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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days but not later than 60 days 

after the date a notice of the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 08 – STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

State Board of Elections intends to adopt the rule cited as 08 

NCAC 17 .0109, amend the rule cited as 08 NCAC 17 .0101, and 

repeal the rules cited as 08 NCAC 17 .0102, .0103, .0105, and 

.0106. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 

on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncsbe.gov/about-elections/legal-

resources/rulemaking 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  December 13, 2023 

Time:  11:00 a.m. 

Location:  State Board Room, Dobbs Building, 3rd Floor, 430 N 

Salisbury St, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The State Board of Elections 

proposes to issue two permanent rules dealing with the process 

for implementing the requirement for photo identification for 

voting. One rule addresses in-person voting procedures (.0101) 

and another rule addressing absentee voting procedures (.0109). 

The proposed permanent versions of these rules draw on the 

temporary versions of these rules, with some modifications. Those 

temporary rules are currently in effect but will expire in May 

2024. The State Board also proposes permanently repealing four 

rules that pertained to a prior version of the photo identification 

law and which are no longer necessary or applicable. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, PO 

Box 27255, Raleigh, NC 27611-7255; email 

rulemaking.sboe@ncsbe.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  January 16, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 17 - PHOTO IDENTIFICATION 

 

08 NCAC 17 .0101 DETERMINATION OF 

REASONABLE RESEMBLANCE AT CHECK-IN 

VERIFICATION OF PHOTO IDENTIFICATION 

DURING IN-PERSON VOTING 

(a)  An election official shall check the registration status of all 

persons presenting to vote in-person on election day or during 

one-stop early voting pursuant to G.S. 163-166.7, and shall 

require that all persons presenting to vote provide one of the forms 

of photo identification listed in G.S. 163-166.13(e), subject to the 

exceptions outlined in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. If a person not 

satisfying the exceptions described in Paragraph (b) of this Rule 

does not provide any photo identification, the election official 

shall inform the person presenting to vote of applicable options 

specified in G.S. 163-166.13(c). If the person presenting to vote 

wishes to choose the option of voting a provisional ballot, the 

election official shall provide the person presenting to vote with 

information on the provisional voting process and the address of 

the county board of elections office. 

(b)  The election official shall not require photo identification of 

a person who has a sincerely held religious objection to being 

photographed and meets the requirements of G.S. 163-

166.13(a)(2), or who is the victim of a natural disaster and meets 

the requirements of G.S. 163-166.13(a)(3). Persons falling within 

any exception listed in this Paragraph shall be allowed to proceed 

pursuant to G.S. 163-166.7. 

(c)  The election official shall inspect any photo identification 

provided by the person presenting to vote and shall determine the 

following: 

(1) That the photo identification is of the type 

acceptable for voting purposes pursuant to G.S. 

163-166.13(e). A valid United States passport 

book or a valid United States passport card is 

acceptable pursuant to G.S. 163-166.13(e); 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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(2) That the photo identification is unexpired or is 

otherwise acceptable pursuant to G.S. 

163-166.13(e); 

(3) That the photograph appearing on the photo 

identification depicts the person presenting to 

vote. The election official shall make this 

determination based on the totality of the 

circumstances, construing all evidence, along 

with any explanation or documentation 

voluntarily proffered by the person presenting 

to vote, in the light most favorable to that 

person. Perceived differences of the following 

features shall not be grounds for the election 

official to find that the photograph appearing on 

the photo identification fails to depict the 

person presenting to vote: 

(A) weight; 

(B) hair features and styling, including 

changes in length, color, hairline, or 

use of a wig or other hairpiece; 

(C) facial hair; 

(D) complexion or skin tone; 

(E) cosmetics or tattooing; 

(F) apparel, including the presence or 

absence of eyeglasses or contact 

lenses; 

(G) characteristics arising from a 

perceptible medical condition, 

disability, or aging; 

(H) photographic lighting conditions or 

printing quality.; and 

(4) That the name appearing on the photo 

identification is the same or substantially 

equivalent to the name contained in the 

registration record. The election official shall 

make this determination based on the totality of 

the circumstances, construing all evidence, 

along with any explanation or documentation 

voluntarily proffered by the person presenting 

to vote, in the light most favorable to that 

person. The name appearing on the photo 

identification shall be considered substantially 

equivalent to the name contained in the 

registration record if differences are attributable 

to a reasonable explanation or one or more of 

the following reasons: 

(A) Omission of one or more parts of the 

name (such as, for illustrative 

purposes only, Mary Beth Smith 

versus Beth Smith, or Patrick Todd 

Jackson, Jr. versus Patrick Todd 

Jackson, or Maria Guzman-Santana 

versus Maria Guzman); 

(B) Use of a variation or nickname rather 

than a formal name (such as, for 

illustrative purposes only, Bill versus 

William, or Sue versus Susanne); 

(C) Use of an initial in place of one or 

more parts of a given name (such as, 

for illustrative purposes only, A.B. 

Sanchez versus Aaron B. Sanchez); 

(D) Use of a former name, including 

maiden names (such as, for illustrative 

purposes only, Emily Jones versus 

Emily Gibson), or a variation that 

includes or omits a hyphenation (such 

as, for illustrative purposes only, 

Chantell D. Jacobson-Smith versus 

Chantell D. Jacobson); 

(E) Ordering of names (such as, for 

illustrative purposes only, Maria Eva 

Garcia Lopez versus Maria E. Lopez-

Garcia); 

(F) Variation in spelling or typographical 

errors (such as, for illustrative 

purposes only, Dennis McCarthy 

versus Denis McCarthy, or Aarav 

Robertson versus Aarav Robertsson). 

(d)  The election official shall not require any additional evidence 

outside the four corners of the photo identification. The election 

official shall not require that any person remove apparel for the 

purposes of rendering a determination under Paragraph (c). If the 

face of the person presenting to vote is covered such that the 

election official cannot render a determination under 

Subparagraph (c)(3), then the election official shall give the 

person the opportunity to remove the covering but shall not 

require that removal. If the person declines to remove the 

covering, the election official shall inform the person presenting 

to vote that he or she may cast a provisional ballot, which shall be 

counted in accordance with G.S. 163-182.1A, or, if applicable, 

may complete a written request for an absentee ballot as set out in 

G.S. 163-166.13(c)(3), and shall inform the voting site's judges of 

election that the election official cannot affirmatively determine 

that the person bears any reasonable resemblance to the photo 

identification. G.S. 163-166.16. 

(e)  Differences between the address appearing on the photo 

identification meeting the requirements of Subparagraph (c)(1) 

and the address contained in the registration record shall not be 

construed as evidence that the photographic identification does 

not bear any reasonable resemblance pursuant to Subparagraphs 

(c)(3) and (c)(4) of this Rule, nor shall it be construed as evidence 

that the photographic identification does not otherwise meet the 

requirements of any other provision of Paragraph (C). 

(f)  The election official examining photo identification provided 

by a person presenting to vote shall construe all evidence, along 

with any explanation or documentation voluntarily offered by the 

person presenting to vote, in the light most favorable to that 

person, and shall be guided by the purpose of the photo 

identification requirement, which is to confirm the person 

presenting to vote is the registered voter on the voter registration 

records. After an examination performed in the manner set out in 

Paragraphs (a) through (c)(d) of this Rule, the election official 

shall proceed as follows: 

(1) If the election official determines that the photo 

identification meets all the requirements of 

Paragraph (c), then the person presenting to 

vote shall be allowed to proceed pursuant to 

G.S. 163-166.7 and 163-166.13(b); or 
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(2) If the election official determines that the photo 

identification does not meet all of the 

requirements of Subparagraphs (c)(1) and 

(c)(2), the election official shall inform the 

person presenting to vote of the reasons for such 

determination (such as, for illustrative purposes 

only, that the photo identification is expired) 

and shall invite the person to provide any other 

acceptable photo identification that he or she 

may have. If the person presenting to vote does 

not produce photo identification that meets all 

the requirements of Subparagraph (c)(1) and 

(c)(2), then the election official shall inform the 

person presenting to vote of applicable options 

specified in G.S. 163-166.13(c). If the person 

presenting to vote wishes to choose the option 

of voting a provisional ballot, the election 

official shall provide the person presenting to 

vote with information on the provisional voting 

process and the address of the county board of 

elections office. 

(3) If the election official determines that the photo 

identification does not meet all the 

requirements of Subparagraphs (c)(3) and 

(c)(4), the election official shall notify the 

voting site's judges of election that the person 

presenting to vote does not bear any reasonable 

resemblance to the photo identification. 

(a)  When a person presenting to vote checks in at a voting site, 

an election official shall ask the voter to show photo identification 

in accordance with G.S. 163-166.16 and this Rule. The election 

official shall examine any photo identification provided by the 

person presenting to vote and shall determine the following: 

(1) The photo identification is of the type 

acceptable for voting purposes pursuant to G.S. 

163-166.16(a). A valid United States passport 

book or passport card is acceptable pursuant to 

G.S. 163-166.16(a)(1)c. 

(2) The photograph appearing on the photo 

identification bears a reasonable resemblance to 

the person presenting to vote. A reasonable 

resemblance is a similarity in appearance such 

that an ordinary person would conclude that the 

photograph on the identification is more likely 

than not the person presenting to vote. The 

election official shall make this determination 

based on the totality of the circumstances, 

bearing in mind that there are many reasons that 

a person's appearance could change (such as, 

for illustrative purposes only, changes in hair, 

facial hair, or weight; or the effects of medical 

conditions, aging, or medical treatment). The 

election official shall also be guided by the 

purpose of the photo identification requirement, 

which is to confirm the person presenting to 

vote is the registered voter on the voter 

registration records. 

(3) The name appearing on the photo identification 

is the same as or substantially equivalent to the 

name contained in the voter's voter registration 

record. The election official shall make this 

determination based on the totality of the 

circumstances, construing all evidence, along 

with any explanation or documentation 

voluntarily offered by the person presenting to 

vote, in the light most favorable to that person. 

The election official shall consider the name 

appearing on the photo identification to be 

substantially equivalent to the name contained 

in the registration record if differences are 

attributable to a reasonable explanation, which 

shall include but is not limited to one or more 

of the following reasons: 

(A) Omission or inclusion of one or more 

parts of the name (such as, for 

illustrative purposes only, Mary Beth 

Smith versus Beth Smith, or Patrick 

Todd Jackson, Jr. versus Patrick Todd 

Jackson, or Maria Guzman-Santana 

versus Maria Guzman); 

(B) Use of a variation or nickname rather 

than a formal name (such as, for 

illustrative purposes only, Bill versus 

William, or Sue versus Susanne); 

(C) Use of an initial in place of one or 

more parts of a given name (such as, 

for illustrative purposes only, A.B. 

Sanchez versus Aaron B. Sanchez); 

(D) Use of a former name, including 

maiden names (such as, for illustrative 

purposes only, Emily Jones versus 

Emily Gibson), or a variation that 

includes or omits a hyphenation or 

hyphen (such as, for illustrative 

purposes only, Chantell D. Jacobson-

Smith versus Chantell D. Jacobson or 

Chantell D. Jacobson Smith), an 

accent (such as, for illustrative 

purposes only, José Muñoz versus 

Jose Munoz), or an apostrophe (such 

as, for illustrative purposes only, 

Andrea D'Antonio versus Andrea 

Dantonio); 

(E) Ordering of names (such as, for 

illustrative purposes only, Maria Eva 

Garcia Lopez versus Maria E. Lopez-

Garcia); or 

(F) Variation in spelling or typographical 

errors (such as, for illustrative 

purposes only, Dennis McCarthy 

versus Denis McCarthy, or Aarav 

Robertson versus Aarav Robertsson). 

If a voter is casting a provisional ballot because 

the voter's record does not appear in the poll 

book, the election official shall instead compare 

the name on the photo identification with the 

name provided by the voter on the provisional 

ballot application. 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

38:10 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER NOVEMBER 15, 2023 

617 

(b)  The election official examining photo identification provided 

by a person presenting to vote shall not require the voter to 

provide any additional evidence outside the four corners of the 

photo identification. If the face of the person presenting to vote is 

covered to such an extent that the election official cannot 

determine reasonable resemblance under Subparagraph (a)(2) of 

this Rule, then the election official shall inform the voter that the 

face covering is preventing the official from determining that the 

photo on the identification is that of the voter and shall offer the 

voter the option to briefly remove the face covering. If the voter 

chooses not to remove the covering, then the election official shall 

enter a challenge in accordance with Subparagraph (d)(3) of this 

Rule. 

(c)  Differences between the address appearing on the photo 

identification of a person presenting to vote and the address 

contained in the registration record of that person shall not be 

considered as evidence that the photographic identification fails 

to meet the requirements of G.S. 163-166.16 or this Rule. 

(d)  After examining the photo identification according to 

Paragraphs (a) through (c) of this Rule, the election official shall 

proceed as follows: 

(1) If the election official determines that the photo 

identification meets all the requirements of 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, then the election 

official shall allow the person to vote pursuant 

to G.S. 163-166.7. 

(2) If the election official determines that the photo 

identification is not an acceptable type of photo 

identification under Subparagraph (a)(1) of this 

Rule, the election official shall inform the 

person presenting to vote of the reasons for that 

determination (such as, for illustrative purposes 

only, that the photo identification is not on the 

list of student identifications approved by the 

State Board of Elections) and shall invite the 

person to provide any other photo identification 

that is acceptable under Subparagraph (a)(1) of 

this Rule that the person may have. If the person 

presenting to vote does not produce photo 

identification that meets all the requirements of 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule, then the 

election official shall inform the person 

presenting to vote of the options to vote by 

provisional ballot in accordance with Paragraph 

(e) of this Rule. 

(3) If the election official determines that the photo 

or name on the photo identification do not 

satisfy Subparagraphs (a)(2) and (a)(3) of this 

Rule, the election official shall inform the 

person presenting to vote of the reasons for that 

determination and shall invite the person to 

provide any other photo identification that the 

person may have that is acceptable under 

Subparagraph (a)(1) and satisfies 

Subparagraphs (a)(2) and (a)(3) of this Rule. If 

the person presenting to vote does not produce 

photo identification that meets all the 

requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule, then 

the election official shall enter a challenge 

pursuant to G.S. 163-87 and immediately notify 

the voting site's judges of election of the 

challenge. The judges of election shall then 

conduct a challenge hearing, in accordance with 

the applicable procedures in G.S. 163-88. At the 

conclusion of the hearing, the judges of election 

shall vote on whether the photo appearing on 

the photo identification of the person presenting 

to vote bears a reasonable resemblance to that 

person or whether the name appearing on the 

photo identification is the same as or 

substantially equivalent to the name contained 

in the voter's voter registration record, applying 

the same standards as the election official 

initially reviewing the identification under 

Subparagraphs (a)(2) and (a)(3). Each judge 

shall record the judge's findings in writing. 

Only if the judges of election unanimously find 

that the photo appearing on the photo 

identification does not bear a reasonable 

resemblance to the person presenting to vote, or 

that the name appearing on the photo 

identification is not the same as or substantially 

equivalent to the name contained in the voter's 

voter registration record, the voter shall be 

offered the options to vote by provisional ballot 

in accordance with Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

Absent such a unanimous finding, the person 

shall vote with a regular ballot pursuant to G.S. 

