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The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 
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submitted for publication by a state agency: 
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(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 
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preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 
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FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month.
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Child Care Commission intends to adopt the rules cited as 10A 

NCAC 09 .2611-.2616, and amend the rules cited as 10A NCAC 

09 .0102, .0601, .1707, .1725, .2204, .2206 and .2209. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Whats-New 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2023 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  July 24, 2023 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  

https://ncgov.webex.com/ncgov/j.php?MTID=m9b150039e29c44

3c39987ea641ca10b9 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The Child Care Commission 

proposes the following adoptions and amendments to rules in 10A 

NCAC 09: 

Rule .0102(4) – Amendment defines “asbestos hazard” that will 

be used throughout the rest of this Section.  

Rule .0102(33) -The proposed amendments to Item (33) brings 

the rule into compliance with S.L. 2022-71, which increased the 

options for individuals to receive their early childhood 

qualifications from DCDEE. It’s adding equivalency options that 

include but do not have to be limited to the CDA and a test out for 

the NCECC.  

Rule .0601(f) is being amended to include the specific 

requirement that child care centers must be free of asbestos 

hazards. This is in addition to the existing specific requirement 

that they be free of lead poisoning hazards.  

The proposed amendment to Rule .1707(1) is to clarify that family 

care homes are not required to have an “exit at grade.” This 

amendment will resolve a perceived contradiction with Rule 

.1719, that could be interpreted such that a family child care home 

would have to be built on a slab and have no steps leading up to 

a porch or to a front door. This may be perceived as contradicting 

Rule .1719(a)(29) which lays out safety requirements for family 

child care homes which have outdoor stairs (“Indoor and outdoor 

stairs with more than two steps that are used by the children shall 

be railed.”) This could incorrectly be perceived as a barrier to 

licensure for persons interested in licensing a family care home. 

DCDEE consulted with the Department of Insurance, and they 

agree with the new language.  

Amendments to .1707(2) include the requirement that family child 

care homes must be free of asbestos hazards (in addition to lead 

poisoning hazards). 

.1725(2) amendments will require that drinking water be tested 

for lead in licensed family care homes within 12 months of the 

effective date of the rule. 

.2204(3) – Amendments will clarify that the time period permitted 

for a facility to correct a hazard applies to asbestos as well as 

lead. This addition is supportive of current policies and practices 

already in place regarding administrative actions for lead 

poisoning hazards in support of sanitation rule 15A NCAC 18A 

.2816.  

.2206(4) – This rule is being amended to include lead and 

asbestos separately to clarify action taken when a facility has not 

completed the required testing for lead and asbestos.  

.2209(10) – adds a factor for revocations for not correcting the 

violation outlined in a previously issued suspension when the 

violation has not been corrected after twelve months.  

Proposed rules in Section .2600 Flex Plex Model Facility, is in 

response to a petition for rulemaking received from the Yadkin 

County Expansion Team to allow the licensing of an alternative 

child care facility model. Once adopted, the model will be an 

option available to any interested prospective child care center 

owner throughout NC. The proposed rules will add an option that 

allows for independently licensed child care providers to operate 

within one building.  

Proposed adoptions of 10A NCAC 09 .2611-.2616 are as follows: 

.2611 – Scope. Defines the scope of the proposed rules as 

applying only to Flex Plex model facilities. 

.2612 – Definition. Defines the term “Flex Plex Model” as one 

building with multiple licensed units, each with a separate owner 

and entrance and each having its own physical and mailing 

address. 

.2613 – Licensure.  Clarifies the responsibilities of the Division to 

make one or more inspections to each unit within the building and 

issue individual licenses.  

.2614 – Outdoor Space.  Allows each of the individually owned 

units to share outdoor space provided the space requirements in 

both 10A NCAC 09 .1402 and.2809 are in compliance as well as 

all other outdoor area requirements as defined in 10A NCAC 09 

.0605.  In addition, the rule clarifies applicable staff/child ratios 

and group sizes must be maintained.  

.2615 – Staff/Child Ratios. The staff/child ratios and group sizes 

in the proposed rule are identical to the staff/child ratios and 

group sizes currently in 10A NCAC 09 .0713. Under the existing 

rules, the current staff/child ratios applicable to a center this size 

also have corresponding rules that limit the times children can be 

grouped together  

and the ages of children that can be grouped together. This poses 

a barrier to the Flex Plex model. For this type of model to be 

successful, children must be able to be served in a multi-age 

setting. As such, the proposed rule differs from existing rule 10A 

NCAC 09 .0713 in that it eliminates these time and age grouping 

limits.  
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.2616 – Provider Qualifications. This proposed rule references 

requirements in existing child care rules and statutes, with an 

exception for the administrative hours required by 10A NCAC 09 

.0714(a). The proposed rule allows for one person to serve as both 

the administrator and lead teacher in each unit rather than having 

both an administrator and a lead teacher, as is required by 

existing rules for nonresidential centers. This aspect of the 

proposed Flex Plex model is more similar to a residential center, 

in which one person performs the duties of both the administrator 

and the lead teacher. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Dedra Alston, 333 Six Forks 

Road, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (919) 814-6307; fax (919) 715-

0970; email Dedra.Alston@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  August 14, 2023 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 09 - CHILD CARE RULES 

 

SECTION .0100 - DEFINITIONS 

 

10A NCAC 09 .0102 DEFINITIONS 

The terms and phrases used in this Chapter are defined as follows 

except when the context of the rule requires a different meaning. 

The definitions prescribed in G.S. 110-86 also apply to these 

Rules. 

(1) "Activity area" means a space that is accessible 

to children and where related equipment and 

materials are kept in accordance with G.S. 110-

91(12). 

(2) "Agency" as used in this Chapter means 

Division of Child Development and Early 

Education, Department of Health and Human 

Services located at 333 Six Forks Road, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27609. 

(3) "Appellant" means the person or persons who 

request a contested case hearing. 

(4) "Asbestos hazard" means a condition that 

results in exposure to asbestos in excess of the 

standards set forth in 10A NCAC 41C .0607(a) 

or to a category of asbestos containing material 

defined at 40 C.F.R. 763.88(b)(1)-(6). 

(4)(5) "Basic School-Age Care" training (BSAC 

training) means the training on the elements of 

quality afterschool care for school-age children, 

developed by the North Carolina State 

University Department of 4-H Youth 

Development and subsequently revised by the 

North Carolina School-age Quality 

Improvement Project. 

(5)(6) "Biocontaminant" means blood, bodily fluids, 

or excretions that may spread infectious 

disease. 

(6)(7) "Child Care Center" means an arrangement 

where, at any one time, there are three or more 

preschool-age children or nine or more school-

age children receiving child care. This does not 

include arrangements described in Item (18) of 

this Rule regarding Family Child Care Homes. 

(7)(8) "Child Care Facility" means child care centers, 

family child care homes, and any other child 

care arrangement not excluded by G.S. 110-

86(2), that provides child care, regardless of the 

time of day, wherever operated, and whether or 

not operated for profit. 

(8)(9) "Child care provider" as defined by G.S. 110-

90.2(a)(2) includes the following employees 

who have contact with the children in a child 

care program: 

(a) facility directors; 

(b) child care administrative staff; 

(c) teachers; 

(d) teachers' aides; 

(e) substitute providers; 

(f) uncompensated providers; 

(g) cooks; 

(h) maintenance personnel; and 

(i) drivers. 

(9)(10) "Child Development Associate Credential" 

means the national early childhood credential 

administered by the Council for Early 

Childhood Professional Recognition. 

(10)(11) "Curriculum" means a curriculum that has been 

approved as set forth in these Rules by the NC 

Child Care Commission as comprehensive, 

evidenced-based, and with a reading 

component. 

(11)(12) "Developmentally appropriate" means suitable 

to the chronological age range and 

developmental characteristics of a specific 

group of children. 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

37:24 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JUNE 15, 2023 

2213 

(12)(13) "Division" means the Division of Child 

Development and Early Education within the 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(13)(14) "Domains" means the developmental areas of 

learning described in the North Carolina 

Foundations for Early Learning and 

Development © 2013, available on the 

Division's website at 

https://ncchildcare.nc.gov/providers/pv_found

ations.asp. This instrument is incorporated by 

reference and does not include subsequent 

editions. The domains address children's 

emotional and social development, health and 

physical development, approaches to play and 

learning, language development, and 

communication and cognitive development. 

(14)(15) "Drop-in care" means a child care arrangement 

where children attend on an intermittent, 

unscheduled basis. 

(15)(16) "Early Childhood Environment Rating Scale - 

Revised Edition" (Harms, Clifford, and Cryer, 

2005, published by Teachers College Press, 

New York, NY) is the instrument used to 

evaluate the quality of care received by a group 

of children in a child care center, when the 

majority of children in the group are two and a 

half years old through five years old, to achieve 

three or more points for the program standards 

of a rated license. This instrument is 

incorporated by reference and does not include 

subsequent editions. A copy of the scale is 

available for purchase on the Teachers College 

Press website at 

http://www.teacherscollegepress.com/assessm

ent_materials.html. 

https://www.tcpress.com/search?search_term=

assessment+materials. The cost of this scale is 

twenty-four twenty-five dollars and ninety-five 

cents ($24.95). ($25.95). A copy of this 

instrument is on file at the Division at the 

address given in Item (2) of this Rule and is 

available for public inspection during regular 

business hours. For the purposes of this Rule, 

"regular business hours" for the Division means 

8 a.m. to 5 p.m. during weekdays, excluding 

state holidays. 

(16)(17) "Experience working with school-age children" 

means working with school-age children as a 

child care administrator, program coordinator, 

group leader, assistant group leader, lead 

teacher, teacher or aide. 

(17)(18) "Family Child Care Environment Rating Scale 

– Revised Edition" (Harms, Cryer and Clifford, 

2007, published by Teachers College Press, 

New York, NY) is the instrument used to 

evaluate the quality of care received by children 

in family child care homes to achieve three or 

more points for the program standards of a rated 

license. This instrument is incorporated by 

reference and does not include subsequent 

editions. A copy of the scale is available for 

purchase on the Teachers College Press website 

at 

http://www.teacherscollegepress.com/assessm

ent_materials.html. 

https://www.tcpress.com/search?search_term=

assessment+materials. The cost of this scale is 

twenty-four twenty-five dollars and ninety-five 

cents ($24.95). ($25.95). A copy of this 

instrument is on file at the Division at the 

address given in Item (2) of this Rule and is 

available for public inspection during regular 

business hours. 

(18)(19) "Family Child Care Home" means a child care 

arrangement located in a residence where, at 

any one time, more than two children, but less 

than nine children, receive child care. Family 

child care home operators must reside at the 

location of the family child care home. 

(19)(20) "First aid kit" is a collection of first aid supplies 

(such as bandages, tweezers, disposable 

nonporous gloves, micro shield or face mask, 

liquid soap, cold pack) for treatment of minor 

injuries or stabilization of major injuries. 

(20)(21) "Group" means the children assigned to a 

specific caregiver or caregivers, to meet the 

staff/child ratios set forth in G.S. 110-91(7) and 

in this Chapter, using space the Division has 

identified for each group. 

(21)(22) "Health care professional" means: 

(a) a physician licensed in North 

Carolina; 

(b) a nurse practitioner approved to 

practice in North Carolina; or 

(c) a licensed physician assistant. 

(22)(23) "Household member" means a person who 

resides in a family home as evidenced by 

factors including maintaining clothing and 

personal effects at the household address, 

receiving mail at the household address, using 

identification with the household address, or 

eating and sleeping at the household address on 

a regular basis. 

(23)(24) "If weather conditions permit" means: 

(a) temperatures that fall within the 

guidelines developed by the Iowa 

Department of Public Health and 

specified on the Child Care Weather 

Watch chart. These guidelines shall be 

used when determining appropriate 

weather conditions for taking children 

outside for outdoor learning activities 

and playtime. This chart may be 

downloaded free of charge from 

http://idph.iowa.gov/Portals/1/Files/H

CCI/weatherwatch.pdf; and is 

incorporated by reference and includes 

subsequent editions and amendments; 
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(b) following the air quality standards as 

set out in 15A NCAC 18A .2832(d). 

The Air Quality Color Guide can be 

found on the Division's web site at 

https://www.deq.nc.gov/mitigation-

services/publicfolder/library/news/bro

chures/air-quality-color-

guide/download; or call 1-888-

RU4NCAIR (1-888-784-6224); and 

(c) no active precipitation. Caregivers 

may choose to go outdoors when there 

is active precipitation if children have 

appropriate clothing such as rain boots 

and rain coats, or if they are under a 

covered area. 

(24)(25) "Infant" means any child from birth through 12 

months of age. 

(25)(26) "Infant/Toddler Environment Rating Scale - 

Revised Edition" (Harms, Cryer, and Clifford, 

2003, published by Teachers College Press, 

New York, NY) is the instrument used to 

evaluate the quality of care received by a group 

of children in a child care center, when the 

majority of children in the group are younger 

than 30 months old, to achieve three or more 

points for the program standards of a rated 

license. This instrument is incorporated by 

reference and does not include subsequent 

editions. A copy of the scale is available for 

purchase on the Teachers College Press website 

at 

http://www.teacherscollegepress.com/assessm

ent_materials.html. 

http://www.tcpress.com/search?search_term=a

ssessment+materials. The cost of this scale is 

twenty-four twenty-five dollars and ninety-five 

cents ($24.95). ($25.95). A copy of this 

instrument is on file at the Division at the 

address given in Item (2) of this Rule and is 

available for public inspection during regular 

business hours. 

(26)(27) "ITS-SIDS Training" means the Infant/Toddler 

Safe Sleep and SIDS Risk Reduction Training 

developed by the NC Healthy Start Foundation 

and administered by the North Carolina Child 

Care Health and Safety Resource Center for the 

Division of Child Development and Early 

Education for caregivers of children ages 12 

months and younger. Information regarding 

trainer and training availability can be found on 

the Division's website at 

http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/providers/pv_its

sidsproject.asp. 

(27)(28) "Lead Teacher" means an individual who is 

responsible for planning and implementing the 

daily program of activities for a group of 

children in a child care facility. A lead teacher 

is counted in staff/child ratio, has unsupervised 

contact with children, and is monetarily 

compensated by the facility. 

(28)(29) "Licensee" means the person or entity that is 

granted permission by the State of North 

Carolina to operate a child care facility. The 

owner of a facility is the licensee. 

(29)(30) "Lockdown drill" means an emergency safety 

procedure in which occupants of the facility 

remain in a locked indoor space and is used 

when emergency personnel or law enforcement 

determine a dangerous person is in the vicinity. 

(30)(31) "North Carolina Early Childhood 

Administration Credential" means the state 

early childhood administration credential that is 

based on completion of required early 

childhood coursework taken at any NC 

Community College. Other post secondary 

curriculum coursework shall be approved as 

equivalent if the Division determines that the 

content of the other post secondary curriculum 

coursework offered is substantially equivalent 

to the NC Early Childhood Administration 

Credential Coursework. A copy of the North 

Carolina Early Childhood Administration 

Credential requirements is on file at the 

Division at the address given in Item (2) of this 

Rule and is available for public inspection or 

copying at no charge during regular business 

hours. This information can be found on the 

Division's website at 

http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/providers/creden

t.asp. 

