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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the HHS - Division of Health 

Service Regulation intends to amend the rule cited as 10A NCAC 

14C .2703, and readopt with substantive changes the rules cited 

as 10A NCAC 14C .1401 and .1403. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ruleactions.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  August 15, 2023 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Dorothea Dix Park, Edgerton Building, Room 026, 

809 Ruggles Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Three rules are proposed for 

rulemaking for Certificate of Need (CON).  As a result of the 

periodic review of rules in Subchapter 10A NCAC 14C, 39 rules 

determined as “Necessary With Substantive Public Interest” were 

required to be readopted.  At this time, two rules are being 

proposed for readoption for the Certificate of Need Regulations 

for the criteria and standards for neonatal services. One 

additional rule is proposed for amendment to make a temporary 

rule permanent to complement or be made consistent with the 

2023 State Medical Facilities Plan (SMFP). 

The proposed rules for readoption, 10A NCAC .1401 and .1403, 

update Level IV neonatal intensive care services criteria and 

standards definitions, and revise and clarify Certificate of Need 

applicant performance standards criteria to develop a new 

neonatal intensive care service with or without increasing the 

total number of acute care beds on the hospital license.  In 

addition, Rule 10A NCAC 14C .1403 was amended with 

temporary procedures effective January 27, 2023 and published 

in 37:16 NCR on February 15, 2023. 

Rule 10A NCAC 14C .2703 is proposed for amendment so that 

correct performance standards reflective of the MRI need 

methodology changes in the SMFP shall be used by CON 

applicants for MRI services.  This rule was amended with 

temporary procedures effective January 27, 2023 and published 

in 37:16 NCR on February 15, 2023. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Nadine Pfeiffer, 809 Ruggles 

Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; email 

DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  September 15, 2023 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or email. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 14 - DIRECTOR, DIVISION OF HEALTH 

SERVICE REGULATION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 14C – CERTIFICATE OF NEED 

REGULATIONS 

 

SECTION .1400 – CRITERIA AND STANDARDS FOR 

LEVEL IV NEONATAL INTENSIVE CARE SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 14C .1401 DEFINITIONS 

The definitions in this Rule shall apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Approved neonatal service" means a neonatal 

service that was not operational prior to the 

beginning of the review period. 

(2) "Existing neonatal service" means a neonatal 

service in operation prior to the beginning of the 

review period. 

(3) "High-risk obstetric patients" means those 

patients requiring specialized services provided 

by an acute care hospital to the mother and fetus 

during pregnancy, labor, delivery and to the 

mother after delivery. The services are 

characterized by specialized facilities and staff 

for the intensive care and management of high-

risk maternal and fetal patients before, during, 

and after delivery. 
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(4) "Level I neonatal services" means services 

provided by an acute care hospital to full term 

and pre-term neonates that are stable, without 

complications, and may include neonates that 

are small for gestational age or large for 

gestational age. 

(5) "Level II neonatal service" means services 

provided by an acute care hospital in a licensed 

acute care bed to neonates and infants that are 

stable without complications but require special 

care and frequent feedings; infants of any 

weight who no longer require Level III or Level 

IV neonatal services, but still require more 

nursing hours than normal infants; and infants 

who require close observation in a licensed 

acute care bed. 

(6) "Level III neonatal service" means services 

provided by an acute care hospital in a licensed 

acute care bed to neonates or infants that are 

high-risk, small (approximately 32 and less 

than 36 completed weeks of gestational age) but 

otherwise healthy, or sick with a moderate 

degree of illness that are admitted from within 

the hospital or transferred from another facility 

requiring intermediate care services for sick 

infants, but not intensive care. Level III 

neonates or infants require less constant nursing 

care than Level IV services, but care does not 

exclude respiratory support. 

(7) "Level IV neonatal service" means neonatal 

intensive care services provided by an acute 

care hospital in a licensed acute care bed to 

high-risk medically unstable or critically ill 

neonates (approximately under 32 weeks of 

gestational age) or infants requiring constant 

nursing care or supervision not limited to 

continuous cardiopulmonary or respiratory 

support, complicated surgical procedures, or 

other intensive supportive interventions. 

(8) "Neonatal bed" means a licensed acute care bed 

used to provide Level II, III or IV neonatal 

services. 

(9) "Neonatal intensive care services" shall have 

the same meaning as defined in G.S. 131E-

176(15b). 

(10) "Neonatal service area" means a geographic 

area defined by the applicant from which the 

patients to be admitted to the service will 

originate. 

(11) "Neonatal services" means any of the Level I, 

Level II, Level III or Level IV services defined 

in this Rule. 

(12) "Obstetric services" means any normal or high-

risk services provided by an acute care hospital 

to the mother and fetus during pregnancy, labor, 

delivery and to the mother after delivery. 

(13) "Perinatal services" means services provided 

during the period shortly before and after birth. 

The following definitions shall apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Approved neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) 

beds" means acute care beds in a hospital that 

were issued a certificate of need to provide 

Level IV neonatal intensive care services but 

are not providing those services as of the 

application deadline for the review period. 

(2) "Average daily census (ADC)" means the total 

number of NICU days of care provided during 

a full fiscal year of operation divided by 365 

days. 

(3) "Existing NICU beds" means acute care beds in 

a hospital that are providing Level IV neonatal 

intensive care services as of the application 

deadline for the review period. 

(4) "Level IV neonatal intensive care services" 

means services provided to high-risk medically 

unstable or critically ill neonates less than 32 

weeks of gestational age, or infants requiring 

constant nursing care or supervision in NICU 

beds. 

(5) "Occupancy rate" means the ADC divided by 

the total number of existing, approved, and 

proposed NICU beds expressed as a percentage. 

(6) "Proposed NICU beds" means the acute care 

beds proposed to be developed a hospital in the 

application under review. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183; 131E-183(b). 

 

10A NCAC 14C .1403 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

(a)  An applicant shall demonstrate that the proposed project is 

capable of meeting the following standards:- 

(1) if an applicant is proposing to increase the total 

number of neonatal beds (i.e., the sum of Level 

II, Level III and Level IV beds), the overall 

average annual occupancy of the combined 

number of existing Level II, Level III and Level 

IV beds in the facility is at least 75 percent, over 

the 12 months immediately preceding the 

submittal of the proposal; 

(2) if an applicant is proposing to increase the total 

number of neonatal beds (i.e., the sum of Level 

II, Level III and Level IV beds), the projected 

overall average annual occupancy of the 

combined number of Level II, Level III and 

Level IV beds proposed to be operated during 

the third year of operation of the proposed 

project shall be at least 75 percent; and 

(3) The applicant shall document the assumptions 

and provide data supporting the methodology 

used for each projection in this rule. 

(b)  If an applicant proposes to develop a new Level III or Level 

IV service, the applicant shall document that an unmet need exists 

in the applicant's defined neonatal service area, unless the State 

Medical Facilities Plan includes a need determination for neonatal 

beds in the service area. The need for Level III and Level IV beds 

shall be computed for the applicant's neonatal service area by: 

(1) identifying the annual number of live births 

occurring at all hospitals within the proposed 
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neonatal service area, using the latest available 

data compiled by the State Center for Health 

Statistics; 

(2) identifying the low birth weight rate (percent of 

live births below 2,500 grams) for the births 

identified in (1) of this Paragraph, using the 

latest available data compiled by the State 

Center for Health Statistics; 

(3) dividing the low birth weight rate identified in 

(2) of this Paragraph by .08 and subsequently 

multiplying the resulting quotient by four; and 

(4) determining the need for Level III and Level IV 

beds in the proposed neonatal service area as 

the product of: 

(A) the product derived in (3) of this 

Paragraph, and 

(B) the quotient resulting from the 

division of the number of live births in 

the initial year of the determination 

identified in (1) of this Paragraph by 

the number 1000. 

