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The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days but not later than 60 days 

after the date a notice of the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Medical Care Commission 

intends to adopt the rules cited as 10A NCAC 13F .0102, .0408, 

.0607-.0609; 13G .0102, amend the rules cited as 10A NCAC 13F 

.0404; 13G .0404, and readopt with substantive changes the rules 

cited as 10A NCAC 13F .0402, .0601-.0606; and 13G .0601. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ruleactions.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  September 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 24, 2024 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Dorothea Dix Park, Brown Building, Room 104, 801 

Biggs Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A, 

Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 

reviewed at least every 10 years, or they shall expire. As a result 

of the periodic review of Subchapters 10A NCAC 13F, Licensing 

of Adult Care Homes of Seven or More Beds, and 10A NCAC 13G, 

Licensing of Family Care Homes, these proposed readoption 

rules were part of the 97 total rules determined as “Necessary 

With Substantive Public Interest,” requiring readoption. With 

input from stakeholders, substantive changes are proposed to 

eight rules for readoption for the regulation of licensed Adult 

Care Homes and Family Care Homes in N.C. Also proposed are 

the following rules for licensed Adult Care Homes: four rule 

adoptions for definitions, staff qualifications, and staffing 

requirements, and one rule amendment for activity director 

qualifications. In addition, the following rules are proposed for 

licensed Family Care Homes: one rule adoption for definitions 

and one rule amendment for activity director qualification. The 

secondary intent of the proposed rules is to make the rules of these 

two types of assisted living residences comparable, if not the 

same, for regulatory efficiency since they both house the same 

type of residents as permitted by law. 

The proposed rules for Adult Care Homes and Family Care 

Homes update and clarify management and staffing requirements 

for adult care and family care home facilities. New rules are being 

adopted to help define terms commonly used and to clarify terms. 

The proposed changes resulted in a shift in the rule titles and 

numbers to allow for easier reading and to improve 

comprehension. The proposed language removes the position title 

of “administrator-in-charge” and changes the term to 

“manager” for clarity. The agency is proposing changes to 

clarify the responsibilities and involvement of the administrator 

and manager. Technical changes have been made to remove 

requirements based on capacity or census to using only the census 

to determine management and staffing requirements. The 

proposed language reorganizes the rules to delineate 

management responsibilities from management and staffing 

requirements. New rules have been proposed to include the 

requirements and qualifications of a personal care aide 

supervisor, however, do not impose additional requirements for 

facilities as these standards are already required in current rules. 

The rules were amended to clarify qualifications of activity 

directors. In addition, technical changes were made to the 

proposed text, repealed statutory references were removed, rule 

references were updated, unneeded text was removed, and 

clarifying text changes were made to these proposed rules. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Taylor Corpening, 809 

Ruggles Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-

2701; email DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  January 30, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 13 - NC MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13F – LICENSING OF ADULT CARE 

HOMES OF SEVEN OR MORE BEDS 
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SECTION .0100 - DEFINITIONS 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0102 LIST OF DEFINITIONS 

As used in this Subchapter, the following definitions shall apply: 

(1) "Abuse" means the term as defined in G.S. 

131D-2.1. 

(2) "Activities of daily living" or "ADL's" means 

eating, dressing, bathing, toileting, bowel and 

bladder control, transfers, ambulation, and 

communication. 

(3) "Acute care needs" means symptoms or a 

condition that develops quickly and is not a part 

of the resident's baseline health or mental health 

status or is a change or worsening in the 

symptoms of a resident's chronic condition, 

which may have a slower onset and worsen over 

time. 

(4) "Administrator" means the term as defined in 

G.S. 90-288.13 and G.S. 131D-2.1. 

(5) "Adult care home" means the term as defined in 

G.S. 131D-2.1. 

(6) "Alternative examination" means a test 

developed and administered by the Department 

to meet the educational requirements of an 

activity director, administrator-in-charge, 

manager, or personal care aide supervisor for 

those applicants who do not possess a high 

school diploma or General Education Diploma 

(G.E.D.) prior to September 1, 2024. 

(7) "Aide duty" means time spent by qualified staff 

providing assistance with activities of daily 

living, medication administration, or 

supervision of residents as determined by the 

resident's assessment, care plan, physician's 

orders, and current symptoms. 

(8) "Department" means the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(9) "Discharge" means a resident's termination of 

their residency at the adult care home, resulting 

in the resident's move to another location. 

(10) "Exploitation" means the term as defined in 

G.S. 131D-2.1. 

(11) "Facility" means a licensed adult care home. 

(12) "First shift" means the hours of work between 

7:01 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. 

(13) "Food service duties" means tasks that may be 

performed by staff related to serving meals to 

residents, including assisting with food 

preparation, arranging, and setting the dining 

tables, serving food and beverages, and 

cleaning the dining room after meal service is 

complete. 

(14) "Housekeeping duties" means tasks that may be 

performed by staff such as cleaning and 

sanitizing facility common areas and resident 

rooms, sweeping, vacuuming, dusting, 

mopping, collecting, and disposing of trash. 

(15) "Legal representative" means a person 

authorized by state or federal law (including but 

not limited to power of attorney, legal guardian, 

or representative payee) to act on behalf of the 

resident to support the resident in decision-

making; access medical, social, or other 

personal information of the resident; and 

manage financial matters or receive 

notifications. 

(16) "Long-term care" means a continuum of care 

and services available in an individual's 

community that provides the care and supports 

required during a persistent or chronic state of 

health, throughout which time a person is 

unable to independently perform some or all 

activities of daily living or requires supervision 

due to physical or cognitive impairment. 

(17) "Manager" means an individual responsible for 

the day-to-day operation of an adult care home 

in the absence of the administrator and under 

the direction and supervision of the 

administrator as described in Rule .0402 of this 

Subchapter. 

(18) "Medication aide" means an individual who 

administers medications to residents and meets 

all requirements as set forth in Rule .0403 of 

this Subchapter. 

(19) "Neglect" means the term as defined in G.S. 

131D-2.1. 

(20) "On-call" means able to be contacted by two-

way telecommunication. 

(21) "On-duty" in reference to an administrator 

means the administrator is on-site and directly 

responsible for the day-to-day operations of a 

facility. "On-duty" in reference to a manager 

means a manager designated by the 

administrator as required in Rule .0402 of this 

Subchapter and who is on-site and directly 

responsible for the day-to-day operations of a 

facility under the direction and supervision of 

the administrator. 

(22) "Personal care aide" means a staff member who 

performs personal care services as defined by 

G.S. 131D-2.1. 

(23) "Physical restraint" means any physical or 

mechanical device attached to or adjacent to the 

resident's body that the resident cannot remove 

easily, and which restricts freedom of 

movement or normal access to one's body. 

(24) "Physician extender" means a licensed 

physician assistant or a licensed nurse 

practitioner. 

(25) "Resident" means the term as defined in G.S. 

131D-2.1. 

(26) "Responsible person" means a person chosen 

by the resident to act on their behalf to support 

the resident in decision-making; access to 

medical, social, or other personal information 

of the resident; manage financial matters; or 

receive notifications. 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

38:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 1, 2023 

664 

(27) "Second shift" means the hours of work 

between 3:01 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. 

(28) "Staff" means any person who performs duties 

as an employee, paid or unpaid, on behalf of the 

adult care home. 

(29) "Supervision" means oversight, monitoring, 

and interventions implemented by the facility 

for the purpose of mitigating the risk of an 

accident, incident, illness, or injury to a resident 

to ensure the health, safety, and welfare of the 

resident and other residents. 

(30) "Supervisor" means a personal care aide 

supervisor as defined in Rule .0609 of this 

Subchapter. 

(31) "Third shift" means the hours of work between 

11:01 p.m. and 7:00 a.m. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-153. 

 

SECTION .0400 - STAFF QUALIFICATIONS 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0402 QUALIFICATIONS OF 

ADMINISTRATOR-IN-CHARGE MANAGER 

The facility shall designate a manager when the administrator is 

absent from the facility. The administrator-in-charge, manager, 

who is responsible to the administrator for carrying out the 

program in day-to-day operations of an adult care home in the 

absence of the administrator, administrator. The administrator 

remains ultimately responsible for the adult care home, and the 

manager shall serve under the direction and supervision of the 

administrator. The manager shall meet the following 

requirements: 

(1) be 21 years or older; 

(2) be a high school graduate or certified under the 

G.E.D. program program, or if hired before 

September 1, 2024, have passed an the 

alternative examination established by the 

Department; 

(3) have six months training or experience related 

to management or supervision in long term care 

or health care settings or be a licensed health 

professional, professional such as a mental 

health professional, nurse practitioner, 

physician assistant, or registered nurse, licensed 

a nursing home administrator administrator 

certified pursuant to G.S. 90-276(4), or certified 

an assisted living administrator; administrator 

certified pursuant to G.S. 90-288.14; and 

(4) earn 12 hours a year of continuing education 

credits related to in the management of adult 

care homes or care of aged and disabled 

persons. the elderly and individuals with 

physical, intellectual, or developmental 

disabilities, cognitive impairment, and mental 

illness. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D.2.16; 131D-4.5; 131D-25; 143B-165. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0404 QUALIFICATIONS OF 

ACTIVITY DIRECTOR 

Adult care homes shall have an activity director who meets the 

following qualifications: 

(1) The activity director hired after September 30, 

2022 shall meet a minimum educational 

requirement by being a high school graduate or 

certified under the GED Program. 

(2) The activity director hired after September 30, 

2022 shall complete, within nine months of 

employment or assignment to this position, the 

basic activity course for assisted living activity 

directors offered by community colleges or a 

comparable activity course as determined by 

the Department based on instructional hours 

and content. An activity director shall be 

exempt from the required basic activity course 

if one or more of the following applies: 

(a) be a licensed recreational therapist or 

be eligible for certification as a 

therapeutic recreation specialist as 

defined by the North Carolina 

Recreational Therapy Licensure Act in 

accordance with G.S. 90C; 

(b) have two years of experience working 

in programming for an adult recreation 

or activities program within the last 

five years, one year of which was full-

time in an activities program for 

patients or residents in a health care or 

long term care setting; 

(c) be a licensed occupational therapist or 

licensed occupational therapy 

assistant in accordance with G.S. 90, 

Article 18D; or 

(d) be certified as an Activity Director 

Professional by the National 

Certification Council for Activity 

Professionals. Professionals; or 

(e) the required basic activity course was 

completed prior to September 1, 2024. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.5; 143B-165. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0408 QUALIFICATIONS OF 

PERSONAL CARE AIDE SUPERVISOR 

(a)  Facilities with a census of 31 or more residents shall employ 

a Personal Care Aide Supervisor as defined in Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule. The term "Supervisor" as used throughout Section 

.0600 of this Subchapter refers to the Personal Care Aide 

Supervisor. 

(b)  A supervisor shall meet the following qualifications: 

(1) be 21 years or older; 

(2) be a high school graduate or certified under the 

G.E.D. program or if hired before September 1, 

2024, have passed an alternative examination 

established by the Department; 

(3) meet the health requirements according to Rule 

.0406 of this Section; 
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(4) have six months of experience in performing or 

supervising the performance of the duties to be 

supervised during the period of three years prior 

to July 1, 2000 or the date of hire, whichever is 

later, or be a licensed health professional such 

as a mental health professional, nurse 

practitioner, physician assistant, or registered 

nurse, or a nursing home administrator certified 

pursuant to G.S. 90-276(4); 

(5) meet the same minimum training and 

competency requirements of the aides being 

supervised; and 

(6) earn 12 hours a year of continuing education 

credits related to the care of the elderly and 

individuals with physical, intellectual, or 

developmental disabilities, cognitive 

impairment, and mental illness. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.3; 143B-165. 

 

SECTION .0600 - STAFFING 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0601 MANAGEMENT OF FACILITIES 

WITH A CAPACITY OR CENSUS OF SEVEN TO 

THIRTY RESIDENTS FACILITIES - GENERAL 

ADMINISTRATOR AND MANAGER 

RESPONSIBILITIES 

(a)  Each adult care home shall have an An adult care home 

administrator who is certified in accordance with Rule .1701 of 

this Subchapter. The administrator shall be responsible for the 

total operation of an adult care home and management of the 

facility to assure that all care and services are provided to maintain 

the health, safety, and welfare of the residents in accordance with 

all applicable local, state, and federal regulations and codes. The 

administrator shall also be responsible to the Division of Health 

Service Regulation and the county department of social services 

for meeting and maintaining complying with the rules of this 

Subchapter. The co-administrator, when there is one, shall share 

equal responsibility with the administrator for the operation of the 

home and for meeting and maintaining the rules of this 

Subchapter. The term administrator "administrator" also refers to 

co-administrator where it is used in this Subchapter. 

(b)  At all times there shall be one administrator or 

administrator-in-charge who is directly responsible for assuring 

that all required duties are carried out in the home and for assuring 

that at no time is a resident left alone in the home without a staff 

member. Except for the provisions in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, 

one of the following arrangements shall be used to manage a 

facility with a capacity or census of 7 to 30 residents: 

(1) The administrator is in the home or within 500 

feet of the home with a means of two-way 

telecommunication with the home at all times; 

(2) An administrator-in-charge is in the home or 

within 500 feet of the home with a means of 

two-way telecommunication with the home at 

all times; or 

(3) When there is a cluster of licensed homes, each 

with a capacity of 7 to 12 residents, located 

adjacently on the same site, there shall be at 

least one staff member, either live-in or on a 

shift basis in each of these homes. In addition, 

there shall be at least one administrator or 

administrator-in-charge who is within 500 feet 

of each home with a means of two-way 

telecommunication with each home at all times 

and directly responsible for assuring that all 

required duties are carried out in each home. 

(c)  When the administrator or administrator-in-charge is absent 

from the home or not within 500 feet of the home, the following 

shall apply: 

(1) For absences of a non-routine nature that do not 

exceed 24 hours per week, a 

relief-person-in-charge designated by the 

administrator shall be in charge of the home 

during the absence and in the home or within 

500 feet of the home according to the 

requirements in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. The 

administrator shall assure that the 

relief-person-in-charge is prepared to respond 

in case of an emergency in the home. The 

relief-person-in-charge shall be 21 years or 

older. 

(2) For recurring or planned absences, a 

relief-administrator-in-charge designated by 

the administrator shall be in charge of the home 

during the absence and in the home or within 

500 feet of the home according to the 

requirements in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. The 

relief-administrator-in-charge shall meet all of 

the qualifications required for the 

administrator-in-charge as specified in Rule 

.0402 of this Subchapter with the exception of 

Item (4) pertaining to the continuing education 

requirement. 

(b)  An adult care home manager shall be responsible for carrying 

out the day-to-day operations and all required duties of an adult 

care home in the absence of an administrator. 

(c)  The administrator shall have knowledge of and shall ensure 

the following: 

(1) the investigation and reporting of any 

allegations of resident abuse, neglect, and 

exploitation as specified in Rule .1212(d) of this 

Subchapter; 

(2) the investigation and reporting of any suspicion 

of or allegations of drug diversion as specified 

in Rule .1008 of this Subchapter; 

(3) the reporting of any incidents of resident 

elopement or when a resident is missing from 

the facility, as required in Rule .1212(e)(2) and 

Rule .0906(f)(4) of this Subchapter; and 

(4) the investigation and reporting of any incident 

or accident resulting in the hospitalization or 

death of a resident, as specified in Rule .1208 

and Rule .1212 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  The administrator shall be made aware when the facility is 

unable to meet the staffing requirements of this Section. 

(e)  The administrator shall be made aware any time the facility 

seeks the assistance of the local law enforcement authority. 
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(f)  For facilities with a census of 7 to 30 residents, the manager 

or staff person on duty shall immediately notify the administrator 

of any of the circumstances listed in Paragraphs (c), (d), and (e) 

of this Rule. 

(g)  For facilities with a census of 31 or more the manager or 

supervisor shall immediately notify the administrator of any of the 

circumstances listed in Paragraphs (c), (d), and (e) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.3; 131D-4.4; 131D-4.5; 

131D-25; 143B-165. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0602 MANAGEMENT OF FACILITIES 

WITH A CAPACITY OR CENSUS OF 31 TO 80 SEVEN 

TO THIRTY RESIDENTS 

(a)  In facilities with a capacity or census of 31 to 80 residents, 

there shall be an administrator on call, which means able to be 

contacted by telephone, pager or two-way intercom, at all times 

when not in the building. (For staffing chart, see Rule .0606 of 

this Subchapter.) 

(b)  When the administrator is not on duty in the facility, there 

shall be a person designated as administrator-in-charge on duty in 

the facility who has the responsibility for the overall operation of 

the facility and meets the qualifications for administrator-in-

charge required in Rule .0602 of this Section. The personal care 

aide supervisor, as required in Rule .0605 of this Subchapter, may 

serve simultaneously as the administrator-in-charge. 

In a facility with a census of greater than seven but less than 31 

residents, there shall be one administrator or manager who is 

directly responsible for assuring that all required duties are carried 

out in the facility. One of the following arrangements shall be used 

to manage a facility with a census of seven to 30 residents: 

(1) the administrator is in the facility or within 500 

feet of the facility with a means of two-way 

telecommunication with the facility at all times; 

(2) a manager is in the facility or within 500 feet of 

the facility with a means of two-way 

telecommunication with the facility at all times; 

or 

(3) when there is a cluster of licensed facilities, 

each with a census of 12 or fewer residents, 

there shall be at least one staff member, either 

live-in or on a shift basis in each of these 

facilities. In addition, there shall be at least one 

administrator or manager who is within 500 feet 

of each home with a means of two-way 

telecommunication with each facility at all 

times and directly responsible for assuring that 

all required duties are carried out in each 

facility. For the purpose of the rules in this 

Section, "a cluster of licensed facilities" means 

up to six licensed adult care homes which are 

under common ownership and are located 

adjacently on the same site. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.3; 131D-4.5; 131D-25; 143B-

165. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0603 MANAGEMENT OF FACILITIES 

WITH A CAPACITY OR CENSUS OF 81 OR MORE 31 

TO 80 RESIDENTS 

(a)  An adult care home with a capacity or census of 81 or more 

residents shall be under the direct control of an administrator, who 

shall be responsible for the operation, administration, 

management and supervision of the facility on a full-time basis to 

assure that all care and services to residents are provided in 

accordance with all applicable local, state and federal regulations 

and codes. The administrator shall be on duty in the facility at 

least eight hours per day, five days per week and shall not serve 

simultaneously as a personal care aide supervisor or other staff to 

meet staffing requirements while on duty as an administrator or 

be an administrator for another adult care home except as follows. 

If there is more than one facility on a contiguous parcel of land or 

campus setting, and the combined licensed capacity of the 

facilities is 200 beds or less, there may be one administrator on 

duty for all the facilities on the campus. The administrator shall 

not serve simultaneously as a personal care aide supervisor in this 

campus setting. For staffing chart, see Rule .0606 of this 

Subchapter. 

(b)  When the administrator is not on duty in the facility, there 

shall be a person designated as administrator-in-charge on duty in 

the facility who has responsibility for the overall operation of the 

facility. The supervisor may serve simultaneously as the 

administrator-in-charge. Each facility on a contiguous parcel of 

land or campus setting, as described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, 

shall have a person designated as the administrator-in-charge in 

the facility when the administrator is not on duty. 

(c)  The administrator shall be on call, which means able to be 

contacted by telephone, pager or two-way intercom at all times 

when not in the building. 

Each facility with a census of greater than 30 but less than 81 

residents shall: 

(1) have an administrator on-call at all times when 

not in the building; and 

(2) have a manager on-duty in the facility when the 

administrator is not on-duty in the facility. The 

personal care aide supervisor, as required in 

Rule .0608 of this Section, may serve 

simultaneously as the manager. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.3; 131D-4.5; 131D-25; 143B-

165. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0604 PERSONAL CARE AND OTHER 

STAFFING MANAGEMENT OF FACILITIES WITH A 

CENSUS OF 81 OR MORE RESIDENTS 

(a)  Adult care homes shall staff to the licensed capacity of the 

home or to the resident census. When a home is staffing to 

resident census, a daily census log shall be maintained which lists 

current residents by name, room assignment and date of admission 

and must be available for review by the Division of Health Service 

Regulation and the county departments of social services. 

(b)  Homes with capacity or census of 12 or fewer residents shall 

comply with the following. 

(1) At all times there shall be an administrator or 

administrator-in-charge in the home or within 
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500 feet of the home with a means of two-way 

telecommunication. 

(2) When the administrator or administrator-in-

charge is not on duty within the home, there 

shall be at least one staff member on duty on the 

first and second shifts and at least one staff 

member on call within the building on third 

shift. There shall be a call system connecting 

the bedroom of the staff member, who may be 

asleep on the third shift, with each resident's 

bedroom. 

(3) When the administrator or administrator-in-

charge is on duty within the home on the first 

and second shifts and on call within the home 

on the third shift, another staff member (i.e., 

co-administrator, administrator-in-charge or 

aide) shall be in the building or within 500 feet 

of the home with a means of two-way 

telecommunication at all times. 

(4) The administrator shall prepare a plan of 

operation for the home (each home in a cluster) 

specifying the staff involved, their regularly 

assigned duties and the amount of time 

estimated to be spent for each duty. There shall 

be a current plan of operation on file in the 

home, available for review by the Division of 

Health Service Regulation and the county 

department of social services. 

(5) At least 12 hours shall be spent daily providing 

for the personal services, health services, drug 

management, planned activities, and other 

direct services needed by the residents. These 

duties are the primary responsibility of the staff 

member(s) on duty on the first and second 

shifts; however, other help, such as 

administrator-in-charge and activities 

coordinator may be used to assist in providing 

these services. 

(6) Between the hours of 9 p.m. and 7 a.m. the staff 

member on duty and the person on call may 

perform housekeeping and food service duties 

as long as a staff member can respond 

immediately to resident calls or the residents 

are otherwise supervised. The duties shall not 

hinder care of residents or immediate response 

to resident calls, disrupt residents' normal 

lifestyles and sleeping patterns, nor take a staff 

member out of view of where the residents are. 

(7) There shall be staff available daily to assure 

housekeeping and food service. 

(c)  A cluster of homes with capacity or census of 12 or fewer 

residents shall comply with the following staffing: 

(1) When there is a cluster of up to six licensed 

homes located adjacently, there shall be at least 

one administrator or administrator-in-charge 

who lives within 500 feet of each of the homes 

with a means of two-way telecommunication at 

all times and who is directly responsible for 

assuring that all required duties are carried out 

in each home; and 

(2) In each of the homes, at least one staff member 

shall be on duty on the first and second shifts 

and at least one staff member shall be on call 

within the building during the third shift. There 

shall be a call system connecting the bedroom 

of the staff member, who may be asleep on the 

third shift, with each resident's bedroom. 

(d)  Homes with capacity or census of 13-20 shall comply with 

the following staffing. When the home is staffing to census and 

the census falls below 13 residents, the staffing requirements for 

a home with 12 or fewer residents shall apply. 

(1) At all times there shall be an administrator or 

administrator-in-charge in the home or within 

500 feet of the home with a means of two-way 

telecommunication. 

(2) When the administrator or administrator-in-

charge is not on duty within the home, there 

shall be at least one staff member on duty on the 

first, second and third shifts. 

(3) When the administrator or administrator-in-

charge is on duty within the home, another staff 

member (i.e. co-administrator, administrator-

in-charge or aide) shall be in the building or 

within 500 feet of the home with a means of 

two-way telecommunication at all times. 

(4) The job responsibility of the staff member on 

duty within the home is to provide the direct 

personal assistance and supervision needed by 

the residents. Any housekeeping duties 

performed by the staff member between the 

hours of 7 a.m. and 9 p.m. shall be limited to 

occasional, non-routine tasks. The staff 

member may perform housekeeping duties 

between the hours of 9 p.m. and 7 a.m. as long 

as such duties do not hinder care of residents or 

immediate response to resident calls, do not 

disrupt residents' normal lifestyles and sleeping 

patterns and do not take the staff member out of 

view of where the residents are. The staff 

member on duty to attend to the residents shall 

not be assigned food service duties. 

(5) In addition to the staff member(s) on duty to 

attend to the residents, there shall be staff 

available daily to perform housekeeping and 

food service duties. 

(e)  Homes with capacity or census of 21 or more shall comply 

with the following staffing. When the home is staffing to census 

and the census falls below 21 residents, the staffing requirements 

for a home with a census of 13-20 shall apply. 

(1) The home shall have staff on duty to meet the 

needs of the residents. The daily total of aide 

duty hours on each 8-hour shift shall at all times 

be at least: 

(A) First shift (morning) - 16 hours of aide 

duty for facilities with a census or 

capacity of 21 to 40 residents; and 16 

hours of aide duty plus four additional 
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hours of aide duty for every additional 

10 or fewer residents for facilities with 

a census or capacity of 40 or more 

residents. (For staffing chart, see Rule 

.0606 of this Subchapter.) 

(B) Second shift (afternoon) - 16 hours of 

aide duty for facilities with a census or 

capacity of 21 to 40 residents; and 16 

hours of aide duty plus four additional 

hours of aide duty for every additional 

10 or fewer residents for facilities with 

a census or capacity of 40 or more 

residents. (For staffing chart, see Rule 

.0606 of this Subchapter.) 

(C) Third shift (evening) - 8.0 hours of 

aide duty per 30 or fewer residents 

(licensed capacity or resident census). 

(For staffing chart, see Rule .0606 of 

this Subchapter.) 

(D) The facility shall have additional aide 

duty to meet the needs of the facility's 

heavy care residents equal to the 

amount of time reimbursed by 

Medicaid. As used in this Rule, the 

term, "heavy care resident", means an 

individual residing in an adult care 

home who is defined as "heavy care" 

by Medicaid and for which the facility 

is receiving enhanced Medicaid 

payments. 

(E) The Department shall require 

additional staff if it determines the 

needs of residents cannot be met by 

the staffing requirements of this Rule. 

(2) The following describes the nature of the aide's 

duties, including allowances and limitations: 

(A) The job responsibility of the aide is to 

provide the direct personal assistance 

and supervision needed by the 

residents. 

(B) Any housekeeping performed by an 

aide between the hours of 7 a.m. and 9 

p.m. shall be limited to occasional, 

non-routine tasks, such as wiping up a 

water spill to prevent an accident, 

attending to an individual resident's 

soiling of his bed, or helping a resident 

make his bed. Routine bed-making is 

a permissible aide duty. 

(C) If the home employs more than the 

minimum number of aides required, 

any additional hours of aide duty 

above the required hours of direct 

service between 7 a.m. and 9 p.m. may 

involve the performance of 

housekeeping tasks. 

(D) An aide may perform housekeeping 

duties between the hours of 9 p.m. and 

7 a.m. as long as such duties do not 

hinder the aide's care of residents or 

immediate response to resident calls, 

do not disrupt the residents' normal 

lifestyles and sleeping patterns, and do 

not take the aide out of view of where 

the residents are. The aide shall be 

prepared to care for the residents since 

that remains his primary duty. 

(E) Aides shall not be assigned food 

service duties; however, providing 

assistance to individual residents who 

need help with eating and carrying 

plates, trays or beverages to residents 

is an appropriate aide duty. 

(3) In addition to the staffing required for 

management and aide duties, there shall be 

sufficient personnel employed to perform 

housekeeping and food service duties. 

(f)  Information on required staffing shall be posted in the facility 

according to G.S. 131D-4.3(a)(5). 

(a) For an adult care home with a census of 81 or more residents, 

there shall be an administrator on-duty at the facility at least eight 

hours per day, five days per week and shall not serve 

simultaneously as a personal care aide supervisor or other staff to 

meet staffing requirements while on duty as an administrator or 

be an administrator for another adult care home except as follows. 

If there is more than one facility under the same ownership on a 

contiguous parcel of land or campus setting, and the combined 

licensed capacity of the facilities is 200 beds or less, there may be 

one administrator on duty for all the facilities on the campus. The 

administrator shall not serve simultaneously as a personal care 

aide supervisor or other staff in this campus setting. 

(b)  When the administrator is not on-duty, there shall be a 

manager on-duty. The supervisor may serve simultaneously as the 

manager if the individual meets the qualifications required in Rule 

.0402 of this Subchapter. Each facility on a contiguous parcel of 

land or campus setting, as described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, 

shall have a person designated as the manager in the facility when 

the administrator is not on-duty. 

(c)  The administrator shall be on-call, at all times when not on-

duty. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.3; 131D-4.5; 131D-25; 143B-

165. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0605 STAFFING OF PERSONAL 

CARE AIDE SUPERVISORS GENERAL STAFFING 

REQUIREMENTS FOR ADULT CARE HOMES 

(a)  On first and second shifts in facilities with a capacity or census 

of 31 or more residents and on third shift in facilities with a 

capacity or census of 91 or more residents, there shall be at least 

one supervisor of personal care aides, hereafter referred to as 

supervisor, on duty in the facility for less than 64 hours of aide 

duty per shift; two supervisors for 64 to less than 96 hours of aide 

duty per shift; and three supervisors for 96 to less than 128 hours 

of aide duty per shift. In facilities sprinklered for fire suppression 

with a capacity or census of 91 to 120 residents, the supervisor's 

time on third shift may be counted as required aide duty. (For 

staffing chart, see Rule .0606 of this Section.) 
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(b)  On first and second shifts in facilities with a capacity or census 

of 31 to 70 residents, the supervisor may provide up to four hours 

of aide duty per shift which may be counted as required aide hours 

of duty. The supervisor's hours on duty shall not be counted as 

required hours of aide duty except as specified in this Rule. 

Note: Supervisors may be involved in performing some personal 

care in facilities with a capacity or census of 71 or more residents, 

but their primary responsibility is the direct supervision of 

personal care aides and the time involved in performing any 

personal care cannot be counted as required aide hours. 

(c)  On third shift in facilities with a capacity or census of 31 to 

60 residents, the supervisor shall be in the facility or within 500 

feet and immediately available, as defined in Rule .0601 of this 

Subchapter. In facilities sprinklered for fire suppression with a 

capacity or census of 31 to 60 residents, the supervisor's time on 

duty in the facility on third shift may be counted as required aide 

duty. 

(d)  On third shift in facilities with a capacity or census of 61 to 

90 residents, the supervisor shall be on duty in the facility for at 

least four hours and within 500 feet and immediately available, as 

defined in Rule .0601 of this Subchapter, for the remaining four 

hours. In facilities sprinklered for fire suppression with a capacity 

or census of 61 to 90 residents, the supervisor's time on duty in 

the facility on third shift may be counted as required aide duty. 

(e)  A supervisor is responsible for the direct supervision of 

personal care aides, including those who administer medications, 

to assure that care and services are provided to residents by 

personal care aides in a safe and secure manner and according to 

licensure rules. This involves observing personal care aides in the 

performance of their duties; instructing, correcting and consulting 

with aides as needed; and reviewing documentation by aides. 

(f)  A supervisor on duty shall not serve simultaneously as the 

administrator but may serve simultaneously as the administrator-

in-charge in the absence of the administrator. 

(g)  A supervisor shall meet the following qualifications: 

(1) be 21 years or older; 

(2) be a high school graduate or certified under the 

G.E.D. program, or have passed an alternative 

examination established by the Department; 

(3) meet the general health requirements according 

to Rule .0406 of this Section; 

(4) have at least six months of experience in 

performing or supervising the performance of 

duties to be supervised during a period of three 

years prior to the effective date of this Rule or 

the date of hire, whichever is later, or be a 

licensed health professional or a licensed 

nursing home administrator; 

(5) meet the same minimum training and 

competency requirements of the aides being 

supervised; and 

(6) earn at least 12 hours a year of continuing 

education credits related to the care of aged and 

disabled persons in accordance with procedures 

established by the Department of Health and 

Human Services. 

(a)  Adult care homes shall staff to the facility's resident census 

and provide staffing to meet the care and supervision needs of the 

residents in accordance with the rules of this Subchapter. 

(b)  At no time shall residents be left alone without a staff member 

in the facility. 

(c)  The facility shall maintain a daily census log which lists 

current residents by name, room assignment and date of 

admission, which shall be available for review by the Division of 

Health Service Regulation and the county departments of social 

services. 

(d)  The facility shall post daily staffing information in a location 

accessible to residents and visitors in accordance with G.S. 131D-

4.3(a)(5). The information shall include: 

(1) the name and contact information of the 

administrator and manager; 

(2) the number of required supervisors on each 

shift; and 

(3) the number of aides required on each shift. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.3; 131D-4.5; 143B-165.

 

10A NCAC 13F .0606 STAFFING CHART STAFFING FOR FACILITIES WITH A CENSUS OF SEVEN TO TWELVE 

RESIDENTS 

The following chart specifies the required aide, supervisory and management staffing for each eight-hour shift in facilities with a capacity 

or census of 21 or more residents according to Rules .0601, .0603, .0602, .0604 and .0605 of this Subchapter. 

 

Bed Count Position Type First Shift Second Shift Third Shift 

 

21 - 30 

Aide 16 16 8 

Supervisor Not Required Not Required Not Required 

Administrator/SIC In the building, or within 500 feet and immediately available. 

 

 

31-40 

Aide 16 16 16 

 

Supervisor 

 

8* 

 

8* 

In the building, or within 

500 feet and immediately 

available.** 

Administrator On call 

 Aide 20 20 16 
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Bed Count Position Type First Shift Second Shift Third Shift 

 

41-50 

 

Supervisor 

 

8* 

 

8* 

In the building, or within 

500 feet and immediately 

available.** 

Administrator On call 

 

 

51-60 

Aide 24 24 16 

 

Supervisor 

 

8* 

 

8* 

In the building, or within 

500 feet and immediately 

available.** 

Administrator On call 

 

 

61-70 

Aide 28 28 24 

 

Supervisor 

 

8* 

 

8* 

4 hours within the 

facility/4 hours within 

500 feet and immediately 

available.** 

Administrator On call 

 

 

71-80 

 

Aide 32 32 24 

 

Supervisor 

 

8 

 

8 

4 hours within the 

facility/4 hours within 

500 feet and immediately 

available.** 

Administrator On call 

 

 

81-90 

 

Aide 36 36 24 

 

Supervisor 

 

8 

 

8 

4 hours within the 

facility/4 hours within 

500 feet and immediately 

available.** 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

91-100 

Aide 40 40 32 

Supervisor 8 8 8** 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

101-110 

Aide 44 44 32 

Supervisor 8 8 8** 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

111-120 

Aide 48 48 32 

Supervisor 8 8 8** 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

   

 

 

121-130 

Aide 52 52 40 

Supervisor 8 8 8 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

131-140 

Aide 56 56 40 

Supervisor 8 8 8 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call 

 

141-150 

Aide 60 60 40 

Supervisor 8 8 8 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

151-160 

 

Aide 64 64 48 

Supervisor 16 16 8 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

161-170 

Aide 68 68 48 

Supervisor 16 16 8 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

171-180 

Aide 72 72 48 

Supervisor 16 16 8 
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Bed Count Position Type First Shift Second Shift Third Shift 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

181-190 

Aide 76 76 56 

Supervisor 16 16 8 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

191-200 

Aide 80 80 56 

Supervisor 16 16 8 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

201-210 

Aide 84 84 56 

Supervisor 16 16 8 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

211-220 

Aide 88 88 64 

Supervisor 16 16 16 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

221-230 

Aide 92 92 64 

Supervisor 16 16 16 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

231-240 

 

Aide 96 96 64 

Supervisor 24 24 16 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

*Supervisor may conduct up to four hours of aide duty. 

** Supervisor' time on duty in the facility may be counted as required aide duty if the facility is sprinklered. 

 

(a)  In a facility with a census of greater than six but less than 13 

residents, there shall be an administrator or manager in the facility 

or within 500 feet of the facility with a means of two-way 

telecommunication at all times. 

(b)  When the administrator or manager is not on-duty, there shall 

be at least one staff member on-duty on the first and second shifts 

and at least one staff member available within the building, who 

need not be on-duty, on third shift. There shall be a call system 

connecting the bedroom of the available staff member, who may 

be asleep on the third shift, with each resident's bedroom. If there 

are residents in the facility who are disoriented or known to have 

wandering behavior, there shall be at least one staff member on-

duty and awake at all times. 

(c)  When the administrator or manager is on duty on the first or 

second shifts and available within the facility on third shift, 

another staff member (i.e., co-administrator, manager or aide) 

shall be in the building or within 500 feet of the facility with a 

means of two-way telecommunication at all times. 

(d)  The administrator shall prepare a plan of operation for each 

licensed facility specifying the staff involved, their regularly 

assigned duties and the amount of time estimated to be spent for 

each duty. There shall be a current plan of operation on file in the 

facility, available for review by the Division of Health Service 

Regulation and the county department of social services. 

(e)  Each facility shall assign at least one staff member per shift 

to provide personal care services and supervision of residents as 

needed by the residents. The staff member so assigned shall not 

perform food service duties during the shift of rendering care 

services and supervision. The staff member so assigned shall not 

perform housekeeping duties during the shift of rendering care 

services and supervision, except: 

(1) between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m., 

and then only when the housekeeping duties are 

incidental to the rendering of care services; and 

(2) between the hours of 9:00 p.m. and 7:00 a.m. 

and then only to the extent that the 

housekeeping duties do not hinder the assigned 

staff's duties of care or immediate response to 

residents, nor impede the assigned staff 

member's ability to monitor the residents. 

(f)  There shall be additional staff to provide daily housekeeping 

and food service duties. 

(g)  A cluster of facilities, each with capacity or census of 12 or 

fewer residents, shall comply with the following staffing: 

(1) When there is a cluster of up to six licensed 

facilities located adjacently, there shall be at 

least one administrator or manager who lives 

within 500 feet of each of the facilities with a 

means of two-way telecommunication at all 

times. 

(2) The administrator or manager on-duty shall be 

directly responsible for assuring that all 

required daily duties are carried out in each 

facility. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.3; 131D-4.5; 143B-165. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0607 STAFFING FOR FACILITIES 

WITH A CENSUS OF 13 TO 20 RESIDENTS 

(a)  In a facility with a census of greater than 12 but less than 21 

residents, there shall be an administrator or manager in the facility 

or within 500 feet of the facility with a means of two-way 

telecommunication at all times. 

(b)  When the administrator or manager is not on duty within the 

facility, there shall be at least one awake staff member on duty on 

the first, second, and third shifts. 

(c)  When the administrator or manager is on duty within the 

facility, another staff member (i.e. co-administrator, manager or 
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aide) shall be in the building or within 500 feet of the facility with 

a means of two-way telecommunication at all times and available 

to assist if needed. 

(d)  Each facility shall assign at least one staff member per shift 

to provide personal care services and supervision of residents as 

needed by the residents. The staff member so assigned shall not 

perform food service duties during the shift of rendering care 

services and supervision. The staff member so assigned shall not 

perform housekeeping duties during the shift of rendering care 

services and supervision, except; 

(1) between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m., 

and then only when the housekeeping duties are 

incidental to the rendering of care services; and 

(2) between the hours of 9:00 p.m. and 7:00 a.m., 

and then only to the extent that the 

housekeeping duties do not hinder the assigned 

staff's duties of care or immediate response to 

residents, nor impede the assigned staff 

member's ability to monitor the residents. 

(e)  There shall be additional staff to provide daily housekeeping 

and food service duties. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.3; 131D-4.5; 143B-165. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0608 STAFFING FOR FACILITIES 

WITH A CENSUS OF 21 OR MORE RESIDENTS 

(a)  Each facility with a census of 21 or more residents shall have 

staff on duty to meet the needs of the residents. 

(b)  In addition to the requirement in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, 

each facility with a census of 21 or more residents shall comply 

with the following staffing requirements: 

(1) On first shift and second shift, the total aide 

duty hours shall be at least: 

(A) 16 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 21 to 40 residents. 

(B) 20 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 41 to 50 residents. 

(C) 24 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 51 to 60 residents. 

(D) 28 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 61 to 70 residents. 

(E) 32 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 71 to 80 residents. 

(F) 36 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 81 to 90 residents. 

(G) 40 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 91 to 100 residents. 

(H) 44 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 101 to 110 residents. 

(I) 48 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 111 to 120 residents. 

(J) 52 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 121 to 130 residents. 

(K) 56 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 131 to 140 residents. 

(L) 60 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 141 to 150 residents. 

(M) 64 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 151 to 160 residents. 

(N) 68 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 161 to 170 residents. 

(O) 72 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 171 to 180 residents. 

(P) 76 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 181 to 190 residents. 

(Q) 80 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 191 to 200 residents. 

(R) 84 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 201 to 210 residents. 

(S) 88 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 211 to 220 residents. 

(T) 92 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 221 to 230 residents. 

(U) 96 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 231 to 240 residents. 

(2) On third shift, the total aide duty hours shall be 

at least: 

(A) 8 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 21 to 30 residents. 

(B) 16 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 31 to 60 residents. 

(C) 24 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 61 to 90 residents. 

(D) 32 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 91 to 120 residents. 

(E) 40 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 121 to 150 residents. 

(F) 48 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 151 to 180 residents. 

(G) 56 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 181 to 210 residents. 

(H) 64 hours of aide duty for facilities with 

a census of 211 to 240 residents. 

(3) If the Department determines the needs of the 

residents at a facility are not being met by 

staffing requirements of Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule, the Department shall require the facility 

to employ staff to meet the needs of the 

residents. 

(b)  The aide shall provide personal care services and supervision 

needed by the residents. 

(c)  Aides shall not provide housekeeping duties except: 

(1) Between the hours of 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.: 

(A) to prevent an accident or injury; 

(B) when occasionally attending to an 

individual resident housekeeping 

need; and 

(C) when the number of aides on duty 

exceeds the minimum required by 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(2) Between the hours of 9:00 p.m. to 7:00 a.m., as 

long as the housekeeping duties do not: 

(A) hinder the aide's care of residents or 

immediate response to resident calls; 

(B) do not disrupt the residents' normal 

lifestyles and sleeping patterns; and 

(C) do not take the aide out of view of 

where the residents are as the aide 
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shall be prepared to care for the 

residents since that remains his or her 

primary duty. 

(d)  Aides shall not be assigned food service duties except when 

providing assistance to individual residents who need help with 

eating and carrying plates, trays, or beverages to residents. 

(e)  In addition to the staffing required for management and aide 

duties, there shall be additional staff to perform housekeeping and 

food service duties. 

Note: The following chart illustrates the required aide, 

supervisory and management staffing requirements for each 

eight-hour shift in facilities with a census of 21 or more residents 

according to Rules .0602, .0603, .0604, .0608, and .0609 of this 

Section.

 

Census Position Type First Shift Second Shift Third Shift 

 

21 - 30 

Aide 16 16 8 

Supervisor Not Required Not Required Not Required 

Administrator In the building, or within 500 feet and immediately available. 

 

 

31-40 

Aide 16 16 16 

 

Supervisor 

 

8* 

 

8* 

In the building, or within 

500 feet and immediately 

available.** 

Administrator On call 

 

 

41-50 

Aide 20 20 16 

 

Supervisor 

 

8* 

 

8* 

In the building, or within 

500 feet and immediately 

available.** 

Administrator On call 

 

 

51-60 

Aide 24 24 16 

 

Supervisor 

 

8* 

 

8* 

In the building, or within 

500 feet and immediately 

available.** 

Administrator On call 

 

 

61-70 

Aide 28 28 24 

 

Supervisor 

 

8* 

 

8* 

4 hours within the 

facility/4 hours within 

500 feet and immediately 

available.** 

Administrator On call 

 

 

71-80 

 

Aide 32 32 24 

 

Supervisor 

 

8 

 

8 

4 hours within the 

facility/4 hours within 

500 feet and immediately 

available.** 

Administrator On call 

 

 

81-90 

 

Aide 36 36 24 

 

Supervisor 

 

8 

 

8 

4 hours within the 

facility/4 hours within 

500 feet and immediately 

available.** 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

91-100 

Aide 40 40 32 

Supervisor 8 8 8** 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

101-110 

Aide 44 44 32 

Supervisor 8 8 8** 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

111-120 

Aide 48 48 32 

Supervisor 8 8 8** 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 
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Census Position Type First Shift Second Shift Third Shift 

   

 

 

121-130 

Aide 52 52 40 

Supervisor 8 8 8 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

131-140 

Aide 56 56 40 

Supervisor 8 8 8 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call 

 

141-150 

Aide 60 60 40 

Supervisor 8 8 8 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

151-160 

 

Aide 64 64 48 

Supervisor 16 16 8 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

161-170 

Aide 68 68 48 

Supervisor 16 16 8 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

171-180 

Aide 72 72 48 

Supervisor 16 16 8 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

181-190 

Aide 76 76 56 

Supervisor 16 16 8 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

191-200 

Aide 80 80 56 

Supervisor 16 16 8 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

201-210 

Aide 84 84 56 

Supervisor 16 16 8 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

211-220 

Aide 88 88 64 

Supervisor 16 16 16 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

221-230 

Aide 92 92 64 

Supervisor 16 16 16 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

 

231-240 

 

Aide 96 96 64 

Supervisor 24 24 16 

Administrator 5 days/week: Minimum of 40 hours. When not in facility, on call. 

*Supervisor may conduct up to four hours of aide duty. 

** Supervisor's time on duty in the facility may be counted as required aide duty if the facility is sprinklered. 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.3; 131D-4.5; 143B-165. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0609 PERSONAL CARE AIDE 

SUPERVISORS 

(a)  The personal care aide supervisor shall be responsible for the 

direct supervision of personal care aides, including those who 

administer medications, to assure that care and services are 

provided to residents by personal care aides in in accordance with 

their training, the facility's policies and procedures, the licensure 

rules of this Subchapter, and Chapter 131D of the general statutes. 

The personal care aide supervisor shall also be responsible for 

observing personal care aides in the performance of their duties; 

instructing, correcting, and consulting with aides as needed; and 

reviewing documentation by aides. 

 

(b)  During the first and second shifts in facilities with a census of 

31 or more residents and on third shift in facilities with a census 

of 91 or more residents, the facility shall have supervisors on-duty 

during each shift as follows: 

(1) One supervisor, on duty in the facility for less 

than 64 hours of aide duty per shift. 

(2) Two supervisors for 64 to less than 96 hours of 

aide duty per shift. 

(3) Three supervisors for 96 to less than 128 hours 

of aide duty per shift. 

(c)  Supervisors shall not provide hours of aide duty while 

servicing as a supervisor except as follows: 

(1) On third shift in facilities with a census of 31 to 

120 residents and a sprinkler fire suppression 

system. 
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(2) On first and second shifts, up to four hours, in 

facilities with a census of 31 to 70 residents. 

(3) On first and second shifts in facilities with a 

census of 71 or more residents in which some 

personal care duties are performed but however 

the time involved in performing any personal 

care cannot be counted as required aide hours. 

(d)  On third shift in facilities with a census of 31 to 60 residents, 

the supervisor shall be in the facility or within 500 feet and 

immediately available, as defined in Rule .0608 of this Section. 

(e)  On third shift in facilities with a census of 61 to 90 residents, 

the supervisor shall be on duty in the facility for at least four hours 

and within 500 feet and immediately available, as defined in Rule 

.0608 of this Section, for the remaining four hours. 

(f)  The supervisor on duty shall not serve simultaneously as the 

administrator but may serve simultaneously as the manager in the 

absence of the administrator. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.3; 131D-4.5; 143B-165. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13G – LICENSING OF FAMILY CARE 

HOMES 

 

SECTION .0100 - DEFINITIONS 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0102 LIST OF DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 131D-2.1, the 

following definitions shall apply throughout this Subchapter: 

(1) "Abuse" as defined in G.S. 131D-2.1. 

(2) "Activities of daily living" means bathing, 

dressing, personal hygiene, ambulation, or 

locomotion, transferring, toileting, and eating. 

(3) "Acute care needs" means symptoms or a 

condition that develops quickly and is not a part 

of the resident's baseline health or mental health 

status or is a change or worsening in the 

symptoms of a resident's chronic condition, 

which may have a slower onset and worsen over 

time. 

(4) "Administrator" means the term as defined in 

G.S. 90-288.13 and G.S. 131D-2.1. 

(5) "Adult care home" means the term as defined in 

G.S. 131D-2.1. 

(6) "Alternative examination" means a test 

developed and administered by the Department 

to meet the educational requirements of an 

activity director or supervisor-in-charge for 

those applicants who do not possess a high 

school diploma or General Education Diploma 

(G.E.D.) prior to September 1, 2024. 

(7) "Aide duty" means time spent by qualified staff 

providing assistance with activities of daily 

living, medication administration, or 

supervision of residents as determined by the 

resident's assessment, care plan, physician's 

orders, and current symptoms. 

(8) "Ambulatory" means able to respond and 

evacuate a facility without physical or verbal 

prompting from staff or another person. 

(9) "Department" means the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(10) "Discharge" means a resident's termination of 

their residency at the adult care home, resulting 

in the resident's move to another location. 

(11) "Exploitation" means the term as defined in 

G.S. 131D-2.1. 

(12) "Facility" means a licensed family care home. 

(13) "Family care home" means the term as defined 

in G.S. 131D-2.1. 

(14) "First shift" means between the hours of 7:01 

a.m. and 3:00 p.m. 

(15) "Food service duties" means tasks that may be 

performed by staff related to serving meals to 

residents, including assisting with food 

preparation, arranging, and setting the dining 

tables, serving food and beverages, and 

cleaning the dining room after meal service is 

complete. 

(16) "Housekeeping duties" means tasks that may be 

performed by staff such as cleaning and 

sanitizing facility common areas and resident 

rooms, sweeping, vacuuming, dusting, 

mopping, collecting, and disposing of trash. 

(17) "Legal representative" means a person 

authorized by state or federal law (including but 

not limited to power of attorney representative 

payee) to act on behalf of the resident to support 

the resident in decision-making; access 

medical, social, or other personal information 

of the resident; manage financial matters or 

receive notifications. 

(18) "Long-term care" means a continuum of care 

and services available in an individual's 

community that provides the care and supports 

required during a persistent or chronic state of 

health, throughout which time a person is 

unable to independently perform some or all 

activities of daily living or requires supervision 

due to physical or cognitive impairment. 

(19) "Medication aide" means an individual who 

administers medications to residents and meets 

all requirements as set forth in Rule .0403 of 

this Subchapter. 

(20) "Neglect" means the term as defined in G.S. 

131D-2.1. 

(21) "Non-ambulatory" means not able to respond 

and evacuate a facility without physical or 

verbal prompting from staff or another person. 

(22) "On-call" means able to be contacted by two-

way telecommunication. 

(23) "On-duty" in reference to an administrator 

means the administrator is on-site and directly 

responsible for the day-to-day operations of a 

facility. "On-duty" in reference to a supervisor-

in-charge means a supervisor-in-charge 

designated by the facility as required in Rule 

.0402 of this Subchapter and who is on-site and 

directly responsible for the day-to-day 
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operations of a facility under the direction and 

supervision of the administrator. 

(24) "Personal care aide" means a staff member who 

performs personal care services as defined by 

G.S. 131D-2.1. 

(25) "Physical restraint" means any physical or 

mechanical device attached to or adjacent to the 

resident's body that the resident cannot remove 

easily, and which restricts freedom of 

movement or normal access to one's body. 

(26) "Physician extender" means a licensed 

physician assistant or licensed nurse 

practitioner. 

(27) "Resident" means the term as defined in G.S. 

131D-2.1. 

(28) "Responsible person" means a person chosen 

by the resident to act on their behalf to support 

the resident in decision-making; access to 

medical, social, or other personal information 

of the resident; manage financial matters; or 

receive notifications. 

(29) "Second shift" means between the hours of 3:01 

p.m. and 11:00 p.m. 

(30) "Staff" means any person who performs duties 

as an employee, paid or unpaid, on behalf of the 

family care home. 

(31) "Supervision" means oversight, monitoring, 

and interventions implemented by the facility 

for the purpose of mitigating the risk of an 

accident, incident, illness, or injury to a resident 

to ensure the health, safety, and welfare of the 

resident and other residents. 

(32) "Supervisor-in-charge" means an individual 

responsible for the total operation of a family 

care home in the absence of the administrator 

and under the direction and supervision of the 

administrator as described in Rule .0402 of this 

Subchapter. 

(33) "Third shift" means between the hours of 11:01 

p.m. and 7:00 a.m. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-153. 

 

SECTION .0400 – STAFF QUALIFICATIONS 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0404 QUALIFICATIONS OF 

ACTIVITY DIRECTOR 

Adult care homes shall have an activity director who meets the 

following qualifications: 

(1) The activity director hired after September 30, 

2022 shall meet a minimum educational 

requirement by being a high school graduate or 

certified under the GED Program. 

(2) The activity director hired after September 30, 

2022 shall have complete, within nine months 

of employment or assignment to this position, 

the basic activity course for assisted living 

activity directors offered by community 

colleges or a comparable activity course as 

determined by the Department based on 

instructional hours and content. An activity 

director shall be exempt from the required basic 

activity course if one or more of the following 

applies: 

(a) be a licensed recreational therapist or 

be eligible for certification as a 

therapeutic recreation specialist as 

defined by the North Carolina 

Recreational Therapy Licensure Act in 

accordance with G.S. 90C; 

(b) have two years of experience working 

in programming for an adult recreation 

or activities program within the last 

five years, one year of which was full-

time in an activities program for 

patients or residents in a health care or 

long term care setting; 

(c) be a licensed occupational therapist or 

licensed occupational therapy 

assistant in accordance with G.S. 90, 

Article 18D; or 

(d) be certified as an Activity Director 

Professional by the National 

Certification Council for Activity 

Professionals. Professionals; or 

(e) the required basic activity course was 

completed prior to September 1, 2024. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.5; 143B-165. 

 

SECTION .0600 – STAFFING OF THE HOME FACILITY 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0601 MANAGEMENT AND OTHER 

STAFF 

(a)  A family care home administrator who is approved in 

accordance with Rule .1501 of this Subchapter shall be 

responsible for the total operation of a family care home and 

management of the facility to assure that all care and services are 

provided to maintain the health, safety, and welfare of the 

residents in accordance with all applicable local, state, and federal 

regulations and codes. The administrator shall also be responsible 

to the Division of Health Service Regulation and the county 

department of social services for meeting and maintaining 

complying with the rules of this Subchapter. The co-

administrator, when there is one, shall share equal responsibility 

with the administrator for the operation of the home facility and 

for meeting and maintaining the rules of this Subchapter. The term 

administrator "administrator" also refers to co-administrator 

where it is used in this Subchapter. 

(b)  The administrator shall have knowledge of and shall ensure 

the following: 

(1) the investigation and reporting of any 

allegations of resident abuse, neglect, and 

exploitation as specified in Rule .1213(d) of this 

Subchapter; 

(2) the investigation and reporting of any suspicion 

of or allegations of drug diversion as specified 

in Rule .1008 of this Subchapter; 
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(3) the reporting of any incidents of resident 

elopement or when a resident is missing from 

the facility as required in Rule .1213(e)(2) and 

Rule .0906(f)(4) of this Subchapter; and 

(4) the investigation and reporting of any incident 

or accident resulting in the hospitalization or 

death of a resident as specified in Rule .1209 

and Rule .1213 of this Subchapter. 

(c)  The administrator shall be made aware when the facility is 

unable to meet the staffing requirements of this Section. 

(d)  The administrator shall be made aware any time the facility 

seeks the assistance of the local law enforcement authority. 

(b)(e)  At all times there shall be one the administrator or 

supervisor-in-charge who shall be in the facility or within 500 feet 

of the facility with a means of two-way telecommunication. The 

administrator or supervisor-in-charge is directly responsible for 

assuring that all required duties are carried out in the home facility 

and for assuring that at no time is a resident left alone in the home 

facility without a staff member. Except for the provisions cited in 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule regarding the occasional absence of the 

administrator or supervisor-in-charge, one of the following 

arrangements shall be used: 

(1) The administrator shall be in the home facility 

or reside within 500 feet of the home with a 

means of two-way telecommunication with the 

home at all times. When the administrator does 

not live in the licensed home, there shall be at 

least one staff member who lives in the home or 

one on each shift and the administrator shall be 

directly responsible for assuring that all 

required duties are carried out in the home; 

(2) The administrator shall employ a supervisor-in-

charge to live in the home facility or reside 

within 500 feet of the home with a means of 

two-way telecommunication with the home at 

all times. When the supervisor-in-charge does 

not live in the licensed home, there shall be at 

least one staff member who lives in the home or 

one on each shift and the supervisor-in-charge 

shall be directly responsible for assuring that all 

required duties are carried out in the home; or 

(3) When there is a cluster of licensed homes 

located adjacently on the same site, there shall 

be at least one staff member in each home, 

either live-in or on a shift basis, and at least one 

administrator or supervisor-in-charge who lives 

within 500 feet of each home with a means of 

two-way telecommunication with each home at 

all times and who is directly responsible for 

assuring that all required duties are carried out 

in each home. 

(c)  When the administrator or supervisor-in-charge is absent from 

the home or not within 500 feet of the home, the following shall 

apply: 

(1) For absences of a non-routine nature that do not 

exceed 24 hours per week, a relief-person-in-

charge designated by the administrator shall be 

in charge of the home during the absence and in 

the home or within 500 feet of the home 

according to the requirements in Paragraph (b) 

of this Rule. The administrator shall assure that 

the relief-person-in-charge is prepared to 

respond appropriately in case of an emergency 

in the home. The relief-person-in-charge shall 

be 18 years or older. 

(2) For recurring or planned absences, a relief-

supervisor-in-charge designated by the 

administrator shall be in charge of the home 

during the absence and in the home or within 

500 feet of the home according to the 

requirements in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. The 

relief-supervisor-in-charge shall meet all of the 

qualifications required for the supervisor-in-

charge as specified in Rule .0402 of this 

Subchapter with the exception of Item (4) 

pertaining to the continuing education 

requirement. 

(f)  When the administrator or supervisor-in-charge are not in the 

facility or within 500 feet of the facility, a staff person who meets 

the staff qualification requirements of this Subchapter shall be on 

duty in the facility. The staff person shall be on duty in the facility 

no more than eight hours per 24 hours and no more than 24 hours 

total per week. 

(d)(g)  Additional staff shall be employed as needed for 

housekeeping and the supervision and care of the residents. 

residents in accordance with the rules of this Subchapter. 

(e)(h)  Information on required staffing shall be posted in the 

facility according to G.S. 131D-4.3(a)(5). The facility shall post 

daily staffing information in a location accessible to residents and 

visitors in accordance with G.S.131D-4.3(a)(5). The information 

shall include: 

(1) the name and contact information of the 

administrator and supervisor in charge; 

(2) the number of required supervisors on each 

shift; and 

(3) the number of aides required on each shift. 

 

Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-25; 143B-165. 

 

 

TITLE 11 – DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Department of Insurance intends to amend the rule cited as 11 

NCAC 12 .0332. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdoi.gov/insurance-industry/rules-rules-review-

and-legislative-reports 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 9, 2024 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  1st Floor Hearing Room, Room 131 (Albemarle 

Building) located at 325 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27603 
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Reason for Proposed Action:  The reason the change is needed 

is because of recently enacted legislation, S.L. 2023-133. Section 

8 of the on-site audit requirements for TPAs and this would make 

conforming amendments to 11 NCAC 12 .0332. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Loretta Peace-Bunch, 325 N. 

Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27603; phone (919) 807-6004; 

email Loretta.Peace-Bunch@ncdoi.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  January 30, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 12 - LIFE AND HEALTH DIVISION 

 

SECTION .0300 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

11 NCAC 12 .0332 REVIEW/AUDIT OF THIRD 

PARTY ADMINISTRATORS 

(a)  Definitions. As used in this rule: 

(1) "Certification" means the certification required 

by G.S. 58-56-26(c). 

(2) "Insurer" has the same meaning as in G.S. 58-

56-2(4). 

(3) "Third party administrator" or "TPA" has the 

same meaning as in G.S. 58-56-2(5). 

(b)  For the certification submitted on July 1, 2010, the insurer 

shall submit a certification signed by an officer of the insurer, 

which identifies the name and federal tax identification number of 

the TPA that is the subject of the certification. The certification 

shall contain the following language: 

"I, (name and title of the officer of the insurer), am familiar with 

the requirements of G.S. 58-56-26(c), and hereby certify that 

(insurance company full licensed name and federal tax 

identification number) performed a review, an on-site audit, 

review, an audit or both in accordance with G.S. 58-56-26(c) for 

every third party administrator identified in or attached to this 

certification for calendar year 2009." 

The certification shall contain the names of TPAs to which G.S. 

58-56-26(c) does not apply and the reasons for the exception of 

each TPA. 

(c)  For certifications submitted on July 1, 2011 and each 

subsequent year, each insurer shall certify that the insurer's review 

and on-site audit include: 

(1) An assessment of the TPA's business practices 

and procedures and evaluations of all of the 

following: 

(A) The TPA's compliance with 

provisions of the written agreement 

with the insurer; 

(B) The TPA's compliance and adherence 

to the TPA's internal policies and 

procedures for contract management, 

claims administration, and general 

administration, if applicable; 

(C) The TPA's performance of claims 

adjudication and payment, if 

applicable; 

(D) The TPA's performance of 

underwriting services, if applicable; 

and 

(E) The TPA's performance of collecting 

premiums or other monies; and 

(2) A written summary of the objectives and scope 

of the review or on-site audit and the results of 

the review or on-site audit, including a 

corrective action plan addressing any 

deficiencies found during the review or on-site 

audit. 

(d)  An on-site audit may be conducted either on-site or virtually 

and shall include an inspection of the TPA's place of business and 

shall verify the accuracy, integrity, and completeness of the 

information received during a review conducted by the insurer 

under G.S. 58-56-26(c). An on-site audit shall also include an 

inspection of the TPA's place of business. 

(e)  In addition to a statement certifying compliance with the 

requirements of Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule, a certification 

submitted on or after July 1, 2011 and each subsequent year shall 

be dated and include: 

(1) The insurer's name as it appears on the insurer's 

license or certificate of authority and the 

insurer's federal tax identification number; 

(2) The name and federal tax identification number 

of every TPA with which the insurer has a 

written administrative agreement under G.S. 

58-56-6; 

(3) Any exceptions to the certification identifying 

each excepted TPA by name and federal tax 

identification number and an explanation for 

the exception of the TPA; 

(4) The year for which the certification is made; 

and 

(5) The name, title and signature of an officer of the 

insurer making the certification. 
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(f)  A sample format for the certification is available free of charge 

from the Life and Health Division at the Department of Insurance 

Web site at www.ncdoi.com. 

(g)  An insurer that did not have any written administrative 

agreements with TPAs during the reporting year for which the 

certification is required shall submit a report instead of a 

certification. This report shall include the information required 

under Paragraph (e) of this Rule; except the information required 

by Subparagraphs (e)(2) and (e)(3) of this Rule need not be 

included. 

(h)  A review may be conducted on the premises of the insurer or 

at another location designated by the insurer and may be 

conducted by electronic means. A review or on-site audit may be 

performed by either the insurer or the insurer's designated 

representative. The insurer's designated representative shall not be 

an employee of or independent contractor with the TPA and shall 

be an independent, disinterested person or entity. 

(i)  The certification shall be submitted annually to the Life and 

Health Division through the NAIC system for electronic rate and 

form filings ("SERFF" or its successor system or program). If an 

insurer is unable to use the NAIC system or program, the insurer 

shall submit the certification by way of the U.S. Postal Service or 

other mail delivery service or by way of electronic mail, 

compressed in Adobe Acrobat (PDF). 

 

Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-56-26. 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Wildlife Resources Commission 

intends to amend the rule cited as 15A NCAC 10F .0310, readopt 

with substantive changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10A .0501- 

.0503; 10E .0101, .0104, and repeal through readoption the rules 

cited as 15A NCAC 10E .0102, and .0103. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 

on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 23, 2024 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  Zoom meeting, registration required: 

https://ncwildlife-

org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_GGZwHA5FSuCW-

2C_tTgIhQ, or join by phone: (877) 853-5247 ID: 160 914 2130 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, the 

agency is required to readopt rules in 15A NCAC 10A .0500 and 

10E .0100 as part of the periodic review process. 

The amendment to 15A NCAC 10F .0310 is proposed to correct a 

coordinate that marks the no-wake zone near the south shore of 

Motts Creek at the Cape Hatteras National Seashore. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, 

1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email 

regulations@ncwildlife.org 

 

Comment period ends:  January 30, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10A - WILDLIFE RESOURCES 

COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .0500 - DECLARATORY RULINGS 

 

15A NCAC 10A .0501 WHEN ISSUED 

In accordance with G.S. 150B-4 and the procedures set forth in 

Rule .0503 of this Section, and except as provided in Rule .0502 

of this Section, a declaratory ruling is authorized to be issued by 

the Wildlife Resources Commission when there is submitted to 

the Executive Director shall issue a declaratory ruling when a 

written request signed and verified under oath by or on behalf of 

a person or group of persons of common interest who will be 

substantially affected in their persons, property, public office or 

employment by such ruling; aggrieved, and which request shows 

on its face: 

(1) that there is an actual a controversy as to the 

validity of a rule; or that there is a controversy 

as to the applicability of a specific rule or 

regulation of the Commission, or of a specific 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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statute administered or enforced by the 

Commission, to an existing factual situation; or 

that there is a conflict or inconsistency 

regarding the interpretation of a specific law or 

rule adopted by the Commission; 

(2) that every the relevant fact facts and 

circumstance circumstances necessary to the 

ruling is are definitively stated and is are 

conceded by all parties to be a true and existing 

fact or circumstance for all purposes; 

(3) that all the parties who will be directly or 

indirectly affected by the ruling, other than the 

Commission and its agents and employees, 

have joined in the request therefor and in the 

verification of the facts therein set forth; and 

(4) that the ruling will be final and determinative of 

the controversy and binding on all the parties 

affected thereby, subject only to reversal or 

modification by a court on direct judicial 

review as provided by law. 

 

Authority G.S. 150B-4. 

 

15A NCAC 10A .0502 WHEN NOT ISSUED 

The Wildlife Resources Commission shall not issue A a 

declaratory ruling will not be issued upon any a request which 

does not comply with the requirements of Rules .0501 and .0503 

of this Section, or that is the is not in writing or upon the written 

request of a person or group not aggrieved, who will not be 

substantially affected, either directly or indirectly, in his person, 

property, public office or employment by the ruling requested; or 

when it is or becomes apparent from any a source: 

(1) that no actual controversy exists, either as 

among the respective parties or as between the 

parties and the Commission, as to the 

applicability of a specific rule or regulation of 

the Commission, or of a specific statute 

administrated or enforced by the Commission, 

to an existing factual situation; 

(2) that the question to be ruled upon is academic, 

hypothetical, moot, speculative, or lacking in 

specificity; 

(3) that any a relevant fact or circumstance 

necessary to the ruling is controverted, 

unverified, indefinite as to time or place, or 

omitted from the request for ruling; 

(4) that the proposed ruling will substantially affect 

a person, other than an agent or employee of the 

Commission, who is not a party to the request 

therefor; request; 

(5) that a case or proceeding involving the 

substance of the requested ruling is pending 

before a court or another agency; 

(6) that the requested ruling would not be final and 

binding on the parties to be affected thereby, 

subject only to direct judicial review as 

provided by law; 

(7) that the request for ruling challenges the 

validity of a statute administered or enforced by 

the Commission; 

(8) that the requested ruling would require an 

interpretation of a statute not administered or 

enforced by the Commission or of a rule, 

regulation, order, or ordinance of some other 

governmental agency; 

(9) that the Commission is without power or 

authority to issue the requested ruling for any a 

reason; or 

(10) that the request is not made in good faith. 

 

Authority G.S. 150B-4. 

