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EXPLANATION OF THE PUBLICATION SCHEDULE  

 
This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.  

Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6. 
 

 
GENERAL 

 
The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 
a month and contains the following information 
submitted for publication by a state agency: 
(1) temporary rules; 
(2) text of proposed rules; 
(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 
(4) emergency rules 
(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 
(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 
G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 
determines to be helpful to the public. 

 
COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 
the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 
is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 
is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 
holiday, in which event the period runs until the 
preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 
State holiday. 

 
FILING DEADLINES 

 
ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 
fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 
month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 
employees mandated by the State Human Resources 
Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 
Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 
published on the day of that month after the first or 
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 
State employees. 
 
LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 
NOTICE OF TEXT 

 
EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 
date shall be at least 15 days but not later than 60 days 
after the date a notice of the hearing is published. 
 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 
proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 
published. 
 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 
COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 
by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 
date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 
the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 
Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 

 

TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-
21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission 
intends to readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 14B 
NCAC 15C .0102-.0104, .0201-.0206, and .0301-.0308. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://www.abc.nc.gov 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2025 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  September 9, 2025 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Location:  ABC Commission Hearing Room, 400 East Tryon 
Road, Raleigh, 27610 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  Mandatory review and readoption 
pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Renee Metz, 400 East Tryon 
Road, Raleigh, NC 27610; phone (919) 948-7919; email 
rules@abc.nc.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  October 1, 2025 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 
Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 
written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 
clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 
provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 
written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 
1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 
email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 
attorney at 984-236-1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

CHAPTER 15 - ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 
COMMISSION 

 
SUBCHAPTER 15C - INDUSTRY MEMBERS: 

RETAIL/INDUSTRY MEMBER RELATIONSHIPS: SHIP 
CHANDLERS: AIR CARRIERS: FUEL ALCOHOL 

 
SECTION .0100 - DEFINITIONS: APPLICATION 

PROCEDURES 
 
14B NCAC 15C .0102 APPLICATION PROCEDURES 
(a)  Who Files. Before any A winery, brewery, distiller, distillery, 
wholesaler, importer, bottler, vendor, distiller distillery 
representative, brokerage representative, salesman, supplier 
representative, or vendor representative sells, solicits orders for, 
or manufactures, bottles, or imports any alcoholic beverage in this 
State, that person shall first shall file written application for the 
appropriate a permit and pay any required fees, as described in 
G.S. 18B-902, and as set forth in this Rule. in compliance with 
Chapter 18B, Article 9 of the General Statutes before selling, 
soliciting orders, manufacturing, bottling, or importing alcoholic 
beverages in this State. Applications for permits for businesses 
shall be filed by those individuals listed in G.S. 18B-900(c). 
(b)  Application. Application Applicants may obtain forms for all 
ABC permits may be obtained from the North Carolina Alcoholic 
Beverage Control Commission's office or website as set forth in 
14B NCAC 15A .0102. Each person An applicant shall provide in 
the application, under oath, the following information, as 
applicable: information: 

(1) the name, address, email address, last four 
digits of social security number, and telephone 
number(s) numbers of the applicant; 

(2) the mailing address and location address of the 
business for which a permit is desired, an 
application is submitted, including and the 
county and state where the business is located; 

(3) the name of the business and whether the 
business is a sole proprietorship, corporation, 
limited liability company, or partnership; 

(4) the trade name of the business; 
(5) the applicant's date of birth; 
(6) if the business is a corporation or limited 

liability company, the name and address of the 
person authorized to accept service of process 
of Commission notices or orders under G.S, 1A, 
pursuant to G.S. 1A, Rule 4(j); 

(7) if the applicant is a non-resident nonresident 
intending to operate a business in the State, the 
name and address of a resident of the State 
appointed as the applicant's attorney-in-fact in 
accordance with Chapter 32C of the General 
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Statutes for purposes of in compliance with 
G.S. 18B-900(a)(2)b.; 

(8) if the application is for a vendor representative, 
brokerage representative, distiller distillery 
representative, or supplier representative 
permit, authorization from the commercial 
permittee, brokerage, distiller. or distillery, or 
spirituous liquor supplier to represent it; and for 
the applicant to be its representative; and, 

(9) that the applicant is in compliance with G.S. 
18B-900(a)(3) through (8). 

(c)  Additional documentation. The following documents 
applicant shall submit the following completed, signed, notarized, 
and recorded, as applicable, recorded documents shall be attached 
to and submitted with an application, and shall be to be 
incorporated as part of the application: 

(1) for applicants applying on behalf of a business 
pursuant to G.S. 18B-900(c), the fingerprint 
card, Authority for Release of Information 
Form, and certified check, cashier check, 
money order, electronic payment, or credit card 
payment made payable to the North "North 
Carolina ABC Commission Commission" in 
the amount of thirty-eight dollars ($38.00) for 
payment of a state and national fingerprint-
based criminal history record check pursuant to 
14B NCAC 18B .0405; G.S. 18B-902(b); 

(2) for applicants applying for brokerage 
representative, distiller distillery representative, 
or supplier representative permits, a certified 
copy of the applicant's State criminal history 
record check; 

(3) payment of applicable permit fees as authorized 
in 14B NCAC 15A .0104; 

(4) for businesses located in this State, a certified 
copy of any a recorded power of attorney 
registered in the county where the proposed 
licensed premises is located; 

(5) for corporations not already holding a permit in 
this State, a copy of the Articles of 
Incorporation and a notarized corporate 
certification of shareholders holding 25 percent 
or more of the shares of the corporation; 

(6) for limited liability companies not already 
holding a permit in this State, a copy of Articles 
of Organization and a notarized organizational 
certification of members owning 25 percent or 
more interest in the company. Additionally, if 
If the limited liability company is manager-
managed, the application shall include a copy 
of the Operating Agreement; 

(7) a black and white copy of applicant's current 
photo identification; 

(8) for a business located in this State, a copy or 
memorandum of the lease showing the 
applicant as tenant, a copy of the deed showing 
the applicant as the grantee or owner, or a copy 
of a management agreement with the owner or 
lessee of the permitted property showing the 

applicant has the authority to operate the 
business at the permitted location; and 

(9) a Federal Employer Identification/ 
Identification or Social Security Number 
Verification Form. 

(d)  Salesmen, Representatives, Vendors To State Companies. All 
salesmen, Salesmen, vendor representatives, distiller distillery 
representatives, brokerage representatives, supplier 
representatives, and vendors shall further state on the permit 
application the name of every manufacturer, importer, wholesaler, 
distiller, distillery, brokerage, spirituous liquor supplier, or vendor 
that the applicant will represent represents in the State. The 
persons listed in this Paragraph shall notify the Commission when 
of the termination of their authorization to represent an industry 
member ceases. represent an industry member. The manufacturer, 
importer, wholesaler, distiller, distillery, brokerage, spirituous 
liquor supplier, or vendor shall notify the Commission whenever 
any of the persons listed in this Paragraph are no longer their being 
an authorized representative. Persons required to provide 
notification Notification required pursuant to this Paragraph shall 
be made to notify the Commission in writing within 30 days of 
the termination of the authorization to represent. 
(e)  Wholesalers. In addition to the requirements set forth in 
Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule, before a wholesaler 
receives, possesses, transports, sells, delivers, or ships wine or 
malt beverages in the State, the vendor shall file with the 
Commission a separate distribution agreement filing form for 
each brand authorized to be sold by the wholesaler and the 
specific territory where the product may be sold for each 
wholesaler location. The distribution agreement filing form shall 
contain the vendor's and wholesaler's vendor and wholesaler 
names, trade names if applicable, trade names, addresses, 
telephone numbers, ABC Commission permit numbers, and the 
name of the brand brand, and the territory where the sales may 
take place in the State, by county or parts of counties. For wine 
vendors, the form shall also state whether the vendor ships 
shipped 1,250 cases or more of wine in the State each year. during 
the preceding calendar year. The form shall be signed and dated 
by the vendor and the wholesaler shall sign and date the form. If 
any changes in the distribution agreement affect the information 
on the distribution agreement filing form filed with the 
Commission, the wholesaler shall amend the form and file it with 
the Commission on a revised distribution agreement filing form 
before the changes become effective. 
(f)  Liquor Importer/Bottler. In addition to the requirements set 
forth in Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule, a liquor 
importer/bottler applying for a permit shall submit a description 
of the operations of its business, which shall include the location 
address of any a storage facility or bottling plant , if different than 
the address shown on the permit application, and any associated 
federal alcoholic beverage permit numbers. 
(g)  Nonresident Vendors. In addition to the requirements set forth 
in Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule, a nonresident malt 
beverage vendor or vendor, a nonresident wine vendor vendor, or 
a nonresident spirituous liquor vendor applying for a permit shall 
submit the following: 

(1) a copy of the Federal Basic Permit or Brewers 
Notice; 
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(2) a statement of whether the business is a malt 
beverage vendor or a wine beverage, wine, or 
spirituous liquor vendor; 

(3) a statement whether the applicant has ever been 
disapproved by any a government agency for 
any an application to manufacture, use, store, 
rectify, bottle, distribute, sell, import, or 
transport distilled spirits, beer, malt beverages, 
or wine; 

(4) a statement whether the applicant has ever 
compromised, by payment of penalties or 
otherwise, any a violation of any federal or state 
laws relating to internal revenue or customs 
taxation of alcoholic beverages; and 

(5) certification of understanding that the applicant 
can shall only engage in activities authorized by 
the ABC laws of this State for the permit issued, 
and that before any wine or malt beverage no 
alcoholic beverages product may can be offered 
for sale in the State, the product and label must 
be approved by the Commission. State unless 
the Commission has approved the product and 
label. 

(h)  Wine Producers. In addition to the requirements set forth in 
Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule, a wine producer applying 
for a permit shall submit a copy of the recorded deed or lease for 
the farming establishment that meets the requirements set forth in 
G.S. 18B-1000(10), including the address of the farm and one of 
the following: 

(1) a survey or diagram of the farm, indicating the 
areas and acreage used in the production of 
grapes, berries, or other fruits for the 
manufacture of unfortified wine; or 

(2) an affidavit stating that the farm consists of at 
least five acres committed to the production of 
grapes, berries, or other fruits for the 
manufacture of unfortified wine, listing the 
acreage used for this purpose and its function. 

(i)  Wine Shippers. In addition to the requirements set forth in 
Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule, a wine shipper applying 
for a permit shall submit the following: 

(1) a description of the operation of the business; 
(2) a website address through which orders will be 

received; 
(3) a statement whether the applicant has ever been 

disapproved by any a government agency for 
any an application to manufacture, use, store, 
rectify, bottle, distribute, sell, import or 
transport distilled spirits, beer, malt beverages, 
or wine; 

(4) a statement whether the applicant has ever 
compromised, by payment of penalties or 
otherwise, any a violation of any federal or state 
laws relating to internal revenue or customs 
taxation of alcoholic beverages; 

(5) a statement whether the business entity holds a 
valid Federal Basic Permit, either as a Bonded 
Wine Cellar or Bonded Winery, and a copy of 
the Federal Basic Permit; and 

(6) a wine shipper brand listing consisting of all list 
identifying the brands of fortified and 
unfortified wines identified to be shipped into 
the State by the wine shipper, including the 
names of the common carriers used for 
shipping. The permitted wine shipper may 
amend the brands of wine permitted to be 
shipped into the State by filing an amended 
wine shipper brand listing with the Commission 
prior to shipping. Only brands identified by the 
wine shipper to the Commission in writing may 
be legally shipped are legal to ship into the 
State. 

 
Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-109; 18B-207; 18B-900; 18B-902; 
18B-1000; 18B-1001.1; 18B-1105.1; 18B-1113; 18B-1114; 18B-
1114.3; 18B-1114.7; 18B-1203; 18B-1303. 
 
14B NCAC 15C .0103 BEER FRANCHISE LAW; 
"BRAND" DEFINED 
For purposes of Article 13 of Chapter 18B of the General Statutes, 
the Beer Franchise Law, a distribution agreement between a 
supplier and wholesaler applies to all products distributed by the 
supplier under the same brand name. Different categories of 
products manufactured and marketed under a common identifying 
trade name are considered to be the same brand; e.g., the "Old 
Faithful" brand manufactured by Yellowstone Brewery Co. would 
include "Old Faithful", "Old Faithful Light", "Old Faithful Draft", 
"Old Faithful Dry" and other products identified principally by 
and relying upon the "Old Faithful" name, but would not include 
"Old Teton" which was also manufactured by Yellowstone 
Brewery Co. brand. The Commission shall determine the brand 
Determination of a product's brand shall be made by the 
Commission at the time the product is approved for sale in North 
Carolina and Carolina. Later changes to advertising strategy or 
labeling shall not affect the brand. be affected by later changes in 
the manufacturer's advertising strategy or labeling. Differences in 
packaging, such as different style, type or size of container, 
Different packaging, style, font, or container do not establish 
different brands. The name of the manufacturer shall not be the 
brand name unless no other information on the label qualifies as 
a brand. 
 
Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1303(a). 
 
14B NCAC 15C .0104 WINE PRODUCT BRAND 
(a)  Determination of a product's brand shall be made by the 
Commission The Commission shall determine a product brand at 
the time the product is approved for sale in North Carolina and 
Carolina. shall not be affected by later Later changes in the 
manufacturer's advertising strategy or labeling shall not affect the 
brand. Differences in Different packaging, such as different style, 
type type, or size of container, do not establish different brands. 
The name of the manufacturer shall not be the brand name unless 
no other information on the label qualifies as a brand. 
(b)  For purposes of Bordeaux Chateau wine brought into North 
Carolina under the French negociant negoçiant system only, 
"brand" as defined in 14B NCAC 15C .0101(1) 14B NCAC 15A 
.0103 shall be determined based on the nonresident wine vendor 
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or importer's name as reflected on the back of the product label. 
For purposes of Bordeaux Chateau wines only, wines 
manufactured and marketed under a common identifying trade 
name such as "Chateau Domaine," but which may be imported 
into the United States through multiple channels based on written 
authorizations from French negociants, negoçiants would not be 
considered to be the same brand; brand. e.g., the "Chateau 
Domaine" brought into the United States by Importer A would be 
considered to be a different brand than the "Chateau Domaine" 
brought into the United States by Importer B. Such written 
authorization(s) authorization must be provided submitted to the 
Commission upon request on a form provided by the Commission 
prior to product approval or brand registration registration. on a 
form provided by the Commission. 
 
Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1203. 
 

SECTION .0200 - PRODUCT APPROVALS: LISTING 
PROCEDURES: PRODUCT LISTS 

 
14B NCAC 15C .0201 MALT BEVERAGE PRODUCT 
APPROVAL: LISTING IN STATE 
(a)  All malt beverage products offered for sale in this State shall 
first be approved by the Commission. The Commission shall 
approve malt beverage products prior to the products being 
offered for sale in this State. The Commission shall provide blank 
Label/Product Application Forms Application for Label Approval 
forms through the Commission's public website or upon request. 
request. Thereafter, any approved Approved malt beverage 
product products sold in this State shall conform to the analysis of 
the samples submitted. as submitted on the application form. 
(b)  The Commission shall approve malt beverage products if: 

(1) the procedure for approval is complied with as 
required in Paragraph (c) of this Rule; 

(2) the analysis is within the limits as required in 
Paragraph (d) of this Rule; 

(3) the malt beverage product meets or exceeds the 
packaging requirements as required in 14B 
NCAC 15C .0301; and of Rule .0301 of this 
Subchapter; and 

(4) at the time of consideration, the Commission 
does not have evidence to suspect that the 
product: 
(A) contains harmful or impure 

substances; 
(B) contains an improper balance of 

substances, based on studies by 
universities, laboratories, the 
Commission or other scientific 
studies; 

(C) is a spurious or imitation product; or 
(D) is unfit for human consumption. 

(c)  Procedure for Approval. To receive consideration for approval 
by the Commission for a new malt beverage product, an industry 
member shall comply with the following procedures: 

(1) submit a completed Label/Product Approval 
Form with a list of all container sizes being 
offered; 

(2) attach all malt beverage product labels that are 
specified on the Label/Product Approval Form 
to the Label/Product Approval Form; 

(3) upon request from the Commission, submit a 
sample of the product in a marketable 
container; 

(4) attach a copy of the Federal Label Approval 
Form (COLA) to the Label/Product Approval 
Form; and 

(5) submit required items to the Commission 
Product Section at products@abc.nc.gov. a 
non-refundable analysis fee in the form of a 
certified check, cashier's check or money order 
in the amount of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) 
for each new malt beverage product submitted, 
except if an analysis certified by a laboratory of 
the product is submitted, submit a non-
refundable administrative fee as set out in G.S. 
18B-206(c) in the form of a certified check, 
cashier's check or money order; and 

(6) forward all required items to the North Carolina 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission, 4307 
Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 
27699-4307. 

(d)  All malt Malt beverage analyses shall be within the following 
limits: 

(1) a maximum 15 percent alcohol by volume; 
(2) a maximum 25 parts per million of total sulphur 

dioxide content; and 
(3) a maximum 100 parts per million of gallo 

tannins. 
(e)  All analyses Analyses of products submitted by industry 
members shall provide the following information in English: 

(1) the measured amounts listed in Paragraph (d) of 
this Rule; 

(2) the calories per 360 milliliters (12 ounces); 
(3) the specific gravity; and 
(4) the amount of any fortified stimulant per 360 

milliliters (12 ounces). 
(f)  The Commission shall withdraw approval of a malt beverage 
product when the Commission has evidence to suspect that the 
product: 

(1) contains harmful or impure substances; 
(2) contains an improper balance of substances; 
(3) is a spurious or imitation product; or 
(4) is unfit for human consumption. 

The malt beverage product shall not be reapproved until the 
Commission has evidence that proves otherwise. The 
Commission shall not re-approve a malt beverage product until 
receipt of evidence that the basis for withdrawal of approval was 
corrected. 
(g)  A person possessing malt beverage products that have had the 
with approval withdrawn by the Commission shall have 60 days 
after notice of the withdrawal to sell or otherwise dispose of the 
malt beverage products. 
 
Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-203(a)(5); 18B-206; 18B-207. 
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14B NCAC 15C .0202 WINE APPROVALS; LISTING IN 
STATE 
(a)  Except as provided in 14B NCAC 15B .0216 for special 
orders, all wine products offered for sale in this State shall first be 
approved by the Commission. the Commission shall approve wine 
products prior to the wine products being offered for sale in the 
State. The Commission shall provide blank Label/Product 
Application Forms through the Commission's website or upon 
request. Thereafter, any approved wine product sold in this State 
shall conform to the analysis of the samples submitted. as 
submitted on the application form. 
(b)  The Commission shall approve a wine product if: 

(1) the procedure for approval is complied with as 
required in Paragraph (d) of this Rule; 

(2) it is a fortified wine product that the alcohol by 
volume is above 16 percent and no more than 
24 percent; 

(3) it is an unfortified wine product that the alcohol 
by volume is 16 percent or less; 

(4) the wine product meets or exceeds the 
packaging requirements as required in 14B 
NCAC 15C .0301, and 

(5) at the time of consideration, the Commission 
does not have evidence to suspect that the 
product: 
(A) contains harmful or impure 

substances; 
(B) contains an improper balance of 

substances, based on studies by 
universities, laboratories, the 
Commission or other scientific 
studies; 

(C) is a spurious or imitation product; or 
(D) is unfit for human consumption. 

(c)  Procedure for Approval. To receive consideration for approval 
by the Commission for a new wine product, an industry member 
shall comply with the following procedures: 

(1) submit a completed Label/Product Application 
Form; 

(2) submit separate Label/Product Application 
Forms for fortified and unfortified wine 
products; 

(3) attach all wine product labels that are specified 
on the Label/Product Application Form to the 
Label/Product Application Form; 

(4) upon request from the Commission, submit a 
500 milliliter (or a larger size if 500 milliliter is 
not available) bottle of each product offered; 
and 

(5) attach a copy of the Federal Label Approval 
Form (COLA) to the Label/Product Application 
Form;Form. 

(6) submit a non-refundable analysis fee in the 
form of a certified check, cashier's check or 
money order in the amount of twenty-five 
dollars ($25.00) for each new wine product 
submitted, except if an analysis certified by a 
laboratory of the product is submitted, submit a 
non-refundable administrative fee as set out in 

G.S. 18B-206(c) in the form of a certified 
check, cashier's check or money order; and 

(7) forward all required items to the North Carolina 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission, 4307 
Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 
27699-4307. 

(d)  If an analysis of a product is submitted, it shall provide at least 
the following information in English: 

(1) alcohol by volume (percent); 
(2) total acidity (g/100 cc as tartaric acid); 
(3) total sulphur dioxide content (ppm); 
(4) volatile acidity, exclusive of sulphur dioxide 

(g/100 cc as acetic acid); 
(5) alcohol-free soluble solids (degrees/Brix 

degrees/Balling); 
(6) identity and quantity of any added chemical 

preservative; and 
(7) the amount of any fortified stimulant per 

container. 
(e)  The Commission shall withdraw approval of a wine product 
when the Commission has evidence to suspect that the product: 

(1) contains harmful or impure substances; 
(2) contains an improper balance of substances; 
(3) is a spurious or imitation product; or 
(4) is unfit for human consumption. 

The wine product shall not be reapproved until the Commission 
has evidence that proves otherwise. 
(f)  A person possessing wine products that have had the approval 
withdrawn by the Commission shall have 60 days after notice of 
the withdrawal to sell or otherwise dispose of the wine products. 
 
Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-203(a)(5); 18B-206; 18B-207. 
 
14B NCAC 15C .0203 SPIRITUOUS LIQUOR 
PRODUCT APPROVALS 
(a)  All brands of spirituous liquor sold in this State shall have first 
been approved for listing and resale by the Commission. The 
Commission shall first approve spirituous liquor brands sold in 
this state for listing and resale. 
(b)  Listing Policy. In view of the fact that North Carolina is a 
monopoly state, the Commission is responsible for maintaining a 
wide range of spirituous liquor products and prices and a balanced 
selection between the various types of products. It is the 
Commission's responsibility to ensure that the various types of 
products, including specialty items and imports, are available to 
the North Carolina consumer, as well as the more popular 
products. To this end, the Commission shall, at least once a year 
Once a year, the Commission shall consider new spirituous liquor 
products for placement on the state's approved list. Listings shall 
be in the discretion of the Commission The Commission shall 
have discretion of listings after considering sales trends of the type 
of product, sales trends of the product in other states, and the need 
for the product in the North Carolina market. The Commission 
shall also, at least once a year, Once a year, the Commission shall 
consider delisting items from the approved list. Items maintaining 
adequate sales histories for type and price range will not be 
considered for delisting unless the delisting is part of a penalty 
invoked after hearing, pursuant to this Chapter. 
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(c)  Items shall be submitted to the Commission for consideration 
for listing, and will be considered only if they are offered on the 
prescribed forms by the distiller, rectifier, bottler or importer. The 
distillery, rectifier, bottler or importer shall submit items to the 
Commission for consideration for listing on the prescribed forms. 
 
Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-203(a)(5); 18B-206; 18B-207. 
 
14B NCAC 15C .0204 SPIRITUOUS LIQUOR 
PRODUCT LISTS 
The Commission shall print prints a list of all brands of spirituous 
liquor that have been approved for sale in the state. The list, which 
includes container sizes and prices of all spirituous liquor 
products, is printed four times each per year, on February 1, May 
1, August 1 and November 1, and is available at no cost. 
 
Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207. 
 
14B NCAC 15C .0205 SAMPLES REQUIRED ON 
REQUEST 
Every industry member shall, upon Upon demand of the 
Commission, an industry member shall furnish samples at no cost 
to the Commission of any alcoholic beverage products 
manufactured, sold, or offered for sale in this State, for the 
purpose of analysis. 
 
Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-206(c); 18B-207. 
 
14B NCAC 15C .0206 NEW FILING REQUIRED UPON 
TRANSFER OF BRAND 
When any a malt beverage or wine brand or product is transferred 
from one nonresident vendor, manufacturer or importer to 
another, the new vendor, manufacturer or importer shall, within 
30 days of the acquisition of the brand or product, submit the 
following items to the Commission: 

(1) label approval application form forms 
(BWL008), with labels attached; 

(2) copies of Federal Label Approval forms; 
(3) a certified laboratory analysis of the product, in 

English, showing alcohol content by volume, 
with a non-refundable administrative fee as set 
out in G.S. 18B-206(c) in the form of a certified 
check, cashier's check or money order; and 

(4) the wholesaler territorial designations for the 
brand and product that were in effect on the date 
the product was acquired by the vendor, 
manufacturer or importer. 

Compliance with this Rule is mandatory notwithstanding the fact 
that the product has been previously approved by the 
Commission. 
 
Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-203(a); 18B-206; 18B-207; 18B-
1203; 18B-1303(a); 18B-1305(d). 
 

SECTION .0300 - PACKAGING AND LABELING OF 
MALT BEVERAGES AND WINE 

 

14B NCAC 15C .0301 PACKAGING REQUIREMENTS 
No industry member shall sell, offer for sale, or possess for the 
purpose of sale in this State wine or malt beverages shall be sold, 
offered for sale, or possessed for the purpose of sale in this State 
unless: 

(1) The alcoholic beverage product is packaged, 
marked, branded, sealed sealed, and labeled in 
conformity with these Rules. Rules; and 

(2) The label on each a product truthfully describes 
the contents of the container in accordance with 
standards of identity, identity. and the industry 
member responsible for labeling or product 
approval furnishes the Commission with 
adequate proof that a valid certificate of label 
approval for the label has been obtained from 
the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms, 
U.S. Treasury Department. 

(3) The industry member responsible for label or 
product approval provides the Commission 
with a valid certificate of label approval from 
Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau of 
the US Department of the Treasury. 

 
Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-206(a); 18B-207. 
 
14B NCAC 15C .0302 LABELS TO BE SUBMITTED TO 
COMMISSION 
(a)  All Industry members shall submit labels for malt beverage 
and wine products shall be submitted in duplicate to the 
Commission on an "Application for Label Approval Form," as 
required by Rule .0201 or .0202 of this Subchapter. 
(b)  Each person requesting label approval application shall 
furnish, in the application for label approval, contain the names 
and addresses of the manufacturer, bottler, and importer of the 
product. 
(c)  Notwithstanding Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule, holders 
of retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-1001(1), (2), (3), (4), or 
(16)(16), or (16a) that fill or refill growlers on demand shall not 
be required do not need to submit the labels required by Rules 
.0303(b) or (c) or .0304(d) or (e) .0303(b)-(c) or .0304(d)-(e) of 
this Section. 
 
Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-206(a); 18B-207; 18B-1001. 
 
14B NCAC 15C .0303 LABEL CONTENTS: MALT 
BEVERAGES 
(a)  Containers that are prefilled by the manufacturer shall be 
affixed with Breweries that prefill containers with malt beverage 
labels that beverages shall affix labels that contain the following 
information in a form legible to the consumer: in compliance with 
Subpart D of 27 CFR Part 7: 

(1) brand name of product; 
(2) name and address of brewer or bottler; 
(3) class of product (e.g., beer, ale, porter, lager, 

bock, stout, or other brewed or fermented 
beverage); as identified in Subpart I of 27 CFR 
Part 7; 

(4) net contents; 
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(5) if the malt beverage is fortified with any 
stimulants, the amount of each (milligrams) 
stimulant by milligrams per container; and 

(6) the alcoholic beverage health warning 
statement as required by the Federal Alcohol 
Administration Act, 27 C.F.R. Sections 16.20 
through 16.22. Subpart C of 27 CFR Part 16. 

(b)  Growlers that are filled or refilled on demand with malt 
beverages pursuant to Rule .0308 of this Section shall be affixed 
with a label or a tag Permittees who fill growlers with malt 
beverages, or refill on demand, pursuant to Rule .0308 of this 
Section shall affix a label or tag to the growler containing the 
following information in type not smaller than 3 millimeters in 
height and not more than 12 characters per inch: 

(1) brand name of the product dispensed; 
(2) name of brewer or bottler; 
(3) class of product (e.g., beer, ale, porter, lager, 

bock, stout, or other brewed or fermented 
beverage); as identified in Subpart I of 27 CFR 
Part 7; 

(4) net contents; 
(5) if the malt beverage is fortified with any 

stimulants from the original manufacturer, the 
amount of each (milligrams) stimulant in 
milligrams per container; 

(6) name and address of business that filled or 
refilled the growler; 

(7) date of fill or refill; 
(8) if the malt beverage is more than six percent 

alcohol by volume, the amount of alcohol by 
volume pursuant to G.S. 18B-101(9); and 

(9) the following statement: "This product may be 
unfiltered and unpasteurized. Keep refrigerated 
at all times." 

(c)  Growlers that are filled or refilled on demand pursuant to Rule 
.0308 of this Section shall be affixed with Permittees who fill 
growlers with malt beverages, or refill on demand, pursuant to 
Rule .0308 of this Section shall affix a label or tag to the growler 
containing the alcoholic beverage health warning statement as 
required by the Federal Alcohol Administration Act, 27 C.F.R. 
Sections 16.20 through 16.22. The provisions of 27 C.F.R. 
Sections 16.20 through 16.22 referenced in this Section are hereby 
incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and 
editions, and may be accessed for free at https://www.gpo.gov. as 
required by 27 CFR Part 16. 
(d)  All provisions of the CFR mentioned in this rule are hereby 
incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and 
editions, and may be accessed for free at 
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-27/chapter-I/subchapter-A. 
 
Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-101(9); 18B-206(a); 18B-207; 18B-
1001. 
 
14B NCAC 15C .0304 LABEL CONTENTS: WINE 
(a)  All wine labels shall contain the following information, in a 
form legible to the consumer: Wineries that prefill containers with 
wine shall affix labels that contain the following information in 
compliance with Subpart D of 27 CFR Part 4; 

(1) brand name of product; 

(2) class and type, in conformity with Section 
.0400 of this Subchapter; type; 

(3) name and address of manufacturer, or bottler, 
except as otherwise provided in these Rules; 

(4) on for blends consisting of foreign and 
domestic wine, if any a reference is made to the 
presence of foreign wine, must include the 
exact percentage by volume of the foreign 
wine; 

(5) net contents (unless blown or otherwise 
permanently inscribed in the container); unless 
otherwise permanently blown or inscribed on 
the container; and 

(6) the alcoholic beverage health warning 
statement as required by the Federal Alcohol 
Administration Act, 27 C.F.R. Sections 16.20 
through 16.22. Subpart C of 27 CFR Part 16. 

(b)  Exception for Retailer's Private Brand. In the case of wine 
bottles If wine is packaged for a retailer or other person under the 
person's private brand, the name and address of the bottler may be 
stated on another label affixed to the container, container if the 
name and address of the person for whom the wine was bottled or 
packed appears on the label. The net contents shall be stated on 
the brand label or on a separate label affixed thereto on the same 
side of the container in legible form, container unless otherwise 
permanently blown or otherwise permanently inscribed in on the 
container. 
(c)  Imported Wines. The name and address of the importer of a 
foreign wine need not be stated on the brand label if it is stated 
upon another label affixed to the container. 
(d)  Growlers that are filled or refilled on demand with unfortified 
wine pursuant to Rule .0308 of this Section shall be affixed with 
a label or a tag Permittees who fill growlers with unfortified wine, 
or refill on demand, pursuant to Rule .0308 of this Section shall 
affix a label or tag to the growler containing the following 
information in type not smaller than 3 millimeters in height and 
not more than 12 characters per inch: 

(1) brand name of the product dispensed; 
(2) name of manufacturer or bottler; 
(3) class and type of product; 
(4) net contents; 
(5) name and address of business that filled or 

refilled the growler; 
(6) date of fill or refill; and 
(7) the following statement: "This product may be 

unfiltered and unpasteurized. Keep refrigerated 
at all times." 

(e)  Growlers that are filled or refilled on demand pursuant to Rule 
.0308 of this Section shall be affixed with Permittees who fill 
growlers with unfortified wine, or refill on demand, pursuant to 
Rule .0308 of this Section shall affix a label or tag to the growler 
containing the alcoholic beverage health warning statement as 
required by the Federal Alcohol Administration Act, 27 C.F.R. 
Sections 16.20 through 16.22. as required by 27 CFR Part 16. 
(f)  All provisions of the CFR cited in this rule are hereby 
incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and 
editions, and may be accessed for free at 
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-27/chapter-I/subchapter-
A/part-4/subpart-D. 
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Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-206(a); 18A-207; 18B-1001. 
 
14B NCAC 15C .0305 ALL CONTAINERS TO HAVE 
LABEL 
Every container of wine or malt beverages, including bottles, 
Bottles, barrels, casks, kegs, cans cans, or other closed 
receptacles, containers, irrespective of size or of the material from 
which made, composition, that is sold or offered for sale in this 
State or that is used for the transportation, importation or sale of 
importation, or sale of malt beverages or wine shall bear a brand 
label (or a brand label and other permitted labels) containing the 
information required by Rules .0303 and .0304 of this Section. 
 
Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-206(a); 18B-207. 
 
14B NCAC 15C .0306 LABEL ALTERATION 
No permittee nor his employee shall Permittees and their 
employees or agents shall not alter, mutilate, destroy, obliterate or 
remove obliterate, remove, or cover any mark, brand or a label on 
wine or malt beverages kept for sale in this State, State. except for 
Permittees may affix an additional labeling or relabeling label or 
relabel a container to comply with the requirements of this Section 
or of federal or state laws and regulations. 
 
Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-206(a); 18B-207. 
 
14B NCAC 15C .0307 GROWLERS 
(a)  As used in this Section, a "growler" is a rigid glass, ceramic, 
plastic, aluminum, or stainless steel container with a closure or 
cap with a secure sealing container, with a secured seal closure or 
cap, that is no larger than 4 liters (1.0567 gallons) into which a 
malt beverage or unfortified wine is prefilled, filled, or refilled on 
demand, for off-premises consumption. 
(b)  Malt beverages may be sold in growlers as follows: 

(1) Holders of only a brewery permit may sell, 
deliver, and ship growlers prefilled with the 
brewery's malt beverage for off-premises 
consumption provided a label is affixed to the 
growler has an attached label that provides the 
information as required by Rules .0303(a) and 
.0305 of this Section. 

(2) Holders of retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-
1001(1), (2), or (16)(16), or (16a) who do not 
hold a brewery permit shall not prefill growlers 
with malt beverage. 

(3) Holders of a brewery permit who also have 
retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-1001(1) 
may fill or refill growlers on demand with the 
brewery's malt beverage for off-premises 
consumption, provided the growler has an 
attached label as required by Rules .0303(b) and 
(c) and .0305 of this Section is affixed to the 
growler. Section. 

(4) Holders of retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-
1001(1), (2), or (16)(16), or (16a) may fill or 
refill growlers on demand with draft malt 
beverage for off-premises consumption, 
provided the growler has an attached label as 

required by Rules .0303(b) and (c) and .0305 of 
this Section is affixed to the growler. Section. 

(c)  Unfortified wine may be sold in growlers as follows: 
(1) Holders of only an unfortified winery permit 

may sell, deliver, and ship growlers prefilled 
with the winery's unfortified wine for off-
premises consumption provided a label is 
affixed to the growler has an attached label that 
provides the information as required by Rules 
.0304(a), (b), and (c), and .0305 of this Section. 

(2) Holders of retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-
1001(3), (4), or (16)(16), or (16a) who do not 
hold an unfortified winery permit shall not 
prefill growlers with unfortified wine. 

(3) Holders of an unfortified winery permit who 
also have retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-
1001(3) may fill or refill growlers on demand 
with the winery's unfortified wine for off-
premises consumption, provided the growler 
has an attached label as required by Rules 
.0304(d) and (e) and .0305 of this Section is 
affixed to the growler. Section. 

(4) Holders of retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-
1001(3), (4), or (16)(16), or (16a) may fill or 
refill growlers on demand with unfortified wine 
for off-premises consumption, provided the 
growler has an attached label as required by 
Rules .0304(d) and (e) and .0305 of this Section 
is affixed to the growler. Section. 

(d)  Holders of retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-1001(1), (2), 
(3), (4), or (16)(16), or (16a) shall affix a label to the growler as 
required by Rules .0303(b) and (c), .0304(d) and (e), and .0305 of 
this Section to the growler when filling or refilling a growler. 
(e)  Holders of retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-1001(1), (2), 
(3), (4), or (16), (16), or (16a) may, in their discretion, refuse to 
fill or refill a growler, except in matters of discrimination pursuant 
to G.S. 18B-305(c). 
 
Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-206(a); 18B-207; 18B-305; 18B-
1001. 
 
14B NCAC 15C .0308 GROWLERS: CLEANING, 
SANITIZING, FILLING AND SEALING 
(a)  Except as permitted pursuant to Rules .0307(b) and (c) of this 
Section, permittee and permittee's employee shall fill and refill 
filling and refilling growlers shall only occur only on demand by 
a consumer. 
(b)  Growlers shall only be filled or refilled by a permittee or the 
permittee's employee. Only a permittee or permittee's employee 
shall fill or refill a growler. 
(c)  Prior to filling or refilling a growler, a permittee or the 
permittee's employee shall clean and sanitize the growler and its 
cap shall be cleaned and sanitized by the permittee or the 
permittee's employee using one of the following methods: 

(1) Manual washing in a three compartment sink: 
(A) prior to starting, clean sinks and work 

area to remove any chemicals, oils, or 
grease from other cleaning activities; 



 PROPOSED RULES 
 

 
40:02 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 15, 2025 

225 

(B) empty residual liquid from the growler 
to a drain. Growlers shall not be 
emptied into the cleaning water; 

(C) clean the growler and cap in water and 
detergent. Water temperature shall be 
at a minimum 110ºF or the 
temperature specified on the cleaning 
agent manufacturer's label 
instructions. Detergent shall not be fat 
or oil based; 

(D) remove any residues on the interior 
and exterior of the growler and cap; 

(E) rinse the growler and cap in the middle 
compartment with water. Rinsing may 
be from the spigot with a spray arm, 
from a spigot, or from the tub as long 
as the water for rinsing is not stagnant 
and continually refreshed; 

(F) sanitize the growler and cap in the 
third compartment. Chemical sanitizer 
shall be used in accordance with the 
EPA-registered label use instructions 
and shall meet the minimum water 
temperature requirements of that 
chemical; and 

(G) a test kit or other device that 
accurately measures the concentration 
in mg/L of chemical sanitizing 
solutions shall be provided and be 
accessible for use; or 

(2) Mechanical washing and sanitizing machine: 
(A) mechanical washing and sanitizing 

machines shall be provided with an 
easily accessible and readable data 
plate affixed to the machine by the 
manufacturer and shall be used 
according to the machine's design and 
operation specifications; 

(B) mechanical washing and sanitizing 
machines shall be equipped with 
chemical or hot water sanitization; 

(C) concentration of the sanitizing 
solution or the water temperature shall 
be accurately determined by using a 
test kit or other device; and 

(D) the machine shall be regularly 
serviced based upon the 
manufacturer's or installer's 
guidelines. 