(a)  An applicant proposing to develop a new neonatal intensive 

care service without increasing the total number of acute care beds 

on the hospital license shall: 

(1) provide projected utilization of the proposed 

NICU beds during each of the first three full 

fiscal years of operation following completion 

of the project; 

(2) document that the occupancy rate for the 

proposed NICU beds shall be at least 65 percent 

during the third full fiscal year of operation 

following completion of the project; and 

(3) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

for the projected utilization and occupancy rate 

required by Subparagraphs (1) and (2) of this 

Paragraph. 

(b)  An applicant proposing to develop a new neonatal intensive 

care service or increase the number of NICU beds on the hospital 

license shall: 

(1) provide projected utilization of all existing, 

approved, and proposed NICU beds on the 

hospital license during each of the first three 

full fiscal years of operation following 

completion of the project; 

(2) document that the occupancy rate for all 

existing, approved, and proposed NICU beds on 

the hospital license shall be at least 65 percent 

during the third full fiscal year of operation 

following completion of the project; and 

(3) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

for the projected utilization and occupancy rate 

required by Subparagraphs (1) and (2) of this 

Paragraph. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b). 

 

SECTION .2700 - CRITERIA AND STANDARDS FOR 

MAGNETIC RESONANCE IMAGING SCANNER 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2703 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

(a)  An applicant proposing to acquire a fixed MRI scanner 

pursuant to a need determination in the annual State Medical 

Facilities Plan in effect as of the first day of the review period 

shall: 

(1) identify the existing fixed MRI scanners owned 

or operated by the applicant or a related entity 

and located in the proposed fixed MRI scanner 

service area; 

(2) identify the approved fixed MRI scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity and located in the proposed fixed MRI 

scanner service area; 

(3) identify the existing mobile MRI scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity that provided mobile MRI services at 

host sites located in the proposed fixed MRI 

scanner service area during the 12 months 

before the application deadline for the review 

period; 

(4) identify the approved mobile MRI scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity that will provide mobile MRI services at 

host sites located in the proposed fixed MRI 

scanner service area; 

(5) provide projected utilization of the MRI 

scanners identified in Subparagraphs (1) 

through (4) of this Paragraph and the proposed 

fixed MRI scanner during each of the first three 

full fiscal years of operation following 

completion of the project; 

(6) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

to project the utilization required by 

Subparagraph (5) of this Paragraph; 

(7) project that the fixed MRI scanners identified in 

Subparagraphs (1) and (2) of this Paragraph and 

the proposed fixed MRI scanner shall perform 

during the third full fiscal year of operation 

following completion of the project as follows: 

(A) 3,364 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per fixed MRI scanner if 

there are four or more fixed MRI 

scanners in the fixed MRI scanner 

service area; 

(B) 3,123 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per fixed MRI scanner if 

there are three fixed MRI scanners in 

the fixed MRI scanner service area; 

(C)(A) 2,883 3,494 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per fixed MRI scanner if 

there are two or more fixed MRI 

scanners in the fixed MRI scanner 

service area; 

(D)(B) 2,643 3,058 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per fixed MRI scanner if 

there is one fixed MRI scanner in the 

fixed MRI scanner service area; or 

(E)(C) 1,201 1,310 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per MRI scanner if there 
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are no existing fixed MRI scanners in 

the fixed MRI scanner service area; 

and 

(8) project that the mobile MRI scanners identified 

in Subparagraphs (3) and (4) of this Paragraph 

shall perform 3,328 3,120 or more adjusted 

MRI procedures per mobile MRI scanner 

during the third full fiscal year of operation 

following completion of the project. 

(b)  An applicant proposing to acquire a mobile MRI scanner 

pursuant to a need determination in the annual State Medical 

Facilities Plan in effect as of the first day of the review period 

shall: 

(1) identify the existing mobile MRI scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity that provided mobile MRI services at 

host sites located in the proposed mobile MRI 

scanner service area during the 12 months 

before the application deadline for the review 

period; 

(2) identify the approved mobile MRI scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity that will provide mobile MRI services at 

host sites located in the proposed mobile MRI 

scanner service area; 

(3) identify the existing fixed MRI scanners owned 

or operated by the applicant or a related entity 

that are located in the proposed mobile MRI 

scanner service area; 

(4) identify the approved fixed MRI scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity that will be located in the proposed 

mobile MRI scanner service area; 

(5) identify the existing and proposed host sites for 

each mobile MRI scanner identified in 

Subparagraphs (1) and (2) of this Paragraph and 

the proposed mobile MRI scanner; 

(6) provide projected utilization of the MRI 

scanners identified in Subparagraphs (1) 

through (4) of this Paragraph and the proposed 

mobile MRI scanner during each of the first 

three full fiscal years of operation following 

completion of the project; 

(7) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

to project the utilization required by 

Subparagraph (6) of this Paragraph; 

(8) project that the mobile MRI scanners identified 

in Subparagraphs (1) and (2) of this Paragraph 

and the proposed mobile MRI scanner shall 

perform 3,328 3,120 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per MRI scanner during the third 

full fiscal year of operation following 

completion of the project; and 

(9) project that the fixed MRI scanners identified in 

Subparagraphs (3) and (4) of this Paragraph 

shall perform during the third full fiscal year of 

operation following completion of the project 

as follows: 

(A) 3,364 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per fixed MRI scanner if 

there are four or more fixed MRI 

scanners in the fixed MRI scanner 

service area; 

(B) 3,123 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per fixed MRI scanner if 

there are three fixed MRI scanners in 

the fixed MRI scanner service area; 

(C)(A) 2,883 3,494 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per fixed MRI scanner if 

there are two or more fixed MRI 

scanners in the fixed MRI scanner 

service area; 

(D)(B) 2,643 3,058 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per fixed MRI scanner if 

there is one fixed MRI scanner in the 

fixed MRI scanner service area; or 

(E)(C) 1,201 1,310 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per MRI scanner if there 

are no fixed MRI scanners in the fixed 

MRI scanner service area. 

 

Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b). 

 

 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission intends 

to amend the rules cited as 12 NCAC 10B .0301, .0303, .0408 and 

.0603. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/sheriffs/all-

commission-forms-publications/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2023 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  August 22, 2023 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  1700 Tryon Park Dr., Raleigh, NC 27610 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

12 NCAC 10B .0301 and .0303 are minimum standard rules for 

the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards 

Commission and the Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards 

Commission.  Both Commissions have voted to include a 

prohibition of the commission and/or conviction of a crime that 

requires registration on the NC Sex Offender Registry and to add 

language to ensure the compliance with the fingerprint 

requirements cited in G.S. 143B-972.1.  Session Bill 300 requires 

that the Sheriffs' and Criminal Justice Education and Training 

Standards Commissions share the same minimum standards.  

12 NCAC 10B .0408 adds the requirement that an unredacted 

copy of the applicant's Psychological Screening required by G.S. 

17E-7 and the applicant's Administrative Office of the Courts' 
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AOC-CR-280 form be included with the Background Investigation 

Form (F-8). 