(31)(32) "North Carolina Early Educator Certification 

(certification)" is an acknowledgement of an 

individual's verified level of educational 

achievement based on a standardized scale. The 

North Carolina Institute for Child Development 

Professionals certifies individuals and assigns a 

certification level on two scales: 

(a) the Early Care and Education 

Professional Scale (ECE Scale) in 

effect as of July 1, 2010; or 

(b) the School Age Professional Scale 

(SA Scale) in effect as of May 19, 

2010. 

Each scale reflects the amount of 

education earned in the content area 

pertinent to the ages of children 

served. The ECE Scale is designed for 

individuals working with or on behalf 

of children ages birth to five. The SA 

Scale is designed for individuals 

working with or on behalf of children 

ages 5 to 12 who are served in school 

age care settings. Information on the 

voluntary certification process can be 

found on the North Carolina Institute 

for Child Development Professionals 

website at 
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http://ncicdp.org/certification-

licensure/eec-overview/. 

(32)(33) "North Carolina Early Childhood Credential" 

means the state early childhood credential that 

is based on completion of required early 

childhood coursework taken at any NC North 

Carolina Community College. Other post 

secondary curriculum coursework equivalences 

shall be approved by the Division as equivalent 

if the Division determines that the content of the 

other post secondary curriculum coursework or 

other pathways are offered is substantially 

equivalent to the NC North Carolina Early 

Childhood Credential Coursework. 

coursework. Equivalent coursework shall 

include, but not be limited to: 

(a) a currently active Child Development 

Associate Credential from the Council 

for Professional Recognition, a 

Certified Child Care Professional 

Credential from the National Early 

Childhood Program Accreditation, or 

a Montessori Credential from any of 

the Montessori Accreditation Council 

for Teacher Education, American 

Montessori Society, National Center 

for Montessori Education, or 

Association Montessori 

Internationale; or 

(b) a passing score on a test developed by 

the early childhood faculty of the 

North Carolina Community College 

System designed to demonstrate an 

individual's mastery of the concepts 

taught in early childhood coursework 

taken at any North Carolina 

community college. 

A copy of the North Carolina Early Childhood 

Credential requirements is on file at the 

Division at the address given in Item (2) of this 

Rule and is available for public inspection or 

copying at no charge during regular business 

hours. This information can be found on the 

Division's website at 

http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/providers/creden

t.asp. 

(33)(34) "Operator" means the owner, director, or other 

person having responsibility for operation of a 

child care facility subject to licensing. 

(34)(35) "Owner" means any person with a five percent 

or greater equity interest in a child care facility; 

however, stockholders of corporations who 

own child care facilities shall not be subject to 

mandatory criminal history checks pursuant to 

G.S. 110-90.2 unless they are a child care 

provider. 

(35)(36) "Parent" means a child's parent, legal guardian, 

or full-time custodian. 

(36)(37) "Passageway" means a hall or corridor. 

(37)(38) "Person" means any individual, trust, estate, 

partnership, corporation, joint stock company, 

consortium, or any other group, entity, 

organization, or association. 

(38)(39) "Premises" means the entire child care building 

and grounds including natural areas, 

outbuildings, dwellings, vehicles, parking lots, 

driveways and other structures located on the 

property. 

(39)(40) "Preschooler" or "preschool-age child" means 

any child who is at least three years of age and 

does not fit the definition of school-age child in 

this Rule. 

(40)(41) "Reside" refers to any person that lives at a 

child care facility location. Factors for 

determining residence include: 

(a) use of the child care facility address as 

a permanent address for personal 

identification or mail delivery; 

(b) use of the child care facility to store 

personal belongings such as furniture, 

clothing, and toiletry items; and 

(c) names listed on official documents 

such as criminal records or property 

tax records. 

(41)(42) "School-Age Care Environment Rating Scale, 

Updated Edition" (Harms, Jacobs, and White, 

2014, published by Teachers College Press) is 

the instrument used to evaluate the quality of 

care received by a group of children in a child 

care center, when the majority of the children in 

the group are older than five years, to achieve 

three or more points for the program standards 

of a rated license. This instrument is 

incorporated by reference and does not include 

subsequent editions. A copy of the scale is 

available for purchase on the Teacher College 

Press website at 

https://www.teacherscollegepress.com/assessm

ent_materials.html. 

https://www.tcpress.com/search?search_term=

assessment+materials. The cost of this scale is 

twenty-four twenty-five dollars and ninety-five 

cents ($24.95). ($25.95). A copy of this 

instrument is on file at the Division at the 

address given in Item (2) of this Rule and is 

available for public inspection during regular 

business hours. 

(42)(43) "School-age child" means any child who is 

attending or who has attended a public or 

private grade school or kindergarten and meets 

age requirements as specified in G.S. 115C-

364. 

(43)(44) "Seasonal Program" means a recreational 

program as set forth in G.S. 110-86(2)(b). 

(44)(45) "Shelter-in-Place drill" means staying in place 

to take shelter rather than evacuating. It 

involves selecting a small interior room, with 

no or few windows, and used when emergency 
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personnel or law enforcement determine there 

is an environmental or weather related threat. 

(45)(46) "Staff" or "staff member" as used in this 

Chapter includes child care providers, 

substitute providers, and uncompensated 

providers. Volunteers, as defined in this Rule, 

are not staff members. 

(46)(47) "Substitute provider" means any person who 

temporarily assumes the duties of a staff person 

for a time period not to exceed two consecutive 

months and may or may not be monetarily 

compensated by the facility. Any substitute 

provider must be at least 18 years of age and 

literate. 

(47)(48) "Teacher" means an individual who assists the 

Lead Teacher in planning and implementing the 

daily program of activities for a group of 

children in a child care facility. A teacher is 

counted in staff/child ratio, has unsupervised 

contact with children, and is monetarily 

compensated by the facility. 

(48)(49) "Teacher's aide" or "Aide" means a person who 

assists the lead teacher or the teacher in 

planning and implementing the daily program. 

A teacher's aide shall be at least 16 years old 

and less than 18 years old, shall be literate, and 

may count in staff/child ratio as long as there is 

also a credentialed staff person who is at least 

21 years of age present in the room and 

available to respond to the needs of the teacher's 

aide and children in care. 

(49)(50) "Toddler" means any child ages 13 months to 

35 months of age. 

(50)(51) "Track-Out Program" means any child care 

provided to school-age children when they are 

out of school on a year-round school calendar. 

(51)(52) "Uncompensated provider" means a person 

who works in a child care facility and is counted 

in staff/child ratio or has unsupervised contact 

with children, but who is not monetarily 

compensated by the facility. Any 

uncompensated provider must be at least 18 

years of age and literate. 

(52)(53) "Volunteer" means a person who works in a 

child care facility and is not counted in 

staff/child ratio, does not have unsupervised 

contact with children, and is not monetarily 

compensated by the facility. A person who is at 

least 13 years of age, but less than 16 years of 

age, may work on a volunteer basis, as long as 

he or she is supervised by and works with a staff 

person who is at least 21 years of age and meets 

staff qualification requirements. 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; 110-90.2; 143B-168.3. 

 

SECTION .0600 - SAFETY REQUIREMENTS FOR 

CHILD CARE CENTERS 

 

10A NCAC 09 .0601 SAFE ENVIRONMENT 

(a)  A safe indoor and outdoor environment shall be provided for 

the children in care in accordance with rules in this Section. 

(b)  All equipment and furnishings shall be in good repair. All 

commercially manufactured equipment and furnishings shall be 

assembled and installed according to procedures specified by the 

manufacturer. For equipment and furnishings purchased after 

September 1, 2017, the manufacturer's instructions shall be kept 

on file or electronically accessible, if available. 

(c)  Equipment and furnishings shall be sturdy, stable, and free of 

hazards that may injure children including sharp edges, lead based 

or peeling paint, rust, loose nails, splinters, protrusions (excluding 

nuts and bolts on sides of fences), and pinch and crush points. 

(d)  All equipment and furnishings not meeting the requirements 

of Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule shall be removed from the 

premises immediately or made inaccessible to the children. 

(e)  Each child care center shall provide equipment and 

furnishings that are child-size or that can be adapted use by 

children. Chairs and tables shall be of appropriate height for the 

children who will be using them. 

(f)  Each child care center shall be free of lead poisoning hazards 

as defined in G.S. 130A-131.7(7). 130A-131.7(7) and asbestos 

hazards. 

 

Authority G.S. 110-91(3),(6); 143B-168.3. 

 

SECTION .1700 – FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME 

REQUIREMENTS 

 

10A NCAC 09 .1707 BUILDING REQUIREMENTS 

The applicant shall ensure that the family child care home 

complies with the following requirements: 

(1) all children are kept on the ground level of exit 

discharge; with an exit at grade; 

(2) all family child care homes must be free of lead 

poisoning hazards as defined in G.S. 130A-

131.7(7); 130A-131.7(7) and asbestos hazards; 

(3) all homes are equipped with an electrically 

operated (with a battery backup) smoke 

detector, or one electrically operated and one 

battery operated smoke detector located next to 

each other; 

(4) all homes are provided with at least one five 

pound 2-A: 10-B: C type extinguisher for every 

2,500 square feet of floor area; 

(5) heating appliances shall be installed and 

maintained according to the NC Building Code; 

(6) all indoor areas used by children are heated 

when the temperature is below 65 degrees and 

ventilated when the temperature is above 85 

degrees; 

(7) pipes or radiators that are hot enough to be 

capable of burning children and are accessible 

to the children are covered or insulated; and 

(8) children are cared for in space designated as the 

caregiving area on a floor plan provided by the 

operator to the Division as specified in 10A 

NCAC 09 .1709. Changes to the designated 

caregiving space shall be submitted to the 
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Division 30 days prior to the new space being 

used by children. 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-86(3); 110-91; 143B-168.3. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .1725 SANITATION REQUIREMENTS 

FOR FAMILY CHILD CARE HOMES 

(a)  To assure the health of children through proper sanitation, the 

family child care home operator shall: 

(1) collect and submit samples of water from each 

well used for the children's water supply for 

bacteriological analysis to the local health 

department or a laboratory certified to analyze 

drinking water for public water supplies by the 

North Carolina Division of Laboratory Services 

the North Carolina State Laboratory of Public 

Health every two years. Results of the analysis 

shall be on file in the home; 

(2) collect and submit samples of water from each 

water outlet used for drinking or food 

preparation for lead analysis to the local health 

department or a laboratory certified to analyze 

for lead in drinking water by the North Carolina 

State Laboratory of Public Health. Results of 

the analysis shall be on file in the home. For 

operators that submit an application for 

licensure after the effective date of this Rule, 

water samples shall be collected by the operator 

and tested during the application process. For 

all other family child care homes, water 

samples shall be collected by the operator and 

tested within 12 months of the effective date of 

this Rule; 

(3)(2) wash his or her hands prior to caring for 

children each day; 

(4)(3) ensure that each child's hands are washed upon 

arrival at the home each day; 

(5)(4) have sanitary toilet, diaper changing and hand 

washing facilities as follows: 

(A) diaper changing areas shall be separate 

from food preparation areas; 

(B) toileting areas shall have toilet tissue 

available at all times; 

(C) all toilet fixtures shall be cleanable and 

in good repair; 

(D) handwashing areas shall have soap 

and paper towels or other drying 

devices available at all times; 

(E) diapering surfaces shall be smooth, 

intact, nonabsorbent and cleanable; 

and 

(F) potty chairs and diapering surfaces 

shall be cleaned after each use. 

(6)(5) use sanitary diapering procedures. Diapers shall 

be changed whenever they become soiled or 

wet. The operator shall: 

(A) gather all supplies before placing a 

child on the diapering surface; 

(B) wash his or her hands before, as well 

as after, diapering each child; 

(C) ensure the child's hands are washed 

after diapering the child; and 

(D) place soiled diapers in a covered, leak 

proof container which is emptied and 

cleaned daily; 

(7)(6) use sanitary procedures when preparing and 

serving food. The operator shall: 

(A) wash his or her hands before and after 

handling food and feeding the 

children; and 

(B) ensure the child's hands are washed 

before and after the child is fed; 

(8)(7) wash his or her hands, and ensure the child's 

hands are washed, after toileting or handling 

bodily fluids; 

(9)(8) handwashing procedures shall include: 

(A) using liquid soap and water; 

(B) rubbing hands vigorously with soap 

and water for 15 seconds; 

(C) washing all surfaces of the hands, to 

include the backs of hands, palms, 

wrists, under fingernails and between 

fingers; 

(D) rinsing well for 10 seconds; 

(E) drying hands with a paper towel or 

other hand drying device; and 

(F) turning off faucet with a paper towel 

or other method without 

recontaminating hands; 

(10)(9) refrigerate all perishable food and beverages. 

The refrigerator shall be in good repair and 

maintain a temperature of 45 degrees 

Fahrenheit or below. A refrigerator 

thermometer is required to monitor the 

temperature; 

(11)(10) have a house that is free of rodents; 

(12)(11) screen all windows and doors used for 

ventilation; and 

(13)(12) store garbage in waterproof containers with 

tight fitting covers. 

(b)  If reusable, cloth diapers are used, place soiled cloth diaper, 

after disposing of feces in toilet without rinsing, in a tightly closed 

plastic bag or other equivalent container approved by the 

Division, stored out of reach of children and sent daily to the 

child's home to be laundered or to a laundry service. 

(c)  The operator shall not force children to use the toilet and the 

operator shall consider the developmental readiness of each child 

when toilet training. The operator shall provide assistance to each 

child to ensure proper hygiene, as needed. 

(d)  The operator shall ensure that clean clothes are available in 

the event that a child's clothes become wet or soiled. The change 

of clothing may be provided by the operator or by the child's 

parents. 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; 110-91; 143B-168.3. 
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SECTION .2200 - ADMINISTRATIVE ACTIONS AND 

CIVIL PENALTIES 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2204 PROVISIONAL CHILD CARE 

FACILITY LICENSE OR PROVISIONAL NOTICE OF 

COMPLIANCE 

A provisional child care facility license or provisional notice of 

compliance may be issued to an operator for any period of time 

not to exceed 12 months in accordance with the factors listed in 

10A NCAC 09 .2201(b) for, among other things, the following 

reasons: 

(1) a substantiation of one or more violations as a 

result of a complaint that do not meet the 

criteria for a maltreatment finding pursuant to 

G.S. 110-105.3(b)(3) but for which more than 

three months is needed to monitor for corrective 

action implementation; 

(2) to allow a time period for correcting a violation 

of the building, fire, or sanitation requirements; 

(3) to allow a time period for remediation of an 

identified lead poisoning hazard as defined in 

G.S. 130A-131.7(7), 130A-131.7(7) or 

remediation of an asbestos hazard, regardless of 

whether a provisional sanitation classification 

has been issued; 

(4) to allow a time period for correction of an 

administratively dissolved corporation status 

from the North Carolina Secretary of State; 

(5) when the compliance history of the facility 

drops below the minimum requirement set forth 

in G.S. 110-90; 

(6) change of location of a child care facility 

without proper notification to the Division as 

specified in Rules 10A NCAC 09 .0204(b), 

.0403(a), and .1702(d); or 

(7) pattern of noncompliance. 

