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Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6. 

 

GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days but not later than 60 days 

after the date a notice of the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission intends 

to amend the rules cited as 12 NCAC 10B .0408, .0601 and .2201. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/sheriffs/all-

commission-forms-publications/proposed-rule- 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 14, 2024 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  1700 Tryon Park Dr., Raleigh, NC 27610 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

12 NCAC 10B .0601 - The amendment to this rule is based on a 

recent Job Task Analysis completed for the detention officer 

certification training course. The course total was increased by 

eight hours and some topic names were modified. 

12 NCAC 10B .0408 - The amendment to this rule is based on a 

recent change in how the Commission would like the results of the 

Psychological Screening Examination submitted to the Division.  

The Commission is requesting a form be completed by the 

psychologist completing the examination. 

12 NCAC 10B .2201 - The amendment to this rule is to include 

the new form (F-2C) required to report the results of the 

psychological screening examination.  One form was moved to 

put all forms in numerical order. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Melissa Bowman, 1700 Tryon 

Park Dr., Raleigh, NC 27610; phone (919) 779-8213; email 

mbowman@ncdoj.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  June 14, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 10 - SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10B - N.C. SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .0400 - CERTIFICATION OF JUSTICE 

OFFICERS 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0408 VERIFICATION OF RECORDS 

TO DIVISION 

(a)  Prior to issuing certification of each justice officer, for the 

purpose of verifying compliance with these Rules, the employing 

agency shall submit to the Division, along with the Report of 

Appointment (F-4), the following documents: 

(1) documentation consisting of diplomas, school 

transcripts, or certificates from the educational 

institution attended by the applicant confirming 

the applicant's compliance with the educational 

requirement pursuant to Rule .0302(a) of this 

Subchapter; 

(2) certified copy of the applicant's Oath of Office, 

if applying for certification as a deputy sheriff; 

(3) the applicant's Medical History Statement 

(F-1); 

(4) the applicant's Medical Examination Report 

(F-2 and F-2A); 

(5) the applicant's unredacted Psychological 

Screening Examination as required by G.S. 

17E-7; Psychological Screening Examination 

form (F-2C); 

(6) the applicant's notarized Personal History 

Statement (F-3); 

(7) the Commission-mandated Background 

Investigation Form (F-8) with all 

accompanying documentation set out in Rule 

.0305 of this Subchapter; 

(8) documentation of negative results on a drug 

screen pursuant to Rule .0301(6) of this 

Subchapter; and 
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(9) documentation of the applicant's compliance 

with the probationary certification 

requirements pursuant to Rule .0403(b) of this 

Section, if the applicant is a deputy sheriff or a 

detention officer and is authorized by the 

agency to carry a firearm. 

(b)  Compliance with this Rule is waived, with the exception of 

the requirements of Subparagraph (a)(9) of this Rule for officers 

applying for dual certification as defined in Rule .0103(9) of this 

Subchapter provided that: 

(1) the officer holds a valid certification issued by 

this Commission as either a deputy sheriff, 

detention officer, or telecommunicator, with the 

employing agency requesting dual certification; 

and 

(2) the officer has continuously been employed as 

a justice officer with the agency. 

(c)  Where the Division has previously received a complete 

Background Investigation Form (F-8) with all accompanying 

documentation set out in Rule .0305 of this Subchapter in 

connection with another application for certification to this 

Commission, the Background Investigation need only be updated 

from the date of the last background investigation on file in the 

Division with documentation of compliance with Subparagraphs 

(f)(1), (2), and (3) of this Rule, and a certified criminal record 

check from each jurisdiction in which the person has resided in 

and for each name the applicant has used since the initial 

Background Investigation (Form F-8) was completed. The 

criminal record check shall be from the Clerk of Court, a law 

enforcement agency within the jurisdiction, or other 

governmental entity that maintains or has access to criminal 

records for the jurisdiction. The criminal record check shall be 

certified by the entity providing the record with either a raised seal 

or other visible verification that the document is an authentic 

copy. In addition: 

(1) if the applicant has been issued an out-of-state 

driver's license by a state other than North 

Carolina since obtaining certification, then 

compliance with Subparagraph (f)(4) of this 

Rule, is required; and 

(2) if the applicant has resided in a state other than 

North Carolina since obtaining certification, a 

certified criminal record check from each 

jurisdiction shall be provided, if available. The 

criminal record check shall be from the Clerk of 

Court, a law enforcement agency within the 

jurisdiction, or other governmental entity that 

maintains or has access to criminal records for 

the jurisdiction. The criminal record check shall 

be certified by the entity providing the record 

with either a raised seal or other visible 

verification that the document is an authentic 

copy. 

(d)  If the Personal History Statement (F-3) required in 

Subparagraph (a)(6) of this Rule was completed more than 120 

days prior to the applicant's date of appointment, the Personal 

History Statement (F-3) shall be updated by the applicant, who 

shall initial and date all changes, or a new Personal History 

Statement (F-3) shall be completed. 

(e)  If the Mandated Background Investigation Form (F-8) 

required in Subparagraph (a)(7) of this Rule was completed more 

than 120 days prior to the applicant's date of appointment, the 

Mandated Background Investigation Form (F-8) shall be updated 

by the background investigator who shall initial and date all 

changes or a new Mandated Background Investigation Form (F-

8), must be completed. 

(f)  The Background Investigation Form (F-8) shall have the 

following records checks attached to it when submitted: 

(1) a Statewide search of the Administrative Office 

of the Courts (AOC) computerized system; 

(2) the national criminal record database accessible 

through the Division of Criminal Information 

(DCI) network; 

(3) the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles, 

if the applicant has ever possessed a driver's 

license issued in North Carolina; 

(4) an out-of-state motor vehicles check obtained 

through the Division of Criminal Information or 

obtained through another state's division of 

motor vehicles agency for any state in which the 

applicant held a license within the 10 year 

period prior to the date of appointment; and 

(5) the applicant's Administrative Office of the 

Courts' AOC-CR-280 form as set forth in Rule 

.0305 of this Subchapter. 

(g)  The Background Investigation shall include records checks 

from jurisdictions where the applicant resided within the 10 year 

period prior to the date of appointment and where the applicant 

attended high school, as follows: 

(1) where the applicant resided in jurisdictions in 

North Carolina, Clerk of Court records checks 

shall be acceptable; 

(2) where the applicant resided in another country: 

(A) an Interpol records check shall be 

acceptable provided the country is a 

member of Interpol; 

(B) if the applicant was in the United 

States military, a military records 

check shall be acceptable; or 

(C) if neither an Interpol or United States 

military record check are available, 

subject to the limits of United States 

and North Carolina law, the 

employing agency shall make a good 

faith effort to obtain a records check 

from the national law enforcement 

authority, judicial authority, or other 

governmental entity charged with 

maintaining criminal records for the 

country where the applicant resided 

and submit the record check if 

available. If the employing agency 

cannot obtain the records check it shall 

submit documentation consisting of 

the correspondence with the foreign 

governmental entity and a written 

report from the assigned background 

investigator explaining the employing 
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agency's efforts to obtain the record 

and why the record could not be 

obtained. The following steps are 

required to show a good faith effort to 

obtain the record check: 

(i) contacting and requesting the 

record from the foreign 

governmental entity or 

entities the employing 

agency believes are likely to 

possess the records by mail, 

telegram, telephone, 

facsimile or electronic mail; 

(ii) if referred to another foreign 

governmental entity, 

contacting and requesting the 

record from that foreign 

governmental entity; and 

(iii) if requested, providing and 

submitting any formal 

requests, forms, or 

documentation required by 

the foreign governmental 

entity before it will provide 

the record check; 

(3) where the applicant resided in a state other than 

North Carolina, a records check through the 

Division of Criminal Information using the 

Out-of-State Computer Name Query (IQ) shall 

be acceptable provided the state will respond to 

an Out-of-State Computer Name Query. If not, 

then either a records check response from both 

the municipality, city, or town where the 

applicant resided and the county-wide Sheriff's 

Office or Police Department obtained by mail, 

telegram, facsimile, or electronic mail, or a 

records check from the county-wide or state-

wide record holding agency shall be acceptable. 

