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Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6. 

 

GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days but not later than 60 days 

after the date a notice of the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 13 – DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Department of Labor intends to amend the rule cited as 13 NCAC 

15 .0703. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.labor.nc.gov/rules-and-regulations 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2024 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Email 

jill.cramer@labor.nc.gov to demand a public hearing. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Inflatable Devices were removed 

from the jurisdiction of the N.C. Department of Labor's Elevator 

and Amusement Device Bureau (see Session Law 2023-137, 

Section 48); therefore, this Rule needs to be amended to remove 

the fee for inspection of inflatable devices. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Jill F. Cramer, 1101 MSC, 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1101; email jill.cramer@labor.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  March 18, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

CHAPTER 15 - ELEVATOR AND AMUSEMENT DEVICE DIVISION 

 

SECTION .0700 – FEES 

 

13 NCAC 15 .0703 AMUSEMENT DEVICE INSPECTION FEE SCHEDULE 

Inspection fees for amusement devices shall be as follows: 

Equipment      Unit Fee  Inspection Required 

(1) Inflatables     $100.00  Annually 

(2)(1) Rock Walls, portable    $100.00  Annually 

(3)(2) Kiddie Rides (48 inch maximum height restriction) $100.00 Every setup, except in permanent parks, 

which shall be inspected annually 

(4)(3) Go Karts $50.00 Every setup, except in permanent parks, 

which shall be inspected annually 

(5)(4) Go Kart Tracks $100.00 Every setup, except in permanent parks, 

which shall be inspected annually 

(6)(5) Major Rides (any ride not otherwise listed herein) $100.00 Every setup, except in permanent arks, 

which shall be inspected annually 

(7)(6) Roller Coasters     $250.00  Annually 

(8)(7) Simulators, portable    $100.00  Every setup 

(9)(8) Simulators, stationary    $100.00  Annually 

(10)(9) Amusement Trains on fixed guidance systems, 

excluding steam engine locomotives  $100.00  Annually 

(11)(10) Waterslides     $150.00  Annually 

 

Authority G.S. 95-107; 95-111.4(19). 
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TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Wildlife Resources Commission intends to amend the rule cited as 

15A NCAC 10A .1601. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 8, 2024 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  Zoom Meeting. Registration Required: 

https://ncwildlife-

org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_CwVTRJExQZy1AJ3W

Qzww-Q  

Join by phone: Toll Free (877) 853-5247 or (888) 788-0099  

Webinar ID:  160 962 3308 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed amendments will 

help the agency generate revenue to address funding issues 

related to increased operating costs exacerbated by inflation and 

increased demand for agency services. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, 

1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email 

regulations@ncwildlife.org 

 

Comment period ends:  March 18, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10A - WILDLIFE RESOURCES 

COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .1600 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES 

COMMISSION FEES 

 

15A NCAC 10A .1601 LICENSE FEES 

(a)  License fees established by the Commission in this Rule shall 

be subject to the requirements of G.S. 113-270.1B(e). 

(b)  The following fees shall apply to combination hunting and 

inland fishing licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in 

G.S. 113-270.1C: 

(1) Resident Annual Combination Hunting and 

Inland Fishing License - $35.00. $42.00. 

(2) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime 

Combination Hunting and Inland Fishing 

License - $11.00. $14.00. 

(3) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime 

Combination Hunting and Inland Fishing 

License - $11.00. $14.00. 

(c)  The following fees shall apply to sportsman licenses issued 

by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.1D: 

(1) Annual Sportsman License - $53.00. $63.00. 

(2) Infant Lifetime Sportsman License - $212.00. 

$252.00. 

(3) Youth Lifetime Sportsman License - $371.00. 

$441.00. 

(4) Adult Resident Lifetime Sportsman License - 

$530.00. $630.00. 

(5) Nonresident Lifetime Sportsman License - 

$1,272.00. $1,511.00. 

(6) Age 70 Resident Lifetime Sportsman License - 

$16.00. $19.00. 

(7) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime Sportsman 

License - $106.00. $126.00. 

(8) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime Sportsman 

License - $106.00. $126.00. 

(d)  The following fees shall apply to hunting licenses issued by 

the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.2: 

(1) Resident State Hunting License - $25.00. 

$30.00. 

(2) Lifetime Resident Comprehensive Hunting 

License - $265.00. $315.00. 

(3) Controlled Hunting Preserve Hunting License - 

$22.00. $27.00. 

(4) Resident Annual Comprehensive Hunting 

License - $39.00. $47.00. 

(5) Nonresident State Hunting Licenses: 

(A) Season License - $100.00. $119.00. 

(B) Ten-Day License - $80.00. $95.00. 

(6) Falconry Hunting License - $25.00. $30.00. 

(e)  The following fees shall apply to special activity licenses 

issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.3: 

(1) Resident Big Game Hunting License - $14.00. 

$17.00. 
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(2) Nonresident Bear Hunting License - $239.00. 

$284.00. 

(3) Bear Management Stamp - $11.00. $14.00. 

(4) Nonresident Big Game Hunting License: 

(A) Season License - $100.00. $119.00. 

(B) Ten-Day License - $80.00. $95.00. 

(5) Bonus Antlerless Deer License - $11.00. 

$14.00. 

(6) Game Land License - $16.00. $19.00. 

(7) Falconry License - $11.00. $14.00. 

(8) Migratory Waterfowl Hunting License - 

$14.00. $17.00. 

(9) Resident American Alligator License - 

$250.00. $297.00. 

(10) Nonresident American Alligator License - 

$500.00. $594.00. 

(11) Resident Elk License - $500.00. $594.00. 

(12) Nonresident Elk License - $1,000.00. 

$1,188.00. 

(f)  The following fees shall apply to hunting and fishing guide 

licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.4: 

(1) Resident Hunting and Fishing Guide License - 

$16.00. $19.00. 

(2) Nonresident Hunting and Fishing Guide 

License - $159.00. $189.00. 

(g)  The following fees shall apply to trapping licenses issued by 

the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.5: 

(1) Resident State Trapping License - $32.00. 

$38.00. 

(2) Resident Lifetime Trapping License - $300.00. 

$357.00. 

(3) Nonresident State Trapping License - $133.00. 

$158.00. 

(h)  The following fees shall apply to hook-and-line licenses in 

inland and joint fishing waters issued by the Commission, as set 

forth in G.S. 113-271: 

(1) Resident State Inland Fishing License - $25.00. 

$30.00. 

(2) Lifetime Resident Comprehensive Inland 

Fishing License - $265.00. $315.00. 

(3) Nonresident State Inland Fishing License - 

$45.00. $54.00. 

(4) Short-Term Inland Fishing License: 

(A) Resident 10-day Inland Fishing 

License - $9.00. $11.00. 

(B) Nonresident 10-day Inland Fishing 

License - $23.00. $28.00. 

(5) Age 70 Resident Lifetime Inland Fishing 

License - $16.00. $19.00. 

(6) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime Inland 

Fishing License - $11.00. $14.00. 

(7) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime Inland 

Fishing License - $11.00. $14.00. 

(8) Special Landholder and Guest Fishing License 

- $106.00. $126.00. 

(9) Mountain Heritage Trout Waters 3 Day Three-

Day Fishing License - $8.00. $10.00. 

(i)  The following shall apply to special device licenses issued by 

the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-272.2: 

(1) Resident Special Device License - $80.00. 

