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EXPLANATION OF THE PUBLICATION SCHEDULE  

 

This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.  

Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6. 

 

GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days but not later than 60 days 

after the date a notice of the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, the 

agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 

intends to adopt the rule cited as 12 NCAC 09A .0208 and amend 

the rules cited as 12 NCAC 09A .0204, .0205; 09B .0104, .0304, 

.0504, .0505; 09C .0309, .0310; 09D .0102; 09G .0205, .0211, 

.0417, .0418, and .0602. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-

justice/forms-and-publications/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 14, 2024 

Time:  1:00 p.m. 

Location:  Meeting to be held on Microsoft Teams. Microsoft 

Teams meeting information is listed on the agency's website. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To update what medical providers 

can complete required forms, to update certification requirements 

for Qualified Assistants, to update criminal charge information 

for certified individuals, to update requirements for receipt of 

professional certificates, and to create requirements for conduct 

of public hearings. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Michelle Schilling, NC 

Department of Justice, Criminal Justice Standards Division, PO 

Box 149, Raleigh, NC 27602-0149 

 

Comment period ends:  May 14, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 09 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09A - CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION 

AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .0200 - ENFORCEMENT OF RULES 

 

12 NCAC 09A .0204 SUSPENSION: REVOCATION: 

OR DENIAL OF CERTIFICATION 

(a)  The Commission shall revoke the certification of a criminal 

justice officer when the Commission finds that the officer has 

committed or been convicted of: by a local, state, federal, or 

military court of any offense as outlined in 12 NCAC 09B 

.0111(a). 

(1) a felony offense; or 

(2) a criminal offense for which the authorized 

punishment included imprisonment for more 

than two years. years; or 

(3) a crime or unlawful act defined as a "Class B 

misdemeanor" within the 5 year period prior to 

the date of certification; 

(b)  The Commission may suspend, revoke, or deny the 

certification of a criminal justice officer when the Commission 

finds that the applicant for certification or the certified officer: 

(1) has not enrolled in and satisfactorily completed 

the required basic training course in its entirety 

within prescribed time periods relevant or 

applicable to a specified position or job title; 

(2) fails to meet or maintain one or more of the 

minimum employment standards required by 

12 NCAC 09B .0100 for the category of the 

officer's certification or fails to meet or 

maintain one or more of the minimum training 

standards required by 12 NCAC 09B .0200 or 

12 NCAC 09B .0400 for the category of the 

officer's certification; 

(3) has committed or been convicted of: 

(A) a criminal offense or unlawful act 

defined in 12 NCAC 09A .0103 as a 

Class B misdemeanor; or 

(B) four or more criminal offenses or 

unlawful acts defined in 12 NCAC 
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09A .0103 as a Class A misdemeanor, 

each of which occurred after the date 

of initial certification; 

(4) has been discharged by a criminal justice 

agency for commission or conviction of: 

(A) a motor vehicle offense requiring the 

revocation of the officer's driver's 

license; or 

(B) any other offense involving moral 

turpitude; 

(5) has been discharged by a criminal justice 

agency because the officer lacks the mental or 

physical capabilities to properly fulfill the 

responsibilities of a criminal justice officer; 

(6) has knowingly made a material 

misrepresentation of any information required 

for certification or accreditation; 

(7) has knowingly and willfully, by any means of 

false pretense, deception, defraudation, 

misrepresentation or cheating whatsoever, 

obtained or attempted to obtain credit, training 

or certification from the Commission; 

(8) has knowingly and willfully, by any means of 

false pretense, deception, defraudation, 

misrepresentation or cheating whatsoever, 

aided another person in obtaining or attempting 

to obtain credit, training or certification from 

the Commission; 

(9) has failed to make either of the notifications as 

required by 12 NCAC 09B .0101(8); .0101(13); 

(10) has been removed from office by decree of the 

Superior Court in accord with the provisions of 

G.S. 128-16 or has been removed from office 

by sentence of the court in accord with the 

provisions of G.S. 14-230; 

(11) fails to satisfactorily complete the minimum 

in-service training requirements as prescribed 

in 12 NCAC 09E; 

(12) has refused to submit to an applicant or lateral 

transferee drug screen as required by the rules 

in this Chapter, or has refused to submit to an 

in-service drug screen pursuant to the 

guidelines set forth in the Drug Screening 

Implementation Guide as required by the 

agency through which the officer is certified; 

(13) has produced a positive result on a drug screen 

reported to the Commission as specified in 12 

NCAC 09C .0310, where the positive result 

cannot be explained to the Commission's 

satisfaction; 

(14) has been denied certification or had 

certification suspended or revoked by the North 

Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training 

Standards Commission, the North Carolina 

Criminal Justice Education and Training 

Standards Commission; the North Carolina 

Company/Campus Police Program; or a similar 

North Carolina, out of state or federal 

approving, certifying or licensing agency; 

(15) has performed activities or duties for which 

certification by the Commission is required 

without having first obtained the appropriate 

certification; or 

(16) has been convicted of any offense proscribed by 

18 USC 922(g)(8) that would prohibit 

possession of a firearm or ammunition. 

(c)  Following suspension, revocation, or denial of the person's 

certification, the person may not remain employed or appointed 

as a criminal justice officer and the person may not exercise any 

authority of a criminal justice officer during a period for which 

the person's certification is suspended, revoked, or denied. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

12 NCAC 09A .0205 PERIOD OF SUSPENSION: 

REVOCATION: OR DENIAL 

(a)  When the Commission revokes or denies the certification of 

a criminal justice officer, the period of the sanction shall be 

permanent where the cause of sanction is: 

(1) commission or conviction of a felony offense, 

except as provided by G.S. 17C-13(a); 

(2) commission or conviction of a criminal offense 

for which punishment is authorized by law to 

included imprisonment for more than two 

years, except as provided by G.S. 17C-13(a); or 

(3) the second suspension of an officer's 

certification for any of the causes requiring a 

five-year period of suspension pursuant to 12 

NCAC 09A .0204. 

(b)  When the Commission suspends or denies the certification of 

a criminal justice officer, the period of sanction shall be not less 

than five years; however, the Commission shall reduce or suspend 

the period of sanction or substitute a period of probation in lieu of 

suspension of certification, or impose a combination of reduction, 

suspension, or probation as determined on a case-by-case basis 

following a consent order or an administrative hearing, where the 

cause of sanction is: 

(1) commission or conviction of a criminal offense 

other than those listed in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule; 

(2) refusal to submit to the applicant or lateral 

transferee drug screen required by these Rules; 

(3) production of a positive result on a drug screen 

reported to the Commission under 12 NCAC 

09C .0310, where the positive result cannot be 

explained to the satisfaction of the agency's 

Medical Review Officer, who shall be a 

licensed physician; 

(4) material misrepresentation of any information 

required for certification or accreditation; 

(5) obtaining, attempting to obtain, aiding another 

person to obtain, or aiding another person to 

attempt to obtain credit, training or certification 

by any means of false pretense, deception, 

fraud, misrepresentation or cheating; 

(6) failure to make either of the notifications as 

required by 12 NCAC 09B .0101(13); 
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(7) removal from office under the provisions of 

G.S. 128-16 or the provisions of G.S. 14-230; 

(8) performing activities or duties for which 

certification by the Commission is required 

without having first obtained the appropriate 

certification; or 

(9) commission or conviction of four or more 

crimes or unlawful acts defined as "Class B 

misdemeanors" in 12 NCAC 09A .0103(24)(b), 

regardless of the date of conviction. 

(10) commission or conviction of four or more 

crimes or unlawful acts as defined as "Class B 

misdemeanor" in 12 NCAC 09A .0103(24)(b), 

except the applicant may be employed if the last 

conviction occurred more than two years prior 

to the date of certification; or 

(11) commission or conviction of a combination of 

four or more "Class A Misdemeanor" or "Class 

B Misdemeanor" offenses regardless of the 

date. 

(c)  When the Commission suspends or denies the certification of 

a criminal justice officer, the period of sanction shall be for an 

indefinite period, but continuing so long as the stated deficiency, 

infraction, or impairment continues to exist, where the cause of 

sanction is: 

(1) failure to meet or satisfy relevant basic training 

requirements pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0205, 

0225, .0235, and 0236; 

(2) failure to meet or maintain the minimum 

standards of employment pursuant to 09B 

.0101, .0111, .0114, .0116, .0117; 

(3) discharge from a criminal justice agency for 

impairment of physical or mental capabilities; 

or 

(4) failure to meet or satisfy the in-service training 

requirements as prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

12 NCAC 09A .0208 PUBLIC COMMENTS AT 

HEARINGS 

For hearings in which public comments are allowed or required, 

the following rules apply: 

(1) The Chair may: 

(a) authorize the designation of any 

agency employee to act as the hearing 

officer; 

(b) set out the type of hearings that the 

designated employees are authorized 

to conduct; 

(c) reference the rules of procedure for 

conducting public rulemaking 

hearings. 

(2) The Chair may set time limits on oral 

presentations. 

(a) Unless the Chair specifies otherwise, 

oral presentations are limited to five 

minutes per person or requesting 

entity; 

(b) The Chair may require that oral 

presentations be limited to 

representative spokespersons for those 

advocating or opposing agenda items; 

(c) In making the above decisions, the 

Chair should consider: 

(i) the length of the agenda and 

of the meeting; 

(ii) the number of rules or agenda 

items subject to comment; 

(iii) the complexity of the issues; 

(iv) the public interest in a 

particular rule, report or 

agenda item; 

(v) the number of people 

desiring to address the 

agency; 

(vi) the variations in the speakers' 

arguments and level of 

agreement within their 

positions or relationships; 

(vii) the nature of the comments in 

relation to the agency's scope 

of review; and 

(viii) the amount of notice given to 

the agency, commission, or 

committee. 

(3) The Chair will set the date, time, and place of 

any public hearing, and, when required, comply 

with North Carolina General Statutes Chapter 

150B. 

(a) If no hearing end time is designated 

prior to the beginning of the meeting, 

the Chair may end the hearing at any 

appropriate time. 

(b) If a hearing end time has been 

designated for a hearing in which 

comments will be accepted, the 

hearing officer will remain in the 

meeting until such end time is reached. 

(4) When a hearing officer is designated, the 

hearing officer will collect written and oral 

submission presented during the hearing and 

submit to the agency, commission or committee 

as appropriate following the close of the record. 

(5) Nothing in this rule is meant to require the 

agency, commission, or committee to allow 

public comment when not required by statute. 

(6) For purposes of this rule, Chair means the 

person designated as chairperson for the 

agency, commission or committee, holding the 

hearing. In the event the Chair is not present at 

hearing, the Vice-Chair will preside, and if the 

Vice-Chair is also not present, then the hearing 

officer will preside, and either will act, for 

purposes of this rule and for the hearing, with 

the authority of the Chair. 

 

Authority G.S. 150B. 
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SUBCHAPTER 09B - STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL 

JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT: EDUCATION: AND 

TRAINING 

 

SECTION .0100 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0104 MEDICAL EXAMINATION 

(a)  Each applicant for certification or enrollment in a basic law 

enforcement training course Commission approved Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course shall complete, sign, and date the 

Commission's Medical History Statement Form (F-1) and shall be 

examined by either a surgeon, physician, physician assistant, or 

nurse practitioner who is licensed to practice in North Carolina or 

authorized to practice medicine in the United States Armed 

Forces, as outlined in 10 U.S. Code 1094, holds a current license 

to practice medicine, to help determine his or her fitness to carry 

out the physical requirements of the position of law enforcement 

officer. 

(b)  Prior to being examined, the applicant shall provide the 

examining surgeon, physician, physician or nurse practitioner 

with: 

(1) the Medical History Statement Form (F-1), 

which must be read, completed, and signed; and 

(2) the Instructions to Agency and Examiner for 

Completion of Medical Examination Report (F-

2A) Form attached to the Medical Examination 

Report Form (F-2). 

(c)  The "Medical Screening Guidelines for the Certification of 

Criminal Justice Officers in North Carolina" as published by the 

North Carolina Department of Justice may be obtained for use by 

the examining physician, surgeon, 

physician's assistant, or nurse practitioner, at no cost, at 

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. 

(d)  The examining physician, surgeon, physician's assistant, 

nurse practitioner, shall record the results of the examination on 

the Medical Examination Report Form (F-2) and shall sign and 

date the form. 

(e)  The Medical Examination Report Form (F-2) and the Medical 

History Statement Form (F-1) shall be valid for one year after the 

date the examination was conducted and shall be completed prior 

to: 

(1) the applicant's beginning the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course; and 

(2) the agency submission of application for 

certification to the Commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

SECTION .0300 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE INSTRUCTORS 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0304 SPECIALIZED INSTRUCTOR 

CERTIFICATION 

(a)  The Commission shall issue a Specialized Instructor 

Certification to an applicant who has developed specific motor 

skills and abilities by virtue of special training and demonstrated 

experience in one or more of the following topical areas: 

(1) Subject Control Arrest Techniques; 

Compliance and Control Techniques; 

(2) First Responder; 

(3) Firearms; 

(4) Law Enforcement Driver Training; 

(5) Physical Fitness; 

(6) Restraint, Control and Defense Techniques 

(Department of Public Safety, Division of 

Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice); 

(7) Medical Emergencies (Department of Public 

Safety, Division of Adult Correction and 

Juvenile Justice); or 

(8) Explosive and Hazardous Materials 

Emergencies. Emergencies; or 

(9) Standardized Field Sobriety Testing. 

(b)  To qualify for and maintain any Specialized Instructor 

Certification, Certification in topical areas in Paragraph (a)(1) 

through (a)(8) of this Rule, an applicant shall possess a valid CPR 

Certification that includes cognitive and skills testing, through the 

American Red Cross, American Heart Association, American 

Safety and Health Institute, or National Safety Council. 

(c)  An applicant shall achieve a minimum score of 75 percent on 

the comprehensive written exam, as specified in Rule .0414 of this 

Subchapter in order to qualify for Specialized Instructor 

Certification in the following topical areas: 

(1) Subject Control Arrest Techniques; 

Compliance and Control Techniques; 

(2) Firearms; 

(3) Law Enforcement Driver Training; 

(4) Physical Fitness; and 

(5) Explosive and Hazardous Materials 

Emergencies. 

(d)  To qualify for Specialized Instructor Certification in the 

Subject Control Arrest Techniques Compliance and Control 

Techniques topical area, an applicant shall meet the following 

requirements: 

(1) Hold General Instructor Certification, either 

probationary status or full general instructor 

status, as specified in Rule .0303 of this 

Section: 

(2) Complete the pertinent Commission-approved 

specialized instructor course; and 

(3) Obtain the recommendation of a Commission-

certified school director or in-service training 

coordinator. 

(e)  To qualify for Specialized Instructor Certification in the First 

Responder topical area, an applicant shall satisfy one of the 

following two options: 

(1) The first option is: 

(A) Hold CPR instructor certification 

through the American Red Cross, 

American Heart Association, 

American Safety and Health Institute, 

or National Safety Council; 

(B) Hold, or have held, basic Emergency 

Medical Technician certification; 

(C) Have completed the Department of 

Transportation's 40 hour EMT 

Instructor Course or equivalent within 
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the last three years or hold a North 

Carolina Professional Educator's 

License, issued by the Department of 

Public Instruction; and 

(D) Obtain the recommendation of a 

Commission-certified school director 

or in-service training coordinator. 

(2) The second option is: 

(A) Hold General Instructor Certification, 

either probationary status or full 

general instructor status, as specified 

in Rule .0303 of this Section; 

(B) Hold CPR instructor certification 

through the American Red Cross, 

American Heart Association, 

American Safety and Health Institute 

or National Safety Council; 

(C) Hold, or have held, basic EMT 

certification; and 

(D) Obtain the recommendation of a 

Commission-certified school director 

or in-service training coordinator. 

(f)  To qualify for Specialized Instructor Certification in the 

Firearms topical area, an applicant shall meet the following 

requirements: 

(1) Hold General Instructor Certification, either 

probationary status or full general instructor 

status, as specified in Rule .0303 of this 

Section; 

(2) Complete the Commission-approved 

specialized firearms instructor training course; 

and 

(3) Obtain the recommendation of a Commission-

certified school director or in-service training 

coordinator. 

(g)  To qualify for Specialized Instructor Certification in the Law 

Enforcement Driver Training topical area, an applicant shall meet 

the following requirements: 

(1) Hold General Instructor Certification, either 

probationary status or full general instructor 

status, as specified in Rule .0303 of this 

Section; 

(2) Complete the Commission-approved 

specialized driver instructor training course; 

and 

(3) Obtain the recommendation of a Commission-

certified school director or in-service training 

coordinator. 

(h)  To qualify for Specialized Instructor Certification in the 

Physical Fitness topical area, an applicant shall become certified 

through one of the following two methods: 

(1) The first method is: 

(A) hold General Instructor Certification, 

either probationary status or full 

general instructor status, as specified 

in Rule .0303 of this Section; 

(B) complete the Commission-approved 

specialized physical fitness instructor 

training course; and 

(C) obtain the recommendation of a 

Commission-certified School 

Director. 

(2) The second method is: 

(A) Complete the Commission-approved 

specialized physical fitness instructor 

training course; 

(B) obtain the recommendation of a 

Commission-certified School director 

or in-service training coordinator; and 

(C) meet one of the following 

qualifications: 

(i) hold a valid North Carolina 

Professional Educator's 

License, issued by the 

Department of Public 

Instruction, hold a 

baccalaureate degree in 

physical education, and be 

presently teaching in 

physical education topics; or 

(ii) be presently instructing 

physical education topics in a 

community college, college, 

or university and hold a 

baccalaureate degree in 

physical education. 

(i)  To qualify for Specialized Certification in the Standardized 

Field Sobriety Testing topical area, an applicant shall: 

(1) Be certified by the North Carolina Department 

of Health and Human Services, Forensic Test 

for Alcohol Branch, as a Standardized Field 

Sobriety Instructor. 

(2) Obtain the recommendation of a Commission-

certified school director or in-service training 

coordinator. 