(h)  If the applicant had prior military service, the Background 

Investigation shall also include a copy of the applicant's DD214, 

Certificate of Release from Active Duty, that shows the 

characterization of discharge for each discharge that occurred and 

military discipline received, if any. If the DD214 indicates a 

discharge characterization of any type other than Honorable, then 

a military records check shall also be required. 

(i)  All records checks shall be performed on each name by which 

the applicant for certification has ever been known since the age 

of 12. If the applicant has had an official name change that 

occurred after the applicant had reached the age of 12 years of 

age, then a copy of the legal document effecting the name change 

with either a raised seal or other visible verification that the 

document is an authentic copy from the governmental entity that 

issued the document or is charged with maintaining the record of 

the document shall be submitted by the employing agency. 

(j)  The employing agency shall forward to the Division certified 

copies of any criminal charges and dispositions known to the 

agency or listed on the applicant's Personal History Statement (F-

3). The employing agency shall identify any charges or other 

violations on the records checks required in Paragraph (f) of this 

Rule that are for individuals other than the applicant for 

certification and explain why the employing agency believes 

another individual is responsible for the charge or violation. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7. 

 

SECTION .0600 - MINIMUM STANDARDS OF 

TRAINING FOR DETENTION OFFICERS 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0601 DETENTION OFFICER 

CERTIFICATION COURSE 

(a)  This Section establishes the current standard by which 

Sheriffs' Office and district confinement personnel shall receive 

detention officer training. The Detention Officer Certification 

Course shall consist of a minimum of 174 hours of instruction 

designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge 

necessary to perform those tasks considered essential to the 

administration and operation of a confinement facility. The 

detention officer certification training program shall consist of the 

182-hour Detention Officer Certification Course developed by the 

North Carolina Justice Academy and approved by the 

Commission. 

(b)  Each Detention Officer Certification Course shall include the 

following identified topic areas and minimum instructional hours 

for each area: 

(1) LEGAL UNIT 

(A) Orientation  3 hours 

(B) Criminal Justice Systems 2 hours 

(C) Legal Aspects of Management and 

Supervision  4 hours 

(D) Introduction to Rules and Regulations

   2 hours 

(E) Ethics   3 hours 

UNIT TOTAL   24 Hours 

(2) PHYSICAL UNIT 

(A) Contraband/Searches 6 hours 

(B) Patrol and Security Function of the Jail

   5 hours 

(C) Key and Tool Control 2 hours 

(D) Investigative Process in the Jail 

   8 hours 

(E) Transportation of Inmates 7 hours 

(F) Prison Rape Elimination Act 

   2 hours 

UNIT TOTAL   30 Hours 

(3) PRACTICAL APPLICATION UNIT 

(A) Processing Inmates 8 hours 

(B) Supervision and Management of 

Inmates   5 hours 

(C) Suicides and Crisis Management 

   5 hours 

(D) Aspects of Mental Illness 6 hours 

(E) Fire Emergencies  4 hours 

(F) Notetaking and Report Writing 

   6 hours 

(G) Communication Skills 5 hours 

UNIT TOTAL   39 hours 

(4) MEDICAL UNIT 

(A) First Aid and CPR 8 hours 
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(B) Medical Care in the Jail 6 hours 

(C) Stress   3 hours 

(D) Subject Control Techniques 

   3240 hours 

(E) Physical Fitness for Detention 

Officers   22 hours 

UNIT TOTAL   7179 hours 

(5) REVIEW AND TESTING  7 hours 

(6) STATE EXAM   3 hours 

TOTAL HOURS  174182 HOURS 

(c)  Consistent with the curriculum development policy of the 

Commission as published in the "Detention Officer Certification 

Course Management Guide," the Commission shall designate the 

developer of the Detention Officer Certification Course curricula 

and such designation shall be deemed by the Commission as 

approval for the developer to conduct pilot Detention Officer 

Certification Courses. Individuals who complete such a pilot 

Detention Officer Certification Course offering shall be deemed 

to have complied with and satisfied the minimum training 

requirement. 

(d)  The "Detention Officer Certification Training Manual" 

published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be used as 

the basic curriculum for the Detention Officer Certification 

Course. Copies of this manual may be obtained by contacting the 

North Carolina Justice Academy, Post Office Box 99, Salemburg, 

North Carolina 28385-0099. The cost of this manual, CD, indexes 

and binder is fifty-one dollars and seventy-five cents ($51.75) at 

the time this Rule was last amended. 

(e)  The "Detention Officer Certification Course Management 

Guide" published by the North Carolina Justice Academy is 

hereby incorporated by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, and shall be used by school directors in 

planning, implementing, and delivering basic detention officer 

training. The standards and requirements established by the 

"Detention Officer Certification Course Management Guide" 

shall be adhered to by the school director. The Justice Academy 

shall issue to each certified school director a copy of the guide at 

the time of certification at no cost to the certified school. 

(c)  No Detention Officer Certification Course shall be offered by 

any agency or institution without the approval of the Commission 

pursuant to Rules .0704 and .0802 of this Subchapter. Any agency 

or institution desiring to offer the Detention Officer Certification 

Course shall file a Pre-Delivery Report, Form F-7A, with the 

Division. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-4(a). 

 

SECTION .2200 – FORMS 

 

12 NCAC 10B .2201 CERTIFICATION FORMS 

(a)  The following are Commission approved forms to be used by 

agencies in making reports, applications, or requests for 

certification of justice officers: 

(1) Form F-1, Medical History Statement, is 

completed by an applicant and consists of the 

applicant's medical information including 

medication, allergies, and immunizations, 

present and past physical conditions, injuries, 

diseases, or operations. 

(2) Form F-2, Medical Examination Report, is a 

form provided to the examining physician to 

record the results of the applicant's medical 

examination. The form consists of information 

about the applicant's vision, hearing, 

cardiovascular and circulatory health, 

urinalysis, TB skin test, other medical 

conditions relevant to the applicant's physical 

fitness to perform the duties of a justice officer, 

biographical information about the applicant, 

and the medical professional's recommendation 

and concerns as to an applicant's physical 

fitness to perform the duties of a justice officer. 

(3) Form F-2C, Psychological Screening 

Examination, is a form completed by the 

psychologist completing the examination. The 

form consists of the name of the psychologist 

completing the examination, the psychologist's 

license number, date of the examination, the 

psychologist's recommendation of suitability, 

and information disclosed by the applicant 

involving any reported criminal offenses, drug 

use, involuntary commitments, or employment 

terminations due to misconduct or rule 

violations. 

(3)(4) Form F-3, the Personal History Statement, is 

completed by the applicant and consists of 

information regarding the applicant's work, 

residential, military, and criminal history; 

financial condition; and references. 

(4) Form F-8, the Mandated Background 

Investigation Form, is completed by an 

agency's background investigator and consists 

of the applicant's biographical data, family data, 

scholastic data, employment data, criminal 

history, interviews and references, and a 

summary of the background investigator's 

findings. 

(5) Form F-4 and F-4T, Report of Appointment, is 

completed by the reporting agency for the 

appointment of justice officers and shall contain 

a checklist indicating the applicant's progress 

toward completing the requirements for 

certification; the applicant's appointment date, 

position title, and status; the applicant's contact 

information; and prior certification history. The 

F-4 form is utilized for appointments as a 

deputy sheriff or detention officer. The form F-

4T is utilized for appointments as a 

telecommunicator. 

(6) Form F-6 and F-6R, Professional 

Certificate/Service Award, consists of 

information regarding the education, training, 

and experience qualifying the applicant for 

various levels of professional recognition under 

the Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards 

Commission's Professional Certificate 

Program. The F-6 form is utilized for full-time 
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justice officers and the F-6R form is utilized for 

reserve justice officers. 