163-166.7. When the judges of election conduct 

a challenge hearing under this Rule and the 

challenge is to a curbside voter, to ensure the 

voting enclosure remains properly attended, the 

judges may separately visit the curbside 

location to assess the voter's identification. 

(e)  A person presenting to vote who does not present acceptable 

photo identification in accordance with this Rule shall be offered 

the following options: 

(1) To vote by provisional ballot with an affidavit 

claiming an exception to the identification 

requirement, pursuant to G.S. 163-166.16(d). If 

the voter has completed the affidavit as required 

in G.S. 163-166.16(d) and is otherwise eligible 

to vote, the county board shall count the 

provisional ballot unless the county board 

unanimously finds that the affidavit is false. 

The county board shall substantiate any finding 

of falsity with grounds recorded in a written 

decision. Before disapproving a voter's 

provisional ballot because of a finding of 

falsity, the county board shall provide the voter 

advance notice and an opportunity to address 

the county board prior to the canvass on any 

grounds that the county board is considering 

regarding the falsity of the affidavit. The notice 

shall identify the specific reasons the county 

board is considering the affidavit to be 

potentially false and inform the voter how the 

voter may address the reasons for potential 
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falsity, which shall include the option to 

provide a written explanation or address the 

board at a meeting in person. The notice shall 

be provided by a means of physical delivery 

designed to provide the voter actual notice in 

advance of the opportunity to address the 

county board and by any email address or phone 

number that the county board possesses for the 

voter. The notice and opportunity to address the 

county board provided for in this Subparagraph 

shall be offered only to those provisional voters 

for whom the county board has identified a 

reason to find that the affidavit claiming an 

exception to the identification requirement is 

false. 

(2) To vote by provisional ballot and then bring to 

the office of the county board identification 

acceptable under G.S. 163-166.16 and this Rule 

before 5 p.m. on the business day before county 

canvass. If the voter brings photo identification 

to the office of a county board in a timely 

manner, a county board staff member shall 

examine the photo identification in accordance 

with Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule. 

After examining the photo identification, the 

staff member shall proceed as follows: 

(A) If the photo identification meets all the 

requirements of Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule, the staff member shall 

recommend approval of the 

provisional ballot to the county board. 

(B) If the photo identification is not an 

acceptable type of photo identification 

under Subparagraph (a)(1) of this 

Rule, then the staff member shall 

inform the voter of the reasons for that 

determination, while the voter is at the 

county board office, and invite the 

voter to provide an acceptable photo 

identification in accordance with 

Subparagraph (d)(2) of this Rule. If 

the voter does not provide acceptable 

identification by 5 p.m. on the 

business day prior to the canvass, then 

county board staff shall recommend 

disapproval of the provisional ballot to 

the county board. 

(C) If the photo or name on the photo 

identification do not satisfy 

Subparagraphs (a)(2) and (a)(3) of this 

Rule, then the staff member shall 

inform the voter of the reasons for that 

determination and shall invite the 

voter to provide any other acceptable 

photo identification. If the voter does 

not produce acceptable photo 

identification, then the staff member 

shall recommend disapproval of the 

provisional ballot to the county board. 

While the voter is at the county board 

office, the staff member shall inform 

the voter of the recommendation and 

provide notice to the voter of the 

county board meeting at which the 

voter's provisional ballot will be 

reviewed and considered by the 

county board. If the voter appears at 

that meeting and desires to address the 

county board on whether their photo 

identification is acceptable under this 

Rule, the county board members are 

subject to the requirements of this 

Rule in the same manner as a staff 

member initially examining a voter's 

photo identification. 

If the voter brings photo identification that is an 

acceptable type of photo identification under 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule to the county 

board office before 5 p.m. on the business day 

prior to the canvass, the county board shall 

count the provisional ballot unless the county 

board unanimously decides the photo 

identification presented does not satisfy 

Subparagraphs (a)(2) and (a)(3) of this Rule, in 

which case the county board shall record in 

writing the grounds for its decision. 

 

Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-82.6A; 163-82.15; 163-166.7; 

NAACP v. McCrory, 831 F.3d 204 (4th Cir. 2016); 163A-1145.1; 

S.L. 2018-144, s. 3.1(e); 163-166.11; 163-166.16. 

 

08 NCAC 17 .0102 DETERMINATION OF 

REASONABLE RESEMBLANCE BY JUDGES OF 

ELECTION 

 

Authority G.S. 163-82.6A; 163-82.15; 163-88.1; 163-166.7; 

NAACP v. McCrory, 831 F.3d 204 (4th Cir. 2016); 163A-1145.1; 

S.L. 2018-144, s. 3.1(e). 

 

08 NCAC 17 .0103 IDENTIFICATION REQUIRED 

OF CURBSIDE VOTERS 

 

Authority NAACP v. McCrory, 831 F.3d 204 (4th Cir. 2016); S.L. 

2018-144, s. 3.1(d). 

 

08 NCAC 17 .0105 DECLARATION OF RELIGIOUS 

OBJECTION TO PHOTOGRAPH 

 

Authority NAACP v. McCrory, 831 F.3d 204 (4th Cir. 2016); S.L. 

2018-144, s. 3.1.(a),(e), (h). 

 

08 NCAC 17 .0106 SIGNAGE NOTIFYING ONE-

STOP VOTERS OF THE OPTION TO REQUEST AN 

ABSENTEE BALLOT 

 

Authority NAACP v. McCrory, 831 F.3d 204 (4th Cir. 2016); S.L. 

2018-144, s. 3.1.(j). 
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08 NCAC 17 .0109 PHOTO IDENTIFICATION FOR 

ABSENTEE-BY-MAIL BALLOTS 

(a)  Identification Requirement for Absentee-by-Mail Ballots. 

Photo identification accompanying a voter's absentee ballot 

pursuant to G.S. 163-230.1(f1) is acceptable if it is a photocopy 

of a type of photo identification acceptable for voting purposes 

under 08 NCAC 17 .0101(a)(1), is readable, and the name 

appearing on the identification is the same as or substantially 

equivalent to the name contained in the voter's voter registration 

record in accordance with 08 NCAC 17 .0101(a)(3). As used in 

this Rule, "readable" means that, on the photocopy of 

identification required by this Rule, the name on the identification 

can be read and the photograph depicts a person, as opposed to 

displaying, for example, a mere shadow or outline of a person. A 

photo identification shall not be rejected due to differences 

between the address appearing on an absentee voter's photo 

identification and any address contained in the voter's absentee 

request form, absentee ballot application, or registration record. A 

copy of photo identification that is acceptable under this Rule 

need include only the side of the identification (or, if the 

identification is a booklet, the page of the identification) where 

the person's name and photo appears. 

(b)  Initial Review by County Board Staff. County board staff 

shall, upon receipt of a voter's absentee ballot application, 

determine whether the application is accompanied by a photocopy 

of photo identification that is acceptable under Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule, or, if the application is accompanied by an affidavit 

claiming an exception to the identification requirement pursuant 

to G.S. 163-166.16(d), determine whether the affidavit includes 

the affirmations required by G.S. 163-166.16(d) for that exception 

and, if applicable, the personal identification number required to 

be provided by G.S. 163-230.1(g)(2). The number required to be 

provided by G.S. 163-230.1(g)(2) is deficient only if it does not 

match the corresponding number listed in the voter's voter 

registration record. 

If staff identify any deficiency, they shall mail written notice of 

the deficiency to the voter within one business day of identifying 

the deficiency, informing the voter that the voter, the voter's 

verifiable legal guardian or near relative, or a person of the voter's 

choice if the voter needs assistance due to the voter's disability, 

may provide a photocopy of the voter's acceptable photo 

identification or a completed affidavit claiming an exception to 

the county board by 5 p.m. on the business day before the county 

canvass. The notice of the deficiency shall also be provided by 

telephone or email if the telephone number or email address was 

provided by the voter on the request form for the absentee ballot. 

The voter may transmit either of the above documentation curing 

the deficiency in person, by mail, or by email. An electronic copy 

of the voter's photographic identification or signed affidavit 

claiming an exception to the identification requirement, if 

provided via email, shall be acceptable. 

(c)  Final Review by County Board. The county board shall, at the 

first meeting held pursuant to G.S. 163-230.1(f) after the 

application and ballot is received, proceed as follows: 

(1) If the voter has submitted a photocopy of their 

photo identification, the county board shall 

make its determination whether the 

identification is acceptable under Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule. A final determination that the 

photocopy of photo identification is not 

acceptable under Paragraph (a) of this Rule 

shall require a unanimous vote by the county 

board. If the county board makes a final 

determination that a voter's photocopy of photo 

identification is not acceptable, staff shall 

notify the voter as provided in Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule, and the county board shall reserve its 

final decision on the approval of the absentee 

application until the next official meeting after 

it receives documentation curing the deficiency 

or the county canvass, whichever occurs first. 

(2) If the voter has completed an affidavit claiming 

an exception to the identification requirement 

pursuant to G.S. 163-166.16(d) and is otherwise 

eligible to vote, the county board may reject 

that person's ballot only if the county board 

unanimously finds that the affidavit is false. 

The county board shall substantiate any finding 

of falsity with grounds recorded in a written 

decision. Before rejecting a voter's ballot 

because of a finding of falsity, the county board 

shall provide the voter advance notice and an 

opportunity to address the county board prior to 

the canvass on any grounds that the county 

board is considering regarding the falsity of the 

affidavit, provided there is sufficient time 

remaining before the county canvass to send a 

notice that will be delivered in advance of the 

opportunity to address the county board. The 

notice shall identify the specific reasons the 

county board is considering the affidavit to be 

potentially false and inform the voter how the 

voter may address the reasons for potential 

falsity, which shall include the option to 

provide a written explanation or address the 

board at a meeting in person. The notice shall 

be provided by a means of physical delivery 

designed to provide the voter actual notice in 

advance of the opportunity to address the 

county board, and by any email address or 

phone number that the county board possesses 

for the voter. The notice and opportunity to 

address the county board provided for in this 

Subparagraph shall be offered only to those 

voters for whom the county board has identified 

a reason to find that the affidavit claiming an 

exception to the identification requirement is 

false. 

(3) If a voter's photocopy of photo identification or 

affidavit claiming an exception to the 

identification requirement pursuant to G.S. 

163-166.16(d) is deemed deficient upon initial 

review under Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the 

county board shall reserve its final decision on 

the approval of the absentee application until 

the next official meeting after it receives 

documentation curing the deficiency or the 

county canvass, whichever occurs first. 
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(d)  Exception for Military and Overseas Voters. A covered voter 

who is casting a ballot pursuant to G.S. 163, Article 21A, Part 1 

is not required to submit a photocopy of acceptable photo 

identification under Paragraph (a) of this Rule or claim an 

exception under G.S. 163-166.16(d). 

(e)  Return of Original Form of Identification. If a voter sends 

their original form of photo identification in the container-return 

envelope, or if a voter or other person permitted to return the 

voter's absentee ballot hand-delivers an absentee ballot to the 

county board of elections that is not accompanied by a photocopy 

of the voter's photo identification and the voter or other person has 

the voter's photo identification that is a type acceptable for voting 

purposes under 08 NCAC 17 .0101(a)(1) on hand, the county 

board shall make a photocopy of the identification, which shall 

serve as an acceptable photo identification accompanying the 

voter's absentee ballot. When a voter sends their original form of 

photo identification in the container-return envelope, the county 

board shall notify the voter by mail and by any email address or 

phone number that the county board possesses for the voter that 

the original photo identification will be returned to the voter and 

shall use a method of return that documents receipt of the photo 

identification. 

 

Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-166.7; 163-166.16; 163-229; 163-

230.1. 

 

 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission intends 

to amend the rule cited as 12 NCAC 10B .1302. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/sheriffs/all-

commission-forms-publications/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  March 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  December 19, 2023 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  1700 Tryon Park Dr., Raleigh, NC 27610 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The amendment to this rule is 

based on a recent Job Task Analysis completed for the 

telecommunicator certification training course.  The total hours 

for the course remain the same, but the topics and hours were 

reallocated. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Melissa Bowman, 1700 Tryon 

Park Dr., Raleigh, NC 27610; phone (919) 779-8213; email 

mbowman@ncdoj.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  January 16, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 10 - SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10B - N.C. SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .1300 - MINIMUM STANDARDS OF 

TRAINING FOR TELECOMMUNICATORS 

 

12 NCAC 10B .1302 TELECOMMUNICATOR 

CERTIFICATION COURSE 

(a)  The Commission hereby accredits approves as its 

telecommunicator certification training program, the 47-hour 

Telecommunicator Certification Course developed by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy. 

(b)  Each Telecommunicator Certification Course shall include 

the following identified topic areas and approximate minimum 

instructional hours for each area: 

(1) Orientation   2 hours 

(2) Introductory Topics for the Telecommunicator

    2 3 hours 

(3) Interpersonal Communication 4 2 hours 

(4) Civil Liability for the Telecommunicator 

    4 5 hours 

(5) Telecommunications Systems and Equipment

    2 3 hours 

(6) Overview of Emergency Services 9 7 hours 

(7) Communications Resources 2 hours 

(8)(7) Call Reception, Prioritization, and Resource 

Allocation Reception and Prioritization 

    6 8 hours 

(9)(8) Broadcasting Techniques, Rules, and 

Procedures Techniques and Resource 

Allocation   6 7 hours 

(10)(9) Telecommunicator Training Practicum 

    8 hours 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

38:10 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER NOVEMBER 15, 2023 

621 

(11)(10) State Comprehensive Examination 2 hours 

TOTAL HOURS    47 hours 

(c)  Consistent with the curriculum development policy of the 

Commission as published in the "Telecommunicator Certification 

Course Management Guide", the Commission shall designate the 

developer of the Telecommunicator Certification Course 

curricula and such designation shall be deemed by the 

Commission as approval for the developer to conduct pilot 

Telecommunicator Certification Courses. Individuals who 

complete such a pilot Telecommunicator Certification Course 

offering shall be deemed to have complied with and satisfied the 

minimum training requirement. 

(d)  The "Telecommunicator Certification Training Manual" as 

published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be used 

and shall automatically include any later amendments and 

editions of the incorporated matter to apply as the basic 

curriculum for the Telecommunicator Certification Course. 

Copies of this manual may be obtained by contacting the North 

Carolina Justice Academy, Post Office Box 99, Salemburg, North 

Carolina 28385-0099. 

(e)  The "Telecommunicator Certification Course Management 

Guide" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall 

be used and shall automatically include any later amendments, 

editions of the incorporated matter to be used by certified school 

directors in planning, implementing and delivering basic 

telecommunicator training. The standards and requirements 

established by the "Telecommunicator Certification Course 

Management Guide" must be adhered to by the certified school 

director. Each certified school director shall be issued a copy of 

the guide at the time of certification at no cost to the accredited 

school. 