(i)(j)  To qualify for Specialized Instructor Certification in the 

Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and 

Juvenile Justice Restraint, Control and Defense Techniques 

topical area, an applicant shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) Hold General Instructor Certification, either 

probationary status or full general instructor 

status, as specified in Rule .0303 of this 

Section; 

(2) Complete the Commission-approved 

corrections specialized instructor training – 

controls, restraints, and defensive techniques 

course; and 

(3) Obtain the recommendation of a Commission-

certified school director. 

(j)(k)  To qualify for Specialized Instructor Certification in the 

Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and 

Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical area, an applicant 

shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) Have completed a Commission-certified basic 

instructor training course or an equivalent 

instructor training course utilizing the 

Instructional Systems Design model, an 

international model with applications in 
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education, military training, and private 

enterprise; 

(2) Hold instructor certification in CPR and First 

Aid by the American Red Cross, American 

Heart Association, American Safety and Health 

Institute, or National Safety Council; and 

(3) Obtain the recommendation of a Commission-

certified school director. 

(k)(l)  To qualify for Specialized Instructor Certification in the 

Explosive and Hazardous Materials Emergencies topical area, an 

applicant shall satisfy one of the following two options: 

(1) The first option is: 

(A) hold General Instructor Certification, 

either probationary status or full 

general instructor status, as specified 

in Rule .0303 of this Section; 

(B) Complete the Commission-approved 

specialized explosives and hazardous 

materials instructor training course; 

and 

(C) obtain the recommendation of a 

Commission-certified school director 

or in-service training coordinator. 

(2) The second option is: 

(A) have completed the Fire Service 

Instructor Methodology Course or the 

equivalent utilizing the Instructional 

Systems Design model, an 

international model with applications 

in education, military training, and 

private enterprise; 

(B) Complete the Commission-approved 

specialized explosives and hazardous 

materials instructor training course; 

and 

(C) obtain the recommendation of a 

Commission-certified school director 

or in-service training coordinator. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

SECTION .0500 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SCHOOL DIRECTORS 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0504 CERTIFICATION OF 

QUALIFIED ASSISTANT 

(a)  If the accredited institution or agency assigns additional 

responsibilities to the certified School Director during the 

planning, development, and implementation of an accredited 

basic recruit a Commission approved training course, a qualified 

assistant shall be designated to assist the School Director in the 

administration of the course. To be eligible to serve as a Qualified 

Assistant, an applicant shall: 

(1) be selected by the School Director; 

(2) have four years of experience as a criminal 

justice officer or as an administrator or 

specialist in a field directly related to the 

criminal justice system; 

(3) be certified as a General Instructor, pursuant to 

12 NCAC 09B .0302, if certified as a Qualified 

Assistant for a Instructor Training Course; 

(4) if serving as a Qualified Assistant for an 

Instructor Training Course, must complete an 

Instructor Orientation Course as offered by the 

North Carolina Justice Academy; 

(5) have completed an orientation course 

conducted by Standards Division staff; and 

(6) participate in the annual training conducted by 

Commission staff. 

(2) hold current General Instructor certification as 

issued by the North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards 

Commission; 

(3) furnish documentary evidence to the Standards 

Division of high school, college, or university 

graduation as outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0104. 

(4) attend or must have attended the most current 

offering of the Qualified Assistant's orientation 

as developed and presented by the Commission 

staff; and 

(5) submit a Form F-10 School Director/Qualified 

Assistant Application to the Commission for 

the issuance of such certification. This 

application shall be executed by the certified 

School Director of the institution or agency 

currently accredited to administer Commission 

approved training courses and for whom the 

applicant will be the designated Qualified 

Assistant. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements identified in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule, to qualify for certification as a Qualified Assistant in 

the presentation of the Criminal Justice Instructor Training 

Course, an applicant shall document completion of the Instructor 

Training Orientation presented by the North Carolina Justice 

Academy on delivery of instructor training course and student 

evaluations. 

(b)  Any person designated by a School Director as a Qualified 

Assistant in the delivery or presentation of a Commission-

mandated training course shall have on file confirmation from the 

Commission acknowledging designation as Qualified Assistant 

prior to acting in an official capacity as a Qualified Assistant. 

(c)  The School Director shall submit to the Criminal Justice 

Standards Division the Qualified Assistant Application form. The 

Qualified Assistant Application Form is located on the agency's 

website at no cost http://ncdoj.gov/About-DOJ/Law-

Enforcement-Training-and-Standards/Criminal-Justice-

Education-and-Training-Standards/Forms-and-

Publications.aspx. Applicants shall provide the following 

information on the Qualified Assistant Application Form: 

(1) accredited school name and contact 

information; 

(2) applicant's name and contact information; 

(3) applicant's instructor certification number; and 

(4) School Director name and signature. 

(d)  The School Director shall ensure that the person selected 

meets the requirements set forth in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this 

Rule. 
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(c)(e)  When directed by the School Director, the Qualified 

Assistant shall assist in the planning, developing, coordinating, 

and delivering of Commission-mandated training courses as 

outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0202. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0505 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF 

QUALIFIED ASSISTANT CERTIFICATION 

(a)  The term of certification as a Qualified Assistant is three years 

from the date the Commission issues the certification, unless 

earlier terminated by action of the Commission. The application 

for renewal shall include documentation meeting the requirements 

of Rule .0504(a) and (b) of this Section. 

(b)  The Commission may deny, suspend, or revoke certification 

as a Qualified Assistant when the Commission finds that the 

person failed to meet or maintain any of the requirements for 

qualification or failed to comply with the Rules of this Chapter. 

(c)  Prior to the Commission's action denying, suspending, or 

revoking a Qualified Assistant's certification, the Standards 

Division may notify the person that a deficiency appears to exist 

and may attempt, in an advisory capacity, to assist the person in 

correcting the deficiency. 

(d)  The Commission shall deny, suspend, or revoke the 

certification of a Qualified Assistant when it have found the 

person has engaged in any conduct outlined in Rule .0301(e) or 

(f) of this Subchapter. 

(e)  To retain certification as a Qualified Assistant, the Qualified 

Assistant shall: 

(1) Participate in annual training conducted by 

Commission staff. This annual training shall be 

delivered in a conference, classroom, or virtual 

format and shall contain information relevant to 

the responsibilities of a Qualified Assistant, as 

outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0504(c); 

(2) Hold current General Instructor Certification as 

issued by the North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards 

Commission. 

(f)  The Director may grant a waiver of attendance at the annual 

training for just cause. For purposes of this Rule, just cause means 

accident, illness, emergency, or other circumstances, which 

precluded the Qualified Assistant from attending the scheduled 

annual training. Qualified Assistants who receive a waiver of 

attendance shall be required to complete a make up training 

session prior to the end of the calendar year in which the training 

requirement applies. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09C - ADMINISTRATION OF CRIMINAL 

JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS 

 

SECTION .0300 - CERTIFICATION OF CRIMINAL 

JUSTICE OFFICERS 

 

12 NCAC 09C .0309 LATERAL TRANSFER OF 

LOCAL CONFINEMENT PERSONNEL 

(a)  An officer, supervisor or administrator with general 

certification may transfer from one local confinement facility to 

another local confinement facility, or may transfer from one 

county confinement facility to another county confinement 

facility with less than a 12-month break in service. Prior to 

employing the individual, the employing agency shall: 

(1) verify the certification of the individual with the 

Standards Division; 

(2) submit an up-to-date fingerprint check in the 

same manner as prescribed for non-certified 

new applicants; no certification will be 

transferred if the holder has been convicted 

since initial certification of any offense for 

which revocation or suspension or certification 

is authorized; 

(3) advise the individual that he will be serving 

under a probationary appointment with the 

agency for one year; 

(4) notify the Commission, by submitting a Report 

of Appointment, that the individual is being 

employed and stating the date on which 

employment will commence. 

(b)  Prior to transfer of certification, local confinement personnel 

shall: 

(1) complete a Medical History Statement Form 

within one year prior to the transfer to the 

employing agency; 

(2) submit to examination by a physician licensed 

to practice medicine in North Carolina who 

holds a current license to practice medicine in 

the same manner prescribed for non-certified 

new applicants in 12 NCAC 09B .0104 within 

one year prior to the transfer to the employing 

agency; 

(3) submit results of the physical examination to 

the employing agency for placement in the 

individual's permanent personnel file; and 

(4) produce a negative result on a drug screen 

administered according to the specifications 

outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0101(5). 

(c)  Local confinement personnel previously certified who were 

not previously required to meet the educational or basic training 

requirements are not required to meet such requirements when 

laterally transferring to another agency with less than a 12-month 

break in service. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

12 NCAC 09C .0310 AGENCY REPORTING OF 

DRUG SCREENING RESULTS 

(a)  Every law enforcement officer shall produce a negative result 

on a drug screen administered according to the following 

specifications: 

(1) the drug screen shall be a urine test consisting 

of an initial screening test using an 

immunoassay method and a confirmatory test 

on an initial positive result using a gas 
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chromatography/mass spectrometry (GC/MS) 

or other initial and confirmatory tests 

authorized or mandated by the Department of 

Health and Human Services for Federal 

Workplace Drug Testing Programs; 

(2) a chain of custody shall be maintained on the 

specimen from collection to the eventual 

discarding of the specimen. If the specimen is 

handled only by a medical professional or a 

third party provider and the laboratory utilizes 

federally mandated chain of custody 

procedures, then the agency does not need an 

inter-agency chain of custody procedure. If 

agency staff will be handling the urine 

specimen at any point, then agency staff shall 

document the collection, storage, and 

processing of the specimen for testing purposes. 

(3) the drug screen shall test for the presence of at 

least cannabis, cocaine, phencyclidine (PCP), 

opiates, and amphetamines or their metabolites; 

and 

(4) the test threshold values meet the requirements 

established by the Department of Health and 

Human Services for Federal Workplace Drug 

Testing Programs, as found in 82 FR 7920 

(2017) incorporated by reference, including 

later amendments and editions found at no cost 

at 

https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/20

17/01/23/2017-00979/mandatory-guidelines-

for-federal-workplace-drug-testing-programs; 

(5) conduct the test within 90 days of certification; 

(6) the laboratory conducting the test shall be 

certified for federal workplace drug testing 

programs, and shall adhere to applicable federal 

rules, regulations, and guidelines pertaining to 

the handling, testing, storage, and preservation 

of samples. 

(b)  Each agency shall report in writing to the Criminal Justice 

Standards Division all refusals and all positive results of required 

drug screening obtained from applicants and lateral transfers. If 

the positive result were explained by the applicant or lateral 

transfer to the satisfaction of the agency's Medical Review 

Officer, who holds a current license to practice medicine, shall be 

a licensed physician, the positive results are not required to be 

reported. 

(c)  Each agency, if it conducts a drug screen for in-service 

officers, shall report in writing positive results or refusals to 

submit to an in-service drug screening to the Criminal Justice 

Standards Division within 30 days of the positive result or refusal, 

unless the officer has explained the positive result to the 

satisfaction of the agency's Medical Review Officer, who shall be 

a licensed physician, to the extent the drug screen conducted 

conforms to the specifications of this Rule. 

(d)  For reporting purposes, a result is considered "positive" only 

in those cases where the drug screen reveals the presence of an 

illegal drug at a level equal to or greater than the threshold value 

as established by the Department of Health and Human Services 

for Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs and incorporated 

by reference in this Rule. 

(e)  For reporting purposes, a result is considered "negative" only 

in those cases where the drug screen reveals the presence of an 

illegal drug at a level less than the threshold value as established 

by the Department of Health and Human Services for Federal 

Workplace Drug Testing Programs and incorporated by reference 

in this Rule. 

(f)  All written reports required to be submitted to the Criminal 

Justice Standards Division by this Rule shall contain the 

individual's name, date of birth, either the date the test was 

administered or the date of the refusal, and a copy of the drug 

screen panel with the results of the medical officer review. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09D – PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE 

PROGRAMS 

 

SECTION .0100 - LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS' 

PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE PROGRAM 

 

12 NCAC 09D .0102 GENERAL PROVISIONS 

(a)  In order to be eligible for one or more of the professional 

awards, an officer shall first meet the following preliminary 

qualifications: 

(1) The officer shall presently hold general law 

enforcement officer certification. A person 

serving under a probationary certification is not 

eligible for consideration. An officer subject to 

suspension or revocation proceedings, or who 

is currently on probation subsequent to 

suspension or revocation proceedings, or is 

under investigation for possible decertification 

action by the Commission, the Company and 

Campus Police Program, or the North Carolina 

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards 

Commission shall not be eligible for 

professional awards for the pendency of the 

proceeding; 

(2) The officer shall be familiar with and subscribe 

to the Law Enforcement Code of Ethics; 

(3) The officer shall be a full-time, sworn, paid 

member of a law enforcement agency within 

the state; 

(4) Applicants shall be given credit for the 

satisfactory completion of all in-service law 

enforcement training which is not mandated by 

the Commission pursuant to 12 NCAC 09E 

.0105; 

(5) Applicants shall not be given credit for the 

satisfactory completion of Commission-

mandated Basic Law Enforcement Training 

courses; and 

(6) Full-time, paid employees of a law enforcement 

agency within the State who have successfully 

completed a Commission-accredited law 

enforcement officer basic training program and 

have previously held general law enforcement 
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officer certification as specified in 

Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph, but are 

presently, by virtue of promotion or transfer, 

serving in non-sworn positions not subject to 

certification are eligible to participate in the 

professional certificate program. Eligibility for 

this exception requires continuous employment 

with the law enforcement agency from the date 

of promotion or transfer from a sworn, certified 

position to the date of application for a 

professional certificate. 

(b)  Awards are based upon a formula which combines formal 

education, law enforcement training, and actual experience as a 

law enforcement officer. Points are computed in the following 

manner: 

(1) Each semester hour of college credit shall equal 

one point and each quarter hour shall equal two-

thirds of a point; 

(2) Twenty classroom hours of Commission-

approved law enforcement training shall equal 

one point; and 

(3) Only experience as a full-time, sworn, paid 

member of a law enforcement agency or 

equivalent experience shall be acceptable for 

consideration. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09G - STANDARDS FOR CORRECTIONS 

EMPLOYMENT, TRAINING, AND CERTIFICATION 

 

SECTION .0200 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CERTIFICATION OF CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS, 

PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS, AND 

PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS-SURVEILLANCE 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0205 MEDICAL EXAMINATION 

(a)  Each applicant for certification or enrollment in a basic 

correctional officer or probation/parole officer training course 

shall complete, sign, and date the Commission's Medical History 

Statement Form (F-1) and shall be examined by either a surgeon, 

physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner who is 

licensed to practice in North Carolina or authorized to practice 

medicine in accordance with the rules and regulations of the 

United States Armed Forces, as outlined in 10 U.S. Code 1094, 

holds a current license to practice medicine, to help determine his 

or her fitness to carry out the physical requirements of the position 

of correctional officer or probation/parole officer. 

(b)  Prior to being examined, the applicant shall provide the 

examining surgeon, physician, physician's assistant, or nurse 

practitioner with: 

(1) the Medical History Statement Form (F-1) 

which must be read, completed, and signed; and 

(2) the Instructions to Agency and Examiner for 

Completion of Medical Examination Report (F-

2A) Form attached to the Medical Examination 

Report Form (F-2). The Instructions to Agency 

and Examiner for Completion of Medical 

Examination Report (F-2A) Form shall notify 

the examining surgeon, physician, physician's 

assistant, or nurse practitioner that the "Medical 

Screening Guidelines for the Certification of 

Criminal Justice Officers in North Carolina" as 

published by the North Carolina Department of 

Justice is available at no cost at 

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/. 

(c)  The examining surgeon, physician, physician's assistant, or 

nurse practitioner shall record the results of the examination on 

the Medical Examination Report Form (F-2) and shall sign and 

date the form. 

(d)  The Medical Examination Report Form (F-2) and the Medical 

History Statement Form (F-1) shall be valid for one year after the 

date of the examination was conducted and shall be completed 

prior to: 

(1) the applicant's beginning the basic correctional 

officer or basic probation/parole officer training 

course, and 

(2) an agency's submission of application for 

certification to the Commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0211 AGENCY REPORTING OF 

DRUG SCREENING RESULTS 

(a)  Every correctional or probation/parole officer shall have 

produced a negative result on a drug screen administered 

according to the following specifications: 

(1) the drug screen shall be a urine test consisting 

of an initial screening test using an 

immunoassay method and a confirmatory test 

on an initial positive result using a gas 

chromatography/mass spectrometry (GC/MS) 

or other initial and confirmatory tests 

authorized or mandated by the Department of 

Health and Human Services for Federal 

Workplace Drug Testing Programs; 

(2) a chain of custody shall be maintained on the 

specimen from collection to the eventual 

discarding of the specimen. If the specimen is 

handled only by a medical professional or a 

third party provider and the laboratory utilizes 

federally mandated chain of custody 

procedures, then the agency does not need an 

inter-agency chain of custody procedure. If 

agency staff will be handling the urine 

specimen at any point, then the agency needs a 

firmly established chain of custody procedure; 

(3) the drug screen shall test for the presence of at 

least cannabis, cocaine, phencyclidine (PCP), 

opiates, and amphetamines or their metabolites; 

and 

(4) the test threshold values meet the requirements 

established by the Department of Health and 

Human Services for Federal Workplace Drug 

Testing Programs, as found in 82 FR 7920 

(2017) incorporated by reference, including 

later amendments and editions found at no cost 
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at 

https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/20

17/01/23/2017-00979/mandatory-guidelines-

for-federal-workplace-drug-testing-programs; 

(5) conduct the test within 90 days of certification; 

(6) the laboratory conducting the test shall be 

certified for federal workplace drug testing 

programs, and shall adhere to applicable federal 

rules, regulations, and guidelines pertaining to 

the handling, testing, storage, and preservation 

of samples. 

(b)  The agency shall report in writing to the Criminal Justice 

Standards Division all refusals and all positive results of required 

drug screening obtained from applicants. If the positive result was 

explained by the applicant to the satisfaction of the agency's 

Medical Review Officer, who shall be a licensed physician, holds 

a current license to practice medicine, the positive results are not 

required to be reported. 

