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This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.
Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6.

GENERAL

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice
a month and contains the following information
submitted for publication by a state agency:

(1)  temporary rules;

(2)  text of proposed rules;

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules
Review Commission;

(4)  emergency rules

(5)  Executive Orders of the Governor;

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney
General concerning changes in laws affecting
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by
G.S. 120-30.9H; and

(7)  other information the Codifier of Rules
determines to be helpful to the public.

COMPUTING TIME: In computing time in the schedule,
the day of publication of the North Carolina Register
is not included. The last day of the period so computed
is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State
holiday, in which event the period runs until the
preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or
State holiday.

FILING DEADLINES

ISSUE DATE: The Register is published on the first and
fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the
month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for
employees mandated by the State Personnel
Commission. If the first or fifteenth of any month is a
Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees,
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be
published on the day of that month after the first or
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for
State employees.

LAST DAY FOR FILING: The last day for filing for any
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees.

NOTICE OF TEXT

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing
date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of
the hearing is published.

END OF REQUIRED COMMENT  PERIOD
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a
proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is
published or until the date of any public hearings held
on the proposed rule, whichever is longer.

DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW
COMMISSION: The Commission shall review a rule
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month
by the last day of the next month.



EXECUTIVE ORDERS

State of North Qarolina

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

May 2, 2023
EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 280
NORTH CAROLINA’S COMMITMENT TO BUILDING AN AGE-FRIENDLY STATE

WHEREAS, North Carolina strives to be a great place to grow older, where those who are
aging can thrive within families. neighborhoods and communities and be supported to maintain a
high quality of life; and

WHEREAS, approximately 1.7 million North Carolinians are age 65 or older and that
number is growing; by 2030, one in five will be older than 65; and

WHEREAS, by 2030, and for the first time ever, North Carolina will be comprised of

more older adults than children: and

WHEREAS, Alzheimer’s Disease and related dementias affect an estimated 300.000
North Carolinians and this number is expected to increase to 400,000 people by 2025: and

WHEREAS, Hometown Strong in the Governor’'s Office and the North Carolina
Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) partnered with AARP NC in 2022 to conduct
the “Age My Way NC” survey statewide to assess the needs and preferences of North Carolinians
with regards to aging and the survey results provide data to guide planning; and

WHEREAS, each North Carolina Cabinet Agency works in age-friendly domains and can
join with their public and private sector partners to improve the health and quality of life of older
people and those with Alzheimer’s Diseasc or related dementias while enhancing the attractiveness
of their communities to people of all ages: and

WHEREAS, AARP administers a national Network of Age-Friendly States and
Communities as an affiliate to the World Health Organization Global Network for Age-friendly
Cities and Communities program; and

WHEREAS, this program sets out eight (8) domains of community life that provide an
effective framework for improving lives and enhancing communities, specifically: community and
health services; outdoor spaces and buildings: transportation; housing: social participation: respect
and social inclusion: civic participation and employment; and communication and information;
and

WHEREAS, North Carolina residents have already enjoyed the success of the AARP
Network of Age-Friendly States and Communities program in several cities, namely Archdale,
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

Durham, Jamestown, Matthews, Mount Airy; and counties, namely Buncombe, Durham, Forsyth,
Lenoir, Mecklenburg, Orange, and Wake; and

WHEREAS, the State of North Carolina will become an age-friendly and dementia-
friendly state through a renewed focus on the needs of the State’s rapidly aging population and
through cooperative efforts that foster livable communities and improve services and supports;
and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Article III of the Constitution of North Carolina and N.C. Gen
Stat. §§ 143A-4 and 143B-4, the Governor is the chief executive officer of the State and is
responsible for formulating and administering the policics of the executive branch of statc
government; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 147-12, the Governor has the authority and
duty to supervise the official conduct of all executive and ministerial officers.

NOW, THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as Govemnor by the Constitution and
the laws of the State of North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:

Section 1. Multisector Plan for Aging

DHHS shall implement a planning process with expert working groups to develop a
Multisector Plan for Aging in North Carolina. The planning process shall be led by the DHHS
Division of Aging and Adult Services and the Division of Health Benefits and shall consist of
representatives from state agencies and partner organizations including Hometown Strong, AARP
NC, the NC Coalition on Aging, the Governor’s Advisory Council on Aging, and other
stakeholders and experts as identified by DHHS. The Multisector Plan for Aging will serve as a
blueprint for the development, enhancement, and coordination of critical services for North
Carolina’s rapidly aging population, which will ultimately have positive impacts on individuals of
all ages and abilities.

The Multisector Plan for Aging development process will include building an inventory of
existing programs and services to identify efficient and effective practices in supporting healthy
aging, as well as recommendations for scaling and extending these practices. The Multisector Plan
for Aging will include key data indicators with 10-year targets.

A report on the Multisector Plan for Aging shall be submitted to the Office of the Governor
no later than one (1) year from the date of this Executive Order. The Governor’s Advisory Council
on Aging will periodically review the Multisector Plan for Aging in North Carolina and make
annual recommendations that support its goals.

Section 2. Caregiving Workforce Strategic Leadership Group

DHHS and the North Carolina Departmment of Commerce shall convene a Caregiving
Workforce Strategic Leadership group with representatives from across education, workforce, and
economic development. The Caregiving Workforce Strategic Leadership group will develop and
implement recommendations to better recruit and retain workers in the areas of behavioral health,
direct care, and nursing which will support North Carolina’s aging population.

Section 3. Protection of Vulnerable Adults

DHHS shall collaborate with the Governor’s Advisory Council on Aging and other
stakeholders to make recommendations to improve protection of wvulnerable adults from
maltreatment, as adult protective services cases have increased by nearly seventy percent (70%)
in the last five (5) years. Recommendations shall include revisions to North Carolina’s adult
protective services statutes, which have not had a thorough review since enactment in 1975.
Recommendations shall also address improving the quality of practice across the state to mect the
diverse nceds of adults who are subject to maltreatment and improving community stakeholder
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

education and engagement in preventing maltreatment. A report on recommendations shall be
submitted to the Office of the Governor one (1) year from the date of'this Executive Order.

Section 4. Summit on Nutrition Serv r Older

DHHS shall collaborate with the Governor’s Advisory Council on Aging to convene a
summit to study and make recommendations regarding nutrition services available to older adults
statewide and improvements needed to reduce food insecurity, which helps prevent further
declines in health conditions among people who are aging.

Section §. Improving Access to Outdoor Spaces for Older Adults

The North Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural Resources (IDNCR) shall improve
and promote outdoor spaces and buildings for use by older adults through outdoor recreation
programming, with an emphasis on fourteen (14) Trail Day events during the 2023 NC Year of
the Trail.

Section 6. Transportation for Older Adults

The North Carolina Department of Transportation (IDOT) shall build upon its success in
offering public transportation coverage across the state by implementing additional projects that
improve the coverage, quality, reliability, and convenience of public transportation, including
expansion of passenger rail services and improved first and last mile connections to fixed route
rail and bus services.

DOT shall increase the convenience and flexibility of public transit by expanding on-
demand micro-transit services and developing a statewide Mobility-as-a-Service system that
allows for scamless trip planning, scheduling, and payment across services, modes, and
jurisdictions.

DOT shall pursue additional deployments, testing and analysis of shared autonomous
mobility technologies under the Connected Autonomous Shuttle Supporting Innovation (CASSI)
program to determine the viability of shared autonomous vehicles as a safe and convenient
alternative mode of transit for aging adults.

DOT, in coordination with metropolitan planning organizations, rural planning
organizations, and local governments, shall collaborate to create safe, sustainable, and connected
communitics with diverse transportation options that benefit older adults and vulnerable road
users.

Section 7. Broadband Access and Digital Litera: ervices for Older Adult:

The North Carolina Department of Information Technology (DIT) shall improve
communication and outreach to the state’s aging and older adult population as part of its continuing
work to expand broadband access to ninety-eight percent (98%) of all North Carolina communities
and raise high-speed internet subscriptions to eighty percent (80%) by 2026 as identified in the
Governor’s plan to close the digital divide.

DIT shall solicit feedback from older adults about their needs for high-speed internet
access, digital devices, and digital literacy resources in the state’s planning proccss to inform five-
year comprehensive broadband and digital equity plans, including listening sessions with older
adults and the community organizations that support them. DIT shall collaborate with staff at the
DHHS Division of Aging and Adult Services to inform their work. DIT shall also form
partnerships with organizations that serve aging adults to ensure this population benefits from
ongoing DIT broadband infrastructure investments, promotion of the Affordable Connectivity
Program to assist with internet service affordability, and support of digital navigation services to
increase digital literacy.
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

DIT’s Office of Digital Equity and Literacy shall partner with DHHS, Hometown Strong,
the North Carolina Business Committee for Education and other state government agencies to
identify specific strategies for raising digital awareness and digital literacy skill levels among the
state’s aging and older adult population.

DIT's Office of Digital Equity and Literacy. DNCR, DHHS, Hometown Strong. and the
North Carolina Business Committee for Education shall promote digital literacy programs that
support older adults including digital navigators and intergenerational coaching in order to
improve access to telehealth and mental health supports.

Section 8. North Carolina’s Application to Become Age-Friendly State

The State of North Carolina shall apply to become a member of the AARP Network of
Age-Friendly States and Communities. Membership in this Network will provide access to AARP
staff and volunteers who engage and mobilize communitices, share expertise, and deliver technical
assistance and access to other members to share experiences and best practices in creating age-
friendly communities, as well as access to grant opportunities that assist in implementing age-
friendly projects.

Section 9. Additional Cabinet Agency Work to Support Older Adults

Cabinet agencies are directed to cooperate in the implementation of this Executive Order.
The activities directed by this Executive Order are not exhaustive of all state cabinet agency age-
friendly planning efforts and programs and additional priorities will be identified by the
development of the Multisector Plan for Aging.
|
|

Section 10. Other State Agencies

Council of State agencies. higher education institutions. local governments, private
businesses, and other North Carolina entities are encouraged to support and provide input on the
creation of age-friendly programs developed through the implementation of this Executive Order.

Section 12. Effect and Duration

This Executive Order is effective immediately and shall remain in effect until rescinded or
superseded by another applicable Executive Order.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF. | have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal
of the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh, this the 2" day of May in the
yvear of our Lord two thousand twenty-three.

2

Roy Cooper
Governor

ATTEST:

= AL 2 Al
Rodney ¢ addox
Chief Deputy Secretary of State
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IN ADDITION

North Carolina License and Theft Bureau

PUBLIC NOTICE

This serves as a notice pursuant to G.S. § 20-288 of a license application submission by a

manufacturer, factory branch, factory representative, distributor, distributor branch, or distributor

representative that has not been previously issued a license by the Division.
Applicant’s Name: Husqvarna Motorcycles North America Inc

Applicant’s Address: 30100 Technology Drive, Murrieta CA 92563
Application Date: 04/28/2023

Names and titles of any individual listed on the application as an owner, partner, member or
officer of the applicant: John Hinz CEO & Oana D. Roth CFO
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IN ADDITION

North Carolina License and Theft Bureau

PUBLIC NOTICE

This serves as a notice pursuant to G.S. § 20-288 of a license application submission by a
manufacturer, factory branch, factory representative, distributor, distributor branch, or distributor
representative that has not been previously issued a license by the Division.

Applicant’s Name: Battle Motors Inc
Applicant’s Address: 1951 Reiser Ave SE, New Philadelphia, OH 44663
Application Date: 03/09/2023

Names and titles of any individual listed on the application as an owner, partner, member or
officer of the applicant:

Michael Patterson CEO
Oliver Weilandt CFO
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PROPOSED RULES

Statutory reference: G.S. 150B-21.2.

Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules. The agency
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later
date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice,
the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days.

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN
SERVICES

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Commission for Public Health intends to repeal the rule cited as
10A NCAC 41A .0107.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it
impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless
the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available
on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://cph.dph.ncdhhs.gov/

Proposed Effective Date: October 1, 2023

Public Hearing:

Date: July 7, 2023

Time: 2:00 p.m.

Location: This public hearing will be held by teleconference at
(919) 715-0769 (no access code required).

Reason for Proposed Action:

Rule 10A NCAC 41A .0107 governs the reporting of COVID-19
diagnostic test results by laboratories to public health officials.
This rule requires that reports be made in compliance with the
requirements set forth in the United States Department of Health
and Human Services' COVID-19 Pandemic Response, Laboratory
Data Reporting: CARES Act Section 18115 guidance, which will
no longer be in effect after the federal Public Health Emergency
ends on May 11, 2023. Given that case and test reporting have
become less representative of COVID-19 activity in the
community due to the widespread use of home testing and the
existence of other surveillance systems that are now providing
more timely and complete data for public health action, this rule
is no longer needed and is proposed for repeal.

Comments may be submitted to: Virginia Niehaus, CPH
Rulemaking Coordinator, 1931 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC
27699-1931; email cphcomment@lists.ncmail.net

Comment period ends: July 31, 2023

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

CHAPTER 41 - EPIDEMIOLOGY HEALTH

SUBCHAPTER 41A - COMMUNICABLE DISEASE
CONTROL

SECTION .0100 - COMMUNICABLE DISEASE
CONTROL

10A NCAC 41A .0107 REPORTING OF COVID-19
DIAGNOSTIC TEST RESULTS

Authority G.S. 130A-134; 130A-139; 130A-141; 130A-141.1.

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-
21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Commission for Public Health intends to
readopt with substantive changes the rule cited as 15A NCAC 18A
1511,

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://cph.dph.ncdhhs.gov/

Proposed Effective Date: October 1, 2023

Public Hearing:

Date: July 6, 2023

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: This public hearing will be held by teleconference at
(919) 715-0769 (no access code required).

Reason for Proposed Action: Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A,
periodic review and expiration of existing rules, the Commission
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PROPOSED RULES

for Public Health is proposing to readopt rule 15A NCAC 18A
1511, regarding the sanitation of water supplies in local
confinement facilities, with updates to clarify existing language
and align with current practices.

Comments may be submitted to: Virginia Niehaus, CPH
Rulemaking Coordinator, 1931 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC
27699-1931; email cphcomment@lists.ncmail.net

Comment period ends: July 31, 2023

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XX

CHAPTER 18 - ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH
SUBCHAPTER 18A - SANITATION

SECTION .1500 - SANITATION OF LOCAL
CONFINEMENT FACILITIES

15A NCAC 18A .1511 WATER SUPPLY
(a) Water supplies at local confinement facilities shall meet the
requirements in 15A NCAC 18C or 15A NCAC 18A -4706-.1700,
as applicable.

(b) In local confinement facilities that use a non-community
water supply, as defined at G.S. 130A-313(10), a sample of water
shall be collected by the Department of Health and Human
Services At-least once a year; year and submitted to the North
Carolina State Laboratory of Public Health or other laboratory
certified by the North Carolina State Laboratory of Public Health
under 10A NCAC 41C .0102 a-sample-of water shall-becollected

perform bacteriological examinations.
(c) Neo—backHew—connections—or—cross—connections—with
uhapproved—water—supphies—shallexist: A local confinement

facility's water supply plumbing shall not include cross-
connections as set out in 15A NCAC 18C .0102(c)(8).
) - = idod.

l. tot-water-heating-facilities-shall Ible Ipneulsleel_ Il Islt and feld

preparation-areas,-and-any-other-areas-in-which-water-is-required
for—cleaning- Local confinement facilities shall provide water
heating facilities. Hot and cold running water under pressure shall
be provided to carry out all operations.

Authority G.S. 153A-226.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 14 - BOARD OF COSMETIC ART
EXAMINERS

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners intends to amend the rules cited
as 21 NCAC 14T .0402, .0404, and .0501.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://www.nccosmeticarts.com/uploads/Board/PRMay2023.pdf

Proposed Effective Date: October 1, 2023

Public Hearing:

Date: June 16, 2023

Time: 9:30 a.m.

Location:

https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-

join/19%3ameeting_ NmU4NmZiYmYtZGVIMi00ZDEyLWEOND
QtZTFiIMTNKZGVjOGFk%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid
%22%3a%22787b7dd2-dc22-468e-824e-
38787f4341d5%22%2¢%220id%22%3a%221¢33f68a-8572-
4e9b-892¢-17b15ac20ca0%22%7d

Reason for Proposed Action: These rule changes address
adding updates to required equipment and extending the deadline
for document filing with the Board.

Comments may be submitted to: Stefanie Kuzdrall, 121
Edinburgh South Drive Suite 209, Cary, NC 27511

Comment period ends: July 31, 2023

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
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service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

SUBCHAPTER 14T - COSMETIC ART SCHOOLS
SECTION .0400 - STUDENT EQUIPMENT

21 NCAC 14T .0402 ESTHETICS STUDENT

EQUIPMENT
Each esthetics school shall supply each esthetician student with
the following:

@ Draping;

)] Spatulas;

3 Tweezers;

(@) Make up supplies; and

?3) Ten clips;
4 Mannequin with hair;
(5) One electric flat iron;

{5)(6) One blowdryer; and

@ One hard rubber or nonflammable comb for
heat protection used in thermal styling; and

{6)(8) Two capes.

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17.
SECTION .0500 - RECORD KEEPING

21 NCAC 14T .0501 SUBMISSION OF RECORDS

All cosmetic art schools must submit to the Board the appropriate,
completed, original Board form for each student including
enrollment, transfer, withdrawal and graduation. Cosmetic art
student forms shall be submitted to the Board within the required
time frame established in the following table.

15 Days 30 Days

Esthetics, Manicuring, | Cosmetology forms
Natural Hair Care and | including: enrollments,
Teacher trainee  forms | withdrawals, transfers and
including: enrollments, | graduations

withdrawals; and transfers

(5) One manneguir- mannequin with head, neck Esthetics, Manicuring,
and shoulders. Natural Hair care and
Teacher trainee trainee,
Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17. withdrawal and graduation
forms
21 NCAC 14T .0404 NATURAL HAIR CARE
STYLING STUDENT EQUIPMENT Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17.
Each natural hair care school shall supply each natural hair care
student with the following:
(D) Six combs;
2 Six brushes;
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the Rules Review Commission by the 270" day.

and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements.

Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the
Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative
Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270" day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired. See G.S. 150B-21.1

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS
AND COMMISSIONS

Rule-making Agency: Board of Barber and Electrolysis
Examiners

Rule Citation: 21 NCAC 06L .0116; 06N .0102, .0104, .0116;
060 .0105, .0112, .0114, .0119

Effective Date: May 2, 2023

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission: April 27,
2023

Reason for Action: Session Law 2022-72 merged the State Board
of Barber Examiners and North Carolina Board of Electrolysis
Examiners into a newly created agency, the North Carolina
Board of Barber and Electrolysis Examiners. The legislation also
created a new license type for mobile barber shops; changed the
name of licenses updated and changed the references to license

types.

SUBCHAPTER 06L - BARBER SHOPS

21 NCAC 06L .0116 BARBER SHOP-MANAGERS
LICENSE VERIFICATION

& All barber shop managers-of barber shops and mobile barber
shops shall verify that any licensee employed in the barber shop
or mobile barber shop is the person whose name appears on the
license or permit prierte before allowing the licensee to perform
barbering services in the barber shop or mobile barber shop. This
verification shall be based on government issued identification.

History Note:
38;

Eff. June 1, 2008;
Amended Eff. April 1, 2010;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2048: 2018;
Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

Authority G.S. 86A-15;-86A-22; 86B-31; 86B-

SUBCHAPTER 06N — FEES AND FORMS

21 NCAC 06N .0102 FORM BAR-1
(@) The Form BAR-1 shall be filed when one applies to open o

manage a new barber shop. It requests requires the following:
(1) the name and address of the barber shop;

number-of the [ Hicensed-barber | manager;
)2

the name and address of the barber shop ewner;
{4)(3) the physical dimensions of the barber shop;
the barber shop business hours;
6)(5)
{H(6) the date the barber shop will be ready for
inspection.
this Section shall accompany this form.
(c) The Form BAR-1 shall include the applicant's attestation that

OWner or manager;
63(4)
the type of fixtures installed; and
(b) The fee required by Rule-0101a}19} Rule .0101(a)(21) of
the information in the form is correct.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-1;—86A-13;86A-15;86A-
25; 86B-21; 86B-29; 86B-31; 86B-41;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 8, 1978;

Amended Eff. March 1, 1983;

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. March 7, 1983;
Curative Amended Eff. April 6, 1983;

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021; October 1, 2620 2020;
Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 06N .0104 FORM BAR-3
(@) The Form BAR-3 shall be filed for permission to enroll in
barber school. It requires the following:

1) the name, address, social security number, and
birth date of the applicant;

2 the applicant's prior barber school attendance, if
any;

3 the name of the school enrolled; and

4) the date of enrellmentand enrollment.

B} the—schosl—managers—attestation—that—the
information in the form i

(b) The fee in 21-NCAC 06N-0101a)(2) Rule .0101(a)(14) of

this Section shall accompany this form.

History Note: Authority G.S. 86A-18:-86A-22:-86A-25; 86B-
35; 86B-38; 86B-41; 93B-14;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 8, 1978;

Amended Eff. March 1, 1983;

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. March 7, 1983;
Curative Amended Eff. April 6, 1983;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2013;

May 1, 1989;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2620- 2020;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.
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21 NCAC 06N .0116 FORM BAR-13
(@) The Form BAR-13 shall be filed when one applies to open or
manage a new mobile barber shop. It requires the following:

(1) the name of the shop;

(2) the permanent business address required by

G-S-86B-20(g): G.S. 86B-30(q);
4 (3)
5)(4)
6)(3)

€H(6)

the name and address of the mobile barber shop
©wWner: Owner or manager;
if available, the email address, website, or
social media handle of the mobile barber shop;
the physical dimensions of the mobile barber
shop;
the vehicle identification number, license plate
number, and vehicle make and model of the
mobile barber shop;
8)(7) the mobile barber shop business hours;
{9)(8) an explanation of how the mobile barber shop
will dispose of sewage and wastewater;
£0)(9) the type of fixtures installed; and
{&5(10) the date the mobile barber shop will be ready
for inspection.
(b) The fee required by Rule .0101(a)(22) of this Section shall
accompany this form.
(c) The Form BAR-13 shall include the applicant's attestation that
the information in the form is correct.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86B-30;
Temporary Adoption Eff. May 2, 2023.

SUBCHAPTER 060 — CIVIL PENALTY

21 NCAC 060 .0105
APPRENTICE
(@) The presumptive civil penalty for a barber shop or mobile
barber shop manager allowing a barber or apprentice to practice
without a Heense: license, in violation of G.S. 86B-21:

Q) 1st offense $300.00

2 2nd offense $500.00
(b) The presumptive civil penalty for an individual engaging in
barbering without a Heense: license, in violation of G.S. 86B-21:

UNLICENSED BARBER OR

1) 1st offense $250.00
2) 2nd offense $450.00
(3) 3rd offense $500.00

History Note: Authority G.S. 86A-1;—86A-5(a}6)—86A-27;
86B-10; 86B-21;

Eff. April 1, 2005;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2616- 2016;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 060 .0112 IDENTIFICATION
(@) The presumptive civil penalty for a barber shop or mobile

2) 2nd offense $150.00

(3) 3rd offense $250.00
(b) The presumptive civil penalty for a registered licensed barber,
apprentice, or holder of a temporary permit failing to maintain and
produce a license or permit as defined in 21 NCAC 06P .0103(7):

1) 1st offense $100.00
(2) 2nd offense $150.00
3) 3rd offense $250.00

(c) The presumptive civil penalty for a barber student failing to
wear identification as set forth in 21 NCAC 06F .0122:

(1) 1st offense $100.00
(2) 2nd offense $150.00
3) 3rd offense $250.00

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-1;—86A-10;—86A-11;—86A-
2+; 86B-10; 86B-21; 86B-26; 86B-27;

Eff. June 1, 2008;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2009;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 20616 2016;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 060 .0114 ANIMALS IN BARBER SHOPS
The presumptive civil penalty for a barber-manager ofa barber
shop or mobile barber shop allowing an animal in a the barber
shop or mobile barber shop in violation of 21 NCAC 06L .0114:

(1) 1st offense $100.00
(2) 2nd offense $150.00
3) 3rd offense $250.00

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-15;-85A-27; 86B-10; 86B-
31;

Eff. June 1, 2008;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016- 2016;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.

21 NCAC 060 .0119 FAILURE TO NOTIFY BOARD

OF CHANGE OF ADDRESS

{b) The presumptive civil penalty for aprmdeual—theLewner—er
heehsed—bepber—maneger—e# a barber shop or moblle barber shop

#a#ere failing to notlfy the Board of a change of address for a the
barber shop shep; or mobile barber shep; shop as set forth in 21
NCAC 06L .0120: er-barber-schoolk:

(1) 1st offense $50.00
2 2nd offense $100.00
?3) 3rd offense $200.00

History Note:  Authority G.S. 86A-1;—86A-5(a}{6);—86A-27;
86B-2; 86B-10; 86B-30;

barber shop ewner—er—manager failing to positively identify a
registered licensed barber, apprentice, or holder of a temporary

permit: permit, as set forth in 21 NCAC 06L .0116(a):
(@) 1st offense $100.00

Eff. July 1, 2016: 2016;
Temporary Amendment Eff. May 2, 2023.
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules. The rules
that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required
to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules. Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17.

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on April 20, 2023 Meeting.

REGISTER CITATION TO THE

NOTICE OF TEXT

RADIATION PROTECTION COMMISSION

Classification of Radioactive Material 10ANCAC 15 .0113 37:08 NCR
Specific Licenses: Sealed Sources in Industrial Radiograp... 10ANCAC 15 .0323* 37:08 NCR
Exemptions: Waste Management by Generators 10ANCAC 15 .0349 37:08NCR
Purpose and Scope 10ANCAC 15 .1201 37:08 NCR
Definitions 10ANCAC 15 .1202 37:08 NCR
License Required: Land Disposal of Low-Level Radioactive ... 10ANCAC 15 .1203* 37:08 NCR
Content of Application 10ANCAC 15 .1204 37:08 NCR
General Information 10ANCAC 15 .1205 37:08 NCR
Specific Technical Information 10ANCAC 15 .1206 37:08 NCR
Environmental Information 10ANCAC 15 .1207 37:08 NCR
Technical and Environmental Analyses 10ANCAC 15 .1208 37:08 NCR
Institutional Information 10ANCAC 15 .1209 37:08 NCR
Financial Information 10ANCAC 15 .1210 37:08 NCR
Filing and Distribution of Application 10ANCAC 15 .1211 37:08 NCR
Elimination of Repetition 10ANCAC 15 .1212 37:08 NCR
Updating of Application 10ANCAC 15 .1213 37:08 NCR
Standards for Issuance of a License 10ANCAC 15 .1214 37:08 NCR
Conditions of License 10ANCAC 15 .1215 37:08 NCR
Amendment of License 10ANCAC 15 .1216 37:08 NCR
Application for Renewal or Closure 10ANCAC 15 .1217 37:08 NCR
Contents of Application for Closure 10ANCAC 15 .1218 37:08 NCR
Postclosure Observation and Maintenance 10ANCAC 15 .1219 37:08 NCR
Transfer of License 10ANCAC 15 .1220 37:08 NCR
Termination of License 10ANCAC 15 .1221 37:08 NCR
Performance Objectives: General Requirement 10ANCAC 15 .1222 37:08 NCR
Protection of Population from Release of Radioactivity 10ANCAC 15 .1223 37:08 NCR
Protection of individuals from Inadvertent Intrusion 10ANCAC 15 .1224 37:08 NCR
Protection of Individuals During Operations 10ANCAC 15 .1225 37:08 NCR
Stability of the Disposal Site After Closure 10ANCAC 15 .1226 37:08 NCR
Technical Requirements for Land Disposal Facilities 10ANCAC 15 .1227 37:08 NCR
Disposal Site Suitability Requirements 10ANCAC 15 .1228 37:08 NCR
Site Design for Land Disposal 10ANCAC 15 .1229 37:08 NCR
Facility Operation and Disposal Site Closure 10ANCAC 15 .1230 37:08 NCR
Environmental Monitoring 10ANCAC 15 .1231 37:08 NCR
Waste Classification and Characteristics 10ANCAC 15 .1233 37:08 NCR
Institutional Requirements 10ANCAC 15 .1234 37:08 NCR
Applicant Qualifications and Assurances 10ANCAC 15 .1235 37:08 NCR
Funding of Closure: Stabilization: Institutional Controls 10ANCAC 15 .1236 37:08 NCR
Records: Reports: Tests: and Inspections 10ANCAC 15 .1237 37:08 NCR
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Maintenance of Records: Reports and Transfers 10ANCAC 15 .1238 37:08 NCR
Tests at Land Disposal Facilities 10ANCAC 15 .1239 37:08 NCR
Agency Inspections of Land Disposal Facilities 10ANCAC 15 .1240 37:08 NCR
Inspection 10ANCAC 15 .1241 37:08 NCR
Notifications and Reports 10ANCAC 15 .1242 37:08 NCR
Purpose and Scope 10ANCAC 15 .1501 37:08 NCR
Definitions 10ANCAC 15 .1502 37:08 NCR
License Required 10ANCAC 15 .1503 37:08 NCR
Application for Site Access License: General Requirements 10ANCAC 15 .1504 37:08 NCR
Application for Site Access License - Waste Generators 10ANCAC 15 .1505 37:08 NCR
Content of Application for Waste Collectors 10ANCAC 15 .1506 37:08 NCR
Content of Application for Waste Processors 10ANCAC 15 .1507 37:08 NCR
Certification of Compliance with Applicable Requirements 10ANCAC 15 .1508 37:08 NCR
Prior Notification for Waste Shipments 10ANCAC 15 .1509 37:08 NCR
Radioactive Shipment Manifest 10ANCAC 15 .1510 37:08 NCR
Financial Qualification and Requirements 10ANCAC 15 .1511 37:08 NCR
Waste Management and Reduction Requirements 10ANCAC 15 .1512 37:08 NCR
Issuance and Expiration of Site Access Licenses 10ANCAC 15 .1513 37:08 NCR
Site Access License Renewal 10ANCAC 15 .1514 37:08 NCR
Site Access License Amendment 10ANCAC 15 .1515 37:08 NCR
Modification, Revocation, and Termination of Licenses 10ANCAC 15 .1516 37:08 NCR
Temporary or Emergency Access 10ANCAC 15 .1517 37:08 NCR
Classification/Radioactive Waste for Near-Surface Disposal 10ANCAC 15 .1650 37:08 NCR
Radioactive Waste Characteristics 10ANCAC 15 .1651 37:08 NCR
Labeling 10A NCAC 15 1652  37:08 NCR
Additional Requirements for Licensees Possessing Category... 10ANCAC 15 .1701* 37:08 NCR
CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION

Terms and Conditions of Specialized Instructor Certification 12 NCAC 09B .0305* 37:11 NCR
Recertification Following Separation 12 NCAC 09C .0311* 37:11NCR
Definitions 12 NCAC 09G .0102* 37:11 NCR
Documentation of Educational Requirements 12 NCAC 09G .0204* 36:24 NCR
Medical Examination 12 NCAC 09G .0205* 36:24 NCR
Moral Character 12 NCAC 09G .0206 36:24 NCR
Fingerprint Criminal History Record Check 12 NCAC 09G .0207* 36:24 NCR
Minimum Standards for Correctional Officers 12 NCAC 09G .0208* 37:04 NCR
Minimum Standards for Probation/Parole Officers 12 NCAC 09G .0209* 37:04 NCR
Background Investigation 12 NCAC 09G .0210* 37:11 NCR
Agency Reporting of Drug Screening Results 12 NCAC 09G .0211 37:11NCR
Criminal History Record 12 NCAC 09G .0302* 37:04 NCR
General Certification 12 NCAC 09G .0304* 36:24 NCR
Recertification Following Separation 12 NCAC 09G .0305* 36:24 NCR
Suspension: Revocation: or Denial of Certification 12 NCAC 09G .0504* 37:04 NCR
Period of Suspension: Revocation: or Denial 12 NCAC 09G .0505* 37:04 NCR
WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION

Attendance of Traps 15ANCAC 10B .0110 37:11NCR
Possession of Wildlife Killed Accidentally or Found Dead 15ANCAC 10B .0127* 37:11NCR
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White Tailed Deer

Wild Quail Management Areas

Definitions

Open Seasons

Attendance and Tagging of Traps

Alligator Control Agent Certification Eligibility and Req...
Designation of Wildlife Conservation Areas

General Regulations Regarding Use of Conservation Areas

NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR
Fees

Grade Required

Subject Areas

15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC

21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC

10B
10B
10B
10B
10B
10H
10J
10J

37B
37D
37D

.0203*
.0227*
.0301*
.0303*
.0306*
.1506*
.0101*
.0102*

.0104
.0604*
.0605

37:11 NCR
37:11 NCR
37:11 NCR
37:11 NCR
37:11 NCR
37:11 NCR
37:11 NCR
37:11 NCR

37:13 NCR
37:13 NCR
37:13 NCR

PLUMBING, HEATING AND FIRE SPRINKLER CONTRACTORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF

Onsite Supervision and Standard of Competence

21 NCAC 50

.0520* 37:05 NCR

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN
SERVICES

10A NCAC 15 .0113 CLASSIFICATION OF
RADIOACTIVE MATERIAL

History Note: Authority G.S. 104E-15;

Eff. February 1, 1980;

Amended Eff. June 1, 1989;

Transferred and Recodified from 10 NCAC 3G .2214 Eff. January
4, 1990;

Amended Eff. May 1, 1993;

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11 .0113 Eff.
February 1, 2015;

Repealed Eff. May 1, 2023.

10A NCAC 15.0323 SPECIFIC LICENSES: SEALED
SOURCES IN INDUSTRIAL RADIOGRAPHY AND
RADIATION SAFETY REQUIREMENTS FOR
INDUSTRIAL RADIOGRAPHIC OPERATIONS

(@) Persons conducting industrial radiography using radioactive
materials shall comply with the requirements of 10 CFR 34, which
are hereby incorporated by reference including subsequent
amendments and editions, except for: 10 CFR 34.5, 34.8, 34.121,
and 34.123. Copies of these regulations are available free of
charge at https://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/doc-
collections/cfr/part034/.

(b) Applications required by 10 CFR 34 shall be made on forms
provided by the agency. Applications and supporting material
shall be submitted to the agency by e-mail at
Licensing.RAM@dhhs.nc.gov, or at the address shown in Rule
.0111 of this Chapter in lieu of the NRC:

1) Persons applying for new radioactive materials
licenses, or for the renewal of existing
radioactive materials licenses, shall submit an
Application for Radioactive Materials License.

The following information shall appear on the

application:

(A) legal business name and mailing
address;

(B) physical address(es) where radioactive

©

D)

(E)

(F)

(©)

(H)

material shall be used or possessed.
The application shall indicate if
radioactive materials shall be used at
temporary jobsites;

the name, telephone number, and e-
mail address of the Radiation Safety
Officer;

the name, telephone number, and e-
mail address of the individual to be
contacted about the application. If this
individual is same as the Radiation
Safety Officer, the application may so
state;

the application shall indicate if the
application is for a new license, or for
the renewal of an existing license, by
marking the corresponding check box;
if the application is for the renewal of
an existing license, the license number
shall be provided on the application;
applicants shall indicate the type and
category of license as shown on the
form by marking the corresponding
check box; and

the printed name, title, and signature
of the certifying official. The
certifying  official shall be an
individual employed by the business
or licensee, who is authorized by the
licensee to sign license applications on
behalf of the business or licensee.
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(2) Persons applying for an amendment to an
existing license shall submit an Application for
Amendment of Radioactive Materials and
Accelerator  Licenses.  The  following
information shall appear on the application:
(A) the license number;

(B) amendment number of the current
license;

© expiration date of the license;

(D) licensee name as it currently appears
on the license;

(E) the name, telephone number, and e-
mail address of the Radiation Safety
Officer;

(F) the name, telephone number, and e-

mail address of the individual to be
contacted about the application. If this
individual is same as the Radiation
Safety Officer, item 5b on the
application may be left blank;

(G) applicants shall provide a description
of the action requested by marking the
corresponding checkbox in item 6a. If
the check box next to "Other" is
marked in item 6a, provide a brief
description of the action requested in
the space provided in item 6b;

(H) explanation of the action requested;

and

0] the printed name, title, and signature
of the certifying official. The
certifying official shall be an

individual employed by the business
or licensee who is authorized by the
licensee to sign license applications on
behalf of the business or licensee.

