cosmetic arts. If this agency or department does not maintain 

any student records or if the state does not give license to 

practice in the cosmetic arts, then the records may be certified 

by any state department or state agency that does maintain such 

records and is willing to certify their accuracy. If no state 

department or board will certify the accuracy of the student's 

records, then the Board shall review the student's records for 

validity on a case-by-case basis using the documentation 

provided by the out-of-state school and submitted to the Board 

by the accepting NC school. 

(t)  Hours transferred between open North Carolina schools 

must be obtained by the submission of the Board transfer form 

mailed directly from the school in which the hours are earned 

with the school seal affixed, with grades for examinations and 

performances to the new school in which a student enrolls. Such 

original documentation shall be submitted to the Board with 

enrollment. Schools must submit transfer forms for any student 

that requests a transfer and has no outstanding financial 

obligations. Transfer forms shall include the following: 

(1) Student name and social security number; 

(2) School code; 

(3) Course type and required evaluations;  

(4) Enrollment date and last date of attendance; 

(5) Number of hours and minutes completed; 

(6) School owner name or on-site official and 

signature; and 

(7) School seal. 

(u)  A student must pass an entrance examination including 

required evaluations given by the school to which the student is 

transferring for the hours to be transferred from one cosmetic 

art school to another. 

(v)  Certification of completion of a curriculum established in 

21 NCAC 14T .0602 through .0610 shall be required on the 

graduation form and application for the Board examination. 

Graduation forms shall include the following: 

(1) Student name and social security number; 

(2) School code; 

(3) Course type completed; 

(4) Date of course completion; 

(5) Number of hours and minutes completed; 

(6) School owner or on-site official name and 

signature; and 

(7) School seal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2014; June 1, 2013; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 
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Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; September 1, 2021; September 1, 

2020; October 1, 2019; December 1, 2016. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0601 COSMETIC ART CURRICULA 

(a)  Cosmetic art schools shall develop and submit to the Board 

a curriculum of each discipline to be taught at the school. The 

curriculum, once approved by the Board's standards listed in 

Rules .0602-.0610, of this Section shall be adhered to and 

lessons developed from the approved curriculum. 

(b)  Blood exposure and infection control evaluations must be 

passed with a score of 100 percent before a student may practice 

or execute a performance for a cosmetic art service. Before a 

student may execute a performance the student shall pass the 

respective mannequin practice evaluation plan. 

(c)  All cosmetic art students shall receive training on Board 

laws, Board rules, website, licensure scope of practice, Safety 

Data Sheets prepared by the manufacturer on all products used 

by the school's students in performances. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-

17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; October 1, 2019; January 1, 2016. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0602 COSMETOLOGY 

CURRICULUM 

(a)  To meet the approval of the Board, a cosmetologist training 

course shall begin with infection control and blood exposure 

procedures as defined in 21 NCAC 14H .0403 and .0404 and 

consist of 1500 hours of instruction as defined in 21 NCAC 14T 

.0612(c). 

(b)  Students must pass the infection control and blood exposure 

procedures evaluation plan with a score of 100 percent. 

(c)  Each school must develop and use required evaluations for 

each of the Board required services listed in this Paragraph. 

Evaluation plans must include a minimum of infection control, 

tool safety, client consultation, draping, and safe application 

and be recorded in the student permanent file. Teachers must 

ensure students follow infection control, tool safety, draping, 

and safe application of products for all service performances. 

Students must receive guided theory, demonstration, guided 

practice, independent theory, and practice, pass the evaluation 

plan, prior to performing services on a live model: 

(1) Blow drying and hot iron; 

(2) Hair cut with shears, a razor and clipper; 

(3) Color application including virgin and 

retouch; 

(4) Relaxer application including virgin and 

retouch; 

(5) Permanent waving; 

(6) Basic manicure 

(7) Basic pedicure; 

(8) Basic facial including steam; and 

(9) Waxing. 

(d)  Each school must develop and use evaluation plans for each 

of the cosmetic art services listed in this Paragraph. Evaluation 

plans must include a minimum of infection control, tool safety, 

client consultation, draping, and safe application services to a 

client. In addition to the requirements set forth in Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule all students must receive guided theory, 

demonstration, guided practice, independent theory, and 

practice, and perform the following services: 

(1) Shampooing; 

(2) Roller sets; 

(3) Pin curls; 

(4) Ridge curls with C shaping; 

(5) Fingerwaves; 

(6) Artificial hair; 

(7) Up-styles; 

(8) Pressing or thermal; 

(9) Blow drying; 

(10) Hot iron; 

(11) Styles that apply tension (twists, braiding, 

locs, or knots); 

(12) Solid form cut; 

(13) Elevated cut; 

(14) Cut with tapered or thinning shears; 

(15) Razor cut; 

(16) Clipper cut; 

(17) Shears over comb cut; 

(18) Clippers over comb cut; 

(19) Virgin darker; 

(20) Virgin lightener; 

(21) Retouch; 

(22) Foil; 

(23) Freehand painting; 

(24) Relaxer; 

(25) Permanent waving rod placement rectangle, 

or contour or bricklay-overlap or spiral; 

(26) Basic manicure or pedicure; 

(27) Artificial nails; 

(28) Basic facial; 

(29) Waxing including face and body; 

(30) Hair removal with tweezers; 

(31) Hair removal with razor; 

(32) Makeup application; 

(33) Lash lift and brow lamination; 

(34) Artificial lashes; and 

(35) Lash and brow tint. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; June 1, 2013; October 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; September 1, 2020; October 1, 

2019. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0603 APPRENTICE 

COSMETOLOGY CURRICULUM 

(a)  To meet the approval of the Board, a cosmetologist training 

course shall begin with infection control and blood exposure 

procedures as defined in 21 NCAC 14H .0403 and .0404 and 

consist of 1200 hours of instruction as defined in 21 NCAC 14T 

.0612(c). 

(b)  Students must pass the infection control and blood exposure 

procedures evaluation plan with a score of 100 percent. 
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(c)  Each school must develop and use required evaluations for 

each of the Board required services listed in this Paragraph. 

Evaluation plans must include a minimum of infection control, 

tool safety, client consultation, draping, and safe application 

and be recorded in the student permanent file. Teachers must 

ensure students follow infection control, tool safety, draping, 

and safe application of products for all service performances. 

Students must receive guided theory, demonstration, guided 

practice, independent theory, and practice, pass the evaluation 

plan, prior to performing services on a live model: 

(1) Blow drying and hot iron; 

(2) Hair cut with shears, a razor and clipper; 

(3) Color application including virgin and 

retouch; 

(4) Relaxer application including virgin and 

retouch; 

(5) Permanent waving; 

(6) Basic manicure 

(7) Basic pedicure; 

(8) Basic facial including steam; and 

(9) Waxing. 

