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EXPLANATION OF THE PUBLICATION SCHEDULE

This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are notto be deemed binding or controlling.
Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6.

GENERAL

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice
a month and contains the following information
submitted for publication by a state agency:

(1) temporary rules;

(2) text of proposed rules;

(3) textof permanentrulesapproved by the Rules
Review Commission;

(4) emergency rules

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor;

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney
General concerning changes in laws affecting
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by
G.S. 120-30.9H; and

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules
determines to be helpful to the public.

COMPUTING TIME: Incomputing time in theschedule,
the day of publication of the North Carolina Register
isnotincluded. Thelastday oftheperiodso computed
is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State
holiday, in which event the period runs until the
preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or
State holiday.

FILING DEADLINES

ISSUE DATE: The Registeris published on the firstand
fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the
month is nota Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for
employees mandated by the State Personnel
Commission. Ifthe first or fifteenth of any month is a
Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees,
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be
published on the day of that month after the first or
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for
State employees.

LAST DAY FOR FILING: The last day for filing for any
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for Stateemployees.

NOTICE OF TEXT

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing
date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of
the hearing is published.

END OF  REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a
proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is
published or until the date of any public hearings held
on the proposed rule, whichever is longer.

DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW
coMMISSION: The Commission shall review a rule
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month
by the last day of the next month.
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NOTICE OF RULE MAKING PROCEEDINGS AND PUBLIC HEARING

NORTH CAROLINA BUILDING CODE COUNCIL

Notice of Rule-making Proceedings is hereby given by NC Building Code Council in accordance with
G.S. 150B-21.5(d).

Citation to Existing Rule Affected by this Rule-Making: North Carolina Administrative, Building, Fire,

Existing Building and Energy Conservation Code amendments.

Authority for Rule-making: G.S. [43-136; 143-138.

Reason for Proposed Action: To incorporate changes in the NC State Building Codes as a result of
rulemaking petitions filed with the NC Building Code Council and to incorporate changes proposed by the

Council.

Public Hearing: Tuesday, June 13, 2023, 9:004M, Albemarle Building, 325 North Salisbwry Street,
Raleigh, NC 27603, 2*' Floor Training Room 245. Comments on both the proposed rules and any fiscal

impacts will be accepted,

Comment Procedures: Written comments may be sent to Carl Martin, Secretary, NC Building Code
Council, NC Department of Insurance, 1202 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1202 (email
carl.martinf@ncdoi.gov). Comments on both the proposed rule and any fiscal impact will be accepted.

Comment period expires on July 14, 2023.

Link to Agency Notice:

https.//www ncosfm gov/codesbuilding-code-council-bee/bee-hearing-notices

Statement of Subject Matter:

1. Request from the NC Building Code Council Mechanical Standing Committee to adopt the 2024
edition of the North Carolina Plumbing Code as presented by the committee as follows:

The proposed amendments to the 2021 Intemational Plumbing Code to establish the 2024 NC Plumbing
Code can be found at the following link on the NCDOI website. Select the link to “B-1 2024 NCPC™;

https:/'www ncosfm gov/news/events/building-code-council-meeting-march-14-2023
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The 2021 Intemational Plumbing Code can be found at the following link on the ICC website:

https //codes.icesafe org/content/IPC2021P3

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is January
1, 2025, unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date.

Reason Given - This amendment is proposed to protect the public by updating the code to current
standards of practice

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared

2. Request from the NC Building Code Council Residential Standing Committee to adopt the 2024
edition of the North Carolina Residential Code, Chapters 1-10,25-33, 45, 46 and Appendices as

presented by the committee as follows:

The proposed amendments to the 2021 International Residential Code. Chapters 1-10, 25-33, 45, 46 and
Appendices to establish the 2024 NC Residential Code, Chapters 1-10, 25-33, 45, 46 and Appendices can
be found at the following link on the NCDOI website. Select the link to “B-4 2024 NCRC Chapters 1-10
and 25-33 and 45-46 and Appendices™ https://www.ncosfm gov/news/events/building-code-council-

meeting-march-14-2023

The 2021 Intemational Residential Code, Chapters 1-10, 25-33, 45, 46 and Appendices can be found at the
following link on the ICC website: https://codes iccsafe org/col ARC2021P2

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule 1s January
1, 2025, unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date.

Reason Given — This amendment is proposed to protect the public by updating the code to current
standards of practice

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared

3. Request from Carl Martin representing NCDOI to amend the 2024 NC Building Code, Section
101.2 as follows:

[A] 101.2 Scope. The provisions of this code shall apply to the construction, alteration, relocation,

enlargement, replacement, repair, equipment. use and occupancy. location, maintenance, removal and

37:22
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demolition of every building or structure or any appurtenances connected or attached to such buildings or
structures,
Exceptions: If any of the following apply. then the building or structure is exempt from the
provisions of this code:

1. Detached one- and two-family dwellings and townhouses not more than three stories
above grade plane in height with a separate means of egress, and their accessory
structures not more than three stories above grade plane m height, shall comply with this
code or the Intemational Residential Code
2. Farm buildings not used for

a. Sleeping purposes, or

b. Storage of hazardous materials in excess of those listed in Tables 307.1(1)

and 307.1(2) within the building rules jurisdiction of any municipality.
3. The design, construction, location, installation or operation of equipment for storing,
handling and transporting liquefied petroleum gases for fuel purposes up to the outlet of
the first stage pressure regulator, anhydrous ammonia or other liquid fertilizer
4. The design, construction, location, installation or operation of equipment of facilities
of a public utility, as defined in N.C.G.S. 62-3, or electric or telephone membership
corporation. including without limitation poles, towers and other structures supporting
electric or communication lines from the distribution network up to the meter location
5. The storage and handling of substances governed by the Hazardous Chemical Right to
Know Act in N.C.G.S. Chapter 95, Article 18.
6. Retaining walls complying with any of the following:

a. 3 feet or less in height where a guard 1s required;

b. 5 feet or less of cumulative fill within 3 feet horizontally from the wall,

c¢. Not located within 15 feet of another retaining wall; and

d. Not located within 3 feet of a building or structure

s ex ' NCGS143-13

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is January
1, 2025, unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date.

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to generically identify and include exemptions stated in
NC General Statute 143-138, paragraph b4. By referencing the statute, the code includes all changes to the
statute during the cycle of the code.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.
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4. Request from Carl Martin representing NCDOI to amend the 2024 NC Fire Code, Section 102.13

as follows:

102.13 Exception to applicability. The provisions of this code shall not apply to the following:

1. Occupancy of one- and two-family dwellings.
2. Farm buildings not used for:
a. Sleeping purposes, or
b. Storage of hazardous materials in excess of those listed in Tables 5003.1.1(1) and
5003.1.1(2) within the building rules jurisdiction of any municipality
3. The design, construction, location, installation, or operation of equipment for storing, handling,
and transporting liquefied petroleum gases for fuel purposes up to the first stage regulator,
liquefied natural gases, and anhydrous ammonia or other liquid fertilizers.
4. The design, construction, location, installation or operation of equipment or facilities of a public
utility, as defined in N.C.G.S. 62-3, or an electric or telephone membership corporation, including
without limitation poles, towers and other structures supporting electric or communication lines
from the distribution network up to the meter location.
Exception: All buildings owned and operated by a public utility or an electric or
telephone membership corporation shall meet the provisions of the code.
5. The storage and handling of substances governed by the Hazardous Chemicals Right to Know
Act in N.C.G.S. Chapter 95, Article 18.
6. Open burning pursuant to N.C.G.S. 106-940 through 106-950 under the jurisdiction of the
North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
7. Farm structures exempt by N.C.G.S 143-138(b4)

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule 1s January
1, 2025, unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date.

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to generically identify and include exemptions stated m
NC General Statute 143-138, paragraph b4. By referencing the statute, the code includes all changes to the
statute during the cycle of the code.

Fiscal Statement — This rule 1s anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.

5. Request from Carl Martin representing NCDOI to amend the 2024 NC Existing Building Code,
Section 101.2 as follows:

37:22
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[A] 101.2 Scope. The provisions of this code shall apply to the repair, alteration, change of occupancy,
addition to and relocation of existing buildings.
Exceptions:
1. Detached one- and two-family dwellings and townhouses not more than three stories
above grade plane in height with a separate means of egress, and their accessory
structures not more than three stories above grade plane n height, shall comply with this

code or the International Residential Code.

2. This code shall not apply to buildings constructed under exemption by North Carolina
State law to compliance with North Carolina State Building Codes

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted, The proposed effective date of this rule is January
1, 2025, unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date,

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to indicate how this code relates to buildings that are
constructed without required compliance to the NC State Building Codes because use of this code assumes
a structure complied with minimum safety requirements of a previous code.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.

6. Request from Carl Martin representing NCDOI to amend the 2024 NC Energy Conservation
Code, Section C101.2 and R102.2 as follows:

C101.2 Scope. This code applies to commercial buildings and the buildings’ sites and associated systems
and equipment

Exception: Farm structures exempt by N.C.G.S 143-138(bd)

R101.2 Scope. This code applies to residential buildings, building sites and associated systems and
equipment.
i F Y NCGS 143-

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule 1s January
1, 2025, unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date.

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to generically identify and include exemptions stated in
NC General Statute 143-138, paragraph b4. By referencing the statute, the code includes all changes to the
statute during the cycle of the code.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.
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7. Request from Carl Martin to amend the 2024 NC Existing Building Code, Section 803.2.1.2 as

follows:

803.2.1.2 Low-rise buildings. Work areas that increase the fire area or calculated occupant load above the
limits listed in Section 903.2 of the International Building Code shall meet the requirements of those

sections

Exception: Where an automatic sprinklers system is not existing in a building or otherwise

required by Section 803, North Carolina Building Code Section 9032 8 shall not be applied for
Group R-3

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is January
1, 2025, unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date,

Reason Given — The purpose of this amendment is to clanfy that an alteration level 2 can be performed
without requiring an automatic sprinkler system for Group R-3 occupancy classifications when the building
contains a maximum of two dwelling units in a low rise building and is not otherwise required to be
sprinklered. This is consistent with the sprinkler requirements for a change use as addressed in NCEBC
Section 1011.2.1.2 and Table 1011.2.1 for Group R-3 as well as Section 904

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.

8. Request from Carl Martin representing NC Board of Architecture and Registered Interior
Designers to amend the 2024 NC Administrative Code, Section Appendix B as follows:
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APPENDIX B

2024 BUILDIF\IG CODE SUMMARY
FOR ALL COMMERCIAL PROJECTS

(EXCEPT ONE- AND TWO-FAMILY DWELLINGS AND TOWNHOUSES)
(Reproduce the following data oxn the building plans sheet 1 or 2)

CONTACT:

DESIGNER FIRM NAME LICENSE= |ELEPHONE = E-MAIL

Archutectural )

Registered

Interior Designer O

Electrical =)

Fire Alarm )

Plumbing )

Mechanical ¢—)

Sprinkler-
Standpipe

Structural )

Retaining Walls ¢ )

5 feet High
Other &)

(“Other™ should mnclude firms and mdividuals such as truss, precast, pre-engineered. ponrezistered mtenor
designers, etc)

(Appendix B beyond this portion remains unchanged by this amendment.)

Motion/Second /Ap proved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is Janmary
1,2025, unlessthe BCC assigns a delayed effective date.

Reason Given — This am endment is proposed to align Appendix B with the current requirements for
registered intenor designers and 1s submitted at the request of the Board of Architecture and Registered
Interior Designers.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decreasefincrease
in cost. Thisrile is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state
funds. A fiscal note hasnot been prepared.

9. Request from Carl Martin representing NC Building Code Council to amend the 2024 NC
Adminisirative Code, Sections 1063.1 and 10632 asfollows:

106.3.1 Information required. A permit application shall be filed with the Inspection Department on a
form (see Appencix &) furmished for thet purpose. The Inspection D epartment shall make available alist of
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information that must be submitted with the building permit application, including a complete building
code-swmmary Building Code Summary (see Appendi-A-of-the-Administrative-Code-and-Rolicies
Appendix B) complving with 106.3.2.

: A Building Code S

determines plan review can be performed without the Building Code Summary.
106.3.2 Building Code Summary. The InspectionDepartment-s-busldingcodesummary Building Code
Summary used by an AHJ shall be in the exact format as, and contain only the information in, Appendix B
of the Admnistrative Code and Policies. FhetnspestionDeparment An AHJ shall only modify #s-building
code-sunmmary the Building Code Summary as set forth in section 103.6 Modifications, or as necessary to
reflect any changes by the Office of State Fire Marshal to Appendix B that have been approved by the
Building Code Council.

Motion/Second/Approved - The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule 1s January
1, 2025, unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date.

Reason Given — This amendment is proposed to amend the 2024 NCAC&P with language that has already
been approved by the NC Building Code Council for the 2018 NCAC&P.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.

10. Request from Mariclena Salazar & Kyle Baker representing Shell Retail & Convenience
Operations (dba Shell TapUp) to amend the 2024 NC Fire Code, Section 5706.5.4.5 as follows:

5706.5.4.5 Commercial, industrial, governmental or manufacturing establishments. Dispensing of
I

Class I, IT and 111 motor vehicle fuel from tank vehicles into the fuel tanks of motor vehicles located at

commercial, industrial, govemmental or manufacturing establishments is allowed where approved

pernntted provided that such dispensing operations are conducted in accordance with the following

Motion/Second/Approved — The request was granted. The proposed effective date of this rule is January
1, 2025, unless the BCC assigns a delayed effective date.

Reason Given — Proponent seeks to add approved & add Class I liquids to Section 5706.5.4.5, which
govemns fleet fueling at commercial, industrial, governmental and manufacturing establishments. The
proposed revision | was approved and made final by the ICC Board during the 2024 IFC during the Group
Acycle.

Fiscal Statement — This rule is anticipated to provide equivalent compliance with no net decrease/increase
in cost. This rule is not expected to either have a substantial economic impact or increase local and state

funds. A fiscal note has not been prepared.
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NOTICE:

Appeals and Interpretations of the North Carolina State Building Codes are published online al the

Jollowing link.

https://www.ncosfm.gov/interpretations

NOTICE:
Amendments of the North Carolina State Building Codes are published online at the following link.

https://www.ncosfm.gov/codes/codes-current-and-past

Objections and Legislative Review requests may be made to the NC Office of Admnistrative Hearings in
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) after Rules are adopted by the Building Code Council.

tp: /www.ncoa / s/
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North Carolina License and Theft Burcau

PUBLIC NOTICE

This serves as a notice pursuant to G.S. § 20-288 of a license application submission by a
manufacturer, factory branch, factory representative, distributor, distributor branch, or distributor
representative that has not been previously issued a license by the Division.

Applicant’s Name: Garia Inc

Applicant’s Address: 14820 North Freeway, Ste 200 Houston TX 77090

Application Date: 03/01/2023

Names and titles of any individual listed on the application as an owner. partner, member or
officer of the applicant:

Mark Wagner CEO

Haresh Shah CFO
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Notice of Application for a new Innovative Approval of a Wastewater System for On-site Subsurface Use

Pursuant to NCGS 130A-343(g). the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) shall publish a Notice in the NC
Register that a manufacturer has submitted a request for approval of a modification of a wastewater system, component, or device for on-
site subsurface use. The following application has been submitted to DHHS:

Application by:  Jim King
Eljen Corporation
90 Meadow Rd
Windsor, CT 06095

For: Innovative Approval for the Eljen Geotextile Sand Filter (GSF) Model A42

DHHS Contact: Jon Fowlkes
1-919-707-5875
Fax: 919-845-3973
jon fowlkes(@dhhs nc gov

These applications may be reviewed by contacting the applicant or Jon Fowlkes, Branch Head, at 5605 Six Forks Rd, Raleigh, NC, On-Site
Water Protection Branch, Environmental Health Section, Division of Public Health. Draft proposed innovative approvals and proposed
final action on the application by DHHS can be viewed on the On-Site Water Protection Branch web site:
http://ehs. ncpublichealth.com/oswp/

Written public comments may be submitted to DHHS within 30 days of the date of the Notice publication in the North Carolina Register.
All written comments should be submitted to Mr. Jon Fowlkes, Branch Head, On-site Water Protection Branch, 1642 Mail Service Center,
Raleigh, NC 27699-1642, jon fowlkest@dhhs.nc.gov, or fax 919-845-3973. Written comments received by DHHS in accordance with this
Notice will be taken into consideration before a final agency decision is made on the innovative subsurface wastewater system application.
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Statutory reference: G.S. 150B-21.2.

Note fromthe Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules. The agency
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later
date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially froma prior published notice,
the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days.

TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

Notice ishereby giveninaccordance with G.S.150B-21.2 that the
Department of Insurance intendsto amend the rules cited as 11
NCAC 04 .0418-.0421, .0425 and repeal the rule cited as 11
NCAC 06A .1002.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it
impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless
the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available
on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https:/mww.ncdoi.gov/insurance-industry/rules-rules-review-
and-legislative-reports

Proposed Effective Date: September 1, 2023

Public Hearing:

Date: June 27,2023

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: North Carolina Department of Insurance, Albermarle
Building, Room 131, 325 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27603

Reasonfor Proposed Action: The proposed rule amendments
and rule repeal are being proposed in responseto a petition for
rulemaking.

Comments may be submitted to: Loretta Peace-Bunch, 1201
Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1201; email
ncdoirulescomments@ncdoi.gov

Comment period ends: July 14,2023

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: Ifan objection isnot resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as providedin G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

CHAPTER 04 - CONSUMER SERVICES DIVISION
SECTION .0400 - PROPERTY AND LIABILITY

11 NCAC 04 .0418
VEHICLES

(a) The Commissioner shall consider as prima facie violative of
G.S. 58-63-15(11) the failure by an insurance company to adhere
to the procedures in this Rule concerning the settlement of
covered "total loss" motor vehicle claims when the failure is so
frequent as to indicate a general business practice.

(b) For the purposes of this Rule, the following terms shall mean:

(1) "Licensed Motor Vehicle Dealer" means a
person who is licensed by the North Carolina
Department of Transportation Division of
Motor Vehicles pursuant to Chapter 20, Article
12 of the N.C. General Statutes.

(2) "Local Market Area™ means an area within a
100-mile radius of the place where the motor
vehicleis principally garaged. If a substantially
similar motor vehicle is unavailable within a
100-mile radius, the insurance company may
increase the radius in increments of 50 miles
until a substantially similar motor vehicle can
be found.

3) "Published Regional-Average-Values™ Retail
Value" means valaes-demced—ﬁpem-pnmad-ep

TOTAL LOSSES ON MOTOR

-the
retail value of the claimant's motor vehicle at
the time of the loss derived from the printed or
electronic version of the J.D. Power Valuation
Services published pricing guide.

(4) "Substantially Similar Motor Vehicle" meansa
motor vehicle of the same make;-model-and

yearofthe damagedmotorvehicle. year, make,
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model, and trim level of the damaged motor

shall be paid by the parties equally. For purposes of the Section,

vehicle.

(¢) When a motor vehicle is damaged in an amount which,
inclusive of original and supplemental claims, equals or exceeds
75 percent of the pre-accident actual cash value as determined in
accordancewith Paragraph (d) of this Rule,an insurance company
shall designate the motor vehicle as a "total loss" and pay the
claimantthe pre-accident value. In return, the insurance company
shallreceive possession ofthe legal title of the salvage of the total
loss motor vehicle.

(d) Iftheinsurance company and the claimantare unable to reach
an agreement as to the actual cash value of the total loss motor
vehicle, the settlement offer shall be based upon the following
values:

1) The published regional-average—values—of
substantially similarmotorvehicles;and; retail
value; and

(2) The retail cost of two or more substantially
similar motor vehicles in the local marketarea
when substantially similar motor vehicles are
available or were available within 90 days of
the accident to consumers in the local market
area.

If no substantially similar motor vehicle is able to be located in
the local market area, the settlement offer may be based upon
quotations obtained from two or more licensed motor vehicle
dealers located within the local market area.