(d)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (c) of this Rule, a permittee or the 
permittee's employee may fill or refill a growler may be filled or 
refilled without cleaning and sanitizing the growler, as follows: 

(1) Filling or refilling a growler with a tube as 
referenced by Paragraph (e) of this Rule: 
(A) food grade sanitizer shall be used in 

accordance with the EPA-registered 
label use instructions; 

(B) a container of liquid food grade 
sanitizer shall be maintained for no 

more than 10 malt beverage taps that 
will be used for filling and refilling 
growlers; 

(C) each container shall contain no fewer 
than five tubes that will be used only 
for filling and refilling growlers; 

(D) the growler is inspected visually for 
contamination; 

(E) after each filling or refilling of a 
growler, the tube shall be immersed in 
the container with the liquid food 
grade sanitizer; and 

(F) a different tube from the container 
shall be used for each fill or refill of a 
growler; or 

(2) Filling a growler with a contamination-free 
process: 
(A) the growler shall be inspected visually 

for contamination; 
(B) for growlers that can be refilled, the 

process shall be otherwise in 
compliance with the FDA Food Code 
2009, Section 3-304.17(C); and 

(C) for growlers that are for single use, the 
process shall be otherwise in 
compliance with the FDA Food Code 
2009, Sections 4-903.11 and 4-903.12. 

(e)  Permittee or permittee's employee shall fill or refill growlers 
Growlers shall be filled or refilled from the bottom of the growler 
to the top with a tube that is attached to the malt beverage or 
unfortified wine faucet and extends to the bottom of the growler 
or with a commercial filling machine. 
(f)  When not in use, tubes to fill or refill growlers shall be 
immersed and stored in a container with liquid food grade 
sanitizer. Permittee or permittee's employee shall immerse and 
store tubes to fill or refill growlers in a container with liquid food 
grade sanitizer. 
(g)  After filling or refilling a growler, a permittee or the 
permittee's employee shall seal the growler shall be sealed with a 
closure or cap. 
 
Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-206(a); 18B-207; 18B-1001. 
 
 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 
QUALITY 

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Wildlife Resources Commission intends to adopt the rules cited as 
15A NCAC 10B .0502, .0504, amend the rules cited as 15A NCAC 
10B .0203, .0206, .0503; 10C .0205, .0208, .0211, .0305, .0316, 
.0318, .0321, .0322; 10D .0102, .0104, .0205, .0211, .0212, .0215, 
.0218, .0229, .0232, .0236, .0239- .0241, .0258, .0265, .0271, 
.0275, .0276, .0278, .0283, .0291, .0294, and repeal the rules cited 
as 15A NCAC 10D .0217, and .0267. 
 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 
impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 
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the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 
on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://www.ncwildlife.gov/hunting/regulations/proposed-
regulations 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2026 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  August 5, 2025 
Time:  4:00PM 
Location:  Zoom Meeting. Registration 
Required:https://ncwildlife-
org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_X60LebS_R02uqk-
JT47iZw or Join by Phone: Toll Free (833) 568-8864, Webinar 
ID: 161 629 0758 
 
Date:  August 7, 2025 
Time:  7:00PM 
Location:  Zoom Meeting. Registration 
Required:https://ncwildlife-
org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_eMPMrTbeQ3-
ykxuzwhv6tA or Join by Phone: Toll Free (833) 568-8864, 
Webinar ID: 160 223 3918 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  Each year, the N.C. Wildlife 
Resources Commission reviews and adjusts seasons, bag limits, 
and the land management regulations, as needed, to achieve 
conservation management goals, comply with statutory changes, 
and respond to constituent requests. 
 
Note: Italized text are previous rule changes adopted by the 
Commission and approved by the RRC with an effective date of 
8/1/2025. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, 
1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email 
regulations@ncwildlife.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  September 15, 2025 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 
Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 
written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 
clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 
provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 
written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 
1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 
email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 
attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 
 

SUBCHAPTER 10B - HUNTING AND TRAPPING 
 

SECTION .0200 - HUNTING 
 
15A NCAC 10B .0203 WHITE-TAILED DEER 
(a)  Open All Lawful Weapons Seasons for hunting deer: 

(1) Deer With Visible Antlers. Deer with antlers or 
spikes protruding through the skin, as 
distinguished from knobs or buttons covered by 
skin or velvet, skin, may be taken during the 
following seasons, including on game lands 
unless otherwise specified in the rules of 15A 
NCAC 10D .0200. 
(A) Saturday on or nearest October 15 

through January 1 in Beaufort, Bladen, 
Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, 
Cumberland, Craven, Dare, Duplin, 
Harnett, Hoke, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, 
Moore, New Hanover, Onslow, 
Pamlico, Pender, Richmond, Robeson, 
Sampson, Scotland, Tyrrell, and 
Washington counties. It is unlawful to 
hunt or kill deer in Lake Waccamaw or 
within 50 yards of its shoreline in 
Columbus County. 

(B) Saturday on or nearest October 15 
through January 1 in Bertie, Camden, 
Chowan, Currituck, Edgecombe, 
Franklin, Gates, Greene, Halifax, 
Hertford, Johnston, Martin, Nash, 
Northampton, Pasquotank, 
Perquimans, Pitt, Vance, Wake, 
Warren, Wayne, and Wilson counties. 

(C) Saturday before Thanksgiving Day 
through January 1 in Alexander, 
Alleghany, Ashe, Catawba, 
Cleveland, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, 
Iredell, Lincoln, Polk, Rutherford, 
Stokes, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, and 
Yadkin and Watauga counties. 

(D) Saturday after Thanksgiving Day 
through January 1 in Avery, 
Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, 
Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, 
Henderson, Jackson, Macon, 
Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Swain, 
Transylvania, and Yancey counties. 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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(E) Two Saturdays before Thanksgiving 
Day through January 1 in Alamance, 
Anson, Cabarrus, Caswell, Chatham, 
Davidson, Durham, Granville, 
Guilford, Lee, Mecklenburg, 
Montgomery, Orange, Person, 
Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, 
Stanly, and Union counties. 

(F) Saturday on or nearest September 10 
through January 1 in the parts of 
Camden, Gates, and Pasquotank 
counties known as the Dismal Swamp 
National Wildlife Refuge; in the parts 
of Hyde, Tyrrell, and Washington 
counties known as the Pocosin Lakes 
National Wildlife Refuge; in the part 
of Hyde county known as Lake 
Mattamuskeet National Wildlife 
Refuge; in the parts of Dare and Hyde 
counties known as Alligator River 
National Wildlife Refuge; in the parts 
of Anson and Richmond counties 
known as the Pee Dee National 
Wildlife Refuge; and in the part of 
Currituck County known as the 
Mackay Island National Wildlife 
Refuge. 

(2) Antlered or Antlerless Deer. Except on Game 
Lands, antlered or antlerless deer may be taken 
during the open seasons and in the counties and 
portions of counties listed in Parts (A) through 
(G)(E) of this Subparagraph. 
(A) The open antlered or antlerless deer 

hunting dates established by the U.S. 
Fish and Wildlife Service from the 
Saturday on or nearest September 10 
through January 1 in the parts of 
Camden, Gates, and Pasquotank 
counties known as the Dismal Swamp 
National Wildlife Refuge; in the parts 
of Hyde, Tyrrell, and Washington 
counties known as the Pocosin Lakes 
National Wildlife Refuge; in the parts 
of Anson and Richmond counties 
known as the Pee Dee National 
Wildlife Refuge; and in the parts of 
Currituck County known as the 
Currituck National Wildlife Refuge 
and the Mackay Island National 
Wildlife Refuge. 

(B) The open antlered or antlerless deer 
hunting dates established by the 
military commands at the military 
installations listed in this Paragraph, 
from Saturday on or nearest October 
15 through January 1 in the part of 
Brunswick County known as the 
Sunny Point Military Ocean Terminal, 
in the part of Craven County known 

and marked as Cherry Point Marine 
Base, in the part of Onslow County 
known and marked as the Camp 
Lejeune Marine Base, on Fort Liberty 
Bragg Military Reservation, and on 
Camp Mackall Military Reservation. 

(C) The first open Saturday of the Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season described 
in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule in 
Cherokee, Clay, Haywood, Jackson, 
Macon, Swain, and Transylvania 
counties. 

(D) The first open day of the Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season described in 
Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule 
through the first Saturday thereafter in 
Buncombe, Henderson, Madison, and 
McDowell counties, except in the 
areas described in Subparts 
(a)(2)(G)(i)(a)(2)(E)(i) and (ii) of this 
Rule. 

(E) The first open day of the season for 
Deer With Visible Antlers described 
in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule 
through the second Saturday thereafter 
in Avery, Burke, Caldwell, Mitchell, 
and Yancey counties. 

(F) The first open day of the season for 
Deer With Visible Antlers described 
in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule 
through the fourth Saturday thereafter 
in Cleveland, Polk, and Rutherford 
counties. 

(G)(E) Open days of the season for Deer With 
Visible Antlers described in 
Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule in 
and east of Ashe, Watauga, Wilkes, 
Alexander, Catawba, Lincoln, and 
Gaston Avery, Burke, Rutherford, and 
Polk counties and in Madison, 
Mitchell, and Yancey counties, and 
the following parts of counties: 
(i) The part of Buncombe 

County east of N.C. 191, 
south of the French Broad 
and Swannanoa Rivers, west 
of U.S. 25, and north of N.C. 
280; and 

(ii) The part of Henderson 
County east of N.C. 191 and 
north and west of N.C. 280. 

(b)  Open Archery Seasons for hunting deer: 
(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out 

in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph and the 
bag limits set out in Paragraph (f) of this Rule, 
deer may be taken with archery equipment from 
Saturday on or nearest September 10 through 
the day immediately preceding the first open 
day of the Blackpowder Firearms Season 
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described in Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule, 
including on game lands unless otherwise 
specified in the rules of 15A NCAC 10D .0200. 

(2) Restrictions 
(A) In the areas of the State where the 

Commission regulates the use of dogs 
as provided in G.S. 113-291.5, dogs 
may not be used for hunting deer 
during the Archery Season, except a 
single dog on a leash may be used to 
retrieve a dead or wounded deer in 
accordance with G.S. 113-291.1(k). 

(B) Only archery equipment of the types 
authorized in 15A NCAC 10B .0116 
for taking deer may be used during the 
Archery Season. 

(C) Antlered or antlerless deer may be 
taken during Archery Season specified 
by Part (b)(1)(A)(b)(1) of this Rule. 

(c)  Open Blackpowder Firearms Seasons for hunting deer: 
(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out 

in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph, deer may 
be taken only with blackpowder firearms and 
archery equipment from two Saturdays 
preceding the first day of the open season for 
Deer with Visible Antlers described in Parts 
(a)(1)(A), (B), (C), (D), (E), and (F) of this Rule 
through the second Friday thereafter including 
on game lands unless otherwise specified in the 
rules of 15A NCAC 10D .0200. 

(2) Restrictions 
(A) Antlered or antlerless deer may be 

taken during Blackpowder Firearms 
Season in a county or county part set 
forth in Part (a)(2)(D), (E), (F), or 
(G)(E) of this Rule that has one or 
more open days within the All Lawful 
Weapons Season to legally harvest 
antlerless deer. 

(B) Antlered or antlerless deer may be 
taken during the second open Saturday 
of the Blackpowder Firearms Season 
thru the first Friday thereafter in any 
county or county part set forth in Part 
(a)(2)(C) of this Rule. 

(C) Antlered or antlerless deer may be 
taken on the second open Saturday of 
the Blackpowder Firearms Season in 
any county or county part not set forth 
in Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule. 

(D) In the areas of the State where the 
Commission regulates the use of dogs 
as provided in G.S. 113-291.5, dogs 
shall not be used for hunting deer 
during the Blackpowder Firearms 
Season, except a single dog on a leash 
may be used to retrieve a dead or 
wounded deer in accordance with G.S. 
113-291.1(k). 

(3) As used in this Rule, "blackpowder firearms" 
means any firearm, including any firearm with 
a matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap, or 
similar type of ignition system, manufactured 
before 1899, that cannot use fixed ammunition; 
any replica of this type of firearm if the replica 
is not designed or redesigned for using rimfire 
or conventional centerfire fixed ammunition; 
and any muzzle-loading rifle, muzzle-loading 
shotgun, or muzzle-loading or cylinder-loading 
handgun that is designed to use blackpowder, 
blackpowder substitute, or any other propellant 
loaded through the muzzle, cylinder, or breech 
and that cannot use fixed ammunition. 

(d)  Open Urban Season for hunting deer: 
(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out 

in Subparagraph (3) of this Paragraph and the 
bag limits set out in Paragraph (e)(f) of this 
Rule, antlered or antlerless deer may be taken 
with archery equipment in participating cities in 
the State, as defined in G.S. 160A-1(2), from 
the second Saturday following January 1 
through the sixth Sunday thereafter. Deer shall 
not be taken on game lands within a city 
boundary. 

(2) Participation. Cities that intend to participate in 
the Urban Season shall send a letter to that 
effect no later than April 1 of the year prior to 
the start of the Urban Season to the Executive 
Director or his designee at 1722 Mail Service 
Center, Raleigh, N.C. 27699-1700. Cities shall 
also submit a map of the city's boundaries 
within which the Urban Season shall apply. 

(3) Restrictions: 
(A) In the areas of the State where the 

Commission regulates the use of dogs 
as provided in G.S. 113-291.5, dogs 
shall not be used for hunting deer 
during the Urban Season except a 
single dog on a leash may be used to 
retrieve a dead or wounded deer in 
accordance with G.S. 113-291.1(k). 

(B) Only archery equipment of the types 
authorized in 15A NCAC 10B .0116 
for taking deer shall be used during the 
Urban Season. 

(e)  Open Youth Days for hunting deer. Antlered or antlerless deer 
may be taken with all lawful weapons by individuals under 16 
years of age during the following days: 

(1) The fourth Saturday in September and the 
Sunday immediately thereafter in all counties; 
and 

(2) Thanksgiving Day and the Friday immediately 
thereafter in the counties listed in Part (a)(1)(D) 
of this Rule. 

(f)  Bag limits. The possession and season limit is six deer, two 
that may be deer with visible antlers and four that may be 
antlerless deer. Antlerless deer include males with knobs or 
buttons covered by skin or velvet as distinguished from antlers or 
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spikes protruding through the skin. A hunter may obtain multiple 
Bonus Antlerless Deer Harvest Report Cards from the Wildlife 
Resources Commission or any Wildlife Service Agent to allow 
the harvest of two additional antlerless deer per card for deer 
harvested during the season described in Paragraph (d) of this 
Rule within the boundaries of participating municipalities, except 
on State-owned game lands. Antlerless deer harvested and 
reported on the bonus antlerless harvest report card shall not count 
as part of the possession and season limit. 
(g)  Deer Management Assistance Program. The bag limits 
described in Paragraph (f) of this Rule do not apply to deer 
harvested in areas covered in the Deer Management Assistance 
Program (DMAP) as described in G.S. 113-291.2(e) for those 
individuals using Commission-issued DMAP tags and reporting 
harvest as described on the DMAP license. Season bag limits shall 
be set by the number of DMAP tags issued and in the hunters' 
possession. All deer harvested under this program, regardless of 
the date of harvest, shall be tagged with DMAP tags and reported 
as instructed on the DMAP license. The hunter does not have to 
validate the Big Game Harvest Report Card provided with the 
hunting license for deer tagged with the DMAP tags. Any deer 
harvested on lands enrolled in the DMAP and not tagged with 
DMAP tags may only be harvested during the regularly 
established deer seasons subject to the restrictions of those 
seasons, including bag limits, and reported using the big game 
harvest report card or the bonus antlerless harvest report card. 
(h)  Seasons for counties identified as Chronic Wasting Disease 
Management Areas shall be as specified in Rule .0502 of this 
Subchapter. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.3; 113-276.1; 113-291.1; 113-
291.2; 113-291.5. 
 
15A NCAC 10B .0206 SQUIRRELS 
(a)  The open season for gray and red squirrels is the Monday on 
or closest to October 15 through the last day of February. Gray 
squirrels may also be taken by hunting on the Monday following 
the closing of the open season for wild turkey in 15A NCAC 10B 
.0209(a) through the second Monday thereafter. 
(d)(b)  The daily bag limit for gray and red squirrels is eight in 
aggregate and there are no season or possession limits.  
(b)(c)  The open season for fox squirrels is the Monday on or 
nearest October 15 through January 31. 
(c)  Except on game lands, gray squirrels may also be taken by 
hunting on the second Monday in May through the fourth Monday 
in May. 
(d)  The daily bag limit for gray and red squirrels is eight in 
aggregate and there are no season or possession limits. 
(e)(d)  The daily bag limit for fox squirrels is one; the possession 
limit is two; and the season limit is 10. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.2. 
 

SECTION .0500 – CHRONIC WASTING DISEASE 
MANAGEMENT 

 
15A NCAC 10B .0502 CWD SURVEILLANCE AREAS 
DEFINED MANAGEMENT AREAS 
(a)  The following counties are CWD Management Areas: 

(1) Cumberland; 
(2) Forsyth; 
(3) Stokes; 
(4) Surry; 
(5) Wilkes; and 
(6) Yadkin. 

(b)  Prohibitions specified in Rule .0503 apply to the counties 
identified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 
(c)  Open seasons for hunting deer are as follows: 

(1) Special Early Season. Deer with antlers or 
spikes protruding through the skin, as 
distinguished from knobs or buttons covered by 
skin, may be taken on the fourth Saturday in 
August and the Sunday immediately following 
with a lawful weapon, including on game lands 
unless otherwise specified in the rules of 15A 
NCAC 10D .0200. 

(2) All Lawful Weapons. 
(A) Antlered or Antlerless deer may be 

taken in Forsyth, Stokes, Surry, 
Wilkes, and Yadkin counties two 
Saturdays before Thanksgiving Day 
through January 1, including on game 
lands unless otherwise specified in the 
rules of 15A NCAC 10D .0200. 

(B) Antlered or Antlerless deer may be 
taken in Cumberland County the 
Saturday on or nearest October 15 
through January 1, including on game 
lands unless otherwise specified in the 
rules of 15A NCAC 10D .0200. 

(3) Archery Seasons. Antlered or Antlerless deer 
may be taken with archery equipment as 
authorized in 15A NCAC 10B .0116 on the 
Saturday on or nearest September 10 through 
the day immediately preceding the first open 
day of the Blackpowder Firearms Season 
described in Subparagraph (c)(4) of this Rule. 

(4) Blackpowder Firearms Seasons. Antlered or 
Antlerless deer may be taken with archery 
equipment as authorized in 15A NCAC 10B 
.0116, and blackpowder firearms as defined in 
15A NCAC 10B .0203(c)(3), from two 
Saturdays preceding the first day of the All 
Lawful Weapons Season described in 
Subparagraph (c)(2) of this Rule through the 
second Friday thereafter, including on game 
lands unless otherwise specified in the rules of 
15A NCAC 10D .0200. 

(d)  Seasons, bag limits, and programs specified in paragraphs (d) 
through (g) of Rule 10B .0203 of this Subchapter shall apply in 
the counties identified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-306. 
 
15A NCAC 10B .0503 SURVEILLANCE AREA 
(a)  Inside a surveillance area, placement of minerals or salt licks 
to purposefully congregate wildlife shall be prohibited. Placement 
of bait, food, or food product to purposefully congregate wildlife 
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shall be prohibited from January 2 through August 31 inside a 
Surveillance Area, except that: 

(1) bird feeders specifically designed for nongame 
birds shall be allowed; 

(2) placement of bait, food, or food products to 
hunt during the urban archery season shall be 
allowed within the established season in 
participating municipalities; and 

(3) the placement of food specifically permitted by 
the Commission for scientific research, 
population management, and wildlife control 
may be allowed. 

(b)  White-tailed deer fawn rehabilitation is prohibited in a 
Surveillance Area. 
(c)  White-tailed deer fawns originating from within a 
Surveillance Area shall not be transported alive outside the 
Surveillance Area. 
(d)  No cervid carcass or carcass parts originating from inside a 
Primary Surveillance Area (PSA) or Secondary Surveillance Area 
(SSA) shall be transported outside of the county of origin, except: 

(1) meat that has been boned out so that no pieces 
or fragments of bone remain; 

(2) caped hides with no part of the skull or spinal 
column attached; 

(3) antlers, antlers attached to cleaned skull plates, 
or skulls free from meat or brain tissue; 

(4) cleaned lower jawbones with teeth or cleaned 
teeth; 

(5) finished taxidermy products and tanned hides; 
(6) carcass or carcass parts permitted by the 

Commission for disposal outside of the 
Surveillance Area; 

(7) carcass or carcass parts originating inside a 
PSA county may be transported into contiguous 
PSA counties; and 

(8) carcass or carcass parts originating inside a 
SSA county may be transported into contiguous 
SSA or PSA counties. 

(e)(d)  No person shall possess or use a substance or material that 
contains or is labeled as containing any excretion collected from 
a cervid, including feces, urine, blood, gland oil, or other bodily 
fluid for the purposes of taking or attempting to take, attracting, 
or scouting wildlife inside a surveillance area. This prohibition 
shall not apply to the following substances: 

(1) products labeled as containing synthetic 
analogs of cervid excretions; 

(2) natural substances labeled as being collected 
from facilities within North Carolina that have 
a valid Farmed Cervid License from the North 
Carolina Department of Agriculture and 
Services; 

(3) natural deer urine products labeled as 
containing excretions from facilities within 
North Carolina that have a valid Farmed Cervid 
License from the North Carolina Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services; and 

(4) natural deer urine products labeled as 
containing excretions from facilities that meet 
all the following requirements: 

(A) determined to be free of Chronic 
Wasting Disease (CWD) based on 
testing by an independent laboratory 
using a method that may help detect 
the presence of CWD prions; 

(B) complies with a federally approved 
CWD herd certification program and 
any federal CWD protocols; and 

(C) participates in additional herd 
management requirements as 
specified by the Wildlife Resources 
Commission. 

 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-306. 
 
15A NCAC 10B .0504 PRIMARY SURVEILLENCE 
AREA DISPOSAL OF CERVID CARCASSES 
(a)  The final disposition of non-edible portions of cervid 
carcasses and carcass parts originating from North Carolina shall 
be: 

(1) in a lined landfill; 
(2) buried 3 feet below ground and 300 feet from a 

waterbody; or 
(3) lawfully left on the ground within the county of 

origin. 
(b)  This section shall not apply to cervid carcass parts that are 
lawful to possess pursuant to Rule .0124 of this Subchapter. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-306. 
 
SUBCHAPTER 10C - INLAND FISHING REGULATIONS 
 

SECTION .0200 - GENERAL REGULATIONS 
 
15A NCAC 10C .0205 PUBLIC MOUNTAIN TROUT 
WATERS 
(a)  For purposes of this Rule, the following manners of take 
definitions apply: 

(1) "Natural bait" means a living or dead plant or 
animal, or parts thereof, or prepared substances 
designed to attract fish by the sense of taste or 
smell. 

(2) "Single hook" means a fish hook with only one 
point. 

(3) "Artificial lure" means a fishing lure that 
neither contains nor has been treated by a 
substance that attracts fish by the sense of taste 
or smell. 

(4) "Artificial fly" means one single hook dressed 
with feathers, hair, thread, tinsel, rubber, or a 
similar material to which no additional hook, 
spinner, spoon, or similar device is added. 

(5) "Youth anglers" are individuals under 16 years 
of age. 

(b)  For purposes of this Rule, 15A NCAC 10C .0316, and 15A 
NCAC 10D .0104, the following classifications and restrictions 
apply: 
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(1) "Public Mountain Trout Waters" are the waters 
included in Paragraph (d) of this Rule and those 
designated in 15A NCAC 10D .0104. 

(2) "Catch and Release Artificial Flies and Lures 
Only Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout 
Waters where only artificial flies and lures 
having one single hook may be used. No trout 
may be possessed or harvested while fishing 
these streams. Waters with this designation 
include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(3) "Delayed Harvest Trout Waters" are Public 
Mountain Trout Waters where between October 
1 and one-half hour after sunset on the Friday 
before the first Saturday of the following June, 
it is unlawful to possess natural bait, bait or use 
more than one single hook on an artificial lure. 
lure, or harvest or possess trout while fishing. 
From 6:00 a.m. until noon on the first Saturday 
in June, only youth anglers may fish and these 
waters have no bait or lure restrictions. From 
noon on the first Saturday in June until 
September 30, October 1, anglers may fish 
these waters with no bait or lure restrictions. 
Waters with this designation do not include 
tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(4) "Hatchery Supported Trout Waters" are Public 
Mountain Trout Waters that have no bait or lure 
restrictions. Waters with this designation do not 
include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 
Fishing is prohibited from March 1 until 7 a.m. 
on the first Saturday in April, except in the 
impounded waters of the following reservoirs: 
(A) Bear Creek Lake; 
(B) Buckeye Creek Reservoir; 
(C) Calderwood Reservoir; 
(D) Cedar Cliff Lake; 
(E) Cheoah Reservoir; 
(F) Cliffside Lake; 
(G) Cullowhee Dam Impoundment, from 

the S.R. 1731 bridge downstream to 
the Cullowhee Dam; 

(H) Tanassee Creek Lake; 
(I) Queens Creek Lake; and 
(J) Wolf Lake. 

(5) "Special Regulation Trout Waters" are Public 
Mountain Trout Waters where watercourse-
specific regulations apply. Waters with this 
designation do not include tributaries unless 
otherwise noted. 

(6) "Wild Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout 
Waters identified in this Rule or 15A NCAC 
10D .0104. Only artificial lures having only one 
single hook may be used. No person shall 
possess natural bait while fishing these waters. 
Waters with this designation do not include 
tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(7) "Undesignated Waters" are the other waters in 
the State. These waters have no bait or lure 
restrictions. 

(c)  Seasons, creel, and size limits. Seasons, creel, and size limits 
for trout are listed in Rule .0316 of this Subchapter. 
(d)  Classifications. This Paragraph designates waters in each 
county that have a specific classification. Waters on game lands 
are designated in 15A NCAC 10D .0104, unless otherwise 
indicated in this Paragraph. The other waters are classified as 
Undesignated Waters. 

(1) Alleghany 
(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 
Big Pine Creek 
Bledsoe Creek 
Brush Creek from the N.C. 21 bridge 
to the confluence with the Little River, 
except where posted against 
trespassing 
Cranberry Creek 
Glade Creek 
Little River from 400 yards upstream 
of the S.R. 1128 bridge, marked by a 
sign on each bank, to McCann Dam 
Meadow Fork 
Pine Swamp Creek 
Piney Fork 
Prathers Creek 

(B) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
The waters located on Stone Mountain 
State Park 

(2) Ashe County 
(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Big Horse Creek from the Virginia 
state line to Mud Creek at S.R. 1363, 
excluding tributaries 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Big Horse Creek from the S.R. 1324 
bridge to the North Fork New River 
Helton Creek from 900 yards 
upstream of the S.R. 1372 bridge, 
marked by a sign on both banks to a 
point adjacent to intersection of N.C. 
16 and S.R. 1536 
South Fork New River from the 
upstream end of Todd Island to the 
S.R. 1351 bridge 
Trout Lake 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Beaver Creek from N.C. 221 to the 
confluence of Beaver Creek and South 
Beaver Creek 
Big Horse Creek from Mud Creek at 
S.R. 1363 to the S.R. 1324 bridge 
Big Laurel Creek from the S.R. 1315 
bridge to the confluence with the 
North Fork New River 
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Buffalo Creek from the S.R. 1133 
bridge to the N.C. 194-88 bridge 
Cranberry Creek from the Alleghany 
Co. line to the South Fork New River 
Nathans Creek 
North Fork New River from the 
Watauga Co. line to Sharp Dam 
Old Fields Creek from N.C. 221 to the 
South Fork New River 
Peak Creek from the upper boundary 
of the NCDA-NCSU Upper Mountain 
Research Station to Trout Lake 
Roan Creek 
Three Top Creek 

(3) Avery County 
(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Elk River, the portion on Lees-McRae 
College property, excluding the 
millpond 
Lost Cove Creek, the game land 
portion, excluding Gragg Prong and 
Rockhouse Creek 
Wilson Creek, the game land portion 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Boyde Coffey Lake 
Elk River from the S.R. 1305 crossing 
immediately upstream of Big Falls to 
the Tennessee state line 
Linville River from S.R. 1504 to the 
Blue Ridge Parkway boundary line, 
except where posted against 
trespassing 
Milltimber Creek 
North Toe River from Watauga St. to 
Roby Shoemaker Wetlands and 
Family Recreational Park, except 
where posted against trespassing 
North Toe River from S.R. 1164 to 
Mitchell Co. line, except where posted 
against trespassing 
Squirrel Creek 
Wildcat Lake 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
Birchfield Creek 
Cow Camp Creek 
Cranberry Creek from the headwaters 
to the U.S. 19E, N.C. 194, bridge 
Gragg Prong 
Horse Creek 
Kentucky Creek 
North Harper Creek 
Plumtree Creek 
Roaring Creek 
Rockhouse Creek 
Shawneehaw Creek, the portion 
adjacent to Banner Elk Greenway 

South Harper Creek 
Webb Prong 

(4) Buncombe County 
(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Carter Creek, the game land portion 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Bent Creek from the headwaters Rich 
Branch to the N.C. Arboretum 
boundary line 
Cane Creek from the headwaters S.R. 
2785 bridge to the S.R. 3138 bridge 
Corner Rock Creek from Little Andy 
Creek to the confluence with Walker 
Branch 
Dillingham Creek from Corner Rock 
Creek to Ivy Creek 
Ivy Creek from Dillingham Creek to 
the U.S. 19-23 bridge 
Lake Powhatan 
Reems Creek from Sugar Camp Fork 
to the U.S. 19-23 bridge, except where 
posted against trespassing 
Rich Branch from downstream of the 
confluence with Rocky Branch 
Stony Creek from the confluence of 
Carter Creek and Mineral Creek 
downstream to Dillingham Creek 
Swannanoa from the S.R. 2702 bridge 
near Ridgecrest River Walk Park in 
Black Mountain to the Wood Avenue 
bridge, at the intersection of N.C. 81 
and U.S. 74A in Asheville, except 
where posted against trespassing 

(5) Burke County 
(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Henry Fork, the portion on South 
Mountains State Park 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Jacob Fork from Shinny Creek to the 
lower South Mountains State Park 
boundary 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Carroll Creek, the game land portion 
above S.R. 1405 
Henry Fork from the lower South 
Mountain State Park line to S.R. 1919 
at Ivy Creek 
Linville River, the portion within 
Linville Gorge Wilderness area and 
the portion below Lake James 
powerhouse from the upstream bridge 
on S.R. 1223 to Muddy Creek 
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(D) Special Regulation Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Catawba River from Muddy Creek to 
the City of Morganton water intake 
dam 

(E) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
The waters located on South 
Mountains State Park, except those 
waters identified in Parts (A) and (B) 
of this Subparagraph 

(6) Caldwell County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Wilson Creek, the game land portion 
below Lost Cove Creek to Philips 
Branch 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Boone Fork Pond 
Buffalo Creek from the mouth of Joes 
Creek to McCloud Branch 
Joes Creek from the first falls 
upstream of S.R. 1574 to the 
confluence with Buffalo Creek 
Wilson Creek from Phillips Branch to 
Brown Mountain Beach Dam, except 
where posted against trespassing 
Yadkin River from the Happy Valley 
Ruritan Community Park to S.R. 1515 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
Buffalo Creek from the Watauga Co. 
line to Long Ridge Branch including 
game land tributaries 
Joes Creek from the Watauga Co. line 
to the first falls upstream of the end of 
S.R. 1574 
Rockhouse Creek 

(7) Cherokee County 
(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 
Davis Creek from the confluence of 
Bald Creek and Dockery Creek to 
Hanging Dog Creek 
Hyatt Creek from Big Dam Branch to 
the Valley River 
Junaluska Creek from Ashturn Creek 
to the Valley River 
Shuler Creek from the Joe Brown 
Hwy, S.R. 1325 bridge, to the 
Tennessee state line 
Valley River from S.R. 1359 to the 
U.S. 19 Business bridge in Murphy 

(B) Special Regulation Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Apalachia Reservoir 

(8) Clay County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 

Fires Creek from Rockhouse Creek to 
the foot bridge in the USFS Fires 
Creek Picnic Area 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Buck Creek, the game land portion 
downstream of the U.S. 64 bridge 
Fires Creek from the foot bridge in the 
USFS Fires Creek Picnic Area to S.R. 
1300 
Tusquitee Creek from Compass Creek 
to the lower S.R. 1300 bridge 

(9) Graham County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Snowbird Creek from the USFS 
footbridge at the old railroad junction 
to USFS Rd. 2579 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Calderwood Reservoir from Cheoah 
Dam to the Tennessee state line 
Cheoah Reservoir 
Panther Creek from the confluence of 
Stand Creek and Rock Creek to Lake 
Fontana 
Santeetlah Creek from Johns Branch 
to Lake Santeetlah 
Snowbird Creek from USFS Rd. 2579 
to the S.R. 1127 bridge 
Stecoah Creek from the upper game 
land boundary to Lake Fontana 
Tulula Creek from S.R. 1201 to the 
lower bridge on S.R. 1275 
West Buffalo Creek from the 
confluence of Squally Creek and Little 
Buffalo Creek downstream to Lake 
Santeetlah 
Yellow Creek from Lake Santeetlah 
hydropower pipeline to the Cheoah 
River 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
Little Buffalo Creek 
South Fork Squally Creek 
Squally Creek 

(10) Haywood County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
West Fork Pigeon River from Queen 
Creek to the first game land boundary 
upstream of Lake Logan 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Cold Springs Creek from Fall Branch 
to the Pigeon River 
Jonathan Creek from upstream of the 
S.R. 1302 bridge to the Pigeon River, 
except where posted against 
trespassing 
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Pigeon River from Stamey Cove 
Branch to the upstream U.S. 19-23 
bridge 
Richland Creek from the Russ 
Avenue, U.S. 276, bridge to the U.S. 
19 bridge 
West Fork Pigeon River from Tom 
Creek to Queen Creek 

(11) Henderson County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
North Fork Mills River, the game land 
portion below the Hendersonville 
watershed dam 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Broad River from the end of S.R. 1611 
to the Rutherford Co. line 
Cane Creek from the railroad bridge 
upstream of the S.R. 1551 bridge to 
the U.S. 25 bridge 
Clear Creek from Laurel Fork to S.R. 
1582 
Green River from the Lake Summit 
powerhouse to the game land 
boundary 
Hungry River from S.R. 1885 Little 
Hungry River to the Green River 

(12) Jackson County 
(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Flat Creek 
Tuckasegee River, the game land 
portion upstream of Tanasee Creek 
Lake, including the Duke Energy 
powerline corridor 
Tuckasegee River the portion 
upstream from the Clark property 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Tuckasegee River from downstream 
of the N.C. 107 bridge to the falls 
located 275 yards upstream of the U.S. 
23-441 bridge, marked by a sign on 
both banks 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Balsam Lake 
Bear Creek Lake 
Cedar Cliff Lake 
Cullowhee Creek from Tilley Creek to 
the Tuckasegee River 
Dark Ridge Creek from Jones Creek to 
Scott Creek 
Greens Creek from Greens Creek 
Baptist Church on S.R. 1370 to 
Savannah Creek 

Savannah Creek from Shell Branch to 
Cagle Branch 
Scott Creek from Dark Ridge Creek to 
the Tuckasegee River, except where 
posted against trespassing 
Tanasee Creek Lake 
Tuckasegee River from John Brown 
Branch to the downstream N.C. 107 
bridge 
Tuckasegee River from the falls 
located 275 yards upstream of the U.S. 
23-441 bridge, marked by a sign on 
both banks, to the S.R. 1534 bridge at 
Wilmont 
Wolf Creek Lake 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
Gage Creek 
North Fork Scott Creek 
Tanasee Creek 
Whitewater River from Silver Run 
Creek to the South Carolina state line 
Wolf Creek except Balsam Lake and 
Wolf Creek Lake 

(13) Macon County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Nantahala River from Whiteoak Creek 
to the Nantahala hydropower 
discharge canal 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Burningtown Creek from Left Prong 
to the Little Tennessee River 
Cartoogechaye Creek from 
downstream of the U.S. 64 bridge to 
the Little Tennessee River 
Cliffside Lake 
Cullasaja River from Sequoyah Dam 
to the U.S. 64 bridge near the junction 
of S.R. 1672 
Nantahala River from Dicks Creek to 
Whiteoak Creek 
Nantahala River from the Nantahala 
hydropower discharge canal to the 
Swain Co. line 
Queens Creek Lake 