(c)  The agency, if it conducts a drug screen for in-service officers, 

shall report in writing positive results or refusals to submit to an 

in-service drug screening to the Criminal Justice Standards 

Division within 30 days of the positive result or refusal, unless the 

officer has explained the positive result to the satisfaction of the 

agency's Medical Review Officer, who shall be a licensed 

physician, holds a current license to practice medicine, to the 

extent the drug screen conducted conforms to the specifications 

of this Rule. 

(d)  For reporting purposes, a result is considered "positive" only 

in those cases where the drug screen reveals the presence of an 

illegal drug at a level equal to or greater than the threshold value 

as established by the Department of Health and Human Services 

for Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs and incorporated 

by reference in this Rule. 

(e)  For reporting purposes, a result is considered "negative" only 

in those cases where the drug screen reveals the presence of an 

illegal drug at a level less than the threshold value as established 

by the Department of Health and Human Services for Federal 

Workplace Drug Testing Programs and incorporated by reference 

in this Rule. 

(f)  All written reports required to be submitted to the Criminal 

Justice Standards Division by this Rule shall contain the 

individual's name, date of birth, either the date the test was 

administered or the date of the refusal, and a copy of the drug 

screen panel with the results of the medical officer review. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

SECTION .0400 – MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

TRAINING OF CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS, 

PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICER, AND 

PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS-SURVEILLANCE 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0417 CERTIFICATION OF 

QUALIFIED ASSISTANT 

(a)  If the accredited institution or agency assigns additional 

responsibilities to the certified School Director during the 

planning, development, and implementation of an accredited 

basic recruit a Commission approved training course, a qualified 

assistant Qualified Assistant shall be designated to assist the 

School Director in the administration of the course. To be eligible 

to serve as a Qualified Assistant, an applicant shall: 

(1) be selected by the School Director; 

(2) have four years of experience as a criminal 

justice officer or as an administrator or 

specialist in a field directly related to the 

criminal justice system; 

(3) be certified as a General Instructor, pursuant to 

Rule .0308 of this Subchapter, if certified as a 

Qualified Assistant for an Instructor Training 

Course; 

(4) if serving as a Qualified Assistant for an 

Instructor Training Course, must complete an 

Instructor Training Orientation Course as 

offered by the North Carolina Justice Academy; 

(5) have completed an orientation course 

conducted by Standards Division staff; and 

(6) participate in the annual training conducted by 

Commission staff. 

(2) hold current General Instructor certification as 

issued by the North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards 

Commission; 

(3) furnish documentary evidence to the Standards 

Division of high school, college, or university 

graduation as outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0104. 

(4) attend or must have attended the most current 

offering of the Qualified Assistant's orientation 

as developed and presented by the Commission 

staff; and 

(5) submit a Form F-10 School Director/Qualified 

Assistant Application to the Commission for 

the issuance of such certification. This 

application shall be executed by the certified 

School Director of the institution or agency 

currently accredited to administer Commission 

approved training courses and for whom the 

applicant will be the designated Qualified 

Assistant. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements identified in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule, to qualify for certification as a Qualified Assistant in 

the presentation of the Criminal Justice Instructor Training 

Course, an applicant shall document completion of the Instructor 

Training Orientation presented by the North Carolina Justice 

Academy on delivery of instructor training course and student 

evaluations. 

(b)  Any person designated by a School Director as a Qualified 

Assistant or who performs the duties of, a Qualified Assistant in 

the delivery or presentation of a Commission-mandated training 

course shall have on file confirmation from the Commission 

acknowledging designation as Qualified Assistant prior to acting 

in an official capacity as a Qualified Assistant. 

(c)  The School Director shall submit to the Criminal Justice 

Standards Division the Qualified Assistant Application Form F-

10(QA). The Qualified Assistant Application Form F-10(QA) is 

located on the agency's website at no cost http://ncdoj.gov/About-

DOJ/Law-Enforcement-Training-and-Standards/Criminal-

Justice-Education-and-Training-Standards/Forms-and-
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Publications.aspx. Applicants shall provide the following 

information on the Qualified Assistant Application Form: 

(1) accredited school name and contact 

information; 

(2) applicant's name and contact information; 

(3) applicant's instructor certification number; and 

(4) School Director name and signature. 

(d)  The School Director shall ensure that the person selected 

meets the requirements set forth in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this 

Rule. 

(e)(c)  When directed by the School Director, the Qualified 

Assistant shall assist in the planning, developing, coordinating, 

and delivering of Commission-mandated training courses as 

outlined in Rule .0408 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0418 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF 

QUALIFIED ASSISTANT CERTIFICATION 

(a)  The term of certification as a Qualified Assistant is three years 

from the date the Commission issues the certification, unless 

earlier terminated by action of the Commission. The application 

for renewal shall include documentation meeting the requirements 

of Rule .0417(a) and (b) of this Section. 

(b)  The Commission may deny, suspend, or revoke certification 

as a Qualified Assistant when the Commission finds that the 

person failed to meet or maintain any of the requirements for 

qualification or failed to comply with the rules of this Chapter. 

(c)  Prior to the Commission's action denying, suspending, or 

revoking a Qualified Assistant's certification, the Standards 

Division may notify the person that a deficiency appears to exist 

and may attempt, in an advisory capacity, to assist the person in 

correcting the deficiency. 

(d)  The Commission shall deny, suspend, or revoke the 

certification of a Qualified Assistant when it have found the 

person has engaged in any conduct outlined in Rule .0307 of this 

Subchapter. 

(e)  To retain certification as a Qualified Assistant, the Qualified 

Assistant shall: 

(1) Participate in annual training conducted by 

Commission staff. This annual training shall be 

delivered in a conference, classroom, or virtual 

format and shall contain information relevant to 

the responsibilities of a Qualified Assistant, as 

outlined in 12 NCAC 09G .0417(c); 

(2) Hold current General Instructor Certification as 

issued by the North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards 

Commission. 

(f)  The Director may grant a waiver of attendance at the annual 

training for just cause. For purposes of this Rule, just cause means 

accident, illness, emergency, or other circumstances, which 

precluded the Qualified Assistant from attending the scheduled 

annual training. Qualified Assistants who receive a waiver of 

attendance shall be required to complete a make up training 

session prior to the end of the calendar year in which the training 

requirement applies. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

SECTION .0600 - PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE 

PROGRAM 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0602 GENERAL PROVISIONS 

(a)  In order to be eligible for one or more of the professional 

awards, an officer shall first meet the following preliminary 

qualifications: 

(1) The officer shall hold a general correctional 

officer certification. A person serving under a 

probationary certification is not eligible for 

consideration. An officer subject to suspension 

or revocation proceedings proceedings, or who 

is currently on probation subsequent to 

suspension or recovation proceedings, or under 

investigation for possible decertification action 

by the Commission, the North Carolina 

Company Police Program, the North Carolina 

Campus Police Program, or the North Carolina 

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards 

Commission shall not be eligible for 

professional awards for the pendency of the 

proceeding. 

(2) The officer shall hold general certification with 

the Commission in one of the following 

categories: 

(A) correctional officer; or 

(B) probation/parole officer. 

(3) The officer shall be a permanent, full-time, paid 

employee of the Department of Public Safety, 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile 

Justice. 

(4) Permanent, paid employees of the Department 

of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction 

and Juvenile Justice who have completed a 

Commission-certified corrections officer basic 

training program and have previously held 

general certification as specified in 12 NCAC 

09G .0602(a)(1) and 12 NCAC 09G 

.0602(a)(2), but are presently, by virtue of 

promotion or transfer, serving in positions not 

subject to certification are eligible to participate 

in the professional certificate program. 

Eligibility for this exception requires 

employment with the Department of Public 

Safety, Division of Adult Correction and 

Juvenile Justice from the date of promotion or 

transfer from a certified position to the date of 

application for a professional certificate. 

(b)  Awards are based upon a formula that combines formal 

education, corrections training, and actual experience as a 

corrections officer. Points are computed in the following manner: 

(1) each semester hour of college credit shall equal 

one point and each quarter hour shall equal two-

thirds of a point; 

(2) 20 classroom hours of Commission-approved 

corrections training shall equal one point; and 

(3) only experience as a permanent, paid employee 

of the Department of Public Safety, Division of 

Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice or the 
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equivalent experience as determined by the 

Commission shall be acceptable of 

consideration. 

Point requirements for each award are described in 12 NCAC 09G 

.0604 and .0605. 

(c)  Certificates shall be awarded in an officer's area of expertise 

only. The State Corrections Certificate is appropriate for 

permanent, paid corrections employees employed by the 

Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and 

Juvenile Justice. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 

intends to amend the rule cited as 12 NCAC 09G .0208 and repeal 

the rule cited as 12 NCAC 09G .0202. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-

justice/forms-and-publications/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 14, 2024 

Time:  1:00 p.m. 

Location:  Meeting to be held on Microsoft Teams. Microsoft 

Teams meeting information is listed on the agency's website. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To include those individuals 

holding green cards, classified as Legal Permanent Residents, to 

hold Correctional Officer certification if meeting hiring 

requirements. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Michelle Schilling, NC 

Department of Justice, Criminal Justice Standards Division, PO 

Drawer 149, Raleigh, NC 27602-0149 

 

Comment period ends:  May 14, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 09 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09G - STANDARDS FOR CORRECTIONS 

EMPLOYMENT, TRAINING, AND CERTIFICATION 

 

SECTION .0200 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CERTIFICATION OF CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS, 

PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS, AND 

PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS-SURVEILLANCE 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0202 CITIZENSHIP 

Every person employed as a correctional or probation/parole 

officer by the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice shall provide 

the agency with documentation verifying that he or she is a citizen 

of the United States. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0208 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS 

(a)  The requirements of this Rule shall apply to all applicants for 

certification and shall also apply at all times during which the 

correctional officer is certified by the Commission. 

(b)  Every correctional officer employed by the North Carolina 

Department of Adult Correction shall: 

(1) be a citizen of the United States; States, or have 

a U.S. Permanent Resident Card (Green Card) 

and have resided in the United States for at least 

five years; 

(2) be at least 20 years of age; 

(3) be a high school graduate, or the equivalent as 

defined in 12 NCAC 09G .0204; 

(4) have been fingerprinted by the employing 

agency in the manner provided in 12 NCAC 

09G .0207; 

(5) have had a medical examination as required by 

12 NCAC 09G .0205; 

(6) have produced a negative result on a drug 

screen as described in 12 NCAC 09G .0211; 

(7) have been administered a psychological 

screening examination in accordance with G.S. 

17C-10(c). The psychological screening 

examination shall be valid for a period of one 

year from the date on which it was 

administered; 
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(8) have a background investigation conducted by 

the Department of Adult Correction, including 

a personal interview as described in 12 NCAC 

09G .0210; 

(9) not have committed or been convicted of a 

crime or crimes as specified in 12 NCAC 09G 

.0302; 

(10) for personnel who are authorized to carry a 

firearm in the execution of their duties, 

satisfactorily Complete the Department of 

Adult Correction's departmental firearms 

training program as prescribed in 12 NCAC 

09G .0411. Such firearms training compliance 

must have occurred within one year of the date 

of employment and by using the department 

approved service handgun(s); 

(11) be of good moral character, including 

possessing the characteristics of honesty, 

maturity, discipline, attention to detail, and 

respect for the rights of others, as more fully 

discussed and interpreted in: In re Willis 288 

N.C. 1.215 S.E. 2d 771 appeal dismissed 423 

U.S. 976 (1975); State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 

6 S.E. 2d 854 (1940); In re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 

386 S.E. 2d 174 (1989); in re Applicants for 

License, 143 N.C.1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); In re 

Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); 

State v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E. 2d 47 

(1983); and later court decisions; and 

(12) make the following notifications: 

(A) within 30 days of the qualifying event, 

notify the Criminal Justice Standards 

Division (Division) and the appointing 

agency head in writing of all criminal 

offenses for which the officer is 

charged or arrested. This shall include 

traffic offenses identified in the 

Department of Adult Correction 

section of the Class B Misdemeanor 

Manual and offenses of driving under 

the influence (DUI) or driving while 

impaired (DWI); 

(B) within 30 days of the qualifying event, 

notify the Division and the appointing 

agency head in writing of all criminal 

offenses for which the officer pleads 

no contest, pleads guilty, or of which 

the officer is found guilty. This shall 

include traffic offenses identified in 

the Class B Misdemeanor Manual 

(correctional officers section) and 

offense of driving under the influence 

(DUI) or driving while impaired 

(DWI); 

(C) within 30 days of service, officers 

shall notify the Standards Division of 

all Domestic Violence Protective 

Orders (G.S. 50B) and Civil No 

Contact Orders (G.S. 50C) that are 

issued by a judicial official against the 

officer; 

(D) within 30 days of the date the case was 

disposed of in court, the agency head, 

provided he or she has knowledge of 

the officer's arrests or criminal charges 

and final dispositions, shall also notify 

the Standards Division of arrests or 

criminal charges and final disposition; 

(E) within 30 days of the issuance of all 

Domestic Violence Protective Orders 

(G.S. 50B) and Civil No Contact 

Orders (G.S. 50C), the agency head, 

provided he or she has knowledge of 

the order, shall also notify the 

Standard Division of these orders; and 

(f)  The required notifications in this Rule shall be in writing and 

shall specify the nature of the offense or order, the court in which 

the case as handled, the date of the arrest, criminal charge, or 

service of the order, and the final disposition. The notification 

shall include a certified copy of the order or court documentation 

and final disposition from the Clerk of Court in the county of 

adjudication. The requirements of this Item shall be applicable at 

all times during which the officer is employed and certified by the 

Commission and shall also apply to all applicants for certification. 

Receipt by the Standards Division of a single notification, for the 

officer or the agency head, shall be sufficient notice for 

compliance with this Item. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

 

TITLE 18 – DEPARTMENT OF THE SECRETARY OF 

STATE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Department of the Secretary of State intends to amend the rules 

cited as 18 NCAC 07B .0404-.0406; 07F .0303, .0401, .0503, 

.0505-.0509, .0512, .0513, .0601, .0806, .0807, .0903, .0906, 

.1102, .1106, .1109-.1111; 07I .0303, .0305, and .0406. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  North 

Carolina Secretary of State General Counsel Phase One 

Rulemaking (sosnc.gov) 

https://sosnc.gov/divisions/general_counsel/open_rulemaking_p

hase_one_rulemaking 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  March 1, 2025 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  To request a public 

hearing: No later than Monday, April 1, 2024, submit a written 

request including your contact information to:  Ann B. Wall, 

General Counsel and Rulemaking Coordinator.  By email to: 

rules@sosnc.gov with a subject line of Request for Public 

Hearing. By USPS to: Ann B. Wall, General Counsel and 

Rulemaking Coordinator, P.O. Box 29622, Raleigh, NC 27626-

0622. By hand-delivery or courier service to: Ann B. Wall, 
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General Counsel and Rulemaking Coordinator, 2 S. Salisbury 

Street, Raleigh, NC 27606. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The Department of the Secretary 

of State is engaged in rulemaking pursuant to the Remote 

Electronic notarization Act, S.L. 2022-53, as amended by S.L. 

2023-57 and S.L. 2023-124. The Department has divided this 

rulemaking into three phases. The Phase 1 rules listed in this 

notice were approved by the Rules Review Commission (RRC) at 

its January 2024 meeting with an effective date of July 1, 2024.  

The Phase 1 rules include general rules, electronic notary rules, 

and notary journal rules.  A July 1, 2024 effective date is no longer 

appropriate for the group of Phase 1 rules listed in this notice.  

The Department proposes changing the July 1, 2024 effective date 

to an effective date of March 1, 2025 for the rules listed in this 

notice.  NO substantive changes are being made to the Phase 1 

rules approved by RRC in January 2024. The reason for the 

effective date change is that the Phase 1 rules listed in this notice 

are interconnected with Phase 2 and Phase 3 rules. The Phase 2 

rules are scheduled for RRC consideration at its February 28, 

2024 meeting. The Phase 3 rules are presently being drafted.  The 

delay in the effective date of the rules listed in this notice does not 

to create new requirements or benefits.  The change in effective 

dates avoids confusion that could result from effective dates of 

rules that cannot be timely implemented.  The change in effective 

date will reduce confusion for the regulated public, enable timely 

implementation, and allow interrelated rules in Phases 1, 2, and 

3 to be effective appropriately.  Please note:  Phase 1 rules that 

are not listed in this notice will be effective on the dates previously 

approved by the RRC: January 1, 2024 for rules in 18 NCAC 07K 

.0200, and July 1, 2024 for all other Phase 1 rules not listed in 

this notice. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Ann B. Wall, General 

Counsel, PO Box 29622, Raleigh, NC 27626-0622; phone (919) 

814-5400; email rules@sosnc.gov (Email comments are 

preferred. Address for courier or hand-delivery is: 2 South 

Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27601) 

 

Comment period ends:  May 14, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of these proposed rules. The text of 

the rules was previously published in Volume 38 Issue 04 pages 

192-212.  

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 16 – BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Dental Examiners intends to adopt the rules cited as 21 

NCAC 16A .0107; 16U .0104, and amend the rules cited as 21 

NCAC 16A .0101; 16B .0303; 16C .0303; 16N .0202 and .0501-

.0504. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncdentalboard.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 18, 2024 

Time:  6:00 p.m. 

Location:  2000 Perimeter Park Drive, #200, Morrisville, NC 

27560 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 16A .0101 is proposed for amendment to remove the 

definition of "candidate" as unnecessary and to add a definition 

of "secure electronic transmission.” 

21 NCAC 16B .0303 is proposed for amendment to require test-

administration agencies to assign at least one Board member to 

each examination administered in North Carolina. 

21 NCAC 16C .0303 is proposed for amendment to require test-

administration agencies to assign at least one Board member to 

each examination administered in North Carolina. 

21 NCAC 16N .0202 is proposed for amendment to reflect current 

procedures for the Board's rulemaking notice mailing list. 