(d)  Each school must develop and use evaluation plans for each 

of the cosmetic art services listed in this Paragraph. Evaluation 

plans must include a minimum of infection control, tool safety, 

client consultation, draping, and safe application services to a 

client. In addition to the requirements set forth in Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule all students must receive guided theory, 

demonstration, guided practice, independent theory, and 

practice, and perform the following services: 

(1) Shampooing; 

(2) Roller sets; 

(3) Pin curls; 

(4) Ridge curls with C shaping; 

(5) Fingerwaves; 

(6) Artificial hair; 

(7) Up-styles; 

(8) Pressing or thermal; 

(9) Blow drying; 

(10) Hot iron; 

(11) Styles that apply tension (twists, braiding, 

locs, or knots); 

(12) Solid form cut; 

(13) Elevated cut; 

(14) Cut with tapered or thinning shears; 

(15) Razor cut; 

(16) Clipper cut; 

(17) Shears over comb cut; 

(18) Clippers over comb cut; 

(19) Virgin darker; 

(20) Virgin lightener; 

(21) Retouch; 

(22) Foil; 

(23) Freehand painting; 

(24) Relaxer; 

(25) Permanent waving rod placement rectangle, 

or contour or bricklay-overlap or spiral; 

(26) Basic manicure or pedicure; 

(27) Artificial nails; 

(28) Basic facial; 

(29) Waxing including face and body; 

(30) Hair removal with tweezers; 

(31) Hair removal with razor; 

(32) Makeup application; 

(33) Lash lift and brow lamination; 

(34) Artificial lashes; and 

(35) Lash and brow tint. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; June 1, 2013; September 1, 

2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; September 1, 2020; October 1, 

2019. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0604 ESTHETICS CURRICULUM 

(a)  To meet the approval of the Board, an esthetician training 

course shall begin with infection control and blood exposure 

procedures as defined in 21 NCAC 14H .0403 and .0404 and 

consist of 600 hours of instruction as defined in 21 NCAC 14T 

.0612(c). 

(b)  Students must pass the infection control and blood exposure 

procedures evaluation plan with a score of 100 percent. 

(c)  Each school must develop and use required evaluations for 

each of the Board required services listed in this Paragraph. 

Evaluation plans must include a minimum of infection control, 

tool safety, client consultation, draping, and safe application 

and be recorded in the student permanent file. Teachers must 

ensure students follow infection control, tool safety, draping, 

and safe application of products for all service performances. 

Students must receive guided theory, demonstration, guided 

practice, independent theory, and practice, pass the evaluation 

plan, prior to performing services on a live model: 

(1) Basic facial, including steam; 

(2) Waxing; 

(3) Lash lift and brow lamination; 

(4) Artificial lashes; and 

(5) Lash and brow tint. 

(d)  Each school must develop and use evaluation plans for each 

of the cosmetic art services listed in this Paragraph. Evaluation 

plans must include a minimum of infection control, tool safety, 

client consultation, draping, and safe application services to a 

client. In addition to the requirements set forth in Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule all students must receive guided theory, 

demonstration, guided practice, independent theory, and 

practice, and perform the following services: 

(1) Draping; 

(2) Basic facials; 

(3) Waxing including underarm, lip, eyebrow, 

leg and bikini; 

(4) Hair removal with depilatory and tweezers; 

(5) Makeup application; 

(6) Facials with machines including Woods 

lamp, magnifier, galvanic current, LED light, 

high frequency (direct and indirect), infrared 

light, vaporizer, microderm abrasion, 

suction, exfoliating; 
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(7) Manual Exfoliation including products and 

devices; 

(8) Manual extraction; 

(9) artificial lashes including single eyelash 

extensions; 

(10) Facial or body treatment (cleansing, 

manipulations, masks, and chemical peels); 

(11) Aromatherapy; 

(12) Make-up application; 

(13) Lash lift and brow lamination; 

(14) Microneedling; 

(15) Dermaplaning; and 

(16) Lash and brow tint. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-

17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; September 1, 2020; October 1, 

2019. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0605 MANICURING CURRICULUM 

(a)  To meet the approval of the Board, a manicurist training 

course shall begin with infection control and blood exposure 

procedures as defined in 21 NCAC 14H .0403 and .0404 and 

consist of 300 hours of instruction as defined in 21 NCAC 14T 

.0612(c). 

(b)  Students must pass the infection control and blood exposure 

procedures evaluation plan with a score of 100 percent. 

(c)  Each school must develop and use required evaluations for 

each of the Board required services listed in this Paragraph. 

Evaluation plans must include a minimum of infection control, 

tool safety, client consultation, draping, and safe application 

and be recorded in the student permanent file. Teachers must 

ensure students follow infection control, tool safety, draping, 

and safe application of products for all service performances. 

Students must receive guided theory, demonstration, guided 

practice, independent theory, and practice, pass the evaluation 

plan, prior to performing services on a live model: 

(1) Basic manicure; 

(2) Basic pedicure with rasp; 

(3) Sculptured nails including application, fill, 

and removal; and 

(4) Electric file. 

(d)  Each school must develop and use evaluation plans for each 

of the cosmetic art services listed in this Paragraph. Evaluation 

plans must include a minimum of infection control, tool safety, 

client consultation, draping, and safe application services to a 

client. In addition to the requirements set forth in Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule all students must receive guided theory, 

demonstration, guided practice, independent theory, and 

practice, and perform the following services: 

(1) Basic manicure; 

(2) Basic pedicure; 

(3) Nail tips; 

(4) Acrylic overlay (application, repair, fill, and 

removal); 

(5) Sculptured nails (application, repair, fill, and 

removal); 

(6) Gel overlay (application, repair, fill, and 

removal); 

(7) Trimming; 

(8) Filing; 

(9) Shaping; 

(10) Decorating; 

(11) Arm and hand manipulation; and 

(12) Electric file. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-

17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; September 1, 2020; October 1, 

2019. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0606 NATURAL HAIR CARE 

CURRICULUM 

(a)  To meet the approval of the Board, a natural hair care 

specialist training course shall begin with infection control and 

blood exposure procedures as defined in 21 NCAC 14H .0403 

and .0404 and consist of 300 hours of instruction as defined in 

21 NCAC 14T .0612(c). 

(b)  Students must pass the infection control and blood exposure 

procedures evaluation plan with a score of 100 percent. 

(c)  Each school must develop and use required evaluations for 

each of the Board required services listed in this Paragraph. 

Evaluation plans must include a minimum of infection control, 

tool safety, client consultation, draping, and safe application 

and be recorded in the student permanent file. Teachers must 

ensure students follow infection control, tool safety, draping, 

and safe application of products for all service performances. 

Students must receive guided theory, demonstration, guided 

practice, independent theory, and practice, pass the evaluation 

plan, prior to performing services on a live model: 

(1) Three strand overbraid and underbraid; 

(2) Track and sew weft; and 

(3) Blow drying and hot iron. 

(d)  Each school must develop and use evaluation plans for each 

of the cosmetic art services listed in this Paragraph. Evaluation 

plans must include a minimum of infection control, tool safety, 

client consultation, draping, and safe application services to a 

client. In addition to the requirements set forth in Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule all students must receive guided theory, 

demonstration, guided practice, independent theory, and 

practice, and perform the following services: 

(1) Twists; 

(2) Knots; 

(3) Locs; 

(4) two strand overlap; 

(5) three strand overbraid; 

(6) three strand underbraid; 

(7) On the scalp three strand braid; 

(8) Track and sew weft; 

(9) Adding hair extensions; 

(10) Shampooing; 



APPROVED RULES 

 

 

37:21 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 1, 2023 

2096 

(11) Draping; 

(12) Wrapping; and 

(13) Blowdry and thermal iron. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; June 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff April 1, 2023; September 1, 2020; October 1, 

2019. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0607 COSMETOLOGY TEACHER 

TRAINEE CURRICULUM 

(a)  To meet the approval of the Board, a cosmetologist teacher 

training course shall consist of at least 800 hours of instruction 

in theory and practical application, divided as follows: 

 

Requirement Description Hours 

Guided and independent Theory: observation, 

motivation, student relations, teaching techniques, 

preparing lesson plans, preparing class lectures and 

presentations, preparing examinations, grading, and 

G.S. 88B and the rules of the Board 

400 

Practical Application: Conducting guided theory 

classes from prepared lessons, preparing and giving 

examinations, and giving demonstrations 

400 

 

(b)  Trainees shall receive a minimum of 150 hours of guided 

theory prior to providing any instruction in a cosmetic art 

classroom. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-

17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; October, 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0608 ESTHETIC TEACHER 