12 NCAC 10B .0603 allows for a truncated course delivery of the 

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission's 

Detention Officer Certification Course. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Melissa Bowman, 1700 Tryon 

Park Dr., Raleigh, NC 27610; phone (919) 779-8213; email 

mbowman@ncdoj.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  September 15, 2023 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or email. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 10 - SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10B - N.C. SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .0300 – MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

EMPLOYMENT AND CERTIFICATION AS A JUSTICE 

OFFICER 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0301 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

JUSTICE OFFICERS 

Every justice officer employed or certified in North Carolina 

shall: 

(1) be a citizen of the United States; 

(2) be at least 20 years of age for all deputies and 

detention officers or be at least 18 years of age 

for all telecommunicators; 

(3) be a high school graduate, or the equivalent as 

defined in 12 NCAC 10B .0302; 

(4) have been fingerprinted by the employing 

agency in the manner provided in 12 NCAC 

10B .0303; 

(5) have had a medical examination as required by 

12 NCAC 10B .0304; 

(6) have produced a negative result on a drug 

screen as described in 12 NCAC 10B .0410; 

(7) have been administered a psychological 

screening examination as in accordance with 

G.S. 17E-7. This psychological screening 

examination shall be valid for a period of one 

year from the date on which it was 

administered; 

(8) have been interviewed as described in 12 

NCAC 10B .0306; 

(9) have a background investigation conducted by 

the employing agency, including a personal 

interview as required by 12 NCAC 10B .0305; 

(10) not have committed or been convicted of a 

crime or crimes specified in 12 NCAC 10B 

.0307; 

(11) not have committed or been convicted of a 

crime that requires registration under Article 

27A of Chapter 14 of the General Statutes; 

(11)(12) for personnel who are authorized to carry a 

firearm in the execution of their duties, 

satisfactorily complete the employing agency's 

in-service firearms training program as 

prescribed in 12 NCAC 10B .2103 and .2104. 

Such firearms training compliance must have 

occurred prior to submission of the application 

for appointment to the Commission and must be 

completed using the agency approved service 

handguns and any other weapons that the 

applicant has been issued or authorized to use 

by the agency; and 

(12)(13) be of good moral character character, including 

possessing the characteristics of honesty, 

maturity, discipline, attention to detail and 

respect for the rights of others, as more fully 

discussed and interpreted as defined in: In re 

Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E.2d 174 (1989); 

State v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E.2d 647 

(1983); In re Willis, 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E.2d 771 

(1975), appeal dismissed 423 U.S. 976 (1975); 

State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E.2d 854 

(1940); In re Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 

S.E. 130 (1924); In re Applicants for License 

143 N.C. 1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); and later court 

decisions. 

(13)(14) make the following notifications: 

(a) within five business days of the 

qualifying event, notify the Standards 

Division and the appointing agency 

head in writing of all criminal offenses 

for which the officer is charged, 

arrested, pleads no contest, pleads 

guilty or of which the officer is found 

guilty. This shall include traffic 

offenses identified in the Class B 

Misdemeanor Manual and offenses of 
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driving under the influence (DUI) or 

driving while impaired (DWI). 

(b) within five business days of service, 

officers shall notify the Standards 

Division of all Domestic Violence 

Protective Order pursuant to G.S. 50B 

and any Civil No Contact Order 

pursuant to G.S. 50C that are issued by 

a judicial official against the officer; 

(c) within five business days of the date 

the case was disposed of in court, the 

agency head, provided he or she has 

knowledge of the officer's arrests or 

criminal charges and final 

dispositions, shall also notify the 

Standards Division of arrests or 

criminal charges and final disposition; 

(d) within five business days of the 

issuance of all Domestic Violence 

Protective Orders pursuant to G.S. 

50B and Civil No Contact Orders 

pursuant to G.S. 50C, the agency head, 

provided he or she has knowledge of 

the order, shall also notify the 

Standards Division of these orders. 

(e) The required notifications in this Rule 

shall be in writing and shall specify the 

nature of the offense or order, the court 

in which the case was handled, the 

date of the arrest, criminal charge, or 

service of the order, and the final 

disposition. The notification shall 

include a certified copy of the order or 

court documentation and final 

disposition from the Clerk of Court in 

the county of adjudication. The 

requirements of this Item shall be 

applicable at all times during which 

the officer is employed and certified 

by the Commission and shall also 

apply to all applicants for certification. 

Receipt by the Standards Division of a 

single notification, from the officer or 

the agency head, shall be sufficient 

notice for compliance with this Item. 

(14)(15) The requirements of this Rule shall apply to all 

applications for certification and shall also 

apply at all times during which the justice 

officer is certified by the Commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-7. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0303 FINGERPRINT CRIMINAL 

HISTORY RECORDS CHECK 

(a)  Each applicant for certification shall submit electronic 

fingerprints in the Statewide Automated Fingerprint Identification 

System (SAFIS). 

(b)  The employing agency shall forward the applicant's 

fingerprint record to the North Carolina State Bureau of 

Investigation for a criminal history record check utilizing 

fingerprints against state and federal files. 

(c)  The employing agency will receive a report of the results of 

the criminal history record check utilizing fingerprints against 

state and federal files from the North Carolina State Bureau of 

Investigation. The employing agency shall retain the results of the 

criminal history records check utilizing fingerprints in compliance 

with the North Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural 

Resources Retention Schedule established pursuant to G.S. 121-4 

and G.S. 132-8.1. The employing agency shall include the results 

of the fingerprint criminal history record check with the 

applications submitted to the Commission. 

(d)  Each applicant for certification and certified justice officers 

shall also submit electronic fingerprints, other identifying 

information required by the State and National Repositories of 

Criminal Histories, and any other information required by the 

State Bureau of Investigation for their enrollment in the Federal 

Bureau of Investigation's Next Generation Identification (NGI) 

System and Criminal Justice Record of Arrest and Prosecution 

Background (Rap Back) Service. 

(d)(e)  Pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0301(a)(4) an applicant for 

certification as a justice officer may not perform any action 

requiring certification by the Commission prior to the date on 

which the employing agency receives the report of the result of 

the criminal history record check unitizing fingerprints. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-7; 143B-972.1. 

 

SECTION .0400 - CERTIFICATION OF JUSTICE 

OFFICERS 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0408 VERIFICATION OF RECORDS 

TO DIVISION 

(a)  Prior to issuing certification of each justice officer, for the 

purpose of verifying compliance with these Rules, the employing 

agency shall submit to the Division, along with the Report of 

Appointment (F-4), the following documents: 

(1) documentation consisting of diplomas, school 

transcripts, or certificates from the educational 

institution attended by the applicant confirming 

the applicant's compliance with the educational 

requirement pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B 

.0302(a); 

(2) certified copy of the applicant's Oath of Office, 

if applying for certification as a deputy sheriff; 

(3) the applicant's Medical History Statement 

(F-1); 

(4) the applicant's Medical Examination Report 

(F-2 and F-2A); 

(5) the applicant's unredacted Psychological 

Screening Examination as required by G.S. 

17E-7; 

(5)(6) the applicant's notarized Personal History 

Statement (F-3); 

(6)(7) the Commission-mandated Background 

Investigation Form (F-8) with all 

accompanying documentation set out in 12 

NCAC 10B .0305; 
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(7)(8) documentation of negative results on a drug 

screen pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0301(6); and 

(8)(9) documentation of the applicant's compliance 

with the probationary certification 

requirements pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B 

.0403(b), if the applicant is a deputy sheriff or a 

detention officer and is authorized by the 

agency to carry a firearm. 

(b)  Compliance with this Rule is waived, with the exception of 

the requirements of 12 NCAC 10B .0408(a)(8), Subparagraph 

(a)(9) of this Rule for officers applying for dual certification as 

defined in 12 NCAC 10B .0103(12) provided that: 

(1) the officer holds a valid certification issued by 

this Commission, as either a deputy sheriff, 

detention officer, or telecommunicator with the 

employing agency requesting dual certification; 

and 

(2) the officer has continuously been employed as 

a justice officer with the agency. 