21 NCAC 16N .0501 is proposed for amendment clarify 

procedures related to a licensee’s or applicant’s right to an 

administrative hearing and the statutory exceptions to the right to 

a hearing. 

21 NCAC 16N .0502 is proposed for amendment to clarify 

procedures related to a licensee’s or applicant’s request for an 

administrative hearing. 

21 NCAC 16N .0503 is proposed for amendment to clarify the 

Board’s procedures related to granting or denying a request for 

a hearing. 
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21 NCAC 16N .0504 is proposed for amendment to set out 

information regarding serving the notice of hearing, remove 

provisions related to the notice of hearing that are not required 

by G.S. 150B-38, and clarify the procedures around summary 

suspensions. 

21 NCAC 16U .0104 is proposed to establish and clarify a 

licensee's obligations to cooperate with Board inquiries. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Bobby White, 2000 Perimeter 

Park Drive, Suite 160, Morrisville, NC 27560 

 

Comment period ends:  May 14, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 16 – BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 

 

SUBCHAPTER 16A – ORGANIZATION 

 

21 NCAC 16A .0101 DEFINITIONS 

As used in this Chapter: 

(1) "Applicant" means a person applying for any 

license or permit issued by the Board; Board. 

(2) "Board" means the North Carolina State Board 

of Dental Examiners; Examiners. 

(3) "Candidate" means a person who has applied 

and been accepted for examination to practice 

dentistry or dental hygiene in North Carolina; 

(4)(3) "Current license" means a license that is 

renewed by the licensing board; board. 

(5)(4) "CPR certification" means that the licensee has 

completed a CPR course that meets American 

Red Cross or American Heart Association 

standards for certification and that provides 

manikin testing on the subjects of cardio-

pulmonary of cardiopulmonary resuscitation. 

The course must shall also cover the use of an 

automatic external defibrillator, unconscious 

and conscious choking choking, and rescue 

breathing. breathing, provided that the 

foregoing requirements shall not be interpreted 

in any way that violates the Americans with 

Disabilities Act. The manikin testing shall be 

provided by an instructor who is present in the 

training room with the students; students. 

(6)(5) "Internship" means practice in an educational 

training program. Internship does not mean 

practice under an intern permit while holding an 

unrestricted general dental or dental specialty 

license issued by a state, U.S. territory territory, 

or the District of Columbia; Columbia. 

(6) "Secure electronic transmission" means an 

electronic method of communication that 

ensures that completeness, integrity, and 

confidentiality of information are maintained 

during transmission. 

(7) "Unrestricted license" means a license that is 

not under suspension or inactivation, or subject 

to the terms of a consent order or other 

disciplinary action imposed by the jurisdiction 

that issued the license, or limited by supervision 

or location requirements; requirements. 

(8) Except where otherwise defined by these Rules 

or by statute, "supervision," "direct 

supervision," and "supervision and direction" 

means that the dentist overseeing treatment is 

present in the same facility or location and 

available during the performance of the acts 

that are being performed pursuant to that 

dentist's order, control, and approval and that 

the dentist must shall examine and evaluate the 

results of such acts; and acts. 

(9) Except where otherwise defined by these Rules 

or by statute, "direction" or "under direction" 

means that the dentist ordering treatment does 

not have to be present in the same facility or 

location during the performance of the acts that 

are being performed pursuant to that dentist's 

order, control, and approval, but that dentist 

shall be responsible for all consequences or 

results arising from such acts. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-29(a); 90-29.3; 90-29.4; 90-29.5; 90-

30; 90-48; 90-224; 90-224.1; 90-226. 

 

21 NCAC 16A .0107 BOARD CONTACT 

INFORMATION; SUBMISSION OF INFORMATION AND 

DOCUMENTS TO THE BOARD 

(a)  To contact or obtain information about the Board: 

(1) Mailing address: 2000 Perimeter Park Drive, 

Suite 160, Morrisville, North Carolina 27560. 

(2) Website: www.ncdentalboard.org. 

(3) Telephone number: (919) 678-8223. 

(4) Fax number: (919) 678-8472. 
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(5) Email address: info@ncdentalboard.org. 

(b)  Unless otherwise stated, all forms required by the rules of this 

Chapter are available on the Board's website. 

(c)  For any rule in this Chapter requiring an applicant or licensee 

to request a testing agency, educational program, or other entity 

to send information or documents directly to the Board office, the 

Board accepts information and documents sent by the entity via 

secure electronic transmission, as well as documents sent in a 

sealed envelope directly from the entity to the Board office. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-48. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 16B - LICENSURE DENTISTS 

 

SECTION .0300 - APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 

 

21 NCAC 16B .0303 BOARD APPROVED 

EXAMINATIONS 

(a)  All applicants for dental licensure shall achieve a passing 

score of at least 80 percent on the Board's sterilization and 

jurisprudence examinations. Applicants may take a reexamination 

in accordance with Rule .0317 of this Section. 

(b)  All applicants for dental licensure shall achieve passing scores 

scores, as set by the testing agency, on the examination 

administered by the Joint Commission on National Dental 

Examinations and clinical examinations developed and 

administered by Board approved testing agencies. The Board shall 

determine which testing agencies are approved based on the 

requirements set forth in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule. 

(c)  To qualify as an approved testing agency, the test-

development or test-administration agency shall allow a 

representative of the Dental Board to serve on the agency's Board 

of Directors and the Examination Review Committee for the 

limited purpose of allowing Dental Board input in the 

development and administration of the examination. When Dental 

Board members offer to participate as examiners for examinations 

administered in North Carolina, the test-administration agency 

shall assign at least one of those Dental Board members to each 

examination administered in North Carolina. 

(d)  To qualify as an approved testing agency, the clinical 

examination developed or administered by a the testing agency 

shall: 

(1) include procedures performed on human 

subjects or an alternative method that simulates 

human subjects, including manikins, as part of 

the assessment of restorative clinical 

competencies; 

(2) include evaluations in clinical periodontics and 

at least three of the following subject matter 

areas: 

(A) endodontics, clinical abilities testing; 

(B) amalgam preparation and restoration; 

(C) anterior composite preparation and 

restoration; 

(D) posterior ceramic or composite 

preparation and restoration; 

(E) prosthetics, written or clinical abilities 

testing; 

(F) oral diagnosis, written or clinical 

abilities testing; or 

(G) oral surgery, written or clinical 

abilities testing; and 

(3) provide the following: 

(A) anonymity between applicants and 

examination graders; 

(B) standardization and calibration of 

graders; 

(C) a mechanism for post exam analysis; 

(D) conjunctive scoring, which is scoring 

that requires applicants to earn a 

passing grade on all sections or areas 

tested and that does not allow 

weighted, averaged, or overall scoring 

to compensate for failures in 

individual subject areas; 

(E) a minimum passing score set by the 

testing agency for each subject area 

tested; 

(F) an annual review of the examination 

conducted by the testing agency; 

(G) a task analysis performed by the 

testing agency at least once every 

seven years that surveys dentists 

nationwide to determine the content of 

the examination; 

(H) a system of quality assurance to ensure 

uniform, consistent administration of 

the examination at each testing site; 

and 

(I) a system of quality assurance that does 

not permit a dental instructor to grade 

candidates at any institution at which 

the instructor is employed. 

(e)  The Board shall accept examination scores for five years 

following the date of the examinations. Each applicant shall 

request the applicable entity to send the applicant's scores to the 

Board office. Individuals who apply for licensure more than five 

years after the examination date shall re-take the examination. 

(f)  The applicant shall comply with all requirements of the testing 

agency in applying for and taking the examination. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-30; 90-48. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 16C - LICENSURE DENTAL 

HYGIENISTS 

 

SECTION .0300 - APPLICATION 

 

21 NCAC 16C .0303 BOARD APPROVED 

EXAMINATIONS 

(a)  All applicants for dental hygiene licensure shall achieve a 

passing scores score of at least 80 percent on the Board's 

sterilization and jurisprudence examinations. Reexamination shall 

be governed by Rule .0311 of this Section. 

(b)  All applicants for dental hygiene licensure shall achieve 

passing scores scores, as set by the testing agency, on the 

examination administered by the Joint Commission on National 
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Dental Examinations and clinical examinations developed and 

administered by Board approved testing agencies. The Board shall 

determine which testing agencies are approved based on the 

requirements set forth in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule. 

(c)  To qualify as an approved testing agency, the test-

development or test-administration agency shall allow a 

representative of the Dental Board to serve on the agency's Board 

of Directors and Examination Review Committee for the limited 

purpose of allowing Dental Board input in the development and 

administration of the examination. When Dental Board members 

offer to participate as examiners for examinations administered in 

North Carolina, the test-administration agency shall assign at least 

one of those Dental Board members to each examination 

administered in North Carolina. 

(d)  To qualify as an approved testing agency, the clinical 

examination developed or administered by a the testing agency 

shall: 

(1) include procedures performed on human 

subjects or an alternative method that simulates 

human subjects, including manikins, as part of 

the assessment of clinical competency; 

(2) include probing, supra- and subgingival 

scaling, and soft tissue management; and 

(3) provide the following: 

(A) anonymity between applicants and 

examination graders; 

(B) standardization and calibration of 

graders; 

(C) a mechanism for post exam analysis; 

(D) conjunctive scoring, which is scoring 

that requires applicants to earn a 

passing grade on all sections or areas 

tested and that does not allow 

weighted, averaged, or overall scoring 

to compensate for failures in 

individual subject areas; 

(E) a minimum passing score set by the 

testing agency for each subject area 

tested; 

(F) an annual review of the examination 

conducted by the testing agency; 

(G) a task analysis performed by the 

testing agency at least once every 

seven years that surveys dentists 

nationwide to determine the content of 

the examination; 

(H) a system of quality assurance to ensure 

uniform, consistent administration of 

the examination at each testing site; 

and 

(I) a system of quality assurance that does 

not permit a dental hygiene instructor 

to grade candidates at any institution at 

which the instructor is employed. 

(e)  The Board shall accept examination scores for five years 

following the date of the examination. Individuals who apply for 

licensure more than five years after the examination date shall re-

take the examination. Each applicant shall request the applicable 

entity to send the applicant's scores to the Board office. 

(f)  The applicant shall comply with all requirements of the testing 

agency in applying for and taking the examination. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-223; 90-224. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 16N - RULEMAKING AND 

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING PROCEDURES 

 

SECTION .0200 – NOTICE OF RULEMAKING 

HEARINGS 

 

21 NCAC 16N .0202 NOTICE OF MAILING LIST 

The Board maintains a mailing list of persons that have requested 

notice of rulemaking, and sends notices of rulemaking to persons 

on the mailing list by electronic mail. Any person or agency 

desiring to be placed on the mailing list for the Board's rulemaking 

notices may file submit a written request by email, fax, or first-

class mail to in the Board's office. The letter of request shall 

provide the email address to which notices will be sent. should 

state those particular subject areas within the authority of the 

Board concerning which notice is desired. The If circumstances 

require that rulemaking notices be sent by first-class mail, the 

Board may require reasonable postage and stationery costs to be 

paid by those requesting such the notices. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-48; 90-223(b); 150B-21.2(d). 150B-12(c). 

 

SECTION .0500 - ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING 

PROCEDURES 

 

21 NCAC 16N .0501 RIGHT TO HEARING 

(a)  When the Board acts, acts or proposes to act, other than in 

rulemaking or declaratory ruling proceedings, act in a manner that 

will affect the rights, duties, or privileges of a licensee or applicant 

for a license or permit, such person applicant, the licensee or 

applicant has a right to an administrative hearing. When the Board 

proposes to act in such a manner, it shall give such person notice 

of his right to a hearing by mailing by certified mail to him at his 

last known address a notice of the proposed action and a notice of 

a right to a hearing. Notice of hearing may also be given by any 

method of service permitted in G.S. 150B-38(c), by a signed 

acceptance of service from such person, or by delivery to the 

person's attorney of record who accepts service on behalf of the 

person. 

(b)  Except in contested cases for which the Board serves a notice 

of hearing in accordance with G.S. 150B-3 and 150B-38, the 

Board shall give the affected person notice of the right to a hearing 

by mail to the affected person's last known address. If the affected 

person desires a hearing, they shall request a hearing within 30 

days of the date of the Board's notice of right to a hearing. The 

request shall be in writing, and shall contain a clear and specific 

statement of request for a hearing. The request shall be sent to the 

Board's office by email, fax, or delivery to the Board's mailing 

address, as set out in 21 NCAC 16A .0107. Upon receipt of the 

affected person's request for a hearing, the Board shall issue a 

notice of hearing in accordance with G.S. 150B-38 and Rule .0504 

of this Section. 

(c)  The right to an administrative hearing does not apply to 

rulemaking or declaratory ruling proceedings, to applicants for 
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reinstatement after revocation, or to applicants for license by 

comity or credentials pursuant to G.S. 90-36. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-41.1; 150B-3; 150B-38. 150B-38(h). 

 

21 NCAC 16N .0502 REQUEST FOR HEARING 

(a)  Any individual A licensee or applicant who believes his or her 

their rights, duties, or privileges have been affected by the Board's 

administrative action, but and who has not received a notice of a 

hearing or notice of a right to an administrative hearing, may file 

submit to the Board a request for hearing. a hearing within 30 days 

of the date of the action taken by the Board which is challenged. 

(b)  The individual licensee or applicant shall submit a the request 

to the Board's office, office by email, fax, or delivery to the 

Board's mailing address, as set out in 21 NCAC 16A .0107. The 

request shall contain: containing the following information: 

(1) Name the name and address of the petitioner; 

(2) A a concise statement of the action taken by the 

Board which is challenged; 

(3) A a concise statement of the way in which 

petitioner has been aggrieved; and 

(4) A a clear and specific statement of request for a 

hearing. 

 

Authority G.S. 150B-38. 

 

21 NCAC 16N .0503 GRANTING OR DENYING 

HEARING REQUEST 

(a)  The Upon receipt of a request for a hearing submitted in 

accordance with Rule .0502 of this Section, the Board will decide 

whether to grant a request for a hearing. the request. Whenever 

the Board finds good cause exists to deny a request for a hearing, 

the Board may deny the request. For purposes of this Rule, good 

cause for denial of a hearing request exists when: 

(1) the petitioner has not demonstrated a right to an 

administrative hearing pursuant to Rule .0501 

of this Section; 

(2) the request does not satisfy all the requirements 

set out in Rule .0502 of this Section; or 

(3) the Board determines that the request should be 

denied for some other reason in the interests of 

justice. 

(b)  The denial of a request for a hearing will be issued in writing 

immediately upon decision, and in no case later than 60 days after 

the submission of the request. Such The denial shall contain a 

statement of state the reasons leading the Board to deny the 

request. 

(c)  Approval of a request for a hearing will be signified by the 

Board issuing a notice of hearing in accordance with as required 

by G.S. 150B-38 and explained in Rule .0504 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 150B-38. 

 

21 NCAC 16N .0504 NOTICE OF HEARING 

(a)  The Board shall give the party or parties in a contested case a 

notice of hearing not less than 15 days before the hearing. Said 

notice shall contain the following information, in addition to the 

items specified in G.S. 150B-38(b): 

(1) The name, position, address and telephone 

number of a person at the office of the Board to 

contact for further information or discussion; 

and 

(2) A statement explaining that the Respondent 

may be represented by counsel, testify, offer 

evidence, and cross examine adverse witnesses 

at the hearing. 

(a)  The Board shall give the party or parties in a contested case a 

notice of hearing by one of the following methods: 

(1) a signed acceptance of service from the party; 

(2) delivery to the party's attorney of record who 

accepts service on behalf of the party; or 

(3) any method of service permitted pursuant to 

G.S. 150B-38(c). 

(b)  If the Board determines that the public health, safety, or 

welfare requires such emergency action, it may issue an order 

summarily suspending a license pursuant to G.S. 150B-3. Upon 

service of the order, the The licensee to whom the order is directed 

shall immediately cease practicing in North Carolina. Carolina 

effective on the date of service of the order. The Board shall 

promptly give notice of hearing pursuant to G.S. 150B-3 and 

150B-38 following service of the order. The suspension shall 

remain in effect pending issuance by the Board of a final agency 

decision pursuant to G.S. 150B-42. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-41.1; 150B-3; 150B-38. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 16U – INVESTIGATIONS 

 

SECTION .0100 - PROCEDURES 

 

21 NCAC 16U .0104 COOPERATION WITH BOARD 

INQUIRY 

(a)  A licensee shall cooperate with the Board in connection with 

any inquiry it shall make. Cooperation includes: 

(1) acknowledging and responding in a timely 

manner to all inquiries from the Board or its 

representatives; 

(2) claiming Board correspondence in a timely 

manner from the U. S. Postal Service or other 

delivery service, including correspondence by 

email; 

(3) being available in a timely manner for 

investigative interviews with Board 

representatives; and 

(4) providing accurate and complete information in 

response to all Board inquiries. 

(b)  For purposes of this Rule, an "inquiry" means any request 

from the Board or its representatives for information or 

documentation, including investigative subpoenas and interview 

requests. "Timely" means within the time specified by the Board 

for response to an inquiry or, if no time is specified, within five 

business days of receipt. 

(c)  A licensee shall notify the Board in writing within 10 business 

days of any change in the licensee's addresses or telephone 

numbers, and shall provide the Board with an email address 

through which the Board may communicate inquiries to the 

licensee. 
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Authority G.S. 90-27; 90-28; 90-41; 90-48. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Dental Examiners intends to amend the rule cited as 21 

NCAC 16H .0104. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncdentalboard.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 18, 2024 

Time:  6:00 p.m. 