 

15A NCAC 10A .0503 PROCEDURE 

(a)  Form and Content of Request. A request for a declaratory 

ruling must be a written communication, specifically designated 

as a "Request for Declaratory Ruling," addressed shall be in 

writing and sent to the Executive Director, Director of the 

Wildlife Resources Commission, Archdale Building, 512 North 

Salisbury Street, Raleigh, North Carolina 27611 and must contain 

the following: Commission at 1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, 

NC 27699-1700 for U.S. Postal Service delivery, or 1751 Varsity 

Drive, Raleigh, NC 27606-2576 for other delivery services or in 

person. The request shall contain: 

(1) names and addresses of all persons requesting 

the ruling; 

(2) designation of the person or persons authorized 

to receive the ruling or any communication 

relative thereto, if different from those 

requesting; 

(3) statement of all the material facts and 

circumstances sufficient to show the existence 

and nature of the controversy and the relation of 

all the parties with respect thereto; 

(4) identification of the specific rule, regulation 

rule or statute involved by number or substance, 

or both; 

(5) the specific question to be ruled upon; 

(6) a statement that the substance of the request is 

not then pending for decision before any a court 

or any other another agency of government; 

(7) signature of all the persons making the request 

or of one or more authorized representatives of 

all such persons, indicating the capacity of such 

representation; and 

(8) verification by, or on behalf of, all the persons 

making the request.
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(b)  Form of Verification. The verification of a request for a declaratory ruling must shall be executed before an official authorized to 

administer oaths, and may be in substance as follows: oaths. 

 

North Carolina 

______________________ County 

___________________________________________________________________________, being duly 

[name(s)] 

sworn, says (say) that he is (they are) _____________________________________________________; 

(capacity)   

 

that he has (they have) read the foregoing Request for Declaratory Ruling and understand(s) its contents; and that the matters therein 

stated are true of his (their) own knowledge, except those matters stated on information and belief, and as to the matters so stated, he 

believes (they believe) them to be true. 

 

_______________________________________ 

[signature(s)] 

 

Subscribed and sworn to before me 

this _______ day of __________, 19____. 

__________________________________ 

(signature of official)   

TITLE OF OFFICIAL 

(L.S.) 

 

(c)  Action on Request. The Executive Director shall cause the 

request for a declaratory ruling to shall be marked or stamped with 

the date of receipt and, within 60 days thereafter: receipt, and the 

Commission shall respond to the request as required by G.S. 

150B-4(a1). 

(1) deny the ruling in writing, stating the reason or 

reasons for such denial; 

(2) place the request on the agenda for the next 

ensuing meeting of the Wildlife Resources 

Commission; 

(3) issue a ruling in accordance with existing policy 

of the Commission, in which case the ruling 

shall be deemed that of the Commission; or 

(4) take such other action as he may deem 

appropriate. 

(d)  Form and Content of Ruling. A The Commission's response 

to a request for a declaratory ruling is a written communication, 

specifically designated as a "declaratory ruling" (with a number, 

the substance, or sub-title as may be desirable for identification 

and future reference), addressed to the persons requesting the 

ruling or to the person or persons authorized in the request to 

receive the ruling or communications relative thereto, and 

containing the following: 

(1) reference to the request for declaratory ruling; 

(2) reference to authority for the ruling; ruling (the 

statute and these regulations, or the specific 

action of the Commission); 

(3) names and addresses of the persons affected by 

the ruling, unless it is general in effect and is so 

indicated; 

(4) recital of the material facts on which the ruling 

is based, or reference to the facts as stated in the 

request; 

(5) the ruling; 

(6) date of issue; and 

 

(7) signature of Executive Director. 

(e)  Notice of Ruling or Denial of Ruling. Any A declaratory 

ruling issued by the Wildlife Resources Commission or the 

Executive Director and any the communication denying such a 

ruling shall be sent by registered mail, "return return receipt  

 

requested," requested, to the persons requesting the ruling, or to 

such person or persons as are designated in the request to receive 

the ruling or communications relative thereto. 

 

Authority G.S. 150B-11; 150B-17. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10E – PUBLIC FISHING AND BOATING 

ACCESS AREAS 

 

15A NCAC 10E .0101 DEFINITION 

For the purpose of this Subchapter Subchapter, the term "public 

fishing and boating access area" following definitions shall apply: 

(1) "Boating Access Area" means any area of land 

which adjoins or abuts on the public waters of 

the state; property which is owned, leased, 

cooperatively managed, or controlled by the 

North Carolina Wildlife Resources 

Commission; which is Commission, and 

developed and maintained for the purpose of 

providing the following types of vessels ingress 

to and egress from public waters and public 

fishing opportunities; and which is posted with 

a sign or signs designating the same as a public 

fishing or boating access area. Public fishing 

areas include Community Fishing Program 

waters and other cooperatively managed public 

waters developed for public fishing. waters: 

(A) motorboats, as defined in G.S. 75A-

2(1e); and 
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(B) non-motorized vessels that use an 

electric motor or manual means as the 

principal source of propulsion. 

(2) "Public Fishing Area" means property which is 

owned, leased, cooperatively managed, or 

controlled by the Commission, and developed 

and maintained to provide public fishing 

opportunities. These areas include Community 

Fishing Program waters. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-305. 

 

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10E - FISHING AND BOATING ACCESS 

AREAS 

 

15A NCAC 10E .0102 REGULATIONS POSTED 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264. 

 

15A NCAC 10E .0103 SIGNS AND MARKERS 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264. 

 

15A NCAC 10E .0104 USE OF AREAS REGULATED 

PUBLIC FISHING AND BOATING ACCESS AREAS 

(a)  Individuals using public fishing areas and boating access areas 

shall adhere to posted signs and markings regulating use of the 

area. 

(b)  Except where facilities are provided or where otherwise 

posted, use of public fishing areas for purposes other than fishing 

is prohibited. 

(c)  Except where facilities are provided or permits are issued, use 

of boating access areas for purposes other than launching and 

retrieving vessels and parking vehicles with vessel trailers is 

prohibited. 

(d)  Operating concessions is prohibited on public fishing areas 

and boating access areas. 

(e)  Organized activities and events on boating access areas 

require a permit from the Commission. Individuals may apply for 

a permit at www.ncwildlife.org by providing the following 

information: 

(1) organization name, if applicable; 

(2) contact name, address, phone number, and 

email; 

(3) public fishing area or boating access area name 

and body of water; 

(4) description of activity or event; 

(5) dates and time of activity or event; and 

(6) number of individuals and or boats expected. 

Permits shall be available for inspection by wildlife enforcement 

officers when the activity is taking place. 

(a)(f)  No person shall leave any vehicle, Vehicles, boat trailer or 

trailers, and other obstruction objects that obstruct, prevent, or 

impede use of ramps or facilities constructed for the purpose of 

launching or landing boats, or fishing, shall not be left in a 

location, position or condition, on any public fishing area or 

boating access area in such a location, position or condition that 

prevents or impedes the use by others. other persons of any ramp 

or other facility constructed for the purpose of launching or 

landing boats or fishing. 

(b)(g)  Vehicles, boats, boat trailers, and other objects shall be 

parked in designated parking zones. No person shall park a 

vehicle, boat, boat trailer, or other object at a public fishing or 

boating access area unless parking in a designated parking zone. 

Public fishing or boating access areas and facilities remain 

available for use when designated parking zones are at capacity. 

When designated parking zones are at capacity, individuals any 

person may still enter and use the areas or facilities. facilities, 

provided other arrangements for parking are made that do not 

violate this Rule or the regulations of this Subchapter, if 

applicable. 

(h)  No person shall operate a vehicle at a public fishing area or 

boating access area in a manner that endangers life, limb, or 

property.  

(c)(i)  No person shall possess a loaded firearm on any a public 

fishing area or boating access area, except that individuals with a 

valid concealed handgun permit may possess a handgun where 

allowed. Individuals carrying a handgun shall adhere to the 

requirements of G.S. 14-415.11. a handgun may be carried by an 

individual with a valid concealed handgun permit. The individual 

carrying a handgun must adhere to the requirements set forth in 

North Carolina G.S. 14-415.11, even if the state issuing the 

concealed handgun permit is not North Carolina. The permission 

to Individuals shall not carry a handgun does not apply to access 

areas on public fishing and boating access areas at the following 

game lands: 

(1) Bladen Lakes State Forest 

(2) Buckhorn 

(3) Butner-Falls of Neuse 

(4) Chatham 

(5) DuPont State Forest 

(6) Harris 

(7) Hyco 

(8) Jordan 

(9) Kerr Scott 

(10) Lee 

(11) Mayo 

(12) Pee Dee River north of U.S 74 

(13) Sutton Lake 

(14) Vance 

(15) the portion of R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell that is 

located north of U.S. 158 and east of N.C. 119 

(d)(j)  No person, when using any public fishing or boating access 

area, shall deposit debris or refuse anywhere on the grounds of the 

area. a public fishing area or boating access area. 

No person, when using any public fishing or boating access area, 

shall do any act that is prohibited or neglect to do any act that is 

required by signs or markings placed on such area under authority 

of this Rule for the purpose of regulating the use of the area. 

(e)(k)  No person shall operate a motorboat in the public waters 

of North Carolina vessel within 50 yards of a Commission-owned 

or managed boat launching ramp boating access area at greater 

than "no wake speed", as defined in 15A NCAC 10F .0301 unless 

otherwise posted. wake" speed. For the purpose of this Rule, "no 
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wake" speed means idling speed or a slow speed creating no 

appreciable wake. 

(f)  Except where facilities are provided or permits are issued, it 

is unlawful to use any boating access area for purposes other than 

the launching and retrieving of vessels and parking vehicles with 

vessel trailers. All other uses, including swimming, skiing, 

camping, building fires, operating concessions or other activities 

not directly involved with launching and retrieving of vessels are 

prohibited, except those activities for which the Commission has 

issued a permit. All organized activities and events require a 

permit from the Commission and can be applied for at 

www.ncwildlife.org. Permits shall be available for inspection by 

wildlife enforcement officers at the time the activity is taking 

place. 

(g)  Unless otherwise posted, it is unlawful to use any public 

fishing area for purposes other than fishing. 

(h)(l)  It is unlawful to feed or release wild, domesticated, or feral 

animals or birds birds, domesticated animals and feral animals on 

public fishing areas or boating access areas without prior written 

authorization of from the Wildlife Resources Commission. 

Written authorization Authorization will only may be granted to 

persons individuals acting on behalf of the Commission, to 

persons those conducting scientific investigations or surveys, and 

or for release of rehabilitated wildlife. Written authorization will 

not be granted for any feeding or release that is inimical to the 

conservation of native wildlife resources. For the purpose of 

enforcing As applied in this Paragraph, "domesticated animals" 

does not include pets under the control of the owner and raptors 

or hunting dogs where otherwise permitted for hunting or training 

purposes. 

(i)  The use of gasoline powered motors on Ethridge Pond Public 

Fishing Area and Newbold Pond Public Fishing Area in 

Edgecombe County is prohibited. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10F - MOTORBOATS AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 

SECTION .0300 - LOCAL WATER SAFETY 

REGULATIONS 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0310 DARE COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

and portions of waters in Dare County: 

(1) Manteo: 

(A) the waters of Doughs Creek off 

Shallowbag Bay and the canals off 

Shallowbag Bay; and 

(B) within 50 yards of the Bowsertown 

Boating Access Area on Croatan 

Sound at 35.89810 N, 75.67710 W. 

(2) Hatteras: 

(A) the waters of Pamlico Sound 

otherwise known as Hatteras Harbor 

and Muddy Creek bounded on the 

north and south by the high-water 

mark, on the west by a straight line 

between channel markers number 20 

and 17 at the entrance to Hatteras 

Harbor, and on the east by the mouth 

of Muddy Creek at Sandy Bay at a 

point at 35.22801 N, 75.68050 W; and 

(B) Hatteras Ferry Terminal and United 

States Coast Guard basins ending at 

Coast Guard Beacon Number One in 

the Hatteras Channel. 

(3) Manns Harbor: 

(A) Old Ferry Dock Road Canal, 

beginning at a point at 35.90654 N, 

75.76916 W; 

(B) within 50 yards of the Manns Harbor 

Boating Access Area on Croatan 

Sound at 35.91020 N, 75.77150 W; 

and 

(C) within 50 yards of the Mashoes 

Boating Access Area on East Lake at 

35.92820 N, 75.81470 W. 

(4) Nags Head: 

(A) the canals of Old Nags Head Cove 

where the canal entrance meets 

Roanoke Sound beginning at a point at 

35.94192 N, 75.62571 W; and 

(B) the Roanoke Sound inlets at Pond 

Island on either side of W. Marina 

Drive extending north from U.S. 

Highway 64-264. 

(5) Wanchese: 

(A) Wanchese Harbor otherwise known as 

Mill Landing Creek, beginning at its 

entrance from Roanoke Sound at a 

point at 35.84006 N, 75.61726 W; and 

(B) the canal from its beginning where it 

connects with Roanoke Sound south 

of the dead-end road S.R. 1141 

otherwise known as Thicket Lump 

Drive, extending northwest roughly 

parallel to S.R. 1141, S.R. 1142 

otherwise known as The Lane, and 

S.R. 1143 otherwise known as Tink 

Tillet Road, then westward roughly 

parallel to N.C. Highway 345, and 

finally curving to the southwest 

roughly parallel to S.R. 1289 

otherwise known as C B Daniels S.R. 

Road to its end. 

(6) Stumpy Point:  

(A) Stumpy Point Canal shore to shore on 

Pamlico Sound, beginning 50 yards 

west of the Stumpy Point Boating 

Access Area, 321 Bayview Drive; and 

(B) Stumpy Point Basin off Stumpy Point 

Bay, east of U.S. Highway 264 where 

it intersects Stumpy Point Bay at a 

point at 35.69591 N, 75.77264 W. 

(7) Rodanthe. Within 50 yards of the Rodanthe 

Boating Access Area in Roanoke Sound, 23170 

Myrna Peters Road; 
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(8) Town of Southern Shores. The canals and 

lagoons within the Town of Southern Shores 

north of U.S. Highway 158; 

(9) Colington Harbour. The waters in the canals of 

Colington Harbour Subdivision on Albemarle 

Sound; 

(10) Kitty Hawk. The waters in the canals of Kitty 

Hawk Landing Subdivision; 

(11) Washington Baum Bridge Boating Access 

Area. The waters within 150 yards north and 

south and 300 yards east of the Washington 

Baum Boating Access Area in Roanoke Sound, 

at 35.89380 N, 75.63710 W; 

(12) Kill Devil Hills: 

(A) Baum Bay Harbor, beginning at a 

point at 36.00572 N, 75.68105 W; and 

(B) the waters within 50 yards of the 

Avalon Beach Boating Access Area in 

Kitty Hawk Bay, 2025 Bay Drive. 

(13) Avon. The waters of Pamlico Sound shore to 

shore beginning at a line from a point on the 

east shore of Big Island at 35.36653 N, 

75.50770 W westward to a point on the 

mainland at 35.36653 N, 75.50556 W, south to 

include the waters of the cove between North 

Albacore Lane and South Albacore Lane and 

the waters of Mill Creek, and ending east of a 

line from a point on the south shore of Big 

Island at 35.36500 N, 75.50820 W southward to 

a point on the mainland at 35.36358 N, 

75.50826 W; 

(14) Jean Guite Creek. The waters of Jean Guite 

Creek from where it meets Kitty Hawk Bay at 

36.04887 N, 75.72754 W, north to a line from a 

point on the east shore in Southern Shores at 

36.10460 N, 75.74192 W to a point on the west 

shore in Martin's Point Subdivision at 36.10452 

N, 75.73948 W; 

(15) Frisco. The waters of the marina canal and boat 

basin at Palmetto Shores Subdivision, shore to 

shore beginning at the canal's entrance at 

Pamlico Sound at a point at 35.25427 N, 

75.60301 W; and 

(16) Cape Hatteras National Seashore. The waters of 

Motts Creek in Roanoke Sound, shore to shore 

at a line from a point on the north shore where 

the Oregon Inlet U.S. Coast Guard Station is 

located, to a point near the south shore of Motts 

Creek at 35.792070 N, 75.54903 W, 35.79270 

N, 75.54903 W, then northward to include the 

waters at the Oregon Inlet Fishing Center and 

Marina, Oregon Inlet Public Boat Ramp, kayak 

launch area, and U. S. Coast Guard Station and 

Launch Area. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within the regulated areas described in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Swimming Area. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter the marked swimming 

area at Colington Island on the west shore, from a point where the 

canal enters the harbor at 36.01797 N, 75.72681 W, north 600 feet 

to a point at 36.01964 N, 75.72683 W and extending 300 feet west 

into Albemarle Sound. 

(d)  Placement of Markers. The following agencies shall place 

markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the 

United States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of 

Engineers: 

(1) the Board of Commissioners of the Town of 

Manteo for the areas designated in Part 

(a)(1)(A) of this Rule; 

(2) the Board of Commissioners of Dare County 

for the areas designated in Paragraph (c), 

Subparagraphs (a)(2); (a)(4); (a)(5); (a)(9); 

(a)(13) through (15); and Parts (a)(3)(A); 

(a)(6)(B); and (a)(12)(A) of this Rule; 

(3) the Board of Commissioners of the Town of 

Southern Shores for the areas designated in 

Subparagraph (a)(8) of this Rule; 

(4) the Board of Commissioners of the Town of 

Kitty Hawk for the area designated in 

Subparagraph (a)(10) of this Rule; 

(5) the National Park Service for the area 

designated in Subparagraph (a)(16) of this 

Rule; and 

(6) the North Carolina Wildlife Resources 

Commission for the areas designated in 

Subparagraphs (a)(7) and (a)(11); and Parts 

(a)(1)(B); (a)(3)(B) and (C); (a)(6)(A); and 

(a)(12)(B) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Wildlife Resources Commission 

intends to adopt the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10C .0801, .0802; 

10D .0294; 10H .1701, .1702, amend the rules cited as 15A NCAC 

10B .0202, .0203, .0211, .0223; 10C .0205, .0208, .0305-.0307, 

.0313, .0314, .0316; 10D .0103, .0215, .0216, .0225, .0233, .0245, 

.0251, .0256, .0283, .0293; 10H .0102, .0105, .0109, .0901, .0904-

.0906, .1505, .1510, repeal the rule cited as 15A NCAC 10B 

.0114, readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 15A 

NCAC 10A .1302, .1303, and repeal through readoption the rule 

cited as 15A NCAC 10A .1301. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 

on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 9, 2024 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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Time:  7:00 p.m. 

Location:  Southwest Randolph High School (Auditorium), 1641 

Hopewell Friends Rd, Asheboro, NC 27205 

Date:  January 11, 2024 

Time:  7:00 p.m. 

Location:  Haywood Community College (Auditorium), 185 

Freedlander Drive, Clyde, NC 28721 

 

Date:  January 17, 2024 

Time:  7:00 p.m. 

Location:  Craven County Courthouse, 302 Broad Street, New 

Bern, NC 28560 

 

Date:  January 18, 2024 

Time:  7:00 p.m. 

Location:  Zoom meeting, registration required: 

https://ncwildlife-

org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_JQp6XDn8QSCXBrvDJ

Jf3Bg,  

or join by phone: 877-853-5247  

Webinar ID: 161 386 3150 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Each year, the N.C. Wildlife 

Resources Commission reviews and adjusts seasons, bag limits, 

and the land management regulations, as needed, to achieve 

conservation management goals, comply with statutory changes, 

and respond to constituent requests. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, 

1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email 

regulations@ncwildlife.org 

 

Comment period ends:  January 30, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10A - WILDLIFE RESOURCES 

COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .1300 – WILDLIFE POACHER REWARD 

FUND 

 

15A NCAC 10A .1301 FUNDING SOURCES 

 

Authority G.S. 15A-1343; 113-134; 113-294. 

 

15A NCAC 10A .1302 OFFENSES AND REWARD 

AMOUNTS 

(a)  Rewards shall be paid only for information resulting in the 

arrest and conviction of persons who have committed Class 1 or 

Class 2 misdemeanors specified in G.S. 113-262, 113-294 and 

G.S. 113-337, and Class 1 misdemeanors involving wildlife 

resources specified in G.S. 113-264(b). 113-264(b), and Class 3 

misdemeanors involving fisheries resources specified in Rule 10C 

.0302(a), .0304, .0401, .0402, and .0409 of this Chapter. 

(b)  The reward amount shall be equivalent to the amount of the 

fine, replacement costs, or restitution assessed by the court, 

whichever is greatest, not to exceed one thousand dollars 

($1,000). If no fine, replacement cost, or restitution is assessed, 

including in cases that result in a prayer for judgment, the reward 

shall be one hundred dollars ($100.00). 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-294; 113-294.1; 113-337. 

 

15A NCAC 10A .1303 ELIGIBILITY 

(a)  Rewards shall be paid only to individuals who provide 

information resulting in the arrest and conviction of persons who 

have committed commit the offenses specified in Rule .1302(a) 

of this Section. If more than one individual provides information 

resulting in the arrest of a person for the same offense, the 

Commission shall pay reward money in the individuals equal 

amounts to each individual not to exceed the amount specified in 

Rule .1302(b) of this Section. 

(b)  Rewards shall be paid after the final disposition of a case 

resulting in a conviction conviction, as defined in G.S. 113-

171(a), or a prayer for judgment. For purposes of this Rule, a 

conviction shall be as defined in G.S. 113-171(a). 

(c)  The following individuals are not eligible to receive reward 

money: 

(1) any a current Wildlife Resources Commission 

employee employees or members of his or her 

their immediate family; 

(2) any current Wildlife Resources Commissioner; 

Commissioners; 

(3) any a sworn law enforcement officer; 

(4) the perpetrator of the crime for which the 

information has been given and any an 

accomplice or accessory to that crime; and 

(5) any an individual who refuses to provide the 

Commission with his or her name and contact 

information. 
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Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-171; 113-294.1. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10B - HUNTING AND TRAPPING 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL REGULATIONS 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0114 DOG TRAINING AND FIELD 

TRIALS 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-276; 113-291.1; 113-

291.5; 50 CFR 21.45. 

 

SECTION .0200 - HUNTING 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0202 BEAR 

(a)  Open Seasons for hunting bear shall be from the: 

(1) Monday Saturday on or nearest immediately 

prior to October 15 9 through the Saturday 

before Thanksgiving and the third Monday 

Saturday after Thanksgiving through January 1 

in and west of Surry, Wilkes, Caldwell, Burke, 

and Cleveland counties; 

(2) second Monday in November through January 

1 in Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, 

Cumberland, Duplin, New Hanover, Onslow, 

Pamlico, Pender, Robeson, and Sampson 

counties; 

(3) second Saturday in November through the 

second Sunday thereafter and the third Saturday 

after Thanksgiving through the fifth Sunday 

after Thanksgiving in Beaufort, Bertie, Craven, 

Hertford, Jones, Martin, and Washington 

counties; 

(4) second Saturday in November through the third 

Sunday thereafter and the third Saturday after 

Thanksgiving through the fifth Sunday after 

Thanksgiving in Dare, Hyde, and Tyrrell 

counties; 

(5) second Saturday in November through the 

second Sunday thereafter and the third Saturday 

after Thanksgiving through the fifth Sunday 

after Thanksgiving in Currituck, Gates, and 

Perquimans counties; 

(6) second Sunday in November through the 

following Sunday, when November 1 falls on a 

Sunday the season shall be from the third 

Sunday in November through the following 

Sunday, and the third Saturday after 

Thanksgiving through the fifth Sunday after 

Thanksgiving in Camden, Chowan, and 

Pasquotank counties; 

(7) third Saturday in November though the fifth 

Sunday thereafter in Edgecombe, Greene, 

Halifax, Lenoir, Nash, Northampton, Pitt, 

Wayne, and Wilson counties; and 

(8) concurrent with the open season for all lawful 

weapons All Lawful Weapons for hunting deer 

as specified in 15A NCAC 10B .0203(a)(1) in 

Alamance, Alexander, Anson, Cabarrus, 

Caswell, Catawba, Chatham, Davie, Davidson, 

Durham, Franklin, Forsyth, Gaston, Granville, 

Guilford, Harnett, Hoke, Iredell, Johnston, Lee, 

Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Moore, 

Orange, Person, Randolph, Richmond, 

Rockingham, Rowan, Scotland, Stanly, Stokes, 

Union, Vance, Wake, Warren, and Yadkin 

counties. 

(b)  Restrictions 

(1) For purposes of this Paragraph, "bait" means 

any a natural, unprocessed food product that is 

a grain, fruit, nut, vegetable, or other material 

harvested from a plant crop that is not modified 

from its raw components. 

(2) Bears shall not be taken with the use or aid of: 

(A) any processed food product as defined 

in G.S. 113-294(r), any an animal, 

animal part or product, salt, salt lick, 

honey, sugar, sugar-based material, 

syrups, candy, pastry, gum, candy 

block, oils, spices, peanut butter, or 

grease; 

(B) any extracts of substances identified in 

Part (A) of this Subparagraph; 

(C) any substances modified by 

substances identified in Part (A) of this 

Subparagraph, including any extracts 

of those substances; or 

(D) any bear bait attractant, including 

sprays, aerosols, scent balls, and scent 

powders. 

(3) Bears may be taken with the aid of bait from the 

Monday on or nearest October 15 to the 

Saturday before Thanksgiving in the counties in 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule. 

(4)(3) Bears may be taken with the aid of bait during 

the entire open season in the counties identified 

in Subparagraphs Paragraph (a)(2) through 

(a)(8)(a) of this Rule. 

(5)(4) Bears shall not be taken while in the act of 

consuming bait as specified in G.S. 113-

291.1(b)(2). 

(6)(5) Hunters shall not take bears using dogs in the 

following counties: Alamance south of 

Interstate 85, Anson west of N.C. Hwy 

Highway 742, Cabarrus, Chatham, Davie, 

Davidson, Franklin, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, 

Lee, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, 

Orange south of Interstate 85, Randolph, 

Rockingham, Rowan, Stanly, Union, and Wake 

south of N.C. Hwy Highway 98. In all other 

counties and parts of counties, hunters may take 

bears using dogs and may release dogs in the 

vicinity of bait. 

(c)  No Open Season. It shall be unlawful to take bear on posted 

designated bear sanctuaries management areas except when 

authorized by permit issued by the Commission. See 15A NCAC 

10D .0106 for posted designated bear sanctuaries. management 

areas. 
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(d)  The daily bag limit for bear is one, the possession limit is one, 

and the season limit is one. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1; 113-291.2; 113-291.7; 113-

305. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0203 WHITE-TAILED DEER 

(a)  Open All Lawful Weapons Seasons for hunting deer: 

(1) Deer With Visible Antlers. Deer with antlers or 

spikes protruding through the skin, as 

distinguished from knobs or buttons covered by 

skin or velvet, may be taken during the 

following seasons, including on game lands 

unless otherwise specified in the rules of 15A 

NCAC 10D .0200. 

(A) Saturday on or nearest October 15 

through January 1 in Beaufort, Bladen, 

Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, 

Cumberland, Craven, Dare, Duplin, 

Harnett, Hoke, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, 

Moore, New Hanover, Onslow, 

Pamlico, Pender, Richmond, Robeson, 

Sampson, Scotland, Tyrrell, and 

Washington counties. It is unlawful to 

hunt or kill deer in Lake Waccamaw or 

within 50 yards of its shoreline in 

Columbus County. 

(B) Saturday on or nearest October 15 

through January 1 in Bertie, Camden, 

Chowan, Currituck, Edgecombe, 

Franklin, Gates, Greene, Halifax, 

Hertford, Johnston, Martin, Nash, 

Northampton, Pasquotank, 

Perquimans, Pitt, Vance, Wake, 

Warren, Wayne, and Wilson counties. 

(C) Saturday before Thanksgiving Day 

through January 1 in Alexander, 

Alleghany, Ashe, Catawba, 

Cleveland, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, 

Iredell, Lincoln, Polk, Rutherford, 

Stokes, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, and 

Yadkin counties. 

(D) Monday of Saturday after 

Thanksgiving week Day through the 

third Saturday after Thanksgiving Day 

January 1 in Avery, Buncombe, 

Burke, Caldwell, Cherokee, Clay, 

Graham, Haywood, Henderson, 

Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, 

Mitchell, Swain, Transylvania, and 

Yancey counties. 

(E) Two Saturdays before Thanksgiving 

Day through January 1 in Alamance, 

Anson, Cabarrus, Caswell, Chatham, 

Davidson, Durham, Granville, 

Guilford, Lee, Mecklenburg, 

Montgomery, Orange, Person, 

Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, 

Stanly, and Union counties. 

(F) Saturday on or nearest September 10 

through January 1 in the parts of 

Camden, Gates, and Pasquotank 

counties known as the Dismal Swamp 

National Wildlife Refuge; in the parts 

of Hyde, Tyrrell, and Washington 

counties known as the Pocosin Lakes 

National Wildlife Refuge; in the part 

of Hyde county known as Lake 

Mattamuskeet National Wildlife 

Refuge; in the parts of Dare and Hyde 

counties known as Alligator River 

National Wildlife Refuge; in the parts 

of Anson and Richmond counties 

known as the Pee Dee National 

Wildlife Refuge; and in the part of 

Currituck County known as the 

Mackay Island National Wildlife 

Refuge. 

(2) Antlered or Antlerless Deer. Except on Game 

Lands, antlered or antlerless deer may be taken 

during the open seasons and in the counties and 

portions of counties listed in Parts (A) through 

(H) of this Subparagraph. Antlered or antlerless 

deer may be taken the fourth Saturday in 

September in all counties by persons under the 

age of 18. 

(A) The open antlered or antlerless deer 

hunting dates established by the U.S. 

Fish and Wildlife Service from the 

Saturday on or nearest September 10 

through January 1 in the parts of 

Camden, Gates, and Pasquotank 

counties known as the Dismal Swamp 

National Wildlife Refuge; in the parts 

of Hyde, Tyrrell, and Washington 

counties known as the Pocosin Lakes 

National Wildlife Refuge; in the parts 

of Anson and Richmond counties 

known as the Pee Dee National 

Wildlife Refuge; and in the parts of 

Currituck County known as the 

Currituck National Wildlife Refuge 

and the Mackay Island National 

Wildlife Refuge. 

(B) The open antlered or antlerless deer 

hunting dates established by the 

military commands at the military 

installations listed in this Paragraph, 

from Saturday on or nearest October 

15 through January 1 in the part of 

Brunswick County known as the 

Sunny Point Military Ocean Terminal, 

in the part of Craven County known 

and marked as Cherry Point Marine 

Base, in the part of Onslow County 

known and marked as the Camp 

Lejeune Marine Base, on Fort Bragg 
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Liberty Military Reservation, and on 

Camp Mackall Military Reservation. 

(C) Youth deer hunts. First Saturday in 

October for youth antlered or 

antlerless deer hunting by permit only 

on a portion of Belews Creek Steam 

Station in Stokes County designated 

by agents of the Commission; the third 

Saturday in October for youth antlered 

or antlerless deer hunting by permit 

only on Mountain Island State Forest 

in Lincoln and Gaston counties; and 

the second Saturday in November for 

youth antlered or antlerless deer 

hunting by permit only on a portion of 

Warrior Creek located on W. Kerr 

Scott Reservoir in Wilkes County 

designated by agents of the 

Commission. A youth is defined as a 

person under 18 years of age. 

(D)(C) The first open Saturday of the Deer 

With Visible Antlers season Season 

described in Subparagraph (a)(1) of 

this Rule in Cherokee, Clay, Haywood 

Haywood, Jackson, Macon, Swain, 

and Transylvania counties; and in 

Buncombe and Henderson counties, 

except for the areas described in 

Subparts (a)(2)(H)(i) and (ii) of this 

Rule. counties. 

(E)(D) The first open day of the Deer With 

Visible Antlers season Season 

described in Subparagraph (a)(1) of 

this Rule through the first Saturday 

thereafter in Buncombe, Henderson, 

Madison Madison, and McDowell 

counties. counties, except in the areas 

described in Subparts (a)(2)(G)(i) and 

(ii) of this Rule. 

(F)(E) The first open day of the season for 

Deer With Visible Antlers described 

in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule 

through the second Saturday thereafter 

in Avery, Burke, Caldwell, Mitchell, 

and Yancey counties. 

(G)(F) The first open day of the season for 

Deer With Visible Antlers described 

in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule 

through the fourth Saturday thereafter 

in Cleveland, Polk, and Rutherford 

counties. 

(H)(G) Open days of the season for Deer With 

Visible Antlers described in 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule in 

and east of Ashe, Watauga, Wilkes, 

Alexander, Catawba, Lincoln, and 

Gaston counties and in the following 

parts of counties: 

(i) The part of Buncombe 

County east of NC N.C. 191, 

south of the French Broad 

and Swannanoa Rivers, west 

of US U.S. 25, and north of 

NC N.C. 280; and 

(ii) The part of Henderson 

County east of NC N.C. 191 

and north and west of NC 

N.C. 280. 

(b)  Open Archery Seasons for hunting deer: 

(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out 

in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph and the 

bag limits set out in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, 

deer may be taken with archery equipment 

during the following seasons: 

(A) Saturday on or nearest September 10 

through the day immediately 

preceding the first open day of the 

Blackpowder Firearms Season 

described in Subparagraph (c)(1) of 

this Rule; and the Sunday immediately 

following the closing of Blackpowder 

Firearms Season identified in Part 

(c)(1)(B) of this Rule to the Sunday 

before Thanksgiving in the counties 

and parts of counties having the open 

seasons for Deer With Visible Antlers 

specified by Part (a)(1)(D) of this Rule 

except on Buffalo Cove, Nicholson 

Creek, Rockfish Creek, Sandhills, and 

South Mountains Game Lands. Rule, 

including on game lands unless 

otherwise specified in the rules of 15A 

NCAC 10D 0200. 

(B) Sunday immediately following the 

closing of the open season for Deer 

With Visible Antlers through January 

1 in the counties and parts of counties 

having the open season for Deer With 

Visible Antlers specified by Part 

(a)(1)(D) of this Rule.  

(2) Restrictions 

(A) In the areas of the State where the 

Commission regulates the use of dogs 

as provided in G.S. 113-291.5, dogs 

may not be used for hunting deer 

during the Archery Season, except a 

single dog on a leash may be used to 

retrieve a dead or wounded deer in 

accordance with G.S. 113-291.1(k). 

(B) Only archery equipment of the types 

authorized in 15A NCAC 10B .0116 

for taking deer may be used during the 

Archery Season. 

(C) Antlered or antlerless deer may be 

taken during Archery Season specified 

by Part (b)(1)(A) of this Rule. 
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(D) Only deer with visible antlers shall be 

taken during the Archery Season 

specified by Part (b)(1)(B) of this 

Rule. 

(c)  Open Blackpowder Firearms Seasons for hunting deer: 

(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out 

in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph, deer may 

be taken only with blackpowder firearms and 

archery equipment during the following 

seasons: from 

(A) Two two Saturdays preceding the first 

day of the open season for Deer with 

Visible Antlers described in Parts 

(a)(1)(A), (B), (C), (D), (E), and (F) of 

this Rule through the second Friday 

thereafter except on Buffalo Cove, 

Nicholson Creek, Rockfish Creek, 

Sandhills, and South Mountains Game 

Lands. including on game lands unless 

otherwise specified in the rules of 15A 

NCAC 10D .0200. 

(B) Monday on or nearest October 1 

through the second Saturday thereafter 

in the counties and parts of counties 

having the open seasons for Deer With 

Visible Antlers specified by Part (a)(1)  

(D) of this Rule. 

(2) Restrictions 

(A) Antlered or antlerless deer may be 

taken during Blackpowder Firearms 

Season in any a county or county part 

set forth in Part (a)(2)(E), (a)(2)(D), 

(E), (F), (G), or (H)(G) of this Rule 

that has one or more open days within 

the all lawful weapons season All 

Lawfull Weapons Season to legally 

harvest antlerless deer. 

(B) Antlered or antlerless deer may be 

taken during the first second open day 

Saturday of the Blackpowder Firearms 

Season thru the first Saturday Friday 

thereafter in any county or county part 

set forth in Part (a)(2)(D)(a)(2)(C) of 

this Rule Rule. 

(C) Antlered or antlerless deer may be 

taken on the first second open 

Saturday of the Blackpowder Firearms 

Season in any county or county part 

not set forth in Subparagraph (a)(2) of 

this Rule. 

(D) In the areas of the State where the 

Commission regulates the use of dogs 

as provided in G.S. 113-291.5, dogs 

shall not be used for hunting deer 

during the Blackpowder Firearms 

Season, except a single dog on a leash 

may be used to retrieve a dead or 

wounded deer in accordance with G.S. 

113-291.1(k). 

(3) As used in this Rule, "blackpowder firearms" 

means any firearm, including any firearm with 

a matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap, or 

similar type of ignition system, manufactured 

before 1899, that cannot use fixed ammunition; 

any replica of this type of firearm if the replica 

is not designed or redesigned for using rimfire 

or conventional centerfire fixed ammunition; 

and any muzzle-loading rifle, muzzle-loading 

shotgun, or muzzle-loading or cylinder-loading 

handgun that is designed to use blackpowder, 

blackpowder substitute, or any other propellant 

loaded through the muzzle, cylinder, or breech 

and that cannot use fixed ammunition. 

(d)  Open Urban Season for hunting deer: 

(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out 

in Subparagraph (3) of this Paragraph and the 

bag limits set out in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, 

antlered or antlerless deer may be taken with 

archery equipment in participating cities in the 

State, as defined in G.S. 160A-1(2), from the 

second Saturday following January 1 through 

the sixth Sunday thereafter. Deer shall not be 

taken on game lands within a city boundary. 

(2) Participation. Cities that intend to participate in 

the Urban Season shall send a letter to that 

effect no later than April 1 of the year prior to 

the start of the Urban Season to the Executive 

Director or his designee at 1722 Mail Service 

Center, Raleigh, N.C. 27699-1700. Cities shall 

also submit a map of the city's boundaries 

within which the Urban Season shall apply. 

(3) Restrictions: 

(A) In the areas of the State where the 

Commission regulates the use of dogs 

as provided in G.S. 113-291.5, dogs 

shall not be used for hunting deer 

during the Urban Season except a 

single dog on a leash may be used to 

retrieve a dead or wounded deer in 

accordance with G.S. 113-291.1(k). 

(B) Only archery equipment of the types 

authorized in 15A NCAC 10B .0116 

for taking deer shall be used during the 

Urban Season. 

(e)  Bag limits. The possession and season limit is six deer, two 

that may be deer with visible antlers and four that may be 

antlerless deer. Antlerless deer include males with knobs or 

buttons covered by skin or velvet as distinguished from spikes 

protruding through the skin. A hunter may obtain multiple Bonus 

Antlerless Deer Harvest Report Cards from the Wildlife 

Resources Commission or any Wildlife Service Agent to allow 

the harvest of two additional antlerless deer per card for deer 

harvested during the season described in Paragraph (d) of this 

Rule within the boundaries of participating municipalities, except 

on State-owned game lands. Antlerless deer harvested and 

reported on the bonus antlerless harvest report card shall not count 

as part of the possession and season limit. 
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(f)  Deer Management Assistance Program. The bag limits 

described in Paragraph (e) of this Rule do not apply to deer 

harvested in areas covered in the Deer Management Assistance 

Program (DMAP) as described in G.S. 113-291.2(e) for those 

individuals using Commission-issued DMAP tags and reporting 

harvest as described on the DMAP license. Season bag limits shall 

be set by the number of DMAP tags issued and in the hunters' 

possession. All deer harvested under this program, regardless of 

the date of harvest, shall be tagged with DMAP tags and reported 

as instructed on the DMAP license. The hunter does not have to 

validate the Big Game Harvest Report Card provided with the 

hunting license for deer tagged with the DMAP tags. Any deer 

harvested on lands enrolled in the DMAP and not tagged with 

DMAP tags may only be harvested during the regularly 

established deer seasons subject to the restrictions of those 

seasons, including bag limits, and reported using the big game 

harvest report card or the bonus antlerless harvest report card. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.3; 113-276.1; 113-291.1; 113-

291.2; 113-291.5. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0211 RING-NECKED PHEASANT 

(a)  On the barrier islands of Carteret, Dare, and Hyde counties 

east of Core Sound and Pamlico Sound, the The open season for 

taking ring-necked pheasant is shall be the Saturday before 

Thanksgiving Day through the last day of February to February 1 

on male pheasant only. 

(b)  In areas of the state not specified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, 

the open season for taking male and female ring-necked pheasant 

is the earlier of the first Saturday in September or Labor Day, 

through the last day of February. 

(b)(c)  The In the areas of the state specified in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule, the daily bag limit for ring-necked pheasants is three, 

the possession limit is six, and the season limit is 30. 

(d)  In areas of the state not specified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, 

there is no daily bag limit, no season limit, and no possession 

limit. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.2. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0223 FERAL SWINE 

(a)  There is no closed season for taking feral swine on private 

lands anytime during the day or night. 

(b)  Feral swine may be taken on game lands from the hours of 

one-half hour before sunrise until one-half hour after sunset 

during the an open season for any game animal animals or game 

bird birds using any the legal manner manners of take allowed 

during those seasons. season, except that dogs may not be used to 

hunt feral swine on game lands that do not allow the use of dogs 

for hunting white-tailed deer or black bear. Where lawful, the 

hunting of feral swine with dogs is allowed during the applicable 

deer or bear season unless otherwise specified in the Rules of 15A 

NCAC 10D .0200. 

(c)  Feral swine may be taken on game lands from one-half hour 

after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise by permit only. 

Individuals may apply for permits on or after July 1 online at 

ncwildlife.org, by phone, or in person at a wildlife service agent 

location. The number of permits issued annually will be based on 

achieving population management objectives of the Commission. 

The Commission shall issue available feral swine permits to 

applicants selected at random by computer. Permits shall be non-

transferrable. All applicable laws and rules regarding the taking 

of feral swine shall apply. 

(d)  There are no bag limits on feral swine. 

(e)  Hunters may use artificial lights and electronic calls. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-129; 113-134; 113-264; 113-291; 113-291.1; 

113-291.2. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10C - INLAND FISHING REGULATIONS 

 

SECTION .0200 - GENERAL REGULATIONS 

15A NCAC 10C .0205 PUBLIC MOUNTAIN TROUT 

WATERS 

(a)  For purposes of this Rule, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Natural bait" means a living or dead plant or 

animal, or parts thereof, or prepared substances 

designed to attract fish by the sense of taste or 

smell. 

(2) "Single hook" means a fish hook with only one 

point. 

(3) "Artificial lure" means a fishing lure that 

neither contains nor has been treated by a 

substance that attracts fish by the sense of taste 

or smell. 

(4) "Artificial fly" means one single hook dressed 

with feathers, hair, thread, tinsel, rubber, or a 

similar material to which no additional hook, 

spinner, spoon spoon, or similar device is 

added. 

(5) "Youth anglers" are individuals under 18 years 

of age. 

(b)  For purposes of this Rule, 15A NCAC 10C .0316, and 15A 

NCAC 10D .0104, the following classifications apply: 

(1) "Public Mountain Trout Waters" are the waters 

included in this Rule and those designated in 

15A NCAC 10D .0104. 

(2) "Catch and Release Artificial Flies and Lures 

Only Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout 

Waters where only artificial flies and lures 

having one single hook may be used. No trout 

may be possessed or harvested while fishing 

these streams. Waters with this designation 

include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(3) "Delayed Harvest Trout Waters" are Public 

Mountain Trout Waters where between October 

1 and one-half hour after sunset on the Friday 

before the first Saturday of the following June, 

it is unlawful to possess natural bait, use more 

than one single hook on an artificial lure, or 

harvest or possess trout while fishing. From 

6:00 a.m. until noon on the first Saturday in 

June, only youth anglers may fish and these 

waters have no bait or lure restrictions. From 

noon on the first Saturday in June until October 

1, anglers of all ages may fish and these waters 

have with no bait or lure restrictions. Waters 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

38:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 1, 2023 

691 

with this designation do not include tributaries 

unless otherwise noted. 

(4) "Hatchery Supported Trout Waters" are Public 

Mountain Trout Waters that have no bait or lure 

restrictions. Waters with this designation do not 

include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(5) "Special Regulation Trout Waters" are Public 

Mountain Trout Waters where watercourse-

specific regulations apply. Waters with this 

designation do not include tributaries unless 

otherwise noted. 

(6) "Wild Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout 

Waters identified in this Rule or 15A NCAC 

10D .0104. Only artificial lures having only one 

single hook may be used. No person shall 

possess natural bait while fishing these waters. 

Waters with this designation do not include 

tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(7) "Wild Trout Natural Bait Waters" are Public 

Mountain Trout Waters where artificial lures 

and natural baits, except live fish, may be used 

provided they are fished using only one single 

hook. Waters with this designation include 

tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(8)(7) "Undesignated Waters" are the other waters in 

the State. These waters have no bait or lure 

restrictions. 

(c)  Seasons, creel, and size limits. Seasons, creel, and size limits 

for trout are listed in Rule .0316 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  Classifications. This Paragraph designates waters in each 

county that have a specific classification. Waters on game lands 

are designated in 15A NCAC 10D .0104, unless otherwise 

indicated in this Paragraph. The other waters are classified as 

Undesignated Waters. 

(1) Alleghany 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Little River from the S.R. 1133 bridge 

to 275 yards downstream of the 

intersection of S.R. 1128 and S.R. 

1129, marked by a sign on both banks 

(B)(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Big Pine Creek 

Bledsoe Creek 

Brush Creek from the N.C. 21 bridge 

to the confluence with the Little River, 

except where posted against 

trespassing 

Cranberry Creek 

Glade Creek 

Little River from 275 400 yards 

downstream upstream of the 

intersection of S.R. 1128 and S.R. 

1129, bridge, marked by a sign on both 

banks, each bank, to McCann Dam 

Meadow Fork 

Pine Swamp Creek 

Piney Fork 

Prathers Creek 

(C)(B) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

The waters located on Stone Mountain 

State Park 

(2) Ashe County 

(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Big Horse Creek from the Virginia 

state line to Mud Creek at S.R. 1363, 

excluding tributaries 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Big Horse Creek from the S.R. 1324 

bridge to the North Fork New River 

Helton Creek from 900 yards 

upstream of the S.R. 1372 bridge, 

marked by a sign on both banks to the 

North Fork New River a point adjacent 

to intersection of N.C. 16 and S.R. 

1536 

South Fork New River from the 

upstream end of Todd Island to the 

S.R. 1351 bridge 

Trout Lake 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Beaver Creek from N.C. 221 to the 

confluence of Beaver Creek and South 

Beaver Creek 

Big Horse Creek from Mud Creek at 

S.R. 1363 to the S.R. 1324 bridge 

Big Laurel Creek from the S.R. 1315 

bridge to the confluence with the 

North Fork New River 

Buffalo Creek from the S.R. 1133 

bridge to the N.C. 194-88 bridge 

Cranberry Creek from the Alleghany 

Co. line to the South Fork New River 

Nathans Creek 

North Fork New River from the 

Watauga Co. line to Sharp Dam 

Old Fields Creek from N.C. 221 to the 

South Fork New River 

Peak Creek from the upper boundary 

of the NCDA-NCSU Upper Mountain 

Research Station to Trout Lake 

Roan Creek 

Three Top Creek 

(3) Avery County 

(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Elk River, the portion on Lees-McRae 

College property, excluding the 

millpond 

Lost Cove Creek, the game land 

portion, excluding Gragg Prong and 

Rockhouse Creek 
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Wilson Creek, the game land portion 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Boyde Coffey Lake 

Elk River from the S.R. 1305 crossing 

immediately upstream of Big Falls to 

the Tennessee state line 

Linville River from S.R. 1504 to the 

Blue Ridge Parkway boundary line, 

except where posted against 

trespassing 

Milltimber Creek 

North Toe River from Watauga St. to 

Roby Shoemaker Wetlands and 

Family Recreational Park, except 

where posted against trespassing 

North Toe River from S.R. 1164 to 

Mitchell Co. line, except where posted 

against trespassing 

Squirrel Creek 

Wildcat Lake 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Birchfield Creek 

Cow Camp Creek 

Cranberry Creek from the headwaters 

to the U.S. 19E, N.C. 194, bridge 

Gragg Prong 

Horse Creek 

Kentucky Creek 

North Harper Creek 

Plumtree Creek 

Roaring Creek 

Rockhouse Creek 

Shawneehaw Creek, the portion 

adjacent to Banner Elk Greenway 

South Harper Creek 

Webb Prong 

(4) Buncombe County 

(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Carter Creek, the game land portion 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Bent Creek from the headwaters to the 

N.C. Arboretum boundary line 

Cane Creek from the headwaters to the 

S.R. 3138 bridge 

Corner Rock Creek from Little Andy 

Creek to the confluence with Walker 

Branch 

Dillingham Creek from Corner Rock 

Creek to Ivy Creek 

Ivy Creek from Dillingham Creek to 

the U.S. 19-23 bridge 

Lake Powhatan 

Reems Creek from Sugar Camp Fork 

to the U.S. 19-23 bridge, except where 

posted against trespassing 

Rich Branch from downstream of the 

confluence with Rocky Branch 

Stony Creek 

Swannanoa from the S.R. 2702 bridge 

near Ridgecrest to the Wood Avenue 

bridge, at the intersection of N.C. 81 

and U.S. 74A in Asheville, except 

where posted against trespassing 

(5) Burke County 

(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Henry Fork, the portion on South 

Mountains State Park 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Jacob Fork from Shinny Creek to the 

lower South Mountains State Park 

boundary 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Carroll Creek, the game land portion 

above S.R. 1405 

Henry Fork from the lower South 

Mountain State Park line to S.R. 1919 

at Ivy Creek 

Linville River, the portion within 

Linville Gorge Wilderness area and 

the portion below Lake James 

powerhouse from the upstream bridge 

on S.R. 1223 to Muddy Creek 

(D) Special Regulation Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Catawba River from Muddy Creek to 

the City of Morganton water intake 

dam 

(E) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

The waters located on South 

Mountains State Park, except those 

waters identified in Parts A and B of 

this Subparagraph 

(6) Caldwell County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Wilson Creek, the game land portion 

below Lost Cove Creek to Philips 

Branch 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Boone Fork Pond 

Buffalo Creek from the mouth of Joes 

Creek to McCloud Branch 

Joes Creek from the first falls 

upstream of S.R. 1574 to the 

confluence with Buffalo Creek 

Wilson Creek from Phillips Branch to 

Brown Mountain Beach Dam, except 

where posted against trespassing 
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Yadkin River from the Happy Valley 

Ruritan Community Park to S.R. 1515 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Buffalo Creek from the Watauga Co. 

line to Long Ridge Branch including 

game land tributaries 

Joes Creek from the Watauga Co. line 

to the first falls upstream of the end of 

S.R. 1574 

Rockhouse Creek 

(7) Cherokee County 

(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Davis Creek from the confluence of 

Bald Creek and Dockery Creek to 

Hanging Dog Creek 

Hyatt Creek from Big Dam Branch to 

the Valley River 

Junaluska Creek from Ashturn Creek 

to the Valley River 

Shuler Creek from the Joe Brown 

Hwy, S.R. 1325 bridge, to the 

Tennessee state line 

Valley River from S.R. 1359 to the 

U.S. 19 Business bridge in Murphy 

(B) Special Regulation Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Apalachia Reservoir 

(C) Wild Trout Natural Bait Waters are as 

follows: 

Bald Creek, the game land portion 

Dockery Creek, the game land portion 

(8) Clay County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Fires Creek from Rockhouse Creek to 

the foot bridge in the USFS Fires 

Creek Picnic Area 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Buck Creek, the game land portion 

downstream of the U.S. 64 bridge 

Fires Creek from the foot bridge in the 

USFS Fires Creek Picnic Area to S.R. 

1300 

Tusquitee Creek from Compass Creek 

to the lower S.R. 1300 bridge 

(9) Graham County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Snowbird Creek from the USFS 

footbridge at the old railroad junction 

to USFS Rd. 2579 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Calderwood Reservoir from Cheoah 

Dam to the Tennessee state line 

Cheoah Reservoir 

Panther Creek from the confluence of 

Stand Creek and Rock Creek to Lake 

Fontana 

Santeetlah Creek from Johns Branch 

to Lake Santeetlah 

Snowbird Creek from USFS Rd. 2579 

to the S.R. 1127 bridge 

Stecoah Creek from the upper game 

land boundary to Lake Fontana 

Tulula Creek from S.R. 1201 to the 

lower bridge on S.R. 1275 

West Buffalo Creek 

Yellow Creek from Lake Santeetlah 

hydropower pipeline to the Cheoah 

River 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Little Buffalo Creek 

South Fork Squally Creek 

Squally Creek 

(D) Wild Trout Natural Bait Waters are as 

follows: 

Long Creek, the game land portion 

(10) Haywood County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

West Fork Pigeon River from Queen 

Creek to the first game land boundary 

upstream of Lake Logan 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Cold Springs Creek from Fall Branch 

to the Pigeon River 

Jonathan Creek from upstream of the 

S.R. 1302 bridge to the Pigeon River, 

except where posted against 

trespassing 

Pigeon River from Stamey Cove 

Branch to the upstream U.S. 19-23 

bridge 

Richland Creek from the Russ 

Avenue, U.S. 276, bridge to the U.S. 

19 bridge 

West Fork Pigeon River from Tom 

Creek to Queen Creek, including the 

game land portion, except Middle 

Prong Creek 

(11) Henderson County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

North Fork Mills River, the game land 

portion below the Hendersonville 

watershed dam 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Broad River from the end of S.R. 1611 

to the Rutherford Co. line 

Cane Creek from the railroad bridge 

upstream of the S.R. 1551 bridge to 

the U.S. 25 bridge 
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Clear Creek from Laurel Fork to S.R. 

1582 

Green River from the Lake Summit 

powerhouse to the game land 

boundary 

Hungry River from S.R. 1885 to the 

Green River 

(12) Jackson County 

(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Flat Creek 

Tuckasegee River, the game land 

portion upstream of Tanasee Creek 

Lake, including the Duke Energy 

powerline corridor 

Tuckasegee River the portion 

upstream from the Clark property 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Tuckasegee River from downstream 

of the N.C. 107 bridge to the falls 

located 275 yards upstream of the U.S. 

23-441 bridge, marked by a sign on 

both banks 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Balsam Lake 

Bear Creek Lake 

Cedar Cliff Lake 

Cullowhee Creek from Tilley Creek to 

the Tuckasegee River 

Dark Ridge Creek from Jones Creek to 

Scott Creek 

Greens Creek from Greens Creek 

Baptist Church on S.R. 1370 to 

Savannah Creek 

Savannah Creek from Shell Branch to 

Cagle Branch 

Scott Creek from Dark Ridge Creek to 

the Tuckasegee River, except where 

posted against trespassing 

Tanasee Creek Lake 

Tuckasegee River from John Brown 

Branch to the downstream N.C. 107 

bridge 

Tuckasegee River from the falls 

located 275 yards upstream of the U.S. 

23-441 bridge, marked by a sign on 

both banks, to the S.R. 1534 bridge at 

Wilmont 

Wolf Creek Lake 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Gage Creek 

North Fork Scott Creek 

Tanasee Creek 

Whitewater River from Silver Run 

Creek to the South Carolina state line 

Wolf Creek except Balsam Lake and 

Wolf Creek Lake 

(E) Wild Trout Natural Bait Waters are as 

follows: 

Chattooga River from the S.R. 1100 

bridge to the South Carolina state line 

(13) Macon County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Nantahala River from Whiteoak Creek 

to the Nantahala hydropower 

discharge canal 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Burningtown Creek from Left Prong 

to the Little Tennessee River 

Cartoogechaye Creek from 

downstream of the U.S. 64 bridge to 

the Little Tennessee River 

Cliffside Lake 

Cullasaja River from Sequoyah Dam 

to the U.S. 64 bridge near the junction 

of S.R. 1672 

Nantahala River from Dicks Creek to 

Whiteoak Creek 

Nantahala River from the Nantahala 

hydropower discharge canal to the 

Swain Co. line 

Queens Creek Lake 

(C) Wild Trout Natural Bait Waters are as 

follows: 

Chattooga River from the S.R. 1100 

bridge to the South Carolina state line 

Kimsey Creek 

Park Creek 

(14) Madison County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Big Laurel Creek from the N.C. 208 

bridge to the U.S. 25-70 bridge 

Shelton Laurel Creek from the N.C. 

208 bridge at Belva to the confluence 

with Big Laurel Creek 

Spring Creek from the N.C. 209 bridge 

at the Hot Springs city limits to the 

iron bridge at end of Andrews Ave. 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Big Laurel Creek from Puncheon Fork 

to the S.R. 1318, Big Laurel Rd., 

bridge downstream of Bearpen Branch 

Big Pine Creek from the S.R. 1151 

bridge to the French Broad River 

Little Ivy Creek from the confluence 

of Middle Fork and Paint Fork at 

Beech Glen to the confluence with Ivy 

Creek at Forks of Ivy 

Max Patch Pond 
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Meadow Fork Creek from Meadow 

Fork Campground to Spring Creek 

Puncheon Fork from Wolf Laurel 

Branch to Big Laurel Creek 

Roaring Fork from Fall Branch to 

Meadow Fork 

Shelton Laurel Creek from the 

confluence of Big Creek and Mill 

Creek to the N.C. 208 bridge at Belva 

Shut-in Creek 

Spillcorn Creek 

Spring Creek from the junction of 

N.C. 209 and N.C. 63 to the 

confluence with Meadow Fork 

West Fork Shut-in Creek from the 

lower game land boundary to the 

confluence with East Fork Shut-in 

Creek 

(15) McDowell County 

(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Newberry Creek, the game land 

portion 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Catawba River, the portion adjacent to 

the Marion Greenway 

Curtis Creek, the game land portion 

downstream of the USFS boundary at 

Deep Branch 

Mill Creek from the U.S. 70 bridge to 

the I-40 bridge 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Armstrong Creek from the Cato Holler 

line downstream to the upper Greenlee 

line 

Catawba River from the Catawba Falls 

Campground to the Old Fort 

Recreation Park 

Little Buck Creek, the game land 

portion 

North Fork Catawba River from the 

headwaters to North Cove School at 

the S.R. 1569 bridge 

(16) Mitchell County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Cane Creek from the N.C. 226 bridge 

to the S.R. 1189 bridge 

North Toe River from the U.S. 19E 

bridge to the N.C. 226 bridge 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Big Rock Creek from the headwaters 

to the N.C. 226 bridge at the S.R. 1307 

intersection 

Cane Creek from S.R. 1219 to the 

N.C. 226 bridge 

East Fork Grassy Creek 

Grassy Creek from East Fork Grassy 

Creek to the mouth 

Little Rock Creek from the Green 

Creek bridge to Big Rock Creek, 

except where posted against 

trespassing 

North Toe River from the Avery Co. 

line to the S.R. 1121 bridge 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Green Creek from the headwaters to 

the Green Creek bridge, except where 

posted against trespassing 

Little Rock Creek the portion 

upstream of the Green Creek bridge, 

including the tributaries, except where 

posted against trespassing 

Wiles Creek from the game land 

boundary to the mouth 

(17) Polk County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Green River from the Fishtop Falls 

Access Area to the confluence with 

Cove Creek 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Green River from the mouth of Cove 

Creek to the natural gas pipeline 

crossing 

North Pacolet River from Joels Creek 

to the N.C. 108 bridge 

(18) Rutherford County 

(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Broad River from the Henderson Co. 

line to the U.S. 64/74 bridge, except 

where posted against trespassing 

(19) Stokes County 

(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Dan River from the Virginia state line 

downstream to a point 200 yards 

below the end of S.R. 1421 

(20) Surry County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Ararat River, the portion adjacent to 

the Ararat River Greenway 

Mitchell River from 0.6 miles 

upstream of the end of S.R. 1333 to the 

lowermost bridge on S.R. 1330 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Ararat River from the S.R. 1727 

bridge to the N.C. 103 bridge 
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Big Elkin Creek from the dam 440 

yards upstream of the N.C. 268 bridge 

to a point 265 yards downstream of 

N.C. 268, marked by a sign on both 

banks 

Fisher River from the Virginia state 

line to the I-77 bridge 

Little Fisher River from the Virginia 

state line to the N.C. 89 bridge 

Lovills Creek from the U.S. 52 

Business bridge to the Ararat River 

Pauls Creek from the Virginia state 

line to 0.3 miles below the S.R. 1625 

bridge 

(21) Swain County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Waters Trout Waters 

are as follows: 

Tuckasegee River from the U.S. 19 

bridge to the Slope Street bridge 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Alarka Creek from the game land 

boundary to Fontana Reservoir 

Calderwood Reservoir from Cheoah 

Dam to the Tennessee state line 

Cheoah Reservoir 

Connelly Creek from Camp Branch to 

the Tuckasegee River 

Deep Creek from the Great Smoky 

Mountains National Park Boundary 

line to the Tuckasegee River 

Nantahala River from the Macon Co. 

line to the existing Fontana Lake water 

level 

(22) Transylvania County 

(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Davidson River from the headwaters 

to Avery Creek, excluding Avery 

Creek, Looking Glass Creek, Grogan 

Creek, Cedar Rock Creek and John 

Rock Branch 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

East Fork French Broad River from 

East Fork Baptist Church to the 

downstream S.R. 1107 bridge 

Little River from the confluence of 

Lake Dense to 100 yards downstream 

of Hooker Falls 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Davidson River from Avery Creek to 

the lower USFS boundary 

French Broad River from the 

confluence of the North Fork French 

Broad River and West Fork 

French Broad River to the Island Ford 

Rd., S.R. 1110, Access Area 

Middle Fork French Broad River from 

upstream of the U.S. 178 bridge to the 

French Broad River 

West Fork French Broad River from 

S.R. 1312 to confluence with North 

Fork French Broad River 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

The waters located on Gorges State 

Park 

Whitewater River from Silver Run 

Creek to the South Carolina state line 

(E) Wild Trout Natural Bait Waters are as 

follows: 

North Fork French Broad River, the 

game land portion downstream of S.R. 

1326 

Thompson River from S.R. 1152 to the 

South Carolina state line, except 

where posted against trespassing 

(23) Watauga County 

(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Laurel Creek from the confluence of 

North Fork Laurel Creek and South 

Fork Laurel Creek to Elk Creek, 

excluding tributaries 

Pond Creek from the headwaters to the 

Locust Ridge Rd. bridge, excluding 

the pond adjacent to Coffee Lake 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Lake Coffey 

Watauga River from the S.R. 1114 

bridge to the Valle Crucis Community 

Park lower boundary 

Watauga River from the S.R. 1103 

bridge to the confluence with Laurel 

Creek 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Beaverdam Creek from the confluence 

of Beaverdam Creek and Little 

Beaverdam Creek to an unnamed 

tributary adjacent to the intersection of 

S.R. 1201 and S.R. 1203 

Beech Creek 

Buckeye Creek from Buckeye Creek 

Reservoir dam to Grassy Gap Creek 

Buckeye Creek Reservoir 

Cove Creek from the S.R. 1233 bridge 

at Zionville to the S.R. 1214 bridge at 

Sherwood 

Dutch Creek from the second S.R. 

1136 bridge to the mouth 
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Elk Creek from the S.R. 1510 bridge 

at Triplett to the Wilkes Co. line, 

except where posted 

against trespassing 

Laurel Creek from the S.R. 1123 

bridge at the S.R. 1157 intersection to 

the Watauga River 

Meat Camp Creek from the S.R. 1340 

bridge at the S.R. 1384 intersection to 

N.C. 194 

Middle Fork New River from adjacent 

to the intersection of S.R. 1539 and 

U.S. 321 to the South Fork New River 

Norris Fork Creek 

South Fork New River from the canoe 

launch 70 yards upstream of U.S. 421 

bridge to the lower boundary of 

Brookshire Park 

Stony Fork from the S.R. 1500 bridge 

at the S.R. 1505 intersection to the 

Wilkes Co. line 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Dutch Creek from the headwaters to 

the second S.R. 1136 bridge 

Howard Creek 

Maine Branch from the headwaters to 

the North Fork New River 

North Fork New River from the 

confluence with Maine Branch and 

Mine Branch to the Ashe Co. line 

Watauga River from the Avery Co. 

line to the S.R. 1580 bridge 

Winkler Creek from the lower bridge 

on S.R. 1549 to the confluence with 

the South Fork New River 

(24) Wilkes County 

(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

East Prong Roaring River from 

Bullhead Creek to the Stone Mountain 

State Park lower boundary 

Elk Creek from the Watauga Co. line 

to the lower boundary of the Blue 

Ridge Mountain Club 

Elk Creek, the portion on 

Leatherwood Mountains development 

Reddies River from the Town of North 

Wilkesboro water intake dam to the 

confluence with the Yadkin River 

Stone Mountain Creek from the falls at 

the Alleghany Co. line to the 

confluence with the East Prong 

Roaring River and Bullhead Creek 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 

Basin Creek from the S.R. 1730 bridge 

to the confluence with Lovelace Creek 

Bell Branch Pond 

Boundary Line Pond 

Cub Creek from 0.5 miles upstream of 

the S.R. 2460 bridge to the S.R. 1001 

bridge 

Darnell Creek from the downstream 

ford on S.R. 1569 to the confluence 

with the North 

Fork Reddies River 

East Prong Roaring River from the 

Stone Mountain State Park lower 

boundary to the S.R. 

1002 Low Meadows Lane bridge 

Fall Creek from the S.R. 1300 bridge 

to the confluence with South Prong 

Lewis Fork, except where posted 

against trespassing 

Middle Fork Reddies River from the 

headwaters to the bridge on S.R. 1580 

Middle Prong Roaring River from the 

headwaters to the second bridge on 

S.R. 1736 

North Fork Reddies River from the 

headwaters to the Union School bridge 

on S.R. 1559 

Pike Creek 

Pike Creek Pond 

South Fork Reddies River from the 

S.R. 1355 bridge to the confluence 

with the Middle Fork Reddies River 

South Prong Lewis Fork from Fall 

Creek to the U.S. 421 bridge adjacent 

to the S.R. 1155 intersection 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

The waters located on Stone Mountain 

State Park, except East Prong Roaring 

River from Bullhead Creek to the 

Stone Mountain State Park lower 

boundary where Delayed Harvest 

Trout Waters regulations apply, and 

Stone Mountain Creek from the falls at 

the Alleghany Co. line to the 

confluence with the East Prong 

Roaring River and Bullhead Creek in 

Stone Mountain State Park where 

Delayed Harvest Trout Waters 

regulations apply 

(25) Yancey County 

(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

South Toe River from the headwaters 

to Upper Creek 

Upper Creek 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Cane River from Blackberry Ridge 

Rd. to the downstream boundary of 

Cane River County Park 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

38:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 1, 2023 

698 

Bald Mountain Creek, except where 

posted against trespassing 

Cane River from Bee Branch, S.R. 

1110, to Bowlens Creek 

Price Creek from the junction of S.R. 

1120 and S.R. 1121 to Indian Creek 

South Toe River from Clear Creek to 

the lower boundary line of Yancey Co. 

Recreation Park, except where posted 

against trespassing 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Cattail Creek from the bridge at 

Mountain Farm Community Rd. to the 

N.C. 197 bridge 

Lickskillet Creek 

Middle Creek from the game land 

boundary to the mouth 

 

Authority G.S. 113-272; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0208 SPAWNING AREAS 

(a)  No person shall fish by any method from March 1 to May 31 

in the following restored floodplain sloughs connected to the 

French Broad River and Mud Creek in Henderson County: 

(1) Slough 1 at 35.403687 N, 82.531970 W 

connected to the French Broad River, located 

0.25 miles upstream of Butler Bridge Rd (SR 

1345). Rd. (S.R. 1345). 

(2) Slough 2 at 35.398380 N, 82.528750 W 

connected to the French Broad River, located 

1.0 miles upstream of Butler Bridge Rd. 

