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EXPLANATION OF THE PUBLICATION SCHEDULE  
 
This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.  

Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6. 
 

 
GENERAL 

 
The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 
a month and contains the following information 
submitted for publication by a state agency: 
(1) temporary rules; 
(2) text of proposed rules; 
(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 
(4) emergency rules 
(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 
(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 
G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 
determines to be helpful to the public. 

 
COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 
the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 
is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 
is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 
holiday, in which event the period runs until the 
preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 
State holiday. 

 
FILING DEADLINES 

 
ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 
fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 
month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 
employees mandated by the State Personnel 
Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 
Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 
published on the day of that month after the first or 
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 
State employees. 
 
LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 
NOTICE OF TEXT 

 
EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 
date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 
the hearing is published. 
 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 
proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 
published or until the date of any public hearings held 
on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 
 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 
COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 
by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 
date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 
the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 
Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 

 

TITLE 08 – STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
State Board of Elections intends to adopt the rule cited as 08 
NCAC 04 .0308. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://www.ncsbe.gov/about-elections/legal-
resources/rulemaking 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2024 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  July 20, 2023 
Time:  11:00 a.m. 
Location:  
https://ncgov.webex.com/ncgov/j.php?MTID=mdf922585b2342c
aed60e98e1a291ff4f 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The State Board proposes a rule 
to govern the procedures for individuals, who are authorized by 
statute, to examine highly sensitive voting system information that 
is maintained in an escrow account for the State Board. The 
escrowed information includes proprietary and highly sensitive 
information for the State's certified voting systems, including the 
source code for the voting machines and election management 
systems. Access to this information, under the right conditions, 
could allow someone to replicate a voting system (or portions of 
it) from scratch, or identify weaknesses that could be exploited to 
potentially compromise the results of an election. Due to the 
sensitive nature of the escrowed information, the proposed rule is 
designed to ensure that authorized individuals may review this 
information without risking the disclosure of proprietary or 
competitive information belonging to vendors or the disclosure of 
features of voting systems that could be exploited by malicious 
actors. Since North Carolina is one of many states that use the 
same or similar voting systems, the access that the State provides 
through this process has implications for the security and 
integrity of elections nationwide. Highlighting this concern, the 
U.S. Department of Homeland Security has designated elections 
infrastructure, including voting systems, as critical national 
infrastructure. This designation is a recognition of the critical 
role that having a secure election system plays in preserving our 
democracy and our national sovereignty. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, PO 
Box 27255, Raleigh, NC 27611-7255; email 
rulemaking.sboe@ncsbe.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  September 1, 2023 
 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 04 - VOTING EQUIPMENT 

 
SECTION .0300 – APPROVAL AND OPERATION OF 

VOTING SYSTEMS 
 
08 NCAC 04 .0308 AUTHORIZED ACCESS TO 
VOTING SYSTEM INFORMATION IN ESCROW 
(a)  Subject to the provisions of this Rule, upon written request 
from a person or entity authorized under G.S. 163-165.7(a)(6) to 
a vendor of a certified voting system in this state, the vendor shall 
make available for review and examination any information 
placed in escrow under G.S. 163-165.9A to an authorized person. 
The person or entity making the request shall simultaneously 
provide a copy of the request to the State Board. Any request from 
the State chairs of a political party recognized under G.S. 163-96 
shall be made no later than 90 days before the start of one-stop 
absentee voting in the state. This Rule does not address or restrict 
the pre-certification review of a vendor's source code under G.S. 
163-165.7(e). 
(b)  Authorized Persons. Only authorized persons may review and 
examine the information placed in escrow by a voting system 
vendor. For the purpose of this Rule, "authorized person" means 
a person who: 

(1) Is an agent: 
(A) designated by majority vote in a public 

meeting by the State Board or a 
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purchasing county's board of 
commissioners; 

(B) designated in writing by the chair of a 
political party recognized under G.S. 
163-96; or 

(C) designated in writing by the Secretary 
of Department of Information 
Technology. No more than three 
people may be designated by an 
authorized entity under G.S. 163-
165.7(f)(9); 

(2) Has submitted to a criminal history record 
check, to be facilitated by the State Board, as 
provided for in G.S. 163-27.2(b) and has not 
been convicted of a disqualifying offense. 
Disqualifying offenses shall be all felonies, and 
any misdemeanors that involve theft, deception, 
the unlawful concealment or dissemination of 
information, falsification or destruction of 
records, or the unlawful access to information 
or facilities. The requirement to submit to a 
criminal history record check does not apply to 
State employees who have already submitted to 
a criminal history record check for State 
employment; 

(3) Has submitted to the State Board a résumé 
detailing the person's experience with voting 
systems and information technology, to include 
any training or experience pertaining to 
computer code development or analysis; 

(4) Has submitted to the State Board a sworn 
affidavit, under penalty of perjury, attesting that 
the person: 
(A) has never been found by a court of law, 

administrative body, or former or 
current employer to have disclosed 
without authorization confidential 
information that the person had access 
to; 

(B) has never been, either in their private 
capacity or in any capacity as an agent 
for another person or entity, subject to 
any civil or criminal claims alleging 
misappropriation of a trade secret, 
violation of confidentiality agreement 
or nondisclosure agreement, copyright 
infringement, patent infringement, or 
unauthorized disclosure of any 
information protected from disclosure 
by law, except to the extent any such 
claims were dismissed with prejudice 
and not pursuant to a settlement 
agreement; 

(C) has never had a security clearance 
issued by a federal agency revoked for 
any reason other than expiration of the 
clearance; 

(D) if granted access to review and 
examine the information placed in 
escrow: 
(i) will not disclose or reveal 

any proprietary information 
to which the Authorized 
Person is granted access, 
pursuant to G.S. 132-1.2, to 
any person outside of the 
individuals or entities 
identified in G.S. 163-
165.7(a)(6), testing and 
certification program staff at 
the U.S. Election Assistance 
Commission, or election 
infrastructure security staff 
for the U.S. Department of 
Homeland Security's 
Cybersecurity and 
Infrastructure Security; 

(ii) will not disclose or reveal 
any feature, component, or 
perceived flaw or 
vulnerability of the 
information placed in escrow 
by a voting system vendor, 
pursuant to G.S. 132-1.7(a2), 
G.S. 132-1.7(b), and G.S. 
132-6.1(c), to any person 
outside of other persons 
authorized under this Rule, 
the State Board, the vendor, 
testing and certification 
program staff at the U.S. 
Election Assistance 
Commission, or election 
infrastructure security staff 
for the U.S. Department of 
Homeland Security's 
Cybersecurity and 
Infrastructure Security; 

(iii) will submit copies of any 
notes taken during the 
examination of the 
information in escrow to the 
State Board; 

(iv) acknowledges that, should 
the person disclose without 
authorization any 
information placed in escrow 
that is protected under state 
or federal law, the person will 
be subject to any remedies 
provided by law for such 
unauthorized disclosure, 
which could include 
monetary damages; and 

(v) will provide the vendor and 
the State Board with prompt 
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written notice if the person 
becomes or is likely to be 
compelled by law to disclose 
any of the escrow 
information, will cooperate 
with the vendor and the State 
Board to obtain a protective 
order or other appropriate 
remedy, and, in the event any 
escrow information must be 
disclosed pursuant to legal 
compulsion, will disclose 
only the portion of 
information that the person is 
legally required to disclose in 
the written opinion of its 
counsel; and 

(5) Has consented in writing to searches of their 
person and effects, similar in nature to searches 
that members of the public submit to when 
entering the office buildings of the General 
Assembly, to be conducted upon entry into the 
secure facility described in Subparagraph (d)(1) 
of this Rule; and 

(6) Is a citizen of the United States. 
(c)  Within 30 days of meeting the definition of an authorized 
person in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the Executive Director of the 
State Board shall issue a written authorization to the person or 
entity making the request under Paragraph (a) of this Rule to 
review and examine information placed in escrow by a voting 
system vendor. The authorization shall be presented by the person 
or entity to the vendor prior to gaining access to such information 
under this Rule. 
(d)  Conditions of Access. When providing access to information 
in escrow pursuant to this Rule, the State Board and vendor shall 
ensure the following conditions are met: 

(1) The information in escrow shall be made 
available by the vendor on up to three 
computers provided by the vendor (one for each 
potentially designated agent under G.S. 163-
165.7(f)(9)) that are not connected to any 
network and are located within a secure facility, 
as described in Part (d)(3)(A) of this Rule, 
designated by the State Board of Elections. 
Such computers shall be preloaded with 
software tools necessary for use in viewing, 
searching, and analyzing the information 
subject to review, including tools permitting 
automated source code review that are 
preapproved by the vendor and the State Board. 
Such computers shall have the following access 
controls: 
(A) Credentials shall be traceable to 

individuals. Generic login accounts 
are not authorized. Sharing of 
accounts and reuse of credentials is 
prohibited. Each user must have their 
own assigned login account. 

(B) Only one administrative account shall 
be present on the system to allow for 
the initial provisioning of necessary 
applications and setup of security 
controls. 

(C) Where passwords are used to 
authenticate authorized individuals, 
login accounts shall use complex 
passwords. A sufficiently complex 
password is one that is not based on 
common dictionary words and 
includes no fewer than 10 characters, 
and includes at least one uppercase 
letter, one lowercase letter, one 
number, and a special character. 

(D) Screen lock times shall be set to no 
longer than 10 minutes. All computers 
shall be locked or logged out from 
whenever they are not being attended 
and used. 

(E) The entire hard drive on any computer 
must have full disk encryption. Where 
possible, the minimum encryption 
level shall be AES-256. 

(F) After the information subject to 
review and software tools for viewing 
are loaded on the computers, all ports 
shall be sealed with tamper-evident 
seals. 

(G) After the ports are sealed, no 
input/output or recording devices may 
be connected to the computers. The 
State Board shall provide for the 
secure storage of any equipment used 
for the duration of the review. 

(2) The computers shall be air-gapped and shall not 
be connected to a network, and any feature 
allowing connection to a network shall be 
disabled. Prohibited network connections 
include the Internet, intranet, fax, telephone 
line, networks established via modem, or any 
other wired or wireless connection. 

(3) The secure facility designated by the State 
Board under Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph 
is the specific location where the computing 
equipment will be stored and the review 
conducted, and may be a secured portion of a 
building. All conduct within the facility shall 
meet the following conditions: 
(A) For the entire review period, the 

facility must be secured from access 
by any person not designated under 
Subparagraph (b)(1), Part (d)(3)(F), 
and Subparagraph (d)(7) of this Rule. 

(B) Only individuals authorized under 
Subparagraph (b)(1), Part (d)(3)(F), 
and Subparagraph (d)(7) of this Rule 
may enter the facility. Such 
individuals must present government-
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issued photo identification upon initial 
entry, and may be asked to show 
identification multiple times 
throughout the review period. 

(C) Each time an individual accesses the 
facility, the State Board or its designee 
shall record the name of the 
individual, the time of their entry, the 
time of their departure, and a 
description of any materials brought in 
or out of the facility. 

(D) All equipment used in the review, as 
specified in Subparagraph (d)(1) of 
this Rule, must remain in the facility 
during the review period. 

(E) No authorized person pursuant to this 
Rule may possess any removable 
media device, cell phone, computer, 
tablet, camera, wearable, or other 
outside electronic device within the 
facility where the person is accessing 
information in escrow. No authorized 
person may attempt to connect the 
computers used in the review to any 
network. 

(F) State personnel who are designated by 
the Executive Director of the State 
Board of Elections and who also 
satisfy the conditions set forth in 
Subparagraphs (b)(2) through (b)(5) 
of this Rule shall have access to the 
facility where the review is being 
conducted at all times, to monitor the 
process and ensure that all 
requirements of this Rule are complied 
with. Persons entering the facility shall 
submit to inspection, as provided for 
in Subparagraph (b)(5) of this Rule, 
and shall be denied entry if they 
possess any unauthorized devices. 
State personnel designated pursuant to 
this subsection shall inspect the 
computers used in the review before 
and after the review for compliance 
with Subparagraphs (d)(1) and (d)(2) 
of this Rule. 

(4) Authorized persons are permitted to perform 
manual source code review and use code 
analysis tools, as provided in Subparagraph (1) 
of this Paragraph, to analyze the source code. 
This source code review shall be performed 
using "read only" access and any authorized 
person shall not interact with or perform testing 
of the software components. 

(5) Any review performed pursuant to this Rule 
shall occur during the State Board's regular 
business hours and shall last no longer than ten 
business days. Such review shall not occur 
during the period from the start of one-stop 

absentee voting through the conclusion of 
statewide canvassing of the vote. 

(6) Authorized persons and the vendor are each 
responsible for bearing their own costs in 
conducting the review pursuant to G.S. 163-
165.7(a)(6). 

(7) Up to three representatives of the vendor may 
be designated in writing by a corporate 
executive of the vendor to supervise the review 
at all times. Such representatives shall not 
interfere with the review and shall be afforded 
a reasonable opportunity to inspect the facility 
for compliance with these conditions prior to 
the review commencing. State Board staff 
designated under Subparagraph (3) of this 
Paragraph shall monitor the review, without 
obstructing the review process. 

(e)  Dispute Resolution. Any dispute that arises between an 
authorized person and a vendor concerning the execution of 
review pursuant to this Rule may be presented to the State Board 
of Elections in the form of a petition seeking relief. The party 
seeking such relief shall serve their petition on the opposing party, 
and the opposing party shall have 14 days to respond. The State 
Board shall make a decision on the petition based on the written 
submissions, or it may schedule a hearing to consider the petition. 
 
Authority G.S. 132-1.2; 132-1.7; 132-6.1; 163-22; 163-27.2; 163-
165.7; 163-165.9A; 163-166.7; 163-275; 42 U.S.C. 5195c. 
 
 
TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Commission for Mental Health/DD/SAS intends to amend the 
rules cited as 10A NCAC 27G .0104 and 28A .0102. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/mental-health-developmental-
disabilities-and-substance-abuse/commis 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2024 
 
Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 
requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  To request a public 
hearing, submit your written request for a public hearing on to 
dmhddsasrules@dhhs.nc.gov within 15 days after the notice of 
text is published. 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  These rules are being amended to 
permit years of experience obtained pre- or post – degree to be 
considered in one being credentialed a Qualified Professional; 
update language consistent with the Addictions Specialist 
Professional Practice Board; include definitions of Family 
Partner and Direct Support Professional; and clarify the 
applicability of the registration requirement previously 
referenced in the rule(s). 
 



 PROPOSED RULES 
 

 
38:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 3, 2023 

7 

Comments may be submitted to:  Denise Baker, 3001 MSC, 
Raleigh, NC 27699-3001; email dmhddsasrules@dhhs.nc.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  September 1, 2023 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 27 - MENTAL HEALTH, COMMUNITY 

FACILITIES AND SERVICES 
 

SUBCHAPTER 27G - RULES FOR MENTAL HEALTH, 
DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES, AND SUBSTANCE 

ABUSE FACILITIES AND SERVICES 
 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL INFORMATION 
 
10A NCAC 27G .0104 STAFF DEFINITIONS 
The following credentials and qualifications apply to staff 
described in this Subchapter: 

(1) "Associate Professional (AP)" within the 
mental health, developmental disabilities and 
substance abuse services (mh/dd/sas) system of 
care means an individual who is either a: 
(a) graduate of a college or university 

with a masters degree in a human 
service field with less than one year of 
full-time, post-graduate degree 
accumulated mh/dd/sa experience 
with the population served, or a 
substance abuse professional with less 
than one year of full-time, post-
graduate degree accumulated 
supervised experience in alcoholism 
and drug abuse counseling. 
Supervision shall be provided by a 
qualified professional with the 

population served until the individual 
meets one year of experience. The 
supervisor and the employee shall 
develop an individualized supervision 
plan upon hiring. The parties shall 
review the plan annually; or 

(b) graduate of a college or university 
with a bachelor's degree in a human 
service field with less than two years 
of full-time, post-bachelor's degree 
accumulated mh/dd/sa experience 
with the population served, or a 
substance abuse professional with less 
than two years of full-time, post-
bachelor's degree accumulated 
supervised experience in alcoholism 
and drug abuse counseling. 
Supervision shall be provided by a 
qualified professional with the 
population served until the individual 
meets two years of experience. The 
supervisor and the employee shall 
develop an individualized supervision 
plan upon hiring. The parties shall 
review the plan annually; or 

(c) graduate of a college or university 
with a bachelor's degree in a field 
other than human services with less 
than four years of full-time, post-
bachelor's degree accumulated 
mh/dd/sa experience with the 
population served, or a substance 
abuse professional with less than four 
years of full-time, post-bachelor's 
degree accumulated supervised 
experience in alcoholism and drug 
abuse counseling. Supervision shall be 
provided by a qualified professional 
with the population served until the 
individual meets four years of 
experience. The supervisor and the 
employee shall develop an 
individualized supervision plan upon 
hiring. The parties shall review the 
plan annually; or 

(d) registered nurse who is licensed to 
practice in the State of North Carolina 
by the North Carolina Board of 
Nursing with less than four years of 
full-time accumulated experience in 
mh/dd/sa with the population served. 
Supervision shall be provided by a 
qualified professional with the 
population served until the individual 
meets four years of experience. The 
supervisor and the employee shall 
develop an individualized supervision 
plan upon hiring. The parties shall 
review the plan annually. 
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(2) "Certified clinical supervisor (CCS)" means an 
individual who is certified as such by the North 
Carolina Addictions Specialist Substance 
Abuse Professional Practice Board. 

(3) "Certified criminal justice addictions 
professional (CCJP)" means an individual who 
is certified as such by the North Carolina 
Addictions Specialist Substance Abuse 
Professional Practice Board. 

(4) "Certified substance abuse counselor (CSAC)" 
alcohol and drug counselor" means an 
individual who is certified as such by the North 
Carolina Addictions Specialist Substance 
Abuse Professional Certification Practice 
Board. 

(5) "Certified substance abuse prevention 
consultant (CSAPC)" specialist" means an 
individual who is certified as such by the North 
Carolina Addictions Specialist Substance 
Abuse Professional Practice Board. 

(6) "Clinical" means having to do with the active 
direct treatment/habilitation treatment or 
habilitation of a client. 

(7) "Clinical staff member" means a qualified 
professional or associate professional who 
provides active direct treatment/habilitation 
treatment or habilitation to a client. 

(8) "Clinical/professional "Clinical or professional 
supervision" means regularly scheduled 
assistance by a qualified professional or 
associate professional to a staff member who is 
providing direct, therapeutic intervention to a 
client or clients. The purpose of clinical 
supervision is to ensure that each client receives 
treatment or habilitation which that is consistent 
with accepted standards of practice and the 
needs of the client. 

(9) "Clinical social worker" means a social worker 
who is licensed as such by the N.C. Social 
Work Certification and Licensure Board. 

(10) "Direct Support Professional" means an 
individual who has a GED or high school 
diploma hired to provide intellectual disability, 
developmental disability, or traumatic brain 
injury services. Supervision shall be provided 
by a qualified professional with experience with 
the population served. The supervisor and the 
employee shall develop an individualized 
supervision plan upon hiring and shall review it 
annually thereafter. 

(10)(11) "Director" means the individual who is 
responsible for the operation of the facility. 

(12) "Family Partner" means an individual hired to 
provide direct engagement, support, and 
advocacy to the family of each child and 
adolescent served in a Psychiatric Residential 
Treatment Facility. A Family Partner shall meet 
the criteria for a Paraprofessional as defined in 
this Rule, have lived experience as a primary 

caregiver for a child or adolescent with a mental 
health disorder, a substance use disorder, 
intellectual disorder, or developmental 
disability. A Family Partner shall achieve 
certification as a Family Peer Specialist by the 
National Federation of Families for Children 
with Mental Illness within 18 months of hire 
and shall maintain active certification while in 
this role. 

(11)(13) "Licensed Clinical Addictions Specialist 
(LCAS)" means an individual who is licensed 
as such by the North Carolina Addictions 
Specialist Substance Abuse Professional 
Practice Board. 

(12)(14) "Licensed clinician" means an individual with 
full clinical licensure awarded by the State of 
North Carolina, as a physician, licensed 
psychologist, licensed psychological associate, 
licensed clinical social worker, licensed 
professional counselor, licensed marriage and 
family therapist, or licensed clinical addictions 
specialist. "Licensed clinician" also includes an 
individual with full clinical licensure and 
certification as a certified clinical nurse 
specialist in psychiatric mental health advanced 
practice, or a certified nurse practitioner in 
psychiatric mental health advanced practice. 

(13)(15) "Licensed Clinical Mental Health professional 
counselor (LPC)" (LCMHC)" means a 
counselor who is licensed as such by the North 
Carolina Board of Licensed Clinical Mental 
Health Professional Counselors. 

(14)(16) "Nurse" means a person licensed to practice in 
the State of North Carolina either as a registered 
nurse or as a licensed practical nurse. 

(15)(17) "Paraprofessional" within the mh/dd/sas system 
of care means an individual who, with the 
exception of staff providing respite services or 
personal care services, has a GED or high 
school diploma; those or no GED or high school 
diploma, employed prior to November 1, 2001 
to provide a mh/dd/sa service. service are not 
required to have a GED or high school diploma. 
Supervision shall be provided by a qualified 
professional or associate professional with the 
population served. The supervisor and the 
employee shall develop an individualized 
supervision plan upon hiring. The parties shall 
review the plan annually. 

(16)(18) "Psychiatrist" means an individual who is 
licensed to practice medicine in the State of 
North Carolina and who has completed a 
training program in psychiatry accredited by the 
Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical 
Education. 

(17)(19) "Psychologist" means an individual who is 
licensed to practice psychology in the State of 
North Carolina as either a licensed psychologist 
or a licensed psychological associate. 
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(18)(20) "Qualified client record manager" means an 
individual who is a graduate of a curriculum 
accredited by the Council on Medical 
Education and Registration of the American 
Health Information Management Association 
and who is currently registered or accredited by 
the American Health Information Management 
Association. 

(19)(21) "Qualified professional" means, within the 
mh/dd/sas system of care: care either: 
(a) an individual who holds a license, 

provisional license, or certificate 
certificate, registration or permit 
issued by the governing board 
regulating a human service profession, 
except including a registered nurse 
who is licensed to practice in the State 
of North Carolina by the North 
Carolina Board of Nursing who also 
has four years of full-time 
accumulated experience in mh/dd/sa 
with the population served; or 

(b) a graduate of a college or university 
with a Masters degree in a human 
service field and has one year of full-
time, pre- or post-graduate degree 
accumulated supervised mh/dd/sa 
experience with the population served, 
or a substance abuse professional who 
has one year of full-time, pre- or post-
graduate degree accumulated 
supervised experience in alcoholism 
and drug abuse counseling; or 

(c) a graduate of a college or university 
with a bachelor's degree in a human 
service field and has two years of full-
time, pre- or post-bachelor's degree 
accumulated supervised mh/dd/sa 
experience with the population served, 
or a substance abuse professional who 
has two years of full-time, pre- or post-
bachelor's degree accumulated 
supervised experience in alcoholism 
and drug abuse counseling; or 

(d) a graduate of a college or university 
with a bachelor's degree in a field 
other than human services and has four 
years of full-time, pre- or post-
bachelor's degree accumulated 
supervised mh/dd/sa experience with 
the population served, or a substance 
abuse professional who has four years 
of full-time, pre- or post-bachelor's 
degree accumulated supervised 
experience in alcoholism and drug 
abuse counseling. 

(20)(22) "Qualified substance abuse prevention 
professional (QSAPP)" means, within the 
mh/dd/sas system of care: care, means either: 

(a) a graduate of a college or university 
with a masters degree in a human 
service field and has one year of full-
time, post-graduate degree 
accumulated supervised experience in 
substance abuse prevention; or 

(b) a graduate of a college or university 
with a bachelor's degree in a human 
service field and has two years of full-
time, post-bachelor's degree 
accumulated supervised experience in 
substance abuse prevention; or 

(c) a graduate of a college or university 
with a bachelor's degree in a field 
other than human services and has four 
years of full-time, post bachelor's 
degree accumulated supervised 
experience in substance abuse 
prevention; or 

(d) a substance abuse prevention 
professional who is certified as a 
Certified Substance Abuse Prevention 
Consultant (CSAPC) Specialist by the 
North Carolina Addictions Specialist 
Substance Abuse Professional 
Practice Board. 

 
Authority G.S. 122C-3; 122C-25; 122C-26; 143B-147; S.L, 2017-
32; 2019-240. 
 
CHAPTER 28 – MENTAL HEALTH: STATE OPERATED 

FACILITIES AND SERVICES 
 

SUBCHAPTER 28A - COMMITTEES AND 
PROCEDURES 

 
SECTION .0100 – SCOPE AND DEFINITIONS 

 
10A NCAC 28A .0102 DEFINITIONS 
(a)  In addition to the definitions contained in this Rule, the terms 
defined in G.S. 122C-3, 122C-4 and 122C-53(f) also apply to all 
rules in Subchapters 28A, 28B, 28C, and 28D of this Chapter. 
(b)  As used in the rules in Subchapters 28A, 28B, 28C, and 28D 
of this Chapter, the following terms have the meanings specified: 

(1) "Abuse" means the same as defined in 42 CFR 
Part 488 Subpart E, which is incorporated by 
reference, including subsequent amendments. 
infliction of physical or mental pain or injury by 
other than accidental means; or unreasonable 
confinement; or the deprivation by an employee 
of services which are necessary to the mental 
and physical health of the client. Temporary 
discomfort that is part of an approved and 
documented treatment plan or use of a 
documented emergency procedure shall not be 
considered abuse. 

(2) "Associate Professional (AP)" within the 
mental health, developmental disabilities and 
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substance abuse services (mh/dd/sas) system of 
care means an individual who is either a: 
(A) graduate of a college or university 

with a Masters degree in a human 
service field with less than one year of 
full-time, post-graduate degree 
accumulated mh/dd/sa experience 
with the population served, or a 
substance abuse professional with less 
than one year of full-time, post-
graduate degree accumulated 
supervised experience in alcoholism 
and drug abuse counseling. Upon 
hiring, an individualized supervision 
plan shall be developed and 
supervision shall be provided by a 
qualified professional with the 
population served until the individual 
meets one year of experience; or 

(B) graduate of a college or university 
with a bachelor's degree in a human 
service field with less than two years 
of full-time, post-accumulated 
mh/dd/sa experience with the 
population served, or a substance 
abuse professional with less than two 
years of full-time, post-bachelor's 
degree accumulated supervised 
experience in alcoholism and drug 
abuse counseling. Upon hiring, an 
individualized supervision plan shall 
be developed and reviewed annually. 
Supervision shall be provided by a 
qualified professional with the 
population served until the individual 
meets two years of experience; or 

(C) graduate of a college or university 
with a bachelor's degree in a field 
other than human services with less 
than four years of full-time, post 
bachelor's degree accumulated 
mh/dd/sa experience with the 
population served, or a substance 
abuse professional with less than four 
years of full-time, post-bachelor's 
degree accumulated supervised 
experience in alcoholism and drug 
abuse counseling. Upon hiring, an 
individualized supervision plan shall 
be developed and reviewed annually. 
Supervision shall be provided by a 
qualified professional with the 
population served until the individual 
meets four years of experience; or 

(D) registered nurse who is licensed to 
practice in the State of North Carolina 
by the North Carolina Board of 
Nursing with less than four years of 
full-time accumulated experience in 

mh/dd/sa with the population served. 
Upon hiring, an individualized 
supervision plan shall be developed 
and reviewed annually. Supervision 
shall be provided by a qualified 
professional with the population 
served until the individual meets four 
years of experience. 

(3) "Basic necessities" mean the essential items or 
substances needed to support life and health 
which include, but are not limited to, a 
nutritionally sound diet balanced during three 
meals per day, access to water and bathroom 
facilities at frequent intervals, seasonable 
clothing, medications to control seizures, 
diabetes and other like physical health 
conditions, and frequent access to social 
contacts. 

(4) "Certified clinical supervisor (CCS)" means an 
individual who is certified as such by the North 
Carolina Addictions Specialist Professional 
Practice Substance Abuse Professional 
Certification Board. 

(5) "Certified substance abuse counselor (CSAC)" 
alcohol and drug counselor" means an 
individual who is certified as such by the North 
Carolina Addictions Specialist Substance 
Abuse Professional Practice Certification 
Board. 

(6) "Client" has the same meaning assigned in G.S. 
133C-3. "Client" may also be referred to as a 
patient or resident. 

(6)(7) "Client record" means any record made of 
confidential information. information as 
defined G.S. 122C-3. 

(7)(8) "Clinical Director" means Medical Director, 
Director of Medical Services or such person 
acting in the position of Clinical Director, or his 
designee. 

(8)(9) "Clinically competent" means authorization by 
the State Facility Director for a qualified 
professional to provide specific 
treatment/habilitation treatment or habilitation 
services to clients based on the professional's 
education, training, experience, competence 
and judgment. 

(9)(10) "Consent" means concurrence by a client or his 
legally responsible person following receipt of 
information from the qualified professional 
who will administer the proposed treatment or 
procedure. Informed consent implies that the 
client or his legally responsible person was 
provided with information concerning 
proposed treatment, including both benefits and 
risks, in order to make an educated decision 
with regard to such treatment. 

(10)(11) "Dangerous articles or substances" mean, but 
are not limited to, any weapon or potential 
weapon, heavy blunt object, sharp objects, 
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potentially harmful chemicals, or drugs of any 
sort, including alcohol. 

(12) "Division" means the Division of State 
Operated Healthcare Facilities. 

(11)(13) "Division Director" means the Director of the 
Division or his designee. 

(12)(14) "Emergency" means a situation in a state 
facility in which a client is in imminent danger 
of causing abuse or injury to self or others, or 
when substantial property damage is occurring 
as a result of unexpected and severe forms of 
inappropriate behavior, and rapid intervention 
by the staff is needed. [See Subparagraph 
(b)(25) of this Rule for definition of medical 
emergency]. 

(13)(15) "Emergency surgery" means an operation or 
surgery performed in a medical emergency [as 
emergency, as defined in Subparagraph (b)(25) 
of this Rule] Rule, where informed consent 
cannot be obtained from an authorized person, 
as specified in G.S. 90-21.13, because the delay 
would seriously worsen the physical condition 
or endanger the life of the client. 

(14)(16) "Exclusionary time-out" means the removal of 
a client to a separate area or room from which 
exit is not barred for the purpose of modifying 
behavior. 

(15)(17) "Exploitation" means the same as defined in 42 
CFR Part 483 Subpart B, which is incorporated 
by reference, including subsequent 
amendments. use of a client or her/his 
resources, including borrowing, taking or using 
personal property with or without her/his 
permission for another person's profit, business 
or advantage. 

(16)(18) "Forensic Division" means the unit units at 
Dorothea Dix Hospital any State hospital 
designated in accordance with G.S. 122C-252 
which serves clients who are: 
(A) admitted for the purpose of evaluation 

for capacity to proceed to trial; 
(B) found not guilty by reason of insanity; 
(C) determined incapable of proceeding to 

trial; or trial. 
(D) deemed to require a more secure 

environment to protect the health, 
safety and welfare of clients, staff and 
the general public. 

(17)(19) "Grievance" means a verbal or written 
complaint by or on behalf of a client concerning 
a situation that occurred within the jurisdiction 
of the state facility. A grievance does not 
include complaints that can be resolved without 
delay by staff present. A complaint that is not 
resolved shall be filed and processed in 
accordance with the requirements of 10A 
NCAC 28B .0203. 

(18)(20) "Human Rights Committee" means a 
committee, appointed by the Secretary, to act in 

a capacity regarding the protection of client 
rights. 

(19)(21) "Independent psychiatric consultant" means a 
licensed psychiatrist not on the staff of the state 
facility in which the client is being treated. The 
psychiatrist may be in private practice, or be 
employed by another state facility, or be 
employed by a facility other than a state facility 
as defined in G.S. 122C-3(14). 

(20)(22) "Interpreter services" means specialized 
communication services provided for the 
hearing impaired by interpreters certified by the 
National Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf or 
the National Association of the Deaf. 

(21)(23) "Involuntary client" means a person admitted to 
any regional psychiatric hospital or alcoholic 
rehabilitation center alcohol and drug abuse 
treatment center under the provisions of Article 
5, Parts 7, 8 or 9 of G.S. 122C and includes 
includes, but it is not limited to to, clients 
detained pending a district court hearing and 
clients involuntarily committed after a district 
court hearing. This term shall also include 
individuals who are defendants in criminal 
actions and are being evaluated in a state 
facility for mental responsibility or mental 
competency as a part of such criminal 
proceedings as specified in G.S. 15A-1002 
15A-1002, unless a valid order providing 
otherwise is issued from a court of competent 
jurisdiction jurisdiction, and the civil 
commitment of defendants found not guilty by 
reason of insanity as specified in G.S. 
15A-1321. 

(22)(24) "Isolation time-out" means the removal of a 
client to a separate room from which exit is 
barred but which is not locked and where there 
is continuous direct, uninterrupted supervision 
by staff for the purpose of modifying behavior. 
"Isolation time-out" does not include 
precautions intended to prevent transmission of 
a communicable disease. 

(25) "Licensed Clinical Addiction Specialist 
(LCAS)" means an individual who is certified 
as such by the North Carolina Addictions 
Specialist Professional Practice Board. 

(23)(26) "Licensed Clinical Mental health professional 
counselor (LPC)" (LCMHC)" means a 
counselor who is licensed as such by the North 
Carolina Board of Licensed Clinical Mental 
Health Professional Counselors. 

(24)(27) "Major physical injury" means damage caused 
to the body resulting in profuse bleeding or 
contusion of tissues; fracture of a bone; damage 
to internal organs; loss of consciousness; loss of 
normal neurological function (inability to move 
or coordinate movement); or any other painful 
condition caused by such injury. 
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(25)(28) "Medical emergency" means a situation where 
the client is unconscious, ill, or injured, and the 
reasonably apparent circumstances require 
prompt immediate decisions and actions in 
medical or other health care, care related 
decisions and actions to prevent the worsening 
of the necessity of immediate health care 
treatment is so reasonably apparent that any 
delay in the rendering of the treatment would 
seriously worsen the physical condition 
condition, or endanger the life life, of the client. 

(26)(29) "Minimal risk research" means that the risks of 
harm anticipated in the proposed research are 
not greater, considering probability and 
magnitude, than those ordinarily encountered in 
daily life or during the performance of routine 
physical or psychological examinations or tests. 

(27)(30) "Minor client" means a person under 18 years 
of age who has not been married or who has not 
been emancipated by a decree issued by a court 
of competent jurisdiction or is not a member of 
the armed forces. 
(A) has not been married; or 
(B) has not been emancipated by a decree 

issued by a court of competent 
jurisdiction; or 

(C) is not a member of the armed forces. 
(31) "Misappropriation of resident property" means 

the same as defined by 42 CFR Part 488 
Subpart E, incorporated by reference, including 
subsequent amendments. 

(28)(32) "Neglect" means the same as defined by 42 
CFR Part 488 Subpart E, incorporated by 
reference, including subsequent amendments. 
failure to provide care or services necessary to 
maintain the mental and physical health of the 
client. 

(29)(33) "Normalization" means the principle of helping 
the client to obtain an existence as close to 
normal as possible, taking into consideration 
the client's disabilities and potential, by making 
available to him patterns and conditions of 
everyday life that are as close as possible to the 
norms and patterns of the mainstream of 
society. 

(30)(34) "Paraprofessional" within the mh/dd/sa system 
of care means an individual who, with the 
exception of staff providing respite services or 
personal care services, has a GED or high 
school diploma; an individual or no GED or 
high school diploma, employed prior to 
November 1, 2001 to provide a mh/dd/sa 
service. service is not required to have a GED 
or high school diploma. Upon hiring, an 
individualized supervision plan shall be 
developed and supervision shall be provided by 
a qualified professional or associate 
professional with the population served. 

(31)(35) "Person standing in loco parentis" means one 
who has put himself in the place of a lawful 
parent by assuming the rights and obligations of 
a parent without formal adoption. 

(32)(36) "Physical Restraint" means the application or 
use of any manual method of restraint that 
restricts freedom of movement, or the 
application or use of any physical or 
mechanical device that restricts freedom of 
movement or normal access to one's body, 
including material or equipment attached or 
adjacent to the client's body that he or she 
cannot easily remove. Holding a client in a 
therapeutic hold or any other manner that 
restricts his or her movement constitutes 
manual restraint for that client. Mechanical 
devices may restrain a client to a bed or chair, 
or may be used as ambulatory restraints. 
Examples of mechanical devices include cuffs, 
ankle straps, sheets or restraining shirts, arm 
splints, mittens and helmets. Excluded from 
this definition of physical restraint are physical 
guidance, gentle physical prompting 
techniques, escorting and therapeutic holds 
used solely for the purpose of escorting a client 
who is walking, soft ties used solely to prevent 
a medically ill client from removing 
intravenous tubes, indwelling catheters, cardiac 
monitor electrodes or similar medical devices, 
and prosthetic devices or assistive technology 
which are designed and used to increase client 
adaptive skills. Escorting means the temporary 
touching or holding of the hand, wrist, arm, 
shoulder or back for the purpose of inducing a 
client to walk to a safe location. 

(33)(37) "Protective devices" means an intervention 
which that provides support for weak and feeble 
clients or enhances the safety of clients with 
specific medical or behavioral needs. 
behaviorally disordered clients. Such devices 
may include posey vests, geri-chairs or table top 
chairs to provide support and safety for clients 
with physical handicaps; disabilities; devices 
such as helmets and mittens for self-injurious 
behaviors; or devices such as soft ties used to 
prevent medically ill clients from removing 
intravenous tubes, indwelling catheters, cardiac 
monitor electrodes or similar medical devices. 
As provided in Rule .0207 of Subchapter 28D, 
the use of a protective device for behavioral 
control shall comply with the requirements 
specified in Rule .0203 of Subchapter 28D. 

(34)(38) "Psychotropic medication" means medication 
with the primary function of treating mental 
illness, personality or behavior disorders. It 
includes, but is not limited to, antipsychotics, 
antidepressants, antianxiety agents and mood 
stabilizers. 
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(35)(39) "Qualified professional" means, within the 
mh/dd/sas system of care, an individual who is: 
is either: 
(A) an individual who holds a license, 

provisional license, or certificate 
certificate, registration or permit 
issued by the governing board 
regulating a human service profession, 
except including a registered nurse 
who is licensed to practice in the State 
of North Carolina by the North 
Carolina Board of Nursing who also 
has four years of full-time 
accumulated experience in mh/dd/sa 
with the population served; or 

(B) a graduate of a college or university 
with a Masters degree in a human 
service field and has one year of full-
time, pre- or post-graduate degree 
accumulated supervised mh/dd/sa 
experience with the population served, 
or a substance abuse professional who 
has one-year of full-time, pre- or post-
graduate degree accumulated 
supervised experience in alcoholism 
and drug abuse counseling; or 

(C) a graduate of a college or university 
with a bachelor's degree in a human 
service field and has two years of full-
time, pre- or post-bachelor's degree 
accumulated supervised mh/dd/sa 
experience with the population served, 
or a substance abuse professional who 
has two years of full-time, pre- or post-
bachelor's degree accumulated 
supervised experience in alcoholism 
and drug abuse counseling; or 

(D) a graduate of a college or university 
with a bachelor's degree in a field 
other than human services and has four 
years of full-time, pre- or post-
bachelor's degree accumulated 
mh/dd/sa experience with the 
population served, or a substance 
abuse professional who has four years 
of full-time, pre- or post-bachelor's 
degree accumulated supervised 
experience in alcoholism and drug 
abuse counseling. 

(36)(40) "Regional alcohol and drug abuse treatment 
center" means a state facility for persons with a 
substance abuse disorder substance abusers as 
specified in G.S. 122C-181(a)(3). 

(37)(41) "Regional mental retardation developmental 
disability center" means a state facility for the 
mentally retarded developmentally disabled as 
specified in G.S. 122C-181(a)(2). 

(38)(42) "Regional psychiatric hospital" means a state 
facility for the mentally ill as specified in G.S. 
122C-181(a)(1). 

(39)(43) "Representative payee" means the person, 
group, or facility designated by a funding 
source, such as Supplemental Security Income 
(SSI), to receive and handle funds according to 
the guidelines of the source on behalf of a 
client. 

(40)(44) "Research" means inquiry involving a trial or 
special observation made under conditions 
determined by the investigator to confirm or 
disprove an hypothesis or to explicate some 
principle or effect. 

(41)(45) "Respite client" means a client admitted to a 
mental retardation developmental disability 
center or a neuromedical treatment center for a 
short-term period, normally not to exceed 30 
days. The primary purpose of such admission is 
to provide a temporary interval of rest or relief 
for the client's regular caretaker. 

(42)(46) "Responsible professional" shall have the 
meaning as specified in G.S. 122C-3 122C-3; 
except the "responsible professional" shall also 
be a qualified professional as defined in 
Subparagraph (b)(35) of this Rule. 

(43)(47) "Seclusion" means isolating a client in a 
separate locked room for the purpose of 
controlling managing a client's behavior. 
"Seclusion" does not include precautions 
intended to prevent transmission of a 
communicable disease. In the Forensic Service, 
Pretrial Evaluation Unit and the Forensic 
Treatment Program Maximum Security Ward 
in the Spruill Building at Dorothea Dix Central 
Regional Hospital, the use of locked rooms is 
not considered seclusion for clients with 
criminal charges who are: 
(A) undergoing pretrial evaluations 

ordered by a criminal court; 
(B) in treatment for restoration of capacity 

to proceed; 
(C) in treatment to reduce violence risk; or 
(D) considered to be an escape risk. 

(44)(48) "State Facility Director" means the chief 
administrative officer or manager of a state 
facility or his designee. 

(45)(49) "Strike" means, but is not limited to, hitting, 
kicking, slapping or beating whether done with 
a part of one's body or with an object. 

(46)(50) "Timeout" means the removal of a client from 
other clients to another space within the same 
activity area for the purpose of modifying 
behavior. 

(47)(51) "Treatment" means the act, method, or manner 
of habilitating or rehabilitating, caring for or 
managing a client's physical or mental 
problems. 
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(48)(52) "Treatment plan" means a written individual 
plan of treatment or habilitation for each client 
to be undertaken by the treatment team and 
includes any documentation of restriction of 
client's rights. 

(49)(53) "Treatment team" means an interdisciplinary 
group of qualified professionals sufficient in 
number and variety by discipline to adequately 
assess and address the identified needs of the 
client. 

(50)(54) "Unit" means an integral component of a state 
facility distinctly established for the delivery of 
one or more elements of service to which 
specific staff and space are assigned, and for 
which responsibility has been assigned to a 
director, supervisor, administrator, or manager. 

(51)(55) "Voluntary client" means a person admitted to 
a state facility under the provisions of Article 5, 
Parts 2, 3, 4 or 5 of G.S. 122C. 

 
Authority G.S. 122C-3; 122C-4; 122C-51; 122C-53(f); 
143B-147; S.L. 2017-32; 2019-240. 
 
 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 
QUALITY 

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Coastal Resources Commission intends to amend the rules cited 
as 15A NCAC 07H .0305, .1102, .1202, .1302, .1402, .1502, 
.2002, .2102, .2202, .2302, .2402 and .2702. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://www.deq.nc.gov/permits-rules/rules-regulations/deq-
proposed-rules/proposed-rules 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2024 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  August 24, 2023 
Time:  1:15 p.m. 
Location:  Aloft Wilmington at Coastline Center, 501 Nutt Street, 
Wilmington, NC 28401 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:   
15A NCAC 07H .0305 - The Coastal Resources Commission is 
proposing to amend its administrative rules in order to require a 
minimum of two growing seasons before planted vegetation can 
be used for oceanfront setback determinations which will increase 
consistency in making these determinations for property owners 
and agency staff.  
15A NCAC 07H .1102, .1202, .1302, .1402, .1502, .2002, .2102, 
.2202, .2302, .2402, .2702 - The proposed amendments extend the 
General Permit expiration date to 180 days for those permits that 
have an expiration date of less than 180 days and adds a 
substantial development clause allowing applicants to complete 
work begun prior to permit expiration. Additionally, the 
Commission inadvertently shortened the active permit period 

from two years to 120 days in 15A NCAC 07H .2302 and have 
proposed an amendment to correct the error. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Braxton Davis, 400 
Commerce Avenue, Morehead City, NC 28557; email 
Braxton.Davis@ncdenr.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  September 1, 2023 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 07 - COASTAL MANAGEMENT 

 
SUBCHAPTER 07H - STATE GUIDELINES FOR AREAS 

OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONCERN 
 

SECTION .0300 - OCEAN HAZARD AREAS 
 
15A NCAC 07H .0305 DEFINITION AND 
DESCRIPTION OF LANDFORMS 
This Rule describes natural and man-made features that are found 
within the ocean hazard area of environmental concern. 

(1) Ocean Beaches. Ocean beaches are lands 
consisting of unconsolidated soil materials that 
extend from the mean low water line landward 
to a point where either: 
(a) the growth of vegetation occurs; or 
(b) a distinct change in slope or elevation 

alters the configuration of the 
landform, whichever is farther 
landward. 

(2) Nearshore. The nearshore is the portion of the 
beach seaward of mean low water that is 
characterized by dynamic changes both in space 
and time as a result of storms. 
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(3) Primary Dunes. Primary dunes are the first 
mounds of sand located landward of the ocean 
beaches having an elevation equal to the mean 
flood level (in a storm having a one percent 
chance of being equaled or exceeded in any 
given year) for the area plus six feet. Primary 
dunes extend landward to the lowest elevation 
in the depression behind that same mound of 
sand commonly referred to as the "dune 
trough". 

(4) Frontal Dunes. The frontal dune is the first 
mound of sand located landward of ocean 
beaches that has stable and natural vegetation 
present. 

(5) Vegetation Line. The vegetation line refers to 
the first line of stable and natural vegetation, 
which shall be used as the reference point for 
measuring oceanfront setbacks. This line 
represents the boundary between the normal 
dry-sand beach, which is subject to constant 
flux due to waves, tides, storms and wind, and 
the more stable upland areas. The vegetation 
line is generally located at or immediately 
oceanward of the seaward toe of the frontal 
dune or erosion escarpment. The Division of 
Coastal Management or Local Permit Officer 
shall determine the location of the stable and 
natural vegetation line based on visual 
observations of plant composition and density. 
If the vegetation has been planted, it may be 
considered stable when the majority of the plant 
stems are from continuous rhizomes rather than 
planted individual rooted sets. Planted 
vegetation may be considered natural when the 
majority of the plants are mature and additional 
species native to the region have been recruited, 
providing stem and rhizome densities that are 
similar to adjacent areas that are naturally 
occurring. In areas where there is no stable and 
natural vegetation present, this line may be 
established by interpolation between the nearest 
adjacent stable natural vegetation by on-ground 
observations or by aerial photographic 
interpretation. Planted vegetation must survive 
a minimum of two years from the date of 
planting before being assessed by the Division 
of Coastal Management or Local Permit Officer 
as stable and natural vegetation. 

(6) Pre-project Vegetation Line. In areas within the 
boundaries of a large-scale beach fill project, 
the vegetation line that existed within one year 
prior to the onset of project construction shall 
be defined as the "pre-project vegetation line". 
The "onset of project construction" shall be 
defined as the date sediment placement begins, 
with the exception of projects completed prior 
to the original effective date of this Rule, in 
which case the award of the contract date will 
be considered the onset of construction. A pre-

project vegetation line shall be established in 
coordination with the Division of Coastal 
Management using on-ground observation and 
survey or aerial imagery for all areas of 
oceanfront that undergo a large-scale beach fill 
project. Once a pre-project vegetation line is 
established, and after the onset of project 
construction, this line shall be used as the 
reference point for measuring oceanfront 
setbacks in all locations where it is landward of 
the vegetation line. In all locations where the 
vegetation line as defined in this Rule is 
landward of the pre-project vegetation line, the 
vegetation line shall be used as the reference 
point for measuring oceanfront setbacks. A pre-
project vegetation line shall not be established 
where a pre-project vegetation line is already in 
place, including those established by the 
Division of Coastal Management prior to the 
effective date of this Rule. A record of all pre-
project vegetation lines, including those 
established by the Division of Coastal 
Management prior to the effective date of this 
Rule, shall be maintained by the Division of 
Coastal Management for determining 
development standards as set forth in Rule 
.0306 of this Section. Because the impact of 
Hurricane Floyd in September 1999 caused 
significant portions of the vegetation line in the 
Town of Oak Island and the Town of Ocean Isle 
Beach to be relocated landward of its pre-storm 
position, the pre-project line for areas landward 
of the beach fill construction in the Town of 
Oak Island and the Town of Ocean Isle Beach, 
the onset of which occurred in 2000, shall be 
defined by the general trend of the vegetation 
line established by the Division of Coastal 
Management from June 1998 aerial 
orthophotography. 

(7) Beach Fill. Beach fill refers to the placement of 
sediment along the oceanfront shoreline. 
Sediment used solely to establish or strengthen 
dunes shall not be considered a beach fill 
project under this Rule. A "large-scale beach 
fill project" shall be defined as any volume of 
sediment greater than 300,000 cubic yards or 
any storm protection project constructed by the 
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. 

(8) Erosion Escarpment. The normal vertical drop 
in the beach profile caused from high tide or 
storm tide erosion. 

(9) Measurement Line. The line from which the 
ocean hazard setback as described in Rule 
.0306(a) of this Section is measured in the 
unvegetated beach area of environmental 
concern as described in Rule .0304(3) of this 
Section. In areas designated pursuant to Rule 
.0304(3)(b) of this Section, the Division of 
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Coastal Management shall establish a 
measurement line by: 
(a) determining the average distance the 

pre-storm vegetation line receded at 
the closest vegetated site adjacent to 
the area designated by the 
Commission as the unvegetated beach 
AEC; and 

(b) mapping a line equal to the average 
recession determination in Part (a) of 
this Subparagraph, measured in a 
landward direction from the first line 
of stable and natural vegetation line on 
the most recent pre-storm aerial 
photography in the area designated as 
an unvegetated beach AEC. 

 
Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b)(6); 113A-124. 
 

SECTION .1100 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR 
CONSTRUCTION OF BULKHEADS AND RIPRAP 

REVETMENTS FOR SHORELINE PROTECTION IN 
ESTUARINE AND PUBLIC TRUST WATERS AND 

OCEAN HAZARD AREAS 
 
15A NCAC 07H .1102 APPROVAL PROCEDURES 
(a)  An applicant for a General Permit under this Subchapter shall 
contact the Division of Coastal Management and request approval 
for development. 
(b)  The applicant shall provide: 

(1) provide site location, dimensions of the project 
area, and the applicant's name and address, 
confirmation that the applicant has obtained a 
written statement, signed by the adjacent 
riparian property owners indicating that they 
have no objections to the proposed work; or 

(2) confirmation that the applicant has notified 
adjacent riparian property owners by certified 
mail of the proposed work. The notice shall 
instruct adjacent property owners to provide 
written comments on the proposed 
development to DCM within 10 days of receipt 
of the notice and indicate that no response shall 
be interpreted as no objection. DCM shall 
review all comments and determine, based on 
their relevance to the potential impacts of the 
proposed project, if the proposed project can be 
approved by a General Permit. If DCM 
determines that the project exceeds the 
guidelines established by the General Permit 
process provided in 15A NCAC 07J .1100, 
DCM shall notify the applicant that an 
application for a major development permit 
shall be required. 

(c)  No work shall begin until an on-site meeting is held with the 
applicant and a DCM representative so that the proposed 
alignment may be marked. A General Permit to proceed with the 
proposed development shall be issued if the DCM representative 
finds that the application meets all the requirements of this Rule. 

Construction of the bulkhead or riprap revetment shall be 
completed within 120 180 days of the issuance of the general 
permit or the authorization shall expire and it shall be necessary 
to re-examine the structure alignment to determine if the general 
permit may be reissued. Where substantial development has 
occurred as defined in 15A NCAC 07J .0404(b) and is continuing 
on the permitted project, the permitting authority shall grant a six-
month extension to complete the development. If no development 
has begun, the authorization shall expire. 
 
Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 113A-113(b); 113A-
118.1; 113A-124; 113A-118; 113A-120; 113-229. 
 

SECTION .1200 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR 
CONSTRUCTION OF PIERS AND DOCKING 

FACILITIES: IN ESTUARINE AND PUBLIC TRUST 
WATERS AND OCEAN HAZARD AREAS 

 
15A NCAC 07H .1202 APPROVAL PROCEDURES 
(a)  An applicant for a General Permit under this Subchapter shall 
contact the Division of Coastal Management and request approval 
for development. 
(b)  The applicant shall provide: 

(1) the site location, dimensions of the project area 
and name, and his or her address; and 

(2) confirmation that a written statement has been 
obtained signed by the adjacent riparian 
property owners indicating that they have no 
objections to the proposed work; or 

(3) confirmation that the adjacent riparian property 
owners have been notified by certified mail of 
the proposed work. The notice shall instruct 
adjacent property owners to provide any 
comments on the proposed development in 
writing for consideration by permitting officials 
to the Division of Coastal Management within 
10 days of receipt of the notice and indicate that 
no response will be interpreted as no objection. 
Division staff shall review all comments and 
determine, based on their relevance to the 
potential impacts of the proposed project, if the 
proposed project can be approved by a General 
Permit. If Division staff finds that the 
comments are worthy of more in-depth review, 
the Division shall notify the applicant that he or 
she must submit an application for a major 
development permit. 

(c)  No work shall begin until an on-site meeting is held with the 
applicant and a Division of Coastal Management representative to 
review the proposed development. A permit to to proceed with the 
proposed development shall be issued if the Division 
representative finds that the application meets all the requirements 
of this Subchapter. Construction shall be completed within 120 
180 days of the issuance of the general permit or the authorization 
shall expire and it shall be necessary to re-examine the proposed 
development to determine if the general permit may be reissued. 
Where substantial development has occurred as defined in 15A 
NCAC 07J .0404(b) and is continuing on the permitted project, 
the permitting authority shall grant a six-month extension to 
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complete the development. If no development has begun, the 
authorization shall expire. 
(d)  Any modification or addition to the permitted project shall 
require prior approval from the Division of Coastal Management. 
 
Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 113A-113(b); 
113A-118.1; 113A-124. 
 
SECTION .1300 – GENERAL PERMIT TO CONSTRUCT 

BOAT RAMPS ALONG ESTUARINE AND PUBLIC 
TRUST SHORELINES AND INTO ESTUARINE AND 

PUBLIC TRUST WATERS 
 
15A NCAC 07H .1302 APPROVAL PROCEDURES 
(a)  An applicant for a General Permit under this Subchapter shall 
contact the Division of Coastal Management at the Regional 
Office indicated on the map located at 
https://ncdenr.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?i
d=1a5881ec85ca40679988982e02665b51 and request approval 
for development as defined in G.S. 113A-130(5). 
(b)  The applicant shall provide: 

(1) the site location, dimensions of the project area, 
and his or her name and address; and 

(2) confirmation that a written statement has been 
obtained, signed by the adjacent riparian 
property owners, indicating that they have no 
objections to the proposed work; or 

(3) confirmation that the adjacent riparian property 
owners have been notified by certified mail of 
the proposed work. The notice shall instruct 
adjacent property owners to provide any 
comments on the proposed development in 
writing to the Division of Coastal Management 
within ten days of receipt of the notice and 
indicate that no response by the adjacent 
property owners shall be interpreted as the 
adjacent property owners having no objection. 
Division staff shall review all comments and 
determine, based on their relevance to the 
potential impacts of the proposed project, if the 
proposed project can be approved by a General 
Permit. If Division staff finds that the 
comments are worthy of more in-depth review, 
the Division shall notify the applicant that he or 
she must submit an application for a major 
development permit. 