(7) Form F-7 and F-7T, Request for Certification, 

is completed by institutions and agencies 

requesting certification to deliver Detention 

Officer and Telecommunicator Courses. The 

form consists of information regarding the 

institution name, institution or agency head, 

school director, and facilities. Form F-7 is used 

when requesting certification to deliver 

Detention Officer courses and Form F-7T is 

used when requesting certification to deliver 

Telecommunicator courses. 

(8) Form F-7A and F-7A-T, Pre-Delivery Report of 

Training Course Presentation, is completed by 

the institution or agency delivering Detention 

Officer and Telecommunicator Training 

Courses and consists of information on the 

course delivery location, school director, class 

schedule, anticipated date of the State 

Comprehensive Exam, and any planned 

instructional hours exceeding the minimum 

requirements. Form F-7A is utilized for 

Detention Officer courses and Form F-7A-T is 

utilized for Telecommunicator courses. 

(9) Form F-7B and F-7B-T, Post-Delivery Report 

of Training Course Presentation, is completed 

by the institution or agency delivering 

Detention Officer and Telecommunicator 

Training Courses and consists of information 

on any substitutions of instructors as originally 

reported on the Pre-Delivery Report, any 

trainees who were not recommended for the 

state exam due to withdrawal or deficiencies, 

and the students who participated in and 

completed the course. Form F-7B is utilized for 

Detention Officer courses and Form F-7B-T is 

utilized for Telecommunicator courses. 

(10) Form F-8, the Mandated Background 

Investigation Form, is completed by an 

agency's background investigator and consists 

of the applicant's biographical data, family data, 

scholastic data, employment data, criminal 

history, interviews and references, and a 

summary of the background investigator's 

findings. 

(10)(11) Form F-9 and F-9T, Change in Status, is 

completed by the employing agency and 

consists of any change in status for justice 

officers including full-time or part-time status, 

active or inactive status, changes to identifying 

information, and changes to firearms status. 

Form F-9 is utilized for any change in status for 

justice officers appointed as a deputy sheriff or 

detention officer. Form F-9T is utilized for any 

change in status for a justice officer appointed 

as a telecommunicator. 

(11)(12) Form F-9A, Firearms Qualification Record, is 

completed by the employing agency to record 

the annual In-Service Firearms Training and 

Qualifications for justice officers who are 

authorized by the Sheriff to carry a shotgun, 

rifle, automatic weapon, or handgun. The form 

consists of training and qualification scores 

completed by the officer. 

(12)(13) Form F-16, Criminal Justice Instructor 

Evaluation, is completed by the Certified 

School Director and In-Service Coordinator of 

the school and consists of a rating of 

instructional ability, student participation, and 

presentation of the lesson plan by the Instructor. 

(13)(14) Form F-20, School Resource Officer 

Certification, is completed by an employing 

agency requesting certification of a justice 

officer as a School Resource Officer. The form 

consists of the officer's name, date of birth, 

name of agency and address, date awarded 

general certification, completion date of School 

Resource Officer training, and date assigned as 

a School Resource Officer. 

(14)(15) Form I-2 and I-2-T, Request for Instructor 

Certification, is completed by an applicant for 

certification as an Instructor to deliver 

Detention Officer and Telecommunicator 

courses. The form consists of information about 

the applicant's experience and qualifications. 

Form I-2 is utilized by an applicant for 

certification as an Instructor to deliver 

Detention Officer courses and Form I-2-T is 

utilized by an applicant for certification as an 

Instructor to deliver Telecommunicator 

courses. 

(b)  All forms contained in this Rule may be accessed on the 

agency's website at http://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-

training/sheriffs/all-commission-forms-publications/. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7. 

 

 

TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Department of Public Safety intends to adopt the rule cited as 14B 

NCAC 05B .0501 and amend the rule cited as 14B NCAC 05B 

.0201. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdps.gov/about-dps/administrative-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 3, 2024 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Archdale Building, Ground Floor Hearing Room, 512 

North Salisbury Street, Raleigh NC 27699 
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Reason for Proposed Action:   

Amendments to 14B NCAC 05B .0201 will remove the grant 

application period, application deadline, and application 

requirements to more closely align with federal grant application 

cycles, which occur at different times throughout the year and 

include varying application eligibility requirements and 

deadlines. 

The adoption of 14B NCAC 05B .0501 will authorize the DPS 

Secretary to waive any rule in Subchapter 05B that is not 

statutorily required based on specific factors. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Margaret McDonald, 512 

North Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27604; email 

margaret.mcdonald@ncdps.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  June 14, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 05 – GOVERNOR'S CRIME COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 05B – GRANT ADMINISTRATION 

 

SECTION .0200 – PROGRAM GRANTS 

 

14B NCAC 05B .0201 APPLICATIONS FOR GRANTS 

(a)  The Executive Director of the Commission shall designate 

requirements for submission of grant applications. The grant 

application period shall begin on November 1 of each year and 

end on January 31. Funding priorities, as determined by the 

Commission, shall be listed on the Commission's website prior to 

the opening of an application period. 

(b)  Grant application submission dates shall be announced on the 

Commission website, https://www.ncdps.gov/about-dps/boards-

and-commissions/governors-crime-commission/grant-process 

not less than 90 days before the application is due. 

(c)  Grant applications shall be electronically submitted to the 

Commission through the Grants Management System (GMS) on 

or before the date announced on the Commission website. 

(d)  To be considered for funding, applicants shall complete the 

grant application, which shall may include the following 

information: 

(1) names, mailing addresses, telephone numbers, 

and signatures of the applicant; 

(2) project information, including the following: 

(A) a description of the project, its goals 

and objectives, and outcomes; 

(B) the issues or problems addressed by 

the project; 

(C) project operation and activities; and 

(D) a sustainability plan; 

(3) a proposed budget; 

(4) a project time line; 

(5) an explanation of how the project's results will 

be monitored and evaluated; 

(6) any other information required by these Rules 

or requested by the Section in order to make a 

decision on the grant proposal; and 

(7) a description of how the objectives of the 

proposed project are consistent with the 

outcomes and guidelines set forth in a State or 

federal grant program. 

(e)(d) Applicants seeking funding for a two-year project shall 

submit the information required by Paragraph (d) with the 

requirements of Part (d)(2)(A), Part (d)(2)(C), and Subparagraph 

(d)(5) written to address the two-year grant period. Applicants 

shall also submit two one-year budgets. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-1103. 143B-1104. 

 

SECTION .0500 – EXCEPTIONS 

 

14B NCAC 05B .0501 WAIVER 

The Secretary may waive any rule in this Subchapter that is not 

statutorily required. Factors the Secretary shall use in determining 

whether to waive a rule are: 

(1) the need to comply with a legislatively 

mandated or other off cycle grant; 

(2) the nonrecurring use of expiring funds; 

(3) a declared emergency; or 

(4) when the Commission is acting solely as a fiscal 

agent. 

 

Authority G.S. 143B-602(5); 143B-602(8)(b). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 17 - ALARM SYSTEMS LICENSING BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Alarm Systems Licensing Board intends to amend the rules cited 

as 14B NCAC 17 .0201, .0203, .0301, .0302 and .0306. 
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Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdps.gov/dps-services/permits-licenses/alarm-

system-licensing-board 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 30, 2024 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  Conference Room, ASLB Office, 3101 Industrial 

Drive, Suite 104 Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The Board's on-line application 

vendor is increasing its transaction fee effective September 1, 

2024. To avoid having to amend five rules again in the future for 

further increases, and since this fee is set by the vendor and not 

retained by the Board, the rules are being amended accordingly. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Paul Sherwin, 3101 Industrial 

Dr., Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (919) 788-5320; email 

paul.sherwin@ncdps.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  June 14, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0200 – PROVISIONS FOR LICENSEES 

 

14B NCAC 17 .0201 APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 

(a)  Each applicant for a license shall submit an online application 

on the website provided by the Board. When this online 

application is submitted, it shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigation or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an F.B.I. fingerprint 

card provided by the Board and mailed 

separately to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders digital photograph of 

the applicant in JPG format of sufficient quality 

for identification, taken within six months prior 

to the online submission; 

(3) statements of the results of a statewide criminal 

history records search by the reporting service 

designated by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74D-

2.1(a) for any state where the applicant has 

resided within the preceding 60 months; 

(4) a minimum of three letters attesting to the good 

character and reputation of the applicant using 

the online character letter submission process; 

and 

(5) the applicant's application fee, along with a four 

dollar ($4.00) the convenience fee charged by 

the third-party Board's on-line application 

vendor and the credit card transaction fee 

charged by the applicant's credit card provider 

and collected online. 

