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EXPLANATION OF THE PUBLICATION SCHEDULE  

 

This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.  

Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6. 

 

GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days but not later than 60 days 

after the date a notice of the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a 

later date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published 

notice, the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 

days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Environmental Management Commission intends to amend the 

rule cited as 15A NCAC 02H .0804. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

(https://www.deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-

sciences/chemistry-laboratory/laboratory-certification-branch) 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  March 20, 2024 

Time:  6:00 p.m. 

Location:  Ground Floor Hearing room in the Archdale Bldg., 

512 North Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  A multitude of emerging 

contaminants broadly known as “Per- and Polyfluoroalkyl 

Substances (PFAS)” are of great concern for NC regulators and 

the general public at large. The NC WW/GW Laboratory 

Certification Branch does not currently have the authority to 

certify for the parameter known as “PFAS”. This parameter must 

be added to Certification rule 15A NCAC 02H .0804 (d). 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Laboratory Certification 

Branch Manager, 1623 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-

1623; email DEQ.WR.CertificationRuleComments@deq.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  April 30, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 02H - PROCEDURES FOR PERMITS: 

APPROVALS 

 

SECTION .0800 – LABORATORY CERTIFICATION 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0804 PARAMETERS FOR WHICH 

CERTIFICATION MAY BE REQUESTED 

(a)  Commercial Laboratories shall obtain Certification for 

Parameter Methods used to generate data that will be reported by 

the client to the State in accordance with the rules of this Section. 

Municipal and Industrial Laboratories shall obtain Certification 

for Parameter Methods used to generate data that will be reported 

to the State in accordance with the rules of this Section. 

Commercial Laboratories shall obtain Certification for Field 

Parameter Methods used to generate data that will be reported by 

the client to the State in accordance with the rules of this Section. 

Municipal and Industrial laboratories shall obtain Certification for 

Field Parameter Methods used to generate data that will be 

reported to the State in accordance with the rules of this Section. 

(b)  Inorganics: Each of the inorganic, physical characteristic, and 

microbiological analytes listed in this Paragraph shall be 

considered a certifiable parameter. Analytical methods shall be 

determined from the sources listed in Rule .0805(a)(1) of this 

Section. One or more analytical methods or Parameter Methods 

may be listed with a laboratory's certified Parameters. Certifiable 

inorganic, physical characteristic, and microbiological Parameters 

are as follows: 

(1) Acidity; 

(2) Alkalinity; 

(3) Biochemical Oxygen Demand; 

(4) Bromide; 

(5) Carbonaceous Biochemical Oxygen Demand; 

(6) Chemical Oxygen Demand; 

(7) Chloride; 

(8) Chlorine, Free Available; 

(9) Chlorine, Total Residual; 

(10) Chlorophyll; 

(11) Coliform, Fecal; 

(12) Coliform, Total; 
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(13) Color; 

(14) Conductivity/Specific Conductance; 

(15) Cyanide; 

(16) Dissolved Organic Carbon; 

(17) Dissolved Oxygen; 

(18) Enterococci; 

(19) Escherichia Coliform (E. coli); 

(20) Flash Point; 

(21) Fluoride; 

(22) Hardness, Total; 

(23) Ignitability; 

(24) Surfactants as Methylene Blue Active 

Surfactants; 

(25) Nitrogen, Ammonia; 

(26) Nitrogen, Nitrite plus Nitrate; 

(27) Nitrogen, Nitrate; 

(28) Nitrogen, Nitrite; 

(29) Nitrogen, Total Kjeldahl; 

(30) Oil and Grease; 

(31) Orthophosphate; 

(32) Paint Filter Liquids; 

(33) pH; 

(34) Phenols; 

(35) Phosphorus, Total; 

(36) Residue, Settleable; 

(37) Residue, Total; 

(38) Residue, Total Dissolved; 

(39) Residue, Total Suspended; 

(40) Residue, Volatile; 

(41) Salinity; 

(42) Salmonella; 

(43) Silica; 

(44) Sulfate; 

(45) Sulfide; 

(46) Sulfite; 

(47) Temperature; 

(48) Total Organic Carbon; 

(49) Turbidity; 

(50) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 1; 

(51) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 2; 

(52) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 3; 

(53) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 4; 

(54) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 5; 

(55) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 6; 

(56) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 7; 

(57) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 8; and 

(58) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 12. 

(c)  Metals: Each of the metals listed in this Paragraph shall be 

considered a certifiable Parameter. One or more Parameter 

Methods shall be listed with a laboratory's certified Parameters. 

Analytical methods shall be determined from the sources listed in 

Rule .0805(a)(1) of this Section. Certifiable metals are as follows: 

(1) Aluminum; 

(2) Antimony; 

(3) Arsenic; 

(4) Barium; 

(5) Beryllium; 

(6) Boron; 

(7) Cadmium; 

(8) Calcium; 

(9) Chromium, Hexavalent (Chromium VI); 

(10) Chromium, Total; 

(11) Chromium, Trivalent (Chromium III); 

(12) Cobalt; 

(13) Copper; 

(14) Hardness, Total (Calcium + Magnesium); 

(15) Iron; 

(16) Lead; 

(17) Lithium; 

(18) Magnesium; 

(19) Manganese; 

(20) Mercury; 

(21) Molybdenum; 

(22) Nickel; 

(23) Potassium; 

(24) Phosphorus; 

(25) Selenium; 

(26) Silica; 

(27) Silver; 

(28) Sodium; 

(29) Strontium; 

(30) Thallium; 

(31) Tin; 

(32) Titanium; 

(33) Vanadium; and 

(34) Zinc. 

(d)  Organics: Each of the organic Parameters listed in this 

Paragraph shall be considered a certifiable Parameter. One or 

more Parameter Methods shall be listed with a laboratory's 

certified Parameters. Analytical methods shall be determined 

from the sources listed in Rule .0805(a)(1) of this Section. 

Certifiable organic Parameters are as follows: 

(1) 1,2-Dibromoethane (EDB); 1,2-Dibromo-3-

chloro-propane (DBCP); 1,2,3-

Trichloropropane (TCP); 

(2) Acetonitrile; 

(3) Acrolein, Acrylonitrile; 

(4) Adsorbable Organic Halides; 

(5) Base/Neutral and Acid Organics; 

(6) Benzidines; 

(7) Chlorinated Acid Herbicides; 

(8) Chlorinated Hydrocarbons; 

(9) Chlorinated Phenolics; 

(10) Explosives; 

(11) Extractable Petroleum Hydrocarbons; 

(12) Haloethers; 

(13) N-Methylcarbamates; 

(14) Nitroaromatics and Isophorone; 

(15) Nitrosamines; 

(16) Nonhalogenated Volatile Organics; 

(17) Organochlorine Pesticides; 

(18) Organophosphorus Pesticides; 

(19) Per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS); 

(19)(20) Phenols; 

(20)(21) Phthalate Esters; 

(21)(22) Polychlorinated Biphenyls; 

(22)(23) Polynuclear Aromatic Hydrocarbons; 

(23)(24) Purgeable Aromatics; 
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(24)(25) Purgeable Halocarbons; 

(25)(26) Purgeable Organics; 

(26)(27) Total Organic Halides; 

(27)(28) Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons – Diesel Range 

Organics; 

(28)(29) Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons – Gasoline 

Range Organics; and 

(29)(30) Volatile Petroleum Hydrocarbons. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(10). 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 42 – BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN 

OPTOMETRY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Examiners in Optometry intends to amend the rule cited 

as 21 NCAC 42D .0102. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncoptometry.org/proposed-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2024 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Contact the Board 

at (910) 285-3160, fax at (910) 285-4546 or email to 

janice@ncoptometry.org. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Provides guidance to optometric 

assistants and optometric technicians and the supervising 

optometrist regarding those acts and duties which may be 

assigned to them. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Janice Peterson, 521 Yopp 

Rd., Suite 214 #444, Jacksonville, NC 28540; phone (910) 285-

3160; fax (910) 285-4546; email janice@ncoptometry.org 

 

Comment period ends:  April 30, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 42D - OPTOMETRIC ASSISTANT AND 

TECHNICIAN 

 

21 NCAC 42D .0102 FUNCTION OPTOMETRIC 

ASSISTANT; OPTOMETRIC TECHNICIAN 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, "paraoptometric personnel" 

means an optometric assistant, optometric technician, or similarly 

titled position who qualifies by training and experience to perform 

duties of an administrative, technical, or clinical nature and is 

directed and supervised by a licensed optometrist. An optometric 

assistant is an individual who is certified through the American 

Optometric Association's certification process. The Board 

recognizes the American Optometric Association's certification 

process as its only approved certification process for certified 

optometric assistants. The certified optometric assistant assists the 

optometrist in the evaluation and treatment of a patient. The 

optometrist may delegate acts and duties within the scope of the 

American Optometric Association training and certification 

process to the certified optometric assistant; however, the 

optometrist remains responsible for the acts and duties he or she 

assigns to that individual. The following are those acts and duties 

which may be assigned to the certified optometric assistant: 

(1) Testing and Procedures 

(A) Take case histories (including chief 

complaint, patient and family medical 

and ocular history, current 

medications, and allergies). 

(B) Perform testing procedures including: 

visual acuity testing and assess visual 

acuity; stereo acuity testing; blood 

pressure measurement (manual, 

automated); keratometry; color vision 

assessment; chair-side scribing; 

tonometry; screening for binocular 

abnormalities, including cover test 

screening; dry eye testing; 

meibography; corneal topography; 

scanning computerized ophthalmic 

testing; visual field testing; glaucoma 

ancillary testing; near points of 

accommodation and convergence 

testing; macular pigment optical 

density (MPOD); pupil evaluation 

screening; Amsler grid; frequency 

doubling technology (FDT) fields; 

aberrometry; automated 

refractometry; contrast sensitivity 

tests; anterior segment photography; 
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fundus photography; low vision 

testing; pachymetry; traumatic brain 

injury testing; vision therapy testing; 

administer diagnostic/therapeutic 

medications. 

(2) Ophthalmic Optics and Dispensing 

(A) Order and maintain eyewear inventory 

and frame display 

(B) Educate and assist patient in selecting 

eyewear 

(C) Take appropriate frame and eye 

measurements on patient 

(D) Use digital dispensing technology 

(E) Lensometry 

(F) Dispense/adjust/repair eyewear 

(G) Understand fabrication requirements 

with various frames and prescriptions 

(3) Contact Lenses 

(A) Maintain/order/inventory contact 

lenses 

(B) Educate patients concerning contact 

lens options and fees 

(C) Basic Insertion and removal of contact 

lenses 

(D) Select proper care system for contact 

lenses 

(E) Perform and evaluate contact lens 

preliminary fitting 

(F) Educate patients on contact lens care 

and handling 

(G) Measure base curves using radiuscope 

(H) Verify contact lens diameter, 

thickness, and power 

(I) Clean and polish gas permeable lenses 

or prosthetic eyes 

(J) Use slit lamp to evaluate contact lens 

fit 

(4) Other Duties 

(A) Office Operations including: prepare 

patient charts for optometrist to 

review; patient education and 

communications; direct patient flow; 

provide patient education; perform 

telephone triage; computer skills and 

documentation in the electronic health 

record; relay communication between 

doctor, patient, specialists, and 

pharmacy; maintain and clean 

examination rooms and testing 

equipment. 

(B) Administrative Duties including: 

understand and perform medical 

billing and coding; maintain 

diagnostic listings and fee schedule; 

handle insurance issues; perform staff 

training; purchase ophthalmic 

examination equipment and supplies; 

maintain inventory of 

diagnostic/therapeutic medications; 

take inventory and reorder office 

supplies; comply with federal 

regulations; E-prescribe and managing 

medication refills; coordinate referrals 

to other offices for surgeries or other 

specialty; administer, record, and 

transmit prescribed medications. 

(b)  Paraoptometric personnel shall perform his or her functions 

within the scope of his or her training, as directed by and assigned 

by an optometrist, so long as those functions are at the specific 

direction and under the supervision of the licensee An optometric 

technician is an individual who is certified through the American 

Optometric Association's certification process. The Board 

recognizes the American Optometric Association's certification 

process as its only approved certification process for certified 

optometric technicians. The certified optometric technician assists 

the optometrist in the evaluation and treatment of a patient. The 

optometrist may delegate acts and duties within the scope of the 

American Optometric Association training and certification 

process to the certified optometric technician; however, the 

optometrist remains responsible for the acts and duties he or she 

assigns to that individual. The following are those acts and duties 

which may be assigned to the certified optometric technician (in 

addition to those acts and duties which may be assigned to a 

certified optometric assistant): 

(1) Testing and Procedures 

(A) Slit Lamp Examination 

(B) Ocular surface disease (e.g., SPEED 

questionnaire, Schirmer's test, TBUT, 

TearLab tests) 

(C) Aseptic or Infection Control 

techniques 

(D) Instrument and equipment sterilizing 

(E) Automated and manual refractometry 

(F) Ocular motility testing (pursuits and 

saccades) 

(G) Binocularity testing including cover 

testing 

(H) Goldmann tonometry - serial testing 

(I) Assist with performing surgical tasks 

(J) Low vision testing and training 

(K) Specular microscopy 

(L) Electrodiagnostic Testing and training 

(M) Sports vision testing 

(N) Vision therapy testing 

(O) Understand use of YAG lasers 

(2) Ophthalmic Optics and Dispensing 

(A) Fabricate eyewear 

(B) Measure parameters of special lenes 

including prism and slab off 

prescriptions 

(C) Calculate Spherical Equivalent and 

Transpose lens prescriptions 

(D) Write/copy prescriptions 

(E) Troubleshoot problems with eyewear 

(3) Contact Lenses 

(A) Advanced handling - Insertion and 

removal of specialized and various 
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types of contact lenses (e.g., soft, gas 

permeable, hybrid, scleral) 

(B) Using slit lamp perform contact lens 

fitting and assessments (e.g., soft, gas 

permeable, hybrid, scleral, etc.) 

(C) Educate patients on contact lens care 

and handling of specialized contact 

lenses 

(D) Trouble shoot contact lens problems 

(E) Perform progress checks on contact 

lens patients 

(F) Clean and polish gas permeable lenses 

(4) Other Duties 

(A) Office Operations including: 

overseeing management of daily 

patient flow; management of patient 

clinical issues between patient and 

doctor. 

(B) Administrative Duties including: 

coordinate patient correspondence; 

assist in publication of office 

newsletter; assist in use of social 

media; assist in website development 

and maintenance; maintain and update 

policy and procedure manuals; 

implement new software; prepare 

internal reports; use computer for 

billing/accounting; maintain 

diagnostic listings and fee schedule; 

perform medical coding; verify 

accuracy of procedure and medical 

coding; provide patient education 

regarding diagnoses and ophthalmic 

surgery; help to resolve patient 

complaints and concerns; implement 

and maintain Meaningful Use 

(MACRA/MIPS) and PQRS; assist in 

hiring and termination of employees; 

supervise personnel; plan and lead 

staff meetings; organize in-house 

educational offerings; train personnel; 

take office supply inventory; 

coordinate purchase of ophthalmic 

examination equipment and supplies; 

coordinate/maintain credentialing 

within the office; maintain inventory 

of diagnostic/therapeutic medications; 

comply with federal regulations (e.g., 

HIPAA, OSHA, etc.); perform CPR 

certification in BLS in case of 

emergency. 

(b)(c)  The Board may require that paraoptometric personnel An 

optometric technician be currently certified by the American 

Optometric Association and maintain this certification shall be in 

the physical presence of the patient during any patient 

examination in environments where there is no onsite optometrist 

physically present during such examination. and supervision is 

limited. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-115.1(6); 90-117.5. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the 

Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative 

Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270th day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to 

the Rules Review Commission by the 270th day. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-21.1 

and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 08 – STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

 

Rule-making Agency:  State Board of Elections 

 

Rule Citation:  08 NCAC 20 .0101-.0103 

 

Effective Date:  February 8, 2024 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  January 31, 

2024 

 

Reason for Action:  The effective date of a recent act of the 

General Assembly or of the U.S. congress. S.L. 2023-140, sec. 

7(a)-(b) effective January 1, 2024. Pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.1(a)(11), the need for the State Board of Elections to adopt a 

temporary rule upon any abbreviated notice or hearing the 

agency finds practical for the following: to implement provisions 

of state law for which the State Board of Elections has been 

authorized to adopt rules, and the need for the rule to become 

effective immediately in order to preserve the integrity of 

upcoming elections and the elections process.  With the enactment 

of S.L. 2023-140, the existing statute governing election observers 

has been completely rewritten. The current rule governing 

observers, 08 NCAC 20 .0101, has been rendered largely 

obsolete. The subjects that the current rule addresses - the 

appointment procedures for observers and rules governing their 

conduct – have been addressed in specific ways by the new 

observer law – G.S. 163-45.1, once codified. The new law 

requires the State Board to issue rules to address the following 

specific items: how to handle challenges to the appointment of 

observers brought by those who are authorized in statute to issue 

such challenges, how to handle appeals of those challenge 

decisions, how to handle appeals from a chief judge's decision to 

remove an observer from service, and whether to require 

observers to wear identification badges so that voters and poll 

workers can identify them and their purpose at the polls. 

Temporary procedures were required because there was not 

enough time before the start of early voting in the 2024 primary – 

February 15 – to complete the permanent rulemaking process. 

 

CHAPTER 20 - ELECTION OBSERVERS 

 

08 NCAC 20 .0101 ELECTION OBSERVERS 

CHALLENGE TO THE APPOINTMENT OF AN 

OBSERVER 

(a)  Observer Lists. The chair of each political party in a county 

may designate two precinct-specific observers to attend each 

voting place on Election Day and each one-stop site during a 

primary or general election in accordance with this Rule. The 

precinct-specific observer list may include up to eight names and 

shall include the times that each observer shall serve. The county 

party chair may designate 10 additional at-large observers who 

may attend any voting place in the county. The list of observers 

for one-stop must designate the names of the observers who will 

be present on each day of early voting and, for precinct-specific 

observers, at each one-stop site. At-large observers may serve at 

any one-stop site. The chair of each State political party may 

designate up to 100 additional at-large observers who are 

residents of the State who may attend any voting place in the 

State. 

(b)  Submission of Lists. The county party chair shall submit a 

written, signed list of county at-large observers to the county 

director of elections, with two copies provided to the chair of the 

county board of elections, prior to 10:00 a.m. on the fifth day prior 

to Election Day. The county party chair shall submit a written, 

signed list of the observers appointed for each precinct to the chief 

judge of each precinct, with two copies provided to the chair of 

the county board of elections, prior to 10:00 a.m. on the fifth day 

prior to Election Day; the list may be delivered in care of the 

county director of elections. The county party chair shall submit 

the list of observers for one-stop before 10:00 a.m. on the fifth day 

before the observer is to observe. The list of at-large observers to 

serve on Election Day may be amended prior to Election Day to 

substitute one or all of the at-large observers. The list of at-large 

observers who serve during early voting may not be amended after 

10:00 a.m. on the fifth day before the at-large observer is to 

observe. The list of precinct-specific observers to serve on 

Election Day may not be amended after 10:00 a.m. on the fifth 

day prior to Election Day. The State party chair shall submit the 

written, signed list of State at-large observers by 10:00 a.m. on the 

fifth day prior to Election Day to the State Board, which shall 

disseminate the list to the county boards of elections. The list shall 

include the full name of each at-large observer and the county in 

which the observer is registered. The State Board shall confirm 

that each State at-large observer is a registered voter of the State. 

Party chairs may provide the lists by facsimile or email provided 

the letters are signed. Scanned signatures are permissible. 

(c)  Observers at Voting Place. No more than two precinct-

specific observers from each political party may be in the voting 

enclosure at any time. Only one at-large observer from each 

political party may be in the voting enclosure at any time, even if 

no precinct-specific observers are present. All observers, whether 

precinct-specific or at-large, may be relieved after serving no less 

than four hours; however, the total number of observers from each 

party cannot exceed three total observers in the voting enclosure 

at one time: two precinct-specific observers and one county or 

State at-large observer. An observer may leave the voting place 

without having served for four hours, but the observer cannot be 

replaced by a new observer until at least four hours have passed 

since the first observer began serving. An observer who leaves the 

voting place for any reason may be prohibited by the chief judge 

from returning if the observer's return would cause a disruption in 

the voting enclosure. 
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(d)  Observer Conduct. Observers who engage in prohibited 

conduct after receiving a warning may be required by the chief 

judge to leave the voting enclosure. Prohibited activities by 

observers include: 

(1) Wearing or distributing campaign material or 

electioneering; 

(2) Impeding or disrupting the voting process or 

speaking with voters or election assistants; 

(3) Interfering with the privacy of the voter, 

including positioning themselves in such a way 

that they can view confidential voter 

information on poll books or laptops or 

standing in such a way that they can view the 

contents of ballots inserted into a tabulator; 

(4) Using an electronic device to film or take 

photographs inside the voting enclosure; 

(5) Taking photographs, videos, or recording a 

voter without the consent of the voter and the 

chief judge; 

(6) Entering the voting booth area or attempting to 

view voted ballots; 

(7) Boarding a vehicle containing curbside voters; 

and 

(8) Providing voter assistance. 

(e)  Eligibility. No person who is a candidate on the ballot in a 

primary or general election may serve as an observer or runner in 

that primary or that general election. No person who serves as an 

observer or runner in a primary or general election may serve as a 

precinct official or one-stop election official in that primary or that 

general election. 

(f)  Observers for unaffiliated candidates. An unaffiliated 

candidate or the candidate's campaign manager may appoint two 

observers at each voting place as set forth in this Rule. 

(g)  The use of the term "chief judge" includes one-stop site 

managers. 

(a)  Filing of Challenges. A county board of elections, by a 

majority vote and documented through a written statement made 

by any board member, may challenge the appointment of any 

observer appointed to serve in that county, and a chief judge of a 

voting place may challenge the appointment of any observer who 

is eligible to serve in that voting place. The challenge shall be 

submitted electronically or in writing to the county board of 

elections office before the observer is scheduled to serve. The 

challenge shall contain the following information: 

(1) the name of the observer; 

(2) the party or unaffiliated candidate that 

appointed the observer; and 

(3) the basis for the challenge pursuant to G.S. 163-

45.1(f). 

The county board of elections office shall immediately provide a 

copy of the challenge to the chair of the political party or 

candidate that appointed the observer. A notification sent within 

three business hours of receipt of the challenge to an email address 

provided by the chair of the political party or by the candidate 

appointing the observer is a method of providing immediate 

notice. 

(b)  Hearing of Challenges. Upon receiving a challenge pursuant 

to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the county board of elections shall 

hold a hearing and decide the challenge as expeditiously as 

possible but no later than two days after the challenge is filed. The 

chair of the county board of elections shall set the time of the 

hearing. The hearing may be held remotely, including by 

telephone. The county board shall provide notice of the hearing 

by electronic mail or telephone to the chair of the political party 

or the unaffiliated candidate that appointed the observer, in 

addition to providing the meeting notice required by G.S. 143-

318.12. If notice is by telephone, the county board shall also 

provide the notice by electronic mail or text message. The notice 

shall inform the chair of the political party or the candidate that 

they may waive the hearing or decline to contest the challenge, in 

which case no hearing shall be held, and the county board may 

decide the challenge, as submitted, at a meeting held at the same 

time as the noticed hearing. At the hearing, the county board may 

shall accept written or oral submissions from elections officials, 

observers, witnesses, and other individuals with pertinent 

information. If a majority of board members is unable to attend 

the meeting to consider the challenge, the chair of the county 

board of elections shall act on behalf of the county board of 

elections and decide on the challenge. The decision on the 

challenge shall be rendered at the meeting for which the challenge 

was noticed. The decision shall be reduced to writing and served 

within 24 hours of the same day as the meeting, either 

electronically or by personal service, in person, to on the chair of 

the political party or on the candidate appointing the observer. 

(c)  Appeals on Challenges. The decision by a county board of 

elections on a challenge to the appointment of an observer 

pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule may be appealed only by 

the political party or candidate that appointed the observer. The 

county board's decision shall not be stayed pending appeal. The 

appeal shall be filed with the State Board of Elections via email 

to legal@ncsbe.gov no later than two hours after the county 

board's decision is served. served pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule. The appeal shall contain an argument explaining why the 

county board's decision should be reversed on account of one or 

more of the grounds listed in G.S. 150B-51(b) and shall be signed 

by the person filing the appeal. A copy of the county board 

decision must shall be filed with the appeal. Upon receiving an 

appeal, the State Board shall decide the appeal on the basis of the 

record and may permit oral argument on the appeal. appeal if the 

chair of the Board concludes that the written record alone is not 

legally sufficient to make a decision on the appeal. The appeal 

shall be decided as expeditiously as possible. The executive 

director of the State Board may inspect any appeals filed under 

this Paragraph and, within one business day after the receipt of an 

appeal, transmit a copy of the appeal to the State Board members 

along with a written statement indicating the executive director's 

recommendation either to grant or to deny the appeal. The 

executive director's recommendation shall become final unless 

any State Board member raises an oral or written objection within 

one calendar day, in which case the full State Board shall decide 

the appeal at a meeting. The decision of the State Board, Board or 

the executive director's recommendation if it becomes final, shall 

be reduced to writing and served electronically on the chair of the 

political party or on the candidate appointing the observer. 

observer within 24 hours of the decision having been made. 

(d)  An observer who is successfully challenged pursuant to this 

Rule shall not be permitted to serve as an observer in the primary 

or election during which they were challenged. 
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History Note:  Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-45; 163-166.6; 

163-166.7; 163-22.2; 163-45.1; 

Eff. October 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2021. 2021; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

08 NCAC 20 .0102 APPEAL OF REMOVAL OF AN 

OBSERVER FROM A VOTING SITE 

(a)  Filing of Appeal. The decision by a chief judge to remove an 

observer pursuant to G.S. 163-45.1(j) may be appealed only by 

the chair of the political party or the candidate that appointed the 

observer. The appeal shall be filed with the county board of 

elections in the county where the observer was removed. The To 

file the appeal, the appeal shall be submitted electronically or in 

writing emailed to the county director of elections or physically 

delivered to the county board office during business hours to the 

county board of elections office as follows: 

(1) If the observer was removed from an early 

voting site, the appeal shall be filed within one 

business day of when the observer was 

removed. 

(2) If the observer was removed from an Election 

Day voting site, the appeal shall be filed within 

two hours of when the observer was removed. 

The appeal shall contain an argument explaining why the chief 

judge's decision should be reversed on account of one or more of 

the grounds listed in G.S. 150B-51(b). It shall state whether a 

hearing is requested and shall be signed by the person filing the 

appeal. The decision to remove an observer shall not be stayed 

pending appeal. 

(b)  Hearing of Appeal. Pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the 

The county board shall consider the appeal appeals filed pursuant 

to Paragraph (a) of this Rule as follows: 

(1) If the observer was removed from an early 

voting site, the county board shall decide the 

appeal as expeditiously as possible but no later 

than two days after the appeal was received. 

(2) If the observer was removed from an Election 

Day voting site, the county board shall decide 

the appeal as expeditiously as possible but no 

later than four hours after the appeal was 

received. 

The county board shall provide notice of the meeting at which the 

appeal will be decided by electronic mail or telephone to the chair 

of the political party or the unaffiliated candidate that appointed 

the observer, in addition to providing the meeting notice required 

by G.S. 143-318.12. If notice is by telephone, the county board 

shall also provide the notice by email or text message. The county 

board's meeting may be held remotely, including by telephone. 

The county board may shall accept written or oral submissions 

from elections officials, observers, witnesses, and other 

individuals with pertinent information. If no hearing is requested, 

the county board may shall decide the appeal, based on written 

submissions only, at a meeting held at the same time as the noticed 

hearing. If a majority of board members is unable to attend the 

meeting to consider the appeal, the chair of the county board of 

elections shall act on behalf of the county board of elections and 

decide the appeal on his or her own. The decision shall be reduced 

to writing and served the same day as within 24 hours after the 

meeting, meeting for early voting, and 2 hours after the meeting 

on Election Day, either electronically or by personal service, in 

person, on to the chair of the political party or on the candidate 

appointing the observer. 

(c)  An observer who is removed from serving as an observer 

pursuant to G.S. 163-45.1(j) or this Rule shall not be permitted to 

serve as an observer in the primary or election during which they 

were removed. 

 

History Note:  Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-22.2; 163-45.1; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

08 NCAC 20 .0103 IDENTIFICATION OF 

OBSERVERS 

Every appointed observer serving at a voting site pursuant to G.S. 

163-45.1 shall wear an identification tag to make voters and 

elections officials aware of the observer's role in the voting site. 

The tag shall read "Observer for [Name] Party" or "Observer for 

Candidate [Name]" with the "[Name]" being the name of the 

political party or the candidate, as applicable. 

 

History Note:  Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-22.2; 163-45.1; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Medical Care Commission 

 

Rule Citation:  10A NCAC 13S .0101, .0104, .0111, .0112, .0114, 

.0201, .0202, .0207, .0209-.0212, .0315, .0318-.0331 

 

Effective Date:  February 8, 2024 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  January 31, 

2024 

 

Reason for Action:  A serious and unforeseen threat to the public 

health, safety and welfare. The effective date of a recent act of the 

General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress effective July 1, 2023. 

On May 16, 2023, Senate Bill 20 became law as S.L. 2023-14. 

This new law entitled "An Act to Make Various Changes to Health 

Care Laws and to Appropriate Funds for Health Care Programs" 

made revisions to various state laws governing abortions in North 

Carolina. Effective October 1, 2023, the North Carolina Medical 

Care Commission was authorized to "adopt, amend, and repeal 

all rules necessary for the implementation" of Part II of S.L. 2023-

14 and as a result adopted emergency rules effective November 

14, 2023. The adoption of temporary rules will ensure continuity 

of care for patients, will resolve any uncertainty about the rules 

applicable to impacted providers from October 1st until the 

Medical Care Commission is able to promulgate permanent rules, 

and will protect the health and safety of people obtaining 

reproductive health care. Therefore, the Medical Care 

Commission seeks to adopt Subchapter 13S of Title 10A under 

temporary procedures. 

 

CHAPTER 13 - NC MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 



 TEMPORARY RULES 

 

 

38:17 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 1, 2024 

1074 

SUBCHAPTER 13S - LICENSURE OF SUITABLE 

FACILITIES FOR THE PERFORMANCE OF SURGICAL 

ABORTIONS 

 

SECTION .0100 – LICENSURE PROCEDURE 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0101 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions will apply throughout this Subchapter: 

(1) "Abortion" means the termination of a 

pregnancy as defined in G.S. 90-21.81(1c). 

(2) "Clinic" means a freestanding facility neither 

physically attached nor operated by a licensed 

hospital for the performance of abortions 

completed during the first 12 weeks of 

pregnancy. 

(3) "Division" means the Division of Health 

Service Regulation of the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(4) "Gestational age" means the length of 

pregnancy as indicated by the date of the first 

day of the last normal monthly menstrual 

period, if known, or as determined by 

ultrasound. 

(5) "Governing authority" means the individual, 

agency, group, or corporation appointed, 

elected or otherwise designated, in which the 

ultimate responsibility and authority for the 

conduct of the abortion clinic is vested pursuant 

to Rule .0318 of this Subchapter. 

(6) "Health Screening" means an evaluation of an 

employee or contractual employee, including 

tuberculosis testing, to identify any underlying 

conditions that may affect the person's ability to 

work in the clinic. 

(7) "New clinic" means one that is not certified as 

an abortion clinic by the Division as of July 1, 

2023, and has not been certified or licensed 

within the previous six months of the 

application for licensure. 

(8) "Registered Nurse" means a person who holds 

a valid license issued by the North Carolina 

Board of Nursing to practice professional 

nursing in accordance with the Nursing Practice 

Act, G.S. 90, Article 9A. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0104 PLANS 

Prior to issuance of a license pursuant to Rule .0107 of this 

Section, an applicant for a new clinic shall submit two copies of 

the building plans to the Division. When the clinic requires a 

review by the Division and the Department of Insurance, 

according to the North Carolina State Building Code, 2018 

edition, including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies 

of the Code are available from the International Code Council at 

https://codes.iccsafe.org/content/NCAPC2018/chapter-1-

administrative-code at no cost. When the local jurisdiction has 

authority from the North Carolina Building Code Council to 

review the plans, the clinic shall submit only one copy of the plans 

to the Division. In that case, the clinic shall submit an additional 

set of plans directly to the local jurisdiction. 

 

History Note:  Authority G.S. 131E-153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0111 INSPECTIONS 

(a)  Any clinic licensed by the Division to perform abortions shall 

be inspected by representatives of the Division annually and as it 

may deem necessary as a condition of holding such license. An 

inspection may be conducted whenever the Division receives a 

complaint alleging the clinic is not in compliance with the rules 

of the Subchapter. 

(b)  Representatives of the Division shall make their identities 

known to the clinic staff prior to inspection of the clinic. 

(c)  Representatives of the Division may review any records in 

any medium necessary to determine compliance with the rules of 

this Subchapter. The Department shall maintain the 

confidentiality of the complainant and the patient, unless 

otherwise required by law. 

(d)  The clinic shall allow the Division to have immediate access 

to its premises and the records necessary to conduct an inspection 

and determine compliance with the rules of this Subchapter. 

(e)  A clinic shall file a written plan of correction for cited 

deficiencies within 10 business days of receipt of the report of the 

survey. The Division shall review and respond to a written plan 

of correction within 10 business days of receipt of the corrective 

action plan. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153.2; 131E-153.5; 131E-

153.6; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0112 ALTERATIONS 

Any license holder or prospective applicant desiring to make 

alterations or additions to a clinic or to construct a new clinic, 

before commencing such alteration, addition or new construction 

shall submit plans and specifications to the Division for 

preliminary inspection and approval or recommendations with 

respect to compliance with this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 
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10A NCAC 13S .0114 APPROVAL 

(a)  Approval of building plans shall be obtained from the 

Division of Health Service Regulation, in accordance with the 

rules in Section .0200 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Approval of building plans shall expire one year after the date 

of approval unless a building permit for the construction has been 

obtained prior to the expiration date of the approval of building 

plans. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

SECTION .0200 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CONSTRUCTION AND EQUIPMENT 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0201 BUILDING CODE 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The physical plant for a clinic shall meet or exceed minimum 

requirements of the North Carolina State Building Code for Group 

B occupancy (business office facilities) which is incorporated 

herein by reference including subsequent amendments and 

editions. Copies of the Code can be obtained from the 

International Code Council online at 

http://shop.iccsafe.org/north-carolina-doi.discounts?ref=NC for a 

cost of five hundred twenty-seven dollars ($527.00) or accessed 

electronically free of charge at 

https://codes.iccsafe.org/content/NCAPC2018/chapter-1-

administrative-code. 

(b)  The requirements contained in this Section shall apply to new 

clinics and to any alterations, repairs, rehabilitation work, or 

additions which are made to a previously licensed facility. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0202 SANITATION 

Clinics that are licensed by the Division to perform abortions shall 

comply with the Rules governing the sanitation of hospitals, 

nursing homes, adult care homes, and other institutions, contained 

in 15A NCAC 18A .1300 which is hereby incorporated by 

reference including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies 

of 15A NCAC 18A .1300 may be obtained at no charge from the 

Division of Public Health, Environmental Health Section, 1632 

Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1632, or accessed 

electronically free of charge from the Office of Administrative 

Hearings at https://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

10A NCAC 13S .0207 AREA REQUIREMENTS 

The following areas shall comply with Rule .0212 of this Section, 

and are considered minimum requirements for clinics that are 

licensed by the Division to perform abortions: 

(1) receiving area; 

(2) examining room; 

(3) preoperative preparation and holding room; 

(4) individual patient locker facilities or 

equivalent; 

(5) procedure room; 

(6) recovery room; 

(7) clean workroom; 

(8) soiled workroom; 

(9) a clean area for self-contained secure 

medication storage complying with security 

requirements of state and federal laws is 

provided; 

(10) separate and distinct areas for storage and 

handling of clean and soiled linen; 

(11) patient toilet; 

(12) personnel lockers and toilet facilities; 

(13) laboratory; 

(14) nourishment station with storage and 

preparation area for serving meals or 

in-between meal snacks; 

(15) janitor's closets; 

(16) adequate space and equipment for assembling, 

sterilizing and storing medical and surgical 

supplies; 

(17) storage space for medical records; and 

(18) office space for nurses' charting, doctors' 

charting, communications, counseling, and 

business functions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0209 ELEVATOR 

(a)  In multi-story buildings, the clinic shall provide at least one 

elevator for patient use. 

(b)  At least one dimension of the elevator cab shall be six and 

one-half feet to accommodate stretcher patients. 

(c)  The elevator door shall have an opening of no less than three 

feet in width, which is minimum for stretcher use. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0210 CORRIDORS 

The width of patient use corridors shall be no less than 60 inches. 

 

History Note: Authority 131E-153.5; 143B-165; 
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Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0211 DOORS 

Minimum width of doors to all rooms needing access for 

stretchers shall be three feet. No door shall swing into corridors in 

a manner that might obstruct traffic flow or reduce the required 

corridor width except doors to spaces not subject to occupancy. 

 

History Note: Authority 131E-153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0212 ELEMENTS AND EQUIPMENT 

The physical plant shall provide equipment to carry out the functions of the clinic with the following minimum requirements: 

(1) Mechanical requirements. 

(a) Temperatures and humidities: 

(i) The mechanical systems shall be designed to provide the temperature and humidities shown in this 

Sub-Item: 

Area   Temperature  Relative Humidity 

Procedure  70-76 degrees F.  50-60% 

Recovery  75-80 degrees F.  30-60% 

(b) All air supply and exhaust systems for the procedure suite and recovery area shall be mechanically operated. 

All fans serving exhaust systems shall be located at the discharge end of the system. The ventilation rates 

shown herein shall be considered as minimum acceptable rates. 

(i) The ventilation system shall be designed and balanced to provide the pressure relationships detailed 

in Sub-Item (b)(vii) of this Rule. 

(ii) All air supplied to procedure rooms shall be delivered at or near the ceiling of the room and all 

exhaust or return from the area shall be removed near the floor level at not less than three inches 

above the floor. 

(iii) Corridors shall not be used to supply air to or exhaust air from any procedure or recovery room 

except to maintain required pressure relationships. 

(iv) All ventilation or air conditioning systems serving procedure rooms shall have a minimum of one 

filter bed with a minimum filter efficiency of 80 percent. 

(v) Ventilation systems serving the procedure or recovery rooms shall not be tied in with the soiled 

holding or work rooms, janitors' closets, or locker rooms if the air is to be recirculated in any manner. 

(vi) Air handling duct systems shall not have duct linings. 

(vii) The following general air pressure relationships to adjacent areas and ventilation rates shall apply: 

Area  Pressure Relationship  Minimum Air 

Changes/Hour 

Procedure   P   6 

Recovery   P   6 

Soiled work, 

Janitor's closet, 

Toilets, 

Soiled holding  N   10 

Clean work or 

Clean holding  P   4 

(P = positive pressure N = negative pressure)

(2) Plumbing And Other Piping Systems. 

(a) Medical Gas and Vacuum Systems 

(i) Piped-in medical gas and 

vacuum systems, if installed, 

shall meet the requirements 

of NFPA-99-2012, category 

1 system, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference 

including subsequent 

amendments and editions. 

Copies of NFPA-99-2012 

may be purchased from the 

National Fire Protection 

Association, 1 Batterymarch 

Park, P.O. Box 9101, 

Quincy, MA 02269-9101, or 

accessed electronically free 

of charge at 

http://www.nfpa.org. 

(ii) The facility must meet the 

inhalation anesthesia 

requirements of NFPA 70-

2020 and NFPA 99-2021, 

which are hereby 

incorporated by reference 

including subsequent 

amendments and editions. 

Copies of NFPA 70-2011 and 
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NFPA 99-2012 may be 

purchased from the National 

Fire Protection Association, 

1 Batterymarch Park, P.O. 

Box 9101, Quincy, MA 

02269-9101, or accessed 

electronically free of charge 

at http://www.nfpa.org. 

(b) Lavatories and sinks for use by 

medical personnel shall have the water 

supply spout mounted so that its 

discharge point is a minimum distance 

of five inches above the rim of the 

fixture with mixing type fixture valves 

that can be operated without the use of 

the hands. 

(c) Hot water distribution systems shall 

provide hot water at hand washing and 

bathing facilities at a minimum 

temperature of 100 degrees F. and a 

maximum temperature of 116 degrees 

F. 

(d) Floor drains shall not be installed in 

procedure rooms. 

(e) Building drainage and waste systems 

shall be designed to avoid installations 

in the ceiling directly above procedure 

rooms. 

(3) Electrical Requirements. 

(a) Procedure and recovery rooms, and 

paths of egress from these rooms to the 

outside shall have at a minimum, listed 

battery backup lighting units of one 

and one-half hour capability that will 

automatically provide at least five foot 

candles of illumination at the floor in 

the event needed for a utility or local 

lighting circuit failure. 

(b) Electrically operated medical 

equipment necessary for the safety of 

the patient shall have, at a minimum, 

battery backup. 

(c) Receptacles located within six feet of 

sinks or lavatories shall be ground-

fault protected. 

(d) At least one wired-in, ionization-type 

smoke detector shall be within 15 feet 

of each procedure or recovery room 

entrance. 

(4) Buildings systems and medical equipment shall 

have preventative maintenance conducted as 

recommended by the equipment manufacturers' 

or installers' literature to assure operation in 

compliance with manufacturer's instructions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

SECTION .0300 – SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0315 HOUSEKEEPING 

In addition to the standards set forth in Rule .0202 of this 

Subchapter, clinics that are licensed by the Division to perform 

abortions shall meet the following standards: 

(1) the floors, walls, woodwork, and windows must 

be cleaned at least daily; 

(2) the premises must be kept free from rodents and 

insect infestation; 

(3) bath and toilet facilities must be maintained in 

a clean and sanitary condition consistent with 

15A NCAC 18A .1312; and 

(4) linen that comes directly in contact with the 

patient shall be provided for each individual 

patient. No such linen shall be interchangeable 

from one patient to another before being 

cleaned, sterilized, or laundered. 