(c)  No work shall begin until an on-site meeting is held with the 
applicant and a Division of Coastal Management representative to 
review the proposed development. A permit to proceed with the 
proposed development shall be issued if the Division 
representative finds that the application meets all the requirements 
of this Subchapter. Construction permitted under this Section 
shall be completed within 120 180 days of permit issuance or such 
permit shall expire. If the applicant seeks a new permit under this 
Section, the Division of Coastal Management shall re-examine the 
proposed development to determine if the General Permit may be 
reissued. Where substantial development has occurred as defined 
in 15A NCAC 07J .0404(b) and is continuing on the permitted 
project, the permitting authority shall grant a six-month extension 

to complete the development. If no development has begun, the 
authorization shall expire. 
 
Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 113A-113(b); 
113A-118.1; 113A-124. 
 

SECTION .1400 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR 
CONSTRUCTION OF GROINS IN ESTUARINE AND 

PUBLIC TRUST WATERS AND OCEAN HAZARD 
AREAS 

 
15A NCAC 07H .1402 APPROVAL PROCEDURES 
(a)  An applicant for a General Permit under this Subchapter shall 
contact the Division of Coastal Management at the Regional 
Office indicated on the map located at 
https://ncdenr.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?i
d=1a5881ec85ca40679988982e02665b51 and request approval 
for development as defined in G.S. 113A-130(5). 
(b)  The applicant shall provide: 

(1) the site location, dimensions of the project area, 
and his or her name and address; and 

(2) confirmation that a written statement has been 
obtained, signed by the adjacent riparian 
property owners, indicating that they have no 
objections to the proposed work; or 

(3) confirmation that the adjacent riparian property 
owners have been notified by certified mail of 
the proposed work. The notice shall instruct 
adjacent property owners to provide any 
comments on the proposed development in 
writing to the Division of Coastal Management 
within 10 days of receipt of the notice and shall 
indicate that no response by the adjacent 
property owners shall be interpreted as the 
adjacent property owners having no objection. 
Division staff of Coastal Management shall 
review all comments and determine, based on 
their relevance to the potential impacts of the 
proposed project, if the proposed project can be 
approved by a General Permit. If Division staff 
finds that the comments are worthy of more in-
depth review, the Division shall notify the 
applicant that he or she must submit an 
application for a major development permit. 

(c)  No work shall begin until an on-site meeting is held with the 
applicant and a Division of Coastal Management representative to 
review the proposed development. A permit to proceed with the 
proposed development shall be issued if the Division 
representative finds that the application meets all the requirements 
of this Subchapter. Construction permitted under this Section 
shall be completed within 120 180 days of permit issuance or such 
permit shall expire. If the applicant seeks a new permit under this 
Section, the Division of Coastal Management shall re-examine the 
proposed development to determine if the General Permit may be 
reissued. Where substantial development has occurred as defined 
in 15A NCAC 07J .0404(b) and is continuing on the permitted 
project, the permitting authority shall grant a six-month extension 
to complete the development. If no development has begun, the 
authorization shall expire. 
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(d)  Any modification or addition to the authorized project shall 
require approval from the Division of Coastal Management in 
accordance with 15A NCAC 07J .0405. 
 
Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 113A-113(b); 
113A-118.1; 113A-124. 
 

SECTION .1500 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR 
EXCAVATION WITHIN OR CONNECTING TO 
EXISTING CANALS, CHANNELS, BASINS, OR 

DITCHES IN ESTUARINE WATERS, PUBLIC TRUST 
WATERS, AND COASTAL SHORELINE AECS 

 
15A NCAC 07H .1502 APPROVAL PROCEDURES 
(a)  An applicant for a General Permit under this Subchapter shall 
contact the Division of Coastal Management at the Regional 
Office indicated on the map located at 
https://ncdenr.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?i
d=1a5881ec85ca40679988982e02665b51 and request approval 
for development as defined in G.S. 113A-130(5). 
(b)  The applicant shall provide: 

(1) the site location, dimensions of the project area, 
and his or her name and address; and 

(2) confirmation that a written statement has been 
obtained, signed by the adjacent riparian 
property owners, indicating that they have no 
objections to the proposed work; or 

(3) confirmation that the adjacent riparian property 
owners have been notified by certified mail of 
the proposed work. The notice shall instruct 
adjacent property owners to provide any 
comments on the proposed development in 
writing to the Division of Coastal Management 
within ten days of receipt of the notice and 
indicate that no response by the adjacent 
property owners will be interpreted as the 
adjacent property owners having no objection. 
Division staff shall review all comments and 
determine, based on their relevance to the 
potential impacts of the proposed project, if the 
proposed project can be approved by a General 
Permit. If Division staff finds that the 
comments are worthy of more in-depth review, 
the Division shall notify the applicant that he or 
she must submit an application for a major 
development permit. 

(c)  No work shall begin until an onsite meeting is held with the 
applicant and a Division of Coastal Management representative to 
review the proposed development. A Permit to proceed with the 
proposed development shall be issued if the Division 
representative finds that the application meets all the requirements 
of this Subchapter. Construction permitted under this Section 
shall be completed within 120 180 days of the date of permit 
issuance or such permit shall expire. If the applicant seeks a new 
permit under this Section, the Division of Coastal Management 
shall re-examine the proposed development to determine if the 
General Permit may be reissued. Where substantial development 
has occurred as defined in 15A NCAC 07J .0404(b) and is 
continuing on the permitted project, the permitting authority shall 

grant a six-month extension to complete the development. If no 
development has begun, the authorization shall expire. 
 
Authority G.S. 113A-107(a),(b); 113A-113(b); 113A-118.1; 113-
229(c1). 
 

SECTION .2000 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR 
AUTHORIZING MINOR MODIFICATIONS AND 

REPAIR TO EXISTING PIER/MOORING FACILITIES IN 
ESTUARINE AND PUBLIC TRUST WATERS AND 

OCEAN HAZARD AREAS 
 
15A NCAC 07H .2002 APPROVAL PROCEDURES 
(a)  An applicant for a General Permit under this Subchapter shall 
contact the Division of Coastal Management at the Regional 
Office indicated on the map located at 
https://ncdenr.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?i
d=1a5881ec85ca40679988982e02665b51 and request approval 
for development as defined in G.S. 113A-130(5). 
(b)  The applicant shall provide: 

(1) information on site location, dimensions of the 
project area, and his or her name and address; 
and 

(2) confirmation that a written statement has been 
obtained, signed by the adjacent riparian 
property owners, indicating that they have no 
objections to the proposed work; or 

(3) confirmation that the adjacent riparian property 
owners have been notified by certified mail of 
the proposed work. The notice shall instruct 
adjacent property owners to provide any 
comments on the proposed development in 
writing for consideration by permitting officials 
to the Division of Coastal Management within 
10 days of receipt of the notice and indicate that 
no response by the adjacent property owners 
will be interpreted as the adjacent property 
owners having no objection. Division staff shall 
review all comments and determine, based on 
their relevance to the potential impacts of the 
proposed project, if the proposed project can be 
approved by a General Permit. If Division staff 
finds that the comments are worthy of more in-
depth review, the Division shall notify the 
applicant that he or she must submit an 
application for a major development permit. 

(c)  No work shall begin until an on-site meeting is held with the 
applicant and a Division of Coastal Management representative to 
review the proposed development. A permit to proceed with the 
proposed development shall be issued if the Division 
representative finds that the application meets all the requirements 
of this Subchapter. Construction permitted under this Section 
shall be completed within 120 180 days of permit issuance or such 
permit shall expire. If the applicant seeks a new permit under this 
Section, the Division of Coastal Management shall re-examine the 
proposed development to determine if the General Permit may be 
reissued. Where substantial development has occurred as defined 
in 15A NCAC 07J .0404(b) and is continuing on the permitted 
project, the permitting authority shall grant a six-month extension 
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to complete the development. If no development has begun, the 
authorization shall expire. 
(d)  Any modification or addition to the permitted project shall 
require approval from the Division of Coastal Management. 
 
Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-118.1. 
 

SECTION .2100 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR 
CONSTRUCTION OF SHEETPILE SILL FOR 

SHORELINE PROTECTION IN ESTUARINE AND 
PUBLIC TRUST WATERS AND OCEAN HAZARD 

AREAS 
 
15A NCAC 07H .2102 APPROVAL PROCEDURES 
(a)  An applicant for a General Permit under this Subchapter shall 
contact the Division of Coastal Management at the Regional 
Office indicated on the map located at 
https://ncdenr.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?i
d=1a5881ec85ca40679988982e02665b51 and request approval 
for development as defined in G.S. 113A-130(5). 
(b)  The applicant shall provide: 

(1) information on site location, dimensions of the 
project area, and his or her name and address; 
and 

(2) confirmation that a written statement has been 
obtained, signed by the adjacent riparian 
property owners, indicating that they have no 
objections to the proposed work; or 

(3) confirmation that the adjacent riparian property 
owners have been notified by certified mail of 
the proposed work. The notice shall instruct 
adjacent property owners to provide any 
comments on the proposed development in 
writing to the Division of Coastal Management 
within 10 days of receipt of the notice and 
indicate that no response by the adjacent 
property owners shall be interpreted as the 
adjacent property owners having no objection. 
Division staff shall review all comments and 
determine, based on their relevance to the 
potential impacts of the proposed project, if the 
proposed project can be approved by a General 
Permit. If Division staff finds that the 
comments are worthy of more in-depth review, 
the Division shall notify the applicant that he or 
she must submit an application for a major 
development permit. 

(c)  No work shall begin until an on-site meeting is held with the 
applicant and a Division of Coastal Management representative to 
review the proposed development. A permit to proceed with the 
proposed development shall be issued if the Division 
representative finds that the application meets all the requirements 
of this Subchapter. Construction permitted under this Section 
shall be completed within 120 180 days of the permit issuance or 
such permit shall expire. If the applicant seeks a new permit under 
this Section, the Division of Coastal Management shall 
re-examine the proposed development to determine if the General 
Permit may be reissued. 

(d)  Any modification or addition to the permitted project shall 
require approval from the Division of Coastal Management. 
Where substantial development has occurred as defined in 15A 
NCAC 07J .0404(b) and is continuing on the permitted project, 
the permitting authority shall grant a six-month extension to 
complete the development. If no development has begun, the 
authorization shall expire. 
 
Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-118.1; 113A-118.1(a)(4). 
 

SECTION .2200 – GENERAL PERMIT FOR 
CONSTRUCTION OF FREESTANDING MOORINGS 

AND BIRD NESTING POLES IN ESTUARINE WATERS 
AND PUBLIC TRUST AREAS AND OCEAN HAZARD 

AREAS 
 
15A NCAC 07H .2202 APPROVAL PROCEDURES 
(a)  An applicant for a General Permit under this Subchapter shall 
contact the Division of Coastal Management at the Regional 
Office indicated on the map located at 
https://ncdenr.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?i
d=1a5881ec85ca40679988982e02665b51 and request approval 
for development as defined in G.S. 113A-130(5). 
(b)  The applicant shall provide: 

(1) information on site location, dimensions of the 
project area, and his or her name and address; 
and 

(2) confirmation that a written statement has been 
obtained, signed by the adjacent riparian 
property owners indicating that they have no 
objections to the proposed work; or 

(3) confirmation that the adjacent riparian property 
owners have been notified by certified mail of 
the proposed work. The notice shall instruct 
adjacent property owners to provide any 
comments on the proposed development in 
writing to the Division of Coastal Management 
within 10 days of receipt of the notice and 
indicate that no response by the adjacent 
property owners shall be interpreted as the 
adjacent property owners having no objection. 
Division staff shall review all comments and 
determine, based on their relevance to the 
potential impacts of the proposed project, if the 
proposed project can be approved by a General 
Permit. If Division staff finds that the 
comments are worthy of more in-depth review, 
the Division shall notify the applicant that he or 
she must submit an application for a major 
development permit. 

(c)  No work shall begin until an on-site meeting is held with the 
applicant and a Division of Coastal Management representative to 
review the proposed development. A permit to proceed with the 
proposed development shall be issued if the Division 
representative finds that the application meets all the requirements 
of this Subchapter. Construction permitted under this Section 
shall be completed within 120 180 days of the permit issuance or 
such permit shall expire. If the applicant seeks a new permit under 
this Section, the Division of Coastal Management shall re-
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examine the proposed development to determine if the General 
Permit may be reissued. 
(d)  Any modification or addition to the permitted project shall 
require prior approval from the Division of Coastal Management. 
Where substantial development has occurred as defined in 15A 
NCAC 07J .0404(b) and is continuing on the permitted project, 
the permitting authority shall grant a six-month extension to 
complete the development. If no development has begun, the 
authorization shall expire. 
 
Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-118.1. 
 

SECTION .2300 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR 
REPLACEMENT OF EXISTING BRIDGES AND 

CULVERTS IN ESTUARINE WATERS, ESTUARINE 
AND PUBLIC TRUST SHORELINES, PUBLIC TRUST 

AREAS, AND COASTAL WETLANDS 
 
15A NCAC 07H .2302 APPROVAL PROCEDURES 
(a)  An applicant for a General Permit under this Subchapter shall 
contact the Division of Coastal Management at the Regional 
Office indicated on the map located at 
https://ncdenr.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?i
d=1a5881ec85ca40679988982e02665b51 and request approval 
for development as defined in G.S. 113A-130(5). 
(b)  The applicant shall provide: 

(1) the site location, dimensions of the project area, 
and his or her name and address; and 

(2) confirmation that a written statement has been 
obtained, signed by the adjacent riparian 
property owners, indicating that they have no 
objections to the proposed work; or 

(3) confirmation that the adjacent riparian property 
owners have been notified by certified mail of 
the proposed work. The notice shall instruct 
adjacent property owners to provide any 
comments on the proposed development in 
writing to the Division of Coastal Management 
within 10 days of receipt of the notice and 
indicate that no response by the adjacent 
property owners will be interpreted as the 
adjacent property owners having no objection. 
Division staff shall review all comments and 
determine, based on their relevance to the 
potential impacts of the proposed project, if the 
proposed project can be approved by a General 
Permit. If Division staff finds that the 
comments are worthy of more in-depth review, 
the Division shall notify the applicant that he or 
she must submit an application for a major 
development permit. 

(c)  No work shall begin until an onsite meeting is held with the 
applicant and a Division of Coastal Management representative to 
review the proposed development. A permit to proceed with the 
proposed development shall be issued if the Division 
representative finds that the application meets all the requirements 
of this Subchapter. Construction permitted under this Section 
shall be completed within 120 days two years of permit issuance 
or such permit shall expire. If the applicant seeks a new permit 

under this Section, the Division of Coastal Management shall re-
examine the proposed development to determine if the General 
Permit may be reissued. Pursuant to G.S. 136-44.7B, permits 
issued to the North Carolina Department of Transportation for 
projects identified in the Transportation Improvement Program 
shall not expire. 
(d)  Any modification or addition to the permitted project shall 
require approval from the Division of Coastal Management. 
 
Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-118.1; 113A-124. 
 
SECTION .2400 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR PLACEMENT 

OF RIPRAP REVETMENTS FOR WETLAND 
PROTECTION IN ESTUARINE AND PUBLIC TRUST 

WATERS 
 
15A NCAC 07H .2402 APPROVAL PROCEDURES 
(a)  An applicant for a General Permit under this Subchapter shall 
contact the Division of Coastal Management at the Regional 
Office indicated on the map located at 
https://ncdenr.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?i
d=1a5881ec85ca40679988982e02665b51 and request approval 
for development as defined in G.S. 113A-130(5). 
(b)  The applicant shall provide: 

(1) the site location, dimensions of the project area, 
and his or her name and address; and 

(2) confirmation that a written statement has been 
obtained, signed by the adjacent riparian 
property owners, indicating that they have no 
objections to the proposed work; or 

(3) confirmation that the adjacent riparian property 
owners have been notified by certified mail of 
the proposed work. The notice shall instruct 
adjacent property owners to provide any 
comments on the proposed development in 
writing to the Division of Coastal Management 
within 10 days of receipt of the notice and 
indicate that no response by the adjacent 
property owners shall be interpreted as the 
adjacent property owners having no objection. 
Division staff shall review all comments and 
determine, based on their relevance to the 
potential impacts of the proposed project, if the 
proposed project can be approved by a General 
Permit. If Division staff finds that the 
comments are worthy of more in-depth review, 
the Division shall notify the applicant that he or 
she must submit an application for a major 
development permit. 

(c)  No work shall begin until an on-site meeting is held with the 
applicant and a Division of Coastal Management representative to 
review the proposed development. A permit to proceed with the 
proposed development shall be issued if the Division 
representative finds that the application meets all the requirements 
of this Subchapter. Construction shall be completed within 120 
180 days of permit issuance or such permit shall expire. If the 
applicant seeks a new permit under this Section, the Division of 
Coastal Management shall re-examine the proposed development 
to determine if the General Permit may be reissued. Where 
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substantial development has occurred as defined in 15A NCAC 
07J .0404(b) and is continuing on the permitted project, the 
permitting authority shall grant a six-month extension to complete 
the development. If no development has begun, the authorization 
shall expire. 
(d)  Any modification or addition to the permitted project shall 
require approval from the Division of Coastal Management. 
 
Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-118.1. 
 

SECTION .2700 – GENERAL PERMIT FOR THE 
CONSTRUCTION OF MARSH SILLS 

 
15A NCAC 07H .2702 APPROVAL PROCEDURES 
(a)  An applicant for a General Permit under this Subchapter shall 
contact the Division of Coastal Management at the Regional 
Office indicated on the map located at 
https://ncdenr.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?i
d=1a5881ec85ca40679988982e02665b51 and request approval 
for development as defined in G.S. 113A-130(5). 
(b)  The applicant shall provide: 

(1) the site location, dimensions of the project area, 
and his or her name and address; and 

(2) confirmation that a written statement has been 
obtained, signed by the adjacent riparian 
property owners, indicating that they have no 
objections to the proposed work; or 

(3) confirmation that the adjacent riparian property 
owners have been notified by certified mail of 
the proposed work. The notice shall instruct 
adjacent property owners to provide any 
comments on the proposed development in 
writing for consideration to the Division of 
Coastal Management within 10 days of receipt 
of the notice and indicate that no response by 
the adjacent property owners will be interpreted 
as the adjacent property owners having no 
objection. Division staff shall review all 
comments and determine, based on their 
relevance to the potential impacts of the 
proposed project, if the proposed project can be 
approved by a General Permit. If Division staff 
finds that the comments are worthy of more in-
depth review, the Division shall notify the 
applicant that he or she must submit an 
application for a major development permit. 

(c)  No work shall begin until an on-site meeting is held with the 
applicant and a Division of Coastal Management representative to 
review the proposed development. A permit to proceed with the 
proposed development shall be issued if the Division 
representative finds that the application meets all the requirements 
of this Subchapter. Construction permitted under this Section 
shall be completed within 120 180 days of permit issuance or such 
permit shall expire. If the applicant seeks a new permit under this 
Section, the Division of Coastal Management shall re-examine the 
proposed development to determine if the General Permit may be 
reissued. Where substantial development has occurred as defined 
in 15A NCAC 07J .0404(b) and is continuing on the permitted 
project, the permitting authority shall grant a six-month extension 

to complete the development. If no development has begun, the 
authorization shall expire. 
(d)  Any modification or addition to the permitted project shall 
require approval from the Division of Coastal Management. 
 
Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-118.1. 
 
 
TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 
 

CHAPTER 36 – BOARD OF NURSING 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Board of Nursing intends to amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 36 
.0228. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
www.ncbon.com 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2023 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  August 8, 2023 
Time:  1:00 p.m. 
Location:  4516 Lake Boone Trail, Raleigh, NC 27607 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  On April 1, 2023, 21 NCAC 36 
.0228 Clinical Nurse Specialist Practice was published in the 
Administrative Code. The amended Rule eliminated the portfolio 
route for new CNS recognition and aligns with the requirements 
for Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist, Certified Nurse 
Midwives and Nurse Practitioners. Following publication to the 
Administrative Code, staff discovered a typographical error in 
(g)(3)(C). While this does not change the intent of the Rule, the 
date requires correction. After consultation with the Codifier of 
Rules, the Board was advised to proceed through the rulemaking 
process to correct the error. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Angela Ellis, PO Box 2129, 
Raleigh, NC 27602-2129; email lawsrules@ncbon.com 
 
Comment period ends:  September 1, 2023 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
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Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
SECTION .0200 – LICENSURE 

 
21 NCAC 36 .0228 CLINICAL NURSE SPECIALIST 
PRACTICE 
(a)  Only a registered nurse who meets the qualifications outlined 
in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be approved by the Board as a 
clinical nurse specialist to perform advanced practice registered 
nursing activities listed in Paragraph (f) of this Rule. 
(b)  The Board shall approve an applicant who: 

(1) has an active, unencumbered license to practice 
as a registered nurse in North Carolina or a state 
that has adopted the Nurse Licensure Compact; 

(2) has an unrestricted previous approval, 
registration, or license as a clinical nurse 
specialist if previously approved, registered, or 
licensed as a clinical nurse specialist in another 
state, territory, or possession of the United 
States; 

(3) has successfully completed a master's or 
higher-level degree program that is accredited 
by a nursing accrediting body approved by the 
United States Secretary of Education or the 
Council for Higher Education Accreditation 
and meets the qualifications for clinical nurse 
specialist certification by an approved national 
credentialing body under Subparagraph (b)(4) 
of this Rule; and 

(4) has current certification as a clinical nurse 
specialist from a national credentialing body 
approved by the Board, as defined in Paragraph 
(h) of this Rule and 21 NCAC 36 .0120(33). 

(c)  An applicant certified as a clinical nurse specialist by a 
national credentialing body prior to January 1, 2007 who has 
maintained that certification and active clinical nurse specialist 
practice and holds a master's or higher degree in nursing or a 
related field shall be approved by the Board as a clinical nurse 
specialist. 
(d)  New graduates seeking first-time clinical nurse specialist 
approval in North Carolina shall hold a master's or higher-level 
degree or a post-graduate certificate from a clinical nurse 
specialist program accredited by a nursing accrediting body 
approved by the United States Secretary of Education or the 
Council for Higher Education Accreditation and shall meet all 
requirements in Subparagraph (b)(1) and Part (g)(3)(A) of this 
Rule. 
(e)  A certified clinical nurse specialist seeking Board approval 
who has never practiced as a clinical nurse specialist or has not 
practiced in more than two years shall complete a clinical nurse 

specialist refresher course approved by the Board in accordance 
with 21 NCAC 36 .0220(o) and (p), consisting of common 
conditions and their management related to the clinical nurse 
specialist's area of education and certification. A clinical nurse 
specialist refresher course participant shall be granted limited 
clinical nurse specialist recognition that is specific to clinical 
activities taught in the refresher course. 
(f)  The scope of practice of a clinical nurse specialist shall 
incorporate the basic components of nursing practice as defined 
in Rule .0224 of this Section as well as the understanding and 
application of nursing principles at an advanced practice 
registered nurse level in the area of clinical nursing specialization 
in which the clinical nurse specialist is educationally prepared and 
for which competency is maintained, including: 

(1) assessing clients' health status, synthesizing and 
analyzing multiple sources of data, and 
identifying alternative possibilities as to the 
nature of a healthcare problem; 

(2) diagnosing and managing clients' acute and 
chronic health problems within the essential 
core competencies for professional nursing 
education; 

(3) assessing for and monitoring the usage and 
effect of pharmacologic agents within the 
essential core competencies for professional 
nursing education; 

(4) formulating strategies to promote wellness and 
prevent illness; 

(5) prescribing and implementing therapeutic and 
corrective non-pharmacologic nursing 
interventions; 

(6) planning for situations beyond the clinical nurse 
specialist's expertise and consulting with or 
referring clients to other health care providers 
as appropriate; 

(7) promoting and practicing in collegial and 
collaborative relationships with clients, 
families, other health care professionals, and 
individuals whose decisions influence the 
health of individual clients, families, and 
communities; 

(8) initiating, establishing, and using measures to 
evaluate health care outcomes and modify 
nursing practice decisions; 

(9) assuming leadership for the application of 
research findings for the improvement of health 
care outcomes; and 

(10) integrating education, consultation, 
management, leadership, and research into the 
clinical nurse specialist role. 

(g)  A registered nurse seeking approval by the Board as a clinical 
nurse specialist shall: 

(1) submit a completed application that includes 
the following: 
(A) evidence of a master's or higher-level 

degree or a post-graduate certificate, 
as set out in Subparagraph (b)(3) or 
Paragraph (d) of this Rule; and 
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(B) evidence of current certification in a 
clinical nursing specialty from a 
national credentialing body, set out in 
Subparagraph (b)(4) of this Rule. 

(2) renew the approval every two years at the time 
of registered nurse renewal; and 

(3) submit evidence of the following: 
(A) initial certification and re-certification 

by a national credentialing body at the 
time such occurs in order to maintain 
Board recognition, consistent with 
Paragraphs (b) and (h) of this Rule; or 

(B) if recognized by the Board as a clinical 
nurse specialist without national 
certification prior to April 1, 2023, at 
least 1,000 hours of practice and 75 
contact hours of continuing education 
with 25 contact hours of 
pharmacotherapeutics as a portion of 
the mandatory 75 contact hours every 
five years; or 

(C) if recognized by the Board as a clinical 
nurse specialist without national 
certification prior to April 1, 2021, 
2023, 150 contact hours of continuing 
education with 50 contact hours of 
pharmacotherapeutics as a portion of 
the 150 contact hours every five years. 

Part (B) and (C) of this Subparagraph does not 
apply to first time CNS' renewing their 
application for the first time. 

(4) maintain documentation of clinical practice 
hours and continuing education for the previous 
five years and made available upon request of 
the Board. 

(h)  The Board shall approve those national credentialing bodies 
offering certification and recertification in a clinical nursing 
specialty that have established the following minimum 
requirements for applicants: 

(1) active unencumbered licensure as a registered 
nurse; and 

(2) certification as a clinical nurse specialist that is 
limited to applicant prepared with a master's or 
higher-level degree or a post-graduate 
certificate. 

 
Authority G.S. 90-171.20(4); 90-171.20(7); 90-171.21(d)(4); 90-
171.23(b); 90-171.42(b). 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

CHAPTER 52 – BOARD OF PODIATRY EXAMINERS 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Board of Podiatry Examiners intends to amend the rule cited as 
21 NCAC 52 .0613. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://ncbpe.org 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2024 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  July 18, 2023 
Time:  6:30 p.m. 
Location:  Join Zoom Meeting: 
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85452760113 Meeting ID: 854 5276 
0113 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed amendment 
increases the application fee and examination fee by $50 each. 
The reason for the increase is a response to the inflation in the 
general economy as experienced by the Board in the form of rising 
costs, including costs associated with processing applications and 
conducting examinations. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Tracy Steadman, 3739 
National Drive, Suite 102, Raleigh, NC 27612; phone (919) 861-
5583; fax (919) 787-4916; email info@ncbpe.org 
 
Comment period ends:  September 1, 2023 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
SECTION .0600 – GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 
21 NCAC 52 .0613 FEE SCHEDULE 
The following fees shall apply: 

(1) Application for examination (non-refundable) 
$300.00 $350.00 

(2) Examination (non-refundable) $50.00 $100.00 
(3) Re-Examination (application + exam fee, non-

refundable) $350.00 
(4) License certificate $100.00 
(5) Annual License Renewal $200.00 
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(6) License Renewal Late Fee (per month, up to 6 
months) $25.00 

(7) Data Processing Fee for Pharmaceutical 
Verification as set forth in Rule .0210 of this 
Chapter $300.00 

(8) Returned check the fee as set forth in Rule 
.0612 of this Section. As of the effective date of 
this Rule that fee is $12.00 

(9) Incorporation for PA/PC/PLLC $50.00 
(10) Annual Corporate Renewal $25.00 
(11) Corporate Renewal Late Fee $10.00 

 
Authority G.S. 90-202.5(a); 90-202.6(c); 90-202.9; 90-202.10; 
55B-10; 55B-11; 55B-12; 150B-19(5)(e). 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 
that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 
to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on May 18, 2023 Meeting. 
 
 REGISTER CITATION TO THE 
 NOTICE OF TEXT 

INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF 
Incident Reporting 11 NCAC 05A .0910* 37:16 NCR 
Records 11 NCAC 05A .0911 37:16 NCR 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 
Sulfur Dioxide Emissions from Combustion Sources 15A NCAC 02D .0516* 37:11 NCR 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 
Public Mountain Trout Waters 15A NCAC 10C .0205* 37:11 NCR 
Trotlines, Jug Hooks and Set Hooks 15A NCAC 10C .0206* 37:11 NCR 
Manner of Taking Inland Game Fishes 15A NCAC 10C .0302* 37:11 NCR 
Crappie 15A NCAC 10C .0306* 37:11 NCR 
Striped Bass 15A NCAC 10C .0314* 37:11 NCR 
Manner of Taking Nongame Fishes 15A NCAC 10C .0401* 37:11 NCR 
General Regulations Regarding Use 15A NCAC 10D .0102* 37:11 NCR 
General Regulations Regarding Hunting on Game Lands 15A NCAC 10D .0103* 37:11 NCR 
Fishing on Game Lands 15A NCAC 10D .0104* 37:11 NCR 
Possession and Removal of Animals, Plants and Materials 15A NCAC 10D .0105* 37:11 NCR 
Butner-Falls of Neuse Game Land in Durham, Granville, and... 15A NCAC 10D .0211* 37:11 NCR 
R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell Game Land in Caswell County 15A NCAC 10D .0215* 37:11 NCR 
Gull Rock Game Land in Hyde County 15A NCAC 10D .0232 37:14 NCR 
Johns River Game Land in Burke County 15A NCAC 10D .0239* 37:11 NCR 
Jordan Game Land in Chatham, Durham, Orange, and Wake ... 15A NCAC 10D .0240* 37:11 NCR 
Pee Dee River Game Land in Anson, Montgomery, Richmond, a... 15A NCAC 10D .0258* 37:11 NCR 
Rocky Run Game Land in Onslow County 15A NCAC 10D .0269 37:11 NCR 
Sandhills Game Land in Hoke, Moore, Richmond, and Scotlan... 15A NCAC 10D .0271* 37:11 NCR 
Clay County 15A NCAC 10F .0308* 37:14 NCR 
Forsyth, Rockingham and Stokes Counties 15A NCAC 10F .0316* 37:14 NCR 
Mecklenburg and Gaston Counties 15A NCAC 10F .0333* 37:14 NCR 
Perquimans County 15A NCAC 10F .0355 37:14 NCR 
City of Roxboro 15A NCAC 10F .0379 37:14 NCR 

MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION 
Marinas, Docking Facilities, and Other Mooring Areas 15A NCAC 18A .0911* 37:07 NCR 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 
Definitions 15A NCAC 18A .2801* 37:11 NCR 
Approval of Construction and Renovation Plans 15A NCAC 18A .2802* 37:11 NCR 
Handwashing 15A NCAC 18A .2803* 37:11 NCR 
Food Supplies 15A NCAC 18A .2804* 37:11 NCR 
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Food Storage and Protection 15A NCAC 18A .2806* 37:11 NCR 
Food Preparation 15A NCAC 18A .2807* 37:11 NCR 
Food Service 15A NCAC 18A .2808* 37:11 NCR 
Food Service Equipment and Utensils 15A NCAC 18A .2809* 37:11 NCR 
Specifications for Kitchens, Food Preparation Areas and F... 15A NCAC 18A .2810* 37:11 NCR 
Cleaning, Sanitizing, and Disinfecting Equipment, Utensils, and... 15A NCAC 18A .2812* 37:11 NCR 
Food Service Equipment and Utensil Storage 15A NCAC 18A .2814* 37:11 NCR 
Water Supply 15A NCAC 18A .2815* 37:11 NCR 
Lead Poisoning Hazards in Child Care Centers 15A NCAC 18A .2816* 37:11 NCR 
Toilets 15A NCAC 18A .2817 37:11 NCR 
Lavatories 15A NCAC 18A .2818* 37:11 NCR 
Diapering and Diaper Changing Facilities 15A NCAC 18A .2819* 37:11 NCR 
Storage 15A NCAC 18A .2820* 37:11 NCR 
Beds, Cots, Mats, and Linens 15A NCAC 18A .2821* 37:11 NCR 
Toys, Equipment and Furniture 15A NCAC 18A .2822 37:11 NCR 
Personnel 15A NCAC 18A .2823 37:11 NCR 
Floors 15A NCAC 18A .2824* 37:11 NCR 
Walls and Ceilings 15A NCAC 18A .2825* 37:11 NCR 
Lighting and Thermal Environment 15A NCAC 18A .2826 37:11 NCR 
Communicable Diseases and Conditions 15A NCAC 18A .2827* 37:11 NCR 
Wastewater 15A NCAC 18A .2829 37:11 NCR 
Solid Wastes 15A NCAC 18A .2830 37:11 NCR 
Animal and Vermin Control 15A NCAC 18A .2831* 37:11 NCR 
Outdoor Learning Environment and Premises 15A NCAC 18A .2832* 37:11 NCR 
Swimming and Wading Pools 15A NCAC 18A .2833* 37:11 NCR 
Compliance, Inspections and Reports 15A NCAC 18A .2834* 37:11 NCR 
Appeals Procedure 15A NCAC 18A .2835 37:11 NCR 
Mildly Sick Children 15A NCAC 18A .2836 37:11 NCR 

ELECTRICAL CONTRACTORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF 
Fees 21 NCAC 18B .0209* 37:16 NCR 
Annual License Fees 21 NCAC 18B .0404 37:16 NCR 

MEDICAL BOARD 
COVID-19 Drug Preservation Rule 21 NCAC 32B .1708 37:10 NCR 
Continuing Education (CE) 21 NCAC 32M .0107* 37:12 NCR 
COVID-19 Drug Preservation Rule 21 NCAC 32M .0119 37:10 NCR 

NURSING, BOARD OF 
Continuing Education (CE) 21 NCAC 36 .0807* 37:12 NCR 

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 
Reporting Criminal Convictions and Disciplinary Actions 21 NCAC 58A .0113* 37:16 NCR 
License Application 21 NCAC 58A .0301* 37:16 NCR 
Reinstatement of a License 21 NCAC 58A .0505* 37:16 NCR 
Attendance and Participation Requirements 21 NCAC 58A .1705 37:16 NCR 
Equivalent Credit 21 NCAC 58A .1708* 37:16 NCR 
Continuing Education Required of Nonresident Brokers 21 NCAC 58A .1711 37:16 NCR 
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Public Offering Statement Summary 21 NCAC 58B .0202 37:16 NCR 
Application for Education Provider Certification 21 NCAC 58H .0202* 37:16 NCR 
Limited Education Provider Petition for Consideration 21 NCAC 58H .0216* 37:16 NCR 
Application and Criteria for Instructor Approval 21 NCAC 58H .0302 37:16 NCR 
Limited Instructor Petition for Reconsideration 21 NCAC 58H .0307* 37:16 NCR 
 

 
TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 
11 NCAC 05A .0910 INCIDENT REPORTING 
(a)  In addition to the requirements of this Rule regarding the 
storage and deployment of Aqueous Film Forming Foam (AFFF), 
when a fire department responds to a fire, the fire chief shall 
ensure that a fire incident report is completed using software that 
complies with the current version of the National Fire Incident 
Reporting System (NFIRS). 
(b)  A fire department shall keep records on dates, times, and 
locations of all fires using software that complies with the current 
version of the NFIRS. 
(c)  All reports shall be submitted to OSFM within 120 days of 
incident occurrence. 
(d)  When a fire department responds to a fire involving fatalities, 
an initial report shall be filed by the fire chief or fire marshal of 
the authority having jurisdiction within 48 hours of the incident to 
the Office of State Fire Marshal. 
(e)  In accordance with G.S. 58-82B-10, an online reporting portal 
for the storage and deployment of AFFF has been created at the 
following website: https://www.ncosfm.gov/fire-rescue/ratings-
and-inspections/afff-foam. This online reporting portal consists of 
an online database and an online reporting tool to capture the 
storage and deployment of AFFF. 
(f)  The fire chief or fire marshal of the authority having 
jurisdiction shall ensure that the following information regarding 
AFFF inventory for their fire department is entered into the online 
database: 

(1) The number of trucks at each department that 
carry AFFF, and the fire station or other 
location, including street address, where each 
truck is located. 

(2) The volume, trade name, and Chemical 
Abstract Service (CAS) number of the AFFF on 
each truck. 

(3) An inventory, including the volume, trade 
name, and CAS number of AFFF stored by each 
fire department at a fire station or other 
location, including the street address where the 
AFFF is stored. 

(4) The volume, trade name, and CAS number of 
AFFF products that are no longer utilized and 
could be removed from inventory for disposal, 
including the street address where the AFFF is 
stored. 

(5) A photograph of the label and the container of 
the AFFF. For the purpose of this 
Subparagraph, a photograph includes an 
electronic image produced by the camera of an 
electronic device. 

The information entered in the online database shall be updated 
annually in accordance with G.S. 58-82B-5. 
(g) When a fire department responds to a fire, conducts training 
involving AFFF foam in any quantity, or has an accidental spill, 
the fire chief shall ensure an initial report is entered in the online 
reporting tool within 15 days of the incident or the training event, 
including the following: 

(1) The date, time, and location, including street 
address and GPS coordinates, where AFFF was 
involved, the trade name, and CAS number of 
the AFFF used. 

(2) The total volume of AFFF involved, including 
gallons of foam and gallons of water and total 
concentration of foam. 

(3) The reason for the deployment of AFFF, such 
as firefighting, fire prevention, other 
emergency response actions intended to protect 
property or public safety, training, or an 
accidental spill. 

(h)  The fire chief or fire marshal of the authority having 
jurisdiction shall ensure that an annual report is available in the 
online reporting tool by July 1st of each year that includes the 
information required by Paragraph (g) of this Rule. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-36-10; 58-40-25; 
58-79-1; 58-79-45; 58-82-5; 58.82.10; S.L. 2021-180, s. 8.10(i); 
Eff. January 1, 2018; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2023. 
 
11 NCAC 05A .0911 RECORDS 
A fire department shall maintain the following records for 36 
months: 

(1) Apparatus maintenance logs for in service 
engines and tankers, in accordance with 11 
NCAC 05A .0905. 

(2) Apparatus equipment inventory checks for all 
in service engines and tankers, in accordance 
with 11 NCAC 05A .0905. 

(3) Fire pump performance tests, in accordance 
with 11 NCAC 05A .0905. 

(4) Training records for all eligible firefighters, in 
accordance with 11 NCAC 05A .0907. 

(5) The AFFF inventory and usage reports created 
in accordance with 11 NCAC 05A .0910. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-36-10; 58-40-25; 
58-82-5; 58-82-10; 
Eff. January 1, 2018; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2023. 
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TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 
 
15A NCAC 02D .0516 SULFUR DIOXIDE EMISSIONS 
FROM COMBUSTION SOURCES 
(a)  Emissions of sulfur dioxide from any source of combustion, 
including air pollution control devices, discharged from any vent, 
stack, chimney, or flare shall not exceed 2.3 pounds of sulfur 
dioxide per million Btu input. 
(b)  When determining compliance with this standard: 

(1) the sulfur dioxide formed by the combustion of 
sulfur in fuels, wastes, ores, and other 
substances shall be included; 

(2) the sulfur dioxide formed or reduced as a result 
of treating flue gases with sulfur trioxide or 
other materials shall be included in the 
computation of emissions; and  

(3) the determination of Btu input shall not include 
the contribution from any portion of fuels used 
exclusively to inflate the heat input value used 
to demonstrate compliance with the emission 
standard in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  The standard set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall not 
apply to sulfur dioxide emission sources already subject to an 
emission standard for sulfur dioxide in 15A NCAC 02D .0524, 
.0527, .1110, .1111, .1206, or .1210. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-
215.107(a)(5); 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2007; April 1, 2003; July 1, 1996; February 
1, 1995; October 1, 1989; January 1, 1985; April 1, 1977; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2020; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2023. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
15A NCAC 10C .0205 PUBLIC MOUNTAIN TROUT 
WATERS 
(a)  For purposes of this Rule, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Natural bait" means a living or dead plant or 
animal, or parts thereof, or prepared substances 
designed to attract fish by the sense of taste or 
smell. 

(2) "Single hook" means a fish hook with only one 
point. 

(3) "Artificial lure" means a fishing lure that 
neither contains nor has been treated by a 
substance that attracts fish by the sense of taste 
or smell. 

(4) "Artificial fly" means one single hook dressed 
with feathers, hair, thread, tinsel, rubber, or a 
similar material to which no additional hook, 
spinner, spoon or similar device is added. 

(5) "Youth anglers" are individuals under 18 years 
of age. 

(b)  For purposes of this Rule, 15A NCAC 10C .0316, and 15A 
NCAC 10D .0104, the following classifications apply: 

(1) "Public Mountain Trout Waters" are the waters 
included in this Rule and those designated in 
15A NCAC 10D .0104. 

(2) "Catch and Release Artificial Flies and Lures 
Only Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout 
Waters where only artificial flies and lures 
having one single hook may be used. No trout 
may be possessed or harvested while fishing 
these streams. Waters with this designation 
include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(3) "Delayed Harvest Trout Waters" are Public 
Mountain Trout Waters where between October 
1 and one-half hour after sunset on the Friday 
before the first Saturday of the following June, 
it is unlawful to possess natural bait, use more 
than one single hook on an artificial lure, or 
harvest or possess trout while fishing. From 
6:00 a.m. until noon on the first Saturday in 
June, only youth anglers may fish and these 
waters have no bait or lure restrictions. From 
noon on the first Saturday in June until October 
1, anglers of all ages may fish and these waters 
have no bait or lure restrictions. Waters with 
this designation do not include tributaries 
unless otherwise noted. 

(4) "Hatchery Supported Trout Waters" are Public 
Mountain Trout Waters that have no bait or lure 
restrictions. Waters with this designation do not 
include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(5) "Special Regulation Trout Waters" are Public 
Mountain Trout Waters where watercourse-
specific regulations apply. Waters with this 
designation do not include tributaries unless 
otherwise noted. 

(6) "Wild Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout 
Waters identified in this Rule or 15A NCAC 
10D .0104. Only artificial lures having only one 
single hook may be used. No person shall 
possess natural bait while fishing these waters. 
Waters with this designation do not include 
tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(7) "Wild Trout Natural Bait Waters" are Public 
Mountain Trout Waters where artificial lures 
and natural baits, except live fish, may be used 
provided they are fished using only one single 
hook. Waters with this designation include 
tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(8) "Undesignated Waters" are the other waters in 
the State. These waters have no bait or lure 
restrictions. 

(c)  Seasons, creel, and size limits. Seasons, creel, and size limits 
for trout are listed in Rule .0316 of this Subchapter. 
(d)  Classifications. This Paragraph designates waters in each 
county that have a specific classification. Waters on game lands 
are designated in 15A NCAC 10D .0104, unless otherwise 
indicated in this Paragraph. The other waters are classified as 
Undesignated Waters. 

(1) Alleghany 
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(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Little River from the S.R. 1133 bridge 
to 275 yards downstream of the 
intersection of S.R. 1128 and S.R. 
1129, marked by a sign on both banks 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Big Pine Creek 
Bledsoe Creek 
Brush Creek from the N.C. 21 bridge 
to the confluence with the Little River, 
except where posted against 
trespassing 
Cranberry Creek 
Glade Creek 
Little River from 275 yards 
downstream of the intersection of S.R. 
1128 and S.R. 1129, marked by a sign 
on both banks, to McCann Dam 
Meadow Fork 
Pine Swamp Creek 
Piney Fork 
Prathers Creek 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
The waters located on Stone Mountain 

State Park 
(2) Ashe County 

(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 
Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Big Horse Creek from the Virginia 
state line to Mud Creek at S.R. 1363, 
excluding tributaries 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Big Horse Creek from the S.R. 1324 

bridge to the North Fork New 
River 

Helton Creek from 900 yards 
upstream of the S.R. 1372 bridge, 
marked by a sign on both banks to the 
North Fork New River 
South Fork New River from the 

upstream end of Todd Island 
to the S.R. 1351 bridge 

Trout Lake 
(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 
Beaver Creek from N.C. 221 to the 
confluence of Beaver Creek and South 
Beaver Creek 
Big Horse Creek from Mud Creek at 

S.R. 1363 to the S.R. 1324 
bridge 

Big Laurel Creek from the S.R. 1315 
bridge to the confluence with the 
North Fork New River 

Buffalo Creek from the S.R. 1133 
bridge to the N.C. 194-88 
bridge 

Cranberry Creek from the Alleghany 
Co. line to the South Fork 
New River 

Nathans Creek 
North Fork New River from the 

Watauga Co. line to Sharp 
Dam 

Old Fields Creek from N.C. 221 to the 
South Fork New River 

Peak Creek from the upper boundary 
of the NCDA-NCSU Upper Mountain 
Research Station to Trout Lake 
Roan Creek 
Three Top Creek 

(3) Avery County 
(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Elk River, the portion on Lees-McRae 

College property, excluding 
the millpond 

Lost Cove Creek, the game land 
portion, excluding Gragg 
Prong and Rockhouse Creek 

Wilson Creek, the game land portion 
(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 
Boyde Coffey Lake 
Elk River from the S.R. 1305 crossing 
immediately upstream of Big Falls to 
the Tennessee state line 
Linville River from S.R. 1504 to the 
Blue Ridge Parkway boundary line, 
except where posted against 
trespassing 
Milltimber Creek 
North Toe River from Watauga St. to 
Roby Shoemaker Wetlands and 
Family Recreational Park, except 
where posted against trespassing 
North Toe River from S.R. 1164 to 
Mitchell Co. line, except where posted 
against trespassing 
Squirrel Creek 
Wildcat Lake 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
Birchfield Creek 
Cow Camp Creek 
Cranberry Creek from the headwaters 

to the U.S. 19E, N.C. 194, 
bridge 

Gragg Prong 
Horse Creek 
Kentucky Creek 
North Harper Creek 
Plumtree Creek 
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Roaring Creek 
Rockhouse Creek 
Shawneehaw Creek, the portion 

adjacent to Banner Elk 
Greenway 

South Harper Creek 
Webb Prong 

(4) Buncombe County 
(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Carter Creek, the game land portion 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Bent Creek from the headwaters to the 

N.C. Arboretum boundary 
line 

Cane Creek from the headwaters to the 
S.R. 3138 bridge 

Corner Rock Creek from Little Andy 
Creek to the confluence with 
Walker Branch 

Dillingham Creek from Corner Rock 
Creek to Ivy Creek 

Ivy Creek from Dillingham Creek to 
the U.S. 19-23 bridge 

Lake Powhatan 
Reems Creek from Sugar Camp Fork 
to the U.S. 19-23 bridge, except where 
posted against trespassing 
Rich Branch from downstream of the 

confluence with Rocky 
Branch 

Stony Creek 
Swannanoa from the S.R. 2702 bridge 
near Ridgecrest to the Wood Avenue 
bridge, at the intersection of N.C. 81 
and U.S. 74A in Asheville, except 
where posted against trespassing 

(5) Burke County 
(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Henry Fork, the portion on South 

Mountains State Park 
(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Jacob Fork from Shinny Creek to the 

lower South Mountains State 
Park boundary 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Carroll Creek, the game land portion 

above S.R. 1405 
Henry Fork from the lower South 

Mountain State Park line to 
S.R. 1919 at Ivy Creek 

Linville River, the portion within 
Linville Gorge Wilderness area and 

the portion below Lake James 
powerhouse from the upstream bridge 
on S.R. 1223 to Muddy Creek 

(D) Special Regulation Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Catawba River from Muddy Creek to 

the City of Morganton water 
intake dam 

(E) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
The waters located on South 
Mountains State Park, except those 
waters identified in Parts A and B of 
this Subparagraph 

(6) Caldwell County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Wilson Creek, the game land portion 

below Lost Cove Creek to 
Philips Branch 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Boone Fork Pond 
Buffalo Creek from the mouth of Joes 

Creek to McCloud Branch 
Joes Creek from the first falls 
upstream of S.R. 1574 to the 
confluence with Buffalo Creek 
Wilson Creek from Phillips Branch to 
Brown Mountain Beach Dam, except 
where posted against trespassing 
Yadkin River from the Happy Valley 

Ruritan Community Park to 
S.R. 1515 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
Buffalo Creek from the Watauga Co. 
line to Long Ridge Branch including 
game land tributaries 
Joes Creek from the Watauga Co. line 

to the first falls upstream of 
the end of S.R. 1574 

Rockhouse Creek 
(7) Cherokee County 

(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Davis Creek from the confluence of 
Bald Creek and Dockery Creek to 
Hanging Dog Creek 
Hyatt Creek from Big Dam Branch to 

the Valley River 
Junaluska Creek from Ashturn Creek 

to the Valley River 
Shuler Creek from the Joe Brown 

Hwy, S.R. 1325 bridge, to the 
Tennessee state line 

Valley River from S.R. 1359 to the 
U.S. 19 Business bridge in 
Murphy 

(B) Special Regulation Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
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Apalachia Reservoir 
(C) Wild Trout Natural Bait Waters are as 

follows: 
Bald Creek, the game land portion 
Dockery Creek, the game land portion 

(8) Clay County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Fires Creek from Rockhouse Creek to 
the foot bridge in the USFS Fires 
Creek Picnic Area 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Buck Creek, the game land portion 

downstream of the U.S. 64 
bridge 

Fires Creek from the foot bridge in the 
USFS Fires Creek Picnic 
Area to S.R. 1300 

Tusquitee Creek from Compass Creek 
to the lower S.R. 1300 bridge 

(9) Graham County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Snowbird Creek from the USFS 

footbridge at the old railroad 
junction to USFS Rd. 2579 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Calderwood Reservoir from Cheoah 

Dam to the Tennessee state 
line 

Cheoah Reservoir 
Panther Creek from the confluence of 

Stand Creek and Rock Creek 
to Lake Fontana 

Santeetlah Creek from Johns Branch 
to Lake Santeetlah 

Snowbird Creek from USFS Rd. 2579 
to the S.R. 1127 bridge 

Stecoah Creek from the upper game 
land boundary to Lake 
Fontana 

Tulula Creek from S.R. 1201 to the 
lower bridge on S.R. 1275 

West Buffalo Creek 
Yellow Creek from Lake Santeetlah 

hydropower pipeline to the 
Cheoah River 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
Little Buffalo Creek 
South Fork Squally Creek 
Squally Creek 

(D) Wild Trout Natural Bait Waters are as 
follows: 
Long Creek, the game land portion 

(10) Haywood County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

West Fork Pigeon River from Queen 
Creek to the first game land boundary 
upstream of Lake Logan 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Cold Springs Creek from Fall Branch 

to the Pigeon River 
Jonathan Creek from upstream of the 
S.R. 1302 bridge to the Pigeon River, 
except where posted against 
trespassing 
Pigeon River from Stamey Cove 

Branch to the upstream U.S. 
19-23 bridge 

Richland Creek from the Russ 
Avenue, U.S. 276, bridge to 
the U.S. 19 bridge 

West Fork Pigeon River from Tom 
Creek to Queen Creek, including the 
game land portion, except Middle 
Prong 

(11) Henderson County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
North Fork Mills River, the game land 

portion below the 
Hendersonville watershed 
dam 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Broad River from the end of S.R. 1611 

to the Rutherford Co. line 
Cane Creek from the railroad bridge 
upstream of the S.R. 1551 bridge to 
the U.S. 25 bridge 
Clear Creek from Laurel Fork to S.R. 