$95.00. 

(2) Nonresident Special Device License - $530.00. 

$630.00. 

(j)  The non-refundable fees fee for a collection license issued by 

the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-272.4 shall be $10.00. 

$12.00. 

(k)  The following non-refundable fees shall apply to captivity 

licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-272.5: 

(1) Captivity License for Holding - $50.00. $60.00. 

(2) Captivity License for Rehabilitation - $10.00. 

$12.00. 

(l)  The following non-refundable fees shall apply to dealer 

licenses issued by the Commission as set forth in G.S. 113-273: 

(1) Resident Fur-dealer License - $64.00. $76.00. 

(2) Nonresident Fur-dealer License - $318.00. 

$378.00. 

(3) Fur-dealer Station License - $128.00. $152.00. 

(4) Controlled Hunting Preserve Operator License 

- $100.00. $119.00. 

(5) Controlled Hunting Preserve Rabbit Operator 

License - $25.00. $30.00. 

(6) Game Bird Propagation License - $10.00. 

$12.00. 

(7) Furbearer Propagation License - $27.00. 

$33.00. 

(8) Taxidermy License - $50.00. $60.00. 

(9) Taxidermy Cervid Certification - $5.00. $6.00. 

(10) Wildlife Control Agent License - $50.00. 

$60.00. 

(11) Wildlife Control Technician Certification - 

$25.00 $30.00. 

(12) Alligator Control Agent Certification - $25.00. 

$30.00. 

(m)  The following non-refundable fees shall apply to permits 

issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-274: 

(1) Possession Permit - $10.00. $12.00. 

(2) Exportation or Importation Permit - $10.00. 

$12.00. 

(3) Trophy Wildlife Sale Permit - $10.00. $12.00. 

(4) Endangered Species Permit - $10.00. $12.00. 

(5) Field Trial Permit - $10.00. $12.00. 

(n)  Unified hunting and fishing licenses issued by the 

Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-351: 

(1) Annual Resident Unified Sportsman/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - $69.00. $82.00. 

(2) Annual Resident Unified Inland/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - $41.00. $49.00. 

(3) Lifetime Unified Sportsman/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing Licenses: 

(A) Infant Lifetime Unified 

Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $292.00. $347.00. 

(B) Youth Lifetime Unified 

Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $477.00. $567.00. 

(C) Resident Adult Lifetime Unified 

Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $716.00. $851.00. 
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(D) Nonresident Adult Lifetime Unified 

Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $1,643.00. 

$1,952.00. 

(E) Resident Age 70 Lifetime Unified 

Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $32.00. $38.00. 

(F) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime 

Unified Sportsman/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - 

$117.00. $140.00. 

(G) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime 

Unified Sportsman/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - 

$117.00. $140.00. 

(4) Resident Lifetime Unified Inland/Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - $477.00. 

$567.00. 

(o)  The following fees shall apply to Coastal Recreational Fishing 

Licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-

174.2: 

(1) Annual Resident Coastal Recreational Fishing 

License - $16.00. $19.00. 

(2) Annual Nonresident Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $32.00. $38.00. 

(3) Ten-Day Resident Coastal Recreational Fishing 

License - $6.00. $8.00. 

(4) Ten-Day Nonresident Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $11.00. $14.00. 

(5) Infant Lifetime Coastal Recreational Fishing 

License - $106.00. $126.00. 

(6) Youth Lifetime Coastal Recreational Fishing 

License - $159.00. $189.00. 

(7) Resident Adult Lifetime Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $265.00. $315.00. 

(8) Nonresident Adult Lifetime Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - $530.00. 

$630.00. 

(9) Resident Age 70 Lifetime Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $16.00. $19.00. 

(10) Resident Disabled Veteran Coastal 

Recreational Fishing License - $11.00. $14.00. 

(11) Resident Totally Disabled Coastal Recreational 

Fishing License - $11.00. $14.00. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-270.1B(e). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Wildlife Resources Commission intends to amend the rules cited 

as 15A NCAC 10F .0304 and .0314. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  June 1, 2024 

 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  March 6, 2024 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:   

Zoom Meeting. Registration Required: 

https://ncwildlife-

org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_gWHSSBCRRWakZTA

HhBofhQ   

Join by phone: Toll Free (877) 853-5247 or (888) 788-0099   

Webinar ID: 161 544 8541 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

15A NCAC 10F .0304 - Bladen County - The proposed 

amendments will establish a no-wake zone on the Cape Fear River 

at Elwell Ferry to mitigate hazards to boater safety where the 

cable is used to pull the ferry across the river, and to codify 

descriptions and addresses of Boating Access Areas in Bladen 

County.  

15A NCAC 10F .0314 - New Hanover County - The Executive 

Director received a petition for rulemaking on October 5, 2023 to 

extend the no-wake zone at the mouth of Bradley Creek 400 feet 

closer to the Intracoastal Waterway to alleviate safety issues. 

Additional amendments extending the no wake zone shore to 

shore are proposed to mitigate safety concerns with the proposed 

extension. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, 

1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email 

regulations@ncwildlife.org 

 

Comment period ends:  March 18, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 
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CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10F - MOTORBOATS AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 

SECTION .0300 - LOCAL WATER SAFETY 

REGULATIONS 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0304 BLADEN COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to the waters of White 

Lake in Bladen County.  

(b)  Restricted Area. The waters of White Lake between the 

shoreline and the offshore marker poles shall be designated as a 

restricted area. 

(c)  Swimming. Swimming, except skin diving, shall not be 

permitted outside of the restricted area. 

(d)  Skiing. No skiing shall be permitted in the restricted area, 

except to leave from within or return into that area. All vessels 

pulling skiers shall leave from within the restricted area on a 

course perpendicular to the nearest shoreline. Upon returning, all 

vessels pulling skiers shall reduce to no-wake speed when the 

skiers have entered the restricted area. 

(e)  Speed Limit. Within the restricted area all vessels, except 

those engaged in skiing as regulated by Paragraph (d) of this Rule, 

shall be operated at a no-wake speed. Operation of any vessel on 

a course parallel to the shoreline is prohibited in the restricted 

area. 

(f)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The Board of 

Commissioners of Bladen County, the Town of White Lake, and 

the State Parks Division shall be the designated agencies for 

placement and maintenance of the markers implementing this 

Rule. 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

in Bladen County: 

(1) White Lake. The water between the shoreline 

and no-wake markers 500 feet from the 

shoreline is a restricted area. 

(2) Cape Fear River: 

(A) the waters shore to shore between a 

point 100 yards east and 100 yards 

west of the ferry cable at Elwell Ferry 

and Elwells Ferry Boating Access 

Area, 2702 Elwell Ferry Road, 

Council; 

(B) the waters within 50 yards of the Tar 

Heel Boating Access Area, 1000 

Wildlife Landing Drive, Tar Heel; and 

(C) the waters within 50 yards of the Tory 

Hole Boating Access Area, 335 N. 

Poplar Street, Elizabethtown. 

(3) Black River. The waters within 50 yards of the 

Hunts Bluff Boating Access Area, 351 Hunts 

Bluff Road, Kelly. 

(b)  Restricted Area. Skiing is prohibited in the restricted area 

described in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule. 

(c)  Diving. A person engaged in skin or scuba diving shall display 

a diver's flag, and no vessel shall approach within 50 feet of a 

diver's flag, as described in G.S. 75A-13.1. 

