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This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.  

Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6. 

 

GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days but not later than 60 days 

after the date a notice of the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Radiation Protection Commission intends to amend the rules 

cited as 10A NCAC 15 .0801-.0808. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ruleactions.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 15, 2024 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  Dorothea Dix Park, Edgerton Building, Room 026, 

809 Ruggles Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The rules in 10A NCAC 15 

regulate the use of radioactive materials and radiation machines 

in the State of North Carolina pursuant to G.S. 104E. Rules in 

Section .0800 of Chapter 15 regulate all registrants who use 

radiation generating devices (RGDs) in the state. 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, Periodic Review and Expiration of 

Existing Rules, all rules are reviewed at least every 10 years, or 

they shall expire. As a result of the periodic review of the rules in 

Chapter 10A NCAC 15, Radiation Protection, 10A NCAC 15 

Section .0800 had eight rules, .0801 - .0808, that were determined 

to be “Necessary Without Substantive Public Interest” and will 

be amended with this rulemaking action. 

As mandated by G.S. 150B-19 (4) the agency may not adopt a rule 

that repeats the content of a law, a rule, or a federal regulation. 

To comply with this mandate, the federal regulations in 21 CFR 

1010.2 and 21 CFR 1020.40 are proposed for incorporation by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. The 

federal regulations are being incorporated by reference into 

Rules 10A NCAC 15 .0802(6), .0802(7), and .0806(a). 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Taylor Corpening, 809 

Ruggles Drive, Edgerton Building 2701 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; email 

DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  May 31, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 15 - RADIATION PROTECTION 

 

SECTION .0800 - REQUIREMENTS FOR NON-HUMAN 

USE OF RADIATION GENERATING DEVICES 

 

10A NCAC 15 .0801 PURPOSE AND SCOPE 

(a)  This Section provides special additional requirements for use 

of ionizing radiation generating devices (RGDs) operating above 

five thousand electron volts (5 keV), but below one million 

electron volts (1 MeV) that are in addition to (1 MeV). The 

requirements in of this Section are in addition to the provisions in 

other sections Sections .0100, .0200, .1000, and .1600 of this 

Chapter. 

(b)  This Section does not pertain to radiation safety requirements 

for x-ray equipment that is covered in other sections industrial 

radiographic machines for non-human use that are covered in 

Section .0500 of this Chapter Chapter, (e.g., x-rays in the healing 

arts in Section .0600 of this Chapter, and particle accelerators in 

Section .0900 of this Chapter). Chapter. 

(c)  RGDs used for the purpose of elemental analysis, 

microstructural analysis, quality assurance, quality control, 

research and development, gauging and measurement, or other 

nondestructive testing and evaluation. RGDs addressed in this 

Section include: 

(1) analytical RGDs; 

(2) cabinet x-ray systems; 

(3) electron beam device below 1MeV; 

(4) electron microscopes; 

(5) ion implantation equipment, low energy; 

(6) gauging devices; 

(7) radiographic and radioscopic non-healing arts 

x-ray equipment; and 
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(8) security screening devices and systems for 

government use only. 

 

Authority G.S. 104E-7. 

 

10A NCAC 15 .0802 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to terms found in Rule .0104 of this Chapter Chapter, 

the following definitions shall apply to this Section: 

(1) "Accredited bomb squad" means a law 

enforcement agency utilizing certified bomb 

technicians. 

(2) "Accessible surface" means the external or 

outside surface of the enclosure or housing 

provided by the manufacturer or designer of the 

RGD. This includes the high-voltage generator, 

doors, access panels, latches, control knobs, and 

other permanently mounted hardware, and 

including the plane across the exterior edge of 

any opening. 

(2)(3) "Analytical RGD equipment" means equipment 

that uses electronic means to generate ionizing 

radiation for the purpose of examining the 

microstructure of materials, materials i.e. using 

direct x-ray transmission, x-ray diffraction, x-

ray fluorescence, and x-ray spectroscopy. 

(3)(4) "Analytical RGD system" means a group of 

local and remote components utilizing x-rays to 

determine the elemental composition or to 

examine the microstructure of materials. 

(4) "Bomb detection RGDs" means RGDs used for 

the sole purpose of remotely detecting 

explosive devices. 

(5) "Certified bomb technician" means a member 

of an accredited bomb squad who has 

completed the FBI Hazardous Devices School. 

Information pertaining to this program can be 

found on the school website at 

http://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cirg/hazardous-

devices. 

(6) "Certifiable cabinet x-ray system" means an 

existing uncertified RGD that has been 

modified to meet the certification requirements 

specified in 21 CFR 1020.40 1020.40, as 

incorporated by reference in Rule .0117 of this 

Chapter. 

(7) "Certified cabinet x-ray system" means an RGD 

utilized in an enclosed, interlocked cabinet, 

such that the radiation machine will not operate 

unless all openings are securely closed. These 

systems shall be certified in accordance with 21 

CFR 1010.2 1010.2, as incorporated by 

reference in Rule .0117 of this Chapter, as being 

manufactured and assembled pursuant to the 

provisions of 21 CFR 1020.40 1020.40, as 

incorporated by reference in Rule .0117 of this 

Chapter. 

(8) "Collimator" means a device or mechanism by 

which the x-ray beam is restricted in size. 

(9) "Control panel" means that part of the x-ray 

control where the switches, knobs, pushbuttons, 

and other hardware are, that are necessary for 

manually setting the technique factors. 

(10) "Electron Beam Device" means any device 

using electrons below 1MeV to heat, join, or 

otherwise irradiate materials. 

(11) "Enclosed beam RGD" means an RGD with all 

possible x-ray beam paths contained in a 

chamber, coupled chambers, or other beam-

path-confinement devices devices, to prevent 

any part of the body from intercepting the beam 

during normal operations. Normal access to the 

primary beam path, such as a sample chamber 

door, shall be interlocked with the high voltage 

of the x-ray tube or the shutter for the beam to 

be considered "enclosed." An open-beam 

device placed in an interlocked enclosure is 

considered an "enclosed beam" unless there are 

provisions for routine bypassing of the 

interlocks. 

(12) "Emergency procedure" means the written pre-

planned steps to be taken in the event of actual 

or suspected exposure of an individual 

exceeding administrative or regulatory limits. 

This procedure shall include the names and 

telephone numbers of individuals to be 

contacted as well as directives for processing 

individual monitoring devices. 

(12)(13) "Fail-safe characteristics" means a design 

feature that causes the radiation beam to 

terminate, port shutters to close, or otherwise 

prevents emergence of the primary beam, upon 

the failure of a safety or warning device. For 

example, if an "X-ray On" light indicator or 

shutter indicator or interlock fails, the radiation 

beam shall terminate. 

(14) "Gauging device" means a mechanism 

containing a source of ionizing radiation that is 

designed and manufactured for the purpose of 

determining or controlling thickness, density, 

level, interface location, or qualitative or 

quantitative composition of materials. It may 

include components such as radiation shields, 

useful-beam controls, and other safety features 

in order to meet the requirements or 

specifications. 

(15) "General-use system" means a security 

screening system that delivers an effective dose 

of 25 microrem (0.25 microSv) or less per 

screening. 

(13)(16) "Hand-held x-ray system" means any device or 

equipment that is portable and used for similar 

purposes as analytical RGD equipment. 

(14) "Hybrid gauge" means an x-ray gauge device 

utilizing both x-ray and radioactive sources. 

(15) "Industrial radiography" means RGDs used to 

make radiographic images to examine the 

structure of materials by nondestructive 
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methods. These RGDs shall not be contained in 

a cabinet and are not permanent installations. 

(17) "Inspection Zone" means the area established 

for the purpose of controlling access where 

screening is performed. Areas controlled due to 

the presence of radiation may include areas of 

ingress, egress, gates, portals, and traffic paths. 

The area outside of the inspection zone shall not 

exceed the limits of Rule .1601(a)(13) of this 

Chapter. 

(18) "Interlock" means a feature designed to prevent 

access to an area of radiation hazard by 

preventing entry or by automatically removing 

the hazard. 

(16)(19) "Ion implantation equipment, low-energy" 

means any enclosed device operating below 

1MeV used to accelerate elemental ions and 

implant them in other materials. 

(17)(20) "Leakage radiation" means radiation emanating 

from the source assembly housing except for: 

(A) the primary beam; 

(B) scatter radiation emanating from other 

components (e.g., shutter or 

collimator); and 

(C) radiation produced when the beam on 

switch or timer is not activated. 

(21) "Limited-use system" means a screening 

system that is capable of delivering an effective 

dose greater than 25 microrem (0.25 microSv) 

per screening but shall not exceed an effective 

dose of 1 mrem (10 microSv) per screening. 

(18)(22) "Local components" means part of an RGD x-

ray system and include areas that are struck by 

x-rays such as radiation source housings, port 

and shutter assemblies, collimators, sample 

holders, cameras, goniometers, detectors, and 

shielding, but do not include power supplies, 

transformers, amplifiers, readout devices, and 

control panels. 

(19)(23) "Mobile RGD" means RGD equipment 

mounted on a permanent base with wheels or 

casters for moving while completely 

assembled. 

(20)(24) "Normal operating procedures" means step-by-

step instructions necessary to accomplish a 

task. These procedures shall include sample 

insertion and manipulation, equipment 

alignment, routine maintenance by the 

registrant, and data recording procedures that 

are related to radiation safety. 

(21)(25) "Open-beam RGD" means a device or system 

designed in such a way that the primary beam 

is not completely enclosed during normal 

operation and used for analysis, gauging, or 

imaging in which an individual could 

accidentally place some part of their body in the 

primary beam or stray radiation path during 

normal operation. 

(22) "Permanent radiographic installation" means an 

RGD utilized in an enclosed shielded room, 

cell, or vault that allows entry when the RGD is 

not energized. 

(23)(26) "Portable RGD" means RGD equipment 

designed to be carried. by hand. 

(24)(27) "Primary beam" means radiation that passes 

through an aperture of the source assembly 

housing by a direct path from the radiation 

source. 

(25)(28) "Radiation generating device (RGD)" means 

any system, device, subsystem, or machine 

component that may generate generate, by 

electronic means means, x-rays or particle 

radiation above 5 keV, but below 1 MeV, and 

not used for healing arts on humans or animals. 

Examples of RGDs are the following may be 

used as a: 

(A) analytical RGD equipment mobile 

RGD; 

(B) certified and certifiable cabinet x-ray 

systems portable RGD; or 

(C) gauging devices using x-ray sources; 

stationary RGD. 

(D) hybrid gauging devices; 

(E) e-beam welders; 

(F) baggage scanners; 

(G) industrial radiography RGDs; and 

(H) permanent radiographic installations. 

(26)(29) "Remote components" means parts of an RGD 

x-ray system that are not struck by x-rays x-

rays, such as power supplies, transformers, 

amplifiers, readout devices, and control panels. 

(30) "Safety Device" means a device, interlock or 

system that prevents the entry of any portion of 

an individual's body into the primary x-ray 

beam or that will cause the beam to shut off 

upon entry into its path. 

(27)(31) "Scattered radiation" means radiation, other 

than leakage radiation, that during passage 

through matter, has been deviated in direction 

or has been modified by a decrease in energy. 

(32) "Screening" means the sum of scans necessary 

for a security screening system to image 

concealed objects as intended by the system 

design under normal operating conditions. 

(33) "Security screening device" means a non-

human use open-beam device designed for the 

detection of contraband or weapons concealed 

in baggage, mail, packages, or other structures. 

These devices include bomb detection devices 

used for the sole purpose of detecting explosive 

devices. 

(34) "Security screening system" means a system 

specifically designed to detect contraband and 

weapons concealed on a person and is used for 

the sole purpose of public safety and security 

evaluation by law enforcement. 
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(28)(35) "Shutter" means an adjustable device, generally 

made of lead or other high atomic number 

material, fixed to a source assembly housing to 

intercept, block, or collimate the primary beam. 

(29)(36) "Source" means the point of origin of the 

radiation, such as the focal spot of an x-ray 

tube. 

(30)(37) "Stationary RGD" means RGD equipment that 

is installed or placed in a fixed location. 

(31)(38) "Stray radiation" means the sum of leakage and 

scatter radiation emanating from the source 

assembly or other components except for the 

primary beam, and radiation produced when the 

beam on switch or timer is not activated. 

(39) "Warning device" means an audible or visible 

signal that warns individuals of a potential 

radiation hazard. 

(32)(40) "X-ray generator" means the part of an x-ray 

system that provides the accelerating (high) 

voltage and current for the x-ray tube. 

(33) "X-ray gauge" means an x-ray producing 

device designed and manufactured for the 

purpose of detecting, measuring, gauging, or 

controlling thickness, density, level, or 

interface location of manufactured products. 

(41) "X-ray source housing" means the portion of an 

RGD system which contains the x-ray tube and 

emitting target. The housing often contains 

radiation shielding material or inherently 

provides shielding. 

 

Authority G.S. 104E-7. 

 

10A NCAC 15 .0803 EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS 

PERSONNEL REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Certified cabinet x-ray systems shall meet the requirements of 

21 CFR 1020.40 as incorporated by reference in Rule .0117(a)(3) 

of this Chapter. 

(b)  All certified and certifiable cabinet x-ray systems shall: 

(1) be constructed so that, the radiation emitted 

from the system shall not exceed an exposure of 

0.5 milliroentgen (mR) in one hour at any point 

five centimeters outside the external surface; 

and 

(2) have a fail-safe interlock that prevents 

irradiation when the cabinet, chamber, or 

coupled chambers are open. 

(c)  Open-beam analytical RGD systems shall be equipped with a 

safety device that prevents the entry of any portion of an 

individual's body into the primary x-ray beam path that causes the 

beam to be shut off upon entry into its path. 

(d)  Open-beam analytical RGDs shall be provided with a visible 

and legible indication of: 

(1) x-ray tube status (ON-OFF) located near the 

radiation source housing, if the primary beam is 

controlled in this manner; or 

(2) shutter status (OPEN-CLOSED) or beam status 

(ON-OFF) located near each port on the 

radiation source housing, if the primary beam is 

controlled in this manner. 

(e)  Warning devices on open-beam analytical RGDs shall be 

labeled so that their purpose is identified. On open-beam 

analytical RGDs installed after February 1, 1980, warning devices 

and lights shall have fail-safe characteristics. 

(f)  Unused ports on radiation source housings for open-beam 

RGDs shall be secured in the closed position in a manner that will 

prevent unintended opening. 

(g)  Each port on the radiation source housing on open-beam 

analytical RGDs installed after February 1, 1980 and designed to 

accommodate interchangeable components shall be equipped 

with a shutter that cannot be opened unless a collimator or a 

component coupling is connected to the port. 

(h)  Portable open-beam analytical RGDs that shall be 

manufactured to be used hand-held without safety devices are 

exempt from the requirements of Paragraph (c) of this Rule and 

shall be constructed according to International Standard IEC 

62495 that is incorporated by reference and includes subsequent 

amendments. This standard can be downloaded for one hundred 

twenty-one dollars ($121.00) at the following website: 

http://webstore.ansi.org/FindStandards.aspx?SearchString=IEC+

62495+Ed.+1.0+en%3a2011&SearchOption=0&PageNum=0&S

earchTermsArray=null%7cIEC+62495+Ed.+1.0+en%3a2011%7

cnull. 

(i)  A registrant may apply to the agency, as defined in Rule .0104 

of this Chapter, for an exemption from the requirement of a safety 

device. This request shall include: 

(1) a description of the safety devices; 

(2) the reason safety devices cannot be used; and 

(3) a description of the alternative methods that 

will be employed to minimize the possibility of 

an accidental exposure, including procedures to 

assure that operators and others in the area will 

be informed of the absence of safety devices. 

(j)  Analytical RGDs shall be provided with a visible and legible 

label(s) bearing the radiation symbol and the words: 

(1) "CAUTION - HIGH INTENSITY X-RAY 

BEAM," or words having a similar meaning, 

near the exit port to identify the location of the 

beam; and 

(2) "CAUTION - RADIATION - THIS 

EQUIPMENT PRODUCES RADIATION 

WHEN ENERGIZED", or words having a 

similar meaning, near any switch that energizes 

an x-ray tube, if the radiation source is an x-ray 

tube. 

(k)  Warning lights labeled with the words "X-RAYS ON," or 

other words having similar meaning, shall be located: 

(1) near any switch that activates the high voltage 

to energize an x-ray tube; or 

(2) in a conspicuous location near the radiation 

source housing and radiation beam(s) and 

visible from all instrument access areas. 

(l)  Warning lights shall activate when the x-ray tube is energized. 

(m)  Each x-ray tube housing shall be: 

(1) constructed that when all shutters are closed the 

leakage radiation measured at a distance of five 

centimeters from its surface is not capable of 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

38:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 1, 2024 

1223 

producing an exposure in excess of 2.5 millirem 

(mrem)/ (25 microsieverts µSv) in one hour; 

and 

(2) if the tube housing is the primary shielding for 

the x-ray tube, does not produce x-rays when 

the housing is opened or disassembled. 

(n)  Each x-ray generator shall be supplied with a protection 

cabinet which limits leakage radiation measured at a distance of 

five centimeters from its surface such that it is not capable of 

producing an exposure in excess of 0.25 mrem/2.5µSv in one 

hour. 

(o)  Permanent radiographic installations and industrial 

radiography RGDs shall comply with the requirements of Rule 

.0807 of this Section. 

(a)  The registrant shall document the scope of training and 

instruction required for the RGD in use. 

(b)  No individual shall be permitted to operate or maintain RGDs 

unless the individual has received instruction in the basic 

principles of radiation protection, training provided by the 

manufacturer for the specific RGD in use, and instruction in the 

operating and emergency procedures. Instruction and training 

shall include: 

(1) Basic principles of radiation protection: 

(A) radiation fundamentals; 

(B) source and magnitude of common 

sources of radiation exposure; 

(C) units of radiation dose and 

measurements; 

(D) potential hazards, biological effects of 

ionizing radiation, and recognition of 

symptoms of an acute localized 

exposure; 

(E) ALARA (As Low As Reasonably 

Achievable) principles for radiation 

protection concepts of time, distance, 

and shielding to minimize radiation 

exposure; 

(F) declared pregnancy policy; 

(G) occupational, embryo/fetus, and 

public dose limits; and 

(H) proper use of individual monitoring 

devices and survey instruments. 

(2) Device specific training for each RGD: 

(A) hands-on training for proper use; 

(B) radiation hazards associated with use; 

(C) precautions to take or measures 

required to minimize radiation 

exposure; 

(D) procedures to prevent unauthorized 

use; and 

(E) agency rules regarding use. 

(3) Operating and emergency procedure 

requirements of Rule .0804 in this Section. 

(c)  Records of instruction and training for each individual 

operating RGDs, documenting that the requirements of this Rule 

have been met, shall be maintained and available for agency 

review during inspection. 

(d)  Individuals who will be operating the RGD shall be able to 

demonstrate an understanding in safe operating procedures and 

use of the RGD. 

(e)  Each registrant shall provide ring or wrist individual 

monitoring devices to individuals: 

(1) operating open-beam RGDs; and 

(2) performing maintenance on an RDG, if the 

maintenance procedures require the presence of 

a primary x-ray beam when any local 

component in the RGD is disassembled or 

removed. 

 

Authority G.S. 104E-7. 

 

10A NCAC 15 .0804 AREA REQUIREMENTS 

OPERATING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The local components of RGDs shall be located and arranged 

to include sufficient shielding or access control to ensure no 

radiation levels exist in any area surrounding the local 

components that could result in a dose to an individual present in 

excess of the dose limits given in Rule .1611(a) of this Chapter. 

(b)  Survey Requirements 

(1) Radiation surveys, as set forth in Rule .1613(a) 

and (b) of this Chapter, of all RGDs sufficient 

to show compliance with Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule, shall be performed: 

(A) within 30 days after initial operation of 

the device; 

(B) prior to use following any change in 

the initial arrangement, including the 

number or type of local components in 

the system; and 

(C) prior to use following any 

maintenance requiring the 

disassembly or removal of a local 

component in the system that could 

affect the radiation exposure to 

personnel. 

(2) A registrant may apply to the agency for 

approval of procedures differing from those in 

Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule, provided that 

the registrant demonstrates satisfactory 

compliance with Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(3) Surveys shall be performed with a radiation 

survey instrument capable of the following: 

(A) measuring the radiation energies of the 

system surveyed; 

(B) confirming that the radiation limits of 

this Section are met; and 

(C) calibrated according to the 

manufacture's recommended 

frequency or at least annually when a 

frequency is not recommended. 

(c)  Each area of use or room containing RGDs shall be 

conspicuously posted with caution signs in accordance with the 

requirements of Rule .1623 of this Chapter, bearing the radiation 

caution symbol and the words "CAUTION - X-RAY 

EQUIPMENT," or words having a similar meaning. 
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(a)  RGDs shall only be operated by individuals who have 

completed the requirements in Rule .0803 of this Section. 

(b)  No individual shall be permitted to operate an RGD in any 

manner other than that specified in the operating procedures, 

unless the individual has obtained written approval from the 

radiation safety officer as defined in Rule .0104 of this Chapter. 

(c)  Normal operating and emergency procedures from the 

manufacturer or supplier of the RGD shall be available to all 

operators and support staff during the use of an RGD. 

(d)  Normal operating and emergency procedures shall include the 

following: 

(1) safe use of the RGD; 

(2) protocols in the event of device malfunction, 

emergency, or incident involving radiation 

exposure; and 

(3) instructions on reporting to the radiation safety 

officer and agency of actual or suspected 

accidental exposure or other radiation safety 

concerns, such as any unusual occurrence or 

malfunction that may involve exposure to 

radiation. 

(e)  Open beam and portable handheld RGDs 

(1) Registrants shall have operating procedures 

developed to ensure radiation protective 

measures are: 

(A) provided to meet the requirements of 

Rule .1601(a)(15) of this Chapter; 

(B) taken to avoid exposure to any 

individual from the transmitted 

primary x-ray beam in cases where the 

primary x-ray beam is not intercepted 

by a detector device during operation; 

and 

(C) available to all individuals operating 

the RGD. 

(2) Operators shall not do the following while 

operating an RGD: 

(A) point the primary beam at any 

individual including him or herself; 

(B) allow their hand to approach the 

primary beam; or 

(C) hold a sample. If a sample is small and 

it is necessary to hold the sample while 

operating the RGD, the sample shall 

be placed in a shielded sample 

enclosure. 

(f)  Operating and emergency procedures shall be available for 

agency review during inspection. 

(g)  Alignment procedures shall be performed as recommended 

by the RGD manufacturer. 

(h)  Special alignment procedures shall only be used when 

approved by the radiation safety officer and manufacturer of the 

RGD. 

(i)  Safety Devices 

(1) Testing 

(A) Safety devices including interlocks, 

shutters, and warning lights shall be 

tested once annually for proper 

operation on all RGDs in use. If any 

safety device fails, the RGD shall be 

taken out of service until corrective 

action is performed or temporary 

administrative controls are established 

and approved in writing by the 

radiation safety officer. 

(B) Testing records shall include the date 

test was performed, the list of safety 

devices tested, survey instrument 

used, the calibration date, the results of 

the test, the name of the individual that 

performed the test, and any corrective 

actions for failed test. 

(C) Records of the testing shall be retained 

by the registrant for agency review 

during inspection. 

(2) Bypassing 

(A) No individual shall bypass a safety 

device unless the person has obtained 

the approval from the radiation safety 

officer. Procedures for bypassing a 

safety device shall be incorporated 

into the radiation protection program 

by the radiation safety officer, as set 

forth in Rule .1601 of this Chapter, 

and the operating procedures as set 

forth in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(B) The written approval, as granted by 

the radiation safety officer, shall 

include the start and end date of 

approval. 

(C) When a safety device has been 

bypassed, a legible sign bearing the 

words "SAFETY DEVICE NOT 

WORKING", or words having a 

similar meaning, shall be placed on the 

x-ray source housing and the control 

panel during the bypassing period. 

(j)  Prior to an individual modifying the following, the individual 

shall determine the tube is off and will remain off until safe 

conditions have been restored: 

(1) x-ray tube system, resulting in the removal of 

tube housings, covers, or shielding materials; 

(2) shutters; 

(3) collimators; or 

(4) beam stops. 

 

Authority G.S. 104E-7(a)(2). 

 

10A NCAC 15 .0805 OPERATING REQUIREMENTS 

AREA REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  RGDs shall be operated by individuals that have completed 

the training requirements of Rule .0806 of this Section. 

(b)  Normal operating procedures shall be written and available to 

all RGD operators and support staff. 

(c)  No individual shall be permitted to operate RGDs in any 

manner other than that specified in the operating procedures 

unless the person has obtained written approval of the individual 
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responsible for radiation or the Radiation Safety Officer (RSO) as 

defined in Rule .0104 of this Chapter. 

(d)  No individual shall bypass a safety device unless the person 

has obtained the approval of the person responsible for radiation 

safety or the RSO. This process shall be incorporated into the 

radiation protection program by the RSO, as set forth in Rule 

.1603(a), and the operating procedures as set forth in Rule 

.0603(a)(1)(B). The written approval, as granted by the RSO, shall 

include an expiration date. When a safety device has been 

bypassed, a legible sign bearing the words "SAFETY DEVICE 

NOT WORKING" or words having a similar meaning shall be 

placed on the radiation source housing and the control panel 

during the bypassing period. 

(e)  Prior to an individual modifying the: 

(1) x-ray tube system, resulting in the removal of 

tube housings, covers, or shielding materials; 

(2) shutters; 

(3) collimators; or 

(4) beam stops 

the individual shall determine the tube is off and will remain off 

until safe conditions have been restored. 

(f)  Safety devices including interlocks, shutters, and warning 

lights shall be tested once annually for proper operation on all 

RGDs in operation. Records of the testing shall be retained by the 

registrant for three years. 

(g)  No individual shall hold a sample or object while it is being 

irradiated. 

(a)  Each radiation area, as defined in Rule .1601(a)(3) of this 

Chapter, containing RGDs shall be: 

(1) conspicuously posted with caution signs, in 

accordance with the requirements of Rule 

.1601(a)(34) of this Chapter, bearing the words 

"CAUTION – RADIATION AREA", or words 

having a similar meaning; and 

(2) supervised continuously during operation or 

shall utilize one or more of the following: 

(A) door interlocks; 

(B) entry monitors; or 

(C) engineering controls. 

(b)  Access to each restricted area where an individual may 

receive a dose equivalent exceeding 100 mrem in any year, but 

does not exceed levels of a radiation area, shall be designated as 

a controlled area. The area shall be controlled by: 

(1) visibly separating adjacent uncontrolled areas 

so doses do not exceed the limits of Rule 

.1601(a)(15) of this Chapter; and 

(2) posting a sign bearing the words "Warning: X-

rays in Use", or words having a similar 

meaning. 

(c)  The local components of RGDs shall be located and arranged 

to include sufficient shielding or access control to ensure no 

radiation levels exist in any area surrounding the local 

components that result in a dose to an individual present in excess 

of the dose limits in Rule .1601(a)(15) of this Chapter. 

(d)  Surveys shall be performed for each RGD, as set forth in Rule 

.1601(a)(50) of this Chapter, to show compliance with Paragraph 

(c) of this Rule. 

(1) Radiation survey instruments shall be: 

(A) capable of measuring the radiation 

energies of the RGD surveyed; and 

(B) calibrated annually when a frequency 

is not recommended by the 

manufacturer. 

(2) Equipment surveys shall confirm radiation 

levels do not exceed the requirements of Rule 

.0806(c)(7); (d)(3); and (h)(2) of this Section. 

Surveys shall be performed: 

(A) prior to initial use and include testing 

of warning and safety devices; 

(B) prior to use following any change in 

the initial arrangement, including the 

number or type of local components in 

the system or x-ray tube source 

housing; 

(C) prior to use following any 

maintenance requiring the 

disassembly or removal of a local 

component in the system or x-ray tube 

source housing that could affect the 

radiation exposure to personnel; and 

(D) during the performance of calibration, 

maintenance, or any alignment 

procedure if the presence of a primary 

x-ray beam is required while any local 

component in the system is 

disassembled or removed. 

(3) A registrant may apply to the agency for 

approval of procedures differing from those in 

Subparagraph (d) of this Rule, provided that the 

registrant demonstrates satisfactory compliance 

with Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(e)  RGDs in Rule .0806(i) and .0807(2) of this Section, installed 

after the effective date of this Rule, shall ensure the following 

provisions are met: 

(1) A floor plan with equipment arrangement shall 

be submitted to the agency for review and 

acknowledgement prior to installation of the 

system. The floor plan shall include: 

(A) the proposed location of the system; 

(B) direction of the useful beam; 

(C) adjacent areas; and 

(D) location of the operator. 

(2) An area radiation survey shall be performed 

prior to initial use to show compliance with 

dose limits of the rules in Section .1600 of this 

Chapter. The survey shall include: 

(A) a drawing of the room indicating the 

location of the x-ray tube and 

orientation of the useful beam; 

(B) radiation levels at the operator 

location and adjacent areas; 

(C) survey instrument used; and 

(D) name of the service provider that is 

registered in accordance with Rule 

.0205 of this Chapter and date the 

survey was performed. 
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(3) Modifications to the room, RGD, or adjacent 

areas that may increase the radiation dose to any 

individual shall require a new survey. 

(4) Records of the floor plan with equipment 

arrangement and survey shall be available for 

agency review during inspection. 

 

Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-12. 

 

10A NCAC 15 .0806 PERSONNEL REQUIREMENTS 

EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Personnel operating or maintaining RGDs shall comply with 

the following: 

(1) No person shall be permitted to operate or 

maintain RGDs unless the person has received 

instruction in the operating and emergency 

procedures for the RGD and instruction that is 

in accordance with Rule .1003 of this Chapter. 

(2) Each registrant operating or maintaining RGDs 

shall maintain, for inspection by the agency, 

records of training that demonstrate the 

requirements of this Rule have been satisfied. 

(b)  The registrant shall provide ring or wrist personnel monitoring 

equipment to: 

(1) individuals using open-beam RGDs not 

equipped with a safety device; and 

(2) individuals maintaining RGDs if the 

maintenance procedures require the presence of 

a primary x-ray beam when any local 

component in the RGD is disassembled or 

removed. 

(a)  Certified and certifiable cabinet x-ray systems shall comply 

with the following provisions of 21 CFR 1020.40, which are 

hereby incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. 

(1) 21 CFR 1020.40(a) Applicability; 

(2) 21 CFR 1020.40(b) Definitions; 

(3) 21 CFR 1020.40(c) Requirements; and 

(4) 21 CFR 1020.40(d) Modifications of a certified 

system. 

(b)  The regulations cited in Paragraph (a) of this Rule are 

available free of charge at 

https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfcfr/CFRSe

arch.cfm?FR=1020.40. 

(c)  All RGD's shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) Warning devices shall be labeled so the purpose 

is easily identified. 

(2) Warning lights of a fail-safe design labeled with 

the words "X-RAY ON", or words having a 

similar meaning, shall be located: 

(A) within sight of any switch that 

energizes an x-ray tube; 

(B) in a conspicuous location near the x-

ray tube source housing and x-ray 

beam, and 

(C) visible from all instrument access 

areas. 

(3) Warning lights shall activate when the x-ray 

tube is energized. 

(4) Each shutter shall be equipped with a "shutter 

open" warning light or device of a fail-safe 

design. 

(5) A readily visible and legible label bearing the 

radiation symbol and the words "CAUTION – 

RADIATION: THIS EQUIPMENT 

PRODUCES RADIATION WHEN 

ENERGIZED", or words having a similar 

meaning, shall be located near any switch that 

energizes an x-ray tube. 

(6) Systems containing an x-ray tube shall be 

equipped with a fail-safe interlock that will shut 

off high voltage to the tube if the x-ray tube 

source housing is disassembled or if the tube is 

removed. 

(7) High voltage generator enclosures or any 

accessible area 5 centimeters from the RGD 

shall not exceed a dose rate of .25 mrem/hr 

(.0025 mSv/hr). 

(d)  All open beam RGDs shall meet the following additional 

requirements: 

(1) Each beam port of the x-ray tube source 

housing shall be equipped with a beam shutter 

interlocked with the x-ray accessory coupling, 

or collimator, so that the port will not open 

unless a collimator or a component coupling is 

in place. 

(2) Shutters at unused ports shall be secured in the 

closed position to prevent unintended opening. 

(3) The x-ray tube source housing shall be 

constructed so that when all shutters are closed, 

the leakage radiation measured at a distance of 

five centimeters from the housing surface does 

not exceed 2.5 mrem (25 microSv) in one hour. 

(4) A safety device or interlock shall prevent the 

entry of any portion of an individual's body into 

the primary x-ray beam or which causes the 

primary beam to shut off upon entry into its 

path. 

(5) A registrant may apply to the agency, as defined 

in Rule .0106 of this Chapter, for an exemption 

from the requirement of a safety device in 

Subparagraph (d)(3) of this Rule. The request 

shall include: 

(A) justification for the use of an open 

beam system instead of an enclosed 

beam system; 

(B) a description of other safety devices 

that have been evaluated and reason 

why a safety devices cannot be used; 

and 

(C) a description of the alternative 

methods that will be employed to 

minimize the possibility of an 

accidental exposure, including 

procedures to assure that operators and 

others in the area will be informed of 

the absence of safety devices. 
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(e)  All enclosed beam RGDs shall meet the following additional 

requirements: 

(1) The radiation source, sample or object, 

detector, and analyzing crystal (if used) shall be 

enclosed to prevent entry of any portion of the 

body during normal operation. 

(2) All doors and panels shall be equipped with an 

interlock. The interlock shall be of a fail-safe 

design. 

(f)  Bimodal beam RGDs with the ability to override interlocks 

between enclosed and open beam shall be designed to be engaged 

with a device or tool and meet the following requirements: 

(1) The tool or key shall only be used by designated 

individuals as outlined in operating procedures. 

(2) When the tool or key is in use, it shall be captive 

in the equipment and removal of the tool or key 

returns the RGD to enclosed beam mode. 

(3) System use requirements must follow the 

current use mode. 

(g)  Portable x-ray fluorescence analyzers manufactured to be 

used in a hand-held configuration without safety devices are 

exempt from the requirements of Subparagraph (d)(4) of this Rule 

and shall meet the following additional requirements: 

(1) Warning labels and indicators shall be provided 

on the analyzer and on the display screen(s). 

(2) A label near each beam port shall bear a 

radiation symbol and the words "WARNING 

HIGH INTENSITY X-RAYS – DO NOT 

EXPOSE ANY PART OF BODY TO BEAM" 

or words having a similar meaning. 

(3) The power switch shall have the power logo: 

I/O. 

(h)  All gauging devices shall meet the following additional 

requirements: 

(1) The RGD shall be designed to restrict access to 

the x-ray beam by personnel who are not trained 

in accordance with Rule .0803 of this Section. 

(2) A useful beam control system shall be provided 

whenever the useful beam is accessible, and the 

radiation levels exceed one hundred mrem per 

hour (100 mrem/hr)(1 mSv/hr) at five 

centimeters from any accessible surface or five 

mrem per hour (5 mrem/h)(.05 mSv/h) at thirty 

centimeters (30 cm). The useful beam controls 

may include a moving shutter, a moving source, 

or a high voltage power supply. 

(3) On-Off indicators shall be marked with 

symbols or wording clarifying the status of the 

device. 

(4) Each indicating system for automatic beam 

controls shall consist of at least one "ON" 

indicating signal, and one "OFF" indicating 

signal. If lights are used, green indicates the 

"OFF" and red indicates any other condition of 

the useful beam control. 

(5) Indicators for RGDs high voltage control shall 

be a yellow or amber warning light with the 

words "HIGH VOLTAGE ON" and shall be 

located on the control panel and near the x-ray 

tube source housing. The warning light shall 

illuminate only when power is applied to the 

RGD. 

(6) Interlocks shall be used to prevent accidental 

exposure to high voltage and ionizing radiation. 

(7) The RGD shall be conspicuously marked with 

a label permanently affixed to the device with 

the following information: 

(A) ANSI device classification; 

(B) name of manufacturer; 

(C) model; and 

(D) serial number. 

(8) Radiation safety labels shall provide 

instructions and precautions for safe operation. 

If space is limited on the RGD, operating or 

service manuals may be referenced for the 

information. 

(i)  Radiographic and radioscopic non-healing arts x-ray 

equipment operating below energies of 1 MeV designed for non-

medical x-ray shall comply with the following additional 

requirements: 

(1) Written instructions shall be supplied by the 

manufacturer or supplier at the time of sale or 

transfer to the first user. When the manufacturer 

or supplier does not provide services to the 

RGD, installation instructions shall describe: 

(A) radiation safety pertaining to each unit 

or accessory; 

(B) instruction for assembly operations 

when assembly not performed by 

manufacturer; 

(C) interconnections instructions of 

interlocks, warning lights and audible 

alarms systems; 

(D) test instructions to determine if the 

RGD and accessory components are 

properly operating; and 

(E) if the x-ray tube assembly is shielded 

or non-shielded. 

(2) Operating instructions shall be supplied by the 

manufacturer or supplier, at the time of sale or 

transfer to the first user, in accordance with 

operating requirements of Rule .0804 of this 

Section. 

(3) The controls shall be: 

(A) clearly marked with for the "on-off" 

position of the component 

disconnecting the power; and 

(B) equipped with a means to prevent 

production of x-rays when in the "off" 

position, such as a key or password. 

When a key is used, the RGD shall be 

manufactured so it may only be 

removed when the key is in the "off" 

position. 

(4) The "X-ray On" indicator control shall be: 

(A) yellow or amber in color; 

(B) be of a fail-safe design; and 
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(C) have two indicators viewable from the 

control panel indicating when x-rays 

are being produced in a period of 

greater than 0.5 seconds. 

(5) The "X-ray Off" indicators shall be: 

(A) red in color; and 

(B) permanently marked. 

(6) Shutters devices that control emission of the 

primary beam shall activate two visual 

indicators of contrasting colors from the 

operator's station. One shall activate when 

shutters are fully closed and the other shall 

activate when the shutters are not fully closed. 

(7) Selection indicators shall indicate which tube 

assembly or focal spot has been selected if more 

than one x-ray tube assembly(s) or focal spot 

can be operated from the control panel. 

(8) Warning Device: A red warning lamp or 

audible device shall be provided on or near the 

tube assembly in an open beam, non-permanent 

installations. 

(j)  All RGDs shall be secured to prevent access and operation of 

the device by any individual not meeting the requirements of Rule 

.0803 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-11; 104E-12. 