(3) Slough 3 at 35.396449 N, 82.525462 W 

connected to Mud Creek, located 0.1 miles 

upstream from confluence with the French 

Broad River. 

(4) Pleasant Grove slough at 35.298384 N, 

82.584716 W connected to the French Broad 

River, located 0.25 miles upstream from S.R. 

1205, Etowah School Road. 

(b)  Each slough shall be marked with signs on both banks. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 

 

SECTION .0300 – GAME FISH IN INLAND FISHING 

WATERS 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0305 LARGEMOUTH BASS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass is five fish, except 

in waters identified in Paragraphs (d), (e), (f), (l), (m), and (n) of 

this Rule. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass, but only 

two of them may be less than 14 inches except in waters identified 

in Paragraphs (d) through (n) of this Rule. 

(c)  There is no closed season, except for in waters identified in 

Paragraph (l)(n) of this Rule. 

(d)  In Lake Cammack in Alamance County, and Lake Holt in 

Granville County, the daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass is 10 

fish and no more than two fish greater than 14 inches may be 

possessed. 

(e)  In Lake Santeetlah in Graham County, there is no daily creel 

limit for Largemouth Bass and Smallmouth Bass less than 14 

inches. The daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass and 

Smallmouth Bass greater than 14 inches is five fish in the 

aggregate. 

(f)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit for 

Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, Alabama Bass, and Spotted 

Bass is 10 fish in the aggregate. The minimum size limit for 

Largemouth Bass is 12 inches. 

(g)  The minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 14 inches in 

the following: following waters: 

(1) Lake Raleigh in Wake County; 

(2) Lake Sutton in New Hanover County; 

(3) Pungo Lake in Washington and Hyde counties; 

(4) New Lake in Hyde County; and 

(5) Currituck, Roanoke, Croatan, Albemarle 

sounds, and all their tributaries, including 

Roanoke River downstream of Roanoke Rapids 

Dam, Chowan River, Meherrin River, Yeopim 

River, Pasquotank River, Perquimans River, 

Little River, Big Flatty Creek, North River, 

Northwest River, Scuppernong River, Alligator 

River, including the Alligator/Pungo Canal east 

of the NC N.C. Hwy 264/45 bridge, and all the 

other associated tributaries and canals in these 

river systems. 

(h)  In Cane Creek Lake in Union County, and Buckhorn 

Reservoir in Wilson and Nash counties, the minimum size limit 

for Largemouth Bass is 16 inches. 

(i)  In Lake Phelps in Tyrrell and Washington counties, the 

minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 14 inches, and no fish 

between 16 and 20 inches may be possessed. 

(j)  In Shearon Harris Reservoir in Chatham and Wake counties 

and Lake Hampton in Yadkin County, there is no minimum size 

limit for Largemouth Bass, but only Bass. No more than two 

Largemouth Bass less than 14 inches and no Largemouth Bass 

between 16 and 20 inches may be possessed. 

(k)  In Lake Thom-A-Lex in Davidson County, the minimum size 

limit for Largemouth Bass is 18 inches. 

(l)  In the Alleghany County portion of New River downstream of 

Fields Dam (Grayson County, Virginia), the daily creel limit for 

Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, and Spotted Bass is five fish 

in aggregate. There is no minimum size limit for Largemouth 

Bass, but no fish between 14 and 22 inches in length may be 

possessed and only one Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, or 

Spotted Bass greater than 22 inches may be possessed. 

(m)  In Lake Mattamuskeet and associated canals in Hyde County, 

the minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 16 inches and only 

one Largemouth Bass greater than 20 inches may be possessed. 

(n)  In Jean Guite Creek and associated canals within the Town of 

Southern Shores in Dare County and in the ponds associated with 

Martin Marietta Park in Craven County, no Largemouth Bass may 

be possessed. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0306 CRAPPIE 

(a)  There is no daily creel limit for Crappie, except for in waters 

identified in Paragraphs (d) through (h) of this Rule. 
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(b)  There is no minimum size limit except in waters identified in 

Paragraphs (f) through (h) of this Rule. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  In Buckhorn Reservoir in Wilson and Nash counties, the daily 

creel limit is 20 fish. 

(e)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit is 30 

fish. 

(f)  In the following waters, the daily creel limit is 20 fish and the 

minimum size limit is 10 inches: 

(1) Roanoke River and its tributaries downstream 

of Roanoke Rapids dam; 

(2) Cashie River and its tributaries; 

(3) Middle River and its tributaries; 

(4) Eastmost River and its tributaries; and 

(5) Lake Mattamuskeet in Hyde County. 

(g)  In the following waters, the daily creel limit is 20 fish and the 

minimum size limit is eight inches: 

(1) Lake Norman; 

(2) Lake Hyco; 

(3) Lake Ramseur; 

(4)(3) Cane Creek Lake in Union County; 

(5)(4) Lake Hampton in Yadkin County; 

(6)(5) Tar River downstream of Tar River Reservoir 

Dam including tributaries; 

(7)(6) Neuse River downstream of Falls Lake Dam 

including tributaries; 

(8)(7) Haw River downstream of B. Everett Jordan 

Reservoir Dam including tributaries; 

(9)(8) Deep River downstream of Lockville Dam 

including tributaries; 

(10)(9) Cape Fear River including tributaries; 

(11)(10) Waccamaw River downstream of Lake 

Waccamaw Dam including tributaries; 

(12)(11) Lumber River including Drowning Creek 

including tributaries; 

(13)(12) public fishing waters east of Interstate 95, 

except Tar River Reservoir in Nash County, 

Sutton Lake in New Hanover County, and 

waters listed in Paragraph (f) of this Rule; 

(14)(13) public waters west of Interstate 77, except Lake 

Chatuge; and 

(15)(14) B. Everett Jordan Reservoir. 

(h)  In John H. Kerr Reservoir, the daily creel limit is 25 fish and 

the minimum size limit is nine inches. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0307 FLOUNDER 

(a)  The daily creel limit for flounder is four one fish. 

(b)  The minimum size limit is 15 inches. 

(c)  The season for taking and possessing flounder is September 1 

through September 14. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0313 AMERICAN SHAD AND 

HICKORY SHAD 

(a)  The daily creel limit for American and hickory shad Hickory 

Shad in the aggregate is 10 fish, only one of which may be an 

American shad, except for waters identified in Paragraphs (d) 

through (f) of this Rule. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit. 

(c)  There is no closed season, except for waters identified in 

Paragraph (g) of this Rule. 

(d)  In the inland waters of the Tar-Pamlico River, Pungo River, 

Pee Dee River, and their tributaries, the daily creel limit for 

American and hickory shad Hickory Shad is 10 in the aggregate. 

(e)  In the inland waters of the Cape Fear River and its tributaries, 

the daily creel limit for American and hickory shad Hickory Shad 

is 10 in the aggregate, only five of which may be American shad. 

(f)  In all public waters of the Roanoke River upstream of Roanoke 

Rapids Dam, including Roanoke Rapids Reservoir, Lake Gaston 

Gaston, and John H. Kerr Reservoir, and their tributaries, and in 

public waters of the Yadkin-Pee Dee River upstream of Blewett 

Falls Dam, including Blewett Falls Reservoir, and its tributaries, 

no American shad may be possessed. 

(g)  The season for taking American and hickory shad Hickory 

Shad with dip nets and bow nets is March 1 through April 30. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0314 STRIPED BASS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for striped bass and its hybrids is four 

fish in the aggregate, except in waters identified in Paragraphs (d) 

and (g) through (m)(l) of this Rule. 

(b)  The minimum size limit for these fish is 20 inches, except in 

waters identified in Paragraphs (d) through (m)(l) of this Rule. 

(c)  There is no closed season, except for waters identified in 

Paragraphs (i) through (m)(l) of this Rule. 

(d)  In the Dan River upstream from its confluence with Bannister 

River to the dam at Union Street in Danville, VA and in John H. 

Kerr Reservoir, the daily creel limit on striped bass and its hybrids 

is two in the aggregate and the minimum size limit is 20 inches. 

No fish greater than 26 inches may be possessed from October 1 

through May 31. From June 1 through September 30, the daily 

creel limit on for striped bass and its hybrids is four in the 

aggregate with no minimum size limit. 

(e)  In Lake Gaston and Roanoke Rapids Reservoir, the minimum 

size limit for striped bass and its hybrids is 20 inches from October 

1 through May 31. There is no minimum size limit for these fish 

from June 1 through September 30. 

(f)  In Farmer Lake, Hyco Lake, Moss Lake, Mountain Island 

Reservoir, Oak Hollow Lake, Lake Thom-A-Lex, Lake 

Townsend, and Salem Lake the minimum size limit for striped 

bass and its hybrids is 16 inches. 

(g)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit is 15 in 

the aggregate. There is no minimum size limit, but only and two 

may be greater than 22 inches. 

(h)  In Lake Mattamuskeet, and in the Pee Dee River and its 

tributaries downstream from the Blewett Falls Dam to the South 

Carolina state line, the daily creel limit for striped bass and its 

hybrids is three fish in the aggregate, and the minimum size limit 

is 18 inches. 

(i)  In the inland fishing waters of Neuse, Pungo, and Tar Pamlico 

rivers and their tributaries extending upstream to the first 

impoundment of the main course on the river or its tributaries, and 

in the other inland fishing waters east of Interstate 95 not specified 

in Paragraphs (h) and (j) through (l) of this Rule, the daily creel 
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limit for striped bass and its hybrids is two fish in the aggregate. 

The minimum size limit is 26 inches. In these waters, the season 

for taking and possessing striped bass is closed from May 1 

through September 30. 

(j)(i)  In the inland fishing waters of the Tar, Pungo, Neuse, and 

Cape Fear River rivers and its their tributaries downstream of 

Buckhorn Dam extending upstream to the first impoundment of 

the main course on the river or its tributaries and in the ponds 

associated with Martin Marietta Park in Craven County, the 

season for taking and possessing striped bass is closed year-round. 

(k)(j)  In the inland and joint fishing waters of the Roanoke River 

Striped Bass Management Area, as established in 15A NCAC 

03R .0201 and identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0110 which includes 

the Roanoke, Cashie, Middle, and Eastmost rivers and their 

tributaries, the open season for taking and possessing striped bass 

and its hybrids is March 1 through April 30 from the joint-coastal 

fishing waters boundary at Albemarle Sound upstream to 

Roanoke Rapids Lake Dam. During the open season, the daily 

creel limit for striped bass and its hybrids is one fish in the 

aggregate, and the minimum size limit is 18 inches. No fish over 

22 inches in length shall be possessed in the daily creel limit. 

possessed. 

(l)(k)  In designated inland and joint fishing waters of Roanoke 

Sound, Croatan Sound, Albemarle Sound, Chowan 

River, Currituck Sound, Alligator River, Scuppernong River, and 

their tributaries, excluding the Roanoke River and 

Cashie River and their tributaries, the striped bass fishing season, 

size limits, and creel limits are the same as those established by 

rules or proclamations of the Marine Fisheries Commission in 

adjacent coastal fishing waters. 

(m)(l)  In accordance with G.S. 113-292, the Executive Director 

may, by proclamation, suspend or extend the hook-and-line 

season for striped bass in the inland and joint waters of coastal 

rivers and their tributaries. It is unlawful to violate the provisions 

of a proclamation issued pursuant to this authority. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0316 MOUNTAIN TROUT 

(a)  The daily creel limit for trout in Hatchery-Supported Trout 

Waters is seven fish. There is no minimum size limit for these 

fish. The open season is from 7 a.m. on the first Saturday in April 

until March 1, except for waters designated in Paragraph (g) of 

this Rule. 

(b)  The daily creel limit for trout in Wild Trout Waters and Wild 

Trout/Natural Bait Trout Waters is four fish. The minimum size 

limit for these fish is seven inches. There is no closed season. 

(c)  No trout may be harvested from Catch and Release/Artificial 

Flies and Lures Only Trout Waters. Trout may shall not be 

possessed while fishing these waters. 

(d)  The daily creel limit for trout in Delayed Harvest Trout 

Waters is seven fish. There is no minimum size limit for these 

fish. The Youth-only Delayed Harvest Trout Water Season is 

from 6 a.m. on the first Saturday in June until 12 p.m. that same 

day. During this season only individuals under the age of 18 may 

fish. From 12 p.m. on the first Saturday in June until September 

30, the Delayed Harvest Trout Waters Season is open for all 

anglers. From October 1 to one-half hour after sunset on the 

Friday before the first Saturday in June, trout may shall not be 

harvested or possessed while fishing these waters. Delayed 

Harvest Trout Waters are closed to all fishing from one-half hour 

after sunset on the Friday before the first Saturday in June to 6 

a.m. on the first Saturday in June. 

(e)  The daily creel limits, size limits, and seasons for trout in 

Special Regulation Trout Waters are as follows: 

(1) Apalachia Reservoir (Cherokee County) the 

daily creel limit is three trout. There is no 

minimum size limit, but only one may be 

greater than 14 inches. There is no closed 

season. 

(2) Catawba River (Burke County) from Muddy 

Creek to the City of Morganton water intake 

dam the daily creel limit is two fish. The 

minimum size limit is 14 inches. There is no 

closed season. 

(f)  The daily creel limit for trout in undesignated trout waters is 

seven fish. There is no minimum size limit for these fish. 

(g)  There is no closed season on taking trout from Linville River 

within Linville Gorge Wilderness Area and the impounded waters 

of the following power reservoirs and municipally-owned water 

supply reservoirs open to the public for fishing. 

(1) Bear Creek Lake; 

(2) Buckeye Creek Reservoir; 

(3) Calderwood Reservoir; 

(4) Cedar Cliff Lake; 

(5) Cheoah Reservoir; 

(6) Cliffside Lake; 

(7) Tanassee Creek Lake; 

(8) Queens Creek Lake; and 

(9) Wolf Lake. 

(h)  In designated Public Mountain Trout Waters the season for 

taking all species of fish is the same as the trout fishing 

season. 

(i)  All trout Trout water designations and manners of take are set 

forth in 15A NCAC 10C .0205. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 

 

SECTION .0800 – JOINT FISHING WATERS 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0801 INLAND GAME FISHES 

DESIGNATED IN JOINT FISHING WATERS 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, the following fishes are 

classified and designated as inland game fishes in joint fishing 

waters: 

(1) Alabama bass, largemouth bass, redeye bass, 

smallmouth bass, and spotted bass; 

(2) black crappie and white crappie; 

(3) chain pickerel (jack), muskellunge, and redfin 

pickerel; 

(4) kokanee salmon; 

(5) mountain trout, including but not limited to 

brook trout, brown trout, and rainbow trout; 

(6) Roanoke bass and rock bass (redeye); 

(7) sauger and walleye; and 

(8) sunfish, including bluegill (bream), flier, 

pumpkinseed, redbreast (robin), redear 

(shellcracker), warmouth, and the other species 
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of the sunfish family (Centrarchidae) not 

specifically listed in this Rule. 

(b)  Inland game fishes shall not be taken by methods other than 

with hook and line, except that landing nets may be used to land 

fishes caught on hook and line. 

(c)  Size, creel limits, and seasons for inland game fishes in joint 

fishing waters shall be the same as those designated in Section 

.0300 for inland fishing waters. 

(d)  Inland game fishes taken incidental to commercial fishing 

operations shall be immediately returned to the water unharmed. 

(e)  Inland game fishes taken from joint fishing waters shall not 

be sold. 

(f)  Individuals may take up to the daily creel limit of those species 

of inland game fish having a specified creel limit. 

(g)  On the waters being fished, individuals may possess: 

(1) the specified daily creel limit for the species; 

(2) fish conforming to the size limit for the species; 

and 

(3) the daily creel limit while fishing or afield. 

(h)  Individuals may possess up to three days creel limit at any 

place. 

(i)  No person, while fishing or afield, shall: 

(1) unnecessarily destroy any inland game fish 

taken from public fishing waters; 

(2) remove the head or tail or otherwise change the 

appearance of a game fish having a size limit to 

render it impracticable to measure its total 

original length; or 

(3) change the appearance of a game fish having a 

daily creel limit to obscure its identification or 

render it impracticable to count the number of 

fish in possession. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-135; 113-135.1; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0802 TAKING AND POSSESSION OF 

OTHER FISHES BY HOOK AND LINE IN JOINT 

FISHING WATERS 

(a)  This Rule applies to fish taken by hook and line in joint fishing 

waters, excluding the species listed in 15A NCAC 10C .0801. 

(b)  Landing nets may be used to land fishes caught on hook and 

line. 

(c)  Set hooks, jug hooks, and trotlines may be used as designated 

in 15A NCAC 10C .0206 to take fishes in joint fishing waters. 

(d)  Size, creel limits, and seasons for fishes taken by hook and 

line in joint fishing waters shall be the same as those designated 

in Sections .0300 and .0400 for inland fishing waters with the 

following exceptions: 

(1) In the joint fishing waters of the Tar-Pamlico 

River, Pungo River, and their tributaries, the 

daily creel limit for American and Hickory 

Shad is 10 in aggregate. 

(2) In the joint fishing waters of the Cape Fear 

River and its tributaries, the daily creel limit for 

American and Hickory Shad is 10 in aggregate, 

five of which may be American Shad. 

(3) In the joint fishing waters of the Central 

Southern Management Area, as identified in 

15A NCAC 03R .0201, size, creel limits, and 

seasons for striped bass and its hybrids are 

listed in 15A NCAC 10C .0107. 

(4) In the joint fishing waters of the Roanoke River 

Striped Bass Management Area, as identified in 

15A NCAC 10C .0110(a)(2), which includes 

the Roanoke, Cashie, Middle, and Eastmost 

rivers and their tributaries, the open season for 

taking and possessing Striped Bass and its 

hybrids is March 1 through April 30 from the 

joint-coastal fishing waters boundary at 

Albemarle Sound upstream to Roanoke Rapids 

Lake dam. During the open season, the daily 

creel limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is 

two fish in aggregate, and the minimum size 

limit is 18 inches. No fish between 22 inches 

and 27 inches in length shall be possessed in the 

daily creel limit. One fish larger than 27 inches 

may be possessed in the daily creel limit. 

(5) In designated inland and joint fishing waters of 

the Albemarle Sound Management Area, as 

identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0110(a)(1), the 

Striped Bass fishing season, size limits, and 

creel limits are the same as those established by 

rules or proclamations of the Marine Fisheries 

Commission in adjacent coastal fishing waters. 

(e)  Fishes taken by hook and line in joint fishing waters may be 

sold except those fishes for which the sale is prohibited in 

Sections .0300 and .0400 for inland fishing waters. 

(f)  For fishes taken by hook and line in joint fishing waters, 

individuals may take up to the daily creel limit of fish having a 

specified creel limit. 

(g)  On the waters being fished, individuals may possess: 

(1) the specified daily creel limit for the species; 

(2) fish conforming to the size limit of the species; 

and 

(3) the daily creel limit while fishing or afield. 

(h)  Individuals may possess up to three days creel limit at any 

place. 

(i)  No person, while fishing or afield, shall: 

(1) remove the head or tail or change the 

appearance of a fish taken by hook and line 

specified in Sections .0300 or .0400 as having a 

size limit, to render it impractical to measure its 

total original length, except for American Eel as 

provided in 15A NCAC 10C .0410. 

(2) change the appearance of a fish taken by hook 

and line that has a species-specific daily creel 

limit in Sections .0300 or .0400, to obscure its 

identification or render it impractical to count 

the number of fish in possession, except for 

American Eel as provided in 15A NCAC 10C 

.0410. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-135; 113-135.1; 113-292. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10D - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS 

 

SECTION .0100 - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS 
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15A NCAC 10D .0103 GENERAL REGULATIONS 

REGARDING HUNTING ON GAME LANDS 

(a)  The following shall be prohibited on game lands: 

(1) hunting on a designated game land while under 

the influence of alcohol or a narcotic drug; an 

impairing substance, as defined by G.S. 20-

4.01(48b); 

(2) failing to comply with restrictions enacted by 

the National Park Service regarding the use of 

the Blue Ridge Parkway where it adjoins game 

lands; 

(3) parking a vehicle on game lands in a manner 

that blocks traffic or gates, or prevents vehicles 

from using a roadway; and 

(4) erecting or occupying a tree stand or platform 

attached by nails, screws, bolts, or to a tree on a 

game land to hunt. This prohibition does not 

apply to lag-screw steps or portable stands that 

are removed after use with no metal remaining 

in or attached to the tree. 

(b)  Unless allowed by permit, hunting on game lands shall be 

during the open season for game animals and game birds. 

(c)  Individual game lands or parts of game lands may be closed 

to hunting or limited to specific dates by this Subchapter. 

(d)  Persons shall hunt with weapons lawful for the open game 

animal or game bird seasons. 

(e)  On managed waterfowl impoundments, persons shall: 

(1) not enter the posted impoundment areas earlier 

than 4:00 a.m. on the permitted hunting dates; 

(2) not hunt after 1:00 p.m. on the permitted 

hunting dates; 

(3) not set decoys out prior to 4:00 a.m.; 

(4) remove decoys by 3:00 p.m. daily; and 

(5) not operate a vessel or vehicle powered by an 

internal combustion engine. 

(f)  On Sundays, the following shall be prohibited: 

(1) hunting with a firearm between 9:30 a.m. and 

12:30 p.m.; 

(2) the use of a firearm to take deer that are run or 

chased by dogs; 

(3) hunting with a firearm within 500 yards of a 

place of religious worship, as defined by G.S. 

14-54.1(b), or an accessory structure thereof; 

and 

(4) hunting migratory game birds. 

(g)  On designated Youth Waterfowl Days Days, the following 

shall apply: 

(1) hunting on managed waterfowl impoundments 

shall be from one-half hour before sunrise to 

sunset; 

(2) Subparagraphs (e)(1), (e)(3), and (e)(5) of this 

Rule; and 

(3) youth may hunt on a game land and on an 

impoundment without a special hunt permit, 

including permit-only areas, except where 

prohibited in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(h)  On designated Veterans and Military Waterfowl Days 

veterans, as defined in 38 USC 101, and members of the Armed 

Forces on active duty, including members of the National Guard 

and Reserves on active duty other than for 

training, with valid credentials may hunt on game lands and 

impoundments not designated as permit-only areas from 

one-half hour before sunrise to sunset. Subparagraphs (e)(1), 

(e)(3), and (e)(5) of this Rule shall apply. 

(i)  On waterfowl impoundments that have a posted "Scouting-

only Zone," trapping during the trapping season and waterfowl 

hunting on designated waterfowl hunting days are the activities 

allowed on the portion of the impoundment outside of the posted 

"Scouting-only Zone." 

(j)  Definitions: 

(1) For purposes of this Subchapter, "Dove Only 

Area" refers to a Game Land on which doves 

may be taken and dove hunting is limited to 

Mondays, Wednesdays, Saturdays, 

Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, and New 

Year's Days within the federally-announced 

season. 

(2) For purposes of this Subchapter, "Three Days 

per Week Area" refers to a Game Land on 

which game may be taken during the open 

seasons and hunting is limited to Mondays, 

Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, 

Christmas Day, Veterans Day, Martin Luther 

King Day, and New Year's Days, except for 

game lands in this Rule that specifically allow 

hunting on Tuesdays, Thursday, and Fridays. 

Hunting is not allowed on Christmas Day, 

Veterans Day, and New Year's Day when these 

holidays fall on Sunday. Falconry may also be 

practiced on Sundays. These "open days" also 

apply to antlerless deer hunting seasons listed 

for each game land. Raccoon and opossum 

hunting may continue until 7:00 a.m. on 

Tuesdays, until 7:00 a.m. on Thursdays, and 

until midnight on Saturdays. 

(3) For purposes of this Subchapter, "Six Days per 

Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 

game may be taken on the open days of 

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, 

Friday, and Saturday during the open seasons. 

Falconry may be practiced on Sundays. 

(4) For purposes of this Subchapter, "Seven Days 

per Week Area" refers to a Game Land on 

which game may be taken during the open 

season on Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, 

Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays. 

(5) For purposes of this Subchapter, "Four Days 

per Week Area" refers to a Game Land on 

which game may be taken during the open 

seasons and hunting is limited to Tuesdays, 

Thursdays, Saturdays, Sundays, Labor Day, 

Veterans Day, Christmas Day, New Year's Day, 

and Martin Luther King Day. Raccoon and 

opossum hunting may continue until 7:00 a.m. 

on Wednesdays, 7:00 a.m. on Fridays, and 7:00 

a.m. on Mondays. 
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(6) For purposes of this Subchapter, "Permit" 

means a written authorization from the 

Commission required for take or other activities 

listed on the permit during open seasons, if 

applicable, in a specified area and subject to 

annual limitations imposed by the Commission 

to meet wildlife, hunter, or land management 

objectives, unless otherwise specified. 

Individuals may apply for available permits 

online at ncwildlife.org, by phone, or in person 

at a wildlife service agent location. The 

Commission shall issue permits to applicants 

selected at random by computer in accordance 

with G.S. 113-264. Permits shall be non-

transferrable. The laws and rules regarding the 

species or activity shall apply. 

(7) For the purposes of this Subchapter, "Either-

Sex" means antlered or antlerless. 

(k)  Deer shall not be taken with the use of dogs on game lands in 

counties or parts of counties where taking deer with 

dogs is prohibited as described in 15A NCAC 10B .0109. 

(l)  On permit hunts, deer of either sex antlered or antlerless deer 

may be taken on the hunt dates indicated on the permit. Completed 

applications shall be received by the Commission not later than 

the first day of September next preceding the dates of hunt. 

Permits shall be issued by random computer selection, shall be 

mailed to the permittees prior to the hunt, and are nontransferable. 

A hunter making a kill shall validate the kill and report the kill to 

a wildlife cooperator agent or by phone. 

(m)  The following game lands and refuges are closed to hunting 

except to individuals who have obtained a valid and current permit 

from the Wildlife Resources Commission: 

(1) Bertie, Halifax Halifax, and Martin counties—

Roanoke River Wetlands; 

(2) Bertie County—Roanoke River National 

Wildlife Refuge; 

(3) Bladen County—Suggs Mill Pond Game 

Lands; 

(4) Dare County—Dare Game Lands (Those parts 

of bombing range posted against hunting); 

(5) Dare County—Roanoke Sound Marshes Game 

Lands; and 

(6) Henderson and Transylvania counties—

DuPont State Forest Game Lands. 

(n)  Access to Hunting Creek Swamp Waterfowl Refuge in Davie 

County requires written permission from the Commission. 

Written permission may be granted when entry onto the 

Waterfowl Refuge shall not compromise the primary purpose for 

establishing the Waterfowl Refuge and the person requesting 

entry can demonstrate a valid need or the person is a contractor or 

agent of the Commission conducting official business. "Valid 

need" includes issues of access to private property, scientific 

investigations, surveys, or other access to conduct activities in the 

public interest. 

(o)  Feral swine may be taken by licensed hunters during the open 

season for a game animal or game bird using a legal manner of 

take allowed during those seasons. Dogs may not be used to hunt 

feral swine except on game lands that allow the use of dogs for 

hunting deer or bear, and during the open deer or bear season. 

(p)(o)  The Commission may designate special hunts for 

participants of the disabled sportsman program by permit. The 

Commission may schedule these permit hunts during the closed 

season. Hunt dates and species to be taken shall be identified on 

the permit. If the hunt has a limited weapon choice, the allowed 

weapons shall be stated on the permit. 

(q)(p)  As used in the rules of this Subchapter, horseback riding 

includes all equine species. 

(r)(q)  When waterfowl hunting is authorized on Christmas and 

New Years' Day and those days fall on Sundays, the open 

waterfowl hunting day shall be the following day. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-

296; 113-305. 

 

SECTION .0200 - USE OF GAME LANDS 

 

15A NCAC 10D .0215 R. WAYNE BAILEY-CASWELL 

GAME LAND IN CASWELL COUNTY 

(a)  R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell is a Three Days per Week Area, in 

which the following applies: 

(1) Antlered or antlerless deer may be taken from 

the first open day of the All Lawful Weapons 

Season for Deer With Visible Antlers through 

the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(2) Horseback riding, including all equine species, 

is allowed seven days per week from May 16 

through August 31, and on Sundays only, 

September 1 through May 15. Horseback riding 

is allowed on roads opened to vehicular traffic 

and on those gated roads and trails that are 

posted for equestrian use. People age 16 or 

older horseback riding on this game land shall 

possess a Game Lands license as required by 

G.S. 270.3(b)(3). 

(3) The area encompassed by the following roads 

is permit-only for quail and woodcock hunting 

and bird dog training: From Yanceyville south 

on NC 62 to the intersection of SR 1746, west 

on SR 1746 to the intersection of SR 1156, 

south on SR 1156 to the intersection of SR 

1783, east on SR 1783 to the intersection of NC 

62, north on NC 62 to the intersection of SR 

1736, east on SR 1736 to the intersection of SR 

1730, east on SR 1730 to NC 86, north on NC 

86 to NC 62. 

(4)(3) On the posted waterfowl impoundment, 

waterfowl hunting is by permit after November 

1. 

(5)(4) Camping is restricted to September 1 through 

the last day of February and March 31 through 

May 14. 

(6)(5) Target shooting is prohibited, except at the R. 

Wayne Bailey-Caswell Shooting Range. 

(b)  Hunting shall be by permit for the following species in the 

area posted as the Caswell Small Game Focal Area: 

(1) quail and woodcock; and 

(2) rabbit and squirrel on days outside of the three 

days per week framework. 
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Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-

296; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10D .0216 CHATHAM GAME LAND IN 

CHATHAM COUNTY 

Chatham game land is a Seven Days per Week Area, in which the 

following applies: 

(1) Deer of either sex Antlered or antlerless deer 

may be taken the first open day of the 

applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season 

through the second Friday thereafter. 

(2) Horseback riding, including all equine species, 

is allowed seven days per week from May 16 

through August 31, and on Sundays only 

September 1 through May 15. 

(3) The use of bicycles is restricted, except for 

hunters engaged in the act of hunting during the 

open days of the seasons for game birds and 

game animals. 

(3)(4) Target shooting is prohibited. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-

296; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10D .0225 DOVER BAY GAME LAND IN 

CRAVEN COUNTY 

(a)  Dover Bay game land is a Six Days per Week Area. 

(b)  On this game land deer of either sex antlered or antlerless deer 

may be taken on the days of the applicable Deer With Visible 

Antlers season. Season. 

(c)  Target shooting is prohibited. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-

296; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10D .0233 HARRIS GAME LAND IN 

CHATHAM, HARNETT, AND WAKE COUNTIES 

Harris game land is a Seven Days per Week Area, in which the 

following applies: 

(1) Deer of either sex Antlered or antlerless deer 

may be taken the first open day of the 

applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season 

through the second Friday thereafter. 

(2) Waterfowl on posted waterfowl impoundments 

may be taken on the following days: 

(a) the opening and closing days of the 

applicable waterfowl seasons; 

(b) Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's, 

and Martin Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(c) Tuesdays and Saturdays of the 

applicable waterfowl season. 

(3) The use or construction of permanent hunting 

blinds shall be prohibited. 

(4) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, except 

on those areas posted as an archery zone. 

(5) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(5) The use of bicycles is restricted, except for 

hunters engaged in the act of hunting during the 

open days of the seasons for game birds and 

game animals. 

(6) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(7) Target shooting is prohibited. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-

296; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10D .0245 LEE GAME LAND IN LEE 

COUNTY 

Lee game land is a Seven Days per Week Area, in which the 

following applies: 

(1) Deer of either sex Antlered or antlerless deer 

may be taken the first open day of the 

applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season 

through the second Friday thereafter. 

(2) The use of bicycles is restricted, except for 

hunters engaged in the act of hunting during the 

open days of the seasons for game birds and 

game animals. 

(2)(3) Target shooting is prohibited. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-

296; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10D .0251 NANTAHALA GAME LAND IN 

CHEROKEE, CLAY, GRAHAM, JACKSON, MACON, 

SWAIN, AND TRANSYLVANIA COUNTIES 

(a)  Nantahala game land is a Seven Days per Week Area. 

(b)  In this game land Deer of either sex may be taken the first 

open Saturday of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season 

in that portion located in Transylvania County. 

(c)  Dogs may be used to hunt feral swine during the open bear 

season established in 15A NCAC 10B .0202 and from January 1 

through January 31. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-

296; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10D .0256 NORTH RIVER GAME LAND IN 

CAMDEN AND CURRITUCK COUNTIES 

North River game land is a Seven Days per Week Area, in which 

the following applies: 

(1) Deer of either sex Antlered or antlerless deer 

may be taken all the open days of the applicable 

Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(2) The boundary of the Game Land shall extend 

five yards from the edge of the marsh or 

shoreline. 

(3) Hunting on the posted waterfowl impoundment 

is by permit. 

(4) During the period November 1 through March 

15, all activities, except waterfowl hunting and 

trapping during the trapping season on North 

River Game Land Waterfowl Impoundments, 

are restricted to the posted Scouting-only Zone. 

(4)(5) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
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Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-

296; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10D .0283 THURMOND CHATHAM GAME 

LAND IN ALLEGHANY AND WILKES COUNTIES 

Thurmond Chatham game land is a Seven Days per Week Area, 

in which the following applies: 

(1) Deer of either sex Antlered or antlerless deer 

may be taken the first open day of the 

applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season 

through the second Friday thereafter. 

(2) Horseback riding is prohibited except on 

designated trails May 16 through August 31, 

and all horseback riding is prohibited from 

September 1 through May 15. People age 16 or 

older horseback riding on this game land shall 

possess a Game Lands license as required by 

G.S. 270.3(b)(3). 

(3) The maximum period of consecutive overnight 

camping at any designated campground is 14 

days within any 30 day period from May 1 

through August 31. After 14 consecutive days 

of camping all personal belongings must be 

removed from the game land. Camping is 

restricted to September 1 through the last day of 

February; and March 31 through May 14. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-

296; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10D .0293 YADKIN RIVER GAME LAND 

IN DAVIDSON, DAVIE, MONTGOMERY, ROWAN, AND 

STANLY COUNTIES 

Yadkin River game land is a Seven Days per Week Area, in which 

the following applies: 

(1) Deer of either sex Antlered or antlerless deer 

may be taken the first open day of the 

applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season 

through the second Friday thereafter in that 

portion in Montgomery county, and deer of 

either sex may be taken all on the open days of 

the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers 

Season in those portions in Davidson, Davie, 

Rowan, and Stanly counties. Season. 

(2) On the Lick Creek Tract, deer and bear hunting 

is archery only. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-

296; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10D .0294 NORTH BEND GAME LAND IN 

BURKE COUNTY 

North Bend game land is hunting by permit only. The following 

shall apply: 

(1) The use of bicycles is restricted to designated 

trails, except for hunters engaged in the act of 

hunting during the open days of the seasons for 

game birds and game animals. 

(2) Camping is restricted to September 1 through 

the last day of February; and March 31 through 

May 14. 

(3) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(4) Target shooting is prohibited. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-

296; 113-305. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10H – REGULATED ACTIVITIES 

SECTION .0100 - CONTROLLED HUNTING 

PRESERVES FOR DOMESTICALLY RAISED GAME 

BIRDS 

 

15A NCAC 10H .0102 ESTABLISHMENT AND 

OPERATION 

(a)  Controlled hunting preserves shall be at least 100 50 acres and 

shall be one contiguous block of land. 

(b)  The boundary of each controlled hunting preserve shall be 

posted with printed signs that face both outward and inward from 

the preserve boundary. boundary and meet the following 

requirements: 

(1) Signs shall be at least 12 inches wide and at 

least nine inches tall with white background and 

black lettering of uniform font. 

(2) Signs shall be placed along the boundaries of 

the controlled hunting preserve, not more than 

150 feet apart. 

(3) Text of signs facing outward from the boundary 

shall contain the following information in font 

no less than ¼ of an inch in height: 

(A) the words "Controlled Hunting 

Preserve"; 

(B) the words, "The owner or lessee of this 

property is operating by authority of a 

license issued by the N.C. Wildlife 

Resources Commission. Hunting on 

this preserve shall be in accordance 

with regulations of the Commission."; 

(C) the words, "State hunting license is 

required"; and 

(D) the name of the licensed operator of 

the controlled hunting preserve. 

(4) Text of signs facing inward from the boundary 

shall bear the words "Controlled Hunting 

Preserve" in font no less than ¾ of an inch in 

height. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .0105 RECORDS AND REPORTING 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The controlled hunting preserve operator shall maintain a 

written record of each hunter using the controlled hunting 

preserve. This record shall contain the following information: 

(1) name, address, and license number of the 

preserve; 

(2) the name, address, and state hunting license 

number of each hunter using the preserve; 
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(3) the date(s) of the hunt; 

(4) the number and species of each bird harvested 

by the hunter on the preserve; and 

(5) the signature of the operator. 

This record shall be executed in duplicate. The original record 

shall be given to the hunter to serve as a receipt for birds harvested 

on the preserve as required in Rule .0103 of this Section. The 

duplicate record shall be retained by the operator for 12 months 

after the date(s) of the hunt. It shall be unlawful for a person to 

possess game birds harvested on controlled hunting preserves 

without a receipt as described in this Rule. 

(b)  The operator shall maintain a written record of each bird 

species released on the preserve. This record shall include the 

number and species of each bird released and the date of the 

release. 

(c)  The records required by this Rule shall be available for 

inspection at the request of the Commission. 

(d)  Licensed operators that release birds shall report the number 

released, the species of the birds released, and the county where 

the release occurred to renew their operator's license. This 

reporting requirement shall be limited to those birds released 

during the time period of the operator's current valid license or 

last valid license and shall be reported on the Controlled Shooting 

Hunting Preserve Game Birds Report Form found online at 

www.ncwildlife.org or at the Commission headquarters. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .0109 QUAIL CALL-PEN TRAPS 

Licensed controlled hunting preserve operators that release 

pen-raised quail for hunting or dog training shall be authorized to 

use quail call-pen traps, between September 1 and April 30, to 

recover released domestically raised quail, subject to the 

following requirements: 

(1) all traps shall have a weather-resistant 

permanent tag attached with the operator's 

name and address written legibly; and 

(2) no trap traps shall not be located within 100 

yards of any boundary of the hunting preserve; 

and preserve. 

(3) no trapped, unbanded quail shall be retained. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1. 

 

SECTION .0900 – GAME BIRD PROPAGATORS 

 

15A NCAC 10H .0901 GAME BIRD PROPAGATION 

LICENSE 

(a)  The game bird propagation license shall authorize is required 

for the purchase, possession, propagation, propagation and sale, 

transportation, transfer, and release of propagated upland game 

birds, except wild turkey, and migratory domestically raised 

waterfowl and game birds and their eggs, subject to the following 

limitations and conditions: 

(1) The the sale of dead pen-raised quail for food is 

governed by the regulations of the North 

Carolina Department of Agriculture; 

Agriculture and Consumer Services; and 

(2) The the purchase, possession, sale, 

transportation, and transfer of migratory game 

birds and their eggs is subject to additional 

requirements in 50 CFR 21, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 50 CFR 

21 may be found free of charge at: 

www.ecfr.gov. 

(3) Except on controlled hunting preserves each 

license holder may release no more than six 

domestically raised game birds for the purpose 

of dog training each day. 

(b)  Application for Individuals may obtain a game bird 

propagation license shall be made on a form available from the 

Commission at www.ncwildlife.org 

www.gooutdoorsnorthcarolina.com or at the Commission 

headquarters located at 1751 Varsity Drive, Raleigh, NC 27606-

2576. Information required from the applicant shall include the 

applicant's: 

(1) name; 

(2) mailing address; 

(3) residence address; 

(4) telephone number; and 

(5) date of birth. 

(c)  The game bird propagation license shall be posted and 

displayed at the propagation facility so that it is visible to visitors 

or patrons at all times. and patrons. 

 

Authority G.S. 106-549.94; 113-134; 113-273; 50 C.F.R., Part 

21. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .0904 DISPOSITION OF GAME BIRDS 

OR GAME BIRD EGGS 

(a)  Diseased Birds. It shall be unlawful for a game bird 

propagation license holder to knowingly sell or otherwise transfer 

possession of any a live game bird that shows evidence of a 

communicable disease, except for transfers to a veterinarian or 

pathologist for examination and diagnostic purposes. Disposition 

of any game bird with a communicable disease not likely to infect 

wild game bird populations shall be the responsibility of the 

license holder. 

(b)  Sale of Live Birds or Eggs. Subject to the limitations set forth 

in Rule .0901 of this Section, any game birds that are authorized 

to be propagated under this Section, or the their eggs, eggs thereof, 

may be sold or transferred alive by a licensed game bird 

propagator to another licensed game bird propagator or licensed 

controlled shooting hunting preserve operator or to any a person 

that holds a valid license or permit that authorizes possession. 

(c)  Receipt Required. Upon sale or transfer, a written receipt of 

the transaction shall be prepared in duplicate showing the date, 

the names and license or permit numbers of both parties, and the 

species and quantity of the game birds or game bird eggs 

transferred. A copy of the receipt shall be retained by each of the 

parties as provided by Rule .0906 of this Section. 

(d)  Bird Marking. Any live Live migratory waterfowl sold or 

transferred to any a person for use in training retrievers or 

conducting retriever trials shall be marked by one of the methods 

provided by 50 CFR 21.45 21.45, which is hereby incorporated 

by reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. 
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This document may be accessed found free of charge at 

www.ecfr.gov. www.ecfr.gov at no cost. All other domestically 

raised game birds sold or transferred for the same purposes shall 

be individually marked on one leg with a band imprinted with the 

propagator's license number. 

(e)  Sale of Dead Game Birds as Food. Subject to Rule .0901 of 

this Section and to any applicable laws and regulations relating to 

pure foods, public health, and advertising, domestically raised 

waterfowl and game birds produced by licensed game bird 

propagators may shall not be killed at any time in any manner, 

except by shooting during the closed season. Dead game birds, 

except for dead pen-raised quail, and game bird eggs may be sold 

for food purposes as follows: 

(1) Sale Direct to Consumer. Unprocessed dead 

domestically raised waterfowl and game birds 

may be sold directly to a consumer when 

accompanied by a receipt showing the name of 

the consumer, the name and license number of 

the propagator, and the quantity and species of 

the game birds sold. A copy of the receipt shall 

be retained by the propagator for one year after 

the transaction. It shall be unlawful for the 

consumer to resell unprocessed dead 

domestically raised waterfowl and game birds. 

(2) Sale to or Through a Processor. 

(A) Unprocessed dead domestically raised 

waterfowl and game birds may be sold 

to a commercial food processor that 

holds a permit to possess them or 

transferred to a commercial food 

processor for processing and 

packaging prior to sale. Sale or 

transfer shall be evidenced by written 

receipt retained by each party for a 

year after the sale or transfer, that 

includes the following information: 

(i) the processor's name and 

permit number; 

(ii) the propagator's name and 

license number; and 

(iii) the number and species of 

game birds sold or 

transferred. 

(B) Domestically raised waterfowl and 

game Game bird carcasses processed 

by a commercial food processor for 

wholesale or retail sale shall be 

enclosed in a wrapper or container 

marked with the following: 

(i) the number and species of 

game birds contained; 

(ii) the license number of the 

propagator; and 

(iii) the words "domestically 

raised." 

(3) Domestically raised waterfowl and Propagated 

game bird eggs shall not be sold for food. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 50 CFR 21.45. 

15A NCAC 10H .0905 TRANSPORTATION 

(a)  Live Domestically Raised Waterfowl and Game Birds or 

Game Bird Eggs 

(1) Private Carriers. Live propagated domestically 

raised waterfowl and game birds or game bird 

eggs may be transported by private carrier when 

accompanied by a copy of the receipt specified 

in Rules .0903 or .0904 of this Section. 

(2) Common Carriers. When live propagated 

domestically raised waterfowl and game birds 

or game bird eggs are transported by common 

carrier, each separate container shall be tagged 

or labeled with the following information: 

(A) the name, address, and license number 

of the shipping propagator; 

(B) the name, address, and license or 

permit number of the consignee; and 

(C) the number and species of 

domestically raised waterfowl or game 

birds or game bird eggs contained 

therein. 

(b)  Dead Domestically Raised Waterfowl and Game Birds 

(1) Private Consumers. Unprocessed dead 

domestically raised waterfowl and game birds 

may be transported by consumers or hunters 

when accompanied by a receipt from a licensed 

game bird propagator required by Rule 

.0904(e)(1) of this Section or by a copy of the 

receipt from a controlled shooting hunting 

preserve operator as required by 15A NCAC 

10H .0105. 

(2) Processed Domestically Raised Waterfowl and 

Game Birds. The carcasses of processed 

propagated domestically raised game birds 

other than quail may be transported in any 

manner when packaged in a wrapper or 

container marked as required by Rule 

.0904(e)(2) of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .0906 RECORDS 

(a)  Licensed game bird propagators that sell domestically raised 

waterfowl and game birds shall maintain a file of receipts by 

calendar year with the following information: 

(1) The the dates and sources of acquisition of 

domestically raised waterfowl and game birds 

and game bird eggs; 

(2) The the species and quantities of the 

domestically raised waterfowl and game birds 

and game bird eggs, as required by Rule .0903 

of this Section; and 

(3) Receipts receipts showing all transfers of 

propagated domestically raised waterfowl and 

game birds, except dead quail sold for food 

purposes, and game bird eggs as required by 

Rule .0904 of this Section. 

(b)  Records shall be made available for inspection at the request 

of the Commission. 
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(c)  Records shall be retained for at least one year following the 

license year to which they pertain. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273. 

 

SECTION .1500 – WILDLIFE AND ALLIGATOR 

CONTROL AGENTS 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1505 WILDLIFE CONTROL AGENT 

LICENSE RENEWAL AND REVOCATION 

(a)  A WCA may renew his or her WCA license by completing at 

least one Commission-approved continuing education course 

within the previous year. A list of Commission-approved 

continuing education courses may be found at 

www.ncwildlife.org/wca. 

(b)  WCAs that do not renew their license for two consecutive 

calendar years shall be ineligible for renewal and shall be required 

to repeat the requirements specified in 15A NCAC 10H .1501, 

prior to obtaining a new WCA license. 

(c)  The Executive Director or his or her designee may warn, cite, 

or revoke a WCA's license, if the WCA violates any provision of 

G.S. 14, Article 47; G.S. 113, Subchapter IV; any rules 

promulgated by the Commission; conditions of the WCA license; 

or standards taught in a Commission-approved WCA training 

course. The determination whether to warn, cite, or revoke a 

WCA's wildlife control agent license shall be based upon the 

seriousness of the violation. 

(d)  An individual whose WCA license is suspended or revoked 

shall not be eligible for the Wildlife Control Technician 

certification. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1510 WILDLIFE CONTROL 

TECHNICIAN CERTIFICATION ELIGIBILITY AND 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The following definitions shall apply in this Section: 

(1) "Wildlife control technician" "Wildlife Control 

Technician" or "WCT" means an individual that 

holds a current and valid wildlife control 

technician Wildlife Control Technician 

certification issued by the Commission. 

(2) "Wildlife control technician certification" 

"Wildlife Control Technician" or "WCT 

certification" means a certification issued by 

the Commission that authorizes an individual to 

engage in wildlife control or wildlife removal 

activities, for compensation, including 

reimbursement for the cost of materials, under 

the supervision of a licensed wildlife control 

agent. 

(3) "Direct supervision" means to physically be 

within one's presence while maintaining visual 

and verbal contact. 

(4) "Wildlife damage control" and "wildlife 

removal activities" means and includes: 

(A) bat eviction and alligator damage 

control or removal activities; 

(B) setting and moving traps; 

(C) euthanasia; and 

(D) issuing depredation permits in 

accordance with the applicable 

provision and requirements of 15A 

NCAC 10H .1502. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to engage in wildlife damage control or 

wildlife removal activities for compensation, without first 

obtaining a WCT certification from the Commission, except that 

licensed trappers taking wild animals during the applicable open 

trapping season for that species shall not be required to obtain a 

WCT certification. 

(c)  Wildlife control technicians Control Technicians may only 

perform the following wildlife control or removal activities under 

direct supervision of a licensed WCA, or certified Alligator 

Control Agent if applicable: 

(1) placement of traps; 

(2) euthanasia of wildlife; 

(3) bat evictions; and 

(4) alligator removal or relocation. 

(d)  Wildlife control technicians Control Technicians shall not 

issue depredation permits. 

(e)  Individuals shall complete a Commission-approved, WCT 

training course, that reviews wildlife laws and rules, including 

methods for trapping, capture, and safe and humane wildlife 

handling to qualify for a WCT certification. 

(f)  Individuals may register for a Commission-approved training 

course at www.ncwildlife.org/wca. Required information shall 

include the following: 

(1) the applicant's name, mailing address, email 

address, residence address, telephone number, 

driver's license number, and date of birth; and 

(2) organizational affiliation, if applicable. 

(g)  A WCT certification shall not be transferable between 

individuals. 

(h)  An individual whose WCA license is suspended or revoked 

shall not be eligible for a WCT certification. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-274. 

 

SECTION .1700 – FIELD TRIALS AND DOG TRAINING 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1701 FIELD TRIALS 

(a)  The following definitions shall apply to the rules in 

Subchapters 10H and 10D of this Chapter: 

(1) "Commission-sanctioned field trial" means a 

field trial that has been authorized by the 

Wildlife Resources Commission and for which 

a Field Trial Permit has been issued. 

(2) "Active participant" means an individual 

participating in a field trial who handles dogs or 

uses a firearm. 

(3) "Field Trial Permit" means the permit issued by 

the Wildlife Resources Commission that 

authorizes an individual to hold a commission-

sanctioned field trial for dogs. 

(b)  Individuals may apply for a Field Trial Permit from the 

Commission at www.gooutdoorsnorthcarolina.com or at the 

Commission headquarters located at 1751 Varsity Drive, Raleigh, 

NC 27606 by submitting the following information: 
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(1) field trial dates; 

(2) business affiliation; 

(3) species of animal or game bird; 

(4) fox preserve permit number, if applicable; 

(5) county, if species is an animal; and 

(6) address, if species is a gamebird. 

(c)  An individual serving as a judge of a commission-sanctioned 

field trial shall be exempt from license requirements. An 

individual who is serving as a judge of a non-sanctioned field trial 

using wildlife shall possess a North Carolina hunting license. 

(d)  The following license requirements shall apply to active 

participants in field trials: 

(1) North Carolina residents participating in a field 

trial that uses wildlife shall have a North 

Carolina hunting license; 

(2) non-residents participating in a commission-

sanctioned field trial that uses wildlife shall 

possess a North Carolina hunting license or a 

hunting license from his or her state of 

residence; and 

(3) non-residents participating in other types of 

field trials that use wildlife shall possess a 

North Carolina hunting license 

(e)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (d) of this Rule, an individual 

without a license may participate in commission-sanctioned field 

trials for beagles conducted without firearms on private field trial 

areas that meet the fencing requirements specified in G.S. 113-

276(k). 

(f)  Individuals shall not carry axes, saws, or climbing irons while 

training or running dogs during closed seasons for game animals. 

(g)  The following conditions shall apply to commission-

sanctioned field trials for retrievers or bird dogs: 

(1) shotguns containing live ammunition or 

firearms using only blank ammunition shall be 

prohibited unless specifically authorized by a 

Field Trial Permit; 

(2) wild waterfowl, wild quail, or wild pheasant 

shall not be used in field trials when shotguns 

with live ammunition are permitted; 

(3) domestically raised waterfowl and game birds, 

lawfully obtained from a licensed game bird 

propagator may be used in field trials where 

shotguns with live ammunition are permitted; 

(4) waterfowl obtained from licensed game bird 

propagators for use in field trials when shotguns 

with live ammunition are authorized shall be 

marked by one of the methods specified in 50 

CFR 21.45, including subsequent amendments 

and editions, found free of charge at 

www.ecfr.gov; and 

(5) when domestically raised game birds are 

obtained from licensed game bird propagators 

for use in field trials where shotguns with live 

ammunition are authorized, the purchaser of the 

birds shall obtain a copy of the receipt from the 

propagator showing the date, number of birds 

purchased, propagator license number, and 

species of birds purchased. A copy of the 

receipt shall be available for inspection by 

representatives of the Commission during the 

time and at the place where the trial is being 

held. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-276; 113-291.1; 113-

291.5; 50 CFR 21.45. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1702 DOG TRAINING 

(a)  Individuals using wildlife to train or run dogs shall possess a 

valid North Carolina hunting license. 

(b)  The following conditions shall apply during the closed season 

for waterfowl and game birds when training dogs with 

domestically raised waterfowl and game birds: 

(1) shotguns with number four size shot or smaller 

shall be used; 

(2) nontoxic shot shall be used when training dogs 

with domestically raised waterfowl; 

(3) domestically raised waterfowl shall be marked 

by one of the methods specified in 50 CFR 

21.45, including subsequent amendments and 

editions, found free of charge at www.ecfr.gov; 

(4) when obtained from a licensed game bird 

propagator for use in dog training, the purchaser 

of the birds shall obtain a copy of the receipt 

from the propagator showing the date, number 

of birds purchased, propagator license number, 

and species of birds purchased. A copy of the 

receipt shall be available for inspection by 

representatives of the Commission; and 

(5) individuals may release no more than 6 

domestically raised game birds daily. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-276; 113-291.1; 113-

291.5; 50 CFR 21.45. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 18 - ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Commission for Public Health 

intends to amend the rules cited as 15A NCAC 18A .1008, .1017, 

repeal the rules cited as 15A NCAC 18A .1007, .1009, .1018, 

.1020, .1022, .1027, readopt with substantive changes the rules 

cited as 15A NCAC 18A .1001-.1004, .1006, .1011, .1012, .1014, 

and repeal through readoption the rules cited as 15A NCAC 18A 

.1019 and .1021. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 

on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://cph.dph.ncdhhs.gov/ 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 12, 2024 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  This public hearing will be held by teleconference at 

(919) 715-0769 (no access code required). 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The Commission for Public 

Health is proposing updates to rules 15A NCAC 18A .1001-.1004, 

.1006-.1009, .1011, .1012, .1014, .1017-.1022, and .1027, 

regarding the administration and enforcement of sanitation 

requirements in summer camps, to clarify existing language and 

align with current practices. In addition, rules 15A NCAC 18A 

.1001-.1004, .1006, .1011, .1012, .1014, .1019, and .1021 are 

being readopted in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A, Periodic 

Review and Expiration of Existing Rules. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Virginia Niehaus, CPH 

Rulemaking Coordinator, 1931 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 

27699-1931; email cphcomment@lists.ncmail.net 

 

Comment period ends:  January 30, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 18A - SANITATION 

 

SECTION .1000 - SANITATION OF SUMMER CAMPS 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1001 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply throughout this Section: 

(1) "Summer camp" includes those camp 

establishments which provide food or lodging 

accommodations for groups of children or 

adults engaged in organized recreational or 

educational programs. It also includes day 

camps, church assemblies, and retreats. 

(1) "Basecamp" means the permanent base of 

operations of the summer camp served by 

permanent connection to a public electrical 

service provider. 

(2) "Bathing facility" means any facility designed 

to wash the whole body, including a shower 

facility. 

(3) "Camp food service kitchen" means the interior 

of a camp kitchen facility at the basecamp, of 

permanent construction, operated and staffed 

by the camp employees, used to prepare food 

for camp attendees, employees, and guests. 

This term does not include an educational 

kitchen. 

(4) "Clean" means that an object or surface has 

been made free of garbage, solid waste, soil, 

dust, hair, dander, food, bodily fluids and 

secretions, and feces. 

(5) "Closed" means that a summer camp is not 

offering food or lodging to the public. 

(6) "Community water supply" means a 

community water system as defined at G.S. 

130A-313(10). 

(7) "Cookout" means an organized activity staffed 

and operated by the summer camp at the 

basecamp involving outdoor cooking and 

dining. 

(8) "Cross-connection" means as defined in 15A 

NCAC 18C .0102(c)(8). 

(9) "DCDEE" means the Division of Child 

Development and Early Education of the North 

Carolina Department of Health and Human 

Services. 

(2)(10) "Department" means the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

shall mean the Secretary of the Department of 

Environment and Natural Resources or his 

authorized representative. 

(3) "Sanitarian" shall mean a person authorized to 

represent the Department on the local or state 

level in making inspections pursuant to state 

laws and regulations. 

(11) "Educational kitchen" means a kitchen facility 

at base camp that can be operated by campers 

and staff for personal use or instructional 

purposes. 

(12) "Employee" means as defined in Part 1-2 of the 

Food Code incorporated by reference at 15A 

NCAC 18A .2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 

18A 2651. 

(13) "Equipment" means as defined in Part 1-2 of the 

Food Code incorporated by reference at 15A 

NCAC 18A .2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 

18A .2651. "Equipment" also includes washing 

machines and dryers. 

(14) "Evaluation" means an in-person visit from the 

regulatory authority to a summer camp for the 

purpose of assessing whether the summer camp 

will be issued a permit, or have a suspension 
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lifted, pursuant to Rule .1004 of this Section. 

An evaluation does not result in a letter grade 

being issued. 

(15) "Garbage" means as defined at G.S. 130A-

290(7). 

(16) "Good repair" means in a working safe 

condition. But for food service equipment and 

utensils, good repair means as defined at 15A 

NCAC 18A .2651(8). 

(17) "Inspection" means an in-person visit from the 

regulatory authority to an open summer camp 

with an active permit for the purpose of 

assessing the camp's sanitation pursuant to Rule 

.1008 of this Section. An inspection results in a 

letter grade being issued. 

(18) "Linen" means fabric items such as bedding, 

towels, cloth hampers, cloth napkins, 

tablecloths, wiping cloths, and work garments 

including cloth gloves. 

(19) "Litter" means refuse as defined in 130A-

290(28). 

(20) "Local health department" means as defined in 

G.S. 130A-2(5). 

(21) "Non-community water supply" means a 

noncommunity water system as defined at G.S. 

130A-313(10). 

(22) "Open" means that a summer camp is offering 

food or lodging to the public. 

(23) "Permanent sleeping quarters" means those 

buildings, cabins, platform tents, covered 

wagons, or teepees provided by the camp that 

remain in a fixed location during the camp 

operation session and provide overnight 

lodging accommodations for camp participants. 

(4) "Person" means an individual, firm, 

association, organization, partnership, business 

trust, corporation, or company. 

(5) "Potentially hazardous food" means any food or 

ingredient, natural or synthetic, in a form 

capable of supporting the growth of infectious 

or toxigenic microorganisms, including 

Clostridium botulinum. This term includes raw 

or heat treated foods of animal origin, raw seed 

sprouts, and treated foods of plant origin. The 

term does not include foods which have a pH 

level of 4.6 or below or a water activity (Aw) 

value of 0.85 or less. 

(24) "Pest" means as defined at G.S. 143-460(26a). 

(25) "Pest harborage" means any condition that 

provides water or food and shelter for pests. 

(26) "Poisonous or toxic materials" means as 

defined in Part 1-2 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2651. 

(27) "Potable water" means water that is safe for 

human consumption. 

(28) "Public electrical service provider" means an 

entity that furnishes electricity for pay. 

(29) "Refuse" means as defined at G.S. 130A-

290(28). 

(30) "Regulatory authority" means the Department 

or authorized agent of the Department. 

(31) "Responsible person" means the administrator, 

operator, owner, or other person in charge of the 

operation of the summer camp. 

(32) "Rubbish" means refuse as defined in 130A-

290(28). 

(33) "Sanitarian" means the same as "Registered 

Environmental Health Specialist" as defined at 

G.S. 90A-51(4). 

(6)(34) "Sanitize" means as defined in Part 4-7 of the 

Food Code incorporated by reference at 15A 

NCAC 18A .2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 

18A .2654. the approved bactericidal treatment 

by a process which meets the temperature and 

chemical concentration levels in 15A NCAC 

18A .2619. 

(35) "Sewage and other liquid waste" means sewage 

as defined in G.S. 130A-334(13). 

(36) "Solid waste" means as defined at G.S. 130A-

290(35). 

(37) "Summer camp" means those camp 

establishments which prepare or serve food for 

pay or provide overnight lodging 

accommodations for pay, for groups of children 

or adults engaged in organized recreational or 

educational programs. This definition does not 

include: 

(a) those day camps required to obtain a 

license through DCDEE; 

(b) Campgrounds or other facilities that 

only rent property or campsites for 

camping; 

(c) Resident camps, Children's Foster 

Care Camps, and Residential 

Therapeutic (Habilitative) Camps as 

defined in 15A NCAC 18A .3601; or 

(d) Primitive experience camps as 

defined in 15A NCAC 18A .3501. 

(38) "Summer camp premises" means the physical 

facilities of the summer camp, the contents of 

those facilities, and the contiguous land or 

property under the control of the permit holder 

or responsible person. This term does not 

include a camp food service kitchen facility. 

(39) "Supplemental cooking rooms" means as 

defined in 15A NCAC 18A .2651(20). 

(40) "Swimming pool" means a public swimming 

pool as defined in Section .2500 of this 

Subchapter. 

(41) "Time/Temperature Control for Safety Food" 

or "TCS Food" means as defined in Part 1-2 of 

the Food Code incorporated by reference at 

15A NCAC 18A .2650 as amended by 15A 

NCAC 18A .2651. 

(42) "Toilet facility" means water closets or privies. 
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(43) "Vermin" means "Pest" as defined at G.S. 143-

460(26a). 

(44) "Warewashing" means as defined in Part 1-2 of 

the Food Code incorporated by reference at 

15A NCAC 18A .2650 as amended by 15A 

NCAC 18A .2651. 

(45) "Wildlife" means as defined in G.S. 143-

460(38). 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-248. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1002 FIELD SANITATION 

(a)  Summer camps or other organizations may conduct overnight 

hikes or similar primitive camping activities away from base 

camp provided if accepted field sanitation standards are 

maintained maintained. in accordance with 15A NCAC 18A 

.3619. 

(b)  Summer camps may conduct cookouts at basecamp provided 

field sanitation standards are maintained in accordance with items 

(1) and (4) through (7) of 15A NCAC 18A .3619, except that 

written procedures are not required. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-248. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1003 INVESTIGATION STANDARDS 

AND APPROVAL OF PLANS 

(a)  The sponsor of a proposed site for a summer camp may make 

an advance appointment with a sanitarian from the health 

department of the county in which the site is located for a joint 

visit to the site by representatives of the sponsor and the health 

department. During the site visit, the sponsor's preliminary plans 

for development of needed structures and facilities will be 

evaluated, including water supply, sewage disposal, swimming 

facilities, solid waste disposal, and insect and rodent control. If it 

is determined that the proposed site and facilities, if properly 

developed and operated, will comply with this Section, the 

sponsor should proceed to develop final plans and specifications. 

(b)(a)  Plans and specifications drawn to scale for the proposed 

construction of summer camp kitchen facilities, lodging facilities, 

bathing facilities, and toilet facilities buildings and equipment, 

water supply system, sewerage system, and swimming pool or 

other swimming facility shall be submitted in duplicate to the 

local health department of the county in which the site camp is 

located. Plans and equipment specifications for construction or 

remodeling of a camp food service kitchen shall be submitted in 

accordance with the provisions of Part 8-2 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A .2650 as amended 

by 15A NCAC 18A .2658. Construction shall not be started until 

the plans and specifications have been approved by the local 

health department. The local health department shall approve, 

disapprove, or mark incomplete plans for summer camps within 

30 days of their receipt. If the local health department disapproves 

plans or marks them incomplete, the local health department shall 

provide written comments to the submitter informing them of 

what is missing or incomplete. If the local health department fails 

to approve, disapprove, or mark incomplete plans within 30 days 

of their receipt, the plans shall be deemed approved. 

(b)  Plans for the proposed construction or remodeling of a public 

swimming pool at a summer camp shall be submitted in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 18A .2509. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-248. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1004 PERMITS 

(a)  No person shall operate a summer camp within the State of 

North Carolina who does not possess a valid permit from the 

Department. No summer camp permit to operate shall be issued 

until an inspection evaluation by a sanitarian the regulatory 

authority shows that the establishment complies with all rules 

within this Section. Permits or transitional permits are issued by 

and inspections made by the Department. 

(b)  If camp food service is provided by a caterer, the overall 

responsibility for food service sanitation remains with the camp 

management. Summer camps shall complete and submit an 

Advanced Notification for Operation at least 45 days prior to the 

first date of operation each calendar year. The advanced 

notification form shall be obtained from the Department and shall 

include the following information: 

(1) type of camp (Summer, Resident, Primitive 

Experience); 

(2) date notification is submitted; 

(3) dates of operation (a calendar schedule may be 

attached); 

(4) the name of the camp; 

(5) the physical and billing addresses of the camp; 

(6) the name of the camp responsible person; 

(7) contact information for the responsible person 

including phone numbers and emails; 

(8) type of water supply; 

(9) type of wastewater system; 

(10) the capacity of the camp including campers and 

staff; 

(11) the date the water supply will be accessible for 

sampling and inspection if applicable; 

(12) the dates, prior to the first date of operation, 

when facilities will be inspected by camp 

management to ensure that: 

(A) camp facilities are clean, and in good 

repair; 

(B) camp kitchen equipment, including 

required refrigeration and 

dishwashing equipment, is clean and 

operational; 

(C) camp buildings and permanent 

sleeping quarters are free of all bats 

and other vermin, wildlife, and pest 

harborages; and 

(D) the camp is free from conditions which 

represent a threat to the public health; 

(13) list of any public swimming pools, wading 

pools, or water recreation attractions at the 

camp; and 

(14) the name, signature, and title of the person 

completing the form. 

(c)  Upon transfer of ownership of an existing summer camp, the 

Department regulatory authority shall complete an evaluation of 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

38:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 1, 2023 

713 

evaluate the facility. Facility to determine compliance with the 

rules. If the establishment satisfies all the requirements of this 

Section, the rules, a permit shall be issued. If the establishment 

does not satisfy all the requirements of this Section, the rules, a 

permit shall not be issued. However, if If the Department 

regulatory authority determines that the noncompliant items are 

related to construction or equipment items problems that do not 

represent an immediate a threat to the public health, a transitional 

permit may be issued. The transitional permit shall expire 180 90 

days after the date of issuance, unless suspended or revoked 

before that date, and shall not be renewed. Upon expiration of the 

transitional permit, the owner or operator permit holder or 

responsible person shall have corrected the noncompliant items 

and obtained a summer camp permit, or the summer camp shall 

be closed. not continue to operate. 

(d)  The regulatory authority Department may shall impose 

conditions on the issuance of a summer camp permit or 

transitional permit. permit if necessary to ensure that the summer 

camp remains in compliance with the Rules of this Section. 

Conditions may be specified for one or more of the following 

areas: 

(1) The number of persons served; served. 

(2) The categories of food served; served. 

(3) Time schedules in completing minor 

construction items; items. 

(4) Modification or maintenance of water supplies, 

water use fixtures and sanitary sewage systems; 

systems. 

(5) Use of facilities for more than one purpose; 

purpose. 

(6) Continuation of contractual arrangements upon 

which basis the permit was issued; issued. 

(7) Submission and approval of plans for 

renovation; and renovation. 

(8) Any other conditions necessary for the summer 

camp to remain in compliance with the Rules of 

this Section. 

(e)  A summer camp permit or transitional permit shall be 

immediately revoked in accordance with G.S. 130A-23(d) for 

failure of the facility to maintain a minimum grade of C. A permit 

or transitional permit may otherwise be suspended or revoked in 

accordance with G.S. 130A-23. A new permit to operate shall be 

issued only after the establishment has been reinspected by the 

Department and found to comply with this Section. This 

reinspection shall be conducted within a reasonable length of 

time, not to exceed 30 days, If a permit or transitional permit has 

been suspended, the suspension shall be lifted if the regulatory 

authority has evaluated the establishment and found that the 

violations causing the suspension have been corrected. If a permit 

or transitional permit has been revoked, a new permit shall be 

issued only after the regulatory authority has evaluated the 

establishment and found it to comply with all applicable rules. 