TRAINEE CURRICULUM 

(a)  To meet the approval of the Board under the standards set 

out in these Rules, an esthetician teacher training course shall 

consist of at least 650 hours of instruction in theory and 

practical application, divided as follows: 

 

Requirement Description Hours 

Guided and independent Theory: observation, 

motivation, student relations, teaching techniques, 

preparing lesson plans, preparing class lectures and 

presentations, preparing examinations, grading, and 

G.S. 88B and the rules of the Board 

325 

Practical Application: Conducting guided theory 

classes from prepared lessons, preparing and giving 

examinations, and giving demonstrations 

325 

  

 

(b)  Trainees shall receive a minimum of 120 hours of guided 

theory prior to providing any instruction in a cosmetic art 

classroom. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-

17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; October 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0609 MANICURIST TEACHER 

TRAINEE CURRICULUM 

(a)  To meet the approval of the Board under the standards set 

out in these Rules, a manicurist teacher training course shall 

consist of at least 320 hours of instruction in theory and 

practical application, divided as follows: 

 

Requirement Description Hours 

Guided and independent Theory: observation, 

motivation, student relations, teaching techniques, 

preparing lesson plans, preparing class lectures and 

presentations, preparing examinations, grading, and 

G.S. 88B and the rules of the Board 

160 

Practical Application: Conducting guided theory 

classes from prepared lessons, preparing and giving 

examinations, and giving demonstrations 

160 

 

(b)  Trainees shall receive a minimum of 115 hours of guided 

theory prior to providing any instruction in a cosmetic art 

classroom. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-

17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April, 1, 2023; October 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0610 NATURAL HAIR CARE 

TEACHER CURRICULUM 

(a)  To meet the approval of the Board under the standards set 

out in these Rules, natural hair care teacher training course shall 

consist of at least 320 hours of instruction in theory and 

practical application, divided as follows: 

 

Requirement Description Hours 

Guided and independent Theory: observation, 

motivation, student relations, teaching techniques, 

preparing lesson plans, preparing class lectures and 

presentations, preparing examinations, grading, and 

G.S. 88B and the rules of the Board 

160 

Practical Application: Conducting guided theory 

classes from prepared lessons, preparing and giving 

examinations, and giving demonstrations 

160 

 

(b)  Trainees shall receive a minimum of 115 hours of guided 

theory prior to providing any instruction in a cosmetic art 

classroom. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-

17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 
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Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; October 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0611 ONLINE INSTRUCTION 

(a)  Online instruction and course hours are accepted by the 

Board for any cosmetic art curriculum. 

(b)  The school shall determine if a student possesses the skills 

and comprehension necessary to succeed in an online 

instruction environment and maintain in each student's record 

documentation of the method used to determine the student's 

skill and comprehension. 

(c)  The school shall track and record the student's hours by 

minute and educational achievements in the online instruction 

and shall provide electronic reports generated by the tracking 

system to an agent of the Board or its inspector upon request. 

(d)  The school shall document the student demonstrates 

participation in the online education course(s).  

(e)  Online instruction shall be limited to the independent or 

guided theory portion only and no more than 50 percent for 

teacher trainees and 30 percent of the total statutorily required 

hours for the respective cosmetic art discipline. 

(f)  The school shall provide access to technical support for the 

online educational course or program to students and 

instructors. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-

17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; October 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0612 INSTRUCTION GUIDELINES 

(a)  The hours earned in the clinic department must be devoted 

to safe and effective practice and performance completions. 

(b)  Work in the clinic department may be done on the public. 

(c)  All instruction in a cosmetic art school shall be in this order: 

(1) Guided theory; 

(2) Demonstration; 

(3) Guided practice; 

(4) Independent theory; 

(5) Practice; 

(6) Evaluation and passage of evaluation; and 

(7) Performance. 

(d)  Infection control and blood exposure required evaluations 

shall be taught in this order: 

(1) Hand washing; 

(2) Implement disinfection; 

(3) Beginning and end of day infection control; 

(4) Blood exposure (self cut); and 

(5) Blood exposure (client). 

(e)  A minimum of 10 percent of scheduled attendance time 

each week shall be dedicated to guided theory, demonstration, 

and guided practice.  

(f)  All assignments shall be graded and returned to the students. 

(g)  Cosmetic art students shall receive training and practice 

only in the discipline in which they are enrolled. 

(h)  Performances on other students may be performed in the 

clinic or in a room within the school with a cosmetic art station. 

(i)  Textbooks shall not be used more than five years if a newer 

version is available. 

(j)  Schools shall provide textbooks and supplementary 

educational materials and equipment to students. 

(k)  A cosmetic art teacher shall not perform clinical services 

on a client at the cosmetic art school. 

(l)  Exams administered in a proctored exam site need not be 

attended by a cosmetic art teacher. 

(m)  Cosmetic art teachers shall use the respective evaluation 

plan to verify student competency prior to assigning a 

performance. 

(n)  The school shall provide students and teachers with access 

to current reference materials that may include, but are not 

limited to, such formats as books, periodicals and other written 

matter, audio-visual equipment and materials, digital media, 

and online education platforms to support the educational 

course. Equipment for producing digital and paper copies of 

supplementary instructional materials shall be available. 

(o)  Schools must develop lesson plans for conceptual 

education, guided theory, hands-on education, and 

demonstrations that integrate Board infection control rules as 

established in 21 NCAC 14H with the steps to complete each 

service as listed in 21 NCAC 14T .0602-.0606. 

(p)  School owners, teachers, and school administrators shall 

not make any statement to a member of the public or students 

either verbally or in writing, stating or implying Board 

mandated consequences that are not established by the Board 

rules or NC General Statutes. A violation of this prohibition is 

considered practicing or attempting to practice by fraudulent 

misrepresentation as set forth in 21 NCAC 14P .0108 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2013; October 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; March 1, 2022; October 1, 2019; 

January 1, 2016. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0613 UNIFORMS AND 

IDENTIFICATION 

(a)  Each cosmetic arts school must define what constitutes a 

uniform for students and acceptable attire for teachers. Students 

and teachers shall wear the uniform or acceptable attire as 

defined by the school so that Board members or agents of the 

Board can identify by sight students and teachers. 

(b)  Each school's definition of acceptable attire cannot change 

more than once per year. 

(c)  Students must wear a name tag identifying student name, 

cosmetic art discipline. At no time shall a student fail to wear a 

name tag. 

(d)  Each cosmetic art school may permit students to be out of 

uniform a maximum of four days per year. Notice to the Board 

must be submitted prior to any day uniforms will not be worn. 

(e)  Teachers, guest lecturers, and substitute teachers must wear 

a name tag with name and position title. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-

17; 
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Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0614 INTERNSHIPS 

Schools and cosmetic art shops desiring to implement an 

internship program shall follow these requirements: 

(1) Schools wishing to participate in an 

internship program must notify the Board of 

intent to implement a program before credit 

for an internship may be granted.  

(2) Schools shall report to the Board all cosmetic 

art shops contracted and students selected to 

participate in the program. 

(3) Internships may be arranged in various time 

frames but shall never exceed five percent of 

a student's training period. 

(4) Credit for an internship shall be granted upon 

submission of student hours verification 

based on a daily attendance record. Hours 

must be recorded on a form approved by the 

school. 

(5) Students may be assigned a variety of duties, 

but client services are restricted. 

Cosmetology and natural hair care students 

may provide only shampoo services, 

manicurist students may only remove nail 

polish and esthetician students may only 

drape clients. 

(6) Students must follow all Board rules and 

regulations. 

(7) A licensed teacher need not be in attendance 

during this internship. 

(8) Students participating in the program shall 

not receive compensation for duties 

performed in the cosmetic art shop. 