(d)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within the regulated areas described in 

Subparagraphs (a)(1) and (3), and Parts (a)(2)(A) through (C) of 

this Rule. 

(e)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The following 

agencies shall place and maintain the markers implementing this 

Rule: 

(1) North Carolina State Parks for the regulated 

area designated in Subparagraph (a)(1); and 

(2) the North Carolina Wildlife Resources 

Commission for the regulated areas designated 

in Parts (a)(2)(A) through (C), and 

Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0314 NEW HANOVER COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

in New Hanover County: 

(1) the area bounded on the north by the US U.S. 

74-76 Bridge bridge crossing the Intracoastal 

Waterway, on the south by a line shore to shore 

intersecting Intracoastal Waterway channel 

marker number 127, on the west by the shore of 

Wrightsville Sound, and on the east by a line 

perpendicular to US U.S. Highway 74-76 and 

intersecting channel marker number 25 in Motts 

Channel; 

(2) the area of Motts Channel between channel 

marker number 25 at the Intracoastal Waterway 

on the west and channel marker number 16 at 

the entrance from Banks Channel on the east; 

(3) the waters of the navigation channel shore to 

shore in that portion of Bradley Creek in the 

City of Wilmington between the US U.S. 76 

Bridge bridge crossing Bradley Creek and 

channel marker 4, near the mouth of Bradley 

Creek at 34.20858 N, 77.82272 W; 34.20794 N, 

77.82158 W, near the mouth of Bradley Creek; 

(4) Lee's Cut from its western intersection with the 

Intracoastal Waterway at 34.21979 N, 

77.80965 W, to its eastern intersection with 

Banks Channel at 34.21906 N, 77.79645 W; 

(5) the unnamed channel lying between the shore 

west of Bahama Drive in the Town of 

Wrightsville Beach and an unnamed island 

located approximately 500 feet northeast of the 

US U.S. 74 bridge over Banks Channel; and 

(6) the waters of the Northeast Cape Fear River 

between the US Hwy. U.S. Highway 117 bridge 

and the railroad trestle 60 yards east of the 

Castle Hayne Boating Access Area. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any of the regulated areas described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of New 

Hanover County shall be the designated agency for placement of 

the no-wake markers implementing this Rule, subject to the 
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approval of the United States Coast Guard and the United States 

Army Corps of Engineers. 

 

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 32 - NORTH CAROLINA MEDICAL BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Medical Board intends to amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 32M 

.0107; 32R .0101 and 32S .0216. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncmedboard.org/about_the_board/rule_changes 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  June 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  March 18, 2024 

Time:  11:00 a.m. 

Location:  The public hearing will be held remotely via 

teleconference. Telephone Number: 919-518-9840; Conference 

ID: 897 812 179# 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To amend the CME rules to make 

clear that licensees who complete the federally required MATE 

training will have also satisfied the state-mandated controlled 

substance prescribing CME for that reporting cycle. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Leigh Anne Satterwhite, 3127 

Smoketree Court, Raleigh, NC 27604; phone (919) 326-1109; 

email rules@ncmedboard.org 

 

Comment period ends:  March 18, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32M - APPROVAL OF NURSE 

PRACTITIONERS 

 

21 NCAC 32M .0107 CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE) 

(a)  In order to maintain nurse practitioner approval to practice, 

the nurse practitioner shall earn 50 contact hours of continuing 

education activity every two years, beginning with the first 

renewal after initial approval to practice has been granted. A 

minimum of 20 hours of the required 50 hours must be in the 

advanced practice nursing population focus of the NP role. The 

20 hours must have approval granted by the American Nurses 

Credentialing Center (ANCC) or Accreditation Council on 

Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), or by a national 

accredited provider of nursing continuing professional 

development, or nurse practice-relevant courses in an institution 

of higher learning. A nurse practitioner who possesses a current 

national certification by a national credentialing body shall be 

deemed in compliance with the requirement of Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule. 

(b)  Prior to prescribing controlled substances as the same are 

defined in 21 NCAC 32M .0109(b)(2), nurse practitioners shall 

have completed a minimum of one CE hour within the preceding 

12 months on 1 or more of the following topics: 

(1) Controlled substances prescription practices; 

(2) Prescribing controlled substances for chronic 

pain management; 

(3) Recognizing signs of controlled substance 

abuse or misuse; or 

(4) Non-opioid treatment options as an alternative 

to controlled substances. 

(c)  Nurse practitioners who complete the federally required 

training under the Medication Access and Training Expansion Act 

(MATE) shall be deemed in compliance with the controlled 

substance prescribing requirements of this Rule for the two-year 

CE period in which the MATE training was completed. 

(c)(d)  Documentation of all CE completed within the previous 

five years shall be maintained by the nurse practitioner and made 

available upon request to either Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-8.2; 90-18(c)(14); S.L. 2015-241, 

s. 12F. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32R – CONTINUING MEDICAL 

EDUCATION (CME) REQUIREMENTS 

 

SECTION .0100 – CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION 

(CME) REQUIREMENTS 

 

21 NCAC 32R .0101 CONTINUING MEDICAL 

EDUCATION (CME) REQUIRED 

(a)  Continuing Medical Education (CME) is defined as education, 

training, and activities to increase knowledge and skills generally 

recognized and accepted by the profession as within the basic 

medical sciences, the discipline of clinical medicine, and the 
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provision of healthcare to the public. The purpose of CME is to 

maintain, develop, or improve the physician's knowledge, skills, 

professional performance, and relationships a physician uses to 

provide services for his or her patients and practice, the public, or 

profession. 

(b)  A physician licensed to practice medicine in the State of North 

Carolina, except those physicians holding a residency training 

license, shall complete at least 60 hours of Category 1 CME 

relevant to the physician's current or intended specialty or area of 

practice every 3 years. Every physician who prescribes controlled 

substances, except those physicians holding a residency training 

license, shall complete at least 3 hours of CME from the required 

60 hours of Category 1 CME designed specifically to address 

controlled substance prescribing practices. The controlled 

substance prescribing CME shall include instruction on controlled 

substance prescribing practices and controlled substance 

prescribing for chronic pain management. CME that includes 

recognizing signs of the abuse or misuse of controlled substances, 

or non-opioid treatment options shall qualify for the purposes of 

this Rule. Physicians who complete the federally required training 

under the Medication Access and Training Expansion Act 

(MATE) shall be deemed in compliance with the controlled 

substance prescribing requirements of this Rule for the three-year 

CME period in which the MATE training was completed. 

(c)  The three-year period described in Paragraph (b) of this Rule 

begins on the physician's birthday following the issuance of his or 

her license. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-5.1(a)(10); 90-14(a)(15); S.L. 

2015-241, s. 12F.16(b) and 12F.16(c). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32S - PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS 

 

SECTION .0200 – PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT 

REGISTRATION 

 

21 NCAC 32S .0216 CONTINUING MEDICAL 

EDUCATION 

(a)  A physician assistant shall complete at least 50 hours of 

Continuing Medical Education (CME) every two years. The CME 

shall be recognized by the National Commission on Certification 

of Physician Assistants (NCCPA) as Category I CME. The 

physician assistant shall provide CME documentation for 

inspection by the Board or its agent upon request. The two-year 

period shall begin on the physician assistant's birthday following 

the issuance of his or her license. 