(14) Madison County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Big Laurel Creek from the N.C. 208 
bridge to the U.S. 25-70 bridge 
Shelton Laurel Creek from the N.C. 
208 bridge at Belva to the confluence 
with Big Laurel Creek 
Spring Creek from the N.C. 209 bridge 
at the Hot Springs city limits to the 
iron bridge at end of Andrews Ave. 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
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Big Laurel Creek from Puncheon Fork 
to the S.R. 1318, Big Laurel Rd., 
bridge downstream of Bearpen Branch 
Big Pine Creek from the S.R. 1151 
bridge to the French Broad River 
Little Ivy Creek from the confluence 
of Middle Fork and Paint Fork at 
Beech Glen to the confluence with Ivy 
Creek at Forks of Ivy 
Max Patch Pond 
Meadow Fork Creek from Meadow 
Fork Campground to Spring Creek 
Puncheon Fork from Wolf Laurel 
Branch to Big Laurel Creek 
Roaring Fork from Fall Branch to 
Meadow Fork 
Shelton Laurel Creek from the 
confluence of Big Creek and Mill 
Creek to the N.C. 208 bridge at Belva 
Shut-in Creek from the confluence of 
East Fork Shut-in Creek and West 
Fork Shut-in Creek to the French 
Broad River 
Spillcorn Creek from Baker Creek to 
the S.R. 1330 bridge 
Spring Creek from the junction of 
N.C. 209 and N.C. 63 to the 
confluence with Meadow Fork 
West Fork Shut-in Creek from the 
lower game land boundary to the 
confluence with East Fork Shut-in 
Creek 

(15) McDowell County 
(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Newberry Creek, the game land 
portion 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Catawba River, the portion adjacent to 
the Marion Greenway 
Curtis Creek, the game land portion 
downstream of the USFS boundary at 
Deep Branch 
Mill Creek from the U.S. 70 bridge to 
the I-40 bridge 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Armstrong Creek from the Cato Holler 
line downstream to the upper Greenlee 
line 
Catawba River from the Catawba Falls 
Campground to the Old Fort 
Recreation Park 
Little Buck Creek, the game land 
portion 

North Fork Catawba River from the 
headwaters to North Cove School at 
the S.R. 1569 bridge 

(16) Mitchell County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Cane Creek from the N.C. 226 bridge 
to the S.R. 1189 bridge 
North Toe River from the U.S. 19E 
bridge to the N.C. 226 bridge 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Big Rock Creek from the headwaters 
to the N.C. 226 bridge at the S.R. 1307 
intersection 
the S.R. 1325 bridge 
Cane Creek from S.R. 1219 to the 
N.C. 226 bridge 
East Fork Grassy Creek 
Grassy Creek from East Fork Grassy 
Creek to the mouth 
Little Rock Creek from the Green 
Creek bridge to Big Rock Creek, 
except where posted against 
trespassing 
North Toe River from the Avery Co. 
line to the S.R. 1121 bridge 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
Green Creek from the headwaters to 
the Green Creek bridge, except where 
posted against trespassing 
Little Rock Creek the portion 
upstream of the Green Creek bridge, 
including the tributaries, except where 
posted against trespassing 
Wiles Creek from the game land 
boundary to the mouth 

(17) Polk County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Green River from the Fishtop Falls 
Access Area to the confluence with 
Cove Creek 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Green River from the mouth of Cove 
Creek to the natural gas pipeline 
crossing 
North Pacolet River from Joels Creek 
to the N.C. 108 bridge 

(18) Rutherford County 
(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 
Broad River from the Henderson Co. 
line to the U.S. 64/74 bridge, except 
where posted against trespassing 

(19) Stokes County 
(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 
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Dan River from the Virginia state line 
downstream to a point 200 yards 
below the end of S.R. 1421 

(20) Surry County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Ararat River, the portion adjacent to 
the Ararat River Greenway 
downstream of the N.C. 103 bridge 
Mitchell River from 0.6 miles 
upstream of the end of S.R. 1333 to the 
lowermost bridge on S.R. 1330 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Ararat River from the S.R. 1727 bridge 
to River, the portion adjacent to the 
Ararat River Greenway upstream of 
the N.C. 103 bridge 
Big Elkin Creek from the dam 440 
yards upstream of the N.C. 268 bridge 
to a point 265 
yards downstream of N.C. 268, 
marked by a sign on both banks 
Fisher River from the Virginia state 
line to the I-77 bridge 
Little Fisher River from the Virginia 
state line to the N.C. 89 bridge 
Lovills Creek from the U.S. 52 
Business bridge to the Ararat River 
Pauls Creek from the Virginia state 
line to 0.3 miles below the S.R. 1625 
bridge 

(21) Swain County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Waters Trout Waters 

are as follows: 
Tuckasegee River from the U.S. 19 
bridge to the Slope Street bridge 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Alarka Creek from the game land 
boundary to Fontana Reservoir 
Calderwood Reservoir from Cheoah 
Dam to the Tennessee state line 
Cheoah Reservoir 
Connelly Creek from Camp Branch to 
the Tuckasegee River 
Deep Creek from the Great Smoky 
Mountains National Park Boundary 
line to the Tuckasegee River 
Nantahala River from the Macon Co. 
line to the existing Fontana Lake water 
level 

(22) Transylvania County 
(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Davidson River from the headwaters 
to Avery Creek, excluding Avery 
Creek, Looking Glass Creek, Grogan 

Creek, Cedar Rock Creek and John 
Rock Branch 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
East Fork French Broad River from 
East Fork Baptist Church to the 350 
yards downstream S.R. 1107 of 
Whitmire Falls, marked by a sign on 
both banks bridge 
Little River from the confluence of 
Lake Dense to 100 yards downstream 
of Hooker Falls 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Davidson River from Avery Creek to 
the lower USFS boundary 
French Broad River from the 
confluence of the North Fork French 
Broad River and West Fork 
French Broad River to the Island Ford 
Rd., S.R. 1110, Access Area 
Middle Fork French Broad River from 
upstream of the U.S. 178 bridge to the 
French Broad River 
West Fork French Broad River from 
S.R. 1312 to confluence with North 
Fork French Broad River 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
The waters located on Gorges State 
Park 
Whitewater River from Silver Run 
Creek to the South Carolina state line 

(23) Watauga County 
(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Laurel Creek from the confluence of 
North Fork Laurel Creek and South 
Fork Laurel Creek to Elk Creek, 
excluding tributaries 
Pond Creek from the headwaters to the 
Locust Ridge Rd. bridge, excluding 
the pond adjacent to Coffee Lake 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Lake Coffey 
Watauga River from the S.R. 1114 
bridge to the Valle Crucis Community 
Park lower boundary 
Watauga River from the S.R. 1103 
bridge to the confluence with Laurel 
Creek 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Beaverdam Creek from the confluence 
of Beaverdam Creek and Little 
Beaverdam Creek to an unnamed 
tributary adjacent to the intersection of 
S.R. 1201 and S.R. 1203 
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Beech Creek 
Buckeye Creek from Buckeye Creek 
Reservoir dam to Grassy Gap Creek 
Buckeye Creek Reservoir 
Cove Creek from the S.R. 1233 bridge 
at Zionville to the S.R. 1214 bridge at 
Sherwood 
Dutch Creek from the second S.R. 
1136 bridge to the mouth 
Elk Creek from the S.R. 1510 bridge 
at Triplett to the Wilkes Co. line, 
except where posted 
against trespassing 
Laurel Creek from the S.R. 1123 
bridge at the S.R. 1157 intersection to 
the Watauga River 
Meat Camp Creek from the S.R. 1340 
bridge at the S.R. 1384 intersection to 
N.C. 194 
Middle Fork New River from adjacent 
to the intersection of S.R. 1539 and 
U.S. 321 to the South Fork New River 
Norris Fork Creek 
South Fork New River from the canoe 
launch 70 yards upstream of U.S. 421 
bridge to the lower boundary of 
Brookshire Park 
Stony Fork from the S.R. 1500 bridge 
at the S.R. 1505 intersection to the 
Wilkes Co. line 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
Dutch Creek from the headwaters to 
the second S.R. 1136 bridge 
Howard Creek 
Maine Branch from the headwaters to 
the North Fork New River 
North Fork New River from the 
confluence with Maine Branch and 
Mine Branch to the Ashe Co. line 
Winkler Creek from the lower bridge 
on S.R. 1549 to the confluence with 
the South Fork New River 

(24) Wilkes County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
East Prong Roaring River from 
Bullhead Creek to the Stone Mountain 
State Park lower boundary 
Elk Creek from the Watauga Co. line 
to the lower boundary of the Blue 
Ridge Mountain Club 
Elk Creek, the portion on 
Leatherwood Mountains development 
Reddies River from the Town of North 
Wilkesboro water intake dam to the 
confluence with the Yadkin River 
Stone Mountain Creek from the falls at 
the Alleghany Co. line to the 

confluence with the East Prong 
Roaring River and Bullhead Creek 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Basin Creek from the S.R. 1730 bridge 
to the confluence with Lovelace Creek 
Bell Branch Pond 
Boundary Line Pond 
Cub Creek from 0.5 miles upstream of 
the S.R. 2460 bridge to the S.R. 1001 
bridge 
Darnell Creek from the downstream 
ford on S.R. 1569 to the confluence 
with the North 
Fork Reddies River 
East Prong Roaring River from the 
Stone Mountain State Park lower 
boundary to the Low Meadows Lane 
bridge 
Fall Creek from the S.R. 1300 bridge 
to the confluence with South Prong 
Lewis Fork, except where posted 
against trespassing 
Middle Fork Reddies River from the 
headwaters to the bridge on S.R. 1580 
Middle Prong Roaring River from the 
headwaters to the second bridge on 
S.R. 1736 
North Fork Reddies River from the 
headwaters to the Union School bridge 
on S.R. 1559 
Pike Creek 
Pike Creek Pond 
South Fork Reddies River from the 
S.R. 1355 bridge to the confluence 
with the Middle Fork Reddies River 
South Prong Lewis Fork from Fall 
Creek to the U.S. 421 bridge adjacent 
to the S.R. 1155 intersection 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
The waters located on Stone Mountain 
State Park, except East Prong Roaring 
River from Bullhead Creek to the 
Stone Mountain State Park lower 
boundary where Delayed Harvest 
Trout Waters regulations apply, and 
Stone Mountain Creek from the falls at 
the Alleghany Co. line to the 
confluence with the East Prong 
Roaring River and Bullhead Creek in 
Stone Mountain State Park where 
Delayed Harvest Trout Waters 
regulations apply 

(25) Yancey County 
(A) Catch and Release Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
South Toe River from the headwaters 
to Upper Creek 
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Upper Creek 
(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Cane River from Blackberry Ridge 
Rd. to the downstream boundary of 
Cane River County Park 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Bald Mountain Creek, except where 
posted against trespassing 
Cane River from Bee Branch, S.R. 
1110, to Bowlens Creek 
Price Creek from the junction of S.R. 
1120 and S.R. 1121 to Indian Creek 
South Toe River from Clear Creek to 
the lower boundary line of Yancey Co. 
Recreation Park, except where posted 
against trespassing 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
Cattail Creek from the bridge at 
Mountain Farm Community Rd. to the 
N.C. 197 bridge 
Lickskillet Creek 
Middle Creek from the game land 
boundary to the mouth 

 
Authority G.S. 113-272; 113-292. 
 
15A NCAC 10C .0208 SPAWNING AREAS 
(a)  No person shall fish from March 1 to May 31 in the following 
restored floodplain sloughs connected to the French Broad River 
and Mud Creek in Henderson County: 

(1) Mud Creek slough Slough 1 at 35.403687 N, 
82.531970 W connected to the French Broad 
River, located 0.25 miles upstream of Butler 
Bridge Rd. (S.R. 1345). 

(2) Mud Creek slough Slough 2 at 35.398380 N, 
82.528750 W connected to the French Broad 
River, located 1.0 miles upstream of Butler 
Bridge Rd. 

(3) Mud Creek slough Slough 3 at 35.396449 N, 
82.525462 W connected to Mud Creek, located 
0.1 miles upstream from confluence with the 
French Broad River. 

(4) Pleasant Grove slough at 35.298384 N, 
82.584716 W connected to the French Broad 
River, located 0.25 miles upstream from S.R. 
1205, Etowah School Road. 

(5) King's Bridge slough at 35.377100 N, 
82.530389 W connected to the French Broad 
River, located 0.6 miles downstream from N.C. 
Hwy 191, Haywood Road. 

(b)  Each slough shall be marked with signs on both banks. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 
 

15A NCAC 10C .0211 POSSESSION OF CERTAIN 
FISHES 
(a)  It shall be unlawful to transport, purchase, possess, sell, or 
stock in the public or private waters of North Carolina any live 
individuals of: 

(1) African longfin eel (Anguilla mossambica); 
(2) amur sleeper (Perccottus glenii); 
(3) applesnail (any species of the genus Pomacea); 
(4) Asian pond mussel (any species of the genus 

Sinanodonta) 
(4)(5) Asian swamp eel, swamp or rice eel 

(Monopterus albus); 
(5)(6) Australian red claw crayfish or red claw 

(Cherax quadricarinatus, or other species in the 
genus Cherax); 

(6)(7) bigclaw crayfish (Faxonius placidus); 
(7)(8) bighead carp (Hypophthalmichthys nobilis); 
(8)(9) black carp (Mylopharyngodon piceus); 
(9)(10) brown hoplo (Hoplosternum littorale); 
(10)(11) Chinese mysterysnail (Cipangopaludina 

chinensis); 
(11)(12) Creole painted crayfish (Faxonius palmeri 

creolanus); 
(12)(13) Crucian Carp (Carassius carassius); 
(13)(14) European eel (Anguilla anguilla); 
(14)(15) European minnow (Phoxinus phoxinus); 
(15)(16) European perch (Perca fluviatilis); 
(17) golden mussel (any species of the genus 

Limnoperna); 
(16)(18) Japanese mysterysnail (Cipangopaludina 

japonica); 
(17)(19) marbled Crayfish or Marmorkrebs 

(Procambarus virginalis or Procambarus fallax 
f. virginalis); 

(18)(20) olive mysterysnail (Viviparus subpurpureus); 
(19)(21) Oriental weatherfish (Misgurnus 

anguillicaudatus); 
(20)(22) piranha (any species of the genera Pristobrycon, 

Pygocentrus, Pygopristis, or Serrasalmus); 
(21)(23) Prussian Carp (Carassius gibelio); 
(22)(24) quagga mussel (Dreissena rostriformis 

bugensis) or any mussel in the family 
Dreissenidae; 

(23)(25) red shiner (Cyprinella lutrensis); 
(24)(26) red-rim melania (Melanoides tuberculatus or 

Melanoides tuberculata); 
(25)(27) redtail catfish (Phractocephalus 

hemioliopterus); 
(26)(28) round goby (Neogobius melanostomus); 
(27)(29) rudd (Scardinius erythropthalomus or 

Scardinius erythrophthalmus); 
(28)(30) ruffe (Gymnocephalus cernuus or 

Gymnocephalus cernua); 
(29)(31) rusty crayfish (Faxonius rusticus); 
(30)(32) shortfin eel (Anguilla australis); 
(31)(33) silver carp (Hypophthalmichthys molitrix); 
(32)(34) snakehead fish (from the Family Channidae, 

formerly Ophiocephalidae); 
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(33)(35) tubenose goby (Proterorhinus marmoratus, 
Proterorhinus semilunaris, and Proterorhinus 
semipellucidus); 

(34)(36) virile crayfish (Faxonius virilis); 
(35)(37) walking catfish (any member of the genus 

Batrachus); 
(36)(38) white amur or grass carp (Ctenopharyngodon 

idella), except for triploid individuals as 
permitted in Paragraph (b) of this Rule; 

(37)(39) yellow bass (Morone mississippiensis); or 
(38)(40) zebra mussel (Dreissena polymorpha). 

(b)  A person may buy, possess, or stock grass carp that have been 
certified to be triploid or sterile, only for the purpose of 
controlling aquatic vegetation under a permit issued by the 
Executive Director or his or her designee based on an evaluation 
of the potential for escapement and threat to sensitive aquatic 
habitats. 
(c)  It shall be unlawful to transport, possess, or release live river 
herring, also known as alewife or blueback herring, in the waters 
of the Little Tennessee River in and upstream of Lake Santeetlah 
and Cedar Cliff Lake, including all the tributaries and 
impoundments thereof, and on adjacent shorelines, docks, access 
ramps, and bridge crossings. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-274(c)(1c); 113-292. 
 

SECTION .0300 – GAME FISH IN INLAND FISHING 
WATERS 

 
15A NCAC 10C .0305 LARGEMOUTH BASS 
(a)  The daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass is five fish, except 
in waters identified in Paragraphs (d), (e), (f), (l), (m), and (n)(n), 
and (o) of this Rule. 
(b)  There is no minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass, but only 
two of them may be less than 14 inches except in waters identified 
in Paragraphs (d) through (n)(o) of this Rule. 
(c)  There is no closed season, except in waters identified in 
Paragraph (n) of this Rule. 
(d)  In Lake Cammack in Alamance County, and Lake Holt in 
Granville County, the daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass is 10 
fish and no more than two fish greater than 14 inches may be 
possessed. 
(e)  In Lake Santeetlah in Graham County, there is no daily creel 
limit for Largemouth Bass and Smallmouth Bass less than 14 
inches. The daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass and 
Smallmouth Bass greater than 14 inches is five fish in aggregate. 
(f)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit for 
Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, Alabama Bass, and Spotted 
Bass is 10 fish in aggregate. The minimum size limit for 
Largemouth Bass is 12 inches. 
(g)  The minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 14 inches in 
the following waters: 

(1) Lake Raleigh in Wake County; 
(2) Lake Sutton in New Hanover County; 
(3) Pungo Lake in Washington and Hyde counties; 
(4) New Lake in Hyde County; and 
(5) Currituck, Roanoke, Croatan, Albemarle 

sounds, and their tributaries, including Roanoke 
River downstream of Roanoke Rapids Dam, 

Chowan River, Meherrin River, Yeopim River, 
Pasquotank River, Perquimans River, Little 
River, Big Flatty Creek, North River, 
Northwest River, Scuppernong River, Alligator 
River, including the Alligator/Pungo Canal east 
of the N.C. Hwy 264/45 bridge, and the other 
associated tributaries and canals in these river 
systems. 

(h)  In Cane Creek Lake in Union County, and Buckhorn 
Reservoir in Wilson and Nash counties, the minimum size limit 
for Largemouth Bass is 16 inches. 
(i)  In Lake Phelps in Tyrrell and Washington counties, the 
minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 14 inches, and no fish 
between 16 and 20 inches may be possessed. 
(j)  In Lake Hampton in Yadkin County, there is no minimum size 
limit for Largemouth Bass. No more than two Largemouth Bass 
less than 14 inches and no Largemouth Bass between 16 and 20 
inches may be possessed. 
(k)  In Lake Thom-A-Lex in Davidson County, the minimum size 
limit for Largemouth Bass is 18 inches. 
(l)  In the Alleghany County portion of New River downstream of 
Fields Dam (Grayson County, Virginia), the daily creel limit for 
Largemouth Bass, Bass and Smallmouth Bass, and Spotted Bass 
is five fish in aggregate. There is no minimum size limit for 
Largemouth Bass, but no fish between 14 and 22 inches in length 
may be possessed and one Largemouth Bass, Bass or Smallmouth 
Bass, or Spotted Bass greater than 22 inches may be possessed. 
(m)  In Lake Mattamuskeet and associated canals in Hyde County, 
the minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 16 inches and one 
Largemouth Bass greater than 20 inches may be possessed. 
(n)  In Jean Guite Creek and associated canals within the Town of 
Southern Shores in Dare County and in the ponds associated with 
Martin Marietta Park in Craven County, no Largemouth Bass may 
be possessed. 
(o)  In Lake Cammack in Alamance County, there is no daily creel 
limit for Largemouth Bass, and only five Largemouth Bass greater 
than 14 inches may be possessed. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 
 
15A NCAC 10C .0316 MOUNTAIN TROUT 
(a)  Hatchery-Supported Trout Waters. 

(1) The daily creel limit for trout in Hatchery-
Supported Trout Waters is seven fish. 

(2) There is no minimum size limit. limit for these 
fish. 

(3) The open season is from 7 a.m. on the first 
Saturday in April until March 1, except in the 
reservoirs identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0205 
where trout may be taken year-round. March 1, 
except for waters designated in Paragraph (g) of 
this Rule. 

(b)  Wild Trout Waters. 
(1) The daily creel limit for trout in Wild Trout 

Waters is four fish. 
(2) The minimum size limit for these fish is seven 

inches. 
(3) There is no closed season. 



 PROPOSED RULES 
 

 
40:02 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 15, 2025 

240 

(c)  Catch and Release/Artificial Flies and Lures Only Trout 
Waters. No trout shall be harvested from Catch and 
Release/Artificial Flies and Lures Only Trout Waters. Trout shall 
not be or possessed while fishing these waters. 
(d)  Delayed Harvest Trout Waters. The daily creel limit for trout 
in Delayed Harvest Trout Waters is seven fish. There is no 
minimum size limit for these fish. The Youth-only Delayed 
Harvest Trout Water Season is from 6:00 a.m. on the first 
Saturday in June until 12 p.m. that same day. During this season 
individuals under 16 years of age may fish. From 12:00 p.m. on 
the first Saturday in June until September 30, the Delayed Harvest 
Trout Waters Season is open for anglers. From October 1 to one-
half hour after sunset on the Friday before the first Saturday in 
June, trout shall not be harvested or possessed while fishing these 
waters. Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are closed to fishing from 
one-half hour after sunset on the Friday before the first Saturday 
in June to 6 a.m. on the first Saturday in June. 

(1) From October 1 to one-half hour after sunset on 
the Friday before the first Saturday in June, 
trout shall not be harvested or possessed while 
fishing these waters. 

(2) Only individuals under 16 years of age may fish 
from 6:00 a.m. on the first Saturday in June 
until 12 p.m. that same day. 
(A) The daily creel limit for trout is seven 

fish. 
(B) There is no minimum size limit. 

(3) The open season is from 12:00 p.m. on the first 
Saturday in June until September 30. 
(A) The daily creel limit for trout is seven 

fish. 
(B) There is no minimum size limit. 

(e)  Special Regulation Trout Waters. The daily creel limits, size 
limits, and seasons for trout in Special Regulation Trout Waters 
are as follows: 

(1) Apalachia Reservoir (Cherokee County) 
(A) the The daily creel limit for trout is 

three trout. fish. 
(B) There is no minimum size limit, but 

only one may be greater than 14 
inches. 

(C) There is no closed season. 
(2) Catawba River (Burke County) from Muddy 

Creek to the City of Morganton water intake 
dam 
(A) the The daily creel limit for trout is 

two fish. 
(B) The minimum size limit is 14 inches. 
(C) There is no closed season. 

(f)  Undesignated Waters. 
(1) The daily creel limit for trout in undesignated 

trout waters is seven fish. 
(2) There is no minimum size limit. limit for these 

fish. 
(3) There is no closed season. 

(g)  There is no closed season on taking trout from Linville River 
within Linville Gorge Wilderness Area and the impounded waters 
of the following power reservoirs and municipally-owned water 
supply reservoirs open to the public for fishing. 

(1) Bear Creek Lake; 
(2) Buckeye Creek Reservoir; 
(3) Calderwood Reservoir; 
(4) Cedar Cliff Lake; 
(5) Cheoah Reservoir; 
(6) Cliffside Lake; 
(7) Tanassee Creek Lake; 
(8) Queens Creek Lake; and 
(9) Wolf Lake. 

(h)  In designated Public Mountain Trout Waters the season for 
taking all species of fish is the same as the trout fishing 
season. 
(g)(i)  Trout water classifications designations and manners of 
take are set forth in 15A NCAC 10C .0205. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 
 
15A NCAC 10C .0318 WHITE BASS 
(a)  The daily creel limit for white bass is 10 fish. 
(b)  There is a 14-inch no minimum size limit. 
(c)  There is no closed season. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 
 
15A NCAC 10C .0321 SMALLMOUTH BASS 
(a)  The daily creel limit for smallmouth bass is five fish, except 
in waters identified in Paragraphs (d) through (f) of this Rule. 
(b)  There is no minimum size limit for smallmouth bass, but only 
two of them may be less than 14 inches except in waters identified 
in Paragraphs (d) through (f) of this Rule. 
(c)  There is no closed season. 
(d)  In Lake Santeetlah in Graham County, there is no daily creel 
limit for largemouth bass and smallmouth bass less than 14 
inches. The daily creel limit for largemouth bass and smallmouth 
bass greater than 14 inches is five fish in aggregate. 
(e)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit for 
largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, Alabama bass, and spotted 
bass is 10 fish in aggregate. There is no minimum size limit for 
smallmouth bass. 
(f)  In the Alleghany County portion of New River downstream of 
Fields Dam (Grayson County, Virginia), the daily creel limit for 
largemouth bass, bass and smallmouth bass, and spotted bass is 
five fish in aggregate. There is no minimum size limit for 
smallmouth bass, but no fish between 14 and 22 inches in length 
may be possessed and only one largemouth bass, bass or 
smallmouth bass, or spotted bass greater than 22 inches may be 
possessed. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 
 
15A NCAC 10C .0322 ALABAMA BASS AND SPOTTED 
BASS 
(a)  There is no daily creel limit for Alabama bass or spotted bass, 
except for waters identified in Paragraphs (d) and (e) Paragraph 
(d) of this Rule. 
(b)  There is no minimum size limit. 
(c)  There is no closed season. 
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(d)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit for 
largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, Alabama bass, and spotted 
bass is 10 fish in aggregate. 
(e)  In the Alleghany County portion of New River downstream 
of Fields Dam (Grayson County, Virginia), the daily creel limit 
for largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, and spotted bass is five fish 
in aggregate. There is no minimum size limit for spotted bass, but 
no fish between 14 and 22 inches in length may be possessed and 
only one largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, or spotted bass 
greater than 22 inches may be possessed. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 
 

SUBCHAPTER 10D - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS 
 

SECTION .0100 - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0102 GENERAL REGULATIONS 
REGARDING USE 
(a)  For purposes of this Subchapter, the following definitions 
apply: 

(1) "Permanent Hunting Blind" means a structure 
that is used for hunter concealment, constructed 
from manmade or natural materials, and that is 
not disassembled and removed at the end of the 
day's hunt. 

(2) "Target shooting" means the discharge of a 
firearm for purposes other than hunting, 
trapping, or self-defense. 

(3) "Youth" means individuals under 16 years of 
age. 

(b)  Trespass. Entry on game lands for purposes other than 
hunting, trapping, or fishing shall be as authorized by the 
landowner. The Wildlife Resources Commission has identified 
the following areas on game lands that have additional restrictions 
on entry or usage: 

(1) Archery Zone. On portions of game lands 
posted as "Archery Zones" hunting is limited to 
archery equipment and falconry. During the 
open deer seasons for these areas, antlered and 
antlerless deer may be taken. 

(2) Safety Zone. On portions of game lands posted 
as "Safety Zones" hunting is prohibited. No 
person shall hunt or discharge a firearm or bow 
and arrow within, into, or across a posted safety 
zone on a game land. Falconry is exempt from 
this provision. 

(3) Restricted Firearms Zone. On portions of game 
lands posted as "Restricted Firearms Zones" the 
use of centerfire rifles is prohibited. 

(4) Restricted Zone. Portions of game lands posted 
as "Restricted Zones" are closed to use by the 
public, and entry on these areas is prohibited 
without written approval from the Wildlife 
Resources Commission. The Commission may 
authorize entry when the primary purpose for 
the Restricted Zone shall not be compromised 
and the persons requesting entry demonstrate a 
valid need, or official business of the 

Commission is being conducted by a contractor 
or agent of the Commission. Valid needs may 
include access to private property, scientific 
investigations, surveys, or other access to 
conduct activities in the public interest. 

(5) Temporary Restricted Zone. Portions of game 
lands posted as "Temporary Restricted Zones" 
are closed to use by the public, and entry is 
prohibited without written approval from the 
Wildlife Resources Commission. An area of a 
game land shall be declared a Temporary 
Restricted Zone when there is a danger to the 
health or welfare of the public. 

(6) Scouting-only Zone. On portions of the game 
lands posted as "Scouting-only Zones" the 
discharge of firearms or bow and arrow is 
prohibited. 

(7) Restricted Deer Hunting Zone. On portions of 
game lands posted as "Restricted Deer Hunting 
Zones" the use of dogs for taking deer is 
prohibited, except as allowed by permit as 
provided in G.S. 113-264(d). 

(8) Day Use Only Zone. On portions of game lands 
posted as "Day Use Only Zones" the use by the 
public shall be prohibited from sunset to 
sunrise. 

(9) Sensitive Habitat Zone. Portions of game lands 
posted as "Sensitive Habitat Zones" are closed 
to use by the public during the dates specified 
on the sign, and entry is prohibited without 
written approval from the Wildlife Resources 
Commission by calling 919-707-0150 and 
requesting a permit. 

The Commission shall conduct a public input meeting in the area 
where the game land is located before establishing the following 
zones: archery, restricted firearms, restricted deer hunting, day 
use only, or sensitive habitat. After the input meeting, the public 
comments shall be presented at an official Commission meeting 
for final determination. 
(c)  Littering. No person shall deposit litter, trash, garbage, or 
other refuse on any game land except in receptacles provided for 
disposal of refuse at designated camping and target-shooting 
areas. No garbage dumps or sanitary landfills shall be established 
on a game land by a person, firm, corporation, county, or 
municipality, except as permitted by the landowner. 
(d)  Use of weapons. No Except for archery equipment, as defined 
in Rule 10B .0116, no person shall discharge: discharge a weapon 
within 150 yards of: 

(1) a weapon within 150 yards of a game land 
building or designated game land camping area, 
except where posted otherwise; or 

(2) a weapon within 150 yards of a residence 
located on or adjacent to game lands. lands, 
except on Butner-Falls of Neuse and Jordan 
game lands; and 

(3) a firearm within 150 yards of a residence 
located on or adjacent to Butner-Falls of Neuse 
and Jordan Game Lands. 
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No person shall hunt with or have in possession a shotgun shell 
containing lead or toxic shot while hunting on a posted waterfowl 
impoundment on a game land, except shotgun shells containing 
lead buckshot may be used while deer hunting. Individuals 
carrying a concealed handgun shall adhere to the requirements set 
forth in G.S. 14-415.11, even if the state issuing the concealed 
handgun permit is not North Carolina. On Butner-Falls of Neuse, 
Jordan, Kerr Scott, and Vance game lands, no person shall possess 
loaded firearms, ammunition, bows and arrows, crossbows, or 
other weapons except as provided in the Code of Federal 
Regulations, Title 36, Chapter III, Part 327.13, which is 
incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and 
editions. This document may be accessed at www.ecfr.gov at no 
cost. On Buckhorn, Chatham, Harris, Hyco, Lee, Mayo, and 
Sutton Lake game lands; Pee Dee River Game Land north of U.S. 
74; and that portion of R. Wayne Bailey- Caswell Game Land that 
is located north of U.S. 158 and east of N.C. 119, no person shall 
possess a firearm during closed hunting seasons or closed hunting 
days for game birds or game animals, except under the following 
conditions: 

(1) the firearm is a .22 caliber pistol with a barrel 
not greater than seven and one-half inches in 
length and shooting only short, long, or long 
rifle ammunition carried as a side arm; 

(2) the firearm is cased or not immediately 
available for use; 

(3) the firearm is used by persons participating in 
field trials on field trial areas; or 

(4) the firearm is possessed in designated camping 
areas for defense of persons and property. 

(e)  Game Lands License: Hunting and Trapping 
(1) Except as provided in Subparagraph (4) of this 

Paragraph, a person entering a game land to 
hunt, trap, run dogs, or train dogs using wildlife 
shall have in his or her possession a valid North 
Carolina hunting or trapping license. 

(2) For Commission-sanctioned field trials, active 
participants, as defined in 15A NCAC 10B 
.0114, in a field trial using wildlife shall possess 
a North Carolina hunting license, except non-
residents may substitute hunting licenses from 
their state(s) of residence. 

(3) For other field trials using wildlife occurring on 
game lands, judges and active participants shall 
possess a North Carolina hunting license. 

(4) Exceptions: 
(A) a person under 16 years of age may 

hunt on game lands on the license of 
his parent or legal guardian; 

(B) on the game lands described in Rule 
.0103 (j)(1) of this Section, the game 
lands license is required for hunting 
doves; other activities are subject to 
the control of the landowners. 

(f)  Field Trials and Training Dogs. An individual or organization 
sponsoring a field trial on the Sandhills Field Trial area shall file 
an application with the Commission to use the area with the 
facility use fee computed at the rate of three hundred dollars 
($300.00) for each scheduled day of the trial. The total facility use 

fee shall cover the period from 12:00 noon of the day preceding 
the first scheduled day of the trial to 10:00 a.m. of the day 
following the last scheduled day of the trial. The facility use fee 
shall be paid for all intermediate days on which trials are not run 
but the building or facilities are used or occupied. A fee of one 
hundred dollars ($100.00) per day shall be charged to sporting, 
educational, or scouting groups for scheduled events utilizing the 
club house only. No person or group of persons or other entity 
shall enter or use the physical facilities located on the Sandhills 
Field Trial area or the Laurinburg Fox Trial facility without 
written approval from an authorized agent of the Wildlife 
Resources Commission, and no entry or use of a facility shall 
exceed the scope of or continue beyond the approved use. The 
Sandhills Field Trial facilities shall be used only for field trials 
scheduled with the approval of the Wildlife Resources 
Commission. No more than 20 days of field trials may be 
scheduled for occurrence on the Sandhills facilities during a 
calendar month, and no more than five days may be scheduled 
during a calendar week. A field trial requiring more than five days 
may be scheduled during one week with reduction of the 
maximum number of days allowable during some other week so 
that the monthly maximum of 20 days is not exceeded. Before 
October 1 of each year, the North Carolina Field Trial Association 
or other organization desiring use of the Sandhills facilities 
between the Wednesday on or nearest October 18 and the second 
Friday before Thanksgiving and between the first Monday 
following Thanksgiving and March 31 shall submit its proposed 
schedule of use to the Wildlife Resources Commission for 
consideration and approval. The use of the Sandhills Field Trial 
facilities by individuals for training dogs is prohibited; elsewhere 
on the Sandhills Game Lands dogs may be trained only on 
Mondays, Wednesdays, and Saturdays from October 1 through 
April 1. Training dogs is prohibited at the Sandhills Field Trial 
facilities. Unless otherwise specified in Rules of this Subchapter 
and except when participating in field trials sanctioned by the 
Wildlife Resources Commission, Dogs may dogs shall not be 
trained or permitted to run unleashed from April 1 through August 
15 on game lands located west of I-95, or I-95, except when 
participating in field trials sanctioned by the Wildlife Resources 
Commission. Dogs may not be trained or permitted to run 
unleashed from March 15 through June 15 on game lands located 
east of I-95, except when participating in field trials sanctioned by 
the Wildlife Resources Commission. I-95. Additionally, on game 
lands located west of I-95 where special hunts are scheduled for 
sportsmen participating in the Disabled Sportsman Program, dogs 
may not be trained or allowed to run unleashed during legal big 
game hunting hours on the dates of the special hunts. A field trial 
shall be authorized when the field trial does not conflict with other 
planned activities on the game land or field trial facilities, and the 
applying organization demonstrates their experience and 
expertise in conducting genuine field trial activities. Entry to 
physical facilities, other than by field trial organizations under 
permit, shall be granted when they do not conflict with other 
planned activities previously approved by the Commission and 
they do not conflict with the mission of the agency. 
(g)  Trapping. Subject to the restrictions contained in 15A NCAC 
10B .0300, trapping of furbearing animals, armadillos, coyotes, 
and groundhogs is permitted on game lands during the open 
trapping seasons for those areas, established by rule. Foxes may 
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be trapped on game lands from October 1 through the end of 
February in a county with an open fox trapping season that falls 
between October 1 and the end of February. Foxes may not be 
taken by trapping on game lands in counties with a closed fox 
trapping season or during a fox trapping season that occurs outside 
the dates of October 1 through the end of February. Additionally, 
fox trapping is allowed on game lands in Clay, Graham, 
Henderson, Macon, and Tyrrell counties with a daily bag limit of 
two and a season bag limit of 10 from the first to the fourth 
Saturday in January. Trapping is prohibited: 

(1) on the J Robert Gordon Field Trial Area of 
Sandhills Game Land; 

(2) in posted "safety zones" located on a game land; 
(3) by the use of bait on the National Forest Lands 

bounded by the Blue Ridge Parkway on the 
south, US 276 on the north and east, and NC 
215 on the west; 

(4) on the DuPont State Forest Game Lands; and 
(5) from April 1 through September 31. 

At a trap, trappers may use a single bait site of grain, fruit, or other 
foods when trapping if the food is not a processed food product as 
defined in G.S. 113-294(r), is less than 3 cubic inches and is 
covered to prevent it from being seen from above. Feathers, 
including those with attached skin or entire bird wings, hair with 
or without skin or hide, and bones that include no attached meat, 
organs, or viscera do not need to be covered. 
(h)  Vehicular Traffic. No person shall drive a motorized vehicle 
on a game land except on roads constructed, maintained, and 
opened for vehicular travel and on trails posted for vehicular 
travel, unless the person: 

(1) is driving in the vehicle gallery of a scheduled 
bird dog field trial held on the Sandhills Game 
Land; or 

(2) is a disabled sportsman as defined in Paragraph 
(l) of this Rule or holds a Disabled Access 
Program Permit as described in Paragraph (l) of 
this Rule and is abiding by the rules described 
in Paragraph (k). 

(i)  Camping. 
(1) No person shall camp on a game land except on 

an area posted by the landowner for camping. 
(2) Camping on posted camping areas is allowed 

from September 1 through the last day of 
February and from March 31 through May 31 
unless otherwise specified in Rules of this 
Subchapter. 

(3) On game lands owned by the State of North 
Carolina, where the North Carolina Wildlife 
Resources Commission is the primary 
custodian, the maximum period of consecutive 
overnight camping at a designated camping 
area is 14 days within any 30-day period, unless 
otherwise specified in rules of this Subchapter. 
After 14 consecutive days of camping, personal 
belongings shall be removed from the game 
land. 