Copies of 15A NCAC 18A .1300 may be obtained at no charge 

from the Division of Public Health, Environmental Health 

Section, 1632 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC, 27699-1632, or 

accessed electronically free of charge from the Office of 

Administrative Hearings at https://www.oah.nc.gov/. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0318 GOVERNING AUTHORITY 

(a)  The governing authority, as defined in Rule .0101(6) of this 

Subchapter, shall appoint a chief executive officer or a designee 

of the clinic to represent the governing authority and shall define  

 

his or her authority and duties in writing. This person shall be 

responsible for the management of the clinic, implementation of 

the policies of the governing authority and authorized and 

empowered to carry out the provisions of these Rules. 

(b)  The chief executive officer or designee shall designate, in 

writing, a person to act on his or her behalf during his or her 

absence. In the absence of the chief executive officer or designee, 

the person on the grounds of the clinic who is designated by the 

chief executive officer or designee to be in charge of the clinic  

 

shall have access to all areas in the clinic related to patient care 

and to the operation of the physical plant. 

(c)  When there is a planned change in ownership or in the chief 

executive officer, the governing authority of the clinic shall notify 

the Division in writing of the change. 

(d)  The clinic's governing authority shall adopt operating policies 

and procedures that shall: 

(1) specify the individual to whom responsibility 

for operation and maintenance of the clinic is 

delegated and methods established by the 

governing authority for holding such 

individuals responsible; 
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(2) provide for at least annual meetings of the 

governing authority, for which minutes shall be 

maintained; and 

(3) maintain a policies and procedures manual 

designed to ensure safe and adequate care for 

the patients which shall be reviewed, and 

revised when necessary, at least annually, and 

shall include provisions for administration and 

use of the clinic, compliance, personnel quality 

assurance, procurement of outside services and 

consultations, patient care policies, and services 

offered. 

(e)  When the clinic contracts with outside vendors to provide 

services such as laundry or therapy services, the governing 

authority shall be responsible to assure the supplier meets the 

same local and State standards the clinic would have to meet if it 

were providing those services itself using its own staff. 

(f)  The governing authority shall provide for the selection and 

appointment of the professional staff and the granting of clinical 

privileges and shall be responsible for the professional conduct of 

these persons. 

(g)  The governing authority shall be responsible for ensuring the 

availability of supporting personnel to meet patient needs and to 

provide safe and adequate treatment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0319 POLICIES AND PROCEDURES 

AND ADMINISTRATIVE RECORDS 

(a)  The following essential documents and references shall be on 

file in the administrative office of the clinic: 

(1) documents evidencing control and ownerships, 

such as deeds, leases, or incorporation or 

partnership papers; 

(2) policies and procedures of the governing 

authority, as required by Rule .0318 of this 

Section; 

(3) minutes of the governing authority meetings; 

(4) minutes of the clinic's professional and 

administrative staff meetings; 

(5) a current copy of the rules of this Subchapter; 

(6) reports of inspections, reviews, and corrective 

actions taken related to licensure; and 

(7) contracts and agreements related to care and 

services provided by the clinic is a party. 

(b)  All operating licenses, permits, and certificates shall be 

displayed on the licensed premises. 

(c)  The governing authority shall prepare a manual of clinic 

policies and procedures for use by employees, medical staff, and 

contractual physicians to assist them in understanding their 

responsibilities within the organizational framework of the clinic. 

These shall include: 

(1) patient selection and exclusion criteria; 

(2) clinical discharge criteria; 

(3) policy and procedure for validating the full and 

true name of the patient; 

(4) policy and procedure for abortion procedures 

performed at the clinic; 

(5) policy and procedure for the provision of 

patient privacy in the recovery area of the 

clinic; 

(6) protocol for determining gestational age as 

defined in Rule .0101(5) of this Subchapter; 

(7) protocol for referral of patients for whom 

services have been declined; and 

(8) protocol for discharge instructions that informs 

patients who to contact for post-procedural 

problems and questions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0320 ADMISSION AND DISCHARGE 

(a)  There shall be on the premises throughout all hours of 

operation an employee authorized to receive patients and make 

administrative decisions regarding patients. 

(b)  All patients shall be admitted only under the care of a 

physician who is currently licensed to practice medicine in North 

Carolina. 

(c)  Any patient not discharged within 12 hours following the 

abortion procedure shall be transferred to a hospital licensed 

pursuant to Chapter 131E, Article 5 of the General Statutes. 

(d)  Following admission and prior to obtaining the consent for 

the procedure, representatives of the clinic's management shall 

provide to each patient the following information: 

(1) a fee schedule and any extra charges routinely 

applied; 

(2) the name of the attending physician or 

physicians and hospital admitting privileges, if 

any. In the absence of admitting privileges a 

statement to that effect shall be included; 

(3) instructions for post-procedure problems and 

questions as outlined in Rule .0329(d) of this 

Section; 

(4) grievance procedures a patient may follow if 

dissatisfied with the care and services rendered; 

and 

(5) the telephone number for Complaint Intake of 

the Division. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0321 MEDICAL RECORDS 

(a)  The clinic shall maintain a complete and permanent record for 

all patients including: 

(1) the date and time of admission and discharge; 
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(2) the patient's full and true name; 

(3) the patient's address; 

(4) the patient's date of birth; 

(5) the patient's emergency contact information; 

(6) the patient's diagnoses; 

(7) the patient's duration of pregnancy; 

(8) the patient's condition on admission and 

discharge; 

(9) a voluntarily-signed consent for each surgery or 

procedure and signature of the physician 

performing the procedure witnessed by a family 

member, other patient representative, or facility 

staff member; 

(10) the patient's history and physical examination 

including identification of pre-existing or 

current illnesses, drug sensitivities or other 

idiosyncrasies that may impact the procedure or 

anesthetic to be administered; and 

(11) documentation that indicates all items listed in 

Rule .0320(d) of this Section were provided to 

the patient. 

(b)  The clinic shall record and authenticate by signature, date, and 

time all other pertinent information such as pre- and post-

procedure instructions, laboratory reports, drugs administered, 

report of abortion procedure, and follow-up instruction, including 

family planning advice. 

(c)  If Rh is negative, the clinic shall explain the significance to 

the patient and shall record the explanation. The patient in writing 

may reject Rh immunoglobulin. A written record of the patient's 

decision shall be a permanent part of her medical record. 

(d)  An ultrasound examination shall be performed by a technician 

qualified in ultrasonography and the results, including gestational 

age, placed in the patient's medical record for any patient who is 

scheduled for an abortion procedure. 

(e)  The clinic shall maintain a daily procedure log of all patients 

receiving abortion services. This log shall contain at least the 

following: 

(1) the patient name; 

(2) the estimated length of gestation; 

(3) the type of procedure; 

(4) the name of the physician: 

(5) the name of the Registered Nurse on duty; and 

(6) the date and time of procedure. 

(f)  Medical records shall be the property of the clinic and shall be 

preserved or retained in the State of North Carolina for a period 

of not less than 10 years from the date of the most recent 

discharge, unless the client is a minor, in which case the record 

must be retained until three years after the client's 18th birthday, 

regardless of change of clinic ownership or administration. Such 

medical records shall be made available to the Division upon 

request and shall not be removed from the premises where they 

are retained except by subpoena or court order. 

(g)  The clinic shall have a written plan for destruction of medical 

records to identify information to be retained and the manner of 

destruction to ensure confidentiality of all material. 

(h)  Should a clinic cease operation, the clinic shall arrange for 

preservation of records for at least 10 years. The clinic shall send 

written notification to the Division of these arrangements. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0322 PERSONNEL RECORDS 

(a)  Personnel Records: 

(1) A record of each employee shall be maintained 

that includes the following: 

(A) the employee's identification; 

(B) the application for employment that 

includes education, training, 

experience and references; 

(C) a resume of education and work 

experience; 

(D) a copy of a valid license (if required), 

education, training, and prior 

employment experience; and 

(E) a list of references. 

(2) Personnel records shall be confidential. 

(3) Representatives of the Division conducting an 

inspection of the clinic shall have the right to 

inspect personnel records. 

(b)  Job Descriptions: 

(1) The clinic shall have a written description that 

describes the duties of every position. 

(2) Each job description shall include position title, 

authority, specific responsibilities, and 

minimum qualifications. Qualifications shall 

include education, training, experience, special 

abilities, and valid license or certification 

required. 

(3) The clinic shall review annually and, if needed, 

update all job descriptions. The clinic shall 

provide the updated job description to each 

employee or contractual employee assigned to 

the position. 

(c)  All persons having direct responsibility for patient care shall 

be at least 18 years of age. 

(d)  The clinic shall provide an orientation program to familiarize 

each new employee or contractual employee with the clinic, its 

policies, and the employee's job responsibilities. 

(e)  The governing authority shall be responsible for 

implementing health standards for employees, as well as 

contractual employees, which are consistent with recognized 

professional practices for the prevention and transmission of 

communicable diseases. 

(f)  Employee and contractual employee records for health 

screening as defined in Rule .0101(7) of this Subchapter, 

education, training, and verification of professional certification 

shall be available for review by the Division. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 
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10A NCAC 13S .0323 NURSING SERVICE 

(a)  The clinic shall have an organized nursing staff under the 

supervision of a nursing supervisor who is currently licensed as a 

Registered Nurse and who has responsibility for all nursing 

services. 

(b)  The nursing supervisor shall report to the chief executive 

officer or designee and shall be responsible for: 

(1) provision of nursing services to patients; and 

(2) developing a nursing policy and procedure 

manual and written job descriptions for nursing 

personnel. 

(c)  The clinic shall have the number of licensed and ancillary 

nursing personnel on duty to assure that staffing levels meet the 

total nursing needs of patients based on the number of patients in 

the clinic and their individual nursing care needs. 

(d)  There shall be at least one Registered Nurse with experience 

in post-operative or post-partum care who is currently licensed to 

practice professional nursing in North Carolina on duty in the 

clinic at all times patients are in the clinic. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0324 QUALITY ASSURANCE 

(a)  The governing authority shall establish a quality assurance 

program for the purpose of providing standards of care for the 

clinic. The program shall include the establishment of a 

committee that shall evaluate compliance with clinic procedures 

and policies. 

(b)  The committee shall determine corrective action, if necessary 

to achieve and maintain compliance with clinic procedures and 

policies. 

(c)  The committee shall consist of at least one physician who is 

not an owner, the chief executive officer or designee, and other 

health professionals. The committee shall meet at least once per 

quarter. 

(d)  The functions of the committee shall include development of 

policies for selection of patients, approval for adoption of policies, 

review of credentials for staff privileges, peer review, tissue 

inspection, establishment of infection control procedures, and 

approval of additional procedures to be performed in the clinic. 

(e)  Records shall be kept of the activities of the committee for a 

period not less than 10 years. These records shall include: 

(1) reports made to the governing authority; 

(2) minutes of committee meetings including date, 

time, persons attending, description and results 

of cases reviewed, and recommendations made 

by the committee; and 

(3) information on any corrective action taken. 

(f)  The clinic shall conduct orientation, training, or education 

programs to correct deficiencies that are uncovered as a result of 

the quality assurance program. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0325 LABORATORY SERVICES 

(a)  Each clinic shall have the capability to provide or obtain 

laboratory tests required in connection with the procedure to be 

performed. 

(b)  The governing authority shall establish written policies 

regarding which surgical specimens require examination by a 

pathologist. 

(c)  Each patient shall have the following performed and a record 

of the results placed in the patient's medical record prior to the 

abortion: 

(1) pregnancy testing, except when a positive 

diagnosis of pregnancy has been established by 

ultrasound; 

(2) anemia testing (hemoglobin or hematocrit); and 

(3) Rh factor testing. 

(d)  Patients requiring the administration of blood shall be 

transferred to a local hospital having blood bank facilities. 

(e)  The clinic shall maintain a manual in a location accessible by 

employees, that includes the procedures, instructions, and 

manufacturer's instructions for each test procedure performed, 

including: 

(1) sources of reagents, standard and calibration 

procedures, and quality control procedures; and 

(2) information concerning the basis for the listed 

"normal" ranges. 

(f)  The clinic shall perform and document, at least quarterly, 

calibration of equipment and validation of test results. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0326 EMERGENCY BACK-UP 

SERVICES 

(a)  Each clinic shall have a written plan for the transfer of 

emergency cases from the clinic to the closest hospital when 

hospitalization becomes necessary. Emergency case is defined as 

a condition manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient 

severity (including severe pain) such that the absence of 

immediate medical attention could reasonably be expected to 

result in placing the individual's health in serious jeopardy, 

serious impairment to bodily functions, or serious dysfunction of 

bodily organs. 

(b)  The clinic shall have written protocols, personnel, and 

equipment to handle medical emergencies as defined above which 

may arise in connection with services provided by the clinic. 

(c)  The clinic shall have a written agreement between the clinic 

and a hospital to facilitate the transfer of patients who are in need 

of emergency care. A clinic that has documentation of its efforts 

to establish such a transfer agreement with a hospital that provides 

emergency services and has been unable to secure such an 

agreement shall be considered to be in compliance with this Rule. 

(d)  The clinic shall provide intervention for emergency situations. 

These provisions shall include: 
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(1) basic cardio-pulmonary life support; 

(2) emergency protocols for: 

(A) administration of intravenous fluids; 

(B) establishing and maintaining airway 

support; 

(C) oxygen administration; 

(D) utilizing a bag-valve-mask 

resuscitator with oxygen reservoir; 

(E) utilizing a suction machine; and 

(F) utilizing an automated external 

defibrillator; 

(3) emergency lighting available in the procedure 

room as set forth in Rule .0212 of this 

Subchapter; and 

(4) ultrasound equipment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0327 SURGICAL SERVICES 

(a)  The procedure room shall be maintained exclusively for 

surgical procedures and shall be so designed and maintained to 

provide an environment free of contamination. The clinic shall 

establish procedures for infection control and universal 

precautions. 

(b)  Tissue Examination: 

(1) The physician performing the abortion is 

responsible for examination of all products of 

conception (P.O.C.) prior to patient discharge. 

Such examination shall note specifically the 

presence or absence of chorionic villi and fetal 

parts, or the amniotic sac. The results of the 

examination shall be recorded in the patient's 

medical record. 

(2) If adequate tissue is not obtained based on the 

gestational age, the physician performing the 

procedure shall evaluate for ectopic pregnancy, 

or an incomplete procedure. 

(3) The clinic shall establish procedures for 

obtaining, identifying, storing, and transporting 

specimens. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0328 MEDICATIONS AND 

ANESTHESIA 

(a)  No medication or treatment shall be given except on written 

order of a physician. 

(b)  Any medications shall be administered by a physician or 

Registered Nurse and shall be recorded in the patient's permanent 

record. 

(c)  The anesthesia shall be administered only under the direct 

supervision of a licensed physician. Direct supervision means the 

physician must be present in the clinic and immediately available 

to furnish assistance and direction throughout the administration 

of the anesthesia. It does not mean the physician must be present 

in the room when the anesthesia is administered. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0329 POST-OPERATIVE CARE 

(a)  A patient whose pregnancy is terminated shall be observed in 

the clinic to ensure that no post-operative complications are 

present. Thereafter, patients may be discharged according to a 

physician's order and the clinic's protocols. 

(b)  Any patient having a complication known or suspected to 

have occurred during or after the performance of the abortion shall 

be transferred to a hospital for evaluation or admission. 

(c)  The following criteria shall be documented prior to discharge: 

(1) the patient shall be able to move independently 

with a stable blood pressure and pulse; and 

(2) bleeding and pain are assessed to be stable and 

not a concern for discharge. 

(d)  Written instructions shall be issued to all patients in 

accordance with the orders of the physician in charge of the 

abortion procedure and shall include the following: 

(1) symptoms and complications to be looked for; 

and 

(2) a dedicated telephone number to be used by the 

patients should any complication occur or 

question arise. This number shall be answered 

by a person 24 hours a day, seven days a week. 

(e)  The clinic shall have a defined protocol for triaging post-

operative calls and complications. This protocol shall establish a 

pathway for physician contact to ensure ongoing care of 

complications that the operating physician is incapable of 

managing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0330 CLEANING OF MATERIALS 

AND EQUIPMENT 

(a)  All supplies and equipment used in patient care shall be 

cleaned or sterilized between use for different patients. 

(b)  Methods of cleaning, handling, and storing all supplies and 

equipment shall be such as to prevent the transmission of infection 

through their use as determined by the clinic through their 

governing authority. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153.5; 143B-165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 
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Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13S .0331 FOOD SERVICE 

Nourishments, such as crackers and soft drinks, shall be available 

and offered to all patients. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-153.2; 131E-153.5; 143B-

165; 

Codifier determined that findings of need did not meet criteria for 

emergency rule on October 30, 2023; 

Emergency Rule Eff. November 14, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Department of Health and Human 

Services 

 

Rule Citation:  10A NCAC 15 .1801 

 

Effective Date:  February 14, 2024 

 

Date Submitted to Codifier:  February 6, 2024 

 

Reason for Action:  The effective date of a recent act of the 

General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress. S.L. 2023-91, s. 2.(b) 

effective July 10, 2023. The temporary adoption of Rule 10A 

NCAC 15 .1801, Requirements for Registration of Radon 

Proficiency Programs, is in response to a recent act of the 

General Assembly, Session Law 2023-91, "An act to amend the 

North Carolina Building Code Exclusion for temporary motion 

picture, television, and theater stage sets and scenery to exempt 

them from use and occupancy classification under the code; to 

direct the Department of Health and Human Services to establish 

an approval process for Radon Proficiency Programs; and to 

provide that evidence of a licensee having maintained a license in 

good standing under Article 2 of Chapter 87 of the General 

Statutes for at least 15 years shall be accepted as experience for 

plumbing and heating qualifications by the Board of Examiners 

of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors" that 

became effective July 10, 2023. Section 2.(b) of this Act, requires 

the N.C. Department of Health and Human Services to adopt 

temporary radon proficiency program approval rules. The 

purpose for the temporary rule adoption is to establish minimum 

criteria for programs which will certify radon professionals in 

North Carolina. It additionally gives radon proficiency programs 

the ability to gain approval in the State of North Carolina since 

there is currently no other avenue on the state or national level 

for organizations to be approved to certify radon professionals. 

Radon is a naturally-occurring radioactive gas that enters 

people's homes and can lead to lung cancer. The NC Radon 

Program of DHHS recommends that homeowner's hire certified 

professionals to test and mitigate high levels of radon in their 

homes. At this time, there are only 2 companies in the US that 

have approval from the US Environmental Protection Agency 

(EPA) to certify radon professionals. There is no mechanism for 

new companies to gain approval to offer certifications because 

EPA is currently developing a new set of approval criteria for 

certifying companies. This law allows companies to become 

approved as professional radon certifiers in NC. Three companies 

have been listed on the NC Radon Program website for many 

years and they wish to continue to be listed up until and after the 

EPA develops criteria for national approval. The temporary rules 

will allow DHHS to expedite the approval process for these 

companies. 

 

CHAPTER 15 - RADIATION PROTECTION 

 

SECTION .1800 – STANDARDS FOR RADON 

PROFICIENCY PROGRAM APPROVAL 

 

10A NCAC 15 .1801 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

REGISTRATION OF RADON PROFICIENCY 

PROGRAMS 

(a)  No person shall offer services as a radon proficiency program 

unless registered with the Department. 

(b)(a)  In addition to the definitions found in Rule .0104 of this 

Chapter, the following definition shall apply to this Rule: "Radon 

proficiency program" means an organization that provides 

training, competency testing, and certification to an individual as 

a radon professional. 

(c)(b)  Persons seeking initial registration, to amend a registration, 

or to renew a registration as a radon proficiency program shall: 

(1) submit an application for registration to the 

agency at the addresses shown in Rule .0111(a) 

of this Chapter or as otherwise instructed by the 

agency. Applications for initial registration and 

applications to renew a registration shall be 

submitted with supporting information 

demonstrating that the requirements of 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule and S.L. 2023-91, s. 

2 are met. Applications to amend a registration 

shall be submitted with an attachment 

explaining the items to be amended; and 

(2) comply with the provisions of Paragraph (h) of 

this Rule. 

(d)(c)  The Department shall approve an application for initial 

registration or to renew a registration as a radon proficiency 

program that meets the criteria set out in S.L. 2023-91, s. 2. 

(e)(d)  Radon proficiency program registrations issued by the 

Department shall expire at midnight on the expiration date stated 

on the radon proficiency program registration. The Department 

shall not issue an initial or renewed registration expiring less than 

one year from the date of issuance. 

(f)(e)  The Department shall deny an application for initial 

registration or to renew a registration as a radon proficiency 

program if the application fails to demonstrate compliance with 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule and S.L. 2023-91, s. 2. 

(g)(f)  Persons whose radon proficiency program registrations are 

revoked or expired may apply for registration in accordance with 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule and S.L. 2023-91, s.2 and shall not offer 

services as a radon proficiency program with a revoked or expired 

registration. s. 2. 

(h)(g)  Each registrant shall, upon notice of at least 48 hours, make 

available to the Department for inspection records maintained 

pursuant to this Rule. 
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(i)(h)  Applications submitted to the Department for registration 

as a radon proficiency program shall contain the following 

information: 

(1) Box 1, check the box next to the type of 

registration requested; 

(2) Box 2, business physical address: 

(A) name of the radiation proficiency 

program; 

(B) phone number at the physical location; 

(C) website associated with the radiation 

proficiency program; 

(D) physical address of the business, 

including the street address, city, 

county, state, and zip code. The five 

digit zip code may be used if the nine 

digit zip code is not known; 

(E) mailing address if different from Box 

1. If the physical and mailing 

addresses are the same, the mailing 

address may be left blank: Mailing 

address of the business, including city, 

state, and zip code. The five digit zip 

code may be used if the nine digit zip 

code is not known; and 

(F) name, phone number and email for the 

individual completing the form. 

(3) Box 3, authorizing signature of individual 

responsible for the radon proficiency program: 

(A) name of company or corporate office; 

(B) full legal name. Middle initials may be 

used in lieu of the full middle name; 

and 

(C) signature of the individual registering 

the radiation proficiency program on 

behalf of the business; and 

(4) Additional Attachments to include with 

application: 

(A) documents establishing compliance 

and periodic reaccreditation with the 

international program approval 

standard through accreditation by a 

recognized accreditation body or 

demonstration of current approval by 

the United States Environmental 

Protection Agency as a radon 

proficiency program; program or; 

(B) list of a board members from various 

private and public sector stakeholders 

to make decisions regarding 

curriculum, testing, instructor 

qualifications, quality assurance and 

control, continuing education 

requirements, and procedures for the 

handling of complaints; 

(C) minimum training requirements for 

radon professionals for each type of 

certification offered; 

(D) examination requirements for each 

type of certification; 

(E) continuing education requirements for 

each type of certification; and 

(F) instructor names and qualifications 

demonstrating relevant knowledge 

and experience. 

(5) copies of the registration form are available free 

of charge by emailing the contacts listed at 

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/health-

service-regulation/north-carolina-radon-

program/contacts. 

 

History Note: Authority S.L. 2023-91, s. 2; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 14, 2024. 

 

 

TITLE 16 – STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

 

Rule-making Agency:  State Board of Education 

 

Rule Citation:  16 NCAC 06D .0510 

 

Effective Date:  February 8, 2024 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  January 31, 

2024 

 

Reason for Action:  S.L. 2023-134, Sections 8A.6.(k) – (r), 

required the State Board of Education ("SBE") to establish a set 

of graduation requirements that allow students enrolled in North 

Carolina public high schools to graduate within 3 years of 

enrollment in 9th grade. Sections 8A.6.(k) also amended G.S. 

115C-12(9d) to prohibit local boards of education from 

establishing additional requirements beyond those established by 

the State Board. Section 8A.6.(s) directed the SBE to adopt an 

emergency rule to implement these requirements by November 1, 

2023. S.L. 2023-134 became law on October 3, 2023; the SBE 

adopted the emergency rule and concurrently proposed the 

temporary rule during its next regularly scheduled monthly 

meeting on November 2, 2023. Although the Codifier objected to 

the emergency rule because it was formally adopted one day after 

the legislative deadline, the SBE elected to enter the emergency 

rule into the Administrative Code over the Codifier's objection to 

satisfy the substance of the legislative mandate. The emergency 

rule became effective on November 16, 2023, and the SBE is now 

prepared to adopt the final temporary rule. 

Section 8A.6.(s) of S.L. 2023-134 also mandates that "[s]tudents 

enrolled in tenth grade during the 2023-2024 school year who 

complete the sequence of courses required for graduation in a 

three-year period shall be eligible to graduate in the 2024-2025 

school year. As a practical matter, PSUs need to be advising 

students who meet these criteria on course scheduling as soon as 

possible so that they can satisfy the requirements. Therefore, 

immediate adoption of the rule is necessary so that PSUs and 

students know what steps they must take to graduate within three 

years. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06D - INSTRUCTION 

 

SECTION .0500 - DEFINITIONS 
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16 NCAC 06D .0510 THREE-YEAR GRADUATION 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, the following definitions shall 

apply: 

(1) "Public school unit" or "PSU" is defined in G.S. 

115C-5(7a). This Rule shall not apply to a 

charter school unless the charter school has 

elected to offer a three-year sequence of courses 

under G.S. 115C-218.85, or to a regional school 

unless the regional school has elected to offer a 

three-year sequence of courses under G.S. 

115C-238.66. 

(2) "Superintendent" means the superintendent of a 

local school administrative unit or the staff 

member with the highest decision-making 

authority for a public school unit, if there is no 

superintendent. 

(b)  A student enrolled in a PSU who requests to graduate from 

high school 3 years after entering Grade 9 shall do so in 

accordance with this Rule. This Rule shall apply to a student who 

enters Grade 11 at the beginning of the 2024-2025 school year or 

thereafter on or after July 1, 2024 and is at least 16 years of age at 

the time of graduation. 

(c)  The student shall complete and sign a 3-year graduation 

request form provided by the student's PSU. The form must be 

signed by the student's parent or legal guardian, unless the student 

is at least 18 years of age or has been emancipated in accordance 

with Chapter 7B, Article 35 of the General Statutes. 

(d)  An administrator from the student's high school or the PSU 

shall meet with the student and, if the student is under 18 years of 

age and not emancipated, the student's parent or legal guardian, to 

discuss the implications of graduating after three years. The 

administrator shall address, at minimum, the following topics: 

(1) Plans for transitioning into higher education, 

employment, or enlistment in the armed forces; 

Armed Forces of the United States; 

(2) Discontinued access to high school services and 

programming, including extracurricular 

activities and interscholastic athletics; and 

(3) Support structures available to the student in the 

high school environment, such as nutrition and 

school counseling services, which will no 

longer be available upon graduation. 

(e)  The PSU superintendent or designee shall verify that the 

student has met the minimum graduation requirements established 

by the State Board of Education, Education ("SBE"), as defined 

in 16 NCAC 06D .0503, and submit the request to the 

superintendent for approval. 16 NCAC 06D .0503. 

(f)  The superintendent shall approve the request upon verification 

of the student's eligibility and compliance with the procedures set 

forth above, no later than 45 school days after receipt of a request. 

If the request is approved during the semester after classes have 

started, the student may elect to graduate immediately or graduate 

at the end of the semester. However, if the student does not submit 

the request until after classes have started, the student shall be 

required to complete the current semester. 

(g)  PSUs shall provide students with information on how to 

graduate from high school within three years prior to the student 

selecting the student's course schedule for Grade 9. Such 

information shall include the topics listed in Paragraph (d) in this 

Rule as well as a recommended course schedule to allow the 

student to satisfy the minimum graduation requirements 

established by the SBE. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-12(9d); 115C-218.85; 

115C-238.66; 

Codifier determined that rule did not meet criteria for emergency 

rule on November 6, 2023. 

Emergency Adoption Eff. November. 16, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Rule-making Agency:  State Board of Education 

 

Rule Citation:  16 NCAC 06G .0701 

 

Effective Date:  February 8, 2024 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  January 31, 

2024 

 

Reason for Action:  The effective date of a recent act of the 

General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress. S.L. 2023-106, Section 

2.(a); S.L. 2023-134, Section 7.81.(d) effective October 3, 2023. 

G.S. 116C-76.60, as enacted by S.L. 2023-106, Section 2.(a), 

provides parents of children in North Carolina public schools the 

ability to request a parental concern hearing before the State 

Board of Education ("SBE") regarding the procedures or 

practices of a public school unit under Chapter 115C, Article 7B, 

Part 4 of the General Statutes. The provision also directs the SBE 

to establish rules for these hearings. S.L. 2023-134, Section 

7.81.(d) directed the SBE to adopt an emergency rule for these 

hearings in order to begin receiving requests by January 30, 

2024. The emergency rule became effective on November 16, 

2023, and the SBE is now prepared to adopt the final temporary 

rule. 

 

CHAPTER 06 - ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY 

EDUCATION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06G - EDUCATION AGENCY 

RELATIONS 

 

SECTION .0700 – PUBLIC SCHOOL UNIT OVERSIGHT 

 

16 NCAC 06G .0701 PARENTAL CONCERN 

HEARINGS 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, the following definitions shall 

apply: 

(1) "Child" is defined in G.S. 115C-76.1(2). 

(2) "Hearing officer" means an individual who 

meets the requirements in G.S. 115C-

76.60(b)(1)a. 

(3) "Parent" is defined in G.S. 115C-76.1(5). 

(4) "Practice" means a regular method, process, or 

course of conduct, whether or not established in 

the written policies of a PSU, by which the PSU 

provides the notices or information to parents 
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as required by Chapter 115C, Article 7B, Part 4 

of the General Statutes. "Practice" does not 

include isolated incidents or isolated conduct by 

individual PSU personnel, including those 

inconsistent with the established procedures of 

the PSU. 

(4)(5) "Principal" is defined in G.S. 115C-76.1(6). 

(6) "Procedure" means a regular method or 

process, as established in the written policies of 

a PSU, by which the PSU provides the notices 

or information to parents as required by G.S. 

115C-76.45, or age-appropriate instruction on 

certain topics as described in G.S. 115C-76.55. 

"Procedure" does not include isolated incidents 

or isolated conduct by individual PSU 

personnel, including those inconsistent with the 

established procedures of the PSU. 

(5)(7) "Public school unit" or "PSU" is defined in G.S. 

115C-5(7a). 

(6)(8) "Superintendent" is defined in G.S. 115C-

76.1(8). 

(b)  A parent who wishes to request a parental concern hearing 

before the State Board of Education ("SBE") under G.S. 115C-

76.60 regarding the procedures or practices of a PSU required by 

Chapter 115C, Article 7B, Part 4 of the General Statutes shall do 

so in writing. The written request shall be submitted to the SBE, 

with a copy to the superintendent, and include the following 

information: 

(1) The specific procedures or practices of the PSU 

about which the parent is concerned. 

(2) The specific concerns that the parent has about 

the procedures or practices of the PSU. 

(3) Documented Copies of all written 

correspondence and summaries of all verbal 

correspondence with PSU personnel, including 

date, times, and parties involved for any 

correspondence conducted by telephone or in 

person, regarding the parental concern and 

efforts by the PSU to resolve the concern. The 

parent shall also include documented evidence 

that the parent has notified the principal of the 

school at which the parent's child is enrolled 

about these concerns at least 30 days prior to 

requesting a hearing before the SBE. 

(4) A description of the relevant facts. 

(5) An explanation of why the parent believes that 

the concerns have not been resolved by the 

PSU. 

(6) A proposed resolution to address the parent's 

concerns. 

(c)  Upon receipt of a request in accordance with Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule, the SBE shall appoint a hearing officer to review the 

request. or its authorized designee shall review the request and 

determine whether the SBE has jurisdiction to review the matters 

therein addressed. The SBE may dismiss the request for any of the 

following reasons: 

(1) The parent has failed to provide any of the 

information required by Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule. 

(2) The parent's concern does not address the 

procedures or practices of a PSU required by 

Chapter 115C, Article 7B, Part 4 of the General 

Statutes. 

(3) The parent has failed to provide the PSU 30 

days to resolve the parent's concern. 

(4) The parent's proposed resolution is not within 

the legal authority of the PSU or SBE. 

(d)  If the SBE determines that it has jurisdiction to review the 

matters addressed in the request, the SBE shall appoint a hearing 

officer to review the request. 

(d)(e)  Upon appointment, the hearing officer shall hold a hearing, 

subject to the following requirements: 

(1) The parent and the superintendent of the PSU 

(or the superintendent's designee) shall attend 

as parties to the hearing and may be represented 

by legal counsel, provided that any party 

intending to be represented notifies the hearing 

officer at least three business days before the 

hearing. The hearing officer may delay the 

hearing if a party requests additional time to 

secure legal representation. 

(2) The hearing officer shall provide the parties 

with notice of the time and place for the hearing 

at least five business days in advance. The 

hearing may be held in person or via 

teleconference, at the discretion of the hearing 

officer. 

(3) Each party shall provide any documentation or 

written statements to the hearing officer and the 

other party at least three business days before 

the hearing. 

(4) Each party shall have up to 30 minutes to 

present the party's case to and answer questions 

from the hearing officer. The hearing officer 

may extend time for each party's presentation at 

the hearing officer's discretion. 

(5) The North Carolina Rules of Evidence, codified 

at Chapter 8C of the General Statutes, shall not 

apply to the hearing, and the hearing officer 

may consider any information that is relevant to 

the proceedings. 

(6) The hearing officer shall arrange for audio and 

video recording of the hearing. 

(e)(f)  Within 30 days of appointment and after having conducted 

a hearing in accordance with Paragraph (d) of this Rule, the 

hearing officer shall provide a recommendation to the SBE that 

includes the following: 

(1) Findings of fact. 

(2) Conclusions of law, including citations to any 

relevant statutes, rules, or policies. 

(3) A proposed resolution to the case. case, which 

may include a finding that the parental concern 

lacks merit. 

(f)(g)  At the next regularly scheduled meeting of the SBE held 

more than three days after receipt of the hearing officer's 

recommendation, the SBE shall vote to either approve, reject, or 

amend the hearing officer's recommendation. The decision of the 

SBE shall be final. 
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(g)(h)  The hearing officer shall provide an invoice to the PSU for 

the cost of the hearing officer's services, at a rate of two hundred 

dollars ($200.00) per hour, within 45 days of submitting the 

hearing officer's recommendation to the SBE. The PSU shall pay 

the hearing officer within 60 days of receipt of the invoice. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-76.60; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. November 16, 2023; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 8, 2024. 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on January 31, 2024. 

 

 REGISTER CITATION TO THE 

 NOTICE OF TEXT 

ADMINISTRATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

Leases at State Fairgrounds and WNC AG Center 01 NCAC 06B .0307* 38:05 NCR 

ELECTIONS, STATE BOARD OF 

Authorized Access to Voting System Information in Escrow 08 NCAC 04 .0308* 38:01 NCR 

SOCIAL SERVICES COMMISSION 

Nature and Purpose of State Adult Day Care Fund 10A NCAC 06T .0201* 38:08 NCR 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

Tuberculosis Test, Medical Examination and Immunizations 10A NCAC 13F .0703* 37:24 NCR 

Resident Contract, Information on Facility, and Resident ... 10A NCAC 13F .0704* 37:24 NCR 

Authorized Representative 10A NCAC 13F .1103* 37:24 NCR 

Accounting for Resident's Personal Funds 10A NCAC 13F .1104* 37:24 NCR 

Settlement of Cost of Care 10A NCAC 13F .1106* 37:24 NCR 

Tuberculosis Test and Medical Examination, and Immunizations 10A NCAC 13G .0702 37:24 NCR 

Resident Register 10A NCAC 13G .0703 37:24 NCR 

Resident Contract, Information on Facility, and Resident ... 10A NCAC 13G .0704* 37:24 NCR 

Authorized Representative 10A NCAC 13G .1102* 37:24 NCR 

Accounting for Resident's Personal Funds 10A NCAC 13G .1103* 37:24 NCR 

Settlement of Cost of Care 10A NCAC 13G .1106* 37:24 NCR 

SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Fingerprint Criminal History Records Check 12 NCAC 10B .0303* 38:02 NCR 

Verification of Records to Division 12 NCAC 10B .0408* 38:02 NCR 

PUBLIC SAFETY, DEPARTMENT OF 

Purpose 14B NCAC 03 .0501 38:05 NCR 

Abbreviations and Definitions 14B NCAC 03 .0502* 38:05 NCR 

Dispatch of a Regional Response Team 14B NCAC 03 .0503* 38:05 NCR 

On-Site Operations of a Program Resource 14B NCAC 03 .0504 38:05 NCR 

Standards for Administration of a Contract Response Team,... 14B NCAC 03 .0505* 38:05 NCR 

Recovering the Costs of a Regional Response Team 14B NCAC 03 .0506* 38:05 NCR 

Procedures for Bidding and Contracting for Regional Respo... 14B NCAC 03 .0507* 38:05 NCR 

Criteria for Evaluating Bids for Contract Response Team 14B NCAC 03 .0508* 38:05 NCR 

Personnel, Training, and Equipment Standards for Regional... 14B NCAC 03 .0509* 38:05 NCR 

ALARM SYSTEMS LICENSING BOARD 

Experience or Training Requirements for License 14B NCAC 17 .0202* 38:05 NCR 

Training Requirements for Alarm Licensees 14B NCAC 17 .0208 38:05 NCR 
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WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Brunswick County 15A NCAC 10F .0305* 38:07 NCR 

Forsyth: Rockingham And Stokes Counties 15A NCAC 10F .0316* 38:07 NCR 

Caldwell County 15A NCAC 10F .0338 38:07 NCR 

Town of Rhodhiss 15A NCAC 10F .0380 38:07 NCR 

Course Requirements 15A NCAC 10K .0101* 38:07 NCR 

Issuance of Certificate of Competency 15A NCAC 10K .0102* 38:07 NCR 

Instructor Certification 15A NCAC 10K .0103* 38:07 NCR 

MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION 

Definitions 15A NCAC 18A .0301* 38:03 NCR 

Appeals Procedure 15A NCAC 18A .0305 38:03 NCR 

Applicability of Rules 15A NCAC 18A .0401 38:03 NCR 

General Requirements for Operation 15A NCAC 18A .0402 38:03 NCR 

Supervision and Training 15A NCAC 18A .0403 38:03 NCR 

Construction 15A NCAC 18A .0404 38:03 NCR 

Facility Flooding 15A NCAC 18A .0405 38:03 NCR 

Floors 15A NCAC 18A .0406 38:03 NCR 

Walls and Ceilings 15A NCAC 18A .0407 38:03 NCR 

Lighting 15A NCAC 18A .0408 38:03 NCR 

Ventilation 15A NCAC 18A .0409 38:03 NCR 

Pest Control 15A NCAC 18A .0410 38:03 NCR 

Rodent and Animal Control 15A NCAC 18A .0411 38:03 NCR 

Plumbing and Hand Washing Facilities 15A NCAC 18A .0412 38:03 NCR 

Water Supply 15A NCAC 18A .0413 38:03 NCR 

Toilet Facilities 15A NCAC 18A .0414 38:03 NCR 

Premises 15A NCAC 18A .0415 38:03 NCR 

Personal Hygiene 15A NCAC 18A .0416 38:03 NCR 

Employees' Personal Articles 15A NCAC 18A .0417 38:03 NCR 

Supply Storage 15A NCAC 18A .0418* 38:03 NCR 

Records 15A NCAC 18A .0421* 38:03 NCR 

Shellstock Cleaning 15A NCAC 18A .0422 38:03 NCR 

Sale of Live Shellstock 15A NCAC 18A .0423 38:03 NCR 

Shellfish Receiving 15A NCAC 18A .0424 38:03 NCR 

Bulk Shipments Between Shellfish Dealers 15A NCAC 18A .0426 38:03 NCR 

Sampling and Testing 15A NCAC 18A .0428* 38:03 NCR 

Embargo or Disposal of Shellfish 15A NCAC 18A .0429 38:03 NCR 

Bacteriological and Contamination Stands 15A NCAC 18A .0430* 38:03 NCR 

Public Display of Consumer Advisory 15A NCAC 18A .0432 38:03 NCR 

Hazard Analysis 15A NCAC 18A .0433 38:03 NCR 

HACCP Plan 15A NCAC 18A .0434* 38:03 NCR 

Sanitation Monitoring Requirements 15A NCAC 18A .0435 38:03 NCR 

Monitoring Records 15A NCAC 18A .0436 38:03 NCR 

In-Shell Product 15A NCAC 18A .0437 38:03 NCR 

Inspections and Compliance Schedule 15A NCAC 18A .0438 38:03 NCR 

Recall Procedure 15A NCAC 18A .0439* 38:03 NCR 

Requirements for Shellstock Plants and Reshippers 15A NCAC 18A .0501 38:03 NCR 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

38:17 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 1, 2024 

1089 

Grading Shellstock and Commingling 15A NCAC 18A .0502 38:03 NCR 

Grader 15A NCAC 18A .0503 38:03 NCR 

Reshippers 15A NCAC 18A .0504 38:03 NCR 

Requirements for Shucking and Packing Plants and Repackin... 15A NCAC 18A .0601 38:03 NCR 

Separation of Operations 15A NCAC 18A .0602 38:03 NCR 

Hot Water System 15A NCAC 18A .0603 38:03 NCR 

Handwashing Facilities 15A NCAC 18A .0604 38:03 NCR 

Delivery Window or Shelf 15A NCAC 18A .0605 38:03 NCR 

Non-Food Contact Surfaces 15A NCAC 18A .0606 38:03 NCR 

Shucking Benches 15A NCAC 18A .0607 38:03 NCR 

Equipment Construction 15A NCAC 18A .0608* 38:03 NCR 

Sanitizing Equipment 15A NCAC 18A .0609 38:03 NCR 

Equipment Sanitation 15A NCAC 18A .0610 38:03 NCR 

Equipment Storage 15A NCAC 18A .0611 38:03 NCR 

Ice 15A NCAC 18A .0612 38:03 NCR 

Shellfish Shucking 15A NCAC 18A .0613 38:03 NCR 

Containers 15A NCAC 18A .0614 38:03 NCR 

Shellfish Cooling 15A NCAC 18A .0615 38:03 NCR 

Shellfish Freezing 15A NCAC 18A .0616 38:03 NCR 

Shipping 15A NCAC 18A .0617 38:03 NCR 

Heat Shock Method of Preparation of Shellfish 15A NCAC 18A .0618 38:03 NCR 

Repacking of Shellfish 15A NCAC 18A .0619 38:03 NCR 

Shellfish Thawing and Repacking 15A NCAC 18A .0620* 38:03 NCR 

Recall Procedure 15A NCAC 18A .0621 38:03 NCR 

Requirements for Depuration 15A NCAC 18A .0701* 38:03 NCR 

Facility Supervision 15A NCAC 18A .0702 38:03 NCR 

Facility Design and Sanitation 15A NCAC 18A .0703 38:03 NCR 

Laboratory Procedures 15A NCAC 18A .0704 38:03 NCR 

Facility Operations 15A NCAC 18A .0705 38:03 NCR 

Shellfish Sampling Procedures 15A NCAC 18A .0706 38:03 NCR 

Depuration Process Water Control - Sampling Procedures 15A NCAC 18A .0707 38:03 NCR 