 

Authority G.S. 110-88(6); 110-90; 110-99; 143B-168.3. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2206 SUSPENSION 

A suspension of a license or suspension of a notice of compliance 

may be issued to an operator in accordance with the factors listed 

in 10A NCAC 09 .2201(b) for a time period not to exceed one 

year for the following reasons: 

(1) the operator of the child care facility is a 

corporate entity that has been placed under 

revenue suspension by the North Carolina 

Secretary of State; 

(2) when the Division has issued a provisional 

child care facility license or notice of 

compliance related to building, fire, or 

sanitation requirements and the operator has 

failed to comply; 

(3) to allow a specific time period for correcting a 

violation of building, fire, or sanitation 

requirements, provided that the appropriate 

inspector documents that closure of the child 

care facility is necessary to protect health or 

safety of children during correction; or 

(4) when a facility is required to test for lead 

poisoning hazards as defined in G.S. 130A-

131.7(7) or asbestos hazards or the Division has 

requested such testing to determine compliance 

with 10A NCAC 09 .0601(f) or 10A NCAC 09 

.1707(2) and an operator has failed to test for 

lead poisoning hazards as defined in G.S. 

130A-131.7(7) or asbestos hazards; or 

(4)(5) when a disapproved sanitation classification is 

issued to a child care facility. 

The suspension of a child care facility license or suspension of a 

notice of compliance shall not be stayed during the pendency of 

an appeal. 

 

Authority G.S. 110-88; 110-90; 110-102.2; 143B-168.3; 150B-3. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2209 REVOCATION OF A CHILD 

CARE FACILITY LICENSE OR AN ORDER TO CEASE 

OPERATION 

Revocation of a child care facility license or an order to cease 

operation may be issued to an operator in accordance with the 

factors listed in 10A NCAC 09 .2201(b) for the following reasons: 

(1) child maltreatment has occurred in a child care 

facility and harm occurred as set forth in Rule 

.2201(c)(2) of this Section; 

(2) more than two determinations of child 

maltreatment have occurred at a child care 

facility within three years; 

(3) violation of any section of G.S. 110, Article 7 

or the Rules of this Chapter or 10A NCAC 10 

has been willful or continual as evidenced by: 

(a) a pattern of noncompliance, and the 

operator has not made efforts to 

correct repeated violations or is unable 

to comply; or 

(b) the operator has failed to comply with 

the terms of a corrective action plan 

issued with a special provisional or 

probationary license or notice of 

compliance; 

(4) violation of any section of G.S. 110, Article 7 

or the Rules of this Chapter or 10A NCAC 10 

is hazardous to health or safety of children; 

(5) the operator fails to comply with an 

implemented protection plan as set forth in G.S. 

110-105.3(e); 

(6) the operator falsifies information in violation of 

G.S. 110-91(14); 

(7) the compliance history of the facility drops 

below the minimum requirement set forth in 

G.S. 110-90 and the conditions at the facility 

are hazardous to the health and safety of the 

children or staff; 

(8) receipt of a disapproved sanitation 

classification that is not corrected with a 

superior or approved sanitation classification 

within 12 months of issuance of a Suspension 

as set forth in Rule .2206 of this Section; or 
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(9) the operator of the child care facility is a 

corporate entity that has been placed under 

revenue suspension from the North Carolina 

Secretary of State that has not been corrected 

within one year of issuance of a Suspension as 

set forth in Rule .2206 of this Section. Section; 

or 

(10) the Division has suspended the child care 

license or notice of compliance and the 

violation has not been corrected after 12 

months. The revocation of a child care facility 

license or a notice of compliance pursuant to 

this Section shall not be stayed during the 

pendency of an appeal. 

 

Authority G.S. 110-88; 110-90; 110-102.2; 143B-168.3; 150B-3. 

 

SECTION .2600 – CHILD CARE FOR CHILDREN WHO 

ARE MEDICALLY FRAGILE 

FLEX PLEX MODEL FACILITIES 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2611 SCOPE 

The rules in this Section apply to flex plex model facilities with 

multiple units, licensed individually, in one building. All rules 

within this Chapter shall apply except as provided in this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-86; 110-88; 110-91. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2612 DEFINITION OF FLEX PLEX 

MODEL 

One building with multiple licensed units, each with a separate 

owner and entrance and each having its own physical and mailing 

address. 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-86; 110-88; 110-91. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2613 LICENSURE 

The Division shall make one or more inspections to each unit 

within the building and issue individual licenses if all applicable 

requirements of G.S. 110, Article 7, this Chapter, and this Section 

are met. 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-86; 110-88; 110-91. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2614 OUTDOOR SPACE 

Subject to the requirements in 10A NCAC 09 .0605, .1402, and 

.2809, the licensed units within the flex plex model may share 

outdoor space provided the staff/child ratios and group sizes in 

this Section are maintained. 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-86; 110-88; 110-91. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2615 STAFF/CHILD RATIOS 

The staff/child ratios and group sizes for children are as follows: 

 Age of Children  Ratio 

Staff/Children  

Maximum Group 

Size  

0 to 12 Months  1/5  10  

12 to 24 Months  1/6  12  

2 to 3 Years  1/10  20  

3 to 5 Years  1/15  25  

5 Years and Older  1/25  25  

 

(1) when combining age groups, the staff/child 

ratio for the youngest child in the group shall be 

maintained for the entire group; 

(2) when only one caregiver is required to meet the 

staff/child ratio and children under two years of 

age are in care, that person shall not 

concurrently perform food preparation or other 

duties which are not direct child care 

responsibilities; 

(a) The unit shall post the name, address, 

and telephone number of an adult who 

has agreed in writing to be available to 

provide emergency relief and who can 

respond within a reasonable period of 

time; or 

(b) There shall be a second adult on the 

premises who is available to provide 

emergency relief. This second adult 

may be a person in another licensed 

unit within the flex plex model or 

support staff within the building. 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-86; 110-88; 110-91. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2616 PROVIDER QUALIFICATIONS 

(a)  The person who has the responsibility for administration of 

the program and planning and implementing daily activities for 

the group of children in their care shall meet the requirements for 

an administrator and lead teacher as outlined in G.S. 110-91(8). 

(b)  When meeting enhanced standards, the person who has 

responsibility for administration of the program and planning and 

implementing daily activities shall meet the lead teacher 

requirements outlined in 10A NCAC 09 .2819. 

(c)  Additional staff within the licensed unit shall meet lead 

teacher or teacher requirements in Section .2800 of this Chapter 

as determined by their caregiving role. 

(d)  The person responsible for the administration of the program 

and program planning does not have to meet administrative hours 

as required in 10A NCAC 09 .0714(a). 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-86; 110-88; 110-91. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *  

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Medical Care Commission 

intends to amend the rules cited as 10A NCAC 13F .1103, .1104, 

readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A NCAC 

13F .0703, .0704; 13G .0702, .0704, .1102, .1103, readopt 

without substantive changes the rules cited as 10A NCAC 13F 

.1106; 13G .1106 and repeal through readoption the rule cited as 

10A NCAC 13G .0703. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 
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the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 

on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published. The text of the rules are available on the OAH website: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ruleactions.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  August 7, 2023 

Time:  3:00 p.m. 

Location:  Dorothea Dix Park, Brown Building, Room 104, 801 

Biggs Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A, 

Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 

reviewed at least every 10 years, or they shall expire. As a result 

of the periodic review of Subchapters 10A NCAC 13F, Licensing 

of Adult Care Homes of Seven or More Beds, and 10A NCAC 13G, 

Licensing of Family Care Homes, 97 total rules were determined 

as “Necessary With Substantive Public Interest,” requiring 

readoption. At this time, nine rules are proposed for readoption. 

With input from stakeholders, substantive changes are proposed 

to six rules for readoption, two rules are proposed without 

substantive changes for readoption, one rule is proposed for 

repeal through readoption and in addition, two rules are 

proposed for amendment for the regulation of licensed Adult Care 

Homes and Family Care Homes in N.C. The secondary intent of 

the proposed rules is to make the rules of these two types of 

assisted living residences comparable, if not the same, for 

regulatory efficiency since they both house the same type of 

residents as permitted by law. 

 

The proposed rules for licensed Adult Care Homes and Family 

Care Homes update the admission requirements that include the 

resident’s admission medical examination, the medical 

examination form and required elements of the form, hospital 

discharge instructions and orders, mental health or psychiatric 

follow up care needs for residents, and readmission following 

hospitalization. The proposed rules add the requirement to 

include the resident for review of the Resident Contract and the 

completion of the Resident Register, update resident contract 

information, clarify the process for issuing a 30-day notice of a 

change in charges for resident services and accommodations, and 

reference the N.C. General Statute for house rules compliance. 

The proposed rules revise the process for the verification of a 

resident’s personal funds transaction and needs allowance 

statements, and clarify the business process for these actions. The 

requirements in Rule 10A NCAC 13G .0703 were relocated and 

combined in proposed Rule 10A NCAC 13G .0704. Therefore, this 

rule is proposed for repeal through readoption because it is 

unnecessary. The proposed rules add definitions for a physician 

extender, cost of care, and an authorized representative. In 

addition, technical changes were made to the proposed text, 

repealed statutory references were removed, rule references were 

updated, unneeded text was removed, and clarifying text changes 

were made to these proposed rules. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Nadine Pfeiffer, 809 Ruggles 

Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; email 

DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  August 14, 2023 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 13 - NC MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13F – LICENSING OF ADULT CARE 

HOMES OF SEVEN OR MORE BEDS 

 

SECTION .0700 - ADMISSION AND DISCHARGE 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0703 TUBERCULOSIS TEST, 

MEDICAL EXAMINATION AND IMMUNIZATIONS 

(a)  Upon admission to an adult care home each resident shall be 

tested for tuberculosis disease in compliance with the control 

measures adopted by the Commission for Public Health as 

specified in 10A NCAC 41A .0205 including subsequent 

amendments and editions. Copies of the rule are available at no 

charge by contacting the Department of Health and Human 

Services, Tuberculosis Control Program, 1902 Mail Service 

Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1902. 

(b)  Each resident shall have a medical examination completed by 

a licensed physician or physician extender prior to admission to 

the facility and annually thereafter. For the purposes of this Rule, 

"physician extender" means a licensed physician assistant or 

licensed nurse practitioner. The medical examination completed 

prior to admission shall be used by the facility to determine if the 

facility can meet the needs of the resident. 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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(c)  The results of the complete examination required in Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule are to be entered on the FL-2, North Carolina 

Medicaid Program Long Term Care Services, or MR-2, North 

Carolina Medicaid Program Mental Retardation Services, which 

shall comply with the following: 

(1) The examining date recorded on the FL-2 or 

MR-2 shall be no more than 90 days prior to the 

person's admission to the home. 

(2) The FL-2 or MR-2 shall be in the facility before 

admission or accompany the resident upon 

admission and be reviewed by the facility 

before admission except for emergency 

admissions. 

(3) In the case of an emergency admission, the 

medical examination and completion of the FL-

2 or MR-2 as required by this rule shall be 

within 72 hours of admission as long as current 

medication and treatment orders are available 

upon admission or there has been an emergency 

medical evaluation, including any orders for 

medications and treatments, upon admission. 

(4) If the information on the FL-2 or MR-2 is not 

clear or is insufficient, the facility shall contact 

the physician for clarification in order to 

determine if the services of the facility can meet 

the individual's needs. 

(5) The completed FL-2 or MR-2 shall be filed in 

the resident's record in the home. 

(6) If a resident has been hospitalized, the facility 

shall have a completed FL-2 or MR-2 or a 

transfer form or discharge summary with signed 

prescribing practitioner orders upon the 

resident's return to the facility from the hospital. 

The medical examination shall be completed no more than 90 

days prior to the resident's admission to the facility, except in the 

case of emergency admission. 

(d)  In the case of an unplanned, emergency admission, the 

medical examination of the resident shall be conducted within 72 

hours after admission. Prior to an emergency admission, the 

facility shall obtain current medication and treatment orders from 

a licensed physician or physician extender. 

(e)  The result of the medical examination required in Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule shall be documented on the North Carolina 

Medicaid Adult Care Home FL-2 form which is available at no 

cost on the Department's Medicaid website at 

https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/media/6549/open. The Adult Care 

Home FL-2 shall be signed and dated by the physician or 

physician extender completing the medical examination. The 

medical examination shall include the following: 

(1) resident's identification information, including 

the resident's name, date of birth, sex, 

admission date, county and Medicaid number, 

current facility and address, physician's name 

and address, a relative's name and address, 

current level of care, and recommended level of 

care; 

(2) resident's admitting diagnoses, including 

primary and secondary diagnoses and dates of 

onset; 

(3) resident's current medical information, 

including orientation, behaviors, personal care 

assistance needs, frequency of physician visits, 

ambulatory status, functional limitations, 

information related to activities and social 

needs, neurological status, bowel and bladder 

functioning status, manner of communication 

of needs, skin condition, respiratory status, and 

nutritional status including orders for 

therapeutic diets; 

(4) special care factors, including physician orders 

for blood pressure, diabetic urine testing, 

physical therapy, range of motion exercises, a 

bowel and bladder program, a restorative 

feeding program, speech therapy, and 

restraints; 

(5) resident's medications, including the name, 

strength, dosage, frequency and route of 

administration of each medication; 

(6) results of x-rays or laboratory tests determined 

by the physician or physician extender to be 

necessary information related to the resident's 

care needs; and 

(7) additional information as determined by the 

physician or physician extender to be necessary 

for the care of the resident. 

(f)  If the information on the Adult Care Home FL-2 is not clear 

or is insufficient, or information provided to the facility related to 

the resident's condition or medications after the completion of the 

medical examination conflicts with the information provided on 

the Adult Care Home FL-2, the facility shall contact the physician 

or physician extender for clarification in order to determine if the 

facility can meet the individual's needs. 

(g)  The results of the medical examination shall be maintained in 

the resident's record in accordance with Rule .1201 of this 

Subchapter. Discharge medication orders shall be clarified in 

accordance with Rule .1002(a) of this Subchapter. 

(h)  Upon a resident's return to the facility from a hospitalization, 

the facility shall obtain and review the hospital discharge 

summary or discharge instructions, including any discharge 

medication orders. If the facility identifies discrepancies between 

the discharge orders and current orders at the facility, the facility 

shall clarify the discrepancies with the resident's physician or 

physician extender. 

(d)(i)  Each resident shall be immunized against pneumococcal 

disease and annually against influenza virus according to G.S. 

13D-9, except as otherwise indicated in this law. 

(e)  The facility shall make arrangements for any resident, who 

has been an inpatient of a psychiatric facility within 12 months 

before entering the home and who does not have a current plan 

for psychiatric care, to be examined by a local physician or a 

physician in a mental health center within 30 days after admission 

and to have a plan for psychiatric follow-up care when indicated. 