(c)  Where the Division has previously received a complete 

Background Investigation Form (F-8) with all accompanying 

documentation set out in 12 NCAC 10B .0305 in connection with 

another application for certification to this Commission, the 

Background Investigation need only be updated from the date of 

the last background investigation on file in the Division with 

documentation of compliance with Subparagraphs (f)(1), (2), and 

(3) of this Rule, and a certified criminal record check from each 

jurisdiction in which the person has resided in and for each name 

the applicant has used since the initial Background Investigation 

(Form F-8) was completed. The criminal record check shall be 

from the Clerk of Court, a law enforcement agency within the 

jurisdiction, or other governmental entity that maintains or has 

access to criminal records for the jurisdiction. The criminal record 

check shall be certified by the entity providing the record with 

either a raised seal or other visible verification that the document 

is an authentic copy. In addition: 

(1) if the applicant has been issued an out-of-state 

driver's license by a state other than North 

Carolina since obtaining certification, then 

compliance with 12 NCAC 10B .0408(f)(4), is 

required; and 

(2) if the applicant has resided in a state other than 

North Carolina since obtaining certification, a 

certified criminal record check from each 

jurisdiction shall be provided, if available. The 

criminal record check shall be from the Clerk of 

Court, a law enforcement agency within the 

jurisdiction, or other governmental entity that 

maintains or has access to criminal records for 

the jurisdiction. The criminal record check shall 

be certified by the entity providing the record 

with either a raised seal or other visible 

verification that the document is an authentic 

copy. 

(d)  If the Personal History Statement (F-3) required in 

Subparagraph (a)(5) of this Rule was completed more than 120 

days prior to the applicant's date of appointment, the Personal 

History Statement (F-3) shall be updated by the applicant, who 

shall initial and date all changes, or a new Personal History 

Statement (F-3) shall be completed. 

(e)  If the Mandated Background Investigation Form (F-8) 

required in Subparagraph (a)(6) of this Rule was completed more 

than 120 days prior to the applicant's date of appointment, the 

Mandated Background Investigation Form (F-8) shall be updated 

by the background investigator who shall initial and date all 

changes or a new Mandated Background Investigation Form (F-

8), must be completed. 

(f)  The Background Investigation Form (F-8) shall have the 

following records checks attached to it when submitted: 

(1) a Statewide search of the Administrative Office 

of the Courts (AOC) computerized system; 

(2) the national criminal record database accessible 

through the Division of Criminal Information 

(DCI) network; 

(3) the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles, 

if the applicant has ever possessed a driver's 

license issued in North Carolina; and 

(4) an out-of-state motor vehicles check obtained 

through the Division of Criminal Information or 

obtained through another state's division of 

motor vehicles agency for any state in which the 

applicant held a license within the 10 year 

period prior to the date of appointment. 

appointment; and 

(5) the applicant's Administrative Office of the 

Courts' AOC-CR-280 form as set forth in Rule 

.0305 of this Subchapter. 

(g)  The Background Investigation shall include records checks 

from jurisdictions where the applicant resided within the 10 year 

period prior to the date of appointment and where the applicant 

attended high school, as follows: 

(1) where the applicant resided in jurisdictions in 

North Carolina, Clerk of Court records checks 

shall be acceptable; 

(2) where the applicant resided in another country: 

(A) an Interpol records check shall be 

acceptable provided the country is a 

member of Interpol; 

(B) if the applicant was in the United 

States military, a military records 

check shall be acceptable; or 

(C) if neither an Interpol or United States 

military record check are available, 

subject to the limits of United States 

and North Carolina law, the 

employing agency shall make a good 

faith effort to obtain a records check 

from the national law enforcement 

authority, judicial authority, or other 

governmental entity charged with 

maintaining criminal records for the 

country where the applicant resided 

and submit the record check if 

available. If the employing agency 

cannot obtain the records check it must 

submit documentation consisting of 

the correspondence with the foreign 
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governmental entity and a written 

report from the assigned background 

investigator explaining the employing 

agency's efforts to obtain the record 

and why the record could not be 

obtained. The following steps are 

required to show a good faith effort to 

obtain the record check: 

(i) contacting and requesting the 

record from the foreign 

governmental entity or 

entities the employing 

agency believes are likely to 

possess the records by mail, 

telegram, telephone, 

facsimile or electronic mail; 

(ii) if referred to another foreign 

governmental entity, 

contacting and requesting the 

record from that foreign 

governmental entity; and 

(iii) if requested, providing and 

submitting any formal 

requests, forms, or 

documentation required by 

the foreign governmental 

entity before it will provide 

the record check; 

(3) where the applicant resided in a state other than 

North Carolina, a records check through the 

Division of Criminal Information using the 

Out-of-State Computer Name Query (IQ) shall 

be acceptable provided the state will respond to 

an Out-of-State Computer Name Query. If not, 

then either a records check response from both 

the municipality, city, or town where the 

applicant resided and the county-wide Sheriff's 

Office or Police Department obtained by mail, 

telegram, facsimile, or electronic mail, or a 

records check from the county-wide or state-

wide record holding agency shall be acceptable. 

(h)  If the applicant had prior military service, the Background 

Investigation shall also include a copy of the applicant's DD214, 

Certificate of Release from Active Duty, that shows the 

characterization of discharge for each discharge that occurred and 

military discipline received, if any. If the DD214 indicates a 

discharge characterization of any type other than Honorable, then 

a military records check shall also be required. 

(i)  All records checks shall be performed on each name by which 

the applicant for certification has ever been known since the age 

of 12. If the applicant has had an official name change that 

occurred after the applicant had reached the age of 12 years of 

age, then a copy of the legal document effecting the name change 

with either a raised seal or other visible verification that the 

document is an authentic copy from the governmental entity that 

issued the document or is charged with maintaining the record of 

the document shall be submitted by the employing agency. 

(j)  The employing agency shall forward to the Division certified 

copies of any criminal charges and dispositions known to the 

agency or listed on the applicant's Personal History Statement (F-

3). The employing agency shall identify any charges or other 

violations on the records checks required in Paragraph (f) of this 

Rule that are for individuals other than the applicant for 

certification and explain why the employing agency believes 

another individual is responsible for the charge or violation. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7. 

 

SECTION .0600 - MINIMUM STANDARDS OF 

TRAINING FOR DETENTION OFFICERS 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0603 EVALUATION FOR TRAINING 

WAIVER 

(a)  Applicants for detention officer certification with prior 

detention or correctional officer experience who have been 

employed and certified as a detention or correctional officer may 

seek a training waiver evaluation pursuant to this Section. 

(b)  The Division shall use the following to evaluate a detention 

officer's training and experience to grant a training waiver: 

(1) Persons who separated from a detention officer 

position during the probationary period after 

completion of a commission-certified 

Detention Officer Certification Course and who 

have been separated from a detention officer 

position for more than one year shall complete 

a subsequent commission-certified Detention 

Officer Certification Course in its entirety and 

pass the State Comprehensive Examination 

within the 12 month probationary period as set 

forth in Rule .0602(a) of this Section. 

(2) Persons who separated from a detention officer 

position during their probationary period after 

completion of a commission-certified 

Detention Officer Certification Course and who 

have been separated from a detention officer 

position for one year or less shall serve the 

remainder of the initial probationary period in 

accordance with G.S. 17E-7(b), but need not 

complete an additional training program. 

(3) Persons who separated from a detention officer 

position during the probationary period without 

completion of a commission-certified 

Detention Officer Certification Course, or 

whose certification was suspended pursuant to 

Rule .0204(b)(1) of this Subchapter and who 

have remained separated or suspended for over 

one year shall complete a commission-certified 

Detention Officer Certification Course in its 

entirety and pass the State Comprehensive 

Examination, and shall be allowed a 12 month 

probationary period as prescribed in Rule 

.0602(a) of this Section. 