Requirements for Wet Storage of Shellstock 15A NCAC 18A .0708 38:03 NCR 

Depuration - Shellfish Meat Standards 15A NCAC 18A .0709 38:03 NCR 

Ultraviolet Unit 15A NCAC 18A .0710 38:03 NCR 

Shellstock Storage 15A NCAC 18A .0711 38:03 NCR 

Depuration - Tagging and Release of Shellfish 15A NCAC 18A .0712 38:03 NCR 

Depuration Records 15A NCAC 18A .0713 38:03 NCR 

Requirements for Wet Storage of Shellstock 15A NCAC 18A .0801 38:03 NCR 

Plant Design: Sanitation: and Wet Storage 15A NCAC 18A .0802 38:03 NCR 

Wet Storage Water 15A NCAC 18A .0803 38:03 NCR 

Shellstock Cleaning 15A NCAC 18A .0804 38:03 NCR 

Wet Storage Tanks 15A NCAC 18A .0805 38:03 NCR 

Shellstock Containers 15A NCAC 18A .0806 38:03 NCR 

REVENUE, DEPARTMENT OF 

Radio, Television, Movie Theatres Receipts 17 NCAC 07B .3101* n/a G.S. 150B-1(D)(4) 

Contractors for the Federal Government 17 NCAC 07B .4203* n/a G.S. 150B-1(D)(4) 

Native American Indian Country 17 NCAC 07B .4210* n/a G.S. 150B-1(D)(4) 
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Equipment Furnished with Operator 17 NCAC 07B .4404* n/a G.S. 150B-1(D)(4) 

Equipment and Supplies for Laundries: etc. 17 NCAC 07B .4503* n/a G.S. 150B-1(D)(4) 

Fire Trucks and Equipment 17 NCAC 07B .4609* n/a G.S. 150B-1(D)(4) 

Recreational Vehicles 17 NCAC 07B .4614* n/a G.S. 150B-1(D)(4) 

Commercial Printers and Publishers 17 NCAC 07B .4701* n/a G.S. 150B-1(D)(4) 

Eyeglass Frames and Repair Parts 17 NCAC 07B .5002* n/a G.S. 150B-1(D)(4) 

SECRETARY OF STATE, DEPARTMENT OF THE 

U.S. Currency 18 NCAC 07B .0201 38:04 NCR 

Online Fee Payment 18 NCAC 07B .0202* 38:04 NCR 

Fees Paid in Person 18 NCAC 07B .0203* 38:04 NCR 

Fees Paid by USPS or by Delivery Service 18 NCAC 07B .0204* 38:04 NCR 

Fee for Dishonored Payment 18 NCAC 07B .0205* 38:04 NCR 

Filing not Processed if Payment Dishonored 18 NCAC 07B .0206* 38:04 NCR 

Department Actions upon Dishonored Payment 18 NCAC 07B .0207 38:04 NCR 

Notice to Filer of Dishonored Payment 18 NCAC 07B .0208* 38:04 NCR 

Form Use Required 18 NCAC 07B .0301* 38:04 NCR 

Mode of Filing 18 NCAC 07B .0302* 38:04 NCR 

Paper Filings Permitted 18 NCAC 07B .0303* 38:04 NCR 

Inapplicable Questions 18 NCAC 07B .0304* 38:04 NCR 

Response to Questions and Requests for Information 18 NCAC 07B .0305* 38:04 NCR 

Attachments 18 NCAC 07B .0306* 38:04 NCR 

Notice of Attachment 18 NCAC 07B .0307* 38:04 NCR 

Signature for Entity 18 NCAC 07B .0308* 38:04 NCR 

Form Preparer Signature Required 18 NCAC 07B .0309* 38:04 NCR 

Incomplete Filings 18 NCAC 07B .0310* 38:04 NCR 

Rejection of Incomplete Filings 18 NCAC 07B .0311* 38:04 NCR 

Filing Date of Document 18 NCAC 07B .0312* 38:04 NCR 

General 18 NCAC 07B .0401 38:04 NCR 

Contact Information 18 NCAC 07B .0402* 38:04 NCR 

Certificate of Appointment Form 18 NCAC 07B .0403* 38:04 NCR 

Electronic Notary Public Registration Form 18 NCAC 07B .0404* 38:04 NCR 

Form Notifying Department of Selection of Technology Prov... 18 NCAC 07B .0405* 38:04 NCR 

Notice to Department of Change by Electronic Notary in Te... 18 NCAC 07B .0406* 38:04 NCR 

Scope 18 NCAC 07F .0101 38:04 NCR  

Definitions 18 NCAC 07F .0102* 38:04 NCR 

Electronic Notaries Performing Remote Electronic Notary Acts 18 NCAC 07F .0103* 38:04 NCR 

Valid Commission 18 NCAC 07F .0201 38:04 NCR 

Approved Course of Study for Electronic Notaries Public 18 NCAC 07F .0301* 38:04 NCR 

Courses to be Taught by Certified Notary Instructors 18 NCAC 07F .0302* 38:04 NCR 

Electronic Notary Course 18 NCAC 07F .0303* 38:04 NCR 

Student Identity 18 NCAC 07F .0304 38:04 NCR 

Passing Score on Examination 18 NCAC 07F .0305* 38:04 NCR 

Submission 18 NCAC 07F .0401* 38:04 NCR 

Timing of Application 18 NCAC 07F .0402* 38:04 NCR 

Notice to Department of Changes 18 NCAC 07F .0403* 38:04 NCR 

Failure to Submit Application in Time 18 NCAC 07F .0404 38:04 NCR 

Notice of Department's Actions for Qualified Electronic N... 18 NCAC 07F .0503* 38:04 NCR 
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Oaths Timing 18 NCAC 07F .0505* 38:04 NCR 

Evidence of Identity 18 NCAC 07F .0506* 38:04 NCR 

Certificate Delivery 18 NCAC 07F .0507* 38:04 NCR 

Registration Effective Date 18 NCAC 07F .0508* 38:04 NCR 

Registration Effective Date 18 NCAC 07F .0509* 38:04 NCR 

Confirmation of Electronic Notary Status 18 NCAC 07F .0512* 38:04 NCR 

Performing Electronic and Remote Electronic Notarial Acts 18 NCAC 07F .0513* 38:04 NCR 

Notice to Department of Technology Provider 18 NCAC 07F .0601* 38:04 NCR 

Approved Technology Provider 18 NCAC 07F .0602 38:04 NCR 

Unique Signature 18 NCAC 07F .0701 38:04 NCR 

Sole Control 18 NCAC 07F .0702* 38:04 NCR 

Exclusive 18 NCAC 07F .0703 38:04 NCR 

Attributes of Electronic Signature 18 NCAC 07F .0704* 38:04 NCR 

Appearance of Electronic Signature 18 NCAC 07F .0705* 38:04 NCR 

Signature Compliance 18 NCAC 07F .0706* 38:04 NCR 

Signature Review Before Use 18 NCAC 07F .0707* 38:04 NCR 

Affixing Electronic Signature 18 NCAC 07F .0708* 38:04 NCR 

Review After Affixing Electronic Signature 18 NCAC 07F .0709* 38:04 NCR 

Unique Seal 18 NCAC 07F .0801* 38:04 NCR 

Sole Control 18 NCAC 07F .0802 38:04 NCR 

Exclusive 18 NCAC 07F .0803 38:04 NCR 

Attributes of Electronic Seal 18 NCAC 07F .0804* 38:04 NCR 

Appearance of Electronic Notary Seal 18 NCAC 07F .0805* 38:04 NCR 

Perimeter 18 NCAC 07F .0806* 38:04 NCR 

Contents of Electronic Notary Seal 18 NCAC 07F .0807* 38:04 NCR 

Use of Electronic Notary Seals  18 NCAC 07F .0808* 38:04 NCR 

Seal Compliance 18 NCAC 07F .0809* 38:04 NCR 

Seal Limitation 18 NCAC 07F .0810* 38:04 NCR 

Seal Review Before Use 18 NCAC 07F .0811* 38:04 NCR 

Affixing Electronic Seal 18 NCAC 07F .0812* 38:04 NCR 

Review After Affixing Electronic Seal 18 NCAC 07F .0813* 38:04 NCR 

Commitment 18 NCAC 07F .0814* 38:04 NCR 

Reregistration 18 NCAC 07F .0901* 38:04 NCR 

Timing of Reregistration 18 NCAC 07F .0902* 38:04 NCR 

Form 18 NCAC 07F .0903* 38:04 NCR 

Education 18 NCAC 07F .0904* 38:04 NCR 

Electronic Notary Reregistration Other than at Recommissi... 18 NCAC 07F .0905* 38:04 NCR 

Registration 18 NCAC 07F .0906* 38:04 NCR 

Employers of Electronic Notaries 18 NCAC 07F .1001* 38:04 NCR 

Protecting Access 18 NCAC 07F .1002* 38:04 NCR 

Retention of Electronic Journal 18 NCAC 07F .1003* 38:04 NCR 

Notary Credential Sharing Forbidden 18 NCAC 07F .1004* 38:04 NCR 

Presence Requirement for Electronic Notarization 18 NCAC 07F .1101* 38:04 NCR 

Presence Requirement for Remote Electronic Notarization 18 NCAC 07F .1102* 38:04 NCR 

Individual Principal Signatures for Electronic Notarial Act 18 NCAC 07F .1103* 38:04 NCR 

Additional Obligations 18 NCAC 07F .1104* 38:04 NCR 

No Electronic Notarization of Ink Signature 18 NCAC 07F .1105* 38:04 NCR 
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The following rules are subject to Legislative Review. 
 
MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION 

 

Notice of Changes 18 NCAC 07F .1106* 38:04 NCR 

Technological Issue as Reason to Halt Electronic or Remot... 18 NCAC 07F .1107* 38:04 NCR 

Resolution of Technological Issues 18 NCAC 07F .1108* 38:04 NCR 

Ceasing to Use a Technology Provider 18 NCAC 07F .1109* 38:04 NCR 

Notice of Cancellation by Provider 18 NCAC 07F .1110* 38:04 NCR 

Content of Notice 18 NCAC 07F .1111* 38:04 NCR 

Notaries Subject to Journaling Requirements 18 NCAC 07I .0101* 38:04 NCR 

Definitions 18 NCAC 07I .0102* 38:04 NCR 

Journal Requirement 18 NCAC 07I .0103* 38:04 NCR 

Journal Ownership 18 NCAC 07I .0104* 38:04 NCR 

Entry of Data into Journal 18 NCAC 07I .0105 38:04 NCR 

Exceptions to Rule .0105 18 NCAC 07I .0106 38:04 NCR 

Access to the Journal 18 NCAC 07I .0107* 38:04 NCR 

Form of Traditional Notary Journal 18 NCAC 07I .0201* 38:04 NCR 

Form of Electronic Notary Journal 18 NCAC 07I .0202 38:04 NCR 

Combined Journal 18 NCAC 07I .0203 38:04 NCR 

Entries in a Tangible Journal 18 NCAC 07I .0204* 38:04 NCR 

Requirements for a Tangible Journal 18 NCAC 07I .0205* 38:04 NCR 

Provision of Journal to Department 18 NCAC 07I .0206* 38:04 NCR 

Acts Included in Journal 18 NCAC 07I .0207* 38:04 NCR 

Designation of Notarial Act 18 NCAC 07I .0208* 38:04 NCR 

Exception to Rule .0208 18 NCAC 07I .0209* 38:04 NCR 

Designation of Type of Notarial Act 18 NCAC 07I .0210* 38:04 NCR 

Journal may Combine Employer-Related and Non-Employer Acts 18 NCAC 07I .0211* 38:04 NCR 

Journal Retention Period 18 NCAC 07I .0212* 38:04 NCR 

Contents of Journal for Canceled Act 18 NCAC 07I .0301* 38:04 NCR 

Contents of Journal 18 NCAC 07I .0302* 38:04 NCR 

Additional Journal Contents for Remote Electronic Notariz... 18 NCAC 07I .0303* 38:04 NCR 

Employer Request for Inclusion of Additional Information ... 18 NCAC 07I .0304* 38:04 NCR 

Party Request for Inclusion of Additional Information in ... 18 NCAC 07I .0305* 38:04 NCR 

Notation of Requests for Inclusion of Additional Informat... 18 NCAC 07I .0306* 38:04 NCR 

Notary shall not Provide Unrelated Notarial Act Informati... 18 NCAC 07I .0307* 38:04 NCR 

Journal Supplements 18 NCAC 07I .0308 38:04 NCR 

Maintain a Backup Copy 18 NCAC 07I .0401* 38:04 NCR 

Format of Backup Copy 18 NCAC 07I .0402* 38:04 NCR 

Printing out of Electronic Journal Entries 18 NCAC 07I .0403* 38:04 NCR 

Including Signatures in Journal 18 NCAC 07I .0404* 38:04 NCR 

Technological Issues 18 NCAC 07I .0405* 38:04 NCR 

Pre-Populated Data to be Confirmed by Notary Public 18 NCAC 07I .0406* 38:04 NCR 

Steps Before Committing an Electronic Journal Entry 18 NCAC 07I .0407* 38:04 NCR 

Harvest Vessels and Vehicles 15A NCAC 18A .0419 38:03 NCR 

Transporting Shellfish 15A NCAC 18A .0420* 38:03 NCR 

Shellfish Storage 15A NCAC 18A .0427 38:03 NCR 
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TITLE 01 - DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION 

 

01 NCAC 06B .0307 LEASES AT STATE 

FAIRGROUNDS AND WNC AG CENTER 

The Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, without 

prior approval of the Council of State, is authorized to enter into 

leases of buildings or land, and contracts for the furnishing of 

rides, shows and other related services on the State Fairgrounds 

and the WNC Ag Center, provided that the duration of each lease, 

rental agreement or contract shall not exceed 20 days per year for 

up to three years, plus 10 days before and after an event for move-

in and move-out. A lease, rental agreement or contract for more 

than one year, which provides for a payment to the State of more 

than one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) per year, shall be 

awarded to the highest qualified bidder in a request for proposals 

issued by the Department. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-341(4)d ; 143-341(4)f; 

Council of State Resolution of July 1, 1975; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. February 27, 1979; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2006; August 1, 1988; 

Exp. Eff. August 1, 2018 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A; 

Eff. February 1, 2024. 

 

 

TITLE 08 – STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

 

08 NCAC 04 .0308 AUTHORIZED ACCESS TO 

VOTING SYSTEM INFORMATION IN ESCROW 

(a)  Subject to the provisions of this Rule, upon written request 

from a person or entity authorized under G.S. 163-165.7(a)(6) to 

a vendor of a certified voting system in this state, the vendor shall 

make available for review and examination any information 

placed in escrow under G.S. 163-165.9A to an authorized person. 

The person or entity making the request shall simultaneously 

provide a copy of the request to the State Board. Any request from 

the State chairs of a political party recognized under G.S. 163-96 

shall be made no later than 90 days before the start of early voting 

in the state. This Rule does not address or restrict the pre-

certification review of a vendor's source code under G.S. 163-

165.7(e). 

(b)  Authorized Persons. Only authorized persons may review and 

examine the information placed in escrow by a voting system 

vendor. For the purpose of this Rule, "authorized person" means 

a person who: 

(1) Is an agent: 

(A) designated by majority vote in a public 

meeting by the State Board or a 

purchasing county's board of 

commissioners; 

(B) designated in writing by the chair of a 

political party recognized under G.S. 

163-96; or 

(C) designated in writing by the Secretary 

of Department of Information 

Technology. No more than three 

people may be designated by an 

authorized entity under G.S. 163-

165.7(f)(9); 

(2) Has submitted to a criminal history record 

check, to be facilitated by the State Board, as 

provided for in G.S. 163-27.2(b) and has not 

been convicted of a disqualifying offense. 

Disqualifying offenses shall be all felonies, and 

any misdemeanors that involve theft, deception, 

the unlawful concealment or dissemination of 

information, falsification or destruction of 

records, or the unlawful access to information 

or facilities. The requirement to submit to a 

criminal history record check does not apply to 

State employees who have already submitted to 

a criminal history record check for State 

employment; 

(3) Has submitted to the State Board a résumé 

detailing the person's experience with voting 

systems and information technology, to include 

any training or experience pertaining to 

computer code development or analysis; 

(4) Has submitted to the State Board a sworn 

affidavit, under penalty of perjury, attesting that 

the person: 

(A) has never been found by a court of law, 

administrative body, or former or 

current employer to have disclosed 

without authorization confidential 

information that the person had access 

to; 

(B) has never been, either in their private 

capacity or in any capacity as an agent 

for another person or entity, subject to 

any civil or criminal claims alleging 

misappropriation of a trade secret, 

violation of confidentiality agreement 

or nondisclosure agreement, copyright 

infringement, patent infringement, or 

unauthorized disclosure of any 

information protected from disclosure 

by law, except to the extent any such 

claims were dismissed with prejudice 

and not pursuant to a settlement 

agreement; 

(C) has never had a security clearance 

issued by a federal agency revoked for 

any reason other than expiration of the 

clearance; 

(D) if granted access to review and 

examine the information placed in 

escrow, will not disclose or reveal any 

proprietary information to which the 

Authorized Person is granted access, 

pursuant to G.S. 132-1.2, to any 

person outside of the individuals or 

entities identified in G.S. 163-

165.7(a)(6), testing and certification 
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program staff at the U.S. Election 

Assistance Commission, election 

infrastructure security staff for the 

U.S. Department of Homeland 

Security's Cybersecurity and 

Infrastructure Security, or a court of 

law using the court's procedures to file 

such information under seal; 

(E) will not disclose or reveal any feature, 

component, or perceived flaw or 

vulnerability of the information placed 

in escrow by a voting system vendor, 

pursuant to G.S. 132-1.7(a2), G.S. 

132-1.7(b), and G.S. 132-6.1(c), to 

any person outside of other persons 

authorized under this Rule, the State 

Board, the vendor, testing and 

certification program staff at the U.S. 

Election Assistance Commission, 

election infrastructure security staff 

for the U.S. Department of Homeland 

Security's Cybersecurity and 

Infrastructure Security, or a court of 

law using the court's procedures to file 

such information under seal; 

(F) will submit copies of any notes taken 

during the examination of the 

information in escrow to the State 

Board; 

(G) acknowledges that, should the person 

disclose any information placed in 

escrow that is protected under state or 

federal law in contravention of Part 

(b)(4)(D) or (E) of this Rule, the 

person will be subject to any remedies 

provided by law which could include 

monetary damages; and 

(H) will provide the vendor and the State 

Board with prompt written notice if 

the person becomes or is likely to be 

compelled by law to disclose any of 

the escrow information, will cooperate 

with the vendor and the State Board to 

obtain a protective order or other 

appropriate remedy, and, in the event 

any escrow information must be 

disclosed pursuant to legal 

compulsion, will disclose only the 

portion of information that the person 

is legally required to disclose in the 

written opinion of its counsel; and 

(5) Consents in writing to searches of their person 

and effects, similar in nature to searches that 

members of the public submit to when entering 

the office buildings of the General Assembly, to 

be conducted upon entry into the secure facility 

described in Subparagraph (d)(1) of this Rule; 

and 

(6) Is a citizen of the United States. 

(c)  Within 30 days of meeting the definition of an authorized 

person in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the Executive Director of the 

State Board shall issue a written authorization to the person or 

entity making the request under Paragraph (a) of this Rule to 

review and examine information placed in escrow by a voting 

system vendor. The authorization shall be presented by the person 

or entity to the vendor prior to gaining access to such information 

under this Rule. 

(d)  Conditions of Access. When providing access to information 

in escrow pursuant to this Rule, the State Board and vendor shall 

ensure the following conditions are met: 

(1) The information in escrow shall be made 

available by the vendor on up to three 

computers provided by the vendor (one for each 

potentially designated agent under G.S. 163-

165.7(f)(9)) that are not connected to any 

network and are located within a secure facility, 

as described in Subparagraph (d)(3) of this Rule 

, designated by the State Board of Elections. 

Such computers shall be preloaded with 

software tools necessary for use in viewing, 

searching, and analyzing the information 

subject to review, including tools permitting 

automated source code review. Such computers 

shall have the following access controls: 

(A) Credentials shall be traceable to 

individuals. Generic login accounts 

are not authorized. Sharing of 

accounts and reuse of credentials is 

prohibited. Each user must have their 

own assigned login account. 

(B) Only one administrative account shall 

be present on the system to allow for 

the initial provisioning of necessary 

applications and setup of security 

controls. 

(C) Where passwords are used to 

authenticate authorized individuals, 

login accounts shall use complex 

passwords. A sufficiently complex 

password is one that is not based on 

common dictionary words and 

includes no fewer than 10 characters, 

and includes at least one uppercase 

letter, one lowercase letter, one 

number, and a special character. 

(D) Screen lock times shall be set to no 

longer than 10 minutes. 

(E) All computers shall be locked or 

logged out from whenever they are not 

being attended and used. 

(F) The entire hard drive on any computer 

must have full disk encryption. Where 

possible, the minimum encryption 

level shall be AES-256. 

(G) After the information subject to 

review and software tools for viewing 

are loaded on the computers, all ports 
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shall be sealed with tamper-evident 

seals. 

(H) After the ports are sealed, no 

input/output or recording devices may 

be connected to the computers. The 

State Board shall provide for the 

secure storage of any equipment used 

for the duration of the review. 

(2) The computers shall be air-gapped and shall not 

be connected to a network, and any feature 

allowing connection to a network shall be 

disabled. Prohibited network connections 

include the Internet, intranet, fax, telephone 

line, networks established via modem, or any 

other wired or wireless connection. 

(3) The secure facility designated by the State 

Board under Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph 

is the specific location where the computing 

equipment will be stored and the review 

conducted, and may be a secured portion of a 

building. All conduct within the facility shall 

meet the following conditions: 

(A) For the entire review period, the 

facility shall be secured from access 

by any person not designated under 

Subparagraph (b)(1), Part (d)(3)(G), 

and Subparagraph (d)(7) of this Rule. 

(B) Only individuals authorized under 

Subparagraph (b)(1), Part (d)(3)(G), 

and Subparagraph (d)(7) of this Rule 

may enter the facility. Such 

individuals shall present government-

issued photo identification upon initial 

entry, and may be asked to show 

identification multiple times 

throughout the review period. 

(C) Each time an individual accesses the 

facility, the State Board or its designee 

shall record the name of the 

individual, the time of their entry, the 

time of their departure, and a 

description of any materials brought in 

or out of the facility. 

(D) All equipment used in the review, as 

specified in Subparagraph (d)(1) of 

this Rule, must remain in the facility 

during the review period. 

(E) No authorized person pursuant to this 

Rule shall possess any removable 

media device, cell phone, computer, 

tablet, camera, wearable, or other 

outside electronic device within the 

facility where the person is accessing 

information in escrow. 

(F) No authorized person shall attempt to 

connect the computers used in the 

review to any network. 

(G) State personnel who are designated by 

the Executive Director of the State 

Board of Elections and who also 

satisfy the conditions set forth in 

Subparagraphs (b)(2) through (b)(5) 

shall have access to the facility where 

the review is being conducted at all 

times, to monitor the process and 

ensure that all requirements of this 

Rule are complied with. 

(H) Persons entering the facility shall 

submit to inspection, as provided for 

in Subparagraph (b)(5), and shall be 

denied entry if they possess any 

unauthorized devices. 

(I) State personnel designated pursuant to 

this subsection shall inspect the 

computers used in the review before 

and after the review for compliance 

with Subparagraphs (d)(1) and (d)(2). 

(4) Authorized persons are permitted to perform 

manual source code review, and use code 

analysis tools as provided in Subparagraph (1) 

of this Paragraph, to analyze the source code. 

This source code review shall be performed 

using "read only" access and any authorized 

person shall use only the analysis tools 

preloaded on the computers, as described in 

Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph, to examine 

the information placed in escrow. 

(5) Any review performed pursuant to this Rule 

shall occur during the State Board's regular 

business hours and shall last no longer than 10 

business days. Such review shall not occur 

during the period from the start of early voting 

through the conclusion of statewide canvassing 

of the vote. 

(6) Authorized persons and the vendor are each 

responsible for bearing their own costs in 

conducting the review pursuant to G.S. 163-

165.7(a)(6). 

(7) Up to three representatives of the vendor may 

be designated in writing to the State Board by a 

corporate executive of the vendor to supervise 

the review at all times. Such representatives 

shall not interfere with the review and shall be 

afforded an opportunity to inspect the facility 

for compliance with these conditions prior to 

the review commencing. State Board staff 

designated under Subparagraph (3) of this 

Paragraph shall monitor the review, without 

obstructing the review process. 

(e)  Dispute Resolution. Any dispute that arises between an 

authorized person and a vendor concerning the execution of 

review pursuant to this Rule may be presented to the State Board 

of Elections in the form of a petition seeking relief. The party 

seeking such relief shall serve their petition on the opposing party, 

and the opposing party shall have 14 days to respond. The State 

Board shall make a decision on the petition based on the written 

submissions, or it may schedule a hearing to consider the petition. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 132-1.2; 132-1.7; 132-6.1; 163-

22; 163-27.2; 163-165.7; 163-165.9A; 163-166.7; 163-275; 42 

U.S.C. 5195c; 

Eff. February 1, 2024. 

 

 

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 06T .0201 NATURE AND PURPOSE OF 

STATE ADULT DAY CARE FUND 

(a)  The State adult day care fund shall be used for adult day care 

and adult day health services provided through county 

departments of social services for the purpose of enabling people 

to remain in or return to their own homes. 

(b)  The fund shall be used to increase State financial participation 

in the costs of this service. 

(c)  A county department of social services or a designee of the 

board of county commissioners may purchase adult day care 

services for an individual following a preadmission assessment as 

specified in 10A NCAC 06R .0501. A county department of social 

services or a designee of the board of county commissioners may 

purchase adult day health services for an individual following a 

preadmission health assessment as specified in 10A NCAC 06S 

.0204(c)(2)(A) and a determination that the individual needs one 

or more services as set forth in 10A NCAC 06S .0402(a). 

(d)  If an adult day care or adult day health provider elects to 

provide or arrange for transportation services for the individual 

who attends the program, the county department of social services 

or a designee of the board of county commissioners may 

reimburse the adult day care or adult day health provider for 

transporting the individual to the adult day care or adult day health 

program. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a); 143B-153(6); 

S.L. 1981, c. 1048; S.L. 2023-65; 

Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 27, 1994 for a period of 180 days 

or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1994; July 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 8, 1997; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2007; April 1, 2005; April 1, 1999; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2024. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0703 TUBERCULOSIS TEST, 

MEDICAL EXAMINATION AND IMMUNIZATIONS 

(a)  Upon admission to an adult care home each resident shall be 

tested for tuberculosis disease in compliance with the control 

measures adopted by the Commission for Public Health as 

specified in 10A NCAC 41A .0205 including subsequent 

amendments and editions.  

(b)  Each resident shall have a medical examination completed by 

a licensed physician or physician extender prior to admission to 

the facility and annually thereafter. For the purposes of this Rule, 

"physician extender" means a licensed physician assistant or 

licensed nurse practitioner. The medical examination completed 

prior to admission shall be used by the facility to determine if the 

facility can meet the needs of the resident. 

(c)  The medical examination shall be completed no more than 90 

days prior to the resident's admission to the facility, except in the 

case of emergency admission. 

(d)  In the case of an unplanned, emergency admission, the 

medical examination of the resident shall be conducted within 72 

hours after admission. Prior to an emergency admission, the 

facility shall obtain current medication and treatment orders from 

a licensed physician or physician extender. 

(e)  The result of the medical examination required in Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule shall be documented on the North Carolina 

Medicaid Adult Care Home FL-2 form which is available at no 

cost on the Department's Medicaid website at 

https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/media/6549/open. The Adult Care 

Home FL-2 shall be signed and dated by the physician or 

physician extender completing the medical examination. The 

medical examination shall include the following: 

(1) resident's identification information, including 

the resident's name, date of birth, sex, 

admission date, county and Medicaid number, 

current facility and address, physician's name 

and address, a relative's name and address, 

current level of care, and recommended level of 

care; 

(2) resident's admitting diagnoses, including 

primary and secondary diagnoses and dates of 

onset; 

(3) resident's current medical information, 

including orientation, behaviors, personal care 

assistance needs, frequency of physician visits, 

ambulatory status, functional limitations, 

information related to activities and social 

needs, neurological status, bowel and bladder 

functioning status, manner of communication 

of needs, skin condition, respiratory status, and 

nutritional status including orders for 

therapeutic diets; 

(4) special care factors, including physician orders 

for blood pressure, diabetic urine testing, 

physical therapy, range of motion exercises, a 

bowel and bladder program, a restorative 

feeding program, speech therapy, and 

restraints; 

(5) resident's medications, including the name, 

strength, dosage, frequency and route of 

administration of each medication; 

(6) results of x-rays or laboratory tests determined 

by the physician or physician extender to be 

necessary information related to the resident's 

care needs; and 

(7) additional information as determined by the 

physician or physician extender to be necessary 

for the care of the resident. 

(f)  If the information on the Adult Care Home FL-2 is not clear 

or is insufficient, or information provided to the facility related to 

the resident's condition or medications after the completion of the 

medical examination conflicts with the information provided on 
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the Adult Care Home FL-2, the facility shall contact the physician 

or physician extender for clarification in order to determine if the 

facility can meet the individual's needs. 

(g)  The results of the medical examination shall be maintained in 

the resident's record in accordance with Rule .1201 of this 

Subchapter. Discharge medication orders shall be clarified in 

accordance with Rule .1002(a) of this Subchapter. 

(h)  Upon a resident's return to the facility from a hospitalization, 

the facility shall obtain and review the hospital discharge 

summary or discharge instructions, including any discharge 

medication orders. If the facility identifies discrepancies between 

the discharge orders and current orders at the facility, the facility 

shall clarify the discrepancies with the resident's physician or 

physician extender. 

(i)  Each resident shall be immunized against pneumococcal 

disease and annually against influenza virus according to G.S. 

131D-9, except as otherwise indicated in law. 

(j)  The facility shall make arrangements for a resident to be 

evaluated by a licensed mental health professional, licensed 

physician or licensed physician extender for follow-up psychiatric 

care within 30 days of admission or re-admission to the facility 

when the resident: 

(1) has been an inpatient of a psychiatric facility 

within 12 months prior to admission to the 

facility and does not have a current plan for 

follow-up psychiatric care; or 

(2) has been hospitalized due to threatening or 

violent behavior, suicidal ideation or self-harm, 

or other psychiatric symptoms that required 

hospitalization within 12 months prior to 

admission to the facility and does not have a 

current plan for follow-up psychiatric care. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-165; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. September 1, 2003; 

Eff. June 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0704 RESIDENT CONTRACT, 

INFORMATION ON FACILITY, AND RESIDENT 

REGISTER 

(a)  An adult care home administrator or their management 

designee shall furnish and review with the resident or the 

resident's authorized representative as defined in Rule .1103 of 

this Subchapter information on the facility upon admission and 

when changes are made to that information. The facility shall 

involve the resident in the review of the resident contract and 

information on the facility unless the resident is cognitively 

unable to participate in the discussion. A statement indicating that 

this information has been received upon admission or amendment 

as required by this Rule shall be signed and dated by each person 

to whom it is given and retained in the resident's record in the 

facility. The information shall consist of the following: 

(1) the resident contract to which the following 

applies: 

(A) the contract shall specify charges for 

resident services and 

accommodations, including the cost of 

different levels of service, description 

of levels of care and services, and any 

other charges or fees; 

(B) the contract shall disclose any health 

needs or conditions that the facility has 

determined it cannot meet; 

(C) the contract shall be signed and dated 

by the administrator or management 

designee and the resident or the 

resident's authorized representative, a 

copy given to the resident or the 

resident's authorized representative 

and a copy kept in the resident's 

record; 

(D) the resident or the resident's 

authorized representative shall be 

given a written 30-day notice prior to 

any change in charges for resident 

services and accommodations, 

including the cost of different levels of 

service, description of level of care 

and services, and any other charges or 

fees, and be provided an amended 

contract or an amendment to the 

contract for review and confirmation 

of receipt; 

(E) gratuities in addition to the established 

rates shall not be accepted; and 

(F) the maximum monthly adult care 

home rate that may be charged to 

Special Assistance recipients as 

established by the North Carolina 

Social Services Commission and the 

North Carolina General Assembly. 

(2) a written copy of all house rules, including 

facility policies on smoking, alcohol 

consumption, visitation, refunds and the 

requirements for discharge of residents 

consistent with the rules of this Subchapter, and 

amendments disclosing any changes in the 

house rules. The house rules shall be in 

compliance with G.S. 131D-21; 

(3) a copy of the Declaration of Residents' Rights 

as found in G.S. 131D-21; 

(4) a copy of the facility's grievance procedures 

that shall indicate how the resident is to present 

complaints and make suggestions as to the 

facility's policies and services on behalf of 

himself or herself or others; and 

(5) a statement as to whether the facility has signed 

Form DSS-1464, Statement of Assurance of 

Compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights 

Act of 1964 for Other Agencies, Institutions, 

Organizations or Facilities, and which shall also 

indicate that, if the facility does not choose to 

comply or is non-compliant, the residents of the 

facility would not be able to receive State-

County Special Assistance for Adults and the 

facility would not receive supportive services 

from the county department of social services. 
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(b)  The administrator or their management designee and the 

resident or the resident's representative shall complete and sign 

the Resident Register initial assessment within 72 hours of the 

resident's admission to the facility in accordance with G.S. 131D-

2.15. The facility shall involve the resident in the completion of 

the Resident Register unless the resident is cognitively unable to 

participate. The Resident Register shall consist of the following: 

(1) resident's identification information including 

the resident's name, date of birth, sex, 

admission date, medical insurance, family and 

emergency contacts, advanced directives, and 

physician's name and address; 

(2) resident's current care needs including activities 

of daily living and services, use of assistive 

aids, orientation status; 

(3) resident's preferences including personal habits, 

food preferences and allergies, community 

involvement, and activity interests; 

(4) resident's consent and request for assistance 

including the release of information, personal 

funds management, personal lockable space, 

discharge information, and assistance with 

personal mail; 

(5) name of the individual identified by the resident 

who is to receive a copy of the notice of 

discharge per G.S. 131D-4.8; and 

(6) resident's consent including a signature 

confirming the review and receipt of 

information contained in the form. 

The Resident Register is available on the internet website, 

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/acls/pdf/resregister.pdf at no charge. 

The facility may use a resident information form other than the 

Resident Register as long as it contains the same information as 

the Resident Register. Information on the Resident Register shall 

be kept updated and maintained in the resident's record. 

 

History Note: Authority 131D-2.15; 131D-2.16; 143B-165; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 2004; 

Eff. July 1, 2005; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2022; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .1103 AUTHORIZED 

REPRESENTATIVE  

(a)  In situations where the facility determines a resident of an 

adult care home is unable to manage their monetary funds, the 

administrator shall contact the resident's responsible person or the 

county department of social services regarding the need for an 

authorized representative. For the purposes of this Section, an 

"authorized representative" shall mean a person who is legally 

authorized or designated in writing by the resident to act on his or 

her behalf in the management of their funds. 

(b)  The administrator and other staff of the home facility shall not 

serve as a resident's authorized representative, payee, or executor 

of a will except in the case of funds administered by the Social 

Security Administration, the Veteran's Administration or other 

federal government agencies. The administrator of the facility 

may serve as a payee when so authorized as a legally constituted 

authority by the respective federal agencies. 

(c)  The administrator shall give the resident's authorized 

representative or payee receipts for any monies received on behalf 

of the resident. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 35A-1203; 108A-37; 131D-

2.16; 143B-165; 

Eff. July 1, 2005; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .1104 ACCOUNTING FOR 

RESIDENT'S PERSONAL FUNDS 

(a)  To document a resident's receipt of the State-County Special 

Assistance personal needs allowance after payment of the cost of 

care, a statement shall be signed by the resident or marked by the 

resident. If the statement is marked by the resident, there shall be 

one witness signature. For residents who have been adjudicated 

incompetent, the signature of the resident's authorized 

representative shall be required. Witnesses cannot include the 

staff handling the residents' personal funds transactions. The 

statement shall be maintained in the facility. 

(b)  No employee of a facility shall handle the personal funds for 

a resident, except for the facility administrator or the 

administrator's designee after having received prior written 

authorization from the resident or the resident's authorized 

representative. The facility administrator or their designee shall 

maintain an accurate account balance and accounting of all funds 

received, disbursements, and the balance on hand which shall be 

available upon request to the resident or their authorized 

representative during the facility's regular business office hours. 

(c)  The facility shall provide each resident or the resident's 

authorized representative a written monthly accounting of the 

resident's funds handled by the administrator or the 

administrator's designee. The facility shall maintain at the facility 

a record signed by the resident or their authorized representative 

indicating whether the resident or their authorized representative 

agrees that the monthly accounting is accurate. The records shall 

be maintained by the facility for at least one year. 

(d)  A resident's personal funds shall not be commingled with 

facility funds. The facility shall not commingle the personal funds 

of residents in an interest-bearing account. 

(e)  All or any portion of a resident's personal funds shall be 

available to the resident or their authorized representative upon 

request during the facility's established business days and hours 

except as provided in Rule .1105 of this Section. 

(f)  The resident's personal needs allowance shall be credited to 

the resident's account within one business day of the funds being 

available in the facility's resident personal funds account. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-165; 

Eff. July 1, 2005; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2024. 
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10A NCAC 13F .1106 SETTLEMENT OF COST OF 

CARE 

(a)  If a resident of an adult care home, has been notified by the 

facility of its intent to discharge in accordance with Rule .0702 of 

this Subchapter, the facility shall refund the resident an amount 

equal to the cost of care for the remainder of the month minus the 

amount charged for any nights spent in the facility during the 

notice period. The refund shall be made within 14 days after the 

resident leaves the facility. For the purposes of this Rule, "cost of 

care" means any monies paid by the resident or the resident's legal 

representative in advance for room and board and services 

provided by the facility as agreed upon in the resident's contract. 

(b)  When a resident moves out of the facility without giving 

notice, as may be required by the facility according to Rule 

.0702(i) of this Subchapter, or before the facility's required notice 

period has elapsed, the facility shall charge the resident no more 

than the amount equal to the cost of care for the required notice 

period. If a resident receiving State-County Special Assistance 

moves before the facility's required notice period has elapsed, the 

facility may charge the resident for the required notice period. The 

facility shall refund the resident the remainder of any advance 

payment following settlement of the cost of care. The refund shall 

be made within 14 days from the date of notice or, if no notice is 

given, within 14 days after the resident leaves the facility. 

(c)  When there is an exception to the notice as provided in Rule 

.0702(i) of this Subchapter, to protect the health or safety of the 

resident or others in the facility, or when there is a sudden, 

unexpected closure of the facility that requires the resident to 

relocate, the facility shall only charge the resident for any nights 

spent in the facility. A refund shall be made to the resident by the 

facility within 14 days from the date of notice. 

(d)  When a resident gives notice of leaving the facility, as may 

be required by the facility according to Rule .0702(i) of this 

Subchapter, and leaves at the end of the notice period, the facility 

shall refund the resident the remainder of any advance payment 

within 14 days from the date of notice. If notice is not required by 

the facility, the refund shall be made within 14 days after the 

resident leaves the facility. 

(e)  When a resident leaves the facility and the resident or his or 

her responsible person has notified the facility of the intent of 

returning to it, the following apply: 

(1) If the resident or their responsible party 

reserves their bed for a set number of days, the 

facility shall have a written agreement for the 

payment for the days the bed is held in 

accordance with Rule .0704(a)(1)(A) of this 

Subchapter. 

(2) If, after leaving the facility, the resident decides 

not to return to it, the facility shall require no 

more than a 14-day written notice that he or she 

is not returning. 

(3) If the facility requires a 14-day written notice, 

the requirement shall be a part of the written 

agreement and explained by the facility to the 

resident and his or her family or responsible 

person before signing. 

(4) When a resident or someone acting on his or her 

behalf notifies the facility that he or she will not 

be returning to the facility, the facility shall 

refund the remainder of any advance payment 

to the resident or his or her responsible person. 

The refund shall include the amount equal to the 

cost of care for the period covered by the 

agreement. The refund shall be made within 14 

days after notification that the resident will not 

be returning to the facility. 

(5) The facility shall not require payment from a 

resident that receives State County Special 

Assistance for more than 30 days unless the 

resident is actually residing in the facility or it 

is anticipated that he or she will return to the 

facility within 30 days. 

(6) Exceptions to the 14-day notice, if required by 

the facility, are cases where returning to the 

facility would jeopardize the health or safety of 

the resident or others in the facility as certified 

by the resident's physician or approved by the 

county department of social services, and in the 

case of the resident's death. In these cases, the 

facility shall provide a refund the rest of any 

advance payment calculated beginning with the 

day the facility is notified. The facility shall 

provide the refund to the authorized 

representative with 14 days after the resident 

leaves the facility or within 30 days after the 

resident's death. 

(f)  If a resident dies, the administrator of his or her estate or the 

Clerk of Superior Court, when no administrator for his or her 

estate has been appointed, shall be given a refund equal to the cost 

of care for the month minus any nights spent in the facility during 

the month. This is to be done within 30 days after the resident's 

death. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.5; 143B-

165; 

Eff. July 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0702 TUBERCULOSIS TEST AND 

MEDICAL EXAMINATION, AND IMMUNIZATIONS 

(a)  Upon admission to a family care home each resident shall be 

tested for tuberculosis disease in compliance with the control 

measures adopted by the Commission for Public Health as 

specified in 10A NCAC 41A .0205 including subsequent 

amendments and editions.  