(9) Prior to a student participating in an 

internship the student must have passed the 

infection control and blood exposure 

evaluations. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-

17; 

Eff. February 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0615 FIELD TRIPS 

(a)  Cosmetic art schools shall notify the Board prior to any field 

trip and record the field trip hours of each student. Cosmetic art 

educational field trips include the following locations or 

activities: 

(1) cosmetic art shops; 

(2) cosmetic art conventions; 

(3) competition training; 

(4) other schools; 

(5) professional cosmetic art supply store;  

(6) college or Career Day at school; 

(7) fashion Shows; 

(8) rest homes or nursing homes; 

(9) hospitals; and 

(10) funeral homes. 

(b)  An instructor shall be present during the educational field 

trips listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule for credit to be given to 

students, with a ratio of one instructor per 25 students present. 

(c)  The maximum number of hours a student may earn for field 

trips is 40 hours for cosmetology students, 20 hours for 

esthetician students, and 10 hours for manicurist or natural hair 

care students. 

(d)  Students may earn up to four additional hours of credit for 

curriculum requirements for interviews for employment at a 

licensed cosmetic art shop. 

(e)  Students may not perform any service outside of the school. 

Students may perform services as part of the school 

participation in a cosmetic art competition. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-

17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0616 ADDITIONAL HOURS 

(a)  Notwithstanding any other rule in this Subchapter, pursuant 

to G.S. 88B-18(d) a cosmetologist, apprentice, esthetician, 

manicurist, natural hair care specialist, or teacher candidate 

who has failed the practical section of the examination three 

times, shall complete the following amounts of study at an 

approved cosmetic art school before an applicant may reapply: 

(1) Cosmetologist 40 hours; 

(2) Apprentice 40 hours; 

(3) Esthetician 40 hours; 

(4) Manicurist 40 hours; 

(5) Natural Hair Care Specialist 40 hours; and 

(6) Teacher: 

(A) cosmetology 40 hours; 

(B) esthetician 40 hours; and 

(C) manicurist 40 hours. 

(b)  Schools shall evaluate students returning to complete 

additional hours in accordance with Paragraph (a) of this Rule 

and shall provide remedial assistance or training in the areas of 

deficiency. 

(c)  Additional hours as required in Paragraph (a) of this Rule 

may be completed as online instruction through enrollment in a 

licensed cosmetic art school. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-

17; 88B-18; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; September 1, 2021; August 1, 

2014. 
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21 NCAC 14T .0617 TEACHER TRAINEES 

(a)  A cosmetic art teacher trainee may not perform clinical 

services on a client at the cosmetic art school. 

(b)  A cosmetic art teacher trainee shall be supervised by a 

cosmetology teacher at all times when the trainee is at a 

cosmetic art school except as set out in Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule. 

(c)  A manicurist, natural hair care, or esthetician teacher may 

supervise a cosmetic art teacher trainee with regard to 

manicuring, natural hair care, or esthetics. 

(d)  A cosmetic art teacher trainee program may be a full time 

program or a part time program. A cosmetic art teacher trainee, 

however, shall not receive credit for more than 10 hours per 

day. 

(e)  Teacher trainees may present lessons as long as the 

supervising teacher is present in the classroom. 

(f)  Persons receiving teacher training in a cosmetic art school 

shall be furnished a teacher's manual and shall spend all of their 

training time under the direct supervision of a licensed cosmetic 

art teacher and shall not be left in charge of students or the 

school at any time. Direct supervision is considered as in-

person interactive guidance and advising on teacher training 

topics by a licensed cosmetic art teacher. 

(g)  Teacher trainees must be taught how to assess cosmetic art 

performances using evaluation plans. 

(h)  Cosmetic art teacher trainees must be enrolled in school to 

earn hours. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-

17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; March 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0701 SCHOOL 

OPERATIONS/LICENSURE MAINTENANCE 

(a)  No individual shall be given credit for any hours earned in 

a cosmetic art school before the date the school is granted a 

license, before the student is enrolled, or after graduation or 

withdrawal of the student without a new enrollment. 

(b)  All Cosmetic Art schools shall submit hours of operation 

per cosmetic art discipline to the Board. Any changes to the 

hours of operation shall be submitted to the Board. A school 

shall be considered open by the Board when cosmetic art 

instruction, services, or performances are provided. 

(c)  Students may be required to clean and disinfect work areas, 

reception areas, implements, and the dispensary. Students shall 

not be required to perform maintenance. 

(d)  All cosmetic art schools shall adhere to all Board Infection 

Control Rules located in 21 NCAC 14H Infection Control. 

(e)  Cosmetic art schools may permit students to leave the 

cosmetic art school during instructional time to visit on campus 

libraries and other educational resource rooms such as 

computer labs for research and study under the supervision of a 

cosmetic art instructor. 

(f)  Cosmetic art schools shall use the following grading scale 

for minimum passing grades: 

 

Grade A 100-90 

Grade B 80-89 

Grade C 70-79 

Grade F (Fail) 0-69 

 

(g)  Cosmetic art schools may adopt a higher grading scale. 

(h)  In order to graduate, all students shall meet the minimum 

school and Board requirements as set forth in Rules .0602-.0610 

of this Subchapter. 

(i)  Written examination shall be administered in the cosmetic 

art curriculum. 

(j)  Students present at school shall be supervised by a cosmetic 

art teacher at all times. If a guest lecturer is leading a class, at 

least one cosmetic art teacher must be present in the lecture. 

(k)  All cosmetic art schools shall provide: 

(1) One teacher for every 25 students enrolled in 

the practice department; 

(2) One teacher for every 20 students during 

practical work on live models in the clinic 

department; and 

(3) Each Cosmetic art teacher may have up to 

five teacher trainees, in addition to the ratios 

set forth in Subparagraph (k)(1) and (2) of 

this Rule. 

(l)  In theory classes, the teacher student ratio may exceed the 

ratios established in this Rule. A teacher may administer 

instruction to up to 10 students in practice and clinic 

departments at the same time. A teacher shall not administer 

instruction to more than 10 students in practice and clinic 

departments at the same time. 

(m)  At no time can any one teacher be simultaneously 

responsible for teaching students in a theory class and 

monitoring students in practice or on the clinic floor. 

(n)  In cases of change in teaching staff, the school shall notify 

the Board of the change in writing prior to beginning 

instruction. A change in teaching staff includes any substitution 

for the regularly scheduled teacher and any change, scheduled 

or otherwise, in the list of teachers last given to the Board. 

(1) All courses in a cosmetic art school shall be 

taught by an onsite licensed cosmetology 

teacher, and student performances completed 

on the clinic floor must be supervised by an 

onsite cosmetology teacher, except as 

follows: 

(A) manicuring courses, theory, and 

performances shall be taught by 

either an onsite licensed 

cosmetology teacher or an onsite 

licensed manicurist teacher; 

(B) natural hair care courses, theory, 

and performances shall be taught by 

either an onsite licensed 

cosmetology teacher or an onsite 

licensed natural hair care teacher; 

(C) esthetics courses, theory, and 

performances shall be taught by 
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either an onsite licensed 

cosmetology teacher or an onsite 

licensed esthetician teacher. 

(2) A licensed cosmetologist not licensed as a 

cosmetology teacher may substitute for a 

cosmetology, esthetician, natural hair care or 

manicurist teacher; a licensed manicurist not 

licensed as a manicurist teacher may 

substitute for a manicurist teacher; a licensed 

natural hair care specialist not licensed as a 

natural hair care teacher may substitute for a 

natural hair care teacher; and a licensed 

esthetician not licensed as an esthetician 

teacher may substitute for an esthetician 

teacher. 

(o)  In no event may any cosmetic art licensee substitution last 

for more than 15 consecutive working days per year per teacher. 

