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Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6. 
 

 
GENERAL 

 
The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 
a month and contains the following information 
submitted for publication by a state agency: 
(1) temporary rules; 
(2) text of proposed rules; 
(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 
(4) emergency rules 
(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 
(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 
G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 
determines to be helpful to the public. 

 
COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 
the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 
is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 
is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 
holiday, in which event the period runs until the 
preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 
State holiday. 

 
FILING DEADLINES 

 
ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 
fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 
month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 
employees mandated by the State Human Resources 
Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 
Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 
published on the day of that month after the first or 
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 
State employees. 
 
LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 
NOTICE OF TEXT 

 
EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 
date shall be at least 15 days but not later than 60 days 
after the date a notice of the hearing is published. 
 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 
proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 
published. 
 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 
COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 
by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 
date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 
the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 
Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 

 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 
SERVICES 

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 
G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Radiation Protection 
Commission intends to repeal the rule cited as 10A NCAC 15 
.0611, readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A 
NCAC 15 .0601-.0607, and repeal through readoption the rules 
cited as 10A NCAC 15 .0608, and .0610. 
 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 
impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 
the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 
on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/index.html 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2026 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  October 2, 2025 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Location:  Edgerton Building, 809 Ruggles Drive, Dorothea Dix 
Campus, Raleigh, North Carolina 27603 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The rules in 10A NCAC 15 
regulate the use of radioactive materials and radiation machines 
in the State of North Carolina pursuant to G.S. 104E. Rules in 
Section .0600 of Chapter 15 regulate all registrants who use 
radiation machines in the state. Pursuant to G.S. 1050B-21.3A, 
Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 
reviewed at least every 10 years, or they shall expire. As a result 
of the periodic review of the rules in Chapter 10A NCAC 15, 
Radiation Protection, 10A NCAC 15 Section .0600 had 10 rules, 
.0601 -.0608, and .0610, that were determined to be "Necessary 
With Substantive Public Interest". Rule .0601 - .0607 will be 
readopted, Rules .0608 and .0610 will be repealed through 
readoption, and .0611 will be repealed with the rulemaking 
action. The requirements in these rules were incorporated into the 
substantive changes in the proposed rules for readoption, 
therefore these three rules are not necessary. As mandated by G.S. 
150B-19(4) the agency may not adopt a rule that repeats the 
content of a low, a rule, or a federal regulation. To comply with 
this mandate, the federal regulations in 21 CFR Subchapter J 
Parts 1000, 1001, 1002, 1010, and 1020. The federal regulations 
are being incorporated by reference, including subsequent 
amendments and editions. The federal regulations are being 
incorporated by reference into Rules 10A NCAC 15 .0607(b). The 
fiscal note was approved by OSBM July 10. There will be a 
substantial impact on the state and local government and will 
have a substantial economic impact. 

Comments may be submitted to:  Shanah Black, 809 Ruggles 
Drive, Edgerton Building; 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 
27699; phone (919) 855-3481; email 
DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  November 3, 2025 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 
Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 
written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 
clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 
provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 
written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 
1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 
email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 
attorney at 984-236-1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 15 - RADIATION PROTECTION 

 
SECTION .0600 - X-RAYS IN THE HEALING ARTS 

RADIATION MACHINES 
 
Codifier's Note: 10 NCAC 03G .2700 was transferred to 15A 
NCAC 11 .0600 effective January 4, 1990. Recodification 
pursuant to G.S. 143B-279.3. 
 
10A NCAC 15 .0601 PURPOSE AND SCOPE 
This Section establishes requirements for x-ay equipment by or 
under the supervision of an individual authorized by and licensed, 
in accordance with state statutes, to engage in the healing arts or 
veterinary medicine The provisions of this Section are in addition 
to, and not in substitution for, the provisions of Sections .0100, 
.0200, .0900, .1000, and .1600 of this Chapter. 
(a)  Before installing a radiation machine for use, the registration 
process shall be initiated in accordance with Section .0200 of this 
Chapter. 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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(b)  This Section applies to all facilities and service providers 
using radiation machines for the following: 

(1) educational facilities that provide clinical 
training; 

(2) human and veterinary use; and 
(3) non-human use, used for forensic medicine, or 

used by service providers for demonstration 
purposes. 

(4) service providers company who provide 
operators to end users. 

(c) This Section provides additional requirements for the use of 
radiation machines by or under the supervision of a licensed 
practitioner authorized by and licensed, in accordance with state 
statutes, to practice medicine and provide professional services in 
chiropractic, dentistry, podiatry, research, and veterinary 
medicine. 
(d) This Section provides additional operator requirements to use 
a radiation machine. 
(e) The requirements of this Section are in addition to the 
provisions in Sections .0100, .0200, .1000, .1100, and .1600 of 
this Chapter. 
 
Authority G.S. 104E-7. 
 
10A NCAC 15 .0602 DEFINITIONS 
(a)  As used in this Section, the following definitions shall apply: 

(1) "Accessible surface" means the external surface 
of the enclosure or housing provided by the 
manufacturer. 

(2) "Added filter" means the filter added to the 
inherent filtration. 

(3) "Aluminum equivalent" means the thickness of 
aluminum, type 1100 alloy, affording the same 
attenuation, under specified conditions, as the 
material in question. The nominal composition 
of type 1100 aluminum alloy is 99.00 percent 
minimum aluminum and 0.12 percent copper. 

(4) "Attenuation block" means a block or stack, 
having dimensions 20 cm by 20 cm by 3.8 cm, 
of type 1100 aluminum alloy or other materials 
having equivalent attenuation. 

(5) "Automatic exposure control" means a device 
which automatically controls one or more 
technique factors in order to obtain, at a 
preselected location(s), a required quantity of 
radiation. Phototimer is described separately. 

(6) "Beam axis" means a line from the source of 
x-rays through the centers of the x-ray fields. 

(7) "Beam-limiting device" means a device which 
provides a means to restrict the dimensions of 
the x-ray field. 

(8) "Cephalometric device" means a device 
intended for the radiographic visualization and 
measurement of the dimensions of the human 
head. 

(9) "Changeable filters" means any added filter 
which can be removed from the useful x-ray 
beam through any electronic, mechanical or 
physical process. 

(10) "Contact therapy system" means that the x-ray 
tube target is put within five centimeters of the 
surface being treated. 

(11) "Control panel" means that part of the x-ray 
control upon which are mounted the switches, 
knobs, pushbuttons and other hardware 
necessary for manually setting the technique 
factors. 

(12) "Cooling curve" means the graphical 
relationship between heat units stored and 
cooling time. 

(13) "Dead-man switch" means a switch so 
constructed that a circuit closing contact can be 
maintained only by continuous pressure on the 
switch by the operator. 

(14) "Diagnostic source assembly" means the tube 
housing assembly with a device attached. 

(15) "Diagnostic-type protective tube housing" 
means a tube housing so constructed that the 
leakage radiation measured at a distance of one 
meter from the source does not exceed 100 mR 
in one hour when the tube is operated at its 
leakage technique factors. 

(16) "Diagnostic x-ray system" means an x-ray 
system designed for irradiation of any part of 
the human body for the purpose of diagnosis or 
visualization. 

(17) "Direct scattered radiation" means that 
radiation which has been deviated in direction 
by materials irradiated by the useful beam.(See 
also scattered radiation). 

(18) "Entrance exposure rate" means the roentgens 
per unit time at the point where the center of the 
useful beam enters the patient. 

(19) "Exposure" means the quotient of dQ by dm 
where "dQ" is the absolute value of the total 
charge of the ions of one sign produced in air 
when all the electrons, negatrons and positrons, 
liberated by photons in a volume element of air 
having mass "dm" are completely stopped in 
air. The special unit of exposure is the roentgen. 

(20) "Field emission equipment" means equipment 
which uses an x-ray tube in which electron 
emission from the cathode is due solely to the 
action of an electric field. 

(21) "Filter" means material placed in the useful 
beam to preferentially attenuate selected 
radiations. 

(22) "Fluoroscopic imaging assembly" means a 
subsystem in which x-ray photons produce a 
fluoroscopic image. It includes the image 
receptor(s) such as the image intensifier and 
spot-film device, electrical interlocks and 
structural material providing linkage between 
the image receptor and the diagnostic source 
assembly. 

(23) "General purpose radiographic x-ray system" 
means any radiographic x-ray system which, by 
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design, is not limited to radiographic 
examination of specific anatomical regions. 

(24) "Gonad shield" means a protective barrier used 
to reduce exposure to the testes or ovaries. 

(25) "Half-value layer (HVL)" means the thickness 
of specified material which attenuates the beam 
of radiation to an extent such that the exposure 
rate is reduced to one-half of its original value. 
In this definition the contribution of all 
scattered radiation, other than any which might 
be present initially in the beam concerned, is 
deemed to be excluded. 

(26) "Healing arts mass screening" means the 
examination of human beings using x-rays for 
the detection or evaluation of health indications 
when such tests are not specifically and 
individually ordered by a licensed practitioner 
of the healing arts who is legally authorized to 
prescribe such x-ray tests for the purpose of 
diagnosis or treatment. It does not include the 
use of x-ray tests as a requirement for hospital 
admission or as a condition of employment. 

(27) "Image intensifier" means a device, including 
housing, which converts an x-ray pattern into a 
corresponding light image of higher energy 
density. 

(28) "Image receptor" means any device, such as 
fluorescent screen or radiographic film, which 
transforms incident x-ray photons either into a 
visible image or into another form which can be 
made into a visible image by further 
transformations. 

(29) "Inherent filtration" means the filtration 
permanently in the useful beam; it includes the 
window of the x-ray tube and any permanent 
tube or source enclosure. 

(30) "Installation" means the act of physical 
movement of a radiographic system from one 
location to another in conjunction with a change 
of ownership. 

(31) "Lead equivalent" means the thickness of lead 
affording the same attenuation, under specified 
conditions, as the material in question. 

(32) "Leakage radiation" means radiation emanating 
from a diagnostic or therapeutic source 
assembly except for: 
(A) the useful beam and 
(B) radiation produced when the exposure 

switch or timer is not activated. 
(33) "Leakage technique factors" means the 

technique factors associated with the diagnostic 
or therapeutic source assembly (i.e., tube 
housing and beam limiting device) which are 
used in measuring leakage radiation. They are 
defined as follows: 
(A) for diagnostic source assemblies 

intended for capacitor energy storage 
equipment, the maximum rated peak 
tube potential and the maximum rated 

number of exposures in an hour for 
operation at the maximum rated peak 
tube potential with the quantity of 
charge per exposure being 10 
millicoulombs (mC) or the minimum 
obtainable from the unit, whichever is 
larger; 

(B) for diagnostic source assemblies 
intended for field emission equipment 
rated for pulsed operation, the 
maximum rated peak tube potential 
and the maximum rated number of 
x-ray pulses in an hour for operation at 
the maximum rated peak tube 
potential; and 

(C) for all other diagnostic or therapeutic 
source assemblies, the maximum rated 
peak tube potential and the maximum 
rated continuous tube current for the 
maximum rated peak tube potential. 