These evaluations shall be scheduled and conducted within 15 

days after the request is made by the summer camp's permit holder 

or responsible person. operator. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-248. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1006 INSPECTIONS AND 

REINSPECTIONS 

Upon receipt of a request from the management permit holder or 

responsible person for a reinspection for the purpose of raising the 

posted grade, alphabetical grade of their summer camp, the 

sanitarian regulatory authority shall make an unannounced 

inspection within 15 calendar days from the date of the request. 

after the lapse of a reasonable period of time. If the camp is closed 

for the 15 calendar days following the request, the permit holder 

or responsible person shall inform the regulatory authority when 

the camp will open, and the regulatory authority shall make an 

unannounced inspection within 15 calendar days of when the 

camp opens. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-248. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1007 INSPECTION FORMS 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-248. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1008 GRADING 

(a)  The sanitation grading of all summer camps shall be based on 

a system of scoring wherein all summer camps receiving a score 

of at least 90 percent shall be awarded receive Grade A, A; all 

summer camps receiving a score of at least 80 percent and less 

than 90 percent shall be awarded receive Grade B, B; and all 

summer camps receiving a score of at least 70 percent and less 

than 80 percent shall be awarded receive Grade C . ; and no 

summer camp Permits shall be immediately revoked in 

accordance with G.S. 130A-23(d) for summer camps receiving a 

score of less than 70 percent. percent, or Grade C, shall operate. 

(b)  The grading of summer camps shall include the grading of the 

summer camp premises and the camp food service kitchen, if 

applicable, using an inspection form provided by the Department. 

The form shall include the following information: 

(1) name and mailing address of the summer camp; 

(2) name of summer camp permit holder; 

(3) summer camp permit status and score given; 

(4) length of season; 

(5) number of residents; 

(6) standards of construction and operation 

referenced in paragraph (c) and (d) of this Rule; 

(7) an explanation for all points deducted; 

(8) signature of the regulatory authority; and 

(9) date of the inspection. 

(c)  The grading of the summer camps premises shall be based 

on the standards of operation and construction as set forth in 

Rules 1002, .1010, .1011 and .1013 through .1016, and .1017(f) 

through .1028 of this Section as follows: 

(1) Violation of Rule .1010 of this Section related 

to summer camp site free of actual or potential 

health hazards shall equal no more than 3 

points. 

(2) Violation of Rule .1011(a), (b), or (c) of this 

Section related to water supply approved and no 

cross connections shall equal no more than 4 

points. 

(3) Violation of Rule .1011(d) of this Section 

related to hot water facilities provided, hot and 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

38:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 1, 2023 

714 

cold water under pressure shall equal no more 

than 2 points. 

(4) Violation of Rule .1013 of this Section related 

to sewage and liquid waste disposal shall equal 

no more than 4 points. 

(5) Violation of Rule .1025 of this Section related 

to solid waste storage and cleaning facilities 

shall equal no more than 3 points. 

(6) Violation of Rule .1024(1) or (2) of this Section 

related to camp building floors, walls, and 

ceilings properly constructed, clean, and in 

good repair shall equal no more than 4 points. 

(7) Violation of Rule .1024(3) of this Section 

related to lighting and ventilation adequate, 

clean, and in good repair shall equal no more 

than 2 points. 

(8) Violation of Rule .1016 of this Section related 

to lodging facilities and permanent sleeping 

quarters provided by the camp, properly 

arranged, clean, and in good repair shall equal 

no more than 3 points. 

(9) Violation of Rule .1016 of this Section related 

to separate storage and handling of clean and 

dirty linen in lodging facilities provided by the 

camp shall equal no more than 2 points. 

(10) Violation of Rule .1014(a) through (d) of this 

Section related to toilet, handwashing, or 

bathing facilities shall equal no more than 4 

points. 

(11) Violation of Rule .1014(e) of this Section 

related to laundry areas and equipment clean 

and in good repair; soiled laundry handled and 

stored separately from clean laundry shall equal 

no more than 2 points. 

(12) Violation of Rule .1015 of this Section related 

to drinking water facilities shall equal no more 

than 1 point. 

(13) Violation of Rule .1026(b) or 1028(a) of this 

Section related to storage, handling, and use of 

pesticides, poisonous or toxic materials, and 

hazardous materials shall equal no more than 3 

points. 

(14) Violation of Rule .1026(a) or (e) of this Section 

related to, measures to exclude flies, rodents 

and other vermin from entry into food service 

areas and permanent sleeping quarters and 

measures to prevent pest harborages on the 

premises shall equal no more than 3 points. 

(15) Violation of Rule .1026(c) and .1028(b) of this 

Section related to camp premises clean or 

protective railings and fences in good repair, 

shall equal no more than 3 points. 

(16) Violation of Rule .1017(f) or (g), or 1026(d), of 

this Section related to sanitation standards, 

lighting protected, and live animals not present 

in educational kitchen facilities shall equal no 

more than 2 points. 

(17) Violation of Rule .1002 of this Section related 

to field sanitation standards maintained for 

cookouts or activities involving food 

preparation or service away from base camp 

and written procedures when required shall 

equal no more than 3 points. 

(18) Violation of Rule .1023 of this Section related 

to the storage and handling of ice outside of a 

camp food service kitchen shall equal no more 

than 2 points. 

(d)  The grading of a camp food service kitchen shall be based 

solely on the standards of operation and construction set forth in 

Rule .1017(a) through .1017(e) of this Section as follows: 

(1) Violation of Chapter 2 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2652 

related to person in charge present; 

performance of PIC duties shall equal no more 

than 1 point. 

(2) Violation of Chapter 2 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2652 

related to management awareness, policy 

present; proper use of reporting, restriction, and 

exclusion; procedures for responding to 

vomiting and diarrheal events shall equal no 

more than 2 points. 

(3) Violation of Chapter 2 or 3 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2652 

and .2653 related to proper employee eating, 

tasting, drinking, or tobacco use; no discharge 

from eyes, nose, and mouth shall equal no more 

than 1 point. 

(4) Violation of Chapter 2 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2652 

related to hands clean and properly washed 

shall equal no more than 3 points. 

(5) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2653 

related to no bare hand contact with ready-to-

eat food or approved alternate method properly 

followed shall equal no more than 2 points. 

(6) Violation of Chapters 5 or 6 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2655 

and .2656 related to handwashing facilities 

supplied and accessible shall equal no more 

than 1 point. 

(7) Violation of .1017(d) or Chapter 3 or 5 of the 

Food Code incorporated by reference at 15A 

NCAC 18A .2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 

18A .2653 and .2655 related to food obtained 

from an approved source; food received at 

proper temperature; food in good condition, 

safe, unadulterated; required records available, 

shellstock tags, parasite destruction; water and 

ice from approved source shall equal no more 

than 3 points. 
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(8) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2653 

related to food separated and protected; 

disposition of returned, previously served, 

reconditioned, and unsafe food shall equal no 

more than 2 points. 

(9) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2653 

related to food-contact surfaces cleaned and 

sanitized shall equal no more than 2 points. 

(10) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food as amended 

by 15A NCAC 18A .2653 related to cooking 

time and temperatures; pasteurized eggs used 

where required shall equal no more than 2 

points. 

(11) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2653 

related to reheating procedures for hot holding 

shall equal no more than 2 points. 

(12) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2653 

related to cooling time and temperatures; proper 

cooling methods shall equal no more than 2 

points. 

(13) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2653 

related to hot holding temperatures shall equal 

no more than 2 points. 

(14) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2653 

related to cold holding temperatures shall equal 

no more than 2 points. 

(15) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2653 

related to date marking and disposition shall 

equal no more than 2 points. 

(16) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2653 

related to time as a public health control 

procedures and records shall equal no more 

than 2 points. 

(17) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2653 

related to consumer advisory provided for raw 

or undercooked foods; pasteurized foods used 

and prohibited foods not offered shall equal no 

more than 2 points. 

(18) Violation of Chapter 3 or 7 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2653 

and .2657 related to food additives approved 

and properly used; toxic substances properly 

identified, stored, and used shall equal no more 

than 2 points. 

(19) Violation of Chapters 3 and 4 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2653 

and .2654 related to adequate equipment for 

temperature control; plant food properly 

cooked for hot holding; approved thawing 

methods used shall equal no more than 2 points 

(20) Violation of Chapter 4 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2654 

related to thermometers provided and accurate 

shall equal no more than 1 point. 

(21) Violation of Chapter 3 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2653 

related to food being properly labeled or in the 

original container shall equal no more than 1 

point. 

(22) Violation of Chapters 2 and 6 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2652 

and .2656 related to insects and rodents not 

present and no unauthorized animals shall equal 

no more than 1 point. 

(23) Violation of Chapters 2, 3, 4, 6, or 7 of the of 

the Food Code incorporated by reference at 

15A NCAC 18A .2650 as amended by 15A 

NCAC 18A .2652, 2563, 2654, 2656, and .2657 

related to contamination prevented during food 

preparation, storage, and display, personal 

cleanliness, wiping cloths properly used and 

stored, and washing fruits and vegetables shall 

equal no more than 2 points. 

(24) Violation of Chapters 3 and 4 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2653 

and .2654 related to in-use utensils properly 

stored; utensils, equipment, and linens properly 

stored, dried and handled; single-use and 

single-service articles properly stored and used; 

gloves used properly shall equal no more than 2 

points. 

(25) Violation of Chapters 3 and 4 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2653 

and .2654 related to equipment, food and non-

food contact surfaces approved, cleanable, 

properly designed, constructed and used; 

warewashing facilities installed, maintained, 

used, and test strips shall equal no more than 1 

point. 

(26) Violation of Chapter 4 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2654 
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related to non-food contact surfaces clean shall 

equal no more than 1 point. 

(27) Violation of Chapters 5 and 6 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2655 

and .2656 related to hot and cold water 

available and adequate pressure; plumbing 

installed and proper backflow devices; sewage 

and wastewater properly disposed; toilet 

facilities properly constructed, supplied, and 

cleaned; garbage and refuse properly disposed 

and facilities maintained shall equal no more 

than 2 points. 

(28) Violation of .1017(e) or Chapters 4 or 6 of the 

Food Code incorporated by reference at 15A 

NCAC 18A .2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 

18A .2654 and .2656 related to physical 

facilities installed, maintained, and clean shall 

equal no more than 1 point. 

(29) Violation of Rule .1017(c) regarding lighting 

intensity, or Chapters 4 and 6 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2654 

and .2656 related to meets ventilation and 

lighting requirements and designated areas used 

shall equal no more than 1 point. 

(e)  The inspection form shall be used to document points assessed 

for violations of the Rules of this Section as set forth in paragraph 

(c) and (d) of this Rule. 

(f)  In filling out the inspection form, points shall be deducted only 

once for a single occurrence or condition existing within the 

summer camp. Deductions shall be based on actual violations of 

the rules of this Section observed during the inspection. The 

regulatory authority shall take zero, one-half or a full deduction 

of points depending upon the severity or the recurring nature of 

the violation. 

(g)  Water stains on walls or ceilings are not violations unless 

microbial growth is present. 

(h)  The posted grade card shall be black on a white background 

on a form provided by the Department. The alphabetical and 

numerical rating shall be 1.5 inches in height. No other public 

displays representing sanitation level of the establishment may be 

posted by the summer camp unless approved by the regulatory 

authority. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-248. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1009 STANDARDS 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-248. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1011 WATER SUPPLY 

(a)  Water supplies shall meet the requirements in 15A NCAC 

18A .1700. .1700 or 15A NCAC 18C, as applicable. 

(b)  For summer camps that use a non-community water supply, a 

sample of water shall be collected by the Department once a year 

and submitted to the North Carolina State Laboratory of Public 

Health or other laboratory certified by the North Carolina State 

Laboratory of Public Health under 10A NCAC 42C .0102 The 

water supply used shall be located, constructed, maintained, and 

operated in accordance with the Commission for Public Health's 

rules governing water supplies. At least once a year, a sample of 

water shall be collected by the Department and submitted to the 

Division of Laboratory Services or other laboratory certified by 

the Department to perform bacteriological examinations. A 

sample of water from a private or public non-community water 

supply serving a summer camp shall be collected by the sanitarian 

and submitted at least once a year to the laboratory section of the 

Department or other approved laboratory for bacteriological 

examination. If the summer camp has been closed for more than 

180 consecutive days during any 365-day period, the regulatory 

authority shall collect these samples at least 30 days and not more 

than 60 days prior to the camp's scheduled opening date. Failure 

of the regulatory authority to collect these samples at least 30 days 

prior to the camps scheduled opening shall not impede the 

opening of the camp. 

(c)  A summer camp's water supply plumbing shall not include 

cross-connections. Cross-connections with unapproved water 

supplies are prohibited. All plumbing fixtures for potable water 

shall be provided and installed as required by the North Carolina 

State Building Code. Copies of the North Carolina State Building 

Code may be obtained from the North Carolina Department of 

Insurance, P.O. Box 26387, Raleigh, North Carolina 27611. 

(d)  Summer camps shall provide hot Hot water heating facilities. 

facilities shall be provided. Hot and cold running water under 

pressure shall be provided to food preparation areas, bathing 

facilities, and any other areas in which water is required for 

cleaning. 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-248. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1012 RECREATIONAL WATERS 

When public swimming pools are provided by a summer camp, 

they shall meet the requirements of Section .2500 of this 

Subchapter. 

(a) A natural or artificial body of water may be approved by the 

Department for the recreational purposes based upon the results 

of inspections, bacteriological examinations of the water, and 

sanitary surveys. 

(b) Swimming Pools shall meet the requirements in 15A NCAC 

18A .2500. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-248. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1014 TOILET: HANDWASHING: 

LAUNDRY: AND BATHING FACILITIES 

(a)  All summer camps shall be provided with toilet, handwashing, 

and bathing facilities which are adequate, conveniently located 

and readily accessible. available for use by employees and 

campers during all hours the camp is open. Toilets for campers 

shall be located so that the campers do not pass through a camp 

food service kitchen to enter the toilet rooms. Toilet facilities shall 

be provided at a rate of not more than 25 campers and staff per 

toilet seat. Toilet facilities shall be provided within 500 feet of 

permanent sleeping quarters and within 500 feet of every camp 

kitchen facility. Urinals may substitute for no more than two-

thirds of toilets. The toilet facility ratio and distance requirements 

of this Paragraph do not apply to any structure used in the 

operation of the summer camp before the effective date of this 
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Rule. These facilities, and laundry facilities when provided, shall 

comply with the North Carolina State Building Code, Volume II. 

(b)  A sufficient number of water closets or privies approved by 

the Department shall be provided. 

(b)(c)  Adequate lavatories supplied Handwashing facilities with 

running water potable water, soap, and individual towels or hand-

drying devices shall be provided and located convenient in or 

immediately adjacent to all flush toilet facilities. At least one 

lavatory supplied with hot and cold running water through mixing 

faucets and with soap and towels shall be provided in the kitchen 

and any other food preparation areas All camp kitchen facilities at 

basecamp shall contain at least one sink that can be used for 

handwashing supplied with hot and cold running water through 

mixing faucets, soap, and individual towels or hand-drying 

devices. 

(c)(d)  Bathing facilities shall be provided with hot and cold 

potable water. and located convenient to sleeping quarters. 

Bathing facilities shall not be required for day camps where 

neither campers nor staff stay at the camp overnight. 

(d)  All toilet, handwashing, and bathing fixtures shall be kept 

clean and in good repair. 

(e)  Laundry facilities, areas and equipment, if provided, shall be 

kept clean and in good repair. Soiled laundry shall be handled and 

stored separately from clean laundry. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-248. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1017 FOOD SERVICE FACILITIES 

(a) Food service facilities Summer camps that prepare or serve 

food for pay shall include a at least one camp food service 

kitchen of adequate size and of completely enclosed, permanent 

construction, and a covered dining hall. hall providing protection 

from the elements. A camp food service kitchen shall comply 

with the Food Code incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 

18A .2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2651-.2658 with the 

following exceptions: 

(1) Any TCS food required to be maintained at or 

below 41 degrees Fahrenheit by the provisions 

set forth in Part 3-501 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2653 

may also be maintained between 41 degrees 

Fahrenheit and 45 degrees Fahrenheit in 

refrigeration equipment that is not capable of 

maintaining the food at 41 degrees Fahrenheit 

or less if: 

(A) The equipment is in place and in use in 

the camp food service kitchen on or 

before the effective date of this Rule; 

(B) On or before April 1, 2026, the 

equipment is upgraded or replaced to 

maintain food at a temperature of 5 

degrees Celsius or 41 degrees 

Fahrenheit or less; and 

(C) Any food required to be datemarked in 

accordance with Part 3-501.17 of the 

Food Code incorporated by reference 

at 15A NCAC 18A .2650 as amended 

by 15A NCAC 18A .2653 is clearly 

marked to indicate the date or day by 

which the food shall be consumed on 

the premises, sold, or discarded when 

held at a temperature between 41 

degrees Fahrenheit and 45 degrees 

Fahrenheit for a maximum of 4 days. 

The day of preparation shall be 

counted as Day 1; 

(2) The provisions of Part 8-405 the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2658 

shall not apply to camp food service kitchens; 

(3) The lighting intensity requirements set forth in 

Part 6-303.11 of the Food Code incorporated 

by reference at 15A NCAC 18A .2650 as 

amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2656 shall not 

apply; 

(4) Nothing in these Rules shall prohibit family 

style service where patrons elect to participate 

in the family dining-table type of service; 

(5) For all equipment, except warewashing 

equipment, non-commercial equipment in 

good repair shall be allowed in a camp food 

service kitchen; 

(6) When only single-service eating and drinking 

utensils are used, a sink with at least two-

compartments meeting the requirements set 

forth in Chapter 4 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2654 

shall be acceptable as the camp food service 

kitchen warewashing sink; 

(7) The provisions of Part 2-102 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2652 

shall not apply; and 

(8) The following provisions of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A 

.2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2651 -

.2658 shall be effective for summer camps 

beginning April 1, 2025: 

(A) Part 2-103.11 Person In Charge; 

(B) Part 2-201 Responsibilities of Permit 

Holder, Person in Charge, Food 

Employees, and Conditional 

Employees; 

(C) Part 4-302.13(B) Temperature 

Measuring Devices, Mechanical 

Warewashing; and 

(D) Part 2-501.11 Clean-up of Vomiting 

and Diarrheal Events. 

(b)  After April 1, 2026, all TCS food in camp food service 

kitchens shall be held in accordance with the provisions of Part 

3-501 of the Food Code incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 

18A .2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2653 with no 

allowance for cold holding above 41 degrees Fahrenheit. 

(c)  Camp food service kitchens shall be illuminated by natural 

or artificial means. 
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(d)  If camp food service is provided by contract with an outside 

person or operated by an outside company, the responsibility for 

compliance with food service sanitation requirements remains 

with the permit holder. The permit holder shall confirm that all 

food provided by an outside person or company complies with 

the requirements of Part 3-201.11 of the Food Code incorporated 

by reference at 15A NCAC 18A .2650 as amended by 15A 

NCAC 18A .2653. 

(e)  Supplemental cooking rooms shall be allowed in summer 

camps. Supplemental cooking rooms shall comply with the 

standards set forth in 15A NCAC 18A .2664 except that the 

lighting intensity requirements in item (7) of that Rule shall not 

apply. 

(f)  Educational kitchens may be operated with non-commercial 

utensils and equipment. Notwithstanding the provisions set forth 

in this Section, field sanitation standards set forth in 15A NCAC 

18A .3619 shall be met in educational kitchens. 

(g)  The lighting in any educational kitchen, food preparation area, 

or food storage area shall comply with Part 6-202.11 of the Food 

Code incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A .2650 as 

amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2656. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-248. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1018 FOOD SERVICE UTENSILS AND 

EQUIPMENT 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-248. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1019 FOOD SUPPLIES 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-248. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1020 SHELLFISH 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-248. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1021 MILK AND MILK PRODUCTS 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-248. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1022 FOOD PROTECTION 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-248. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1027 FOOD SERVICE EMPLOYEES 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-248. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Commission for Public Health intends to 

readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC 

18A .1601, .1603, .1604, .1606-.1611, .1613-.1621 and repeal 

through readoption the rules cited as 15A NCAC 18A .1602, 

.1605, and .1612. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 

on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://cph.dph.ncdhhs.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2024 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 12, 2024 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  This public hearing will be held by teleconference at 

(919) 715-0769 (no access code required). 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, 

Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, the 

Commission for Public Health is proposing to readopt 15A NCAC 

18A .1601-.1621, regarding the administration and enforcement 

of sanitation standards in residential care facilities, to update 

these rules to clarify existing language and align with current 

practices. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Virginia Niehaus, CPH 

Rulemaking Coordinator, 1931 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 

27699-1931; email cphcomment@lists.ncmail.net 

 

Comment period ends:  January 30, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 18 - ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH 

 

SUBCHAPTER 18A - SANITATION 

 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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SECTION .1600 - SANITATION OF RESIDENTIAL CARE 

FACILITIES 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1601 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply throughout this Section: 

(1) "Administrator" means the person designated 

by the licensee to be responsible for the daily 

operation of the residential care facility. 

(2) "Bed linens" means bed sheets, pillowcases, 

mattress covers, blankets, and duvet covers. 

(3) "Clean" means that an object or surface has 

been made free of garbage, solid waste, soil, 

dust, hair, dander, food, bodily fluids and 

secretions, and feces. 

(1)(4) "Department of Environment and Natural 

Resources" "Department" means the Secretary, 

or his authorized representative. North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(2) "Director" means the State Health Director. 

(3) "Foster Care" means the care of individuals as 

defined in G.S. 131D-10.2(9). 

(4) "Family foster home" means a facility as 

defined in G.S. 131D-10.2(8). 

(5) "Manager" means the person in responsible 

charge of a residential care facility. 

(6) "Potentially hazardous food" means any food or 

ingredient, natural or synthetic, in a form 

capable of supporting the growth of infectious 

or toxigenic microorganisms, including 

Clostridium botulinum. This term includes raw 

or heat treated foods of animal origin, raw seed 

sprouts, and treated foods of plant origin. The 

term does not include foods which have a pH 

level of 4.6 or below or a water activity (Aw) 

value of 0.85 or less. 

(7) "Residential care facility" means an 

establishment providing room or board and for 

which a license or certificate for payment is 

obtained from the Department of Human 

Resources. However, the term shall not include 

a child day care facility or an institution as 

defined in 15A NCAC 18A .1300. 

(5) "Disinfectant" means a disinfectant as defined 

at 40 C.F.R. 158.2203 that has been registered 

with the United States Environmental 

Protection Agency in accordance with 40 

C.F.R. 152, which are hereby incorporated by 

reference, including any subsequent 

amendments or editions, and are available free 

of charge at https://www.ecfr.gov/. 

(6) "Good repair" means as defined at 15A NCAC 

18A .2651(8). Items that are in good repair shall 

operate in accordance with the manufacturer's 

instructions. 

(7) "Licensing agency" means the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services, 

Division of Health Service Regulation. 

(8) "Linen" means bath towels, hand drying towels, 

bed linens, and pillows. 

(9) "Non-community water supply" means as 

defined in G.S. 130A-313(10). 

(10) "Pest" means as defined in G.S. 143-460(26a). 

(11) "Pest harborage" means any condition that 

provides water or food and shelter for pests. 

(12) "Regulatory authority" means the Department 

or authorized agent of the Department. 

(8)(13) "Resident" means a person, other than the 

manager, administrator, his or her immediate 

family, and residential care facility employees 

staff, who is residing in a residential care 

facility. 

(14) "Residential care facility" means an 

establishment providing room or board and for 

which a license or certificate for payment is 

obtained from the Department, but does not 

include a child day care facility or an institution 

as defined in 15A NCAC 18A .1301. 

(9) "Sanitarian" means a person authorized to 

represent the Department on the local or state 

level in making inspections pursuant to state 

laws and rules. 

(10) "Sanitize" means the approved bactericidal 

treatment by a process which meets the 

temperature and chemical concentration levels 

in 15A NCAC 18A .2619. 

(15) "Solid waste" means as defined in G.S. 130A-

290(35). 

(16) "Time/Temperature Control for Safety Food" 

or "TCS Food" means as defined in Part 1-2 of 

the Food Code incorporated by reference at 

15A NCAC 18A .2650 as amended by 15A 

NCAC 18A .2651. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-235. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1602 APPROVAL OF PLANS 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-235. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1603 INSPECTIONS 

(a)  The regulatory authority shall inspect Inspections of 

residential care facilities shall be made by the Department at least 

once a year prior to the expiration of the residential care facility's 

license. license issued by the licensing agency. The Department 

shall provide a Inspections are required for family foster homes 

only for those homes served by individual or non-community 

water supplies or on-site sewage systems. A copy of the 

inspection form shall be provided to the person in charge 

administrator of the facility. If conditions found at the time of the 

inspection are dangerous to the health of the residents, the agency 

supervising the family foster home shall be notified immediately 

by telephone or other direct means by the sanitarian. 

(b)  The inspection of institutions shall be documented on 

inspection form provided by the Department. The form shall 

include at least the following information: 

(1) name and address of residential care facility; 

(2) name of licensee; 
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(3) an explanation for all demerits incurred during 

the inspection and scoring; 

(4) classification in accordance with Rule .1606 of 

this Section; 

(5) the date on which the inspection is conducted; 

and 

(6) the signature of the regulatory authority. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-235. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1604 REINSPECTIONS: VISITS 

The sanitarian regulatory authority may reinspect or visit 

residential care facilities at any time to ensure insure compliance 

with these Rules. When the administrator requests an inspection 

of their facility to improve a classification requested by the 

manager to inspect for the purpose of improving a classification, 

the sanitarian regulatory authority shall make at least one an 

unannounced inspection within 30 days. The sanitarian shall give 

assistance in the explanation and interpretation of these Rules. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-235. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1605 INSPECTION FORMS 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-235. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1606 GRADING SCORING SYSTEM 

(a)  The grading of residential care facilities Residential care 

facility sanitation scores shall be based upon the standards of 

construction and operation set out in Rules .1607 through  - .1621 

of this Section; however, family foster homes are required to 

comply only with Rule .1611(a) and (b) and Rule .1613 of this 

Section. 

(b)  The grade score of the facility shall be classified as follows: 

(1) as approved "Approved" if the demerit score is 

less than 40 20 or less and no six-demerit six 

demerit point item is violated; and 

(2) as provisional if any six demerit point item is 

violated, or if the demerit score is more than 20 

but not more than 40; The duration of such 

classification shall not exceed seven days; 

provided, that a longer period may be 

established if construction or renovation is 

involved; 

(3)(2) as disapproved "Disapproved" if the demerit 

score is 40 or greater, or if any six-demerit item 

is violated. more than 40, if the conditions 

found are dangerous to the health of the 

residents, or if the conditions resulting in the 

provisional classification have not been 

corrected within the specified time. 

(c)  The sanitation score is the total amount determined by adding 

demerits for each item found not to be in compliance with the 

Rules of this Section. The demerit value of each item is 

determined as follows: 

(1) Violation of Rule .1607 of this Section 

regarding the cleanliness of floors and carpet 

shall equal 2 demerits and repair of floors and 

carpet shall equal 1 demerit. 

(2) Violation of Rule .1608 of this Section 

regarding the cleanliness of walls, ceilings, and 

attachments shall equal 2 demerits and repair of 

walls, ceilings, and attachments shall equal 1 

demerit. 

(3) Violation of Rule .1609(a) of this Section 

regarding the illumination of required spaces 

shall equal 2 demerits. 

(4) Violation of Rule .1609(b) of this Section 

regarding the cleanliness and state of repair of 

windows, fixtures, and ventilation equipment 

shall equal 2 demerits. 

(5) Violation of Rule .1610(a) of this Section 

regarding the availability of toileting, 

handwashing, and bathing facilities shall equal 

5 demerits. 

(6) Violation of Rule .1610(a) of this Section 

regarding the cleanliness and state of repair of 

toileting, handwashing, and bathing facilities 

shall equal 4 demerits. 

(7) Violation of Rule .1610(b) of this Section 

regarding the handwashing sink design shall 

equal 4 demerits. 

(8) Violation of Rule .1610(b) of this Section 

regarding the supply and storage provisions in 

bathrooms shall equal 4 demerits. 

(9) Violation of Rule .1611(a) of this Section 

regarding the water supply shall equal 6 

demerits. 

(10) Violation of Rule .1611(c) of this Section 

regarding cross-connections shall equal 5 

demerits. 

(11) Violation of Rule .1611(d) of this Section 

regarding the pressure availability and 

temperature of water at fixtures shall equal 4 

demerits. 

(12) Violation of Rule .1613 of this Section 

regarding liquid waste disposal shall equal 6 

demerits. 

(13) Violation of Rule .1614(a) of this Section 

regarding the locations of storage waste 

disposal shall equal 2 demerits. 

(14) Violation of Rule .1614(b) of this Section 

regarding the covering, cleanliness, and state of 

repair of solid waste containers shall equal 2 

demerits. 

(15) Violation of Rule .1614(c) of this Section 

regarding solid waste disposal frequency shall 

equal 2 demerits. 

(16) Violation of Rule .1615(a) of this Section 

regarding pest presence shall equal 3 demerits. 

(17) Violation of Rule .1615(a) of this Section 

regarding the prevention of harborage 

conditions shall equal 2 demerits. 

(18) Violation of Rule .1615(a) of this Section 

regarding the state of repair of outdoor furniture 

shall equal 2 demerits. 
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(19) Violation of Rule .1616 of this Section 

regarding the storage of substances shall equal 

4 demerits. 

(20) Violation of Rule .1617(a) of this Section 

regarding the cleanliness of furnishings shall 

equal 2 demerits. 

(21) Violation of Rule .1617(a) of this Section 

regarding the state of repair of furnishings shall 

equal 2 demerits. 

(22) Violation of Rule .1617(b) of this Section 

regarding the provisions and state of repair of 

bed linens shall equal 4 demerits. 

(23) Violation of Rule .1617(b) of this Section 

regarding the cleanliness and cleaning 

frequency of bed linens shall equal 4 demerits. 

(24) Violation of Rule .1617(c) of this Section 

regarding the storage of clean linen shall equal 

3 demerits. 

(25) Violation of Rule .1617(d) of this Section 

regarding the cleanliness and state of repair of 

laundry areas and equipment shall equal 3 

demerits. 

(26) Violation of Rule .1618(a) of this Section 

regarding the state of repair of food utensils and 

equipment, except temperature holding 

equipment, shall equal 3 demerits. 

(27) Violation of Rule .1618(b) of this Section 

regarding the cleanliness of food utensils and 

equipment shall equal 4 demerits. 

(28) Violation of Rule .1618(b) of this Section 

regarding the cleanliness of the non-food 

contact sides of equipment shall equal 2 

demerits. 

(29) Violation of Rule .1618(c) of this Section 

regarding the storage of equipment and utensils 

shall equal 2 demerits. 

(30) Violation of Rule .1618(d) of this Section 

regarding the provisions for ware washing shall 

equal 5 demerits. 

(31) Violation of Rule .1618(e) of this Section 

regarding the cleanliness of food storage areas 

shall equal 3 demerits. 

(32) Violation of Rule .1619 of this Section 

regarding the safety and approved sources of 

foods shall equal 5 demerits. 

(33) Violation of Rule .1620(a) of this Section 

regarding the time and temperature control of 

food shall equal 5 demerits. 

(34) Violation of Rule .1620(b) of this Section 

regarding the prohibitions of live pets shall 

equal no more than 3 demerits. 

(35) Violation of Rule .1620(c) of this Section 

regarding the provisions and state of repair of 

temperature holding equipment shall equal 5 

demerits. 

(36) Violation of Rule .1620(c) of this Section 

regarding the availability of accurate 

temperature indicating devices shall equal no 

more than 2 demerits. 

(37) Violation of Rule .1620(d) of this Section 

regarding the storage of food shall equal 4 

demerits, 

(38) Violation of Rule .1621(a) of this Section 

regarding handwashing methods shall equal 4 

demerits. 

(39) Violation of Rule .1621(b) of this Section 

regarding when to wash hands shall equal 4 

demerits. 

(40) Violation of Rule .1621(c) of this Section 

regarding restricting or excluding employees 

shall equal 5 demerits. 

(41) Violation of Rule .1621(d) of this Section 

regarding cleaning supplies and written 

procedures for responding to vomiting or 

diarrheal events shall equal 2 demerits. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-235. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1607 FLOORS 

All floors shall be easily cleanable and shall be kept clean and in 

good repair. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-235. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1608 WALLS AND CEILINGS 

(a)  The interior walls and ceilings ceilings, including doors, 

window, and window trim, of all rooms and areas shall be kept 

clean and in good repair. 

(b)  Wall and ceiling attachments, such as light fixtures, fans, and 

vent covers, shall be kept clean and in good repair. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-235. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1609 LIGHTING AND VENTILATION 

(a)  All rooms shall be well lighted illuminated by natural or 

artificial means. 

(b)  Ventilation equipment shall be kept clean and in good repair. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-235. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1610 TOILET: HANDWASHING: 

LAUNDRY AND BATHING FACILITIES 

(a)  All residential care facilities shall be provided with approved 

sanitary provide toilet, handwashing, handwashing and bathing 

facilities that are available for use by residents and employees. 

complying with state licensure requirements. These facilities, and 

laundry facilities when provided, shall be kept clean and in good 

repair. 

(b)  All lavatories hand sinks and baths shall be supplied with hot 

and cold running water through mixing devices. The residential 

care facility shall provide each Each resident with will be 

provided soap and individual hand-drying towels. These hand-

drying towels will be stored separately after being used. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-235. 
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15A NCAC 18A .1611 WATER SUPPLY 

(a)  Water supplies at residential care facilities shall meet the 

requirements in 15A NCAC 18C or 15A NCAC 18A .1700, as 

applicable. .1700; however wells shall be approved without 

meeting the setback to building foundation requirements found in 

15A NCAC 18A .1720, if water sampling in accordance with 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule does not indicate a health threat. For 

facilities licensed by the licensing agency before this Rule's 

effective date, a well that does not meet the setback to building 

foundation requirements found in 15A NCAC 18A .1720 shall be 

approved if water sampling in accordance with Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule indicates the water is safe for human consumption. 

(b)  At least once a year, samples of water shall be collected In 

residential care facilities that use a non-community water supply, 

a sample of water shall be collected by the Department once a year 

and submitted to the North Carolina State Laboratory of Public 

Health or other laboratory certified by the North Carolina State 

Laboratory of Public Health under 10A NCAC 41C .0102 to 

perform bacteriological examinations. Department to perform 

examinations for Nitrates and Coliform bacteria. If the well is 

located less than 25 feet from a building foundation, the well shall 

also be sampled for pesticides upon application for licensure or 

approval. After the initial pesticide sample is collected and 

analyzed, the well shall be sampled again for pesticides following 

any treatment for structural pests. 

(c)  No backflow connections or cross connections with 

unapproved supplies shall exist. A residential care facility's water 

supply plumbing shall not include cross-connections as set out in 

15A NCAC 18C .0102(c)(8). 

(d)  Adequate hot water heating facilities shall be provided. 

Residential care facilities shall provide water heating facilities. 

Hot and cold running water under pressure shall be provided to 

carry out all operations. Hot water shall be provided at 

temperatures between 105 degrees Fahrenheit and 116 degrees 

Fahrenheit at handwashing and bathing facilities. food 

preparation areas and any other areas in which water is required 

for cleaning. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-225; 130A-4; 130A-5(3); 130A-230; 130A-235; 

130A-236; 130A-248; 130A-257. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1612 DRINKING WATER 

FACILITIES: ICE HANDLING 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-235. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1613 LIQUID WASTES 

All sewage originating from the residential care facility and other 

liquid wastes shall be disposed by using of in a public publicly 

operated sewage treatment plant or in a sewage disposal sewer 

system that meets the requirements of Section .1900 of this 

Subchapter. or, in the absence of a public sewer system, by an 

approved, properly operating sanitary sewage system. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-235. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1614 SOLID WASTES 

(a)  All solid wastes shall be kept in durable, rust-resistant, 

nonabsorbent, watertight, rodent-proof standard waste containers 

which shall be kept covered when filled or stored or not in 

continuous use. leak-proof, non-absorbent containers. 

(b)  Outdoor Outside waste containers shall be kept covered with 

tight-fitting lids when not in use. stored on a rack to prevent 

overturning. Waste containers shall be kept clean. clean and in 

good repair. 

(c)  All solid wastes shall be disposed of with sufficient removed 

from the premises at a frequency that and in such a manner as to 

prevent prevents pest harborages. insect breeding and public 

health nuisances. 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-235. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1615 VERMIN PEST CONTROL: 

CONTROL AND OUTDOOR PREMISES 

(a)  Effective measures Pests shall not be taken to keep insects, 

rodents, and other vermin out of the present in a residential care 

facility. facility and to prevent their breeding, harborage, or 

presence on the premises. Openings to the outside of a residential 

care facility building or buildings shall be equipped with doors 

that are flush with the door frame when closed, closed windows, 

window screening on windows that can be opened, or controlled 

air currents to prevent pests from entering the building or 

buildings. The external premises of a residential care facility shall 

be kept neat, clean, adequately drained, and free of litter and pest 

vermin harborage. Outdoor furniture and playgrounds shall be 

kept in good repair. All openings to the outer air shall be 

effectively protected against the entrance of flying insects by 

screens, closed doors, closed windows, or other effective means. 

(b)  Only those pesticides that are registered in accordance with 

40 C.F.R. 152 and G.S. 143-442 shall be used at a residential care 

facility. which have been approved for a specific use and properly 

registered with the Environmental Protection Agency and with the 

North Carolina Department of Agriculture. Such pesticides shall 

be used as directed on the label and shall be so handled and stored 

as to avoid health hazards. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-235. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1616 STORAGE: MISCELLANEOUS 

CHEMICAL AND MEDICATION STORAGE 

(a)  Rooms or spaces which are provided and used for the storage 

of clothing, personal effects, luggage, necessary equipment and 

supplies and for items not in routine use, shall be kept clean. 

(b)  Pesticides, herbicides and other substances which may be 

hazardous if ingested, inhaled, or handled, shall be stored in a 

closet, cabinet or box not accessible to young children unless 

otherwise required in the rules of the licensing agency. 

(c)  Household cleaning agents such as bleaches, detergents and 

polishes shall be stored out of the reach of young children unless 

otherwise required in the rules of the licensing agency. 

(d)  Chemicals used for cleaning, bleaches, pesticides, and all 

Medications medications shall be stored and used in accordance 

with the manufacturer's instructions. in a separate cabinet, closet 

or box not accessible to young children unless otherwise required 

in the rules of the licensing agency 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-235. 
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15A NCAC 18A .1617 BEDS: LINEN: LAUNDRY: 

FURNITURE 

(a)  All furniture, Furnishings, including furniture, mattresses, 

curtains, draperies, and other furnishings blinds, shall be kept 

clean and in good repair. Mattresses shall be kept clean, dry, and 

in good repair. 

(b)  Clean bed linen in good repair shall be provided for each 

resident and shall be changed when no longer clean. soiled. 

(c)  Clean linen shall be stored and handled in a sanitary manner 

to protect from contamination and separate from linen that is not 

clean. soiled linen. 

(d)  Laundry areas and equipment shall be kept clean and in good 

repair. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-235. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1618 FOOD SERVICE UTENSILS AND 

EQUIPMENT 

(a)  All food service equipment and utensils shall be so 

constructed as to be easily cleaned kept clean and shall be kept in 

good repair. All surfaces with which food or drink comes in 

contact shall, in addition, be easily accessible for cleaning, 

nontoxic, corrosion-resistant, nonabsorbent, and free of open 

crevices. Disposable articles shall be made from nontoxic 

materials. 

(b)  All multi-use eating and drinking utensils shall be thoroughly 

cleaned after each usage, and the facilities needed for the 

operations of washing and rinsing shall be provided. food contact 

surfaces of utensils and equipment shall be cleaned after each use. 

(c)  All pots, pans and other utensils used in the preparation or 

serving of food or drink, and all food storage utensils, shall be 

thoroughly cleaned after each use. Cooking surfaces of 

equipment, if any, shall be cleaned at least once each day. 

Non-food-contact surfaces of equipment shall be cleaned at such 

intervals as to keep them in a clean and sanitary condition. 

Utensils and equipment shall be handled and stored in a manner 

as to protect from contamination. 

(d)  No polish or other substance containing cyanide or other 

poisonous material shall be used for the cleaning or polishing of 

eating or cooking utensils. Residential care facilities shall provide 

a kitchen sink for cleaning food service equipment and utensils. 

(e)  All cloths used in the kitchen shall be clean. Disposable items 

shall be used only once. Food storage areas shall be kept clean and 

free of pests. 

(f)  All containers and clean utensils shall be stored in a clean 

place. Containers and clean utensils shall be covered, inverted, 

stored in tight, clean cabinets, or otherwise stored in such a 

manner as to prevent contamination. After cleaning and until use, 

food-contact surfaces of equipment shall be protected from 

contamination. Utensils shall be handled in such a manner as to 

prevent contamination. 

(g)  Disposable utensils shall be purchased only in sanitary 

containers, shall be stored therein in a clean, dry place until used, 

and shall be handled in a sanitary manner. 

(h)  Acceptable facilities for washing multi-use eating and 

drinking utensils, and pots, pans and other cooking utensils, 

include 2-section residential sinks, in counters. It is not necessary 

that such sinks be deep enough to permit immersion of large 

utensils. 

(i)  Acceptable storage facilities include residential kitchen 

cabinets, which should be kept clean and free of vermin. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-235. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1619 FOOD SUPPLIES 

(a)  All food, including milk and milk products, shall be clean, 

wholesome, free from spoilage, free from adulteration and 

misbranding, and safe for human consumption. food provided by 

a residential care facility for consumption by residents shall 

comply with Parts 3-1 and 3-2 of the Food Code incorporated by 

reference at 15A NCAC 18A .2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 

18A .2653. 

(b)  If non-acid or low-acid home-canned foods are used, they 

shall be boiled for ten minutes in order to destroy any toxin that 

may have been produced by bacteria surviving the canning 

process. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-235. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1620 FOOD PROTECTION 

(a)  All TCS food foods, while being stored, prepared, served, and 

during transportation, shall be protected from contamination. All 

perishable foods shall be stored at such maintained at 

temperatures required by Part 3-501.16 of the Food Code, 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A .2650 as amended 

by 15A NCAC 18A .2653, during storage, preparation, 

transportation, display, and service of the TCS food. Time as a 

public health control as set forth in Part 3-501.19 of the Food 

Code incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A .2650 as 

amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2653, may be used, except that 

written procedures shall not be required. as will protect against 

spoilage. All potentially hazardous food shall be maintained at 

safe temperatures (45 F. or below, or 140 F. or above) except 

during necessary periods of preparation and serving. Frozen food 

shall be kept at such temperatures as to remain frozen, except 

when being thawed for preparation or use. Potentially hazardous 

frozen food shall be thawed at refrigerator temperatures of 45 F. 

or below; or quick-thawed as part of the cooking process; or by a 

method approved by the sanitarian. An indicating thermometer 

shall be located in each refrigerator. Raw fruits and vegetables 

shall be washed thoroughly before use. Ground beef and foods 

containing ground beef shall be cooked to an internal temperature 

of at least 155 F (68 C). Potentially hazardous foods that have 

been cooked and then refrigerated shall be reheated rapidly to 

165 F (74 C) or higher throughout before being served or before 

being placed in a hot food storage facility, except that food in 

intact packages from regulated food manufacturing plants may 

initially be reheated to 140 F (60 C). Stuffings, poultry, stuffed 

meats and poultry, and pork and pork products, shall be 

thoroughly cooked before being served. Salads made of meat, 

poultry, potatoes, fish, shellfish, or eggs, and other potentially 

hazardous prepared food shall be prepared, preferably from 

chilled products, with a minimum of manual contact, and on 

surfaces and with utensils which are clean. Portions of food once 

served to an individual shall not be served again. 

(b)  Live pets animals shall not be allowed in any room or area in 

which food is prepared or stored. Live pets, unless caged and 

restricted from the immediate eating area, shall not be allowed in 
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any room or area in which food is served. Live animals shall be 

permitted in a residential care facility's dining areas if the live 

animal does not come into physical contact with residential care 

facility employees engaged in the preparation or handling of food, 

serving dishes, utensils, tableware, linens, unwrapped single 

service and single use articles, or food contact surfaces. 

(c)  Refrigeration facilities, hot food storage facilities, and 

effective insulated facilities, Equipment shall be provided and 

maintained to keep as needed to assure the maintenance of all food 

at required temperatures during storage, preparation, and serving. 

storage and transport. Cold holding equipment shall be provided 

with an indicating thermometer that is accurate to ±3 degrees 

Fahrenheit or ±1.5 degrees Celsius. 

(d)  Containers of food All food shall be stored as required by 

Parts 3-302.11, 3-302.12, 3-305.11, and 3-305.12 of the Food 

Code, incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A .2650 as 

amended by 15A NCAC 18A .2653. above the floor, on clean 

racks, shelves, or other clean surfaces, in such a manner as to be 

protected from splash and other contamination. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-235. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .1621 FOOD SERVICE PERSONS 

EMPLOYEES 

(a)  All persons, while preparing or serving food or washing 

equipment or utensils, shall wear clean outer garments, and 

conform to proper hygienic practices. They shall wash their hands 

thoroughly before starting work and as often as necessary to 

remove soil and contamination. After visiting a toilet room, such 

persons shall wash their hands thoroughly in a lavatory and in no 

case in the kitchen sink. They shall not use tobacco in any form 

while preparing or serving food. Residential care facility 

employees shall wash their hands as required by Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule using the handwashing method required for food 

employees in Part 2-301.12 of the Food Code incorporated by 

reference at 15A NCAC 18A .2650 as amended by 15A NCAC 

18A .2652. 

(b)  No person who has a communicable or infectious disease that 

can be transmitted by foods, or who is a carrier of organisms that 

cause such a disease, or who has a boil, infected wound, or an 

acute respiratory infection with cough and nasal discharge, shall 

work in food service in any capacity in which there is a likelihood 

of such person contaminating food or food-contact surfaces, with 

disease-causing organisms or transmitting the illness to other 

persons. Residential care facility employees shall wash their 

hands immediately: 

(1) before beginning work; 

(2) before preparing food; 

(3) after each visit to the toilet; 

(4) before and after resident contact; 

(5) after coughing, sneezing, or using a 

handkerchief or disposable tissue; and 

(6) after using tobacco, eating, or drinking. 

(c)  Residential care facility employees shall comply with the 

requirements for exclusion from work and restriction due to 

communicable disease or illness required for food employees as 

set forth in Parts 2-201.12 and 2-201.13 of the Food Code 

incorporated by reference at 15A NCAC 18A .2650 as amended 

by 15A NCAC 18A .2652. 

(d)  The residential care facility shall have gloves, personal 

protective equipment, disinfectant, individual disposable towels, 

and a coagulating agent on-site for employees to use and a written 

procedure for employees to follow when responding to vomitus 

or fecal matter on facility surfaces. The procedure shall specify 

the actions that employees shall take to minimize the exposure of 

employees, residents, guests, food, and additional surfaces to 

vomitus or fecal matter. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-4; 130A-235. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Commission for Public Health 

intends to amend the rule cited as 15A NCAC 18A .2539 and 

readopt with substantive changes the rule cited as 15A NCAC 18A 

.2518. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://cph.dph.ncdhhs.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 9, 2024 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  This public hearing will be held by teleconference at 

(919) 715-0769 (no access code required). 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The Commission for Public 

Health is proposing to update rules 15A NCAC 18A .2518 and 

.2539, concerning the regulation of water circulation systems and 

suction hazards in public swimming pools, to clarify existing 

language and align with current practices. In addition, 15A 

NCAC 18A .2518 is being readopted in accordance with G.S. 

150B-21.3A, Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Virginia Niehaus, CPH 

Rulemaking Coordinator, 1931 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 

27699-1931; email cphcomment@lists.ncmail.net 

 

Comment period ends:  January 30, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
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please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 18 - ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH 

 

SUBCHAPTER 18A - SANITATION 

 

SECTION .2500 - PUBLIC SWIMMING POOLS  

 

15A NCAC 18A .2518 CIRCULATION SYSTEM 

(a)  Public swimming pools Pools shall be equipped with a water 

circulation system. 

(b)  The water capacity of the circulation system shall be sufficient 

to clarify and disinfect circulate and filter the entire volume of 

public swimming pool water four times or more in 24 hours. The 

water circulation system shall be operated 24 hours per day during 

the operating dates set out in the permit. season. 

(c)  The water circulation system piping shall be designed and 

installed with the necessary valves and pipes so that the flow from 

the public swimming pool shall can be from main drains or the 

surface overflow system. If both main drains and a surface 

overflow system are used, the The water circulation system piping 

shall be designed such that the flow of water from the public 

swimming pool is can be simultaneous from the surface overflow 

system and the main drains. Skimmer piping constructed after 

May 1, 2010 shall be sized to handle the maximum flow rate for 

the required number of skimmers, but in no case less than 100 

percent of the design flow rate. rate determined by the Registered 

Design Professional in the pool design. Perimeter overflow 

system piping constructed after May 1, 2010 shall be sized to 

handle 100 percent of the design flow rate. rate determined by the 

Registered Design Professional in the pool design. The main Main 

drain piping constructed after May 1, 2010 shall be sized to handle 

100 percent of the design flow rate. rate determined by the 

Registered Design Professional in the pool design. 

(d)  Piping shall be designed to reduce friction losses to a 

minimum and to carry the required quantity of water at a 

maximum velocity not to exceed six feet per second for suction 

piping and not to exceed 10 feet per second for discharge piping 

piping, except for copper pipe where the velocity shall not exceed 

eight feet per second for discharge piping. second. Piping shall be 

of non-toxic material material, resistant to corrosion, and free of 

water leaks. able to withstand operating pressures. If plastic 

Public swimming pools constructed after the effective date of this 

Rule shall use plastic pipe made of is used, a minimum of 

Schedule 40 PVC. PVC is required. Flexible pipe shall not be used 

used, except that flexible PVC hoses that meet the requirements 

of NSF/ANSI/CAN NSF Standard 50 Equipment and Chemicals 

for Swimming Pools, Spas, Hot Tubs, and Other Recreational 

Water Facilities, incorporated by reference, including any 

subsequent amendments or editions, and available at 

http://webstore.ansi.org/ at a cost of five hundred eighty dollars 

($580.00) (hereinafter referred to as "NSF Standard 50"), may be 

used when affixed to spa shells and where rigid pipes do not 

provide the necessary angles to connect circulation components. 

Exposed pipes and valves shall be identified by a color code with 

a legend or labels. 

(e)  The water circulation system shall have include a strainer with 

a basket to prevent hair, lint, and other debris from reaching the 

pump. A The owner of the public swimming pool shall keep a 

spare strainer basket onsite at the public swimming pool. shall be 

provided. Strainers shall be designed for use in pools corrosion-

resistant with openings not more than ¼ inch (6.4 mm) in size that 

provide a free flow area at least four times the cross-section area 

of the pump suction line and are accessible for daily cleaning. 

(f)  A swimming pool shall have a vacuum cleaning system shall 

be provided to remove debris and foreign material that settles to 

the bottom of the swimming pool. Where provided, integral 

Integral vacuum ports shall be located on the pool wall at least six 

inches and no greater than 18 inches below the water level. 

Skimmer vacuums may be used in pools with when connected to 

two or fewer skimmers that are isolated from the remaining 

circulation system piping. provided the skimmer basket remains 

in place while the vacuum is in operation. Integral vacuum 

cleaning systems shall have be provided with valves and 

protective caps. Integral vacuum ports constructed after May 1, 

2010 shall have self-closing caps designed to be opened with a 

tool. Portable vacuum equipment may be used to meet the 

requirements of this Rule. 

(g)  A flow meter, rate-of-flow indicator, reading in liters or 

gallons per minute, shall be installed on the filtered water line. 

line and located so that the rate of circulation is indicated. The 

flow meter indicator shall measure be capable of measuring flows 

that are at least 1½ times the design flow rate, rate determined by 

the Registered Design Professional in the pool design and shall be 

accurate within 10 percent per cent of true flow. flow, and shall 

be easy to read. The flow meter indicator shall be installed in 

accordance with manufacturers' specifications. 

(h)  A public swimming pool shall have a pump or pumps shall be 

provided with capacity to recirculate the public swimming pool 

water four times or more in 24 hours, hours. The pump or pumps 

shall not need to be primed or and shall be so located as to 

eliminate the need for priming. If the pump or pumps, or suction 

piping is located above the overflow level of the pool, the pump 

or pumps shall be self-priming. The pump or pumps shall be 

capable of providing a flow adequate for the backwashing of 

filters. Unless headloss calculations are provided by the designing 

engineer, Any single speed pump design shall be capable of 

maintaining required water turnover based on headloss 

calculations provided by a professional engineer licensed under 

G.S. Chapter 89C or an assumed total dynamic head of 65 feet of 

water. Any variable speed pump shall be capable of maintaining 

water turnover as required by Paragraph (b) of this Rule based on 

a pump performance curve provided by the manufacturer and 

shall maintain the flow rate determined by the Registered 

Designed Professional in the pool design. Pumps three 

horsepower or smaller shall be certified by NSF International as 

meeting NSF Standard 50 (NSF) listed or verified by an 

independent third-party testing laboratory to meet all applicable 

provisions of NSF NSF/ANSI Standard 50 applicable to pumps. 
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which is incorporated by reference including any subsequent 

amendments or editions. Copies may be obtained from NSF 

International, P.O. Box 130140, Ann Arbor, MI 48113-0140 at a 

cost of one hundred fifty-five dollars ($155.00). Verification 

conducted by an independent third-party testing laboratory shall 

include testing and in-plant quality control inspections. Larger 

pumps for which NSF listing is not available shall be approved by 

the Department on a case-by-case basis. 

(i)  Inlets. All public swimming pools shall be equipped with 

water return inlets. The water return inlets shall meet the 

following requirements: 

(1) Inlets shall be provided and arranged to The 

water return inlets shall produce a uniform 

circulation of water and maintain a uniform 

disinfectant residual throughout the pool. pool; 

(2) The number of inlets for any swimming pool 

shall be determined based on return water flow. 

There shall be at least one water return inlet per 

20 gallons per minute of return water flow with 

flow. There shall be a minimum of four water 

return inlets for any swimming pool. pool; and 

(3) Inlets Water return inlets shall be located so that 

no part of the swimming pool is more than then 

25 feet of horizontal distance from the nearest 

water return inlet. 

(4) Provision shall be made to permit adjustment of 

the flow through each inlet, either with an 

adjustable orifice or provided with replaceable 

orifices to permit adjustments of the flows. 

(j)  Drains. Drains shall not be required in public swimming pools 

when an alternate method to drain the pool is provided. Public 

swimming pools constructed without main drains shall be 

designed with water return inlets positioned to return water 

uniformly throughout the public swimming pool. Public 

swimming pools constructed with main drains shall meet the 

following requirements: 

(1) Public Swimming swimming pools with 

suction main drains shall be provided with at 

least one or more unblockable drains or two or 

more main drain outlets drains which are 

located at the deepest section of the pool on a 

horizontal plane and connected by symmetrical 

"T" piping. Except when unblockable drains are 

used, Connecting piping between main drains 

shall be sized and configured such that blocking 

any one drain will not result in flow through the 

remaining drain covers cover/grates exceeding 

the cover/grate manufacturer's safe flow rating 

while handling 100 percent of the maximum 

pump system flow. The drains shall be capable 

of permitting the pool to be emptied 

completely. Drains Dual main drains connected 

by "T" piping shall be spaced not more than 30 

feet apart, and not more than 15 feet away from 

the side walls of the pool, walls. Drains Main 

Drains shall be separated by at least three feet 

measured from the centers of the drain covers 

or installed with one main drain on a horizontal 

plane and one main drain on a vertical plane. 

cover/grates. Main drains with two or more 

outlets with a common suction line shall not be 

equipped with valves that allow the outlets to be 

isolated. This shall not preclude construction of 

a public swimming pool without main drains 

where water is introduced at the bottom of the 

pool and removed through a surface overflow 

system designed to handle 100 percent of the 

design flow rate. Provision shall be made to 

completely drain pools constructed without 

drains. Public swimming pools constructed 

prior to May 1, 2010 with a single drain or 

multiple drains closer than three feet apart shall 

protect against bather entrapment with an 

unblockable drain cover or a secondary method 

of preventing bather entrapment in accordance 

with Rule .2539 of this Section. 

(2) Drain outlets shall comply with the 

ANSI/APSP/ICC-16 2017 American National 

Standard ASME/ANSI A112.19.8-2007 for 

Suction Outlet Fittings Assemblies (SOFA) for 

Use in Swimming Pools, Wading Pools, Spas, 

and Hot Tubs, Tubs which is hereby 

incorporated by reference reference, including 

any subsequent amendments, amendments or 

editions, and successor standards under the 

Virginia Graeme Baker Pool and Spa Safety 

Act (15 U.S.C. 8001 et seq.). Copies available 

at https://webstore.ansi.org/ at a cost of one 

hundred sixty-five dollars. may be obtained 

from ASME, P.O. Box 2300, Fairfield, NJ 

07007-2300 at a cost of fifty-three dollars 

($53.00). 

(3) Public swimming pools pool drains constructed 

after May 1, 2010 shall comply with 

ANSI/APSP -7 2006 American National 

Standard for ANSI/PHTA/ICC-7 2020 

American National Standard for Suction 

Entrapment Avoidance in Swimming Pools, 

Wading Pools, Spas, Hot Tubs and Catch 

Basins, Basins which is hereby incorporated by 

reference reference, including any subsequent 

amendments and or editions, and editions. 

Copies may be obtained available at 

https://webstore.ansi.org at a cost of one 

hundred and sixty-five dollars ($165.00) 

(hereinafter referred to as "ANSI/PHTA/ICC-

7"). from APSP, 2111 Eisenhower Avenue, 

Alexandria, VA 22314 at a cost of three 

hundred fifty dollars ($350.00). 

(k)  Surface Overflow Systems. (1) Swimming Public swimming 

pools shall be provided with have a surface overflow system that 

is an integral part of the circulation system and that consists of a 

built-in-place perimeter overflow system, a pre-fabricated 

perimeter overflow system, or recessed automatic surface 

skimmers. The surface overflow system shall comply with the 

following: 

(2)(1) Whenever When a public swimming pool uses 

a built-in-place perimeter overflow system or a 
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pre-fabricated perimeter overflow system 

system, the public swimming pool may be 

designed with the operating water level, 

perimeter overflow system, and deck at the 

same elevation. The perimeter overflow system 

shall: is provided, it shall be designed and 

installed as follows: 

(A) The system shall be Be capable of 

handling 100 percent of the circulation 

flow rate determined by the Registered 

Design Professional in the pool design 

without flooding the overflow 

troughs; troughs being flooded; 

(B) A surge capacity shall be provided 

either in the system or by use of Be 

capable of handling a water surge 

tank; and the total surge capacity shall 

be at least equal to one gallon per 

square foot (41L or forty-one liters per 

square meter meter) of swimming pool 

water surface area; area. A surge tank 

may be used to meet this requirement; 

(C) The Be capable of maintaining the 

water level of the swimming pool shall 

be maintained above the level of the 

overflow rim of the perimeter 

overflow overflows, system, except 

for the time intervals of no more 

needed to transfer all of the water that 

may be in the surge capacity back into 

the swimming pool after a period of 

use; provided that this transfer time 

shall not be greater than 20 minutes; 

minutes when water is transferred 

between a surge tank and the public 

swimming pool; 

(D) When installed the Be constructed so 

the dimensional tolerance of the 

overflow rim shall not exceed ¼ inch 

(6.4 mm) as measured between the 

highest point and the lowest point of 

the overflow rim; 

(E) During quiescence, the overflow 

system shall be Be capable of 

providing continuously and 

automatically continuous and 

automatic a skimming action to of the 

water during quiescence; at the surface 

of the swimming pool; 

(F) The overflow troughs shall be Be 

constructed so that the overflow 

troughs are installed continuously 

completely around the perimeter of the 

public swimming pool, except at steps, 

recessed ladders ladders, and stairs; 

stairs, or except when used in 

combination with recessed automatic 

surface skimmers; and 

(G) The Provide a hand-hold on the 

exposed surfaces of the overflow 

trough. trough shall be capable of 

providing a firm and safe hand-hold; 

and 

(H) The overflow trough shall be 

cleanable and shall be of such 

configuration as to minimize 

accidental injury. 

(3)(2) Whenever a recessed When a public swimming 

pool uses recessed automatic surface skimmer 

or skimmers are installed, they as an overflow 

system, the recessed automatic surface 

skimmers shall be designed and constructed in 

accordance with Section 8 of NSF Standard #50 

50 requirements for water circulation system 

components for swimming pools, spas, or hot 

tubs. tubs and Recessed automatic surface 

skimmers shall be installed as follows: 

(A) The rate of water flowing flow-

through rate through any one recessed 

automatic surface skimmer shall be 

between no less than 20 gallons per 

minute and no more than the 

maximum flow the skimmer is 

certified for under NSF Standard 

Number 50; 

(B) There shall be at least one recessed 

automatic surface skimmer for each 

400 square feet of water surface area 

of the swimming pool or fraction 

thereof; 

(C) When two or more recessed automatic 

surface skimmers are required, they 

shall be so located as to minimize 

interference with each other and as to 

insure proper and complete to enable 

skimming of the entire swimming pool 

pools water surface; and 

(D) Skimmers shall not protrude into the 

water of the public swimming pool. 

Pools using recessed automatic 

Automatic surface skimmer or 

skimmers without a perimeter 

overflow system shall be installed so 

that the operating water level of the 

pool is no more than nine inches below 

the level of the finished deck. deck 

level so that the deck can be used as a 

handhold. 

(l)  Where flooded suction on the pump is not possible to prevent 

cavitation and loss of prime, skimmers shall have a device or other 

protection to prevent air entrainment in the suction line. Skimmer 

equalizer lines shall be in compliance with ANSI/PHTA/ICC-7 or 

disabled. Skimmer The inlet to the equalizer line lines shall be 

disabled by plugging the line under the skimmer basket and where 

the equalizer pipe exits the pool shell. provided with a grate. 
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(m)  Nothing in this Section shall preclude the use of a roll-out or 

deck-level type of swimming pool. Such designs shall conform to 

the general provisions relating to surface overflow systems. 

(n)(m)  Nothing in this Section shall preclude the use of a surface 

overflow system that combines both a perimeter overflow system 

and a recessed automatic surface skimmer or skimmers. skimmers 

that meet the requirements of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-282. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .2539 SUCTION HAZARD 

REDUCTION 

(a)  At all public wading pools that use a single main drain for 

circulation of water, signs shall be posted stating, "WARNING: 

To prevent serious injury do not allow children in wading pool if 

drain cover is broken or missing." Signs shall be in letters at least 

one-half inch in height and shall be posted where they are visible 

to people entering the wading pool. Submerged suction outlets 

shall be prohibited in wading pools in accordance with 

ANSI/PHTA/ICC-7 2020 American National Standard for 

Suction Entrapment Avoidance in Swimming Pools, Wading 

Pools, Spas, Hot Tubs, and Catch Basins, which is incorporated 

by reference, including any subsequent amendments or editions, 

and available at https://webstore.ansi.org/ at a cost of one hundred 

and sixty five dollars ($165.00) (hereinafter referred to as 

"ANSI/PHTA/ICC-7"). 

(b)  All submerged suction outlets in public swimming pools other 

than vacuum ports shall be protected by a anti-entrapment cover 

cover/grates in compliance with ASME/ANSI A112.19.8-2007 

ANSI/APSP/ICC-16 2017 (PA 2021) American National 

Standard for Suction Outlet Fitting Assemblies (SOFA) Fittings 

for Use in Swimming Pools, Wading Pools, Spas, and Hot Tubs. 

Tubs, which is hereby incorporated by reference, including any 

subsequent amendments or editions, and available at 

https://webstore.ansi.org/ at a cost of one hundred and sixty five 

dollars ($165.00) (hereinafter referred to as "ANSI/APSP/ICC-

16"). All submerged suction fittings shall be installed in 

accordance with the manufacturer's instructions. 

(c)  Water pumping Pumping systems in public swimming pools 

that have a single main drain or single submerged suction outlet 

other than an unblockable drain, or that which have multiple 

outlets in the same plane separated by less than three feet feet, 

measured at from the centers of the covers cover grates shall have 

one or more secondary methods of preventing bather entrapment. 

Secondary methods of preventing bather entrapment include: 

(1) Safety A safety vacuum release system which 

ceases operation of the water pump, reverses 

the circulation flow, or otherwise provides a 

vacuum release at the suction outlet when a 

blockage has been detected, that has been tested 

by a third party and found to conform to 

ASME/ANSI with ANSI/PHTA/ICC-7. 

standard A112.19.17 which is incorporated by 

reference including any subsequent 

amendments or editions. Copies may be 

obtained from ASME, P.O. Box 2300, 

Fairfield, NJ 07007-2300 at a cost of forty-five 

dollars ($45.00); The operator of the public 

swimming pool shall test an installed safety 

vacuum release system using the methodology 

and at the frequency recommended by the 

manufacturer, and the test dates and results 

shall be recorded in the written records required 

by Rule .2535(11). Safety vacuum release 

systems installed or replaced after the effective 

date of this Rule shall have a shut off valve for 

testing the device, if recommended by the 

manufacturer; 

(2) A suction-limiting vent system with a tamper-

resistant an atmospheric opening; opening 

inaccessible to the public; 

(3) A gravity drainage system that utilizes a surge 

collector tank; 

(4) An automatic pump shut-off system; 

(5) Drain disablement; Disabling the submerged 

suction outlet; or 

(6) Any other system that complies with 

ANSI/PHTA/ICC-7. determined by the U.S. 

Consumer Product Safety Commission to be 

equally effective as, or better than the systems 

in Subparagraphs (1) through (5) of this 

Paragraph. 

(c)(d)  Prior to issuance of operation permits, owners Owners of 

all public swimming pools shall provide documentation to the 

Department as part of the application for an operation permit 

under Rule .2510(c) to verify suction outlet safety compliance. 

This documentation shall include: 

(1) Documentation of the maximum possible flow 

rate for each pump suction system. This shall be 

the maximum pump flow shown on the 

manufacturer's pump performance curve except 

where flow reductions are justified with total 

dynamic head measurements or calculations; 

and calculations. Flow reduction measurement 

documentation shall include photographs 

showing the levels of all the gauges used in the 

public swimming pool. All systems using a 

flow reduction to comply with this rule shall 

have a flow meter on the return water line 

confirming that the water flow does not exceed 

the gallon per minute flow rating of the drain 

covers or a sealed statement from a Registered 

Design Professional showing calculations used 

to justify the reduction; 

(2) Documentation that cover/grates drain covers 

are in compliance with meeting ASME/ANSI 

A112.19.8-2007 ANSI/APSP/ICC-16 and the 

are installed in compliance with the standard 

and manufacturer's instructions. This includes 

documentation that each drain cover 

cover/grate on a single or double-drain dual 

drain pump suction system is rated to meet or 

exceed the maximum pump system flow or the 

measured flow of the pumping system. and that 

cover/grates Drain covers on a pump 

submerged suction system with three or more 

suction outlets shall are together be rated to 

always meet or exceed the maximum pump 
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system flow with one drain completely blocked; 

and blocked, unless the combined flow of all 

unblockable drains meet or exceed the 

maximum pump system flow or the measured 

flow of the pumping system; and 

(3) Documentation that drain sumps meet the 

dimensional requirements specified in the drain 

cover cover/grate manufacturer's installation 

instructions. 