(3)(4) A hunting, fishing, trapping or Game Lands 
License is required for individuals age 16 or 
older to camp on game lands in areas posted for 

camping except when camping within 100 
yards of the Roanoke River on the state-owned 
portion of the Roanoke River Wetlands Game 
Land, within 100 yards of the Neuse River on 
that portion of the game land west of NC-43, 
and in posted areas along the Mountains-to-Sea 
Trail on Butner-Falls of Neuse Game Land. 

(j)  Release of Animals and Fish. It is unlawful to release pen-
raised animals or birds, wild animals or birds, domesticated 
animals, except hunting dogs and raptors where otherwise 
permitted for hunting or training purposes, or feral animals, or 
hatchery-raised fish on game lands without written authorization. 
It is unlawful to move wild fish from one stream to another on 
game lands without written authorization. Written authorization 
shall be given when release of animals is determined by a Wildlife 
Resources Commission biologist not to be harmful to native 
wildlife in the area and is in the public interest or advance the 
programs and goals of the Wildlife Resources Commission. 
(k)  Non-Highway Licensed Vehicles. It is unlawful to operate 
motorized land vehicles not licensed for highway use on game 
lands except for designated areas on National Forests. Disabled 
persons as defined in Paragraph (l) of this Rule and people who 
have obtained a Disabled Access Program permit are exempt from 
this restriction but shall comply with the terms of their permit. 
Furthermore, disabled persons, as defined under the federal 
Americans with Disabilities Act (42 U.S.C. 126) may use 
wheelchairs or other all-terrain wheelchairs on areas where foot 
travel is allowed. Off road vehicles including ATVs, UTVs, and 
ebikes are not permitted. 
(l)  Disabled Access Program. Disabled individuals who meet the 
requirements of G.S. 113-296 may obtain a Disabled Access 
Permit and Disabled Sportsman Hunt Certification online at 
ncwildlife.org. The Disabled Access Permit allows individuals to 
operate electric wheel chairs, all-terrain vehicles, and other 
passenger vehicles on any Commission-maintained road open for 
vehicular travel and those trails posted for vehicular travel and 
ungated or open-gated roads otherwise closed to vehicular traffic 
on game lands owned by the Wildlife Resources Commission and 
on game lands whose owners have agreed to that use. Those game 
lands, or parts thereof, where this Paragraph applies are 
designated online, at www.ncwildlife.org. This Paragraph does 
not permit vehicular access on fields, openings, roads, paths, or 
trails planted for wildlife food or cover. One companion, who is 
identified by a companion card issued to each qualified disabled 
person, may accompany a disabled person to provide assistance, 
provided the companion is constantly in visual or verbal contact 
with the disabled person. The companion may participate in 
lawful activities while assisting a disabled person, provided 
license requirements are met. A vehicle used by a qualified 
disabled person for access to game lands under this provision shall 
have the Disabled Access Permit available for inspection by 
wildlife enforcement officers upon request. Hunters who qualify 
under the Disabled Sportsman Program and their companions 
may access special hunting blinds for people with disabilities 
during regularly scheduled, non-permit hunting days on a first 
come basis, except for those blinds located on the Restricted Area 
of Caswell Game Land. It is unlawful for anyone other than 
disabled persons holding a Disabled Access Permit, during 
waterfowl season, to hunt within 100 yards of a waterfowl blind 
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designated by the Wildlife Resources Commission as a Disabled 
Sportsman's hunting blind. The Disabled Sportsman Hunt 
Certification allows individuals to apply for available Disabled 
sportsman permit hunting opportunities as prescribed in G.S. 113-
296. 
(m)  Public nudity. Public nudity, including nude sunbathing, is 
prohibited on game lands, including land or water. For the 
purposes of this Section, "public nudity" means a person's 
intentional failure to cover with a fully opaque covering the 
person's genitals, pubic area, anal area, or female breasts below a 
point from the top of the areola while in a public place. 
(n)  Shooting Ranges. On public shooting ranges managed by the 
Commission, no person shall use designated shooting ranges for 
purposes other than for firearm or bow and arrow marksmanship, 
development of shooting skills, or for other safe uses of firearms 
and archery equipment. Other uses, including camping, building 
fires, operating concessions or other activities not directly 
involved with recreational or competitive shooting are prohibited, 
unless written authorization is obtained from the Commission. No 
person, when using any shooting range, shall deposit debris or 
refuse on the grounds of the range. This includes items used as 
targets, except that clay targets broken on the range, by the 
shooter, may be left on the grounds where they fall. No person 
shall shoot items made of glass on the grounds of the range. No 
person may leave a vehicle or other obstruction in a location or 
position that it will prevent, impede, or inconvenience the use by 
other persons of any shooting range. No person shall leave a 
vehicle or other object parked in a place on the shooting range 
other than the place or zone that is designated and posted or 
marked as an authorized parking zone. No person shall handle 
firearms or bow and arrow on a shooting range in a careless or 
reckless manner. No person shall intentionally shoot into any 
target holder, post, or other permanent fixture or structure while 
using a shooting range. No person shall shoot a firearm in a 
manner that would cause rifled or smoothbore projectiles to travel 
off of the range, except that shotgun shot, size No. 4 or smaller 
may be allowed to travel from the range if it presents no risk of 
harm or injury to a person. Persons using a shooting range shall 
obey posted range safety rules and those persons who violate 
range safety rules or create a public safety hazard shall leave the 
shooting range if directed to by law enforcement officers or to 
leave by Commission employees. No person shall handle firearms 
on a shooting range while under the influence of an impairing 
substance. The consumption of alcohol or alcoholic beverages on 
a shooting range is prohibited. Open days and hours of operation 
shall be designated on signs and at least one sign shall be posted 
at the entrance to each shooting range. No person, when using a 
shooting range, shall do an act that is prohibited or neglect to do 
an act that is required by signs or markings placed on the area 
under authority of this Rule for regulating the use of the area. 
(o)  Limited-access Roads. During the months of June, July, and 
August, roads posted as "Limited-access Roads" are open to 
motorized vehicles from 5:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. These roads shall 
be posted with the opening and closing times. 
(p)  No person shall attempt to obscure the sex or age of a bird or 
animal taken by severing the head or any other part thereof, or 
possess a bird or animal that has been so mutilated. 
(q)  Baiting. Except as provided in Paragraph (g) of this Rule, no 
person shall place, or cause to be placed on a game land, salt, 

grain, fruit, or other foods without written authorization from an 
agent of the Commission. Written authorization may be provided 
for Commission authorized projects or Commission contractors to 
meet specific objectives. Except as authorized by rule, no person 
shall take or attempt to take wild birds or wild animals attracted 
to these foods. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-129; 113-134; 113-264; 113-270.3; 113-
291.2; 113-291.5; 113-305; 113-306; 143-318.10. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0104 FISHING ON GAME LANDS 
(a)  Game lands are open to public fishing except: 

(1) restocked ponds when posted against fishing; 
(2) Hunting Creek Swamp Waterfowl Refuge; 
(3) Cedar Rock Creek, Grogan Creek, and John 

Rock Branch, in Transylvania County; and 
(4) private ponds where fishing is prohibited by the 

owners. 
(b)  No trotline, set-hook, net, trap, gig, or other special fishing 
device mentioned in 15A NCAC 10C .0404(b),(c),(d), and (f) may 
be used in impounded waters located entirely on game lands. 
(c)  Archery equipment may be used to take nongame fishes in 
impounded waters located entirely on game lands except for those 
waters mentioned in 15A NCAC 10C .0404(a). 
(d)  Waters located on the following game lands listed in this 
Subparagraph are designated as public mountain trout waters 
except as noted. waters: 

(1) Cold Mountain Game Land in Haywood 
County. 

(2) DuPont State Forest Game Lands in Henderson 
and Transylvania counties, except: 
(A) Little River from 100 yards 

downstream of Hooker Falls 
downstream to the DuPont State 
Forest boundary; 

(B) Lake Imaging; 
(C) Lake Dense; 
(D) Lake Alfred; 
(E) Lake Julia; and 
(F) Fawn Lake. 

(3) Green River Game Land in Henderson and Polk 
counties, except Green River downstream of 
the natural gas pipeline crossing. 

(4) Headwaters State Forest Game Land in 
Transylvania County. 

(5) Nantahala National Forest Game Lands in 
Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Jackson, Macon, 
Swain, and Transylvania counties, except 
Cheoah River downstream of Santeetlah 
Reservoir and Cherokee Lake. 

(6) Pisgah National Forest Game Lands in Avery, 
Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Haywood, 
Henderson, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, 
Transylvania, Watauga, and Yancey counties, 
except: 
(A) Cedar Rock Creek, Grogan Creek, and 

John Rock Branch; 
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(B) North Fork Catawba River 
downstream of the mouth of 
Armstrong Creek; 

(C) Big Laurel Creek downstream from 
the US 25-70 bridge to the French 
Broad River; 

(D) Mill Ridge Pond; 
(E) Nolichucky River; 
(F) Pigeon River downstream of 

Waterville Reservoir to the Tennessee 
state line; and 

(G) Spring Creek below US Forest Service 
road 223. 

(7) Pond Mountain Game Land in Ashe County. 
(8) Little Fork State Forest Game Land in Wilkes 

County. 
(9) South Mountains Game Land in Burke, 

Cleveland, McDowell, Cleveland and 
Rutherford counties. 

(10) Three Top Mountain Game Land in Ashe 
County. 

(11) Thurmond Chatham Game Land in Wilkes 
County. 

(12) Toxaway Game Land in Transylvania County. 
(13) William H. Silvers Game Land in Haywood 

County. 
(e)  The designated public mountain trout waters located on the 
game lands listed identified in Paragraph (d) of this Rule are Wild 
Trout Waters unless classified otherwise in 15A NCAC 10C 
.0205(d). 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-272; 113-292; 113-305. 
 

SECTION .0200 - USE OF GAME LANDS 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0205 BLADEN LAKES STATE 
FOREST GAME LAND IN BLADEN COUNTY 
Bladen Lakes State Forest game land Game Land is a Three Days 
per Week Area, in which the following applies: 

(1) Deer of either sex may be taken all the open 
days of the applicable Deer With Visible 
Antlers Season. 

(2) Except for blackpowder firearms, rifles larger 
than .22 caliber rimfire shall not be used. 

(3) On the Singletary Lake Tract, the use of dogs 
for hunting deer and bear is prohibited. 

(4) Wild turkey hunting on the Singletary Lake 
Tract is by permit only. 

(5) Camping is restricted to September 1 through 
the last day of February and March 31 through 
May 14 in allowed on areas both designated and 
posted as for camping areas. as specified in 
Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. 

(6) The use of dogs for pursuing or taking foxes 
shall be prohibited from February 15 through 
August 1. 

 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 

15A NCAC 10D .0211 BUTNER-FALLS OF NEUSE 
GAME LAND IN DURHAM, GRANVILLE, AND WAKE 
COUNTIES 
Butner-Falls of Neuse game land Game Land is a Six Days per 
Week Area, in which the following applies: 

(1) Antlered or antlerless deer may be taken the 
first open day of the All Lawful Weapons 
Season for Deer With Visible Antlers through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(2) Waterfowl shall be taken only on: 
(a) the opening and closing days of the 

waterfowl seasons; 
(b) Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's, 

and Martin Luther King, Jr. Days; and 
(c) Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays 

of the applicable waterfowl seasons. 
On the posted waterfowl impoundments a special permit is 
required for all waterfowl hunting after November 1. 

(3) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(4) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(5) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, except 

on those areas posted as an archery zone. 
(6) The use of dogs for hunting deer is prohibited 

on that portion west of NC 50 and south of Falls 
Lake. 

(7) The use of bicycles is restricted to designated 
areas, except that this restriction does not apply 
to hunters engaged in the act of hunting during 
the open days of the seasons for game birds and 
game animals. On designated bicycle riding 
areas, the use of bicycles is allowed from May 
15 16 through August 31, and on Sundays only 
from September 1 through May 14. 15. 

(8) Camping is restricted to September 1 through 
the last day of February and March 31 through 
May 14. allowed on areas posted for camping 
as specified in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. 

(9) Camping is allowed year-round in the 
designated Mountains-to-Sea Trail Camping 
Area and shall not exceed a maximum stay of 
two consecutive nights. Campfires are 
prohibited in this camping area. 

 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0212 BUXTON WOODS GAME LAND 
IN DARE COUNTY 
Buxton Woods game land Game Land is a Six Days per Week 
Area, in which the following applies: 

(1) Deer of either sex may be taken the first open 
day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers 
Season through the first Friday thereafter. 

(2) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(3) Horseback riding is prohibited except on 

designated trails. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
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15A NCAC 10D .0215 R. WAYNE BAILEY-CASWELL 
GAME LAND IN CASWELL COUNTY 
(a)  R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell Game Land is a Three Days per 
Week Area, in which the following applies: 

(1) Antlered or antlerless deer may be taken from 
the first open day of the All Lawful Weapons 
Season for Deer With Visible Antlers through 
the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(2) Horseback riding, including all equine species, 
is allowed seven days per week from May 16 
through August 31, and on Sundays only, 
September 1 through May 15. Horseback riding 
is allowed on roads opened to vehicular traffic 
and on those gated roads and trails that are 
posted for equestrian use. People age 16 or 
older horseback riding on this game land shall 
possess a Game Lands license as required by 
G.S. 270.3(b)(3). 

(3) On the posted waterfowl impoundment, 
waterfowl hunting is by permit after November 
1. 

(4) Camping is restricted to September 1 through 
the last day of February and March 31 through 
May 14. allowed on areas posted for camping 
as specified in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. 

(5) Target shooting is prohibited, except at the R. 
Wayne Bailey-Caswell Shooting Range. 

(b)  Hunting shall be by permit for the following species in the 
area posted as the Caswell Small Game Focal Area: 

(1) quail and woodcock; and 
(2) rabbit and squirrel on days outside of the three 

days per week framework. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0217 CHOWAN GAME LAND IN 
CHOWAN COUNTY 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0218 CHOWAN SWAMP GAME LAND 
IN BERTIE, GATES, AND HERTFORD COUNTIES 
Chowan Swamp game land Game Land is a Six Days per Week 
Area, in which the following applies: 

(1) Deer of either sex may be taken on all the open 
days of the applicable Deer With Visible 
Antlers Season. 

(2) Bear hunting is restricted to the first Saturday, 
Monday, and Tuesday of the November bear 
season and the second Saturday, Monday, and 
Tuesday of the December bear season except in 
that portion of Chowan Swamp Game Land in 
Gates County that is east of Highway 158/13, 
south of Highway 158, west of Highway 32, 
and north of Catherine Creek and the Chowan 
River where the bear season is the same as the 
season dates for the Gates County bear season. 

(3) Camping is restricted to September 1 through 
the last day of February and March 31 through 
May 14 in areas both designated and allowed on 
areas posted as for camping areas. as specified 
in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. 

(4) Horseback riding is prohibited except during 
May 16 through August 31 and on Sundays 
only September 1 through May 15 on those 
roads that are open to vehicular traffic and on 
those gated roads and trails posted for 
equestrian use. 

(5) Target shooting is prohibited. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0229 GOOSE CREEK GAME LAND IN 
BEAUFORT AND PAMLICO COUNTIES 
Goose Creek game land Game Land is a Seven Days per Week 
Area, in which the following applies: 

(1) Deer of either sex may be taken on all the open 
days of the applicable Deer With Visible 
Antlers Season. 

(2) Except as provided in 15A NCAC 10D 
.0103(d)(2), .0103(e), waterfowl in posted 
waterfowl impoundments shall be taken only on 
the following days: 
(a) the opening and closing days of the 

applicable waterfowl seasons; 
(b) Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's, 

and Martin Luther King, Jr. Days; and 
(c) Tuesdays and Saturdays of the 

applicable waterfowl seasons. 
(3) Beginning on the first open waterfowl season 

day in October October, through the end of all 
waterfowl seasons, waterfowl hunting is by 
permit only on the following waterfowl 
impoundments: Pamlico Point, Campbell 
Creek, Hunting Creek, Spring Creek, Smith 
Creek, and Hobucken. 

(4) On Spring Lake, Pamlico Point, and Campbell 
Creek Waterfowl Impoundments, all activities, 
except waterfowl hunting on designated 
waterfowl hunting days and trapping during the 
trapping season, are restricted to the posted 
Scouting-only Zone during the period 
November 1 through March 15. 

(5) Camping is restricted to September 1 through 
the last day of February February, and March 
31 through May 14 14, in areas both designated 
and allowed on areas posted as for camping 
areas. as specified in Rule .0102 of this 
Subchapter. 

(6) Hunting and vehicular access on the Parker 
Farm Tract is restricted from September 1 
through January 1 and April 1 through May 15 
to individuals that possess a valid hunting 
opportunity permit. 
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(7) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with dogs for 
the purposes of training or hunting is prohibited 
on the Beaufort County portion north of NC 
N.C. 33 33, except for that portion east of Smith 
Creek and south of Campbell Creek. 

(8) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
(9) Hunting for deer, bear, and turkey on the Bates-

Bay Tract is by permit only. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0232 GULL ROCK GAME LAND IN 
HYDE COUNTY 
Gull Rock Game Land is a Seven Days per Week Area, in which 
the following applies: 

(1) Deer of either sex may be taken all the open 
days of the applicable Deer With Visible 
Antlers Season. 

(2) Waterfowl on posted waterfowl impoundments 
the E. Merle Edwards/Loop Road 
Impoundment shall be taken only on the 
following days: 
(a) the opening and closing days of the 

applicable waterfowl seasons; 
(b) Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's, 

and Martin Luther King, Jr. Days; and 
(c) Tuesdays and Saturdays of the 

applicable waterfowl season. 
(3) Camping is restricted to September 1 through 

the last day of February February, and March 
31 through May 14 14, in allowed on areas 
designated and posted as for camping areas. as 
specified in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. 

(4) Bear may only be taken the first Saturday, 
Monday, and Tuesday of the November Bear 
Season Season, and the second Saturday, 
Monday, and Tuesday of the December Bear 
Season. 

(5) Waterfowl hunting on posted waterfowl 
impoundments on the Willow Point tract is by 
permit only. 

 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0236 HOLLY SHELTER GAME LAND 
IN PENDER COUNTY 
Holly Shelter game land Game Land is a Six Days per Week Area, 
in which the following applies: 

(1) Deer of either sex may be taken on all the open 
days of the applicable Deer With Visible 
Antlers Season. 

(2) Waterfowl may be taken only on the following 
days: 
(a) the opening and closing days of the 

applicable waterfowl seasons; 
(b) Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's, 

and Martin Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(c) Tuesdays and Saturdays of the 
applicable waterfowl seasons. 

(3) Camping is restricted to September 1 through 
the last day of February and March 31 through 
May 14 in areas designated and allowed on 
areas posted as for camping areas. as specified 
in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. 

(4) On that portion north of the Bear Garden Road, 
west of Shaw Road to Baby Branch, east of the 
Northeast Cape Fear River, south of NC 53 and 
west of NC 50, deer hunting and bear hunting 
are permit only. 

(5) The use of dogs for hunting deer and bear is 
prohibited: 
(a) all open days on that portion of the 

game land that is south of Baby 
Branch extending west to Stag Park 
Road, west of Shaw Road, north of 
Meeks Road extending west to Stag 
Park Road and east of Stag Park Road; 
and 

(b) on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays, 
with the exception of Thanksgiving, 
Christmas, and New Year's days, and 
except for the area north of Bear 
Garden Road, west of Shaw Road to 
Baby Branch, east of the Northeast 
Cape Fear River, south of NC 53 and 
west of NC 50, where the use of dogs 
for deer and bear hunting is by permit 
only. 

(6) Hunting and vehicular access on the Pender 4 
Tract is restricted from September 1 to the last 
day of February and April 1 to May 15 to 
individuals that possess valid hunting 
opportunity permits, unless otherwise 
authorized by the Wildlife Resources 
Commission. 

(7) Hunters who possess a Disabled Access Permit 
may operate an All Terrain Vehicle on and 
within 100 yards of trails designated for 
Disabled Sportsman Access. 

(8) Target shooting is prohibited, except on the 
Holly Shelter Shooting Range. 

(9) Geocaching is restricted to closed days for 
taking bear, deer, turkey, and waterfowl. 

 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0239 JOHNS RIVER GAME LAND IN 
BURKE COUNTY 
Johns River game land Game Land is hunting by permit only. The 
following shall apply: 

(1) During permitted deer hunts, antlered or 
antlerless deer may be taken by permit holders. 

(2) The construction of permanent hunting blinds is 
prohibited. 
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(3) Camping is restricted to August 31 through the 
last day of February and March 31 through May 
14. allowed on areas posted for camping as 
specified in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. 

(4) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(5) During the open days of the seasons for game 

birds and game animals, the use of bicycles is 
restricted to hunters engaged in the act of 
hunting. 

 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0240 JORDAN GAME LAND IN 
CHATHAM, DURHAM, ORANGE, AND WAKE 
COUNTIES 
Jordan game land Game Land is a Six Days per Week Area, in 
which the following applies: 

(1) Antlered or antlerless deer may be taken on 
open days of the All Lawful Weapons Season 
for Deer With Visible Antlers. 

(2) Waterfowl may be taken only on: 
(a) Mondays, Wednesdays, and Saturdays 

of the applicable waterfowl seasons; 
(b) Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New 

Year's Days; and 
(c) the opening and closing days of the 

applicable waterfowl seasons. 
(3) Horseback riding, including all equine species, 

is allowed only on those areas posted as 
American Tobacco Trail and other areas posted 
for equestrian use. Unless otherwise posted, 
horseback riding is permitted on posted 
portions of the American Tobacco Trail 
anytime the trail is open for use. On other trails 
posted for equestrian use, horseback riding is 
allowed seven days per week from May 16 
through August 31, and on Sundays only from 
September 1 through May 15. People age 16 or 
older shall obtain a game land license prior to 
engaging in horseback riding on an area other 
than the American Tobacco Trail. 

(4) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(5) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, except 

on those areas posted as an Archery Zone. 
(6) The use of bicycles is restricted to designated 

areas, except that this restriction does not apply 
to hunters engaged in the act of hunting during 
the open days of the applicable seasons for 
game birds and game animals. 

(7) Camping is restricted to September 1 through 
the last day of February and March 31 through 
May 14. allowed on areas posted for camping 
as specified in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. 

 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 

15A NCAC 10D .0241 JUNIPER CREEK GAME LAND 
IN BRUNSWICK AND COLUMBUS COUNTIES 
(a)  Juniper Creek game land Game Land is a Seven Days per 
Week Area. The following applies: 

(1) Deer of either sex may be taken on all the open 
days of the Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(2) Camping is restricted to September 1 through 
the last day of February and March 31 through 
May 14 in allowed on areas both designated and 
posted as for camping areas. as specified in 
Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. 

(3) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0258 PEE DEE RIVER GAME LAND 
IN ANSON, MONTGOMERY, RICHMOND, AND 
STANLY COUNTIES 
Pee Dee River game land Game Land is a Seven Days per Week 
Area, in which the following applies: 

(1) Antlered or antlerless deer may be taken the 
first open day of the All Lawful Weapons 
Season for Deer With Visible Antlers through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(2) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(3) Horseback riding is allowed seven days per 

week from May 16 through August 31, and on 
Sundays only September 1 through May 15 
only on roads opened to vehicular traffic and 
gated roads and trails posted for equestrian use. 

(4) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with dogs for 
the purposes of training or hunting shall be 
prohibited on that portion south of US-74. 
prohibited, except on that portion north of US-
74 and east of Pee Dee River where hunting 
shall be by permit only. 

 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0265 ROANOKE RIVER WETLANDS 
IN BERTIE, HALIFAX, MARTIN, AND NORTHAMPTON 
COUNTIES 
Roanoke River Wetlands is hunting and trapping by Permit only, 
in which the following applies: 

(1) Vehicles are prohibited on roads or trails except 
those operated on Commission business or by 
permit holders. 

(2) Camping is restricted to September 1 through 
the last day of February and March 31 through 
May 14 in allowed on areas both designated and 
posted as for camping areas, provided, 
however, that camping is allowed at any time 
within 100 yards of the Roanoke River on the 
state-owned portion of the game land. as 
specified in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. 

(3) Target Shooting is prohibited. 
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Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0267 ROBESON GAME LAND IN 
ROBESON COUNTY 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0271 SANDHILLS GAME LAND IN 
HOKE, MOORE, RICHMOND, AND SCOTLAND 
COUNTIES 
Sandhills game land Game Land is a Three Days per Week Area, 
in which the following applies: 

(1) Hunting is prohibited on the J. Robert Gordon 
Field Trial Grounds from the Wednesday on or 
nearest October 18 through March 31 except as 
follows: 
(a) Antlered or antlerless deer may be 

taken with archery equipment on the 
open days of the archery season 
through the fourth Friday before 
Thanksgiving Day; with blackpowder 
firearms and archery equipment the 
open days of the blackpowder firearms 
season through the third Wednesday 
before Thanksgiving Day; and only 
deer with visible antlers may be taken 
with all lawful weapons from the 
second Saturday before Thanksgiving 
Day through the Saturday following 
Thanksgiving Day; 

(b) dove may be taken on open days from 
the opening day of the dove season 
through the third Saturday thereafter; 

(c) gray and fox squirrel may be taken on 
open days from the second Saturday 
before Thanksgiving Day through the 
Saturday following Thanksgiving 
Day; 

(d) rabbit may be taken on open days from 
the second Saturday preceding 
Thanksgiving Day through the 
Saturday following Thanksgiving 
Day; 

(e) waterfowl may be taken on open days 
during waterfowl season; 

(f) wild animals and wild birds may be 
taken as part of a Disabled Sportsmen 
Program Permit Hunt; and 

(g) raccoon and opossum may be taken on 
open days from sunrise Monday on or 
nearest October 15 through the last 
day of February. 

(2) Antlered or Antlerless deer may be taken with 
archery equipment on open hunting days from 
the Saturday on or nearest to September 10 to 
the fourth Friday before Thanksgiving Day. 

(3) Antlered or Antlerless deer may be taken with 
Blackpowder firearms or archery equipment on 
open hunting days from the fourth Saturday 
preceding Thanksgiving Day through the 
Wednesday of the second week thereafter. 

(2)(4) The Antlered deer may be taken with all lawful 
weapons on Deer With Visible Antlers season 
is the open hunting days from the second 
Saturday before Thanksgiving Day through the 
third Saturday after Thanksgiving Day Day, 
except on the J. Robert Gordon Field Trial 
Grounds. 

(5) Antlerless deer hunting during the All Lawful 
Weapons Season is by permit only. 

(6) Antlered deer may be taken with Blackpowder 
firearms or archery equipment, except on the J. 
Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds, on open 
hunting days from the third Monday after 
Thanksgiving Day through January 1. 

(3) The archery season is on open days from the 
Saturday on or nearest to September 10 to the 
fourth Friday before Thanksgiving Day and, 
except on the J. Robert Gordon Field Trial 
Grounds, the third Monday after Thanksgiving 
Day through January 1. Antlered or antlerless 
deer may be taken with archery equipment on 
open hunting days during the archery season, by 
permit during the Deer with Visible antlers 
season, and the blackpowder firearms season as 
stated in this Subparagraph. Only deer with 
visible antlers may be taken from the third 
Monday after Thanksgiving Day through 
January 1. 

(4) Blackpowder firearms season is the open days 
from the fourth Saturday preceding 
Thanksgiving Day through the Wednesday of 
the second week thereafter and, except on the J. 
Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds, the third 
Monday after Thanksgiving Day through 
January 1. Antlered or antlerless deer may be 
taken with blackpowder firearms on open 
hunting days during the blackpowder firearms 
season. Only deer with visible antlers may be 
taken from the third Monday after 
Thanksgiving Day through January 1. 

(5) Antlered and antlerless deer hunting during the 
All Lawful Weapons Season for Deer With 
Visible Antlers is by permit only. 

(6)(7) In addition to the regular hunting days, 
waterfowl may be taken on the opening and 
closing days of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(7)(8) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 
(8)(9) Horseback riding on field trial grounds from the 

Wednesday on or nearest October 18 through 
March 31 is prohibited unless participating in 
authorized field trials. Horseback riding is 
allowed on the remainder of the Sandhills 
Game Land seven days per week on roads that 
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are open to vehicular traffic and gated roads and 
trails posted for equestrian use. 

(9)(10) Camping is restricted to September 1 through 
the last day of February and March 31 through 
May 14. allowed on areas posted for camping 
as specified in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. 

(10)(11) Target shooting is prohibited, except at the John 
F. Lentz Hunter Education Complex. 

(11)(12) Swimming is prohibited in the lakes. 
(13) Fox squirrel hunting is by permit only. 
(14) Hunting deer with dogs is by permit only. 
(15) Training dogs for the purpose of pursuing or 

chasing deer is prohibited. 
(16) An individual convicted of a wildlife or trespass 

violation while hunting deer with dogs shall not 
be eligible to receive a permit for hunting deer 
with dogs the season following conviction. 

 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0275 SHOCCO CREEK GAME LAND 
IN FRANKLIN, HALIFAX, NASH, AND WARREN 
COUNTIES 
Shocco Creek game land Game Land is a Seven Days per Week 
Area, in which the following applies: 

(1) Deer of either sex may be taken the first open 
day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers 
Season through the second Friday thereafter. 

(2) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(3) Camping is restricted to September 1 through 

the last day of February and March 31 through 
May 14 in allowed on areas both designated and 
posted as for camping areas. as specified in 
Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. 

(4) Target Shooting is prohibited. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0276 SOUTH MOUNTAINS GAME 
LAND IN BURKE, CLEVELAND, MCDOWELL, AND 
RUTHERFORD COUNTIES 
South Mountains game land Game Land is a Seven Days per 
Week Area, in which the following applies: 

(1) The Deer With Visible Antlers Season begins 
on the Saturday after Thanksgiving Day 
through January 1. Antlered or antlerless deer 
may be taken with archery equipment 
beginning the Saturday on or nearest September 
10 through the day immediately preceding the 
Blackpowder Firearms Season described in this 
Rule. Antlered or antlerless deer may be taken 
with blackpowder firearms beginning two 
Saturdays preceding the first day of the open 
season for Deer With Visible Antlers described 
in this Rule through the second Friday 
thereafter. 

(2) Antlered or antlerless deer may be taken the 
first open Saturday of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(3) Horseback riding is prohibited except on 
designated trails during the following dates: 
(a) January 2 through March 31; 
(b) May 16 through August 31; 
(c) Sundays only - April 1 through May 

15; and 
(d) Sundays only - September 1 through 

January 1. 
(4) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(5) Camping is restricted to September 1 through 

the last day of February and March 31 through 
May 14 in allowed on areas both designated and 
posted as for camping areas. as specified in 
Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. 

(6) The maximum period of consecutive overnight 
camping at any posted and designated camping 
area is 14 days within any 30-day period. 

 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0278 SUGGS MILL POND GAME 
LAND IN BLADEN AND CUMBERLAND COUNTIES 
Suggs Mill Pond game land Game Land is hunting and trapping 
by permit only, in which the following applies: 

(1) Camping is restricted to September 1 through 
the last day of February and March 31 through 
May 14 in allowed on areas both designated and 
posted as for camping areas. as specified in 
Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. 

(2) Entry is prohibited on scheduled hunt or 
trapping days except for: 
(a) hunters or trappers holding special 

hunt or trapping permits; and 
(b) persons using Campground Road to 

access Suggs Mill Pond Lake at the 
dam. 

(3) During the period of November 1 through 
January 31, except on Sundays, the use of 
vessels on Suggs Mill Pond Lake and Little 
Singletary Lake is limited to waterfowl hunting 
only by waterfowl hunters possessing a valid 
and current Hunting Opportunity Permit issued 
by the Wildlife Resources Commission 
pursuant to G.S. 113-264(d). 

(4) During the period of November 1 through 
March 15, the use of vessels on managed 
waterfowl impoundments is limited to 
waterfowl hunting only by waterfowl hunters 
possessing a valid and current Hunting 
Opportunity Permit issued by the Wildlife 
Resources Commission pursuant to G.S. 113-
264(d). 

 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
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15A NCAC 10D .0283 THURMOND CHATHAM GAME 
LAND IN ALLEGHANY AND WILKES COUNTIES 
Thurmond Chatham game land Game Land is a Seven Days per 
Week Area, in which the following applies: 

(1) Antlered or antlerless deer may be taken the 
first open day of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season through the second 
Friday thereafter. 

(2) Horseback riding is prohibited except on 
designated trails May 16 through August 31, 
and all horseback riding is prohibited from 
September 1 through May 15. People age 16 or 
older horseback riding on this game land shall 
possess a Game Lands license as required by 
G.S. 270.3(b)(3). 

(3) Camping is restricted to September 1 through 
the last day of February and March 31 through 
May 14. allowed on areas posted for camping 
as specified in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. 

 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0291 WHITEHALL PLANTATION 
GAME LAND IN BLADEN AND PENDER COUNTIES 
Whitehall Plantation game land Game Land is hunting and 
trapping by permit only, in which the following applies: 

(1) Camping is restricted to September 1 through 
the last day of February and March 31 through 
May 14 in allowed on areas both designated and 
posted as for camping areas. as specified in 
Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. 

(2) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with dogs for 
the purposes of training or hunting is prohibited 
on the Long Ridge Tract. 

 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0294 NORTH BEND GAME LAND IN 
BURKE COUNTY 
North Bend game land Game Land is hunting by permit only. The 
following shall apply: 

(1) The use of bicycles is restricted to designated 
trails, except for hunters engaged in the act of 
hunting during the open days of the seasons for 
game birds and game animals. 

(2) Camping is restricted to September 1 through 
the last day of February and March 31 through 
May 14. allowed on areas posted for camping 
as specified in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter. 

(3) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(4) Target shooting is prohibited. 

 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Wildlife Resources Commission intends to amend the rules cited 
as 15A NCAC 10C .0325; 10D .0249, and .0260. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://www.ncwildlife.gov/hunting/regulations/proposed-
regulations 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2026 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  August 5, 2025 
Time:  4:00PM 
Location:  Zoom Meeting. Registration Required: 
https://ncwildlife-
org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_X60LebS_R02uqk-
JT47iZw or Join by Phone: Toll Free (833) 568-8864, Webinar 
ID: 161 629 0758 
 
Date:  August 7, 2025 
Time:  7:00PM 
Location:  Zoom Meeting. Registration Required: 
https://ncwildlife-
org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_eMPMrTbeQ3-
ykxuzwhv6tA or Join by Phone: Toll Free (833) 568-8864, 
Webinar ID: 160 223 3918 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  Each year, the N.C. Wildlife 
Resources Commission reviews and adjusts seasons, bag limits, 
and the land management regulations, as needed, to achieve 
conservation management goals, comply with statutory changes, 
and respond to constituent requests. 
 
10D .0260 and 10C .0325 are permanent versions of temporary 
rules currently before the RRC for approval at the 6/26/2025 
meeting. The effective date of 1/1/2026 ensures no gap between 
the temporary and permeant versions.  
 
10D .0249 addresses violations to Duke Energy's USAEC permit 
at Mayo Game Land. This is of immediate concern and 
necessitates an expedited timeline. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, 
1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email 
regulations@ncwildlife.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  September 15, 2025 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 
Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 
written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 
clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 
provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 
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written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 
1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 
email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 
attorney at 984-236-1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 
 
SUBCHAPTER 10C - INLAND FISHING REGULATIONS 
 

SECTION .0300 – GAME FISH IN INLAND FISHING 
WATERS 

 
15A NCAC 10C .0325 SEA TROUT 
(a)  The daily creel limit for sea trout (spotted or speckled) is four 
three fish. 
(b)  The minimum size limit is 14 inches. inches, but no fish 
between 20 and 26 inches in length may be possessed and only 
one sea trout greater than 26 inches may be possessed. 
(c)  There is no closed season. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 
 

SUBCHAPTER 10D - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS 
 

SECTION .0200 - USE OF GAME LANDS 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0249 MAYO GAME LAND IN PERSON 
COUNTY 
Mayo game land Game Land is a Seven Days per Week Area, in 
which the following applies: 

(1) Deer of either sex may be taken the first open 
day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers 
Season through the second Friday thereafter. 

(2) Waterfowl shall be taken only on: 
(a) Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays 

applicable waterfowl seasons; 
(b) Christmas and New Year's Days; and 
(c) the opening and closing days of the 

applicable waterfowl seasons. 
(3) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(4) Placement of docks, piers, and personal 

property for more than 24 consecutive hours on 
the shoreline or lakebed of Mayo Lake is 
prohibited. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0260 PISGAH GAME LAND IN 
AVERY, BUNCOMBE, BURKE, CALDWELL, 
HAYWOOD, HENDERSON, MADISON, MCDOWELL, 
MITCHELL, TRANSYLVANIA, WATAUGA, AND 
YANCEY COUNTIES 
Pisgah game land Game Land is a Seven Days per Week Area, in 
which the following applies: 

(1) Deer of either sex may be taken the first open 
Saturday of the applicable Deer With Visible 
Antlers Season. 

(2) Horseback riding is prohibited on the Black 
Bear (McDowell County), Linville River 
(Burke County), and Little Tablerock Tracts 
(Avery, McDowell, and Mitchell counties). 

(3) The use of bicycles shall be restricted to 
designated trails on the Linville River Tract 
(Burke County). Persons engaged in the act of 
hunting on the Linville River Tract during any 
open day of an applicable season for game birds 
or game animals shall be exempt from this 
restriction. 

(4) Alcohol and fires are prohibited on the Lutz 
Tract (Caldwell County). in the Wilson Creek 
portion of Pisgah Game Land (Caldwell 
County) 

(5) Target shooting is prohibited on the Black Bear 
(McDowell County), Linville River (Burke 
County), and Little Tablerock Tracts (Avery, 
McDowell, and Mitchell counties). 

(6) Entry on the Lutz Tract (Caldwell County) for 
purposes other than hunting, fishing, trapping, 
and posted use of trails and parking areas is 
prohibited. 