(34) "Light field" means that area of the intersection 
of the light beam from the beam-limiting device 
and one of the set of planes parallel to and 
including the plane of the image receptor, 
whose perimeter is the locus of points at which 
the illumination is one-fourth of the maximum 
in the intersection. 

(35) "Maximum line current" means the rms 
(root-mean-square) current in the supply line of 
an x-ray machine operating at its maximum 
rating. 

(36) "Mobile equipment" (see x-ray equipment). 
(37) "Peak tube potential" means the maximum 

value of the potential difference across the 
x-ray tube during an exposure. 

(38) "Phototimer" means a method for controlling 
radiation exposures to image receptors by the 
amount of radiation which reaches a radiation 
monitoring device(s). The radiation monitoring 
device(s) is part of an electronic circuit which 
controls the duration of time the tube is 
activated (see also "Automatic exposure 
control"). 

(39) "Portable equipment" (see x-ray equipment). 
(40) "Position indicating device (PID)" means a 

device on dental x-ray equipment used to 
indicate the beam position and to establish a 
definite source-skin distance. It may or may not 
incorporate or serve as a beam-limiting device. 

(41) "Primary protective barrier" means the 
material, excluding filters, placed in the useful 
beam, for radiation protection purposes, to 
reduce the radiation exposure. 

(42) "Protective apron" means an apron made of 
radiation attenuating materials used to reduce 
radiation exposure. 

(43) "Protective barrier" means a barrier of radiation 
attenuating material(s) used to reduce radiation 
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exposure. Types of protective barriers are 
defined in other items of this Rule. 

(44) "Protective glove" means a glove made of 
radiation attenuating materials used to reduce 
radiation exposure. 

(45) "Qualified expert" means an individual who is 
registered pursuant to Rule .0205 of this 
Chapter. 

(46) "Radiograph" means an image receptor on 
which the image has been created directly or 
indirectly by an x-ray pattern and results in a 
permanent record. 

(47) "Radiographic imaging system" means any 
system whereby a permanent or 
semi-permanent image is recorded on an image 
receptor by the action of ionizing radiation. 

(48) "Rating" means the operating limits as specified 
by the component manufacturer. 

(49) "Recording" means producing a permanent 
form of an image resulting from x-ray photons 
such as film and video tape. 

(50) "Registrant", as used in this Section, means any 
person who owns or possesses and 
administratively controls an x-ray system 
which is used to deliberately expose humans or 
animals to the useful beam of the system and is 
required by the provisions contained in Sections 
.0100 and .0200 of this Chapter to register with 
the agency. 

(51) "Response time" means the time required for an 
instrument system to reach 90 percent of its 
final reading when the radiation-sensitive 
volume of the instrument system is exposed to 
a step change in radiation flux from zero 
sufficient to provide a steady state mid-scale 
reading. 

(52) "Scattered radiation" means radiation that, 
during passage through matter, has been 
deviated in direction. (See also "direct scattered 
radiation".) 

(53) "Secondary protective barrier" means a barrier 
sufficient to attenuate the stray radiation to the 
required degree. 

(54) "SID" means source-image receptor distance. 
(55) "Source" means the focal spot of the x-ray tube. 
(56) "Source-image receptor distance (SID)" means 

the distance from the source to the center of the 
input surface of the image receptor. 

(57) "Spot film" means a radiograph which is made 
during a fluoroscopic examination to 
permanently record conditions which exist 
during that fluoroscopic procedure. 

(58) "Stationary equipment" (see x-ray equipment). 
(59) "Stray radiation" means the sum of leakage and 

scattered radiation. 
(60) "Technique factors" means the conditions of 

operation. They are specified as follows: 

(A) for capacitor energy storage 
equipment, peak tube potential in kV 
and quantity of charge in mAs; 

(B) for field emission equipment rated for 
pulsed operation, peak tube potential 
in kV and number of x-ray pulses; and 

(C) for all other equipment, peak tube 
potential in kV and either tube current 
in mA and exposure time in seconds, 
or the product of tube current and 
exposure time in mAs. 

(61) "Therapeutic-type protective tube housing" 
means the tube housing with tube installed, and 
it includes high voltage and filament 
transformers and other appropriate elements 
when they are contained within that housing. 

(62) "Transportation equipment" means x-ray 
equipment which is installed in a vehicle or 
trailer. 

(63) "Tube" means an x-ray tube, unless otherwise 
specified. 

(64) "Tube housing assembly" means the tube 
housing with tube installed. It includes 
high-voltage and filament transformers and 
other appropriate elements when they are 
contained within the tube housing. 

(65) "Tube rating chart" means the set of curves 
which specify the rated limits of operation of 
the tube in terms of the technique factors. 

(66) "Useful beam" means the radiation which 
passes through the tube housing port and the 
aperture of the beam-limiting device when the 
exposure switch or timer is activated. 

(67) "Variable-aperture beam-limiting device" 
means a beam-limiting device which has 
capacity for stepless adjustment of the x-ray 
field size at the given SID. 

(68) "Visible area" means that portion of the input 
surface of the image receptor over which 
incident x-ray photons produce a visible image. 

(69) "X-ray control" means a device which controls 
input power to the x-ray high-voltage generator 
or the x-ray tube. It includes equipment such as 
timers, phototimers, automatic brightness 
stabilizers and similar devices which control the 
technique factors of an x-ray exposure. 

(70) "X-ray equipment" means an x-ray system, 
subsystem or component thereof. 
(A) "Mobile equipment" means x-ray 

equipment mounted on a permanent 
base with wheels or casters for moving 
while completely assembled. 

(B) "Portable equipment" means x-ray 
equipment designed to be 
hand-carried. 

(C) "Stationary equipment" means x-ray 
equipment which is installed in a fixed 
location. 
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(71) "X-ray field" means that area of the intersection 
of the useful beam and any one of the set of 
planes parallel to and including the plane of the 
image receptor, whose perimeter is the locus of 
points at which the exposure rate is one-fourth 
of the maximum in the intersection. 

(72) "X-ray high-voltage generator" means a device 
which transforms electrical energy from the 
potential supplied by the x-ray control to the 
tube operating potential. The device may also 
include means for transforming alternating 
current to direct current, filament transformers 
for the x-ray tube(s), high-voltage switches, 
electrical protective devices and other 
appropriate elements. 

(73) "X-ray system" means an assemblage of 
components for the controlled production of 
x-rays. It includes minimally an x-ray 
high-voltage generator, an x-ray control, a tube 
housing assembly, a beam-limiting device and 
the necessary supporting structures. Additional 
components which function with the system are 
considered integral parts of the system. 

(74) "X-ray subsystem" means any combination of 
two or more components of an x-ray system for 
which there are requirements specified in this 
Section. 

(75) "X-ray tube" means an electron tube which is 
designed for the conversion of electrical energy 
into x-ray energy. 

(b)  Other definitions applicable to this Section may be found in 
Sections .0100 and .0200 of this Chapter. 
In addition to definitions found in Rules .0104, .0607(b)(3), (18), 
and (19), .1001, and .1601 of this Chapter, the following 
definitions shall apply to this Section: 

(1) "Added filter" means the filter added to the 
inherent filtration. 

(2) "Advanced practitioner" means an individual 
performing medical acts, tasks, or functions as 
a licensed nurse practitioner in accordance with 
G.S. 90-18.2 or a licensed physician assistant in 
accordance with G.S. 90-18.1. 

(3) "Area radiation survey" means the evaluation of 
radiation levels around a radiation machine 
installation and adjacent areas to ensure 
compliance to dose limits in accordance with 
Section .1601 of this Chapter. 

(4) "Cone beam computed tomography" is a 
volumetric imaging modality. Volumetric data 
are acquired using two-dimensional digital 
detector arrays and a cone-shaped x-ray beam 
(instead of fan-shaped) that rotates around the 
patient. Reconstruction algorithms can be used 
to generate images of any desired plane. 

(5) "Clinical training" means hands-on experience 
or clinical simulation to gain practical 
knowledge, experience, and skills. 

(6) "CT qualified expert (CT QE)" means an 
individual who is registered or is providing 

service for a registered facility where they are 
employed, as required by Section .0200 of this 
Chapter. The individual shall have the 
following education and experience: 
(a) a master's or doctoral degree in 

physics, medical physics, biophysics, 
radiological physics, medical health 
physics, or equivalent disciplines from 
a college or university accredited by 
an agency recognized by the U.S. 
Department of Education, and three 
years of work experience in a clinical 
CT environment. The work experience 
shall be supervised and documented 
by a medical physicist certified in the 
specialty area of diagnostic medical 
physics by the American Board of 
Radiology, the Canadian College of 
Physicists in Medicine, or the 
American Board of Medical Physics; 
or 

(b) certification in the specialty area of 
diagnostic medical physics by the 
American Board of Radiology, the 
Canadian College of Physicists in 
Medicine, or the American Board of 
Medical Physics and shall abide by the 
certifying body's requirements for 
continuing education. 

(7) "Dead-man switch" means a switch so 
constructed that a circuit closing contact can be 
maintained only by continuous pressure on the 
switch by the operator. 

(8) "Dental assistant" means an individual who 
works for licensed dentists and meets the 
education, training, and experience defined by 
the NC Board of Dental Examiners. 

(9) "Dental handheld radiation machine" means a 
radiation machine used to take dental 
radiographs, is designed to be handheld during 
operation, is operated by an individual 
authorized to take dental radiographs and may 
be used in multiple locations. 

(10) "Dental hygienist" means an individual 
licensed by the NC Board of Dental Examiners 
to practice dental hygiene. 

(11) "Diagnostic imaging" means visualizing the 
inside of the body using radiation exposures to 
determine the cause of illness or injury or to 
confirm a diagnosis. 

(12) "Diagnostic-type protective tube housing" 
means a tube housing so constructed that the 
leakage radiation measured at a distance of one 
meter from the source does not exceed 100 mR 
in one hour when the tube is operated at its 
leakage technique factors. 

(13) "Diagnostic radiation machine" shall have the 
same meaning as "Diagnostic x-ray system" as 
defined in Rule .0607(b)(19) of this Section. 
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(14) "Entrance exposure rate" means the roentgen 
per unit time at the point where the center of the 
useful beam enters the patient. 

(15) "Exposure control" shall have the same means 
as "control panel" as defined in Rule 
.0607(b)(19) of this Section. 

(16) "Extra-oral" means outside the mouth. An 
extraoral image is produced by exposing, to x-
rays, an image receptor positioned outside the 
mouth. 