(b)  Each applicant shall upload evidence of high school 

graduation either by diploma, G.E.D. certificate, or other 

equivalent documentation. 

(c)  Each applicant for a license shall meet personally with either 

a Board investigator, the Screening Committee, the Director, or a 

Board representative designated by the Director prior to being 

issued a license. The applicant shall discuss the provisions of G.S. 

74D and the administrative rules in this Chapter during the 

personal meeting. The applicant shall sign a form provided by the 

Board stating that the applicant has reviewed the information with 

the Board's representative and that the applicant understands G.S. 

74D and the administrative rules in this Chapter. During a national 

or State declared state of emergency that restricts or prohibits 

travel, the personal meeting requirement may be waived if 

requested by the applicant in favor of alternative means of 

communication. 

(d)  Each applicant for a branch office license shall submit an 

online application on the website provided by the Board. This 

online application shall be accompanied by the branch office 

application fee. 

(e)  All photographs, record checks, proof of insurance, 

explanations of criminal charges, explanations of credit history, 

or requested documents shall be submitted online through the 

Board's website by any applicant for a permit, license, 

registration, or certificate within 60 days of the Board's receipt of 

the application form or a request from Board staff, whichever is 

later. Any failure to submit required or requested documents to 

complete the application process within this 60-day period shall 

void the application and require re-application. 

 

Authority G.S. 74D-2; 74D-2.1; 74D-3; 74D-5; 74D-7; 74D-8. 

 

14B NCAC 17 .0203 FEES FOR LICENSE 

(a)  Application license fees are as follows plus a four dollar 

($4.00) the convenience fee charged by the third-party Board's on-

line application vendor and credit card transaction fee charged by 

the applicant's credit card provider and collected online: 
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(1) one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00) non-

refundable initial application fee. 

(2) five hundred dollar ($500.00) biennial fee for a 

new or renewal license. 

(3) one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00) branch 

office license fee. 

(4) one hundred dollars ($100.00) late renewal fee 

to be paid in addition to the renewal fee if the 

license has not been renewed on or before the 

expiration date. 

(b)  Fees shall be paid by credit card, or electronic funds transfer. 

 

Authority G.S. 74D-7. 

 

SECTION .0300 – PROVISIONS FOR REGISTRANTS 

 

14B NCAC 17 .0301 APPLICATION FOR 

REGISTRATION 

(a)  Each licensee or qualifying agent shall submit an online 

application for the registration of his or her employee on the 

website provided by the Board. When this online application is 

submitted, it shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigation or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on a standard F.B.I. 

fingerprint card mailed separately to the 

Board's office; 

(2) one original signed S.B.I. release of 

information form uploaded online and the 

original mailed separately to the Board's office; 

(3) one head and shoulders digital photograph of 

the applicant of sufficient quality for 

identification, taken within six months prior to 

online submission, and uploaded with the 

application submission; 

(4) statements of the results of a statewide criminal 

history records search by the reporting service 

designated by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74D-

2.1(a) for any state where the applicant has 

resided within the preceding 60 months; 

(5) the registration fee required by Rule .0302 of 

this Section, along with a four dollar ($4.00) the 

convenience fee charged by the third-party 

provider Board's on-line application vendor and 

the credit card transaction fee charged by the 

applicant's credit card provider and collected 

online; and 

(6) a completed affidavit form attesting to the truth 

of the information provided and public notice 

statement form. 

(b)  The employer of an applicant who is currently registered with 

another alarm business shall complete an online application form 

provided by the Board. This form shall be accompanied by the 

applicant's multiple registration fee along with a four dollar 

($4.00) the convenience fee charged by the third-party provider 

Board's on-line application vendor and the credit card transaction 

fee charged by the applicant's credit card provider and collected 

online. This online application shall be accompanied by a 

completed affidavit form and public notice statement form. 

(c)  The employer of each applicant for registration shall print and 

retain a copy of the applicant's online application in the individual 

applicant's personnel file in the employer's office. 

 

Authority G.S. 74D-2.1; 74D-5; 74D-8. 

 

14B NCAC 17 .0302 FEES FOR REGISTRATION 

(a)  Registration fees are as follows, plus a four dollar ($4.00) the 

convenience fee charged by the third-party Board's on-line 

application vendor and credit card transaction fee charged by the 

applicant's credit card provider and collected online. 

(1) Fifty dollar ($50.00) non-refundable biennial 

registration fee. 

(2) Ten dollar ($10.00) non-refundable fee for 

registration of an employee who changes 

employment to another licensee. 

(3) Ten dollar ($10.00) non-refundable annual 

multiple registration fee. 

(4) Twenty dollar ($20.00) late renewal fee to be 

paid for an application submitted no more than 

30 days from the date the registration expires 

and to be paid in addition to the renewal fee. 

(b)  Fees shall be paid by credit card, or electronic funds transfer. 

 

Authority G.S. 74D-7. 

 

14B NCAC 17 .0306 RENEWAL OR 

REREGISTRATION OF REGISTRATION 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of a registration identification card 

or his or her employer shall complete an online form on the 

website provided by the Board. This online form shall be 

submitted not less than 90 days prior to expiration of the 

applicant's current card and shall be accompanied by: 

(1) one digital head and shoulders color photograph 

of the applicant of acceptable quality for 

identification and made within 90 days of the 

application uploaded online with application 

submission; 

(2) statements of the result of a statewide criminal 

history records search by the reporting service 

designated by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74D-

2.1(a) for any state where the applicant has 

resided within the preceding 24 months; and 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee, along with the four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee charged by the 

third-party Board's on-line application vendor 

and credit card transaction fee charged by the 

applicant's credit card provider and collected 

online. 

(b)  Each licensee shall provide each applicant for registration or 

re-registration a copy of the online submitted application form 

provided by the Board. This form shall be submitted to the Board 

online and accompanied by: 

(1) one digital head and shoulders color photograph 

of the applicant of acceptable quality for 

identification and made within 90 days of the 
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application uploaded online with the 

application submission; and 

(2) the applicant's registration fee, along with the 

four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee charged by 

the third-party Board's on-line application 

vendor and credit card transaction fee charged 

by the applicant's credit card provider and 

collected online. 

(c)  The employer of each applicant for a registration renewal or 

reregistration shall give the applicant a copy of the online 

application which will serve as a record of application for renewal 

and shall retain a copy of the applicant's online renewal 

application in the individual's personnel file in the employer's 

office. 

(d)  Members of the armed forces whose registrations are in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return are granted that same extension of time to pay 

the registration renewal fee and to complete the continuing 

education requirements prescribed by Section .0500 of this 

Chapter. A copy of the military order or the extension approval 

by the Internal Revenue Service or by the North Carolina 

Department of Revenue must be furnished to the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 74D-7; 74D-8; 93B-15. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 46 – BOARD OF PHARMACY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Pharmacy intends to amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 

46 .2504. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncbop.org/rulemakings.htm 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2024 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 21, 2024 

Time:  9:30 a.m. 