 

10A NCAC 15 .0807 PERMANENT RADIOGRAPHIC 

INSTALLATIONS AND INDUSTRIAL RADIOGRAPHY 

RGDS SECURITY SCREENING EQUIPMENT 

REQUIREMENTS FOR GOVERNMENT USE ONLY 

(a)  Permanent radiographic installations and industrial 

radiography RGDs are exempt from the requirements of the rules 

of this Section except Rule .0802 and Rule .0804(a), (b)(1)(A), 

(b)(1)(C), (b)(2), and (b)(3). 

(b)  Permanent radiographic installations and industrial 

radiography RGDs shall comply with the following rules of this 

Chapter: 

(1) .0501; 

(2) .0502; 

(3) .0506; 

(4) .0509-.0520; 

(5) .0522; 

(6) .0523(a)(1); 

(7) .0523(a)(3); 

(8) .0523(a)(6) -.0523(a)(15); 

(9) .0523(b)(1) -.0523(b)(4); 

(10) .0523(b)(6) -.0523(b)(7); 

(11) .0523(b)(9) -.0523(b)(12); 

(12) .0523(c); and 

(13) .0525. 

(a)  All security screening devices shall meet the following 

additional requirements: 

(1) Security screening RGDs shall only be utilized 

by accredited bomb squads, certified bomb 

technicians, law enforcement agencies, or 

forensic investigators. 

(2) The operator must be present and maintain 

access control during operation of the RGD. If 

the RGD is not operated in a restricted area and 

the RGD is capable of producing a radiation 

area, the operator shall: 

(A) establish a visible barrier; 

(B) perform a visual check of the 

controlled area to ensure all 

unauthorized individuals are removed 

prior to activating or initiating the 

RGD; and 

(C) if the operator is unable to maintain 

visual control of the area during 

operation of the RGD, an additional 

means to control the area shall be 

provided. 

(3) Utilization logs shall be maintained each time 

the RGD is used and accurately include the 

following: 

(A) date and time of use; 

(B) location of use; and 

(C) operator of the RGD. 

(4) Records of utilization logs shall be available for 

agency review during inspection. 

(b)  All security screening systems shall meet the following 

additional requirements: 

(1) Security screening systems shall only be 

utilized in a correctional institution, detention 

center, jail, or prison for public safety and 

security screening purposes. 

(2) No individual shall be exposed to the useful 

beam unless authorized by a law enforcement 

agency representative. 

(3) No individual shall be exposed to the useful 

beam for demonstration or training purposes. 

(4) Screening of staff for training purposes is 

prohibited. 

(5) Policies and procedures shall be established for 

screening of minors and pregnant individuals. 

(6) An inspection zone shall be: 

(A) established around the system where 

bystanders are prohibited during 

operation; 

(B) visibly marked; and 

(C) the ambient dose equivalent outside 

the inspection zone shall not exceed 2 

mrem (20 microSv) in any 1 hour. 

(7) The system shall be stationary, and the 

exposure switch shall be located in a manner 

requiring the operator to remain behind a 

protected barrier during the entire exposure 

while able to view the following: 

(A) the individual being scanned; 

(B) the inspection zone; and 

(C) any access areas. 

(8) Equipment surveys shall be conducted to verify 

compliance with reference effective dose 

limits, the inspection zone, and manufacturer 

specified parameters. Surveys shall be 

performed: 

(A) upon installation; 
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(B) every 12 months; and 

(C) after maintenance that may affect the 

system's shielding or x-ray beam. 

(9) Reference effective dose limits shall be met as 

follows: 

(A) General-use systems reference 

effective dose shall not exceed 25 

microrem (.25 microSv) per 

screening. 

(B) Limited-use systems reference 

effective dose shall not exceed 1 mrem 

(10 microSv) per screening. 

(C) The reference effective dose received 

by an individual shall not exceed 25 

mrem (250 microSv) in a 12-month 

period for both general use and 

limited-use systems. 

(10) Compliance to reference effective dose limits 

shall be demonstrated by the registrant 

maintaining records of each individual 

screened. Records shall show one of the 

following: 

(A) the number of screenings each 

individual received, for General-use 

systems, does not exceed 1,000 in a 

12-month period; or 

(B) the reference effective dose multiplied 

by the number of screenings, for both 

General-use and Limited-use systems, 

does not exceed 25 mrem (250 

microSv) in a 12-month period. 

(11) Records of each individual scanned at the same 

facility shall be maintained for agency review 

during inspection. 

(12) Each individual being screened shall be 

informed the system emits radiation and be 

provided with the following prior to scanning: 

(A) the estimated effective dose from one 

(1) screening; 

(B) an example to compare the dose to a 

commonly known source of radiation; 

and 

(C) confirmation the screening complies 

with the reference effective dose limits 

in Subparagraph (b)(9) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 104E-7. 

 

10A NCAC 15 .0808 APPLICABLE RULES FOR 

BOMB DETECTION RGDS OTHER EQUIPMENT 

REQUIREMENTS 

Bomb detection RGDs utilized by accredited bomb squads and 

certified bomb technicians shall comply with the following rules 

of this Chapter: 

(1) .0501; 

(2) .0502; 

(3) .0509; 

(4) .0511-.0520 except for the requirements for a 

direct reading pocket dosimeter and operating 

alarm ratemeter in .0512(a); 

(5) .0522; 

(6) .0523(a)(1); 

(7) .0523(a)(3); 

(8) .0523(a)(6) -.0523(a)(15); 

(9) .0523(b)(1) -.0523(b)(4); 

(10) .0523(b)(6) -.0523(b)(7); 

(11) .0523(b)(9) -.0523(b)(12); 

(12) .0523(c); and 

(13) .0525. 

(a)  RGD's not listed in Rule .0801 of this Section or that are not 

able to meet the equipment requirements of either Rule .0806 or 

.0807 of this Section, shall not be sold, installed, or used prior to: 

the agency completing review of information regarding the RGD 

and determining if use of the RGD is allowed. The user or 

manufacturer of the RGD shall submit the following information 

to the agency for review: 

(1) equipment form for application; 

(2) manufacturer manual; 

(3) description of use; 

(4) operator training; 

(5) a survey in accordance with Rule .0805(d) of 

this Section; 

(6) an area survey in accordance with Rule 

.0805(e)(2) of this Section; 

(7) the hazard level associated with use of the 

RGD; and 

(8) means to achieve radiation protection 

equivalent to the Rules of this Section. 

(b)  After receiving the information in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, 

the agency will respond to the applicant in writing within 30 days. 

Upon review, the agency may require additional information if 

use of the RGD is allowed. 

 

Authority G.S. 104E-7. 

 

 

TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Private Protective Services Board intends to adopt the rule cited 

as 14B NCAC 16 .1709 and to amend the rules cited as 14B NCAC 

16 .0115, .0201, .0203, .0301, .0302, .0401, .0402, .0501, .0701, 

.0702, .0706, .0801, .0802, .0806, .0902, .0904, .0910, .1101-

.1105, .1301, .1302, .1306, .1401, .1402, .1406, .1501. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdps.gov/about-dps/boards-commissions/private-

protective-services-board 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 16, 2024 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  3101 Industrial Dr., Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609 
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Reason for Proposed Action:   

14B NCAC 16 .0115 - The Board is further defining the standard 

for the investigation of anonymous complaints. 

14B NCAC 16 .0201 - The Board's on-line application vendor is 

increasing its transaction fee effective September 1, 2024. To 

avoid having to amend 17 rules again in the future for further 

increases, and since this fee is set by the vendor and not retained 

by the Board, the rule is being amended accordingly. 

Additionally, it is unnecessary to have the Private Investigator 

temporary permit application be notarized so this requirement is 

being eliminated. 

14B NCAC 16 .0203 - The Board's on-line application vendor is 

increasing its transaction fee effective September 1, 2024. To 

avoid having to amend 17 rules again in the future for further 

increases, and since this fee is set by the vendor and not retained 

by the Board, the rule is being amended accordingly. 

Additionally, a licensee can currently allow the license to expire, 

wait until after the 90-day grace period for late renewal ends, then 

apply to reinstate the license thereby avoiding the 12 hours of CE 

requirement. This amendment closes that "loophole." 

14B NCAC 16 .0301, .0302, .0401, .0402, .0501, .1101 - .1105 - 

The Section .1100 rules in this Chapter for the licensing of Private 

Investigators were used as a template for the 2023 rule adoptions 

for two new license categories, Close Personal Protection (new 

Sections .1500 & .1600) and Digital Forensics Examiner (new 

Section .1700). A Staff Attorney for the Rules Review Commission 

objected to non-substantive wording in numerous instances 

necessitating changes. These amendments are to bring the rules 

in this Chapter back into harmony with each other. 

14B NCAC 16 .0701, .0702, .0706, .0801, .0802, .0806, .0902, 

.0904, .0910, .1301, .1302, .1306, .1401, .1402, .1406 – The 

Board's on-line application vendor is increasing its transaction 

fee effective September 1, 2024. To avoid having to amend 17 

rules again in the future for further increases, and since this fee 

is set by the vendor and not retained by the Board, the rule is 

being amended accordingly. 

14B NCAC 16 .1501 – Experience Requirements for Close 

Personal Protection – 14B NCAC 16 .1502, Training 

Requirements for a Close Personal Protection, was proposed for 

amendment in June, 2023, and required first aid training. An 

industry member pointed out during the Public Comment Period 

that there was no similar requirement in 14B NCAC 16 .1501. The 

rule was, therefore, amended based on public comment. A Staff 

Attorney for the Rules Review Commission opined that the change 

was "substantial" and objected. The requirement is now being 

proposed again to make the two rules consistent.  

14B NCAC 16 .1709 – The private investigator industry 

expressed to the Board an interest in being able to employ interns 

and participate in apprenticeship programs and its administrative 

rules were amended effective January 1, 2024. (Since 

apprenticeships had not previously existed the Board did not 

comply with G.S. 93B-8.6 when enacted.) New .1709 allows for 

probationary employees, interns and apprentices for digital 

forensic examiners. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Paul Sherwin, 3101 Industrial 

Dr., Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (919) 788-5320; fax 

(919) 715-0370; email paul.sherwin@ncdps.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  May 31, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 16 - PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES 

BOARD 

 

SECTION .0100 - ORGANIZATION AND GENERAL 

PROVISIONS 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0115 COMPLAINTS 

(a)  Any person may file a complaint against any licensee, trainee, 

registrant or certificate holder, or any unlicensed or unregistered 

person; acting as or holding himself or herself out as a licensee or 

registrant, for any violation of G.S. 74C or 14B NCAC 16, or any 

violation of State or federal criminal law. A complaint form is 

available on the Board's website at www.ncdps.gov/dps-

services/complaint/private-protective-services-board or a copy 

may be requested from the Board's office. 

(b)  The complaint shall set forth all relevant facts and the basis 

for the complainant's belief that the licensee, trainee, registrant, 

certificate holder, or unlicensed or unregistered person, is in 

violation. The complainant shall be willing to be interviewed by 

the Board's investigator, provide any information or 

documentation to support the allegation, and appear and testify 

necessary before the Grievance Committee or at any hearing if 

requested by the attorney prosecuting the case. An anonymous 

complaint shall not be accepted unless the Director determines 

that it is meritless on its face. the alleged violation may pose a 

threat to the public health, safety or welfare. 

(c)  The complaint shall be filed with the Board online via e-mail, 

by U.S. Mail, or by hand-delivery to the Board's office. 

(d)  The complaint shall be evaluated by the Director or the 

Director's designee and if it alleges a violation of G.S. 74C or 14B 

NCAC 16, shall be assigned to an investigator for further 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

38:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 1, 2024 

1231 

substantiation. The results of the investigation shall be reported to 

the Board's Grievance Committee for review and action. 

(e)  The Director shall notify the complainant and the licensee, 

trainee, registrant, or certificate holder of the initial complaint and 

its final disposition. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-6; 74C-7; 74C-12. 

 

SECTION .0200 - LICENSES: TRAINEE PERMITS 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0201 APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 

AND TRAINEE PERMITS 

(a)  Each applicant for a license or trainee permit shall submit an 

online application on the website provided by the Board. The 

online application shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigations or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an applicant 

fingerprint card that shall be mailed separately 

to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders digital photograph of 

the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format of 

sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(3) a statement of the results of a statewide criminal 

history records search by the reporting service 

designated by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74C-

8.1(a) for each state where the applicant has 

resided within the preceding 60 months; 

(4) the applicant's non-refundable application fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) the convenience 

fee charged by the Board's on-line application 

vendor and a separate credit card transaction 

fee; 

(5) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; 

(6) an Equifax credit check run within 30 days of 

the license application submission date, which 

will be submitted to the Board's investigator 

during the application process; and 

(7) five letters attesting to the good character and 

reputation of the applicant using the online 

character letter submission process. 

(b)  Applications for trainee permits shall be accompanied by a 

notarized statement on a form provided by the Board and signed 

by the applicant and his or her prospective supervisor, stating that 

the trainee applicant shall at all times work with and under the 

direct supervision of that supervisor and the form shall be 

uploaded as part of the online application process. 

(c)  Private investigator and digital forensics examination trainees 

applying for a license shall make available for inspection a log of 

experience on a form provided by the Board as required by Rule 

.0403 of this Chapter. 

(d)  Each applicant must upload evidence of high school 

graduation either by diploma, G.E.D. certificate, or other proof. 

(e)  Each applicant for a license shall meet personally with either 

a Board investigator, the Screening Committee, the Director, or 

another Board representative designated by the Director prior to 

being issued a license. The applicant shall discuss the provisions 

of G.S. 74C and the administrative rules in this Chapter during the 

personal meeting. The applicant shall sign a form provided by the 

Board indicating that he or she has reviewed G.S. 74C and the 

administrative rules in this Chapter with the Board's 

representative. During a national or State declared state of 

emergency that restricts or prohibits travel, the personal meeting 

requirement may be waived if requested by the applicant in favor 

of alternative means of communication. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-2; 74C-5; 74C-8; 74C-8.1; 74C-12. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0203 RENEWAL OR RE-ISSUE OF 

LICENSES AND TRAINEE PERMITS 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of a license or trainee permit shall 

submit an online renewal application on the website provided by 

the Board. This online application shall be submitted not less than 

30 days prior to expiration of the applicant's current license or 

trainee permit and shall be accompanied by: 

(1) one head and shoulders digital color photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(2) upload online a statement of the result of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 24 months; 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee, along with a four 

dollar ($4.00) the convenience fee charged by 

the Board's on-line application vendor and 

credit card transaction fee; and 

(4) for license applicants, proof of liability 

insurance as set out in G.S. 74C-10(e).  74C-

10(e); and  

(5) proof of having completed continuing 

education as require by Rule .1202 of this 

Chapter. 

(b)  If there is a criminal charge pending against the applicant for 

renewal that constitutes a deniable offense under G.S. 74C-

8(d)(2), consideration of the application shall be deferred until the 

criminal charge is adjudicated. 

(c)  If a licensee has maintained a license at least two years and 

then allows the license to expire, the license may be re-issued if 

application is made within three two years of the expiration date 

and the following documentation is submitted to the Board: 

(1) an online Application For Reinstatement of an 

Expired License; 
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(2) one set of classifiable fingerprints on an 

applicant fingerprint card that shall be mailed 

separately to the Board's office; 

(3) one head and shoulders digital color photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(4) upload online a statement of the result of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 60 months; 

(5) the applicant's non-refundable application fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) the convenience 

fee charged by the Board's on-line application 

vendor and credit card transaction fee; 

(6) proof of liability insurance as set out in G.S. 

74C-10(e); and 

(7) payment to the State Bureau of Investigations 

to cover the cost of criminal record checks 

performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigations, with payment to be paid online 

through the Board's online application process. 

process; and 

(8) proof of having completed continuing 

education as required by Rule .1202 of this 

Chapter. 

(d)  A member of the armed forces whose license is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 

the license renewal fee and complete any continuing education 

requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the military 

order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue Service 

or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8; 74C-8.1; 74C-9. 

 

SECTION .0300 - SECURITY GUARD AND PATROL: 

GUARD DOG SERVICE 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0301 EXPERIENCE 

REQUIREMENTS/SECURITY GUARD AND PATROL 

LICENSE 

(a)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, applicants for a security guard and patrol license shall: 

(1) establish to the Board's satisfaction three years 

of verifiable experience as a manager, 

supervisor, or administrator with a contract 

security company or a proprietary security 

organization performing guard and patrol 

functions; 

(2) establish to the Board's satisfaction three years 

of experience as a manager, supervisor, or 

administrator in security with any federal, state, 

county, or municipal law enforcement agency 

performing guard and patrol functions; or 

(3) establish to the Board's satisfaction a military 

occupational specialty and two years of 

experience within the past five years in the U.S. 

Armed Forces as a manager, supervisor, or 

administrator performing guard and patrol 

functions. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, an applicant for a security guard and patrol license that 

is the spouse of an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces 

shall establish to the Board's satisfaction: 

(1) the spouse holds a current license, certification, 

or registration from another jurisdiction and the 

other jurisdiction's requirements are 

substantially equivalent to or exceed the 

Board's requirements; and 

(2) the spouse has two years verifiable experience 

within the past five years as a manager, 

supervisor, or administrator performing guard 

and patrol functions. functions as set forth in 

G.S. 74C-3(a)(8) while serving in an official 

capacity with any entity described in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

(c)  The Using the formula in Rule .0204(d) of this Chapter, the 

Board shall give credit toward the experience requirements set 

forth in Subparagraphs (a)(1) and (2) and Subparagraph (b)(2) of 

this Rule as follows: 

(1) An applicant shall receive a minimum of 400 

hours of experience credit for an associate's 

degree. The Board shall grant up to 100 

additional hours if the applicant can 

demonstrate that further training or course-

work related to the private protective services 

industry was received while obtaining the 

associate's degree. 

(2) An applicant shall receive 800 hours of 

experience credit for a bachelor's degree. The 

Board shall grant up to 200 additional hours if 

the applicant can demonstrate that further 

training or course-work related to the private 

protective services industry was received while 

obtaining the bachelor's degree. 

(3) An applicant shall receive 1,200 hours of 

experience credit for a graduate degree. The 

Board shall grant an additional 300 additional 

hours if the applicant can demonstrate that 

further training or course-work related to the 

private protective services industry was 

received while obtaining the graduate degree. 

(d)  Persons licensed under Chapter 74D of the General Statutes 

of North Carolina may be issued a limited guard and patrol license 

exclusively for providing armed alarm responders. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8; 93B-15.1. 
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14B NCAC 16 .0302 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR GUARD DOG SERVICE LICENSE 

(a)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, applicants for a guard dog service license shall: 

(1) establish to the Board's satisfaction two years of 

verifiable experience as a manager, supervisor, 

administrator, or dog handler with a contract 

security company or proprietary security 

organization performing guard dog functions; 

(2) establish to the Board's satisfaction two years of 

experience as a manager, supervisor, 

administrator, or dog handler with any federal, 

state, county, or municipal agency performing 

guard dog functions; or 

(3) establish to the Board's satisfaction a military 

occupational specialty and two years of 

experience within the past five years in the U.S. 

Armed Forces as a manager, supervisor, or 

administrator or dog handler performing guard 

dog functions. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, an applicant for a guard dog service license that is the 

spouse of an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces shall 

establish to the Board's satisfaction: 

(1) the spouse holds a current license, certification, 

or registration from another jurisdiction and the 

other jurisdiction's requirements are 

substantially equivalent to or exceed the 

Board's requirements; and 

(2) the spouse has two years of verifiable 

experience within the past five years as a 

manager, supervisor, or administrator or dog 

handler performing guard dog functions. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8; 93B-15.1. 

 

SECTION .0400 - PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR: 

ELECTRONIC COUNTERMEASURES 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0401 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR A PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR LICENSE 

(a)  In addition to the requirements of G.S. 74C-8 and Section 

.0200 of this Chapter, applicants for a private investigator license 

shall: 

(1) establish to the Board's satisfaction three years 

of verifiable experience while conducting 

investigations as set forth in G.S. 74C-3(a)(8) 

with a contract security company or with a 

private person, firm, association, or 

corporation; 

(2) establish to the Board's satisfaction three years 

of verifiable experience while conducting 

investigations as set forth in G.S. 74C-3(a)(8) 

while serving in an investigative capacity as 

defined in Rule .0103(10) of this Chapter with 

any federal, state, county, municipal law 

enforcement agency, or other governmental 

agency; or 

(3) establish to the Board's satisfaction a military 

occupational specialty and two years of 

verifiable experience within the past five years 

in the U.S. Armed Forces while conducting 

investigations as set forth in G.S. 74C-3(a)(8) 

while serving in an investigative capacity as 

defined in Rule .0103(10) of this Chapter. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, an applicant for a private investigator license that is the 

spouse of an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces shall 

establish to the Board's satisfaction: 

(1) the spouse holds a current license, certification, 

or registration from another jurisdiction and the 

other jurisdiction's requirements are 

substantially equivalent to or exceed the 

Board's requirements; and 

(2) the spouse has two years verifiable experience 

within the past five years while conducting 

investigations as set forth in in G.S. 74C-3(a)(8) 

while serving in an investigative capacity as 

defined in Rule .0103(10) of this Chapter. 

(c)  The Using the formula in Rule .0204(d) of this Chapter the 

Board shall give credit toward the experience requirements set 

forth in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule as follows: 

(1) An applicant shall receive of 400 hours of 

experience credit for an associate's degree. The 

Board shall grant up to 100 additional hours if 

the applicant can demonstrate that further 

training or course-work related to the private 

protective services industry was received while 

obtaining the associate's degree. 

(2) An applicant shall receive 800 hours of 

experience credit for a bachelor's degree. The 

Board shall grant up to 200 additional hours if 

the applicant can demonstrate that further 

training or course-work related to the private 

protective services industry was received while 

obtaining the bachelor's degree. 

(3) An applicant shall receive 1,200 hours of 

experience credit for a graduate degree. The 

Board shall grant an additional 300 additional 

hours if the applicant can demonstrate that 

further training or course-work related to the 

private protective services industry was 

received while obtaining the graduate degree. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5(2); 93B-15.1. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0402 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR AN ELECTRONIC COUNTERMEASURES 

LICENSE 

In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this Chapter, 

applicants for an electronic countermeasures license shall: 

(1) establish to the Board's satisfaction three years 

of experience in electronic countermeasures; or 

(2) have successfully completed a course in 

electronic countermeasures given by a school 

specializing in electronic countermeasures that 
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consists of a minimum of 40 hours of actual 

classroom instruction. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5. 

 

SECTION .0500 - POLYGRAPH 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0501 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR A POLYGRAPH LICENSE 

(a)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, applicants for a polygraph license shall: 

(1) pass an examination and a performance test 

administered by a panel of polygraph examiners 

appointed by an entity designated by the Board; 

(2) successfully complete a course of instruction at 

any polygraph school approved by the 

American Polygraph Association, the 

American Association of Police Polygraphists, 

or the Board; and 

(3) have either: 

(A) one year of verifiable polygraph 

experience; or 

(B) complete at least six months of 

training as a holder of a polygraph 

trainee permit, and have administered 

no fewer than 50 polygraph 

examinations; or 

(4) establish to the Board's satisfaction a military 

occupational specialty and two years of 

verifiable experience within the past five years 

in the U.S. Armed Forces performing polygraph 

examinations. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, an applicant for a polygraph license who is the spouse of 

an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces shall establish 

to the Board's satisfaction: establish: 

(1) the spouse holds a current license, certification, 

or registration from another jurisdiction and the 

other jurisdiction's requirements are 

substantially equivalent to or exceed the 

Board's requirements; and 

(2) the spouse has two years of verifiable 

experience within the past five years 

performing polygraph examinations. 

(c)  Applicants for a polygraph license may take the examination 

required in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule no more than twice 

within a 12 month period. All portions of the examination must 

be completed within that 12 month period. Any applicant who 

fails the polygraph examination four times shall retake the 

polygraph course of instruction required in Subparagraph (a)(2) 

of this Rule before taking the polygraph examination again. 

(d)  Polygraph operators who are duly licensed in another state 

may perform up to three examinations in this State without being 

licensed, provided that those examinations are for the purpose of 

an evaluation of that examiner and the Director has given 

authorization for this evaluation in advance. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 93B-15.1. 

 

SECTION .0700 - SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION 

(UNARMED) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0701 APPLICATION FOR UNARMED 

SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION 

(a)  Each employer or his or her designee shall submit an online 

application for the registration of each employee to the Board. 

This online submission shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigations or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an applicant 

fingerprint card that shall be mailed separately 

to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(3) a statement of the results of a statewide criminal 

history records search by the reporting service 

designated by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74C-

8.1(a) for each state where the applicant has 

resided within the preceding 60 months; 

(4) the applicant's non-refundable registration fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) the convenience 

fee charged by the Board's on-line application 

vendor and a separate credit card transaction 

fee; 

(5) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; 

(6) one original signed SBI release of information 

form that shall be uploaded online with the 

original mailed to the Board's administrative 

office; 

(7) a statement signed by a certified trainer that the 

applicant has completed the training 

requirements of Rule .0707 of this Section; and 

(8) a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(b)  The employer of each applicant for registration shall give the 

applicant a copy of the online application and a copy of the 

completed affidavit form to serve as a record of application and 

shall retain a copy of the application, including affidavit, in the 

guard's personnel file in the employer's office. 

(c)  The applicant's copy of the application and completed 

affidavit form shall serve as a temporary registration card that 

shall be carried by the applicant when he or she is working within 

the scope of his or her employment and shall be exhibited upon 

the request of any law enforcement officer or authorized 

representative of the Board. 

(d)  A copy of the statement required by Subparagraph (a)(7) of 

this Rule shall be retained by the licensee in the individual 

applicant's personnel file in the employer's office. 
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Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8.1; 74C-11. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0702 FEES FOR UNARMED 

SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION 

(a)  Fees for unarmed security guards are as follows, along with a 

four dollar ($4.00) the convenience fee charged by the Board's on-

line application vendor and credit card transaction fee: 

(1) thirty dollar ($30.00) non-refundable initial 

registration fee; 

(2) thirty dollar ($30.00) annual renewal, or reissue 

fee; 

(3) fifteen dollar ($15.00) transfer fee; and 

(4) twenty-five dollars ($25.00) late renewal fee to 

be paid within 90 days from the date the 

registration expires and to be paid in addition to 

the renewal fee. 

(b)  Fees shall be paid online by credit card or other form of 

electronic funds transfer. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-9. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0706 RENEWAL OF UNARMED 

SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of a registration identification card 

or his or her employer shall complete an online form on the 

website provided by the Board. This online form shall be 

submitted not fewer than 90 days prior to the expiration of the 

applicant's current registration and shall be accompanied by: 

(1) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(2) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 12 months; 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee, along with the four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee charged by the 

Board's on-line application vendor and credit 

card transaction fee; and 

(4) upload a completed affidavit form and public 

notice statement form. 

(b)  If there is a criminal charge pending against the applicant for 

renewal that constitutes a deniable offense under G.S. 74C-

8(d)(2), consideration of the application shall be deferred until the 

criminal charge is adjudicated. 

(c)  The employer of each applicant for a registration renewal shall 

give the applicant a copy of the online application and a copy of 

the completed affidavit form to serve as a record of application 

for renewal and shall retain a copy of the application, including 

affidavit, in the guard's personnel file in the employer's office. 

(d)  Members of the armed forces whose registration is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 

the registration renewal fee and to complete any continuing 

education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the 

military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue 

Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-11. 

 

SECTION .0800 - ARMED SECURITY GUARD FIREARM 

REGISTRATION PERMIT 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0801 APPLICATION/ARMED 

SECURITY GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION 

PERMIT 

(a)  Each armed security guard employer or his or her designee 

shall submit an online application for the registration of each 

armed security guard applicant to the Board. This online 

submission shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigations or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an applicant 

fingerprint card that shall be mailed separately 

to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(3) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 60 months; 

(4) the applicant's non-refundable registration fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) the convenience 

fee charged by the Board's on-line application 

vendor and credit card transaction fee; 

(5) a statement signed by a certified trainer that the 

applicant has successfully completed the 

training requirements of Rule .0807 of this 

Section; 

(6) a certification by the applicant that he or she is 

at least 21 years of age; 

(7) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; and 

(8) a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(b)  The employer of each applicant for registration shall give the 

applicant a copy of the online application, the completed affidavit 

form, and proof of completion of a Board approved firearms 

course and shall retain a copy of the application, including 

affidavit and proof of course completion, in the guard's personnel 

file in the employer's office. 
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(c)  The applicant's copy of the application, affidavit, and proof of 

completion of a Board approved firearms course shall serve as a 

temporary registration card that shall be carried by the applicant 

when he or she is working within the scope of his or her 

employment and shall be exhibited upon the request of any law 

enforcement officer or authorized representative of the Board. 

(d)  Applications submitted without proof of completion of a 

Board approved firearms training course shall not serve as 

temporary registration cards. 

(e)  The provisions of Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule also 

apply to any employee whose employment is terminated within 

30 days of employment. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-9; 74C-13. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0802 FEES FOR ARMED SECURITY 

GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION PERMIT 

(a)  Fees for armed security guard firearm registration permits are 

as follows, along with a four dollar ($4.00) the convenience fee 

charged by the Board's on-line application vendor and credit card 

transaction fee: 

(1) thirty dollars ($30.00) non-refundable initial 

registration fee; 

(2) thirty dollars ($30.00) annual renewal, or 

reissue fee; and 

(3) fifteen dollar ($15.00) application fee. 

(b)  Fees shall be paid online by credit card or other form of 

electronic funds transfer. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-9. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0806 RENEWAL OF ARMED 

SECURITY GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION 

PERMIT 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of an armed security guard firearm 

registration permit identification card or his or her employer shall 

complete an online form on the website provided by the Board. 

This online form shall be submitted not more than 90 days prior 

to expiration of the applicant's current armed registration and shall 

be accompanied by: 

(1) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(2) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history search obtained by 

the reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 12 months; 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee, along with the four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee charged by the 

Board's on-line application vendor and credit 

card transaction fee; 

(4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; 

(5) a statement signed by a certified trainer that the 

applicant has successfully completed the 

training requirements of Rule .0807 of this 

Section; and 

(6) a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(b)  If there is a criminal charge pending against the applicant for 

renewal that constitutes a deniable offense under G.S. 74C-

8(d)(2), consideration of the application shall be deferred until the 

criminal charge is adjudicated. 

(c)  The employer of each applicant for a registration renewal shall 

give the applicant a copy of the online application and a copy of 

the completed affidavit form to serve as a record of application 

for renewal and shall retain a copy of the application, including 

the affidavit in the guard's personnel file in the employer's office. 

(d)  Members of the armed forces whose registration is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 

the registration renewal fee and to complete any continuing 

education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the 

military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue 

Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

(e)  A registered armed security guard may utilize a dedicated 

light system or gun-mounted light for requalification. 

(f)  During a national or State declared state of emergency that 

restricts or prohibits a registered armed security guard from 

requalifying, the Board shall, upon written request to the Director 

by the licensee, extend the deadline for requalification up to 90 

days beyond the effective period of the state of emergency. Any 

registration renewed pursuant to this Paragraph shall be issued 

conditionally and shall automatically expire on the 90th day if 

requalification requirements have not been met. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8.1; 74C-9; 74C-13. 

 

SECTION .0900 – TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0902 APPLICATION FOR FIREARMS 

TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

Each applicant for a firearms trainer certificate shall submit an 

online application to the Board. The application shall be 

accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigations or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an applicant 

fingerprint card that shall be mailed separately 

to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online submission 

and submitted by uploading online with the 

application submission; 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

38:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 1, 2024 

1237 

(3) a statement of the results of a statewide criminal 

history records search by the reporting service 

designated by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74C-

8.1(a) for each state where the applicant has 

resided within the preceding 60 months; 

(4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; 

(5) the applicant's non-refundable application fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) the convenience 

fee charged by the Board's on-line application 

vendor and a separate credit card transaction 

fee; 

(6) evidence of the liability insurance required by 

G.S. 74C-10(e) if the applicant is not an 

employee of a licensee; 

(7) a certificate of successful completion of the 

training required by Rule .0901(a)(3) and (4) of 

this Section or acceptable certificate of other 

current certification as set forth in Rule .0901(c) 

and (d) of this Section; and 

(8) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the North Carolina Justice 

Academy or other entity to cover the cost of the 

firearms training course given by the N.C. 

Justice Academy or other entity and collected 

as part of the online application process by the 

Private Protective Services Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8(d); 74C-8.1(a); 74C-13. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0904 RENEWAL OF A FIREARMS 

TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of a firearms trainer certificate 

shall complete an online renewal form on the website provided by 

the Board. This form shall be submitted online not less than 30 

days prior to the expiration of the applicant's current certificate 

and shall be accompanied by: 

(1) uploaded online a certificate of successful 

completion of a firearms trainer refresher 

course approved by the Board and the Secretary 

of Public Safety consisting of a minimum of 

eight hours of classroom and practical range 

training in safety and maintenance of the 

applicable firearm (i.e. handgun, shotgun, or 

rifle), range operations, control and safety 

procedures, and methods of firing. This training 

shall be completed within 180 days of the 

submission of the renewal application; 

(2) a statement of the results of a criminal history 

records search by the reporting service 

designated by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74C-

8.1(a) for each state where the applicant has 

resided within the preceding 24 months; and 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee, along with the four 

dollar ($4.00) the convenience fee charged by 

the Board's on-line application vendor and a 

separate credit card transaction fee. 

(b)  If there is a criminal charge pending against the applicant for 

renewal that constitutes a deniable offense under G.S. 74C-

8(d)(2), consideration of the application shall be deferred until the 

criminal charge is adjudicated. 

(c)  Members of the armed forces whose certification is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 

the certification renewal fee and to complete any continuing 

education requirements prescribed by the Board. The applicant 

shall furnish the Board a copy of the military order or the 

extension approval by the Internal Revenue Service or by the 

North Carolina Department of Revenue. 

(d)  Any firearms trainer who fails to qualify with the minimum 

score during the refresher course shall not continue to instruct 

during the period between the failure to qualify and the expiration 

of his or her permit. 

(e)  The holder of a firearms trainer certificate may utilize a 

dedicated light system or gun mounted light for personal 

requalification. 

(f)  During a national or State declared state of emergency that 

restricts or prohibits a certified firearms trainer from requalifying, 

the Board shall, upon written request to the Director by the 

licensee, extend the deadline for requalification up to 90 days 

beyond the effective period of the state of emergency. Any 

certificate renewed pursuant to this Paragraph shall be issued 

conditionally and shall automatically expire on the 90th day if 

requalification requirements have not been met. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8.1(a); 74C-9; 74C-13; 93B-15. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0910 APPLICATION FOR AN 

UNARMED TRAINER 

Each applicant for an unarmed trainer certificate shall submit an 

online application to the Board. The application shall be 

accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigations or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an applicant 

fingerprint card that shall be mailed separately 

to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online submission 

and submitted by uploading online with the 

application submission; 

(3) a statement of the results of a statewide criminal 

history records search by the reporting service 

designated by the Board pursuant to G. S. 74C-

8.1(a) for each state where the applicant has 

resided within the preceding 60 months; 

(4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 
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Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; 

(5) the applicant's non-refundable application fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) the convenience 

fee charged by the Board's on-line application 

vendor and a separate credit card transaction 

fee; 

(6) a certificate of successful completion of the 

training required by Rule .0909(a)(3) or current 

certificate of other acceptable certification as 

set forth in Rule .0909(b) of this Section. 

(7) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by Wake Technical Community 

College, or other entity, to cover the cost of the 

unarmed guard trainer course and collected as 

part of the online application process by the 

Private Protective Services Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-8; 74C-9; 74C-11; 74C-13. 

 

SECTION .1100 - TRAINING AND SUPERVISION FOR 

PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR ASSOCIATES 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1101 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 74C, the following 

definitions shall apply to this Section: 

(1) "Private Investigator Associate" refers to means 

an individual training to become a Private 

Investigator. A Private Investigator Associate 

may also be referred to as a "trainee" in these 

Rules. A Private Investigator Associate must 

complete three training levels as set out in this 

Section. 

(2) "One-on-one Supervision" means person-to-

person contact whereby the licensed 

investigator is personally and directly 

supervising or training the Associate. The 

training investigator must be the sponsoring 

licensed Private Investigator or any licensed 

Private Investigator who is a member of the 

sponsoring Private Investigator's firm, 

association, or corporation. The Private 

Investigator Associate may not subcontract his 

or her employment to another Private 

Investigator. However, the sponsoring Private 

Investigator may subcontract the Private 

Investigator Associate if the sponsor obtains 

prior written approval from the Board's 

Director by showing that the Private 

Investigator Associate will receive an 

educational benefit from the subcontract 

employment and the Associate will receive one-

on-one supervision from another licensed 

Private Investigator. One-on-one supervision 

may also be satisfied if the Associate undergoes 

training from an individual or educational 

course approved by the Board's Director prior 

to the Associate receiving the training. 

(3) "Training Checklist" refers to means the 

document(s) documents that shall state all areas 

of training and work that the Associate has 

performed. The supervising Private 

Investigator sponsor is responsible for 

maintaining the training checklist and 

providing a copy of the checklist to the 

Associate. The Training Checklist must reflect 

the date the Associate advances from one level 

to another. The training checklist must be 

signed by the Associate and the supervising 

Private Investigator sponsor at the end of each 

reporting period. In the event the Associate 

transfers employment to another Private 

Investigator, the Associate must provide the 

new supervising Private Investigator sponsor 

with the training checklist and the new 

sponsoring Private Investigator will then be 

responsible for the maintenance of the 

checklist. The Training Checklist must be 

updated on a quarterly basis for Level One 

Associates and on a yearly basis for Level Two 

and Level Three Associates. The training 

checklist must be maintained pursuant to Rule 

.0108 of this Chapter. When an Associate 

completes Level Three, the Training Checklist 

must be made a part of the Associate's 

application for a Private Investigator's license. 

The Board shall have immediate access to the 

training checklist. checklist upon request. 

(4) "Associate Log" refers to means the 

document(s) documents maintained by the 

sponsoring Private Investigator Associate 

which shall list each case the Associate has 

worked, the number of hours spent on the case, 

and the type of work performed. Details of the 

one-on-one training must be documented 

within the Associate's log. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-2(c); 74C-5(2). 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1102 TRAINING AND SUPERVISION 

REQUIRED IN LEVEL ONE 

(a)  If upon sponsorship, the Associate has less than one year or 

1,000 hours of verifiable training or experience, the Associate 

shall be classified as a Level One Associate and undergo 160 

hours of one-on-one supervision training. 

(b)  The first 40 hours of employment shall be one-on-one 

supervision. The remaining 120 hours of one-on-one supervision 

shall be gathered over the first year of employment or the first 

1,000 hours of work, whichever comes first. 