3 Applications specified in this Rule are available
at:
www.ncradiation.net/rms/rmsforms2.htm(Rev
01).htm

(c) Reports of leaking sealed sources required by 10 CFR 34.27
shall be made to the agency at the address shown in Rule .0111 of
this Chapter in lieu of the NRC.

(d) Notifications required by 10 CFR 34.101, including
notifications of source disconnects, shall be made to the agency at
the address shown in Rule .0111 of this Chapter in lieu of the
NRC. In addition to the information required by 10 CFR
34.101(b), notifications of devices with failed or worn through S-
tubes shall contain the serial number and storage location of the
device, whether the device has been disposed of or returned to the
manufacturer, and whether personnel contamination occurred.
(e) Requests for exemption under 10 CFR 34.111 shall be made
to the agency as specified in Paragraph (b) of this Rule.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-10(b);

Eff. February 1, 1980;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; June 1, 1989;

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11 .0323 Eff.
February 1, 2015;

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2023.

10A NCAC 15 .0349 EXEMPTIONS: WASTE
MANAGEMENT BY GENERATORS

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1989;
Amended Eff. January 1, 1994;

Filed as a Temporary Amendment Eff. November 22, 1995, for a
period of 180 days or until

the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is sooner;
Amended Eff. May 1, 1996;

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11 .0349 Eff.
February 1, 2015;

Repealed Eff. May 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 104E-7(a)(10);

10A NCAC 15 .1201
10A NCAC 15 .1202

PURPOSE AND SCOPE
DEFINITIONS

History Note: Authority G.S. 104E-2; 104E-3; 104E-5;
104E-7; 104E-10; 104E-10.1; 104E-10.2; 104E-25;

104E-26;

Eff. December 1, 1987;

Amended Eff. January 1, 1994; May 1, 1993; May 1, 1992; June
1, 1989;

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11 .1201 - .1202 Eff.
February 1, 2015;

Repealed Eff. May 1, 2023.

10A NCAC 15 .1203 LICENSE REQUIRED: LAND
DISPOSAL OF LOW-LEVEL RADIOACTIVE WASTE

(a) This Rule establishes the procedures, standards, criteria, and
terms and conditions upon which the Department issues licenses
authorizing land disposal of low-level radioactive waste received
from other persons for disposal.

(8] No person may receive, possess, and dispose of
low-level radioactive waste at a land disposal
facility located in North Carolina unless
authorized by a license issued by the
Department pursuant to this Rule.

2) No low-level radioactive waste shall be
received from any source not licensed by the
agency except as may be specifically authorized
in writing by the agency.

3) The regulations in 10 CFR 61 which are hereby
incorporated by  reference, including
subsequent amendments and editions, except
that 10 CFR 61.5, 61.8, 61.16, 61.23(i) and (j),
61.83, and 61.84 are not incorporated by
reference. Copies of these regulations are
available free of charge at
https://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/doc-
collections/cfr/part061/. Communications,
records, reports, and notifications required by
10 CFR 61.4 and 61.80 shall be submitted to the
agency at the address shown in Rule .0111 of
this Chapter in lieu of the NRC.
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(4)

()
(6)

The requirements found in G.S. 104E-6.1,
104E-10.1(a), (al), and (b), 104E-10.2, 104E-
25(a), (c) through (h), and (j) shall be met.

In addition to the definitions found in 10 CFR
61.2, the definitions in G.S. 104E-5 shall apply.
The agency may access and inspect any
licensed low-level radioactive waste disposal
facility on a temporary or emergency basis to
determine compliance with the rules in this
Chapter or to respond to any emergency which
involves possible or actual release of
radioactive material.

(b) This Rule establishes the procedures, criteria, and terms and
conditions upon which the agency issues licenses authorizing
access to low-level radioactive waste land disposal facilities
licensed under Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

1)

)
©)

(4)

()

(6)

No person shall transport or transfer waste to a
low-level radioactive waste land disposal
facility licensed under Paragraph (a) of this
Rule unless licensed by the agency or otherwise
specifically authorized in writing by the
agency.

The definitions of terms in G.S. 104E-5 shall
apply.

Generators, waste brokers, and waste
processors of low-level radioactive waste shall
develop procedures and implement practices to
prevent, minimize, and reduce the generation of
low-level radioactive  waste, including
segregating radioactive waste by half-life and
holding low-level radioactive waste for decay
in storage.

Upon receipt of an application for a license
authorizing access to low-level radioactive
waste land disposal facilities licensed under
Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the agency shall
review the contents of the application and
determine if the applicant's facilities, staffing,
equipment, and procedures are adequate to
protect the health and safety of the public and
occupationally exposed workers, and if the
requirements in Subparagraph (b)(3) of this
Rule are met. If the agency determines that the
applicant's facilities, staffing, equipment, and
procedures are adequate to protect the health
and safety of the public and occupationally
exposed workers, and that the applicant's
procedures and practices prevent, minimize and
reduce the generation of low-level radioactive
waste, the agency shall issue a license as
described in this Rule.

Licenses issued under this Rule are subject to
suspension or revocation for failure to comply
with the rules of this Chapter or in accordance
with 10 CFR 61.9b(a) and (c).

Facilities licensed by the agency and licensed
activities may be inspected by authorized
representatives of the Department as permitted
by G.S. 104E-11(a). For licenses issued to

licensees located outside of the jurisdiction of
the Department, the Department may delegate
this authority to individuals representing the
radiation control programs within those
jurisdictions.

(c) Applications required by this Rule shall be made on forms
provided by the agency, and the payment of fees required by 10
CFR 61.20(c) shall not apply. Applications and supporting
material shall be submitted to the agency by e-mail at
Licensing.RAM@dhhs.nc.gov, or at the address shown in Rule
.0111 of this Chapter in lieu of the NRC:

M

@

Persons applying for new radioactive materials
licenses, or for the renewal of existing
radioactive materials licenses, shall submit an
Application for Radioactive Materials License.
The following information shall appear on the

application:

(A) legal business name and mailing
address;

(B) physical address(es) where radioactive

material shall be used or possessed.
The application shall indicate if
radioactive materials shall be used at
temporary jobsites;

© the name, telephone number, and e-
mail address of the Radiation Safety
Officer;

(D) the name, telephone number, and e-
mail address of the individual to be
contacted about the application. If this
individual is same as the Radiation
Safety Officer, the application may so
state;

(B) the application shall indicate if the
application is for a new license, or for
the renewal of an existing license, by
marking the corresponding check box;

(P if the application is for the renewal of
an existing license, the license number
shall be provided on the application;

(G) applicants shall indicate the type and
category of license as shown on the
form by marking the corresponding
check box; and

H) the printed name, title, and signature
of the certifying official. The
certifying  official shall be an
individual employed by the business
or licensee, who is authorized by the
licensee to sign license applications on
behalf of the business or licensee.

Persons applying for an amendment to an

existing license shall submit an Application for

Amendment of Radioactive Materials and

Accelerator  Licenses.  The  following

information shall appear on the application:

(A) the license number;
(B) amendment number of the current
license;
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(©)
(D)
(E)

(F)

(G)

(H)
)

expiration date of the license;

licensee name as it currently appears
on the license;

the name, telephone number, and e-
mail address of the Radiation Safety
Officer;

the name, telephone number, and e-
mail address of the individual to be
contacted about the application. If this
individual is same as the Radiation
Safety Officer, item 5b on the
application may be left blank;
applicants shall provide a description
of the action requested by marking the
corresponding checkbox in item 6a. If
the check box next to "Other" is
marked in item 6a, provide a brief
description of the action requested in
the space provided in item 6b;
explanation of the action requested;
and

the printed name, title, and signature
of the certifying official. The
certifying official shall be an
individual employed by the business
or licensee who is authorized by the
licensee to sign license applications on
behalf of the business or licensee.

3) Application forms specified in this Rule shall
be made available by the agency on the agency's
public website.

10A NCAC 15 .1214
A LICENSE

10A NCAC 15 .1215
10A NCAC 15 .1216
10A NCAC 15 .1217
OR CLOSURE

10A NCAC 15 .1218
FOR CLOSURE
10A NCAC 15 .1219

AND MAINTENANCE

10A NCAC 15 .1220
10A NCAC 15 .1221
10A NCAC 15 .1222

STANDARDS FOR ISSUANCE OF
CONDITIONS OF LICENSE
AMENDMENT OF LICENSE
APPLICATION FOR RENEWAL
CONTENTS OF APPLICATION
POSTCLOSURE OBSERVATION
TRANSFER OF LICENSE

TERMINATION OF LICENSE
PERFORMANCE OBJECTIVES:

GENERAL REQUIREMENT

10A NCAC 15 .1223

PROTECTION OF POPULATION

FROM RELEASES OF RADIOACTIVITY

10A NCAC 15 .1224

PROTECTION OF INDIVIDUALS

FROM INADVERTENT INTRUSION

10A NCAC 15 .1225

PROTECTION OF INDIVIDUALS

DURING OPERATIONS

10A NCAC 15 .1226

STABILITY OF THE DISPOSAL

SITE AFTER CLOSURE

10A NCAC 15 .1227

TECHNICAL REQUIREMENTS

FOR LAND DISPOSAL FACILITIES

10A NCAC 15 .1228
REQUIREMENTS
10A NCAC 15 .1229
DISPOSAL

10A NCAC 15 .1230

DISPOSAL SITE SUITABILITY

SITE DESIGN FOR LAND

FACILITY OPERATION AND

DISPOSAL SITE CLOSURE

10A NCAC 15 .1231

ENVIRONMENTAL

(d) Nothing in this Rule shall relieve any person of responsibility
for complying with other applicable North Carolina laws and
rules.

History Note: Authority G.S. 104E-5; 104E-6.1; 104E-7;
104E-10(b); 104E-10.1; 104E-10.2; 104E-10.3; 104E-11; 104E-
18; 104E-25; 104E-26; 104E-27;

Eff. December 1, 1987;

Amended Eff. May 1, 1993;

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11 .1203 Eff.
February 1, 2015;

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2023.

MONITORING

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 104E-5; 104E-6.1; 104E-7;
104E-9(3); 104E-9(a)(3); 104E-10; 104E-10(b); 104E-10.1;
104E-10.2; 104E-12; 104E-13(a); 104E-15; 104E-16; 104E-18;
104E-25; 104E-26; 104G-13; 104G-14; 150B-19(6); 10 C.F.R.
Chapter 1, Commission Notices, Policy Statements, Agreement
States, 46 F.R. 7540;

Eff. December 1, 1987;

Amended Eff. January 1, 1994; June 1, 1993; May 1, 1993; May
1, 1992; June 1, 1989;

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11.1204 - .1231 Eff.
February 1, 2015;

10A NCAC 15 .1204
10A NCAC 15 .1205
10A NCAC 15 .1206
INFORMATION

10A NCAC 15 .1207
INFORMATION

10A NCAC 15 .1208

CONTENT OF APPLICATION
GENERAL INFORMATION
SPECIFIC TECHNICAL

ENVIRONMENTAL

TECHNICAL AND

ENVIRONMENTAL ANALYSES

10A NCAC 15 .1209
INFORMATION
10A NCAC 15 .1210
10A NCAC 15 .1211
APPLICATION
10A NCAC 15 .1212
10A NCAC 15 .1213

INSTITUTIONAL

FINANCIAL INFORMATION
FILING AND DISTRIBUTION OF

ELIMINATION OF REPETITION
UPDATING OF APPLICATION

Repealed Eff. May 1, 2023.

10A NCAC 15 .1233

CHARACTERISTICS

10A NCAC 15 .1234
REQUIREMENTS
10A NCAC 15 .1235

AND ASSURANCES

10A NCAC 15 .1236

WASTE CLASSIFICATION AND
INSTITUTIONAL
APPLICANT QUALIFICATIONS

FUNDING OF CLOSURE:

STABILIZATION: INSTITUTIONAL CONTROLS

10A NCAC 15 .1237

AND INSPECTIONS

10A NCAC 15 .1238

RECORDS: REPORTS: TESTS:

MAINTENANCE OF RECORDS:

REPORTS AND TRANSFERS
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10A NCAC 15 .1239
FACILITIES

10A NCAC 15 .1240 AGENCY
LAND DISPOSAL FACILITIES
10A NCAC 15 .1241 INSPECTION
10A NCAC 15 .1242 NOTIFICATIONS
REPORTS

TESTS AT LAND DISPOSAL

INSPECTIONS OF

AND

History Note:  Authority G.S. 104E-6.1; 104E-7; 104E-9(3);
104E-9(a)(3); 104E-10(b); 104E-10.1; 104E-10.2; 104E-11;
104E-12; 104E-15; 104E-16; 104E-17; 104E-18; 104E-19(b);
104E-25; 104E-26;

Eff. December 1, 1987;

Amended Eff. January 1, 1994; May 1, 1993;

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11.1233 - .1242 Eff.
February 1, 2015;

Repealed Eff. May 1, 2023.

10A NCAC 15 .1501 PURPOSE AND SCOPE

10A NCAC 15 .1502 DEFINITIONS

10A NCAC 15 .1503 LICENSE REQUIRED

10A NCAC 15 .1504 APPLICATION FOR SITE
ACCESS LICENSE: GENERAL REQUIREMENTS

10A NCAC 15 .1505 APPLICATION FOR SITE

ACCESS LICENSE - WASTE GENERATORS

10A NCAC 15 .1506 CONTENT OF APPLICATION
FOR WASTE COLLECTORS

10A NCAC 15 .1507 CONTENT OF APPLICATION
FOR WASTE PROCESSORS

10A NCAC 15 .1508 CERTIFICATION OF
COMPLIANCE WITH APPLICABLE REQUIREMENTS
10A NCAC 15 .1509 PRIOR NOTIFICATION FOR
WASTE SHIPMENTS
10A NCAC 15 .1510
MANIFEST

10A NCAC 15 .1511
AND REQUIREMENTS
10A NCAC 15 .1512 WASTE MANAGEMENT AND
REDUCTION REQUIREMENTS

10A NCAC 15 .1513 ISSUANCE AND EXPIRATION
OF SITE ACCESS LICENSES

RADIOACTIVE SHIPMENT

FINANCIAL QUALIFICATIONS

10A NCAC 15 .1514 SITE ACCESS LICENSE
RENEWAL

10A NCAC 15 .1515 SITE ACCESS LICENSE
AMENDMENT

10A NCAC 15 .1516 MODIFICATION,
REVOCATION, AND TERMINATION OF LICENSES

10A NCAC 15 .1517 TEMPORARY OR EMERGENCY
ACCESS

History Note:  Authority G.S. 104E-5; 104E-7; 104E-10.3;
104E-18; 104E-27; 104E-29; 132-1.2;

Eff. January 1, 1995;

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11 .1501 - .1517 Eff.
February 1, 2015;

Repealed Eff. May 1, 2023.

10A NCAC 15 .1650
CLASSIFICATION/RADIOACTIVE
WASTE FOR NEAR-SURFACE DISPOSAL

10A NCAC 15 .1651 RADIOCACTIVE WASTE
CHARACTERISTICS
10A NCAC 15 .1652 LABELING

History Note:  Authority G.S. 104E-7(a)(2);

Eff. January 1, 1994;

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11 .1650 - .1652 Eff.
February 1, 2015;

Repealed Eff. May 1, 2023.

10A NCAC 15 .1701 ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS
FOR LICENSEES POSSESSING CATEGORY 1 AND
CATEGORY 2 QUANTITIES OF RADIOACTIVE
MATERIAL
(a) Licensees possessing an aggregate category 1 or category 2
quantity of radioactive material, as defined in 10 CFR 37.5, shall
comply with the requirements for the physical protection program
listed in 10 CFR Part 37, which is hereby incorporated by
reference, including any subsequent amendments and editions,
except the following regulations are not incorporated:

Q) 10 CFR 37.1;

) 10 CFR 37.3;

3) 10 CFR 37.7;

4) 10 CFR 37.9;

(5) 10 CFR 37.11(a) and (b);

(6) 10 CFR 37.13;

@) 10 CFR 37.105;

8) 10 CFR 37.107; and

9) 10 CFR 37.109.
(b) Licensee required reports of events or notifications in 10 CFR
37.23(b)(2), 37.41, 37.45, 37.57, 37.77(a) through (d), and 37.81
shall use the Agency contact information in Rule .0111 of this
Chapter.
(c) The Code of Federal Regulations incorporated by this Rule
are available free of charge at https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-
10/chapter-I/part-37.

History Note:
Eff. June 1, 2016;
Amended Eff. May 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 104E-7;

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

12 NCAC 09B .0305 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF
SPECIALIZED INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION

(@) An applicant meeting the requirements for Specialized
Instructor Certification as set forth in Rule .0304 of this Section
shall be issued a certification to expire three years from the date
of issuance. The applicant shall apply for certification as a
Specialized Instructor within 60 days after the date the applicant
achieved a passing score on the state comprehensive exam for the
respective Specialized Instructor training course.

(b) Where certification for both General Probationary Instructor
as set forth in Rule .0303 of this Section and Specialized Instructor
Certification are issued on the same date, the instructor is required
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to instruct, within three years after certification, a minimum of 12
hours in each of the topics for which Specialized Instructor
Certification was granted, and that instruction was provided in a
Commission-accredited basic training, Specialized Instructor
Training, Commission-recognized in-service training course, or
training course delivered pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0601, .1302,
or .2005. The instructor may satisfy the teaching requirement for
the General Probationary Instructor certification by teaching any
specialized topic for which certification has been issued.