(b)  A physician assistant who prescribes controlled substances 

shall complete at least two hours of CME, from the required 50 

hours, designed specifically to address controlled substance 

prescribing practices. The controlled substance prescribing CME 

shall include instruction on controlled substance prescribing 

practices and controlled substance prescribing for chronic pain 

management. CME that includes recognizing signs of the abuse 

or misuse of controlled substances, or non-opioid treatment 

options shall qualify for purposes of this Rule. 

(c)  A physician assistant who possesses a current certification 

with the NCCPA shall be deemed in compliance with the 

requirement of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. The physician assistant 

shall attest on his or her annual renewal he or she is currently 

certified by the NCCPA. Physician assistants who attest he or she 

possesses a current certificate with the NCCPA shall not be 

exempt from the controlled substance prescribing CME 

requirement of Paragraph (b) of this Rule. A physician assistant 

shall complete the required two hours of controlled substance 

CME unless the CME is a component part of their certification 

activity. Physician assistants who complete the federally required 

training under the Medication Access and Training Expansion Act 

(MATE) shall be deemed in compliance with the controlled 

substance prescribing requirements of this Rule for the two-year 

CME period in which the MATE training was completed. 

(d)  Courses pertaining to interprofessional continuing education 

and courses pertaining to cultural competency or implicit bias 

training shall qualify for any CME hours required under this Rule 

so long as such courses are approved by the NCCPA. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-5.1(a)(10); 90-18.1; S.L. 2015-

241, 12F.16(b) and 12F.16(c). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 36 – BOARD OF NURSING 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Nursing intends to amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 36 

.0807. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncbon.com 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  June 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 27, 2024 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  4516 Lake Boone Trail, Raleigh NC 27607 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The NC Medical Board presented 

a proposed amendment to 21 NCAC 36 .0807 Continuing 

Education (CE) at the annual meeting of the Joint Sub Committee 

in November 2023. The proposed amendment regarding Nurse 

Practitioners clarifies that licensees who complete the federally 

required Medication Access and Expansion Training (MATE) 

training will have also satisfied the state-mandated controlled 

substance prescribing CME for that reporting cycle. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Angela Ellis, PO Box 2129, 

Raleigh, NC 27602-2129; email lawsrules@ncbon.com 

 

Comment period ends:  April 1, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 
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provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0800 - APPROVAL AND PRACTICE 

PARAMETERS FOR NURSE PRACTITIONERS 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0807 CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE) 

(a)  In order to maintain nurse practitioner approval to practice, 

the nurse practitioner shall earn 50 contact hours of continuing 

education activity every two years, beginning with the first 

renewal after initial approval to practice has been granted. A 

minimum of 20 hours of the required 50 hours must be in the 

advanced practice nursing population focus of the NP role. The 

20 hours must have approval granted by the American Nurses 

Credentialing Center (ANCC) or Accreditation Council on 

Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), or by a national 

accredited provider of nursing continuing professional 

development, or nurse practice-relevant courses in an institution 

of higher learning. A nurse practitioner who possesses a current 

national certification by a national credentialing body shall be 

deemed in compliance with the requirement of Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule. 

(b)  Prior to prescribing controlled substances as the same are 

defined in 21 NCAC 36 .0809(2), nurse practitioners shall have 

completed a minimum of one CE hour within the preceding 12 

months on 1 or more of the following topics: 

(1) Controlled substances prescription practices; 

(2) Prescribing controlled substances for chronic 

pain management; 

(3) Recognizing signs of controlled substance 

abuse or misuse; or 

(4) Non-opioid treatment options as an alternative 

to controlled substances. 

(c)  Nurse practitioners who complete the federally required 

training under the Medication Access and Training Expansion Act 

(MATE) shall be deemed in compliance with the controlled 

substance prescribing requirements of this Rule for the two-year 

CE period in which the MATE training was completed. 

(c)(d)  Documentation of all CE completed within the previous 

five years shall be maintained by the nurse practitioner and made 

available upon request to either Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-8.2; 90-14(a)(15); 90-18(c)(14); 90-

171.23(b)(14); 90-171.42; S.L. 2015-241, s 12F. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the 

Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative 

Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270th day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to 

the Rules Review Commission by the 270th day. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-21.1 

and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 

HUMAN SERVICES 

 

Rule-making Agency:  N.C. Department of Health and Human 

Services/Director, DHSR 

 

Rule Citation:  10A NCAC 14E .0106, .0107, .0109 

 

Effective Date:  December 22, 2023 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  

December 14, 2023 

 

Reason for Action:  On May 16, 2023, Senate Bill 20 became 

law as S.L. 2023-14. The new law entitled "An Act to Make 

Various Changes to Health Care Laws and to Appropriate 

Funds for Health Care Programs" revised various state laws 

governing abortions in North Carolina. The Department was 

made aware of the proposed changes on May 2, 2023, when a 

Proposed Conference Committee Substitute was issued that 

made the changes to the State's abortion laws. The revisions in 

Part I and Part 2.4 of the law went into effect on July 1, 2023, 

less than 2 months after the Department became aware of the 

proposed changes. Among other changes, S.L. 2023-14 makes 

significant changes to defining when an abortion is lawful. 

Current rules governing the certification of abortion clinics are 

found in Subchapter 14E of Title 10A of the Administrative 

Code. Given the changes to the law that became effective July 

1, emergency rules became effective June 30, 2023. Adoption of 

temporary rules to amend the existing rules to conform with the 

provisions of S.L. 2023-14 will ensure continuity of care for 

patients and resolve any uncertainty about the rules applicable 

to impacted providers while being critical to protect the health 

and safety of women in obtaining lawful abortions in a certified 

abortion clinic. Therefore, the N.C. DHHS is amending Rule 

10A NCAC 14E .0106, .0107 and .0109 under temporary 

procedures. 

 

CHAPTER 14 - DIRECTOR, DIVISION OF HEALTH 

SERVICE REGULATION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 14E - LICENSURE OF SUITABLE 

FACILITIES FOR THE PERFORMANCE OF 

SURGICAL ABORTIONS 

 

SECTION .0100 – LICENSURE PROCEDURE 

 

10A NCAC 14E .0106 APPLICATION 

(a)  Prior to the admission of patients, an application from the 

applicant for a new clinic for certification licensure shall be 

submitted to and approved by the Division. submit an 

application for licensure and receive approval from the 

Division. 

(b)  Application forms may be obtained by contacting the 

Division at 2712 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-2712. 

(c)  The application form shall set forth: the ownership, staffing 

patterns, clinical services to be rendered, [and] professional 

staff in charge of services, services. and general information 

that would be helpful to the Division's understanding of the 

clinic's operating program. 

(1) Legal identity of the applicant; Name of 

applicant; 

(2) The name or names under which the facility 

or services are advertised or presented to the 

public; Name of facility; 

(3) The facility's mailing address; 

(4) The facility's physical address; 

(5)(4) The ownership of the facility, including a 

description of the legal character of the 

operating ownership; Ownership disclosure; 

(6)(4) The owner of the premises from which 

services are offered including the name and 

address of the owner of the premises if 

different from the owner of the facility; 

Building owner; 

(5) Building owner; 

(7)(6) If the facility is operated under a management 

contract, the name and address of the 

building's management company; Building 

management; 

(8)(7) A description of the arrangements that have 

been made for the disposal of pathological 

waste, products of conception, and sharps, 

and the name and address of the provider of 

such services if not performed by the facility; 

Sanitation services; 

(9)(8) The name, specialty, board certifications, and 

medical license number of the Medical 

Director; director; 

(10)(9) The name, specialty, board certifications, and 

medical license number of each member of 

the Other medical staff; 

(11)(10) The name, nursing certificate number, and 

renewal number of the Director of Nursing; 

nursing; 

(12)(11) The name, nursing certificate number, and 

renewal number of each Other nursing staff 

member; and staff; and 

(13)(12) The name of the consulting pathologist, the 

name of the consulting pathologist's 

laboratory, and the address of the laboratory. 