(c)  A Level One Associate cannot, independently of the sponsor, 

accept or contract employment. The Associate shall have direct 

face-to-face or telephone contact with the sponsor or another 

licensed Private Investigator within the firm, association, or 

corporation before accepting employment or before accepting a 

new case. 

(d)  The sponsor or another licensed Private Investigator 

associated with the sponsor's firm, association, or corporation 
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shall meet with the Level One associate to review the Associate's 

work product. The Private Investigator's sponsor's review may be 

by telephone or face-to-face and shall occur at least four times per 

month. The licensed Private Investigator sponsor shall review 

each case on which the Associate is working or has worked since 

the last review. Review sessions may encompass more than one 

case. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5(2). 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1103 TRAINING AND SUPERVISION 

REQUIRED IN LEVEL TWO 

(a)  If upon initial application for an Associate permit, the 

applicant has at least one year or 1,000 hours of verifiable training 

or experience, the applicant will skip Level One and be classified 

as a Level Two Private Investigator Associate. An applicant that 

skips Level One shall undergo 80 hours of one-on-one training. 

The first 40 hours of one-on-one supervision shall occur within 

the first 40 hours of employment. The remaining 40 hours shall 

be gathered over the first year of employment or the first 1,000 

hours of work, whichever comes first. 

(b)  A Level Two Associate cannot, independently of the sponsor, 

accept or contract employment. The Associate shall have direct 

face-to-face or telephone contact with the sponsor or another 

licensed Private Investigator within the firm, association, or 

corporation before accepting employment or before accepting a 

new case. 

(c)  The sponsor or another licensed Private Investigator 

associated with the sponsor's firm, association, or corporation 

shall meet with the Level Two Associate to review the Associate's 

work product. The Private Investigator's sponsor's review may be 

by telephone or face-to-face and shall occur at least four times per 

month. The licensed Private Investigator sponsor shall review 

each case on which the Associate is working or has worked since 

the last review. Review sessions may encompass more than one 

case. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5(2). 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1104 TRAINING AND SUPERVISION 

REQUIRED IN LEVEL THREE 

(a)  If upon sponsorship the Associate has at least two years or 

2,000 hours of verifiable training or experience, the Associate will 

be classified as a Level Three Private Investigator Associate and 

shall undergo 40 hours of one-on-one training. 

(b)  The first 40 hours of employment for the Level Three Private 

Investigator Associate shall be one-on-one supervision. 

(c)  When the Level Three Associate completes the requirements 

of Level Three by fulfilling the licensing requirements set forth in 

Rules .0204 and .0401 of this Chapter, the Associate may apply 

for a private investigator's license. 

(d)  The sponsor or another licensed Private Investigator 

associated with the sponsor's firm, association, or corporation 

shall meet with the Level Three Associate to review the 

Associate's work product. The licensed Private Investigator 

sponsor shall review each case on which the Associate is working 

or has worked since the last review. Review sessions may 

encompass more than one case. 

(e)  The sponsoring Private Investigator sponsor shall have 

contact with the Level Three Associate sufficient to ensure the 

Level Three Associate remains in compliance with G.S. 74C. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5(2). 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1105 EDUCATIONAL DEGREES AND 

NON-DEGREED TRAINING 

(a)  Using the formula in Rule .0204 of this Chapter, the Board 

shall give credit toward the educational and training requirements 

of this Section as follows: 

(1) An applicant shall receive a minimum of 400 

hours of experience credit for an associate's 

degree. The Board shall grant up to 100 

additional hours if the applicant can 

demonstrate that further training or course-

work related to the private protective services 

industry was received while obtaining the 

associate's degree. 

(2) An applicant shall receive 800 hours of 

experience credit for a bachelor's degree. The 

Board shall grant up to 200 additional hours if 

the applicant can demonstrate that further 

training or course-work related to the private 

protective services industry was received while 

obtaining the bachelor's degree. 

(3) An applicant shall receive 1,200 hours of 

experience credit for a graduate degree. The 

Board shall grant an additional 300 additional 

hours if the applicant can demonstrate that 

further training or course-work related to the 

private protective services industry was 

received while obtaining the graduate degree. 

(a)  An applicant shall receive a minimum of 400 hours of 

experience credit for an associate's degree. The Board shall grant 

up to 100 additional hours if the applicant can demonstrate that 

further training or course-work related to the private protective 

services industry was received while obtaining the associate's 

degree. 

(b)  An applicant shall receive 800 hours of experience credit for 

a bachelor's degree. The Board shall grant up to 200 additional 

hours if the applicant can demonstrate that further training or 

course-work related to the private protective services industry was 

received while obtaining the bachelor's degree. 

(c)  An applicant shall receive 1,200 hours of experience credit for 

a graduate degree. The Board shall grant an additional 300 

additional hours if the applicant can demonstrate that further 

training or course-work related to the private protective services 

industry was received while obtaining the graduate degree. 

(d)(b)  During the first 40 hours of one-on-one supervision, a 

Level One Associate may receive up to 4 hours of one-on-one 

supervision credit for time spent in the courtroom observing a 

docketed trial. Of the remaining 120 hours of one-on-one 

supervision required in Level One, the Associate may receive up 

to 12 hours of credit for time spent in the courtroom observing a 

trial. Of the thousand hours of training required in Level One, the 

Associate cannot receive more than 100 hours of credit for time 

spent in the courtroom observing a trial. To receive credit for 

courtroom observation, the Level One Associate must state in the 
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Associate's Log the docket number of the trial and the time spent 

observing the trial. 

(e)(c)  During the first 40 hours of one-on-one supervision, a 

Level Two Associate may receive up to 4 hours of one-on-one 

supervision credit for time spent in the courtroom observing a 

docketed trial. Of the remaining 80 hours of one-on-one 

supervision required in Level Two, the Associate may receive up 

to 8 hours of credit for time spent in the courtroom observing a 

trial. Of the thousand hours of training required in Level Two, the 

Associate cannot receive more than 100 hours of credit for time 

spent in the courtroom observing a trial. To receive credit for 

courtroom observation, the Level Two Associate must state in the 

Associate's Log the docket number of the trial and the time spent 

observing the trial. 

(f)(d)  During the first 40 hours of one-on-one supervision, a Level 

Three Associate may receive up to 4 hours of one-on-one 

supervision credit for time spent in the courtroom observing a 

docketed trial. Of the one thousand hours of training required in 

Level Three, the Associate cannot receive more than 100 hours of 

credit for time spent in the courtroom observing a trial. To receive 

credit for courtroom observation, the Level Three Associate must 

state in the Associate's Log the docket number of the trial and the 

time spent observing the trial. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5(2). 

 

SECTION .1300 – ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD 

REGISTRATION (UNARMED) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1301 APPLICATION FOR UNARMED 

ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD REGISTRATION 

(a)  Each armored car employer or his designee shall complete an 

online application form for the registration of each unarmed 

armored car service guard applicant to the Board. This online 

form shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigations or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an applicant 

fingerprint card that shall be mailed separately 

to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(3) upload online a statement of the result of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 60 months; 

(4) the applicant's non-refundable registration fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) the convenience 

fee charged by the Board's on-line application 

vendor and credit card transaction fee; 

(5) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; 

(6) a statement signed by a certified trainer that the 

applicant has successfully completed the 

training requirements of Rule .1307 of this 

Section, if applicable; and 

(7) a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(b)  The employer of each applicant for registration shall give the 

applicant a copy of the online application and completed affidavit 

and shall retain a copy of the application, including the affidavit, 

in the guard's personnel file in the employer's office. 

(c)  The applicant's copy of the application and completed 

affidavit form shall serve as a temporary registration card that 

shall be carried by the applicant when he or she is working is 

within the scope of his or her employment and shall be exhibited 

upon the request of any law enforcement officer or authorized 

representative of the Board. 

(d)  A copy of the statement specified in Subparagraph (a)(6) of 

this Rule shall be retained by the licensee in the individual 

applicant's personnel file in the employer's office. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 74C-8.1(a). 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1302 FEES FOR UNARMED 

ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD REGISTRATION 

(a)  Fees for unarmed armored car service guards are as follows, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) the convenience fee charged by 

the Board's on-line application vendor and credit card transaction 

fee: 

(1) thirty dollar ($30.00) non-refundable initial 

registration fee; 

(2) thirty dollar ($30.00) annual renewal, or reissue 

fee; 

(3) fifteen dollar ($15.00) transfer fee; and 

(4) twenty-five dollars ($25.00) late renewal fee to 

be paid within 90 days from the date the 

registration expires and to be paid in addition to 

the renewal fee. 

(b)  Fees shall be paid by credit card or other form of electronic 

funds transfer. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 74C-9. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1306 RENEWAL OR REISSUE OF 

UNARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD 

REGISTRATION 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of an unarmed armored car service 

guard registration identification card or his or her employer shall 

complete an online form provided by the Board. This online form 

shall be submitted not fewer than 90 days prior to the expiration 

of the applicant's current registration and shall be accompanied 

by: 

(1) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history records search 

obtained from the reporting service designated 

by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for 
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each state where the applicant has resided 

within the preceding 12 months; 

(2) the applicant's renewal fee, along with a four 

dollar ($4.00) the convenience fee charged by 

the Board's on-line application vendor and 

credit card transaction fee. 

(3) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with application submission; and 

(4) a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(b)  If there is a criminal charge pending against the applicant for 

renewal that constitutes a deniable offense under G.S. 74C-

8(d)(2), consideration of the application shall be deferred until the 

criminal charge is adjudicated. 

(c)  The employer of each applicant for a registration renewal or 

reissue shall give the applicant a copy of the online application, 

including the completed affidavit form, that shall serve as a record 

of application for renewal or reissue and shall retain a copy of the 

online application and affidavit in the guard's personnel file in the 

employer's office. 

(d)  Members of the armed forces whose registration is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 

the registration renewal fee and to complete any continuing 

education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the 

military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue 

Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 78C-8.1(a). 

 

SECTION .1400 - ARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE 

GUARDS FIREARM REGISTRATION PERMIT 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1401 APPLICATION/ARMED 

ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD FIREARM 

REGISTRATION PERMIT 

(a)  Each armored car employer or his or her designee shall submit 

an online application form for the registration of each armed 

armored car service guard applicant to the Board. This online 

form shall be accompanied by: 

(1) one set of classifiable fingerprints on an 

applicant fingerprint card that shall be mailed 

separately to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with application submission; 

(3) upload online a statement of the result of a 

statewide criminal history records search from 

the reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 60 months; 

(4) the applicant's non-refundable registration fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) the convenience 

fee charged by the Board's on-line application 

vendor and credit card transaction fee; 

(5) a statement signed by a certified trainer that the 

applicant has successfully completed the 

training requirements of Rule .1407 of this 

Section; 

(6) a certification by the applicant that he or she is 

at least 18 years of age; 

(7) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; and 

(8) a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(b)  The employer of each applicant for registration shall give the 

applicant a copy of the online application and completed affidavit 

form and shall retain a copy of the application, including affidavit, 

in the guard's personnel file in the employer's office. 

(c)  The applicant's copy of the application, affidavit, and training 

certification shall serve as a temporary registration card that shall 

be carried by the applicant when he or she is working within the 

scope of his or her employment and shall be exhibited upon the 

request of any law enforcement officer or authorized 

representative of the Board. 

(d)  Online applications submitted without proof of completion of 

a Board approved firearms training course shall not serve as 

temporary registration cards unless the armored car employer has 

obtained prior approval from the Director. The Director shall 

grant prior approval if the armored car employer provides proof 

that the applicant has received prior Board approved firearms 

training. 

(e)  The provisions of Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule also 

apply to any employee whose employment is terminated within 

30 days of employment. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 74C-8.1(a); 74C-13. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1402 FEES FOR ARMED ARMORED 

CAR SERVICE GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION 

PERMIT 

(a)  Fees for armed armored car service guard firearm registration 

permits are as follows, along with a four dollar ($4.00) the 

convenience fee charged by the Board's on-line application 

vendor and credit card transaction fee: 

(1) thirty dollars ($30.00) non-refundable initial 

registration fee; 

(2) thirty dollars ($30.00) annual renewal, or 

reissue fee; and 

(3) fifteen dollars ($15.00) application fee. 

(b)  Fees shall be paid by credit card or other form of electronic 

funds transfer. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 74C-9; 74C-13. 
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14B NCAC 16 .1406 RENEWAL OF ARMED 

ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD FIREARM 

REGISTRATION PERMIT 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of an armed armored car service 

guard firearm registration permit identification card his or her 

employer or designee shall complete an online form provided by 

the Board. This online form shall be submitted not more than 90 

days nor fewer than 30 days prior to expiration of the applicant's 

current armed registration and shall be accompanied by: 

(1) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(2) upload online a statement of the result of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 12 months; 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee, along with a four 

dollar ($4.00) the convenience fee charged by 

the Board's on-line application vendor and 

credit card transaction fee; 

(4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; 

(5) a statement signed by a certified trainer that the 

applicant has successfully completed the 

training requirements of Rule .0807 of the 

Section; and 

(6) a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(b)  If there is a criminal charge pending against the applicant for 

renewal that constitutes a deniable offense under G.S. 74C-

8(d)(2), consideration of the application shall be deferred until the 

criminal charge is adjudicated. 

(c)  The employer of each applicant for a registration renewal shall 

give the applicant a copy of the online application and completed 

application, including the completed affidavit form, to serve as a 

record of application for renewal and shall retain a copy of the 

online application and affidavit in the guard's personnel file in the 

employer's office. 

(d)  Members of the armed forces whose registration is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 

the registration renewal fee and to complete any continuing 

education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the 

military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue 

Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 74C-8.1(a); 74C-13. 

 

SECTION .1500 - CLOSE PERSONAL PROTECTION 

14B NCAC 16 .1501 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR A CLOSE PERSONAL PROTECTION LICENSE 

(a)  In addition to the requirements of G.S. 74C-8 and Section 

.0200 of this Chapter, applicants for a close personal protection 

license shall: 

(1) establish three years of verifiable experience 

while conducting close personal protection 

services as set forth in G.S. 74C-3(a)(3a) with a 

private person, firm, association, or corporation 

within the last 10 years; 

(2) establish three years of verifiable experience 

while conducting close personal protection 

services as set forth in G.S. 74C-3(a)(3a) with 

any federal, state, county or municipal law 

enforcement agency, or other governmental 

agency within the last 10 years; 

(3) establish a military occupational specialty and 

two years of verifiable experience within the 

past five years in the U.S. Armed Forces while 

conducting close personal protection services 

as set forth in G.S. 74C-3(a)(3a) while serving 

in an official capacity; or 

(4) have completed a course in close personal 

protection approved by the Board given by a 

school specializing in close personal protection 

(or "executive protection") that consists of a 

minimum of 40 hours of actual classroom and 

practical instruction within the last two years as 

required by Rule .1502 of this Chapter. 

(5) possess a basic first aid certificate from the 

American Red Cross and a valid CPR and AED 

certification from the American Red Cross, 

American Heart Association, American Safety 

and Health Institute, or National Safety 

Council. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, an applicant for a close personal protection license that 

is the spouse of an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces 

shall establish to the Board's satisfaction: 

(1) the spouse holds a current license, certification, 

or registration from another jurisdiction and the 

other jurisdiction's requirements are 

substantially equivalent to or exceed the 

Board's requirements; and 

(2) the spouse has two years verifiable experience 

within the past five years while conducting 

close personal protection as set forth in in G.S. 

74C-3(a)(3a) while serving in an official 

capacity with any entity described in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5(2); 93B-15.1. 

 

SECTION .1700 – TRAINING AND SUPERVISION FOR 

DIGITAL FORENSICS EXAMINER (D.F.E.) 

ASSOCIATES 
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14B NCAC 16 .1709 PROBATIONARY EMPLOYEES 

(a)  A digital forensic examiner licensee may employ a potential 

trainee as a probationary employee for 60 consecutive calendar 

days. The Director, upon written request of the licensee, shall 

extend the probationary period by 30 additional days. 

(b)  A digital forensic examiner licensee may supervise an intern 

as a probationary employee concurrent with the intern's 

educational institution's schedule. 

(c)  A digital forensic examiner licensee may employ an 

apprentice participating in a North Carolina registered apprentice 

program as set forth in G.S. 93B-8.6 as a probationary employee 

for the period prescribed in the federal guidelines as set forth 

therein. 

(d)  To qualify as an "intern" the potential probationary employee 

must be enrolled as a student in a high school, community college, 

college, or university, be in good standing with the educational 

institution, and the internship must be for credit towards a degree, 

diploma, or certificate issued by the educational institution. 

(e)  Upon completion of the probationary period and the desire of 

the licensee to supervise the probationary employee as a digital 

forensic examiner trainee, the potential trainee shall apply 

pursuant to Section .0200 of this Chapter. 

(f)  For hours gained during probationary employment, an 

internship, or apprenticeship to be considered for licensure the 

probationary employee shall comply with Rule .1702 of this 

Section. 

(g)  Before a probationary employee engages in any activity 

defined as digital forensic examination or has access to any 

confidential client information, the employee shall complete 40 

hours of one-on-one supervision by the supervising licensee, and 

the licensee shall conduct a criminal record check on the 

employee. 

(h)  Before engaging the probationary employee, intern, or 

apprentice the licensee shall submit to the Director in writing the 

name, address, last four digits of social security number, 

confirmation that the results of the criminal history record check 

contain no prohibitions as set forth in G.S. 74C-8(d)(2), and 

anticipated start date and ending date of employment of the 

probationary employee. The Director shall confirm receipt within 

three business days of receipt. 

(i)  Probationary employment which does not comply with this 

Rule is a violation of Rule .0204(c)(2) of this Chapter. 

(j)  Any probationary employee, intern, or apprentice shall be a 

minimum of 18 years of age. 

(k)  The use of the terms "employee" and "employment" in this 

Rule does not require or mandate compensation for any 

probationary employment, internship, or apprenticeship. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5(2); 93B-8.6. 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Wildlife Resources Commission 

intends to amend the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10I .0103-.0105 

and readopt with substantive changes the rule cited as 15A NCAC 

10I .0102. 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 21, 2024 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:   

Zoom Meeting. Registration Required: https://ncwildlife-

org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_b5sL6WDdTl2pwEbl6s

Swrw  

Join by phone: Toll Free (877) 853-5247 or (888) 788-0099  

Webinar ID: 161 747 0820 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

Amendments to 15A NCAC 10I .0100 Endangered and 

Threatened Species Rules:  

 

15A NCAC 10I .0102 was determined to be “necessary with 

substantive public interest” and is required to be readopted as 

part of the periodic review. Amendments were made to clarify 

requirements and conditions for: 

- take, possession, sale, propagation, transport, import, 

export, transfer, barter, trade, or stocking endangered, 

threatened, or special concern species; 

- application of an endangered species permit; 

- take and possession without a permit; and 

- reporting. 

 

15A NCAC 10I .0103, .0104, and .0105 were amended to update 

names of species, change listing statuses, and incorporate 

technical edits. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, 

1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email 

regulations@ncwildlife.org 

 

Comment period ends:  May 31, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 
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Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10I - ENDANGERED AND THREATENED 

SPECIES 

 

SECTION .0100 - ENDANGERED AND THREATENED 

SPECIES 

 

15A NCAC 10I .0102 PROTECTION OF 

ENDANGERED/THREATENED/SPECIAL 

ENDANGERED, THREATENED, AND SPECIAL 

CONCERN SPECIES 

(a)  No Open Season. There is no open season for taking any of 

the species listed as endangered in Rule .0103, or threatened in 

Rule .0104 of this Section, except for the American alligator 

(Alligator mississipiensis) as set forth in the rules of this Chapter. 

Unless otherwise provided in North Carolina General Statutes or 

the rules of this Chapter, Except as provided in Paragraphs (b) and 

(d) of this rule, there is no open season for taking any of the 

species listed as special concern in Rule in Rules .0103, .0104, or 

.0105 of this Section. Except as provided in Paragraphs (b), (c) 

and (e) of this Rule, it is unlawful to take or possess any animal 

listed in Rules .0103, .0104, or .0105 of this Section at any time. 

(b)  Permits. The Executive Director or his or her designee may 

issue permits to take or possess an take, possess, sell, propagate, 

transport, import, export, transfer, barter, trade, or stock 

endangered, threatened, or special concern species: 

(1) to an individual or institution with experience 

and training in handling, and caring for the 

wildlife and in conducting a scientific study, 

investigation for the purpose of scientific 

investigation relevant to perpetuation or 

restoration of said species or as a part of a 

scientifically valid study or restoration effort; 

perpetuation, restoration, or management of a 

species; 

(2) to a public or private educator or exhibitor who 

demonstrates that he or she has lawfully 

obtained the specimen or specimens in his or 

her possession, possesses the requisite 

equipment and expertise to care for such 

specimen or the specimens, and abides by the 

applicable caging requirements for the species 

set forth in 15A NCAC 10H .0302; .1404; 

(3) to a person who lawfully possessed any such the 

species for more than 90 days immediately 

prior to the date that such the species was listed 

and who abides by the applicable caging 

requirements for the species set forth in 15A 

NCAC 10H .1404; .0302, provided however, 

that no permit shall be issued more than 90 days 

after the effective date of the initial listing for 

that species; or 

(4) to a person with demonstrable depredation from 

a Special Concern Species, or the American 

alligator (Alligator mississipiensis). 

mississippiensis); 

(5) to a licensed falconer; 

(6) to a retail or wholesale establishment whose 

primary function is providing scientific 

supplies, provided that: 

(A) the specimens were lawfully obtained 

from captive populations or wild 

populations outside of North Carolina; 

(B) the specimens are possessed in indoor 

facilities; and 

(C) safeguards are provided during 

transportation to prevent accidental 

escape of the specimens. 

(7) to state and federal government agencies, 

corporate research entities, and research 

institutions within North Carolina provided 

that: 

(A) the specimens are possessed in indoor 

facilities; 

(B) safeguards are provided during 

transportation to prevent accidental 

escape of the specimens; 

(C) the agency's or institution's Animal 

Care and Use Committee has 

approved the research protocol for the 

species; 

(D) no specimens shall be stocked or 

released in the public or private waters 

or lands of North Carolina; and 

(E) specimens shall not be transferred to 

any private individual. 

(c)  An individual may apply for an endangered species permit 

online at www.gooutdoorsnorthcarolina.com by providing the 

following information: 

(1) name, address, phone number, and email; 

(2) species name and quantity; 

(3) proposed activities; 

(4) map with specific location of activities 

identified, if applicable; 

(5) the source of the specimens and documentation 

of lawful acquisition; 

(6) caging or confinement plans for specimens, if 

applicable; 

(7) applicant's qualifications and explanation of 

experience; 

(8) research proposal, if applicable; 

(9) acknowledgement that additional federal 

permits may be required; 

(10) plans for care of specimens and copy of 

Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee 

permit, if applicable; and 

(11) plans for final disposition of specimens. 
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(c)(d)  Taking Without a Permit: The species listed in Rules .0103, 

.0104, and .0105 of this Section may be taken or possessed 

without a permit when: 

(1) An an individual may take an endangered, 

threatened, or special concern takes the species 

in defense of his or her own life or the lives of 

others. 

(2) an individual has obtained a permit to take an 

American alligator in accordance with 15A 

NCAC 10B .0224. 

(3) an individual possesses meat or other parts of 

American alligators that have been lawfully 

taken, possessed, or bought in a state where 

there is an open season for harvesting alligators 

and the products are marketed in packages or 

containers that are labeled to indicate the state 

in which the animals were taken and the 

identity, address, and lawful authority of the 

processor or distributor. 

(4) an individual is taking or harassing a red wolf 

(Canis rufus) pursuant to the conditions in 50 

CFR 17.84(c), hereby incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments 

and editions, available free of charge at 

www.ecfr.gov. 

(2)(5) A state or federal conservation officer or 

employee an individual who is designated by 

his agency to do so may, meets the 

requirements of G.S. 113-261, who, when 

acting in the course of his or her official duties, 

take, possess, and transport takes, possesses, or 

transports endangered, threatened, or special 

concern species if the action is necessary to: 

(A) aid a sick, injured, diseased, or 

orphaned specimen; 

(B) dispose of a dead specimen; 

(C) salvage a dead specimen that may be 

useful for scientific study; or 

(D) remove specimens that constitute a 

demonstrable but nonimmediate threat 

to human safety safety, provided the 

taking is done in a humane and 

noninjurious manner. The taking may 

involve injuring or killing endangered, 

threatened, or special concern species 

only if it is not possible to eliminate 

the threat by live-capturing and 

releasing release the specimen 

unharmed, in a habitat that is suitable 

for the survival of that species. 

survival. 

(d)(e)  Reporting. Any taking or possession of an Take, 

possession, sale, propagation, transportation, importation, 

exportation, transfer, barter, trade, or stocking of endangered, 

threatened, or special concern species under Paragraphs (b) and 

(c)(d) of this Rule is subject to applicable federal reporting 

requirements, requirements of federal law and regulations, and the 

reporting requirements of the permit issued by the Executive 

Director or permit, and applicable requirements of 15A NCAC 

10B .0106(e). 

(e)  Exceptions. 

(1) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this 

Rule, processed meat and other parts of 

American alligators that have been lawfully 

taken in a state in which there is an open season 

for harvesting alligators may be possessed, 

bought, and sold when such products are 

marketed in packages or containers that are 

labeled to indicate the state in which they were 

taken and the identity, address, and lawful 

authority of the processor or distributor. 

(2) Raptors listed as special concern species in 

Rule .0105 of this Section may be taken from 

the wild for falconry purposes and for falconry 

propagation, provided that a valid North 

Carolina endangered species permit has been 

obtained as required in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule. 

(3) Captive-bred raptors listed as special concern 

species may be bought, sold, bartered, or traded 

as provided in 50 CFR 21.85 when marked as 

required under those regulations. 50 CFR 21.85 

is incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. This 

document may be accessed at www.ecfr.gov at 

no cost. 

(4) Red Wolves (Canis rufus) listed as threatened 

in Rule .0104 in this Section may be taken or 

harassed pursuant to the conditions provided in 

50 CFR 17.84(c). 50 CFR 17.84(c) is 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. This 

document may be accessed at www.ecfr.gov at 

no cost. 

(5) Importation, possession, sales, transportation, 

and exportation of species listed as special 

concern species in Rule .0105 of this Section 

shall be allowed under permit by retail and 

wholesale establishments whose primary 

function is providing scientific supplies for 

research, provided that: 

(A) the specimens were lawfully obtained 

from captive or wild populations 

outside of North Carolina; 

(B) they are possessed in indoor facilities; 

(C) all transportation of specimens 

provides safeguards adequate to 

prevent accidental escape; and 

(D) importation, possession, and sale or 

transfer is permitted only as listed in 

Parts (e)(4)(A) and (B) of this Rule. 

(f)  A written application to the Commission shall be required for 

a permit to authorize importation, and possession for the purpose 

of retail or wholesale sale. The application shall identify the 

source of the specimens and provide documentation of lawful 

acquisition. Applications for permits shall include plans for 

holding, transportation, advertisement, and sale in such detail as 
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to allow a determination of the safeguards provided against 

accidental escape and sales to unauthorized individuals. 

(g)  Purchase, importation, and possession of special concern 

species within North Carolina is allowed under permit to state and 

federal governmental agencies, corporate research entities, and 

research institutions, provided that: 

(1) sales are permitted to out of state consumers; 

(2) the specimens will be possessed in indoor 

facilities and safeguards adequate to prevent 

accidental escape are provided during all 

transportation of the specimens; 

(3) the agency's or institution's Animal Use and 

Care Committee has approved the research 

protocol for this species; and 

(4) no specimens may be stocked or released in the 

public or private waters or lands of North 

Carolina and specimens may not be transferred 

to any private individual. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.2; 113-291.3; 113-292; 113-

333. 

 

15A NCAC 10I .0103 ENDANGERED SPECIES 

LISTED 

(a)  The following species of resident wildlife shall be designated 

as federally listed endangered species: 

(1) Amphibians: None listed. 

(2) Birds: 

(A) Bachman's warbler (Vermivora 

bachmanii); 

(B) Ivory-billed woodpecker 

(Campephilus principalis); 

(C) Piping plover (Charadrius melodus 

circumcinctus); 

(D) Red-cockaded woodpecker 

(Dryobates borealis); and 

(E) Roseate tern (Sterna dougallii 

dougallii). 

(3) Crustacea: None listed. 

(4) Fish: 

(A) Cape Fear shiner (Notropis (Miniellus 

mekistocholas); 

(B) Carolina madtom (Noturus furiosus); 

(C) Roanoke logperch (Percina rex); 

(D) Shortnose sturgeon (Acipenser 

brevirostrum), when found in inland 

fishing waters as defined in G.S. 113-

129(9); and 

(E) Atlantic sturgeon (Acipenser 

oxyrinchus oxyrinchus), when found 

in inland fishing waters as defined in 

G.S. 113-129(9). 

(5) Mammals: 

(A) Carolina northern flying squirrel 

(Glaucomys sabrinus coloratus); 

(B) Eastern cougar (Puma concolor); 

(C) Gray bat (Myotis grisescens); 

(D) Indiana bat (Myotis sodalis); 

(E) Manatee (Trichechus manatus), when 

found in inland fishing waters as 

defined in G.S. 113-129(9); and 

(E) Northern long-eared bat (Myotis 

septentrionalis); and 

(F) Virginia big-eared bat (Corynorhinus 

townsendii virginianus). 

(6) Mollusks: 

(A) Appalachian elktoe (Alasmidonta 

raveneliana); 

(B) Carolina heelsplitter (Lasmigona 

decorata); 

(C) Dwarf wedgemussel (Alasmidonta 

heterodon); 

(D) James spinymussel (Parvaspina 

collina); 

(E) Littlewing pearlymussel (Pegias 

fabula); 

(F) Tan riffleshell (Epioblasma florentina 

walkeri); and 

(G) Tar River spinymussel (Parvaspina 

steinstansana). 

(7) Reptiles: 

(A) Kemp's ridley sea turtle (Lepidochelys 

kempii); 

(B) Atlantic hawksbill Hawksbill sea 

turtle (Eretmochelys imbricata); and 

(C) Leatherback sea turtle (Dermochelys 

coriacea). 

(b)  The following species of resident wildlife shall be designated 

as State-listed endangered species: 

(1) Amphibians: 

(A) Gopher frog (Rana [=Lithobates] 

capito); 

(B) Hickory Nut Gorge green salamander 

(Aneides caryaenis caryaensis); 

(C) Ornate chorus frog (Pseudacris 

ornata); and 

(D) River frog (Rana [=Lithobates] 

heckscheri). 

(2) Birds: 

(A) American peregrine falcon (Falco 

peregrinus anatum); 

(B) Bewick's wren (Thryomanes 

bewickii); 

(C)(B) Common tern (Sterna hirundo); 

(D)(C) Henslow's sparrow (Centronyx 

henslowii); and 

(E)(D) Wayne's black-throated green warbler 

(Setophaga virens waynei). 

(3) Crustacea: 

(A) Bennett's Mill cave water slater 

(Caecidotea carolinensis); and 

(B) Waccamaw crayfish (Procambarus 

braswelli). 

(4) Fish: 

(A) Blotchside logperch (Percina burtoni); 

(B) Bridle shiner (Notropis bifrenatus); 

(C) Orangefin madtom (Noturus gilberti); 
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(D) Paddlefish (Polyodon spathula); 

(E) Robust redhorse (Moxostoma 

robustum); 

(F) Rustyside sucker (Thoburnia 

hamiltoni); 

(G) Sharpnose darter (Percina oxyrhync 

hus); and 

(H) Stonecat (Noturus flavus). 

(5) Mammals: 

(A) Little brown bat (Myotis lucifugus); 

and 

(B) Tricolored bat (Perimyotis subflavus). 

(6) Mollusks: 

(A) Barrel floater (Utterbackiana 

couperiana); 

(B) Brook floater (Alasmidonta varicosa); 

(C) Carolina creekshell (Villosa 

vaughaniana); (Sagittunio 

vaughanianus); 

(D) Fragile glyph (Glyphyalinia 

(Pilsbryna clingmani); 

(E) Green floater (Lasmigona subviridis); 

(F) Greenfield rams-horn ramshorn 

(Helisoma eucosmium); 

(G) Knotty elimia (Elimia christyi); 

(H) Longsolid (Fusconaia subrotunda); 

(I) Magnificent ramshorn (Planorbella 

magnifica); 

(J) Purple wartyback (Cyclonaias 

tuberculata); 

(K) Savannah lilliput (Toxolasma pullus); 

(L) Slippershell mussel (Alasmidonta 

viridis); 

(M) Tennessee clubshell (Pleurobema 

oviforme); 

(N) Tennessee heelsplitter (Lasmigona 

holstonia); 

(O) Tennessee pigtoe (Pleuronaia 

barnesiana); and 

(P) Yellow lampmussel (Lampsilis 

cariosa). 

(7) Reptiles: 

(A) Eastern coral snake (Micrurus fulvius 

fulvius); and 

(B) Eastern diamondback rattlesnake 

(Crotalus adamanteus); and 

(C) Mimic glass lizard (Ophisaurus 

mimicus). 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-333. 

 

15A NCAC 10I .0104 THREATENED SPECIES 

LISTED 

(a)  The following species of resident wildlife shall be designated 

as federally-listed threatened species: 

(1) Amphibians: Neuse River waterdog (Necturus 

lewisi). 

(2) Birds: 

(A) Eastern black rail (Laterallus 

jamaicensis jamaicensis); 

(B) Piping plover (Charadrius melodus 

melodus); 

(C) Red knot (Calidris canutus rufa); and 

(D) Wood stork (Mycteria americana). 

(3) Crustacea: None listed. 

(4) Fish: 

(A) Spotfin chub (Erimonax monachus); 

and 

(B) Waccamaw silverside (Menidia 

extensa). 

(5) Mammals: Northern long-eared bat (Myotis 

septentrionalis) West Indian Manatee 

(Trichechus manatus), when found in inland 

fishing waters as defined in G.S. 113-129(9). 

(6) Mollusks: 

(A) Atlantic pigtoe (Fusconaia masoni); 

(B) Longsolid (Fusconaia subrotunda); 

(B)(C) Noonday globe (Patera clarki 

nantahala); and 

(C)(D) Yellow lance (Elliptio lanceolata). 

(7) Reptiles: 

(A) Bog turtle (Glyptemys muhlenbergii); 

(B) American alligator (Alligator 

mississipiensis); mississippiensis); 

(C) Green sea turtle (Chelonia mydas); 

and 

(D) Loggerhead sea turtle (Caretta 

caretta). 

(b)  The following species of resident wildlife are designated as 

State-listed threatened species: 

(1) Amphibians: 

(A) Eastern tiger salamander (Ambystoma 

tigrinum tigrinum); 

(B) Green salamander (Aneides aeneus); 

(C) Junaluska salamander (Eurycea 

junaluska); 

(D) Eastern long-tailed Long-tailed 

salamander (Eurycea longicauda 

longicauda); 

(E) Mabee's salamander (Ambystoma 

mabeei); 

(F) Pine Barrens tree frog (Hyla 

andersonii); and 

(G) Wehrle's salamander (Plethodon 

wehrlei). 

(2) Birds: 

(A) Bald eagle (Haliaeetus 

leucocephalus); 

(B) Black skimmer (Rynchops niger); 

(B)(C) Caspian tern (Hydroprogne caspia); 

(C)(D) Gull-billed tern (Gelochelidon nilotica 

aranea); 

(D)(E) Northern saw-whet owl (Aegolius 

acadicus); and 

(F) Rusty blackbird (Euphagus carolinus). 

(3) Crustacea: 
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(A) Broad River spiny crayfish (Cambarus 

spicatus); 

(B) French Broad crayfish (Cambarus 

reburrus); 

(C) Pamlico crayfish (Procambarus 

medialis); 

(D) Sandhills crayfish (Procambarus 

pearsei); and 

(E) South Mountains crayfish (Cambarus 

franklini). 

(4) Fish: 

(A) Bigeye jumprock (Moxostoma 

ariommum); 

(B) Blotched chub (Erimystax insignis); 

(C) Carolina pygmy sunfish (Elassoma 

boehlkei); 

(D) Carolina redhorse (Moxostoma sp.); 

(E) Ironcolor shiner (Notropis (Alburnops 

chalybaeus); 

(F) Least brook lamprey (Lampetra 

aepyptera); 

(G) Logperch (Percina caprodes); 

(H) Mimic shiner (Notropis (Paranotropis 

volucellus); 

(I) Rosyface chub (Hybopsis rubrifrons); 

(J) Sharphead darter (Etheostoma 

(Nothonotus acuticeps); 

(K) Santee chub (Cyprinella zanema); 

(L) Sicklefin redhorse (Moxostoma sp.); 

(M) Thicklip chub (Cyprinella labrosa); 

(N) Turquoise darter (Etheostoma 

inscriptum); and 

(O) Waccamaw darter (Etheostoma 

perlongum). 

(5) Mammals: 

(A) Eastern woodrat (Neotoma floridana 

floridana); 

(B) Rafinesque's big-eared bat 

(Corynorhinus rafinesquii 

rafinesquii); and 

(C) Red wolf (Canis rufus). 

(6) Mollusks: 

(A) Alewife floater (Utterbackiana 

implicata); 

(B) Big-tooth covert (Fumonelix 

jonesiana); 

(C) Cape Fear threetooth (Triodopsis 

soelneri); 

(D) Eastern lampmussel (Lampsilis 

radiata); 

(E) Eastern pondmussel (Ligumia nasuta); 

(Sagittunio nasutus); 

(F) Engraved covert (Fumonelix orestes); 

(G) Mountain creekshell (Villosa 

(Leaunio vanuxemensis); 

(H) Notched rainbow (Villosa 

(Venustaconcha constricta); 

(I) Rainbow (Villosa (Cambarunio iris); 

(J) Roan supercoil (Paravitrea varidens); 

(K) Sculpted supercoil (Paravitrea 

ternaria); 

(L) Smoky Mountain covert (Inflectarius 

ferrissi); 

(M) Creeper (Strophitus undulatus); 

(N) Tidewater mucket (Leptodea 

(Atlanticoncha ochracea); 

(O) Triangle floater (Alasmidonta 

undulata); and 

(P) Waccamaw ambersnail (Catinella 

waccamawensis). 

(7) Reptiles: 

(A) Northern pine snake (Pituophis 

melanoleucus melanoleucus); and 

(B) Southern hognose snake (Heterodon 

simus). 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-333. 