1582 
Green River from the Lake Summit 

powerhouse to the game land 
boundary 

Hungry River from S.R. 1885 to the 
Green River 

(12) Jackson County 
(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Flat Creek 
Tuckasegee River, the game land 
portion upstream of Tanasee Creek 
Lake, including the Duke Energy 
powerline corridor 
Tuckasegee River the portion 

upstream from the Clark 
property 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Tuckasegee River from downstream 
of the N.C. 107 bridge to the falls 
located 275 yards upstream of the U.S. 
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23-441 bridge, marked by a sign on 
both banks 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Balsam Lake 
Bear Creek Lake 
Cedar Cliff Lake 
Cullowhee Creek from Tilley Creek to 

the Tuckasegee River 
Dark Ridge Creek from Jones Creek to 

Scott Creek 
Greens Creek from Greens Creek 

Baptist Church on S.R. 1370 
to Savannah Creek 

Savannah Creek from Shell Branch to 
Cagle Branch 

Scott Creek from Dark Ridge Creek to 
the Tuckasegee River, except where 
posted against trespassing 
Tanasee Creek Lake 
Tuckasegee River from John Brown 

Branch to the downstream 
N.C. 107 bridge 

Tuckasegee River from the falls 
located 275 yards upstream of the U.S. 
23-441 bridge, marked by a sign on 
both banks, to the S.R. 1534 bridge at 
Wilmont 
Wolf Creek Lake 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
Gage Creek 
North Fork Scott Creek 
Tanasee Creek 
Whitewater River from Silver Run 

Creek to the South Carolina 
state line 

Wolf Creek except Balsam Lake and 
Wolf Creek Lake 

(E) Wild Trout Natural Bait Waters are as 
follows: 
Chattooga River from the S.R. 1100 

bridge to the South Carolina 
state line 

(13) Macon County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Nantahala River from Whiteoak Creek 

to the Nantahala hydropower 
discharge canal 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Burningtown Creek from Left Prong 

to the Little Tennessee River 
Cartoogechaye Creek from 
downstream of the U.S. 64 bridge to 
the Little Tennessee River 
Cliffside Lake 

Cullasaja River from Sequoyah Dam 
to the U.S. 64 bridge near the 
junction of S.R. 1672 

Nantahala River from Dicks Creek to 
Whiteoak Creek 

Nantahala River from the Nantahala 
hydropower discharge canal 
to the Swain Co. line 

Queens Creek Lake 
(C) Wild Trout Natural Bait Waters are as 

follows: 
Chattooga River from the S.R. 1100 

bridge to the South Carolina 
state line 

Kimsey Creek 
Park Creek 

(14) Madison County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Big Laurel Creek from the N.C. 208 

bridge to the U.S. 25-70 
bridge 

Shelton Laurel Creek from the N.C. 
208 bridge at Belva to the confluence 
with Big Laurel Creek 
Spring Creek from the N.C. 209 bridge 
at the Hot Springs city limits to the 
iron bridge at end of Andrews Ave. 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Big Laurel Creek from Puncheon Fork 
to the S.R. 1318, Big Laurel Rd., 
bridge downstream of Bearpen Branch 
Big Pine Creek from the S.R. 1151 

bridge to the French Broad 
River 

Little Ivy Creek from the confluence 
of Middle Fork and Paint Fork at 
Beech Glen to the confluence with Ivy 
Creek at Forks of Ivy 
Max Patch Pond 
Meadow Fork Creek from Meadow 

Fork Campground to Spring 
Creek 

Puncheon Fork from Wolf Laurel 
Branch to Big Laurel Creek 

Roaring Fork from Fall Branch to 
Meadow Fork 

Shelton Laurel Creek from the 
confluence of Big Creek and Mill 
Creek to the N.C. 208 bridge at Belva 
Shut-in Creek 
Spillcorn Creek 
Spring Creek from the junction of 
N.C. 209 and N.C. 63 to the 
confluence with Meadow Fork 
West Fork Shut-in Creek from the 
lower game land boundary to the 
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confluence with East Fork Shut-in 
Creek 

(15) McDowell County 
(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Newberry Creek, the game land 

portion 
(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Catawba River, the portion adjacent to 

the Marion Greenway 
Curtis Creek, the game land portion 

downstream of the USFS 
boundary at Deep Branch 

Mill Creek from the U.S. 70 bridge to 
the I-40 bridge 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Armstrong Creek from the Cato Holler 

line downstream to the upper 
Greenlee line 

Catawba River from the Catawba Falls 
Campground to the Old Fort 
Recreation Park 

Little Buck Creek, the game land 
portion 

North Fork Catawba River from the 
headwaters to North Cove School at 
the S.R. 1569 bridge 

(16) Mitchell County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Cane Creek from the N.C. 226 bridge 

to the S.R. 1189 bridge 
North Toe River from the U.S. 19E 

bridge to the N.C. 226 bridge 
(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 
Big Rock Creek from the headwaters 

to the N.C. 226 bridge at the 
S.R. 1307 intersection 

Cane Creek from S.R. 1219 to the 
N.C. 226 bridge 

East Fork Grassy Creek 
Grassy Creek from East Fork Grassy 

Creek to the mouth 
Little Rock Creek from the Green 
Creek bridge to Big Rock Creek, 
except where posted against 
trespassing 
North Toe River from the Avery Co. 

line to the S.R. 1121 bridge 
(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Green Creek from the headwaters to 
the Green Creek bridge, except where 
posted against trespassing 
Little Rock Creek the portion 
upstream of the Green Creek bridge, 

including the tributaries, except where 
posted against trespassing 
Wiles Creek from the game land 

boundary to the mouth 
(17) Polk County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Green River from the Fishtop Falls 

Access Area to the 
confluence with Cove Creek 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Green River from the mouth of Cove 

Creek to the natural gas 
pipeline crossing 

North Pacolet River from Joels Creek 
to the N.C. 108 bridge 

(18) Rutherford County 
(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 
Broad River from the Henderson Co. 
line to the U.S. 64/74 bridge, except 
where posted against trespassing 

(19) Stokes County 
(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 
Dan River from the Virginia state line 
downstream to a point 200 yards 
below the end of S.R. 1421 

(20) Surry County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Ararat River, the portion adjacent to 

the Ararat River Greenway 
Mitchell River from 0.6 miles 
upstream of the end of S.R. 1333 to the 
lowermost bridge on S.R. 1330 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Ararat River from the S.R. 1727 

bridge to the N.C. 103 bridge 
Big Elkin Creek from the dam 440 
yards upstream of the N.C. 268 bridge 
to a point 265 yards downstream of 
N.C. 268, marked by a sign on both 
banks 
Fisher River from the Virginia state 

line to the I-77 bridge 
Little Fisher River from the Virginia 

state line to the N.C. 89 
bridge 

Lovills Creek from the U.S. 52 
Business bridge to the Ararat 
River 

Pauls Creek from the Virginia state 
line to 0.3 miles below the 
S.R. 1625 bridge 

(21) Swain County 
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(A) Delayed Harvest Waters Trout Waters 
are as follows: 
Tuckasegee River from the U.S. 19 

bridge to the Slope Street 
bridge 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Alarka Creek from the game land 

boundary to Fontana 
Reservoir 

Calderwood Reservoir from Cheoah 
Dam to the Tennessee state 
line 

Cheoah Reservoir 
Connelly Creek from Camp Branch to 

the Tuckasegee River 
Deep Creek from the Great Smoky 
Mountains National Park Boundary 
line to the Tuckasegee River 
Nantahala River from the Macon Co. 

line to the existing Fontana 
Lake water level 

(22) Transylvania County 
(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Davidson River from the headwaters 
to Avery Creek, excluding Avery 
Creek, Looking Glass Creek, Grogan 
Creek, Cedar Rock Creek and John 
Rock Branch  

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
East Fork French Broad River from 
East Fork Baptist Church to the 
downstream S.R. 1107 bridge 
Little River from the confluence of 
Lake Dense to 100 yards downstream 
of Hooker Falls 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Davidson River from Avery Creek to 

the lower USFS boundary 
French Broad River from the 
confluence of the North Fork French 
Broad River and West Fork 
French Broad River to the Island Ford 

Rd., S.R. 1110, Access Area 
Middle Fork French Broad River from 
upstream of the U.S. 178 bridge to the 
French Broad River 
West Fork French Broad River from 
S.R. 1312 to confluence with North 
Fork French Broad River 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
The waters located on Gorges State 

Park 

Whitewater River from Silver Run 
Creek to the South Carolina 
state line 

(E) Wild Trout Natural Bait Waters are as 
follows: 
North Fork French Broad River, the 

game land portion 
downstream of S.R. 1326 

Thompson River from S.R. 1152 to the 
South Carolina state line, except 
where posted against trespassing 

(23) Watauga County 
(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Laurel Creek from the confluence of 
North Fork Laurel Creek and South 
Fork Laurel Creek to Elk Creek, 
excluding tributaries 
Pond Creek from the headwaters to the 
Locust Ridge Rd. bridge, excluding 
the pond adjacent to Coffee Lake 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Lake Coffey 
Watauga River from the S.R. 1114 
bridge to the Valle Crucis Community 
Park lower boundary 
Watauga River from the S.R. 1103 

bridge to the confluence with 
Laurel Creek 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Beaverdam Creek from the confluence 
of Beaverdam Creek and Little 
Beaverdam Creek to an unnamed 
tributary adjacent to the intersection of 
S.R. 1201 and S.R. 1203 
Beech Creek 
Buckeye Creek from Buckeye Creek 

Reservoir dam to Grassy Gap 
Creek 

Buckeye Creek Reservoir 
Cove Creek from the S.R. 1233 bridge 

at Zionville to the S.R. 1214 
bridge at Sherwood 

Dutch Creek from the second S.R. 
1136 bridge to the mouth 

Elk Creek from the S.R. 1510 bridge 
at Triplett to the Wilkes Co. line, 
except where posted against 
trespassing 
Laurel Creek from the S.R. 1123 
bridge at the S.R. 1157 intersection to 
the Watauga River 
Meat Camp Creek from the S.R. 1340 

bridge at the S.R. 1384 
intersection to N.C. 194 
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Middle Fork New River from adjacent 
to the intersection of S.R. 1539 and 
U.S. 321 to the South Fork New River 
Norris Fork Creek 
South Fork New River from the canoe 
launch 70 yards upstream of U.S. 421 
bridge to the lower boundary of 
Brookshire Park 
Stony Fork from the S.R. 1500 bridge 

at the S.R. 1505 intersection 
to the Wilkes Co. line 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
Dutch Creek from the headwaters to 

the second S.R. 1136 bridge 
Howard Creek 
Maine Branch from the headwaters to 

the North Fork New River 
North Fork New River from the 
confluence with Maine Branch and 
Mine Branch to the Ashe Co. line 
Watauga River from the Avery Co. 

line to the S.R. 1580 bridge 
Winkler Creek from the lower bridge 
on S.R. 1549 to the confluence with 
the South Fork New River 

(24) Wilkes County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
East Prong Roaring River from 
Bullhead Creek to the Stone Mountain 
State Park lower boundary 
Elk Creek from the Watauga Co. line 
to the lower boundary of the Blue 
Ridge Mountain Club 
Elk Creek, the portion on 

Leatherwood Mountains 
development 

Reddies River from the Town of North 
Wilkesboro water intake dam to the 
confluence with the Yadkin River 
Stone Mountain Creek from the falls at 
the Alleghany Co. line to the 
confluence with the East Prong 
Roaring River and Bullhead Creek 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Basin Creek from the S.R. 1730 bridge 

to the confluence with 
Lovelace Creek 

Bell Branch Pond 
Boundary Line Pond 
Cub Creek from 0.5 miles upstream of 

the S.R. 2460 bridge to the 
S.R. 1001 bridge 

Darnell Creek from the downstream 
ford on S.R. 1569 to the confluence 
with the North Fork Reddies River 

East Prong Roaring River from the 
Stone Mountain State Park lower 
boundary to the S.R. 1002 bridge 
Fall Creek from the S.R. 1300 bridge 
to the confluence with South Prong 
Lewis Fork, except where posted 
against trespassing 
Middle Fork Reddies River from the 

headwaters to the bridge on 
S.R. 1580 

Middle Prong Roaring River from the 
headwaters to the second 
bridge on S.R. 1736 

North Fork Reddies River from the 
headwaters to the Union 
School bridge on S.R. 1559 

Pike Creek 
Pike Creek Pond 
South Fork Reddies River from the 
S.R. 1355 bridge to the confluence 
with the Middle Fork Reddies River 
South Prong Lewis Fork from Fall 
Creek to the U.S. 421 bridge adjacent 
to the S.R. 1155 intersection 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
The waters located on Stone Mountain 
State Park, except East Prong Roaring 
River from Bullhead Creek to the 
Stone Mountain State Park lower 
boundary where Delayed Harvest 
Trout Waters regulations apply, and 
Stone Mountain Creek from the falls at 
the Alleghany Co. line to the 
confluence with the East Prong 
Roaring River and Bullhead Creek in 
Stone Mountain State Park where 
Delayed Harvest Trout Waters 
regulations apply 

(25) Yancey County 
(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
South Toe River from the headwaters 

to Upper Creek 
Upper Creek 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Cane River from Blackberry Ridge 
Rd. to the downstream boundary of 
Cane River County Park 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Bald Mountain Creek, except where 

posted against trespassing 
Cane River from Bee Branch, S.R. 

1110, to Bowlens Creek 
Price Creek from the junction of S.R. 

1120 and S.R. 1121 to Indian 
Creek 
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South Toe River from Clear Creek to 
the lower boundary line of Yancey Co. 
Recreation Park, except where posted 
against trespassing 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
Cattail Creek from the bridge at 

Mountain Farm Community 
Rd. to the N.C. 197 bridge 

Lickskillet Creek 
Middle Creek from the game land 

boundary to the mouth 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-272; 113-292; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1997; July 1, 1996; July 1, 
1995; July 1, 1994; July 1, 1993; October 1, 1992; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2001; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (approved by RRC on 6/21/01 and 
04/18/02); 
Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2004 (this amendment replaces the 
amendment approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; 
August 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; August 1, 2013; August 1, 2012; 
August 1, 2011; August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; May 
1, 2007; May 1, 2006; June 1, 2005; 
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2023; August 1, 2022; August 1, 2021; 
August 1, 2020. 
 
15A NCAC 10C .0206 TROTLINES, JUG HOOKS AND 
SET HOOKS 
(a)  For purposes of this Rule, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Set hook" means a fishing device consisting of 
a single line having no more than three hooks 
that is attached at one end only to a stationary 
object. 

(2) "Jug hook" means a fishing device consisting of 
a single line having no more than three hooks 
that is attached to a float. 

(3) "Trotline" means a fishing device consisting of 
a horizontal common line having multiple 
hooks attached. 

(b)  Trotlines, jug hooks, and set hooks may be set in the inland 
waters of North Carolina, provided no live bait is used, except that 
they: 

(1) may not be set in the impounded waters on the 
Sandhills Game Land; 

(2) may not be set in designated public mountain 
trout waters except impounded waters of power 
reservoirs and municipally-owned water supply 
reservoirs open to the public for fishing;  

(3) in Lake Waccamaw, trotlines, jug hooks, or set 
hooks may only be set from October 1 through 
April 30; and 

(4) in the Roanoke River, trotlines, jug hooks, or 
set hooks may only be set from July 1 through 
March 31. 

(c)  A trotline, set hook, and jug hook shall bear legible and 
indelible identification of the user's name and address or the user's 
Wildlife Resources Commission customer number. 
(d)  Trotlines and set hooks shall be conspicuously marked at each 
end with a flag, float, or other prominent object so that its location 
is readily discernible by boat operators and swimmers. 
(e)  Trotlines shall be set parallel to the nearest shore in inland 
fishing waters unless otherwise prohibited. 
(f)  The number of jug hooks that may be fished is limited to 70 
per boat. 
(g)  Trotlines, set hooks, and jug hooks shall be fished once daily 
with all fish removed. 
(h)  Trotlines, set hooks, and jug hooks without bait or not labeled 
as described in this Paragraph may be removed from the water by 
wildlife enforcement officers. 
(i)  It is unlawful to use metal cans or glass jugs as floats. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-272; 113-292; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 1993; May 1, 1992; July 1, 1989; January 
1, 1982; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; August 1, 2013; 
May 1, 2008; June 1, 2005; August 1, 2002; 
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2022; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 10C .0302 MANNER OF TAKING INLAND 
GAME FISHES 
(a)  Inland game fishes may only be taken with hook and line 
unless otherwise provided. 
(b)  Landing nets may be used to land fishes caught on hook and 
line. 
(c)  Game fishes taken incidental to the use of special devices for 
taking nongame fishes from inland fishing waters as authorized in 
15A NCAC 10C .0402 or as authorized by 15A NCAC 10C .0407 
by anglers licensed pursuant to G.S. 113-272.2(c) shall be 
immediately returned to the water unharmed except: 

(1) that a daily creel limit of American and hickory 
shad may be taken with dip nets and bow nets 
from March 1 through April 30 in those waters 
where those gears may be lawfully used; and 

(2) white perch may be taken when captured in a 
cast net being used to collect nongame fishes in 
impounded waters west of Interstate 95 and in 
the Tar River Reservoir in Nash County. 

(d)  Inland game fishes taken from Inland Fishing Waters shall not 
be sold. 
(e)  In the inland waters of the Roanoke River upstream of U.S. 
258 bridge, only a single barbless circle hook may be used when 
fishing with live or natural bait from April 1 to June 30. With other 
tackle, only a single barbless hook may be used. "Circle hook" as 
used in this Rule means a hook with the point turned 
perpendicularly back to the shank. "Barbless" as used in this Rule 
requires that the hook does not have a barb or the barb is bent 
down. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-272.3; 113-292; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 1996; October 1, 1994; July 1, 1993; May 
1, 1992; January 1, 1982; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 1998; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999; 
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2021; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2023; March 15, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 10C .0306 CRAPPIE 
(a)  There is no daily creel limit for Crappie, except for waters 
identified in Paragraphs (d) through (h) of this Rule. 
(b)  There is no minimum size limit except in waters identified in 
Paragraphs (f) through (h) of this Rule. 
(c)  There is no closed season. 
(d)  In Buckhorn Reservoir in Wilson and Nash counties, the daily 
creel limit is 20 fish. 
(e)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit is 30 
fish. 
(f)  In the following waters, the daily creel limit is 20 fish and the 
minimum size limit is 10 inches: 

(1) B. Everett Jordan Reservoir; 
(2) Roanoke River and its tributaries downstream 

of Roanoke Rapids dam; 
(3) Cashie River and its tributaries; 
(4) Middle River and its tributaries; 
(5) Eastmost River and its tributaries; and 
(6) Lake Mattamuskeet and associated canals in 

Hyde County. 
(g)  In the following waters, the daily creel limit is 20 fish and the 
minimum size limit is eight inches: 

(1) Lake Norman; 
(2) Lake Hyco; 
(3) Lake Ramseur; 
(4) Cane Creek Lake (Union County); 
(5) Lake Hampton (Yadkin County); 
(6) Tar River downstream of Tar River Reservoir 

Dam and all tributaries; 
(7) Neuse River downstream of Falls Lake Dam 

and all tributaries; 
(8) Haw River downstream of Jordan Lake Dam 

and all tributaries; 
(9) Deep River downstream of Lockville Dam and 

all tributaries; 
(10) Cape Fear River and all tributaries; 
(11) Waccamaw River downstream of Lake 

Waccamaw Dam and all tributaries; 
(12) Lumber River including Drowning Creek and 

all tributaries; 
(13) all other public fishing waters east of Interstate 

95, except Tar River Reservoir in Nash County, 
Sutton Lake in New Hanover County, and 
waters listed in Paragraph (f) of this Rule; and 

(14) all public waters west of Interstate 77, except 
Lake Chatuge. 

(h)  In John H. Kerr Reservoir, the daily creel limit is 25 fish and 
the minimum size limit is nine inches. 
 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 
Eff. November 1, 2013; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; August 1, 2015; 
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2023; August 1, 2020. 
 
15A NCAC 10C .0314 STRIPED BASS 
(a)  The daily creel limit for striped bass and its hybrids is four 
fish in the aggregate, except in waters identified in Paragraphs (d) 
and (g) through (m) of this Rule. 
(b)  The minimum size limit for these fish is 20 inches, except in 
waters identified in Paragraphs (d) through (m) of this Rule. 
(c)  There is no closed season, except for waters identified in 
Paragraphs (i) through (m) of this Rule. 
(d)  In the Dan River upstream from its confluence with Bannister 
River to the dam at Union Street in Danville, VA and in John H. 
Kerr Reservoir, the daily creel limit on striped bass and its hybrids 
is two in the aggregate and the minimum size limit is 20 inches 
from October 1 through May 31. From June 1 through September 
30, the daily creel limit on striped bass and its hybrids is four in 
the aggregate with no minimum size limit. 
(e)  In Lake Gaston and Roanoke Rapids Reservoir, the minimum 
size limit for striped bass and its hybrids is 20 inches from October 
1 through May 31. There is no minimum size limit for these fish 
from June 1 through September 30. 
(f)  In Hyco Lake, Moss Lake, Mountain Island Reservoir, Oak 
Hollow Lake, Lake Thom-A-Lex, Lake Townsend, and Salem 
Lake the minimum size limit for striped bass and its hybrids is 16 
inches. 
(g)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit is 15 in 
the aggregate. There is no minimum size limit, but only two may 
be greater than 22 inches. 
(h)  In Lake Mattamuskeet, and in the Pee Dee River and its 
tributaries downstream from the Blewett Falls Dam to the South 
Carolina state line, the daily creel limit for striped bass and its 
hybrids is three fish in the aggregate, and the minimum size limit 
is 18 inches. 
(i)  In the inland fishing waters of Neuse, Pungo, and Tar Pamlico 
rivers and their tributaries extending upstream to the first 
impoundment of the main course on the river or its tributaries, and 
in the other inland fishing waters east of Interstate 95 not specified 
in Paragraphs (h) and (j) through (l) of this Rule, the daily creel 
limit for striped bass and its hybrids is two fish in the aggregate. 
The minimum size limit is 26 inches. In these waters, the season 
for taking and possessing striped bass is closed from May 1 
through September 30. 
(j)  In the inland fishing waters of the Cape Fear River and its 
tributaries downstream of Buckhorn Dam and in the ponds 
associated with Martin Marietta Park in Craven County, the 
season for taking and possessing striped bass is closed year-round. 
(k)  In the inland and joint fishing waters of the Roanoke River 
Striped Bass Management Area, as established in 15A NCAC 
03R .0201 and identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0110 which includes 
the Roanoke, Cashie, Middle, and Eastmost rivers and their 
tributaries, the open season for taking and possessing striped bass 
and its hybrids is March 1 through April 30 from the joint-coastal 
fishing waters boundary at Albemarle Sound upstream to 
Roanoke Rapids Lake Dam. During the open season, the daily 
creel limit for striped bass and its hybrids is one fish in the 
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aggregate, and the minimum size limit is 18 inches. No fish over 
22 inches in length shall be possessed in the daily creel limit. 
(l)  In designated inland and joint fishing waters of Roanoke 
Sound, Croatan Sound, Albemarle Sound, Chowan River, 
Currituck Sound, Alligator River, Scuppernong River, and their 
tributaries, excluding the Roanoke River and Cashie River and 
their tributaries, the striped bass fishing season, size limits, and 
creel limits are the same as those established by rules or 
proclamations of the Marine Fisheries Commission in adjacent 
coastal fishing waters. 
(m)  In accordance with G.S. 113-292, the Executive Director 
may, by proclamation, suspend or extend the hook-and-line 
season for striped bass in the inland and joint waters of coastal 
rivers and their tributaries. It is unlawful to violate the provisions 
of a proclamation issued pursuant to this authority. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 
113-305; 
Eff. November 1, 2013; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2018; August 1, 2016; August 1, 2015; 
August 1, 2014; 
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; August 1, 2020; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2022; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2022; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2023; March 15, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 10C .0401 MANNER OF TAKING 
NONGAME FISHES 
(a)  Except as permitted by the rules in this Section, no person 
shall take nongame fishes from the inland fishing waters of North 
Carolina in a manner other than with hook and line, grabbling, or 
special device with a special device fishing license, or inland 
fishing license. 
(b)  Nongame fishes may be taken from inland fishing waters 
without restriction as to size limits or creel limits, except as 
specified in this Section. 
(c)  Special devices used with a special device fishing license shall 
only be used in those counties and waters with open season 
designated in 15A NCAC 10C .0407. 
(d)  Archery equipment used with either a hunting license or 
inland fishing license may be used to take nongame fishes year-
round in inland fishing waters, except: 

(1) in the Pee Dee River and its tributaries, 
downstream of Blewett Falls Dam to the South 
Carolina state line, where only catfish shall be 
taken; 

(2) in impounded waters located on the Sandhills 
Game Land; and 

(3) in public mountain trout waters. 
(e)  Set hooks, jug hooks, and trotlines may be used to take 
nongame fishes as designated in 15A NCAC 10C .0206. 
(f)  The season for taking nongame fishes by hook and line in 
designated public mountain trout waters is the same as the trout 
fishing season. Trout seasons are designated in 15A NCAC 10C 
.0316. 

(g)  Nongame fishes taken by hook and line, grabbling, or by 
special device with a special device fishing license may be sold 
unless otherwise specified in this Section. 
(h)  In the inland waters of the Roanoke River upstream of U.S. 
258 bridge, only a single barbless circle hook may be used when 
fishing with live or natural bait from April 1 to June 30. With other 
tackle, only a single barbless hook may be used. "Circle hook" as 
used in this Rule means a hook with the point turned 
perpendicularly back to the shank. "Barbless" as used in this Rule 
requires that a hook does not have a barb or the barb is bent down. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-272; 113-292; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; July 1, 1993; May 1, 1992; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1996; July 1, 1995; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; July 1, 2001; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (approved by RRC on 06/21/01 and 
04/18/02); 
Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 
Amended Eff. May 1, 2004 (this amendment replaces the 
amendment approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2019; August 1, 2018; August 1, 2016; 
August 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; August 1, 2013; August 1, 2012; 
August 1, 2011; August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; May 
1, 2007; May 1, 2006; June 1, 2005; 
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2022; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2023; March 15, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0102 GENERAL REGULATIONS 
REGARDING USE 
(a)  For purposes of this Subchapter, the following definitions 
apply: 

(1) "Permanent Hunting Blind" means a structure 
that is used for hunter concealment, constructed 
from manmade or natural materials, and that is 
not disassembled and removed at the end of the 
day's hunt. 

(2) "Target shooting" means the discharge of a 
firearm for purposes other than hunting, 
trapping, or self-defense. 

(3) "Youth" means individuals under 18 years of 
age. 

(b)  Trespass. Entry on game lands for purposes other than 
hunting, trapping, or fishing shall be as authorized by the 
landowner. The Wildlife Resources Commission has identified 
the following areas on game lands that have additional restrictions 
on entry or usage: 

(1) Archery Zone. On portions of game lands 
posted as "Archery Zones" hunting is limited to 
archery equipment and falconry. During the 
open deer seasons for these areas, antlered and 
antlerless deer may be taken.  

(2) Safety Zone. On portions of game lands posted 
as "Safety Zones" hunting is prohibited. No 
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person shall hunt or discharge a firearm or bow 
and arrow within, into, or across a posted safety 
zone on a game land. Falconry is exempt from 
this provision. 

(3) Restricted Firearms Zone. On portions of game 
lands posted as "Restricted Firearms Zones" the 
use of centerfire rifles is prohibited. 

(4) Restricted Zone. Portions of game lands posted 
as "Restricted Zones" are closed to use by the 
public, and entry on these areas is prohibited 
without written approval from the Wildlife 
Resources Commission. The Commission may 
authorize entry when the primary purpose for 
the Restricted Zone shall not be compromised 
and the persons requesting entry demonstrate a 
valid need, or official business of the 
Commission is being conducted by a contractor 
or agent of the Commission. Valid needs may 
include access to private property, scientific 
investigations, surveys, or other access to 
conduct activities in the public interest. 

(5) Temporary Restricted Zone. Portions of game 
lands posted as "Temporary Restricted Zones" 
are closed to use by the public, and entry is 
prohibited without written approval from the 
Wildlife Resources Commission. An area of a 
game land shall be declared a Temporary 
Restricted Zone when there is a danger to the 
health or welfare of the public. 

(6) Scouting-only Zone. On portions of the game 
lands posted as "Scouting-only Zones" the 
discharge of firearms or bow and arrow is 
prohibited. 

(7) Restricted Deer Hunting Zone. On portions of 
game lands posted as "Restricted Deer Hunting 
Zones" the use of dogs for taking deer is 
prohibited, except as allowed by permit as 
provided in G.S. 113-264(d). 

(8) Day Use Only Zone. On portions of game lands 
posted as "Day Use Only Zones" the use by the 
public shall be prohibited from sunset to 
sunrise. 

(9) Sensitive Habitat Zone. Portions of game lands 
posted as "Sensitive Habitat Zones" are closed 
to use by the public during the dates specified 
on the sign, and entry is prohibited without 
written approval from the Wildlife Resources 
Commission by calling 919-707-0150 and 
requesting a permit. 

The Commission shall conduct a public input meeting in the area 
where the game land is located before establishing the following 
zones: archery, restricted firearms, restricted deer hunting, day 
use only, or sensitive habitat. After the input meeting, the public 
comments shall be presented at an official Commission meeting 
for final determination. 
(c)  Littering. No person shall deposit litter, trash, garbage, or 
other refuse on any game land except in receptacles provided for 
disposal of refuse at designated camping and target-shooting 
areas. No garbage dumps or sanitary landfills shall be established 

on a game land by a person, firm, corporation, county, or 
municipality, except as permitted by the landowner. 
(d)  Use of weapons. No person shall discharge: 

(1) a weapon within 150 yards of a game land 
building or designated game land camping area, 
except where posted otherwise; 

(2) a weapon within 150 yards of a residence 
located on or adjacent to game lands, except on 
Butner-Falls of Neuse and Jordan game lands; 
and 

(3) a firearm within 150 yards of a residence 
located on or adjacent to Butner-Falls of Neuse 
and Jordan Game Lands. 

No person shall hunt with or have in possession a shotgun shell 
containing lead or toxic shot while hunting on a posted waterfowl 
impoundment on a game land, except shotgun shells containing 
lead buckshot may be used while deer hunting. Individuals 
carrying a concealed handgun shall adhere to the requirements set 
forth in G.S. 14-415.11, even if the state issuing the concealed 
handgun permit is not North Carolina. On Butner-Falls of Neuse, 
Jordan, Kerr Scott, and Vance game lands, no person shall possess 
loaded firearms, ammunition, bows and arrows, crossbows, or 
other weapons except as provided in the Code of Federal 
Regulations, Title 36, Chapter III, Part 327.13, which is 
incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and 
editions. This document may be accessed at www.ecfr.gov at no 
cost. On Buckhorn, Chatham, Harris, Hyco, Lee, Mayo, and 
Sutton Lake game lands; Pee Dee River Game Land north of U.S. 
74; and that portion of R. Wayne Bailey- Caswell Game Land that 
is located north of U.S. 158 and east of N.C. 119, no person shall 
possess a firearm during closed hunting seasons or closed hunting 
days for game birds or game animals, except under the following 
conditions: 

(1) the firearm is a .22 caliber pistol with a barrel 
not greater than seven and one-half inches in 
length and shooting only short, long, or long 
rifle ammunition carried as a side arm; 

(2) the firearm is cased or not immediately 
available for use; 

(3) the firearm is used by persons participating in 
field trials on field trial areas; or 

(4) the firearm is possessed in designated camping 
areas for defense of persons and property. 

(e)  Game Lands License: Hunting and Trapping 
(1) Except as provided in Subparagraph (4) of this 

Paragraph, a person entering a game land to 
hunt, trap, run dogs, or train dogs using wildlife 
shall have in his or her possession a valid North 
Carolina hunting or trapping license. 

(2) For Commission-sanctioned field trials, active 
participants, as defined in 15A NCAC 10B 
.0114, in a field trial using wildlife shall possess 
a North Carolina hunting license, except non-
residents may substitute hunting licenses from 
their state(s) of residence. 

(3) For other field trials using wildlife occurring on 
game lands, judges and active participants shall 
possess a North Carolina hunting license. 

(4) Exceptions: 
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(A) a person under 16 years of age may 
hunt on game lands on the license of 
his parent or legal guardian; 

(B) on the game lands described in Rule 
.0103 (j)(1) of this Section, the game 
lands license is required for hunting 
doves; other activities are subject to 
the control of the landowners. 

(f)  Field Trials and Training Dogs. An individual or organization 
sponsoring a field trial on the Sandhills Field Trial area shall file 
an application with the Commission to use the area with the 
facility use fee computed at the rate of three hundred dollars 
($300.00) for each scheduled day of the trial. The total facility use 
fee shall cover the period from 12:00 noon of the day preceding 
the first scheduled day of the trial to 10:00 a.m. of the day 
following the last scheduled day of the trial. The facility use fee 
shall be paid for all intermediate days on which trials are not run 
but the building or facilities are used or occupied. A fee of one 
hundred dollars ($100.00) per day shall be charged to sporting, 
educational, or scouting groups for scheduled events utilizing the 
club house only. No person or group of persons or other entity 
shall enter or use the physical facilities located on the Sandhills 
Field Trial area or the Laurinburg Fox Trial facility without 
written approval from an authorized agent of the Wildlife 
Resources Commission, and no entry or use of a facility shall 
exceed the scope of or continue beyond the approved use. The 
Sandhills Field Trial facilities shall be used only for field trials 
scheduled with the approval of the Wildlife Resources 
Commission. No more than 20 days of field trials may be 
scheduled for occurrence on the Sandhills facilities during a 
calendar month, and no more than five days may be scheduled 
during a calendar week. A field trial requiring more than five days 
may be scheduled during one week with reduction of the 
maximum number of days allowable during some other week so 
that the monthly maximum of 20 days is not exceeded. Before 
October 1 of each year, the North Carolina Field Trial Association 
or other organization desiring use of the Sandhills facilities 
between the Wednesday on or nearest October 18 and the second 
Friday before Thanksgiving and between the first Monday 
following Thanksgiving and March 31 shall submit its proposed 
schedule of use to the Wildlife Resources Commission for 
consideration and approval. The use of the Sandhills Field Trial 
facilities by individuals for training dogs is prohibited; elsewhere 
on the Sandhills Game Lands dogs may be trained only on 
Mondays, Wednesdays, and Saturdays from October 1 through 
April 1. Dogs may not be trained or permitted to run unleashed 
from April 1 through August 15 on game lands located west of I-
95, except when participating in field trials sanctioned by the 
Wildlife Resources Commission. Dogs may not be trained or 
permitted to run unleashed from March 15 through June 15 on 
game lands located east of I-95, except when participating in field 
trials sanctioned by the Wildlife Resources Commission. 
Additionally, on game lands located west of I-95 where special 
hunts are scheduled for sportsmen participating in the Disabled 
Sportsman Program, dogs may not be trained or allowed to run 
unleashed during legal big game hunting hours on the dates of the 
special hunts. A field trial shall be authorized when the field trial 
does not conflict with other planned activities on the game land or 
field trial facilities, and the applying organization demonstrates 

their experience and expertise in conducting genuine field trial 
activities. Entry to physical facilities, other than by field trial 
organizations under permit, shall be granted when they do not 
conflict with other planned activities previously approved by the 
Commission and they do not conflict with the mission of the 
agency. 
(g)  Trapping. Subject to the restrictions contained in 15A NCAC 
10B .0300, trapping of furbearing animals, armadillos, coyotes, 
and groundhogs is permitted on game lands during the open 
trapping seasons for those areas, established by rule. Foxes may 
be trapped on game lands from October 1 through the end of 
February in a county with an open fox trapping season that falls 
between October 1 and the end of February. Foxes may not be 
taken by trapping on game lands in counties with a closed fox 
trapping season or during a fox trapping season that occurs outside 
the dates of October 1 through the end of February. Additionally, 
fox trapping is allowed on game lands in Clay, Graham, 
Henderson, Macon, and Tyrrell counties with a daily bag limit of 
two and a season bag limit of 10 from the first to the fourth 
Saturday in January. Trapping is prohibited: 

(1) on the J Robert Gordon Field Trial Area of 
Sandhills Game Land; 

(2) in posted "safety zones" located on a game land; 
(3) by the use of bait on the National Forest Lands 

bounded by the Blue Ridge Parkway on the 
south, US 276 on the north and east, and NC 
215 on the west; 

(4) on the DuPont State Forest Game Lands; and 
(5) from April 1 through September 31. 

At a trap, trappers may use a single bait site of grain, fruit, or other 
foods when trapping if the food is not a processed food product as 
defined in G.S. 113-294(r), is less than 3 cubic inches and is 
covered to prevent it from being seen from above. Feathers, 
including those with attached skin or entire bird wings, hair with 
or without skin or hide, and bones that include no attached meat, 
organs, or viscera do not need to be covered. 
(h)  Vehicular Traffic. No person shall drive a motorized vehicle 
on a game land except on roads constructed, maintained, and 
opened for vehicular travel and on trails posted for vehicular 
travel, unless the person: 

(1) is driving in the vehicle gallery of a scheduled 
bird dog field trial held on the Sandhills Game 
Land; or 

(2) is a disabled sportsman as defined in Paragraph 
(l) of this Rule or holds a Disabled Access 
Program Permit as described in Paragraph (m) 
of this Rule and is abiding by the rules 
described in Paragraph (m). 

(i)  Camping. 
(1) No person shall camp on a game land except on 

an area posted by the landowner for camping. 
(2) On game lands owned by the State of North 

Carolina, where the North Carolina Wildlife 
Resources Commission is the primary 
custodian, the maximum period of consecutive 
overnight camping at a designated camping 
area is 14 days within any 30-day period, unless 
otherwise specified in rules of this Subchapter. 
After 14 consecutive days of camping, personal 
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belongings shall be removed from the game 
land. 

(3) A hunting, fishing, trapping or Game Lands 
License is required for individuals age 16 or 
older to camp on game lands in areas posted for 
camping except when camping within 100 
yards of the Roanoke River on the state-owned 
portion of the Roanoke River Wetlands Game 
Land, within 100 yards of the Neuse River on 
that portion of the game land west of NC-43, 
and in posted areas along the Mountains-to-Sea 
Trail on Butner-Falls of Neuse Game Land. 

(j)  Release of Animals and Fish. It is unlawful to release pen-
raised animals or birds, wild animals or birds, domesticated 
animals, except hunting dogs and raptors where otherwise 
permitted for hunting or training purposes, or feral animals, or 
hatchery-raised fish on game lands without written authorization. 
It is unlawful to move wild fish from one stream to another on 
game lands without written authorization. Written authorization 
shall be given when release of animals is determined by a Wildlife 
Resources Commission biologist not to be harmful to native 
wildlife in the area and is in the public interest or advance the 
programs and goals of the Wildlife Resources Commission. 
(k)  Non-Highway Licensed Vehicles. It is unlawful to operate 
motorized land vehicles not licensed for highway use on game 
lands except for designated areas on National Forests. Disabled 
persons as defined in Paragraph (l) of this Rule and people who 
have obtained a Disabled Access Program permit are exempt from 
this restriction but shall comply with the terms of their permit. 
Furthermore, disabled persons, as defined under the federal 
Americans with Disabilities Act (42 U.S.C. 126) may use 
wheelchairs or other all-terrain wheelchairs on areas where foot 
travel is allowed. Off road vehicles including ATVs, UTVs, and 
ebikes are not permitted. 
(l)  Disabled Access Program. Disabled individuals who meet the 
requirements of G.S. 113-296 may obtain a Disabled Access 
Permit and Disabled Sportsman Hunt Certification online at 
ncwildlife.org. The Disabled Access Permit allows individuals to 
operate electric wheel chairs, all-terrain vehicles, and other 
passenger vehicles on any Commission-maintained road open for 
vehicular travel and those trails posted for vehicular travel and 
ungated or open-gated roads otherwise closed to vehicular traffic 
on game lands owned by the Wildlife Resources Commission and 
on game lands whose owners have agreed to that use. Those game 
lands, or parts thereof, where this Paragraph applies are 
designated online, at www.ncwildlife.org. This Paragraph does 
not permit vehicular access on fields, openings, roads, paths, or 
trails planted for wildlife food or cover. One companion, who is 
identified by a companion card issued to each qualified disabled 
person, may accompany a disabled person to provide assistance, 
provided the companion is constantly in visual or verbal contact 
with the disabled person. The companion may participate in 
lawful activities while assisting a disabled person, provided 
license requirements are met. A vehicle used by a qualified 
disabled person for access to game lands under this provision shall 
have the Disabled Access Permit available for inspection by 
wildlife enforcement officers upon request. Hunters who qualify 
under the Disabled Sportsman Program and their companions 
may access special hunting blinds for people with disabilities 

during regularly scheduled, non-permit hunting days on a first 
come basis, except for those blinds located on the Restricted Area 
of Caswell Game Land. It is unlawful for anyone other than 
disabled persons holding a Disabled Access Permit, during 
waterfowl season, to hunt within 100 yards of a waterfowl blind 
designated by the Wildlife Resources Commission as a Disabled 
Sportsman's hunting blind. The Disabled Sportsman Hunt 
Certification allows individuals to apply for available Disabled 
sportsman permit hunting opportunities as prescribed in G.S. 113-
296. 
(m)  Public nudity. Public nudity, including nude sunbathing, is 
prohibited on game lands, including land or water. For the 
purposes of this Section, "public nudity" means a person's 
intentional failure to cover with a fully opaque covering the 
person's genitals, pubic area, anal area, or female breasts below a 
point from the top of the areola while in a public place. 
(n)  Shooting Ranges. On public shooting ranges managed by the 
Commission, no person shall use designated shooting ranges for 
purposes other than for firearm or bow and arrow marksmanship, 
development of shooting skills, or for other safe uses of firearms 
and archery equipment. Other uses, including camping, building 
fires, operating concessions or other activities not directly 
involved with recreational or competitive shooting are prohibited, 
unless written authorization is obtained from the Commission. No 
person, when using any shooting range, shall deposit debris or 
refuse on the grounds of the range. This includes items used as 
targets, except that clay targets broken on the range, by the 
shooter, may be left on the grounds where they fall. No person 
shall shoot items made of glass on the grounds of the range. No 
person may leave a vehicle or other obstruction in a location or 
position that it will prevent, impede, or inconvenience the use by 
other persons of any shooting range. No person shall leave a 
vehicle or other object parked in a place on the shooting range 
other than the place or zone that is designated and posted or 
marked as an authorized parking zone. No person shall handle 
firearms or bow and arrow on a shooting range in a careless or 
reckless manner. No person shall intentionally shoot into any 
target holder, post, or other permanent fixture or structure while 
using a shooting range. No person shall shoot a firearm in a 
manner that would cause rifled or smoothbore projectiles to travel 
off of the range, except that shotgun shot, size No. 4 or smaller 
may be allowed to travel from the range if it presents no risk of 
harm or injury to a person. Persons using a shooting range shall 
obey posted range safety rules and those persons who violate 
range safety rules or create a public safety hazard shall leave the 
shooting range if directed to by law enforcement officers or to 
leave by Commission employees. No person shall handle firearms 
on a shooting range while under the influence of an impairing 
substance. The consumption of alcohol or alcoholic beverages on 
a shooting range is prohibited. Open days and hours of operation 
shall be designated on signs and at least one sign shall be posted 
at the entrance to each shooting range. No person, when using a 
shooting range, shall do an act that is prohibited or neglect to do 
an act that is required by signs or markings placed on the area 
under authority of this Rule for regulating the use of the area. 
(o)  Limited-access Roads. During the months of June, July, and 
August, roads posted as "Limited-access Roads" are open to 
motorized vehicles from 5:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. These roads shall 
be posted with the opening and closing times. 
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(p)  No person shall attempt to obscure the sex or age of a bird or 
animal taken by severing the head or any other part thereof, or 
possess a bird or animal that has been so mutilated. 
(q)  Baiting. Except as provided in Paragraph (g) of this Rule, no 
person shall place, or cause to be placed on a game land, salt, 
grain, fruit, or other foods without written authorization from an 
agent of the Commission. Written authorization may be provided 
for Commission authorized projects or Commission contractors to 
meet specific objectives. Except as authorized by rule, no person 
shall take or attempt to take wild birds or wild animals attracted 
to these foods. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-129; 113-134; 113-264; 
113-270.3; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-305; 113-306; 143-
318.10; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 1993; April 1, 1992; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. October 11, 1993; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1996; July 1, 1995; July 1, 
1994; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. August 31, 2001; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2004; (this amendment replaces the 
amendment approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; January 1, 2012; June 1, 2011; 
August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; May 1, 2007; May 1, 
2006; November 1, 2005; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2014; 
Amended Eff. February 1, 2023; August 1, 2022; August 1, 2021; 
August 1, 2020; August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; May 1, 2015; 
August 1, 2014; 
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0103 GENERAL REGULATIONS 
REGARDING HUNTING ON GAME LANDS 
(a)  The following shall be prohibited on game lands: 

(1) hunting on a designated game land while under 
the influence of alcohol or a narcotic drug; 

(2) failing to comply with restrictions enacted by 
the National Park Service regarding the use of 
the Blue Ridge Parkway where it adjoins game 
lands; 

(3) parking a vehicle on game lands in a manner as 
to block traffic or gates, or otherwise prevent 
vehicles from using a roadway; and 

(4) erecting or occupying a tree stand or platform 
attached by nails, screws, bolts, or to a tree on a 
game land to hunt. This prohibition does not 
apply to lag-screw steps or portable stands that 
are removed after use with no metal remaining 
in or attached to the tree. 

(b)  Unless allowed by permit, hunting on game lands shall only 
be during the open season for game animals and game birds.  
(c)  Individual game lands or parts of game lands may be closed 
to hunting or limited to specific dates by this Subchapter. 
(d)  Persons shall hunt only with weapons lawful for the open 
game animal or game bird seasons. 

(e)  On managed waterfowl impoundments, persons shall: 
(1) not enter the posted impoundment areas earlier 

than 4:00 a.m. on the permitted hunting dates; 
(2) not hunt after 1:00 p.m. on the permitted 

hunting dates; 
(3) not set decoys out prior to 4:00 a.m.; 
(4) remove decoys by 3:00 p.m. daily; and 
(5) not operate a vessel or vehicle powered by an 

internal combustion engine. 
(f)  On Sundays, the following shall be prohibited: 

(1) hunting with a firearm between 9:30 a.m. and 
12:30 p.m.; 

(2) the use of a firearm to take deer that are run or 
chased by dogs; 

(3) hunting with a firearm within 500 yards of a 
place of religious worship, as defined by G.S. 
14-54.1(b), or an accessory structure thereof; 
and 

(4) hunting migratory game birds. 
(g)  On designated Youth Waterfowl Days the following shall 
apply: 

(1) hunting on managed waterfowl impoundments 
shall be from one-half hour before sunrise to 
sunset; 

(2) Subparagraphs (e)(1), (e)(3), and (e)(5) of this 
Rule; and 

(3) youth may hunt on a game land and on an 
impoundment without a special hunt permit, 
including permit-only areas, except where 
prohibited in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(h)  On designated Veterans and Military Waterfowl Days 
veterans, as defined in 38 USC 101, and members of the Armed 
Forces on active duty, including members of the National Guard 
and Reserves on active duty other than for training, with valid 
credentials may hunt on game lands and impoundments not 
designated as permit-only areas from one-half hour before sunrise 
to sunset. Subparagraphs (e)(1), (e)(3), and (e)(5) of this Rule 
shall apply. 
(i)  On waterfowl impoundments that have a posted "Scouting-
only Zone," trapping during the trapping season and waterfowl 
hunting on designated waterfowl hunting days are the only 
activities allowed on the portion of the impoundment outside of 
the posted "Scouting-only Zone." 
(j)  Definitions: 

(1) For purposes of this Subchapter, "Dove Only 
Area" refers to a Game Land on which doves 
may be taken and dove hunting is limited to 
Mondays, Wednesdays, Saturdays, 
Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, and New 
Year's Days within the federally-announced 
season. 

(2) For purposes of this Subchapter, "Three Days 
per Week Area" refers to a Game Land on 
which game may be taken during the open 
seasons and hunting is limited to Mondays, 
Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, 
Christmas Day, Veterans Day, Martin Luther 
King Day, and New Year's Days, except for 
game lands in this Rule that specifically allow 
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hunting on Tuesdays, Thursday, and Fridays. 
Hunting is not allowed on Christmas Day, 
Veterans Day, and New Year's Day when these 
holidays fall on Sunday. Falconry may also be 
practiced on Sundays. These "open days" also 
apply to antlerless deer hunting seasons listed 
for each game land. Raccoon and opossum 
hunting may continue until 7:00 a.m. on 
Tuesdays, until 7:00 a.m. on Thursdays, and 
until midnight on Saturdays. 

(3) For purposes of this Subchapter, "Six Days per 
Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 
game may be taken on the open days of 
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, 
Friday, and Saturday during the open seasons. 
Falconry may be practiced on Sundays. 

(4) For purposes of this Subchapter, "Seven Days 
per Week Area" refers to a Game Land on 
which game may be taken during the open 
season on Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, 
Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays. 

(5) For purposes of this Subchapter, "Four Days 
per Week Area" refers to a Game Land on 
which game may be taken during the open 
seasons and hunting is limited to Tuesdays, 
Thursdays, Saturdays, Sundays, Labor Day, 
Veterans Day, Christmas Day, New Year's Day, 
and Martin Luther King Day. Raccoon and 
opossum hunting may continue until 7:00 a.m. 
on Wednesdays, 7:00 a.m. on Fridays, and 7:00 
a.m. on Mondays. 

(6) For purposes of this Subchapter, "Permit" 
means a written authorization from the 
Commission required for take or other activities 
listed on the permit during open seasons, if 
applicable, in a specified area and subject to 
annual limitations imposed by the Commission 
to meet wildlife, hunter, or land management 
objectives, unless otherwise specified. 
Individuals may apply for available permits 
online at ncwildlife.org, by phone, or in person 
at a wildlife service agent location. The 
Commission shall issue permits to applicants 
selected at random by computer in accordance 
with G.S. 113-264. Permits shall be non-
transferrable. The laws and rules regarding the 
species or activity shall apply. 

(7) For the purposes of this Subchapter, "Either-
Sex" means antlered or antlerless. 

(k)  Deer shall not be taken with the use of dogs on game lands in 
counties or parts of counties where taking deer with dogs is 
prohibited as described in 15A NCAC 10B .0109. 
(l)  On permit hunts, deer of either sex may be taken on the hunt 
dates indicated on the permit. Completed applications shall be 
received by the Commission not later than the first day of 
September next preceding the dates of hunt. Permits shall be 
issued by random computer selection, shall be mailed to the 
permittees prior to the hunt, and are nontransferable. A hunter 

making a kill shall validate the kill and report the kill to a wildlife 
cooperator agent or by phone. 
(m)  The following game lands and refuges are closed to hunting 
except to individuals who have obtained a valid and current permit 
from the Wildlife Resources Commission: 

(1) Bertie, Halifax and Martin counties—Roanoke 
River Wetlands; 

(2) Bertie County—Roanoke River National 
Wildlife Refuge; 

(3) Bladen County—Suggs Mill Pond Game 
Lands; 

(4) Dare County—Dare Game Lands (Those parts 
of bombing range posted against hunting); 

(5) Dare County—Roanoke Sound Marshes Game 
Lands; and 

(6) Henderson and Transylvania counties—
DuPont State Forest Game Lands. 

(n)  Access to Hunting Creek Swamp Waterfowl Refuge in Davie 
County requires written permission from the Commission. 
Written permission may be granted only when entry onto the 
Waterfowl Refuge shall not compromise the primary purpose for 
establishing the Waterfowl Refuge and the person requesting 
entry can demonstrate a valid need or the person is a contractor or 
agent of the Commission conducting official business. "Valid 
need" includes issues of access to private property, scientific 
investigations, surveys, or other access to conduct activities in the 
public interest. 
(o)  Feral swine may be taken by licensed hunters during the open 
season for a game animal or game bird using a legal manner of 
take allowed during those seasons. Dogs may not be used to hunt 
feral swine except on game lands that allow the use of dogs for 
hunting deer or bear, and during the open deer or bear season. 
(p)  The Commission may designate special hunts for participants 
of the disabled sportsman program by permit. The Commission 
may schedule these permit hunts during the closed season. Hunt 
dates and species to be taken shall be identified on the permit. If 
the hunt has a limited weapon choice, the allowed weapons shall 
be stated on the permit. 
(q)  As used in the rules of this Subchapter, horseback riding 
includes all equine species. 
(r)  When waterfowl hunting is authorized on Christmas and New 
Years' Day and those days fall on Sundays, the open waterfowl 
hunting day shall be the following day. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 
113-291.5; 113-296; 113-305; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. October 3, 1991; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1997; July 1, 1996; September 
1, 1995; July 1, 1995; September 1, 1994; July 1, 1994; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 1999; July 1, 1999; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; July 1, 2001; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (approved by RRC on 06/21/01 and 
04/18/02); 
Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2004 (this replaces the amendment 
approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 
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Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; 
May 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; August 1, 2012; 
August 1, 2011; August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; May 
1, 2007; October 1, 2006; August 1, 2006; May 1, 2006; February 
1, 2006; June 1, 2005; October 1, 2004; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2018; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2020; August 1, 2019; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. September 25, 2020; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2021; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2023; November 1, 2022; October 1, 
2022; August 23, 2022. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0104 FISHING ON GAME LANDS 
(a)  Game lands are open to public fishing except:  

(1) restocked ponds when posted against fishing; 
(2) Hunting Creek Swamp Waterfowl Refuge; 
(3) Cedar Rock Creek, Grogan Creek, and John 

Rock Branch, in Transylvania County; and 
(4) private ponds where fishing is prohibited by the 

owners. 
(b)  No trotline, set-hook, net, trap, gig, or other special fishing 
device mentioned in 15A NCAC 10C .0404(b),(c),(d), and (f) may 
be used in impounded waters located entirely on game lands. 
(c)  Archery equipment may be used to take nongame fishes in 
impounded waters located entirely on game lands except for those 
waters mentioned in 15A NCAC 10C .0404(a). 
(d)  Waters located on the game lands listed in this Subparagraph 
are designated public mountain trout waters except as noted. 

(1) Cold Mountain Game Land in Haywood 
County. 

(2) DuPont State Forest Game Lands in Henderson 
and Transylvania counties, except: 
(A) Little River from 100 yards 

downstream of Hooker Falls 
downstream to the DuPont State 
Forest boundary; 

(B) Lake Imaging; 
(C) Lake Dense; 
(D) Lake Alfred; 
(E) Lake Julia; and 
(F) Fawn Lake. 

(3) Green River Game Land in Henderson and Polk 
counties, except Green River downstream of 
the natural gas pipeline crossing. 

(4) Headwaters Game Land in Transylvania 
County. 

(5) Nantahala National Forest Game Lands in 
Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Jackson, Macon, 
Swain, and Transylvania counties, except 
Cheoah River downstream of Santeetlah 
Reservoir and Cherokee Lake. 

(6) Pisgah National Forest Game Lands in Avery, 
Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Haywood, 
Henderson, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, 
Transylvania, Watauga, and Yancey counties, 
except: 
(A) Cedar Rock Creek, Grogan Creek, and 

John Rock Branch;  

(B) North Fork Catawba River 
downstream of the mouth of 
Armstrong Creek; 

(C) Big Laurel Creek downstream from 
the US 25-70 bridge to the French 
Broad River; 

(D) Mill Ridge Pond; 
(E) Nolichucky River; 
(F) Pigeon River downstream of 

Waterville Reservoir to the Tennessee 
state line; and 

(G) Spring Creek below US Forest Service 
road 223. 

(7) Pond Mountain Game Land in Ashe County. 
(8) Little Fork State Forest Game Land in Wilkes 

County. 
(9) South Mountains Game Land in Cleveland and 

Rutherford counties. 
(10) Three Top Mountain Game Land in Ashe 

County. 
(11) Thurmond Chatham Game Land in Wilkes 

County. 
(12) Toxaway Game Land in Transylvania County. 
(13) William H. Silvers Game Land in Haywood 

County. 
(e) The designated public mountain trout waters located on the 
game lands listed in Paragraph (d) of this Rule are Wild Trout 
Waters unless classified otherwise in 15A NCAC 10C .0205(d). 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-272; 
113-292; 113-305; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; July 1, 1998; July 1, 1996; July 1, 
1995; July 1, 1994; July 1, 1993; July 1, 1992; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; July 1, 2001; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (approved by RRC on 06/21/01 and 
04/18/02); 
Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; August 1, 2015; 
August 1, 2014; August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; August 1, 2004; 
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0105 POSSESSION AND REMOVAL 
OF ANIMALS, PLANTS AND MATERIALS 
(a)  For purposes of this Rule, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Other materials" means metals, minerals, 
rocks, soil, organic debris, buildings, fences, 
archeological resources as defined in G.S. 70-
12, and water. 

(2) "Commission lands" means State-owned game 
lands, hatcheries, depots, refuges, boating 
access areas and public fishing access areas, or 
parts thereof, allocated to the Wildlife 
Resources Commission. 

(3) "Written permission" means permits, sales 
agreements, agricultural agreements, and letters 
written by authorized Commission personnel. 
Written permissions shall specify the type of 
activity allowed, the Commission land(s) where 
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the activity may occur, and the persons 
authorized to partake in the activity. Written 
permission shall be carried on their person 
during the activity. This requirement extends to 
an individual operating in conjunction with 
another's written permission. 

(b)  On Commission lands: 
(1) No wildlife resources, fungi, invertebrates, 

eggs, nests, animal parts, plants, plant 
materials, or other materials shall be possessed 
on or removed from Commission lands except: 
(A) as allowed in this Rule; 
(B) bullfrogs, as specified in 15A NCAC 

10B .0226; or 
(C) if written permission has been granted 

by the Wildlife Resources 
Commission. 

This restriction applies to both dead and living 
wildlife resources, fungi, invertebrates, eggs, 
animal parts, plants, and plant materials. 

(2) Game, fur-bearing animals, wildlife resources, 
fisheries resources, and nongame animals or 
birds, legally taken pursuant to a valid hunting, 
trapping, fishing, falconry, or other collection 
license that entitles the licensee to access and 
use Wildlife Resources Commission Property 
may be possessed on and removed from 
Commission lands. 

(3) Berries, fruit, nuts, mushrooms, ramps and 
other plants or plant materials for human 
consumption may be possessed on and removed 
from Commission lands without written 
permission for personal consumption only, 
except any fungi, plant or part thereof on a State 
or federal protected list shall not be possessed 
on or removed from Commission lands without 
written permission. Other fungi, plants and 
plant materials not for human consumption may 
not be possessed on or removed from 
Commission lands except with written 
permission. Crops or products thereof planted 
for the benefit of wildlife shall not be removed 
without written permission. 

(4) Insects, worms, or other invertebrates collected 
as fish bait may be possessed on and removed 
from Commission lands without written 
permission for personal use only, except 
species on a State or federal protected list may 
not be collected and may not be removed from 
Commission lands. Sale of these resources is 
prohibited. 