(j)  The facility shall make arrangements for a resident to be 

evaluated by a licensed mental health professional, licensed 

physician or licensed physician extender for follow-up psychiatric 

care within 30 days of admission or re-admission to the facility 

when the resident: 
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(1) has been an inpatient of a psychiatric facility 

within 12 months prior to admission to the 

facility and does not have a current plan for 

follow-up psychiatric care; or 

(2) has been hospitalized due to threatening or 

violent behavior, suicidal ideation or self-harm, 

or other psychiatric symptoms that required 

hospitalization within 12 months prior to 

admission to the facility and does not have a 

current plan for follow-up psychiatric care. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-165. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0704 RESIDENT CONTRACT, 

INFORMATION ON HOME FACILITY, AND RESIDENT 

REGISTER 

(a)  An adult care home administrator or administrator-in-charge 

or their management designee shall furnish and review with the 

resident or responsible person the resident's authorized 

representative as defined in Rule .1103 of this Subchapter 

information on the home facility upon admission and when 

changes are made to that information. The facility shall involve 

the resident in the review of the resident contract and information 

on the facility unless the resident is cognitively unable to 

participate in the discussion. A statement indicating that this 

information has been received upon admission or amendment as 

required by this Rule shall be signed and dated by each person to 

whom it is given and retained in the resident's record in the home 

facility. The information shall include the following: 

(1) the resident contract to which the following 

applies: 

(A) the contract shall specify rates charges 

for resident services and 

accommodations, including the cost of 

different levels of service, if 

applicable, description of levels of 

care and services, and any other 

charges or fees; 

(B) the contract shall disclose any health 

needs or conditions that the facility has 

determined it cannot meet pursuant to 

G.S. 131D-2(a1)(4); meet; 

(C) the contract shall be signed and dated 

by the administrator or administrator-

in-charge management designee and 

the resident or responsible person, the 

resident's authorized representative, a 

copy given to the resident or 

responsible person the resident's 

authorized representative and a copy 

kept in the resident's record; 

(D) the resident or responsible person the 

resident's authorized representative 

shall be notified as soon as any change 

is known, but not less than 30 days 

before the change for rate changes 

initiated by the facility, of any changes 

in the contract given a written 30-day 

notice prior to any change in charges 

for resident services and 

accommodations, including the cost of 

different levels of service, description 

of level of care and services, and any 

other charges or fees, and be provided 

an amended contract or an amendment 

to the contract for review and 

signature; confirmation of receipt; 

(E) gratuities in addition to the established 

rates shall not be accepted; and 

(F) the maximum monthly adult care 

home rate that may be charged to 

Special Assistance recipients is as 

established by the North Carolina 

Social Services Commission and the 

North Carolina General Assembly. 

Note: Facilities may accept payments for room and board from a 

third party, such as family member, charity or faith community, if 

the payment is made voluntarily to supplement the cost of room 

and board for the added benefit of a private room or a private or 

semi-private room in a special care unit. 

(2) a written copy of all house rules, including 

facility policies on smoking, alcohol 

consumption, visitation, refunds and the 

requirements for discharge of residents 

consistent with the rules of this Subchapter, and 

amendments disclosing any changes in the 

house rules; rules. The house rules shall be in 

compliance with G.S. 131D-21; 

(3) a copy of the Declaration of Residents' Rights 

as found in G.S. 131D-21; 

(4) a copy of the home's facility's grievance 

procedures which that shall indicate how the 

resident is to present complaints and make 

suggestions as to the home's facility's policies 

and services on behalf of himself or herself or 

others; and 

(5) a statement as to whether the home facility has 

signed Form DSS-1464, Statement of 

Assurance of Compliance with Title VI of the 

Civil Rights Act of 1964 for Other Agencies, 

Institutions, Organizations or Facilities, and 

which shall also indicate that, if the home 

facility does not choose to comply or is found 

to be in non-compliance, non-compliant, the 

residents of the home facility would not be able 

to receive State-County Special Assistance for 

Adults and the home facility would not receive 

supportive services from the county department 

of social services. 

(b)  The administrator or administrator-in-charge their 

management designee and the resident or the resident's 

responsible person representative shall complete and sign the 

Resident Register initial assessment within 72 hours of the 

resident's admission to the facility and revise the information on 

the form as needed. in accordance with G.S. 131D-2.15. The 

facility shall involve the resident in the completion of the Resident 

Register unless the resident is cognitively unable to participate. 

The Resident Register shall include the following: 
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(1) resident's identification information including 

the resident's name, date of birth, sex, 

admission date, medical insurance, family and 

emergency contacts, advanced directives, and 

physician's name and address; 

(2) resident's current care needs including activities 

of daily living and services, use of assistive 

aids, orientation status; 

(3) resident's preferences including personal habits, 

food preferences and allergies, community 

involvement, and activity interests; 

(4) resident's consent and request for assistance 

including the release of information, personal 

funds management, personal lockable space, 

discharge information, and assistance with 

personal mail; 

(5) name of the individual identified by the resident 

who is to receive a copy of the notice of 

discharge per G.S. 131D-4.8; and 

(6) resident's consent including a signature 

confirming the review and receipt of 

information contained in the form. 

The Resident Register is available on the internet website, 

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/acls/pdf/resregister.pdf or at no 

charge from the Division of Health Service Regulation, Adult 

Care Licensure Section, 2708 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 

27699-2708. charge. The facility may use a resident information 

form other than the Resident Register as long as it contains at least 

the same information as the Resident Register. Information on the 

Resident Register shall be kept updated and maintained in the 

resident's record. 

 

Authority 131D-2.15; 131D-2.16; 143B-165. 

 

SECTION .1100 – RESIDENT'S FUNDS AND REFUNDS 

 

10A NCAC 13F .1103 LEGAL AUTHORIZED 

REPRESENTATIVE OR PAYEE 

(a)  In situations where a resident of an adult care home is unable 

to manage his their monetary funds, the administrator shall 

contact a family member or the county department of social 

services regarding the need for a legal representative or payee. an 

authorized representative. For the purposes of this Rule, an 

"authorized representative" shall mean a person who is legally 

authorized or designated in writing by the resident to act on his or 

her behalf in the management of their funds. The administrator 

and other staff of the home facility shall not serve as a resident's 

legal authorized representative, payee, or executor of a will, 

except as indicated in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(b)  In the case of funds administered by the Social Security 

Administration, the Veteran's Administration or other federal 

government agencies, the administrator of the home facility may 

serve as a payee when so authorized as a legally constituted 

authority by the respective federal agencies. 

(c)  The administrator shall give the resident's legal authorized 

representative or payee receipts for any monies received on behalf 

of the resident. 

 

Authority G.S. 35A-1203; 108A-37; 131D-2.16; 143B-165. 

10A NCAC 13F .1104 ACCOUNTING FOR 

RESIDENT'S PERSONAL FUNDS 

(a)  To document a resident's receipt of the State-County Special 

Assistance personal needs allowance after payment of the cost of 

care, a statement shall be signed by the resident or marked by the 

resident with two witnesses' signatures. resident. If the statement 

is marked by the resident, there shall be one witness signature. For 

residents who have been adjudicated incompetent, the signature 

of the resident's authorized representative shall be required. 

Witnesses cannot include the staff handling the resident's personal 

funds transactions. The statement shall be maintained in the home. 

facility. 

(b)  Upon the written authorization of the resident or his legal 

representative or payee, their authorized representative, an 

administrator administrator, or the administrator's designee may 

handle the personal money for a resident, provided an accurate 

accounting of monies received and disbursed and the balance on 

hand is available upon request of the resident or his legal 

representative or payee. their authorized representative during the 

facility's established business days and hours. 

(c)  A record of each transaction involving the use of the resident's 

personal funds according to Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be 

signed by the resident, legal resident of the resident's authorized 

representative or payee or marked by the resident, if not 

adjudicated incompetent, with two witnesses' signatures resident 

at least monthly verifying the accuracy of the disbursement of 

personal funds. If marked by the resident, there shall be one 

witness signature. For residents who have been adjudicated 

incompetent, the facility shall provide the resident's authorized 

representative with a copy of the monthly resident's funds 

statement and shall obtain verification of receipt. The record 

records shall be maintained in the home. facility. 

(d)  A resident's personal funds shall not be commingled with 

facility funds. The facility shall not commingle the personal funds 

of residents in an interest-bearing account. 

(e)  All or any portion of a resident's personal funds shall be 

available to the resident or his legal representative or payee their 

authorized representative upon request during regular office 

hours, the facility's established business days and hours except as 

provided in Rule .1105 of this Subchapter. Section. 

(f)  The resident's personal needs allowance shall be credited to 

the resident'' resident's account within 24 hours of the check being 

deposited following endorsement. one business day of the funds 

being available in the facility's resident personal funds account. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-165. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .1106 SETTLEMENT OF COST OF 

CARE (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13G – LICENSING OF FAMILY CARE 

HOMES 

 

SECTION .0700 - ADMISSION AND DISCHARGE 
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10A NCAC 13G .0702 TUBERCULOSIS TEST AND 

MEDICAL EXAMINATION EXAMINATION, AND 

IMMUNIZATIONS 

(a)  Upon admission to a family care home each resident shall be 

tested for tuberculosis disease in compliance with the control 

measures adopted by the Commission for Public Health as 

specified in 10A NCAC 41A .0205 including subsequent 

amendments and editions. Copies of the rule are available at no 

charge by contacting the Department of Health and Human 

Services, Tuberculosis Control Program, 1902 Mail Service 

Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1902. 

(b)  Each resident shall have a medical examination completed by 

a licensed physician or physician extender prior to admission to 

the home and annually thereafter. For the purposes of this Rule, 

"physician extender" means a licensed physician assistant or 

licensed nurse practitioner. The medical examination completed 

prior to admission shall be used by the facility to determine if the 

facility can meet the needs of the resident. 

(c)  The results of the complete examination are to be entered on 

the FL-2, North Carolina Medicaid Program Long Term Care 

Services, or MR-2, North Carolina Medicaid Program Mental 

Retardation Services, which shall comply with the following: 

(1) The examining date recorded on the FL-2 or 

MR-2 shall be no more than 90 days prior to the 

person's admission to the home. 

(2) The FL-2 or MR-2 shall be in the facility before 

admission or accompany the resident upon 

admission and be reviewed by the administrator 

or supervisor-in-charge before admission 

except for emergency admissions. 

(3) In the case of an emergency admission, the 

medical examination and completion of the FL-

2 or MR-2 shall be within 72 hours of 

admission as long as current medication and 

treatment orders are available upon admission 

or there has been an emergency medical 

evaluation, including any orders for 

medications and treatments, upon admission. 

(4) If the information on the FL-2 or MR-2 is not 

clear or is insufficient, the administrator or 

supervisor-in-charge shall contact the physician 

for clarification in order to determine if the 

services of the facility can meet the individual's 

needs. 

(5) The completed FL-2 or MR-2 shall be filed in 

the resident's record in the home. 

(6) If a resident has been hospitalized, the facility 

shall have a completed FL-2 or MR-2 or a 

transfer form or discharge summary with signed 

prescribing practitioner orders upon the 

resident's return to the facility from the hospital. 

The medical examination shall be completed no more than 90 

days prior to the resident's admission to the facility, except in the 

case of emergency admission. 

(d)  In the case of an unplanned, emergency admission, the 

medical examination of the resident shall be conducted within 72 

hours after admission. Prior to an emergency admission, the 

facility shall obtain current medication and treatment orders from 

a licensed physician or physician extender. 

(e)  The result of the medical examination required in Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule shall be documented on the North Carolina 

Medicaid Adult Care Home FL-2 form which is available at no 

cost on the Department's Medicaid website at 

https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/media/6549/open. The Adult Care 

Home FL-2 shall be signed and dated by the physician or 

physician extender completing the medical examination. The 

medical examination shall include the following: 

(1) resident's identification information, including 

the resident's name, date of birth, sex, 

admission date, county and Medicaid number, 

current facility and address, physician's name 

and address, a relative's name and address, 

current level of care, and recommended level of 

care; 

(2) resident's admitting diagnoses, including 

primary and secondary diagnoses and dates of 

onset; 

(3) resident's current medical information, 

including orientation, behaviors, personal care 

assistance needs, frequency of physician visits, 

ambulatory status, functional limitations, 

information related to activities and social 

needs, neurological status, bowel and bladder 

functioning status, manner of communication 

of needs, skin condition, respiratory status, and 

nutritional status including orders for 

therapeutic diets; 

(4) special care factors, including physician orders 

for blood pressure, diabetic urine testing, 

physical therapy, range of motion exercises, a 

bowel and bladder program, a restorative 

feeding program, speech therapy, and 

restraints; 

(5) resident's medications, including the name, 

strength, dosage, frequency and route of 

administration of each medication; 

(6) results of x-rays or laboratory tests determined 

by the physician or physician extender to be 

necessary information related to the resident's 

care needs; and 

(7) additional information as determined by the 

physician or physician extender to be necessary 

for the care of the resident. 

(f)  If the information on the Adult Care Home FL-2 is not clear 

or is insufficient, or information provided to the facility related to 

the resident's condition or medications after the completion of the 

medical examination conflicts with the information provided on 

the Adult Care Home FL-2, the facility shall contact the physician 

or physician extender for clarification in order to determine if the 

facility can meet the individual's needs. 

(g)  The results of the medical examination shall be maintained in 

the resident's record in accordance with Rule .1201 of this 

Subchapter. Discharge medication orders shall be clarified in 

accordance with Rule .1002(a) of this Subchapter. 

(h)  Upon a resident's return to the facility from a hospitalization, 

the facility shall obtain and review the hospital discharge 

summary or discharge instructions, including any discharge 

medication orders. If the facility identifies discrepancies between 
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the discharge orders and current orders at the facility, the facility 

shall clarify the discrepancies with the resident's physician or 

physician extender. 

(d)(i)  Each resident shall be immunized against pneumococcal 

disease and annually against influenza virus according to G.S. 

131D-9, except as otherwise indicated in this law. 

(e)  The home shall make arrangements for any resident, who has 

been an inpatient of a psychiatric facility within 12 months before 

entering the home and who does not have a current plan for 

psychiatric care, to be examined by a local physician or a 

physician in a mental health center within 30 days after admission 

and to have a plan for psychiatric follow-up care when indicated. 