If any teacher substitution is 16 consecutive days or longer, the 

school shall provide a new cosmetic art teacher. 

(p)  Enrolled students may earn a maximum of 10 hours per day 

per discipline of cosmetic art and a maximum of 48 hours per 

week per discipline. Online education can be earned in addition 

to the maximum daily and weekly hours. A student enrolled in 

more than one cosmetic art discipline may not earn hours or 

complete performances concurrently. 

(q)  The Board shall certify student hours for any North 

Carolina cosmetic art school that is closed. The Board shall not 

certify student hours between any North Carolina open 

cosmetic art schools. The Board shall certify student hours 

earned at North Carolina cosmetic art schools to other state 

boards and schools open outside of the state of North Carolina 

as set forth in Rule .0502 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 

Eff. February 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; June 1, 2013; October 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; March 1, 2022; October 1, 2019; 

December 1, 2016. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0702 TRANSFER OF CREDIT 

(a)  A student who transfers from one cosmetic art discipline to 

another cosmetic art discipline shall not receive credit for hours 

received in the initial curriculum. 

(b)  Up to 50 percent of all credit earned in an approved 

esthetician, manicurist or natural hair care teacher training 

program may be transferred to a cosmetology teacher training 

program. 

(c)  A maximum of 160 hours earned in either an esthetician, 

natural hair care or manicurist teacher training program may be 

transferred between programs once. 

(d)  Licensed estheticians, manicurists and natural hair care 

stylists may request the school to apply up to 50 percent of 

hours required for licensure by G.S. 88B earned toward the 

cosmetology curriculum. 

(e)  Licensed cosmetologists may request the school apply up 

to 50 percent of the hours required for licensure as an 

esthetician, manicurist, or natural hair care specialist by G.S. 

88B toward the esthetician, manicurist, or natural hair care 

specialist curriculum. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-

17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0706 SCHOOL APPROVAL 

CHANGES AND SCHOOL CLOSING 

(a)  If the location of a cosmetic art school changes or if there 

is a transfer of majority ownership of a cosmetic art school, 

whether by sale, lease, or otherwise, the school owner shall 

submit a new application for approval in accordance with Rule 

.0102 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  License and letters of approval issued to cosmetic art 

schools are not transferrable, and are valid only for the location, 

square footage, and enrollment capacity for which issued, and 

to the owner to whom issued. The letter of approval shall 

contain the school name, school owner name, school location, 

date of approval, the signature of the Board members, the 

amount of approved square footage, and the maximum number 

of enrollments for which the school has been approved. 

(c)  Schools intending to close must notify the Board not less 

than 30 days in advance. 

(d)  Schools must make provisions for the long term storage of 

school documents as set forth in Rule .0502 of this Subchapter, 

and facilitate the retrieval of any school documents upon the 

request of a student or the Board. Schools shall notify the Board 

of the contact information for retrieval of any school 

information. 

(e)  Schools must facilitate and cooperate in the final inspection 

and processing of student hours. 

(f)  If the square footage or instructional layout of a cosmetic 

art school changes, the school shall notify the Board of the 

change and submit a diagram of the new instructional layout. 

Following receipt of the notification of the change in the 

instructional layout or square footage, a Board inspector shall 

verify the change. If there is an educational change such as 

adding an educational program the full curriculum must be 

submitted to the Board for approval. Schools must verify 

compliance with mechanical codes when changing or moving 

equipment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-

17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; March 1, 2022; September 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0802 SCHOOL INFECTION 

CONTROL GRADES 

Schools shall follow all Board infection control regulations. 

Schools shall be issued a grade at each inspection on a grade 

card provided by the Board. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-

17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0803 SCHOOL INSPECTIONS 

(a)  Schools must facilitate and cooperate by providing access 

to the school facility, students, and records during all school 

inspections. 

(b)  Schools are subject to reevaluation and re-inspection at any 

time. 

(c)  Failure to comply with the G.S. 88B and rules of the Board 

is cause to revoke or suspend the school's license/letter of 

approval. 

(d)  In addition to such other reports as may be required by the 

Board, cosmetic art schools shall report to the Board or its 

authorized agent, upon inspection of the cosmetic art school and 

at other times upon specific request, the names of all students 

currently enrolled and the hours and evaluation plans completed 

by each. 

(e)  The owner of the cosmetic art school or owner's 

representative shall read each inspection report made of the 

school by an authorized agent of the Board to determine that the 

information on the inspection report is correct, and shall sign 

and retain a copy of all inspection reports. 

(f)  If any part of the information on the report is incorrect, it 

shall be corrected by the authorized agent of the Board. 

(g)  A school may submit an exception to any inspection report. 

Such exceptions shall be prepared and signed by the owner and 

submitted to the Board and shall be attached to the report. 

(h)  All present student equipment and records shall be made 

available to inspectors during school inspection. 

(i)  Cosmetic art schools must maintain copies of lesson plans 

and evaluation plans and make such copies available to an agent 

of the Board upon request. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-

17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 28 - LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS' 

LICENSING BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0402 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

UNITS 

(a)  A licensee shall complete in-person seven continuing 

education units (CEUs) during the year preceding renewal. At 

least three of the seven CEUs must be technical credits and at 

least two of the seven CEUs must be business credits. If the 

information provided by the licensee or continuing education 

provider to the Board as required by this Section is unclear, the 

Board may request additional information from a licensee or 

continuing education provider in order to assure compliance 

with continuing education requirements. 

(b)  For the purposes of this Rule: 

(1) "technical credits" are defined as credits 

relating to the subject matter of landscape 

contracting as described in G.S. 89D-11(3) 

and Rules .0502 through .0511 in this 

Subchapter. The rules shall be grouped as 

follows: 

(A) Group A: topics covered in Rules 

.0502, .0503, .0510, and .0511 in 

this Subchapter; 

(B) Group B: topics covered in Rules 

.0504 and .0506 in this Subchapter; 

(C) Group C: topics covered in Rules 

.0507 through .0509 in this 

Subchapter; 

(D) Group D: topics covered in Rule 

.0505; and 

(2) "business credits" are defined as credits 

relating to general business practices, 

including business planning, contracts, 

liability exposure, human resources, basic 

accounting, financial statements, and safety. 

(c)  CEUs shall be determined as follows: 

 

Type of Qualifying Activity Minimum time 

required for 1 CEU 

Live course 50 minutes 

Online course 50 minutes 

Trade Shows, Field Days, and 

Tours 

4 hours 

Green Industry Board Member 

Service 

1 hour 

Teaching or instructing 1 hour 

In-house or Green Industry 

training 

1 hour 

NC Landscape Contractors 

Licensing Board Service 

1 hour 

 

Green Industry Board members and NC Landscape Contractors 

Licensing Board members may earn no more than five hours 

per CE year (three technical credits and two business credits) 

for Green Industry or Landscape Licensing board service. 

(d)  No more than two CEU credits shall be given for qualifying 

teaching or instructing in one year. 

(e)  Credit shall not be given in increments of less than .5 CEUs. 

Breaks in courses shall not be counted towards CEU credit. 

(f)  Requests for pre-approval as set forth in Rule .0405 of this 

Subchapter shall be submitted at least 45 days prior to the first 

day of the course or event. 

(g)  All continuing education shall be taken in-person by the 

individual receiving credit. 

(h)  A licensee shall not take the same CEU course within two 

consecutive licensing years. 

(i)  A licensee licensed less than 12 months shall not be subject 

to continuing education requirements for the initial renewal 

date as set forth in this Rule. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(4); 89D-

15(12); 89D-20(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Eff. September 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; July 1, 2021; June 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 29 - LOCKSMITH LICENSING BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 29 .0501 OBLIGATION OF LICENSED 

LOCKSMITHS 

(a) By applying for and accepting a license issued by the Board, 

all licensees become obligated to comply with the provisions of 

this Section. Failure to comply may result in disciplinary action 

by the Board. 