(4) Persons holding General Justice Officer 

Certification as a detention officer pursuant to 

12 NCAC 10B .0404 who completed a 

commission-certified Detention Officer 

Certification Course and who separated from a 

detention officer position for more than one 
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year shall complete a subsequent commission-

certified Detention Officer Certification Course 

in its entirety and pass the State Comprehensive 

Examination within the 12 month probationary 

period as prescribed in Rule .0602(a) of this 

Section. 

(5) Persons holding Grandfather Detention Officer 

Certification pursuant to G.S. 17E-7(a), who 

separate from a detention officer position and 

remain separated from a detention officer 

position for more than one year shall complete 

a commission-certified Detention Officer 

Certification Course in its entirety and pass the 

State Comprehensive Examination within the 

12 month probationary period as prescribed in 

Rule .0602(a) of this Section. 

(6) Persons transferring to a sheriff's office from 

another law enforcement agency who hold a 

detention officer certification issued by the 

North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission are subject to 

evaluation of their prior training and experience 

on an individual basis. The Division shall 

review the training received against the training 

required by Rule .0601 of this Section and 

determine whether that training is comparable 

to the requirements set out in Rule .0601 based 

upon topics covered and determine what 

additional training, if any is required under Rule 

.0601. 

(c)  The Division shall grant a training waiver to individuals that: 

(1) hold general certification as a correctional 

officer from the North Carolina Criminal 

Justice Education and Training Standards 

Commission under 12 NCAC 09G .0304; 

(2) completed training as a correctional officer 

between January 1, 1981 and August 1, 2002: 

(3) is an applicant for justice officer certification as 

a detention officer certification through a 

sheriff's office or a district confinement facility; 

and 

(4) does not have a break in service exceeding one 

year from the time of last employment as a 

correctional officer to the time of being 

appointed as a detention officer. 

Applicants that are granted a training waiver under this 

section shall serve a 12-month probationary period as set 

forth in Rule .0602(a) of this Section. During this 

probationary period, they must take and successfully 

complete the State Comprehensive Examination in its 

entirety as set forth in 12 NCAC 10B .0606 after 

completing the following topic areas in a commission-

certified Detention Officer Certification Course: 

Orientation    3 hours 

Legal Aspects of Management &  

Supervision    14 hours 

Medical Care in the Jail  6 hours 

Investigative Process in the Jail 8 hours 

Criminal Justice System  2 hours 

Introduction to Rules and  

Regulations Governing Jails 2 hours 

Subject Control Techniques 32 hours 

TOTAL HOURS   67 hours 

(d)  The Division shall grant a waiver to individuals that: 

(1) hold general certification as a correctional 

officer issued by the North Carolina Criminal 

Justice Education and Training Standards 

Commission under 12 NCAC 09G .0304; 

(2) completed training as a correctional officer 

after August 1, 2002; 

(3) are applicants for detention officer certification 

through a sheriff's office or a district 

confinement facility; and 

(4) does not have a break in service exceeding one 

year from the time of last employment as a 

correctional officer to the time of being 

appointed as a detention officer. 

Detention officers that are granted a training waiver 

under this section shall serve a 12-month probationary 

period as set forth in Rule .0602(a) of this Section and 

provide the record of completion of the Basic 

Correctional Officer Training Course as defined in 12 

NCAC 09G .0411. The Division shall review the course 

curriculum of the correctional officer training received 

against the training required by Rule .0601 of this 

Section and determine whether that training is 

comparable to the requirements set out in Rule .0601 of 

this Section. Based upon topics covered in the basic 

correctional officer training course, and the Division 

shall determine if additional training is required to ensure 

the applicant has received training comparable to that 

specified in Rule .0601 of this Section. The Division 

shall notify the employing agency of the resulting 

training requirements, if any, and the officer shall take 

and successfully complete the State Comprehensive 

Examination as set forth in 12 NCAC 10B .0606 in its 

entirety during the probationary period after completing 

any training as determined to be necessary by the 

training evaluation referenced in this section, in a 

commission-certified Detention Officer Certification 

Course. 

(e)  Applicants for detention officer certification who hold 

probationary justice officer certification as a deputy pursuant to 

12 NCAC 10B .0402 or general justice officer certification as a 

deputy pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0404, with the North Carolina 

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission; or a law 

enforcement officer that has probationary law enforcement officer 

certification, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09C .0303 or general law 

enforcement officer certification, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09C 

.0304, issued by the Criminal Justice Education and Training 

Standards Commission, shall be granted a training waiver 

pursuant to this Section provided the individual: 

(1) has successfully completed the NC Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course as outlined in 12 

NCAC 09B .0205; 

(2) has had no break in service as a deputy sheriff 

or law enforcement officer exceeding one year. 
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(3) serves a 12-month probationary period as a 

detention officer, as set forth in Rule .0602(a) 

of this Section; and 

(4) takes and successfully complete the State 

Comprehensive Examination for the Detention 

Officer Certification Course in its entirety as set 

forth in 12 NCAC 10B .0606 during that 

probationary period; and period after: 

(5)(A) completes completing the following topic areas in a full delivery of a commission-certified Detention Officer 

Certification Course: 

Course Orientation      3 hours 

Ethics         3 hours 

Fire Emergencies       4 hours 

Aspects of Mental Illness      6 hours 

Review and Testing      7 hours 

Legal Aspects of Management and Supervision   14 hours 

Contraband/Searches      6 hours 

Medical Care in the Jail      6 hours 

Patrol and Security Function of the Jail    5 hours 

Key and Tool Control      2 hours 

Supervision and Management of Inmates    5 hours 

Suicides and Crisis Management     5 hours 

Introduction to Rules and Regulations    2 hours 

Stress         3 hours 

Prison Rape Elimination Act     2 hours 

TOTAL HOURS       73 hours 

or 

(B) completing a commission certified truncated delivery of the Detention Officer Certification Course that 

covers the following topic areas: 

Course Orientation      3 hours 

Ethics         3 hours 

Fire Emergencies       4 hours 

Aspects of Mental Illness      6 hours 

Review and Testing      7 hours 

Legal Aspects of Management and Supervision   14 hours 

Contraband/Searches      6 hours 

Medical Care in the Jail      6 hours 

Patrol and Security Function of the Jail    5 hours 

Key and Tool Control      2 hours 

Supervision and Management of Inmates    5 hours 

Suicides and Crisis Management     5 hours 

Introduction to Rules and Regulations    2 hours 

Stress         3 hours 

Prison Rape Elimination Act     2 hours 

TOTAL HOURS       73 hours 

 

(f)  A truncated delivery of the Detention Officer Certification 

Course that only teaches blocks as specified in Paragraph (e) of 

this Rule is hereby authorized and shall comply with the following 

requirements: 

(1) The "Detention Officer Certification Training 

Manual," including subsequent amendments 

and editions, shall be used as the basic 

curriculum for the specified topics covered in 

the truncated delivery. 

(2) The "Truncated Detention Officer Certification 

Course Management Guide" published by the 

North Carolina Justice Academy is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions, and shall 

be used by school directors in planning, 

implementing, and delivering the truncated 

basic detention officer training. 

(3) The standards and requirements established by 

the "Truncated Detention Officer Certification 

Course Management Guide" shall be adhered to 

by the school director. The Justice Academy 

shall issue to each certified school director a 

copy of the guide at the time of certification at 

no cost to the certified school. 

(4) Each applicant shall complete form F-1, 

Medical History Statement, and pass the 

medical exam as required by 12 NCAC 10B 

.0304. 