(j)  The facility shall make arrangements for a resident to be 

evaluated by a licensed mental health professional, licensed 

physician or licensed physician extender for follow-up psychiatric 

care within 30 days of admission or re-admission to the facility 

when the resident: 

(1) has been an inpatient of a psychiatric facility 

within 12 months prior to admission to the 

facility and does not have a current plan for 

follow-up psychiatric care; or 

(2) has been hospitalized due to threatening or 

violent behavior, suicidal ideation or self-harm, 

or other psychiatric symptoms that required 

hospitalization within 12 months prior to 

admission to the facility and does not have a 

current plan for follow-up psychiatric care. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-165. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0703 RESIDENT REGISTER 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-165. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0704 RESIDENT CONTRACT AND 

INFORMATION ON HOME CONTRACT, 

INFORMATION ON FACILITY, AND RESIDENT 

REGISTER 

(a)  The administrator or supervisor-in-charge shall furnish and 

review with the resident or his responsible person the resident's 

authorized representative as defined in Rule .1103 of this 

Subchapter information on the family care home facility upon 

admission and when changes are made to that information. The 

facility shall involve the resident in the review of the resident 

contract and information on the facility unless the resident is 

cognitively unable to participate in the discussion. A statement 

indicating that this information has been received upon admission 

or amendment as required by this Rule shall be signed and dated 

by each person to whom it is given. This statement shall be 

retained in the resident's record in the home. facility. The 

information shall include: include the following: 

(1) a copy of the home's resident contract 

specifying rates for resident services and 

accommodations, including the cost of different 

levels of service, if applicable, any other 

charges or fees, and any health needs or 

conditions the home has determined it cannot 

meet pursuant to G.S. 131D-2(a1)(4). In 

addition, the following applies: the resident 

contract to which the following applies: 

(A) the contract shall specify charges for 

resident services and 

accommodations, including the cost of 

different levels of service, description 

of levels of care and services, and any 

other charges or fees; 

(B) the contract shall disclose any health 

needs or conditions that the facility has 

determined it cannot meet; 

(a)(C) The the contract shall be signed and 

dated by the administrator or 

supervisor-in-charge and the resident 

or his responsible person the resident's 

authorized representative and a copy 

given to the resident or his responsible 

person; the resident's authorized 

representative and a copy kept in the 

resident's record; 

(b)(D) The the resident or his responsible 

person the resident's authorized 

representative shall be notified as soon 

as any change is known, but not less 

than 30 days for rate changes initiated 

by the home, of any rate changes or 

other changes in the contract affecting 

the resident services and 

accommodations given a written 30-

day notice prior to any change in 

charges for resident services and 

accommodations, including the cost of 

different levels of service, description 

of level of care and services, and any 

other charges or fees, and be provided 

an amended copy of the contract for 

review and signature; confirmation of 

receipt; 

(c)  A copy of each signed contract shall be kept 

in the resident's record in the home; 

(d)(E) Gratuities gratuities in addition to the 

established rates shall not be accepted; 

and 

(e)(F) The maximum monthly rate that may 

be charged to Special Assistance 

recipients is as established by the 

North Carolina Social Services 

Commission and the North Carolina 

General Assembly; 

Note: Facilities may accept payments for room 

and board from a third party, such as family 

member, charity or faith community, if the 

payment is made voluntarily to supplement the 

cost of room and board for the added benefit of 

a private room. 

(2) a written copy of any house rules, including the 

conditions for the discharge and transfer of 

residents, the refund policies, and the home's 

facility's policies on smoking, alcohol 
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consumption and visitation consumption, 

visitation, refunds, and the requirements for 

discharge of residents consistent with the rules 

in this Subchapter and amendments disclosing 

any changes in the house rules; rules. The house 

rules shall be in compliance with G.S. 131D-21; 

(3) a copy of the Declaration of Residents' Rights 

as found in G.S. 131D-21; 

(4) a copy of the home's facility's grievance 

procedures which that shall indicate how the 

resident is to present complaints and make 

suggestions as to the home's facility's policies 

and services on behalf of self or others; and 

(5) a statement as to whether the home facility has 

signed Form DSS-1464, Statement of 

Assurance of Compliance with Title VI of the 

Civil Rights Act of 1964 for Other Agencies, 

Institutions, Organizations or Facilities, and 

which shall also indicate that if the home 

facility does not choose to comply or is found 

to be in non-compliance non-compliant the 

residents of the home facility would not be able 

to receive State-County Special Assistance for 

Adults and the home facility would not receive 

supportive services from the county department 

of social services. 

(b)  A family care home's administrator or supervisor-in-charge 

and the resident or the resident's responsible person shall complete 

and sign the Resident Register initial assessment within 72 hours 

of the resident's admission to the facility in accordance with G.S. 

131D-2.15. The facility shall involve the resident in the 

completion of the Resident Register unless the resident is 

cognitively unable to participate. The Resident Register shall 

include the following: 

(1) resident's identification information including 

the resident's name, date of birth, sex, 

admission date, medical insurance, family and 

emergency contacts, advanced directives, and 

physician's name and address; 

(2) resident's current care needs including activities 

of daily living and services, use of assistive 

aids, orientation status; 

(3) resident's preferences including personal habits, 

food preferences and allergies, community 

involvement, and activity interests; 

(4) resident's consent and request for assistance 

including the release of information, personal 

funds management, personal lockable space, 

discharge information, and assistance with 

personal mail; 

(5) name of the individual identified by the resident 

who is to receive a copy of the notice of 

discharge per G.S. 131D-4.8; and 

(6) resident's consent including a signature 

confirming the review and receipt of 

information contained in the form. 

The Resident Register is available on the internet website, 

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/acls/pdf/resregister.pdf, at no 

charge. The facility may use a resident information form other 

than the Resident Register as long as it contains same information 

as the Resident Register. Information on the Resident Register 

shall be kept updated and maintained in the resident's record. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-165. 

 

SECTION .1100 – MANAGEMENT OF RESIDENT'S 

FUNDS AND REFUNDS 

 

10A NCAC 13G .1102 LEGAL AUTHORIZED 

REPRESENTATIVE OR PAYEE 

(a)  In situations where a resident of a family care home is unable 

to manage his funds, their monetary funds the administrator shall 

contact a family member or the county department of social 

services regarding the need for a legal representative or payee. 

authorized representative. For the purposes of this Rule, an 

"authorized representative" shall mean a person who is legally 

authorized or designated in writing by the resident to act on his or 

her behalf in the management of their funds. The administrator 

and other staff of the home facility shall not serve as a resident's 

legal authorized representative, payee, or executor of a will, 

except as indicated in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(b)  In the case of funds administered by the Social Security 

Administration, the Veteran's Administration or other federal 

government agencies, the administrator of the home facility may 

serve as a payee when so authorized as a legally constituted 

authority by the respective federal agencies. 

(c)  The administrator shall give the resident's legal authorized 

representative or payee receipts for any monies received on behalf 

of the resident. 

 

Authority G.S. 35A-1203; 108A-37; 131D-2.16; 143B-165. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .1103 ACCOUNTING FOR 

RESIDENT'S PERSONAL FUNDS 

(a)  To document a resident's receipt of the State-County Special 

Assistance personal needs allowance after payment of the cost of 

care, a statement shall be signed by the resident or marked by the 

resident with two witnesses' signatures. resident. If the statement 

is marked by the resident, there shall be one witness signature. For 

residents who have been adjudicated incompetent, the signature 

of the resident's authorized representative shall be required. 

Witnesses cannot include the staff handling the residents' personal 

funds transactions. The statement shall be maintained in the home. 

facility. 

(b)  Upon the written authorization of the resident or his legal 

representative or payee, their authorized representative, an 

administrator or the administrator's designee may handle the 

personal money for a resident, provided an accurate accounting of 

monies received and disbursed and the balance on hand is 

available upon request of the resident or his legal representative 

or payee. their authorized representative during the facility's 

established business days and hours. 

(c)  A record of each transaction involving the use of the resident's 

personal funds according to Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be 

signed by the resident, legal representative or payee the resident 

or the resident's authorized representative, or marked by the 

resident, if not adjudicated incompetent, with two witnesses' 

signatures resident, at least monthly verifying the accuracy of the 
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disbursement of personal funds. If marked by the resident, there 

shall be one witness signature. For residents who have been 

adjudicated incompetent, the facility shall provide the resident's 

authorized representative with a copy of the monthly resident's 

funds statement and shall obtain verification of receipt. The record 

records shall be maintained in the home. facility. 

(d)  A resident's personal funds shall not be commingled with 

facility funds. The facility shall not commingle the personal funds 

of residents in an interest-bearing account. 

(e)  All or any portion of a resident's personal funds shall be 

available to the resident or his legal their authorized representative 

or payee upon request during regular office hours, the facility's 

established business days and hours except as provided in Rule 

.1105 of this Subchapter. 

(f)  The resident's personal needs allowance shall be credited to 

the resident's account within 24 hours of the check being 

deposited following endorsement. one business day of the funds 

being available in the facility's resident personal funds account. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-165. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .1106 SETTLEMENT OF COST OF 

CARE (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

Authority G.S. 35A-1203; 108A-37; 131D-2.16; 143B-165. 

 

 

TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Private Protective Services Board intends to adopt the rule cited 

as 14B NCAC 16 .1109, amend the rules cited as 14B NCAC 16 

.0701, .0902, .0904, .0910, and repeal the rules cited as 14B 

NCAC 16 .0708 and .0912. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 

on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https:www.ncdps.gov/about-dps/boards-commissions/private-

protective-services-board 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2023 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  July 11, 2023 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  3101 Industrial Dr., Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Existing .0701(a)(3) requires only 

48 months which is inconsistent with all other new credentials 

such as new armed guard registration, new firearms trainer, new 

unarmed armored car registration, new armed armored car 

registration and new and renewal licenses, all of which require 

60 days. The Justice Academy is no longer the sole source of 

firearms trainer training so .0902 is amended to reflect this. 

Existing .0904(a)(2) requires a 48 month background check 

which is inconsistent with the rule for renewing an unarmed guard 

trainer certificate which require 24 months. Existing .0910 

(application for unarmed guard trainer) is amended to match the 

requirements of .0902 (application for firearms trainer.) 

 

.0708 is being repealed since this information is uploaded as part 

of .0907 and .0912 is being repealed because this information is 

now uploaded as part of the renewal process. 

 

The private investigator industry expressed to the Board an 

interest in being able to employ interns and participate in 

apprenticeship programs. (Since apprenticeships had not 

previously existed the Board did not comply with G.S. 93B-8.6 

when enacted.) New .1109 allows for probationary employees, 

interns and apprentices. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Paul Sherwin, 3101 Industrial 

Dr., Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (919) 788-5320; fax 

(919) 715-0370; email paul.sherwin@ncdps.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  August 14, 2023 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 16 - PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES 

BOARD 

 

SECTION .0700 - SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION 

(UNARMED) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0701 APPLICATION FOR UNARMED 

SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION 

(a)  Each employer or his or her designee shall submit an online 

application for the registration of each employee to the Board. 

This online submission shall be accompanied by: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigations or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an applicant 

fingerprint card that shall be mailed separately 

to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(3) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 48 60 months; 

(4) the applicant's non-refundable registration fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee 

and credit card transaction fee; 

(5) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; 

(6) one original signed SBI release of information 

form that shall be uploaded online with the 

original mailed to the Board's administrative 

office; 

(7) a statement signed by a certified trainer that the 

applicant has completed the training 

requirements of Rule .0707 of this Section if 

applicable; and 

(8) a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(b)  The employer of each applicant for registration shall give the 

applicant a copy of the application and the completed affidavit 

form and shall retain a copy of the application, including the 

affidavit, in the guard's personnel file in the employer's office. 

(c)  The applicant's copy of the application and completed 

affidavit form shall serve as a temporary registration card that 

shall be carried by the applicant when he or she is working within 

the scope of his or her employment and shall be exhibited upon 

the request of any law enforcement officer or authorized 

representative of the Board. 

(d)  A copy of the statement required by Subparagraph (a)(7) of 

this Rule shall be retained by the licensee in the individual 

applicant's personnel file in the employer's office. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8.1; 74C-11. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0708 TRAINER NAME TO BE 

SUBMITTED TO DIRECTOR 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13(m). 

 

SECTION .0900 – TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

14B NCAC 16 .0902 APPLICATION FOR FIREARMS 

TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

Each applicant for a firearms trainer certificate shall submit an 

online application to the Board. The application shall be 

accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigations or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an applicant 

fingerprint card that shall be mailed separately 

to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online submission 

and submitted by uploading online with the 

application submission; 

(3) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 60 months; 

(4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; 

(5) the applicant's non-refundable application fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee 

and credit card transaction fee; 

(6) evidence of the liability insurance required by 

G.S. 74C-10(e) if the applicant is not an 

employee of a licensee; 

(7) a certificate of successful completion of the 

training required by Rule .0901(a)(3) and (4) of 

this Section, stating the training was completed 

within 60 days of the submission of the 

application and uploaded online as part of the 

online application process; and Section or 

acceptable certificate of other current 

certification as set forth in Rule .0901(c) and (d) 

of this Section; and 

(8) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the North Carolina Justice 

Academy or other entity to cover the cost of the 

firearms training course given by the N.C. 

Justice Academy and collected as part of the 

online application process by the Private 

Protective Services Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8.1(a); 74C-13. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0904 RENEWAL OF A FIREARMS 

TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of a firearms trainer certificate 

shall complete an online renewal form on the website provided by 

the Board. This form shall be submitted online not less than 30 
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days prior to the expiration of the applicant's current certificate 

and shall be accompanied by: 

(1) uploaded online a certificate of successful 

completion of a firearms trainer refresher 

course approved by the Board and the Secretary 

of Public Safety consisting of a minimum of 

eight hours of classroom and practical range 

training in safety and maintenance of the 

applicable firearm (i.e. handgun, shotgun, or 

rifle), range operations, control and safety 

procedures, and methods of firing. This training 

shall be completed within 180 days of the 

submission of the renewal application; 

(2) uploaded online a statement of the results of a 

criminal history records search by the reporting 

service designated by the Board pursuant to 

G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state where the 

applicant has resided within the preceding 48 

24 months; and 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee, along with the four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit card 

transaction fee. 

(b)  If there is a criminal charge pending against the applicant for 

renewal that constitutes a deniable offense under G.S. 74C-

8(d)(2), consideration of the application shall be deferred until the 

criminal charge is adjudicated. 

(c)  Members of the armed forces whose certification is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 

the certification renewal fee and to complete any continuing 

education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the 

military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue 

Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

(d)  Any firearms trainer who fails to qualify with the minimum 

score during the refresher course shall not continue to instruct 

during the period between the failure to qualify and the expiration 

of his or her permit. 

(e)  The holder of a firearms trainer certificate may utilize a 

dedicated light system or gun mounted light for personal 

requalification. 

(f)  During a national or State declared state of emergency that 

restricts or prohibits a certified firearms trainer from requalifying, 

the Board shall, upon written request to the Director by the 

licensee, extend the deadline for requalification up to 90 days 

beyond the effective period of the state of emergency. Any 

certificate renewed pursuant to this Paragraph shall be issued 

conditionally and shall automatically expire on the 90th day if 

requalification requirements have not been met. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8.1(a); 74C-9; 74C-13. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0910 APPLICATION FOR AN 

UNARMED TRAINER 

Each applicant for an unarmed trainer certificate shall submit an 

online application to the Board. The application shall be 

accompanied by: 

(1) the certified trainer application fee established 

in Rule .0903(a)(2) of this Section, along with 

a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit 

card transaction fee; and 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigations or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an applicant 

fingerprint card that shall be mailed separately 

to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online submission 

and submitted by uploading online with the 

application submission; 

(3) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G. S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 60 months; 

(4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; 

(5) the applicant's non-refundable application fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee 

and credit card transaction fee; 

(2)(6) a certificate of successful completion of the 

required training. This training shall have been 

completed within 120 days of the submission of 

the application training required by Rule 

.0909(a)(3) of this Section or current certificate 

of other acceptable certification as set forth in 

Rule .0909(b) of this Section. 

(7) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by Wake Technical Community 

College, or other entity, to cover the cost of the 

unarmed guard trainer course and collected as 

part of the online application process by the 

Private Protective Services Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-8; 74C-9; 74C-11; 74C-13. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0912 ROSTERS OF UNARMED 

TRAINER CLASSES 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13. 

 

SECTION .1100 - TRAINING AND SUPERVISION FOR 

PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR ASSOCIATES 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1109 PROBATIONARY EMPLOYEES 

(a)  A private investigator licensee may employ a potential trainee 

as a probationary employee for 60 consecutive calendar days. The 

Director, upon written request, may extend the probationary 

period by 30 additional days. 
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(b)  A private investigator licensee may supervise an intern as a 

probationary employee concurrent with the educational 

institution's schedule. 