(e) If asettlementis notreached by the parties in accordance with
Paragraph (d) of this Rule, then on the written demand of either
the claimant or the insurer, each shall select a competent and
disinterested appraiser. The claimant and insurer shall submit
each appraiser's contact information within 10 business days after
the demand. The total loss vehicle shall be made available for
inspection for each appraiser to physically inspect the claimant's
motor vehicle. No other personshallinspectthe total loss motor
vehicle for the appraisers appraising the vehicle. In the event the
motor vehicle has been stolen and not recovered, a physical
inspection is not required. When determining the total loss motor
vehicle retail value, the appraisers shall consider the factors
identified in Paragraphs (d), (f), (g), (h) this Rule. After
completion of the appraisals, both appraisers shall submit the
appraisal to the claimant or the insurer, and both appraisers after
shall exchange appraisals within five business days. Should the
appraisers fail to agree, they shall the select a disinterested
appraiser to serve as an umpire. If the appraisers cannot agree
upon an umpire within five business days, then either the claimant
or the insurer may request that a magistrate resident where the
insuredmotorvehicle inreqgistered or principally garaged to select
the umpire. The appraisers shall submit their differences to the
umpire. The umpireis notreqisteredto inspect the total loss motor
vehicle. When the selected umpire received payment from both
parties, the umpire shall have three business days to render their
decision. The umpire shall prepare a report determining the retail
value of the total loss motor vehicle. In preparing the report, the
umpire shall not award appraised values that are higher or lower
than the determination of the two appraisers. The agreement of
the two appraisers or one appraiser agreeing to the report of the
umpire shall be binding. Each appraiser shall be paid by the party
selecting the appraiser and the expenses of appraisal and umpire

"appraiser" and "umpire" shall mean a person licensed as a motor
vehicle appraiser under G.S. 58-33-30(h)(1) and as defined in 11
NCAC 04 .0425.

{e)(f) Thesettlementoffer may be adjusted for condition, options,
equipment, and mileage, less the cost of unrepaired damage that
pre-existed the accident.

H(g) Applicablesalestax and vehicle registration fees shall be
included as part of the actual cash valuesettlement of the total loss
motor vehicle, except where the claimant retains the salvage
vehicle.

{(g¥(h) The insurance company shall give consideration to
evidence presented by the claimant such as receipts, photographs,
or other documentation thatthe total loss motor vehicle owned by
him or her was in a better condition prior to the accident than
suggested by the insurer's settlement offer.

(i) Whenamotor vehicle'stotal loss issettled on a basis which
deviates from this Rule, the deviation must be supported by
documentation within the claim file detailing the total loss motor
vehicle's condition and the reason for the deviation. Any
deductions from the actual cash value of the total loss motor
vehicle, including deduction for salvage or prior damage, shall be
itemized and contain the amount of the deduction. The
documentation that supports the basis for the settlement shall be
shared with the claimant. The insurance company's record shall
include documentation of the total loss settlement.

() If requested by the claimant, a total loss payment by an
insurance company shall be accompanied by a written statement
listing the estimates, evaluations, and any deductions used in
calculating the payment, and the source of these values.
(k) No insurance company, adjuster, appraiser, agent, or any
other person shallenter into any oral or written agreement(s), by
and between themselves, to limit any original or supplemental
claim(s) to keep the repair cost of adamaged motor vehicle below
75 percent of its pre-accident value.

da() At the election of the claimant, or in those circumstances
where the insurance company will be unable to obtain an
unencumberedtitle to the total loss motor vehicle, the insurance
company shall have the right to deduct the value of the salvage of
the total loss motor vehicle from the actual cash value calculation
and leave the salvage motor vehicle with the claimant.

B(m) If the insurance company makes a deduction for the
salvage value of a total loss motor vehicle retained by the
claimant, the insurance company shall, upon request of the
claimant, furnish the claimant with the name and address of a
salvage dealer who will purchase the salvage for the amount
deducted.

{my(n) Where the insurance company has the right to elect to
replace the total loss motor vehicle and does so, the replacement
motor vehicle shall be substantially similar to the total loss motor
vehicle and paid for by the insurance company, subjectonly to the
deductible and to the value of any additional options and
equipment chosen by the claimant.

{m(0) The insurance company shall be responsible for all
reasonable towing and storage charges until three days after the
motor vehicle'sowner and storage facility are notified in writing
that the insurance company shall no longer reimburse the motor
vehicle's owner or storage facility for storage charges.
Notification to the motor vehicle's owner shall include the name,
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address, and telephone number of the facility where the motor 2 An insurer shall perform a physical or digital
vehicle is being stored. Notification to the storage facility shall inspection of the damaged vehicle within 10
include the name, address, and, if available, telephone number of busm%ssdaysthree business days of receipt of
the motor vehicle's owner. Proof of mailing, as defined in Rule the claim. If the insurer cannot perform the
.0430 of this Section, shall serve as the proofthatthe notification inspection in the timeframe, the-insurershall
required by this Rule occurred. provide-the claimantwith-a verbal orwritten
{8}(p) Ininstanceswhere the towingand storage chargesare paid explanationofthe reasonthe inspection-hasnot
to the owner, the check or draft for the amount of such service occurred the insurer shall appoint an
shall be payable jointly to the owner and the towing or storage independent licensed motor vehicle damage
service. appraiser to physically inspect and prepare a
{)(q) No insurance company shall abandon the salvage of a total damage appraisal within three business days.
loss motor vehicle to a towing or storage service without the Thereason forthe delay shall be documentedin
consent of the towing or storage service involved. writing within the claim file.
3) No-insurer-shall refuse to-perform-aphysical
Authority G.S. 20-279.2; 58-2-40; 58-63-65. inspectionofthe damagedvehicle-if requested
by the claimant. When requested by the
11 NCAC 04 .0419 MOTOR VEHICLE RERAIR claimantorthe claimant's chosenrepair facility,
ESTIMATES DAMAGE APPRAISALS no insurer shall refuse to perform a physical
(a) The Commissioner shall consider as prima facie violative of inspection of the damaged vehicle within two
G.S. 58-63-15(11) the failure by an insurance company to adhere business days of the request.
to the procedures in this Rule concerning repair estimates on (4) The insurer may shall satisfy the inspection
covered motor vehicle damage claims when the failure is so requirements of this Rule by havinga licensed
frequent as to indicate a general business practice. motor vehlcle damage appralser conduct the
(b) Forthe purposesof thisRule, the following terms shall mean: - physical
1) "Digital Inspection” means an-inspection-ofa inspection of the damaged vehicle W|th|n two
damaged-motor vehicle conducted by using business days of the request.
igital_p! videos, or_other digita (5) A insus W provide a verbal .
evidence—through—an—electronic—processing explanationtotheclaimantifthereisany delay
i i -areviewofa inrespondingto-arequest fora-supplemental
damaged motor vehicle by observing digital inspection—Thereasonfor the delay shall be
photographs, videos, or other digital evidence documented-inwritingin-the claimfile. Upon
for the insurer to prepare for a "Physical request by the claimant's chosen repair facility.
Inspection" for appraising the cost of repairing the insurer or insurer's representative shall
the damaged motor vehicle. perform a supplemental inspection within two
(2) "Licensed Motor Vehicle Damage Appraiser" business days of the request.
means an individual who is licensedas-amotor (6) An insurer shall-uponreguest. shall provide
vehicle damage appraiserpursuantto-Article 33 copies of the original estimate and all
ofChapter 58 of the N.C- General Statutesoris supplemental estimates to the claimant.
licensed—in—another—state —whaoselicensing @) When the insurer elects to have the damaged
requirements—are substantially similar toor vehicle repaired, the insurer shall; shall furnish
exceed-those-establishedunder-that-Article: a the claimant with a copy of its damage appraisal
resident of North Carolinaor a resident of a and all supplemental appraisals. The damage
county of a bordering state, which county is appraisal and supplemental appraisal Fhis
contiguouswith the state line of North Carolina, estimate shall contain the name and address of
licensed as a motor vehicle damage appraiser theinsurerand, if the estimate damage appraisal
pursuantto Article 33 of Chapter 58 ofthe N.C. or_supplemental appraisal was prepared by
General Statutes. someone other than the insurer, the name and
(3) "Physical Inspection” means an inspection of a address of the person preparing the-estimate.
damaged motor vehicle conducted in person by damage appraisal or the supplemental
an insurer's representative. representative or appraisal. If there is a dispute concerning pre-
claimant's representative. existing damage to the vehicle that the insurer
(c) When a motor vehicle is damaged, and the claim is either does not intend to have repaired, the extent of
covered by an insurer for a first-party claim or liability is such damage shall be stated in the estimate.
established for a third-party claim, the insurer shall adhere to the appraisal.
following procedures concerning repair estimates: 8) No repair facility or repair facility employee
1) If the insurer requires the claimant to obtain shall appraise damages to a motor vehicle on
more than two estimates of property damage, behalf of the insurer unless the person
any cost of the additional estimate(s) shall be performing the appraisal is a licensed motor
paid by the insurer. vehicle damage appraiser.
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(10)

All appraisals to a motor vehicle shall contain
all_known necessary repairs and repair
procedures established within the estimating
software. The estimating software shall not be
manipulated in any manner to add or remove
known necessary repairs established within the
estimating software, and all known necessary
repairs shall be properly listedin its respected
category provided by the estimating software.
"Nonoriginal crash repair part," as that term is

(11)

usedin G.S.58-36-95,are required to be at least
equal in terms of fit, quality, performance and
warranty to the original manufactured parts
they replace. When the insurer elects to have
the damaged vehicle repaired, the insurer may
elect to replace the damaged parts not made by
the original manufacturer.

(A When the insurer requires the use of
nonoriginal crash repair parts, the
insurer shall warranty the parts not
made by the original manufacturer.

(B) Whenanonoriginal crashrepair partis
found not to be at least equal in terms
of fit, quality, performance, and
warranty to the original manufactured
partsthey replace, the insurer shall pay
and take possession of, or pay all costs
in returning the parts and replace the
nonoriginal crash repair with the
original vehicle manufacturer's parts.
No insurer shall specify a specific
supplier or non-original or original
replacement parts.

No insurer shall require the use of an

(12)

aftermarket part in the repair of a motor vehicle
unless the aftermarket part is at least equal to
the original part in terms of fit, quality,
performance, and warranty to the original
manufactured parts they replace. Insurers
specifying the use of aftermarket parts shall
include in the estimate the costs of any
modifications made necessary by the use of
aftermarket parts. When any modifications of
the aftermarkets part fail to be at least equal to
the original part in terms of fit, quality,
performance, and warranty, the insurer shall
pay for the aftermarket parts and take
possession of, or pay all cost in returning the
aftermarket parts, replacing the aftermarket
parts with the original vehicle manufacturer's

parts.
When an insurer elects to repair a third-party

claimant's damaged vehicle, the insurer shall
inform the third-party claimant in writing, that
the claimant may have a right to assert a claim
for "diminutionin fair market value", pursuant
to G.S. 20-279.21(d)(1). Pursuant to G.S. 20-
279.21(0), an insurer that fails to comply with

subsection (d1) shall be subject to civil penalty
under G.S. 58-2-70.

(13) Pursuantto G.S. 58-3-180, an insurer or an
insurer's representative estimate shall include a
verbatim copy of G.S. 58-3-180 on the second
page of all repairs estimates.

(14) When afirst-party claimant and the insurer fail

to agree to the amount necessary to repair or
replace the property with other property of the
like kind and quality, either the claimant or the
insurer may demand an appraisal of the loss.
The claimant and the insurer each shall selecta
competent and disinterested appraiser. The
claimant and the insurer shall submit each
selected appraiser's contact information within
five business days and the selected appraisers
shall contact each other within five business
days after the contact information has been
provided. In other to prepare an appraisal in
repairing of the claimant's motor vehicle, both
appraisers _shall physically inspect the
claimant's motor vehicle. The insurer's
representative _or claimant's representative
damage appraisal shall contain _all know
necessary repairs and repair procedure
established within the estimating software. The
estimating software shall not be manipulated in
any manner to add or remove known necessary
repairs _established within the estimating
software, and all known necessary repairs shall
be properly listed in its respected category
provided by the estimating software. After
completion of the appraisals, both appraisers
shall submit the appraisal to the claimant or the
insurer, and both appraisers after shall
exchange appraisals within five business days.
Should the appraisers fail to agree, they shall
the selectadisinterested appraiser to serve asan
umpire. If the appraisers cannot agree upon an
umpire within five business days, then either
the claimant or the insurer may request that a
magistrate resident where the insured motor
vehicle in registered or principally garaged to
select the umpire. The appraisers shall submit
their differences to the umpire. The umpire is
not registered to inspect the total loss motor
vehicle. When the selected umpire received
payment from both parties, the umpire shall
have three business days to render their
decision. The umpire shall prepare a report
determining the retail value of the total loss
motor vehicle. In preparing the report, the
umpire shall notaward appraised valuesthatare
higher or lower than the determination of the
two appraisers. The agreement of the two
appraisers or_one appraiser_agreeing to the
report of the umpire shall be binding. Each
appraisershall be paid by the party selectingthe
appraiser and the expenses of appraisal and
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umpire shall be paid by the parties equally. For
purposes of the Section, "appraiser" and
"umpire" shall mean a person licensed as a
motor vehicle damage appraiser pursuant to
Article 33 of Chapter 58 of the N.C. General
Statutes. No other person shall invoke this
appraisal clause on behalf of the claimantor the
insurer. An appraiser or umpire fails comply
with subsection shall be subjected to a 30-day
suspension of license. As proof of the
appraiser's inspection, the appraiser shall take a
digital image of their North Carolina
Department of Insurance photo ID or driver's
license by placing it near the motor vehicle's
VIN plate at windshield, or VIN label or the
driver's side of the motor vehicle, or beside the
license tag of the motor vehicle.

Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-63-65.

11 NCAC 04 .0420
ORAL AGREEMENTS
(a) Once an insureraccepts liability oradvisesa claimant to have
damaged property repaired with theunderstandingthat the insurer
will pay or reimburse the claimant, the-insurershall-ifrequested
by-the-claimant; the insurer shall confirm the understanding in
writing. Such writingshall clearly state the responsibility assumed
by the insurer for payment of incurred costs. costs, and shall
include a verbatim copy of G.S. 58-3-180.

(b) M-soreguested by the claimantthe The insurer or its
representative shall confirm in writing all other oral agreements
between itself or its representative and the claimant.

WRITTEN CONFIRMATION OF

Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-3-100; 58-63-15.

11 NCAC 04 .0421
CLAIM PAYMENTS
(a) The Commissioner shall consider the failure by an insurer to
adhere to the procedures in this Rule concerning loss and claim
payments as prima facie evidence violation of G.S. 58-63-15(11)
when such failure is so frequent as to indicate a general business
practice.

(b) Whenamotorvehicle isdamaged andthe claimis covered by
an insurer, the insurer shall adhere to the following procedures
concerning loss and claim payments.

(1) Loss and claim payments shall be mailed or
delivered within 10 business days after the
claim is settled.

(2) Unless the insured consents, no insurer shall
deduct premiums owed by the insured ona
policy fromalossor claim payment made under
another policy.

3) No insurer shallwithhold the entire amount of
a loss or claim payment because the insured
owes premium or other monies in an amount
less than the loss or claim payment.

4 If arelease or full payment of claim is executed
by a claimant involving a repair to a motor
vehicle, it shall notbar the right of the claimant

HANDLING OF LOSS AND

toassertaclaimfor property damages unknown
to either the claimant or to the insurance carrier
prior to the repair of the motor vehicle if the
damages were caused by the accidentand could
not be determined or known until after the
repair or attempted repair of the motor vehicle.
Thisclaimshall be assertedwithinthe statute of
limitations set forth in G.S. 1-52(16).

(5) If arelease or full paymentof claimis executed
by a third-party claimant involving a repair to a
motor vehicle, the insurer shall inform it-shall

I - . i | -

known-untilafter the repairorattempted-repair
ofthe motorvehicle. the third-party claimant of
theirrightto assertaclaimfor diminution in fair
market value pursuant to G.S. 20-279.21(d1)
caused by the accident and could not be
determined or known until after the repair or
attempted repair of the motor vehicle. Pursuant
to G.S. 20-279.21(0) an insurer that fails to
comply with subsection (d1) is subject to civil
penalty under G.S. 58-2-70. This claim shall be
asserted within the statute of limitations set
forth in G.S. 1-52(16).

(c) For purposes of this Rule, "diminution in fair market value"

shall be as deflned |n 11 NCAC 04 0425

wﬁh—the—ethe{—pamf-When a clalm for d|m|nut|on in fair market

value isasserted pursuantto this Ruleand G.S.20-279.21(d1), the
insurer shall respond to the claimant's claim for diminution in fair
market value within five business days. When the claimant and
the insurer fail to agree as to the difference in fair market value of
the vehicle immediately before theaccidentand immediately after
the accident, either the claimant or the insurer may demand an
appraisalofthe loss. The claimantand the insurer each shall select
a_competent and disinterested appraiser. The claimantand the
insurer shall submit each selected appraiser's contact information
within five business days and the selected appraisers shall contact
each other within five business days after the contact information
has been provided. In other to prepare an appraisal in repairing of
the claimant's motor vehicle, both appraisers shall physically
inspect the claimant's motor vehicle. After completion of the
appraisals, both appraisers shall submit the appraisal to the
claimant or theinsurer, and both appraisers after shall exchange
appraisals within five business days. Should the appraisers fail to
agree, they shall the selecta disinterested appraiser to serve as an
umpire. If the appraisers cannotagree upon an umpire within five
business days, then either the claimant or the insurer may request
that a magistrate resident where the insured motor vehicle in
registered or principally garaged to select the umpire. The
appraisers shallsubmit their differences to theumpire. The umpire
is not registered to inspect the total loss motor vehicle. When the
selected umpire received payment from both parties, the umpire
shall havethree business days to render theirdecision. The umpire
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shall prepare a report determining the retail value of the total loss
motor vehicle. In preparing the report, the umpire shall notaward
appraised values that are higher or lower than the determination
of the two appraisers. The agreement of the two appraisers or one
appraiser agreeing to the report of the umpire shall be binding.
Each appraiser shall be paid by the party selecting the appraiser
and the expenses of appraisal and umpire shall be paid by the
parties equally. For purposes of the Section, "appraiser" and
"umpire" shall mean a person licensed as a motor vehicle damage
appraiser pursuantto Article 33 of Chapter 58 of the N.C. General
Statutes. No other person shall invoke this appraisal clause on
behalf of the claimant or the insurer. An appraiser or umpire that
fails comply with subsection shall be subjected to a 30-day
suspension of license. No person shall inspect the claimant's
vehicle in_the absence of the selected appraiser. A physical
inspection shall not be required when such damage to the motor
vehicle sustained was of bolt-on cosmetic parts, having non-
structural panel damage. A physical inspection may not be

@) Is not employed by eitherthe claimant
or-the-nsurer; the claimant's or the
insurer's repair facility;

i ol it

€

outcome-of theappraisaland
{e}(b) Did not participate in the original or
supplemental appraisal;

(©) Appraisal service available to both the
claimant and the insurer;

(d) Is not a third-party administrator for
the insurer;

(e) Does not provide vehicle valuation
software to the insurer;

(0] Has no financial interest in the
outcome of the appraisal; and

[(s)] Has freedom from "bias and

prejudice” by either the claimantor the
insurer.

required when value in the event of adverse weather travel (5) "First-Party Claimant" means a person that is
conditions. As proof of the appraiser's inspection, the appraiser makinga claimonan insurance policy in which
shall take a digital image of their North Carolina Department of they are the insured party.
Insurance photo ID or driver's license by placing it near the motor (6) "Insurer" means as defined in G.S. 58-1-5(3),
vehicle's VIN plate atwindshield, or VIN label or the driver'sside and includes any person authorized by the
ofthe motorvehicle, or besidethe licensetagof the motor vehicle. insurerto represent the insurer with respect to a
An insurer thatfails comply with subsection G.S. 20-279.21(d1) claimand who is acting within the scope of the
shall subjected to a civil penalty under G.S. 58-2-70. person's authority.
(e) When the liability carrier's insured is under-insured or non- @) "Nonoriginal manufacturer" means any
insured, it shall not bar the right of the third-party claimant to manufacturer other than the original
assert a claim for repairing the motor vehicle or to assert a claim manufacturer of a part.
for diminution in fair market value which the insured is legally (8) "Part" means a component of a motor vehicle.
entitled to recover from owner or operator of an uninsured- (9) "Third-Party Claimant™ means a personthat is
underinsured motor vehicle pursuant to G.S. 20-279.21. makinga claimonaninsurance policy in which
they are not the insured party.
Authority G.S. 20-279.2; 58-2-40; 58-63-65. (10) "Uninsured — Underinsured Claimant" meansa
person thatis makinga claim on an insurance
11 NCAC 04 .0425 DEFINITIONS policy inwhich the insured is legally entitled of
As used in this Section the following terms shall be construed as the repairing the motor vehicle and the rightto
follows: recover the diminished value of the motor
(1) "After market part” means a part made by a vehicle from the owner or the operator of an
nonoriginal manufacturer. uninsured — underinsured motor vehicle
(2) "Claimant" means a first-party or third-party pursuant to G.S. 20-279.21.
claimant. (11) "Nonoriginal crash repair part" as that term is
3) "Diminution in Fair Market VValue," as that term used in G.S. 58-36-95, refers to sheet metal
isused in G.S.20-279.21, meansthe difference and/or plastics parts — generally components of
in the fair market value of the vehicle the exterior of a motor vehicle — that are not
immediately before the accident and after any manufactured by or for the original equipment
repairs made to the vehicle as a result of the manufacturer of the vehicle. The "non-original
accident have been completed. crash repair part” are required to be at least
(4) "Disinterested appraiser," asthattermisusedin equal in terms of fit, guality, performance and
G.S20-279.21 meansamotorvehicle damage warranty to the original manufactured parts
appraiserwho: as thattermis used in G.S. 20- they replace.
279.21(d1), means an individual who is a (12) "Like and Kind Quality" as that term is used in
resident of North Carolina, or a resident of 11 NCAC 04.0426.Noinsurer shall requirethe
another state that livesin a county contiguous use of an aftermarket part in the repair of a
with the North Carolina border, licensed as a motor vehicle unless the aftermarket partsis at
motor vehicle damage appraiser pursuant to least equal to the original part terms of fit,
Article 33 of Chapter 58 of the N.C. General quality, performance, and warranty. Insurers
Statutes, who: specifying the use of aftermarket parts shall
include in the estimate the costs of any
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modifications made necessary by the use of
aftermarket parts.