 

15A NCAC 10I .0105 SPECIAL CONCERN SPECIES 

LISTED 

The following species of resident wildlife shall be designated as 

State-listed special concern species: 

(1) Amphibians: 

(a) Collinses' mountain chorus frog 

(Pseudacris collinsorum); 

(b) Crevice salamander (Plethodon 

longicrus); 

(c) Dwarf salamander (Eurycea 

quadridigitata); 

(d) Dwarf black-bellied salamander 

(Desmognathus folkertsi); 

(e) Eastern hellbender (Cryptobranchus 

alleganiensis alleganiensis); 

(f) Four-toed salamander 

(Hemidactylium scutatum); 

(g) Gray treefrog (Hyla versicolor); 

(h) Mole salamander (Ambystoma 

talpoideum); 

(i) Mudpuppy (Necturus maculosus); 

(j) Southern chorus frog (Pseudacris 

nigrita); 

(k) Southern zigzag salamander 

(Plethodon ventralis); and 

(l) Weller's salamander (Plethodon 

welleri). 

(2) Birds: 

(a) American oystercatcher (Haematopus 

palliatus); 

(b) Bachman's sparrow (Peucaea 

aestivalis); 

(c) Barn owl (Tyto alba); 

(d) Black-capped chickadee (Poecile 

atricapillus); 

(e) Black skimmer (Rynchops niger); 

(f)(e) Brown creeper (Certhia americana 

nigrescens); 

(g)(f) Cerulean warbler (Setophaga cerulea); 

(h)(g) Glossy ibis (Plegadis falcinellus); 
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(i)(h) Golden-winged warbler (Vermivora 

chrysoptera); 

(j)(i) Least bittern (Ixobrychus exilis); 

(k)(j) Least tern (Sternula antillarum); 

(l)(k) Little blue heron (Egretta caerulea); 

(m)(l) Loggerhead shrike (Lanius 

ludovicianus); 

(n)(m) Painted bunting (Passerina ciris); 

(o)(n) Red crossbill (Loxia curvirostra); 

(p)(o) Snowy egret (Egretta thula); 

(p) Swallow-tailed kite (Elanoides 

forficatus); 

(q) Tricolored heron (Egretta tricolor);  

(q)(r) Vesper sparrow (Pooecetes 

gramineus); and 

(r)(s) Wilson's plover (Charadrius wilsonia). 

(3) Crustacea: 

(a) Carolina skistodiaptomus 

(Skistodiaptomus carolinensis); 

(b) Carolina well diacyclops (Diacyclops 

jeannelli putei); 

(c) Chowanoke crayfish (Faxonius 

virginiensis); 

(d) Graceful clam shrimp (Lynceus 

gracilicornis); 

(e) Greensboro burrowing crayfish 

(Cambarus catagius); 

(f) Hiwassee headwaters crayfish 

(Cambarus parrishi); 

(g) Little Tennessee River crayfish 

(Cambarus georgiae); 

(h) North Carolina spiny crayfish 

(Faxonius carolinensis); and 

(i) Oconee stream crayfish (Cambarus 

chaugaensis). 

(4) Fish: 

(a) American brook lamprey (Lethenteron 

appendix); 

(b) "Atlantic" Highfin carpsucker 

(Carpiodes sp. cf. velifer); 

(c) Banded sculpin (Cottus carolinae);  

(d) Blue Ridge sculpin (Cottus 

caeruleomentum); 

(e) Blueside darter (Etheostoma jessiae); 

(f) Broadtail madtom (Noturus sp.); 

(g) Carolina darter (Etheostoma collis); 

(h) Cutlip minnow (Exoglossum 

maxillingua); 

(i) Freshwater drum (Aplodinotus 

grunniens); 

(j) Kanawha minnow (Phenacobius 

teretulus); 

(k) Lake sturgeon (Acipenser fulvescens); 

(l) Least killifish (Heterandria formosa); 

(m) Mooneye (Hiodon tergisus); 

(n) Mountain madtom (Noturus 

eleutherus); 

(o) Ohio lamprey (Ichthyomyzon 

bdellium); 

(p) Olive darter (Percina squamata); 

(q) Pinewoods darter (Etheostoma 

mariae); 

(r) River carpsucker (Carpiodes carpio); 

(s) Sandhills chub (Semotilus lumbee); 

(t) Seagreen darter (Etheostoma 

thalassinum); 

(u) Sickle darter (Percina williamsi); 

(v) Smoky dace (Clinostomus sp.); 

(w) Sooty-banded darter (Percina 

westfalli); 

(w)(x) Striped shiner (Luxilus 

chrysocephalus); 

(x)(y) Snubnose darter (Etheostoma 

simoterum); 

(y)(z) "Thinlip" chub (Cyprinella sp. cf. 

zanema); 

(z)(aa) Waccamaw killifish (Fundulus 

waccamensis); 

(aa) Westfall's darter (Percina westfalli); 

(bb) Wounded darter (Etheostoma 

vulneratum); (Nothonotus 

vulneratus); and 

(cc) Yellowfin shiner (Notropis 

(Hydrophlox lutipinnis). 

(5) Mammals: 

(a) Allegheny woodrat (Neotoma 

magister); 

(b) Buxton Woods white-footed mouse 

(Peromyscus leucopus buxtoni); 

(c) Coleman's oldfield mouse 

(Peromyscus polionotus colemani); 

(d) Eastern big-eared bat (Corynorhinus 

rafinesquii macrotis); 

(e) Eastern small-footed bat (Myotis leibii 

leibii); 

(f) Florida yellow bat (Lasiurus 

intermedius floridanus); 

(g) Southeastern bat (Myotis 

austroriparius); 

(h) Southern rock vole (Microtus 

chrotorrhinus carolinensis); and 

(i) Star-nosed mole (Condylura cristata 

parva). 

(6) Mollusks: 

(a) Appalachian gloss (Zonitoides 

patuloides); 

(b) Bidentate dome (Ventridens coelaxis); 

(c) Black mantleslug (Pallifera 

hemphilli); 

(d) Blackwater ancylid (Ferrissia 

hendersoni); 

(e) Blue-foot lancetooth (Haplotrema 

kendeighi); 

(f) Cape Fear spike (Elliptio 

marsupiobesa); 

(g) Clingman covert (Fumonelix 

wheatleyi clingmanicus); 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

38:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 1, 2024 

1250 

(h) Dark glyph (Glyphyalinia 

junaluskana); 

(i) Dwarf proud globe (Patera clarki 

clarki); 

(j) Dwarf threetooth (Triodopsis 

fulciden); 

(k) Fringed coil (Helicodiscus 

fimbriatus); 

(l) Glossy supercoil (Paravitrea 

placentula); 

(m) Great Smoky slitmouth (Stenotrema 

depilatum); 

(n) High mountain supercoil (Paravitrea 

andrewsae); 

(o) Honey glyph (Glyphyalinia vanattai); 

(p) Lamellate supercoil (Paravitrea 

lamellidens); 

(q) Mirey Ridge supercoil (Paravitrea 

clappi); 

(r) Open supercoil (Paravitrea 

umbilicaris); 

(s) Pink glyph (Glyphyalinia 

pentadelphia); 

(t) Pink heelsplitter (Potamilus alatus); 

(t)(u) Pod lance (Elliptio folliculata); 

(u)(v) Queen crater (Appalachina 

chilhoweensis); 

(v)(w) Ramp Cove supercoil (Paravitrea 

lacteodens); 

(w)(x) Ridged lioplax (Lioplax subcarinata); 

(x)(y) Roanoke slabshell (Elliptio 

roanokensis); 

(y)(z) Saw-tooth disc (Discus bryanti); 

(z)(aa) Seep mudalia (Leptoxis dilatata); 

(aa)(bb) Spike (Eurynia dilatata); 

(bb)(cc) Spiral coil (Helicodiscus bonamicus); 

(cc)(dd) Velvet covert (Inflectarius 

subpalliatus); 

(dd)(ee) Waccamaw amnicola (Amnicola sp.); 

(ee)(ff) Waccamaw siltsnail (Cincinnatia sp.); 

and 

(ff)(gg) Wavy-rayed lampmussel (Lampsilis 

fasciola). 

(7) Reptiles: 

(a) Carolina pigmy rattlesnake (Sistrurus 

miliarius miliarius); 

(b) Carolina swamp snake (Liodytes 

pygaea paludis); 

(c) Carolina watersnake (Nerodia sipedon 

williamengelsi); 

(d) Cumberland slider (Trachemys scripta 

troostii); 

(e) Diamondback terrapin (Malaclemys 

terrapin); 

(f) Eastern chicken turtle (Deirochelys 

reticularia reticularia); 

(g) Eastern coachwhip (Coluber 

(=Masticophis) [=Masticophis] 

flagellum flagellum); 

(h) Eastern slender glass lizard 

(Ophisaurus attenuatus longicaudus); 

(i) Eastern spiny softshell (Apalone 

spinifera spinifera); 

(j) Northern map turtle (Graptemys 

geographica); 

(k) Outer Banks kingsnake (Lampropeltis 

getula sticticeps); 

(l) Stripeneck musk turtle (Sternotherus 

minor peltifer); and 

(m) Timber rattlesnake (Crotalus 

horridus). 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-333. 

 

 

TITLE 16 – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

State Board of Education intends to repeal the rules cited as 16 

NCAC 06I .0101-.0105, .0201, .0202, .0301-.0304, .0401-.0407; 

06J .0101-.0110, .0201-.0208, .0301; 06K .0104 and .0105. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rules is available 

on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.dpi.nc.gov/about-dpi/state-board-education/rules-

apa 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 31, 2024 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  

https://ncgov.webex.com/ncgov/j.php?MTID=m0555f8add3f39a

48ca7e33233297212d 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  In April 2023, the General 

Assembly enacted S.L. 2023-10, which significantly re-organized 

the governance structure for the North Carolina School for the 

Deaf, the Eastern North Carolina School for the Deaf, and the 

Governor Morehead School for the Blind. Effective July 1, 2024, 

governance of these institutions will transfer from the State Board 

of Education (SBE) to an independent board of trustees for each 

institution. New G.S. 115C-150.12C sets forth the powers and 

duties of the boards of trustees, which includes the power to 

“adopt rules necessary for the administration of the school to 

implement the requirements of [Chapter 115C, Article 9C of the 

General Statutes].” Subdivision (36) of that section provides that 

the boards of trustees are exempt from the rulemaking provisions 

of Article 2A of Chapter 150B. At the same time, G.S. 115C-

150.11(a), as amended, reserves to the SBE the authority to adopt 

rules governing the boards of trustees in accordance with Chapter 

150B. 

 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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In recognition of this impending change, the SBE is proposing to 

repeal three subchapters of Title 16, Chapter 6 of the North 

Carolina Administrative Code that currently govern the schools 

for the deaf and blind. As an initial matter, many of these rules 

rely on statutory authority that has since been repealed, are 

unenforceable as written, or are simply outdated. Moreover, most 

of the issues addressed by these rules are issues that G.S. 115C-

150.11(a) specifically reserves to the determination of the new 

board of trustees, or are otherwise best left to their considered 

judgment in consultation with school personnel. Finally, and most 

importantly, certain rules are inconsistent with the new 

admissions criteria and procedures for these institutions required 

by new G.S. 115C-150.13A. For example, 16 NCAC 06K .0104 

currently provides that if the Individualized Education Plan (IEP) 

team for a student identified as a child with disabilities determines 

that placement in one of these institutions is the least restrictive 

placement for that child, the child must be placed there. By 

contrast, G.S. 115C-150.13A requires each institution to have an 

admissions committee that determines whether a child will be 

admitted to the school based on several specified criteria. 

 

For these reasons, the SBE has determined that repeal of these 

rules is necessary and appropriate. Since the rules are being 

repealed, no fiscal note is required. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Ryan Collins, 6301 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-6301; email 

ryan.collins@dpi.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  May 31, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 06 - ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY 

EDUCATION 

SUBCHAPTER 06I – THE GOVERNER MOREHEAD 

SCHOOL 

 

SECTION .0100 - ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES 

 

16 NCAC 06I .0101 PURPOSE AND 

RESPONSIBILITIES 

16 NCAC 06I .0102 ELIGIBILITY 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-106(b); 115C- 113; 115C-127; 115C-128; 

115C-130; 115C-131; 115C-. 

 

16 NCAC 06I .0103 MEDICAL AND HEALTH 

SERVICES 

 

Authority G.S. 115-325; 143B-173(b). 

 

16 NCAC 06I .0104 STUDENT INFORMATION 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-114; 115C-321; 143B-10; 150B-14(c). 

 

 

16 NCAC 06I .0105 THE GOVERNOR MOREHEAD 

SCHOOL CAMPUS PARKING 

 

Authority G.S. 143-116.7. 

 

SECTION .0200 - PERSONNEL 

 

16 NCAC 06I .0201 AUTHORITY OF TEACHERS 

AND HOUSEPARENTS 

16 NCAC 06I .0202 WHO MAY GIVE DIRECTIONS 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-127; 115C-307; ; 115C-321; 143B-10. 

 

SECTION .0300 - STUDENT RULES 

 

16 NCAC 06I .0301 COMPLIANCE WITH CAMPUS 

RULES AND AUTHORIZED PERSONS 

16 NCAC 06I .0302 PROTECTION OF PROPERTY 

16 NCAC 06I .0303 USE OF DRUGS 

16 NCAC 06I .0304 CODE OF DRESS FOR 

STUDENTS 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-321; 143B-173(b); 150B-14(c). 

 

SECTION .0400 - DISCIPLINE 

 

16 NCAC 06I .0401 DEFINITIONS OF 

DISCIPLINARY TERMS 

16 NCAC 06I .0402 PROCEDURE FOR 

ADMINISTERING DISCIPLINE 

16 NCAC 06I .0403 DISTRIBUTION OF POLICY 

16 NCAC 06I .0404 DISCIPLINE VIOLATIONS 

16 NCAC 06I .0405 DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS 

16 NCAC 06I .0406 REQUEST FOR 

DETERMINATION 

16 NCAC 06I .0407 APPLICABILITY OF 

PROCEDURES 
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Authority G.S. 115C-321; 143B-173(b). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06J – NORTH CAROLINA SCHOOLS 

FOR THE DEAF 

 

SECTION .0100 - ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES 

 

16 NCAC 06J .0101 CAMPUSES 

16 NCAC 06J .0102 ELIGIBILITY 

16 NCAC 06J .0103 APPLICATION PROCEDURES 

16 NCAC 06J .0104 STUDENT FEE 

16 NCAC 06J .0105 REFUNDS 

16 NCAC 06J .0106 DEFINITION 

16 NCAC 06J .0107 CONSENT REQUIRED FROM 

STUDENT OR PARENT 

16 NCAC 06J .0108 CONSENT REQUIRED FROM 

FORMER STUDENT OR PARENT 

16 NCAC 06J .0109 USE OF SCHOOL'S RECORDS 

FOR RESEARCH 

16 NCAC 06J .0110 AVAILABILITY OF RECORDS 

TO STAFF MEMBERS 

 

Authority G.S. 115-336; 115-340; 115C-110; 115C-111; 115C-

114; 115C-123; 115C-124. 

 

SECTION .0200 - STUDENT RULES 

 

16 NCAC 06J .0201 HOME VISITS 

16 NCAC 06J .0202 VISITS TO OTHER STUDENT'S 

HOMES 

16 NCAC 06J .0203 REIMBURSEMENT FOR 

DAMAGED PROPERTY 

16 NCAC 06J .0204 ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

16 NCAC 06J .0205 DRUGS 

16 NCAC 06J .0206 TOBACCO PRODUCTS 

16 NCAC 06J .0207 LEAVING CAMPUS 

16 NCAC 06J .0208 EXPULSION 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-111; 115C-112; 115C-523; 143B-10; 143B-

216.33. 

 

SECTION .0300 - PERSONNEL 

 

16 NCAC 06J .0301 AUTHORITY OF CLASSROOM 

TEACHERS/DORMITORY PERSONNEL 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-307; 143B-10; 143B-216.33. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06K – EDUCATION SERVICES FOR THE 

DEAF AND BLIND (EDSB) 

 

16 NCAC 06K .0104 PLACEMENT PROCEDURES 

16 NCAC 06K .0105 WEAPONS PROHIBITED ON 

SCHOOL PROPERTY 

 

Authority G.S. 14-269; 14-269.2; 115C-12; 115C-107.2; 115C-

150.11; 115C-150.13. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 66 - VETERINARY MEDICAL BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Veterinary Medical Board intends to adopt the rules cited as 21 

NCAC 66 .1001-.1004, and .1101-.1110. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncvmb.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  TBD based on the effective date of the 

Facility Permit rules that are subject to legislative review. 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 21, 2024 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  1611 Jones Franklin Road Suite 106, Raleigh, NC and 

via Zoom https://us02web.zoom.us/j/9593847865 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Session Law 2023-63 Section 4.(f) 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Keith West, 1611 Jones 

Franklin Road Suite 106, Raleigh, NC 27606; phone (919) 854-

5601; email kwest@ncvmb.org 

 

Comment period ends:  May 31, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 66 – VETERINARY MEDICAL BOARD 

 

SECTION .1000 – BOARDING KENNELS 
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21 NCAC 66 .1001 RECORDS; BOARDING 

KENNELS 

Operators of a boarding kennel, as defined in G.S. 90-181(b)(1a), 

shall maintain records, as part of the medical record, of all dogs 

and cats showing the following: 

(1) name and address of owner or person 

responsible for animal, the date of entry and 

signature of the person leaving the animal; and 

the date of release and signature and address of 

individual to whom animal is released; 

(2) description of animal including breed or breed 

type, sex, age, and color markings; 

(3) veterinary care provided while boarded, which 

shall include date, times of administration, 

description of medication and initials of person 

administering product or procedure. The 

description of the medication shall include the 

name, strength or concentration, dosage, and 

dosing regimen. The dosage regimen shall 

include the frequency and duration to include 

the number of dosages or days to be given and 

the reason for the administration; 

(4) all records shall be created and/or updated at the 

time of the occurrence such as intake, 

medication, or treatment administration and/or 

release. The record shall be accurate; creation 

of a misleading record or deliberate or non-

incidental falsification of a record including 

medication administration during or after an 

investigation or inspection shall be considered 

a violation of this regulation; 

(5) an incident file shall be kept within each facility 

for animals sustaining injury or illness requiring 

veterinary care; animal death; and/or any 

animal escape. Each report shall include date of 

incident, pet's name, breed or breed 

type/species, age, owner's name and contact 

information, description of incident and course 

of action; and 

(6) in the event of either an animal death or escape, 

while boarding not incidental to the practice of 

veterinary medicine, the licensee shall notify 

the North Carolina Veterinary Medical Board 

within 48 hours. 

 

Authority S.L. 2023-63. 

 

21 NCAC 66 .1002 INSPECTION OF RECORDS 

Boarding kennels shall make all required records available to the 

North Carolina Veterinary Medical Board or its authorized 

representative on request, during business hours and/or during an 

inspection of the facility or an investigation. The operator must be 

able to match each animal to its record upon request. Records shall 

be maintained for a period of three years after the animal is 

released from a boarding kennel. 

 

Authority S.L. 2023-63. 

 

21 NCAC 66 .1003 DEFINITIONS 

As used in this Section: 

(1) "Accessories" means any objects used in 

cleaning and sanitizing primary enclosures, 

exercise areas, or objects to which an animal 

may have access, including, but not limited to 

toys, blankets, food and water utensils, and 

bedding. 

(2) "Adequate" means a condition which, when 

met, does not jeopardize an animal's comfort, 

safety or health. Adequate veterinary care 

means provision of veterinary care sufficient to 

address the relief of pain and/or suffering 

experienced by the animal and sufficient to 

address the medical condition. 

(3) "Behavioral-control device" means any 

apparatus used to control a pet animal's 

behavior. 

(4) "Boarding Kennel" as defined in G.S. 90-

181(b)(1a). 

(5) "Cage" means a primary enclosure which is 

enclosed on all sides including the top and 

bottom. 

(6) "Compatible group" means all animals in the 

group comingle peacefully without the 

presence of aggressive, harassing, and/or 

agitating behaviors toward any other 

member(s) of the group. 

(7) "Common area(s)" means areas of the facility 

in which multiple animals may have access 

such as walkway(s), facility lobby(ies), 

hallway(s), area(s) around primary enclosures 

and exercise areas, and other such similar areas. 

(8) "Disposition" means the death, euthanasia, 

release, or transfer from a facility. 

(9) "Enrichment" means providing objects or 

activities, appropriate to the needs of the 

species as well as the age, size, and condition of 

the animal, that stimulates the pet and promotes 

the pet's well-being. 

(10) Exercise area means an enclosed space in which 

an animal(s) is confined, and which is large 

enough for species-appropriate activity such as 

walking, running, climbing, jumping, 

socialization and/or play to occur. 

(11) "Husbandry" means the practice of daily care 

administered to animals. 

(12) "Impervious to moisture" means a surface that 

prevents the absorption of fluids and that can be 

thoroughly and repeatedly sanitized, will not 

retain odors, and from which fluids bead up and 

run off or can be removed without being 

absorbed into the surface material. 

(13) "Infirm" means not physically or mentally 

strong, especially through age or illness. 

(14) "Isolation" means the separation, for the period 

of communicability, of infected animals from 

others in such a place and under such conditions 

to prevent the direct or indirect transmission of 
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the infectious agent from those infected to those 

that are susceptible or that may spread the agent 

to others. 

(15) "Isolation area" means a location where animals 

infected with disease may be placed to contain, 

control, and limit the spread of the disease. 

(16) "Permit period" means January 1 through 

December 31. 

(17) "Long term care" means the housing of an 

animal for a period of more than 30 consecutive 

days. 

(18) "Potable" means suitable for drinking. 

(19) "Properly cleaned" means the removal of 

carcasses, debris, food waste, excrement, urine, 

dirty or soiled accessories and other organic 

material with adequate frequency. 

(20) "Social interaction" means friendly physical 

contact or play between animals of the same 

species or with a person. Physical contact or 

play with the caretaker during cage cleaning 

and/or sanitation is not considered social 

interaction. 

(21) "Special provisions" means additional 

procedures, protocols, and/or equipment used 

when caring for, housing and/or transporting 

animals with special needs. Examples of 

animals with "special needs" include, but are 

not limited to, brachycephalic breeds, very 

young or old animals, animals with a medical 

condition, infirm animals, and/or animals that 

are compromised or debilitated. 

(22) "Suitable method of drainage" means drainage 

that allows for the elimination of water and 

waste products, prevents contamination of 

animals, allows animals to remain dry, and 

complies with applicable building codes and 

local ordinances. 

(23) "Supervision " means at least one person (at 

least 16 years of age) present, at all times, able 

to constantly, directly view all animals within 

the entirety of each enclosure or exercise area. 

(24) "Surgical procedure" for the purposes of this 

section means any invasive procedure 

performed on an animal to include, but not be 

limited to: procedures to spay or neuter, any 

procedure that invades a body cavity and/or 

requires suturing or repairing of tissues; and/or 

any treatment of injuries or disorders of the 

body by incision, manipulation or alteration of 

organs or tissues with the hands or with 

instruments. For the purposes of this section, 

insertion of a microchip is not considered to be 

a surgical procedure. 

 

Authority S.L. 2023-63. 

 

21 NCAC 66 .1004 LICENSES AND 

REGISTRATIONS 

All operators of a boarding kennels, as defined in G.S. 90-

181(b)(1a), shall have a valid veterinary facility permit and a valid 

boarding kennel permit. 

(1) Veterinary facility permits are not transferable. 

(2) Boarding kennel permits shall be submitted 

with veterinary facility permit applications or if 

adding a boarding kennel then by completion of 

a boarding kennel application permit. The 

content of the applications shall include the 

following: 

(a) the name, physical address, phone 

number, email address and mailing 

address for the veterinary facility 

permit; 

(b) the name, address, phone number, and 

email address for the owner of the 

facility; 

(c) the hours and days the facility is open 

to the public; 

(d) the cleaning hours of the facility; 

(e) the number of enclosures and the 

maximum number of animals on site; 

(f) the description of the facility's 

program of veterinary care ('PVC') 

including the disinfection protocols; 

vaccination protocols including rabies 

vaccination; the isolation of ill or 

injured animals; the 

sale/adoption/transfer of animals; and 

the provision of routine, emergency 

and after hours veterinary care; 

(g) statement of presence of an emergency 

disaster plan for the facility; and 

(h) statement of agreement by the owner 

or authorized agent of the accuracy of 

the information contained in the 

application; of the willingness to 

comply with the rules of this section 

and to cooperate as required by law 

with the Board inspections and 

investigations; acknowledgement of 

authority to execute the application; 

and agreement to notify the Board of 

any significant change in the operation 

of the facility. 

 

Authority S.L. 2023-63. 

 

SECTION .1100 - FACILITIES AND OPERATING 

STANDARDS 

 

21 NCAC 66 .1101 GENERAL 

(a)  Housing facilities for dogs and cats shall be structurally sound 

and maintained in good repair to protect the animals from injury, 

contain the animals and restrict the entrance of other animals and 

people. 
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(b)  All light fixtures and electrical outlets in animal areas shall be 

in compliance with the State Building Code. Electrical appliances, 

light fixtures, electrical outlets, and electrical cords shall be 

located or protected in such a way that animals do not have access 

to them. 

(c)  Facilities shall have adequate electric power. 

(d)  Storage of food and bedding: 

(1) food and bedding shall be stored in cabinets 

and/or sealed containers which adequately 

protect such supplies against infestation or 

contamination by vermin and insects; 

(2) all open bags of food and edible treats shall be 

stored in airtight containers with lids; 

(3) refrigeration shall be provided for supplies of 

perishable food including opened cans of food; 

(4) clean bedding and laundry shall be: stored in 

cabinets and/or sealed containers; stored 

separately from soiled laundry and materials; 

and stored separately from general housing 

areas for animals; and 

(5) in areas housing animals being observed or 

treated for contagious disease, bedding shall 

only be stored in sealed cabinets if that clean 

laundry is dedicated solely for the use for those 

specific animals. 

(e)  The facility shall provide for the daily removal and disposal 

of animal and food waste, soiled bedding and debris from the 

facility in accordance with local ordinances, to assure the facility 

will be maintained in a clean and sanitary manner. 

(f)  Hot and cold running, potable water must be available. 

Facilities such as a washroom, basin or sink shall be provided to 

maintain cleanliness among animal caretakers, animals, and 

animal food and water receptacles. 

(g)  Each facility shall have the ability to confirm ambient 

temperature. A functional room thermometer shall be present in 

each separate area of indoor enclosures, common areas and 

exercise areas. 

(h)  A separate five-foot tall perimeter fence is required if any 

animal(s) has/have unsupervised access to an outdoor primary 

enclosure, common area, and/or exercise area. Supervision of 

animals is required for any animal(s) within any outdoor 

enclosure, common area, or exercise area without a separate five-

foot tall perimeter fence. 

(i)  An adequate drainage system must be provided for the facility. 

(j)  All areas of a facility are subject to review or inspection by the 

Board or its authorized representative during normal business 

hours (8:00 a.m. through 5:30 p.m. Monday through Friday). 

(k)  All animals in a facility are subject to the requirements of this 

section, regardless of ownership. 

(l)  A facility shall comply with all federal, state, and local laws, 

rules and ordinances relating to or affecting the welfare of dogs 

and cats in its facility. 

(m)  All persons of the facility shall be truthful with the Board 

during all phases of inspections or investigations. 

(n)  Neither an applicant for a permit or any agent of a facility may 

abuse, harass, delay, or obstruct any inspector or State official 

while inspectors or officials are attempting to discharge their 

official duties. For the purposes of this Rule, the following 

definitions apply: 

(1) "Abuse" means: 

(A) Communicating a threat as defined by 

G.S. 14-277.1; 

(B) Using profane, indecent, or 

threatening language to any person 

over the telephone, annoying or 

harassing by repeated telephoning or 

making false statements over the 

telephone as defined by G.S. 14-196; 

(C) Cyberstalking as defined by G.S. 14-

196.3; 

(D) Stalking as defined by G.S. 14-

277.3A; and/or 

(E) Disorderly conduct as defined by G.S. 

14-288.4. 

(2) "Harass" means knowingly conduct, including 

oral, written, or printed communication or 

transmission, telephone, cellular, or other 

wireless telephonic communication, facsimile 

transmission, page messages or transmissions, 

answering machine or voice mail messages or 

transmissions, electronic mail messages, or 

other computerized or electronic transmissions 

directed at a specific person that torments, 

terrorizes or terrifies that person and that serves 

no legitimate purpose. 

(o)  No dog or cat shall be in a window display except during 

business hours and then only in compliance with standards set 

forth in this Section. 

(p)  Battery operated or electrical behavioral control devices, such 

as shock collars, shock prods, or electrical fences, as well as 

pinch-collars and prong-collars, may only be used on an animal in 

a boarding kennel with the specific written consent of the owner 

of that animal. 

(q)  All facilities shall be equipped with an operational smoke 

alarm and carbon monoxide alarm and shall have a means of fire 

suppression, such as functional fire extinguishers or a sprinkler 

system on the premises. 

(r)  All licensed and registered facilities must develop and 

maintain a plan of action for the continuity of care and/or 

evacuation of animals in the event of a natural or manmade 

disaster. 

 

Authority S.L. 2023-63. 

 

21 NCAC 66 .1102 INDOOR FACILITIES 

(a)  Heating and cooling of indoor facilities: 

(1) indoor facilities for dogs and cats shall be 

adequately heated and cooled to protect the 

dogs and cats from cold and heat and provide 

for their health and comfort; 

(2) the ambient temperature shall not be allowed to 

fall below 50 degrees F or exceed 85 degrees F; 

and 

(3) special provisions shall be provided to any 

animal that cannot maintain its normal body 

temperature. These special provisions shall be 

sufficient for the animal to maintain its normal 
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body temperature and shall be documented in 

the animal's record. 

(b)  Ventilation of indoor facilities: 

(1) indoor housing facilities for dogs and cats shall 

be adequately ventilated to provide for the 

health and comfort of the animals at all times; 

the facilities shall be provided with fresh air 

either by means of windows, doors, vents 

and/or air conditioning and shall be ventilated 

so as to minimize drafts; 

(2) air vents and/or air filters shall be cleaned 

and/or changed as often as necessary to 

minimize buildup of debris, dust and biological 

material and as often as necessary to prevent 

inhibition or restriction of air flow; and 

(3) air flow shall be adequate to minimize odors 

and moisture condensation. 

(c)  Indoor housing facilities for dogs and cats shall have sufficient 

illumination to permit routine inspections, maintenance, cleaning 

and housekeeping of the facility and observation of the animals. 

Illumination shall provide regular diurnal lighting cycles of either 

natural or artificial light, uniformly diffused throughout the 

animal facilities. 

(d)  Interior building surfaces of indoor facilities with which 

animals come in contact shall be constructed and maintained so 

that they are impervious to moisture and can be readily sanitized. 

(e)  Drainage of indoor housing facility: 

(1) a suitable method of drainage shall be provided 

to rapidly eliminate excess water from an 

indoor housing facility; 

(2) if closed drain systems are used, they shall be 

equipped with traps and installed to prevent 

odors and backup of sewage; and 

(3) the drainage system shall be constructed with 

barriers adequate to protect the animals from 

cross-contamination with urine and fecal 

material from animals housed in adjacent 

and/or nearby enclosures and/or exercise areas. 

 

Authority S.L. 2023-63. 

 

21 NCAC 66 .1103 OUTDOOR FACILITIES 

(a)  In outdoor facilities that are subject to this section, primary 

enclosures, common areas and walkways with which an animal 

comes in contact: 

(1) shall have groundcover constructed of sealed 

concrete or other surfaces so long as it is 

impervious to moisture, and/or; 

(2) may use gravel for groundcover so long as it is 

maintained at a minimum depth of six inches 

and maintained in a sanitary manner as 

prescribed in Rule .1107 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Exercise areas of outdoor facilities: 

(1) shall have flooring or groundcover constructed 

of sealed concrete or other surfaces impervious 

to moisture; and/or 

(2) use gravel for groundcover so long as it is 

maintained at a minimum depth of six inches 

and kept in a sanitary manner; and/or 

(3) artificial turf may be allowed so long as it is 

adequately maintained in good repair, is 

replaced when damaged, and is cleaned and 

sanitized in accordance with 21 NCAC 66 

.1107; and/or 

(4) may contain established grass so long as the 

animal(s) do not have access to bare dirt and the 

grass covered area(s) must be kept properly 

cleaned and sanitized as prescribed in Rule 

.1107 of this section. In the event of a 

contagious disease outbreak, the sanitation, 

management, and use of the grass area shall be 

addressed in the veterinarian's written protocol 

required by 21 NCAC 66 .1109 (b) and (c). 

(c)  Sand and organic materials such as mulch, pine straw, or other 

similar non-approved material shall not be used as ground cover 

in primary enclosures, common areas, exercise areas and/or 

walkways. 

(d)  Dogs and cats in outdoor primary enclosures shall be provided 

housing to allow them to remain dry and comfortable during 

inclement weather: 

(1) housing shall be constructed of material which 

is impervious to moisture and which can be 

cleaned and sanitized in accordance with 21 

NCAC 66 .1107; 

(2) one house shall be available for each animal 

within each primary enclosure. The house(s) 

shall be of adequate size for the animal housed 

in the enclosure. In the case of a mother and her 

unweaned offspring, one house of adequate size 

to comfortably house the mother and all the 

offspring together must be provided; 

(3) housing structures in outdoor facilities must 

contain clean, dry bedding or a heat source 

when the temperature falls below 32 degrees F; 

(4) special provisions shall be provided to any 

animal that cannot maintain its normal body 

temperature when housed outside. These 

special provisions shall be adequate for the 

animal to maintain its normal body temperature 

and shall be documented in the animal's record. 

If the animal cannot maintain its normal body 

temperature even with special provisions, then 

that animal shall not be housed outside. No 

infirm animal may be housed outdoors; and 

(5) in addition to housing, the enclosure shall 

provide protection from excessive sun and 

inclement weather. 

(e)  Dogs and cats in outdoor areas shall be provided adequate 

protection from inclement weather and the sun. This protection 

shall be sufficient to protect all animals simultaneously in the 

exercise area. If an animal cannot maintain its normal body 

temperature in an outdoor exercise area, the animal shall not be 

placed in an outside exercise area. 

(f)  Outdoor common areas used for play, enrichment and 

elimination shall be maintained in good repair and be properly 

cleaned and sanitized as set forth in 21 NCAC 66 .1107 to protect 

the animals from injury and/or illness. 
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(g)  Animal owners shall be advised at the time of reservation and 

admission at a boarding kennel if the animal will be kept in 

outside facilities. This shall be documented in the animal's record. 

(h)  A suitable method of drainage shall be provided so that water 

is adequately drained from the primary enclosures, common 

areas, exercise areas and walkways and so that the animal(s) 

does/do not have access to standing water. 

 

Authority S.L. 2023-63. 

 

21 NCAC 66 .1104 PRIMARY ENCLOSURES 

(a)  Primary enclosures and exercise areas shall be constructed so 

as to prevent contamination from waste and wastewater from 

animals in other enclosures. All surfaces with which an animal 

comes in contact shall be impervious to moisture excluding the 

ground cover options of gravel and grass allowed for in Rule 

.1103 of this Section. 

(b)  For primary enclosures and exercise areas placed into service 

on or after January 1, 2005, no wood shall be within the animal's 

reach. For primary enclosures and exercise areas in use in a 

licensed or registered facility prior to January 1, 2005, any 

damaged wood shall be replaced in a manner that does not permit 

contact with wood by the animal. 

(c)  Primary enclosures and exercise areas for dogs and cats shall 

be structurally sound and maintained in good repair and in a 

manner to prevent injury to animals and keep other animals out. 

(d)  Primary enclosures shall be constructed so as to provide space 

to allow each dog or cat to walk, turn about freely, and to stand 

with their tails erect, sit, or lie in a natural position with their limbs 

extended without touching other animals within the enclosure or 

the sides or top covering of the enclosure. 

(e)  Exercise areas shall be constructed to provide adequate space 

to allow each dog or cat to run and express natural play behaviors 

typical of the species. 

(f)  The height of a primary enclosure or an exercise area other 

than a cage shall be no less than five feet tall. 

(g)  All primary enclosures and exercise areas shall be constructed 

to prevent the escape of animals. 

(h)  Each primary enclosure and exercise area shall be provided 

with a solid resting surface or surfaces adequate to comfortably 

hold all occupants of the primary enclosure and exercise area at 

the same time. All resting surfaces shall be of a non-porous or 

easily sanitized material, such as a solid floor, towel, or a 

disposable material such as newspaper. The resting surface or 

surfaces shall be elevated in primary enclosures housing two or 

more cats. 

(i)  In addition to Paragraph (b) of this Rule, each dog shall be 

provided a minimum square footage of floor space equal to the 

mathematical square of the sum of the length of the dog in inches, 

as measured from the tip of its nose to the base of its tail, plus six 

inches, then divide the product by 144. The calculation is: (length 

of dog in inches + 6) x (length of dog in inches + 6) = required 

floor space in square inches. Required floor space in square inches 

÷ 144 = required floor space in square feet. The calculation shall 

be expressed in square feet. 

(j)  Not more than four adult dogs shall be housed or confined in 

the same primary enclosure or exercise area without supervision. 

Dogs younger than six months of age shall not be housed or 

confined or comingled with adult dogs other than their dams 

without supervision; this includes any animals owned by the staff 

or operator of the facility. 

(k)  If more than four dogs including animals owned by the staff 

or operator of the facility are housed or confined in an exercise 

area or primary enclosure, then there shall be at least one person 

constantly supervising each 10 dogs housed or confined within 

each primary enclosure or exercise area. This supervision shall be 

conducted from within the exercise area or primary enclosure 

such that the person(s) has/have immediate access to the animals 

in the event of an emergency, aggression or fight between 

animals. 

(l)  Pregnant dogs and cats shall be housed singly in a primary 

enclosure. Nursing dogs and cats shall be housed only with their 

litter in a primary enclosure until the litter has been weaned. The 

primary enclosure shall be of sufficient size to allow the dam and 

all animals in the litter to walk, turn about freely, nurse, and to 

easily stand with their tails erect, sit, or lie in a natural position 

with their limbs extended without touching other animals within 

the enclosure, the sides, or top covering of the enclosure and to 

leave the whelping/queening area for exercise. 

(m)  In addition to Paragraphs (d), (e) and (h) of this Rule, each 

feline older than six months housed in any primary enclosure or 

exercise area shall be provided a minimum of four square feet of 

floor space which may include elevated resting surfaces. Each 

feline younger than six months shall be provided 1.5 square feet. 

(n)  Not more than 12 cats shall be housed or confined in the same 

primary enclosure or exercise area. 