Location:  2000 Perimeter Park Drive, #200, Morrisville, NC  

27560 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed amendment updates 

education and training requirements for dental assistants and 

eliminates a requirement related to coronal polishing. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Bobby White, 2000 Perimeter 

Park Drive, Suite 160, Morrisville, NC 27560 

 

Comment period ends:  May 14, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 16H - DENTAL ASSISTANTS 

 

SECTION .0100 - CLASSIFICATION AND TRAINING 

 

21 NCAC 16H .0104 APPROVED EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING PROGRAMS 

(a)  To be classified as a Dental Assistant II, an assistant shall have 

and maintain an unexpired CPR certification and also shall meet 

one of the following criteria: complete: 

(1) completion of: a dental assisting program 

accredited by the Commission on Dental 

Accreditation ("CODA"), a list of which is 

available at no cost at coda.ada.org/find-a-

program/search-dental-programs and is 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions; 

(A) an ADA-accredited dental assisting 

program; or 

(B) one academic year or longer in an 

ADA-accredited dental hygiene 

program; 

(2) one complete school year or longer in a CODA-

accredited dental hygiene program; 

(3) a dental assistant program offered through a 

branch of the U.S. armed forces at the Medical 

Education & Training Campus that includes a 

clinical rotation providing dental assisting for 

live patients; 

(2)(4) completion of the Certified Dental Assistant 

certification examination(s) examinations 

administered by the Dental Assisting National 

Board; Board ("DANB") with a passing score 

as set by DANB; or 

(3)(5) completion of: the following: 

(A) employment as a Dental Assistant I for 

two years of the preceding five, 

consisting of at least 3,000 hours total; 

and 

(B) a 3-hour course in sterilization and 

infection control; and control, and a 3-

hour course in dental office 

emergencies. The courses shall be 

offered by Board-approved course 

sponsors as set out in 21 NCAC 16I 

.0202. 

(C) a 3-hour course in dental office 

emergencies. 

(b)  A Dental Assistant I who has completed the requirements of 

Parts (a)(3)(B)-(C) Part (a)(5)(B) of this Rule but not completed 

the training employment hours required pursuant to Part 

(a)(3)(A)(a)(5)(A) may be trained by a licensed dentist and 

allowed to perform the functions of a Dental Assistant II, as 

specified in Rule .0203 of this Subchapter, under the direct control 

and supervision of a licensed dentist. dentist, except that a Dental 

Assistant I performing the functions of a Dental Assistant II 

pursuant to this Paragraph shall not perform the coronal polishing 

function set out in Rule .0203(a)(21) of this Subchapter. 

(c)  For purposes of this Rule, an unexpired CPR certification is 

one that is in effect and valid at the time of classification as a 

Dental Assistant II and remains so at all times while employed as 

a Dental Assistant II or while performing any of the permitted 

functions under Rule .0203 of this Subchapter. 
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(d)  A Dental Assistant dental assistant shall not take radiographs 

before completing radiology training consistent with G.S. 90-

29(c)(12). 

 

Authority G.S. 90-29(c)(9). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 18 – BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF 

ELECTRICAL CONTRACTORS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors intends to amend 

the rule cited as 21 NCAC 18B .1101. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncbeec.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 1, 2024 

Time:  8:30 a.m. 

Location:  505 North Greenfield Parkway, Suite 100, Garner, NC 

27529 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The Board proposes to amend 21 

NCAC 18B .1101 to require new qualifiers to complete a free 4-

hour Laws and Rules Class as part of the continuing education 

program. The Board, having observed that many disciplinary 

actions are the result of a failure of some new licensees to 

appreciate their responsibilities as a licensee, believes that 

requiring the completion of this class within the first 12 months of 

licensure is likely to reduce the number of disciplinary actions. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Tim Norman, 505 North 

Greenfield Parkway, Suite 100, Garner, NC 27529; phone (919) 

733-9042; email tim.norman@ncbeec.org 

 

Comment period ends:  May 14, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 18B - BOARD'S RULES FOR THE 

IMPLEMENTATION OF THE ELECTRICAL 

 

SECTION .1100 - CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

21 NCAC 18B .1101 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

REQUIREMENTS: LISTED QUALIFIED INDIVIDUALS 

(a)  Upon becoming a qualified individual, all qualifiers shall 

complete a free, four-hour Laws and Rules Course conducted by 

Board staff within 12 months after becoming a qualified 

individual or 90 days prior to becoming a qualified individual. 

Completion of the Laws and Rules Course pursuant to this 

requirement, shall satisfy 4 of the required contact hours of 

continuing education for the initial renewal of the individual's 

qualification. 

(a)(b)  Every listed qualified individual, including listed qualified 

individuals pursuant to G.S. 87-50, shall complete continuing 

education for prior to each annual license period to renew the 

license on which the qualified individual is currently listed, for 

the next annual license period, except as follows: 

(1) individuals becoming qualified by examination 

during the 12 month period immediately 

preceding the license renewal date; 

(2)(1) qualified individuals unable to fulfill the 

required number of hours as the result of illness 

as certified in writing by the attending 

physician; or 

(3)(2) persons presenting approved courses of 

continuing education. 

(b)(c)  The number of required contact hours for every listed 

qualified individual shall be determined by the classification of 

license on which the qualified individual is currently listed or is 

eligible to be listed as follows: 

(1) qualified individuals currently listed on a 

license in the limited, intermediate, unlimited 

and special restricted single family dwelling 

classifications shall complete at least eight 

hours of approved continuing education for 

license renewal, and 

(2) qualified individuals currently listed on a 

license in the special restricted fire alarm/low 

voltage (SP-FA/LV), special restricted elevator 

(SP-EL), special restricted plumbing and 

heating (SP-PH), special restricted ground 

water pump (SP-WP), special restricted electric 

sign (SP-ES) and special restricted swimming 

pool (SP-SP) classifications shall complete at 

least four hours of approved continuing 

education for license renewal. 

(c)(d)  The Board, pursuant to Rules .1102 and .1103 of the 

Section, approves courses. Because of differences in the electrical 
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contracting industry and individual needs of listed qualified 

individuals, each qualified individual must exercise judgment in 

selecting courses for which continuing education is claimed and 

in choosing only those courses that will advance the individual's 

knowledge. 

(d)(e)  Course sponsors may be colleges or universities, 

community colleges, trade associations, providers of self-study 

programs, employers, third party professional examination 

companies, private instructors and the like. 

(e)(f)  North Carolina listed qualified individuals residing within 

the state must obtain the required continuing education hours by 

taking a course provided by an approved sponsor. 

(f)(g)  North Carolina listed qualified individuals residing outside 

of North Carolina, including listed qualified individuals pursuant 

to G.S. 87-50, may obtain credit for courses offered in North 

Carolina. They may also obtain credit for courses offered in their 

state, province or country of residence provided the Board 

subsequently approves the courses taken, pursuant to Rule 

.1102(b) of this Section. 

(g)(h)  Effective for renewals on or after July 1, 2008, all persons 

seeking to renew qualification must demonstrate that a minimum 

of one-half the continuing education hours for each annual license 

period were obtained by in-person classroom or seminar 

attendance. 

 

Authority G.S. 87-42; 87-44.1. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 50 – BOARD EXAMINERS OF PLUMBING, 

HEATING AND FIRE SPRINKLER CONTRACTORS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler 

Contractors intends to adopt the rule cited as 21 NCAC 50 .0318 

and amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 50 .0301 and .0306 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://nclicensing.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 12, 2024 

Time:  8:30 a.m. 

Location:  1989 Eastwood Road, Wilmington NC 28403 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The Board proposes to adopt new 

rule 21 NCAC 50 .0318 to define "license in good standing" for 

the purposes of implementing G.S. 87-21(b)(3) which states 

evidence that a license has been continuously maintained for a 

minimum of 10 years in good standing as a Class II plumbing 

license shall be accepted as experience for the Class II heating 

qualifications and that evidence that a license has been 

continuously maintained for a minimum of 10 years in good 

standing as a Class II heating license shall be accepted as 

experience for the Class II plumbing qualifications. This Board 

believes this language will assist and inform applicants as to the 

interpretation of "license in good standing" and thereby 

streamline the application process in this context. 

The Board proposes to amend 21 NCAC 50 .0301 to add 

technician language for both Class I and Class II for plumbing 

and heating group 1 and 3 licenses and also to clarify the 

experience required for obtaining a restricted plumbing license 

for applicants who hold a license from either the North Carolina 

Irrigation Contractor Licensing Board or the North Carolina On-

Site Wastewater Contractors and Inspectors Certification Board. 

The Board believes that existing technician categories in 

plumbing and heating groups 1 and 3 classifications should be 

available in both Class I and Class II as members of the licensed 

profession have indicated this will be useful in carrying out 

supervision responsibilities. The Board further believes the 

amendment to clarify the experience required for obtaining a 

restricted plumbing license for applicants who hold a license from 

either the North Carolina Irrigation Contractor Licensing Board 

or the North Carolina On-Site Wastewater Contractors and 

Inspectors Certification Board will assist and inform applicants 

and thereby streamline the application process in this context. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Dale Dawson, 1109 Dresser 

Court, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (919) 875-3612; email 

ddawson@nclicensing.org 

 

Comment period ends:  May 14, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 
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21 NCAC 50 .0301 QUALIFICATIONS 

DETERMINED BY EXAMINATION 

(a)  In order to determine the qualifications of an applicant, the 

Board shall provide a written or computer-based examination in 

the following categories: 

(1) Plumbing Contracting, Class I 

(2) Plumbing Contracting, Class II 

(3) Heating, Group No. l - Contracting, Class I 

(4) Heating, Group No. 1 - Contracting, Class II 

(5) Heating, Group No. 2 - Contracting, Class I 

(6) Heating, Group No. 3 - Contracting, Class I 

(7) Heating, Group No. 3 - Contracting, Class II 

(8) Fuel Piping Contractor 

(9) Fire Sprinkler Installation Contractor 

(10) Fire Sprinkler Inspection Contractor 

(11) Residential Fire Sprinkler Installation 

Contractor 

(12) Restricted Limited Plumbing Contractor 

(13) Fire Sprinkler Inspection Technician 

(14) Limited Fire Sprinkler Maintenance Technician 

(15) Plumbing Technician Technician, Class I 

(16) Plumbing Technician, Class II 

(16)(17) Heating Group No. 1 Technician Technician, 

Class I 

(18) Heating Group No. 1 Technician, Class II 

(17)(19) Heating Group No. 2 Technician 

(18)(20) Heating Group No. 3 Technician Technician, 

Class I 

(21) Heating Group No. 3 Technician, Class II 

(19)(22) Fuel Piping Technician 

(20)(23) Private Educational Institution Plumbing 

Technician 

(21)(24) Private Educational Institution Heating Group 

1 Technician 

(22)(25) Private Educational Institution Heating Group 

2 Technician 

(23)(26) Private Educational Institution Heating Group 

3 Technician 

(24)(27) Residential Fire Sprinkler Design Contractor 

(b)  Each person being examined by the Board for a contractor 

license other than a Fire Sprinkler Installation or Fire Sprinkler 

Inspection Contractor license shall be required to pass both the 

business and law part and the technical part of the examination 

required by G.S. 87-21(b). 

(c)  Applicants for licensure as a Fire Sprinkler Installation 

Contractor shall submit evidence of current certification by the 

National Institute for Certification of Engineering Technologies 

(NICET) for Automated Sprinkler System Layout as the 

prerequisite for licensure. Applicants for licensure as a Fire 

Sprinkler Installation Contractor shall pass the business and law 

part of the exam administered by the Board. Persons licensed 

based upon NICET certification shall maintain such certification 

as a condition of license renewal. 

(d)  Applicants for licensure in the Fire Sprinkler Inspection 

Technician classification shall pass the technical examination 

offered by the Board. The Board shall accept the results of NICET 

examination resulting in Level II Certification in "Inspection and 

Testing of Water-based Systems" by NICET. Persons who obtain 

license as a Fire Sprinkler Inspection Technician based on NICET 

certification shall maintain such certification as a condition of 

license renewal. 

(e)  Applicants for licensure as a Fire Sprinkler Inspection 

Contractor shall submit evidence of Level III certification in 

"Inspection and Testing of Water-based Fire Systems" by NICET 

in lieu of the technical part of the Board-administered 

examination. Applicants for licensure as a Fire Sprinkler 

Inspection Contractor shall also pass the business and law part of 

the examination administered by the Board. Contractors who 

obtain license by NICET certification shall maintain such 

certification thereafter as a condition of license renewal. 

(f)  Applicants for a license in the Limited Fire Sprinkler 

Maintenance Technician classification shall obtain a license based 

on maintenance experience, education, and job classification set 

forth in Rule .0306 and pass a test administered by the Board. 

(g)  Applicants for a license as a Residential Fire Sprinkler 

Installation Contractor shall obtain a license based on experience 

set forth in Rule .0306 and shall pass the technical part of the 

Residential Fire Sprinkler Installation Contractor examination. 

(h)  Applicants for a license as a Plumbing, Heating, or Fuel 

Piping Technician shall obtain a license based on experience set 

forth in Rule .0306 of this Section and shall pass the Class I or the 

Class II technical and Board laws and rules parts of the Board-

administered examination related to the category for which a 

technician license is sought. 

(i)  Applicants who hold an active Plumbing, Heating, or Fuel 

Piping Technician license obtained by examination may obtain 

the Plumbing, Heating or Fuel Piping Contractor license in the 

same category and class by meeting the experience requirement 

listed in Rule .0306 of this Section for the specific contractor 

license sought and passage of only the business portion of the 

examination. 

(j)  Applicants for a license as a Restricted Limited Plumbing 

Contractor shall obtain a license based on experience set forth in 

Rule .0306 of this Section and shall be required to pass both the 

business and law part and the technical parts of the Restricted 

Limited Plumbing Contractor examination. 

(k)  In lieu of the requirements of Paragraph (j) of this Rule, 

applicants for a Restricted Limited Plumbing Contractor License 

who present a current active License from the North Carolina 

Irrigation Contractor Licensing Board may take the examination, 

provided the applicant demonstrates that he or she holds 

certification as a Backflow Inspector from one of the 

municipalities in North Carolina, or demonstrates 500 hours of 

experience in the maintenance, service, or repair of components 

of plumbing systems. 

(l)  In lieu of the requirements of Paragraph (j) of this Rule, 

applicants for a Restricted Limited Plumbing Contractor License 

who present a current active certification as an On-site 

Wastewater Contractor issued through the North Carolina On-Site 

Wastewater Contractors and Inspectors Certification board may 

take the examination, provided the applicant demonstrates that he 

or she has attended a minimum of 8 semester hours of education 

in a plumbing program through a North Carolina Community 

College program or demonstrates 500 hours of experience in the 

maintenance, service, or repair of components of plumbing 

systems. 

 

Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-21(a); 87-21(b). 
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21 NCAC 50 .0306 APPLICATIONS: ISSUANCE OF 

LICENSE 

(a)  All applicants for licensure or examination shall file an 

application setting forth the information required in G.S. 87-21 

and the rules of this Chapter on a form available on the Board 

website or at the Board office. 

(b)  Applicants for a plumbing or heating examination shall 

present evidence at the time of application to establish two years 

of full-time experience in the installation, maintenance, service, 

or repair of plumbing or heating systems related to the category 

for which a license is sought, whether or not a license was 

required for the work performed. Applicants for a fuel piping 

examination shall present evidence at the time of application to 

establish one year of experience in the installation, maintenance, 

service, or repair of fuel piping, whether or not a license was 

required for the work performed. Up to one-half of the experience 

may be in academic or technical training related to the field of 

endeavor for which examination is requested. The Board shall 

prorate part-time work of less than 40 hours per week or part-time 

academic work of less than 15 semester or quarter hours. 

(c)  The Board shall issue a license certificate bearing the license 

number assigned to the qualifying individual. 

(d)  Fire Sprinkler Installation Contractors shall meet experience 

requirements in accordance with NICET examination criteria. 

(e)  Applicants for examination or licensure in the Fire Sprinkler 

Inspection Technician classification shall submit evidence 

adequate to establish that the applicant has either: 

(1) 4000 hours of experience involved in inspection 

and testing of previously installed fire sprinkler 

systems, consistent with NFPA-25, Standard 

for the Inspection Testing as Maintenance of 

Water-Based Fire Protection Systems of the 

National Fire Protection Association, adopted 

by the North Carolina Building Code, which is 

hereby incorporated by reference including all 

subsequent editions and amendments to the 

document as a full-time employee of a Fire 

Sprinkler Inspection Contractor or fire 

insurance underwriting organization; 

(2) 4000 hours of experience as a full-time 

employee of a hospital, manufacturing, 

government, or university facility under direct 

supervision of Fire Sprinkler Inspection 

Contractor or a Fire Sprinkler Inspection 

Technician involved in inspection and testing of 

previously installed fire sprinkler systems, 

consistent with NFPA 25: Standard for the 

Inspection, Testing, and Maintenance of Water-

Based Fire Protection Systems, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference including all 

subsequent editions and amendments. The 

document may be accessed free of charge at 

http://www.nfpa.org/codes-and-standards/; 

(3) 4000 hours of experience involved in 

installation of fire sprinkler systems as a full-

time employee of a Fire Sprinkler Installation 

Contractor; or 

(4) a combination of 4000 hours of experience in 

any of the categories listed in this Paragraph. 

(f)  Applicants for licensure in the Fire Sprinkler Inspection 

Contractor classification shall meet experience requirements in 

accordance with NICET certification criteria. 

(g)  Applicants for initial licensure in the Limited Fire Sprinkler 

Maintenance Technician classification shall submit evidence of 

2000 hours experience at the place for which license is sought as 

a full-time maintenance employee in facility maintenance with 

exposure to periodic maintenance of fire protection systems as 

described in Rule .0515 of this Chapter. Applicants who have held 

Limited Fire Sprinkler Maintenance Technician license 

previously are not required to demonstrate experience in addition 

to the experience at the time of initial licensure, but shall submit 

a new application if relocating to a new location. 

(h)  Applicants for licensure in the Residential Fire Sprinkler 

Installation Contractor classification shall hold an active 

Plumbing Class I or Class II Contractor license issued by this 

Board for a minimum of two years and shall document attendance 

at a 16 hour course approved by the Board pursuant to the Rules 

in this Chapter covering NFPA 13D: Standard for the Installation 

of Sprinkler Systems in One-and Two-Family Dwellings and 

Manufactured Homes, which is hereby incorporated by reference 

including all subsequent editions and amendments. The document 

may be accessed free of charge at http://www.nfpa.org/codes-and-

standards/. Residential Fire Sprinkler Installation Contractors 

shall maintain a Plumbing Contractor license as a condition of 

renewal of the Residential Fire sprinkler Installation Contractor 

license. 