Authority G.S. 20-279.2; 20-279.21; 58-2-40.
CHAPTER 06 - AGENT SERVICES DIVISION
SUBCHAPTER 06A - AGENT SERVICES DIVISION

SECTION .1000 - MOTOR VEHICLE DAMAGE
APPRAISERS
11 NCAC 06A .1002 ETHICAL STANDARDS

Authority G.S. 58-2-40.

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-
21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Wildlife Resources Commission intends to
readopt with substantivechangesthe rule cited as 15ANCAC 10A
1201, readopt without substantive changes the rules cited as 15A
NCAC 10A.0401,.0402, and repeal through readoption the rule
cited as 15A NCAC 10A .1101.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it
impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless
the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available
on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp.

Pursuantto G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed
for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be
published. The textof the rulesare available onthe OAHwebsite:
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://www.ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations

Proposed Effective Date: September 1, 2023

Public Hearing:

Date: June 7, 2023

Time: 2:00 p.m.

Location:

Zoom meeting. Registration required: https://ncwildlife-
org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_jCjVQv3NQCS78b6x7I
CRvQ.

Join by phone toll free (833 568 8864) using Webinar ID: 160
366 9451

Reason for Proposed Action: Pursuantto 150B-21.3A, the
agency is required to readopt 10A rules as part of the periodic
review process.

Comments may be submitted to: Rulemaking Coordinator,
1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; emalil
regulations@ncwildlife.org

Comment period ends: July 14,2023

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: Ifan objectionisnotresolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approvesthe rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objectionsto the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER
SAFETY

SUBCHAPTER 10A - WILDLIFE RESOURCES
COMMISSION

15ANCAC 10A .0401 FORM AND CONTENTS OF
PETITION (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)

15ANCAC 10A .0402 ACTION ON PETITION
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .1100 - WAIVER

15ANCAC 10A 1101 WAIVER

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-274; 150B-19(6).
SECTION .1200 - EMERGENCY POWERS

15A NCAC 10A .1201
(a) Upon

determining that a wildlife disease threatens irreparable injury to
wildlife or to the public, the Executive Director shall develop an
emergency response plan in consultation with the Governor's

office and the State Meterinarian—The planmay prescribe

Veterinarian prescribing one or more of the following actions:

EMERGENCY POWERS

Q) shorten or lengthen harvest seasons;

2 prohibit transport of wildlife resources or parts
thereof;

3) prohibit possession of wildlife resources;
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(4) confiscate wildlife resources;

(5) revoke licenses or permits;

(6) expand or restrict daily bag limits, daily creel
limits, and possession limits;

@) establish mandatory wildlife check stations;

(8) restrict public access to game lands;

(9) require prepayment of outside testing costs by
persons who desire disease testing of their
harvestedwildlife resourcewhen such testing is
not essential to the objectives of the plan;

(10) prohibit supplemental feeding or baiting of
wildlife;

(11) prohibit any other activities that aid in the
transmission or movement of the disease as
determined by the best available science
regarding the disease threat;

(12)  implement any other activities necessary to
reduce infection opportunities; and

(13)  implementany other requirements necessary to
assist in the detection and isolation of the
disease.

(b)  The Commission shall inform the public of the
implementation of emergency powers and actionsin the response
plan through press releases, postings on the Wildlife Commission
web-—site; website and social media, letters emails sent to
representatives of sportsmen's groups or other constituents likely
to be directly affected, and by employee outreach.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-306(f).

EE R S S i S S S S S

Notice ishereby giveninaccordance with G.S.150B-21.2 that the
Wildlife Resources Commission intends to amend the rule cited as
15A NCAC 10D .0220.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://www.ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations

Proposed Effective Date: September 1, 2023

Public Hearing:

Date: June 13,2023

Time: 2:00 p.m.

Location:

Zoom meeting. Registration required:
org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_Gh-
OE7qoQZG900Tciuw6CQ.

Join by phone toll free (833-568-8864) using Webinar ID: 161
574 0487

https://ncwildlife-

Reason for Proposed Action: The proposed amendment to this
rule was initiated by a petition for rulemaking received by the
Commission on February 14, 2023.

Comments may be submitted to: Rulemaking Coordinator,
1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; emalil
regulations@ncwildlife.org

Comment period ends: July 14,2023

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: Ifan objectionisnotresolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approvesthe rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objectionsto the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER
SAFETY

SUBCHAPTER 10D - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS
SECTION .0200 - USE OF GAME LANDS

15ANCAC 10D .0220 COLUMBUS COUNTY GAME
LAND IN COLUMBUS COUNTY

Columbus County game land is a Four Days per Week Area, in
which the following applies:

(1) Deer of either sexmay be taken on all the open
days of the applicable Deer With Visible
Antlers Season.

(2) Deer hunting on the Campbell Tract shall be by
permit only.

3) Pursuing or chasing deer with dogs for the
purposes of training or hunting is prohibited on
that portion of the Wannanish tract south of NC
214.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 42 -BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN
OPTOMETRY
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Notice is hereby givenin accordance with G.S.150B-21.2 that the
Board of Examiners in Optometry intends to amend the rule cited
as 21 NCAC 42D .0102.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://www.ncoptometry.org/proposed-rules

Proposed Effective Date: September 1, 2023

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be
requested inwriting within 15 days of notice): Contactthe Board
at (910) 285-3160 or email janice@ncoptometry.org.

Reason for Proposed Action: In certain environments where
supervisionis limited, requiring certified assistants or technicians
is in the public's interest.

Comments may be submittedto: Janice K. Peterson, 521 Yopp
Rd., Suite 214 #444, Jacksonville, NC 28540; phone (910) 285-
3160; fax (910) 285-4546; email janice@ncoptometry.org

Comment period ends: July 14,2023

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: Ifan objection is notresolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOod

SUBCHAPTER 42D - OPTOMETRIC ASSISTANT AND
TECHNICIAN

21 NCAC 42D .0102 EUNCTION
PARAOPTOMETRIC PERSONNEL

(a) For the purposes of this Rule, "paraoptometric personnel”
means an optometric assistant, optometric technician, or similarly
titled positionwho qualifies by trainingand experience to perform
duties of an administrative, technical, or clinical nature and is
directed and supervised by a licensed optometrist. Paraoptometric
personnel who wish to become certified as optometric assistants
or_optometric technicians must be certified by the American
Optometric Association and maintain such certification.

(b) Paraoptometric personnel shall perform his or her functions
withinthe scope ofhisor hertraining, asdirected by and assigned
by an optometrist, so long as those functions are at the specific
direction and under the supervision of the licensee. The Board
may require that paraoptometric personnel be certified in
environments where supervision is limited.

Authority G.S. 90-115.1(6); 90-117.5.
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the Rules Review Commission by the 270" day.

Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the
Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative
Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270" day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired. See G.S. 150B-21.1
and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements.

TITLE 14B — DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Rule-making Agency: Private Protective Services Board

Rule Citation: 14BNCAC 16 .0201,.0403,.0807,.1501-.1504,
1601, .1701-.1708

Effective Date: April 28,2023

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission: April 20,
2023

Reasonfor Action: Senate Bill 424 (S.L. 2022-66) created two
new license categories for the Board: Close Personal Protection
and Digital Forensics Examination. This necessitated the
creation of three new Sections of Chapter 14B Subchapter 16
(Section .1500, Section .1600 and Section .1700) and conforming
changes to three existing rules (.0201, .0403 and .0807.) These
portions of S.L. 2022-66 were effective October 1, 2022.

CHAPTER 16 - PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES
BOARD

SECTION .0200 - LICENSES: TRAINEE PERMITS

14B NCAC 16 .0201 APPLICATION FOR LICENSE
AND TRAINEE PERMITS

(a) Each applicant for a license or trainee permit shall submit an
online application on the website provided by the Board. The
online application shall be accompanied by:

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a
Live Scan or similar system approved by the
State Bureau of Investigations or one set of
classifiable fingerprints on an applicant
fingerprintcard that shall be mailed separately
to the Board's office;

(2) one head and shoulders digital photograph of
the applicantin JPG, JPEG, or PNG format of
sufficient quality for identification, taken
within six months prior to online application
and submitted by uploading the photograph
online with the application submission;

(3) upload-online a statement of the results of a
statewide criminal historyrecords search by the
reporting service designated by the Board
pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state
where the applicant has resided within the
preceding 60 months;

(4) the applicant's non-refundable application fee,
alongwith afourdollar($4.00) convenience fee
and credit card transaction fee;

(5) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective
Services Board by the State Bureau of
Investigation to cover the cost of criminal
record checks performed by the State Bureau of
Investigation, collected online by the Private
Protective Services Board;

(6) an Equifax credit check run within 30 days of
the license application submission date, which
will be submitted to the Board's investigator
during the application process; and

@) five letters attesting to the good character and
reputation of the applicant using the online
character letter submission process.

(b) Applications for trainee permits shall be accompanied by a
notarized statement on a form provided by the Board and signed
by the applicant and his or her prospective supervisor, stating that
the trainee applicant shall at all times work with and under the
direct supervision of that supervisor and the form shall be
uploaded as part of the online application process.

(c) Privateinvestigator and digital forensics examination trainees
applying for a license shall make available for inspection a log of
experience on a form provided by the Board. Board as required
by Rule .0403 of this Chapter.

(d) Each applicant must upload evidence of high school
graduation either by diploma, G.E.D. certificate, or other proof.
(e) Eachapplicantforalicense shall meet personally with a Board
investigator, the Screening Committee, the Director, or another
Board representative designated by the Director prior to being
issuedalicense. The applicantshall discuss the provisions of G.S.
74C and the administrative rules in this Chapter during the
personal meeting. The applicant shall sign a form provided by the
Board indicating that he or she has reviewed G.S. 74C and the
administrative rules in this Chapter with the Board's
representative. During a national or State declared state of
emergency that restricts or prohibits travel, the personal meeting
requirement may be waived if requested by the applicant in favor
of alternative means of communication.

History Note:
74C-12;

Eff. June 1, 1984;

Amended Eff. May 1, 2012; July 1, 2011; August 1, 1998;
December 1, 1995; July 1, 1987; December 1, 1985;
Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0201 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017;

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020;

Emergency Amendment Eff. May 6, 2020;

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 24, 2020;

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. May 14, 2021;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2022; January 1, 2022; July 1, 2021;

Authority G.S. 74C-2; 74C-5; 74C-8; 74C-8.1;
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Temporary Amendment Eff. April 28, 2023.

SECTION .0400 - PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR:
ELECTRONIC COUNTERMEASURES

14B NCAC 16 .0403
REQUIREMENTS
(a) In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this
Chapter, applicants for a trainee permit in private investigation-or
countermeasures investigation, electronic countermeasures, or
digital forensics examination shall be directly supervised by a
licensee approved by the Board and that supervisor shall be
responsible for the training and investigations other professional
activities of the trainee.

(b) Traineeswho wish to apply for a license must submit an
application to the Board in accordance with Rule .0201 of this
Chapter.

(c) Private investigator investigator, electronic countermeasures,
or digital forensics examination trainees shall maintain a logon a
form provided by the Board on its website as evidence of
experience. This log must be available for inspection by Board
staff when applying for a license.

(d) Any requestfor renewal of a trainee permit or for issuance of
a license shall be accompanied by an evaluation report of the
trainee's performance on a form provided by the Board on its
website and submitted by the trainee's supervisor.

TRAINEE PERMIT

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74C-2; 74C-5;

Eff. June 1, 1984;

Amended Eff. December 1, 1985;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0403 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020;

Temporary Amendment Eff. April 28, 2023.

SECTION .0800 - ARMED SECURITY GUARD FIREARM
REGISTRATION PERMIT

14B NCAC 16 .0807 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS
FOR ARMED LICENSEES AND REGISTRANTS
(a) Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration
permit shall first complete the basic unarmed security guard
training course set forth in Rule .0707 of this Chapter.
(b) Private investigator investigator, close personal protection, or
any other licensee licensees applying for an armed seecurity-guard
firearmregistration permit shall first complete a five-heur training
course consisting of the courses set forth in Rule .0707(a)(1) and
(2) of this Chapter and all additional training requirements set
forth in that Rule.
(c) Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration
permit shall complete a basic training course for armed security
guardswhich consists of at least 20 hours of classroom instruction
including:

(1) legal limitations on the use of handguns and on
the powers and authority of an armed security
guard, including familiarity with rules and
regulations relating to armed security guards
(minimum of four hours);

2 handgun safety, including range firing
procedures (minimum of one hour);

3) handgun operation and maintenance (minimum
of three hours);

(4) handgun fundamentals (minimum of eight
hours); and

(5) night firing (minimum of four hours).

Subparagraph (c)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (¢)(3), and
Subparagraph (c)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to the
applicant's participation in range firing.

(d) Applicants for either an armed licensee permit or an armed
security guard firearmregistration permit shall attaina score of at
least 80 percent accuracy on a firearms range qualification course
established by the Board and the Secretary of Public Safety, a
copy of which is on file in the Director's office, once in three
consecutive attempts. Should a student fail to attain a score of 80
percent accuracy, the student may be given a second opportunity
to qualify once in three consecutive attempts on the course of fire
the student did not pass. Failure to qualify after the second series
of attempts shall require the student to repeat the entire basic
training course for armed security guards. All attempts must take
place within 20 days of the completion of the initial 20 hour
course. For rifle qualification all shots shall be located on the
target.

(e) All initial armed-security—guard training required by this
Chapter shall be administered by a certified trainer and shall be
completed no more than 90 days prior to the date of issuance-of
applicationfor thelicensee permit or armed security guard firearm
registration permit.

(f) Allapplicants for anarmed security guard firearm registration
permit shall obtain training under the provisions of this Section
using their duty weapon and their duty ammunition or ballistic
equivalent ammunition, to include lead-free ammunition that
meets the same point of aim, point of impact, and felt recoil of the
duty ammunition, for all weapens- firearms.

(g) No more than six new or renewal licensee permit or armed
security guard applicants per one instructor shall be placed on the
firing line at any one time during firearms range trainingfor
armed-security-guards- training.

(h) Applicantsforre-certification of alicensee permit oran armed
security guard firearm registration permit shall complete a the
basic recertification training course for armed security guardsthat
consists of at least four hours of classroom instruction and is a
review of the requirements set forth in Subparagraphs (c)(1)
through (c)(5) of this Rule. Subparagraphs Subparagraph (c)(2),
operation under Subparagraph (c)(3), and Subparagraphs (c)(4)
and (5) of this Rule shall be reviewed prior to range firing firing
and maintenance under Subparagraph (c)(3) may be reviewed
after range firing. The recertification course is valid for 180 days
after completion of the course. Applicants for recertification of a
licensee permit or an armed security guard firearm registration
permit shall also complete the requirements of Paragraph (d) of
this Rule.

(i) An armed guard registered with one company may be
registered with a second company. The registration shall be
considered"dual.” The registration with the second company shall
expire at the same time that the registration expires with the first
company. An updated application shall be required to be
submitted by the applicant, along with the digital photograph,
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updated criminal records checks, and a forty dollar ($40.00)
registrationfee. If the guard will be carryinga firearmofthe same
make, model, and caliber, then no additional firearms training
shall be required. The licensee shall submit a letter stating the
guard will be carrying the same make and model firearm. If the
guard will be carryinga firearm of a different make and model,
the licensee shall submit a letter to the Board advising of the
make, model, and caliber of the firearm the guard will be carrying
and the guard shall be required to qualify at the firing range on
both the day and night qualification course. The qualification
score is valid for 180 days after completion of the course.
(j) To be authorizedto carry a standard 12 gauge shotgun in the
performance of his or her duties as an armed security guard, an
applicant shall complete, in addition to the requirements of
Paragraphs (a), (c), and (d) of this Rule, six hours of classroom
training that shall include the following:

1) legal limitations on the use of shotgun

(minimum of one hour);

(2) shotgun safety, including range firing
procedures (minimum of one hour);

3) shotgun operation and maintenance (minimum
of one hour);

(4) shotgun fundamentals (minimum of two hours);
and

(5) night firing (minimum of one hour).

Subparagraph (j)(2), "operation™ under Subparagraph (j)(3), and
Subparagraph (j)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to the
applicant's participation in range firing.

(K) An armed security guard applicant may take the additional
shotgun training at a time after the initial training in this Rule. If
the shotgun training is completed at a later time, the shotgun
certification shall run concurrent with the armed registration
permit. In addition to the requirements set forth in Paragraph (j)
of this Rule, applicantsshall attaina score of at least 80 percent
accuracy on ashotgun range qualification course established by
the Board and the Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is
on file in the Director's office.

() Applicants for shotgun recertification shall complete one hour
of classroomtrainingcoveringthe topics set forth in Paragraph (j)
ofthisRule and shall also complete the requirements of Paragraph
(d) of this Rule.

(m) To be authorized to carry arifle in the performance of his or
herdutiesasanarmedsecurity guard, an applicantshall complete,
in addition to the requirements of Paragraphs (a), (c), and (d) of
this Rule, 16 hours of classroom training which shall include the
following:

(1) legal limitations on the use of rifles (minimum
of one hour);

(2) rifle safety, including range firing procedures
(minimum of one hour);

(3) rifle operation and maintenance (minimum of
two hours);

(4) rifle fundamentals (minimumoften hours);and

(5) night firing (minimum two hours).

Subparagraph (m)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (m)(3),
and Subparagraph (m)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to
the applicant's participation in range firing.

(n) The applicant shall pass a skills course that tests each basic
rifle skill and the test of each skill shall be completed within three
attempts.

(0) An applicant may take the additional rifletraining at a time
after the initial training in Subsection (c) of this Rule. If the rifle
trainingiscompleted ata later time, the rifle certification shallrun
concurrentwith the armed registration permit. In additionto the
requirements set forth in Paragraphs (m) and (n) of this Rule,
applicants shall attain a score of at least 80 percent accuracy ona
rifle range qualification course established by the Board and the
Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is on file in the
Director's office.

(p) Applicants for rifle recertification shall complete an
additional one hour of classroom training covering the topics set
forth in Paragraph (m) of this Rule and shall also complete the
requirements of Paragraph (d) of this Rule.