(b)  Each resident shall have a medical examination completed by 

a licensed physician or physician extender prior to admission to 

the home and annually thereafter. For the purposes of this Rule, 

"physician extender" means a licensed physician assistant or 

licensed nurse practitioner. The medical examination completed 

prior to admission shall be used by the facility to determine if the 

facility can meet the needs of the resident. 

(c)  The medical examination shall be completed no more than 90 

days prior to the resident's admission to the facility, except in the 

case of emergency admission. 

(d)  In the case of an unplanned, emergency admission, the 

medical examination of the resident shall be conducted within 72 

hours after admission. Prior to an emergency admission, the 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

38:17 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 1, 2024 

1100 

facility shall obtain current medication and treatment orders from 

a licensed physician or physician extender. 

(e)  The result of the medical examination required in Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule shall be documented on the North Carolina 

Medicaid Adult Care Home FL-2 form which is available at no 

cost on the Department's Medicaid website at 

https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/media/6549/open. The Adult Care 

Home FL-2 shall be signed and dated by the physician or 

physician extender completing the medical examination. The 

medical examination shall include the following: 

(1) resident's identification information, including 

the resident's name, date of birth, sex, 

admission date, county and Medicaid number, 

current facility and address, physician's name 

and address, a relative's name and address, 

current level of care, and recommended level of 

care; 

(2) resident's admitting diagnoses, including 

primary and secondary diagnoses and dates of 

onset; 

(3) resident's current medical information, 

including orientation, behaviors, personal care 

assistance needs, frequency of physician visits, 

ambulatory status, functional limitations, 

information related to activities and social 

needs, neurological status, bowel and bladder 

functioning status, manner of communication 

of needs, skin condition, respiratory status, and 

nutritional status including orders for 

therapeutic diets; 

(4) special care factors, including physician orders 

for blood pressure, diabetic urine testing, 

physical therapy, range of motion exercises, a 

bowel and bladder program, a restorative 

feeding program, speech therapy, and 

restraints; 

(5) resident's medications, including the name, 

strength, dosage, frequency and route of 

administration of each medication; 

(6) results of x-rays or laboratory tests determined 

by the physician or physician extender to be 

necessary information related to the resident's 

care needs; and 

(7) additional information as determined by the 

physician or physician extender to be necessary 

for the care of the resident. 

(f)  If the information on the Adult Care Home FL-2 is not clear 

or is insufficient, or information provided to the facility related to 

the resident's condition or medications after the completion of the 

medical examination conflicts with the information provided on 

the Adult Care Home FL-2, the facility shall contact the physician 

or physician extender for clarification in order to determine if the 

facility can meet the individual's needs. 

(g)  The results of the medical examination shall be maintained in 

the resident's record in accordance with Rule .1201 of this 

Subchapter. Discharge medication orders shall be clarified in 

accordance with Rule .1002(a) of this Subchapter. 

(h)  Upon a resident's return to the facility from a hospitalization, 

the facility shall obtain and review the hospital discharge 

summary or discharge instructions, including any discharge 

medication orders. If the facility identifies discrepancies between 

the discharge orders and current orders at the facility, the facility 

shall clarify the discrepancies with the resident's physician or 

physician extender. 

(i)  Each resident shall be immunized against pneumococcal 

disease and annually against influenza virus according to G.S. 

131D-9, except as otherwise indicated in law. 

(j)  The facility shall make arrangements for a resident to be 

evaluated by a licensed mental health professional, licensed 

physician or licensed physician extender for follow-up psychiatric 

care within 30 days of admission or re-admission to the facility 

when the resident: 

(1) has been an inpatient of a psychiatric facility 

within 12 months prior to admission to the 

facility and does not have a current plan for 

follow-up psychiatric care; or 

(2) has been hospitalized due to threatening or 

violent behavior, suicidal ideation or self-harm, 

or other psychiatric symptoms that required 

hospitalization within 12 months prior to 

admission to the facility and does not have a 

current plan for follow-up psychiatric care. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-165; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; July 1, 1990; April 1, 1987; 

April 1, 1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0703 RESIDENT REGISTER 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-165; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1990; April 1, 1987; April 1, 1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2022; July 1, 2005; 

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0704 RESIDENT CONTRACT, 

INFORMATION ON FACILITY, AND RESIDENT 

REGISTER 

(a)  The administrator or supervisor-in-charge shall furnish and 

review with the resident or the resident's authorized representative 

as defined in Rule .1103 of this Subchapter information on the 

facility upon admission and when changes are made to that 

information. The facility shall involve the resident in the review 

of the resident contract and information on the facility unless the 

resident is cognitively unable to participate in the discussion. A 

statement indicating that this information has been received upon 

admission or amendment as required by this Rule shall be signed 

and dated by each person to whom it is given. This statement shall 

be retained in the resident's record in the facility. The information 

shall consist of the following: 
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(1) the resident contract to which the following 

applies: 

(A) the contract shall specify charges for 

resident services and 

accommodations, including the cost of 

different levels of service, description 

of levels of care and services, and any 

other charges or fees; 

(B) the contract shall disclose any health 

needs or conditions that the facility has 

determined it cannot meet; 

(C) the contract shall be signed and dated 

by the administrator or supervisor-in-

charge and the resident or the 

resident's authorized representative 

and a copy given to the resident or the 

resident's authorized representative 

and a copy kept in the resident's 

record; 

(D) the resident or the resident's 

authorized representative shall be 

given a written 30-day notice prior to 

any change in charges for resident 

services and accommodations, 

including the cost of different levels of 

service, description of level of care 

and services, and any other charges or 

fees, and be provided an amended 

copy of the contract for review and 

confirmation of receipt; 

(E) gratuities in addition to the established 

rates shall not be accepted; and 

(F) The maximum monthly rate that may 

be charged to Special Assistance 

recipients as established by the North 

Carolina General Assembly; 

(2) a written copy of any house rules, including 

facility's policies on smoking, alcohol 

consumption, visitation, refunds, and the 

requirements for discharge of residents 

consistent with the rules in this Subchapter and 

amendments disclosing any changes in the 

house rules. The house rules shall be in 

compliance with G.S. 131D-21; 

(3) a copy of the Declaration of Residents' Rights 

as found in G.S. 131D-21; 

(4) a copy of the facility's grievance procedures 

that shall indicate how the resident is to present 

complaints and make suggestions as to the 

facility's policies and services on behalf of self 

or others; and 

(5) a statement as to whether the facility has signed 

Form DSS-1464, Statement of Assurance of 

Compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights 

Act of 1964 for Other Agencies, Institutions, 

Organizations or Facilities, and which shall also 

indicate that if the facility does not choose to 

comply or is non-compliant the residents of the 

facility would not be able to receive State-

County Special Assistance for Adults and the 

facility would not receive supportive services 

from the county department of social services. 

(b)  A family care home's administrator or supervisor-in-charge 

and the resident or the resident's responsible person shall complete 

and sign the Resident Register initial assessment within 72 hours 

of the resident's admission to the facility in accordance with G.S. 

131D-2.15. The facility shall involve the resident in the 

completion of the Resident Register unless the resident is 

cognitively unable to participate. The Resident Register shall 

consist of the following: 

(1) resident's identification information including 

the resident's name, date of birth, sex, 

admission date, medical insurance, family and 

emergency contacts, advanced directives, and 

physician's name and address; 

(2) resident's current care needs including activities 

of daily living and services, use of assistive 

aids, orientation status; 

(3) resident's preferences including personal habits, 

food preferences and allergies, community 

involvement, and activity interests; 

(4) resident's consent and request for assistance 

including the release of information, personal 

funds management, personal lockable space, 

discharge information, and assistance with 

personal mail; 

(5) name of the individual identified by the resident 

who is to receive a copy of the notice of 

discharge per G.S. 131D-4.8; and 

(6) resident's consent including a signature 

confirming the review and receipt of 

information contained in the form. 

The Resident Register is available on the internet website, 

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/acls/pdf/resregister.pdf, at no 

charge. The facility may use a resident information form other 

than the Resident Register as long as it contains same information 

as the Resident Register. Information on the Resident Register 

shall be kept updated and maintained in the resident's record. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-165; 

Eff. April 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff; July 1, 1990; April 1, 1987; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .1102 AUTHORIZED 

REPRESENTATIVE  

(a)  In situations where the facility determines a resident of a 

family care home is unable to manage their monetary funds the 

administrator shall contact a family member, responsible person, 

or the county department of social services regarding the need for 

an authorized representative. For the purposes of this Section, an 

"authorized representative" shall mean a person who is legally 

authorized or designated in writing by the resident to act on his or 

her behalf in the management of their funds.  

(b)  The administrator and other staff of the facility shall not serve 

as a resident's authorized representative, payee, or executor of a 
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will, except in the case of funds administered by the Social 

Security Administration, the Veteran's Administration or other 

federal government agencies. The administrator of the facility 

may serve as a payee when so authorized as a legally constituted 

authority by the respective federal agencies. 

(c)  The administrator shall give the resident's authorized 

representative receipts for any monies received on behalf of the 

resident. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 35A-1203; 108A-37; 131D-

2.16; 143B-165; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2005; April 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2024. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .1103 ACCOUNTING FOR 

RESIDENT'S PERSONAL FUNDS 

(a)  To document a resident's receipt of the State-County Special 

Assistance personal needs allowance after payment of the cost of 

care, a statement shall be signed by the resident or marked by the 

resident. If the statement is marked by the resident, there shall be 

one witness signature. For residents who have been adjudicated 

incompetent, the signature of the resident's authorized 

representative shall be required. Witnesses cannot include the 

staff handling the residents' personal funds transactions. The 

statement shall be maintained in the facility. 

(b)  No employee of a facility shall handle the personal funds for 

a resident, except for the facility administrator or the 

administrator's designee after having received prior written 

authorization from the resident or the resident's authorized 

representative. The facility administrator or their designee shall 

maintain an accurate account balance and accounting of all funds 

received, disbursements, and the balance on hand which shall be 

available upon request to the resident or their authorized 

representative during the facility's regular business office hours. 

(c)  The facility shall provide each resident or the resident's 

authorized representative a written monthly accounting of the 

resident's funds handled by the administrator or the 

administrator's designee. The facility shall maintain at the facility 

a record signed by the resident or their authorized representative 

indicating whether the resident or their authorized representative 

agrees that the monthly accounting is accurate. The records shall 

be maintained by the facility for at least one year. 

(d)  A resident's personal funds shall not be commingled with 

facility funds. The facility shall not commingle the personal funds 

of residents in an interest-bearing account. 

(e)  All or any portion of a resident's personal funds shall be 

available to the resident or their authorized representative upon 

request during the facility's established business days and hours 

except as provided in Rule .1105 of this Subchapter. 

(f)  The resident's personal needs allowance shall be credited to 

the resident's account within one business day of the funds being 

available in the facility's resident personal funds account. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-165; 

Eff. April 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2005; April 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2024. 

10A NCAC 13G .1106 SETTLEMENT OF COST OF 

CARE 

(a)  If a resident of a family care home, has been notified by the 

facility of its intent to discharge in accordance with Rule .0705 of 

this Subchapter, the facility shall refund the resident an amount 

equal to the cost of care for the remainder of the month minus the 

amount charged for any nights spent in the facility during the 

notice period. The refund shall be made within 14 days after the 

resident leaves the facility. For the purposes of this Rule, "cost of 

care" means any monies paid by the resident or the resident's legal 

representative in advance for room and board and services 

provided by facility as agreed upon in the resident's contract. 

(b)  When a resident moves out of the facility without giving 

notice, as may be required by the facility according to Rule 

.0705(i) of this Subchapter, or before the facility's required notice 

period has elapsed, the facility shall charge the resident no more 

than the amount equal to the cost of care for the required notice 

period. If a resident receiving State-County Special Assistance 

moves without giving notice or before the notice period has 

elapsed, the facility may charge the resident for the required 

notice period. The facility shall refund the resident the remainder 

of any advance payment following settlement of the cost of care. 

The refund shall be made within 14 days from the date of notice 

or, if no notice is given, within 14 days of the resident leaving the 

facility. 

(c)  When there is an exception to the notice as provided in Rule 

.0705(i) of this Subchapter to protect the health or safety of the 

resident or others in the facility, or when there is a sudden, 

unexpected closure of the facility that requires the resident to 

relocate, the facility shall only charge the resident for any nights 

spent in the facility. A refund shall be made to the resident by the 

facility within 14 days from the date of notice. 

(d)  When a resident gives notice of leaving the facility, as may 

be required by the facility according to Rule .0705(i) of this 

Subchapter, and leaves at the end of the notice period, the facility 

shall refund the resident the remainder of any advance payment 

within 14 days from the date of notice. If notice is not required by 

the facility, the refund shall be made within 14 days after the 

resident leaves the facility. 

(e)  When a resident leaves the facility and the resident or his or 

her responsible person has notified the facility of the intent of 

returning to it, the following apply: 

(1) If the resident or their responsible party 

reserves their bed for a set number of days, the 

facility shall have written agreement for the 

payment for the days the bed is held in 

accordance with Rule .0704(a)(1)(A) of this 

Subchapter. 

(2) If, after leaving the facility, the resident decides 

not to return to it, the facility shall require no 

more than a 14-day written notice that he or she 

is not returning. 

(3) If the facility requires a 14-day written notice, 

the requirement shall be a part of the written 

agreement and explained by the facility to the 

resident and his or her family or responsible 

person before signing. 

(4) When a resident or someone acting on his or her 

behalf notifies the facility that he or she will not 
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be returning to the facility, the facility shall 

refund the remainder of any advance payment 

to the resident or his or her responsible person. 

The refund shall include the amount equal to the 

cost of care for the period covered by the 

agreement. The refund shall be made within 14 

days after notification that the resident will not 

be returning to the facility. 

(5) The facility shall not require payment from a 

resident that receives State County Special 

Assistance for more than 30 days unless the 

resident is actually residing in the facility or it 

is anticipated that he or she will return to the 

facility within 30 days. 

(6) Exceptions to the 14-day notice, if required by 

the facility, are cases where returning to the 

facility would jeopardize the health or safety of 

the resident or others in the facility as certified 

by the resident's physician or approved by the 

county department of social services, and in the 

case of the resident's death. In these cases, the 

facility shall provide a refund of any advance 

payment calculated beginning with the day the 

facility is notified. The facility shall provide the 

refund to the authorized representative with 14 

days after the resident leaves the facility or 

within 30 days after the resident's death. 

(f)  If a resident dies, the administrator of his or her estate or the 

Clerk of Superior Court, when no administrator for his or her 

estate has been appointed, shall be given a refund equal to the cost 

of care for the month minus any nights spent in the facility during 

the month. This is to be done within 30 days after the resident's 

death. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.5; 

143B-165; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1990; June 1, 1987; April 1, 1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Expired October 13, 2001; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2024. 

 

 

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0303 FINGERPRINT CRIMINAL 

HISTORY RECORDS CHECK 

(a)  Each applicant for certification, pursuant to Rules .0301 and 

.0401 of this Subchapter, shall submit electronic fingerprints in 

the Statewide Automated Fingerprint Identification System 

(SAFIS). 

(b)  The employing agency shall forward the applicant's 

fingerprint record to the North Carolina State Bureau of 

Investigation for a criminal history record check utilizing 

fingerprints against state and federal files. 

(c)  The employing agency will receive a report of the results of 

the criminal history record check utilizing fingerprints against 

state and federal files from the North Carolina State Bureau of 

Investigation. The employing agency shall retain the results of the 

criminal history records check utilizing fingerprints in compliance 

with the North Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural 

Resources Retention Schedule established pursuant to G.S. 121-4 

and G.S. 132-8.1. The employing agency shall include the results 

of the fingerprint criminal history record check with the 

applications submitted to the Commission. 

(d)  Each applicant for certification and certified justice officers 

shall also submit electronic fingerprints, other identifying 

information required by the State and National Repositories of 

Criminal Histories, and any other information required by the 

State Bureau of Investigation for their enrollment in the Federal 

Bureau of Investigation's Next Generation Identification (NGI) 

System and Criminal Justice Record of Arrest and Prosecution 

Background (Rap Back) Service. Those individuals seeking 

justice officer certification shall submit the required electronic 

fingerprints, along with the required documentation pursuant to 

Rule .0408 of this Subchapter, and other information prior to 

being issued certification. Those individuals certified as justice 

officers prior to July 1, 2023 shall submit the required electronic 

fingerprints and other information no later than June 30, 2023. 

(e)  Pursuant to Rule .0301(4) of this Section an applicant for 

certification as a justice officer shall not perform any action 

requiring certification by the Commission prior to the date on 

which the employing agency receives the report of the result of 

the criminal history record check utilizing fingerprints. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-7; 143B-972.1; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; January 1, 1993; January 1, 1992; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2024; January 1, 2023. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0408 VERIFICATION OF RECORDS 

TO DIVISION 

(a)  Prior to issuing certification of each justice officer, for the 

purpose of verifying compliance with these Rules, the employing 

agency shall submit to the Division, along with the Report of 

Appointment (F-4), the following documents: 

(1) documentation consisting of diplomas, school 

transcripts, or certificates from the educational 

institution attended by the applicant confirming 

the applicant's compliance with the educational 

requirement pursuant to Rule .0302(a) of this 

Subchapter; 

(2) certified copy of the applicant's Oath of Office, 

if applying for certification as a deputy sheriff; 

(3) the applicant's Medical History Statement 

(F-1); 

(4) the applicant's Medical Examination Report 

(F-2 and F-2A); 

(5) the applicant's unredacted Psychological 

Screening Examination as required by G.S. 

17E-7; 

(6) the applicant's notarized Personal History 

Statement (F-3); 
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(7) the Commission-mandated Background 

Investigation Form (F-8) with all 

accompanying documentation set out in Rule 

.0305 of this Subchapter; 

(8) documentation of negative results on a drug 

screen pursuant to Rule .0301(6) of this 

Subchapter; and 

(9) documentation of the applicant's compliance 

with the probationary certification 

requirements pursuant to Rule .0403(b) of this 

Section, if the applicant is a deputy sheriff or a 

detention officer and is authorized by the 

agency to carry a firearm. 

(b)  Compliance with this Rule is waived, with the exception of 

the requirements of Subparagraph (a)(9) of this Rule for officers 

applying for dual certification as defined in Rule .0103(9) of this 

Subchapter provided that: 

(1) the officer holds a valid certification issued by 

this Commission as either a deputy sheriff, 

detention officer, or telecommunicator, with the 

employing agency requesting dual certification; 

and 

(2) the officer has continuously been employed as 

a justice officer with the agency. 

(c)  Where the Division has previously received a complete 

Background Investigation Form (F-8) with all accompanying 

documentation set out in Rule .0305 of this Subchapter in 

connection with another application for certification to this 

Commission, the Background Investigation need only be updated 

from the date of the last background investigation on file in the 

Division with documentation of compliance with Subparagraphs 

(f)(1), (2), and (3) of this Rule, and a certified criminal record 

check from each jurisdiction in which the person has resided in 

and for each name the applicant has used since the initial 

Background Investigation (Form F-8) was completed. The 

criminal record check shall be from the Clerk of Court, a law 

enforcement agency within the jurisdiction, or other 

governmental entity that maintains or has access to criminal 

records for the jurisdiction. The criminal record check shall be 

certified by the entity providing the record with either a raised seal 

or other visible verification that the document is an authentic 

copy. In addition: 

(1) if the applicant has been issued an out-of-state 

driver's license by a state other than North 

Carolina since obtaining certification, then 

compliance with Subparagraph (f)(4) of this 

Rule, is required; and 

(2) if the applicant has resided in a state other than 

North Carolina since obtaining certification, a 

certified criminal record check from each 

jurisdiction shall be provided, if available. The 

criminal record check shall be from the Clerk of 

Court, a law enforcement agency within the 

jurisdiction, or other governmental entity that 

maintains or has access to criminal records for 

the jurisdiction. The criminal record check shall 

be certified by the entity providing the record 

with either a raised seal or other visible 

verification that the document is an authentic 

copy. 

(d)  If the Personal History Statement (F-3) required in 

Subparagraph (a)(6) of this Rule was completed more than 120 

days prior to the applicant's date of appointment, the Personal 

History Statement (F-3) shall be updated by the applicant, who 

shall initial and date all changes, or a new Personal History 

Statement (F-3) shall be completed. 

(e)  If the Mandated Background Investigation Form (F-8) 

required in Subparagraph (a)(7) of this Rule was completed more 

than 120 days prior to the applicant's date of appointment, the 

Mandated Background Investigation Form (F-8) shall be updated 

by the background investigator who shall initial and date all 

changes or a new Mandated Background Investigation Form (F-

8), must be completed. 

(f)  The Background Investigation Form (F-8) shall have the 

following records checks attached to it when submitted: 

(1) a Statewide search of the Administrative Office 

of the Courts (AOC) computerized system; 

(2) the national criminal record database accessible 

through the Division of Criminal Information 

(DCI) network; 

(3) the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles, 

if the applicant has ever possessed a driver's 

license issued in North Carolina;  

(4) an out-of-state motor vehicles check obtained 

through the Division of Criminal Information or 

obtained through another state's division of 

motor vehicles agency for any state in which the 

applicant held a license within the 10 year 

period prior to the date of appointment; and 

(5) the applicant's Administrative Office of the 

Courts' AOC-CR-280 form as set forth in Rule 

.0305 of this Subchapter. 

(g)  The Background Investigation shall include records checks 

from jurisdictions where the applicant resided within the 10 year 

period prior to the date of appointment and where the applicant 

attended high school, as follows: 

(1) where the applicant resided in jurisdictions in 

North Carolina, Clerk of Court records checks 

shall be acceptable; 

(2) where the applicant resided in another country: 

(A) an Interpol records check shall be 

acceptable provided the country is a 

member of Interpol; 

(B) if the applicant was in the United 

States military, a military records 

check shall be acceptable; or 

(C) if neither an Interpol or United States 

military record check are available, 

subject to the limits of United States 

and North Carolina law, the 

employing agency shall make a good 

faith effort to obtain a records check 

from the national law enforcement 

authority, judicial authority, or other 

governmental entity charged with 

maintaining criminal records for the 

country where the applicant resided 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

38:17 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 1, 2024 

1105 

and submit the record check if 

available. If the employing agency 

cannot obtain the records check it shall 

submit documentation consisting of 

the correspondence with the foreign 

governmental entity and a written 

report from the assigned background 

investigator explaining the employing 

agency's efforts to obtain the record 

and why the record could not be 

obtained. The following steps are 

required to show a good faith effort to 

obtain the record check: 

(i) contacting and requesting the 

record from the foreign 

governmental entity or 

entities the employing 

agency believes are likely to 

possess the records by mail, 

telegram, telephone, 

facsimile or electronic mail; 

(ii) if referred to another foreign 

governmental entity, 

contacting and requesting the 

record from that foreign 

governmental entity; and 

(iii) if requested, providing and 

submitting any formal 

requests, forms, or 

documentation required by 

the foreign governmental 

entity before it will provide 

the record check; 

(3) where the applicant resided in a state other than 

North Carolina, a records check through the 

Division of Criminal Information using the 

Out-of-State Computer Name Query (IQ) shall 

be acceptable provided the state will respond to 

an Out-of-State Computer Name Query. If not, 

then either a records check response from both 

the municipality, city, or town where the 

applicant resided and the county-wide Sheriff's 

Office or Police Department obtained by mail, 

telegram, facsimile, or electronic mail, or a 

records check from the county-wide or state-

wide record holding agency shall be acceptable. 

(h)  If the applicant had prior military service, the Background 

Investigation shall also include a copy of the applicant's DD214, 

Certificate of Release from Active Duty, that shows the 

characterization of discharge for each discharge that occurred and 

military discipline received, if any. If the DD214 indicates a 

discharge characterization of any type other than Honorable, then 

a military records check shall also be required. 

(i)  All records checks shall be performed on each name by which 

the applicant for certification has ever been known since the age 

of 12. If the applicant has had an official name change that 

occurred after the applicant had reached the age of 12 years of 

age, then a copy of the legal document effecting the name change 

with either a raised seal or other visible verification that the 

document is an authentic copy from the governmental entity that 

issued the document or is charged with maintaining the record of 

the document shall be submitted by the employing agency. 

(j)  The employing agency shall forward to the Division certified 

copies of any criminal charges and dispositions known to the 

agency or listed on the applicant's Personal History Statement (F-

3). The employing agency shall identify any charges or other 

violations on the records checks required in Paragraph (f) of this 

Rule that are for individuals other than the applicant for 

certification and explain why the employing agency believes 

another individual is responsible for the charge or violation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Recodified from 12 NCAC 10B .0407 Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1996; January 1, 1994; January 1, 1993; 

January 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; August 1, 1998; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2024; December 1, 2023; April 1, 

2023; February 1, 2023; January 1, 2023. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

14B NCAC 03 .0501 PURPOSE 

(a)  The purpose of this section is to prescribe requirements 

pertaining to the North Carolina Department of Public Safety's 

Division of Emergency Management administered North 

Carolina Hazardous Materials Regional Response Team Program. 

(b)  This section applies to all persons or entities of the North 

Carolina Hazardous Materials Regional Response Team Program 

made parties pursuant to G.S. 166A-22. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 166A-22; 

Eff. March 1, 2024. 

 

14B NCAC 03 .0502 ABBREVIATIONS AND 

DEFINITIONS 

As used in this section, the following abbreviations and terms 

mean: 

(1) "Activation" means the status of a program 

resource placed at the direction, control, and 

funding of NCEM as part of the NC RRT 

Program. 

(2) "All-hazards Disaster Response Model" means 

a response methodology where program 

resources provide all capability to respond to 

any threat or hazard that is impacting the state 

or is forecasted to impact the State as 

determined by the NCEM Director. 

(3) "Authority Having Jurisdiction" (AHJ) means 

those local, State, tribal or federal entities 

having a duty to act over a specific aspect of 

hazardous materials in a specific geographic 

area. 
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(4) "County to County Mutual Aid" means public 

safety resource sharing under the conditions of 

the NC Statewide Mutual Aid Agreement or 

another similar agreement between political 

subdivisions. 

(5) "Federal Emergency Management Agency" 

(FEMA) is an agency of the United States 

Department of Homeland Security with the 

responsibility to coordinate the federal response 

to a Presidentially-declared disaster that has 

occurred in the United States and that 

overwhelms the resources of local and State 

authorities. 

(6) "FEMA Public Assistance Program" means a 

federal reimbursement grant program that 

provides federal funding to help communities 

respond to and recover from disasters. 

(7) "Functionally equivalent" means an item or 

group of items that can be used in the same 

basic manner as another item or items to 

perform a task to the same standard. 

(8) "Incident Commander" (IC) means the 

individual responsible for all incident activities, 

including the development of strategies and 

tactics and the ordering and release of 

resources. The IC has overall authority and 

responsibility for conducting incident 

operations and is responsible for the 

management of all incident operations at the 

incident site. 

(9) "Local Emergency Management Coordinator" 

(LEMC) means the County Emergency 

Management Coordinator as defined in G.S. 

166A-19.15 who is responsible for all local 

disaster preparedness, response, and recovery 

activities in a specific geographic area. county. 

(10) "North Carolina Hazardous Materials Regional 

Response Team Technical Advisory 

Committee" (NC RRT TAC) means an 

advisory committee established in Article 2 of 

Chapter 166A of the North Carolina General 

Statutes to advise the Secretary of the North 

Carolina Department of Public Safety and the 

North Carolina Division of Emergency 

Management on the management of hazardous 

materials emergencies. 

(11) "North Carolina Division of Emergency 

Management" (NCEM) means a division of the 

North Carolina Department of Public Safety 

established in G.S. 143B-1000 with the 

responsibility to coordinate the mitigation, 

planning, preparedness, response, and recovery 

to a disaster or emergency that has or is 

forecasted to occur in the State as determined 

by the NCEM Director. 

(12) "North Carolina Emergency Management 

Operations Chief" (NCEM OSC) means the 

Assistant Director of Operations for the North 

Carolina Division of Emergency Management. 

(13) "North Carolina Emergency Management 

Director" (NCEM Director) means the Director 

of the North Carolina Division of Emergency 

Management. 

(14) "National Incident Management System" 

(NIMS) means a federal policy that provides a 

systematic, proactive approach guiding 

government agencies at all levels, 

nongovernmental organizations, and the private 

sector to work to prevent, protect against, 

respond to, recover from, and mitigate the 

effects of incidents, regardless of cause, size, 

location, or complexity, to reduce the loss of 

life or property and harm to the environment. 

(15) "On-duty" means when a person is functioning, 

paid or unpaid, as an agent of their Sponsoring 

Agency or of the NC Division of Emergency 

Management as part of the NC RRT Program. 

(16) "Program agreements" means contracts, 

memoranda of agreements, or memoranda of 

understanding between NCEM and regional 

response teams for the purposes of establishing 

and maintaining the NC RRT Program. 

(17) "Program costs" means training, equipment, 

personnel, or administrative expenses incurred 

by a Sponsoring Agency during activities of the 

NC RRT Program. 

(18) "Program personnel" means human resources 

from a regional response team with an active 

program agreement with the Division of 

Emergency Management for hazardous 

materials response or human resources 

employed on a full-time or part-time basis by 

the Division of Emergency Management with a 

responsibility for hazardous materials response. 

(19) "Program resource" means personnel or 

equipment from a regional response team that 

is participating in the NC RRT Program with an 

active program agreement with the North 

Carolina Division of Emergency Management 

for hazardous materials response. 

(20) "Qualifying event" means an incident that 

system personnel have been charged, arrested, 

pleads no contest, pleads guilty, or is convicted 

of a crime that would require notification to the 

Sponsoring Agency. 

(21) "Qualified personnel" means an individual that 

meets the training and medical monitoring 

requirements established by 29 CFR 

1910.120(a)(3) which are adopted and are 

incorporated by reference with subsequent 

changes or amendments pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.6 and can be found at no cost at: 

https://www.osha.gov/laws-

regs/regulations/standardnumber/1910/1910.1

20; National Fire Protection Association 

Standard 470 as it relates to Hazardous 

Materials Technicians which are adopted and 

are incorporated by reference with subsequent 
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changes or amendments pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.6 and can be found for ninety dollars 

($90.00) at: https://www.nfpa.org/codes-and-

standards/all-codes-and-standards/list-of-

codes-and-standards/detail?code=470; and 29 

CFR 1910.134 which are adopted and are 

incorporated by reference with subsequent 

changes or amendments pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.6 and can be found at no cost at: 

https://www.osha.gov/laws-

regs/regulations/standardnumber/1910/1910.1

34. 

(22) "Resource typing" means a document defining 

and categorizing, by capability, the program 

resources requested, deployed, and used in 

incidents. 

(23) "Responsible Party" means the entity whose 

actions or inactions caused a hazardous 

materials incident as determined by the 

authority having jurisdiction requiring program 

resources to respond and incur costs. 

(24) "Sensitive information" means any 

information, to include but not limited to audio 

recordings, images, and video recordings, 

obtained during an activation that has not been 

released to the public by the AHJ. 

(25) "Sponsoring Agency" means a local or tribal 

unit of government or a corporation with an 

active response agreement with a local unit of 

government, that organizes and coordinates a 

regional response team in the NC RRT 

Program. 

(26) "State Emergency Operations Plan" (SEOP) 

means a document maintained under the 

authority of G.S. 166A-19.12(2) that details 

how the State of North Carolina will respond to 

a disaster or emergency requiring State 

assistance utilizing an established 

comprehensive, all-hazards approach All-

Hazards Disaster Response Model. 

(27) "State Mission Assignment" (State Mission) 

means a NCEM approved request for assistance 

to deploy program resources at the request of a 

local unit of government. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 166A-22; 166A-23; 166A-25; 

166A-26; 166A-27; 

Eff. March 1, 2024. 

 

14B NCAC 03 .0503 DISPATCH OF A REGIONAL 

RESPONSE TEAM 

(a)  Program resources shall employ the All-Hazards Response 

Model. 

(b)  NCEM shall maintain direction and control of any deployed 

program resources that have been deployed through action of 

NCEM until a time that they have been demobilized or the 

program resource is needed by the Sponsoring Agency. 

(c)  Any resource of the NC RRT Program remains a local 

resource and may deploy within their county under their local 

authorities or agreements, notwithstanding any action by the 

State. 

Participation in the NC RRT Program shall not limit or supersede 

their local authorities, responsibilities, or agreements when the 

program resource is deploying under those authorities or 

agreements. 

(d)  Program resources shall be deployed by the State using a State 

Mission Assignment. 

(e)  The IC, LEMC, an NCEM official, Secretary of Public Safety, 

and the Governor shall have the authority to request program 

resources. The IC may be from local law enforcement agencies, 

fire departments, rescue squads, and any other local, state, or 

federal authority having jurisdiction. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 166A-22; 166A-23; 

Eff. March 1, 2024. 

 

14B NCAC 03 .0504 ON-SITE OPERATIONS OF A 

PROGRAM RESOURCE 

All NC RRT Program resources shall operate in accordance with 

the following standards of response: 

(1) FEMA NIMS standards which are adopted and 

are incorporated by reference with subsequent 

changes or amendments pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.6 and can be found at no cost at: 

https://www.fema.gov/sites/default/files/2020-

07/fema_nims_doctrine-2017.pdf; 

(2) following all direction from NCEM personnel 

acting pursuant to G.S. 166A-19.12(1) when 

deploying as a program resource; 

(3) when responding in support of law enforcement 

operations, program resources shall coordinate 

activities with the law enforcement authorities 

to ensure their actions support any potential 

criminal investigation; and 

(4) program resources shall not release any 

sensitive information to the public or media 

during operations without the consent of the 

local, State, or federal authority having 

jurisdiction consistent with Chapter 132 of the 

North Carolina General Statutes. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 166A-22; 

Eff. March 1, 2024. 

 

14B NCAC 03 .0505 STANDARDS FOR 

ADMINISTRATION OF A REGIONAL RESPONSE 

TEAM, INCLUDING PROCEDURES FOR 

REIMBURSEMENT OF RESPONSE COSTS 

(a)  Program resources shall maintain the following personnel 

records and have them available for audit by NCEM personnel: 

(1) Responder medical history; and 

(2) Emergency contact information. 

(b)  Program personnel shall be in an on-duty status as an 

emergency management worker as defined in G.S. 166A-

19.60(e). 

(c)  Program resources shall maintain a current team roster. 
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(d)  Program resources shall maintain all program personnel 

training, certification, and credentials as outlined in Rule .0509 in 

this Section. 

(e)  Program resources shall maintain all inventory and 

maintenance records for deployable equipment. 

(f)  Program resource records must be available for review by 

NCEM officials. 

(g)  Within 45 days of demobilization from a state mission, system 

resources shall submit documentation receipts, expense reports, 

and supporting documentation of actual costs to NCEM for 

reimbursement consistent with the FEMA Public Assistance 

Program and Policy Guide which is adopted and incorporated by 

reference with subsequent changes or amendments pursuant to 

G.S. 150B-21.6 and is available at no cost at: 

https://www.fema.gov/sites/default/files/documents/fema_pappg

-v4-updated-links_policy_6-1-2020.pdf . 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 166A-19.60; 166A-22; 166A-23; 

42 U.S.C. 5121 et seq; 44 CFR Part 206; 

Eff. March 1, 2024. 

 

14B NCAC 03 .0506 RECOVERING THE COSTS OF 

A REGIONAL RESPONSE TEAM 

NCEM shall seek reimbursement from the responsible party for 

system response costs. 

(1) The authority having jurisdiction shall 

determine who the responsible party is for all 

State Missions. Determination as the 

responsible party shall not be a determination 

of contributory negligence or other potential 

liabilities of any third parties for some aspect of 

the incident. 

(2) NCEM shall bill responsible parties' response 

costs to include personnel and equipment costs 

payable to NCEM for reimbursement consistent 

with FEMA Public Assistance Program and 

Policy Guide which is adopted and incorporated 

by reference with subsequent changes or 

amendments pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.6 and is 

available at no cost at: 

https://www.fema.gov/sites/default/files/docu

ments/fema_pappg-v4-updated-

links_policy_6-1-2020.pdf. 

(3) Responsible parties shall remit payment to 

NCEM within 30 days of receipt of the invoice 

via certified mail. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 166A-22; 166A-27; 

Eff. March 1, 2024. 

 

14B NCAC 03 .0507 PROCEDURES FOR BIDDING 

AND CONTRACTING FOR REGIONAL RESPONSE 

TEAM 

(a)  Eligibility for participation as a Sponsoring Agency as a 

regional response team: 

(1) be a local unit of government, tribal 

government, with an active response agreement 

with a local or tribal unit of government; 

(2) maintain participation in the statewide mutual 

aid agreement; and 

(3) ensure all personnel possess the qualifications 

as outlined in Rule .0509 of this Section. 

(b)  Regional response teams – Within 18 months of a new 

contract period, NCEM shall distribute a bid announcement to all 

program resources and local emergency management 

coordinators for interested parties to return a letter of interest. 

NCEM shall distribute a bid package to all interested parties that 

shall be returned to NCEM. 

(1) Regional response teams shall be limited to 

seven regionally based teams. Each team will 

be assigned a primary response region in the 

state. 

(2) The bidding agency agencies shall be in that 

specified response region. 

(3) The NCEM Director or designee shall establish 

a review committee. This committee will open 

all completed sealed bid packages and evaluate 

them based on the criteria outlined in Rule 

.0508 of this Section at a date to be set by the 

NCEM Director or designee. 

(4) The committee shall develop a bid package 

review summary that includes their 

recommendations for selections that will be 

sent to the NCEM Operations Chief for 

concurrence before being reviewed and 

approved by the NCEM Director. 

(5) Agencies that are successful in the bid process 

will be notified and program agreements shall 

be drafted and executed. 

(6) NCEM shall draft, execute, and maintain a 

program agreement with the Sponsoring 

Agency for the program resource to maintain 

participation in the program. 

(A) NCEM shall execute and maintain a 

program agreement with the 

Sponsoring Agency that outlines the 

scope of work that the team shall 

follow to enable reimbursement of 

eligible training, equipment, 

administrative, and personnel costs 

associated with maintaining and 

deploying a regional response team. 

The program agreement shall be 

limited to the four-year contract period 

with an optional one-year extension. 

(B) Funds reimbursed through this 

agreement shall go directly to cover 

program costs and be utilized by the 

Sponsoring Agency for the purposes 

of this program. 

(C) The Sponsoring Agency shall 

maintain all records of any program 

spending and shall not comingle funds 

or use program funding for any other 

purpose other than for the purposes of 

this program. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 166A-22; 166A-23; 

Eff. March 1, 2024. 

 

14B NCAC 03 .0508 CRITERIA FOR EVALUATING 

BIDS FOR CONTRACT RESPONSE TEAM 

(a)  Bidding agency shall: 

(1) submit an offer via courier, United States Mail, 

or hand delivered to the NCEM State 

Emergency Operations Center by an authorized 

representative of a local unit of government, 

tribal government, or corporation that 

maintains an active response agreement with a 

local or tribal unit of government; 

(2) provide a plan for the bidding entity to deploy 

the required personnel; 

(3) provide a plan for the bidding entity to maintain 

the required number of personnel trained per 

Rule .0509 of this Section; and 

(4) ensure all participating members possess the 

qualifications outlined in Rule 0509 of this 

Section. 

(b)  Bids shall be evaluated on: 

(1) geographic location of team base; 

(2) ability to maintain the required number of 

trained personnel to ensure response readiness; 

(3) ability to maintain and care for any program-

provided equipment; 

(4) availability of local equipment to support 

response activities; 

(5) availability to maintain dedicated 

administrative staff to ensure management of 

administrative duties, training, and logistical 

requirements; 

(6) experience responding to hazardous materials 

incidents as a technician-level entry capability; 

(7) consistent with federal procurement rules as 

outlined in 2 CFR Part 200 which is adopted 

and incorporated by reference with subsequent 

changes or amendments pursuant to 150B-21.6 

and can be found at no cost at: 

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-2/subtitle-

A/chapter-II/part-200; and 

(8) consistent with State procurement rules as 

outlined in 01 NCAC 05 which is adopted and 

incorporated by reference with subsequent 

changes or amendments pursuant to G.S. 150B-

21.6 and can be found at no cost at: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp?folderN

ame=\Title%2001%20-

%20Administration\Chapter%2005%20-

%20Purchase%20and%20Contract. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 166A-22; 166A-23; 

Eff. March 1, 2024. 

 

 

 

 

14B NCAC 03 .0509 PERSONNEL, TRAINING, AND 

EQUIPMENT STANDARDS FOR REGIONAL 

RESPONSE TEAM REQUIREMENTS FOR ALL 

PROGRAM PERSONNEL: 

(a)  Requirements for all system personnel 

(1) Qualified personnel shall be no less than 18 

years of age; 

(2) Qualified personnel shall be an employee of a 

Sponsoring Agency or an employee of the 

North Carolina Division of Emergency 

Management. By participating in this program, 

program personnel remain employees of their 

Sponsoring Agency and at no time become 

State employees entitled to State benefits unless 

they are an employee of NCEM; 

(3) Qualified personnel shall maintain no less than 

48 hours of hazardous material training 

annually consistent with 29 CFR 1910.120(e); 

(4) Qualified personnel shall possess the 

qualifications of character and general fitness 

requisite for a public servant and be of good 

moral character and entitled to the high regard 

and confidence of the public, as evidenced by 

not having been convicted by a local, state, 

federal, or military court of: 

(A) a felony; 

(B) a crime or unlawful act defined as a 

Class 1A, Class1, or Class 2 

misdemeanor within the five-years 

prior or four or more crimes or 

unlawful acts as defined as a Class 1A, 

Class 1, or Class 2 misdemeanor 

regardless of the date of conviction; 

(C) not having been convicted of an 

offense that would prohibit the 

possession of a firearm or 

ammunition, under 18 U.S.C. 922, 

which is hereby incorporated by 

reference with subsequent 

amendments and editions under G.S. 

150B-21.6 can be found at no cost 

https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg

/USCODE-2018-

title18/pdf/USCODE-2018-title18-

partI-chap44.pdf; 

(D) being truthful in providing 

information to the appointing agency; 

(E) not having pending or outstanding 

charges that, if convicted, would 

exclude eligibility under this Rule. 