Consulting pathologist. 
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(d)  After construction requirements in Section .0200 of this 

Subchapter 13S of Title 10A of the North Carolina 

Administrative Code have been met and the application for 

certification licensure has been received and approved, the 

Division shall conduct an on-site, certification licensure survey. 

(e)  Each certificate license must be renewed at the beginning 

of each calendar year. The governing authority shall file an 

application for renewal of certification licensure with the 

Division at least 30 days prior to the date of expiration on forms 

furnished by the Division. Failure to file a renewal application 

shall result in expiration of the certificate license to operate. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 14-45.1(a);131E-153; 131E-

153.2; S.L. 2023-14, s. 2.2; 2.4; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. December 19, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 24, 2019; 

Codifier determined that agency's findings of need did not meet 

criteria for emergency rule on June 22, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. June 30, 2023; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2023 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.7.150B-

21.7; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 22, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 14E .0107 ISSUANCE OF CERTIFICATE 

LICENSE 

(a)  The Division shall issue a certificate license if it finds the 

facility can: can comply with all requirements described in this 

Subchapter and Subchapter 13S of Title 10A of the North 

Carolina Administrative Code. 

(1) Comply with all requirements described in 

this Subchapter and Subchapter 13S of Title 

10A of the North Carolina Administrative 

Code; Subchapter; and 

(2) Assure that, in the event that complications 

arise from the abortion procedure, an OB-

GYN board certified Have a board certified 

OB-GYN or board eligible physician by the 

American Board of Obstetrics and 

Gynecology shall be available. available in 

the event that complications arise from an 

abortion procedure. 

(b)  Each certificate license shall be issued only for the premises 

and persons or organizations named in the application and shall 

not be transferable. 

(c)  The governing authority shall notify the Division in writing, 

within 10 working days, of any change in the name of the 

facility or change in the name of the administrator. 

(d)  The facility shall report to the Division all incidents, within 

10 working days, of vandalism to the facility such as fires, 

explosions explosions, or other action causing disruption of that 

prevents services from being provided. providing abortion 

services. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 14-45.1(a); 90-21.81; 90-

21.81B;131E-153; 131E-153.2; S.L. 2023-14, s.[2.2]; 2.4; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. December 19, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 24, 2019; 

Codifier determined that agency's findings of need did not meet 

criteria for emergency rule on June 22, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. June 30, 2023; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2023 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.7. 150B-

21.7; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 22, 2023. 

 

10A NCAC 14E .0109 RENEWAL 

(a)  Each certificate, license, unless previously suspended or 

revoked, pursuant to the applicable rules and statutes shall be 

renewable annually renewed at the beginning of each calendar 

year. upon the filing of an application, payment of the non-

refundable renewal fee as defined in G.S. 131E-269, 131E-

153.2, and approval by the Division. 

(b)  The renewal application form shall set forth: 

(1) Legal identity of the applicant; Name of 

applicant; 

(2) The name or names under which the facility 

or services are advertised or presented to the 

public; Name of facility; 

(3) The facility's mailing address; 

(4) The facility's physical address; 

(5)(4) The ownership of the facility, including a 

description of the legal character of the 

operating ownership; Ownership disclosure; 

(6)(4) The owner of the premises from which 

services are offered including the name and 

address of the owner of the premises if 

different from the owner of the facility; 

Building owner; 

(5) Building owner; 

(7)(6) If the facility is operated under a management 

contract, the name and address of the 

building's management company; Building 

management; 

(8)(7) A description of the arrangements that have 

been made for the disposal of pathological 

waste, products of conception, and sharps, 

and the name and address of the provider of 

such services if not performed by the facility; 

Sanitation services; 

(9)(8) The name, specialty, board certifications, and 

medical license number of the Medical 

Director; director; 

(10)(9) The name, specialty, board certifications, and 

medical license number of each member of 

the Other medical staff; 

(11)(10) The name, nursing certificate number, and 

renewal number of the Director of Nursing; 

nursing; 

(12)(11) The name, nursing certificate number, and 

renewal number of each Other nursing staff 

member; and staff; and 

(13)(12) The name of the consulting pathologist, the 

name of the consulting pathologist's 
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laboratory, and the address of the laboratory. 

Consulting pathologist. 

(14)(13) The number of abortion procedures 

performed since initial licensure or the most 

recent licensure renewal, whichever is later; 

and during the reporting period; and 

(15)(14) The number of patients that were transferred 

to a hospital since initial licensure or the most 

recent licensure renewal, whichever is later. 

during a reporting period. 

(b)(c)  Upon the filing of a renewal application, the clinic must 

pay a non-refundable renewal fee as defined in G.S. 131E-

153.2. 

(c)(d)  An application for renewal of licensure must be filed 

with the Division at least 30 days prior to the date of expiration. 

Renewal application forms shall be furnished by the Division. 

(d)(e)  Failure to file a renewal application shall result in 

expiration of the license to operate. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 14-45.1(a); 131E-269;131E-

153; 131E-153.2; 143B-10; S.L. 2023-14, s.2.2; 2.4; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. December 19, 1977; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 24, 2019; 

Codifier determined that agency's findings of need did not meet 

criteria for emergency rule on June 22, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. June 30, 2023; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2023 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.7. 150B-

21.7; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 22, 2023. 

 

 

TITLE 25 – OFFICE OF STATE HUMAN RESOURCES 

 

Rule-making Agency:  State Human Resources Commission 

 

Rule Citation:  25 NCAC 01E .1903 

 

Effective Date:  December 22, 2023 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  

December 14, 2023 

 

Reason for Action:  The State Human Resources proposes 

adopting 25 NCAC 01E .1903 as a new temporary rule, meeting 

the Commission's obligation established in Section 7.83(a) of 

Session Law 2023-134, the 2023 Appropriations Act. The State 

Human Resources Commission previously promulgated a 

temporary rule .1903 as directed by the legislature. Temporary 

rule .1903 was adopted on August 25, 2023. It was based on a 

new statute requiring that the Commission adopt rules 

specifying "a period of minimum service before an employee 

becomes eligible for parental leave." G.S. 126-8.6(cl)m, as 

amended by Session Law 2023-65. Then, the legislature added 

additional language to this statute in Section 7.83(a) of Session 

Law 2023-134. The new statute reads, "The rules shall provide 

that the period of minimum service may be met by aggregating 

employment at any of the following: (1) State agencies, 

departments, and institutions, including The University of 

North Carolina; (2) Public school units that provide paid 

parental leave in accordance with this section; (3) Community 

colleges located in this State." G.S. 126-8.6(cl)(1)-(3), added by 

Session Law 2023-134 s. 7.83(a). This section, like the rest of 

the Appropriations Act, became law on October 3, 2023. Under 

Section 43.8 of Session Law 2023-134, the effective date of 

Section 7.83(a) of the act is July 1, 2023. 