(f)(c)  Institutions may offer to deliver the Telecommunicator 

Certification Course after the Commission has approved the 

institution's pre-delivery report documenting who will be teaching 

the blocks of instruction for each course offering. No 

Telecommunicator Certification Course shall be offered by any 

persons, agencies, or institutions without the approval of the 

Commission pursuant to Rules .0709 and .0804 of this 

Subchapter. Any persons, agencies, or institutions desiring to 

offer the Telecommunicator Certification Course shall file a Pre-

Delivery Report, Form F-7A-T. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-4(a). 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 02 – BOARD OF ARCHITECTURE AND 

REGISTERED INTERIOR DESIGNERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Architecture and Registered Interior Designers intends 

to adopt the rule cited as 21 NCAC 02 .0307, amend the rules 

cited as 21 NCAC 02 .0108, .0201, .0203, .0206, .0210, .0213-

.0215, .0302, .0303, .0306 and repeal the rule cited as 21 NCAC 

02 .0606. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 

on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

http://www.ncbarch.org/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  March 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 12, 2024 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Board Office located at 434 Fayetteville Street, Ste. 

2005, Raleigh, NC 27601 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 02 .0108 - modifying fees assessed for licensure and 

registration  

21 NCAC 02 .0201 - requiring that licensees and registrants 

notify the Board within 30 days following the occurrence of 

certain adverse actions 

21 NCAC 02 .0203 - revising definition of “responsible control” 

21 NCAC 02 .0206 - clarifying allowed use of unlocked copies of 

seal electronic documents  

21 NCAC 02 .0210 - updating standards of incompetency 

21 NCAC 02 .0213 - codifying the information required in 

individual renewal applications 

21 NCAC 02 .0214 - codifying the information required in 

architectural firm registration renewal applications 

21 NCAC 02 .0215 - codifying the information required in out-of-

state architectural firm registration applications 

21 NCAC 02 .0302 - codifying the information required in 

individual applications for licensure by exam for architects 

21 NCAC 02 .0303 - codifying the information required in 

applications for reciprocity for architects 

21 NCAC 02 .0306 - codifying the information required in 

applications for registration for registered interior designers 

21 NCAC 02 .0307 - codifying the application process for military 

trained applicants and military spouses 

21 NCAC 02 .0606 - removing rule from the Code as it is 

duplicative of statutory requirements 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Cathe M. Evans, 434 

Fayetteville St., Suite 2005, Raleigh, NC 27601; phone (984) 328-

1161; email cathe@ncbarch.org 

 

Comment period ends:  January 16, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0108 FEES 

The fees required by the Board are set forth below: 

 

Initial License to Practice Architecture: 

By Exam    $50.00 $55.00 

By Reciprocity    $150.00$155.00 

Architecture Firm License   $75.00 $100.00 

 

Annual License to Practice Architecture Renewal: 

Individual    $50.00  $55.00 

Firm     $100.00 $125.00 

 

Late Renewal Penalty for Individual Architects and Firms: 

Up-to-30 days    $50.00 $55.00 

30 days to 1 year    $100.00 $110.00 

 

Reinstatement of Expired License: 

Individual Architect   $250.00 $260.00 

Architecture Firm    $250.00 $300.00 

 

Initial Registration to Practice Interior Design: 

By Reciprocity For NCIDQ Certified Individual  

     $150.00 $155.00 

Firm Registration    $75.00 $100.00 

Addition of Interior Design Firm Registration for Currently 

Licensed Architecture Firms  $50.00 

 

Annual Registration to Practice Interior Design Renewal: 

Individual    $50.00 $55.00 

Firm     $100.00 $125.00 

 

Late Renewal Penalty for Interior Designers and Interior Design 

Firms: 

Up-to-30 days    $50.00 $55.00 

30 days to 1 year    $100.00 $110.00 

 

Reinstatement of Expired Registration 

Interior Designer Individual  $250.00 $260.00 

Interior Design Firm   $250.00 $300.00 

 

All fees paid to the Board are non-refundable. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-10; 83A-4; 83A-11. 

 

SECTION .0200 - PRACTICE OF ARCHITECTURE 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0201 ARCHITECT, REGISTERED 

INTERIOR DESIGNER, FIRM OR PARTNERSHIP 

CONTACT INFORMATION AS ON FILE WITH THE 

BOARD 

(a)  Every individual licensee and registrant shall keep the Board 

advised of his or her preferred current contact information. 

Current contact information includes a physical mailing address, 

email, phone numbers, and the name of the firm or partnership 

where he or she is employed. Every individual licensee and 

registrant shall notify the Board in writing of all changes to 

contact information within 30 days of such changes. 

(b)  The licensee or registrant shall give notice in writing to the 

Board of the following within 30 days of the adverse action set 

forth below: 

(1) the filing of any criminal charges against the 

licensee or registrant and, if so, the jurisdiction, 

charge, and case number of each such charge; 

(2) any conviction of, or plea of nolo contendere 

by, the licensee or registrant for a felony or 

misdemeanor under any laws and, and, if so, the 

jurisdiction, charge, case number, and date of 

each such criminal conviction; 

(3) the filing of any disciplinary action, charges, or 

controversy against the licensee or registrant 

before any court, board, agency, or professional 

organization for unprofessional conduct, 

dishonest or fraudulent practice, or incompetent 

practice and, if so, the jurisdiction, charge, and 

case number of each such pending action; 

(4) the finding by any court, board, agency, or 

professional organization that the licensee or 

registrant is guilty of unprofessional conduct, 

dishonest or fraudulent practice, or incompetent 

practice and, if so, the jurisdiction, charge, case 

number, and date of such adverse action; 

(5) any denial, limitation, reprimand, suspension, 

or revocation taken against the licensee or 

registrant's credentials, to include a statement 

providing the reason for the adverse action; the 

date and jurisdiction in which the adverse 

action occurred; the terms of the adverse action 

imposed; 

(6) whether the terms of the adverse action have 

been satisfied; and 

(7) whether any liens or judgments have been filed 

or entered against the licensee or registrant and, 

if so, the jurisdiction, date, and parties involved 

with such lien or judgment. 

(b)(c)  Each firm or partnership shall, within 30 days, notify the 

Board of all changes in ownership, association, contact 

information, email, or physical address. Upon the dissolution of a 

firm, the architect or registered interior designer in responsible 

control of the firm at the time of dissolution shall notify the Board 

within 30 days concerning such dissolution and of the succeeding 
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status and addresses of the architects and registered interior 

designers employed by the firm. 

(d)  Each licensed or registered firm shall give notice in writing to 

the Board of the following within 30 days of the adverse action 

set forth below: 

(1) the filing of any criminal charges against the 

firm or any of its owners and, if so, the 

jurisdiction, charge, and case number of each 

such charge; 

(2) any conviction of, or plea of nolo contendere 

by, the firm or any of its owners for a felony or 

misdemeanor under any laws and, and, if so, the 

jurisdiction, charge, case number, and date of 

each such criminal conviction; 

(3) the filing of any disciplinary action, charges, or 

controversy against the firm or any of its 

owners before any court, board, agency, or 

professional organization for unprofessional 

conduct, dishonest or fraudulent practice, or 

incompetent practice and, if so, the jurisdiction, 

charge, and case number of each such pending 

action; 

(4) the finding by any court, board, agency, or 

professional organization that the firm or any of 

its owners is guilty of unprofessional conduct, 

dishonest or fraudulent practice, or incompetent 

practice and, if so, the jurisdiction, charge, case 

number, and date of such adverse action; 

(5) any denial, limitation, reprimand, suspension, 

or revocation taken against the firm's 

credentials or that of any of its owners, to 

include a statement providing the reason for the 

adverse action; the date and jurisdiction in 

which the adverse action occurred; the terms of 

the adverse action imposed; and whether the 

terms of the adverse action have been satisfied; 

and 

(6) whether any liens or judgments have been filed 

or entered against the firm or any of its owners 

and, if so, the jurisdiction, date, and parties 

involved with such lien or judgment. 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-5; 83A-6. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0203 RULES OF PROFESSIONAL 

CONDUCT 

All persons licensed or registered under the provisions of Chapter 

83A of the North Carolina General Statutes are charged with 

having knowledge of the rules of this Chapter and are deemed to 

be familiar with their provisions and to understand them. Each 

licensed or registered person and entity shall sign a statement on 

the renewal notice affirming understanding of the laws and rules. 

(1) Licensees and registrants shall conduct their 

practice in order to safeguard life, health and 

property as provided in G.S. 83A-12. The 

licensee or registrant shall always recognize the 

primary obligation to protect the public in the 

performance of the professional duties. If the 

licensee or registrant's professional judgment is 

overruled under circumstances where the 

licensee or registrant, in their professional 

judgment, believes health, safety, and welfare 

of the public are endangered, the licensee or 

registrant shall inform the employer, the client, 

the contractor, other affected parties, and any 

appropriate regulatory agency of the possible 

consequences of the situation. 

(2) In designing a project, the licensee or registrant 

shall consider all applicable federal, State and 

municipal building laws and rules. A licensee 

or registrant shall undertake to perform 

professional services only when they, together 

with those whom the licensee or registrant may 

engage as consultants, are qualified by 

education, training and experience in the 

specific technical areas involved. While a 

licensee or registrant may rely on the advice of 

other professionals such as attorneys, engineers 

or other qualified persons as to the intent and 

meaning of such laws and rules, once having 

obtained advice, a licensee or registrant shall 

not design a project in violation of laws and 

rules. 

(3) In practicing architecture or interior design, the 

licensee or registrant shall act with reasonable 

care and competence and shall apply the 

technical knowledge and skill which is 

ordinarily applied by architects or interior 

designers of good standing. 

(4) Responsible Control. Responsible Control 

means responsibility for exercising the ultimate 

authority over, and possessing the knowledge 

and ability to oversee, delegate, and integrate 

the design and technical decisions related to the 

preparation of the project's instruments of 

service and the project's implementation in 

conformance with the standard of care. No 

architect or registered interior designer shall 

affix his or her seal and signature to contract 

documents developed by others not under the 

architect's or registered interior designer's 

responsible control. "Responsible control" 

means that amount of control over and 

professional knowledge of the content of 

technical submissions during their preparation 

as is exercised by an architect or registered 

interior designer applying the required 

professional standard of care, including: 

(a) dissemination of programmatic 

requirements; 

(b) ongoing coordination and correlation 

of services with other aspects of the 

total design of the project; 

(c) verification with consultant that 

owner's requirements are being met; 

(d) authority over the services of those 

who assisted in the preparation of the 

documents; 
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(e) assumption of responsibility for the 

services; 

(f) incorporation of services and technical 

submissions into design documents to 

be issued for permitting purposes; and 

(g) incorporation and integration of 

information from manufacturers, 

suppliers, installers, the architect's or 

registered interior designer's 

consultants, owners, contractors, or 

other sources the architect or 

registered interior designer knows to 

be reliable that is incidental to and 

intended to be incorporated into the 

architect's or registered interior 

designer's technical submissions if the 

architect or registered interior designer 

has coordinated and reviewed such 

information. 

(5) An architect or registered interior designer shall 

not deliberately make a false statement or 

deliberately fail to disclose a fact requested in 

connection with their application for license or 

registration renewal. 

(6) An architect or registered interior designer shall 

not assist in the application for licensure or 

registration of a person known by the architect 

or registered interior designer to be unqualified 

with respect to education, training, experience, 

or character. 

(7) An architect or registered interior designer shall 

issue public statements only in an unbiased and 

truthful manner and: 

(a) shall be objective and truthful in all 

professional reports, statements, or 

testimony. The architect or registered 

interior designer shall include all 

relevant and pertinent information in 

such reports, statements or testimony; 

(b) when serving as an expert or technical 

witness before any court, commission, 

or other tribunal, shall express an 

opinion only when it is founded upon 

knowledge of the facts at issue, upon a 

background of technical competence 

in the subject matter, and of the 

accuracy and propriety of the 

individual's testimony; 

(c) shall issue no statements, criticisms, or 

arguments on architectural or interior 

design matters connected with public 

policy which are inspired or paid for 

by an interested party, or parties, 

unless the architect or registered 

interior designer has prefaced the 

comment by explicitly identifying 

their name, by disclosing the identities 

of the party or parties on whose behalf 

the architect or registered interior 

designer is speaking, and by revealing 

the existence of any pecuniary interest 

the architect or registered interior 

designer may have in the matters; and 

(d) shall not attempt to harm the 

professional reputation, prospects, 

practice, or employment of another 

architect or registered interior 

designer, nor indiscriminately criticize 

another architect's or registered 

interior designer's work. 

Indiscriminate criticism is a statement 

without basis or cause or that is not 

objective and truthful or that fails to 

include all factual information. If the 

architect or registered interior designer 

believes that another architect or 

registered interior designer is in 

violation of G.S. 83A or the Rules of 

this Chapter, such information shall be 

presented to the North Carolina Board 

of Architecture and Registered Interior 

Designers in writing. 

(8) An architect or registered interior designer shall 

avoid conflicts of interest and: 

(a) shall inform the employer or client, 

and any reviewing agency, of any 

business association, interests, or 

circumstances that attempts to 

influence the judgment or the quality 

of services of the architect or 

registered interior designer. If, in the 

course of their work on a project, an 

architect or registered interior designer 

becomes aware of a decision taken by 

their employer or client, against their 

advice, which violates applicable State 

or municipal building laws or federal 

regulations and which will, in their 

judgment, affect adversely the safety 

to the public of the finished project, 

the architect or registered interior 

designer shall: 

(i) report the decision to the 

local building inspector or 

other public official charged 

with the enforcement of the 

applicable State or municipal 

building laws and 

regulations; 

(ii) refuse to consent to the 

decision; 

(iii) in circumstances where the 

architect or registered 

interior designer reasonably 

believes that other such 

decisions will be taken 

notwithstanding his or her 

objection, terminate their 
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services with reference to the 

project; and 

(iv) in the case of termination in 

accordance with clause in 

Sub-Item (a)(iii) of this Rule, 

the architect or registered 

interior designer shall have 

no liability to his or her client 

or employer on account of 

such termination. 

(b) shall not accept compensation, 

financial or otherwise, from more than 

one party for services on the same 

project, or for services pertaining to 

the same project, unless the 

circumstances are disclosed to, and 

agreed to, in writing, by all interested 

parties; 

(c) shall not solicit or accept financial or 

other valuable considerations from 

material, furniture, fixtures, or 

equipment suppliers for specifying 

their products unless disclosed to the 

client; 

(d) shall not pay or offer to pay, a 

commission, political contribution, 

gift, or other consideration in order to 

secure work. Gifts of nominal value 

including entertainment and 

hospitality are permitted; 

(e) when in public service as a member, 

advisor, or employee of a 

governmental body or department, 

shall not participate in considerations 

or actions with respect to services 

provided by the licensee or registrant 

or the licensee's or registrant's firm in 

private architectural or registered 

interior design practices; 

(f) shall not engage in any false, 

deceptive, fraudulent, or misleading 

advertising; 

(g) shall not attempt to supplant another 

architect or registered interior designer 

on a specific project after becoming 

aware that the other has been selected 

for the employment; 

(h) when acting as the interpreter of 

building contract documents and the 

judge of contract performance, an 

architect or interior designer shall 

render decisions in an impartial 

manner; 

(j) if an architect or registered interior 

designer has any business association 

or financial interest which influences 

their judgment in connection with the 

performance of professional services, 

they shall disclose in writing to their 

client or employer the nature of the 

business association or financial 

interest, and if the client or employer 

objects to such association or financial 

interest, they will either terminate such 

association or interest or offer to give 

up the commission or employment; 

(k) an architect or registered interior 

designer making public statements on 

architectural or interior design 

questions shall disclose when they are 

being compensated for making such 

statements. 