(5) make the following notifications: 

(A) within seven days of the qualifying 

event, notify the Sponsoring Agency 

in writing of all criminal or traffic 

offenses for which the individual is 

charged or arrested; 

(B) within seven days of the qualifying 

event, notify the Sponsoring Agency 

in writing of all criminal offenses for 
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which the individual pleads no contest, 

pleads guilty, or convicted; 

(C) within seven days of criminal 

summons pursuant to the provisions of 

Article 17 of Chapter 15A of the G.S., 

shall notify the Sponsoring Agency 

that he or she has been served by a 

judicial official; 

(D) within seven days of the date the case 

was disposed of in court, the 

Sponsoring Agency, provided they 

have knowledge of program 

personnel's arrests or criminal charges 

and final dispositions, shall also notify 

the NCEM of arrests or criminal 

charges and final disposition of the 

criminal charges against program 

personnel; and 

(E) within seven days of the issuance of all 

Domestic Violence Protective Orders 

pursuant to G.S. 50B and Civil No 

Contact Orders pursuant to G.S. 50C, 

the Sponsoring Agency, provided they 

have the knowledge of the order, shall 

also notify NCEM of these orders. 

(b)  Requirements for all system equipment: 

(1) equipment shall be made available for 

inspections and inventory by NCEM personnel; 

(2) program resources shall maintain any state-

owned equipment per manufacturer's 

recommendations and immediately notify 

NCEM of any damage to state owned and 

issued equipment; and 

(3) upon separation, all parties to a program 

agreement shall return all state property within 

30 days to NCEM. 

(c)  Regional Response Team Personnel and Training 

Requirements: 

(1) Regional Response Teams shall maintain at all 

times a minimum of 28 qualified personnel; 

(2) Regional Response Teams shall maintain any 

additional support personnel as required for a 

technician-level entry team. These personnel 

must additionally meet the requirements of 29 

CFR 1910.120, which is adopted and 

incorporated by reference with subsequent 

changes or amendments under G.S. 150B-21.6 

as outlined in the latest published standard by 

the EPA and can be found at: 

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-29/subtitle-

B/chapter-XVII/part-1910/subpart-H/section-

1910.120 at no cost, to operate on a hazardous 

materials incident scene but are not required to 

be qualified to make entry into a hazardous or 

potentially hazardous environments; 

(3) NCEM shall be responsible to provide any 

additional technical specialists required to 

support Regional Response Team operations; 

(4) Regional Response Teams shall respond with 

qualified personnel who are capable of 

providing a regional response to hazardous 

materials incidents requiring technician-level 

entry capability as that term is and as defined in 

G.S. 166A-21; and 

(5) Regional Response Teams shall limit its 

hazardous materials response team activity to 

that within the safety and training levels 

specified by 29 CFR 1910.120. 

(d)  Regional Response Team Equipment Requirements: 

(1) Regional response teams shall maintain a 

functionally equivalent cache of equipment 

required in the FEMA Resource Typing 

Document for a Type II Hazardous Materials 

Response Team, which is adopted and 

incorporated by reference with subsequent 

changes or amendments under G.S. 150B-21.6 

as outlined in the latest published standard by 

FEMA and can be found at: 

https://rtlt.preptoolkit.fema.gov/Public/Resour

ce/View/4-508-

1248?q=hazardous%20materials at no cost. 

(2) Equipment shall be maintained in a state of 

readiness and with a means to transport all 

required equipment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 166A-21; 166A- 22; 166A-23; 

Eff. March 1, 2024. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

14B NCAC 17 .0202 EXPERIENCE OR TRAINING 

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE 

Applicants for an alarm system license shall meet the following 

requirements, which are in addition to those specified in G.S. 

74D: 

(1) establish two year's experience within the past 

five years in alarm systems installation or 

service, or alarm systems business 

management; or 

(2) no longer than one year prior to the application 

date, successfully complete the Certified Alarm 

Technician Level I Course offered by the 

Electronic Security Association (ESA) or 

equivalent. Equivalency shall be determined by 

the Board's Training and Education Committee 

by comparing each segment of the training to 

ensure that the alternative course encompasses 

all segments of the ESA course. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74D-5; 

Temporary Rule Eff. January 9, 1984, for a period of 120 days to 

expire on May 7, 1984; 

Eff. May 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2007; August 1, 1998; January 1, 1995; 

March 1, 1993; August 3, 1992; June 1, 1990; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 11 .0202 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 
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Amended Eff. December. 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2024; April 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 17 .0208 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR ALARM LICENSEES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74D-5(a)(2); 

Eff. March 1, 1993; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 11 .0208 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Repealed Eff. February 1, 2024. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0305 BRUNSWICK COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the waters described 

as follows: 

(1) Lockwood Folly River in the Town of 

Varnamtown, from a point at 33.94966 N, 

78.22587 W, 500 yards northwest of the boat 

ramp located at the end of S.R. 1123 otherwise 

known as Fisherman Road, to a point at 

33.94498 N, 78.22206 W, 180 yards southeast 

of the boat ramp, and including the portion of 

the river otherwise known as Mill Creek where 

it meets Lockwood Folly River directly across 

from the boat ramp, to a point 100 feet northeast 

at 33.94687 N, 78.22235 W; 

(2) Calabash River in the Town of Calabash, from 

a point in the water at the end of Marina Drive 

at 33.88638 N, 78.56254 W to a point 650 yards 

southwest at the southern end of the deep-sea 

fishing docks at 33.88344 N, 78.56751 W; 

(3) Morningstar Marinas Southport, shore to shore 

beginning at its intersection with the 

Intracoastal Waterway at a point at 33.91685 N, 

78.02865 W; 

(4) Shallotte River east of S.R. 1233, otherwise 

known as Village Point Road SW south of the 

Town of Shallotte, shore to shore from its 

intersection with the Intracoastal Waterway at a 

point at 33.91477 N, 78.37103 W to point 500 

feet north at 33.91613 N, 78.37126 W; 

(5) Montgomery Slough, otherwise known as 

Davis Creek, within 100 yards of the hotel and 

marina at the northern end of 57th Place West in 

the Town of Oak Island; 

(6) the waters in the natural and concrete canals 

located on the south side of the Intracoastal 

Waterway, east of N.C. Highway 904 in the 

Town of Ocean Isle Beach; 

(7) Town Creek east of S.R. 1609, otherwise 

known as Clearview Lane in Town Creek 

Township, shore to shore from a point at 

34.16788 N, 78.07139 W, north and east around 

a bend in the creek to a point at 34.16910 N, 

78.07030 W; 

(8) Montgomery Slough, otherwise known as 

Davis Creek, shore to shore from its entrance at 

the Intracoastal Waterway west of SW Yacht 

Drive at a point at 33.92145 N, 78.19408 W, to 

the canal end at NE 40th Street in the Town of 

Oak Island; 

(9) Intracoastal Waterway in the Town of Sunset 

Beach in the vicinity of the S.R. 1172 Sunset 

Beach Bridge and Sunset Beach Boating 

Access Area at 101 Sunset Boulevard, shore to 

shore from a point 150 yards east of the Sunset 

Beach Bridge at 33.88173 N, 78.50995 W, to a 

point 50 yards west of the bridge at 33.88111 

N, 78.51194 W; 

(10) Intracoastal Waterway in the Town of Ocean 

Isle Beach in the vicinity of the N.C. Highway 

904 Odell Williamson Bridge and Ocean Isle 

Beach Boating Access Area at 67 Causeway 

Drive, shore to shore from a point 100 yards 

east of the N.C. Highway 904 Odell Williamson 

Bridge at 33.89578 N, 78.43870 W, to a point 

100 yards west of the Bridge at 33.89567 N, 

78.51194 W; 

(11) Lockwood Folly River at Rourk's Landing 

Subdivision, beginning at a point south of the 

subdivision at 33.95338 N, 78.22553 W, north 

and west around two sharp bends in the channel 

and ending north at a point at 33.95539 N, 

78.22900 W; 

(12) Intracoastal Waterway in the Town of Holden 

Beach, N.C. Highway 130 Holden Beach 

Bridge and Holden Beach Boating Access Area 

at 99 S. Shore Drive, shore to shore between a 

point 250 feet west and a point 100 feet east of 

the Holden Beach Bridge; 

(13) Intracoastal Waterway, within 50 yards of the 

Oak Island Boating Access Area at 4950 Fish 

Factory Road SE in Southport; 

(14) within 50 yards of the Sunset Harbor Boating 

Access Area adjacent to the Intracoastal 

Waterway at 356 Riverview Drive SE in 

Bolivia; 

(15) within 20 yards of the shoreline and 50 yards 

east and 50 yards west of the Brick Landing 

Boating Access Area on the Intracoastal 

Waterway at 1921 Brick Landing Road SW in 

Shallotte; 

(16) within 50 yards of Rices Creek Boating Access 

Area on Rice Creek at 797 Gordon Lewis Drive 

SE in Winnabow;  

(17) within 50 yards of the Pireway Boating Access 

Area on Waccamaw River at 9739 Pireway 

Road NW in Ash; and 

(18) within 50 yards of the Dutchman Creek Boat 

Ramp on Dutchman Creek in Southport. 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

38:17 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 1, 2024 

1112 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within the regulated areas described in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The following 

agencies shall place or place and maintain markers implementing 

this Rule, subject to the approval of the United States Coast Guard 

and the United States Army Corps of Engineers: 

(1) the Board of Aldermen of Varnamtown for 

placement in the area indicated in Subparagraph 

(a)(1) of this Rule; 

(2) the Board of Commissioners of Brunswick 

County for placement in areas indicated in 

Subparagraphs (a)(2) through (8) and (a)(11) of 

this Rule; and 

(3) the North Carolina Wildlife Resources 

Commission for the placement and 

maintenance of areas indicated in 

Subparagraphs (a)(9), (a)(10), and (a)(12) 

through (18) of this Rule. 

(d)  Notwithstanding Paragraphs (a) through (c) of this Rule, no 

person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed in the 

waters of South Jinks Creek in the Town of Sunset Beach, 

beginning at a line north of the feeder channel, from a point on the 

west shore at 33.87617 N, 78.49297 W to a point on the east shore 

at 33.87664 N, 78.49164 W, then southeast to a point on the south 

shore at 33.87325 N, 78.49033 W, and waters south and west of 

those lines including the feeder channel, four finger canals, and 

the bay area. The North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission 

is the designated agency for placement and maintenance of 

markers for this regulated area. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15. 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; July 1, 1994; July 1, 1993; January 

1, 1989; January 1, 1987; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2009; April 1, 1999; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2021; July 1, 2018; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2022; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 2023; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0316 FORSYTH, ROCKINGHAM, 

AND STOKES COUNTIES 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

in Forsyth, Rockingham, and Stokes counties: 

(1) Belews Lake within 50 yards of a public boat 

launching ramp on the lake, and within 50 yards 

of a bridge crossing on the lake; 

(2) Belews Lake at Humphrey's Ridge Marina and 

Grill at 473-499 Humphrey Ridge Drive in 

Stokesdale, east of a line from a point on the 

north shore at 36.27962 N, 80.03507 W to a 

point on the south shore at 36.27804 N, 

80.03565 W; and 

(3) Belews Lake at Carolina Marina at 548 Shelton 

Road in Stokesdale, beginning at a line from a 

point on the shore south of the fuel dock at 

36.30303 N, 80.01403 W, to a point 50 yards 

west from the shore into the channel, then to the 

northwest 50 yards west of the shore of the 

marina at 36.30394 N, 80.01522 W, then to a 

point on the north shore of the cove at 36.30521 

N, 80.01416 W, to include the waters east of the 

line at the mouth of the cove, where the boat 

ramp, Dry Stack, and outdoor boat storage 

facilities are located. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within the regulated areas identified in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The Boards of 

Commissioners of Forsyth County, Rockingham County and 

Stokes County shall place and maintain markers implementing 

this Rule.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1976; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2024; June 1, 2023; October 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0338 CALDWELL COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

in Caldwell County: 

(1) Catawba River; 

(2) Lake Rhodhiss: 

(A) within 50 yards of the marina facilities 

at Castle Bridge Marina, 6131 Castle 

Bridge Drive in Granite Falls; 

(B) within 50 yards of the Castle Bridge 

Boating Access Area, 6131 Connelly 

Springs Road in Granite Falls; and 

(C) within 50 yards of the Conley Creek 

Boating Access Area, 5475 

Waterworks Road in Granite Falls. 

(3) Little Gunpowder Lake; and 

(4) Lake Hickory: 

(A) within 30 yards of the docks at the 

Lake Hickory Marina and Boat 

Rentals, on Limbaugh Lane in the City 

of Hickory; 

(B) within 50 yards of the Gunpowder 

Boating Access Area, at 5450 

Hurricane Hill Road in Granite Falls; 

and 

(C) within 50 yards of the Lovelady 

Boating Access Area, at 5682 Rocky 

Mount Road in Granite Falls. 

(b)  Speed limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any regulated area described in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Speed Limit in Mooring Areas. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed while within a marked 

mooring area on the regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule. 
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(d)  Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter any marked public 

swimming area on the regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule. 

(e)  Placement of Markers. The following agencies shall place or 

place and maintain the markers implementing this Rule, subject 

to the approval of the United States Coast Guard and United States 

Army Corps of Engineers: 

(1) the Board of Commissioners of Caldwell 

County shall place the markers implementing 

Subparagraphs (a)(1) and (a)(3), and Part 

(a)(2)(A) of this Rule; 

(2) the City of Hickory shall place the markers 

implementing Part (a)(4)(A) of this Rule; and 

(3) the North Carolina Wildlife Resources 

Commission shall place and maintain the 

markers implementing Parts (a)(2)(B), (C), and 

(a)(4)(B), (C) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. August 23, 1981; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2024; July 1, 2018. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0380 TOWN OF RHODHISS 

(a)  Regulated Area. This rule applies to the waters of Lake 

Hickory in the Town of Rhodhiss in Burke and Caldwell counties, 

shore to shore, beginning west of a line 165 yards east of the S.R. 

1611 Bridge from a point on the north shore at 35.77322 N, 

81.42891 W to a point on the south shore at 35.77179 N, 81.42910 

W, westward ending at the Rhodhiss Dam. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within the regulated area described in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The Town of 

Rhodhiss shall place and maintain the markers implementing this 

Rule, subject to the approval of the United States Army Corps of 

Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15; 

Eff. February 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 10K .0101 COURSE REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Commission-approved basic hunter education courses include 

either an instructor-led course with a minimum of six hours of 

instruction or a self-paced, independent study course that instructs 

on the topics identified in G.S. 113-270.1A(b). Information on 

Commission-approved courses and registration can be found at 

ncwildlife.org. 

(b)  The following requirements must be satisfied by the course 

participant to successfully complete a basic hunter education 

course and be entitled a Certificate of Competency: 

(1) complete six hours of instruction in the 

instructor-led course or the material contained 

in the independent study course; and 

(2) score a minimum of 70 percent on the final 

examination. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.1A; 

Eff. October 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2014, April 1, 2003; April 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 10K .0102 ISSUANCE OF CERTIFICATE 

OF COMPETENCY 

(a)  Upon successful completion of a basic hunter education 

course, in accordance with Rule .0101 of this Section, a certificate 

of competency shall be issued by the Commission.  

(b)  Duplicate certificates may be obtained from the Commission 

free of charge upon request. 

(c)  The Commission shall recognize a certificate of competency 

from another state or province so long as the hunter education 

course met or exceeded the standards of the International Hunter 

Education Association, which is hereby incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. The 

standards may be accessed at ihea-usa.org/resources/#Standards 

at no charge. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.1A; 

Eff. September 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; May 1, 1995; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 10K .0103 INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION 

(a)  Hunter Education Instructors shall be certified by the 

Commission prior to delivering basic hunter education courses. 

(b)  To be eligible for Hunter Education Instructor Certification 

an individual shall: 

(1) be at least 21 years of age at the time of 

application; 

(2) possess a certificate of competency from a 

Commission-approved basic hunter education 

course.  

(3) complete and submit to the Commission, the 

North Carolina Hunter Education Instructors 

application, available at ncwildlife.org, with the 

following information: 

(A) name, address, email, phone number; 

and 

(B) date of birth. 

(4) complete the Commission-led Hunter 

Education Instructors course and score 80 

percent or higher on the written examination.  

(5) submit to a background investigation including 

a records check with none of the following 

disqualifying convictions identified:  

(A) a felony; 

(B) a crime or unlawful act defined as a 

"Class 1" misdemeanor within the 

five-year period prior to the date of 

application; or 

(C) any conviction of game and fish law 

which would require a mandatory 

suspension and or revocation of a 

license as indicated in G.S. 113-276.3 

within the three-year period prior to 

the date of application. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.1A; 

Eff. May 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2024. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0301 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply throughout Sections .0300 

through .0800 of this Subchapter: 

(1) "Adulterated" means: 

(a) any shellfish that have been harvested 

from polluted areas as defined in 15A 

NCAC 03I .0101; 

(b) any shellfish that have been shucked, 

packed, or otherwise processed in a 

plant that has not been permitted by 

the Division of Marine Fisheries in 

accordance with these Rules or by 

another state shellfish control 

"authority" as defined in the National 

Shellfish Sanitation Program (NSSP) 

Guide for the Control of Molluscan 

Shellfish, Section I: Purposes and 

Definitions. This definition is 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. 

A copy of the reference material can 

be found at 

https://www.fda.gov/food/federalstate

-food-programs/national-shellfish-

sanitation-program-nssp, at no cost; 

(c) any shellfish that may have been 

contaminated by flood waters in 

accordance with Rule .0405 of this 

Subchapter; 

(d) any shellfish that exceed the standards 

in Rule .0430 of this Subchapter; and 

(e) any shellfish that have been deemed to 

be an imminent hazard. 

(2) "Certification number" means the unique 

identification number assigned by the state 

shellfish control agency to each certified 

shellfish dealer for each location. It consists of 

a one-to-five-digit number preceded by the two-

letter state abbreviation and followed by the 

two-letter abbreviation designating the type of 

operation certified. 

(3) "Clean" means free from dirt, debris, dust, 

marks, stains, waste materials, litter, or foreign 

material. 

(4) "Critical control point" means a point, step, or 

procedure in a food process at which control 

can be applied, and a food safety hazard can as 

a result be prevented, eliminated, or reduced to 

acceptable levels. 

(5) "Critical limit" means the maximum or 

minimum value to which a physical, biological, 

or chemical parameter must be controlled at a 

critical control point to prevent, eliminate, or 

reduce to an acceptable level the occurrence of 

the identified food safety hazard. 

(6) "Depurate" or "depuration" means the process 

of reducing the pathogenic organisms that may 

be present in shellstock by using a controlled 

aquatic environment as the treatment process. 

(7) "Depuration facility" means any establishment 

or place where the depuration of shellfish 

occurs by a shellfish dealer. 

(8) "Division" means the Division of Marine 

Fisheries. 

(9) "Easily cleanable" has the same meaning as 

defined in the 2017 U.S. Food Code. This 

definition is incorporated by reference, not 

including subsequent amendments and editions. 

A copy of the reference material can be found 

at https://www.fda.gov/food/fda-food-

code/food-code-2017, at no cost. 

(10) "Food contact surface" means the parts of 

equipment, including auxiliary equipment, that 

may be in contact with the food being 

processed, or that may drain into the portion of 

equipment with which food is in contact. 

(11) "Food safety hazard" means any biological, 

chemical, or physical property that may cause a 

food to be unsafe for human consumption. 

(12) "Good repair" means maintained to function as 

designed and without defect. 

(13) "HACCP plan" means a written document that 

delineates the procedures a shellfish dealer 

follows to implement food safety controls. 

(14) "Hazard analysis critical control point 

(HACCP)" means a system of inspection, 

control, and monitoring measures initiated by a 

shellfish dealer to identify microbiological, 

chemical, or physical food safety hazards that 

are likely to occur in shellfish products 

produced by the dealer. 

(15) "Heat shock process" means the practice of 

heating shellstock to facilitate removal of the 

shellfish meat from the shell. 

(16) "Imminent hazard" has the same meaning as 

defined in G.S. 130A-2. 

(17) "In-shell product" means non-living, processed 

shellfish with one or both shells present. 

(18) "Misbranded" as defined in G.S. 106-30 shall 

include any shellfish that are not labeled in 

compliance with these Rules. 

(19) "National Shellfish Sanitation Program 

(NSSP)" means the federal/state cooperative 

program recognized by the U.S. Food and Drug 

Administration (FDA) and the Interstate 

Shellfish Sanitation Conference (ISSC) for the 

sanitary control of shellfish produced and sold 

for human consumption. 

(20) "Pests" means animals or insects, including 

dogs, cats, birds, rodents, flies, and larvae. 
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(21) "Plant" means the establishment or place where 

shellfish processing occurs by shellfish dealers. 

(22) "Processing" or "processed" means any activity 

associated with the handling, shucking, 

freezing, packing, labeling, or storing of 

shellfish in preparation for distribution. This 

includes the activities of a shellstock shipper, 

shucker-packer, repacker, reshipper, or 

depuration processor. 

(23) "Recall procedure" means the detailed 

procedure the shellfish dealer will use to 

retrieve product from the market when it is 

determined that the product is adulterated or 

misbranded. 

(24) "Repacking plant" means the establishment or 

place where a shellfish dealer, other than the 

original shucker-packer, repacks shucked 

shellfish into other containers. 

(25) "Reshipper" means a person that purchases 

shellfish from a shellfish dealer and sells the 

product without repacking or relabeling to 

another shellfish dealer, wholesaler, or retailer. 

(26) "Responsible individual" means the individual 

present at a shellfish dealer that is the 

supervisor or the supervisor's designee at the 

time of the inspection.  

(27) "Sanitize" has the same meaning as defined in 

21 CFR 110.3, which is incorporated by 

reference including subsequent amendments 

and editions. A copy of the reference material 

can be found at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/chapter-

I/subchapter-B/part-110/subpart-A/section-

110.3, at no cost. 

(28) "SELL BY date" means a date placed on a 

container or tag by which a consumer is 

informed of the latest date the product will 

remain suitable for sale. 

(29) "Shellfish" means oysters, mussels, scallops, 

and all varieties of clams, whether shucked or 

in the shell, fresh, frozen, whole, or in part. The 

requirements of Sections .0300 through .0800 

of this Subchapter shall not apply to scallops if 

the final product is the shucked adductor 

muscle only. 

(30) "Shellfish dealer" means a plant to which a 

Shellfish Dealer Permit and Certificate of 

Compliance is issued by the Division for the 

activities of shellstock shipping, shucking or 

packing, repacking, reshipping, or depuration. 

(31) "Shellstock" means any live molluscan 

shellfish that remain in their shells. 

(32) "Shellstock conveyance" means all trucks, 

vessels, trailers, or other conveyances used to 

transport shellstock. 

(33) "Shellstock plant" means any establishment or 

place where shellstock are washed, packed, or 

otherwise prepared for sale by a shellfish 

dealer. 

(34) "Shucking and packing plant" means any 

establishment or place where shellfish are 

shucked and packed for sale by a shellfish 

dealer. 

(35) "Use" means employ, set, operate, or permit to 

be operated or employed. 

(36) "Wet storage" means the storage by a shellfish 

dealer of shellstock from a growing area in the 

open status and classified as "approved" or 

"conditionally approved" as defined in Rule 

.0901 of this Subchapter, in containers or floats 

in natural bodies of water, or in tanks 

containing natural or synthetic sea water at any 

permitted land-based activity or facility. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; February 1, 1997; 

January 4, 1994; September 1, 1990; December 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0305 APPEALS PROCEDURE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-230; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0401 APPLICABILITY OF RULES 

The rules in this Section shall apply to the operation of all 

facilities and persons permitted in Rule .0302 of this Subchapter, 

including shellfish dealers, shellstock plants, reshippers, shucking 

and packing plants, repacking plants, depuration facilities, 

permittees with facilities approved for wet storage, and all other 

businesses and persons that buy, sell, transport, or ship shellfish. 

These Rules shall not apply to individuals possessing shellfish for 

personal use. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; December 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0402 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

FOR OPERATION 

(a)  Shellfish dealers shall provide mechanical refrigeration that is 

capable of maintaining an ambient temperature of 45°F or less and 

be sized to handle one day's production. The mechanical 

refrigeration shall include an automatic temperature regulating 

control and be equipped with an accurate, operating thermometer 

in the refrigerated storage area. If the sole means of refrigeration 

is a portable unit, that unit shall be capable of operating utilizing 

alternating current electrical power that will allow the unit to be 

plugged into a power supply during transport and at the certified 

facility. 

(b)  Food contact surfaces shall be easily cleanable, corrosion-

resistant, constructed of non-toxic and food-grade materials, and 
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shall be kept in good repair. Shellfish dealers shall only use food 

contact surface equipment that conforms to standards found in the 

guidance document within the National Shellfish Sanitation 

Program (NSSP) Guide for the Control of Molluscan Shellfish, 

Section II: Model Ordinance titled "Shellfish Industry Equipment 

Construction Guide", which is incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. A copy of the 

reference material can be found at 

https://www.fda.gov/food/federalstate-food-programs/national-

shellfish-sanitation-program-nssp at no cost. 

(c)  Food contact surfaces of equipment, utensils, and containers 

shall be cleaned at the end of each day or operation and shall be 

sanitized prior to the start-up of each day's activities. Food contact 

surfaces shall also be cleaned and sanitized following any 

interruption during which the surfaces have become 

contaminated. 

(d)  Non-food contact surfaces such as equipment, floors, walls, 

ceilings, and windows shall be kept clean and in good repair. 

(e)  Wheelbarrows, measures, baskets, shovels, and other 

implements used in the handling of shellstock shall not be used 

for any other purpose and shall be cleaned prior to use. 

(f)  Shellfish dealers shall provide a temperature measuring device 

accurate to +/- 2°F for use in monitoring product temperatures. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0403 SUPERVISION AND TRAINING 

(a)  The shellfish dealer shall personally supervise or shall 

designate a responsible individual whose principal duty shall be 

to supervise and be responsible for compliance with the rules of 

this Subchapter. No unauthorized individuals shall be allowed in 

any processing area of the plant during periods of operation. For 

the purpose of this Rule, "unauthorized individual" shall mean an 

individual that is not designated and trained by the shellfish dealer 

or responsible individual to perform specific processing tasks in 

the facility. 

(b)  The shellfish dealer shall ensure that all employees that 

manufacture, process, pack, or hold food obtain training in the 

principles of food hygiene and food safety, including the 

importance of employee health and personal hygiene, in 

accordance with 21 CFR 117.4, which is incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. A copy 

of the reference material can be found at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/chapter-I/subchapter-

B/part-117/subpart-A/section-117.4 at no cost. Employees shall 

complete the training within 30 days following the initial hire 

date. The shellfish dealer or responsible individual shall maintain 

a record of the completed training. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0404 CONSTRUCTION 

Shellfish plants shall be sized and constructed to permit 

compliance with the operational provisions of Sections .0300 

through .0800 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0405 FACILITY FLOODING 

(a)  Shellfish plants shall be located so that they will not be subject 

to flooding by high tides. 

(b)  If the facility floors are flooded, processing shall be 

discontinued until flood waters have receded and the facility and 

equipment are cleaned and sanitized. 

(c)  Any shellfish that may have been contaminated by flood 

waters shall be deemed adulterated and shall be destroyed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

113-221.4; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0406 FLOORS 

Floors shall be concrete or other equally impervious material, 

constructed so that they are easily cleanable, sloped so that water 

drains completely, and kept in good repair. The junction between 

floors and walls shall be sealed to render them impervious to 

water in areas where the floor gets wet and is used to store 

shellfish, process food, or clean equipment and utensils. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0407 WALLS AND CEILINGS 

(a)  Walls and ceilings in areas where shellfish are stored, handled, 

processed, or packaged or where food handling equipment or 

packaging materials are stored shall be constructed of smooth, 

easily cleanable, non-corrosive, impervious material. The walls 

and ceilings in these areas shall also be light-colored, such as 

white in color, so that unclean surfaces can be detected. 

(b)  Doors and windows shall be tightly fitted and kept in good 

repair so as to keep pests and weather out of the facility. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0408 LIGHTING 

(a)  Natural or artificial lighting shall be provided in all parts of 

the plant. Lighting intensities shall be a minimum of 25 foot-

candles on working surfaces in packing and shucking rooms and 

a minimum of 10 foot-candles measured at a height of 30 inches 

above the floor throughout the rest of the processing portion of 

the facility. 
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(b)  Light bulbs, fixtures, or other glass within the plant shall be 

shatterproof or shielded to prevent food contamination in case of 

breakage. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0409 VENTILATION 

Ventilation shall be provided to prevent odors and condensation 

from contaminating shellfish, food contact surfaces, or food 

packaging materials. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0410 PEST CONTROL 

(a)  All exterior openings shall be screened or provided with wind 

curtains, or other methods to prevent the entrance of pests. All 

screens shall be kept in good repair. All exterior doors shall open 

outward and shall be self-closing. 

(b)  The use and storage of pesticides and rodenticides shall 

comply with all applicable State and federal laws and rules. 

(c)  No pets or other animals shall be allowed in those portions of 

the facility where shellfish, food handling equipment, or 

packaging materials are stored, handled, processed, or packaged. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0411 RODENT AND ANIMAL 

CONTROL 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-230; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0412 PLUMBING AND HAND 

WASHING FACILITIES 

(a)  All plumbing shall be in compliance with applicable plumbing 

codes. 

(b)  Hand washing facilities shall be provided with running water 

at a minimum temperature of 100°F dispensed from a hot and cold 

combination faucet. 

(c)  Hand washing facilities shall be provided in or adjacent to 

each bathroom and in shucking and packing rooms. Hand washing 

facilities in packing areas shall be located where supervisors can 

observe employee use. 

(d)  Hand washing facilities shall be separate from three-

compartment or other sinks used for cleaning equipment and 

utensils. 

(e)  Soap, single service towels in protected dispensers, and an 

easily cleanable waste receptacle shall be available and used at 

hand washing facilities. Other hand drying devices may be used 

if approved by the Division of Marine Fisheries based upon being 

equally effective at drying hands without the potential for 

recontamination. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0413 WATER SUPPLY 

(a)  The water supply used shall be in accordance with 15A NCAC 

18A .1720 through .1728, 15A NCAC 18C, or 02 NCAC 09C 

.0703, which are incorporated by reference, including subsequent 

amendments. 

(b)  If the water supply is from a private source, samples for 

bacteriological analysis shall be collected by the Division of 

Marine Fisheries prior to use and after the water supply has been 

repaired or disinfected, and submitted for analysis to the State 

Laboratory of Public Health or other laboratory that is certified in 

accordance with 10A NCAC 42C .0102, which is incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments. 

(c)  Cross-connections with unapproved water supplies shall be 

prohibited. A backflow or back siphonage of a solid, liquid, or gas 

containment into the water supply shall be precluded by use of an 

air gap or backflow prevention device in accordance with 

applicable plumbing codes. 

(d)  Hot and cold running water under pressure shall be provided 

to food preparation, utensil, and hand washing areas and any other 

areas in which water is required for cleaning. Running water 

under pressure shall be provided in sufficient quantity to carry out 

all food preparation, utensil washing, hand washing, cleaning, and 

other water-using operations. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0414 TOILET FACILITIES 

(a)  Toilets shall be provided in the plant by the owner or 

responsible individual and shall be kept clean and in good repair. 

(b)  Toilet tissue, in a holder, shall be provided by the owner or 

responsible individual. 

(c)  Toilet room doors shall not open directly into a processing 

area and shall be tight-fitting and self-closing. 

(d)  All toilet wastes and other sewage shall be disposed of in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 18A .1900 or 15A NCAC 02H 

.0200, which are incorporated by reference, including subsequent 

amendments. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 
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15A NCAC 18A .0415 PREMISES 

(a) The premises shall be maintained free from conditions that 

may constitute an attractant, breeding place, or harborage for pests 

such as unmowed weeds or grass, uncontained litter or waste, or 

unused equipment. 

(b) To prevent pests and odors, shells and other solid waste shall 

not be permitted to accumulate on the premises. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0416 PERSONAL HYGIENE 

(a)  All employees shall wash their hands thoroughly with soap 

and running water before beginning work and again after each 

interruption or if their hands may have become soiled or 

contaminated. Hand washing signs shall be posted by the owner 

or responsible individual at each hand washing facility in a 

language understood by employees. 

(b)  All individuals employed or engaged in the shucking, 

packing, or repacking of shellfish shall wear clean, washable outer 

clothing. Clean plastic or rubber aprons, overalls, and rubber 

gloves shall be considered satisfactory. 

(c)  All individuals employed or engaged in the shucking, packing, 

or repacking of shellfish shall wear hair restraints and have clean 

fingernails free from nail polish and that are short enough to not 

extend past the fingertips. Employees shall not wear jewelry other 

than easily cleanable rings. The use of absorbent wraps or 

absorbent finger cots shall not be permitted. 

(d)  Employees shall not eat, drink, use electronic cigarettes or 

vaping products, or use tobacco in any form in the rooms where 

shellfish are stored, processed, or handled. 

(e)  An individual known to be a carrier of any disease that can be 

transmitted through the handling of shellfish or who has an 

infected wound or open lesion on any exposed portion of the body 

shall be prohibited from handling shellfish or coming into contact 

with food contact surfaces. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0417 EMPLOYEES' PERSONAL 

ARTICLES 

Employees' street clothing, aprons, gloves, food, drink, and 

personal articles shall be stored in a room or locker separate from 

any area where shellfish are shucked or packed or any area that is 

used for the cleaning or storage of utensils. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0418 SUPPLY STORAGE 

(a)  Shipping containers, boxes, and other supplies shall be stored 

in a storage room or area. The storage room or area shall be kept 

clean. 

(b)  Pesticides, rodenticides, chemical agents, sanitizers, and other 

toxic substances shall be stored separate from processing areas or 

food contact surfaces using spacing or partitioning so that they 

cannot contaminate food, equipment, utensils, and single-service 

articles. Each of the following categories of toxic substances shall 

be stored separate from one another using spacing or partitioning 

such that one category of toxic substance is not mistaken for 

another category: 

(1) pesticides and rodenticides; 

(2) detergents, sanitizers, and cleaning agents; and 

(3) caustic acids, polishes, and other chemicals. 

(c)  Cleaning compounds, sanitizers, and other toxic substances 

shall be labeled and used in accordance with the manufacturer's 

label directions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0419 HARVEST VESSELS AND 

VEHICLES 

(a) It shall be unlawful to use vessels or vehicles that are engaged 

in the commercial harvest, handling, or transport of shellstock in 

such a manner that allows contact of shellstock with bilge water, 

standing water, or other sources of contamination in the vessel or 

vehicle. 

(b) It shall be unlawful to allow dogs or other animals on or inside 

vessels or vehicles that are engaged in the commercial harvest or 

transport of shellstock. 

(c) It shall be unlawful to discharge human waste overboard from 

vessels or vehicles used in the harvesting of shellstock. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0420 TRANSPORTING SHELLFISH 

(a)  All shellfish storage areas in trucks, vessels, trailers, and other 

conveyances used for transporting shellfish shall be enclosed, 

tightly constructed to eliminate the entrance of pests, kept clean, 

and shall be subject to inspection by the Division of Marine 

Fisheries. 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to transport shellstock and in-shell product 

unless shipped under mechanical refrigeration and the shipping 

conveyance is pre-chilled and maintained at an ambient 

temperature of 45F or below. The storage area of the shipping 

conveyance shall be equipped with an accurate, operating 

thermometer. 

(c)  It shall be unlawful to transport shucked shellfish unless 

maintained under temperature control of 45F or below. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0421 RECORDS 

(a)  All shellfish dealers who conduct any business of buying, 

selling, or shipping shellfish shall keep an accurate, daily record 

that shall show the names of all persons from whom shellfish are 

received, the address of any shellfish dealer from whom shellfish 

are received, the location of the source of shellfish, and the names 

and addresses of all persons to whom shellfish are sold or shipped 

with the exception of retail sales. For the purpose of this Rule, 

"retail sale" shall be defined as the sale of shellfish directly to end 

consumers. These records shall be kept on file for a minimum of 

one year for fresh shellfish, and a minimum of two years for 

frozen shellfish. All records shall be open to inspection by the 

Division of Marine Fisheries at the dealer facility at any time 

during business hours. 

(b)  All shellfish dealers who receive shellstock from licensed 

harvesters shall record the following information at the time of 

receipt: 

(1) harvester name; 

(2) harvest area; 

(3) time of the start of harvest; 

(4) quantity and type of shellfish received; 

(5) time shellfish were received; and 

(6) time shellfish were mechanically refrigerated. 

(c)  Each shellfish shipment shipped by a shellfish dealer shall be 

accompanied by a shipping document that includes: 

(1) name, address, and certification number of 

shipping dealer; 

(2) name and address of major consignee; 

(3) type and quantity of shellfish product; 

(4) date and time of shipment; 

(5) documentation that shipping conveyance is pre-

chilled at 45°F or below prior to shipment; and 

(6) temperature of shellstock recorded by shipping 

dealer at time of shipment. 

(d)  A dealer receiving a shellfish shipment from another shellfish 

dealer shall record the temperature of the shipping conveyance 

and the temperature of the shellfish product received. These 

records shall be kept on file for a minimum of one year for fresh 

shellfish, and a minimum of two years for frozen shellfish. All 

records shall be open to inspection by the Division at the dealer 

facility at any time during business hours. 

(e)  Within 72 hours of any purchase or sale of shellfish, each 

purchase or sale shall be entered into a permanently bound ledger 

book, computer record, or any other method that permanently 

records the information and is organized so that it can be reviewed 

by the Division. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

15A NCAC 18A .0422 SHELLSTOCK CLEANING 

No person shall offer for sale any shellstock that have not been 

washed free of harvest area sediments and detritus. Water used for 

shellstock washing shall be obtained from a water source in 

accordance with Rule .0413 of this Section or from a growing area 

in the open status and classified as "approved" or "conditionally 

approved" as defined in Rule .0901 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0423 SALE OF LIVE SHELLSTOCK 

Only live shellstock shall be offered for sale. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0424 SHELLFISH RECEIVING 

No shellfish dealer shall receive or accept: 

(1) any shellstock from: 

(a) a licensed shellfish harvester unless: 

(i) the container or package 

bears the harvest tag as 

required in Rule 15A NCAC 

03K .0109 and in accordance 

with the HACCP plan; and 

(ii) the shellstock was harvested 

from a growing area in the 

open status and classified as 

"approved" or "conditionally 

approved" as defined in Rule 

.0901 of this Subchapter and 

as indicated on the harvest 

tag; or 

(b) another shellfish dealer unless the 

container or package bears the tag as 

required in Rule .0425 of this Section 

or, in the case of a bulk shipment, Rule 

.0426 of this Section; and 

(2) any shellfish from another shellfish dealer 

unless: 

(a) it is accompanied by the 

documentation required in Rule 

.0421(c) of this Section; and 

(b) the shellfish temperature and other 

critical limits are in compliance with 

the HACCP plan. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 
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15A NCAC 18A .0426 BULK SHIPMENTS BETWEEN 

SHELLFISH DEALERS 

(a)  For the purpose of this Rule: 

(1) "bulk shipment" shall mean a shipment of a 

shellstock lot between shellfish dealers. 

(2) "shellstock lot" shall mean a single type of bulk 

shellstock or containers of shellstock of no 

more than one day's harvest from a single 

growing area harvested by one or more 

harvesters. 

(b)  Bulk shipments shall not be made except if the shipment is 

from only one consignor to one consignee, both of which shall be 

shellfish dealers. 

(c)  When a shellstock lot is shipped, if multiple containers are 

used they shall be on a wrapped pallet, in a tote, in a net bailer, or 

other container and the unit shall be tagged with a single tag in 

accordance with Rule .0425 of this Section. The single tag shall 

also include a statement that "All shellstock containers in this lot 

have the same harvest date and area of harvest" and shall include 

the number of individual containers in the unit. 

(d)  The shellfish dealer shall provide a transaction record that 

accompanies the bulk shipment that contains the same 

information required on a dealer's tag in Rule .0425 of this Section 

and additionally states the name of the consignee, which shall be 

a shellfish dealer. 

(e)  Bulk shipments shall be kept above the floor using pallets to 

prevent the shellstock from becoming contaminated, unless the 

shipping conveyance has a channeled floor. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0427 SHELLFISH STORAGE 

(a) It shall be unlawful to fail to keep shellstock and in-shell 

product under mechanical refrigeration at a temperature of 45°F 

or below unless otherwise required by proclamation issued under 

the authority of 15A NCAC 03K .0110 or otherwise specified in 

the HACCP plan. 

(b) Refrigerated storage areas shall be equipped with an accurate, 

operating thermometer. 

(c) It shall be unlawful to fail to keep shucked shellfish under 

temperature control at a temperature of 45°F or below. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1994; December 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. (Pending legislative review pursuant to S.L. 2019-

198). 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0428 SAMPLING AND TESTING 

Samples of shellfish may be taken and examined by the Division 

of Marine Fisheries at any time or place for routine quality control 

checks or to evaluate for threats of physical injury or adverse 

health effects to consumers. This may include bacteriological 

examination or analysis for poisonous or deleterious substances 

as listed in the latest approved edition of the National Shellfish 

Sanitation Program (NSSP) Guide for the Control of Molluscan 

Shellfish, Section IV: Guidance Documents, Chapter II: Growing 

Areas; Action Levels, Tolerances and Guidance Levels for 

Poisonous or Deleterious Substances in Seafood, which is 

incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and 

editions. A copy of the reference material can be found at 

https://www.fda.gov/food/federalstate-food-programs/national-

shellfish-sanitation-program-nssp, at no cost. Samples of shellfish 

shall be furnished, upon request of the Division, by operators of 

plants, trucks, carriers, stores, restaurants, and other places where 

shellfish are sold. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0429 EMBARGO OR DISPOSAL OF 

SHELLFISH 

(a)  When it has been determined by the Division of Marine 

Fisheries that shellfish have not been grown, harvested, stored, 

treated, transported, handled, shucked, packed, or offered for sale 

in compliance with Sections .0300 through .0900 of this 

Subchapter, those shellfish may be deemed adulterated in 

accordance with Rule .0438 of this Section, except as required in 

Rules .0405 and .0430 of this Section. 

(b)  Shellfish or shellfish products processed or prepared for sale 

to the public determined to be adulterated or misbranded shall be 

subject to embargo or disposal by the Division in accordance with 

G.S. 113-221.4. The authority of marine fisheries inspectors to 

seize shellfish or shellfish products pursuant to G.S. 113-137 shall 

not be affected by this Rule. 