(c)  A private investigator licensee may employ an apprentice 

participating in a North Carolina Registered Apprenticeship 

Program as set forth in G.S. 93B-8.6 as a probationary employee 

for the period prescribed in the federal guidelines as set forth 

therein. 

(d)  To qualify as an "intern" the potential probationary employee 

must be enrolled as a student in a high school, community college, 

college or university, be in good standing with the educational 

institution, and the internship must be for credit towards a degree, 

diploma, or certificate issued by the educational institution. 

(e)  Upon completion of the probationary period and the desire of 

the licensee to supervise the probationary employee as a private 

investigator trainee, the potential trainee shall apply pursuant to 

Section .0200 of this Chapter. 

(f)  For hours gained during probationary employment, an 

internship, or apprenticeship to be considered for licensure the 

probationary employee shall comply with Rule .1102 of this 

Section. 

(g)  Before a probationary employee engages in any activity 

defined as private investigation or has access to any confidential 

client information, the employee shall complete 40 hours of one-

on-one supervision by the supervising licensee, and the licensee 

shall conduct a criminal record check on the employee. 

(h)  Before engaging the probationary employee, intern, or 

apprentice the licensee shall submit to the Director in writing the 

name, address, last four digits of social security number, 

confirmation that the results of the criminal history record check 

contain no prohibitions as set forth in G.S. 74C-8(d)(2), and 

anticipated start date and ending date of employment of the 

probationary employee. The Director shall confirm receipt within 

three business days of receipt. 

(i)  Probationary employment which does not comply with this 

Rule is a violation of Rule .0204(c)(2) of this Chapter. 

(j)  Any probationary employee, intern, or apprentice shall be a 

minimum of 18 years of age. 

(k)  The use of the terms "employee" and "employment" in this 

Rule does not require or mandate compensation for any 

probationary employment, internship, or apprenticeship. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5(2); 93B-8.6. 

 

 

TITLE 16 – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

State Board of Education intends to adopt the rule cited as 16 

NCAC 06G .0601. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.dpi.nc.gov/about-dpi/state-board-education/rules-

apa 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2023 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  June 30, 2023 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  

https://ncgov.webex.com/ncgov/j.php?MTID=m9c65c3d81c80aff

504a1eff74a28bd3c 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  S.L. 2022-59 enacted Chapter 234 

of the General Statutes which authorizes the State Board of 

Education to approve local school administrative units 

applications to operate remote academies beginning with the 

2023-24 school year.  Remote academies must meet the 

requirements outlined in Chapter 234. G.S. 115C-234.10(b)(1) 

requires remote academies to provide students with any hardware 

and software needed to participate in the remote academy. G.S. 

115C-234.10(b)(1) specifically states: “Students may not be 

charged rental fees but may be charged damage fees for abuse or 

loss of hardware or software under rules adopted by the State 

Board of Education.” The State Board of Education has adopted 

this rule to define damage fees and rental fees for hardware and 

software provided to students enrolled in remote academies. The 

effect of the rule will be to permit local school administrative units 

to charge students for damage to school issued hardware or 

software. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Thomas Ziko, 6301 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-6301; email 

thomas.ziko@dpi.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  August 14, 2023 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 06 - ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY 

EDUCATION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06G - EDUCATION AGENCY 

RELATIONS 
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SECTION .0600 – RMOTE ACADEMIES 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0601 REMOTE ACADEMIES 

HARDWARE AND SOFTWARE FEES 

(a)  Definitions: 

(1) "Damage fee" means "any mandatory payments 

that a local school administrative unit charges a 

student enrolled in a remote academy for injury 

to, abuse of, or loss of hardware or software that 

the local school administrative unit has 

provided to the student other than degradation 

arising from normal use, wear and tear, 

provided the payments cannot exceed the actual 

cost of repair or fair market value of the 

hardware or software, whichever is less." 

(2) "Rental fee" means "any mandatory payments 

that a local school administrative unit requires 

students enrolled in remote academies to make 

before the local school administrative unit will 

give a student access to or possession of any 

hardware and software needed to participate in 

the remote academy." 

(b)  Local administrative units shall not charge students enrolled 

in remote academies rental fees for use of hardware or software 

needed to participate in the remote academy but may charge them 

damage fees. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-234.10(1)(b). 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 42 – BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN 

OPTOMETRY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Examiners in Optometry intends to amend the rule cited 

as 21 NCAC 42B .0201. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncoptometry.org/proposed-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2023 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Contact the Board 

at (910) 285-3160 or email janice@ncoptometry.org 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The Board needs to know any 

location where a licensee is practicing prior to seeing patients. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Janice Peterson, 521 Yopp 

Rd., Suite 214 #444, Jacksonville, NC 28540; phone (910) 285-

3160; fax (910) 285-4546; email janice@ncoptometry.org 

 

Comment period ends:  August 14, 2023 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 42B - LICENSE TO PRACTICE 

OPTOMETRY 

 

SECTION .0200 - RESPONSIBILITY TO SUPPLY 

INFORMATION 

 

21 NCAC 42B .0201 BEGINNING PRACTICE; 

RELOCATING PRACTICE 

Within 10 days of Prior to beginning practice, a licensee shall 

notify the Board in writing as to the full and complete mailing 

address, including the street address, of his or her office and the 

telephone number of such office. If at any time any office is 

relocated, the licensee involved shall notify the Board of his or 

her new office address and telephone number. The address so 

identified shall constitute his or her primary practice address and 

the address to which all information pertaining to his or her 

licensure shall be addressed. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-117.5. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the 

Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative 

Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270th day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to 

the Rules Review Commission by the 270th day. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-21.1 

and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS 

AND COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 06 – BOARD OF BARBER AND 

ELECTROLYSIS EXAMINERS 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Board of Barber and Electrolysis 

Examiners 

 

Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 06O .0201; 06U .0101, .0106-.0110; 

06Z .0101-.0110 

 

Effective Date:  June 1, 2023 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  May 18, 

2023 

 

Reason for Action:  S.L. 2022-72 created the new North Carolina 

Board of Barber and Electrolysis Examiners. It also established 

G.S. 86B-65, which requires the board to issue licenses to 

qualifying individuals who complete an electrology 

apprenticeship program. 

Finally, it increased the fees the board could change for 

electrologist examinations. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06O – CIVIL PENALTY 

 

SECTION .0200 – ELECTROLYSIS 

 

21 NCAC 06O .0201 ELECTROLOGY 

APPRENTICESHIP PROGRAM 

(a)  The presumptive civil penalty for an individual operating an 

electrology apprenticeship program without Board approval: 

(1) 1st offense $300.00 

(2) 2nd offense $400.00 

(3) 3rd offense $500.00 

(b)  The presumptive civil penalty for an electrology 

apprenticeship program if that program accepting accepts tuition 

from or enrolling enrolls a student before the Board has issued a 

student permit: 

(1) 1st offense $300.00 

(2) 2nd offense $400.00 

(3) 3rd offense $500.00 

(c)  The presumptive civil penalty for an individual engaging as a 

student in an electrology apprenticeship program before the Board 

has issued a student permit: 

(1) 1st offense $200.00 

(2) 2nd offense $300.00 

(3) 3rd offense $500.00 

(d)  The presumptive civil penalty for an electrology 

apprenticeship program failing to comply with the facility 

requirements as set forth in 21 NCAC 06Z .0103: 

(1) 1st offense $250.00 

(2) 2nd offense $400.00 

(3) 3rd offense $500.00 

(e)  The presumptive civil penalty for an electrology 

apprenticeship program providing practical training without the 

student permit displayed at the electrology station: 

(1) 1st offense $100.00 

(2) 2nd offense $150.00 

(3) 3rd offense $250.00 

(f)  The presumptive civil penalty for an electrology 

apprenticeship program providing training without an instructor 

present: 

(1) 1st offense $150.00 

(2) 2nd offense $300.00 

(3) 3rd offense $500.00 

(g)  The presumptive civil penalty for an electrology 

apprenticeship program failing to maintain records required by 

this Chapter: 21 NCAC 06Z .0101 or 21 NCAC 06Z .0104: 

(1) 1st offense $200.00 

(2) 2nd offense $250.00 

(3) 3rd offense $500.00 

(h)  The presumptive civil penalty for an electrology 

apprenticeship program falsifying records required by this 

Chapter: 21 NCAC 06U .0106, 21 NCAC 06U .0107, or 21 

NCAC 06Z .0104 is $500.00. 

(i)  The presumptive civil penalty for an electrology 

apprenticeship program failing to submit records required by this 

Chapter: 21 NCAC 06U .0107 or 21 NCAC 06Z .0104: 

(1) 1st offense $200.00 

(2) 2nd offense $350.00 

(3) 3rd offense $500.00 

(j)  The presumptive civil penalty for an electrology 

apprenticeship program allowing an individual to instruct without 

an instructor authorization: 

(1) 1st offense $200.00 

(2) 2nd offense $300.00 

(3) 3rd offense $500.00 

(k)  The presumptive civil penalty for an individual instructing 

without authorization from the Board at an electrology 

apprenticeship program: 

(1) 1st offense $200.00 

(2) 2nd offense $300.00 

(3) 3rd offense $500.00 

(l)  The presumptive civil penalty for an individual failing to 

submit the required notification set forth in 21 NCAC 06Z 

.0106(c): 

(1) 1st offense $50.00 

(2) 2nd offense $100.00 

(3) 3rd offense $200.00 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86B-10; 86B-65; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 1, 2023. 
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SUBCHAPTER 06U – ELECTROLYSIS FEES AND FORMS 

 

21 NCAC 06U .0101 FEES 

(a)  The following fees are payable to the Board for licensure as an electrologist: 

(1) Application for licensure    $150.00 

(2) Initial licensure    $125.00 

(3) Renewal of licensure    $125.00 

(b)  The following fees are payable to the Board for licensure as a laser hair practitioner: 

(1) Application for licensure    $125.00 

(2) Initial licensure    $125.00 

(3) Renewal of licensure    $150.00 

(c)  The following fees are payable to the Board for certification as an instructor: 

(1) Application for Electrology instructor    $150.00 

(2) Renewal of Electrology instructor    $125.00 

(3) Application for laser hair practitioner instructor    $150.00 

(4) Renewal of laser hair practitioner instructor    $125.00 

(d)  The following fees are payable to the Board for certification as a Board approved school: 

(1) IN STATE SCHOOL 

(A) Application for certification as an Electrology school    $250.00 

(B) Renewal of certification as an Electrology school    $150.00 

(C) Application for certification as a laser, light source, 

or pulse light treatment school       $250.00 

(D) Renewal of certification for a laser, light source, 

or pulse light treatment school       $150.00 

(2) OUT-OF-STATE SCHOOL 

(A) Application for certification as an Electrology school    $400.00 

(B) Initial certification as an Electrology school    $100.00 

(C) Renewal of certification for an Electrology school    $100.00 

(D) Application for certification as a laser, light source, 

or pulse light treatment school       $350.00 

(E) Initial certification as a laser, light source, 

or pulse light treatment school       $75.00 

(F) Renewal of certification as a laser, light source, 

or pulse light treatment school       $100.00 

(e)  The following other fees are payable to the Board: 

(1) Electrologist Examination or reexamination   $125.00 $150.00 

(2) Office inspection or re-inspection 

(A) Electrologist – per licensee, for each office site    $100.00 

(B) Laser Hair Practitioner – per licensee, for each office site    $100.00 

(C) Electrology apprenticeship program facility    $100.00 

(3) License by reciprocity    $125.00 

(4) Late renewal charge    $50.00 

(5) Reinstatement of expired license    $250.00 

(6) Reinstatement of instructor licensure    $250.00 

(7) Reactivation of license    $150.00 

(8) Reactivation of instructor licensure    $150.00 

(9) Duplicate license    $25.00 

(f)  All fees shall be paid only by check check, cashier check, official check, teller check, or money order, made payable to "The North 

"North Carolina Board of Barber and Electrolysis Examiners." 

(g)  Renewal fees required for Subparagraphs (a)(3), (b)(3), (c)(2), (c)(4), (e)(2), and (e)(9) of this Rule shall be waived for licensees 

under this Chapter that who are exempt from renewal fees under G.S. 93B-15. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88A-9; 86B-70; 93B-15; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 1, 1991 for a period of 62 days to expire on February 1, 1992; 

Eff. January 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 17, 2001; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2015; October 9, 2010; December 4, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. September 1, 2019; 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 19 .0201 Eff. January 1, 2023. 2023; 
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Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 06U .0106 STUDENT PERMIT FOR 

ELECTROLOGY APPRENTICESHIP PROGRAM 

(a)  The electrology apprenticeship program shall file an 

application for a student permit shall be filed for to request 

permission to enroll in an electrology apprenticeship program. 

The application requires the following: 

(1) the name, address, social security number, and 

birth date of the applicant; 

(2) the name, address, email address, and website 

address of the electrology business where the 

apprenticeship program will occur; 

(3) the name and license number of the 

electrologist under whom the applicant will 

study; 

(4) the name of the owner of the electrology 

business where the apprenticeship program will 

occur, if the owner is different from the person 

listed in Subparagraph (3) of this Paragraph; 

and 

(5) the date when the apprenticeship program will 

begin. 

(b)  The electrology apprenticeship program shall submit the 

application shall be submitted to the Board at the address in 21 

NCAC 06A .0102. mailing address in 21 NCAC 06A .0102(a) or 

website address in 21 NCAC 06A .0102(c). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86B-65; 93B-14; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 06U .0107 MONTHLY REPORTS FOR 

ELECTROLOGY APPRENTICESHIP PROGRAM 

(a)  The monthly report for an electrology apprenticeship program 

is a Board-prescribed form that shall be filed by the program 

instructor or facility owner. owner at any address in 21 NCAC 

06A .0102. The form shall be available at the website addresses 

listed in 21 NCAC 06A .0102. 

(b)  The monthly report shall include contain the following 

information: 

(1) the name of the electrology apprenticeship 

program; 

(2) the name of the student; 

(3) the month and year for which the report is filed; 

and 

(4) the dates and number of hours of the student's 

attendance, with the hours broken down by the 

topics in the curriculum set forth in 21 NCAC 

06Z .0102. 

(c)  The monthly report shall be signed by the instructor, who shall 

attest that the contents of the report are accurate. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86B-65; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 06U .0108 APPLICATION FOR 

INSTRUCTOR IN ELECTROLOGY APPRENTICESHIP 

PROGRAM 

(a)  An application shall be filed by an individual who seeks Board 

authorization as an instructor in an electrology apprenticeship 

program. The application requires the following: 

(1) the name, address, and birth date of the 

applicant; 

(2) the applicant's current electrology license 

number; and 

(3) Evidence evidence that the applicant has 

completed of completing the Board-approved 

continuing education as set forth in G.S. 86B-

65(d)(3). G.S. 86B-65(d)(3) and approved 

under 21 NCAC 06Y .0102. This continuing 

education shall be separate from continuing 

education received for other licenses issued by 

the Board. 

(b)  The form shall include the applicant's attestation that the 

information in the form is correct. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86B-65; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 06U .0109 POST-APPRENTICESHIP 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 

(a)  The post-apprenticeship application for licensure shall be filed 

by an individual who has completed an electrology apprenticeship 

program as set forth in S.L. 2022-72, s. 2, and this Section. G.S. 