(9) A licensee or registrant shall solicit or accept 

work on the basis of qualifications and: 

(a) shall not offer to pay any commission, 

political contribution, gift, or other 

consideration in order to secure work, 

exclusive of securing salaried 

positions through employment 

agencies; 

(b) shall not solicit or submit proposals for 

professional services containing a 

false, fraudulent, misleading, or 

deceptive statement or claim regarding 

the cost, quality, or extent of services 

to be rendered; 

(c) shall, with regard to fee bidding on 

public projects, comply with, and not 

knowingly cooperate in any violation 

of the provisions of G.S.143-64.31(a), 

(a1), (e), and (f) for state projects and, 

with the Brooks Act, 40 U.S.C. 541 et 

seq. for federal projects; and 

(d) shall not falsify or permit 

misrepresentation of academic or 

professional qualifications and shall 

only report educational qualifications 

when a degree or certificate was 

awarded unless it is stated that no 

degree or certificate was awarded; and 

(e) shall represent to a prospective or 

existing client or employer their 

qualifications and the scope of their 

responsibility in connection with work 

for which they are claiming credit. 

Misrepresentation shall be found if 

any of the following is not complied 

with: 

(i) Each licensee or registrant 

shall state their prior 

professional experience and 

the firm they are representing 

while presenting 

qualifications to all 

prospective clients. If the 

licensee or registrant uses 

visual representations of 

prior projects or experience, 
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all designers or architects of 

record shall be identified. 

(ii) An architect or registered 

interior designer who has 

been an employee of another 

firm may not claim credit for 

projects contracted for in the 

name of the previous 

employer. They shall 

indicate, next to the listing 

for each project, that 

individual experience gained 

in connection with the project 

was acquired as an employee 

and identify the previous 

firm. The architect or 

registered interior designer 

shall also describe the nature 

and extent of their 

participation in the project. 

(iii) An architect or registered 

interior designer who 

presents a project that has 

received awards or public 

recognition shall comply 

with the requirements in this 

Sub-Item with regard to 

project presentation to the 

public and prospective 

clients. 

(iv) Projects that remain 

unconstructed and are listed 

as credits in presentation 

items shall be listed as 

"unbuilt" or a similar 

designation, as determined 

by the architect or registered 

interior designer. 

(10) A licensee or registrant shall perform services 

in compliance with all of the provisions of this 

Chapter and any federal, State, and municipal 

laws or regulations that apply and: 

(a) shall not knowingly associate with or 

permit the use of the licensee's or 

registrant's name or firm name in a 

business venture by any person or firm 

which the licensee or registrant knows, 

or has reason to believe, is engaging in 

business or professional practices of a 

fraudulent or dishonest nature or is not 

licensed or registered; 

(b) if the licensee or registrant has 

knowledge or reason to believe that 

another person or firm may be in 

violation of the rules of this Chapter or 

of the North Carolina Architectural 

and Registered Interior Design 

Practice Act (G.S. 83A), they shall 

present such information to the Board 

in writing and shall cooperate with the 

Board in furnishing further 

information or assistance as may be 

required by the Board. 

(c) An architect or registered interior 

designer shall cooperate with the 

Board in connection with any inquiry 

it shall make. Cooperation includes 

responding to all inquiries from the 

Board or its representative and 

claiming correspondence from the U. 

S. Postal Service, or other delivery 

service, sent to the licensee or 

registrant from the Board in a timely 

manner. The Board shall utilize 

electronic mail as its primary method 

of communication with licensees and 

registrants. "Timely" is defined as 

within the time specified in the 

correspondence, or if no time is 

specified, within 15 business days of 

receipt. 

(11) An architect or registered interior designer who 

has received a reprimand or civil penalty or 

whose professional license or registration is 

revoked, suspended, denied, refused renewal, 

refused reinstatement, put on probation, 

restricted, or surrendered as a result of 

disciplinary action by another jurisdiction is 

subject to discipline by the Board if the 

licensee's or registrant's action constitutes a 

violation of G.S. 83A or the rules of this 

Chapter adopted by the Board. 

(12) In addition to the grounds stated in G.S. 83A-

14 and G.S. 83A-15(3), the following acts or 

omissions may be deemed to be 

"unprofessional conduct" and to be cause for 

the levy of a civil penalty or for denial, 

suspension, or revocation of a license or 

registration or firm certificate of licensure or 

registration to practice architecture or 

registered interior design: 

(a) An architect or registered interior 

designer shall not, in the conduct of 

their professional practice, knowingly 

violate any State or federal criminal 

law. A criminal conviction shall be 

deemed prima facie evidence of 

knowingly violating the law. 

(b) Evasion of professional duties. 

(i) An architect or registered 

interior designer shall not, 

through employment by 

contractors whether or not 

the contractors are licensed 

under G.S. 87, or by another 

individual or entity not 

holding an individual or firm 

registration from the Board, 
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enable the employer to offer 

or perform architectural 

services or registered interior 

design services. In 

design/build arrangements, 

the architect or registered 

interior designer shall not be 

an employee of a person or 

firm not holding a license to 

practice architecture or 

registered interior design in 

North Carolina. 

(ii) An architect or registered 

interior designer shall not 

furnish limited services in 

such manner as to enable 

owners, draftsmen, or others 

to evade the public health and 

safety requirements of 

Chapter 83A, G.S. 133-2, 

G.S 153A, G.S. 153A-357, 

G.S. 160A-412, or G.S. 

160A-417. 

(iii) When building plans are 

begun or contracted for by 

persons not licensed or 

registered and qualified, an 

architect or registered 

interior designer shall not 

take over, review, revise, or 

sign or seal such drawings or 

revisions thereof for such 

persons or do any act to 

enable either persons or the 

project owners to evade the 

requirements of Chapter 

83A, G.S. 133-2, G.S. 153A-

357, or G.S. 160A-417. 

(c) It is unprofessional conduct for an 

architect or registered interior designer 

to be found by a court to have 

infringed upon the copyrighted works 

of other architects, registered interior 

designers or other design 

professionals. 

(13) An architect, registered interior designer or firm 

shall not maintain or represent by sign, listing, 

or other manner that they have a physical 

presence in North Carolina unless such office 

employs a licensed architect or registered 

interior designer who is a resident in North 

Carolina whose principal place of business 

takes place in that office. This item does not 

apply to on-site project offices during 

construction of a project. 

(14) An architect or registered interior designer shall 

not knowingly continue to offer or render 

architectural or registered interior design 

services as set forth in G.S. 83A after their 

license or registration expires, is placed on 

delinquent status, is revoked, or suspended for 

failure to renew. 

(15) Architects or registered interior designers 

preparing plans for building permits shall 

submit plans that are complete and buildable. 

Such plans shall conform with the State 

Building Code and local plan submission 

requirements. Professional judgment shall be 

exercised to reflect sufficient documentation 

necessary for plan approval. Provided, 

however, this Rule does not alter any standard 

of liability applicable to licensees or registrants. 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-6; 83A-14; 83A-15; 83A-16. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0206 REQUIREMENT FOR AND USE 

OF PROFESSIONAL SEAL BY AN ARCHITECT OR 

REGISTERED INTERIOR DESIGNER 

(a)  An architect shall seal his or her work whether or not the work 

is for an exempt project as defined in G.S. 83A-13. An architect 

shall not sign nor seal drawings, specifications, reports, or other 

professional work that were not prepared by the architect or under 

his or her responsible control. Documents shall be sealed as 

follows: 

(1) An architect may seal those portions of the 

professional work that: 

(A) were prepared by or under the 

responsible control of persons who are 

licensed architects in this State if the 

architect has reviewed in whole or in 

part such portions and has either 

coordinated their preparation or 

integrated them into his or her work; 

and 

(B) are not required by law to be prepared 

by or under the responsible control of 

an architect if the architect has 

reviewed and adopted in whole or in 

part such portions and has integrated 

them into his or her work. 

(2) A registered interior designer may seal those 

portions of the professional work that were 

prepared by or under the responsible control of 

persons who are registered interior designers in 

this State if the registered interior designer has 

reviewed in whole or in part such portions and 

has either coordinated their preparation or 

integrated them into their work 

(3) Individual Architect Seal Design shall be as 

follows: 

(A) The seal may be a rubber stamp, 

embossed seal, computer-generated 

seal, or other facsimile that becomes a 

permanent addition to original paper 

drawings or sets of specifications for 

use in this State. For the purposes of 

this Rule, the term "for use in this 

State" means drawings and sets of 
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specifications prepared for bidding, 

procurement, permitting, or for 

construction. For purposes of this 

Rule, "original" means the version of 

drawings and sets of specifications 

from which all paper copies can be 

made. 

(B) The standard design of the seal shall 

be two concentric circles in which 

"North Carolina" and the name of the 

licensee are placed within the 

outermost circle and in which the 

license number of the licensee and 

"Licensed Architect" placed within the 

innermost circle. The size shall be 1 ½ 

to 1 ¾ inches in diameter. 

(C) The original, handwritten signature of 

the individual named on the seal shall 

be considered part of the individual 

seal and shall appear across the face of 

each original seal imprint along with 

the date of affixation. The use of 

signature reproductions such as rubber 

stamps, computer generated, or other 

facsimiles on paper copies are not 

permitted in lieu of actual handwritten 

and hand dated signatures. 

(4) Architecture Firm Seal Design shall be as 

follows: 

(A) The seal may be a rubber stamp, 

embossed seal, computer-generated 

seal, or other facsimile that becomes a 

permanent addition to paper drawings 

or sets of specifications. 

(B) The design of the firm seal shall be 

two concentric circles in which the 

architectural firm's approved name 

shall be between the inner and outer 

circles and the firm's license number is 

placed within the innermost circle. 

The size shall be 1 ½ to 1 ¾ inches in 

diameter. For a Professional 

Corporation the words "Architectural 

Corporation, North Carolina" shall be 

along the inside perimeter of the inner 

circle. For a Professional Limited 

Liability Company, the words 

"Architectural Company" shall be 

along the inside perimeter of the inner 

circle. 

(5) Individual Registered Interior Designer Seal 

Design shall be as follows: 

(A) The seal may be a rubber stamp, 

embossed seal, computer-generated 

seal, or other facsimile that becomes a 

permanent addition to original paper 

drawings or sets of specifications for 

use in this State. For the purposes of 

this Rule, the term "for use in this 

State" means drawings and sets of 

specifications prepared for bidding, 

procurement, permitting, or for 

construction. For purposes of this 

Rule, "original" means the version of 

drawings and sets of specifications 

from which all paper copies can be 

made. 

(B) The standard design of the seal shall 

be two concentric ovals in which 

"North Carolina" and the name of the 

registrant are placed within the 

outermost oval and in which the 

registration number of the registrant 

and "Registered Interior Designer" be 

placed within the innermost oval. The 

dimensions shall be two inches tall by 

2.75 inches wide. 

(C) The original, handwritten signature of 

the individual named on the seal shall 

be considered part of the individual 

seal and shall appear across the face of 

each original seal imprint along with 

the date of affixation. The use of 

signature reproductions such as rubber 

stamps, computer generated, or other 

facsimiles on paper are not permitted 

in lieu of actual handwritten and hand 

dated signatures. 

(6) Registered Interior Design Firm Seal Design 

shall be as follows: 

(A) The seal may be a rubber stamp, 

embossed seal, computer-generated 

seal, or other facsimile that becomes a 

permanent addition to drawings or sets 

of specifications. 

(B) The design of the seal shall be two 

concentric ovals in which the 

registered interior design firm's 

approved name shall be between the 

inner and outer ovals and the firm's 

registration number is placed within 

the innermost oval. The size shall be 2 

to 2 ¾ inches in diameter. For a 

Corporation the words "Registered 

Interior Design Corporation, North 

Carolina" shall be along the inside 

perimeter of the inner circle. For a 

Limited Liability Company, the words 

"Registered Interior Design 

Company" shall be along the inside 

perimeter of the inner oval. 

(7) Architects and registered interior designers 

shall affix their seal on one original of all their 

drawings and sets of specifications prepared by 

them for use in this State as follows: 

(A) on the cover sheet of each design and 

on each drawing prepared by the 
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architect or registered interior designer 

for the design; 

(B) on the index page identifying each set 

of specifications; and 

(C) on the index page of all other technical 

submissions. For the purposes of this 

Rule, "technical submissions" refer to 

plans, drawings, specifications, 

studies, addenda, and other technical 

reports prepared in the course of 

practicing architecture or registered 

interior design. 

(8) Presentation documents, such as renderings 

created by an architect or registered interior 

designer used to communicate conceptual 

information, shall not be sealed or signed. 

(9) Documents considered incomplete by the 

architect or registered interior designer may be 

released for interim review without the 

architect's or registered interior designers seal 

or signature affixed, but shall be dated, bear the 

architect's or registered interior designer's 

name, and be marked or designated as follows 

"Incomplete - for interim review only and not 

intended for bidding, procurement, permit, or 

construction purposes." 

(10) Those sheets or pages prepared by licensed 

professional consultants, such as structural, 

mechanical or electrical engineers, retained by 

the architect or registered interior designer shall 

bear the seal and registration or license number 

of the consultant responsible therefore and shall 

not be sealed by the architect or registered 

interior designer. 

(11) The use of the prescribed seal on paper is an 

individual act whereby the architect or 

registered interior designer must personally 

sign over the imprint of the seal. By sealing 

documents for use in this State, an architect or 

registered interior designer is representing that 

he or she is in responsible control over the 

content of such documents and has applied the 

required professional standard of care. The 

architect or registered interior designer is 

responsible for security of the seal when not in 

use. 

(12) Use of Firm Seal. The use of the firm seal does 

not replace the statutory requirement for an 

architect's or registered interior designer's 

individual seal as required in Rule .0203(4) of 

this Chapter. The firm seal must be affixed in 

addition to the individual seal on the cover 

sheet. A firm shall designate a principle or other 

authorized individual to be responsible for the 

security of the firm seal. 

(b)  Prototypical building design documents prepared by 

architects or registered interior designers who are licensed or 

registered in this State or in their state of origin may be sealed by 

a succeeding licensed architect or registered interior designer in 

North Carolina provided: 

(1) the seal of the original architect or registered 

interior designer appears on the documents to 

authenticate authorship; 

(2) the words "Prototypical Design Documents/Not 

for Construction" appear on each sheet of the 

documents by the original architect or 

registered interior designer; 

(3) the succeeding North Carolina architect or 

registered interior designer identifies all 

modifications to the standard design 

documents; 

(4) the succeeding North Carolina architect or 

registered interior designer assumes 

responsibility for the adequacy of the design for 

the specific application in North Carolina and 

for the design conforming with applicable 

building codes, local conditions, site condition; 

and 

(5) the succeeding North Carolina architect or 

registered interior designer affixes his or her 

seal to the prototypical design documents with 

a statement as follows: "These documents have 

been examined by the undersigned. I have 

determined that they comply with existing local 

North Carolina codes, and I assume 

responsibility for the adequacy of the design for 

the specific application in North Carolina." 