(5) Minimal amounts of animal parts, plant parts 
not removed from live plants, and other 
materials may be collected by hand and 
removed from Commission lands without 
written permission, except in violation of rules, 
general statutes, or federal law. Collection of 
animal parts, and plant parts not removed from 
live plants for commercial use or sale is 

prohibited. For purposes of this Subparagraph, 
"minimal amounts," are quantities that fit 
within a cubic foot of space, except for 
firewood to be used at posted camping areas. 
Collection of firewood sufficient to build and 
maintain a fire during the game land user's stay 
at the campground is permitted. 

(6) Litter and road kill animals may be removed 
without written permission, except in violation 
of 15A NCAC 10B .0106. 

(7) A collection license as described in 15A NCAC 
10B .0119 does not qualify as written 
permission to collect or remove wildlife 
resources from Commission lands. Written 
permission shall be specific to the Commission 
land. 

(c)  On the other lands enrolled in the game land program: 
(1) Game, fur-bearing animals, fisheries resources, 

and nongame animals or birds legally taken 
pursuant to a valid hunting, trapping, fishing, 
falconry, or collection license may be possessed 
on and removed from game lands. 

(2) Possession and removal of other wildlife 
resources, fungi, invertebrates, eggs, nests, 
animals parts, plants, and plant materials is 
subject to the rules of the Commission and is at 
the discretion of the landowner, except where 
the landowner has ceded authority to the 
Commission. When the landowner has ceded 
authority to the Commission, the permissions 
and restrictions in Paragraph (b) of this Rule 
apply. 

(d)  Except as referenced in Subparagraph (b)(5) of this Rule, 
other materials may be possessed or removed from Commission 
lands and other lands enrolled in the game land program with 
written permission from the Commission, except for 
archeological resources. To possess or remove archeological 
resources from Commission land or other lands enrolled in the 
game land program, an individual shall obtain and have on his or 
her person, written permission from the Commission and a permit 
issued by the Department of Natural and Cultural Resources as 
specified in G.S. 70-12. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291; 
113-291.2; 113-305; 113-333; 
Eff. August 1, 2012; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2020; 
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0211 BUTNER-FALLS OF NEUSE 
GAME LAND IN DURHAM, GRANVILLE, AND WAKE 
COUNTIES 
Butner-Falls of Neuse game land is a Six Days per Week Area, in 
which the following applies: 

(1) Antlered or antlerless deer may be taken the 
first open day of the All Lawful Weapons 
Season for Deer With Visible Antlers through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(2) Waterfowl shall be taken only on: 
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(a) the opening and closing days of the 
waterfowl seasons; 

(b) Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's, 
and Martin Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(c) Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays 
of the applicable waterfowl seasons. 
On the posted waterfowl 
impoundments a special permit is 
required for all waterfowl hunting 
after November 1. 

(3) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(4) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(5) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, except 

on those areas posted as an archery zone. 
(6) The use of dogs for hunting deer is prohibited 

on that portion west of NC 50 and south of Falls 
Lake. 

(7) The use of bicycles is restricted to designated 
areas, except that this restriction does not apply 
to hunters engaged in the act of hunting during 
the open days of the seasons for game birds and 
game animals. On designated bicycle riding 
areas, the use of bicycles is allowed from May 
15 through August 31, and on Sundays only 
from September 1 through May 14. 

(8) Camping is restricted to September 1 through 
the last day of February and March 31 through 
May 14. 

(9) Camping is allowed year-round in the 
designated Mountains-to-Sea Trail Camping 
Area and shall not exceed a maximum stay of 
two consecutive nights. Campfires are 
prohibited in this camping area. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 
113-291.5; 113-296; 113-305; 
Eff. November 1, 2022; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0215 R. WAYNE BAILEY-CASWELL 
GAME LAND IN CASWELL COUNTY 
R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell is a Three Days per Week Area, in 
which the following applies: 

(1) Antlered or antlerless deer may be taken from 
the first open day of the All Lawful Weapons 
Season for Deer With Visible Antlers through 
the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(2) Horseback riding, including all equine species, 
is allowed seven days per week from May 16 
through August 31, and on Sundays only, 
September 1 through May 15. Horseback riding 
is allowed only on roads opened to vehicular 
traffic and on those gated roads and trails that 
are posted for equestrian use. People age 16 or 
older horseback riding on this game land shall 
possess a Game Lands license as required by 
G.S. 270.3(b)(3). 

(3) The area encompassed by the following roads 
is permit-only for quail and woodcock hunting 

and bird dog training: From Yanceyville south 
on NC 62 to the intersection of SR 1746, west 
on SR 1746 to the intersection of SR 1156, 
south on SR 1156 to the intersection of SR 
1783, east on SR 1783 to the intersection of NC 
62, north on NC 62 to the intersection of SR 
1736, east on SR 1736 to the intersection of SR 
1730, east on SR 1730 to NC 86, north on NC 
86 to NC 62. 

(4) On the posted waterfowl impoundment, 
waterfowl hunting is by permit only after 
November 1. 

(5) Camping is restricted to September 1 through 
the last day of February and March 31 through 
May 14. 

(6) Target shooting is prohibited, except at the R. 
Wayne Bailey-Caswell Shooting Range. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 
113-291.5; 113-296; 113-305; 
Eff. October 1, 2022; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0232 GULL ROCK GAME LAND IN 
HYDE COUNTY 
Gull Rock is a Seven Days per Week Area, in which the following 
applies: 

(1) Deer of either sex may be taken all the open 
days of the applicable Deer With Visible 
Antlers Season. 

(2) Waterfowl on posted waterfowl impoundments 
shall be taken only on the following days: 
(a) the opening and closing days of the 

applicable waterfowl seasons; 
(b) Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's, 

and Martin Luther King, Jr. Days; and 
(c) Tuesdays and Saturdays of the 

applicable waterfowl season. 
(3) Camping is restricted to September 1 through 

the last day of February and March 31 through 
May 14 in areas designated and posted as 
camping areas. 

(4) Bear may only be taken the first Saturday, 
Monday, and Tuesday of the November Bear 
Season and the second Saturday, Monday, and 
Tuesday of the December Bear Season. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 
113-291.5; 113-296; 113-305; 
Eff. October 1, 2022; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 2022; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0239 JOHNS RIVER GAME LAND IN 
BURKE COUNTY 
Johns River game land is hunting by permit only. The following 
shall apply: 

(1) During permitted deer hunts, antlered or 
antlerless deer may be taken by permit holders. 
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(2) The construction of permanent hunting blinds is 
prohibited. 

(3) Camping is restricted to August 31 through the 
last day of February and March 31 through May 
14. 

(4) Target shooting is prohibited. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 
113-291.5; 113-296; 113-305; 
Eff. October 1, 2022; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0240 JORDAN GAME LAND IN 
CHATHAM, DURHAM, ORANGE, AND WAKE 
COUNTIES 
Jordan game land is a Six Days per Week Area, in which the 
following applies: 

(1) Antlered or antlerless deer may be taken on 
open days of the All Lawful Weapons Season 
for Deer With Visible Antlers. 

(2) Waterfowl may be taken only on: 
(a) Mondays, Wednesdays, and Saturdays 

of the applicable waterfowl seasons; 
(b) Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New 

Year's Days; and 
(c) the opening and closing days of the 

applicable waterfowl seasons. 
(3) Horseback riding, including all equine species, 

is allowed only on those areas posted as 
American Tobacco Trail and other areas posted 
for equestrian use. Unless otherwise posted, 
horseback riding is permitted on posted 
portions of the American Tobacco Trail 
anytime the trail is open for use. On other trails 
posted for equestrian use, horseback riding is 
allowed seven days per week from May 16 
through August 31, and on Sundays only from 
September 1 through May 15. People age 16 or 
older shall obtain a game land license prior to 
engaging in horseback riding on an area other 
than the American Tobacco Trail. 

(4) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(5) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, except 

on those areas posted as an Archery Zone. 
(6) The use of bicycles is restricted to designated 

areas, except that this restriction does not apply 
to hunters engaged in the act of hunting during 
the open days of the applicable seasons for 
game birds and game animals. 

(7) Camping is restricted to September 1 through 
the last day of February and March 31 through 
May 14. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 
113-291.5; 113-296; 113-305; 
Temporary Adoption Eff. October 1, 2022; 
Eff. March 15, 2023; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2023. 
 

15A NCAC 10D .0258 PEE DEE RIVER GAME LAND 
IN ANSON, MONTGOMERY, RICHMOND, AND 
STANLY COUNTIES 
Pee Dee River game land is a Seven Days per Week Area, in 
which the following applies: 

(1) Antlered or antlerless deer may be taken the 
first open day of the All Lawful Weapons 
Season for Deer With Visible Antlers through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(2) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(3) Horseback riding is allowed seven days per 

week from May 16 through August 31, and on 
Sundays only September 1 through May 15 
only on roads opened to vehicular traffic and 
gated roads and trails posted for equestrian use. 

(4) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with dogs for 
training or hunting shall be prohibited on that 
portion south of US-74. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 
113-291.5; 113-296; 113-305; 
Eff. October 1, 2022; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0269 ROCKY RUN GAME LAND IN 
ONSLOW COUNTY 
(a)  Rocky Run game land is hunting by permit only. 
(b)  Target shooting is prohibited. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 
113-291.5; 113-296; 113-305 
Eff. November 1, 2022; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0271 SANDHILLS GAME LAND IN 
HOKE, MOORE, RICHMOND, AND SCOTLAND 
COUNTIES 
Sandhills game land is a Three Days per Week Area, in which the 
following applies: 

(1) Hunting is prohibited on the J. Robert Gordon 
Field Trial Grounds from the Wednesday on or 
nearest October 18 through March 31 except as 
follows: 
(a) Antlered or antlerless deer may be 

taken with archery equipment on the 
open days of the archery season 
through the fourth Friday before 
Thanksgiving Day; with blackpowder 
firearms and archery equipment the 
open days of the blackpowder firearms 
season through the third Wednesday 
before Thanksgiving Day; and only 
deer with visible antlers may be taken 
with all lawful weapons from the 
second Saturday before Thanksgiving 
Day through the Saturday following 
Thanksgiving Day; 
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(b) dove may be taken on open days from 
the opening day of the dove season 
through the third Saturday thereafter; 

(c) gray and fox squirrel may be taken on 
open days from the second Saturday 
before Thanksgiving Day through the 
Saturday following Thanksgiving 
Day; 

(d) rabbit may be taken on open days from 
the second Saturday preceding 
Thanksgiving Day through the 
Saturday following Thanksgiving 
Day; 

(e) waterfowl may be taken on open days 
during waterfowl season; 

(f) wild animals and wild birds may be 
taken as part of a Disabled Sportsmen 
Program Permit Hunt; and 

(g) raccoon and opossum may be taken on 
open days from sunrise Monday on or 
nearest October 15 through the last 
day of February. 

(2) The Deer With Visible Antlers season is the 
open hunting days from the second Saturday 
before Thanksgiving Day through the third 
Saturday after Thanksgiving Day except on the 
J. Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds. 

(3) The archery season is on open days from the 
Saturday on or nearest to September 10 to the 
fourth Friday before Thanksgiving Day and, 
except on the J. Robert Gordon Field Trial 
Grounds, the third Monday after Thanksgiving 
Day through January 1. Antlered or antlerless 
deer may be taken with archery equipment on 
open hunting days during the archery season, by 
permit during the Deer with Visible antlers 
season, and the blackpowder firearms season as 
stated in this Subparagraph. Only deer with 
visible antlers may be taken from the third 
Monday after Thanksgiving Day through 
January 1. 

(4) Blackpowder firearms season is the open days 
from the fourth Saturday preceding 
Thanksgiving Day through the Wednesday of 
the second week thereafter and, except on the J. 
Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds, the third 
Monday after Thanksgiving Day through 
January 1. Antlered or antlerless deer may be 
taken with blackpowder firearms on open 
hunting days during the blackpowder firearms 
season. Only deer with visible antlers may be 
taken from the third Monday after 
Thanksgiving Day through January 1. 

(5) Antlered and antlerless deer hunting during the 
All Lawful Weapons Season for Deer With 
Visible Antlers is by permit only. 

(6) In addition to the regular hunting days, 
waterfowl may be taken on the opening and 

closing days of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(7) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 
(8) Horseback riding on field trial grounds from the 

Wednesday on or nearest October 18 through 
March 31 is prohibited unless participating in 
authorized field trials. Horseback riding is 
allowed on the remainder of the Sandhills 
Game Land seven days per week on roads that 
are open to vehicular traffic and gated roads and 
trails posted for equestrian use. 

(9) Camping is restricted to September 1 through 
the last day of February and March 31 through 
May 14. 

(10) Target shooting is prohibited, except at the John 
F. Lentz Hunter Education Complex. 

(11) Swimming is prohibited in the lakes. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 
113-291.5; 113-296; 113-305; 
Eff. October 1, 2022; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 10F .0308 CLAY COUNTY 
(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 
in Chatuge Lake: 

(1) the waters shore to shore within 150 yards of 
the boat ramp at Ho Hum Campground at 47 Ho 
Hum Loop, Hayesville; 

(2) the waters of Shooting Creek, from a line shore 
to shore 50 yards west of the High Bridge on 
NC Highway 175, to a line at the southeast end 
of Shooting Creek shore to shore, from a point 
at 35.01960 N, 83.72752 W; to a point at 
35.01979 N, 83.72638 W; 

(3) the waters of Gibson Cove, south of a line from 
a point on the east shore at 35.01005 N, 
83.79750 W to a point on the west shore at 
35.01099 N, 83.79929 W, southwest to the end 
of Gibson Cove at 3279 Myers Chapel Road in 
Hayesville; 

(4) within 50 yards of the Chatuge Cove Marina at 
2397 Highway 175 in Hayesville; 

(5) the portion of the cove shore to shore, west of 
Cottage Court off of NC Highway 175, 
northeast of a line from a point on the east shore 
at 35.02576 N, 83.73784 W; to a point on the 
northwest shore at 35.02609 N, 83.73945 W; 

(6) within 50 yards of the Chatuge Dam Spillway 
access area in the vicinity of 1407 Chatuge Dam 
Road in Hayesville; and 

(7) within 50 yards of the peninsula at Clay County 
Recreational Park, from a point on the north 
shore at 35.00850 N, 83.79254 W, east to a 
point in the water at 35.00874 N, 83.79187 W, 
south to a point in the water at 35.00782 N, 
83.79119 W, southwest to a point in the water 
at 35.00672 N, 83.79211 W, west to a point on 
the shore at 35.00696 N, 83.79259 W. 
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(b)  Speed Limit. It shall be unlawful to operate a vessel at greater 
than no-wake speed within the regulated areas identified in 
Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 
(c)  Swimming Area. No person operating or responsible for the 
operation of a vessel shall allow it to enter the waters of the Clay 
County Recreational Park Swimming Area at Clay County 
Recreational Park, 47 Clay Recreation Park Road, Hayesville. 
(d)  Restricted Area. It shall be unlawful to operate a vessel at 
greater than no-wake speed within the no-wake zone at the Jack 
Rabbit Mountain Swim Area on Jack Rabbit Road in Hayesville. 
No person operating or responsible for the operation of a vessel 
shall allow it to enter the roped swim beach within the no-wake 
zone at Jack Rabbit Mountain Swim Area. 
(e)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of Clay 
County shall be the designated agency for placement of the 
markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the 
Tennessee Valley Authority and the United States Army Corps of 
Engineers. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2005; July 1, 1998; February 1, 1990; July 
1, 1986; March 25, 1978; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2023; February 1, 2021; October 1, 2018; 
June 1, 2017. 
 
15A NCAC 10F .0316 FORSYTH, ROCKINGHAM AND 
STOKES COUNTIES 
(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 
in Forsyth, Rockingham, and Stokes counties: 

(1) Belews Lake within 50 yards of a public boat 
launching ramp on the lake, and within 50 yards 
of a bridge crossing on the lake; 

(2) Belews Lake at Humphrey's Ridge Marina and 
Grill at 473-499 Humphrey Ridge Drive in 
Stokesdale, east of a line from a point on the 
north shore at 36.27962 N, 80.03507 W to a 
point on the south shore at 36.27804 N, 
80.03565 W; and 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 
no-wake speed within the regulated areas identified in Paragraph 
(a) of this Rule. 
(c)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The Boards of 
Commissioners of Forsyth County, Rockingham County and 
Stokes County, or their designees shall be the designated agencies 
for placement and maintenance of markers implementing this 
Rule. Markers warning of a no-wake speed zone shall be buoys or 
floating signs. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Amended Eff. May 1, 1976; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2023; October 1, 2018. 
 

15A NCAC 10F .0333 MECKLENBURG AND GASTON 
COUNTIES 
(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 
of Lake Wylie in Mecklenburg and Gaston Counties: 

(1) McDowell Park. The waters of the coves 
adjoining McDowell Park and the Southwest 
Nature Preserve in Mecklenburg County shore 
to shore, east of the mouth of the cove at a line 
from a point on the south shore at 35.10272 N, 
81.03026 W to a point on the north shore at 
35.10556 N, 80.02964 W; 

(2) Gaston County Wildlife Club Cove. The waters 
of the cove west of the Gaston County Wildlife 
Club on South Point Road in Belmont, north of 
a line at the mouth of the cove from a point on 
the east shore at 35.15628 N, 81.01427 W to a 
point on the west shore at 35.15628 N, 
81.01615 W; 

(3) Buster Boyd Bridge. The waters from a point 
250 feet east of the Buster Boyd Bridge on N.C. 
Highway 49 in Mecklenburg County at 
35.10293 N, 81.03932 W, to a point 150 feet 
west of the Buster Boyd Bridge at 35.10242 N, 
81.04089 W; 

(4) N.C. Highway 27 bridge. The waters shore to 
shore, from a point 50 yards north of the N.C. 
Highway 27 bridge in Mecklenburg and Gaston 
counties at 35.29849 N, 81.00346 W to a point 
190 yards south of the N.C. Highway 27 bridge 
at 35.29635 N, 81.00424 W; 

(5) Brown's Cove. The area beginning at the mouth 
of Brown's Cove in Mecklenburg County shore 
to shore, at a point at 35.16453 N, 81.00474 W, 
west to a point at 35.16480 N, 81.00309 W; 

(6) Paradise Point Cove. The waters of Paradise 
Point Cove in Gaston County between Paradise 
Circle and Lake Front Drive, west of a line from 
a point on the south shore at 35.18853 N, 
81.04036 W to a point on the north shore at 
35.18991 N, 81.04136 W; 

(7) Withers Cove. The waters of Withers Cove in 
Mecklenburg County, shore to shore, beginning 
at a line north of the Mecklenburg Charlotte 
Fire Department and Police Department 
Boathouse from a point on the west shore at 
35.14632 N, 81.00383 W to a point on the east 
shore at 35.14713 N, 81.00173 W, and ending 
at a point 50 feet southeast of the Withers 
Bridge on SR 1116, otherwise known as 
Shopton Road, at 35.14576 N, 81.00187 W; 

(8) Sadler Island. The waters shore to shore 
beginning at a line from a point on the west 
shore of Lake Wylie in Gaston County at 
35.27481 N, 81.0138 W east to a point on the 
east shore of the Lake in Mecklenburg County 
at 35.27423 N, 81.01111 W, extending south on 
the Lake west of Sadler Island to a line from a 
point on the west shore of the Lake in Gaston 
County at 35.27079 N, 81.01525 W, east to a 
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point on the west side of Sadler Island in 
Mecklenburg County at 35.27051 N, 81.01396 
W, and the waters shore to shore east of Sadler 
Island in Mecklenburg County from a point at 
35.27441 N, 81.01185 W, south-southwest to a 
line from a point on the south shore of Sadler 
Island at 35.26635 N, 81.01432 W, south to a 
point on the Lake shore at 35.26494 N, 
81.01368 W; 

(9) Other bridges. The areas within 50 feet of a 
bridge in North Carolina that crosses the waters 
of Lake Wylie that is not otherwise specifically 
mentioned in this Paragraph; and 

(10) Yachtsman on Lake Wylie Community. The 
waters within 50 yards of the community piers 
near the terminus of Waterside Drive in 
Mecklenburg County, and northward to include 
the waters east of the island that is west of Point 
Lookout Road, ending at a line from a point on 
the northern end of the island at 35.12226 N, 
81.03306 W, east to a point on the shore at 
35.12253 N, 81.03190 W; and 

(11) Brown's Cove. The waters of Brown's Cove 
beginning at a line from a point on the east 
shore at 35.16892 N, 80.99702 W to a point on 
the west shore at 35.16948 N, 80.99783 W, 
northeast to a line from a point on the south 
shore at 35.16913 N, 80.99556 W to a point on 
the north shore at 35.17043 N, 80.99684 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit Near Ramps. No person shall operate a vessel at 
greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of a public boat-
launching ramp, dock, pier, marina, boat storage structure, or boat 
service area. 
(c)  Speed Limit Near Marked Swimming or Mooring Areas. No 
person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed within 
50 yards of a marked mooring area or marked swimming area. 
(d)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The Lake Wylie 
Marine Commission shall be the designated agency for placement 
and maintenance of markers implementing this Rule. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 
Eff. July 1, 1980; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; June 1, 1985; June 1, 1984; March 1, 
1983; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1998; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. February 4, 2000; 
Amended Eff. April 1, 2009; June 1, 2004; July 1, 2000; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. May 1, 2015; 
Amended Eff. October 1, 2015; 
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2023; June 1, 2022; May 1, 2019. 
 
15A NCAC 10F .0355 PERQUIMANS COUNTY 
(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following 
waters: 

(1) Perquimans River: 
(A) the canals of Holiday Island 

subdivision at Albemarle Sound; and 

(B) Town of Hertford: 550 yards 
southwest of the Perquimans River 
Bridge on U.S. Highway 17 Business, 
otherwise known as the Hertford S - 
Bridge, at a line from a point on the 
north shore at 36.19305 N, 76.46957 
W to a point on the south shore at 
36.19150 N, 76.47099 W, and 190 
yards northeast of the bridge at a line 
from a point in the Perquimans River 
at 36.19530 N, 76.46518 W, eastward 
to Day Marker #11, then southeast to a 
point on the shore at 36.19337 N, 
76.46367 W. 

(2) Yeopim River: 
(A) the canal between Navaho Trail and 

Cherokee Trail beginning at a point at 
36.07893 N, 76.42278 W; 

(B) the canal between Cherokee Trail and 
Ashe Street beginning at a point at 
36.07865 N, 76.42603 W; 

(C) within 50 yards of the boat ramp at 
Ashe and Pine Street; 

(D) the canal between Pine Street and 
Linden Street beginning at a point at 
36.07951 N, 76.43402 W; 

(E) the canal between Willow Street and 
Evergreen Drive beginning at a point 
at 36.08005 N, 76.43735 W; 

(F) the canal between Sago Street and 
Alder Street beginning at a point at 
36.07986 N, 76.44063 W; and 

(G) Bethel Creek north of a line from a 
point on the west shore at 36.09566 N, 
76.47928 W to a point on the east 
shore at 36.09534 N, 76.47738 W to a 
line from a point on the west shore at 
36.10532 N, 76.48080 W to a point on 
the east shore at 36.10516 N, 76.48047 
W. 

(3) Yeopim Creek: 
(A) the canal between Mohave Trail and 

Iowa Trail beginning at a point at 
36.08521 N, 76.41802 W; 

(B) the canal between Iowa Trail and 
Shawnee Trail beginning at a point at 
36.08511 N, 76.41763 W; 

(C) the area within 75 yards of the 
Albemarle Plantation Marina Piers; 

(D) the area of the cove known as Beaver 
Cove, shore to shore beginning at a 
point at 36.08767 N, 76.42151 W; and 

(E) the waters of Yeopim Creek adjacent 
to Heritage Shores North, shore to 
shore, east of a line from a point on the 
north shore at 36.11356 N, 76.43138 
W to a point on the south shore at 
36.11288 N, 76.43173 W, to a line 
northwest from a point on the east 
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shore at 36.11219 N, 76.42445 W to a 
point on the west shore at 36.11178 N, 
76.42596 W. 

(4) Little River: the entrance to the cove known as 
Muddy Gut Canal that extends from the waters 
known as Deep Creek, shore to shore beginning 
at a line from a point on the east shore at 
36.17729 N, 76.28011 W to a point on the west 
shore at 36.17667 N, 76.28331 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 
no-wake speed within the regulated area described in Paragraph 
(a) of this Rule. 
(c)  Swimming Area. No person operating or responsible for the 
operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter the swimming area at 
the Snug Harbor Park and Beach on the Yeopim River. 
(d)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 
Perquimans County is the designated agency for placement of 
markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the 
United States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of 
Engineers. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 
Eff. November 1, 1988; 
Amended Eff. October 1, 1992; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 1997; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. February 4, 2000; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; September 1, 2013; May 1, 2006; 
June 1, 2005; July 1, 2000; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2023; October 1, 2018; June 1, 2017. 
 
15A NCAC 10F .0379 CITY OF ROXBORO 
(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule applies to the waters of Lake 
Roxboro, located near Frogsboro in Person and Caswell counties, 
in the channel between a line shore to shore from 36.32069 N, 
79.15373 W, and a line shore to shore at 36.31651 N, 79.15165 
W. 
(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 
no-wake speed within the regulated area described in Paragraph 
(a) of this Rule. 
(c)  Placement of Markers. The City of Roxboro is the designated 
agency for placement and maintenance of the markers 
implementing this Rule. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 
Eff. June 1, 2023. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
15A NCAC 18A .0911 MARINAS, DOCKING 
FACILITIES, AND OTHER MOORING AREAS 
The Division of Marine Fisheries shall classify shellfish growing 
waters with respect to marinas, docking facilities, and other 
mooring areas as follows: 

(1) the Division shall classify all waters within a 
marina as prohibited to the harvesting of 
shellfish for human consumption; and 

(2) the Division shall conduct a dilution analysis, in 
the form of a volumetric calculation or in-field 
hydrographic study, to determine the volume of 
water necessary to dilute the concentration of 
fecal coliform bacteria to less than 14 MPN. 
The Division shall classify the water area 
determined by this dilution analysis as 
prohibited to the harvesting of shellfish for 
human consumption. The Division shall 
conduct the dilution analysis yearly and shall 
incorporate the following: 
(a) the findings of the shoreline survey, 

including the presence of a sewage 
pumpout system or dump station;  

(b) the physical factors influencing the 
dilution and dispersion of human 
wastes; and 

(c) for marinas, docking facilities, and 
mooring areas in close proximity to 
one another, slip counts and services 
shall be combined for the purposes of 
the dilution analysis. Marinas, 
docking facilities, and mooring areas, 
each with three slips or more, shall be 
considered to be in close proximity to 
one another if the dilution analysis for 
each individual facility indicates that 
the dilution areas meet or overlap. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 
143B-289.52; 
Eff. June 1, 1989; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 1993; 
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2801 DEFINITIONS 
The following definitions shall apply throughout this Section: 

(1) "Adequate" means to be of the size, volume, or 
technical specifications necessary to effectively 
accommodate and support the planned, current, 
or projected workloads for the technology or 
constructed space. 

(2) "Approved Disinfectant" means a chlorine 
solution containing 500 to 800 parts per million 
(ppm) of chlorine or a disinfectant as defined at 
40 C.F.R. 158.2203 that is registered with the 
United States Environmental Protection 
Agency (EPA) in accordance with 40 C.F.R. 
152 with use indicated in schools and child care 
settings and that is prepared and maintained in 
accordance with Rule .2812(i) of this Section.  

(3) "Chain or Franchise Child Care Center" means 
a child care center that operates under the same 
business name and prototype design concept, 
with common ownership or management, as 
nine or more other child care centers pursuant 
to a franchise agreement under the same 
franchisor as nine or more other child care 
centers.  
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(4) "Child Care Administrator" means as defined at 
G.S. 110-86(2a). 

(5) "Child Care Center" means as defined at 10A 
NCAC 09 .0102(6). 

(6) "Child Care Operator" or "Operator" means as 
defined at G.S. 110-86(7). 

(7) "Clean" means that an object or surface has 
been made free of garbage, soil, dust, hair, 
dander, food, bodily fluids and secretions, and 
feces. 

(8) "Communicable Condition" means as defined 
at G.S. 130A-2(1b).  

(9) "Communicable Disease" means as defined at 
G.S. 130A-2(1c).  

(10) "Department" or "DHHS" means the North 
Carolina Department of Health and Human 
Services or the Department's authorized agent 
pursuant to G.S. 130A-4. 

(11) "Designated Emergency Medication" means a 
medication needed to immediately treat a life-
threatening medical event that is administered 
in accordance with 10A NCAC 09 .0803(10) 
and G.S. 110-102.1A. 

(12) "Detergent Solution" means a solution 
comprised of water and soap. 

(13) "Disinfect" means a non-sporicidal process of 
using an approved disinfectant on inanimate 
surfaces to destroy or irreversibly inactivate 
fungi, viruses, and bacteria. 

(14) "Food" means any raw, cooked, or processed 
edible substance, ice, beverage, or ingredient 
used or intended for use or for sale in whole or 
in part for human consumption. 

(15) "Food-contact surface" means as defined in Part 
1-201.10 of the Food Code incorporated by 
reference at 15A NCAC 18A .2650 as amended 
by 15A NCAC 18A .2651. 

(16) "Food Preparation" means the handling of 
foods or utensils in the preparation of meals, 
including opening and closing of baby bottles, 
baby food jars, and cereal boxes, as well as the 
opening and closing of any other food items 
during the assembly of ingredients.  

(17) "Food Service" means the distribution of foods 
for consumption, including milk placed in a 
pitcher or other serving container, ice that is 
transported, stored and dispensed, the 
distribution of children's bagged lunches and 
snacks sent from home, and the use of utensils 
to prevent direct food contact. 

(18) "Frying" means to cook over direct heat in hot 
oil or fat. This includes the oil or fat that is 
generated by the food or added to the cooking 
utensil. 

(19) "Garbage" means as defined at G.S. 130A-
290(a)(7). 

(20) "Good Repair" means as defined at 15A NCAC 
18A .2651(8). Items that are in good repair shall 
be free of substrate damage, deterioration, 

peeling surfaces, and broken or missing parts 
and shall operate in accordance with the 
manufacturer's or builder's instructions. 

(21) "Hand Antiseptic" means as defined in Part 2-
301.16 of the Food Code incorporated by 
reference at 15A NCAC 18A .2650 as amended 
by 15A NCAC 18A .2652. 

(22) "Handwash Lavatory" means a sink that is 
equipped with hot and cold water under 
pressure and is used primarily for handwashing. 

(23) "Hazard" means as defined in Part 1-201.10 of 
the Food Code incorporated by reference at 
15A NCAC 18A .2650 as amended by 15A 
NCAC 18A .2651, except that "consumer" shall 
be replaced with "child." 

(24) "Hermetically Sealed Container" means as 
defined in Part 1-201.10 of the Food Code 
incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 
.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2651.  

(25) "Licensing Agency" means the DHHS, 
Division of Child Development and Early 
Education. 

(26) "Local Health Department" means as defined at 
G.S. 130A-2(5). 

(27) "Milk Products" means as defined in Section 1 
of the 2017 Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk 
Ordinance, including subsequent amendments 
and editions, established by the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, 
Food and Drug Administration, which is hereby 
incorporated by reference and available free of 
charge at 
https://www.fda.gov/media/114169/download. 

(28) "Multi-Service Articles" means tableware, 
including flatware and hollowware that are 
designed, fabricated, and intended by the 
manufacturer to be washed, rinsed, sanitized, 
and re-used. 

(29) "Multi-Use Articles" means bulk food 
containers and utensils designed, fabricated, 
and intended by the manufacturer to be washed, 
rinsed, sanitized, and re-used. The term 
includes food storage containers, beverage 
pitchers, serving spoons and bowls, tongs, and 
spatulas. The term does not include multi-
service articles as defined in this Rule. 

(30) "Outdoor Learning Environment" means as set 
forth at 10A NCAC 09 .0605. 

(31) "Pest" means as defined at G.S. 143-460(26a). 
(32) "Potable Water" means water from a potable 

water supply as defined at 15A NCAC 18C 
.0102(c)(18). 

(33) "Potentially Hazardous Food" means any food 
or ingredient, natural or synthetic, in a form 
capable of supporting the growth of infectious 
or toxigenic microorganisms, including 
Clostridium botulinum. This term includes raw 
or heat-treated food of animal origin, raw seed 
sprouts, and heat-treated foods of plant origin. 
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The term does not include foods which have a 
pH level of 4.6 or below or a water activity 
value of 0.85 or less. 

(34) "Sanitize" means a process of using a sanitizing 
solution on inanimate surfaces to destroy or 
irreversibly inactivate bacteria. 

(35) "Sanitizing Solution" means a solution 
containing 50 to 200 parts per million (ppm) of 
chlorine or a sanitizer as defined at 40 C.F.R. 
158.2203 that is registered with the EPA in 
accordance with 40 C.F.R. 152 that is approved 
by the EPA for use on food-contact surfaces, 
does not require a final rinse step, and has a 
testing method that can be used by child care 
center employees to confirm that the prescribed 
chemical concentrations are met and that is 
prepared and maintained in accordance with 
Rule .2812(j) of this Section.  

(36) "School Age" means a school-aged child as 
defined at 10A NCAC 09 .0102(42).  

(37) "Single-Service Articles" means tableware, 
including flatware and hollowware, carry-out 
utensils and other items such as bags, 
containers, stirrers, straws, toothpicks, and 
wrappers that are designed, fabricated and 
intended by the manufacturer for one-time use. 

(38) "Single-Use Articles" means bulk food 
containers and utensils intended by the 
manufacturer to be used once and discarded. 
The term includes formed buckets, bread 
wrappers, pickle barrels, and No. 10 cans. The 
term does not include single-service articles as 
defined in this Rule. 

(39) "Tempered Water" means water that is between 
80 and 110 degrees Fahrenheit. 

(40) "Utensil" means any kitchenware, tableware, 
glassware, cutlery, containers or other 
equipment that food or drink comes in contact 
with during storage, preparation or serving. 

(41) "Water Play Center" means water tables or 
containers that allow children to scoop, splash, 
pour, and play with water to explore their 
senses. 

(42) "Work Surfaces" means surfaces used for food 
service, stove tops, food contact utensil and 
dishwashing sinks, surfaces used for air drying, 
drain boards, surfaces used for diaper changing, 
counter top surfaces, and children's work tables, 
desks, and easels. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. March 1, 1995; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. April 15, 1998; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2006; January 1, 2006; April 1, 1999; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 

15A NCAC 18A .2802 APPROVAL OF 
CONSTRUCTION AND RENOVATION PLANS 
(a)  Construction plans drawn to scale and specifications for a new 
child care center that is not a chain or franchise child care center 
shall be submitted by the operator or the operator's designee to the 
local health department that serves the county in which the child 
care center is located for review and approval prior to initiating 
construction. Plans drawn to scale and specifications for changes 
to building dimensions, kitchen specifications, or other 
modifications to existing child care centers, including chain or 
franchise child care centers, shall also be submitted to the local 
health department for review and approval prior to initiating 
construction. Construction plans drawn to scale and specifications 
for prototype chain or franchise child care centers shall be 
submitted to DHHS, Division of Public Health, Environmental 
Health Section by mail at 5605 Six Forks Road, 1632 Mail Service 
Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1632. When requested by 
an operator of a child care center or by the Secretary of the 
Department, the local health department shall visit or inspect an 
existing or proposed center, within 30 days of the request, to 
determine compliance with this Section. 
(b)  The local health department or the DHHS, Division of Public 
Health, Environmental Health Section, as applicable, shall 
approve plans described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule when the 
plans meet the requirements of the rules of this Section that 
pertain to the construction or renovation of child care centers.  
(c)  Construction and modifications shall comply with the plans 
approved pursuant to this Rule. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 110-92; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. April 15, 1998; 
Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 1999; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2006; April 1, 2001; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2803 HANDWASHING 
(a)  Child care center employees shall wash their hands as follows 
when at work in a child care center: 

(1) upon reporting for work at the child care center: 
(2) before and after handling or preparing food; 
(3) before bottle feeding a child; 
(4) before providing food service; 
(5) before handling clean utensils;  
(6) after toileting or handling of body fluids, 

including but not limited to saliva, nasal 
secretions, vomitus, feces, urine, blood, 
secretions from sores, and pustulant discharge; 

(7) after diaper changing; 
(8) after handling soiled items that are not clean; 
(9) after being outdoors; 
(10) after handling animals or animal cages; and 
(11) after removing disposable gloves. 

(b)  The use of a hand antiseptic does not replace the requirements 
for handwashing in Paragraph (a) of this Rule except that an 
employee who is supervising a child or children outdoors may use 
a hand antiseptic while outdoors in lieu of handwashing, provided 
that the employee's hands are washed in accordance with 
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Paragraph (e) of this Rule when the employee returns indoors. 
Hand antiseptic shall not be used in lieu of handwashing when the 
employee's action that necessitates handwashing is diapering, 
food preparation, or food service. 
(c)  Child care center employees shall ensure that children wash 
their hands as follows: 

(1) upon arrival at the child care center; 
(2) after each diaper change or visit to the toilet; 
(3) before eating meals or snacks; 
(4) before and after water play; 
(5) after being outdoors; and 
(6) after handling animals or animal cages. 

(d)  Except when the action that necessitates handwashing is 
diapering and before eating meals or snacks, hand antiseptics may 
be used in lieu of handwashing while a child is outdoors, provided 
that the child's hands are washed when the child returns indoors. 
(e)  Handwashing procedures shall include the following steps: 

(1) using liquid soap and tempered water; 
(2) rubbing hands vigorously with soap and 

tempered water for 15 seconds; 
(3) washing all surfaces of the hands, to include the 

backs of hands, palms, wrists, under fingernails, 
and between fingers; 

(4) rinsing the hands under tempered water for 10 
seconds; 

(5) drying the hands with a paper towel or other 
hand-drying device; and 

(6) turning off faucet with a paper towel or other 
method without recontaminating hands. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. February 1, 1995; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. April 15, 1998; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2006; January 1, 2006; April 1, 1999; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2804 FOOD SUPPLIES 
(a)  In child care centers, food shall be kept free from spoilage, 
filth, or other contamination and shall be safe for human 
consumption. Potentially hazardous foods, including foods 
packaged in hermetically sealed containers, shall be obtained only 
from sources that are permitted or inspected by a local health 
department, the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services, or other government agency. The use of food 
packaged in hermetically sealed containers that was not prepared 
in a commercial food processing establishment is prohibited. 
Food prepared at home and sent to a child care center to be shared 
with other children shall be limited to baked goods that are not 
potentially hazardous foods. 
(b)  Milk products that are used shall be Grade "A" milk and milk 
products, as set forth in Section 1 of the 2017 Grade "A" 
Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, including subsequent amendments 
and editions, established by the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services, Food and Drug Administration, which is hereby 
incorporated by reference and available free of charge at 
https://www.fda.gov/media/114169/download, in fluid form or 
evaporated milk. Unless prescribed by a health care provider, dry 
milk and dry milk products shall be used only for cooking 

purposes, including cooked pudding desserts and flavored hot 
beverages. 
(c)  Steamed and uncooked shellfish, raw eggs, and products 
containing raw eggs including raw cookie dough, cake batter, 
brownie mix, milkshakes, and ice cream shall not be consumed 
by children. This requirement shall not apply when a pasteurized 
egg product is used as a substitute for raw eggs. 
(d)  All human milk, formula, and other bottled beverages, 
including beverages in sippy cups, that are sent from home shall 
be fully prepared and labeled with the date received at the child 
care center and the name of the child to whom the milk, formula, 
or beverage belongs before being brought to the child care center. 
All human milk, formula, and other bottled beverages shall be sent 
home with the child whose name is on the label or discarded at 
the end of each day. Formula and other beverages that require 
refrigeration, baby food that has been opened, and human milk 
shall be labeled with the name of the child to whom the beverage, 
baby food, or milk belongs and shall be refrigerated at 45 degrees 
Fahrenheit or below.  
(e)  Frozen human milk may be stored frozen for three months. 
Any frozen human milk stored beyond seven days shall be stored 
in the freezer compartment of a full-size refrigerator that has a 
separate door to the freezer, in a chest freezer, or in an upright 
deep freezer. Frozen human milk shall be thawed in accordance 
with of Rule .2807(i)(1) or (i)(2) of this Section and prepared in 
the child care center's kitchen or food preparation area. In addition 
to the labeling required by Paragraph (d) of this Rule, frozen 
human milk shall be labeled with the date that it is thawed for use. 
Human milk that was previously frozen and has been thawed shall 
be refrigerated and stored for no more than 24 hours from when it 
was thawed. Human milk that was previously frozen and has been 
thawed shall not be refrozen for storage at the child care center. 
(f)  Formula provided by the child care center shall be commercial 
ready-to-feed formula that is pre-packaged in single-use 
containers. Formula that does not meet these requirements and 
human milk may be provided to a child by child care center 
employees as prescribed by the child's health care provider or as 
instructed, in writing, by the child's parent or guardian. Bottles 
and other drinking utensils provided by the child care center shall 
be sanitized in accordance with this Section. 
(g)  After opening, jars of baby food shall be covered, labeled with 
the date on which they were opened, refrigerated and used within 
two days of opening, provided that the baby food is not served 
directly from the jar. Baby food may be served directly from the 
jar to one child if unused portions of the food are discarded after 
each feeding; otherwise, commercially prepared baby foods shall 
be served from a serving dish rather than the food jar. 
(h)  After the completion of each feeding, any leftover formula, 
human milk, or other bottled beverages used during the feeding 
shall be discarded or sent home with the child whose name is on 
the label for the formula, human milk, or bottled beverage at the 
end of each day. Feeding is complete when the child care center 
employee has stopped feeding the child and the child has been 
removed from the feeding area in the child care center and 
returned to other activities. Bottles previously used for feeding 
shall not be returned to communal mechanical refrigeration. 
Nothing in these Rules shall prohibit human milk from being sent 
home at the end of the day with the child whose name is on the 
label for the human milk instead of being discarded when the 
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child's parent or guardian has given the child care center written 
permission to send the human milk home. 
(i)  A water bottle that a child brings to the child care center from 
home and that is used only for water consumption by that child 
shall be exempt from the requirements of Paragraph (h) of this 
Rule. Instead, the water bottle shall be labeled with the name of 
the child to whom the water bottle belongs, individually stored in 
the child's cubby, and sent home with the child at the end of the 
day. 
(j)  Child care centers that receive and provide children with 
prepared meals or snacks from sources outside the child care 
centers, other than meals or snacks sent from home, shall use 
meals and snacks obtained from food establishments that are 
permitted by a local health department, organizations that only 
serve prepared meals to child care centers, or another child care 
center inspected by a local health department. Child care centers 
may also receive and provide children with prepared meals from 
organizations not licensed as child care centers only when these 
organizations are providing prepared meals to licensed child care 
centers and are inspected in the county where the meal is prepared 
in accordance with G.S. 110-91(1). The inspection of these 
organizations shall be made by the local health department at the 
same time the inspection of the licensed child care center 
receiving these prepared meals is done. The inspection report of 
the organization providing these meals shall be a part of the 
inspection of the licensed child care center receiving the prepared 
meals, unless the organization is a permitted food handling 
establishment. Food shall be transported to the child care center 
that is receiving the prepared meals in a manner that meets the 
requirements of the Rules of this Section relating to hazards, food 
protection, and storage. 
(k)  Lunches, snacks, and other meals that a child brings from 
home to the child care center shall be labeled with the date on 
which the food is brought to the child care center and the name of 
the child to whom the food belongs at the child's home and shall 
be returned to the child's home or discarded at the end of each day. 
Lunches, snacks, and other meals containing potentially 
hazardous foods shall be refrigerated at 45 degrees Fahrenheit or 
below and stored in the child care center kitchen or approved food 
preparation area. Hot foods that a child brings from home to the 
child care center in double-walled, insulated thermos containers 
may be stored outside of refrigeration at the child care center with 
the written permission of the child's parent or guardian. 
(l)  Nothing in the Rules of this Section shall prohibit the use of 
fresh fruits and vegetables, including those grown at the child care 
center, so long as the fruits and vegetables meet the requirements 
of the rules of this Section and are washed before being served. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. February 1, 1995; January 1, 1992; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. April 15, 1998; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2006; January 1, 2006; April 1, 1999; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2806 FOOD STORAGE AND 
PROTECTION 
(a)  Once pre-packaged food has been opened, the food shall be 
stored in clean, resealable bags or containers made of plastic or 

glass that are tightly covered and manufactured for the purpose of 
food storage.  
(b)  Food that is stored in child care center classrooms or other 
rooms intended for child care use, shall be limited to foods that 
are individually packaged unless the classroom is equipped with 
a food preparation area.  
(c)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (b) of this Rule, bulk dry goods 
or food stored in freezers may be stored in rooms in child care 
centers that are not equipped with a food preparation area when 
all food preparation involving the bulk dry goods or frozen food 
is done in the kitchen or an approved food preparation area. 
(d)  Bulk food stored in a refrigerator shall be stored at 45 degrees 
Fahrenheit or below and stored in the child care center's kitchen 
or in an approved food preparation area equipped with a full-size 
refrigerator. Specialty bulk milk that is sent from home for 
consumption by a child while at the child care center may be 
stored as set forth in this Paragraph when the child's parent or 
guardian provides written permission and the specialty bulk milk 
is sent to the child care center at the beginning of each week 
unopened, labeled with the date received by the child care center, 
and labeled with the name of the child to whom the bulk specialty 
milk belongs. Any remaining bulk specialty milk shall be sent 
home at the end of the week with the child to whom the bulk 
specialty milk belongs. 
(e)  Dry goods that are stored in containers shall be labeled. 
(f)  Food and containers of food shall not be stored under exposed 
sewer lines. Food shall not be stored in toilet or laundry rooms, 
except that child care centers licensed for fewer than 13 children 
and located in a residence may store food in laundry rooms if the 
food is stored and protected as required in Paragraph (g) of this 
Rule. 
(g)  Food shall be stored above the floor and in a manner to protect 
it from dust, pests, drip, splash, and other contamination. 
(h)  Raw meats, poultry, fish, shellfish and eggs shall be stored in 
a refrigerator or freezer on shelving beneath and separate from 
other foods. The temperature of potentially hazardous food 
provided by the child care center for consumption by children 
shall be 45 degrees Fahrenheit or below, or at 135 degrees 
Fahrenheit or above at all times, including field trips, catering 
events, and outdoor service, except during periods of preparation 
and service immediately prior to consumption.  
(i)  Sealed, commercially pre-packaged food may be stored in 
undrained ice as long as the food is not fully submerged in ice or 
water. Wrapped sandwiches and other foods shall not be stored in 
direct contact with ice. 
(j)  The following shall apply to refrigerated storage of food: 

(1) Refrigeration equipment shall be provided in 
such number and of such capacity to ensure the 
maintenance of potentially hazardous food at 
the required temperatures during storage. Each 
refrigerator shall be provided with a 
numerically scaled indicating thermometer that 
is accurate to ± 3 degrees Fahrenheit and 
located to measure the air temperature in the 
warmest part of the refrigerator. Recording 
thermometers that are accurate to ± 3 degrees 
Fahrenheit may be used in lieu of indicating 
thermometers. 
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(2) Potentially hazardous food requiring 
refrigeration after preparation shall be cooled to 
an internal temperature of 45 degrees 
Fahrenheit or below. Cooling of potentially 
hazardous foods shall be initiated upon 
completion of the food preparation or hot 
storage. Methods such as pouring into pans, 
agitation, and chilling with ice or water 
circulation external to the food containers shall 
be used to cool potentially hazardous food. 
Potentially hazardous food that will be 
transported cold shall be prechilled and held at 
a temperature of 45 degrees Fahrenheit or 
below. 

(3) Ice used for cooling stored food and food 
containers shall not be used for human 
consumption. 

(k)  The following shall apply to the hot storage of food:  
(1) Hot food storage equipment shall be provided 

in sufficient number and capacity to ensure the 
maintenance of food at the required temperature 
during storage. Each hot food unit shall be 
provided with a numerically scaled indicating 
thermometer that is accurate to ± 3 degrees 
Fahrenheit and located to measure the air 
temperature in the coolest part of the unit. 
Recording thermometers that are accurate to ± 
3 degrees Fahrenheit may be used in lieu of 
indicating thermometers. Where it is 
impractical to install thermometers on 
equipment such as steam tables, steam kettles, 
heat lamps, cal-rod units, or insulated food 
transport carriers, a metal stem-type, thin probe, 
numerically scaled indicating product 
thermometer that is accurate to ± 3 degrees 
Fahrenheit shall be used to check internal food 
temperature. 

(2) The internal temperature of potentially 
hazardous foods requiring hot storage shall be 
135 degrees Fahrenheit or above except during 
periods of preparation and service. Potentially 
hazardous food that will be transported hot shall 
be held at a temperature of 135 degrees 
Fahrenheit or above during transportation. 

(l)  In the event of a fire, flood, water supply interruption, power 
outage, or other event that results in the contamination of food, or 
that might prevent potentially hazardous food from being held at 
required temperatures, the person in charge shall either discard the 
food in question or contact the local health department for 
information on food safety. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991. 
Amended Eff. February 1, 1995; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 1999; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2006; January 1, 2006; April 1, 2001; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 

15A NCAC 18A .2807 FOOD PREPARATION 
(a)  In child care centers, the preparation of food shall take place 
only in the kitchen or space equipped as required in Rule .2810 of 
this Section. 
(b)  Employees engaged in food preparation in the kitchen shall 
wear clean clothes and hair restraints, as set out in Part 2-402.11 
of the Food Code incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 
.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2652, and shall keep their 
fingernails trimmed. Hair spray is not a hair restraint for the 
purpose of this Rule. Employees engaged in food preparation who 
are wearing nail polish or artificial nails on their fingers shall wear 
intact gloves during food preparation. 
(c)  Food shall be prepared using utensils, deli paper, or disposable 
gloves to prevent exposed, ready-to-eat-food from coming into 
direct contact with an employee's bare hands or exposed skin. 
Food shall be prepared on food-contact surfaces that have been 
cleaned, rinsed, and sanitized prior to use. Food-contact surfaces 
and utensils that are exposed to bacterial, viral, fungal, or hazard 
contaminants during use shall be made clean, free from hazards, 
and sanitized before continued use. 
(d)  Raw fruits and raw vegetables shall be washed with potable 
water before being cooked or served. 
(e)  Potentially hazardous foods requiring cooking shall be cooked 
to heat all parts of the food to a temperature of at least 145 degrees 
Fahrenheit, except that: 

(1) poultry, poultry stuffings, stuffed meats and 
stuffings containing meat shall be cooked to 
heat all parts of the food to at least 165 degrees 
Fahrenheit with no interruption of the cooking 
process; 

(2) ground beef, other ground or comminuted meat 
or fish, and eggs pooled and cooked for hot 
storage shall be cooked to an internal 
temperature of at least 155 degrees Fahrenheit 
with no interruption in the cooking process; and 

(3) roast beef shall be cooked to an internal 
temperature of at least 130 degrees Fahrenheit 
with no interruption in the cooking process. 

(f)  Potentially hazardous foods that require cooking prior to 
consumption and cooked in a microwave oven shall be heated to 
an internal temperature of at least 165 degrees Fahrenheit.  
(g)  Potentially hazardous foods that have been cooked and then 
refrigerated, if served above 45 degrees Fahrenheit, shall be 
reheated to an internal temperature of 165 degrees Fahrenheit or 
higher before being served or before being placed in a hot food 
storage unit except that commercially packaged food in intact 
packages may initially be reheated to 135 degrees Fahrenheit. Hot 
storage equipment shall not be used for reheating of potentially 
hazardous foods. Potentially hazardous foods reheated in a 
microwave oven shall be heated to an internal temperature of at 
least 165 degrees Fahrenheit.  
(h)  Metal stem-type, thin probe, numerically scaled indicating 
product thermometers, accurate to ± 3 degrees Fahrenheit shall be 
used to ensure the maintenance of the internal cooking 
temperatures of all potentially hazardous foods required under 
this Rule. 
(i)  Potentially hazardous foods that are frozen shall be thawed 
using one of the following methods: 
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(1) in refrigerated units at a temperature not to 
exceed 45 degrees Fahrenheit; 

(2) submerged under potable water of a 
temperature of 70 degrees Fahrenheit or below, 
with sufficient water velocity to agitate and 
float off loose food particles into the overflow; 

(3) in a microwave oven only when the food will 
be immediately transferred to conventional 
cooking equipment as part of a continuous 
cooking process or when the entire, 
uninterrupted cooking process takes place in the 
microwave oven; or 

(4) as part of the uninterrupted cooking process. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2006; February 1, 1995; October 1, 
1993; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2808 FOOD SERVICE 
(a)  In child care centers, milk and milk products used for drinking 
purposes shall be stored in the original commercially filled 
container until the milk or milk product is served for drinking. 
Unused milk and milk products that are transferred from the 
original commercially filled container into a separate container, 
such as a pitcher, for serving shall be discarded and shall not be 
put back into the original commercial filled container or stored in 
the container that was used for serving.  
(b)  Ice shall be protected against physical, chemical, and 
biological contamination and shall be kept clean. Ice shall be 
dispensed with scoops, tongs, or other ice-dispensing utensils or 
through automatic ice-dispensing equipment. Ice-dispensing 
utensils shall be stored on a clean surface or in the ice with the 
dispensing utensil's handle extended out of the ice. Between uses, 
ice transfer receptacles shall be kept clean. Ice storage bins shall 
be drained through an air gap in accordance with in Part 5-202.13 
of the Food Code incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 
.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2655. 
(c)  Food that is leftover after serving shall not be served again 
unless the original package is unopened and the food is not a 
potentially hazardous food. Foods that have been placed on the 
table for family style or self-serve food service are considered 
served. 
(d)  Between uses during service, utensils that are used to serve 
food shall be stored in the food with the utensil handle extended 
out of the food, in a container of water if the water is maintained 
at a temperature of at least 135 degrees Fahrenheit, or stored clean 
and dry. 
(e)  Children shall not be in the kitchen except when participating 
in a supervised activity. 
(f)  Nothing in this Section shall be construed as prohibiting 
family style or self-serve food service at child care centers 
provided that children are supervised by child care center 
employees for the duration of the meal. Notwithstanding the 
foregoing sentence, family style or self-serve food service shall 
be prohibited during the outbreak and investigation of a 
communicable disease or condition at the child care center. 
 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff January 1, 2006; April 1, 1999; February 1, 1995; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2809 FOOD SERVICE EQUIPMENT 
AND UTENSILS 
In child care centers, material, construction, and use of food 
service equipment and utensils shall meet the following 
requirements: 

(1) Utensils shall be made of nonabsorbent material 
that is free from hazards, finished to have a 
smooth surface, and shall be kept clean and in 
good repair. 

(2) Food-contact surfaces shall be smooth, 
nonabsorbent, free of sharp corners, and kept 
clean and in good repair. Hard wood may be 
used for cutting boards, cutting blocks, or 
bakers' tables. 

(3) Other surfaces that do not come into contact 
with food shall be made of nonabsorbent 
material and shall be kept clean and in good 
repair. 

(4) Galvanized metal shall not be used for utensils, 
food-contact surfaces, or cooking equipment 
that comes into contact with food. 

(5) Linens shall not be used as food-contact 
surfaces, except that clean linen may be used in 
contact with bread and rolls. 

(6) Single-use and single-service articles shall be 
kept clean. 

(7) Reuse of single-service articles is prohibited. 
(8) Single-use articles shall be used only once, 

except that containers made of plastic, glass or 
other material intended for food storage, with 
smooth sides may be reused. 

(9) Water filters or any other water conditioning 
devices shall be kept clean and in good repair 
and shall be maintained in accordance with the 
manufacturer's instructions. 