(17) "Filter" means material placed in the primary 
beam to preferentially attenuate selected 
radiation energies. 

(18) "General supervision" means the activity is 
performed under the qualified supervisor's 
overall direction and control, but the qualified 
supervisor's physical presence shall not be 
required during the activity. 

(19) "Inherent filtration" means the filtration 
permanently in the useful beam, including the 
window of the X-ray tube and any permanent 
tube or source enclosure. 

(20) "Intra-oral" means inside the mouth. An 
intraoral image is produced by exposing a film, 
plate, or sensor placed within the mouth to X-
rays. 

(21) "Lead equivalent" means the thickness of lead 
affording the same attenuation, under specified 
conditions, as the material in question. 

(22) "Licensed dentist" means an individual licensed 
by the NC Board of Dental Examiners to 
practice dentistry. 

(23) "Letter of Acknowledgement" means the 
correspondence provided by the agency 
acknowledging receipt of a shielding design, in 
accordance with Rule .0204(b) of this Chapter. 

(24) "Mobile radiation machine" shall have the same 
meaning as "Mobile equipment" in Rule 
.0607(b)(19) of this Section. 

(25) "Notice of Registration" means the 
correspondence provided by the agency, to the 
person completing the registration process, 
containing the information submitted on the 
agency forms in accordance with Rules .0203 
and .0205 of this Chapter. 

(26) "Optimal" means desirable or satisfactory. 
(27) "Panoramic" means an imaging technique for 

producing a curved image layer radiograph of 
maxillary and mandibular dental arches and 
their supporting structures. This is a curvilinear 
variant of conventional tomography. 

(28) "Personal supervision" means overall direction, 
control, and training of an individual by a 
qualified supervisor who shall be physically 
present during the activities performed by the 
supervised individual. 

(29) "Phototimer" means a method for controlling 
radiation exposures to image receptors by the 
amount of radiation that reaches a radiation 

monitoring device(s). The radiation monitoring 
device(s) is part of an electronic circuit which 
controls the duration of time the tube is 
activated. See also "Automatic exposure 
control" in Rule .0607(b)(19) of this Section. 

(30) "Portable radiation machine" shall have the 
same meaning as "Portable equipment" in Rule 
.0607(b)(19) of this Section. 

(31) "Position indicating device (PID)" means a 
device on dental radiation machines used to 
indicate the beam position and to establish a 
definite source-skin distance. It may or may not 
incorporate or serve as a beam-limiting device. 

(32) "Primary beam" shall have the same means as 
"useful beam" as defined in Rule .0607(b)(19) 
of this Section and is the beam used to make 
radiographic images. 

(33) "Protective apparel" garments made of a 
radiation attenuating material used to 
potentially reduce radiation exposure to an 
individual wearing the item. 

(34) "Qualified expert" means an individual 
registered in accordance with Rule .0205 of this 
Chapter. 

(35) "Radiation machine" as defined in Rule 
.0103(b)(10) of this Chapter, shall have the 
same meaning as "x-ray equipment" as defined 
in Rule .0607(b)(19) of this Section. 

(36) "Radiation subsystem" shall have the same 
meaning as X-ray subsystem in Rule 
.0607(b)(19) of this Section. 

(37) "Radiation system" shall have the same 
meaning as X-ray system in Rule .0607(b)(19) 
of this Section. 

(38) "Radiograph" means an image receptor on 
which the image has been created directly or 
indirectly by an x-ray pattern and results in a 
permanent record. 

(39) "Radiographic imaging system" means any 
system whereby a permanent or semi-
permanent image is recorded on an image 
receptor by the action of ionizing radiation. 

(40) "Scattered radiation" means radiation that, 
during passage through matter, has been 
deviated in direction. 

(41) "Secondary protective barrier" means a barrier 
sufficient to attenuate stray radiation. 

(42) "Secondary radiation" means the sum of 
leakage and scattered radiation. 

(43) "Shielding design" means the floor plan and 
structural shielding specifications in 
accordance with current national standards, 
demonstrating the barriers which will attenuate 
radiation so that the dose limit requirements of 
Rules .1601(a)(8) and .1601(a)(15) of this 
Chapter are not exceeded. 

(44) "Stationary radiation machine" means a 
radiation machine, components, or system 
installed and used in a fixed location. 
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(45) "Structural shielding" means materials 
incorporated into ceilings, floors, walls, or 
other structures to ensure the dose limit 
requirements of Rules .1601(a)(8) and 
.1601(a)(15) of this Chapter are not exceeded. 

(46) "Veterinarian" means a veterinarian licensed 
pursuant to General Statue Chapter 90, Article 
11. 

(47) "Veterinary technician" means a veterinary 
technician registered pursuant to General Statue 
Chapter 90, Article 11. 

 
Authority G.S. 104E-7. 
 
10A NCAC 15 .0603 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 
FACILITY RESPONSIBILITIES 
(a)  Administrative controls 

(1) The registrant shall be responsible for directing 
the operation of the X-ray machines which he 
has registered with the agency. He or his agent 
shall assure that the following provisions are 
met in the operation of the X-ray machine(s): 
(A) An X-ray machine which does not 

meet the provisions of these Rules 
shall not be operated for diagnostic or 
therapeutic purposes, if so ordered by 
the agency in accordance with Rules 
.0109 and .0110 of this Chapter. 

(B) Individuals who will be operating the 
X-ray equipment shall be instructed in 
the safe operating procedures and use 
of the equipment and demonstrate an 
understanding thereof to the registrant. 

(C) In the vicinity of each diagnostic X-
ray system's control panel, a chart 
shall be provided, which specifies for 
all usual examinations and associated 
projections which are performed by 
that system, a listing of information 
including patient's anatomical size 
versus technique factors to be utilized 
at a given source to image receptor 
distance. The chart shall also provide: 
(i) type and size of the film or 

film-screen combination to 
be used, 

(ii) type and ratio of grid to be 
used, if any, and focal spot to 
film distance, 

(iii) type and placement of gonad 
shielding to be used. 

(D) Radiation protection programand rules 
shall be established and made 
available to each individual operating 
X-ray equipment under his control. 
The operator shall be familiar with 
these rules. 

(E) Only the professional staff and 
ancillary personnel required for the 

medical procedure or for training shall 
be in the room during the radiographic 
exposure. Other than the patient being 
examined: 
(i) All individuals shall be 

positioned such that no part 
of the body including the 
extremities which is not 
protected by 0.5 mm lead 
equivalent will be exposed to 
the primary beam. 

(ii) Professional staff and 
ancillary personnel shall be 
protected from the direct 
scatter radiation by 
protective aprons or whole 
body protective barriers of 
not less than 0.25 mm lead 
equivalent. 

(iii) Patients who cannot be 
removed from the room shall 
be protected from the direct 
scatter radiation by whole 
body protective barriers of 
0.25 mm lead equivalent or 
shall be so positioned that the 
nearest portion of the body is 
at least six feet from both the 
tube head and the nearest 
edge of the image receptor. 

(iv) When a portion of the body 
of a non- occupationally 
exposed professional staff or 
ancillary personnel is 
potentially subjected to stray 
radiation which would result 
in that individual receiving 
one-fourth of the maximum 
permissible dose as defined 
in Rule .1604 of this Chapter, 
additional protective 
measures shall be employed. 

(v) Upon written application to 
the agency, the agency may 
waive the requirements in 
Subparts (a)(1)(E)(ii) and 
(a)(1)(E)(iii) of this Rule if 
the registrant demonstrates 
that such waiver is necessary 
for best management of 
patients and will not result in 
violation of the public and 
occupational dose limits 
established in the rules in this 
Chapter. 

(F) Gonad shielding of not less than 0.5 
mm lead equivalent shall be used for 
potentially procreative patients during 
radiographic procedures in which the 
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gonads are in the direct, or primary 
beam, except for cases in which this 
would interfere with the diagnostic 
procedures. 

(G) Individuals shall not be exposed to the 
primary beam except for healing arts 
purposes. Such exposures shall have 
been authorized by a licensed 
practitioner of the healing arts. This 
provision specifically prohibits 
deliberate exposure of an individual 
for training, demonstration or other 
nonhealing arts purposes. 

(H) When a patient or film must be 
provided with auxiliary support during 
a radiographic exposure: 
(i) Mechanical holding devices 

shall be used whenever 
medical circumstances 
permit. Written safety 
procedures, as required in 
Part (a)(1)(D) of this Rule 
shall indicate the 
requirements for selecting a 
holder; 

(ii) If a human holder is required, 
radiation protection 
programas required in Part 
(a)(1)(D) of this Rule, shall 
indicate the instructions 
provided to the holder; 

(iii) The human holder shall be 
protected as required in Part 
(a)(1)(E) of this Rule; 

(iv) No individual shall be used 
routinely to hold patients or 
film. 

(I) Procedures and auxiliary equipment 
designed to minimize patient and 
personnel exposure commensurate 
with the needed diagnostic 
information shall be utilized. This 
includes, but is not limited to, the 
following requirements: 
(i) The speed of film or screen 

and film combinations shall 
be the fastest speed 
consistent with the diagnostic 
objective of the 
examinations. 

(ii) The radiation exposure to the 
patient shall be the minimum 
exposure required to produce 
images of good diagnostic 
quality. 

(iii) Portable or mobile 
equipment shall be used only 
for examinations where it is 
impractical for medical 

reasons to transfer the patient 
to a stationary radiographic 
installation. 

(J) All persons who are associated with 
the operation of an X-ray system are 
subject to the occupational exposure 
limits as defined in Rules .1604 and 
.1638 of this Chapter, and personnel 
monitoring procedures in Rule .1614 
of this Chapter. In addition, when 
protective clothing or equipment is 
worn on portions of the body and a 
monitoring device(s) is required, at 
least one such monitoring device shall 
be utilized as follows: 
(i) When an apron is worn the 

monitoring device shall be 
worn at the collar outside the 
apron. 

(ii) The dose to the whole body 
shall be recorded in the 
reports required in Rule 
.1640 of this Chapter. If more 
than one device is used, each 
dose shall be identified with 
the area where the device was 
worn on the body. 

(2) The registrant shall maintain at least the 
following information for each X-ray machine: 
(A) current registration information and 

other correspondence with the agency 
regarding that machine; 

(B) records of surveys and calibrations; 
(C) records of maintenance or 

modifications which affect the 
primary beam after the effective date 
of these Rules, along with the names 
of persons who performed the service. 