(c) When Specialized Instructor Certification is issued during an
existing period of General Probationary Instructor Certification,
the specialized instructor may satisfy the teaching requirement for
the General Probationary Certification by teaching the specialized
subject for which certification has been issued.

(d) The term of certification as a specialized instructor shall be
three years. An application for renewal shall contain, in addition
to the requirements listed in Rule .0304 of this Section,
documentary evidence that the applicant has remained active in
the instructional process during the previous three-year period.
Such documentary evidence shall include the following:

@ proof that the applicant has, within the three-
year period preceding application for renewal,
instructed at least 12 hours in each of the topics
for which Specialized Instructor Certification
was granted, and that instruction was provided
in a Commission-accredited basic training,
Specialized Instructor Training, Commission-
recognized in-service training course, or
training course delivered pursuant to 12 NCAC
10B .0601, .1302, or .2005. Acceptable
documentary evidence shall include official
Commission records submitted by School
Directors or In-Service Training Coordinators
and written certification from a School Director
or In-Service Training Coordinator;

2 proof that the applicant has, within the three-
year period preceding application for renewal,
attended and completed all instructor updates
that have been issued by the Commission.
Acceptable documentary evidence shall include
official Commission records submitted by
School Directors or In-Service Training
Coordinators, or copies of certificates of
completion issued by the institution which
provided the instructor updates; and
(A) a favorable written recommendation

from a School Director or In-Service
Training Coordinator completed on a
Commission Application for
Instructor and Professional Lecturer
Certification Form (Form F-12)
stating the instructor taught at least 12
hours in each of the topics for which
Specialized Instructor Certification
was granted. The teaching shall have
been provided in a Commission-
accredited basic training, Specialized
Instructor Training course, pursuant to
Rule 12 NCAC 09C .0401,

(B)

©

D)

B

F

Commission-recognized  in-service
training course, or training course
delivered pursuant to 12 NCAC 09F
.0101, 12 NCAC 09H, 12 NCAC 10B
.0601, .1302, or .2005;

a favorable written evaluation by a
School Director, Qualified Assistant,
In-Service Training Coordinator, or
another Specialized Instructor
certified in the same specialized
subject, based on an on-site classroom
evaluation of a presentation by the
instructor in a Commission-accredited
basic training, Specialized Instructor
Training, Commission-recognized in-
service training course, or in-service
training course delivered pursuant to
12 NCAC 10B .0601, .1302, or .2005
during the three-year period of
Specialized Instructor Certification.
Such evaluation shall be certified on a
Criminal Justice Instructor Evaluation
Form F-16, located on the agency's
website:
http://mww.ncdoj.gov/getdoc/c2ebaba
a-12bc-4303-bf4b-5fa0431ef5al/F-
16-6-11.aspx;

proof that the applicant has met the
requirement set forth in Rule .0303(d)
of this Section;

proof that the individual applying for
renewal as a Specialized Firearms
Instructor has achieved a minimum
score of 92 on the day and night Basic
Law Enforcement Training firearms
qualification courses, administered by
a certified Specialized Firearms
Instructor, within the three-year period
preceding the application for renewal;
proof that the individual applying for
renewal as a Specialized Physical
Fitness Instructor has passed the Basic
Law Enforcement Training Police
Officer Physical Abilities Test,
administered by a certified Specialized
Physical Fitness Instructor, within the
three-year period preceding the
application for renewal.

proof that the individual applying for
renewal as a Specialized Driver
Instructor has achieved the following
minimum scores in accordance with
the procedural and evaluative
requirements listed in the "Course
Description Packet (CDP) for Driver
Instructor Certification Renewal” as
published by the North Carolina
Justice Academy within the three-year
period preceding the application for
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renewal. The individual applying for
renewal must achieve a minimum
score of 85 on two out of three
attempts for the "Off-Set Lane
Maneuver" and "Serpentine" courses
during the daytime, a minimum score
of 85 on two out of three attempts for
the "Precision" course during both day
and night evaluation, a score of "Pass"
on two out of three attempts for each
command  for  the "Evasive
Action/Maneuver" course during the
daytime, and a score of Pass on two
out of three attempts in each direction
for the "Fixed Radius Curve" course
during the daytime. Evaluations will
be administered by a certified
Specialized Driving Instructor.
(G) proof that the individual applying for
renewal as a Specialized Subject
Control Arrest Techniques Instructor
has satisfactorily completed the
technique evaluations skills of the
Basic Law Enforcement Training
SCAT courses, administered by a
certified Specialized SCAT Instructor,
within the three-year period preceding
the application for renewal.
(e) Certification as a Specialized Instructor in the First
Responder, Physical Fitness, Explosive and Hazardous Materials,
and Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topic areas as outlined
in Rule .0304(d)(1), (9)(2), (i)(1), and (j)(1) of this Section shall
remain in effect for 36 months from the date of issuance. During
the 36 month term all non-Commission certificates required in
Rule .0304(d)(1), (9)(2), (i)(1), and (j)(1) for Specialized
Instructor certification in the First Responder, Physical Fitness,
Explosive and Hazardous Materials, and Juvenile Justice Medical
Emergencies topical areas shall be maintained.
(f) Those individuals who have previously held Specialized
Instructor Certification and have not exceeded a three year time
period from when his or her Specialized Instructor Certification
expired are eligible to reapply for re-issuance of the previously
held Specialized Instructor Certification. An application for re-
issuance shall contain documentation that the applicant:

(D) holds a current General Instructor certification;

2 has completed all pre-qualification
requirements for that specialty;

3 has passed the state examination for that
specialty with a minimum score of 75;

4) has completed eight hours of evaluated

instruction in the specialty where re-issuance of
certification is taught, as documented on an F-
16 located on the agency's website:
https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement
training/criminal-justice/forms-and-
publications/. The eight hours of instruction
shall be taught within 60 days of the Specialized
Instructor Certification being reissued and
evaluated by a Specialized Instructor certified

in that specialty. Failure to complete the
required eight hours of evaluated instruction
will result in the reissued Specialized Instructor
Certification being revoked; and

(5) has maintained non-Commission certificates
required in Rule .0304(d)(1), (9)(2), (i)(1), and
(1)(1) for Specialized Instructor certification in
the First Responder, Physical Fitness,
Explosive and Hazardous Materials, and
Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical

areas.
() Applicants for re-issuance of the Specialized Instructor
Certification shall have one opportunity to pass the

prequalification skills assessment and the state examination for
that specialty. Should an applicant not achieve a passing score on
either the prequalification skills assessment or the state
examination for that specialty, the applicant shall complete the
specific Specialized Instructor Course in its entirety.

(h) Applicants whose Specialized Instructor Certification is
suspended or revoked shall not qualify for re-issuance. The
applicant shall complete the specific Specialized Instructor
Course in its entirety.

(i) The use of guest participants in a delivery of the "Basic Law
Enforcement Training Course” shall be permissible. However,
such guest participants are subject to the on-site supervision of a
Commission-certified instructor and shall be authorized by the
School Director. A guest participant shall be used only to
complement the primary certified instructor of the block of
instruction and shall not replace the primary instructor.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 17C-6;

Eff. January 1, 1981;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2017; February 1, 2016; August 1, 2015;
May 1, 2014; June 1, 2012; November 1, 2007; January 1, 2006;
December 1, 2004; August 1, 2004; August 1, 2000; July 1, 1991;
July 1, 1989; December 1, 1987; February 1, 1987;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;

Amended Eff. May 1, 2023; January 1, 2022; January 1, 2020;
August 1, 2019.

12 NCAC 09C .0311 RECERTIFICATION
FOLLOWING SEPARATION

(a) Previously certified juvenile court counselors, Chief Court
Counselors, and juvenile justice officers with a minimum of one
year of service who have been separated from the North Carolina
Department of Public Safety for less than three years may have
their certification reinstated following a reverification of
employment standards as outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0116 and
.0117, but are exempt from the job appropriate basic training
course as described in 12 NCAC 09B .0235 and .0236.

(b) Previously certified juvenile court counselors, Chief Court
Counselors, and juvenile justice officers with less than one year
of service who have been separated from the North Carolina
Department of Public Safety for less than two years may have
their certification reinstated following a reverification of
employment standards as outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0116 and
.0117, and shall complete the job appropriate basic training course
as described in 12 NCAC 09B .0235 and .0236.
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(c) Previously certified juvenile court counselors, Chief Court
Counselors, and juvenile justice officers who have been separated
from the North Carolina Department of Public Safety for more
than three years, upon their return shall complete the verification
of employment standards as outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0116 and
.0117 and shall complete the job appropriate basic training course
described in 12 NCAC 09B .0235 and .0236.

History Note:
Eff. May 1, 2023.

12 NCAC 09G .0102

Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6; 17C-10;

DEFINITIONS

The following definitions apply throughout this Subchapter only:

(1)
(@)

3)

(4)

()

(6)

(7)

(8)

©)

"Agency" means those state and local agencies

identified in G.S. 17C-2(2).

"Commission" means the North Carolina

Criminal Justice Education and Training

Standards Commission identified in G.S. 17C.

"Commission of an offense" means a finding by

the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education

and Training Standards Commission or an
administrative body that a person performed the

acts necessary to satisfy the elements of a

specified offense.

"Convicted" or "Conviction" means, the entry

of:

(@) a plea of guilty;

(b) a verdict or finding of guilt by a jury,
judge, magistrate, or other duly
constituted, established adjudicating
body, tribunal, or official, -either
civilian or military; or

(© a plea of no contest, nolo contendere,
or the equivalent.

"Correctional Officer" means an employee of

the North Carolina Department of Public

Safety, Division of Adult Correction and

Juvenile Justice, responsible for the custody of

inmates or offenders.

"Corrections Officer" means either or both of

the two classes of officers employed by the

North Carolina Department of Public Safety,

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile

Justice: correctional officer or probation/parole

officer.

"Criminal Justice System™ means the whole of

the State and local criminal justice agencies

including the North Carolina Department of

Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and

Juvenile Justice.

"Director" means the Director of the Criminal

Justice Standards Division of the North

Carolina Department of Justice.

"Educational Points" means points earned

toward the State Correction Officers'

Professional Certificate Program for studies

completed, with passing scores achieved, for

semester hour or quarter hour credit awarded
from colleges or universities accredited by the

(10)

(11

(12)

Department of Education of the state in which
the institution is located, from an accredited
body recognized by either the U.S. Department
of Education or the Council for Higher
Education Accreditation, or from the state
university of the state in which the institution is
located. Each semester hour of college credit
equals one educational point and each quarter
hour of college credit equals two-thirds of an
educational point.
"High School" means a high school that meets
the compulsory attendance requirements in the
jurisdiction in which the school is located.
"In-Service Training Coordinator" means a
person designated by a Criminal Justice Agency
head to administer the agency's In-Service
Training program.
"Misdemeanor" means those criminal offenses
not classified under the laws, statutes, or
ordinances as felonies. Misdemeanor offenses
are classified by the Commission as follows:
(@) "Class A Misdemeanor” means a
misdemeanor committed or omitted in
violation of any common law, duly-
enacted ordinance, or criminal statute
of this State that is not classified as a
Class B Misdemeanor pursuant to
Sub-item (12)(b) of this Rule. Class A
Misdemeanor also includes any act
committed or omitted in violation of
any common law, duly enacted
ordinance, criminal statute, or criminal
traffic code of any jurisdiction other
than North Carolina, either civil or
military, for which the maximum
punishment  allowable for the
designated offense under the laws,
statutes, or ordinances of the
jurisdiction in which the offense
occurred includes imprisonment for a
term of not more than six months.
Excluded from "Class A
Misdemeanor" criminal offenses for
jurisdictions other than North Carolina
are motor vehicle or traffic offenses
designated as misdemeanors under the
laws of other jurisdictions or duly
enacted ordinances of an authorized
governmental  entity, with the
exception of the offense of impaired
driving that is included herein as a
Class A Misdemeanor if the offender
could have been sentenced for a term
of not more than six months. Also
included herein as a Class A
Misdemeanor is the offense of
impaired driving, if the offender was
sentenced under punishment level
three G.S. 20-179(i), level four G.S.
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(b)

20-179(j), or level five G.S.
20-179(Kk). Class A Misdemeanor shall
also include acts committed or omitted
in North Carolina prior to October 1,
1994, in violation of any common law,
duly enacted ordinance, or criminal
statute of this State for which the
maximum punishment allowable for
the designated offense included
imprisonment for a term of not more
than six months.
"Class B Misdemeanor" means an act
committed or omitted in violation of
any common law, criminal statute, or
criminal traffic code of this State that
is classified as a Class B Misdemeanor
as set forth in the Department of Adult
Correction section of the Class B
Misdemeanor Manual as published by
the North Carolina Department of
Justice, incorporated herein by
reference, and shall include any later
amendments and editions of the
incorporated material as provided by
G.S. 150B-21.6. The publication is
available from the Commission's
website:
http://www.ncdoj.gov/getdoc/60bb12
ca-47c0-48ch-a0e3-
6095183c4c2a/Class-B-
Misdemeanor-Manual-2005.aspX.
Class B Misdemeanor also includes
any act committed or omitted in
violation of any common law, duly
enacted ordinance, criminal statute, or
criminal  traffic code of any
jurisdiction other than North Carolina,
either civil or military, for which the
maximum punishment allowable for
the designated offense under the laws,
statutes, or ordinances of the
jurisdiction in which the offense
occurred includes imprisonment for a
term of more than six months but not
more than two years. Excluded from
this  grouping of "Class B
Misdemeanor” criminal offenses for
jurisdictions  other than  North
Carolina, are motor vehicle or traffic
offenses  designated as  being
misdemeanors under the laws of other
jurisdictions with the following
exceptions: Class B Misdemeanor
includes the following:

(1) either first or subsequent
offenses of driving while
impaired if the maximum
allowable punishment is for a

(13)

(14)

(15)

(16)

(17

term of more than six months
but not more than two years;

(i) driving while license
permanently  revoked or
permanently suspended,;

(iii) those traffic offenses
occurring in other
jurisdictions  which  are
comparable to the traffic
offenses specifically listed in
the Class B Misdemeanor
Manual; and

(iv) an act committed or omitted
in North Carolina prior to
October 1, 1994, in violation
of any common law, duly
enacted ordinance, criminal
statute, or criminal traffic
code of this State for which
the maximum punishment
allowable for the designated
offense included
imprisonment for a term of
more than six months but not
more than two years.

"Pilot Courses™ means those courses approved
by the Education and Training Committee,
consistent with 12 NCAC 09G .0404, which are
used to develop new training course curricula.

"Probation/Parole Officer" means an employee
of the North Carolina Department of Public
Safety, Division of Adult Correction and
Juvenile Justice, whose duties include
supervising,  evaluating, or  otherwise
instructing offenders placed on probation,
parole, post release supervision, or assigned to
any other community-based program operated
by the Division of Adult Correction and
Juvenile Justice.

"Qualified Assistant" means an additional staff
person designated as such by the School
Director to assist in the administration of a
course when a certified institution or agency
assigns additional responsibilities to the
certified School Director during the planning,
development, and implementation of a certified
course.

"School" means an institution, college,
university, academy, or agency that offers penal
or corrections training for correctional officers
or probation/parole officers. "School™ includes
the corrections training course curricula,
instructors, and facilities.

"School Director" means the person designated
by the Secretary of the North Carolina
Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult
Correction and Juvenile Justice to administer
the School.
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(18) "Standards Division" means the Criminal
Justice Standards Division of the North
Carolina Department of Justice.

(19) "State Corrections Training Points" means
points earned toward the State Corrections
Officers' Professional Certificate Program by
completion of Commission-approved
corrections training courses. Twenty classroom
hours of Commission-approved corrections
training equals one State Corrections training
point.

History Note:
217;
Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;

Eff. August 1, 2002;

Amended Eff. December 1, 2018; January 1, 2017; January 1,
2015; April 1, 2009; August 1, 2004;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;

Amended Eff. May 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6; 17C-10; 153A-

12 NCAC 09G .0204 DOCUMENTATION OF
EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

(a) Each applicant for certification as a correctional officer or
probation/parole officer shall furnish documentary evidence of
high school, college or university graduation to the employing
agency. Documentary evidence of high school graduation consists
of diplomas or transcripts from public schools or private schools
which meet standards adopted by either the North Carolina
Department of Public Instruction, the Division of Non-Public
Instruction, or a comparable out of state agency; or such
documentation as described in Paragraphs (b), (c), (d), (e) of this
Rule. Documentary evidence of college or university graduation
consists of diplomas or transcripts from colleges or universities
accredited as such by the Department of Education of the state in
which the institution is located, an accredited body recognized by
either the U.S. Department of Education or Council for Higher
Education Accreditation, or the state university of the state in
which the institution is located.

(b) High school diplomas earned through home school programs
must be accompanied by a true and accurate or certified transcript
and the program must meet the requirements of Part 3 of Article
39 of Chapter 115C of the North Carolina General Statutes, or a
comparable out-of-state statute.

(c) Diplomas earned from high school or equivalent institutions
outside of the United States must be translated into English and
be accompanied by an authentic transcript. The Criminal Justice
Standards Division (Division) staff shall evaluate the transcripts
to ensure they are scholastically comparable to United States
curriculum requirements.

(d) The Division's staff shall evaluate high school diplomas
earned through on-line or correspondence courses to ensure such
diplomas must meet state and local requirements for the
jurisdiction from which the diploma was issued.

(e) Documentary evidence of having earned a High School
Equivalency (HSE) diploma shall be satisfied by a certified copy
of a high school equivalency credential or an adult high school
diploma, both of which must be recognized by the U.S.

Department of Education, or educational agency that is authorized
in the state to issue High School Equivalency (HSE) diplomas.
(f) Documentary evidence of the attainment of satisfactory scores
on any military high school equivalency examination is
acceptable as evidence of high school graduation if verified by a
true copy of the veteran's DD-214 Certificate of Release from
Active Duty.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;

Eff. August 1, 2002;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2018; February 1, 2016; November 1,
2015; January 1, 2015; August 1, 2004;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;

Amended Eff. May 1, 2023.