(c)  Post construction record drawings prepared by an architect or 

registered interior designer, but based upon representations of 

contractors, are not plans that are for "bidding, procurement, 

permit, or construction purposes" and therefore shall not be sealed 

by the architect or registered interior designer. Post construction 

record drawings shall bear the name of the architect or registered 

interior designer and include language that states "these drawings 

are post construction record drawings and are based in part upon 

the representations of others and are not for bidding, procurement, 

permit, or construction purposes." 

(d)  Documents to be electronically transmitted beyond the direct 

control of the licensee or registrant that are signed using a digital 

signature, shall contain the authentication procedure in a secure 

mode and a list of the hardware, software, and parameters used to 

prepare the document(s). Secure mode means that the 

authentication procedure has protective measures to prevent 

alteration or overriding of the authentication procedure. The term 

"digital signature" shall be an electronic authentication process 

that is attached to or logically associated with an electronic 

document. Unlocked copies of sealed construction documents 

may be provided to entities to allow for electronic usage where 

document content is not effectively being altered (e.g. plan review 

approval stamps, contractor material takeoffs, etc.) The digital 

signature shall be: 

(1) Unique to the person using it; 

(2) Capable of verification; 

(3) Under the sole control of the person using it; 

and 
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(4) Linked to a document in such a manner that the 

digital signature is invalidated if any data in the 

document is changed. 

(e)  Documents for use in this State, that are transmitted 

electronically beyond the direct control of the licensee or 

registrant shall have the computer-generated image of the seal 

removed from the original file, unless signed with a digital 

signature as defined in this Rule. After removal of the image of 

the seal the electronic media shall have the following inserted in 

lieu of the signature and date: "This document was originally 

issued and sealed by (name of sealer), (license or registration 

number), on (date of sealing). This medium shall not be 

considered a certified document." Hardcopy documents 

containing the original seal, signature and date of the licensee or 

registrant may be duplicated by photocopy or electronic scanning 

processes and distributed either in hardcopy or electronic 

medium. The scanned digital files of certified documents are not 

subject to the requirements of this Paragraph. The electronic 

transmission beyond the direct control of the licensee or registrant 

of Computer Aided Design (CAD), vector, or other files subject 

to easy editing are subject to the requirements of this Paragraph. 

A file subject to "easy editing" is one consisting of separate 

elements that can be individually modified or deleted. Documents 

that are excepted from certification by a statement meeting the 

following requirements are not subject to the requirements of this 

Paragraph: 

(1) "Preliminary - Do not use for construction"; 

(2) "Progress Drawings - Do not use for 

construction"; 

(3) "Final Drawing - Not released for 

construction"; 

(4) "Final Drawing - For Review Purposes Only"; 

(5) "Not a Certified Document – This document 

was originally issued and sealed by (name of 

licensee or registrant), (license or registration 

number), on (date of sealing). This document 

shall not be considered a certified document"; 

(6) "Not a Certified Document as to the Original 

Document but Only as to the Revisions - This 

document originally issued and sealed by (name 

of licensee or registrant), (license or registration 

number), on (date of sealing). This document is 

only certified as to the revisions". 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-6; 83A-10; 83A-12. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0210 INCOMPETENCE 

(a)  In practicing architecture, an architect shall act with 

reasonable care and competence and shall apply the technical 

knowledge and skill which is ordinarily applied by architects of 

good standing, practicing in the same locality. No person shall be 

permitted to practice architecture or registered interior design if 

such person's competence is found by a licensed physician or 

court of law to be substantially impaired by physical or mental 

disabilities. 

(b)  In designing a project, an architect shall take into account all 

applicable state and municipal building laws and rules. While an 

architect may rely on the advice of other professionals (e.g., 

attorneys, engineers and other qualified persons) as to the intent 

and meaning of such laws and rules, once having obtained such 

advice, an architect shall not design a project in violation of such 

laws and rules. No person shall be permitted to practice 

architecture or registered interior design if such person is found 

insane or incompetent by a court of law. 

(c)  An architect shall undertake to perform professional services 

only when he, together with those whom the architect may engage 

as consultants, are qualified by education, training and experience 

in the specific technical areas involved. 

(d)  No person shall be permitted to practice architecture if such 

person's professional competence is substantially impaired by 

physical or mental disabilities. 

(e)  Architects preparing plans for building permits for projects 

not exempt under G.S. 83A- 13 shall submit plans that are 

complete and buildable. Such plans shall conform with the State 

Building Code and local plan submission requirements. 

Professional judgment shall be exercised to reflect sufficient 

documentation necessary for plan approval. Provided, however, 

this Rule does not alter any standard of liability applicable to 

licensees. 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-6; 83A-14; 83A-15. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0213 INDIVIDUAL LICENSES AND 

REGISTRATIONS 

(a)  Renewal. The license to practice architecture or interior 

design registration must be renewed on or before the first day in 

July each year. Continued practice after such date shall constitute 

unlawful practice as set forth in G.S. 83A-12 and may be grounds 

for disciplinary action. No less than 30 days prior to the renewal 

date, the Board shall send a notice of renewal to each individual 

licensee or registrant via electronic mail. The licensee or registrant 

shall submit to the Board the completed license or registration 

renewal documentation, along with the annual license or 

registration renewal fee. The Board shall not accept incomplete 

renewal documentation. If the accompanying payment in the 

amount of the renewal fee is dishonored by the licensee or 

registrant's drawee bank for any reason, the Board shall suspend 

the license or registration until the renewal fees and check charges 

are paid. When the annual renewal has been completed according 

to the provisions of G.S. 83A-11, as well as Section .0900 of this 

Chapter, the Executive Director shall approve renewal of the 

license or registration for the current renewal year. Renewal fees 

are non-refundable. All applications for renewal of individual 

licensure or registration shall contain the following: 

(1) the licensee's or registrant's name, mailing 

address, physical address, email address, and 

phone number; 

(2) whether the licensee or registrant has satisfied 

the continuing education requirements set forth 

in Rule .0903; 

(3) since issuance of the individual's licensure or 

registration or the individual's last renewal, 

whichever is later: 

(A) whether the licensee or registrant has 

had a credential denied, limited, 

reprimanded, suspended, or revoked 

and, if so, a statement providing the 

reason for the adverse action; the date 
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and jurisdiction in which the adverse 

action occurred; the terms of the 

adverse action imposed; and whether 

the terms of the adverse action have 

been satisfied; 

(B) whether the licensee or registrant has 

been convicted of a felony or 

misdemeanor under any laws and, and, 

if so, the jurisdiction, charge, case 

number, and date of each such 

criminal conviction; 

(C) whether any criminal charges have 

been filed or are pending against the 

licensee or registrant and, if so, the 

jurisdiction, charge, and case number 

of each such charge; 

(D) whether any court, board, agency, or 

professional organization has found 

the licensee or registrant guilty of 

unprofessional conduct, dishonest or 

fraudulent practice, or incompetent 

practice and, if so, the jurisdiction, 

charge, case number, and date of such 

adverse action; 

(E) whether any disciplinary action, 

charges, or controversy is pending 

against the licensee or registrant 

before any court, board, agency, or 

professional organization for 

unprofessional conduct, dishonest or 

fraudulent practice, or incompetent 

practice and, if so, the jurisdiction, 

charge, and case number of each such 

pending action; or 

(F) whether any liens or judgments have 

been filed or entered against the 

licensee or registrant and, if so, the 

jurisdiction, date, and parties involved 

with such lien or judgment. 

(b)  Late Renewal. If the Board has not received the annual 

renewal fee and completed renewal documentation on or before 

the first day of July, each year the license or registration shall 

expire and be placed on delinquent status. For the purpose of this 

Rule, "delinquent status" means an administrative suspension and 

is not considered discipline. The license or registration may be 

renewed at any time within one year of being deemed delinquent, 

upon the return of the completed renewal documentation, the 

annual renewal fee, and the late renewal penalty and 

demonstration of compliance with Section .0900 of this Chapter. 

(c)  Reinstatement. After one year from the date of expiration, the 

Board shall revoke the license or registration for failure to renew. 

Reinstatement shall occur pursuant to G.S. 83A-11 and Sections 

.0300 and .0900 of this Chapter. 

(d)  Any individual who is currently licensed or registered by and 

in good standing with the Board who is serving in the armed 

forces of the United States shall not be subject to late fees, 

suspension, or revocation for failure to renew licensure on or 

before the first day July each year, provided that the individual 

has been granted an extension of time to file a tax return as set 

forth in G.S. 105-249.2. 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-6; 83A-11; 93B-15(b). 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0214 FIRM PRACTICE OF 

ARCHITECTURE AND REGISTERED INTERIOR 

DESIGN 

(a)  Prior to offering and rendering architectural or registered 

interior design services as set forth in G.S. 83A and Rule .0204(a) 

and Rule .0204(c) of this Chapter, all firms shall submit an 

application for firm licensure or registration and be granted 

licensure or registration by the Board. Application for firm 

licensure or registration to practice of architecture or registered 

interior design within the State of North Carolina shall be made 

upon forms provided on the Board web site at www.ncbarch.org 

and include the required application fee as set forth in Rule .0108 

of this Chapter. Licensure for firm practice of architecture shall 

be issued only under the provisions of the Professional 

Corporation Act, G.S. 55B and G.S 57D-2-02. Registration for 

firm practice of interior design shall be issued only under the 

provisions of the Business Corporation G.S. 55 and G.S 57D. All 

applications for firm licensure or registration shall contain the 

following: 

(1) the firm's name, mailing address, physical 

address, email address, and phone number; 

(2) the firm's representative completing the 

application; 

(3) for all officers, directors and shareholders, if the 

firm is a professional corporation: 

(A) the profession; 

(B) the credential number and jurisdiction 

in which the credential was issued, if 

outside of North Carolina; 

(C) the credential number issued by the 

Board, if any; 

(D) whether the individual is an officer, 

director, or shareholder; and 

(E) percentage of stock owned. 

(4) for all members and owners, if the firm is a 

professional limited liability company: 

(A) the profession; 

(B) the credential number and jurisdiction 

in which the credential was issued, if 

outside of North Carolina; 

(C) the credential number issued by the 

Board, if any; 

(D) whether the individual is a member or 

manager; and 

(E) percentage of membership held. 

(5) the names, position, and ownership interest of 

any non-licensed shareholder or member of the 

firm; 

(6) whether the firm is a professional corporation 

or professional limited liability company; 

(7) whether the firm intends to form a new entity 

with the North Carolina Secretary of State and, 

if so, copies of the proposed articles of 

incorporation or organization; 
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(8) whether the firm intends to register with the 

North Carolina Secretary of State as a foreign 

entity and, if so, copies of the articles of 

incorporation or organization filed in the other 

jurisdiction; 

(9) whether the firm or any of its owners ever has 

had a credential denied, limited, reprimanded, 

suspended, or revoked and, if so, a statement 

providing the reason for the adverse action; the 

date and jurisdiction in which the adverse 

action occurred; the terms of the adverse action 

imposed; and whether the terms of the adverse 

action have been satisfied; 

(10) whether the firm or any of its owners ever has 

been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor 

under any laws and, and, if so, the jurisdiction, 

charge, case number, and date of each such 

criminal conviction; 

(11) whether any criminal charges have been filed or 

are pending against the firm or any of its owners 

and, if so, the jurisdiction, charge, and case 

number of each such charge; 

(12) whether any court, board, agency, or 

professional organization has found the firm or 

any of its owners guilty of unprofessional 

conduct, dishonest or fraudulent practice, or 

incompetent practice and, if so, the jurisdiction, 

charge, case number, and date of such adverse 

action; 

(13) whether any disciplinary action, charges, or 

controversy is pending against the firm or any 

of its owners before any court, board, agency, 

or professional organization for unprofessional 

conduct, dishonest or fraudulent practice, or 

incompetent practice and, if so, the jurisdiction, 

charge, and case number of each such pending 

action; 

(14) whether any liens or judgments have been filed 

or entered against the firm or any of its owners 

and, if so, the jurisdiction, date, and parties 

involved with such lien or judgment; 

(15) if the firm is a foreign entity, a certification 

from the person identified in Paragraph (b)(2) 

of this Rule that: 

(A) the information contained in the 

application is true and correct to the 

best of his or her knowledge and 

belief; and 

(B) he or she has read the statutes and rules 

set forth in North Carolina General 

Statutes 55B or 57D (for PLLC), 83A 

and Title 21 Chapter 2 of the North 

Carolina Administrative Code. 

(16) if the firm is an entity desiring to be 

incorporated or organized in North Carolina, a 

certification from the incorporator or organizer 

that the information contained in the application 

is true and correct to the best of his or her 

knowledge and belief; and 

(17) a certification that the firm has read and 

understands the public notice statement on 

employee misclassification that is set forth in 

the application and has disclosed any 

investigations for employee misclassification, 

and its results, over the preceding 12-month 

period, as prescribed by G.S. 143-789. 

(b)  Architecture firm licensure and interior design firm 

registration shall be renewed on or before December 31st of each 

year. If the Board has not received the annual renewal fee as set 

forth in Rule .0108 and completed application on or before 

December 31st of each year, the architecture firm license or 

interior design firm registration shall expire. The Board shall send 

a notice of renewal to each licensed and registered firm no less 

than 30 days prior to the renewal date. Renewal documentation 

shall be accompanied by the renewal fee. If the accompanying 

draft or check in the amount of the renewal fee is dishonored by 

the firm's drawee bank for any reason, the Board shall suspend the 

firm license or registration until the renewal fees and returned 

check charges are paid. When the annual renewal has been 

completed according to the provisions of G.S. 83A-11, the 

Executive Director shall approve renewal for the firm for the 

current renewal year. Upon completion of the firm annual 

renewal, the Board may randomly audit the compliance of firm 

licenses and registrations and require proof in the form of 

corporate records maintained pursuant to North Carolina General 

Statute 55B or 57D. Such records shall be maintained for a period 

of seven years after the renewal is submitted. Renewal fees are 

non-refundable. All applications for renewal of firm licensure or 

registration shall contain the following: 

(1) the firm's name, mailing address, physical 

address, email address, and phone number; 

(2) the firm's representative completing the 

application; 

(3) since issuance of the firm's licensure or 

registration or the firm's last renewal, 

whichever is later, 

(A) whether the firm or any of its owners 

has had a credential denied, limited, 

reprimanded, suspended, or revoked 

and, if so, a statement providing the 

reason for the adverse action; the date 

and jurisdiction in which the adverse 

action occurred; the terms of the 

adverse action imposed; and whether 

the terms of the adverse action have 

been satisfied; 

(B) whether the firm or any of its owners 

has been convicted of a felony or 

misdemeanor under any laws and, and, 

if so, the jurisdiction, charge, case 

number, and date of each such 

criminal conviction; 

(C) whether any criminal charges have 

been filed or are pending against the 

firm or any of its owners and, if so, the 

jurisdiction, charge, and case number 

of each such charge; 
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(D) whether any court, board, agency, or 

professional organization has found 

the firm or any of its owners guilty of 

unprofessional conduct, dishonest or 

fraudulent practice, or incompetent 

practice and, if so, the jurisdiction, 

charge, case number, and date of such 

adverse action; 

(E) whether any disciplinary action, 

charges, or controversy is pending 

against the firm or any of its owners 

before any court, board, agency, or 

professional organization for 

unprofessional conduct, dishonest or 

fraudulent practice, or incompetent 

practice and, if so, the jurisdiction, 

charge, and case number of each such 

pending action; or 

(F) whether any liens or judgments have 

been filed or entered against the firm 

or any of its owners and, if so, the 

jurisdiction, date, and parties involved 

with such lien or judgment; 

(4) an affirmation from the architectural firm's 

Chief Executive Officer or person designated 

by firm resolution as a responsible officer in 

charge that: 

(A) the information contained in the 

renewal application is true and correct 

to the best of his or her knowledge and 

belief; 

(B) ownership of the shares or stock or 

membership of the firm is in 

compliance with the rules and laws of 

North Carolina; 

(C) any officers, directors, shareholders or 

members and professional employees, 

who are practicing architecture or 

registered interior design for said firm 

in the State of North Carolina, are duly 

licensed to so practice in this State; 

(D) at least one officer, director, and 

shareholder or member/owner of the 

firm is licensed in North Carolina; 

(E) non-licensed individuals do not own 

no more than one-third of the total 

stock or ownership; and 

(F) the firm has read and understands the 

public notice statement on employee 

misclassification that is set forth in the 

application and has disclosed any 

investigations for employee 

misclassification, and its results, over 

the preceding 12-month period, as 

prescribed by G.S. 143-789. 