(d)(e)  Operators of all public swimming pools shall inspect pools 

daily to ensure the drain covers are in not missing, broken, or 

cracked good condition and are securely attached. The operator 

shall close the public swimming pool until missing, Missing, 

broken, or cracked suction fittings are shall be replaced and loose 

suction fittings are resecured. shall be reattached before using the 

pool. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-282. 

 

 

TITLE 20 – DEPARTMENT OF STATE TREASURER 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Teachers' and State Employees' Retirement System Board of 

Trustees intends to adopt the rules cited as 20 NCAC 02B .0215; 

and 02O .0104-.0106. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.nctreasurer.com/about/transparency/commitment-

transparency/nc-administrative-code-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2024 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Submit a written 

request for public hearing within 15 days after publication of the 

Notice of Text to:  Dept of State Treasurer, Attn:  Rulemaking 

Coordinator, 3200 Atlantic Avenue, Raleigh, NC 27604 or 

DST.NCAC@nctreasurer.com 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The General Assembly recently 

enacted Session Law 2023-105, which, in pertinent part, creates 

a deadline for reimbursement of short-term disability benefits to 

the employer, authorizes the Retirement Systems Division (RSD) 

to review and approve short-term and extended short-term 

disability benefits, and amends the deadline to apply for extended 

short-term disability benefits. The Teachers’ and State 

Employees’ Retirement System (TSERS) Board of Trustees has 

proposed rules 20 NCAC 02O .0104, .0105, & .106 to implement 

the provisions of Parts II, III and IV.    

In addition, RSD has a duty to pursue repayment of State funds by 

all lawful means available under G.S. 143-64.80(b) and may not 

forgive repayments of an overpayment of State funds. Part VIII of 

Session Law 2023-105 sets forth less stringent recovery 

parameters that still allow RSD to satisfy its duty to pursue 

repayment if the overpayment occurred “entirely due to 

administrative error on the part of the Retirement Systems 

Division.” Proposed Rule 20 NCAC 02B .0215 seeks to identify 

specific causes of overpayments which are not considered entirely 

due to administrative error and to establish a process for RSD or 

members to initiate review of an overpayment for instances of 

overpayments made under the TSERS system. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Laura Rowe, 3200 Atlantic 

Avenue, Raleigh, NC 27604; email DST.NCAC@nctreasurer.com 

 

Comment period ends:  January 30, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 02 - RETIREMENT SYSTEMS 

 

SUBCHAPTER 02B - TEACHERS' AND STATE 

EMPLOYEES' RETIREMENT SYSTEM 

 

SECTION .0200 - ADMINISTRATION 

 

20 NCAC 02B .0215 TEACHERS' AND STATE 

EMPLOYEES' RETIREMENT SYSTEM 

OVERPAYMENT SAFE HARBOR 

(a)  The following causes of overpayments are not entirely due to 

administrative error on the part of the Retirement Systems 

Division: 

(1) The beneficiary received, but did not repay to 

the Retirement System or the Disability Income 

Plan of North Carolina, a benefit from the 

Social Security Administration, the U.S. 

Department of Veterans Affairs, other federal 

agency payments, Workers' Compensation, or 

the State's military disability program under 

G.S. 127A-108, where such benefits are 

required by law to be offset from benefits paid 

by the Retirement System or the Disability 

Income Plan of North Carolina, or where 
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repayment of such benefits was agreed upon as 

a condition of approval for benefits from the 

Retirement System or the Disability Income 

Plan of North Carolina. 

(2) The beneficiary, the beneficiary's employer, or 

the beneficiary's authorized agent submitted 

any information on an official form to the 

Retirement Systems Division, either on paper 

or electronically, that differed from the 

information ultimately used to determine the 

eligibility for, or amount of, benefits due. 

(3) The Retirement Systems Division requested 

information necessary to initiate or continue the 

payment of benefits, by sending a letter to the 

mailing address that the beneficiary, the 

beneficiary's employer, or the beneficiary's 

authorized agent placed on file with the 

Retirement Systems Division, allowing at least 

three weeks between the date of the letter and 

the date for a response to be received, and the 

Retirement Systems Division did not receive a 

response by the time requested. 

(4) A State or local government agency reported 

information to the Retirement Systems 

Division, including employment status, dates of 

service, or amounts of compensation, which 

changed the eligibility for, or amount of, 

benefits due to the beneficiary. 

(5) The beneficiary experienced a forfeiture of 

creditable service for having been convicted of 

a felony under the provisions of G.S. 135-

18.10, G.S. 135-18.10A, G.S. 135-75.1, or G.S. 

135-75.1A . 

(b)  The Retirement Systems Division may initiate a review of the 

facts and circumstances related to the origin of any overpayment 

from the Retirement System or the Disability Income Plan of 

North Carolina, with the purpose of determining if the 

overpayment was entirely due to administrative error on the part 

of the Retirement Systems Division and therefore eligible for the 

alternate repayment terms of G.S. 135-9(c1). Additionally, the 

Director of the Retirement Systems Division shall, upon receipt 

of a written request by a beneficiary, beneficiary's employer, or 

the beneficiary's authorized agent, initiate such a review. If the 

Director determines the overpayment is not entirely due to 

administrative error on the part of the Retirement Systems 

Division, the Retirement Systems Division shall issue a letter to 

the requestor setting forth the reason or reasons for the denial. The 

Director shall make determinations on such requests pursuant to 

the authority provided under 20 NCAC 02A .0103. 

 

Authority G.S. 135-9(c1). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 02O – DISABILITY INCOME PLAN OF 

NORTH CAROLINA 

 

20 NCAC 02O .0104 SHORT-TERM DISABILITY 

AND EXTENDED SHORT-TERM DISABILITY 

APPROVALS 

(a)  Only the Medical Board shall have the authority to deny short-

term and extended short-term disability benefits. 

(b)  The following positions or entities shall have the authority to 

approve short-term and extended short-term disability benefits on 

behalf of the Retirement Systems Division: 

(1) Director of the Retirement Systems Division; 

(2) Director of Operations; 

(3) Disability Benefits Processing Manager; 

(4) Disability Benefits Processing Supervisor; 

(5) Clinical Reviewer; or 

(6) Medical Board. 

(c)  The Director of the Retirement Systems Division may 

designate additional positions to have the authority to approve, 

but not deny, short-term and extended short-term disability 

benefits. 

(d)  Only the Medical Board may approve applications for short-

term or extended-short-term disability benefits from individuals 

who have been actively employed at the Department of State 

Treasurer within the 365 days preceding the date of disability 

indicated on the individual's application for benefits. 

 

Authority G.S. 135-105(f); 135-105(g). 

 

20 NCAC 02O .0105 SHORT-TERM DISABILITY 

NOTIFICATION DATE 

(a)  "Date of submission" means the date indicated on the 

Retirement Systems Division's hand-stamped postal mark if the 

submission is by mail or in person, the timestamp if the 

submission is by email, or the transmission date if the submission 

if by facsimile transmission. 

(b)  "Notifications made" pursuant to G.S. 135-105(d) means the 

submission of a written request for reimbursement by an 

employer. 

(c)  "Submission" means the act of presenting a document to the 

Retirement System Division for processing, consideration, or 

determination through one of the following methods: 

(1) Mail to the mailing address in Rule 20 NCAC 

02B .0101; 

(2) Electronic mail (email); 

(3) Facsimile transmission; or 

(4) In person at the physical address in Rule 20 

NCAC 02B .0101. 

 

Authority G.S. 135-105(d). 

 

20 NCAC 02O .0106 EXTENDED SHORT-TERM 

DISABILITY APPLICATION DATE 

(a)  "Date of submission" means the date indicated on the 

Retirement Systems Division's hand-stamped postal mark if the 

submission is by mail or in person, the timestamp if the 

submission is by email, or the transmission date if the submission 

if by facsimile transmission. 

(b)  "Makes an application" pursuant to G.S. 135-105(g) means 

submission of the following information, in a method prescribed 

by the Retirement Systems Division: 

(1) Full name; 
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(2) Mailing address; 

(3) Email address; 

(4) Telephone number; 

(5) Date of birth; 

(6) Member identification number assigned by the 

Retirement Systems Division; 

(7) Last four digits of Social Security Number; 

(8) Current or most recent employer; 

(9) Employer contact name; and 

(10) Signed and dated acknowledgement that the 

member has been receiving short-term benefits 

from the Disability Income Plan of North 

Carolina; is applying for extended short-term 

benefits; certifies that the illness did not result 

from active participation in a riot or actual or 

attempted commission of a terrorist act, felony, 

or intentional self-inflicted injury; authorizes 

health care providers to release to the 

Retirement Systems Division any medical 

records or other information about the 

disability; understands that a copy of such 

authorization will be as valid as the original; 

understands that the medical information is to 

be furnished at no cost; and understands that the 

member cannot withdraw contributions from 

the Retirement System while receiving benefits 

under the Disability Income Plan of North 

Carolina. 

(c)  "Submission" means the action of presenting a document to 

the Retirement System Division for processing, consideration, or 

determination through one of the following methods: 

(1) Mail to the mailing address in Rule 20 NCAC 

02B .0101; 

(2) Electronic mail (email); 

(3) Facsimile transmission; or 

(4) In person at the physical address in Rule 20 

NCAC 02B .0101. 

 

Authority G.S. 135-105(g). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Local Governmental Employees' Retirement System Board of 

Trustees intends to adopt the rule cited as 20 NCAC 02C .0212. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.nctreasurer.com/about/transparency/commitment-

transparency/nc-administrative-code-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2024 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Submit a written 

request for public hearing within 15 days after publication of the 

Notice of Text to:  Dept of State Treasurer, Attn:  Rulemaking 

Coordinator, 3200 Atlantic Avenue, Raleigh, NC 27604 or 

DST.NCAC@nctreasurer.com 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The Retirement System Division 

(RSD) has a duty to pursue repayment of State funds by all lawful 

means available under G.S. § 143-64.80(b) and may not forgive 

repayments of an overpayment of State funds. Part VIII of Session 

Law 2023-105 sets forth less stringent recovery parameters that 

still allow RSD to satisfy its duty to pursue repayment if the 

overpayment occurred “entirely due to administrative error on 

the part of the Retirement Systems Division.” The Local 

Governmental Employees’ Retirement System (LGERS) Board of 

Trustees is proposing a rule to identify specific causes of 

overpayments which are not considered entirely due to 

administrative error and to establish a process for RSD or 

members to initiate review of an overpayment under the LGERS 

system. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Laura Rowe, 3200 Atlantic 

Avenue, Raleigh, NC 27604; email DST.NCAC@nctreasurer.com 

 

Comment period ends:  January 30, 2024 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 02 - RETIREMENT SYSTEMS 

 

SUBCHAPTER 02C - LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL 

EMPLOYEES' RETIREMENT SYSTEM 

 

SECTION .0200 - ADMINISTRATION 

 

20 NCAC 02C .0212 LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL 

EMPLOYEES' RETIREMENT SYSTEM 

OVERPAYMENT SAFE HARBOR 

(a)  The following causes of overpayments are not entirely due to 

administrative error on the part of the Retirement Systems 

Division: 
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(1) The beneficiary received, but did not repay to 

the Retirement System, a benefit from the 

Social Security Administration, the U.S. 

Department of Veterans Affairs, other federal 

agency payments, Workers' Compensation, or 

the State's military disability program under 

G.S. 127A-108, where such benefits are 

required by law to be offset from Retirement 

System benefits, or where repayment of such 

benefits was agreed upon as a condition of 

approval for benefits from the Retirement 

System. 

(2) The beneficiary, the beneficiary's employer, or 

the beneficiary's authorized agent submitted 

information on an official form to the 

Retirement Systems Division, either on paper 

or electronically, that differed from the 

information ultimately used to determine the 

eligibility for, or amount of, benefits due. 

(3) The Retirement Systems Division requested 

information necessary to initiate or continue the 

payment of benefits, by sending a letter to the 

mailing address that the beneficiary, the 

beneficiary's employer, or the beneficiary's 

authorized agent on file with the Retirement 

Systems Division, allowing at least three weeks 

between the date of the letter and the date for a 

response to be received, and the Retirement 

Systems Division did not receive a response by 

the time requested. 

(4) A State or local government agency reported 

information to the Retirement Systems 

Division, including employment status, dates of 

service, or amounts of compensation, which 

changed the eligibility for, or amount of, 

benefits due to the beneficiary. 

(5) The beneficiary experienced a forfeiture of 

creditable service for having been convicted of 

a felony under the provisions of G.S. 128-38.4 

or G.S. 128-38.4A. 

(b)  The Retirement Systems Division may initiate a review of the 

facts and circumstances related to the origin of any overpayment 

from the Retirement System, with the purpose of determining if 

the overpayment was entirely due to administrative error on the 

part of the Retirement Systems Division and therefore eligible for 

the alternate repayment terms of G.S. 128-31(c1). Additionally, 

the Director of the Retirement Systems Division shall, upon 

receipt of a written request by a beneficiary, beneficiary's 

employer, or the beneficiary's authorized agent, initiate such a 

review. If the Director determines the overpayment is not entirely 

due to administrative error on the part of the Retirement Systems 

Division, the Retirement Systems Division shall issue a letter to 

the requestor setting forth the reason or reasons for the denial. The 

Director shall make determinations on such requests pursuant to 

the authority provided under 20 NCAC 02A .0103. 

 

Authority G.S. 128-31(c1). 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 10 – BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC 

EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Chiropractic Examiners intends to adopt the rule cited 

as 21 NCAC 10 .0218 and amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 10 

.0208. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncchiroboard.com 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  December 18, 2023 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:   

https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-

join/19%3ameeting_NGI2ZmQ0ZjYtYmY4MS00MjI2LWJhZDEt

YTEzYzJkZmMxOWVh%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%2

2%3a%22ecf1f468-48d3-46cb-9cf9-

e8891fc6c41d%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%22c4985c71-7a55-

40ac-97d5-422a9e9506de%22%7d 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 10 .0218 – Preceptors – To set out the requirements for 

licensees serving as preceptors 

21 NCAC 10 .0208 – Acupuncture – To revise the number of 

instruction hours required 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Dr. Joe Siragusa, 9121 Anson 

Way, Suite 200, Raleigh, NC 27615; phone (704) 793-1342; email 

dr. joe@ncchiroboard.com 

 

Comment period ends:  January 30, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 
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 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0200 - PRACTICE OF CHIROPRACTIC 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0208 ACUPUNCTURE 

(a)  In order to perform acupuncture, a licentiate or applicant for 

licensure shall first certify to the Board that he or she has 

completed a minimum of 200 100 hours of instruction in 

acupuncture sponsored or given by a chiropractic college 

accredited by the Council on Chiropractic Education or a college 

or university accredited by an accrediting body recognized by the 

US Department of Education. The 200 100 hours of instruction 

must contain at least 30 percent practical, hands-on hours. 

Individual classes can only be taken once for credit. To perform 

acupuncture, a licentiate shall also take the National Board of 

Chiropractic Examiners Acupuncture Examination and receive a 

passing score of 375 or greater. 

(b)  Prior to performing acupuncture, a licentiate or applicant for 

licensure must provide the Board with the following: 

(1) An official transcript from an accredited 

acupuncture program demonstrating 

completion of the 200, 100 hours of instruction 

described in this Rule; and 

(2) Proof of successful completion of the 

acupuncture examination described in this 

Rule. 

(c)  Licentiates holding an active license as of December 31, 2022 

and who have received prior approval from the Board to perform 

acupuncture are not required to meet the requirements of this rule. 

However, if a licentiate grandfathered under this rule 

subsequently allows his or her license to lapse or if the license is 

subsequently subject to active suspension or placed in a status 

other than active, the licentiate shall be required to comply with 

this Rule before being permitted to perform acupuncture. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-143; 90-151. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0218 PRECEPTORS 

(a)  Chiropractic physicians who supervise students pursuant to 

G.S. 90-142.1 ("preceptors") shall provide the Board with the 

following information prior to commencing student supervision 

on a form available on the Board's website: 

(1) Full name and license number of the preceptor; 

(2) Full name of student; 

(3) Chiropractic college in which student is 

enrolled; 

(4) Expected date of graduation; 

(5) Contact phone number and email for student; 

(6) Start and end dates of preceptorship; 

(7) Address where preceptorship will take place; 

and 

(8) Acknowledgement by the preceptor that he/she 

has read the statutes, rules and guidelines 

regarding the preceptor role. 

(b)  The minimum requirements for a preceptor are as follows: 

(1) Active license issued by the Board; 

(2) Licensure by the Board for at least five (5) years 

prior to submission of request to serve as a 

preceptor; and 

(3) No prior suspension of the preceptor's license, 

active or stayed; and 

(4) No prior Board discipline of any kind within ten 

years of commencing the preceptor-student 

relationship. 

(c)  Preceptors may supervise only one student at a time. 

Preceptors must obtain verbal consent from every patient who is 

treated by the student prior to the student commencing treatment. 

Consent must be documented in the patient's record. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-142.1. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 25 - INTERPRETER AND 

TRANSLITERATOR LICENSING BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board intends to amend 

the rules cited as 21 NCAC 25 .0501-.0503, and .0505. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncitlb.org/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  December 19, 2023 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83687326900?pwd=RGJjcWU5cklrc

U1qaFBIeGpyVWRlUT09 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The reason for proposed rules, 21 

NCAC 25 .0501(a); 21 NCAC 25 .0502 (1), (2), (3), (4); and 21 

NCAC 25 .0503(a)(3) is due to COVID-19 restrictions decreasing 

in-person offering for Continuing Education Units (CEU), 

licensees reported difficulty obtaining in-person CEU offerings to 

satisfy annual CEU requirements under current administrative 

rules.  Therefore, the Board having jurisdiction to adopt and 

amend its administrative rules, is proposed an amendment to 

remove the requirement of in-person CEUs for licensees. 

 

The reason for proposed rule change 21 NCAC 25 .0505(c)(2) is 

to change what is needed to be submitted to confirm attendance 

at a workshop for CEU credit.  Submitting a copy of an 

advertisement for a course does not confirm that the licensee 

attended the course. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Caitlin Schwab-Falzone, PO 

Box 98328, Raleigh, NC 27624; phone (919) 779-5709; email 

ncitlb@caphill.com 

 

Comment period ends:  February 1, 2024 
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Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0500 – CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

21 NCAC 25 .0501 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  A licensee shall earn at least two continuing education units 

("CEUs") each licensure year. At least 1.0 of those 

CEUs shall be earned in professional studies studies. and at least 

1.0 of those CEUs shall be earned in a setting in which three or 

more persons come together at the same location at the same time 

as a group to listen to a lecture, to view a demonstration, to 

participate in group discussions, or to learn through any 

combination of these or similar activities. 

(b)  A licensee may carry over up to two surplus CEUs earned in 

one licensure year to the next licensure year to meet the 

requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. The licensee shall 

demonstrate that he or she earned the CEU credits sought to be 

carried over in the licensee's license renewal application packet 

submitted for the carry over year in order to receive credit 

therefore. Surplus CEUs shall only be carried forward from the 

licensure year in which they were earned to the next subsequent 

licensure year and not beyond. 

(c)  A licensee may not earn CEUs while interpreting, whether or 

not the licensee is compensated for his or her services. 

(d)  The Board shall waive the continuing education requirements 

in this Rule for any individual who is currently licensed by and in 

good standing with the Board if the individual is serving in the 

armed forces of the United States 

and if G.S. 105-249.2 grants the individual an extension of time 

to file a tax return. The waiver shall be in effect for any period 

that is disregarded under Section 7508 of the Internal Revenue 

Code in determining the taxpayer's liability for a federal tax. 

(e)  For the 2020-21, 2021-22, 2022-23, and 2023-24 licensure 

years only, the Board waives the in-person course requirements 

of Paragraph (a) of this Rule and licensees may take all of their 

CEUs for those licensure years 

electronically. However, this waiver shall not apply to any surplus 

CEUs earned during the 2023-24 licensure year and sought by the 

licensee to be carried over to the 2024-25 licensure year. 

 

Authority G.S. 90D-6; 90D-8; 90D-11; 93B-15. 

 

21 NCAC 25 .0502 PRORATION OF CONTINUING 

EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS 

The CEU requirements specified in Rule .0501 of this Chapter 

shall be prorated as follows during a licensee's initial licensure 

year: 

(1) If the licensee receives his or her initial license 

in the months of October, November or 

December, the licensee shall be required to 

earned at least 2.0 CEUs by the following 

October 1. At least 1.0 of those CEUs shall be 

earned in professional studies studies. and at 

least 1.0 of those CEUs shall be earned in a 

traditional classroom setting; 

(2) If the licensee receives his or her initial license 

in the months of January, February, or March, 

the licensee shall be required to earned at least 

1.5 CEUs by the following October 1. At least 

1.0 of those CEUs shall be earned in 

professional studies studies. and at least 1.0 of 

those CEUs shall be earned in a traditional 

classroom setting; 

(3) If the licensee receives his or her initial license 

in the months of April, May, or June, the 

licensee shall be required to earned at least 1.0 

CEUs by the following October 1. At least 0.5 

of those CEUs shall be earned in professional 

studies studies. and at least 0.5 of those CEUs 

shall be earned in a traditional classroom 

setting; 

(4) If the licensee receives his or her initial license 

in the months of July, August, or September, 

the licensee shall be required to earned at least 

0.5 CEUs by the following October 1. At least 

0.5 of those CEUs shall be earned in 

professional studies studies. and at least 0.5 of 

those CEUs shall be earned in a traditional 

classroom setting. 

 

Authority G.S. 90D-6; 90D-8; 90D-11. 

 

21 NCAC 25 .0503 FAILURE TO MEET 

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  A licensee who has not complied with the continuing 

education requirements in this Section shall be ineligible for 

license renewal. Any person whose license renewal application is 

denied on these grounds may reapply for 

licensure as soon as the person is able to demonstrate that: 

(1) the person has earned at least two CEUs within 

the 12 months next preceding the date of 

reapplication; and 
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(2) at least 1.0 of those CEUs was earned in 

professional studies. and 

(3) at least 1.0 of those CEUs was earned in a 

traditional classroom setting. 

(b)  Notwithstanding the provisions of Paragraph (a) of this Rule, 

a licensee who has not complied with the continuing education 

requirements in this Section shall be eligible for license renewal 

if: 

(1) the licensee makes a timely application for 

renewal, including the payment of the required 

license fee; and 

(2) the licensee earns the required CEUs by no later 

than the 31st day of October in the new 

licensure year. 

(c)  CEUs earned in the current licensure year and used to cure a 

deficiency in the prior licensure year may not be 

used to meet the CEU requirements of the current year. 

 

Authority G.S. 90D-6; 90D-8; 90D-11. 

 

21 NCAC 25 .0505 CEU CREDIT FOR WORKSHPS, 

CONFERENCES, AND INDEPENDENT STUDY 

RECOGNIZED BY RID 

(a)  A licensee may earn CEUs by attending workshops and 

conferences recognized by The Registry of Interpreters 

for the Deaf, Inc. ("RID"). In order to receive CEU credit for 

attendance at a workshop or conference recognized by RID, the 

licensee must submit to the Board a copy of the licensee's RID 

CEU transcript. RID shall be the sole judge of the number of 

CEUs earned by attendance at the workshop or conference. 

(b)  A licensee who is either a certified member of RID or an 

associate member of RID participating in the Associate 

Continuing Education Tracking ("ACET") Program may earn 

CEUs by independently studying instructional materials in any 

format -- including, but not limited to, videotapes, audiotapes, 

web sites, DVDs, CDs, and books and other printed materials -- 

so long as the materials have been recognized by RID. In order to 

receive CEU credit for such independent study, the licensee must 

submit to the Board a copy of the licensee's RID CEU transcript. 

RID shall be the sole judge of the number of CEUs earned by the 

completion of any independent study recognized by RID. 

(c)  If a licensee does not have an RID CEU transcript because the 

licensee is neither a certified member of RID nor an associate 

member of RID participating in the ACET Program, the licensee 

may receive CEU credit for attendance at the workshop or 

conference by submitting to the Board a certificate of completion 

signed by the workshop or conference sponsor, provider, or 

presenter.  

(1) a certificate of completion signed by the 

workshop or conference sponsor, provider, or 

presenter; and 

(2) a copy of the advertisement or flyer that shows 

that attendance at the workshop or conference 

qualifies for RID CEUs. 

 

Authority G.S. 90D-6; 90D-8; 90D-11. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are emergency rules reviewed by the Codifier of 

Rules and entered in the North Carolina Administrative Code. The agency must subsequently publish a proposed temporary rule on 

the OAH website (www.ncoah.com/rules) and submit that adopted temporary rule to the Rules Review Commission within 60 days 

from publication of the emergency rule or the emergency rule will expire on the 60th day from publication. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of emergency rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-

21.1A and 26 NCAC 02C .0600 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Medical Care Commission 

 

Rule Citation:  10A NCAC 13S .0101, .0104, .0106, .0107, .0109, 

.0111, .0112, .0114, .0201, .0202, .0207, .0209-.0212, .0315, 

.0318-.0331 

 

Effective Date:  November 14, 2023 

 

Codifier determined rules do not meet the criteria for emergency 

rulemaking in G.S. 150B-21.1A(a): November 6, 2023 

 

Reason for Action:  On May 16, 2023, Senate Bill 20 became law 

as S.L. 2023-14. This new law entitled "An Act to Make Various 

Changes to Health Care Laws and to Appropriate Funds for 

Health Care Programs" made revisions to various state laws 

governing abortions in North Carolina. Effective October 1, 

2023, the North Carolina Medical Care Commission was 

authorized to "adopt, amend, and repeal all rules necessary for 

the implementation" of Part II of S.L. 2023-14. Current rules 

governing the certification of abortion clinics are found in 

Subchapter 14E of Title 10A of the Administrative Code. 

However, the Rules Review Commission objected to the presence 

of those rules as adopted by the Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Services Regulation on the basis of 

lack of statutory authority. The consequence of that determination 

is that the existing rules governing abortion clinics are at 

imminent risk of being removed from the Administrative Code. 

The adoption of emergency rules will ensure continuity of care for 

patients, will resolve any uncertainty about the rules applicable 

to impacted providers from October 1st until the Medical Care 

Commission is able to promulgate temporary or permanent rules, 

and will protect the health and safety of people obtaining 

reproductive health care. Therefore, the Medical Care 

Commission seeks to adopt Subchapter 13S of Title 10A under 

emergency procedures. 

 

CHAPTER 13 - NC MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 13S - LICENSURE OF SUITABLE 

FACILITIES FOR THE PERFORMANCE OF SURGICAL 

ABORTIONS 

 

SECTION .0100 – LICENSURE PROCEDURE 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0101 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions will apply throughout this Subchapter: 

(1) "Abortion" means the termination of a 

pregnancy as defined in G.S 90-21.81(1c). 

(2) "Clinic" means a freestanding facility neither 

physically attached nor operated by a licensed 

hospital for the performance of abortions 

completed during the first 12 weeks of 

pregnancy. 

(3) "Division" means the Division of Health 

Service Regulation of the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(4) "Gestational age" means the length of 

pregnancy as indicated by the date of the first 

day of the last normal monthly menstrual 

period, if known, or as determined by 

ultrasound. 

(5) "Governing authority" means the individual, 

agency, group, or corporation appointed, 

elected or otherwise designated, in which the 

ultimate responsibility and authority for the 

conduct of the abortion clinic is vested pursuant 

to Rule .0318 of this Subchapter. 

(6) "Health Screening" means an evaluation of an 

employee or contractual employee, including 

tuberculosis testing, to identify any underlying 

conditions that may affect the person's ability to 

work in the clinic. 

(7) "New clinic" means one that is not certified as 

an abortion clinic by the Division as of July 1, 

2023, and has not been certified or licensed 

within the previous six months of the 

application for licensure. 

(8) "Registered Nurse" means a person who holds 

a valid license issued by the North Carolina 

Board of Nursing to practice professional 

nursing in accordance with the Nursing Practice 

Act, G.S. 90, Article 9A. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0104 PLANS 

Prior to issuance of a license pursuant to Rule .0107 of this 

Section, an applicant for a new clinic shall submit two copies of 

the building plans to the Division. When the clinic requires a 

review by the Division and the Department of Insurance, 

according to the North Carolina State Building Code, 2018 

edition, including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies 

of the Code are available from the International Code Council at 

https://codes.iccsafe.org/content/NCAPC2018/chapter-1-

administrative-code at no cost. When the local jurisdiction has 

authority from the North Carolina Building Code Council to 
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review the plans, the clinic shall submit only one copy of the plans 

to the Division. In that case, the clinic shall submit an additional 

set of plans directly to the local jurisdiction. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0106 APPLICATION 

(a)  Prior to the admission of patients, an applicant for a new clinic 

shall submit an application for licensure and receive approval 

from the Division. 

(b)  Application forms may be obtained by contacting the Division 

at 2712 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-2712. 

(c)  The application form shall set forth: 

(1) Name of applicant; 

(2) Name of facility; 

(3) Ownership disclosure; 

(4) Building owner; 

(5) Building owner; 

(6) Building management; 

(7) Sanitation services; 

(8) Medical director; 

(9) Other medical staff; 

(10) Director of nursing; 

(11) Other nursing staff; and 

(12) Consulting pathologist. 

(d)  After construction requirements in Section .0200 of this 

Subchapter have been met and the application for licensure has 

been received and approved, the Division shall conduct an on-site, 

licensure survey. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153;131E-153.2; 131E-

153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0107 ISSUANCE OF LICENSE 

(a)  The Division shall issue a license if it finds the facility can: 

(1) Comply with all requirements described in this 

Subchapter; and 

(2) Have a board certified OB-GYN or board 

eligible physician by the American Board of 

Obstetrics and Gynecology shall be available in 

the event that complications arise from an 

abortion procedure. 

(b)  Each license shall be issued only for the premises and persons 

or organizations named in the application and shall not be 

transferable. 

(c)  The governing authority shall notify the Division in writing, 

within 10 working days, of any change in the name of the facility 

or change in the name of the administrator. 

(d)  The facility shall report to the Division all incidents, within 

10 working days, of vandalism to the facility such as fires, 

explosions, or other action that prevents services from providing 

abortion services. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.2; 131E-

153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0109 RENEWAL 

(a)  Each license, renewed at the beginning of each calendar year. 

(b)  The renewal application form shall set forth: 

(1) Name of applicant; 

(2) Name of facility; 

(3) Ownership disclosure; 

(4) Building owner; 

(5) Building owner; 

(6) Building management; 

(7) Sanitation services; 

(8) Medical director; 

(9) Other medical staff; 

(10) Director of nursing; 

(11) Other nursing staff; 

(12) Consulting pathologist; 

(13) The number of procedures performed during 

the reporting period; and 

(14) The number of patients that were transferred to 

a hospital during a reporting period. 

(c)  Upon the filing of a renewal application, the clinic must pay 

a non-refundable renewal fee as defined in G.S. 131E-153.2. 

(d)  An application for renewal of licensure must be filed with the 

Division at least 30 days prior to the date of expiration. Renewal 

application forms shall be furnished by the Division. 

(e)  Failure to file a renewal application shall result in expiration 

of the license to operate. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.2; 131E-

153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0111 INSPECTIONS 

(a)  Any clinic licensed by the Division to perform abortions shall 

be inspected by representatives of the Division annually and as it 

may deem necessary as a condition of holding such license. An 

inspection may be conducted whenever the Division receives a 

complaint alleging the clinic is not in compliance with the rules 

of the Subchapter. 

(b)  Representatives of the Division shall make their identities 

known to the clinic staff prior to inspection of the clinic. 

(c)  Representatives of the Division may review any records in 

any medium necessary to determine compliance with the rules of 

this Subchapter. The Department shall maintain the 

confidentiality of the complainant and the patient, unless 

otherwise required by law. 

(d)  The clinic shall allow the Division to have immediate access 

to its premises and the records necessary to conduct an inspection 

and determine compliance with the rules of this Subchapter. 

(e)  A clinic shall file a written plan of correction for cited 

deficiencies within 10 business days of receipt of the report of the 

survey. The Division shall review and respond to a written plan 
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of correction within 10 business days of receipt of the corrective 

action plan. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.2; 131E-

153.5; 131E-153.6; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0112 ALTERATIONS 

Any license holder or prospective applicant desiring to make 

alterations or additions to a clinic or to construct a new clinic, 

before commencing such alteration, addition or new construction 

shall submit plans and specifications to the Division for 

preliminary inspection and approval or recommendations with 

respect to compliance with this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165. 

Codifier determined rule did not meet criteria for emergency rule 

on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0114 APPROVAL 

(a)  Approval of building plans shall be obtained from the 

Division of Health Service Regulation, in accordance with the 

rules in Section .0200 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Approval of building plans shall expire one year after the date 

of approval unless a building permit for the construction has been 

obtained prior to the expiration date of the approval of building 

plans. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

 

SECTION .0200 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CONSTRUCTION AND EQUIPMENT 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0201 BUILDING CODE 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The physical plant for a clinic shall meet or exceed minimum 

requirements of the North Carolina State Building Code for Group 

B occupancy (business office facilities) which is incorporated 

herein by reference including subsequent amendments and 

editions. Copies of the Code can be obtained from the 

International Code Council online at 

http://shop.iccsafe.org/north-carolina-doi.discounts?ref=NC for a 

cost of five hundred twenty-seven dollars ($527.00) or accessed 

electronically free of charge at 

https://codes.iccsafe.org/content/NCAPC2018/chapter-1-

administrative-code. 

(b)  The requirements contained in this Section shall apply to new 

clinics and to any alterations, repairs, rehabilitation work, or 

additions which are made to a previously licensed facility. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0202 SANITATION 

Clinics that are licensed by the Division to perform abortions shall 

comply with the Rules governing the sanitation of hospitals, 

nursing homes, adult care homes, and other institutions, contained 

in 15A NCAC 18A .1300 which is hereby incorporated by 

reference including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies 

of 15A NCAC 18A .1300 may be obtained at no charge from the 

Division of Public Health, Environmental Health Section, 1632 

Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1632, or accessed 

electronically free of charge from the Office of Administrative 

Hearings at https://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0207 AREA REQUIREMENTS 

The following areas shall comply with Rule .0212 of this Section, 

and are considered minimum requirements for clinics that are 

licensed by the Division to perform abortions: 

(1) receiving area; 

(2) examining room; 

(3) preoperative preparation and holding room; 

(4) individual patient locker facilities or 

equivalent; 

(5) procedure room; 

(6) recovery room; 

(7) clean workroom; 

(8) soiled workroom; 

(9) a clean area for self-contained secure 

medication storage complying with security 

requirements of state and federal laws is 

provided; 

(10) separate and distinct areas for storage and 

handling of clean and soiled linen; 

(11) patient toilet; 

(12) personnel lockers and toilet facilities; 

(13) laboratory; 

(14) nourishment station with storage and 

preparation area for serving meals or 

in-between meal snacks; 

(15) janitor's closets; 

(16) adequate space and equipment for assembling, 

sterilizing and storing medical and surgical 

supplies; 

(17) storage space for medical records; and 

(18) office space for nurses' charting, doctors' 

charting, communications, counseling, and 

business functions. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165. 

Codifier determined rule did not meet criteria for emergency rule 

on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0209 ELEVATOR 

(a)  In multi-story buildings, the clinic shall provide at least one 

elevator for patient use. 

(b)  At least one dimension of the elevator cab shall be six and 

one-half feet to accommodate stretcher patients. 

(c)  The elevator door shall have an opening of no less than three 

feet in width, which is minimum for stretcher use. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

10A NCAC 13S .0210 CORRIDORS 

The width of patient use corridors shall be no less than 60 inches. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0211 DOORS 

Minimum width of doors to all rooms needing access for 

stretchers shall be three feet. No door shall swing into corridors in 

a manner that might obstruct traffic flow or reduce the required 

corridor width except doors to spaces not subject to occupancy. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0212 ELEMENTS AND EQUIPMENT 

The physical plant shall provide equipment to carry out the functions of the clinic with the following minimum requirements: 

(1) Mechanical requirements. 

(a) Temperatures and humidities: 

(i) The mechanical systems shall be designed to provide the temperature and humidities shown in this 

Sub-Item: 

Area   Temperature  Relative Humidity 

Procedure  70-76 degrees F.  50-60% 

Recovery  75-80 degrees F.  30-60% 

(b) All air supply and exhaust systems for the procedure suite and recovery area shall be mechanically operated. 

All fans serving exhaust systems shall be located at the discharge end of the system. The ventilation rates 

shown herein shall be considered as minimum acceptable rates. 

(i) The ventilation system shall be designed and balanced to provide the pressure relationships detailed 

in Sub-Item (b)(vii) of this Rule. 

(ii) All air supplied to procedure rooms shall be delivered at or near the ceiling of the room and all 

exhaust or return from the area shall be removed near the floor level at not less than three inches 

above the floor. 

(iii) Corridors shall not be used to supply air to or exhaust air from any procedure or recovery room 

except to maintain required pressure relationships. 

(iv) All ventilation or air conditioning systems serving procedure rooms shall have a minimum of one 

filter bed with a minimum filter efficiency of 80 percent. 

(v) Ventilation systems serving the procedure or recovery rooms shall not be tied in with the soiled 

holding or work rooms, janitors' closets, or locker rooms if the air is to be recirculated in any manner. 

(vi) Air handling duct systems shall not have duct linings. 

(vii) The following general air pressure relationships to adjacent areas and ventilation rates shall apply: 

Area  Pressure Relationship Minimum Air 

Changes/Hour 

Procedure   P   6 

Recovery   P   6 

Soiled work, 

Janitor's closet, 

Toilets, 

Soiled holding  N   10 

Clean work or 

Clean holding  P   4 

  (P = positive pressure N = negative pressure) 
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(2) Plumbing And Other Piping Systems. 

(a) Medical Gas and Vacuum Systems 

(i) Piped-in medical gas and 

vacuum systems, if installed, 

shall meet the requirements 

of NFPA-99-2012, category 

1 system, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference 

including subsequent 

amendments and editions. 

Copies of NFPA-99-2012 

may be purchased from the 

National Fire Protection 

Association, 1 Batterymarch 

Park, P.O. Box 9101, 

Quincy, MA 02269-9101, or 

accessed electronically free 

of charge at 

http://www.nfpa.org. 

(ii) The facility must meet the 

inhalation anesthesia 

requirements of NFPA 70-

2020 and NFPA 99-2021, 

which are hereby 

incorporated by reference 

including subsequent 

amendments and editions. 

Copies of NFPA 70-2011 and 

NFPA 99-2012 may be 

purchased from the National 

Fire Protection Association, 

1 Batterymarch Park, P.O. 

Box 9101, Quincy, MA 

02269-9101, or accessed 

electronically free of charge 

at http://www.nfpa.org. 

(b) Lavatories and sinks for use by 

medical personnel shall have the water 

supply spout mounted so that its 

discharge point is a minimum distance 

of five inches above the rim of the 

fixture with mixing type fixture valves 

that can be operated without the use of 

the hands. 

(c) Hot water distribution systems shall 

provide hot water at hand washing and 

bathing facilities at a minimum 

temperature of 100 degrees F. and a 

maximum temperature of 116 degrees 

F. 

(d) Floor drains shall not be installed in 

procedure rooms. 

(e) Building drainage and waste systems 

shall be designed to avoid installations 

in the ceiling directly above procedure 

rooms. 

(3) Electrical Requirements. 

(a) Procedure and recovery rooms, and 

paths of egress from these rooms to the 

outside shall have at a minimum, listed 

battery backup lighting units of one 

and one-half hour capability that will 

automatically provide at least five foot 

candles of illumination at the floor in 

the event needed for a utility or local 

lighting circuit failure. 

(b) Electrically operated medical 

equipment necessary for the safety of 

the patient shall have, at a minimum, 

battery backup. 

(c) Receptacles located within six feet of 

sinks or lavatories shall be ground-

fault protected. 

(d) At least one wired-in, ionization-type 

smoke detector shall be within 15 feet 

of each procedure or recovery room 

entrance. 

(4) Buildings systems and medical equipment shall 

have preventative maintenance conducted as 

recommended by the equipment manufacturers' 

or installers' literature to assure operation in 

compliance with manufacturer's instructions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

SECTION .0300 – SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0315 HOUSEKEEPING 

In addition to the standards set forth in Rule .0202 of this 

Subchapter, clinics that are licensed by the Division to perform 

abortions shall meet the following standards: 

(1) the floors, walls, woodwork, and windows must 

be cleaned at least daily; 

(2) the premises must be kept free from rodents and 

insect infestation; 

(3) bath and toilet facilities must be maintained in 

a clean and sanitary condition consistent with 

15A NCAC 18A .1312; and 

(4) linen that comes directly in contact with the 

patient shall be provided for each individual 

patient. No such linen shall be interchangeable 

from one patient to another before being 

cleaned, sterilized, or laundered. 

Copies of 15A NCAC 18A .1300 may be obtained at no charge 

from the Division of Public Health, Environmental Health 

Section, 1632 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC, 27699-1632, or 

accessed electronically free of charge from the Office of 

Administrative Hearings at https://www.oah.nc.gov/. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 
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10A NCAC 13S .0318 GOVERNING AUTHORITY 

(a)  The governing authority, as defined in Rule .0101(6) of this 

Subchapter, shall appoint a chief executive officer or a designee 

of the clinic to represent the governing authority and shall define 

his or her authority and duties in writing. This person shall be 

responsible for the management of the clinic, implementation of 

the policies of the governing authority and authorized and 

empowered to carry out the provisions of these Rules. 

(b)  The chief executive officer or designee shall designate, in 

writing, a person to act on his or her behalf during his or her 

absence. In the absence of the chief executive officer or designee, 

the person on the grounds of the clinic who is designated by the 

chief executive officer or designee to be in charge of the clinic 

shall have access to all areas in the clinic related to patient care 

and to the operation of the physical plant. 

(c)  When there is a planned change in ownership or in the chief 

executive officer, the governing authority of the clinic shall notify 

the Division in writing of the change. 

(d)  The clinic's governing authority shall adopt operating policies 

and procedures that shall: 

(1) specify the individual to whom responsibility 

for operation and maintenance of the clinic is 

delegated and methods established by the 

governing authority for holding such 

individuals responsible; 

(2) provide for at least annual meetings of the 

governing authority, for which minutes shall be 

maintained; and 

(3) maintain a policies and procedures manual 

designed to ensure safe and adequate care for 

the patients which shall be reviewed, and 

revised when necessary, at least annually, and 

shall include provisions for administration and 

use of the clinic, compliance, personnel quality 

assurance, procurement of outside services and 

consultations, patient care policies, and services 

offered. 

(e)  When the clinic contracts with outside vendors to provide 

services such as laundry or therapy services, the governing 

authority shall be responsible to assure the supplier meets the 

same local and State standards the clinic would have to meet if it 

were providing those services itself using its own staff. 

(f)  The governing authority shall provide for the selection and 

appointment of the professional staff and the granting of clinical 

privileges and shall be responsible for the professional conduct of 

these persons. 

(g)  The governing authority shall be responsible for ensuring the 

availability of supporting personnel to meet patient needs and to 

provide safe and adequate treatment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0319 POLICIES AND PROCEDURES 

AND ADMINISTRATIVE RECORDS 

(a)  The following essential documents and references shall be on 

file in the administrative office of the clinic: 

(1) documents evidencing control and ownerships, 

such as deeds, leases, or incorporation or 

partnership papers; 

(2) policies and procedures of the governing 

authority, as required by Rule .0318 of this 

Section; 

(3) minutes of the governing authority meetings; 

(4) minutes of the clinic's professional and 

administrative staff meetings; 

(5) a current copy of the rules of this Subchapter; 

(6) reports of inspections, reviews, and corrective 

actions taken related to licensure; and 

(7) contracts and agreements related to care and 

services provided by the clinic is a party. 

(b)  All operating licenses, permits, and certificates shall be 

displayed on the licensed premises. 

(c)  The governing authority shall prepare a manual of clinic 

policies and procedures for use by employees, medical staff, and 

contractual physicians to assist them in understanding their 

responsibilities within the organizational framework of the clinic. 

These shall include: 

(1) patient selection and exclusion criteria; 

(2) clinical discharge criteria; 

(3) policy and procedure for validating the full and 

true name of the patient; 

(4) policy and procedure for abortion procedures 

performed at the clinic; 

(5) policy and procedure for the provision of 

patient privacy in the recovery area of the 

clinic; 

(6) protocol for determining gestational age as 

defined in Rule .0101(5) of this Subchapter; 

(7) protocol for referral of patients for whom 

services have been declined; and 

(8) protocol for discharge instructions that informs 

patients who to contact for post-procedural 

problems and questions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0320 ADMISSION AND DISCHARGE 

(a)  There shall be on the premises throughout all hours of 

operation an employee authorized to receive patients and make 

administrative decisions regarding patients. 

(b)  All patients shall be admitted only under the care of a 

physician who is currently licensed to practice medicine in North 

Carolina. 

(c)  Any patient not discharged within 12 hours following the 

abortion procedure shall be transferred to a hospital licensed 

pursuant to Chapter 131E, Article 5 of the General Statutes. 
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(d)  Following admission and prior to obtaining the consent for 

the procedure, representatives of the clinic's management shall 

provide to each patient the following information: 

(1) a fee schedule and any extra charges routinely 

applied; 

(2) the name of the attending physician or 

physicians and hospital admitting privileges, if 

any. In the absence of admitting privileges a 

statement to that effect shall be included; 

(3) instructions for post-procedure problems and 

questions as outlined in Rule .0329(d) of this 

Section; 

(4) grievance procedures a patient may follow if 

dissatisfied with the care and services rendered; 

and 

(5) the telephone number for Complaint Intake of 

the Division. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0321 MEDICAL RECORDS 

(a)  The clinic shall maintain a complete and permanent record for 

all patients including: 

(1) the date and time of admission and discharge; 

(2) the patient's full and true name; 

(3) the patient's address; 

(4) the patient's date of birth; 

(5) the patient's emergency contact information; 

(6) the patient's diagnoses; 

(7) the patient's duration of pregnancy; 

(8) the patient's condition on admission and 

discharge; 

(9) a voluntarily-signed consent for each surgery or 

procedure and signature of the physician 

performing the procedure witnessed by a family 

member, other patient representative, or facility 

staff member; 

(10) the patient's history and physical examination 

including identification of pre-existing or 

current illnesses, drug sensitivities or other 

idiosyncrasies that may impact the procedure or 

anesthetic to be administered; and 

(11) documentation that indicates all items listed in 

Rule .0320(d) of this Section were provided to 

the patient. 

(b)  The clinic shall record and authenticate by signature, date, and 

time all other pertinent information such as pre- and post-

procedure instructions, laboratory reports, drugs administered, 

report of abortion procedure, and follow-up instruction, including 

family planning advice. 

(c)  If Rh is negative, the clinic shall explain the significance to 

the patient and shall record the explanation. The patient in writing 

may reject Rh immunoglobulin. A written record of the patient's 

decision shall be a permanent part of her medical record. 

(d)  An ultrasound examination shall be performed by a technician 

qualified in ultrasonography and the results, including gestational 

age, placed in the patient's medical record for any patient who is 

scheduled for an abortion procedure. 

(e)  The clinic shall maintain a daily procedure log of all patients 

receiving abortion services. This log shall contain at least the 

following: 

(1) the patient name; 

(2) the estimated length of gestation; 

(3) the type of procedure; 

(4) the name of the physician: 

(5) the name of the Registered Nurse on duty; and 

(6) the date and time of procedure. 

(f)  Medical records shall be the property of the clinic and shall be 

preserved or retained in the State of North Carolina for a period 

of not less than 10 years from the date of the most recent 

discharge, unless the client is a minor, in which case the record 

must be retained until three years after the client's 18th birthday, 

regardless of change of clinic ownership or administration. Such 

medical records shall be made available to the Division upon 

request and shall not be removed from the premises where they 

are retained except by subpoena or court order. 

(g)  The clinic shall have a written plan for destruction of medical 

records to identify information to be retained and the manner of 

destruction to ensure confidentiality of all material. 

(h)  Should a clinic cease operation, the clinic shall arrange for 

preservation of records for at least 10 years. The clinic shall send 

written notification to the Division of these arrangements. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0322 PERSONNEL RECORDS 

(a)  Personnel Records: 

(1) A record of each employee shall be maintained 

that includes the following: 

(A) the employee's identification; 

(B) the application for employment that 

includes education, training, 

experience and references; 

(C) a resume of education and work 

experience; 

(D) a copy of a valid license (if required), 

education, training, and prior 

employment experience; and 

(E) a list of references. 

(2) Personnel records shall be confidential. 

(3) Representatives of the Division conducting an 

inspection of the clinic shall have the right to 

inspect personnel records. 

(b)  Job Descriptions: 

(1) The clinic shall have a written description that 

describes the duties of every position. 

(2) Each job description shall include position title, 

authority, specific responsibilities, and 

minimum qualifications. Qualifications shall 
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include education, training, experience, special 

abilities, and valid license or certification 

required. 

(3) The clinic shall review annually and, if needed, 

update all job descriptions. The clinic shall 

provide the updated job description to each 

employee or contractual employee assigned to 

the position. 

(c)  All persons having direct responsibility for patient care shall 

be at least 18 years of age. 

(d)  The clinic shall provide an orientation program to familiarize 

each new employee or contractual employee with the clinic, its 

policies, and the employee's job responsibilities. 

(e)  The governing authority shall be responsible for 

implementing health standards for employees, as well as 

contractual employees, which are consistent with recognized 

professional practices for the prevention and transmission of 

communicable diseases. 

(f)  Employee and contractual employee records for health 

screening as defined in Rule .0101(7) of this Subchapter, 

education, training, and verification of professional certification 

shall be available for review by the Division. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0323 NURSING SERVICE 

(a)  The clinic shall have an organized nursing staff under the 

supervision of a nursing supervisor who is currently licensed as a 

Registered Nurse and who has responsibility for all nursing 

services. 

(b)  The nursing supervisor shall report to the chief executive 

officer or designee and shall be responsible for: 

(1) provision of nursing services to patients; and 

(2) developing a nursing policy and procedure 

manual and written job descriptions for nursing 

personnel. 

(c)  The clinic shall have the number of licensed and ancillary 

nursing personnel on duty to assure that staffing levels meet the 

total nursing needs of patients based on the number of patients in 

the clinic and their individual nursing care needs. 

(d)  There shall be at least one Registered Nurse with experience 

in post-operative or post-partum care who is currently licensed to 

practice professional nursing in North Carolina on duty in the 

clinic at all times patients are in the clinic. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0324 QUALITY ASSURANCE 

(a)  The governing authority shall establish a quality assurance 

program for the purpose of providing standards of care for the 

clinic. The program shall include the establishment of a 

committee that shall evaluate compliance with clinic procedures 

and policies. 

(b)  The committee shall determine corrective action, if necessary 

to achieve and maintain compliance with clinic procedures and 

policies. 

(c)  The committee shall consist of at least one physician who is 

not an owner, the chief executive officer or designee, and other 

health professionals. The committee shall meet at least once per 

quarter. 

(d)  The functions of the committee shall include development of 

policies for selection of patients, approval for adoption of policies, 

review of credentials for staff privileges, peer review, tissue 

inspection, establishment of infection control procedures, and 

approval of additional procedures to be performed in the clinic. 

(e)  Records shall be kept of the activities of the committee for a 

period not less than 10 years. These records shall include: 

(1) reports made to the governing authority; 

(2) minutes of committee meetings including date, 

time, persons attending, description and results 

of cases reviewed, and recommendations made 

by the committee; and 

(3) information on any corrective action taken. 

(f)  The clinic shall conduct orientation, training, or education 

programs to correct deficiencies that are uncovered as a result of 

the quality assurance program. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0325 LABORATORY SERVICES 

(a)  Each clinic shall have the capability to provide or obtain 

laboratory tests required in connection with the procedure to be 

performed. 

(b)  The governing authority shall establish written policies 

regarding which surgical specimens require examination by a 

pathologist. 

(c)  Each patient shall have the following performed and a record 

of the results placed in the patient's medical record prior to the 

abortion: 

(1) pregnancy testing, except when a positive 

diagnosis of pregnancy has been established by 

ultrasound; 

(2) anemia testing (hemoglobin or hematocrit); and 

(3) Rh factor testing. 

(d)  Patients requiring the administration of blood shall be 

transferred to a local hospital having blood bank facilities. 

(e)  The clinic shall maintain a manual in a location accessible by 

employees, that includes the procedures, instructions, and 

manufacturer's instructions for each test procedure performed, 

including: 

(1) sources of reagents, standard and calibration 

procedures, and quality control procedures; and 

(2) information concerning the basis for the listed 

"normal" ranges. 

(f)  The clinic shall perform and document, at least quarterly, 

calibration of equipment and validation of test results. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0326 EMERGENCY BACK-UP 

SERVICES 

(a)  Each clinic shall have a written plan for the transfer of 

emergency cases from the clinic to the closest hospital when 

hospitalization becomes necessary. Emergency case is defined as 

a condition manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient 

severity (including severe pain) such that the absence of 

immediate medical attention could reasonably be expected to 

result in placing the individual's health in serious jeopardy, 

serious impairment to bodily functions, or serious dysfunction of 

bodily organs. 

(b)  The clinic shall have written protocols, personnel, and 

equipment to handle medical emergencies as defined above which 

may arise in connection with services provided by the clinic. 

(c)  The clinic shall have a written agreement between the clinic 

and a hospital to facilitate the transfer of patients who are in need 

of emergency care. A clinic that has documentation of its efforts 

to establish such a transfer agreement with a hospital that provides 

emergency services and has been unable to secure such an 

agreement shall be considered to be in compliance with this Rule. 

(d)  The clinic shall provide intervention for emergency situations. 

These provisions shall include: 

(1) basic cardio-pulmonary life support; 

(2) emergency protocols for: 

(A) administration of intravenous fluids; 

(B) establishing and maintaining airway 

support; 

(C) oxygen administration; 

(D) utilizing a bag-valve-mask 

resuscitator with oxygen reservoir; 

(E) utilizing a suction machine; and 

(F) utilizing an automated external 

defibrillator; 

(3) emergency lighting available in the procedure 

room as set forth in Rule .0212 of this 

Subchapter; and 

(4) ultrasound equipment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0327 SURGICAL SERVICES 

(a)  The procedure room shall be maintained exclusively for 

surgical procedures and shall be so designed and maintained to 

provide an environment free of contamination. The clinic shall 

establish procedures for infection control and universal 

precautions. 

(b)  Tissue Examination: 

(1) The physician performing the abortion is 

responsible for examination of all products of 

conception (P.O.C.) prior to patient discharge. 

Such examination shall note specifically the 

presence or absence of chorionic villi and fetal 

parts, or the amniotic sac. The results of the 

examination shall be recorded in the patient's 

medical record. 

(2) If adequate tissue is not obtained based on the 

gestational age, the physician performing the 

procedure shall evaluate for ectopic pregnancy, 

or an incomplete procedure. 

(3) The clinic shall establish procedures for 

obtaining, identifying, storing, and transporting 

specimens. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0328 MEDICATIONS AND 

ANESTHESIA 

(a)  No medication or treatment shall be given except on written 

order of a physician. 

(b)  Any medications shall be administered by a physician or 

Registered Nurse and shall be recorded in the patient's permanent 

record. 

(c)  The anesthesia shall be administered only under the direct 

supervision of a licensed physician. Direct supervision means the 

physician must be present in the clinic and immediately available 

to furnish assistance and direction throughout the administration 

of the anesthesia. It does not mean the physician must be present 

in the room when the anesthesia is administered. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0329 POST-OPERATIVE CARE 

(a)  A patient whose pregnancy is terminated shall be observed in 

the clinic to ensure that no post-operative complications are 

present. Thereafter, patients may be discharged according to a 

physician's order and the clinic's protocols. 

(b)  Any patient having a complication known or suspected to 

have occurred during or after the performance of the abortion shall 

be transferred to a hospital for evaluation or admission. 

(c)  The following criteria shall be documented prior to discharge: 

(1) the patient shall be able to move independently 

with a stable blood pressure and pulse; and 

(2) bleeding and pain are assessed to be stable and 

not a concern for discharge. 

(d)  Written instructions shall be issued to all patients in 

accordance with the orders of the physician in charge of the 

abortion procedure and shall include the following: 

(1) symptoms and complications to be looked for; 

and 
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(2) a dedicated telephone number to be used by the 

patients should any complication occur or 

question arise. This number shall be answered 

by a person 24 hours a day, seven days a week. 

(e)  The clinic shall have a defined protocol for triaging post-

operative calls and complications. This protocol shall establish a 

pathway for physician contact to ensure ongoing care of 

complications that the operating physician is incapable of 

managing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0330 CLEANING OF MATERIALS 

AND EQUIPMENT 

(a)  All supplies and equipment used in patient care shall be 

cleaned or sterilized between use for different patients. 

(b)  Methods of cleaning, handling, and storing all supplies and 

equipment shall be such as to prevent the transmission of infection 

through their use as determined by the clinic through their 

governing authority. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0331 FOOD SERVICE 

Nourishments, such as crackers and soft drinks, shall be available 

and offered to all patients. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153;131E-153.2; 131E-

153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023. 

 

 

TITLE 16 – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION 

 

Rule-making Agency:  State Board of Education 

 

Rule Citation:  16 NCAC 06D .0510 

 

Effective Date:  November 16, 2023 

 

Codifier determined this Rule does not meet the criteria for 

emergency rulemaking in G.S. 150B-21.1A(a): November 6, 2023 

 

Reason for Action:  S.L. 2023-134, Sections 8A.6.(k)-(r), 

required the State Board of Education ("SBE") to establish a set 

of graduation requirements that allow students enrolled in North 

Carolina public high schools to graduate within 3 years of 

enrollment in 9th Grade. Sections 8A.6.(k) also amends G.S. 

115C-12(9d) to prohibit local boards of education from 

establishing additional requirements beyond those established by 

the State Board. Section 8A.6.(s) directs the SBE to adopt an 

emergency rule to implement these requirements by November 1, 

2023. S.L. 2023-134 became law on October 3, 2023, and earliest 

possible meeting at which the SBE could adopt an emergency rule 

was November 2, 2023. Although this is one day past the deadline, 

the SBE believes this substantially complies with the deadline 

established in the rule and is reasonable given the timing of the 

legislation. 

 

CHAPTER 06 - ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY 

EDUCATION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06D - INSTRUCTION 

 

SECTION .0500 - DEFINITIONS 

 

16 NCAC 06D .0510 THREE-YEAR GRADUATION 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, the following definitions shall 

apply: 

(1) "Public school unit" or "PSU" is defined in G.S. 

115C-5(7a). This Rule shall not apply to a 

charter school unless the charter school has 

elected to offer a three-year sequence of courses 

under G.S. 115C-218.85, or to a regional school 

unless the regional school has elected to offer a 

three-year sequence of courses under G.S. 

115C-238.66. 

(2) "Superintendent" means the superintendent of a 

local school administrative unit or the staff 

member with the highest decision-making 

authority for a public school unit, if there is no 

superintendent. 

(b)  A student enrolled in a PSU who requests to graduate from 

high school 3 years after entering Grade 9 shall do so in 

accordance with this Rule. This Rule shall apply to a student who 

enters Grade 11 at the beginning of the 2024-2025 school year or 

thereafter and is at least 16 years of age at the time of graduation. 

(c)  The student shall complete and sign a 3-year graduation 

request form provided by the student's PSU. The form must be 

signed by the student's parent or legal guardian, unless the student 

is at least 18 years of age or has been emancipated in accordance 

with Chapter 7B, Article 35 of the General Statutes. 

(d)  An administrator from the student's high school or the PSU 

shall meet with the student and, if the student is under 18 years of 

age and not emancipated, the student's parent or legal guardian, to 

discuss the implications of graduating after three years. The 

administrator shall address, at minimum, the following topics: 

(1) Plans for transitioning into higher education, 

employment, or enlistment in the armed forces; 

(2) Discontinued access to high school services and 

programming, including extracurricular 

activities and interscholastic athletics; and 

(3) Support structures available to the student in the 

high school environment, such as nutrition and 

school counseling services, which will no 

longer be available upon graduation. 

(e)  The PSU shall verify that the student has met the minimum 

graduation requirements established by the State Board of 
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Education, as defined in 16 NCAC 06D .0503, and submit the 

request to the superintendent for approval. 

The superintendent shall approve the request upon verification of 

the student's eligibility and compliance with the procedures set 

forth above, no later than 45 school days after receipt of a request. 

If the request is approved during the semester after classes have 

started, the student may elect to graduate immediately or graduate 

at the end of the semester. However, if the student does not submit 

the request until after classes have started, the student shall be 

required to complete the current semester. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12(9d); 115C-218.85; 

115C-238.66; 

Codifier determined rule did not meet criteria for emergency rule 

on November 6, 2023; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. November 16, 2023. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Rule-making Agency:  State Board of Education 

 

Rule Citation:  16 NCAC 06G .0701 

 

Effective Date:  November 16, 2023 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  November 

7, 2023 

 

Reason for Action:  G.S. 115C-76.60, as enacted by S.L. 2023-

106, Section 2.(a), provides parents of children in North Carolina 

public schools to request a parental concern hearing before the 

State Board of Education ("SBE") regarding the procedures or 

practices of a public school unit under Chapter 115C, Article 7B, 

of the General Statutes. The provision also directs the SBE to 

establish rules for these hearings. S.L. 2023-134, Section 7.81.(d) 

directs the SBE to adopt emergency rules for these hearings in 

order to begin receiving requests by January 30, 2024. 

 

CHAPTER 06 - ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY 

EDUCATION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06G - EDUCATION AGENCY 

RELATIONS 

 

SECTION .0700 – PUBLIC SCHOOL UNIT OVERSIGHT 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0701 PARENTAL CONCERN 

HEARINGS 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, the following definitions shall 

apply: 

(1) "Child" is defined in G.S. 115C-76.1(2). 

(2) "Hearing officer" means an individual who 

meets the requirements in G.S. 115C-

76.60(b)(1)a. 

(3) "Parent" is defined in G.S. 115C-76.1(5). 

(4) "Principal" is defined in G.S. 115C-76.1(6). 

(5) "Public school unit" or "PSU" is defined in G.S. 

115C-5(7a). 

(6) "Superintendent" is defined in G.S. 115C-

76.1(8). 

(b)  A parent who wishes to request a parental concern hearing 

before the State Board of Education ("SBE") under G.S. 115C-

76.60 shall do so in writing. The written request shall include the 

following information: 

(1) The specific procedures or practices of the PSU 

about which the parent is concerned. 

(2) The specific concerns that the parent has about 

the procedures or practices of the PSU. 

(3) Documented evidence that the parent has 

notified the principal of the school at which the 

parent's child is enrolled about these concerns 

at least 30 days prior to requesting a hearing 

before the SBE. 

(4) A description of the relevant facts. 

(5) An explanation of why the parent believes that 

the concerns have not been resolved by the 

PSU. 

(6) A proposed resolution to address the parent's 

concerns. 

(c)  Upon receipt of a request in accordance with Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule, the SBE shall appoint a hearing officer to review the 

request. 

(d)  Upon appointment, the hearing officer shall hold a hearing, 

subject to the following requirements: 

(1) The parent and the superintendent of the PSU 

(or the superintendent's designee) shall attend 

as parties to the hearing and may be represented 

by legal counsel, provided that any party 

intending to be represented notifies the hearing 

officer at least three business days before the 

hearing. The hearing officer may delay the 

hearing if a party requests additional time to 

secure legal representation. 

(2) The hearing officer shall provide the parties 

with notice of the time and place for the hearing 

at least five business days in advance. The 

hearing may be held in person or via 

teleconference, at the discretion of the hearing 

officer. 

(3) Each party shall provide any documentation or 

written statements to the hearing officer at least 

three business days before the hearing. 

(4) Each party shall have up to 30 minutes to 

present the party's case to and answer questions 

from the hearing officer. The hearing officer 

may extend time for each party's presentation at 

the hearing officer's discretion. 

(5) The North Carolina Rules of Evidence, codified 

at Chapter 8C of the General Statutes, shall not 

apply to the hearing, and the hearing officer 

may consider any information that is relevant to 

the proceedings. 

(6) The hearing officer shall arrange for audio and 

video recording of the hearing. 

(e)  Within 30 days of appointment and after having conducted a 

hearing in accordance with Paragraph (d) of this Rule, the hearing 
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officer shall provide a recommendation to the SBE that includes 

the following: 

(1) Findings of fact. 

(2) Conclusions of law, including citations to any 

relevant statutes, rules, or policies. 

(3) A proposed resolution to the to the case. 

(f)  At the next regularly scheduled meeting of the SBE held more 

than seven days after receipt of the hearing officer's 

recommendation, the SBE shall vote to either approve, reject, or 

amend the hearing officer's recommendation. The decision of the 

SBE shall be final. 

(g)  The hearing officer shall provide an invoice to the PSU for 

the cost of the hearing officer's services, at a rate of two hundred 

dollars ($200.00) per hour, within 45 days of submitting the 

hearing officer's recommendation to the SBE. The PSU shall pay 

the hearing officer within 60 days of receipt of the invoice. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-76.60; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. November 16, 2023. 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on October 19, 2023 Meeting. 

 

 REGISTER CITATION TO THE 

 NOTICE OF TEXT 

SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Trainee Attendance 12 NCAC 10B .0604* 37:02 NCR 

Completion of Detention Officer Certification Course 12 NCAC 10B .0605* 37:02 NCR 

Comp Written Exam - Detention Officer Certification Course 12 NCAC 10B .0606* 37:02 NCR 

Satisfaction of Minimum Training Requirements 12 NCAC 10B .0607* 37:02 NCR 

Responsibilities: Schools and Detention Officer Courses 12 NCAC 10B .0704* 37:13 NCR 

Pilot Course Presentation/Participation 12 NCAC 10B .0714* 37:02 NCR 

Certification Forms 12 NCAC 10B .2201 37:21 NCR 

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

Application for License and Trainee Permits 14B NCAC 16 .0201* 37:18 NCR 

Company Business License 14B NCAC 16 .0205* 37:19 NCR 

Trainee Permit Requirements 14B NCAC 16 .0403* 37:18 NCR 

Training Requirements for Armed Licensees and Registrants 14B NCAC 16 .0807* 37:18 NCR 

Definitions 14B NCAC 16 .1101* 37:19 NCR 

Experience Requirements for a Close Personal Protection L... 14B NCAC 16 .1501* 37:18 NCR 

Training Requirements for Close Personal Protection License 14B NCAC 16 .1502* 37:18 NCR 

Experience Requirements for a Digital Forensics Examiner ... 14B NCAC 16 .1601* 37:18 NCR 

Definitions 14B NCAC 16 .1701* 37:18 NCR 

Consideration of Practical Experience 14B NCAC 16 .1706* 37:18 NCR 

Enforcement 14B NCAC 16 .1707* 37:18 NCR 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

Particulates from Fuel Burning Indirect Heat Exchangers 15A NCAC 02D .0503* 37:17 NCR 

Particulates from Hot Mix Asphalt Plants 15A NCAC 02D .0506 37:17 NCR 

Sources Contributing to an Ambient Violation 15A NCAC 02D .0532* 37:17 NCR 

Compliance Assurance Monitoring 15A NCAC 02D .0614* 37:17 NCR 

Can Coating 15A NCAC 02D .0918* 37:17 NCR 

Bulk Gasoline Plants 15A NCAC 02D .0926* 37:17 NCR 

Bulk Gasoline Terminals 15A NCAC 02D .0927* 37:17 NCR 

Gasoline Service Stations Stage 1 15A NCAC 02D .0928* 37:17 NCR 

Gasoline Cargo Tanks and Vapor Collection Systems 15A NCAC 02D .0932* 37:17 NCR 

Cargo Tank Leak Tester Report 15A NCAC 02D .0960 37:17 NCR 

Offset Lithographic Printing and Letterpress Printing 15A NCAC 02D .0961* 37:17 NCR 

Miscellaneous Industrial Adhesives 15A NCAC 02D .0964* 37:17 NCR 

Compliance Schedules 15A NCAC 02D .1403* 37:17 NCR 

Reporting Requirements 15A NCAC 02D .1708* 37:17 NCR 

Activities Exempted from Permit Requirements 15A NCAC 02Q .0102* 37:17 NCR 

Modifications 15A NCAC 02Q .0706* 37:17 NCR 
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WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Form and Contents of Petition 15A NCAC 10A .0401* 37:22 NCR 

Action on Petition 15A NCAC 10A .0402* 37:22 NCR 

Waiver 15A NCAC 10A .1101 37:22 NCR 

Emergency Powers 15A NCAC 10A .1201* 37:22 NCR 

EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF 

Remote Academies Hardware and Software Fees 16 NCAC 06G .0601 37:24 NCR 

REVENUE, DEPARTMENT OF 

Registration and Returns 17 NCAC 07B .0104  n/a G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Certificates of Exemption Sales for Resale 17 NCAC 07B .0106  n/a G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Trade Discounts and Cash Discounts 17 NCAC 07B .0108  n/a G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Occasional and Isolated Sales 17 NCAC 07B .0112  n/a G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Property Transfers Between Divisions 17 NCAC 07B .0117  n/a G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Bankrupt's Liability 17 NCAC 07B .0121  n/a G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Manufacturer's Warranty and Dealer's Warranty; Adjustment... 17 NCAC 07B .0801  n/a G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Government Agricultural Offices 17 NCAC 07B .4204  n/a G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Typesetting 17 NCAC 07B .4716  n/a G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Accrual Basis 17 NCAC 07B .4802  n/a G.S. 150B-1(d)(4) 

Cash Basis 17 NCAC 07B .4803  n/a G.S. 150B-1(D)(4) 

OPTOMETRY, BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN 

Beginning Practice; Relocating Practice 21 NCAC 42B .0201* 37:24 

 

 

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0604 TRAINEE ATTENDANCE 

(a)  Each trainee enrolled in any accredited Detention Officer 

Certification Course shall attend all required class sessions 

pursuant to Rules .0601 and .0603 of this Subchapter.  