(b) The obligations of this Chapter extend to all employees of 

licensed individuals and licensed individuals shall be 

responsible for the actions of their employees. The term 

"employee" shall mean every person engaged in employment 

under a contract of hire or apprenticeship, express or implied, 

oral or written, including non-citizens, and also minors, whether 

lawfully or unlawfully employed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74F-3; 74F-6; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. August 13, 2002; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 36 – BOARD OF NURSING 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0228 CLINICAL NURSE 

SPECIALIST PRACTICE 

(a)  Only a registered nurse who meets the qualifications 

outlined in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be approved by the 

Board as a clinical nurse specialist to perform advanced practice 

registered nursing activities listed in Paragraph (f) of this Rule. 

(b)  The Board shall approve an applicant who: 

(1) has an active, unencumbered license to 

practice as a registered nurse in North 

Carolina or a state that has adopted the Nurse 

Licensure Compact; 

(2) has an unrestricted previous approval, 

registration, or license as a clinical nurse 

specialist if previously approved, registered, 

or licensed as a clinical nurse specialist in 

another state, territory, or possession of the 

United States; 

(3) has successfully completed a master's or 

higher-level degree program that is 

accredited by a nursing accrediting body 

approved by the United States Secretary of 

Education or the Council for Higher 

Education Accreditation and meets the 

qualifications for clinical nurse specialist 

certification by an approved national 

credentialing body under Subparagraph 

(b)(4) of this Rule; and 

(4) has current certification as a clinical nurse 

specialist from a national credentialing body 

approved by the Board, as defined in 

Paragraph (h) of this Rule and 21 NCAC 36 

.0120(33). 

(c)  An applicant certified as a clinical nurse specialist by a 

national credentialing body prior to January 1, 2007 who has 

maintained that certification and active clinical nurse specialist 

practice and holds a master's or higher degree in nursing or a 

related field shall be approved by the Board as a clinical nurse 

specialist. 

(d)  New graduates seeking first-time clinical nurse specialist 

approval in North Carolina shall hold a master's or higher-level 

degree or a post-graduate certificate from a clinical nurse 

specialist program accredited by a nursing accrediting body 

approved by the United States Secretary of Education or the 

Council for Higher Education Accreditation and shall meet all 

requirements in Subparagraph (b)(1) and Part (g)(3)(A) of this 

Rule. 

(e)  A certified clinical nurse specialist seeking Board approval 

who has never practiced as a clinical nurse specialist or has not 

practiced in more than two years shall complete a clinical nurse 

specialist refresher course approved by the Board in accordance 

with 21 NCAC 36 .0220(o) and (p), consisting of common 

conditions and their management related to the clinical nurse 

specialist's area of education and certification. A clinical nurse 

specialist refresher course participant shall be granted limited 

clinical nurse specialist recognition that is specific to clinical 

activities taught in the refresher course. 

(f)  The scope of practice of a clinical nurse specialist shall 

incorporate the basic components of nursing practice as defined 

in Rule .0224 of this Section as well as the understanding and 

application of nursing principles at an advanced practice 

registered nurse level in the area of clinical nursing 

specialization in which the clinical nurse specialist is 

educationally prepared and for which competency is 

maintained, including: 

(1) assessing clients' health status, synthesizing 

and analyzing multiple sources of data, and 

identifying alternative possibilities as to the 

nature of a healthcare problem; 

(2) diagnosing and managing clients' acute and 

chronic health problems within the essential 

core competencies for professional nursing 

education; 

(3) assessing for and monitoring the usage and 

effect of pharmacologic agents within the 

essential core competencies for professional 

nursing education; 

(4) formulating strategies to promote wellness 

and prevent illness; 

(5) prescribing and implementing therapeutic 

and corrective non-pharmacologic nursing 

interventions; 

(6) planning for situations beyond the clinical 

nurse specialist's expertise and consulting 
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with or referring clients to other health care 

providers as appropriate; 

(7) promoting and practicing in collegial and 

collaborative relationships with clients, 

families, other health care professionals, and 

individuals whose decisions influence the 

health of individual clients, families, and 

communities; 

(8) initiating, establishing, and using measures to 

evaluate health care outcomes and modify 

nursing practice decisions; 

(9) assuming leadership for the application of 

research findings for the improvement of 

health care outcomes; and 

(10) integrating education, consultation, 

management, leadership, and research into 

the clinical nurse specialist role. 

(g)  A registered nurse seeking approval by the Board as a 

clinical nurse specialist shall: 

(1) submit a completed application that includes 

the following: 

(A) evidence of a master's or higher-

level degree or a post-graduate 

certificate, as set out in 

Subparagraph (b)(3) or Paragraph 

(d) of this Rule; and  

(B) evidence of current certification in a 

clinical nursing specialty from a 

national credentialing body, set out 

in Subparagraph (b)(4) of this Rule. 

(2) renew the approval every two years at the 

time of registered nurse renewal; and 

(3) submit evidence of the following: 

(A) initial certification and re-

certification by a national 

credentialing body at the time such 

occurs in order to maintain Board 

recognition, consistent with 

Paragraphs (b) and (h) of this Rule; 

or 

(B) if recognized by the Board as a 

clinical nurse specialist without 

national certification prior to April 

1, 2023, at least 1,000 hours of 

practice and 75 contact hours of 

continuing education with 25 

contact hours of 

pharmacotherapeutics as a portion 

of the mandatory 75 contact hours 

every five years; or 

(C) if recognized by the Board as a 

clinical nurse specialist without 

national certification prior to April 

1, 2021, 150 contact hours of 

continuing education with 50 

contact hours of 

pharmacotherapeutics as a portion 

of the 150 contact hours every five 

years. 

Part (B) and (C) of this Subparagraph does 

not apply to first time CNS' renewing their 

application for the first time. 

(4) maintain documentation of clinical practice 

hours and continuing education for the 

previous five years and made available upon 

request of the Board. 

(h)  The Board shall approve those national credentialing bodies 

offering certification and recertification in a clinical nursing 

specialty that have established the following minimum 

requirements for applicants: 

(1) active unencumbered licensure as a 

registered nurse; and 

(2) certification as a clinical nurse specialist that 

is limited to applicant prepared with a 

master's or higher-level degree or a post-

graduate certificate. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-171.20(4); 90-171.20(7); 

90-171.21(d)(4); 90-171.23(b); 90-171.42(b); 

Eff. April 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; April 1, 2008; January 1, 2007; 

November 1, 2005; August 1, 2005; April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; November 1, 2020.  

 

21 NCAC 36 .0817 COVID-19 DRUG 

PRESERVATION RULE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-8.2; 90-171.23(b)(14); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 21, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Expired Eff. June 26, 2020; 

Eff. June 1, 2021; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

 

TITLE 26 - OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE 

HEARINGS 

 

26 NCAC 03 .0103 COMMENCEMENT OF 

CONTESTED CASE: NOTICE AND FILING FEE 

(a)  Within five days of filing a petition to commence a 

contested case, the Chief Administrative Law Judge shall assign 

an administrative law judge to the case. Within ten days of the 

filing of a petition commencing a contested case, the Chief 

Hearings Clerk of the Office of Administrative Hearings shall 

serve a Notice of Contested Case Filing and Assignment upon 

all who are parties to the dispute. The notice shall contain the 

following: 

(1) name of case and date of filing; 

(2) name, address, and telephone number of the 

assigned administrative law judge; and 

(3) a request that the party send within 30 days a 

copy of the document constituting the agency 

action that caused the filing of the petition or 

a written explanation of why the petitioner is 

a party or person aggrieved if a document 

constituting the agency action does not exist. 
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(b)  In contested cases commenced by a person aggrieved 

involving the following causes of action, the petitioner shall pay 

a filing fee of one hundred twenty-five dollars ($125.00): 

(1) contested cases challenging certificate of 

need filed pursuant to G.S. 131E-188; 

(2) contested cases challenging permit actions 

under G.S. 143-215.1, G.S. 143-215.10C, 

G.S. 143-215.15, and G.S. 143-215.108; and 

(3) contested cases where the amount in 

controversy is fifty thousand dollars 

($50,000) or greater. 