(c)  If voluntary disposal of adulterated or misbranded shellfish or 

shellfish products is alternatively chosen by the shellfish dealer, 

responsible individual, or other person or facility specified in Rule 

.0401 of this Section, the product disposal shall be observed by a 

Division employee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

113-221.4; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0430 BACTERIOLOGICAL AND 

CONTAMINATION STANDARDS 

Shellfish shucked or in the shell and intended or offered for sale 

shall be deemed adulterated by the Division of Marine Fisheries 

if: 

(1) the concentration of Escherichia coli exceeds a 

Most Probable Number (MPN), as defined in 

Rule .0901 of this Subchapter, of 230 per 100 

grams of sample; 

(2) the total bacteria count, as determined by a 

standard plate count, exceeds 500,000 colony-

forming units, as defined in Rule .0901 of this 

Subchapter. The standard plate count method, 

as detailed in Recommended Procedures for the 

Examination of Sea Water and Shellfish 4th 

Edition, is incorporated by reference, not 
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including subsequent amendments and editions. 

The method can be found at 

https://www.issc.org/Data/Sites/1/media/-22-

com-docs/apha-recommended-procedures-

1970-full-text.pdf, at no cost; or 

(3) the shellfish contain any contaminant that 

renders it unsafe for human consumption in 

accordance with the latest approved edition of 

the National Shellfish Sanitation Program 

(NSSP) Guide for the Control of Molluscan 

Shellfish, Section IV: Guidance Documents, 

Chapter II: Growing Areas; Action Levels, 

Tolerances and Guidance Levels for Poisonous 

or Deleterious Substances in Seafood, which is 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. A copy 

of the reference material can be found at 

https://www.fda.gov/food/federalstate-food-

programs/national-shellfish-sanitation-

program-nssp, at no cost. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0432 PUBLIC DISPLAY OF 

CONSUMER ADVISORY 

All shellfish dealers permitted by Rule .0302 of this Subchapter 

and all other businesses and persons that sell or serve raw shellfish 

shall post one of the following consumer advisories or an 

equivalent statement in a place where it may be observed by the 

public in the area where raw shellfish is sold or served: 

(1) "Consumer Advisory 

Eating raw or undercooked oysters, clams, 

whole scallops, or mussels may cause severe 

illness. People with the following conditions 

are at especially high risk: liver disease, 

alcoholism, diabetes, cancer, stomach or blood 

disorder, or weakened immune system. Ask 

your doctor if you are unsure of your risk. If you 

eat shellfish and become sick, see a doctor 

immediately."; or 

(2) "Consuming raw or undercooked meats, 

poultry, seafood, shellfish, or eggs may 

increase your risk of foodborne illness, 

especially if you have certain medical 

conditions." 

Nothing in this Rule is intended to supersede regulation of 

restaurants or other establishments subject to 15A NCAC 18A 

.2600 or the U.S. Food Code. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 12, 1998; February 1, 1998; 

Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0433 HAZARD ANALYSIS 

Each shellfish dealer shall conduct a hazard analysis to determine 

the food safety hazards that are reasonably likely to occur for each 

kind of shellfish product processed by that dealer and to identify 

the preventative measures that the dealer can apply to control 

those hazards. For the purpose of this Rule, "reasonably likely to 

occur" shall mean a food safety hazard for which a processor 

would establish controls because experience, illness data, 

scientific reports, or other information provide a basis to conclude 

that there is a reasonable possibility that it will occur in the 

absence of those controls, as defined in 21 CFR 123.6, which is 

incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and 

editions. A copy of the reference material can be found at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/chapter-I/subchapter-

B/part-123, at no cost. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0434 HACCP PLAN 

(a)  Each shellfish dealer shall have and implement a written 

HACCP plan specific to each kind of shellfish product processed. 

The owner or authorized individual shall sign the plan when 

implemented, which shall signify that the plan has been accepted 

for implementation by the dealer. The HACCP plan shall also be 

signed by the owner or authorized individual after any 

modification or verification of the plan as required by this Rule. 

The plan shall, at a minimum: 

(1) list the food safety hazards that are reasonably 

likely to occur; 

(2) list the critical control points for each of the 

food safety hazards; 

(3) list the critical limits that must be met for each 

of the critical control points; 

(4) list the procedures, and frequency thereof, that 

will be used to monitor each of the critical 

control points to ensure compliance with the 

critical limits; 

(5) list any corrective action plans to be followed in 

response to deviations from critical limits at 

critical control points; 

(6) provide a record keeping system that 

documents critical control point monitoring; 

and 

(7) list the verification procedures, and frequency 

thereof, that the dealer will use. 

For the purpose of this Rule, "reasonably likely to occur" shall 

mean a food safety hazard for which a processor would establish 

controls because experience, illness data, scientific reports, or 

other information provide a basis to conclude that there is a 

reasonable possibility that it will occur in the absence of those 

controls, as defined in 21 CFR 123.6, which is incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. A copy 

of the reference material can be found at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/chapter-I/subchapter-

B/part-123, at no cost. 
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(b)  With the exception of a shellfish dealer that has not been 

permitted for interstate commerce, the following functions shall 

be performed by an individual who has successfully completed 

Segment one and Segment two of a seafood HACCP training 

course approved by the Seafood HACCP Alliance or an 

equivalent training course where the curriculum covers the 

principles of HACCP, conducting a hazard analysis, and 

developing a HACCP plan for a seafood business: 

(1) developing a HACCP plan; 

(2) reassessing and modifying the HACCP plan; 

and 

(3) performing the record review specified in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(c)  If a deviation from a critical limit occurs, the shellfish dealer 

shall take corrective action in accordance with 21 CFR 123.7, 

which is incorporated by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy of the reference material can be 

found at https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/chapter-

I/subchapter-B/part-123/subpart-A/section-123.7#p-123.7(b), at 

no cost. 

(d)  At least annually, each shellfish dealer shall verify that the 

HACCP plan is being implemented to control food safety hazards. 

Verification procedures shall include: 

(1) a reassessment of the plan when a change 

occurs that could affect the hazard analysis, and 

a review of any consumer complaints that have 

been received; and 

(2) a review, including signing and dating by the 

trained individual or responsible individual, of 

the records that document the monitoring of 

critical control points, the taking of corrective 

actions, and the calibrating of any process-

monitoring instruments. This review shall 

occur within one week of the day that the 

records are made. 

(e)  All records required by this Rule shall be retained at the dealer 

facility for at least one year after the date they were prepared in 

the case of refrigerated products, and at least two years after the 

date they were prepared in the case of frozen products and shall 

include: 

(1) the name and location of the dealer; 

(2) the date and time of the activity that the record 

reflects; 

(3) the signature or initials of the individual 

performing the operation; and 

(4) the identity of the product and the production 

code, if any. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

113-221.4; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0435 SANITATION MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Each shellfish dealer shall monitor the following sanitation 

items when the plant is operational: 

(1) safety of water; 

(2) condition and cleanliness of food contact 

surfaces; 

(3) prevention of cross-contamination; 

(4) maintenance of hand washing, hand sanitizing, 

and toilet facilities; 

(5) protection of shellfish, shellfish packaging 

materials, and food contact surfaces from 

becoming adulterated; 

(6) proper labeling, storage, and use of toxic 

compounds; 

(7) control of employees with adverse health 

conditions; and 

(8) exclusion of pests from the facility. 

(b)  Monitoring records of these sanitation items shall be recorded 

at least daily and shall include the date and time of the activity 

that the record reflects, and the signature or initials of the 

individual performing the operation. The records shall be 

reviewed and signed by the owner or designated individual within 

one week of recording. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0436 MONITORING RECORDS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-230; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0437 IN-SHELL PRODUCT 

(a)  In-shell product shall be kept under mechanical refrigeration 

at a temperature of 45°F or below. 

(b)  In-shell product shall be tagged or labeled to contain the 

following indelible and legible information listed in sequential 

order: 

(1) the shellfish dealer's name, address, and 

certification number assigned by the shellfish 

control agency in the state of the shellfish 

dealer's location; 

(2) the original shipper's certification number, 

except if the in-shell product is depurated, the 

original shipper's certification number is not 

required; 

(3) a "SELL BY date" that indicates the shelf-life 

or the words "BEST IF USED BY" followed by 

a date when the product would be expected to 

reach the end of its shelf-life. The date shall 

include month, day, and year; 

(4) if the in-shell product is depurated, the 

depuration cycle number or lot number; 

(5) the most precise identification of the harvest 

location as is practicable, including the initials 

of the state of harvest, and the state or local 

shellfish control authority's designation of the 

growing area by indexing, administrative, or 

geographic designation. If the authority in 

another state has not indexed growing areas, 
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then a geographical or administrative 

designation shall be used (e.g., Long Bay, 

shellfish lease or franchise number, or lot 

number); 

(6) the type and quantity of in-shell product; and 

(7) the following statement in bold type on each tag 

or label: "THIS TAG IS REQUIRED TO BE 

ATTACHED UNTIL CONTAINER IS 

EMPTY OR IS RETAGGED AND 

THEREAFTER KEPT ON FILE, IN 

CHRONOLOGICAL ORDER, FOR 90 

DAYS." "RETAILERS: DATE WHEN LAST 

SHELLFISH FROM THIS CONTAINER 

SOLD OR SERVED (INSERT 

DATE)____________." OR "THIS LABEL IS 

REQUIRED TO BE ATTACHED UNTIL 

CONTAINER IS EMPTY OR IS 

RELABELED AND THEREAFTER KEPT 

ON FILE, IN CHRONOLOGICAL ORDER, 

FOR 90 DAYS." "RETAILERS: DATE 

WHEN LAST SHELLFISH FROM THIS 

CONTAINER SOLD OR SERVED (INSERT 

DATE)____________." 

(c)  In-shell product shall include one of the following consumer 

advisories, or equivalent statement: 

(1) "Consumer Advisory 

Eating raw or undercooked oysters, clams, 

whole scallops, or mussels may cause severe 

illness. People with the following conditions 

are at especially high risk: liver disease, 

alcoholism, diabetes, cancer, stomach or blood 

disorder, or weakened immune system. Ask 

your doctor if you are unsure of your risk. If you 

eat shellfish and become sick, see a doctor 

immediately." 

(2) "Consuming raw or undercooked meats, 

poultry, seafood, shellfish, or eggs may 

increase your risk of foodborne illness, 

especially if you have certain medical 

conditions." 

(d)  The statement "Keep Refrigerated" or an equivalent statement 

shall be included on the tag or label. 

(e)  If in-shell product for retail sale is packed in individual 

containers of five pounds or less and shipped in a master container 

that includes a tag in compliance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule, 

the individual containers of five pounds or less shall not require 

tags as specified in Paragraph (b) of this Rule if a lot code number 

is included on each container that allows traceback of the in-shell 

product to the master container. A consumer advisory shall be 

included on each retail package in accordance with Paragraph (c) 

of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0438 INSPECTIONS AND 

COMPLIANCE SCHEDULE 

(a)  If a critical deficiency is detected during an inspection of a 

shellfish dealer by a Division of Marine Fisheries inspector: 

(1) the deficiency shall be corrected by the shellfish 

dealer during that inspection; or 

(2) the shellfish dealer shall immediately cease 

production affected by the deficiency. 

If the shellfish dealer fails to correct the deficiency during the 

inspection, the Division shall initiate the suspension or revocation 

process for the Shellfish Dealer Permit and Certificate of 

Compliance as set forth in 15A NCAC 03O .0504. For the purpose 

of this Rule, "critical deficiency" shall mean a condition or 

practice that results in the production of a shellfish product that is 

adulterated or presents a threat to the health or safety of the 

consumer. 

(b)  Shellfish products affected by a critical deficiency shall be 

controlled to prevent adulterated product from reaching 

consumers. The Division shall: 

(1) embargo or destroy adulterated shellfish in 

accordance with Rule .0429 of this Section; 

(2) initiate a recall of adulterated shellfish; and 

(3) notify enforcement officials for the United 

States Food and Drug Administration, as well 

as shellfish control authorities in states that are 

known to have received adulterated shellfish. 

(c)  If a key or other deficiency is detected during an inspection of 

a shellfish dealer by a Division inspector, a compliance schedule 

shall be issued by the Division inspector that provides a time 

frame by which the deficiency shall be corrected by the shellfish 

dealer. For the purpose of this Rule, "key or other deficiency" 

shall mean a deficiency other than a critical deficiency. 

(d)  If a shellfish dealer fails to meet the compliance schedule, the 

Division shall proceed with one of the following options: 

(1) revise the existing compliance schedule; 

(2) initiate the suspension or revocation process for 

the Shellfish Dealer Permit and Certificate of 

Compliance as set forth in 15A NCAC 03O 

.0504; or 

(3) seek other administrative remedies. 

(e)  Nothing in this Rule shall be construed to limit or make null 

any option for remedy in accordance with Rule 15A NCAC 03O 

.0504 or other available administrative remedy. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

113-221.4; 143B-289.52; 

Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0439 RECALL PROCEDURE 

Each shellfish dealer shall adopt and adhere to a written procedure 

for conducting recalls of adulterated or misbranded shellfish 

products. This written procedure shall be based on, and 

complementary to, the FDA Enforcement Policy on Recalls, CFR 

Title 21, Chapter 1, Subchapter A., Part 7-Enforcement Policy, 

which is incorporated by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy of the reference material can be 

found at https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/chapter-

I/subchapter-A/part-7, at no cost. This procedure shall include 

shellfish dealers notifying the Division of Marine Fisheries and 
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any consignee receiving affected product when a recall begins, as 

well as removal or correction of the affected product. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0501 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

SHELLSTOCK PLANTS AND RESHIPPERS 

The rules in Section .0400 and the rules of this Section shall apply 

for the operation of shellstock plants and reshippers. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0502 GRADING SHELLSTOCK AND 

COMMINGLING 

(a)  For the purpose of this Rule: 

(1) "commingling" shall mean the act of combining 

different lots of shellfish harvested on different 

days in the same growing area or combining 

different lots of shellstock harvested from 

different growing areas. 

(2) "lot" shall mean clams from one day's harvest, 

from a single growing area, harvested by one or 

more harvesters. 

(b)  The grading of shellstock by a shellfish dealer shall be 

conducted only in a permitted shellstock plant. 

(c)  A grading room or area separate from other processing 

operations shall be required for the grading of shellstock. 

(d)  The grader used to grade shellstock, and any other accessories 

or tables used in the grading operation, shall be constructed to be 

easily cleanable and shall be kept in good repair. 

(e)  Shellfish dealers shall not commingle any shellfish, except for 

clams with prior approval of a commingling plan by the Division 

of Marine Fisheries. A commingling plan shall be approved by 

the Division based on limiting the dates of harvest and growing 

areas and maintaining lot identity so that each individual lot of 

shellfish can be traced back to its harvest source. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0503 GRADER 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-230; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0504 RESHIPPERS 

Reshippers shall only purchase shellfish from other shellfish 

dealers and sell the product to other shellfish dealers, wholesalers, 

or retailers without repacking or relabeling. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0601 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

SHUCKING AND PACKING PLANTS AND REPACKING 

PLANTS 

The rules in Section .0400 and the rules of this Section shall apply 

for the operation of shucking and packing plants and repacking 

plants. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0602 SEPARATION OF OPERATIONS 

A shucking and packing plant shall provide separate areas for 

shellstock storage, shucking, heat shock, and general storage. A 

packing area that is separate from other processing areas and with 

a delivery window or shelf as set forth in Rule .0605 of this 

Section shall be required. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0603 HOT WATER SYSTEM 

An automatically regulated hot water system shall be provided 

that has capacity to furnish water at a temperature of at least 130F 

during all hours of shucking and packing plant operation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0604 HANDWASHING FACILITIES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-230; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0605 DELIVERY WINDOW OR 

SHELF 

(a)  A delivery window or a non-corrosive shelf shall be installed 

between the shucking area and packing area. If a delivery window 

is used it shall be equipped with a shelf completely covered with 

smooth, non-corrosive metal or other impervious material and 

shall be sloped to drain towards the shucking area. 

(b)  No shuckers or individuals that are not designated as packers 

by the owner or responsible individual shall be allowed in the 

packing area. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 
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15A NCAC 18A .0606 NON-FOOD CONTACT 

SURFACES 

All non-food contact surfaces of equipment such as cabinets and 

shelving shall be impervious and constructed to be easily 

cleanable. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0607 SHUCKING BENCHES 

Shucking benches, tables, and contiguous walls to a height of at 

least two feet above the bench top, shall be of smooth concrete, 

non-corrosive metal, or other durable impervious material, free 

from cracks and pits, and constructed so that drainage is complete 

and is directed away from the stored shellfish. Shucking blocks 

shall be solid, one-piece construction, removable, and easily 

cleanable. The stands, stalls, and stools shall be of smooth 

material and shall be painted with a light-colored washable paint, 

such as white in color, so that unclean surfaces can be detected. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0608 EQUIPMENT CONSTRUCTION 

(a)  All pails, skimmers, measures, tanks, tubs, blowers, paddles, 

and other equipment, that come into contact with shucked 

shellfish or with ice used for direct cooling of shellfish, shall be 

made of smooth, non-corrosive, impervious materials and 

constructed so as to be easily cleanable and shall be kept clean 

and in good repair. 

(b)  All equipment, including external and internal blower lines 

and hoses below a point two inches above the overflow level of 

the tank and blower drain valves, shall be constructed as to be 

easily cleanable in accordance with the "Shellfish Industry 

Equipment Guide" referenced in Rule .0402 of this Subchapter. 

(c)  The blower and skimmer drain shall not be directly connected 

with the sewer. There shall be an air gap between the blower and 

skimmer outlets. A floor drain shall be provided. 

(d)  Air-pump intakes shall be located in a place protected from 

dirt and other contamination, and shall be equipped with filters. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0609 SANITIZING EQUIPMENT 

Washing and sanitizing facilities, including a three-compartment 

wash sink of adequate size to wash the largest utensils used in the 

shucking and packing plant, shall be provided in a section of the 

plant so that it can service the work areas. The sink shall be kept 

in good repair. Permanent hot and cold water connections, with 

combination supply faucets, shall be installed so that all vats may 

receive hot and cold water. Either steam, hot water, or a sanitizing 

solution shall be used to sanitize utensils and equipment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0610 EQUIPMENT SANITATION 

All utensils and tools, such as opening knives, shucking pails, 

measures, skimmers, colanders, tanks, tubs, paddles, and 

containers that come in contact with shellfish shall be thoroughly 

cleaned and then sanitized by: 

(1) steam in a steam chamber or box equipped with 

an indicating thermometer located in the coldest 

zone, by exposure to a temperature of 170°F for 

at least 15 minutes, or to a temperature of 200°F 

for at least five minutes; 

(2) immersion in hot water at a temperature of 

170°F for at least two minutes; 

(3) immersion for at least one minute in, or 

exposure for at least one minute to a constant 

flow of, a solution containing not less than 100 

parts per million chlorine residual. Utensils and 

equipment that must be washed in place shall 

require washing, rinsing, and sanitizing; or 

(4) other equivalent products and procedures 

approved in 21 CFR 178.1010, which is 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. A copy 

of the reference material can be found at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/chapter-

I/subchapter-B/part-178/subpart-B/section-

178.1010, at no cost. 

A testing method or equipment shall be available and used to test 

chemical sanitizers to ensure minimum prescribed strengths. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0611 EQUIPMENT STORAGE 

Equipment and utensils that have been cleaned and sanitized shall 

be stored in a manner to prevent contamination. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0612 ICE 

(a)  Ice shall be obtained from a water supply approved by the 

Division of Marine Fisheries pursuant to Rule .0413 of this 

Subchapter and shall be stored and handled in a manner to prevent 

contamination and keep the ice clean. 
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(b)  All equipment used in the handling of ice shall be used for no 

other purpose and shall be cleaned and sanitized at least once each 

day the facility is in operation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0613 SHELLFISH SHUCKING 

(a)  Shellfish shall be shucked in a manner to prevent 

contamination. Shellstock shall be free of excessive sediment 

prior to being shucked. Only live shellstock shall be shucked. 

(b)  Shucking of shellstock shall only be permitted on shucking 

tables or benches in accordance with Rules .0402 and .0607 of this 

Subchapter. Floors shall not be used for the storage of shellfish or 

the retention of shucking pails or other food contact containers. 

(c)  When shellstock are stored in the shucking room, protection 

shall be provided for the storage space to prevent the shellstock 

from becoming adulterated from wash water wastes and from the 

feet of the employees. 

(d)  Shucking pails shall be placed so as to exclude the drippings 

from shells and from the hands of shuckers. The pails shall be 

rinsed with running tap water before each filling. 

(e)  Shucked shellfish shall be washed on a skimmer or a container 

approved by the Division of Marine Fisheries with cold running 

water from a source in accordance with Rule .0413 of this 

Subchapter. 

(f)  The return of excess shucked shellfish from the packing room 

shall not be allowed. All shucked shellfish shall be packed before 

it leaves the packing room. 

(g)  If blowers are used for cleansing, the total time that shellfish 

are in contact with water after leaving the shucker, including the 

time of washing, rinsing, and any other contact with water, shall 

not be more than 30 minutes. In computing the time of contact 

with water, the length of time that shellfish are in contact with 

water that is agitated shall be calculated at twice the actual length 

of time that the shellfish are in contact with the water. Before 

packing into containers for shipment or delivery for consumption, 

the shellfish shall be drained. Shellfish shall be packed without 

any added substance. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0614 CONTAINERS 

(a)  Containers used for transporting shucked shellfish shall be 

made from food-safe materials. These containers shall not be 

reused for packing shellfish. 

(b)  The shucker-packer's or repacker's name and address and 

certification number shall be permanently and visibly recorded on 

the label of each container used for shucked shellfish. 

(c)  Any container of shucked shellfish that has a capacity of 64 

fluid ounces or more shall include the words "DATE SHUCKED" 

followed by the date shucked permanently recorded on the lid and 

sidewall or bottom of the container. The date shall consist of either 

the abbreviation for the month and number of the day of the month 

or the Julian format (YDDD), the last digit of the four-digit year 

and the three-digit number corresponding to the day of the year. 

(d)  Any container of shucked shellfish that has a capacity of less 

than 64 fluid ounces shall include the words "SELL BY" or 

"BEST IF USED BY" followed by a date when the product will 

reach the end of its projected shelf life. The date shall consist of 

the abbreviation for the month and number of the day of the 

month. 

(e)  For fresh frozen shellfish, the year shall be added to the date 

for non-Julian format. If fresh frozen, the container shall be 

labeled as frozen in equal size type immediately adjacent to the 

type of shellfish. If a frozen container of shucked shellfish is 

thawed and repacked, the container shall be labeled as previously 

frozen. 

(f)  Each container of shucked shellfish shall include a consumer 

advisory. The following statement, or an equivalent statement, 

shall be included on all containers: "Consuming raw or 

undercooked meats, poultry, seafood, shellfish, or eggs may 

increase your risk of foodborne illness, especially if you have 

certain medical conditions." 

(g)  No person shall use containers bearing a certification number 

other than the number assigned to him or her. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; February 1, 1997; December 1, 

1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0615 SHELLFISH COOLING 

(a) For shellstock that has not been refrigerated prior to 

processing, shucked meats and in-shell product shall be chilled to 

an internal temperature of 45°F or less within three hours of 

shucking or processing. 

(b) For shellstock that has been refrigerated prior to processing, 

shucked meats and in-shell product shall be chilled to an internal 

temperature of 45°F or less within four hours after removal from 

refrigeration. 

(c) If heat shock is used, once shellstock is shucked, the shucked 

shellfish meats shall be cooled to an internal temperature of 45°F 

or less within two hours from the time of heat shock. 

(d) Shucked and packed shellfish shall be stored in covered 

containers at an ambient temperature of 45°F or less or covered in 

ice. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0616 SHELLFISH FREEZING 

(a)  If shellfish are to be frozen, they shall be frozen within three 

days of shucking and packing. Containers of frozen shellfish shall 

be labeled in accordance with Rule .0614 of this Section. 

(b)  A temperature of 0F or less shall be maintained in the frozen 

storage rooms. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; December 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0617 SHIPPING 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-230; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0618 HEAT SHOCK METHOD OF 

PREPARATION OF SHELLFISH 

(a)  If a shucking and packing plant uses the heat shock process, 

it shall be done in a separate room adjacent to the shellstock 

storage room and the shucking room. 

(b)  The heat shock tank shall be constructed of smooth, non-

corrosive metal, designed to drain completely and to be easily 

cleanable. 

(c)  All heat shock tanks shall be equipped with booster heaters 

that are thermostatically controlled. 

(d)  All shellstock subjected to the heat shock process shall be 

washed with flowing potable water immediately prior to the heat 

shock operation. 

(e)  During the heat shock process the water shall be maintained 

at not less than 140°F or more than 150°F. An accurate 

thermometer shall be available and used to determine the 

temperature during the heat shock process. 

(f)  Nothing in this Rule shall be construed to prohibit any other 

process that has been found by the Division of Marine Fisheries 

to be equally effective. 

(g)  At least eight gallons of heat shock water shall be maintained 

in the tank for each one-half bushel of shellstock being treated. 

All water used in the heat shock process shall be from a source 

approved by the Division in accordance with Rule .0413 of this 

Subchapter. 

(h)  Immediately after the heat shock process, all treated 

shellstock shall be subjected to a cool-down with flowing potable 

water. All heat-shocked shellstock shall be handled in a manner 

to prevent the product from becoming adulterated. Shellfish that 

have been subjected to the heat shock process shall be cooled to 

an internal temperature of 45°F or below within two hours after 

this process and shall be placed in storage at 45°F or below. 

(i)  At the close of each day's operation, the heat shock tank shall 

be completely emptied of all water, mud, and detritus, and cleaned 

and then rinsed with flowing potable water. 

(j)  All heat shock tanks shall be sanitized immediately before 

starting each day's operation. 

(k)  The procedure for the heat shock process shall be posted in a 

location that can be viewed by employees to help ensure the 

correct procedure can be followed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; August 1, 1998; February 1, 1997; 

September 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0619 REPACKING OF SHELLFISH 

(a)  If repacking is practiced, it shall be conducted in accordance 

with all the requirements for shucking and packing plants in the 

rules of this Section except for requirements related to shucking. 

(b)  The shucked shellfish to be repacked shall be received at the 

repacking plant at a temperature of 45°F or less. 

(c)  Shellfish shall not be repacked more than one time. 

(d)  The temperature of the shellfish shall not exceed an internal 

temperature of 45°F for more than two hours during the repacking 

process. 

(e)  Containers of repacked shellfish shall be repacked and labeled 

in accordance with Rule .0614 of this Section, except that the 

original date of shucking shall be added to the new repacked 

container or the original date of shucking shall be used in 

establishing the "SELL BY" or "BEST IF USED BY" date. 

(f)  Repackers shall keep records indicating the source from which 

shellfish were purchased, the date packed, the date of purchase, 

and the names and addresses of shellfish dealers to whom shellfish 

were sold. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0620 SHELLFISH THAWING AND 

REPACKING 

(a)  If frozen shellfish are thawed, they shall be thawed at a 

temperature of 45F or less. 

(b)  Shellfish held for thawing shall be separated from other 

shellfish. 

(c)  Thawed shellfish shall not exceed 45F for more than two 

hours during the repacking process. 

(d)  Containers of repacked, thawed shellfish shall be labeled as 

required in Rule .0619 of this Section and shall also be labeled as 

"PREVIOUSLY FROZEN", or equivalent. 

(e)  Thawed shellfish that remain in original containers shall be 

labeled as required in Rule .0614 of this Section and shall also be 

labeled as "PREVIOUSLY FROZEN", or equivalent. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. April 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0621 RECALL PROCEDURE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-230; 

Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0701 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

DEPURATION 

(a)  In addition to and to the extent not inconsistent with other 

applicable provisions of North Carolina Marine Fisheries 

Commission rules, requirements for depuration shall be in 
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accordance with the 2019 Revision of the National Shellfish 

Sanitation Program (NSSP) Guide for the Control of Molluscan 

Shellfish chapter titled "Depuration", which is incorporated by 

reference, not including subsequent amendments and editions. A 

copy of the reference material is available online at: 

https://www.fda.gov/food/federalstate-food-programs/national-

shellfish-sanitation-program-nssp, at no cost. 

(b)  All laboratory analyses used to evaluate the effectiveness of 

the depuration process shall be performed by a laboratory found 

by a Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Shellfish Laboratory 

Evaluation Officer or by an FDA-certified State Shellfish 

Laboratory Evaluation Officer to conform or provisionally 

conform to the requirements established under the National 

Shellfish Sanitation Program (NSSP). 

(c)  If a method is needed for the analysis of depuration process 

water and shellfish that are used to evaluate the effectiveness of 

the depuration process and no method approved for use within the 

NSSP exists, the following may be used: 

(1) a validated Association of Analytical 

Communities, Bacteriological Analysis 

Manual, or Environmental Protection Agency 

method; or 

(2) an Emergency Use Method as set forth in the 

latest approved edition of the NSSP Guide for 

the Control of Molluscan Shellfish. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0702 FACILITY SUPERVISION 

15A NCAC 18A .0703 FACILITY DESIGN AND 

SANITATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-230; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0704 LABORATORY PROCEDURES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1991; September 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. May 1, 2021; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0705 FACILITY OPERATIONS 

15A NCAC 18A .0706 SHELLFISH SAMPLING 

PROCEDURES 

15A NCAC 18A .0707 DEPURATION PROCESS 

WATER CONTROL - SAMPLING PROCEDURES 

15A NCAC 18A .0708 DEPURATION TREATMENT 

PROCESS WATER – STANDARDS 

15A NCAC 18A .0709 DEPURATION - SHELLFISH 

MEAT STANDARDS 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0710 ULTRAVIOLET UNIT 

15A NCAC 18A .0711 SHELLSTOCK STORAGE 

15A NCAC 18A .0712 DEPURATION - TAGGING AND 

RELEASE OF SHELLFISH 

15A NCAC 18A .0713 DEPURATION - RECORDS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-230; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1990; December 1, 1987; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0801 REQUIREMENTS FOR WET 

STORAGE OF SHELLSTOCK 

(a)  In addition to and to the extent not inconsistent with other 

applicable provisions of North Carolina Marine Fisheries 

Commission Rules, requirements for wet storage shall be in 

accordance with the 2019 Revision of the National Shellfish 

Sanitation Program (NSSP) Guide for the Control of Molluscan 

Shellfish (hereinafter referred to as "Model Ordinance") chapter 

titled "Wet Storage in Approved and Conditionally Approved 

Growing Areas", which is incorporated by reference except as 

provided in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, not including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy of the reference material is 

available online at: https://www.fda.gov/food/federalstate-food-

programs/national-shellfish-sanitation-program-nssp, at no cost. 

(b) Amendments and exceptions to the Model Ordinance chapter 

titled "Wet Storage in Approved and Conditionally Approved 

Growing Areas" incorporated by reference include: 

(1) Section @.01, .04, C(1)(a) is amended to read: 

"Except for a water source in accordance with 

Rule .0413 of this Subchapter, the quality of the 

surface source water prior to treatment shall 

meet, at a minimum, the bacteriological 

standards for the conditionally approved 

classification in the open status. Water 

classified as prohibited or restricted shall not be 

used as source water." 

(2) the following sections are not incorporated by 

reference and shall not apply: Sections @.01, 

.04, C(2)(a)(ii), @.01, .04, C(2)(b), @.01, .04, 

C(2)(c), and @.01, .04, C(2)(d). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 

143B-289.52; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2024. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0802 PLANT DESIGN: SANITATION: 

AND WET STORAGE 

15A NCAC 18A .0803 WET STORAGE WATER 

15A NCAC 18A .0804 SHELLSTOCK CLEANING 

15A NCAC 18A .0805 WET STORAGE TANKS 

15A NCAC 18A .0806 SHELLSTOCK CONTAINERS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-230; 

Eff. February 1, 1987; 

Repealed Eff. April 1, 2024. 
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TITLE 17 - DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 

 

17 NCAC 07B .3101 RADIO AND TELEVISION 

RECEIPTS 

Receipts of radio and television companies derived from the 

broadcasting or telecasting of programs are not subject to sales or 

use tax, unless the receipts are derived from certain digital 

property, video programming, or satellite digital audio radio 

service. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-164.3; 105-164.4; 105-262; 

105-264; 105-467; 105-468; 105-469; 105-483; 105-498; 105-

507.2; 105-509.1; 105-510.1; 105-511.3; 105-537; 105-538; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2009; October 1, 1993; October 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2024. 

 

17 NCAC 07B .4203 CONTRACTORS FOR THE 

FEDERAL GOVERNMENT 

Sales of items, as the term item is defined in G.S. 105-164.3, to a 

contractor are exempt from sale and use tax pursuant to G.S. 105-

164.13(17), when a contract between the United States 

Government, or its agencies and instrumentalities, and a 

contractor contains a title passage clause from the Federal 

Acquisition Regulation as set out in 48 C.F.R. 1, such that title to 

items purchased by the contractor for use in performing the 

contract, pass from the contractor to the United States 

Government, or its agencies and instrumentalities, prior to any use 

by the contractor.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-164.3; 105-164.4; 

105-164.6; 105-164.13; 105-262; 105-264; 105-467; 105-468; 

105-469; 105-483; 105-498; 105-507.2; 105-509.1; 105-510.1; 

105-511.3; 105-537; 105-538; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2006; October 1, 1993; October 1, 

1991; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2024. 

 

17 NCAC 07B .4210 NATIVE AMERICAN INDIAN 

COUNTRY 

(a)  Sales by Merchants on the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indian 

(EBCI) Reservation: 

(1) Pursuant to G.S. 105-164.13(25), sales of items, 

as the term item is defined in G.S. 105-164.3, 

by merchants on the EBCI Reservation are 

exempt from sales and use tax when such 

merchants are authorized to do business on the 

EBCI Reservation and are paying the tribal 

gross receipts levy to the Tribal Council. This 

exemption applies without regard to whether a 

purchaser is an enrolled member of the EBCI. 

(2) Admission charges to an entertainment activity 

on the EBCI Reservation are exempt from sales 

and use tax, pursuant to G.S. 105-164.13(25), 

provided the retailer that offers the 

entertainment activity is authorized to do 

business on the EBCI Reservation and pays the 

tribal gross receipts levy to the Tribal Council. 

This exemption applies without regard to 

whether a purchaser is an enrolled member of 

the EBCI. 

(3) For purposes of this Rule, a sale occurs on the 

EBCI reservation when it is sourced to the 

reservation pursuant to G.S. 105-164.4B. 

(b)  Sales to Federally Recognized Native American Nations: 

(1) Items Sourced to a Native American Nation's 

Indian Country. – Pursuant to G.S. 105-

164.13(17), retail sales of items to a federally 

recognized Native American nation or an 

enrolled member of the federally recognized 

Native American nation residing within that 

nation's Indian Country, as the term Indian 

Country is defined in 18 U.S.C. 1151, are 

exempt from sales and use tax when such items 

are sourced to the nation's Indian Country. 

(2) Items Sourced Outside a Native American 

Nation's Indian Country. -- Retail sales of items 

to a federally recognized Native American 

nation or to an enrolled member of the federally 

recognized Native American nation are subject 

to sales and use tax, pursuant to G.S. 105-164.4, 

when sourced outside the nation's Indian 

Country even though such items may be used, 

or incorporated into improvements within the 

nation's Indian Country. 

(c)  Real Property Contracts with Federally Recognized Native 

American Nations: The sale of items to a real property contractor 

are exempt from sale and use tax, pursuant to G.S. 105-

164.13(17), provided that the items are sourced to a federally 

recognized Native American nation's Indian Country, the 

purchase of the item is to fulfill a real property contract with the 

nation or an enrolled member of the nation, and the item is used 

or installed within the sourced-nation's Indian Country by the 

contractor or the contractor's subcontractor. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-164.3; 105-164.4; 105-

164.4B; 105-164.4H; 105-164.6; 105-164.13; 105-262; 105-264; 

105-467; 105-468; 105-469; 105-483; 105-498; 105-507.2; 105-

509.1; 105-510.1; 105-511.3; 105-537; 105-538; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1982; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2024. 

 

17 NCAC 07B .4404 EQUIPMENT FURNISHED 

WITH OPERATOR 

(a)  A transaction that provides equipment or other tangible 

personal property with an operator for a fixed or indeterminate 

period of time, is not a lease or rental, as defined in G.S. 105-

164.3(121), but is rendering a service if the operator is necessary 

for the equipment or other tangible personal property to "perform 

as designed." The receipts from such services are not subject to 

the sales or use tax imposed by G.S. 105-164.4 unless the service 

is a repair, maintenance, and installation service or other taxable 

service. An operator is necessary for equipment or other tangible 

personal property to "perform as designed" when the operator's 

presence, skill, knowledge, and expertise are necessary to bring 

about the desired effect of the equipment or other tangible 
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personal property. An operator who only maintains, sets-up, or 

inspects the equipment or other tangible personal property, or any 

combination of such actions, is not necessary for the equipment 

or other tangible personal property to "perform as designed." 

(b)  For purposes of G.S. 105-164.13, a person that purchases 

equipment or other tangible personal property to provide a service 

identified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule is not purchasing the 

equipment or other tangible personal property for resale and shall 

pay sales and use tax on the purchase price of the equipment or 

other tangible personal property, pursuant to G.S. 105-164.4, as 

the consumer thereof. 

(c)  A person that leases or rents items of equipment or tangible 

personal property similar to those items provided by that person 

in rendering a service pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall 

maintain records that establish the purchase of items used in the 

provision of a service pursuant to Paragraph (a) from those held 

for lease or rent. A person who fails to maintain the records as 

required by this Paragraph shall pay sales and use tax on the 

purchase of all equipment pursuant to G.S. 105-164.4 

notwithstanding that some equipment may be held for lease or 

rental equipment, and the exemptions provided by G.S. 105-

164.13 for items held for resale shall not be applicable. The 

records shall be maintained until the statute of limitations to 

request a refund and to be issued a proposed assessment have 

expired, as set out in G.S. 105-241.6 and G.S. 105-241.8. 

(d)  A person that provides the type of service described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule that purchases repair parts, lubricants, 

and other tangible personal property, or repair, maintenance, and 

installation services to maintain or repair equipment or other 

tangible personal property shall pay sales and use tax pursuant to 

G.S. 105-164.4, on the purchase price of such items, as the 

consumer of the repair parts, lubricants, other tangible personal 

property, or repair, maintenance, and installation services. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-164.3; 105-164.4; 

105-164.6; 105-164.13; 105-164.22; 105-262; 105-264; 105-

467; 105-468; 105-469; 105-483; 105-498; 105-507.2; 105-

509.1; 105-510.1; 105-511.3; 105-537; 105-538; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2024. 

 

17 NCAC 07B .4503 EQUIPMENT AND SUPPLIES 

FOR LAUNDRIES: ETC. 

(a)  Pursuant to G.S. 105-164.13(10), sales to commercial 

laundries, and pressing and dry cleaning establishments of 

laundry and dry cleaning machinery used in the direct 

performance of the laundering or the pressing and cleaning 

service, as well as parts and accessories attached to such 

equipment and lubricants applied to such equipment, and tangible 

personal property listed in G.S. 105-164.13(10)a are exempt from 

sales and use tax. Examples of items exempt from sales and use 

tax when purchased by commercial laundries and pressing and dry 

cleaning establishments include the following: 

(1) water heaters, water softener tanks, central 

control collection systems, marking machines, 

packaging machines, and folding machines; 

(2) hydraulic fluids used in laundry and dry 

cleaning machinery; 

(3) boiler compounds used in boilers furnishing 

water or steam to the laundering, pressing or 

cleaning machinery; 

(4) steam hose leading directly from the boiler to 

the laundering and dry cleaning machinery; 

(5) press pads and covers for laundering and dry 

cleaning machinery; 

(6) baskets, hampers, casters, or other containers 

used between the laundering and cleaning 

processes to transport or contain garments 

being laundered or cleaned; 

(7) carbon and carbon filters used for reprocessing 

cleaning compounds; 

(8) lint rolls and refills; 

(9) conveyors used to transport garments along the 

laundering, cleaning, and pressing line during 

the process but not conveyors used before the 

laundering, cleaning, and pressing process 

begins or after it has been completed; 

(10) boiler room machinery, including valves, 

fittings and water pumps; and 

(11) transformers located on or adjacent to motors 

that power machinery used in the direct 

performance of laundering and cleaning 

services. 

(b)  Items not classified as laundering and dry cleaning machinery 

or parts or accessories are subject to sales and use tax, pursuant to 

G.S. 105-164.4. Examples of items not classified as laundering 

and dry cleaning machinery or parts or accessories include the 

following:  

(1) coin operated musical devices, amusement 

devices, coin changers, vending machines, and 

repair or replacement parts for such machines; 

(2) baskets, hampers, casters, or containers used for 

general purposes such as to pick up soiled 

garments or deliver clean garments; 

(3) smoke stacks, including any attached steel 

ladders; 

(4) wiring used in the general wiring system; 

(5) sewing machines used in repairing or altering 

the customers' property and the replacement or 

repair parts to the machines; 

(6) tailoring supplies such as buttons, threads, and 

zippers for use in repairing or altering garments 

for which no charge is made to the customer; 

(7) letterheads, monthly reports, envelopes and 

other office supplies; 

(8) protective clothing for employees such as 

rubber gloves, aprons, protective shoes, etc. 

whether paid for by the employer or the 

employee; 

(9) steam hose or pipe used in the general heating 

system; 

(10) janitorial supplies; 

(11) office furniture, fixtures and equipment, 

including cash registers; 

(12) uniforms for employees; 

(13) advertising materials; 
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(14) structural or building materials, supplies, 

fixtures and equipment that shall become a part 

of or be annexed to any building or structure 

being erected, altered or repaired; 

(15) equipment used in the storage process to 

revitalize furs; 

(16) conveyors used before or after the laundering, 

pressing, and cleaning process to transport 

garments, but not those conveyors used to move 

the garments along the laundering, pressing, 

and cleaning line; 

(17) transformers used in connection with general 

wiring and power supply; and 

(18) water softener chemicals. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-164.4; 105-164.6; 105-

164.13; 105-262; 105-264; 105-467; 105-468; 105-469; 105-

483; 105-498; 105-507.2; 105-509.1; 105-510.1; 105-511.3; 

105-537; 105-538; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2009; October 1, 1993; October 1, 1991; 

January 1, 1982; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2024. 