(5) Each executive officer or officers of the 

institution or agency sponsoring a truncated 

Detention Officer Certification Course shall 
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comply with the provisions of 12 NCAC 10B 

.0703 except for subsection .0703(c)(3)(D), as 

the truncated course does not require instruction 

in Subject Control Techniques because this is 

already provided in Basic Law Enforcement 

Training. 

(6) Each school director shall submit to the 

Commission a Pre-Delivery Report of Training 

Course Presentation (Form F-7A) in 

compliance with 12 NCAC 10B .0704(8). 

(7) Each school director shall not more than 10 

days after receiving from the Commission's 

representative the Report of Examination 

Scores, submit to the Commission a Post-

Delivery Report of Training Course 

Presentation (Form 7-B) in compliance with 12 

NCAC 10B .0704(16). 

(8) The delivering institution or agency must be 

certified to deliver the Detention Officer 

Certification Course under 12 NCAC 10B 

.0802. 

(9) Each presentation of the truncated Detention 

Officer Certification Course shall be reported to 

the Commission in compliance with 12 NCAC 

10B .0803. 

(10) All instructors, school directors, executive 

officers, or lecturers involved in teaching and 

administering a truncated Detention Officer 

Certification Course shall hold the same 

certifications and qualifications required of 

instructors, school directors, executive officers, 

or lecturers in the full Detention Officer 

Certification Course. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 06 – BOARD OF BARBER AND 

ELECTROLYSIS EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Barber and Electrolysis Examiners intends to adopt the 

rules cited as 21 NCAC 06O .0202 and .0203. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.barbers.nc.gov/news.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2023 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  August 1, 2023 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:   

By videoconference at https://bit.ly/BBEEAug2023rules  

or by teleconference at (984) 204-1487 

conference ID 533 413 014# 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 06O .0202 would establish a presumptive civil penalty 

for individuals practicing electrology or laser hair practice 

without a license. The presumptive penalty would be set at the 

statutory maximum of $5,000. (Under 21 NCAC 06O .0101, the 

presumptive penalty can be modified according to the criteria in 

G.S. 86B-10(b).) 

21 NCAC 06O .0203 would establish presumptive civil penalties 

for electrology schools that fail to comply with regulatory 

requirements. Examples of noncompliance include operating a 

school without a license, failing to maintain records, falsifying 

records, and failing to submit records. (Under 21 NCAC 06O 

.0101, the presumptive penalties can be modified according to the 

criteria in G.S. 86B-10(b).) 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Dennis Seavers, 7001 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-7000; phone (919) 814-0641; 

email dennis.seavers@nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  September 15, 2023 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or email. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06O – CIVIL PENALTY 

 

SECTION .0200 – ELECTROLYSIS 

 

21 NCAC 06O .0202 UNLICENSED PRACTICE 

The presumptive civil penalty for an individual engaging in the 

practice of electrology or laser, light source, or pulsed-light 

treatments without a license is five thousand dollars ($5,000). 

 

Authority G.S. 86B-10; 86B-52. 
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21 NCAC 06O .0203 SCHOOLS 

(a)  The presumptive civil penalty for an individual operating a 

school of electrology or laser, light source, or pulsed-light 

treatments without certification pursuant to G.S. 86B-67: 

(1) 1st offense $300.00 

(2) 2nd offense $400.00 

(3) 3rd offense $500.00 

(b)  The presumptive civil penalty for a school of electrology or 

laser, light source, or pulsed-light treatments failing to maintain 

records required by this Chapter: 

(1) 1st offense $200.00 

(2) 2nd offense $250.00 

(3) 3rd offense $500.00 

(c)  The presumptive civil penalty for a school of electrology or 

laser, light source, or pulsed-light treatments falsifying records 

required by 21 NCAC 06X .0105 and 21 NCAC 06X .0108 is five 

hundred dollars ($500.00). 

(d)  The presumptive civil penalty for a school of electrology or 

laser, light source, or pulsed-light treatments failing to submit 

records required by this Chapter: 

(1) 1st offense $200.00 

(2) 2nd offense $350.00 

(3) 3rd offense $500.00 

(e)  The presumptive civil penalty for a school of electrology or 

laser, light source, or pulsed-light treatments failing to comply 

with the facility requirements as set forth in 21 NCAC 06X .0106 

and .0107: 

(1) 1st offense $250.00 

(2) 2nd offense $400.00 

(3) 3rd offense $500.00 

(f)  The presumptive civil penalty for a school of electrology or 

laser, light source, or pulsed-light treatments failing to comply 

with the student-instructor ratio set forth in 21 NCAC 06X .0110: 

(1) 1st offense $250.00 

(2) 2nd offense $400.00 

(3) 3rd offense $500.00 

 

Authority G.S. 86B-10; 86B-67; 86B-68. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 42 – BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN 

OPTOMETRY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Examiners in Optometry intends to amend the rule cited 

as 21 NCAC 42M .0105. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncoptometry.org/proposed-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2023 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Contact the Board 

at 910-285-3160 or janice@ncoptometry.org 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The Board no longer requires 

Form BEO-9 (reporting of expenses paid by preceptor). 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Janice K. Peterson, 521 Yopp 

Rd., Suite 214 #444, Jacksonville, NC 28540; phone (910) 285-

3160; fax (910) 285-4546; email janice@ncoptometry.org 

 

Comment period ends:  September 15, 2023 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or email. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 42M - PRECEPTORSHIPS 

 

21 NCAC 42M .0105 REMUNERATION AND 

EXPENSES 

The preceptor shall serve as such without remuneration for his or 

her services. Any funds given to the preceptee shall be only for 

reimbursement of expenses and subsistence costs. All such funds 

shall be reported by the preceptor on Form BEO-9 to the Board 

no later than 30 days after the termination of the preceptorship. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-115.1(3); 90-117.5. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the 

Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative 

Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270th day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to 

the Rules Review Commission by the 270th day. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-21.1 

and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Wildlife Resources Commission 

 

Rule Citation:  15A NCAC 10B .0501-.0505 

 

Effective Date:  July 1, 2023 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  June 15, 

2023 

 

Reason for Action:  Based on recent detections of wasting 

disease (CWD) outside of the currently designated primary 

surveillance area, the agency needs to adjust restrictions and 

requirements to assist with further detection, delineation, and 

isolation of CWD. Emergency powers are being used by the 

Executive Director to implement localized response actions and 

temporary rules are needed to replace emergency powers and 

specify requirements necessary to reduce movement and the 

likelihood of infecting new areas. 

 

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10B - HUNTING AND TRAPPING 

 

SECTION .0500 – CHRONIC WASTING DISEASE 

MANAGEMENT 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0501 DEFINITIONS AND GENERAL 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The rules in this Section apply to any an area of the State 

where Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) has been detected, as 

determined by the Commission. 

(b)  The following definitions shall apply to rules in this Section: 

(1) "Cervid" means all the animals in the Family 

Cervidae not otherwise regulated by the NC 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services. 

(2) "Cervid Health Cooperator" means an 

individual authorized to collect CWD samples 

on behalf of the Commission. 

(3) "Chronic Wasting Disease" or "CWD" means 

the transmissible spongiform encephalopathy 

prion disease affecting species within the deer 

(Cervidae) Family. 

(4) "CWD Management Area" means the area 

delineated by the Commission where CWD has 

been determined to be endemic and the rules of 

this Section apply. 

(5) "Primary Surveillance Area" or "PSA" means a 

county delineated by the Commission for CWD 

surveillance where a confirmed CWD positive 

cervid has been found. 

(6) "Sample" means the cervid head and at least no 

less than three inches of the neck. 