(q) Upon written request, an applicant for a licensee permitor an
armed security guard firearm registration permit who possesses a
current firearms trainer certificate shall be given a firearms
licensee permit or registration permit that will run concurrent with
the trainer certificate upon completion of an annual qualification
with the applicant's duty firearms as set forth in Paragraph (d) of
this Rule.

(r) An armed licensee or security guard is required to qualify
annually both for day and night firing with his or her duty
handgun, shotgun, and rifle, if applicable. If the licensee or
security guard fails to qualify on any course of fire, the licensee
or the security guard shall not carry the firearm until such time as
he or she meets the qualification requirements. Upon failure to
qualify, the firearm instructor shall notify the licensee or security
guard that he or she is no longer authorized to carry the firearm
and the firearminstructor shallnotify the employer andthe Private
Protective Services Board staff on the next business day.

(s) A firearm training certificate of an armed security guard
remains valid even if the guard leaves the employment of one
company forthe employment of another. The range qualifications
shall remain valid if the guard will be carryinga firearm of the
same make, model,and caliber and no additional firearms training
shall be required. The licensee shall submit a letter stating the
guard will be carrying the same make and model firearm. If the
guard will be carrying a firearm of a different make and model,
the licensee shall submit a letter to the Board advising of the
make, model, and caliber of the firearm the guard will be carrying
and the guard shall be required to qualify at the firing range on
both the day and night qualification course. The qualification
score is valid for 180 days after completion of the course.
However, nothing herein shall extend the period of time the
qualification is valid.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-9; 74C-13;

Eff. June 1, 1984;

Amended Eff. November 1,1991; February 1, 1990; July 1,1987;
Temporary Amendment Eff. January 14, 2002;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2013; October 1,2010; June 1, 2009;
February 1, 2006; August 1, 2002;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0807 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; February 1, 2016; October 1,
2015;
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Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2023; February 1, 2022;
Temporary Amendment Eff. April 28, 2023.

SECTION .1500 - CLOSE PERSONAL PROTECTION

14B NCAC 16 .1501 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS
FOR A CLOSE PERSONAL PROTECTION LICENSE
(a) In addition to the requirements of G.S. 74C-8 and Section
.0200 of this Chapter, applicants for a close personal protection
license shall:
(1) establish to the Board's satisfaction three years
of verifiable experience while conducting close
personal protection servicesas set forth in G.S.
74C-3(a)(3a) with a private person, firm,
association, or corporation within the last 10
years;
(2) establishto the Board's satisfaction three years
of verifiable experience while conducting close
personal protection servicesas set forth in G.S.
74C-3(a)(3a) with any federal, state, county or
municipal law enforcement agency, or other
governmental agency within the last 10 years;
3) establish to the Board's satisfaction a military
occupational specialty and two years of
verifiable experience within the pastfive years
in the U.S. Armed Forces while conducting
close personal protection servicesassetforthin
G.S. 74C-3(a)(3a) while serving in an official
capacity; or
(4) have completed a course in close personal
protection approved by the Board given by a
school specializing in close personal protection
(or "executive protection") that consists of a
minimum of 40 hours of actual classroom and
practical instruction within the last 2 years.
years as required by Rule .1502 of this Chapter.

14B NCAC 16 .1502 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS
FOR CLOSE PERSONAL PROTECTION LICENSE

(a) Applicantsfor a close personal protection license who do not
have the experience set forth in Rule .1501(a)(1) through (3) or
(b)(2) and (2) shall complete a basic close personal protection (or
"executive protection™) training course approved by the Board
within the previous 24 months. The course shall consist of a
minimum of 40 hours of classroom and practical instruction
including: including as a minimum:

Q) Fundamentals of personal protection, including
as a minimum mission planning, performing
site surveys, route selection (primary,
secondary, etc.), medical evacuation, walking
formations (single, multiple, etc.),
communications  with  protectees, and
transitional movements (arrivals, departures,
plan changes, hasty movements, etc) -
(minimum of 26 hours);

2 Practical exercises — (minimum of 12 hours);
and

3) Legal Issues, including the rules set-forth-in
14B-NCAC-16-1500; of this Section, G—S-
74C-13G.S.74C-13,and 14BNCAC 16 .0807,
North Carolina's laws on use of force, and the
federal and State firearms law— (minimum of 2
hours).

(b) In addition to the minimum classroom and practical
instruction required by Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the applicant
must possess a basic first aid certificate from the American Red
Cross and a valid CPR and AED certification from the American
Red Cross, American Heart Association, American Safety and
Health Institute, or National Safety Council.

(c) Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule may be conducted remotely
as provided for by 14B NCAC 16 .0707(c).

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74C-5;
Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023.

(b) In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this
Chapter, an applicant for a close personal protection license that
is the spouse of an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces
shall establish to the Board's satisfaction:

(1) the spouse holds a current license, certification,
or registration from another jurisdiction and the
other  jurisdiction's  requirements  are
substantially equivalent to or exceed the
Board's requirements; and

(2) the spouse has two years verifiable experience
within the past five years while conducting
close personal protection as set forth inin G.S.
74C-3(a)(3a) while serving in an official
capacity with any entity described in Paragraph
(a) of this Rule.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74C-5(2); 93B-15.1;
Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023.

14B NCAC 16 .1503 INVESTIGATIONS DIRECTLY
RELATED TO PROVISION OF SERVICES

A close personal protection licensee may engage in activities
otherwise defined by G.S. 74C-3(a)(8) as an investigation which
are directly related to the provision of services including but not
limited to advance planning, intelligence, and risk assessment.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74C-5;
Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023.

14B NCAC 16 .1504
SERVICES

(a) Prior to providing any service to a client, a close personal
protection licensee shall enter intoawritten contract or agreement
that lists by name the individual person or persons for whom
service s to be provided, the specific function that constitutes the
service, and the duration of the service.

(b) A close personal protection license does not entitle the
licensee to provide services defined by G.S. 74C-3(a)(6) to any
person or persons not listed in the contract or agreement.

DISTINGUISHING SECURITY
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History Note:  Authority G.S. 74C-5;
Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023.

SECTION .1600 — DIGITAL FORENSICS EXAMINER

14B NCAC 16 .1601 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS
FOR A DIGITAL FORENSICS EXAMINER LICENSE

(a) In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this
Chapter, applicants for a Digital Forensic Examiner (D.F.E.)
license shall:

(1) establish to the Board's satisfaction three years
of verifiable experience within the past five
years conducting digital forensic examinations
asdefinedby G.S.74C-3(a)(5a) individually, or
with any private company or federal, state,
county or municipal agency;

(2) hold a North Carolina private investigator
license, or private investigator license from a
state reciprocal with North Carolina, and have
completed a course of instruction consisting of
not less than 40 hours of live classroom and
practical instruction in digital ferensics
forensics, and obtained certification from a
certifying entity approved by the Board within
the previous two years;

3) establish to the Board's satisfaction that the
applicant has been qualified as an expert
witness in an area of digital forensics in a court
of law usingthe standard set forth by the United
States Supreme Court in Daubert v. Merrell
Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc., 509 U.S. 579
(1993), and its progeny cases, within the
previous three years; or

(4) establish to the Board's satisfaction a military
occupational specialty and two years of
verifiable experience conducting digital
forensics examinations within the past five
years in the U.S. Armed Forces.

(b) In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this
Chapter, an applicant for a D.F.E. license that is the spouse of an
active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces shall establish to
the Board's satisfaction:

Q) the spouse holds a current license, certification,
or registration from another jurisdiction and the
other  jurisdiction's  requirements  are
substantially equivalent to or exceed the
Board's requirements; and

(2) the spouse has two years of verifiable
experience conducting digital forensics
examinations within the past five years.

(c) Using the formulain Rule .0204(d) of this Chapter, the The
Board shall give credit toward the experience requirements set
forth in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule as follows:

(1) An applicant shall receive 400 hours of
experience credit for an associate's degree. The
Board shall grant up to 100 additional hours if
the applicant can demonstrate that further
training or course-work related to digital

forensics examination was received while
obtaining the associate's degree.

(2) An applicant shall receive 800 hours of
experience credit for a bachelor's degree. The
Board shall grant up to 200 additional hours if
the applicant can demonstrate that further
training or course-work related to digital
forensics examination was received while
obtaining the bachelor's degree.

3) An applicant shall receive 1,200 hours of
experience credit for a graduate degree. The
Board shall grant an additional 300 additional
hours if the applicant can demonstrate that
furthertrainingor course-workrelated to digital
forensics examination was received while
obtaining the graduate degree.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74C-5; 93B-15.1;
Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023.

SECTION .1700 — TRAINING AND SUPERVISION FOR
DIGITAL FORENSICS
EXAMINER (D.F.E.) ASSOCIATES

14B NCAC 16 .1701 DEFINITIONS
In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 74C, the following
definitions shall apply to this Section:

(¢D)] "Digital Forensics Examiner Associate” refers
te means te an individual training to become a
digital forensics examiner licensee. A Digital
Forensics Examiner Associate may also be
referred to as a "trainee" in these Rules. A
Digital Forensics Examiner Associate must
completethreetraining levels as set out in this
Section.

(2) "One-on-one Supervision" means person-to-
person contact whereby the licensee is
personally and directly supervising or training
the Associate. The training licensee must be the
sponsoring digital forensics examiner licensee.
The Digital Forensics Examiner Associate may
not subcontract his or her employment to
another licensee. However, the sponsoring
digital forensics examiner licensee may
subcontract the Digital Forensics Examiner
Associate if the sponsor obtains prior written
approval from the Board's Director by showing
that the Digital Forensics Examiner Associate
will receive an educational benefit from the
subcontract employment and the Associate will
receive one-on-one supervision from another
licensee.

3) "Training Checklist" refersto means the
document(s) documents that shall state all areas
of training and work that the Associate has
performed. The supenvisinglicensee sponsor is
responsible for maintaining the training
checklistand providing a copy of the checklist
to the Associate. The Training Checklist must
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reflect the date the Associate advances from
one leveltoanother. The training checklistmust
be signed by the Associate and the spensering
licensee sponsor at the end of each reporting
period. In the event the Associate transfers
employmentto another licensee, the Associate

must provide the new supervising-licensee
sponsor with the training checklist and the new

sponsoringlicensee sponsor will then be
responsible for the maintenance of the
checklist. The Training Checklist must be
updated on a quarterly basis for Level One
Associatesand on a yearly basis for Level Two
and Level Three Associates. The training
checklistmust be maintained pursuant to Rule
.0108 of this Chapter. When an Associate
completes Level Three, the Training Checklist
must be made a part of the Associate's
application for a digital forensics examiner
license. The Board shall have immediate access
to the training checklist checklist upon request.
(4) "Associate Log" refers—to means the
document(s) documents maintained by the
Associate which shall list each case the
Associate has worked, the number of hours
spent on the case, and the type of work
performed. Details of the one-on-one training
must be documented within the Associate's log.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74C-2(c); 74C-5(2);
Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023.

14B NCAC 16 .1702 TRAINING AND SUPERVISION
REQUIRED IN LEVEL ONE

(a) If upon sponsorship, the Associate has less than one year or
1,000 hours of verifiable training or experience, the Associate
shallbe classifiedasa Level One Associateand shall undergo 160
hours of one-on-one supervision training.

(b) The first 40 hours of employment shall be one-on-one
supervision. The remaining 120 hours of one-on-one supervision
shall be gathered over the first year of employment or the first
1,000 hours of work, whichever comes first.

(c) A Level One Associate cannot, independently of the sponsor,
accept or contract employment. The Associate shall have direct
face-to-face, telephone telephone, or virtual contact with the
sponsor before accepting employment or before acceptinga new
case.

(d) The sponsorshall meet with the Level One Associate to
review the Associate's activities. The spensorlicensee's sponsor's
review may be by telephone, virtually, or face-to-face and shall
occur at least four times per month. The licensee sponsor shall
review each assignment the Associate is working or has worked
since the last review. Review sessions may encompass more than
one assignment.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74C-5(2);
Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023.

14B NCAC 16 .1703 TRAINING AND SUPERVISION
REQUIRED IN LEVEL TWO

(a) If upon initial application for an Associate permit, the
applicanthasatleastone year or 1,000 hours of verifiable training
or experience, the applicant will skip Level One and be classified
as a Level Two Digital Forensics Examiner Associate. An
applicant that skips Level One shallundergo 80 hours of one-on-
one training. The first 40 hours of one-on-one supervision shall
occur withinthe first 40 hours of employment. The remaining 40
hours shall be gathered over the first year of employmentor the
first 1,000 hours of work, whichever comes first.

(b) ALevel Two Associate cannot, independently of the sponsor,
accept or contract employment. The Associate shall have direct
face-to-face, virtual, or telephone contact with the sponsor.
(c) The sponsor shall meet with the Level Two Associate to
review the Associate's work product. The licensee's sponsor's
review may be by telephone, virtually, or face-to-face and shall
occur at least four times per month. The licensee sponsor shall
review each assignment the Associate is working or has worked
since the last review. Review sessions may encompass more than
one assignment.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74C-5(2);
Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023.

14B NCAC 16 .1704 TRAINING AND SUPERVISION
REQUIRED IN LEVEL THREE

(a) If upon sponsorship the Associate has at least two years or
2,000 hours of verifiabletraining or experience, the Associate will
be classified as a Level Three Associate and shall undergo 40
hours of one-on-one training.

(b) The first40 hoursof employment forthe Level Three Digital
Forensics Examiner Associate shall be one-on-one supervision.
(c) When the Level Three Associate completes the requirements
of Level Three by fulfilling the licensing requirements set forth in
Rules .0204 and .0401 of this Chapter, the Associate may apply
for a digital forensics examiner license.

(d) The sponsor shall meet with the Level Three Associate to
review the Associate's activities. The lcensee sponsor shall
review each assignment the Associate is working or has worked
since the last review. Review sessions may encompass more than
one assignment.

(e) The sponsoringlicensee sponsor shall have-contactwiththe
Level Three-Associatesufficientto-ensure ensure the L evel Three
Associate remains in compliance with G.S. Chapter 74C.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74C-5(2);
Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023.

14B NCAC 16 .1705 EDUCATIONAL DEGREES AND

NON-DEGREED TRAINING

Using the formulain Rule .0204 of this Chapter, the Board shall

give credit toward the educational and training requirements of

this Section as follows:

@ An applicant shall receive a minimum of 400

hours of experience credit for an associate's
degree. The Board shall grant up to 100
additional hours if the applicant can
demonstrate that further training or course-
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work related to digital forensics examination
was received while obtaining the associate's
degree.

2 An_applicant shall receive 800 hours of
experience credit for a bachelor's degree. The
Board shall grant up to 200 additional hours if
the applicant can demonstrate that further
training _or course-work related to digital

14B NCAC 16 .1707 ENFORCEMENT

A violation by the Associate may be deemed by the Board to bea
violation efby the sponsor ifthe violation is found to be the result
of insufficient supervision and may subject the sponsor to any
enforcement actions pursuant to G.S. 74C-17.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74C-2(c); 74C-5(2); 74C-12;
Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023.

forensics examination was received while
obtaining the bachelor's degree.

3) An_applicant shall receive 1,200 hours of
experience credit for a graduate degree. The
Board shall grant an additional 300 additional
hours if the applicant can demonstrate that
further trainingor course-work related to digital
forensics examination was received while

14B NCAC 16 .1708
TRAINING HOURS
If a Level One Associate transfers employment to another digital
forensics examiner licensee sponsor, the one-on-one training shall
not transfer and the Associate shall undergo new one-on-one

supervised training hours with the new spensoring-licensee

sponsor. If a Level Two or Level Three Associate transfers

TRANSFERABILITY OF

obtaining the graduate degree.

{(a)-An—applicant shall receive a minimum of 400 hours of

History Note:
Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023.

Authority G.S. 74C-5(2);

14B NCAC 16 .1706
EXPERIENCE

(a) The Boardshallconsider anypractical experience gained prior
to the application date. The Board shall not consider experience
claimed by the applicant if the experience was gained after
December 1, 2022:

(1) by contracting private protective services to
another person, firm, association, or
corporation while not in possession of a valid
private protective services license; or

(2) when employed by a company contracting
private protective services to another person,
firm, association, or corporation while the
company is not in possession of a valid private
protective services license.

(b) The Board shall consider any educational experience referred
to in Rule .1705 of this Section.

CONSIDERATION OF

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74C-5(2);
Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023.

employment to another licensee, all training hours shall be
transferred.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74C-5(2);
Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS
AND COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 06 — BOARD OF BARBER AND
ELECTROLYSIS EXAMINERS

Rule-making Agency:
Examiners

Board of Barber and Electrolysis

Rule Citation: 21 NCAC 06C .0912; 06F .0104, .0120; 06G
.0106; 06J .0110; 06K .0101, .0104, .0110-.0113; 06L .0104,
.0106, .0107, .0109, .0111, .0113-.0115, .0117-.0120, .0201-
.0203,.0205;06N.0101,.0105-.0107,.0109,.0110,.0112,.0114;
060.0102,.0104,.0106,.0108-.0110, .0113,.0116,.0117,.0121,
.0123-.0125; 06P .0103; 06Q .0101

Effective Date: May 2, 2023

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission: April 20,
2023

Reason for Action:

Session Law 2022-72 merged the State Board of Barber
Examinersand North CarolinaBoard of Electrolysis Examiners
into a newly created agency, the North Carolina Board of Barber
and Electrolysis Examiners. The legislation also created a new
license type for mobile barber shops; included language to
change references from "certified" instructors to "licensed"
instructors; changed references to license types such as
registered barber; changed the name of license types, with
authority for the board to set fees for mobile barber shops;
established sanitation requirements for businesses; updated the
referenceto license types; and reduced the requirements for out-
of-state applicants.

SUBCHAPTER 06C — CONTESTED CASES
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SECTION .0900 — HEARING OFFICERS

21 NCAC 06C .0912 COMPLAINTS

(a) An individual who wishes to make a complaint alleging a
violation of G:S-86A G.S. 86B or the Board's rules shall submit
the complaint in writing to the address or through the website set
forth in 21 NCAC 06A .0102.

(b) Upon receiptofa complaint, the Board's Executive Director
shall review the complaint. The Executive Director shall
investigate or assign a staff member to investigate the complaint,
except for complaints that are dismissed as set forth in Paragraph
(c) of this Rule.

(c) The Executive Director shall dismissthe complaintand notify
the complainant if the complaint:

(1) lacks information, such as barbershop business
location ora description of the alleged conduct,
necessary to investigate the complaint. Before
dismissal, the Executive Director shall attempt
to collect additional information from the
complainant; or

(2) alleges conduct that is not prohibited by G-S-
86A G.S. 86B or the Board's rules or is not
within the Board's jurisdiction. The Executive
Director shall refer the complaint to any other
agency that may have jurisdiction.

(d) After conductingan investigation, the assigned staff member
shall:

(1) recommend to the Executive Director that the
Board counselissue a probable cause letter for
violations of G.S-86A G.S. 86B or the Board's
rules; or

(2) recommend that the Executive Director dismiss
the complaint because there is insufficient
evidence ofaviolation of G-S-86A G.S. 86B or
the Board's rules or the alleged conduct is not
within the Board's jurisdiction.

(e) Afterreceivingarecommendation required by Paragraph (d)
of this Rule, the Executive Director shall:

(1) conduct or request additional investigation by
the assigned staff member on a case-by-case
basis when the recommendation does not
contain facts tosupportthe actionsset forth in
Subparagraphs (2) or (3) of this Paragraph;

21 NCAC 06F .0120

2 recommend that the Board counsel issue a
probable cause letter for violations of G-.S-86A
G.S. 86B or the Board's rules; or
3) dismiss the complaint and notify the
complainant, except that the Executive Director
shall refer the complaint to any other agency
that may have jurisdiction.
(f) At each regularly scheduled Board meeting, the Executive
Director shall submit to the Board a report of dismissed
complaints that he or she has not previously reported, with a
summary of the allegations and a justification for the dismissal. If
the complaint was dismissed within 30 days of the Board meeting,
the Executive Director may instead include the dismissal in the
report for the Board meeting following the next regularly
scheduled meeting.
(g) Byamajority vote, the Board may reopen any complaint that
the Executive Director hasdismissed, in which case the complaint
shall be handled as if the Executive Director had not dismissed
the complaint.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-5; 86B-2;
Eff. April 1, 2017 2017;
Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

SUBCHAPTER 06F - BARBER SCHOOL
SECTION .0100 - BARBER SCHOOL

21 NCAC 06F .0104 INSTRUCTORS

(a) At leastone barber instructor shall supervise barber students
whenever they are engaged in barbering activities-atal-times.
activities.