 

CHAPTER 01 - OFFICE OF STATE HUMAN 

RESOURCES 

 

SUBCHAPTER 01E - EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

 

SECTION .1900 – PAID PARENTAL LEAVE 

 

25 NCAC 01E .1903 ELIGIBILITY FOR PAID 

PARENTAL LEAVE 

(a)  This Section applies to all agency employees subject to G.S. 

126-8.6, whether or not those employees are exempt from other 

sections of the State Human Resources Act. 

(b)  Employees may receive paid parental leave under this 

Section only if they are in a permanent, time-limited, or 

probationary appointment. Temporary employees are not 

eligible for paid parental leave under this Section. 

(c)  An agency shall allow an employee to take paid parental 

leave under this Section only if, at the time of the qualifying 

event, the employee meets each of the following conditions. 

(1) For the immediate 12 preceding months, the 

employee has been employed without a break 

in service as defined by 25 NCAC 01D .0114 

in a permanent, time-limited, or probationary 

appointment by: 

(A) the State of North Carolina 

agencies, departments, and 

institutions, including without 

limitation the University of North 

Carolina; 

(B) public school units that provide paid 

parental leave in accordance with 

G.S. 126-8.6; or 

(C) community college institutions of 

the State of North Carolina,  

aggregating employment at any of these 

employers. 

(2) The employee has been in pay status with: 

(A) the State of North Carolina 

agencies, departments, and 

institutions, including without 

limitation the University of North 

Carolina; 

(B) public school units that provide paid 

parental leave in accordance with 

G.S. 126-8.6; or 

(C) community college institutions of 

the State of North Carolina,  
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for at least 1,040 hours, aggregating 

employment at any of these employers, 

during the previous 12-month period. 

(d)  This Section applies to requests for paid parental leave 

related to qualifying events occurring on or after July 1, 2023. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 126-8.6; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. August 25, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 22, 2023. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission December 14, 2023 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  

Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Barbara A. Jackson (1st Vice-Chair) 

Jay R. Hemphill Randy Overton (2nd Vice-Chair) 
Jeff Hyde Wayne R. Boyles, III 

Brandon Leebrick Jake Parker 
Bill Nelson Paul Powell 

 
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Brian Liebman  984-236-1948 
William W. Peaslee 984-236-1939 
Seth M. Ascher  984-236-1934 
Travis Wiggs  984-236-1929 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 January 31, 2024 March 27, 2024 
 February 28, 2024 April 30, 2024 

 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING 

MINUTES 
December 14, 2023 

 
The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, December 14, 2023, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church 
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, and via WebEx. 
 
Commissioners Wayne R. Boyles III, Jeanette Doran, Jeff Hyde, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell 
were present in the Commission Room. Commissioners Jay Hemphill and Barbara Jackson were present via WebEx. 
 
Staff member Alexander Burgos, Commission Counsel Brian Liebman, and Bill Peaslee were present in the room and 
Commission Counsel Seth Ascher was present via Webex.  
 
The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. with Chair Doran presiding.  
 
The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to 
avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest. 
 
The Chair notified the Commissioners that the following items on the agenda would be taken up out of order at the end of 
the agenda: Follow-up matter Tab A for Child Care Commission, Follow-up matters Tab D and E for Department of Revenue, 
and Permanent Rules for the Department of Administration.  
 
APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the November 16, 2023, meeting. 
There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the minutes were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell 
– 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
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FOLLOW UP MATTERS 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Child Care Commission, the Chair called the meeting into a brief recess at 10:22 
a.m. The meeting resumed at 10:30 a.m. 
 
Child Care Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, 10A NCAC 09 .0102, .0601, .1707, .1725, .2204, .2206, .2209, .2611, .2612, .2613, .2614, .2615, 
and .2616 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay 
Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: 
None. 
 
DHHS - Division of Health Service Regulation 
Upon the call of the Chair, 10A NCAC 14E .0106, .0107, and .0109 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as 
follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, 
and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Commissioner Hemphill did not vote. 
 
10A NCAC 14E .0104, .0112, .0114, .0201, .0202, .0207, .0209, .0210, .0211, .0212, .0315, .0318, .0319, .0320, .0321, 
.0322, .0323, .0324, .0325, .0326, .0327, .0328, .0329, .0330, and .0331 were withdrawn at the request of the agency. No 
action was required by the Commission. 
 
Coastal Resources Commission 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Coastal Resources Commission, Commissioner Parker recused himself and did not 
participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because of a conflict of interest. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, 15A NCAC 07H .0208, .0308; and 07M .0603 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 1 as 
follows: Voting in the affirmative: Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, and Paul Powell – 
6. Voting in the negative: Wayne R. Boyles III. 
 
In accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2), the Commission received over ten letters of objection requesting legislative review 
and a delayed effective date for 15A NCAC 07H .0208 and 07M .0603. 
 
Department of Revenue 
Upon the call of the Chair, 17 NCAC 07B .1202, .1303, .1404, .2001, .2002, and .4109 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 
8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, 
Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, 17 NCAC 07B .1705 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 1 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell 
– 7. Voting in the negative: Jeff Hyde. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to adopt the staff’s recommendation to continue its objection to 17 NCAC 
07B .1601, .1605, and .2204 for lack of necessity by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne 
R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. 
Voting in the negative: None. 
 
17 NCAC 07B .3101 - The Commission continued its objection to this Rule at the November meeting and the time for the 
agency to respond has not expired. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Laura Lansford, the rulemaking coordinator with the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Department of Revenue 
Upon the call of the Chair, 17 NCAC 07B .4201, .4202, .4206, .4510, .4708, .4801, .5001, and .5004 were approved by roll-
call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, 
Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to adopt the staff’s recommendation to continue its objection from the 
November meeting to 17 NCAC 07B .4415, .4707, .4614, and .5002 by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in 
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the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, 
and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
17 NCAC 07B .4203, .4210, .4404, .4503, .4609, and .4710 - The Commission objected to these Rules at the November 
meeting and the time for the agency to respond has not expired. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Laura Lansford, the rulemaking coordinator with the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners  
Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 14T .0402 and .0404 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, 
and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Board of Examiners in Optometry 
21 NCAC 42D .0102 - The Commission objected to this rule at the November meeting. No action was required by the 
Commission. 
 
Building Code Council 
2024 NC Administrative Code and Policies 221213 Item B-1, 2024 NC Administrative Code and Policies Appendix B, 230314 
Item B-13, 2024 NC Plumbing Code, 230314 Item B-1, 2024 NC Residential Code, Chapters 1-10, 25-33, 45, 46, and 
Appendices - The Commission objected to these Rules at the November meeting. No action was required by the 
Commission. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES) 
Department of Administration 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to extend the period of review for 01 NCAC 06B .0307 to the January 
2024 meeting to allow RRC staff and the agency time to review the rule which is subject to RRC’s staff opinion 
recommending objection by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay 
Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: 
None. 
 
Donya Strong, the rulemaking coordinator with the agency, addressed the Commission. 
Chris McLennan, representing the Department of Agriculture, addressed the Commission. 
 