(c)  Failure to Renew and Reinstatement. Within one year of the 

expiration, the firm license or registration may be renewed at any 

time, upon the return of the completed renewal documents, the 

annual renewal fee, and the late renewal fees. After one year from 

the date of expiration for non-payment of the annual renewal fee 

the licensee or registrant shall seek reinstatement, as allowed by 

G.S. 83A-11. The Board may reinstate the firms' license or 

registration, as allowed by G.S. 83A-11. 

(d)  Seal. Each licensed or registered firm shall adopt a seal 

pursuant to Rule .0206 of this Chapter. 

(e)  Every firm, partnership, corporation or limited liability 

company that performs or offers to perform architectural or 

registered interior design services in the State of North Carolina 

shall have a resident Architect or Registered Interior Designer in 

Responsible Control in each separate office located in North 

Carolina where architectural or registered interior design services 

are performed or offered to be performed. Out-of-state office 

locations where architectural or registered interior design services 

are performed or offered to be performed for North Carolina 

projects shall have architects or registered interior designers in 

responsible charge of only the specific projects in North Carolina. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-5; 55B-10; 55B-15; 83A-6; 83A-8; 83A-10. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0215 OUT OF STATE FIRMS 

(a)  Architectural and interior design firms from other states shall 

be granted firm licensure or registration for practice in this State 

upon receipt by the Board of a completed application as set forth 

in Rule .0214(a), fees as required by Rule .0108, the submission 

of a copy of their firm charter, or other corresponding documents, 

amended as may be necessary to ensure compliance with all 

requirements of Chapter 55B, the Professional Corporation Act 

for architectural firms and Chapter 55, the Business Corporation 

Act for registered interior design firms. In addition to the other 

requirements as set out in G.S. 83A-8, out of state interior design 

firms shall, prior to registration, receive from the Secretary of 

State of North Carolina a certificate of authority to do business 

within the state. Architectural firms shall obtain a certificate for 

filing from the Board prior to submitting application to the 

Secretary of State for a Certificate of Authority. 

(b)  Designated Individuals. If an out of state entity offers both 

architectural and engineering services, then it shall comply with 

requirements set forth in G.S. 89C. An out of state entity shall 

have at least one officer, director and shareholder licensed as an 

architect in this state. Two-thirds of the issued and outstanding 

shares of the out of state corporations shall be owned by licensed 

architects or engineers who are licensed to practice their 

profession in a jurisdiction of the United States. However, the firm 

shall designate at least one architect who is licensed in the State 

of North Carolina to be in responsible control for the firm practice 

of architecture within the State of North Carolina. A registered 

interior design firm shall designate one registered interior 

designer to be in responsible control of all interior design work 

offered and performed by that firm in this State. 

(c)  Partnerships. An out of state architectural or registered interior 

design partnership may practice architecture or registered interior 

design, if every partner in the firm is licensed or registered as an 

individual in this state under Rule .0213 and the partnership 

complies with Paragraph (f) this Rule . 

(d)  Limited Liability Companies. An out of state Limited 

Liability Company may practice architecture or registered interior 

design if the Limited Liability Company complies with G.S. 57D 

and at least one member and one owner are licensed or registered 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

38:10 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER NOVEMBER 15, 2023 

634 

as an individual under Rule .0213 and comply with Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule. 

(e)  Limited Liability Partnerships. An out of state Limited 

Liability Partnership may practice architecture or registered 

interior design, if the Limited Liability Partnership complies with 

G.S. 59, and at least one partner is licensed or registered as an 

individual under Rule .0213. 

(f)  Failure to Renew and Reinstatement. If the Board has not 

received the annual firm renewal fee and completed application 

as required by Rule .0214(b) on or before December 31st each 

year the firm license or registration shall expire and be deemed 

delinquent. The firm registration may be renewed at any time 

within one year, upon the return of the completed application, the 

annual renewal fee and the late renewal fees. After one year from 

the date of expiration for non-payment of the annual renewal fee, 

the license or registration shall be automatically revoked. The 

Board may reinstate the firm's license or registration, as allowed 

by G.S. 83A-11. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-6; 55B-16; 83A-6; 83A-8; 83A-9. 

 

SECTION .0300 - EXAMINATION PROCEDURES 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0302 ARCHITECTURAL LICENSURE 

BY EXAMINATION 

(a)  Those individuals who wish to take the Architectural 

Registration Exam (ARE) shall contact the National Council of 

Architecture Registration Boards (NCARB) directly to obtain 

exam eligibility. Upon completion of all requirements set forth in 

the NCARB Architecture Experience Program (AXP), a 

candidate seeking licensure by exam in North Carolina shall direct 

NCARB to transmit a completed NCARB AXP record to the 

North Carolina Board of Architecture and Registered Interior 

Designers. 

(b)  Upon passing all sections of the NCARB ARE , ARE, 

fulfillment of all NCARB AXP requirements, and completion of 

the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) accredited 

degree, NCARB, as directed by the candidate, will transmit a 

completed NCARB AXP file to the Board to determine 

compliance with G.S. 83A-7(a)(1)a. shall be deemed satisfied 

through completion of the requirements set forth in 

Subparagraphs (1) through (5) of this Paragraph. The Board shall 

grant licensure by exam to those individuals who: 

(1) are of good moral character as defined in G.S. 

83A-1(5); 

(2) are at least 18 years of age; 

(3) have completed a NAAB accredited 

professional degree in architecture or who have 

completed a NAAB accredited degree program 

that is identified as an NCARB endorsed 

Integrated Path To Architectural Licensure 

Degree Program; 

(4) have completed the NCARB AXP; and 

(5) submit the Application for Licensure by Exam 

and fee. fee as required by Rule .0108. 

(c)  Retention of credit for purposes of licensure by examination 

in North Carolina. 

(1) Passing scores received after July 1, 2006 on 

any part of the ARE remain valid for a period 

of time established by the exam provider, 

NCARB. 

(2) Scores received on any part of the ARE prior to 

July 1, 2006 are invalid. 

(d)  Practical training pursuant to G.S. 83A-7(a)(2) means 

practical experience and diversified training as defined by the 

NCARB AXP. 

(e)  During the application process, Board members, in order to 

augment the evidence submitted in an application may interview 

the applicant regarding qualifications required in Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule. The Board shall determine whether an interview is 

needed on a case-by-case basis, based upon information in the 

application, including any academic or professional discipline. 

(f)  To complete the ARE, an exam candidate shall receive a 

passing grade in each division of the ARE. Information regarding 

NCARB grading methods and procedures can be found on their 

web site at www.ncarb.org. 

(g)  A person currently employed under the responsible control of 

an architect, who holds a Professional Degree from a NAAB 

accredited program, and who maintains an active NCARB AXP 

record or has completed the NCARB AXP may use the title 

"Architectural Intern" or "Intern Architect" in conjunction with 

his or her current employment. 

(h)  The fees for examination, or parts thereof, are set and 

collected by the NCARB. Fee information is available on the 

NCARB web site www.ncarb.org. 

(i)  The standards of the National Council of Architecture 

Registration Boards and its components are hereby incorporated 

by reference including subsequent amendments and editions, and 

can be accessed at no charge at www.ncarb.org. 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-1; 83A-6; 83A-7; 83A-12. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0303 ARCHITECTURE LICENSURE 

BY RECIPROCITY 

(a)  An individual who holds a current license in good standing 

from a National Council of Architecture Registration Boards 

(NCARB) recognized jurisdiction and a Certified Council 

Certificate issued by NCARB shall qualify for licensure by 

reciprocity upon receipt of a certified record from NCARB and 

the Board application for licensure by reciprocity and fee as 

required by Rule .0108 as provided in G.S. 83A-7(b). Revocation 

of the certificate by NCARB shall automatically suspend the 

architect's license to practice in North Carolina until such time as 

the certificate is reinstated by NCARB. 

(b)  In order to supplement or clarify the contents of a record or 

application, the Board may interview the applicant to ensure that 

the applicant has had sufficient architectural practice experience 

to be able to practice architecture in this State. 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-6; 83A-7. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0306 INTERIOR DESIGNER 

REGISTRATION 

(a)  Those individuals who wish to practice as a registered interior 

designer in North Carolina shall demonstrate that they have 

satisfied the educational and professional experience eligibility 

requirements adopted by the Council for Interior Design 

Qualification (CIDQ) to sit for the National Council for Interior 
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Design Qualification Examination (NCIDQ), shall pass the 

NCIDQ Examination, and submit to the Board an application for 

registration and fee. fee as required by Rule .0108. Revocation of 

the certificate by CIDQ shall automatically suspend the interior 

designer's registration to practice in North Carolina until such 

time as the certificate is reinstated by CIDQ. 

(b)  An architect shall be granted registration to practice interior 

design so long as they are currently licensed and in good standing 

in the State of North Carolina and submit the Board application 

for registration and fee. 

(c)  In order to supplement or clarify the contents of a record or 

application, the Board may interview the applicant to ensure that 

the applicant has had interior design experience to be able to 

practice registered interior design in this State. 

(d)  The standards of the CIDQ and its components are hereby 

incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments and 

editions and can be accessed at no charge at www.cidq.org. 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-7. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0307 CERTIFICATION AND 

LICENSURE FOR MILITARY PERSONNEL AND 

MILITARY SPOUSES 

(a)  Upon receipt of a request for certification or licensure 

pursuant to G.S. 93B-15.1 from an applicant with military training 

and experience, the Board shall issue a certificate or license upon 

submission of the following to the Board: 

(1) an application containing the following 

information: 

(A) the applicant's contact information; 

(B) the social security number of the 

applicant; 

(C) the requested designation of licensure 

or registration; 

(D) employment history; 

(E) whether the applicant has ever been 

certified, licensed, or registered to 

practice architecture or registered 

interior design by the Board, by 

another occupational Board, or in 

another state/jurisdiction and, if so 

what credential was held, in what 

state/jurisdiction, the issuance date 

and expiration date, and what 

examinations were taken to obtain said 

certification, licensure, or registration: 

(F) whether the applicant has ever had a 

credential denied, limited, 

reprimanded, suspended, or revoked; 

(G) whether the applicant has ever been 

convicted of, or plead nolo contendere 

to, a felony or misdemeanor under any 

laws; 

(H) whether any criminal charges have 

been filed or are pending against the 

applicant; 

(I) whether any court, board, agency, or 

professional organization has found 

the applicant guilty of unprofessional 

conduct, dishonest or fraudulent 

practice, or incompetent practice; 

(J) whether any charges are pending 

against the applicant before any court, 

board, agency, or professional 

organization for unprofessional 

conduct, dishonest or fraudulent 

practice, or incompetent practice; 

(K) the applicant's affirmation that the 

applicant has read the statutes and 

rules set forth in North Carolina 

General Statutes 83A and Title 21 

Chapter 2 of the North Carolina 

Administrative Code, the information 

provided by the applicant in the 

application is true, and that the 

applicant has read and understands the 

public notice statement on employee 

misclassification that is set forth in the 

application and has disclosed any 

investigations for employee 

misclassification, and its results, over 

the preceding 12-month period, as 

prescribed by G.S. 143-789: 

(2) written documentation to satisfy conditions set 

out in G.S. 93B-15.1(a); or 

(3) written documentation to satisfy conditions set 

out in G.S. 93B-15.1(a2). 

(b)  Upon receipt of a request for certification or licensure 

pursuant to G.S. 93B-15.1 from a military spouse, the Board shall 

issue a certificate or license upon submission of the following to 

the Board: 

(1) an application containing the following 

information: 

(A) the applicant's contact information; 

(B) the social security number of the 

applicant; 

(C) the requested designation of licensure 

or registration; 

(D) employment history; 

(E) whether the applicant has ever been 

certified, licensed, or registered to 

practice architecture or registered 

interior design by the Board, by 

another occupational Board, or in 

another state/jurisdiction and, if so 

what credential was held, in what 

state/jurisdiction, the issuance date 

and expiration date, and what 

examinations were taken to obtain said 

certification, licensure, or registration: 

(F) whether the applicant has ever had a 

credential denied, limited, 

reprimanded, suspended, or revoked; 

(G) whether the applicant has ever been 

convicted of, or plead nolo contendere 

to, a felony or misdemeanor under any 

laws; 
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(H) whether any criminal charges are 

pending against the applicant; 

(I) whether any court, board, agency, or 

professional organization has found 

the applicant guilty of unprofessional 

conduct, dishonest or fraudulent 

practice, or incompetent practice; 

(J) whether any charges are pending 

against the applicant before any court, 

board, agency, or professional 

organization for unprofessional 

conduct, dishonest or fraudulent 

practice, or incompetent practice; 

(K) a completed NCARB AXP file as set 

forth in Rule .0302; and 

(L) the applicant's affirmation that the 

applicant has read the statutes and 

rules set forth in North Carolina 

General Statutes 83A and Title 21 

Chapter 2 of the North Carolina 

Administrative Code, the information 

provided by the applicant in the 

application is true, and that ; and the 

applicant has read and understands the 

public notice statement on employee 

misclassification that is set forth in the 

application and has disclosed any 

investigations for employee 

misclassification, and its results, over 

the preceding 12-month period, as 

prescribed by G.S. 143-789 (2) written 

documentation to satisfy conditions 

set out in G.S. 93B-15.1(b): 

(c)  Military trained applicants and military spouse applicants may 

apply for a temporary license by submitting to the Board an 

application containing the information set forth in Paragraph 

(a)(1) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-7; 93B-15.1. 

 

SECTION .0600 - ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS: 

PROCEDURES 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0606 WHO SHALL HEAR 

CONTESTED CASES 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-6; 150B-11; 150B-38; 150B-40. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 16 – BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Dental Examiners intends to amend the rule cited as 21 

NCAC 16H .0104. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncdentalboard.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  December 7, 2023 

Time:  6:30 p.m. 