(b)  Plans Review. Prior to construction or structural modification, 
the floor plans and equipment arrangement of all installations 
utilizing X-rays for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes shall be 
reviewed by a qualified expert. The registrant shall submit 
recommendations of the expert to the agency. 
(c)  Radiation Survey 

(1) For installations of X-ray equipment after the 
effective date of this Rule, an area radiation 
survey shall be performed within 30 days 
following initial operation of each radiation 
machine to show compliance with Rule 
.0604(b) of this Section. This survey shall 
include: 
(A) a drawing of the room in which a 

stationary X-ray system is located and 
radiation levels in adjacent areas; and 

(B) the name of the person approved by 
the agency performing the survey and 
the date the survey was performed. 
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(2) Any modification to the X-ray room or adjacent 
areas which could increase the radiation dosage 
to any individual shall require a new survey. 

(3) Records of this survey shall be maintained in 
accordance with Subparagraph (a)(2) of this 
Rule. 

(a)  The registrant shall not allow the operation of a radiation 
machine for diagnostic imaging not meeting the requirements of 
Rule .0607(b) of this Section. 
(b)  Mobile or portable radiation machines shall only be used for 
radiation exposures where transferring the patient to a stationary 
radiation machine is impractical for medical reasons. The use of 
a mobile or portable radiation machine as the primary method for 
diagnostic imaging at a permanent location, instead of a stationary 
radiation machine, is prohibited. 
(c)  If ordered by the agency, radiation machines are subject to 
impounding by an authorized representative of the agency in 
accordance with Rule .0107 of this Chapter. 
(d)  The registrant or their designee shall: 

(1) be responsible for directing the operation of the 
radiation machine(s) registered with the 
agency; 

(2) ensure the provisions of this Section are met 
during the operation of the radiation machine(s) 
under their control; 

(3) establish radiation protection procedures and 
make them readily available to individuals who 
operate the radiation machine(s); 

(4) ensure QC is performed if required by the 
manufacturer or registered service provider, in 
accordance with the instructions provided; and 

(5) establish procedures or provide equipment to 
operators to control the radiation area during 
radiographic exposures. 

(e)  Extraoral cephalometric, cone beam computed tomography 
(CBCT), and panoramic radiation machines designed for use in 
dental radiography or for facial diagnostic imaging and 
chiropractic or podiatry radiation machines shall meet shielding 
design requirements in Rule .0204(b) of this Chapter, shielding 
barrier requirements in Rule .0606(a) of this Section, and 
radiation machine requirements in Rule .0607 of this Section; and 
(f)  Dental intraoral handheld radiation machine additional 
requirements for maintenance and evaluation: 

(1) Maintenance shall be performed by a registered 
service provider following the manufacturer's 
specifications. 

(2) The machine shall be evaluated by a registered 
service provider, in accordance with Section 
.0200 of this Chapter, after the unit is dropped, 
visibly damaged, or as requested by the agency. 
Machines with signs of visible damage, or as 
requested by the agency, shall not be used until 
being evaluated by a registered service 
provider. 

(g)  Cone Beam Computed Tomography (CBCT) radiation 
machine additional requirements for system performance 
evaluations: 

(1) Maintain documentation of the established 
standards, tolerances, and testing results. 

(2) Implement actions when the QC results are 
outside of the limits specified in the QC 
recommendations. 

(3) The CBCT radiation machine shall be evaluated 
by a registered service provider, in accordance 
with Section .0200 of this Chapter, within 30 
days of: 
(A) initial installation; and 
(B) when there is any change or 

replacement of components which, in 
the opinion of the registered service 
provider, could cause a change in the 
radiation output or image quality. 

(4) The following information shall be readily 
available to CBCT operators: 
(A) instructions on performing routine 

QC, including the use of the CBCT 
phantom; 

(B) schedule of routine QC appropriate for 
the system and allowable variations 
set by the registered service provider, 
if required, for the indicated 
parameters; and 

(C) results of at least the most recent 
routine QC completed on the system. 

(h)  Dental Cone Beam Computed Tomography (CBCT) radiation 
machines shall not be used: 

(A) as the primary or initial imaging 
modality when a lower dose 
alternative is adequate for clinical 
purposes; 

(B) for the sole purpose of producing 
simulated bitewing, panoramic, or 
cephalometric images; or 

(C) for routine or serial orthodontic 
imaging. 

(i)  The uses of Cone Beam CT, Veterinary CT, CT simulation, 
and attenuation correction shall be exempt from Paragraphs (j) 
and (k) of this Rule. 
(j)  Computed Tomography (CT) radiation machine shall meet the 
following additional requirements for system performance 
evaluations. 

(1) Performance evaluations of the CT X-ray 
system shall be performed by, or under the 
general supervision of, a CT QE who assumes 
responsibility for the evaluation. 

(2) The performance evaluation of a CT X-ray 
system shall be performed within 30 days of 
installation and at least every 14 months. 

(3) Performance evaluation standards and 
tolerances shall meet the manufacturer's 
specifications or standards and tolerances for 
the CT X-ray system from the American 
College of Radiology (ACR) incorporated 
herein by reference, including subsequent 
amendments and editions. These standards and 
tolerances may be found at no charge on the 
ACR website at https://www.acr.org. 
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(4) The performance evaluation shall include the 
following, as applicable to the design of the 
scanner: 
(A) geometric factors and alignment, 

including alignment light accuracy 
and table increment accuracy; 

(B) image localization from a scanned 
projection radiograph (localization 
image); 

(C) radiation beam width; 
(D) image quality, including high-contrast 

(spatial) resolution, low-contrast 
resolution, image uniformity, noise, 
and artifact evaluation; 

(E) CT number accuracy; 
(F) image quality for acquisition 

workstation display devices; and 
(G) a review of the results of the routine 

QC, as set forth in this Paragraph. 
(5) The performance evaluation shall also include 

the evaluation of radiation output and patient 
dose indices for the following clinical 
protocols, if performed: 
(A) pediatric head; 
(B) pediatric abdomen; 
(C) adult head; and 
(D) adult abdomen. 

(6) Evaluation of radiation output shall be 
performed with a calibrated dosimetry system. 
The dosimetry system shall have been 
calibrated within the preceding two years by 
persons registered, in accordance with Section 
.0200 of this Chapter, to provide such services. 

(7) The performance evaluation shall be 
documented and maintained for inspection by 
the Agency. The documentation shall include 
the name of the CT QE performing or 
supervising and any other individuals 
participating in the evaluation under the general 
supervision of the CT QE. The documentation 
shall be retained for 14 months. 

(k)  Computed Tomography (CT) radiation machines shall meet 
the following additional requirements for routine quality control 
(QC) 

(1) A routine QC program for the CT radiation 
imaging system shall be developed by or have 
written approval by a CT QE and include: 
(A) instructions for the routine QC; 

(B) intervals for QC testing; 
(C) acceptable tolerances for the QC tests; 
(D) use of a water equivalent phantom to 

evaluate each day of clinical use: 
noise, CT number accuracy, and 
artifacts; and 

(E) routine QC tests that may be 
performed in place of system 
performance evaluations after 
equipment repairs or maintenance. 
This shall include the process for 
obtaining approval from the CT QE 
prior to conducting testing. 

(2) The duties in the routine QC program, as 
described in Part (1) of this Paragraph, shall be 
conducted by individuals that meet the 
requirements of Rule .0604(j) of this Section, or 
individuals approved by the CT QE. 

(3) The routine QC shall be documented and 
maintained for inspection by the Agency. The 
records shall be retained for 14 months. 

(l)  Records shall be maintained by the registrant as follows: 
(1) For each radiation machine under the 

registrant's custody and control: 
(A) the state notice of registration and 

other correspondence with the agency 
regarding the radiation machine; 

(B) the shielding design and the 
corresponding letter of 
acknowledgment granted by the 
agency; 

(C) the report of installation, receipt of 
sale, disposal notification, or transfer 
of ownership; 

(D) an area radiation survey; and 
(E) maintenance or modifications that 

affect the primary beam and 
documentation of service(s) 
performed, along with the names of 
those who performed the service. 

(2) For each individual operating a radiation 
machine, the operator license, certification, or 
training documentation. 

(m)  Records shall be available for agency review during 
inspection. 
 
Authority G.S. 104E-7; 104E-12(a). 

 
10A NCAC 15 .0604 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS FOR ALL DIAGNOSTIC SYSTEMS OPERATOR 
REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  In addition to other requirements of this Section, all diagnostic x-ray systems shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) The control panel containing the main power switch shall bear the warning statement, legible and accessible to view: 
"WARNING: This x-ray unit may be dangerous to patient and operator unless safe exposure factors and operation 
instructions are observed." 

(2) Equivalent wording may be used on battery-powered generators; visual means shall be provided on the control panel 
to indicate whether the battery is in a state of charge adequate for proper operation. 

(3) The leakage radiation from the diagnostic source assembly measured at a distance of one meter in any direction from 
the source shall not exceed 100 millirem in one hour when the x-ray tube is operated at its leakage technique factors. 
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Compliance shall be determined by measurements averaged over an area of 100 square centimeters with no linear 
dimension greater than 20 centimeters. 

(4) The radiation emitted by a component other than the diagnostic source assembly shall not exceed two millirem in one 
hour at five centimeters from any accessible surface of the component when it is operated in an assembled x-ray 
system under any conditions for which it was designed. Compliance shall be determined by measurements averaged 
over an area of 100 square centimeters with no linear dimension greater than 20 centimeters. 

(5) Beam Quality 
(A) Half-Value Layer 

(i) The half-value layer (HVL) of the useful beam for a given x-ray tube potential shall not be less than 
the appropriate value shown in the following table. "Specified Dental System" is any dental x-ray 
system designed for use with intraoral image receptors and manufactured after December 1, 1980. 
"Other X-Ray Systems" shall be all other x-ray systems subject to this Section. 

 
X-Ray Tube Voltage (kilovolt peak) Minimum HVL Minimum HVL 
  (millimeters (millimeters 
  of Aluminum) of Aluminum) 
 
 Measured Specified Other 
Designed operating Operating Dental X-ray 
range Potential Systems Systems 
 
Below 50------------ 30 1.5 0.3 
 40 1.5 0.4 
 49 1.5 0.5 
 
50 to 70------------ 50 1.5 1.2 
 60 1.5 1.2 
 70 1.5 1.5 
 
Above 70------------ 71 2.1 2.1 
 80 2.3 2.3 
 90 2.5 2.5 
 100 2.7 2.7 
 110 3.0 3.0 
 120 3.2 3.2 
 130 3.5 3.5 

  140 3.8 3.8 
  150 4.1 4.1 
 
If it is necessary to determine such half-value layer at an x-ray tube potential which is not listed in the table, linear interpolation or 
extrapolation may be made. Positive means shall be provided to insure that at least the minimum filtration needed to achieve the above 
beam quality requirements is in the useful beam during each exposure. 