12 NCAC 09G .0205 MEDICAL EXAMINATION
(a) Each applicant for certification or enrollment in a basic
correctional officer or probation/parole officer training course
shall complete, sign, and date the Commission's Medical History
Statement Form (F-1) and shall be examined by either a surgeon,
physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner who is
licensed to practice in North Carolina or authorized to practice
medicine in accordance with the rules and regulations of the
United States Armed Forces, as outlined in 10 U.S. Code 1094, to
help determine his or her fitness to carry out the physical
requirements of the position of correctional officer or
probation/parole officer.
(b) Prior to being examined, the applicant shall provide the
examining surgeon, physician, physician's assistant, or nurse
practitioner with:
(8] the Medical History Statement Form (F-1)
which must be read, completed, and signed; and
2 the Instructions to Agency and Examiner for
Completion of Medical Examination Report (F-
2A) Form attached to the Medical Examination
Report Form (F-2). The Instructions to Agency
and Examiner for Completion of Medical
Examination Report (F-2A) Form shall notify
the examining surgeon, physician, physician's
assistant, or nurse practitioner that the "Medical
Screening Guidelines for the Certification of
Criminal Justice Officers in North Carolina" as
published by the North Carolina Department of
Justice is available at no cost at
https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-
training/criminal-justice/.
(c) The examining surgeon, physician, physician's assistant, or
nurse practitioner shall record the results of the examination on
the Medical Examination Report Form (F-2) and shall sign and
date the form.
(d) The Medical Examination Report Form (F-2) and the Medical
History Statement Form (F-1) shall be valid for one year after the
date of the examination was conducted and shall be completed
prior to:
(D) the applicant's beginning the basic correctional
officer or basic probation/parole officer training
course, and

37:23

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

JUNE 1, 2023

2188



APPROVED RULES

(2) an agency's submission of application for QD

certification to the Commission. 2

History Note:  Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; ?3)
Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;

Eff. August 1, 2002; 4

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; April 1, 2009; August 1, 2004;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; (5)
Temporary Amendment Eff. February 15, 2022;

Amended Eff. May 1, 2023; October 1, 2022; August 23, 2022. (6)
12 NCAC 09G .0206 MORAL CHARACTER (7

History Note:  Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;

Eff. August 1, 2002;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2017; April 1, 2017; January 1, 2015;

June 1, 2012; April 1, 2009; August 1, 2004; (8)
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021;

Repealed Eff. May 1, 2023. 9

12 NCAC 09G .0207 FINGERPRINT CRIMINAL

HISTORY RECORD CHECK (10)
(@) Each applicant for certification shall submit electronic

fingerprints in the Statewide Automated Fingerprint Identification

System (SAFIS).

(b) The employing agency shall forward the applicant's

fingerprints to the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation

for a criminal history record check utilizing fingerprints against

state and federal files.

(c) The employing agency will receive a report of the results of

the criminal history check utilizing fingerprints against state and (11)
federal files. The employing agency shall retain the results of the

criminal history record check utilizing fingerprints in compliance

with the North Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural

Resources Retention and Disposition Schedule, General Records

Schedule: Local Government Agencies, established pursuant to

G.S. Chapter 121 and G.S. Chapter 132. The employing agency

shall include the results of the fingerprint criminal history record

check with the applications submitted to the Commission.

(d) An applicant for certification as a correctional officer or

probation/parole officer may not be employed or placed in a

position requiring certification by the Commission prior to the

date on which the employing agency and Standards Division

receive the report of the results of the criminal history record (12)
check utilizing fingerprints.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;
Eff. May 1, 2023.

12 NCAC 09G .0208 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS

(a) The requirements of this Rule shall apply to all applicants for
certification and shall also apply at all times during which the
correctional officer is certified by the Commission.

(b) Every correctional officer employed by the North Carolina
Department of Adult Correction shall:

be a citizen of the United States;
be at least 20 years of age;
be a high school graduate, or the equivalent as
defined in 12 NCAC 09G .0204;
have been fingerprinted by the employing
agency in the manner provided in 12 NCAC
09G .0207;
have had a medical examination as required by
12 NCAC 09G .0205;
have produced a negative result on a drug
screen as described in 12 NCAC 09G .0211;
have been administered a psychological
screening examination in accordance with G.S.
17C-10(c). The psychological screening
examination shall be valid for a period of one
year from the date on which it was
administered,;
have a background investigation conducted by
the Department of Adult Correction, including
a personal interview as described in 12 NCAC
09G .0210;
not have committed or been convicted of a
crime or crimes as specified in 12 NCAC 09G
.0302;
for personnel who are authorized to carry a
firearm in the execution of their duties,
satisfactorily Complete the Department of
Adult Correction's departmental firearms
training program as prescribed in 12 NCAC
09G .0411. Such firearms training compliance
must have occurred within one year of the date
of employment and by using the department
approved service handgun(s);

be of good moral character, including

possessing the characteristics of honesty,

maturity, discipline, attention to detail, and
respect for the rights of others, as more fully

discussed and interpreted in: In re Willis 288

N.C. 1.215 S.E. 2d 771 appeal dismissed 423

U.S. 976 (1975); State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746,

6 S.E. 2d 854 (1940); In re Legg, 325 N.C. 658,

386 S.E. 2d 174 (1989); in re Applicants for

License, 143 N.C.1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); In re

Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924);

State v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E. 2d 47

(1983); and later court decisions; and

make the following notifications:

(A) within 30 days of the qualifying event,
notify the Criminal Justice Standards
Division (Division) and the appointing
agency head in writing of all criminal
offenses for which the officer is
charged or arrested. This shall include
traffic offenses identified in the
Department of Adult Correction
section of the Class B Misdemeanor
Manual and offenses of driving under
the influence (DUI) or driving while
impaired (DWI);
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History Note:
Eff. May 1, 2023.

(B)

(©)

(D)

(E)

()

within 30 days of the qualifying event,
notify the Division and the appointing
agency head in writing of all criminal
offenses for which the officer pleads
no contest, pleads guilty, or of which
the officer is found guilty. This shall
include traffic offenses identified in
the Class B Misdemeanor Manual
(correctional officers section) and
offense of driving under the influence
(DUI) or driving while impaired
(DWI);

within 30 days of service, officers
shall notify the Standards Division of
all Domestic Violence Protective
Orders (G.S. 50B) and Civil No
Contact Orders (G.S. 50C) that are
issued by a judicial official against the
officer;

within 30 days of the date the case was
disposed of in court, the agency head,
provided he or she has knowledge of
the officer's arrests or criminal charges
and final dispositions, shall also notify
the Standards Division of arrests or
criminal charges and final disposition;
within 30 days of the issuance of all
Domestic Violence Protective Orders
(G.S. 50B) and Civil No Contact
Orders (G.S. 50C), the agency head,
provided he or she has knowledge of
the order, shall also notify the
Standard Division of these orders; and
The required notifications in this Rule
shall be in writing and shall specify the
nature of the offense or order, the court
in which the case as handled, the date
of the arrest, criminal charge, or
service of the order, and the final
disposition. The notification shall
include a certified copy of the order or
court documentation and final
disposition from the Clerk of Court in
the county of adjudication. The
requirements of this Item shall be
applicable at all times during which
the officer is employed and certified
by the Commission and shall also
apply to all applicants for certification.
Receipt by the Standards Division of a
single notification, for the officer or
the agency head, shall be sufficient
notice for compliance with this Item.

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;

12 NCAC 09G .0209 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS
(a) The requirements of this Rule shall apply to all applicants for
certification and shall also apply at all items during which the
probation/parole officer is certified by the Commission.
(b) Every probation/parole officer employed by the North
Carolina Department of Adult Correction shall:
1) be a citizen of the United States
2 be at least 20 years of age
?3) have attained a bachelor's degree as described
in 12 NCAC 09G .0204;
4 have been fingerprinted by the employing
agency in the manner provided in 12 NCAC

09G .0207;

(5) have had a medical examination as required by
12 NCAC 09G .0205;

(6) have produced a negative result on a drug
screen as described in 12 NCAC 09G .0211;

@) have been administered a psychological

screening examination in accordance with G.S.

17C-10(c). The psychological screening

examination shall be valid for a period of one
year from the date on which it was
administered,;

(8) have a background investigation conducted by
the Department of Adult Correction, including
a personal interview as described in 12 NCAC
09G .0210;

©)] not have committed or been convicted of a
crime or crimes as specified in 12 NCAC 09G .
0302;

(10) for personnel who are authorized to carry a
firearm in the execution of their duties,
satisfactorily Complete the Department of
Adult Correction's departmental firearms
training program as prescribed in 12 NCAC
09G .0412. Such firearms training compliance
must have occurred within one year of the date
of employment and by using the department
approved service handgun(s); and,

(11) be of good moral character, including
possessing the characteristics of honesty,
maturity, discipline, attention to detail, and
respect for the rights of others as more fully
discussed and interpreted in: In re Willis 288
N.C. 1.215 S.E. 2d 771 appeal dismissed 423
U.S. 976 (1975); State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746,
6 S.E. 2d 854 (1940); In re Legg, 325 N.C. 658,
386 S.E. 2d 174 (1989); in re Applicants for
License, 143 N.C.1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); In re
Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924);
State v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E. 2d 47
(1983); and later court decisions; and

(12) make the following notifications:

(A) within 30 days of the qualifying event,
notify the Standards Division and the
appointing agency head in writing of
all criminal offenses for which the
officer is charged or arrested. This
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(B)

(©)

(D)

(E)

(F)

shall include traffic offenses identified
in the Class B Misdemeanor Manual
and offenses of driving under the
influence (DUI) or driving while
impaired (DWI);

within 30 days of the qualifying event,
notify the Standards Division and the
appointing agency head in writing of
all criminal offenses for which the
officer pleads no contest, pleads
guilty, or of which the officer is found
guilty. This shall include traffic
offenses identified in the Department
of Adult Correction section of the
Class B Misdemeanor Manual and
offense of driving under the influence
(DUI) or driving while impaired
(DWi);

within 30 days of service, officers
shall notify the Standards Division of
all Domestic Violence Protective
Orders (G.S. 50B) and Civil No
Contact Orders (G.S. 50C) that are
issued by a judicial official against the
officer;

within 30 days of the date the case was
disposed of in court, the agency head,
provided he or she has knowledge of
the officer's arrests or criminal charges
and final dispositions, shall also notify
the Standards Division of arrests or
criminal charges and final disposition;
within 30 days of the issuance of all
Domestic Violence Protective Orders
(G.S. 50B) and Civil No Contact
Orders (G.S. 50C), the agency head,
provided he or she has knowledge of
the order, shall also notify the
Standard Division of these orders; and
The required notifications in this Rule
shall be in writing and shall specify the
nature of the offense or order, the court
in which the case as handled, the date
of the arrest, criminal charge, or
service of the order, and the final
disposition. The notification shall
include a certified copy of the order or
court documentation and final
disposition from the Clerk of Court in
the county of adjudication. The
requirements of this Item shall be
applicable at all times during which
the officer is employed and certified
by the Commission and shall also
apply to all applicants for certification.
Receipt by the Standards Division of a
single notification, for the officer or
the agency head, shall be sufficient
notice for compliance with this Item.

History Note:
Eff. May 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;

12 NCAC 09G .0210
INVESTIGATION
(@) Prior to employing an applicant, the North Carolina
Department of Adult Correction shall complete a background
investigation on that applicant for certification. The investigation
shall examine the applicant's character traits and habits relevant
to performance as a correctional officer or probation/parole
officer and shall determine whether the applicant is of good moral
character.

(b) The background investigation will consist of the following:

BACKGROUND

(D) verification of age;

2 verification of education;

3 criminal history check of local, state, and
national files; and

(@) personal interview.

(c) The employing agency shall include a signed and notarized
Release Authorization Form that authorizes the Criminal Justice
Standards Division staff to obtain documents and records
pertaining to the applicant for certification that may be required
in order to determine whether certification may be granted.

History Note:
Eff. May 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 17C-6;

12 NCAC 09G .0211 AGENCY REPORTING OF
DRUG SCREENING RESULTS

(@) Every correctional or probation/parole officer shall have
produced a negative result on a drug screen administered
according to the following specifications:

(8] the drug screen shall be a urine test consisting
of an initial screening test wusing an
immunoassay method and a confirmatory test
on an initial positive result using a gas
chromatography/mass spectrometry (GC/MS)
or other initial and confirmatory tests
authorized or mandated by the Department of
Health and Human Services for Federal
Workplace Drug Testing Programs;

2) a chain of custody shall be maintained on the
specimen from collection to the eventual
discarding of the specimen. If the specimen is
handled only by a medical professional or a
third party provider and the laboratory utilizes
federally mandated chain of custody
procedures, then the agency does not need an
inter-agency chain of custody procedure. If
agency staff will be handling the urine
specimen at any point, then the agency needs a
firmly established chain of custody procedure;

?3) the drug screen shall test for the presence of at
least cannabis, cocaine, phencyclidine (PCP),
opiates, and amphetamines or their metabolites;
and

@) the test threshold values meet the requirements
established by the Department of Health and
Human Services for Federal Workplace Drug
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Testing Programs, as found in 82 FR 7920
(2017) incorporated by reference, including
later amendments and editions found at no cost
at
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/20
17/01/23/2017-00979/mandatory-guidelines-
for-federal-workplace-drug-testing-programs;
(5) conduct the test within 90 days of certification;
(6) the laboratory conducting the test shall be
certified for federal workplace drug testing
programs, and shall adhere to applicable federal
rules, regulations, and guidelines pertaining to
the handling, testing, storage, and preservation
of samples.
(b) The agency shall report in writing to the Criminal Justice
Standards Division all refusals and all positive results of required
drug screening obtained from applicants. If the positive result was
explained by the applicant to the satisfaction of the agency's
Medical Review Officer, who shall be a licensed physician, the
positive results are not required to be reported.
(c) The agency, if it conducts a drug screen for in-service officers,
shall report in writing positive results or refusals to submit to an
in-service drug screening to the Criminal Justice Standards
Division within 30 days of the positive result or refusal, unless the
officer has explained the positive result to the satisfaction of the
agency's Medical Review Officer, who shall be a licensed
physician, to the extent the drug screen conducted conforms to the
specifications of this Rule.
(d) For reporting purposes, a result is considered "positive" only
in those cases where the drug screen reveals the presence of an
illegal drug at a level equal to or greater than the threshold value
as established by the Department of Health and Human Services
for Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs and incorporated
by reference in this Rule.
(e) For reporting purposes, a result is considered "negative"” only
in those cases where the drug screen reveals the presence of an
illegal drug at a level less than the threshold value as established
by the Department of Health and Human Services for Federal
Workplace Drug Testing Programs and incorporated by reference
in this Rule.
(f) All written reports required to be submitted to the Criminal
Justice Standards Division by this Rule shall contain the
individual's name, date of birth, either the date the test was
administered or the date of the refusal, and a copy of the drug
screen panel with the results of the medical officer review.

History Note:
Eff. May 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;

12 NCAC 09G .0302 CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD
(@) Consistent with and subject to the requirements of 12 NCAC
09G .0504, every correctional officer applicant,
in North Carolina shall not have been convicted by a local, state,
federal or military court of:
1) a felony;
2 a crime or unlawful act constituting a Class B
misdemeanor as defined in 12 NCAC 09G
.0102(10), if the conviction took place within
three years prior to issuance of certification or

if the person was under any corrections
supervision imposed by the court as a result of
the conviction within three years prior to the
issuance of certification; or
3 for personnel who are authorized to carry a
firearm in the execution of their duties, an
offense that, pursuant to 18 USC 922(g) would
prohibit the possession of a firearm or
ammunition;
(b) Consistent with and subject to the requirements of 12 NCAC
09G .0504, every correctional officer probation/parole officer
applicant, and probation/parole officer employed or certified in
North Carolina shall not have committed or been convicted by a
local, state, federal or military court of:
1) a felony;
) a crime or unlawful act constituting a Class B
misdemeanor as defined in 12 NCAC 09G
.0102(10), if the conviction took place within
three years prior to issuance of certification or
if the person was under any corrections
supervision imposed by the court as a result of
the conviction within three years prior to the
issuance of certification; or
©) an offense that, pursuant to 18 USC 922(g)
would prohibit the possession of a firearm or
ammunition.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 17C-6;

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;

Eff. August 1, 2002;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; August 1, 2004;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;

Amended Eff. May 1, 2023; October 1, 2020.

12 NCAC 09G .0304 GENERAL CERTIFICATION

(a) The Commission shall grant an officer General Certification
when evidence is received by the Standards Division that an
officer has completed the training requirements of 12 NCAC 09G
.0410, .0411, .0412, within the officer's probationary period and
the officer has met all requirements for General Certification as
specified in Rules .0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, and .0303 of this
Subchapter.

(b) General Certification is continuous from the date of issuance,
so long as the certified officer remains employed as a correctional
officer or probation/parole officer in good standing with the North
Carolina Department of Adult Correction, and the certification
has not been suspended or revoked pursuant to Rule .0503 of this
Subchapter.

(c) Certified officers who, through promotional opportunities,
move into non-certified positions within the Department, may
have their certification reinstated without re-completion of the
basic training requirements of 12 NCAC 09G .0410, .0411, .0412,
or .0413, and are exempted from reverification of employment
standards of 12 NCAC 09G .0202, .0205, .0208 (except 12 NCAC
09G .0208(4)), and .0209 (except 12 NCAC 09G .0209(4)) when
returning to a position requiring certification if they have
maintained employment within the Department.
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(d) Documentation of General Certification shall be maintained
with the officer's personnel records with the North Carolina
Department of Adult Correction and the Commission.

() Upon transfer of a certified officer from one type of
corrections officer position to another, the North Carolina
Department of Adult Correction shall submit a Notice of Transfer
to the Standards Division.

(1) Upon receipt of the Notice of Transfer, the
Standards Division shall cancel the officer's
current General Certification and upon receipt
of documentary evidence that the officer has
met the requisite standards for the specified
type of corrections officer certification, the
Commission  shall  issue  Probationary
Certification reflecting the officer's new
corrections position.