(10) Filters and other grease extracting equipment 
shall be kept clean and in good repair and shall 
be maintained in accordance with the 
manufacturer's instructions. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2006; February 1, 1995; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2810 SPECIFICATIONS FOR 
KITCHENS, FOOD PREPARATION AREAS AND FOOD 
SERVICE AREAS 
(a)  Each child care center shall have at least a two-compartment 
sink, drainboards or countertop space of adequate size, adequate 
refrigeration equipment and, when needed, adequate cooking 
equipment, except that this requirement shall not apply to child 
care centers located in a school that receives food supplies that are 
pre-prepared and ready to serve from a food service establishment 
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permitted by a local health department, which is located at the 
same school campus and provides food during all hours of the 
child care center's operation. Child care centers shall be permitted 
to use domestic kitchen equipment. A child care center may use 
and wash multi-use articles and highchair feeding trays in a two-
compartment sink, but shall not use or wash multi-service articles 
other than highchair feeding trays unless equipped with either: 

(1) a dishwasher and two-compartment sink, or 
(2) a three-compartment sink of sufficient size and 

depth to submerge, wash, rinse and sanitize 
utensils. 

(b)  A separate lavatory for handwashing is required in food 
preparation areas and kitchens. If the dishwashing area is separate 
from the food preparation area, an additional handwashing 
lavatory shall be required in the dishwashing area. 
(c)  A separate food preparation sink with drainboards or 
countertop space of adequate size shall be required when a review 
of construction plans, modifications, or change in child care 
procedures indicates that separate facilities are needed based on 
volume and preparation frequency. 
(d)  Except in child care centers licensed for fewer than 13 
children and located in a residence, when domestic refrigeration 
equipment is used the following shall apply: 

(1) except for thawing in a refrigerator, potentially 
hazardous foods shall not be prepared prior to 
the day that such foods are to be served; 

(2) potentially hazardous foods that have been 
heated shall not be reheated or placed in 
refrigeration to be used in whole or in part on 
another day; and 

(3) salads containing potentially hazardous food 
shall not be prepared on site. Prohibited salads 
include chicken, egg, tuna, crab, and other 
salads containing meat. 

(e)  A commercial hood shall be installed in accordance with G.S. 
110-91 when frying is used for food preparation on-site at the 
child care center.  
(f)  If food is prepared in a child care center classroom, then the 
classroom shall be equipped with a food preparation area. Water 
from a handwash lavatory shall not be used for bottle warming or 
to prepare formula, mix dry cereals, or other foods. Toy cleaning 
and sanitizing may be conducted in the food preparation area. This 
food preparation area shall contain a countertop that is kept clean 
and in good repair, a handwash lavatory, and refrigeration when 
items are stored that require refrigeration in accordance with 
Rules .2804 and .2806 of this Section. The food preparation 
counters, food, and food-contact surfaces shall be out of reach of 
children and the following shall apply to food preparation 
counters, food, food-contact surfaces, and equipment used in food 
preparation: 

(1) all equipment shall be kept clean. Bottle 
warming equipment shall be cleaned and 
sanitized as required in Rule .2812 of this 
Section and the manufacturer's instructions; 

(2) if bottles are warmed, bottles shall be warmed 
in the child care center's kitchen or food 
preparation area. Bottle warming equipment 
shall be kept out of reach of children. 
Microwaves and slow cookers shall not be used 

to thaw or warm human milk, baby food, 
formula, or other bottled beverages meant for 
consumption by children. Bottles shall be 
warmed by placing bottles under running 
potable water or in containers of potable water 
or by using bottle warming equipment that is 
used in accordance with the manufacturer's 
instructions. Temperature restrictions listed in 
Rule .2815(e) of this Section do not apply to 
equipment manufactured specifically for bottle 
warming. If other bottle warming methods are 
used in food preparation areas, compliance with 
temperature restrictions listed in Rule .2815(e) 
of this Section is required; and 

(3) after each use, multi-service articles provided 
by the child care center shall be cleaned and 
sanitized in the child care center kitchen. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. March 1, 1995; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. April 15, 1998; 
Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 1999; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2006; January 1, 2006; April 1, 2001; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2812 CLEANING, SANITIZING, AND 
DISINFECTING EQUIPMENT, UTENSILS, AND OTHER 
AREAS 
(a)  Each child care center shall be equipped with adequate 
drainboards or countertop space for handling used utensils and air 
drying clean and sanitized utensils. For child care centers 
originally licensed on or after April 15, 1998, drainboards or 
countertop space shall be no less than 8 square feet. A domestic 
dishwasher may be used to provide the equivalent of 4 square feet 
of drainboard space. Drainboards or countertop space designated 
for clean equipment and utensils shall be on the opposite end of 
the sink from drainboards or countertop space designated for 
equipment and utensils that are not clean, unless these areas are 
otherwise separated and protected from cross-contamination. 
Child care centers originally licensed before April 15, 1998 shall 
comply with this Paragraph upon change of ownership, the 
closing of the child care center and the issuance of a new license, 
or the remodeling of an existing kitchen in a child care center.  
(b)  Except for fixed equipment and utensils too large to be 
cleaned in sink compartments, equipment and utensils that are 
cleaned manually instead of in a dishwasher shall be washed, 
rinsed, and sanitized as follows, in the order of the steps presented 
herein: 

(1) equipment and utensils shall be scraped, 
flushed with water, or soaked with water to 
remove food particles; 

(2) sinks shall be cleaned and sanitized before 
proceeding to Subparagraph (3) of this 
Paragraph;  

(3) equipment and utensils shall be washed in the 
first compartment of the sink with a hot 
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detergent solution that is changed once visibly 
soiled; 

(4) equipment and utensils shall be rinsed free of 
detergent solution with clean water in the 
second compartment of the sink; and 

(5) the food-contact surfaces of equipment and 
utensils shall be sanitized in the third 
compartment of the sink in the following 
manner: 
(A) immersion for at least one minute in 

clean, hot water at a temperature of at 
least 170 degrees Fahrenheit;  

(B) immersion for at least two minutes in 
a solution containing 50 to 200 parts 
per million (ppm) of chlorine at a 
temperature of at least 75 degrees 
Fahrenheit; 

(C) immersion for at least two minutes in 
a solution containing at least 12.5 ppm 
of iodine and having a pH not higher 
than 5.0 and at a temperature of at least 
75 degrees Fahrenheit; 

(D) immersion for at least two minutes in 
a solution containing 200 to 400 ppm 
of quaternary ammonium products 
and having a temperature of at least 75 
degrees Fahrenheit, provided that the 
quaternary ammonium product label 
indicates that it is effective in water 
that has a hardness value at least equal 
to that of the water being used; or 

(E) other sanitizing products, procedures, 
or equipment that are nontoxic to 
children, used according to the 
manufacturer's instructions, are safe 
for use on food-contact surfaces, do 
not require a final rinse step, and have 
a testing method. 

(c)  When utensils and equipment are washed mechanically using 
a dishwasher, food-contact surfaces of equipment and utensils 
shall be sanitized according to the dishwasher manufacturer's 
instructions. When a domestic dishwashing machine with a 
sanitizing cycle is used according to manufacturer's instructions, 
additional sanitizing is not required. When commercial 
dishwashing equipment is used, the dishwasher shall be equipped 
with a temperature indicating device that is accurate to two 
degrees Fahrenheit.  
(d)  For fixed equipment and utensils and equipment that are too 
large to sanitize in a dishwashing machine or dishwashing sink, a 
spray-on or wipe-on sanitizer of sufficient chemical strength as 
indicated in Subparagraph (b)(5) of this Rule shall be used.  
(e)  Multi-service articles, including highchair feeding trays, shall 
be washed, rinsed and sanitized in the child care center kitchen 
after each use. 
(f)  Kitchen surfaces that are not food-contact surfaces shall be 
kept clean.  
(g)  A testing method or equipment shall be used in accordance 
with the product manufacturer's instructions to test the strengths 

of sanitizing solutions to ensure the prescribed concentrations are 
met. 
(h)  After sanitizing, all equipment and utensils shall be air dried. 
(i)  An approved disinfectant shall be provided for cleaning 
purposes. Throughout this Section, when an approved disinfectant 
is used in a child care center, the manufacturer's Safety Data 
Sheets for the disinfectant product shall be kept on file at the child 
care center and the instructions for use of the disinfectant product 
shall be followed. When a chlorine solution is prepared by a child 
care center employee for use as an approved disinfectant, then the 
solution shall be prepared for use within 24 hours and a testing 
method shall be used to ensure compliance with the prescribed 
chlorine concentration. To achieve the maximum germ reduction 
with a chlorine disinfecting solution, the surface being disinfected 
shall be made wet with the chlorine disinfecting solution and 
allowed to air dry or be dried only after the surface has been in 
contact with the chlorine disinfecting solution for a minimum of 
two minutes. 
(j)  A sanitizing solution shall be provided for cleaning purposes. 
Throughout this Section, when a sanitizing solution is used in a 
child care center, the manufacturer's Safety Data Sheet shall be 
kept on file at the child care center and the instructions for use of 
the sanitizing solution shall be followed. When a chorine solution 
is used in a child care center it shall be prepared for use within 24 
hours and a testing method or kit shall be used to ensure 
compliance with the prescribed chlorine concentration. To 
achieve the maximum germ reduction with a chlorine solution, the 
cleaned surfaces shall be left wet with the chlorine solution and 
allowed to air dry or be dried only after a minimum contact time 
of at least two minutes. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. February 1, 1995; July 1, 1993; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 1999; April 15, 1998; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2006; January 1, 2006; April 1, 2001; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2814 FOOD SERVICE EQUIPMENT 
AND UTENSIL STORAGE 
(a)  In child care centers, food-contact surfaces, equipment, 
utensils, and single service articles shall be protected from 
contamination.  
(b)  Cleaned and sanitized utensils and equipment shall be stored 
above the floor in a clean, dry location and shall be kept clean 
while stored. The food-contact surfaces of fixed equipment shall 
be kept clean while stored or otherwise not in use. Equipment and 
utensils shall not be stored under exposed sewer lines. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2006; February 1, 1995; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2815 WATER SUPPLY 
(a)  A child care center's water supply shall meet the requirements 
of 15A NCAC 18C or 15A NCAC 18A .1700, as applicable. The 
operator of a child care center using a groundwater supply that 
serves 25 or more people shall provide the local health department 
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serving the county in which the child care center is located with 
documentation from the Department of Environmental Quality, 
Division of Water Resources, Public Water Supply Section that 
the well meets the requirements of 15A NCAC 18C. In child care 
centers that use a non-community water supply, a water sample 
shall be collected by the Department once a year and submitted to 
the North Carolina State Laboratory of Public Health or other 
laboratory certified by the North Carolina State Laboratory of 
Public Health under 10A NCAC 42C .0102 to perform 
bacteriological examinations. 
The Department may collect additional samples for tests of water 
quality, as indicated by possible additional sources of 
contamination.  
(b)  Water under pressure shall be provided to meet the child care 
center's needs of cooking, cleaning, drinking, toilets, and outside 
uses.  
(c)  A child care center's water supply plumbing shall not include 
cross-connections as set out in 15A NCAC 18C .0102(c)(8). If the 
potential for back siphonage or backflow conditions exist, an 
atmospheric vacuum breaker or backflow prevention device shall 
be installed.  
(d)  Water heating equipment shall be provided to meet the hot 
water requirements set forth in this Rule. The capacity and 
recovery rates of water heating equipment shall be based on 
number and size of sinks, capacity of dishwashing machines, 
capacity of laundering machines, diaper changing facilities, and 
other food service and cleaning needs for child care centers not 
located in a residence. Child care centers licensed for fewer than 
13 children and located in a residence shall be allowed to use an 
existing water heater, or the equivalent replacement, if the water 
temperature requirements set forth in this Rule are met. Hot and 
cold water under pressure shall be provided in all rooms where 
food is prepared, rooms in which utensils or equipment are 
washed, and other areas where water is required for cleaning and 
sanitizing, including diaper changing areas. 
(e)  Hot water used for cleaning and sanitizing utensils and 
laundry shall be provided at a minimum temperature of 120 
degrees Fahrenheit at the point of use. Water in areas accessible 
to children shall be tempered between 80 degrees Fahrenheit and 
110 degrees Fahrenheit. Hot water that exceeds 120 degrees 
Fahrenheit is a burn hazard and shall not be provided in areas 
accessible to children. For handwash lavatories used exclusively 
by school-age children, the requirement to provide water 
tempered between 80 degrees Fahrenheit and 110 degrees 
Fahrenheit shall not apply. In the event of the loss of hot water at 
the child care center, the operator shall immediately notify the 
local health department that serves the county in which the child 
care center is located. 
(f)  Drinking fountains, if provided, shall be separate from 
handwash lavatories and kept clean. The water pressure of a 
drinking fountain shall be regulated so that an individual's mouth 
does not come in contact with the nozzle and so that water does 
not splash on the floor. Other devices used to dispense drinking 
water shall be kept clean. 
(g)  Outdoor drinking fountains shall be constructed to protect the 
spout from contamination by hazards and shall be kept clean. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1995; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. April 15, 1998; 
Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 1999; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2006; January 1, 2006; April 1, 2001; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2816 LEAD POISONING HAZARDS IN 
CHILD CARE CENTERS 
(a)  In child care centers, areas accessible to children shall be free 
of identified lead poisoning hazards as defined under G.S. 130A-
131.7(7). 
(b)  The following actions shall be taken to ensure that drinking 
water in child care centers is free of identified lead poisoning 
hazards as defined under G.S. 130A-131.7(7)(g). 

(1) Child care operators, as defined under G.S. 110-
86(7), shall test, once every three years, all 
water outlets used for drinking or food 
preparation. Samples shall also be collected and 
tested within 30 calendar days of completion of 
any renovations or repairs that may impact the 
facility's drinking water infrastructure, such as 
repair or replacement of all or part of drinking 
water service lines or faucets, at impacted 
outlets. The operator shall provide 
documentation of testing results for review by 
the Department during each unannounced 
routine sanitation inspection under Rule 
.2834(b) of this Section.  

(2) For child care centers that submit an application 
for licensure in accordance with 10A NCAC 09 
.0302 after the effective date of this Rule, initial 
samples shall be collected by the child care 
operator and tested in accordance with 
Subparagraph (b)(4) of this Rule during the 
license application process. 

(3) For all other centers, initial samples shall be 
collected by the child care operator and tested 
in accordance with Subparagraph (b)(4) of this 
Rule within one year of the effective date of this 
Rule. 

(4) The child care operator shall collect samples 
and submit them for testing in accordance with 
guidance specified by the United States 
Environmental Protection Agency in its 
publication, 3Ts for Reducing Lead in Drinking 
Water in Schools and Child Care Facilities, 
which is incorporated by reference with 
subsequent changes or amendments and 
available free of charge at 
https://www.epa.gov/ground-water-and-
drinking-water/3ts-reducing-lead-drinking-
water. Notwithstanding the guidance, samples 
may be collected with a stagnation period of up 
to 72 hours. Samples shall be analyzed by a 
laboratory certified by the North Carolina State 
Laboratory of Public Health to analyze for lead 
in drinking water. 
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(5) When a water sample is analyzed for lead 
content by a laboratory under this Rule, the 
laboratory shall notify the Department of the 
test results by electronic submission in 
accordance with G.S. 130A-131.8. 

(6) When a child care center receives test results 
from a laboratory indicating that a water sample 
collected by the child care operator contains a 
lead concentration at or above the lead 
poisoning hazard level defined in G.S. 130A-
131.7(7)(g), the child care operator shall: 
(A) restrict access to any water outlet(s) 

used for drinking or food preparation 
that have lead concentrations at or 
above the lead poisoning hazard level; 
and 

(B) ensure that all children and staff have 
access to water free of cost that does 
not contain lead concentrations at or 
above the lead poisoning hazard level 
for drinking and food preparation. 

(7) When notified of a water lead level at or above 
the lead poisoning hazard level, the Department 
shall conduct sampling at the water outlet 
identified to have a water lead level at or above 
the lead poisoning hazard level within 10 
business days of notification. 

(8) If a water sample collected by the Department 
reveals a water lead level at or above the lead 
poisoning hazard level, the child care operator 
shall continue to follow Subparagraph (b)(6) of 
this Rule until the Department determines the 
water outlet(s) are not producing water lead 
levels at or above the lead poisoning hazard 
level and notifies the child care operator and the 
Division of Child Development and Early 
Education in writing of this determination. 

(9) Failure to comply with Paragraph (a) of this 
Rule or any Subparagraph of this Paragraph, 
shall be deemed a violation of this Rule subject 
to demerits under Rule .2834(c)(20) of this 
Section. 

(10) Within five business days of receiving the test 
results of the Department's water analysis that 
shows a water lead level at or above the lead 
poisoning hazard level, the child care center 
operator shall provide written notification of the 
test results to the parents or legal guardians of 
the children attending the child care center and 
the staff of the child care center, in accordance 
with the United States Environmental 
Protection Agency guidance specified in 
Subparagraph (b)(4) of this Rule. 

(11) Within five business days of receiving the test 
results of the Department's water analysis that 
shows a water lead level at or above the lead 
poisoning hazard level, the child care center 
operator shall make the test results available to 
the public, free of charge. The child care center 

operator may post test results to the child care 
center's website to satisfy the requirement to 
make the test results available to the public. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 130A-131.5; 130A-
131.7(7); 130A-131.8; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. October 1, 2019; January 1, 2006; February 1, 
1995; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2817 TOILETS 
(a)  In child care centers, toilet tissue paper shall be provided in 
each toilet room and stored in a clean, dry place. The toilet room 
shall include or be adjacent to a handwash lavatory. Storage in 
toilet rooms shall be limited to toileting and diapering supplies. 
All toilet fixtures shall be kept clean and in good repair. Toilet 
fixtures shall be child-sized, adult-sized toilets that are adapted to 
accommodate children, or potty chairs. 
(b)  Toilet fixtures shall be cleaned and disinfected daily and when 
visibly soiled.  
(c)  If potty chairs are used, they shall be located and stored in a 
toilet room equipped with a spray-rinse toilet or utility sink. Potty 
chairs shall be emptied, rinsed, cleaned and disinfected after each 
use.  
(d)  When cloth diapers are used and emptied, the diaper changing 
area shall be located next to a toilet room. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2006; January 1, 2006; April 1, 1999; 
February 1, 1995; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2818 LAVATORIES 
(a)  In child care centers, lavatories shall be kept clean and in good 
repair and shall not be used for storage. Lavatories shall be 
mounted at an appropriate height to accommodate children or 
otherwise made accessible to children. Water from a handwash 
lavatory shall not be used for consumption. Lavatories with flush-
rimmed sinks or with an attached operable drinking fountain shall 
not be used for handwashing. 
(b)  Lavatories shall be equipped with hot and cold water or 
tempered water provided through mixing faucets or pre-mixing 
devices which provide water in the temperature range specified in 
Rule .2815(e) of this Section. 
(c)  Lavatories shall be cleaned and disinfected with each change 
of use, when visibly soiled, and at least daily. Change of use 
occurs when a handwash lavatory is used outside of its original 
intent. Change of use includes, but is not limited to, a classroom 
handwash lavatory used for rinsing toothbrushes, a food 
preparation handwash lavatory used for toy cleaning, or a 
classroom handwash lavatory used for diaper changing 
handwashing.  
(d)  Liquid soap and disposable towels or other hand-drying 
devices shall be provided at every handwash lavatory area. 
(e)  Handwash signs shall be posted at every handwash lavatory 
area. The signs shall instruct children and child care center 
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employees to wash their hands in accordance with Rule .2803 of 
this Section. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2006; January 1, 2006; February 1, 1995; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2819 DIAPERING AND DIAPER 
CHANGING FACILITIES 
(a)  In child care centers, children in diapers shall be changed at 
stations designated for diapering or toileting. Each diaper 
changing station shall include a handwash lavatory. For child care 
centers licensed for fewer than 13 children and located in a 
residence, and for diaper changing areas designated for school age 
children, a handwash lavatory shall be in or next to the diaper 
changing area. 
(b)  Diapering surfaces shall be made of smooth, intact, 
nonabsorbent material and shall be kept clean and in good repair. 
Nothing shall be placed on the diapering surface except for those 
items required for diapering and the child whose diaper will be 
changed. If diapering is performed on the floor in a toilet room, 
then a smooth, intact, nonabsorbent barrier that is clean and in 
good repair shall be placed on the floor to minimize cross-
contamination. 
(c)  Diapering surfaces shall be disinfected using an approved 
disinfectant. Approved disinfectants and detergent solution shall 
be kept in separate and labeled bottles at each diaper changing 
station. Approved disinfectants that are chlorine disinfecting 
solutions shall be stored in hand pump spray bottles. No cloths or 
sponges shall be used on diapering surfaces. 
(d)  Child care center employees shall change a child's diaper as 
follows: 

(1) gathering supplies before placing child on 
diapering surface; 

(2) donning disposable gloves (if needed); 
(3) using disposable towelette or moistened paper 

towel to clean child, wiping front to back; 
(4) disposing of gloves if used, soiled towelettes 

and diaper in a plastic-lined, covered 
receptacle; 

(5) wiping the child care center employee's hands 
and the child's hands each with a separate 
disposable towelette or moistened paper towel; 

(6) sliding a clean diaper under the child, applying 
diapering products if needed, using facial or 
toilet tissue, and discarding the tissue in a 
plastic-lined, covered receptacle; 

(7) fastening the diaper and placing clothing on 
child; 

(8) washing child's hands in accordance with Rule 
.2803 of this Section, or, if child is unable to 
support the child's head, cleaning the child's 
hands with a disposable towelette or moistened 
paper towel, then drying the child's hands and 
returning the child to a supervised area; 

(9) spraying entire diapering surface with detergent 
solution and wipe clean, using disposable paper 
towels; 

(10) spraying entire diapering surface with an 
approved disinfectant and allowing to remain 
on the surface for two minutes or as specified 
by the manufacturer, or air dry; and 

(11) washing hands in accordance with Rule .2803 
of this Section even if disposable gloves are 
used by the child care center employee. 

(e)  Vinyl or latex disposable gloves shall be used by child care 
center employees during the diaper changing process if the 
employee's hands have cuts, sores, or chapped skin.  
(f)  Child care center employees may dispose of feces from 
diapers in the toilet, but shall not rinse soiled cloth diapers, 
training pants, or clothes. Soiled cloth diapers, training pants, or 
clothes shall be sent to a diaper service or placed in a sealed plastic 
bag or other sealed container, stored out of reach of children, and 
sent home with the child on the same day to be laundered. 
(g)  Receptacles containing soiled disposable diapers shall be 
emptied in a garbage area located outside the child care center 
building daily. 
(h)  Signs that instruct child care center employees on proper 
methods of diaper changing and handwashing as set forth in the 
rules of this Section shall be posted in each diaper changing area. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. February 1, 1995; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. April 15, 1998; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2006; January 1, 2006; April 1, 1999; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2820 STORAGE 
(a)  In child care centers, adequate space shall be provided for the 
storage of equipment, furniture, toys, clothes, linens, backpacks, 
book bags, diaper bags, beds, cots, mats, and supplies. Storage 
areas shall be kept clean. Laundry that is not clean shall be 
handled and stored separately from clean laundry using separate 
containers that are made clean in between uses and kept in good 
repair. 
(b)  Toxic substances, which include corrosive agents, pesticides, 
bleaches, detergents, cleansers, polishes, any product which is 
under pressure in an aerosol dispenser, and any substance which 
may be hazardous to a child if ingested, inhaled, or handled shall 
be kept in the original container or in another labeled container, 
used according to the manufacturer's instructions, and stored in a 
locked storage room or cabinet when not in use. Locked storage 
rooms and cabinets shall include those which are unlocked with a 
combination lock, electronic or magnetic device, keypad, key, or 
equivalent locking device. Keys and electronic or magnetic 
unlocking devices shall be kept out of the reach of a child and 
shall not be stored in the lock. Toxic substances shall be stored 
below or separate from medications and food. Any other product 
that is labeled "keep out of reach of children" and does not have 
any other warnings on the label shall be kept inaccessible to 
children when not in use, but is not required to be kept in locked 
storage. For the purpose of Paragraphs (b), (c), and (d) of this 
Rule, a product shall be considered inaccessible to children when 
stored on a shelf or in an unlocked cabinet that is mounted a 
minimum vertical distance of five feet above the finished floor. 
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(c)  Non-aerosol sanitizing solutions, approved disinfectants, 
detergent solutions, hand antiseptics, and hand lotions shall be 
kept inaccessible to children when not in use, but are not required 
to be in locked storage. These solutions shall be labeled as 
sanitizing, disinfecting, or detergent solutions. Hand soap other 
than that which is in bulk containers is not required to be kept 
inaccessible to children or in locked storage. Bulk soaps shall be 
kept inaccessible to children. 
(d)  Medications including prescription and non-prescription 
items shall be stored in a locked cabinet or other locked container 
and shall not be stored above food. Designated emergency 
medications shall be kept inaccessible to children, but are not 
required to be in locked storage. Non-prescription diaper creams 
and sunscreen shall be kept inaccessible to children when not in 
use, but are not required to be in locked storage. 
(e)  A locked kitchen is not considered to be a locked storage room 
or cabinet for the purposes of this Rule; however, for child care 
centers that are located within a school and that use the school 
cafeteria's kitchen to meet the kitchen requirements of the rules of 
this Section, it shall not be a violation of this Rule to store 
products described in Paragraphs (a)-(d) of this Rule unlocked in 
the cafeteria's kitchen, provided that the kitchen is kept locked and 
children are not permitted in the kitchen for any purpose. 
(f)  Individual cubicles, lockers, or coat hooks shall be provided 
for storage of coats, hats, bags, or other items and accessories. 
Coat hooks not in individual cubicles or lockers, shall be spaced 
at least 12 horizontal inches apart. A child's coats, hats, bags, and 
other items or accessories belonging to a child that are stored 
using cubicles, lockers, or coat hooks shall not come into contact 
with stored items belonging to other children. Combs shall be 
labeled with the name of the child to whom the comb belongs and 
stored separately from combs or other items that belong to a 
different child. Toothbrushes shall be labeled with the name of the 
child to whom the toothbrush belongs, allowed to air dry after use, 
protected from contamination, and stored in a designated area. 
When a container of toothpaste is used for multiple children, the 
toothpaste shall be dispensed onto an intermediate surface such as 
waxed paper and shall not be dispensed directly onto each child's 
toothbrush. 
(g)  Purses and other personal effects belonging to child care 
center employees shall be kept inaccessible to children and shall 
be stored in accordance with this Rule, as applicable. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2006; January 1, 2006; April 1, 1999; 
February 1, 1995; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2821 BEDS, COTS, MATS, AND 
LINENS 
(a)  In child care centers, beds, cribs, cots, mats, and play pens 
shall be kept clean and in good repair, stored to prevent 
contamination, and cleaned and sanitized between users. 
(b)  Cribs and play pens used for sleeping shall be kept clean and 
equipped with a firm, tight-fitting mattress made of waterproof, 
washable material at least two inches thick. 
(c)  Beds, cots, and mats shall be assigned and labeled for use by 
an individual child and equipped with individual linens. 

(d)  Mats shall be of a waterproof, washable material at least two 
inches thick and shall be stored so that the side of the mats that 
makes contact with the floor does not touch the side of a mat that 
any child sleeps on. The sleeping surface of one child's mat shall 
not come in contact with the sleeping surface of another child's 
mat during storage. 
(e)  When in use, cribs, cots, mats and play pens shall be placed 
at least 18 inches apart or separated by partitions that prevent 
physical contact between children. 
(f)  Linens shall be kept clean, in good repair, and stored with the 
mat or cot that the linens are assigned to or stored apart from the 
mattress or cot in a manner that keeps the linens used for each 
child separate from the linens belonging to other children. Linens 
shall be laundered between users, when soiled, and otherwise 
once per week. Linens used in rooms where the children in care 
are less than 12 months old shall be changed and laundered when 
soiled and otherwise at least daily. Linens shall be large enough 
to cover the bed, cot, or mat's sleeping surface. 
(g)  Wash cloths, bibs, and burping cloths shall be laundered after 
each use. Each time a wash cloth, bib, or burping cloth is used, it 
shall be used for only one child.  
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2006; January 1, 2006; February 1, 1995; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2822 TOYS, EQUIPMENT AND 
FURNITURE 
(a)  Toys, equipment, and furniture provided by a child care center 
shall be kept clean and in good repair. In rooms designated for 
children who are not toilet trained, toys and other mouth-contact 
surfaces that are used by children shall be cleaned and then 
sanitized after each use and when visibly dirty. Toys and other 
mouth-contact surfaces shall be cleaned and sanitized as follows: 

(1) the items shall be scrubbed in warm, soapy 
water, using a brush to reach into any crevices; 

(2) the items shall be rinsed in clean water; 
(3) the items shall be submerged in a sanitizing 

solution for at least two minutes or in 
accordance with the instructions on the label of 
the sanitizing solution; and 

(4) the items shall be air dried. 
(b)  Toys and other mouth-contact surfaces that are not designed 
to be submerged in liquid shall be washed and rinsed in place, 
sprayed with a sanitizing solution, and allowed to air dry. Hard 
plastic toys may be washed and rinsed in a dishwasher and cloth 
toys may be laundered and mechanically dried without requiring 
sanitizing. 
(c)  Toys, furniture, cribs, or other items accessible to children 
shall be free of peeling, flaking, or chalking paint. 
(d)  Water play centers shall be filled with potable water 
immediately before children begin a water play session. Water 
shall be emptied after each play session and at a minimum each 
morning and afternoon, or more often if no longer clean. The 
water play centers, including toys, shall be cleaned and sanitized 
at least daily or more often if no longer clean. Water play is 
prohibited during the outbreak and investigation of a 
communicable disease or condition at the child care center. 
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Wading pools are not considered water play centers and are 
regulated under the rules in Section .2500 of this Subchapter.  
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. February 1, 1995; July 23, 1992; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. April 15, 1998; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2006; January 1, 2006; April 1, 1999; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2823 PERSONNEL 
(a)  In child care centers, employees shall wear clean clothing 
while at work. Employees shall keep their fingernails clean. 
(b)  Tobacco use in any form is prohibited in any part of a child 
care center.  
(c)  Volunteer personnel shall adhere to the same requirements as 
child care center employees, as specified in the rules of this 
Section. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. February 1, 1995; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. April 15, 1998; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2006; April 1, 1999; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2824 FLOORS 
(a)  In child care centers, floors and floor coverings in food 
preparation, food storage, utensil washing, toilet rooms, and 
laundry areas shall be constructed of nonabsorbent material and 
shall be kept clean and in good repair.  
(b)  Floors and floor coverings in sleeping and play areas shall be 
kept clean and in good repair. 
(c)  Carpeting used as a floor covering shall be of closely woven 
construction and shall be kept clean and in good repair. Carpeted 
floors shall be vacuumed daily when children are not present in 
the room, except to clean up spills. Instead of waiting for children 
to leave the room, a High Efficiency Particulate Air (HEPA) filter 
vacuum cleaner may be used. If used for this purpose, a HEPA 
vacuum cleaner shall include a HEPA filter individually tested 
and rated as 99.97% efficient at 0.3 micron dust particle size and 
sealed to prevent leakage around connecting points. Vacuum bags 
shall be changed and vacuums shall be emptied when children are 
not present in the room. The vacuum cleaner shall be in good 
repair. Wall to wall carpets shall be cleaned using extraction 
methods at least once each six months. Cleaning materials 
including surfactants, solvents, and water used for extraction shall 
be removed from the carpet before the space is reoccupied. When 
water extraction is used, the carpet shall be completely dry within 
12 hours of cleaning. 
(d)  Floors in areas accessible to children, shall be kept free of 
peeling, flaking, chalking, or otherwise deteriorating paint. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2006; April 1, 1999; February 1, 1995; 
July 23, 1992; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 

15A NCAC 18A .2825 WALLS AND CEILINGS 
(a)  In child care centers, the walls and ceilings, including doors 
and windows, of all rooms and areas shall be kept clean, free of 
visible fungal growth, and in good repair. All walls and ceilings 
shall be free of peeling, flaking, chalking, or otherwise 
deteriorating paint. 
(b)  Walls and ceilings in rooms in which food is stored, handled, 
or prepared, utensil-washing rooms, and toilet rooms shall be 
nonabsorbent. Acoustic and other absorbent ceiling material may 
be used where ventilation in the room precludes the possibility of 
grease and moisture absorption by the acoustic or other material. 
For child care centers licensed for fewer than 13 children and 
located in a residence, ceilings of residential construction are 
acceptable if kept clean and in good repair. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; July 23, 1992; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 1999; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2006; April 1, 2001. 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2826 LIGHTING AND THERMAL 
ENVIRONMENT 
(a)  In child care centers, all rooms and enclosed areas shall be 
lighted by natural or artificial light. Lighting shall be capable of 
illumination to at least 50 foot-candles at work surfaces. Lighting 
shall be capable of illumination to at least 10 foot-candles of light, 
at 30 inches above the floor, in all other areas, including storage 
rooms. Light fixtures in all areas shall be kept clean and in good 
repair. Shielded or shatterproof bulbs shall be used in food 
preparation, storage, and serving areas and in all rooms used by 
children. 
(b)  All rooms used by children shall be heated, cooled, and 
ventilated to maintain an ambient temperature between 65 degrees 
Fahrenheit and 85 degrees Fahrenheit. Ventilation may be in the 
form of openable windows with screens or by means of 
mechanical ventilation to the outside of the building. Windows 
and window treatments shall be kept clean and in good repair. All 
ventilation equipment, including air supply diffusers, return 
grilles, and fans shall be kept clean and in good repair. 
(c)  Nothing in the rules of this Section shall require that outdoor 
storage buildings be wired with electricity or provided with 
heating and air conditioning. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2006; February 1, 1995; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2827 COMMUNICABLE DISEASES 
AND CONDITIONS 
(a)  In child care centers, a child who becomes ill to the extent that 
the child can no longer participate in routine group activities shall 
be separated from the other children until the child leaves the child 
care center and in accordance with 10A NCAC 09 .0804. 
(b)  Each child care center shall include a designated area for a 
child who becomes ill to the extent that she or he can no longer 
participate in the routine group activities. When in use, such area 
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shall be equipped with a bed, cot, or mat and a vomitus receptacle 
and shall be cleaned and disinfected after each use. Thermometers 
and all materials used in the designated area, including toys, shall 
be cleaned and sanitized after each use. Linens shall be changed 
after each use. 
(c)  If the designated area required under Paragraph (b) of this 
Rule is not a separate room, then it shall be separated from space 
used by other children by a partition or screen. The designated 
area shall be located so that health and sanitation measures can be 
carried out without interrupting activities of other children and 
staff. 
(d)  The child care center shall have written procedures that 
employees shall follow when responding to vomiting or diarrheal 
events that involve the discharge of vomitus or fecal matter onto 
surfaces in the center. The procedures shall address the specific 
actions employees must take to minimize the spread of 
contamination and the exposure of employees, children, food, and 
surfaces to vomitus or fecal matter. The written procedures shall 
include the following information: 

(1) Child care center employees who are part of the 
designated clean up response team; 

(2) A supply list for vomit and diarrhea cleanup kit 
items that shall be kept on-site at the child care 
center, including: 
(A) disposable personal protective 

equipment (gloves, apron, mask, shoe 
covers, and hair restraint); 

(B) two disposable plastic bags; 
(C) paper towels; 
(D) a scoop or scraper; 
(E) a mop and bucket; and 
(F) an approved disinfectant; 

(3) The location of the supplies described in 
Subparagraph (d)(2) of this Rule; 

(4) A procedure for preventing access to the 
contaminated area; 

(5) The steps used to clean and disinfect the 
contaminated area, which shall include the 
following: 
(A) for hard surfaces, remove the vomit or 

diarrhea, wash the contaminated 
surface, and use an approved 
disinfectant. 

(B) for carpet or upholstery, remove the 
vomit or diarrhea without use of 
vacuum, wash all surfaces, and steam 
clean or use an approved disinfectant. 

(6) The steps for after clean up, which shall 
including the following: 
(A) throw away all items that came into 

contact with the vomit or diarrhea; 
(B) remove all personal protective 

equipment (PPE); 
(C) discard all cleaning items and PPE in 

a secured trash area; 
(D) disinfect non disposable cleaning 

items such as scoops, scrapers, mop 
heads, mop handles, and buckets and 

discard of disposable cleaning items; 
and 

(E) wash hands in accordance with the 
procedures in Rule .2803(e) of this 
Section. 

(7) Identify steps for properly storing contaminated 
articles of clothing and cloth diapers that came 
into contact with the vomit or diarrhea in 
accordance with the procedures in Rule 
.2819(f) of this Section. 

(e)  Employees with a communicable disease or a communicable 
condition shall be excluded from work or subject to restrictions to 
prevent transmission in accordance with the Rules in Section 10A 
NCAC 41A .0200. Any employee with boils, sores, burns, 
infected wounds, or other draining lesions on exposed skin shall 
bandage the affected area to avoid exposing others to drainage. If 
such bandaging obstructs handwashing as set out in Rule .2803 of 
this Section, if the exposure to drainage cannot be prevented, or if 
otherwise required under the rules in Section 10A NCAC 41A 
.0200, then the employee shall be excluded from food preparation 
and work activities that involve contact with other employees or 
children while risk of transmission of the communicable disease 
or condition exists. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. February 1, 1995; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. April 15, 1998; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2006; April 1, 1999; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2829 WASTEWATER 
In child care centers, all wastewater originating from the child 
care center shall be disposed of using a publicly-operated sewage 
treatment system or an individual sewage disposal system that 
meets the requirements of the rules at Section .1900 of this 
Subchapter. Septic systems shall be of adequate size to 
accommodate the wastewater needs of the anticipated number of 
children and staff for all shifts. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2006; April 1, 1999; February 1, 1995; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2830 SOLID WASTES 
(a)  In child care centers, food scraps and other putrescible 
materials shall be placed in a plastic-lined, cleanable, covered 
container and removed to an exterior garbage area daily. Scrap 
paper, cardboard boxes, and other recyclable items shall be stored 
in containers or designated recycling areas. 
(b)  Solid waste containers, mops, and other cleaning equipment 
shall be kept clean when not in use. Facilities shall be provided at 
the child care center for the washing and storage of solid waste 
containers and mops, except that such facilities shall not be 
required for child care centers licensed for fewer than 13 children 
and located in a residence. Washing facilities required under this 
Paragraph shall include a faucet with a threaded nozzle that 
delivers water of at least 80 degrees Fahrenheit. The faucet shall 
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be located in either a designated utility sink or above a curbed 
impervious pad that is sloped to drain into a system that meets the 
requirements of Rule .2829 of this Section. Washing facilities 
used for solid waste containers that were installed at the child care 
center prior to July 1, 1991 shall be permitted to be used if the 
facilities are in good repair. 
(c)  Dumpsters and other containerized systems shall be kept clean 
and covered.  
(d)  Solid wastes shall be disposed of to prevent conditions that 
attract and harbor pests and other public health nuisances. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. February 1, 1995; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. April 15, 1998; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2006; April 1, 1999; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2831 ANIMAL AND VERMIN 
CONTROL 
(a)  Animals that are not contained in a cage or restrained on a 
leash, except those used in supervised activities or pet therapy 
programs, shall not be allowed in a child care center, including 
the outdoor learning environment. When animals are on the child 
care center premises, copies of each animal's vaccination records 
shall be available for review upon request during a sanitation 
inspection of the child care center. Any animals kept at the child 
care center as pets shall be examined by a veterinarian to 
determine that they are free from pests and pathogens that could 
adversely affect human health. Turtles, iguanas, frogs, 
salamanders, and other reptiles or amphibians shall not be kept as 
pets on the child care center premises. Animals shall not be 
allowed in or kept at the entrances to food preparation areas. 
Animal cages shall be kept clean and animal waste materials shall 
be bagged, sealed, and immediately disposed of in the child care 
center's exterior garbage area in a covered container. Animals 
belonging to child care center owners, employees, volunteers, 
visitors, and children shall not be allowed in child care centers or 
on the premises unless the requirements set forth in this Paragraph 
are met. 
(b)  Pests shall be excluded from the child care center. Traps set 
for pests shall only be placed in areas that are inaccessible to 
children. 
(c)  All openings to the area outside of the child care center shall 
be protected against the entrance of flying pests. In food 
preparation areas, only fly traps, pyrethrin-based insecticides, or 
a fly swatter shall be used for extermination of flying pests. 
Products shall be used only in accordance with directions and 
cautions appearing on their labels. Insecticides shall not come in 
contact with raw or cooked food, utensils, or equipment used in 
food preparation and serving, or with any other food-contact 
surface. 
(d)  Only those pesticides which have been registered in 
accordance with 40 C.F.R. 152 and G.S. 143-442 shall be used to 
control pests at a child care center. Pesticides shall be used in 
accordance with the directions on the label and shall be stored in 
a locked storage room or cabinet separate from foods and 
medications. Pesticides shall not be applied or used when children 
are present in the area. 

(e)  Decks, fences, playground equipment, and other products 
constructed or installed after September 1, 2006 shall not be made 
from chromated copper arsenate (CCA) pressure-treated wood 
unless the use of CCA-treated wood is for an approved use listed 
on the CCA product label.  
(f)  In areas accessible to children, CCA-treated wood decks, 
playground and recreational equipment, and structures installed or 
constructed shall be sealed using an oil-based, semi-transparent 
sealant; oil-based clear stain; or a water-based clear stain applied 
at least once every two years. 
(g)  At the time of the initial sealant or stain application and 
whenever more than two years has passed since the previous 
sealant application, soil under CCA-treated wood shall be: 

(1) removed and replaced with similar material; 
(2) covered with at least four inches of soil, gravel, 

sand, sod, or other vegetation; or 
(3) otherwise made inaccessible to children. 

(h)  Any composting areas shall be covered and maintained to 
prevent attracting pests. Worm bins shall be kept covered. 
(i)  Grass, fruit and vegetable gardens, vines on fences, and other 
vegetation shall be maintained to prevent the harboring and 
breeding of pests.  
(j)  Pets kept outdoors at a child care center shall be in a designated 
area that is maintained and separate from the outdoor area used by 
the children. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. April 15, 1998; 
Amended Eff. August 2, 2007; January 1, 2006; April 1, 1999; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2832 OUTDOOR LEARNING 
ENVIRONMENT AND PREMISES 
(a)  Child care center premises, including the outdoor learning 
environment, shall be kept clean, drained to minimize standing 
water, free of litter and hazards, and maintained in a manner 
which does not create conditions that attract or harbor pests. 
Debris, glass, dilapidated structures, and broken play equipment 
shall be removed from areas accessible to children. Wells, grease 
traps, cisterns, and utility equipment shall be made inaccessible to 
children. 
(b)  Sand toys, water tables, and other unfiltered items that can 
collect standing water in the outdoor learning environment shall 
be emptied and stored to prevent the collection of standing water. 
(c)  For outdoor toys and play equipment, including all structures 
accessible to children, the following shall apply: 

(1) Equipment and toys shall be kept clean, in good 
repair, and free of peeling, flaking, or chalking 
paint, rust, and corrosion; and 

(2) A sandbox used in outdoor play shall be 
constructed to allow for drainage of water and 
shall be covered when not in use and kept clean. 

(d)  Children's outdoor activities shall be restricted as set forth in 
this Paragraph based on a daily air quality forecast made by the 
North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality, Division 
of Air Quality for the county where a center is located and 
published on the Division of Air Quality's Air Quality Portal at: 
https://airquality.climate.ncsu.edu/air-guide/aq-datasets/. On 
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days with a code orange (unhealthy for sensitive groups) forecast, 
children shall not be outside participating in physical activity 
between noon and 8:00 p.m. for more than one hour. On days with 
a code red (unhealthy) forecast, children shall not be outside 
participating in physical activity between noon and 8:00 p.m. for 
more than 15 minutes. On days with a code purple (very 
unhealthy) forecast, children shall not be outside participating in 
physical activity between noon and 8:00 p.m. Provisions shall be 
made to allow children with diagnosed asthma or with coughing 
or wheezing symptoms to participate in physical activity indoors 
on days with a code orange, red or purple air quality forecast. 
(e)  When food service is provided in the outdoor learning 
environment, food shall be protected, stored, prepared, and served 
in accordance with Rules .2806, .2807 and .2808 of this Section. 
Employees and children shall wash their hands in accordance with 
Rule .2803 of this Section prior to food service in the outdoor 
learning environment and food service tables shall be cleaned or 
covered prior to use. 
(f)  When diapering and toileting facilities are provided in the 
outdoor learning environment, they shall be maintained in 
accordance with Rules .2817 and .2819 of this Section and 
employees and children shall wash their hands in accordance with 
Rule .2803 of this Section. 
(g)  Storage provided in the outdoor learning environment for 
children's toys shall be kept clean and in good repair. Storage 
areas that are accessible to children shall be kept free of 
equipment that is not intended by the manufacturer to be used by 
children and shall meet the requirements of Rule .2820 of this 
Section. Storage areas shall meet requirements for lighting in 
accordance with Rule .2826 of this Section. Spare batteries shall 
be kept on-site at the child care center for battery operated light 
fixtures used to light storage areas in accordance with this 
Paragraph. 
(h)  Outdoor water play centers shall be maintained in accordance 
with Rule .2822 of this Section.  
(i)  Central vacuums that exhaust to the outdoors and away from 
where children use the outdoor learning environment may be used 
in lieu of HEPA vacuum cleaners to meet the daily vacuuming 
requirements in Rule .2824(c) of this Section. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2006; January 1, 2006; April 1, 1999; July 
23, 1992; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2833 SWIMMING AND WADING 
POOLS 
(a)  At child care centers, swimming and wading pools shall be 
designed, constructed, operated, and maintained in accordance 
with the rules in Section .2500 of this Subchapter.  
(b)  Portable wading pools, natural bodies of water, and unfiltered 
water that is not potable shall not be utilized for children's 
recreation activities. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. February 1, 1995; January 1, 1992; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. April 15, 1998; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2006; April 1, 1999; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2834 COMPLIANCE, INSPECTIONS 
AND REPORTS 
(a)  Upon receipt of a request from a child care center operator or 
the licensing agency, a sanitation inspection shall be conducted of 
that child care center by the local health department that serves 
the county in which the child care center is located within 30 
calendar days of receipt of the request.  
(b)  Unannounced inspections of a child care center shall be made 
by the Department at least once each six-month period. An 
original and two copies of the form used to document the 
inspection shall be completed by the Department. The original 
shall be submitted by the Department to the licensing agency and 
the child care center operator and the Department shall each retain 
a copy. 
(c)  The Department shall inspect each child care program that has 
been designated as a child care center by the licensing agency. 
Demerits taken during the sanitation inspection shall be assigned 
for violations of the rules of this Section as follows: 

(1) violation of Rules .2803(a)-(d) or .2836(15) of 
this Section related to handwashing when 
required shall be assessed five demerits; 

(2) violation of Rule .2803(e) of this Section 
related to proper handwashing procedures shall 
be assessed five demerits; 

(3) violation of Rule .2804 of this Section related 
to food that is not from an approved source or 
that is from approved sources that is a hazard or 
is adulterated shall be assessed six demerits; 

(4) violation of Rules .2804, .2806, or .2807 of this 
Section related to potentially hazardous food 
that does not meet temperature storage and 
holding requirements and requirements 
regarding the refrigeration of bottles and 
lunches at 45 degrees Fahrenheit or below shall 
be assessed six demerits; 

(5) violation of Rules .2804, .2806, .2807, .2808, or 
.2836 of this Section related to food being 
properly stored, thawed, prepared, cooked, 
cooled, handled, served, transported, packaged, 
and identified, and only permitting supervised 
children in the kitchen shall be assessed five 
demerits; 

(6) violation of Rule .2808(c) of this Section 
related to food not re-served shall be assessed 
three demerits; 

(7) violation of Rule .2806 or .2807 of this Section 
related to the use of food thermometers and 
food thermometer accuracy shall be assessed 
two demerits; 

(8) violation of Rules .2809 or .2810 of this Section 
related to food service equipment and utensils 
and specifications for refrigeration, sinks, 
lavatories, and dishwashing equipment shall be 
assessed six demerits; 

(9) violation of Rules .2806, .2809, or .2810 of this 
Section related to food service equipment and 
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utensils meeting approved material, and 
construction specifications for equipment and 
utensils, other than equipment described in 
Subparagraph (c)(8) of this Rule, shall be 
assessed four demerits; 

(10) violation of Rules .2809 or .2812 of this Section 
related to food-contact surfaces being properly 
washed, rinsed, sanitized, and air dried and 
single-service articles not being re-used shall be 
assessed five demerits; 

(11) violation of Rule .2812 of this Section related 
to a sanitizing solution being provided and a test 
kit being available shall be assessed two 
demerits; 

(12) violation of Rule .2809, .2810, or .2812 of this 
Section related to keeping equipment and non-
food-contact surfaces clean and in good repair 
shall be assessed four demerits; 

(13) violation of Rule .2814 of this Section related 
to proper storage and handling of clean 
equipment, utensils, and single-service articles 
shall be assessed three demerits; 

(14) violation of Rule .2815 of this Section related 
to water supply and drinking water facilities 
and documentation that water supplies and 
facilities satisfy the applicable regulatory 
requirements shall be assessed six demerits; 

(15) violation of Rule .2815 of this Section related 
to hot water supplied and maintained in the 
kitchen shall be assessed six demerits; 

(16) violation of Rule .2815 of this Section related 
to hot water supplied and tempered water 
maintained as required in all other areas shall be 
assessed four demerits; 

(17) violation of Rule .2815(e) of this Section 
related to hot water in excess of 120 degrees 
Fahrenheit not allowed in areas accessible to 
children shall be assessed six demerits; 

(18) violation of Rule .2815(c) of this Section 
related to backflow prevention and cross 
connections shall be assessed three demerits; 

(19) violation of Rules .2815(c) or .2836 of this 
Section related to drinking fountain 
construction and location, water pressure 
regulation, and drinking fountains being kept 
clean shall be assessed two demerits; 

(20) violation of Rule .2816 of this Section related 
to identified lead poisoning hazards shall be 
assessed six demerits; 

(21) violation of Rules .2817, .2818, or .2836 of this 
Section related to toilet and lavatory facilities 
being properly sized, located, accessible, and in 
good repair, and sinks, toilets, and potty chairs 
being cleaned and disinfected shall be assessed 
four demerits; 

(22) violation of Rules .2817 or .2818 of this Section 
related to the provision of soap, disposable 
towels, hand drying devices, and toilet tissue 
paper shall be assessed three demerits; 

(23) violation of Rules .2817 or .2818 of this Section 
related to storage in toilet rooms, lavatories 
being kept free of storage, and handwash signs 
being posted shall be assessed two demerits; 

(24) violation of Rules .2817, .2819, or .2836 of this 
Section related to the set-up of diaper changing 
facilities shall be assessed six demerits; 

(25) violation of Rule .2819 of this Section related 
to diapering surfaces being cleaned and 
disinfected after each use shall be assessed six 
demerits; 

(26) violation of Rule .2812 or .2819 of this Section 
related to an approved disinfectant being 
provided and a test kit being available when 
required shall be assessed two demerits; 

(27) violation of Rules .2818, .2819, or .2820 of this 
Section related to diaper changing facilities 
being kept free of storage and in good repair, 
detergent solutions and approved disinfectants 
being labeled, required diapering methods 
being used, and diaper changing and handwash 
signs being posted shall be assessed four 
demerits; 

(28) violation of Rule .2820(d) and (g) of this 
Section related to medications being properly 
stored shall be assessed six demerits; 

(29) violation of Rule .2820(b) and (e) of this 
Section related to hazardous products being 
properly stored and locked shall be assessed six 
demerits; 

(30) violation of Rule .2820(c) of this Section 
related to non-hazardous products being 
properly stored shall be assessed three demerits; 

(31) violation of Rule .2820 of this Section related 
to facilities being provided for proper storage, 
and storage being kept clean shall be assessed 
two demerits; 

(32) violation of Rules .2821 or .2836 of this Section 
related to individual linen being provided and 
adequate beds, cots, or mats being provided, 
kept in good repair, properly stored, labeled, 
and spaced during use shall be assessed three 
demerits; 

(33) violation of Rule .2821 of this Section related 
to linen, wash cloths, bibs, and burping cloths 
being laundered and kept in good repair shall be 
assessed three demerits; 

(34) violation of Rules .2822 or .2836 of this Section 
related to toys, equipment, and furniture being 
kept clean and in good repair and the cleaning, 
sanitization, and maintenance of water play 
centers shall be assessed four demerits; 

(35) violation of Rules .2822 or .2836 of this Section 
related to mouth-contact surfaces in rooms 
designated for children who are not toilet 
trained being cleaned and sanitized in rooms 
where children who are not toilet trained are 
cared for shall be assessed four demerits; 
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(36) violation of Rules .2807 or .2823 of this Section 
related child care center employees wearing 
gloves, clean clothes, and hair restraints where 
required, and tobacco use shall be assessed two 
demerits; 

(37) violation of Rules .2824, .2825, or .2836 of this 
Section related to floors, walls and ceilings 
being kept clean and in good repair and the 
vacuuming and extraction cleaning of carpets 
shall be assessed four demerits; 

(38) violation of Rule .2826 of this Section related 
to the lighting and thermal environment and 
room temperature being kept between 65 
degrees Fahrenheit and 85 degrees Fahrenheit 
shall be assessed three demerits; 

(39) violation of Rule .2826 of this Section related 
to lighting and thermal equipment being kept 
clean and in good repair and being maintained 
as required shall be assessed two demerits; 

(40) violation of Rule .2827(e) of this Section 
related to persons with a communicable disease 
or a condition shall be assessed six demerits; 

(41) violation of Rules .2827 or .2836 of this Section 
related to persons caring for mildly sick 
children or ill children being excluded from 
situations in which transmission of 
communicable disease can be expected to occur 
and proper written procedures being followed 
for vomiting or diarrheal events shall be 
assessed four demerits; 

(42) violation of Rule .2827 of this Section related 
to the designated area for sick children 
maintained as required and written procedures 
for responding to vomiting or diarrheal events 
shall be assessed two demerits; 

(43) violation of Rule .2829 of this Section related 
to sewage disposal shall be assessed six 
demerits; 

(44) violation of Rules .2830 or .2836 of this Section 
related to solid waste being properly handled, 
solid waste containers and cleaning equipment 
kept clean, and the provision of adequate solid 
waste can washing facilities shall be assessed 
two demerits; 

(45) violation of Rule .2831 of this Section related 
to pesticides being properly used and new 
installation of CCA pressure-treated wood shall 
be assessed six demerits; 

(46) violation of Rule .2831 of this Section related 
to CCA pressure-treated wood being sealed and 
soil being covered or made inaccessible as 
required shall be assessed two demerits; 

(47) violation of Rule .2831 of this Section related 
to animals in food preparation areas and 
restrictions on unrestrained or prohibited 
animals shall be assessed three demerits; 

(48) violation of Rules .2831 or .2832 of this Section 
related to pest control and the child care center 

premises being free of conditions that harbor or 
attract pests shall be assessed three demerits; 

(49) violation of Rule .2832 of this Section related 
to outdoor premises being kept clean and free 
of standing water and wells, grease traps, 
cisterns, and other utility equipment being kept 
inaccessible to children, outdoor equipment and 
toys being kept clean and in good repair, 
sandboxes being properly constructed and kept 
clean, and adherence to air quality forecast 
outdoor activity restrictions shall be assessed 
two demerits; and 

(50) violation of Rule .2833 of this Section related 
to swimming and wading pools being designed, 
constructed, operated, and maintained in 
accordance with the rules at Section .2500 of 
this Subchapter shall be assessed six demerits. 