Location:  2000 Perimeter Park Drive, #200, Morrisville, NC  

27560 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed amendment updates 

education and training requirements for dental assistants and 

eliminates a requirement related to coronal polishing. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Bobby White, 2000 Perimeter 

Park Drive, Suite 160, Morrisville, NC 27560 

 

Comment period ends:  January 16, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 16H - DENTAL ASSISTANTS 

 

SECTION .0100 - CLASSIFICATION AND TRAINING 

 

21 NCAC 16H .0104 APPROVED EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING PROGRAMS 

(a)  To be classified as a Dental Assistant II, an assistant shall have 

and maintain an unexpired CPR certification and also shall meet 

one of the following criteria: complete: 

(1) completion of: a dental assisting program 

accredited by the Commission on Dental 

Accreditation ("CODA"), a list of which is 

available at no cost at coda.ada.org/find-a-

program/search-dental-programs and is 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions; 
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(A) an ADA-accredited dental assisting 

program; or 

(B) one academic year or longer in an 

ADA-accredited dental hygiene 

program; 

(2) one complete school year or longer in a CODA-

accredited dental hygiene program; 

(3) a dental assistant program offered through a 

branch of the U.S. armed forces at the Medical 

Education & Training Campus that includes a 

clinical rotation providing dental assisting for 

live patients; 

(2)(4) completion of the Certified Dental Assistant 

certification examination(s) examinations 

administered by the Dental Assisting National 

Board; Board ("DANB") with a passing score 

as set by DANB; or 

(3)(5) completion of: the following: 

(A) employment as a Dental Assistant I for 

two years of the preceding five, 

consisting of at least 3,000 hours total; 

and 

(B) a 3-hour course in sterilization and 

infection control; and control, and a 3-

hour course in dental office 

emergencies. The courses shall be 

offered by Board-approved course 

sponsors as set out in 21 NCAC 16I 

.0202. 

(C) a 3-hour course in dental office 

emergencies. 

(b)  A Dental Assistant I who has completed the requirements of 

Parts (a)(3)(B)-(C) Part (a)(5)(B) of this Rule but not completed 

the training employment hours required pursuant to Part 

(a)(3)(A)(a)(5)(A) may be trained by a licensed dentist and 

allowed to perform the functions of a Dental Assistant II, as 

specified in Rule .0203 of this Subchapter, under the direct control 

and supervision of a licensed dentist. dentist, except that a Dental 

Assistant I performing the functions of a Dental Assistant II 

pursuant to this Paragraph shall not perform the coronal polishing 

function set out in Rule .0203(a)(21) of this Subchapter. 

(c)  For purposes of this Rule, an unexpired CPR certification is 

one that is in effect and valid at the time of classification as a 

Dental Assistant II and remains so at all times while employed as 

a Dental Assistant II or while performing any of the permitted 

functions under Rule .0203 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  A Dental Assistant dental assistant shall not take radiographs 

before completing radiology training consistent with G.S. 90-

29(c)(12). 

 

Authority G.S. 90-29(c)(9). 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the 

Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative 

Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270th day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to 

the Rules Review Commission by the 270th day. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-21.1 

and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements. 

 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Department of Health and Human 

Services/Director, DHSR 

 

Rule Citation:  10A NCAC 14E .0101, .0111 

 

Effective Date:  October 27, 2023 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  October 19, 

2023 

 

Reason for Action:  On May 16, 2023, Senate Bill 20 became law 

as S.L. 2023-14. This new law entitled "An Act to Make Various 

Changes to Health Care Laws and to Appropriate Funds for 

Health Care Programs" revised various state laws governing 

abortions in North Carolina. The Department was made aware of 

the proposed changes on May 2, 2023, when a Proposed 

Conference Committee Substitute was issued that made the 

changes to the State's abortion laws. The revisions in Part I and 

Part 2.4 of the law went into effect on July 1, 2023, less than 2 

months after the Department became aware of the proposed 

changes. Among other changes, S.L. 2023-14 makes significant 

changes to defining when an abortion is lawful. Current rules 

governing the certification of abortion clinics are found in 

Subchapter 14E of Title 10A of the Administrative Code. Given 

the changes to the law that became effective July 1, emergency 

rules became effective June 30, 2023. Adoption of temporary rules 

to amend the existing rules to conform with the provisions of S.L. 

2023-14 will ensure continuity of care for patients and resolve 

any uncertainty about the rules applicable to impacted providers 

while being critical to protect the health and safety of women in 

obtaining lawful abortions in a certified abortion clinic. 

Therefore, the N.C. DHHS is amending Rules 10A NCAC 14E 

.0101 and .0111 under temporary procedures. 

 

CHAPTER 14 - DIRECTOR, DIVISION OF HEALTH 

SERVICE REGULATION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 14E - CERTIFICATIONS OF CLINICS 

FOR ABORTION LICENSURE OF SUITABLE 

FACILITIES FOR THE PERFORMANCE OF SURGICAL 

ABORTIONS 

 

SECTION .0100 – CERTIFICATION LICENSURE 

PROCEDURE 

 

10A NCAC 14E .0101 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions will apply throughout this Subchapter: 

(1) "Abortion" means the termination of a 

pregnancy as defined in G.S. 90-21.81(1). 90-

21.81(1c). 

(2) "Clinic" means a freestanding facility (a facility 

neither physically attached nor operated by a 

licensed hospital) hospital for the performance 

of abortions completed during the first 20 12 

weeks of pregnancy. 

(3) "Complication" includes but is not limited to 

hemorrhage, infection, uterine perforation, 

cervical laceration, or retained products of 

conception. 

(4)(3) "Division" means the Division of Health 

Service Regulation of the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(5)(4) "Gestational age" means the length of 

pregnancy as indicated by the date of the first 

day of the last normal monthly menstrual 

period, if known, or as determined by 

ultrasound. 

(6)(5) "Governing authority" means the individual, 

agency, group, or corporation appointed, 

elected or otherwise designated, in which the 

ultimate responsibility and authority for the 

conduct of the abortion clinic is vested pursuant 

to Rule .0302 .0318 of this Subchapter. 

(7)(6) "Health Screening" means an evaluation of an 

employee or contractual employee, including 

tuberculosis testing, to identify any underlying 

conditions that may affect the person's ability to 

work in the clinic. 

(8)(7) "New clinic" means one that is not certified as 

an abortion clinic by the Division as of July 1, 

2014, 2023, and has not been certified or 

licensed within the previous six months of the 

application for certification. licensure. 

(9) "Qualified Physician" means a licensed 

physician who advises, procures, or causes a 

miscarriage or abortion as defined in G.S. 14-

45.1(g). 90-21.81(7a). 

(10)(8) "Registered Nurse" means a person who holds 

a valid license issued by the North Carolina 

Board of Nursing to practice professional 

nursing in accordance with the Nursing Practice 

Act, G.S. 90, Article 9A. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 14-45.1(a); 14-45.1(g); 143B-

10; 131E-153; S.L. 2013-366, s. 4(c); S.L. 2023-14, s. 2.2; 2.4; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. December 19, 1977; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2015; July 1, 1994; December 1, 1989; 

June 30, 1980; 



 TEMPORARY RULES 

 

 

38:10 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER NOVEMBER 15, 2023 

639 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 24, 2019; 

Codifier determined that agency's findings of need did not meet 

criteria for emergency rule on June 22, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. June 30, 2023; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2023 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.7. 150B-

21.7; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 27, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 14E .0111 INSPECTIONS 

(a)  Any clinic certified licensed by the Division to perform 

abortions shall be inspected by representatives of the Division 

annually and as it may deem necessary as a condition of holding 

such license. An inspection shall may be conducted whenever the 

Division receives a complaint alleging the clinic is not in 

compliance with the rules of the Subchapter. purpose of the 

inspection is to determine whether the clinic complies with the 

rules of this Subchapter Subchapter. or whenever there is reason 

to believe that some condition exists which is not in compliance 

with the rules of this Subchapter. 

(b)  The Division shall have authority to investigate any complaint 

relative to the care, treatment, or complication of any patient. 

(c)(b)  Representatives of the Division shall make their identities 

known to the person in charge  clinic staff prior to inspection of 

the clinic.  

(d)(c)  Representatives of the Division may review any records in 

any medium necessary to determine compliance with the rules of 

this Subchapter, Subchapter. while maintaining The Department 

shall maintain the confidentiality of the complainant and the 

patient, unless otherwise required by law. 

(e)(d)  The clinic shall allow the Division to have immediate 

access to its premises and the records necessary to conduct an 

inspection and determine compliance with the rules of this 

Subchapter. 

(f)(e)  A clinic shall file a written plan of correction for cited 

deficiencies within 10 business days of receipt of the report of the 

survey. The Division shall review and respond to a written plan 

of correction within 10 business days of receipt of the corrective 

action plan. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 14-45.1(a); 14-45.1(a1); 143B-

10; 131E-153; 131E-153.6; S.L. 2013-366, s. 4(c); S.L. 2023-14, 

s. [2.2;]2.4; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. December 19, 1977; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2015; July 1, 1994; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 24, 2019; 

Codifier determined that agency's findings of need did not meet 

criteria for emergency rule on June 22, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. June 30, 2023; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2023 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.7. 150B-

21.7; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 27, 2023. 

 

 

TITLE 16 – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION 

 

Rule-making Agency:  State Board of Education 

Rule Citation:  16 NCAC 06C .0408 

 

Effective Date:  October 27, 2023 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  October 19, 

2023 

 

Reason for Action:  S.L. 2023-14, Part V – as amended by S.L. 

2023-65, Part XIII-A, and S.L. 2023-134, Section 7.83 – added 

G.S. 126-8.6 to the North Carolina General Statutes, which 

provides for paid parental leave for State employees and 

employees of other public entities, including the public school 

system. G.S. 126-8.6(c) directs the State Human Resources 

Commission (SHRC) to adopt rules and policies providing for 

State employees to receive paid parental leave of up to 8 weeks 

after giving birth to a child and up to 4 weeks after any other 

qualifying event (defined as becoming a parent of a child). G.S. 

126-8.6(e) directs the "appropriate governing board, officer, or 

entity" to adopt rules and policies awarding paid parental leave 

to other employees covered by the law that are "substantially 

equivalent" to those adopted by the State Human Resources 

Commission. As the governing board for the North Carolina 

public school system, the State Board of Education is charged 

with adopting paid parental leave rules for public school 

employees. The SHRC adopted its temporary rules, effective 

August 25, 2023, and published in the North Carolina Register at 

38:06 NCR 354-357. The SBE has adopted a temporary rule in 

accordance with the statutory requirement that it be 

"substantially equivalent" to the SHRC rules and will move 

forward with permanent rulemaking in a timely fashion. 

 

CHAPTER 06 - ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY 

EDUCATION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06C - PERSONNEL 

 

SECTION .0400 – ANNUITIES AND PENSIONS 

 

16 NCAC 06C .0408 PARENTAL LEAVE 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, the following definitions shall 

apply: 

(1) "Child" means a newborn biological child or a 

newly placed adopted, foster, or otherwise 

legally placed child under the age of 18 whose 

parent is an eligible employee. 

(2) "Continuous" leave means leave taken over a 

continuous period for the full amount of leave 

to which an eligible employee is entitled under 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(2)(3) "Eligible employee" means a person employed 

to fill a permanent, probationary, or time-

limited position in a public-school unit ("PSU") 

who meets the eligibility requirements set forth 

in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. "Eligible 

employee" shall not include temporary 

employees or independent contractors. 

(4) "Intermittent" leave means leave taken in 

separate periods for a single qualify event that 

cumulatively equal the amount of leave to 
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which an eligible employee is entitled under 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule. Intermittent leave 

may include periods of leave ranging from half 

of an employee's regularly scheduled workday 

to several consecutive workdays. 

(3)(5) "Parent" means the legal guardian or custodian 

of a child through birth, adoption, foster care, 

or other legal placement. 

(4)(6) "Public school unit" or "PSU" is defined in G.S. 

115C-5(7a). This Rule shall only apply to a 

charter school if the board of directors for the 

charter school has opted to provide for paid 

parental leave in accordance with G.S. 115C-

218.90(a)(6). 

(5)(7) "Qualifying event" means when an eligible 

employee becomes a parent to a child. 

(b)  To be eligible for paid parental leave, a PSU employee shall, 

at the time of the qualifying event, have been in pay status status, 

as defined in 25 NCAC 01D .0105, with a PSU, state agency, or 

other public entity providing paid parental leave under G.S. 126-

8.6 for at least 1,040 hours with the same PSU and without a break 

in service within the previous 12-month period. The employee 

may aggregate periods of employment with different employers 

to satisfy this requirement, except that any period of employment 

by a charter school shall not satisfy this requirement unless the 

governing board of the charter school has elected to provide paid 

parental leave in accordance with G.S. 115C-218.90(a)(6). For 

purposes of this Rule, a break in service is defined in 25 NCAC 

01D .0114, provided it shall not include: 

(1) Any period in the past 12 months during which 

the employee was receiving workers' 

compensation under G.S. 97-1 et seq. or on 

short-term disability under G.S. 135-105. 

(2) Any period in which the employee was on leave 

without pay. 

(3) Any period in which the employee was absent 

due to military service in the Armed Forces of 

the United States, in accordance with the 

Uniformed Services Employment and 

Reemployment Rights Act of 1994, 38 U.S.C. 

4301–4333. 

(3)(4) For a 10- or 11-month employee whose 

employment will continue for the following 

school year, the time between the conclusion of 

one employment period and the 

commencement of the following employment 

period. 

(5) For an employee who transitions from one 

employer offering paid parental leave under 

G.S. 126-8.6 to another employer providing 

paid parental leave under G.S. 126-8.6, any 

time between the date of separation from the 

first employer and the date of hire for the 

second employer, not to exceed 31 days. 

(c)  A full-time eligible employee who becomes a parent to a child 

shall be entitled to the following: 

(1) Up to eight weeks of paid parental leave after 

giving birth to a child; or 

(2) Up to four weeks of paid parental leave after 

any other qualifying event. 

(d)  A part-time eligible employee who becomes a parent to a child 

shall be entitled to a prorated share of paid parental leave based 

upon the hours in the employee's regular, weekly schedule 

compared to the hours worked by a full-time employee in a similar 

position within the PSU, provided that the prorated share of leave 

shall not exceed: 

(1) Eight weeks of paid parental leave after the 

parent gives birth to a child; or 

(2) Four weeks of paid parental leave after any 

other qualifying event. 

(e)  The paid parental leave provided by this Rule shall result in 

compensation at 100 percent of the eligible employee's regular, 

straight-time pay. 

(f)  The paid parental leave provided under this Rule is in addition 

to any other leave authorized by this Chapter, State or federal law, 

or policies established by the PSU, provided that the paid parental 

leave: 

(1) Shall not be counted against or deducted from 

an eligible employee's sick, vacation, or other 

accrued leave. 

(2) Shall be reported by the PSU separately from 

all other paid leave. 

(3) Shall not accrue and is not eligible for donation 

to another employee. 

(4) Shall no longer be available to the employee 

upon separation from employment with the 

PSU. 

(5)(4) Shall not be used for calculating the employee's 

retirement benefits. 

(5) Shall run concurrently with any leave to which 

the employee may be entitled under the Family 

and Medical Leave Act, 28 U.S.C. 2601–2654, 

provided the PSU has complied with the 

appropriate notice requirements in 29 C.F.R. 

825.300. 