(2) The Commission shall grant an officer General
Certification as the new type of corrections
officer when evidence is received by the
Standards Division that an officer has
completed the training requirements of 12
NCAC 09G .0410, .0411, .0412, or .0413
within the officer's probationary period and the
officer has met all other requirements for
General Certification.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6; 17C-10;
Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;

Eff. August 1, 2002;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; August 1, 2004;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;

Amended Eff. May 1, 2023.

12 NCAC 09G .0305 RECERTIFICATION
FOLLOWING SEPARATION

(@) Previously certified corrections officers, with a minimum of
one year of service who have been separated from the North
Carolina Department of Adult Correction for less than three years,
may have their certification reinstated following a reverification
of employment standards in 12 NCAC 09G .0202, .0203, .0208
(excluding 12 NCAC 09G .0208(4) and .0209 (excluding 12
NCAC 09G .0209(4), but are exempt from the job appropriate
basic training course described in 12 NCAC 09G .0411.

(b) Previously certified corrections officers with less than one
year of service who have been separated from the North Carolina
Department of Adult Correction for less than two years, may have
their certification reinstated following a reverification of
employment standards 12 NCAC 09G .0202, .0203, and .0208
(excluding 12 NCAC 09G .0208(5)) and .0209 (excluding 12
NCAC 09G .0209(5)), and shall complete the job appropriate
basic training course described in 12 NCAC 09G .0411.

(c) Previously certified corrections officers who have been
separated from the North Carolina Department of Adult
Correction for more than three years, upon their return shall
complete the verification of employment standards and shall
complete the job appropriate basic training course described in 12
NCAC 09G .0411.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6; 17C-10;
Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;

Eff. August 1, 2002;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;

Amended Eff. May 1, 2023.

12 NCAC 09G .0504 SUSPENSION: REVOCATION:
OR DENIAL OF CERTIFICATION

(@ The Commission shall revoke the certification of a
correctional officer or probation/parole officer when the
Commission finds that the officer has committed or been
convicted of a felony offense.

(b) The Commission shall deny the certification of a correctional
officer when the Commission finds the officer has been convicted
of a felony.

(c) The Commission shall deny the certification of a
probation/parole officer when the Commission finds the officer
has committed or been convicted of a felony offense.

(d) The Commission may, based on the evidence for each case,
suspend, revoke, or deny the certification of a corrections officer,
as defined in 12 NCAC 09G .0102(4) when the Commission finds
that the applicant for certification or the certified officer:

(8] has not enrolled in and completed with passing
scores the required basic training course in its
entirety in time periods prescribed in 12 NCAC
09G .0400 applicable to a specified position or
job title;

2) fails to meet or maintain one or more of the
employment standards required by 12 NCAC
09G .0200 for the category of the officer's
certification or fails to meet or maintain one or
more of the training standards required by 12
NCAC 09G .0400 for the category of the
officer's certification;

3) for correctional officers as defined in 12 NCAC
09G .0102(3), have been convicted of a Class B
misdemeanor as defined in 12 NCAC 09G
.0102(12)(b) within a three year period prior to
the date of application for employment or have
completed any corrections supervision imposed
by the courts for such crimes within three years
of issuance of certification, whichever is later;

4) for correctional officers as defined in 12 NCAC
09G .0102(3), have committed or been
convicted of a Class B misdemeanor as defined
in 12 NCAC 09G .0102(12)(b) after
certification;

5) for probation/parole officers as defined in 12
NCAC 09G .0102(12), have committed or been
convicted of a Class B misdemeanor as defined
in 12 NCAC 09G .0102(12)(b) for a three year
period prior to the date of application for
employment or after certification have
completed any corrections supervision imposed
by the courts for such crimes within three years
of issuance of certification;

(6) has been discharged by the North Carolina
Department of Adult Correction for:
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()

(8)

©)

(10)

(11)

(12)

(13)

(14)

(15)

(A) commission or conviction of a motor
vehicle  offense  requiring the
revocation of the officer's drivers
license; or

(B) lack of good moral character as

defined in 12 NCAC 09G .0206;
has been discharged by the North Carolina
Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult
Correction and Juvenile Justice because the
officer lacks the mental or physical capabilities
to fulfill the responsibilities of a corrections
officer;
has knowingly made a material
misrepresentation of any information required
for certification or accreditation;
has knowingly and willfully, by any means of
false pretense, deception, fraud,
misrepresentation, or cheating whatsoever,
obtained or attempted to obtain credit, training,
or certification from the Commission;
has knowingly and willfully, by any means of
false pretense, deception, fraud,
misrepresentation, or cheating whatsoever,
aided another person in obtaining or attempting
to obtain credit, training, or certification from
the Commission;
has failed to notify the Standards Division of all
criminal charges or convictions as required by
12 NCAC 09G .0208 or .0209;
has been removed from office by decree of the
Superior Court in accord with the provisions of
G.S. 128-16 or has been removed from office
by sentence of the court in accord with the
provisions of G.S. 14-230;
has refused to submit to an applicant drug
screen as required by 12 NCAC 09G .0206; or
has refused to submit to an in-service drug
screen pursuant to the guidelines set forth in the
Drug Screening Implementation Guide as
required by the Department of Public Safety,
Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile
Justice;
has produced a positive result on a drug screen
reported to the Commission as specified in 12
NCAC 09G .0206, where the positive result
cannot be explained to the Commission's
satisfaction. For the purposes of this Rule, "to
the Commission's satisfaction” shall be
determined on a case-by-case basis, and the use
of a prescribed drug shall be satisfactory; or
has been denied certification or had such
certification suspended or revoked by a
previous action of the North Carolina Criminal
Justice Education and Training Standards
Commission, the North Carolina Company
Police Program, the North Carolina Campus
Police Program, the North Carolina Sheriffs'
Education and Training Standards
Commission, or a similar North Carolina, out of

state, or federal approving, certifying, or
licensing agency whose function is the same or
similar to the agencies if the certification was
denied, suspended, or revoked based on
grounds that would constitute a violation of this
Subchapter.
(e) Following suspension, revocation, or denial of the person's
certification, the person shall not remain employed or appointed
as a corrections officer and the person shall not exercise any
authority of a corrections officer during a period for which the
person's certification is suspended, revoked, or denied.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;

Eff. August 1, 2002;

Amended Eff. May 1, 2023; December 1, 2018; January 1, 2015;
April 1, 2009; December 1, 2004; August 1, 2004;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;

Amended Eff. May 1, 2023; August 1, 2021.

12 NCAC 09G .0505 PERIOD OF SUSPENSION:
REVOCATION: OR DENIAL

(a) When the Commission revokes or denies the certification of
a corrections officer pursuant to 12 NCAC 09G .0504 of this
Section, the period of the sanction shall be permanent where the
cause of the sanction is the commission or conviction of a felony
offense, and shall be 10 years where the cause of sanction is:

1) the second suspension of an officer's
certification for any of the causes requiring a
three-year period of suspension; or

2 revocation or denial of certification by the
North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and
Training Standards Commission based on
grounds that would constitute a violation of this
Subchapter.

(b) When the Commission suspends or denies the certification of
a corrections officer pursuant to 12 NCAC 09G .0504 of this
Section, the period of sanction shall be not less than three years;
however, the Commission may reduce or suspend the period of
sanction or substitute a period of probation in lieu of suspension
of certification, or impose a combination of reduction, suspension,
or probation as determined on a case-by-case basis following a
consent order or an administrative hearing, where the cause of
sanction is:

(8] conviction of a Class B misdemeanor as defined
in 12 NCAC 09G .0102(12)(b), for a three year
period prior to the date of application, or
completion of any corrections supervision
imposed by the courts for such crimes within
three years of issuance of certification;

2) commission or conviction of a Class B
misdemeanor as defined in 12 NCAC 09G
.0102(12)(b), after certification;

3 discharge by the North Carolina Department of
Adult Correction pursuant to 12 NCAC 09G
.0504(b)(4) and (b)(5) of this Section;

@) refusal to submit to the applicant drug screen
required by the Rules in this Subchapter;
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(5) production of a positive result on a drug screen
reported to the Commission under 12 NCAC
09G .0205, where the positive result cannot be
explained to the Commission's satisfaction. For
the purposes of this Rule, "to the Commission's
satisfaction" shall be determined on a case-by-
case basis, and the use of a prescribed drug shall
be satisfactory;

(6) the applicant has knowingly made a material
misrepresentation of any information required
for certification or accreditation;

@) the applicant has knowingly and willfully
obtained, attempted to obtain, aided another
person to obtain, or aided another person
attempt to obtain credit, training or certification
by any means of false pretense, deception,
defraudation, misrepresentation or cheating;

(8) failure to make either of the notifications as
required by 12 NCAC 09G .0208 or .0209;

(9) removal from office under the provisions of
G.S. 128-16 or the provisions of G.S. 14-230;
or

(10) certification revoked or denied by the North
Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training
Standards Commission, if such certification
was revoked or denied based on grounds that
would constitute a violation of Section 09G of
these Rules.
(c) When the Commission suspends or denies the certification of
a corrections officer, the period of sanction shall be for an
indefinite period, but continuing so long as the stated deficiency,
infraction, or impairment continues to exist, where the cause of
sanction is:

@ failure to meet or satisfy relevant basic training
requirements;

2 failure to meet or maintain the minimum
standards for certification; or

3) discharge from the North Carolina Department

of Adult Correction for impairment of physical
or mental capabilities.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;

Eff. August 1, 2002;

Amended Eff. December 1, 2018; December 1, 2004;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019;

Amended Eff. May 1, 2023.

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY
15ANCAC 10B .0110 ATTENDANCE OF TRAPS
History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.6;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; July 1, 1988;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021;

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2023.

15A NCAC 10B .0127 POSSESSION OF WILDLIFE
KILLED ACCIDENTALLY OR FOUND DEAD
(a) Deer killed accidentally on a road by reason of collision with
a motor vehicle may be possessed and transported if authorization
is obtained from the law enforcement officer who investigates the
accident. Possession and transport of the deer carcass for personal
and lawful use, including delivery of the carcass to a second
person for his or her private use or use by a charitable organization
shall be authorized.
(b) Commission employees may authorize possession and
transport of deer and turkey killed accidently or found dead.
(c) The following shall not be possessed or transported if killed
accidentally or found dead unless written authorization is
obtained from the Commission:

1) black bears; and

2 elk.
(d) Species listed as endangered, threatened, or of special concern
under 15A NCAC 101 .0103, .0104, and .0105 killed accidentally
or found dead may be possessed or transported if an endangered
species permit is obtained from the Commission.
(e) Raptors and migratory birds killed accidentally or found dead
may be possessed and transported under federal permits obtained
from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.
(f) Other wildlife resources may be possessed and transported
legally if Killed accidentally or found dead.
(9) The sale of wildlife resources or wildlife parts from an animal
killed accidentally or found dead is prohibited, except that
licensed trappers and hunters may sell the carcasses, parts, or pelt
of any armadillo, beaver, coyote, groundhog, mink, muskrat,
nutria, opossum, otter, raccoon, skunk, weasel, or bobcat to a
licensed fur dealer if the dead furbearing animal was found during
the open season for that species. Licensed trappers and hunters
may also sell the carcasses, parts, or pelt of a fox to a licensed fur
dealer if the dead fox was found during an open fox season and
the county where the fox was found allows for the sale of fox
carcasses, parts, and pelts. The tagging requirements set forth in
15A NCAC 10B .0400 apply.

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-274; 113-291.3;
113-291.4; 113-331; 113-333; 113-337;

Eff. January 1, 2013;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2022;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2023.

15ANCAC 10B .0203 WHITE-TAILED DEER
(a) Open All Lawful Weapons Seasons for hunting deer:

(8] Deer With Visible Antlers. Deer with antlers or
spikes protruding through the skin, as
distinguished from knobs or buttons covered by
skin or velvet, may be taken during the
following seasons, including on game lands
unless otherwise specified in the rules of 15A
NCAC 10D .0200.

(A) Saturday on or nearest October 15
through January 1 in Beaufort, Bladen,
Brunswick, Carteret,  Columbus,
Cumberland, Craven, Dare, Duplin,
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(B)

(€)

(D)

(E)

(F)

Harnett, Hoke, Hyde, Jones, Lenair,
Moore, New Hanover, Onslow,
Pamlico, Pender, Richmond, Robeson,
Sampson, Scotland, Tyrrell, and
Washington counties. It is unlawful to
hunt or kill deer in Lake Waccamaw or
within 50 yards of its shoreline in
Columbus County.

Saturday on or nearest October 15
through January 1 in Bertie, Camden,
Chowan, Currituck, Edgecombe,
Franklin, Gates, Greene, Halifax,
Hertford, Johnston, Martin, Nash,
Northampton, Pasquotank,
Perquimans, Pitt, Vance, Wake,
Warren, Wayne, and Wilson counties.
Saturday before Thanksgiving Day
through January 1 in Alexander,
Alleghany, Ashe, Catawba,
Cleveland, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston,
Iredell, Lincoln, Polk, Rutherford,
Stokes, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, and
Yadkin counties.

Monday of Thanksgiving week
through the third Saturday after
Thanksgiving Day in  Avery,

Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell,
Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood,
Henderson, Jackson, Macon,

Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Swain,
Transylvania, and Yancey counties.
Two Saturdays before Thanksgiving
Day through January 1 in Alamance,
Anson, Cabarrus, Caswell, Chatham,
Davidson, Durham, Granville,
Guilford, Lee, Mecklenburg,
Montgomery, Orange, Person,
Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan,
Stanly, and Union counties.

Saturday on or nearest September 10
through January 1 in the parts of
Camden, Gates, and Pasquotank
counties known as the Dismal Swamp
National Wildlife Refuge; in the parts
of Hyde, Tyrrell, and Washington
counties known as the Pocosin Lakes
National Wildlife Refuge; in the part
of Hyde county known as Lake
Mattamuskeet ~ National ~ Wildlife
Refuge; in the parts of Dare and Hyde
counties known as Alligator River
National Wildlife Refuge; in the parts
of Anson and Richmond counties
known as the Pee Dee National
Wildlife Refuge; and in the part of
Currituck County known as the
Mackay Island National Wildlife
Refuge.

@

Antlered or Antlerless Deer. Except on Game
Lands, antlered or antlerless deer may be taken
during the open seasons and in the counties and
portions of counties listed in Parts (A) through
(H) of this Subparagraph. Antlered or antlerless
deer may be taken the fourth Saturday in
September in all counties by persons under the
age of 18.

(A)

(B)

©

The open antlered or antlerless deer
hunting dates established by the U.S.
Fish and Wildlife Service from the
Saturday on or nearest September 10
through January 1 in the parts of
Camden, Gates, and Pasquotank
counties known as the Dismal Swamp
National Wildlife Refuge; in the parts
of Hyde, Tyrrell, and Washington
counties known as the Pocosin Lakes
National Wildlife Refuge; in the parts
of Anson and Richmond counties
known as the Pee Dee National
Wildlife Refuge; and in the parts of
Currituck County known as the
Currituck National Wildlife Refuge
and the Mackay Island National
Wildlife Refuge.

The open antlered or antlerless deer
hunting dates established by the
military commands at the military
installations listed in this Paragraph,
from Saturday on or nearest October
15 through January 1 in the part of
Brunswick County known as the
Sunny Point Military Ocean Terminal,
in the part of Craven County known
and marked as Cherry Point Marine
Base, in the part of Onslow County
known and marked as the Camp
Lejeune Marine Base, on Fort Bragg
Military Reservation, and on Camp
Mackall Military Reservation.

Youth deer hunts. First Saturday in
October for youth antlered or
antlerless deer hunting by permit only
on a portion of Belews Creek Steam
Station in Stokes County designated
by agents of the Commission; the third
Saturday in October for youth antlered
or antlerless deer hunting by permit
only on Mountain Island State Forest
in Lincoln and Gaston counties; and
the second Saturday in November for
youth antlered or antlerless deer
hunting by permit only on a portion of
Warrior Creek located on W. Kerr
Scott Reservoir in Wilkes County
designated by agents of the
Commission. A youth is defined as a
person under 18 years of age.
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(D)

(E)

(F)

(G)

(H)

The first open Saturday of the Deer

With Visible Antlers season described

in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule in

Haywood and Transylvania counties;

and in Buncombe and Henderson

counties, except for the areas
described in Subparts (a)(2)(H)(i) and

(ii) of this Rule.

The first open day of the Deer With

Visible Antlers season described in

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule

through the first Saturday thereafter in

Madison and McDowell counties.

The first open day of the season for

Deer With Visible Antlers described

in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule

through the second Saturday thereafter
in Avery, Burke, Caldwell, Mitchell,
and Yancey counties.

The first open day of the season for

Deer With Visible Antlers described

in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule

through the fourth Saturday thereafter
in Cleveland, Polk, and Rutherford
counties.

Open days of the season for Deer With

Visible  Antlers  described in

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule in

and east of Ashe, Watauga, Wilkes,

Alexander, Catawba, Lincoln, and

Gaston counties and in the following

parts of counties:

0] The part of Buncombe
County east of NC 191, south
of the French Broad and
Swannanoa Rivers, west of
US 25, and north of NC 280;
and

(i) The part of Henderson
County east of NC 191 and
north and west of NC 280.

(b) Open Archery Seasons for hunting deer:

Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out
in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph and the
bag limits set out in Paragraph (e) of this Rule,
deer may be taken with archery equipment
during the following seasons:

(1)

(A)

Saturday on or nearest September 10
through the day immediately
preceding the first open day of the
Blackpowder ~ Firearms  Season
described in Subparagraph (c)(1) of
this Rule; and the Sunday immediately
following the closing of Blackpowder
Firearms Season identified in Part
(c)(1)(B) of this Rule to the Sunday
before Thanksgiving in the counties
and parts of counties having the open
seasons for Deer With Visible Antlers

@

(B)

specified by Part (a)(1)(D) of this Rule
except on Buffalo Cove, Nicholson
Creek, Rockfish Creek, Sandhills, and
South Mountains Game Lands.
Sunday immediately following the
closing of the open season for Deer
With Visible Antlers through January
1 in the counties and parts of counties
having the open season for Deer With
Visible Antlers specified by Part
(2)(1)(D) of this Rule.

