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Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6. 

 

GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days but not later than 60 days 

after the date a notice of the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published.  

                                                                                                                                                   
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Department of Environmental Quality intends to adopt the rules 

cited as 15A NCAC 01T .0101-.0107, .0201-.0208, and .0301-

.0306. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.deq.nc.gov/permits-rules/rules-regulations/deq-

proposed-rules/proposed-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  February 2, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  December 6, 2023 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  943 Washington Square Mall, Washington, NC 27889 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Session Law 2022-74 (An Act to 

Modify the Current Operations Appropriations Act of 2021 and 

to Make Other Changes in the Budget Operations of the State), 

Section 12.1, requires the Department of Environmental Quality 

to adopt permanent rules to implement the policies or guidelines 

for the administration of funds from G.S. 143-215.73F(b1) and 

G.S. 143-215.73M(b1). These permanent rules are being 

proposed to satisfy this requirement by specifying how to apply 

for funds, what information is necessary to apply, and the 

Department's procedure for deciding fund allocation.  

Funds appropriated in G.S. 143-215.73F(b1) and G.S. 143-

215.73M(b1) are allocated to three programs- the Shallow Draft 

Navigation Channel Dredging Fund for dredging projects 

designed to keep shallow draft navigation channels located in 

State waters or waters of the State located within lakes navigable 

and safe; the Coastal Storm Damage Mitigation Fund, which 

provides grants to units of local government for costs associated 

with beach nourishment, artificial dunes, and other projects to 

mitigate or remediate coastal storm damage to the ocean beaches 

and dune systems of the State; and the Aquatic Weed Control 

Fund, which provides grants for local units of government and 

other entities looking to control, eradicate, and regulate noxious 

aquatic weeds so as to protect and preserve human health, safety, 

and beneficial uses of State waters. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Kevin Hart, Division of Water 

Resources, Archdale Building, 1611 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1611; phone (919) 707-3607; email 

kevin.hart@deq.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  January 2, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 01 - DEPARTMENTAL RULES 

 

SUBCHAPTER 01T - WATER RESOURCES GRANT 

PROGRAMS 

 

SECTION .0100 - AQUATIC WEED FUND 

 

15A NCAC 01T .0101 APPLICABILITY 

The rules in this Section apply to the Aquatic Weed Fund in G.S. 

143-215.73F. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-223; 113A-227; 143-215.73F. 

 

15A NCAC 01T .0102 DEFINITIONS 

For purposes of the rules in this Section, 

(1) "Department" means the North Carolina 

Department of Environmental Quality; 

(2) "Director" means the Director of the Division 

of Water Resources, Department of 

Environmental Quality or his or her designee. 

(2)(3) "Division" means the Division of Water 

Resources, which is within the North Carolina 

Department of Environmental Quality; and 

(3)(4) "Council" means the North Carolina Aquatic 

Weed Control Council 
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Authority G.S. 113A-223; 113A-227; 143-215.73F. 

 

15A NCAC 01T .0103 PROJECT ELIGIBILITY 

An aquatic weed control project proposed by a unit of local, state, 

or federal government; academic institution; public utility; or 

other entity may be eligible for grant funds from the Aquatic 

Weed Fund provided that: 

(1) the project targets one or more aquatic weed 

species included on the Noxious Aquatic Weed 

List in 15A NCAC 02G .0602 with subsequent 

amendments; 

(2) the cost share requirements of G.S. 143-

215.73F(c)(3) are met; and 

(3) the project provides at least one of the following 

benefits: 

(A) protects and preserves human health; 

(B) protects public safety; 

(C) protects the beneficial use of the 

water(s) of the State; 

(D) prevents injury to property; or 

(E) prevents injury to beneficial plant and 

animal life. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-223; 113A-227; 143-215.73F. 

 

15A NCAC 01T .0104 AQUATIC WEED CONTROL 

GRANT APPLICATIONS 

(a)  To request state cost share funding for an eligible aquatic 

weed control project, an application shall be sent to the Division 

of Water Resources Aquatic Weeds Control Program, at 1611 

Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1611 or electronically to 

aquaticweeds@ncdenr.gov. The application shall be made on a 

form provided by the Division, available electronically via the 

following website: https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-

resources/water-planning/water-supply-planning/aquatic-weed-

control-program. The application form can also be obtained by 

emailing a request to aquaticweeds@ncdenr.gov; by contacting 

the Division of Water Resources Aquatic Weeds Control 

Program, 1611 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC, 27699-1611; or 

by calling 919-707-9000. The application shall include the 

following: 

(1) the date of application; 

(2) the name, address and phone number of the 

applicant; 

(3) the project name and location; 

(4) if applicable, the specific waterbody or 

waterbodies in which the proposed project will 

occur; 

(5) the aquatic weed(s) associated with the project; 

(6) acknowledgement that the applicant will fund 

no less than 50 percent of the project cost and 

that full obligation for project cost share will be 

assumed; 

(7) the anticipated benefit or benefits the project 

will provide as outlined in Rule .0103 of this 

Section; and 

(8) a signature by the applicant. 

(b)  In signing the application, the applicant(s) certifies that all 

information contained therein and in support thereof is accurate 

and true to the best of their knowledge. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-223; 113A-227; 143-215.70; 143-215.72; 

143-215.73F. 

 

15A NCAC 01T .0105 GRANT APPLICATION REVIEW 

AND APPROVAL 

(a)  To be eligible for funding from the Aquatic Weed Fund, 

applications shall be received before October 16 of the year prior 

to when the project will occur. 

(b)  All applications shall be reviewed by the Council. Following 

review by the Council, the Council shall provide a list of 

recommended projects proposed for cost share funding to the 

Director of the Division, with total funding by the Department for 

all cost shared projects not to exceed the amount in G.S. 143-

215.73F(b)(2). 

(c)  Recommendations from the Council and project selection by 

the Director of the Division shall be based on the extent to which 

the project meets the criteria listed in G.S. 143-215.72(b). 

(d)  The Director, with concurrence of the Council and provided 

funds are available, reserves the right to make an exception to 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule for the purposes of conducting a rapid 

response to an aquatic weed infestation. In addition, all conditions 

of Rules .0103, .0104, and .0106 of this Section shall apply. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-223; 113A-227; 143-215.70; 143-215.72; 

143-215.73; 143-215.73F. 

 

15A NCAC 01T .0106 INSTRUMENT OF AGREEMENT 

(a)  For a project sponsored by a unit of local government, the 

applicant shall provide a resolution from the local government's 

governing board and, per G.S. 143-6-23(b), a copy of their 

conflict of interest policy prior to the Department beginning any 

approved cost share project or fund disbursement. The resolution 

shall include: 

(1) the specific waterbody or location in which the 

proposed project will occur; 

(2) the aquatic weed(s) associated with the project; 

(3) a statement of assumption for the full obligation 

for payment of the balance of project costs, to 

be no less than fifty percent of the total cost of 

the project; 

(4) a statement of agreement to assist the 

Department in determining the full scope of the 

aquatic weed control project. 

(5) when applicable, assurance that the public will 

have access to the waters that are included in 

the proposed project; 

(6) a statement that the Department will be held 

harmless from any damages that may result 

from the implementation of the project. 

(7) when applicable, a statement that the applicant 

will be responsible for notifying all landowners 

with property adjacent to the waterbody on 

which the project will be located, providing 

details of the project to those landowners, and 
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for sponsoring any necessary public 

information meetings and outreach; and 

(8) when applicable, an agreement to notify the 

public of any temporary water-use restrictions 

associated with the project. 

(b)  For a project sponsored by an entity that is not a unit of local 

government, the applicant shall sign a binding written agreement 

with the Department prior to the Department beginning any 

approved cost share project or fund disbursement. The cost 

sharing agreement shall include the items listed in Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-223; 143-215.73; 143-215.73F; 143-6-23. 

 

15A NCAC 01T .0107 NORTH CAROLINA AQUATIC 

WEED CONTROL COUNCIL 

The Council shall serve as an advisory group for the Division 

regarding the control, eradication, and regulation of noxious 

weeds. The Division shall invite each of the following agencies to 

designate one representative to serve on the Council: 

(1) Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services – Plant Industry Division; 

(2) Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services – Structural Pest Control & Pesticides 

Division; 

(3) Department of Environmental Quality – 

Division of Coastal Management; 

(4) Department of Environmental Quality – 

Division of Marine Fisheries; 

(5) Department of Environmental Quality – 

Division of Water Resources – Water Sciences 

Section; 

(6) Department of Environmental Quality – 

Division of Water Resources – Water Planning 

Section; 

(7) Department of Health and Human Services; 

(7)(8) Department of Natural and Cultural Resources 

– Division of Parks and Recreation; 

(8)(9) Department of Natural and Cultural Resources 

– Natural Heritage Program; 

(9)(10) Department of Transportation; 

(10)(11) North Carolina State University – Crop and Soil 

Science Department; 

(11)(12) North Carolina State University – North 

Carolina Agricultural Research Service; 

(12)(13) U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service; and 

(13)(14) Wildlife Resources Commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-223. 

 

SECTION .0200 - SHALLOW DRAFT NAVIGATION 

CHANNEL DREDGING FUND 

 

15A NCAC 01T .0201 APPLICABILITY 

(a)  The rules in this Section apply to the Shallow Draft 

Navigation Channel Dredging Fund in G.S. 143-215.73F, 

including projects related to dredging federally authorized 

channels where the work is performed by the United States Army 

Corps of Engineers. 

(b)  The rules in this Section do not apply to projects funded by 

the Shallow Draft Navigation Channel Dredging Fund that are 

related to dredging federally authorized channels where the work 

is performed by the United States Army Corps of Engineers. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.73F. 

 

15A NCAC 01T .0202 DEFINITIONS 

For purposes of the rules in this Section, 

(1) "Department" means the North Carolina 

Department of Environmental Quality; 

(2) "Division" means the Division of Water 

Resources, which is within the North Carolina 

Department of Environmental Quality; and 

(3) "shallow draft navigation channel" has the same 

meaning as set forth in G.S. 143-215.73F(e). 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.73F. 

 

15A NCAC 01T .0203 PROJECT ELIGIBILITY 

SHALLOW DRAFT NAVIGATION CHANNEL 

DREDGING FUND 

(a)  A shallow draft navigation channel dredging project proposed 

or sponsored by a local government may be eligible for grant 

funds from the Shallow Draft Navigation Channel Dredging Fund 

provided that: 

(1) the project is designed to keep shallow draft 

navigation channels located in State waters or 

waters of the state located within lakes 

navigable and safe or the project is for siting 

and acquisition of dredged disposal easement 

sites associated with the maintenance of the 

Atlantic Intracoastal Waterway between the 

border with the state of South Carolina and the 

border with the Commonwealth of Virginia, 

under a Memorandum of Agreement between 

the state and the federal government; and 

(2) the cost share requirements of G.S. 143-

215.73F(c) are met. 

(b)  The following are ineligible costs that may not be reimbursed 

from the Shallow Draft Navigation Channel Dredging Fund: 

(1) dredging underneath or immediately adjacent to 

privately owned ship berths, piers, docks, or 

similar facilities or businesses; 

(2) costs incurred for fines, penalties, legal fees, or 

litigation costs (including but not limited to 

litigation of a permit, penalty, enforcement 

action, or contract dispute); 

(3) costs incurred outside of the term of the grant 

contract between the Department and the local 

government; 

(4) purchase of equipment (including but not 

limited to barges and excavators); 

(5) indirect or overhead costs of the municipality, 

such as rent, telephone service, and general 

administrative support; or 

(6) salaries and other expenses of elected officials, 

whether incurred for purposes of project 

direction, execution, or legislation. 
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Authority G.S. 143-215.73F. 

 

15A NCAC 01T .0204 GRANT APPLICATIONS FOR 

THE SHALLOW DRAFT NAVIGATION CHANNEL 

DREDGING FUND FOR NON-FEDERALLY 

AUTHORIZED CHANNELS 

(a)  To apply for grant funds from the Shallow Draft Navigation 

Channel Dredging Fund for non-federally authorized channels, 

the application shall be on forms provided by the Division and 

submitted to the Division's Coastal Infrastructure Grant 

Coordinator. The grant coordinator's contact information and the 

application forms are available at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-

resources-grants/water-resources-development-grant-program. 

The application shall include the following: 

(1) the applicant's primary contact or project 

manager's name, title, organization, tax ID 

number (if applicable), email address, mailing 

address, telephone number; 

(2) the contact and address to which the 

Department should send grant reimbursements 

and grant/project correspondence; 

(3) project title, description, scope and location; 

(4) description of existing conditions and land use 

within the project area; 

(5) anticipated contract start and end dates; 

(6) address the criteria in Rule .0205 of this 

Section; 

(7) description of the location and method of 

dredge spoil disposal; 

(8) itemized project budget; 

(9) project plans and location maps; 

(10) official resolution in accordance with 15A 

NCAC 02G .0104; 

(11) a statement of no overdue tax debts; and 

(12) the local government's conflict of interest 

policy. 

(b)  In signing the application, the applicant(s) certifies that all 

information contained therein and in support thereof is accurate 

and true to the best of their knowledge. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.73F; 143C-6-23. 

 

15A NCAC 01T .0205 GRANT APPLICATION REVIEW 

AND APPROVAL FOR NON-FEDERALLY 

AUTHORIZED CHANNELS 

(a)  The Division shall review grant applications and may either 

approve, approve in part, or disapprove applications based on the 

following criteria: 

(1) the economic, social, and environmental 

benefits to be provided by the projects; 

(2) regional benefits of projects to an area greater 

than the area under the jurisdiction of the local 

sponsoring entity; 

(3) the financial resources of the local sponsoring 

entity; 

(4) the environmental impact of the project; and 

(5) any direct benefit to the State-owned lands. 

(b)  Notwithstanding the criteria set forth in this Rule, the Division 

shall prioritize funding those projects that improve shallow draft 

navigation channels that are accessible by and used by the general 

boating public. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.73F. 

 

15A NCAC 01T .0206 POST FUNDING AWARD FOR 

NON-FEDERALLY AUTHORIZED CHANNELS 

(a)  If the Division awards a grant from the Shallow Draft 

Navigation Channel Dredging Fund and the local government 

accepts the grant award, then a grant contract must be executed 

prior to any grant reimbursements reimbursements. are made. 

Prior to any reimbursements, the local unit of government shall 

submit invoices signed by a representative of the local unit of 

government. 

(b)  Any changes to the scope of the project or project budget after 

submission of a grant application will, at minimum, require 

written approval by the Division and the Division may require a 

grant contract amendment. 

(c)  The term of the grant contract may be extended at the 

discretion of the Division. A request from a grantee to extend the 

grant contract shall be submitted at least 45 days prior to the grant 

contract expiration date and shall include: 

(1) justification for the extension request; 

(2) summary of the current project status; and 

(3) anticipated project schedule moving forward. 

(d)  The grantee shall use the funds for only those purposes set 

forth in G.S. 143-215.73F and shall return unpent unspent grant 

funds. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.73F. 

 

15A NCAC 01T .0207 GRANT APPLICATIONS FOR 

THE SHALLOW DRAFT NAVIGATION CHANNEL 

DREDGING FUND FOR FEDERALLY AUTHORIZED 

CHANNELS 

To apply for grant funds from the Shallow Draft Navigation 

Channel Dredging Fund for federally authorized channels, the 

application shall include the following: 

(1) a letter signed by an official from the local unit 

of government requesting funds from the 

Shallow Draft Navigation Channel Fund that 

includes the requested amount funds (State, 

local unit of government, and total amount); 

(2) the name of the project; 

(3) the project title, description, scope and location; 

(4) description of existing conditions; 

(5) anticipated work start and end dates; 

(6) description of the location and method of 

dredge spoil disposal; 

(7) the local government's conflict of interest 

policy. 

(8) a project cost estimate and timeline from the 

United States Army Corps of Engineers; 

(9) a project location map and; 

(10) the local governments matching funds. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.73F. 
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15A NCAC 01T .0208 POST FUNDING AWARD FOR 

FEDERALLY AUTHORIZED CHANNELS 

If the Division awards a grant from the Shallow Draft Navigation 

Channel Dredging Fund and the local government accepts the 

grant award: 

(1) The sponsoring local unit of government may 

submit a request for additional funds after funds 

have been awarded. To request additional funds 

or a change in scope, the local government shall 

submit a letter with the information in Rule 

.0207 of this Section. 

(2) The grantee shall use the funds for only those 

purposes set forth in G.S. 143-215.73F. 

(3) If funds remain after the project has been 

completed or the project is not awarded by the 

United States' Army Corps of Engineers, the 

local government may submit a written request 

to return any unspent funds. The written 

communication shall be signed by an official of 

the sponsoring local government and include 

the project name and amount of funds that are 

being requested to be returned. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.73F. 

 

SECTION .0300 - COASTAL STORM DAMAGE 

MITIGATION FUND 

 

15A NCAC 01T .0301 APPLICABILITY 

The rules in this Section apply to the Coastal Storm Damage 

Mitigation Fund in G.S. 143-215.73M. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.73M. 

 

15A NCAC 01T .0302 DEFINITIONS 

For purposes of the rules in this Section, 

(1) "Department" means the North Carolina 

Department of Environmental Quality and 

(2) "Division" means the Division of Water 

Resources, which is within the North Carolina 

Department of Environmental Quality. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.73M. 

 

15A NCAC 01T .0303 PROJECT ELIGIBILITY 

(a)  A coastal storm damage mitigation project proposed by a local 

government may be eligible for grant funds from the Coastal 

Storm Damage Mitigation Fund provided that: 

(1) the project is for beach nourishment, artificial 

dunes, and other projects to mitigate or 

remediate coastal storm damage to the ocean 

beaches and dune systems of the State; and 

(2) the cost share requirements of G.S. 143-

215.73M(c) are met. 

(b)  The following are ineligible costs that may not be funded from 

the Coastal Storm Damage Mitigation Fund: 

(1) indirect or overhead costs of the local 

government, such as rent, telephone service, 

and general administrative support; 

(2) costs incurred for fines, penalties, legal fees, or 

litigation costs (including but not limited to 

litigation of a permit, penalty, enforcement 

action, or contract dispute); 

(3) any activities related to a terminal groin and its 

accompanying beach fill project permitted 

pursuant to G.S. 113A-115.1; or 

(4) salaries and other expenses of elected officials, 

whether incurred for purposes of project 

direction, execution, or legislation. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.73M. 

 

15A NCAC 01T .0304 COASTAL STORM DAMAGE 

MITIGATION FUND APPLICATION 

(a)  To apply for grant funds from the Coastal Storm Damage 

Mitigation Fund, the application shall be on forms provided by 

the Division and submitted to the Division's Coastal Infrastructure 

Grant Coordinator. The grant coordinator's contact information 

and the application forms are available at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-

resources-grants/water-resources-development-grant-program. 

(b)  The application shall include the following: 

(1) primary contact or project manager's name, 

title, organization, tax ID number (if 

applicable), email address, mailing address, 

telephone number; 

(2) the contact and address to which the 

Department should sent send grant funds and 

grant/project correspondence; 

(3) project title, description, scope and location; 

(4) description of existing conditions and land use 

within project area; 

(5) anticipated contract start and end dates; 

(6) address the criteria in Rule .0305 of this 

Section; 

(7) itemized project budget; 

(8) project plans and locations maps; 

(10) official resolution in accordance with 15A 

NCAC 02G .0104 with subsequent 

amendments; Rule .0404 of this Subchapter; 

and 

(11) the local government's conflict of interest 

policy. 

(c)  In signing the application, the applicant(s) certifies that all 

information contained therein and in support thereof is accurate 

and true to the best of their knowledge. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.73M; 143C-6-23. 

 

15A NCAC 01T .0305 GRANT APPLICATION REVIEW 

AND APPROVAL 

The Division shall review grant applications and may either 

approve, approve in part, or disapprove applications based on the 

following criteria: 

(1) the economic, social, and environmental 

benefits to be provided by the project; 
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(2) mitigation measures to be implemented to avoid 

and minimize detrimental environmental 

impacts 

(3) expected useful life of the project; 

(4) the source and availability of other funding 

sources for the project; and 

(5) viability and efficiencies of the project, 

including but not limited to regional planning, 

beneficial use of clean, beach quality dredged 

material from navigation channels within the 

nearshore, beach or inlet shoal system, and 

readiness to process based on the project phase, 

permitting status, property access, and 

construction schedule. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.73M. 

 

15A NCAC 01T .0306 POST FUNDING AWARD 

(a)  If the Division awards a grant from the Coastal Storm Damage 

Mitigation Fund and the local government accepts the grant 

award, then a grant contract must be executed prior to any grant 

funds being dispersed. 

(b)  Any changes to the scope of the project or project budget after 

submission of a grant application will, at minimum, require 

written approval by the Division and the Division may require a 

grant contract amendment. 

(c)  The term of the grant contract may be extended at the 

discretion of the Division. A request from a grantee to extend the 

grant contract shall be submitted at least 45 days prior to the grant 

contract expiration date and shall include: 

(1) justification for the extension request; 

(2) summary of the current project status; and 

(3) anticipated project schedule moving forward. 

(b)  The grantee shall use the funds for only those purposes set 

forth in G.S. 143-215.73M and shall return unspent grant funds. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.73M. 

 

 

TITLE 18 – DEPARTMENT OF THE SECRETARY OF 

STATE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Department of the Secretary of State intends to adopt the rules 

cited as 18 NCAC 07B .0104, .0105, .0107-.0109, .0407-.0418, 

.0501-.0506, .0608, .0702-.0707; 07C .0101, .0102, .0204-.0210, 

.0301-.0305, .0402, .0403, .0406, .0407, .0410, .0411, .0506-

.0510, .0604-.0607, .0701-.0704; 07D .0101-.0104, .0302-.0308, 

.0402; 07E .0102, .0103, .0109, .0113, .0202, .0205-.0207, .0213, 

.0214, .0301, .0304, .0306-.0312, .0401-.0407, .0602-.0605, 

.0702, .0801-.0804, .0901-.0904, .1002, .1104, .1105, .1202-

.1205, amend the rules cited as 18 NCAC 07B .0101-.0103, .0106, 

.0110, .0601-.0607, .0701; 07C .0201-.0203, .0401, .0404, .0405, 

.0409, .0502, .0504, .0505, .0601-.0603; 07D .0301; 07E .0101, 

.0104-.0106, .0108, .0112, .0201, .0204, .0209, .0212, .0302, 

.0303, .0601, .0701, .1001, .1101-.1103, and repeal the rules cited 

as 18 NCAC 07E .0107 and .0111. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 

on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://sosnc.gov/divisions/general_counsel/open_rulemaking 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  November 28, 2023 

Time:  10:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. 

Location:  4701 Atlantic Avenue, Suite 116, Conference Room 

115, Raleigh, NC 27604 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  This rulemaking package is the 

second of three rulemaking tranches which the Department of the 

Secretary of State (Department) is required to undertake in order 

to implement and interpret the Remote Electronic Notarization 

Act (RENA), adopted July 8, 2022, S.L. 2022-54.  RENA was 

modified on June 23, 2023 by S.L. 2023-57 and on September 28, 

2023 by S.L. 2023-124.  G.S. 10B-4 provides authority for the 

Department to promulgate rules addressing all aspects of the 

notary public program.    

G.S. 150B-21.3A separately requires all state agencies to review 

existing rules every ten years in accordance with a prescribed 

process that includes rule readoption. Many of the existing notary 

rules are nearing the end of their decadal cycle and thus are due 

for review and readoption.   This second rulemaking tranche is 

undertaken to satisfy the mandates found in both RENA and G.S. 

150B-21.3A.  

The General Assembly mandated the Department to adopt rules 

that promote public confidence in the reliability of the 

identification of principals and signatures made by those 

principals, whether appearing in person or remotely, in keeping 

with the purposes and policies of RENA and the Notary Public Act 

found at G.S. 10B.  Rules adopted by the Department help to 

ensure that transactions are not repudiated as a result of: 

• Mental incapacity of the principal, 

• Coercion or duress, or 

• Fraud. 

By enhancing reliability, the Secretary facilitates economic 

growth while reducing costly and avoidable litigation that might 

otherwise occur with an unreliable identification system. Please 

refer to the Explanation for Proposed Rules that accompanied the 

first tranche of proposed rules for a more in-depth discussion of 

the purposes of and policies underlying RENA and the Notary 

Public Act. 

The Department published the first tranche of proposed rules on 

August 15, 2023.  The first tranche of rules addressed 

fundamental issues related to the three methods of performing 

notarial acts – traditional, electronic, and remote electronic 

notarial acts -- and to establishing rules common to each of these 

three acts. Those first proposed rule amendments, adoptions, and 

repeals involved Subchapters B, F, I, and K of 18 NCAC 07.   

This second tranche of proposed rules revises and supplements 

existing notary public rules. The rules proposed today clarify 

statutory terms and requirements, update existing rules, and 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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codify existing practices into rule.  The proposed rules specifically 

address qualifications and general requirements for notaries, 

instructors, and approved technology providers; the process to 

become a notary and renew a notary commission; continuing 

obligations of notaries; notary instructor requirements; and 

available Department actions should enforcement become 

necessary.  The proposed rule amendments, adoptions, and 

repeals in this second rulemaking involve Subchapters B, C, D, 

and E of 18 NCAC 07.   The final tranche of rules will focus 

primarily on the technology used to perform remote electronic 

notarial acts and the process for licensure and approval of the 

providers of that technology. 