(b) Barber instructors shall barber only for the purpose of
instruction or demonstration while on the premises of the barber
school.

(c) All course work as outlined under 21 NCAC 06F .0120 shall
be taught by a certified licensed barber instructor.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-22;86A-23:86B-38; 86B-
39;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 8, 1978;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2009; June 1, 2008; May 1, 1989;
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016- 2016;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

BARBER SCHOOL SURRICULA CURRICULUM

(a) The following categories and courses shall comprise the minimum course work for all barber students at barber schools:

Hours
Classroom Lecture and Study Periods:

Hygiene and Good Grooming, Professional Ethics 25
Bacteriology, Sterilization, Sanitation 50
Implements, Honing, Stropping, and Shaving 30
Men's Haircutting 20
Cutting and Styling Curly Hair, Mustaches, and Beards 10
Shampooing and Rinsing, Scalp and Hair Treatments 10
Theory of Massage and Facial Treatments 5
Men's Razor Cutting, Women's Razor, and Shear Cutting 30
Finger Waving Men's Hair, Air Waving, and Curling Iron Techniques 5
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Permanent Waving For Men, Chemical Hair Relaxing, and Blow Drying 25
Hair Coloring 10
Men's Hair Pieces 5
The Skin, Scalp, and Hair 30
Disorders of the Skin, Scalp, and Hair 15
Anatomy and Physiology 10
Electricity Therapy, Light Therapy, and Chemistry 10
Barber Styling, Barber Shop and Mobile Barber Shop Management, and Product Knowledge
70
Licensing Laws and Rules and History of Barbering 20
Supervised Practice in Barbering:
Shampooing and Scientific Hair and Scalp Treatments 55
Shaving 50
Tapered Hair Cutting 250
Hair Styling of Men and Women 400
Facials, Massages, and Packs 10
Bleaching, Frosting, Hair Coloring, and Body Permanents 90
Cutting and Fitting Hair Pieces 5
Hair Straightening 5
The Analyzing and Treatment of Hair and Skin Disorders 10
Lectures and Demonstrations on Practical Work:
Shampooing and Scientific Hair and Scalp Treatments 15
Shaving 20
Tapered Hair Cutting 70
Hair Styling of Men and Women 100
Facials, Massages, and Packs 5
Bleaching, Frosting, Hair Coloring, and Permanent Waving 30
Cutting and Fitting Hair Pieces 5
Hair Straightening 3
The Analyzing and Treating of Hair and Skin Disorders 10
Men's and Women's Razor Cutting 15

Total Hours 4528 1,528

(b) Barber schools shall offer no more than the following hours through online classes based on the curriculum set forth in Paragraph
(a) of this Rule:

Hours
Classroom Lecture and Study Periods: 380
Supervised Practice in Barbering:
Tapered Hair Cutting 25
Hair Styling of Men and Women 34
Bleaching, Frosting, Hair Coloring, and Body Permanents 35
Lectures and Demonstrations on Practical Work:
Shampooing and Scientific Hair and Scalp Treatments 8
Shaving 5
Tapered Hair Cutting 20
Hair Styling of Men and Women 50
Bleaching, Frosting, Hair Coloring, and Permanent Waving 5
The Analyzing and Treating of Hair and Skin Disorders 7
Men's and Women's Razor Cutting 7

beel@and—#ama%qatenalsapeneeaeeep&ablethat onlv covertoplcs relatedto barbermq unless the othertoplcs are in sectlons separate

from barbermq topics.
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History Note:
Eff. March 1, 1983;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2008; May 1, 1989;
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2021 2021;
Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

SUBCHAPTER 06G - BARBER SCHOOL INSTRUCTORS

21 NCAC 06G .0106 INSTRUCTOR APPLICATION
To become a registered-barber licensed instructor an applicant
shall furnish the Board with the Form BAR-6 as set forth in 21

NCAC 06N .0107 and pay the fee in 2-NGCACO6N-0101(a)11)-
21 NCAC 06N .0101(a)(13).
History Note:

Authority G.S. 86A-23(a}—86A-25; 86B-39;
86B-41;

Eff. October 1, 2046- 2016;
Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.
SUBCHAPTER 06J - APPRENTICE BARBERS

21 NCAC 06J .0110
CHANGE

All apprentice barbers licensed apprentices and student-barbers
barber students with temporary permits shall notify the Board
within 60 30 days of any change in their permanent mailing
address.

NOTIFICATION OF ADDRESS

History Note:
40;

Eff. September 1, 2009;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016- 2016;
Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

Authority G.S. 86A-11;86A-24; 86B-27; 86B-

SUBCHAPTER 06K - REGISTERED LICENSED BARBER
SECTION.0100 — REGISTERED LICENSED BARBER

21 NCAC 06K .0101
BARBER
To become a registered licensed barber, an applicant shall:

(1) meet the qualifications in G.S—86A-3; G.S.
86B-23;

(2) furnish the Board with Form BAR-5 as set forth
in 21 NCAC 06N .0106 and pay the fee
accordingto 21 NCAC 06N .0101; and

3) make a score of at least 70 percent on the

clinical practical portion of the registered
licensed barber examination.

REGISTERED LICENSED

History Note:
41;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 8, 1978;

Amended Eff. March 1, 1983;

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. March 7, 1983;
Curative Amended Eff. April 6, 1983;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2008; May 1, 1989;
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016- 2016;

Authority G.S. 86A-3;-86A-25; 86B-23; 86B-

Authority G.S. 86A-22(1); 86A-22(4); 86B-38;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 06K .0104 OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS
An applicantwhois licensed as a barber in another state and who
wants to apply to become registered-as a licensed barber in this
State shall establish-hisorherout-of-state license-and-experience
and provide:
Q) the Form BAR-8 as set forth in 21 NCAC 06N
.0109 and the required fee as set forth in 2%
NCAC—06N—-0101(a)}21): 21 NCAC 06N

.0101(a)(24); and
2 a certified statement letter from the apphicants

state agency that issued the out-of-state Board
license, with stating the following: following

information:

@) the applicant's length of licensure in
that state;

(b) whether such licensure has been

continuous or has been interrupted by
periods when the applicant was not
licensed in the state;

(c) the reasonsfor any such interruptions
in licensure; and
(d) whether or not there have been any

disciplinary actions
applicant's license.

against the

History Note:
41;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 8, 1978;

Amended Eff. March 1, 1983;

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. March 7, 1983;
Amended Eff. September 1, 2013; May 1, 1989;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2016- 2016;
Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

Authority G.S. 86A-12;86A-25; 86B-28; 86B-

21 NCAC 06K .0110 IDENTIFICATION

All registered licensed barbers shall maintain their permit license
as definedin 21 NCAC 06P .0103(7) in their possession at-all
timeswhile whenevertheyare performingbarberingservices. The
individual conducting barbering services shall produce the a
current government-issued photo identification to the Board's
Executive Director or inspector upon request.

History Note:
26;

Eff. June 1, 2008;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016. 2016;
Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

Authority G.S. 86A-1;-86A-~10; 86B-21; 86B-
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21 NCAC 06K .0111
OF ADDRESS
All registered licensed barbers shall notify the Board within 68 30
days of any change in their permanent mailing address.

NOTIFICATION OF CHANGE

History Note:
86B-5; 86B-26;
Eff. September 1, 2009;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016- 2016;
Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

Authority G.S. 86A-5;-86A-10;-86A-21; 86B-2;

21 NCAC 06K .0112  APPLICANTS WITH MILITARY
TRAINING AND EXPERTISE
(a) Exceptforindividuals who want to apply under G-S-86A~12
G.S. 86B-28 forlicensureas to be a registered licensed barber, an
individual who has military training and expertise and wants to
apply to become a registered licensed barber in this State shall:
(1) meet the requirements of G.S. 93B-15.1(a) or
(a2); and
(2) submit the Form BAR-11 as set forth in 21
NCAC 06N .0112.
(b) The applicant shall submit with the Form BAR-11 a
certification letter from the applicant'sout-of-state state agency
that issued the out-of-state license of certifying the applicant's
licensure in that state if the following apply:

1) the applicanthasbeen licensed in another state;

(2) the applicant wants to be licensed without
examination;

3) the military servicerecords do notshowthatthe

applicant received at least 1,500 hours of
military trainingand that the applicant practiced
at least two of the five years preceding the date
of application; and
(4) the combination of the certification letter and
the military service records show that the
applicant received at least 1,500 hours of
training and practiced at least two of the five
years preceding the date of application.
(c) If the applicant meets the requirements in Paragraph (a) of this
Rule and G.S. 93B-15.1(a2), the applicant shall shall:

&) make a score of at least 70 percent on the
clinical practical examination. examination
requwed bv G S. 93B 15 1(a2)(2)

{e)(d) The Boardshall issue a temporary permit for the applicant

to work as a registered licensed barberwhile he or she complies

with the requirements of this Rule under the following
circumstances:

(1) if the applicant has submitted the Form BAR-

11 and part of the documentation required by 21

NCAC 06N .0112(a)(2), and this partial
documentation establishes that he or she served
in the military and has certification or
experience in barbering, the Board shall issue a
temporary permit that lasts 90 days or until the
Board denies the application, whichever is
earlier; or

(2) if the applicantis requiredto take the practical
examination and has met the requirements in

Paragraph-(a)-and-Subparagraph-{c}(1)-of this
Rule;Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the Boardshall
issue a temporary permit that last 90 days or
until the Board denies the application,
whichever is earlier. Upon written request by
the applicant, this temporary permit shall be
extendedfor 90 days no more than twice, unless
the Board denies the application.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-1;86A-11; 86A-12: 86A-
25; 86B-21; 86B-27; 86B-28; 86B-41; 93B-15.1;

Eff. April 1, 2017 2017;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 06K .0113 MILITARY SPOUSES

(a) Anindividualwho is currently licensed as a barber in another
state, is the spouse of a person serving in the military, and wants
to apply to become a registered licensed barber in this State shall
provide the following, unless he or she wants to apply under
anotherprovisionin-G.S—86A G.S. 86B-28 for licensure as a

registered licensed barber:
(1) the Form BAR-12assetforthin21 NCAC 06N

.0113; and
(2) a certification letter from the applicantsout-of-
state state agency that issued the out-of-state
license of certifying the applicant's licensure in
that state.
(b) The applicantshall instead apply for out-of-state licensure
under G:S-86A G.S. 86B-28 and Rule .0104 of this Section if the
certification letter required by Subparagraph (2)(2) of this Rule
does not show that the applicant: applicant
& completed at least 1,500 hours of barber school

training; training. and
@ -

©)_After bei the Ineylea splese.lelglt ,e dlateel al_ppllsatllellll
{d)(c) Upon request by the applicant, the Board shall issue one
temporary permitfor the applicantto work as a registeredlicensed
barber for 90 days while the applicant gathers the documents
required by this Rule.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-1;-86A~3;-86A-11;86A-12;
86A-25:86B-21; 86B-23;86B-27; 86B-28; 86B-41; 93B-15.1;
Eff. April 1, 2017, 2017;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

SUBCHAPTER 06L - BARBER SHOPS
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21 NCAC 06L .0104 BARBER SHOP AND MOBILE

BARBER SHOP PERMITS

{b}(a) Ifthe barbershopormobile barber shop iswill not be ready
for inspectionon a scheduled date, the owner or licensed barber
manager shall notify the Board.

{c)(b) Failure Ifabarbershop ormobile barbershop fails to notify
the Board of a change of address before the inspection, the barber
shop or mobile barber shop shall resuitinforfeiture-of forfeit the
inspection fee.

History Note:
29;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 8, 1978;
Amended Eff. May 1, 1989; March 1, 1983;
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016- 2016;
Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

Authority G.S. 86A-1;-86A-13; 86B-21; 86B-

21 NCAC 06L .0106 SEPARATION FROM OTHER
BUSINESSES; RESIDENTIAL SHOPS,-MOBH-E HOMES
BARBER SHOPS

(a) When a buildingor room s used for both a barber shop and
for some other business and the building or room does not have
air conditioning, ventilation, ex heat outlets, or air circulation, the
reguired requirement set forth in G.S. 86B-31(a)(1)(b) for a
partition between the barber shop andthe other businessmay shall

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-15; 86B-31;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 8, 1978;

Amended Eff. April 1,2010; June 1, 2008; January 1, 1995; May
1,1989; March 1, 1983;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2046. 2016;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 06L .0107 LAVATORY

(a) Each barber shop permitted before January 1, £995 1995, that
is not modified or structurally renovated after that date shall have
foreach barberafunctioningsink with hotand cold water, located
at a convenient place as required by G:S—86A-15@N 1) G.S.
86B-31.

(b) For barbershops permitted on or after January 1, 2995 1995,
or that undergo modifications or structural renovation after that
date, a sink shall be located within seven unobstructed linear feet
of each barber chair.

(c) Each sink of a barber shop shall have a drainpipe connected
to a sewer line to drain all wastewater out of the building.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-15; 86B-31;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 8, 1978;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2008; January 1, 1995; May 1, 1989;
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016- 2016;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 06L .0109
DISINFECTANTS

COMMERCIAL CHEMICALS

be fulfilled if the partition extends completed from the floor up to
a minimum of six feet with material fromsix feet to the ceiling
that permits geed air circulation.

(b) NotwithstandingParagraph (a) ofthis Ruleand 22 NCACO6L
0102 Rule .0102 of this Section, when a barber shop is located
within a shep salon licensed by the North Carolina Board of
Cosmetic Art Examinersand was permitted on or after January 1,
1995, or undergoes modifications or structural renovations after
thatdate, the areawhere the barber chair or chairsare located shall
comply with the sanitary regulations in G-S-86A-15(3) G.S. 86B-
31 and this Subchapter not inconsistent with this Rule.

(c) A barbershop permitted on or after July 1, 2008 2008, that
operates in a residential building shall maintain a separate
entrance that shall not open off the living quarters, and shall not
have any doors or openings leading to the living quarters that are
unlocked during business hours. Entrance through garages or any
other rooms is not permitted.

(d) The toilet facilities or any sink in the living quarters of any
residence shall not be considered to comply with the toilet facility
andsink requirementsin 21 NCAC 06L..0103 or the sink distance
requwement in 21 NCAC 06L .0107.

(a) No person, barber shop, mobile barber shop, or school
licensed or registered permitted under Chapter86A G.S. 86B of
the North Carolina General Statutes shall use any commercial
chemical disinfectant in the practice of barbering unless the
commercial-chemical disinfectant is received with a list of all
contents and instructions for its use.

(b) FEorthe purposes of this Rule “commercial chemical"is
defined-in G.S-86A-5(b)(1). Disinfectants must be:

(€8] registered with the Environmental Protection

Agency; and
(2) effective against communicable pathogens,

including:

Human immunodeficiency virus;
Hepatitis B and C;

Herpes;

Influenza;

Human coronavirus, including severe
acute respiratory syndrome
coronavirus 2;

Trichophyton;

Microsporum;

Epidermophyton; and
Staphylococcus.

CEBRE

SERS

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-5; 86B-2; 86B-31;
Eff. March 1, 1983;

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016. 2016;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.
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21 NCAC 06L .0111
MAY BE PERFORMED
(a) Exceptas provided in this Rule, all barber services as defined
in G:S-86A-2 G.S. 86B-22 shall only be performed at a location
orvehicle permitted by the Board as a barber shep-shop or mobile
barber shop.

(b) A registered licensed barber may perform barbering services
in a client's home, and the home shall be exempt from the
inspection requirements of G-S-86A-15(b); G.S. 86B-31(b) under
the following conditions:

(1) The clientuponwhombarber services are being
performed isunable, due to amedical necessity,
to come to a licensed barber shop or mobile
barber shop;

(2) The licensed barber maintains a log of each
instance where this exemption is used,
including the name of the client, address of the
home where the services were performed, the
date services were performed, and the medical
necessity requiring that barber services be
provided in the home. The log shall be made
available to the Board and its inspectors for;
review for review; and

3) The licensed barber otherwise complies with
G-S86A-15(3)- G.S. 86B-31(a).

(c) For purposes of this Rule, a "client's home" includes the
client's residence, nursing homes, rest homes, retirement homes,
mental health institutions, and similar institutions where the client
has established permanent residency.

WHERE BARBER SERVICES

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-15(c); 86B-22; 86B-31;
Eff. June 1, 2008;

Amended Eff. April 1,2010;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016- 2016;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 06L .0113 DISEASES
(a) No holder of a registered-barber; barber license, apprentice;

apprentice license, or barber student barber permit shall

knowingly serve a patron:
(1) with an open sore or sores;

(2) exhibiting symptoms of an infectious
dermatologic disease or disorder;

3) with parasitic infestations of the skin or hair; or

(4) with a communicable disease- disease that can

be spread by providing barber services.

(b) No holder of a registered-barber; barber license, apprentice;
apprentice license, or student barber permit who knows he or she

has an infectious dermatologic disease that can be spread by
providing barbering services, infectious disease with open sore or
sores on the hand or hands, e parasitic infestation of the skin or
hair in a communicable stage stage, or any other communicable
disease shall provide barber service in a barber shop, mobile
barber shop or, when authorized by Rule .0111 of this Section, in
a client's home.

History Note:
Eff. June 1, 2008;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016. 2016;
Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

Authority G.S. 86A-15; 86B-31;

21 NCAC06L .0114 PETS PROHIBITED

With-the-exception-oftrained-guide-or-assistance-animals: Except
forservicedogs;animalsas definedin 28 CFR 36.104, no animals

shall be permitted in a barber shop or mobile barber shop.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-15; 86B-31;
Eff. June 1, 2008;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2013;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016. 2016;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 06L .0115 INSPECTIONS OF SHOPS

(a) The Board's Executive Directorand its inspectors may enter
and make inspections of any barber shop or mobile barber shop
during its the business hours of the barber shop or mobile barber
shop for the purpose of determiningwhether ernrotG.S-86A G.S.
86B and the Board's administrative rules are being followed.
Persons authorized to make-an-nspection-of inspect barber shops
or mobile barber shops shall prepare a report according to Rule
.0119 of this Section. The report shall be signed by the inspector
and shall be available free of charge upon request by the-owneror
manageror any member of the public. The Board shall provide a
copy of any violation notice shall-be leftwith to the barber shop

or moblle barbershop ewner-er-regrstered-barbepmanagepand

(b) The Board's Executive Directorand its inspectors may shall
inspect all areas of the barber shop or mobile barber shop,

including the backstandand-its backstand, drawersand drawers,

cabinets, and—any—ether’—drawer-s—elesels closets, or other
- enclosures.

(c) The Board's Executive Director and its inspectors may shall

determine and assign numerical and letter sanitary grades to a

barber shop or mobile barber shop following inspections as set

forth in Rules 0118 and 0119 of this Sectlon Ih&grade—shall—be

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-15; 86B-31;
Eff. June 1, 2008;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2013;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016. 2016;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 06L .0117 GENERAL SANITATION

All barber shops and mobile barber shops shall remain free of any
signs-of rodents, rodent feces or urine, vermin, insects, insect
frass, mold, mildew, or water damage.

History Note:  Authority G.S-86A-15; G.S. 86B-31;
Eff. June 1, 2008;
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Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016- 2016;
Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 06L .0118 SANITARY RATINGS AND
POSTING OF RATINGS

(a) The sanitary rating of a barber shop or mobile barber shop
shall be based on a system of grading outlined in 2L-NCAC08L
0119, Rule .0119 of this Section. Based on the grading, all
establishments shall be rated in the following manner:

1) all establishments receiving a sanitary rating of
at least 90 percent shall be awarded a grade A,
(2) all establishments receiving a sanitary rating of

at least 80 percent, and less than 90 percent,
shall be awarded a grade B; and
3) a sanitary rating of less than 80 percent shall be
awarded a failing grade.
(b) Every barber shop or mobile barber shop shall be given a
sanitary rating.
(c) Thesanitary ratingof A, B, or failing given to a barber shop
or mobile barber shop establishment shall be posted at all times in

21 NCAC 06L .0119
SCHOOLS

a conspicuous place, defined as a place inside the barber shop or

mobile barber shop easily seen by the publicatthe frontofthe
shopatall-times. public.