(ii) The requirements of Subpart (a)(5)(A)(i) of this Rule shall be considered to be met if it can be 
demonstrated that the aluminum equivalent of the total filtration in the primary beam is not less than 
that shown in the following table: 

 
Filtration Required versus Operating Voltage 

 
Minimum total filtration 

Operating Voltage (kVp)   (inherent plus added) 
(millimeters aluminum 
equivalent) 

 
Below 50    0.5 millimeters 
50 - 70     1.5 millimeters 
Above 70    2.5 millimeters 
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(iii) Notwithstanding the requirements of Subpart (a)(5)(A)(ii) of this Rule, all intraoral dental systems 
manufactured after December 1, 1980, shall have a minimum of 1.5 mm aluminum equivalent 
filtration permanently installed in the useful beam. 

(iv) Beryllium window tubes shall have a minimum of 0.5 mm aluminum equivalent filtration 
permanently mounted in the useful beam. 

(v) For capacitor energy storage equipment, compliance shall be determined with the maximum 
quantity of charge per exposure. 

(vi) The required minimum aluminum equivalent filtration shall include the filtration contributed by all 
materials which are always present between the focal spot of the tube and the patient, such as a 
tabletop when the tube is mounted under the table and inherent filtration of the tube. 

(B) For new x-ray systems installed after the effective date of these Rules and which have variable kVp and 
selectable filtration for the useful beam, a device shall link the kVp selector with the filter(s), so that the 
minimum filtration is always present for the kVp selected. 

 
(6) Where two or more radiographic tubes are 

controlled by one exposure switch, the tube or 
tubes which have been selected and their 
location shall be clearly indicated on the master 
control panel prior to initiation of the exposure. 

(7) The tube housing assembly supports shall be 
adjusted such that the tube housing assembly 
will remain stable during an exposure unless the 
tube housing movement is a design function of 
the x-ray system. 

(8) The location of the focal spot may be indicated 
on a readily visible area of the x-ray source 
housing in the plane parallel to the image 
receptor when the image receptor is 
perpendicular to the beam axis. 

(9) Technique Indicators 
(A) The technique factors to be used 

during an exposure shall be indicated 
before the exposure begins, except 
when automatic exposure controls are 
used, in which case the technique 
factors which are set prior to the 
exposure shall be indicated. 

(B) Indication of technique factors shall be 
visible from the operator's position 
except in the case of spot films made 
by the fluoroscopist. 

(C) On equipment having fixed technique 
factors, the recommendation in Part 
(a)(9)(A) of this Rule may be met by 
permanent markings. 

(b)  Structural Shielding 
(1) For stationary diagnostic systems, except for 

intraoral dental systems which shall meet the 
requirements of Rule .0607(j) of this Section, 
structural shielding shall be provided to assure 
compliance with Rules .1604 and .1611 of this 
Chapter. The following shall be provided: 
(A) All wall, floor and ceiling areas 

exposed to the useful beam shall have 
primary barriers. Primary barriers in 
walls shall extend to a minimum 
height of 84 inches above the floor; 

(B) Secondary barriers in the wall, floor 
and ceiling areas not having a primary 

barrier or where the primary barrier 
requirements are lower than the 
secondary barrier requirements; and 

(C) A window of lead-equivalent glass 
equal to that required by the adjacent 
barrier or a mirror system shall be 
provided large enough and so placed 
that the operator can see the patient 
without having to leave the protected 
area during exposures. 

(2) When a mobile system is used routinely in one 
location, the structural shielding in that location 
shall meet the requirements for stationary 
diagnostic systems in Subparagraph (b)(1) of 
this Rule. 

(a)  A radiation machine shall not be permitted for human, non-
human, or veterinary use except when used in accordance with the 
operating requirements of Rule .0605 of this Section. 
(b)  Operators shall be trained in the operational features and safe 
use of the radiation machines used. 
(c)  Individuals who operate a radiation machine shall meet the 
requirements for the modality of use in Paragraphs 
(e),f),(g),(h),(i) or (j) of this Rule no later than 36 months after the 
effective date of this Rule. 
(d)  Individuals who operate a radiation machine for research 
purposes or for end-of-life imaging are exempt from the 
requirements in Paragraphs (e),(f),(g),(h),(i) or (j) of this Rule. 
(e)  The uses of Cone Beam CT, Veterinary CT, CT Simulation, 
and CT attenuation correction shall be exempt from the 
requirement in Subparagraph (i) of this Rule. 
(f)  Chiropractic 

(1) other than the chiropractor, individuals who 
operate a radiation machine for chiropractic 
patient care shall be certified by the North 
Carolina State Board of Chiropractic 
Examiners as a Certified Chiropractic Assistant 
– Level 2 in accordance with G.S. 90-143.2 and 
21 NCAC 10 .0213; 

(2) be a Registered Technologist (RT) by the 
American Registry of Radiologic 
Technologists (ARRT) with an active 
registration in Radiography (R); or 

(3) be enrolled in a training program for 
radiography, and under the personal 
supervision of an individual who meets the 
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requirements of Subparagraphs (1) or (2) of this 
Paragraph. 

(g)  Dentistry 
(1) other than the dentist, individuals who operate 

dental radiation machines shall be a licensed 
dental hygienist; 

(2) shall meet radiography requirements for dental 
assistants as defined by the NC Board of Dental 
Examiners; or 

(3) shall be enrolled in a training program for 
radiography, and under the personal 
supervision of an individual who meets the 
requirements of Subparagraphs (1) or (2) of this 
Paragraph. 

(h)  Podiatry 
(1) other than the podiatrist, all podiatric radiation 

machine operators shall complete radiography 
training and pass an examination provided by 
the NC Foot and Ankle Society; 

(2) shall hold an active registration in Radiography 
(R) with the American Registry of Radiologic 
Technologists (ARRT); or 

(3) shall be enrolled in a training program for 
radiography, and under the personal 
supervision of an individual who meets the 
requirements of Subparagraphs (1) or (2) of this 
Paragraph. 

(i)  Radiography and Fluoroscopy 
(1) Radiography 

(A) individuals who operate a radiation 
machine for plain radiography shall be 
a Registered Technologist (RT) by the 
American Registry of Radiologic 
Technologists (ARRT) with an active 
registration in Radiography (R); or 

(B) shall be enrolled in an accredited 
radiography educational program and 
under the personal supervision of an 
individual who meets the 
requirements of Part (A) of this 
Paragraph. 

(2) Fluoroscopy 
(A) individuals who operate fluoroscopy 

radiation machines shall be a 
physician as defined in Rule 
.0103(b)(8) of this Chapter or an 
advanced practitioner provider (APP) 
as defined in Rule .0602(2) of this 
Section under the personal supervision 
of a physician who has completed 
training in accordance with Paragraph 
(l) of this Rule; 

(B) shall be an ARRT-registered RT and 
hold an active registration in 
Radiography (R); or 

(C) shall be enrolled in an accredited 
educational program for radiography 
and under the personal supervision of 
an individual who meets the 

requirements of Part (B) of this 
Subparagraph 

(3) Angiography 
(A) individuals who operate fluoroscopy 

radiation machines shall be a 
physician as defined in Rule 
.0103(b)(8) of this Chapter; 

(B) shall be an ARRT-registered RT and 
hold an active registration in 
Radiography (R); 

(C) shall be a graduate of a post-secondary 
educational program in interventional 
cardiac and vascular technology and a 
Registered Cardiovascular Invasive 
Specialist (RCIS) or a Registered 
Cardiac Electrophysiology Specialist 
(RCES) by Cardiovascular 
Credentialing International (CCI); or 

(D) shall be enrolled in an accredited 
educational program and under the 
personal supervision of an individual 
who meets the requirements of Part 
(B) or (C) of this Subparagraph. 

(j)  Computed Tomography (CT) 
(1) individuals who operate a CT radiation machine 

for diagnostic imaging shall hold an active 
Computed Tomography (CT) registration with 
the ARRT; or 

(2) shall be enrolled in an accredited educational 
program and under the personal supervision of 
an individual who meets the requirements of 
Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph. 

(k)  Dual Energy X-Ray Absorptiometry (DEXA or DXA) 
(1) Individuals who operate a DEXA of DXA 

radiation machine for diagnostic measurement 
of bone density or body composition as ordered 
by a physician or APP shall be: 
(A) an ARRT-registered technologist with 

an active registration in Bone 
Densitometry (DB); 

(B) a Certified Bone Densitometry 
Technologist (CBDT) by the 
International Society for Clinical 
Densitometry (ISCD); or 

(C) enrolled in an accredited educational 
program and under the personal 
supervision of an individual who 
meets the requirements of Part (A) or 
(B) of this Subparagraph. 

(2) All individuals who operate a DEXA or DXA 
radiation machine shall receive training specific 
to the radiation machine used and training in 
basic principles of radiation protection prior to 
using the radiation machine. 

(l)  Veterinary Imaging 
(1) other than the veterinarian, all veterinary 

radiation machine operators shall be: 
(A) under the personal supervision of a 

veterinarian; 



 PROPOSED RULES 
 

 
40:04 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 15, 2025 

423 

(B) be a veterinary technician; or 
(C) under the personal supervision of a 

veterinary technician. 
(2) other than a veterinarian, all veterinary 

radiation machine operators shall be employed 
or engaged by a veterinarian or the owner of a 
veterinary facility registered in accordance with 
Section .0200 of this Chapter. 

(m)  For individuals other than radiologists, instruction and 
training to operate fluoroscopic and angiographic radiation 
machines by physicians and APPs shall include: 

(1) radiation quantities and units; 
(2) biological effects of ionizing radiation and 

recognition of symptoms of acute localized 
exposure; 

(3) radiation dose management and optimization of 
image quality; and 

(4) equipment features. 
(n)  Training records for each operator of a radiation machine shall 
be maintained and available for agency review during inspection. 
 
Authority G.S. 104E-7. 
 
10A NCAC 15 .0605 FLUOROSCOPIC X-RAY 
SYSTEMS OPERATING REQUIREMENTS 
All fluoroscopic X-Ray systems shall meet the following 
requirements: 

(1) Limitation of primary beam 
(a) The fluoroscopic tube shall not 

produce X-Rays unless the primary 
protective barrier is in position to 
intercept the entire primary beam at all 
times. 

(b) The entire cross section of the primary 
beam shall be intercepted by the 
primary protective barrier of the 
fluoroscopic image assembly at any 
SID. 

(c) Limitation to the Imaging Surface 
(i) The X-Ray field produced by 

fluoroscopic equipment 
without image intensification 
shall not extend beyond the 
entire visible area of the 
image receptor. This 
requirement applies to field 
size during both fluoroscopic 
procedures and spot-filming 
procedures. 

(ii) Image-intensified 
fluoroscopy and spot-filming 
shall comply with the 
following: 
(A) During fluoroscopic 

or spot-filming 
procedures, neither 
the length nor the 
width of the X-Ray 
field in the plane of 

the image receptor 
shall exceed the 
visible area of the 
image receptor by 
more than three 
percent of the SID. 
The sum of the 
excess length and 
the excess width 
shall be no greater 
than four percent of 
the SID. 