(g)  An eligible employee who requests paid parental leave shall 

do so in accordance with policies adopted by the employee's PSU, 

subject to the following: 

(1) The paid parental leave may be used any time 

during the 12 months following a qualifying 

event. event on either a continuous or 

intermittent basis. A PSU shall not deny, delay, 

or require intermittent use of paid parental leave 

to an eligible employee, except by mutual 

agreement of the PSU and employee. deny or 

delay an employee's request to use paid parental 

leave, or otherwise require the employee to use 

the leave on a prescribed schedule, without the 

employee's consent. 

(2) The employee shall provide advanced notice to 

the PSU of the employee's intent to use paid 

parental leave in accordance with policies 

adopted by the PSU. When reasonably possible, 

the employee shall provide notice at least 10 

weeks in advance of a qualifying event, but 

under no circumstances shall a PSU require 

more than 10 weeks' notice. 
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(3) The paid parental leave provided by this Rule 

may be used only once for a qualifying event 

within a 12-month period. Multiple births, 

adoptions, or other legal placements within the 

same 12-month period shall not entitle an 

otherwise eligible employee to more than one 

award of paid parental leave. 

(4) If both parents of a child are employed by the 

same PSU, the PSU shall permit both parents to 

take paid parental leave simultaneously if they 

so request, subject to Subparagraphs (1) and (2) 

of this Paragraph. 

(5) An employee shall forfeit any unused paid 

parental leave 12 months after the date of the 

qualifying event. 

(h)  This paid parental leave provided by this Rule applies only to 

requests for paid parental leave related to qualifying events 

occurring on or after July 1, 2023. Nothing in this Rule shall 

prohibit an employer, if authorized, from providing paid parental 

leave in amounts greater than what is required by this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12(5); 115C-12(8); 115C-

12(16); 115C-272; 115C-285; 115C-302.1; 115C-315; 126-8.6; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 27, 2023. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission October 19, 2023 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  

Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING 

MINUTES 
October 19, 2023 

 
The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, October 19, 2023, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church 
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, and via WebEx. 
 
Commissioners Wayne R. Boyles III, Jeanette Doran, Jeff Hyde, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, and Jake 
Parker were present in the Commission Room.  
 
Staff member Alexander Burgos, Commission Counsel Seth Ascher, Brian Liebman, and Bill Peaslee were in the 
Commission room.  
 
The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. with Chair Doran presiding.  
 
The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to 
avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest. 
 
Chair Doran introduced Associate Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court, Philip Berger, Jr., to the Commission. 
 
Justice Berger administered the Oath of Office to newly appointed Commissioner Brandon Leebrick. 
 
The Chair read into the record the Evaluation of Statement of Economic Interest for Brandon Leebrick, which states the NC 
Ethics Commission did not find an actual conflict of interest but found the potential for a conflict of interest. The potential 
conflict identified does not prohibit service on this entity. 
 
The Chair notified the Commissioners that the following items on the agenda would be taken up out of order at the end of 
the agenda: Follow-up matters Tabs I and J for the Department of Revenue and temporary rules from DHHS - Division of 
Health Service Regulation. 
 
The Chair notified the Commission that since all Commissioners attending the meeting are present in the Commission 
Room, the RRC is not required to cast roll-call votes; therefore, roll-call votes were not called at this meeting’s agenda. 
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APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the October 5, 2023, special meeting minutes. 
There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
 
The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the September 21, 2023, meeting minutes. There 
were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
 
FOLLOW UP MATTERS 
Board of Agriculture 
02 NCAC 52B .0214; 52J .0901, .0902, .0903, and .0904 - The Commission extended the period of review for these Rules 
at the September meeting. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Medical Care Commission 
10A NCAC 13F .0702, .1307; 13G .0705, and .1301 - The Commission extended the period of review for these Rules at the 
September meeting. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Department of Justice 
12 NCAC 02J .0201 - The Commission extended the period of review for this Rule at the September meeting. No action 
was required by the Commission. 
 
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 
12 NCAC 09B .0209, .0403, .0501, .0502; 09C .0306; 09G .0405, and .0406 - The Commission extended the period of 
review for these Rules at the September meeting. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission 
12 NCAC 10B .0604, .0605, .0606, .0607, .0704, and .0714 - All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Private Protective Services Board 
14B NCAC 16 .0201, .0205, .0403, .0807, .1101, .1501, .1502, .1601, .1701, .1706, and .1707 - All rules were unanimously 
approved. 
 
Environmental Management Commission 
15A NCAC 02D .0503, .0506, .0532, .0614, .0918, .0926, .0927, .0928, .0932, .0960, .0961, .0964, .1403, .1708; 02Q .0102, 
and .0706 - All rules were unanimously approved. 
 
Coastal Resources Commission 
Prior to the review of rules from the Coastal Resources Commission, Commissioner Parker recused himself and did not 
participate in any discussion or vote concerning these Rules because of a conflict of interest. 
 
15A NCAC 07H .0208, .0308; and 07M .0603 - The Commission objected to these Rules at the August meeting.  The agency 
has not responded to the Commission’s objection.  No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Department of Revenue 
17 NCAC 07B .0104, .0106, .0108, .0112, .0117, .0121, and .0801 were unanimously approved.   
 
The Commission voted to object to 17 NCAC 07B .1202 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.9(a), finding the rule to be unnecessary 
with Commissioner Hyde voting against the objection. Additionally, the Commission unanimously objected to 17 NCAC 07B 
.1303, .1404, .1601, .1605, .1705, .2001, .2002, .2204, and .4109 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.9(a) for lack of necessity.  
 
The Commission unanimously voted to object to 17 NCAC 07B .1202, .1303, .1404, .1601, .1605, .1705, .2001, .2002, 
.2204, and .4109 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.9(a)(2) lack of clarity and G.S. 150-29.9(a)(1) for lack of authority.  
 
17 NCAC 07B .0115, .3101, and .3107 – The Commission objected to these Rules at the September meeting. No action 
was required by the Commission. 
 
17 NCAC 07B .0901, .0902, .0904, .1101, .1123, .1302, .1305, .1602, .1701, .1702, .1704, .1801, .1905, .1907, .2101, 
.2102, .2105, .2201, .2205, .2209, .2210, .2212, .2213, .2301, .2401, .2603, .2604, .2605, .2701, .2702, .2801, .2802, .2901, 
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.3004, .3009, .3101, .3106, .3107, .3301, .3302, .3801, .3804, .3907, .3910, .4102, .4105, and .4106  - The Commission 
extended the period of review for these Rules at the September meeting. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Department of Revenue 
17 NCAC 07B .4204, .4716, .4802, and .4803 were unanimously approved.   
The Commission unanimously voted to object to 17 NCAC 07B .4707 and .5004 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.9(a)(3) for lack 
of necessity. Additionally, the Commission unanimously voted to object to 17 NCAC .4202, .4207, .4801, and .5001 pursuant 
to G.S. 105B-21.9(a)(2) finding the rules to be unclear or ambiguous.  
 
The Commission unanimously voted to object to 17 NCAC 07B .4201, .4202, .4707, .4708, and .5001 pursuant to G.S. 
150B-21.9(a)(2) lack of clarity and G.S. 150-29.9(a)(1) for lack of authority. 
 
17 NCAC 07B .4206, .4415, and .5002 – The Commission objected to these Rules at the September meeting. No action 
was required by the Commission. 
 
17 NCAC 07B .4201, .4202, .4203, .4205, 4210, .4301, .4302, .4401, .4403, .4404, .4406, .4411, .4413, .4503, .4510, .4609, 
.4614, .4701, .4707, .4708, .4801, .5001, and .5004 - The Commission extended the period of review for these Rules at the 
September meeting. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Andrew Furuseth, with the agency, addressed the Commission.   
 
The Chair called the meeting into a brief recess at 10:17 a.m. 
The meeting resumed at 10:25 a.m. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES) 
Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission 
12 NCAC 10B .2201 was unanimously approved.   
 
Wildlife Resources Commission 
15A NCAC 10A .0401, .0402, .1101, and .1201 were unanimously approved.   
 
State Board of Education 
16 NCAC 06G .0601 was unanimously approved.   
 
Board of Examiners in Optometry  
21 NCAC 42B .0201 was unanimously approved.   
 
The Commission voted to extend the period of review for 21 NCAC 42D .0102 in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.10. They 
did so in response to a request from the agency to extend the period to allow the agency additional time to prepare a 
response to a staff opinion issued on the rule.  Commissioner Hyde voted against the extension. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (TEMPORARY RULES) 
DHHS - Division of Health Service Regulation 
Prior to the review of rules from DHHS - Division of Health Service Regulation, Commissioner Leebrick recused himself and 
did not participate in any discussion or vote concerning these Rules because of a conflict of interest. 
 
10A NCAC 14E .0101 and .0111 were unanimously approved.   
 
The Commission voted to object to 10A NCAC 14E .0104, .0106, .0107, .0109, .0112, .0114, .0201, .0202, .0207, .0209, 
.0210, .0211, .0212, .0315, .0318, .0319, .0320, .0321, .0322, .0323, .0324, .0325, .0326, .0327, .0328, .0329, .0330, and 
.0331 in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.1(b) finding the rules lacked statutory authority pursuant to G.S. 150-21.9(a)(1). 
Additionally, with respect to Rules 10A NCAC 14E .0106 and .0109, the Commission objected to the rules pursuant to G.S. 
150B-21.9(a)(2) finding the rules to be unclear or ambiguous. Commissioner Parker voted against the objection. 
 
Eric Hunt, representing the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
State Board of Education 
16 NCAC 06C .0408 was unanimously approved.   
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EXISTING RULES REVIEW 
15A NCAC 05C – The Commission unanimously voted to amend the 2014-2023 Existing Rules Review Schedule and 
change the due date for 15A NCAC 05C from December 2023 to February 2024. Additionally, the Commission voted to 
approve the joint request from the Mining Commission and the Oil and Gas Commission to reassign 15A NCAC 05C for the 
periodic review from the Mining Commission to the Oil and Gas Commission. 
 
COMMISSION BUSINESS 
The meeting was adjourned at 10:56 a.m. 
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, November 16, 2023, at 9:00 a.m. 
 
 
  
      
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
 
 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Jeanette Doran, Chair 
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Rules Review Commission Meeting October 19, 2023 
Via WebEx 

 

Name   Agency  

Ann Elmore SOSNC 

Ryan Collins DPI 

Marlika Hairston NCCOB 

Adam Parr DEQ 

Katherine Quinlan DEQ 

Julie Ventaloro OSBM 

Joelle Burleson DEQ 

Emily Jones DOT 

Ashley Snyder OAH 

Womenhealth225 Member of Public 

Cameron Ervin CSHLAW 

Canaan Huie MVALAW.COM 

Jillian Riley Member of Public 

Liz Barber acluofnc.org 

Marktom0397 Member of Public 

Ron Williams DOJ 

Emery Milliken DHHS 

Jeff Harms DHHS 

Jonathan Puryear DOR 

Makeda Harris NCHA.ORG 

Laura Rowe Treasurer 

Johnson, Daniel H DOT 

Catherine Blum DEQ 

Hope Ascher Member of Public 

Mark Payne DHHS 

Robert El-Jaouhari CSHLAW.COM 

Ruhlman, Carrie A  WRC 

Anne Coan NCFB 

Melva Bonner WRC 

Dana McGhee OAH 

Eddie Sheehy NCLEG 

Nadine Pfeiffer Member of Public 

Donna Marie Member of Public 

T Moreland Member of Public 
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LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES 

October 19, 2023 Meeting 

SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Trainee Attendance 12 NCAC 10B .0604 

Completion of Detention Officer Certification Course 12 NCAC 10B .0605 

Comp Written Exam - Detention Officer Certification Course 12 NCAC 10B .0606 

Satisfaction of Minimum Training Requirements 12 NCAC 10B .0607 

Responsibilities: Schools and Detention Officer Courses 12 NCAC 10B .0704 

Pilot Course Presentation/Participation 12 NCAC 10B .0714 

Certification Forms 12 NCAC 10B .2201 

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

Application for License and Trainee Permits 14B NCAC 16 .0201 

Company Business License 14B NCAC 16 .0205 

Trainee Permit Requirements 14B NCAC 16 .0403 

Training Requirements for Armed Licensees and Registrants 14B NCAC 16 .0807 

Definitions 14B NCAC 16 .1101 

Experience Requirements for a Close Personal Protection L... 14B NCAC 16 .1501 

Training Requirements for Close Personal Protection License 14B NCAC 16 .1502 

Experience Requirements for a Digital Forensics Examiner ... 14B NCAC 16 .1601 

Definitions 14B NCAC 16 .1701 

Consideration of Experience 14B NCAC 16 .1706 

Enforcement 14B NCAC 16 .1707 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

Particulates from Fuel Burning Indirect Heat Exchangers 15A NCAC 02D .0503 

Particulates from Hot Mix Asphalt Plants 15A NCAC 02D .0506 

Sources Contributing to an Ambient Violation 15A NCAC 02D .0532 

Compliance Assurance Monitoring 15A NCAC 02D .0614 

Can Coating 15A NCAC 02D .0918 

Bulk Gasoline Plants 15A NCAC 02D .0926 

Bulk Gasoline Terminals 15A NCAC 02D .0927 

Gasoline Service Stations Stage 1 15A NCAC 02D .0928 

Gasoline Truck Tanks and Vapor Collection Systems 15A NCAC 02D .0932 

Cargo Tank Leak Tester Report 15A NCAC 02D .0960 

Offset Lithographic Printing and Letterpress Printing 15A NCAC 02D .0961 

Miscellaneous Industrial Adhesives 15A NCAC 02D .0964 

Compliance Schedules 15A NCAC 02D .1403 

Reporting Requirements 15A NCAC 02D .1708 

Activities Exempted from Permit Requirements 15A NCAC 02Q .0102 

Modifications 15A NCAC 02Q .0706 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Form and Contents of Petition 15A NCAC 10A .0401 

Action on Petition 15A NCAC 10A .0402 

Waiver 15A NCAC 10A .1101 

Emergency Powers 15A NCAC 10A .1201 
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EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF 

Remote Academies Hardware and Software Fees 16 NCAC 06G .0601 

REVENUE, DEPARTMENT OF 

Registration and Returns 17 NCAC 07B .0104 

Certificates of Exemption Sales for Resale 17 NCAC 07B .0106 

Trade Discounts and Cash Discounts 17 NCAC 07B .0108 

Occasional and Isolated Sales 17 NCAC 07B .0112 

Property Transfers Between Divisions 17 NCAC 07B .0117 

Bankrupt's Liability 17 NCAC 07B .0121 

Manufacturer's Warranty and Dealer's Warranty; Adjustment... 17 NCAC 07B .0801 

Government Agricultural Offices 17 NCAC 07B .4204 

Typesetting 17 NCAC 07B .4716 

Accrual Basis 17 NCAC 07B .4802 

Cash Basis 17 NCAC 07B .4803 

OPTOMETRY, BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN 

Beginning Practice; Relocating Practice 21 NCAC 42B .0201 

 

 

LIST OF APPROVED TEMPORARY RULES 

October 19, 2023 Meeting 

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF 

Definitions 10A NCAC 14E .0101 

Inspections 10A NCAC 14E .0111 

EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF 

Parental Leave 16 NCAC 06C .0408 

 
 

 

 

 

 