(d)  The Department shall indicate on the sanitation inspection 
form whether the child care center is classified as "superior," 
"approved," "provisional," or " disapproved" based on the 
sanitation inspection and the resulting score based on demerits 
taken in accordance with Paragraph (e) of this Rule. A sanitation 
classification placard that lists the child care center's score and 
classification shall be posted in the child care center in a location 
designated by the Department and where the placard can be seen 
by the public upon entry to the child care center. A summary 
classification of "disapproved" shall be issued by the Department 
and forwarded to the licensing agency when the Department's 
right-of-entry to inspect the child care center is denied or when an 
inspection is discontinued at the request of the operator or child 
care center administrator, unless the decision to discontinue the 
inspection is mutually made by the child care center operator or 
administrator and the Department. A summary classification of 
"disapproved" shall also be issued by the Department and 
forwarded to the licensing agency when a water sample that is 
collected pursuant to Rule .2815 of this Section is confirmed 
positive for fecal coliform, total coliform, or other chemical 
constituents in accordance with Rule .1725 of this Subchapter.  
(e)  A child care center's level of compliance with the Rules of 
this Section is indicated by the number of demerits listed on the 
sanitation inspection form and the following shall apply for a child 
care center's classification: 

(1) When an inspection is requested and conducted 
for the purpose of issuing a license to a new 
operator, a completed sanitation inspection 
shall be forwarded by the Department to the 
licensing agency only when the child care 
center is granted a "superior" classification. 

(2) If the child care center is not yet in operation 
and children are not in attendance when the 
initial sanitation inspection is conducted, a 
sanitation inspection form shall be completed 
by the Department and forwarded to the 
licensing agency but the placard listing the 
child care center's sanitation classification shall 
not be posted in the child care center. Another 
sanitation inspection shall be conducted by the 
Department when children are in attendance at 
the child care center and within 30 days of the 
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child care center opening. The placard listing 
the sanitation classification earned by the child 
care center during the most recent inspection 
shall be posted following this second sanitation 
inspection and in accordance with Paragraph 
(d) of this Rule. When a temporary license is 
issued by the licensing agency to a child care 
center as a result of a change of ownership in a 
child care center and the child care center 
continues to operate, the operator shall request 
an inspection from the Department within 14 
days of the issuance of the temporary license. 
After the sanitation inspection is completed, a 
placard listing the child care center's sanitation 
classification shall be posted.  

(3) A child care center shall be classified as 
"superior" if the demerit score does not exceed 
15 and no 6-point demerit item is violated. 

(4) A child care center shall be classified as 
"approved" if the demerit score is more than 15 
and does not exceed 30, and no 6-point demerit 
item is violated. 

(5) A child care center shall be classified as 
"provisional" if any 6-point demerit item is 
violated or if the total demerit score is more 
than 30 but does not exceed 45. The provisional 
classification period shall not exceed seven 
days unless construction or renovation is 
necessary to correct any violation, in which 
case the Department may specify a longer 
provisional classification period. At the end of 
the provisional classification period, a follow-
up inspection shall be conducted by the 
Department and a new demerit score and 
classification shall be issued. 

(6) A child care center shall be classified as 
"disapproved" if the demerit score is more than 
45, or if conditions and violations which 
resulted in a "provisional" classification have 
not been corrected in the time period specified 
by the Department in accordance with 
Subparagraph (e)(5) of this Rule. 

(7) If the child care center receives a "disapproved" 
classification, the Department shall 
immediately notify the licensing agency of the 
classification.  

(8) The placard listing the child care center's 
sanitation classification shall not be removed 
from the location designated by the Department 
under Paragraph (d) of this Rule except by or 
upon the instruction of the Department. 

(f)  The Department may conduct an additional inspection of any 
child care center that is issued a "provisional," "disapproved," or 
summary "disapproved" classification or upon receipt of a 
complaint about the sanitation of a child care facility that is made 
to the Department to ensure compliance with the Rules in this 
Section. 
(g)  The Department shall document demerits for violations of the 
rules of this Section on an inspection form and a written 

explanation and corrective action for each violation shall be 
documented on a comment addendum to the form. The inspection 
form shall contain the following minimum elements: 

(1) The date and purpose of the inspection; 
(2) The child care center's name, address, license 

number, operating status, and maximum 
capacity; 

(3) The name of the operator of the child care 
center; 

(4) Documentation of violations observed during 
the inspection, demerits, and classification; 

(5) Documentation of the type of water supply and 
wastewater system serving the child care center 
and whether water samples were taken during 
the inspection; and 

(6) The name of the inspector's employer, if 
completed by an authorized agent, and the 
inspector's signature. 

(h)  Demerits may be assessed only once for a single occurrence 
or condition existing within or outside the child care center. 
Demerits shall be assessed based on actual violations of the Rules 
of this Section observed during the inspection. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88; 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. February 1, 1995; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. April 15, 1998; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2006; January 1, 2006; April 1, 1999; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2835 APPEALS PROCEDURE 
Appeals concerning the enforcement of the Child Care Sanitation 
Rules in this Section as adopted by the Commission for Public 
Health shall be governed by G.S. 110-94 and G.S. 150B.  
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. July 1, 1991; 
Amended Eff. January 1, 2006; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2836 MILDLY SICK CHILDREN 
Child care centers that are licensed by the licensing agency to 
offer care to mildly sick children pursuant to 10A NCAC 09 .2404 
shall comply with all rules in this Section except as follows: 

(1) Prior to operating a program for mildly sick 
children, the child care center operator shall 
undergo a sanitation inspection of the child care 
center by the Department.  

(2) Drinking fountains shall not be used by mildly 
sick children. 

(3) Toilet fixtures, potty chairs, utility sinks, tubs, 
and showers shall be cleaned and disinfected 
after each use. 

(4) Lavatories shall be of a hands-free design or 
equipped with single-lever faucets. 

(5) Cloth diapers shall not be used. 
(6) Individually labeled moist towelette containers 

shall be provided for each child in diapers. 
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(7) Caregivers shall wear clean disposable gloves 
when changing each diaper. 

(8) Moist towelettes shall not be used in lieu of 
handwashing for children who cannot support 
their heads. 

(9) A 36-inch separation shall be maintained or 
partitions shall be placed between beds, cots 
and mats to minimize contact among children. 

(10) Furniture shall be nonabsorbent. 
(11) Thermometers and mouthable toys shall be 

cleaned and sanitized between uses by different 
children. Soft, cloth material toys may be 
brought from home if labeled with the name of 
the child to whom the toy belongs and used only 
by that child. If soft toys are provided by the 
child care center, they shall be sanitized 
between uses by different children. 

(12) Employees caring for mildly sick children shall 
not prepare food in a kitchen used to prepare 
food for one or more children who are not 
mildly sick or serve food to children who are 
not mildly sick.  

(13) Family style and other self-serve food service is 
prohibited. 

(14) Carpeted floors are prohibited. Throw rugs may 
be used if laundered when contaminated and at 
least weekly. Floors contaminated by body 
fluids shall be cleaned and disinfected 
immediately. 

(15) Caregivers shall wash hands in accordance with 
the procedures in Rule .2803(c) before leaving 
the area designated for mildly sick children. 

(16) All waste shall be disposed of in a plastic-lined, 
covered receptacle. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 110-91; 
Eff. January 1, 2006; 
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
 
TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 
 

CHAPTER 18 – BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF 
ELECTRICAL CONTRACTORS 

 
21 NCAC 18B .0209 FEES 
(a)  The fees for qualifying applicants for examination shall be 
one hundred and twenty-five ($125.00) for all classifications. 
(b)  The fee for review of a failed examination is twenty-five 
dollars ($25.00). All reviews shall be supervised by the Board or 
staff. 
(c)  The fees for applicants for examination and the fees for 
examination reviews shall be in the form of cash, check, money 
order, Visa, or Mastercard made payable to the Board and shall 
accompany the respective applications when filed with the Board. 
(d)  The fees for applicants for examination received with 
applications filed for qualifying examinations shall be 
nonrefundable unless: 

(1) an application is not filed as prescribed in Rule 
.0210 of this Section, in which case sixty dollars 
($60.00) of the fees for applicants for 
examination shall be returned and the 
application shall be returned; or 

(2) the applicant does not take the examination 
during the period for which application was 
made, files a written request for a refund setting 
out extenuating circumstance, and the Board 
finds extenuating circumstances. 

(e)  Examination review fees are non-refundable unless the 
applicant does not take the review, files a written request for a 
refund, setting out extenuating circumstance, and the Board finds 
extenuating circumstances. 
(f)  Any fee retained by the Board shall not be creditable toward 
any future examination fee or examination review. 
(g)  Extenuating circumstances for the purposes of Subparagraph 
(d)(2) and Paragraph (e) of this Rule are the applicant's illness, 
bodily injury or death, or death of the applicant's spouse, child, 
parent, or sibling, or a breakdown of the applicant's transportation 
to the designated site of the examination or examination review. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 87-42; 87-44; 
Eff. October 1, 1988; 
Amended Eff. May 1, 1998; July 1, 1989; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. June 30, 2000; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. August 31, 2001; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2011; January 1, 2008; December 4, 2002; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2023; July 1, 2016. 
 
21 NCAC 18B .0404 ANNUAL LICENSE FEES 
(a)  The fee for issuance of license, reissuance of license, or 
license renewal in the various license classifications shall be as 
follows: 

LICENSE FEE SCHEDULE 
CLASSIFICATION LICENSE FEE 

Limited $100.00 
Intermediate  $150.00 
Unlimited    $200.00 
SP-SFD     $100.00 
Special Restricted   $100.00 

(b)  License fees shall be made payable to the Board. Payment 
shall accompany any license or license renewal application filed 
with the Board. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 87-42; 87-44; 
Eff. October 1, 1988; 
Amended Eff. May 1, 1998; July 1, 1989; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. June 30, 2000; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. August 31, 2001; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2015; January 1, 2008; December 4, 2002; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2023; July 1, 2020; October 1, 2017. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 



 APPROVED RULES 
 

 
38:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 3, 2023 

72 

CHAPTER 32 - MEDICAL BOARD 
 
21 NCAC 32B .1708 COVID-19 DRUG 
PRESERVATION RULE 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 
Emergency Adoption Eff. April 6, 2020; 
Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020; 
Eff. April 1, 2021; 
Repealed Eff. June 1, 2023. 
 
21 NCAC 32M .0107 CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE) 
(a)  In order to maintain nurse practitioner approval to practice, 
the nurse practitioner shall earn 50 contact hours of continuing 
education activity every two years, beginning with the first 
renewal after initial approval to practice has been granted. A 
minimum of 20 hours of the required 50 hours must be in the 
advanced practice nursing population focus of the NP role. The 
20 hours must have approval granted by the American Nurses 
Credentialing Center (ANCC) or Accreditation Council on 
Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), or by a national 
accredited provider of nursing continuing professional 
development, or nurse practice-relevant courses in an institution 
of higher learning. A nurse practitioner who possesses a current 
national certification by a national credentialing body shall be 
deemed in compliance with the requirement of Paragraph (a) of 
this Rule. 
(b)  Prior to prescribing controlled substances as the same are 
defined in 21 NCAC 32M .0109(b)(2), nurse practitioners shall 
have completed a minimum of one CE hour within the preceding 
12 months on 1 or more of the following topics: 

(1) Controlled substances prescription practices; 
(2) Prescribing controlled substances for chronic 

pain management; 
(3) Recognizing signs of controlled substance 

abuse or misuse; or 
(4) Non-opioid treatment options as an alternative 

to controlled substances. 
(c)  Documentation of all CE completed within the previous five 
years shall be maintained by the nurse practitioner and made 
available upon request to either Board. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-8.2; 90-
18(c)(14); S.L. 2015-241, s. 12F; 
Eff. January 1, 1996; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; May 1, 1999; 
Recodified from Rule .0106 Eff. August 1, 2004; 
Amended Eff. December 1, 2009; April 1, 2008; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2023; June 1, 2021; March 1, 2017. 
 
21 NCAC 32M .0119 COVID-19 DRUG 
PRESERVATION RULE 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-18.2; 
Emergency Adoption Eff. April 21, 2020; 
Temporary Adoption Eff. June 26, 2020; 
Eff. April 1, 2021; 

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2023. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

CHAPTER 36 – BOARD OF NURSING 
 
21 NCAC 36 .0807 CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE) 
(a)  In order to maintain nurse practitioner approval to practice, 
the nurse practitioner shall earn 50 contact hours of continuing 
education activity every two years, beginning with the first 
renewal after initial approval to practice has been granted. A 
minimum of 20 hours of the required 50 hours must be in the 
advanced practice nursing population focus of the NP role. The 
20 hours must have approval granted by the American Nurses 
Credentialing Center (ANCC) or Accreditation Council on 
Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), or by a national 
accredited provider of nursing continuing professional 
development, or nurse practice-relevant courses in an institution 
of higher learning. A nurse practitioner who possesses a current 
national certification by a national credentialing body shall be 
deemed in compliance with the requirement of Paragraph (a) of 
this Rule. 
(b)  Prior to prescribing controlled substances as the same are 
defined in 21 NCAC 36 .0809(2), nurse practitioners shall have 
completed a minimum of one CE hour within the preceding 12 
months on 1 or more of the following topics: 

(1) Controlled substances prescription practices; 
(2) Prescribing controlled substances for chronic 

pain management; 
(3) Recognizing signs of controlled substance 

abuse or misuse; or 
(4) Non-opioid treatment options as an alternative 

to controlled substances. 
(c)  Documentation of all CE completed within the previous five 
years shall be maintained by the nurse practitioner and made 
available upon request to either Board. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-8.2; 90-14(a)(15); 90-
18(c)(14); 90-171.23(b)(14); 90-171.42; S.L. 2015-241, s 12F; 
Recodified from 21 NCAC 36 .0227(f) Eff. August 1, 2004; 
Amended Eff. March 1, 2017; December 1, 2009; April 1, 2008; 
August 1, 2004; 
Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019; 
Amended Eff. June 1, 2023; June 1, 2021. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

CHAPTER 58 - REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 
 
21 NCAC 58A .0113 REPORTING CRIMINAL 
CONVICTIONS AND DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS 
(a)  A broker shall file with the Commission a Criminal 
Conviction Disciplinary Action Reporting Form within 60 days 
of: 

(1) a final judgment, order, or disposition of any 
felony or misdemeanor conviction; 

(2) a disciplinary action or entering into a 
conciliation agreement or consent order with a 
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governmental agency or occupational licensing 
agency; 

(3) a final judgment, order, or disposition of a 
military court-martial conviction; or 

(4) a notarial commission sanction pursuant to G.S. 
10B-60. 

(b)  The Criminal Conviction Disciplinary Action Reporting Form 
is available on the Commission's website at www.ncrec.gov or 
upon request to the Commission and shall set forth the broker's: 

(1) full legal name; 
(2) physical and mailing address; 
(3) real estate license number; 
(4) telephone number; 
(5) email address; 
(6) social security number; 
(7) date of birth; and 
(8) description of the criminal conviction, military 

court-martial conviction, notarial commission 
sanction, or professional license disciplinary 
action, including the jurisdiction and file 
number. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-6(a); 93A-
6(a)(10); 93A-6(b)(2); 
Eff. August 1, 1996; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2016; July 1, 2009; January 1, 2008; April 
1, 2006; July 1, 2003; July 1, 2000; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
21 NCAC 58A .0301 LICENSE APPLICATION 
(a)  An individual seeking licensure as a real estate broker shall 
submit a license application that is available on the Commission's 
website and shall include the applicant's: 

(1) legal name; 
(2) mailing, physical, and email address; 
(3) telephone number; 
(4) social security number and date of birth; 
(5) qualification for license application; 
(6) real estate license history; 
(7) places of residence for the past seven years; 
(8) employment history for the past three years; 
(9) criminal offenses, military courts-martial 

convictions, professional license disciplinary 
actions, including the jurisdiction, file number, 
and explanation of each offense; 

(10) liens or unpaid judgments; 
(11) certification the applicant has read the Real 

Estate Licensing in North Carolina brochure 
that is available on the Commission's website; 
and 

(12) declaration and signature. 
(b)  In addition to the application required by Paragraph (a) of this 
Rule, the applicant shall submit: 

(1) the license application fee pursuant to Rule 
.0302 of this Section; and 

(2) a criminal records report from a Commission-
designated criminal reporting service obtained 

within six months prior to application 
submission. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 
Amended Eff. April 1, 2006; July 1, 2000; February 1, 1991; 
February 1, 1989; August 1, 1988; December 1, 1985; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
21 NCAC 58A .0505 REINSTATEMENT OF A 
LICENSE 
(a)  The fee for reinstatement of a license that has been expired, 
revoked, or surrendered for less than two years shall be an amount 
equal to two times the current renewal license fee pursuant to Rule 
.0503 of this Section. 
(b)  The reinstatement application form is available on the 
Commission's website and shall include the applicant's: 

(1) legal name; 
(2) mailing, physical, and email address; 
(3) telephone number; 
(4) previous license number; 
(5) Secretary of State identification number, if 

applicable; 
(6) social security number and date of birth, if 

applicable; 
(7) qualifying broker and broker-in-charge's legal 

name and license number, if applicable; 
(8) criminal record report from a designated 

criminal reporting service obtained within six 
months prior to application; 

(9) certification; and 
(10) signature. 

(c)  An individual seeking reinstatement of a license that has been 
expired for less than six months shall: 

(1) submit the reinstatement fee pursuant to 
Paragraph (a) of this Rule; 

(2) disclose any criminal conviction, court-martial 
conviction, notarial commission sanction, or 
disciplinary action pursuant to Rule .0113 of 
this Section, including any conviction or 
disciplinary action incurred while the 
individual's license was expired; and 

(3) satisfy the license activation requirements of 
Rule .1703 of this Subchapter, if applicable. 

(d)  An individual seeking reinstatement of a license that has been 
expired for six months but no more than two years or revoked or 
surrendered for no more than two years shall: 

(1) submit a complete reinstatement application 
pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule; 

(2) submit the reinstatement fee pursuant to 
Paragraph (a) of this Rule; and 

(3) pass: 
(A) one Postlicensing course within six 

months prior to submitting a 
reinstatement application; 
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(B) the "National" and "State" sections of 
the current license examination within 
180 days after submitting a 
reinstatement application; or 

(C) the "State" section of the current 
license examination within 180 days 
after submitting a reinstatement 
application if the individual possesses 
an active broker license in another 
state. 

(e)  An individual seeking reinstatement of a license that has been 
expired, revoked, or surrendered for more than two years shall 
submit a license application and application fee pursuant to G.S. 
93A-4 and Rules .0301, .0302, and .0511 of this Subchapter. 
(f)  A reinstated license shall be effective as of the date of 
reinstatement, not the date of initial licensure. If a license is 
reinstated after three years from the expiration, revocation, or 
surrender, the license shall be on provisional broker status 
pursuant to G.S. 93A-4(a1). 
(g)  A business entity seeking reinstatement of a license shall 
submit: 

(1) the reinstatement fee pursuant to Paragraph (a) 
of this Rule if the license has been expired for 
less than six months; 

(2) the reinstatement fee and a complete 
reinstatement application pursuant to 
Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule if the license 
has been expired for six months but no more 
than two years or revoked or surrendered for no 
more than two years; or 

(3) a firm license application pursuant to G.S. 93A-
4 and Rules .0301, .0302, and .0502 of this 
Subchapter if the license has been expired, 
revoked, or surrendered for more than two 
years. 

(h)  A broker seeking reinstatement of a license shall satisfy to the 
Commission that the broker possesses the character requisites 
pursuant to G.S. 93A-4(b). 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4; 93A-38.5; 
Eff. February 1, 1976; 
Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. April 24, 1995 for a period of 180 
days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 
sooner; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2017; January 1, 2012; July 1, 2009; 
January 1, 2008; April 1, 2004; July 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; July 
1, 1996; August 1, 1995; July 1, 1995; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2023; July 1, 2018. 
 
21 NCAC 58A .1705 ATTENDANCE AND 
PARTICIPATION REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  In order to receive credit for completing an approved 
continuing education course, a broker shall: 

(1) attend at least 90 percent of the scheduled 
instructional hours for the course; 

(2) provide the broker's legal name and license 
number to the education provider; 

(3) present the broker's pocket card or photo 
identification card, if necessary; and 

(4) personally perform all work required to 
complete the course. 

(b)  With the instructor or the education provider's permission, a 
10 percent absence allowance may be permitted at any time during 
the course, except that it may not be used to skip the last 10 
percent of the course unless the absence is: 

(1) approved by the instructor; and 
(2) for circumstances beyond the broker's control 

that could not have been reasonably foreseen by 
the broker, such as: 
(A) an illness; 
(B) a family emergency; or 
(C) acts of God. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-38.5; 
Eff. July 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2017; July 1, 2010; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2023; January 1, 2020. 
 
21 NCAC 58A .1708 EQUIVALENT CREDIT 
(a)  The Commission shall award an approved instructor 
continuing education credit for teaching a Commission Update 
Course. An approved instructor seeking continuing education 
credit for teaching a Commission Update Course shall submit a 
form, available on the Commission's website, that requires the 
approved instructor to set forth the: 

(1) approved instructor's name, license number, 
instructor number, address, telephone number, 
and email address; 

(2) Update Course number; 
(3) education provider's name and number; 
(4) education provider's address; and 
(5) date the course was taught. 

(b)  The Commission shall award a broker continuing education 
elective credit the first time an approved continuing education 
elective course is taught by the broker. A broker seeking 
continuing education credit under this Paragraph shall submit a 
form, available on the Commission's website, that requires the 
broker to set forth the: 

(1) broker's name, license number, address, 
telephone number, and email address; 

(2) course title; 
(3) course number; 
(4) education provider's name and number; 
(5) education provider's address; and 
(6) date the course was taught. 

(c)  The Commission may award continuing education elective 
credit for developing a continuing education elective course the 
first time it is approved by the Commission pursuant to 21 NCAC 
58H .0401. However, a broker shall only receive credit for the 
year in which the continuing education elective course is 
approved. A broker seeking continuing education credit under this 
Paragraph shall submit a form, available on the Commission's 
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website, that requires the broker to set forth the broker's name, 
license number, address, telephone number, and email address. 
Along with the form, the broker shall submit the course title, the 
course number, the date of the course approval, and a fifty dollar 
($50.00) fee for each course for which the broker seeks credit. 
(d)  In order for any application for equivalent credit to be 
considered and credits applied to the current licensing period, a 
complete application, the appropriate fee, and all supporting 
documents shall be received by the Commission no later than 5:00 
p.m. Eastern Time on June 17. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-38.5; 
Eff. July 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2017; April 1, 2006; July 1, 2001; July 1, 
2000; March 1, 1996; July 1, 1995; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2023; July 1, 2020. 
 
21 NCAC 58A .1711 CONTINUING EDUCATION 
REQUIRED OF NONRESIDENT BROKERS 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-38.5; 
Eff. July 1, 1994; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2017; July 1, 2015; January 1, 2008; April 
1, 2006; October 1, 2000; March 1, 1996; July 1, 1995; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2020; July 1, 2018; 
Repealed Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
21 NCAC 58B .0202 PUBLIC OFFERING 
STATEMENT SUMMARY 
In addition to the requirements in G.S. 93A-44, a public offering 
statement shall contain a page prescribed by the Commission and 
completed by the developer entitled Public Offering Statement 
Summary in conspicuous type. The Public Offering Statement 
Summary shall read as follows: 
 
PUBLIC OFFERING STATEMENT SUMMARY 
 
NAME OF PROJECT: 
 
NAME AND REAL ESTATE LICENSE NUMBER OF 
BROKER (IF ANY): 
 
Please study this Public Offering Statement carefully. Satisfy 
yourself that any questions you may have are answered before you 
decide to purchase. If a salesperson or other representative of the 
developer has made a representation which concerns you, and you 
cannot find that representation in writing, ask that it be pointed 
out to you. 
 
NOTICE 
 
UNDER NORTH CAROLINA LAW, YOU MAY CANCEL 
YOUR TIMESHARE PURCHASE WITHOUT PENALTY 
WITHIN FIVE DAYS AFTER SIGNING YOUR 
CONTRACT. TO CANCEL YOUR TIMESHARE 

PURCHASE, YOU MUST MAIL, ELECTRONICALLY 
MAIL, OR HAND DELIVER WRITTEN NOTICE OF 
YOUR DESIRE TO CANCEL YOUR PURCHASE TO 
(name and address of project). IF YOU CHOOSE TO MAIL 
YOUR CANCELLATION NOTICE, THE NORTH 
CAROLINA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 
RECOMMENDS THAT YOU USE REGISTERED OR 
CERTIFIED MAIL AND THAT YOU RETAIN YOUR 
POSTAL RECEIPT AS PROOF OF THE DATE YOUR 
NOTICE WAS MAILED. UPON CANCELLATION, ALL 
PAYMENTS WILL BE REFUNDED TO YOU. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-44; 93A-51; 
Eff. March 1, 1984; 
Amended Eff. April 1, 2006; October 1, 2000; February 1, 1989; 
April 1, 1987; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2023; July 1, 2022. 
 
21 NCAC 58H .0202 APPLICATION FOR 
EDUCATION PROVIDER CERTIFICATION 
(a)  Any community college, junior college, or university located 
in this State and accredited by the Southern Association of 
Colleges and Schools seeking education provider certification 
shall apply to the Commission on a form available on the 
Commission's website and shall set forth the: 

(1) education provider's name; 
(2) education director's name and contact 

information; 
(3) education director's email address; 
(4) education provider's address; 
(5) education provider's telephone number; 
(6) education provider's website address; 
(7) type of public institution; 
(8) Prelicensing, Postlicensing, and Continuing 

Education courses to be offered by the 
applicant; and 

(9) a signed certification by the education director 
that courses shall be conducted in compliance 
with the rules of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Any other person or entity seeking education provider 
certification shall apply to the Commission on a form available on 
the Commission's website and shall set forth the following criteria 
in addition to the requirements in G.S. 93A-34(b1): 

(1) the website, physical and mailing address, and 
telephone number of the principal office of the 
education provider; 

(2) the education director's license number, if 
applicable, email and mailing address, and 
telephone number; 

(3) the North Carolina Secretary of State 
Identification Number, if applicable; 

(4) the physical address of each proposed branch 
location, if applicable; 

(5) the type of ownership entity; 
(6) a signed Consent to Service of Process and 

Pleadings form available on the Commission's 
website, if a foreign entity; 
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(7) the Prelicensing, Postlicensing, and Continuing 
Education courses to be offered by the 
applicant; and 

(8) a signed certification by the education director 
that courses shall be conducted in compliance 
with the rules of this Subchapter. 

(c)  The certification application fee for an education provider 
applying under Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be two hundred 
dollars ($200.00) for each proposed education provider location. 
Provided however, education providers shall not be required to 
obtain a certification for every location a Continuing Education 
course is offered. 
(d)  If any education provider relocates any location or opens 
additional branch locations during any licensing period, the 
education director shall submit an original application for 
certification of that location pursuant to this Rule. 
(e)  In the event that any education provider advertises or operates 
in any manner using a name different from the name under which 
the education provider is certified, the education provider shall 
first file an assumed name certificate in compliance with G.S. 66-
71.4 and shall notify the Commission in writing of the use of such 
an assumed name. An education provider shall not advertise or 
operate in any manner that would mislead a consumer as to the 
education provider's actual identity. 
(f)  An application from an individual or entity with an ownership 
interest of 10 percent or greater in a certified education provider 
that has been limited, denied, withdrawn, or terminated pursuant 
to Rule .0210 of this Section shall be denied if filed within one 
year from the effective date of the limitation, denial, withdrawal, 
or termination. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-34; 93A-35; 
Eff. July 1, 2017; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2023; July 1, 2020. 
 
21 NCAC 58H .0216 LIMITED EDUCATION 
PROVIDER PETITION FOR RECONSIDERATION 
(a)  An education provider may submit a written petition to 
reconsider the determination made pursuant to Rule .0210(c) of 
this Section. The petition shall be accompanied by any 
documentary evidence that contradicts the Commission's 
determination pursuant to Rule .0210(c) of this Section. 
(b)  The petition pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be 
submitted to the Commission within 60 days from the date of 
receipt of notification of the certification limitation or the 
Commission's determination shall be final. 
(c)  The Commission shall review a petition pursuant to Paragraph 
(b) of this Rule and any response submitted in writing by 
Commission staff and enter a final determination within 90 days 
from the date of receipt of such petition. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4(d); 93A-38; 
Eff. July 1, 2023. 
 
21 NCAC 58H .0302 APPLICATION AND CRITERIA 
FOR INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL 
(a)  An individual seeking original instructor approval shall 
submit an application on a form available on the Commission's 
website that shall require the instructor applicant to indicate the 

course(s) for which approval is being sought and set forth the 
instructor applicant's: 

(1) legal name, address, email address, and 
telephone number; 

(2) real estate license number and instructor 
number, if any, assigned by Commission; 

(3) criminal and occupational licensing history, 
including any disciplinary actions; 

(4) education background, including specific real 
estate education; 

(5) experience in the real estate business; 
(6) real estate teaching experience, if any; 
(7) signed Consent to Service of Process and 

Pleadings for nonresident applicants; and 
(8) signature. 

(b)  An instructor applicant shall demonstrate that the instructor 
applicant possesses good reputation and character pursuant to 
G.S. 93A-34(c)(9) and has: 

(1) a North Carolina real estate broker license that 
is not on provisional status; 

(2) completed continuing education sufficient to 
activate a license under 21 NCAC 58A .1703; 

(3) completed 60 semester hours of college-level 
education at an institution accredited by any 
college accrediting body recognized by the U.S. 
Department of Education; 

(4) completed the New Instructor Seminar within 
the previous six months; and 

(5) within the previous seven years has either: 
(A) two years full-time experience in real 

estate brokerage with at least one year 
in North Carolina; 

(B) three years of instructor experience at 
a secondary or post-secondary level; 

(C) real estate Prelicensing or 
Postlicensing instructor approval in 
another jurisdiction; or 

(D) qualifications found to be equivalent 
by the Commission, including a 
current North Carolina law license and 
three years' full time experience in 
commercial or residential real estate 
transactions or representation of real 
estate brokers or firms. 

(c)  In order to complete the New Instructor Seminar, a broker 
shall: 

(1) attend at least ninety percent of all scheduled 
hours; and 

(2) demonstrate the ability to teach a 15-minute 
block of a single Prelicensing topic in a manner 
consistent with the course materials. 

(d)  Prior to teaching any Update course, an approved instructor 
shall take the Commission's annual Update Instructor Seminar for 
the current license period and attend at least 90 percent of all 
scheduled hours. The Update Instructor Seminar shall not be used 
to meet the requirement in Rule .0306(b)(4) of this Section. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(f); 93A-4; 93A-10; 93A-
33; 93A-34; 
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Eff. July 1, 2017; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2023; July 1, 2020; July 1, 2019. 
 
21 NCAC 58H .0307 LIMITED INSTRUCTOR 
PETITION FOR RECONSIDERATION 
(a)  An instructor may submit a written petition to reconsider the 
determination made pursuant to Rule .0303(b) of this Section. The 
petition shall be accompanied by any documentary evidence that 
contradicts the Commission's determination pursuant to Rule 
.0303(b) of this Section. 
(b)  The petition pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be 
submitted to the Commission within 60 days from the date of 

receipt of notification of the approval limitation or the 
Commission's determination shall be final. 
(c)  The Commission shall review a petition pursuant to Paragraph 
(b) of this Rule and any response submitted in writing by 
Commission staff and enter a final determination within 90 days 
from the date of receipt of such petition. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4(d); 
Eff. July 1, 2023. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission July 20, 2023 at 1711 New Hope Church 
Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 
should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 
addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 
should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 
RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Andrew P. Atkins (1st Vice Chair) 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. (2nd Vice Chair) Wayne R. Boyles, III 
Jay R. Hemphill Barbara A. Jackson 

Jeff Hyde Randy Overton 
Robert A. Rucho Paul Powell 

 
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Brian Liebman  984-236-1948 
Lawrence Duke  984-236-1938 
William W. Peaslee 984-236-1939 
Seth M. Ascher  984-236-1934 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 July 20, 2023 September 21, 2023  
 August 17, 2023 October 19, 2023 

 
 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
Thursday, July 20, 2023, 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 
 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 
II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting  

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Medical Care Commission - 10A NCAC 13B .3801, .3903, .4103, .4104, .4106, .4305, .4603, .4801, .4805, .5102, 

.5105, .5406, .5408, .5411 (Liebman)  
B. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02D .0103, .0501, .0546, .0605, .1903, .1904, .1905, 

.2203; 02Q .0104, .0105, .0206, .0304, .0305, .0307, .0505, .0507, .0508, .0710 (Duke) 
C. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02H .1301, .1401, .1402, .1403, .1404, .1405 (Liebman)   
D. Marine Fisheries Commission - 15A NCAC 03M .0101 (Duke) 
E. Coastal Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 07H .0208, .0308; 07K .0207; 07M .0602, .0603 (Duke) 
F. Coastal Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 07H .0501, .0502, .0503, .0505, .0506, .0507, .0508, .0509, .0510; 

07I .0406, .0506, .0702; 07J .0203, .0204, .0206, .0207, .0208, .0312 (Liebman)  
G. Coastal Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 07H .2305 (Duke)  
H. Coastal Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 07M .0201, .0202, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0701, .0703, .0704, .1001, 

.1002, .1101 (Peaslee)  
I. Medical Board - 21 NCAC 32B .1002 (Peaslee) 

IV. Review of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between May 21, 2023 through June 20, 2023   
1. Rural Electrification Authority (Duke) 
2. Department of Natural and Cultural Resources (Duke) 
3. Board of Barber and Electrolysis Examiners (Duke) 
4. Board of Registration for Foresters (Peaslee) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting 
VI. Existing Rules Review   
VII. Commission Business 

1. Request for change to 2024-2027 Existing Rules Review Schedule 
o Next meeting: August 17, 2023 
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Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

May 21, 2023 through June 20, 2023 
 

RURAL ELECTRIFICATION AUTHORITY 

The rules in Chapter 8 concern rural electrification authority including general provisions (.0100); electric Membership 
Corporations (.0200); telephone membership corporations (.0300); petitions: hearings: temporary rules: declaratory 
rulings: contested cases. 

Meetings 
Amend* 

 04 NCAC 08 .0107 

Duties of the Administrator 
Amend* 

 04 NCAC 08 .0109 

NATURAL AND CULTURAL RESOURCES, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Subchapter 14B are general provisions that concern preservation of the zoo (.0100); refuse and rubbish 
(0200); traffic and parking (.0300); firearms:fires:etc. (.0400); disorderly conduct: public nuisance: etc. (.0500); 
commercial enterprises: advertising: meetings: exhibitions: etc. (.0600); and miscellaneous rules (.0700). 

Smoking and Fires 
Amend* 

 07 NCAC 14B .0403 

Smoking 
Repeal* 

 07 NCAC 14B .0404 

Rock Climbing 
Adopt* 

 07 NCAC 14B .0608 

Trail Access and Activities 
Adopt* 

 07 NCAC 14B .0609 

BARBER AND ELECTROLYSIS EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 6N establish fees and provide for the use of various forms.  

Form Bar-10 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 06N .0111 

Request for Temporary Permit 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 06N .0117 

FORESTERS, BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR 

The rules in Chapter 20 cover registered foresters. North Carolina forbids the use of the title "Forester," "registered 
forester," or any other descriptive term including those terms unless the person is registered under this act. It does not 
forbid the practice of forestry or anything that can be done by a registered forester. Forester means a person who by 
reason of special knowledge and training is qualified to engage in the practice of forestry, which is defined as giving 
professional forestry services, including consultation, investigation, evaluation, education, planning, or responsible 
supervision of any forestry activities requiring knowledge, training, and experience in forestry principles and techniques. 

Registration Fees 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 20 .0106 
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	Title 08 – State Board of Elections
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the State Board of Elections intends to adopt the rule cited as 08 NCAC 04 .0308.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.ncsbe.gov/about-elections/legal-resources/rulemaking
	Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2024
	Reason for Proposed Action:  The State Board proposes a rule to govern the procedures for individuals, who are authorized by statute, to examine highly sensitive voting system information that is maintained in an escrow account for the State Board. Th...
	Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, PO Box 27255, Raleigh, NC 27611-7255; email rulemaking.sboe@ncsbe.gov
	Comment period ends:  September 1, 2023
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	Chapter 04 - Voting Equipment
	SECTION .0300 – APPROVAL AND OPERATION OF VOTING SYSTEMS
	(a)  Subject to the provisions of this Rule, upon written request from a person or entity authorized under G.S. 163-165.7(a)(6) to a vendor of a certified voting system in this state, the vendor shall make available for review and examination any info...
	(b)  Authorized Persons. Only authorized persons may review and examine the information placed in escrow by a voting system vendor. For the purpose of this Rule, "authorized person" means a person who:
	(1) Is an agent:
	(2) Has submitted to a criminal history record check, to be facilitated by the State Board, as provided for in G.S. 163-27.2(b) and has not been convicted of a disqualifying offense. Disqualifying offenses shall be all felonies, and any misdemeanors t...
	(3) Has submitted to the State Board a résumé detailing the person's experience with voting systems and information technology, to include any training or experience pertaining to computer code development or analysis;
	(4) Has submitted to the State Board a sworn affidavit, under penalty of perjury, attesting that the person:
	(5) Has consented in writing to searches of their person and effects, similar in nature to searches that members of the public submit to when entering the office buildings of the General Assembly, to be conducted upon entry into the secure facility de...
	(6) Is a citizen of the United States.

	(c)  Within 30 days of meeting the definition of an authorized person in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the Executive Director of the State Board shall issue a written authorization to the person or entity making the request under Paragraph (a) of this R...
	(d)  Conditions of Access. When providing access to information in escrow pursuant to this Rule, the State Board and vendor shall ensure the following conditions are met:
	(1) The information in escrow shall be made available by the vendor on up to three computers provided by the vendor (one for each potentially designated agent under G.S. 163-165.7(f)(9)) that are not connected to any network and are located within a s...
	(2) The computers shall be air-gapped and shall not be connected to a network, and any feature allowing connection to a network shall be disabled. Prohibited network connections include the Internet, intranet, fax, telephone line, networks established...
	(3) The secure facility designated by the State Board under Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph is the specific location where the computing equipment will be stored and the review conducted, and may be a secured portion of a building. All conduct with...
	(4) Authorized persons are permitted to perform manual source code review and use code analysis tools, as provided in Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph, to analyze the source code. This source code review shall be performed using "read only" access a...
	(5) Any review performed pursuant to this Rule shall occur during the State Board's regular business hours and shall last no longer than ten business days. Such review shall not occur during the period from the start of one-stop absentee voting throug...
	(6) Authorized persons and the vendor are each responsible for bearing their own costs in conducting the review pursuant to G.S. 163-165.7(a)(6).
	(7) Up to three representatives of the vendor may be designated in writing by a corporate executive of the vendor to supervise the review at all times. Such representatives shall not interfere with the review and shall be afforded a reasonable opportu...

	(e)  Dispute Resolution. Any dispute that arises between an authorized person and a vendor concerning the execution of review pursuant to this Rule may be presented to the State Board of Elections in the form of a petition seeking relief. The party se...


	Title 10A – Department of Health and Human Services
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Commission for Mental Health/DD/SAS intends to amend the rules cited as 10A NCAC 27G .0104 and 28A .0102.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/mental-health-developmental-disabilities-and-substance-abuse/commis
	Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2024
	Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  To request a public hearing, submit your written request for a public hearing on to dmhddsasrules@dhhs.nc.gov within 15 days after the notice of ...
	Reason for Proposed Action:  These rules are being amended to permit years of experience obtained pre- or post – degree to be considered in one being credentialed a Qualified Professional; update language consistent with the Addictions Specialist Prof...
	Comments may be submitted to:  Denise Baker, 3001 MSC, Raleigh, NC 27699-3001; email dmhddsasrules@dhhs.nc.gov
	Comment period ends:  September 1, 2023
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	Chapter 27 - Mental Health, Community Facilities and Services
	SUBCHAPTER 27G - RULES FOR MENTAL HEALTH, DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES, AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE FACILITIES AND SERVICES
	SECTION .0100 - GENERAL INFORMATION
	The following credentials and qualifications apply to staff described in this Subchapter:



	chapter 28 – mental health: state operated facilities and services
	SUBCHAPTER 28a - COMMITTEES AND PROCEDURES
	SECTION .0100 – SCOPE and DEFINITIONS
	10A NCAC 28A .0102 DEFINITIONS
	(a)  In addition to the definitions contained in this Rule, the terms defined in G.S. 122C-3, 122C-4 and 122C-53(f) also apply to all rules in Subchapters 28A, 28B, 28C, and 28D of this Chapter.
	(b)  As used in the rules in Subchapters 28A, 28B, 28C, and 28D of this Chapter, the following terms have the meanings specified:
	(1) "Abuse" means the same as defined in 42 CFR Part 488 Subpart E, which is incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments. infliction of physical or mental pain or injury by other than accidental means; or unreasonable confinement; or th...
	(2) "Associate Professional (AP)" within the mental health, developmental disabilities and substance abuse services (mh/dd/sas) system of care means an individual who is either a:
	(3) "Basic necessities" mean the essential items or substances needed to support life and health which include, but are not limited to, a nutritionally sound diet balanced during three meals per day, access to water and bathroom facilities at frequent...
	(4) "Certified clinical supervisor (CCS)" means an individual who is certified as such by the North Carolina Addictions Specialist Professional Practice Substance Abuse Professional Certification Board.
	(5) "Certified substance abuse counselor (CSAC)" alcohol and drug counselor" means an individual who is certified as such by the North Carolina Addictions Specialist Substance Abuse Professional Practice Certification Board.
	(6) "Client" has the same meaning assigned in G.S. 133C-3. "Client" may also be referred to as a patient or resident.
	(6)(7) "Client record" means any record made of confidential information. information as defined G.S. 122C-3.
	(7)(8) "Clinical Director" means Medical Director, Director of Medical Services or such person acting in the position of Clinical Director, or his designee.
	(8)(9) "Clinically competent" means authorization by the State Facility Director for a qualified professional to provide specific treatment/habilitation treatment or habilitation services to clients based on the professional's education, training, exp...
	(9)(10) "Consent" means concurrence by a client or his legally responsible person following receipt of information from the qualified professional who will administer the proposed treatment or procedure. Informed consent implies that the client or his...
	(10)(11) "Dangerous articles or substances" mean, but are not limited to, any weapon or potential weapon, heavy blunt object, sharp objects, potentially harmful chemicals, or drugs of any sort, including alcohol.
	(12) "Division" means the Division of State Operated Healthcare Facilities.
	(11)(13) "Division Director" means the Director of the Division or his designee.
	(12)(14) "Emergency" means a situation in a state facility in which a client is in imminent danger of causing abuse or injury to self or others, or when substantial property damage is occurring as a result of unexpected and severe forms of inappropria...
	(13)(15) "Emergency surgery" means an operation or surgery performed in a medical emergency [as emergency, as defined in Subparagraph (b)(25) of this Rule] Rule, where informed consent cannot be obtained from an authorized person, as specified in G.S....
	(14)(16) "Exclusionary time-out" means the removal of a client to a separate area or room from which exit is not barred for the purpose of modifying behavior.
	(15)(17) "Exploitation" means the same as defined in 42 CFR Part 483 Subpart B, which is incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments. use of a client or her/his resources, including borrowing, taking or using personal property with or w...
	(16)(18) "Forensic Division" means the unit units at Dorothea Dix Hospital any State hospital designated in accordance with G.S. 122C-252 which serves clients who are:
	(17)(19) "Grievance" means a verbal or written complaint by or on behalf of a client concerning a situation that occurred within the jurisdiction of the state facility. A grievance does not include complaints that can be resolved without delay by staf...
	(18)(20) "Human Rights Committee" means a committee, appointed by the Secretary, to act in a capacity regarding the protection of client rights.
	(19)(21) "Independent psychiatric consultant" means a licensed psychiatrist not on the staff of the state facility in which the client is being treated. The psychiatrist may be in private practice, or be employed by another state facility, or be emplo...
	(20)(22) "Interpreter services" means specialized communication services provided for the hearing impaired by interpreters certified by the National Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf or the National Association of the Deaf.
	(21)(23) "Involuntary client" means a person admitted to any regional psychiatric hospital or alcoholic rehabilitation center alcohol and drug abuse treatment center under the provisions of Article 5, Parts 7, 8 or 9 of G.S. 122C and includes includes...
	(22)(24) "Isolation time-out" means the removal of a client to a separate room from which exit is barred but which is not locked and where there is continuous direct, uninterrupted supervision by staff for the purpose of modifying behavior. "Isolation...
	(25) "Licensed Clinical Addiction Specialist (LCAS)" means an individual who is certified as such by the North Carolina Addictions Specialist Professional Practice Board.
	(23)(26) "Licensed Clinical Mental health professional counselor (LPC)" (LCMHC)" means a counselor who is licensed as such by the North Carolina Board of Licensed Clinical Mental Health Professional Counselors.
	(24)(27) "Major physical injury" means damage caused to the body resulting in profuse bleeding or contusion of tissues; fracture of a bone; damage to internal organs; loss of consciousness; loss of normal neurological function (inability to move or co...
	(25)(28) "Medical emergency" means a situation where the client is unconscious, ill, or injured, and the reasonably apparent circumstances require prompt immediate decisions and actions in medical or other health care, care related decisions and actio...
	(26)(29) "Minimal risk research" means that the risks of harm anticipated in the proposed research are not greater, considering probability and magnitude, than those ordinarily encountered in daily life or during the performance of routine physical or...
	(27)(30) "Minor client" means a person under 18 years of age who has not been married or who has not been emancipated by a decree issued by a court of competent jurisdiction or is not a member of the armed forces.
	(31) "Misappropriation of resident property" means the same as defined by 42 CFR Part 488 Subpart E, incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments.
	(28)(32) "Neglect" means the same as defined by 42 CFR Part 488 Subpart E, incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments. failure to provide care or services necessary to maintain the mental and physical health of the client.
	(29)(33) "Normalization" means the principle of helping the client to obtain an existence as close to normal as possible, taking into consideration the client's disabilities and potential, by making available to him patterns and conditions of everyday...
	(30)(34) "Paraprofessional" within the mh/dd/sa system of care means an individual who, with the exception of staff providing respite services or personal care services, has a GED or high school diploma; an individual or no GED or high school diploma,...
	(31)(35) "Person standing in loco parentis" means one who has put himself in the place of a lawful parent by assuming the rights and obligations of a parent without formal adoption.
	(32)(36) "Physical Restraint" means the application or use of any manual method of restraint that restricts freedom of movement, or the application or use of any physical or mechanical device that restricts freedom of movement or normal access to one'...
	(33)(37) "Protective devices" means an intervention which that provides support for weak and feeble clients or enhances the safety of clients with specific medical or behavioral needs. behaviorally disordered clients. Such devices may include posey ve...
	(34)(38) "Psychotropic medication" means medication with the primary function of treating mental illness, personality or behavior disorders. It includes, but is not limited to, antipsychotics, antidepressants, antianxiety agents and mood stabilizers.
	(35)(39) "Qualified professional" means, within the mh/dd/sas system of care, an individual who is: is either:
	(36)(40) "Regional alcohol and drug abuse treatment center" means a state facility for persons with a substance abuse disorder substance abusers as specified in G.S. 122C-181(a)(3).
	(37)(41) "Regional mental retardation developmental disability center" means a state facility for the mentally retarded developmentally disabled as specified in G.S. 122C-181(a)(2).
	(38)(42) "Regional psychiatric hospital" means a state facility for the mentally ill as specified in G.S. 122C-181(a)(1).
	(39)(43) "Representative payee" means the person, group, or facility designated by a funding source, such as Supplemental Security Income (SSI), to receive and handle funds according to the guidelines of the source on behalf of a client.
	(40)(44) "Research" means inquiry involving a trial or special observation made under conditions determined by the investigator to confirm or disprove an hypothesis or to explicate some principle or effect.
	(41)(45) "Respite client" means a client admitted to a mental retardation developmental disability center or a neuromedical treatment center for a short-term period, normally not to exceed 30 days. The primary purpose of such admission is to provide a...
	(42)(46) "Responsible professional" shall have the meaning as specified in G.S. 122C-3 122C-3; except the "responsible professional" shall also be a qualified professional as defined in Subparagraph (b)(35) of this Rule.
	(43)(47) "Seclusion" means isolating a client in a separate locked room for the purpose of controlling managing a client's behavior. "Seclusion" does not include precautions intended to prevent transmission of a communicable disease. In the Forensic S...
	(44)(48) "State Facility Director" means the chief administrative officer or manager of a state facility or his designee.
	(45)(49) "Strike" means, but is not limited to, hitting, kicking, slapping or beating whether done with a part of one's body or with an object.
	(46)(50) "Timeout" means the removal of a client from other clients to another space within the same activity area for the purpose of modifying behavior.
	(47)(51) "Treatment" means the act, method, or manner of habilitating or rehabilitating, caring for or managing a client's physical or mental problems.
	(48)(52) "Treatment plan" means a written individual plan of treatment or habilitation for each client to be undertaken by the treatment team and includes any documentation of restriction of client's rights.
	(49)(53) "Treatment team" means an interdisciplinary group of qualified professionals sufficient in number and variety by discipline to adequately assess and address the identified needs of the client.
	(50)(54) "Unit" means an integral component of a state facility distinctly established for the delivery of one or more elements of service to which specific staff and space are assigned, and for which responsibility has been assigned to a director, su...
	(51)(55) "Voluntary client" means a person admitted to a state facility under the provisions of Article 5, Parts 2, 3, 4 or 5 of G.S. 122C.




	Title 15A – Department of Environmental Quality
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Coastal Resources Commission intends to amend the rules cited as 15A NCAC 07H .0305, .1102, .1202, .1302, .1402, .1502, .2002, .2102, .2202, .2302, .2402 and .2702.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.deq.nc.gov/permits-rules/rules-regulations/deq-proposed-rules/proposed-rules
	Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2024
	Reason for Proposed Action:
	15A NCAC 07H .0305 - The Coastal Resources Commission is proposing to amend its administrative rules in order to require a minimum of two growing seasons before planted vegetation can be used for oceanfront setback determinations which will increase c...
	15A NCAC 07H .1102, .1202, .1302, .1402, .1502, .2002, .2102, .2202, .2302, .2402, .2702 - The proposed amendments extend the General Permit expiration date to 180 days for those permits that have an expiration date of less than 180 days and adds a su...
	Comments may be submitted to:  Braxton Davis, 400 Commerce Avenue, Morehead City, NC 28557; email Braxton.Davis@ncdenr.gov
	Comment period ends:  September 1, 2023
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	Chapter 07 - Coastal Management
	SUBCHAPTER 07H - STATE GUIDELINES FOR AREAS OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONCERN
	SECTION .0300 - OCEAN HAZARD AREAS
	This Rule describes natural and man-made features that are found within the ocean hazard area of environmental concern.

	SECTION .1100 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR CONSTRUCTION OF BULKHEADS AND RIPRAP REVETMENTS FOR SHORELINE PROTECTION IN ESTUARINE AND PUBLIC TRUST WATERS AND OCEAN HAZARD AREAS
	(a)  An applicant for a General Permit under this Subchapter shall contact the Division of Coastal Management and request approval for development.
	(b)  The applicant shall provide:
	(1) provide site location, dimensions of the project area, and the applicant's name and address, confirmation that the applicant has obtained a written statement, signed by the adjacent riparian property owners indicating that they have no objections ...
	(2) confirmation that the applicant has notified adjacent riparian property owners by certified mail of the proposed work. The notice shall instruct adjacent property owners to provide written comments on the proposed development to DCM within 10 days...

	(c)  No work shall begin until an on-site meeting is held with the applicant and a DCM representative so that the proposed alignment may be marked. A General Permit to proceed with the proposed development shall be issued if the DCM representative fin...

	SECTION .1200 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR CONSTRUCTION OF PIERS AND DOCKING FACILITIES: IN ESTUARINE AND PUBLIC TRUST WATERS AND OCEAN HAZARD AREAS
	(a)  An applicant for a General Permit under this Subchapter shall contact the Division of Coastal Management and request approval for development.
	(b)  The applicant shall provide:
	(1) the site location, dimensions of the project area and name, and his or her address; and
	(2) confirmation that a written statement has been obtained signed by the adjacent riparian property owners indicating that they have no objections to the proposed work; or
	(3) confirmation that the adjacent riparian property owners have been notified by certified mail of the proposed work. The notice shall instruct adjacent property owners to provide any comments on the proposed development in writing for consideration ...

	(c)  No work shall begin until an on-site meeting is held with the applicant and a Division of Coastal Management representative to review the proposed development. A permit to to proceed with the proposed development shall be issued if the Division r...
	(d)  Any modification or addition to the permitted project shall require prior approval from the Division of Coastal Management.

	SECTION .1300 – GENERAL PERMIT TO CONSTRUCT BOAT RAMPS ALONG ESTUARINE AND PUBLIC TRUST SHORELINES AND INTO ESTUARINE AND PUBLIC TRUST WATERS
	(a)  An applicant for a General Permit under this Subchapter shall contact the Division of Coastal Management at the Regional Office indicated on the map located at https://ncdenr.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=1a5881ec85ca40679988982...
	(b)  The applicant shall provide:
	(1) the site location, dimensions of the project area, and his or her name and address; and
	(2) confirmation that a written statement has been obtained, signed by the adjacent riparian property owners, indicating that they have no objections to the proposed work; or
	(3) confirmation that the adjacent riparian property owners have been notified by certified mail of the proposed work. The notice shall instruct adjacent property owners to provide any comments on the proposed development in writing to the Division of...

	(c)  No work shall begin until an on-site meeting is held with the applicant and a Division of Coastal Management representative to review the proposed development. A permit to proceed with the proposed development shall be issued if the Division repr...

	SECTION .1400 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR CONSTRUCTION OF GROINS IN ESTUARINE AND PUBLIC TRUST WATERS AND OCEAN HAZARD AREAS
	(a)  An applicant for a General Permit under this Subchapter shall contact the Division of Coastal Management at the Regional Office indicated on the map located at https://ncdenr.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=1a5881ec85ca40679988982...
	(b)  The applicant shall provide:
	(1) the site location, dimensions of the project area, and his or her name and address; and
	(2) confirmation that a written statement has been obtained, signed by the adjacent riparian property owners, indicating that they have no objections to the proposed work; or
	(3) confirmation that the adjacent riparian property owners have been notified by certified mail of the proposed work. The notice shall instruct adjacent property owners to provide any comments on the proposed development in writing to the Division of...

	(c)  No work shall begin until an on-site meeting is held with the applicant and a Division of Coastal Management representative to review the proposed development. A permit to proceed with the proposed development shall be issued if the Division repr...
	(d)  Any modification or addition to the authorized project shall require approval from the Division of Coastal Management in accordance with 15A NCAC 07J .0405.

	SECTION .1500 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR EXCAVATION WITHIN OR CONNECTING TO EXISTING CANALS, CHANNELS, BASINS, OR DITCHES IN ESTUARINE WATERS, PUBLIC TRUST WATERS, AND COASTAL SHORELINE AECS
	(a)  An applicant for a General Permit under this Subchapter shall contact the Division of Coastal Management at the Regional Office indicated on the map located at https://ncdenr.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=1a5881ec85ca40679988982...
	(b)  The applicant shall provide:
	(1) the site location, dimensions of the project area, and his or her name and address; and
	(2) confirmation that a written statement has been obtained, signed by the adjacent riparian property owners, indicating that they have no objections to the proposed work; or
	(3) confirmation that the adjacent riparian property owners have been notified by certified mail of the proposed work. The notice shall instruct adjacent property owners to provide any comments on the proposed development in writing to the Division of...