(b)  The school director may recognize valid reasons for class 

absences and may excuse a trainee from attendance at class 

sessions. Valid reasons to excuse attendance are instances of 

illness, accident, or emergency pursuant to .0605(a)(1) of this 

Subchapter. However, in no case may excused absences exceed 

10 percent of the total required class hours for the course offering 

pursuant to Rules .0601 and .0603 of this Subchapter. 

(c)  If the school director grants an excused absence from a class 

session, he shall schedule make-up of the excused class session 

with a Commission certified instructor pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B 

.0704 and ensure the satisfactory completion of such class 

sessions during the current course presentation or in a subsequent 

course delivery as is permissible under 12 NCAC 10B .0605. 

(d)  A trainee shall not be eligible for administration of the State 

Comprehensive Examination pursuant to Rule .0606 of this 

Subchapter nor certification for successful course completion if 

the cumulative total of class absences, with accepted make-up 

class sessions as set out in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, exceeds 10 

percent of the total required class hours of the accredited course 

offering pursuant to Rules .0601 and .0603 of this Subchapter and 

shall be terminated from further course participation by the school 

director at the time of such occurrence. 

(e)  Where a trainee is enrolled in a program as required in 12 

NCAC 10B .0601, attendance shall be 100 percent in order to 

receive a successful course completion. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1996; January 1, 1992; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0605 COMPLETION OF DETENTION 

OFFICER CERTIFICATION COURSE 

(a)  Each trainee shall attend and satisfactorily complete a full 

course during a single scheduled delivery as set forth in Rule 

.0601 of this Section unless a waiver has been granted as set forth 

in Rule .0603 or .1901 of this Subchapter. Satisfactory completion 

is achieved by completion of the required topics, passing the end 

of block tests and passing the state examination as set out in Rule 

.0606 of this Section. This Rule does not prevent the instruction 

on local agency rules or standards; however, such instruction shall 

not be considered or endorsed by the Commission for purposes of 

certification. The Director shall issue written authorization for a 
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specified trainee's limited enrollment in a subsequent delivery of 

the same course where the school director provides evidence that: 

(1) The trainee attended and satisfactorily 

completed specified class hours and topics of 

the applicable Detention Officer Certification 

Course but through extended absence 

occasioned by illness, accident, or emergency 

was absent for more than 10 percent of the total 

class hours of the course offering; 

(2) The trainee was granted excused absences by 

the school director that did not exceed 10 

percent of the total class hours for the course 

offering and the school director could not 

schedule appropriate make-up work during the 

current course offering as specified in Rule 

.0604(c) of this Section; or 

(3) The trainee participated in an offering of any 

Detention Officer Certification Course but had 

an identified deficiency in essential knowledge 

or skill in no more than three of the specified 

topic areas incorporated in the course content as 

set forth in Rule .0601(b) or .0603 of this 

Section. 

(b)  An authorization of limited enrollment in a subsequent course 

delivery shall not be granted by the Director unless in addition to 

the evidence required by Paragraph (a) of this Rule: 

(1) The trainee submits a written request to the 

Director, justifying the limited enrollment and 

certifying that the trainee's participation shall 

be accomplished pursuant to Paragraph (c) of 

this Rule; and 

(2) The school director of the previous school 

offering submits to the Director a certification 

of the particular topics and class hours attended 

and satisfactorily completed by the trainee 

during the original enrollment. 

(c)  An authorization of limited enrollment in a subsequent course 

delivery permits the trainee to attend an offering of any 

"Detention Officer Certification Course" commencing within 180 

calendar days from the last date of trainee participation in prior 

course delivery, but only if the trainee's enrollment with current 

course participation can be accomplished within the period of the 

trainee's probationary certification. 

(1) The trainee need attend and satisfactorily 

complete only those portions of the course 

which were missed or identified by the school 

director as areas of trainee deficiency in the 

initial course participation. 

(2) Following authorized enrollment in the 

subsequent course offering, scheduled class 

attendance and participation with satisfactory 

achievement in the course as defined in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the trainee shall be 

eligible for administration of the State 

Comprehensive Examination by the 

Commission. 

(3) A trainee shall be enrolled as a limited enrollee 

in only one subsequent course offering within 

the 180 calendar days from the last date of 

trainee participation in prior course delivery. A 

trainee who fails to complete those limited 

portions of the course after one retest shall 

enroll in an entire delivery of the Detention 

Officer Certification Course. 

(d)  A trainee who is deficient in four or more subject-matter or 

topical areas at the conclusion of the course delivery shall 

complete an entire delivery of the Detention Officer Certification 

Course. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2014; August 1, 1998; January 1, 1996; 

January 1, 1993; January 1, 1992; January 1, 1991; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0606 COMP WRITTEN EXAM – 

DETENTION OFFICER CERTIFICATION COURSE 

(a)  At the conclusion of a school's offering of any Detention 

Officer Certification Course, an authorized representative of the 

Commission shall administer a comprehensive written 

examination to each trainee who has satisfactorily completed all 

of the required course work pursuant to Rule .0605(a) of this 

Subchapter. A trainee shall not be administered the 

comprehensive written examination until such time as all required 

course work is successfully completed pursuant to Rule .0605(a) 

of this Subchapter. 

(b)  The examination shall be comprised of four units as specified 

in 12 NCAC 10B .0601(b).  

(c)  The Commission's representative shall submit to the school 

director within 10 days of the administration of the examination a 

report of the results of the test for each trainee examined. 

(d)  A trainee shall successfully complete the comprehensive 

written examination upon achieving a minimum of 70 percent 

correct answers on each of the four units as prescribed in 12 

NCAC 10B .0601(b). 

(e)  A trainee who has complied with Rule .0604(e) of this 

Subchapter in a scheduled delivery of any Detention Officer 

Certification Course and has demonstrated satisfactory 

competence in each required motor-skill or performance area of 

the course curriculum but has failed to achieve the minimum score 

of 70 percent on any of the four units of the Commission's 

comprehensive written examination may request the Director to 

authorize a re-examination of the trainee in those units for which 

he or she has failed to make a passing score of 70 percent as 

follows: 

(1) A trainee's request for re-examination shall be 

made in writing on the Commission's form 

within 30 days after the original examination 

and shall be received by the Division before the 

expiration of the trainee's probationary 

certification as a detention officer. 

(2) The trainee's request for re-examination shall 

include the favorable recommendation of the 

school director who administered the trainee's 

Detention Officer Certification Course. 
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(3) A trainee shall have only one opportunity for re-

examination and shall satisfactorily complete 

the subsequent unit examination in its entirety 

within 90 days after the original examination. 

(4) A trainee shall be assigned in writing by the 

Division a place, time, and date for re-

examination. 

(5) Should the trainee on re-examination not 

achieve the prescribed minimum score of 70 on 

the unit re-examination, the trainee must enroll 

and successfully complete the unit(s) he or she 

failed upon re-examination in a subsequent 

course offering within 180 days of the second 

failure before further examination may be 

permitted. The trainee's failure to complete the 

course offering within 180 days shall require 

the trainee to complete an entire delivery of the 

Detention Officer Certification Course. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2011; August 1, 2002; January 1, 1996; 

January 1, 1994; January 1, 1992; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0607 SATISFACTION OF MINIMUM 

TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

In order to satisfy the minimum training requirements for 

certification as a detention officer, a trainee shall: 

(1) achieve a score of 70 percent correct answers 

on the Commission-administered 

comprehensive written examination; and 

(2) demonstrate successful completion of an 

accredited offering of any Detention Officer 

Certification Course as shown by the 

certification of the school director. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1996; January 1, 1992; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0704 RESPONSIBILITIES: SCHOOLS 

AND DETENTION OFFICER COURSES 

(a)  In planning, developing, coordinating, and delivering any 

commission-certified Detention Officer Certification Courses, the 

school shall: 

(1) Formalize and schedule the course curriculum 

in accordance with the curriculum standards 

established by the rules in this Chapter. 

(A) Any Detention Officer Certification 

Course shall be presented with a 

minimum of 40 hours of instruction 

each week during consecutive 

calendar weeks until course 

requirements are completed, with the 

exception of weeks in which there are 

regularly scheduled holidays pursuant 

to G.S. 103-4. 

(B) Upon written request by the school 

delivering a class, the Director shall 

grant a waiver of the minimum hours 

requirement to that particular delivery 

of the class when illness, adverse 

weather, staffing shortages at the 

school or law enforcement agency 

employing the students or hosting the 

course, a declared state of emergency, 

incident requiring an emergency 

response by law enforcement, or riot 

prevent students from attending class 

or the school from staffing instructors 

for the class for 40 hours of instruction 

a week. 

(2) Select and schedule instructors who are 

certified by the Commission under 12 NCAC 

10B .0901 through 12 NCAC 10B .0909. The 

selecting and scheduling of instructors is 

subject to special requirements as follows: 

(A) No single instructor may be scheduled 

to instruct more than 35 percent of the 

total hours of the curriculum during 

any Detention Officer Certification 

Course delivery except as set forth in 

Part (a)(2)(B) of this Rule. 

(B) Where the school submits in writing to 

the Director of the Division a showing 

of exceptional or emergency 

circumstances, the Director of the 

Division shall grant written approval 

for the expansion of the individual 

instructional limitation. Emergencies 

justifying an instructor to teach more 

than 35 percent of a Detention Officer 

Certification Course are situations 

when illness, accident, or other 

exceptional circumstances make it 

unfeasible to staff the class with other 

certified instructors. 

(C) The appropriate number of instructors 

for specific topic areas shall be 

scheduled as required in 12 NCAC 

10B .0703. 

(3) Provide each instructor with a 

Commission-approved course outline.  

(4) Review each instructor's lesson plans and other 

instructional materials for conformance to the 

rules in this Subchapter and to minimize 

repetition and duplication of subject matter. 

(5) Arrange for the availability of audiovisual aids 

and materials, publications, facilities and 

equipment for training.  

(6) Not less than 30 days before commencing 

delivery of the course, submit to the 
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Commission a Pre-Delivery Report of Training 

Course Presentation (Form F-7A) that shall 

contain information on the course delivery 

location, school director, class schedule, 

anticipated date of the State Comprehensive 

Exam, and any planned instructional hours in 

addition to the minimum requirements along 

with the following attachments: 

(A) A comprehensive course schedule 

showing the arrangement of topical 

presentations and proposed 

instructional assignments; 

(B) A copy of any rules, regulations, and 

requirements for the school and, when 

appropriate, completed applications 

for certification of instructors. The 

Director shall review the submitted 

Pre-Delivery Report together with all 

attachments to ensure that the school 

is in compliance with all Commission 

rules; if the school's rules are found to 

be in violation, the Director shall 

notify the school of any deficiency, 

and approval shall be withheld until all 

matters are in compliance with the 

Commissions' rules. 

(7) Have probationary instructors evaluated by an 

instructor certified pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B 

.0905 or certified as a general instructor 

pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0301 using Form F-

16. If a Limited Lecturer is evaluated during the 

practical portion of a block of instruction, the 

school must designate an instructor certified to 

instruct the practical portion of the block of 

instruction to evaluate the instructor using Form 

F-16. These evaluations on Form F-16 shall be 

submitted to the Division at the conclusion of 

each course delivery. Based on the evaluation 

referenced in 12 NCAC 10B .0905(b)(1), the 

school shall recommend approval or denial of 

requests for Detention Officer Instructor 

Certification, Limited Lecturer Certification, or 

Professional Lecturer Certification. The 

observations shall ensure the instructor is using 

the Instructional Systems Design model, as 

taught in Criminal Justice Instructor Training 

set out in 12 NCAC 09B .0209, and that the 

delivery follows the training objectives in the 

commission-approved curriculum. For each 

topic area, the designee's evaluation shall be 

based on the course delivery observations, the 

instructor's use of the approved lesson plan, and 

the results of student evaluations of the 

instructor. 

(8) Have all other instructors evaluated by an 

instructor certified pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B 

.0905 or certified as a general instructor 

pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0301 using Form F-

16. If a Limited Lecturer is evaluated during the 

practical portion of a block of instruction, the 

school must designate an instructor certified to 

instruct the practical portion of the block of 

instruction to evaluate the instructor using Form 

F-16. These evaluations on Form F-16 shall be 

submitted to the Division at the conclusion of 

each course delivery. The observations shall 

ensure the instructor is using the Instructional 

Systems Design model, as taught in Criminal 

Justice Instructor Training set out in 12 NCAC 

09B .0209, and that the delivery follows the 

training objectives in the commission-approved 

lesson plan. For each topic area, the designee's 

evaluation shall be based on the course delivery 

observations, the instructor's use of the 

approved lesson plan, and the results of student 

evaluations of the instructor.  

(9) Ensure that any designated certified instructor 

who is evaluating the instructional presentation 

of another, holds certification in the same 

instructional topic area as that being taught. 

(10) Administer tests at the end of each topic area as 

specified in 12 NCAC 10B .0601 during the 

course delivery. 

(11) Maintain supervision, direction, and control 

over the performance of all persons to whom 

any portion of the planning, development, 

presentation, or administration of a course has 

been assigned. 

(12) Administer all course work pursuant to 12 

NCAC 10B .0606. 

(13) Submit to the Commission a Post-Delivery 

Report of Training Course Presentation (Form 

7-B), which shall contain information on the 

sponsoring agency, course beginning and end 

date, and deviations from the planned course 

delivery as specified on Form 7-A, within 10 

days of receiving the Commission's Report of 

Examination Scores. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, 

the school shall designate a point of contact who shall be available 

to students and Division staff at all times during course delivery 

by telephone or other means. Available means that the point of 

contact may be contacted at any time of day or night by students, 

school personnel, or division staff and shall return the call or other 

means of communication within 12 hours of contact if initial 

contact is not successful. The means, and applicable numbers, 

shall be filed with the commission-certified training delivery site 

pursuant to Rule .0703(c)(3) of this Subchapter and the Division 

prior to the beginning of a scheduled course delivery. 

(c)  Forms: 

(1) Form F-7A and F-7A-T, Pre-Delivery Report of 

Training Course Presentation, is completed by 

the institution or agency delivering Detention 

Officer and Telecommunicator Training 

Courses and consists of information on the 

course delivery location, school director, class 

schedule, anticipated date of the State 

Comprehensive Exam, and any planned 
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instructional hours exceeding the minimum 

requirements. Form F-7A is utilized for 

Detention Officer courses and Form F-7A-T is 

utilized for Telecommunicator courses. 

(2) Form F-7B and F-7B-T, Post-Delivery Report 

of Training Course Presentation, is completed 

by the institution or agency delivering 

Detention Officer and Telecommunicator 

Training Courses and consists of information 

on any substitutions of instructors as originally 

reported on the Pre-Delivery Report, any 

trainees who were not recommended for the 

state exam due to withdrawal or deficiencies, 

and the students who participated in and 

completed the course. Form F-7B is utilized for 

Detention Officer courses and Form F-7B-T is 

utilized for Telecommunicator courses. 

(3) Form F-16, Criminal Justice Instructor 

Evaluation, is completed by the Certified 

School Director and In-Service Coordinator of 

the school and consists of a rating of 

instructional ability, student participation, and 

presentation of the lesson plan by the Instructor. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2009; January 1, 2006; January 1, 2005; 

August 1, 1998; January 1, 1996; January 1, 1994; January 1, 

1992; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

RRC Objection July 21, 2022 and rule returned to agency on 

September 27, 2022; 

Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0714 PILOT COURSE 

PRESENTATION/PARTICIPATION 

(a)  When the Commission approves the development of a new 

course or the development of a new version of an existing course, 

the Commission shall designate a course developer. The 

developer shall submit pilot curriculum for Commission approval. 

The developer shall conduct offerings of the Commission 

approved pilot course. The schools and instructors utilized in the 

pilot course offering shall be in compliance with Sections .0800 

and .0900 of this Subchapter.  

(b)  "Pilot Course" means those courses approved by the 

Commission to develop new training course curricula. 

(c)  Individuals who complete such a Commission approved pilot 

course offering shall be in compliance with Sections .0600, and 

.1300 of this Subchapter.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-7; 

Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .2201 CERTIFICATION FORMS 

(a)  The following are Commission approved forms to be used by 

agencies in making reports, applications, or requests for 

certification of justice officers: 

(1) Form F-1, Medical History Statement, is 

completed by an applicant and consists of the 

applicant's medical information including 

medication, allergies, and immunizations, 

present and past physical conditions, injuries, 

diseases, or operations. 

(2) Form F-2, Medical Examination Report, is a 

form provided to the examining physician to 

record the results of the applicant's medical 

examination. The form consists of information 

about the applicant's vision, hearing, 

cardiovascular and circulatory health, 

urinalysis, TB skin test, other medical 

conditions relevant to the applicant's physical 

fitness to perform the duties of a justice officer, 

biographical information about the applicant, 

and the medical professional's recommendation 

and concerns as to an applicant's physical 

fitness to perform the duties of a justice officer. 

(3) Form F-3, the Personal History Statement, is 

completed by the applicant and consists of 

information regarding the applicant's work, 

residential, military, and criminal history; 

financial condition; and references. 

(4) Form F-8, the Mandated Background 

Investigation Form, is completed by an 

agency's background investigator and consists 

of the applicant's biographical data, family data, 

scholastic data, employment data, criminal 

history, interviews and references, and a 

summary of the background investigator's 

findings. 

(5) Form F-4 and F-4T, Report of Appointment, is 

completed by the reporting agency for the 

appointment of justice officers and shall contain 

a checklist indicating the applicant's progress 

toward completing the requirements for 

certification; the applicant's appointment date, 

position title, and status; the applicant's contact 

information; and prior certification history. The 

F-4 form is utilized for appointments as a 

deputy sheriff or detention officer. The form F-

4T is utilized for appointments as a 

telecommunicator. 

(6) Form F-6 and F-6R, Professional 

Certificate/Service Award, consists of 

information regarding the education, training, 

and experience qualifying the applicant for 

various levels of professional recognition under 

the Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards 

Commission's Professional Certificate 

Program. The F-6 form is utilized for full-time 

justice officers and the F-6R form is utilized for 

reserve justice officers. 

(7) Form F-7 and F-7T, Request for Certification, 

is completed by institutions and agencies 

requesting certification to deliver Detention 

Officer and Telecommunicator Courses. The 

form consists of information regarding the 
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institution name, institution or agency head, 

school director, and facilities. Form F-7 is used 

when requesting certification to deliver 

Detention Officer courses and Form F-7T is 

used when requesting certification to deliver 

Telecommunicator courses. 

(8) Form F-7A and F-7A-T, Pre-Delivery Report of 

Training Course Presentation, is completed by 

the institution or agency delivering Detention 

Officer and Telecommunicator Training 

Courses and consists of information on the 

course delivery location, school director, class 

schedule, anticipated date of the State 

Comprehensive Exam, and any planned 

instructional hours exceeding the minimum 

requirements. Form F-7A is utilized for 

Detention Officer courses and Form F-7A-T is 

utilized for Telecommunicator courses. 

(9) Form F-7B and F-7B-T, Post-Delivery Report 

of Training Course Presentation, is completed 

by the institution or agency delivering 

Detention Officer and Telecommunicator 

Training Courses and consists of information 

on any substitutions of instructors as originally 

reported on the Pre-Delivery Report, any 

trainees who were not recommended for the 

state exam due to withdrawal or deficiencies, 

and the students who participated in and 

completed the course. Form F-7B is utilized for 

Detention Officer courses and Form F-7B-T is 

utilized for Telecommunicator courses. 

(10) Form F-9 and F-9T, Change in Status, is 

completed by the employing agency and 

consists of any change in status for justice 

officers including full-time or part-time status, 

active or inactive status, changes to identifying 

information, and changes to firearms status. 

Form F-9 is utilized for any change in status for 

justice officers appointed as a deputy sheriff or 

detention officer. Form F-9T is utilized for any 

change in status for a justice officer appointed 

as a telecommunicator. 

(11) Form F-9A, Firearms Qualification Record, is 

completed by the employing agency to record 

the annual In-Service Firearms Training and 

Qualifications for justice officers who are 

authorized by the Sheriff to carry a shotgun, 

rifle, automatic weapon, or handgun. The form 

consists of training and qualification scores 

completed by the officer. 

(12) Form F-16, Criminal Justice Instructor 

Evaluation, is completed by the Certified 

School Director and In-Service Coordinator of 

the school and consists of a rating of 

instructional ability, student participation, and 

presentation of the lesson plan by the Instructor. 

(13) Form F-20, School Resource Officer 

Certification, is completed by an employing 

agency requesting certification of a justice 

officer as a School Resource Officer. The form 

consists of the officer's name, date of birth, 

name of agency and address, date awarded 

general certification, completion date of School 

Resource Officer training, and date assigned as 

a School Resource Officer. 

(14) Form I-2 and I-2-T, Request for Instructor 

Certification, is completed by an applicant for 

certification as an Instructor to deliver 

Detention Officer and Telecommunicator 

courses. The form consists of information about 

the applicant's experience and qualifications. 

Form I-2 is utilized by an applicant for 

certification as an Instructor to deliver 

Detention Officer courses and Form I-2-T is 

utilized by an applicant for certification as an 

Instructor to deliver Telecommunicator 

courses. 

(b)  All forms contained in this Rule may be accessed on the 

agency's website at http://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-

training/sheriffs/all-commission-forms-publications/. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7; 

Eff. April 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0201 APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 

AND TRAINEE PERMITS 

(a)  Each applicant for a license or trainee permit shall submit an 

online application on the website provided by the Board. The 

online application shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigations or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an applicant 

fingerprint card that shall be mailed separately 

to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders digital photograph of 

the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format of 

sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(3) a statement of the results of a statewide criminal 

history records search by the reporting service 

designated by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74C-

8.1(a) for each state where the applicant has 

resided within the preceding 60 months; 

(4) the applicant's non-refundable application fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee 

and a separate credit card transaction fee; 

(5) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 
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Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; 

(6) an Equifax credit check run within 30 days of 

the license application submission date, which 

will be submitted to the Board's investigator 

during the application process; and 

(7) five letters attesting to the good character and 

reputation of the applicant using the online 

character letter submission process. 

(b)  Applications for trainee permits shall be accompanied by a 

notarized statement on a form provided by the Board and signed 

by the applicant and his or her prospective supervisor, stating that 

the trainee applicant shall at all times work with and under the 

direct supervision of that supervisor and the form shall be 

uploaded as part of the online application process. 

(c)  Private investigator and digital forensics examination trainees 

applying for a license shall make available for inspection a log of 

experience on a form provided by the Board as required by Rule 

.0403 of this Chapter. 

(d)  Each applicant must upload evidence of high school 

graduation either by diploma, G.E.D. certificate, or other proof. 

(e)  Each applicant for a license shall meet personally with either 

a Board investigator, the Screening Committee, the Director, or 

another Board representative designated by the Director prior to 

being issued a license. The applicant shall discuss the provisions 

of G.S. 74C and the administrative rules in this Chapter during the 

personal meeting. The applicant shall sign a form provided by the 

Board indicating that he or she has reviewed G.S. 74C and the 

administrative rules in this Chapter with the Board's 

representative. During a national or State declared state of 

emergency that restricts or prohibits travel, the personal meeting 

requirement may be waived if requested by the applicant in favor 

of alternative means of communication. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-2; 74C-5; 74C-8; 74C-8.1; 

74C-12; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2012; July 1, 2011; August 1, 1998; 

December 1, 1995; July 1, 1987; December 1, 1985; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0201 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. May 6, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 24, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Expired May 14, 2021; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022; July 1, 2021; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. April 28, 2023; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0205 COMPANY BUSINESS LICENSE 

(a)  Any firm, association, or corporation required to be licensed 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-2(a) shall upload on the Board's website an 

application for a company business license on a form provided by 

the Board. Only a sole proprietorship that is owned and operated 

by an individual licensee shall be exempt from this Rule. This 

application for license shall require the firm, association, or 

corporation name; the address of its principal office within the 

State; any past conviction for criminal offenses of any company 

director, or officer; information concerning the past revocation, 

suspension, or denial of a business or professional license to any 

director or officer; a list of all directors and officers of the firm, 

association, or corporation; a list of all persons, firms, 

associations, corporations or other entities owning 10 percent or 

more of the outstanding shares of any class of stock; and the name 

and address of the qualifying agent. 

(b)  In addition to the items required in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, 

an out-of-state corporation shall file with its application for a 

license, a copy of its certificate of authority to transact business in 

this State issued by the North Carolina Secretary of State in 

accordance with G.S. 55-15-01. The corporation shall also file a 

consent to service of process and pleadings that shall be 

authenticated by its corporate seal and accompanied by a duly 

certified copy of the resolution of the board of directors 

authorizing the proper officer or officers to execute the consent. 

(c)  After filing a completed application with the Board, the Board 

shall conduct a background investigation to determine if the 

qualifying agent is in a management position. A management 

position means a position which manages established divisions or 

subdivisions of the firm, association or corporation and directs the 

work of one or more supervisors, has the authority to hire, reward, 

discipline or discharge employees, and may also provide 

suggestions for changes in policy to senior executives with policy-

making authority. The Board shall also determine if the directors 

or officers have the requisite good moral character as defined in 

G.S. 74C-8(d)(2). For purposes of this Rule, "conviction" means 

and includes the entry of a plea of guilty or no contest or a verdict 

rendered in open court by a judge or jury. 

(d)  Upon satisfactory completion of the background 

investigation, a company business license shall be issued. This 

license shall be conspicuously displayed at the principal place of 

business within North Carolina. 

(e)  The company business license shall be issued only to the 

business entity and shall not be construed to extend to the 

licensing of its officers and employees. 

(f)  The issuance of the company business license is issued to the 

firm, association, or corporation in addition to the license issued 

to the qualifying agent. The qualifying agent for the firm, 

association, or corporation which has been issued the company 

business license shall be responsible for assuring compliance with 

G.S. 74C. 

(g)  Dissolution or administrative suspension of corporate status 

shall result in suspension of the company business license by 

operation of law and may result in disciplinary action for 

unlicensed if it is determined that the suspension was due to 

intentional disregard of the law or inaction. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-2(a); 74C-5; 

Eff. April 1, 1993; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1995; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0205 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 
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14B NCAC 16 .0403 TRAINEE PERMIT 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, applicants for a trainee permit in private investigation, 

electronic countermeasures, or digital forensics examination shall 

be directly supervised by a licensee and that supervisor shall be 

responsible for the training and other professional activities of the 

trainee. 

(b)  Trainees who wish to apply for a license must submit an 

application to the Board in accordance with Rule .0201 of this 

Chapter. 

(c)  Private investigator, electronic countermeasures, or digital 

forensics examination trainees shall maintain a log on a form 

provided by the Board on its website as evidence of which sets 

forth the case number, date, work or training activity and the 

number of hours. The log shall be signed and dated by both the 

trainee and the sponsor. This log must be available for inspection 

by Board staff when applying for a license. 

(d)  Any request for renewal of a trainee permit or for issuance of 

a license shall be accompanied by an evaluation report of the 

trainee's performance on a form provided by the Board on its 

website and submitted by the trainee's supervisor. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-2; 74C-5; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1985; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0403 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. April 28, 2023; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0807 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR ARMED LICENSEES AND REGISTRANTS 

(a)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 

permit shall first complete the basic unarmed security guard 

training course set forth in Rule .0707 of this Chapter. 

(b)  Private investigator, close personal protection, or any other 

licensees applying for an armed permit shall first complete a 

training course consisting of the courses set forth in Rule 

.0707(a)(1) and (2) of this Chapter. 

(c)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 

permit shall complete a basic training course for armed security 

guards which consists of at least 20 hours of classroom instruction 

including: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of handguns and on 

the powers and authority of an armed security 

guard, including familiarity with rules and 

regulations relating to armed security guards 

(minimum of four hours); 

(2) handgun safety, including range firing 

procedures (minimum of one hour); 

(3) handgun operation and maintenance (minimum 

of three hours); 

(4) handgun fundamentals (minimum of eight 

hours); and 

(5) night firing (minimum of four hours). 

Subparagraph (c)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (c)(3), and 

Subparagraph (c)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to the 

applicant's participation in range firing. 

(d)  Applicants for either an armed licensee permit or an armed 

security guard firearm registration permit shall attain a score of at 

least 80 percent accuracy on a firearms range qualification course 

established by the Board and the Secretary of Public Safety, a 

copy of which is on file in the Director's office, once in three 

consecutive attempts. Should a student fail to attain a score of 80 

percent accuracy, the student shall be given a second opportunity 

to qualify once in three consecutive attempts on the course of fire 

the student did not pass. Failure to qualify after the second series 

of attempts shall require the student to repeat the entire basic 

training course for armed security guards. All attempts must take 

place within 20 days of the completion of the initial 20 hour 

course. For rifle qualification all shots shall be located on the 

target. 

(e)  All training required by this Rule shall be administered by a 

certified trainer and the training required by Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule and the initial training for authorization for a rifle or shotgun 

shall be completed no more than 90 days prior to the date of 

application for the licensee permit or armed security guard firearm 

registration permit. 

(f)  All applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 

permit shall obtain training under the provisions of this Section 

using their duty weapon and their duty ammunition or ballistic 

equivalent ammunition, to include lead-free ammunition that 

meets the same point of aim, point of impact, and felt recoil of the 

duty ammunition, for all firearms. 

(g)  No more than six new or renewal licensee permit or armed 

security guard applicants per one instructor shall be placed on the 

firing line at any one time during firearms range training. 

(h)  Applicants for re-certification of an armed licensee permit or 

an armed security guard firearm registration permit shall complete 

the basic recertification training course for armed security guards 

that consists of at least four hours of classroom instruction and is 

a review of the requirements set forth in Subparagraphs (c)(1) 

through (c)(5) of this Rule. Subparagraph (c)(2), operation under 

Subparagraph (c)(3), and Subparagraphs (c)(4) and (5) of this 

Rule shall be reviewed prior to range firing; and however 

maintenance under Subparagraph (c)(3) may be reviewed after 

range firing. The recertification course is valid for 180 days after 

completion of the course. Applicants for recertification of a 

licensee permit or an armed security guard firearm registration 

permit shall also complete the requirements of Paragraph (d) of 

this Rule. 

(i)  An armed guard registered with one company may be 

registered with a second company. The registration shall be 

considered "dual." The registration with the second company shall 

expire at the same time that the registration expires with the first 

company. An updated application shall be required to be 

submitted by the applicant, along with the digital photograph, 

updated criminal records checks, and a forty dollar ($40.00) 

registration fee. If the guard's duty firearm for all companies is the 

same make, model, and caliber, then no additional firearms 

training shall be required. The licensee shall submit a letter stating 

the guard will be carrying the same make and model firearm. If 

the guard will be carrying a firearm of a different make and model, 

the licensee shall submit a letter to the Board advising of the 
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make, model, and caliber of the firearm the guard will be carrying 

and the guard shall be required to qualify at the firing range on 

both the day and night qualification course. The qualification 

score is valid for 180 days after completion of the course. 

(j)  To be authorized to carry a standard 12 gauge shotgun in the 

performance of his or her duties as an armed security guard, an 

applicant shall complete, in addition to the requirements of 

Paragraphs (a), (c), and (d) of this Rule, six hours of classroom 

training that shall include the following: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of shotgun 

(minimum of one hour); 

(2) shotgun safety, including range firing 

procedures (minimum of one hour); 

(3) shotgun operation and maintenance (minimum 

of one hour); 

(4) shotgun fundamentals (minimum of two hours); 

and 

(5) night firing (minimum of one hour). 

Subparagraph (j)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (j)(3), and 

Subparagraph (j)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to the 

applicant's participation in range firing. 

(k)  An armed security guard applicant may take the additional 

shotgun training at a time after the initial training in this Rule. If 

the shotgun training is completed at a later time, the shotgun 

certification shall run concurrent with the armed registration 

permit. In addition to the requirements set forth in Paragraph (j) 

of this Rule, applicants shall attain a score of at least 80 percent 

accuracy on a shotgun range qualification course established by 

the Board and the Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is 

on file in the Director's office. 

(l)  Applicants for shotgun recertification shall complete one hour 

of classroom training covering the topics set forth in Paragraph (j) 

of this Rule and shall also complete the requirements of Paragraph 

(d) of this Rule. 

(m)  To be authorized to carry a rifle in the performance of his or 

her duties as an armed security guard, an applicant shall complete, 

in addition to the requirements of Paragraphs (a), (c), and (d) of 

this Rule, 16 hours of classroom training which shall include the 

following: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of rifles (minimum 

of one hour); 

(2) rifle safety, including range firing procedures 

(minimum of one hour); 

(3) rifle operation and maintenance (minimum of 

two hours); 

(4) rifle fundamentals (minimum of ten hours); and 

(5) night firing (minimum two hours). 

Subparagraph (m)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (m)(3), 

and Subparagraph (m)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to 

the applicant's participation in range firing. 

(n)  The applicant shall pass a skills course that tests each basic 

rifle skill and the test of each skill shall be completed within three 

attempts. 

(o)  An applicant may take the additional rifle training at a time 

after the initial training in Subsection (c) of this Rule. If the rifle 

training is completed at a later time, the rifle certification shall run 

concurrent with the armed registration permit. In addition to the 

requirements set forth in Paragraphs (m) and (n) of this Rule, 

applicants shall attain a score of at least 80 percent accuracy on a 

rifle range qualification course established by the Board and the 

Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is on file in the 

Director's office. 

(p)  Applicants for rifle recertification shall complete an 

additional one hour of classroom training covering the topics set 

forth in Paragraph (m) of this Rule and shall also complete the 

requirements of Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(q)  Upon written request, an applicant for an armed licensee 

permit or an armed security guard firearm registration permit who 

possesses a current firearms trainer certificate shall be given a 

licensee permit or registration permit that will run concurrent with 

the trainer certificate upon completion of an annual qualification 

with the applicant's duty firearms as set forth in Paragraph (d) of 

this Rule. 

(r)  An armed licensee or security guard is required to qualify 

annually both for day and night firing with his or her duty 

handgun, shotgun, and rifle, if applicable. If the licensee or 

security guard fails to qualify on any course of fire, the licensee 

or security guard shall not carry the firearm until such time as he 

or she meets the qualification requirements. Upon failure to 

qualify, the firearm instructor shall notify the licensee or security 

guard verbally that he or she is no longer authorized to carry the 

firearm and the firearm instructor shall notify the employer and 

the Private Protective Services Board staff in writing on the next 

business day. 

(s)  A firearm training certificate of an armed security guard 

remains valid even if the guard leaves the employment of one 

company for the employment of another. The range qualifications 

shall remain valid if the guard will be carrying a firearm of the 

same make, model, and caliber and no additional firearms training 

shall be required. The licensee shall submit a letter stating the 

guard will be carrying the same make and model firearm. If the 

guard will be carrying a firearm of a different make and model, 

the licensee shall submit a letter to the Board advising of the 

make, model, and caliber of the firearm the guard will be carrying 

and the guard shall be required to qualify at the firing range on 

both the day and night qualification course. The qualification 

score is valid for 180 days after completion of the course. 

However, nothing herein shall extend the period of time the 

qualification is valid. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-9; 74C-13; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1991; February 1, 1990; July 1, 1987; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 14, 2002; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2013; October 1, 2010; June 1, 2009; 

February 1, 2006; August 1, 2002; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0807 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; February 1, 2016; October 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2023; February 1, 2022; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. April 28, 2023; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1101 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 74C, the following 

definitions shall apply to this Section: 
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(1) "Private Investigator Associate" refers to an 

individual training to become a Private 

Investigator. A Private Investigator Associate 

may also be referred to as a "trainee" in these 

Rules. A Private Investigator Associate must 

complete three training levels as set out in this 

Section. 

(2) "One-on-one Supervision" means person-to-

person contact whereby the licensed 

investigator is personally and directly 

supervising or training the Associate. The 

training investigator must be the sponsoring 

licensed Private Investigator or any licensed 

Private Investigator who is a member of the 

sponsoring Private Investigator's firm, 

association, or corporation. The Private 

Investigator Associate may not subcontract his 

or her employment to another Private 

Investigator. However, the sponsoring Private 

Investigator may subcontract the Private 

Investigator Associate if the sponsor obtains 

prior written approval from the Board's 

Director by showing that the Private 

Investigator Associate will receive an 

educational benefit from the subcontract 

employment and the Associate will receive one-

on-one supervision from another licensed 

Private Investigator.  

(3) "Training Checklist" means the documents that 

shall state all areas of training and work that the 

Associate has performed. The sponsoring 

Private Investigator is responsible for 

maintaining the training checklist and 

providing a copy of the checklist to the 

Associate. The Training Checklist must reflect 

the date the Associate advances from one level 

to another. The training checklist must be 

signed by the Associate and the sponsoring 

Private Investigator at the end of each reporting 

period. In the event the Associate transfers 

employment to another Private Investigator, the 

Associate must provide the new sponsoring 

Private Investigator with the training checklist 

and the new sponsoring Private Investigator 

will then be responsible for the maintenance of 

the checklist. The Training Checklist must be 

updated on a quarterly basis for Level One 

Associates and on a yearly basis for Level Two 

and Level Three Associates. The training 

checklist must be maintained pursuant to Rule 

.0108 of this Chapter. When an Associate 

completes Level Three, the Training Checklist 

must be made a part of the Associate's 

application for a Private Investigator's license. 

The Board shall have immediate access to the 

training checklist upon request. 

(4) "Associate Log" means the documents 

maintained by the Associate which shall list 

each case the Associate has worked, the number 

of hours spent on the case, and the type of work 

performed.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-2(c); 74C-5(2); 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1101 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1501 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR A CLOSE PERSONAL PROTECTION LICENSE 

(a)  In addition to the requirements of G.S. 74C-8 and Section 

.0200 of this Chapter, applicants for a close personal protection 

license shall: 

(1) establish three years of verifiable experience 

while conducting close personal protection 

services as set forth in G.S. 74C-3(a)(3a) with a 

private person, firm, association, or corporation 

within the last 10 years; 

(2) establish three years of verifiable experience 

while conducting close personal protection 

services as set forth in G.S. 74C-3(a)(3a) with 

any federal, state, county or municipal law 

enforcement agency, or other governmental 

agency within the last 10 years; 

(3) establish a military occupational specialty and 

two years of verifiable experience within the 

past five years in the U.S. Armed Forces while 

conducting close personal protection services 

as set forth in G.S. 74C-3(a)(3a) while serving 

in an official capacity; or 

(4) have completed a course in close personal 

protection approved by the Board given by a 

school specializing in close personal protection 

(or "executive protection") that consists of a 

minimum of 40 hours of actual classroom and 

practical instruction within the last two years as 

required by Rule .1502 of this Chapter. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, an applicant for a close personal protection license that 

is the spouse of an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces 

shall establish to the Board's satisfaction: 

(1) the spouse holds a current license, certification, 

or registration from another jurisdiction and the 

other jurisdiction's requirements are 

substantially equivalent to or exceed the 

Board's requirements; and 

(2) the spouse has two years verifiable experience 

within the past five years while conducting 

close personal protection as set forth in in G.S. 

74C-3(a)(3a) while serving in an official 

capacity with any entity described in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5(2); 93B-15.1; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023; 

Eff. November 1, 2023. 
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14B NCAC 16 .1502 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR CLOSE PERSONAL PROTECTION LICENSE 

(a)  Applicants for a close personal protection license who do not 

have the experience set forth in Rule .1501(a)(1) through (3) or 

(b)(1) and (2) shall complete a basic close personal protection (or 

"executive protection") training course approved by the Board 

within the previous 24 months. The course shall consist of a 

minimum of 40 hours of classroom and practical instruction 

including as a minimum: 

(1) Fundamentals of personal protection, including 

as a minimum mission planning, performing 

site surveys, route selection (primary, 

secondary, etc.), medical evacuation, walking 

formations (single, multiple, etc.), 

communications with protectees, and 

transitional movements (arrivals, departures, 

plan changes, hasty movements, etc.) – 

(minimum of 26 hours); 

(2) Practical exercises – (minimum of 12 hours); 

and 

(3) Legal Issues, including the rules applicable to 

each of the below blocks of instruction and this 

Section and North Carolina's laws on use of 

force, and the federal and State firearms law. 

The three hour unarmed guard block of 

instruction, set forth in 14B NCAC 16 .0707 if 

performing services unarmed, or the four hour 

armed guard block of instruction set forth in 

14B NCAC 16 .0807(c)(1) if performing 

services armed taught by a certified instructor 

shall fulfill this requirement – (minimum of two 

hours). 

(b)  In addition to the minimum classroom and practical 

instruction required by Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the applicant 

must possess a basic first aid certificate from the American Red 

Cross and a valid CPR and AED certification from the American 

Red Cross, American Heart Association, American Safety and 

Health Institute, or National Safety Council. 

(c)  Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule may be conducted remotely 

as provided for by 14B NCAC 16 .0707(c). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023; 

Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1601 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR A DIGITAL FORENSICS EXAMINER LICENSE 

(a)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, applicants for a Digital Forensic Examiner (D.F.E.) 

license shall: 

(1) establish three years of verifiable experience 

within the past five years conducting digital 

forensic examinations as defined by G.S. 74C-

3(a)(5a) individually, or with any private 

company or federal, state, county or municipal 

agency; 

(2) hold a North Carolina private investigator 

license, or private investigator license from a 

state reciprocal with North Carolina, and have 

completed a course of instruction consisting of 

not less than 40 hours of live classroom and 

practical instruction in digital forensics, and 

obtained certification from a certifying entity 

approved by the Board within the previous two 

years; 

(3) establish that the applicant has been qualified as 

an expert witness in an area of digital forensics 

in a court of law using the standard set forth by 

the United States Supreme Court in Daubert v. 

Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc., 509 U.S. 

579 (1993), and its progeny cases, within the 

previous three years; or 

(4) establish a military occupational specialty and 

two years of verifiable experience conducting 

digital forensics examinations within the past 

five years in the U.S. Armed Forces. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, an applicant for a D.F.E. license that is the spouse of an 

active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces shall establish to 

the Board's satisfaction: 

(1) the spouse holds a current license, certification, 

or registration from another jurisdiction and the 

other jurisdiction's requirements are 

substantially equivalent to or exceed the 

Board's requirements; and 

(2) the spouse has two years of verifiable 

experience conducting digital forensics 

examinations within the past five years. 

(c)  Using the formula in Rule .0204(d) of this Chapter, the Board 

shall give credit toward the experience requirements set forth in 

Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule as follows: 

(1) An applicant shall receive 400 hours of 

experience credit for an associate's degree. The 

Board shall grant up to 100 additional hours if 

the applicant can demonstrate that further 

training or course-work related to digital 

forensics examination was received while 

obtaining the associate's degree. 

(2) An applicant shall receive 800 hours of 

experience credit for a bachelor's degree. The 

Board shall grant up to 200 additional hours if 

the applicant can demonstrate that further 

training or course-work related to digital 

forensics examination was received while 

obtaining the bachelor's degree. 

(3) An applicant shall receive 1,200 hours of 

experience credit for a graduate degree. The 

Board shall grant an additional 300 additional 

hours if the applicant can demonstrate that 

further training or course-work related to digital 

forensics examination was received while 

obtaining the graduate degree. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 93B-15.1; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023; 

Eff. November 1, 2023. 
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14B NCAC 16 .1701 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 74C, the following 

definitions shall apply to this Section: 

(1) "Digital Forensics Examiner Associate" means 

an individual training to become a digital 

forensics examiner licensee. A Digital 

Forensics Examiner Associate may also be 

referred to as a "trainee" in these Rules. A 

Digital Forensics Examiner Associate must 

complete three training levels as set out in this 

Section. 

(2) "One-on-one Supervision" means person-to-

person contact whereby the licensee is 

personally and directly supervising or training 

the Associate. The training licensee must be the 

sponsoring digital forensics examiner licensee. 

The Digital Forensics Examiner Associate may 

not subcontract his or her employment to 

another licensee. However, the sponsoring 

digital forensics examiner licensee may 

subcontract the Digital Forensics Examiner 

Associate if the sponsor obtains prior written 

approval from the Board's Director by showing 

that the Digital Forensics Examiner Associate 

will receive an educational benefit from the 

subcontract employment and the Associate will 

receive one-on-one supervision from another 

licensee. 

(3) "Training Checklist" means the documents that 

shall state all areas of training and work that the 

Associate has performed. The sponsor is 

responsible for maintaining the training 

checklist and providing a copy of the checklist 

to the Associate. The Training Checklist must 

reflect the date the Associate advances from 

one level to another. The training checklist must 

be signed by the Associate and the sponsor at 

the end of each reporting period. In the event 

the Associate transfers employment to another 

licensee, the Associate must provide the new 

sponsor with the training checklist and the new 

sponsor will then be responsible for the 

maintenance of the checklist. The Training 

Checklist must be updated on a quarterly basis 

for Level One Associates and on a yearly basis 

for Level Two and Level Three Associates. The 

training checklist must be maintained pursuant 

to Rule .0108 of this Chapter. When an 

Associate completes Level Three, the Training 

Checklist must be made a part of the Associate's 

application for a digital forensics examiner 

license. The Board shall have immediate access 

to the training checklist upon request. 

(4) "Associate Log" means the documents 

maintained by the Associate which shall list 

each case the Associate has worked, the number 

of hours spent on the case, and the type of work 

performed.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-2(c); 74C-5(2); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023; 

Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1706 CONSIDERATION OF 

PRACTICAL EXPERIENCE 

(a) The Board shall consider any practical experience in computer 

science or digital forensics examination gained by the applicant 

prior to the application date. The Board shall not consider 

experience claimed by the applicant if the experience was gained 

after December 1, 2022: 

(1) by contracting private protective services to 

another person, firm, association, or 

corporation while not in possession of a valid 

private protective services license; or 

(2) when employed by a company contracting 

private protective services to another person, 

firm, association, or corporation while the 

company is not in possession of a valid private 

protective services license. 

(b)  The Board shall consider any educational experience referred 

to in Rule .1705 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5(2); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023; 

Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1707 ENFORCEMENT 

A violation of this Chapter or G.S. Chapter 74C by the Associate 

may be deemed by the Board to be a violation by the sponsor if 

the violation is found to be the result of a failure to supervise 

which resulted in the violation and may subject the sponsor to an 

enforcement action pursuant to G.S. 74C-12(a) or G.S. 74C-17(c). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-2(c); 74C-5(2); 74C-12; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023; 

Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 02D .0503 PARTICULATES FROM FUEL 

BURNING INDIRECT HEAT EXCHANGERS 

(a)  For the purpose of this Rule, the following definitions shall 

apply: 

(1) "Functionally dependent" means that 

structures, buildings, or equipment are 

interconnected through common process 

streams, supply lines, flues, or stacks. 

(2) "Indirect heat exchanger" means any equipment 

used for the alteration of the temperature of one 

fluid by the use of another fluid in which the 

two fluids are separated by an impervious 

surface such that there is no mixing of the two 

fluids. 

(3) "Plant site" means any single or collection of 

structures, buildings, facilities, equipment, 

installations, or operations that: 
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(A) are located on one or more adjacent 

properties; 

(B) are under common legal control; and 

(C) are functionally dependent in their 

operations. 

(b)  The definition contained in Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule 

does not affect the calculation of the allowable emission rate of 

any indirect heat exchanger permitted prior to April 1, 1999. 

(c)  The emissions of particulate matter from the combustion of a 

fuel that are discharged from any indirect heat exchanger through 

a stack or chimney into the atmosphere shall not exceed: 

 

Allowable Emission Limit 

Maximum Heat Input In       For Particulate Matter In 

Million Btu/Hour        lb/Million Btu 

 

Up to and Including 10       0.60 

100          0.33 

1,000          0.18 

10,000 and Greater       0.10 

For a heat input between any two consecutive heat inputs stated 

in the table set forth in this Paragraph, the allowable emissions of 

particulate matter shall be calculated by the equation E= 1.090*Q-

0.2594. "E" equals the allowable emission limit for particulate 

matter in lb/million Btu. "Q" equals the maximum heat input in 

million Btu/hour. 

(d)  This Rule applies to installations in which fuel is burned for 

the purpose of producing heat or power by indirect heat transfer. 

For the purpose of this Rule, the term "fuels" includes all fuels 

that generate particulate matter emissions from indirect heat 

exchangers excluding wood and refuse not burned as a fuel. When 

any refuse, products, or by-products of a manufacturing process 

are burned as a fuel rather than refuse, or in conjunction with any 

fuel, this allowable emission limit shall apply. 

(e)  For the purpose of this Rule, the maximum heat input shall be 

the total heat content of all fuels which are burned in a fuel 

burning indirect heat exchanger, of which the combustion 

products are emitted through a stack or stacks. The sum of 

maximum heat input of all fuel burning indirect heat exchangers 

at a plant site which are in operation, under construction, or 

permitted pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q, shall be considered as the 

total heat input for the purpose of determining the allowable 

emission limit for particulate matter for each fuel burning indirect 

heat exchanger. Fuel burning indirect heat exchangers constructed 

or permitted after February 1, 1983, shall not change the allowable 

emission limit of any other fuel burning indirect heat exchanger 

whose allowable emission limit has previously been set. The 

removal of a fuel burning indirect heat exchanger shall not change 

the allowable emission limit of any other fuel burning indirect 

heat exchanger whose allowable emission limit has previously 

been established. However, for any fuel burning indirect heat 

exchanger constructed after, or in conjunction with, the removal 

of another fuel burning indirect heat exchanger at the plant site, 

the maximum heat input of the removed fuel burning indirect heat 

exchanger shall no longer be considered in the determination of 

the allowable emission limit of any fuel burning indirect heat 

exchanger constructed after or in conjunction with the removal. 

For the purposes of this Paragraph, refuse not burned as a fuel and 

wood shall not be considered a fuel. For residential facilities or 

institutions, such as military and educational, whose primary fuel 

burning capacity is for comfort heat, only those fuel burning 

indirect heat exchangers located in the same power plant or 

building or otherwise physically interconnected, such as common 

flues, steam, or power distribution line, shall be used to determine 

the total heat input. 

(f)  The emission limit for fuel burning equipment that burns both 

wood and other fuels in combination, or for wood and other fuel 

burning equipment that is operated such that emissions are 

measured on a combined basis, shall be calculated by the equation 

Ec = [(EW)(Qw) + (Eo)(Qo)] /Qt. 

(1) Ec = the emission limit for combination or 

combined emission source(s) in lb/million Btu. 

(2) Ew = plant site emission limit for wood only as 

determined pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .0504 

in lb/million Btu. 

(3) Eo = the plant site emission limit for other fuels 

only as determined by Paragraphs (a), (b) and 

(c) of this Rule in lb/million Btu. 

(4) Qw = the actual wood heat input to the 

combination or combined emission source(s) in 

Btu/hr. 

(5) Qo = the actual other fuels heat input to the 

combination or combined emission source(s) in 

Btu/hr. 

(6) Qt = Qw + Qo and is the actual total heat input 

to combination or combined emission source(s) 

in Btu/hr. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.107(a)(5); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 8, 1994 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule is effective, whichever is sooner; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; July 1, 1994; August 1, 1991; June 

1, 1985; February 1, 1983; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .0506 PARTICULATES FROM HOT 

MIX ASPHALT PLANTS 

(a)  The allowable emission rate for particulate matter resulting 

from the operation of a hot mix asphalt plant that are discharged 

from any stack or chimney into the atmosphere shall not exceed 

the level calculated with the equation 

E = 4.9445(P)0.4376 
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calculated to three significant figures, for process rates less than 

300 tons per hour, where "E" equals the maximum allowable 

emission rate for particulate matter in pounds per hour and "P" 

equals the process rate in tons per hour. The allowable emission 

rate shall be 60.0 pounds per hour for process rates equal to or 

greater than 300 tons per hour. 

(b)  Visible emissions from stacks or vents at a hot mix asphalt 

plant shall not exceed 20 percent opacity when averaged over a 

six-minute period. 

(c)  All hot mix asphalt batch plants shall be equipped with a 

scavenger process dust control system for the drying, conveying, 

classifying, and mixing equipment. The scavenger process dust 

control system shall exhaust through a stack or vent and shall be 

operated and maintained in such a manner as to comply with 

Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule. 

(d)  Fugitive non-process dust emissions shall be controlled by 

15A NCAC 02D .0540. 

(e)  Fugitive emissions for sources at a hot mix asphalt plant not 

covered by Paragraphs (a) through (d) of this Rule shall not 

exceed 20 percent opacity averaged over six minutes. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(5); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; July 1, 1998; January 1, 1985; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .0532 SOURCES CONTRIBUTING TO 

AN AMBIENT VIOLATION 

(a)  This Rule applies to new major stationary sources and major 

modifications to which 15A NCAC 02D .0531 does not apply and 

which would contribute to a violation of a national ambient air 

quality standard, but which would not cause a new violation. 

(b)  For the purpose of this Rule the definitions contained in 

Section II.A. of Appendix S of 40 CFR Part 51 shall apply. 

(c)  The Rule is not applicable to: 

(1) emission of a pollutant from a new or modified 

source located in an area designated as 

nonattainment for that pollutant in 40 CFR 

81.334; 

(2) emission of pollutants for which the source or 

modification is not major; 

(3) emission of pollutants other than sulfur dioxide, 

PM2.5, nitrogen oxides, carbon monoxide, and 

PM10; 

(4) a new or modified source whose impact will not 

increase more than: 

(A) 1.0 µg/m3 of SO2 on an annual basis; 

(B) 5 µg/m3 of SO2 on a 24-hour basis; 

(C) 25 µg/m3 of SO2 on a 3-hour basis; 

(D) 0.3 µg/m3 of PM2.5 on an annual 

basis; 

(E) 1.2 µg/m3 of PM2.5 on a 24-hour 

basis; 

(F) 1.0 µg/m3 of NO2 on an annual basis; 

(G) 0.5 mg/m3 of carbon monoxide on an 

8-hour basis; 

(H) 2 mg/m3 of carbon monoxide on a one-

hour basis; 

(I) 1.0 µg/m3 of PM10 on an annual basis; 

or 

(J) 5 µg/m3 of PM10 on a 24-hour basis 

at any locality that does not meet a national 

ambient air quality standard; 

(5) sources which are not major unless secondary 

emissions are included in calculating the 

potential to emit; 

(6) sources which are exempted by the provision in 

Section II.F. of Appendix S of 40 CFR Part 51; 

(7) temporary emission sources which will be 

relocated within two years; and 

(8) emissions resulting from the construction phase 

of the source. 

(d)  15A NCAC 02Q .0102 is not applicable to any source to 

which this Rule applies. The owner or operator of the source shall 

apply for and receive a permit as required in 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0300 or .0500. 

(e)  To issue a permit to a new or modified source to which this 

Rule applies, the Director shall determine that the source will 

meet the following conditions: 

(1) The sources will emit the nonattainment 

pollutant at a rate no more than the lowest 

achievable emission rate; 

(2) The owner or operator of the proposed new or 

modified source has demonstrated that all major 

stationary sources in the State that are owned or 

operated by this person, or any entity 

controlling, controlled by, or under common 

control with this person, are subject to emission 

limitations and are in compliance, or on a 

schedule for compliance which is federally 

enforceable or contained in a court decree, with 

all applicable emission limitations and 

standards of this Subchapter which EPA has 

authority to approve as elements of the North 

Carolina State Implementation Plan for Air 

Quality; and 

(3) The source will satisfy one of the following 

conditions: 

(A) The source will comply with 15A 

NCAC 02D .0531(i) when the source 

is evaluated as if it were in the 

nonattainment area; or 

(B) The source will have an air quality 

offset, i.e., the applicant will have 

caused an air quality improvement in 

the locality where the national ambient 

air quality standard is not met by 

causing reductions in impacts of other 

sources greater than any additional 

impact caused by the source for which 

the application is being made. The 

emissions reductions creating the air 

quality offset shall be placed as a 

condition in the permit for the source 

reducing emissions. The requirements 
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of this Part may be waived for the 

following sources, as specified in 

Section IV.B of Appendix S to 40 CFR 

Part 51, incorporated as specified in 

Paragraph (g) of this Rule: 

(i) resource recovery facilities 

burning municipal solid 

waste; and 

(ii) sources that must switch 

fuels due to lack of adequate 

fuel supplies, or sources that 

are required to be modified as 

a result of EPA regulations 

where no exemption from 

such regulations is available 

to the source, if the permit 

applicant demonstrates that it 

made its best efforts to obtain 

sufficient air quality offsets 

to comply with this Part, the 

applicant has secured all 

available air quality offsets, 

and the applicant will 

continue to seek the 

necessary air quality offsets 

and apply them when they 

become available. 

(f)  At such time that a particular source or modification becomes 

a major stationary source or major modification solely by virtue 

of a relaxation in any enforceable limitation established after 

August 7, 1980, on the capacity of the source or modification to 

emit a pollutant, such as a restriction on hours of operation, then 

the provisions of this Rule shall apply to the source or 

modification as though construction had not yet begun on the 

source or modification. 

(g)  The version of the Code of Federal Regulations incorporated 

in this Rule is that as of July 1, 2019, at 

https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CFR-2019-title40-

vol2/pdf/CFR-2019-title40-vol2-part51-appS.pdf and does not 

include any subsequent amendments or editions to the referenced 

material. The publication may be accessed free of charge. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.107(a)(5); 143-215.108(b);  

Eff. June 1, 1981; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 8, 1994 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; December 1, 1993; December 1, 

1992; October 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .0614 COMPLIANCE ASSURANCE 

MONITORING 

(a)  General Applicability. Except as set forth in Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule, the requirements of this Rule shall apply to a 

pollutant-specific emissions unit, as defined in 40 CFR 64.1, at a 

facility required to obtain a permit pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0500 if the unit: 

(1) is subject to an emission limitation or standard 

for the applicable regulated air pollutant, or a 

surrogate thereof, other than an emission 

limitation or standard that is exempt pursuant to 

Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule; 

(2) uses a control device to achieve compliance 

with any such emission limitation or standard; 

and 

(3) has potential pre-control device emissions of 

the applicable regulated air pollutant that are 

equal to or greater than 100 percent of the 

amount, in tons per year, required for a source 

to be classified as a major source. For purposes 

of this Rule, "potential pre-control device 

emissions" means the same as "potential to 

emit" as defined in 40 CFR 64.1, except that 

emission reductions achieved by the applicable 

control device shall not be taken into account. 

(b)  The following exemptions to this Rule shall apply. 

(1) Exempt emission limitations or standards. The 

requirements of this Rule shall not apply to any 

of the following emission limitations or 

standards: 

(A) emission limitations or standards 

proposed by the Administrator of the 

Environmental Protection Agency 

after November 15, 1990, pursuant to 

section 111 or 112 of the federal Clean 

Air Act; 

(B) stratospheric ozone protection 

requirements pursuant to Title VI of 

the federal Clean Air Act; 

(C) Acid Rain Program requirements 

pursuant to sections 404, 405, 406, 

407(a), 407(b), or 410 of the federal 

Clean Air Act; 

(D) emission limitations or standards or 

other applicable requirements that 

apply solely under an emissions 

trading program approved under the 

rules of Subchapters 02D and 02Q of 

this Chapter and that are incorporated 

in a permit issued pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0500; 

(E) an emissions cap that is approved 

pursuant to the rules of Subchapters 

02D and 02Q of this Chapter and 

incorporated in a permit issued 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0500; or 

(F) emission limitations or standards for 

which a permit issued pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0500 specifies a 

continuous compliance determination 

method, as defined in 40 CFR 64.1. 

This exemption shall not apply if the 

applicable compliance method 

includes an assumed control device 
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emission reduction factor that could be 

affected by the actual operation and 

maintenance of the control device. 

Note: for example, a surface coating 

line controlled by an incinerator for 

which continuous compliance is 

determined by calculating emissions 

on the basis of coating records and an 

assumed control device efficiency 

factor based on an initial performance 

test. In this example, 15A NCAC 02D 

.0614 would apply to the control 

device and capture system, but not to 

the remaining elements of the coating 

line, such as raw material usage. 

(2) Exemption for backup utility power emissions 

units. The requirements of this Rule shall not 

apply to a utility unit, as defined in 40 CFR 

72.2, that is municipally-owned if the owner or 

operator provides documentation in a permit 

application submitted pursuant to 15A NCAC 

02Q .0500 that: 

(A) the utility unit is exempt from all 

monitoring requirements in 40 CFR 

Part 75, including the appendices 

thereto; 

(B) the utility unit is operated for the sole 

purpose of providing electricity during 

periods of peak electrical demand or 

emergency situations and will be 

operated consistent with that purpose 

throughout the permit term. The owner 

or operator shall provide historical 

operating data and relevant contractual 

obligations to document that this 

criterion is satisfied; and2 

(C) the actual emissions from the utility 

unit, based on the average annual 

emissions over the last three calendar 

years of operation, or such shorter 

time period that is available for units 

with fewer than three years of 

operation, are less than 50 tons per 

year and are expected to remain so. 

(c)  For the purposes of this Rule, the definitions in 40 CFR 64.1 

shall apply with the following exceptions: 

(1) "Applicable requirement" and "regulated air 

pollutant" shall have the same definition as in 

15A NCAC 02Q .0103. 

(2) "Part 70 or 71 permit application" means an 

application, or any supplement to a previously 

submitted application, submitted by the owner 

or operator to obtain a permit under 15A NCAC 

02Q .0500. 

(3) "Part 70 or 71 permit" means a permit issued 

under 15A NCAC 02Q .0500. 

(4) "Permitting authority" means the Division of 

Air Quality. 

(d)  The owner or operator subject to the requirements of this rule 

shall comply with these requirements: 

(1) 40 CFR 64.3, Monitoring Design Criteria; 

(2) 40 CFR 64.4, Submittal Requirements; 

(3) 40 CFR 64.5, Deadlines for Submittals; 

(4) 40 CFR 64.7, Operation of Approved 

Monitoring; and 

(5) 40 CFR 64.9, Reporting and Recordkeeping 

Requirements. 

(e)  The Division shall follow the procedures and requirements in 

40 CFR Part 64.6, Approval of Monitoring, in reviewing and 

approving or disapproving monitoring plans and programs 

submitted under this Rule. 

(f)  Based on the result of a determination made pursuant to 40 

CFR 64.7(d)(2), the Director may require the owner or operator 

to develop and implement a quality improvement plan. If a quality 

improvement plan is required, the quality improvement plan shall 

be developed and implemented according to the procedures and 

requirements of 40 CFR 64.8, Quality Improvement Plan (QIP) 

Requirements. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(3); 143-215.65; 

143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(4); 143-215.107(a)(10); 

Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .0918 CAN COATING 

(a)  For the purpose of this Rule, the following definitions shall 

apply: 

(1) "End sealing compound" means a synthetic 

rubber compound that is coated onto can ends 

and functions as a gasket when the end is 

assembled on the can. 

(2) "Exterior base coating" means a coating applied 

to the exterior of a can to provide exterior 

protection to the metal and to provide 

background for the lithographic or printing 

operation. 

(3) "Interior base coating" means a coating applied 

by roller coater or spray to the interior of a can 

to provide a protective lining between the can 

metal and product. 

(4) "Interior body spray" means a coating sprayed 

on the interior of the can body to provide a 

protective film between the product and the can. 

(5) "Overvarnish" means a coating applied directly 

over ink to reduce the coefficient of friction, to 

provide gloss, and to protect the finish against 

abrasion and corrosion. 

(6) "Three-piece can side-seam spray" means a 

coating sprayed on the exterior and interior of a 

welded, cemented, or soldered seam to protect 

the exposed metal. 

(7) "Two-piece can exterior end coating" means a 

coating applied by roller coating or spraying to 

the exterior end of a can to provide protection 

to the metal. 
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(b)  This Rule applies to volatile organic compound emissions 

from coating applicators and ovens of sheet, can, or end coating 

lines involved in sheet exterior and interior basecoat and 

overvarnish; two-piece can interior body spray; two-piece spray 

or roll coat can exterior; and three-piece can side-seam spray and 

end sealing compound operations. 

(c)  Unless the exception in Paragraph (d) of this Rule applies, 

emissions of volatile organic compounds from any can coating 

line subject to this Rule shall not exceed: 

(1) 4.5 pounds of volatile organic compounds per 

gallon of solids delivered to the coating 

applicator from sheet exterior and interior 

basecoat and overvarnish or two-piece can 

exterior basecoat and overvarnish operations; 

(2) 9.8 pounds of volatile organic compounds per 

gallon of solids delivered to the coating 

applicator from two and three-piece can interior 

body spray and two-piece spray or roll coat can 

exterior end operations; 

(3) 21.8 pounds of volatile organic compounds per 

gallon of solids delivered to the coating 

applicator from a three-piece can side seam 

spray operation; or 

(4) 7.4 pounds of volatile organic compounds per 

gallon of solids delivered to the coating 

applicator from end sealing compound 

operations. 

(d)  Any source that has controlled emissions pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02D .0518(e) prior to July 1, 2000 and that has installed 

air pollution control equipment in accordance with an air quality 

permit pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0300 or .0500 in order to 

comply with this Rule before December 1, 1989 may comply with 

the limits contained in this Paragraph instead of those contained 

in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. Emissions of volatile organic 

compounds from any can coating line subject to this Paragraph 

shall not exceed: 

(1) 2.8 pounds of volatile organic compounds per 

gallon of coating, excluding water and exempt 

compounds, delivered to the coating applicator 

from sheet exterior and interior basecoat and 

overvarnish or two-piece can exterior basecoat 

and overvarnish operations; 

(2) 4.2 pounds of volatile organic compounds per 

gallon of coating, excluding water and exempt 

compounds, delivered to the coating applicator 

from two and three-piece can interior body 

spray and two-piece can spray or roll coat 

exterior end operations; 

(3) 5.5 pounds of volatile organic compounds per 

gallon of coating, excluding water and exempt 

compounds, delivered to the coating applicator 

from a three-piece can side-seam spray 

operation; or 

(4) 3.7 pounds of volatile organic compounds per 

gallon of coating, excluding water and exempt 

compounds, delivered to the coating applicator 

from end sealing compound operations. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.107(a)(5); 

Eff. July 1, 1979; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1996; July 1, 1991; December 1, 1989; 

January 1, 1985; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .0926 BULK GASOLINE PLANTS 

(a)  For the purpose of this Rule, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Average daily throughput" means annual 

throughput of gasoline divided by 312 days per 

year. 