Medical Care Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to extend the period of review for 10A NCAC 13F .0703, .0704, .1103, 
.1104, .1106; 13G .0702, .0703, .0704, .1102, .1103, and .1106 by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and 
Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
DHHS - Division of Health Service Regulation 
Upon the call of the Chair, 10A NCAC 14C .1401, .1403, and .2703 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as 
follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, 
Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Commission For Mental Health/DD/SAS 
Upon the call of the Chair, 10A NCAC 27G .0104 and 28A .0102 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: 
Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake 
Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to extend the period of review for 12 NCAC 09A .0205, .0206; 09B .0103, 
.0235, .0236, .0301; 09C .0306; 09E .0103; 09F .0103, .0104, .0105; and 09G .0307 by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as 
follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, 
Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Department of Labor 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Department of Labor, Commissioner Jackson recused herself and did not participate 
in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because of a conflict of interest. 
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Upon the call of the Chair, 13 NCAC 15 .0430, .0431, .0432, .0433, .0434, .0435, .0436, .0437, and .0438 were approved 
by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Bill Nelson, 
Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Department of Public Safety 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to extend the period of review for 14B NCAC 03 .0501, .0502, .0503, 
.0504, .0505, .0506, .0507, .0508, and .0509 by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. 
Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting 
in the negative: None. 
 
Will Polk, the rulemaking coordinator with the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Private Protective Services Board  
Upon the call of the Chair, 14B NCAC 16 .0701, .0708, .0902, .0904, .0910, .0912, and .1109 were approved by roll-call 
vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, 
Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Coastal Resources Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, 15A NCAC 07H .1103, .1203, .1303, .1403, .1503, .1903, .2003, .2103, .2203, .2403, .2503, and 
.2703 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, 
Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Wildlife Resources Commission  
Upon the call of the Chair, 15A NCAC 10B .0501, .0503, and 10F .0333 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as 
follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, 
Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Department of the Secretary of State 18 NCAC 07B 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to extend the period of review for 18 NCAC 07B .0201, .0202, .0203, 
.0204, .0205, .0206, .0207, .0208, .0301, .0302, .0303, .0304, .0305, .0306, .0307, .0308, .0309, .0310, .0311, .0312, .0401, 
.0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, and .0406 by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles 
III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Department of the Secretary of State 18 NCAC 07F 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to extend the period of review for 18 NCAC 07F .0101, .0102, .0103, 
.0201, .0301, .0302, .0303, .0304, .0305, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0503, .0505, .0506, .0507, .0508, .0509, .0512, .0513, 
.0601, .0602, .0701, .0702, .0703, .0704, .0705, .0706, .0707, .0708, .0709, .0801, .0802, .0803, .0804, .0805, .0806, .0807, 
.0808, .0809, .0810, .0811 .0812, .0813, .0814, .0901, .0902, .0903, .0904, .0905, .0906, .1001, .1002, .1003, .1004, .1101, 
.1102, .1103, .1104, .1105, .1106, .1107, .1108, .1109, .1110, and .1111 by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in 
the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, 
and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Department of the Secretary of State 18 NCAC 07I, 07K 
Upon the call of the Chair,18 NCAC 07K .0101, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, and .0206 were approved by roll-call 
vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, 
Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to extend the period of review for 18 NCAC 07I .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, 
.0105, .0106, .0107, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, .0206, .0207, .0208, .0209, .0210, .0211, .0212, .0301, .0302, .0303, 
.0304, .0305, .0306, .0307, .0308, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, and .0407 by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as 
follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, 
Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Board of Chiropractic Examiners 
Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 10 .0204 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and 
Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
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Board of Examiners in Optometry  
Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 42B .0204 and 42M .0105 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: 
Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake 
Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Board of Nursing 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to extend the period of review for 21 NCAC 36 .0120, .0220, .0233, .0302, 
.0303, .0309, .0317, .0318, .0320, .0321, .0322, and .0323 by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and 
Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Building Code Council 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to extend the period of review for the 2024 NC Administrative Code and 
Policies 221213 Item B-1, 2024 NC Administrative Code and Policies Appendix B, 230314 Item B-13, 2024 NC Plumbing 
Code, 230314 Item B-1, 2024 NC Residential Code, Chapters 1-10, 25-33, 45, 46, and Appendices by roll-call vote, ayes 
8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, 
Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (TEMPORARY RULES) 
State Human Resources Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, 25 NCAC 01E .1903 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and 
Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Existing Rule Review 
Mining Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, the reports for 15A NCAC 05A, 05B, 05F, and 05G were approved with the designation of some 
rules being changed from unnecessary to necessary by the RRC by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and 
Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Request for change to 2024-2027 Existing Rules Review Schedule 
Prior to the review of the change to the 2024-2027 Existing Rules Review Schedule, Commissioner Jackson recused herself 
and did not participate in any discussion or vote concerning the changes to the 2024-2027 Existing Rules Review Schedule 
for the removal of 13 NCAC 18 for the Department of Labor because of a conflict of interest. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to remove 13 NCAC 18 for the Department of Labor and 18 NCAC 03 for 
the Department of the Secretary of State from the 2024-2027 Existing Rules Review Schedule as both subchapters were 
repealed by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, 
Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to remove 15A NCAC 13B Sections .0700, .0900, .1000, and .1300 for 
the Department of Environmental Quality from the 2024-2027 Existing Rules Review Schedule as the sections were 
repealed by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, 
Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission denied the joint request by DHHS - Commission for MH/DD/SAS and the Division 
of MH/DD/SUS to amend the 2024-2027 Existing Rules Review Schedule by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, 
and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Denise Baker, the rulemaking coordinator for DHHS - Commission for MH/DD/SAS and the Division of MH/DD/SUS, 
addressed the Commission. 
 
COMMISSION BUSINESS 
The Commission voted to approve the 2024 RRC meeting dates which change the monthly RRC meeting from the third 
Thursday of each month at 9:00 am to the last Wednesday of each month at 10:00 am unless otherwise indicated on the 
Rules Review Commission Meetings schedule by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne 
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R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. 
Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Ann Wall, the rulemaking coordinator with the Department of the Secretary of State, addressed the Commission. 
 
At 11:27 a.m., upon a motion by Chair Doran and a second by Commissioner Jackson, the Commission voted to call the 
public meeting of the Rules Review Commission into recess and enter into a closed session pursuant to G.S. 143-
318.11(a)(1) to review and approve the general account of the November 16, 2023 closed session which may be withheld 
from public inspection pursuant to G.S. 143-318.10(e) and to consult with counsel regarding CRC v. RRC and EMC v. RRC 
pursuant to G.S. 143.11(a)(3), by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay 
Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: 
None. 
 
Commissioner Hemphill did not return to the public meeting following the closed session. 
 
At 11:56 a.m., upon a motion by the Chair and a second by Commissioner Jackson, the Commission voted to come out of 
closed session and reconvene the public meeting of the Rules Review Commission by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as 
follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, 
and Paul Powell – 7. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
The meeting was adjourned at 11:56 a.m. 
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Wednesday, January 31, 2024, at 10:00 a.m. 
 