Location:  North Carolina Board of Pharmacy, 6015 Farrington 

Road, Suite 201, Chapel Hill, North Carolina  27517 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The principal purpose of the 

amendment is to clarify the rule.  The existing rule addresses 

patient history information requirements, drug utilization 

reviews, offers to counsel and counseling in a non-chronological 

and circuitous fashion.  The amended rule would address these 

topics in a sequential work-flow order.  It further would clarify 

how the rule operates, and may differ, in different practice 

settings.  Substantively, the amendment would provide for initial 

general counseling to take place through recorded technological 

means, in cases where that is appropriate. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Jay Campbell, 6015 

Farrington Rd Ste 201, Chapel Hill, NC 27517; email 

ncboprulemaking@ncbop.org 

 

Comment period ends:  June 14, 2024 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .2500 - MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2504 PATIENT COUNSELING 

(a)  "Patient Counseling" shall mean the effective communication 

of information, as defined in this Rule, to the patient or 

representative in order to improve therapeutic outcomes by 

maximizing proper use of prescription medications, devices, and 

medical equipment. All provisions of this Rule shall apply to 

device and medical equipment permit holders, except 

Subparagraph (a)(8) of this Rule and except where otherwise 

noted. Specific areas of patient counseling include, but are not 

limited to, those matters listed in this Rule that in the exercise of 

the pharmacist's or device and medical equipment permit holder's 

professional judgment are considered significant: 

(1) name, description, and purpose of the 

medication; 

(2) route, dosage, administration, and continuity of 

therapy; 

(3) special directions for use by the patient; 

(4) common severe side or adverse effects or 

interactions and therapeutic contraindications 

that may be encountered, including their 

avoidance, and the action required if they occur; 

(5) techniques for self-monitoring drug therapy; 

(6) proper storage; 

(7) prescription refill information; and 

(8) action to be taken in the event of a missed dose. 
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(b)  An offer to counsel shall be made on new or transfer 

prescriptions at the time the prescription is dispensed or delivered 

to the patient or representative. Ancillary personnel may make the 

offer to counsel, but the pharmacist must personally conduct 

counseling if the offer is accepted. Counseling by device and 

medical equipment permit holders must be conducted by 

personnel proficient in explaining and demonstrating the safe and 

proper use of devices and equipment. The person in charge shall 

be responsible for ensuring that all personnel conducting 

counseling are proficient in explaining and demonstrating the safe 

and proper use of devices and equipment and for documenting the 

demonstration of such proficiency. The offer shall be made orally 

and in person when delivery occurs at the pharmacy. When 

delivery occurs outside of the pharmacy, whether by mail, 

vehicular delivery or other means, the offer shall be made either 

orally and in person, or by telephone from the pharmacist to the 

patient. If delivery occurs outside of the pharmacy, the pharmacist 

shall provide the patient with access to a telephone service that is 

toll-free for long-distance calls. A pharmacy whose primary 

patient population is accessible through a local measured or toll-

free exchange need not be required to offer toll-free service. 

Counseling may be conducted by the provision of printed 

information in a foreign language if requested by the patient or 

representative. Professional judgment shall be exercised in 

determining whether or not to offer counseling for prescription 

refills. An offer to counsel shall be communicated in a positive 

manner to encourage acceptance. 

(c)(a)  In order to ensure that a prescription is safe for a patient 

and to counsel a patient patients effectively, a reasonable effort 

shall be made to obtain, record, maintain, and update and maintain 

significant patient information, including: 

(1) contact information for reaching the patient or 

patient's representative; name, address, 

telephone number; 

(2) date of birth (age), gender; age and sex; and 

(3) medical history: history relevant to safe use of 

the drug, device, or medical equipment, which 

may include:  

(A) disease states; state(s); 

(B) allergies/drug allergies and drug 

reactions; 

(C) current list of on non-prescription and 

prescription medications, devices, and 

medical equipment; and equipment. 

(D) past experience with the patient's drug, 

device or medical equipment. 

(4) comments relevant to the individual's drug 

therapy. 

A "reasonable effort" shall mean an a good faith effort that is 

consistent with a pharmacist's professional judgment under the 

specific circumstances. to obtain from the patient or 

representative the foregoing patient information. Ancillary 

personnel may collect, record, and obtain patient profile 

information, but the pharmacist or person in charge of the facility 

holding the device and medical equipment permit must review 

and interpret patient profile information and clarify confusing or 

conflicting information. Professional judgment shall be exercised 

as to whether and when individual patient history information 

should be sought from other health care providers. 

(b)  To the extent necessary to undertake a reasonable effort to 

obtain the information required in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, 

information shall be obtained from the patient, the patient's 

representative, or the patient's health care providers. The 

information required in Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be 

obtained, recorded, maintained, and updated by: 

(1) In a pharmacy, a pharmacist, or a pharmacy 

technician or pharmacy intern supervised by the 

pharmacist; or 

(2) In a device or medical equipment facility, the 

person-in-charge or a person who is trained in 

obtaining, recording, maintaining, and updating 

the information required in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule. 

(d)(c)  Once patient information is obtained, this information shall 

be reviewed and updated by the pharmacist or person in charge A 

pharmacist, pharmacy intern under the supervision of a 

pharmacist, or person-in-charge of the device or medical 

equipment facility holding the device and medical equipment 

permit shall review, interpret, clarify where necessary, and apply 

the information set out in Paragraph (a) of this Rule before each 

prescription or order is dispensed filled or delivered, typically at 

the point-of-sale or point of distribution to screen for potential 

therapeutic issues drug therapy problems due to: 

(1) therapeutic duplication; 

(2) drug-disease contraindication; 

(3) drug-drug interactions, including serious 

interactions with prescription or over-the-

counter drugs; 

(4) incorrect drug dosage or duration of drug 

treatment; 

(5) drug-allergy interactions; and 

(6) clinical abuse/misuse. 

(d)  An offer to counsel shall be made as follows: 

(1) An offer to counsel shall be made in the 

following circumstances: 

(A) On any new or transfer prescription; 

and 

(B) On any prescription when deemed 

necessary in the exercise of the 

professional judgment of a pharmacist 

or a person-in-charge of a device or 

medical equipment facility. 

(2) The offer to counsel shall be communicated by: 

(A) In a pharmacy, a pharmacist, 

pharmacy technician, pharmacy 

intern, or other employee supervised 

by the pharmacist; or 

(B) In a device or medical equipment 

facility, the person-in-charge or an 

employee supervised by that person-

in-charge. 

(3) The offer to counsel shall be communicated: 

(A) At the time that in-person delivery 

occurs at the pharmacy or at a device 

or medical equipment facility; 

(B) With respect to other delivery, by 

information or materials provided 

accompanying the delivery, with 
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instructions on how to access patient 

counseling via live communication 

without cost to the patient with one of 

the persons listed in Subparagraph 

(e)(2) of this Rule. 

(e)  Unless refused by the patient or representative, patient 

counseling Counseling shall be provided as follows: 

(1) counseling shall be "face to face" by the 

pharmacist, or personnel of a device and 

medical equipment permit holder when 

possible; Counseling shall be performed in the 

following circumstances: 

(A) Unless the offer to counsel is refused; 

(B) If a patient requests counseling at a 

time other than when the offer to 

counsel is conveyed; and 

(C) If a pharmacist or person-in-charge 

deems necessary in the exercise of the 

professional judgment. 

(2) Counseling shall be performed by: 

(A) With respect to a pharmacy, a 

pharmacist or a pharmacy intern under 

the supervision of a pharmacist; or 

(B) With respect to a device or medical 

equipment facility, either the person-

in-charge; or an employee of the 

device or medical equipment facility 

whom the person-in-charge has 

determined is proficient in explaining 

the safe and proper use of devices or 

medical equipment, in the person-in-

charge's professional judgment. 

(C) With respect to instances in which 

non-pharmacists and non-persons-in-

charge are authorized to dispense 

drugs, devices or medical equipment, 

by those persons authorized to 

perform the dispensing. 

(3) Counseling shall be performed on those 

subjects needed for the safe use of the drug, 

device or medical equipment, within the 

professional judgment of a pharmacist or the 

person-in-charge of a device or medical 

equipment facility. The pharmacist or person-

in-charge shall consider the following subjects 

for counseling, as appropriate under the specific 

circumstances: 

(A) name, description, and purpose of the 

medication; 

(B) route, dosage, administration, and 

continuity of therapy; 

(C) special directions for use by the 

patient; 

(D) common severe side or adverse effects 

or interactions and therapeutic 

contraindications that may be 

encountered, including their 

avoidance, and the action required if 

they occur; 

(E) techniques for self-monitoring drug 

therapy; 

(F) proper storage; 

(G) prescription refill information; and 

(H) action to be taken in the event of a 

missed dose. 