(i)  Applicants for a license as a plumbing or heating Class I 

technician shall present evidence adequate to establish 3000 hours 

of full-time experience in the installation, maintenance, service, 

or repair of plumbing or heating systems related to the category 

for which a technician license is sought, whether or not a license 

was required for the work performed. Applicants for a license as 

a plumbing or heating Class II technician shall present evidence 

adequate to establish 2500 hours of full-time experience in the 

installation, maintenance, service, or repair of plumbing or 

heating systems related to the category for which a technician 

license is sought, whether or not a license was required for the 

work performed. Applicants for a license as a fuel piping Class I 

technician shall present evidence adequate to establish 1500 hours 

of experience in the installation, maintenance, service, or repair of 

fuel piping, whether or not a license was required for the work 

performed. Applicants for a license as a fuel piping Class II 

technician shall present evidence adequate to establish 1500 hours 

of experience in the installation, maintenance, service, or repair of 

fuel piping, whether or not a license was required for the work 

performed. Up to one-half of the experience may be in academic 

or technical training related to the field of endeavor for which the 

examination is requested. 

(j)  Applicants for a Restricted Limited Plumbing Contractor 

license shall present evidence at the time of application to 

establish 1500 hours of full-time experience in the installation, 

maintenance, service, or repair of plumbing systems, whether or 

not a license was required for the work performed. Up to one-half 

of the experience may be in academic or technical training related 

to the field of endeavor for which examination is requested. The 

Board shall prorate part-time work of fewer than 40 hours per 

week or part-time academic work of less than 15 semester or 

quarter hours. 
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(k)  In lieu of the requirements of Paragraph (j) of this Rule, 

applicants for a Restricted Limited Plumbing Contractor License 

who present a current active License from the North Carolina 

Irrigation Contractor Licensing Board may take the examination, 

provided the applicant demonstrates that he or she holds 

certification as a Backflow Inspector from one of the 

municipalities in North Carolina, or demonstrates 500 hours of 

experience in the maintenance, service, or repair of components 

of plumbing systems. 

(l)  Applicants for license based on completion of an 

apprenticeship program as described in G.S. 93B-8.6(b) shall 

meet the same experience and training requirements for the 

category of license sought as is set forth in this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-21(b). 

 

21 NCAC 50. 0318 LICENSE IN GOOD STANDING 

A license has been maintained in good standing for the purposes 

of G.S. 87-21(b)(3) if the license: 

(1) has remained continuously active for 10 years 

as of the date of the application request; 

(2) is current as to all fees payable to the Board as 

of the date of the application request; and 

(3) has not been the subject of a disciplinary order 

that imposed a sanction that included 

supervised probation, suspension, revocation or 

restoration of a revoked license during the 10-

year period preceding the date of the 

application request for a Class II plumbing or 

heating license. 

 

Authority G.S. 87-18; 87-21(b)(3). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 57 - APPRAISAL BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Appraisal Board intends to amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 

57A .0204, .0206, .0301, .0303, .0501; 57B .0302; 57D .0101, 

.0202, .0302, and repeal the rule cited as 21 NCAC 57A .0406. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 

on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncappraisalboard.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 9, 2024 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Airport, 2400 Cascade 

Pointe Blvd., Charlotte, NC 

 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 57A .0204, This change includes some technical 

amendments and incorporates the new requirements within the 

AQB  

Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria that goes into 

effect on January 1, 2026, regarding the USPAP course name 

change and the addition of a course on Valuation Bias and Fair 

Housing Laws. It also clarifies the timeframe of current 

continuing education requirements and better explains the out of 

state affidavit option for continuing education. 

21 NCAC 57A .0206, This change incorporates the new 

requirements within the AQB Real Property Appraiser 

Qualification Criteria that goes into effect on January 1, 2026, 

regarding the USPAP course name change and the addition of a 

course on Valuation Bias and Fair Housing Laws. 

21 NCAC 57A .0301, This change removes the limitation on the 

number of attempts to take the exam from five per application and 

changes the pass date from one year to 24 months.  

21 NCAC 57A .0303, This change extends the exam approval 

from one year to 24 months in accordance with the AQB Criteria. 

21 NCAC 57A .0501, This change removes the cost of the USPAP 

books as it is not a fee determined by the Board and is no longer 

accurate. 

21 NCAC 57B .0302, This change removes the reference to Guide 

Note 1 as it no longer outlines all the course content requirements 

within the AQB Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria 

that goes into effect on January 1, 2026. 

21 NCAC 57D .0101, This change incorporates the current AMC 

registration application questions needed in accordance with the 

AMC Final Rule.  

21 NCAC 57D .0202, This change incorporates some technical 

changes, incorporates the current AMC renewal application 

questions needed in accordance with the AMC Final Rule, 

clarifies the year as being a calendar year. 

21 NCAC 57D .0302, This change amends the rule name to state 

Change in Registration & Reporting Requirements. It lists all 

actions that need be reported to the Board such as a change 

adding name, federal ID, bond, ownership, organizational 

structure, registered agent, and events that may cause the AMC 

to no longer be in compliance with rules and laws. It adds 

requirements for reporting changes to the designated compliance 

person and owners over 10% in advance. It clarifies days as 

business days.  

21 NCAC 57A .0406, This rule is being repealed. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Donald T. Rodgers, Executive 

Director, NC Appraisal Board 5830 Six Forks Road, Raleigh, NC 

27609; phone (919) 870-4854; email don@ncab.org 

 

Comment period ends:  May 14, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 57A – REGISTRATION, LICENSING, 

CERTIFICATION AND PRACTICE 

 

SECTION .0200 – TRAINEE REGISTRATION AND 

APPRAISER LICENSING AND CERTIFICATION 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0204 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

(a)  All registered trainees, real estate appraiser licensees, and 

certificate holders shall, upon the renewal of their registration, 

license, or certificate in every odd-numbered year, have obtained 

continuing education, as required by this Rule. Trainees and 

appraisers who initially registered with the Board after January 1 

of an odd numbered odd-numbered year are not required to obtain 

continuing education for renewal of their registration in that odd 

numbered odd-numbered year. 

(b)  Each trainee, licensee, and certificate holder who is required 

to obtain continuing education pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule shall complete 28 hours of continuing education before June 

1 of every odd numbered odd-numbered year. Specific topics 

required as part of the 28 hours of continuing education are 

outlined in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. Except as provided in 

Paragraphs (g) and (h) of this Rule, such education shall have been 

obtained by taking courses approved by the Board for continuing 

education credit, at schools approved by the Board to offer such 

courses, as set forth in 21 NCAC 57B .0603. Such education shall 

relate to real estate appraisers maintaining and increasing their 

skill, knowledge, and competency in real property appraising. 

There is no exemption from the continuing education requirement 

for trainees or appraisers whose status has been upgraded to the 

level of licensed residential, certified residential, or certified 

general appraiser, since the issuance or most recent renewal of 

their registration, license, or certificate. Trainees, licensees, and 

certificate holders shall not take the same continuing education 

course more than once during the two-year continuing education 

cycle. 

(c)  Each appraisal continuing education course shall include a 

minimum of two classroom hours of instruction on real estate 

appraisal or related topics, as set forth in the Real Property 

Appraiser Qualification Criteria as implemented by The Appraisal 

Foundation's Appraiser Qualifications Board. 

(d)  Each trainee, licensee, and certificate holder who is required 

to obtain continuing education pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule shall, as part of the 28 hours of continuing education required 

in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, complete the seven hour National 

USPAP update course Continuing Education course, as required 

by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of the Appraisal 

Foundation, between October 1 of an odd-numbered year and 

June 1 of an even numbered year, as required by the Appraiser 

Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation. year. 

Beginning June 1, 2025, each trainee, licensee, and certificate 

holder shall successfully complete a course which meets the 

content requirements of the Valuation Bias and Fair Housing 

Laws and Regulations outline as set forth in the Real Property 

Appraiser Qualification Criteria, every continuing education 

cycle. The first time a trainee, licensee, or certificate holder 

completes the continuing education requirements of the Valuation 

Bias and Fair Housing Laws and Regulations requirement, the 

course length must be at least seven hours. If an appraiser 

successfully completes the seven hour (plus one hour exam) 

course as part of their qualifying education, they have met this 

requirement. Each continuing education cycle thereafter, the 

course length shall be at least four hours. 

(e)  A trainee, licensee, or certificate holder who completes 

approved continuing education courses in excess of the 

requirement shall not carry over into the subsequent years any 

continuing education credit. 

(f)  Course sponsors shall provide a certificate of course 

completion to each trainee, licensee, and certificate holder who 

completes a course, as set forth in 21 NCAC 57B .0603. In 

addition, course sponsors shall send to the Board a roster of all 

who completed the course. This roster shall be sent within 15 days 

of completion of the course. In order to renew a registration, 

license, or certificate in a timely manner, the Board shall receive 

proof of satisfaction of the continuing education requirement prior 

to processing a registration, license, or certificate renewal 

application. Proof of satisfaction shall be made by receipt of a 

roster from a school or course sponsor showing the courses 

completed by the applicant or by submission of an original 

certificate of course completion. applicant. If proof of having 

satisfied the continuing education requirement is not provided, the 

registration, license, or certificate shall expire and the trainee, 

licensee, or certificate holder shall be subject to the provisions of 

Rules .0203(e) and .0206 of this Section. 

(g)  A current or former trainee, licensee, or certificate holder may 

request that the Board grant continuing education credit for a 

course that has been completed but is not approved by the Board, 

or for appraisal education activity equivalent to a Board approved 

course, by making such request and submitting a non-refundable 

fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) as set out in G.S. 93E-1-8(d) for each 

course or type of appraisal education activity to be evaluated. 

Continuing education credit for a non-approved course shall be 

granted only if the trainee, licensee, or certificate holder provides 

proof of course completion and the Board finds that the course 

satisfies the requirements for approval of appraisal continuing 

education courses with regard to subject matter, course length, 

instructor qualifications, and student attendance, as set forth in 21 

NCAC 57B .0603. Appraisal education activities for which credit 

may be awarded include teaching appraisal courses, authorship of 

appraisal textbooks, and development of instructional materials 
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on appraisal subjects. Up to 14 hours of continuing education 

credit may be granted in each continuing education cycle for 

participation in appraisal education activities. Trainees, licensed 

or certified appraisers who have taught an appraisal course 

approved by the Board for continuing education credit are deemed 

to have taken an equivalent course and are not subject to the fee 

prescribed in G.S. 93E-1-8(d), provided they submit verification 

of having taught the course(s). A trainee, licensee, or certificate 

holder who teaches a Board approved continuing education 

course shall not receive continuing education credit for the same 

course more than once every two years, regardless of how often 

he or she teaches the course. Requests for equivalent approval for 

continuing education credit shall be received before June 15 of an 

odd-numbered year to be credited towards the continuing 

education requirement for that odd-numbered year. 

(h)  A trainee, licensee, or certificate holder may receive 

continuing education credit by taking any of the Board approved 

precertification courses, other than Basic Appraisal Principles and 

Basic Appraisal Procedures, or their approved equivalents. 

Trainees, licensees, and certificate holders who wish to use a 

precertification course for continuing education credit shall 

comply with the provisions of 21 NCAC 57B .0604. 

(i)  A licensee or certificate holder who resides in another state, 

and is currently credentialed in another state, may satisfy the 

continuing education requirements by submitting an affidavit 

prior to renewal which lists the course provider, title, hours, and 

date of completion of all continuing education completed within 

the current continuing education cycle. The Board will audit no 

less than ten percent of licensees who renew with an affidavit. A 

licensee or certificate holder selected for a continuing education 

audit shall make the certificates available to the Board upon 

request. A licensee or certificate holder who became licensed in 

North Carolina by licensure or certification with another state and 

now resides in North Carolina may renew by affidavit for his or 

her first renewal as a resident of North Carolina only if the 

appraiser moved to North Carolina on or after January 1 of an odd-

numbered year. If an appraiser was a resident of this state before 

January 1 of an odd-numbered year, the appraiser shall comply 

with the requirements of this section regardless of how the license 

or certificate was obtained. 

(j)  A trainee, licensee, or certificate holder who returns from 

active military duty on or after February 1 of an odd-numbered 

year may renew his or her registration, license, or certificate in 

that odd-numbered year even if the required continuing education 

is not completed before June 1 of that year. All When a trainee, 

licensee, or certificate holder returns from active duty, all required 

continuing education shall be completed within 180 days of when 

the trainee, licensee, or certificate holder returns from active duty. 

pursuant to the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria as 

implemented by The Appraisal Foundation's Appraiser 

Qualifications Board. The Board shall immediately place any 

licensee or certificate holder enrolled in the Appraisal 

Subcommittee's National Registry in an inactive status and may 

revoke the registration, license, or certificate in accordance with 

93E-1-12 if the required continuing education is not completed 

within 180days. pursuant to the Real Property Appraiser 

Qualification Criteria as implemented by The Appraisal 

Foundation's Appraiser Qualifications Board. This Paragraph 

applies to an individual who is serving in the armed forces of the 

United States and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of 

time to file a tax return. 

 

Authority G.S. 93B-15; 93E-1-7(a); 93E-1-10. 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0206 EXPIRED REGISTRATION, 

LICENSE OR CERTIFICATE 

(a)  Expired registrations, licenses, and certificates may be 

reinstated within 12 months after expiration upon payment to the 

Board of the renewal and late filing fees as set out in G.S. 93E-1-

7, and proof of having obtained the continuing education that 

would have been required had the registration, license, or 

certificate been renewed. renewed, including the most recent 

seven hour National USPAP Continuing Education course and the 

required number of hours of a course which meets the content 

requirements of the Valuation Bias and Fair Housing Laws and 

Regulations outline as set forth in the Real Property Appraiser 

Qualification Criteria as implemented by The Appraisal 

Foundation's Appraiser Qualifications Board. 

(b)  If a registration, license, or certificate has been expired for 

more than 12 months, but less than five years, an applicant may 

apply for reinstatement. In order to be considered for 

reinstatement, the applicant shall pay the filing fee as set out in 

G.S. 93E-1-7 and include in the application proof that the 

applicant has obtained the continuing education that would have 

been required had the registration, license, or certificate been 

continuously renewed, which shall include the most recent edition 

of the seven hour National USPAP update Continuing Education 

course and the required number of hours of a course which meets 

the content requirements of the Valuation Bias and Fair Housing 

Laws and Regulations outline, as required by the Appraiser 

Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation. Real Property 

Appraiser Qualification Criteria as implemented by The Appraisal 

Foundation's Appraiser Qualifications Board. In addition, the 

Board shall consider whether the applicant for reinstatement has 

any prior or current disciplinary actions, and shall examine the 

applicant's fitness for registration, licensure, or certification 

before granting the request for reinstatement. A completed 

application for reinstatement shall be received by June 1 of the 

fifth year after the registration, license, or certificate expired or it 

shall not be accepted. 

(c)  An application for reinstatement shall not be granted if the 

registration, license, or certificate has been expired for more than 

five years. 

(d)  Reinstatement is effective on the date it is issued by the Board. 

It is not retroactive. 

(e)  A trainee or appraiser whose registration, license, or 

certification has expired and who is returning from active military 

duty may renew his or her registration, license, or certificate when 

the trainee or appraiser returns from active duty without payment 

of a late filing fee as long as the trainee or appraiser renews the 

registration, license, or certificate within 180 days of when the 

trainee or appraiser returns from active duty. the timeframe 

outlined in the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria as 

implemented by The Appraisal Foundation's Appraiser 

Qualifications Board. This Rule applies to an individual who is 

serving in the armed forces of the United States and to whom G.S. 

105-249.2 grants an extension of time to file a tax return. 
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Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(b); 93E-1-7; 93E-1-10. 

 

SECTION .0300 – APPRAISER EXAMINATIONS 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0301 TIME AND PLACE 

(a)  Applicants who have completed the education and experience 

requirements for licensure or certification as set forth in G.S. 93E-

1-6 shall be issued an examination approval form by the Board. 

The examination approval form is valid for five attempts at the 

examination or for one year 24 months from date of issuance, 

whichever comes first. issuance. 

(b)  As set forth in the Real Property Appraiser Qualification 

Criteria as implemented by The Appraisal Foundation's Appraiser 

Qualifications Board, examination results are valid for 24 months 

from the date the examination is completed. 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-6(c); 93E-1-10. 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0303 RE-EXAMINATION 

(a)  Applicants for an appraiser license or certificate who fail to 

pass or appear for any examination for which the applicant has 

been scheduled by the Board-approved private testing service, 

may schedule a subsequent examination and shall pay the 

prescribed examination testing fees to the Board-approved private 

testing service. 

(b)  Applicants may take the examination no more than five times 

per application. If an applicant fails the examination, the applicant 

must shall wait a minimum of 30 days before retaking the 

examination. If the applicant does not pass the examination by the 

fifth attempt at the examination or within one year of 24 months 

from the date of issuance of the examination approval form, the 

application shall be cancelled. 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-6; 93E-1-10. 

 

SECTION .0400 – GENERAL APPRAISAL PRACTICE 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0406 BUSINESS PRACTICES 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-3(b); 93E-1-10. 

 

SECTION .0500 – STANDARDS OF APPRAISAL 

PRACTICE 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0501 APPRAISAL STANDARDS 

(a)  Every registered trainee, licensed and certified real estate 

appraiser shall comply with the following provisions of the 

"Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice" (USPAP) 

promulgated by the Appraisal Standards Board of the Appraisal 

Foundation, all of which are incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments and editions: 

(1) Definitions; 

(2) Preamble; 

(3) Ethics Rule; 

(4) Record Keeping Rule; 

(5) Competency Rule; 

(6) Scope of Work Rule; 

(7) Jurisdictional Exception Rule; and 

(8) Standards Rules 1, 2, 3, and 4. 