 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
 
TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 
 

CHAPTER 34 - FUNERAL SERVICE 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Board of Funeral Service intends to amend the rule cited as 21 
NCAC 34D .0202. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://ncbfs.org/ 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2025 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  August 13, 2025 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Location:  1033 Wade Ave, Ste 108, Raleigh, NC 27605 
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Reason for Proposed Action:  To offer more flexible options for 
obtaining continuing education on preneed funeral service. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Amy Acord, 1033 Wade Ave, 
Ste 108, Raleigh, NC 27605; phone (919) 733-9380; email 
aacord@ncbfs.org 
 
Comment period ends:  September 30, 2025 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 
Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 
written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 
clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 
provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 
written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 
1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 
email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 
attorney at 984-236-1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
SUBCHAPTER 34D - PRENEED FUNERAL CONTRACTS 
 

SECTION .0200 – LICENSING 
 
21 NCAC 34D .0202 PRENEED SALES LICENSE 
(a)  Individuals who hold either an active funeral director's license 
or an active funeral service license issued by the Board and who 
have taken three two or more hours of continuing education on 
preneed statutes and rules taught by Board staff within the 
preceding three calendar years are eligible for initial licensure as 
a preneed sales license upon application by a funeral 
establishment holding an active preneed establishment permit, as 
set forth in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 
(b)  Only individuals who hold an active preneed sales license 
issued by the Board or resident trainees in funeral service or 
funeral directing registered with the Board as allowed by 21 
NCAC 34B .0103 are permitted to engage in the following 
preneed funeral planning activities: 

(1) discuss with consumers written materials, 
including price lists and photographs, 
descriptive of the funeral services, funeral 
merchandise, the preneed funeral plan, or 
funeral contract being offered; 

(2) explain the various types of funeral ceremonies 
and services and the qualities and 
characteristics of various kinds of funeral 
merchandise; 

(3) sell, on a preneed basis, funeral services and 
merchandise; 

(4) record, on any form or otherwise, specific items 
of funeral services and merchandise selected on 
a preneed basis; 

(5) make funeral arrangements on a preneed basis; 
and 

(6) sign preneed contracts; provided, however, that 
the resident trainee and his or her licensed 
supervisor comply with 21 NCAC 34B .0103(e) 
when doing so. 

(c)  No preneed sales license is required for the sale of an 
insurance policy for which no funeral establishment or its 
representative is listed as the beneficiary or assignee of said 
policy. In connection with such a sale, the salesperson shall not be 
deemed to have engaged in preneed funeral planning if the 
salesperson shows only price lists of funeral services and 
merchandise to permit a prospective purchaser to make an 
informed decision as to the amount of insurance desired. 
(d)  An applicant shall apply for, renew, or surrender a preneed 
sales license in accordance with the following provisions: 

(1) A funeral establishment holding an active 
preneed establishment permit shall apply for, or 
renew, a preneed sales license by submitting the 
following to the Board on behalf of the 
applicant for a preneed sales license: 
(A) the applicant's name, address, email 

address, and telephone number; 
(B) the applicant's funeral director's or 

funeral service license number; 
(C) the name, address, and preneed 

establishment permit number of the 
preneed funeral establishment licensee 
or licensees on whose behalf the 
applicant will sell preneed funeral 
contracts; 

(D) the applicant's employment or agency 
relationship with the preneed 
establishment licensee or licensees; 

(E) the initial or renewal application fee 
required by 21 NCAC 34A .0201(c) 
for each preneed sales licensee; 

(F) the date on which the applicant has 
taken the continuing education course 
required by Paragraph (a) of this Rule; 
and 

(G) the applicant's signature and 
attestation that he or she has read and 
will comply with the statutes and rules 
governing the practice of preneed 
funeral service. 

(2) Either the preneed sales licensee or the preneed 
funeral establishment on whose behalf the 
preneed sales licensee is engaged in preneed 
funeral planning activities may surrender a 
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preneed sales license by submitting notification 
of such surrender in writing to the Board. 

(e)  If a preneed sales licensee proposes to engage in preneed 
funeral planning activities on behalf of multiple preneed funeral 
establishment licensees that are not wholly owned by or affiliated 
with common ownership, the preneed sales licensee shall submit 
the following to the Board: 

(1) the date on which the preneed sales licensee 
will begin engaging in preneed funeral planning 
activities for multiple preneed funeral 
establishment licensees; 

(2) the date on which the preneed sales licensee 
will stop engaging in preneed funeral planning 
activities for multiple preneed funeral 
establishment licensees, if known; 

(3) the name, license number, and signature of the 
preneed sales licensee; 

(4) the name and signature of the licensed manager 
of each preneed funeral establishment licensee 
for whom the preneed sales licensee will 
engage in preneed funeral planning activities; 
and 

(5) an attestation from each of the individuals 
identified in Subparagraphs (3) and (4) of this 
Paragraph that: 
(A) he or she consents to the preneed sales 

licensee engaging in preneed funeral 
planning activities on behalf of the 
identified preneed funeral 
establishment licensees; and 

(B) the preneed sales licensee and the 
preneed funeral establishment licensee 
on whose behalf the preneed funeral 
planning activities are to be conducted 
shall comply with the statutes and 
rules governing preneed funeral 
planning activities. 

(f)  The Board shall issue to each preneed sales licensee a pocket 
card as certification of the preneed sales license. The preneed 
sales licensee shall carry the card while engaging in preneed 
funeral planning. 
(g)  The preneed sales licensee shall sign and affix his or her 
preneed sales license number to each preneed funeral contract, 
which he or she sells, in the presence of the purchaser of the 
contract at the time of sale. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-210.25(a)(4); 90-210.60(8); 90-210.67(a),(c); 
90-210.69(a), (c). 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

CHAPTER 58 - REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Real Estate Commission intends to amend the rule cited as 21 
NCAC 58A .0503. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
www.ncrec.gov 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2025 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  August 14, 2025 
Time:  9:00 A.M. 
Location:  NC Real Estate Commission, 1313 Navaho Drive, 
Raleigh, NC 27609 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  Amend this rule to increase the 
real estate license renewal fee by $5.00, from $45.00 to $50.00. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Melissa Vuotto, PO Box 
17100, Raleigh, NC 27619-7100; phone (919) 875-3700; email 
Public.Comment@ncrec.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  September 15, 2025 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 
Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 
written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 
clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 
provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 
written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 
1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 
email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 
attorney at 984-236-1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
SUBCHAPTER 58A – REAL ESTATE BROKERS 

 
SECTION .0500 - LICENSING 

 
21 NCAC 58A .0503 LICENSE RENEWAL 
(a)  All real estate licenses issued by the Commission under G.S. 
93A, Article 1 shall expire on June 30 following issuance. Any 
broker desiring renewal of his or her license shall renew on the 
Commission's website within 45 days prior to license expiration 
and shall submit a renewal fee of forty-five dollars ($45.00). fifty 
dollars ($50.00). 
(b)  During the renewal process, every individual broker shall 
provide an email address to be used by the Commission. The 
email address may be designated by the broker as private in order 
to be exempt from public records disclosures pursuant to G.S. 
93A-4(b2). 
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(c)  During the renewal process, every designated broker-in-
charge shall disclose: 

(1) each federally insured depository institution 
lawfully doing business in this State where the 
trust account(s) for the broker-in-charge or the 
entity for which the broker-in-charge is 
designated is held, if applicable; and 

(2) any criminal conviction or occupational license 
disciplinary action that occurred within the 
previous year. 

 
Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4; 93A-6; 93A-38.5. 
 
 
TITLE 26 – OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Office of Administrative Hearings intends to adopt the rules cited 
as 26 NCAC 03 .0601-.0622. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://www.oah.nc.gov/hearings-division 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2025 
 
Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 
requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Any member of the 
public who wishes to request a public hearing may submit a 
written request to OAH's rulemaking coordinator via email at 
brian.liebman@oah.nc.gov. 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  OAH seeks to adopt Section .0600 
to govern the process of special education complaints arising 
under the federal Individual with Disabilities Education Act 
(IDEA) (codified at 20 U.S.C. 1400, et seq.), its supporting 
regulations in the CFR (34 CFR Part 300), and Article 9 of 
Chapter 115C of the North Carolina General Statutes. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Brian Liebman, 1711 New 
Hope Church Road, Raleigh, NC 27609; email 
brian.liebman@oah.nc.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  September 15, 2025 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 
Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 
written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 
clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 
provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 
written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 
1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 
email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 
attorney at 984-236-1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 03 - HEARINGS DIVISION 

 
SECTION .0600 – SPECIAL EDUCATION COMPLAINT 

PROCESS 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0601 GENERAL 
(a)  Applicability to Special Education Complaints. This 
Subchapter applies to special education Complaints filed in the 
Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) pursuant to the federal 
Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act of 2004 
(IDEA)(20 U.S.C. 1400, et seq.), its supporting regulations (34 
CFR Part 300), and Article 9 of Chapter 115C of the North 
Carolina General Statutes. The rules in this Section supplement 
other OAH rules in this Chapter for the purpose of adjudicating 
special education Complaints. In the event of a conflict with other 
OAH rules, the rules in this Section shall take precedence. 
(b)  Waiver of Rules. The presiding administrative law judge 
(ALJ) may waive the rules of this Section to promote the interests 
of justice or judicial economy. All waiver requests shall be by 
motion. In determining whether to grant a waiver, the presiding 
administrative law judge shall consider the following factors: 

(1) the necessity of the waiver; 
(2) the party's responsibility for the conditions 

creating the need for the waiver; 
(3) the party's prior requests for a waiver; 
(4) the precedential value of such a waiver; 
(5) notice to and opposition by the opposing 

parties; and 
(6) the potential harm to the party if the waiver is 

not granted. 
(c)  The provisions of 34 CFR Part 300 are hereby incorporated 
by reference, including all subsequent amendments and editions. 
34 CFR Part 300 is available online at no cost at 
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-34/subtitle-B/chapter-III/part-
300 
 
Authority G.S. 7A-751; 150B-21.6; 150B-22.1; 150B-29. 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0602 DEFINITIONS 
As used in this Section, the following terms have the meanings 
indicated: 

(1) "Administrative law judge (ALJ)" means the 
judge assigned to preside over the contested 
case, as defined in G.S. 150B-2(1), and with the 
powers and duties outlined in G.S. 150B-33 and 
Rule .0105 of this Chapter. 

(2) "Adult student" means a child with a disability, 
aged 18 years or older, to whom all rights 
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granted to the student's parents have been 
transferred per 20 U.S.C. 1415(m) and G.S. 
115C-109.2. 

(3) "Business day" is defined in 34 CFR 300.11. 
(4) "Certificate of Service" means a mandatory 

document that shall accompany all documents 
filed in the record to prove that the opposing 
party has been served, as defined by Item (47) 
of this Rule. 

(5) "Child with a disability" is defined by 34 CFR 
300.8. 

(6) "CMS" means the electronic case management 
system used by OAH for filing documents. 

(7) "Complaint" means a petition for a contested 
case hearing filed with OAH pursuant to 20 
U.S.C. 1415(b)(7)(A), G.S. 115C-109.6, 34 
CFR 300.503, and 34 CFR 300.508. 
(a) "Regular FAPE Complaint" means a 

Complaint filed for a contested case 
hearing on issues including: 
(i) Identification of a student 

with disabilities; 
(ii) Evaluation of a student with 

disabilities; 
(iii) Educational placement for a 

student with disabilities; or 
(iv) Other denial of the provision 

of a free and appropriate 
public education. 

(b) "Expedited FAPE Complaint" means a 
Complaint filed for a contested case 
hearing on issues including: 
(i) Manifestation determination 

review (MDR); 
(ii) Other issues related to a 

change in placement due to a 
disciplinary suspension of 
more than 10 days; 

(iii) An interim alternative 
educational placement of at 
least 45 days whether related 
to a disciplinary matter but 
due to behaviors resulting 
from the student's disability; 
or 

(iv) At the discretion of the 
administrative law judge, for 
cases involving a breach of a 
mediation agreement. 

(8) "Date-stamped copy" means a copy of a 
document sent by another party, on which the 
receiving party has noted the date the document 
was received, either through a date-stamp or 
other written confirmation including the date. 

(9) "Day" means calendar day unless otherwise 
specified as a "business day" or "school day." 

(10) "DPI" means the North Carolina Department of 
Public Instruction. 

(11) "Due Process Hearing Coordinator" means the 
person designated by the State Board of 
Education at DPI to receive electronic copies of 
Complaints, motions, notices, and 
communications from OAH and the parties 
regarding special education Complaint 
hearings. 

(12) "Education records" include any documentation 
pertaining to the student's education, excluding 
generic communications disseminated to the 
entire school body. This includes: 
(a) Special education file; 
(b) Cumulative folder; 
(c) Written correspondence (including 

emails) to and from school staff, 
parents, and others regarding the 
student's educational needs or 
services; 

(d) Report cards and transcripts; 
(e) Progress monitoring of IEP goals and 

related services; 
(f) Documentation of service delivery, 

including related service provider 
logs; 

(g) Documentation of work samples used 
for progress monitoring; 

(h) Documentation of the implementation 
of accommodations; and 

(i) Any information provided by parents 
to the school, including medical and 
independent evaluations obtained by 
the parents. 

(13) "E-filing" means electronic filing as defined 
and governed by Rules .0501 and .0502 of this 
Chapter. 

(14) "Extraordinary cause" means circumstances 
beyond a party's control that could not have 
been anticipated. 

(15) "Evidentiary hearing" means a legal proceeding 
where parties present evidence, including 
witness testimony, documents, and records, to 
the administrative law judge who evaluates the 
evidence to determine whether a student has 
received a free and appropriate public 
education. 

(16) "File" is defined by Rule .0102(2) of this 
Chapter. 

(17) "Five-day evaluation disclosure rule" means the 
requirement in 20 U.S.C. 1415(f)(2) and 34 
CFR 300.512(b) to disclose evaluations and 
recommendations based on those evaluations at 
least five business days before a hearing. 

(18) "Five-day evidence exchange rule" means the 
requirement in 34 CFR 300.512(a)(3) to 
exchange evidence, witness lists, and 
stipulations at least five business days before a 
hearing. 

(19) "Formal discovery" is defined in Article 5 of 
G.S. 1A-1, including Rules 26 (generally), 27 
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(depositions), 33 (interrogatories), 34 
(production of documents and entry upon land 
for inspection), 35 (physical/mental exams), 
and 36 (requests for admission). The mandatory 
document exchange and disclosures in Items 
(17) and (18) of this Rule, and Rule .0617 of 
this Section are not formal discovery. 

(20) "Free Appropriate Public Education (FAPE)" is 
defined by 34 CFR 300.17. 

(21) "Good cause" is defined in Rule .0118(a)(1) and 
(2) of this Chapter. 

(22) "Hearing Period" means the timeframe after the 
end of the Resolution Period until the issuance 
of a Final Decision, or other disposition of the 
case such as a voluntary dismissal, during 
which the Complaint is formally processed and 
all procedures are handled, leading to a Final 
Decision or voluntary dismissal, including legal 
motions and the evidentiary hearing. 

(23) "Individualized Education Program (IEP)" is 
defined by 34 CFR 300.22. 

(24) "Individuals With Disabilities Education 
Improvement Act of 2004 (IDEA)" is codified 
in 20 U.S.C. 1400 et seq. (2004), as amended. 

(25) "Lay advocate" means an individual not 
licensed by the State Bar of North Carolina, but 
who possesses special knowledge or training 
regarding the issues faced by children with 
disabilities. 

(26) "Local education agency (LEA)" is defined by 
G.S. 115C-106.3(11) and may also be referred 
to as the "school board," "public agency," or 
"Public School Unit (PSU)." For consistency, 
the LEA shall be referred to as the PSU in the 
rules of this Section. 

(27) "Manifestation determination review (MDR)" 
means the process of determining whether a 
child's conduct was a manifestation of the 
child's disability, as described in 20 U.S.C. 
1415(k)(1)(E). 

(28) "DPI Mediation" means mediations conducted 
by a DPI mediator pursuant to G.S. 115C-109.4 
and includes mediations held before or during 
the pendency of a special education Complaint. 

(29) "Mediation Request Form" means a form 
provided by DPI in which the parties request the 
appointment of a mediator by DPI. 

(30) "Notice of Insufficiency" is defined by 20 
U.S.C. 1415(c)(2)(A) and 34 CFR 300.508(d). 

(31) "OAH" or "Tribunal" means the hearings 
division of the North Carolina Office of 
Administrative Hearings, including the Clerk's 
Office and the administrative law judge 
assigned to preside over a special education 
contested case. 

(32) "Parent" is defined by 20 U.S.C. 1401(23) and 
34 CFR 300.30. 

(33) "Party" means the named individuals or groups 
engaged in DPI Mediation, the resolution 

process, or the hearing process, who have an 
interest in the outcome of a special education 
Complaint (excluding attorneys or lay 
advocates). 

(34) "Petitioner" means the party filing the 
Complaint, which may be a parent, individual 
with educational decision-making rights, or a 
PSU. Unless specified otherwise in the rules of 
this Section, "Petitioner" means a parent 
Petitioner 

(35) "Prior Written Notice" is as defined at 20 
U.S.C. 1415(c)(1). 

(36) "Prehearing Conference" means an informal 
meeting conducted by the administrative law 
judge with the parties to address issues in 
preparation for the hearing, as outlined in Rule 
.0108 of this Chapter. 

(37) "Public agency" is defined by 34 CFR 300.33. 
(38) "Public School Unit (PSU)" is defined by G.S. 

115C-5(7a). 
(39) "Record of the administrative proceeding" 

means the same as the Official Record defined 
by G.S. 150B-37. 

(40) "Resolution Form" means a form filed with 
OAH reporting the parties' decisions about 
whether to proceed to resolution, waive 
resolution for DPI Mediation, or not participate 
in a Resolution Session. 

(41) "Resolution Period" means the period 
following the initiation of the contested case, 
during which the parties may attempt to resolve 
the issues. The Resolution Period for a Regular 
FAPE Complaint is 30 calendar days from 
Respondent's receipt of the Complaint. The 
Resolution Period for an Expedited FAPE 
Complaint is 15 calendar days from filing with 
OAH. 

(42) "Resolution Session" is described in 20 U.S.C. 
1415(f)(1)(B). 

(43) "Resolution process" means the process 
described in 34 CFR 300.510. 

(44) "Respondent" means the party against whom 
the Complaint is filed, usually a PSU or SEA, 
but it may also be a parent of a child with a 
disability or an adult student. Unless specified 
otherwise in the rules of this Section, 
"Respondent" means a PSU or SEA. 

(45) "Response to Complaint" means the response 
the Respondent is required to file within 10 
calendar days of receiving a Regular FAPE 
Complaint if Respondent has not previously 
provided Petitioner with Prior Written Notice 
per 20 U.S.C. 1415(c)(2)(b). 

(46) "School day" means any day that children 
attend school for instructional purposes, 
including partial days. 

(47) "Serve" or "Service" means to simultaneously 
provide a copy of any document filed with 
OAH to the opposing party and the Due Process 
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Hearing Coordinator, as outlined in Rule 
.0102(a)(3) of this Chapter. 

(48) "Settlement Conference" means another IDEA 
mediation process available after a DPI 
Meditation as defined by Item (29) of this Rule 
has failed. A Settlement Conference shall be 
governed by Rules .0107 and .0611 of this 
Chapter. 

(49) "State Education Agency (SEA)" is defined by 
34 CFR 300.41 and is also referred to as the 
State Board of Education. 

(50) "Transcript" means a written document created 
by a court reporter that captures everything said 
during the hearing. 

 
Authority G.S. 7A-751;115C-109.5; 150B-22.1; 20 U.S.C. 
1415(k)(4)(B); 34 CFR 300.507. 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0603 FILING OF COMPLAINT AND 
SERVICE OF DOCUMENTS 
(a)  Initiating the Complaint Process. To begin the Complaint 
process, the Petitioner shall file the Complaint with OAH in 
accordance with Rule .0101(b) of this Chapter. 
(b)  Service of Complaint: 

(1) Service to Opposing Party. Petitioner shall 
serve the opposing party with a copy of the 
Complaint. If the Respondent is a Public School 
Unit (PSU) or State Education Agency (SEA), 
Petitioner shall serve either the superintendent 
or the exceptional children director of the PSU 
or SEA; 

(2) Service to the Due Process Hearing 
Coordinator. Petitioner shall serve a copy of the 
Complaint and all subsequent filings on the 
DPI's Due Process Hearing Coordinator; 

(3) Certificate of Service. Petitioner shall 
simultaneously file a Certificate of Service as 
evidence that the Complaint has been served on 
both the opposing party and the Due Process 
Hearing Coordinator. 

(c)  Service by Electronic Mail. The three-day period for service 
under G.S. 1A-1, Rule 6(e) does not apply to service by e-filing 
or electronic mail. 
(d)  No Additional Mailing Requirement for E-Filers. E-filers are 
not required to send an additional copy of the document to OAH, 
as specified in Rule .0101(b) of this Chapter. 
(e)  Certificate of Service Required. All subsequent documents, 
notices, and orders filed in the case shall include a Certificate of 
Service, confirming service to both the parties and the Due 
Process Hearing Coordinator. 
(f)  Form Requirements. All documents filed with the Office of 
Administrative Hearings shall comply with the form requirements 
outlined in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 10, and, if filed electronically, with 
the requirements in Section .0500 of this Chapter. 
 
Authority G.S. 7A-751; 115C-109.6; 150B-22.1. 
 

26 NCAC 03 .0604 CONTENTS OF A COMPLAINT 
(a)  Complaint Contents. A Regular FAPE Complaint and an 
Expedited FAPE Complaint shall comply with 34 CFR 
300.508(b) and the rules of this Section. A Petitioner may, but is 
not required to use, the model Complaint forms developed by the 
State Board of Education in accordance with G.S. 115C-107.2(d). 
In addition, the Petitioner shall file and serve a separate document 
that includes: 

(1) A clear delineation of the contested issue or 
issues, separate from general background 
information. 

(2) If applicable, the names and last known contact 
information of any person who may be subject 
to joinder as a party under G.S. 1A-1, Rule 19, 
including noncustodial parents and any 
individual or entity with educational decision-
making authority for the minor child. 

(b)  Non-Parent Filing on Behalf of a Student. When a non-parent 
files and serves a Complaint on behalf of a student, the Petitioner 
shall include a court order from the General Court of Justice or 
another signed and notarized document from the child's parents, 
legal guardians, or another authorized representative, granting the 
Petitioner legal authority to act on the child's behalf. 
(c)  Parent Filing on Behalf of an Adult Student. When a parent 
files and serves a Complaint on behalf of an adult student, the 
parent shall include proof of guardianship, power of attorney, or 
another written document granting him or her legal authority to 
act on the adult student's behalf. 
 
Authority G.S. 7A-751; 115C-109.6; 150B-23; 1A-1, Rule 19(c). 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0605 REGULAR FAPE COMPLAINT 
PROCESS 
In a Regular FAPE Complaint, the Petitioner, the Respondent, and 
OAH shall adhere to the following procedures after the Complaint 
is filed: 

(1) Notice of Contested Case and Assignment. 
Within two business days of receiving the 
Complaint, the Clerk's Office shall serve the 
Notice of Contested Case and Assignment (the 
"First Notice") to the parties and the Due 
Process Hearing Coordinator. 

(2) Acknowledgment of Complaint Receipt. 
Within one business day of receiving the 
Complaint from the Petitioner, the PSU or the 
designated agency representative shall 
electronically transmit a date-stamped copy of 
the Complaint to OAH and the Due Process 
Hearing Coordinator. 

(3) Notice of Mandatory Statutory Deadlines. 
Within one business day of receiving the date-
stamped copy of the Complaint, the Clerk's 
Office shall serve the parties with a Notice of 
Mandatory Statutory Deadlines for the 
Resolution Period and Hearing Period (the 
"Second Notice"). 

(4) Failure to Acknowledge Receipt of Complaint. 
If the PSU fails to acknowledge receipt of the 
Complaint as required in Item (2) of this Rule 
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within seven business days of the filing of the 
Complaint, the Clerk's Office shall file a Notice 
of Complaint, attach the Complaint, and serve a 
copy on the PSU. The timelines outlined in the 
rules of this Section and IDEA shall begin 
within three business days after service of the 
Notice of Complaint. 

(5) Alternative Evidence of Service. If the 
Petitioner provides evidence of the date of 
service (e.g., certified mail, tracking 
information with address, signed affidavit, or 
other method), the presiding administrative law 
judge may adjust the Resolution Period and 
Hearing Period accordingly. 

(6) Scheduling Order. Within five business days of 
the issuance of the Second Notice by the Clerk's 
Office, the presiding administrative law judge 
shall issue a Scheduling Order for the Hearing 
Period to the parties. 

(7) Scheduling of Evidentiary and Motion 
Hearings. The administrative law judge shall 
schedule the evidentiary hearing in accordance 
with G.S. 115C-109.6(d). Virtual evidentiary 
hearings may only be scheduled with the 
consent of both parties and in accordance with 
Rule .0120(g) of this Chapter. A motion hearing 
may be scheduled virtually at the discretion of 
the administrative law judge 

(8) Federal Timelines Compliance. To ensure 
compliance with the federal timelines set out in 
34 CFR 300.515(a), the administrative law 
judge shall: 
(a) Schedule a hearing date within 15 

calendar days after conclusion of the 
Resolution Period. To the extent 
possible, the hearing shall be held on 
consecutive business days. 

(b) Set deadlines for the Prehearing 
Conference, five-day evaluation 
disclosures, five-day evidence 
exchanges, filing of admitted exhibits, 
Proposed Final Decisions, and 
issuance of the Final Decision. 

 
Authority: G.S. 7A-751; 115C-109.6; 150B-33(b). 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0606 EXPEDITED FAPE COMPLAINT 
PROCESS 
The Expedited FAPE Complaint process follows the same 
procedures contained in Rule .0605 of this Section, except as 
stated below. The Petitioner, the Respondent, and OAH shall 
adhere to the following procedures with respect to an Expedited 
FAPE Complaint: 

(1) Expedited Deadlines. The timelines for 
scheduling the hearing, the Resolution Period, 
and the issuance of the Final Decision shall 
comply with expedited deadlines in 20 U.S.C. 
1415(k)(4)(B) and 34 CFR 300.532(c). 

(2) Failure to Acknowledge Receipt of Expedited 
Complaint. If the Respondent fails to 
electronically transmit a date-stamped copy of 
the Expedited FAPE Complaint to OAH within 
three business days of the filing, the Clerk's 
Office shall serve Respondent with a Notice of 
Expedited FAPE Complaint with the attached 
Complaint. 

(3) Notice of Expedited Contested Case. The 
Notice of Expedited Contested Case 
Assignment shall include the expedited 
deadlines as required by 34 CFR 300.532(c). 

(4) Order Setting Expedited Deadlines. Within one 
business day of acknowledgement or service by 
the Clerk's Office on the Respondent, the 
administrative law judge shall issue an Order 
Setting Expedited Deadlines for the 
adjudication of the case. 

(5) Prehearing Conference. The administrative law 
judge shall conduct a Prehearing Conference at 
least three business days before the expedited 
evidentiary hearing, and the parties shall 
comply with Rule .0615 of this Section in 
preparing the Proposed Prehearing Conference 
Order. 

(6) Filing of Exhibits and Proposed Final 
Decisions. The parties shall file their admitted 
exhibits and Proposed Final Decisions within 
five business days after the last day of the 
hearing. 

(7) Issuance of Final Decision. The Final Decision 
shall be issued within 10 school days after the 
last day of the hearing. 

 
Authority G.S. 7A-751; 115C-109.6; 150B-33(b); 20 U.S.C. 
1415(k)(4)(B). 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0607 PROCEDURES FOR 
BIFURCATION OF ISSUES 
(a)  Bifurcation of Regular FAPE Complaint and Expedited FAPE 
Complaint Issues. An administrative law judge, either on his or 
her own motion or upon the motion of a party, shall bifurcate the 
issues related to a Regular FAPE Complaint and an Expedited 
FAPE Complaint when they are combined in a single Complaint. 
In the event of bifurcation: 

(1) Issues related to the Expedited FAPE 
Compliant shall be adjudicated following the 
expedited resolution and hearing process as 
described in Rule .0606. 

(2) Issues related to the Regular FAPE Complaint 
shall be adjudicated following the regular 
resolution and hearing process in Rule .0605. 

(b)  Bifurcation of Other Issues in a Regular FAPE Complaint. A 
party may request bifurcation of other issues in a Regular FAPE 
Complaint either by mutual agreement, stipulation, or by filing a 
Motion to Bifurcate with OAH. 
(c)  If either party files a motion to bifurcate, the opposing party 
shall have five business days from the service of the motion to file 
a response. 
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Authority G.S. 7A-751(a); 115C-109.6; 150B-33. 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0608 CONSOLIDATION OF 
REGULAR FAPE COMPLAINTS 
(a)  Consent and Approval for Consolidation. With the consent of 
all parties and the approval of the Chief administrative law judge, 
multiple Regular FAPE Complaints shall be consolidated in 
accordance with Rule .0111 of this Chapter. However, 
consolidation shall not be used in lieu of amending a Complaint 
or to delay the hearing process. 
(b)  Scheduling After Consolidation. After consolidation, the 
parties shall confer with the presiding administrative law judge 
regarding the scheduling of the evidentiary hearing and 
adjustment of applicable timelines. A revised Consent Scheduling 
Order shall be issued, including the revised timeline for the 
issuance of the Final Decision. 
 
Authority G.S. 7A-751, 150B-33(b). 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0609 RESPONSE TO COMPLAINT, 
EXTENSIONS OF DEADLINE FOR THE RESPONSE 
(a)  Response Deadline. The opposing party shall file a Response 
to Complaint within 10 days of service of a Regular FAPE 
Complaint, unless the opposing party has previously provided 
Petitioner with a Prior Written Notice regarding the allegations. 
(b)  Extension of Response Deadline An administrative law judge 
may grant a motion for an extension of time to extend the response 
deadline for good cause or by mutual consent. In either case, the 
response deadline for a Regular FAPE Complaint shall initially be 
extended by no more than 10 days. The administrative law judge 
shall not grant any further extensions without the consent of both 
parties. 
(c)  Response to Expedited FAPE Complaint. No response is 
required to an Expedited FAPE Complaint. 
(d)  Impact on Notice of Insufficiency. An extension of the 
response deadline shall not affect the deadline for the filing of a 
Notice of Insufficiency. 
 
Authority G.S. 7A-751; 150B-33(b). 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0610 REQUESTS FROM PARTIES 
(a)  Motion Requirements. In addition to the requirements of Rule 
.0115 of this Chapter, any request for the administrative law judge 
to enter an order or act on behalf of any party shall be made in 
writing, through a motion filed in the record. With the 
administrative law judge's permission, an oral motion may be 
made on record during the hearing, and the opposing party shall 
be given an opportunity to respond before a ruling is made. 
(b)  Motion Content. A motion shall clearly state the reasons for 
the desired action and specify whether a hearing on the motion is 
being requested. A motion shall be decided without oral 
argument, unless a hearing is requested by either party. The 
administrative law judge has discretion to deny the request for a 
hearing if he or she finds a hearing would not aid in the decision-
making process. 
(c)  Pre-filing Communication. Before filing a motion, the moving 
party shall inform the opposing party about the basis of the 
motion. The parties shall attempt to resolve the need for the 

motion. If the parties are unable to reach resolution, the moving 
party shall include a statement in the motion to that effect. 
(d)  Response to Motion. Regardless of whether the administrative 
law judge requests a response to the motion, a response may be 
filed within 10 days of service. Replies to responses and sur-
replies shall not be filed without prior approval from the 
administrative law judge; otherwise, they shall be stricken from 
the record. 
(e)  Supporting Documentation. Upon filing, the motion and 
response shall include all supporting documentation, legal 
memoranda, and a proposed order. 
 
Authority G.S. 7A-751; 150B-33(3a). 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0611 OPTIONS FOR SETTLEMENT 
OF COMPLAINT 
(a)  Within the applicable timelines during the Resolution Period 
and Hearing Period for a Regular or Expedited FAPE Complaint, 
the parties may choose to participate in the following options: 

(1) a Resolution Session, 
(2) DPI Mediation, and 
(3) if DPI Mediation is unsuccessful, a Settlement 

Conference 
(b)  Waiver of Resolution Session for DPI Mediation. If the parties 
agree to waive the Resolution Session in accordance with 34 CFR 
300.506 and G.S. 115C-109.4 and participate in DPI Mediation, 
the Respondent shall file a Resolution Form noticing this 
decision. 
(c)  Request for DPI Mediation. If the parties agree to continue 
settlement negotiations after a Resolution Session or waive the 
Resolution Session to participate in DPI Mediation, they shall 
request the appointment of a DPI mediator through DPI's Due 
Process Hearing Coordinator and file a Mediation Request Form 
with both DPI's Due Process Hearing Coordinator and OAH. 
(d)  Notice of Mediation Date. Within 10 days of requesting the 
appointment of a DPI mediator, the parties shall file with OAH a 
Notice of Mediation Date or a Status Report if the mediation date 
has not yet been scheduled 
(e)  Status Report After Resolution Session or DPI Mediation. 
Within three days of the completion of a Resolution Session or 
DPI Mediation, the parties shall file with OAH a Status Report 
detailing the results. 
(f)  Request for Settlement Conference. After DPI Mediation has 
been attempted, the parties may file a joint motion requesting the 
appointment of an administrative law judge to hold a Settlement 
Conference pursuant to Rule .0107 of this Chapter. 
(g)  Report of Settlement Conference. Within three days of the 
completion of a Settlement Conference, the settlement 
administrative law judge shall file a Report of Settlement 
Conference. 
(h)  Enforceability of Written Agreements. A party may seek 
enforcement, through OAH, of a written agreement resulting from 
a resolution meeting, DPI Mediation, or Settlement Conference. 
This mechanism is not mandatory and cannot delay or deny a 
party the right to seek enforcement of the written agreement in a 
State court of competent jurisdiction, or a federal district court. 
 
Authority G.S. 7A-751; 115C-107.2(d); 115C-109.4(h)(4); 34 
CFR 300.537. 
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26 NCAC 03 .0612 EXTENSION OF THE 
RESOLUTION PERIOD 
(a)  No Extension in Expedited FAPE Complaints. No extension 
of the Resolution Period in an Expedited FAPE Complaint shall 
be allowed. 
(b)  Joint Motion for 30-Day Extension. Before the Resolution 
Period expires, the parties may jointly file a motion for a 30-day 
extension of the Resolution Period for a Regular FAPE 
Complaint. The administrative law judge shall grant further 
extensions for only the following reasons: 

(1) Finalization of a settlement agreement. 
(2) School board approval of a settlement 

agreement. 
(3) Additional time to obtain all necessary 

signatures. 
(c)  Impact of DPI Mediation or Settlement Conference on 
Resolution Period. The use of DPI Mediation or a Settlement 
Conference shall not affect the 30-day Resolution Period unless 
the administrative law judge grants a joint motion to extend the 
Resolution Period. 
(d)  Motion to Continue Hearing and Extension of Resolution 
Periods. If the parties jointly move for a continuance of the 
hearing deadline before the Resolution Period expires for 
settlement purposes, the motion shall be treated as a motion to 
extend the Resolution Period, which shall automatically extend 
the hearing deadlines. 
(e)  Extension Order Requirements. If an extension of the 
Resolution Period is granted, the administrative law judge shall 
specify: 

(1) the specific time period for the extension, 
(2) the end date of the Resolution Period, 
(3) the start date of the 45-day Hearing Period, and 
(4) the deadline for issuance of the Final Decision. 

 
Authority G.S. 7A-751; 150B-33(b). 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0613 CONTINUANCE OF HEARING 
PERIOD 
(a)  Expedited FAPE Complaints. No continuance of the hearing 
deadline shall be allowed for an Expedited FAPE Complaint. 
(b)  Motion for Continuance. After the Resolution Period ends and 
during the 45-day Hearing Period, either party may file a motion 
for a continuance of the hearing for good cause. However, the 
administrative law judge shall grant a further continuance only 
upon finding extraordinary cause exists. 
(c)  Motion Requirements. A motion to continue the Hearing 
Period shall include a Proposed Consent Scheduling Order, which 
sets deadlines for the following: 

(1) Expert witness designations. 
(2) Dispositive motions. 
(3) Prehearing Conference. 
(4) Court Reporter Contract. 
(5) Five-day evaluation disclosure and five-day 

evidence exchange. 
(6) Filing of admitted exhibits. 
(7) Proposed Final Decisions. 
(8) Final Decision issuance. 

(d)  Mediation or Settlement Conference Continuances. If 
continuance is requested and granted due to DPI Mediation or a 

Settlement Conference, the parties shall file the notices and Status 
Reports as required by Rules .0611 and .0612 of this Section. 
 
Authority G.S. 7A-751; 150B-33(b). 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0614 AMENDMENT OF COMPLAINT 
(a)  Allowable Amendments. Amendment of a Complaint shall 
only be allowed as prescribed by 20 U.S.C. 1415(c)(2)(E) and 34 
CFR 300.508(d)(3). 
(b)  Motion for Leave to Amend. The administrative law judge 
shall decide a motion for leave to amend a Complaint without 
response unless, within three business days of receipt of the 
motion, the Respondent files a response or files notice that it 
intends to respond. In its response, the Respondent shall 
demonstrate how the amendment of the Complaint would be 
prejudicial. 
(c)  Effect of Amendment on Pending Motions and Notices. Once 
an amended Complaint is filed, all pending motions and notices 
shall be considered moot. 
(d)  Resetting of Timelines. The filing of an amended Complaint 
shall reset the timelines for the Resolution Period and Hearing 
Period, and the administrative law judge shall issue an Amended 
Scheduling Order. 
 