(B) Compliance shall be 
determined with the 
beam axis 
perpendicular to the 
image receptor. For 
rectangular X-Ray 
fields used with 
circular image 
reception, the error 
in alignment shall 
be determined along 
the length and width 
dimensions of the 
X-Ray field which 
pass through the 
center of the visible 
area of the image 
receptor. 

(iii) In addition to other 
requirements of this Rule, 
equipment manufactured 
after the effective date of 
these Rules shall comply 
with the following: 
(A) Means shall be 

provided between 
the source and the 
patient for 
adjustment of the X-
Ray field size in the 
plane of the film to 
the size of that 
portion of the film 
which has been 
selected on the 
spot-film selector. 
This adjustment 
shall be 
automatically 
accomplished 
except when the X-
Ray field size in the 
plane of the film is 
smaller than that of 
the selected portion 
of the film. 
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(B) It shall be possible 
to adjust the X-Ray 
field size in the 
plane of the film to a 
size smaller than the 
selected portion of 
the film. The 
minimum field size 
at the greatest SID, 
shall be equal to or 
less than five 
centimeters by five 
centimeters. 

(C) The center of the X-
Ray field in the 
plane of the film 
shall be aligned 
with the center of 
the selected portion 
of the film to within 
two percent of the 
SID. 

(2) X-Ray production in the fluoroscopic mode 
shall be controlled by a device which requires 
continuous pressure by the fluoroscopist for the 
entire time of any exposure. When recording 
serial fluoroscopic images, the fluoroscopist 
shall be able to terminate the X-Ray 
exposure(s) at any time, but means may be 
provided to permit completion of any single 
exposure of the series in process. 

(3) Entrance exposure rates shall be limited as 
required in the following: 
(a) Fluoroscopic equipment shall not be 

operated at any combination of tube 
potential and current which will result 
in an exposure rate in excess of ten 
roentgens per minute at the point 
where the center of the primary beam 
enters the patient, except: 
(i) during recording of 

fluoroscopic images; or 
(ii) when provided with optional 

high level control, the 
equipment shall not be 
operable at any combination 
of tube potential and current 
which will result in an 
exposure rate in excess of 
five roentgens per minute at 
the point where the center of 
the beam enters the patient 
unless the high level control 
is activated. Special means of 
activation of high level 
controls, such as additional 
pressure applied 
continuously by the operator, 
shall be required to avoid 

accidental use. A continuous 
signal audible to the 
fluoroscopist shall indicate 
that the high level control is 
being employed. 

(b) In addition to the other requirements 
of this Rule equipment manufactured 
after August, 1974, which does not 
incorporate an automatic exposure 
control (e.g., automatic brightness 
control or ionization chamber control) 
shall not be operated at any 
combination of tube potential and 
current which will result in an 
exposure rate in excess of five 
roentgens per minute at the point 
where the center of the primary beam 
enters the patient except during the 
recording of fluoroscopic images or 
when provided with an optional high 
level control. 

(c) Compliance with the provisions of 
Item (3) of this Rule shall be 
determined as follows: 
(i) Movable grids and 

compression devices shall be 
removed from the primary 
beam during the 
measurement. 

(ii) If the source is below the 
table, the exposure rate shall 
be measured one centimeter 
above the tabletop or cradle. 

(iii) If the source is above the 
table, the exposure rate shall 
be measured at 30 
centimeters above the 
tabletop with the end of the 
beam-limiting device or 
spacer positioned as closely 
as possible to the point of 
measurement. 

(iv) In a C-arm type fluoroscope, 
the exposure rate shall be 
measured 30 centimeters 
from the input surface of the 
fluoroscopic imaging 
assembly. 

(d) Periodic measurement of entrance 
exposure rate limits shall comply with 
the following: 
(i) Such measurements shall be 

made every two years or after 
any maintenance of the 
system which might affect 
the exposure rate. 

(ii) Results of these 
measurements shall be 
available or posted where any 
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fluoroscopist may have ready 
access to them and shall be in 
the record required in Rule 
.0603(a)(2)(B) of this 
Section. Results of the 
measurements shall include 
the exposure rate, as well as 
the physical factors used to 
determine all data; the name 
of the person approved by the 
agency performing the 
measurements and the date 
the measurements were 
performed. 

(iii) Entrance exposure rate shall 
be determined with the 
attenuation block in Rule 
.0602(a) in the primary beam. 

(4) Radiation transmitted through the primary 
protective barrier of the fluoroscopic imaging 
assembly shall comply with the following 
requirements: 
(a) The exposure rate resulting from 

transmission through the primary 
protective barrier with the attenuation 
block in the primary beam, combined 
with radiation from the image 
intensifier, if provided, shall not 
exceed two milliroentgens per hour at 
ten centimeters from any accessible 
surface of the fluoroscopic imaging 
assembly beyond the plane of the 
image receptor for each roentgen per 
minute of entrance exposure rate. 

(b) Measurements to determine 
compliance with Sub-item (4)(a) of 
this Rule shall be in accordance with 
the following: 
(i) The exposure rate resulting 

from transmission through 
the primary protective barrier 
combined with radiation 
from the image intensifier 
shall be determined by 
measurements averaged over 
an area of 100 square 
centimeters with no linear 
dimension greater than 20 
centimeters; 

(ii) If the source is below the 
tabletop, the measurement 
shall be made with the input 
surface of the fluoroscopic 
imaging assembly, 
positioned 30 centimeters 
above the tabletop. 

(iii) If the source is above the 
tabletop and the SID is 
variable, the measurement 

shall be made with the end of 
the beam-limiting device or 
spacer as close to the tabletop 
as it can be placed, provided 
that it shall not be closer than 
30 centimeters; 

(iv) Movable grids and 
compression devices shall be 
removed from the primary 
beam during the 
measurement; 

(v) The attenuation block shall 
be positioned in the primary 
beam ten centimeters from 
the point of measurement of 
entrance exposure rate and 
between this point and the 
input surface of the 
fluoroscopic imaging 
assembly. 

(5) During fluoroscopy and cinefluorography, X-
Ray tube potential and current shall be 
continuously indicated. 

(6) The source-skin distance shall not be less than: 
(a) 38 centimeters on stationary 

fluoroscopes, 
(b) 30 centimeters on all mobile 

fluoroscopes, or 
(c) 20 centimeters for image intensified 

fluoroscopes during surgical 
application. 

(7) Fluoroscopic timers shall meet the following 
requirements: 
(a) Means shall be provided to preset the 

cumulative on-time of the 
fluoroscopic tube. The maximum 
cumulative time of the timing device 
shall not exceed five minutes without 
resetting. 

(b) A signal audible to the fluoroscopist 
shall indicate the completion of any 
preset cumulative on-time. Such 
signal shall continue to sound while X-
Rays are produced until the timing 
device is reset. 

(8) Mobile fluoroscopes, in addition to the other 
requirements of this Rule, shall provide image 
intensification. 

(9) Scattered radiation shall be controlled in 
accordance with the following requirements: 
(a) A shielding device of at least 0.25 mm 

lead equivalent for covering the Bucky 
slot during fluoroscopy shall be 
provided. 

(b) A shield of at least 0.25 mm lead 
equivalent, such as overlapping 
protective drapes or hinged or sliding 
panels, shall be provided to intercept 
scattered radiation which would 
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otherwise reach the fluoroscopist and 
others near the machine. 

(c) Upon application to the agency with 
adequate justification, exceptions 
from Sub-items (9)(a) or (9)(b) of this 
Rule may be made in some special 
procedures where a sterile field will 
not permit the use of the normal 
protective barriers or where the 
protective barriers would interfere 
with the procedures. 

(a)  Radiation machines shall only be operated by individuals who 
meet the operator requirements of Rule .0604 of this Section. 
(b)  Exposures of individuals to the primary beam: 

(1) Individuals shall not be exposed to the primary 
beam except for diagnostic imaging purposes. 
Such exposures shall have been authorized by a 
licensed practitioner as defined in Rule 
.0103(7) of this Chapter. 

(2) Students or candidates in training under the 
personal supervision of an individual that meets 
the requirements of Rule .0604 of this Chapter 
shall not be permitted to perform radiographic 
imaging unless such exposures have been 
authorized by a licensed practitioner as defined 
in Rule .0103(7) of this Chapter. 

(3) Deliberate exposure of an individual for 
training, demonstration, or other non-
diagnostic imaging purposes is prohibited. 

(4) Radiation exposures for non-human use, used 
for forensic medicine, or by service providers 
for demonstration purposes are exempt from 
Subparagraphs (b)(1) and (2) of this Rule. 

(c)  The radiation exposure to the patient shall be the minimum 
exposure required to produce images of optimal diagnostic 
quality. 
(d)  Individuals who operate radiation machines shall: 

(1) be familiar with the radiation protection 
program procedures established in accordance 
with Rule .0603(d)(3) of this Section; 

(2) use collimation to limit the primary beam to the 
area of clinical interest or to the image receptor, 
whichever is smaller; 

(3) use technique factors and dose reduction 
technologies, according to patient sizes and 
clinical indication, to optimize patient dose 
while maintaining optimal image quality; 

(4) use mechanical holding devices, whenever 
medical circumstances permit, when a patient 
or image receptor must be provided with 
auxiliary support during a radiation exposure; 
and 

(5) control the area during radiation exposures. 
(e)  Except for dental handheld radiation machines, individuals 
who operate radiation machines shall not hold either the X-Ray 
tube housing or the collimating device during radiation exposures. 
(f)  No occupational worker shall be designated as the individual 
who always holds patients or image receptors during radiation 

exposures. Operators of veterinary radiation machines are exempt 
from this Rule. 
(g)  If a human holder is required, they shall be provided with 
instructions: 

(1) for supporting the patient during the radiation 
exposure; 

(2) to wear a lead apron equivalent to 0.25 mm or 
greater for protection from scatter radiation 
during the exposure; and 

(3) to avoid extremity exposure to the primary 
beam, or to wear protective gloves equivalent to 
0.5 mm of lead or more. 

(h)  Except for Dual Energy X-Ray Absorptiometry (DEXA or 
DXA) and intraoral dental handheld radiation machine operators, 
only the professional staff and individuals required for the 
medical procedure or those in training shall be in the room of the 
patient being examined during the radiographic and fluoroscopic 
exposures. 

(1) All individuals other than the patient being 
examined shall be: 
(A) positioned such that no part of the 

body, including the extremities, which 
are not protected by 0.5 mm lead 
equivalent or greater material will be 
exposed to the primary beam; and 

(B) protected from scatter radiation by 
protective apparel or whole-body 
protective equipment of 0.25 mm lead 
equivalent or greater material. 