The Department has to date expended in excess of 5000 hours in 

connection with the rulemaking efforts.  While recognizing the 

need for positions to conduct the rulemaking, the General 

Assembly has not appropriated funds to support the rulemaking 

effort mandated by statute in 2022, despite repeated 

Departmental requests.  Departmental allocation of resources to 

the mandatory rulemaking has come at the expense of performing 

other Departmental duties. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Ann B. Wall, P.O. Box 29622, 

Raleigh, NC 27606-7606; phone (919) 814-5400; email 

rules@sosnc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  January 2, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 07 - NOTARY PUBLIC DIVISION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 07B – GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

 

SECTION .0100 – GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0101 SCOPE 

The rules in this Subchapter implement Chapter 10B of the 

General Statutes, the Notary Public and Electronic Notary Acts. 

Statutes. The rules govern govern: 

(1) the qualification, commissioning, notarial acts, 

conduct conduct, and discipline of notaries as 

Constitutional officers of the State. State; 

(2) the qualification, certification, and discipline of 

certified notary instructors; and 

(3) the qualification, approval or licensing, 

conduct, and discipline of technology 

providers. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-2; 10B-4; 10B-14(f); 10B-102; 10B-106; 10B-

125(b); 10B-126; 10B-134.15; 10B-134.17; 10B-134.19; 10B-

134.21; 10B-134.23. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0102 DEFINITIONS 

(a)  The In addition to the definitions in G.S. 10B-3 10B-3, 10B-

101, and 10B-134.1, and apply to this Subchapter. 

(b)  For for purposes of Chapter 10B of the General Statutes and 

Subchapters 07B and 07C of this Chapter: 

(1) "Applicant" means an individual who seeks 

appointment or reappointment to the office of 

notary public; 

(2) "Appoint" or "Appointment" means the naming 

of an individual to the office of notary public 

after determination that the individual has 

complied with Chapter 10B of the General 

Statutes and Subchapter 07B 07C of this 

Chapter. For the purposes of these Rules, the 

Rules in this Chapter, the terms "appoint", 

"reappoint", "appointment", "reappointment", 

"commission", "recommission", 

"commissioning", "appoint," "reappoint," 

"appointment," "reappointment," 

"commission," "recommission," 

"commissioning," and "recommissioning" all 

refer to the term "commission" as defined in 

G.S. 10B-3(4) or to the process of acquiring or 

maintaining such the commission; commission. 

(3)(2) "Appointee" means an individual who has been 

appointed or reappointed to the office of notary 

public but has not yet taken the oath of office to 

be commissioned; commissioned. 

(3) "Authorization" means a notary commission, an 

electronic notary registration, an instructor 

certification, an approval, or a license issued by 

the Department pursuant to Chapter 10B of the 

General Statutes. 

(4) "Authorize" means the Department's action to 

issue an authorization. 

(4)(5) "Commissioning "Commission date" means the 

beginning date of commissioning or 

recommissioning as entered on a commission 

certificate; certificate. 

(6) "Court" means a tribunal of a locality, state, the 

Armed Forces of the United States, a federally 

recognized tribe, or any nation. 
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(5)(7) "Crime" means a crime or: means: 

(a) an offense designated by law as a 

felony or misdemeanor; 

(A)(b) Attempt an attempt to commit a crime; 

an offense; 

(B)(c) Accessory an accessory to 

commission of a crime; an offense; 

(C)(d) Aiding aiding and abetting of a crime; 

an offense; 

(D)(e) Conspiracy conspiracy to commit a 

crime; an offense; or 

(E)(f) Solicitation solicitation to commit a 

crime. an offense; or 

(g) threat to commit an offense. 

An infraction as defined in G.S. 14-3.1 is not a 

crime. 

(6) "Division" means the Notary Public Section of 

the North Carolina Department of the Secretary 

of State. 

(8) "Crime involving dishonesty" means a criminal 

offense that implicates untruthfulness or 

involves deceit, fraud, false dealing, cheating or 

stealing. 

(9) "Criminal convictions" means the following 

dispositions of criminal charges: 

(a) adjudications of guilt by a court; 

(b) pleas of nolo contendere; 

(c) pleas of admission; 

(d) Alford pleas; 

(e) conditional discharges; 

(f) prayers for judgment continued; and 

(g) dispositions denominated differently 

but equivalent to Sub-Items (a)-(f) in 

this Item entered by a court. 

(10) "Denial" with regard to public office means an 

individualized action: 

(a) to disqualify an individual from: 

(i) being a candidate for an 

elected public office; or 

(ii) holding or filling a public 

office; and 

(b) that is taken by: 

(i) a governmental agency, a 

legislative body, or a member 

of the executive branch of 

any locality, state, federally 

recognized tribe, or nation; or 

(ii) a court. 

(11) "Disciplinary action" means an official action 

by a legislative body, governmental agency of 

any locality, state, federally recognized tribe, or 

nation, or court resulting in: 

(a) a disciplinary order; 

(b) a censure; 

(c) a reprimand; 

(d) an admonition; 

(e) a resignation in lieu of termination or 

revocation; 

(f) a denial; 

(g) a written warning; or 

(h) actions denominated differently but 

equivalent to Sub-Items (a)-(g) in this 

Item. 

(12) "Disciplinary order" means a directive or its 

equivalent that: 

(a) is directed to a professional licensee or 

a commissioned notary public; 

(b) prohibits or conditions an individual 

professional licensee or commissioned 

notary public from engaging in the 

practice of the licensee's profession or 

as a notary public for any amount of 

time; 

(c) is issued by a court or government 

agency of any locality, state, federally 

recognized tribe, or nation with 

authority to discipline or sanction the 

professional licensee or commissioned 

notary public; and 

(d) is not stayed, rescinded, or expunged. 

NOTE: Suspensions, restrictions, and 

revocations of commissions or licenses are 

examples of disciplinary orders. 

(13) "Family member" means an individual related 

by blood, marriage, or adoption. 

(14) "Finding" means a decision, conclusion, or 

opinion by a court, legislative body, or 

governmental agency of any locality, state, 

federally recognized tribe, or nation that is 

based upon review of evidence in an 

investigation, quasi-judicial, or judicial 

proceeding resulting in a determination that: 

(a) a fact has been proved according to the 

applicable legal standard; or 

(b) a law applies to the specific facts in a 

matter. 

(15) "Harm" means: 

(a) loss or damage to a person affecting: 

(i) liberty; 

(ii) child custody, parental rights, 

child support, or visitation; 

(iii) reputation; 

(iv) money; 

(v) property; 

(vi) time; or 

(vii) a contract or transaction; or 

(b) an act that undermines public 

confidence in the reliability of notarial 

acts or notarial instructor certification. 

(16) "Issuance" with regard to public office means 

an action: 

(a) to certify the results of an election 

signifying that an individual has been 

elected to the public office; or 

(b) to appoint an individual to fill a public 

office; and 

(c) that is taken by: 
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(i) a governmental agency, a 

legislative body, or a member 

of the executive branch of 

any locality, state, federally 

recognized tribe, or nation; or 

(ii) a court. 

(17) "Licensed member of the North Carolina State 

Bar" means an active member as defined in 27 

NCAC 01A .0201(b). 

(18) "Name for use on a notary public commission" 

means: 

(a) the full legal name of the commission 

applicant; or 

(b) a combination of the applicant's 

surname and: 

(i) full first or middle name; or 

(ii) full first or middle name and 

one or more initials. 

NOTE: Full legal names, full first names, and 

full middle names shall not include nicknames. 

(19) "Notarial act" means, in addition to those acts 

listed in G.S. 10B-3(11), an act authorized by: 

(a) G.S. 163-231(a); and 

(b) G.S. 53C-6-13(a). 

(20) "Notary course" means a course taught by a 

certified notary instructor for purposes of: 

(a) commissioning or recommissioning a 

notary public; or 

(b) registering or reregistering an 

electronic notary public. 

(21) "Probation" with regard to criminal convictions 

means active supervision by a governmental 

agency in lieu of jail or prison. 

(22) "Professional license" means an issuance that 

involves a grant of authority by a governmental 

agency of any locality, state, federally 

recognized tribe, or nation, to an individual to 

act in a fiduciary capacity, or in a capacity that 

affects the public interest or public trust, and 

that regards an occupation requiring training 

and formal qualification. Professional licenses 

are: 

(a) attorney; 

(b) appraiser; 

(c) architect; 

(d) boiler inspector; 

(e) building, electrical, fire, mechanical, 

or plumbing inspector; 

(f) certified nursing assistant; 

(g) certified public accountant; 

(h) code enforcement official; 

(i) electrical contractor; 

(j) engineer; 

(k) general contractor; 

(l) geologist; 

(m) insurance agent; 

(n) insurance company adjuster; 

(o) interpreter or transliterator; 

(p) investment advisor; 

(q) locksmith; 

(r) motor vehicle damage appraiser; 

(s) on-site wastewater contractor 

inspector; 

(t) pharmacist; 

(u) physician; 

(v) physician assistant; 

(w) plumbing, heating, and fire sprinkler 

contractor; 

(x) private investigator; 

(y) professional bondsman; 

(z) real estate broker; 

(aa) registered nurse, licensed practical 

nurse, nurse practitioner; 

(bb) securities broker, dealer, salesman; 

(cc) self-employed insurance adjuster; 

(dd) surety bondsman; 

(ee) sworn law enforcement officer; and 

(ff) teacher. 

(23) "Public office" means a position created by law 

to which an individual has been elected or 

appointed, and that involves a delegation to the 

individual of some of the functions of 

government to be exercised by the individual 

for the benefit of the public and that are not 

solely advisory. 

(24) "Restriction" with regard to public office means 

an individualized action: 

(a) to restrain an individual from serving 

in public office; and 

(b) that is taken by: 

(i) a governmental agency, 

legislative body, or a member 

of the executive branch of 

any locality, state, federally 

recognized tribe, or nation; or 

(ii) a court. 

(25) "Release from prison, probation or parole" 

means: 

(a) completion of all terms of a sentence 

or judgement entered as part of a 

disposition of a criminal charge; 

(b) a certificate or order related to a 

criminal charge evidencing the 

individual's unconditional discharge 

and specifying the restoration of the 

individual's rights of citizenship 

pursuant to G.S. 13-2; 

(c) a certificate of relief pursuant to G.S. 

15A-173.4; 

(d) an endorsement from the Governor 

after satisfaction of conditions of a 

conditional pardon pursuant to G.S. 

13-4; 

(e) an unconditional pardon pursuant to 

G.S. 13-3; 

(f) an order that a conviction is vacated; 

or 
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(g) an action that is equivalent to Sub-

Items (a)-(f) of this Item entered by a 

court, or an official or body of a state, 

federally recognized tribe, or nation 

with the authority to grant pardons. 

(26) "Residence address" or "residential address" 

means a physical location with a street name, 

and a number designating the building in which 

an individual resides, including an apartment or 

unit number if applicable, the city, state, zip 

code, and nation if not the United States. 

(27) "Revocation" with regard to an individual's 

capacity to serve in a public office means an 

individualized action: 

(a) to void or cancel a certification of 

election to office; or 

(b) to remove an individual from a public 

office; and 

(c) that is taken by: 

(i) a governmental agency, 

legislative body, or a member 

of the executive branch of 

any locality, state, federally 

recognized tribe, or nation; or 

(ii) a court. 

(28) "Suspension" with regard to a public office 

means an individualized action: 

(a) to prohibit, for a finite period of time, 

an individual's authority to serve in a 

public office; and 

(b) that is taken by: 

(i) a governmental agency, 

legislative body, or a member 

of the executive branch of 

any locality, state, federally 

recognized tribe, or nation; or 

(ii) a court. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14(f); 10B-106; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126; 10B-134.15; 10B-134.17; 10B-134.19; 10B-134.21; 10B-

134.23. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0103 OPERATING HOURS AND 

GENERAL CONTACT INFORMATION 

(a)  Mailing Address. The mailing address for the Division of 

Certification and Filing, Notary Public Section is P.O. Box 29626, 

Raleigh, NC 27626-0626. 

(b)  Hours. Office Departmental hours for the public are 8:00 a.m. 

to 4:00 5:00 p.m. p.m., Monday through Friday Friday, with the 

exception of state State holidays. 

(c)(b)  Contacting the Division. In addition to contacting the 

Division by mail as provided in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, contact 

with the Division may be by: 

(1) On-line information service: The Department 

provides on-line information services at its 

website: The Department's website is: 

www.sosnc.gov. 

(2) Electronic Mail: 

(c)  Email address: For basic information the The Department 

Notary Public Section may be contacted by email for notary-

related issues at notary@sosnc.gov. Electronic mail Unless 

specifically permitted by a rule in this Chapter, email shall not be 

used for filing submitting applications. 

(3)(d)  Telephone Number: number: The telephone number for 

Notary Customer Service departmental customer service is (919) 

814-5400. 

(4) Fax Number: To send information to the Notary 

Public Section via fax, the number is 919-814-

5597. 

(e)  Physical address. The Department is located at 2 South 

Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27601. 

(f)  Mailing address. The Department's mailing address is P.O. 

Box 29626, Raleigh, NC 27626-0626. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-14(f); 147-34; 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0104 ADA ACCOMMODATION 

An applicant to become a notary public, electronic notary, or 

certified notary instructor who needs accommodation pursuant to 

the Americans with Disabilities Act shall: 

(1) with regard to a notary course and exam 

accommodation request, direct the request to 

the institution offering the course and exam, in 

which instance the institution may consult with 

the Department about the accommodation 

requested; or 

(2) with regard to the online recommissioning 

exam, certified notary instructor initial or 

recertification oral presentation or written 

exam, contact the Department and request an 

accommodation. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14(f); 10B-107; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0105 OBTAINING REQUESTED 

INFORMATION 

A filer shall: 

(1) use reasonable efforts to obtain information 

requested by the Department; 

(2) deliver to the Department all requested 

information that is available to the filer; and 

(3) if unable to obtain requested information, 

describe to the Department the reasonable 

efforts taken to obtain the information. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14(f); 10B-107; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0106 WAIVER 

The Director Department may waive any rule in this Subchapter 

Chapter that is not statutorily required on request of a filer or on 

its own initiative based on the factors set forth in Rule .0901 .0108 

of this Chapter. Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 10B-14(f);147-36. 
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18 NCAC 07B .0107 CONTENTS OF WAIVER 

REQUEST 

A request for waiver of a rule in this Chapter shall be in writing 

and shall include: 

(1) the requestor's: 

(a) name; 

(b) mailing address; 

(c) email address; and 

(d) preferred telephone number for 

contact; 

(2) for a request filed on behalf of an entity: 

(a) the name of the entity; 

(b) the requestor's position with the entity 

and authority to file the request on 

behalf of the entity; 

(c) the mailing and business addresses of 

the entity; 

(d) the telephone number for the entity; 

and 

(e) the email address for the entity; 

(3) the specific rule and paragraph number for 

which waiver is requested; 

(4) an explanation of the reason for the request, 

including facts supporting the request; 

(5) any additional information related to the factors 

in Rule .0108 of this Section that the requestor 

wishes the Department to consider; 

(6) supporting documentation, if any; 

(7) whether the requestor has filed any other waiver 

requests with the Department and a description 

of those waiver requests; and 

(8) the signature of the requestor and the date 

signed. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0108 FACTORS USED IN 

CONSIDERING WAIVER REQUESTS 

Factors to be considered when the Department considers a waiver 

request are: 

(1) information about the requestor and the request, 

including the requestor's: 

(a) explanation of the reasons for the 

request; 

(b) control over the circumstances leading 

to the request; 

(c) experience with the Notary Act and 

the Rules in this Chapter; 

(d) record of timeliness, completeness, 

and accuracy of filings with the 

Department; 

(e) history of waiver requests, if any; and 

(f) impact of granting or denying the 

request on the requestor; and 

(2) impact on the public by granting or denying the 

request, including: 

(a) harm or benefit to the public; 

(b) consistency of implementation and 

enforcement of Chapter 10B of the 

General Statutes and the Rules in this 

Chapter; and 

(c) the harm to the Department if a waiver 

is granted. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0109 COMPUTATION OF TIME 

PERIODS 

The Department shall calculate time periods based on G.S. 1A-1, 

Rule 6, unless otherwise noted in the Rules in this Chapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0110 REQUEST TO DEPARTMENT 

FOR CONFIDENTIAL PUBLIC INFORMATION 

(a)  The information that the Department shall make available on 

individual notaries public include: 

(1) Full legal name; 

(2) County of Commission; 

(3) Employer's Name; 

(4) Employer's street and mailing addresses; 

(5) Employer's phone number; 

(6) Status of Commission; 

(7) Disciplinary action, if any. 

(b)  A request to the Department for confidential notary 

information that is confidential pursuant to G.S. 10B-7, G.S. 10B-

60, G.S. 10B-106, or that is personally identifiable information 

shall shall: 

(1) be in writing writing; 

(2) and shall include documentation of the name of 

the requestor and contact information for the 

requestor; and 

(3) document the right of the requestor to receive 

the confidential notary information, including: 

information. 

(1) Authorization of the notary that the person is an 

agent of the notary authorized to request and 

receive the information; 

(2) Subpoena or court order; 

(3) Statement of authority from a law enforcement 

or government agency; or 

(4) N.C. State Bar applicant "Release of 

Information" form. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-2; 10B-4; 10B-7(b); 10B-14(f); 10B-106. 

 

SECTION .0400 – FORMS 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0407 INITIAL APPLICATION FOR 

NOTARY COMMISSION FORM 

The initial application for notary commission form requires: 

(1) the information required by G.S. 10B-5, 10B-6, 

and 10B-7; 

(2) from the commission applicant: 

(a) whether the applicant is a licensed 

member of the North Carolina State 

Bar; 
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(b) a personal cell phone number, if the 

applicant uses that number as the 

applicant's residential telephone 

number; 

(c) the most recent North Carolina notary 

commission number, if one was 

issued; 

(d) occupation; 

(e) applicant's employer or status as: 

(i) self-employed; 

(ii) unemployed; 

(iii) retired; or 

(iv) a student; 

(f) North Carolina county where 

employed; 

(g) with regard to the notary course 

attended: 

(i) the name of the eligible 

institution that offered the 

course; 

(ii) the number of course hours; 

(iii) the printed or typed name of 

the course instructor; and 

(iv) the date the course was 

successfully completed; 

(h) a description of included attachments, 

if any; and 

(i) the declaration required by G.S. 10B-

12; and 

(3) from the notary course instructor: 

(a) certification that: 

(i) the date, eligible institution, 

and printed name of the 

instructor are correct; and 

(ii) the applicant successfully 

completed the course and 

therefore qualifies for 

consideration for a notary 

commission; and 

(b) the course instructor's signature as 

required by G.S. 10B-6 and the date of 

the signature. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0408 AFFIDAVIT OF MORAL 

CHARACTER 

The affidavit of moral character form requires: 

(1) the applicant's name for use on a notary public 

commission, if available, or the full legal name 

of the individual about whom the affidavit is 

prepared; 

(2) information about the character witness: 

(a) the affiant's name, contact 

information, and occupation; 

(b) how the affiant knows the individual; 

(c) how long the affiant has known the 

individual; 

(d) how the affiant has had the 

opportunity to form an opinion of the 

individual's character; and 

(e) whether the affiant is aware of 

criminal charges against, or criminal 

convictions of, the individual; 

(3) the affiant's opinion whether the charges 

against, or convictions of, the individual will 

affect the ability of the individual to comply 

with Chapter 10B of the General Statutes; 

(4) a declaration whether the affiant personally 

recommends the individual for an authorization 

requiring honesty, integrity, trustworthiness, 

and high standards of moral character; 

(5) the signature of the affiant and the date signed; 

and 

(6) a declaration under penalty of perjury that the 

information provided is true and complete to 

the best of the affiant's knowledge and belief. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0409 APPLICATION FOR 

RECOMMISSIONING AS NOTARY PUBLIC 

The application for recommissioning as a notary public form 

requires: 

(1) information regarding the applicant's current or, 

if expired, the immediately preceding 

commission, including the commission 

number; 

(2) an imprint or stamp from the applicant's current 

seal or most recently expired seal if the 

applicant currently possesses a seal; 

(3) information required pursuant to G.S. 10B-11; 

(4) the instructor's signature, if the applicant takes 

the notary course as part of the 

recommissioning process; 

(5) information required pursuant to Rule .0407 of 

this Section that is not otherwise included in 

Items (1)-(3) of this Rule; and 

(6) the declaration under penalty of perjury that is 

required by G.S. 10B-12. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0410 NOTICE OF CHANGE IN 

GENERAL NOTARY INFORMATION 

The form for notice of change in general notary information 

requires: 

(1) the notary's commission name and county of 

commission; 

(2) the notary's commission number; 

(3) contact information for the notary; 

(4) last four digits of the notary's SSN; 

(5) for changes required to be reported pursuant to 

G.S. 10B-50, 10B-51, 10B-52, or 18 NCAC 

07D .0301: 

(a) which item of information regarding 

the notary has changed; 
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(b) the information as it existed before the 

change; 

(c) the information after the change; and 

(6) the printed name and signature of the notary and 

the date signed. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0411 NOTICE OF CHANGES 

REGARDING CRIMINAL RECORD 

The form for notice of changes in criminal record requires: 

(1) the name of the individual; 

(2) if a commissioned notary, the notary's 

commission number; 

(3) the last four digits of the individual's SSN; 

(4) contact information for the individual; 

(5) for a previously unreported criminal charge: 

(a) the date of the charge; 

(b) the court in which the charge is filed; 

(c) whether the charge is for a felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(d) what the charge is; 

(e) whether the charge has been set for a 

hearing or trial and, if yes, the 

scheduled date; and 

(f) the case number; 

(6) for notice of a disposition of a criminal charge: 

(a) the date of the disposition; 

(b) the name of the court and the case 

number; 

(c) if the disposition resulted in a 

conviction: 

(i) whether the conviction was 

for a felony or misdemeanor; 

and 

(ii) the sentence imposed; 

(d) a copy of the disposition document; 

(e) a copy of any document restoring 

citizenship rights; and 

(7) the signature of the individual and the date 

signed. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0412 NOTICE OF CHANGES 

REGARDING PROFESSIONAL LICENSES, NOTARY 

COMMISSIONS, OR PUBLIC OFFICES 

The form for notice of changes regarding professional licenses, 

notary commissions, or public offices requires: 

(1) the name of the individual; 

(2) if a commissioned notary, the notary's 

commission number; 

(3) the last four digits of the individual's SSN; 

(4) contact information for the individual; 

(5) for a change in any information required by 

G.S. 10B-7(10), the information required by 

Section .0700 of this Subchapter; and 

(6) the printed name and signature of the individual 

and the date signed. 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0413 NOTICE OF CHANGES 

REGARDING FINDINGS OR ADMISSIONS OF DECEIT, 

OFFICIAL MISCONDUCT, FALSE OR MISLEADING 

ADVERTISING, OR UNAUTHORIZED PRACTICE OF 

LAW 

The form for notice of changes regarding findings or admissions 

of deceit, official misconduct, false or misleading advertising, or 

unauthorized practice of law requires: 

(1) the notary's commission name and county of 

commission; 

(2) the notary's commission number; 

(3) last four digits of the notary's SSN; 

(4) contact information for the notary; 

(5) the information required pursuant to: 

(a) 18 NCAC 07C .0207 for a finding or 

admission of liability against the 

notary pursuant to G.S. 10B-5(d)(3); 

(b) 18 NCAC 07C .0208 for a finding of 

official misconduct by the notary 

public; 

(c) 18 NCAC 07C .0209 for a finding of 

unauthorized practice of law by the 

notary; and 

(d) 18 NCAC 07C .0210 for a finding or 

charge of false or misleading 

advertising by the notary; and 

(6) the printed name and signature of the 

commission applicant or notary and the date 

signed. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0414 APPLICATION FOR 

CERTIFICATION AS NOTARY INSTRUCTOR 

The application for certification as a notary instructor form 

requires: 

(1) the information required by Rule .0407(1)–

(2)(i) of this Section; 

(2) whether the applicant is currently employed as: 

(a) a register of deeds or clerk of court; or 

(b) an employee of the Department and 

who is authorized by the Secretary to 

serve as an instructor; 

(3) the eligible institution for which the applicant 

will teach if certified as an instructor; 

(4) the name, telephone number, and email address 

of a contact person at the eligible institution 

who is knowledgeable about the conditional 

hiring of the applicant to teach notary courses; 

(5) whether the applicant has a personal copy of the 

most recent notary public manual approved by 

the Department and, if yes, the year and edition 

number; 

(6) whether the applicant has active experience as 

a notary; 

(7) whether the applicant has notified the 

Department of changes as required by Chapter 
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10B of the General Statutes and the Rules in 

this Chapter or is submitting a change form with 

the application; 

(8) the printed name and signature of the applicant 

and the date signed; and 

(9) a declaration under penalty of perjury that: 

(a) the information provided is true and 

complete to the best of the applicant's 

knowledge and belief; 

(b) the applicant remains qualified to be 

commissioned as a notary public; and 

(c) the applicant will perform the duties 

and responsibilities of a certified 

notary instructor. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0415 RECOMMENDATION OF 

NOTARY INSTRUCTOR APPLICANT 

The recommendation of notary instructor applicant form requires: 

(1) the instructor applicant's commission name; 

(2) the name and contact information for the 

individual completing the form; 

(3) the individual's basis for recommending the 

applicant, including: 

(a) a declaration that the individual is not 

a family member of the applicant; 

(b) how the individual knows the 

applicant; and 

(c) whether and how the individual has 

knowledge of the applicant's teaching 

skills; 

(4) whether, in the opinion of the individual, the 

applicant has the skills to be an effective teacher 

of notary applicants; 