(c)  In contested cases commenced by a person aggrieved that 

do not involve the causes of action listed in Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule, the petitioner shall pay a fee of twenty dollars 

($20.00). 

(d)  The filing fee shall be waived in a contested case involving 

a mandated federal cause of action. Examples of federal causes 

of action include cases involving Medicaid, foster care, the 

Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants 

and Children (WIC), Special Education/IDEA, the Health Care 

Personnel Registry, and the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 

Program (SNAP). 

(e)  When filing a petition for a contested case, the petitioner 

shall simultaneously submit the filing fee or a request to 

proceed in forma pauperis. 

(1) If the filing fee is not paid or is paid in an 

incorrect amount at the time of filing, the 

Office of Administrative Hearings shall 

notify the petitioner in writing and permit a 

late payment of the filing fee to be made 

within 60 days of the date the petition was 

filed. If the filing fee is not paid within 60 

days of the date of filing, the petition may be 

dismissed pursuant to G.S. 150B-33(b)(10). 

(2) To proceed in forma pauperis, a petitioner 

shall submit an affidavit on a form provided 

by OAH containing the substantive 

requirements listed in G.S. 1-110(a). Late 

forms shall be accepted within the timeframe 

set in Subparagraph (e)(1) of this Rule. 

(h)  The filing fee shall be refunded when Rule .0105(7) of this 

Section applies. 

(i)  The method of payment of the filing fee shall be: 

(1) cash; 

(2) money order; 

(3) certified check; 

(4) check drawn on an attorney's trust or 

operating account; or 

(5) credit or debit card if the petition is filed 

electronically. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 150B-23; 150B-23.2; 150B-

33; 

Eff. August 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1991; November 1, 1987; September 

1, 1986; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. October 1, 2009; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 2009; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2014; October 1, 2010; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. July 23, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

26 NCAC 03 .0112 DISCOVERY 

(a)  Any means of discovery available pursuant to the North 

Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure, G.S. 1A-1, is allowed. If the 

party from whom discovery is sought objects to the discovery, 

the party seeking the discovery may file a motion with the 

administrative law judge to obtain an order compelling 

discovery. In the disposition of the motion, the party seeking 

discovery shall have the burden of showing that the discovery 

is needed for the proper presentation of the party's case, is not 

for purposes of delay, and that the issues in controversy are 

significant enough to warrant the discovery.  

(b)  When a party serves another party with a Request for 

Discovery, that request need not be filed with the Office of 

Administrative Hearings but shall be served upon all parties. 

(c)  The parties in any contested case shall voluntarily exchange 

information upon filing the contested case, seek access as 

provided by law to public documents, and exhaust other 

informal means of obtaining discoverable material within the 

timeframe set in the scheduling order. 

All discovery shall be completed no later than the first day of 

the contested case hearing.  

(d)  No later than 15 days from receipt of a notice requesting 

discovery, the receiving party shall: 

(1) move for relief from the request; 

(2) provide the requested information, material 

or access; or 

(3) offer a schedule for reasonable compliance 

with the request. 

(e)  Sanctions for failure of a party to comply with an order of 

the administrative law judge made pursuant to the discovery 

rules of this Chapter shall be as provided for by G.S. 1A-1, Rule 

37 and Rule .0114 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 1A-1, Rule 5; 150B-28; 

150B-33(b)(3)(4); 

Eff. August 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1994; November 1, 1987; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. July 23, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023. 

 

26 NCAC 03 .0123 OFFICIAL RECORD 

(a)  The official record of a contested case shall be available for 

public inspection upon request. An administrative law judge 

may, consistent with law, order all or part of an official record 

sealed. 

(b)  The official record shall be prepared in accordance with 

G.S. 150B-37(a). 

(c)  Contested case hearings shall be recorded either by a 

hearing assistant provided by the Office of Administrative 

Hearings or a court reporter listed by the North Carolina 

Administrative Office of the Courts as authorized and approved 

to prepare transcripts of proceedings held in the courts of all 

counties procured directly by one or more parties to the 

contested case. 
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(d)  If a contested case hearing is cancelled, the party 

responsible for the cancellation shall provide a 24-hour 

cancellation notice to the other parties in all cases in which a 

hearing assistant is provided by the Office of Administrative 

Hearings. 

(e)  Transcripts of proceedings held in the Office of 

Administrative Hearings shall be made only upon request of a 

party. When proceedings are recorded by a court reporter, 

transcript requests shall be made directly to the court reporter. 

When proceedings are recorded by a hearing assistant, 

transcript requests shall be made directly to a transcriptionist 

listed by the North Carolina Administrative Office of the Courts 

as authorized and approved to prepare transcripts of 

proceedings held in the courts of all counties. 

(f)  A party who orders a transcript shall use an Office of 

Administrative Hearings transcript form to order the transcript, 

which shall include the following information: 

(1) case name and number; 

(2) requestor information; and 

(3) transcriptionist information. 

That form is available on the Office of Administrative Hearings 

website at https://www.oah.nc.gov and may be obtained from 

the Chief Hearings Clerk upon request. The party ordering the 

transcript shall file the transcript form with the Office of 

Administrative Hearings and shall serve the transcript form on 

all other parties and the transcriptionist. 

(g)  The transcriptionist shall deliver the transcript to the party 

or parties that requested the transcript and file the transcript 

with the Office of Administrative Hearings by email to 

oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov in PDF format no later than 30 days 

after having been served with the transcript contract. 

(g)  Copies of recordings made by a hearing assistant are 

available upon written request at a cost set out in 26 NCAC 01 

.0103. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 7A-751; 150B-37; 

Eff. August 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; April 1, 1990; February 1, 1989; 

November 1, 1987; 

September 1, 1986; 

Recodified from Rule .0122 Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2009; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. July 23, 2016; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2023; August 1, 2021. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission April 27, 2023 and May 18, 2023 at 1711 

New Hope Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule 

before the Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  

Specific instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing 

to address the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before 

the meeting.  Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Andrew P. Atkins (1st Vice Chair) 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. (2nd Vice Chair) Wayne R. Boyles, III 
Jay R. Hemphill Barbara A. Jackson 

Jeff Hyde Randy Overton 
Robert A. Rucho Paul Powell 

 
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Brian Liebman  984-236-1948 
Lawrence Duke  984-236-1938 
William W. Peaslee 984-236-1939 
Seth M. Ascher  984-236-1934 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 May 18, 2023 July 20, 2023 
 June 15, 2023 August 17, 2023 

 

 
 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING 
THURSDAY, APRIL 27, 2023 11:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 
 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 163A-159(e) 

II. Follow-up matters   
Board of Barber and Electrolysis Examiners - 21 NCAC 06L .0116; 06N .0102, .0104, .0116; 06O .0105, 
.0112, .0114, .0119 (Peaslee)  

III. Commission Business 

• Next meeting: Thursday, May 18, 2023 
 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
Thursday, May 18, 2023, 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 
 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting  

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Medical Care Commission - 10A NCAC 13B .3801, .3903, .4103, .4104, .4106, .4305, .4603, .4801, .4805, 