 
  
      
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
 
 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Jeanette Doran, Chair 
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Rules Review Commission Meeting December 14, 2023 
Via WebEx 

 

Name   Agency  

Sophie Plott Labor 

Tina Dupree SOS 

Ozie Stallworth SOS 

Seth Ascher OAH 

Julie Ventaloro OSBM 

Angela Willis DEQ 

Christy Simmons DEQ 

Daniel Govoni DEQ 

Jessica Gibson DEQ 

Rachel Love-Adrick DEQ 

Mackenzie Todd DEQ 

Tancred Miller DEQ 

Jonathan Howell DEQ 

Virginia Niehaus DHHS 

David Rittlinger DOI 

Ashley Snyder OAH 

Stephanie McFadden OSHR 

Ann Elmore SOS 

Cameron Ervin cshlaw.com 

E Hodson pitt.k12.nc.us 

Christopher Campbell sedlaw.com 

Will Polk DPS 

McKeithen, Gabrielle DOA 

Loretta Peace Bunch DOI 

Gibson, Jessica M  DEQ 

Eric Hunt DOJ 

Marielena Salazar shelltapup.com 

Liz Rasheed SELNC 

Chris Millis NCHBA 

Theresa Roedersheimer  

Ellen Roeber PT Board 

Canaan Huie mvalaw.com 

Julie Youngman selcnc.org 

Anne Coan NCFB 

H Katt 4rceoptions 

Bethany Burgon DOJ 

Julie Peck DHHS 

Emily Wiley DOT 

Laura Rowe Treasurer 

Dana Lee Auditor 

Andrew Furuseth DOR 
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Michelle Schilling DOJ 

Everett, Jennifer  DEQ 

Carla Rose Labor 

Lindsay Gomes unc.edu 

C Isaac NCHBA 

Sharon Martin Commerce 

Janice Peterson Optometry 

Robert El-Jaouhari cshlaw.com 

Dauna Bartley dauna@brockerlawfirm.com 

Nadine Pfeiffer  

Ruhlman, Carrie A  WRC 

Ian Clark DHHS 

David Gadd satiskysilverstein.com 

Dana McGhee OAH 
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LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES 

December 14, 2023 Meeting 

CHILD CARE COMMISSION 

Definitions 10A NCAC 09 .0102 

Safe Environment 10A NCAC 09 .0601 

Building Requirements 10A NCAC 09 .1707 

Sanitation Requirements for Family Child Care Homes 10A NCAC 09 .1725 

Provisional Child Care Facility License or Provisional No... 10A NCAC 09 .2204 

Suspension 10A NCAC 09 .2206 

Revocation of a Child Care Facility License or an Order t... 10A NCAC 09 .2209 

Scope 10A NCAC 09 .2611 

Definition of Multi-Unit Child Care Centers 10A NCAC 09 .2612 

Licensure 10A NCAC 09 .2613 

Outdoor Space 10A NCAC 09 .2614 

Staff/Child Ratios 10A NCAC 09 .2615 

Provider Qualifications 10A NCAC 09 .2616 

HHS - HEALTH SERVICE REGULATION, DIVISION OF 

Definitions 10A NCAC 14C .1401 

Performance Standards 10A NCAC 14C .1403 

Performance Standards 10A NCAC 14C .2703 

MENTAL HEALTH/DD/SAS, COMMISSION FOR 

Staff Definitions 10A NCAC 27G .0104 

Definitions 10A NCAC 28A .0102 

LABOR, DEPARTMENT OF 

Regulation of Inflatable or Air-Supported Amusement Devices 13 NCAC 15 .0430 

Definitions 13 NCAC 15 .0431 

Ride Design 13 NCAC 15 .0432 

Anchorage or Tie-Down 13 NCAC 15 .0433 

Operation of Inflatable or Air-Supported Amusement Devices 13 NCAC 15 .0434 

Blowers 13 NCAC 15 .0435 

Wind Speed 13 NCAC 15 .0436 

Signs 13 NCAC 15 .0437 

Operating Manual and Documentation 13 NCAC 15 .0438 

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

Application for Unarmed Security Guard Registration 14B NCAC 16 .0701 

Trainer Name to be Submitted to Director 14B NCAC 16 .0708 

Application for Firearms Trainer Certificate 14B NCAC 16 .0902 

Renewal of a Firearms Trainer Certificate 14B NCAC 16 .0904 

Application for an Unarmed Trainer 14B NCAC 16 .0910 

Rosters of Unarmed Trainer Classes 14B NCAC 16 .0912 

Training and Supervision for Private Investigator Associates 14B NCAC 16 .1109 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

38:14 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JANUARY 16, 2024 

953 

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Use Standards 15A NCAC 07H .0208 

Specific Use Standards for Ocean Hazard Areas 15A NCAC 07H .0308 

Permit Fee 15A NCAC 07H .1103 

Permit Fee 15A NCAC 07H .1203 

Permit Fee 15A NCAC 07H .1303 

Permit Fee 15A NCAC 07H .1403 

Application Fee 15A NCAC 07H .1503 

Permit Fee 15A NCAC 07H .1903 

Permit Fee 15A NCAC 07H .2003 

Permit Fee 15A NCAC 07H .2103 

Permit Fee 15A NCAC 07H .2203 

Permit Fee 15A NCAC 07H .2403 

Permit Fee 15A NCAC 07H .2503 

Permit Fee 15A NCAC 07H .2703 

Policy Statements 15A NCAC 07M .0603 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Definitions and General Requirements 15A NCAC 10B .0501 

Surveillance Area 15A NCAC 10B .0503 

Mecklenburg and Gaston Counties 15A NCAC 10F .0333 

REVENUE, DEPARTMENT OF 

Supplies and Equipment for an Accommodation 17 NCAC 07B .1202 

Gifts to Donees 17 NCAC 07B .1303 

Medical Supplies, Instruments, and Equipment 17 NCAC 07B .1404 

Housing Authorities 17 NCAC 07B .1705 

Sales to Employees 17 NCAC 07B .2001 

Gifts or Wages to an Employee or Other Person 17 NCAC 07B .2002 

Blueprints Sold to Architects 17 NCAC 07B .4109 

In General 17 NCAC 07B .4201 

Exempt Sales to the United States Government 17 NCAC 07B .4202 

Fed Savings/Loan Assoc, Natl and State Banks, Credit Unions 17 NCAC 07B .4206 

Independent Cleaning Solicitors 17 NCAC 07B .4510 

Postage Charges by Printers 17 NCAC 07B .4708 

Records Required to be Kept 17 NCAC 07B .4801 

Eyeglasses and Contact Lenses 17 NCAC 07B .5001 

Taxable Optical Supplies 17 NCAC 07B .5004 

SECRETARY OF STATE, DEPARTMENT OF THE 

Definitions 18 NCAC 07K .0101 

Travel Fee Rate 18 NCAC 07K .0201 

Estimate of Charges 18 NCAC 07K .0202 

Inclusion of Fees in Journal 18 NCAC 07K .0203 

Consent to Travel Fees May be Electronic 18 NCAC 07K .0204 

Contents of Advance Consent to Travel Fees 18 NCAC 07K .0205 

Notarial Record of Written Consent to Travel Fees 18 NCAC 07K .0206 
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CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Licensure; Renewal of License 21 NCAC 10 .0204 

COSMETIC ART EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Esthetics Student Equipment 21 NCAC 14T .0402 

Natural Hair Care Styling Student Equipment 21 NCAC 14T .0404 

OPTOMETRY, BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN 

Ceasing Practice 21 NCAC 42B .0204 

Remuneration and Expenses 21 NCAC 42M .0105 

 

 

LIST OF APPROVED TEMPORARY RULES 

December 14, 2023 Meeting 

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF 

Application 10A NCAC 14E .0106 

Issuance of License 10A NCAC 14E .0107 

Renewal 10A NCAC 14E .0109 

STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Eligibility for Paid Parental Leave 25 NCAC 01E .1903 

 
 