(o)  In all cat primary enclosures and exercise areas, a clean 

receptacle containing clean litter shall be provided for waste. A 

minimum of one receptacle per three cats is required for each 

primary enclosure and exercise area. 

(p)  Pools in primary enclosures and/or exercise areas: 

(1) Whenever water in a pool is deeper than the 

height at the shoulder of the shortest dog in the 

pool area, an ingress-egress area shall be 

provided; 

(2) No dog shall have access to the pool or pool 

area other than a typical kiddie wading pool 

without supervision; 

(3) Facilities shall be constructed, maintained, and 

managed to protect animals from illness, injury, 

and death resulting from access to pools or pool 

areas; 

(4) Pools with a capacity of less than 100 gallons 

shall have the water changed and be cleaned 

and sanitized daily. Pools with a capacity of 100 

gallons or more shall have commercially 

manufactured filtration and cleaning systems 

installed and the manufacturer 

recommendations followed for cleaning, 

sanitation and water quality; and 

(5) Typical kiddie wading pools are to be 

considered accessories for the purposes of 

cleaning, sanitation, repair and maintenance. 

 

Authority S.L. 2023-63. 
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21 NCAC 66 .1105 FEEDING 

(a)  Adult dogs and cats and puppies and kittens older than six 

months shall be fed at least once each 24-hour period. 

(b)  Puppies and kittens less than six months of age shall be fed at 

least twice in each 24-hour period. An eight-hour interval between 

feedings is required if only two feedings are offered in a 24-hour 

period. 

(c)  Should a veterinarian prescribe a feeding regime different 

from the ones described in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule for 

a specific animal, documentation of such veterinary care is 

required and shall include: 

(1) the original veterinary directive signed by the 

veterinarian issuing it; 

(2) the printed name of the veterinarian; 

(3) the reason for the restriction; 

(4) the specific feeding directions; 

(5) the origination and review dates of the 

directive; 

(6) the facility shall have the veterinarian review 

and renew the directive every 30 days until it is 

no longer required; 

(7) the date of the cessation of the directive; and 

(8) documentation by the facility of each feeding as 

prescribed by the veterinarian. 

(d)  Food shall be commercially prepared food which complies 

with laws applicable to animal feed or the food shall be provided 

by the owner. 

(e)  The food shall be free from contamination, wholesome, 

palatable, and of sufficient quality and quantity appropriate of the 

given size, age, and condition of an animal to meet the daily 

requirements for nutritional value. 

(f)  Food receptacles shall be accessible to all dogs or cats and 

shall be located so as to minimize contamination by waste. 

(g)  For every adult animal, there shall be at least one food 

receptacle offered. When multiple animals are housed together, 

caretakers shall observe each animal feeding to ensure that each 

animal receives adequate feed. 

(h)  Food receptacles shall be durable and shall be kept clean and 

sanitized. 

(i)  Uneaten food within food receptacles shall be discarded within 

24 hours or sooner if spoiled or contaminated. 

(j)  Damaged food receptacles shall be replaced. Disposable food 

receptacles may be used but shall be discarded after each feeding. 

(k)  Food and water receptacles in outdoor facilities shall be 

protected from the elements. 

(l)  This Rule is applicable only to animals identified within this 

section. 

 

Authority S.L. 2023-63. 

 

21 NCAC 66 .1106 WATERING 

(a)  Animals shall have continuous access to fresh, potable water, 

except as might otherwise be required to provide adequate 

veterinary care. 

(b)  Veterinary care for a specific animal that requires water to be 

withheld, given in intervals, or any variation other than 

continuous access by an animal can only be prescribed by a 

veterinarian and shall be documented in writing by the facility. 

The documentation shall include: 

(1) the original veterinary directive signed by the 

veterinarian issuing it; 

(2) the printed name of the veterinarian; 

(3) the reason for the restriction; 

(4) the specific watering directions; 

(5) the origination and review dates of the 

directive; 

(6) the facility shall have the veterinarian review 

and renew this directive every 30 days until it is 

no longer required; 

(7) the date of the cessation of the directive; and 

(8) documentation by the facility of each watering 

as prescribed by the veterinarian. 

(c)  Water in receptacles shall be changed daily and whenever 

visibly soiled. 

(d)  Watering receptacles shall be durable and kept clean and 

sanitized. 

(e)  Damaged receptacles shall be replaced. 

 

Authority S.L. 2023-63. 

 

21 NCAC 66 .1107 SANITATION 

(a)  Waste shall be removed from primary enclosures, exercise 

areas and common areas to prevent contamination of the dogs or 

cats contained therein and to reduce disease hazards and odors. 

Enclosures and exercise areas for dogs and cats shall be properly 

cleaned a minimum of two times per day. The animal must be able 

to walk or lie down without coming in contact with any waste or 

debris. 

(b)  When a hosing or flushing method is used for cleaning an 

enclosure, dogs or cats contained therein shall be removed during 

the cleaning process, and adequate measures shall be taken to 

protect the animals in clean enclosures from being contaminated 

with water and other wastes. 

(c)  Cross contamination barriers shall be in place in primary 

enclosures and be sufficient to prevent feces, urine and cleaning 

waste water from entering another occupied primary enclosure. 

(d)  Sanitation shall be as follows: 

(1) prior to the introduction of dogs or cats into 

empty primary enclosures previously occupied, 

enclosures and accessories shall be sanitized in 

the manner provided in Subparagraph (d)(3) of 

this Rule; 

(2) in addition to primary enclosures being 

properly cleaned a minimum of two times per 

day, enclosures and accessories shall be 

sanitized a minimum of once every seven days 

in the manner provided in Subparagraph (d)(3) 

of this Rule if the same animal is housed in the 

same enclosure for seven or more days; 

(3) primary enclosures, cages, rooms, 

hard-surfaced or artificial turf exercise areas, 

pens, and runs shall be sanitized by: 

(A) washing them with hot water (180 

degrees F.) and soap or detergent as in 

a mechanical cage washer; or 

(B) removal of visible organic matter, 

precleaning all soiled surfaces with a 

detergent or degreaser solution, 
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followed by the application, at the 

correct concentration, of an animal-

safe disinfectant labeled to be 

effective against common pathogens. 

The disinfectant is to be left on the 

surfaces for the time indicated by the 

manufacturer. After such time, all 

surfaces shall be thoroughly rinsed to 

remove all residual chemicals and then 

the area dried prior to returning the 

animal(s) to this area; or 

(C) cleaning all soiled surfaces with live 

steam. The area is to be cooled and 

dried prior to the return of the 

animal(s). 

(4) common areas, any area accessible to multiple 

animals and exercise areas not covered by 21 

NCAC 66 .1107(d)(3) shall be kept clean and 

sanitary. These areas are to be properly cleaned 

a minimum of two times per day. Hard and/or 

impervious surfaces of these areas shall be 

sanitized a minimum of once every seven days 

in the manner provided in Subparagraph (d)(3) 

of this Rule; 

(5) food and water receptacles shall be sanitized 

daily with hot water, detergent, and 

disinfectant. The disinfectant shall be used 

consistent with the manufacturer's directions; 

(6) soiled linens and cloth products shall be 

mechanically washed with detergent and 

sanitized; 

(7) any area accessible to multiple animals shall be 

kept clean and sanitary; and 

(8) fans, including floor fans, ceiling fans, wall 

fans, vent fans, etc. shall be kept clean of 

accumulated debris, dust and biological 

material. 

(e)  Premises (buildings and grounds) shall be kept clean and in 

good repair in order to protect the animals from injury and to 

facilitate the prescribed husbandry practices set forth in this Rule. 

Premises shall remain free of accumulations of trash, junk, waste 

products, and discarded matter. Weeds, grasses, and bushes must 

be controlled so as to facilitate cleaning of the premises and to 

improve pest control, and to protect the health and well-being of 

the animals. 

(f)  An effective program for the control of insects, ectoparasites, 

and avian and mammalian pests shall be established and 

maintained. 

 

Authority S.L. 2023-63. 

 

21 NCAC 66 .1108 CLASSIFICATION AND 

SEPARATION 

Animals housed in the same primary enclosure or confined to an 

exercise area shall be maintained in compatible groups, with the 

following additional restrictions: 

(1) Females in season (estrus) shall not be housed 

in the same primary enclosure or exercise area 

with intact or neutered males, except for 

planned breeding purposes. Breeding shall not 

be allowed in animal shelters. 

(2) In boarding kennels, animals of different 

owners shall not have contact with other 

animals, unless written permission is obtained 

from the animal's owner. The documentation of 

this written permission shall be kept as part of 

the animal's record for one year and must be 

renewed yearly thereafter. 

(3) Any dog or cat exhibiting an aggressive 

disposition shall be housed individually in a 

primary enclosure. Housing of aggressive 

animals shall be such that the animals are 

prevented from biting or injuring another 

animal or human. 

(4) Puppies or kittens less than six months of age 

shall not be housed in the same primary 

enclosure with adult dogs or cats other than 

their dams, except when permanently 

maintained in breeding colonies, or if requested 

in writing, by the animals' owner, as in a 

boarding kennel. Puppies or kittens between 

four and 16 weeks of age shall have daily access 

to human social interaction in addition to the 

human interaction during the cleaning and 

sanitation of the enclosures, excluding animals 

which pose a danger to humans or other 

animals. 

(5) Dogs shall not be housed in the same primary 

enclosure or exercise areas with cats, nor shall 

dogs or cats be housed in the same primary 

enclosure or exercise areas with any other 

species of animals. Exceptions are allowed at 

boarding kennels, if requested in writing by the 

animals' owner. 

(6) All facilities shall designate an isolation area 

for animals being treated or observed for 

communicable diseases. Dogs or cats in 

isolation that are being treated for a 

communicable disease shall be separated from 

other dogs or cats and other susceptible species 

of animals in such a manner as to minimize 

dissemination of such disease. A sign shall be 

posted at the cage or isolation area when in use, 

giving notice of a communicable disease, 

including the identification of the disease. 

Accessories, cleaning equipment and supplies 

used in isolation areas shall not be used in other 

areas of the facility. 

(7) Animals in long term care must be provided 

with human interaction other than interaction 

for enclosure cleaning, same species social 

interaction, opportunity for play and exercise, 

and environmental enrichment daily. The 

provision of these daily interactions and 

enrichment shall be adequate for the animal's 

species, age, size and behavior needs. In 

addition: 
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(a) The provision of the daily social 

interactions and enrichment shall be 

documented in the animal's records 

and the records maintained for three 

years; and 

(b) Exemptions from these long-term care 

provisions are allowed only for safety 

or health reasons and must be 

approved by a veterinarian. This 

exemption must be reviewed and 

renewed every 30 days if the 

continuation is necessary. 

Documentation of the exemption must 

include the reason for the exemption, 

the name and contact information of 

the veterinarian authorizing the 

exemption, the original exemption 

date and the dates of review and 

renewal and alternative(s) offered if 

any. 

(8) All animals shall be confined in primary 

enclosures or exercise areas. Primary 

enclosures and exercise areas shall be inspected 

by the Animal Welfare Section and in 

compliance with the rules of this Subchapter 

before an animal can be confined in the 

enclosure or area. 

 

Authority S.L. 2023-63. 

 

21 NCAC 66 .1109 VETERINARY CARE 

(a)  A written program of veterinary care ('PVC') to include 

disease control and prevention, vaccination, euthanasia, 

disposition of diseased, ill, injured, infirm or deformed animals, 

and provision of adequate routine and emergency veterinary care 

shall be established by the owner and supervising veterinarian. 

The following is required of each PVC: 

(1) The PVC for boarding kennels shall be 

submitted as part of the application and must be 

approved by the Board; 

(2) The facility shall implement and follow the 

PVC; and 

(3) Changes to the PVC shall be submitted for 

approval to the Board within 10 days of the 

effective date. 

(b)  If there is an infectious disease outbreak that persists for more 

than seven days at the facility, the facility owner shall consult with 

a veterinarian for procedures to mitigate the problem. This 

consultation shall be documented by the facility. 

(c)  If there is a disease problem that persists for more than 30 

days at the facility, the facility operator shall obtain and follow a 

veterinarian's written recommendations for correcting the 

problem. These recommendations shall include, at a minimum: 

sanitation of primary enclosures, common areas, exercise areas 

and accessories, and protocols for animal intake, evaluation, 

isolation, disease recognition and treatment and euthanasia. 

(d)  Each dog and cat shall be observed daily by the animal 

caretaker who has been adequately trained or is experienced in 

animal care or is under the direct supervision of a person who has 

such training or experience. Sick or diseased, injured, lame, or 

blind dogs or cats shall be provided with adequate veterinary care 

in a timely manner or be euthanized, provided that the euthanasia 

shall not affect compliance with any state or local law requiring 

the holding, for a specified period, of animals suspected of being 

diseased. If an animal cannot be euthanized due to a required 

holding period, then adequate veterinary care shall be provided to 

the animal. 

(e)  Full written disclosure of the medical condition of the animal 

and all veterinary medical treatments provided to the animal shall 

be provided to the person or organization receiving, adopting, 

purchasing or otherwise acquiring the animal. Proof of written 

disclosure signed by the person or organization receiving the 

animal shall be maintained as part of the animal's medical record. 

(f)  All animals in a facility shall be in compliance with the North 

Carolina rabies law, G.S. 130A, Article 6, Part 6.  

(g)  Boarding kennels shall not administer a prescription 

medication, tranquilizer, sedative, or any pharmaceutical drug 

designed to calm an animal unless the medication or drug is 

administered under the direction of or by prescription from the 

animal's veterinarian, and written permission from the animal's 

owner. In the event a boarding kennel agrees to administer such 

medications or substances, the medications shall be in the original 

container issued by the veterinarian or pharmacy and 

administered according to label directions. The administration of 

these medications or substances shall be documented as required 

by 21 NCAC 66 .1001. 

 

Authority S.L. 2023-63. 

 

21 NCAC 66 .1110 DISCIPLINE OF BOARDING 

KENNEL PERMITS 

(a)  The Board shall investigate any complaint within its 

jurisdiction. The investigation and any resulting hearings shall be 

conducted pursuant to Sections .0600 and .0700 of the Chapter. 

Following an investigation and the boarding kennel permittee's 

opportunity to be heard, the Board may: 

(1) revoke or suspend a boarding kennel permit 

issued under this Chapter; 

(2) discipline the boarding kennel permittee 

permitted under this Chapter in accordance with 

the disciplinary measures set forth in Sections 

.0600 and .0700 of this Chapter; 

(3) deny a boarding kennel permit required by G.S. 

90-186(8) and the rules of this Chapter based on 

violations of Board Rules including but not 

limited to Rules .1000 - .1009 of this Chapter. 

For the purpose of this Rule, references to licensee or registrant in 

the provisions of Sections .0600 and .0700 of this Chapter are 

treated as references to owner and permittee. References to license 

are treated as references to boarding kennel permit. 

(b)  The Board may suspend, revoke, or deny issuance of a 

boarding kennel permit, without hearing, if: 

(1) A veterinary facility has not had a supervising 

veterinarian or an interim supervising 

veterinarian serving in that capacity for more 

than five business days. 

(2) The Board obtains a summary emergency order 

pursuant to the provisions of G.S. 90-186(3). 
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(3) The owners of the veterinary facility have failed 

to notify the Board after 10 business days of a 

change in ownership of the facility or change in 

the supervising veterinarian. 

(c)  A boarding kennel permittee shall cease to operate a 

veterinary facility as of the date the Board notifies the boarding 

kennel permittee of the revocation of his or her boarding kennel 

permit. Within 24 hours of receiving notification of revocation, a 

boarding kennel permittee shall display the following information 

at the boarding kennel and through any existing medium of 

communication with the public, such as social media, a telephone 

answering system, or boarding kennel website: 

(1) information that the boarding kennel is closed; 

(2) the means by which clients may obtain their 

animal's medical records; and 

(3) notice of the Board's revocation of the boarding 

kennel permit. 

 

Authority S.L. 2023-63. 
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Denials of Public Offices 18 NCAC 07B .0705 38:09 NCR 

Resignations from Public Offices 18 NCAC 07B .0706* 38:09 NCR 

Disciplinary Action Involving a Public Office 18 NCAC 07B .0707 38:09 NCR 

Scope 18 NCAC 07C .0101* 38:09 NCR 

Definitions Related to Application and Recommissioning Pr... 18 NCAC 07C .0102 38:09 NCR 

Initial Application 18 NCAC 07C .0201* 38:09 NCR 

Timing 18 NCAC 07C .0202* 38:09 NCR 

Requirements for Applicants Residing Outside North Carolina 18 NCAC 07C .0203* 38:09 NCR 

Additional Requirements for Applicants Listing Convictions 18 NCAC 07C .0204* 38:09 NCR 

Requirements for Applicant with Pending Criminal Charges 18 NCAC 07C .0205 38:09 NCR 

Requirements for Applicants Regarding Professional Licens... 18 NCAC 07C .0206* 38:09 NCR 

Findings or Admissions of Liability Based on the Applican... 18 NCAC 07C .0207* 38:09 NCR 

Findings that the Applicant Engaged in Official Misconduct 18 NCAC 07C .0208* 38:09 NCR 

Findings of Unauthorized Practice of Law 18 NCAC 07C .0209* 38:09 NCR 

Finding of False or Misleading Advertising 18 NCAC 07C .0210* 38:09 NCR 

Courses Taught by Certified Notary Instructors 18 NCAC 07C .0301* 38:09 NCR 

Presentation of Satisfactory Evidence of Identity in Conn... 18 NCAC 07C .0303 38:09 NCR 

Satisfactory Evidence Presented to Instructor 18 NCAC 07C .0304 38:09 NCR 

Retesting 18 NCAC 07C .0305* 38:09 NCR 

Appointment 18 NCAC 07C .0401* 38:09 NCR 

Issuance of Certificates 18 NCAC 07C .0402* 38:09 NCR 

Notice to Appointee 18 NCAC 07C .0403 38:09 NCR 

Commission Certificate 18 NCAC 07C .0404 38:09 NCR 

Satisfactory Evidence of Identity 18 NCAC 07C .0405 38:09 NCR 

Register of Deeds 18 NCAC 07C .0406* 38:09 NCR 

Performing Traditional Notarial Acts 18 NCAC 07C .0407* 38:09 NCR 

Term of Commission 18 NCAC 07C .0409* 38:09 NCR 

Term of Reappointment Commission 18 NCAC 07C .0410* 38:09 NCR 

Notarial Acts Prohibited During Gaps Between Commission T... 18 NCAC 07C .0411* 38:09 NCR 

Late Application 18 NCAC 07C .0502* 38:09 NCR 

Application After Recommissioning Denial Based on Failing... 18 NCAC 07C .0504* 38:09 NCR 

Application for Recommissioning within 12 months of Commi... 18 NCAC 07C .0505* 38:09 NCR 

Recommissioning Educational Requirement 18 NCAC 07C .0506* 38:09 NCR 
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Cancellation of Commission 18 NCAC 07C .0508 38:09 NCR 

Rescind Cancellation of Certificate of Appointment 18 NCAC 07C .0509* 38:09 NCR 

Confirmation of Notary Status 18 NCAC 07C .0510 38:09 NCR 

Application Steps for Recommissioning 18 NCAC 07C .0601* 38:09 NCR 

Method of Taking Recommissioning Exam 18 NCAC 07C .0602 38:09 NCR 

Course as Alternative to Recommissioning Exam 18 NCAC 07C .0603* 38:09 NCR 

Exam Length and Passing Score 18 NCAC 07C .0604* 38:09 NCR 

Retaking Recommissioning Exam after Failure 18 NCAC 07C .0605 38:09 NCR 

Failure to Pass Exam within 30 Days 18 NCAC 07C .0606* 38:09 NCR 

Individual Who Fails to Seek Recommissioning within One Year 18 NCAC 07C .0607* 38:09 NCR 

Attorney Application for Initial Appointment 18 NCAC 07C .0701* 38:09 NCR 

Recommissioning of Attorney Notaries 18 NCAC 07C .0702* 38:09 NCR 

Attorneys who Fail to Take Notarial Oath Timely 18 NCAC 07C .0703* 38:09 NCR 

Attorneys Seeking Registration or Reregistration as Elect... 18 NCAC 07C .0704* 38:09 NCR 

Scope 18 NCAC 07D .0101* 38:09 NCR 

Response to Department Requests 18 NCAC 07D .0102* 38:09 NCR 

Extension Request to Department 18 NCAC 07D .0103* 38:09 NCR 

Department Response to Extension Request 18 NCAC 07D .0104 38:09 NCR 

Obligation to Give Notice of Changes in Primary Information 18 NCAC 07D .0301* 38:09 NCR 

Notice to Department of Pending Criminal Charges 18 NCAC 07D .0302* 38:09 NCR 

Notice to Department of Criminal Charge Disposition 18 NCAC 07D .0303* 38:09 NCR 

Notice to Department of Findings or Admissions of Deceit 18 NCAC 07D .0304* 38:09 NCR 

Notice to Department of Changes to Professional License, ... 18 NCAC 07D .0305* 38:09 NCR 

Notice to Department of Official Misconduct 18 NCAC 07D .0306* 38:09 NCR 

Notice to Department of False or Misleading Advertising 18 NCAC 07D .0307* 38:09 NCR 

Notice to Department Regarding Unauthorized Practice of Law 18 NCAC 07D .0308* 38:09 NCR 

Instructor Certification - Scope and Definitions 18 NCAC 07E .0101 38:09 NCR 

Conditions for Becoming Notary Instructor 18 NCAC 07E .0102* 38:09 NCR 

Nomination by Eligible Institution 18 NCAC 07E .0103* 38:09 NCR 

Exemption and Failure to Pay 18 NCAC 07E .0104* 38:09 NCR 

General Requirements 18 NCAC 07E .0105* 38:09 NCR 

Mandatory Department Denial of Instructor Application 18 NCAC 07E .0106* 38:09 NCR 

Department Rejections of Applications 18 NCAC 07E .0107 38:09 NCR 

Verification that Instructor Applicant Continues to Meet ... 18 NCAC 07E .0108* 38:09 NCR 

Change in Instructor's Eligible Institution 18 NCAC 07E .0109 38:09 NCR 

Other Verifications 18 NCAC 07E .0111 38:09 NCR 

Recommendations 18 NCAC 07E .0112 38:09 NCR 

Instructors as Registered Electronic Notaries 18 NCAC 07E .0113 38:09 NCR 

Evidence of Active Experience as a Notary 18 NCAC 07E .0201* 38:09 NCR 

Journal as Evidence of Active Experience 18 NCAC 07E .0202* 38:09 NCR 

Minimum Contents of Notary Journal Submitted as Evidence ... 18 NCAC 07E .0204* 38:09 NCR 

Employer Affidavit as Evidence of Experience 18 NCAC 07E .0205* 38:09 NCR 

Employer Affidavit Regarding Notarial Acts for Employer 18 NCAC 07E .0206 38:09 NCR 

Employer Affidavit May Include Recommendation 18 NCAC 07E .0207* 38:09 NCR 

Submittal of Employer Affidavit as Evidence of Experience 18 NCAC 07E .0209 38:09 NCR 

Alternative Affidavits as Evidence of Experience 18 NCAC 07E .0212* 38:09 NCR 

Affidavit of Experience from Nonfamily Member 18 NCAC 07E .0213* 38:09 NCR 
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Alternative Evidence of Affidavit from Instructor Applicant 18 NCAC 07E .0214* 38:09 NCR 

Instructor Course Requirement 18 NCAC 07E .0301 38:09 NCR 

Notary Instructor Certification and Recertification Exam ... 18 NCAC 07E .0302 38:09 NCR 

Oral Presentation Requirement for Instructor Applicant 18 NCAC 07E .0303* 38:09 NCR 

Notary Instructor Oral Presentation Passing Score 18 NCAC 07E .0304 38:09 NCR 

Factors Relating to Voice 18 NCAC 07E .0306 38:09 NCR 

Factors Relating to Verbal Skill 18 NCAC 07E .0307 38:09 NCR 

Factors Relating to Physical Appearance and Mannerisms 18 NCAC 07E .0308 38:09 NCR 

Factors Relating to Professional Qualities of the Instructor 18 NCAC 07E .0309* 38:09 NCR 

Factors Relating to Selection and Use of Training Aids 18 NCAC 07E .0310* 38:09 NCR 

Factors Relating to Sequence 18 NCAC 07E .0311 38:09 NCR 

Factors Relating to Emphasis, Examples, and Summarization 18 NCAC 07E .0312 38:09 NCR 

Retaking Written Certification or Recertification Exam 18 NCAC 07E .0401 38:09 NCR 

Consequence of Failing to Pass Written Instructor Exam 18 NCAC 07E .0402 38:09 NCR 

Scheduling Additional Oral Presentation Upon Failure+ 18 NCAC 07E .0403 38:09 NCR 

Repeat Oral Presentation 18 NCAC 07E .0404 38:09 NCR 

Evaluation of Repeat Oral Presentation 18 NCAC 07E .0405 38:09 NCR 

Consequence of Failing to Pass Second Oral Presentation 18 NCAC 07E .0406 38:09 NCR 

Consequence of Failing to Recertify 18 NCAC 07E .0407 38:09 NCR 

Minimum Instructional Duties of Certified Notary Instructors 18 NCAC 07E .0601 38:09 NCR 

Adherence to Curriculum 18 NCAC 07E .0602 38:09 NCR 

Proctoring Exam 18 NCAC 07E .0603* 38:09 NCR 

Submission of Grades to Department 18 NCAC 07E .0604* 38:09 NCR 

Reporting Suspected Cheating 18 NCAC 07E .0605* 38:09 NCR 

Response to Complaints 18 NCAC 07E .0701* 38:09 NCR 

Instructor Conduct 18 NCAC 07E .0702 38:09 NCR 

Request for Variance from Approved Instructional Aids 18 NCAC 07E .0801* 38:09 NCR 

Variance Request - Exemplar Required 18 NCAC 07E .0802* 38:09 NCR 

Variance Request - Explanation of Value 18 NCAC 07E .0803* 38:09 NCR 

Variance Request - Approval of Criteria 18 NCAC 07E .0804* 38:09 NCR 

Prerequisite for Instructor Application Signature 18 NCAC 07E .0901* 38:09 NCR 

Instructor Verification of Student Name 18 NCAC 07E .0902* 38:09 NCR 

Retesting Students Who Fail Notary Course Exam 18 NCAC 07E .0903 38:09 NCR 

Notice to Department of Retesting 18 NCAC 07E .0904* 38:09 NCR 

Student Evaluations of Instructors 18 NCAC 07E .1001 38:09 NCR 

Departmental Use of Student Evaluations 18 NCAC 07E .1002* 38:09 NCR 

Ineligibility for Recertification as Notary Instructor 18 NCAC 07E .1101* 38:09 NCR 

Notary Public Instructor Recertification Requirements 18 NCAC 07E .1102 38:09 NCR 

Notary Instructor Certification Equivalence 18 NCAC 07E .1103 38:09 NCR 

Notary Instructor Recertification Course Oral Presentation 18 NCAC 07E .1104* 38:09 NCR 

Notary Instructor with Lapse in Certification 18 NCAC 07E .1105* 38:09 NCR 

Application Denial - Failure to Notify Department of Changes 18 NCAC 07E .1202* 38:09 NCR 

Application Denial - Termination for Cause 18 NCAC 07E .1203* 38:09 NCR 

Application Denial - Failure to Submit Exam Grades 18 NCAC 07E .1204* 38:09 NCR 

Application Denial - Disciplinary Action 18 NCAC 07E .1205* 38:09 NCR 
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TITLE 09 - OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR AND LT. 

GOVERNOR 

 

09 NCAC 03M .0101 PURPOSE 

Pursuant to G.S. 143C-6-23, the rules in this Subchapter establish 

reporting requirements for non-State entities that receive, hold, 

use, or expend grants and ensure the uniform administration of 

grant funds by all State agencies, recipients, and subrecipients. 

The requirements of this subchapter shall not apply to: 

(1) Grants to non-State entities subject to the audit 

and other reporting requirements of the Local 

Government Commission. 

(2) Tuition assistance to students. 

(3) Public assistance payments from Federal 

entitlement programs to or on behalf of enrolled 

individuals. 

(4) State funds disbursed to a contractor as defined 

in this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143C-6-22; 143C-6-23; 

Eff. July 1, 2005; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 25, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024; July 1, 2016. 

 

09 NCAC 03M .0102 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 143C-6-23 and G.S. 

143C-1-1, the following definitions shall apply to this Subchapter: 

(1) "Agency" means every public office, public 

officer or official (State or local, elected or 

appointed), institution, board, commission, 

bureau, council, department, authority, or other 

unit of government of the State or of any 

county, unit, special district, or other political 

subdivision of state or local government. 

(2) "Audit" means an examination of records or 

financial accounts to verify their accuracy. 

(3) "Beneficiary" means an individual receiving 

the funds or assistance as the end user. 

(4) "Compliance Supplement" refers to the North 

Carolina State Compliance Supplement, 

maintained by the State and Local Government 

Finance Division of the North Carolina 

Department of State Treasurer that has been 

developed in cooperation with agencies to assist 

the local auditor in identifying program 

compliance requirements and audit procedures 

for testing those requirements. 

(5) "Contract" means a legal instrument including 

any amendments used to document a 

relationship between the agency and a recipient 

or between a recipient and subrecipient. 

(6) "Contractor" means an entity subject to the 

contractor requirements, as well as any entity 

that would be subject to the contractor 

requirements but for a specific statute or rule 

exempting that entity from the contractor 

requirements. 

(7) "Contractor requirements" means Article 3, 3C, 

3D, 3E, 3G, or 8 of Chapter 143 of the General 

Statutes and related rules. 

(8) "Fiscal Year" means the annual operating year 

of the non-State entity. 

(9) "Financial Statement" means a report providing 

financial data relative to a given part of an 

organization's operations or status. 

(10) "Grants" or "Grant funds" means State funds 

disbursed as a grant, cooperative agreement, 

non-cash contribution, food commodities, or 

direct appropriation, to a recipient or 

subrecipient as defined in this Rule. 

(11) "Monitoring plan" means a documented system 

of educating, reviewing, tracking, and reporting 

on the use of grant funds. Designed to assure 

that public funds are spent in compliance with 

applicable rules and statutes, and that 

performance expectations are being achieved. 

(12) "Non-State Entity" has the meaning in G.S. 

143C-1-1(d)(18). 

(13) "Program-specific audit" means an audit that 

includes an examination of financial 

statements, internal controls, and compliance 

with the requirements and contract clauses for 

an individual State award. 

(14) "Recipient" means a non-State entity that 

receives grants directly from a State agency to 

carry out part of a State program, but does not 

include any non-State entity subject to the audit 

and other reporting requirements of the Local 

Government Commission. For purposes of this 

Subchapter, "recipient" also includes a non-

State entity that would be considered a 

"subrecipient" pursuant to 2 CFR 200.93 for 

Federal funds subawarded by a recipient State 

agency, but does not include a subrecipient as 

defined in Item (17) of this Rule. 2 CFR 200.93 

is herein incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions, and is 

available in electronic form free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov. 

(15) "Single Audit" means an audit that includes an 

examination of an organization's financial 

statements, internal controls, and compliance 

with the requirements of Federal or State 

awards. 

(16) "State Funds" means any funds appropriated by 

the North Carolina General Assembly or 

collected by the State of North Carolina. State 

funds include federal financial assistance 

received by the State and transferred or 

disbursed to non-State entities. Both Federal 

and State funds maintain their identity as they 

are disbursed as financial assistance to other 

organizations. 

(17) "Subrecipient" means a non-State entity that 

receives grants from a recipient to carry out part 

of a State program; but does not include a 
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beneficiary of such program. This definition of 

"subrecipient" applies throughout these Rules, 

except as used in Item (14) of this Rule. 

(18) "Suspension of Funding list" means a database 

maintained and distributed by Office of State 

Budget and Management in consultation with 

State agencies designating grantees or 

subgrantees in a state of non-compliance with 

grant agreement requirements in accordance 

with 09 NCAC 03M .0801. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143C-6-22; 143C-6-23; 

Eff. July 1, 2005; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 25, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024; July 1, 2016. 

 

09 NCAC 03M .0201 ALLOWABLE USES OF 

GRANTS 

Expenditures of grants by any recipient or subrecipient shall be in 

accordance with the cost principles outlined in the Code of 

Federal Regulations, 2 CFR, Part 200. If the grants include federal 

sources, the recipient or subrecipient shall ensure adherence to the 

cost principles established in the Code of Federal Regulations, 2 

CFR, Part 200. 2 CFR, Part 200 is herein incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions, and is 

available in electronic form free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143C-6-22; 143C-6-23; 

Eff. July 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

09 NCAC 03M .0205 MINIMUM REPORTING 

REQUIREMENTS FOR RECIPIENTS AND 

SUBRECIPIENTS 

(a)  For the purposes of this Subchapter, there are two reporting 

levels established for recipients and subrecipients receiving 

grants. Reporting levels are based on the allocated funds from all 

grants disbursed through the State of North Carolina. The 

reporting levels are: 

(1) Level I – A recipient or subrecipient that 

receives, holds, uses, or expends grants in an 

amount less than the dollar amount requiring 

audit as listed in the Code of Federal 

Regulations 2 CFR 200.501(a) within its fiscal 

year. The dollar amount requiring audit listed in 

2 CFR 200.501(a) is herein incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments 

and editions, and can be accessed free of charge 

at https://www.ecfr.gov/. 

(2) Level II - A recipient or subrecipient that 

receives, holds, uses, or expends grants in an 

amount equal to or greater than the dollar 

amount requiring audit as listed in 2 CFR 

200.501(a) within its fiscal year. The dollar 

amount requiring audit listed in 2 CFR 

200.501(a) is herein incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions, 

and can be accessed free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/. 

(b)  Agencies shall require recipients to meet the following 

reporting standards on an annual basis: 

(1) All recipients and subrecipients shall provide to 

the distributing agency a certification that 

grants received or held were used for the 

purposes for which the grants were awarded. 

(2) All recipients and subrecipients shall provide an 

accounting to the distributing agency of all 

grants received, held, used, or expended. 

(3) All recipients and subrecipients shall report on 

activities and accomplishments undertaken by 

the recipient, including reporting on any 

performance measures established in the 

contract. 

(4) Level II recipients and subrecipients shall have 

a single or program-specific audit prepared and 

completed in accordance with Generally 

Accepted Government Auditing Standards, also 

known as the Yellow Book, which is herein 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions, and can 

be accessed free of charge at 

https://www.gao.gov/yellowbook. 

(c)  All reports shall be filed with the disbursing agency in the 

format and method specified by the agency no later than three 

months after the end of the recipient's fiscal year, unless the same 

information is already required through more frequent reporting. 

Audits shall be provided to the funding agency no later than nine 

months after the end of the recipient's fiscal year. 

(d)  Agency-established reporting requirements to meet the 

standards set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be specified 

in each recipient's contract. 

(e)  Unless prohibited by law, the costs of audits made in 

accordance with the provisions of this Rule shall be allowable 

charges to State and Federal awards. The charges may be 

considered a direct cost or an allocated indirect cost, as 

determined in accordance with cost principles outlined in the 

Code of Federal Regulations, 2 CFR Part 200, which is herein 

incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and 

editions, and can be accessed free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov. The cost of any audit not conducted in 

accordance with this Subchapter shall not be charged to State 

awards. 

(f)  Notwithstanding the provisions of this Subchapter, a recipient 

may satisfy the reporting requirements of Subparagraph (b)(4) of 

this Rule by submitting a copy of the report required under federal 

law with respect to the same funds. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143C-6-22; 143C-6-23; 

Eff. July 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 
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09 NCAC 03M .0401 AGENCY RESPONSIBILITIES 

(a)  An agency that receives State funds and disburses those funds 

as grant funds to a recipient shall: 

(1) Notify each recipient, at the time the grant 

award is made, of the purpose of the award and 

the reporting requirements established in this 

Subchapter. 

(2) Prior to disbursing any grant funds: 

(A) Register each State assistance program 

with the Office of State Budget and 

Management using the NC Grants 

Management System which can be 

accessed at https://www.osbm.nc.gov. 

Information required to register 

includes program ID and description, 

program name, and funding year. 

(B) Execute a contract with the recipient 

that complies with the requirements of 

this Subchapter. 

(C) Report each individual award to the 

Office of State Budget and 

Management using the NC Grants 

Management System which can be 

accessed at https://www.osbm.nc.gov. 

Information required to report 

includes CRIS program ID, award 

date, completion date, award amount, 

and program name. 

(D) Follow the procedures for 

disbursement of grant funds. 

(3) Develop compliance supplement reports that 

describe standards of compliance and audit 

procedures to give direction to independent 

auditors. This report shall be provided to the 

State and Local Government Finance Division 

in the North Carolina Department of State 

Treasurer for inclusion in the North Carolina 

State Compliance Supplement. 

(4) Develop a monitoring plan for each State 

assistance program the agency oversees and 

gain approval of the plan by the Office of State 

Budget and Management. Monitoring plans 

will be evaluated based on plan elements 

including programs covered, education and 

technical assistance, risk assessment 

framework, monitoring procedures, non-

compliance procedures, and closeout of award 

procedures. 

(5) Perform monitoring and oversight functions as 

specified in agency monitoring plans to ensure 

that grant funds are used for authorized 

purposes in compliance with laws, regulations, 

and the provisions of contracts, and that 

performance goals are achieved. 

(6) Ensure that grant funds are spent consistent 

with the purposes for which it was awarded. 

(7) Determine that reporting requirements have 

been met by the recipient and that all reports 

have been completed and submitted in 

accordance with the recipient's contract. 

(8) Monitor compliance by recipients with all terms 

of a contract. Upon determination of 

noncompliance the agency shall take action as 

specified in Section .0800 of this Subchapter. 

(9) Require agency internal auditors to conduct 

periodic audits of agency compliance with 

requirements of this Subchapter. 

(10) Provide all requested documentation when 

subject to an audit of compliance with the 

requirements of this Subchapter. Audits may be 

conducted by the Office of State Budget and 

Management, the Office of the State Auditor, or 

the agency's internal auditor. 

(11) Notify the Office of State Budget and 

Management when a recipient is not compliant 

with the requirements set forth in this 

Subchapter or the terms of their contract such 

that the recipient should be added to the 

Suspension of Funding List and have the 

disbursement of funds to the recipient 

suspended in accordance with G.S. 143C-6-

23(f). Agencies shall not disburse grant funds to 

a recipient on the Suspension of Funding List 

until that recipient comes back into compliance 

and is removed from the Suspension of Funding 

List. 

(12) Notify the Office of State Budget and 

Management when to remove entities from the 

Suspension of Funding List. 