Authority G.S. 7A-751;150B-33(b). 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0615 PREHEARING CONFERENCE 
(a)  Except as provided below, the Prehearing Conference shall be 
governed by Rule .0108 of this Chapter, and by Rule 7 of the 
North Carolina General Rules of Practice for the Superior and 
District Courts. 
(b)  Purpose and Requirements. A Prehearing Conference shall be 
held at least once before the evidentiary hearing to: 

(1) finalize the issues to be litigated; 
(2) establish the length of the hearing and the 

number of witnesses; 
(3) determine time limitations for each party's case; 
(4) discuss remaining matters not previously 

resolved; and 
(5) draft the Prehearing Conference Order. 

(c)  Timing of the Prehearing Conference. 
(1) The Prehearing Conference shall be held within 

two weeks prior to a Regular FAPE Complaint 
hearing; 

(2) The Prehearing Conference shall be held five 
business days prior to an Expedited FAPE 
Complaint hearing. 

 
Authority G.S. 7A-751; 150B-33(b). 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0616 RESERVED FOR FUTURE 
CODIFICATION 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0617 MANDATORY PRODUCTION 
OF EDUCATION RECORDS, DISCLOSURES, AND 
EVIDENCE 
Regardless of whether the parent or the PSU is the Petitioner or 
the Respondent, the following governs the exchange of education 
records, disclosures and evidence: 
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(1) Provision of Education Records by PSU. 
Within 10 calendar days of service of a Regular 
FAPE Complaint, and five calendar days of an 
Expedited FAPE Complaint, the PSU shall 
provide the parent with copies of the student's 
education records as defined in Rule .0602(12) 
of this Section. 

(2) Progress Monitoring and Email 
Communication Records. If all the progress 
monitoring and email communication records 
cannot be accessed within the timelines 
specified in Item (1) of this Rule, the PSU shall 
provide any accessible progress monitoring and 
email communication records. Any remaining 
records shall be provided at least 48 hours 
before a Resolution Session or DPI Mediation, 
if the Resolution Session is waived. 

(3) Provision of Education Records by Parent. 
Within 10 days of service of a Regular FAPE 
Complaint, or five days of an Expedited FAPE 
Complaint, the parent shall provide the PSU 
with copies of: 
(a) independent educational evaluations, 
(b) private school records, 
(c) service records for private related 

service providers, and 
(d) reimbursement documentation, or 

written releases for these records. 
If the parent cannot obtain these records within the timelines 
specified in this Item, he or she shall provide them at least 48 
hours before the Resolution Session or DPI Mediation, if 
resolution is waived. 

(4) Five-Day Evaluation Disclosure and Five-Day 
Evidence Exchange: The parties shall comply 
with the five-day evaluation disclosure and 
five-day evidence exchange requirements 
unless mutually agreed otherwise. If the parties 
agree to shorten either the five-day evaluation 
disclosure or the five-day evidence exchange 
period, they waive objections to timeliness and 
the introduction of the applicable disclosures. 

(5) Failure to Produce Required Documents: If 
either party fails to produce the records required 
by Items (1) through (4) of this Rule within the 
requisite time periods, the opposing party may 
file a motion to compel or a motion to exclude. 
If granted, the administrative law judge may 
exclude the records or impose sanctions, 
including attorney's fees, as allowed by G.S. 
115C-109.6(j), G.S. 1A-1, Rule 37, and Rule 
.0114 of this Chapter. 

 
Authority G.S. 7A-751; 150B-33(b); 34 CFR 300.613. 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0618 FORMAL DISCOVERY 
LIMITATIONS 
Beyond the mandatory disclosures required in Rule .0617 of this 
Section, formal discovery is available under the following 
conditions: 

(1) Mutual Agreement or Administrative Law 
Judge Approval. Formal discovery shall occur 
if the parties mutually agree to it, if it aligns 
with expert witness disclosures as outlined in 
Item (5) of this Rule, or if the administrative 
law judge grants prior approval. 

(2) Exhaustion of Informal Discovery. Informal 
means of obtaining materials shall be exhausted 
before formal discovery is sought. 

(3) Motion for Discovery Approval. If informal 
means are not productive, the party seeking 
discovery shall file for a motion requesting 
approval for formal discovery. The motion shall 
contain the following: 
(a) The reasons for the requested 

discovery. 
(b) Any prior attempts to obtain the 

material. 
(c) The unavailability of other means to 

obtain the material. 
(d) A proposed discovery scheduling 

order which shall complete discovery 
within the deadlines set by the IDEA. 

(4) Depositions of Minor or Incompetent Adult 
Children. Depositions of minor children or 
incompetent adult children require prior 
approval and are subject to conditions imposed 
by the administrative law judge. 

(5) Expert Witness Disclosure. Expert witness 
facts and opinions shall be obtained in 
accordance with G.S. 1A-1, Rule 26(a)(4). 
However, the deadlines for written report 
disclosures are as follows: 
(a) Regular FAPE Complaints. Written 

reports shall be disclosed at least 15 
days before the hearing. 

(b) Expedited FAPE Complaints. Written 
reports shall be disclosed at least five 
business days before the hearing. 

(c) Contradictory or Rebuttal Expert 
Evidence. Contradictory or rebuttal 
expert evidence is due within 10 days 
after the opposing party's disclosure 
for a Regular FAPE Complaint and 
three days after the opposing party's 
disclosure for an Expedited FAPE 
Complaint. These deadlines may be 
altered by mutual agreement or order. 

(6) Deposition Time Limitation. Depositions shall 
be limited to seven hours on record. 

(7) Noncompliance and Sanctions. Noncompliance 
with discovery deadlines or orders may result in 
sanctions, including attorney's fees, under G.S. 
1A-1, Rule 37 and Rules .0112 and .0114 of this 
Chapter. 

 
Authority G.S. 7A-751; 150B-33(b). 
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26 NCAC 03 .0619 TRANSCRIPT REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  Petitioner's Court Reporter Contract. At least five business 
days before the hearing, the Petitioner shall contract with a court 
reporter and file the OAH Court Reporter Contract for a special 
education hearing. 
(b)  Court Reporter Fees and Transcript Costs. DPI shall pay the 
court reporter's appearance fee, expenses, and the costs for the 
Petitioner's and OAH's non-expedited transcripts. 
(c)  Transcript Requests and Delivery. Transcript requests shall be 
made before the hearing adjourns. The court reporter shall provide 
the transcripts to the parties and submit the original transcript to 
OAH within 15 business days following the last day of the 
hearing. 
 
Authority G.S. 7A-761; 150B-37(b); 20 U.S.C. 1415(h)(3); 34 
CFR 300-512(c)(3). 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0620 PROPOSED FINAL DECISIONS 
Each Proposed Final Decision shall contain citations to exhibits 
and transcripts that support factual allegations. Citations shall 
refer to the specific bate-stamped page numbers in the exhibits 
and the volume, page, and line numbers of the transcripts. 

(1) Submission Deadline. Within 30 days of receipt 
of the hearing transcripts, or as otherwise 
ordered by the administrative law judge, each 
party shall submit a Proposed Final Decision. 

(2) Transcript Citation. The proper citation format 
for transcripts is:[volume number: page 
number: line numbers]. Note: for example, T 
vol 2 p 35:2-5. 

(3) Exhibit Labeling. The proper labeling and 
citations to exhibits are as follows: 
(a) Petitioner's Exhibits. Petitioner's 

exhibits shall be marked as: Pet'r Ex. 
1, Pet'r Ex. 2, etc. 

(b) Respondent's Exhibits. Respondent's 
exhibits shall be marked as: Resp't Ex. 
1, Resp't Ex. 2, etc. 

(c) Stipulations of Fact. Stipulations of 
fact shall be marked as: Stip. 1, Stip. 
2, etc. 

(d) Stipulated Exhibits. Stipulated 
exhibits shall be marked as: Stip. Ex. 
1, Stip. Ex. 2, etc. 

(e) Joint Exhibits. Joint exhibits shall be 
marked as: Jt Ex. 1, Jt Ex. 2, etc. 

(4) Offers of Proof. Offers of Proof shall be marked 
as follows: Petitioner's offers: Pet'r Offer 1, 
Pet'r Offer 2, etc. and Respondent's offers: 
Resp't Offer 1, Resp't Offer 2, etc. 

(5) Conclusions of Law Citation Requirements. 
Each Proposed Final Decision shall include 
conclusions of law with citations to legal 
authorities, in accordance with The Bluebook: 

A Uniform System of Citation (21st Edition). 
The Bluebook citation system is incorporated 
by reference, including any subsequent 
amendments or editions. The Bluebook may be 
purchased at https://www.legalbluebook.com/ 
for forty-six dollars ($46.00). 

 
Authority G.S. 7A-751; 150B-29(b). 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0621 FINAL DECISION 
(a)  Issuance Deadline. OAH shall issue the Final Decision 
separately to the parties or their attorneys on or before the 
deadline established in the final scheduling order, unless an 
extension is granted upon joint request of the parties. 
(b)  Appeal Information. The Final Decision shall include 
information on the judicial review process and advise the party 
seeking judicial review to file a copy of the Petition for Judicial 
Review in Superior Court or a copy of the Federal Complaint in 
the Federal District Court with the OAH. 
(c)  Redacted Version. Within 14 days of the issuance of the Final 
Decision, each party may file a redacted version of the Final 
Decision, indicating proposed redactions. 
(d)  Redacted Final Decision Filing. Within 30 days of the 
issuance of the Final Decision, a Redacted Final Decision shall be 
filed and published on the OAH website. The Redacted Final 
Decision shall conform to 34 CFR 300.32 and 34 CFR 99.3. 
 
Authority G.S. 7A-751; 150B-33(b); 150B-34. 
 
26 NCAC 03 .0622 JUDICIAL REVIEW 
(a)  Civil Action. Any party aggrieved by the Final Decision may 
bring a civil action in any State court of competent jurisdiction or 
federal district court of the United States. 
(b)  Filing in State Court. After filing a civil action in a State 
reviewing court, the aggrieved party shall file a copy of the 
petition for review with OAH within 10 days of initiating the 
review. The Clerk's Office shall forward the record of the 
administrative proceeding to the State court in accordance with 
G.S. 150B-37 and G.S. 150B-47. 
(c)  Filing in Federal District Court. After filing a civil action in 
federal district court, the aggrieved party shall file a copy of the 
federal district court complaint with OAH. Within the timeframe 
specified by the federal court, the parties are responsible for 
preparing the administrative record in compliance with Article IV 
of the North Carolina Rules of Appellate Procedure or as 
otherwise ordered by the federal district court judge. Once 
completed, the Clerk's office shall review and certify the record 
of the administrative proceedings, and the parties shall forward 
the record to the federal district court. 
 
Authority G.S. 7A-751; 150B-34; 150B-37; 150B-43; 150B-47. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission July 30, 2025 at 1711 New Hope Church 
Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 
should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 
addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 
should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 
RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Jake Parker (1st Vice-Chair) 

John Hahn Paul Powell (2nd Vice-Chair) 
Jeff Hyde Wayne R. Boyles, III 
Bill Nelson Christopher Loutit 

 Randy Overton 
 

COMMISSION COUNSEL 
Seth M. Ascher  984-236-1934 
Travis Wiggs  984-236-1929 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 July 30, 2025 September 25, 2025 
 August 28, 2025 October 30, 2025 

 
 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
Wednesday, July 30, 2025, 10:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 
 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters 
1. Gasoline and Oil Inspection Board - 02 NCAC 42 .0201 (Wiggs) 
2. Department of Labor - 13 NCAC 07F .0201 (Wiggs) 
3. Private Protective Services Board - 14B NCAC 16 .0701, .0707, .0801, . 1203, .1301, .1307, .1401, 

.1501, .1502 (Ascher) 
4. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02B .0733 (Ascher) 
5. Commission for Public Health - 15A NCAC 18C .1540 (Wiggs) 

IV. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed May 21, 2025 through June 20, 2025 
1. State Board of Elections (Ascher) 
2. Medical Care Commission (Wiggs) 
3. Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board (Wiggs) 
4. Board of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors (Wiggs) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting 

VI. Existing Rules Review  
• Review of Reports 

1. 02 NCAC 20B, 37 – Board of Agriculture (Wiggs) 
2. 02 NCAC 42 - Gasoline and Oil Inspection Board (Wiggs) 
3. 02 NCAC 59A, 59B, 59C, 59E, 59F, 59G - Soil and Water Conservation Commission (Wiggs) 
4. 02 NCAC 60A, 60B, 60C – Board of Agriculture (Wiggs) 
5. 07 NCAC 01, 02H, 02I, 02J - Department of Natural and Cultural Resources (Ascher) 
6. 07 NCAC 03 - Board of Trustees of the North Carolina Museum of Art (Ascher)   
7. 07 NCAC 05 - USS North Carolina Battleship Commission (Ascher)   
8. 17 NCAC 05 – Department of Revenue (Ascher)  
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9. 20 NCAC 03 - Local Government Commission (Wiggs) 
10. 21 NCAC 60 – Board of Refrigeration Examiners (Wiggs)  
11. 21 NCAC 63 - Social Work Certification and Licensure Board (Ascher) 

VII. Commission Business 
• Proposed 2026 RRC meeting schedule 
• Closed session, to consult with attorneys regarding CRC v. RRC and CJETS v. RRC; and BRIAN 

LIEBMAN, in his official capacity as CODIFIER OF RULES 
• Next meeting: Thursday, August 28, 2025 

 
 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

May 21, 2025 through June 20, 2025 
 

ELECTIONS, STATE BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 2 concern elections protests. 

Actions of County Board as to Election Protests 
Amend* 

 08 NCAC 02 .0110 

The rules in Chapter 9 concern conduct of vote recounts by county boards of elections. 

First Recount 
Amend* 

 08 NCAC 09 .0107 

Secondary Recounts 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 09 .0110 

The rules in Chapter 20 concern elections observers. 

Challenge to Appointment of an Observer 
Amend* 

 08 NCAC 20 .0101 

Appeal of Removal of an Observer from a Voting Site 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 20 .0102 

Identification of Observers 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 20 .0103 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 13F concern licensing of homes for the aged and infirm and include definitions (.0100); licensing 
(.0200); physical plant (.0300); staff qualification (.0400); staff orientation training, competency and continuing education 
(.0500); staffing (.0600); admission and discharge (.0700); resident assessment and care plan (.0800); resident care 
and services (.0900); medication (.1000); Resident's funds and refunds (.1100); policies; records and reports (.1200); 
special care units for alzheimer and related disorders (.1300); special care units for mental health disorders (.1400); use 
of physical restraints and alternatives (.1500); star rated certificates (.1600); administrator certification and renewal 
(.1700); and infection prevention and control (.1800). 

Rating Calculation 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13F .1604 

The rules in Subchapter 13G concern licensing of family care homes including definitions (.0100); licensing (.0200); the 
building (.0300); staff qualifications (.0400); staffing orientation, training, competency and continuing education (.0500); 
staffing of the facility (.0600); admission and discharge (.0700); resident assessment and care plan (.0800); resident 
care and services (.0900); medications (.1000); management and resident's funds and refunds (.1100); policies, records 
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and reports (.1200); use of physical restraints and alternatives (.1300); star rated certificates (.1600); and infection 
prevention and control (.1700).. 

Rating Calculation 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13G .1604 

INTERPRETER AND TRANSLITERATOR LICENSING BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 25 are from the Interpreter and Transliterator Board including general provisions (.0100); licensing 
(.0200); moral fitness for licensure (.0300); reporting and disclosure requirements (.0400); continuing education (.0500); 
administrative procedure (.0600); and sanctions (.0700).  

Schedule of Penalties 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 25 .0701 

ENGINEERS AND SURVEYORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR 

The rules in Chapter 56 concern the organization of the board (.0100); instructional programs (.0300); records and 
reports of the board, retention and dispositions (.0400); professional engineer (.0500); professional land surveyor 
(.0600); rules of professional conduct (.0700); firm registration (.0800); general business entities (.0900); temporary 
permit (.1000); seal (.1100); rulemaking proceedings (.1200); board disciplinary procedures (.1300); contested cases 
(.1400); fees (.1500); standards of practice for land surveying in North Carolina (.1600); and continuing professional 
competency (.1700). 

Surveying Procedures 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 56 .1602 

Global Positioning Systems Surveys 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 56 .1607 
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	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	Chapter 15 - Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission
	SUBCHAPTER 15C - INDUSTRY MEMBERS: RETAIL/INDUSTRY MEMBER RELATIONSHIPS: SHIP CHANDLERS: AIR CARRIERS: FUEL ALCOHOL
	SECTION .0100 - DEFINITIONS: APPLICATION PROCEDURES
	(a)  Who Files. Before any A winery, brewery, distiller, distillery, wholesaler, importer, bottler, vendor, distiller distillery representative, brokerage representative, salesman, supplier representative, or vendor representative sells, solicits orde...
	(b)  Application. Application Applicants may obtain forms for all ABC permits may be obtained from the North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission's office or website as set forth in 14B NCAC 15A .0102. Each person An applicant shall provide ...
	(1) the name, address, email address, last four digits of social security number, and telephone number(s) numbers of the applicant;
	(2) the mailing address and location address of the business for which a permit is desired, an application is submitted, including and the county and state where the business is located;
	(3) the name of the business and whether the business is a sole proprietorship, corporation, limited liability company, or partnership;
	(4) the trade name of the business;
	(5) the applicant's date of birth;
	(6) if the business is a corporation or limited liability company, the name and address of the person authorized to accept service of process of Commission notices or orders under G.S, 1A, pursuant to G.S. 1A, Rule 4(j);
	(7) if the applicant is a non-resident nonresident intending to operate a business in the State, the name and address of a resident of the State appointed as the applicant's attorney-in-fact in accordance with Chapter 32C of the General Statutes for p...
	(8) if the application is for a vendor representative, brokerage representative, distiller distillery representative, or supplier representative permit, authorization from the commercial permittee, brokerage, distiller. or distillery, or spirituous li...
	(9) that the applicant is in compliance with G.S. 18B-900(a)(3) through (8).

	(c)  Additional documentation. The following documents applicant shall submit the following completed, signed, notarized, and recorded, as applicable, recorded documents shall be attached to and submitted with an application, and shall be to be incorp...
	(1) for applicants applying on behalf of a business pursuant to G.S. 18B-900(c), the fingerprint card, Authority for Release of Information Form, and certified check, cashier check, money order, electronic payment, or credit card payment made payable ...
	(2) for applicants applying for brokerage representative, distiller distillery representative, or supplier representative permits, a certified copy of the applicant's State criminal history record check;
	(3) payment of applicable permit fees as authorized in 14B NCAC 15A .0104;
	(4) for businesses located in this State, a certified copy of any a recorded power of attorney registered in the county where the proposed licensed premises is located;
	(5) for corporations not already holding a permit in this State, a copy of the Articles of Incorporation and a notarized corporate certification of shareholders holding 25 percent or more of the shares of the corporation;
	(6) for limited liability companies not already holding a permit in this State, a copy of Articles of Organization and a notarized organizational certification of members owning 25 percent or more interest in the company. Additionally, if If the limit...
	(7) a black and white copy of applicant's current photo identification;
	(8) for a business located in this State, a copy or memorandum of the lease showing the applicant as tenant, a copy of the deed showing the applicant as the grantee or owner, or a copy of a management agreement with the owner or lessee of the permitte...
	(9) a Federal Employer Identification/ Identification or Social Security Number Verification Form.

	(d)  Salesmen, Representatives, Vendors To State Companies. All salesmen, Salesmen, vendor representatives, distiller distillery representatives, brokerage representatives, supplier representatives, and vendors shall further state on the permit applic...
	(e)  Wholesalers. In addition to the requirements set forth in Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule, before a wholesaler receives, possesses, transports, sells, delivers, or ships wine or malt beverages in the State, the vendor shall file with th...
	(f)  Liquor Importer/Bottler. In addition to the requirements set forth in Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule, a liquor importer/bottler applying for a permit shall submit a description of the operations of its business, which shall include the...
	(g)  Nonresident Vendors. In addition to the requirements set forth in Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule, a nonresident malt beverage vendor or vendor, a nonresident wine vendor vendor, or a nonresident spirituous liquor vendor applying for a ...
	(1) a copy of the Federal Basic Permit or Brewers Notice;
	(2) a statement of whether the business is a malt beverage vendor or a wine beverage, wine, or spirituous liquor vendor;
	(3) a statement whether the applicant has ever been disapproved by any a government agency for any an application to manufacture, use, store, rectify, bottle, distribute, sell, import, or transport distilled spirits, beer, malt beverages, or wine;
	(4) a statement whether the applicant has ever compromised, by payment of penalties or otherwise, any a violation of any federal or state laws relating to internal revenue or customs taxation of alcoholic beverages; and
	(5) certification of understanding that the applicant can shall only engage in activities authorized by the ABC laws of this State for the permit issued, and that before any wine or malt beverage no alcoholic beverages product may can be offered for s...

	(h)  Wine Producers. In addition to the requirements set forth in Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule, a wine producer applying for a permit shall submit a copy of the recorded deed or lease for the farming establishment that meets the requireme...
	(1) a survey or diagram of the farm, indicating the areas and acreage used in the production of grapes, berries, or other fruits for the manufacture of unfortified wine; or
	(2) an affidavit stating that the farm consists of at least five acres committed to the production of grapes, berries, or other fruits for the manufacture of unfortified wine, listing the acreage used for this purpose and its function.

	(i)  Wine Shippers. In addition to the requirements set forth in Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule, a wine shipper applying for a permit shall submit the following:
	(1) a description of the operation of the business;
	(2) a website address through which orders will be received;
	(3) a statement whether the applicant has ever been disapproved by any a government agency for any an application to manufacture, use, store, rectify, bottle, distribute, sell, import or transport distilled spirits, beer, malt beverages, or wine;
	(4) a statement whether the applicant has ever compromised, by payment of penalties or otherwise, any a violation of any federal or state laws relating to internal revenue or customs taxation of alcoholic beverages;
	(5) a statement whether the business entity holds a valid Federal Basic Permit, either as a Bonded Wine Cellar or Bonded Winery, and a copy of the Federal Basic Permit; and
	(6) a wine shipper brand listing consisting of all list identifying the brands of fortified and unfortified wines identified to be shipped into the State by the wine shipper, including the names of the common carriers used for shipping. The permitted ...

	For purposes of Article 13 of Chapter 18B of the General Statutes, the Beer Franchise Law, a distribution agreement between a supplier and wholesaler applies to all products distributed by the supplier under the same brand name. Different categories o...
	(a)  Determination of a product's brand shall be made by the Commission The Commission shall determine a product brand at the time the product is approved for sale in North Carolina and Carolina. shall not be affected by later Later changes in the man...
	(b)  For purposes of Bordeaux Chateau wine brought into North Carolina under the French negociant negoçiant system only, "brand" as defined in 14B NCAC 15C .0101(1) 14B NCAC 15A .0103 shall be determined based on the nonresident wine vendor or importe...

	SECTION .0200 - PRODUCT APPROVALS: LISTING PROCEDURES: PRODUCT LISTS
	(a)  All malt beverage products offered for sale in this State shall first be approved by the Commission. The Commission shall approve malt beverage products prior to the products being offered for sale in this State. The Commission shall provide blan...
	(b)  The Commission shall approve malt beverage products if:
	(1) the procedure for approval is complied with as required in Paragraph (c) of this Rule;
	(2) the analysis is within the limits as required in Paragraph (d) of this Rule;
	(3) the malt beverage product meets or exceeds the packaging requirements as required in 14B NCAC 15C .0301; and of Rule .0301 of this Subchapter; and
	(4) at the time of consideration, the Commission does not have evidence to suspect that the product:

	(c)  Procedure for Approval. To receive consideration for approval by the Commission for a new malt beverage product, an industry member shall comply with the following procedures:
	(1) submit a completed Label/Product Approval Form with a list of all container sizes being offered;
	(2) attach all malt beverage product labels that are specified on the Label/Product Approval Form to the Label/Product Approval Form;
	(3) upon request from the Commission, submit a sample of the product in a marketable container;
	(4) attach a copy of the Federal Label Approval Form (COLA) to the Label/Product Approval Form; and
	(5) submit required items to the Commission Product Section at products@abc.nc.gov. a non-refundable analysis fee in the form of a certified check, cashier's check or money order in the amount of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) for each new malt beverage...
	(6) forward all required items to the North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission, 4307 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-4307.

	(d)  All malt Malt beverage analyses shall be within the following limits:
	(1) a maximum 15 percent alcohol by volume;
	(2) a maximum 25 parts per million of total sulphur dioxide content; and
	(3) a maximum 100 parts per million of gallo tannins.

	(e)  All analyses Analyses of products submitted by industry members shall provide the following information in English:
	(1) the measured amounts listed in Paragraph (d) of this Rule;
	(2) the calories per 360 milliliters (12 ounces);
	(3) the specific gravity; and
	(4) the amount of any fortified stimulant per 360 milliliters (12 ounces).

	(f)  The Commission shall withdraw approval of a malt beverage product when the Commission has evidence to suspect that the product:
	(1) contains harmful or impure substances;
	(2) contains an improper balance of substances;
	(3) is a spurious or imitation product; or
	(4) is unfit for human consumption.

	The malt beverage product shall not be reapproved until the Commission has evidence that proves otherwise. The Commission shall not re-approve a malt beverage product until receipt of evidence that the basis for withdrawal of approval was corrected.
	(g)  A person possessing malt beverage products that have had the with approval withdrawn by the Commission shall have 60 days after notice of the withdrawal to sell or otherwise dispose of the malt beverage products.
	(a)  Except as provided in 14B NCAC 15B .0216 for special orders, all wine products offered for sale in this State shall first be approved by the Commission. the Commission shall approve wine products prior to the wine products being offered for sale ...
	(b)  The Commission shall approve a wine product if:
	(1) the procedure for approval is complied with as required in Paragraph (d) of this Rule;
	(2) it is a fortified wine product that the alcohol by volume is above 16 percent and no more than 24 percent;
	(3) it is an unfortified wine product that the alcohol by volume is 16 percent or less;
	(4) the wine product meets or exceeds the packaging requirements as required in 14B NCAC 15C .0301, and
	(5) at the time of consideration, the Commission does not have evidence to suspect that the product:

	(c)  Procedure for Approval. To receive consideration for approval by the Commission for a new wine product, an industry member shall comply with the following procedures:
	(1) submit a completed Label/Product Application Form;
	(2) submit separate Label/Product Application Forms for fortified and unfortified wine products;
	(3) attach all wine product labels that are specified on the Label/Product Application Form to the Label/Product Application Form;
	(4) upon request from the Commission, submit a 500 milliliter (or a larger size if 500 milliliter is not available) bottle of each product offered; and
	(5) attach a copy of the Federal Label Approval Form (COLA) to the Label/Product Application Form;Form.
	(6) submit a non-refundable analysis fee in the form of a certified check, cashier's check or money order in the amount of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) for each new wine product submitted, except if an analysis certified by a laboratory of the product...
	(7) forward all required items to the North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission, 4307 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-4307.

	(d)  If an analysis of a product is submitted, it shall provide at least the following information in English:
	(1) alcohol by volume (percent);
	(2) total acidity (g/100 cc as tartaric acid);
	(3) total sulphur dioxide content (ppm);
	(4) volatile acidity, exclusive of sulphur dioxide (g/100 cc as acetic acid);
	(5) alcohol-free soluble solids (degrees/Brix degrees/Balling);
	(6) identity and quantity of any added chemical preservative; and
	(7) the amount of any fortified stimulant per container.

	(e)  The Commission shall withdraw approval of a wine product when the Commission has evidence to suspect that the product:
	(1) contains harmful or impure substances;
	(2) contains an improper balance of substances;
	(3) is a spurious or imitation product; or
	(4) is unfit for human consumption.

	The wine product shall not be reapproved until the Commission has evidence that proves otherwise.
	(f)  A person possessing wine products that have had the approval withdrawn by the Commission shall have 60 days after notice of the withdrawal to sell or otherwise dispose of the wine products.
	(a)  All brands of spirituous liquor sold in this State shall have first been approved for listing and resale by the Commission. The Commission shall first approve spirituous liquor brands sold in this state for listing and resale.
	(b)  Listing Policy. In view of the fact that North Carolina is a monopoly state, the Commission is responsible for maintaining a wide range of spirituous liquor products and prices and a balanced selection between the various types of products. It is...
	(c)  Items shall be submitted to the Commission for consideration for listing, and will be considered only if they are offered on the prescribed forms by the distiller, rectifier, bottler or importer. The distillery, rectifier, bottler or importer sha...
	The Commission shall print prints a list of all brands of spirituous liquor that have been approved for sale in the state. The list, which includes container sizes and prices of all spirituous liquor products, is printed four times each per year, on F...
	Every industry member shall, upon Upon demand of the Commission, an industry member shall furnish samples at no cost to the Commission of any alcoholic beverage products manufactured, sold, or offered for sale in this State, for the purpose of analysis.
	When any a malt beverage or wine brand or product is transferred from one nonresident vendor, manufacturer or importer to another, the new vendor, manufacturer or importer shall, within 30 days of the acquisition of the brand or product, submit the fo...
	Compliance with this Rule is mandatory notwithstanding the fact that the product has been previously approved by the Commission.

	SECTION .0300 - PACKAGING AND LABELING OF MALT BEVERAGES AND WINE
	No industry member shall sell, offer for sale, or possess for the purpose of sale in this State wine or malt beverages shall be sold, offered for sale, or possessed for the purpose of sale in this State unless:
	(a)  All Industry members shall submit labels for malt beverage and wine products shall be submitted in duplicate to the Commission on an "Application for Label Approval Form," as required by Rule .0201 or .0202 of this Subchapter.
	(b)  Each person requesting label approval application shall furnish, in the application for label approval, contain the names and addresses of the manufacturer, bottler, and importer of the product.
	(c)  Notwithstanding Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule, holders of retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-1001(1), (2), (3), (4), or (16)(16), or (16a) that fill or refill growlers on demand shall not be required do not need to submit the labels requir...
	(a)  Containers that are prefilled by the manufacturer shall be affixed with Breweries that prefill containers with malt beverage labels that beverages shall affix labels that contain the following information in a form legible to the consumer: in com...
	(1) brand name of product;
	(2) name and address of brewer or bottler;
	(3) class of product (e.g., beer, ale, porter, lager, bock, stout, or other brewed or fermented beverage); as identified in Subpart I of 27 CFR Part 7;
	(4) net contents;
	(5) if the malt beverage is fortified with any stimulants, the amount of each (milligrams) stimulant by milligrams per container; and
	(6) the alcoholic beverage health warning statement as required by the Federal Alcohol Administration Act, 27 C.F.R. Sections 16.20 through 16.22. Subpart C of 27 CFR Part 16.

	(b)  Growlers that are filled or refilled on demand with malt beverages pursuant to Rule .0308 of this Section shall be affixed with a label or a tag Permittees who fill growlers with malt beverages, or refill on demand, pursuant to Rule .0308 of this...
	(1) brand name of the product dispensed;
	(2) name of brewer or bottler;
	(3) class of product (e.g., beer, ale, porter, lager, bock, stout, or other brewed or fermented beverage); as identified in Subpart I of 27 CFR Part 7;
	(4) net contents;
	(5) if the malt beverage is fortified with any stimulants from the original manufacturer, the amount of each (milligrams) stimulant in milligrams per container;
	(6) name and address of business that filled or refilled the growler;
	(7) date of fill or refill;
	(8) if the malt beverage is more than six percent alcohol by volume, the amount of alcohol by volume pursuant to G.S. 18B-101(9); and
	(9) the following statement: "This product may be unfiltered and unpasteurized. Keep refrigerated at all times."

	(c)  Growlers that are filled or refilled on demand pursuant to Rule .0308 of this Section shall be affixed with Permittees who fill growlers with malt beverages, or refill on demand, pursuant to Rule .0308 of this Section shall affix a label or tag t...
	(d)  All provisions of the CFR mentioned in this rule are hereby incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and editions, and may be accessed for free at https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-27/chapter-I/subchapter-A.
	(a)  All wine labels shall contain the following information, in a form legible to the consumer: Wineries that prefill containers with wine shall affix labels that contain the following information in compliance with Subpart D of 27 CFR Part 4;
	(1) brand name of product;
	(2) class and type, in conformity with Section .0400 of this Subchapter; type;
	(3) name and address of manufacturer, or bottler, except as otherwise provided in these Rules;
	(4) on for blends consisting of foreign and domestic wine, if any a reference is made to the presence of foreign wine, must include the exact percentage by volume of the foreign wine;
	(5) net contents (unless blown or otherwise permanently inscribed in the container); unless otherwise permanently blown or inscribed on the container; and
	(6) the alcoholic beverage health warning statement as required by the Federal Alcohol Administration Act, 27 C.F.R. Sections 16.20 through 16.22. Subpart C of 27 CFR Part 16.

	(b)  Exception for Retailer's Private Brand. In the case of wine bottles If wine is packaged for a retailer or other person under the person's private brand, the name and address of the bottler may be stated on another label affixed to the container, ...
	(c)  Imported Wines. The name and address of the importer of a foreign wine need not be stated on the brand label if it is stated upon another label affixed to the container.
	(d)  Growlers that are filled or refilled on demand with unfortified wine pursuant to Rule .0308 of this Section shall be affixed with a label or a tag Permittees who fill growlers with unfortified wine, or refill on demand, pursuant to Rule .0308 of ...
	(1) brand name of the product dispensed;
	(2) name of manufacturer or bottler;
	(3) class and type of product;
	(4) net contents;
	(5) name and address of business that filled or refilled the growler;
	(6) date of fill or refill; and
	(7) the following statement: "This product may be unfiltered and unpasteurized. Keep refrigerated at all times."

	(e)  Growlers that are filled or refilled on demand pursuant to Rule .0308 of this Section shall be affixed with Permittees who fill growlers with unfortified wine, or refill on demand, pursuant to Rule .0308 of this Section shall affix a label or tag...
	(f)  All provisions of the CFR cited in this rule are hereby incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and editions, and may be accessed for free at https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-27/chapter-I/subchapter-A/part-4/subpart-D.
	Every container of wine or malt beverages, including bottles, Bottles, barrels, casks, kegs, cans cans, or other closed receptacles, containers, irrespective of size or of the material from which made, composition, that is sold or offered for sale in ...
	No permittee nor his employee shall Permittees and their employees or agents shall not alter, mutilate, destroy, obliterate or remove obliterate, remove, or cover any mark, brand or a label on wine or malt beverages kept for sale in this State, State....
	(a)  As used in this Section, a "growler" is a rigid glass, ceramic, plastic, aluminum, or stainless steel container with a closure or cap with a secure sealing container, with a secured seal closure or cap, that is no larger than 4 liters (1.0567 gal...
	(b)  Malt beverages may be sold in growlers as follows:
	(1) Holders of only a brewery permit may sell, deliver, and ship growlers prefilled with the brewery's malt beverage for off-premises consumption provided a label is affixed to the growler has an attached label that provides the information as require...
	(2) Holders of retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-1001(1), (2), or (16)(16), or (16a) who do not hold a brewery permit shall not prefill growlers with malt beverage.
	(3) Holders of a brewery permit who also have retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-1001(1) may fill or refill growlers on demand with the brewery's malt beverage for off-premises consumption, provided the growler has an attached label as required by Ru...
	(4) Holders of retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-1001(1), (2), or (16)(16), or (16a) may fill or refill growlers on demand with draft malt beverage for off-premises consumption, provided the growler has an attached label as required by Rules .0303(b...

	(c)  Unfortified wine may be sold in growlers as follows:
	(1) Holders of only an unfortified winery permit may sell, deliver, and ship growlers prefilled with the winery's unfortified wine for off-premises consumption provided a label is affixed to the growler has an attached label that provides the informat...
	(2) Holders of retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-1001(3), (4), or (16)(16), or (16a) who do not hold an unfortified winery permit shall not prefill growlers with unfortified wine.
	(3) Holders of an unfortified winery permit who also have retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-1001(3) may fill or refill growlers on demand with the winery's unfortified wine for off-premises consumption, provided the growler has an attached label as ...
	(4) Holders of retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-1001(3), (4), or (16)(16), or (16a) may fill or refill growlers on demand with unfortified wine for off-premises consumption, provided the growler has an attached label as required by Rules .0304(d) a...

	(d)  Holders of retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-1001(1), (2), (3), (4), or (16)(16), or (16a) shall affix a label to the growler as required by Rules .0303(b) and (c), .0304(d) and (e), and .0305 of this Section to the growler when filling or refi...
	(e)  Holders of retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-1001(1), (2), (3), (4), or (16), (16), or (16a) may, in their discretion, refuse to fill or refill a growler, except in matters of discrimination pursuant to G.S. 18B-305(c).
	(a)  Except as permitted pursuant to Rules .0307(b) and (c) of this Section, permittee and permittee's employee shall fill and refill filling and refilling growlers shall only occur only on demand by a consumer.
	(b)  Growlers shall only be filled or refilled by a permittee or the permittee's employee. Only a permittee or permittee's employee shall fill or refill a growler.
	(c)  Prior to filling or refilling a growler, a permittee or the permittee's employee shall clean and sanitize the growler and its cap shall be cleaned and sanitized by the permittee or the permittee's employee using one of the following methods:
	(1) Manual washing in a three compartment sink:
	(2) Mechanical washing and sanitizing machine:

	(d)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (c) of this Rule, a permittee or the permittee's employee may fill or refill a growler may be filled or refilled without cleaning and sanitizing the growler, as follows:
	(1) Filling or refilling a growler with a tube as referenced by Paragraph (e) of this Rule:
	(2) Filling a growler with a contamination-free process:

	(e)  Permittee or permittee's employee shall fill or refill growlers Growlers shall be filled or refilled from the bottom of the growler to the top with a tube that is attached to the malt beverage or unfortified wine faucet and extends to the bottom ...
	(f)  When not in use, tubes to fill or refill growlers shall be immersed and stored in a container with liquid food grade sanitizer. Permittee or permittee's employee shall immerse and store tubes to fill or refill growlers in a container with liquid ...
	(g)  After filling or refilling a growler, a permittee or the permittee's employee shall seal the growler shall be sealed with a closure or cap.