	(c)  No work shall begin until an onsite meeting is held with the applicant and a Division of Coastal Management representative to review the proposed development. A Permit to proceed with the proposed development shall be issued if the Division repre...

	SECTION .2000 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR AUTHORIZING MINOR MODIFICATIONS AND REPAIR TO EXISTING PIER/MOORING FACILITIES IN ESTUARINE AND PUBLIC TRUST WATERS AND OCEAN HAZARD AREAS
	(a)  An applicant for a General Permit under this Subchapter shall contact the Division of Coastal Management at the Regional Office indicated on the map located at https://ncdenr.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=1a5881ec85ca40679988982...
	(b)  The applicant shall provide:
	(1) information on site location, dimensions of the project area, and his or her name and address; and
	(2) confirmation that a written statement has been obtained, signed by the adjacent riparian property owners, indicating that they have no objections to the proposed work; or
	(3) confirmation that the adjacent riparian property owners have been notified by certified mail of the proposed work. The notice shall instruct adjacent property owners to provide any comments on the proposed development in writing for consideration ...

	(c)  No work shall begin until an on-site meeting is held with the applicant and a Division of Coastal Management representative to review the proposed development. A permit to proceed with the proposed development shall be issued if the Division repr...
	(d)  Any modification or addition to the permitted project shall require approval from the Division of Coastal Management.

	SECTION .2100 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR CONSTRUCTION OF SHEETPILE SILL FOR SHORELINE PROTECTION IN ESTUARINE AND PUBLIC TRUST WATERS AND OCEAN HAZARD AREAS
	(a)  An applicant for a General Permit under this Subchapter shall contact the Division of Coastal Management at the Regional Office indicated on the map located at https://ncdenr.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=1a5881ec85ca40679988982...
	(b)  The applicant shall provide:
	(1) information on site location, dimensions of the project area, and his or her name and address; and
	(2) confirmation that a written statement has been obtained, signed by the adjacent riparian property owners, indicating that they have no objections to the proposed work; or
	(3) confirmation that the adjacent riparian property owners have been notified by certified mail of the proposed work. The notice shall instruct adjacent property owners to provide any comments on the proposed development in writing to the Division of...

	(c)  No work shall begin until an on-site meeting is held with the applicant and a Division of Coastal Management representative to review the proposed development. A permit to proceed with the proposed development shall be issued if the Division repr...
	(d)  Any modification or addition to the permitted project shall require approval from the Division of Coastal Management. Where substantial development has occurred as defined in 15A NCAC 07J .0404(b) and is continuing on the permitted project, the p...

	SECTION .2200 – GENERAL PERMIT FOR CONSTRUCTION OF FREESTANDING MOORINGS AND BIRD NESTING POLES IN ESTUARINE WATERS AND PUBLIC TRUST AREAS AND OCEAN HAZARD AREAS
	(a)  An applicant for a General Permit under this Subchapter shall contact the Division of Coastal Management at the Regional Office indicated on the map located at https://ncdenr.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=1a5881ec85ca40679988982...
	(b)  The applicant shall provide:
	(1) information on site location, dimensions of the project area, and his or her name and address; and
	(2) confirmation that a written statement has been obtained, signed by the adjacent riparian property owners indicating that they have no objections to the proposed work; or
	(3) confirmation that the adjacent riparian property owners have been notified by certified mail of the proposed work. The notice shall instruct adjacent property owners to provide any comments on the proposed development in writing to the Division of...

	(c)  No work shall begin until an on-site meeting is held with the applicant and a Division of Coastal Management representative to review the proposed development. A permit to proceed with the proposed development shall be issued if the Division repr...
	(d)  Any modification or addition to the permitted project shall require prior approval from the Division of Coastal Management. Where substantial development has occurred as defined in 15A NCAC 07J .0404(b) and is continuing on the permitted project,...

	SECTION .2300 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR REPLACEMENT OF EXISTING BRIDGES AND CULVERTS IN ESTUARINE WATERS, ESTUARINE AND PUBLIC TRUST SHORELINES, PUBLIC TRUST AREAS, AND COASTAL WETLANDS
	(a)  An applicant for a General Permit under this Subchapter shall contact the Division of Coastal Management at the Regional Office indicated on the map located at https://ncdenr.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=1a5881ec85ca40679988982...
	(b)  The applicant shall provide:
	(1) the site location, dimensions of the project area, and his or her name and address; and
	(2) confirmation that a written statement has been obtained, signed by the adjacent riparian property owners, indicating that they have no objections to the proposed work; or
	(3) confirmation that the adjacent riparian property owners have been notified by certified mail of the proposed work. The notice shall instruct adjacent property owners to provide any comments on the proposed development in writing to the Division of...

	(c)  No work shall begin until an onsite meeting is held with the applicant and a Division of Coastal Management representative to review the proposed development. A permit to proceed with the proposed development shall be issued if the Division repre...
	(d)  Any modification or addition to the permitted project shall require approval from the Division of Coastal Management.

	SECTION .2400 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR PLACEMENT OF RIPRAP REVETMENTS FOR WETLAND PROTECTION IN ESTUARINE AND PUBLIC TRUST WATERS
	(a)  An applicant for a General Permit under this Subchapter shall contact the Division of Coastal Management at the Regional Office indicated on the map located at https://ncdenr.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=1a5881ec85ca40679988982...
	(b)  The applicant shall provide:
	(1) the site location, dimensions of the project area, and his or her name and address; and
	(2) confirmation that a written statement has been obtained, signed by the adjacent riparian property owners, indicating that they have no objections to the proposed work; or
	(3) confirmation that the adjacent riparian property owners have been notified by certified mail of the proposed work. The notice shall instruct adjacent property owners to provide any comments on the proposed development in writing to the Division of...

	(c)  No work shall begin until an on-site meeting is held with the applicant and a Division of Coastal Management representative to review the proposed development. A permit to proceed with the proposed development shall be issued if the Division repr...
	(d)  Any modification or addition to the permitted project shall require approval from the Division of Coastal Management.

	SECTION .2700 – GENERAL PERMIT FOR THE CONSTRUCTION OF MARSH SILLS
	(a)  An applicant for a General Permit under this Subchapter shall contact the Division of Coastal Management at the Regional Office indicated on the map located at https://ncdenr.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=1a5881ec85ca40679988982...
	(b)  The applicant shall provide:
	(1) the site location, dimensions of the project area, and his or her name and address; and
	(2) confirmation that a written statement has been obtained, signed by the adjacent riparian property owners, indicating that they have no objections to the proposed work; or
	(3) confirmation that the adjacent riparian property owners have been notified by certified mail of the proposed work. The notice shall instruct adjacent property owners to provide any comments on the proposed development in writing for consideration ...

	(c)  No work shall begin until an on-site meeting is held with the applicant and a Division of Coastal Management representative to review the proposed development. A permit to proceed with the proposed development shall be issued if the Division repr...
	(d)  Any modification or addition to the permitted project shall require approval from the Division of Coastal Management.



	Title 21 - Occupational Licensing Boards and Commissions
	Chapter 36 – board of Nursing
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Board of Nursing intends to amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 36 .0228.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  www.ncbon.com
	Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2023
	Reason for Proposed Action:  On April 1, 2023, 21 NCAC 36 .0228 Clinical Nurse Specialist Practice was published in the Administrative Code. The amended Rule eliminated the portfolio route for new CNS recognition and aligns with the requirements for C...
	Comments may be submitted to:  Angela Ellis, PO Box 2129, Raleigh, NC 27602-2129; email lawsrules@ncbon.com
	Comment period ends:  September 1, 2023
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required
	SECTION .0200 – LICENSURE
	(a)  Only a registered nurse who meets the qualifications outlined in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be approved by the Board as a clinical nurse specialist to perform advanced practice registered nursing activities listed in Paragraph (f) of this R...
	(b)  The Board shall approve an applicant who:
	(1) has an active, unencumbered license to practice as a registered nurse in North Carolina or a state that has adopted the Nurse Licensure Compact;
	(2) has an unrestricted previous approval, registration, or license as a clinical nurse specialist if previously approved, registered, or licensed as a clinical nurse specialist in another state, territory, or possession of the United States;
	(3) has successfully completed a master's or higher-level degree program that is accredited by a nursing accrediting body approved by the United States Secretary of Education or the Council for Higher Education Accreditation and meets the qualificatio...
	(4) has current certification as a clinical nurse specialist from a national credentialing body approved by the Board, as defined in Paragraph (h) of this Rule and 21 NCAC 36 .0120(33).

	(c)  An applicant certified as a clinical nurse specialist by a national credentialing body prior to January 1, 2007 who has maintained that certification and active clinical nurse specialist practice and holds a master's or higher degree in nursing o...
	(d)  New graduates seeking first-time clinical nurse specialist approval in North Carolina shall hold a master's or higher-level degree or a post-graduate certificate from a clinical nurse specialist program accredited by a nursing accrediting body ap...
	(e)  A certified clinical nurse specialist seeking Board approval who has never practiced as a clinical nurse specialist or has not practiced in more than two years shall complete a clinical nurse specialist refresher course approved by the Board in a...
	(f)  The scope of practice of a clinical nurse specialist shall incorporate the basic components of nursing practice as defined in Rule .0224 of this Section as well as the understanding and application of nursing principles at an advanced practice re...
	(1) assessing clients' health status, synthesizing and analyzing multiple sources of data, and identifying alternative possibilities as to the nature of a healthcare problem;
	(2) diagnosing and managing clients' acute and chronic health problems within the essential core competencies for professional nursing education;
	(3) assessing for and monitoring the usage and effect of pharmacologic agents within the essential core competencies for professional nursing education;
	(4) formulating strategies to promote wellness and prevent illness;
	(5) prescribing and implementing therapeutic and corrective non-pharmacologic nursing interventions;
	(6) planning for situations beyond the clinical nurse specialist's expertise and consulting with or referring clients to other health care providers as appropriate;
	(7) promoting and practicing in collegial and collaborative relationships with clients, families, other health care professionals, and individuals whose decisions influence the health of individual clients, families, and communities;
	(8) initiating, establishing, and using measures to evaluate health care outcomes and modify nursing practice decisions;
	(9) assuming leadership for the application of research findings for the improvement of health care outcomes; and
	(10) integrating education, consultation, management, leadership, and research into the clinical nurse specialist role.

	(g)  A registered nurse seeking approval by the Board as a clinical nurse specialist shall:
	(1) submit a completed application that includes the following:
	(2) renew the approval every two years at the time of registered nurse renewal; and
	(3) submit evidence of the following:
	(4) maintain documentation of clinical practice hours and continuing education for the previous five years and made available upon request of the Board.

	(h)  The Board shall approve those national credentialing bodies offering certification and recertification in a clinical nursing specialty that have established the following minimum requirements for applicants:
	(1) active unencumbered licensure as a registered nurse; and
	(2) certification as a clinical nurse specialist that is limited to applicant prepared with a master's or higher-level degree or a post-graduate certificate.



	Chapter 52 – board of Podiatry Examiners
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Board of Podiatry Examiners intends to amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 52 .0613.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://ncbpe.org
	Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2024
	Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed amendment increases the application fee and examination fee by $50 each. The reason for the increase is a response to the inflation in the general economy as experienced by the Board in the form of rising cost...
	Comments may be submitted to:  Tracy Steadman, 3739 National Drive, Suite 102, Raleigh, NC 27612; phone (919) 861-5583; fax (919) 787-4916; email info@ncbpe.org
	Comment period ends:  September 1, 2023
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required
	section .0600 – General provisions
	The following fees shall apply:
	(a)  In addition to the requirements of this Rule regarding the storage and deployment of Aqueous Film Forming Foam (AFFF), when a fire department responds to a fire, the fire chief shall ensure that a fire incident report is completed using software ...
	(b)  A fire department shall keep records on dates, times, and locations of all fires using software that complies with the current version of the NFIRS.
	(c)  All reports shall be submitted to OSFM within 120 days of incident occurrence.
	(d)  When a fire department responds to a fire involving fatalities, an initial report shall be filed by the fire chief or fire marshal of the authority having jurisdiction within 48 hours of the incident to the Office of State Fire Marshal.
	(e)  In accordance with G.S. 58-82B-10, an online reporting portal for the storage and deployment of AFFF has been created at the following website: https://www.ncosfm.gov/fire-rescue/ratings-and-inspections/afff-foam. This online reporting portal con...
	(f)  The fire chief or fire marshal of the authority having jurisdiction shall ensure that the following information regarding AFFF inventory for their fire department is entered into the online database:
	(1) The number of trucks at each department that carry AFFF, and the fire station or other location, including street address, where each truck is located.
	(2) The volume, trade name, and Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) number of the AFFF on each truck.
	(3) An inventory, including the volume, trade name, and CAS number of AFFF stored by each fire department at a fire station or other location, including the street address where the AFFF is stored.
	(4) The volume, trade name, and CAS number of AFFF products that are no longer utilized and could be removed from inventory for disposal, including the street address where the AFFF is stored.
	(5) A photograph of the label and the container of the AFFF. For the purpose of this Subparagraph, a photograph includes an electronic image produced by the camera of an electronic device.

	The information entered in the online database shall be updated annually in accordance with G.S. 58-82B-5.
	(g) When a fire department responds to a fire, conducts training involving AFFF foam in any quantity, or has an accidental spill, the fire chief shall ensure an initial report is entered in the online reporting tool within 15 days of the incident or t...
	(1) The date, time, and location, including street address and GPS coordinates, where AFFF was involved, the trade name, and CAS number of the AFFF used.
	(2) The total volume of AFFF involved, including gallons of foam and gallons of water and total concentration of foam.
	(3) The reason for the deployment of AFFF, such as firefighting, fire prevention, other emergency response actions intended to protect property or public safety, training, or an accidental spill.

	(h)  The fire chief or fire marshal of the authority having jurisdiction shall ensure that an annual report is available in the online reporting tool by July 1st of each year that includes the information required by Paragraph (g) of this Rule.
	A fire department shall maintain the following records for 36 months:
	(a)  Emissions of sulfur dioxide from any source of combustion, including air pollution control devices, discharged from any vent, stack, chimney, or flare shall not exceed 2.3 pounds of sulfur dioxide per million Btu input.
	(b)  When determining compliance with this standard:
	(1) the sulfur dioxide formed by the combustion of sulfur in fuels, wastes, ores, and other substances shall be included;
	(2) the sulfur dioxide formed or reduced as a result of treating flue gases with sulfur trioxide or other materials shall be included in the computation of emissions; and
	(3) the determination of Btu input shall not include the contribution from any portion of fuels used exclusively to inflate the heat input value used to demonstrate compliance with the emission standard in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

	(c)  The standard set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall not apply to sulfur dioxide emission sources already subject to an emission standard for sulfur dioxide in 15A NCAC 02D .0524, .0527, .1110, .1111, .1206, or .1210.
	(a)  For purposes of this Rule, the following definitions apply:
	(1) "Natural bait" means a living or dead plant or animal, or parts thereof, or prepared substances designed to attract fish by the sense of taste or smell.
	(2) "Single hook" means a fish hook with only one point.
	(3) "Artificial lure" means a fishing lure that neither contains nor has been treated by a substance that attracts fish by the sense of taste or smell.
	(4) "Artificial fly" means one single hook dressed with feathers, hair, thread, tinsel, rubber, or a similar material to which no additional hook, spinner, spoon or similar device is added.
	(5) "Youth anglers" are individuals under 18 years of age.

	(b)  For purposes of this Rule, 15A NCAC 10C .0316, and 15A NCAC 10D .0104, the following classifications apply:
	(1) "Public Mountain Trout Waters" are the waters included in this Rule and those designated in 15A NCAC 10D .0104.
	(2) "Catch and Release Artificial Flies and Lures Only Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout Waters where only artificial flies and lures having one single hook may be used. No trout may be possessed or harvested while fishing these streams. Waters ...
	(3) "Delayed Harvest Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout Waters where between October 1 and one-half hour after sunset on the Friday before the first Saturday of the following June, it is unlawful to possess natural bait, use more than one single ...
	(4) "Hatchery Supported Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout Waters that have no bait or lure restrictions. Waters with this designation do not include tributaries unless otherwise noted.
	(5) "Special Regulation Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout Waters where watercourse-specific regulations apply. Waters with this designation do not include tributaries unless otherwise noted.
	(6) "Wild Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout Waters identified in this Rule or 15A NCAC 10D .0104. Only artificial lures having only one single hook may be used. No person shall possess natural bait while fishing these waters. Waters with this de...
	(7) "Wild Trout Natural Bait Waters" are Public Mountain Trout Waters where artificial lures and natural baits, except live fish, may be used provided they are fished using only one single hook. Waters with this designation include tributaries unless ...
	(8) "Undesignated Waters" are the other waters in the State. These waters have no bait or lure restrictions.

	(c)  Seasons, creel, and size limits. Seasons, creel, and size limits for trout are listed in Rule .0316 of this Subchapter.
	(d)  Classifications. This Paragraph designates waters in each county that have a specific classification. Waters on game lands are designated in 15A NCAC 10D .0104, unless otherwise indicated in this Paragraph. The other waters are classified as Unde...
	(1) Alleghany
	(2) Ashe County
	(3) Avery County
	(4) Buncombe County
	(5) Burke County
	(6) Caldwell County
	(7) Cherokee County
	(8) Clay County
	(9) Graham County
	(10) Haywood County
	(11) Henderson County
	(12) Jackson County
	(13) Macon County
	(14) Madison County
	(15) McDowell County
	(16) Mitchell County
	(17) Polk County
	(18) Rutherford County
	(19) Stokes County
	(20) Surry County
	(21) Swain County
	(22) Transylvania County
	(23) Watauga County
	(24) Wilkes County
	(25) Yancey County

	(a)  For purposes of this Rule, the following definitions apply:
	(1) "Set hook" means a fishing device consisting of a single line having no more than three hooks that is attached at one end only to a stationary object.
	(2) "Jug hook" means a fishing device consisting of a single line having no more than three hooks that is attached to a float.
	(3) "Trotline" means a fishing device consisting of a horizontal common line having multiple hooks attached.

	(b)  Trotlines, jug hooks, and set hooks may be set in the inland waters of North Carolina, provided no live bait is used, except that they:
	(1) may not be set in the impounded waters on the Sandhills Game Land;
	(2) may not be set in designated public mountain trout waters except impounded waters of power reservoirs and municipally-owned water supply reservoirs open to the public for fishing;
	(3) in Lake Waccamaw, trotlines, jug hooks, or set hooks may only be set from October 1 through April 30; and
	(4) in the Roanoke River, trotlines, jug hooks, or set hooks may only be set from July 1 through March 31.

	(c)  A trotline, set hook, and jug hook shall bear legible and indelible identification of the user's name and address or the user's Wildlife Resources Commission customer number.
	(d)  Trotlines and set hooks shall be conspicuously marked at each end with a flag, float, or other prominent object so that its location is readily discernible by boat operators and swimmers.
	(e)  Trotlines shall be set parallel to the nearest shore in inland fishing waters unless otherwise prohibited.
	(f)  The number of jug hooks that may be fished is limited to 70 per boat.
	(g)  Trotlines, set hooks, and jug hooks shall be fished once daily with all fish removed.
	(h)  Trotlines, set hooks, and jug hooks without bait or not labeled as described in this Paragraph may be removed from the water by wildlife enforcement officers.
	(i)  It is unlawful to use metal cans or glass jugs as floats.
	(a)  Inland game fishes may only be taken with hook and line unless otherwise provided.
	(b)  Landing nets may be used to land fishes caught on hook and line.
	(c)  Game fishes taken incidental to the use of special devices for taking nongame fishes from inland fishing waters as authorized in 15A NCAC 10C .0402 or as authorized by 15A NCAC 10C .0407 by anglers licensed pursuant to G.S. 113-272.2(c) shall be ...
	(1) that a daily creel limit of American and hickory shad may be taken with dip nets and bow nets from March 1 through April 30 in those waters where those gears may be lawfully used; and
	(2) white perch may be taken when captured in a cast net being used to collect nongame fishes in impounded waters west of Interstate 95 and in the Tar River Reservoir in Nash County.

	(d)  Inland game fishes taken from Inland Fishing Waters shall not be sold.
	(e)  In the inland waters of the Roanoke River upstream of U.S. 258 bridge, only a single barbless circle hook may be used when fishing with live or natural bait from April 1 to June 30. With other tackle, only a single barbless hook may be used. "Cir...
	(a)  There is no daily creel limit for Crappie, except for waters identified in Paragraphs (d) through (h) of this Rule.
	(b)  There is no minimum size limit except in waters identified in Paragraphs (f) through (h) of this Rule.
	(c)  There is no closed season.
	(d)  In Buckhorn Reservoir in Wilson and Nash counties, the daily creel limit is 20 fish.
	(e)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit is 30 fish.
	(f)  In the following waters, the daily creel limit is 20 fish and the minimum size limit is 10 inches:
	(1) B. Everett Jordan Reservoir;
	(2) Roanoke River and its tributaries downstream of Roanoke Rapids dam;
	(3) Cashie River and its tributaries;
	(4) Middle River and its tributaries;
	(5) Eastmost River and its tributaries; and
	(6) Lake Mattamuskeet and associated canals in Hyde County.

	(g)  In the following waters, the daily creel limit is 20 fish and the minimum size limit is eight inches:
	(1) Lake Norman;
	(2) Lake Hyco;
	(3) Lake Ramseur;
	(4) Cane Creek Lake (Union County);
	(5) Lake Hampton (Yadkin County);
	(6) Tar River downstream of Tar River Reservoir Dam and all tributaries;
	(7) Neuse River downstream of Falls Lake Dam and all tributaries;
	(8) Haw River downstream of Jordan Lake Dam and all tributaries;
	(9) Deep River downstream of Lockville Dam and all tributaries;
	(10) Cape Fear River and all tributaries;
	(11) Waccamaw River downstream of Lake Waccamaw Dam and all tributaries;
	(12) Lumber River including Drowning Creek and all tributaries;
	(13) all other public fishing waters east of Interstate 95, except Tar River Reservoir in Nash County, Sutton Lake in New Hanover County, and waters listed in Paragraph (f) of this Rule; and
	(14) all public waters west of Interstate 77, except Lake Chatuge.

	(h)  In John H. Kerr Reservoir, the daily creel limit is 25 fish and the minimum size limit is nine inches.
	(a)  The daily creel limit for striped bass and its hybrids is four fish in the aggregate, except in waters identified in Paragraphs (d) and (g) through (m) of this Rule.
	(b)  The minimum size limit for these fish is 20 inches, except in waters identified in Paragraphs (d) through (m) of this Rule.
	(c)  There is no closed season, except for waters identified in Paragraphs (i) through (m) of this Rule.
	(d)  In the Dan River upstream from its confluence with Bannister River to the dam at Union Street in Danville, VA and in John H. Kerr Reservoir, the daily creel limit on striped bass and its hybrids is two in the aggregate and the minimum size limit ...
	(e)  In Lake Gaston and Roanoke Rapids Reservoir, the minimum size limit for striped bass and its hybrids is 20 inches from October 1 through May 31. There is no minimum size limit for these fish from June 1 through September 30.
	(f)  In Hyco Lake, Moss Lake, Mountain Island Reservoir, Oak Hollow Lake, Lake Thom-A-Lex, Lake Townsend, and Salem Lake the minimum size limit for striped bass and its hybrids is 16 inches.
	(g)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit is 15 in the aggregate. There is no minimum size limit, but only two may be greater than 22 inches.
	(h)  In Lake Mattamuskeet, and in the Pee Dee River and its tributaries downstream from the Blewett Falls Dam to the South Carolina state line, the daily creel limit for striped bass and its hybrids is three fish in the aggregate, and the minimum size...
	(i)  In the inland fishing waters of Neuse, Pungo, and Tar Pamlico rivers and their tributaries extending upstream to the first impoundment of the main course on the river or its tributaries, and in the other inland fishing waters east of Interstate 9...
	(j)  In the inland fishing waters of the Cape Fear River and its tributaries downstream of Buckhorn Dam and in the ponds associated with Martin Marietta Park in Craven County, the season for taking and possessing striped bass is closed year-round.
	(k)  In the inland and joint fishing waters of the Roanoke River Striped Bass Management Area, as established in 15A NCAC 03R .0201 and identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0110 which includes the Roanoke, Cashie, Middle, and Eastmost rivers and their tributar...
	(l)  In designated inland and joint fishing waters of Roanoke Sound, Croatan Sound, Albemarle Sound, Chowan River, Currituck Sound, Alligator River, Scuppernong River, and their tributaries, excluding the Roanoke River and Cashie River and their tribu...
	(m)  In accordance with G.S. 113-292, the Executive Director may, by proclamation, suspend or extend the hook-and-line season for striped bass in the inland and joint waters of coastal rivers and their tributaries. It is unlawful to violate the provis...
	(a)  Except as permitted by the rules in this Section, no person shall take nongame fishes from the inland fishing waters of North Carolina in a manner other than with hook and line, grabbling, or special device with a special device fishing license, ...
	(b)  Nongame fishes may be taken from inland fishing waters without restriction as to size limits or creel limits, except as specified in this Section.
	(c)  Special devices used with a special device fishing license shall only be used in those counties and waters with open season designated in 15A NCAC 10C .0407.
	(d)  Archery equipment used with either a hunting license or inland fishing license may be used to take nongame fishes year-round in inland fishing waters, except:
	(1) in the Pee Dee River and its tributaries, downstream of Blewett Falls Dam to the South Carolina state line, where only catfish shall be taken;
	(2) in impounded waters located on the Sandhills Game Land; and
	(3) in public mountain trout waters.

	(e)  Set hooks, jug hooks, and trotlines may be used to take nongame fishes as designated in 15A NCAC 10C .0206.
	(f)  The season for taking nongame fishes by hook and line in designated public mountain trout waters is the same as the trout fishing season. Trout seasons are designated in 15A NCAC 10C .0316.
	(g)  Nongame fishes taken by hook and line, grabbling, or by special device with a special device fishing license may be sold unless otherwise specified in this Section.
	(h)  In the inland waters of the Roanoke River upstream of U.S. 258 bridge, only a single barbless circle hook may be used when fishing with live or natural bait from April 1 to June 30. With other tackle, only a single barbless hook may be used. "Cir...
	(a)  For purposes of this Subchapter, the following definitions apply:
	(1) "Permanent Hunting Blind" means a structure that is used for hunter concealment, constructed from manmade or natural materials, and that is not disassembled and removed at the end of the day's hunt.
	(2) "Target shooting" means the discharge of a firearm for purposes other than hunting, trapping, or self-defense.
	(3) "Youth" means individuals under 18 years of age.

	(b)  Trespass. Entry on game lands for purposes other than hunting, trapping, or fishing shall be as authorized by the landowner. The Wildlife Resources Commission has identified the following areas on game lands that have additional restrictions on e...
	(1) Archery Zone. On portions of game lands posted as "Archery Zones" hunting is limited to archery equipment and falconry. During the open deer seasons for these areas, antlered and antlerless deer may be taken.
	(2) Safety Zone. On portions of game lands posted as "Safety Zones" hunting is prohibited. No person shall hunt or discharge a firearm or bow and arrow within, into, or across a posted safety zone on a game land. Falconry is exempt from this provision.
	(3) Restricted Firearms Zone. On portions of game lands posted as "Restricted Firearms Zones" the use of centerfire rifles is prohibited.
	(4) Restricted Zone. Portions of game lands posted as "Restricted Zones" are closed to use by the public, and entry on these areas is prohibited without written approval from the Wildlife Resources Commission. The Commission may authorize entry when t...
	(5) Temporary Restricted Zone. Portions of game lands posted as "Temporary Restricted Zones" are closed to use by the public, and entry is prohibited without written approval from the Wildlife Resources Commission. An area of a game land shall be decl...
	(6) Scouting-only Zone. On portions of the game lands posted as "Scouting-only Zones" the discharge of firearms or bow and arrow is prohibited.
	(7) Restricted Deer Hunting Zone. On portions of game lands posted as "Restricted Deer Hunting Zones" the use of dogs for taking deer is prohibited, except as allowed by permit as provided in G.S. 113-264(d).
	(8) Day Use Only Zone. On portions of game lands posted as "Day Use Only Zones" the use by the public shall be prohibited from sunset to sunrise.
	(9) Sensitive Habitat Zone. Portions of game lands posted as "Sensitive Habitat Zones" are closed to use by the public during the dates specified on the sign, and entry is prohibited without written approval from the Wildlife Resources Commission by c...

	The Commission shall conduct a public input meeting in the area where the game land is located before establishing the following zones: archery, restricted firearms, restricted deer hunting, day use only, or sensitive habitat. After the input meeting,...
	(c)  Littering. No person shall deposit litter, trash, garbage, or other refuse on any game land except in receptacles provided for disposal of refuse at designated camping and target-shooting areas. No garbage dumps or sanitary landfills shall be est...
	(d)  Use of weapons. No person shall discharge:
	(1) a weapon within 150 yards of a game land building or designated game land camping area, except where posted otherwise;
	(2) a weapon within 150 yards of a residence located on or adjacent to game lands, except on Butner-Falls of Neuse and Jordan game lands; and
	(3) a firearm within 150 yards of a residence located on or adjacent to Butner-Falls of Neuse and Jordan Game Lands.

	No person shall hunt with or have in possession a shotgun shell containing lead or toxic shot while hunting on a posted waterfowl impoundment on a game land, except shotgun shells containing lead buckshot may be used while deer hunting. Individuals ca...
	(1) the firearm is a .22 caliber pistol with a barrel not greater than seven and one-half inches in length and shooting only short, long, or long rifle ammunition carried as a side arm;
	(2) the firearm is cased or not immediately available for use;
	(3) the firearm is used by persons participating in field trials on field trial areas; or
	(4) the firearm is possessed in designated camping areas for defense of persons and property.

	(e)  Game Lands License: Hunting and Trapping
	(1) Except as provided in Subparagraph (4) of this Paragraph, a person entering a game land to hunt, trap, run dogs, or train dogs using wildlife shall have in his or her possession a valid North Carolina hunting or trapping license.
	(2) For Commission-sanctioned field trials, active participants, as defined in 15A NCAC 10B .0114, in a field trial using wildlife shall possess a North Carolina hunting license, except non-residents may substitute hunting licenses from their state(s)...
	(3) For other field trials using wildlife occurring on game lands, judges and active participants shall possess a North Carolina hunting license.
	(4) Exceptions:

	(f)  Field Trials and Training Dogs. An individual or organization sponsoring a field trial on the Sandhills Field Trial area shall file an application with the Commission to use the area with the facility use fee computed at the rate of three hundred...
	(g)  Trapping. Subject to the restrictions contained in 15A NCAC 10B .0300, trapping of furbearing animals, armadillos, coyotes, and groundhogs is permitted on game lands during the open trapping seasons for those areas, established by rule. Foxes may...
	(1) on the J Robert Gordon Field Trial Area of Sandhills Game Land;
	(2) in posted "safety zones" located on a game land;
	(3) by the use of bait on the National Forest Lands bounded by the Blue Ridge Parkway on the south, US 276 on the north and east, and NC 215 on the west;
	(4) on the DuPont State Forest Game Lands; and
	(5) from April 1 through September 31.

	At a trap, trappers may use a single bait site of grain, fruit, or other foods when trapping if the food is not a processed food product as defined in G.S. 113-294(r), is less than 3 cubic inches and is covered to prevent it from being seen from above...
	(h)  Vehicular Traffic. No person shall drive a motorized vehicle on a game land except on roads constructed, maintained, and opened for vehicular travel and on trails posted for vehicular travel, unless the person:
	(1) is driving in the vehicle gallery of a scheduled bird dog field trial held on the Sandhills Game Land; or
	(2) is a disabled sportsman as defined in Paragraph (l) of this Rule or holds a Disabled Access Program Permit as described in Paragraph (m) of this Rule and is abiding by the rules described in Paragraph (m).

	(i)  Camping.
	(1) No person shall camp on a game land except on an area posted by the landowner for camping.
	(2) On game lands owned by the State of North Carolina, where the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission is the primary custodian, the maximum period of consecutive overnight camping at a designated camping area is 14 days within any 30-day peri...
	(3) A hunting, fishing, trapping or Game Lands License is required for individuals age 16 or older to camp on game lands in areas posted for camping except when camping within 100 yards of the Roanoke River on the state-owned portion of the Roanoke Ri...

	(j)  Release of Animals and Fish. It is unlawful to release pen-raised animals or birds, wild animals or birds, domesticated animals, except hunting dogs and raptors where otherwise permitted for hunting or training purposes, or feral animals, or hatc...
	(k)  Non-Highway Licensed Vehicles. It is unlawful to operate motorized land vehicles not licensed for highway use on game lands except for designated areas on National Forests. Disabled persons as defined in Paragraph (l) of this Rule and people who ...
	(l)  Disabled Access Program. Disabled individuals who meet the requirements of G.S. 113-296 may obtain a Disabled Access Permit and Disabled Sportsman Hunt Certification online at ncwildlife.org. The Disabled Access Permit allows individuals to opera...
	(m)  Public nudity. Public nudity, including nude sunbathing, is prohibited on game lands, including land or water. For the purposes of this Section, "public nudity" means a person's intentional failure to cover with a fully opaque covering the person...
	(n)  Shooting Ranges. On public shooting ranges managed by the Commission, no person shall use designated shooting ranges for purposes other than for firearm or bow and arrow marksmanship, development of shooting skills, or for other safe uses of fire...
	(o)  Limited-access Roads. During the months of June, July, and August, roads posted as "Limited-access Roads" are open to motorized vehicles from 5:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. These roads shall be posted with the opening and closing times.
	(p)  No person shall attempt to obscure the sex or age of a bird or animal taken by severing the head or any other part thereof, or possess a bird or animal that has been so mutilated.
	(q)  Baiting. Except as provided in Paragraph (g) of this Rule, no person shall place, or cause to be placed on a game land, salt, grain, fruit, or other foods without written authorization from an agent of the Commission. Written authorization may be...
	(a)  The following shall be prohibited on game lands:
	(1) hunting on a designated game land while under the influence of alcohol or a narcotic drug;
	(2) failing to comply with restrictions enacted by the National Park Service regarding the use of the Blue Ridge Parkway where it adjoins game lands;
	(3) parking a vehicle on game lands in a manner as to block traffic or gates, or otherwise prevent vehicles from using a roadway; and
	(4) erecting or occupying a tree stand or platform attached by nails, screws, bolts, or to a tree on a game land to hunt. This prohibition does not apply to lag-screw steps or portable stands that are removed after use with no metal remaining in or at...

	(b)  Unless allowed by permit, hunting on game lands shall only be during the open season for game animals and game birds.
	(c)  Individual game lands or parts of game lands may be closed to hunting or limited to specific dates by this Subchapter.
	(d)  Persons shall hunt only with weapons lawful for the open game animal or game bird seasons.
	(e)  On managed waterfowl impoundments, persons shall:
	(1) not enter the posted impoundment areas earlier than 4:00 a.m. on the permitted hunting dates;
	(2) not hunt after 1:00 p.m. on the permitted hunting dates;
	(3) not set decoys out prior to 4:00 a.m.;
	(4) remove decoys by 3:00 p.m. daily; and
	(5) not operate a vessel or vehicle powered by an internal combustion engine.

	(f)  On Sundays, the following shall be prohibited:
	(1) hunting with a firearm between 9:30 a.m. and 12:30 p.m.;
	(2) the use of a firearm to take deer that are run or chased by dogs;
	(3) hunting with a firearm within 500 yards of a place of religious worship, as defined by G.S. 14-54.1(b), or an accessory structure thereof; and
	(4) hunting migratory game birds.

	(g)  On designated Youth Waterfowl Days the following shall apply:
	(1) hunting on managed waterfowl impoundments shall be from one-half hour before sunrise to sunset;
	(2) Subparagraphs (e)(1), (e)(3), and (e)(5) of this Rule; and
	(3) youth may hunt on a game land and on an impoundment without a special hunt permit, including permit-only areas, except where prohibited in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

	(h)  On designated Veterans and Military Waterfowl Days veterans, as defined in 38 USC 101, and members of the Armed Forces on active duty, including members of the National Guard and Reserves on active duty other than for training, with valid credent...
	(i)  On waterfowl impoundments that have a posted "Scouting-only Zone," trapping during the trapping season and waterfowl hunting on designated waterfowl hunting days are the only activities allowed on the portion of the impoundment outside of the pos...
	(j)  Definitions:
	(1) For purposes of this Subchapter, "Dove Only Area" refers to a Game Land on which doves may be taken and dove hunting is limited to Mondays, Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, and New Year's Days within the federally-announced ...
	(2) For purposes of this Subchapter, "Three Days per Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which game may be taken during the open seasons and hunting is limited to Mondays, Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, Veterans Day, Martin Lu...
	(3) For purposes of this Subchapter, "Six Days per Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which game may be taken on the open days of Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday during the open seasons. Falconry may be practiced on Sundays.
	(4) For purposes of this Subchapter, "Seven Days per Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which game may be taken during the open season on Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays.
	(5) For purposes of this Subchapter, "Four Days per Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which game may be taken during the open seasons and hunting is limited to Tuesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays, Sundays, Labor Day, Veterans Day, Christmas Day, New Year...
	(6) For purposes of this Subchapter, "Permit" means a written authorization from the Commission required for take or other activities listed on the permit during open seasons, if applicable, in a specified area and subject to annual limitations impose...
	(7) For the purposes of this Subchapter, "Either-Sex" means antlered or antlerless.

	(k)  Deer shall not be taken with the use of dogs on game lands in counties or parts of counties where taking deer with dogs is prohibited as described in 15A NCAC 10B .0109.
	(l)  On permit hunts, deer of either sex may be taken on the hunt dates indicated on the permit. Completed applications shall be received by the Commission not later than the first day of September next preceding the dates of hunt. Permits shall be is...
	(m)  The following game lands and refuges are closed to hunting except to individuals who have obtained a valid and current permit from the Wildlife Resources Commission:
	(1) Bertie, Halifax and Martin counties—Roanoke River Wetlands;
	(2) Bertie County—Roanoke River National Wildlife Refuge;
	(3) Bladen County—Suggs Mill Pond Game Lands;
	(4) Dare County—Dare Game Lands (Those parts of bombing range posted against hunting);
	(5) Dare County—Roanoke Sound Marshes Game Lands; and
	(6) Henderson and Transylvania counties—DuPont State Forest Game Lands.

	(n)  Access to Hunting Creek Swamp Waterfowl Refuge in Davie County requires written permission from the Commission. Written permission may be granted only when entry onto the Waterfowl Refuge shall not compromise the primary purpose for establishing ...
	(o)  Feral swine may be taken by licensed hunters during the open season for a game animal or game bird using a legal manner of take allowed during those seasons. Dogs may not be used to hunt feral swine except on game lands that allow the use of dogs...
	(p)  The Commission may designate special hunts for participants of the disabled sportsman program by permit. The Commission may schedule these permit hunts during the closed season. Hunt dates and species to be taken shall be identified on the permit...
	(q)  As used in the rules of this Subchapter, horseback riding includes all equine species.
	(r)  When waterfowl hunting is authorized on Christmas and New Years' Day and those days fall on Sundays, the open waterfowl hunting day shall be the following day.
	(a)  Game lands are open to public fishing except:
	(1) restocked ponds when posted against fishing;
	(2) Hunting Creek Swamp Waterfowl Refuge;
	(3) Cedar Rock Creek, Grogan Creek, and John Rock Branch, in Transylvania County; and
	(4) private ponds where fishing is prohibited by the owners.

	(b)  No trotline, set-hook, net, trap, gig, or other special fishing device mentioned in 15A NCAC 10C .0404(b),(c),(d), and (f) may be used in impounded waters located entirely on game lands.
	(c)  Archery equipment may be used to take nongame fishes in impounded waters located entirely on game lands except for those waters mentioned in 15A NCAC 10C .0404(a).
	(d)  Waters located on the game lands listed in this Subparagraph are designated public mountain trout waters except as noted.
	(1) Cold Mountain Game Land in Haywood County.
	(2) DuPont State Forest Game Lands in Henderson and Transylvania counties, except:
	(3) Green River Game Land in Henderson and Polk counties, except Green River downstream of the natural gas pipeline crossing.
	(4) Headwaters Game Land in Transylvania County.
	(5) Nantahala National Forest Game Lands in Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Jackson, Macon, Swain, and Transylvania counties, except Cheoah River downstream of Santeetlah Reservoir and Cherokee Lake.
	(6) Pisgah National Forest Game Lands in Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Haywood, Henderson, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Transylvania, Watauga, and Yancey counties, except:
	(7) Pond Mountain Game Land in Ashe County.
	(8) Little Fork State Forest Game Land in Wilkes County.
	(9) South Mountains Game Land in Cleveland and Rutherford counties.
	(10) Three Top Mountain Game Land in Ashe County.
	(11) Thurmond Chatham Game Land in Wilkes County.
	(12) Toxaway Game Land in Transylvania County.
	(13) William H. Silvers Game Land in Haywood County.

	(e) The designated public mountain trout waters located on the game lands listed in Paragraph (d) of this Rule are Wild Trout Waters unless classified otherwise in 15A NCAC 10C .0205(d).
	(a)  For purposes of this Rule, the following definitions apply:
	(1) "Other materials" means metals, minerals, rocks, soil, organic debris, buildings, fences, archeological resources as defined in G.S. 70-12, and water.
	(2) "Commission lands" means State-owned game lands, hatcheries, depots, refuges, boating access areas and public fishing access areas, or parts thereof, allocated to the Wildlife Resources Commission.
	(3) "Written permission" means permits, sales agreements, agricultural agreements, and letters written by authorized Commission personnel. Written permissions shall specify the type of activity allowed, the Commission land(s) where the activity may oc...

	(b)  On Commission lands:
	(1) No wildlife resources, fungi, invertebrates, eggs, nests, animal parts, plants, plant materials, or other materials shall be possessed on or removed from Commission lands except:
	(2) Game, fur-bearing animals, wildlife resources, fisheries resources, and nongame animals or birds, legally taken pursuant to a valid hunting, trapping, fishing, falconry, or other collection license that entitles the licensee to access and use Wild...
	(3) Berries, fruit, nuts, mushrooms, ramps and other plants or plant materials for human consumption may be possessed on and removed from Commission lands without written permission for personal consumption only, except any fungi, plant or part thereo...
	(4) Insects, worms, or other invertebrates collected as fish bait may be possessed on and removed from Commission lands without written permission for personal use only, except species on a State or federal protected list may not be collected and may ...
	(5) Minimal amounts of animal parts, plant parts not removed from live plants, and other materials may be collected by hand and removed from Commission lands without written permission, except in violation of rules, general statutes, or federal law. C...
	(6) Litter and road kill animals may be removed without written permission, except in violation of 15A NCAC 10B .0106.
	(7) A collection license as described in 15A NCAC 10B .0119 does not qualify as written permission to collect or remove wildlife resources from Commission lands. Written permission shall be specific to the Commission land.

	(c)  On the other lands enrolled in the game land program:
	(1) Game, fur-bearing animals, fisheries resources, and nongame animals or birds legally taken pursuant to a valid hunting, trapping, fishing, falconry, or collection license may be possessed on and removed from game lands.
	(2) Possession and removal of other wildlife resources, fungi, invertebrates, eggs, nests, animals parts, plants, and plant materials is subject to the rules of the Commission and is at the discretion of the landowner, except where the landowner has c...

	(d)  Except as referenced in Subparagraph (b)(5) of this Rule, other materials may be possessed or removed from Commission lands and other lands enrolled in the game land program with written permission from the Commission, except for archeological re...
	Butner-Falls of Neuse game land is a Six Days per Week Area, in which the following applies:
	R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell is a Three Days per Week Area, in which the following applies:
	Gull Rock is a Seven Days per Week Area, in which the following applies:
	Johns River game land is hunting by permit only. The following shall apply:
	Jordan game land is a Six Days per Week Area, in which the following applies:
	Pee Dee River game land is a Seven Days per Week Area, in which the following applies:
	(a)  Rocky Run game land is hunting by permit only.
	(b)  Target shooting is prohibited.
	Sandhills game land is a Three Days per Week Area, in which the following applies:
	(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters in Chatuge Lake:
	(1) the waters shore to shore within 150 yards of the boat ramp at Ho Hum Campground at 47 Ho Hum Loop, Hayesville;
	(2) the waters of Shooting Creek, from a line shore to shore 50 yards west of the High Bridge on NC Highway 175, to a line at the southeast end of Shooting Creek shore to shore, from a point at 35.01960 N, 83.72752 W; to a point at 35.01979 N, 83.7263...
	(3) the waters of Gibson Cove, south of a line from a point on the east shore at 35.01005 N, 83.79750 W to a point on the west shore at 35.01099 N, 83.79929 W, southwest to the end of Gibson Cove at 3279 Myers Chapel Road in Hayesville;
	(4) within 50 yards of the Chatuge Cove Marina at 2397 Highway 175 in Hayesville;
	(5) the portion of the cove shore to shore, west of Cottage Court off of NC Highway 175, northeast of a line from a point on the east shore at 35.02576 N, 83.73784 W; to a point on the northwest shore at 35.02609 N, 83.73945 W;
	(6) within 50 yards of the Chatuge Dam Spillway access area in the vicinity of 1407 Chatuge Dam Road in Hayesville; and
	(7) within 50 yards of the peninsula at Clay County Recreational Park, from a point on the north shore at 35.00850 N, 83.79254 W, east to a point in the water at 35.00874 N, 83.79187 W, south to a point in the water at 35.00782 N, 83.79119 W, southwes...

	(b)  Speed Limit. It shall be unlawful to operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed within the regulated areas identified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
	(c)  Swimming Area. No person operating or responsible for the operation of a vessel shall allow it to enter the waters of the Clay County Recreational Park Swimming Area at Clay County Recreational Park, 47 Clay Recreation Park Road, Hayesville.
	(d)  Restricted Area. It shall be unlawful to operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed within the no-wake zone at the Jack Rabbit Mountain Swim Area on Jack Rabbit Road in Hayesville. No person operating or responsible for the operation of a ves...
	(e)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of Clay County shall be the designated agency for placement of the markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the Tennessee Valley Authority and the United States Army Corps of Engi...
	(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters in Forsyth, Rockingham, and Stokes counties:
	(1) Belews Lake within 50 yards of a public boat launching ramp on the lake, and within 50 yards of a bridge crossing on the lake;
	(2) Belews Lake at Humphrey's Ridge Marina and Grill at 473-499 Humphrey Ridge Drive in Stokesdale, east of a line from a point on the north shore at 36.27962 N, 80.03507 W to a point on the south shore at 36.27804 N, 80.03565 W; and

	(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed within the regulated areas identified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
	(c)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The Boards of Commissioners of Forsyth County, Rockingham County and Stokes County, or their designees shall be the designated agencies for placement and maintenance of markers implementing this Rule. Markers...
	(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters of Lake Wylie in Mecklenburg and Gaston Counties:
	(1) McDowell Park. The waters of the coves adjoining McDowell Park and the Southwest Nature Preserve in Mecklenburg County shore to shore, east of the mouth of the cove at a line from a point on the south shore at 35.10272 N, 81.03026 W to a point on ...
	(2) Gaston County Wildlife Club Cove. The waters of the cove west of the Gaston County Wildlife Club on South Point Road in Belmont, north of a line at the mouth of the cove from a point on the east shore at 35.15628 N, 81.01427 W to a point on the we...
	(3) Buster Boyd Bridge. The waters from a point 250 feet east of the Buster Boyd Bridge on N.C. Highway 49 in Mecklenburg County at 35.10293 N, 81.03932 W, to a point 150 feet west of the Buster Boyd Bridge at 35.10242 N, 81.04089 W;
	(4) N.C. Highway 27 bridge. The waters shore to shore, from a point 50 yards north of the N.C. Highway 27 bridge in Mecklenburg and Gaston counties at 35.29849 N, 81.00346 W to a point 190 yards south of the N.C. Highway 27 bridge at 35.29635 N, 81.00...
	(5) Brown's Cove. The area beginning at the mouth of Brown's Cove in Mecklenburg County shore to shore, at a point at 35.16453 N, 81.00474 W, west to a point at 35.16480 N, 81.00309 W;
	(6) Paradise Point Cove. The waters of Paradise Point Cove in Gaston County between Paradise Circle and Lake Front Drive, west of a line from a point on the south shore at 35.18853 N, 81.04036 W to a point on the north shore at 35.18991 N, 81.04136 W;
	(7) Withers Cove. The waters of Withers Cove in Mecklenburg County, shore to shore, beginning at a line north of the Mecklenburg Charlotte Fire Department and Police Department Boathouse from a point on the west shore at 35.14632 N, 81.00383 W to a po...
	(8) Sadler Island. The waters shore to shore beginning at a line from a point on the west shore of Lake Wylie in Gaston County at 35.27481 N, 81.0138 W east to a point on the east shore of the Lake in Mecklenburg County at 35.27423 N, 81.01111 W, exte...
	(9) Other bridges. The areas within 50 feet of a bridge in North Carolina that crosses the waters of Lake Wylie that is not otherwise specifically mentioned in this Paragraph; and
	(10) Yachtsman on Lake Wylie Community. The waters within 50 yards of the community piers near the terminus of Waterside Drive in Mecklenburg County, and northward to include the waters east of the island that is west of Point Lookout Road, ending at ...
	(11) Brown's Cove. The waters of Brown's Cove beginning at a line from a point on the east shore at 35.16892 N, 80.99702 W to a point on the west shore at 35.16948 N, 80.99783 W, northeast to a line from a point on the south shore at 35.16913 N, 80.99...

	(b)  Speed Limit Near Ramps. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of a public boat-launching ramp, dock, pier, marina, boat storage structure, or boat service area.
	(c)  Speed Limit Near Marked Swimming or Mooring Areas. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of a marked mooring area or marked swimming area.
	(d)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The Lake Wylie Marine Commission shall be the designated agency for placement and maintenance of markers implementing this Rule.
	(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters:
	(1) Perquimans River:
	(2) Yeopim River:
	(3) Yeopim Creek:
	(4) Little River: the entrance to the cove known as Muddy Gut Canal that extends from the waters known as Deep Creek, shore to shore beginning at a line from a point on the east shore at 36.17729 N, 76.28011 W to a point on the west shore at 36.17667 ...

	(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed within the regulated area described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
	(c)  Swimming Area. No person operating or responsible for the operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter the swimming area at the Snug Harbor Park and Beach on the Yeopim River.
	(d)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of Perquimans County is the designated agency for placement of markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the United States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of Engineers.
	(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule applies to the waters of Lake Roxboro, located near Frogsboro in Person and Caswell counties, in the channel between a line shore to shore from 36.32069 N, 79.15373 W, and a line shore to shore at 36.31651 N, 79.15165 W.
	(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed within the regulated area described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
	(c)  Placement of Markers. The City of Roxboro is the designated agency for placement and maintenance of the markers implementing this Rule.
	The Division of Marine Fisheries shall classify shellfish growing waters with respect to marinas, docking facilities, and other mooring areas as follows:
	The following definitions shall apply throughout this Section:
	(a)  Construction plans drawn to scale and specifications for a new child care center that is not a chain or franchise child care center shall be submitted by the operator or the operator's designee to the local health department that serves the count...
	(b)  The local health department or the DHHS, Division of Public Health, Environmental Health Section, as applicable, shall approve plans described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule when the plans meet the requirements of the rules of this Section that pe...
	(c)  Construction and modifications shall comply with the plans approved pursuant to this Rule.
	(a)  Child care center employees shall wash their hands as follows when at work in a child care center:
	(1) upon reporting for work at the child care center:
	(2) before and after handling or preparing food;
	(3) before bottle feeding a child;
	(4) before providing food service;
	(5) before handling clean utensils;
	(6) after toileting or handling of body fluids, including but not limited to saliva, nasal secretions, vomitus, feces, urine, blood, secretions from sores, and pustulant discharge;
	(7) after diaper changing;
	(8) after handling soiled items that are not clean;
	(9) after being outdoors;
	(10) after handling animals or animal cages; and
	(11) after removing disposable gloves.

	(b)  The use of a hand antiseptic does not replace the requirements for handwashing in Paragraph (a) of this Rule except that an employee who is supervising a child or children outdoors may use a hand antiseptic while outdoors in lieu of handwashing, ...
	(c)  Child care center employees shall ensure that children wash their hands as follows:
	(1) upon arrival at the child care center;
	(2) after each diaper change or visit to the toilet;
	(3) before eating meals or snacks;
	(4) before and after water play;
	(5) after being outdoors; and
	(6) after handling animals or animal cages.

	(d)  Except when the action that necessitates handwashing is diapering and before eating meals or snacks, hand antiseptics may be used in lieu of handwashing while a child is outdoors, provided that the child's hands are washed when the child returns ...
	(e)  Handwashing procedures shall include the following steps:
	(1) using liquid soap and tempered water;
	(2) rubbing hands vigorously with soap and tempered water for 15 seconds;
	(3) washing all surfaces of the hands, to include the backs of hands, palms, wrists, under fingernails, and between fingers;
	(4) rinsing the hands under tempered water for 10 seconds;
	(5) drying the hands with a paper towel or other hand-drying device; and
	(6) turning off faucet with a paper towel or other method without recontaminating hands.