(b)  Each recipient shall ensure that subrecipients have complied 

with the applicable provisions of this Subchapter. Failure to 

comply with such provisions shall be the basis for an audit 

exception. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143C-6-22; 143C-6-23; 

Eff. July 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

09 NCAC 03M .0601 OFFICE OF STATE BUDGET 

AND MANAGEMENT RESPONSIBILITIES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143C-6-22; 143C-6-23; 

Eff. July 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

09 NCAC 03M .0703 REQUIRED CONTRACT 

PROVISIONS 

Prior to receiving grant funds, the recipient shall sign a contract 

with the agency that shall contain the obligations of both parties. 

Prior to disbursing any grant funds, each agency shall sign a 

contract with the recipient requiring compliance with the rules in 

this Subchapter. The requirements of this Rule shall also be 

applicable to all recipient-subrecipient relationships. Each 

contract agreement shall contain: 
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(1) A specification of the purpose of the award, 

services to be provided, objectives to be 

achieved, and expected results; 

(2) The source of funds (such as federal or state) 

must be identified, including the CFDA number 

and percentages of each source where 

applicable. 

(3) Account coding information sufficient to 

provide for tracking of the disbursement 

through the disbursing agency's accounting 

system. 

(4) Agreement to maintain all pertinent records for 

a period of five years or until all audit 

exceptions have been resolved, whichever is 

longer. 

(5) Names of all parties to the terms of the contract. 

For the recipient or subrecipient, each contract 

shall contain the employer/tax identification 

number, address, contact information, and the 

recipient's or subrecipient's fiscal year end date. 

(6) Signatures binding all parties to the terms of the 

contract. 

(7) Duration of the contract, including the effective 

and termination dates. 

(8) Amount of the contract and schedule of 

payment(s). 

(9) Particular duties of the recipient. 

(10) Required reports and reporting deadlines. 

(11) Provisions for termination by mutual consent 

with 60 days written notice to the other party, 

or as otherwise provided by law. 

(12) A provision that the awarding of grant funds is 

subject to allocation and appropriation of funds 

to the agency for the purposes set forth in the 

contract. 

(13) A provision that requires reversion of 

unexpended grant funds to the agency upon 

termination of the contract. 

(14) A provision that requires compliance with the 

requirements set forth in this Subchapter, 

including audit oversight by the Office of the 

State Auditor, access to the accounting records 

by both the funding entity and the Office of the 

State Auditor, and availability of audit work 

papers in the possession of any auditor of any 

recipient of State funding. 

(15) A clause addressing assignability and 

subcontracting, including the following: 

(a) The recipient or subrecipient is not 

relieved of any of the duties and 

responsibilities of the original 

contract. 

(b) The subrecipient agrees to abide by the 

standards contained in this Subchapter 

and to provide information in its 

possession that is needed by the 

recipient to comply with these 

standards. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143C-6-22; 143C-6-23; 

Eff. July 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

09 NCAC 03M .0801 NONCOMPLIANCE WITH 

RULES 

(a)  An agency shall not disburse any grant funds to an entity that 

is on the Suspension of Funding list. 

(b)  When a non-State entity does not comply with the 

requirements of this Subchapter, the agency shall take the 

following measures to ensure that the requirements are met, 

including: 

(1) Communicating the requirements in writing to 

the non-State entity within 30 business days. 

(2) Directing the non-State entity to respond in 

writing upon a determination of 

noncompliance. 

(3) Suspending payments to the non-State entity 

until the non-State entity is in compliance. 

(c)  When an agency discovers evidence of management 

deficiencies or criminal activity leading to the misuse of funds, 

the agency shall notify the Office of State Budget and 

Management and take the action or actions, such as: 

(1) Suspend payments until the matter has been 

fully investigated and corrective action has 

been taken. 

(2) Terminate the contract and retrieve unexpended 

funds or unauthorized expenditures. 

(3) Report suspected violations of criminal statutes 

involving misuse of State property to the State 

Bureau of Investigation, in accordance with 

G.S. 143B-920. 

(d)  Upon determination of noncompliance with requirements of 

the contract that are not indicative of management deficiencies or 

criminal activity, the agency shall give the recipient or 

subrecipient 60 days written notice to take corrective action. If the 

recipient or subrecipient has not taken the corrective action after 

the 60-day period, the disbursing agency shall notify the Office of 

State Budget and Management and take the action or actions, such 

as: 

(1) Suspend payments pending negotiation of a 

plan of corrective action. 

(2) Terminate the contract and take action to 

retrieve unexpended funds or unauthorized 

expenditures. 

(3) Offset future payments with any amounts spent 

for purposes other than those described in the 

signed grant contract. 

(e)  Each disbursing agency shall ensure that recipients and 

subrecipients have complied with the applicable provisions of this 

Subchapter. 

(f)  Agencies are subject to audit for compliance with the 

requirements of this Subchapter by the Office of State Budget and 

Management, the Office of the State Auditor, and agency internal 

auditors. Any finding of noncompliance by an agency shall be 

reported to the Office of State Budget and Management to take 

appropriate action, as set forth in this Rule. 
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(g)  The Office of State Budget and Management shall notify the 

agency of the finding and provide 60 days to take corrective 

action. After the 60-day period, the Office of State Budget and 

Management shall conduct a follow-up audit to determine if 

corrective action has been taken. If an awarding agency fails to 

take appropriate corrective action or is repeatedly found to be out 

of compliance with the requirements of this Subchapter, the 

Office of State Budget and Management shall notify the head of 

the agency and the State Auditor of the finding. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143C-6-22; 143C-6-23; 

Eff. July 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

09 NCAC 03M .0802 RECOVERY OF STATE FUNDS 

(a)  The disbursing agency shall take administrative action to 

recover grant funds in the event a recipient or subrecipient: 

(1) Is unable to fulfill the obligations of the 

contractual agreement; 

(2) Is unable to accomplish the purposes of the 

award as stated in the signed grant contract; 

(3) Is noncompliant with the reporting 

requirements as stated in the signed grant 

contract; or 

(4) Has used grant funds for purposes other than 

those described in the signed grant contract. 

(b)  The disbursing agency shall seek the assistance of the 

Attorney General in the recovery and return of grant funds if legal 

action is required. 

(c)  Any apparent violations of a criminal law or malfeasance, 

misfeasance, or nonfeasance in connection with the use of grant 

funds shall be reported by the agency to the Office of State Budget 

and Management, the Attorney General, and the State Bureau of 

Investigation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143C-6-22; 143C-6-23; 

Eff. July 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

14B NCAC 17 .0502 REQUIRED CONTINUING 

EDUCATION HOURS 

Each licensee shall complete a minimum of six credit hours of 

continuing education training during each two-year renewal 

period. Each registrant shall complete a minimum of three credit 

hours of continuing education training during each renewal 

period. Only registrants who engage in installation, service, sales, 

or monitoring of alarm systems shall be required to complete the 

continuing education requirements. Credit shall be given only for 

classes that have been preapproved by the Board using the criteria 

set forth in Rule .0503 of this Section. A licensee or registrant who 

attends a complete meeting of a regularly scheduled meeting of 

the Alarm Systems Licensing Board in person shall receive three 

credit hours for each meeting that the licensee or registrant attends 

and shall receive one credit hour for each meeting that the licensee 

or registrant views virtually. The Board-approved continuing 

education form showing the credit hours earned must be uploaded 

online and submitted with each licensee or registrant's online 

application submission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74D-2; 74D-5; 

Eff. May 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 18, 2002; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 11 .0502 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2024; September 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 18 - DEPARTMENT OF THE SECRETARY OF 

STATE 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0101 SCOPE 

The rules in this Subchapter implement Chapter 10B of the 

General Statutes. The rules govern: 

(1) the qualification, commissioning, notarial acts, 

conduct, and discipline of notaries public as 

public officers of the State; 

(2) the qualification, certification, and discipline of 

certified notary instructors; and 

(3) the qualification, approval or licensing, 

conduct, and discipline of technology 

providers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14(f); 10B-106; 

10B-125(b); 10B-126; 10B-134.15; 10B-134.17; 10B-134.19; 

10B-134.21; 10B-134.23; 

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0102 DEFINITIONS 

For purposes of this Chapter: 

(1) "Appoint" or "Appointment" means the naming 

of an individual to the office of notary public 

after determination that the individual has 

complied with Chapter 10B of the General 

Statutes and Subchapter 07C of this Chapter. 

For the purposes of the rules in this Chapter, the 

terms "appoint," "reappoint," "appointment," 

"reappointment," "commission," 

"recommission," "commissioning," and 

"recommissioning" all refer to the term 

"commission" as defined in G.S. 10B-3(4) or to 

the process of acquiring or maintaining the 

commission. 

(2) "Appointee" means an individual who has been 

appointed or reappointed to the office of notary 

public but has not yet taken the oath of office to 

be commissioned. 

(3) "Authorization" means a notary commission, an 

electronic notary registration, an instructor 

certification, an approval, or a license issued by 
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the Department pursuant to Chapter 10B of the 

General Statutes. 

(4) "Authorize" means the Department's action to 

issue an authorization. 

(5) "Commission date" means the beginning date 

of commissioning or recommissioning as 

entered on a commission certificate. 

(6) "Court" means a tribunal of a locality, state, the 

Armed Forces of the United States, a federally 

recognized tribe, or any nation. 

(7) "Crime" means: 

(a) an offense designated by law as a 

felony or misdemeanor; 

(b) an attempt to commit an offense; 

(c) an accessory to commission of an 

offense; 

(d) aiding and abetting of an offense; 

(e) conspiracy to commit an offense;  

(f) solicitation to commit an offense; or 

(g) threat to commit an offense. 

An infraction as defined in G.S. 14-3.1 is not a 

crime. 

(8) "Crime involving dishonesty" means a crime 

that involves untruthfulness, deceit, fraud, false 

dealing, cheating or stealing. 

(9) "Criminal convictions" means the following 

dispositions of criminal charges:  

(a) adjudications of guilt; 

(b) pleas of nolo contendere; 

(c) pleas of guilty; 

(d) Alford pleas; 

(e) conditional discharges; 

(f) prayers for judgment continued; and 

(g) dispositions denominated differently 

but equivalent to Sub-Items (a)-(f) in 

this Item. 

(10) "Denial" with regard to public office means an 

individualized action: 

(a) to disqualify an individual from: 

(i) being a candidate for an 

elected public office; or 

(ii) holding or filling a public 

office; and 

(b) that is taken by: 

(i) a governmental agency, a 

legislative body, or a member 

of the executive branch of 

any locality, state, federally 

recognized tribe, or nation; or 

(ii) a court. 

(11) "Disciplinary action" means an official action 

by a court, legislative body, governmental 

agency, board, or commission of any locality, 

state, federally recognized tribe, or nation 

resulting in: 

(a) a disciplinary order; 

(b) a censure; 

(c) a reprimand; 

(d) an admonition; 

(e) a resignation in lieu of termination or 

revocation; 

(f) a denial; 

(g) a written warning; or 

(h) actions denominated differently but 

equivalent to Sub-Items (a)-(g) in this 

Item. 

(12) "Disciplinary order" means a directive or its 

equivalent that: 

(a) is directed to a holder of a professional 

license or a commissioned notary 

public; 

(b) prohibits or conditions an individual 

from engaging in the practice of the 

profession or acting as a notary public 

for any amount of time; 

(c) is issued by a court or government 

agency, board, or commission of any 

locality, state, federally recognized 

tribe, or nation with authority to 

discipline or sanction the individual or 

notary public; and 

(d) is not stayed, rescinded, reversed, or 

expunged. 

Note: Suspensions, restrictions, and 

revocations of commissions or licenses are 

examples of disciplinary orders. 

(13) "Family member" means an individual related 

by blood, marriage, or adoption. 

(14) "Finding" means a decision, conclusion, or 

opinion by a court, legislative body, or 

governmental agency, board, or commission of 

any locality, state, federally recognized tribe, or 

nation that is based upon a review of evidence 

in an investigation, a quasi-judicial proceeding, 

or a judicial proceeding resulting in a 

determination that: 

(a) a fact has been proved according to the 

applicable legal standard; or 

(b) a law applies to the specific facts in a 

matter. 

(15) "Harm" means: 

(a) loss or damage to a person affecting: 

(i) liberty; 

(ii) child custody, parental rights, 

child support, or visitation; 

(iii) reputation; 

(iv) money; 

(v) property; 

(vi) time; or 

(vii) a contract or transaction; or 

(b) an act that undermines public 

confidence in the reliability of notarial 

acts or notarial instructor certification. 

(16) "Issuance" with regard to public office means 

an action: 

(a) to certify the results of an election 

signifying that an individual has been 

elected to the public office; or 
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(b) to appoint an individual to fill a public 

office; and 

(c) that is taken by: 

(i) a governmental agency, 

board, or commission, a 

legislative body, or a member 

of the executive branch of 

any locality, state, federally 

recognized tribe, or nation; or 

(ii) a court. 

(17) "Licensed member of the North Carolina State 

Bar" means an active member as defined in 27 

NCAC 01A .0201(b). 

(18) "Name for use on a notary public commission" 

or "commission name" means the name chosen 

by a commission applicant as the applicant's 

commission name and consisting of: 

(a) the full legal name of the commission 

applicant; or 

(b) a combination of the applicant's 

surname and: 

(i) full first or middle name; or 

(ii) full first or middle name and 

one or more initials derived 

from the applicant's full legal 

name. 

Note: Full legal names, full first names, and full 

middle names shall not include nicknames. 

(19) "Notarial act" means, in addition to those acts 

listed in G.S. 10B-3(11), acts authorized to be 

performed by a notary public pursuant to: 

(a) G.S. 163-231(a); and 

(b) G.S. 53C-6-13(a). 

(20) "Notary course" means a course taught by a 

certified notary instructor for purposes of: 

(a) commissioning or recommissioning a 

notary public; or 

(b) registering or reregistering an 

electronic notary public. 

(21) "Probation" with regard to criminal convictions 

means active supervision by a governmental 

agency or its legally authorized designee in lieu 

of jail or prison. 

(22) "Professional license" means an issuance that 

involves a grant of authority by a governmental 

agency, board, or commission of any locality, 

state, federally recognized tribe, or nation, to an 

individual to act in a fiduciary capacity, or in a 

capacity that affects the public interest or public 

trust, and that regards an occupation requiring 

training and formal qualification. Professional 

licenses are: 

(a) attorney; 

(b) appraiser; 

(c) architect; 

(d) boiler inspector; 

(e) building, electrical, fire, mechanical, 

or plumbing inspector; 

(f) certified nursing assistant; 

(g) certified public accountant; 

(h) code enforcement official; 

(i) electrical contractor; 

(j) engineer; 

(k) general contractor; 

(l) geologist; 

(m) insurance agent; 

(n) insurance company adjuster; 

(o) interpreter or transliterator; 

(p) investment advisor; 

(q) locksmith; 

(r) motor vehicle damage appraiser; 

(s) on-site wastewater contractor 

inspector; 

(t) pharmacist; 

(u) physician; 

(v) physician assistant; 

(w) plumbing, heating, and fire sprinkler 

contractor; 

(x) private investigator; 

(y) professional bondsman; 

(z) real estate broker; 

(aa) registered nurse, licensed practical 

nurse, nurse practitioner; 

(bb) securities broker, dealer, salesman; 

(cc) self-employed insurance adjuster; 

(dd) surety bondsman; 

(ee) sworn law enforcement officer; and 

(ff) teacher. 

(23) "Public office" means a position: 

(a) created by law to which an individual 

has been elected or appointed; 

(b) involving a delegation to the 

individual of some of the functions of 

government to be exercised by the 

individual for the benefit of the public; 

and 

(c) with authority that is not solely 

advisory. 

(24) "Restriction" with regard to public office means 

an individualized action: 

(a) to restrain an individual from serving 

in public office; and 

(b) that is taken by: 

(i) a governmental agency, 

board, or commission, a 

legislative body, or a member 

of the executive branch of 

any locality, state, federally 

recognized tribe, or nation; or 

(ii) a court. 

(25) "Release from prison, probation or parole" 

means: 

(a) completion of all terms of a sentence 

or judgment entered as part of a 

disposition of a criminal charge; 

(b) a certificate or order related to a 

criminal charge evidencing the 

individual's unconditional discharge; 
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(c) a certificate of relief pursuant to G.S. 

15A-173.4; 

(d) an endorsement from the Governor 

after satisfaction of conditions of a 

conditional pardon pursuant to G.S. 

13-4; 

(e) an unconditional pardon pursuant to 

G.S. 13-3; 

(f) an order that a conviction is vacated; 

and 

(g) the individual's citizenship has been 

restored pursuant to G.S. 13-1; 

(h) an action that is equivalent to Sub-

Items (a)-(f) of this Item entered by a 

court, or an official or body of a state, 

federally recognized tribe, or nation 

with the authority to grant pardons. 

(26) "Residence address" means a physical location 

with a street name, and a number designating 

the building in which an individual resides, 

including an apartment or unit number if 

applicable, the city, state, zip code, and nation 

if not the United States. 

(27) "Revocation" with regard to an individual's 

capacity to serve in a public office means an 

individualized action: 

(a) to void or cancel a certification of 

election to office; or 

(b) to remove an individual from a public 

office; and 

(c) that is taken by: 

(i) a governmental agency, 

board, or commission, a 

legislative body, or a member 

of the executive branch of 

any locality, state, federally 

recognized tribe, or nation; or 

(ii) a court. 

(28) "Suspension" with regard to a public office 

means an individualized action: 

(a) to prohibit, for a finite period of time, 

an individual's authority to serve in a 

public office; and 

(b) that is taken by: 

(i) a governmental agency, 

board, or commission, 

legislative body, or a member 

of the executive branch of 

any locality, state, federally 

recognized tribe, or nation; or 

(ii) a court. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14(f); 10B-106; 

10B-125(b); 10B-126; 10B-134.15; 10B-134.17; 10B-134.19; 

10B-134.21; 10B-134.23; 

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

18 NCAC 07B .0103 OPERATING HOURS AND 

GENERAL CONTACT INFORMATION 

(a)  Hours. Departmental hours for the public are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 

p.m., Monday through Friday, with the exception of State 

holidays. 

(b)  The Department's website is: www.sosnc.gov. 

(c)  Email address: The Department may be contacted by email 

for notary-related issues at notary@sosnc.gov. Unless specifically 

permitted by a rule in this Chapter, email shall not be used for 

submitting applications. 

(d)  Telephone number: The telephone number for the 

Department's customer service unit is (919) 814-5400. 

(e)  Physical address. The Department is located at 2 South 

Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27601. 

(f)  Mailing address. The Department's mailing address is P.O. 

Box 29626, Raleigh, NC 27626-0626. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024; February 1, 2021; October 1, 2019. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0104 ADA ACCOMMODATION 

An applicant to become a notary public, electronic notary public, 

or certified notary instructor who needs accommodation pursuant 

to the Americans with Disabilities Act shall: 

(1) with regard to a notary course and exam 

accommodation request, direct the request to 

the institution offering the course and exam, in 

which instance the institution may consult with 

the Department about the accommodation 

requested; or 

(2) with regard to the online recommissioning 

exam, certified notary instructor initial or 

recertification oral presentation or written 

exam, contact the Department and request an 

accommodation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14(f); 10B-107; 

10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0105 OBTAINING REQUESTED 

INFORMATION 

A filer shall: 

(1) use reasonable efforts to obtain information 

requested by the Department; 

(2) deliver to the Department all requested 

information that is available to the filer; and 

(3) if unable to obtain requested information, 

describe to the Department the efforts taken to 

obtain the information. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14(f); 10B-107; 

10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

38:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 1, 2024 

1274 

18 NCAC 07B .0106 WAIVER 

The Department may waive any rule in this Chapter that is not 

statutorily required on request of a filer or on its own initiative 

based on the factors set forth in Rule .0108 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4;  

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0107 CONTENTS OF WAIVER 

REQUEST 

A request for waiver of a rule in this Chapter shall be in writing 

and shall include: 

(1) the requestor's: 

(a) name; 

(b) mailing address; 

(c) email address; and 

(d) preferred telephone number for 

contact; 

(2) for a request filed on behalf of an entity: 

(a) the name of the entity; 

(b) the requestor's position with the entity 

and authority to file the request on 

behalf of the entity; 

(c) the mailing and business addresses of 

the entity; 

(d) the telephone number for the entity; 

and 

(e) the email address for the entity; 

(3) the specific rule and paragraph number for 

which waiver is requested; 

(4) an explanation of the reason for the request, 

including facts supporting the request; 

(5) any additional information related to the factors 

in Rule .0108 of this Section that the requestor 

wishes the Department to consider; 

(6) supporting documentation, if any; 

(7) a description of any previous waiver requests 

filed with the Department; and 

(8) the signature of the requestor and the date 

signed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0108 FACTORS USED IN 

CONSIDERING WAIVER REQUESTS 

Factors to be considered when the Department considers a waiver 

request are: 

(1) information about the requestor and the request, 

including the requestor's: 

(a) explanation of the reasons for the 

request; 

(b) control over the circumstances leading 

to the request; 

(c) experience with the Notary Act and 

the rules in this Chapter; 

(d) record of timeliness, completeness, 

and accuracy of filings with the 

Department; 

(e) history of waiver requests, if any; and 

(f) impact of granting or denying the 

request on the requestor; and 

(2) impact on the public by granting or denying the 

request, including: 

(a) harm or benefit to the public; 

(b) consistency of implementation and 

enforcement of Chapter 10B of the 

General Statutes and the rules in this 

Chapter; and 

(c) any harm to the Department if a 

waiver is granted or denied. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0109 COMPUTATION OF TIME 

PERIODS 

The Department shall calculate time periods based on G.S. 1A-1, 

Rule 6, unless otherwise noted in the rules in this Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0110 REQUEST TO DEPARTMENT 

FOR CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION 

A request to the Department for information about a notary that is 

confidential pursuant to G.S. 10B-7, G.S. 10B-60, G.S. 10B-106, 

or that is personally identifiable information shall: 

(1) be in writing; 

(2) include the name of the requestor and contact 

information for the requestor; and 

(3) document the right of the requestor to receive 

the confidential information. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-106; 

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .1001 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0407 INITIAL APPLICATION FOR 

NOTARY COMMISSION FORM 

The initial application for notary commission form requires: 

(1) the information required by G.S. 10B-5, 10B-6, 

and 10B-7; 

(2) from the commission applicant: 

(a) whether the applicant is a licensed 

member of the North Carolina State 

Bar; 

(b) a residential phone number, which 

may be a cell phone number; 

(c) the North Carolina notary commission 

number, if one was issued, and more 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

38:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 1, 2024 

1275 

than 12 months have elapsed since 

expiration; 

(d) occupation; 

(e) applicant's employer or status as: 

(i) self-employed; 

(ii) unemployed; 

(iii) retired; or 

(iv) a student; 

(f) North Carolina county where 

employed; 

(g) with regard to the notary course 

attended: 

(i) the name of the eligible 

institution that offered the 

course; 

(ii) the number of course hours; 

(iii) the printed or typed name of 

the course instructor; and 

(iv) the date the course was 

successfully completed; 

(h) a description of included attachments, 

if any; and 

(i) the declaration required by G.S. 10B-

12; and 

(3) from the notary course instructor: 

(a) certification that: 

(i) the date, eligible institution, 

and printed name of the 

instructor are correct; and 

(ii) the applicant successfully 

completed the course and 

therefore qualifies for 

consideration for a notary 

commission; and 

(b) the course instructor's signature as 

required by G.S. 10B-6 and the date of 

the signature. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0408 AFFIDAVIT OF MORAL 

CHARACTER 

The affidavit of moral character form requires: 

(1) the applicant's name for use on a notary public 

commission, if available, or the full legal name 

of the individual about whom the affidavit is 

prepared; 

(2) information about the character witness: 

(a) the affiant's name, contact 

information, and occupation; 

(b) how the affiant knows the individual; 

(c) how long the affiant has known the 

individual; 

(d) how the affiant has had the 

opportunity to form an opinion of the 

individual's character; and 

(e) whether the affiant is aware of 

criminal charges against, or criminal 

convictions of, the individual; 

(3) the affiant's opinion whether the charges 

against, or convictions of, the individual will 

affect the ability of the individual to comply 

with Chapter 10B of the General Statutes; 

(4) a declaration whether the affiant personally 

recommends the individual for an authorization 

requiring honesty, integrity, trustworthiness, 

and high standards of moral character; 

(5) the signature of the affiant and the date signed; 

and 

(6) a declaration under penalty of perjury that the 

information provided is true and complete to 

the best of the affiant's knowledge and belief. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0409 APPLICATION FOR 

RECOMMISSIONING AS NOTARY PUBLIC 

The form for application for recommissioning as a notary public 

before expiration of a commission or within 12 months of 

commission expiration requires: 

(1) information regarding the applicant's current or, 

if expired, the most recent commission, 

including the commission number; 

(2) an imprint or stamp from the applicant's current 

seal, or most recently expired seal, if the 

applicant currently possesses a seal; 

(3) information required pursuant to G.S. 10B-11; 

(4) the instructor's signature, if the applicant takes 

the notary course as part of the 

recommissioning process; 

(5) information required pursuant to Rule .0407 of 

this Section that is not otherwise included in 

Items (1)-(3) of this Rule; and 

(6) the declaration under penalty of perjury that is 

required by G.S. 10B-12. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0410 NOTICE OF CHANGES 

REQUIRED BY 18 NCAC 07D .0301 

The form for notice of change in the information required by 18 

NCAC 07D .0301 shall include: 

(1) the notary public's commission name and 

county of commission; 

(2) the notary's commission number; 

(3) contact information for the notary; 

(4) last four digits of the notary's SSN; 

(5) for each change:  

(a) which item of information regarding 

the notary has changed; 

(b) the information as it existed before the 

change; and 

(c) the information after the change; and 
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(6) the printed name and signature of the notary and 

the date signed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0411 NOTICE OF CHANGES 

REGARDING CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD 

The form for notice of changes in criminal history record requires: 

(1) the name of the individual; 

(2) if a commissioned notary public the notary's 

commission number; 

(3) the last four digits of the individual's SSN; 

(4) contact information for the individual; 

(5) for a previously unreported criminal charge: 

(a) the date of the charge; 

(b) the court in which the charge is filed; 

(c) whether the charge is for a felony or 

misdemeanor; 

(d) the name of the charge; 

(e) whether the charge has been set for a 

hearing or trial and, if yes, the 

scheduled date; and 

(f) the case number; 

(6) for notice of a disposition of a criminal charge: 

(a) the date of the disposition; 

(b) the name of the court and the case 

number; 

(c) if the disposition resulted in a 

conviction: 

(i) whether the conviction was 

for a felony or misdemeanor; 

and 

(ii) the sentence imposed; 

(d) a copy of the disposition document or 

judgment; 

(e) a copy of any document restoring 

citizenship rights; and 

(7) the signature of the individual and the date 

signed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0412 NOTICE OF CHANGES 

REGARDING PROFESSIONAL LICENSES, NOTARY 

COMMISSIONS, OR PUBLIC OFFICES 

The form for notice of changes regarding professional licenses, 

notary commissions, or public offices requires: 

(1) the name of the individual; 

(2) if a commissioned notary public, the notary's 

commission number; 

(3) the last four digits of the individual's SSN; 

(4) contact information for the individual; 

(5) for a change in any information required by 

G.S. 10B-7(10), the information required by 

Section .0700 of this Subchapter; and 

(6) the printed name and signature of the individual 

and the date signed. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0413 NOTICE OF CHANGES 

REGARDING FINDINGS OR ADMISSIONS OF DECEIT, 

OFFICIAL MISCONDUCT, FALSE OR MISLEADING 

ADVERTISING, OR UNAUTHORIZED PRACTICE OF 

LAW 

The form for notice of changes regarding findings or admissions 

of deceit, official misconduct, false or misleading advertising, or 

unauthorized practice of law requires: 

(1) the notary public's commission name and 

county of commission; 

(2) the notary's commission number; 

(3) last four digits of the notary's SSN; 

(4) contact information for the notary; 

(5) the information required pursuant to: 

(a) 18 NCAC 07C .0207 for a finding or 

admission of liability against the 

notary pursuant to G.S. 10B-5(d)(3); 

(b) 18 NCAC 07C .0208 for a finding of 

official misconduct by the notary; 

(c) 18 NCAC 07C .0209 for a finding of 

unauthorized practice of law by the 

notary; and 

(d) 18 NCAC 07C .0210 for a finding or 

charge of false or misleading 

advertising by the notary; and 

(6) the printed name and signature of the 

commission applicant or notary and the date 

signed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0414 APPLICATION FOR 

CERTIFICATION AS NOTARY INSTRUCTOR 

The application for certification as a notary instructor form 

requires: 

(1) the information required by Rule .0407(1)–

(2)(i) of this Section; 

(2) whether the applicant is currently employed as: 

(a) a register of deeds or clerk of court; or 

(b) an employee of the Department and is 

authorized by the Secretary to serve as 

an instructor; 

(3) the eligible institution for which the applicant 

will teach if certified as an instructor; 

(4) the name, telephone number, and email address 

of a contact person at the eligible institution 

who is knowledgeable about the conditional 

hiring of the applicant to teach notary courses; 

(5) whether the applicant has a personal copy of the 

most recent notary public manual approved by 

the Department and, if yes, the year and edition 

number; 

(6) whether the applicant has active experience as 

a notary public; 
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(7) whether the applicant has notified the 

Department of changes as required by Chapter 

10B of the General Statutes and the rules in this 

Chapter or is submitting a change form with the 

application; 

(8) the printed name and signature of the applicant 

and the date signed; and 

(9) a declaration under penalty of perjury that: 

(a) the information provided is true and 

complete to the best of the applicant's 

knowledge and belief; 

(b) the applicant remains qualified to be 

commissioned as a notary public; and 

(c) the applicant will perform the duties 

and responsibilities of a certified 

notary instructor. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0415 RECOMMENDATION OF 

NOTARY INSTRUCTOR APPLICANT 

The recommendation of notary instructor applicant form requires: 

(1) the instructor applicant's commission name; 

(2) the name and contact information for the 

individual completing the form; 

(3) the individual's basis for recommending the 

applicant, including: 

(a) a declaration that the individual is not 

a family member of the applicant; 

(b) how the individual knows the 

applicant; and 

(c) whether and how the individual has 

knowledge of the applicant's teaching 

skills; 

(4) whether, in the opinion of the individual, the 

applicant has the skills to be an effective teacher 

of notary applicants; 

(5) a declaration that the individual personally 

recommends the applicant to be a notary 

instructor; 

(6) the printed name and signature of the individual 

and the date signed; and 

(7) a declaration under penalty of perjury that the 

information provided is true and complete to 

the best of the individual's knowledge and 

belief. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0416 EMPLOYER AFFIDAVIT 

REGARDING INSTRUCTOR APPLICANT ACTIVE 

EXPERIENCE FORM 

The form for the employer affidavit regarding active experience 

requires: 

(1) the name of the person employing the applicant; 

(2) information about the affiant, consisting of the 

following: 

(a) the full printed name of the affiant; 

(b) the affiant's title and position with the 

employer;  

(c) the address and telephone number of 

the employer; and 

(d) the email address of the affiant; 

(3) an explanation of the reasons the instructor 

applicant has performed notarial acts while 

employed by the employer; 

(4) a statement specifying which of the preceding 

twelve months the instructor applicant 

performed notarial acts for the employer; 

(5) a declaration that: 

(a) the affiant has the authority to sign; 

and 

(b) the affiant has knowledge of the 

matters described in the affidavit; 

(6) the signature of the affiant and date on which 

the affiant signed; and 

(7) a jurat certificate. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0417 STUDENT EVALUATION OF 

NOTARY INSTRUCTOR FORM 

The student evaluation of notary instructor form requests the 

following information from a student: 

(1) the name of the instructor; 

(2) the date of the course; 

(3) the name of the institution; 

(4) rating of the instructor's: 

(a) professionalism; 

(b) subject matter knowledge; 

(c) use of audio-visuals, handouts, and 

other materials; and 

(d) responsiveness to questions from 

students; 

(5) rating of the course materials; 

(6) other information or comments that the student 

wishes to add; and 

(7) the student's name and contact information if 

the student is willing to be contacted by the 

Department with follow-up questions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0418 APPLICATION FOR 

RECERTIFICATION AS NOTARY INSTRUCTOR 

The notary instructor application for recertification form requires: 

(1) the information specified in Rule .0414 of this 

Section; 

(2) verification that the applicant has taught the 

notary instructor course at least twice a year 

during the current two-year certification period; 

(3) the date of initial certification as an instructor; 

(4) whether certification has been continuous; 

(5) a declaration under penalty of perjury that: 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

38:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 1, 2024 

1278 

(a) the information provided is true and 

complete; 

(b) the applicant remains qualified to be 

commissioned as a notary public; and 

(c) the applicant: 

(i) understands the official 

duties and responsibilities of 

a notary public and notary 

public instructor in North 

Carolina; and 

(ii) will perform to the best of the 

applicant's ability all 

responsibilities of teaching 

the notary courses in 

accordance with the law. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0501 CRIMES 

For purposes of applications and discipline under Chapter 10B of 

the General Statutes and the rules in this Chapter, each of the 

following offenses shall be classified as a crime involving "moral 

turpitude" as defined in G.S. 10B-3(9) or a "crime involving 

dishonesty" as defined in Rule .0102(8) of this Subchapter: 

(1) arson; 

(2) assault; 

(3) battery; 

(4) burglary; 

(5) carrying a concealed weapon without a permit; 

(6) child molestation; 

(7) child pornography; 

(8) discharge of a firearm in a public place or into 

a dwelling; 

(9) domestic violence; 

(10) driving while impaired; 

(11) embezzlement; 

(12) failure to comply with a court order; 

(13) failure to pay child support; 

(14) failure to return to confinement; 

(15) false financial statement; 

(16) forgery; 

(17) fraud; 

(18) hit and run; 

(19) identity theft; 

(20) impersonation of a law enforcement officer; 

(21) kidnapping; 

(22) practicing law without a license; 

(23) prostitution; 

(24) rape; 

(25) receipt of stolen goods or property; 

(26) resist, delay or obstruct a public officer in 

discharging or attempting to discharge an 

official duty; 

(27) robbery; 

(28) tax evasion; 

(29) terrorist threat or act; 

(30) unlawful possession or sale of drug; and 

(31) worthless check. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0502 ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS 

FOR AN INDIVIDUAL LISTING CONVICTIONS 

An individual required to provide a criminal history record 

pursuant to Chapter 10B of the General Statutes and the rules in 

this Chapter shall include: 

(1) a complete listing of felony convictions of the 

individual and the name under which each 

conviction was entered; 

(2) a complete listing of misdemeanor convictions 

of the individual and the name under which 

each conviction was entered; 

(3) if the individual's criminal history record 

includes a conviction in North Carolina, a copy 

of the individual's criminal history record 

prepared by the North Carolina State Bureau of 

Investigation; 

(4) if the individual has a criminal conviction in a 

jurisdiction other than North Carolina, a copy 

of the individual's criminal history record from 

a criminal history record registry or repository 

of record reflecting the conviction; and 

(5) the signed explanation required by Rule .0503 

of this Section. 

Note: A "registry or repository of record" is the official 

governmental state, federal, national, or tribal archive or center 

for collection of criminal history information. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0503 EXPLANATION OF 

CONVICTIONS 

An individual who submits a criminal history record shall include 

an explanation for each criminal conviction with: 

(1) the individual's signature and the date on which 

the individual signed the explanation; 

(2) for each felony conviction: 

(a) the date of the conviction and the court 

where the conviction was entered; 

(b) the name of the court and the case 

number; 

(c) the charge upon which the conviction 

was entered; 

(d) a description of the circumstances 

surrounding the commission of the 

crime; 

(e) the sentence imposed; 

(f) a copy of the document showing the 

date of release from probation, parole, 

incarceration, or completion of the 

terms of the individual's sentence for 

each conviction; and 

(g) a copy of any document restoring the 

individual's citizenship rights; and 
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(3) for each misdemeanor conviction the 

information required in Items (2)(a)-(f) of this 

Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0504 ADDITIONAL 

DOCUMENTATION FOR CONVICTIONS 

For an individual listing a criminal conviction, an affidavit of 

moral character shall be: 

(1) completed by three individuals, none of whom 

is a family member, using the form specified in 

Rule .0408 of this Subchapter; and 

(2) submitted to the Department by the individual 

listing a criminal conviction or the individuals 

completing the affidavits. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0505 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

INDIVIDUAL WITH PENDING CRIMINAL CHARGES 

An individual required to provide a criminal history record who 

has a pending criminal charge in a court shall, for each pending 

criminal charge: 

(1) notify the Department: 

(a) at the time of application to the 

Department; or 

(b) within 45 days if a charge is brought 

after the application has been filed; 

and 

(2) provide the information specified in the form in 

Rule .0411 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0506 NOTICE TO DEPARTMENT OF 

DISPOSITION OF PENDING CHARGE 

An individual required to provide the Department with 

information regarding a pending charge pursuant to Rule .0505 of 

this Section shall: 

(1) notify the Department within 45 calendar days 

of the final disposition of the charge; 

(2) provide the information specified in the form in 

Rule .0411 of this Subchapter; 

(3) provide a copy of the document reflecting the 

final disposition of the charge; and 

(4) if convicted, comply with Rules .0503 and 

.0504 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0601 FACTORS FOR DISCIPLINARY 

ACTIONS 

When determining whether and what disciplinary action to take, 

the Department shall consider:  

(1) the qualifications of the person; 

(2) the nature, number, timing, and severity of any 

acts, offenses, official misconduct, or crimes 

under consideration; 

(3) evidence pertaining to the honesty, credibility, 

truthfulness, and integrity of the person;  

(4) actual or potential harm; 

(5) the history of complaints against the person 

received by the Department; 

(6) the record of prior disciplinary actions against 

the person; 

(7) evidence in mitigation; 

(8) evidence in aggravation; 

(9) occupational, vocational, or professional 

license disciplinary record; 

(10) evidence of rehabilitation;  

(11) criminal history record; 

(12) information and reports received from other law 

enforcement agencies; 

(13) willfulness; 

(14) negligence; 

(15) the response of the person to any alleged 

violations; and 

(16) whether the person self-reported a matter 

affecting qualification or the performance of an 

activity pursuant to authorization. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14(f); 10B-60; 

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0901 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0602 DENIALS 

(a)  The Department shall deny an application in which an 

applicant willfully and knowingly provided false information 

about:  

(1) a criminal history record; or 

(2) a record of official findings of liability related 

to the applicant's deceit, dishonesty, or 

intentional disclosure of confidential 

information to a person not legally entitled to 

the information. 