 

17 NCAC 07B .4609 FIRE TRUCKS AND 

EQUIPMENT 

(a)  Firefighting Equipment. -- Retail sales of items such as axes, 

brooms, buckets, shovels, ropes, general purpose tools, gas 

masks, first aid kits, blankets, portable pumps, and portable fire 

extinguishers are subject to sales and use tax, pursuant to G.S. 

105-164.4. Such items are subject to sales and use tax even if they 

are sold with fire trucks, as the items are firefighting equipment 

rather than accessories to the fire truck. 

(b)  Privately Owned Fire Trucks. -- Retail sales of privately 

owned fire trucks or vehicles that have permanently attached 

firefighting equipment and are used only for firefighting purposes 

are classified as special mobile equipment, not a motor vehicle as 

defined in G.S. 105-164.3, and sales thereof are not exempt under 

G.S. 105-164.13(32), but are subject to sales and use tax, pursuant 

to G.S. 105-164.4. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-164.3; 105-164.4; 

105-164.6; 105-164.13; 105-262; 105-264; 105-467; 105-468; 

105-469; 105-483; 105-498; 105-507.2; 105-509.1; 105-510.1; 

105-511.3; 105-537; 105-538; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2006; October 1, 1993; October 1, 

1991; July 1, 1990; January 3, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2024. 

 

17 NCAC 07B .4614 RECREATIONAL VEHICLES 

The definition of motor vehicle in G.S. 105-164.3 includes 

camper trailers, fifth-wheel trailers, motor homes, and travel 

trailers, as defined in G.S. 20-4.01, that are designed primarily for 

use upon the highways. The definition of motor vehicle in G.S 

105-164.3 does not include truck campers, as defined in G.S. 20-

4.01.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-164.3; 105-164.4; 

105-164.6; 105-164.13; 105-187.3; 105-262; 105-264;  

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2006; October 1, 1993; October 1, 

1991; October 1, 1990; July 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2024. 

 

17 NCAC 07B .4701 COMMERCIAL PRINTERS AND 

PUBLISHERS 

(a)  Pursuant to G.S. 105-164.4, retail sales of items, as the term 

item is defined in G.S. 105-164.3, by commercial printers or 

publishers are subject to sales and use tax including subscriptions, 

plates and dies sold to customers, book binding, and other repair, 

maintenance, and installation services. 

(b)  Exempt Purchases of Mill Machinery or Mill Machinery Parts 

or Accessories by Commercial Printers or Publishers. -- Pursuant 

to G.S. 105-164.13(5e), purchases by commercial printers and 

publishers of mill machinery or mill machinery parts or 

accessories for use in the production phase of printing and 

publishing, are exempt from sales and use tax. For purposes of 

this Rule, "Production" as a phase of industrial or manufacturing 

operations shall mean all steps performed in processing and 

refining rooms, and in other quarters and departments of a plant, 

where conditioning, treating, or other operations are done on 

ingredient materials as an actual routine on the assembly or 

processing line turning out a finished product of manufacture for 

sale. The "Production" phase also includes the following: 

(1) The movement of raw materials or ingredients 

from an inventory or a stockpile located on the 

premises of the manufacturing facility to the 

assembly or processing line. 

(2) The movement of goods in process along the 

assembly or processing line. 

(3) The movement of manufactured products from 

the assembly or processing line into shipping or 

storage areas and yards located on the premises 

of the manufacturing facility. 

(4) The work of experimentation and research 

performed on the manufactured products. 

"Production" does not include any activity connected with the 

movement of raw materials or ingredients into inventory nor does 

it include "distribution" which is any activity connected with the 

movement of manufactured products within storage warehouses, 

shipping rooms, and other such finished product storage areas and 

the removal of such products therefrom for sale or shipment, or 

"administration" which is any administrative work of offices, 

promotion of sales, and collection of accounts. Items that are mill 

machinery or mill machinery parts or accessories when purchased 

by a commercial printer or publisher include the following: 

(1) Machinery and equipment and parts or 

accessories thereto for use directly in the 

production of newspapers, magazines, and 

other printed material for sale. 

(2) Custom made plates and dies for use directly in 

the production of newspapers, magazines, and 

other printed material for sale when title to the 

plates and dies does not pass to the printers' 

customers. 
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(3) Tangible personal property such as wood and 

metal used to fabricate plates and dies for use in 

the production of printed material for sale when 

title to the plates and dies does not pass to the 

printers' customers. 

(4) Machinery, equipment, film, and other tangible 

personal property that are used or consumed by 

the printer in the production of the plates and 

dies that are directly used in the production of 

newspapers, magazines, and other printed 

material for sale. 

(5) Lithographic and gravure plates and dies 

retained by the printer or publisher that are 

directly used in the production of newspapers, 

magazines and other printed material for sale.  

(6) Photo engravings, electrotypes, and lithographs 

for direct use in printing tangible personal 

property for sale. 

(7) Printing presses for direct use in printing 

tangible personal property for sale. 

(8) Cushion paper, cover paper, and tissue for use 

in building up the printing surface of the press 

for direct use in printing tangible personal 

property for sale. 

(9) Offset or direct relief duplicating machines and 

repair parts or accessories for such machines, 

including offset blankets and plates. 

(10) Positives and negatives for use in preparing 

plates for use in the printing process.  

(11) Chemicals used to clean printing machinery.  

(12) Metal for making type. 

(13) Computers used in the printing process.  

(14) Mounting tape for use in the preparation of 

plates. 

(15) Printing machines when the machines are used 

to produce newspapers or other printed material 

for sale.  

(16) Photographs to be reproduced in newspapers.  

(e)  In-House Printers. -- The provisions of Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule do not apply to sales of printing equipment and supplies to 

businesses that operate print shops for the production of printed 

matter for their own use and not for sale.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-164.4; 105-164.6; 

105-164.13; 105-262; 105-264; 105-467; 105-468; 105-469; 

105-483; 105-498; 105-507.2; 105-509.1; 105-510.1; 105-511.3; 

105-537; 105-538; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2009; April 1, 2001; October 1, 1993; 

June 1, 1992; October 1, 1991; February 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2024. 

 

17 NCAC 07B .5002 EYEGLASS FRAMES AND 

REPAIR PARTS 

(a)  Eyeglass frames sold in connection with the repair or 

replacement of corrective eyeglasses for human use are exempt 

from sales and use tax, pursuant to G.S. 105-164.13(12), as 

prosthetic devices. Sales of repair or replacement parts for 

prosthetic devices, such as temples, nose pads, temple hinges, 

screws, and ear tips, are also exempt from sales and use tax. A 

person who sells corrective eyeglass frames and repair parts for 

corrective eyeglasses for human use shall keep sales records that 

clearly separate its sales of corrective eyeglass frames and repair 

parts for corrective eyeglasses for human use from sales of other 

items.  

(b)  Pursuant to G.S. 105-164.13(61b), sales of eyeglass frames, 

repair parts for eyeglasses, cases, optical merchandise, and optical 

supplies to registered retailers or wholesale merchants for resale 

are exempt from sales and use tax, when the purchaser complies 

with the requirements of 17 NCAC 07B .0106. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 105-164.3; 105-164.4; 105-

164.6; 105-164.13; 105-164.22; 105-262; 105-264; 105-467; 

105-468; 105-469; 105-483; 105-498; 105-507.2; 105-509.1; 

105-510.1; 105-511.3; 105-537; 105-538; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2024. 

 

 

TITLE 18 - DEPARTMENT OF THE SECRETARY OF 

STATE 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0201 U.S. CURRENCY 

Filers shall tender fees in U.S. dollars and cents.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4;  

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0105(a) Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0202 ONLINE FEE PAYMENT 

Filers who tender fees online shall pay by: 

(1) an automated clearinghouse debit account 

(ACH); 

(2) a credit card; or 

(3) a debit card. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4;  

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0105(b) Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0203 FEES PAID IN PERSON 

Filers who tender fees in person shall pay with: 

(1) one of the following types of checks, made 

payable to the N.C. Department of the Secretary 

of State: 

(a) a personal or business check; or 

(b) a cashier's check; 

(2) cash;  

(3) money order; or 

(4) a credit or debit card. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4;  

Eff. July 1, 2024. 
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18 NCAC 07B .0204 FEES PAID BY USPS OR BY 

DELIVERY SERVICE 

Filers who tender fees through delivery by United States Postal 

Service (USPS) or by a designated delivery service authorized 

pursuant to 26 U.S.C. 7502(f)(2) shall pay using one of the 

following methods, made payable to the N.C. Department of the 

Secretary of State: 

(1) a personal or business check; 

(2) a money order; or 

(3) a cashier's check. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4;  

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0205 FEE FOR DISHONORED 

PAYMENT 

Pursuant to G.S. 25-3-506, the Department may charge a thirty-

five dollar ($35.00) processing fee to a filer if a tendered payment 

is dishonored by a bank or financial institution.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 25-3-506;  

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0105(c) Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0206 FILING NOT PROCESSED IF 

PAYMENT DISHONORED 

The Department shall not continue to process a filing for which 

processing has not been completed if the Department receives 

notice that a payment has been dishonored. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4;  

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0207 DEPARTMENT ACTIONS UPON 

DISHONORED PAYMENT 

If the Department has received notice that a tendered payment has 

been dishonored, regardless of whether the Department has 

completed processing the filing: 

(1) the filing shall be deemed incomplete; 

(2) the filing shall be voided if payment is not made 

in full within 15 calendar days of the dishonor 

pursuant to Rule .0208 of this Section; and 

(3) if any information has been posted on the 

Department's website indicating that 

commissioning, registration, licensure, or 

approval has occurred, the Department shall: 

(a) remove the information from the 

website; or 

(b) annotate the entry as incomplete or 

void. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4;  

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0208 NOTICE TO FILER OF 

DISHONORED PAYMENT 

Upon receipt of notice of dishonor of a tendered payment, the 

Department shall notify a filer orally or in writing that: 

(1) the payment the filer tendered has been 

dishonored; and 

(2) the filing shall: 

(a) not be processed or deemed completed 

until the filer has tendered in full the 

payment and the fee in Rule .0205 of 

this Section; and 

(b) be voided if payment and fees are not 

tendered in full within 15 calendar 

days of the date the Department orally 

or in writing notifies the filer of the 

dishonor. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4;  

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0301 FORM USE REQUIRED 

In submitting a filing, a filer shall: 

(1) use a form in Section .0400 of this Subchapter; 

or 

(2) if there is not a form for the filer's purpose in 

Section .0400 of this Subchapter, provide in 

writing the information required by G.S. 

Chapter 10B or the rules in this Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14(a),(f); 10B-106; 

10B-125; 10B-126; 10B-134.15; 10B-134.17; 10B-134.19; 10B-

134.21; 10B-134.23; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0302 MODE OF FILING 

Filers shall submit filings electronically by means established by 

the Department unless paper filing is permitted pursuant to: 

(1) Chapter 10B of the General Statutes; or 

(2) Rule .0303 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-6; 10B-106; 10B-

125; 10B-134.19; 10B-134.21;  

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0303 PAPER FILINGS PERMITTED 

Paper filings shall be permitted: 

(1) where the Department has not established 

electronic means for submittal of a filing; or 

(2) in the case of a traditional notary public: 

(a) initial applications; 

(b) recommissioning applications; and 

(c) affidavits, criminal records, and other 

documents required to be submitted 

with applications by notary, electronic 

notary, or notary instructor applicants 

pursuant to Chapter 10B of the 

General Statutes or the rules in this 

Chapter. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-5(e);  

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0304 INAPPLICABLE QUESTIONS 

If a question or item is not applicable to a filer, the filer shall not 

leave the question or item blank but shall respond "not applicable" 

or "N/A." 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-5(e); 10B-6; 10B-

106; 10B-125; 10B-134.19; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0305 RESPONSE TO QUESTIONS 

AND REQUESTS FOR INFORMATION 

A filer shall respond to departmental requests for information 

within the time and in the manner specified based upon the 

Department's consideration of: 

(1) the nature of the information requested; 

(2) the urgency of the Department's need for the 

information; and 

(3) the ease of production by the recipient of the 

request. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-126; 10B-134.17; 

10B-134.19; 10B-134.21;  

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0306 ATTACHMENTS 

If a form does not include enough space to provide a complete and 

accurate response to a question or request for information from 

the Department, a filer shall include an attachment with the form.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-6; 10B-106; 10B-

125; 10B-134.19; 10B-134.21;  

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0307 NOTICE OF ATTACHMENT 

A filer shall: 

(1) make a note at the location of a question or 

request for information that an attachment has 

been added in order to fully respond. Note: An 

example is "See Attachment 1"; and 

(2) identify on the attachment to which question or 

request for information the additional 

information relates. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-6; 10B-106; 10B-

125; 10B-134.19; 10B-134.21;  

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0308 SIGNATURE FOR ENTITY 

(a)  If a person is signing a form or other document for a 

technology provider or other business entity: 

(1) the signer shall be duly authorized by law or the 

entity to sign; and 

(2) the signer shall state the signer's title, position, 

and authorization to sign. 

(b)  For purposes of this Rule, "duly authorized by law" means as 

required by G.S. 55D-10(b)(5) for an entity, by the owner for a 

sole proprietorship, or by a general partner for a general 

partnership. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-6; 10B-106; 10B-

125; 10B-134.19; 10B-134.21;  

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0309 FORM PREPARER SIGNATURE 

REQUIRED 

A form preparer signing for a technology provider or other 

business entity shall: 

(1) sign in the space provided for a preparer's 

signature on a form; or 

(2) document and note "form preparer" next to the 

signature in the space provided for a preparer's 

signature on a form. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125; 10B-126; 10B-

134.17; 10B-134.19; 10B-134.21;  

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0310 INCOMPLETE FILINGS 

The Department shall consider a filing incomplete for: 

(1) failure to provide information required pursuant 

to Chapter 10B of the General Statutes or the 

rules in this Chapter;  

(2) lack of a signature required by Chapter 10B of 

the General Statutes or the rules in this Chapter; 

or 

(3) lack of a notarial act where required by Chapter 

10B or the rules in this Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125; 10B-126; 10B-

134.17; 10B-134.19; 10B-134.21;  

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0311 REJECTION OF INCOMPLETE 

FILINGS 

The Department shall reject a filing if it is incomplete and not 

remedied by the filer within the time specified by the Department. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-134.19;  

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0312 FILING DATE OF DOCUMENT 

A form or document is deemed filed on the day that it is deemed 

complete and shall not relate back to the date the filing was 

received. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4;  

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0401 GENERAL 

All forms issued pursuant to Chapter 10B of the General Statutes 

may be found on the Department's website or, where not available 

through the website, may be obtained by contacting the 

Department using one of the means set out in Section .0100 of this 

Subchapter. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-5(e); 10B-6; 10B-

106; 10B-125; 10B-134.17; 10B-134.21;  

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0104 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0402 CONTACT INFORMATION 

For purposes of the rules in this Section, unless otherwise 

indicated, "contact information" means: 

(1) for an individual who is identified pursuant to 

G.S. 10B-134.19(c)(2): 

(a) the full name of the individual; 

(b) the following addresses: 

(i) residential address; 

(ii) business address; 

(iii) mailing address; 

(c) business telephone numbers; 

(d) business email addresses; 

(e) any other names by which the 

individual is known, including 

nicknames; 

(2) for a business entity: 

(a) the name of the entity on record with 

the Secretary of State, formation or 

filing office in its state, federally 

recognized tribe, or country of 

formation; 

(b) the name of the state, federally 

recognized tribe, or country of 

formation; 

(c) the street address, and the mailing 

address if different, of the entity's 

principal office; 

(d) the street address, and the mailing 

address if different, of the entity's 

registered office; 

(e) the principal office telephone number 

of the entity; 

(f) the email address of the entity; 

(g) the URL for the entity's website, if 

any; 

(h) the name of an individual who is 

designated by the entity as the primary 

contact between the Department and 

the entity, and for that individual: 

(i) title and position; 

(ii) telephone number; 

(iii) mailing address if different 

from the addresses provided 

in Sub-Items (2)(c) and (d) of 

this Item; 

(iv) primary email address; 

(v) secondary email address, if 

applicable; 

(i) the name of an individual designated 

as the secondary contact between the 

Department and the entity if the 

individual named in Sub-Item (2)(h) 

of this Item is not available; and 

(j) the information in Sub-Item (2)(h) of 

this Item for the secondary contact 

individual named in Sub-Item (i) of 

this Item; or 

(3) for a registered agent listed on an application 

filed pursuant to G.S. 10B-134.19: 

(a) the name of the registered agent; 

(b) the registered office address for the 

registered agent and mailing address if 

different; and 

(c) a business email address for the 

registered agent. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0403 CERTIFICATE OF 

APPOINTMENT FORM 

The certificate of appointment form includes: 

(1) space for the entry by the Register of Deeds in 

the county of the commission to enter: 

(a) the name of the individual 

administering the oath; 

(b) the title of the individual 

administering the oath; 

(c) the name of the appointee who 

appeared before the individual and 

took the oath; and 

(d) the signature of the individual who 

administers the oath; and 

(2) space for the signature of the notary public after 

the oath has been administered. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4;  

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0404 ELECTRONIC NOTARY 

PUBLIC REGISTRATION FORM 

An electronic notary public applicant registration form includes: 

(1) the name on the applicant's commission; 

(2) the applicant's commission number;  

(3) whether the applicant has any changes to report 

under G.S. 10B-50, G.S. 10B-51, G.S. 10B-52, 

G.S. 10B-53, G.S. 10B-54, 18 NCAC 07F 

.0403, 18 NCAC 07F .1106, 18 NCAC 07F 

.1109, or 18 NCAC 07F .1110; 

(4) for reapplications, a statement with regard to 

technology providers that: 

(a) the notary will continue to use: 

(i) the electronic notarization 

system of the technology 

provider for which the notary 

has previously provided 

notice; and 

(ii) the custodian for the 

electronic journal for which 
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the notary has previously 

provided notice; 

(b) the names of the technology provider 

that the notary will now use; or 

(c) at this time, the notary does not have a 

technology provider; 

(5) the signature of the electronic notary applicant; 

and 

(6) the date on which the applicant signs the form. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-106; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0405 FORM NOTIFYING 

DEPARTMENT OF SELECTION OF TECHNOLOGY 

PROVIDERS BY ELECTRONIC NOTARIES  

The form notifying the Department of the selection of technology 

providers by an electronic notary public includes: 

(1) the name on the notary's commission; 

(2) the notary's commission number; 

(3) the name of the technology providers selected 

by the notary to provide: 

(a) electronic signatures; 

(b) electronic seals; and 

(c) electronic journals; 

(4) the name of the custodian selected by the notary 

to provide custodial services for electronic 

journals; 

(5) for an electronic notary who plans to perform 

remote electronic notarial acts, the names of the 

technology providers selected by the notary to 

provide platform services; 

(6) the anticipated dates on which the notary will 

begin using the technology providers; 

(7) the signature of the notary; and 

(8) the date on which the notary signs the form. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-106; 10B-125; 10B-

126; 10B-127; 10B-134.15; 10B-134.21; 10B-134.23; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0406 NOTICE TO DEPARTMENT OF 

CHANGE BY ELECTRONIC NOTARY IN 

TECHNOLOGY PROVIDER 

The notice to the Department of change by an electronic notary in 

technology provider form includes: 

(1) the name of the technology provider that the 

electronic notary previously notified the 

Department the notary would use; 

(2) the type of service the technology provider 

previously provided to the notary; 

(3) the date on which the notary stopped or will 

stop using the technology provider to perform 

electronic notarizations; 

(4) the name of the technology provider that the 

notary will now use; 

(5) the date on which the notary anticipates 

beginning to use the new technology provider; 

(6) the signature of the notary; and 

(7) the date on which the notary signs the form. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-106; 10B-125; 10B-

126; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0101 SCOPE 

The rules in this Subchapter implement Chapter 10B, Article 2, of 

the General Statutes, the Electronic Notary Act. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-126; 

10B-134.15; 10B-134.17; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07C .0101 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0102 DEFINITIONS 

For purposes of Article 2 of Chapter 10B of the General Statutes 

and this Subchapter: 

(1) "Approved vendor for electronic notarizations," 

"approved electronic notary solution provider," 

or "AVEN" means a person approved by the 

Department to provide an electronic 

notarization system pursuant to Article 2 of 

Chapter 10B of the General Statutes. 

(2) "Biometric authentication" means proving the 

identity of a user by requiring verification of the 

user's identity through technologies that require 

measurement and analysis of one or more 

human physiological or behavioral 

characteristics of the user in order to access and 

use an electronic notarization system. Note: 

Biometric authentication technologies include 

fingerprint scanning devices, retinal scanning 

devices, and handwriting analysis devices. 

(3) "Electronic notarization system" means a set of 

applications, programs, hardware, software, or 

technology approved by the Department that is 

designed to enable a notary to perform 

electronic or remote electronic notarizations. 

(4) "Electronic notary applicant" means a 

commissioned North Carolina notary public 

who applies to be registered or reregistered as 

an electronic notary public. 

(5) "Electronic notary's electronic signature" 

means: 

(a) an electronic image of the handwritten 

signature of the electronic notary 

public in the name of the notary as it 

appears on the notary's commission; 

and 

(b) the AVEN's or other technology 

provider's security features attached to 

the signature in Sub-Item (5)(a) of this 

Rule. 

(6) "Independently verifiable" means capable of 

government or third-party authentication of a 
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notarial act, an electronic notary's identity and 

current status with the Department. 

(7) "In the presence of the electronic notary at the 

time of notarization" means that an individual 

and an electronic notary public are in close 

physical proximity to one another without using 

technology to establish personal appearance. 

(8) "Password authentication" means requiring the 

user to enter a secret word, phrase, or symbol 

set in order to access and use an electronic 

notarization system. 

(9) "Token authentication" means requiring use of 

a physical device in addition to a password or 

personal identification number ("PIN" number) 

in order to access and use an electronic 

notarization system. Note: Physical devices 

used in token authentication technologies 

include magnetic cards or "smart cards" and 

Universal Serial Bus (USB) memory sticks or 

"USB keys." 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-106; 10B-125(b); 

10B-126; 10B-134.15; 10B-134.17; 10B-134.21;  

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07C .0102 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0103 ELECTRONIC NOTARIES 

PERFORMING REMOTE ELECTRONIC NOTARIAL 

ACTS 

An electronic notary public shall not perform a remote electronic 

notarial act until the electronic notary has complied with the 

requirements of this Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-106; 10B-125; 10B-

126; 10B-134.15; 10B-134.17; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0201 VALID COMMISSION 

An electronic notary applicant shall hold a valid North Carolina 

notary commission and shall affirm that the applicant continues to 

meet the qualifications to hold the notary commission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-106; 10B-125(b); 

10B-126; 10B-134.15; 10B-134.17; 10B-134.21;  

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07C .0201(a) Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0301 APPROVED COURSE OF STUDY 

FOR ELECTRONIC NOTARIES PUBLIC 

(a)  The Department shall develop the training course and testing 

for applicants for electronic notary public registration. 

(b)  The Department shall train certified notary instructors to teach 

the training course and administer testing for electronic notary 

applicants. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-126; 10B-

134.21; 

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07C .0301 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0302 COURSES TO BE TAUGHT BY 

CERTIFIED NOTARY INSTRUCTORS 

Before submitting an application for registration as an electronic 

notary public, an individual shall attend and successfully 

complete an electronic notary course taught by a certified notary 

instructor. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-125; 10B-

126; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0303 ELECTRONIC NOTARY 

COURSE 

Before performing a remote electronic notarization, electronic 

notaries public registered prior to July 1, 2024, shall either: 

(1) successfully complete a remote electronic 

notarization course module; or 

(2) successfully complete an electronic notary class 

including training on remote electronic 

notarization. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-125; 10B-

126; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0304 STUDENT IDENTITY 

Each electronic notary course student shall: 

(1) be personally known to the certified notary 

instructor; or 

(2) present satisfactory evidence of identity to the 

certified notary instructor. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-125; 10B-

126; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0305 PASSING SCORE ON 

EXAMINATION 

A passing score on the electronic notary course examination shall 

be 80 percent or higher. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

38:17 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 1, 2024 

1138 

18 NCAC 07F .0401 SUBMISSSION 

The electronic notary applicant shall electronically submit the 

electronic notary registration form, described at 18 NCAC 07B 

.0404. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-106;  

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07C .0201(b) Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0402 TIMING OF APPLICATION 

An electronic notary applicant shall submit an application to be 

registered as an electronic notary public within three months of 

successfully completing the electronic notary course. 

Note: For the purposes of this Rule, "month" shall mean that term 

as defined in G.S. 12-3(3). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-106; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0403 NOTICE TO DEPARTMENT OF 

CHANGES 

An electronic notary applicant shall have provided all notices to 

the Department required by Chapter 10B of the General Statutes 

and the rules in this Chapter before submitting an application. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-50; 10B-51; 10B-

52; 10B-53; 10B-106; 10B-126(d); 10B-127; 10B-134.15; 10B-

134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0404 FAILURE TO SUBMIT 

APPLICATION IN TIME 

The Department shall deny an application that does not comply 

with Rule .0402 of this Section. If the applicant reapplies, the 

electronic notary applicant shall comply with the following: 

(1) successfully complete the electronic notary 

course again; 

(2) submit a new application; and 

(3) tender applicable fees. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-106; 10B-125; 10B-

126; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0503 NOTICE OF DEPARTMENT'S 

ACTIONS FOR QUALIFIED ELECTRONIC NOTARY 

APPLICANTS 

The Department shall notify the notary public that the notary is 

qualified by electronically issuing an electronic notary 

registration certificate to the electronic notary public. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-106; 10B-125; 10B-

126; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0505 OATHS TIMING 

18 NCAC 07F .0506 EVIDENCE OF IDENTITY 

18 NCAC 07F .0507 CERTIFICATE DELIVERY 

18 NCAC 07F .0508 REGISTRATION EFFECTIVE 

DATE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-125(b), 10B-126(d); 47-

16.5; 47-16.7; 147-36; 15 USC 7002; 

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07C .0202(a),(b),(c),(d) Eff. June 1, 

2023; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0509 REGISTRATION EFFECTIVE 

DATE 

The applicant's electronic notary public registration shall be 

effective as of the date stated on the registration certificate. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-106; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0512 CONFIRMATION OF 

ELECTRONIC NOTARY STATUS 

Upon electronic request of a technology provider, the Department 

shall report a notary public's status as an electronic notary public 

registered to perform electronic and remote electronic 

notarizations. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-106; 10B-134.15; 

10B-134.17; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0513 PERFORMING ELECTRONIC 

AND REMOTE ELECTRONIC NOTARIAL ACTS 

A notary public shall not perform any electronic or remote 

electronic notarial act until: 

(1) the notary has received the electronic notary 

registration certificate; and 

(2) the electronic notary public has provided notice 

to the Department of all technology providers 

pursuant to Rule .0601 of this Subchapter.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.17; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0601 NOTICE TO DEPARTMENT OF 

TECHNOLOGY PROVIDER 

An electronic notary public shall use the form described in 18 

NCAC 07B .0405 to provide notice to the Department of all 

technology providers used: 

(1) to affix the electronic notary's electronic 

signature; 

(2) to affix the electronic notary's seal; 

(3) as the means to create and maintain the 

electronic notary's electronic journal and a 

backup copy of the journal; 
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(4) as the custodian of the electronic notary's 

journal; and 

(5) as the platform that the electronic notary will 

use if the notary intends to perform remote 

notarial acts. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125; 10B-126; 10B-

127; 10B-134.15; 10B-134.17; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0602 APPROVED TECHNOLOGY 

PROVIDER 

An electronic notary public shall use only technology providers 

approved or licensed by the Department and listed on the 

Department's website. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.17; 10B-134.21; 10B-134.23; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0701 UNIQUE SIGNATURE 

The electronic notary signature shall be independently verifiable 

and specific to each electronic notary public. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d); 10B-127; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07C .0401(a) Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0702 SOLE CONTROL 

The electronic notary public shall retain exclusive control of the 

electronic notary signature such that the electronic signature can 

be attributed solely to the electronic notary.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d); 10B-127; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07C .0401(b) Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0703 EXCLUSIVE 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-125(b), 10B-126(d); 47-

16.5; 47-16.7; 147-36; 15 USC 7002; 

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07C .0401(c) Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0704 ELECTRONIC SIGNATURE 

The electronic notary public's signature shall: 

(1) be applied to and logically associated 

electronically with the notarized document; and 

(2) link the data in such a manner that any 

subsequent alterations are observable through 

visual examination of: 

(a) the underlying document; or 

(b) the electronic notary certificate.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d); 10B-127; 10B-134.21;  

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07C .0401(d) Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0705 APPEARANCE OF 

ELECTRONIC SIGNATURE 

An electronic notary public shall: 

(1) electronically sign the electronic notary 

certificate; and 

(2) verify that the image of the electronic notary's 

handwritten electronic signature is an accurate 

representation of the notary's handwritten 

signature. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d); 10B-127; 10B-134.21;  

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07C .0401(e) Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0706 SIGNATURE COMPLIANCE 

An electronic notary public shall ensure that the electronic 

notary's electronic signature complies with Chapter 10B of the 

General Statutes and the rules in this Subchapter each time it is 

affixed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d); 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0707 SIGNATURE REVIEW BEFORE 

USE 

An electronic notary public shall review the electronic notary's 

electronic signature for accuracy before the signature is used for 

the first time. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d); 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0708 AFFIXING ELECTRONIC 

SIGNATURE 

An electronic notary public shall not affix the electronic notary's 

electronic signature until: 

(1) the principals have appeared before the 

electronic notary as required by Article 2 of 

Chapter 10B of the General Statutes; 
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(2) the principals have been identified; 

(3) the oath or affirmation has been administered, 

if required; 

(4) the principals have affixed their signatures to 

the electronic document or acknowledged 

them, if applicable; and 

(5) the journal entry has been made in accordance 

with the rules in 18 NCAC 07I. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d); 10B-134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0709 REVIEW AFTER AFFIXING 

ELECTRONIC SIGNATURE 

After the electronic notary public affixes the notary's electronic 

signature, and before the electronic signature is committed by the 

notary, the electronic notary shall review the electronic signature 

to ensure that it: 

(1) is present on the notary certificate; 

(2) is legible; and 

(3) does not obscure: 

(a) the notary certificate; 

(b) any content in the notary certificate; or 

(c) any content in the document being 

notarized. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d); 10B-127; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0801 UNIQUE SEAL 

The electronic notary seal shall be independently verifiable and 

specific to each electronic notary public. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d); 10B-127; 10B-134.21;  

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07C .0402(a) Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0802 SOLE CONTROL 

The electronic notary public shall retain exclusive control of the 

electronic notary seal such that the electronic notary seal can be 

attributed solely to the electronic notary. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d); 10B-127; 10B-134.17; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07C .0402(b) Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0803 EXCLUSIVE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-125(b); 10B-126(d); 47-

16.5; 47-16.7; 147-36; 15 USC 7002; 

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07C .0402(c) Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0804 ATTRIBUTES OF ELECTRONIC 

SEAL 

The electronic notary seal shall: 

(1) be attached to, or logically associated with, a 

notarized document; and 

(2) link the data in such a manner that any 

subsequent alterations are observable through 

visual examination of: 

(a) the underlying document; or 

(b) the electronic notary certificate.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d); 10B-127; 10B-134.21;  

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07C .0402(d) Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0805 APPEARANCE OF 

ELECTRONIC NOTARY SEAL 

An electronic notary public shall: 

(1) electronically affix the electronic notary seal; 

and 

(2) verify that the image is an accurate 

representation of the seal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d); 10B-134.21;  

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07C .0402(e) Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0806 PERIMETER 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-125(b); 10B-126(d); 47-

16.5; 47-16.7; 147-36; 15 USC 7002; 

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 

6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07C .0402(f) Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2024. 
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18 NCAC 07F .0807 CONTENTS OF ELECTRONIC 

NOTARY SEAL 

An electronic notary public shall ensure that the electronic 

notary's electronic notary seal has: 

(1) a visible border: 

(a) having a physical appearance of the 

seal that replicates the appearance of 

an inked seal on paper; 

(b) with the size and shape required by 

G.S. 10B-37(c); and 

(c) that includes an identifier assigned by 

the Department to the producer of the 

electronic seal; and 

(2) inside its border: 

(a) the information required by G.S. 10B-

117(1), (2), and (4); 

(b) the words: 

(i) "State of North Carolina"; 

(ii) "North Carolina"; or 

(iii) the abbreviation "N.C."; 

(c) the name of the county of commission 

with either: 

(i) the word "County"; or 

(ii) the abbreviation "Co."; and 

(d) the expiration date of the electronic 

notary's commission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d);  

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07C .0402(g) Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0808 USE OF ELECTRONIC NOTARY 

SEALS  

Only the electronic notary public whose commission name and 

county of commission is incorporated into the electronic seal is 

permitted to apply the electronic notary's electronic notary seal to 

an electronic document. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d);  

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07C .0602 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0809 SEAL COMPLIANCE 

An electronic notary public shall ensure that the electronic 

notary's electronic seal complies with Chapter 10B of the General 

Statutes and the rules in this Subchapter each time it is affixed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d); 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0810 SEAL LIMITATION 

An electronic notary public's electronic seal shall include no 

information or images other than those required by Rule .0807 of 

this Subchapter.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d); 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0811 SEAL REVIEW BEFORE USE 

An electronic notary public shall review the electronic notary's 

electronic seal for compliance with the rules in this Section before 

the seal is used for the first time. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d); 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0812 AFFIXING ELECTRONIC SEAL 

An electronic notary public shall not affix the electronic notary's 

electronic seal until: 

(1) the principals have appeared before the 

electronic notary as required by Article 2 of 

Chapter 10B of the General Statutes; 

(2) the principals have been identified; 

(3) the oaths or affirmations have been 

administered, if required; 

(4) the principals have affixed their signatures to 

the electronic document or acknowledged them 

if applicable; and 

(5) the journal entry has been made in accordance 

with the rules in 18 NCAC 07I. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d); 10B-134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0813 REVIEW AFTER AFFIXING 

ELECTRONIC SEAL 

After the electronic notary public affixes the electronic notary's 

electronic seal, and before the electronic notary commits the 

electronic seal, the electronic notary shall review the notary's 

electronic seal to ensure that it: 

(1) is present on the notary certificate; 

(2) is legible; and 

(3) does not obscure: 

(a) the notary certificate; 

(b) any content in the notary certificate; or 

(c) any content in the document being 

notarized. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d); 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0814 COMMITMENT 

After an electronic notary public has complied with the 

requirements of Sections .0700 and .0800 of this Subchapter with 
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regard to review of signatures and seals after affixing them, the 

electronic notary shall: 

(1) ensure that the required journal entry has been 

made; and 

(2) then commit: 

(a) the electronic notarial signature; 

(b) the electronic notarial seal; and 

(c) the content of the journal entry. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d); 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0901 REREGISTRATION 

An electronic notary public applying to reregister as an electronic 

notary shall comply with application procedures: 

(1) in Chapter 10B of the General Statutes; and 

(2) in this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-106; 10B-125; 10B-

126; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07C .0203 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0902 TIMING OF REREGISTRATION 

An electronic notary public desiring to reregister and who does 

not apply for reregistration at the same time the notary applies for 

recommissioning shall comply with Rule .0905 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-106; 10B-125; 10B-

126; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0903 FORM 

An electronic notary public shall use the form described in 18 

NCAC 07B .0404 to apply for reregistration as an electronic 

notary. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-106; 10B-125; 10B-

126; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0904 EDUCATION 

An applicant for reregistration as an electronic notary public shall 

successfully complete the electronic notary course again before 

applying. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125; 10B-126; 10B-

134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0905 ELECTRONIC NOTARY 

REREGISTRATION OTHER THAN AT 

RECOMMISSIONING 

An electronic notary public who does not apply for reregistration 

as an electronic notary at the same time that the notary applies for 

recommissioning as a traditional notary and who later desires to 

reregister as an electronic notary shall: 

(1) successfully complete the electronic notary 

course again; 

(2) apply for reregistration; and 

(3) pay the applicable fee. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125; 10B-126; 10B-

134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .0906 REGISTRATION  

Section .0500 of this Subchapter shall apply to an electronic 

notary applicant who is reregistered as an electronic notary public. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.17; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .1001 EMPLOYERS OF ELECTRONIC 

NOTARIES 

(a)  Neither the employer nor any of the employer's employees or 

agents shall use or permit the use of an electronic notary seal or 

electronic notary signature by anyone other than the electronic 

notary public to whom it is registered. 

(b)  Upon the cessation of employment of an electronic notary 

public, the employer of the electronic notary shall: 

(1) have no control of the electronic notary's 

electronic notary seal; or 

(2) eliminate the ability of any other person to use 

the former electronic notary employee's 

electronic notary seal and electronic notary's 

electronic signature.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d); 10B-134.15; 10B-134.17; 10B-134.21;  

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07C .0603 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .1002 PROTECTING ACCESS 

An electronic notary public shall limit access to the electronic 

notary signatures, electronic seals, and journals by complying 

with the provider's requirements for the use of means of 

authentication approved by the Department.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.17; 10B-134.21;  

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07C .0604 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .1003 RETENTION OF ELECTRONIC 

JOURNAL 

An electronic notary public shall maintain a copy of the electronic 

notary's electronic journal for 10 years after the last notarial act. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-126(d); 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.17; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .1004 NOTARY CREDENTIAL 

SHARING FORBIDDEN 

An electronic notary public shall not share the means of 

authentication that the electronic notary uses to access an 

electronic notarization system with anyone. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-126; 10B-134.15; 

10B-134.17; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

18 NCAC 07F .1101 PRESENCE REQUIREMENT 

FOR ELECTRONIC NOTARIZATION 

When an electronic notary public performs an electronic 

notarization, the principal shall be in the presence of the electronic 

notary at the time of notarization so that: 

(1) the principal and the electronic notary can see, 

hear, and communicate with each other; and 

(2) the principal can physically provide to the 

electronic notary identification documents as 

required under G.S. 10B-3(22).  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d);  

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07C .0403 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .1102 PRESENCE REQUIREMENT 

FOR REMOTE ELECTRONIC NOTARIZATION 

When an electronic notary public performs a remote electronic 

notarization, the remotely located principal shall appear before the 

electronic notary at the time of notarization using communication 

technology.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d); 10B-134.21;  

Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07C .0601 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .1103 INDIVIDUAL PRINCIPAL 

SIGNATURES FOR ELECTRONIC NOTARIAL ACT 

An electronic notary public who performs an electronic or remote 

electronic notarial act shall require the principal to affix each 

signature individually. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d);  

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .1104 ADDITIONAL OBLIGATIONS 

In addition to complying with the continuing obligations imposed 

by the rules in 18 NCAC 07D, an electronic notary public shall 

comply with the requirements of 18 NCAC 07I. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-106(f); 10B-125(b); 

10B-126(d); 10B-134.15; 10B-134.17; 10B-134.21;  

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .1105 NO ELECTRONIC 

NOTARIZATION OF INK SIGNATURE 

An electronic notary public shall not use the electronic notary's 

electronic signature and electronic seal to notarize an ink 

signature signed by hand. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d); 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .1106 NOTICE OF CHANGES 

Within 10 business days of an electronic notary public choosing 

to use a different technology provider, an electronic notary shall 

notify the Department using the form described in 18 NCAC 07B 

.0406.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-106(f); 10B-125(b); 

10B-126(d); 10B-134.15; 10B-134.17; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .1107 TECHNOLOGICAL ISSUE AS 

REASON TO HALT ELECTRONIC OR REMOTE 

ELECTRONIC NOTARIAL ACT 

An electronic notary public shall not perform an electronic 

notarial act or a remote notarial act if there is: 

(1) a complete technological failure that impedes 

the performance of the notarial act; or 

(2) a partial technological failure that the electronic 

notary decides warrants termination of the 

transaction. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d); 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .1108 RESOLUTION OF 

TECHNOLOGICAL ISSUES  

An electronic notary public may continue and complete an 

electronic or remote electronic notarial transaction if the 

electronic notary concludes that any technological failure: 

(1) has been resolved; 

(2) will not impair performance of the notarial act; 

and 

(3) will not discredit the integrity of the notary 

certificate, seal, or journal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d); 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 
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18 NCAC 07F .1109 CEASING TO USE A 

TECHNOLOGY PROVIDER 

An electronic notary public shall notify the Department within 10 

business days of the date on which: 

(1) the electronic notary cancels a contract or 

subscription with a technology provider; or 

(2) the electronic notary is prevented by the 

provider from accessing the technology 

provider's services. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-106(f); 10B-125(b); 

10B-126(d); 10B-127(b); 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .1110 NOTICE OF CANCELLATION 

BY PROVIDER 

An electronic notary public shall notify the Department within 10 

business days if the technology provider takes actions that: 

(1) suspend or halt the provider's operations or the 

availability of its technology; or 

(2) impair the ability of the electronic notary to 

perform notarial functions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d); 10B-127(b); 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07F .1111 CONTENT OF NOTICE 

A notice pursuant to Rules .1109 or .1110 of this Section shall 

include: 

(1) the reason for the notice; and 

(2) any other information the electronic notary 

public thinks may help the Department to assess 

the action of the provider. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-125(b); 10B-

126(d); 10B-127(b); 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0101 NOTARIES SUBJECT TO 

JOURNALING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  An electronic notary public who performs electronic notarial 

acts shall maintain an electronic journal in conformity with the 

rules in this Subchapter. 

(b)  A notary public performing a traditional notarial act who 

maintains a journal in conformity with the rules in this Subchapter 

shall be deemed to have complied with G.S. 10B-38. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0102 DEFINITIONS 

The definitions in this Rule apply to this Subchapter: 

(1) "Canceled act" means an instance where a 

notary public or a principal begins the notarial 

transaction process and halts it for any reason. 

Note: An example of a canceled act would be 

one where the notary is not able to establish the 

identity of the signer as required by G.S. 10B-

20. 

(2) "Journal" means a record of notarial acts that is 

created and maintained by a notary public in 

compliance with Chapter 10B of the General 

Statutes and the rules in this Subchapter. 

(3) "Mode of notarial act" means a traditional 

notarization, an electronic notarization, or a 

remote electronic notarization. 

(4) "Supplemental information" means information 

that a notary public enters into a journal: 

(a) as a separate entry that is not for a 

notarial act; 

(b) that relates to a prior notarial act 

recorded in the journal; and 

(c) that may be appended to the prior 

notarial act entry in the electronic 

journal. 