(4) As an initial matter, upon request by the patient 

or patient's representative, counseling may be 

conducted by recorded communication 

accompanied by instructions on how to access 

additional follow-up patient counseling via live 

communication from one of the persons in 

Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph unless: 

(A) A pharmacist or person-in-charge may 

need to receive additional information 

regarding a patient in order to provide 

counseling consistent with this Rule in 

the exercise of professional judgment; 

(B) The recorded communication does not 

address all subjects of counseling that 

should be covered under the standard 

of Subparagraph (3) of this Paragraph; 

or 

(C) The circumstances require the 

pharmacist or person-in-charge of the 

device or medical facility to ensure 

that the patient understands the 

subjects of counseling in the exercise 

of professional judgment. 

(2)(5) The person performing counseling under this 

Paragraph is authorized to use recorded 

communication and alternative forms of patient 

information may be used to as a supplement to 

patient counseling; counseling in any 

circumstance in which it is within the exercise 

of professional judgment. 

(3) patient counseling, as described in this Rule, 

shall be required for outpatient and discharge 

patients of hospitals, health maintenance 

organizations, health departments, and other 

institutions; however, compliance with this 

Rule in locations in which non-pharmacists are 

authorized by law or regulations to dispense 

may be accomplished by such authorized non-

pharmacists; and 

(4) patient counseling, as described in this Rule, 

shall not be required for inpatients of hospitals 

or other institutions where a nurse or other 

licensed health care professional administers 

the medication(s). 

(f)  Pharmacists that distribute prescription medication by mail, 

and where the practitioner-pharmacist-patient relationship does 

not exist, shall provide counseling services for recipients of such 

medication in accordance with this Rule. With respect to inmates: 

(1) With respect to Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this 

Rule, a pharmacist or person-in-charge of a 

device or medical equipment facility, is not 

required gather information beyond what may 

be gathered from records either available to the 
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pharmacy (including, for example, the 

pharmacy's own records, records from the penal 

institution, and the controlled substance 

reporting system) or from the health care 

provider. 

(2) The requirements of Paragraph (c) of this Rule 

remain in effect as to the information available 

under Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph. 

(3) Offers to counsel under Paragraph (d) and 

patient counseling under Paragraph (e) may be 

made: 

(A) Through printed or electronic 

material, where such material can be 

provided to the patient; or 

(B) By a correctional or law enforcement 

officer, where such material cannot be 

provided or in addition to such 

material. 

(g)  Records resulting from compliance with this Rule, including 

documentation of refusals to receive counseling, shall be 

maintained for three years in accordance with Section .2300 of 

this Chapter. With respect to inpatients of health care facilities, as 

defined in Rule .1317 of this Chapter, who are administered a 

drug, device or medical equipment by an authorized health care 

professional in the health care facility: 

(1) The requirements of Paragraphs (a), (b) and (c) 

of this Rule remain in effect, though the 

information required in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule may be gathered by any authorized health 

care professional, in addition to or instead of the 

persons set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(2) Paragraphs (d) and (e) of this Rule do not apply. 

(h)  Personnel of In addition to the counseling set forth in this Rule 

and regardless of patient request, persons-in-charge of device and 

medical equipment permit holders shall give written notice of 

warranty, if any, regarding service after the sale. The permit 

holder shall maintain documentation demonstrating that the 

written notice of warranty was given to the patient. 

(i)  Records of compliance with this Rule shall be maintained for 

three years in accordance with Section .2300 of this Chapter. 

Offers to counsel and patient counseling for inmates need not be 

"face to face", but rather, may be conducted through a correctional 

or law enforcement officer or through printed material. A 

pharmacist or a device and medical equipment permit holder 

dispensing drugs or devices or delivering medical equipment to 

inmates need not comply with Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

However, once such patient information is obtained, the 

requirements of Paragraph (d) of this Rule shall be followed. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.22; 90-85.32; 42 U.S.C. 1396r-

8(g). 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission April 30, 2024 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Barbara A. Jackson (1st Vice-Chair) 

Jay R. Hemphill Randy Overton (2nd Vice-Chair) 
Jeff Hyde Wayne R. Boyles, III 

Brandon Leebrick Jake Parker 
Bill Nelson Paul Powell 

 
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Brian Liebman  984-236-1948 
William W. Peaslee 984-236-1939 
Seth M. Ascher  984-236-1934 
Travis Wiggs  984-236-1929 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 April 30, 2024 June 26, 2024 
 May 29, 2024 July 31, 2024 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
Tuesday, April 30, 2024, 10:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 
 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 
II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting  

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Home Inspector Licensure Board - 11 NCAC 08 .1101, .1103, .1105, .1107, .1109, .1110, .1116 (Liebman) 
B. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission - 12 NCAC 09F .0103, .0104, .0105 

(Peaslee) 
C. State Board of Education – 16 NCAC 06C .0602 (Ascher) 
D. Board of Examiners in Optometry - 21 NCAC 42D .0102 (Peaslee)  
E. Board of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors - 21 NCAC 56 .0502, .0701 (Wiggs) 
F. Building Code Council - 2024 North Carolina Energy Conservation Code (Liebman) 
G. Building Code Council - 2024 North Carolina Fuel Gas Code (Liebman) 
H. Building Code Council - 2024 North Carolina Mechanical Code (Liebman) 

IV. Review of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between February 21, 2024 through March 20, 2024 
1. Radiation Protection Commission (Wiggs) 
2. DHHS - Division of and Commission for Mental Health/DD/SAS - Commission for Mental 

Health/DD/SAS (Wiggs) 
3. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission (Peaslee) 
4. Department of Labor (Peaslee) 
5. Wildlife Resources Commission (Ascher) 
6. Board of Pharmacy (Peaslee) 
7. Building Code Council (Liebman) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting 
VI. Existing Rules Review 
VII. Commission Business 

1. Closed session, to consult with attorneys regarding CRC v. RRC and other potential litigation 
2. Next meeting: Wednesday May 29, 2024 
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Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

February 21, 2024 through March 20, 2024 

RADIATION PROTECTION COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 15 are from the Radiation Protection Commission and include general provisions (.0100); 
registration of radiation machines, facilities and services (.0200); licensing of radioactive material (.0300); industrial 
radiography x-ray machines (.0500); x-rays in the healing arts (.0600); use of radioactive sources in the healing arts 
(.0700); requirements for analytical x-ray equipment (.0800); requirements for particle accelerators (.0900); notices, 
instructions, reports and inspections (.1000); fees (.1100); land disposal of radioactive waste (.1200); requirements for 
wire-line service operators and subsurface-tracer studies (.1300); tanning facilities (.1400); and standards for protection 
against radiation (.1600). 

General Rules Applicable to the Specific Licensing of Byp... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0301 

General Domestic Licenses for Byproduct Material 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0302 

Exempt Concentrations: Other than Source Material 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0303 

Specific Licenses: Manufacture or Transfer Certain Items ... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0304 

Specific Domestic Licenses of Broad Scope for Byproduct M... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0305 

Medical Use of Byproduct Material in Humans 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0307 

Licenses and Radiation Safety Requirements for Irradiators 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0308 

Domestic Licensing of Source Material 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0309 

Domestic Licensing of Special Nuclear Material 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0310 

General Licenses: Calibration and Reference 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0312 

General Licenses: In Vitro Clinical or Laboratory Testing 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0314 

General Licenses: Ice Detection Devices 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0315 

Specific Licenses: Filing Application and General Require... 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0317 

Specific Licenses: General Requirements for Human Use 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0318 

Specific Licenses: Human Use in Hospitals 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0319 

Specific Licenses: Human Use by Individual Physicians 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0320 

Specific Licenses: General Requirements for Human Use of ... 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0321 

Specific Licenses: Human Use of Sealed Sources 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0322 

Specific Licenses: Broad Scope 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0324 