(2) When a mobile or portable radiation machine is 
used during radiographic or fluoroscopy 
exposures, patients other than the individual 
examined who cannot be removed from the 
room shall be protected from the scatter 
radiation by: 
(A) protective apparel or equipment; or 
(B) be positioned so that the nearest 

portion of the body is six feet or 
greater from both the tube head and 
the nearest edge of the image receptor. 

(i)  CT operators shall have the following made readily accessible 
during the use of the CT radiation machine and while performing 
routine QC: 

(1) instructions on performing routine QC; 
(2) a schedule of routine QC; 
(3) any allowable variations set by the CT QE for 

the indicated parameters; 
(4) the results of the most recent routine QC 

completed on the system; and 
(5) established scanning protocols. 

(j)  Intraoral dental radiation machine operators shall use patient 
and film holding devices when the techniques permit. 
(k)  Intraoral dental handheld radiation machine operators shall 
ensure the following additional requirements are met: 

(1) When making an exposure, all individuals other 
than the patient undergoing the procedure 
remain at a distance greater than six feet from 
the patient. 
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(2) Use an individual monitoring device. When 
protective apparel is required in accordance 
with Subparagraph (k)(3) of this Rule, the 
individual monitoring device shall be used in 
accordance with Paragraph (m) of this Rule. 

(3) Wear protective apparel of 0.25 mm or greater 
lead equivalent material when the backscatter 
shield is not parallel to the operator while 
making an exposure. 

(l)  Veterinary radiation machine operators shall ensure the 
following additional requirements are met. 

(1) A dead-man type of exposure switch shall be 
provided, tethered with a cord of a length so that 
the operator can stand out of the primary beam 
and six feet or greater from the animal during 
all X-Ray exposures or behind a protective 
barrier adequate to assure compliance with dose 
limit requirements of Rules .1601(a)(8) and 
.1601(a)(15) of this Chapter are not exceeded. 

(2) No individual other than the operator shall be in 
the X-ray room while exposures are being made 
unless such an individual's assistance is 
required. 

(m)  When protective apparel or equipment is used and an 
individual monitoring device(s) is required, at least one such 
monitoring device shall be used as follows: 

(1) The individual monitoring device shall be worn 
at the collar, outside the apparel. 

(2) If protective equipment is used in place of 
protective apparel, the individual radiation 
monitoring device shall be worn on the torso. 

(3) A fetal monitoring device shall be worn at the 
waist. If protective apparel is worn, the 
individual radiation monitoring device shall be 
worn under the protective apparel at the waist. 

(4) The dose to the whole body shall be recorded in 
the reports in accordance with Rule 
.1601(a)(53) of this Chapter. If more than one 
device is used, each dose shall be identified 
with the area where the device was worn on the 
body. 

 
Authority G.S. 104E-7. 
 
10A NCAC 15 .0606 SYSTEMS OTHER THAN 
FLUOROSCOPIC AND DENTAL INTRAORAL AREA 
REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  Unless specifically provided otherwise by the rules in this 
Chapter, the requirements in this Rule shall apply to all x-ray 
systems, except for fluoroscopic and dental intraoral x-ray 
systems. The useful beam of x-ray systems subject to provisions 
of this Rule shall be limited to the area of clinical interest or the 
image receptor, whichever is smaller. 

(1) General purpose stationary and mobile x-ray 
systems shall meet the following special 
requirements: 
(A) There shall be provided a means for 

stepless adjustment of the size of the 
x-ray field. The minimum field size at 

a SID of 100 centimeters shall be 
equal to or less than five centimeters 
by five centimeters. 

(B) Means shall be provided for visually 
defining the perimeter of the x-ray 
field. The total misalignment of the 
edges of the visually defined field with 
the respective edges of the x-ray field 
along either the length or width of the 
visually defined field shall not exceed 
two percent of the distance from the 
source to the center of the visually 
defined field when the surface upon 
which it appears is perpendicular to 
the axis of the x-ray beam. 

(C) Notwithstanding Parts (a)(1)(A) and 
(B) of this Rule, equipment 
manufactured before August 1, 1974 
may employ fixed cones and 
diaphragms or variable collimators 
without beam defining lights. 

(2) In addition to the requirements of Subparagraph 
(a)(1) of this Rule, all stationary x-ray systems, 
except equipment originally manufactured 
before the effective date of this Rule, shall meet 
the following requirements: 
(A) Means shall be provided to indicate 

when the axis of the x-ray beam is 
perpendicular to the plane of the image 
receptor, to align the center of the 
x-ray field with respect to the center of 
the image receptor to within two 
percent of the SID, and to indicate the 
SID to within two percent; 

(B) The beam limiting device shall 
numerically indicate the field size in 
the plane of the image receptor to 
which it is adjusted; 

(C) Indication of field size dimensions and 
SID's shall be specified in inches or 
centimeters and shall be such that 
aperture adjustments result in x-ray 
field dimensions in the plane of the 
image receptor which correspond to 
those of the image receptor to within 
two percent of the SID when the beam 
axis is perpendicular to the plane of 
the image receptor. 

(3) Radiographic equipment designed for only one 
image receptor size at a fixed SID shall be 
provided with means to limit the field at the 
plane of the image receptor to dimensions no 
greater than those of the image receptor and to 
align the center of the x-ray field with the center 
of the image receptor to within two percent of 
the SID. 

(4) Special purpose x-ray systems shall meet the 
following requirements: 
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(A) These systems shall be provided with 
means to limit the x-ray field in the 
plane of the image receptor so that 
such field does not exceed each 
dimension of the image receptor by 
more than two percent of the SID 
when the axis of the x-ray beam is 
perpendicular to the plane of the image 
receptor. 

(B) Such systems shall also be provided 
with means to align the center of the 
x-ray field with the center of the image 
receptor to within two percent of the 
SID. 

(C) The requirements in Parts (a)(4)(A) 
and (B) of this Rule may be met with 
a system that meets the requirements 
for a general purpose x-ray system as 
specified in Subparagraph (a)(1) of 
this Rule or, when alignment means 
are also provided, as follows: 
(i) an assortment of removable, 

fixed-aperture, 
beam-limiting devices 
sufficient to meet the 
requirement for each 
combination of image 
receptor size and SID for 
which the unit is designed, 
where each device has clear 
and permanent markings to 
indicate the image receptor 
size and SID for which it is 
designed; or 

(ii) a beam-limiting device 
having multiple fixed 
apertures sufficient to meet 
the requirement for each 
combination of image 
receptor size and SID for 
which the unit is designed, 
where the device has 
permanent, clearly legible, 
markings indicating image 
receptor size and SID for 
which the unit is designed, 
where the device has 
permanent, clearly legible, 
markings indicating image 
receptor size and SID for 
which each aperture is 
designated and indicating 
which aperture is in position 
for use. 

(b)  Radiation exposure control devices shall meet the following 
requirements: 

(1) Means shall be provided to terminate the 
exposure after a preset time interval, preset 
product of current and time, a preset number of 

pulses or a preset radiation exposure to the 
image receptor. In addition: 
(A) Termination of exposure shall cause 

automatic resetting of the timer to its 
initial setting or to zero except during 
serial radiography, and 

(B) It shall not be possible to make an 
exposure when the timer is set to a 
zero or "off" position if either position 
is provided. 

(2) Control over x-ray exposures shall be in 
accordance with the following requirements: 
(A) A control shall be incorporated into 

each x-ray system such that the 
operator can terminate an exposure at 
any time except for serial radiography 
where means may be provided to 
permit completion of any single 
exposure of the series in process. 

(B) Each x-ray control shall be located in 
such a way as to meet the following 
criteria. 
(i) For stationary x-ray systems, 

the control shall be 
permanently mounted in a 
protected area so that the 
operator is required to remain 
in that protected area during 
the entire exposure; and 

(ii) The x-ray control shall 
provide visual indication 
observable at or from the 
operator's protected position 
whenever x-rays are 
produced. In addition, except 
for equipment originally 
manufactured before the 
effective date of this Rule, a 
signal audible to the operator 
shall indicate that the 
exposure has terminated. 

(3) When an automatic exposure control (e.g., 
phototimer) is provided the following 
requirements shall be met, except equipment 
originally manufactured before the effective 
date of this Rule: 
(A) Indication shall be made on the control 

panel when this mode of operation is 
selected; 

(B) When the x-ray tube potential is equal 
to or greater than 50 kVp, the 
minimum exposure time for field 
emission equipment rated for pulsed 
operation shall be equal to or less than 
a time interval equivalent to two 
pulses; 

(C) The minimum exposure time for all 
equipment other than that specified in 
Part (b)(3)(B) of this Rule shall be 
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equal to or less than 1/60 second or a 
time interval required to deliver five 
mAs, whichever is greater; 

(D) Either the product of peak x-ray tube 
potential, current and exposure time 
shall be limited to not more than 60 
kWs per exposure or the product of 
x-ray tube current and exposure time 
shall be limited to not more than 600 
mAs per exposure except when the 
x-ray tube potential is less than 50 
kVp, in which case the product of 
x-ray tube current and exposure time 
shall be limited to not more than 2000 
mAs per exposure; and 

(E) A visible signal shall indicate when an 
exposure has been terminated at the 
limits described in Part (b)(3)(D) of 
this Rule and manual resetting shall be 
required before further automatically 
timed exposures can be made. 

(4) When four timer tests are performed at identical 
timer setting equal to 5.0 seconds or less, the 
average time period (T) shall be greater than 
five times the difference between the maximum 
period (Tmax) and the minimum period (Tmin) 
in accordance with the formula: 

 
T > 5(Tmax-Tmin) 
 
(c)  Source-skin or source-image receptor distance shall meet the 
following requirement: 
All radiographic systems shall be provided with a durable, 
securely fastened means to limit the source-skin distance to at 
least 30 centimeters. This is considered to be met when the 
collimator or cone provides the required limits. 
(d)  The exposure produced shall be reproducible to within the 
following criteria: 
When all technique factors are held constant, the coefficient of 
variation shall not exceed 0.10. This shall be deemed to be met if, 
when four exposures at identical technique factors are made, the 
value of the average exposure (E)is greater than five times the 
difference between the maximum exposure (Emax) and the 
minimum exposure (Emin) in accordance with the formula: 
 
E > 5(Emax-Emin) 
 
(e)  Standby radiation from capacitor energy storage equipment, 
when the exposure switch or timer is not activated, shall not 
exceed a rate of two milliroentgens per hour at five centimeters 
from any accessible surface of the diagnostic source assembly 
with the beam-limiting device fully open. 
(f)  Linearity 

(1) When the equipment allows a choice of x-ray 
tube current settings, the average ratios of 
exposure to the indicated milliampere-seconds 
product, i.e., mR/mAs, obtained at any two 
consecutive tube current settings shall not differ 
by more than 0.10 times their sum, i.e., /mean 

of x1- x2/ < minus 0.10 mean of (x1+ x2), 
where the mean of x1 and x2 are the average 
mR/mAs values obtained at each of two 
consecutive tube current settings. 