86B-65 and Subchapter Z of this Chapter. The application 

requires the following information: 

(1) the name, address, social security number, and 

birthdate of the applicant; 

(2) the name and address of the electrology 

apprenticeship program; 

(3) the name of the instructor of the electrology 

apprenticeship program; 

(4) the names and addresses of the two electrologist 

offices where the applicant visited, as well as 

the dates when the visits occurred, as required 

by S.L. 2022-72, s. 2; G.S. 86B-65(a)(2); 

(5) a passport-acceptable photograph color 

photograph of the applicant that is two inches 

by two inches and has been taken within the 

past two years; and 

(6) proof of age as evidenced by a copy of a 

current: 

(A) driver license or identification card 

issued by a state or territory in the 

United States; 

(B) United States passport or passport 

card; 

(C) United States permanent resident card; 

(D) United States employment 

authorization document card; 
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(E) birth certificate issued by a state, 

county, municipal authority, or 

outlying territory of the United States; 

(F) consular report of birth abroad, 

certification of birth abroad issued by 

the United States Department of State, 

or certification of report of birth issued 

by the United States Department of 

State; or 

(G) Native American tribal document. 

(b)  The fee in Rule .0101 of this Section shall be submitted with 

the application. 

(c)  The application form shall include the applicant's attestation 

that the information in the form is correct. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86B-65; 93B-14; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 06U .0110 APPLICATION FOR APPROVAL 

AS AN ELECTROLOGY APPRENTICESHIP PROGRAM 

(a)  An application shall be filed by a facility that wishes to offer 

an electrology apprenticeship program. The application requires 

the following: 

(1) the name and address of the business; 

(2) the names, addresses, and authorization 

numbers of the instructors for the electrology 

apprenticeship program; 

(3) the names and addresses of the owners of the 

electrology apprenticeship program, if different 

from the information provided under 

Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph; 

(4) the business hours; business's hours of 

operation; 

(5) the physical dimension of the training area; 

(6) the number of treatment tables; and 

(7) the date the business will be ready for 

inspection. 

(b)  The fee required by Rule .0101 of this Section shall 

accompany the application. 

(c)  The application shall include the applicant's attestation that 

the information in the form is correct. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86B-65; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 1, 2023. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06Z – ELECTROLOGY 

APPRENTICESHIP PROGRAM 

 

21 NCAC 06Z .0101 ENROLLMENT 

REQUIREMENTS AND STUDENT PERMITS 

(a)  An electrology apprenticeship program shall not accept tuition 

from or enroll a student unless the student electrology 

apprenticeship program has submitted the application for a 

student permit required by 21 NCAC 06U .0106 and been the 

Board has issued a student permit by the Board. to the student. 

(b)  The student permit shall only be valid for a specific 

electrology apprenticeship program and cannot be used in another 

location. 

(c)  A The electrology apprenticeship program shall file a new 

application for a student permit shall be filed with the Board for a 

student who drops out of the program and later re-enrolls. 

(d)  Before accepting tuition or enrolling a student, the 

apprenticeship program shall notify a student applicant of the 

minimum qualifications for licensure as an electrologist as set 

forth in G.S. 86B-53, including the minimum-age requirement. 

The apprenticeship program shall have the applicant sign and date 

the notice indicating that the applicant has been informed of the 

qualifications. The apprenticeship program shall retain the signed 

and dated notice for at least one year after the student terminates 

from the program. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86B-65; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 1, 2023. 

 

 

21 NCAC 06Z .0102 CURRICULUM 

(a)  The curriculum for an electrology apprenticeship program shall consist of 625 hours of technical instruction and practical training 

as set below: 

Hours 

Electrology Fundamentals I 

Clinical techniques                 50 

Infectious agents and sterilization                24 

Histology of the cell and skin                24 

Histology of the hair                 24 

Modalities: galvanic, thermolysis, blend, and epilators             44 

Electrology Fundamentals II 

Endocrine system                  20 

Disease and disorders of the skin                24 

Electricity                   10 

Anatomy and physiology                 20 

Business procedures and regulations               10 

Onsite Practical Training 

General orientation 

Rules of the program                  1 

Personal hygiene and dress                 1 

Professional ethics and office rules                 1 
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Laws governing electrolysis                 1 

Pathology 

Sanitation, sterilization, and disinfection                2 

State regulations on pathogen control                1 

Variables 

Probes                     1 

Intensity                     2 

Timing                     2 

Depth of insertion                  5 

Angle of insertion                15 

General Treatment Procedures 

Consultations                   5 

Positioning and draping of the client while working               2 

Observation of modalities 

Electrolysis (DC – galvanic)                 5 

Thermolysis (SW – shortwave)               15 

Blend (combination of galvanic and shortwave)             10 

Hands-on experience with modalities 

Electrolysis (DC – galvanic)               25 

Thermolysis (SW – shortwave)             200 

Blend (combination of galvanic and shortwave)             75 

Equipment maintenance and upkeep                 1 

Development of practice: public relations and advertisement, office procedure and management, financial 

recordkeeping, customer service, and office upkeep                5 

Total Hours 625 

(b)  The student shall complete Electrology Fundamentals I before beginning other parts of the curriculum. The student shall not begin 

Onsite Practical Training before Electrology Fundamentals II, although the student may do Onsite Practical Training at the same time 

as Electrology Fundamentals II. 

(c)  The student shall complete Electrology Fundamentals I within a 25-week time frame. The student shall complete both Electrology 

Fundamentals II and Onsite Practical Training within a 52-week time frame. 

(d)  The electrology apprenticeship program may offer Electrology Fundamentals I and Electrology Fundamentals II online. The program 

shall only offer Onsite Practical Training, as described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in person. 

(e)  The electrology apprenticeship program shall administer exams for each topic under Electrology Fundamentals I and Electrology 

Fundamentals II, as set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, to determine whether a student has an understanding of the material that is 

satisfactory to the program. 

(f)  The electrology apprenticeship program shall use the following textbooks: 

(1) "Milady's Hair Removal Techniques: A Comprehensive Manual"; and 

(2) "Milady's Standard Esthetics." 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86B-65; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 06Z .0103 FACILITY REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  A North Carolina electrology facility that offers an electrology 

apprenticeship program shall have the following equipment 

onsite: 

(1) A high frequency or thermolysis (short wave) 

machine; 

(2) A galvanic/thermolysis (blend) machine; 

(3) A 13.5 MHz epilator; 

(4) A 27 MHz epilator; 

(5) A treatment table; 

(6) Two stools or adjustable chairs for each 

treatment table; 

(7) A supply cabinet for each treatment table; 

(8) Six dozen epilation forceps (tweezers) that meet 

the requirements set forth in 21 NCAC 06V 

.0105(c)(2); 

(9) At least one holding tank for epilation forceps 

(tweezers) at each electrology station; 

(10) A sharps container for each electrology station; 

(11) At least one FDA-approved dry heat sterilizer 

or autoclave; 

(12) At least one ultrasonic cleaner; 

(13) Illumination and magnification equipment to 

aid with electrology services; 

(14) A sink with running hot and cold water within 

the office or suite where the electrology 

apprenticeship program is located and not 

shared with other businesses; 

(15) Toilet facilities on the same floor as the 

practical training area; 

(16) An electronic or punch-card time clock to 

record student hours. 
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(b)  With the exception of service dogs, no No animals shall be 

permitted in an electrology facility. facility except service animals 

as defined by 28 CFR 36.104, which is hereby incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions, and is 

available for no cost at https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-

28/chapter-I/part-36/subpart-A/section-36.104. 

(c)  All bottles and containers that contain electrology equipment 

and supplies shall have labels that indicate the contents. 

(d)  All electrology personnel and students shall wear the 

following during training and services: 

(1) Scrubs, Scrubs or lab coats, or medical-grade 

clothing; coats; 

(2) Soft-soled shoes; 

(3) Surgical or N95 masks; and 

(4) Latex or nitrile gloves. 

(e)  The electrology facility shall comply with the infection-

control rules in 21 NCAC 06V and post them in a conspicuous 

place. For the purposes of this Rule, "conspicuous place" means a 

place easily seen by visible to the individuals receiving 

electrology services. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86B-65; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 06Z .0104 STUDENT HOURS AND 

PERMITS 

(a)  No practical training shall occur unless the student permit 

required by Rule .0101 of this Section is displayed at the 

electrology station. 

(b)  Students shall not earn hours in Onsite Practical Training, as 

described in Rule .0102 of this Section, unless an instructor is 

present. This instructor must be authorized under G.S. 86B-65. 

(c)  The school electrology apprenticeship program shall track 

student hours: 

(1) by having the students record their start and end 

time with the time clock required by Rule 

.0103(a)(16) of this Section; or 

(2) for online classes, by having software track the 

student's online attendance. 

(d)  The electrology apprenticeship program shall not credit hours 

except as reflected in time-clock or online-tracking records as 

provided in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(e)  The electrology apprenticeship program shall maintain time-

clock records during the student's enrollment and for at least one 

year after the student drops, transfers, or completes the program. 

(f)  For Except as required by Rule .0108(a) of this Section, each 

electrology student, the instructor or owner shall submit the 

monthly report as set forth in 21 NCAC 06U .0107 to the Board 

at the any address listed in 21 NCAC 06A .0102 by the 15th day 

of each month. The monthly report shall include the hours accrued 

for the previous month. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86B-65; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 06Z .0105 PROGRAM HANDBOOKS AND 

ENROLLMENT AGREEMENTS 

(a)  Every electrology apprenticeship program shall provide a 

program handbook to its students upon enrollment. The program 

handbook shall contain the following information: 

(1) Enrollment enrollment agreement; 

(2) Schedule schedule of fees, including any 

monetary penalties; 

(3) Reimbursement reimbursement policies; 

(4) School program rules and requirements; 

(5) Tardiness tardiness and absenteeism policies; 

(6) A a copy of the curriculum as set forth in Rule 

.0102 of this Section; 

(7) An an explanation of how the curriculum 

content will be delivered, such as through 

online modules; and 

(8) The the grading system for the curriculum. 

(b)  The electrology apprenticeship program shall submit a copy 

of the program handbook to the Board at the any address listed in 

21 NCAC 06A .0102 before enrolling students. An updated copy 

of the handbook shall be submitted to the Board within 30 days of 

any amendment or revision. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86B-65; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 06Z .0106 INSTRUCTORS IN AN 

ELECTROLOGY APPRENTICESHIP PROGRAM 

(a)  The Board shall issue an written authorization to an instructor 

in an electrology program if he or she: 

(1) meets the requirements in G.S. 86B-65, and 21 

NCAC 06U .0108; and 

(2) makes a score of at least 85 on the written exam. 

(b)  The authorization in Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall only 

apply to a specific electrology apprenticeship program and cannot 

be transferred to another program. 

(c)  An instructor in an electrology apprenticeship program shall 

notify the Board in writing at the any address in 21 NCAC 06A 

.0102 if he or she is no longer working as an instructor in the 

electrology apprenticeship program. The instructor shall submit 

this notification within 15 days of the end of his or her work as an 

instructor in the program. 

(d)  The Board shall revoke the authorization in Paragraph (a) for 

the following reasons: 

(1) falsification of documents related to the 

electrology apprenticeship program; 

(2) failure to maintain an electrology license; 

(3) failure to provide oversight required by Board 

statute and rule Rule .0104 of this Section to 

students enrolled in an electrology 

apprenticeship program; or 

(4) termination of the electrology apprenticeship 

program. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86B-65; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 1, 2023. 
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21 NCAC 06Z .0107 TRANSFERS 

Students attending electrology apprenticeship programs in North 

Carolina may transfer to another program in North Carolina and 

receive credit for attendance at each of the programs where the 

student was enrolled. The electrology apprenticeship program 

shall meet the requirements in Rule .0101 of this Section before 

accepting tuition from or enrolling the transfer student. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86B-65; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 06Z .0108 PROGRAM COMPLETION 

(a)  Within 15 days of a student completing an electrology 

apprenticeship program, the instructor or facility owner shall 

submit the report set forth in 21 NCAC 06U .0107, 

notwithstanding the requirement in Rule .0104(e) of this Section 

to submit the report by the 15th day of the following month. 

(b)  The report in Paragraph (a) shall be accompanied by a sworn 

notarized statement by the instructor or facility owner that the 

hours reported are accurate and that the student has completed the 

requirements of the curriculum set forth in Rule .0102 of this 

Section. 

(c)  The documentation required by this Rule shall be submitted 

to the Board at the any address listed in 21 NCAC 06A .0102. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86B-65; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 06Z .0109 POST-APPRENTICESHIP 

ELECTROLOGY LICENSE 

An individual who attended an electrology apprenticeship 

program and wishes to be licensed shall: 

(1) submit the post-apprenticeship application as 

set forth in 21 NCAC 06U .0109 to the Board 

at the mailing address in 21 NCAC 06A 

.0102(a) or the website address listed in 21 

NCAC 06A .0102; 21 NCAC 06A .0102(c); 

and 

(2) make a score of at least 70 on the clinical 

examination. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86B-65; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 1, 2023. 

 

21 NCAC 06Z .0110 APPROVAL AS AN 

ELECTROLOGY APPRENTICESHIP PROGRAM 

(a)  To receive approval as an electrology apprenticeship program, 

a business must: 

(1) submit the application as set forth in 21 NCAC 

06N .0110; 21 NCAC 06U .0110; 

(2) pass a facility inspection that assesses whether 

the program complies with requirements set 

forth in Rule .0103 of this Section; and 

(3) employ an instructor for an electrology 

apprenticeship program who is approved under 

Rule .0106 of this Section. 

(b)  Within five business days of determining that an electrology 

apprenticeship program meets the requirements in Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule, the Board shall issue an written approval to the 

program. 

(c)  No electrology apprenticeship program shall operate without 

first receiving the approval in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(d)  If a business is not ready for the facility inspection on a 

scheduled date, the owner or instructor shall notify the Board at 

the any address or phone number listed in 21 NCAC 06A .0102 at 

least one business day before the scheduled inspection. The 

business shall forfeit the inspection fee if it fails to provide timely 

notice to the Board. 

(e)  The Board shall terminate approval of an electrology 

apprenticeship program for the following reasons: 

(1) the program no longer has an instructor; 

(2) after receiving a written warning, the facility 

fails to comply with the requirements in Rule 

.0103 of this Section; 

(3) the Board determines that the program has 

falsified documents related to the program, and 

revocation of the instructor authorization as set 

forth in Rule .0106(d) of this Section will not 

prevent further falsification of documents; or 

(4) the Board determines that the program has 

failed to provide the oversight required by 

Board statute and rule to students enrolled in the 

program, and revocation of the instructor 

authorization as set forth in Rule .0106(d) of 

this Section will not prevent further failures. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 86B-65; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. June 1, 2023. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission May 18, 2023, 2021 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  

Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Andrew P. Atkins (1st Vice Chair) 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. (2nd Vice Chair) Wayne R. Boyles, III 
Jay R. Hemphill Barbara A. Jackson 

Jeff Hyde Randy Overton 
Robert A. Rucho Paul Powell 

 
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Brian Liebman  984-236-1948 
Lawrence Duke  984-236-1938 
William W. Peaslee 984-236-1939 
Seth M. Ascher  984-236-1934 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 July 20, 2023 September 21, 2023 
 August 17, 2023 October 19, 2023 

 

 
 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING 
MINUTES 

May 18, 2023 
 
The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, May 18, 2023, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church Road, 
Raleigh, North Carolina, and via WebEx. 
 