(2) "Bottom filling" means the filling of a cargo 

tank or stationary storage tank through an 

opening flush with the tank bottom. 

(3) "Bulk gasoline plant" means a gasoline storage 

and distribution facility with an average daily 

throughput of less than 20,000 gallons of 

gasoline and that typically receives gasoline 

from bulk terminals by cargo tank transport, 

stores it in tanks, and subsequently dispenses it 

via account cargo tanks to farms, businesses, 

and service stations. 

(4) "Bulk gasoline terminal" means a gasoline 

storage facility that typically receives gasoline 

from refineries primarily by pipeline, ship, or 

barge; delivers gasoline to bulk gasoline plants 

or to commercial or retail accounts primarily by 

cargo tank; and has an average daily throughput 

of greater than or equal to 20,000 gallons of 

gasoline. 

(5) "Cargo tank" means the storage vessels of 

freight trucks or trailers used to transport 

gasoline from sources of supply to stationary 

storage tanks of bulk gasoline terminals, bulk 

gasoline plants, gasoline dispensing facilities, 

and gasoline service stations. 

(6) "Gasoline" means any petroleum distillate 

having a Reid Vapor Pressure (RVP) of 4.0 psi 

or greater. 

(7) "Incoming vapor balance system" means a 

combination of pipes or hoses that create a 

closed system between the vapor spaces of an 

unloading cargo tank and a receiving stationary 

storage tank such that vapors displaced from the 

receiving stationary storage tank are transferred 

to the cargo tank being unloaded. 

(8) "Outgoing vapor balance system" means a 

combination of pipes or hoses that create a 

closed system between the vapor spaces of an 

unloading stationary storage tank and a 

receiving cargo tank such that vapors displaced 

from the receiving cargo tank are transferred to 

the stationary storage tank being unloaded. 

(9) "Splash filling" means the filling of a cargo tank 

or stationary storage tank through a pipe or hose 

whose discharge opening is above the surface 

level of the liquid in the tank being filled. 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

38:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 1, 2023 

766 

(10) "Submerged filling" means the filling of a cargo 

tank or stationary tank through a pipe or hose 

whose discharge opening is entirely submerged 

when the pipe normally used to withdraw liquid 

from the tank can no longer withdraw any 

liquid, or whose discharge opening is entirely 

submerged when the liquid level is six inches 

above the bottom of the tank. 

(b)  This Rule applies to the unloading, loading, and storage 

facilities of all bulk gasoline plants, and of all cargo tanks 

delivering or receiving gasoline at bulk gasoline plants except 

stationary storage tanks with capacities less than 528 gallons. 

(c)  The owner or operator of a bulk gasoline plant shall not 

transfer gasoline to a stationary storage tank unless the unloading 

cargo tank and the receiving stationary storage tank are equipped 

with an incoming vapor balance system as described in Paragraph 

(i) of this Rule and the receiving stationary storage tank is 

equipped with a fill line whose discharge opening is flush with the 

bottom of the tank such that bottom filling can be achieved. 

(d)  The owner or operator of a bulk gasoline plant with an average 

daily gasoline throughput of 4,000 gallons or more shall not load 

a cargo tank at such plant unless the unloading stationary storage 

tank and the receiving cargo tank are equipped with an outgoing 

vapor balance system as described in Paragraph (i) of this Rule 

and the receiving cargo tank is equipped for bottom filling. 

(e)  The owner or operator of a bulk gasoline plant with an average 

daily throughput of more than 2,500 gallons but less than 4,000 

gallons located in an area with a housing density exceeding the 

limits in this Paragraph shall not load any cargo tank at such bulk 

gasoline plant unless the unloading stationary storage tank and 

receiving cargo tank are equipped with an outgoing vapor balance 

system as described in Paragraph (i) of this Rule and the receiving 

cargo tank is equipped for bottom filling. In the counties of 

Alamance, Buncombe, Cabarrus, Catawba, Cumberland, 

Davidson, Durham, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Mecklenburg, 

New Hanover, Orange, Rowan, and Wake, the specified limit on 

housing density is 50 residences in a square one mile on a side 

with the square centered on the loading rack at the bulk gasoline 

plant and with one side oriented in a true North-South direction. 

In all other counties the specified limit on housing density is 100 

residences per square mile. The housing density shall be 

determined by counting the number of residences using aerial 

photographs or other methods approved by the Director to provide 

equivalent accuracy. 

(f)  The owner or operator of a bulk gasoline plant not subject to 

the outgoing vapor balance system requirements of Paragraph (d) 

or (e) of this Rule shall not load cargo tanks at such plants unless: 

(1) equipment is available and used at the bulk 

gasoline plant to provide for submerged filling 

of each cargo tank; or 

(2) each receiving cargo tank is equipped for 

bottom filling. 

(g)  For gasoline bulk plants located in a nonattainment area for 

ozone, the owner or operator shall continue to comply with 

Paragraph (d) or (e) of this Rule even if the average daily 

throughput falls below the applicable threshold if ever the facility 

throughput triggered compliance. 

(h)  The owner or operator of a bulk gasoline plant shall ensure a 

cargo tank that is required to be equipped with a vapor balance 

system pursuant to Paragraphs (c), (d), or (e) of this Rule shall not 

transfer gasoline between the cargo tank and the stationary storage 

tank unless: 

(1) the vapor balance system is connected, 

operating, and working as designed in 

accordance with the manufacturer's 

specifications and the definition of "good 

operation and maintenance" in 15A NCAC 02D 

.0602; 

(2) cargo tank hatches are closed at all times during 

loading and unloading operations; and 

(3) the cargo tank's pressure/vacuum relief valves, 

hatch covers, and the cargo tank's and storage 

tank's associated vapor and liquid lines are 

vapor-tight, as defined in 40 CFR 60.501 and 

63.11132, as applicable, during loading or 

unloading. 

(i)  Vapor balance systems required under Paragraphs (c), (d), and 

(e) of this Rule shall consist of the following major components: 

(1) a vapor space connection on the stationary 

storage tank equipped with fittings that are 

vapor tight and will be automatically and 

immediately closed upon disconnection to 

prevent release of volatile organic material; 

(2) a connecting pipe or hose equipped with fittings 

that are vapor tight and will be automatically 

and immediately closed upon disconnection to 

prevent release of volatile organic material; and 

(3) a vapor space connection on the cargo tank 

equipped with fittings that are vapor tight and 

will be automatically and immediately closed 

upon disconnection to prevent release of 

volatile organic material. 

(j)  The owner or operator of a bulk gasoline plant shall paint all 

tanks used for gasoline storage white or silver. 

(k)  The pressure relief valves on cargo tanks loading or unloading 

at bulk gasoline plants shall be set to release at the highest possible 

pressure in accordance with State or local fire codes or the 

National Fire Prevention Association Guidelines. The pressure 

relief valves on stationary storage tanks shall be set at 0.5 psi for 

storage tanks placed in service on or after November 1, 1992, and 

0.25 psi for storage tanks existing before November 1, 1992. 

(l)  No owner or operator of a bulk gasoline plant may permit 

gasoline to be spilled, discarded in sewers, stored in open 

containers, or handled in any other manner that would result in 

evaporation. 

(m)  The owner or operator of a bulk gasoline plant shall observe 

loading and unloading operations and shall discontinue the 

transfer of gasoline: 

(1) if any liquid leaks are observed; or 

(2) if any vapor leaks are observed where a vapor 

balance system is required under Paragraphs 

(c), (d), or (e) of this Rule. 

(n)  The owner or operator of a bulk gasoline plant shall not load, 

or allow to be loaded, gasoline into any cargo tank unless the 

cargo tank has been certified leak tight in accordance with 15A 

NCAC 02D .0932. 

 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

38:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 1, 2023 

767 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(5); 

Eff. July 1, 1979; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1996; May 1, 1993; March 1, 1991; 

December 1, 1989; January 1, 1985; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .0927 BULK GASOLINE TERMINALS 

(a)  For the purpose of this Rule, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Bulk gasoline terminal" means: 

(A) a pipeline breakout station of an 

interstate oil pipeline facility; or 

(B) a gasoline storage facility that 

typically receives gasoline from 

refineries primarily by pipeline, ship, 

or barge; delivers gasoline to bulk 

gasoline plants or to commercial or 

retail accounts primarily by cargo 

tank; and has an average daily 

throughput of more than 20,000 

gallons of gasoline. 

(2) "Cargo tank" means the storage vessels of 

freight trucks or trailers used to transport 

gasoline from sources of supply to stationary 

storage tanks of bulk gasoline terminals, bulk 

gasoline plants, gasoline dispensing facilities, 

and gasoline service stations. 

(3) "Contact deck" means a deck in an internal 

floating roof tank that rises and falls with the 

liquid level and floats in direct contact with the 

liquid surface. 

(4) "Degassing" means the process by which a 

tank's interior vapor space is decreased to below 

the lower explosive limit for the purpose of 

cleaning, inspection, or repair. 

(5) "Gasoline" means a petroleum distillate having 

a Reid Vapor Pressure (RVP) of 4.0 psi or 

greater. 

(6) "Leak" means a crack or hole letting petroleum 

product vapor or liquid escape that is 

identifiable through sight, sound, smell, an 

explosimeter, or the use of a meter that 

measures volatile organic compounds. When an 

explosimeter or meter is used to detect a leak, a 

leak is a measurement that is equal to or greater 

than 100 percent of the lower explosive limit, 

as detected by a combustible gas detector using 

the test procedure described in Appendix B of 

EPA-450/2-78-051. This test procedure is 

incorporated by reference, including any 

subsequent amendments and editions. A copy 

of this test procedure may be obtained free of 

charge at 

https://nepis.epa.gov/Exe/ZyPDF.cgi/2000M9

RD.PDF?Dockey=2000M9RD.PDF. 

(7) "Liquid balancing" means a process used to 

degas floating roof gasoline storage tanks with 

a liquid whose vapor pressure is below 1.52 psi. 

This is done by removing as much gasoline as 

possible without landing the roof on its internal 

supports, pumping in the replacement fluid, 

allowing mixing, removing as much mixture as 

possible without landing the roof, and repeating 

these steps until the vapor pressure of the 

mixture is below 1.52 psi. 

(8) "Liquid displacement" means a process by 

which gasoline vapors remaining in an empty 

tank are displaced by a liquid with a vapor 

pressure below 1.52 psi. 

(9) "Pipeline breakout station" means a facility 

along a pipeline containing storage tanks used 

to: 

(A) relieve surges in a hazardous liquid 

pipeline system; or 

(B) receive and store hazardous liquids 

transported by pipeline for reinjection 

and continued transport by pipeline. 

For the purposes of this definition, "hazardous 

liquid" means the materials listed in 49 CFR 

195.2. 

(b)  This Rule applies to bulk gasoline terminals and the 

appurtenant equipment necessary to load the cargo tank 

compartments. 

(c)  Gasoline shall not be loaded into any cargo tank from any bulk 

gasoline terminal unless: 

(1) the bulk gasoline terminal is equipped with a 

vapor control system that prevents the 

emissions of volatile organic compounds from 

exceeding 35 milligrams per liter. The owner or 

operator shall obtain from the manufacturer and 

maintain in the cargo tank's records a pre-

installation certification stating the vapor 

control efficiency of the system in use; 

(2) displaced vapors and gases are vented only to 

the vapor control system or to a flare; 

(3) a means is provided to prevent liquid drainage 

from the loading device when it is not in use or 

to accomplish complete drainage before the 

loading device is disconnected; and 

(4) all loading and vapor lines are equipped with 

fittings that make vapor-tight connections and 

that are automatically and immediately closed 

upon disconnection. 

(d)  Sources regulated by this Rule shall not: 

(1) allow gasoline to be discarded in sewers or 

stored in open containers or handled in any 

manner that would result in evaporation; or 

(2) allow the pressure in the vapor collection 

system to exceed the cargo tank pressure relief 

settings. 

(e)  The owner or operator of a bulk gasoline terminal shall paint 

all tanks used for gasoline storage white or silver. 

(f)  The owner or operator of a bulk gasoline terminal shall install 

on each external floating roof tank with an inside diameter of 100 

feet or less used to store gasoline a self-supporting roof, such as a 

geodesic dome. 
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(g)  The following equipment shall be required on all tanks storing 

gasoline at a bulk gasoline terminal: 

(1) rim-mounted secondary seals on all external 

and internal floating roof tanks; 

(2) gaskets on deck fittings; and 

(3) floats in the slotted guide poles with a gasket 

around the cover of the poles. 

(h)  Decks shall be required on all above ground tanks with a 

capacity greater than 19,800 gallons storing gasoline at a bulk 

gasoline terminal. All decks installed after June 30, 1998 shall 

comply with the following requirements: 

(1) deck seams shall be welded, bolted, or riveted; 

and 

(2) seams on bolted contact decks and on riveted 

contact decks shall be gasketed. 

(i)  If, upon facility or operational modification of a bulk gasoline 

terminal that existed before December 1, 1992, an increase in 

benzene emissions results such that: 

(1) emissions of volatile organic compounds 

increase by more than 25 tons cumulative at any 

time during the five years following 

modifications; and 

(2) annual emissions of benzene from the cluster, 

which includes the bulk gasoline terminal, the 

pipeline, and marketing terminals served by the 

pipeline, exceed benzene emissions from that 

cluster based upon calendar year 1991 gasoline 

throughput and application of the requirements 

of this Subchapter,  

then, the annual increase in benzene emissions due to the 

modification shall be offset within the cluster by reduction in 

benzene emissions beyond that otherwise achieved from 

compliance with this Rule, in the ratio of at least 1.3 to 1. 

(j)  To qualify for exemption from the requirements under 

Paragraphs (e) through (i) of this Rule, the owner or operators of 

a bulk gasoline terminal that received an air quality permit before 

December 1, 1992 to emit toxic air pollutants under 15A NCAC 

02Q .0700 to comply with 15A NCAC 02D .1100 shall continue 

to follow all terms and conditions of the permit issued under 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0700 and to bring the terminal into compliance with 

15A NCAC 02D .1100 according to the terms and conditions of 

the permit, and shall maintain this permit to emit toxic air 

pollutants.  

(k)  The owner or operator of a bulk gasoline terminal shall not 

load, or allow to be loaded, gasoline into any cargo tank unless 

the cargo tank has been certified leak tight according to 15A 

NCAC 02D .0932. 

(l)  The owner or operator of a bulk gasoline terminal shall have 

on file at the terminal a copy of the certification test conducted 

according to 15A NCAC 02D .0932 for each gasoline cargo tank 

loaded at the terminal. 

(m)  Emissions of gasoline from degassing of external or internal 

floating roof tanks at a bulk gasoline terminal shall be collected 

and controlled by at least 90 percent by weight. Liquid balancing 

shall not be used to degas gasoline storage tanks at bulk gasoline 

terminals. Bulk gasoline storage tanks containing not more than 

138 gallons of liquid gasoline or the equivalent of gasoline vapor 

and gasoline liquid are exempted from the degassing requirements 

if gasoline vapors are vented for at least 24 hours. Documentation 

of degassing external or internal floating roof tanks shall be made 

according to 15A NCAC 02D .0903. 

(n)  The owner or operator of a bulk gasoline terminal shall 

visually inspect the following for leaks each day that the terminal 

is both manned and open for business: 

(1) the vapor collection system; 

(2) the vapor control system; and 

(3) each lane of the loading rack while a gasoline 

cargo tank is being loaded. 

In accordance with 15A NCAC 02D .1903, the owner or operator 

shall maintain records of the visual inspections. If no leaks are 

found, the owner or operator shall record that no leaks were found. 

If a leak is found, the owner or operator shall record the 

information specified in Paragraph (p) of this Rule. The owner or 

operator shall repair all leaks found according to Paragraph (q) of 

this Rule. 

(o)  The owner or operator of a bulk gasoline terminal shall inspect 

weekly for leaks: 

(1) the vapor collection system; 

(2) the vapor control system; and 

(3) each lane of the loading rack while a gasoline 

cargo tank is being loaded. 

The weekly inspection shall be done using sight, sound, or smell; 

a meter used to measure volatile organic compounds; or an 

explosimeter. An inspection using either a meter used to measure 

volatile organic compounds or an explosimeter shall be conducted 

every month. If no leaks are found, the owner or operator shall 

record the date that the inspection was done and that no leaks were 

found. If a leak is found, the owner or operator shall record the 

information specified in Paragraph (p) of this Rule. The owner or 

operator shall repair all leaks found according to Paragraph (q) of 

this Rule. 

(p)  For each leak found under Paragraph (n) or (o) of this Rule, 

the owner or operator of a bulk gasoline terminal shall record: 

(1) the date of the inspection; 

(2) the findings detailing the location, nature, and 

severity of each leak; 

(3) the corrective action taken; 

(4) the date when corrective action was completed; 

and 

(5) any other information that the terminal deems 

necessary to demonstrate compliance with this 

Rule. 

(q)  The owner or operator of a bulk gasoline terminal shall repair 

all leaks as follows: 

(1) The vapor collection hose that connects to the 

cargo tank shall be repaired or replaced before 

another cargo tank is loaded at that rack after a 

leak has been detected originating with the 

terminal's equipment rather than from the 

gasoline cargo tank. 

(2) All other leaks shall be repaired as 

expeditiously as possible but no later than 15 

days from their detection. If more than 15 days 

are required to make the repair, the reasons that 

the repair cannot be made shall be documented, 

and the leaking equipment shall not be used 

after the fifteenth day from when the leak 

detection was found until the repair is made. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(5); 

Eff. July 1, 1979; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2007; April 1, 2003; August 1, 2002; 

July 1, 1998; July 1, 1996; July 1, 1994; December 1, 1992; 

December 1, 1989; January 1, 1985; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .0928 GASOLINE SERVICE STATIONS 

STAGE I 

(a)  Definitions. For the purpose of this Rule, the following 

definitions apply: 

(1) "Coaxial vapor recovery system" means the 

delivery of the gasoline and recovery of vapors 

occurring through a single coaxial fill tube, 

which is a tube within a tube. Gasoline is 

delivered through the inner tube, and vapor is 

recovered through the annular space between 

the walls of the inner tube and outer tube. 

(2) "Delivery vessel" means cargo tanks used for 

the transport of gasoline from sources of supply 

to stationary storage tanks of gasoline 

dispensing facilities. 

(3) "Dual point vapor recovery system" means the 

delivery of the product to the stationary storage 

tank and the recovery of vapors from the 

stationary storage tank occurring through two 

separate openings in the storage tank and two 

separate hoses between the cargo tank and the 

stationary storage tank. 

(4) "Gasoline" means a petroleum distillate having 

a Reid vapor pressure of four psi or greater. 

(5) "Gasoline dispensing facility" means any site 

where gasoline is dispensed to motor vehicle 

gasoline tanks from stationary storage tanks. 

(6) "Gasoline service station" means any gasoline 

dispensing facility where gasoline is sold to the 

motoring public from stationary storage tanks. 

(7) "Line" means any pipe suitable for transferring 

gasoline. 

(8) "Motor Vehicle" means every vehicle which is 

self-propelled and every vehicle designed to run 

upon the highways which is pulled by a self-

propelled vehicle. This term shall not include 

mopeds or electric assisted bicycles in 

accordance with G.S. 20-4.01. 

(9) "Operator" means any person who leases, 

operates, controls, or supervises a facility at 

which gasoline is dispensed. 

(10) "Owner" means any person who has legal or 

equitable title to the gasoline storage tank at a 

facility. 

(11) "Poppeted vapor recovery adaptor" means a 

vapor recovery adaptor that automatically and 

immediately closes itself when the vapor return 

line is disconnected and maintains a tight seal 

when the vapor return line is not connected. 

(12) "Stationary storage tank" means a gasoline 

storage container that is a permanent fixture. 

(13) "Submerged fill pipe" means any fill pipe with 

a discharge opening that is entirely submerged 

when the pipe normally used to withdraw liquid 

from the tank can no longer withdraw any 

liquid, or that is entirely submerged when the 

level of the liquid is: 

(A) six inches above the bottom of the tank 

if the tank does not have a vapor 

recovery adaptor; or 

(B) 12 inches above the bottom of the tank 

if the tank has a vapor recovery 

adaptor. If the opening of the 

submerged fill pipe is cut at a slant, the 

distance is measured from the top of 

the slanted cut to the bottom of the 

tank. 

(14) "Throughput" means the amount of gasoline 

dispensed at a facility during a calendar month 

after November 15, 1990. 

(b)  Applicability. This Rule applies to all gasoline dispensing 

facilities and gasoline service stations, and to delivery vessels 

delivering gasoline to a gasoline dispensing facility or gasoline 

service station. 

(c)  Exemptions. This Rule does not apply to: 

(1) transfers made to storage tanks at gasoline 

dispensing facilities or gasoline service stations 

equipped with floating roofs or technology that 

achieves equivalent or greater emission 

reductions as a floating roof; 

(2) stationary tanks with a capacity of not more 

than 2,000 gallons that are in place before July 

1, 1979, if the tanks are equipped with a 

permanent or portable submerged fill pipe; 

(3) stationary storage tanks with a capacity of not 

more than 550 gallons that are installed after 

June 30, 1979, if tanks are equipped with a 

permanent or portable submerged fill pipe; 

(4) stationary storage tanks with a capacity of not 

more than 2,000 gallons located on a farm or a 

residence and used to store gasoline for farm 

equipment or residential use if gasoline is 

delivered to the tank through a permanent or 

portable submerged fill pipe. This exemption 

does not apply in ozone non-attainment areas; 

(5) stationary storage tanks at a gasoline dispensing 

facility or gasoline service station where the 

combined annual throughput of gasoline at the 

facility or station does not exceed 50,000 

gallons, if the tanks are permanently equipped 

with submerged fill pipes; or 

(6) any tanks used exclusively to test the fuel 

dispensing meters. 

(d)  With exceptions stated in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, gasoline 

shall not be transferred from any delivery vessel into any 

stationary storage tank unless: 

(1) the tank is equipped with a submerged fill pipe, 

and the vapors displaced from the storage tank 
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during filling are controlled by a vapor control 

system as described in Paragraph (e) of this 

Rule; 

(2) the vapor control system is connected and 

operating with a vapor tight connection, and 

working as designed in accordance with the 

manufacturer's specifications; 

(3) the vapor control system is maintained in 

accordance with the manufacturer's 

specifications and the definition of "good 

operation and maintenance" in 15A NCAC 02D 

.0602, and all damaged or malfunctioning 

components or elements of design are repaired, 

replaced, or modified; 

(4) the gauges, meters, or other specified testing 

devices are maintained in accordance with the 

manufacturer's specifications and the definition 

of "good operation and maintenance" in 15A 

NCAC 02D .0602;  

(5) the delivery vessel and vapor collection system 

comply with 15A NCAC 02D .0932; and 

(6) the following records are kept in accordance 

with 15A NCAC 02D .0903: 

(A) the scheduled date for maintenance or 

the date that a malfunction was 

detected; 

(B) the date the maintenance was 

performed or the malfunction 

corrected; and 

(C) the component or element of design of 

the control system repaired, replaced, 

or modified. 

(e)  The vapor control system required by Paragraph (d) of this 

Rule shall include one or more of the following: 

(1) a vapor-tight line from the storage tank to the 

delivery vessel, and: 

(A) for a coaxial vapor recovery system, 

either a poppeted or unpoppeted vapor 

recovery adaptor; 

(B) for a dual point vapor recovery 

system, a poppeted vapor recovery 

adaptor; or 

(2) a refrigeration-condensation system or 

equivalent system designed to recover at least 

90 percent by weight of the volatile organic 

compounds in the displaced vapor. 

(f)  If an unpoppeted vapor recovery adaptor is used pursuant to 

Part (e)(1)(A) of this Rule, the tank liquid fill connection shall 

remain covered either with a vapor-tight cap or a vapor return line, 

except when the vapor return line is being connected or 

disconnected. 

(g)  If an unpoppeted vapor recovery adaptor is used pursuant to 

Part (e)(1)(A) of this Rule, the unpoppeted vapor recovery adaptor 

shall be replaced with a poppeted vapor recovery adaptor when 

the tank is replaced or is removed and upgraded. 

(h)  Where vapor lines from the storage tanks are manifolded, 

poppeted vapor recovery adapters shall be used. No more than one 

tank is to be loaded at a time if the manifold vapor lines are size 

2.5 inches and smaller. If the manifold vapor lines are 3.0 inches 

and larger, then two tanks at a time may be loaded. 

(i)  Vent lines on tanks with Stage I controls shall have pressure 

release valves or restrictors. 

(j)  The vapor-laden delivery vessel: 

(1) shall be designed and maintained to be vapor-

tight during loading and unloading operations 

and during transport with the exception of 

normal pressure/vacuum venting as required by 

the Department of Transportation; and 

(2) if it is refilled in North Carolina, shall be 

refilled only at: 

(A) bulk gasoline plants complying with 

15A NCAC 02D .0926; or 

(B) bulk gasoline terminals complying 

with 15A NCAC 02D .0927 or .0524. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.107(a)(5); 

Eff. July 1, 1979; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1996; July 1, 1994; March 1, 1991; 

December 1, 1989; January 1, 1985; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .0932 GASOLINE CARGO TANKS 

AND VAPOR COLLECTION SYSTEMS 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Bottom filling" means the filling of a cargo 

tank or stationary storage tank through an 

opening flush with the tank bottom. 

(2) "Bulk gasoline plant" means a gasoline storage 

and distribution facility with an average daily 

throughput of less than 20,000 gallons of 

gasoline and that typically receives gasoline 

from bulk terminals by cargo tank transport, 

stores it in tanks, and subsequently dispenses it 

via account cargo tanks to local farms, 

businesses, and service stations. 

(3) "Bulk gasoline terminal" means: 

(A) a pipeline breakout station of an 

interstate oil pipeline facility; or 

(B) a gasoline storage facility that 

typically receives gasoline from 

refineries primarily by pipeline, ship, 

or barge; delivers gasoline to bulk 

gasoline plants or to commercial or 

retail accounts primarily by cargo 

tank; and has an average daily 

throughput of more than 20,000 

gallons of gasoline. 

(4) "Cargo tank" means the storage vessels of 

freight trucks or trailers used to transport 

gasoline from sources of supply to stationary 

storage tanks of bulk gasoline terminals, bulk 

gasoline plants, gasoline dispensing facilities, 

and gasoline service stations. 
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(5) "Cargo tank testing facility" means any facility 

complying with registration in 49 CFR Part 

107, Subpart F. 

(6) "Cargo tank vapor collection equipment" 

means any piping, hoses, and devices on the 

cargo tank used to collect and route gasoline 

vapors in the tank to or from the bulk gasoline 

terminal, bulk gasoline plant, gasoline 

dispensing facility, or gasoline service station 

vapor control system or vapor balance system. 

(7) "Gasoline" means any petroleum distillate 

having a Reid Vapor Pressure (RVP) of 4.0 psi 

or greater. 

(8) "Gasoline dispensing facility" means any site 

where gasoline is dispensed to motor vehicle 

gasoline tanks from stationary storage tanks. 

For the purposes of this definition, "motor 

vehicle" has the meaning defined in 15A NCAC 

02D .0928, 

(9) "Gasoline service station" means any gasoline 

dispensing facility where gasoline is sold to the 

motoring public from stationary storage tanks. 

(10) "Vapor balance system" means a combination 

of pipes or hoses that create a closed system 

between the vapor spaces of an unloading tank 

and a receiving tank such that vapors displaced 

from the receiving tank are transferred to the 

tank being unloaded. 

(11) "Vapor collection system" means a vapor 

balance system or any other system used to 

collect and control emissions of volatile organic 

compounds. 

(b)  This Rule applies to gasoline cargo tanks that are equipped 

for vapor collection and to vapor control systems at bulk gasoline 

terminals, bulk gasoline plants, gasoline dispensing facilities, and 

gasoline service stations equipped with vapor balance or vapor 

control systems. 

(c)  For cargo tanks, the following requirements shall apply: 

(1) Gasoline cargo tanks and their vapor collection 

systems shall be tested annually by a cargo tank 

testing facility. The facility shall follow the test 

procedure as defined by 15A NCAC 02D .2615 

to certify the gasoline cargo tank leak tight. The 

gasoline cargo tank shall not be used unless it is 

certified leak tight. 

(2) Each gasoline cargo tank that has been certified 

leak tight according to Subparagraph (c)(1) of 

this Rule shall display a sticker near the 

Department of Transportation certification 

plate required by 49 CFR 180.415. 

(3) There shall be no liquid leaks from any gasoline 

cargo tank. 

(4) Any cargo tank with a leak equal to or greater 

than 100 percent of the lower explosive limit, 

as detected by a combustible gas detector using 

the test procedure described in 15A NCAC 02D 

.2615 shall not be used beyond 15 days after the 

leak has been discovered, unless the leak has 

been repaired and the cargo tank has been 

certified to be leak tight according to 

Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule. 

(5) The owner or operator of a gasoline cargo tank 

with a vapor collection system shall maintain 

records of all leak testing and repairs. The 

records shall identify the gasoline cargo tank, 

the date of the test or repair, and, if applicable, 

the type of repair and the date of retest. The 

records of leak tests shall include: 

(A) the name, address, and telephone 

number of cargo tank testing facility 

performing the leak test; 

(B) the name and signature of the 

individual performing the leak test; 

(C) the name and address of the owner of 

the tank; 

(D) the identification number of the tank; 

(E) the documentation of tests performed 

including the date and summary of 

results; 

(F) the continued qualification statement 

and returned to service status; and 

(G) a list or description of identified 

corrective repairs to the tank. If none 

are performed then the report shall 

state "no corrective repairs 

performed." 

(6) A copy of the most recent leak testing report 

shall be kept with the cargo tank. The owner or 

operator of the cargo tank shall also file a copy 

of the most recent leak testing report with each 

bulk gasoline terminal that loads the cargo tank. 

The owner or operator shall maintain records 

for at least two years after the date of the testing 

or repair and make copies of such records 

available to the Director upon written request. 

(d)  For bulk gasoline terminals and bulk gasoline plants equipped 

with vapor balance or vapor control systems, the following 

requirements shall apply: 

(1) The vapor collection system and vapor control 

system shall be designed and operated to 

prevent gauge pressure in the cargo tank from 

exceeding 18 inches of water and to prevent a 

vacuum of greater than six inches of water. 

(2) During loading and unloading operations there 

shall be: 

(A) no vapor leakage from the vapor 

collection system such that a reading 

equal to or greater than 100 percent of 

the lower explosive limit at one inch 

around the perimeter of each potential 

leak source as detected by a 

combustible gas detector using the test 

procedure described in 15A NCAC 

02D .2615; and 

(B) no liquid leaks. 

(3) If a leak is discovered that exceeds the limit in 

Subparagraph (d)(2) of this Rule: 
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(A) For bulk gasoline plants, the vapor 

collection system or vapor control 

system shall not be used beyond 15 

days after the leak has been 

discovered, unless the leak has been 

repaired and the system has been 

retested and found to comply with 

Subparagraph (d)(2) of this Rule; 

(B) For bulk gasoline terminals, the vapor 

collection system or vapor control 

system shall be repaired following the 

procedures in 15A NCAC 02D .0927. 

(4) The owner or operator of a vapor collection 

system at a bulk gasoline plant or a bulk 

gasoline terminal shall test, according to Rule 

15A NCAC 02D .0912, the vapor collection 

system at least once per year. If after two 

complete annual checks no more than 10 leaks 

are found, the Director shall allow less frequent 

monitoring. If more than 20 leaks are found, the 

Director shall require the frequency of 

monitoring be increased. 

(5) The owner or operator of vapor control systems 

at bulk gasoline terminals, bulk gasoline plants, 

gasoline dispensing facilities, and gasoline 

service stations equipped with vapor balance or 

vapor control systems shall maintain records of 

all certification testing and repairs. The records 

shall identify each vapor collection system, or 

vapor control system; the date of the test or 

repair; and, if applicable, the type of repair and 

the date of retest. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1), (a)(4); 143-

215.107; 143-215.66; 

Eff. July 1, 1980; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2008; June 1, 2008; January 1, 2007; 

April 1, 2003; August 1, 2002; July 1, 1994; December 1, 1989; 

January 1, 1985; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .0960 CARGO TANK LEAK TESTER 

REPORT 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(5), (13); 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020; 

Repealed Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .0961 OFFSET LITHOGRAPHIC 

PRINTING AND LETTERPRESS PRINTING 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, the definitions listed in this 

Paragraph and 15A NCAC 02D .0101 and .0902 shall apply. 

(1) "Composite partial vapor pressure" means the 

sum of the partial pressure of the compounds 

defined as volatile organic compounds. Volatile 

organic compounds composite partial vapor 

pressure is calculated as follows: 
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Where: 

Wi = Weight of the "i" volatile organic 

compound, in grams 

Ww = Weight of water, in grams 

Wc = Weight of exempt compound, in grams 

MWi = Molecular weight of the "i" volatile 

organic compound, in g/g-mole 

MWw = Molecular weight of water, in g/g-

mole 

MWc = Molecular weight of exempt 

compound, in g/g-mole 

PPc = Volatile organic compounds composite 

partial vapor pressure at 20 degrees 

Celsius (68 degrees Fahrenheit), in 

mm Hg 

VPi = Vapor pressure of the "i" volatile organic 

compound at 20 degrees Celsius (68 

degrees Fahrenheit), in mm Hg 

(2) "First installation date" means the actual date 

when this control device becomes operational. 

This date does not change if the control device 

is later redirected to a new press. 

(3) "Fountain solution" means water-based 

solution that applies to lithographic plate to 

render the non-image areas unreceptive to the 

ink. 

(4) "Heatset" means any operation in which heat is 

required to evaporate ink oils from the printing 

ink, excluding ultraviolet (UV) curing, electron 

beam curing, and infrared drying. 

(5) "Letterpress printing" means a printing process 

in which the image area is raised relative to the 

non-image area and the paste ink is transferred 

to the substrate directly from the image surface. 

(6) "Non-heatset," also referred to as "coldset," 

means a lithographic printing process where the 

printing inks are set by absorption or oxidation 

of the ink oil, not by evaporation of the ink oils 

in a dryer. For the purposes of this Rule, use of 

an infrared heater or printing conducted using 

ultraviolet-cured or electron beam-cured inks is 

considered non-heatset. 

(7) "Offset lithography" means a printing process 

that uses sheet-fed or web method of press 

feeding and transfers ink from the lithographic 

plate to a rubber-covered intermediate 

"blanket" cylinder and then from the blanket 

cylinder to the substrate. 

(8) "Press" means a printing production assembly 

composed of one or more units used to produce 

a printed substrate including any associated 

coating, spray powder application, heatset web 
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dryer, ultraviolet or electron beam curing units, 

or infrared heating units. 

(9) "Sheet-fed printing" means offset lithographic 

printing when individual sheets of paper or 

other substrate are fed to the press. 

(10) "Web printing" means offset lithographic 

printing when continuous rolls of substrate 

material are fed to the press and rewound or cut 

to size after printing. 

(b)  This Rule applies to any offset lithographic and any letterpress 

printing operations sources that are not covered by 15A NCAC 

02D .0966(c)(1) and whose emissions of volatile organic 

compounds exceed: 

(1) the threshold established in 15A NCAC 02D 

.0902(b) and (f); or 

(2) an equivalent level of three tons per 12-

consecutive month rolling period. 

(c)  Volatile organic compounds content in the fountain solution 

for on-press (as-applied) heatset web offset lithographic printing 

shall meet one of the following requirements or the owner or 

operator may demonstrate a different method that achieves an 

equivalent or greater level of control to those listed in 

Subparagraphs (1) through (3) of this Paragraph, as determined in 

permit conditions: 

(1) contain 1.6 percent alcohol or less, by weight, 

as applied, in the fountain solution: 

(2) contain three percent alcohol or less, by weight, 

on-press (as-applied) in the fountain solution if 

the fountain solution is refrigerated to below 60 

degrees Fahrenheit; or 

(3) contain five percent alcohol substitute or less, 

by weight, on-press (as-applied) and no alcohol 

in the fountain solution. 

(d)  Volatile organic compounds content in the fountain solution 

for on-press (as-applied) sheet-fed lithographic printing shall 

meet one of the following requirements or the owner or operator 

may demonstrate a different method that achieves an equivalent 

or greater level of control to those listed in Subparagraphs (1) 

through (3) of this Paragraph, as determined in permit conditions: 

(1) contain five percent alcohol or less, by weight, 

on-press (as-applied) in the fountain solution; 

(2) contain 8.5 percent alcohol or less, by weight, 

on-press (as-applied) in the fountain solution if 

the fountain solution is refrigerated to below 60 

degrees Fahrenheit; or 

(3) contain five percent alcohol substitute or less, 

by weight, on-press (as-applied) and no alcohol 

in the fountain solution. 

(e)  Volatile organic compounds content in emissions from 

fountain solution from non-heatset web offset lithographic 

printing shall not exceed five percent alcohol substitute (by 

weight) on-press (as-applied) and contain no alcohol in the 

fountain solution. 

(f)  An owner or operator of an individual web offset lithographic 

printing press dryer or letterpress-printing heatset press subject to 

this Rule that has potential emissions of 25 or more tons per year 

of volatile organic compounds shall: 

(1) use an enforceable limitation on potential 

emissions to keep individual heatset press 

below 25 tons per year potential to emit volatile 

organic compounds (petroleum ink oil) 

threshold, which shall be achieved by using 

inks and coatings that contain less than 31.25 

tons per year volatile organic compound 

(petroleum ink oil) where 20 percent retention 

factor of petroleum ink oil applies, or by using 

other methods established by permit conditions; 

or 

(2) use an add-on control system that meets one of 

the following requirements: 

(A) reduces volatile organic compounds 

emissions from each dryer by at least 

90 percent volatile organic 

compounds emissions control 

efficiency established by procedures 

defined in Paragraph (h) of this Rule 

for a control device from heatset 

dryers whose first installation date was 

prior to July 1, 2010, at facilities with 

potential to emit 100 tons or more of 

volatile organic compounds per year; 

(B) reduces volatile organic compounds 

emissions from each dryer by at least 

90 percent volatile organic 

compounds emissions control 

efficiency established by procedures 

defined in Paragraph (h) of this Rule 

for a control device from heatset 

dryers whose first installation date was 

prior to May 1, 2013, at facilities with 

potential to emit less than 100 tons of 

volatile organic compounds per year; 

(C) reduces volatile organic compounds 

emissions from each dryer by at least 

95 percent volatile organic 

compounds emissions control 

efficiency established by procedures 

defined in Paragraph (h) of this Rule 

for a control device from heatset 

dryers whose first installation date was 

on or after July 1, 2010, at facilities 

with potential to emit 100 tons or more 

of volatile organic compounds per 

year; 

(D) reduces volatile organic compounds 

emissions from each dryer by at least 

95 percent volatile organic 

compounds emissions control 

efficiency established by procedures 

defined in Paragraph (h) of this Rule 

for a control device from heatset 

dryers whose first installation date was 

on or after May 1, 2013, at facilities 

with potential to emit less than 100 

tons of volatile organic compounds 

per year; or 

(E) maintains a maximum volatile organic 

compounds outlet concentration of 20 
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parts per million by volume (ppmv), as 

hexane (C6H14) on a dry basis. 

(g)  The control limits established in: 

(1) Paragraphs (c), (d), and (e) of this Rule shall not 

be applied to any press with total fountain 

solution reservoir of less than one gallon; 

(2) Paragraph (d) of this Rule shall not be applied 

to sheet-fed presses with maximum sheet size 

11x 17 inches or smaller; and 

(3) Subparagraph (f)(2) of this Rule shall not be 

applied to a heatset press used for book 

printing, or to a heatset press with maximum 

web width of 22 inches or less. 

(h)  If the owner or operator of a printing press is required by 

permit conditions to determine: 

(1) the volatile organic compounds content, 

Method 24 of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60 or 

approved alternative methods pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02D .2602(h) shall be used; and 

(2) the control efficiency by measuring volatile 

organic compounds at the control device inlet 

and outlet, Methods 18, 25, or 25A of Appendix 

A to 40 CFR Part 60, or approved alternative 

methods pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .2602(h) 

shall be used. 

(i)  All test methods defined in Paragraph (h) of this Rule shall be 

conducted at typical operating conditions and flow rates using the 

same day-to-day production prior to the test to ensure that the test 

results are representative of routine operations. 

(j)  The owner or operator of any facility subject to this Rule shall 

demonstrate compliance with RACT applicability requirements 

by calculating volatile organic compounds emissions and keep 

records of the basis of the calculations required by 15A NCAC 

02D .0605 and .0903. Volatile organic compounds emissions 

from offset lithographic printing and letterpress printing shall be 

determined by permit condition requirements or by using the 

following retention and capture efficiency factors: 

(1) the retention factors are: 

(A) 20 percent for heatset petroleum ink 

oils; 

(B) 100 percent for heatset vegetable ink 

oils; 

(C) 95 percent for sheet-fed and coldset 

web petroleum ink oils; and 

(D) 100 percent for sheet-fed and coldset 

web vegetable ink oils. 

(2) the retention factor is 50 percent for low volatile 

organic compounds composite vapor pressure 

cleaning materials in shop towels where: 

(A) volatile organic compounds composite 

vapor pressure of the cleaning material 

is less than 10 mm Hg at 20 degrees 

Celsius; and 

(B) cleaning materials and used shop 

towels are kept in closed containers. 

(3) carryover (capture) factors of volatile organic 

compounds from automatic blanket wash and 

fountain solution to offset lithographic heatset 

dryers are: 

(A) 40 percent VOC carryover (capture) 

factor for automatic blanket washing 

when the volatile organic compounds 

composite vapor pressure of the 

cleaning material is less than 10mm 

Hg at 20 degrees Celsius. 

(B) 70 percent VOC carryover (capture) 

factor for alcohol substitutes in 

fountain solution. 

(4) capture efficiency for volatile organic 

compounds (petroleum ink oils) from oil-based 

paste inks and oil-based paste varnishes 

(coatings) in heatset web offset lithographic 

presses and heatset web letterpress presses shall 

be demonstrated by showing that the dryer is 

operating at negative pressure relative to the 

surrounding pressroom. As long as the dryer is 

operated at negative pressure, the capture 

efficiency for VOC from the heatset 

lithographic inks and varnishes (coatings) 

formulated with low volatility ink oils is 100 

percent of the VOC (ink oils) volatilized in the 

dryer. Capture efficiency test is not required in 

this situation. 

(k)  Except as specified in this Paragraph, all cleaning materials 

used for cleaning a press, press parts, or to remove dried ink from 

areas around the press shall meet one of the following 

requirements: 

(1) the volatile organic compounds content shall be 

less than 70 percent by weight; or 

(2) composite partial vapor pressure of volatile 

organic compounds shall be less than 10 mm 

Hg at 20 degrees Celsius. 

No more than 110 gallons per year of cleaning materials that do 

not meet the requirements of Subparagraph (k)(1) or (k)(2) of this 

Rule shall be used during any 12 consecutive months. 

(l)  The owner or operator of any facility subject to this Rule shall 

maintain the following records for a minimum of five years: 

(1) parametric monitoring for processes and 

control devices as determined and at the 

frequency specified in the permit or by 

Paragraph (f) of this Rule; 

(2) the total amount of each individual or class of 

fountain solution and ink used monthly for the 

printing operations and the percentage of 

volatile organic compounds, alcohol, and 

alcohol substitute as applied in it; 

(3) the total amount of each individual or class of 

cleaning solutions used monthly with vapor 

pressure and the percentage of volatile organic 

compounds as applied in it; 

(4) the total amount of cleaning solutions used 

monthly with the vapor pressure and the 

percentage of volatile organic compounds as 

applied not meeting the vapor pressure or 

percentage of volatile organic compounds as 

required in Paragraph (k) of this Rule; 
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(5) the temperature of fountain solutions for 

lithographic printing presses using alcohol at 

the frequency specified in the permit; and 

(6) any other parameters required by the permit in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 02D .0605 and 

.0903. 

(m)  The owner or operator of any source subject to this Rule shall 

comply with 15A NCAC 02D .0903 and .0958. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1), (a)(4); 143-

215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5); 

Eff. September 1, 2010; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .0964 MISCELLANEOUS 

INDUSTRIAL ADHESIVES 

(a)  For the purpose of this Rule, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Air-assisted airless spray" means a system that 

consists of an airless spray gun with a 

compressed air jet at the gun tip to atomize the 

adhesive. 

(2) "Airless spray" means the application using a 

pump forcing an adhesive through an atomizing 

nozzle at high pressure of 1,000 to 6,000 

pounds per square inch. 

(3) "Application process" means a process that 

consists of a series of one or more adhesive 

applicators and any associated drying area or 

oven where an adhesive is applied, dried, and 

cured. 

(4) "Dip coating" means application where 

substrates are dipped into a tank containing the 

adhesive. The substrates are then withdrawn 

from the tank and any excess adhesive is 

allowed to drain. 

(5) "Electrocoating" means a specialized form of 

dip coating where opposite electric charges are 

applied to the waterborne adhesive and the 

substrate. 

(6) "Electrostatic spray" means application where 

the adhesive and substrate are oppositely 

charged. 

(7) "Flow coating" means conveying the substrate 

over an enclosed sink where the adhesive is 

applied at low pressure as the item passes under 

a series of nozzles. 

(8) "HVLP" means a system with specialized 

nozzles that provides better air and fluid flow 

than conventional air atomized spray systems at 

low air pressure, shape spray pattern, and 

guides high volumes of atomized adhesive 

particles to the substrate using lower air 

pressure of 10 pounds per square inch or less at 

the spray cap. 

(9) "Miscellaneous industrial adhesives" means 

adhesives, including adhesive primers used in 

conjunction with certain types of adhesives, 

used at industrial manufacturing and repair 

facilities for a wide variety of products and 

equipment that operate adhesives application 

processes. 

(10) "Roll coating," "brush coating," and "hand 

application" means application of high 

viscosity adhesives onto small surface areas. 

(b)  Control of volatile organic compounds emissions from 

miscellaneous industrial adhesives product categories covered by 

15A NCAC 02D .0923, .0935, .0961, .0962, .0963, .0965, .0966, 

.0967, and .0968 are exempted from the requirements of this Rule. 

(c)  This Rule applies to miscellaneous industrial adhesive 

application sources whose volatile organic compounds emissions 

meet the threshold established in 15A NCAC 02D .0902(b). 

(d)  With the exception established in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, 

all volatile organic compounds containing materials applied by 

each miscellaneous industrial adhesive application processes 

before control shall: 

(1) not exceed limits established in Tables 1, 2, and 

3 of this Rule; and 

(2) be used in one of the following application 

methods in conjunction with using low volatile 

organic compounds adhesives or adhesive 

primers: 

(A) electrostatic spray; 

(B) HVLP spray; 

(C) flow coat; 

(D) roll coat or hand application, including 

non-spray application methods similar 

to hand or mechanically powered 

caulking gun, brush, or direct hand 

application; 

(H) any other adhesive application method 

capable of achieving a transfer 

efficiency equivalent to or better than 

that achieved by HVLP spraying. 

(e)  Emission limits established in Subparagraph (d)(1) of this 

Rule shall be: 

(f)  If an adhesive is used to bond dissimilar substrates together in 

a general adhesive application process as set forth in Tables 1, 2, 

or 3, then the applicable substrate category with the highest 

volatile organic compounds emission limit shall be established as 

the limit for such application. 

(1) met by calculating the arithmetic mean of the 

volatile organic compounds content of 

materials used on a single application unit for 

each day; and 

(2) calculated as mass of volatile organic 

compounds per volume of adhesive primer, 

excluding water and exempt compounds, as 

applied. 
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Table 1. Volatile Organic Compounds Emission Limits for General Adhesive Application Processes.  

General Adhesive Application Processes VOC Emission Limit (lb/gal) 

Reinforced Plastic Composite  1.7 

Flexible vinyl  2.1 

Metal  0.3 

Porous Material (Except Wood)  1 

Rubber  2.1 

Wood  0.3 

Other Substrates  2.1 

 

Table 2. Volatile Organic Compounds Emission Limits for Specialty Adhesive Application Processes. 

Specialty Adhesive Application Processes  VOC Emission Limit (lb/gal) 

Ceramic Tile Installation  1.1 

Contact Adhesive  2.1 

Cove Base Installation  1.3 

Floor Covering Installation (Indoor)  1.3 

Floor Covering Installation (Outdoor)  2.1 

Floor Covering Installation (Perimeter Bonded Sheet Vinyl) 5.5 

Metal to Urethane/Rubber Molding or Casting  7.1 

Motor Vehicle Adhesive  2.1 

Motor Vehicle Weatherstrip Adhesive  6.3 

Multipurpose Construction  1.7 

Plastic Solvent Welding (ABS) 3.3 

Plastic Solvent Welding (Except ABS)  4.2 

Sheet Rubber Lining Installation  7.1 

Single-Ply Roof Membrane Installation/Repair (Except EPDM)  2.1 

Structural Glazing  0.8 

Thin Metal Laminating  6.5 

Tire Repair  0.8 

Waterproof Resorcinol Glue  1.4 

 

Table 3. Volatile Organic Compounds Emission Limits for Adhesive Primer Application Processes. 

Adhesive Primer Application Processes  VOC Emission Limit (lb/gal) 

Motor Vehicle Glass Bonding Primer  7.5 

Plastic Solvent Welding Adhesive Primer  5.4 

Single-Ply Roof Membrane Adhesive Primer  2.1 

Other Adhesive Primer  2.1 

 

(g)  Any miscellaneous industrial adhesive application process 

subject to this Rule, which chooses to use add-on control for 

adhesive application processes rather than to comply with the 

emission limits established in Paragraph (d) of this Rule, shall 

install control equipment with overall control efficiency of 85 

percent or use a combination of adhesives and add-on control 

equipment on an application process to meet limits established in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(h)  EPA Method 24 or 25A of Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 60 

shall be used to determine the volatile organic compounds content 

of adhesives, other than reactive adhesives, as defined in 40 CFR 

63.3981, and the procedure established in Appendix A of the 

NESHAP for surface coating of plastic parts (40 CFR Part 63, 

Subpart PPPP) shall be used to determine the volatile organic 

compounds content of reactive adhesives unless the facility 

maintains records to document the volatile organic compounds 

content of adhesives from the manufacturer. 

(i)  The owner or operator of any facility subject to this Rule shall 

comply with 15A NCAC 02D .0903 and .0958. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(5); 

Eff. September 1, 2010; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 
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15A NCAC 02D .1403 COMPLIANCE SCHEDULES 

(a)  Applicability. This Rule applies to sources regulated by 15A 

NCAC 02D .1402(d), (e), (f), or (g). 

(b)  Maintenance area and Charlotte ozone nonattainment area 

contingency plan. The owner or operator of a source subject to 

this Rule because of the applicability of 15A NCAC 02D 

.1402(d), (e), (f), or (g) shall adhere to the following increments 

of progress and schedules: 

(1) If compliance with this Section is to be 

achieved through a demonstration to certify 

compliance without source modification: 

(A) The owner or operator shall notify the 

Director in writing within six months 

after the Director's notice in the North 

Carolina Register that the source is in 

compliance with the applicable 

limitation or standard; 

(B) The owner or operator shall perform 

any required testing, pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02D .1415, within 12 months 

after the Director's notice in the North 

Carolina Register to demonstrate 

compliance with the applicable 

limitation; and 

(C) The owner or operator shall 

implement any required 

recordkeeping and reporting 

requirements pursuant to 15A NCAC 

02D .1404, within 12 months after the 

Director's notice in the North Carolina 

Register to demonstrate compliance 

with the applicable limitation. 

(2) If compliance with this Section is to be 

achieved through the installation of combustion 

modification technology or other source 

modification: 

(A) The owner or operator shall submit a 

permit application pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02Q and a compliance 

schedule within six months after the 

Director's notice in the North Carolina 

Register. 

(B) The compliance schedule shall contain 

the following increments of progress: 

(i) a date by which contracts for 

installation of the 

modification shall be 

awarded or orders shall be 

issued for purchase of 

component parts; 

(ii) a date by which installation 

of the modification shall 

begin; 

(iii) a date by which installation 

of the modification shall be 

completed; and 

(iv) if the source is subject to a 

limitation in a permit, a date 

by which compliance testing 

shall be completed. 

(C) Final compliance shall be achieved 

within three years after the Director's 

notice in the North Carolina Register 

unless the owner or operator of the 

source petitions the Director for an 

alternative limitation pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02D .1412. If a petition has 

been submitted and approved, final 

compliance shall be achieved within 

four years after the Director's notice in 

the North Carolina Register. 

(3) If compliance with this Section is to be 

achieved through the implementation of an 

emissions averaging plan pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02D .1410; 

(A) The owner or operator shall abide by 

the applicable requirements of 

Subparagraphs (b)(1) or (b)(2) of this 

Rule for certification or modification 

of each source to be included under the 

averaging plan. 

(B) The owner or operator shall submit a 

plan to implement an emissions 

averaging plan pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02D .1410 within six months 

after the Director's notice in the North 

Carolina Register. 

(C) Final compliance shall be achieved 

within one year after the Director's 

notice in the North Carolina Register 

unless implementation of the 

emissions averaging plan requires the 

modification of one or more of the 

averaging sources. If modification of 

one or more of the averaging sources 

is required, final compliance shall be 

achieved within three years. 

(4) If compliance with this Section is to be 

achieved through the implementation of a 

seasonal fuel switching program pursuant to 

15A NCAC 02D .1411: 

(A) The owner or operator shall make all 

necessary modifications according to 

Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule. 

(B) The owner or operator shall include a 

plan for complying with the 

requirements of 15A NCAC 02D 

.1411 with the permit application 

required in Part (b)(2)(A) of this Rule. 

(C) Final compliance shall be achieved 

within three years after the Director's 

notice in the North Carolina Register. 

(5) Increments of progress certification. The owner 

or operator shall certify to the Director, within 

five days after each increment deadline of 

progress in this Paragraph, whether the required 

increment of progress has been met. 
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(c)  Nonattainment areas. The owner or operator of a source 

subject to this Rule because of the applicability of 15A NCAC 

02D .1402(d), shall adhere to the following: 

(1) If compliance with this Section is to be 

achieved through a demonstration to certify 

compliance without source modification: 

(A) The owner or operator shall notify the 

Director in writing by August 1, 2007; 

(B) The owner or operator shall perform 

any required testing, according to 15A 

NCAC 02D .1415, by January 1, 2008; 

and 

(C) The owner or operator shall 

implement any required 

recordkeeping and reporting 

requirements, according to 15A 

NCAC 02D .1404, by January 1, 2008. 

(2) If compliance with this Section is to be 

achieved through the installation of combustion 

modification technology or other source 

modification: 

(A) The owner or operator shall submit a 

permit application and a compliance 

schedule by August 1, 2007. 

(B) The compliance schedule shall contain 

a date by which contracts for 

installation of the modification shall 

be awarded or orders shall be issued 

for purchase of component parts. 

(C) The compliance schedule shall contain 

a date by which installation of the 

modification shall begin. 

(D) The compliance schedule shall contain 

a date by which installation of the 

modification shall be completed. 

(E) If the source is subject to a limitation, 

the compliance schedule shall contain, 

a date by which compliance testing 

shall be completed. 

(F) Final compliance shall be achieved no 

later than April 1, 2009. 

(3) If compliance with this Section is to be 

achieved through the implementation of an 

emissions averaging plan as provided for in 

15A NCAC 02D .1410: 

(A) The owner or operator shall abide by 

the applicable requirements of 

Subparagraphs (c)(1) or (c)(2) of this 

Rule for certification or modification 

of each source to be included under the 

averaging plan. 

(B) The owner or operator shall submit a 

plan to implement an emissions 

averaging plan according to 15A 

NCAC 02D .1410 by August 1, 2007. 

(C) Final compliance shall be achieved 

within one year no later than January 

1, 2008. 

(4) If compliance with this Section is to be 

achieved through the implementation of a 

seasonal fuel switching program as provided for 

in 15A NCAC 02D .1411: 

(A) The owner or operator shall make all 

necessary modifications according to 

Subparagraph (c)(2) of this Rule. 

(B) The owner or operator shall include a 

plan for complying with the 

requirements of 15A NCAC 02D 

.1411 with the permit application 

required in Part (c)(2)(A) of this Rule. 

(C) Final compliance shall be achieved no 

later than April 1, 2009. 

(5) Increments of progress certification. The owner 

or operator shall certify to the Director, within 

five days after the deadline for each increment 

of progress in this Paragraph, whether the 

required increment of progress has been met. 

(d)  Sources already in compliance. 

(1) Maintenance area and Charlotte ozone 

nonattainment area contingency plan. 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall not apply to 

sources that: 

(A) are in compliance with the applicable 

rules of this Section when the Director 

notices in the North Carolina Register 

the implementation of rules that 

resolves a violation of the ambient air 

quality standard for ozone; and 

(B) have determined and certified 

compliance to the Director within six 

months after the Director notices in the 

North Carolina Register the 

implementation of rules that resolves a 

violation of the ambient air quality 

standard for ozone. 

(2) Nonattainment areas. Paragraph (c) of this Rule 

shall not apply to sources in an area named in 

15A NCAC 02D .1402(d) that are in 

compliance with applicable rules of this Section 

on March 1, 2007. 

(e)  New sources. 

(1) Maintenance area and Charlotte ozone 

nonattainment area contingency plan. The 

owner or operator of any new source of nitrogen 

oxides not permitted before the date the 

Director notices in the North Carolina Register 

according to 15A NCAC 02D .1402(e), (f), or 

(g) shall comply with all applicable rules in this 

Section upon start-up of the source. The owner 

or operator of any new source covered by 15A 

NCAC 02D .1407, .1408, .1409, .1413, or .1418 

shall comply with all applicable rules in this 

Section upon start-up of the source. 

(2) Nonattainment areas. The owner or operator of 

any new source of nitrogen oxides not 

permitted before March 1, 2007 in an area 

identified in 15A NCAC 02D .1402(d) shall 
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comply with all applicable rules in this Section 

upon start-up of the source. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 

143.215.107(a)(5); 143.215.107(a)(7); 143.215.107(a)(10); 

Eff. April 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2007; March 1, 2007; July 18, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1708 REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The owner or operator of an existing MSW landfill subject to 

this Rule according to 15A NCAC 02D .1702 shall submit a 

design capacity report to the Director as follows: 

(1) The initial design capacity report shall be 

submitted no later than 90 days after the 

effective date of the EPA approval of the State 

Plan pursuant to Section 111(d) of the Clean Air 

Act. 

(2) The initial design capacity report shall contain 

the information given in 40 CFR 60.38f(a)(1) 

and 40 CFR 60.38f(a)(2). 

(b)  The owner or operator of an existing MSW landfill subject to 

this Section shall submit an amended design capacity report 

providing notification of an increase in the design capacity of the 

landfill, within 90 days of an increase in the maximum design 

capacity of the landfill to meet or exceed 2.5 million megagrams 

and 2.5 million cubic meters. An increase in design capacity may 

result from an increase in the permitted volume of the landfill or 

an increase in the density as documented in the annual 

recalculation required in 15A NCAC 02D .1709(j). 

(c)  The owner or operator of an existing MSW landfill subject to 

this Rule shall submit a NMOC emission rate report to the 

Director no later than 90 days after the effective date of EPA 

approval of the State plan pursuant to Section 111(d) of the Clean 

Air Act and annually thereafter, except as provided for in 40 CFR 

60.38f(c). The NMOC emission rate report shall: 

(1) contain an annual or five-year estimate of the 

NMOC emission rate calculated using the 

formula and procedures provided in 40 CFR 

60.35f(a) or (b), as applicable; 

(2) include all the data, calculations, sample 

reports, and measurements used to estimate the 

annual or five-year emissions; and 

(3) if the estimated NMOC emission rate as 

reported in the annual report is less than 34 

megagrams per year in each of the next five 

consecutive years, the owner or operator may 

elect to submit an estimate of the NMOC 

emission rate for the next five-year period in 

lieu of the annual report. This estimate shall 

include the current amount of solid waste-in-

place and the estimate waste acceptance rate for 

each year of the five years for which an NMOC 

emission rate is estimated. All data and 

calculations shall be provided. This estimate 

shall be revised at least once every five years. If 

the actual waste acceptance rate exceeds the 

estimated waste acceptance rate in any year 

reported in the five-year estimate, a revised 

five-year estimate shall be submitted. The 

revised estimate shall cover the five-year period 

beginning with the year in which the actual 

waste acceptance rate exceeded the estimated 

waste acceptance rate. 

Each owner and operator subject to the requirements of this Rule 

shall be exempted from the requirements to submit an NMOC 

emission rate report, after installing a compliant collection and 

control system, during such time as the collection and control 

system is in operation and in compliance with 15A NCAC 02D 

.1705 and .1706. 

(d)  The owner or operator of an existing MSW landfill subject to 

15A NCAC 02D .1703(b) shall submit a collection and control 

system design plan to the Director within one year of the first 

NMOC emission rate report, required under Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule, in which the emission rate equals or exceeds 34 megagrams 

per year, except as provided for in 40 CFR 60.38f(d)(4)(i), 

60.38f(d)(4)(ii), and 60.38f(d)(4)(iii). The collection and control 

system design plan shall include: 

(1) a description of the collection and control 

system; 

(2) a description of any alternatives to the 

operational standards, test methods, 

procedures, compliance measures, monitoring, 

recordkeeping, or reporting provisions 

provided in this Rule; and 

(3) a description indicating how the plan conforms 

to specifications for active collection systems or 

a demonstration of sufficient alternative 

provisions as given in 40 CFR 60.40f. 

(e)  The owner or operator of an existing MSW landfill who 

previously submitted a design plan pursuant to Paragraph (d) of 

this Rule, pursuant to 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart WWW, or a State 

plan implementing 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart Cc, shall submit a 

revised design plan that includes the information in 

Subparagraphs (d)(1) through (d)(3) of this Rule as follows: 

(1) at least 90 days before expanding operations to 

an area not covered by the previously approved 

design plan; and 

(2) prior to installing or expanding the gas 

collection system in a way that is not consistent 

with the design plan that was submitted to the 

Director in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(f)  The owner or operator of a controlled MSW landfill shall 

submit a closure report meeting the requirements of 40 CFR 

258.60 to the Director within 30 days of cessation of waste 

acceptance. If a closure report has been submitted to the Director, 

no additional waste shall be placed into the landfill without first 

filing a notification of modification as described pursuant to 40 

CFR 60.7(a)(4). The Director may request such additional 

information to verify that permanent closure of the MSW landfill 

has taken place pursuant to the requirements of 40 CFR 258.60. 

(g)  The owner or operator of a controlled MSW landfill shall 

submit an equipment removal report 30 days prior to removal or 
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cessation of operation of the control equipment according to 15A 

NCAC 02D .1703(f). The report shall contain the items listed in 

40 CFR 60.38f(g). The Director may request such additional 

information to verify that all the conditions for removal in 40 CFR 

60.33f(f) have been met. 

(h)  The owner or operator of a MSW landfill seeking to comply 

with 15A NCAC 02D .1703(b) using an active collection system 

designed in accordance with 40 CFR 60.33f(b) shall submit, 

following the procedures pursuant to 40 CFR 60.38f(j)(2), annual 

reports of the recorded information in 40 CFR 60.38f(h)(1) 

through (h)(7). The initial annual report shall be submitted within 

180 days of installation and start-up of the collection and control 

system, and shall include the initial performance test report 

required under 40 CFR 60.8. The initial performance test report 

shall be submitted by following the procedures pursuant to 40 

CFR 60.38f(j)(1). Each owner or operator that chooses to comply 

with the operational provisions of 40 CFR 63.1958, 63.1960, and 

63.1961, as allowed by 15A NCAC 02D .1705, .1706, and .1707 

shall follow the semi-annual reporting requirements in 40 CFR 

63.1981(h) in lieu of this Paragraph. 

(i)  The owner or operator of an existing MSW landfill required 

to comply with 15A NCAC 02D .1703(b) shall include the 

information given in 40 CFR 60.38f(i)(1) through (i)(6) with the 

initial performance test report required pursuant to 40 CFR 60.8. 

(j)  The owner or operator of an existing MSW landfill shall 

submit a report within 60 days after the date of completing each 

performance test pursuant to 40 CFR 60.38f(j). 

(k)  The owner or operator of an existing MSW landfill required 

to implement corrective action, shall submit reports to the 

Director pursuant to 40 CFR 60.38f(k)(1) and (k)(2). Each owner 

or operator that chooses to comply with the operational provisions 

of 40 CFR 63.1958, 63.1960, and 63.1961, as allowed by 15A 

NCAC 02D .1705, .1706, and .1707 shall follow the corrective 

action and the corresponding timeline reporting requirements in 

40 CFR 63.1981(j) in lieu of this Paragraph. 

(l)  The owner or operator of an affected MSW landfill with a 

design capacity equal to or greater than 2.5 million megagrams 

and 2.5 million cubic meters that has employed leachate 

recirculation or added liquids based on a Research, Development, 

and Demonstration permit within the last 10 years shall submit an 

annual report to the Director that includes the information 

pursuant to 40 CFR 60.38f(l)(1) through (l)(10). The annual report 

shall be submitted by following the procedures pursuant to 40 

CFR 60.38f(j)(2). 

(m)  The owner or operator of an affected MSW landfill with a 

design capacity equal to or greater than 2.5 million megagrams 

and 2.5 million cubic meters that intends to demonstrate site-

specific surface methane emissions are below 500 parts per 

million methane, based on Tier 4 provisions of 40 CFR 

60.35f(a)(6), shall provide notifications to the Director in 

accordance with 40 CFR 60.38f(m)(1) and (m)(2). 

(n)  Each owner or operator that chooses to comply with the 

operational provisions of 40 CFR 63.1958, 63.1960, and 63.1961, 

as allowed by 15A NCAC 02D .1705, .1706, and .1707, shall 

submit the 24-hour high temperature report according to 40 CFR 

63.1981(k). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 

143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5); 143-215.107(a)(10); 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0102 ACTIVITIES EXEMPTED FROM 

PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, the definitions listed in 15A 

NCAC 02D .0101 and 15A NCAC 02Q .0103 shall apply. 

(b)  This Rule shall not apply to: 

(1) facilities whose potential emissions require a 

permit pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0500 (Title 

V Procedures); or 

(2) a source emitting a pollutant that is part of the 

facility's 15A NCAC 02D .1100 (Control of 

Toxic Air Pollutants) modeling demonstration 

if that source is not exempted pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0702. 

(c)  The owner or operator of an activity exempt from permitting 

pursuant to this Rule shall not be exempt from demonstrating 

compliance with any other applicable State or federal 

requirement. 

(d)  Any facility whose actual emissions of particulate matter 

(PM10), sulfur dioxide, nitrogen oxides, volatile organic 

compounds, carbon monoxide, hazardous air pollutants, and toxic 

air pollutants are each less than five tons per year and whose 

actual total aggregate emissions are less than 10 tons per year shall 

not be required to obtain a permit pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0300. This Paragraph shall not apply to synthetic minor facilities 

that are regulated pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0315. 