(5) a declaration that the individual personally 

recommends the applicant to be a notary 

instructor; 

(6) the printed name and signature of the applicant 

and the date signed; and 

(7) a declaration under penalty of perjury that the 

information provided is true and complete to 

the best of the affiant's knowledge and belief. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0416 EMPLOYER AFFIDAVIT 

REGARDING INSTRUCTOR APPLICANT ACTIVE 

EXPERIENCE FORM 

The form for the employer affidavit regarding active experience 

requires: 

(1) the name of the person employing the applicant; 

(2) information about the affiant, consisting of the 

following: 

(a) the full printed name of the affiant; 

(b) the affiant's title and position with the 

employer; and 

(c) the address, telephone number, and 

email address of the affiant; 

(3) an explanation of the reasons the instructor 

applicant has performed notarial acts while 

employed by the employer; 

(4) a statement specifying which of the preceding 

twelve months the instructor applicant 

performed notarial acts for the employer; 

(5) a declaration that: 

(a) the affiant has the authority to sign; 

and 

(b) the affiant has knowledge of the 

matters described in the affidavit; 

(6) the signature of the affiant and date on which 

the affiant signed; and 

(7) a jurat certificate. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0417 STUDENT EVALUATION OF 

NOTARY INSTRUCTOR FORM 

The student evaluation of notary instructor form requests the 

following information from a student: 

(1) the name of the instructor; 

(2) the date of the course; 

(3) the name of the institution; 

(4) rating of the instructor's: 

(a) professionalism; 

(b) subject matter knowledge; 

(c) use of audio-visuals, handouts, and 

other materials; and 

(d) responsiveness to questions from 

students; 

(5) rating of the course materials; 

(6) other information or comments that the student 

wishes to add; and 

(7) the student's name and contact information if 

the student is willing to be contacted by the 

Department with follow-up questions. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0418 APPLICATION FOR 

RECERTIFICATION AS NOTARY INSTRUCTOR 

The notary instructor application for recertification form requires: 

(1) the information specified in Rule .0414 of this 

Section; 

(2) verification that the applicant has taught the 

notary instructor course at least twice a year 

during the current two-year certification period; 

(3) the date of initial certification as an instructor; 

(4) whether certification has been continuous; 

(5) a declaration under penalty of perjury that: 

(a) the information provided is true, 

complete, and correct; 

(b) the applicant remains qualified to be 

commissioned as a notary public; and 

(c) the applicant: 

(i) understands the official 

duties and responsibilities of 

a notary public and notary 
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public instructor in North 

Carolina; and 

(ii) will perform to the best of the 

applicant's ability all 

responsibilities of teaching 

the notary courses in 

accordance with the law. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

SECTION .0500 – COMMISSIONS CRIMINAL RECORDS 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0501 CRIMES 

For purposes of applications and discipline under Chapter 10B of 

the General Statutes and the Rules in this Chapter, each of the 

following offenses are examples of, and shall be classified as, 

either a crime involving "moral turpitude" as defined in G.S. 10B-

3(9) or a "crime involving dishonesty" as defined in Rule .0102(8) 

of this Subchapter: 

(1) arson; 

(2) assault; 

(3) battery; 

(4) burglary; 

(5) carrying a concealed weapon without a permit; 

(6) child molestation; 

(7) child pornography; 

(8) discharge of a firearm in a public place or into 

a dwelling; 

(9) domestic violence; 

(10) driving under the influence; 

(11) embezzlement; 

(12) failure to comply with a court order; 

(13) failure to pay child support; 

(14) failure to return to confinement; 

(15) false financial statement; 

(16) forgery; 

(17) fraud; 

(18) hit and run; 

(19) identity theft; 

(20) impersonation of a law enforcement officer; 

(21) kidnapping; 

(22) practicing law without a license; 

(23) prostitution; 

(24) rape; 

(25) receipt of stolen goods or property; 

(26) resisting arrest; 

(27) robbery; 

(28) tax evasion; 

(29) terrorist threat or act; 

(30) unlawful possession or sale of drug; and 

(31) worthless check. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0502 ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS 

FOR AN INDIVIDUAL LISTING CONVICTIONS 

An individual required to provide a criminal record pursuant to 

Chapter 10B of the General Statutes and the Rules in this Chapter 

shall include: 

(1) a complete listing of felony convictions of the 

individual and the name under which each 

conviction was entered; 

(2) a complete listing of misdemeanor convictions 

of the individual and the name under which 

each conviction was entered; 

(3) if the individual's criminal record includes a 

conviction in North Carolina, a copy of the 

individual's criminal record prepared by the 

North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation; 

(4) if the individual has a criminal conviction in a 

jurisdiction other than North Carolina, a copy 

of the individual's criminal record from a 

criminal record registry or repository of record 

reflecting the conviction; and 

(5) the signed explanation required by Rule .0503 

of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0503 EXPLANATION OF 

CONVICTIONS 

An individual who submits a criminal record shall include an 

explanation for each criminal conviction with: 

(1) the individual's signature and the date on which 

the individual signed the explanation; 

(2) for each felony conviction: 

(a) the date of the conviction and the court 

where the conviction was entered; 

(b) the name of the court and the case 

number; 

(c) the charge upon which the conviction 

was entered; 

(d) a description of the circumstances 

surrounding the commission of the 

crime; 

(e) the sentence imposed; 

(f) a copy of the document showing the 

date of release from probation, parole, 

incarceration, or completion of the 

terms of the applicant's sentence for 

each conviction; and 

(g) a copy of any document restoring the 

individual's citizenship rights; and 

(3) for each misdemeanor conviction the 

information required in Sub-Items (2)(a)-(f) of 

this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0504 ADDITIONAL 

DOCUMENTATION FOR CONVICTIONS 

For an individual listing a criminal conviction, an affidavit of 

moral character shall be: 

(1) completed by three individuals, none of whom 

is a family member, using the form specified in 

Rule .0408 of this Subchapter; and 
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(2) submitted to the Department by the individual 

listing a criminal conviction or the individuals 

completing the affidavits. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0505 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

INDIVIDUAL WITH PENDING CRIMINAL CHARGES 

An individual required to provide a criminal record who has a 

pending criminal charge in a court shall, for each pending criminal 

charge: 

(1) notify the Department within 45 days of the 

charge; and 

(2) provide the information specified in the form in 

Rule .0411 of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0506 NOTICE TO DEPARTMENT OF 

DISPOSITION OF PENDING CHARGE 

An individual who has provided the Department with information 

regarding a pending charge pursuant to Rule .0505 of this Section 

shall: 

(1) notify the Department within 45 calendar days 

of the final disposition of the charge; 

(2) provide the information specified in the form in 

Rule .0411 of this Subchapter; 

(3) provide a copy of the document reflecting the 

final disposition of the charge; and 

(4) if convicted, comply with Rules .0503 and 

.0504 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

SECTION .0600 – REJECTIONS, DENIALS, DISCIPLINE, 

AND ENFORCEMENT 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0601 FACTORS CONSIDERED IN 

FOR DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS 

When determining whether and what to deny an application or 

take disciplinary action against a notary, disciplinary action to 

take, the Director Department may shall consider consider: a 

variety of factors including: 

(1) the qualifications of the person; 

(1)(2) Nature, the nature, number number, timing, and 

severity of any acts, offenses, official 

misconduct misconduct, or crimes under 

consideration; 

(2)(3) Evidence evidence pertaining to the honesty, 

credibility, truthfulness, and integrity of the 

person; applicant or notary public; 

(3)(4) Actual actual or potential monetary or other 

harm to the general public, group, individual, or 

client; harm; 

(4)(5) History the history of complaints against the 

person received by the Department; 

(5)(6) Prior disciplinary the record or warning from 

the Department; of prior disciplinary actions 

against the person; 

(6)(7) Evidence evidence in mitigation; 

(7)(8) Evidence evidence in aggravation; 

(8)(9) Occupational, occupational, vocational, or 

professional license disciplinary record; 

(9)(10) Evidence evidence of rehabilitation. 

rehabilitation; NOTE: Examples include 

reference letters and proof of class attendance; 

(10)(11) Criminal criminal record; 

(11)(12) Reports information and reports received from 

other law enforcement agencies; 

(12)(13) Willfulness; willfulness; 

(13)(14) Negligence. negligence; 

(15) the response of the person to any alleged 

violations; and 

(16) whether the person self-reported a matter 

affecting qualification or the performance of an 

activity pursuant to authorization. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14(f); 10B-60. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0602 GENERAL APPLICATION 

DENIAL DENIALS 

(a)  Unqualified applicant. The Director shall deny the application 

of an applicant for a notary public commission who does not 

qualify for office based on the factors set forth in Chapter 10B of 

the General Statutes and this Subchapter. 

(b)  Current disciplinary action. The Director shall deny an 

application if the application is submitted before the expiration of 

a period of suspension or revocation of a commission previously 

held by the applicant. 

(c)  Information regarding convictions and judgments. 

(1)(a)  The Director Department shall deny an application in 

which an applicant willfully and knowingly contains provided 

false information about about: the applicant's 

(1) a criminal record history; or 

(2) a record of civil lawsuit official findings or 

admissions of liability based on related to the 

applicant's deceit; or deceit, dishonesty, or 

intentional disclosure of confidential 

information to a person not legally entitled to 

the information. 

(2)(b)  The Director Department may deny an application which 

that contains misleading information, information. 

(A) The applicant's criminal record, 

including whether all charges were 

dismissed or consolidated or whether 

all terms and conditions of a judgment 

have been completed 

(B) Misstatement or omission of a 

nonmaterial fact; 

(C) Whether a civil lawsuit included 

findings based on the applicant's 

deceit; or 

(D) Whether, in a civil lawsuit or 

settlement of a civil lawsuit, an 

applicant made admissions of liability 

related to the applicant's deceit. 

(d)(c)  Applicant notarization. The Director Department shall 

deny an application if if: 
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(1) the Department determines that the applicant is 

not qualified for the authorization issued 

pursuant to the Constitution of the State of 

North Carolina, Chapter 10B of the General 

Statutes, and the Rules in this Chapter; or 

(2) the an applicant notarizes his or her the 

applicant's own signature. 

(e)  The Director shall deny an application if the applicant: 

(1) Leaves three or more sections of the application 

incomplete; 

(2) Fails to submit an application for initial 

appointment within 90 days of class; or 

(3) Fails to submit complete and correct 

information on an application for initial 

appointment or reappointment after three 

submissions by the applicant. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-5; 10B-14(f); 10B-126; 10B-134.19; 

10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0603 EXECUTED DOCUMENT 

VIOLATIONS LEVELS OF ENFORCEMENT 

The Director shall revoke the commission of a notary who 

performs a notarial act knowing that the document or information 

contained in it is false or fraudulent, or that the intent of the 

executed document is dishonest. Acts of fraud or dishonesty 

include: 

(1) Notarizing a blank DMV vehicle title 

document; 

(2) Embezzlement; 

(3) Forgery; 

(4) Fraud; 

(5) Identity theft; 

(6) Impersonation of a law enforcement officer; 

(7) Receiving stolen goods or property; and 

(8) Theft. 

Upon consideration of the evidence before it, the purposes and 

requirements of Chapter 10B of the General Statutes, and the 

Rules in this Chapter, the Department may: 

(1) upon a finding of a violation of Chapter 10B of 

the General Statutes or the Rules in this 

Chapter: 

(a) issue a letter of caution to a person 

along with: 

(i) a request for compliance; and 

(ii) a statement that future 

noncompliance may lead to 

disciplinary action by the 

Department; 

(b) issue a letter of warning to a person, 

with or without a corrective action 

plan. NOTE: A requirement for 

additional education is an example of 

a corrective action plan; 

(c) suspend a person's authorization and 

bar the grant of an authorization for a 

specific period of time not to exceed 

24 months, with or without a 

corrective action plan; 

(d) issue a revocation of a person's 

authorization; 

(e) issue a permanent revocation of a 

person's authorization; 

(f) issue an order restricting an 

unauthorized person from submitting 

an application or from becoming 

authorized for a specific period of 

time; or 

(g) issue an order permanently restricting 

an unauthorized person from 

submitting an application or from 

becoming authorized; and 

(2) use the factors in Rule .0601 of this Section to 

take action to withdraw, stay, rescind, or 

expunge a disciplinary action. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-2; 10B-5(d); 10B-4; 10B-14(f); 10B-60; 10B-

126; 10B-134.19; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0604 COMPLETE AND LAWFUL 

NOTARIAL ACT VIOLATIONS LETTER OF CAUTION 

(a)  The Director Department may issue a letter of caution to a 

person for a violation of the requirements of Chapter 10B of the 

General Statutes or the Rules in this Chapter in circumstances that 

do not merit take disciplinary action action. against a notary for 

an offense relating to failure to meet the statutory requirements 

for a notarial act. 

(b)  Offenses relating to failure to meet the statutory requirements 

for a complete and lawful notarial act include: 

(1) Incomplete attestation; 

(2) Improper acknowledgment language; 

(3) Incorrect signature; 

(4) Incorrect expiration date; 

(5) Failure to administer an oath or affirmation; 

(6) Failure to verify identification; 

(7) Failure to require personal appearance; 

(8) Notarization of a document in which the notary 

is a named, interested, or signed party; 

(9) Notarization of a "non-signature" or a copy of a 

signature; 

(10) Charging a fee in excess of that which is set by 

law, including fees for mileage or travel; 

(11) Acting as a notary when not commissioned; 

(12) Unauthorized use of a seal. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-2; 10B-4; 10B-14(f); 10B-60; 10B-126; 10B-

134.19; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0605 OTHER VIOLATIONS 

WARNINGS 

The Director Department may take disciplinary action against a 

notary issue a warning to a person for any violation violations of 

Chapter 10B of the General Statutes or the Rules in this Chapter. 

Subchapter, including failure to provide information required by 

Rule .0107 of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-2; 10B-4; 10B-5(d); 10B-14(f); 10B-60; 10B-

126; 10B-134.19; 10B-134.21. 
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18 NCAC 07B .0606 MINIMUM SANCTION 

SUSPENSION 

(a)  If a notary commits a combination of acts of official 

misconduct, the notary shall receive, at a minimum, the maximum 

penalty of the lesser of the acts committed. 

(b)  Nothing in this Section shall restrict the Secretary from using 

any other statutory penalty available. 

After consideration of the factors in Rule .0601 of this Section, 

the Department may issue a suspension to a person who: 

(1) violates the requirements of Chapter 10B of the 

General Statutes or the Rules in this Chapter; or 

(2) has a criminal conviction. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-2; 10B-4; 10B-14(f); 10B-60; 10B-126; 10B-

134.19; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0607 APPEAL PROCEDURES 

RESTRICTION 

(a)  Applicants for commissioning or recommissioning whose 

applications have been denied and notaries who have received 

disciplinary action by the Director have the right to file a petition 

for a contested case hearing pursuant to Article 3 of Chapter 150B 

of the General Statutes. 

(b)  Petition forms may be obtained from the Office of 

Administrative Hearings, 6714 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 

27699-6700; 1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, NC 27609; 

984-236-1850; https://www.oah.nc.gov. 

(c)  A copy of a Petition filed with the Office of Administrative 

Hearings must also be served on the process agent for the 

Department of the Secretary of State. 

Upon a finding that the person has acted without being authorized 

by the Department, the Department may restrict that person from 

applying for authorization or from becoming authorized to: 

(1) perform a notarial act; 

(2) teach a notarial course; 

(3) offer an electronic notarization system to an 

electronic notary public; or 

(4) act as a depository. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-2; 10B-4; 10B-14(f); 10B-126; 10B-134.19; 

10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0608 MANDATORY REVOCATION 

The Department shall revoke an authorization of: 

(1) a person who is convicted of a crime related to 

performance of an act pursuant to, or in relation 

to, an authorization issued by the Department; 

(2) a notary who notarizes the notary's own 

signature; 

(3) a notary who performs a notarial act and either: 

(a) fails to require the personal 

appearance of the principal; or 

(b) performs a remote electronic notarial 

act without requiring the appearance 

of a principal by an authorized 

communication technology; or 

(4) a person who performs an act permitted by an 

authorization issued by the Department 

knowing that: 

(a) the act, a document associated with the 

act, or information contained in a 

document associated with the act is 

false or fraudulent; or 

(b) the intent of the act or document is to 

perpetrate a crime of dishonesty. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14(f); 10B-126; 10B-134.19; 10B-

134.21. 

 

SECTION .0700 – REPORTING PROFESSIONAL 

LICENSES, CIVIL AND CRIMINAL HISTORY PUBLIC 

OFFICES, AND NOTARY COMMISSIONS 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0701 GENERAL 

(a)  Other Professional Licenses. An applicant for a notary 

commission shall include with the list on his or her application all 

suspensions, revocations and other disciplinary actions taken 

against the applicant regarding the applicant's current or former 

professional licenses. a list of all professional licenses, public 

offices, and notary commissions as required by G.S. 10B-7(10), 

together with the information required by the Rules in this 

Section. 

(b)  Criminal Record. An applicant shall list on his or her 

application all misdemeanor and felony convictions related to 

crimes of dishonesty and moral turpitude. For purposes of this 

Chapter, those crimes include: 

(1) Arson; 

(2) Assault; 

(3) Battery; 

(4) Burglary; 

(5) Carrying a concealed weapon without a permit; 

(6) Child molestation; 

(7) Child pornography; 

(8) Discharge of a firearm in a public place or into 

a dwelling; 

(9) Domestic violence; 

(10) Driving under the influence; 

(11) Unlawful possession or sale of drugs; 

(12) Embezzlement; 

(13) Failure to comply with a court order; 

(14) Failure to pay child support; 

(15) Failure to return to confinement; 

(16) False financial statements; 

(17) Forgery; 

(18) Fraud; 

(19) Identity theft; 

(20) Impersonation of a law enforcement officer; 

(21) Hit and run; 

(22) Kidnapping; 

(23) Prostitutions; 

(24) Multiple worthless checks showing a pattern of 

behavior indicating moral turpitude and 

dishonesty; 

(25) A worthless check in excess of five hundred 

dollars ($500.00); 

(26) Possession of an unregistered firearm; 

(27) Practicing law without a license; 

(28) Rape; 
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(29) Receipt of stolen goods or property; 

(30) Resisting arrest; 

(31) Robbery; 

(32) Statutory rape; 

(33) Tax evasion; 

(34) Terrorist threats or acts; 

(35) Theft; 

(36) Threats to commit a crime or cause bodily 

injury; 

(37) Spousal abuse. 

(c)  In considering whether to appoint or reappoint an applicant to 

the office of notary public, the Director may consider the factors 

set forth in Rule .0901 of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-5(d); 10B-7; 10B-11; 10B-14(f); 10B-

106; 10B-134.19; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0702 REQUIREMENTS REGARDING 

PROFESSIONAL LICENSES AND NOTARIAL 

COMMISSIONS 

An individual required to provide information to the Department 

about professional licenses and notarial commissions that the 

individual presently holds, has held, or has applied for shall 

include the following, to the extent the information is available to 

the individual after reasonable efforts, for each license and 

notarial commission listed: 

(1) the name under which each license or notarial 

commission was issued; 

(2) the state, federally recognized tribe, or nation 

that issues or grants each listed license or 

commission; 

(3) the name of the governmental agency that 

issued each license or granted each 

commission; 

(4) the name of the professional license or notary 

commission; 

(5) the license or commission number, if one is 

assigned by the issuing agency; 

(6) the expiration dates for all licenses or 

commissions listed; and 

(7) whether, to the knowledge of the individual, 

there is an open investigation by the issuing 

agency into use or misuse by the individual of a 

license or commission listed. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0703 DISCIPLINARY ACTION 

INVOLVING A PROFESSIONAL LICENSE OR NOTARY 

COMMISSION 

For each professional license or notary commission listed by the 

applicant pursuant to Rule .0701 of this Section, and for which the 

individual has been the subject of a disciplinary action, the 

individual shall include: 

(1) the date of each disciplinary action; 

(2) the disciplinary action taken; 

(3) a copy of each disciplinary action; 

(4) if not included in the copy of the disciplinary 

action provided: 

(a) the reason given for the disciplinary 

action by the issuing agency; 

(b) an explanation of the circumstances 

that led to the disciplinary action; and 

(c) the name of the court, legislative body, 

or governmental agency that issued or 

took the action; 

(5) whether the disciplinary action included any 

corrective action or conditions on the license or 

commission; 

(6) whether the individual has complied with the 

corrective actions or conditions; 

(7) the date on which compliance with the 

corrective actions or conditions was satisfied; 

(8) whether the individual would be eligible for 

relicensure or recommissioning by the issuing 

agency; and 

(9) other information that the individual wishes to 

include in order to aid the Department in 

assessing the individual's professional license 

and notary commission history. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-134.21; 10B-134.23. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0704 PUBLIC OFFICES 

An individual shall include on the application for authorization: 

(1) a list of each public office that the individual 

presently holds or has held; 

(2) the name under which each public office is or 

was held; 

(3) the locality, state, federally recognized tribe, or 

nation in which the public office is or was held; 

(4) the title of the public office; 

(5) the beginning and ending dates of the term of 

each public office; and 

(6) whether, to the knowledge of the individual, 

there is an open investigation by a government 

or law enforcement agency into the use or 

misuse by the individual of the public office. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0705 DENIALS OF PUBLIC OFFICES 

If an individual was denied a public office, the individual shall 

include with the application: 

(1) the name of the public office that was denied; 

(2) the locality, state, federally recognized tribe, or 

nation where the public office is or was located; 

(3) the date of the denial; 

(4) the name used when the denial occurred; 

(5) the reason for the denial; and 

(6) other information that the individual wishes to 

include in order to aid the Department in 

assessing the individual's qualification for 

authorization. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 
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18 NCAC 07B .0706 RESIGNATIONS FROM PUBLIC 

OFFICES 

If an individual resigned from a public office in lieu of 

disciplinary action, the individual shall include: 

(1) the name of the public office from which the 

individual resigned; 

(2) the locality, state, federally recognized tribe, or 

nation where the public office is or was located; 

(3) the date of the resignation; 

(4) the name used when the resignation occurred; 

(5) the reason for the resignation; and 

(6) other information that the individual wishes to 

include in order to aid the Department in 

assessing the individual's qualification for 

authorization. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0707 DISCIPLINARY ACTION 

INVOLVING A PUBLIC OFFICE 

For each public office listed pursuant to Rule .0701 of this Section 

and for which the individual has been the subject of a disciplinary 

action, the individual shall include: 

(1) the date of each disciplinary action; 

(2) the disciplinary action taken; 

(3) a copy of each disciplinary action; 

(4) if not otherwise set out in the copy of the 

disciplinary action provided: 

(a) the reason given for the disciplinary 

action; and 

(b) an explanation of the circumstances 

that led to the disciplinary action; 

(5) whether the disciplinary action included any 

corrective actions or conditions; 

(6) whether the individual complied with the 

corrective actions or conditions; 

(7) the date on which compliance with the 

corrective actions or conditions was satisfied; 

(8) whether the individual would be eligible to hold 

public office again; and 

(9) other information that the individual wishes to 

include in order to aid the Department in 

assessing the individual's qualification for 

authorization. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 07C – ELECTRONIC NOTARY 

STANDARDS PROCESS TO BECOME A NOTARY AND 

RENEW A NOTARY COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .0100 – GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0101 SCOPE 

This Subchapter sets requirements for the application, 

commissioning, and recommissioning process for traditional 

notaries. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

18 NCAC 07C .0102 DEFINITIONS RELATED TO 

APPLICATION AND RECOMMISSIONING PROCESS 

For purposes of this Subchapter: 

(1) "Commission applicant" is an applicant for an 

initial commission or for recommissioning as a 

traditional notary public. 

(2) "Exam" means a test prepared by the 

Department and administered by: 

(a) a certified notary instructor; or 

(b) the Department or its designee. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

SECTION .0200 – INITIAL APPLICATION FOR 

NOTARY PUBLIC APPOINTMENT AND COMMISSION 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0201 INITIAL APPLICATION 

(a)  Application Form. 

(1) Applicants An applicant for initial appointment as a traditional 

notary public shall use the application form designated by the 

Division for that purpose and may download the application form 

from the Department's website. shall: 

(1) possess a current personal copy of the North 

Carolina notary public manual applicable to 

traditional notaries; 

(2) Applicants for initial appointment who are 

members of the North Carolina State Bar may 

download the application form from the 

Department's website and may file the 

completed application without first obtaining a 

signature from a notary instructor. successfully 

complete the notary course and exam; and 

(3) All other applicants for initial appointment who 

download the application form from the 

Department's website shall obtain a signature 

on the application from a notary instructor 

certifying that the applicant successfully 

completed the required course of instruction 

before the applicant may file the form with the 

Department. submit the application form 

specified in 18 NCAC 07B .0407. 