(7) "Secondary Surveillance Area" or "SSA" 

means a county adjacent to or near a PSA 

delineated by the Commission for CWD 

surveillance. 

(8) "Submit" means to deliver a sample to a cervid 

health cooperator or qualified Commission 

employee or deposit in a Commission CWD 

Testing Drop-off Station. 

(9) "Surveillance Area" means the PSA and SSA 

collectively. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-306; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 2022; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0502 CWD SURVEILLANCE AREAS 

DEFINED 

(a)  The following Counties are Primary Surveillance Areas: 

(1) Cumberland County; 

(2) Stokes County; 

(3) Surry County; 

(4) Wilkes County; and 

(5) Yadkin County. 

(b)  The following Counties are Secondary Surveillance Areas: 

(1) Alexander County: 

(2) Alleghany County; 

(3) Ashe County; 

(4) Bladen County; 

(5) Davie County; 

(6) Forsyth County; 

(7) Guilford County; 

(8) Harnett County; 

(9) Hoke County; 

(10) Iredell County; 

(11) Robeson County; 

(12) Rockingham County; and 

(13) Sampson County. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-306; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 2022; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 2023. 
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15A NCAC 10B .0503 SURVEILLANCE AREA 

(a)  Inside a surveillance area, placement of minerals or salt licks 

to purposefully congregate wildlife shall be prohibited. Placement 

of bait, food, or food product to purposefully congregate wildlife 

shall be prohibited from January 2 through August 31 each year 

inside a Surveillance Area, except that bird feeders specifically 

designed for nongame birds and other activities specifically 

permitted by the Commission shall be allowed. Placement of bait, 

food, or food products for the purpose of hunting to hunt during 

the urban archery season shall be allowed within the established 

season in participating municipalities. 

(b)  White-tailed deer fawn rehabilitation is prohibited in a 

Surveillance Area. 

(c)  White-tailed deer fawns originating from within a 

Surveillance Area shall not be transported outside the 

Surveillance Area. 

(d)  No cervid carcass or carcass parts originating from inside a 

Primary Surveillance Area or Secondary Surveillance Area shall 

be transported outside of the county of origin, except: 

(b)  It is unlawful to export a live cervid, cervid carcass, or carcass 

parts originating from inside a Surveillance Area except: 

(1) meat that has been boned out such so that no 

pieces or fragments of bone remain; 

(2) caped hides with no part of the skull or spinal 

column attached; 

(3) antlers, antlers attached to cleaned skull plates, 

or skulls free from meat or brain tissue; 

(4) cleaned lower jawbones with teeth or cleaned 

teeth; 

(5) finished taxidermy products and tanned hides; 

and 

(6) carcass or carcass parts permitted by the 

Commission for disposal outside of the 

Surveillance Area. 

(7) carcass or carcass parts originating inside a 

PSA may be transported into contiguous 

PSA(s) or outside of the PSA as specified in 

Subparagraphs (d)(1) through (6) of this Rule; 

and 

(8) carcass or carcass parts originating inside a 

SSA may be transported into contiguous 

SSA(s) or PSA(s) or outside of the SSA as 

specified in Subparagraphs (d)(1) through (6) of 

this Rule. 

(c)  White-tailed deer fawn rehabilitation is prohibited in a 

Surveillance Area. 

(d)  White-tailed deer fawns originating from within a 

Surveillance Area shall not be transported outside the 

Surveillance area. 

(e)  No person shall possess or use any a substance or material that 

contains or is labeled as containing any excretion collected from 

a cervid, including feces, urine, blood, gland oil, or other bodily 

fluid for the purposes of taking or attempting to take, attracting, 

or scouting wildlife inside a surveillance area. This prohibition 

shall not apply to the following substances: 

(1) products labeled as containing synthetic 

analogs of cervid excretions and labeled as 

such; excretions; 

(2) natural substances labeled as being collected 

from facilities within North Carolina that have 

a valid Farmed Cervid License from the North 

Carolina Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services and are labeled as such; 

Services; 

(3) natural deer urine products labeled as 

containing excretions from facilities within 

North Carolina that have a valid Farmed Cervid 

License from the North Carolina Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services and are 

labeled as such; Services; and 

(4) natural deer urine products labeled as 

containing excretions from facilities that meet 

all the following requirements and are labeled 

as such: requirements: 

(A) determined to be free of chronic 

wasting disease (CWD) based on 

testing by an independent laboratory 

using a method that may help detect 

the presence of CWD prions; 

(B) complies with a federally approved 

CWD herd certification program and 

any federal CWD protocols; and 

(C) participates in additional herd 

management requirements as 

specified by the Wildlife Resources 

Commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-306; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 2022; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. September 1, 2022; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. November 29, 2022; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0504 PRIMARY SURVEILLANCE 

AREA 

(a)  Any A hunter who harvests a cervid from the Saturday prior 

to Thanksgiving through the 3rd Sunday thereafter in PSA 

counties listed in Rule .0203(a)(1)(C) or (E) of this Subchapter 

shall submit a sample from that cervid no not later than 2 two 

weeks following the harvest for CWD testing. 

(b)  Any A hunter who harvests a cervid from the Saturday 12 

days prior to Thanksgiving Day through the 3rd Sunday thereafter 

in PSA counties listed in Rule .0203(a)(1)(A) or (B) of this 

Subchapter shall submit a sample from that cervid no not later 

than 2 two weeks following the harvest for CWD testing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-306; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 2022; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0505 SECONDARY SURVEILLANCE 

AREA 

(a)  Any A hunter who harvests a cervid from the Saturday prior 

to Thanksgiving through the 3rd Sunday thereafter in SSA 

counties listed in Rule .0203(a)(1)(C) or (E) of this Subchapter 

shall submit a sample from that cervid no not later than 2 two 

weeks following the harvest for CWD testing. 
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(b)  Any A hunter who harvests a cervid from the Saturday 12 

days prior to Thanksgiving Day through the 3rd Sunday thereafter 

in SSA counties listed in Rule .0203(a)(1)(A) or (B) of this 

Subchapter shall submit a sample from that cervid no not later 

than 2 two weeks following the harvest for CWD testing. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-306; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 2022; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 2023. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission June 15, 2023 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Andrew P. Atkins (1st Vice Chair) 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. (2nd Vice Chair) Wayne R. Boyles, III 
Jay R. Hemphill Barbara A. Jackson 

Jeff Hyde Randy Overton 
Robert A. Rucho Paul Powell 

 
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Brian Liebman  984-236-1948 
Lawrence Duke  984-236-1938 
William W. Peaslee 984-236-1939 
Seth M. Ascher  984-236-1934 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 July 20, 2023 September 21, 2023 
 August 17, 2023 October 19, 2023 

 

 
 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING 
MINUTES 

June 15, 2023 
 
The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, June 15, 2023, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church 
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, and via WebEx. 
 
Commissioners Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Jeanette Doran, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Bob Rucho were 
present in the Commission Room. Commissioner, Jay Hemphill was present via WebEx. 
 
Staff member Alexander Burgos, Commission Counsel Seth Ascher, Lawrence Duke, Brian Liebman, and Bill Peaslee were 
present in the room.  
 
The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. with Chair Doran presiding. Due to technical difficulties with the Webex 
streaming, the Chair called the meeting into recess at 9:11 a.m., and then restarted the agenda at 9:22 a.m. to give members 
of the public joining remotely the opportunity to hear the full meeting agenda. 
 
The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to 
avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest. 
 
The Chair notified the Commissioners that the following item on the agenda would be taken up out of order at the end of 
the agenda: Follow up matter Tab E for Marine Fisheries Commission. 
 
APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the May 18, 2023, meeting. There 
were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the minutes were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Bob Rucho – 6. Voting in the negative: 
None. 
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The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the general account of the May 18, 2023 closed 
session. There were none and the general account was approved as distributed. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the general account of the May 18, 2023 RRC closed session was approved by roll-call vote, 
ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Randy 
Overton, and Bob Rucho – 6. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
FOLLOW UP MATTERS 
Medical Care Commission 
10A NCAC 13B .3801, .3903, .4103, .4104, .4106, .4305, .4603, .4801, .4805, .5102, .5105, .5406, .5408, and .5411 – 
These Rules remain on the agenda pending the agency’s intention to seek a legislative fix to address the overarching 
objection for lack of statutory authority. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission  
Upon the call of the Chair, 12 NCAC 09E .0107 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Bob Rucho – 6. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 
15A NCAC 02H .1301, .1401, .1402, .1403, .1404, and .1405 - The Commission objected to these Rules at the May 2022 
meeting. The agency has not responded to the Commission’s objection since August 2022. No action was required by the 
Commission. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, 15A NCAC 02B .0315 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Bob Rucho – 6. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Marine Fisheries Commission 
The Commission objected to 15A NCAC 03M .0101 in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.10. Specifically, the Commission 
adopted the staff opinion dated June 14, 2023, finding that the rule was unclear or ambiguous pursuant to G.S. 150B-
21.9(a)(2), by roll-call vote, ayes 5, noes 1 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, 
Randy Overton, and Bob Rucho – 5. Voting in the negative: Wayne R. Boyles III - 1.  
 
Phillip Reynolds, with the Department of Justice and representing the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Tamara Zmuda, with the Department of Justice and representing the Wildlife Resources Commission, addressed the 
Commission. 
 
Christian Waters, with the Wildlife Resources Commission, addressed the Commission. 
 
Coastal Resources Commission  
15A NCAC 07H .0501, .0502, .0503, .0505, .0506, .0507, .0508, .0509, .0510; 07I .0406, .0506, .0702; 07J .0203, .0204, 
.0206, .0207, .0208, and .0312 – At the February meeting, the Commission continued its objection to these Rules from the 
September 2022 meeting pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.12(c). The agency has not responded to the Commission’s continued 
objection.  No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Coastal Resources Commission 
15A NCAC 07H .2305 – At the February meeting, the Commission continued its objection to this Rule from the September 
2022 meeting pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.12(c). The agency has not responded to the Commission’s continued objection.  
No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Coastal Resources Commission 
15A NCAC 07M .0201, .0202, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0701, .0703, .0704, .1001, .1002, and .1101 – At the February meeting, 
the Commission continued its objection to these Rules from the September 2022 meeting pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.12(c). 
The agency has not responded to the Commission’s continued objection.  No action was required by the Commission. 
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Medical Board 
21 NCAC 32B .1002 - The Commission extended the period of review for this Rule at the May meeting. No action was 
required by the Commission. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES) 
Child Care Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, 10A NCAC 09 .0713, .2513, and .2809 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: 
Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Bob Rucho – 6. 
Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission extended the period of review for 15A NCAC 02D .0103, .0501, .0546, .0605, 
.1903, .1904, .1905, .2203; 02Q .0104, .0105, .0206, .0304, .0305, .0307, .0505, .0507, .0508, and .0710 by roll-call vote, 
ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Randy 
Overton, and Bob Rucho – 6. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Coastal Resources Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission extended the period of review for 15A NCAC 07H .0208, .0308; 07K .0207; 07M 
.0602, and .0603 by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, 
Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Bob Rucho – 6. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Board of Dental Examiners 
Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 16C .0501; 16H .0105; 16I .0201; and 16R .0204 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 
6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, 
and Bob Rucho – 6. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Board of Nursing 
Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 36 .0221 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Bob Rucho – 6. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Board of Examiners in Optometry 
Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 42B .0107 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Bob Rucho – 6. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Real Estate Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 58A .0114 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Bob Rucho – 6. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
State Human Resources Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, 25 NCAC 01C .1007 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Bob Rucho – 6. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (TEMPORARY RULES) 
Wildlife Resources Commission  
Upon the call of the Chair, 15A NCAC 10B .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, and .0505 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 6, 
noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, 
and Bob Rucho – 6. Voting in the negative: None. 
  
COMMISSION BUSINESS 
The Commission voted to deny the request from the Department of the Secretary of State to have rules in chapter 18 NCAC 
07 removed from the 2024-2027 Existing Rules Review Schedule by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Randy Overton, and Bob Rucho – 6. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Ann Wall, the rulemaking coordinator with the agency, addressed the Commission. 
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The meeting was adjourned at 10:11 a.m. 
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, July 20, 2023, at 9:00 a.m. 
  
 
      
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
 
 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Jeanette Doran, Chair 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

38:02 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 17, 2023 

99 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

38:02 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 17, 2023 

100 

Rules Review Commission Meeting June 15, 2023 
Via WebEx 

 

Name   Agency  

Bradley Howard WRC 

Ann Elmore SOSNC 

Jessica Montie DEQ 

Elizabeth Kountis DEQ 

Karen Higgins DEQ 

Daniel Johnson DOT 

Denise Mazza OSHR 

Hannah Jernigan DOT 

Emily Wiley DOT 

Pfeiffer, Nadine A DHHS 

Brooks Rainey Pearson SELNC 

William Rafferty Optometry 

Janice Peterson Optometry 

Jesse Bissette DEQ 

John Barkley DOJ 

Monty Crump gorockingham.com 

Bridget Shelton DEQ 

Brandi Salmon DEQ 

Michelle Schilling DOJ 

Will Polk DPS 

Ellen Roeber PT Board 

Jill Cramer Labor 

Melva Bonner WRC 

Laura Rowe Treasurer 

Kyle Briggs WRC 

Anne Coan NCFB 

Corey Oakley WRC 

Jessica Helms DOJ 

Brooks Rainey Pearson SELNC 

Angela Ellis BON 

Chris Matteo  

Paul Wojoski DEQ 

Jason Rock DEQ 

Dan Zapf DEQ 

Shawn Maier DEQ 

Jason Walsh DEQ 

Mary Lucasse DOJ 

Catherine Blum DEQ 

Peck, Julie C DHHS 
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LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES 

June 15, 2023 Meeting 

CHILD CARE COMMISSION 

Staff/Child Ratios for Centers 10A NCAC 09 .0713 

Cooperative Arrangement for Instructional Needs 10A NCAC 09 .2513 

Enhanced Space Requirements 10A NCAC 09 .2809 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Failure to Qualify:Annual In-Service Firearms Training 12 NCAC 09E .0107 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

Neuse River Basin 15A NCAC 02B .0315 

DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Dental Hygiene Licensure by Credentials 21 NCAC 16C .0501 

Dental Radiology Course and Examination Requirements 21 NCAC 16H .0105 

Continuing Education Required 21 NCAC 16I .0201 

Exemption from and Credit for Continuing Education 21 NCAC 16R .0204 

NURSING, BOARD OF 

License Required 21 NCAC 36 .0221 

OPTOMETRY, BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN 

National Board Examinations 21 NCAC 42B .0107 

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

Residential Property and Owners' Association Disclosure S... 21 NCAC 58A .0114 

STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Separation 25 NCAC 01C .1007 

 

 

LIST OF APPROVED TEMPORARY RULES 

June 15, 2023 Meeting 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Definitions and General Requirements 15A NCAC 10B .0501 

CWD Surveillance Areas Defined 15A NCAC 10B .0502 

Surveillance Area 15A NCAC 10B .0503 

Primary Surveillance Area 15A NCAC 10B .0504 

Secondary Surveillance Area 15A NCAC 10B .0505 

 
 
 
 
 