Specific Licenses: Exempt Gas and Aerosol Detectors  10A NCAC 15 .0327 
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Readopt/Repeal* 

Specific Licenses: Manufacture Devices to Persons Licensed 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0328 

Specific Licenses: Luminous Safety Devices in Aircraft 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0329 

Specific Licenses: Manufacture of Calibration Sources 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0330 

Specific Licenses - Manufacture of In Vitro Test Kits 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0331 

Specific Licenses: Manufacture of Ice Detection Devices 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0332 

Specific Licenses: Manufacture of Radiopharmaceuticals 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0333 

Specific Licenses: Generators and Reagent Kits 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0334 

Specific Licenses: Products Containing Depleted Uranium 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0335 

Issuance of Specific Licenses and Sealed Source and Devic... 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0337 

Specific Terms and Conditions of Licenses 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0338 

Expiration and Termination of Licenses and Decommissioning 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0339 

Renewal of Licenses 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0340 

Amendment of Licenses at Request of Licensee 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0341 

Agency Action on Applications to Renew or Amend 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0342 

Transfer of Material 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0343 

Modification: Revocation: and Termination of Licenses and... 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0344 

Specific Licenses: Certain Incinerator Facilities 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0348 

Specific Licenses: Mobile Nuclear Medicine Services 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0351 

Emergency Plans 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0352 

Financial Assurance and Record-Keeping for Decommissioning 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0353 

Methods of Financial Assurance for Decommissioning 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0354 

Financial Tests: Self- and Parent Co. Guarantees: Decommi... 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0355 

Procedures for Administrations Requiring a Written Directive 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0356 

Reporting Requirements 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0357 

Release of Patients Containing Radiopharmaceuticals or Pe... 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0358 

Measurements/Dosages of Unsealed Radioactive Material for...  10A NCAC 15 .0359 
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Readopt/Repeal* 

Surveys of Radiopharmaceutical Areas for Radiation Exposu... 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0360 

Medical Use of Unsealed Radioactive Material 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0361 

Decay-In-Storage 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0362 

Provisions for the Protection of Human Research Subjects 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0363 

Medical Events 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0364 

Report and Notification of a Dose to an Embryo/Fetus or a... 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0365 

Industrial Radiographic Operations of Electronic Radiatio... 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0501 

Definitions 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0502 

Equipment Radiation Level Limits 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0503 

Radiographic Exposure Devices and Storage Containers 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0504 

Storage, Labels and Transportation Precautions 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0505 

Survey Instruments 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0506 

Leak Testing and Replacement of Sealed Sources 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0507 

Quarterly Inventory 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0508 

Utilization Logs 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0509 

Limitations 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0510 

Inspection and Maintenance 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0511 

Personnel Monitoring 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0512 

Operating and Emergency Procedures 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0513 

Security 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0514 

Radiation Surveys and Survey Records 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0515 

Posting 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0516 

Supervision of Radiographers' Assistants 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0517 

Subjects to be Covered During Instruction of Radiographers 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0519 

Permanent Radiographic Installations 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0520 

Performance Requirements for Radiography Equipment  10A NCAC 15 .0521 
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Readopt/Repeal* 

Reporting Requirements 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0522 

Records of Industrial Radiography 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0523 

Specific License for Industrial Radiography 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0524 

Radiographer Certification 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0525 

Scope 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0701 

Manual Brachytherapy 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0702 

HHS - MENTAL HEALTH/DD/SAS, DIVISION OF/COMMISSION FOR MENTAL HEALTH, DEVELOPMENTAL 
DISABILITIES, AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE SERVICES 

The rules in Subchapter 27G are from either the department or the Commission for Mental Health, Developmental 
Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Services including general information (.0100); operation and management rules 
(.0200); physical plant rules (.0300); facility licensing procedures (.0400); area program requirements (.0500); area 
authority or county program monitoring of facilities and services (.0600); accreditation of area programs and services 
(.0700); waivers and appeals (.0800); general rules for infants and toddlers (.0900); partial hospitalization for individuals 
who are mentally ill (.1100); psychological rehabilitation facilities for individuals with severe and persistent mental illness 
(.1200); residential treatment for children and adolescents who are emotionally disturbed or who have a mental illness 
(.1300); day treatment for children and adolescents with emotional or behavioral disturbances (.1400); intensive 
residential treatment for children and adolescents who are emotionally disturbed or who have a mental illness (.1500); 
residential treatment staff secure facilities for children or adolescents (.1700); psychiatric residential treatment facilities 
for children and adolescents (.1900); specialized community residential centers for individuals with developmental 
disabilities (.2100); before/after school and summer developmental day services for children with or at risk for 
developmental delays or disabilities, or atypical development (.2200); adult developmental and vocational programs for 
individuals with developmental disabilities (.2300); developmental day services for children with or at risk for 
developmental delays or disabilities, or atypical development (.2400); early childhood intervention services (ECIS) for 
children with an at risk for developmental delays or disabilities, or atypical development and their families (.2500); 
nonhospital medical detoxification for individuals who are substance abusers (.3100); social setting detoxification for 
substance abuse (.3200); outpatient detoxification for substance abuse (.3300); residential treatment/rehabilitation for 
individuals with substance abuse disorders (.3400); outpatient facilities for individuals with substance abuse disorders 
(.3500); outpatient opioid treatment (.3600); day treatment facilities for individuals with substance abuse disorders 
(.3700); substance abuse services for DWI offenders (.3800); drug education schools (DES) (.3900); treatment 
alternatives to street crimes (TASC) (.4000); substance abuse primary prevention services (.4200); therapeutic 
community (.4300); facility based crises services for individual of all disability groups (.5000); community respite services 
for individuals of all disability groups (.5100); residential therapeutic (habilitative) camps for children and adolescents of 
all disability groups (.5200); day activity for individuals of all disability groups (.5400); sheltered workshops for individuals 
of all disability groups (.5500); supervised living for individuals of all disability groups (.5600); assertive community 
treatment service (.5700); supportive employment for individuals of all disability groups (.5800); case management for 
individuals of all disability groups (.5900); inpatient hospital treatment for individuals who have mental illness or 
substance abuse disorders (.6000); emergency services for individuals of all disability groups (.6100); outpatient 
services for individuals of all disability groups (.6200); companion respite services for individuals of all disability groups 
(.6300); personal assistants for individuals of all disabilities groups (.6400); employment assistance programs (.6500); 
specialized foster care services (.6600); forensic screening and evaluation services for individuals of all disability groups 
(.6700); prevention services (.6800); consultation and education services (.6900); local management entity response to 
complaints (.7000); and target population (.7100). 

Appeals Regarding Utilization Review Decisions for Non-Me... 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 27G .7004 
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MENTAL HEALTH/DD/SAS, COMMISSION FOR 

The rules in Subchapter 27I are from the Secretary of Health and Human Services and are the requirements of local 
management entities including general information (.0100); general operations and management requirements (.0200); 
secretary approval of LME service delivery (.0400); content, format, submission, review and approval of local 
management entity business plan (.0500); and the non-medicaid appeal process (.0600). 

Scope 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 27I .0601 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 27I .0602 

Division's Initial Response to a Non-Medicaid Appeal 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 27I .0605 

Hearing Schedule and Composition of the Panel 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 27I .0606 

Panel Hearing Procedures 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 27I .0607 

Panel Decision Findings 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 27I .0608 

Final Written Decision 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 27I .0609 

The rules in Chapter 28 are from either the Secretary or the Mental Health Commission and concern state operated 
facilities and services. The rules in Subchapter 28F concern admission and discharge including admission (.0100); 
voluntary admissions, involuntary commitments and discharge of adults from regional psychiatric hospitals (.0200); 
medical staff bylaws of North Carolina regional mental hospitals (.0300); hospitals behavior therapy programs (.0400); 
designation of research facilities in regional psychiatric hospitals (.0500); voluntary admission of adults who are not 
otherwise admissible as clients to designated research facilities in regional psychiatric hospitals (.0600); admission of 
deaf clients to state psychiatric hospitals and transfer of deaf clients to Dorothea Dix Hospital (.0700); general rules for 
MR Centers (.0800); voluntary admission and discharge to alcoholic rehabilitation centers (ARCS) (.0900); and 
probation and discharge (.1000). 