(b)  Submission of Application. An applicant for an initial 

appointment shall submit his or her application by: 

(1) U.S. mail; 

(2) In person delivery; or 

(3) Courier service. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 10B-14(f). 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0202 TIMING 

Submission deadline. An applicant for initial appointment who is 

not a licensed member of the North Carolina State Bar shall as a 

traditional notary public shall: 

(1) submit an application within three months after 

passing the notary course and examination 

required by G.S. 10B-8. exam; or 

(2) if a licensed member of the North Carolina 

State Bar, comply with the rules in Section 

.0700 of this Subchapter. 
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Authority G.S. 10B-4. 10B-8; 10B-14(f). 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0203 APPLICATION RECEIPT DATE 

REQUIREMENTS FOR APPLICANTS RESIDING 

OUTSIDE NORTH CAROLINA 

Applications shall not be deemed received until complete. A 

commission applicant who resides outside the State of North 

Carolina and has a regular place of work or business in North 

Carolina shall submit an affidavit from the applicant's employer 

that shall: 

(1) be on the employer's business letterhead that 

includes: 

(a) the name of the employer's business; 

(b) the address of the employer's business; 

and 

(c) a telephone number and email address 

for the business; and 

(2) include: 

(a) the name of the applicant; 

(b) affirmation that: 

(i) the applicant works for the 

employer; 

(ii) the applicant regularly 

spends all or part of the 

applicant's work time 

working for the employer in 

a physical location within the 

State of North Carolina; and 

(iii) the street address of the 

physical location within 

North Carolina at which the 

applicant works; and 

(c) the printed name and the signature of 

the individual signing the statement; 

(d) the title of the individual signing the 

statement; 

(e) a statement that the signer has the 

authority to sign on behalf of the 

employer; 

(f) a telephone number and email address 

at which the signer can be contacted; 

and 

(g) a jurat certificate. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 10B-14(f). 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0204 ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS 

FOR APPLICANTS LISTING CONVICTIONS 

A commission applicant who submits a criminal record shall 

include with the application the information required by 18 

NCAC 07B .0500. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0205 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

APPLICANT WITH PENDING CRIMINAL CHARGES 

A commission applicant who has pending criminal charges in a 

court shall comply with 18 NCAC 07B .0505. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0206 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

APPLICANTS REGARDING PROFESSIONAL 

LICENSES, NOTARIAL COMMISSIONS, AND PUBLIC 

OFFICES 

A commission applicant who has applied for, holds, or has held a 

professional license, a notarial commission, or a public office, 

shall comply with Subchapter 07B, Section .0700, of this Chapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0207 FINDINGS OR ADMISSIONS OF 

LIABILITY AGAINST THE APPLICANT BASED ON 

THE APPLICANT'S DECEIT 

A commission applicant against whom there has been a finding or 

admission of fault or liability in a civil lawsuit regarding the 

applicant's activity as a notary public based on the applicant's 

deceit shall include with the application: 

(1) a list of each finding or admission; 

(2) a copy of the document containing the finding 

or admission; 

(3) a brief description of the circumstances 

surrounding the finding or admission; 

(4) if not included in the document in Item (2) of 

this Rule: 

(a) the date on which the finding or 

admission was made; 

(b) the governmental agency or court in 

which the civil lawsuit was filed; and 

(c) the case name and docket number; and 

(5) any additional information that the applicant 

wishes the Department to consider. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0208 FINDINGS THAT THE 

APPLICANT ENGAGED IN OFFICIAL MISCONDUCT 

A commission applicant who is, has previously been, or has acted 

in the capacity as a notary public of any locality, state, federally 

recognized tribe, or nation, and who has listed findings of official 

misconduct as a notary on the application, shall include with the 

application: 

(1) the name of the court or governmental agency 

that made the finding; 

(2) a copy of the document in which the official 

misconduct finding was made; 

(3) if not included in the document in Item (2) of 

this Rule: 

(a) the date on which the finding was 

made; 

(b) the governmental agency or court that 

made the finding; and 

(c) the case name and docket number, or 

similar unique designation; 

(4) a description of the circumstances surrounding 

the finding; and 

(5) any additional information that the applicant 

wishes the Department to consider. 
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Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0209 FINDING OF UNAUTHORIZED 

PRACTICE OF LAW 

A commission applicant against whom a finding has been made 

that the applicant engaged in the unauthorized practice of law 

shall include with the application: 

(1) the name of the governmental agency or court 

that made the finding; 

(2) a copy of the finding; 

(3) the date of the finding, if not included in the 

copy provided pursuant to Item (2) of this Rule; 

(4) a description of the circumstances surrounding 

the finding; and 

(5) any additional information that the applicant 

wishes the Department to consider. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0210 FINDING OF FALSE OR 

MISLEADING ADVERTISING 

A commission applicant against whom a charge or finding has 

been made that as a notary public, the notary knowingly used false 

or misleading advertising that represents that the notary has 

powers, duties, rights, or privileges not conveyed by law, shall 

include with the application: 

(1) the name of the governmental agency or court 

in which the charge or finding is made; 

(2) a copy of the charge or finding; 

(3) the date of the charge or finding, if not included 

in the copy provided pursuant to Item (2) of this 

Rule; 

(4) a description of the circumstances surrounding 

the charge or finding; and 

(5) any additional information that the applicant 

wishes the Department to consider. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

SECTION .0300 – COURSE OF INSTRUCTION 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0301 COURSES TAUGHT BY 

CERTIFIED NOTARY INSTRUCTORS 

An applicant for an initial commission shall successfully 

complete a notary course taught by a certified notary instructor 

before submitting an initial commission application to the 

Department. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0302 NOTARY COURSES TAKEN BY 

FORMERLY COMMISSIONED NOTARIES 

A formerly commissioned notary who fails to be recommissioned 

within 12 months of the expiration of the notary's former 

commission and who seeks recommissioning shall successfully 

complete a notary course taught by a certified notary instructor. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0303 PRESENTATION OF 

SATISFACTORY EVIDENCE OF IDENTITY IN 

CONNECTION WITH NOTARY COURSE 

A commission applicant who is not personally known to the 

certified notary instructor shall present satisfactory evidence of 

identity to the notary instructor: 

(1) before the course begins; 

(2) before the instructor signs the application; and 

(3) upon request of the instructor at any other time 

during the course. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0304 SATISFACTORY EVIDENCE 

PRESENTED TO INSTRUCTOR 

The satisfactory evidence of identity presented to a certified 

notary instructor pursuant to Rule .0303 of this Section shall 

match the applicant's name for use on a notary public commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0305 RETESTING 

A notary applicant who fails the notary course exam and who 

wishes to be commissioned as a notary public may retake the 

exam if: 

(1) the institution at which the course is taught 

permits retesting; and 

(2) the retest is taken within 30 days of the date of 

the exam failure. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

SECTION .0400 - APPOINTMENT AND 

COMMISSIONING OF NOTARIES 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0401 APPOINTMENT 

(a)  Upon determination that an applicant has complied with all 

requirements of the Act and this Subchapter, the Director The 

Department shall appoint or reappoint the an applicant to the 

office of notary public after reviewing the application submitted 

by the applicant and determining that: and issue a commissioning 

certificate. 

(1) the application is accepted; and 

(2) the applicant is qualified to be appointed 

pursuant to N.C. Const. Art. VI, Sec. 8, Chapter 

10B of the General Statutes, and the Rules in 

this Chapter. 

(b)  The Division shall send the commissioning certificate to the 

Register of Deeds in the county of commissioning. 

(c)  The Division shall send the appointee notice that: 

(1) The commissioning certificate has been issued; 

and 

(2) The appointee shall appear within 45 days of 

the commissioning date to take the oath of 

office before the Register of Deeds in the 

county of commissioning. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-2; 10B-4; 10B-5; 10B-10; 10B-11; 10B-14(f). 
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18 NCAC 07C .0402 ISSUANCE OF CERTIFICATES 

The Department shall provide: 

(1) to the Register of Deeds in the county of the 

notary's commissioning: 

(a) a certificate of appointment that 

includes the appointee's full legal 

name and the commission name of the 

appointee; and 

(b) a commission certificate in the 

commission name of the appointee to 

be used by the Register of Deeds to 

document that the notary oath has been 

administered to the appointee; and 

(2) a duplicate commission certificate to a notary 

public, upon request to the Department. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0403 NOTICE TO APPOINTEE 

The Department shall send the appointee notice that: 

(1) the certificate of appointment has been issued; 

and 

(2) the appointee shall appear before the Register 

of Deeds in the county of commissioning and 

take the oath of office within 45 days of the 

certificate of appointment issuance date. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0404 NO BACK-DATING 

COMMISSION CERTIFICATE 

A commissioning certificate shall not be back-dated. 

A commission certificate: 

(1) shall not be valid until the oath of office has 

been taken; and 

(2) shall include: 

(a) the appointee's name for use on a 

notary public commission; 

(b) the county of commissioning; 

(c) the beginning date of the commission; 

and 

(d) the expiration date of the commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 10B-14(f). 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0405 SATISFACTORY EVIDENCE OF 

IDENTITY 

(a)  Before taking the oath of office, an appointee shall shall: 

(1) present satisfactory evidence matching the 

appointee's name on the certificate of 

appointment to the Register of Deeds Deeds, 

assistant Register of Deeds, or deputy Register 

of Deeds who will administer the oath of office; 

or satisfactory evidence of the appointee's 

identity as set out in G.S. 10B-3(22). 

(2) be personally known to the Register of Deeds, 

assistant Register of Deeds, or deputy Register 

of Deeds who will administer the oath of office. 

(b)  The Register of Deeds shall document the type of evidence 

provided by the appointee on the form provided by the 

Department. 

(c)  After administering the oath of office the Register of Deeds 

shall deliver the commissioning certificate to the notary public. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-2; 10B-3(22); 10B-4; 10B-9; 10B-10; 10B-

11; 10B-14(f). 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0406 REGISTER OF DEEDS 

After administering the oath of office, the Register of Deeds, 

assistant Register of Deeds, or deputy Register of Deeds shall: 

(1) require that the notary public sign the certificate 

of appointment; 

(2) sign and date the certificate of appointment; 

(3) record the certificate of appointment as required 

by G.S. 10B-10(c); 

(4) deliver the commission certificate to the notary 

public; and 

(5) deliver notice to the Department as required by 

G.S. 10B-10(d). 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0407 PERFORMING TRADITIONAL 

NOTARIAL ACTS 

No individual may perform a notarial act unless the individual is 

in possession of a valid commission certificate. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0409 TERM OF OFFICE 

COMMISSION 

(a)  A notary's commission or recommission shall not be effective 

until the oath of office has been administered. 

(b)  A notary's five year term of office begins on shall be 

calculated from the date on the commissioning certificate. an 

application is accepted or the day immediately following the 

expiration date of a commission, whichever is later. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 10B-14(f). 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0410 TERM OF REAPPOINTMENT 

COMMISSION 

A recommissioning notary's five year term shall begin on the day 

following the expiration of the existing commission if: 

(1) the application for reappointment has been 

accepted before the expiration of the existing 

commission; and 

(2) the notary takes the oath of office for 

recommissioning within 45 days of the issuance 

date on the certificate of appointment. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 
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18 NCAC 07C .0411 NOTARIAL ACTS PROHIBITED 

DURING GAPS BETWEEN COMMISSION TERMS 

A notary shall not perform a notarial act after the expiration of the 

notary's commission until the notary has been reappointed and has 

taken the oath for a subsequent commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

SECTION .0500 – REMEDIES FOR FAILURE TO 

COMPLY WITH APPLICATION OR COMMISSIONING 

REQUIREMENTS 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0502 LATE APPLICATION 

An A commission applicant for an initial appointment who 

applies submits an application more than three months after 

compliance with G.S. 10B-8(a) successfully completing the 

notary course shall 

(1) Comply comply again with G.S. 10B-8(a); the 

requirements for initial appointment in G.S. 

10B-6 and the Rules in this Subchapter. 

(2) Submit an application for initial appointment; 

and 

(3) Pay the application fee. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 10B-8; 10B-14(f). 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0504 APPLICATION AFTER 

REAPPOINTMENT RECOMMISSIONING DENIAL 

BASED ON FAILING TEST EXAM 

An applicant for reappointment recommissioning whose 

application is denied due to failure to pass the reappointment 

recommissioning test exam within the time frame established in 

Rule .0605 of this Subchapter may reapply by: by complying 

again with the requirements for reappointment recommissioning 

in G.S. 10B-11 and the Rules in this Subchapter. 

(1) Complying with G.S. 10B-8(a); 

(2) Submitting an application for reappointment; 

and 

(3) Paying the application fee. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-2; 10B-4; 10B-5; 10B-6; 10B-8; 10B-13; 

10B-14(f). 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0505 FAILURE TO TAKE TIMELY 

OATH APPLICATION FOR RECOMMISSIONING 

WITHIN TWELVE MONTHS OF COMMISSION 

EXPIRATION 

(a)  An appointee who fails to take the oath of office within 45 

days of the commissioning certificate date may 

reapply for reappointment. 

(b)  Reapplication within one year of commission date. If an 

appointee seeks reappointment more than 45 days and 

less than one year after the commissioning certificate date, the 

appointee shall: 

(1) Apply for reappointment; 

(2) Submit another application fee; and 

(3) Pass the reappointment test. 

(c)  Reapplication one year or more after commissioning 

certificate date. If an appointee seeks reappointment one 

year or more after the commissioning certificate date, the 

appointee shall: 

(1) Comply with the requirements of G.S. 10B-

8(a); 

(2) Apply for reappointment; and 

(3) Submit another application fee. 

A notary may seek recommissioning by complying with G.S. 

10B-11 and the Rules in this Subchapter if: 

(1) the notary's commission has expired; and 

(2) less than twelve months have elapsed since the 

expiration of the prior commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 10B-11; 10B-14(f). 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0506 RECOMMISSIONING 

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENT 

A notary seeking recommissioning pursuant to Rule .0505 of this 

Section need not attend a notary course. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0507 APPLICATION FOR 

RECOMMISSIONING MORE THAN TWELVE MONTHS 

AFTER COMMISSION EXPIRATION 

If an applicant seeks recommissioning one year or more after the 

expiration of a prior commission, the applicant shall: 

(1) comply with the requirements of G.S. 10B-8(a); 

(2) apply for appointment using the form described 

in 18 NCAC 07B .0407; and 

(3) submit another application fee. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0508 CANCELLATION OF 

COMMISSION 

If the Department has not received notice from the Register of 

Deeds that an appointee took the oath within 45 days of the 

certificate of appointment issuance date, the Department shall: 

(1) cancel the commission; and 

(2) notify the appointee of the cancellation. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0509 RESCIND CANCELLATION OF 

CERTIFICATE OF APPOINTMENT 

If a notary presents the Department with the notary's valid 

commission certificate, the Department shall rescind the 

cancellation of the notary's commission previously made pursuant 

to Rule .0508 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0510 CONFIRMATION OF NOTARY 

STATUS 

The Department shall confirm a notary public's commission status 

upon written request. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 
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SECTION .0600 – STEPS FOR REAPPOINTMENT 

RECOMMISSIONING 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0601 APPLICATION STEPS FOR 

REAPOINTMENT RECOMMISSIONING 

Application for Reappointment. 

(1) An applicant for A notary seeking reappointment 

recommissioning within the time permitted by G.S. 10B-11 and 

the Rules in this Subchapter shall submit an the reappointment 

recommissioning application for reappointment. specified in 18 

NCAC 07B .0409. 

(2) Applicants for reappointment may apply on-

line on the Department's website. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 10B-11; 10B-14(f); 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0602 TIMING OF APPLICATION FOR 

METHOD OF TAKING REAPPOINTMENT 

RECOMMISSIONING EXAM 

Timing of Application for Reappointment. An applicant for The 

reappointment recommissioning exam shall apply for 

reappointment no earlier than 10 weeks before the expiration date 

of the applicant's commission. be taken on the Department's 

website. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 10B-11; 10B-14(f). 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0603 COURSE AS ALTERNATIVE TO 

REAPPOINTMENT RECOMMISSIONING TEST EXAM 

(a)  Attorneys who are licensed members of the North Carolina 

State Bar do not have to take a reappointment test. 

(b)  The An applicant for reappointment recommissioning test 

may be taken either: comply with the Rules in Section .0300 of 

this Subchapter in lieu of taking or retaking the recommissioning 

exam. 

(1) By completing the on-line test on the 

Department's website; 

(2) By completing a paper test at the Department's 

offices at a time based upon: 

(A) The availability of the Division's staff; 

and 

(B) The availability of the applicant; or 

(3) By completing a paper test at a time and place 

mutually agreed upon by the applicant and a 

certified notary public instructor. 

(c)  An applicant for reappointment shall have 30 minutes to 

complete the test. An applicant needing accommodation pursuant 

to the Americans with Disabilities Act shall contact the Division 

and request the accommodation. 

(d)  If an applicant fails the reappointment test, the applicant may 

re-take the test no more than two times within 30 days of the date 

on which the test is first taken. 

(e)  If the applicant fails to pass the reappointment test within 30 

days, the applicant shall not be reappointed and the application 

shall be denied. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-2; 10B-4; 10B-8; 10B-14(f); 168A-7; 42 USC 

12132. 

18 NCAC 07C .0604 EXAM LENGTH AND PASSING 

SCORE 

A notary seeking recommissioning and taking the 

recommissioning exam shall: 

(1) have 30 minutes to complete the 

recommissioning exam; and 

(2) achieve a passing score of at least 80 percent on 

the exam. 

 

Authority G.S.10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0605 RETAKING 

RECOMMISSIONING EXAM AFTER FAILURE 

If an applicant for recommissioning fails the recommissioning 

exam, the applicant may take the exam up to 2 additional times 

within 30 days of the date on which the exam is first taken. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0606 FAILURE TO PASS EXAM 

WITHIN 30 DAYS 

If a notary seeking recommissioning fails to pass the 

recommissioning or notary course exam within 30 days of the date 

on which the exam was first taken, the application shall be denied. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0607 INDIVIDUAL WHO FAILS TO 

SEEK RECOMMISSIONING WITHIN ONE YEAR 

An individual who fails to seek recommissioning within one year 

of commission expiration may be commissioned as a notary only 

upon completion of all requirements for an initial notary 

commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

SECTION .0700 – RECORDS OF ELECTRONIC 

NOTARIAL ACTS -RESERVED ATTORNEY NOTARIES 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0701 ATTORNEY APPLICATION FOR 

INITIAL APPOINTMENT 

Notary applicants for initial appointment who are licensed 

members of the North Carolina State Bar shall: 

(1) maintain a personal copy of the most recent 

notary public manual approved by the 

Department; and 

(2) either: 

(a) submit a completed notarial 

commission application form 

described in 18 NCAC 07B .0407 

without: 

(i) attending the notary course; 

(ii) passing the notary course 

exam; and 

(iii) obtaining a signature from a 

notary instructor; or 

(b) comply with the Rules in this 

Subchapter for an individual who is 
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not a licensed member of the State 

Bar. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0702 RECOMMISSIONING OF 

ATTORNEY NOTARIES 

Licensed members of the North Carolina State Bar who are 

commissioned notaries may apply for recommissioning by 

complying with the Rules in this Subchapter, provided that 

licensed members of the State Bar need not take any course or 

exam prior to recommissioning. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0703 ATTORNEYS WHO FAIL TO 

TAKE NOTARIAL OATH TIMELY 

A licensed member of the North Carolina State Bar who fails to 

take the oath of office within 45 days of the issuance date on a 

certificate of appointment or reappointment shall submit a new 

application and fee in compliance with the Rules in this 

Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0704 ATTORNEYS SEEKING 

REGISTRATION OR REREGISTRATION AS 

ELECTRONIC NOTARIES 

A licensed member of the North Carolina State Bar who applies 

to be registered or reregistered as an electronic notary shall: 

(1) comply with the Rules in Subchapter 07F of this 

Chapter; 

(2) successfully complete the electronic notary 

course and exam; 

(3) possess a current and personal copy of the 

North Carolina notary manual applicable to 

electronic notaries; and 

(4) submit an electronic notary application and fee. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-126; 10B-134.21. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 07D – CONTINUING OBLIGATIONS OF 

NOTARIES 

 

SECTION .0100 – GENERAL OBLIGATIONS 

 

18 NCAC 07D .0101 SCOPE 

The Rules in this Subchapter set forth the continuing obligations 

of notaries public. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07D .0102 RESPONSE TO DEPARTMENT 

REQUESTS 

A notary shall respond to a request by the Department for 

information, records, or an interview relating to qualifications to 

be a notary or performance of notarial acts: 

(1) in the manner and within the time period set by 

the Department; or 

(2) as provided in an extension granted pursuant to 

Rule .0104 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-126(f); 10B-134.17(c). 

 

18 NCAC 07D .0103 EXTENSION REQUEST TO 

DEPARTMENT 

(a)  A notary may submit a request for an extension of time to 

respond to a Department request pursuant to Rule .0102 of this 

Section. 

(b)  A request pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall: 

(1) be for an extension lasting no more than 30 

days; and 

(2) include the reason an extension is necessary. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-126(f); 10B-134.17(c). 

 

18 NCAC 07D .0104 DEPARTMENT RESPONSE TO 

EXTENSION REQUEST 

When deciding whether to grant an extension request, the 

Department shall consider the factors listed in 18 NCAC 07B 

.0108. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-126(f); 10B-134.17(c). 

 

SECTION .0300 – NOTICE TO DEPARTMENT OF 

CHANGES 

 

18 NCAC 07D .0301 GENERAL NOTICE OF 

CHANGE OBLIGATIONS 

(a)  A notary shall notify the Director of changes in name, address 

or county as required by G.S. 10B-50, 10B-51, and 10B-53. 

(b)  A notary shall notify the Director that the notary has been 

convicted of a crime as set out in G.S. 10B-3(9) and Rule .0201 

of this Subchapter, within 45 days of the date on which judgment 

is entered. 

(c)  A notary shall use the form specified in 18 NCAC 07B .0410 

to notify the Director Department within 45 calendar days of 

changes in: in the notary's: 

(1) Residency or place of work to a location outside 

the State of North Carolina; 

(2) Residency status in the United States; 

(3) Ability to speak, read and write the English 

language; 

(4) A finding or admission of liability in a civil 

lawsuit based upon the notary's deceit; 

(5) Revocation, suspension, restriction, or denial of 

a professional license by the State of North 

Carolina or any other state or nation; 

(6) A finding that the notary has engaged in official 

misconduct, whether or not disciplinary action 

resulted; 

(7) A finding or a charge that a notary has 

knowingly used false or misleading advertising 

in which the notary was represented as having 

powers, duties, rights or privileges that a North 

Carolina notary, by law, does not possess; or 

(8) The North Carolina State Bar or the courts of 

North Carolina or the bar or courts of any other 
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state or nation finding that the notary has 

engaged in the unauthorized practice of law. 

(1) name; 

(2) mailing or street address; 

(3) county of commission; 

(4) residential or mobile telephone number; 

(5) personal or business email address; 

(6) status as a resident of the United States; 

(7) ability to speak, read and write in the English 

language; or 

(8) employer regarding: 

(a) change of employer; 

(b) change in employer business name. 

NOTE: A business changing from 

ABC, Inc. to ABC, LLC is an example 

of a change in employer business 

name; 

(c) change in employer street or mailing 

address; or 

(d) change in employer telephone 

number. 

(d)  A notary shall respond within the time period set out in a 

request from the Director for information, including a request for 

information regarding wrongful notarial acts alleged to have been 

performed by the notary. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 10B-14(f). 

 

18 NCAC 07D .0302 NOTICE TO DEPARTMENT OF 

PENDING CRIMINAL CHARGES 

A notary shall notify the Department within 45 calendar days of a 

previously unreported pending criminal charge against the notary 

by complying with 18 NCAC 07B .0505. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07D .0303 NOTICE TO DEPARTMENT OF 

CRIMINAL CHARGE DISPOSITION 

Within 45 calendar days of the date of the final disposition of a 

criminal charge against a notary, the notary shall notify the 

Department by complying with 18 NCAC 07B .0506. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07D .0304 NOTICE TO DEPARTMENT OF 

FINDINGS OR ADMISSIONS OF DECEIT 

A notary public shall use the form specified in 18 NCAC 07B 

.0413 to notify the Department within 45 calendar days of a 

finding or admission of fault or liability in a civil lawsuit 

regarding the notary's activity as a notary public based on the 

applicant's or notary's deceit. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07D .0305 NOTICE TO DEPARTMENT OF 

CHANGES TO PROFESSIONAL LICENSES, NOTARY 

COMMISSIONS, OR PUBLIC OFFICES 

A notary public shall use the form specified in 18 NCAC 07B 

.0412 to notify the Department within 45 calendar days of an 

issuance, a denial, a revocation, a suspension, a restriction, or a 

resignation of the notary's professional license, notary 

commission, or public office. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07D .0306 NOTICE TO DEPARTMENT OF 

OFFICIAL MISCONDUCT 

A notary public shall use the form specified in 18 NCAC 07B 

.0413 to notify the Department within 45 calendar days of a 

finding that the notary has engaged in official misconduct and 

shall provide the Department with the documents and information 

required by 18 NCAC 07C .0208. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07D .0307 NOTICE TO DEPARTMENT OF 

FALSE OR MISLEADING ADVERTISING 

A notary public shall use the form specified in 18 NCAC 07B 

.0413 to notify the Department within 45 calendar days of a 

finding or a charge that the notary has knowingly used false or 

misleading advertising that represents that the notary has powers, 

duties, rights, or privileges the notary does not possess by law. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

18 NCAC 07D .0308 NOTICE TO DEPARTMENT 

REGARDING UNAUTHORIZED PRACTICE OF LAW 

A notary public shall use the form specified in 18 NCAC 07B 

.0413 to notify the Department within 45 calendar days of a 

finding by a court or the attorney-licensing agency of any state, 

federally recognized tribe, or nation, that the notary has engaged 

in the unauthorized practice of law. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4. 