Note: An entry six months after the initial 

committed entry stating that the notary public 

received a subpoena for that initial committed 

journal entry is an example of supplemental 

information. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0103 JOURNAL REQUIREMENT 

For any journal created pursuant to this Subchapter: 

(1) an electronic notary public shall maintain an 

accurate backup copy of the notary's journal; 

and 

(2) a traditional notary public who maintains a 

journal shall retain a copy of a journal or any 

portion of a journal delivered to a third party.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0104 JOURNAL OWNERSHIP 

The information in the notary journal is the private property of the 

notary public. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0105 ENTRY OF DATA INTO 

JOURNAL 

A notary public shall be the only person to make entries into the 

notary's journal, unless otherwise permitted for traditional 

notaries by Chapter 10B of the General Statutes or Rule .0106 of 

this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 
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18 NCAC 07I .0106 EXCEPTIONS TO RULE .0105 

Exceptions to Rule .0105 of this Section shall be limited to: 

(1) the signatures of the principals; 

(2) the signatures of credible witnesses; and 

(3) the signatures of the designees of the principals 

pursuant to G.S. 10B-20(e). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0202 FORM OF ELECTRONIC 

NOTARY JOURNAL 

Electronic notarizations and remote electronic notarizations shall 

be documented in an electronic journal that is maintained as an 

electronic document. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0203 COMBINED JOURNAL 

A notary public may maintain an electronic journal that includes 

entries for any of these acts that the notary is qualified to perform: 

(1) traditional notarial acts; 

(2) electronic notarial acts; and 

(3) remote electronic notarial acts. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0204 ENTRIES IN A TANGIBLE 

JOURNAL 

Entries in a tangible journal shall be: 

(1) entered in permanent ink; and 

(2) in chronological order. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0205 REQUIREMENTS FOR A 

TANGIBLE JOURNAL 

A tangible journal shall: 

(1) be made in a bound journal into which pages 

cannot be inserted; and 

(2) have on the first page: 

(a) the name of the notary public as 

commissioned; 

(b) the commission date of the notary; and 

(c) the county of the commission; and 

(3) have sequentially numbered pages. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0206 PROVISION OF JOURNAL TO 

DEPARTMENT 

When a person responds to a request from the Department for all 

or part of a notary public's journal, the person shall submit the 

journal together with a transmittal document containing: 

(1) the name on the notary's commission; 

(2) the most recent commission date of the notary; 

and 

(3) the dates of the first and last entries in the 

journal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.17; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0207 ACTS INCLUDED IN JOURNAL 

The journal shall contain entries by the notary public that 

document all notarial acts completed by the notary or canceled. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0208 DESIGNATION OF NOTARIAL 

ACT 

Except as set out in Rule .0209 of this Section, a notary public 

who maintains a journal shall state in the journal whether each 

notarial act entered into the journal is: 

(1) traditional; 

(2) electronic; or 

(3) remote electronic. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38: 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0209 EXCEPTION TO RULE .0208 

A notary public who enters only a single mode of notarial act in a 

journal may: 

(1) make a single notation of the mode of notarial 

acts at the beginning of the journal; and 

(2) omit the notations required by Rule .0208 of 

this Section. 

Note: An example would be a journal first-page statement that the 

journal documents only traditional notarial acts. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0210 DESIGNATION OF TYPE OF 

NOTARIAL ACT 

A notary public shall designate in the journal whether the type of 

a notarial act is: 

(1) an acknowledgement; 

(2) the taking of a verification or proof; 

(3) an administration of an oath or affirmation; 

(4) a notarization of an absentee voter application; 

or 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

38:17 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 1, 2024 

1146 

(5) an inventorying of a safe deposit box pursuant 

to G.S. 53C-6-18(a). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0211 JOURNAL MAY COMBINE 

EMPLOYER-RELATED AND NON-EMPLOYER ACTS 

If a notary public performs both employer-related and non-

employer related notarial acts, the notary may maintain: 

(1) a separate journal for each of the employer-

related and non-employer related notarial acts; 

or 

(2) a single journal reflecting all notarial acts. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0212 JOURNAL RETENTION PERIOD 

For at least 10 years after the last notarial act entered into a journal 

by a notary public, the journal or the backup copy of the journal 

shall be retained by: 

(1) the notary; or 

(2) a designated custodian. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0301 CONTENTS OF JOURNAL FOR 

CANCELED ACT 

For each canceled act to be recorded in the journal, a notary public 

shall include: 

(1) the date and time of the canceled act; 

(2) the names of the principals; and 

(3) the reason the act was canceled. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0302 CONTENTS OF JOURNAL 

Notaries public shall enter the following information in the 

journal for each notarial act:  

(1) the date and time at the notary's location that the 

notarial act occurs; 

(2) the name of each principal; 

(3) the type and mode of notarial act performed; 

(4) the title of the document notarized, if any; 

(5) how the identity of each principal was 

determined; 

(6) if satisfactory evidence of the principal's 

identity was presented: 

(a) the type of satisfactory evidence; 

(b) the addresses of each principal as 

shown on any documents used as 

satisfactory evidence;  

(c) where the satisfactory evidence was 

based on the sworn statement of a 

credible witness: 

(i) the name of the credible 

witness; 

(ii) the contact information of the 

credible witness; 

(iii) the signature of the credible 

witness in a traditional 

notary's journal; or 

(iv) the signature of the credible 

witness has been added to the 

electronic journal by the 

notary; 

(7) the signature of each principal in a tangible 

journal or the notary's addition of each 

principal's acknowledged signature to an 

electronic journal; 

(8) information required by 18 NCAC 07K .0203 

for any fees charged; and 

(9) designation of each notarial act as employer-

related or non-employer related if the journal 

includes both categories of notarial acts. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0303 ADDITIONAL JOURNAL 

CONTENTS FOR REMOTE ELECTRONIC 

NOTARIZATIONS 

In addition to the requirements of Rule .0302 of this Section, for 

each remote electronic notarial act completed, an electronic 

notary public shall enter in the journal: 

(1) the locations of the principals and electronic 

notary at the time of the act; 

(2) the method of establishing the location of the 

remotely located principals; 

(3) the names of any individuals who are physically 

present at the same place as the remotely 

located principals; and 

(4) the names of any individuals in addition to the 

principals and those listed in Item (3) of this 

Rule who are present remotely using the 

communication technology during the notarial 

transaction process. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0304 EMPLOYER REQUEST FOR 

INCLUSION OF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION IN 

JOURNAL 

A notary public may include additional information in the journal 

regarding an employer-related electronic notarial act if: 

(1) the employer so requests; 

(2) the request is made before the notary commits 

the journal entry; and 
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(3) in the judgment of the electronic notary, the 

information is directly related to the notarial 

act. Note: A loan origination number or a client 

number is an example of information directly 

related to the notarial act. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0305 PARTY REQUEST FOR 

INCLUSION OF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION IN 

JOURNAL FOR REMOTE ELECTRONIC 

NOTARIZATION 

An electronic notary public shall include additional information 

in the journal if: 

(1) the notarial act is a remote electronic notarial 

act; 

(2) the requestor is a party involved in the 

transaction; 

(3) the request is made before the notary commits 

the journal entry; and 

(4) in the judgment of the electronic notary, the 

information is directly related to the notarial 

act. Note: A loan origination number or a client 

number is an example of information directly 

related to the notarial act. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0306 NOTATION OF REQUESTS FOR 

INCLUSION OF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION IN 

JOURNAL 

If a notary public receives a request for inclusion of additional 

information in the journal, the notary shall note in the journal: 

(1) who requested inclusion of the information; and 

(2) if the notary refused to include requested 

information, the reason the notary refused to do 

so. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0307 NOTARY SHALL NOT PROVIDE 

UNRELATED NOTARIAL ACT INFORMATION TO 

EMPLOYER 

A notary public who performs both employer-related and 

unrelated notarial acts shall not provide the notary's employer 

with: 

(1) information regarding the notarial acts 

unrelated to the employer; or 

(2) copies of, or access to, unrelated notarial act 

entries in the journal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0308 JOURNAL SUPPLEMENTS 

A notary public may add supplemental information to a journal if: 

(1) the notary does not in any way change the 

original committed journal entry; and 

(2) specifies the journal entry to which the 

supplemental information relates. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0401 MAINTAIN BACKUP COPY 

A notary public shall maintain an exact backup copy of the 

notary's electronic journal. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0402 FORMAT OF BACKUP COPY 

A notary public may maintain the backup copy of the electronic 

journal: 

(1) on paper; or 

(2) as an electronic document on a separate 

physical device. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0403 PRINTING OUT OF 

ELECTRONIC JOURNAL ENTRIES 

A notary public shall only use an electronic journal that permits 

printing the contents. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0404 INCLUDING SIGNATURES IN 

JOURNAL 

A notary public who maintains an electronic journal shall ensure 

that: 

(1) the principals acknowledge that their electronic 

signatures have been included in the journal as 

signed on the documents in the transaction; 

(2) the designee signs the principal's name pursuant 

to G.S. 10B-20(e) as signed on the documents 

in the transaction and the notary then includes 

the signature in the journal; or 

(3) the credible witness signs his or her name and 

the notary then includes the signature in the 

journal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 
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18 NCAC 07I .0405 TECHNOLOGICAL ISSUES 

A notary public who maintains an electronic journal shall note in 

the journal complete or partial technological failures that lead the 

notary to terminate the transaction pursuant to 18 NCAC 07F 

.1107. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0406 PRE-POPULATED DATA TO BE 

CONFIRMED BY NOTARY PUBLIC 

A notary public may enter the information listed in Rules .0302 

and .0303 of this Subchapter in an electronic journal by: 

(1) reviewing each individual item of information 

offered as an option or by pre-population; and 

(2) confirming that offered information is accurate 

by selecting: 

(a) the offered information; or 

(b) the accurate item from among other 

options offered. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07I .0407 STEPS BEFORE COMMITTING 

AN ELECTRONIC JOURNAL ENTRY 

Before committing an electronic journal entry, a notary public 

shall: 

(1) review the information entered for accuracy; 

and 

(2) correct any errors in the entry. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-38; 10B-126; 10B-

134.15; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission January 31, 2024 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  

Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Barbara A. Jackson (1st Vice-Chair) 

Jay R. Hemphill Randy Overton (2nd Vice-Chair) 
Jeff Hyde Wayne R. Boyles, III 

Brandon Leebrick Jake Parker 
Bill Nelson Paul Powell 

 
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Brian Liebman  984-236-1948 
William W. Peaslee 984-236-1939 
Seth M. Ascher  984-236-1934 
Travis Wiggs  984-236-1929 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 March 27, 2024 May 29, 2024 
 April 30, 2024 June 26, 2024 

 

 
 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING 
MINUTES 

January 31, 2024 
 

 
The Rules Review Commission met on Wednesday, January 31, 2024, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church 
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, and via WebEx. 
 
Commissioners Wayne R. Boyles III, Jeanette Doran, Jeff Hyde, Bill Nelson, and Jake Parker were present in the 
Commission Room. Commissioners Jay Hemphill, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, and Randy Overton were present 
via WebEx. 
 
Staff member Alexander Burgos, Commission Counsel Seth Ascher, Brian Liebman, Bill Peaslee, and Travis Wiggs were 
present in the room.  
 
The meeting was called to order at 10:00 a.m. with Chair Doran presiding.  
 
The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to 
avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest. 
 
The Chair introduced new Commission Counsel Travis Wiggs to the Commission. 
 
The Chair notified the Commissioners that the following items on the agenda would be taken up out of order at the end of 
the agenda: Follow-up matter Tab A for Department of Administration and Temporary Rules for Board of Elections.  
 
APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the December 14, 2023, meeting. 
There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
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Upon the call of the Chair, the minutes were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, and Jake 
Parker – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
FOLLOW UP MATTERS 
Department of Administration  
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to object to 01 NCAC 06B .0307 by roll-call vote, ayes 2, noes 6 as follows: 
Voting in the affirmative: Jeff Hyde and Bill Nelson – 2.  Voting in the negative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Barbara 
Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Randy Overton, and Jake Parker – 6. The motion failed. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, 01 NCAC 06B .0307 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 2 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Randy Overton, and Jake Parker – 6. 
Voting in the negative: Jeff Hyde and Bill Nelson - 2. 
 
Chris McLennan, representing the Department of Administration, addressed the Commission. 
 
Medical Care Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, 10A NCAC 13F .0703, .0704, .1103, .1104, .1106; 13G .0702, .0703, .0704, .1102, .1103, and 
.1106 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, 
Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, and Jake Parker – 8. Voting in the negative: 
None. 
 
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 
12 NCAC 09A .0205, .0206; 09B .0103, .0235, .0236, .0301; 09C .0306; 09E .0103; 09F .0103, .0104, .0105; and 09G 
.0307 – The Commission extended the period of review for these Rules at the December meeting. No action was required 
by the Commission. 
 
Department of Public Safety 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to waive 26 NCAC 05 .0107 and allow the consideration of the revised 
versions of Rules 14B NCAC 03 .0502 and .0507 as submitted by the  agency beyond the deadline by roll-call vote, ayes 
8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon 
Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, and Jake Parker – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, 14B NCAC 03 .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0507, .0508, and .0509 were approved 
by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara 
Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, and Jake Parker – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Department of Revenue 
Upon the call of the Chair, 17 NCAC 07B .3101 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, 
and Jake Parker – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, 17 NCAC 07B .1601, .1605, and .2204 were returned to the agency by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 
0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, 
Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, and Jake Parker – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Department of Revenue 
Upon the call of the Chair, 17 NCAC 07B .4203, .4210, .4404, 4503, .4609, .4614, .4701, and .5002 were approved by roll-
call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, 
Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, and Jake Parker – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, 17 NCAC 07B .4415 and .4707 were returned to the agency by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as 
follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill 
Nelson, Randy Overton, and Jake Parker – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Department of the Secretary of State 
Upon the call of the Chair, 18 NCAC 07B .0201, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, .0206, .0207, .0208, .0301, .0302, .0303, .0304, 
.0305, .0306, .0307, .0308, .0309, .0310, .0311, .0312, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, and .0406 were approved by roll-
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call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, 
Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, and Jake Parker – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Department of the Secretary of State 
Upon the call of the Chair, 18 NCAC 07F .0101, .0102, .0103, .0201, .0301, .0302, .0303, .0304, .0305, .0401, .0402, .0403, 
.0404, .0503, .0505, .0506, .0507, .0508, .0509, .0512, .0513, .0601, .0602, .0701, .0702, .0703, .0704, .0705, .0706, .0707, 
.0708, .0709, .0801, .0802, .0803, .0804, .0805, .0806, .0807, .0808, .0809, .0810, .0811 .0812, .0813, .0814, .0901, .0902, 
.0903, .0904, .0905, .0906, .1001, .1002, .1003, .1004, .1101, .1102, .1103, .1104, .1105, .1106, .1107, .1108, .1109, .1110, 
and .1111 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay 
Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, and Jake Parker – 8. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Department of the Secretary of State 
Upon the call of the Chair, 18 NCAC 07I .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, 
.0206, .0207, .0208, .0209, .0210, .0211, .0212, .0301, .0302, .0303, .0304, .0305, .0306, .0307, .0308, .0401, .0402, .0403, 
.0404, .0405, .0406, and .0407 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne 
R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, and Jake Parker – 
8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Board of Nursing 
21 NCAC 36 .0120, .0220, .0233, .0302, .0303, .0309, .0317, .0318, .0320, .0321, .0322, .0323 – The Commission extended 
the period of review for these Rules at the December meeting. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Board of Examiners in Optometry 
Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 42D .0102 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, 
and Jake Parker – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Building Code Council 
2024 North Carolina Existing Building Code, Section 101.2 of the 2024 North Carolina Building Code, Section 101.2 of the 
2024 North Carolina Existing Building Code, Section 803.2.1.2 of the 2024 North Carolina Existing Building Code, Section 
102.13 of the 2024 North Carolina Fire Code, and Section 5706.5.4.5 of the 2024 North Carolina Fire Code – The rules 
were returned at the request of the agency. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Building Code Council 
Upon the call of the Chair, the 2024 NC Administrative Code and Policies 221213 Item B-1, and 2024 NC Administrative 
Code and Policies Appendix B were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne 
R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, and Jake Parker – 
8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
230314 Item B-13, 2024 NC Plumbing Code, 230314 Item B-1, 2024 NC Residential Code, Chapters 1-10, 25-33, 45, 46, 
and Appendices - The Commission extended the period of review for these Rules at the December meeting. No action was 
required by the Commission. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES) 
State Board of Elections 
Upon the call of the Chair, 08 NCAC 04 .0308 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, 
and Jake Parker – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Social Services Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, 10A NCAC 06T .0201 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, 
and Jake Parker – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, 12 NCAC 10B .0303 and .0408 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy 
Overton, and Jake Parker – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
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Alarm Systems Licensing Board 
Upon the call of the Chair, 14B NCAC 17 .0202 and .0208 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy 
Overton, and Jake Parker – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to extend the period of review for 14B NCAC 17 .0502 by roll-call vote, 
ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon 
Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, and Jake Parker – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Wildlife Resources Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, 15A NCAC 10F .0305, .0316, .0338, .0380; 10K .0101, .0102, and .0103 were approved by roll-
call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, 
Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, and Jake Parker – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Marine Fisheries Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, 15A NCAC 18A .0301, .0305, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, .0407, .0408, .0409, 
.0410, .0411, .0412, .0413, .0414, .0415, .0416, .0417, .0418, .0419, .0420, .0421, .0422, .0423, .0424, .0426, .0427, .0428, 
.0429, .0430, .0432, .0433, .0434, .0435, .0436, .0437, .0438, .0439, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0601, .0602, .0603, .0604, 
.0605, .0606, .0607, .0608, .0609, .0610, .0611, .0612, .0613, .0614, .0615, .0616, .0617, .0618, .0619, .0620, .0621, .0701, 
.0702, .0703, .0704, .0705, .0706, .0707, .0708, .0709, .0710, .0711, .0712, .0713, .0801, .0802, .0803, .0804, .0805 and 
.0806 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, 
Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, and Jake Parker – 8. Voting in the negative: 
None. 
 
Building Code Council 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to extend the period of review for 2023 NC Electrical Code (230613 Item 
B-3) by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, 
Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, and Jake Parker – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (TEMPORARY RULES) 
State Board of Elections 
Upon the call of the Chair, 08 NCAC 20 .0101, .0102, and .0103 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: 
Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, 
Randy Overton, and Jake Parker – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Paul Cox with the Department of Justice and representing the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Jim Womack with the North Carolina Election Integrity Team addressed the Commission. 
 
Jay Delancey with the North Carolina Election Integrity Team addressed the Commission. 
 
The Chair called the meeting into a brief recess at 10:55 a.m. 
 
The meeting resumed at 11:05 a.m.   
 
Medical Care Commission 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Medical Care Commission, Commissioner Leebrick recused himself and did not 
participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because of a conflict of interest. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, 10A NCAC 13S .0101, .0104, .0111, .0112, .0114, .0201, .0202, .0207, .0209, .0210, .0211, .0212, 
.0315, .0318, .0319, .0320, .0321, .0322, .0323, .0324, .0325, .0326, .0327, .0328, .0329, .0330, and .0331 were approved 
by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara 
Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, and Jake Parker – 7. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
State Board of Education 
Upon the call of the Chair, 16 NCAC 06D .0510 and 06G .0701 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: 
Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, 
Randy Overton, and Jake Parker – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
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EXISTING RULE REVIEW 
Request for Extension of the Readoption Deadline 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to extend the readoption deadline for 15A NCAC 10G .0401, .0402, .0403, 
and .0405 to December 31, 2025, by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, 
Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, and Jake Parker – 8. Voting in 
the negative: None. 
 
REVIEW OF THE 2024 STATE MEDICAL FACILITIES PLAN 
Upon the call of the Chair, the 2024 State Medical Facilities Plan was found in compliance with S.L. 2023-229 and approved 

by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara 

Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, and Jake Parker – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 

COMMISSION BUSINESS 
The Chair announced that the Commission will be holding a special meeting to review follow-up matters that were extended 
at the December 2023 meeting to be held on February 22, 2024, at 10:00 a.m. in the Commission room. 
 
At 11:38 a.m., upon a motion by Chair Doran and a second by Commissioner Jackson, the Commission voted to call the 
public meeting of the Rules Review Commission into recess and enter into a closed session pursuant to G.S. 143-
318.11(a)(1) to review and approve the general account of the December 14, 2023 closed session which may be withheld 
from public inspection pursuant to G.S. 143-318.10(e) and to consult with counsel regarding CRC v. RRC, EMC v. RRC, 
and other potential litigation pursuant to G.S. 143.11(a)(3), by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, 
and Jake Parker – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
At 12:14 p.m., upon a motion by the Chair and a second by Commissioner Jackson, the Commission voted to come out of 
closed session and reconvene the public meeting of the Rules Review Commission by roll-call vote, ayes 7, noes 0 as 
follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy 
Overton, and Jake Parker – 7. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Commissioner Hemphill did not vote. 
 
The meeting was adjourned at 12:17 p.m. 
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Wednesday, February 28, 2024, at 10:00 a.m. 
 
 
  
      
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
 
 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Jeanette Doran, Chair 
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Rules Review Commission Meeting January 31, 2024 
Via WebEx 

 

Name   Agency  

Ozie Stallworth SOSNC 

Ryan Collins DPI 

Michael Maier DEQ 

Joelle Burleson DEQ 

Jennifer Everett DEQ 

Lindsey Wakely NCSBE 

Karen Holder DOI 

Dana McGhee OAH 

Arthur Harrell OAH 

Ashley Snyder OAH 

Shannon Jenkins DEQ 

Frederick Nelson DEQ 

Jay Delancy  

Deanna De'liberto  

Melissa Bowman DOJ 

Ruhlman, Carrie A WRC 

Jim Womack  

On Post Public Safety Protection  

April G.   

James F. Davis brmemc.net 

Dawn Dolpp  

Michael Brunner  

Hope Ascher  

Bryan Dudley  

Beth Secosky  

Susanna Birdsong ppsat.org 

Brown, Elizabeth K DHHS 

Tina Dupree SOSNC 

Daniel Matthews  

Candace Raines  

Janice Peterson Optometry Board 

Brent Woodcox ncleg.gov 

Ed Santos wilsonfirearmsacademy.com 

Wade Walcott  

Bethany Burgon DOJ 

Chris Millis nchba.org 

Wade Walcott  

Laura Rowe nctreasurer.com 

Daniel Young  

Tyler Daye commoncause.org 

Christine Ryan DOJ 
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Chris D. Sexton Sr. bop.gov 

Tara Fields benchmarksnc.org 

Brandi Salmon DEQ 

Raj Premakumar DHHS 

Leo Gordon  

Anne Coan ncfb.org 

Art Sperling  

Richard Squires  SHETS 

Jason Walsh DEQ 

Aranda Holley dac.nc.gov 

Chris Cecil  

Sirena jones DOJ 

Brian Barnes ncdps.gov 

Madison Alligood  

Betsy Haywood WRC 

John Link  

Jill Cramer labor.nc.gov 

Seavers, Dennis Barbers 

Ronnie Lovick  

Terrie Deal DHHS 

Virginia Reed americavotes.org 

Bruce Garner SOSNC 

Josh Johnson  

Bryan Vickery greensboro-nc.gov 

J.R. Griffin II ncdps.gov 

Dauna Bartley Dental Board 

Blum, Catherine  DEQ 

Chief Peaks townofwilliamston.com 

Johnny Loper Optometry 

Jimmie Williams  

Bud Cesena  

Katelyn Love ncsbe.gov 

Matt Ship  

Robert Hand Rrt4 raleighnc.gov 

Chad Thompson  

Robert Park  

Harvey Morse wecancarry.com 

Phyllis Pickett ncleg.gov 

Cliff Isaac nchba.org 

Ian Clark DHHS 

William Rafferty Optometry 

AP Dillon northstatejournal.com 

Ann Webb commoncause.org 
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LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES 

January 31, 2024 Meeting 

ADMINISTRATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

Leases at State Fairgrounds and WNC AG Center 01 NCAC 06B .0307 

ELECTIONS, STATE BOARD OF 

Authorized Access to Voting System Information in Escrow 08 NCAC 04 .0308 

SOCIAL SERVICES COMMISSION 

Nature and Purpose of State Adult Day Care Fund 10A NCAC 06T .0201 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

Tuberculosis Test, Medical Examination and Immunizations 10A NCAC 13F .0703 

Resident Contract, Information on Facility, and Resident ... 10A NCAC 13F .0704 

Authorized Representative 10A NCAC 13F .1103 

Accounting for Resident's Personal Funds 10A NCAC 13F .1104 

Settlement of Cost of Care 10A NCAC 13F .1106 

Tuberculosis Test and Medical Examination, and Immunizations 10A NCAC 13G .0702 

Resident Register 10A NCAC 13G .0703 

Resident Contract, Information on Facility, and Resident ... 10A NCAC 13G .0704 

Authorized Representative 10A NCAC 13G .1102 

Accounting for Resident's Personal Funds 10A NCAC 13G .1103 

Settlement of Cost of Care 10A NCAC 13G .1106 

SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Fingerprint Criminal History Records Check 12 NCAC 10B .0303 

Verification of Records to the Division 12 NCAC 10B .0408 

PUBLIC SAFETY, DEPARTMENT OF 

Purpose 14B NCAC 03 .0501 

Abbrev 14B NCAC 03 .0502 

Dispatch of a Regional Response Team 14B NCAC 03 .0503 

On-Site Operations of a Program Resource 14B NCAC 03 .0504 

Standards for Administration of a Contract Response Team,... 14B NCAC 03 .0505 

Recovering the Costs of a Search and Rescue Team 14B NCAC 03 .0506 

Procedures for Bidding and Contracting for Regional Respo... 14B NCAC 03 .0507 

Criteria for Evaluating Bids for Contract Response Team 14B NCAC 03 .0508 

Personnel, Training, and Equipment Standards for Regional... 14B NCAC 03 .0509 

ALARM SYSTEMS LICENSING BOARD 

Experience Requirements for License 14B NCAC 17 .0202 

Training Requirements for Alarm Licensees 14B NCAC 17 .0208 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Brunswick County 15A NCAC 10F .0305 

Forsyth: Rockingham And Stokes Counties 15A NCAC 10F .0316 

Caldwell County 15A NCAC 10F .0338 

Town of Rhodiss 15A NCAC 10F .0380 
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Course Requirements 15A NCAC 10K .0101 

Issuance of Certificate of Competency 15A NCAC 10K .0102 

Instructor Certification 15A NCAC 10K .0103 

MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION 

Definitions 15A NCAC 18A .0301 

Appeals Procedure 15A NCAC 18A .0305 

Applicability of Rules 15A NCAC 18A .0401 

General Requirements for Operation 15A NCAC 18A .0402 

Supervision and Training 15A NCAC 18A .0403 

Construction 15A NCAC 18A .0404 

Facility Flooding 15A NCAC 18A .0405 

Floors 15A NCAC 18A .0406 

Walls and Ceilings 15A NCAC 18A .0407 

Lighting 15A NCAC 18A .0408 

Ventilation 15A NCAC 18A .0409 

Pest Control 15A NCAC 18A .0410 

Rodent and Animal Control 15A NCAC 18A .0411 

Plumbing and Hand Washing Facilities 15A NCAC 18A .0412 

Water Supply 15A NCAC 18A .0413 

Toilet Facilities 15A NCAC 18A .0414 

Premises 15A NCAC 18A .0415 

Personal Hygiene 15A NCAC 18A .0416 

Employees' Personal Articles 15A NCAC 18A .0417 

Supply Storage 15A NCAC 18A .0418 

Harvest Vessels and Vehicles 15A NCAC 18A .0419 

Transporting Shellfish 15A NCAC 18A .0420 

Records 15A NCAC 18A .0421 

Shellstock Cleaning 15A NCAC 18A .0422 

Sale of Live Shellstock 15A NCAC 18A .0423 

Shellfish Receiving 15A NCAC 18A .0424 

Bulk Shipments between Shellfish Dealers 15A NCAC 18A .0426 

Shellfish Storage 15A NCAC 18A .0427 

Sampling and Testing 15A NCAC 18A .0428 

Embargo or Disposal of Shellfish 15A NCAC 18A .0429 

Bacteriological and Contamination Stands 15A NCAC 18A .0430 

Public Display of Consumer Advisory 15A NCAC 18A .0432 

Hazard Analysis 15A NCAC 18A .0433 

HACCP Plan 15A NCAC 18A .0434 

Sanitation Monitoring Requirements 15A NCAC 18A .0435 

Monitoring Records 15A NCAC 18A .0436 

In-Shell Product 15A NCAC 18A .0437 

Inspections and Compliance Schedule 15A NCAC 18A .0438 

Recall Procedure 15A NCAC 18A .0439 

Requirements for Shellstock Plants and Reshippers 15A NCAC 18A .0501 

Grading Shellstock and Commingling 15A NCAC 18A .0502 

Grader 15A NCAC 18A .0503 

Reshippers 15A NCAC 18A .0504 
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Requirements for Shucking and Packing Plants and Repackin... 15A NCAC 18A .0601 

Separation of Operations 15A NCAC 18A .0602 

Hot Water System 15A NCAC 18A .0603 

Handwashing Facilities 15A NCAC 18A .0604 

Delivery Window or Shelf 15A NCAC 18A .0605 

Non-Food Contact Surfaces 15A NCAC 18A .0606 

Shucking Benches 15A NCAC 18A .0607 

Equipment Construction 15A NCAC 18A .0608 

Sanitizing Equipment 15A NCAC 18A .0609 

Equipment Sanitation 15A NCAC 18A .0610 

Equipment Storage 15A NCAC 18A .0611 

Ice 15A NCAC 18A .0612 

Shellfish Shucking 15A NCAC 18A .0613 

Containers 15A NCAC 18A .0614 

Shellfish Cooling 15A NCAC 18A .0615 

Shellfish Freezing 15A NCAC 18A .0616 

Shipping 15A NCAC 18A .0617 

Heat Shock Method of Preparation of Shellfish 15A NCAC 18A .0618 

Repacking of Shellfish 15A NCAC 18A .0619 

Shellfish Thawing and Repacking 15A NCAC 18A .0620 

Recall Procedure 15A NCAC 18A .0621 

Requirements for Depuration 15A NCAC 18A .0701 

Facility Supervision 15A NCAC 18A .0702 

Facility Design and Sanitation 15A NCAC 18A .0703 

Laboratory Procedures 15A NCAC 18A .0704 

Facility Operations 15A NCAC 18A .0705 

Shellfish Sampling Procedures 15A NCAC 18A .0706 

Depuration Process Water Control - Sampling Procedures 15A NCAC 18A .0707 

Requirements for Wet Storage of Shellstock 15A NCAC 18A .0708 

Depuration - Shellfish Meat Standards 15A NCAC 18A .0709 

Ultraviolet Unit 15A NCAC 18A .0710 

Shellstock Storage 15A NCAC 18A .0711 

Depuration - Tagging and Release of Shellfish 15A NCAC 18A .0712 

Depuration Records 15A NCAC 18A .0713 

Requirements for Wet Storage of Shellstock 15A NCAC 18A .0801 

Plant Design: Sanitation: and Wet Storage 15A NCAC 18A .0802 

Wet Storage Water 15A NCAC 18A .0803 

Shellstock Cleaning 15A NCAC 18A .0804 

Wet Storage Tanks 15A NCAC 18A .0805 

Shellstock Containers 15A NCAC 18A .0806 

REVENUE, DEPARTMENT OF 

Radio, Television, Movie Theatres Receipts 17 NCAC 07B .3101 

Contractors for the Federal Government 17 NCAC 07B .4203 

Native American Indian Country 17 NCAC 07B .4210 

Equipment Furnished with Operator 17 NCAC 07B .4404 

Equipment and Supplies for Laundries, etc. 17 NCAC 07B .4503 

Fire Trucks and Equipment 17 NCAC 07B .4609 
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Recreational Vehicles 17 NCAC 07B .4614 

Commercial Printers and Publishers 17 NCAC 07B .4701 

Eyeglass Frames and Repair Parts 17 NCAC 07B .5002 

SECRETARY OF STATE, DEPARTMENT OF THE 

U.S. Currency 18 NCAC 07B .0201 

Online Fee Payment 18 NCAC 07B .0202 

Fees Paid in Person 18 NCAC 07B .0203 

Fees Paid by USPS or by Delivery Service 18 NCAC 07B .0204 

Fee for Dishonored Payment 18 NCAC 07B .0205 

Filing not Processed if Payment Dishonored 18 NCAC 07B .0206 

Department Actions upon Dishonored Payment 18 NCAC 07B .0207 

Notice to Filer of Dishonored Payment 18 NCAC 07B .0208 

Form Use Required 18 NCAC 07B .0301 

Mode of Filing 18 NCAC 07B .0302 

Paper Filings Permitted 18 NCAC 07B .0303 

Inapplicable Questions 18 NCAC 07B .0304 

Response to Questions and Requests for Information 18 NCAC 07B .0305 

Attachments 18 NCAC 07B .0306 

Notice of Attachment 18 NCAC 07B .0307 

Signature for Entity 18 NCAC 07B .0308 

Form Preparer Signature Required 18 NCAC 07B .0309 

Incomplete Filings 18 NCAC 07B .0310 

Rejection of Incomplete Filings 18 NCAC 07B .0311 

Filing Date of Document 18 NCAC 07B .0312 

General 18 NCAC 07B .0401 

Contact Information 18 NCAC 07B .0402 

Certificate of Appointment Form 18 NCAC 07B .0403 

Electronic Notary Public Registration Form 18 NCAC 07B .0404 

Form Notifying Department of Selection of Technology Prov... 18 NCAC 07B .0405 

Notice to Department of Change by Electronic Notary in Te... 18 NCAC 07B .0406 

Scope 18 NCAC 07F .0101 

Definitions 18 NCAC 07F .0102 

Electronic Notaries Performing Remote Electronic Notary Acts 18 NCAC 07F .0103 

Valid Commission 18 NCAC 07F .0201 

Approved Course of Study for Electronic Notaries Public 18 NCAC 07F .0301 

Course to be Taught by Certified Notary Instructors 18 NCAC 07F .0302 

Electronic Notary Course 18 NCAC 07F .0303 

Student Identity 18 NCAC 07F .0304 

Passing Score on Examination 18 NCAC 07F .0305 

Submission 18 NCAC 07F .0401 

Timing of Application 18 NCAC 07F .0402 

Notice to Department of Changes 18 NCAC 07F .0403 

Failure to Submit Application in Time 18 NCAC 07F .0404 

Notice of Department's Actions for Qualified Electronic N... 18 NCAC 07F .0503 

Oaths Timing 18 NCAC 07F .0505 

Evidence of Identity 18 NCAC 07F .0506 

Certificate Delivery 18 NCAC 07F .0507 
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Registration Effective Date 18 NCAC 07F .0508 

Registration Effective Date 18 NCAC 07F .0509 

Confirmation of Electronic Notary Status 18 NCAC 07F .0512 

Performing Electronic and Remote Electronic Notarial Acts 18 NCAC 07F .0513 

Notice to Department of Technology Provider 18 NCAC 07F .0601 

Approved Technology Provider 18 NCAC 07F .0602 

Unique Signature 18 NCAC 07F .0701 

Sole Control 18 NCAC 07F .0702 

Exclusive 18 NCAC 07F .0703 

Attributes of Electronic Signature 18 NCAC 07F .0704 

Appearance of Electronic Signature 18 NCAC 07F .0705 

Signature Compliance 18 NCAC 07F .0706 

Signature Review Before Use 18 NCAC 07F .0707 

Affixing Electronic Signature 18 NCAC 07F .0708 

Review After Affixing Electronic Signature 18 NCAC 07F .0709 

Unique Seal 18 NCAC 07F .0801 

Sole Control 18 NCAC 07F .0802 

Exclusive 18 NCAC 07F .0803 

Attributes of Electronic Seal 18 NCAC 07F .0804 

Appearance of Electronic Notary Seal 18 NCAC 07F .0805 

Perimeter 18 NCAC 07F .0806 

Contents of Electronic Notary Seal 18 NCAC 07F .0807 

Electronic Notary Seals are Private Property 18 NCAC 07F .0808 

Seal Compliance 18 NCAC 07F .0809 

Seal Limitation 18 NCAC 07F .0810 

Seal Review Before Use 18 NCAC 07F .0811 

Affixing Electronic Seal 18 NCAC 07F .0812 

Review After Affixing Electronic Seal 18 NCAC 07F .0813 

Commitment 18 NCAC 07F .0814 

Reregistration 18 NCAC 07F .0901 

Timing of Reregistration 18 NCAC 07F .0902 

Form 18 NCAC 07F .0903 

Education 18 NCAC 07F .0904 

Electronic Notary Reregistration Other than at Recommissi... 18 NCAC 07F .0905 

Registration 18 NCAC 07F .0906 

Employers of Electronic Notaries 18 NCAC 07F .1001 

Protecting Access 18 NCAC 07F .1002 

Retention of Electronic Journal 18 NCAC 07F .1003 

Notary Credential Sharing Forbidden 18 NCAC 07F .1004 

Presence Requirement for Electronic Notarization 18 NCAC 07F .1101 

Presence Requirement for Remote Electronic Notarization 18 NCAC 07F .1102 

Individual Principal Signatures for Electronic Notarial Act 18 NCAC 07F .1103 

Additional Obligations 18 NCAC 07F .1104 

No Electronic Notarization of Ink Signature 18 NCAC 07F .1105 

Notice of Changes 18 NCAC 07F .1106 

Technological Issue as Reason to Halt Electronic or Remot... 18 NCAC 07F .1107 

Resolution of Technological Issues 18 NCAC 07F .1108 
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Ceasing to Use a Technology Provider 18 NCAC 07F .1109 

Notice of Cancellation by Provider 18 NCAC 07F .1110 

Content of Notice 18 NCAC 07F .1111 

Notaries Subject to Journaling Requirements 18 NCAC 07I .0101 

Definitions 18 NCAC 07I .0102 

Journal Requirement 18 NCAC 07I .0103 

Journal Ownership 18 NCAC 07I .0104 

Entry of Data into Journal 18 NCAC 07I .0105 

Exceptions to Rule .0105 18 NCAC 07I .0106 

Access to the Journal 18 NCAC 07I .0107 

Form of Traditional Notary Journal 18 NCAC 07I .0201 

Form of Electronic Notary Journal 18 NCAC 07I .0202 

Combined Journal 18 NCAC 07I .0203 

Entries in a Tangible Journal 18 NCAC 07I .0204 

Requirements for a Tangible Journal 18 NCAC 07I .0205 

Provision of Journal to Department 18 NCAC 07I .0206 

Acts Included in Journal 18 NCAC 07I .0207 

Designation of Notarial Act 18 NCAC 07I .0208 

Exception to Rule .0208 18 NCAC 07I .0209 

Designation of Type of Notarial Act 18 NCAC 07I .0210 

Journal may Combine Employer-Related and Non-Employer Acts 18 NCAC 07I .0211 

Journal Retention Period 18 NCAC 07I .0212 

Contents of Journal for Canceled Act 18 NCAC 07I .0301 

Contents of Journal 18 NCAC 07I .0302 

Additional Journal Contents for Remote Electronic Notariz... 18 NCAC 07I .0303 

Employer Request for Inclusion of Additional Information ... 18 NCAC 07I .0304 

Party Request for Inclusion of Additional Information in ... 18 NCAC 07I .0305 

Notation of Requests for Inclusion of Additional Informat... 18 NCAC 07I .0306 

Notary shall not Provide Unrelated Notarial Act Informati... 18 NCAC 07I .0307 

Journal Supplements 18 NCAC 07I .0308 

Maintain a Backup Copy 18 NCAC 07I .0401 

Format of Backup Copy 18 NCAC 07I .0402 

Printing out of Electronic Journal Entries 18 NCAC 07I .0403 

Including Signatures in Journal 18 NCAC 07I .0404 

Technological Issues 18 NCAC 07I .0405 

Pre-Populated Data to be Confirmed by Notary Public 18 NCAC 07I .0406 

Steps Before Committing an Electronic Journal Entry 18 NCAC 07I .0407 

BUILDING CODE COUNCIL 

2024 NC Administrative Code and Policies Appendix B 230314 Item B-13 

2024 NC Administrative Code and Policies 221213 Item B-1 

 

 

LIST OF APPROVED TEMPORARY RULES 

January 31, 2024 Meeting 

ELECTIONS, STATE BOARD OF 

Challenge to Appointment of an Observer 08 NCAC 20 .0101 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
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Appeal of Removal of an Observer from a Voting Site 08 NCAC 20 .0102 

Identification of Observers 08 NCAC 20 .0103 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

Definitions 10A NCAC 13S .0101 

Plans 10A NCAC 13S .0104 

Inspections 10A NCAC 13S .0111 

Alterations 10A NCAC 13S .0112 

Approval 10A NCAC 13S .0114 

Building Code Requirements 10A NCAC 13S .0201 

Sanitation 10A NCAC 13S .0202 

Area Requirements 10A NCAC 13S .0207 

Elevator 10A NCAC 13S .0209 

Corridors 10A NCAC 13S .0210 

Doors 10A NCAC 13S .0211 

Elements and Equipment 10A NCAC 13S .0212 

Housekeeping 10A NCAC 13S .0315 

Governing Authority 10A NCAC 13S .0318 

Policies and Procedures and Administrative Records 10A NCAC 13S .0319 

Admission and Discharge 10A NCAC 13S .0320 

Medical Records 10A NCAC 13S .0321 

Personnel Records 10A NCAC 13S .0322 

Nursing Service 10A NCAC 13S .0323 

Quality Assurance 10A NCAC 13S .0324 

Laboratory Services 10A NCAC 13S .0325 

Emergency Back-Up Services 10A NCAC 13S .0326 

Surgical Services 10A NCAC 13S .0327 

Medications and Anesthesia 10A NCAC 13S .0328 

Post-Operative Care 10A NCAC 13S .0329 

Cleaning of Materials and Equipment 10A NCAC 13S .0330 

Food Service 10A NCAC 13S .0331 

EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF 

Three-Year Graduation 16 NCAC 06D .0510 

Parental Concern Hearing 16 NCAC 06G .0701 

 
 
 

 