(e)  Any facility that is not exempted from permitting pursuant to 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule and whose actual total aggregate 

emissions of particulate matter (PM10), sulfur dioxide, nitrogen 

oxides, volatile organic compounds, carbon monoxide, hazardous 

air pollutants, and toxic air pollutants are greater than or equal to 

five tons per year and less than 25 tons per year may register their 

facility pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .0202 instead of obtaining a 

permit pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0300. This Paragraph shall 

not apply to: 

(1) synthetic minor facilities that are regulated 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0315; 

(2) facilities with a source subject to maximum 

achievable control technology pursuant to 40 

CFR Part 63; 

(3) facilities with sources of volatile organic 

compounds or nitrogen oxides that are located 

in a nonattainment area; or 

(4) facilities with a source regulated pursuant to 

New Source Performance Standards (NSPS), 

unless the source is exempted pursuant to 

Paragraph (g) or (h) of this Rule. 

(f)  The Director may require the owner or operator of a facility to 

register such facility pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .0200 or obtain 

a permit pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0300, if necessary to obtain 

compliance with any other applicable State or federal 

requirement. 

(g)  The following activities shall not require a permit or permit 

modification pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0300: 
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(1) maintenance, upkeep, and replacement: 

(A) maintenance, structural changes, or 

repair activities that do not increase 

the capacity of such process and do not 

cause any change in the quality or 

nature or an increase in quantity of an 

emission of any regulated air 

pollutant; 

(B) housekeeping activities or building 

maintenance procedures, including 

painting buildings, paving parking 

lots, resurfacing floors, repairing 

roofs, washing, using portable vacuum 

cleaners, sweeping, using and 

associated storing of janitorial 

products, or removing insulation; 

(C) using office supplies, supplies to 

maintain copying equipment, or 

blueprint machines; 

(D) using firefighting equipment 

(excluding engines regulated pursuant 

to 40 CFR 63, Subpart ZZZZ); or 

(E) replacing existing equipment with 

equipment of the same size (or 

smaller), type, and function that does 

not result in an increase to the actual 

or potential emission of regulated air 

pollutants, does not affect the facility's 

compliance with any other applicable 

State or federal requirements, and that 

fits the description of the existing 

equipment in the permit, including the 

application, such that the replacement 

equipment can be lawfully operated 

pursuant to that permit without 

modifying the permit; 

(2) air conditioning or ventilation: comfort air 

conditioning or comfort ventilating systems 

that do not transport, remove, or exhaust 

regulated air pollutants to the atmosphere; 

(3) laboratory or classroom activities: 

(A) bench-scale, on-site equipment used 

for experimentation, chemical or 

physical analysis for quality control 

purposes or for diagnosis of illness, 

training, or instructional purposes; 

(B) research and development activities 

that produce no commercial product or 

feedstock material; or 

(C) educational activities, including wood 

working, welding, and automotive 

repair; 

(4) storage tanks with no applicable requirements 

other than Stage I controls pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02D .0928, Gasoline Service Stations 

Stage I; 

(5) combustion and heat transfer equipment: 

(A) heating units used for human comfort, 

excluding space heaters burning used 

oil, that have a heat input of less than 

10 million Btu per hour and that do not 

provide heat for any manufacturing or 

other industrial process; 

(B) residential wood stoves, heaters, or 

fireplaces; or 

(C) water heaters that are used for 

domestic purposes only and are not 

used to heat process water; 

(6) wastewater treatment processes: industrial 

wastewater treatment processes or municipal 

wastewater treatment processes for which there 

are no State or federal air requirements; 

(7) dispensing equipment: equipment used solely 

to dispense gasoline, diesel fuel, kerosene, 

lubricants, or cooling oils; 

(8) electric motor burn-out ovens with secondary 

combustion chambers or afterburners; 

(9) electric motor bake-on ovens; 

(10) burn-off ovens with afterburners for paint-line 

hangers; 

(11) hosiery knitting machines and associated lint 

screens, hosiery dryers and associated lint 

screens, and hosiery dyeing processes that do 

not use bleach or solvent dyes; 

(12) woodworking operations processing only green 

wood; 

(13) solid waste landfills: This exemption does not 

apply to flares and other sources of combustion 

at solid waste landfills. These flares and other 

combustion sources shall obtain a permit 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0300 unless they 

qualify for another exemption pursuant to this 

Paragraph; or 

(14) miscellaneous: 

(A) equipment that does not emit any 

regulated air pollutants; 

(B) sources for which there are no 

applicable requirements; 

(C) motor vehicles, aircraft, marine 

vessels, locomotives, tractors, or other 

self-propelled vehicles with internal 

combustion engines; 

(D) engines regulated pursuant to Title II 

of the Federal Clean Air Act 

(Emission Standards for Moving 

Sources); 

(E) equipment used for preparing food for 

direct on-site human consumption; 

(F) a source whose emissions are 

regulated only pursuant to Section 

112(r) or Title VI of the Federal Clean 

Air Act; 

(G) exit gases from in-line process 

analyzers; 

(H) stacks and vents that prevent the 

escape of sewer gases from domestic 

waste through plumbing traps; 
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(I) refrigeration equipment that complies 

with the regulations set forth in 

Sections 601 through 618 of Title VI 

(Stratospheric Ozone Protection) of 

the Federal Clean Air Act, 40 CFR 

Part 82, and any other regulations 

promulgated by EPA pursuant to Title 

VI for stratospheric ozone protection, 

except refrigeration equipment used as 

or in conjunction with air pollution 

control equipment. Refrigeration 

equipment used as or in conjunction 

with air pollution control equipment 

shall obtain a permit pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0300 unless it qualifies 

for another exemption pursuant to this 

Paragraph; 

(J) equipment not vented to the outdoor 

atmosphere, with the exception of 

equipment that emits volatile organic 

compounds. Equipment that emits 

volatile organic compounds shall 

obtain a permit pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0300 unless it qualifies 

for another exemption pursuant to this 

Paragraph; 

(K) animal operations not required to have 

control technology pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02D .1800. If an animal 

operation is required to have control 

technology, it shall obtain a permit 

pursuant to this Subchapter; 

(L) any incinerator that meets the 

requirements set forth in 15A NCAC 

02D .1201(c)(4); or 

(M) dry cleaning operations, regardless of 

NSPS or NESHAP applicability. 

(h)  The following activities shall not require a permit or permit 

modification pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0300. These activities 

shall be included in determining applicability of any rule or 

standard that requires facility-wide aggregation of source 

emissions, including activities regulated by 15A NCAC 02D 

.0530, 15A NCAC 02D .0531, 15A NCAC 02Q .0500, and 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0700: 

(1) combustion and heat transfer equipment 

(including direct-fired equipment that only emit 

regulated pollutants from fuel combustion): 

(A) fuel combustion equipment (excluding 

internal combustion engines) not 

regulated pursuant to 40 CFR Part 60, 

NSPS, firing exclusively 

unadulterated liquid fossil fuel, wood, 

or an approved equivalent 

unadulterated fuel as defined in 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0103; 

(B) fuel combustion equipment (excluding 

internal combustion engines) firing 

exclusively natural gas or liquefied 

petroleum gas or a mixture of these 

fuels; or 

(C) space heaters burning waste oil if: 

(i) the heater burns only oil that 

the owner or operator 

generates or used oil from 

do-it-yourself oil changers 

who generate used oil as 

household wastes; and 

(ii) the heater is designed to have 

a maximum heat input of not 

more than 500,000 Btu per 

hour; 

(2) gasoline distribution: bulk gasoline plants, as 

defined in 15A NCAC 02D .0926(a)(3), with an 

average daily throughput of less than 4,000 

gallons; 

(3) paint spray booths or graphic arts operations, 

coating operations, and solvent cleaning 

operations, as defined in 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0803, located at a facility whose facility-wide 

actual uncontrolled emissions of volatile 

organic compounds are less than five tons per 

year, except that such emission sources whose 

actual uncontrolled emissions of volatile 

organic compounds are less than 100 pounds 

per year shall qualify for this exemption 

regardless of the facility-wide emissions. For 

the purpose of this exemption, water wash and 

filters that are an integral part of the paint spray 

booth shall not be considered air pollution 

control devices; 

(4) electrostatic dry powder coating operations 

with filters or powder recovery systems; 

(5) miscellaneous: any source whose potential 

uncontrolled emissions of particulate matter 

(PM10), sulfur dioxide, nitrogen oxides, 

volatile organic compounds, and carbon 

monoxide shall each be no more than five tons 

per year; or 

(6) case-by-case exemption: activities that the 

applicant demonstrates to the Director do not 

violate any applicable emission control 

standard. 

(i)  Upon request of the Director, the owner or operator of a 

facility or source claiming that an activity is exempt under 

Paragraphs (d), (e), (g) or (h) of this Rule shall submit emissions 

data, documentation of equipment type, or other supporting 

documents demonstrating the facility or source is qualified for 

that exemption. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1), (4), (5); 143-

215.106; 143-215.107(a)(4); 143-215.107D; 143-215.108; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. March 8, 1994 for a period of 180 days 

or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; July 1, 1998; July 1, 1997; November 

1, 1996; 
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Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. June 13, 2016; May 1, 2013; January 1, 2009; July 

1, 2007; June 29, 2006; July 18, 2002; July 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0706 MODIFICATIONS 

(a)  The owner or operator shall comply with Paragraphs (b) and 

(c) of this Rule for a modification that is subject to a Rule in 15A 

NCAC 02D other than a Rule in 15A NCAC 02D .1100 and that: 

(1) requires a permit pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0300 or .0500; or 

(2) occurs at a facility with a permit pursuant to 

15A NCAC 02Q .0500 and emits a pollutant 

that is part of the facility's previous modeling 

demonstration conducted pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02D .1104 and 15A NCAC 02Q .0709, 

if that modification is not exempted pursuant to 

15A NCAC 02Q .0702. 

This Rule shall not apply to facilities whose emissions of toxic air 

pollutants result only from insignificant activities, as defined in 

15A NCAC 02Q .0103(20), or result only from sources exempted 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0102. 

(b)  The owner or operator of the facility shall submit a permit 

application that complies with 15A NCAC 02D .1100 if the 

modification results in: 

(1) a net increase in emissions or ambient 

concentration as previously determined 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .1106 and 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0709 of any toxic air pollutant that 

the facility was emitting before the 

modification; or 

(2) emissions of any toxic air pollutant that the 

facility was not emitting before the 

modification if such emissions exceed the 

levels set forth in 15A NCAC 02Q .0711. 

(c)  The permit application filed pursuant to this Rule shall include 

an evaluation for all toxic air pollutants identified pursuant to 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(d)  All sources at the facility, excluding sources exempt pursuant 

to 15A NCAC 02Q .0702, emitting these toxic air pollutants shall 

be included in the evaluation of toxic air pollutants required by 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule. Sources meeting the exemption set 

forth in 15A NCAC 02Q .0702(a)(27) shall be reviewed by the 

Division pursuant to G.S. 143-215.107(a)(5)b. 

(e)  If a source is included in an air toxic evaluation pursuant to 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule but is not the source that is being added 

or modified at the facility, and if the emissions from this source 

must be reduced in order for the facility to comply with the rules 

in this Section and 15A NCAC 02D .1100, the emissions from this 

source shall be reduced by the time the new or modified source 

begins operating such that the facility shall be in compliance with 

the rules of this Section and 15A NCAC 02D .1100. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107; 

143-215.108; 143B-282; 

Rule originally codified as part of 15A NCAC 2H .0610; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2014; July 10, 2010; December 1, 2005; 

April 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 10A .0401 FORM AND CONTENTS OF 

PETITION 

(a)  A written petition requesting rulemaking shall be sent to the 

Executive Director of the Wildlife Resources Commission at 

1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1700 for U.S. 

Postal Service delivery or 1751 Varsity Drive, Raleigh, NC 

27606-2576 for other delivery services or in person and must 

contain: 

(1) the name and address of the petitioner; 

(2) the name and address of the person, group, or 

organization, if any, on behalf of which the 

petition is made, together with the 

representative capacity of the petitioner; 

(3) the citation to the rule sought to be amended or 

repealed; 

(4) suggested language for the rule sought to be 

adopted or amended and a statement of its 

desired effect; and 

(5) the signature of the petitioner. 

(b)  In addition to the information required by Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule, the petition may contain expression of reasons in 

support or arguments in favor of the regulatory action proposed, 

and tables, charts, maps, publications, photographs, or other 

supporting materials that the petitioner deems pertinent to the 

proposal by way of exhibits or attachments. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 150B-20; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; July 1, 1993; April 15, 1979; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 10A .0402 ACTION ON PETITION 

(a)  Upon receipt, the Executive Director, or his or her designee, 

shall stamp the petition with the date of receipt which shall 

constitute the date of submission. The petition shall then be 

referred to the Commission for its consideration. 

(b)  Within three business days of receipt, the proposed text and 

statement of effect of the petition shall be forwarded to the Office 

of Administrative Hearings as required by G.S. 150B-20. 

(c)  Within 120 days following submission of the petition 

requesting rulemaking, the Commission shall: 

(1) deny the petition in writing, stating the reason 

or reasons for such denial; or 

(2) initiate rulemaking proceedings in accordance 

with G.S. 150B-20. 

(d)  The Commission shall notify the person who submitted the 

petition of the action taken. Denial of a petition requesting 

rulemaking shall be sent to the petitioner at the address therein 

indicated by registered mail, "return receipt requested." 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 150B-20; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 
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Amended Eff. July 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 10A .1101 WAIVER 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-274; 150B-19(6); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. May 21, 2003; 

Temporary Adoption Expired March 12, 2004; 

Eff. November 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2006; 

Repealed Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

15A NCAC 10A .1201 EMERGENCY POWERS 

(a)  Upon determination by the Commission that a wildlife disease 

threatens irreparable injury to wildlife or to the public, the 

Executive Director shall develop an emergency response plan in 

consultation with the Commission, Governor's office and the State 

Veterinarian prescribing one or more of the following actions: 

(1) shorten or lengthen harvest seasons; 

(2) prohibit transport of wildlife resources or parts 

thereof; 

(3) prohibit possession of wildlife resources; 

(4) confiscate wildlife resources; 

(5) revoke licenses or permits; 

(6) expand or restrict daily bag limits, daily creel 

limits, and possession limits; 

(7) establish mandatory wildlife check stations; 

(8) restrict public access to game lands; 

(9) require prepayment of outside testing costs by 

persons who desire disease testing of their 

harvested wildlife resource when such testing is 

not essential to the objectives of the plan; 

(10) prohibit supplemental feeding or baiting of 

wildlife; 

(11) prohibit other activities that aid in the 

transmission or movement of the disease as 

determined by the best available science 

regarding the disease threat; 

(12) implement other activities necessary to reduce 

infection opportunities; and 

(13) implement other requirements necessary to 

assist in the detection and isolation of the 

disease. 

(b)  The Commission shall inform the public of the 

implementation of emergency powers and actions in the response 

plan through press releases, postings on the Wildlife Commission 

website and social media, emails to representatives of sportsmen's 

groups or other constituents likely to be directly affected, and 

employee outreach. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-306(f); 

Eff. March 1, 2011; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

 

TITLE 16 – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0601 REMOTE ACADEMIES 

HARDWARE AND SOFTWARE FEES 

(a)  Definitions: 

(1) "Damage fee" means "any mandatory payment 

that a local school administrative unit charges a 

student enrolled in a remote academy for injury 

to, abuse of, or loss of hardware or software that 

the local school administrative unit has 

provided to the student other than degradation 

arising from normal use, wear and tear, 

provided the payments cannot exceed the actual 

cost of repair or fair market value of the 

hardware or software, whichever is less." 

(2) "Rental fee" means "any mandatory payment 

that a local school administrative unit requires 

students enrolled in remote academies to make 

before the local school administrative unit will 

give a student access to or possession of any 

hardware and software needed to participate in 

the remote academy." 

(b)  Local administrative units shall not charge students enrolled 

in remote academies rental fees for use of hardware or software 

needed to participate in the remote academy but may charge them 

damage fees. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-234.10(b)(1); 

Eff. November 1, 2023. 

 

 

TITLE 17 - DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 

 

17 NCAC 07B .0104 REGISTRATION AND RETURNS 

(a)  Certificate of Registration: 

(1) Before a person engages in business as a 

retailer, wholesale merchant, or facilitator 

liable for sales or use tax, the person shall 

obtain a Certificate of Registration from the 

Department. A Certificate of Registration 

contains the sales and use tax account 

identification number (Account ID). There is no 

fee to obtain a Certificate of Registration. 

(2) A person engaged in business that does not pay 

the required North Carolina sales or use tax on 

an item, as the term item is defined in G.S. 105-

164.3, to a seller or facilitator at the time of 

purchase shall pay use tax in accordance with 

G.S. 105-164.6 on the purchase price of the 

item. A person required to pay use tax on its 

purchases shall register with the Department to 

obtain a Certificate of Registration. 

(3) A person may apply for a Certificate of 

Registration by: 

(A) Registering through the Department's 

website at www.ncdor.gov; 

(B) Register online through the 

Streamlined Sales Tax Registration 

System (SSTRS) at 

https://www.streamlinedsalestax.org; 

or 
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(C) Calling the Department at telephone 

number 1-877-252-3052 to request a 

registration form, and submitting the 

completed registration by mail to the 

Department's mailing address set out 

in 17 NCAC 01A .0101. 

(4) Information needed to obtain a Certificate of 

Registration includes the following: 

(A) Ownership information, including 

North Carolina Secretary of State's 

business identification number, if 

applicable. 

(B) Federal Employer Identification 

Number (FEIN) or Social Security 

Number for proprietorships. 

(C) Legal business name, owner's name, 

physical and mailing address of the 

business, all trade names, and daytime 

telephone number. 

(D) Responsible person demographics, if 

applicable, including name, title, 

Social Security Number, and home 

address. 

(E) Date when sales or purchases will 

begin. 

(F) Whether sales will be retail, 

wholesale, or both. 

(G) Description of business. 

(H) The types of items and services that 

will be sold by the business. 

(I) Estimate of monthly sales tax. 

(J) Type of accounting method that will 

be used whether cash or accrual. 

(K) Months sales will be made, if seasonal. 

(b)  Returns: 

(1) Returns General. -- G.S. 105-164.16 establishes 

the filing frequency and the content of sales and 

use tax returns. All sales and use tax returns 

may be obtained from the Department's website 

at www.ncdor.gov or by calling the Department 

at telephone number 1-877-252-3052, and shall 

contain the information required by 17 NCAC 

01C .0622.  

(2) Schedules. -- A person who files a paper sales 

and use tax return, that is liable for local county 

tax sourced to a taxing jurisdiction in this State 

other than the county where the business is 

located or in more than one county, shall attach 

Form E-536, Schedule of County Sales and Use 

Taxes, to the return listing the amount of tax 

due for each taxing jurisdiction. 

(c)  No Sales or Purchases By Business. -- A person required to 

file a sales and use tax return that has no sales or purchases during 

a reporting period shall file a return for that period and enter zero 

(0.00) as the total tax due on the return.  

(d)  Seasonal Business. -- A person that engages in business for 

six or fewer consecutive months in each year may register with 

the Department as a seasonal filer and indicate the months in 

which the person engages in business. A person that is registered 

as a seasonal filer is not required to file a return for an off-season 

reporting period in which the retailer did not engage in business. 

(e)  Wholesale Merchant. -- A person who engages exclusively in 

the business of making wholesale sales shall register with the 

Department, but is not required to file a return. A wholesale 

merchant that makes taxable sales or that makes purchases on 

which it owes use tax is not engaged exclusively in the business 

of making wholesale sales and shall file sales and use tax returns 

and pay the tax due.  

(f)  Use Tax: 

(1) General. -- A business or individual that 

purchases an item sourced to this State, other 

than a boat or aircraft, shall accrue and remit the 

use tax due on the purchase price of the item in 

accordance with G.S. 105-164.6 when retailers, 

remote sellers, or facilitators do not collect the 

applicable tax on taxable transactions. 

(2) Business Use Tax. -- A business shall report 

and remit use tax on a sales and use tax return. 

(3) Individual Use Tax. An individual required to 

file a North Carolina individual income tax 

return, shall report the use tax liability of 

taxable items, other than a boat, an aircraft, and 

food subject to the two percent rate of tax, on 

the individual's income tax return. An 

individual not required to file a North Carolina 

individual income tax return shall report the use 

tax liability on taxable items, other than a boat 

or aircraft, on Form E-554, Consumer Use Tax 

Return. Form E-554 is due annually by the date 

set in G.S. 105-164.16. 

(4) Form E-554 shall include the following 

information: 

(A) name of filer, spouse's name, if 

applicable, address, and phone 

number; 

(B) Social Security Number of filer, and 

Social Security Number of filer's 

spouse, if applicable; 

(C) beginning and ending dates for the 

period the return is filed; 

(D) total amount of purchases subject to 

use tax at each applicable tax rate, 

including purchases of food subject to 

the two percent food rate; 

(E) total tax at each applicable tax rate; 

(F) any credit for sales and use tax paid to 

another state; 

(G) tax due before any penalty and 

interest; 

(H) any penalty or interest due; 

(I) total tax due; and 

(J) signature, title, contact telephone 

number of filer, and date return is 

signed. 

(5) Any individual who purchases food subject to 

the two percent food rate of sales and use tax 

shall report the tax on Form E-554, Consumer 

Use Tax Return. 
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(6) Any individual who purchases a boat or aircraft 

shall report the tax on Form E-555, Boat and 

Aircraft Use Tax Return. 

(7) Form E-555 shall include the following 

information: 

(A) name of filer, address, and telephone 

number; 

(B) Social Security Number or Federal 

Employer Identification Number 

(FEIN) of filer; 

(C) beginning and ending dates for the 

period the return is filed; 

(D) boat registration or document number 

and total amount of purchase, if 

applicable; 

(E) aircraft serial number and total amount 

of purchase, if applicable; 

(F) total tax at each applicable tax rate; 

(G) any credit for sales and use tax paid to 

another state; 

(H) tax due before any penalty and 

interest; 

(I) any penalty or interest due; 

(J) total tax due; and 

(K) signature, title, contact telephone 

number of filer, and date return is 

signed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-164.3; 105-164.4; 105-

164.4B; 105-164.6; 105-164.13B; 105-164.16; 105-164.29; 105-

164.42C; 105-164.42K; 105-262; 105-264; 105-467; 105-468; 

105-469; 105-483; 105-498; 105-507.2; 105-509.1; 105-510.1; 

105-511.3; 105-537; 105-538; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2006; August 1, 2002; July 1, 2000; July 1, 

1999; August 1, 1998; 

October 1, 1993; October 1, 1991; October 1, 1990; April 1, 

1986; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2024. 

 

17 NCAC 07B .0106 CERTIFICATES OF 

EXEMPTION: SALES FOR RESALE 

(a)  For a person to purchase an item, as the term item is defined 

in G.S. 105-164.3, for resale exempt from sales and use tax 

pursuant to G.S. 105-164.13(5), the person shall provide each 

seller the information required by G.S. 105-164.28(a) on a paper 

certificate or electronically. The information required includes: 

(1) the purchaser's name; 

(2) the purchaser's address; 

(3) the purchaser's certificate of registration 

number which shall be a North Carolina 

certificate of registration number, another 

state's sales and use tax registration number, or 

a Streamlined Sales Tax ID; 

(4) the reason for the exemption; 

(5) the type of business; and 

(6) if submitted by paper, including fax, the 

purchaser's signature and date signed. 

A purchaser shall retain in their records the certificates or 

electronic information submitted to sellers and an invoice or other 

statement of the purchase price of any items purchased. 

(b)  A seller's failure to keep records that establish a sale is exempt 

from sales and use tax subjects the seller to liability for the tax at 

the rates applicable to the retail sale of the item. To establish a 

sale is exempt from tax, sellers shall retain in their records the 

certificates or electronic information submitted by the purchaser, 

and records that identify the item purchased, the sales price of the 

item, and the purchaser of the item. 

(c)  A person that misuses a certificate of exemption, including 

information provided electronically for purposes of obtaining an 

exemption, is subject to penalties set out in G.S. 105-236. The 

penalty for misuse of an exemption certificate applies to each 

seller identified by the Department from which the person made a 

taxable purchase. The misuse of an exemption certificate is 

grounds for the Secretary to revoke a person's certificate of 

registration for sales and use taxes. Misuse occurs when a person 

makes a taxable purchase and furnishes the information described 

in Paragraph (a) of this Rule to a seller and the seller does not 

charge sales tax on the basis that the sale is a "wholesale sale" as 

defined in G.S. 105-164.3.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-164.3; 105-164.4; 105-

164.6; 105-164.22; 105-164.28; 105-164.29; 105-236; 105-262; 

105-264; 105-467; 105-468; 105-469; 105-483; 105-498; 105-

507.2; 105-509.1; 105-510.1; 105-511.3; 105-537; 105-538; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2006; October 1, 1993; February 1, 1988; 

May 11, 1979; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2024. 

 

17 NCAC 07B .0108 TRADE DISCOUNTS AND CASH 

DISCOUNTS 

(a)  Trade and Bargaining Discounts. -- A trade discount is a 

reduction in the price a seller charges that is extended to a 

particular purchaser or group of purchasers without reservation at 

the time the sale is being negotiated. A bargaining discount is a 

reduction in the price a seller charges that is extended to a 

purchaser at the time the sale is being negotiated as a result of 

bargaining between the purchaser and the seller. The sales price 

of an item, as the term item is defined in G.S. 105-164.3, does not 

include a trade discount or bargaining discount that is not 

reimbursed by a third party. 

(b)  Cash and Terms Discounts. -- A cash or terms discount is a 

reduction in the price a seller charges that is extended to the 

purchaser for prompt payment of an invoice. The sales price of an 

item does not include a cash or terms discount that is not 

reimbursed by a third party.  

(c)  Trade-ins and Over-allowance. -- The amount of a trade-in, 

including an over-allowance, which is the difference between the 

trade-in amount and the actual cash value of the trade-in, taken by 

a purchaser as a credit or partial payment on the sale of an item is 

not a reduction in the sales price of the item. The trade-in is 

consideration given towards the purchase of the item. Any 

applicable sales or use tax shall be computed and paid on the sales 

price of the item without any deduction for a trade-in. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 105-164.3; 105-164.4; 105-

164.6; 105-262; 105-264; 

Eff. February 1, 1976. 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2024. 

 

17 NCAC 07B .0112 OCCASIONAL AND ISOLATED 

SALES 

(a)  An occasional and isolated sale occurs when the seller sells 

an item, as the term item is defined in G.S. 105-164.3, that is not 

of, or similar to, the type of item that the seller is engaged in the 

business of selling. For example, a person selling a personally 

owned bicycle is not making an occasional and isolated sale if the 

person operates a bicycle store. Occasional and isolated sales do 

not include sales of items by a facilitator liable for collecting and 

remitting tax on the sale. 

(b)  Household items. -- Owners making occasional and isolated 

sales of household items, on which the sales or use tax due was 

paid at the time of the initial purchase by the owner, are not 

required to collect and remit sales or use tax on the sale. For 

example, an individual making an occasional and isolated sale of 

a personally owned boat, is not required to collect and remit sales 

or use tax on the sale of the boat. 

(c)  Business items. -- Businesses making occasional and isolated 

sales of items owned by the business, upon which the sales or use 

tax due was paid at the time of the initial purchase by the business, 

are not required to collect and remit sales or use tax on the sale. 

For example, a manufacturer's occasional and isolated sale of its 

worn out, obsolete, or surplus machinery, accessories, and similar 

items is not subject to sales tax, as long as the manufacturer is not 

engaged in the business of making retail or wholesale sales of 

similar property. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-164.3; 105-164.4; 105-

164.6; 105-262; 105-264; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2024. 

 

17 NCAC 07B .0117 PROPERTY TRANSFERS 

BETWEEN DIVISIONS 

A business entity having divisions, both inside and outside of 

North Carolina, is liable for remitting the rates of sales and use 

tax on any purchases of items, as the term item is defined in G.S. 

105-164.3, for use in North Carolina, including any property 

purchased outside North Carolina and imported into North 

Carolina for use in this State. An item received by the purchaser 

or on behalf of the purchaser in this State is subject to sales and 

use tax no matter that the item is designated for ultimate use 

outside this State. No tax is due on transfers of property by an 

out-of-state firm to its North Carolina divisions for their use if the 

property was originally purchased for use outside this State by the 

out-of-state firm and was, in fact, used by that firm outside this 

State for a substantial period of time of at least 12 months. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-164.4; 105-164.6; 105-262; 

105-264; 105-467; 105-468; 105-469; 105-483; 105-498; 105-

507.2; 105-509.1; 105-510.1; 105-511.3; 105-537; 105-538; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1997; October 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2024. 

 

17 NCAC 07B .0121 BANKRUPT'S LIABILITY 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-164.4; 105-164.6; 105-262; 

105-264; 11 U.S.C. 532; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2024. 

 

17 NCAC 07B .0801 MANUFACTURER'S 

WARRANTY AND DEALER'S WARRANTY; 

ADJUSTMENTS AND REPLACEMENTS 

(a)  Manufacturer's Warranty: 

(1) Exempt Purchases. -- Purchases by a 

manufacturer of a replacement item, a repair 

part, or repair, maintenance, and installation 

services to maintain or repair tangible personal 

property or a motor vehicle pursuant to a 

manufacturer's warranty, as the term is defined 

in G.S. 105-164.13(62a), are exempt from sales 

and use tax if the manufacturer provides the 

seller a Certificate of Exemption or required 

data elements in accordance with 17 NCAC 

07B .0106. This exemption also applies when 

the manufacturer contracts with a dealer or 

another person to make the repairs on behalf of 

the manufacturer pursuant to a manufacturer's 

warranty and that dealer or person purchases 

the replacement item, repair part, or repair, 

maintenance, and installation services. 

(2) Tax Due On Repair Charges. -- If the 

manufacturer does not charge the purchaser of 

the property being repaired for the replacement 

item, repair parts, or any repair, maintenance, 

and installation services, no sales or use tax is 

due on the cost of the replacement item, parts, 

or services. If the manufacturer charges the 

purchaser of the property being repaired for the 

replacement item, repair parts, or any repair, 

maintenance, and installation services, sales 

and use tax is due on the sales price of the item, 

parts, or services.  

(b)  Dealer's Warranty: 

(1) Exempt Purchases. -- Purchases by a dealer of 

a replacement item, a repair part, or repair, 

maintenance, and installation services to 

maintain or repair tangible personal property or 

a motor vehicle pursuant to a dealer's warranty, 

as the term is defined in G.S. 105-164.13(62a), 

are exempt from sales and use tax if the dealer 

provides the seller a Certificate of Exemption or 

required data elements in accordance with 17 

NCAC 07B .0106. This exemption also applies 

when the dealer contracts with another person 

to make the repairs on behalf of the dealer 

pursuant to a dealer's warranty and that person 

purchases the replacement item, repair part, or 

repair, maintenance, and installation services. 
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(2) Tax Due On Repair Charges. -- If the dealer 

does not charge the purchaser of the property 

being repaired for the replacement item, repair 

parts, or any repair, maintenance, and 

installation services, no sales or use tax is due 

on the cost of the replacement item, parts, or 

services. If the dealer charges the purchaser of 

the property being repaired for the replacement 

item, repair parts, or any repair, maintenance, 

and installation services, sales and use tax is 

due on the sales price of the item, parts, or 

services.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-164.4; 105-164.6; 105-

164.13; 105-262; 105-264; 105-467; 105-468; 105-469; 105-

483; 105-498; 105-507.2; 105-509.1; 105-510.1; 105-511.3; 

105-537; 105-538; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2006; October 1, 1993; October 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2024. 

 

17 NCAC 07B .4204 GOVERNMENT 

AGRICULTURAL OFFICES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-164.13; 105-262; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2024. 

 

17 NCAC 07B .4716 TYPESETTING 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-164.3; 105-164.4; 

105-164.6; 105-262; Article 39; Article 40; Article 42; Article 43; 

Article 44; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2006; October 1, 1993; October 1, 1991; 

October 1, 1990; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2024. 

 

17 NCAC 07B .4802 ACCRUAL BASIS 

(a)  A person that elects to report and pay tax on the accrual basis 

pursuant to 17 NCAC 07B .4801, or is required to report on the 

accrual basis pursuant to G.S. 105-164.20, shall keep records that 

disclose a separate accounting of taxable and nontaxable sales. 

(b)  The person shall pay tax on the total sales price of all taxable 

items, as the term item is defined in G.S. 105-164.3, sold during 

the period covered by the sales and use tax return as required by 

G.S. 105-164.16, whether or not such sales are cash, credit, 

installment, or conditional sales, and whether or not the person 

retains the installment and conditional sales contracts or sells or 

assigns them to others and without regard to any finance reserve 

withheld on finance paper sold or assigned to others. 

(c)  Interest, financing, and carrying charges from credit extended 

under conditional sales contracts providing for deferred payment 

are not subject to tax if the charges are separately stated on the 

invoice or similar billing document given to the purchaser at the 

time of sale and maintained in the person's records of sales. 

(d)  Bad Debts. Pursuant to G.S. 105-164.13, bad debts that meet 

the requirements of G.S. 105-164.13(15) may be deducted from 

gross taxable sales, during corresponding periods, if the person 

maintains records disclosing separately the amount of bad debts 

representing taxable sales and the amount representing nontaxable 

sales. A person shall make the deduction for sales and use tax 

purposes within three years of charging off an account for income 

tax purposes. A person who is not required to file income tax 

returns may deduct a bad debt on a return filed for the period in 

which the bad debt is charged off in its books and records as 

uncollectible and would otherwise be eligible for a bad debt 

deduction for income tax purposes if the person were required to 

file income tax returns. In this instance, the person shall make the 

deduction for sales and use tax purposes within three years of the 

date the account is recognized and finally expensed as a bad debt 

in its books and records. A person that does not deduct a bad debt 

within the time allowed shall not make any deduction for the bad 

debt. If a deduction is taken for a bad debt and the debt is 

subsequently collected, in whole or in part, the tax on the amount 

of debt collected must be paid and reported on the sales and use 

tax return filed for the period in which the collection occurs. For 

purposes of reporting collection of the bad debt subsequent to 

having charged off and deducted such bad debt, any payments on 

the debt shall be applied first proportionally to the taxable price 

of the item and sales tax thereon, and secondly to interest, services 

charges, and any other charges. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-164.3; 105-164.13; 105-

164.20; 105-164.22; 105-262; 105-264; 105-467; 105-468; 105-

469; 105-483; 105-498; 105-507.2; 105-509.1; 105-510.1; 105-

511.3; 105-537; 105-538; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2024. 

 

17 NCAC 07B .4803 CASH BASIS 

(a)  A person making taxable and nontaxable sales that elects to 

report and pay tax on the cash basis, and is not required to report 

on the accrual basis pursuant to G.S. 105-164.20, shall keep 

records that disclose a separate accounting of taxable and 

nontaxable sales. 

(b)  The person shall pay tax on the total sales price of all taxable 

items, as the term item is defined in G.S. 105-164.3, sold during 

the period covered by the sales and use tax return as required by 

G.S. 105-164.16. 

(c)  Sales upon which tax is due include cash, credit, installment, 

or conditional sales, and on any portion of the sales price collected 

or constructively received during the return period. 

(d)  Interest, financing, and carrying charges from credit extended 

under conditional sales contracts providing for deferred payment 

of the purchase price are not subject to the tax if such charges are 

separately stated on the invoice or similar billing document given 

to the purchaser at the time of sale and maintained in the person's 

records of sales. 

(e)  A person that sells or assigns the finance paper on conditional, 

installment, or other deferred payment sales is deemed to have 

received the full balance of consideration for the sale of an item 

and shall remit tax on the total sales price of the item at the close 

of the period when the finance paper was assigned or sold 

including any finance reserve withheld on the finance paper.  

(f)  A person filing their sales and use tax returns on the cash basis 

of accounting that sells their accounts receivable shall remit tax 

on their taxable accounts receivable balance outstanding at the 
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time they sell the accounts even though the accounts may be sold 

at a discount to the purchaser. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-164.3; 105-164.20; 

105-164.22; 105-262; 105-264; 105-467; 105-468; 105-469; 

105-483; 105-498; 105-507.2; 105-509.1; 105-510.1; 105-511.3; 

105-537; 105-538; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2024. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 42 – BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN 

OPTOMETRY 

 

21 NCAC 42B .0201 BEGINNING PRACTICE; 

RELOCATING PRACTICE 

Prior to beginning practice, a licensee shall notify the Board in 

writing as to the full and complete mailing address, including the 

street address, of his or her office and the telephone number of 

such office. Prior to relocating an office, the licensee involved 

shall notify the Board in writing of his or her new office address 

and telephone number. The address so identified shall constitute 

his or her primary practice address and the address to which all 

information pertaining to his or her licensure shall be addressed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-117.5; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. May 30, 1978; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1993; June 1, 1989; September 30, 1981; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 23, 2015; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2023. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission December 14, 2023 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comments on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  

Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Barbara A. Jackson (1st Vice-Chair) 

Jay R. Hemphill Randy Overton (2nd Vice-Chair) 
Jeff Hyde Wayne R. Boyles, III 

Brandon Leebrick Jake Parker 
Bill Nelson Paul Powell 

 
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Brian Liebman  984-236-1948 
William W. Peaslee 984-236-1939 
Seth M. Ascher  984-236-1934 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

December 14, 2023 
2024 Meeting Dates to be Determined at December 2023 Meeting 

 

AGENDA 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

Thursday, December 14, 2023, 9:00 A.M. 
1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 
Approval of the minutes from the last meeting  

II. Follow-up matters 
A. Child Care Commission - 10A NCAC 09 .0102, .0601, .1707, .1725, .2204, .2206, .2209, .2611, .2612, 

.2613, .2614, .2615, .2616 (Ascher) 
B. Coastal Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 07H .0208, .0308; 07M .0603 (Liebman) 
C. Department of Revenue - 17 NCAC 07B .1202, .1303, .1404, .1601, .1605, .1705, .2001, .2002, .2204, 

.3101, .4109 (Ascher) 
D. Department of Revenue - 17 NCAC 07B .4201, .4202, .4203, .4206, .4210, .4404, .4415, .4503, .4510, 

.4609, .4614, .4701, .4707, .4708, .4801, .5001, .5002, .5004 (Peaslee) 
E. Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners 21 NCAC 14T .0402, .0404 (Peaslee) 
F. Board of Examiners in Optometry - 21 NCAC 42D .0102 (Peaslee) 
G. Building Code Council - 2024 North Carolina Existing Building Code, Section 101.2 of the 2024 North 

Carolina Building Code, Section 101.2 of the 2024 North Carolina Existing Building Code, Section 803.2.1.2 
of the 2024 North Carolina Existing Building Code, Section 102.13 of the 2024 North Carolina Fire Code, 
and Section 5706.5.4.5 of the 2024 North Carolina Fire Code (Liebman) 

III. Review of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between October 21, 2023 through November 20, 2023 

• Department of Administration (Peaslee) 

• Medical Care Commission (Peaslee) 

• DHHS - Division of Health Service Regulation (Ascher) 

• Commission For Mental Health/ DD/SAS (Ascher) 

• Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission (Peaslee) 

• Department of Labor (Liebman) 

• Department of Public Safety (Peaslee) 

• Private Protective Services Board (Liebman) 

• Coastal Resources Commission (Liebman) 

• Wildlife Resources Commission (Ascher) 
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• Department of the Secretary of State 18 NCAC 07B (Liebman) 

• Department of the Secretary of State 18 NCAC 07F (Ascher) 

• Department of the Secretary of State 18 NCAC 07I, 07K (Liebman) 

• Board of Chiropractic Examiners (Peaslee) 

• Board of Nursing (Peaslee) 

• Board of Examiners in Optometry (Peaslee) 

• Building Code Council (Liebman) 
IV. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting 
V. Existing Rules Review  

• Review of Reports 
1. 15A NCAC 05A - Mining Commission (Ascher) 
2. 15A NCAC 05B - Mining Commission (Ascher) 
3. 15A NCAC 05F - Mining Commission (Ascher) 
4. 15A NCAC 05G - Mining Commission (Ascher) 

VI. Commission Business 

• Review of 2024 RRC meeting dates 
 

 
Commission Review 

Log of Permanent Rule Filings 
October 21, 2023 through November 20, 2023 

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION 

The rules in Chapter 6 are rules dealing with State Property and Construction.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 6B rules relate to real property including general provisions (.0100); acquisition of real property 
(.0200); disposition of real property (.0300); easements to fill (.0500); other easements over water (.0600); assessments 
against lands owned by the state (.0700); and relocation and financial assistance (.0800). 

Leases at State Fairgrounds and WNC AG Center 
Adopt* 

 01  NCAC  06B  .0307  

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 13F concern licensing of homes for the aged and infirm and include definitions (.0100); licensing 
(.0200); physical plant (.0300); staff qualification (.0400); staff orientation training, competency and continuing education 
(.0500); staffing (.0600); admission and discharge (.0700); resident assessment and care plan (.0800); resident care 
and services (.0900); medication (.1000); Resident's funds and refunds (.1100); policies; records and reports (.1200); 
special care units for alzheimer and related disorders (.1300); special care units for mental health disorders (.1400); use 
of physical restraints and alternatives (.1500); rated certificates (.1600); administrator certification and renewal (.1700); 
and infection prevention and control (.1800). 

Tuberculosis Test, Medical Examination and Immunizations 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A  NCAC  13F  .0703  

Resident Contract, Information on Facility, and Resident  
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A  NCAC  13F  .0704  

Authorized Representative 
Amend* 

 10A  NCAC  13F  .1103  

Accounting for Resident's Personal Funds 
Amend* 

 10A  NCAC  13F  .1104  

Settlement of Cost of Care 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A  NCAC  13F  .1106  

The rules in Subchapter 13G concern licensing of family care homes including definitions (.0100); licensing (.0200); the 
building (.0300); staff qualifications (.0400); staffing orientation, training, competency and continuing education (.0500); 
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staffing of the home (.0600); admission and discharge (.0700); resident assessment and care plan (.0800); resident 
care and services (.0900); medications (.1000); management and resident's funds and refunds (.1100); policies, records 
and reports (.1200); use of physical restraints and alternatives (.1300); rated certificates (.1600); and infection 
prevention and control (.1700).. 

Tuberculosis Test and Medical Examination, and Immunizations 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A  NCAC  13G  .0702  

Resident Register 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A  NCAC  13G  .0703  

Resident Contract, Information on Facility, and Resident R... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A  NCAC  13G  .0704  

Authorized Representative 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A  NCAC  13G  .1102  

Accounting for Resident's Personal Funds 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A  NCAC  13G  .1103  

Settlement of Cost of Care 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A  NCAC  13G  .1106  

HHS - HEALTH SERVICE REGULATION, DIVISION OF 

The rules in Chapter 14 concern services provided by the Division of Health Service Regulation.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 14C are Certificate of Need regulations including general provisions (.0100); applications and 
review process (.0200); exemptions (.0300); appeal process (.0400); enforcement and sanctions (.0500); and criteria 
and standards for nursing facility or adult care home services (.1100), intensive care services (.1200), pediatric intensive 
care services (.1300), neonatal services (.1400), hospices, hospice inpatient facilities, and hospice residential care 
facilities (.1500), cardiac catheterization equipment and cardiac angioplasty equipment (.1600), open heart surgery 
services and heart-lung bypass machines (.1700), diagnostic centers (.1800), radiation therapy equipment (.1900), 
home health services (.2000), surgical services and operating rooms (.2100), end stage renal disease services (.2200), 
computed tomography equipment (.2300), immediate care facility/mentally retarded (ICF/MR) (.2400), substance 
abuse/chemical dependency treatment beds (.2500), psychiatric beds (.2600), magnetic resonance imaging scanner 
(.2700), rehabilitation services (.2800), bone marrow transplantation services (.2900), solid organ transplantation 
services (.3000), major medical equipment (.3100), lithotriptor equipment (.3200), air ambulance (.3300), burn intensive 
care services (.3400), oncology treatment centers (.3500), gamma knife (.3600), positron emission tomography scanner 
(.3700), acute care beds (.3800), gastrointestinal endoscopy procedure rooms in licensed health service facilities 
(.3900), and hospice inpatient facilities and hospice residential care facilities (.4000). 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A  NCAC  14C  .1401  

Performance Standards 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A  NCAC  14C  .1403  

Performance Standards 
Amend* 

 10A  NCAC  14C  .2703  

MENTAL HEALTH/DD/SAS, COMMISSION FOR 

The rules in Chapter 27 concern mental health community facilities and services.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 27G are from either the department or the Commission for Mental Health, Developmental 
Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Services including general information (.0100); operation and management rules 
(.0200); physical plant rules (.0300); facility licensing procedures (.0400); area program requirements (.0500); area 
authority or county program monitoring of facilities and services (.0600); accreditation of area programs and services 
(.0700); waivers and appeals (.0800); general rules for infants and toddlers (.0900); partial hospitalization for individuals 
who are mentally ill (.1100); psychological rehabilitation facilities for individuals with severe and persistent mental illness 
(.1200); residential treatment for children and adolescents who are emotionally disturbed or who have a mental illness 
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(.1300); day treatment for children and adolescents with emotional or behavioral disturbances (.1400); intensive 
residential treatment for children and adolescents who are emotionally disturbed or who have a mental illness (.1500); 
residential treatment staff secure facilities for children or adolescents (.1700); psychiatric residential treatment facilities 
for children and adolescents (.1900); specialized community residential centers for individuals with developmental 
disabilities (.2100); before/after school and summer developmental day services for children with or at risk for 
developmental delays or disabilities, or atypical development (.2200); adult developmental and vocational programs for 
individuals with developmental disabilities (.2300); developmental day services for children with or at risk for 
developmental delays or disabilities, or atypical development (.2400); early childhood intervention services (ECIS) for 
children with an at risk for developmental delays or disabilities, or atypical development and their families (.2500); 
nonhospital medical detoxification for individuals who are substance abusers (.3100); social setting detoxification for 
substance abuse (.3200); outpatient detoxification for substance abuse (.3300); residential treatment/rehabilitation for 
individuals with substance abuse disorders (.3400); outpatient facilities for individuals with substance abuse disorders 
(.3500); outpatient opioid treatment (.3600); day treatment facilities for individuals with substance abuse disorders 
(.3700); substance abuse services for DWI offenders (.3800); drug education schools (DES) (.3900); treatment 
alternatives to street crimes (TASC) (.4000); substance abuse primary prevention services (.4200); therapeutic 
community (.4300); facility based crises services for individual of all disability groups (.5000); community respite services 
for individuals of all disability groups (.5100); residential therapeutic (habilitative) camps for children and adolescents of 
all disability groups (.5200); day activity for individuals of all disability groups (.5400); sheltered workshops for individuals 
of all disability groups (.5500); supervised living for individuals of all disability groups (.5600); assertive community 
treatment service (.5700); supportive employment for individuals of all disability groups (.5800); case management for 
individuals of all disability groups (.5900); inpatient hospital treatment for individuals who have mental illness or 
substance abuse disorders (.6000); emergency services for individuals of all disability groups (.6100); outpatient 
services for individuals of all disability groups (.6200); companion respite services for individuals of all disability groups 
(.6300); personal assistants for individuals of all disabilities groups (.6400); employment assistance programs (.6500); 
specialized foster care services (.6600); forensic screening and evaluation services for individuals of all disability groups 
(.6700); prevention services (.6800); consultation and education services (.6900); local management entity response to 
complaints (.7000); and target population (.7100). 

Staff Definitions 
Amend* 

 10A  NCAC  27G  .0104  

The rules in Chapter 28 are mental health rules about state operated facilities and services.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 28A are rules about committees and procedures including rules about scope and definitions 
(.0100); human rights committees (.0200) and informing clients and state facility employees of rights (.0300). 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 10A  NCAC  28A  .0102  

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 9 are from the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. This Commission 
has primary responsibility for setting statewide education, training, employment, and retention standards for criminal 
justice personnel (not including sheriffs).  
 
The rules in Subchapter 9A cover the Commission organization and procedure (.0100) and enforcement of the rules 
(.0200). 

Period of Suspension: Revocation: or Denial 
Amend* 

 12  NCAC  09A  .0205  

Summary Suspensions 
Amend* 

 12  NCAC  09A  .0206  

The rules in Subchapter 9B cover minimum standards for: employment (.0100); schools and training programs (.0200); 
criminal justice instructors (.0300); completion of training (.0400); school directors (.0500); and certification of post-
secondary criminal justice education programs (.0600). 

Fingerprint Criminal History Record Check  12  NCAC  09B  .0103  
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Amend* 

Basic Training - Juvenile Court Counselors and Chief Cour... 
Amend* 

 12  NCAC  09B  .0235  

Basic Training - Juvenile Justice Officers 
Amend* 

 12  NCAC  09B  .0236  

Certification of Instructors 
Amend* 

 12  NCAC  09B  .0301  

The rules in Subchapter 9C concern the administration of criminal justice education and training standards including 
responsibilities of the criminal justice standards division (.0100); forms (.0200); certification of criminal justice officers 
(.0300); accreditation of criminal justice schools and training courses (.0400); minimum standards for accreditation of 
associate of applied science degree programs incorporating basic law enforcement training (.0500); and equipment and 
procedures (.0600). 

Lateral Transfer of Law Enforcement Officers 
Amend* 

 12  NCAC  09C  .0306  

The rules in Subchapter 9E relate to the law enforcement officers' in-service training program. 

Department Head Responsibilities: Annual In-Service Training 
Amend* 

 12  NCAC  09E  .0103  

The rules in Subchapter 9F cover concealed handgun training. 

Approval of Courses 
Amend* 

 12  NCAC  09F  .0103  

Instructor Qualifications 
Amend* 

 12  NCAC  09F  .0104  

Instructor Responsibilities 
Amend* 

 12  NCAC  09F  .0105  

The rules in Subchapter 9G are the standards for correction including scope, applicability and definitions (.0100); 
minimum standards for certification of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, and probation/parole officers-
intermediate (.0200); certification of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, probation/parole officers intermediate 
and instructors (.0300); minimum standards for training of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, and 
probation/parole officers-intermediate (.0400); enforcement of rules (.0500); professional certification program (.0600); 
and forms (.0700). 

Certification of Instructors 
Amend* 

 12  NCAC  09G  .0307  

LABOR, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 15 pertain to elevators and amusement devices and include general provisions (.0100); various 
industry codes and standards (.0200); elevators and related equipment (.0300); amusement devices (.0400); penalties 
(.0500); forms (.0600); and fees (.0700). 

Regulation of Inflatable or Air-Supported Amusement Devices 
Repeal* 

 13  NCAC  15  .0430  

Definitions 
Repeal* 

 13  NCAC  15  .0431  

Ride Design 
Repeal* 

 13  NCAC  15  .0432  

Anchorage or Tie-Down 
Repeal* 

 13  NCAC  15  .0433  

Operation of Inflatable or Air-Supported Amusement Devices 
Repeal* 

 13  NCAC  15  .0434  
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Blowers 
Repeal* 

 13  NCAC  15  .0435  

Wind Speed 
Repeal* 

 13  NCAC  15  .0436  

Signs 
Repeal* 

 13  NCAC  15  .0437  

Operating Manual and Documentation 
Repeal* 

 13  NCAC  15  .0438  

PUBLIC SAFETY, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 3 concern emergency management including the North Carolina search and rescue program 
(.0400); and North Carolina hazardous material regional response program (.0500). 

Purpose 
Adopt* 

 14B  NCAC  03  .0501  

Abbrev 
Adopt* 

 14B  NCAC  03  .0502  

Dispatch of a Regional Response Team 
Adopt* 

 14B  NCAC  03  .0503  

On-Site Operations of a Program Resource 
Adopt* 

 14B  NCAC  03  .0504  

Standards for Administration of a Contract Response Team,. 
Adopt* 

 14B  NCAC  03  .0505  

Recovering the Costs of a Search and Rescue Team 
Adopt* 

 14B  NCAC  03  .0506  

Procedures for Bidding and Contracting for Regional Respo... 
Adopt* 

 14B  NCAC  03  .0507  

Criteria for Evaluating Bids for Contract Response Team 
Adopt* 

 14B  NCAC  03  .0508  

Personnel, Training, and Equipment Standards for Regional... 
Adopt* 

 14B  NCAC  03  .0509  

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 16 are from the Private Protective Services Board and cover organization and general provisions 
(.0100); licenses and trainee permits (.0200); security guard patrol and guard dog service (.0300); private investigator: 
electronic countermeasures (.0400); polygraph (.0500); psychological stress evaluator (PSE) (.0600); unarmed security 
guard registration (.0700); armed security guard firearm registration permit (.0800); trainer certificate (.0900); recovery 
fund (.1000); training and supervision for private investigator associates (.1100); continuing education (.1300); armed 
armored car service guards firearm registration permit (.1400); close personal protection (.1500); digital forensics 
examiner (.1600); and training and supervision for digital forensics examiner (D.F.E) associates (.1700). 

Application for Unarmed Security Guard Registration 
Amend* 

 14B  NCAC  16  .0701  

Trainer Name to be Submitted to Director 
Repeal* 

 14B  NCAC  16  .0708  

Application for Firearms Trainer Certificate 
Amend* 

 14B  NCAC  16  .0902  

Renewal of a Firearms Trainer Certificate 
Amend* 

 14B  NCAC  16  .0904  

Application for an Unarmed Trainer 
Amend* 

 14B  NCAC  16  .0910  

Rosters of Unarmed Trainer Classes  14B  NCAC  16  .0912  

http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74828
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74828
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74828
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74828
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74829
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74829
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74829
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74829
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74830
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74830
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74830
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74830
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74831
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74831
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74831
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74831
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74406
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74406
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74406
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74406
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74407
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74407
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74407
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74407
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74408
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74408
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74408
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74408
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74409
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74409
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74409
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74409
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74410
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74410
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74410
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74410
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74411
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74411
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74411
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74411
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74412
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74412
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74412
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74412
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74413
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74413
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74413
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74413
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74414
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74414
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74414
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74414
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74037
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74037
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74037
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74037
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74041
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74041
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74041
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74041
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74038
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74038
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74038
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74038
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74039
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74039
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74039
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74039
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74040
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74040
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74040
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74040
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74042
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74042
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74042
http://rats/viewRule.pl?nRuleID=74042


 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

38:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 1, 2023 

796 

Repeal* 

Training and Supervision for Private Investigator Associates 
Adopt* 

 14B  NCAC  16  .1109  

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 7H are the state guidelines for areas of environmental concern (AECs) including introduction 
and general comments (.0100); the estuarine system (.0200); ocean hazard areas (.0300); public water supplies (.0400); 
natural and cultural resource areas (.0500); development standards (.0600); general permits for construction or 
maintenance of bulkheads and the placement of riprap for shoreline protection in estuarine and public trust waters 
(.1100); piers, docks and boat houses in estuarine and public trust waters (.1200); general permit to construct boat 
ramps along estuarine and public trust shorelines and into estuarine and public trust waters (.1300); groins in estuarine 
and public trust waters (.1400); excavation within or connecting to existing canals, channels, basins, or ditches in 
estuarine waters, public trust waters, and estuarine shoreline AECs (.1500); aerial and subaqueous utility lines with 
attendant structures in coastal wetlands, estuarine waters, public trust waters and estuarine shorelines (.1600); 
emergency work requiring a CAMA or a dredge and fill permit (.1700); beach bulldozing landward of the mean high-
water mark in the ocean hazard AEC (.1800); general permit to allow for temporary structures within the estuarine and 
ocean AECs (.1900); authorizing minor modifications and repair to existing pier/mooring facilities in estuarine and public 
trust waters and ocean hazard areas (.2000); construction of sheetpile sill for shoreline protection in estuarine and public 
trust waters (.2100); construction of freestanding moorings in established waters and public trust areas (.2200); 
replacement of existing bridges and culverts in estuarine waters, estuarine shorelines, public trust areas and coastal 
wetlands (.2300); placement of riprap for wetland protection in estuarine and public trust waters (.2400); emergency 
general permit, to be initiated at the discretion of the Secretary of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources 
for replacement of structures; the reconstruction of primary or frontal dune systems; and the maintenance excavation 
of existing canals, basins, channels, or ditches, damaged, destroyed, or filled in by hurricanes or tropical storms, 
provided all replacement, reconstruction and maintenance excavation activities conform to all current standards (.2500); 
construction of wetland, stream and buffer mitigation sites by the North Carolina Ecosystem Enhancement Program or 
the North Carolina Wetlands Restoration Program (.2600); and the construction of riprap sills for wetland enhancement 
in estuarine and public trust waters (.2700).  

Permit Fee 
Amend* 

 15A  NCAC  07H  .1103  

Permit Fee 
Amend* 

 15A  NCAC  07H  .1203  

Permit Fee 
Amend* 

 15A  NCAC  07H  .1303  

Permit Fee 
Amend* 

 15A  NCAC  07H  .1403  

Application Fee 
Amend* 

 15A  NCAC  07H  .1503  

Permit Fee 
Amend* 

 15A  NCAC  07H  .1903  

Permit Fee 
Amend* 

 15A  NCAC  07H  .2003  

Permit Fee 
Amend* 

 15A  NCAC  07H  .2103  

Permit Fee 
Amend* 

 15A  NCAC  07H  .2203  

Permit Fee 
Amend* 

 15A  NCAC  07H  .2403  

Permit Fee 
Amend* 

 15A  NCAC  07H  .2503  

Permit Fee 
Amend* 

 15A  NCAC  07H  .2703  
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WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 10B are hunting and trapping rules and cover general hunting and wildlife provisions (.0100), 
hunting specific animals (.0200), trapping (.0300), tagging furs (.0400), chronic wasting disease management (.0500). 

Definitions and General Requirements 
Adopt* 

 15A  NCAC  10B  .0501  

Surveillance Area 
Adopt* 

 15A  NCAC  10B  .0503  

The rules in Subchapter 10F cover motorboats and water safety including boat registration (.0100); safety equipment 
and accident reports (.0200); and local water safety regulations covering speed limits, no-wake restrictions, restrictions 
on swimming and other activities, and placement of markers for designated counties or municipalities (.0300). 

Mecklenburg and Gaston Counties 
Amend* 

 15A  NCAC  10F  .0333  

SECRETARY OF STATE, DEPARTMENT OF THE 

The rules in Chapter 7 are from the Notary Public Division.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 7B are rules covering traditional notary publics and include general provisions (.0100); fees 
paid to the department (.0200); filing, signatures on filing, and responses to requests for information (.0300); forms 
(.0400); commissioning and term of office (.0500); notary public certified instructor (.0700); enforcement and disciplinary 
actions (.0900); and public records and requests for information (.1000). 

U.S. Currency 
Amend* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0201  

Online Fee Payment 
Amend* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0202  

Fees Paid in Person 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0203  

Fees Paid by USPS or by Delivery Service 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0204  

Fee for Dishonored Payment 
Amend* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0205  

Filing not Processed if Payment Dishonored 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0206  

Department Actions upon Dishonored Payment 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0207  

Notice to Filer of Dishonored Payment 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0208  

Form Use Required 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0301  

Mode of Filing 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0302  

Paper Filings Permitted 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0303  

Inapplicable Questions 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0304  

Response to Questions and Requests for Information 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0305  

Attachments 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0306  
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Notice of Attachment 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0307  

Signature for Entity 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0308  

Form Preparer Signature Required 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0309  

Incomplete Filings 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0310  

Rejection of Incomplete Filings 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0311  

Filing Date of Document 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0312  

General 
Amend* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0401  

Contact Information 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0402  

Certificate of Appointment Form 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0403  

Electronic Notary Public Registration Form 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0404  

Form Notifying Department of Selection of Technology Prov... 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0405  

Notice to Department of Change by Electronic Notary in Te... 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07B  .0406  

The rules in subchapter 7F concern electronic notary public requirements including general provisions (.0100); 
qualifications to be electronic notary (.0200); education of electronic notaries public (.0300); application for registration 
as electronic notary public (.0400); registration and oath (.0500); selection and use of technology provider to perform 
electronic notarial acts (.0600); electronic notary signature (.0700); electronic notary seal (.0800); reregistration as 
electronic notary (.0900); confidentiality, security, and records retention (.1000); and continuing obligations of electronic 
notaries (.1100). 

Scope 
Amend* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0101  

Definitions 
Amend* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0102  

Electronic Notaries Performing Remote Electronic Notary Acts 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0103  

Valid Commission 
Amend* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0201  

Approved Course of Study for Electronic Notaries Public 
Amend* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0301  

Course to be Taught by Certified Notary Instructors 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0302  

Electronic Notary Course 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0303  

Student Identity 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0304  

Passing Score on Examination. 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0305  

Submission 
Amend* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0401  

Timing of Application 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0402  
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Notice to Department of Changes 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0403  

Failure to Submit Application in Time 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0404  

Notice of Department's Actions for Qualified Electronic N... 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0503  

Oaths Timing 
Repeal* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0505  

Evidence of Identity 
Repeal* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0506  

Certificate Delivery 
Repeal* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0507  

Registration Effective Date 
Repeal* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0508  

Registration Effective Date 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0509  

Confirmation of Electronic Notary Status 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0512  

Performing Electronic and Remote Electronic Notarial Acts 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0513  

Notice to Department of Technology Provider 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0601  

Approved Technology Provider 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0602  

Unique Signature 
Amend* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0701  

Sole Control 
Amend* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0702  

Exclusive 
Repeal* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0703  

Attributes of Electronic Signature 
Amend* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0704  

Appearance of Electronic Signature 
Amend* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0705  

Signature Compliance 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0706  

Signature Review Before Use 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0707  

Affixing Electronic Signature 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0708  

Review After Affixing Electronic Signature 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0709  

Unique Seal 
Amend* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0801  

Sole Control 
Amend* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0802  

Exclusive 
Repeal* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0803  

Attributes of Electronic Seal 
Amend* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0804  

Appearance of Electronic Notary Seal 
Amend* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0805  
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Perimeter 
Repeal* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0806  

Contents of Electronic Notary Seal 
Amend* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0807  

Electronic Notary Seals are Private Property 
Amend* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0808  

Seal Compliance 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0809  

Seal Limitation 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0810  

Seal Review Before Use 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0811  

Affixing Electronic Seal 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0812  

Review After Affixing Electronic Seal 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0813  

Commitment 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0814  

Reregistration 
Amend* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0901  

Timing of Reregistration 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0902  

Form 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0903  

Education 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0904  

Electronic Notary Reregistration Other than at Recommissi... 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0905  

Registration 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .0906  

Employers of Electronic Notaries 
Amend* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .1001  

Protecting Access 
Amend* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .1002  

Retention of Electronic Journal 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .1003  

Notary Credential Sharing Forbidden 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .1004  

Presence Requirement for Electronic Notarization 
Amend* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .1101  

Presence Requirement for Remote Electronic Notarization 
Amend* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .1102  

Individual Principal Signatures for Electronic Notarial Act 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .1103  

Additional Obligations 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .1104  

No Electronic Notarization of Ink Signature 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .1105  

Notice of Changes 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .1106  

Technological Issue as Reason to Halt Electronic or Remo.. 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .1107  
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Resolution of Technological Issues 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .1108  

Ceasing to Use a Technology Provider 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .1109  

Notice of Cancellation by Provider 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .1110  

Content of Notice 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07F  .1111  

The rules in Subchapter 7I concern journal requirements including general rules (.0100); journal basics (.0200); general 
journal contents (.0300); and electronic journal requirements (.0400). 

Notaries Subject to Journaling Requirements 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0101  

Definitions 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0102  

Journal Requirement 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0103  

Journal Ownership 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0104  

Entry of Data into Journal 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0105  

Exceptions to Rule .0105 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0106  

Access to the Journal 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0107  

Form of Traditional Notary Journal 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0201  

Form of Electronic Notary Journal 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0202  

Combined Journal 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0203  

Entries in a Tangible Journal 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0204  

Requirements for a Tangible Journal 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0205  

Provision of Journal to Department 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0206  

Acts Included in Journal 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0207  

Designation of Notarial Act 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0208  

Exception to Rule .0208 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0209  

Designation of Type of Notarial Act 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0210  

Journal may Combine Employer-Related and Non-Employer Acts 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0211  

Journal Retention Period 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0212  

Contents of Journal for Canceled Act 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0301  

Contents of Journal  18  NCAC  07I  .0302  
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Adopt* 

Additional Journal Contents for Remote Electronic Notariz... 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0303  

Employer Request for Inclusion of Additional Information i... 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0304  

Party Request for Inclusion of Additional Information in ... 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0305  

Notation of Requests for Inclusion of Additional Informat... 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0306  

Notary shall not Provide Unrelated Notarial Act Informati... 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0307  

Journal Supplements 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0308  

Maintain a Backup Copy 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0401  

Format of Backup Copy 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0402  

Printing out of Electronic Journal Entries 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0403  

Including Signatures in Journal 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0404  

Technological Issues 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0405  

Pre-Populated Data to be Confirmed by Notary Public 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0406  

Steps Before Committing an Electronic Journal Entry 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07I  .0407  

The rules in Subchapter 7K are miscellaneous rules including general rules (.0100); and charging fees for notarial acts 
(.0200). 

Definitions 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07K  .0101  

Travel Fee Rate 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07K  .0201  

Estimate of Charges 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07K  .0202  

Inclusion of Fees in Journal 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07K  .0203  

Consent to Travel Fees May be Electronic 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07K  .0204  

Contents of Advance Consent to Travel Fees 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07K  .0205  

Notarial Record of Written Consent to Travel Fees 
Adopt* 

 18  NCAC  07K  .0206  

CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 10 include organization of the Board (.0100); the practice of chiropractic (.0200); rules of unethical 
conduct (.0300); rule-making procedures (.0400); investigation of complaints (.0500); contested cases and hearings in 
contested cases (.0600-.0700); and miscellaneous provisions (.0800). 

Licensure; Renewal of License 
Amend* 

 21  NCAC  10  .0204  
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NURSING, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 36 include rules relating to general provisions (.0100); licensure (.0200); approval of nursing 
programs (.0300); unlicensed personnel and nurses aides (.0400); professional corporations (.0500); articles of 
organization (.0600); nurse licensure compact (.0700); and approval and practice parameters for nurse practitioners 
(.0800). 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 21  NCAC  36  .0120  

Refresher Course 
Amend* 

 21  NCAC  36  .0220  

Out of State Students 
Amend* 

 21  NCAC  36  .0233  

Establishment of a Nursing Program - Initial Approval 
Amend* 

 21  NCAC  36  .0302  

Existing Nursing Program 
Amend* 

 21  NCAC  36  .0303  

Process for Program Closure 
Amend* 

 21  NCAC  36  .0309  

Administration 
Amend* 

 21  NCAC  36  .0317  

Faculty 
Amend* 

 21  NCAC  36  .0318  

Students 
Amend* 

 21  NCAC  36  .0320  

Curriculum 
Amend* 

 21  NCAC  36  .0321  

Facilities 
Amend* 

 21  NCAC  36  .0322  

Records and Reports 
Amend* 

 21  NCAC  36  .0323  

OPTOMETRY, BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN 

The rules in Subchapter 42B concern license to practice optometry including license by examination (.0100); 
responsibility to supply information (.0200); and professional corporations and limited liability companies (.0300). 

Ceasing Practice 
Amend* 

 21  NCAC  42B  .0204  

The rules in Subchapter 42M concern preceptorships. 

Remuneration and Expenses 
Amend* 

 21  NCAC  42M  .0105  

BUILDING CODE COUNCIL 

2024 NC Administrative Code and Policies 
Adopt* 

 221213 Item B-1  

2024 NC Administrative Code and Policies Appendix B 
Adopt* 

 230314 Item B-13  

2024 NC Plumbing Code  230314 Item B-1  
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Adopt* 

2024 NC Residential Code 
Adopt* 

 Chapters 1-10, 25-33, 45, 
46, and Appendices  
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