(d) No newly established barber shop or mobile barber shop
receiving an initial inspection shall be permitted to operate
without firsthavingobtained-asanitaryratingcard with a grade
of not less than 80 percent.

(e) Barber inspectors shall give each barber shop and mobile
barber shop a new sanitary rating card- card upon initial

inspection.

History Note:
86B-31;

Eff. June 1, 2008;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2013;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2016;
Amended Eff. April 1, 2022. 2022;
Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

Authority 6-5—86A-5;86A-15; G.S. 86B-2;

SYSTEMS OF GRADING BARBER SHOPS SHOPS, MOBILE BARBER SHOPS, AND BARBER

The system of grading the sanitary rating of all barber shops shops, mobile barber shops, and schools shall be as follows, setting forth

areas to be inspested; inspected and the maximum points given for compliance. In cases where barber sheps shops, mobile barber shops,
or schools are exempt from specific rules cross-referenced below, the barber shop or school shall receive the maximum points for that

listing:
(1) whether the entrance and waiting area are sanitary 2;
(2) whether there-isa-watersystem the business complies with the applicable requirements for hotand cold running water
and water, plumbing or a septic system for removal of sewage sewage, and disposal of wastewater 2;
3) whether the walls and floors:

(a) comply with21 NCAC 06F .0101(b)(8) for barber schaals-or schools, 21 NCAC06L-0103(b) Rule .0103(b)
of this Section for barber shops shops, or Rule .0202(4) of this Subchapter for mobile barber shops 9;

(b) are sanitary

7.

(4) whether the barber shep shop, mobile barber shop, or school is well-lighted and well-ventilated, with sanitary

windows, fixtures, and ventilation surfaces

(5) whether the publictoilet toilets or lavatories:

(@) are sanitary and well-ventilated

(b) have soap and individual disposable towels

(c) have hot and cold running water

(6) whether each person working as a barber is sanitary in person and dress

@) for towels and linens:

31

=N

(a) whether there is a supply of sanitary towels 2;
(b) whether clean towels are stored separately as set forth in 21 NCAC 06F .0101(b)(12) for barber scheels
schools, er21 NCAC06L-0103{e) Rule .0103(e) of this Section for barber shops shops, or Rule .0202 of

this Subchapter for mobile barber shops 3;
(©) whether barbers have a sanitary hair cloth or cape for clients 1;
(8) whether there is a soiled towel receptacle that meets the requirements set forth in G.S-86A-15{}2)(d) G.S. 86B-
31(a)(2)(d) 4;
(9) for tools and instruments:

(a) whether disinfectants used by the barber shop or school are selected from those-approvedby registered with
the federal Environmental Protection Agency as identified in Pesticide Registration List N: Disinfectants for

Coronavirus (COVID-19), as set forthin Title 29 CFR 1910.509(b)(2) 4;
(b) whether disinfectantsare used according to manufacturer instructions 4;
(c) whether all implements are cleaned and disinfected and, when notin use, stored in atool cabinet as set forth

in 21 NCAC 06F .0101(b)(11) for barber schosls schools, er21- NCAC-061-0103(a) Rule .0103(a) of this

Section for barber shops shops, or Rule .0202(1) of this Subchapter 8;

(10)  for working areas:
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(a) whether the work stand is sanitary 3;
(b) whether sinksare sanitary 2;
(c) whether jars and containers are sanitary and disinfected 1;
(d) whether the work area is free from equipmentthatis unnecessary to provide barbering services, and whether
articles in the work area are sanitary 1;

(11)  whether the Hicensepermit; license or eertificate-ofregistration permit is current and posted as set forth in G-S-86A-

16 G.S. 86B-33

10;

(12)  whetherthesanitary rules and regulations are posted in a conspicuous place as setforth in G.S-86A-15(b) G.S. 86B-

31(b)

1;

(13)  whether thereare sterilizing containers and solutions that are used according to manufacturer instructions  20.

History Note:
Eff. June 1, 2008;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2013;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2016;
Amended Eff. April 1, 2018. 2018;
Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 06L .0120
OF ADDRESS

The ewnerormanagerofa barber shop or mobile barber shop
owneror-manager shall notify the Board of a change in the barber
shop's or mobile barber shop's mailing address or, if changed by
the United States Postal Service, the physical address, within five
business days of the change.

NOTIFICATION OF CHANGE

History Note:  Authority G-5-86A-1; G.S. 86B-21;
Eff. September 1, 2009;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016- 2016;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

SECTION .0200 — MOBILE BARBER SHOPS

21 NCAC 06L .0201 VEHICLES
(a) Only the following vehicle types shall qualify as mobile
barber shops:

(1) a motor home as defined in G.S. 20-
4.01(27)(k); or
(2) a self-contained, self-supporting, enclosed

mobile vehicle that is at least 16 feetin length
and that is not a towed unit or trailer.
(b) The vehicle shall have sufficient capacity for the barber to be
able to maneuver around the barber chair and safely provide
barbering services.
o) T iclo.shall i | rulos of t
{d)(c) The vehicle shall have ventilation and air circulation
through the use of fans or a heating, ventilation, and air
conditioning system.
{e)(d) Mobile homes, motor homes, trailers, or any type of
recreational vehicle approved before January 1, 2023, as
permanently affixed barber shops are not authorized to operate as
mobile barber shops unless they meet the requirements of this
Section and 21 NCAC 06N .0116.
{H(e) Mobilebarber shops shall display the name of the mobile
barber shop and permit number on the outside of the vehicle so
that the name and permit number can be seen by the public from
a distance of 50 yards.

Authority G.S-86A-5(a){1); 86A-15; 86A-16: G.S. 86B-2; 86B-31; 86B-33;

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86B-30;
Temporary Adoption Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 06L .0202 EQUIPMENT
Mobile barber shops shall:

(1) have at least one cabinet with for barbering
equipment that is constructed of material that
may be eleaned; sanitized;

(2) have safety catches for all storage cabinetdoors
and securely anchor to the mobile vehicle all
equipment not stored in cabinets;

3) have at least one covered container made of
noncorrosive metal or plastic, where all hair
clippings, refuse, and other waste materials
must shall be deposited;

(4) have smooth finished walls and floors;

(5) have at least one barber chair, with all barber
chairs covered with a smooth, non-porous
surface, such as vinyl or leather, that is easily
cleaned as required by S1-2022-72 5. 2: G.S.
86B-31(a)(2)(c);

(6) maintaina supply of clean towels sufficient to
provide barbering services;

@) have acabinet,or other method of storage, such
that clean towels are stored separate from used
towels; and

(8) ensurethat all equipment and tools used in the
practice of barbering as set forth in S.1—2022-
12-52:is G.S. 86B-22 are suitable forthe safe
cutting-of-hairand maintained in sanitary and
good operating condition as required by S
2022-72. 5.2 G.S. 86B-31(a)(2).

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86B-30;
Temporary Adoption Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 06L .0203
AND WASTEWATER
Mobile barber shops shall:
@ be equipped with at least one functional sink
with potable, running hot and cold water, with

TOILETS, SINKS, SEWAGE,
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the sink available for use by both mobile barber

(d) Mobile barber shops are prohibited from operating at a

shop personnel and clients;
(@3] have hot water tanks with a minimum capacity

of six gallons;
3) provide soap and disposable towels for all

location except as listed in the report required by this Rule.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86B-30;
Temporary Adoption Eff. May 2, 2023.

sinks;

[6)) be equipped with at least one self-contained,
recirculating, flush chemical toilet with a
holdingtank, with the toiletavailablefor use by
both mobile barber shop personnel and clients;

5) comply with all applicable federal, state, and
local commercial, transportation, and
environmental statutes and rules related to the
disposal of sewage and wastewater; and

(6) immediately cease operation when:
@ wastewater storage capacity has been
reached;

(b) the toilets do not function;

(©) the sinks do not have potable, running
(d

(e)

hot and cold water;

there is no longer an adequate supply
of clean water to complete barbering
services; or

there is no longer adequate wastewater
capacity to complete barbering
services.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86B-30;
Temporary Adoption Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 06L .0205
LOCATIONS

(a) Mobile barber shops shall submit a report at the website
addressin 21 NCAC 06A..0102(c) by the last day of each month
showing where they will provide services for the upcoming
month. This reportshall include the following for each day of the
month:

Q) the address where the mobile barber shop will
operate; and

(2) the hours when the mobile barber shop will
operate at each location.

(b) If amobilebarbershop wishes to operate atanew or different
location than what was listed in the report required by
Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule, it must submit a revised report
at the website address in 21 NCAC 06A .0102(c):

@ at least one business day before a location
change ifthe newlocationis more than 20 miles
away from the originally reported location;

2 at least one businessday in advance for a new
location and time that was not on the original
report; or

3) at least four hours before the start time reported
in Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule if the new
location is fewer than 20 miles away from the
originally reported location.

(c) Mobile barber shops may operate up to half a mile away from
the location reported in this Rule without having to submit a

revised report.

MONTHLY REPORTS OF

SUBCHAPTER 06N — FEES AND FORMS

21 NCAC 06N .0101
RENEWALS

(@) The Board charges the following amounts for the fees
authorized by G.S-86A-25: G.S. 86B-41:

FEES, ACCESS TO FORMS, AND

(1) Certificate of registration or renewal as a
licensed barber $50.00

2 Certificate of registration or renewal as an a
licensed apprentice barber $50.00

3) Barbershop Barber shop permit or renewal
$50.00

4) Mobile barber shop permit or renewal $50.00

{4)(5) Examination to become a registered licensed
barber $85.00
5)(6)

Examination to become a registered licensed
©x17)

apprentice barber $85.00
Late fee for restoration of an expired barber
certificate license within first year after
expiration $35.00
Late fee for restoration of an expired barber
certificate license after first year after
expiration but within five years after expiration
$70.00

Late fee for restoration of an expired apprentice
certificate license within the first year after
expiration $35.00
{9)(10) Latefeeforrestorationofanexpired apprentice
certificate license after first year after
expiration but within three years of first
issuance of the certificate license $45.00
{0)(11)L ate fee for restoration of an expired barber
shop certificate permit $45.00

(12) Late fee for restoration of an expired mobile
barber shop permit $45.00
{H(13)Examination to become a barber school
instructor $165.00
{12)(14)Student Barber student permit $25.00
{13)(15)Issuance of any duplicate copy of a license;
certificate; license or permit $10.00

{1 (16)Barber school permit or renewal $130.00
5)(17)L ate fee for restoration of an expired barber
school certificate permit $85.00
{168)(18)Barber school instructor certificate license or
renewal $85.00
H(19)Late fee for restoration of an expired barber
school instructor certificate license within first

year after expiration $45.00
{18)(20)L ate fee for restoration of an expired barber
school instructor certificate license after first

year after expiration but within three years after
expiration $85.00

H(8)

8(9)
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9)(21)Inspection of newly established barbershop

barber shop $120.00

(22) Inspection of newly established mobile barber
shop $120.00
{20)(23)Inspection of newly established barber school
$220.00

21y (24)Issuance of a registered barber or apprentice
certificate license by certification reciprocity

$120.00
{22)(25)Charge for certified copies of public documents
$10.00 for first page, $0.25 per page thereafter
{23)(26)Charge for duplication services and material
shall be as set forthin 26 NCAC 01 .0103(a),
including any subsequent amendments and
editions of the Rule
4 Qemﬁeateoﬂegmraﬂocmwenewalfer—barbers
25)

(b) ExceptassetforthinParagraph (c)ofthis Rule, if anapplicant
is unable to attend an examination, he or she may requesta refund
of the fee. To request the refund, the applicant shall submit a
written request to the address listed in 21 NCAC 06A .0102 at
least 10 days before the scheduled examination.

(c) If an applicant submits a request for a refund of examination
fees later than 10 days before the scheduled examination, the
Board shall consider the request on a case-by-case basis and only
grant the request if the applicant demonstrates good cause for not
complyingwith Paragraph (b) of this Rule. For the purpose of this
Rule, "good cause" means that the applicant could not have
submitted the written request as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this
Rule due to circumstancessuch as illness, injury, or death in the
family.

(d) In the event the Board's authority to expend funds is
suspended pursuant to G.S. 93B-2, the Board shall continue to
issue and renew licenses and all fees tendered shall be placed in
the escrow account maintained by the Board for this purpose.
(e) The forms set forthin this Subchapter may be obtained on the
website or at the address listed in 21 NCAC 06A .0102.

(f) All timely renewals of licenses—permits; licenses or

certificatesofregistration permits shall be submitted online at the
Board's website; website listed in 21 NCAC 06A .0102, along

with any fees required by this Rule.
(g) Barber school permits shall be exempt from the online
renewal requirement in Paragraph (f) of this Rule.

(h) Registered Licensed barbers, apprentice-barbers; licensed

apprentices, barber instructors, ex barber sheps shops, or mobile
barber shops that are unable to comply with the online

requirement of Paragraph (f) of this Rule may submit the renewal

and payment by mail or in person after receivinga waiver from

the Board. This waiver shall be effective only for one renewal

period. The Board shall issue a waiver within five business days
after receiving the following:

(1) For registered licensed barbers, apprentice

barbers, or barber instructors, a statement from

the holder of the heense—pe.tmn- license or

permit that the
individual is not able to renew online; or

2 For barber shops; shops or mobile barber shops
a statement from the manager or owner that
neitherthe managernor owner areable to renew
online.

History Note:  AuthorityG.S.86A-5;86A-25:86A-27(d):86B-
2; 86B-10; 86B-41; 93B-2;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 8, 1978;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2010; September 1, 2009; June 1, 2008;
April 1, 2005; May 1, 1989; March 1, 1983;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. April 1,2022; February 1,2019; January 1, 2018;
April 1, 2047, 2017;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 06N .0105 FORM BAR-4
(a) The Form BAR-4 shall be filed by one applyingto take the
examination to receive a—registered an apprentice certificate.
license. It requires the following:
(1) the name, address, social security number, and
birthdate birth date of the applicant; and
2 the name of any barber school attended and the

date of enrollment and graduation,—and
graduation.

apprentice barber:
(b) The fee in Rule-0101(a}5) Rule .0101(a)(6) of this Section
shall be submitted with the application.
(c) The Form BAR-4 shall include the applicant's attestation that
the information in the form is correct.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-1;86A-10;86A-24- 86A-
25; 86B-21; 86B-26; 86B-40; 86B-41; 93B-14;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 8, 1978;

Amended Eff. March 1, 1983;

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. March 7, 1983;
Curative Amended Eff. April 6, 1983;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2013; May 1, 1989;
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020; January 1, 2017 2017;
Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 06N .0106 FORM BAR-5
(a) The Form BAR-5 shall be filed by one applyingto take the
examination to receive a registered barber certificate. license. It
requires the following:

1) the name, address, social security number, and

birthdate birth date of the applicant;
(2) the barber school training; attended andthe date
of graduation; and
3) the length affidavit of barbering-experience.

experience as an apprentice barber required by

G.S. 86B-23(4).
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(b) The Form BAR-5 shall include the applicant's attestation that
the information in the formis correct.

(c) The fee in 2-NCACO6N-0101{a)}4) Rule .0101(a)(5) of this

Section shall accompany this form.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-1;-86A-3;-86A-10;-86A-25;
86B-21; 86B-23; 86B-26; 86B-41; 93B-14;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 8, 1978;

Amended Eff. March 1, 1983;

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. March 7, 1983;
Curative Amended Eff. April 6, 1983;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2013; May 1, 1989;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020- 2020;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 06N .0107 FORM BAR-6
(a) The Form BAR-6 shall be filed by one applying to take an the
examination as-a-barberschoohinstructor- to receive an instructor
license. It requires the following:
(1) the name, address, social security number, and
birthdate birth date of the applicant;

(2) the current registered-certificate barber license

(b) The fee in Rule-0101{a}{21) Rule .0101(a)(24) of this Section
shall accompany this form.
(c) The Form BAR-8 shall include the applicant's attestation that
the information in the form is correct.
(d) The Form BAR-8 shall be accompanied by verification from
the applicant's out-of-state agency of the applicant's licensure in
that state. This verification shall include:
@ The applicant's length of licensure;
2 Whether the applicant held the license
continuously or had any breaks in licensure;
3) If there were any breaksin licensure, the reason
for those interruptions; and
(4) Whetherthere were any disciplinary actions or
are any open complaints against the license.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-1;86A-12;86A-25; 86B-
21; 86B-28; 86B-41;

Eff. March 1, 1983;

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. March 7, 1983;

Curative Eff. April 6, 1983;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2013; May 1, 1989;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020; January 1, 2017 2017;
Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

number; and
3) the name of the barber school attended:-and
attended.

(b) The fee in Rule-0101{a)}{11) Rule.0101(a)(13) of this Section

shall accompany this form.
(c) The Form BAR-6 shall include the applicant's attestation that
the information in the formis correct.

History Note:
41;93B-14;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 8, 1978;

Amended Eff. March 1, 1983;

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. March 7, 1983;
Curative Amended Eff. April 6, 1983;

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020- 2020;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

Authority G.S. 86A-23;-86A-25; 86B-39; 86B-

21 NCAC 06N .0109 FORM BAR-8

(a) The Form BAR-8 shall be filed by one who has practiced as a
licensed barber in astate other than North Carolina for threeyears
or-more at least one year within the five years immediately
preceding application and is applying to-obtainacertificate as be
a registered licensed barber in North Carolina. It requires the
following:

(1) the name, address, social security number, and
birthdate birth date of the applicant;

(2) whether the applicant attended barber school
and the name and address of any barber school
attended in another state; and

3) barbering experience and the status of each
barber license in another state.

21 NCAC 06N .0110 FORM BAR-9
(a) The Form BAR-9 shall be filed when one applies to opena
new barber school. It requires the following:
(1) the date the barber school will be ready for the
Board inspection;

(2) the name and address of the barber school;

3) the name and address of the owner;

(4) the name and address of the manager;

(5) the names, instructor certificate license
numbers, and address addresses of the
instructors;

(6) the physical dimensions of the barber school;

(7 the number of barber chairs, tool cabinets,
towel cabinets, and lavatories; and

(8) a copy of the bond or alternative to a bond

required by GS—86A-22(a) G.S. 86B-
38(7)(a) or a request for waiver under G:S-

- G.S. 86B-38(7)(c).
(b) The Form BAR-9 shall include the applicant's attestation that
the information in the form is correct.
(c) The Form BAR-9 shall be accompanied by the fee in 21

NCAC06N-0101(a}20). Rule .0101(a)(23) of this Section.
Authority G.S. 86A-1;86A-22: 86B-21; 86B-

History Note:
38;

Eff. March 1, 1983;

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989;

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2016;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2020- 2020;
Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.
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21 NCAC 06N .0112 FORM BAR-11

(a) The Form BAR-11 shall be filed by an individual who has
military training and expertise and who wants to apply to become
a registered licensed barber pursuantto 21 NCAC 06K .0112. It
requires the following:

(1) the name, address, social security number, and
birthdate birth date of the applicant; and
(2) copies of the military service records showing

the applicant's military certification and
experience in barbering.
(b) The applicant shall submit with the Form BAR-11 a
certification letter from the applicant's out-of-state agency of the
applicant's licensure if the conditions set forth in 21 NCAC 06K
.0112(b) apply.
(c) The Form BAR-11shallinclude theapplicant's attestation that
the information in the formis correct.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-1;86A-12; 86B-21; 86B-
28; 93B-14; 93B-15.1;

Eff. May 1, 1989;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2013;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020; April 1, 20147, 2017;
Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 06N .0114 EXTENSIONS FOR MEMBERS
OF THE ARMED FORCES
(a) If anindividual is licensed or owns a business licensed under
G.S86A;G.S. 86B, isservingin the Armed Forces of the United
States, and has received an extension of time to file a tax return
under G.S. 105-249.2, the Board shall waive the following fees
for the same period that would apply if the license fee were a tax:
1) the late fee for restoration of an expired barber
certificate license within the first year after
expiration as set forth in 21-NCAGC Q6N
01016} Rule .0101(a)(7) of this Section;
(2) the late fee for restoration of an expired barber
certificate license after the first year after
expiration but within five years after expiration

as set forth in 2-NCAC08N-0101a)}7); Rule

(6) if the individual serving in the Armed Forces is
the license barber manager or barber shop
owner, the late fee for restoration of an expired
mobile barber shop permit as set forth in Rule
.0101(a)(12) of this Section;
if the individual serving in the Armed Forces is
the barber school manager or owner, the late fee
for restoration of an expired barber school
certificate permit as set forth in 22-NCACO6N
0101{a}{15); Rule .0101(a)(17) of this Section;
the late fee for restoration of an expired barber
schoel instructor certificate license within the
first year after expiration as set forth in 2%
NCAC-06N-0101(a){17); Rule .0101(a)(19) of
this Section; and
the late fee for restoration of an expired barber
school instructor certificate license after the
first year after expiration but within three years
after expiration as set forth in 2L-NCAC 06N
-0101(a}{18). Rule .0101(a)(20) of this Section;
(b) To receive any extension as set forth in Paragraph (a) of this
Rule, the individual shall submit the following to the Board at the
address in 21 NCAC 06A .0102:
(1) a written request that states what extension he
or she is seeking; and
2 a copy of the documentation from the North
Carolina Department of Revenue granting the
extension under G.S. 105-249.2.