 

SECTION .0400 - CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION 

 

18 NCAC 07D .0402 DISCLOSURE OF 

CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION GENERALLY 

A notary may disclose confidential information in response to: 

(1) a valid subpoena; 

(2) a court order; 

(3) a warrant; 

(4) a written request from the Department; or 

(5) a written request from all principals in a specific 

notarial transaction. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-126; 10B-134.15; 10B-134.21. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 07E – NOTARY INSTRUCTOR 

REQUIREMENTS 

 

SECTION .0100 – NOTARY INSTRUCTOR 

APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS 
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18 NCAC 07E .0101 INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION 

– SCOPE AND DEFINITIONS 

(a)  Except as otherwise provided in G.S. 10B-14 and this Section, 

notaries public shall comply with all 

This Subchapter sets the requirements for certification or and 

recertification as a notary public instructor as set forth in this 

Chapter. and for requesting that the Department offer certified 

notary instructor courses. 

(b)  A notary public who is a licensed member of the North 

Carolina State Bar shall comply with all requirements of this 

Chapter in order to obtain certification or recertification as a 

notary public instructor. For purposes of this Subchapter: 

(1) "Active experience as a notary" means either: 

(A) performance in North Carolina of at 

least 1 notarial act in each of the 

immediately preceding 12 months; or 

(B) active experience as a certified notary 

instructor. 

(2) "Active experience as a certified notary 

instructor" means teaching at least two notary 

courses for each of the two 12-month periods 

during which an instructor holds an instructor 

certification. 

(3) "Affidavit of moral character form" means the 

form specified in 18 NCAC 07B .0408. 

(4) "Eligible institution" or "institution" means: 

(A) a community college established 

pursuant to G.S. 115D-4; 

(B) a constituent institution of the 

University of North Carolina 

established pursuant to G.S. 116-4; 

(C) an eligible private postsecondary 

institution as defined by G.S. 116-

280(3); or 

(D) a public school system authorized to 

conduct adult education programs 

pursuant to G.S. 115C-231. 

(5) "Instructor applicant" means an applicant for 

initial certification or for recertification as a 

notary instructor. 

(6) "Instructor application form" means the form 

specified in 18 NCAC 07B .0414. 

(7) "Instructor course" means the initial notary 

public instructor certification course and the 

recertification course. 

(8) "Instructor recertification application form" 

means the form specified in 18 NCAC 07B 

.0418. 

(9) "Recommendation form" means the form 

specified in 18 NCAC 07B .0415. 

(10) "Successfully complete" means, when used to 

describe an instructor applicant, that an 

instructor applicant has complied with Chapter 

10B and the rules in this Subchapter and has: 

(A) presented satisfactory evidence of 

identity; 

(B) attended a notary instructor 

certification or recertification course; 

and 

(C) achieved passing grades on the written 

and oral instructor certification or 

recertification course exams. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-8; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0102 CONDITIONS FOR BECOMING 

NOTARY INSTRUCTOR 

A commissioned notary may become a notary instructor upon 

meeting the following conditions: 

(1) an eligible institution nominates the notary to 

the Department by written request pursuant to 

Rule .0103 of this Section; and 

(2) the Department determines that the nominee 

meets the criteria in G.S. 10B-14 and the Rules 

in this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0103 NOMINATION BY ELIGIBLE 

INSTITUTION 

An eligible institution may nominate a notary to be certified as a 

notary instructor by: 

(1) submitting a written request to the Department 

addressed to the Director; and 

(2) including in its request: 

(a) the full name of the institution; 

(b) a request that the nominated notary be 

enrolled in an instructor course; 

(c) the name of the proposed notary 

instructor as it appears on the notary's 

commission; 

(d) a statement that the nominated 

instructor has consented to be 

nominated and has been directed to 

contact the Department to request an 

application form; 

(e) the name, title, signature, and contact 

information for the person submitting 

the request; 

(f) the name and contact information for 

the notary course administrator of the 

institution, if different from the person 

submitting the request; 

(g) the date of the request; and 

(h) a statement that upon certification as a 

notary instructor, the nominee will be 

employed by the institution as a 

certified notary instructor. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0104 FEES FEE - EXEMPTION AND 

FAILURE TO PAY 

(a)  The fee required by G.S. 10B-14 for certification and 

recertification as a notary public instructor shall be paid in 

accordance with Rule .0105 of this Chapter. 

(b)  A person asserting that he or she is not required to submit a 

An instructor applicant who asserts exemption from the fee 
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pursuant to G.S. 10B-14(c) shall include verification certify on 

the instructor certification or recertification application form that 

as of the date of application application, the applicant is currently 

employed as a register of deed, clerk of court or is the Director or 

an authorized employee of the Secretary as set forth in G.S. 10B-

14(c). as: 

(1) a register of deeds; 

(2) a clerk of court; or 

(3) an employee of the Department and is 

authorized by the Secretary as set forth in G.S. 

10B-14(c). 

(c)(b)  The Secretary Department may shall refuse to administer 

the notary public instructor certification examination exam to an 

applicant who has failed to pay the fee required for certification 

or recertification as a notary public instructor before the 

examination exam date. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-8; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0105 INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION 

- GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

Applicants An applicant for initial notary public instructor 

certification shall: 

(1) be nominated by an eligible institution; 

(1)(2) Complete complete and submit the 

Department's notary public instructor 

application form specified in 18 NCAC 07B 

.0414; and submit it to the Department; 

(2)(3) Comply with the requirements of Rule .0708 

through Rule .0711 of this Chapter regarding 

verification of 12 months of experience; 

provide proof of active experience as a notary 

using any combination of the methods set out in 

Section .0200 of this Subchapter; 

(3)(4) Comply with the requirements of Rule .0712 of 

this Chapter regarding recommendations; 

submit three recommendations supporting the 

applicant from nonfamily members in 

compliance with Rule .0112 of this Section; 

(4) Comply with the requirements of Rule .0713 of 

this Chapter regarding an oral presentation of a 

notary public course curriculum lesson; 

(5) have read: 

(a) Chapter 10B of the General Statutes; 

(b) the Rules in this Chapter; and 

(c) the current edition of the approved 

notary manual for traditional notaries; 

and 

(5)(6) Make a passing grade on the final examination 

in successfully complete the notary public 

instructor certification course as set forth in 

Rule .0714 of this Chapter; and course. 

(6) Except as otherwise provided in G.S. 10B-14(c) 

and Rule .0705 of this Chapter, pay the required 

fee. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-8; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0106 TIMING MANDATORY 

DEPARTMENT DENIAL OF INSTRUCTOR 

CERTIFICATION APPLICATION 

The Department shall deny a An application for notary public 

instructor certification or recertification application shall not be 

submitted to the Division during the period of any sanction issued 

by the Division. if any of the following apply: 

(1) the applicant has not held a notary commission 

for at least one calendar year; 

(2) the applicant does not have active experience as 

a notary; 

(3) an investigation is pending into the applicant's 

performance of the duties as a notary public, an 

electronic notary public, or a notary public 

instructor; 

(4) the applicant has not completed the conditions 

of any disciplinary action issued by the 

Department; or 

(5) any reason for which a notary commission may 

be denied pursuant to Chapter 10B of the 

General Statutes or the Rules in this Chapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-8; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0107 DEPARTMENT REJECTION OF 

APPLICATIONS 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-8; 10B-14. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0108 VERIFICATION THAT 

INSTRUCTOR APPLICANT CONTINUES TO MEET 

REQUIREMENTS FOR A NOTARY COMMISSION 

An instructor applicant for notary public instructor certification or 

recertification shall verify that: under oath on the instructor 

application form specified in 18 NCAC 07B .0414 that: 

(1) the information on the application is true and 

complete; and 

(1)(2) the applicant continues to meet each of the 

qualifications for a notary commission in G.S. 

10B-5 and 10B-7; and will perform the 

responsibilities of an instructor as set out in 

Chapter 10B of the General Statutes and the 

Rules in this Chapter to the best of the 

applicant's ability. 

(2) With regard to changes requiring notification to 

the Division pursuant to Rule .0107 of this 

Chapter, verify: 

(a) That there have been no changes 

requiring notification to the 

Department; 

(b) That there have been changes 

requiring notification to the 

Department and that the applicant has 

made all required notifications; or 

(c) That there have been changes 

requiring notification to the 

Department and the applicant has not 

previously made the required 

notification to the Department but is 
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including the notification with the 

application. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-8; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0109 CHANGE IN INSTRUCTOR'S 

ELIGIBLE INSTITUTION 

Within 45 days of a change in the eligible institution listed on the 

notary instructor application, an instructor applicant or certified 

notary instructor shall notify the Department in writing of: 

(1) the change in eligible institution; 

(2) the date that the change is effective; and 

(3) the name and contact information for the notary 

course administrator at the eligible institution. 

For purposes of this Rule, "change in the eligible institution" 

means: 

(1) that the applicant or certified notary instructor 

will not teach at the institution named in the 

application; or 

(2) that the applicant or certified notary instructor 

will teach at another institution. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0111 OTHER VERIFICATIONS 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-8; 10B-14. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0112 RECOMMENDATIONS 

A An notary public instructor certification applicant shall submit 

include three recommendations on the Division's 

recommendation form from persons unrelated to the applicant by 

birth, marriage or adoption. individuals who are not family 

members of the applicant. The recommendations shall be 

submitted on the Department's recommendation form specified in 

18 NCAC 07B .0415. 

For purposes of this Rule, either the applicant or the individual 

making the recommendation may submit the recommendation 

form to the Department. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-8; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0113 INSTRUCTORS AS 

REGISTERED ELECTRONIC NOTARIES 

An instructor applicant shall: 

(1) be a registered electronic notary public at the 

time of application; or 

(2) comply with all requirements for registration as 

an electronic notary within three months of 

successfully completing the instructor 

certification course. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

SECTION .0200 – NOTARY INSTRUCTOR APPLICANT 

VERIFICATION OF EXPERIENCE 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0201 EVIDENCE OF MINIMUM 

ACTIVE EXPERIENCE AS A NOTARY 

(a)  For purposes of these Rules a notarial act is an act set out in 

G.S. 10B-20(a). 

(b)  For purposes of demonstrating the experience required by 

G.S. 10B-14(a)(2), an applicant shall show evidence of 

performing notarial acts during each month of the 12 months 

immediately preceding the application to become a certified 

notary instructor. 

(c)  Evidence of performance of notarial acts shall be presented 

by one of the methods set forth in Rule .0709 through Rule .0711 

of this Chapter. 

Active experience as a notary shall be established by the applicant 

pursuant to the Rules in this Section by presenting any 

combination of the following evidence: 

(1) journal entries; 

(2) employer affidavits; or 

(3) an alternative method as set out in the Rules in 

this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-8; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0202 JOURNAL AS EVIDENCE OF 

ACTIVE EXPERIENCE 

An instructor applicant may present evidence of active experience 

as a notary by submitting: 

(1) a complete copy of a journal for the year 

immediately preceding the date on which the 

application is submitted; and 

(2) an affidavit under oath that the entries in the 

journal submitted are accurate. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0204 MINIMUM CONTENTS OF 

NOTARY JOURNAL SUBMITTED AS EVIDENCE OF 

EXPERIENCE 

(a)  An applicant for notary public instructor certification may 

submit a A journal of notarial acts submitted as evidence of active 

experience performing notarial acts. as a notary shall comply with 

18 NCAC 07I. 

(b)  The submitted journal shall, at a minimum, include: 

(1) The dates on which notarial acts were 

performed; 

(2) The type of notarial act performed; and 

(3) The name(s) of the party(ies) for whom each 

notarial act was performed. 

(c)  The applicant shall submit an affidavit verifying that the 

information in the journal submitted in compliance with this Rule 

is true and correct. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-8; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0205 EMPLOYER AFFIDAVIT AS 

EVIDENCE OF EXPERIENCE 

An employer affidavit submitted as evidence of active experience 

as a notary shall be submitted on the form specified in 18 NCAC 

07B .0416. 
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Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0206 EMPLOYER AFFIDAVIT 

REGARDING NOTARIAL ACTS FOR EMPLOYER 

An employer affidavit submitted pursuant to Rule .0205 of this 

Section: 

(1) shall refer to notarial acts performed for the 

employer; and 

(2) may refer to other notarial acts of the instructor 

applicant of which the employer affiant is 

personally aware. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0207 EMPLOYER AFFIDAVIT MAY 

INCLUDE RECOMMENDATION 

An employer affidavit submitted pursuant to Rule .0205 of this 

Section may include a recommendation from the employer 

pursuant to Rule .0112 of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0209 SUBMITTAL OF EMPLOYER 

AFFIDAVIT AS EVIDENCE OF EXPERIENCE 

(a)  An applicant for notary public instructor certification may 

submit an affidavit from his or her employer verifying that the 

applicant has had experience performing notarial acts. 

(b)  The submitted affidavit shall, at a minimum, include the 

following: 

(1) The name of the corporation, business, 

individual or entity employing the applicant; 

(2) The full name of the person verifying the 

applicant's experience; 

(3) The authority of the person to verify the 

applicant's experience, including his or her title; 

(4) The address, telephone number and, if 

applicable, email address of the person 

verifying the applicant's experience; 

(5) A narrative description of the reasons the 

applicant has performed notarial acts while 

employed by the person or entity submitting the 

affidavit; and 

(6) Verification that the applicant has performed at 

least one notarial act during each of the 12 

immediately preceding months. 

(c)  The submitted affidavit may also contain a recommendation 

pursuant to Rule .0712 of this Chapter. 

An instructor applicant who relies upon an employer affidavit 

pursuant to Rule .0205 of this Section shall either submit it to the 

Department or have the employer affiant directly submit it to the 

Department. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-8; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0212 ALTERNATIVE AFFIDAVITS AS 

EVIDENCE OF EXPERIENCE 

An instructor applicant for notary public instructor certification 

may submit evidence of active experience performing notarial 

acts as a notary other than a journal or employer affidavit, 

provided the evidence includes: that is not a journal or employer 

affidavit if: 

(2)(1) An affidavit from the evidence consists of at 

least one or more affidavits from nonfamily 

members person unrelated to the applicant by 

birth, marriage or adoption which that comply 

with Rule .0213 of this Section and that 

together establishes establish that the instructor 

applicant has performed at least one notarial act 

during each of the 12 months immediately 

preceding the application. active experience as 

a notary; and 

(1)(2) An an affidavit from the instructor applicant 

verifying that the applicant has performed at 

least one notarial act in each of the 12 

immediately preceding months; and that 

complies with Rule .0214 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-8; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0213 AFFIDAVITS OF EXPERIENCE 

FROM NONFAMILY MEMBERS 

An instructor applicant who submits alternative evidence of 

experience pursuant to Rule .0212 of this Section shall submit an 

affidavit from at least one individual who is not a family member 

that includes: 

(1) the name of the applicant as it appears on the 

applicant's notary commission; 

(2) the affiant's printed name; 

(3) the affiant's address, telephone number, and 

email address; 

(4) a brief explanation describing how the affiant 

knows the applicant; 

(5) each month and year in which the affiant knows 

that the applicant performed at least one 

notarial act; 

(6) an explanation of how the affiant knows that at 

least one notarial act was performed during 

each of the months listed in response to Item (5) 

of this Rule; 

(7) the signature of the affiant and the date on 

which the affiant signed; and 

(8) a jurat certificate. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0214 ALTERNATIVE EVIDENCE 

AFFIDAVIT FROM INSTRUCTOR APPLICANT 

An instructor applicant who presents alternative evidence of 

active experience as a notary pursuant to Rule .0212 of this 

Section shall submit the applicant's own affidavit consisting of: 

(1) the name of the applicant as it appears on the 

applicant's notary commission; 

(2) a declaration of the applicant's active 

experience as a notary; 

(3) an explanation for how the applicant knows that 

at least 1 notarial act was performed in each of 

the 12 months preceding the application; 
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(4) the signature of the applicant and the date on 

which the applicant signed; and 

(5) a jurat certificate. 

NOTE: To satisfy Item (3) of this Rule, the applicant might refer 

to a calendar with notes of notarial acts. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

SECTION .0300 – NOTARY INSTRUCTOR EDUCATION 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0301 INSTRUCTOR APPLICANT TO 

ATTEND DEPARTMENT INSTRUCTOR COURSE 

An instructor applicant shall attend the entirety of, and 

successfully complete, a North Carolina notary instructor course 

approved by the Department. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0302 NOTARY PUBLIC INSTRUCTOR 

CERTIFICATION AND RECERTIFICATION 

EXAMINATIONS EXAM PASSING SCORE 

(a)  A passing grade score on the notary public instructor 

certification or recertification final examination shall be 90 

percent. percent or higher on each of the notary instructor 

certification and recertification written exams. 

(b)  A notary public instructor certification or recertification 

applicant who fails to achieve a passing grade on the final 

examination may apply to take the test one additional time within 

three months. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-8; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0303 ORAL PRESENTATION 

REQUIREMENT FOR INSTRUCTOR APPLICANT 

(a)  A As part of the notary public instructor certification student 

course exam, a notary instructor applicant shall provide make an 

oral presentation of a section of the notary public curriculum 

which shall be evaluated according to the standards set forth in 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule. that complies with the Rules in this 

Section by presenting on a notary public curriculum topic selected 

by the applicant from a list provided by the Department. 

(b)  A passing grade on the notary public instructor certification 

oral presentation shall be 80 percent. 

(c)  The oral presentation of a notary public instructor certification 

student shall be graded for instructional ability using standards 

including the notary public instructor student's: 

(1) Voice quality (projection, articulation, speech 

rate); 

(2) Verbal skill (fluency and clarity); 

(3) Physical appearance and mannerisms (attire, 

posture, body language, eye contact, 

movement) to project a professional demeanor; 

(4) Professional qualities of the instructor 

(knowledge, self-confidence, tact, enthusiasm, 

sensitivity); 

(5) Selection and use of training aids (use of 

writing surface and other aids, effective use of 

multimedia, transparencies, and slides, relates 

aids to objectives, and use of aids when 

scheduled); 

(6) Presentation of information in logical sequence; 

(7) Timing of presentation to allow for sufficient 

time for questions and discussion; 

(8) Transition of subjects with continuous 

progression and development of lesson; 

(9) Emphasis of key points and frequent 

summarization of topics to entire lesson or 

course and use of examples to clarify the 

subjects; 

(10) Frequent establishment of relevance of the 

topics to entire lesson or course and use of 

examples to clarify the subjects; and 

(11) Following the Division's notary public 

curriculum. 

(d)  A notary public instructor student who fails the oral 

presentation portion of the notary public instructor certification 

course may schedule one additional oral presentation within three 

months of the failure to complete the oral presentation 

requirement as required by Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-8; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0304 NOTARY INSTRUCTOR ORAL 

PRESENTATION PASSING SCORE 

The Department or its designee shall evaluate the oral 

presentation portion of the instructor exam on a pass-fail basis 

using the factors in Rules .0306 through .0312 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0306 FACTORS RELATING TO 

VOICE 

An instructor applicant's oral presentation shall be evaluated on 

voice quality, consisting of projection, diction, pitch, and rate of 

speech. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0307 FACTORS RELATING TO 

VERBAL SKILL 

An instructor applicant's oral presentation shall be evaluated on 

verbal skill, consisting of fluency, clarity, and vocabulary 

appropriate for the audience. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0308 FACTORS RELATING TO 

PHYSICAL APPEARANCE AND MANNERISMS 

An instructor applicant's oral presentation shall be evaluated on 

professional appearance and mannerisms. For purposes of this 

Rule, "professional appearance and mannerisms" means: 

(1) attire appropriate to the adult education setting. 

NOTE: Professional and office casual attire are 

examples of appropriate attire; and 

(2) posture, body language, eye contact, and 

movement that projects a professional 

demeanor that will engage the students. 
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Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0309 FACTORS RELATING TO 

PROFESSIONAL QUALITIES OF THE INSTRUCTOR 

An instructor applicant's oral presentation shall be evaluated on 

the applicant's professional qualities. For purposes of this Rule, 

"professional qualities" means the applicant's demonstration of: 

(1) knowledge of the notary course curriculum, the 

notary manual, Chapter 10B of the General 

Statutes, and the Rules in this Chapter; 

(2) projection of confidence in presenting the 

materials, admitting areas of uncertainty and 

willingness to get and provide answers; 

(3) tact and sensitivity that respects individuals 

while also respecting the time of the other 

students when responding to questions or issues 

that arise in the class; and 

(4) enthusiasm for the subject matter and for 

teaching, so that students are engaged. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0310 FACTORS RELATING TO 

SELECTION AND USE OF TRAINING AIDS 

An instructor applicant's oral presentation shall be evaluated on 

the applicant's selection and use of training aids such as the 

applicable notary manuals, approved handouts, instructional 

videos, and classroom technology. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0311 FACTORS RELATING TO 

SEQUENCE 

An instructor applicant's oral presentation shall be evaluated on 

the applicant's presentation of information in a logical sequence. 

For purposes of this Rule, "presentation of information in logical 

sequence" means the applicant: 

(1) follows in order the curriculum and lesson plan 

provided by the Department; 

(2) transitions without effort between topics; and 

(3) returns to the initial sequence after 

appropriately addressing the student's issue if a 

student raises an issue out of order. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0312 FACTORS RELATING TO 

EMPHASIS, SUMMARIZATION, AND EXAMPLE 

An instructor applicant's oral presentation shall be evaluated on 

the applicant's: 

(1) emphasis on key points; 

(2) use of examples relevant to the topic of the 

presentation; and 

(3) summarization of topics. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

SECTION .0400 – CONSEQUENCES OF FAILING 

INSTRUCTOR'S EXAM 

18 NCAC 07E .0401 RETAKING WRITTEN 

CERTIFICATION OR RECERTIFICATION EXAM 

An instructor applicant who fails the written certification or 

recertification exam may schedule one additional written exam 

within one month of the date of the failed exam by: 

(1) making a written request to the Department 

addressed to the Director; and 

(2) submitting the request within one week of the 

date of the failed written exam. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0402 CONSEQUENCE OF FAILING 

TO PASS WRITTEN INSTRUCTOR EXAM 

An instructor applicant who fails to pass the written instructor 

exam within one month of the date on which the written exam is 

first taken and wishes to become a certified instructor shall 

comply again with Rule .0105 of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0403 SCHEDULING ADDITIONAL 

ORAL PRESENTATION UPON FAILURE 

An instructor applicant who fails to pass the oral presentation may 

schedule one additional oral presentation by: 

(1) making a written scheduling request to the 

Department addressed to the Director; 

(2) submitting the request within one week of the 

date of the failed oral presentation; and 

(3) making the second oral presentation within one 

month of the date on which the first oral 

presentation was made. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0404 REPEAT ORAL 

PRESENTATION 

An instructor applicant who schedules an additional oral 

presentation pursuant to Rule .0403 of this Section shall make a 

presentation on a topic selected by the Department from the notary 

instructor curriculum. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0405 EVALUATION OF REPEAT 

ORAL PRESENTATION 

An instructor applicant who makes an additional oral presentation 

pursuant to Rule .0404 of this Section shall be evaluated pursuant 

to the factors set out in Section .0300 of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0406 CONSEQUENCE OF FAILING 

TO PASS SECOND ORAL PRESENTATION 

An instructor applicant who fails to pass the second oral 

presentation within the time set in Rule .0403 of this Section and 

who wishes to become a certified instructor shall comply again 

with Rule .0105 of this Subchapter. 
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Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0407 CONSEQUENCES OF FAILING 

TO RECERTIFY 

An instructor applicant who does not comply with the 

requirements for instructor recertification before expiration of the 

existing certification shall: 

(1) notify the institutions at which the instructor 

taught prior to the expiration; and 

(2) not teach a notary course before becoming 

certified as a notary instructor again. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

SECTION .0600 – NOTARY INSTRUCTOR TEACHING 

OBLIGATIONS 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0601 MINIMUM INSTRUCTIONAL 

DUTIES OF CERTIFIED NOTARY PUBLIC 

INSTRUCTORS 

(a)  A certified notary public instructor shall verify the identity of 

each student in a notary course during the first instructional period 

by: 

(1) requiring satisfactory evidence of identity as 

defined in G.S. 10B-3(22)(a) G.S. 10B-3(22)a; 

or 

(2) having personal knowledge of the student as 

defined in G.S. 10B-3(17). 

(b)  A certified notary instructor shall verify the identity of each 

student in a traditional notary course and again prior to 

administration of the notary public examination by requiring 

satisfactory evidence of identity as defined in G.S. 10B-3(22)(a). 

signing the application of a traditional notary applicant. 

(b)  A certified notary public instructor shall follow the Division 

supplied curriculum for notary public instruction unless the 

instructor has been granted approval by the Division for a 

variance. 

(c)  While performing their duties as certified notary public 

instructors, A certified instructors instructor shall comply with 

applicable State and federal laws relating to adult education. the 

eligible institution's requirements regarding audits of courses, 

provided that the instructor shall not permit a student who is 

auditing to: 

(1) see or take the notary course exam; or 

(2) remain in the classroom during the notary 

course exam. 

(d)  When administering the notary public examination, a certified 

notary public instructor shall take steps to prevent cheating by 

students taking the notary public examination. 

(e)  When administering the notary public examination, a certified 

notary public instructor shall report to the Division within two 

business days if the instructor has reason to believe that there has 

been cheating on a notary public examination by any student, and 

shall provide: 

(1) The name, address and contact information for 

any student suspected of cheating; and 

(2) A narrative description of the instructor's 

reasons for believing cheating may have 

occurred. 

(f)  Notary public instructors shall submit student notary public 

examination grades to the Division within two business days after 

the examination has been administered. 

(g)  A notary public instructor shall demonstrate a professional 

demeanor at all times during instruction and administration of the 

duties of a certified notary public instructor. 