(b)  A copy of USPAP may be obtained from the Appraisal 

Foundation at https://www.appraisalfoundation.org. The cost for 

a copy of USPAP is seventy-five dollars ($75.00). shall be no 

more than the fee set by the Appraisal Foundation. 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-10. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 57B - REAL ESTATE APPRAISAL 

EDUCATION 

 

SECTION .0300 – COURSE STANDARDS FOR 

PRELICENSING AND PRECERTIFICATION 

EDUCATION 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0302 COURSE CONTENT 

(a)  All courses shall consist of instruction in the subject areas 

outlined in the Appraiser Qualification Board's Guide Note 1. 

Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria as implemented by 

The Appraisal Foundation's Appraiser Qualifications Board. 

Guide Note 1 The Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria 

may be accessed at the Appraisal Foundation website at 

www.appraisalfoundation.org. 

(b)  Partial credit shall be awarded when only part of the course 

covers the subject areas outlined in Appraiser Qualification 

Board's Guide Note 1. the Real Property Appraiser Qualification 

Criteria as implemented by The Appraisal Foundation's Appraiser 

Qualifications Board. 

(c)  On or before the first class meeting day of the Basic Appraisal 

Principles course, the instructor shall give to each student a 

handout prepared by the Board regarding the trainee registration 

process and the process to upgrade to a licensed or certified 

appraiser. The student handout may be accessed on the Board's 

website at www.ncappraisalboard.org. 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-1-6; 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 57D – APPRAISAL MANAGEMENT 

COMPANIES 

 

SECTION .0100 – APPLICATION FOR APPRAISAL 

MANAGEMENT REGISTRATION 

 

21 NCAC 57D .0101 FORM 

An appraisal management company that wishes to file an 

application for an appraisal management company certificate of 

registration may obtain the required form upon request to the 

Board or on the Board's website at www.ncappraisalboard.org. 

The appraisal management company shall submit an application 

that includes the following information: 

(1) the legal name of the applicant; 

(2) the name under which the applicant will do 

business in North Carolina; 

(3) the type of business entity; 

(4) the address of its principal office; 

(5) the applicant's NC Secretary of State 

Identification Number if required to be 

registered with the Office of the NC Secretary 

of State; 
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(6) a completed application for approval of the 

compliance manager; 

(7) any past criminal conviction of and any pending 

criminal charge against the compliance 

manager and any person or entity that owns 

over 10 percent or more of the appraisal 

management company; 

(8) any past revocation, suspension, surrender in 

lieu of revocation, cancellation, refusal, or 

denial of an appraisal license of any person or 

entity that owns any part, directly or indirectly, 

of the appraisal management company; 

(9) any disciplinary action taken against the 

applicant, including the effective date of the 

disciplinary action and whether the applicant 

has complied; 

(10) other States where the applicant is registered to 

operate, if applicable; 

(11) applicant's employer identification number 

(EIN); 

(12) if a general partnership, a description of the 

applicant entity, including a copy of its written 

partnership agreement or, if no written 

agreement exists, a written description of the 

rights and duties of the several partners; 

(13) if a business entity other than a corporation, 

limited liability company, or partnership, a 

description of the organization of the applicant 

entity, including a copy of its organizational 

documents; 

(14) if a foreign business entity, a certificate of 

authority to transact business in North Carolina 

and an executed consent to service of process 

and pleadings; and 

(15) a certification that the applicant has obtained a 

surety bond as required by G.S. 93E-2-4(g). 

G.S. 93E 2-4(g); 

(16) the name, address, and contact information for 

any individual or business entity that directly or 

indirectly owns over 10 percent of the appraisal 

management company; and 

(17) the annual size of the appraisal panel in this 

state and nationwide of the appraisal 

management company for the previous 

calendar year. 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-2-4. 

 

SECTION .0200 – APPRAISAL MANAGEMENT 

COMPANY REGISTRATION 

 

21 NCAC 57D .0202 REGISTRATION RENEWAL 

(a)  All registrations shall expire on June 30 of each year, unless 

renewed during the renewal period. The renewal period shall be 

from May 1 through June 30 of each year. 

(b)  A holder of an appraisal management company registration 

applying for renewal of registration shall apply in writing upon 

the form provided by the Board or log into the licensee login 

section on the Board's website and shall pay the renewal fee. The 

renewal fee shall be two thousand dollars ($2000). ($2,000). The 

renewal fee is not refundable on or after July 1. 

(c)  The renewal form shall include the following: 

(1) The appraisal management company's name 

and registration number; 

(2) the contact person for renewal; 

(3) the updated address for the company, service of 

process agent, direct and indirect owners over 

10 percent, and compliance manager, if 

applicable; 

(4) whether the company owner(s) or compliance 

manager have had an appraiser credential 

refused, denied, cancelled, surrendered in lieu 

of revocation, or revoked in any state; 

(5) a copy of the surety bond that expires no sooner 

than June 30th of the year following renewal; 

(6) the signature of the applicant; and 

(7) the operation type, total number of appraisers 

on the panel in North Carolina for the previous 

calendar year, the total number of appraisers on 

the panel nationwide for the previous calendar 

year, and the number of appraisers on the panel 

who performed one or more appraisals in 

connection with a covered transaction in North 

Carolina for the previous calendar year. 

(d)  In addition to the renewal fee, an appraisal management 

company shall submit with its renewal the annual appraisal 

management company registry fee required by the Appraisal 

Subcommittee pursuant to 12 C.F.R. 1102.402. The fee shall then 

be transmitted by the Board to the Appraisal Subcommittee. 

(e)  Any company who acts or holds itself out as a registered 

appraisal management company while its appraisal management 

company registration is expired shall be subject to disciplinary 

action and penalties in G.S. 93E-2-8 and G.S. 93E-2-10. 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-2-3; 93E-2-4; 93E-2-6; 93E-2-8; 93E-2-10. 

 

SECTION .0300 – APPRAISAL MANAGEMENT 

COMPANY PROCEDURES 

 

21 NCAC 57D .0302 CHANGE OF NAME OR 

CONTACT INFORMATION IN REGISTRATION & 

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Appraisal management companies shall notify the Board in 

writing of each change of name, trade name, federal identification 

number, organizational status, ownership structure, compliance 

manager, surety bond, registered agent, business address, 

telephone number, or email address within 10 business days of 

said change. The address shall be sufficiently descriptive to enable 

the Board to electronically correspond with and physically locate 

the appraisal management company. 

(b)  If an appraisal management company intends to change its 

designated compliance manager or direct or indirect owner, it 

must notify the Board at least 10 business days before the 

effective date of the intended change and submit an application 

for approval of the designated compliance manager or any new 

direct or indirect owner who will own more than 10 percent of the 

appraisal management company. The application shall include a 

criminal records check pursuant to G.S. 93E-2-11. 
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(c)  If the appraisal management company has an unexpected 

change to its designated compliance manager or direct or indirect 

owner and is unable to provide at least 10 business days' notice of 

the change, the company shall have 10 business days from the 

unexpected change to notify the Board. An application shall be 

submitted to the Board, which shall include a criminal records 

check pursuant to G.S. 93E-2-11, within 15 business days of when 

an interim designated compliance manager, a new designated 

compliance manager, or any new direct or indirect owner that 

owns more than 10 percent of the appraisal management company 

as a result of the unexpected change is appointed, hired, or 

otherwise determined. 

(d)  Appraisal management companies shall notify the Board in 

writing within 10 business days of any event that may cause the 

applicant or registration to be disciplined in accordance with G.S. 

93E-2-8(a). 

 

Authority G.S. 93E-2-3; 93E-2-9. 

 

 

TITLE 25 – OFFICE OF STATE HUMAN RESOURCES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

State Human Resources Commission intends to amend the rule 

cited as 25 NCAC 01C .0405. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://oshr.nc.gov/about-oshr/state-hr-commission/proposed-

rulemaking 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 1, 2024 

Time:  9:00-10:00 a.m. 

Location: 

https://ncgov.webex.com/ncgov/j.php?MTID=m172aa0f8bbb06b

3f507729ae698d9c5f Meeting number (access code): 2426 058 

3015; Passcode: WKrPPTvf232 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  These revisions update Rule .0405 

to match the revisions to G.S. 126-6.3 in the 2023 Appropriations 

Act.  Subsection (a) of the Rule has provided, and would continue 

to provide, that temporary appointments shall not exceed 11 

consecutive months, subject to exceptions. The 2023 

Appropriations Act added that 11-month limit to statute.  The limit 

now appears in G.S. 126-6.3(a1).  The Appropriations Act also 

added extensive detail to the statute - particularly about agency 

responsibilities, what must be shown for an exception from the 

statute, Temporary Solutions billing, and reporting.  OSHR’s 

Temporary Solutions Program staff are executing an 

implementation plan for the statutory changes. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Denise Holton Mazza, 116 

West Jones Street, Raleigh, NC 27603; phone (984) 236-0823; 

email denise.mazza@nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  May 14, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 01 - OFFICE OF STATE HUMAN 

RESOURCES 

 

SUBCHAPTER 01C – PERSONNEL ADMINISTRATION 

 

SECTION .0400 - APPOINTMENT 

 

25 NCAC 01C .0405 TEMPORARY APPOINTMENT  

(a)  A temporary appointment is an appointment to fill a 

workforce need for a limited period of time. Temporary 

employees may shall not be used to permanently expand the 

workforce beyond authorized levels. Temporary appointments 

shall not exceed 11 consecutive months, subject to the following 

exemptions: 

(1) Full-time students, defined as those 

undergraduate students taking at least 12 credit 

hours or graduate students taking at least 9 

credit hours; 

(2) Retired employees, defined as those individuals 

drawing a retirement income or Social Security 

benefits and having who have signed a 

statement that they are not available for, nor 

seeking, permanent employment; 

(3) Inmates that are on a work-release program; 

(4) Interns, defined as those students who, 

regardless of the number of credit hours 

enrolled, work to gain occupational experience 

for a period of time not to exceed three months 

at least one academic semester; and 

(5) Externs, defined as those students who, 

regardless of the number of credit hours 

enrolled, are employed as part of a written 

agreement between the State and an academic 
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institution through which the student is paid and 

earns course credit. credit; and 

(6) Exceptions that were granted under G.S. 126-

6.3(a3)(3). 

(b)  Employees with a temporary appointment shall not earn or 

accrue leave or receive total State service credit, retirement credit, 

severance pay, or priority reemployment consideration. 

(c)  This Rule applies to all temporary employees employed by 

the State. 

(d)  The calculation of consecutive months in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule shall restart only after a separation of at least 31 consecutive 

calendar days after the last day that person worked for the State in 

a temporary appointment. After a separation of this length, and 

only after such a separation, an individual who was employed for 

11 consecutive months by temporary appointment shall be 

eligible for a new or reinstated temporary appointment. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4(5); 126-4(6); 126-4(7a); 126-4(19). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

State Human Resources Commission intends to adopt the rules 

cited as 25 NCAC 01E .1901-.1910. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://oshr.nc.gov/about-oshr/state-hr-commission/proposed-

rulemaking 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 1, 2024 

Time:  10:00-11:00 a.m. 

Location: 

https://ncgov.webex.com/ncgov/j.php?MTID=mb24fc95744d689

58e6f8220fbbb53b72 Meeting number (access code): 2423 144 

9550 Meeting password: 9RduhXe7BX6 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed rules are required 

to comply with recent legislation that requires the State Human 

Resources Commission (SHRC) to adopt rules regarding paid 

parental leave (PPL) for state agency employees.  The proposed 

rules implement the provisions of G.S. 126-8.6 and G.S. 126-

5(c19), as well as provide additional interpretation and 

clarifications where needed.  These statutes were enacted by Part 

V of Session Law 2023-14, then amended by Session Law 2023-

65 (Part XII-A) and Session Law 2023-134 (Section 7.83).   

The statute requires that the SHRC “shall adopt rules and policies 

to provide” that certain State employees may take PPL under 

certain conditions.  G.S. 126-8.6(b)(c).  The proposed rules meet 

these statutory requirements, which are of two types.  The first 

type of statutory requirement specifies substance that must appear 

in the SHRC rules.  For example, by law, the rules must “provide” 

that the PPL for full-time eligible State employees will be “[u]p 

to eight weeks of paid leave after giving birth to a child” and 

“[u]p to four weeks of paid leave after any other qualifying 

event.”  G.S. 126-8.6(b).  The second type of statutory 

requirement specifies that SHRC rules must address a topic, but 

gives the SHRC discretion about what the rules may say.  For 

example, the statute states that the SHRC “shall adopt rules and 

policies providing for a period of minimum service before an 

employee becomes eligible for parental leave,” but the statute 

does not specify what the number must be for this period.  G.S. 

126-8.6(c1). 

 

A copy of the fiscal note can be obtained from the Office of State 

Human Resources, which staffs the SHRC, or can be obtained 

from the OSHR website. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Blake Thomas, 333 

Fayetteville Street, Raleigh, NC 27601; phone (984) 236-0822; 

email blake.thomas@nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  May 14, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 01 - OFFICE OF STATE HUMAN 

RESOURCES 

 

SUBCHAPTER 01E - EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

 

SECTION .1900 – PAID PARENTAL LEAVE 

 

25 NCAC 01E .1901 DEFINITIONS 

For the purposes of this Section, the following definitions shall 

apply: 

(1) "Agency" means any State agency, department, 

institution, office, board, or commission, 

including institutions and offices of the 

University of North Carolina, but excluding the 

legislative branch, the judicial branch, 
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community college institutions, and public 

schools. 

(2) "Child" means a child as defined at G.S. 126-

8.6(a)(1). 

(3) "Parent" means: 

(a) the mother or father of a child through 

birth or legal adoption; or 

(b) an individual who cares for a child 

through foster or other legal placement 

under the direction of a government 

authority. 

(4) "Qualifying event" means when an employee 

becomes a parent to a child. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-5(c19); 126-8.6. 

 

25 NCAC 01E .1902 RELATIONSHIP TO OTHER 

RULES AND POLICIES 

(a)  This Section states the terms and conditions only for paid 

parental leave that is provided under G.S. 126-8.6 by an agency, 

as defined in Rule .1901 of this Section. 

(b)  The paid parental leave provided under this Section is in 

addition to any other leave authorized by state or federal law. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-8.6. 

 

25 NCAC 01E .1903 ELIGIBILITY FOR PAID 

PARENTAL LEAVE 

(a)  This Section applies to all agency employees subject to G.S. 

126-8.6, whether or not those employees are exempt from other 

sections of the State Human Resources Act. 

(b)  Employees may receive paid parental leave under this Section 

only if they are in a permanent, time-limited, or probationary 

appointment. Temporary employees are not eligible for paid 

parental leave under this Section. 

(c)  An agency shall allow an employee to take paid parental leave 

under this Section only if, at the time of the qualifying event, the 

employee meets each of the following conditions. 

(1) For the immediate 12 preceding months, the 

employee has been employed without a break 

in service as defined by 25 NCAC 01D .0114 in 

a permanent, time-limited, or probationary 

appointment by: 

(A) the State of North Carolina agencies, 

departments, and institutions, 

including without limitation the 

University of North Carolina; 

(B) public school units that provide paid 

parental leave in accordance with G.S. 

126-8.6; or 

(C) community college institutions of the 

State of North Carolina, aggregating 

employment at any of these 

employers. 

(2) The employee has been in pay status with: 

(A) the State of North Carolina agencies, 

departments, and institutions, 

including without limitation the 

University of North Carolina; 

(B) public school units that provide paid 

parental leave in accordance with G.S. 

126-8.6; or 

(C) community college institutions of the 

State of North Carolina, for at least 

1,040 hours, aggregating employment 

at any of these employers, during the 

previous 12-month period. 

(d)  This Section applies to requests for paid parental leave related 

to qualifying events occurring on or after July 1, 2023. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-8.6. 

 

25 NCAC 01E .1904 LEAVE AVAILABLE TO FULL-

TIME EMPLOYEES 

(a)  Full-time employees eligible for paid parental leave under this 

Section may take, in their discretion, up to the following amounts 

of leave: 

(1) For a parent who gives birth to a child, eight 

total weeks of paid parental leave, made up of: 

(A) Four weeks for physical and mental 

recuperation, and 

(B) Four additional weeks for bonding 

with the child. 

(2) For any other qualifying event, four weeks of 

paid parental leave for bonding with the child. 

(b)  Each week of paid parental leave under this Section shall 

result in compensation at 100 percent of the eligible employee's 

regular pay on a straight-time basis (without including overtime 

pay or paid time off, on the employee's regular weekly schedule). 

 

Authority G.S. 126-8.6. 

 

25 NCAC 01E .1905 LEAVE AVAILABLE TO PART-

TIME EMPLOYEES 

(a)  Part-time employees (regardless whether they work half-time 

or more) shall receive paid parental leave under this Section if 

they meet all other requirements for eligibility. 

(b)  Part-time employees eligible for paid parental leave under this 

Section may take, in their discretion, a prorated amount of leave 

based on the hours worked in the employee's regular, weekly 

schedule compared to the hours worked by a full-time employee 

in a similar position at that agency. 

(c)  Each week of paid parental leave under this Section shall 

result in compensation at 100 percent of the eligible employee's 

regular pay on a straight-time basis (without including overtime 

pay or paid time off, on the employee's regular weekly schedule). 

 

Authority G.S. 126-8.6. 

 

25 NCAC 01E .1906 USE OF OTHER LEAVE 

The paid parental leave provided under this Section shall not be 

counted against or deducted from the employee's sick, vacation, 

bonus, or other accrued leave. For agency employees, the paid 

parental leave provided under this Section is in addition to any 

other leave authorized by law, rule, or policy, including but not 

limited to leave without pay provided under 25 NCAC 01E .1110, 

voluntary shared leave under G.S. 126-8.3 and 25 NCAC 01E 

.1300, or family and medical leave. However, when an employee 
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becomes eligible, as described in 25 NCAC 01E .1400, for family 

and medical leave, the paid parental leave under this Section shall 

run concurrently with the family and medical leave. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-8.6. 