6x(1)

H(8)

8(9)

History Note:  Authority G.S. 93B-15(a);
Eff. April 1, 2017 2017;
Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

SUBCHAPTER 060 — CIVIL PENALTY

21 NCAC 060 .0102 LICENSING OF BARBER SHOPS
(a) The presumptive civil penalty for operating a barber shop
withoutfirstfilingan application forabarber shop license; permit
obtaining an inspection, and obtaining a barber shop permit:
permit, in violation of G.S. 86B-21:

.0101(a)(8) of this Section;

3) the late fee for restoration of an expired
apprentice certificate license within the first
year after expiration as set forth in 2L-NCAC
06N—-0101(a}(8); Rule .0101(a)(9) of this
Section;

(4) the late fee for restoration of an expired
apprentice certificate license after the first year
after expiration but within three years of first
issuance of the certificate license as set forth in

21 NCAG 06N-0101(a)9): Rule .0101(a)(10)

Q) 1st offense $200.00
(2) 2nd offense $300.00
(3) 3rd offense $500.00

(b) The presumptivecivil penalty for operatingabarber shopwith
an expired permit: permit, in violation of G.S. 86B-29(b):

1) 1st offense $150.00
(2) 2nd offense $300.00
(3) 3rd offense $500.00

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-1;86A-5(a}(6); 86A-27;
86B-10; 86B-21; 86B-29;

of this Section;

(5) if the individual serving in the Armed Forces is
the barbershep licensed barber manager or
barber shop owner, the late fee for restoration
of an expired barber shop certificate permit as

set forth in 21 NCAC 06N-0101(2)(10): Rule
.0101(a)(11) of this Section;

Eff. April 1, 2005;
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016 2016;
Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 060 .0104 UNSUPERVISED APPRENTICE
(a) The presumptive civil penalty for a registered licensed barber
allowing an apprentice or barber student barber with a temporary
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permit to engage in barbering without the supervision as required
by 6.586A-24(b): G.S. 86B-40(b):

1) 1st offense $300.00

2 2nd offense $400.00
(b) The presumptive civil penalty for an apprentice or barber

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-1;86A-5(a)(6); 86A-15(h);
86A-27: 86B-10; 86B-21; 86B-31;

Eff. April 1, 2005;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016- 2016;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

student barber with a temporary permit engaging in barbering
without the supervision as required by G.S-86A-24(h): G.S. 86B-

40(b):

Q) 1st offense $200.00
(2) 2nd offense $300.00
3) 3rd offense $500.00

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-5(a)(6);86A-24; 86A-27;
86B-40; 86B-10;

Eff. April 1, 2005;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2009;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016- 2016;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 060 .0106
LICENSE

(a) The presumptive civil penalty for the failure of a barber shop
shop, mobile barber shop, or barber school to display a current
barber shop or mobile barber shop or school license: license, in
violation of G.S. 86B-33:

DISPLAY OF CURRENT

Q) 1st offense $100.00
(2) 2nd offense $150.00
3) 3rd offense $250.00

(b) The presumptive civil penalty for a barber shop shop, mobile
barber shop, or barberschool te-allew allowing an individual to
perform barbering without displaying a current license or permit:
permit, in violation of G.S. 86B-33:

1) 1st offense $100.00
(2) 2nd offense $150.00
3) 3rd offense $250.00

(c) The presumptive civil penalty for an individual to-practice
practicing barbering without displaying a current license or
permit: permit, in violation of G.S. 86B-33:

1) 1st offense $100.00
2 2nd offense $150.00
3) 3rd offense $250.00

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-1;86A-5(a){(6); 86A-16;
86A-27; 86B-10; 86B-21; 86B-33;

Eff. April 1, 2005;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016- 2016;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 060 .0108 INSPECTIONS OF SHOPS
BARBER SHOPS, MOBILE BARBER SHOPS, AND
SCHOOLS

The presumptive civil penalty for refusingto permitor preventing
the inspection of a barber shop shop, mobile barber shop, or
barber sehoeolk: school, in violation of G.S. 86B-31(b):

1) 1st offense $150.00
2 2nd offense $300.00
3) 3rd offense $500.00

21 NCAC 060 .0109 EXPIRED LICENSE

(a) The presumptive civil penalty for engaging in the practice of
barbering with a registered barber certificate license that has
expired for more than a six month duration: duration, in violation
of G.S. 86B-34:

1) 1st offense $100.00
(2) 2nd offense $150.00
3) 3rd offense $200.00

(b) The presumptive civil penalty for a barber shop manager
allowing an individual to engage in the practice of barbering with
a registered barber certificate license that has expired for more
than a six month duration: duration, in violation of G.S. 86B-34:

1) 1st offense $100.00
(2) 2nd offense $150.00
(3) 3rd offense $200.00

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-1;86A-5(a)(6); 86A-17(h);
86A-27; 86B-10; 86B-21; 86B-34;

Eff. April 1, 2005;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016- 2016;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC060.0110  ADEQUATE PREMISES

(a) The presumptive civil penalty for a school tofai failingto
maintain facilities as required by G.S-86A-15G.S. 86B-31 and
21 NCAC 06F .0101, after two written warnings:

1) 1st offense $250.00
(2) 2nd offense $400.00
(3) 3rd offense $500.00

(b) The presumptive civil penalty fora barber shop tefail failing
to maintainfacilitiesas required by G.S-86A-15G.S. 86B-31 and
the applicable rulesin 21 NCAC 06L .0102 through .0109, after
two written warnings:

1) 1st offense $250.00
(2) 2nd offense $450.00
(3) 3rd offense $500.00

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-5{a)(6); 86A-15; 86A-
;&@W%B 10; 86B-31; 86B-35;
86B-38

Eff. April 1, 2005;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2046. 2016;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 060 .0113 BARBER SHOPS IN
RESIDENCES AND-MOBILE HOMES

{a) The presumptive civil penalty for operating a barber shop in
a residence in violation of 21 NCAC 06L .0106(c):

(1) 1st offense $150.00
(2) 2nd offense $250.00
(3) 3rd offense

$500 00
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History Note:
31;

Eff. June 1, 2008;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016- 2016;
Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

Authority G.S. 86A-15;-86A-27; 86B-10; 86B-

21 NCAC 060 .0116 UNLICENSED SCHOOL
INSTRUCTORS

(a) The presumptive civil penalty for a barber school allowing an
individual to instruct without an instructor's certificate: license, in

violation of 21 NCAC 06F .0104:

1) 1st offense $200.00
2 2nd offense $300.00
(3) 3rd offense $500.00

(b) The presumptive civil penalty for an individual engaging in
instructing without an instructor's certificate: license, in violation
of 21 NCAC 06F .0104:

Q) 1st offense $150.00
(2) 2nd offense $450.00
3) 3rd offense $500.00

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-22; 86A-23:86A-27; 86B-
10; 86B-38; 86B-39;

Eff. September 1, 2009;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016- 2016;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 060 .0117 BARBER FAILING TO
MAINTAIN OR PRODUCE EXEMPTION LOG
(a) The presumptive civil penalty for a licensed barber failing to
maintain the exemption log required by 21 NCAC 06L .0111:

(1) 1st offense $100.00
2 2nd offense $150.00
3) 3rd offense $250.00

(b) The presumptive civil penalty for a licensed barber failing to
produce the exemption log required by 21 NCAC 06L .0111:

1) 1st offense $100.00
(2) 2nd offense $150.00
3) 3rd offense $250.00

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-15(c);86A-27; 86B-10;
86B-31;

Eff. April, 1, 2010;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016- 2016;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 060 .0121 FAILURE TO DISPLAY
SANITATION GRADE AND SHOP PERMIT
The presumptive civil penalty for the failure of a shop barber
shop, mobile barber, or barber school to display its sanitation
grade and-shop or permit in a place visible to the public-atthe
frontofthe shop: public: public, as set forth in G.S. 86B-33 and
21 NCAC 06L .0115(c):

$50.00 $150.00

(1) 1st offense
2 2nd offense $100-00 $350.00

3) 3rd offense $200.00 $400.00

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-1;—86A-5(a)(6); 86A-16;
86A-27: 86B-2; 86B-10; 86B-33;

Eff. July 1, 2016. 2016;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 060 .0123 LICENSING OF MOBILE
BARBER SHOPS

(a) The presumptive civil penalty for operatinga mobile barber
shop without first filing an application fora mobile barber shop
permit, obtaining an inspection, and obtaining a mobile barber

shop permit: permit in violation of G.S. 86B-21:

1) 1st offense $400.00
(2) 2nd offense $450.00
3) 3rd offense $500.00

(b) The presumptive civil penalty for operating a mobile barber
shop with an expired permit: permit in violation of G.S. 86B-

29(b):

(1) 1st offense $200.00
(2) 2nd offense $300.00
(3) 3rd offense $500.00

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86B-10; 86B-29; 86B-30;
Temporary Adoption Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 060 .0124 TOILETS, SINK, SEWAGE, AND

WASTEWATER IN MOBILE BARBER SHOPS

(a) The presumptive civil penalty for operating a mobile barber
shop after wastewater storage capacity has been reached: reached
in violation of 21 NCAC 06L .0203(6)(a):

1) 1st offense $300.00
(2) 2nd offense $400.00
(3) 3rd offense $500.00

(b) The presumptive civil penalty for operatinga mobile barber
shop with toilets that do not funetion: function, in violation of 21
NCAC 06L .0203(6)(b):

1) 1st offense $300.00
(2) 2nd offense $400.00
3) 3rd offense $500.00

(c) The presumptive civil penalty for operatinga mobile barber
shop without potable, running hot and cold water: water, in
violation of 21 NCAC 06L .0203(6)(c):

(1) 1st offense $300.00
(2) 2nd offense $400.00
(3) 3rd offense $500.00

(d) The presumptive civil penalty for operating a mobile barber
shop without soap and disposable towels for all siaks: sinks, in
violation of 21 NCAC 06L .0203(3):

1) 1st offense $200.00
(2) 2nd offense $300.00
3) 3rd offense $400.00

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86B-10; 86B-30;
Temporary Adoption Eff. May 2, 2023.
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21 NCAC 060 .0125

MONTHLY REPORTS
(a) The presumptive civil penalty foramobile barber shop failing
to submit the monthly report required by 21 NCAC 06L .0205:

MOBILE BARBER SHOP

[€H) 1st offense $300.00
2 2nd offense $400.00
) 3rd offense $500.00

(b) The presumptive civil penalty for a mobile barber shop
operating at a location on a particular date not included in the
report required by 21 NCAC 06L .0205: $500.00.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86B-10; 86B-30;
Temporary Adoption Eff. May 2, 2023.

SUBCHAPTER 06P - DEFINITIONS

21 NCAC 06P .0103 GENERAL DEFINITIONS
For purposes of the rulesinthis Chapter, the following definitions
shall apply:

(1) "Barber" means any personwho engages in or
attemptsto engage in the practice of barbering
or provide barbering services.

(2) "Barber instructor" means any person who
engagesin orattemptsto engage in the teaching
of the practice of barbering.

3) "Barber pole" meansan actual or representation
of a cylinder or pole with alternating stripes of
any combination including red and white, and
red, white, and blue that run diagonally along
the length of the cylinder or pole.

(4) "Barber school" means any establishment that
engages-in teaches or attempts to engage-inthe
teachingof teach the practice of barbering.

(5) "Barber student" means any person who is
enrolled in barber school, including those
taking classes beyond the 1528 1,528 hours
required hours- by G.S. 86B-38.

(6) "Board" means the State North Carolina Board
of Barber and Electroly5| s Examiners.
(7) "License" or "permit" or—certificate of

registration” means the actual license or permit
issued by the Board and current government
issued photo identification depicting the
licensee's or permittee's photograph and legal
name.

(8) "Military service record” means veteran service
records, such as the U.S. Department of
Defense Form 214 (DD-214), or other military
service records from the military or National
Archives.

() Pick-uporde: sued
Board-and-signed-by the Executive Director

authorizing-aninspectorto physically retrieve a
permit-orlicense. "Offense," as used in 21

NCAC 060, means each instance ofa violation
of the cited rule or statute that is memorialized
in writing from the Board to the individual. If
an_individual requests a hearing before the
Board or judicial review, the alleged violation

of rule or statute will not be deemed an offense
until the Board issues a final agency decision or
the judicial review is finalized, whichever
occurs later.

(10) "Practice of barbering" and "barber services"
meansallactivities set forthin G-.S-86A-2;G.S.
86B-22 and the sanitary requirements of
Chapter86A G.S. 86B and the sanitary rules
adopted by the Board.

(11) "Sanitary” means free of infectious agents,
diseases, or infestation by insects or verminand
free of soil, dust, or dirt.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-2;86A-5;:86A-13; 86A-15;
86A-22: 86A-23:86B-2; 86B-22; 86B-29; 86B-31; 86B-38; 86B-
39; 93B-15.1;

Eff. June 1, 2008;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2017 2017;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

SUBCHAPTER 06Q - PROHIBITED PRACTICES

21 NCAC 06Q .0101 ADDITIONAL GROUNDS FOR
DENIAL OR DISCIPLINE

Except as provided in Chapter86A-ofthe General-Statutes; G.S.
86B, the Board:

(¢D)] shall find fraudulent misrepresentation in the
following examples:
@) An individual or entity operates or

attemptsto operateabarber shop shop,
mobile barber shop, or barber school
without a permit;

(b) An individual or entity advertises
barbering services unless the
establishment and personnel
employed therein are licensed or
permitted;

(c) An individual or entity uses or
displays a barber pole only if the use
of the barber pole is for the purpose of
offering barber services to the public
without a barber shop shop, mobile
barber shop, or barber school permit.
This Rule does not prohibit use of a
barber pole for purposes other than
offering services that require a
license or permitunder G.S-86A; G.S.
86B; and

(d) An individual or entity fails to produce
a license or permit as defined by 21
NCAC 06P .0103(7) uponthe request
of the Board's Executive Director or a
Board inspector during an inspection;

(2) will determine whether grounds for denial or
discipline exist when:
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TEMPORARY RULES

(a) An individual violates a settlement Hlstory Note AuthorltyG S 86A-1—86A-QT86A~5(a),—86A-
agreement entered into with the : : 3: 8 :
Board; 86A-22—86A-23—86A-24—868 2; 868 21 868 22 868 26 868—
(b) An individual or entity violates G:S:  27; 86B-29; 86B-31; 86B-33; 86B-34; 86B-35; 86B-37; 86B-38;
86A G.S. 86B or anyruleadoptedby ~ 86B-39; 86B-40;
the Board for barbers, barber sheps  Eff. June 1, 2008;
shops, mobile barbershops, or barber ~ Amended Eff. September 1, 2013;
schools; or Readopted Eff. October 1, 2016. 2016;
(©) Anindividual failstodiscloseafelony ~ Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.
criminal conviction in dealingwith the
Board.
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission April 20, 2023 and April 27,2023 at 1711
New Hope Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC. Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule
before the Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.
Specific instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850. Anyone wishing
to address the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00p.m. of the 2" business day before
the meeting. Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05.

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS

Appointed by Senate Appointed by House
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Andrew P. Atkins (1st Vice Chair)
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. (2" Vice Chair) Wayne R. Boyles, Il
Jay R. Hempnill Barbara A. Jackson
Jeff Hyde Randy Overton
Robert A. Rucho Paul Powell

COMMISSION COUNSEL

Brian Liebman 984-236-1948
Lawrence Duke 984-236-1938
William W. Peaslee 984-236-1939
Seth M. Ascher 984-236-1934
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES
May 18, 2023 July 20, 2023
June 15, 2023 August 17, 2023

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING
MINUTES

April 20, 2023

The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, April 20, 2023, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church Road,
Raleigh, North Carolina, and via WebEx.

Commissioners Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles |1, Bobby Bryan, Jeanette Doran, Jeff Hyde, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho
were present in the Commission Room. Commissioners Jay Hemphill, Randy Overton, and Barbara Jackson were present
via WebEXx.

Staff member Alexander Burgos, Commission Counsel Seth Ascher, Lawrence Duke, Brian Liebman, and Bill Peaslee were
present in the room.

The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. with Chair Doran presiding.

The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to
avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES
The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the March 16, 2023, meeting.
There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed.

Upon the call of the Chair, the minutes approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew
Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles lll, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and
Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in the negative: None.
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FOLLOW UP MATTERS

Medical Care Commission

10A NCAC 13B .3801, .3903, .4103, .4104, .4106, .4305, .4603, .4801, .4805, .5102, .5105, .5406, .5408, and .5411 —
These Rules remain on the agenda pending the agency’s intention to seek a legislative fix to address the overarching
objection for lack of statutory authority. No action was required by the Commission.

Department of Health and Human Services
10A NCAC 14J .1307 — The Rule was returned at the request of the agency. No action was required by the Commission.

Environmental Management Commission

15A NCAC 02H .1301, .1401, .1402, .1403, .1404, and .1405 - The Commission objected to these Rules at the May 2022
meeting. The agency has not responded to the Commission’s objection since August 2022. No action was required by the
Commission.

Coastal Resources Commission

15A NCAC 07H .0501, .0502, .0503, .0505, .0506, .0507, .0508, .0509, .0510; 071 .0406, .0506, .0702; 07J .0203, .0204,
.0206, .0207, .0208, and .0312 — At the February meeting, the Commission continued its objection to these Rules from the
September 2022 meeting pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.12(c). The agency has not responded to the Commission’s continued
objection. No action was required by the Commission.

Coastal Resources Commission

15A NCAC 07H .2305 — At the February meeting, the Commission continued its objection to this Rule from the September
2022 meeting pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.12(c). The agency has not responded to the Commission’s continued objection.
No action was required by the Commission.

Coastal Resources Commission

15A NCAC 07M .0201, .0202, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0701, .0703, .0704, .1001, .1002, and .1101 — At the February meeting,
the Commission continued its objection to these Rules from the September 2022 meeting pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.12(c).
The agency has not responded to the Commission’s continued objection. No action was required by the Commission.

Commission for Public Health

15A NCAC 18A .2801, .2802, .2803, .2804, .2806, .2807, .2808, .2809, .2810, .2812, .2814, .2815, .2816, .2817, .2818,
.2819, .2820, .2821, .2822, .2823, .2824, .2825, .2826, .2827, .2829, .2830, .2831, .2832, .2833, .2834, .2835, and .2836 -
The Commission extended the period of review for these Rules at the March meeting. No action was required by the
Commission.

Locksmith Licensing Board
21 NCAC 29 .0705 - The Rule was returned at the request of the agency. No action was required by the Commission.

LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES)

Radiation Protection Commission

Upon the call of the Chair, 10A NCAC 15 .0113, .0323, .0349, .1201, .1202, .1203, .1204, .1205, .1206, .1207, .1208, .1209,
1210, .1211, 1212, .1213, .1214, .1215, .1216, .1217, .1218, .1219, .1220, .1221, .1222, .1223, .1224, .1225, .1226, .1227,
1228, .1229, .1230, .1231, .1233, .1234, .1235, .1236, .1237, .1238, .1239, .1240, .1241, .1242, .1501, .1502, .1503, .1504,
.1505, .1506, .1507, .1508, .1509, .1510, .1511, .1512, .1513, .1514, .1515, .1516, .1517, .1650, .1651, .1652, and .1701
were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles lll,
Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in the
negative: None.

Nadine Pfeiffer, the rulemaking coordinator with the agency, addressed the Commission.
James Albright with the agency, addressed the Commission.