(h)  A notary public instructor shall not use profanity or obscene 

language when instructing the notary public course or 

administering the notary public examination. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-8; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0602 ADHERENCE TO 

CURRICULUM 

A certified notary instructor shall follow the Department 

curriculum for notary courses unless the Department grants a 

written variance to the instructor pursuant to the Rules in Section 

.0800 of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0603 PROCTORING EXAM 

When administering the notary course exam, a notary instructor 

shall: 

(1) comply with the requirements of the institution 

regarding proctoring exams; 

(2) if the institution does not have requirements 

regarding exam proctoring, take steps to 

prevent cheating on the exam; and 

(3) take other measures to prevent cheating that the 

instructor deems appropriate. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0604 SUBMISSION OF GRADES TO 

DEPARTMENT 

Notary instructors shall: 

(1) grade notary course exams administered on 

paper; 

(2) review grades for notary course exams 

administered electronically on the Department's 

website; and 

(3) electronically submit accurate student exam 

grades to the Department within two business 

days after the exams have been administered. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0605 REPORTING SUSPECTED 

CHEATING 

A notary instructor shall: 

(1) comply with the institution's reporting 

requirements regarding suspected cheating; and 

(2) report to the Department within two business 

days if the instructor has reason to believe that 

there has been cheating by any student on a 

notary course exam, and include: 
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(a) the name and, if available, address and 

contact information, for any student 

suspected of cheating; 

(b) a narrative description of the 

instructor's reasons for believing 

cheating may have occurred; 

(c) additional supporting evidence; 

(d) whether, when, and to whom the 

instructor reported the possible 

cheating at the institution; and 

(e) any other information that the 

instructor believes may aid the 

Department in investigating the report. 

NOTE: For purposes of this Rule, "additional supporting 

evidence" includes evidence such as videos, student admissions, 

and witness reports. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

SECTION .0700 – NOTARY INSTRUCTOR 

CONTINUING OBLIGATIONS 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0701 ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS 

RESPONSE TO COMPLAINTS 

If the Division Department receives information or a complaint 

regarding a certified notary instructor's qualifications as an 

instructor or notary, or performance as an instructor, that gives 

reason to question the notary public instructor's eligibility or 

ability to perform the duties of a notary public instructor, the 

Division may require the notary public instructor to: shall, as 

directed by the Department: 

(1) Submit submit to an interview; 

(2) Submit submit additional requested 

information; or 

(3) Submit submit audio and visual documentation 

such as a video of actual instruction to the 

extent available. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-8; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0702 INSTRUCTOR CONDUCT 

During instruction and administration of the duties of a certified 

notary instructor, an instructor shall demonstrate a professional 

demeanor. 

For purposes of this Rule, "professional demeanor" means 

exhibiting behaviors consistent with the factors on which an 

instructor applicant's oral presentation is evaluated pursuant to 

Rules .0306 through .0312 of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

SECTION .0800 – NOTARY INSTRUCTOR REQUESTS 

FOR APPROVAL OF INSTRUCTIONAL AIDS 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0801 REQUEST FOR VARIANCE 

FROM APPROVED INSTRUCTIONAL AIDS 

Instructors may submit a written request addressed to the Director 

requesting that the Department approve a variance allowing use 

of instructional aids in addition to or differing from those 

established by the Department. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0802 VARIANCE REQUEST - 

EXEMPLAR REQUIRED 

An instructor who submits a request for variance pursuant to this 

Section shall include a complete copy of the proposed 

instructional aid in its original size and colors. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0803 VARIANCE REQUEST - 

EXPLANATION OF VALUE 

An instructor who submits a variance request shall explain how 

the revised or new aid: 

(1) will be used by the instructor; and 

(2) will assist notary course students in 

understanding the role and responsibilities of a 

notary public. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0804 VARIANCE REQUEST – 

APPROVAL CRITERIA 

The Department shall approve or deny a variance request using 

the following criteria: 

(1) conformity with Chapter 10B of the General 

Statutes and the Rules in this Chapter; 

(2) value added to the curriculum; 

(3) the impact of the change on the length of the 

course; 

(4) quality of visual or audio elements; and 

(5) avoidance of confusion. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

SECTION .0900 – NOTARY INSTRUCTOR 

OBLIGATIONS TO STUDENTS 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0901 PREREQUISITES FOR 

INSTRUCTOR APPLICATION SIGNATURE 

An instructor shall sign a student's notary application only after 

the student has successfully completed the course. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0902 INSTRUCTOR VERIFICATION 

OF STUDENT NAME 

An instructor shall not sign a student's notary application if the 

name on the satisfactory evidence presented does not match the 

student's name for use on a notary commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 
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18 NCAC 07E .0903 RETESTING STUDENTS WHO 

FAIL NOTARY COURSE EXAM 

The institution where a notary course is taught shall determine 

whether a certified notary instructor may administer a retest to a 

student who fails a notary course exam. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0904 NOTICE TO DEPARTMENT OF 

RETESTING 

If a certified notary instructor retests a student who fails a notary 

course exam, the instructor shall: 

(1) retest the student within 30 days after the date 

of the course and exam; and 

(2) submit the results of the retest to the 

Department within two business days of the 

date on which the student retook the exam. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

SECTION .1000 – NOTARY INSTRUCTOR 

EVALUATION 

 

18 NCAC 07E .1001 STUDENT EVALUATIONS OF 

INSTRUCTION INSTRUCTORS 

(a)  If the employer of a certified notary public instructor conducts 

a written performance evaluation of the instructor at least once per 

calendar year, the instructor shall submit a copy of the 

performance evaluation to the Department within 30 days after 

receipt of the written performance evaluation from the employer. 

(b)  If the employer of a certified notary public instructor does not 

conduct a written performance evaluation of the instructor at least 

once per calendar year, the A certified notary instructor shall: 

(1) Require in each year of certification require that 

his or her notary public course students in at 

least one of the instructor's notary courses class 

each calendar year complete the Division's 

Department's student evaluation of notary 

public course instructor form; form specified in 

18 NCAC 07B .0417, unless the instructor's 

employer institution obtains student 

evaluations during the same period; and 

(2) Shall submit to the Department copies of all 

completed student evaluation forms completed 

pursuant to Item (1) of this Rule to the Division 

within 30 45 days of receipt of the completed 

forms. NOTE: Where the employer institution 

obtains student evaluations more frequently 

than once per certification year, evaluations for 

a single class in the certification year satisfy the 

requirements of this Item. 

(c)  The Department may conduct evaluations of instructional 

performance of certified notary public instructors by methods 

including: 

(1) Surveys of notary public students; 

(2) Requests for audio-visual recordings of 

courses; and 

(3) Observation of classroom instruction. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-8; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .1002 DEPARTMENTAL USE OF 

STUDENT EVALUATIONS 

In order to determine whether an instructor shall receive coaching, 

counseling, or be subject to action pursuant to G.S. 10B-60, the 

Department shall review student evaluations of the instructor for 

consistency with the factors on which an instructor applicant's oral 

presentation is evaluated pursuant to Rules .0306 through .0312 

of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

SECTION .1100 – NOTARY INSTRUCTOR RE-

CERTIFICATION RECERTIFICATION 

 

18 NCAC 07E .1101 ELIGIBILITY INELIGIBILITY 

FOR RE-CERTIFICATION RECERTIFICATION AS 

NOTARY INSTRUCTOR 

A certified notary public instructor shall not be eligible for 

recertification as a notary public instructor if the notary public 

instructor: 

(1) Has failed to submit notary public student 

examination grades or notary public instructor 

evaluations to the Division as required by Rules 

.0716 and .0717 of this Chapter; 

(2) Has been subject to disciplinary action by the 

Division in relation to: 

(a) The performance of notary public 

duties pursuant to Chapter 10B of the 

General Statutes or this Chapter; or 

(b) The performance of notary public 

instructor duties; or 

(3) Has failed to comply with other requirements 

imposed upon a notary or notary public 

instructor pursuant to law or rule. 

(1) no longer qualifies for initial commissioning as 

a notary public; 

(2) has not taught at least two notary courses in 

each of the two immediately preceding 

instructor certification years; or 

(3) has failed to comply with other requirements 

imposed upon a notary or notary public 

instructor pursuant to G.S. 10B-14 or the Rules 

in this Chapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-8; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .1102 NOTARY PUBLIC INSTRUCTOR 

RE-CERTIFICATION RECERTIFICATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

An applicant for recertification as a notary public instructor shall: 

(1) Complete complete the Department's notary 

public instructor application recertification 

form specified in 18 NCAC 07B .0418 and 

submit it to the Department; Department prior 

to lapse of certification; 

(2) Comply with the requirements of Rule .0708 

through Rule .0711 of this Chapter regarding 
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verification of 12 months of experience 

performing notarial acts; successfully complete 

the notary instructor recertification course; and 

(3) Comply with the requirements of Rule .0713 of 

this Chapter regarding an oral presentation of a 

notary public course lesson; 

(5) Make a passing grade on the final examination 

in the notary public instructor certification 

recertification course as set forth in Rule .0714 

of this Chapter; 

(6)(3) Except except as otherwise provided in Rule 

.0705 of this Chapter, by G.S. 10B-14, pay the 

required fee; and fee. 

(7) Submit an affidavit verifying that the applicant 

has taught the notary public instructor course at 

least twice a year during the two-year 

certification period. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-8; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .1103 DENIAL OF NOTARY PUBLIC 

INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION OR RE-

CERTIFICATION EQUIVALENCE 

An application for notary public instructor certification or 

recertification may be denied: 

(1) For any reason for which an application for 

commissioning or recommissioning of a notary 

public may be denied; or 

(2) If an applicant no longer meets the 

requirements or fails to comply with the 

requirements to be a certified notary public 

instructor. 

(a)  Successful completion of the notary instructor course shall 

satisfy the requirements for successful completion of the notary 

recommissioning exam and electronic notary course and exam. 

(b)  Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall apply only to a notary who: 

(1) is a certified notary instructor when applying 

for recommissioning as a notary or 

reregistration as an electronic notary; and 

(2) is a certified notary instructor at the time of 

taking the recommissioning oath. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-8; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .1104 NOTARY INSTRUCTOR 

RECERTIFICATION COURSE ORAL PRESENTATION 

The notary instructor recertification course shall include an oral 

presentation in addition to the written exam for: 

(1) an instructor's first recertification; 

(2) an instructor who has taught no more than two 

notary courses in each of the two immediately 

preceding certification years; 

(3) an instructor whose student grades have on 

average been less than 85 percent; 

(4) an instructor whose student evaluations for a 

single course have had a majority of ratings of 

less than "Good" on: 

(a) any one category of the evaluation 

form; or 

(b) any combination of the evaluation 

form categories; or 

(5) an instructor subject to Rule .1105 of this 

Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .1105 NOTARY INSTRUCTOR WITH 

LAPSE IN CERTIFICATION 

(a)  A notary instructor who has a lapse between certification 

terms shall comply with the requirements for initial certification 

as a notary instructor. 

(b)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, if the lapse is for 

less than six months and the instructor otherwise qualifies, the 

instructor: 

(1) may take the recertification course instead of 

the initial certification course; and 

(2) shall make an oral presentation during the 

course. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

SECTION .1200 – INSTRUCTOR APPLICATION 

DENIALS 

 

18 NCAC 07E .1202 APPLICATION DENIAL – 

FAILURE TO NOTIFY DEPARTMENT OF CHANGES 

The Department shall deny an application for notary instructor 

certification or recertification if the notary or instructor has failed 

to notify the Department of changes as required by Chapter 10B 

of the General Statutes or the Rules in this Chapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .1203 APPLICATION DENIAL – 

TERMINATION FOR CAUSE 

The Department shall deny an application for notary instructor 

recertification if the instructor has been terminated by an eligible 

institution for cause. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .1204 APPLICATION DENIAL – 

FAILURE TO SUBMIT EXAM GRADES 

The Department shall deny the application for recertification of 

an instructor if the instructor applicant has failed to submit student 

exam grades more than once in a certification year. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .1205 APPLICATION DENIAL – 

DISCIPLINARY ACTION 

The Department shall deny an application for instructor 

certification or recertification if the notary has been the subject of 

a disciplinary action, other than a warning or denial, that is related 

to performance as a notary public, an electronic notary public, or 

a notary instructor. 

 

Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21. 
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TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 08 – BOARD OF CERTIFIED PUBLIC 

ACCOUNTANT EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Certified Public Accountant Examiners intends to 

amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 08F .0105 and .0401. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://nccpaboard.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  November 20, 2023 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  NC State Board of CPA Examiners, 1101 Oberlin 

Road, Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27605 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed amendments to 08F 

.0105 is to move the score credit window from its current 18-

month timeframe to a 30-month timeframe in line with the 

Uniform Accountancy Act and the timeframe being implemented 

for the Uniform CPA Exam across all jurisdictions nationwide.  

The proposed amendment to 08F .0401 is to return a qualifying 

statement that was recently removed from the rule in error.  The 

NC general statutes allow experience to be earned both under the 

direct supervision of a licensed CPA or through other means 

including obtaining 4 years of experience in the field of 

accounting.  The removal of the qualifying clause "to be under the 

direct supervision of a CPA" appears to indicate that all 

experience that is required shall be under the direct supervision 

of a CPA, eliminating the alternative options.  Reinsertion of the 

qualifying clause will identify that the supervision earned under 

the direct supervision of a licensed CPA must occur under a CPA 

licensed within one of the US jurisdictions. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  David R. Nance, 1101 Oberlin 

Rd, Raleigh, NC 27605; phone (919) 733-4215; email 

dnance@nccpaboard.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  January 12, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 08F - REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTIFIED 

PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT EXAMINATION AND 

CERTIFICATE APPLICANTS 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

21 NCAC 08F .0105 CONDITIONING 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Passing Grades. A candidate shall pass all sections of the 

examination with a grade of 75 or higher on each section. 

(b)  Military Service. A candidate who is on active military service 

shall not have the time on active military service counted against 

Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule unless the candidate applies to 

take the examination during the active military service, in which 

case each month a candidate sits shall be counted toward 

Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule. 

(c)  A candidate is subject to the following conditioning 

requirements: 

(1) a candidate shall earn a passing grade on all 

sections of the examination within an 18-month 

period; a 30-month period; 

(2) a candidate may sit for any section of the 

examination individually and in any order; 

(3) a candidate may retake the same section of the 

examination as many times during a one-year 

period as determined by the examination 

vendors but shall not retake a failed test section 

until the candidate has been notified of the score 

of the most recent attempt of that failed section; 

(4) credit awarded by the Board for passage of a 

section of the examination shall be valid for an 

18-month period a 30-month period from the 

date the passing scores are released by the 

examination vendors; 

(5) the 18-month period 30-month period begins on 

the date the first passing score is released to the 

candidate and concludes with the sit date of the 

final passed examination section, regardless of 

when the score is released by the examination 

vendors for the final passed section. A 

candidate, after earning credit for the initial 

passed section, must complete the remaining 

test sections of the examination by the last day 

of the 18-month period. 30-month period. If all 

four sections of the examination are not passed 
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within the 18-month period, 30-month period, 

credit for any test section passed outside of the 

18-month period 30-month period shall expire; 

and 

(6) notwithstanding Subparagraphs (c)(1), (c)(4), 

and (c)(5) of this Rule, the period of time in 

which to pass all test sections of the 

examination may be extended by the Board 

upon a showing that the credit was lost by 

reason of circumstances beyond the testing 

candidate's control. 

 

Authority G.S. 93-12(3); 93-12(4); 93-12(5). 

 

SECTION .0400 - EXPERIENCE 

 

21 NCAC 08F .0401 WORK EXPERIENCE 

REQUIRED OF CANDIDATES FOR CPA 

CERTIFICATION 

(a)  G.S. 93-12(5)(c) sets forth work experience alternatives, one 

of which is required of candidates applying for CPA certification. 

In connection with those requirements, the following provisions 

apply: 

(1) the work experience shall be acquired prior to 

the date a candidate applies for certification; 

and 

(2) all experience that is required to be under the 

direct supervision of a CPA shall be under the 

direct supervision of a licensed CPA on active 

status in one of the U.S. states or jurisdictions. 

(b)  The following provisions apply to all candidates seeking to 

meet the work experience requirement of G.S. 93-12(5)(c)(3) by 

working in the field of accounting: 

(1) One year of work experience is 52 weeks of 

full-time employment. The candidate is 

employed full-time when the candidate is 

expected by the employer to work for the 

employer at least 30 hours each week. Any 

other work is working part-time. 

(2) All weeks of actual full-time employment are 

added to all full-time equivalent weeks in order 

to calculate how much work experience a 

candidate has acquired. Dividing that number 

by 52 results in the years of work experience the 

candidate has acquired. 

(3) Full-time-equivalent weeks are determined by 

the number of actual part-time hours the 

candidate has worked. Actual part-time hours 

do not include hours paid for sick leave, 

vacation leave, attending continuing education 

courses, or other time not spent directly 

performing accounting services. For each 

calendar week during which the candidate 

worked actual part-time hours of 30 hours or 

more, the candidate receives one full-time-

equivalent week. The actual part-time hours 

worked in the remaining calendar weeks are 

added together and divided by 30. The resulting 

number is the additional number of full-time-

equivalent weeks to which the candidate is 

entitled. 

(4) The candidate shall submit experience 

affidavits on a form provided by the Board from 

all of the relevant employers; provided that 

when such experience was not acquired while 

employed with a CPA firm, the candidate shall 

also submit details of the work experience and 

supervision on a form provided by the Board. 

Experience affidavits for part-time work shall 

contain a record of the actual part-time hours 

the candidate has worked for each week of part-

time employment. Both the experience affidavit 

and the form for additional detail shall be 

certified by the employer's office supervisor or 

an owner of the firm who is a certificate holder. 

(c)  Rule .0409 of this Section applies to teaching experience 

acquired pursuant to G.S. 93-12(5)(c)(2) and (4). 

 

Authority G.S. 93-12(3); 93-12(5). 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on September 21, 2023 Meeting. 

 

 REGISTER CITATION TO THE 

 NOTICE OF TEXT 

CHILD CARE COMMISSION 

Criminal History Record Check Requirements for Child Care... 10A NCAC 09 .2703* 37:20 NCR 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

Petitions 10A NCAC 13A .0201* 37:18 NCR 

Competency Evaluation and Validation for Licensed Health ... 10A NCAC 13G .0504 37:18 NCR 

RADIATION PROTECTION COMMISSION 

Notices, Instructions, and Reports to Employees 10A NCAC 15 .1001* 37:19 NCR 

Posting of Notices to Workers 10A NCAC 15 .1002 37:19 NCR 

Instructions to Workers 10A NCAC 15 .1003 37:19 NCR 

Notifications and Reports to Individuals 10A NCAC 15 .1004 37:19 NCR 

Presence of Representatives During Inspections 10A NCAC 15 .1005 37:19 NCR 

Consultation with Workers 10A NCAC 15 .1006 37:19 NCR 

Requests for Inspections 10A NCAC 15 .1007 37:19 NCR 

Inspections Not Warranted 10A NCAC 15 .1008 37:19 NCR 

Standards for Protection Against Radiation 10A NCAC 15 .1601* 37:19 NCR 

Implementation 10A NCAC 15 .1602 37:19 NCR 

Radiation Protection Programs 10A NCAC 15 .1603 37:19 NCR 

Occupational Dose Limits for Adults 10A NCAC 15 .1604 37:19 NCR 

Requirements for Summation of External, Internal Doses 10A NCAC 15 .1605 37:19 NCR 

External Dose from Airborne Radioactive Material 10A NCAC 15 .1606 37:19 NCR 

Determination of Internal Exposure 10A NCAC 15 .1607 37:19 NCR 

Planned Special Exposures 10A NCAC 15 .1608 37:19 NCR 

Occupational Dose Limits for Minors 10A NCAC 15 .1609 37:19 NCR 

Dose Equivalent to an Embryo/Fetus 10A NCAC 15 .1610 37:19 NCR 

Dose Limits for Individual Members of the Public 10A NCAC 15 .1611 37:19 NCR 

Compliance with Dose Limits for Members of the Public 10A NCAC 15 .1612 37:19 NCR 

Surveys 10A NCAC 15 .1613 37:19 NCR 

Monitoring of External and Internal Occupational Dose 10A NCAC 15 .1614 37:19 NCR 

Control of Access to High Radiation Areas 10A NCAC 15 .1615 37:19 NCR 

Control of Access to Very High Radiation Areas 10A NCAC 15 .1616 37:19 NCR 

Access to Very High Radiation Areas: Irradiators 10A NCAC 15 .1617 37:19 NCR 

Use of Process or Other Engineering Controls 10A NCAC 15 .1618 37:19 NCR 

Use of Other Controls to Restrict Internal Exposure 10A NCAC 15 .1619 37:19 NCR 

Use of Individual Respiratory Protection Equipment 10A NCAC 15 .1620 37:19 NCR 

Restrictions on the Use of Respiratory Protection Equipment 10A NCAC 15 .1621 37:19 NCR 

Security of Sources of Radiation 10A NCAC 15 .1622 37:19 NCR 

Caution Signs 10A NCAC 15 .1623 37:19 NCR 

Posting Requirements 10A NCAC 15 .1624 37:19 NCR 
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Exceptions to Posting Requirement 10A NCAC 15 .1625 37:19 NCR 

Labeling Requirements and Exemptions 10A NCAC 15 .1626 37:19 NCR 

Procedures for Receiving and Opening Packages 10A NCAC 15 .1627 37:19 NCR 

General Requirements for Waste Disposal 10A NCAC 15 .1628 37:19 NCR 

Method for Obtaining Approval of Disposal Procedures 10A NCAC 15 .1629 37:19 NCR 

Disposal by Release into Sanitary Sewerage 10A NCAC 15 .1630 37:19 NCR 

Treatment or Disposal by Incineration 10A NCAC 15 .1631 37:19 NCR 

Disposal of Specific Wastes 10A NCAC 15 .1632 37:19 NCR 

Transfer for Disposal and Manifests 10A NCAC 15 .1633 37:19 NCR 

Compliance with Env. and Health Protection Regulations 10A NCAC 15 .1634 37:19 NCR 

General Provisions for Records 10A NCAC 15 .1635 37:19 NCR 

Records of Radiation Protection Programs 10A NCAC 15 .1636 37:19 NCR 

Records of Surveys 10A NCAC 15 .1637 37:19 NCR 

Determination of Prior Occupational Dose 10A NCAC 15 .1638 37:19 NCR 

Records of Planned Exposures 10A NCAC 15 .1639 37:19 NCR 

Records of Individual Monitoring Results 10A NCAC 15 .1640 37:19 NCR 

Records of Dose to Individual Members of the Public 10A NCAC 15 .1641 37:19 NCR 

Records of Waste Disposal 10A NCAC 15 .1642 37:19 NCR 

Records of Testing Entry Control Devices 10A NCAC 15 .1643 37:19 NCR 

Form of Records 10A NCAC 15 .1644 37:19 NCR 

Reports of Theft or Loss of Licensed Radioactive Material 10A NCAC 15 .1645 37:19 NCR 

Notification of Incidents 10A NCAC 15 .1646 37:19 NCR 

Reports of Radiation Exceeding the Limits 10A NCAC 15 .1647 37:19 NCR 

Reports of Planned Special Exposures 10A NCAC 15 .1648 37:19 NCR 

Reports of Individual Monitoring 10A NCAC 15 .1649 37:19 NCR 

Radiological Requirements for License Termination 10A NCAC 15 .1653 37:19 NCR 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

Reporting of COVID-19 Diagnostic Test Results 10A NCAC 41A .0107 37:23 NCR 

SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Probationary Certification 12 NCAC 10B .0402* 37:02 NCR 

Probationary Certification Requirement 12 NCAC 10B .0403* 37:02 NCR 

General Certification 12 NCAC 10B .0404* 37:02 NCR 

Time Req/Completion/Basic Law Enforcement Training Course 12 NCAC 10B .0503* 37:02 NCR 

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

Investigations Directly Related to Provision of Services 14B NCAC 16 .1503 37:18 NCR 

Distinguishing Security Services 14B NCAC 16 .1504* 37:18 NCR 

Training and Supervision Required in Level One 14B NCAC 16 .1702* 37:18 NCR 

Training and Supervision Required in Level Two 14B NCAC 16 .1703* 37:18 NCR 

Training and Supervision Required in Level Three 14B NCAC 16 .1704* 37:18 NCR 

Educational Degrees and Non-Degreed Training 14B NCAC 16 .1705* 37:18 NCR 

Transferability of Training Hours 14B NCAC 16 .1708* 37:18 NCR 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

Water Supply 15A NCAC 18A .1511* 37:23 NCR 
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LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL EMPLOYEES' RETIREMENT SYSTEM BOARD OF TRUSTEES 

Definitions 20 NCAC 02C .0210* 37:17 NCR 

Surety for Non-Taxing Authority Participation 20 NCAC 02C .0211* 37:17 NCR 

 

 

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2703 CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD 

CHECK REQUIREMENTS FOR CHILD CARE 

PROVIDERS 

(a)  In addition to the requirements in Rules .0302 and .1702 of 

this Chapter, a child care provider, as defined in G.S. 110-90.2, 

shall submit the following to the Division prior to the issuance of 

a license or prior to beginning employment: 

(1) any forms required by the State Bureau of 

Investigation or Federal Bureau of 

Investigation to process a state and national 

fingerprint check as required by G.S. 110-90.2; 

and 

(2) fingerprint impressions submitted on an FD-

258 applicant fingerprint card or other form 

required by the Division and State Bureau of 

Investigation; 

(3) any applicant who has lived outside of North 

Carolina in the previous five years, shall submit 

an affidavit attesting that the applicant has 

requested a background check from:  

(A) the state criminal registry or 

repository, with use of fingerprints,  

(B) the state sex offender registry or 

repository, and  

(C) the state-based child abuse and neglect 

registry and database for each state in 

which the applicant has lived, at any 

time and for whatever length of time, 

within the five years preceding the 

application. 