Regions for Division Institutional Admissions 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 28F .0101 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 9C concern the administration of criminal justice education and training standards including 
responsibilities of the criminal justice standards division (.0100); forms (.0200); certification of criminal justice officers 
(.0300); accreditation of criminal justice schools and training courses (.0400); minimum standards for accreditation of 
associate of applied science degree programs incorporating basic law enforcement training (.0500); and equipment and 
procedures (.0600). 

Agency Retention of Records of Certification 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09C .0307 

LABOR, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 15 pertain to elevators and amusement devices and include general provisions (.0100); various 
industry codes and standards (.0200); elevators and related equipment (.0300); amusement devices (.0400); penalties 
(.0500); forms (.0600); and fees (.0700). 

Amusement Device Inspection Fee Schedule 
Amend* 

 13 NCAC 15 .0703 
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WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 10A cover general WRC practices and procedures including petitions for rulemaking (.0400); 
declaratory rulemaking (.0500); warning tickets (.1000); waivers (.1100); emergency powers (.1200); wildlife poacher 
reward fund (.1300); interstate wildlife violator compact (wcv) (.1400); and evidence (.1500). 

When Issued 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10A .0501 

When Not Issued 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10A .0502 

Procedure 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10A .0503 

Funding Sources 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 10A .1301 

Offenses and Reward Amounts 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10A .1302 

Eligibility 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10A .1303 

The rules in Subchapter 10B are hunting and trapping rules and cover general hunting and wildlife provisions (.0100), 
hunting specific animals (.0200), trapping (.0300), tagging furs (.0400), chronic wasting disease management (.0500). 

Dog Training and Field Trials 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0114 

Bear 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0202 

Deer (White Tailed) 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0203 

Ring-Necked Pheasant 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0211 

Feral Swine 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0223 

The rules in Subchapter 10C cover inland fishing including jurisdictional issues involving the Marine Fisheries 
Commission (.0100); general rules (.0200); game fish in inland fishing waters (.0300); nongame fish in inland fishing 
waters (.0400); primary nursery areas (.0500); anadromous fish spawning areas (.0600); game fish in coastal fishing 
waters (.0700); and joint fishing waters (.0800). 

Public Mountain Trout Waters 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0205 

Spawning Areas 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0208 

Largemouth Bass 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0305 

Crappie 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0306 

Flounder 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0307 

American Shad and Hickory Shad 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0313 

Striped Bass 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0314 

Mountain Trout 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0316 
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Inland Game Fishes Designated in Joint Fishing Waters 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0801 

Taking and Possession of Other Fishes by Hook and Line in... 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0802 

The rules in Subchapter 10D are game lands rules.  

General Regulations Regarding Hunting on Game Lands 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0103 

Wayne Bailey-Caswell Game Land in Caswell County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0215 

Chatham Game Land in Chatham County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0216 

Dover Bay Game Land in Craven County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0225 

Harris Game Land in Chatham, Harnett, and Wake Counties 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0233 

Lee Game Land in Lee County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0245 

Nantahala Game Land in Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Jackson, M... 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0251 

North River Game Land in Camden and Currituck Counties 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0256 

Thurmond Chatham Game Land in Alleghany and Wilkes Counties 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0283 

Yadkin River Game Land in Davidson, Davie, Montgomery, Ro... 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0293 

North Bend Game Land in Burke County 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0294 

The rules in Subchapter 10E concern fishing and boating access areas. 

Definition 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10E .0101 

Regulations Posted 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 10E .0102 

Signs and Markers 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 10E .0103 

Use of Areas Regulated 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10E .0104 

The rules in Subchapter 10H concern activities regulated by the Commission including controlled hunting preserves for 
domestically raised waterfowl and game birds (.0100), holding wildlife in captivity (.0300), commercial trout ponds 
(.0400), fish propagation (.0700), falconry (.0800), game bird propagators (.0900), taxidermy (.1000), furbearer 
propagation (.1100), controlled fox hunting preserves (.1200), reptiles and amphibians (.1300), wildlife captivity and 
rehabilitation (.1400), wildlife and alligator control agents (.1500) and field trials and dog training (.1700). 

General Requirements 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10H .0101 

Establishment and Operation 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10H .0102 

Records and Reporting Requirements 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10H .0105 

Quail Call-Pen Traps 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10H .0109 
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Game Bird Propagation License 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10H .0901 

Disposition of Game Birds or Game Birds Eggs 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10H .0904 

Transportation 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10H .0905 

Records 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10H .0906 

Wildlife Control Agent License Renewal and Revocation 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10H .1505 

Wildlife Control Technician Certification and Eligibility... 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10H .1510 

Field Trials 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10H .1701 

Dog Training 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10H .1702 

PHARMACY, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 46 cover organization of the board (.1200); general definitions (.1300); hospitals and other health 
facilities (.1400); admission requirements and examinations (.1500); licenses and permits (.1600); drugs dispensed by 
nurse and physician assistants (.1700); prescriptions (.1800); forms (.1900); administrative provisions (.2000); elections 
(.2100); continuing education (.2200); prescription information and records (.2300); dispensing in health departments 
(.2400); miscellaneous provisions (.2500); devices (.2600); nuclear pharmacy (.2700); compounding (.2800); product 
selection (.2900); disposal of unwanted drugs (.3000); clinical pharmacist practitioner (.3100); impaired pharmacist peer 
review program (.3200); and registry of pharmacist technicians (.3300). 

Extension of Period for Certain Members of the Armed Forces 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 46 .1613 

BUILDING CODE COUNCIL 

2024 NC Plumbing Code 
Amend* 

 Sections 702.1, 702.4, 
1102.2, 1102.7 

2024 NC Fire Code 
Amend* 

 231219 Item B-5 

2024 NC Fire Code/Exception to Applicability 
Amend* 

 102.13, Exception 7 

2024 NC Fire Code 
Amend* 

 Sections 202, 203, 608, 911, 
3307, 5003 and Chapter 80 

2024 NC Fire Code/Mobile Food Preparation Vehicles 
Amend* 

 105.5.32 

2024 NC Fire Code/Stability and Mobile Cooking Operations 
Amend* 

 319.11.1, 319.11.13 

2024 NC Fire Code/Automatic Smoke Detection Systems 
Amend* 

 907.2.3.1 

2024 NC Fire Code 
Amend* 

 1010.2.14, 1010.2.14.4, 
1010.2.1 

2024 NC Fire Code/Commercial, Industrial, Governmental or... 
Amend* 

 5706.5.4.5 

2024 NC Existing Building Code 
Amend* 

 Chapter 80 and NFPA 241 

2024 NC Existing Building Code 
Amend* 

 231219 Item B-12 
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2024 NC Existing Building Code/Scope 
Amend* 

 101.2, Exception 2 

2024 NC Existing Building Code/Low-Rise Buildings, Except... 
Amend* 

 803.2.1.2 

2017 and 2020 NC Electrical Code 
Repeal* 

 231212 Item B-12 

2024 NC Building Code 
Amend* 

 Section 1901, Chapter 35 

2024 Building Code/Toilet and Bathing Facilities, Excepti... 
Amend* 

 1109.2 

2024 NC Building Code 
Amend* 

 1010.2.14, 1010.2.14.4, 
1010.2.1 

2024 NC Building Code/Automatic Smoke Detection Systems 
Amend* 

 907.2.3.1 

2024 NC Building Code/Scope 
Amend* 

 Sections 202, 307, 414 

2024 NC Building Code/Scope 
Amend* 

 101.20 Exception 7 and 8 

2024 NC Building Code 
Amend* 

 231219 Item B-3 

2024 NC Administrative Code and Policies 
Amend* 

 Appendix H 

2024 NC Administrative Code and Policies 
Amend* 

 Section 204.4.5.1 

2024 Administrative Codes and Policies 
Amend* 

 Section 204.4.5 

 

 

 

 