	Title 15A – Department of Environmental Quality
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Wildlife Resources Commission intends to adopt the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10B .0502, .0504, amend the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10B .0203, .0206, .0503; 10C .0205, .0208, .0211, .0305, ....
	Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/n...
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.ncwildlife.gov/hunting/regulations/proposed-regulations
	Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2026
	Reason for Proposed Action:  Each year, the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission reviews and adjusts seasons, bag limits, and the land management regulations, as needed, to achieve conservation management goals, comply with statutory changes, and respon...
	Note: Italized text are previous rule changes adopted by the Commission and approved by the RRC with an effective date of 8/1/2025.
	Comment period ends:  September 15, 2025
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives wri...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	Chapter 10 - Wildlife Resources and Water Safety
	SUBCHAPTER 10B - HUNTING AND TRAPPING
	SECTION .0200 - HUNTING
	(a)  Open All Lawful Weapons Seasons for hunting deer:
	(1) Deer With Visible Antlers. Deer with antlers or spikes protruding through the skin, as distinguished from knobs or buttons covered by skin or velvet, skin, may be taken during the following seasons, including on game lands unless otherwise specifi...
	(2) Antlered or Antlerless Deer. Except on Game Lands, antlered or antlerless deer may be taken during the open seasons and in the counties and portions of counties listed in Parts (A) through (G)(E) of this Subparagraph.

	(b)  Open Archery Seasons for hunting deer:
	(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph and the bag limits set out in Paragraph (f) of this Rule, deer may be taken with archery equipment from Saturday on or nearest September 10 through the day im...
	(2) Restrictions

	(c)  Open Blackpowder Firearms Seasons for hunting deer:
	(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph, deer may be taken only with blackpowder firearms and archery equipment from two Saturdays preceding the first day of the open season for Deer with Visible An...
	(2) Restrictions
	(3) As used in this Rule, "blackpowder firearms" means any firearm, including any firearm with a matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap, or similar type of ignition system, manufactured before 1899, that cannot use fixed ammunition; any replica of this ...

	(d)  Open Urban Season for hunting deer:
	(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out in Subparagraph (3) of this Paragraph and the bag limits set out in Paragraph (e)(f) of this Rule, antlered or antlerless deer may be taken with archery equipment in participating cities in the St...
	(2) Participation. Cities that intend to participate in the Urban Season shall send a letter to that effect no later than April 1 of the year prior to the start of the Urban Season to the Executive Director or his designee at 1722 Mail Service Center,...
	(3) Restrictions:

	(e)  Open Youth Days for hunting deer. Antlered or antlerless deer may be taken with all lawful weapons by individuals under 16 years of age during the following days:
	(1) The fourth Saturday in September and the Sunday immediately thereafter in all counties; and
	(2) Thanksgiving Day and the Friday immediately thereafter in the counties listed in Part (a)(1)(D) of this Rule.

	(f)  Bag limits. The possession and season limit is six deer, two that may be deer with visible antlers and four that may be antlerless deer. Antlerless deer include males with knobs or buttons covered by skin or velvet as distinguished from antlers o...
	(g)  Deer Management Assistance Program. The bag limits described in Paragraph (f) of this Rule do not apply to deer harvested in areas covered in the Deer Management Assistance Program (DMAP) as described in G.S. 113-291.2(e) for those individuals us...
	(h)  Seasons for counties identified as Chronic Wasting Disease Management Areas shall be as specified in Rule .0502 of this Subchapter.
	(a)  The open season for gray and red squirrels is the Monday on or closest to October 15 through the last day of February. Gray squirrels may also be taken by hunting on the Monday following the closing of the open season for wild turkey in 15A NCAC ...
	(d)(b)  The daily bag limit for gray and red squirrels is eight in aggregate and there are no season or possession limits.
	(b)(c)  The open season for fox squirrels is the Monday on or nearest October 15 through January 31.
	(c)  Except on game lands, gray squirrels may also be taken by hunting on the second Monday in May through the fourth Monday in May.
	(d)  The daily bag limit for gray and red squirrels is eight in aggregate and there are no season or possession limits.
	(e)(d)  The daily bag limit for fox squirrels is one; the possession limit is two; and the season limit is 10.

	SECTION .0500 – CHRONIC WASTING DISEASE MANAGEMENT
	(a)  The following counties are CWD Management Areas:
	(1) Cumberland;
	(2) Forsyth;
	(3) Stokes;
	(4) Surry;
	(5) Wilkes; and
	(6) Yadkin.

	(b)  Prohibitions specified in Rule .0503 apply to the counties identified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
	(c)  Open seasons for hunting deer are as follows:
	(1) Special Early Season. Deer with antlers or spikes protruding through the skin, as distinguished from knobs or buttons covered by skin, may be taken on the fourth Saturday in August and the Sunday immediately following with a lawful weapon, includi...
	(2) All Lawful Weapons.
	(3) Archery Seasons. Antlered or Antlerless deer may be taken with archery equipment as authorized in 15A NCAC 10B .0116 on the Saturday on or nearest September 10 through the day immediately preceding the first open day of the Blackpowder Firearms Se...
	(4) Blackpowder Firearms Seasons. Antlered or Antlerless deer may be taken with archery equipment as authorized in 15A NCAC 10B .0116, and blackpowder firearms as defined in 15A NCAC 10B .0203(c)(3), from two Saturdays preceding the first day of the A...

	(d)  Seasons, bag limits, and programs specified in paragraphs (d) through (g) of Rule 10B .0203 of this Subchapter shall apply in the counties identified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
	(a)  Inside a surveillance area, placement of minerals or salt licks to purposefully congregate wildlife shall be prohibited. Placement of bait, food, or food product to purposefully congregate wildlife shall be prohibited from January 2 through Augus...
	(1) bird feeders specifically designed for nongame birds shall be allowed;
	(2) placement of bait, food, or food products to hunt during the urban archery season shall be allowed within the established season in participating municipalities; and
	(3) the placement of food specifically permitted by the Commission for scientific research, population management, and wildlife control may be allowed.

	(b)  White-tailed deer fawn rehabilitation is prohibited in a Surveillance Area.
	(c)  White-tailed deer fawns originating from within a Surveillance Area shall not be transported alive outside the Surveillance Area.
	(d)  No cervid carcass or carcass parts originating from inside a Primary Surveillance Area (PSA) or Secondary Surveillance Area (SSA) shall be transported outside of the county of origin, except:
	(1) meat that has been boned out so that no pieces or fragments of bone remain;
	(2) caped hides with no part of the skull or spinal column attached;
	(3) antlers, antlers attached to cleaned skull plates, or skulls free from meat or brain tissue;
	(4) cleaned lower jawbones with teeth or cleaned teeth;
	(5) finished taxidermy products and tanned hides;
	(6) carcass or carcass parts permitted by the Commission for disposal outside of the Surveillance Area;
	(7) carcass or carcass parts originating inside a PSA county may be transported into contiguous PSA counties; and
	(8) carcass or carcass parts originating inside a SSA county may be transported into contiguous SSA or PSA counties.

	(e)(d)  No person shall possess or use a substance or material that contains or is labeled as containing any excretion collected from a cervid, including feces, urine, blood, gland oil, or other bodily fluid for the purposes of taking or attempting to...
	(1) products labeled as containing synthetic analogs of cervid excretions;
	(2) natural substances labeled as being collected from facilities within North Carolina that have a valid Farmed Cervid License from the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Services;
	(3) natural deer urine products labeled as containing excretions from facilities within North Carolina that have a valid Farmed Cervid License from the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services; and
	(4) natural deer urine products labeled as containing excretions from facilities that meet all the following requirements:

	(a)  The final disposition of non-edible portions of cervid carcasses and carcass parts originating from North Carolina shall be:
	(1) in a lined landfill;
	(2) buried 3 feet below ground and 300 feet from a waterbody; or
	(3) lawfully left on the ground within the county of origin.

	(b)  This section shall not apply to cervid carcass parts that are lawful to possess pursuant to Rule .0124 of this Subchapter.


	SUBCHAPTER 10C - INLAND FISHING REGULATIONS
	SECTION .0200 - GENERAL REGULATIONS
	(a)  For purposes of this Rule, the following manners of take definitions apply:
	(1) "Natural bait" means a living or dead plant or animal, or parts thereof, or prepared substances designed to attract fish by the sense of taste or smell.
	(2) "Single hook" means a fish hook with only one point.
	(3) "Artificial lure" means a fishing lure that neither contains nor has been treated by a substance that attracts fish by the sense of taste or smell.
	(4) "Artificial fly" means one single hook dressed with feathers, hair, thread, tinsel, rubber, or a similar material to which no additional hook, spinner, spoon, or similar device is added.
	(5) "Youth anglers" are individuals under 16 years of age.

	(b)  For purposes of this Rule, 15A NCAC 10C .0316, and 15A NCAC 10D .0104, the following classifications and restrictions apply:
	(1) "Public Mountain Trout Waters" are the waters included in Paragraph (d) of this Rule and those designated in 15A NCAC 10D .0104.
	(2) "Catch and Release Artificial Flies and Lures Only Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout Waters where only artificial flies and lures having one single hook may be used. No trout may be possessed or harvested while fishing these streams. Waters ...
	(3) "Delayed Harvest Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout Waters where between October 1 and one-half hour after sunset on the Friday before the first Saturday of the following June, it is unlawful to possess natural bait, bait or use more than one...
	(4) "Hatchery Supported Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout Waters that have no bait or lure restrictions. Waters with this designation do not include tributaries unless otherwise noted. Fishing is prohibited from March 1 until 7 a.m. on the first...
	(5) "Special Regulation Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout Waters where watercourse-specific regulations apply. Waters with this designation do not include tributaries unless otherwise noted.
	(6) "Wild Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout Waters identified in this Rule or 15A NCAC 10D .0104. Only artificial lures having only one single hook may be used. No person shall possess natural bait while fishing these waters. Waters with this de...
	(7) "Undesignated Waters" are the other waters in the State. These waters have no bait or lure restrictions.

	(c)  Seasons, creel, and size limits. Seasons, creel, and size limits for trout are listed in Rule .0316 of this Subchapter.
	(d)  Classifications. This Paragraph designates waters in each county that have a specific classification. Waters on game lands are designated in 15A NCAC 10D .0104, unless otherwise indicated in this Paragraph. The other waters are classified as Unde...
	(1) Alleghany

	Big Pine Creek
	Bledsoe Creek
	Brush Creek from the N.C. 21 bridge to the confluence with the Little River, except where posted against trespassing
	Cranberry Creek
	Glade Creek
	Little River from 400 yards upstream of the S.R. 1128 bridge, marked by a sign on each bank, to McCann Dam
	Meadow Fork
	Pine Swamp Creek
	Piney Fork
	Prathers Creek
	The waters located on Stone Mountain State Park
	(2) Ashe County

	Big Horse Creek from the Virginia state line to Mud Creek at S.R. 1363, excluding tributaries
	Big Horse Creek from the S.R. 1324 bridge to the North Fork New River
	Helton Creek from 900 yards upstream of the S.R. 1372 bridge, marked by a sign on both banks to a point adjacent to intersection of N.C. 16 and S.R. 1536
	South Fork New River from the upstream end of Todd Island to the S.R. 1351 bridge
	Trout Lake
	Beaver Creek from N.C. 221 to the confluence of Beaver Creek and South Beaver Creek
	Big Horse Creek from Mud Creek at S.R. 1363 to the S.R. 1324 bridge
	Big Laurel Creek from the S.R. 1315 bridge to the confluence with the North Fork New River
	Buffalo Creek from the S.R. 1133 bridge to the N.C. 194-88 bridge
	Cranberry Creek from the Alleghany Co. line to the South Fork New River
	Nathans Creek
	North Fork New River from the Watauga Co. line to Sharp Dam
	Old Fields Creek from N.C. 221 to the South Fork New River
	Peak Creek from the upper boundary of the NCDA-NCSU Upper Mountain Research Station to Trout Lake
	Roan Creek
	Three Top Creek
	(3) Avery County

	Elk River, the portion on Lees-McRae College property, excluding the millpond
	Lost Cove Creek, the game land portion, excluding Gragg Prong and Rockhouse Creek
	Wilson Creek, the game land portion
	Boyde Coffey Lake
	Elk River from the S.R. 1305 crossing immediately upstream of Big Falls to the Tennessee state line
	Linville River from S.R. 1504 to the Blue Ridge Parkway boundary line, except where posted against trespassing
	Milltimber Creek
	North Toe River from Watauga St. to Roby Shoemaker Wetlands and Family Recreational Park, except where posted against trespassing
	North Toe River from S.R. 1164 to Mitchell Co. line, except where posted against trespassing
	Squirrel Creek
	Wildcat Lake
	Birchfield Creek
	Cow Camp Creek
	Cranberry Creek from the headwaters to the U.S. 19E, N.C. 194, bridge
	Gragg Prong
	Horse Creek
	Kentucky Creek
	North Harper Creek
	Plumtree Creek
	Roaring Creek
	Rockhouse Creek
	Shawneehaw Creek, the portion adjacent to Banner Elk Greenway
	South Harper Creek
	Webb Prong
	(4) Buncombe County

	Carter Creek, the game land portion
	Bent Creek from the headwaters Rich Branch to the N.C. Arboretum boundary line
	Cane Creek from the headwaters S.R. 2785 bridge to the S.R. 3138 bridge
	Corner Rock Creek from Little Andy Creek to the confluence with Walker Branch
	Dillingham Creek from Corner Rock Creek to Ivy Creek
	Ivy Creek from Dillingham Creek to the U.S. 19-23 bridge
	Lake Powhatan
	Reems Creek from Sugar Camp Fork to the U.S. 19-23 bridge, except where posted against trespassing
	Rich Branch from downstream of the confluence with Rocky Branch
	Stony Creek from the confluence of Carter Creek and Mineral Creek downstream to Dillingham Creek
	Swannanoa from the S.R. 2702 bridge near Ridgecrest River Walk Park in Black Mountain to the Wood Avenue bridge, at the intersection of N.C. 81 and U.S. 74A in Asheville, except where posted against trespassing
	(5) Burke County

	Henry Fork, the portion on South Mountains State Park
	Jacob Fork from Shinny Creek to the lower South Mountains State Park boundary
	Carroll Creek, the game land portion above S.R. 1405
	Henry Fork from the lower South Mountain State Park line to S.R. 1919 at Ivy Creek
	Linville River, the portion within Linville Gorge Wilderness area and the portion below Lake James powerhouse from the upstream bridge on S.R. 1223 to Muddy Creek
	Catawba River from Muddy Creek to the City of Morganton water intake dam
	The waters located on South Mountains State Park, except those waters identified in Parts (A) and (B) of this Subparagraph
	(6) Caldwell County

	Wilson Creek, the game land portion below Lost Cove Creek to Philips Branch
	Boone Fork Pond
	Buffalo Creek from the mouth of Joes Creek to McCloud Branch
	Joes Creek from the first falls upstream of S.R. 1574 to the confluence with Buffalo Creek
	Wilson Creek from Phillips Branch to Brown Mountain Beach Dam, except where posted against trespassing
	Yadkin River from the Happy Valley Ruritan Community Park to S.R. 1515
	Buffalo Creek from the Watauga Co. line to Long Ridge Branch including game land tributaries
	Joes Creek from the Watauga Co. line to the first falls upstream of the end of S.R. 1574
	Rockhouse Creek
	(7) Cherokee County

	Davis Creek from the confluence of Bald Creek and Dockery Creek to Hanging Dog Creek
	Hyatt Creek from Big Dam Branch to the Valley River
	Junaluska Creek from Ashturn Creek to the Valley River
	Shuler Creek from the Joe Brown Hwy, S.R. 1325 bridge, to the Tennessee state line
	Valley River from S.R. 1359 to the U.S. 19 Business bridge in Murphy
	Apalachia Reservoir
	(8) Clay County

	Fires Creek from Rockhouse Creek to the foot bridge in the USFS Fires Creek Picnic Area
	Buck Creek, the game land portion downstream of the U.S. 64 bridge
	Fires Creek from the foot bridge in the USFS Fires Creek Picnic Area to S.R. 1300
	Tusquitee Creek from Compass Creek to the lower S.R. 1300 bridge
	(9) Graham County

	Snowbird Creek from the USFS footbridge at the old railroad junction to USFS Rd. 2579
	Calderwood Reservoir from Cheoah Dam to the Tennessee state line
	Cheoah Reservoir
	Panther Creek from the confluence of Stand Creek and Rock Creek to Lake Fontana
	Santeetlah Creek from Johns Branch to Lake Santeetlah
	Snowbird Creek from USFS Rd. 2579 to the S.R. 1127 bridge
	Stecoah Creek from the upper game land boundary to Lake Fontana
	Tulula Creek from S.R. 1201 to the lower bridge on S.R. 1275
	West Buffalo Creek from the confluence of Squally Creek and Little Buffalo Creek downstream to Lake Santeetlah
	Yellow Creek from Lake Santeetlah hydropower pipeline to the Cheoah River
	Little Buffalo Creek
	South Fork Squally Creek
	Squally Creek
	(10) Haywood County

	West Fork Pigeon River from Queen Creek to the first game land boundary upstream of Lake Logan
	Cold Springs Creek from Fall Branch to the Pigeon River
	Jonathan Creek from upstream of the S.R. 1302 bridge to the Pigeon River, except where posted against trespassing
	Pigeon River from Stamey Cove Branch to the upstream U.S. 19-23 bridge
	Richland Creek from the Russ Avenue, U.S. 276, bridge to the U.S. 19 bridge
	West Fork Pigeon River from Tom Creek to Queen Creek
	(11) Henderson County

	North Fork Mills River, the game land portion below the Hendersonville watershed dam
	Broad River from the end of S.R. 1611 to the Rutherford Co. line
	Cane Creek from the railroad bridge upstream of the S.R. 1551 bridge to the U.S. 25 bridge
	Clear Creek from Laurel Fork to S.R. 1582
	Green River from the Lake Summit powerhouse to the game land boundary
	Hungry River from S.R. 1885 Little Hungry River to the Green River
	(12) Jackson County

	Flat Creek
	Tuckasegee River, the game land portion upstream of Tanasee Creek Lake, including the Duke Energy powerline corridor
	Tuckasegee River the portion upstream from the Clark property
	Tuckasegee River from downstream of the N.C. 107 bridge to the falls located 275 yards upstream of the U.S. 23-441 bridge, marked by a sign on both banks
	Balsam Lake
	Bear Creek Lake
	Cedar Cliff Lake
	Cullowhee Creek from Tilley Creek to the Tuckasegee River
	Dark Ridge Creek from Jones Creek to Scott Creek
	Greens Creek from Greens Creek Baptist Church on S.R. 1370 to Savannah Creek
	Savannah Creek from Shell Branch to Cagle Branch
	Scott Creek from Dark Ridge Creek to the Tuckasegee River, except where posted against trespassing
	Tanasee Creek Lake
	Tuckasegee River from John Brown Branch to the downstream N.C. 107 bridge
	Tuckasegee River from the falls located 275 yards upstream of the U.S. 23-441 bridge, marked by a sign on both banks, to the S.R. 1534 bridge at Wilmont
	Wolf Creek Lake
	Gage Creek
	North Fork Scott Creek
	Tanasee Creek
	Whitewater River from Silver Run Creek to the South Carolina state line
	Wolf Creek except Balsam Lake and Wolf Creek Lake
	(13) Macon County

	Nantahala River from Whiteoak Creek to the Nantahala hydropower discharge canal
	Burningtown Creek from Left Prong to the Little Tennessee River
	Cartoogechaye Creek from downstream of the U.S. 64 bridge to the Little Tennessee River
	Cliffside Lake
	Cullasaja River from Sequoyah Dam to the U.S. 64 bridge near the junction of S.R. 1672
	Nantahala River from Dicks Creek to Whiteoak Creek
	Nantahala River from the Nantahala hydropower discharge canal to the Swain Co. line
	Queens Creek Lake
	(14) Madison County

	Big Laurel Creek from the N.C. 208 bridge to the U.S. 25-70 bridge
	Shelton Laurel Creek from the N.C. 208 bridge at Belva to the confluence with Big Laurel Creek
	Spring Creek from the N.C. 209 bridge at the Hot Springs city limits to the iron bridge at end of Andrews Ave.
	Big Laurel Creek from Puncheon Fork to the S.R. 1318, Big Laurel Rd., bridge downstream of Bearpen Branch
	Big Pine Creek from the S.R. 1151 bridge to the French Broad River
	Little Ivy Creek from the confluence of Middle Fork and Paint Fork at Beech Glen to the confluence with Ivy Creek at Forks of Ivy
	Max Patch Pond
	Meadow Fork Creek from Meadow Fork Campground to Spring Creek
	Puncheon Fork from Wolf Laurel Branch to Big Laurel Creek
	Roaring Fork from Fall Branch to Meadow Fork
	Shelton Laurel Creek from the confluence of Big Creek and Mill Creek to the N.C. 208 bridge at Belva
	Shut-in Creek from the confluence of East Fork Shut-in Creek and West Fork Shut-in Creek to the French Broad River
	Spillcorn Creek from Baker Creek to the S.R. 1330 bridge
	Spring Creek from the junction of N.C. 209 and N.C. 63 to the confluence with Meadow Fork
	West Fork Shut-in Creek from the lower game land boundary to the confluence with East Fork Shut-in Creek
	(15) McDowell County

	Newberry Creek, the game land portion
	Catawba River, the portion adjacent to the Marion Greenway
	Curtis Creek, the game land portion downstream of the USFS boundary at Deep Branch
	Mill Creek from the U.S. 70 bridge to the I-40 bridge
	Armstrong Creek from the Cato Holler line downstream to the upper Greenlee line
	Catawba River from the Catawba Falls Campground to the Old Fort Recreation Park
	Little Buck Creek, the game land portion
	North Fork Catawba River from the headwaters to North Cove School at the S.R. 1569 bridge
	(16) Mitchell County

	Cane Creek from the N.C. 226 bridge to the S.R. 1189 bridge
	North Toe River from the U.S. 19E bridge to the N.C. 226 bridge
	Big Rock Creek from the headwaters to the N.C. 226 bridge at the S.R. 1307 intersection
	the S.R. 1325 bridge
	Cane Creek from S.R. 1219 to the N.C. 226 bridge
	East Fork Grassy Creek
	Grassy Creek from East Fork Grassy Creek to the mouth
	Little Rock Creek from the Green Creek bridge to Big Rock Creek, except where posted against trespassing
	North Toe River from the Avery Co. line to the S.R. 1121 bridge
	Green Creek from the headwaters to the Green Creek bridge, except where posted against trespassing
	Little Rock Creek the portion upstream of the Green Creek bridge, including the tributaries, except where posted against trespassing
	Wiles Creek from the game land boundary to the mouth
	(17) Polk County

	Green River from the Fishtop Falls Access Area to the confluence with Cove Creek
	Green River from the mouth of Cove Creek to the natural gas pipeline crossing
	North Pacolet River from Joels Creek to the N.C. 108 bridge
	(18) Rutherford County

	Broad River from the Henderson Co. line to the U.S. 64/74 bridge, except where posted against trespassing
	(19) Stokes County

	Dan River from the Virginia state line downstream to a point 200 yards below the end of S.R. 1421
	(20) Surry County

	Ararat River, the portion adjacent to the Ararat River Greenway downstream of the N.C. 103 bridge
	Mitchell River from 0.6 miles upstream of the end of S.R. 1333 to the lowermost bridge on S.R. 1330
	Ararat River from the S.R. 1727 bridge to River, the portion adjacent to the Ararat River Greenway upstream of the N.C. 103 bridge
	Big Elkin Creek from the dam 440 yards upstream of the N.C. 268 bridge to a point 265
	yards downstream of N.C. 268, marked by a sign on both banks
	Fisher River from the Virginia state line to the I-77 bridge
	Little Fisher River from the Virginia state line to the N.C. 89 bridge
	Lovills Creek from the U.S. 52 Business bridge to the Ararat River
	Pauls Creek from the Virginia state line to 0.3 miles below the S.R. 1625 bridge
	(21) Swain County

	Tuckasegee River from the U.S. 19 bridge to the Slope Street bridge
	Alarka Creek from the game land boundary to Fontana Reservoir
	Calderwood Reservoir from Cheoah Dam to the Tennessee state line
	Cheoah Reservoir
	Connelly Creek from Camp Branch to the Tuckasegee River
	Deep Creek from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park Boundary line to the Tuckasegee River
	Nantahala River from the Macon Co. line to the existing Fontana Lake water level
	(22) Transylvania County

	Davidson River from the headwaters to Avery Creek, excluding Avery Creek, Looking Glass Creek, Grogan Creek, Cedar Rock Creek and John Rock Branch
	East Fork French Broad River from East Fork Baptist Church to the 350 yards downstream S.R. 1107 of Whitmire Falls, marked by a sign on both banks bridge
	Little River from the confluence of Lake Dense to 100 yards downstream of Hooker Falls
	Davidson River from Avery Creek to the lower USFS boundary
	French Broad River from the confluence of the North Fork French Broad River and West Fork
	French Broad River to the Island Ford Rd., S.R. 1110, Access Area
	Middle Fork French Broad River from upstream of the U.S. 178 bridge to the French Broad River
	West Fork French Broad River from S.R. 1312 to confluence with North Fork French Broad River
	The waters located on Gorges State Park
	Whitewater River from Silver Run Creek to the South Carolina state line
	(23) Watauga County

	Laurel Creek from the confluence of North Fork Laurel Creek and South Fork Laurel Creek to Elk Creek, excluding tributaries
	Pond Creek from the headwaters to the Locust Ridge Rd. bridge, excluding the pond adjacent to Coffee Lake
	Lake Coffey
	Watauga River from the S.R. 1114 bridge to the Valle Crucis Community Park lower boundary
	Watauga River from the S.R. 1103 bridge to the confluence with Laurel Creek
	Beaverdam Creek from the confluence of Beaverdam Creek and Little Beaverdam Creek to an unnamed tributary adjacent to the intersection of S.R. 1201 and S.R. 1203
	Beech Creek
	Buckeye Creek from Buckeye Creek Reservoir dam to Grassy Gap Creek
	Buckeye Creek Reservoir
	Cove Creek from the S.R. 1233 bridge at Zionville to the S.R. 1214 bridge at Sherwood
	Dutch Creek from the second S.R. 1136 bridge to the mouth
	Elk Creek from the S.R. 1510 bridge at Triplett to the Wilkes Co. line, except where posted
	against trespassing
	Laurel Creek from the S.R. 1123 bridge at the S.R. 1157 intersection to the Watauga River
	Meat Camp Creek from the S.R. 1340 bridge at the S.R. 1384 intersection to N.C. 194
	Middle Fork New River from adjacent to the intersection of S.R. 1539 and U.S. 321 to the South Fork New River
	Norris Fork Creek
	South Fork New River from the canoe launch 70 yards upstream of U.S. 421 bridge to the lower boundary of Brookshire Park
	Stony Fork from the S.R. 1500 bridge at the S.R. 1505 intersection to the Wilkes Co. line
	Dutch Creek from the headwaters to the second S.R. 1136 bridge
	Howard Creek
	Maine Branch from the headwaters to the North Fork New River
	North Fork New River from the confluence with Maine Branch and Mine Branch to the Ashe Co. line
	Winkler Creek from the lower bridge on S.R. 1549 to the confluence with the South Fork New River
	(24) Wilkes County

	East Prong Roaring River from Bullhead Creek to the Stone Mountain State Park lower boundary
	Elk Creek from the Watauga Co. line to the lower boundary of the Blue Ridge Mountain Club
	Elk Creek, the portion on Leatherwood Mountains development
	Reddies River from the Town of North Wilkesboro water intake dam to the confluence with the Yadkin River
	Stone Mountain Creek from the falls at the Alleghany Co. line to the confluence with the East Prong Roaring River and Bullhead Creek
	Basin Creek from the S.R. 1730 bridge to the confluence with Lovelace Creek
	Bell Branch Pond
	Boundary Line Pond
	Cub Creek from 0.5 miles upstream of the S.R. 2460 bridge to the S.R. 1001 bridge
	Darnell Creek from the downstream ford on S.R. 1569 to the confluence with the North
	Fork Reddies River
	East Prong Roaring River from the Stone Mountain State Park lower boundary to the Low Meadows Lane bridge
	Fall Creek from the S.R. 1300 bridge to the confluence with South Prong Lewis Fork, except where posted against trespassing
	Middle Fork Reddies River from the headwaters to the bridge on S.R. 1580
	Middle Prong Roaring River from the headwaters to the second bridge on S.R. 1736
	North Fork Reddies River from the headwaters to the Union School bridge on S.R. 1559
	Pike Creek
	Pike Creek Pond
	South Fork Reddies River from the S.R. 1355 bridge to the confluence with the Middle Fork Reddies River
	South Prong Lewis Fork from Fall Creek to the U.S. 421 bridge adjacent to the S.R. 1155 intersection
	The waters located on Stone Mountain State Park, except East Prong Roaring River from Bullhead Creek to the Stone Mountain State Park lower boundary where Delayed Harvest Trout Waters regulations apply, and Stone Mountain Creek from the falls at the A...
	(25) Yancey County

	South Toe River from the headwaters to Upper Creek
	Upper Creek
	Cane River from Blackberry Ridge Rd. to the downstream boundary of Cane River County Park
	Bald Mountain Creek, except where posted against trespassing
	Cane River from Bee Branch, S.R. 1110, to Bowlens Creek
	Price Creek from the junction of S.R. 1120 and S.R. 1121 to Indian Creek
	South Toe River from Clear Creek to the lower boundary line of Yancey Co. Recreation Park, except where posted against trespassing
	Cattail Creek from the bridge at Mountain Farm Community Rd. to the N.C. 197 bridge
	Lickskillet Creek
	Middle Creek from the game land boundary to the mouth
	(a)  No person shall fish from March 1 to May 31 in the following restored floodplain sloughs connected to the French Broad River and Mud Creek in Henderson County:
	(1) Mud Creek slough Slough 1 at 35.403687 N, 82.531970 W connected to the French Broad River, located 0.25 miles upstream of Butler Bridge Rd. (S.R. 1345).
	(2) Mud Creek slough Slough 2 at 35.398380 N, 82.528750 W connected to the French Broad River, located 1.0 miles upstream of Butler Bridge Rd.
	(3) Mud Creek slough Slough 3 at 35.396449 N, 82.525462 W connected to Mud Creek, located 0.1 miles upstream from confluence with the French Broad River.
	(4) Pleasant Grove slough at 35.298384 N, 82.584716 W connected to the French Broad River, located 0.25 miles upstream from S.R. 1205, Etowah School Road.
	(5) King's Bridge slough at 35.377100 N, 82.530389 W connected to the French Broad River, located 0.6 miles downstream from N.C. Hwy 191, Haywood Road.

	(b)  Each slough shall be marked with signs on both banks.
	(a)  It shall be unlawful to transport, purchase, possess, sell, or stock in the public or private waters of North Carolina any live individuals of:
	(1) African longfin eel (Anguilla mossambica);
	(2) amur sleeper (Perccottus glenii);
	(3) applesnail (any species of the genus Pomacea);
	(4) Asian pond mussel (any species of the genus Sinanodonta)
	(4)(5) Asian swamp eel, swamp or rice eel (Monopterus albus);
	(5)(6) Australian red claw crayfish or red claw (Cherax quadricarinatus, or other species in the genus Cherax);
	(6)(7) bigclaw crayfish (Faxonius placidus);
	(7)(8) bighead carp (Hypophthalmichthys nobilis);
	(8)(9) black carp (Mylopharyngodon piceus);
	(9)(10) brown hoplo (Hoplosternum littorale);
	(10)(11) Chinese mysterysnail (Cipangopaludina chinensis);
	(11)(12) Creole painted crayfish (Faxonius palmeri creolanus);
	(12)(13) Crucian Carp (Carassius carassius);
	(13)(14) European eel (Anguilla anguilla);
	(14)(15) European minnow (Phoxinus phoxinus);
	(15)(16) European perch (Perca fluviatilis);
	(17) golden mussel (any species of the genus Limnoperna);
	(16)(18) Japanese mysterysnail (Cipangopaludina japonica);
	(17)(19) marbled Crayfish or Marmorkrebs (Procambarus virginalis or Procambarus fallax f. virginalis);
	(18)(20) olive mysterysnail (Viviparus subpurpureus);
	(19)(21) Oriental weatherfish (Misgurnus anguillicaudatus);
	(20)(22) piranha (any species of the genera Pristobrycon, Pygocentrus, Pygopristis, or Serrasalmus);
	(21)(23) Prussian Carp (Carassius gibelio);
	(22)(24) quagga mussel (Dreissena rostriformis bugensis) or any mussel in the family Dreissenidae;
	(23)(25) red shiner (Cyprinella lutrensis);
	(24)(26) red-rim melania (Melanoides tuberculatus or Melanoides tuberculata);
	(25)(27) redtail catfish (Phractocephalus hemioliopterus);
	(26)(28) round goby (Neogobius melanostomus);
	(27)(29) rudd (Scardinius erythropthalomus or Scardinius erythrophthalmus);
	(28)(30) ruffe (Gymnocephalus cernuus or Gymnocephalus cernua);
	(29)(31) rusty crayfish (Faxonius rusticus);
	(30)(32) shortfin eel (Anguilla australis);
	(31)(33) silver carp (Hypophthalmichthys molitrix);
	(32)(34) snakehead fish (from the Family Channidae, formerly Ophiocephalidae);
	(33)(35) tubenose goby (Proterorhinus marmoratus, Proterorhinus semilunaris, and Proterorhinus semipellucidus);
	(34)(36) virile crayfish (Faxonius virilis);
	(35)(37) walking catfish (any member of the genus Batrachus);
	(36)(38) white amur or grass carp (Ctenopharyngodon idella), except for triploid individuals as permitted in Paragraph (b) of this Rule;
	(37)(39) yellow bass (Morone mississippiensis); or
	(38)(40) zebra mussel (Dreissena polymorpha).

	(b)  A person may buy, possess, or stock grass carp that have been certified to be triploid or sterile, only for the purpose of controlling aquatic vegetation under a permit issued by the Executive Director or his or her designee based on an evaluatio...
	(c)  It shall be unlawful to transport, possess, or release live river herring, also known as alewife or blueback herring, in the waters of the Little Tennessee River in and upstream of Lake Santeetlah and Cedar Cliff Lake, including all the tributari...

	SECTION .0300 – GAME FISH IN INLAND FISHING WATERS
	(a)  The daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass is five fish, except in waters identified in Paragraphs (d), (e), (f), (l), (m), and (n)(n), and (o) of this Rule.
	(b)  There is no minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass, but only two of them may be less than 14 inches except in waters identified in Paragraphs (d) through (n)(o) of this Rule.
	(c)  There is no closed season, except in waters identified in Paragraph (n) of this Rule.
	(d)  In Lake Cammack in Alamance County, and Lake Holt in Granville County, the daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass is 10 fish and no more than two fish greater than 14 inches may be possessed.
	(e)  In Lake Santeetlah in Graham County, there is no daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass and Smallmouth Bass less than 14 inches. The daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass and Smallmouth Bass greater than 14 inches is five fish in aggregate.
	(f)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, Alabama Bass, and Spotted Bass is 10 fish in aggregate. The minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 12 inches.
	(g)  The minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 14 inches in the following waters:
	(1) Lake Raleigh in Wake County;
	(2) Lake Sutton in New Hanover County;
	(3) Pungo Lake in Washington and Hyde counties;
	(4) New Lake in Hyde County; and
	(5) Currituck, Roanoke, Croatan, Albemarle sounds, and their tributaries, including Roanoke River downstream of Roanoke Rapids Dam, Chowan River, Meherrin River, Yeopim River, Pasquotank River, Perquimans River, Little River, Big Flatty Creek, North R...

	(h)  In Cane Creek Lake in Union County, and Buckhorn Reservoir in Wilson and Nash counties, the minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 16 inches.
	(i)  In Lake Phelps in Tyrrell and Washington counties, the minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 14 inches, and no fish between 16 and 20 inches may be possessed.
	(j)  In Lake Hampton in Yadkin County, there is no minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass. No more than two Largemouth Bass less than 14 inches and no Largemouth Bass between 16 and 20 inches may be possessed.
	(k)  In Lake Thom-A-Lex in Davidson County, the minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 18 inches.
	(l)  In the Alleghany County portion of New River downstream of Fields Dam (Grayson County, Virginia), the daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass, Bass and Smallmouth Bass, and Spotted Bass is five fish in aggregate. There is no minimum size limit for ...
	(m)  In Lake Mattamuskeet and associated canals in Hyde County, the minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 16 inches and one Largemouth Bass greater than 20 inches may be possessed.
	(n)  In Jean Guite Creek and associated canals within the Town of Southern Shores in Dare County and in the ponds associated with Martin Marietta Park in Craven County, no Largemouth Bass may be possessed.
	(o)  In Lake Cammack in Alamance County, there is no daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass, and only five Largemouth Bass greater than 14 inches may be possessed.
	(a)  Hatchery-Supported Trout Waters.
	(1) The daily creel limit for trout in Hatchery-Supported Trout Waters is seven fish.
	(2) There is no minimum size limit. limit for these fish.
	(3) The open season is from 7 a.m. on the first Saturday in April until March 1, except in the reservoirs identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0205 where trout may be taken year-round. March 1, except for waters designated in Paragraph (g) of this Rule.

	(b)  Wild Trout Waters.
	(1) The daily creel limit for trout in Wild Trout Waters is four fish.
	(2) The minimum size limit for these fish is seven inches.
	(3) There is no closed season.