All forms referenced in this Paragraph are available through the 

Automated Background Check Management System (ABCMS) at 

https://ncabcms.nc.gov/DCDEE/Applicant/ 

(b)  If the child care provider has a criminal history of convictions, 

pending indictment of a crime, or pending criminal charges, they 

may submit to the Division additional information concerning the 

conviction or charges the Division shall use in making the 

determination of the child care provider's qualification. The 

Division shall also consider the following in making its decision: 

(1) the length of time since conviction; 

(2) whether the child care provider is currently on 

probation; 

(3) the nature of the offense; 

(4) the circumstances surrounding the commission 

of the offense or offenses; 

(5) the evidence of rehabilitation; 

(6) the number and type of prior offenses; 

(7) the age of the child care provider at the time of 

occurrence; and 

(8) any additional information the applicant wishes 

the Division to consider regarding the 

applicant's criminal history. 

(c)  If the owner of a child care license is a firm, partnership, 

association, or corporation, the chief executive officer or other 

person serving in like capacity or a person designated by the chief 

executive officer as responsible for the operation of the facility, 

shall complete the criminal history record check as specified in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  If a Letter of Intent to Operate pursuant to G.S. 110-106 is 

submitted to the Division, the person signing the Letter of Intent 

shall submit all forms as required in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(e)  Child care providers, as defined in G.S. 110-90.2(a), shall 

have a valid qualification letter prior to employment or living in a 

child care facility and the qualification letter shall be kept on file 

at the facility for review by representatives of the Division. 

(f)  Provisional child care providers are eligible for employment 

at a child care facility and are eligible to reside in a family child 

care home, nonlicensed home, or child care center in a residence 

and shall be counted in staff/child ratio. Provisional child care 

providers shall be supervised at all times by an individual who 

received a qualifying result on a criminal background check 

within the past five years and may not be left alone with children. 

Child care facilities found to be in violation of this Paragraph may 

be issued an administrative action up to and including revocation 

of their child care license or notice of compliance in accordance 

with Section .2200 of this Chapter. 

(g)  When applying for provisional status, the applicant shall 

complete and submit any documents specific to their former 

state(s) of residence that are necessary to complete the out-of-state 

portion of their background check. When requested by the 

Division, the applicant shall submit a copy and proof of 

submission of the documents necessary to complete the out-of-

state portion of their background check. The Division shall 

provide to the applicant the necessary information to make these 

requests, if applicable. 

(h)  Within 45 days of issuing a provisional status to an applicant, 

the Division shall issue a qualification letter to a provisional child 

care provider if no criminal background check results that would 

disqualify the applicant are returned or if there is no response to 

the applicant's or the Division's request for the state sex offender 

registry check, the state abuse and neglect registry, or the state 

criminal history check from the state or states in which the 

provisional provider currently resides or has resided at any time 

during the preceding five years.  

(i)  Child care providers found to be disqualified pursuant to G.S. 

110-90.2, G.S. 110-105.6, or 10A NCAC 09 .2703 by the Division 

shall not be eligible for employment in child care until a 

qualification letter has been issued by the Division. 

(j)  A child care facility shall terminate the employment of any 

child care provider upon receipt of a notice of disqualification of 
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the provider from the Division notwithstanding any appeal by 

provider of the disqualification. 

(k)  Disqualification of a child care provider living in a child care 

facility shall be grounds for issuance of a summary suspension of 

the license in accordance with 10A NCAC 09 .2213. 

(l)  Refusal on the part of the employer to dismiss a child care 

provider who has been found to be disqualified shall be grounds 

for suspension, denial, or revocation of the license or any other 

administrative action or civil penalty permitted by Section .2200 

of this Chapter. If an applicant appeals the disqualification, the 

child care provider shall not be employed during the appeal 

process. 

(m)  Operators, as defined by G.S. 110-86(7), shall include the 

criminal history mandatory reporting requirement in all new 

employee orientation information. All child care providers, as 

defined in G.S. 110-90.2(a)(2), who have incurred any pending 

charges, indictments, or convictions (other than minor traffic 

offenses) since the last qualification letter was issued by the 

Division shall notify the operator of such charges within five 

business days or before returning to work, whichever comes first. 

The operator shall notify the Division of any such pending 

charges, indictments, or convictions within one business day of 

being notified. 

(n)  The qualification letter shall be valid for a maximum of five 

years from the date of issuance. 

(o)  Prior to the expiration date of the qualification letter, the child 

care provider shall complete and submit the forms listed in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(p)  After a child care provider has been qualified, the Division 

shall complete a new criminal history record check if the Division 

of Child Development and Early Education conducts an 

investigation in accordance with G.S. 110-90.2, G.S. 110-105.3, 

or 10A NCAC 09 .0201 involving alleged criminal activity by the 

child care provider. 

(q)  Any individual over the age of 15 who resides, as defined in 

10A NCAC 09 .0102(40), in a child care facility on either a 

temporary or permanent basis shall comply with the requirements 

of Paragraph (a) of this Rule within 5 days of either moving into 

the facility or within 5 days after their 16th birthday. 

(r)  Operators shall notify the Division of all new child care 

providers, as defined in G.S. 110-90.2(a)(2), who are hired or 

have moved into the child care facility within five business days.  

(s)  Any application for a criminal background check that is not 

complete, including the required components in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule, within 30 days of beginning the application, will expire 

and be withdrawn by the Division. 

(t)  The Division shall not issue, and shall revoke any previously 

issued, qualification letters to an individual who fails to comply 

with Paragraph (g) of this Rule, or if the Division determines that 

the individual provided false information in connection with 

either an application or a criminal background check required by 

this Rule, or if the Division determines that the individual is not 

qualified to be a child care provider pursuant to G.S. 110-90.2 or 

42 USC 9558f.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-86(7); 110-90.2; 

110-106; 114-19.5; 143B-168.3; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2014; November 1, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2023; February 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

10A NCAC 13A .0201 PETITIONS 

(a)  Any person wishing to submit a petition requesting the 

adoption, amendment, or repeal of a rule or rules by the North 

Carolina Medical Care Commission shall submit the petition 

addressed to: Office of the Director, Division of Health Service 

Regulation, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina, 

27699-2701. 

(b)  The petition shall contain the following information: 

(1) the text of the proposed rule or rules for 

adoption or amendment, the rule number of the 

proposed rule or rules for repeal, and the 

statutory authority for the agency to promulgate 

the rule or rules; 

(2) a statement of the effect on existing rules; 

(3) a statement of the effect of the proposed rule or 

rules on existing practices in the area involved, 

if known; and 

(4) the name(s) and address(es) of petitioner(s). 

(c)  The petitioner may include the following information within 

the request: 

(1) documents and any data supporting the petition; 

(2) a statement of the reasons for adoption of the 

proposed rule or rules, amendment or the repeal 

of an existing rule or rules; 

(3) a statement explaining the costs and 

computation of the cost factors, if known; and 

(4) a description, including the names and 

addresses, if known, of those individuals or 

entities most likely to be affected by the 

proposed rule or rules. 

(d)  The North Carolina Medical Care Commission, based on a 

review of the facts stated in the petition, shall consider the 

following in the determination to grant the petition: 

(1) whether the North Carolina Medical Care 

Commission has authority to adopt the rule or 

rules; 

(2) the effect of the proposed rule(s) on existing 

rules, programs, and practices; 

(3) probable costs and cost factors of the proposed 

rule or rules; 

(4) the impact of the rule on the public and the 

regulated entities; and 

(5) whether the public interest will be served by 

granting the petition. 

(e)  Petitions that do not contain the information required by 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be returned to the petitioner by the 

Chairman of the North Carolina Medical Care Commission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-165; 150B-20; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. December 19, 1977; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1989; 
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Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0504 COMPETENCY EVALUATION 

AND VALIDATION FOR LICENSED HEALTH 

PROFESSIONAL SUPPORT TASKS 

(a)  When a resident requires one or more of the personal care 

tasks listed in Subparagraphs (a)(1) through (a)(28) of Rule .0903 

of this Subchapter, the task may be delegated to non-licensed staff 

or licensed staff not practicing in their licensed capacity after a 

licensed health professional has validated the staff person is 

competent to perform the task. 

(b)  The licensed health professional shall evaluate the staff 

person's knowledge, skills, and abilities that relate to the 

performance of each personal care task. The licensed health 

professional shall validate that the staff person has the knowledge, 

skills, and abilities and can demonstrate the performance of the 

task(s) prior to the task(s) being performed on a resident. 

(c)  Evaluation and validation of competency shall be performed 

by the following licensed health professionals in accordance with 

his or her North Carolina occupational licensing laws: 

(1) A registered nurse shall validate the 

competency of staff who perform any of the 

personal care tasks specified in Subparagraphs 

(a)(1) through (a)(28) of Rule .0903 of this 

Subchapter; 

(2) In lieu of a registered nurse, a licensed 

respiratory care practitioner may validate the 

competency of staff who perform personal care 

tasks specified in Subparagraphs (a)(6), (11), 

(16), (18), (19), and (21) of Rule .0903 of this 

Subchapter; 

(3) In lieu of a registered nurse, a licensed 

pharmacist may validate the competency of 

staff who perform the personal care tasks 

specified in Subparagraph (a)(8) and (11) of 

Rule .0903 of this Subchapter. An immunizing 

pharmacist may validate the competency of 

staff who perform the personal care task 

specified in Subparagraph (a)(15) of Rule .0903 

of this Subchapter; and 

(4) In lieu of a registered nurse, an occupational 

therapist or physical therapist may validate the 

competency of staff who perform personal care 

tasks specified in Subparagraphs (a)(17) and 

(a)(22) through (a)(27) of Rule .0903 of this 

Subchapter. 

(d)  If a physician certifies that care can be provided to a resident 

in a family care home on a temporary basis in accordance with 

G.S. 131D-2.2(a), the facility shall ensure that the staff 

performing the care task(s) authorized by the physician are 

competent to perform the task(s) in accordance with Paragraphs 

(b) and (c) of this Rule. For the purpose of this Rule, "temporary 

basis" means a length of time as determined by the resident's 

physician to meet the care needs of the resident and prevent the 

resident's relocation from the family care home. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.5; 143B-

165; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. September 1, 2003; 

Eff. July 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2022; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2023. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

10A NCAC 15 .1001 NOTICES, INSTRUCTIONS, AND 

REPORTS TO EMPLOYEES 

(a) Persons registered with the agency pursuant to the rules in 

Section .0200 of this Chapter and persons licensed under the rules 

in Sections .0300, .0900, .1200, and .1300 of this Chapter shall 

comply with the provisions of 10 CFR 19 as follows, which are 

hereby incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions, except that references to and 

requirements for 10 CFR 2, 50, 52, 54, 60, 63, 72, and 76 shall 

not apply: 

(1) 10 CFR 19.1, "Purpose;" 

(2) 10 CFR 19.2, "Scope;" 

(3) 10 CFR 19.3, "Definitions," except that the 

definition of "regulated activities" and 

"regulated entities" shall not apply. For persons 

registered with the agency pursuant to the rules 

in Section .0200 of this Chapter, the following 

terms used in 10 CFR 19 shall have the 

following substitutions: 

(A) "license" shall have the same meaning 

as "registration" as defined in Rule 

.0104(131) of this Chapter; 

(B) "licensed" means registered pursuant 

to the rules in Section .0200 of this 

Chapter; 

(C) "licensee" shall have the same 

meaning as "registrant" as defined in 

Rule .0104(130) of this Chapter; 

(D) "materials" shall have the same 

meaning as "radiation machine" as 

defined in Rule .0104(122) of this 

Chapter; 

(E) "NRC-licensed" means registered 

pursuant to the rules in Section .0200 

of this Chapter; and 

(F) "radioactive material" shall have the 

same meaning as "radiation machine" 

as defined in Rule .0104(122) of this 

Chapter; 

(4) 10 CFR 19.5, "Communications," except that 

licensees and registrants shall address 

communications and reports to the agency as 

instructed by Rule .0111 of this Chapter in lieu 

of the NRC; 

(5) 10 CFR 19.11, "Posting of notices to workers," 

except that 19.11(b) and (e) shall not apply; 

(A) NRC Form 3 shall not be used in lieu 

of the Notice to Employees issued by 

the agency, except as authorized by 

the agency in writing; 
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(B) licensees and registrants shall not post 

other notices, postings, notes, or other 

materials over the Notice to 

Employees, nor shall equipment be 

placed in such a manner that the 

Notice to Employees is obscured or 

hidden by that equipment; and 

(C) additional copies of the Notice to 

Employees may be obtained free of 

charge from the agency by contacting 

the agency at the addresses shown in 

Rule .0111(a) of this Chapter in lieu of 

the NRC, or online at 

https://radiation.ncdhhs.gov/; 

(6) 10 CFR 19.12, "Instructions to workers;" 

(7) 10 CFR 19.13, "Notifications and reports to 

individuals;" 

(8) 10 CFR 19.14, "Presence of representatives of 

licensees and regulated entities, and workers 

during inspections," except that 19.14(a) shall 

not apply; 

(9) 10 CFR 19.15, "Consultation with workers 

during inspections;" 

(10) 10 CFR 19.16, "Requests by workers for 

inspections." Requests for inspections shall be 

mailed or delivered to the agency as instructed 

by Rule .0111(a) of this Chapter in lieu of the 

NRC; 

(11) 10 CFR 19.17, "Inspections not warranted; 

informal review." Communications regarding 

the agency's decisions with respect to a request 

for inspection submitted to the agency under 

Subparagraph (a)(10) shall be mailed or 

delivered to the agency as instructed by Rule 

.0111(a) of this Chapter in lieu of the NRC; 

(12) 10 CFR 19.18, "Sequestration of witnesses and 

exclusion of counsel in interviews conducted 

under subpoena;" 

(13) 10 CFR 19.20, "Employee protection;" 

(14) 10 CFR 19.31, "Application for exemptions," 

except that the request for exemption shall be 

made on the licensee's or registrant's business 

letterhead. Requests for exemptions from the 

requirements of this Rule shall be made to the 

agency at the addresses shown in Rule .0111(a) 

of this Chapter in lieu of the NRC or as 

otherwise instructed by the agency. To request 

an exemption, the following information shall 

be submitted to the agency: 

(A) licensee or registrant name; 

(B) license or registration number; 

(C) name of the individual requesting the 

exemption; 

(D) contact information for the individual 

requesting the exemption; 

(E) a description of the exemption being 

requested; and 

(F) an explanation describing why the 

exemption is necessary. 

(b)  Notwithstanding Subparagraph (a)(5) of this Rule, registrants 

temporarily working in North Carolina and licensees working in 

North Carolina under reciprocity may post the Notice to 

Employees, NRC Form 3, or an equivalent form issued under the 

authority of the regulatory agency issuing the registration or 

license. 

(c)  Copies of these regulations are available free of charge at 

https://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/doc-collections/cfr/part019/. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-12; 

Eff. February 1, 1980; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1993; June 1, 1989; 

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11 .1001 Eff. 

February 1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. June 22, 2019; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 15 .1002 POSTING OF NOTICES TO 

WORKERS 

10A NCAC 15 .1003 INSTRUCTIONS TO WORKERS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-10; 104E-12; 

Eff. February 1, 1980; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; January 1, 1994; May 1, 1992; 

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11 .1002 and .1003, 

Eff. February 1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. June 22, 2019; 

Repealed Eff. October 1, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 15 .1004 NOTIFICATIONS AND 

REPORTS TO INDIVIDUALS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-10(b); 104E-12; 

Eff. February 1, 1980; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2013; January 1, 1994; 

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11 .1004 Eff. 

February 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2017; 

Repealed Eff. October 1, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 15 .1005 PRESENCE OF 

REPRESENTATIVES DURING INSPECTIONS 

10A NCAC 15 .1006 CONSULTATION WITH 

WORKERS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-10; 104E-11; 

Eff. February 1, 1980; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1993; 

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11 .1005 and .1006 

Eff. February 1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. June 22, 2019; 

Repealed Eff. October 1, 2023. 
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10A NCAC 15 .1007 REQUESTS FOR INSPECTIONS 

10A NCAC 15 .1008 INSPECTIONS NOT 

WARRANTED 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-10; 

Eff. February 1, 1980; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1992; November 1, 1989; 

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11 .1007 – .1008 Eff. 

February 1, 2015; 

Repealed Eff. October 1, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 15 .1601 STANDARDS FOR 

PROTECTION AGAINST RADIATION 

(a)  Persons registered with the agency pursuant to the rules in 

Section .0200 of this Chapter and persons licensed pursuant to the 

rules in Section .0300, .0900, .1200, or .1300 of this Chapter shall 

comply with the provisions of 10 CFR 20 as follows, which are 

hereby incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions, except references to and requirements 

for 10 CFR 50, 52, 60, 63, 72, 73, and 76 shall not apply: 

(1) 20.1001, "Purpose," except that non-ionizing 

radiation from radiation machines registered in 

accordance with the rules in Section .0200 of 

this Chapter shall also be regulated by this Rule; 

(2) 20.1002, "Scope;" 

(3) 20.1003, "Definitions," except that for persons 

registered with the agency pursuant to the rules 

in Section .0200 of this Chapter, the following 

terms used in 10 CFR 20 shall have the 

following substitutions: 

(A) "license" shall have the same meaning 

as "registration" as defined in Rule 

.0104(131) of this Chapter; 

(B) "licensed" means registered pursuant 

to the rules in Section .0200 of this 

Chapter; 

(C) "licensed material" shall have the 

same meaning as "radiation machine" 

as defined in Rule .0104(122) of this 

Chapter, and 

(D) "licensee" shall have the same 

meaning as "registrant" as defined in 

Rule .0104(130) of this Chapter; 

(4) 20.1004, "Units of radiation dose;" 

(5) 20.1005, "Units of radioactivity;" 

(6) 20.1007, "Communications," except that 

licensees and registrants shall address 

communications regarding these rules, 

notifications, and reports to the agency as 

instructed by Rule .0111 of this Chapter in lieu 

of the NRC; 

(7) 20.1101, "Radiation protection programs;" 

(8) 20.1201, "Occupational dose limits for adults;" 

(9) 20.1202, "Compliance with requirements for 

summation of external and internal doses;" 

(10) 20.1203, "Determination of external dose from 

airborne radioactive material;" 

(11) 20.1204, "Determination of internal exposure;" 

(12) 20.1206, "Planned special exposures;" 

(13) 20.1207, "Occupational dose limits for 

minors;" 

(14) 20.1208, "Dose equivalent to an embryo/fetus;" 

(15) 20.1301, "Dose limits for individual members 

of the public;" 

(16) 20.1302, "Compliance with dose limits for 

individual members of the public;" 

(17) 20.1401, "General provisions and scope;" 

(18) 20.1402, "Radiological criteria for unrestricted 

use;" 

(19) 20.1403, "Criteria for license termination under 

restricted conditions;" 

(20) 20.1404, "Alternate criteria for license 

termination;" 

(21) 20.1405, "Public notification and public 

participation," except the agency shall not 

publish a notice in the Federal Register; 

(22) 20.1406, "Minimization of contamination," 

except that 20.1406(b) shall not apply; 

(23) 20.1501, "General;" 

(24) 20.1502, "Conditions requiring individual 

monitoring of external and internal 

occupational dose;" 

(25) 20.1601, "Control of access to high radiation 

areas;" 

(26) 20.1602, "Control of access to very high 

radiation areas;" 

(27) 20.1701, "Use of process or other engineering 

controls;" 

(28) 20.1702, "Use of other controls;" 

(29) 20.1703, "Use of individual respiratory 

protection equipment;" 

(30) 20.1704, "Further restrictions on the use of 

respiratory equipment;" 

(31) 20.1705, "Application for use of higher 

assigned protection factors;" 

(32) 20.1801, "Security of stored material;" 

(33) 20.1802, "Control of material not in storage;" 

(34) 20.1901, "Caution signs;" 

(35) 20.1902, "Posting requirements;" 

(36) 20.1903, "Exceptions to posting requirements;" 

(37) 20.1904, "Labeling containers;" 

(38) 20.1905, "Exemptions to labeling 

requirements," except that 20.1905(g) shall not 

apply; 

(39) 20.1906, "Procedures for receiving and opening 

packages;" 

(40) 20.2001, "General requirements;" 

(41) 20.2002, "Method for obtaining approval of 

proposed disposal procedures;" 

(42) 20.2003, "Disposal by release to sanitary 

sewerage;" 

(43) 20.2004, "Treatment or disposal by 

incineration;" 

(44) 20.2005, "Disposal of specific wastes;" 

(45) 20.2006, "Transfer for disposal and manifests;" 

(46) 20.2007, "Compliance with environmental and 

health protection regulations;" 
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(47) 20.2008, "Disposal of certain byproduct 

material;" 

(48) 20.2101, "General provisions;" 

(49) 20.2102, "Records of radiation protection 

programs;" 

(50) 20.2103, "Records of surveys;" 

(51) 20.2104, "Determination of prior occupational 

dose;" 

(52) 20.2105, "Records of planned special 

exposures;" 

(53) 20.2106, "Records of individual monitoring 

results;" 

(54) 20.2107, "Records of dose to individual 

members of the public;" 

(55) 20.2108, "Records of waste disposal;" 

(56) 20.2110, "Form of records;" 

(57) 20.2201, "Reports of theft or loss of material." 

Persons registered with the agency pursuant to 

the rules in Section .0200 of this Chapter shall 

make telephone reports of the theft or loss of 

radiation machines in accordance with 

20.2201(a)(1)(i); 

(58) 20.2202, "Notifications of incidents;" 

(59) 20.2203, "Reports of exposures, radiation 

levels, and concentrations of radioactive 

material exceeding the constraints or limits," 

except that 20.2203(c) shall not apply; 

(60) 20.2204, "Reports of planned special 

exposures;" 

(61) 20.2205, "Reports to individuals exceeding 

dose limits;" 

(62) 20.2206, "Reports of individual monitoring," 

except that 20.2206(a)(1), and 20.2206(a)(3) 

through (a)(5) shall not apply. The report 

required by 20.2206(b) shall be submitted upon 

request by the agency in lieu of the 

requirements of 20.2206(c); 

(63) 20.2207, "Reports of transactions involving 

nationally tracked sources." Notwithstanding 

Subparagraph (a)(6) of this Rule, reports 

required by this Subparagraph shall be made in 

accordance with 20.2207(f) and (g); 

(64) 20.2301, "Application for exemptions," except 

that the request for exemption shall be made on 

the licensee's or registrant's business letterhead. 

Requests for exemptions from the requirements 

of this Rule shall be made to the agency at the 

addresses shown in Rule .0111(a) of this 

Chapter in lieu of the NRC or as otherwise 

instructed by the agency. To request an 

exemption, the following information shall be 

submitted to the agency: 

(A) licensee or registrant name; 

(B) license or registration number; 

(C) name and contact information for the 

individual requesting the exemption; 

(D) a description of the exemption being 

requested, and 

(E) an explanation describing why the 

exemption is necessary; 

(65) 20.2302, "Additional requirements;" 

(66) Appendix A to Part 20, "Assigned Protection 

Factors for Respirators;" 

(67) Appendix B to Part 20, "Annual Limits on 

Intake (ALIs) and Derived Air Concentrations 

(DACs) of Radionuclides for Occupational 

Exposure; Effluent Concentrations; 

Concentrations for Release to Sewerage;" 

(68) Appendix C to Part 20, "Quantities of 

Radioactive Material Requiring Labeling;" 

(69) Appendix E to Part 20, "Nationally Tracked 

Source Thresholds," and 

(70) Appendix G to Part 20, "Requirements for 

Transfers of Low-Level Radioactive Waste 

Intended for Disposal at Licensed Land 

Disposal Facilities and Manifests." 

(b)  Exposure of a personnel monitoring device to deceptively 

indicate a dose delivered to an individual is prohibited. 

(c)  Licensees and registrants shall continue to perform all 

activities required by the rules of this Chapter, license or 

registration condition, and shall pay annual fees as instructed on 

an invoice issued by the agency until the license or registration is 

terminated. Registrants shall maintain registration of all radiation 

machines under their control until those units are disposed. 

(d)  Nothing in the rules of this Chapter shall relieve any person 

of responsibility for complying with other applicable North 

Carolina laws and rules. 

(e)  Copies of these regulations are available free of charge at 

https://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/doc-collections/cfr/part020/. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 104E-7(a)(2); 

Eff. January 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11 .1601 Eff. 