Restrictions

(A)

(B)

©

D)

In the areas of the State where the
Commission regulates the use of dogs
as provided in G.S. 113-291.5, dogs
may not be used for hunting deer
during the Archery Season, except a
single dog on a leash may be used to
retrieve a dead or wounded deer in
accordance with G.S. 113-291.1(k).
Only archery equipment of the types
authorized in 15A NCAC 10B .0116
for taking deer may be used during the
Archery Season.

Antlered or antlerless deer may be
taken during Archery Season specified
by Part (b)(1)(A) of this Rule.

Only deer with visible antlers shall be
taken during the Archery Season
specified by Part (b)(1)(B) of this
Rule.

(c) Open Blackpowder Firearms Seasons for hunting deer:

Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out
in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph, deer may
be taken only with blackpowder firearms and

)

@

archery
seasons:

(A)

(B)

equipment during the following
Two Saturdays preceding the first day
of the open season for Deer with
Visible Antlers described in Parts
@)(1)(A), (B), (C), (E), and (F) of this
Rule through the second Friday
thereafter except on Buffalo Cove,
Nicholson Creek, Rockfish Creek,
Sandhills, and South Mountains Game
Lands.

Monday on or nearest October 1
through the second Saturday thereafter
in the counties and parts of counties
having the open seasons for Deer With
Visible Antlers specified by Part
(8)(1)(D) of this Rule.

Restrictions

(A)

Antlered or antlerless deer may be
taken during Blackpowder Firearms
Season in any county or county part
set forth in Part (a)(2)(E), (F), (G), or
(H) of this Rule that has one or more
open days within the all lawful
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weapons season to legally harvest
antlerless deer.

(B) Antlered or antlerless deer may be
taken during the first open day of the
Blackpowder Firearms Season thru
the first Saturday thereafter in any
county or county part set forth in Part
(a)(2)(D) of this Rule

© Antlered or antlerless deer may be
taken on the first open Saturday of the
Blackpowder Firearms Season in any
county or county part not set forth in
Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule.

(D) In the areas of the State where the
Commission regulates the use of dogs
as provided in G.S. 113-291.5, dogs
shall not be used for hunting deer
during the Blackpowder Firearms
Season, except a single dog on a leash
may be used to retrieve a dead or
wounded deer in accordance with G.S.
113-291.1(k).

3 As used in this Rule, "blackpowder firearms"
means any firearm, including any firearm with
a matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap, or
similar type of ignition system, manufactured
before 1899, that cannot use fixed ammunition;
any replica of this type of firearm if the replica
is not designed or redesigned for using rimfire
or conventional centerfire fixed ammunition;
and any muzzle-loading rifle, muzzle-loading
shotgun, or muzzle-loading or cylinder-loading
handgun that is designed to use blackpowder,
blackpowder substitute, or any other propellant
loaded through the muzzle, cylinder, or breech
and that cannot use fixed ammunition.

(d) Open Urban Season for hunting deer:

(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out
in Subparagraph (3) of this Paragraph and the
bag limits set out in Paragraph (e) of this Rule,
antlered or antlerless deer may be taken with
archery equipment in participating cities in the
State, as defined in G.S. 160A-1(2), from the
second Saturday following January 1 through
the sixth Sunday thereafter. Deer shall not be
taken on game lands within a city boundary.

2 Participation. Cities that intend to participate in
the Urban Season shall send a letter to that
effect no later than April 1 of the year prior to
the start of the Urban Season to the Executive
Director or his designee at 1722 Mail Service
Center, Raleigh, N.C. 27699-1700. Cities shall
also submit a map of the city's boundaries
within which the Urban Season shall apply.

3) Restrictions:

(A) In the areas of the State where the
Commission regulates the use of dogs
as provided in G.S. 113-291.5, dogs
shall not be used for hunting deer

during the Urban Season except a
single dog on a leash may be used to
retrieve a dead or wounded deer in
accordance with G.S. 113-291.1(k).
(B) Only archery equipment of the types
authorized in 15A NCAC 10B .0116
for taking deer shall be used during the
Urban Season.
(e) Bag limits. The possession and season limit is six deer, two
that may be deer with visible antlers and four that may be
antlerless deer. Antlerless deer include males with knobs or
buttons covered by skin or velvet as distinguished from spikes
protruding through the skin. A hunter may obtain multiple Bonus
Antlerless Deer Harvest Report Cards from the Wildlife
Resources Commission or any Wildlife Service Agent to allow
the harvest of two additional antlerless deer per card for deer
harvested during the season described in Paragraph (d) of this
Rule within the boundaries of participating municipalities, except
on State-owned game lands. Antlerless deer harvested and
reported on the bonus antlerless harvest report card shall not count
as part of the possession and season limit.
(f) Deer Management Assistance Program. The bag limits
described in Paragraph (e) of this Rule do not apply to deer
harvested in areas covered in the Deer Management Assistance
Program (DMAP) as described in G.S. 113-291.2(e) for those
individuals using Commission-issued DMAP tags and reporting
harvest as described on the DMAP license. Season bag limits shall
be set by the number of DMAP tags issued and in the hunters'
possession. All deer harvested under this program, regardless of
the date of harvest, shall be tagged with DMAP tags and reported
as instructed on the DMAP license. The hunter does not have to
validate the Big Game Harvest Report Card provided with the
hunting license for deer tagged with the DMAP tags. Any deer
harvested on lands enrolled in the DMAP and not tagged with
DMAP tags may only be harvested during the regularly
established deer seasons subject to the restrictions of those
seasons, including bag limits, and reported using the big game
harvest report card or the bonus antlerless harvest report card.

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.3; 113-276.1;
113-291.1; 113-291.2; 113-291.5;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1997; July 1, 1996, July 1,
1995; December 1, 1994; July 1, 1994; July 1, 1993;

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000;

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; July 1, 2001,

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (Approved by RRC on 06/21/01 and
04/18/02);

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004 (this amendment replaces the
amendment approved by RRC on July 17, 2003);

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; August 1, 2020; August 1, 2018;
August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; August 1, 2015; August 1, 2014,
August 1, 2013; August 1, 2012; August 1, 2011; July 10, 2010;
June 1, 2008; May 1, 2007; May 1, 2006; June 1, 2005;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2022;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2023.
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15A NCAC 10B .0227
AREAS

(@ A "Wild Quail Management Area" shall be land maintained
to enhance enjoyment of sportsmen and support wild bobwhite
quail conservation under signed agreement between the
landowners and the Wildlife Resources Commission.

(b) The following qualifications shall apply to all Wild Quail

WILD QUAIL MANAGEMENT

Management Areas:
1) At least 500 acres of contiguous land; and
2 A minimum of 225 acres or 15 percent of the

land, whichever is greater, shall be maintained

in year-round bobwhite quail habitat.
(c) Wild bobwhite quail habitat shall be early successional habitat
dominated by herbaceous vegetation or shrub cover consisting of
a mixture of young saplings, shrubs, forbs, and woody plants
typically less than ten feet tall with scattered open patches of
grasses, wildflowers, and vines. Forest stands shall have a basal
area no greater than 60 square feet per acre. Land managed and
maintained primarily for human uses including but not limited to
large lawns, golf courses, sod-forming pastures, production
agriculture fields, monoculture hayfields, solar energy, or
production timber stands shall not qualify as early successional
habitat.
() Landowners interested in establishing a Wild Quail
Management Area shall contact the Commission as described on
the Commission's website at www.ncwildlife.org.
(e) The Commission and landowners shall sign an agreement that
contains:

(1) a list of the owners of land included in the Wild
Quail Management Area;

(2) county parcel identification information for
each parcel to be included in the Wild Quail
Management Area;

3 a scaled map of the Wild Quail Management
Area with the areas to be maintained in year-
round bobwhite quail habitat identified;

(@) management practices to be used to maintain
bobwhite quail habitat and populations; and

(5) reporting requirements specific to the
individual Wild Quail Management Areas, if

applicable.
(f) Property inspection:
1) a representative of the Commission shall

inspect the potential properties prior to
acceptance into the program to determine that
the proposed land and habitat will qualify to
become a Wild Quail Management Area; and

2 a representative of the Commission shall
inspect Wild Quail Management Areas at least
once every five years to determine that the
requirements of the signed agreement and this
rule are being met.

(9) The following shall apply to Wild Quail Management Areas:

1) No domestically raised upland game birds shall
be released on Wild Quail Management Areas.

2 The hunting of wild bobwhite quail shall only
be permitted during the established seasons in
15A NCAC 10B .0208.

?3) Supplemental feeding, if conducted, shall be for
the primary purpose of ensuring that wild
bobwhite quail populations remain stable
during droughts or other periods of stressful
environmental conditions. Supplemental feed
shall:

(A) be broadcast into quail habitat along a
minimum linear distance of one mile
per 100 acres of habitat at a rate of
three bushels per mile;

(B) be broadcast on a bi-weekly schedule
during a minimum of five months per
year;

© be broadcast using a non-stationary
spreader;

(D) be only natural grains or seed; and

(B) not be placed to attract birds to hunt.

(@) Except for wild bobwhite quail on Wild Quail
Management Areas, no wild birds shall be taken
near or with the aid of supplemental feed.

5) Outside of the trapping season established in
15A NCAC 10B .0303, trapping for raccoon,
striped skunk, armadillo, and opossum on Wild
Quail Management Areas for nest predator
control shall only be allowed using enclosed
foot-hold traps with a one-way trigger or cage
traps. Trapped raccoons, striped skunks,
armadillos, and opossums may be euthanized or
released at the trap site.

(6) An annual report for the period of June 1
through May 31 shall be submitted to the
Commission within 30 days of the end of the

reporting period, and shall include the

following:

(A) number of days and hours wild
bobwhite quail were hunted;

(B) total annual harvest of wild bobwhite
quail;

© total number of coveys flushed;

(D) supplemental feeding activities;

(E) number of trap nights, number of

animals trapped and their disposition
or release, by species, for trapping
activity conducted during trapping
seasons established by 15A NCAC
10B .0303; and

(3] number of trap nights, number of
animals trapped and their disposition
or release, by species, for trapping
activity conducted outside of trapping
seasons established by 15A NCAC
10B .0303.

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113- 291.1;
Eff. August 1, 2021;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2023.

15ANCAC 10B .0301 DEFINITIONS
As used in this Section, the following definitions apply:
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1) "Box trap", "corral trap", and "cage trap" are a
device designed so that the animal enters the
trap through a door that closes and is meant to
prevent the animal from exiting.

(2) "Breakaway device” means a device
incorporated into a snare or share component
that allows the loop to break open, and an
animal to escape completely free of the snare,
when a specified amount of force is applied.

3) "Collarum™-type trap" means a power-
activated snare that is activated when the trigger
is pulled and that is designed to capture and
restrain the animal by a cable around the neck.

4) "Conibear®", "Conibear®-type", and
"bodygrip" traps are designed to catch an
animal in a body hold resulting in a quick Kill.

(5) "Leghold" and "foothold" mean a trap designed
to hold an animal by the foot.
(6) "Loop stop" means a device that is attached to

the snare cable to prevent the loop from closing
beyond a specified point.

@) "Power-activated" means a snare on which the
speed or direction of the loop closure is initiated
or augmented by a powering device like a
spring.

(8) "Relaxing lock™ means a snare lock that allows
the snare loop to release constriction pressure
on the captured animal when the cable is not

taut.
9) "Snare" means a cable restraining device.
(10) "Steel-jaw" means a leghold or foothold trap in

which the jaws are made of metal.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1; 113-291.6;
Eff. January 1, 2011;

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2023.

15A NCAC 10B .0303 OPEN SEASONS

(@) The open season for the taking by trapping of fur-bearing
animals as those animals are defined in G.S. 113-129(7a), as well
as the taking by trapping of coyotes, armadillos, and groundhogs,
shall be October 1 through the last day of February, subject to the
following:

(D) trapping coyotes shall also be allowed during
local fox trapping seasons and in accordance
with methods described by local law in counties
that have established fox trapping seasons by
law outside the regular trapping season
described in Paragraph (a); and

2) there is no closed trapping season for nutria east
of 1-77.

(b) Feral Swine. There is no closed season for trapping feral
swine, subject to the following restrictions:

1) in addition to a hunting or trapping license, a
permit issued by the Wildlife Resources
Commission is required to trap feral swine.
Individuals exempted from license
requirements under the provisions of G.S. 113-

276 may trap feral swine without a hunting or
trapping license, but must also acquire the
permit. Individuals may obtain a permit free of
charge online at ncwildlife.org by indicating the
county where trapping will occur.

2 feral swine may be live-trapped using only
corral or box traps. Corral and box traps must
be constructed so that a non-target animal may
be released or can escape without harm. The
permit number must be displayed on the traps;
and

?3) feral swine shall be euthanized while in the trap
and may not be removed from the trap alive.

History Note:
113-291.12;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. July 1, 1996; July 1, 1984; July 1, 1983; August 1,
1982; August 1, 1981;

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000;

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; November 1, 2008;
May 1, 2008; May 1, 2007; May 1, 2006; June 1, 2005; August 1,
2004;

Recodified from Rule 10B .0302 Eff. January 1, 2011;
Temporary Amendment Eff. December 29, 2011;

Amended Eff. November 1, 2012;

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1; 113-291.2;

15A NCAC 10B .0306
OF TRAPS

(a) Traps shall be visited daily and animals caught shall be
removed, except for completely submerged Conibear®-type,
Conibear®, or bodygrip traps which shall be visited once per 72
hours and animals caught shall be removed.

(b)  Steel-jaw, leghold, Conibear®, Conibear®-type traps,
Collarum™-type traps, snares, box traps, and cage traps must
have a weather-resistant permanent tag attached legibly giving the
trapper's name and address or the trapper's trapper identification
number provided by the Wildlife Resources Commission and the
Wildlife Resources Commission's telephone number to report
wildlife violations. Box traps for rabbits shall have a weather-
resistant permanent tag attached legibly giving the hunter's name
and address or the hunter's Wildlife Resources Commission
customer number and the Wildlife Resources Commission's
telephone number to report wildlife violations.

(c) Remote trap checking systems may be used in lieu of visiting
the trap, provided the system has the following features:

1) a control unit that monitors the trap in real-time
and reports trap status and unit status to a
centralized application database a minimum of
once every two hours;

2 a software application that notifies the user of
unit status, trap activity, and system health
issues within 10 minutes of these events via
email, text-based messaging systems, or an in-
application notification; and

ATTENDANCE AND TAGGING
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3) an on-demand test procedure that is used at
deployment of a unit to confirm that the unit is
placed in a location where its wireless
communication can be received and processed.

(d) If the remote trap checking system control unit reports a trap
closure, the trap shall be physically visited within 24 hours of the
time the trap was reported closed.

(e) If aremote trap checking system control unit fails to report its
status after a 12-hour period, or reports a system health issue, the
trap shall be physically visited within 24 hours of the last time a
status report was sent.

(F) Remote trap checking system users shall maintain records of
trap status and notification alarms for a minimum of seven days
after receipt. Records shall be made available for inspection upon
request by a representative of the Commission.

History Note:
113-291.12;
Eff. August 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1; 113-291.2;

15A NCAC 10H .1506 ALLIGATOR CONTROL AGENT
CERTIFICATION ELIGIBILITY AND REQUIREMENTS
(&) The following definitions shall apply in this Section:

@ "Alligator control agent” or "ACA" means a
licensed WCA that holds a current and valid
alligator control agent certification issued by
the Commission.

(2) "Alligator control agent certification" or "ACA
certification" means a certification issued by
the Commission that authorizes a WCA to
engage in alligator damage control or alligator
removal activities with a Commission-issued
depredation permit.

(b) It shall be unlawful to engage in alligator damage control or
alligator removal activities for compensation without first
obtaining an ACA certification from the Commission.

(c) Only individuals with a valid WCA license shall be eligible
for ACA certification.

(d) WCAs meeting the following requirements shall qualify for
ACA certification:

(1) completion of a Commission-approved ACA
training course that reviews the following:
(A) alligator rules;

(B) procedures for alligator data collection
activities; and
© safe, humane alligator capture,

handling, and transporting techniques.

2 a passing score on the ACA written
examination as specified in Paragraph (f) of this
Rule.

3) possession of equipment to safely and
humanely capture and relocate alligators,
including ropes, cables, snares, poles, passive
integrated transponder (PIT) tag reader, and an
alligator transport device, as verified through
inspection by the Commission.

() WCAs may register for a Commission-approved ACA
training course at www.ncwildlife.org/wca

() WCAs shall score a minimum of 80 percent on the ACA
examination provided by the Commission. WCAs failing to
obtain a passing score on the examination shall receive one
opportunity to re-take the examination and receive a passing score
without being required to retake the ACA training course.

(@) An ACA certification shall not be transferable between
individuals.

(h) All equipment used in captive facilities or on captive
alligators shall not be used for ACA operations.

History Note:
Eff. May 1, 2021;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274;

15A NCAC 10J.0101 DESIGNATION OF WILDLIFE
CONSERVATION AREAS

(@) For purposes of this Subchapter, the following definitions
shall apply:

1) "Wildlife Conservation Area" means lands
owned, leased, controlled, or cooperatively
managed by the Wildlife Resources
Commission primarily for the conservation of
nongame wildlife resources including those
areas designated and posted as Wildlife
Conservation Areas and those designated and
posted as Waterbird Nesting Areas.

2) "Other materials" means metals, minerals,
rocks, soil, organic debris, buildings, fences,
archeological resources as defined in G.S. 70-
12, and water.

(b) The Wildlife Resources Commission has identified and
posted the following areas on Wildlife Conservation Areas that
have additional restrictions on entry or usage:

(8] "Safety Zones" are areas where hunting is
prohibited. No person shall hunt or discharge a
firearm or archery equipment as defined in 15A
NCAC 10B .0116 within, into, or across a
posted safety zone on any Wildlife
Conservation Area. Falconry is exempt from
this provision.