	(c)  Catch and Release/Artificial Flies and Lures Only Trout Waters. No trout shall be harvested from Catch and Release/Artificial Flies and Lures Only Trout Waters. Trout shall not be or possessed while fishing these waters.
	(d)  Delayed Harvest Trout Waters. The daily creel limit for trout in Delayed Harvest Trout Waters is seven fish. There is no minimum size limit for these fish. The Youth-only Delayed Harvest Trout Water Season is from 6:00 a.m. on the first Saturday ...
	(1) From October 1 to one-half hour after sunset on the Friday before the first Saturday in June, trout shall not be harvested or possessed while fishing these waters.
	(2) Only individuals under 16 years of age may fish from 6:00 a.m. on the first Saturday in June until 12 p.m. that same day.
	(3) The open season is from 12:00 p.m. on the first Saturday in June until September 30.

	(e)  Special Regulation Trout Waters. The daily creel limits, size limits, and seasons for trout in Special Regulation Trout Waters are as follows:
	(1) Apalachia Reservoir (Cherokee County)
	(2) Catawba River (Burke County) from Muddy Creek to the City of Morganton water intake dam

	(f)  Undesignated Waters.
	(1) The daily creel limit for trout in undesignated trout waters is seven fish.
	(2) There is no minimum size limit. limit for these fish.
	(3) There is no closed season.

	(g)  There is no closed season on taking trout from Linville River within Linville Gorge Wilderness Area and the impounded waters of the following power reservoirs and municipally-owned water supply reservoirs open to the public for fishing.
	(1) Bear Creek Lake;
	(2) Buckeye Creek Reservoir;
	(3) Calderwood Reservoir;
	(4) Cedar Cliff Lake;
	(5) Cheoah Reservoir;
	(6) Cliffside Lake;
	(7) Tanassee Creek Lake;
	(8) Queens Creek Lake; and
	(9) Wolf Lake.

	(h)  In designated Public Mountain Trout Waters the season for taking all species of fish is the same as the trout fishing
	season.
	(g)(i)  Trout water classifications designations and manners of take are set forth in 15A NCAC 10C .0205.
	(a)  The daily creel limit for white bass is 10 fish.
	(b)  There is a 14-inch no minimum size limit.
	(c)  There is no closed season.
	(a)  The daily creel limit for smallmouth bass is five fish, except in waters identified in Paragraphs (d) through (f) of this Rule.
	(b)  There is no minimum size limit for smallmouth bass, but only two of them may be less than 14 inches except in waters identified in Paragraphs (d) through (f) of this Rule.
	(c)  There is no closed season.
	(d)  In Lake Santeetlah in Graham County, there is no daily creel limit for largemouth bass and smallmouth bass less than 14 inches. The daily creel limit for largemouth bass and smallmouth bass greater than 14 inches is five fish in aggregate.
	(e)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit for largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, Alabama bass, and spotted bass is 10 fish in aggregate. There is no minimum size limit for smallmouth bass.
	(f)  In the Alleghany County portion of New River downstream of Fields Dam (Grayson County, Virginia), the daily creel limit for largemouth bass, bass and smallmouth bass, and spotted bass is five fish in aggregate. There is no minimum size limit for ...
	(a)  There is no daily creel limit for Alabama bass or spotted bass, except for waters identified in Paragraphs (d) and (e) Paragraph (d) of this Rule.
	(b)  There is no minimum size limit.
	(c)  There is no closed season.
	(d)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit for largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, Alabama bass, and spotted bass is 10 fish in aggregate.
	(e)  In the Alleghany County portion of New River downstream of Fields Dam (Grayson County, Virginia), the daily creel limit for largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, and spotted bass is five fish in aggregate. There is no minimum size limit for spotted b...


	SUBCHAPTER 10D - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS
	SECTION .0100 - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS
	(a)  For purposes of this Subchapter, the following definitions apply:
	(1) "Permanent Hunting Blind" means a structure that is used for hunter concealment, constructed from manmade or natural materials, and that is not disassembled and removed at the end of the day's hunt.
	(2) "Target shooting" means the discharge of a firearm for purposes other than hunting, trapping, or self-defense.
	(3) "Youth" means individuals under 16 years of age.

	(b)  Trespass. Entry on game lands for purposes other than hunting, trapping, or fishing shall be as authorized by the landowner. The Wildlife Resources Commission has identified the following areas on game lands that have additional restrictions on e...
	(1) Archery Zone. On portions of game lands posted as "Archery Zones" hunting is limited to archery equipment and falconry. During the open deer seasons for these areas, antlered and antlerless deer may be taken.
	(2) Safety Zone. On portions of game lands posted as "Safety Zones" hunting is prohibited. No person shall hunt or discharge a firearm or bow and arrow within, into, or across a posted safety zone on a game land. Falconry is exempt from this provision.
	(3) Restricted Firearms Zone. On portions of game lands posted as "Restricted Firearms Zones" the use of centerfire rifles is prohibited.
	(4) Restricted Zone. Portions of game lands posted as "Restricted Zones" are closed to use by the public, and entry on these areas is prohibited without written approval from the Wildlife Resources Commission. The Commission may authorize entry when t...
	(5) Temporary Restricted Zone. Portions of game lands posted as "Temporary Restricted Zones" are closed to use by the public, and entry is prohibited without written approval from the Wildlife Resources Commission. An area of a game land shall be decl...
	(6) Scouting-only Zone. On portions of the game lands posted as "Scouting-only Zones" the discharge of firearms or bow and arrow is prohibited.
	(7) Restricted Deer Hunting Zone. On portions of game lands posted as "Restricted Deer Hunting Zones" the use of dogs for taking deer is prohibited, except as allowed by permit as provided in G.S. 113-264(d).
	(8) Day Use Only Zone. On portions of game lands posted as "Day Use Only Zones" the use by the public shall be prohibited from sunset to sunrise.
	(9) Sensitive Habitat Zone. Portions of game lands posted as "Sensitive Habitat Zones" are closed to use by the public during the dates specified on the sign, and entry is prohibited without written approval from the Wildlife Resources Commission by c...

	The Commission shall conduct a public input meeting in the area where the game land is located before establishing the following zones: archery, restricted firearms, restricted deer hunting, day use only, or sensitive habitat. After the input meeting,...
	(c)  Littering. No person shall deposit litter, trash, garbage, or other refuse on any game land except in receptacles provided for disposal of refuse at designated camping and target-shooting areas. No garbage dumps or sanitary landfills shall be est...
	(d)  Use of weapons. No Except for archery equipment, as defined in Rule 10B .0116, no person shall discharge: discharge a weapon within 150 yards of:
	(1) a weapon within 150 yards of a game land building or designated game land camping area, except where posted otherwise; or
	(2) a weapon within 150 yards of a residence located on or adjacent to game lands. lands, except on Butner-Falls of Neuse and Jordan game lands; and
	(3) a firearm within 150 yards of a residence located on or adjacent to Butner-Falls of Neuse and Jordan Game Lands.

	No person shall hunt with or have in possession a shotgun shell containing lead or toxic shot while hunting on a posted waterfowl impoundment on a game land, except shotgun shells containing lead buckshot may be used while deer hunting. Individuals ca...
	(1) the firearm is a .22 caliber pistol with a barrel not greater than seven and one-half inches in length and shooting only short, long, or long rifle ammunition carried as a side arm;
	(2) the firearm is cased or not immediately available for use;
	(3) the firearm is used by persons participating in field trials on field trial areas; or
	(4) the firearm is possessed in designated camping areas for defense of persons and property.

	(e)  Game Lands License: Hunting and Trapping
	(1) Except as provided in Subparagraph (4) of this Paragraph, a person entering a game land to hunt, trap, run dogs, or train dogs using wildlife shall have in his or her possession a valid North Carolina hunting or trapping license.
	(2) For Commission-sanctioned field trials, active participants, as defined in 15A NCAC 10B .0114, in a field trial using wildlife shall possess a North Carolina hunting license, except non-residents may substitute hunting licenses from their state(s)...
	(3) For other field trials using wildlife occurring on game lands, judges and active participants shall possess a North Carolina hunting license.
	(4) Exceptions:

	(f)  Field Trials and Training Dogs. An individual or organization sponsoring a field trial on the Sandhills Field Trial area shall file an application with the Commission to use the area with the facility use fee computed at the rate of three hundred...
	(g)  Trapping. Subject to the restrictions contained in 15A NCAC 10B .0300, trapping of furbearing animals, armadillos, coyotes, and groundhogs is permitted on game lands during the open trapping seasons for those areas, established by rule. Foxes may...
	(1) on the J Robert Gordon Field Trial Area of Sandhills Game Land;
	(2) in posted "safety zones" located on a game land;
	(3) by the use of bait on the National Forest Lands bounded by the Blue Ridge Parkway on the south, US 276 on the north and east, and NC 215 on the west;
	(4) on the DuPont State Forest Game Lands; and
	(5) from April 1 through September 31.

	At a trap, trappers may use a single bait site of grain, fruit, or other foods when trapping if the food is not a processed food product as defined in G.S. 113-294(r), is less than 3 cubic inches and is covered to prevent it from being seen from above...
	(h)  Vehicular Traffic. No person shall drive a motorized vehicle on a game land except on roads constructed, maintained, and opened for vehicular travel and on trails posted for vehicular travel, unless the person:
	(1) is driving in the vehicle gallery of a scheduled bird dog field trial held on the Sandhills Game Land; or
	(2) is a disabled sportsman as defined in Paragraph (l) of this Rule or holds a Disabled Access Program Permit as described in Paragraph (l) of this Rule and is abiding by the rules described in Paragraph (k).

	(i)  Camping.
	(1) No person shall camp on a game land except on an area posted by the landowner for camping.
	(2) Camping on posted camping areas is allowed from September 1 through the last day of February and from March 31 through May 31 unless otherwise specified in Rules of this Subchapter.
	(3) On game lands owned by the State of North Carolina, where the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission is the primary custodian, the maximum period of consecutive overnight camping at a designated camping area is 14 days within any 30-day peri...
	(3)(4) A hunting, fishing, trapping or Game Lands License is required for individuals age 16 or older to camp on game lands in areas posted for camping except when camping within 100 yards of the Roanoke River on the state-owned portion of the Roanoke...

	(j)  Release of Animals and Fish. It is unlawful to release pen-raised animals or birds, wild animals or birds, domesticated animals, except hunting dogs and raptors where otherwise permitted for hunting or training purposes, or feral animals, or hatc...
	(k)  Non-Highway Licensed Vehicles. It is unlawful to operate motorized land vehicles not licensed for highway use on game lands except for designated areas on National Forests. Disabled persons as defined in Paragraph (l) of this Rule and people who ...
	(l)  Disabled Access Program. Disabled individuals who meet the requirements of G.S. 113-296 may obtain a Disabled Access Permit and Disabled Sportsman Hunt Certification online at ncwildlife.org. The Disabled Access Permit allows individuals to opera...
	(m)  Public nudity. Public nudity, including nude sunbathing, is prohibited on game lands, including land or water. For the purposes of this Section, "public nudity" means a person's intentional failure to cover with a fully opaque covering the person...
	(n)  Shooting Ranges. On public shooting ranges managed by the Commission, no person shall use designated shooting ranges for purposes other than for firearm or bow and arrow marksmanship, development of shooting skills, or for other safe uses of fire...
	(o)  Limited-access Roads. During the months of June, July, and August, roads posted as "Limited-access Roads" are open to motorized vehicles from 5:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. These roads shall be posted with the opening and closing times.
	(p)  No person shall attempt to obscure the sex or age of a bird or animal taken by severing the head or any other part thereof, or possess a bird or animal that has been so mutilated.
	(q)  Baiting. Except as provided in Paragraph (g) of this Rule, no person shall place, or cause to be placed on a game land, salt, grain, fruit, or other foods without written authorization from an agent of the Commission. Written authorization may be...
	(a)  Game lands are open to public fishing except:
	(1) restocked ponds when posted against fishing;
	(2) Hunting Creek Swamp Waterfowl Refuge;
	(3) Cedar Rock Creek, Grogan Creek, and John Rock Branch, in Transylvania County; and
	(4) private ponds where fishing is prohibited by the owners.

	(b)  No trotline, set-hook, net, trap, gig, or other special fishing device mentioned in 15A NCAC 10C .0404(b),(c),(d), and (f) may be used in impounded waters located entirely on game lands.
	(c)  Archery equipment may be used to take nongame fishes in impounded waters located entirely on game lands except for those waters mentioned in 15A NCAC 10C .0404(a).
	(d)  Waters located on the following game lands listed in this Subparagraph are designated as public mountain trout waters except as noted. waters:
	(1) Cold Mountain Game Land in Haywood County.
	(2) DuPont State Forest Game Lands in Henderson and Transylvania counties, except:
	(3) Green River Game Land in Henderson and Polk counties, except Green River downstream of the natural gas pipeline crossing.
	(4) Headwaters State Forest Game Land in Transylvania County.
	(5) Nantahala National Forest Game Lands in Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Jackson, Macon, Swain, and Transylvania counties, except Cheoah River downstream of Santeetlah Reservoir and Cherokee Lake.
	(6) Pisgah National Forest Game Lands in Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Haywood, Henderson, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Transylvania, Watauga, and Yancey counties, except:
	(7) Pond Mountain Game Land in Ashe County.
	(8) Little Fork State Forest Game Land in Wilkes County.
	(9) South Mountains Game Land in Burke, Cleveland, McDowell, Cleveland and Rutherford counties.
	(10) Three Top Mountain Game Land in Ashe County.
	(11) Thurmond Chatham Game Land in Wilkes County.
	(12) Toxaway Game Land in Transylvania County.
	(13) William H. Silvers Game Land in Haywood County.

	(e)  The designated public mountain trout waters located on the game lands listed identified in Paragraph (d) of this Rule are Wild Trout Waters unless classified otherwise in 15A NCAC 10C .0205(d).

	SECTION .0200 - USE OF GAME LANDS
	Bladen Lakes State Forest game land Game Land is a Three Days per Week Area, in which the following applies:
	Butner-Falls of Neuse game land Game Land is a Six Days per Week Area, in which the following applies:
	On the posted waterfowl impoundments a special permit is required for all waterfowl hunting after November 1.
	Buxton Woods game land Game Land is a Six Days per Week Area, in which the following applies:
	(a)  R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell Game Land is a Three Days per Week Area, in which the following applies:
	(1) Antlered or antlerless deer may be taken from the first open day of the All Lawful Weapons Season for Deer With Visible Antlers through the second Wednesday thereafter.
	(2) Horseback riding, including all equine species, is allowed seven days per week from May 16 through August 31, and on Sundays only, September 1 through May 15. Horseback riding is allowed on roads opened to vehicular traffic and on those gated road...
	(3) On the posted waterfowl impoundment, waterfowl hunting is by permit after November 1.
	(4) Camping is restricted to September 1 through the last day of February and March 31 through May 14. allowed on areas posted for camping as specified in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter.
	(5) Target shooting is prohibited, except at the R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell Shooting Range.

	(b)  Hunting shall be by permit for the following species in the area posted as the Caswell Small Game Focal Area:
	(1) quail and woodcock; and
	(2) rabbit and squirrel on days outside of the three days per week framework.

	Chowan Swamp game land Game Land is a Six Days per Week Area, in which the following applies:
	Goose Creek game land Game Land is a Seven Days per Week Area, in which the following applies:
	Gull Rock Game Land is a Seven Days per Week Area, in which the following applies:
	Holly Shelter game land Game Land is a Six Days per Week Area, in which the following applies:
	Johns River game land Game Land is hunting by permit only. The following shall apply:
	Jordan game land Game Land is a Six Days per Week Area, in which the following applies:
	(a)  Juniper Creek game land Game Land is a Seven Days per Week Area. The following applies:
	(1) Deer of either sex may be taken on all the open days of the Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(2) Camping is restricted to September 1 through the last day of February and March 31 through May 14 in allowed on areas both designated and posted as for camping areas. as specified in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter.
	(3) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday.

	Pee Dee River game land Game Land is a Seven Days per Week Area, in which the following applies:
	Roanoke River Wetlands is hunting and trapping by Permit only, in which the following applies:
	Sandhills game land Game Land is a Three Days per Week Area, in which the following applies:
	Shocco Creek game land Game Land is a Seven Days per Week Area, in which the following applies:
	South Mountains game land Game Land is a Seven Days per Week Area, in which the following applies:
	Suggs Mill Pond game land Game Land is hunting and trapping by permit only, in which the following applies:
	Thurmond Chatham game land Game Land is a Seven Days per Week Area, in which the following applies:
	Whitehall Plantation game land Game Land is hunting and trapping by permit only, in which the following applies:
	North Bend game land Game Land is hunting by permit only. The following shall apply:
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Wildlife Resources Commission intends to amend the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10C .0325; 10D .0249, and .0260.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.ncwildlife.gov/hunting/regulations/proposed-regulations
	Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2026
	Reason for Proposed Action:  Each year, the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission reviews and adjusts seasons, bag limits, and the land management regulations, as needed, to achieve conservation management goals, comply with statutory changes, and respon...
	10D .0260 and 10C .0325 are permanent versions of temporary rules currently before the RRC for approval at the 6/26/2025 meeting. The effective date of 1/1/2026 ensures no gap between the temporary and permeant versions.
	10D .0249 addresses violations to Duke Energy's USAEC permit at Mayo Game Land. This is of immediate concern and necessitates an expedited timeline.
	Comment period ends:  September 15, 2025
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives wri...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required



	Chapter 10 - Wildlife Resources and Water Safety
	SUBCHAPTER 10C - INLAND FISHING REGULATIONS
	SECTION .0300 – GAME FISH IN INLAND FISHING WATERS
	(a)  The daily creel limit for sea trout (spotted or speckled) is four three fish.
	(b)  The minimum size limit is 14 inches. inches, but no fish between 20 and 26 inches in length may be possessed and only one sea trout greater than 26 inches may be possessed.
	(c)  There is no closed season.


	SUBCHAPTER 10D - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS
	SECTION .0200 - USE OF GAME LANDS
	Mayo game land Game Land is a Seven Days per Week Area, in which the following applies:
	Pisgah game land Game Land is a Seven Days per Week Area, in which the following applies:



	Title 21 - Occupational Licensing Boards and Commissions
	Chapter 34 - Funeral Service
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Board of Funeral Service intends to amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 34D .0202.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://ncbfs.org/
	Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2025
	Reason for Proposed Action:  To offer more flexible options for obtaining continuing education on preneed funeral service.
	Comment period ends:  September 30, 2025
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives wri...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required
	SUBCHAPTER 34D - PRENEED FUNERAL CONTRACTS
	SECTION .0200 – LICENSING
	(a)  Individuals who hold either an active funeral director's license or an active funeral service license issued by the Board and who have taken three two or more hours of continuing education on preneed statutes and rules taught by Board staff withi...
	(b)  Only individuals who hold an active preneed sales license issued by the Board or resident trainees in funeral service or funeral directing registered with the Board as allowed by 21 NCAC 34B .0103 are permitted to engage in the following preneed ...
	(1) discuss with consumers written materials, including price lists and photographs, descriptive of the funeral services, funeral merchandise, the preneed funeral plan, or funeral contract being offered;
	(2) explain the various types of funeral ceremonies and services and the qualities and characteristics of various kinds of funeral merchandise;
	(3) sell, on a preneed basis, funeral services and merchandise;
	(4) record, on any form or otherwise, specific items of funeral services and merchandise selected on a preneed basis;
	(5) make funeral arrangements on a preneed basis; and
	(6) sign preneed contracts; provided, however, that the resident trainee and his or her licensed supervisor comply with 21 NCAC 34B .0103(e) when doing so.

	(c)  No preneed sales license is required for the sale of an insurance policy for which no funeral establishment or its representative is listed as the beneficiary or assignee of said policy. In connection with such a sale, the salesperson shall not b...
	(d)  An applicant shall apply for, renew, or surrender a preneed sales license in accordance with the following provisions:
	(1) A funeral establishment holding an active preneed establishment permit shall apply for, or renew, a preneed sales license by submitting the following to the Board on behalf of the applicant for a preneed sales license:
	(2) Either the preneed sales licensee or the preneed funeral establishment on whose behalf the preneed sales licensee is engaged in preneed funeral planning activities may surrender a preneed sales license by submitting notification of such surrender ...

	(e)  If a preneed sales licensee proposes to engage in preneed funeral planning activities on behalf of multiple preneed funeral establishment licensees that are not wholly owned by or affiliated with common ownership, the preneed sales licensee shall...
	(1) the date on which the preneed sales licensee will begin engaging in preneed funeral planning activities for multiple preneed funeral establishment licensees;
	(2) the date on which the preneed sales licensee will stop engaging in preneed funeral planning activities for multiple preneed funeral establishment licensees, if known;
	(3) the name, license number, and signature of the preneed sales licensee;
	(4) the name and signature of the licensed manager of each preneed funeral establishment licensee for whom the preneed sales licensee will engage in preneed funeral planning activities; and
	(5) an attestation from each of the individuals identified in Subparagraphs (3) and (4) of this Paragraph that:

	(f)  The Board shall issue to each preneed sales licensee a pocket card as certification of the preneed sales license. The preneed sales licensee shall carry the card while engaging in preneed funeral planning.
	(g)  The preneed sales licensee shall sign and affix his or her preneed sales license number to each preneed funeral contract, which he or she sells, in the presence of the purchaser of the contract at the time of sale.



	Chapter 58 - Real Estate Commission
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Real Estate Commission intends to amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 58A .0503.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  www.ncrec.gov
	Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2025
	Reason for Proposed Action:  Amend this rule to increase the real estate license renewal fee by $5.00, from $45.00 to $50.00.
	Comment period ends:  September 15, 2025
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives wri...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required
	SUBCHAPTER 58A – REAL ESTATE BROKERS
	SECTION .0500 - LICENSING
	(a)  All real estate licenses issued by the Commission under G.S. 93A, Article 1 shall expire on June 30 following issuance. Any broker desiring renewal of his or her license shall renew on the Commission's website within 45 days prior to license expi...
	(b)  During the renewal process, every individual broker shall provide an email address to be used by the Commission. The email address may be designated by the broker as private in order to be exempt from public records disclosures pursuant to G.S. 9...
	(c)  During the renewal process, every designated broker-in-charge shall disclose:
	(1) each federally insured depository institution lawfully doing business in this State where the trust account(s) for the broker-in-charge or the entity for which the broker-in-charge is designated is held, if applicable; and
	(2) any criminal conviction or occupational license disciplinary action that occurred within the previous year.




	Title 26 – Office of Administrative Hearings
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Office of Administrative Hearings intends to adopt the rules cited as 26 NCAC 03 .0601-.0622.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.oah.nc.gov/hearings-division
	Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2025
	Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Any member of the public who wishes to request a public hearing may submit a written request to OAH's rulemaking coordinator via email at brian.l...
	Reason for Proposed Action:  OAH seeks to adopt Section .0600 to govern the process of special education complaints arising under the federal Individual with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) (codified at 20 U.S.C. 1400, et seq.), its supporting regul...
	Comment period ends:  September 15, 2025
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives wri...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	Chapter 03 - Hearings Division
	SECTION .0600 – Special EDUCATION COMPLAINT PROCESS
	(a)  Applicability to Special Education Complaints. This Subchapter applies to special education Complaints filed in the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) pursuant to the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act of 2004 (I...
	(b)  Waiver of Rules. The presiding administrative law judge (ALJ) may waive the rules of this Section to promote the interests of justice or judicial economy. All waiver requests shall be by motion. In determining whether to grant a waiver, the presi...
	(1) the necessity of the waiver;
	(2) the party's responsibility for the conditions creating the need for the waiver;
	(3) the party's prior requests for a waiver;
	(4) the precedential value of such a waiver;
	(5) notice to and opposition by the opposing parties; and
	(6) the potential harm to the party if the waiver is not granted.

	(c)  The provisions of 34 CFR Part 300 are hereby incorporated by reference, including all subsequent amendments and editions. 34 CFR Part 300 is available online at no cost at https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-34/subtitle-B/chapter-III/part-300
	As used in this Section, the following terms have the meanings indicated:
	(a)  Initiating the Complaint Process. To begin the Complaint process, the Petitioner shall file the Complaint with OAH in accordance with Rule .0101(b) of this Chapter.
	(b)  Service of Complaint:
	(1) Service to Opposing Party. Petitioner shall serve the opposing party with a copy of the Complaint. If the Respondent is a Public School Unit (PSU) or State Education Agency (SEA), Petitioner shall serve either the superintendent or the exceptional...
	(2) Service to the Due Process Hearing Coordinator. Petitioner shall serve a copy of the Complaint and all subsequent filings on the DPI's Due Process Hearing Coordinator;
	(3) Certificate of Service. Petitioner shall simultaneously file a Certificate of Service as evidence that the Complaint has been served on both the opposing party and the Due Process Hearing Coordinator.

	(c)  Service by Electronic Mail. The three-day period for service under G.S. 1A-1, Rule 6(e) does not apply to service by e-filing or electronic mail.
	(d)  No Additional Mailing Requirement for E-Filers. E-filers are not required to send an additional copy of the document to OAH, as specified in Rule .0101(b) of this Chapter.
	(e)  Certificate of Service Required. All subsequent documents, notices, and orders filed in the case shall include a Certificate of Service, confirming service to both the parties and the Due Process Hearing Coordinator.
	(f)  Form Requirements. All documents filed with the Office of Administrative Hearings shall comply with the form requirements outlined in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 10, and, if filed electronically, with the requirements in Section .0500 of this Chapter.
	(a)  Complaint Contents. A Regular FAPE Complaint and an Expedited FAPE Complaint shall comply with 34 CFR 300.508(b) and the rules of this Section. A Petitioner may, but is not required to use, the model Complaint forms developed by the State Board o...
	(1) A clear delineation of the contested issue or issues, separate from general background information.
	(2) If applicable, the names and last known contact information of any person who may be subject to joinder as a party under G.S. 1A-1, Rule 19, including noncustodial parents and any individual or entity with educational decision-making authority for...

	(b)  Non-Parent Filing on Behalf of a Student. When a non-parent files and serves a Complaint on behalf of a student, the Petitioner shall include a court order from the General Court of Justice or another signed and notarized document from the child'...
	(c)  Parent Filing on Behalf of an Adult Student. When a parent files and serves a Complaint on behalf of an adult student, the parent shall include proof of guardianship, power of attorney, or another written document granting him or her legal author...
	In a Regular FAPE Complaint, the Petitioner, the Respondent, and OAH shall adhere to the following procedures after the Complaint is filed:
	The Expedited FAPE Complaint process follows the same procedures contained in Rule .0605 of this Section, except as stated below. The Petitioner, the Respondent, and OAH shall adhere to the following procedures with respect to an Expedited FAPE Compla...
	(a)  Bifurcation of Regular FAPE Complaint and Expedited FAPE Complaint Issues. An administrative law judge, either on his or her own motion or upon the motion of a party, shall bifurcate the issues related to a Regular FAPE Complaint and an Expedited...
	(1) Issues related to the Expedited FAPE Compliant shall be adjudicated following the expedited resolution and hearing process as described in Rule .0606.
	(2) Issues related to the Regular FAPE Complaint shall be adjudicated following the regular resolution and hearing process in Rule .0605.

	(b)  Bifurcation of Other Issues in a Regular FAPE Complaint. A party may request bifurcation of other issues in a Regular FAPE Complaint either by mutual agreement, stipulation, or by filing a Motion to Bifurcate with OAH.
	(c)  If either party files a motion to bifurcate, the opposing party shall have five business days from the service of the motion to file a response.
	(a)  Consent and Approval for Consolidation. With the consent of all parties and the approval of the Chief administrative law judge, multiple Regular FAPE Complaints shall be consolidated in accordance with Rule .0111 of this Chapter. However, consoli...
	(b)  Scheduling After Consolidation. After consolidation, the parties shall confer with the presiding administrative law judge regarding the scheduling of the evidentiary hearing and adjustment of applicable timelines. A revised Consent Scheduling Ord...
	(a)  Response Deadline. The opposing party shall file a Response to Complaint within 10 days of service of a Regular FAPE Complaint, unless the opposing party has previously provided Petitioner with a Prior Written Notice regarding the allegations.
	(b)  Extension of Response Deadline An administrative law judge may grant a motion for an extension of time to extend the response deadline for good cause or by mutual consent. In either case, the response deadline for a Regular FAPE Complaint shall i...
	(c)  Response to Expedited FAPE Complaint. No response is required to an Expedited FAPE Complaint.
	(d)  Impact on Notice of Insufficiency. An extension of the response deadline shall not affect the deadline for the filing of a Notice of Insufficiency.
	(a)  Motion Requirements. In addition to the requirements of Rule .0115 of this Chapter, any request for the administrative law judge to enter an order or act on behalf of any party shall be made in writing, through a motion filed in the record. With ...
	(b)  Motion Content. A motion shall clearly state the reasons for the desired action and specify whether a hearing on the motion is being requested. A motion shall be decided without oral argument, unless a hearing is requested by either party. The ad...
	(c)  Pre-filing Communication. Before filing a motion, the moving party shall inform the opposing party about the basis of the motion. The parties shall attempt to resolve the need for the motion. If the parties are unable to reach resolution, the mov...
	(d)  Response to Motion. Regardless of whether the administrative law judge requests a response to the motion, a response may be filed within 10 days of service. Replies to responses and sur-replies shall not be filed without prior approval from the a...
	(e)  Supporting Documentation. Upon filing, the motion and response shall include all supporting documentation, legal memoranda, and a proposed order.
	(a)  Within the applicable timelines during the Resolution Period and Hearing Period for a Regular or Expedited FAPE Complaint, the parties may choose to participate in the following options:
	(1) a Resolution Session,
	(2) DPI Mediation, and
	(3) if DPI Mediation is unsuccessful, a Settlement Conference

	(b)  Waiver of Resolution Session for DPI Mediation. If the parties agree to waive the Resolution Session in accordance with 34 CFR 300.506 and G.S. 115C-109.4 and participate in DPI Mediation, the Respondent shall file a Resolution Form noticing this...
	(c)  Request for DPI Mediation. If the parties agree to continue settlement negotiations after a Resolution Session or waive the Resolution Session to participate in DPI Mediation, they shall request the appointment of a DPI mediator through DPI's Due...
	(d)  Notice of Mediation Date. Within 10 days of requesting the appointment of a DPI mediator, the parties shall file with OAH a Notice of Mediation Date or a Status Report if the mediation date has not yet been scheduled
	(e)  Status Report After Resolution Session or DPI Mediation. Within three days of the completion of a Resolution Session or DPI Mediation, the parties shall file with OAH a Status Report detailing the results.
	(f)  Request for Settlement Conference. After DPI Mediation has been attempted, the parties may file a joint motion requesting the appointment of an administrative law judge to hold a Settlement Conference pursuant to Rule .0107 of this Chapter.
	(g)  Report of Settlement Conference. Within three days of the completion of a Settlement Conference, the settlement administrative law judge shall file a Report of Settlement Conference.
	(h)  Enforceability of Written Agreements. A party may seek enforcement, through OAH, of a written agreement resulting from a resolution meeting, DPI Mediation, or Settlement Conference. This mechanism is not mandatory and cannot delay or deny a party...
	(a)  No Extension in Expedited FAPE Complaints. No extension of the Resolution Period in an Expedited FAPE Complaint shall be allowed.
	(b)  Joint Motion for 30-Day Extension. Before the Resolution Period expires, the parties may jointly file a motion for a 30-day extension of the Resolution Period for a Regular FAPE Complaint. The administrative law judge shall grant further extensio...
	(1) Finalization of a settlement agreement.
	(2) School board approval of a settlement agreement.
	(3) Additional time to obtain all necessary signatures.

	(c)  Impact of DPI Mediation or Settlement Conference on Resolution Period. The use of DPI Mediation or a Settlement Conference shall not affect the 30-day Resolution Period unless the administrative law judge grants a joint motion to extend the Resol...
	(d)  Motion to Continue Hearing and Extension of Resolution Periods. If the parties jointly move for a continuance of the hearing deadline before the Resolution Period expires for settlement purposes, the motion shall be treated as a motion to extend ...
	(e)  Extension Order Requirements. If an extension of the Resolution Period is granted, the administrative law judge shall specify:
	(1) the specific time period for the extension,
	(2) the end date of the Resolution Period,
	(3) the start date of the 45-day Hearing Period, and
	(4) the deadline for issuance of the Final Decision.

	(a)  Expedited FAPE Complaints. No continuance of the hearing deadline shall be allowed for an Expedited FAPE Complaint.
	(b)  Motion for Continuance. After the Resolution Period ends and during the 45-day Hearing Period, either party may file a motion for a continuance of the hearing for good cause. However, the administrative law judge shall grant a further continuance...
	(c)  Motion Requirements. A motion to continue the Hearing Period shall include a Proposed Consent Scheduling Order, which sets deadlines for the following:
	(1) Expert witness designations.
	(2) Dispositive motions.
	(3) Prehearing Conference.
	(4) Court Reporter Contract.
	(5) Five-day evaluation disclosure and five-day evidence exchange.
	(6) Filing of admitted exhibits.
	(7) Proposed Final Decisions.
	(8) Final Decision issuance.

	(d)  Mediation or Settlement Conference Continuances. If continuance is requested and granted due to DPI Mediation or a Settlement Conference, the parties shall file the notices and Status Reports as required by Rules .0611 and .0612 of this Section.
	(a)  Allowable Amendments. Amendment of a Complaint shall only be allowed as prescribed by 20 U.S.C. 1415(c)(2)(E) and 34 CFR 300.508(d)(3).
	(b)  Motion for Leave to Amend. The administrative law judge shall decide a motion for leave to amend a Complaint without response unless, within three business days of receipt of the motion, the Respondent files a response or files notice that it int...
	(c)  Effect of Amendment on Pending Motions and Notices. Once an amended Complaint is filed, all pending motions and notices shall be considered moot.
	(d)  Resetting of Timelines. The filing of an amended Complaint shall reset the timelines for the Resolution Period and Hearing Period, and the administrative law judge shall issue an Amended Scheduling Order.
	(a)  Except as provided below, the Prehearing Conference shall be governed by Rule .0108 of this Chapter, and by Rule 7 of the North Carolina General Rules of Practice for the Superior and District Courts.
	(b)  Purpose and Requirements. A Prehearing Conference shall be held at least once before the evidentiary hearing to:
	(1) finalize the issues to be litigated;
	(2) establish the length of the hearing and the number of witnesses;
	(3) determine time limitations for each party's case;
	(4) discuss remaining matters not previously resolved; and
	(5) draft the Prehearing Conference Order.

	(c)  Timing of the Prehearing Conference.
	(1) The Prehearing Conference shall be held within two weeks prior to a Regular FAPE Complaint hearing;
	(2) The Prehearing Conference shall be held five business days prior to an Expedited FAPE Complaint hearing.

	Regardless of whether the parent or the PSU is the Petitioner or the Respondent, the following governs the exchange of education records, disclosures and evidence:
	If the parent cannot obtain these records within the timelines specified in this Item, he or she shall provide them at least 48 hours before the Resolution Session or DPI Mediation, if resolution is waived.
	Beyond the mandatory disclosures required in Rule .0617 of this Section, formal discovery is available under the following conditions:
	(a)  Petitioner's Court Reporter Contract. At least five business days before the hearing, the Petitioner shall contract with a court reporter and file the OAH Court Reporter Contract for a special education hearing.
	(b)  Court Reporter Fees and Transcript Costs. DPI shall pay the court reporter's appearance fee, expenses, and the costs for the Petitioner's and OAH's non-expedited transcripts.
	(c)  Transcript Requests and Delivery. Transcript requests shall be made before the hearing adjourns. The court reporter shall provide the transcripts to the parties and submit the original transcript to OAH within 15 business days following the last ...
	Each Proposed Final Decision shall contain citations to exhibits and transcripts that support factual allegations. Citations shall refer to the specific bate-stamped page numbers in the exhibits and the volume, page, and line numbers of the transcripts.
	(a)  Issuance Deadline. OAH shall issue the Final Decision separately to the parties or their attorneys on or before the deadline established in the final scheduling order, unless an extension is granted upon joint request of the parties.
	(b)  Appeal Information. The Final Decision shall include information on the judicial review process and advise the party seeking judicial review to file a copy of the Petition for Judicial Review in Superior Court or a copy of the Federal Complaint i...
	(c)  Redacted Version. Within 14 days of the issuance of the Final Decision, each party may file a redacted version of the Final Decision, indicating proposed redactions.
	(d)  Redacted Final Decision Filing. Within 30 days of the issuance of the Final Decision, a Redacted Final Decision shall be filed and published on the OAH website. The Redacted Final Decision shall conform to 34 CFR 300.32 and 34 CFR 99.3.
	(a)  Civil Action. Any party aggrieved by the Final Decision may bring a civil action in any State court of competent jurisdiction or federal district court of the United States.
	(b)  Filing in State Court. After filing a civil action in a State reviewing court, the aggrieved party shall file a copy of the petition for review with OAH within 10 days of initiating the review. The Clerk's Office shall forward the record of the a...
	(c)  Filing in Federal District Court. After filing a civil action in federal district court, the aggrieved party shall file a copy of the federal district court complaint with OAH. Within the timeframe specified by the federal court, the parties are ...


	AGENDA
	 Review of Reports
	1. 02 NCAC 20B, 37 – Board of Agriculture (Wiggs)
	2. 02 NCAC 42 - Gasoline and Oil Inspection Board (Wiggs)
	3. 02 NCAC 59A, 59B, 59C, 59E, 59F, 59G - Soil and Water Conservation Commission (Wiggs)
	4. 02 NCAC 60A, 60B, 60C – Board of Agriculture (Wiggs)
	5. 07 NCAC 01, 02H, 02I, 02J - Department of Natural and Cultural Resources (Ascher)
	6. 07 NCAC 03 - Board of Trustees of the North Carolina Museum of Art (Ascher)
	7. 07 NCAC 05 - USS North Carolina Battleship Commission (Ascher)
	8. 17 NCAC 05 – Department of Revenue (Ascher)
	9. 20 NCAC 03 - Local Government Commission (Wiggs)
	10. 21 NCAC 60 – Board of Refrigeration Examiners (Wiggs)
	11. 21 NCAC 63 - Social Work Certification and Licensure Board (Ascher)