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission

Upon the call of the Chair, 12 NCAC 09B .0305; 09C .0311; 09G .0102, .0204, .0205, .0206, .0207, .0208, .0209, .0210,
.0211, .0302, .0304, .0305, .0504, and .0505 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the
affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles Ill, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton,
Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in the negative: None.
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Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission extended the period of review for 12 NCAC 09E .0107 by roll-call vote, ayes 9,
noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles Ill, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde,
Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

Environmental Management Commission

Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission extended the period of review for 15A NCAC 02B .0315; 02D .0516 by roll-call
vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles IlI, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill,
Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

Marine Fisheries Commission 15A NCAC 03M, 18A

Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission extended the period of review for 15A NCAC 03M .0101 and 18A .0911 by roll-
call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles 11, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill,
Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

Wildlife Resources Commission

Upon the call of the Chair, 15A NCAC 10B .0110, .0127, .0203, .0227, .0301, .0303, .0306; 10H .1506; 10J .0101, and .0102
were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles lll,
Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in the
negative: None.

Board of Nursing

Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission extended the period of review for 21 NCAC 36 .0807 by roll-call vote, ayes 9,
noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles Ill, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde,
Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators

Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 37B .0104; 37D .0604, and .0605 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as
follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles Ill, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara
Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors

Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 50 .0520 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the
affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles Ill, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton,
Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

LOG OF FILINGS (TEMPORARY RULES)

Private Protective Services Board

Upon the call of the Chair, 14B NCAC 16 .0201, .0403, .0807, .1501, .1502, .1503, .1504, .1601, .1701, .1702, .1703, .1704,
.1705, .1706, .1707, and .1708 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew
Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles lll, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and
Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

14B NCAC 16 .1709 was withdrawn at the request of the agency. No action was required by the Commission.

State Board of Education

16 NCAC 06G .0601 — Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission denied the agency’s request to waive the 210-day
requirement pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.1(a2) by roll-call vote, ayes 4, noes 6 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew
Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, and Barbara Jackson - 4 Voting in the Negative: Wayne Boyles Ill, Jeanette Doran, Jeff
Hyde, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, Bob Rucho, - 6. Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission objected to the rule in
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.1(b1).

The Commission objected to the Rule finding that the need for the temporary rule was predicated on a recent act of the
General Assembly that had been made effective more than 210 days prior to the submission of the rule to the Commission,
contrary to the requirements of G.S. 150B-21.1(a2), by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 1 as follows: Voting in the affirmative:
Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles lll, Bobby Bryan, Jeanette Doran, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul
Powell, and Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in the negative: Jay Hemphill - 1.

Tom Ziko, the rulemaking coordinator with the agency, addressed the Commission.
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Board of Barber and Electrolysis Examiners

Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 06C .0912; 06F .0104, .0120; 06G .0106; 06J .0110; 06K .0101, .0104, .0110, .0111,
.0112, .0113; 06L .0104, .0106, .0107, .0109, .0111, .0113, .0114, .0115, .0117, .0118, .0119, .0120, .0201, .0202, .0203,
.0205; 06N .0101, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0109, .0110, .0112, .0114; 060 .0102, .0104, .0106, .0108, .0109, .0110, .0113,
.0116, .0117, .0121, .0123, .0124, .0125; 06P .0103; and 06Q .0101 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as
follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles Ill, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara
Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

Commissioner Bryan moved to approve rules where staff’s opinions recommending objection were based solely upon pre-
existing language in the permanent rule. Second by Commissioner Powell. Those rules were: 21 NCAC 06F.0102; 06H
.0101; 06l .0105; 06J .0101; 06N .0102, .0103, .0104; and 06R .0101. The motion failed by a roll-call vote, ayes 4, noes 6
as follows: Voting in the affirmative Wayne R. Boyles |11, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, and Paul Powell, Voting in the negative:
Andrew Atkins, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Bob Rucho, and Jeanette Doran.

Commissioner Atkins moved to adopt staff's recommendation to object to 21 NCAC 06F .0102; 06H .0101; 061 .0105; 06J
.0101; 06L .0112, .0116, .0204, 06N .0102, .0103, .0104, .0116; 060 .0105, .0112, .0114, .0119, .0122 .0126; and 06R
.0101. The Motion was seconded by Commissioner Hyde. - The Commission objected to these rules in accordance with
G.S. 150B-21.1(b1). The Commission voted to adopt the opinion of staff finding that the rules did not meet the standards of
G.S. 150B-21.9 by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 2 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles I,
Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, and Bob Rucho — 7. Voting in the negative: Bobby Bryan and
Paul Powell - 2.

During the meeting, staff modified the staff opinion for 21 NCAC 06L .0112 by removing the recommendation of objection
regarding ambiguity only for the Rule.

Dennis Seavers, the Executive Director for the agency, addressed the Commission.

Catherine Lee with the Law firm of Hedrick Gardner Kincheloe & Garofalo, LLP, and representing the agency, addressed
the Commission.

COMMISSION BUSINESS
The Commission tabled the review of amendments to the Periodic Review Report Schedule to the next regular scheduled
meeting.

The Commission tabled the adoption of proposed changes to 26 NCAC 05 .0100 - .0200 to the next regularly scheduled
meeting.

Bain Jones, the Chair of the North Carolina Bar Association, addressed the Commission.

At 10:30 a.m., upon a motion by the Chair Doran and a second by Commissioner Atkins, the Commission voted to call the
public meeting of the Rules Review Commission into recess and enter into closed session pursuant to G.S. 143-318.11(a)(1)
for the purpose of reviewing and approving the general account of the March 2023 closed session, which may be withheld
from public inspection pursuant to G.S. 143-318.10(e), and also pursuant to G.S. 143-318.11(a)(3) for the purpose of
consulting with counsel within the attorney client privilege by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative:
Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles IIl, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell,
and Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

Following the closed session, Commissioners Jay Hemphill and Randy Overton left the meeting via Webex.

At 10:49 a.m., upon a motion by Commissioner Atkins and a second by Commissioner Bryan, the Commission voted to
come out of closed session and reconvene the public meeting of the Rules Review Commission by roll-call vote, ayes 7,
noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles 1, Bobby Bryan, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson,
Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho — 7. Voting in the negative: None.

The meeting adjourned at 10:50 a.m.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, May 18, 2023, at 9:00 a.m.
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Rules Review Commission Meeting April 20, 2022

Via WebEx
Name Agency
E Wiley Revenue
Anna Hayworth Agriculture
Virginia Niehaus DHHS
Phillip Reynolds DOJ
Maria Pitre-Martin DPI
David Palmer docsedu.com
Nathan Vail DHHS
Hope Ascher
Christine Ryan DOJ
David Gadd satiskysilverstein.com
Katherine Quinlan DEQ
Ellen Roeber PT Board
Janice Peterson Optometry
Joelle Burleson EMC
David Crowley DHHS
Jill Cramer Labor
Fred Moreno NCREC
Louis Brsyboy DHHS
Lou Martin DPI
Kathy Arney PT Board
Jonathan Puryear Revenue
Chris Kreh WRC
Emily Wiley DOT
Hannah Jernigan DOT
Laura Rowe Treasurer
Michelle Schilling DOJ
Anne Coan NCFB
Catherine Blum DEQ
Mary Lucasse DOJ
Ross Smith myncma.org
H Landi hntb.com
Jennifer Everett DEQ
Nadine Pfeiffer DHHS
Melva Bonner WRC

Dauna Bartley

Dental Examiners

James Albright

Radiation Protection
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LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES
April 20, 2023 Meeting

RADIATION PROTECTION COMMISSION

Classification of Radioactive Material 10ANCAC 15 .0113
Specific Licenses: Sealed Sources in Industrial Radiograp... 10ANCAC 15 .0323
Exemptions: Waste Management by Generators 10ANCAC 15 .0349
Purpose and Scope 10ANCAC 15 .1201
Definitions 10A NCAC 15 .1202
License Required: Land Disposal of Low-Level Radioactive ... 10ANCAC 15 .1203
Content of Application 10ANCAC 15 .1204
General Information 10ANCAC 15 .1205
Specific Technical Information 10ANCAC 15 .1206
Environmental Information 10ANCAC 15 .1207
Technical and Environmental Analyses 10ANCAC 15 .1208
Institutional Information 10ANCAC 15 .1209
Financial Information 10ANCAC 15 .1210
Filing and Distribution of Application 10ANCAC 15 .1211
Elimination of Repetition 10ANCAC 15 .1212
Updating of Application 10ANCAC 15 .1213
Standards for Issuance of a License 10ANCAC 15 .1214
Conditions of License 10ANCAC 15 .1215
Amendment of License 10ANCAC 15 .1216
Application for Renewal or Closure 10ANCAC 15 .1217
Contents of Application for Closure 10ANCAC 15 .1218
Postclosure Observation and Maintenance 10ANCAC 15 .1219
Transfer of License 10ANCAC 15 .1220
Termination of License 10A NCAC 15 .1221
Performance Objectives: General Requirement 10A NCAC 15 .1222
Protection of Population from Release of Radioactivity 10ANCAC 15 .1223
Protection of individuals from Inadvertent Intrusion 10ANCAC 15 .1224
Protection of Individuals During Operations 10ANCAC 15 .1225
Stability of the Disposal Site After Closure 10ANCAC 15 .1226
Technical Requirements for Land Disposal Facilities 10ANCAC 15 .1227
Disposal Site Suitability Requirements 10ANCAC 15 .1228
Site Design for Land Disposal 10ANCAC 15 .1229
Facility Operation and Disposal Site Closure 10ANCAC 15 .1230
Environmental Monitoring 10ANCAC 15 .1231
Waste Classification and Characteristics 10ANCAC 15 .1233
Institutional Requirements 10ANCAC 15 .1234
Applicant Qualifications and Assurances 10ANCAC 15 .1235
Funding of Closure: Stabilization: Institutional Controls 10ANCAC 15 .1236
Records: Reports: Tests: and Inspections 10ANCAC 15 .1237
Maintenance of Records: Reports and Transfers 10ANCAC 15 .1238
Tests at Land Disposal Facilities 10ANCAC 15 .1239
Agency Inspections of Land Disposal Facilities 10ANCAC 15 .1240
Inspection 10ANCAC 15 .1241
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Notifications and Reports 10ANCAC 15 .1242
Purpose and Scope 10ANCAC 15 .1501
Definitions 10A NCAC 15 .1502
License Required 10ANCAC 15 .1503
Application for Site Access License: General Requirements 10ANCAC 15 .1504
Application for Site Access License - Waste Generators 10ANCAC 15 .1505
Content of Application for Waste Collectors 10ANCAC 15 .1506
Content of Application for Waste Processors 10ANCAC 15 .1507
Certification of Compliance with Applicable Requirements 10ANCAC 15 .1508
Prior Notification for Waste Shipments 10ANCAC 15 .1509
Radioactive Shipment Manifest 10ANCAC 15 .1510
Financial Qualification and Requirements 10ANCAC 15 .15M
Waste Management and Reduction Requirements 10ANCAC 15 .1512
Issuance and Expiration of Site Access Licenses 10ANCAC 15 .1513
Site Access License Renewal 10ANCAC 15 .1514
Site Access License Amendment 10ANCAC 15 .1515
Modification, Revocation, and Termination of License 10ANCAC 15 .1516
Temporary or Emergency Access 10A NCAC 15 .1517
Classification/Radioactive Waste for Near-Surface Disposal 10ANCAC 15 .1650
Radioactive Waste Characteristics 10ANCAC 15 .1651
Labeling 10ANCAC 15 .1652
Additional Requirements for Licensees Possessing Category. 10ANCAC 15 .1701
CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION

Terms and Conditions of Specialized Instructor Certification 12 NCAC 09B .0305
Recertification Following Separation 12 NCAC 09C .0311
Definitions 12 NCAC 09G .0102
Documentation of Educational Requirements 12 NCAC 09G .0204
Medical Examination 12 NCAC 09G .0205
Moral Character 12 NCAC 09G .0206
Fingerprint Criminal History Record Check 12 NCAC 09G .0207
Minimum Standards for Correctional Officers 12 NCAC 09G .0208
Minimum Standards for Probation/Parole Officers 12 NCAC 09G .0209
Background Investigation 12 NCAC 09G .0210
Agency Reporting of Drug Screening Results 12 NCAC 09G .0211
Criminal History Record 12 NCAC 09G .0302
General Certification 12 NCAC 09G .0304
Recertification Following Separation 12 NCAC 09G .0305
Suspension: Revocation: or Denial of Certification 12 NCAC 09G .0504
Period of Suspension: Revocation: or Denial 12 NCAC 09G .0505
WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION

Attendance of Traps 15A NCAC 10B .0110
Possession of Wildlife Killed Accidentally or Found Dead 15A NCAC 10B .0127
Deer (White Tailed) 15A NCAC 10B .0203
Wild Quail Management Areas 15A NCAC 10B .0227
Definitions 15A NCAC 10B .0301
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Open Seasons 15A NCAC 10B .0303
Attendance and Tagging of Traps 15A NCAC 10B .0306
Alligator Control Agent Certification Eligibility and Req... 15A NCAC 10H .1506
Designation of Wildlife Conservation Areas 15A NCAC 10J .0101
General Reqgulations Regarding Use of Conservation Areas 15A NCAC 10J .0102
NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR
Fees 21 NCAC 37B .0104
Grade Required 21 NCAC 37D .0604
Subject Areas 21 NCAC 37D .0605
PLUMBING, HEATING AND FIRE SPRINKLER CONTRACTORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF
Onsite Supervision and Standard of Competence 21 NCAC 50 .0520

LIST OF APPROVED TEMPORARY RULES

April 20, 2023 Meeting

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD
Application for License and Trainee Permits 14B NCAC 16 .0201
Trainee Permit Requirements 14B NCAC 16 .0403
Training Requirements for Armed Security Guards 14B NCAC 16 .0807
Experience Requirements for a Close Personal Protection L... 14B NCAC 16 .1501
Training Requirements for Close Personal Protection License 14B NCAC 16 .1502
Investigations Directly Related to Provision of Services 14B NCAC 16 .1503
Distinguishing Security Services 14B NCAC 16 .1504
Experience Requirements for a Digital Forensics Examiner ... 14B NCAC 16 .1601
Definitions 14B NCAC 16 .1701
Training and Supervision Required in Level One 14B NCAC 16 .1702
Training and Supervision in Level Two 14B NCAC 16 .1703
Training and Supervision Required in Level Three 14B NCAC 16 .1704
Educational Degrees and Non-degreed Training 14B NCAC 16 .1705
Consideration of Experience 14B NCAC 16 .1706
Enforcement 14B NCAC 16 .1707
Transferability of Training Hours 14B NCAC 16 .1708
BARBER AND ELECTROLYSIS EXAMINERS, BOARD OF
Complaints 21 NCAC 06C .0912
Instructors 21 NCAC 06F .0104
Barber School Curriculum 21 NCAC 06F .0120
Instructor Application 21 NCAC 06G .0106
Notification of Address Change 21 NCAC 06J .0110
Licensed Barber 21 NCAC 06K .0101
Out-of-State Applicants 21 NCAC 06K .0104
Identification 21 NCAC 06K .0110
Notification of Change of Address 21 NCAC 06K .0111
Applicants with Military Training and Expertise 21 NCAC 06K .0112
Military Spouses 21 NCAC 06K .0113
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Barber Shop and Mobile Barber Shop Permits

Separation from Other Businesses; Residential Barber Shops
Lavatory

Disinfectants

Where Barber Services May Be Performed

Diseases

Pets Prohibited

Inspections of Shops

General Sanitation

Sanitary Ratings and Posting of Ratings

Systems of Grading Barber Shops, Mobile Barber Shops, and...
Notification of Change of Address

Vehicles

Equipment

Toilets, Sinks, Sewage, and Wastewater

Monthly Reports of Locations

Fees, Access to Forms, and Renewals

Form Bar-4

Form Bar-5

Form Bar-6

Form Bar-8

Form Bar-9

Form Bar-11

Extensions for Members of the Armed Forces

Licensing of Barber Shops

Unsupervised Apprentice

Display of Current License

Inspections of Barber Shops, Mobile Barber Shops, and Sch...
Expired License

Adequate Premises

Barber Shops in Residences

Unlicensed School Instructors

Barber Failing to Maintain or Produce Exemption Log

Failure to Display Sanitation Grade and Shop Permit
Licensing of Mobile Barber Shops

Toilets, Sink, Sewage, and Wastewater in Mobile Barber Shops
Mobile Barber Shop Monthly Report

General Definitions

Additional Grounds for Denial or Discipline

21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC

06L
06L
06L
06L
06L
06L
06L
06L
06L
06L
06L
06L
06L
06L
06L
06L
06N
06N
06N
06N
06N
06N
06N
06N
060
060
060
060
060
060
060
060
060
060
060
060
060
06P
06Q

.0104
.0106
.0107
.0109
.0111

.0113
.0114
.0115
.0117
.0118
.0119
.0120
.0201
.0202
.0203
.0205
.0101
.0105
.0106
.0107
.0109
.0110
.0112
.0114
.0102
.0104
.0106
.0108
.0109
.0110
.0113
.0116
.0117
.0121
.0123
.0124
.0125
.0103
.0101

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING

MINUTES
April 27, 2023

The Rules Review Commission met for a Special Meeting on Thursday, April 27, 2023, in the Commission Room at 1711
New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, and via WebEx. The special meeting was called pursuant to G.S. 150B -

21.1(b1), to review temporary rules filed by the Board of Barber and Electrolysis Examiners.
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Commissioner Jeanette Doran was present in the Commission Room. Commissioners Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles I,
Bobby Bryan, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, and Bob Rucho were present via WebEXx.

Staff members present were Alexander Burgos, Commission Counsel Seth Ascher, Lawrence Duke, Brian Liebman, and
Bill Peaslee.

The meeting was called to order at 11:10 a.m. with Chair Doran presiding.

The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to
avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest.

Commissioner Bryan joined the meeting via WebEx at 11:22 a.m.

Review of Log of Filings Temporary Rules

Board of Barber and Electrolysis Examiners

Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 06L .0116; 06N .0102, .0104, .0116; 060 .0105, .0112, .0114, and .0119 were approved
by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jeff
Hyde, Barbara Jackson, and Bob Rucho — 6. Voting in the negative: None.

21 NCAC 06F .0102; 06H .0101; 06l .0105; 06J .0101; 06L .0112, .0204; 06N .0103; 060 .0122, .0126; and 06R .0101 —
These Rules were returned at the request of the agency.

Commissioner Atkins’ moved that the Commission provide direction to the Codifier of Rules that an objection to a temporary
rule or a return thereof should not result in the return or repeal of a permanent rule. The motion was seconded by
Commissioner Bryan, upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting
in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles 11, Bobby Bryan, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, and Bob Rucho — 6. Voting
in the negative: None.

Dennis Seavers, the Executive Director for the agency, addressed the Commission.
Ashley Snyder, Codifier, addressed the Commission.
COMMISSION BUSINESS

The Commission confirmed that the final versions of the temporary rules for the Private Protective Services Board reviewed
at the April 20, 2023 meeting were approved by the Commission.

The meeting adjourned at 11:44 a.m.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, May 18, 2023, at 9:00 a.m.

Alexander Burgos, Paralegal

Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission:
Jeanette Doran, Chair
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Rules Review Commission Special Meeting April 27, 2023

Held Via WebEx
Name Agency
Kathy Arney PT Board
Nadine Pfeiffer DHHS
Executive WebEx sosnc.gov

Dennis Seavers

Barber Board

Catherine Lee

Barber Board

Ellen Roeber

Johnson, Daniel H DOT

Hannah Jernigan DOT

Laura Rowe Treasurer
Catherine Blum Marine Fisheries
Helen Landi

Emily Wiley DOT

LIST OF APPROVED TEMPORARY RULES
April 27, 2023 Meeting

BARBER AND ELECTROLYSIS EXAMINERS, BOARD OF

Barber Shop Managers

Form Bar-1
Form Bar-3
Form Bar-13

Unlicensed Barber or Apprentice

Identification

Animals in Barber Shops

Failure to Notify Board of Change of Address

21 NCAC
21NCAC
21NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC

o6L .0116
06N .0102
06N .0104
06N .0116
060 .0105
060 .0112
060 .0114
060 .0119
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