(b)  The Department may deny an application that contains 

misleading information. 

(c)  The Department shall deny an application if: 

(1) the Department determines that the applicant is 

not qualified for the authorization issued 

pursuant to the Constitution of the State of 

North Carolina, Chapter 10B of the General 

Statutes, or the rules in this Chapter; or 

(2) an applicant notarizes the applicant's own 

signature. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14(f); 10B-60; 10B-

126; 10B-134.19; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. April 1, 2007; 
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Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 

6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0902 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0603 LEVELS OF ENFORCEMENT 

Upon consideration of the evidence before it, the purposes and 

requirements of Chapter 10B of the General Statutes, and the rules 

in this Chapter, the Department may: 

(1) upon a finding of a violation of Chapter 10B of 

the General Statutes or the rules in this Chapter: 

(a) issue a letter of caution to a person 

along with: 

(i) a request for compliance; and 

(ii) a statement that future 

noncompliance may lead to 

disciplinary action by the 

Department; 

(b) issue a letter of warning to a person, 

with or without a corrective action 

plan. Note: A requirement for 

additional education is an example of 

a corrective action plan; 

(c) suspend a person's authorization and 

bar the grant of an authorization for a 

specific period of time not to exceed 

24 months, with or without a 

corrective action plan; 

(d) issue a revocation of a person's 

authorization; 

(e) issue a permanent revocation of a 

person's authorization; 

(f) issue an administrative action 

restricting, for a specific period of 

time, an unauthorized person from 

submitting an application or from 

being becoming authorized; or 

(g) issue an administrative action 

permanently restricting an 

unauthorized person from submitting 

an application or from becoming 

authorized; and 

(2) use the factors in Rule .0601 of this Section to 

take action to withdraw, stay, rescind, or 

expunge a disciplinary action. 

Note: An application submitted in violation of an administrative 

action pursuant to Paragraphs (f) and (g) of this Rule shall be 

denied by the Department immediately upon identification of the 

applicant as being subject to the administrative action during the 

period of time applicable to the action. The application fee shall 

not be refunded. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14(f); 10B-60; 10B-

126; 10B-134.19; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0903 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0604 LETTER OF CAUTION 

The Department may issue a letter of caution to a person for a 

violation of the requirements of Chapter 10B of the General 

Statutes or the rules in this Chapter in circumstances that do not 

merit disciplinary action.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14(f); 10B-60; 10B-

126; 10B-134.19; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0904 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0605 WARNING 

The Department may issue a warning to a person for a violation 

of Chapter 10B of the General Statutes or the rules in this Chapter.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14(f); 10B-60; 10B-

126; 10B-134.19; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2008; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0905 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0606 SUSPENSION 

After consideration of the factors in Rule .0601 of this Section, 

the Department may issue a suspension to a person who: 

(1) violates a requirement of Chapter 10B of the 

General Statutes or the rules in this Chapter; or 

(2) has a criminal conviction. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14(f); 10B-60; 10B-

126; 10B-134.19; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0906 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0607 RESTRICTION 

Upon a finding that the person has acted without being authorized 

by the Department, the Department may issue an administrative 

action to restrict that person from applying for authorization or 

from becoming authorized to: 

(1) perform a notarial act; 

(2) teach a notarial course; 

(3) offer an electronic notarization system to an 

electronic notary public; or 

(4) act as a depository. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14(f); 10B-60; 10B-

126; 10B-134.19; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. April 1, 2007; 
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Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2021; October 1, 2019; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0907 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0608 MANDATORY REVOCATION 

The Department shall revoke an authorization of: 

(1) a person who is convicted of a crime related to 

performance of an act pursuant to, or in relation 

to, an authorization issued by the Department; 

(2) a notary public who notarizes the notary's own 

signature; 

(3) a notary who performs a notarial act and either: 

(a) fails to require the personal 

appearance of the principal; or 

(b) performs a remote electronic notarial 

act without requiring the appearance 

of a principal by an authorized 

communication technology; or 

(4) a person who performs an act permitted by an 

authorization issued by the Department 

knowing that: 

(a) the act, a document associated with the 

act, or information contained in a 

document associated with the act is 

false or fraudulent; or 

(b) the intent of the act or document is to 

perpetrate a crime. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14(f); 10B-60; 10B-

126; 10B-134.19; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0701 GENERAL 

An applicant for a notary commission shall include with the 

application a list of all professional licenses, public offices, and 

notary commissions as required by G.S. 10B-7(10), together with 

the information required by the rules in this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14(f); 10B-106; 

10B-134.19; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0201 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0702 REQUIREMENTS REGARDING 

PROFESSIONAL LICENSES AND NOTARIAL 

COMMISSIONS 

An individual required to provide information to the Department 

about professional licenses and notarial commissions that the 

individual presently holds, has held, or has applied for shall 

include the following, to the extent the information is available to 

the individual after reasonable efforts, for each license and 

notarial commission listed: 

(1) the name under which each license or notarial 

commission was issued; 

(2) the state, federally recognized tribe, or nation 

that issues or grants each listed license or 

commission; 

(3) the name of the governmental agency, board, or 

commission that issued each license or granted 

each commission; 

(4) the name of the professional license or notary 

commission; 

(5) the license or commission number, if one is 

assigned by the issuing agency, board, or 

commission; 

(6) the expiration dates for all licenses or 

commissions listed; and 

(7) whether, to the knowledge of the individual, 

there is an open investigation by the issuing 

agency, board, or commission into use or 

misuse by the individual of a license or 

commission listed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0703 DISCIPLINARY ACTION 

INVOLVING A PROFESSIONAL LICENSE OR NOTARY 

COMMISSION 

For each professional license or notary commission listed by the 

applicant pursuant to Rule .0701 of this Section, and for which the 

individual has been the subject of a disciplinary action by a court, 

legislative body, governmental agency, board, or commission, the 

individual shall include: 

(1) the date of each disciplinary action; 

(2) the disciplinary action taken; 

(3) a copy of each disciplinary action; 

(4) if not included in the copy of the disciplinary 

action provided: 

(a) the reason given for the disciplinary 

action;  

(b) an explanation of the circumstances 

that led to the disciplinary action; and 

(c) the name of the issuing entity; 

(5) whether the disciplinary action included any 

corrective action or conditions on the license or 

commission; 

(6) whether the individual has complied with the 

corrective actions or conditions; 

(7) the date on which compliance with the 

corrective actions or conditions was satisfied; 

(8) whether the individual would be eligible for 

relicensure or recommissioning; and 

(9) other information that the individual wishes to 

include in order to aid the Department in 

assessing the individual's professional license 

and notary commission history. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-134.21; 10B-

134.23; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 
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18 NCAC 07B .0704 PUBLIC OFFICES 

An individual shall include on the application for authorization: 

(1) a list of each public office that the individual 

presently holds or has held; 

(2) the name under which each public office is or 

was held; 

(3) the locality, state, federally recognized tribe, or 

nation in which the public office is or was held; 

(4) the title of the public office; 

(5) the beginning and ending dates of the term of 

each public office; and 

(6) whether, to the knowledge of the individual, 

there is an open investigation by a government 

or law enforcement agency into the use or 

misuse by the individual of the public office. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0705 DENIALS OF PUBLIC OFFICES 

If an individual was denied a public office, the individual shall 

include with the application: 

(1) the name of the public office that was denied; 

(2) the locality, state, federally recognized tribe, or 

nation where the public office is or was located; 

(3) the date of the denial; 

(4) the name used when the denial occurred; 

(5) the reason for the denial; and 

(6) other information that the individual wishes to 

include in order to aid the Department in 

assessing the individual's qualification for 

authorization. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0706 RESIGNATIONS FROM PUBLIC 

OFFICES 

If an individual resigned from a public office, the individual shall 

include: 

(1) the name of the public office from which the 

individual resigned; 

(2) the locality, state, federally recognized tribe, or 

nation where the public office is or was located; 

(3) the date of the resignation; 

(4) the name used when the resignation occurred; 

(5) the reason for the resignation; and 

(6) other information that the individual wishes to 

include in order to aid the Department in 

assessing the individual's qualification for 

authorization. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07B .0707 DISCIPLINARY ACTION 

INVOLVING A PUBLIC OFFICE 

For each public office listed pursuant to Rule .0701 of this Section 

and for which the individual has been the subject of a disciplinary 

action, the individual shall include: 

(1) the date of each disciplinary action; 

(2) the disciplinary action taken; 

(3) a copy of each disciplinary action; 

(4) if not otherwise set out in the copy of the 

disciplinary action provided: 

(a) the reason given for the disciplinary 

action; and 

(b) an explanation of the circumstances 

that led to the disciplinary action; 

(5) whether the disciplinary action included any 

corrective actions or conditions; 

(6) whether the individual complied with the 

corrective actions or conditions; 

(7) the date on which compliance with the 

corrective actions or conditions was satisfied; 

(8) whether the individual would be eligible to hold 

public office again; and 

(9) other information that the individual wishes to 

include in order to aid the Department in 

assessing the individual's qualification for 

authorization. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0101 SCOPE 

This Subchapter sets requirements for the application, 

commissioning, and recommissioning process for traditional 

notaries public. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0102 DEFINITIONS RELATED TO 

APPLICATION AND RECOMMISSIONING PROCESS 

For purposes of this Subchapter: 

(1) "Commission applicant" is an applicant for an 

initial commission or for recommissioning as a 

traditional notary public. 

(2) "Exam" means a test prepared by the 

Department and administered by: 

(a) a certified notary instructor; or 

(b) the Department or its designee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0201 INITIAL APPLICATION 

An applicant for initial appointment as a traditional notary public 

who is not a licensed member of the North Carolina State Bar 

shall: 

(1) possess a current personal copy of the North 

Carolina notary public manual applicable to 

traditional notaries; 
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(2) successfully complete the notary course and 

exam; and 

(3) submit the application form specified in 18 

NCAC 07B .0407. 

Note: The official North Carolina notary public manual is written 

by the Department. The Department's website includes 

information regarding where to purchase the manual. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4;  

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0301 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0202 TIMING 

An applicant for initial appointment as a traditional notary public 

shall: 

(1) submit an application within three months after 

successfully completing the notary course and 

exam; or 

(2) if a licensed member of the North Carolina 

State Bar, comply with the rules in Section 

.0700 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4;  

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0302(a) Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0203 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

APPLICANTS RESIDING OUTSIDE NORTH CAROLINA 

A commission applicant who resides outside the State of North 

Carolina and has a regular place of work or business in North 

Carolina shall submit an affidavit from the applicant's employer 

that shall be on the employer's business letterhead, and include: 

(1) the name, address, and telephone number of the 

employer's business; 

(2) the name of the applicant; 

(3) affirmation that: 

(a) the applicant works for the employer; 

(b) the applicant regularly spends all or 

part of the applicant's work time 

working for the employer in a physical 

location within the State of North 

Carolina; and 

(c) the street address of the physical 

location within North Carolina at 

which the applicant works; and 

(4) the printed name and the signature of the 

individual signing the statement; 

(5) the title of the individual signing the statement; 

(6) a statement that the signer has the authority to 

sign on behalf of the employer; 

(7) a telephone number and email address at which 

the signer can be contacted; and 

(8) a jurat certificate. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4;  

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0502(b) Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0204 ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS 

FOR APPLICANTS LISTING CONVICTIONS 

A commission applicant who submits a criminal history record 

shall include with the application the information required by 18 

NCAC 07B .0500. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0205 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

APPLICANT WITH PENDING CRIMINAL CHARGES 

A commission applicant who has pending criminal charges in a 

court shall comply with 18 NCAC 07B .0505. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0206 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

APPLICANTS REGARDING PROFESSIONAL 

LICENSES, NOTARIAL COMMISSIONS, AND PUBLIC 

OFFICES 

A commission applicant who has applied for, holds, or has held a 

professional license, a notarial commission, or a public office, 

shall comply with 18 NCAC 07B .0700. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0207 FINDINGS OR ADMISSIONS OF 

LIABILITY BASED ON APPLICANT'S DECEIT 

A commission applicant for whom, in a civil lawsuit, there has 

been a finding or admission of fault or liability based on the 

applicant's deceit shall include with the application: 

(1) a list of each finding or admission; 

(2) a copy of the document containing the finding 

or admission; 

(3) a brief description of the circumstances 

surrounding the finding or admission; 

(4) if not included in the document in Item (2) of 

this Rule: 

(a) the date on which the finding or 

admission was made; 

(b) the court in which the civil lawsuit was 

filed; and 

(c) the case name and docket number; and 

(5) any additional information that the applicant 

wishes the Department to consider. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 
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18 NCAC 07C .0208 FINDINGS THAT THE 

APPLICANT ENGAGED IN OFFICIAL MISCONDUCT 

A commission applicant who is, has previously been, or has acted 

in the capacity as a notary public of any locality, state, federally 

recognized tribe, or nation, and who has listed on the application 

findings of official misconduct, civil findings, or admissions of 

fault or liability regarding the applicant's activities as a notary, 

shall include with the application: 

(1) the name of the court or governmental agency, 

board, or commission that made the finding; 

(2) a copy of the document in which the official 

misconduct finding was made; 

(3) if not included in the document in Item (2) of 

this Rule: 

(a) the date on which the finding or 

admission was made; 

(b) the court or governmental agency, 

board or commission that made the 

finding; and 

(c) the case name and docket number, or 

similar unique designation; 

(4) a description of the circumstances surrounding 

the finding; and 

(5) any additional information that the applicant 

wishes the Department to consider. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0209 FINDING OF UNAUTHORIZED 

PRACTICE OF LAW 

A commission applicant against whom a finding has been made 

that the applicant engaged in the unauthorized practice of law 

shall include with the application: 

(1) the name of the court or governmental agency, 

board, or commission that made the finding; 

(2) a copy of the finding; 

(3) the date of the finding, if not included in the 

copy provided pursuant to Item (2) of this Rule; 

(4) a description of the circumstances surrounding 

the finding; and 

(5) any additional information that the applicant 

wishes the Department to consider. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0210 FINDING OF FALSE OR 

MISLEADING ADVERTISING 

A commission applicant against whom a charge or finding has 

been made that as a notary public, the notary knowingly used false 

or misleading advertising that represents that the notary has 

powers, duties, rights, or privileges not conveyed by law, shall 

include with the application: 

(1) the name of the court or governmental agency, 

board, or commission in which the charge or 

finding is made; 

(2) a copy of the charge or finding; 

(3) the date of the charge or finding, if not included 

in the copy provided pursuant to Item (2) of this 

Rule; 

(4) a description of the circumstances surrounding 

the charge or finding; and 

(5) any additional information that the applicant 

wishes the Department to consider. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0301 COURSES TAUGHT BY 

CERTIFIED NOTARY INSTRUCTORS 

An applicant for an initial notary commission shall successfully 

complete a notary course taught by a certified notary instructor 

before submitting an initial commission application to the 

Department. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0303 PRESENTATION OF 

SATISFACTORY EVIDENCE OF IDENTITY IN 

CONNECTION WITH NOTARY COURSE 

A commission applicant who is not personally known to the 

certified notary instructor shall present satisfactory evidence of 

identity to the notary instructor: 

(1) before the course begins; 

(2) before the instructor signs the application; and 

(3) upon request of the instructor at any other time 

during the course. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0304 SATISFACTORY EVIDENCE 

PRESENTED TO INSTRUCTOR 

The satisfactory evidence of identity presented to a certified 

notary instructor pursuant to Rule .0303 of this Section shall 

match the applicant's name for use on a notary public commission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0305 RETESTING 

A notary applicant who fails to achieve a passing grade on the 

notary course exam and who wishes to be commissioned as a 

notary public may retake the exam if: 

(1) the institution at which the course is taught 

permits retesting; and 

(2) the retest is taken within 30 days of the date of 

the exam failure. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 
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18 NCAC 07C .0401 APPOINTMENT 

The Department shall appoint or reappoint an applicant to the 

office of notary public after reviewing the application submitted 

by the applicant and determining that:  

(1) the application is accepted; and 

(2) the applicant is qualified to be appointed 

pursuant to N.C. Const. Art. VI, Sec. 8, Chapter 

10B of the General Statutes, and the rules in this 

Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4;  

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0501 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0402 ISSUANCE OF CERTIFICATES 

The Department shall provide: 

(1) to the Register of Deeds in the county of the 

notary public's commissioning: 

(a) a certificate of appointment that 

includes the appointee's full legal 

name and the commission name of the 

appointee; and 

(b) a commission certificate in the 

commission name of the appointee to 

be used by the Register of Deeds to 

document that the notary oath has been 

administered to the appointee; and 

(2) a duplicate commission certificate to a notary 

public, upon request to the Department. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0403 NOTICE TO APPOINTEE 

The Department shall send the appointee notice that: 

(1) the certificate of appointment has been issued; 

and 

(2) the appointee shall appear before the Register 

of Deeds in the county of commissioning and 

take the oath of office within 45 days of the 

certificate of appointment issuance date. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0404 COMMISSION CERTIFICATE 

A commission certificate: 

(1) shall not be valid until the oath of office has 

been taken; and 

(2) shall include: 

(a) the appointee's name for use on a 

notary public commission; 

(b) the county of commissioning; 

(c) the beginning date of the commission; 

and 

(d) the expiration date of the commission. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0502(a) Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0405 SATISFACTORY EVIDENCE OF 

IDENTITY 

Before taking the oath of office, an appointee shall: 

(1) present satisfactory evidence matching the 

appointee's name on the certificate of 

appointment to the Register of Deeds, assistant 

Register of Deeds, or deputy Register of Deeds 

who will administer the oath of office; or  

(2) be personally known to the Register of Deeds, 

assistant Register of Deeds, or deputy Register 

of Deeds who will administer the oath of office. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4;  

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0503 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0406 REGISTER OF DEEDS 

After administering the oath of office, the Register of Deeds, 

assistant Register of Deeds, or deputy Register of Deeds shall: 

(1) require that the notary public sign the certificate 

of appointment; 

(2) sign and date the certificate of appointment; 

(3) record the certificate of appointment as required 

by G.S. 10B-10(c); 

(4) deliver the commission certificate to the notary; 

and 

(5) deliver notice to the Department as required by 

G.S. 10B-10(d). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0407 PERFORMING TRADITIONAL 

NOTARIAL ACTS 

No individual may perform a notarial act unless the individual has 

a valid commission certificate. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0409 TERM OF COMMISSION 

The term of a notary public's commission shall be calculated from 

the date that the commission application is filed pursuant to 18 

NCAC 07B .0312 unless Rule .0410 of this Subchapter applies. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4;  

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 
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Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0505 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0410 TERM OF REAPPOINTMENT 

COMMISSION 

A recommissioning notary public's five year term shall begin on 

the day following the expiration of the existing commission if: 

(1) the application for reappointment has been filed 

before the expiration of the existing 

commission; and 

(2) the notary takes the oath of office for 

recommissioning within 45 days of the issuance 

date on the certificate of appointment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0411 NOTARIAL ACTS PROHIBITED 

DURING GAPS BETWEEN COMMISSION TERMS 

A notary public shall not perform a notarial act after the expiration 

of the notary's commission until the notary has been reappointed 

and has taken the oath for a subsequent commission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0502 LATE APPLICATION 

A commission applicant for an initial appointment who submits 

an application more than three months after successfully 

completing the notary course shall comply again with the 

requirements for initial appointment in G.S. 10B-6 and the rules 

in this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4;  

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0302(b) Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0504 APPLICATION AFTER 

RECOMMISSIONING DENIAL BASED ON FAILING 

EXAM 

An applicant for recommissioning whose application is denied 

due to failure to pass the recommissioning exam within the time 

frame established in Rule .0605 of this Subchapter may reapply 

by complying again with the requirements for recommissioning 

in G.S. 10B-11 and the rules in this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4;  

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0403 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0505 APPLICATION FOR 

RECOMMISSIONING WITHIN 12 MONTHS OF 

COMMISSION EXPIRATION OR PURSUANT TO G.S. 

10B-53 

A notary public may seek recommissioning by complying with 

G.S. 10B-11 and the rules in this Subchapter if: 

(1) the notary's commission has expired and less 

than 12 months have elapsed since the 

expiration of the prior commission; or 

(2) the notary seeks recommissioning pursuant to 

G.S. 10B-53. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4;  

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0504 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0506 RECOMMISSIONING 

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENT 

A notary public seeking recommissioning pursuant to Rule .0505 

of this Section need not attend a notary course but shall pass the 

online recommissioning exam, unless the exception in G.S. 10B-

11(b)(3) applies to the notary. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0508 CANCELLATION OF 

COMMISSION 

If the Department has not received notice from the Register of 

Deeds that an appointee took the oath within 45 days of the 

certificate of appointment issuance date, the Department shall: 

(1) cancel the commission; and 

(2) notify the appointee of the cancellation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0509 RESCIND CANCELLATION OF 

CERTIFICATE OF APPOINTMENT 

If a notary public presents the Department with the notary's valid 

commission certificate, the Department shall rescind the 

cancellation of the notary's commission previously made pursuant 

to Rule .0508 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0510 CONFIRMATION OF NOTARY 

STATUS 

The Department shall confirm a notary public's commission status 

upon written request. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 
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18 NCAC 07C .0601 APPLICATION STEPS FOR 

RECOMMISSIONING 

A notary public seeking recommissioning within the time 

permitted by G.S. 10B-11 and the rules in this Subchapter shall 

submit the recommissioning application specified in 18 NCAC 

07B .0409. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0401(a) Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0602 METHOD OF TAKING 

RECOMMISSIONING EXAM 

The recommissioning exam shall be taken on the Department's 

website. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4;  

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0401(b) Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0603 COURSE AS ALTERNATIVE TO 

RECOMMISSIONING EXAM 

An applicant for recommissioning may comply with the rules in 

Section .0300 of this Subchapter as though the applicant were 

applying for an initial notary commission in lieu of taking or 

retaking the recommissioning exam. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4;  

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0402 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0604 EXAM LENGTH AND PASSING 

SCORE 

A notary public seeking recommissioning and taking the 

recommissioning exam shall: 

(1) have 30 minutes to complete the 

recommissioning exam; and 

(2) achieve a passing score of at least 80 percent on 

the exam. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0605 RETAKING 

RECOMMISSIONING EXAM AFTER FAILURE 

If an applicant for recommissioning fails the recommissioning 

exam, the applicant may take the exam up to 2 additional times 

within 30 days of the date on which the exam is first taken. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0606 FAILURE TO PASS EXAM 

WITHIN 30 DAYS 

If a notary public seeking recommissioning fails to pass the 

recommissioning or notary course exam within 30 days of the date 

on which the exam was first taken, the application shall be denied. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0607 INDIVIDUAL WHO FAILS TO 

SEEK RECOMMISSIONING WITHIN ONE YEAR 

An individual who fails to seek recommissioning within one year 

of commission expiration may be commissioned as a notary 

public only upon completion of all requirements for an initial 

notary commission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0701 ATTORNEY APPLICATION FOR 

INITIAL APPOINTMENT 

Notary applicants for initial appointment who are licensed 

members of the North Carolina State Bar shall: 

(1) maintain a personal copy of the most recent 

notary public manual approved by the 

Department; and 

(2) either: 

(a) submit a completed notarial 

commission application form 

described in 18 NCAC 07B .0407 any 

of the following being required: 

(i) attending the notary course; 

(ii) passing the notary course 

exam; and 

(iii) obtaining a signature from a 

notary instructor; or 

(b) comply with the rules in this 

Subchapter for an individual who is 

not a licensed member of the State 

Bar. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0702 RECOMMISSIONING OF 

ATTORNEY NOTARIES 

Licensed members of the North Carolina State Bar who are 

commissioned notaries public may apply for recommissioning by 

complying with the rules in this Subchapter, except that licensed 

members of the State Bar shall not be required to take any course 

or exam prior to recommissioning. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 
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18 NCAC 07C .0703 ATTORNEYS WHO FAIL TO 

TAKE NOTARIAL OATH TIMELY 

A licensed member of the North Carolina State Bar who fails to 

take the oath of office within 45 days of the issuance date on a 

certificate of appointment or reappointment shall submit a new 

application and fee in compliance with the rules in this 

Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07C .0704 ATTORNEYS SEEKING 

REGISTRATION OR REREGISTRATION AS 

ELECTRONIC NOTARIES 

A licensed member of the North Carolina State Bar who applies 

to be registered or reregistered as an electronic notary public shall: 

(1) comply with the rules in Subchapter 07F of this 

Chapter; 

(2) successfully complete the electronic notary 

course and exam; 

(3) possess a current and personal copy of the 

North Carolina notary manual applicable to 

electronic notaries; and 

(4) submit an electronic notary application and fee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-126; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07D .0101 SCOPE 

The rules in this Subchapter set forth the continuing obligations 

of notaries public. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07D .0102 RESPONSE TO DEPARTMENT 

REQUESTS 

A notary public shall respond to a request by the Department for 

information, records, or an interview relating to qualifications to 

be a notary or performance of notarial acts: 

(1) in the manner and within the time period set by 

the Department; or 

(2) as provided in an extension granted pursuant to 

Rule .0104 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-126(f); 10B-

134.17(c); 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07D .0103 EXTENSION REQUEST TO 

DEPARTMENT 

(a)  A notary public may submit a request for an extension of time 

to respond to a Department request pursuant to Rule .0102 of this 

Section. 

(b)  A request pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall: 

(1) be for an extension lasting no more than 30 

days; and 

(2) include the reason an extension is necessary. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-126(f); 10B-

134.17(c); 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07D .0104 DEPARTMENT RESPONSE TO 

EXTENSION REQUEST 

When deciding whether to grant an extension request, the 

Department shall consider the factors listed in 18 NCAC 07B 

.0108. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-126(f); 10B-

134.17(c); 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07D .0301 OBLIGATIONS TO GIVE 

NOTICE OF CHANGES IN PRIMARY INFORMATION 

A notary applicant or notary public shall use the form specified in 

18 NCAC 07B .0410 to notify the Department within 45 calendar 

days of changes in the applicant's or notary's: 

(1) name; 

(2) mailing or street address; 

(3) county of commission; 

(4) residential or mobile telephone number; 

(5) personal or business email address; 

(6) status as a resident of the United States; 

(7) ability to speak, read and write in the English 

language; or 

(8) employer regarding: 

(a) change of employer; 

(b) change in employer business name. 

Note: A business changing from ABC, 

Inc. to ABC, LLC is an example of a 

change in employer business name; 

(c) change in employer street or mailing 

address; or 

(d) change in employer telephone 

number. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4;  

Eff. April 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0107 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07D .0302 NOTICE TO DEPARTMENT OF 

PENDING CRIMINAL CHARGES 

A notary applicant or notary public shall notify the Department 

within 45 calendar days of a previously unreported pending 

criminal charge against the applicant or notary by complying with 

18 NCAC 07B .0505. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07D .0303 NOTICE TO DEPARTMENT OF 

CRIMINAL CHARGE DISPOSITION 

Within 45 calendar days of the date of the final disposition of a 

criminal charge against a notary applicant or a notary public, the 
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applicant or notary shall notify the Department by complying with 

18 NCAC 07B .0506. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07D .0304 NOTICE TO DEPARTMENT OF 

FINDINGS OR ADMISSIONS OF DECEIT 

A notary applicant or a notary public shall use the form specified 

in 18 NCAC 07B .0413 to notify the Department within 45 

calendar days of a finding or admission of fault or liability in a 

civil lawsuit based on the applicant's or notary's deceit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07D .0305 NOTICE TO DEPARTMENT OF 

CHANGES TO PROFESSIONAL LICENSES, NOTARY 

COMMISSIONS, OR PUBLIC OFFICES 

A notary applicant or notary public shall use the form specified in 

18 NCAC 07B .0412 to notify the Department within 45 calendar 

days of an issuance, a denial, a revocation, a suspension, a 

restriction, or a resignation of the applicant's or notary's 

professional license, notary commission, or public office. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07D .0306 NOTICE TO DEPARTMENT OF 

OFFICIAL MISCONDUCT 

A notary applicant or notary public shall use the form specified in 

18 NCAC 07B .0413 to notify the Department within 45 calendar 

days of a finding that the applicant or notary has engaged in 

official misconduct and shall provide the Department with the 

documents and information required by 18 NCAC 07C .0208. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07D .0307 NOTICE TO DEPARTMENT OF 

FALSE OR MISLEADING ADVERTISING 

A notary applicant or notary public shall use the form specified in 

18 NCAC 07B .0413 to notify the Department within 45 calendar 

days of a finding or a charge that the applicant or notary has 

knowingly used false or misleading advertising that represents 

that the applicant or notary has powers, duties, rights, or privileges 

the applicant or notary does not possess by law. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07D .0308 NOTICE TO DEPARTMENT 

REGARDING UNAUTHORIZED PRACTICE OF LAW 

A notary applicant or notary public shall use the form specified in 

18 NCAC 07B .0413 to notify the Department within 45 calendar 

days of a finding by a court or the attorney-licensing agency of 

any state, federally recognized tribe, or nation, that the applicant 

or notary has engaged in the unauthorized practice of law. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0101 INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION 

– SCOPE AND DEFINITIONS 

(a)  This Subchapter sets the requirements for certification and 

recertification as a notary instructor and for requesting that the 

Department offer certified notary instructor courses. 

(b)  For purposes of this Subchapter: 

(1) "Active experience as a notary" means either: 

(A) performance in North Carolina of at 

least 1 notarial act in each of the 

immediately preceding 12 months; or 

(B) active experience as a certified notary 

instructor. 

(2) "Active experience as a certified notary 

instructor" means teaching at least two notary 

courses for each of the two 12-month periods 

during which an instructor holds an instructor 

certification. 

(3) "Affidavit of moral character form" means the 

form specified in 18 NCAC 07B .0408. 

(4) "Eligible institution" or "institution" means: 

(A) a community college established 

pursuant to G.S. 115D-4; 

(B) a constituent institution of the 

University of North Carolina 

established pursuant to G.S. 116-4; 

(C) an eligible private postsecondary 

institution as defined by G.S. 116-

280(3); or 

(D) a public school system authorized to 

conduct adult education programs 

pursuant to G.S. 115C-231. 

(5) "Instructor applicant" means an applicant for 

initial certification or for recertification as a 

notary instructor. 

(6) "Instructor application form" means the form 

specified in 18 NCAC 07B .0414. 

(7) "Instructor course" means the initial notary 

public instructor certification course and the 

recertification course. 

(8) "Instructor recertification application form" 

means the form specified in 18 NCAC 07B 

.0418. 

(9) "Recommendation form" means the form 

specified in 18 NCAC 07B .0415. 

(10) "Successfully complete" means, when used to 

describe an instructor applicant, that an 

instructor applicant has complied with Chapter 

10B and the rules in this Subchapter and has: 

(A) presented satisfactory evidence of 

identity; 

(B) attended a notary instructor 

certification or recertification course; 

and 

(C) achieved passing grades on the written 

and oral instructor certification or 

recertification course exams. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. January 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0701 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0102 CONDITIONS FOR BECOMING 

NOTARY INSTRUCTOR 

A commissioned notary public may become a certified notary 

instructor upon meeting the following conditions: 

(1) an eligible institution nominates the notary to 

the Department by written request pursuant to 

Rule .0103 of this Section; and 

(2) the Department determines that the nominee 

meets the criteria in G.S. 10B-14 and the rules 

in this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0103 NOMINATION BY ELIGIBLE 

INSTITUTION 

An eligible institution may nominate a notary public to be 

certified as a notary instructor by: 

(1) submitting a written request to the Department 

addressed to the Director; and 

(2) including in its request: 

(a) the full name of the institution; 

(b) a request that the nominated notary be 

enrolled in an instructor course; 

(c) the name of the proposed notary 

instructor as it appears on the notary's 

commission; 

(d) a statement that the nominated 

instructor has consented to be 

nominated and has been directed to 

contact the Department to request an 

application form; 

(e) the name, title, signature, and contact 

information for the individual 

submitting the request; 

(f) the name and contact information for 

the notary course administrator of the 

institution, if different from the 

individual submitting the request; 

(g) the date of the request; and 

(h) a statement that upon certification as a 

notary instructor, the nominee will be 

employed by the institution as a 

certified notary instructor. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0104 FEE - EXEMPTION AND 

FAILURE TO PAY 

(a)  An instructor applicant who asserts exemption from the fee 

pursuant to G.S. 10B-14(c) shall certify on the instructor 

certification or recertification application form that as of the date 

of application, the applicant is currently employed as: 

(1) a register of deeds; 

(2) a clerk of court; or 

(3) an employee of the Department and is 

authorized by the Secretary to teach notary 

courses as set forth in G.S. 10B-14(c). 

(b)  The Department shall refuse to administer the notary public 

instructor certification exam to an applicant who has failed to pay 

the fee required for certification or recertification as a notary 

instructor before the exam date. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. January 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0705 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0105 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

An applicant for initial notary instructor certification shall: 

(1) be nominated by an eligible institution; 

(2) complete and submit the Department's notary 

instructor application form specified in 18 

NCAC 07B .0414;  

(3) provide proof of active experience as a notary 

public using any combination of the methods 

set out in Section .0200 of this Subchapter; 

(4) submit three recommendations supporting the 

applicant from nonfamily members in 

compliance with Rule .0112 of this Section; 

(5) have read: 

(a) Chapter 10B of the General Statutes; 

(b) the rules in this Chapter; and 

(c) the current edition of the approved 

notary manual for traditional notaries; 

and 

(6) successfully complete the notary instructor 

course. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. January 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0702 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0106 MANDATORY DEPARTMENT 

DENIAL OF INSTRUCTOR APPLICATION 

The Department shall deny a notary instructor certification or 

recertification application if any of the following apply: 

(1) the applicant has not held a notary commission 

for at least one calendar year; 

(2) the applicant does not have active experience as 

a notary public; 

(3) an investigation is pending into the applicant's 

performance of the duties as a notary, an 

electronic notary public, or a notary public 

instructor; 
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(4) the applicant has not completed the conditions 

of any disciplinary action issued by the 

Department; or 

(5) any reason for which a notary commission may 

be denied pursuant to Chapter 10B of the 

General Statutes or the rules in this Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. January 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0703 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0107 DEPARTMENT REJECTION OF 

APPLICATIONS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-8; 10B-14; 

Eff. January 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0704 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0108 VERIFICATION THAT 

INSTRUCTOR APPLICANT CONTINUES TO MEET 

REQUIREMENTS FOR A NOTARY COMMISSION 

An instructor applicant shall verify under penalty of perjury on 

the instructor application form specified in 18 NCAC 07B .0414 

that: 

(1) the information on the application is true and 

complete; and 

(2) the applicant will perform the responsibilities of 

a certified notary instructor as set out in Chapter 

10B of the General Statutes and the rules in this 

Chapter to the best of the applicant's ability. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. January 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0706 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0109 CHANGE IN INSTRUCTOR'S 

ELIGIBLE INSTITUTION 

(a)  Within 45 days of a change in the eligible institution listed on 

the notary instructor application, an instructor applicant or 

certified notary instructor shall notify the Department in writing 

of: 

(1) the change in eligible institution; 

(2) the date that the change is effective; and 

(3) the name and contact information for the notary 

course administrator at the eligible institution. 

(b)  For purposes of this Rule, "change in the eligible institution" 

means: 

(1) that the applicant or certified notary instructor 

will not teach at the institution named in the 

application; or 

(2) that the applicant or certified notary instructor 

will teach at another institution. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0111 OTHER VERIFICATIONS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-8; 10B-14; 

Eff. January 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0707 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0112 RECOMMENDATIONS 

An instructor applicant shall include three recommendations from 

individuals who are not family members of the applicant. The 

recommendations shall be submitted on the Department's 

recommendation form specified in 18 NCAC 07B .0415. 

For purposes of this Rule, either the applicant or the individual 

making the recommendation may submit the recommendation 

form to the Department. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. January 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0712 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0113 INSTRUCTORS AS 

REGISTERED ELECTRONIC NOTARIES 

An instructor applicant shall: 

(1) be a registered electronic notary public at the 

time of application; or 

(2) comply with all requirements for registration as 

an electronic notary within three months of 

successfully completing the instructor 

certification course. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0201 EVIDENCE OF ACTIVE 

EXPERIENCE AS A NOTARY 

Active experience as a notary public shall be established by the 

applicant pursuant to the rules in this Section by presenting any 

combination of the following evidence: 

(1) journal entries; 

(2) employer affidavits; or 

(3) an alternative method as set out in the rules in 

this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. January 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0708 Eff. June 1, 2023; 
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Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0202 JOURNAL AS EVIDENCE OF 

ACTIVE EXPERIENCE 

An instructor applicant may present evidence of active experience 

as a notary public by submitting: 

(1) a complete copy of a journal for the year 

immediately preceding the date on which the 

application is submitted; and 

(2) an affidavit under oath that the entries in the 

journal submitted are accurate. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0204 MINIMUM CONTENTS OF 

NOTARY JOURNAL SUBMITTED AS EVIDENCE OF 

EXPERIENCE 

A journal of notarial acts submitted as evidence of active 

experience as a notary public shall comply with 18 NCAC 07I. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. January 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0709 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0205 EMPLOYER AFFIDAVIT AS 

EVIDENCE OF EXPERIENCE 

An employer affidavit submitted as evidence of active experience 

as a notary public shall be submitted on the form specified in 18 

NCAC 07B .0416. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0206 EMPLOYER AFFIDAVIT 

REGARDING NOTARIAL ACTS FOR EMPLOYER 

An employer affidavit submitted pursuant to Rule .0205 of this 

Section: 

(1) shall refer to notarial acts performed for the 

employer; and 

(2) may refer to other notarial acts of the instructor 

applicant of which the employer affiant is 

personally aware. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0207 EMPLOYER AFFIDAVIT MAY 

INCLUDE RECOMMENDATION 

An employer submitting an affidavit pursuant to Rule .0205 of 

this Section may include as an attachment a recommendation from 

the employer made pursuant to Rule .0112 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0209 SUBMITTAL OF EMPLOYER 

AFFIDAVIT AS EVIDENCE OF EXPERIENCE 

An instructor applicant who relies upon an employer affidavit 

pursuant to Rule .0205 of this Section shall either submit it to the 

Department or have the employer affiant directly submit it to the 

Department. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. January 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0710 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0212 ALTERNATIVE AFFIDAVITS AS 

EVIDENCE OF EXPERIENCE 

An instructor applicant may submit evidence of active experience 

as a notary public that is not a journal or employer affidavit if: 

(1) the evidence consists of one or more affidavits 

from nonfamily members that comply with 

Rule .0213 of this Section and that together 

establish that the instructor applicant has active 

experience as a notary; and 

(2) an affidavit from the instructor applicant that 

complies with Rule .0214 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. January 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0711 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0213 AFFIDAVIT OF EXPERIENCE 

FROM NONFAMILY MEMBER 

An instructor applicant who submits alternative evidence of 

experience pursuant to Rule .0212 of this Section shall submit an 

affidavit from at least one individual who is not a family member 

that includes: 

(1) the applicant's commission name; 

(2) the affiant's printed name; 

(3) the affiant's address, telephone number, and 

email address; 

(4) a brief explanation describing how the affiant 

knows the applicant; 

(5) each month and year in which the affiant knows 

that the applicant performed at least one 

notarial act; 

(6) an explanation of how the affiant knows that at 

least one notarial act was performed during 

each of the months listed in response to Item (5) 

of this Rule; 

(7) the signature of the affiant and the date on 

which the affiant signed; and 

(8) a jurat certificate. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 
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18 NCAC 07E .0214 ALTERNATIVE EVIDENCE 

AFFIDAVIT FROM INSTRUCTOR APPLICANT 

An instructor applicant who presents alternative evidence of 

active experience as a notary public pursuant to Rule .0212 of this 

Section shall submit the applicant's own affidavit consisting of: 

(1) the applicant's commission name; 

(2) a declaration of the applicant's active 

experience as a notary public; 

(3) an explanation for how the applicant knows that 

at least 1 notarial act was performed in each of 

the 12 months preceding the application; 

(4) the signature of the applicant and the date on 

which the applicant signed; and 

(5) a jurat certificate. 