.5102, .5105, .5406, .5408, .5411 (Liebman)  
B. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission – 12 NCAC 09E .0107 (Ascher) 
C. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02H .1301, .1401, .1402, .1403, .1404, .1405 

(Liebman)   
D. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02B .0315; 02D .0516 (Duke) 
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E. Marine Fisheries Commission - 15A NCAC 03M .0101; 18A .0911 (Duke) 
F. Coastal Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 07H .0501, .0502, .0503, .0505, .0506, .0507, .0508, .0509, 

.0510; 07I .0406, .0506, .0702; 07J .0203, .0204, .0206, .0207, .0208, .0312 (Liebman)  
G. Coastal Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 07H .2305 (Duke)  
H. Coastal Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 07M .0201, .0202, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0701, .0703, .0704, 

.1001, .1002, .1101 (Peaslee)  
I. Commission for Public Health - 15A NCAC 18A .2801, .2802, .2803, .2804, .2806, .2807, .2808, .2809, 

.2810, .2812, .2814, .2815, .2816, .2817, .2818, .2819, .2820, .2821, .2822, .2823, .2824, .2825, .2826, 

.2827, .2829, .2830, .2831, .2832, .2833, .2834, .2835, .2836 (Ascher) 
J. Board of Barber and Electrolysis Examiners – 21 NCAC 06N .0102, .0104, .0116; .0105, .0112, 0114; 06L 

.0116; 06O .0119 (Peaslee) will most likely be removed after special meeting 
K. State Board of Education – 16 NCAC 06G .0601 (Ascher) 
L. Board of Nursing – 21 NCAC 36 .0807 (Peaslee) 

 
IV. Review of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between March 21, 2023 through April 20, 2023   

• Department of Insurance (Liebman) 

• Wildlife Resources Commission (Duke) 

• Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors (Liebman)  

• Medical Board (Peaslee) 

• Real Estate Commission (Ascher) 

• Building Code Council (Liebman) 
 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting 

VI. Existing Rules Review   

VII. Commission Business 

• Review of Amendments to the Periodic Review Report Schedule 

• Consideration and adoption of proposed changes to 26 NCAC 05 .0100 - .0200 
o Next meeting: June 15, 2023 

 

 
Commission Review 

Log of Permanent Rule Filings 
March 21, 2023 through April 20, 2023 

INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 5 concern the fire and rescue services division.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 5A include general provisions (.0100); state volunteer fire department (.0200); firemen's relief 
fund (.0300); volunteer fire department fund (.0600); volunteer rescue/EMS fund (.0700); cigarette fire-safety standards 
(.0800); public protection classifications for fire districts (.0900). 

Incident Reporting 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 05A .0910 

Records 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 05A .0911 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 10C cover inland fishing including jurisdictional issues involving the Marine Fisheries 
Commission (.0100); general rules (.0200); game fish in inland fishing waters (.0300); nongame fish in inland fishing 
waters (.0400); primary nursery areas (.0500); and anadromous fish spawning areas (.0600); game fish in coastal fishing 
waters (.0700). 

Public Mountain Trout Waters 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0205 
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Trotlines, Jug Hooks and Set Hooks 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0206 

Manner of Taking Inland Game Fishes 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0302 

Crappie 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0306 

Striped Bass 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0314 

Manner of Taking Nongame Fishes 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0401 

The rules in Subchapter 10D concern game lands.  

General Regulations Regarding Use 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0102 

Hunting on Game Lands 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0103 

Fishing on Game Lands 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0104 

Possession and Removal of Animals, Plants and Materials 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0105 

Butner-Falls of Neuse Game Land in Durham, Granville, and... 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0211 

Wayne Bailey-Caswell Game Land in Caswell County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0215 

Gull Rock Game Land in Hyde County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0232 

Johns River Game Land in Burke County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0239 

Jordan Game Land in Chatham, Durham, Orange, and Wake Cou... 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0240 

Pee Dee River Game Land in Anson, Montgomery, Richmond, a... 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0258 

Rocky Run Game Land in Onslow County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0269 

Sandhills Game Land in Hoke, Moore, Richmond, and Scotland... 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0271 

The rules in Subchapter 10F cover motorboats and water safety including boat registration (.0100); safety equipment 
and accident reports (.0200); and local water safety regulations covering speed limits, no-wake restrictions, restrictions 
on swimming and other activities, and placement of markers for designated counties or municipalities (.0300). 

Clay County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0308 

Forsyth: Rockingham and Stokes Counties 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0316 

Mecklenburg and Gaston Counties 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0333 

Perquimans County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0355 

City of Roxboro 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0379 
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ELECTRICAL CONTRACTORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF 

The rules in Chapter 18B concern the board's rules for the implementation of the electrical contracting licensing act 
including general provisions (.0100); examinations (.0200); definitions and explanations applicable to licensing (.0300); 
licensing requirements (.0400); licensing options (.0500); licensing reciprocity (.0700); special restricted licenses 
(.0800); violations and contested case hearings (.0900); and continuing education (.1100). 

Fees 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 18B .0209 

Annual License Fees 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 18B .0404 

MEDICAL BOARD 

The rules in Subchapter 32B concern license to practice medicine including prescribing (.1000); general (.1300); 
resident's training license (.1400); faculty license (.1500); special purpose license (.1600); other licenses (.1700); and 
expedited application for physician license (.2000). 

Physician Supervision of Nurse Midwives 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 32B .1002 

COVID-19 Drug Preservation Rule 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 32B .1708 

The rules in Subchapter 32M regulate the approval, registration and practice of nurse practitioners (.0100). 

Continuing Education (CE) 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 32M .0107 

COVID-19 Drug Preservation Rule 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 32M .0119 

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 58A are concern real estate brokers including general brokerage (.0100); application for license 
(.0300); examinations (.0400); licensing (.0500); real estate commission hearings (.0600); petitions for rules (.0700); 
declaratory rulings (.0900); real estate education and recovery fund (.1400); discriminatory practices prohibited (.1600); 
mandatory continuing education (.1700); limited nonresident commercial licensing (.1800); post-licensing education 
(.1900); annual reports (.2000); brokers in military service (.2100); and broker price opinions and comparative market 
analyses (.2200). 

Reporting Criminal Convictions and Disciplinary Actions 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58A .0113 

Form 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58A .0301 

Reinstatement of a License 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58A .0505 

Attendance and Participation Requirements 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58A .1705 

Equivalent Credit 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58A .1708 

Continuing Education Required of Nonresident Brokers 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 58A .1711 
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The rules in Subchapter 58B concern time shares including timeshare program registration (.0100); real estate 
education providers (.0200); cancellation (.0300); time share sales operation (.0400); handling and accounting of funds 
(.0500); and project broker (.0600). 

Public Offering Statement Summary 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58B .0202 

The rules in Subchapter 58H concern real estate education including general rules (.0100); real estate schools (.0200); 
approved instructors (.0300); and real estate courses (.0400). 

Application for Education Provider Certification 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0202 

Limited Education Provider Petition for Consideration 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0216 

Application and Criteria for Instructor Approval 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0302 

Limited Instructor Petition for Reconsideration 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 58H .0307 

BUILDING CODE COUNCIL 

2018 NC Fire Code/Maximum Floor Area Allowances Per Occupant 
Amend* 

 Table 1004.1.2 

2018 NC Building Code/Maximum Floor Area Allowances Per O... 
Amend* 

 Table 1004.1.2 

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Definitions 
Amend* 

 Section 202 

2018 NC Building Code/Definitions 
Amend* 

 Section 202 

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Minimum Number of Required Plumbing... 
Amend* 

 Table 403.1 

2018 NC Building Code/Minimum Number of Required Plumbing... 
Amend* 

 Table 2902.1 

 
 
 
 

 