Commissioners Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Jeanette Doran, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho were 
present in the Commission Room. Commissioners Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, and Barbara Jackson were present 
via WebEx. 
 
Staff members Alexander Burgos, Commission Counsel Seth Ascher, Lawrence Duke, Brian Liebman, and Bill Peaslee 
were present in the room.  
 
The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. with Chair Doran presiding. 
 
The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to 
avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest. 
 
APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the April 20, 2023, meeting. There 
were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the minutes approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew 
Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 8. Voting 
in the negative: None. 
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FOLLOW UP MATTERS 
Medical Care Commission 
10A NCAC 13B .3801, .3903, .4103, .4104, .4106, .4305, .4603, .4801, .4805, .5102, .5105, .5406, .5408, and .5411 – 
These Rules remain on the agenda pending the agency’s intention to seek a legislative fix to address the overarching 
objection for lack of statutory authority. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission  
12 NCAC 09E .0107 - The Commission extended the period of review for this Rule at the April meeting. No action was 
required by the Commission. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 
15A NCAC 02H .1301, .1401, .1402, .1403, .1404, and .1405 - The Commission objected to these Rules at the May 2022 
meeting. The agency has not responded to the Commission’s objection since August 2022. No action was required by the 
Commission. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, 15A NCAC 02D .0516 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob 
Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
15A NCAC 02B .0315 - The Commission extended the period of review for this Rule at the April meeting. No action was 
required by the Commission. 
 
Jennifer Everett, the rulemaking coordinator with the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Marine Fisheries Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, 15A NCAC 18A .0911 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob 
Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
15A NCAC 03M .0101 - The Commission extended the period of review for this Rule at the April meeting. No action was 
required by the Commission. 
 
Coastal Resources Commission  
15A NCAC 07H .0501, .0502, .0503, .0505, .0506, .0507, .0508, .0509, .0510; 07I .0406, .0506, .0702; 07J .0203, .0204, 
.0206, .0207, .0208, and .0312 – At the February meeting, the Commission continued its objection to these Rules from the 
September 2022 meeting pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.12(c). The agency has not responded to the Commission’s continued 
objection.  No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Coastal Resources Commission 
15A NCAC 07H .2305 – At the February meeting, the Commission continued its objection to this Rule from the September 
2022 meeting pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.12(c). The agency has not responded to the Commission’s continued objection.  
No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Coastal Resources Commission 
15A NCAC 07M .0201, .0202, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0701, .0703, .0704, .1001, .1002, and .1101 – At the February meeting, 
the Commission continued its objection to these Rules from the September 2022 meeting pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.12(c). 
The agency has not responded to the Commission’s continued objection.  No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Commissioner Boyles joined the meeting via Webex. 
 
Commission for Public Health 
Upon the call of the Chair, 15A NCAC 18A .2801, .2802, .2803, .2804, .2806, .2807, .2808, .2809, .2810, .2812, .2814, 
.2815, .2816, .2817, .2818, .2819, .2820, .2821, .2822, .2823, .2824, .2825, .2826, .2827, .2829, .2830, .2831, .2832, .2833, 
.2834, .2835, and .2836 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, 
Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho 
– 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
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State Board of Education 
16 NCAC 06G .0601 - The Rule was returned at the request of the agency. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Board of Nursing 
Prior to the review of the rule from the Board of Nursing, Commissioner Atkins recused himself and did not participate in 
any discussion or vote concerning the rule because of a potential conflict. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 36 .0807 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and 
Bob Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES) 
Department of Insurance 
Upon the call of the Chair, 11 NCAC 05A .0910 and .0911 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy 
Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Wildlife Resources Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, 15A NCAC 10C .0205, .0206, .0302, .0306, .0314, .0401; 10D .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0211, 
.0215, .0232, .0239, .0240, .0258, .0269, .0271; 10F .0308, .0316, .0333, .0355, and .0379 were approved by roll-call vote, 
ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff 
Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None 
 
Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors  
Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 18B .0209 and .0404 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy 
Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None 
 
Medical Board 
Prior to the review of the rule from the Medical Board, Commissioner Atkins recused himself and did not participate in any 
discussion or vote concerning the rule because of a potential conflict. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 32B .1708; 32M .0107 and .0119 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as 
follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy 
Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission extended the period of review for 21 NCAC 32B .1002 by roll-call vote, ayes 8, 
noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, 
Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None 
 
Real Estate Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 58A .0113, .0301, .0505, .1705, .1708, .1711; 58B .0202; 58H .0202, .0216, .0302, and 
.0307 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles 
III, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None 
 
Building Code Council 
Upon the call of the Chair, 2018 NC Building Code Table 2902.1 and Section 202; NC Plumbing 
Code Table 403.1 and Section 202 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, 
and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (TEMPORARY RULES) 
Board of Barber and Electrolysis Examiners 
Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 06O .0201; 06U .0101, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109, .0110; 06Z .0101, .0102, .0103, 
.0104, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109, .0110 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, 
Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None 
 
21 NCAC 06O .0202 and .0203 were withdrawn at the request of the agency. No action was required by the Commission.   
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COMMISSION BUSINESS 
Benjamin Wynn, an intern with the North Carolina Institute of Constitutional Law and a rising 2L at Campbell Law, introduced 
himself to the Commission. 
 
Steven Harrelson, the extern with OAH and a rising 3L at UNC Law, introduced himself to the Commission. 
  
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission approved the amendments to the Periodic Review Report Schedule by roll-call 
vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, 
Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to adopt amendments to 26 NCAC 05 .0101, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, 
.0107, .0108, .0110, .0114, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, and .0211; repeals of .26 NCAC 05 .0102, .0109, and .0201; and 
adoptions of 26 NCAC 05 .0115 and .0212, by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew 
Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and 
Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None 
  
At 9:29 a.m., upon a motion by the Chair Doran and a second by Commissioner Atkins, the Commission voted to call the 
public meeting of the Rules Review Commission into recess and enter into closed session pursuant to G.S. 143-318.11(a)(1) 
for the purpose of reviewing and approving the general account of the March 2023 closed session, which may be withheld 
from public inspection pursuant to G.S. 143-318.10(e)by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, 
and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Following the closed session, Commissioners Jay Hemphill and Barbara Jackson left the meeting via Webex. 
 
At 9:40 a.m., upon a motion by Commissioner Atkins and a second by Commissioner Bryan, the Commission voted to come 
out of closed session and reconvene the public meeting of the Rules Review Commission by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 
as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, Paul 
Powell, and Bob Rucho – 7. Voting in the negative: None 
 
The meeting adjourned at 9:44 a.m. 
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, June 15, 2023, at 9:00 a.m. 
 
  
      
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
 
 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Jeanette Doran, Chair 
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Rules Review Commission Meeting May 18, 2023 
Via WebEx 

 

Name   Agency  

Marlika Hairston Commissioner Banks 

Bradley Nelson DEQ 

Emily Jones DOT 

Dennis Seavers Barber Board 

David Rittlinger DOI 

Elizabeth Kountis  EMC 

Carrie Pickett DEQ 

Brenda Bass DHHS 

Joelle Burleson DEQ 

Ellen Roeber PT Board 

Helen Landi hntb.com 

Lynn Bernstein transparentelectionsnc 

Donna Gilbird  

Katherine Quinlan  DEQ 

Paul A Wojoski  DEQ 

Melissa Vuotto NCREC 

Laura Treasurer 

Meredith Parris Nursing 

Britne Becker Labor 

Davie Summey DOI 

Rob Pearsall DHHS 

Phillip Reynolds DOJ 

John Hahn mayerbrown.com 

Dauna Bartley Dental Board 

Ed Norman DHHS 

Catherine Blum MFC  

Ross Smith myncma.org 

Nadine Pfeiffer DHHS 

Shawn Maier DEQ 

Christian Waters WRC 

John Barkley DOJ 

Tina Moore DEQ 

Andy Haines DEQ 

Ashley Brown gaston.k12.nc.us 

Larry Michael DHHS 

Kim Luisana BON 

Kimly Blount DHHS 

Melva Bonner WRC 

Hope Ascher  
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LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES 

May 18, 2023 Meeting 

INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF 

Incident Reporting 11 NCAC 05A .0910 

Records 11 NCAC 05A .0911 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

Sulfur Dioxide Emissions from Combustion Sources 15A NCAC 02D .0516 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Public Mountain Trout Waters 15A NCAC 10C .0205 

Trotlines, Jug Hooks and Set Hooks 15A NCAC 10C .0206 

Manner of Taking Inland Game Fishes 15A NCAC 10C .0302 

Crappie 15A NCAC 10C .0306 

Striped Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0314 

Manner of Taking Nongame Fishes 15A NCAC 10C .0401 

General Regulations Regarding Use 15A NCAC 10D .0102 

Hunting on Game Lands 15A NCAC 10D .0103 

Fishing on Game Lands 15A NCAC 10D .0104 

Possession and Removal of Animals, Plants and Materials 15A NCAC 10D .0105 

Butner-Falls of Neuse Game Land in Durham, Granville, and... 15A NCAC 10D .0211 

Wayne Bailey-Caswell Game Land in Caswell County 15A NCAC 10D .0215 

Gull Rock Game Land in Hyde County 15A NCAC 10D .0232 

Johns River Game Land in Burke County 15A NCAC 10D .0239 

Jordan Game Land in Chatham, Durham, Orange, and Wake Cou... 15A NCAC 10D .0240 

Pee Dee River Game Land in Anson, Montgomery, Richmond, a... 15A NCAC 10D .0258 

Rocky Run Game Land in Onslow County 15A NCAC 10D .0269 

Sandhills Game Land in Hoke, Moore, Richmond, and Scotlan... 15A NCAC 10D .0271 

Clay County 15A NCAC 10F .0308 

Forsyth: Rockingham and Stokes Counties 15A NCAC 10F .0316 

Mecklenburg and Gaston Counties 15A NCAC 10F .0333 

Perquimans County 15A NCAC 10F .0355 

City of Roxboro 15A NCAC 10F .0379 

MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION 

Marinas, Docking Facilities, and Other Mooring Areas 15A NCAC 18A .0911 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 18A .2801 

Approval of Construction and Renovation Plans 15A NCAC 18A .2802 

Handwashing 15A NCAC 18A .2803 

Food Supplies 15A NCAC 18A .2804 

Food Storage and Protection 15A NCAC 18A .2806 

Food Preparation 15A NCAC 18A .2807 

Food Service 15A NCAC 18A .2808 

Food Service Equipment and Utensils 15A NCAC 18A .2809 

Specifications for Kitchens, Food Preparation Areas and F... 15A NCAC 18A .2810 
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Cleaning and Sanitizing of Equipment and Utensils 15A NCAC 18A .2812 

Food Service Equipment and Utensil Storage 15A NCAC 18A .2814 

Water Supply 15A NCAC 18A .2815 

Lead Poisoning Hazards in Child Care Centers 15A NCAC 18A .2816 

Toilets 15A NCAC 18A .2817 

Lavatories 15A NCAC 18A .2818 

Diapering and Diaper Changing Facilities 15A NCAC 18A .2819 

Storage 15A NCAC 18A .2820 

Beds, Cots, Mats, and Linens 15A NCAC 18A .2821 

Toys, Equipment and Furniture 15A NCAC 18A .2822 

Personnel 15A NCAC 18A .2823 

Floors 15A NCAC 18A .2824 

Walls and Ceilings 15A NCAC 18A .2825 

Lighting and Thermal Environment 15A NCAC 18A .2826 

Communicable Diseases and Conditions 15A NCAC 18A .2827 

Wastewater 15A NCAC 18A .2829 

Solid Wastes 15A NCAC 18A .2830 

Animal and Vermin Control 15A NCAC 18A .2831 

Outdoor Learning Environment and Premises 15A NCAC 18A .2832 

Swimming and Wading Pools 15A NCAC 18A .2833 

Compliance, Inspections and Reports 15A NCAC 18A .2834 

Appeals Procedure 15A NCAC 18A .2835 

Mildly Sick Children 15A NCAC 18A .2836 

ELECTRICAL CONTRACTORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF 

Fees 21 NCAC 18B .0209 

Annual License Fees 21 NCAC 18B .0404 

MEDICAL BOARD 

COVID-19 Drug Preservation Rule 21 NCAC 32B .1708 

Continuing Education (CE) 21 NCAC 32M .0107 

COVID-19 Drug Preservation Rule 21 NCAC 32M .0119 

NURSING, BOARD OF 

Continuing Education (CE) 21 NCAC 36 .0807 

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

Reporting Criminal Convictions and Disciplinary Actions 21 NCAC 58A .0113 

Form 21 NCAC 58A .0301 

Reinstatement of a License 21 NCAC 58A .0505 

Attendance and Participation Requirements 21 NCAC 58A .1705 

Equivalent Credit 21 NCAC 58A .1708 

Continuing Education Required of Nonresident Brokers 21 NCAC 58A .1711 

Public Offering Statement Summary 21 NCAC 58B .0202 

Application for Education Provider Certification 21 NCAC 58H .0202 

Limited Education Provider Petition for Consideration 21 NCAC 58H .0216 

Application and Criteria for Instructor Approval 21 NCAC 58H .0302 

Limited Instructor Petition for Reconsideration 21 NCAC 58H .0307 
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BUILDING CODE COUNCIL 

2018 NC Fire Code/Maximum Floor Area Allowances Per Occupant Table 1004.1.2 

2018 NC Building Code/Maximum Floor Area Allowances Per O... Table 1004.1.2 

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Definitions Section 202 

2018 NC Building Code/Definitions Section 202 

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Minimum Number of Required Plumbing... Table 403.1 

2018 NC Building Code/Minimum Number of Required Plumbing... Table 2902.1 

 

 

LIST OF APPROVED TEMPORARY RULES 

May 18, 2023 Meeting 

BARBER AND ELECTROLYSIS EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Electrology Apprenticeship Program 21 NCAC 06O .0201 

Fees 21 NCAC 06U .0101 

Student Permit for Electrology Apprenticeship Program 21 NCAC 06U .0106 

Monthly Reports for Electrology Apprenticeship Program 21 NCAC 06U .0107 

Application for Instructor in Electrology Apprenticeship ... 21 NCAC 06U .0108 

Post-Apprenticeship Application for Licensure 21 NCAC 06U .0109 

Application for Approval as an Electrology Apprenticeship... 21 NCAC 06U .0110 

Enrollment Requirements and Student Permits 21 NCAC 06Z .0101 

Curriculum 21 NCAC 06Z .0102 

Facility Requirements 21 NCAC 06Z .0103 

Student Hours and Permits 21 NCAC 06Z .0104 

Program Handbooks and Enrollment Agreement 21 NCAC 06Z .0105 

Instructors in an Electrology Apprenticeship Program 21 NCAC 06Z .0106 

Transfers 21 NCAC 06Z .0107 

Program Completion 21 NCAC 06Z .0108 

Post-Apprenticeship Electrology License 21 NCAC 06Z .0109 

Approval as an Electrology Apprenticeship Program 21 NCAC 06Z .0110 

 