2) "Restricted Zones" are areas closed to use by
the public, and entry upon such an area is
prohibited without written approval from the
Wildlife  Resources  Commission.  The
Commission may authorize entry when the
primary purpose for the Restricted Zone shall
not be compromised, and the persons
requesting entry can demonstrate a valid need
or official business of the Commission is being
conducted by a contractor or agent of the
Commission. Valid needs may include access
to private property, scientific investigations,
surveys, or other activities in the public interest.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2;
113-305; 113-306;

Eff. February 1, 1990;

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2023.
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15A NCAC 10J .0102 GENERAL REGULATIONS
REGARDING USE OF CONSERVATION AREAS
(@) Entry on areas posted as Wildlife Conservation Areas for
purposes other than wildlife observation, hunting, trapping, or
fishing shall be as authorized by the landowner.
(b) Entry is prohibited above the high tide waterline from March
1 through September 15 on areas designated and posted as
Waterbird Nesting Areas.
(c) No person shall deposit litter, trash, garbage, or other refuse
on a Wildlife Conservation Area. No garbage dumps or sanitary
landfills shall be established on a Wildlife Conservation Area by
a person, firm, corporation, county, or municipality, except as
permitted by the landowner.
(d) No person shall discharge:

1) a weapon from a vehicle;

(2) a weapon within 200 yards of any building or

designated camping areas;

3) a weapon within, into, or across a posted "safety
zone;" or
4) a weapon within, into, or across a posted

"restricted zone."
No person shall hunt with or have in their possession a shotgun
shell containing lead or toxic shot while hunting waterfowl on an
area designated as a Wildlife Conservation Area, except shotgun
shells containing lead buckshot may be used while deer hunting.
(e) Dogs shall not enter a Wildlife Conservation Area designated
and posted as a Waterbird Nesting Area from March 1 through
September 15 above the high tide waterline.
(f) Subject to the restrictions contained in 15A NCAC 10B .0302,
.0303, and .0306 trapping of fur-bearing animals is permitted on
an area designated and posted as a Wildlife Conservation Area
during the applicable open seasons, except that trapping is
prohibited:
@ on the Nona Pitt Hinson Cohen Wildlife
Conservation Area in Richmond County; and
2 in posted "safety zones" located on a Wildlife
Conservation Area.
(9) The following is prohibited on areas designated as Wildlife
Conservation Areas or on waters within their boundaries:

(1) driving a motorized vehicle on an area posted
against vehicular traffic;
(2) camping, unless designated by the landowner.

On the coastal islands designated Wildlife
Conservation Areas, camping is allowed except
on areas designated and posted as Waterbird
Nesting Areas;

3 swimming, except for the waters adjacent to
coastal island Wildlife Conservation Areas;

(@) operating a vessel powered by internal
combustion engine; and

(5) operating motorized land vehicles not licensed

for highway use, except that persons who have
obtained a permit issued pursuant to G.S. 113-
297 shall comply with permit conditions;
(6) open fires.
(h) Releasing animals or birds, domesticated animals, or feral
animals on Wildlife Conservation Areas is prohibited except for:
(1) hunting dogs and raptors when permitted for
hunting and training purposes; or

2 with prior written authorization of the Wildlife
Resources Commission.

(i) No living or dead nongame wildlife, fungi, invertebrates, eggs,
nests, animal parts, plants, plant materials, or other materials may
be possessed on or removed from Wildlife Conservation Areas
without written permission from the Commission. Minimal
amounts of animal parts, plant parts not removed from live plants,
and other materials may be collected by hand and removed from
Commission lands without written permission, except in violation
of rules, general statutes, or federal law. Collection of animal parts
and plant parts not removed from live plants for commercial use
or sale is prohibited. For purposes of this Subparagraph, "minimal
amounts," are quantities that fit within a cubic foot of space,
except for firewood to be used at posted camping areas. Collection
of firewood sufficient to build and maintain a fire during the
Wildlife Conservation Area user's stay at the campground is
permitted.

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-270.3;
113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-296; 113-297; 113-305; 113-306;
Eff. February 1, 1990;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; January 1, 2012; August 1, 2010;
May 1, 2007; May 1, 2006; June 1, 2005;

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2023.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 37 - BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR NURSING
HOME ADMINISTRATOR

21 NCAC 37B .0104 FEES

Fees may be paid in the form of check, money order, or cashier's
check made payable to NC State Board of Examiners for Nursing
Home Administrators or NCBENHA. Payments will be accepted
by credit card through the Board's website only. All credit card
payments will include a convenience/processing fee.

History Note:
Eff. May 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 90-280;

21 NCAC 37D .0604 GRADE REQUIRED

Every candidate for a nursing home administrator's license shall
be required to pass the licensing examinations in accordance with
the National Association of Long Term Care Administrator
Boards standards which are referenced under "Scaled Scores" in
the NAB Exam Candidate Handbook, which can be found at:
https://www.nabweb.org/seeking-licensure/exam-candidate-
handbook.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90-285;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 1977; December 15, 1977;

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989;

Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0801 Eff. April
1, 1996;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. September 22, 2014;
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Amended Eff May 1, 2023.

21 NCAC 37D .0605 SUBJECT AREAS

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-278; 90-285;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 1981; December 15, 1977;

Amended Eff. August 2, 1993;

Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0701 Eff. April
1, 1996;

Amended Eff. July 1 2004; July 1, 2000; April 1, 1996;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. September 22, 2014;

Repealed Eff. May 1, 2023.

R I i S S S G I S

CHAPTER 50 - BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF
PLUMBING, HEATING AND FIRE SPRINKLER
CONTRACTORS

21 NCAC 50 .0520 ONSITE SUPERVISION AND
STANDARD OF COMPETENCE

The general supervision required by G.S. 87-26 requires that a
licensee of the firm who holds the proper licensing qualification
issued by the Board pursuant to G.S. 87-21(b) shall personally
perform on-site and in-person supervision and review on all work,
prior to work being covered or placed into service, to assure that
all installations meet or exceed the minimum standard of the
North Carolina State Building Code.

History Note:
Eff. June 1, 2023.

Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-21; 87-26;
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission June 15, 2023 at 1711 New Hope Church
Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC. Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission
should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners. Specific instructions and
addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850. Anyone wishing to address the Commission
should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2" business day before the meeting. Please refer to
RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05.

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS

Appointed by Senate Appointed by House
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Andrew P. Atkins (1st Vice Chair)
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. (2" Vice Chair) Wayne R. Boyles, llI
Jay R. Hemphill Barbara A. Jackson
Jeff Hyde Randy Overton
Robert A. Rucho Paul Powell

COMMISSION COUNSEL

Brian Liebman 984-236-1948

Lawrence Duke 984-236-1938

William W. Peaslee 984-236-1939

Seth M. Ascher 984-236-1934

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES
June 15, 2023 August 17, 2023
July 20, 2023 September 21, 2023
AGENDA

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION
Thursday, June 15, 2023, 9:00 A.M.
1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609

l. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e)
Il. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting

1. Follow-up matters
A. Medical Care Commission - 10ANCAC 13B .3801, .3903, .4103, .4104, .4106, .4305, .4603, .4801, .4805,
5102, .5105, .5406, .5408, .5411 (Liebman)
B. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission — 12 NCAC 09E .0107 (Ascher)
C. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02H .1301, .1401, .1402, .1403, .1404, .1405
(Liebman)
Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02B .0315 (Duke)
Marine Fisheries Commission - 15A NCAC 03M .0101 (Duke)
Coastal Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 07H .0501, .0502, .0503, .0505, .0506, .0507, .0508, .0509,
.0510; 071 .0406, .0506, .0702; 07J .0203, .0204, .0206, .0207, .0208, .0312 (Liebman)
G. Coastal Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 07H .2305 (Duke)
H. Coastal Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 07M .0201, .0202, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0701, .0703, .0704,
.1001, .1002, .1101 (Peaslee)
I. Medical Board - 21 NCAC 32B .1002 (Peaslee)

V. Review of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between April 21, 2023 through May 20, 2023
1. Child Care Commission (Ascher)
2. Environmental Management Commission- (Duke)
3. Coastal Resources Commission (Liebman)
4. Board of Dental Examiners (Ascher)
5. Board of Examiners in Optometry (Peaslee)
6. Real Estate Commission (Peaslee)
7. State Human Resources Commission (Liebman)

nmo
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V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting
VI. Existing Rules Review

VII. Commission Business
o  Next meeting: July 20, 2023

Commission Review
Log of Permanent Rule Filings
April 21, 2023 through May 20, 2023

CHILD CARE COMMISSION

The rules in Chapter 9 are child care rules and include definitions (.0100); general provisions related to licensing (.0200);
procedures for obtaining a license (.0300); issuance of provisional and temporary licenses (.0400); age and
developmentally appropriate environments for centers (.0500); safety requirements for child care centers (.0600); staff
qualifications (.0700); health standards for children (.0800); nutrition standards (.0900); transportation standards
(.1000); continuing education and professional development (.1100); building code requirements for child care centers
(.1300); space requirements (.1400); temporary care requirements (.1500); family child care home requirements (.1700);
discipline (.1800); special procedures concerning abuse/neglect in child care (.1900); rulemaking and contested case
procedures (.2000); religious-sponsored child care center requirements (.2100); administrative actions and civil
penalties (.2200); forms (.2300); child care for mildly ill children (.2400); care for school-age children (.2500); child care
for children who are medically fragile (.2600); criminal records checks (.2700); voluntary rated licenses (.2800);
developmental day services (.2900); NC pre-kindergarten services (.3000); and care for school-age children during
state of emergency(.3100).

Staff/Child Ratios for Centers 10A NCAC 09 .0713
Amend*
Cooperative Arrangement for Instructional Needs 10A NCAC 09 .2513
Adopt*
Enhanced Space Requirements 10A NCAC 09 .2809
Amend*

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION

The rules in Subchapter 2D are air pollution control requirements including definitions and references (.0100); air
pollution sources (.0200); air pollution emergencies (.0300); ambient air quality standards (.0400); emission control
standards (.0500); monitoring: recordkeeping: reporting (.0600); volatile organic compounds (.0900); motor vehicle
emission control standard (.1000); control of toxic air pollutants (.1100); control of emissions from incinerators and
combustion units (.1200); nitrogen oxides (.1400); municipal solid waste landfills (.1700); control of odors (.1800); open
burning (.1900); transportation conformity (.2000); risk management program (.2100); special orders (.2200); banking
emission reduction credits (.2300); and source testing (.2600).

Copies of Referenced Federal Regulations 15A NCAC 02D .0103
Amend*

Compliance with Emission Control Standards 15A NCAC 02D .0501
Amend*

Control of Emissions from Log Fumigation Operations 15A NCAC 02D .0546
Amend*

General Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements 15A NCAC 02D .0605
Amend*

Open Burning Without an Air Quality Permit 15A NCAC 02D .1903
Amend*

Air Curtain Incinerators 15A NCAC 02D .1904
Amend*

37:23 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 1, 2023

2205



RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

Regional Office Locations 15A NCAC 02D .1905
Amend*
Public Notice 15A NCAC 02D .2203
Amend*

The rules in Subchapter 2Q are from the EMC and relate to applying for and obtaining air quality permits and include
general information (.0100); fees (.0200); application requirements (.0300); acid rain program requirements (.0400);
establishment of an air quality permitting program (.0500); transportation facility requirements (.0600); toxic air pollutant
procedures (.0700); exempt categories (.0800); and permit exemptions (.0900).

Where to Obtain and File Permit Applications 15A NCAC 02Q .0104
Amend*
Copies of Referenced Documents 15A NCAC 02Q .0105
Amend*
Payment of Fees 15A NCAC 02Q .0206
Amend*
Applications 15A NCAC 02Q .0304
Amend*
Application Submittal Content 15A NCAC 02Q .0305
Amend*
Public Participation Procedures 15A NCAC 02Q .0307
Amend*
Application Submittal Content 15A NCAC 02Q .0505
Amend*
Application 15A NCAC 02Q .0507
Amend*
Permit Content 15A NCAC 02Q .0508
Amend*
Public Notice and Opportunity for Public Hearing 15A NCAC 02Q .0710
Amend*

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION

The rules in Subchapter 7H are the state guidelines for areas of environmental concern (AECs) including introduction
and general comments (.0100); the estuarine system (.0200); ocean hazard areas (.0300); public water supplies (.0400);
natural and cultural resource areas (.0500); development standards (.0600); general permits for construction or
maintenance of bulkheads and the placement of riprap for shoreline protection in estuarine and public trust waters
(.1100); piers, docks and boat houses in estuarine and public trust waters (.1200); general permit to construct boat
ramps along estuarine and public trust shorelines and into estuarine and public trust waters (.1300); groins in estuarine
and public trust waters (.1400); excavation within or connecting to existing canals, channels, basins, or ditches in
estuarine waters, public trust waters, and estuarine shoreline AECs (.1500); aerial and subaqueous utility lines with
attendant structures in coastal wetlands, estuarine waters, public trust waters and estuarine shorelines (.1600);
emergency work requiring a CAMA or a dredge and fill permit (.1700); beach bulldozing landward of the mean high-
water mark in the ocean hazard AEC (.1800); general permit to allow for temporary structures within the estuarine and
ocean AECs (.1900); authorizing minor modifications and repair to existing pier/mooring facilities in estuarine and public
trust waters and ocean hazard areas (.2000); construction of sheetpile sill for shoreline protection in estuarine and public
trust waters (.2100); construction of freestanding moorings in established waters and public trust areas (.2200);
replacement of existing bridges and culverts in estuarine waters, estuarine shorelines, public trust areas and coastal
wetlands (.2300); placement of riprap for wetland protection in estuarine and public trust waters (.2400); emergency
general permit, to be initiated at the discretion of the Secretary of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources
for replacement of structures; the reconstruction of primary or frontal dune systems; and the maintenance excavation
of existing canals, basins, channels, or ditches, damaged, destroyed, or filled in by hurricanes or tropical storms,
provided all replacement, reconstruction and maintenance excavation activities conform to all current standards (.2500);
construction of wetland, stream and buffer mitigation sites by the North Carolina Ecosystem Enhancement Program or
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the North Carolina Wetlands Restoration Program (.2600); and the construction of riprap sills for wetland enhancement
in estuarine and public trust waters (.2700).

Use Standards 15A NCAC 07H .0208
Amend*
Specific Use Standards for Ocean Hazard Areas 15A NCAC 07H .0308
Amend*

The rules in Chapter 7 pertain to coastal management and are promulgated by the Division of Coastal Management or
the Coastal Resources Commission. The rules in Subchapter 7K set out activities in areas of environmental concern
(AECs) which do not require a Coastal Area Management Act (CAMA) permit. These include activities that are not
considered development (.0100); exempt minor maintenance and improvement (.0200); and exempt federal agency
activities (.0400).

Structural Accessways Over Frontal Dunes Exempted 15A NCAC 07K .0207
Amend*

The rules in Subchapter 7M concern general policy guidelines for the coastal area including purpose and authority
(.0100); shoreline erosion response policies (.0200); shorefront access policies (.0300); coastal energy policies (.0400);
post-disaster policies (.0500); floating structure policies (.0600); mitigation policy (.0700); coastal water quality policies
(.0800); policies on use of coastal airspace (.0900); policies on water and wetland based target areas for military training
activities (.1000); policies on beneficial use and availability of materials resulting from the excavation or maintenance of
navigational channels (.1100); and policies on ocean mining (.1200).

Definitions 15A NCAC 07M .0602
Amend*
Policy Statements 15A NCAC 07M .0603
Amend*

DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF

The rules in Chapter 16 cover the licensing of dentists and dental hygienists. The rules in Subchapter 16C are dental
hygienist licensure rules including general provisions (.0100); qualifications (.0200); application (.0300); Board
conducted examinations (.0400); and licensure by credentials (.0500).

Dental Hygiene Licensure by Credentials 21 NCAC 16C .0501
Amend*

The rules in Subchapter 16H concern dental assistants including classification and training (.0100); and permitted
functions of dental assistant (.0200).

Dental Radiology Course and Examination Requirements 21 NCAC 16H .0105
Adopt*

The rules in Subchapter 161 concern the annual renewal and continuing education requirements of the dental hygienist
license.

Continuing Education Required 21 NCAC 16l .0201
Amend*

The rules in Subchapter 16R concern annual renewal of license and continuing education requirements of dentists
(.0100 and .0200).

Exemption from and Credit for Continuing Education 21 NCAC 16R .0204
Amend*
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OPTOMETRY, BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN

The rules in Subchapter 42B concern license to practice optometry including license by examination (.0100);
responsibility to supply information (.0200); and professional corporations and limited liability companies (.0300).

National Board Examinations 21 NCAC 42B .0107
Amend*

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

The rules in Chapter 58 are from the North Carolina Real Estate Commission. The rules in Subchapter 58A are rules
relating to real estate brokers and salesmen including rules dealing with general brokerage (.0100); application for
license (.0300); examinations (.0400); licensing (.0500); real estate commission hearings (.0600); petitions for rules
(.0700); rulemaking (.0800); declaratory rulings (.0900); real estate education and recovery fund (.1400); discriminatory
practices prohibited (.1600); mandatory continuing education (.1700); limited nonresident commercial licensing (.1800);
post-licensure education (.1900); annual reports (.2000); brokers in military service (.2100); and broker price opinions
and comparative market analyses (.2200).

Residential Property and Owners' Association Disclosure S... 21 NCAC 58A .0114
Amend*

STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION

The rules in Chapter 1 are from the State Personnel Commission. The rules in Subchapter 1C concern personnel
administration including employment (.0100); general employment policies (.0200); personnel records and reports
(.0300); appointment (.0400); work schedule (.0500); competitive service (.0600); secondary employment (.0700);
requirements for teleworking programs (.0800); employee recognition programs (.0900); and separation (.1000).

Separation 25 NCAC 01C .1007
Amend*
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