 

25 NCAC 01E .1907 REQUESTING USE OF PAID 

PARENTAL LEAVE 

(a)  Eligible employees may take paid parental leave in one 

continuous period or may take intermittent use of paid parental 

leave. Requests for intermittent use of paid parental leave are 

subject to the agency's approval as stated in Paragraph (d) of this 

Rule. 

(b)  Whenever possible, eligible employees shall notify their 

employing agencies at least 10 weeks in advance of their intention 

to use paid parental leave. This requirement is so that agencies can 

secure backfill coverage. 

(c)  The agency shall not deny, delay, or require intermittent use 

of paid parental leave to employees who gave birth and seek to 

use paid parental leave in one continuous period. 

(d)  For all other employees, the agency may delay providing paid 

parental leave or may provide paid parental leave intermittently if 

it determines that providing the leave will cause a public safety 

concern, meaning a significant impairment to the agency's ability 

to conduct its operations in a manner that protects the health and 

safety of North Carolinians. For example, the extension of paid 

parental leave to an eligible employee who did not give birth may 

constitute a public safety concern if: 

(1) Providing the paid parental leave would result 

in agency staffing levels below what is required 

by federal or state law to maintain operational 

safety; or 

(2) Providing the paid parental leave may impact 

the health or safety of staff, patients, residents, 

offenders, or other individuals the agency is 

required by law to protect; and 

(3) The agency has been unable to secure 

supplemental staffing after requesting or 

diligently exploring alternative staffing options. 

(e)  If the agency determines that it must delay paid parental leave, 

or make paid parental leave intermittent, because of a public 

safety concern under Paragraph (d) of this Rule, the agency shall 

provide paid parental leave as soon as practical following the 

qualifying event. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-8.6. 

 

25 NCAC 01E .1908 LEAVE ADMINISTRATION 

(a)  Paid parental leave under this Section may be used only once 

by an eligible employee within a rolling 12-month period. 

(b)  The birth or other qualifying event of twins, triplets, or other 

multiple children shall produce only one award of paid parental 

leave under this Section. 

(c)  Both parents may receive paid parental leave under this 

Section if they are both eligible agency employees. Both parents 

may take their leave simultaneously or at different times, subject 

to Rule .1907 of this Section. 

(d)  Employees shall submit documentation that they will use paid 

parental leave for a qualifying event under this Section. An 

agency may take appropriate action if an employee fraudulently 

requested or used paid parental leave. This action may include 

revoking approval and disciplinary action up to and including 

dismissal, pursuant to 25 NCAC 01J .0600. 

(e)  Employees shall not be paid for the leave provided by this 

Section upon separation from the employer. The leave provided 

by this Section shall not be used for calculating an employee's 

retirement benefits and shall not accrue or be donated as voluntary 

shared leave. 

(f)  Paid parental leave provided under this Section shall be 

reported separately from all other paid leave. Employees and 

supervisors are responsible for accurate reporting of the use of this 

leave on the employee's time record. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4(6); 126-8.6; 126-35(a). 

 

25 NCAC 01E .1909 LEAVE ADMINISTRATION FOR 

ADOPTIONS OR FOSTER CARE PLACEMENTS 

(a)  When a child is given up for adoption or placed in foster care, 

from that point forward: 

(1) The birth parent shall continue to be eligible for 

the paid parental leave listed in Rule 

.1904(a)(1)(A) of this Section for physical and 

mental recuperation; and 

(2) Each parent shall not be eligible for further use 

of the paid parental leave listed in Rule 

.1904(a)(1)(B) of this Section for bonding with 

the child. 

(b)  When a prospective adoptive parent or foster parent expects 

an adoption or placement, but it does not occur, it does not 

produce paid parental leave under this Section. However, 

agencies are encouraged to be flexible and allow adequate time 

for bereavement to the persons who would have become parents, 

using sick leave, vacation leave, bonus leave, compensatory time, 

and any other leave options that may be available to the employee. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-8.6. 

 

25 NCAC 01E .1910 MISCARRIAGE OR 

STILLBIRTH 

(a)  When a fetus dies before 12 weeks of the pregnancy were 

complete, it is not a qualifying event for paid parental leave under 

this Section. 

(b)  When a fetus dies after the 12th completed week of 

pregnancy, but before childbirth is complete: 

(1) If the birth parent meets the eligibility 

requirements in Rule .1903 of this Section, the 

birth parent may receive the paid parental leave 

listed in Rule .1904(a)(1)(A) of this Section. 

This leave is four weeks for a full-time eligible 

state employee. 

(2) The parents shall not receive the paid parental 

leave for bonding with the child that is listed in 

Rule .1904(a)(1)(B) and Rule .1904(a)(2) of 

this Section. 

(c)  When a child dies after childbirth is complete, each parent of 

the child who meets the eligibility requirements in Rule .1903 of 

this Section shall receive the full paid parental leave listed in Rule 
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.1904(a)(1) and (a)(2) of this Section. The paid parental leave will 

not be ended at the time of the child's death. 

(d)  In any of the situations above, agencies are encouraged to be 

flexible and allow adequate time to the parents for bereavement 

and recovery, using sick leave, vacation leave, bonus leave, 

compensatory time, and any other leave options that may be 

available to the employee. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-8.6. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission March 27, 2024 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comments on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 
 

Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Barbara A. Jackson (1st Vice-Chair) 

Jay R. Hemphill Randy Overton (2nd Vice-Chair) 
Jeff Hyde Wayne R. Boyles, III 

Brandon Leebrick Jake Parker 
Bill Nelson Paul Powell 

 
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Brian Liebman  984-236-1948 
William W. Peaslee 984-236-1939 
Seth M. Ascher  984-236-1934 
Travis Wiggs  984-236-1929 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 March 27, 2024 May 29, 2024 
 April 30, 2024 June 26, 2024 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
Wednesday, March 27, 2024, 10:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 
 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 
II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting  

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Office of State Budget and Management - 09 NCAC 03M .0202 (Peaslee) 
B. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission - 12 NCAC 09F .0103, .0104, .0105 

(Peaslee) 
C. Board of Examiners in Optometry - 21 NCAC 42D .0102 (Peaslee)  
D. Board of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors - 21 NCAC 56 .0502, .0701 (Wiggs) 
E. Building Code Council - 2024 North Carolina Energy Conservation Code (Liebman) 
F. Building Code Council - 2024 North Carolina Fuel Gas Code (Liebman) 
G. Building Code Council - 2024 North Carolina Mechanical Code (Liebman) 

IV. Review of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between January 21, 2024 through February 20, 2024 
1. State Board of Elections (Peaslee) 
2. Medical Care Commission (Ascher) 
3. Home Inspector Licensure Board (Liebman) 
4. Commission for Public Health (Wiggs) 
5. Board of Architecture and Registered Interior Designers (Liebman) 
6. Board of Certified Public Accountant Examiners (Ascher) 
7. Board of Chiropractic Examiners (Liebman) 
8. Board of Dental Examiners (Liebman) 
9. Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board (Peaslee) 
10. Board of Landscape Architects (Peaslee) 
11. Board of Funeral Service (Peaslee) 
12. Board of Podiatry Examiners (Wiggs) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting 
VI. Existing Rules Review  
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VII. Commission Business 
1. Closed session, to consult with attorneys regarding CRC v. RRC, EMC v. RRC, and other potential 

litigation 
2. Next meeting: April 30, 2024 

 
 

 
Commission Review 

Log of Permanent Rule Filings 
January 21, 2024 through February 20, 2024 

STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

The rules in Chapter 4 concern voting equipment including use of mechanical voting machines (.0100); use of punch-
card voting equipment (.0200); approval and operation of voting systems (.0300); and approval of electronic poll books 
(.0400). 

Standards for Certification of Electronic Poll Books 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 04 .0401 

Procedures for Certification of Electronic Poll Books 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 04 .0402 

The rules in Chapter 17 concern photo identification. 

Verification of Photo Identification During In-Person Voting 
Amend* 

 08 NCAC 17 .0101 

Determination of Reasonable Resemblance by Judges of Elec... 
Repeal* 

 08 NCAC 17 .0102 

Identification Required of Curbside Voters 
Repeal* 

 08 NCAC 17 .0103 

Declaration of Religious Objection to Photograph 
Repeal* 

 08 NCAC 17 .0105 

Signage Notifying One-Stop Voters of the Option to Reques... 
Repeal* 

 08 NCAC 17 .0106 

Photo Identification for Absentee-by-Mail Ballots 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 17 .0109 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 13L concern nursing pool licensure including general information (.0100); licensing (.0200); 
and administration (.0300) 

Written Policies and Procedures 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13L .0301 

Personnel Records 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13L .0302 

The rules in Subchapter 13P concern emergency medical services and trauma including definitions (.0100); EMS 
systems (.0200); specialty care transport programs (.0300); medical oversight and EMS personnel (.0400 - .0500); EMS 
educational institutions and programs (.0600); enforcement (.0700); trauma system definitions (.0800); trauma center 
standards and approval (.0900); trauma center designation enforcement (.1000); trauma system design (.1100); and 
recovery and rehabilitation of chemically dependent ems personnel (.1400). 

Abbreviations 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0101 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0102 
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EMS System Requirements 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0201 

Ground Ambulance: Vehicle and Equipment Requirements 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0207 

Weapons and Explosives Forbidden 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0216 

Medical Ambulance/Evacuation Bus: Vehicle and Equipment R... 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0217 

Pediatric Specialty Care Ground Ambulance: Vehicle a... 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0218 

Patient Transportation Between Hospitals 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0221 

Ground Ambulance Vehicle Manufacturing Standards 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0224 

Specialty Care Transport Program Criteria 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0301 

Components of Medical Oversight for EMS Systems 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0401 

Components of Medical Oversight for Specialty Care Transp... 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0402 

Responsibilities of the Medical Director for EMS Systems 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0403 

Responsibilities of the Medical Director for Specialty Ca... 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0404 

Requirements for Emergency Medical Dispatch Priority Refe... 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0407 

Components of Medical Oversight for Air Medical Programs 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0410 

Initial Credentialing Requirements for EMR, EMT, AEMT, Pa... 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0502 

Term of Credentials for EMS Personnel 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0503 

Reinstatement of Lapsed EMS Credential 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0512 

Continuing Education EMS Educational Program Requirements 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0601 

Basic and Advanced EMS Educational Institution Requirements 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0602 

Initial Designation Process 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0904 

Renewal Designation Process 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .0905 

EMS Educational Institutions 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .1505 

EMS Personnel Credentials 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13P .1507 

HOME INSPECTOR LICENSURE BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 8 are the engineering and building codes including the approval of school maintenance electricians 
(.0400); qualification board-limited certificate (.0500); qualification board-probationary certificate (.0600); qualification 
board-standard certificate (.0700); disciplinary actions and other contested matters (.0800); manufactured housing 
board (.0900); NC Home Inspector Licensure Board (.1000); home inspector standards of practice and code of ethics 
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(.1100); disciplinary actions (.1200); home inspector continuing education (.1300); Manufactured Housing Board 
continuing education (.1400); and alternate designs and construction appeals (.1500). 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 08 .1101 

Purpose and Scope 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 08 .1103 

General Exclusions 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 08 .1105 

Exterior 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 08 .1107 

Plumbing 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 08 .1109 

Electrical 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 08 .1110 

Code of Ethics 
Amend* 

 11 NCAC 08 .1116 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

The rules in Chapter 18 cover environmental aspects of health such as sanitation (18A), mosquito control (18B), water 
supplies (18C), and water treatment facility operators (18D).  
 
The rules in Subchapter 18A concern sanitation and include handling, packing and shipping of crustacean meat (.0100) 
and shellfish (.0300 and .0400); operation of shellstock plants and reshippers (.0500); shucking and packing plants 
(.0600); depuration mechanical purification facilities (.0700); wet storage of shellstock (.0800); shellfish growing waters 
(.0900); sanitation of summer camps (.1000); grade A milk (.1200); hospitals, nursing homes, rest homes, etc. (.1300); 
mass gatherings (.1400); local confinement facilities (.1500); residential care facilities (.1600); protection of water 
supplies (.1700); lodging places (.1800); sewage treatment and disposal systems (.1900); migrant housing (.2100); bed 
and breakfast homes (.2200); delegation of authority to enforce rules (.2300); public, private and religious schools 
(.2400); public swimming pools (.2500); restaurants, meat markets, and other food handling establishments (.2600); 
child day care facilities (.2800); restaurant and lodging fee collection program (.2900); bed and breakfast inns (.3000); 
lead poisoning prevention (.3100); tattooing (.3200); adult day service facilities (.3300); primitive camps (.3500); rules 
governing the sanitation of resident camps (.3600); and private drinking water well sampling (.3800).  

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1001 

Field Sanitation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1002 

Standards and Approval of Plans 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1003 

Permits 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1004 

Inspections and Reinspections 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1006 

Inspection Forms 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1007 

Grading 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1008 

Standards 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1009 

Water Supply 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1011 

Recreational Waters 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1012 
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Toilet: Handwashing: Laundry: and Bathing Facilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1014 

Food Service Facilities 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1017 

Food Service Utensils and Equipment 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1018 

Food Supplies 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1019 

Shellfish 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1020 

Milk and Milk Products 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1021 

Food Protection 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1022 

Food Service Employees 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1027 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1601 

Approval of Plans 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1602 

Inspections 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1603 

Reinspections: Visits 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1604 

Inspection Forms 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1605 

Scoring System 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1606 

Floors 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1607 

Walls and Ceilings 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1608 

Lighting and Ventilation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1609 

Toilet: Handwashing: and Bathing Facilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1610 

Water Supply 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1611 

Drinking Water Facilities: Ice Handling 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1612 

Liquid Wastes 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1613 

Solid Wastes 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1614 

Pest Control and Outdoor Premises 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1615 

Chemical and Medication Storage 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1616 

Beds: Linen: Laundry: Furniture 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1617 

Food Service Utensils and Equipment 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1618 

Food  15A NCAC 18A .1619 
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Readopt with Changes* 

Food Protection 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1620 

Employees 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1621 

Circulation System 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .2518 

Suction Hazard Reduction 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18A .2539 

ARCHITECTURE AND REGISTERED INTERIOR DESIGNERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 2 are from the Board of Architecture and include general provisions (.0100); practice of architecture 
(.0200); examination procedures (.0300); rules, petitions, and hearings (.0400); declaratory rulings (.0500); 
administrative hearings: procedures (.0600); administrative hearings: decisions and related rights (.0700); judicial review 
(.0800); and continuing education (.0900). 

Fees 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 02 .0108 

Architect, Registered Interior Designer, Firm or Partners... 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 02 .0201 

Rules of Professional Conduct 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 02 .0203 

Requirement for and Use of Professional Seal by an Archit... 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 02 .0206 

Incompetence 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 02 .0210 

Individual Licenses and Registrations 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 02 .0213 

Firm Practice of Architecture and Registered Interior Design 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 02 .0214 

Out of State Firms 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 02 .0215 

Architectural Licensure by Examination 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 02 .0302 

Architecture Licensure by Reciprocity 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 02 .0303 

Interior Designer Registration 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 02 .0306 

Certification and Licensure for Military Personnel and Mi... 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 02 .0307 

Who Shall Hear Contested Cases 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 02 .0606 

CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 8F are the requirements for CPA examination and certificate applicants including general 
provisions (.0100), fees and refunds (.0200), educational requirements (.0300), experience (.0400), and applications 
(.0500). 

Conditioning Requirements 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 08F .0105 

Work Experience Required of Candidates for CPA Certification 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 08F .0401 
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CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 10 include organization of the Board (.0100); the practice of chiropractic (.0200); rules of unethical 
conduct (.0300); rule-making procedures (.0400); investigation of complaints (.0500); contested cases and hearings in 
contested cases (.0600-.0700); and miscellaneous provisions (.0800). 

Acupuncture 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 10 .0208 

Preceptors 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 10 .0218 

DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 16H concern dental assistants including classification and training (.0100); and permitted 
functions of dental assistant (.0200). 

Approved Education and Training Programs 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16H .0104 

INTERPRETER AND TRANSLITERATOR LICENSING BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 25 are from the Interpreter and Transliterator Board including general provisions (.0100); licensing 
(.0200); moral fitness for licensure (.0300); reporting and disclosure requirements (.0400); continuing education (.0500); 
administrative procedure (.0600); and sanctions (.0700).  

Continuing Education Requirements 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 25 .0501 

Proration of Continuing Education Requirements 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 25 .0502 

Failure to Meet Continuing Education Requirements 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 25 .0503 

CEU Credit for Workshops, Conferences, and Independent St... 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 25 .0505 

LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 26 are from the Board of Landscape Architects and include statutory and administrative provisions 
(.0100); practice rules for registered landscape architects (.0200); examination and licensing procedures (.0300); rules, 
petitions and hearings (.0400); and board disciplinary procedures (.0500). 

Fees 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 26 .0105 

FUNERAL SERVICE, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 34B are funeral service rules including rules relating to resident trainees (.0100); examinations 
(.0200); licensing (.0300); continuing education (.0400); out-of-state licensees (.0500); funeral establishments (.0600); 
and preparation of dead bodies (.0700). 

Passing Score 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 34B .0208 

National Board Certificate 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 34B .0211 

Expiration of Text Scores 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 34B .0213 
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PODIATRY EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 52 concern Board of Podiatry Examiners including organization of the Board (.0100); examination 
and licensing (.0200); professional corporations (.0300); revocation or suspension of license (.0400); certification of 
podiatric assistants (.0500); general provisions (.0600); petitions for rules (.0700); notice of rulemaking hearings (.0800); 
rulemaking hearings (.0900); declaratory rulings (.1000); administrative hearing procedures (.1100); administrative 
hearings decisions related rights and procedures (.1200); nominations for podiatrist members of the board of podiatry 
examiners; the board of podiatry examiners constituting a board of podiatry elections; and procedures for holding an 
election (.1300); and scope of practice (.1400). 

Continuing Education 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 52 .0208 

Fee Schedule 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 52 .0613 

 

 

 