	(a)  In child care centers, food shall be kept free from spoilage, filth, or other contamination and shall be safe for human consumption. Potentially hazardous foods, including foods packaged in hermetically sealed containers, shall be obtained only f...
	(b)  Milk products that are used shall be Grade "A" milk and milk products, as set forth in Section 1 of the 2017 Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, including subsequent amendments and editions, established by the U.S. Department of Health and Huma...
	(c)  Steamed and uncooked shellfish, raw eggs, and products containing raw eggs including raw cookie dough, cake batter, brownie mix, milkshakes, and ice cream shall not be consumed by children. This requirement shall not apply when a pasteurized egg ...
	(d)  All human milk, formula, and other bottled beverages, including beverages in sippy cups, that are sent from home shall be fully prepared and labeled with the date received at the child care center and the name of the child to whom the milk, formu...
	(e)  Frozen human milk may be stored frozen for three months. Any frozen human milk stored beyond seven days shall be stored in the freezer compartment of a full-size refrigerator that has a separate door to the freezer, in a chest freezer, or in an u...
	(f)  Formula provided by the child care center shall be commercial ready-to-feed formula that is pre-packaged in single-use containers. Formula that does not meet these requirements and human milk may be provided to a child by child care center employ...
	(g)  After opening, jars of baby food shall be covered, labeled with the date on which they were opened, refrigerated and used within two days of opening, provided that the baby food is not served directly from the jar. Baby food may be served directl...
	(h)  After the completion of each feeding, any leftover formula, human milk, or other bottled beverages used during the feeding shall be discarded or sent home with the child whose name is on the label for the formula, human milk, or bottled beverage ...
	(i)  A water bottle that a child brings to the child care center from home and that is used only for water consumption by that child shall be exempt from the requirements of Paragraph (h) of this Rule. Instead, the water bottle shall be labeled with t...
	(j)  Child care centers that receive and provide children with prepared meals or snacks from sources outside the child care centers, other than meals or snacks sent from home, shall use meals and snacks obtained from food establishments that are permi...
	(k)  Lunches, snacks, and other meals that a child brings from home to the child care center shall be labeled with the date on which the food is brought to the child care center and the name of the child to whom the food belongs at the child's home an...
	(l)  Nothing in the Rules of this Section shall prohibit the use of fresh fruits and vegetables, including those grown at the child care center, so long as the fruits and vegetables meet the requirements of the rules of this Section and are washed bef...
	(a)  Once pre-packaged food has been opened, the food shall be stored in clean, resealable bags or containers made of plastic or glass that are tightly covered and manufactured for the purpose of food storage.
	(b)  Food that is stored in child care center classrooms or other rooms intended for child care use, shall be limited to foods that are individually packaged unless the classroom is equipped with a food preparation area.
	(c)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (b) of this Rule, bulk dry goods or food stored in freezers may be stored in rooms in child care centers that are not equipped with a food preparation area when all food preparation involving the bulk dry goods or frozen...
	(d)  Bulk food stored in a refrigerator shall be stored at 45 degrees Fahrenheit or below and stored in the child care center's kitchen or in an approved food preparation area equipped with a full-size refrigerator. Specialty bulk milk that is sent fr...
	(e)  Dry goods that are stored in containers shall be labeled.
	(f)  Food and containers of food shall not be stored under exposed sewer lines. Food shall not be stored in toilet or laundry rooms, except that child care centers licensed for fewer than 13 children and located in a residence may store food in laundr...
	(g)  Food shall be stored above the floor and in a manner to protect it from dust, pests, drip, splash, and other contamination.
	(h)  Raw meats, poultry, fish, shellfish and eggs shall be stored in a refrigerator or freezer on shelving beneath and separate from other foods. The temperature of potentially hazardous food provided by the child care center for consumption by childr...
	(i)  Sealed, commercially pre-packaged food may be stored in undrained ice as long as the food is not fully submerged in ice or water. Wrapped sandwiches and other foods shall not be stored in direct contact with ice.
	(j)  The following shall apply to refrigerated storage of food:
	(1) Refrigeration equipment shall be provided in such number and of such capacity to ensure the maintenance of potentially hazardous food at the required temperatures during storage. Each refrigerator shall be provided with a numerically scaled indica...
	(2) Potentially hazardous food requiring refrigeration after preparation shall be cooled to an internal temperature of 45 degrees Fahrenheit or below. Cooling of potentially hazardous foods shall be initiated upon completion of the food preparation or...
	(3) Ice used for cooling stored food and food containers shall not be used for human consumption.

	(k)  The following shall apply to the hot storage of food:
	(1) Hot food storage equipment shall be provided in sufficient number and capacity to ensure the maintenance of food at the required temperature during storage. Each hot food unit shall be provided with a numerically scaled indicating thermometer that...
	(2) The internal temperature of potentially hazardous foods requiring hot storage shall be 135 degrees Fahrenheit or above except during periods of preparation and service. Potentially hazardous food that will be transported hot shall be held at a tem...

	(l)  In the event of a fire, flood, water supply interruption, power outage, or other event that results in the contamination of food, or that might prevent potentially hazardous food from being held at required temperatures, the person in charge shal...
	(a)  In child care centers, the preparation of food shall take place only in the kitchen or space equipped as required in Rule .2810 of this Section.
	(b)  Employees engaged in food preparation in the kitchen shall wear clean clothes and hair restraints, as set out in Part 2-402.11 of the Food Code incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A .2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2652, and shall keep their...
	(c)  Food shall be prepared using utensils, deli paper, or disposable gloves to prevent exposed, ready-to-eat-food from coming into direct contact with an employee's bare hands or exposed skin. Food shall be prepared on food-contact surfaces that have...
	(d)  Raw fruits and raw vegetables shall be washed with potable water before being cooked or served.
	(e)  Potentially hazardous foods requiring cooking shall be cooked to heat all parts of the food to a temperature of at least 145 degrees Fahrenheit, except that:
	(1) poultry, poultry stuffings, stuffed meats and stuffings containing meat shall be cooked to heat all parts of the food to at least 165 degrees Fahrenheit with no interruption of the cooking process;
	(2) ground beef, other ground or comminuted meat or fish, and eggs pooled and cooked for hot storage shall be cooked to an internal temperature of at least 155 degrees Fahrenheit with no interruption in the cooking process; and
	(3) roast beef shall be cooked to an internal temperature of at least 130 degrees Fahrenheit with no interruption in the cooking process.

	(f)  Potentially hazardous foods that require cooking prior to consumption and cooked in a microwave oven shall be heated to an internal temperature of at least 165 degrees Fahrenheit.
	(g)  Potentially hazardous foods that have been cooked and then refrigerated, if served above 45 degrees Fahrenheit, shall be reheated to an internal temperature of 165 degrees Fahrenheit or higher before being served or before being placed in a hot f...
	(h)  Metal stem-type, thin probe, numerically scaled indicating product thermometers, accurate to ± 3 degrees Fahrenheit shall be used to ensure the maintenance of the internal cooking temperatures of all potentially hazardous foods required under thi...
	(i)  Potentially hazardous foods that are frozen shall be thawed using one of the following methods:
	(1) in refrigerated units at a temperature not to exceed 45 degrees Fahrenheit;
	(2) submerged under potable water of a temperature of 70 degrees Fahrenheit or below, with sufficient water velocity to agitate and float off loose food particles into the overflow;
	(3) in a microwave oven only when the food will be immediately transferred to conventional cooking equipment as part of a continuous cooking process or when the entire, uninterrupted cooking process takes place in the microwave oven; or
	(4) as part of the uninterrupted cooking process.

	(a)  In child care centers, milk and milk products used for drinking purposes shall be stored in the original commercially filled container until the milk or milk product is served for drinking. Unused milk and milk products that are transferred from ...
	(b)  Ice shall be protected against physical, chemical, and biological contamination and shall be kept clean. Ice shall be dispensed with scoops, tongs, or other ice-dispensing utensils or through automatic ice-dispensing equipment. Ice-dispensing ute...
	(c)  Food that is leftover after serving shall not be served again unless the original package is unopened and the food is not a potentially hazardous food. Foods that have been placed on the table for family style or self-serve food service are consi...
	(d)  Between uses during service, utensils that are used to serve food shall be stored in the food with the utensil handle extended out of the food, in a container of water if the water is maintained at a temperature of at least 135 degrees Fahrenheit...
	(e)  Children shall not be in the kitchen except when participating in a supervised activity.
	(f)  Nothing in this Section shall be construed as prohibiting family style or self-serve food service at child care centers provided that children are supervised by child care center employees for the duration of the meal. Notwithstanding the foregoi...
	In child care centers, material, construction, and use of food service equipment and utensils shall meet the following requirements:
	(a)  Each child care center shall have at least a two-compartment sink, drainboards or countertop space of adequate size, adequate refrigeration equipment and, when needed, adequate cooking equipment, except that this requirement shall not apply to ch...
	(1) a dishwasher and two-compartment sink, or
	(2) a three-compartment sink of sufficient size and depth to submerge, wash, rinse and sanitize utensils.

	(b)  A separate lavatory for handwashing is required in food preparation areas and kitchens. If the dishwashing area is separate from the food preparation area, an additional handwashing lavatory shall be required in the dishwashing area.
	(c)  A separate food preparation sink with drainboards or countertop space of adequate size shall be required when a review of construction plans, modifications, or change in child care procedures indicates that separate facilities are needed based on...
	(d)  Except in child care centers licensed for fewer than 13 children and located in a residence, when domestic refrigeration equipment is used the following shall apply:
	(1) except for thawing in a refrigerator, potentially hazardous foods shall not be prepared prior to the day that such foods are to be served;
	(2) potentially hazardous foods that have been heated shall not be reheated or placed in refrigeration to be used in whole or in part on another day; and
	(3) salads containing potentially hazardous food shall not be prepared on site. Prohibited salads include chicken, egg, tuna, crab, and other salads containing meat.

	(e)  A commercial hood shall be installed in accordance with G.S. 110-91 when frying is used for food preparation on-site at the child care center.
	(f)  If food is prepared in a child care center classroom, then the classroom shall be equipped with a food preparation area. Water from a handwash lavatory shall not be used for bottle warming or to prepare formula, mix dry cereals, or other foods. T...
	(1) all equipment shall be kept clean. Bottle warming equipment shall be cleaned and sanitized as required in Rule .2812 of this Section and the manufacturer's instructions;
	(2) if bottles are warmed, bottles shall be warmed in the child care center's kitchen or food preparation area. Bottle warming equipment shall be kept out of reach of children. Microwaves and slow cookers shall not be used to thaw or warm human milk, ...
	(3) after each use, multi-service articles provided by the child care center shall be cleaned and sanitized in the child care center kitchen.

	(a)  Each child care center shall be equipped with adequate drainboards or countertop space for handling used utensils and air drying clean and sanitized utensils. For child care centers originally licensed on or after April 15, 1998, drainboards or c...
	(b)  Except for fixed equipment and utensils too large to be cleaned in sink compartments, equipment and utensils that are cleaned manually instead of in a dishwasher shall be washed, rinsed, and sanitized as follows, in the order of the steps present...
	(1) equipment and utensils shall be scraped, flushed with water, or soaked with water to remove food particles;
	(2) sinks shall be cleaned and sanitized before proceeding to Subparagraph (3) of this Paragraph;
	(3) equipment and utensils shall be washed in the first compartment of the sink with a hot detergent solution that is changed once visibly soiled;
	(4) equipment and utensils shall be rinsed free of detergent solution with clean water in the second compartment of the sink; and
	(5) the food-contact surfaces of equipment and utensils shall be sanitized in the third compartment of the sink in the following manner:

	(c)  When utensils and equipment are washed mechanically using a dishwasher, food-contact surfaces of equipment and utensils shall be sanitized according to the dishwasher manufacturer's instructions. When a domestic dishwashing machine with a sanitiz...
	(d)  For fixed equipment and utensils and equipment that are too large to sanitize in a dishwashing machine or dishwashing sink, a spray-on or wipe-on sanitizer of sufficient chemical strength as indicated in Subparagraph (b)(5) of this Rule shall be ...
	(e)  Multi-service articles, including highchair feeding trays, shall be washed, rinsed and sanitized in the child care center kitchen after each use.
	(f)  Kitchen surfaces that are not food-contact surfaces shall be kept clean.
	(g)  A testing method or equipment shall be used in accordance with the product manufacturer's instructions to test the strengths of sanitizing solutions to ensure the prescribed concentrations are met.
	(h)  After sanitizing, all equipment and utensils shall be air dried.
	(i)  An approved disinfectant shall be provided for cleaning purposes. Throughout this Section, when an approved disinfectant is used in a child care center, the manufacturer's Safety Data Sheets for the disinfectant product shall be kept on file at t...
	(j)  A sanitizing solution shall be provided for cleaning purposes. Throughout this Section, when a sanitizing solution is used in a child care center, the manufacturer's Safety Data Sheet shall be kept on file at the child care center and the instruc...
	(a)  In child care centers, food-contact surfaces, equipment, utensils, and single service articles shall be protected from contamination.
	(b)  Cleaned and sanitized utensils and equipment shall be stored above the floor in a clean, dry location and shall be kept clean while stored. The food-contact surfaces of fixed equipment shall be kept clean while stored or otherwise not in use. Equ...
	(a)  A child care center's water supply shall meet the requirements of 15A NCAC 18C or 15A NCAC 18A .1700, as applicable. The operator of a child care center using a groundwater supply that serves 25 or more people shall provide the local health depar...
	The Department may collect additional samples for tests of water quality, as indicated by possible additional sources of contamination.
	(b)  Water under pressure shall be provided to meet the child care center's needs of cooking, cleaning, drinking, toilets, and outside uses.
	(c)  A child care center's water supply plumbing shall not include cross-connections as set out in 15A NCAC 18C .0102(c)(8). If the potential for back siphonage or backflow conditions exist, an atmospheric vacuum breaker or backflow prevention device ...
	(d)  Water heating equipment shall be provided to meet the hot water requirements set forth in this Rule. The capacity and recovery rates of water heating equipment shall be based on number and size of sinks, capacity of dishwashing machines, capacity...
	(e)  Hot water used for cleaning and sanitizing utensils and laundry shall be provided at a minimum temperature of 120 degrees Fahrenheit at the point of use. Water in areas accessible to children shall be tempered between 80 degrees Fahrenheit and 11...
	(f)  Drinking fountains, if provided, shall be separate from handwash lavatories and kept clean. The water pressure of a drinking fountain shall be regulated so that an individual's mouth does not come in contact with the nozzle and so that water does...
	(g)  Outdoor drinking fountains shall be constructed to protect the spout from contamination by hazards and shall be kept clean.
	(a)  In child care centers, areas accessible to children shall be free of identified lead poisoning hazards as defined under G.S. 130A-131.7(7).
	(b)  The following actions shall be taken to ensure that drinking water in child care centers is free of identified lead poisoning hazards as defined under G.S. 130A-131.7(7)(g).
	(1) Child care operators, as defined under G.S. 110-86(7), shall test, once every three years, all water outlets used for drinking or food preparation. Samples shall also be collected and tested within 30 calendar days of completion of any renovations...
	(2) For child care centers that submit an application for licensure in accordance with 10A NCAC 09 .0302 after the effective date of this Rule, initial samples shall be collected by the child care operator and tested in accordance with Subparagraph (b...
	(3) For all other centers, initial samples shall be collected by the child care operator and tested in accordance with Subparagraph (b)(4) of this Rule within one year of the effective date of this Rule.
	(4) The child care operator shall collect samples and submit them for testing in accordance with guidance specified by the United States Environmental Protection Agency in its publication, 3Ts for Reducing Lead in Drinking Water in Schools and Child C...
	(5) When a water sample is analyzed for lead content by a laboratory under this Rule, the laboratory shall notify the Department of the test results by electronic submission in accordance with G.S. 130A-131.8.
	(6) When a child care center receives test results from a laboratory indicating that a water sample collected by the child care operator contains a lead concentration at or above the lead poisoning hazard level defined in G.S. 130A-131.7(7)(g), the ch...
	(7) When notified of a water lead level at or above the lead poisoning hazard level, the Department shall conduct sampling at the water outlet identified to have a water lead level at or above the lead poisoning hazard level within 10 business days of...
	(8) If a water sample collected by the Department reveals a water lead level at or above the lead poisoning hazard level, the child care operator shall continue to follow Subparagraph (b)(6) of this Rule until the Department determines the water outle...
	(9) Failure to comply with Paragraph (a) of this Rule or any Subparagraph of this Paragraph, shall be deemed a violation of this Rule subject to demerits under Rule .2834(c)(20) of this Section.
	(10) Within five business days of receiving the test results of the Department's water analysis that shows a water lead level at or above the lead poisoning hazard level, the child care center operator shall provide written notification of the test re...
	(11) Within five business days of receiving the test results of the Department's water analysis that shows a water lead level at or above the lead poisoning hazard level, the child care center operator shall make the test results available to the publ...

	(a)  In child care centers, toilet tissue paper shall be provided in each toilet room and stored in a clean, dry place. The toilet room shall include or be adjacent to a handwash lavatory. Storage in toilet rooms shall be limited to toileting and diap...
	(b)  Toilet fixtures shall be cleaned and disinfected daily and when visibly soiled.
	(c)  If potty chairs are used, they shall be located and stored in a toilet room equipped with a spray-rinse toilet or utility sink. Potty chairs shall be emptied, rinsed, cleaned and disinfected after each use.
	(d)  When cloth diapers are used and emptied, the diaper changing area shall be located next to a toilet room.
	(a)  In child care centers, lavatories shall be kept clean and in good repair and shall not be used for storage. Lavatories shall be mounted at an appropriate height to accommodate children or otherwise made accessible to children. Water from a handwa...
	(b)  Lavatories shall be equipped with hot and cold water or tempered water provided through mixing faucets or pre-mixing devices which provide water in the temperature range specified in Rule .2815(e) of this Section.
	(c)  Lavatories shall be cleaned and disinfected with each change of use, when visibly soiled, and at least daily. Change of use occurs when a handwash lavatory is used outside of its original intent. Change of use includes, but is not limited to, a c...
	(d)  Liquid soap and disposable towels or other hand-drying devices shall be provided at every handwash lavatory area.
	(e)  Handwash signs shall be posted at every handwash lavatory area. The signs shall instruct children and child care center employees to wash their hands in accordance with Rule .2803 of this Section.
	(a)  In child care centers, children in diapers shall be changed at stations designated for diapering or toileting. Each diaper changing station shall include a handwash lavatory. For child care centers licensed for fewer than 13 children and located ...
	(b)  Diapering surfaces shall be made of smooth, intact, nonabsorbent material and shall be kept clean and in good repair. Nothing shall be placed on the diapering surface except for those items required for diapering and the child whose diaper will b...
	(c)  Diapering surfaces shall be disinfected using an approved disinfectant. Approved disinfectants and detergent solution shall be kept in separate and labeled bottles at each diaper changing station. Approved disinfectants that are chlorine disinfec...
	(d)  Child care center employees shall change a child's diaper as follows:
	(1) gathering supplies before placing child on diapering surface;
	(2) donning disposable gloves (if needed);
	(3) using disposable towelette or moistened paper towel to clean child, wiping front to back;
	(4) disposing of gloves if used, soiled towelettes and diaper in a plastic-lined, covered receptacle;
	(5) wiping the child care center employee's hands and the child's hands each with a separate disposable towelette or moistened paper towel;
	(6) sliding a clean diaper under the child, applying diapering products if needed, using facial or toilet tissue, and discarding the tissue in a plastic-lined, covered receptacle;
	(7) fastening the diaper and placing clothing on child;
	(8) washing child's hands in accordance with Rule .2803 of this Section, or, if child is unable to support the child's head, cleaning the child's hands with a disposable towelette or moistened paper towel, then drying the child's hands and returning t...
	(9) spraying entire diapering surface with detergent solution and wipe clean, using disposable paper towels;
	(10) spraying entire diapering surface with an approved disinfectant and allowing to remain on the surface for two minutes or as specified by the manufacturer, or air dry; and
	(11) washing hands in accordance with Rule .2803 of this Section even if disposable gloves are used by the child care center employee.

	(e)  Vinyl or latex disposable gloves shall be used by child care center employees during the diaper changing process if the employee's hands have cuts, sores, or chapped skin.
	(f)  Child care center employees may dispose of feces from diapers in the toilet, but shall not rinse soiled cloth diapers, training pants, or clothes. Soiled cloth diapers, training pants, or clothes shall be sent to a diaper service or placed in a s...
	(g)  Receptacles containing soiled disposable diapers shall be emptied in a garbage area located outside the child care center building daily.
	(h)  Signs that instruct child care center employees on proper methods of diaper changing and handwashing as set forth in the rules of this Section shall be posted in each diaper changing area.
	(a)  In child care centers, adequate space shall be provided for the storage of equipment, furniture, toys, clothes, linens, backpacks, book bags, diaper bags, beds, cots, mats, and supplies. Storage areas shall be kept clean. Laundry that is not clea...
	(b)  Toxic substances, which include corrosive agents, pesticides, bleaches, detergents, cleansers, polishes, any product which is under pressure in an aerosol dispenser, and any substance which may be hazardous to a child if ingested, inhaled, or han...
	(c)  Non-aerosol sanitizing solutions, approved disinfectants, detergent solutions, hand antiseptics, and hand lotions shall be kept inaccessible to children when not in use, but are not required to be in locked storage. These solutions shall be label...
	(d)  Medications including prescription and non-prescription items shall be stored in a locked cabinet or other locked container and shall not be stored above food. Designated emergency medications shall be kept inaccessible to children, but are not r...
	(e)  A locked kitchen is not considered to be a locked storage room or cabinet for the purposes of this Rule; however, for child care centers that are located within a school and that use the school cafeteria's kitchen to meet the kitchen requirements...
	(f)  Individual cubicles, lockers, or coat hooks shall be provided for storage of coats, hats, bags, or other items and accessories. Coat hooks not in individual cubicles or lockers, shall be spaced at least 12 horizontal inches apart. A child's coats...
	(g)  Purses and other personal effects belonging to child care center employees shall be kept inaccessible to children and shall be stored in accordance with this Rule, as applicable.
	(a)  In child care centers, beds, cribs, cots, mats, and play pens shall be kept clean and in good repair, stored to prevent contamination, and cleaned and sanitized between users.
	(b)  Cribs and play pens used for sleeping shall be kept clean and equipped with a firm, tight-fitting mattress made of waterproof, washable material at least two inches thick.
	(c)  Beds, cots, and mats shall be assigned and labeled for use by an individual child and equipped with individual linens.
	(d)  Mats shall be of a waterproof, washable material at least two inches thick and shall be stored so that the side of the mats that makes contact with the floor does not touch the side of a mat that any child sleeps on. The sleeping surface of one c...
	(e)  When in use, cribs, cots, mats and play pens shall be placed at least 18 inches apart or separated by partitions that prevent physical contact between children.
	(f)  Linens shall be kept clean, in good repair, and stored with the mat or cot that the linens are assigned to or stored apart from the mattress or cot in a manner that keeps the linens used for each child separate from the linens belonging to other ...
	(g)  Wash cloths, bibs, and burping cloths shall be laundered after each use. Each time a wash cloth, bib, or burping cloth is used, it shall be used for only one child.
	(a)  Toys, equipment, and furniture provided by a child care center shall be kept clean and in good repair. In rooms designated for children who are not toilet trained, toys and other mouth-contact surfaces that are used by children shall be cleaned a...
	(1) the items shall be scrubbed in warm, soapy water, using a brush to reach into any crevices;
	(2) the items shall be rinsed in clean water;
	(3) the items shall be submerged in a sanitizing solution for at least two minutes or in accordance with the instructions on the label of the sanitizing solution; and
	(4) the items shall be air dried.

	(b)  Toys and other mouth-contact surfaces that are not designed to be submerged in liquid shall be washed and rinsed in place, sprayed with a sanitizing solution, and allowed to air dry. Hard plastic toys may be washed and rinsed in a dishwasher and ...
	(c)  Toys, furniture, cribs, or other items accessible to children shall be free of peeling, flaking, or chalking paint.
	(d)  Water play centers shall be filled with potable water immediately before children begin a water play session. Water shall be emptied after each play session and at a minimum each morning and afternoon, or more often if no longer clean. The water ...
	(a)  In child care centers, employees shall wear clean clothing while at work. Employees shall keep their fingernails clean.
	(b)  Tobacco use in any form is prohibited in any part of a child care center.
	(c)  Volunteer personnel shall adhere to the same requirements as child care center employees, as specified in the rules of this Section.
	(a)  In child care centers, floors and floor coverings in food preparation, food storage, utensil washing, toilet rooms, and laundry areas shall be constructed of nonabsorbent material and shall be kept clean and in good repair.
	(b)  Floors and floor coverings in sleeping and play areas shall be kept clean and in good repair.
	(c)  Carpeting used as a floor covering shall be of closely woven construction and shall be kept clean and in good repair. Carpeted floors shall be vacuumed daily when children are not present in the room, except to clean up spills. Instead of waiting...
	(d)  Floors in areas accessible to children, shall be kept free of peeling, flaking, chalking, or otherwise deteriorating paint.
	(a)  In child care centers, the walls and ceilings, including doors and windows, of all rooms and areas shall be kept clean, free of visible fungal growth, and in good repair. All walls and ceilings shall be free of peeling, flaking, chalking, or othe...
	(b)  Walls and ceilings in rooms in which food is stored, handled, or prepared, utensil-washing rooms, and toilet rooms shall be nonabsorbent. Acoustic and other absorbent ceiling material may be used where ventilation in the room precludes the possib...
	(a)  In child care centers, all rooms and enclosed areas shall be lighted by natural or artificial light. Lighting shall be capable of illumination to at least 50 foot-candles at work surfaces. Lighting shall be capable of illumination to at least 10 ...
	(b)  All rooms used by children shall be heated, cooled, and ventilated to maintain an ambient temperature between 65 degrees Fahrenheit and 85 degrees Fahrenheit. Ventilation may be in the form of openable windows with screens or by means of mechanic...
	(c)  Nothing in the rules of this Section shall require that outdoor storage buildings be wired with electricity or provided with heating and air conditioning.
	(a)  In child care centers, a child who becomes ill to the extent that the child can no longer participate in routine group activities shall be separated from the other children until the child leaves the child care center and in accordance with 10A N...
	(b)  Each child care center shall include a designated area for a child who becomes ill to the extent that she or he can no longer participate in the routine group activities. When in use, such area shall be equipped with a bed, cot, or mat and a vomi...
	(c)  If the designated area required under Paragraph (b) of this Rule is not a separate room, then it shall be separated from space used by other children by a partition or screen. The designated area shall be located so that health and sanitation mea...
	(d)  The child care center shall have written procedures that employees shall follow when responding to vomiting or diarrheal events that involve the discharge of vomitus or fecal matter onto surfaces in the center. The procedures shall address the sp...
	(1) Child care center employees who are part of the designated clean up response team;
	(2) A supply list for vomit and diarrhea cleanup kit items that shall be kept on-site at the child care center, including:
	(3) The location of the supplies described in Subparagraph (d)(2) of this Rule;
	(4) A procedure for preventing access to the contaminated area;
	(5) The steps used to clean and disinfect the contaminated area, which shall include the following:
	(6) The steps for after clean up, which shall including the following:
	(7) Identify steps for properly storing contaminated articles of clothing and cloth diapers that came into contact with the vomit or diarrhea in accordance with the procedures in Rule .2819(f) of this Section.

	(e)  Employees with a communicable disease or a communicable condition shall be excluded from work or subject to restrictions to prevent transmission in accordance with the Rules in Section 10A NCAC 41A .0200. Any employee with boils, sores, burns, in...
	In child care centers, all wastewater originating from the child care center shall be disposed of using a publicly-operated sewage treatment system or an individual sewage disposal system that meets the requirements of the rules at Section .1900 of th...
	(a)  In child care centers, food scraps and other putrescible materials shall be placed in a plastic-lined, cleanable, covered container and removed to an exterior garbage area daily. Scrap paper, cardboard boxes, and other recyclable items shall be s...
	(b)  Solid waste containers, mops, and other cleaning equipment shall be kept clean when not in use. Facilities shall be provided at the child care center for the washing and storage of solid waste containers and mops, except that such facilities shal...
	(c)  Dumpsters and other containerized systems shall be kept clean and covered.
	(d)  Solid wastes shall be disposed of to prevent conditions that attract and harbor pests and other public health nuisances.
	(a)  Animals that are not contained in a cage or restrained on a leash, except those used in supervised activities or pet therapy programs, shall not be allowed in a child care center, including the outdoor learning environment. When animals are on th...
	(b)  Pests shall be excluded from the child care center. Traps set for pests shall only be placed in areas that are inaccessible to children.
	(c)  All openings to the area outside of the child care center shall be protected against the entrance of flying pests. In food preparation areas, only fly traps, pyrethrin-based insecticides, or a fly swatter shall be used for extermination of flying...
	(d)  Only those pesticides which have been registered in accordance with 40 C.F.R. 152 and G.S. 143-442 shall be used to control pests at a child care center. Pesticides shall be used in accordance with the directions on the label and shall be stored ...
	(e)  Decks, fences, playground equipment, and other products constructed or installed after September 1, 2006 shall not be made from chromated copper arsenate (CCA) pressure-treated wood unless the use of CCA-treated wood is for an approved use listed...
	(f)  In areas accessible to children, CCA-treated wood decks, playground and recreational equipment, and structures installed or constructed shall be sealed using an oil-based, semi-transparent sealant; oil-based clear stain; or a water-based clear st...
	(g)  At the time of the initial sealant or stain application and whenever more than two years has passed since the previous sealant application, soil under CCA-treated wood shall be:
	(1) removed and replaced with similar material;
	(2) covered with at least four inches of soil, gravel, sand, sod, or other vegetation; or
	(3) otherwise made inaccessible to children.

	(h)  Any composting areas shall be covered and maintained to prevent attracting pests. Worm bins shall be kept covered.
	(i)  Grass, fruit and vegetable gardens, vines on fences, and other vegetation shall be maintained to prevent the harboring and breeding of pests.
	(j)  Pets kept outdoors at a child care center shall be in a designated area that is maintained and separate from the outdoor area used by the children.
	(a)  Child care center premises, including the outdoor learning environment, shall be kept clean, drained to minimize standing water, free of litter and hazards, and maintained in a manner which does not create conditions that attract or harbor pests....
	(b)  Sand toys, water tables, and other unfiltered items that can collect standing water in the outdoor learning environment shall be emptied and stored to prevent the collection of standing water.
	(c)  For outdoor toys and play equipment, including all structures accessible to children, the following shall apply:
	(1) Equipment and toys shall be kept clean, in good repair, and free of peeling, flaking, or chalking paint, rust, and corrosion; and
	(2) A sandbox used in outdoor play shall be constructed to allow for drainage of water and shall be covered when not in use and kept clean.

	(d)  Children's outdoor activities shall be restricted as set forth in this Paragraph based on a daily air quality forecast made by the North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality, Division of Air Quality for the county where a center is locate...
	(e)  When food service is provided in the outdoor learning environment, food shall be protected, stored, prepared, and served in accordance with Rules .2806, .2807 and .2808 of this Section. Employees and children shall wash their hands in accordance ...
	(f)  When diapering and toileting facilities are provided in the outdoor learning environment, they shall be maintained in accordance with Rules .2817 and .2819 of this Section and employees and children shall wash their hands in accordance with Rule ...
	(g)  Storage provided in the outdoor learning environment for children's toys shall be kept clean and in good repair. Storage areas that are accessible to children shall be kept free of equipment that is not intended by the manufacturer to be used by ...
	(h)  Outdoor water play centers shall be maintained in accordance with Rule .2822 of this Section.
	(i)  Central vacuums that exhaust to the outdoors and away from where children use the outdoor learning environment may be used in lieu of HEPA vacuum cleaners to meet the daily vacuuming requirements in Rule .2824(c) of this Section.
	(a)  At child care centers, swimming and wading pools shall be designed, constructed, operated, and maintained in accordance with the rules in Section .2500 of this Subchapter.
	(b)  Portable wading pools, natural bodies of water, and unfiltered water that is not potable shall not be utilized for children's recreation activities.
	(a)  Upon receipt of a request from a child care center operator or the licensing agency, a sanitation inspection shall be conducted of that child care center by the local health department that serves the county in which the child care center is loca...
	(b)  Unannounced inspections of a child care center shall be made by the Department at least once each six-month period. An original and two copies of the form used to document the inspection shall be completed by the Department. The original shall be...
	(c)  The Department shall inspect each child care program that has been designated as a child care center by the licensing agency. Demerits taken during the sanitation inspection shall be assigned for violations of the rules of this Section as follows:
	(1) violation of Rules .2803(a)-(d) or .2836(15) of this Section related to handwashing when required shall be assessed five demerits;
	(2) violation of Rule .2803(e) of this Section related to proper handwashing procedures shall be assessed five demerits;
	(3) violation of Rule .2804 of this Section related to food that is not from an approved source or that is from approved sources that is a hazard or is adulterated shall be assessed six demerits;
	(4) violation of Rules .2804, .2806, or .2807 of this Section related to potentially hazardous food that does not meet temperature storage and holding requirements and requirements regarding the refrigeration of bottles and lunches at 45 degrees Fahre...
	(5) violation of Rules .2804, .2806, .2807, .2808, or .2836 of this Section related to food being properly stored, thawed, prepared, cooked, cooled, handled, served, transported, packaged, and identified, and only permitting supervised children in the...
	(6) violation of Rule .2808(c) of this Section related to food not re-served shall be assessed three demerits;
	(7) violation of Rule .2806 or .2807 of this Section related to the use of food thermometers and food thermometer accuracy shall be assessed two demerits;
	(8) violation of Rules .2809 or .2810 of this Section related to food service equipment and utensils and specifications for refrigeration, sinks, lavatories, and dishwashing equipment shall be assessed six demerits;
	(9) violation of Rules .2806, .2809, or .2810 of this Section related to food service equipment and utensils meeting approved material, and construction specifications for equipment and utensils, other than equipment described in Subparagraph (c)(8) o...
	(10) violation of Rules .2809 or .2812 of this Section related to food-contact surfaces being properly washed, rinsed, sanitized, and air dried and single-service articles not being re-used shall be assessed five demerits;
	(11) violation of Rule .2812 of this Section related to a sanitizing solution being provided and a test kit being available shall be assessed two demerits;
	(12) violation of Rule .2809, .2810, or .2812 of this Section related to keeping equipment and non-food-contact surfaces clean and in good repair shall be assessed four demerits;
	(13) violation of Rule .2814 of this Section related to proper storage and handling of clean equipment, utensils, and single-service articles shall be assessed three demerits;
	(14) violation of Rule .2815 of this Section related to water supply and drinking water facilities and documentation that water supplies and facilities satisfy the applicable regulatory requirements shall be assessed six demerits;
	(15) violation of Rule .2815 of this Section related to hot water supplied and maintained in the kitchen shall be assessed six demerits;
	(16) violation of Rule .2815 of this Section related to hot water supplied and tempered water maintained as required in all other areas shall be assessed four demerits;
	(17) violation of Rule .2815(e) of this Section related to hot water in excess of 120 degrees Fahrenheit not allowed in areas accessible to children shall be assessed six demerits;
	(18) violation of Rule .2815(c) of this Section related to backflow prevention and cross connections shall be assessed three demerits;
	(19) violation of Rules .2815(c) or .2836 of this Section related to drinking fountain construction and location, water pressure regulation, and drinking fountains being kept clean shall be assessed two demerits;
	(20) violation of Rule .2816 of this Section related to identified lead poisoning hazards shall be assessed six demerits;
	(21) violation of Rules .2817, .2818, or .2836 of this Section related to toilet and lavatory facilities being properly sized, located, accessible, and in good repair, and sinks, toilets, and potty chairs being cleaned and disinfected shall be assesse...
	(22) violation of Rules .2817 or .2818 of this Section related to the provision of soap, disposable towels, hand drying devices, and toilet tissue paper shall be assessed three demerits;
	(23) violation of Rules .2817 or .2818 of this Section related to storage in toilet rooms, lavatories being kept free of storage, and handwash signs being posted shall be assessed two demerits;
	(24) violation of Rules .2817, .2819, or .2836 of this Section related to the set-up of diaper changing facilities shall be assessed six demerits;
	(25) violation of Rule .2819 of this Section related to diapering surfaces being cleaned and disinfected after each use shall be assessed six demerits;
	(26) violation of Rule .2812 or .2819 of this Section related to an approved disinfectant being provided and a test kit being available when required shall be assessed two demerits;
	(27) violation of Rules .2818, .2819, or .2820 of this Section related to diaper changing facilities being kept free of storage and in good repair, detergent solutions and approved disinfectants being labeled, required diapering methods being used, an...
	(28) violation of Rule .2820(d) and (g) of this Section related to medications being properly stored shall be assessed six demerits;
	(29) violation of Rule .2820(b) and (e) of this Section related to hazardous products being properly stored and locked shall be assessed six demerits;
	(30) violation of Rule .2820(c) of this Section related to non-hazardous products being properly stored shall be assessed three demerits;
	(31) violation of Rule .2820 of this Section related to facilities being provided for proper storage, and storage being kept clean shall be assessed two demerits;
	(32) violation of Rules .2821 or .2836 of this Section related to individual linen being provided and adequate beds, cots, or mats being provided, kept in good repair, properly stored, labeled, and spaced during use shall be assessed three demerits;
	(33) violation of Rule .2821 of this Section related to linen, wash cloths, bibs, and burping cloths being laundered and kept in good repair shall be assessed three demerits;
	(34) violation of Rules .2822 or .2836 of this Section related to toys, equipment, and furniture being kept clean and in good repair and the cleaning, sanitization, and maintenance of water play centers shall be assessed four demerits;
	(35) violation of Rules .2822 or .2836 of this Section related to mouth-contact surfaces in rooms designated for children who are not toilet trained being cleaned and sanitized in rooms where children who are not toilet trained are cared for shall be ...
	(36) violation of Rules .2807 or .2823 of this Section related child care center employees wearing gloves, clean clothes, and hair restraints where required, and tobacco use shall be assessed two demerits;
	(37) violation of Rules .2824, .2825, or .2836 of this Section related to floors, walls and ceilings being kept clean and in good repair and the vacuuming and extraction cleaning of carpets shall be assessed four demerits;
	(38) violation of Rule .2826 of this Section related to the lighting and thermal environment and room temperature being kept between 65 degrees Fahrenheit and 85 degrees Fahrenheit shall be assessed three demerits;
	(39) violation of Rule .2826 of this Section related to lighting and thermal equipment being kept clean and in good repair and being maintained as required shall be assessed two demerits;
	(40) violation of Rule .2827(e) of this Section related to persons with a communicable disease or a condition shall be assessed six demerits;
	(41) violation of Rules .2827 or .2836 of this Section related to persons caring for mildly sick children or ill children being excluded from situations in which transmission of communicable disease can be expected to occur and proper written procedur...
	(42) violation of Rule .2827 of this Section related to the designated area for sick children maintained as required and written procedures for responding to vomiting or diarrheal events shall be assessed two demerits;
	(43) violation of Rule .2829 of this Section related to sewage disposal shall be assessed six demerits;
	(44) violation of Rules .2830 or .2836 of this Section related to solid waste being properly handled, solid waste containers and cleaning equipment kept clean, and the provision of adequate solid waste can washing facilities shall be assessed two deme...
	(45) violation of Rule .2831 of this Section related to pesticides being properly used and new installation of CCA pressure-treated wood shall be assessed six demerits;
	(46) violation of Rule .2831 of this Section related to CCA pressure-treated wood being sealed and soil being covered or made inaccessible as required shall be assessed two demerits;
	(47) violation of Rule .2831 of this Section related to animals in food preparation areas and restrictions on unrestrained or prohibited animals shall be assessed three demerits;
	(48) violation of Rules .2831 or .2832 of this Section related to pest control and the child care center premises being free of conditions that harbor or attract pests shall be assessed three demerits;
	(49) violation of Rule .2832 of this Section related to outdoor premises being kept clean and free of standing water and wells, grease traps, cisterns, and other utility equipment being kept inaccessible to children, outdoor equipment and toys being k...
	(50) violation of Rule .2833 of this Section related to swimming and wading pools being designed, constructed, operated, and maintained in accordance with the rules at Section .2500 of this Subchapter shall be assessed six demerits.

	(d)  The Department shall indicate on the sanitation inspection form whether the child care center is classified as "superior," "approved," "provisional," or " disapproved" based on the sanitation inspection and the resulting score based on demerits t...
	(e)  A child care center's level of compliance with the Rules of this Section is indicated by the number of demerits listed on the sanitation inspection form and the following shall apply for a child care center's classification:
	(1) When an inspection is requested and conducted for the purpose of issuing a license to a new operator, a completed sanitation inspection shall be forwarded by the Department to the licensing agency only when the child care center is granted a "supe...
	(2) If the child care center is not yet in operation and children are not in attendance when the initial sanitation inspection is conducted, a sanitation inspection form shall be completed by the Department and forwarded to the licensing agency but th...
	(3) A child care center shall be classified as "superior" if the demerit score does not exceed 15 and no 6-point demerit item is violated.
	(4) A child care center shall be classified as "approved" if the demerit score is more than 15 and does not exceed 30, and no 6-point demerit item is violated.
	(5) A child care center shall be classified as "provisional" if any 6-point demerit item is violated or if the total demerit score is more than 30 but does not exceed 45. The provisional classification period shall not exceed seven days unless constru...
	(6) A child care center shall be classified as "disapproved" if the demerit score is more than 45, or if conditions and violations which resulted in a "provisional" classification have not been corrected in the time period specified by the Department ...
	(7) If the child care center receives a "disapproved" classification, the Department shall immediately notify the licensing agency of the classification.
	(8) The placard listing the child care center's sanitation classification shall not be removed from the location designated by the Department under Paragraph (d) of this Rule except by or upon the instruction of the Department.

	(f)  The Department may conduct an additional inspection of any child care center that is issued a "provisional," "disapproved," or summary "disapproved" classification or upon receipt of a complaint about the sanitation of a child care facility that ...
	(g)  The Department shall document demerits for violations of the rules of this Section on an inspection form and a written explanation and corrective action for each violation shall be documented on a comment addendum to the form. The inspection form...
	(1) The date and purpose of the inspection;
	(2) The child care center's name, address, license number, operating status, and maximum capacity;
	(3) The name of the operator of the child care center;
	(4) Documentation of violations observed during the inspection, demerits, and classification;
	(5) Documentation of the type of water supply and wastewater system serving the child care center and whether water samples were taken during the inspection; and
	(6) The name of the inspector's employer, if completed by an authorized agent, and the inspector's signature.

	(h)  Demerits may be assessed only once for a single occurrence or condition existing within or outside the child care center. Demerits shall be assessed based on actual violations of the Rules of this Section observed during the inspection.
	Appeals concerning the enforcement of the Child Care Sanitation Rules in this Section as adopted by the Commission for Public Health shall be governed by G.S. 110-94 and G.S. 150B.
	Child care centers that are licensed by the licensing agency to offer care to mildly sick children pursuant to 10A NCAC 09 .2404 shall comply with all rules in this Section except as follows:


	Chapter 18 – board of examiners of Electrical Contractors
	(a)  The fees for qualifying applicants for examination shall be one hundred and twenty-five ($125.00) for all classifications.
	(b)  The fee for review of a failed examination is twenty-five dollars ($25.00). All reviews shall be supervised by the Board or staff.
	(c)  The fees for applicants for examination and the fees for examination reviews shall be in the form of cash, check, money order, Visa, or Mastercard made payable to the Board and shall accompany the respective applications when filed with the Board.
	(d)  The fees for applicants for examination received with applications filed for qualifying examinations shall be nonrefundable unless:
	(1) an application is not filed as prescribed in Rule .0210 of this Section, in which case sixty dollars ($60.00) of the fees for applicants for examination shall be returned and the application shall be returned; or
	(2) the applicant does not take the examination during the period for which application was made, files a written request for a refund setting out extenuating circumstance, and the Board finds extenuating circumstances.

	(e)  Examination review fees are non-refundable unless the applicant does not take the review, files a written request for a refund, setting out extenuating circumstance, and the Board finds extenuating circumstances.
	(f)  Any fee retained by the Board shall not be creditable toward any future examination fee or examination review.
	(g)  Extenuating circumstances for the purposes of Subparagraph (d)(2) and Paragraph (e) of this Rule are the applicant's illness, bodily injury or death, or death of the applicant's spouse, child, parent, or sibling, or a breakdown of the applicant's...
	(a)  The fee for issuance of license, reissuance of license, or license renewal in the various license classifications shall be as follows:
	CLASSIFICATION LICENSE FEE
	Limited $100.00
	Intermediate  $150.00
	Unlimited    $200.00
	SP-SFD     $100.00
	Special Restricted   $100.00
	(b)  License fees shall be made payable to the Board. Payment shall accompany any license or license renewal application filed with the Board.

	Chapter 32 - Medical Board
	(a)  In order to maintain nurse practitioner approval to practice, the nurse practitioner shall earn 50 contact hours of continuing education activity every two years, beginning with the first renewal after initial approval to practice has been grante...
	(b)  Prior to prescribing controlled substances as the same are defined in 21 NCAC 32M .0109(b)(2), nurse practitioners shall have completed a minimum of one CE hour within the preceding 12 months on 1 or more of the following topics:
	(1) Controlled substances prescription practices;
	(2) Prescribing controlled substances for chronic pain management;
	(3) Recognizing signs of controlled substance abuse or misuse; or
	(4) Non-opioid treatment options as an alternative to controlled substances.

	(c)  Documentation of all CE completed within the previous five years shall be maintained by the nurse practitioner and made available upon request to either Board.

	Chapter 36 – board of Nursing
	(a)  In order to maintain nurse practitioner approval to practice, the nurse practitioner shall earn 50 contact hours of continuing education activity every two years, beginning with the first renewal after initial approval to practice has been grante...
	(b)  Prior to prescribing controlled substances as the same are defined in 21 NCAC 36 .0809(2), nurse practitioners shall have completed a minimum of one CE hour within the preceding 12 months on 1 or more of the following topics:
	(1) Controlled substances prescription practices;
	(2) Prescribing controlled substances for chronic pain management;
	(3) Recognizing signs of controlled substance abuse or misuse; or
	(4) Non-opioid treatment options as an alternative to controlled substances.

	(c)  Documentation of all CE completed within the previous five years shall be maintained by the nurse practitioner and made available upon request to either Board.

	Chapter 58 - Real Estate cOMMISSION
	(a)  A broker shall file with the Commission a Criminal Conviction Disciplinary Action Reporting Form within 60 days of:
	(1) a final judgment, order, or disposition of any felony or misdemeanor conviction;
	(2) a disciplinary action or entering into a conciliation agreement or consent order with a governmental agency or occupational licensing agency;
	(3) a final judgment, order, or disposition of a military court-martial conviction; or
	(4) a notarial commission sanction pursuant to G.S. 10B-60.

	(b)  The Criminal Conviction Disciplinary Action Reporting Form is available on the Commission's website at www.ncrec.gov or upon request to the Commission and shall set forth the broker's:
	(1) full legal name;
	(2) physical and mailing address;
	(3) real estate license number;
	(4) telephone number;
	(5) email address;
	(6) social security number;
	(7) date of birth; and
	(8) description of the criminal conviction, military court-martial conviction, notarial commission sanction, or professional license disciplinary action, including the jurisdiction and file number.

	(a)  An individual seeking licensure as a real estate broker shall submit a license application that is available on the Commission's website and shall include the applicant's:
	(1) legal name;
	(2) mailing, physical, and email address;
	(3) telephone number;
	(4) social security number and date of birth;
	(5) qualification for license application;
	(6) real estate license history;
	(7) places of residence for the past seven years;
	(8) employment history for the past three years;
	(9) criminal offenses, military courts-martial convictions, professional license disciplinary actions, including the jurisdiction, file number, and explanation of each offense;
	(10) liens or unpaid judgments;
	(11) certification the applicant has read the Real Estate Licensing in North Carolina brochure that is available on the Commission's website; and
	(12) declaration and signature.

	(b)  In addition to the application required by Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the applicant shall submit:
	(1) the license application fee pursuant to Rule .0302 of this Section; and
	(2) a criminal records report from a Commission-designated criminal reporting service obtained within six months prior to application submission.

	(a)  The fee for reinstatement of a license that has been expired, revoked, or surrendered for less than two years shall be an amount equal to two times the current renewal license fee pursuant to Rule .0503 of this Section.
	(b)  The reinstatement application form is available on the Commission's website and shall include the applicant's:
	(1) legal name;
	(2) mailing, physical, and email address;
	(3) telephone number;
	(4) previous license number;
	(5) Secretary of State identification number, if applicable;
	(6) social security number and date of birth, if applicable;
	(7) qualifying broker and broker-in-charge's legal name and license number, if applicable;
	(8) criminal record report from a designated criminal reporting service obtained within six months prior to application;
	(9) certification; and
	(10) signature.

	(c)  An individual seeking reinstatement of a license that has been expired for less than six months shall:
	(1) submit the reinstatement fee pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule;
	(2) disclose any criminal conviction, court-martial conviction, notarial commission sanction, or disciplinary action pursuant to Rule .0113 of this Section, including any conviction or disciplinary action incurred while the individual's license was ex...
	(3) satisfy the license activation requirements of Rule .1703 of this Subchapter, if applicable.

	(d)  An individual seeking reinstatement of a license that has been expired for six months but no more than two years or revoked or surrendered for no more than two years shall:
	(1) submit a complete reinstatement application pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule;
	(2) submit the reinstatement fee pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule; and
	(3) pass:

	(e)  An individual seeking reinstatement of a license that has been expired, revoked, or surrendered for more than two years shall submit a license application and application fee pursuant to G.S. 93A-4 and Rules .0301, .0302, and .0511 of this Subcha...
	(f)  A reinstated license shall be effective as of the date of reinstatement, not the date of initial licensure. If a license is reinstated after three years from the expiration, revocation, or surrender, the license shall be on provisional broker sta...
	(g)  A business entity seeking reinstatement of a license shall submit:
	(1) the reinstatement fee pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule if the license has been expired for less than six months;
	(2) the reinstatement fee and a complete reinstatement application pursuant to Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule if the license has been expired for six months but no more than two years or revoked or surrendered for no more than two years; or
	(3) a firm license application pursuant to G.S. 93A-4 and Rules .0301, .0302, and .0502 of this Subchapter if the license has been expired, revoked, or surrendered for more than two years.

	(h)  A broker seeking reinstatement of a license shall satisfy to the Commission that the broker possesses the character requisites pursuant to G.S. 93A-4(b).
	(a)  In order to receive credit for completing an approved continuing education course, a broker shall:
	(1) attend at least 90 percent of the scheduled instructional hours for the course;
	(2) provide the broker's legal name and license number to the education provider;
	(3) present the broker's pocket card or photo identification card, if necessary; and
	(4) personally perform all work required to complete the course.

	(b)  With the instructor or the education provider's permission, a 10 percent absence allowance may be permitted at any time during the course, except that it may not be used to skip the last 10 percent of the course unless the absence is:
	(1) approved by the instructor; and
	(2) for circumstances beyond the broker's control that could not have been reasonably foreseen by the broker, such as:

	(a)  The Commission shall award an approved instructor continuing education credit for teaching a Commission Update Course. An approved instructor seeking continuing education credit for teaching a Commission Update Course shall submit a form, availab...
	(1) approved instructor's name, license number, instructor number, address, telephone number, and email address;
	(2) Update Course number;
	(3) education provider's name and number;
	(4) education provider's address; and
	(5) date the course was taught.

	(b)  The Commission shall award a broker continuing education elective credit the first time an approved continuing education elective course is taught by the broker. A broker seeking continuing education credit under this Paragraph shall submit a for...
	(1) broker's name, license number, address, telephone number, and email address;
	(2) course title;
	(3) course number;
	(4) education provider's name and number;
	(5) education provider's address; and
	(6) date the course was taught.

	(c)  The Commission may award continuing education elective credit for developing a continuing education elective course the first time it is approved by the Commission pursuant to 21 NCAC 58H .0401. However, a broker shall only receive credit for the...
	(d)  In order for any application for equivalent credit to be considered and credits applied to the current licensing period, a complete application, the appropriate fee, and all supporting documents shall be received by the Commission no later than 5...
	In addition to the requirements in G.S. 93A-44, a public offering statement shall contain a page prescribed by the Commission and completed by the developer entitled Public Offering Statement Summary in conspicuous type. The Public Offering Statement ...
	PUBLIC OFFERING STATEMENT SUMMARY
	NAME OF PROJECT:
	NAME AND REAL ESTATE LICENSE NUMBER OF BROKER (IF ANY):
	Please study this Public Offering Statement carefully. Satisfy yourself that any questions you may have are answered before you decide to purchase. If a salesperson or other representative of the developer has made a representation which concerns you,...
	NOTICE
	UNDER NORTH CAROLINA LAW, YOU MAY CANCEL YOUR TIMESHARE PURCHASE WITHOUT PENALTY WITHIN FIVE DAYS AFTER SIGNING YOUR CONTRACT. TO CANCEL YOUR TIMESHARE PURCHASE, YOU MUST MAIL, ELECTRONICALLY MAIL, OR HAND DELIVER WRITTEN NOTICE OF YOUR DESIRE TO CANC...
	(a)  Any community college, junior college, or university located in this State and accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools seeking education provider certification shall apply to the Commission on a form available on the Commis...
	(1) education provider's name;
	(2) education director's name and contact information;
	(3) education director's email address;
	(4) education provider's address;
	(5) education provider's telephone number;
	(6) education provider's website address;
	(7) type of public institution;
	(8) Prelicensing, Postlicensing, and Continuing Education courses to be offered by the applicant; and
	(9) a signed certification by the education director that courses shall be conducted in compliance with the rules of this Subchapter.

	(b)  Any other person or entity seeking education provider certification shall apply to the Commission on a form available on the Commission's website and shall set forth the following criteria in addition to the requirements in G.S. 93A-34(b1):
	(1) the website, physical and mailing address, and telephone number of the principal office of the education provider;
	(2) the education director's license number, if applicable, email and mailing address, and telephone number;
	(3) the North Carolina Secretary of State Identification Number, if applicable;
	(4) the physical address of each proposed branch location, if applicable;
	(5) the type of ownership entity;
	(6) a signed Consent to Service of Process and Pleadings form available on the Commission's website, if a foreign entity;
	(7) the Prelicensing, Postlicensing, and Continuing Education courses to be offered by the applicant; and
	(8) a signed certification by the education director that courses shall be conducted in compliance with the rules of this Subchapter.

	(c)  The certification application fee for an education provider applying under Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be two hundred dollars ($200.00) for each proposed education provider location. Provided however, education providers shall not be require...
	(d)  If any education provider relocates any location or opens additional branch locations during any licensing period, the education director shall submit an original application for certification of that location pursuant to this Rule.
	(e)  In the event that any education provider advertises or operates in any manner using a name different from the name under which the education provider is certified, the education provider shall first file an assumed name certificate in compliance ...
	(f)  An application from an individual or entity with an ownership interest of 10 percent or greater in a certified education provider that has been limited, denied, withdrawn, or terminated pursuant to Rule .0210 of this Section shall be denied if fi...
	(a)  An education provider may submit a written petition to reconsider the determination made pursuant to Rule .0210(c) of this Section. The petition shall be accompanied by any documentary evidence that contradicts the Commission's determination purs...
	(b)  The petition pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be submitted to the Commission within 60 days from the date of receipt of notification of the certification limitation or the Commission's determination shall be final.
	(c)  The Commission shall review a petition pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule and any response submitted in writing by Commission staff and enter a final determination within 90 days from the date of receipt of such petition.
	(a)  An individual seeking original instructor approval shall submit an application on a form available on the Commission's website that shall require the instructor applicant to indicate the course(s) for which approval is being sought and set forth ...
	(1) legal name, address, email address, and telephone number;
	(2) real estate license number and instructor number, if any, assigned by Commission;
	(3) criminal and occupational licensing history, including any disciplinary actions;
	(4) education background, including specific real estate education;
	(5) experience in the real estate business;
	(6) real estate teaching experience, if any;
	(7) signed Consent to Service of Process and Pleadings for nonresident applicants; and
	(8) signature.

	(b)  An instructor applicant shall demonstrate that the instructor applicant possesses good reputation and character pursuant to G.S. 93A-34(c)(9) and has:
	(1) a North Carolina real estate broker license that is not on provisional status;
	(2) completed continuing education sufficient to activate a license under 21 NCAC 58A .1703;
	(3) completed 60 semester hours of college-level education at an institution accredited by any college accrediting body recognized by the U.S. Department of Education;
	(4) completed the New Instructor Seminar within the previous six months; and
	(5) within the previous seven years has either:

	(c)  In order to complete the New Instructor Seminar, a broker shall:
	(1) attend at least ninety percent of all scheduled hours; and
	(2) demonstrate the ability to teach a 15-minute block of a single Prelicensing topic in a manner consistent with the course materials.

	(d)  Prior to teaching any Update course, an approved instructor shall take the Commission's annual Update Instructor Seminar for the current license period and attend at least 90 percent of all scheduled hours. The Update Instructor Seminar shall not...
	(a)  An instructor may submit a written petition to reconsider the determination made pursuant to Rule .0303(b) of this Section. The petition shall be accompanied by any documentary evidence that contradicts the Commission's determination pursuant to ...
	(b)  The petition pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be submitted to the Commission within 60 days from the date of receipt of notification of the approval limitation or the Commission's determination shall be final.
	(c)  The Commission shall review a petition pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule and any response submitted in writing by Commission staff and enter a final determination within 90 days from the date of receipt of such petition.