February 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 15 .1602 IMPLEMENTATION 

10A NCAC 15 .1603 RADIATION PROTECTION 

PROGRAMS 

10A NCAC 15 .1604 OCCUPATIONAL DOSE LIMITS 

FOR ADULTS 

10A NCAC 15 .1605 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

SUMMATION OF EXTERNAL, INTERNAL DOSES 

10A NCAC 15 .1606 EXTERNAL DOSE FROM 

AIRBORNE RADIOACTIVE MATERIAL 

10A NCAC 15 .1607 DETERMINATION OF 

INTERNAL EXPOSURE 

10A NCAC 15 .1608 PLANNED SPECIAL 

EXPOSURES 

10A NCAC 15 .1609 OCCUPATIONAL DOSE LIMITS 

FOR MINORS 

10A NCAC 15 .1610 DOSE EQUIVALENT TO AN 

EMBRYO/FETUS 
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10A NCAC 15 .1611 DOSE LIMITS FOR 

INDIVIDUAL MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC 

10A NCAC 15 .1612 COMPLIANCE WITH DOSE 

LIMITS FOR MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC 

10A NCAC 15 .1613 SURVEYS 

10A NCAC 15 .1614 MONITORING OF EXTERNAL 

AND INTERNAL OCCUPATIONAL DOSE 

10A NCAC 15 .1615 CONTROL OF ACCESS TO 

HIGH RADIATION AREAS 

10A NCAC 15 .1616 CONTROL OF ACCESS TO 

VERY HIGH RADIATION AREAS 

10A NCAC 15 .1617 ACCESS TO VERY HIGH 

RADIATION AREAS: IRRADIATORS 

10A NCAC 15 .1618 USE OF PROCESS OR OTHER 

ENGINEERING CONTROLS 

10A NCAC 15 .1619 USE OF OTHER CONTROLS TO 

RESTRICT INTERNAL EXPOSURE 

10A NCAC 15 .1620 USE OF INDIVIDUAL 

RESPIRATORY PROTECTION EQUIPMENT 

10A NCAC 15 .1621 RESTRICTIONS ON THE USE 

OF RESPIRATORY PROTECTION EQUIPMENT 

10A NCAC 15 .1622 SECURITY OF SOURCES OF 

RADIATION 

10A NCAC 15 .1623 CAUTION SIGNS 

10A NCAC 15 .1624 POSTING REQUIREMENTS 

10A NCAC 15 .1625 EXCEPTIONS TO POSTING 

REQUIREMENTS 

10A NCAC 15 .1626 LABELING REQUIREMENTS 

AND EXEMPTIONS 

10A NCAC 15 .1627 PROCEDURES FOR RECEIVING 

AND OPENING PACKAGES 

10A NCAC 15 .1628 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

FOR WASTE DISPOSAL 

10A NCAC 15 .1629 METHOD FOR OBTAINING 

APPROVAL OF DISPOSAL PROCEDURES 

10A NCAC 15 .1630 DISPOSAL BY RELEASE INTO 

SANITARY SEWERAGE 

10A NCAC 15 .1631 TREATMENT OR DISPOSAL BY 

INCINERATION 

10A NCAC 15 .1632 DISPOSAL OF SPECIFIC 

WASTES 

10A NCAC 15 .1633 TRANSFER FOR DISPOSAL 

AND MANIFESTS 

10A NCAC 15 .1634 COMPLIANCE WITH ENV. AND 

HEALTH PROTECTION REGULATIONS 

10A NCAC 15 .1635 GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR 

RECORDS 

10A NCAC 15 .1636 RECORDS OF RADIATION 

PROTECTION PROGRAMS 

10A NCAC 15 .1637 RECORDS OF SURVEYS 

10A NCAC 15 .1638 DETERMINATION OF PRIOR 

OCCUPATIONAL DOSE 

10A NCAC 15 .1639 RECORDS OF PLANNED 

EXPOSURES 

10A NCAC 15 .1640 RECORDS OF INDIVIDUAL 

MONITORING RESULTS 

10A NCAC 15 .1641 RECORDS OF DOSE TO 

INDIVIDUAL MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC 

 

10A NCAC 15 .1642 RECORDS OF WASTE 

DISPOSAL 

10A NCAC 15 .1643 RECORDS OF TESTING ENTRY 

CONTROL DEVICES 

10A NCAC 15 .1644 FORM OF RECORDS 

10A NCAC 15 .1645 REPORTS OF THEFT OR LOSS 

OF LICENSED RADIOACTIVE MATERIAL 

10A NCAC 15 .1646 NOTIFICATION OF INCIDENTS 

10A NCAC 15 .1647 REPORTS OF RADIATION 

EXCEEDING THE LIMITS 

10A NCAC 15 .1648 REPORTS OF PLANNED 

SPECIAL EXPOSURES 

10A NCAC 15 .1649 REPORTS OF INDIVIDUAL 

MONITORING 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 104E-7(a)(2); 104E-7(a)(3); 

104E-7(a)(5); 104E-12; 104E-12(a); 104E-15; 10 C.F.R. 

Chapter 1, Commission Notices, Policy Statements, Agreement 

States, 46 F.R 7540; 

Eff. January 1, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 20, 1994 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2013; November 1, 2007; May 1, 2006; 

January 1. 2005; August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999; August 1, 1998; 

May 1, 1995; 

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11 .1602 - .1649 Eff. 

February 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2017; 

Repealed Eff. October 1, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 15 .1653 RADIOLOGICAL 

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE TERMINATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 104E-7(a)(2); 104E-10(b); 

Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11 .1653 Eff. 

February 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2017; 

Repealed Eff. October 1, 2023. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

10A NCAC 41A .0107 REPORTING OF COVID-19 

DIAGNOSTIC TEST RESULTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-134; 130A-139; 130A-

141; 130A-141.1; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. September 25, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 1, 2020; 

Eff. October 1, 2021; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2022; 

Repealed Eff. October 1, 2023. 

 

 

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 
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12 NCAC 10B .0402 PROBATIONARY 

CERTIFICATION 

All justice officers, except those transferred or reinstated pursuant 

to Rule .0406 of this Section shall serve a probationary 

certification period of one year; provided that the one year 

probationary period has not been extended for cause pursuant to 

12 NCAC 10B .0602(a) or .1303(a). For certification as a deputy 

sheriff the probationary period begins on the date the officer took 

the Oath of Office after completion of Basic Law Enforcement 

Training as described in 12 NCAC 10B .0502 and 12 NCAC 09B 

.0205. For certification as a detention officer or 

telecommunicator, the probationary period begins on the date the 

person was appointed.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1996; January 1, 1994; January 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0403 PROBATIONARY 

CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENT 

(a)  For certification as a deputy sheriff, the applicant must 

successfully complete Basic Law Enforcement Training as 

described in 12 NCAC 10B .0502 and 12 NCAC 09B .0205, and 

a Report of Appointment (Form F-4) must be submitted to the 

Division.  

(b)  For certification as a detention officer, a Report of 

Appointment (Form F-4) must be submitted to the Division. 

(c)  For certification as a telecommunication officer, a Report of 

Appointment (Form F-4T) must be submitted to the Division. 

(d)  Report of Appointment forms must be submitted to the 

Division by the employing agency no later than 10 days after the 

deputy sheriff has taken the Oath of Office, or the detention 

officer or the telecommunicator has been appointed. 

(e)  The Division shall forward the justice officer's certification to 

the appointing agency. 

(f)  No deputy sheriff or detention officer probationary 

certification shall be issued by the Division prior to the applicant 

meeting the conditions set forth in this Paragraph. As an 

additional requirement for probationary certification, the 

applicant shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) If the applicant for probationary certification is 

authorized to carry a firearm pursuant to the 

provisions of 12 NCAC 10B .2104, the 

employing agency shall submit evidence of 

satisfactory completion of the employing 

agency's in-service firearms training and 

requalification program pursuant to 12 NCAC 

10B .2000 and .2100; or 

(2) If the applicant for probationary certification is 

not authorized to carry a firearm pursuant to the 

provisions of 12 NCAC 10B .2104, the 

employing agency shall notify the Division, in 

writing, that the applicant is not authorized to 

carry a firearm. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1998, January 1, 1996; January 1, 

1994; January 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0404 GENERAL CERTIFICATION 

(a)  The Commission shall grant an officer general certification if 

evidence is received by the Division that the officer has: 

(1) complied with all of the requirements of 12 

NCAC 10B .0300;  

(2) successfully completed the required 

probationary period pursuant to Rule .0402 of 

this Section; and 

(3) detention officers and telecommunicators have 

completed the required training within the 

probationary period. 

(b)  General certification is continuous from the date of issuance 

if: 

(1) The certified officer remains continuously 

employed or appointed as an officer with an 

agency and the certification has not been 

terminated for cause; or 

(2) The certified officer, having separated without 

a pending disciplinary action from an agency, is 

reemployed or reappointed as a justice officer 

within one year from the date of separation, and 

the certification has not been terminated for 

cause. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1993; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0503 TIME 

REQ/COMPLETION/BASIC LAW ENFORCEMENT 

TRAINING COURSE 

(a)  Each deputy sheriff shall have completed with passing scores 

the accredited basic training course as prescribed in 12 NCAC 

09B .0205 prior to obtaining probationary certification. Any 

deputy sheriff who does not comply with this Rule or other 

training provisions of this Chapter shall not exercise the powers 

of a deputy sheriff, including the power of arrest.  

(b)  Any applicant for certification who has completed a 

Commission-certified basic law enforcement training program, 

but has not been duly appointed and certified in a sworn law 

enforcement position within one year of completion of the course, 

shall complete a subsequent Commission-certified basic law 

enforcement training program and pass the State Comprehensive 

Examination pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0406 within the 12 

month probationary period. The Director shall waive this 
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requirement to complete a subsequent Commission-certified basic 

law enforcement training program and pass the State 

Comprehensive Examination and accept a basic law enforcement 

training program and pass the State Comprehensive Examination 

that was completed outside of the one year time period as set forth 

in this Rule unless he or she determines that a delay in applying 

for certification was due to negligence on the part of the applicant 

or employing agency. The extension of the one year period shall 

not exceed 30 days from the expiration date of the commission-

certified basic law enforcement training program completed by 

the applicant. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2006; January 1, 1996; January 1, 1994; 

January 1, 1991; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024; June 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1503 INVESTIGATIONS DIRECTLY 

RELATED TO PROVISION OF SERVICES 

A close personal protection licensee may engage in activities 

otherwise defined by G.S. 74C-3(a)(8) as an investigation which 

are directly related to the provision of services including but not 

limited to advance planning, intelligence, and risk assessment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023; 

Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1504 DISTINGUISHING SECURITY 

SERVICES 

(a)  Prior to providing any service to a client, a close personal 

protection licensee or licensed private investigator with a close 

personal protection endorsement shall enter into a written contract 

or agreement that lists by name the individual person or persons 

for whom service is to be provided, the specific function that 

constitutes the service, and the duration of the service. 

(b)  A close personal protection license or close personal 

protection endorsement does not entitle the licensee to provide 

services defined by G.S. 74C-3(a)(6) to any person or persons not 

listed in the contract or agreement. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-3(c); 74C-5; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023; 

Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1702 TRAINING AND SUPERVISION 

REQUIRED IN LEVEL ONE 

(a)  If upon sponsorship, the Associate has less than one year or 

1,000 hours of verifiable training or experience, the Associate 

shall be classified as a Level One Associate and shall undergo 160 

hours of one-on-one supervision training. 

(b)  The first 40 hours of employment shall be one-on-one 

supervision. The remaining 120 hours of one-on-one supervision 

shall be gathered over the first year of employment or the first 

1,000 hours of work, whichever comes first. 

(c)  A Level One Associate cannot, independently of the sponsor, 

accept or contract employment. The Associate shall have direct 

face-to-face, telephone, or virtual contact with the sponsor before 

accepting employment or before accepting a new case. 

(d)  The sponsor shall meet with the Level One Associate to 

review the Associate's activities. The sponsor's review may be by 

telephone, virtually, or face-to-face and shall occur at least four 

times per month. The sponsor shall review each assignment the 

Associate is working or has worked since the last review. Review 

sessions may encompass more than one assignment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5(2); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023; 

Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1703 TRAINING AND SUPERVISION 

REQUIRED IN LEVEL TWO 

(a)  If upon initial application for an Associate permit, the 

applicant has at least one year or 1,000 hours of verifiable training 

or experience, the applicant will skip Level One and be classified 

as a Level Two Digital Forensics Examiner Associate. An 

applicant that skips Level One shall undergo 80 hours of one-on-

one training. The first 40 hours of one-on-one supervision shall be 

one-on-one training and shall occur within the first 40 hours of 

employment. The remaining 40 hours shall be gathered over the 

first year of employment or the first 1,000 hours of work, 

whichever comes first. 

(b)  A Level Two Associate cannot, independently of the sponsor, 

accept or contract employment. The Associate shall have direct 

face-to-face, virtual, or telephone contact with the sponsor. 

(c)  The sponsor shall meet with the Level Two Associate to 

review the Associate's work product. The sponsor's review may 

be by telephone, virtually, or face-to-face and shall occur at least 

four times per month. The sponsor shall review each assignment 

the Associate is working or has worked since the last review. 

Review sessions may encompass more than one assignment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5(2); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023; 

Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1704 TRAINING AND SUPERVISION 

REQUIRED IN LEVEL THREE 

(a)  If upon sponsorship the Associate has at least two years or 

2,000 hours of verifiable training or experience, the Associate will 

be classified as a Level Three Associate and shall undergo 40 

hours of one-on-one training. 

(b)  The first 40 hours of employment for the Level Three Digital 

Forensics Examiner Associate shall be one-on-one supervision. 

(c)  When the Level Three Associate completes the requirements 

of Level Three by fulfilling the licensing requirements set forth in 

Rules .0204 and .0401 of this Chapter, the Associate may apply 

for a digital forensics examiner license. 

(d)  The sponsor shall meet with the Level Three Associate to 

review the Associate's activities once each month. The sponsor 

licensee shall review each assignment the Associate is working or 
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has worked since the last review. Review sessions may encompass 

more than one assignment. 

(e)  The sponsor shall ensure the Level Three Associate remains 

in compliance with G.S. Chapter 74C. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5(2); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023; 

Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1705 EDUCATIONAL DEGREES AND 

NON-DEGREED TRAINING 

Using the formula in Rule .0204 of this Chapter, the Board shall 

give credit toward the educational and training requirements of 

this Section as follows: 

(1) An applicant shall receive a minimum of 400 

hours of experience credit for an associate's 

degree. The Board shall grant up to 100 

additional hours if the applicant can 

demonstrate that further training or course-

work related to digital forensics examination 

was received while obtaining the associate's 

degree. 

(2) An applicant shall receive 800 hours of 

experience credit for a bachelor's degree. The 

Board shall grant up to 200 additional hours if 

the applicant can demonstrate that further 

training or course-work related to digital 

forensics examination was received while 

obtaining the bachelor's degree. 

(3) An applicant shall receive 1,200 hours of 

experience credit for a graduate degree. The 

Board shall grant an additional 300 additional 

hours if the applicant can demonstrate that 

further training or course-work related to digital 

forensics examination was received while 

obtaining the graduate degree. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5(2); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023; 

Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1708 TRANSFERABILITY OF 

TRAINING HOURS 

If a Level One Associate transfers employment to another digital 

forensics examiner licensee, the one-on-one training shall not 

transfer and the Associate shall undergo new one-on-one 

supervised training hours with the new sponsor. If a Level Two or 

Level Three Associate transfers employment to another licensee, 

all training hours shall be transferred. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5(2); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023; 

Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1511 WATER SUPPLY 

(a)  Water supplies at local confinement facilities shall meet the 

requirements in 15A NCAC 18C or 15A NCAC 18A .1700, as 

applicable. 

(b)  In local confinement facilities that use a non-community 

water system, as defined at G.S. 130A-313(10), a sample of water 

shall be collected by the Department of Health and Human 

Services once a year and submitted to the North Carolina State 

Laboratory of Public Health or other laboratory certified by the 

North Carolina State Laboratory of Public Health under 10A 

NCAC 42C .0102 to perform bacteriological examinations. 

(c)  A local confinement facility's water supply plumbing shall not 

include cross-connections as set out in 15A NCAC 18C 

.0102(c)(8). 

(d)  Local confinement facilities shall provide water heating 

facilities, and shall provide hot and cold running water under 

pressure to carry out all operations. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 153A-226; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. December 5, 1977; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2023. 

 

 

TITLE 20 - DEPARTMENT OF STATE TREASURER 

 

20 NCAC 02C .0210 DEFINITIONS 

(a)  "Surety" means a written agreement, constituting both a 

resolution and an "acknowledgement and acceptance letter" as 

described in Rule .0211 of this Section, given for the fulfillment 

and guarantee of the withdrawal payment to cease participation in 

the Retirement System under G.S. 128-30(i). 

(b)  "Estimated Withdrawal Liability" means the withdrawal 

liability under the terms of G.S. 128-30(i) estimated by the 

Division's consulting actuary. The estimate shall be prepared 

under the assumption that the participating employer will cease 

participation 10 years after initial participation. 

(c)  "Non-taxing authority" ("NTA") means as an otherwise 

eligible employer that is not a taxing unit, as defined by G.S. 105-

273(16). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 128-23(i);  

Eff. October 1, 2023. 

 

20 NCAC 02C .0211 SURETY FOR NON-TAXING 

AUTHORITY PARTICIPATION 

(a)  An NTA shall provide surety to the Board establishing any 

withdrawal liability the NTA may incur will be paid by submitting 

a resolution adopted by the NTA's governing body stating the 

NTA is maintaining an amount equal to or greater than the 

Estimated Withdrawal Liability in a secure financial instrument 

and will maintain the funds in such an instrument, including any 

other secure financial instrument, throughout its participation in 

the Retirement System. A secure financial instrument may 

include: an escrow account, a letter of credit, a bond, a deed of 

trust, or a deposit in the Ancillary Governmental Participant 

Investment Program (AGPIP) under G.S. 147-69.3 to the extent 
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such an investment by the NTA is permitted by the Internal 

Revenue Code and State law. 

(b)  Any NTA submitting a resolution required under Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule must also submit to the Division an 

"acknowledgement and acceptance letter" signed by a person or 

persons authorized to act on behalf of the NTA. The letter must 

acknowledge the specific amount of the Estimated Withdrawal 

Liability; acknowledge that the actual amount of the withdrawal 

liability, if incurred, will differ from the Estimated Withdrawal 

Liability; accept the obligation to pay the actual withdrawal 

liability, if incurred; and attest that the entity has reviewed the 

withdrawal-related requirements of G.S. 128-30(i). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 128-23(i); 

Eff. October 1, 2023. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission November 16, 2023 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  

Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 
 

Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Barbara A. Jackson (1st Vice Chair) 

Jay R. Hemphill Randy Overton (2nd Vice Chair) 
Jeff Hyde Wayne R. Boyles, III 

Brandon Leebrick Jake Parker 
Bill Nelson Paul Powell 

 

COMMISSION COUNSEL 
Brian Liebman  984-236-1948 
William W. Peaslee 984-236-1939 
Seth M. Ascher  984-236-1934 

 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 
 November 16, 2023 January 18, 2024 
 December 14, 2023 February 15, 2024 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
Thursday, November 16, 2023, 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 
 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 
Approval of the minutes from the last meeting  

II. Follow-up matters 
A. Board of Agriculture - 02 NCAC 52B .0214; 52J .0901, .0902, .0903, .0904 (Liebman) 
B. Medical Care Commission - 10A NCAC 13F .0702, .1307; 13G .0705, .1301 (Liebman) 
C. DHHS - Division of Health Service Regulation - 10A NCAC 14E .0104, .0106, .0107, .0109, .0112, .0114, 

.0201, .0202, .0207, .0209, .0210, .0211, .0212, .0315, .0318, .0319, .0320, .0321, .0322, .0323, .0324, 

.0325, .0326, .0327, .0328, .0329, .0330, .0331 (Liebman) 
D. Department of Justice - 12 NCAC 02J .0201 (Liebman) 
E. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission - 12 NCAC 09B .0209, .0403, .0501, .0502; 

09C .0306; 09G .0405, .0406 (Liebman) 
F. Coastal Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 07H .0208, .0308; 07M .0603 (Liebman) 
G. Department of Revenue - 17 NCAC 07B .0115, .0901, .0902, .0904, .1101, .1123, .1202, .1301, .1302, 

.1303, .1305, .1404, .1601, .1602, .1605, .1701, .1702, .1704, .1705, .1801, .1905, .1907, .2001, .2002, 

.2101, .2102, .2105, .2201, .2204, .2205, .2209, .2210, .2212, .2213, .2301, .2401, .2603, .2604, .2605, 

.2701, .2702, .2801, .2802, .2901, .3004, .3009, .3101, .3106, .3107, .3301, .3302, .3801, .3804, .3907, 

.3910, .4102, .4105, .4106, .4109 (Ascher) 
H. Department of Revenue - 17 NCAC 07B .4201, .4202, .4203, .4205, .4206, .4210, .4301, .4302, .4401, 

.4403, .4404, .4406, .4411, .4413, .4415, .4503, .4510, .4609, .4614, .4701, .4707, .4708, .4801, .5001, 

.5002, .5004 (Peaslee) 
I. Board of Examiners in Optometry - 21 NCAC 42D .0102 (Peaslee) 

III. Review of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between September 21, 2023 through October 20, 2023 
1. Child Care Commission (Ascher) 
2. Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission (Peaslee) 
3. Licensing Board for General Contractors (Peaslee) 
4. Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners (Peaslee) 
5. Board of Dental Examiners (Liebman) 
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6. Board of Nursing (Peaslee) 
7. Building Code Council (Liebman) 

IV. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting 
V. Existing Rules Review  
VI. Commission Business 

o Next meeting: December 14, 2023 
 

 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

September 21, 2023 through October 20, 2023 
 

CHILD CARE COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 9 are child care rules and include definitions (.0100); general provisions related to licensing (.0200); 
procedures for obtaining a license (.0300); issuance of provisional and temporary licenses (.0400); age and 
developmentally appropriate environments for centers (.0500); safety requirements for child care centers (.0600); staff 
qualifications (.0700); health standards for children (.0800); nutrition standards (.0900); transportation standards 
(.1000); continuing education and professional development (.1100); building code requirements for child care centers 
(.1300); space requirements (.1400); temporary care requirements (.1500); family child care home requirements (.1700); 
discipline (.1800); special procedures concerning abuse/neglect in child care (.1900); rulemaking and contested case 
procedures (.2000); religious-sponsored child care center requirements (.2100); administrative actions and civil 
penalties (.2200); forms (.2300); child care for mildly ill children (.2400); care for school-age children (.2500); multi-unit 
child care centers (.2600); criminal records checks (.2700); voluntary rated licenses (.2800); developmental day services 
(.2900); NC pre-kindergarten services (.3000); and care for school-age children during state of emergency(.3100). 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 09 .0102 

Safe Environment 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 09 .0601 

Building Requirements 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 09 .1707 

Sanitation Requirements for Family Child Care Homes 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 09 .1725 

Provisional Child Care Facility License or Provisional No... 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2204 

Suspension 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2206 

Revocation of a Child Care Facility License or an Order t... 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2209 

Scope 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2611 

Definition of Multi-Unit Child Care Centers 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2612 

Licensure 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2613 

Outdoor Space 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2614 

Staff/Child Ratios 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2615 

Provider Qualifications 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 09 .2616 
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SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 10B govern the commission organization and procedure (.0100); enforcement rules (.0200); 
minimum standards for employment as a justice officer (deputy or jailer) (.0300); certification of justice officers (.0400); 
standards and accreditation for justice officers schools, training programs, and the instructors (.0500-.0900); certificate 
and awards programs for sheriffs, deputies, justice officers, jailers, reserve officers, and telecommunicators (.1000-
.1700); in-service training (.2000); firearms in-service training and re-qualification (.2100); and forms (.2200). 

Evaluation for Training Waiver 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 10B .0603 

GENERAL CONTRACTORS, LICENSING BOARD FOR 

The rules in Subchapter 12A concern general provisions including organization and responsibilities of the board (.0100); 
licensing requirements (.0200); application procedure (.0300); examination (.0400); license (.0500); board disciplinary 
procedures (.0700); contested cases (.0800); and homeowners recovery fund (.0900). 

Classification 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12A .0202 

Character References 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12A .0308 

Witnesses 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12A .0828 

COSMETIC ART EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 14T concern cosmetic art schools including the scope of the rules and school applications 
(.0100); physical requirements for cosmetic art schools (.0200); school equipment and supplies (.0300); student 
equipment (.0400); record keeping (.0500); curricula for all cosmetic art disciplines (.0600); school licensure, operations, 
closing and relocating schools (.0700); school inspections (.0800); and disciplinary actions (.0900). 

Esthetics Student Equipment 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0402 

Natural Hair Care Styling Student Equipment 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0404 

Submission of Records 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0501 

DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 16 cover the licensing of dentists and dental hygienists.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 16B concern licensure examination for dentists including examination required (.0100); 
qualifications (.0200); application (.0300); Board conducted examinations (.0400); licensure by credentials (.0500); 
limited volunteer dental license (.0600); instructor's license (.0700); temporary volunteer dental license (.0800); and 
exemptions for active military (.0900). 

Examination Required; Exemptions 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16B .0101 

Dental Licensure by Credentials 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16B .0501 

Dental Licensure Via Instructor's License 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 16B .0502 
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NURSING, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 36 include rules relating to general provisions (.0100); licensure (.0200); approval of nursing 
programs (.0300); unlicensed personnel and nurses aides (.0400); professional corporations (.0500); articles of 
organization (.0600); nurse licensure compact (.0700); and approval and practice parameters for nurse practitioners 
(.0800). 

Clinical Nurse Specialist Practice 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 36 .0228 

BUILDING CODE COUNCIL 

2024 NC Building Code 
Adopt* 

 
 

2024 NC Building Code/Scope 
Adopt* 

 Section 101.2 

2024 NC Existing Building Code 
Adopt* 

 
 

2024 NC Existing Building Code 
Adopt* 

 Section 101.2 

2024 NC Existing Building Code/Low-rise Buildings 
Adopt* 

 Section 803.2.1.2 

2024 NC Fire Code 
Adopt* 

 
 

2024 NC Fire Code/Exception to Applicability 
Adopt* 

 Section 102.13 

2024 NC Fire Code/Commercial, Industrial, Governmental or... 
Adopt* 

 Section 5706.5.4.5 

 

 

 