Note: To satisfy Item (3) of this Rule, the applicant might refer to 

a calendar with notes of notarial acts. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0301 INSTRUCTOR COURSE 

REQUIREMENT 

An instructor applicant shall attend the entirety of, and 

successfully complete, a North Carolina notary instructor course 

approved by the Department. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0302 NOTARY INSTRUCTOR 

CERTIFICATION AND RECERTIFICATION EXAM 

PASSING SCORE 

A passing score shall be 90 percent or higher on each of the notary 

instructor certification and recertification written exams. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. January 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0714 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0303 ORAL PRESENTATION 

REQUIREMENT FOR INSTRUCTOR APPLICANT 

As part of the notary instructor course exam, a notary instructor 

applicant shall make an oral presentation that complies with the 

rules in this Section by presenting on a notary public curriculum 

topic selected by the applicant from a list provided by the 

Department. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. January 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0713 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0304 NOTARY INSTRUCTOR ORAL 

PRESENTATION PASSING SCORE 

The Department or its designee shall evaluate the oral 

presentation portion of the instructor exam on a pass-fail basis 

using the factors in Rules .0306 through .0312 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0306 FACTORS RELATING TO 

VOICE 

An instructor applicant's oral presentation shall be evaluated on 

voice quality, consisting of projection, diction, pitch, and rate of 

speech. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0307 FACTORS RELATING TO 

VERBAL SKILL 

An instructor applicant's oral presentation shall be evaluated on 

verbal skill, consisting of fluency, clarity, and vocabulary 

appropriate for the audience. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0308 FACTORS RELATING TO 

PHYSICAL APPEARANCE AND MANNERISMS 

An instructor applicant's oral presentation shall be evaluated on 

professional appearance and mannerisms. For purposes of this 

Rule, "professional appearance and mannerisms" means: 

(1) attire appropriate to the adult education setting. 

Note: Professional and office casual attire are 

examples of appropriate attire; and 

(2) posture, body language, eye contact, and 

movement that projects a professional 

demeanor that will engage the students. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0309 FACTORS RELATING TO 

PROFESSIONAL QUALITIES OF THE INSTRUCTOR 

An instructor applicant's oral presentation shall be evaluated on 

the applicant's professional qualities. For purposes of this Rule, 

"professional qualities" means the applicant's demonstration of: 

(1) knowledge of the notary course curriculum, the 

notary manual, Chapter 10B of the General 

Statutes, and the rules in this Chapter; 

(2) projection of confidence in presenting the 

materials, admitting areas of uncertainty and 

willingness to get and provide answers; 

(3) tact and sensitivity that respects individuals 

while also respecting the time of the other 

students when responding to questions or issues 

that arise in the class; and 

(4) enthusiasm for the subject matter and for 

teaching, so that students are engaged. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0310 FACTORS RELATING TO 

SELECTION AND USE OF TRAINING AIDS 

An instructor applicant's oral presentation shall be evaluated on 

the applicant's selection and use of technology and training aids, 

such as the applicable notary manual and approved handouts and 

instructional videos. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0311 FACTORS RELATING TO 

SEQUENCE 

An instructor applicant's oral presentation shall be evaluated on 

the applicant's presentation of information in a logical sequence. 

For purposes of this Rule, "presentation of information in logical 

sequence" means the applicant: 

(1) follows in order the curriculum and lesson plan 

provided by the Department; 

(2) transitions without effort between topics; and 

(3) returns to the initial sequence after 

appropriately addressing the student's issue if a 

student raises an issue out of order. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0312 FACTORS RELATING TO 

EMPHASIS, EXAMPLES, AND SUMMARIZATION 

An instructor applicant's oral presentation shall be evaluated on 

the applicant's: 

(1) emphasis on key points; 

(2) use of examples relevant to the topic of the 

presentation; and 

(3) summarization of topics. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0401 RETAKING WRITTEN 

CERTIFICATION OR RECERTIFICATION EXAM 

An instructor applicant who fails the written certification or 

recertification exam may schedule one additional written exam 

within one month of the date of the failed exam by: 

(1) making a written request to the Department 

addressed to the Director; and 

(2) submitting the request within one week of the 

date of the failed written exam. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0402 CONSEQUENCE OF FAILING 

TO PASS WRITTEN INSTRUCTOR EXAM 

An instructor applicant who fails to pass the written instructor 

exam within one month of the date on which the written exam is 

first taken and wishes to become a certified instructor shall 

comply again with Rule .0105 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0403 SCHEDULING ADDITIONAL 

ORAL PRESENTATION UPON FAILURE 

An instructor applicant who fails to pass the oral presentation may 

schedule one additional oral presentation by: 

(1) making a written scheduling request to the 

Department addressed to the Director; 

(2) submitting the request within one week of the 

date of the failed oral presentation; and 

(3) making the second oral presentation within one 

month of the date on which the first oral 

presentation was made. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0404 REPEAT ORAL 

PRESENTATION 

An instructor applicant who schedules an additional oral 

presentation pursuant to Rule .0403 of this Section shall make a 

presentation on a topic selected by the Department from the notary 

instructor curriculum. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0405 EVALUATION OF REPEAT 

ORAL PRESENTATION 

An instructor applicant who makes an additional oral presentation 

pursuant to Rule .0404 of this Section shall be evaluated pursuant 

to the factors set out in Section .0300 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0406 CONSEQUENCE OF FAILING 

TO PASS SECOND ORAL PRESENTATION 

An instructor applicant who fails to pass the second oral 

presentation within the time set in Rule .0403 of this Section and 

who wishes to become a certified instructor shall comply again 

with Rule .0105 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0407 CONSEQUENCES OF FAILING 

TO RECERTIFY 

An instructor applicant who does not comply with the 

requirements for instructor recertification before expiration of the 

existing certification shall: 

(1) notify the institutions at which the instructor 

taught prior to the expiration; and 

(2) not teach a notary course before becoming 

certified as a notary instructor again. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0601 MINIMUM INSTRUCTIONAL 

DUTIES OF CERTIFIED NOTARY INSTRUCTORS 

(a)  A certified notary instructor shall verify the identity of each 

student in a notary course during the first instructional period by: 

(1) requiring satisfactory evidence of identity as 

defined in G.S. 10B-3(22)a; or 

(2) having personal knowledge of the student as 

defined in G.S. 10B-3(17). 

(b)  A certified notary instructor shall verify the identity of each 

student in a traditional notary course again prior to signing the 

application of a traditional notary applicant. 

(c)  A certified instructor shall comply with the eligible 

institution's requirements regarding audits of courses, provided 

that the instructor shall not permit a student who is auditing to: 

(1) see or take the notary course exam; or 

(2) remain in the classroom during the notary 

course exam. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. January 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0716 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0602 ADHERENCE TO 

CURRICULUM 

A certified notary instructor shall follow the Department 

curriculum for notary courses unless the Department grants a 

written variance to the instructor pursuant to the rules in Section 

.0800 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-8; 10B-14; 10B-

134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0603 PROCTORING EXAM 

When administering the notary course exam, a certified notary 

instructor shall: 

(1) comply with the requirements of the institution 

regarding proctoring exams; 

(2) if the institution does not have requirements 

regarding exam proctoring, take steps to 

prevent cheating on the exam; and 

(3) take other measures to prevent cheating that the 

instructor deems appropriate. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0604 SUBMISSION OF GRADES TO 

DEPARTMENT 

Certified notary instructors shall: 

(1) grade notary course exams administered on 

paper; 

(2) review grades for notary course exams 

administered electronically on the Department's 

website; and 

(3) electronically submit accurate student exam 

grades to the Department within two business 

days after the exams have been administered. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0605 REPORTING SUSPECTED 

CHEATING 

A certified notary instructor shall: 

(1) comply with the institution's reporting 

requirements regarding suspected cheating; and 

(2) report to the Department within two business 

days if the instructor has reason to believe that 

there has been cheating by any student on a 

notary course exam, and include: 

(a) the name and, if available, address and 

contact information, for any student 

suspected of cheating; 

(b) a narrative description of the 

instructor's reasons for believing 

cheating may have occurred; 

(c) whether, when, and to whom the 

instructor reported the possible 

cheating at the institution; and 

(d) any other information such as 

additional supporting evidence that 

the instructor believes may aid the 

Department in investigating the report. 

Note: For purposes of this Rule, "additional supporting evidence" 

includes evidence such as videos, student admissions, and witness 

reports. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0701 RESPONSE TO COMPLAINTS 

If the Department receives information or a complaint regarding 

a certified notary instructor's qualifications as an instructor or 

notary public, or performance as an instructor, the instructor shall, 

as directed by the Department, perform any combination of the 

following: 

(1) submit to an interview; 

(2) submit requested information; or 

(3) submit audio and visual documentation such as 

a video of actual instruction to the extent 

available. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. January 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0716 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 
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18 NCAC 07E .0702 INSTRUCTOR CONDUCT 

During instruction and administration of the duties of a certified 

notary instructor, an instructor shall demonstrate a professional 

demeanor. 

For purposes of this Rule, "professional demeanor" means 

exhibiting behaviors consistent with the factors on which an 

instructor applicant's oral presentation is evaluated pursuant to 

Rules .0306 through .0312 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0801 REQUEST FOR VARIANCE 

FROM APPROVED INSTRUCTIONAL AIDS 

Certified notary instructors may submit a written request 

addressed to the Director requesting that the Department approve 

a variance allowing use of instructional aids in addition to or 

differing from those established by the Department. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-8; 10B-14; 10B-

134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0802 VARIANCE REQUEST - 

EXEMPLAR REQUIRED 

A certified notary instructor who submits a request for variance 

pursuant to this Section shall include a complete copy of the 

proposed instructional aid in its original size and colors. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-8; 10B-14; 10B-

134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0803 VARIANCE REQUEST - 

EXPLANATION OF VALUE 

A certified notary instructor who submits a variance request shall 

explain to the Department how the revised or new aid: 

(1) will be used by the instructor; and 

(2) will assist notary course students in 

understanding the role and responsibilities of a 

notary public or an electronic notary public. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-8; 10B-14; 10B-

134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0804 VARIANCE REQUEST – 

APPROVAL CRITERIA 

The Department shall approve or deny a variance request using 

the following criteria: 

(1) conformity with Chapter 10B of the General 

Statutes and the rules in this Chapter; 

(2) the value added to the curriculum; 

(3) the impact of the change on the length of the 

course; and 

(4) the quality of visual or audio elements. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-8; 10B-14; 10B-

134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0901 PREREQUISITE FOR 

INSTRUCTOR APPLICATION SIGNATURE 

A certified notary instructor shall sign a student's notary 

application only after the student has successfully completed the 

course. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0902 INSTRUCTOR VERIFICATION 

OF STUDENT NAME 

A certified notary instructor shall not sign a student's notary 

application if the name on the satisfactory evidence presented 

does not match the student's name for use on a notary commission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0903 RETESTING STUDENTS WHO 

FAIL NOTARY COURSE EXAM 

The institution where a notary course is taught shall determine 

whether a certified notary instructor may administer a retest to a 

student who fails a notary course exam. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .0904 NOTICE TO DEPARTMENT OF 

RETESTING 

If a certified notary instructor retests a student who fails a notary 

course exam, the instructor shall: 

(1) retest the student within 30 days of the date of 

the course and failed exam; and 

(2) submit the results of the retest to the 

Department within two business days of the 

date on which the student retook the exam. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .1001 STUDENT EVALUATIONS OF 

INSTRUCTORS 

A certified notary instructor shall: 

(1) in each year of certification require that 

students in at least one of the instructor's notary 

courses complete the Department's student 

evaluation of notary instructor form specified in 

18 NCAC 07B .0417, unless the instructor's 

employer institution obtains student 

evaluations during the same period; and 

(2) submit to the Department copies of all student 

evaluation forms completed pursuant to Item 

(1) of this Rule within 45 days of receipt of the 

completed forms. Note: Where the employer 

institution obtains student evaluations more 

frequently than once per certification year, 
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evaluations for a single class in the certification 

year satisfy the requirements of this Item. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. January 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 

6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0717 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .1002 DEPARTMENTAL USE OF 

STUDENT EVALUATIONS 

In order to determine whether a certified notary instructor shall 

receive coaching, counseling, or be subject to action pursuant to 

G.S. 10B-60, the Department shall review student evaluations of 

the instructor for consistency with the factors on which an 

instructor applicant's oral presentation is evaluated pursuant to 

Rules .0306 through .0312 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .1101 INELIGIBILITY FOR 

RECERTIFICATION AS NOTARY INSTRUCTOR 

A certified notary instructor shall not be eligible for recertification 

as a notary instructor if the instructor: 

(1) no longer qualifies for initial commissioning as 

a notary public; 

(2) has not taught at least two notary courses in 

each of the two immediately preceding 

instructor certification years; or 

(3) has failed to comply with other requirements 

imposed upon a notary or notary public 

instructor pursuant to G.S. 10B-14 or the rules 

in this Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-8; 10B-14; 10B-

134.21; 

Eff. January 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0718 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .1102 NOTARY PUBLIC INSTRUCTOR 

RECERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS 

An applicant for recertification as a notary instructor shall: 

(1) complete the Department's notary instructor 

recertification form specified in 18 NCAC 07B 

.0418 and submit it to the Department prior to 

lapse of certification; 

(2) successfully complete the notary instructor 

recertification course; and 

(3) except as otherwise provided by G.S. 10B-14, 

pay the required fee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. January 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0719 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2025. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .1103 NOTARY INSTRUCTOR 

CERTIFICATION EQUIVALENCE 

(a) Successful completion of the notary instructor course shall 

satisfy the requirements for successful completion of the notary 

recommissioning exam and electronic notary course and exam. 

(b) Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall apply only to a notary who: 

(1) is a certified notary instructor when applying 

for recommissioning as a notary or 

reregistration as an electronic notary; and 

(2) is a certified notary instructor at the time of 

taking the recommissioning oath. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. January 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. December 6, 2016; 

Transferred from 18 NCAC 07B .0719 Eff. June 1, 2023; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .1104 NOTARY INSTRUCTOR 

RECERTIFICATION COURSE ORAL PRESENTATION 

The notary instructor recertification course shall include an oral 

presentation in addition to the written exam for: 

(1) a certified notary instructor's first 

recertification; 

(2) an instructor who has taught no more than two 

notary courses in each of the two immediately 

preceding certification years; 

(3) an instructor whose student grades have on 

average been less than 85 percent; 

(4) an instructor whose student evaluations for a 

single course have had a majority of ratings of 

less than "Good" on: 

(a) any one category of the evaluation 

form; or 

(b) any combination of the evaluation 

form categories; or 

(5) an instructor subject to Rule .1105 of this 

Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .1105 NOTARY INSTRUCTOR WITH 

LAPSE IN CERTIFICATION 

(a)  A certified notary instructor who has a lapse between 

certification terms shall comply with the requirements for initial 

certification as a notary instructor. 

(b)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, if the lapse is for 

less than six months and the instructor otherwise qualifies, the 

instructor: 

(1) may take the recertification course instead of 

the initial certification course; and 
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(2) shall make an oral presentation during the 

course. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .1202 APPLICATION DENIAL – 

FAILURE TO NOTIFY DEPARTMENT OF CHANGES 

The Department shall deny an application for notary instructor 

certification or recertification if the notary public or instructor has 

failed to notify the Department of changes as required by Chapter 

10B of the General Statutes or the rules in this Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .1203 APPLICATION DENIAL – 

TERMINATION FOR CAUSE 

The Department shall deny an application for notary instructor 

recertification if the certified notary instructor has been 

terminated by an eligible institution for cause. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .1204 APPLICATION DENIAL – 

FAILURE TO SUBMIT EXAM GRADES 

The Department shall deny the application for recertification of a 

certified notary instructor if the instructor applicant has failed to 

submit student exam grades in accordance with Rule .0604 of this 

Subchapter more than once in a certification year. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024. 

 

18 NCAC 07E .1205 APPLICATION DENIAL – 

DISCIPLINARY ACTION 

The Department shall deny an application for instructor 

certification or recertification if the notary public has been the 

subject of a disciplinary action, other than a warning or denial, 

that is related to performance as a notary public, an electronic 

notary public, or a notary instructor. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 10B-4; 10B-14; 10B-134.21; 

Eff. July 1, 2024.
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission February 28, 2024 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  

Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Barbara A. Jackson (1st Vice-Chair) 

Jay R. Hemphill Randy Overton (2nd Vice-Chair) 
Jeff Hyde Wayne R. Boyles, III 

Brandon Leebrick Jake Parker 
Bill Nelson Paul Powell 

 
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Brian Liebman  984-236-1948 
William W. Peaslee 984-236-1939 
Seth M. Ascher  984-236-1934 
Travis Wiggs  984-236-1929 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 April 30, 2024 June 26, 2024 
 May 29, 2024 July 31, 2024 

 

 
 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING 
MINUTES 

February 28, 2024 
 
The Rules Review Commission met on Wednesday, February 28, 2024, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church 
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, and via WebEx. 
 
Commissioners Wayne R. Boyles III, Jeanette Doran, Jeff Hyde, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, and Jake Parker were present 
in the Commission Room. Commissioners Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, and Paul Powell were present via WebEx. 
 
Staff member Alexander Burgos, Commission Counsel Seth Ascher, Bill Peaslee, and Travis Wiggs were present in the 
room. Commission Counsel Brian Liebman was present via Webex. 
 
The meeting was called to order at 10:00 a.m. with Chair Doran presiding.  
 
The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to 
avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest. 
 
The Chair notified the Commissioners that the following item on the agenda would be taken up out of order at the end of 
the agenda: Permanent rules from the Office of State Budget and Management.  
 
APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the January 31, 2024, meeting. 
There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the minutes were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Wayne R. Boyles III, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul 
Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
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The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the February 22, 2023, special 
meeting. There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the minutes were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Wayne R. Boyles III, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul 
Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
FOLLOW UP MATTERS 
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 
12 NCAC 09F .0103, .0104, and .0105 – The Commission objected to these Rules at the February special meeting. No 
action was required by the Commission. 

Alarm Systems Licensing Board 
Upon the call of the Chair, 14B NCAC 17 .0502 was approved contingent upon a technical change to read “Credit shall be 
given only for classes that have been preapproved by the Board. Board using the criteria set forth in Rule .0503.” by roll-
call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon 
Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None.  
 
The revised rule was received following the meeting.  
 
Jeff Gray, the rulemaking coordinator with the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Board of Examiners in Optometry 
21 NCAC 42D .0102 - At the January 2024 meeting, the Commission found that the revised rule satisfied the RRC’s objection 
at the November 2023 meeting; however, it also determined that the revised rule was a substantial change and will need to 
be published and reviewed pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(g). This Rule will remain on the agenda until it is published. No 
action was required by the Commission.  
 
Building Code Council 
Upon the call of the Chair, the 2023 NC Electrical Code (230613 Item B-3) was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 
as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy 
Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES) 
Office of State Budget and Management  
Upon the call of the Chair, 09 NCAC 03M .0101, .0102, .0205, .0401, .0601, .0703, .0801, and .0802 were approved by roll-
call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon 
Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
09 NCAC 03M .0202 - Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to adopt staff’s recommendation to object to the 
rule incorporated in the staff opinion for lack of statutory authority, clarity or ambiguity, necessity, and failure to comply with 
the APA by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jeff Hyde, Barbara 
Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Department of the Secretary of State 
Upon the call of the Chair, 18 NCAC 07B .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109, .0110, .0407, .0408, 
.0409, .0410, .0411, .0412, .0413, .0414, 07B .0415, .0416, .0417, .0418, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0601, 
.0602, .0603, .0604, .0605, .0606, .0607, .0608, .0701, .0702, .0703, .0704, .0705, .0706, .0707; 07C .0101, .0102, .0201, 
.0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, .0206, .0207, .0208, .0209, .0210, .0301, .0303, .0304, .0305, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, 
.0406, .0407, .0409, .0410, .0411, .0502, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0508, .0509, .0510, .0601, .0602, .0603, .0604, .0605, .0606, 
.0607, .0701, .0702, .0703, .0704; 07D .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0301, .0302, .0303, .0304, .0305, .0306, .0307, .0308; 
07E  .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109, .0111, .0112, .0113, .0201, .0202, .0204, .0205, .0206, 
.0207; 07E .0209, .0212, .0213, .0214, .0301, .0302, .0303, .0304, .0306, .0307, .0308, .0309, .0310, .0311, .0312, .0401, 
.0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, .0407, .0601, .0602, .0603, .0604, .0605, .0701, .0702, .0801, .0802, .0803, .0804, .0901, 
.0902, .0903, .0904, .1001, .1002, .1101, .1102, .1103, .1104, .1105, .1202, .1203, .1204 and.1205 were approved by roll-
call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon 
Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
18 NCAC 07C .0302 and .0507 were withdrawn at the request of the agency. No action was required by the Commission. 
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Board of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to extend the period of review for 21 NCAC 56 .0502 and .0701 by roll-
call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon 
Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Building Code Council 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted to extend the period of review for the 2024 North Carolina Energy 
Conservation Code, 2024 North Carolina Fuel Gas Code, and 2024 North Carolina Mechanical Code by roll-call vote, ayes 
8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill 
Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Existing Rule Review 
Oil and Gas Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, the report for 15A NCAC 05C was approved by the RRC by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as 
follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy 
Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
COMMISSION BUSINESS 
The Commission voted to approve the Marine Fisheries Commission’s and the Wildlife Resources Commission’s request 
for a waiver of the 210-day requirement for temporary rules pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.1(a2) by roll-call vote, ayes 5, noes 
4 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, and Paul Powell 
– 5. Voting in the negative: Jeff Hyde, Jeanette Doran, Randy Overton, and Jake Parker – 4.  Each agency is to receive a 
60-day extension, running concurrently, from the expiration of the 210-day period on May 7, 2024 to July 6, 2024. 
 
Christine Ryan, with the Department of Justice and representing the Marine Fisheries Commission, addressed the 
Commission. 
 
Carrie Ruhlman, the rulemaking coordinator for the Wildlife Resources Commission, addressed the agency. 
 
At 11:48 a.m., upon a motion by Chair Doran and a second by Commissioner Jackson, the Commission voted to call the 
public meeting of the Rules Review Commission into recess and enter into a closed session pursuant to G.S. 143-
318.11(a)(1) to review and approve the general account of the January 31, 2024 closed session which may be withheld 
from public inspection pursuant to G.S. 143-318.10(e) and to consult with counsel regarding CRC v. RRC, EMC v. RRC, 
and other potential litigation pursuant to G.S. 143.11(a)(3), by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the 
affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, 
and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Commissioners Barbara Jackson and Paul Powell did not return to the regular meeting following the closed session. 
 
At 12:07 p.m., upon a motion by the Chair and a second by Commissioner Overton, the Commission voted to come out of 
closed session and reconvene the public meeting of the Rules Review Commission by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as 
follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jeff Hyde, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, and Jake 
Parker – 6. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
The meeting was adjourned at 12:07 p.m. 
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Wednesday, March 27, 2024, at 10:00 a.m. 
 
 
  
      
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
 
 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Jeanette Doran, Chair 
 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

38:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 1, 2024 

1302 

  
  



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

38:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 1, 2024 

1303 

Rules Review Commission Meeting February 28, 2024 
Via WebEx 

 

Name   Agency  

Dennis Seavers Barber Board 

Brian Liebman OAH 

Ozie Stallworth SOSNC 

Dana McGhee OAH 

Catherine Blum DEQ 

Scarlett Hargis Office of the Governor 

Ashley Snyder OAH 

Gina M. Von Oehsen -Cleary DOJ 

Cliff Isaac NCHBA 

Angela Willis DEQ 

Lindsay Gomes unc.edu 

Tina DuPree SOSNC 

Alisha Benjamin DOI 

Beth Williams DOI 

Anne Coan NCFB 

Denise Mazza SHR 

Alisha Benjamin DOI 

Jennifer Everett DEQ 

Karen Holder DOI 

Serena Jones DOJ 

David Rittlinger BCC 

James Chapman DEQ 

Sarah Zambon DOJ 

James Chapman DEQ 

Jason Walsh DEQ 

Brandi Salmon DEQ 

Sarah Bales brubakernc.com 

Misty Piekaar  DAAS 

Jesse Bissette DEQ 

Michael Loeffler DEQ 

Taylor Corpening DHHS 

Kenneth Taylor DEQ 

Hayworth, Anna AGR 

Lauren Vollmer bcbsnc.com 

Mary Lucasse  DOJ 

Cora Houston NCBEL 

Lonnie Christopher NCCOB 

Mike Hejduk DOI 

Carrie Pickett DEQ 

Niehaus, Virginia DHHS 

Johnny Loper Optometry 
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Christian Waters WRC 

Ian Clark DHHS 

Sharon Martin DES 

 

 

LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES 

February 28, 2024 Meeting 

STATE BUDGET AND MANAGEMENT, OFFICE OF 

Purpose 09 NCAC 03M .0101 

Definitions 09 NCAC 03M .0102 

Allowable Uses of Grants 09 NCAC 03M .0201 

Minimum Reporting Requirements for Recipients and Subreci... 09 NCAC 03M .0205 

Agency Responsibilities 09 NCAC 03M .0401 

Office of State Budget and Management Responsibilities 09 NCAC 03M .0601 

Required Contract Provisions 09 NCAC 03M .0703 

Noncompliance with Rules 09 NCAC 03M .0801 

Recovery of State Funds 09 NCAC 03M .0802 

ALARM SYSTEMS LICENSING BOARD 

Required Continuing Education Hours 14B NCAC 17 .0502 

SECRETARY OF STATE, DEPARTMENT OF THE 

Scope 18 NCAC 07B .0101 

Definitions 18 NCAC 07B .0102 

Operating Hours and General Contact Information 18 NCAC 07B .0103 

ADA Accommodations 18 NCAC 07B .0104 

Obtaining Requested Information 18 NCAC 07B .0105 

Waiver 18 NCAC 07B .0106 

Contents of Waiver Request 18 NCAC 07B .0107 

Factors Used in Considering Waiver Requests 18 NCAC 07B .0108 

Computation of Time Periods 18 NCAC 07B .0109 

Request to Department for Confidential Information 18 NCAC 07B .0110 

Initial Application for Notary Commission Form 18 NCAC 07B .0407 

Affidavit of Moral Character 18 NCAC 07B .0408 

Application for Recommissioning as Notary Public 18 NCAC 07B .0409 

Notice of Changes Required by 18 NCAC 07D .0301 18 NCAC 07B .0410 

Notice of Changes Regarding Criminal History Record 18 NCAC 07B .0411 

Notice of Changes Regarding Professional Licenses, Notary... 18 NCAC 07B .0412 

Notice of Changes Regarding Findings or Admissions of Dec... 18 NCAC 07B .0413 

Application for Certification as Notary Instructor 18 NCAC 07B .0414 

Recommendation of Notary Instructor Applicant 18 NCAC 07B .0415 

Employer Affidavit Regarding Instructor Applicant Active ... 18 NCAC 07B .0416 

Student Evaluation of Notary Instructor Form 18 NCAC 07B .0417 

Application for Recertification as Notary Instructor 18 NCAC 07B .0418 

Crimes 18 NCAC 07B .0501 

Additional Requirements for an Individual Listing Convict... 18 NCAC 07B .0502 

Explanation of Convictions 18 NCAC 07B .0503 
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Additional Documentation for Convictions 18 NCAC 07B .0504 

Requirements for Individual with Pending Criminal Charges 18 NCAC 07B .0505 

Notice to Department of Disposition of Pending Charge 18 NCAC 07B .0506 

Factors for Disciplinary Actions 18 NCAC 07B .0601 

Denials 18 NCAC 07B .0602 

Levels of Enforcement 18 NCAC 07B .0603 

Letter of Caution 18 NCAC 07B .0604 

Warning 18 NCAC 07B .0605 

Suspension 18 NCAC 07B .0606 

Restriction 18 NCAC 07B .0607 

Mandatory Revocation 18 NCAC 07B .0608 

General 18 NCAC 07B .0701 

Requirements Regarding Professional Licenses and Notarial... 18 NCAC 07B .0702 

Disciplinary Action Involving a Professional License or N... 18 NCAC 07B .0703 

Public Offices 18 NCAC 07B .0704 

Denials of Public Offices 18 NCAC 07B .0705 

Resignations from Public Offices 18 NCAC 07B .0706 

Disciplinary Action Involving a Public Office 18 NCAC 07B .0707 

Scope 18 NCAC 07C .0101 

Definitions Related to Application and Recommissioning Pr... 18 NCAC 07C .0102 

Initial Application 18 NCAC 07C .0201 

Timing 18 NCAC 07C .0202 

Requirements for Applicants Residing Outside North Carolina 18 NCAC 07C .0203 

Additional Requirements for Applicants Listing Convictions 18 NCAC 07C .0204 

Requirements for Applicant with Pending Criminal Charges 18 NCAC 07C .0205 

Requirements for Applicants Regarding Professional Licens... 18 NCAC 07C .0206 

Findings or Admissions of Liability Based on the Applican... 18 NCAC 07C .0207 

Findings that the Applicant Engaged in Official Misconduct 18 NCAC 07C .0208 

Findings of Unauthorized Practice of Law 18 NCAC 07C .0209 

Finding of False or Misleading Advertising 18 NCAC 07C .0210 

Courses Taught by Certified Notary Instructors 18 NCAC 07C .0301 

Presentation of Satisfactory Evidence of Identity in Conn... 18 NCAC 07C .0303 

Satisfactory Evidence Presented to Instructor 18 NCAC 07C .0304 

Retesting 18 NCAC 07C .0305 

Appointment 18 NCAC 07C .0401 

Issuance of Certificates 18 NCAC 07C .0402 

Notice to Appointee 18 NCAC 07C .0403 

Commission Certificate 18 NCAC 07C .0404 

Satisfactory Evidence of Identity 18 NCAC 07C .0405 

Register of Deeds 18 NCAC 07C .0406 

Performing Traditional Notarial Acts 18 NCAC 07C .0407 

Term of Commission 18 NCAC 07C .0409 

Term of Reappointment Commission 18 NCAC 07C .0410 

Notarial Acts Prohibited During Gaps Between Commission T... 18 NCAC 07C .0411 

Late Application 18 NCAC 07C .0502 

Application After Recommissioning Denial Based on Failing... 18 NCAC 07C .0504 

Application for Recommissioning within 12 months of Commi... 18 NCAC 07C .0505 
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Recommissioning Educational Requirement 18 NCAC 07C .0506 

Cancellation of Commission 18 NCAC 07C .0508 

Rescind Cancellation of Certificate of Appointment 18 NCAC 07C .0509 

Confirmation of Notary Status 18 NCAC 07C .0510 

Application Steps for Recommissioning 18 NCAC 07C .0601 

Method of Taking Recommissioning Exam 18 NCAC 07C .0602 

Course as Alternative to Recommissioning Exam 18 NCAC 07C .0603 

Exam Length and Passing Score 18 NCAC 07C .0604 

Retaking Recommissioning Exam after Failure 18 NCAC 07C .0605 

Failure to Pass Exam within 30 Days 18 NCAC 07C .0606 

Individual Who Fails to Seek Recommissioning within One Year 18 NCAC 07C .0607 

Attorney Application for Initial Appointment 18 NCAC 07C .0701 

Recommissioning of Attorney Notaries 18 NCAC 07C .0702 

Attorneys who Fail to Take Notarial Oath Timely 18 NCAC 07C .0703 

Attorneys Seeking Registration or Reregistration as Elect... 18 NCAC 07C .0704 

Scope 18 NCAC 07D .0101 

Response to Department Requests 18 NCAC 07D .0102 

Extension Request to Department 18 NCAC 07D .0103 

Department Response to Extension Request 18 NCAC 07D .0104 

Obligation to Give Notice of Changes in Primary Information 18 NCAC 07D .0301 

Notice to Department of Pending Criminal Charges 18 NCAC 07D .0302 

Notice to Department of Criminal Charge Disposition 18 NCAC 07D .0303 

Notice to Department of Findings or Admissions of Deceit 18 NCAC 07D .0304 

Notice to Department of Changes to Professional License, ... 18 NCAC 07D .0305 

Notice to Department of Official Misconduct 18 NCAC 07D .0306 

Notice to Department of False or Misleading Advertising 18 NCAC 07D .0307 

Notice to Department Regarding Unauthorized Practice of Law 18 NCAC 07D .0308 

Instructor Certification - Scope and Definitions 18 NCAC 07E .0101 

Conditions for Becoming Notary Instructor 18 NCAC 07E .0102 

Nomination by Eligible Institution 18 NCAC 07E .0103 

Exemption and Failure to Pay 18 NCAC 07E .0104 

General Requirements 18 NCAC 07E .0105 

Mandatory Department Denial of Instructor Application 18 NCAC 07E .0106 

Department Rejections of Applications 18 NCAC 07E .0107 

Verification that Instructor Applicant Continues to Meet ... 18 NCAC 07E .0108 

Change in Instructor's Eligible Institution 18 NCAC 07E .0109 

Other Verifications 18 NCAC 07E .0111 

Recommendations 18 NCAC 07E .0112 

Instructors as Registered Electronic Notaries 18 NCAC 07E .0113 

Evidence of Active Experience as a Notary 18 NCAC 07E .0201 

Journal as Evidence of Active Experience 18 NCAC 07E .0202 

Minimum Contents of Notary Journal Submitted as Evidence ... 18 NCAC 07E .0204 

Employer Affidavit as Evidence of Experience 18 NCAC 07E .0205 

Employer Affidavit Regarding Notarial Acts for Employer 18 NCAC 07E .0206 

Employer Affidavit May Include Recommendation 18 NCAC 07E .0207 

Submittal of Employer Affidavit as Evidence of Experience 18 NCAC 07E .0209 

Alternative Affidavits as Evidence of Experience 18 NCAC 07E .0212 
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Affidavit of Experience from Nonfamily Member 18 NCAC 07E .0213 

Alternative Evidence of Affidavit from Instructor Applicant 18 NCAC 07E .0214 

Instructor Course Requirement 18 NCAC 07E .0301 

Notary Instructor Certification and Recertification Exam ... 18 NCAC 07E .0302 

Oral Presentation Requirement for Instructor Applicant 18 NCAC 07E .0303 

Notary Instructor Oral Presentation Passing Score 18 NCAC 07E .0304 

Factors Relating to Voice 18 NCAC 07E .0306 

Factors Relating to Verbal Skill 18 NCAC 07E .0307 

Factors Relating to Physical Appearance and Mannerisms 18 NCAC 07E .0308 

Factors Relating to Professional Qualities of the Instructor 18 NCAC 07E .0309 

Factors Relating to Selection and Use of Training Aids 18 NCAC 07E .0310 

Factors Relating to Sequence 18 NCAC 07E .0311 

Factors Relating to Emphasis, Examples, and Summarization 18 NCAC 07E .0312 

Retaking Written Certification or Recertification Exam 18 NCAC 07E .0401 

Consequence of Failing to Pass Written Instructor Exam 18 NCAC 07E .0402 

Scheduling Additional Oral Presentation Upon Failure+ 18 NCAC 07E .0403 

Repeat Oral Presentation 18 NCAC 07E .0404 

Evaluation of Repeat Oral Presentation 18 NCAC 07E .0405 

Consequence of Failing to Pass Second Oral Presentation 18 NCAC 07E .0406 

Consequence of Failing to Recertify 18 NCAC 07E .0407 

Minimum Instructional Duties of Certified Notary Instructors 18 NCAC 07E .0601 

Adherence to Curriculum 18 NCAC 07E .0602 

Proctoring Exam 18 NCAC 07E .0603 

Submission of Grades to Department 18 NCAC 07E .0604 

Reporting Suspected Cheating 18 NCAC 07E .0605 

Response to Complaints 18 NCAC 07E .0701 

Instructor Conduct 18 NCAC 07E .0702 

Request for Variance from Approved Instructional Aids 18 NCAC 07E .0801 

Variance Request - Exemplar Required 18 NCAC 07E .0802 

Variance Request - Explanation of Value 18 NCAC 07E .0803 

Variance Request - Approval of Criteria 18 NCAC 07E .0804 

Prerequisite for Instructor Application Signature 18 NCAC 07E .0901 

Instructor Verification of Student Name 18 NCAC 07E .0902 

Retesting Students Who Fail Notary Course Exam 18 NCAC 07E .0903 

Notice to Department of Retesting 18 NCAC 07E .0904 

Student Evaluations of Instructors 18 NCAC 07E .1001 

Departmental Use of Student Evaluations 18 NCAC 07E .1002 

Ineligibility for Recertification as Notary Instructor 18 NCAC 07E .1101 

Notary Public Instructor Recertification Requirements 18 NCAC 07E .1102 

Notary Instructor Certification Equivalence 18 NCAC 07E .1103 

Notary Instructor Recertification Course Oral Presentation 18 NCAC 07E .1104 

Notary Instructor with Lapse in Certification 18 NCAC 07E .1105 

Application Denial - Failure to Notify Department of Changes 18 NCAC 07E .1202 

Application Denial - Termination for Cause 18 NCAC 07E .1203 

Application Denial - Failure to Submit Exam Grades 18 NCAC 07E .1204 

Application Denial - Disciplinary Action 18 NCAC 07E .1205 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

38:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 1, 2024 

1308 

BUILDING CODE COUNCIL 

2023 NC Electrical Code 2023 Electrical Code 

 
 
 

 