(2) Compliance shall be determined at the most 
commonly used mA stations by measuring 
mR/mAs at those stations and at one adjacent 
station to each. 

(g)  Timer accuracy 
(1) For indicated values of 0.10 seconds and above, 

the measured value shall be within plus or 
minus 15 percent of the indicated values for 
equipment manufactured before August 1, 
1974. 

(2) For equipment manufactured after August 1, 
1974, the deviation of measured values from 
indicated values shall not exceed the limits 
specified for that system by its manufacturer. 

(a)  Structural barriers shall be installed so that the dose limits of 
Rules .1601(a)(8) and .1601(a)(15) of this Chapter are not 
exceeded. 

(1) Stationary radiation machine systems shall be 
installed in areas with the following: 
(A) primary protective barriers for all 

walls, floor, ceiling, or other structures 
that will intercept the primary beam; 

(B) secondary protective barriers in the 
walls, doors, floor, and ceiling areas or 
other structures that will intercept and 
attenuate leakage and scatter radiation; 
and 

(C) a window, to include a frame and 
lead-equivalent glass, meeting the 
same structural barriers as required by 
the adjacent barrier, or a mirror system 
shall be provided so the operator can 
see the patient from behind the 
protective barrier during radiation 
exposures. 

(2) Intraoral dental handheld radiation machines 
shall be used in a controlled area, as defined in 
Rule .1601(a)(3) of this Chapter and controlled 
by separating adjacent uncontrolled areas six 
feet or greater from the patient. 

(b)  The exposure switch for radiation machines shall be installed 
meeting the following requirements: 

(1) Stationary radiation machine systems shall 
have the exposure switch permanently 
mounted: 
(A) behind a protected barrier 40 inches (1 

meter) from the edge of the control 
booth; or 

(B) so that the operator is required to 
remain behind the protective barrier 
area during the entire radiation 
exposure. 

(2) Dental intraoral radiation machines shall have 
the exposure switch permanently installed so 
that the operator is required to be: 
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(A) behind a protective barrier height of 7 
feet (2.3 meters) or greater; or 

(B) located 6 feet (1.8 meters) or greater 
from the tube housing assembly. 

(3) Mobile, portable, and veterinary radiation 
machines shall have an exposure switch that 
allows the operator to stand six feet or greater 
from the tube during radiation exposures. 

(c)  Stationary CT radiation machine operators shall maintain 
aural communication with the patient while the operator is 
required to remain behind a protective barrier at the control panel. 
(d)  Use of video monitors that do not have a direct power source 
is prohibited. 
(e)  Any mobile or portable radiation machine used in one location 
or used as a primary imaging system shall have structural 
shielding in that location that meets the requirements for 
stationary diagnostic radiation machines for stationary diagnostic 
imaging systems in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule. 
(f)  An area radiation survey shall be performed for installations 
of radiation machines within 30 days following the initial use to 
show compliance with Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(1) This survey shall include: 
(A) a scaled drawing of the room in which 

the stationary radiation machine 
system is located; 

(B) radiation levels in adjacent areas; and 
(C) the name of the person, approved by 

the agency performing the survey, and 
the date the survey was performed. 

(2) Any modification that could increase the 
radiation dosage for any individual to the 
following shall require a new survey: 
(A) radiation machine configuration; 
(B) radiation output; or 
(C) occupancy factors if the x-ray room or 

adjacent areas are changed. 
(3) Area radiation survey records shall document 

compliance with dose limits in accordance with 
Rules .1601(a)(8) and (15) of this Chapter. 

(4) Records of the area radiation survey shall be 
maintained in accordance with Rule .0603(m) 
of this Section. 

(g)  Technique Charts or imaging protocols for each radiation 
machine not equipped with an operational anatomic programming 
or phototimer option shall be readily available to the operator of 
the radiation machine(s). If pediatric and adult patients are 
imaged, a chart is required for both and shall include the following 
information: 

(1) patient's anatomical size; 
(2) technique factors to be used; 
(3) source to image receptor distance used; and 
(4) type of image receptor. 

(h)  Each area, as defined in Rule .1601(a)(3) of this Chapter, 
where a radiation machine is used shall be conspicuously posted 
with a sign, in accordance with the requirements of Rule 
.1601(a)(34) of this Chapter, bearing the words "CAUTION – 
RADIATION AREA", or words having a similar meaning. 
(i)  Exemptions apply to the following: 

(1) intraoral dental radiation machines from Parts 
(a)(1)(A) and (C) of this Rule. 

(2) Dual Energy X-Ray Absorptiometry (DEXA or 
DXA) and veterinary radiation machines from 
Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule. 

(3) dental handheld radiation machines from 
Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule. 

(4) radiation machines used for intraoral, particle 
accelerators, or used for treatment planning 
from Paragraph (d) of this Rule; and 

(4) dental radiation machines from Subparagraph 
(g)(3) of this Rule. 

 
Authority G.S. 104E-7. 
 
10A NCAC 15 .0607 INTRAORAL DENTAL 
RADIOGRAPHIC SYSTEMS RADIATION MACHINE 
REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  In addition to the provisions of Rules .0603 and .0605 of this 
Section, the requirements of this Rule apply to x-ray equipment 
and associated facilities used for dental radiography. Criteria for 
extraoral dental radiographic systems are covered in Rule .0606 
of this Section. 
(b)  X-ray systems designed for use with an intraoral image 
receptor shall be provided with means to limit source-skin 
distance to not less than: 

(1) 18 centimeters, if operated above 50 kilovolts 
peak; or 

(2) ten centimeters, if operated at or below 50 
kilovolts peak. 

(c)  The size of the direct radiation beam shall be limited in 
accordance with the following rules: 

(1) Radiographic systems designed for use with an 
intraoral image receptor shall be provided with 
means to limit the x-ray beam such that: 
(A) If the source-skin distance (SSD) is 18 

centimeters or more, the x-ray field at 
the SSD shall be containable in a circle 
having a diameter of no more than 
seven centimeters; and 

(B) If the SSD is less than 18 centimeters, 
the x-ray field at the SSD shall be 
containable in a circle having a 
diameter of no more than six 
centimeters. 

(2) Effective February 1, 1981, equipment 
manufactured prior to August 1974 shall be 
equipped with a lead line open position 
indicating device with at least 0.79 mm lead. 

(d)  The timing device shall comply with the following 
requirements: 

(1) Termination of the exposure after a preset 
interval; 

(2) Termination of exposure shall cause automatic 
resetting of the timer to its initial setting or to 
zero; 

(3) It shall not be possible to make an exposure 
when the timer is set to a zero or "off" position 
if either position is provided; and 
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(4) When four timer tests are performed at identical 
timer settings equal to five seconds or less, the 
average time period (T) shall be greater than 
five times the difference between the maximum 
period (Tmax) and the minimum period (Tmin) 
in accordance with the formula: 

 
T > 5(Tmax- Tmin) 
 

(5) Effective February 1, 1983, intraoral dental 
radiographic systems shall be equipped with an 
electronic timer. 

(6) Timer accuracy 
(A) For indicated values of 0.10 seconds 

and above, the measured value shall be 
within plus or minus 15 percent of the 
indicated values for equipment 
manufactured before August 1, 1974. 

(B) For equipment manufactured after 
August 1, 1974, the deviation of 
measured values from indicated values 
shall not exceed the limits specified 
for that system by its manufacturer. 

(e)  The exposure switch shall comply with the following 
requirements: 

(1) A control shall be incorporated into each x-ray 
system such that an exposure can be terminated 
at any time, except for exposures of one-half 
second or less. 

(2) Each x-ray control shall be located in such a 
way as to meet the following criteria: 
(A) For stationary x-ray systems installed 

after the effective date of this Rule, the 
exposure switch shall be permanently 
mounted in a protected area (e.g., 
corridor outside the room) so that the 
operator is required to remain in that 
protected area during the entire 
exposure. 

(B) For stationary x-ray systems without a 
protected area and installed before the 
effective date of this Rule, the 
exposure switch shall be such that the 
operator shall stand at least six feet 
away from the tube and out of the 
direct beam. 

(C) For mobile and portable x-ray systems 
the switch shall meet the requirements 
of Part (e)(2)(B) of this Rule. 

(3) For equipment manufactured after August 1, 
1974, the x-ray control shall provide visual 
indication observable at or from the operator's 
protected position whenever x-rays are 
produced. In addition, a signal audible to the 
operator shall indicate that the exposure has 
terminated. 

(f)  The exposure produced shall be reproducible to within the 
following criteria: 

When all technique factors are held constant, the coefficient of 
variation shall not exceed 0.10. This shall be deemed to be met if, 
when four exposures at identical technique factors are made, the 
value of the average exposure (E) is greater than five times the 
difference between the maximum exposure (Emax) and the 
minimum exposure (Emin) in accordance with the formula: 
 
E > 5(Emax- Emin) 
 
(g)  Patient and film holding devices shall be used when the 
techniques permit. 
(h)  Neither the tube housing nor the position indicating device 
shall be hand-held during an exposure. 
(i)  Dental fluoroscopy without image intensification shall not be 
used. 
(j)  Structural shielding 

(1) All wall, floor and ceiling areas shall have 
protective barriers sufficient to meet the 
requirements of Rules .1604 and .1611 of this 
Chapter. 

(2) When intraoral x-ray systems are installed in 
adjacent rooms or areas, protective barriers as 
specified in Subparagraph (j)(1) of this Rule 
shall be provided between the rooms or areas.  

(a)  All radiation machines shall be: 
(1) registered with the agency in accordance with 

Rule .0203(a) of this Chapter; and 
(2) installed according to the manufacturer's 

specifications. 
(b)  Each diagnostic radiographic and fluoroscopic radiation 
machine and associated components shall comply with the 
following provisions of 21 CFR Subchapter J, Diagnostic x-ray 
systems and their major components, which are hereby 
incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and 
editions. The following parts of 21 CFR Subchapter J apply: 

(1) Part 1000, "General;" 
(2) Subpart A 1000.1, "General Provisions - 

General;" 
(3) Subpart A 1000.3(a) through (1), and (n) 

through (s), "Definitions;" 
(4) Subpart A 1000.15, "Examples of electronic 

products subject to the Radiation Control for 
Health and Safety Act of 1968;" 

(5) Part 1002, "Records and Reports;" 
(6) Subpart A 1002.1(a) and (c)(4), 

"Applicability;" 
(7) Subpart D 1002.31, "Preservation and 

inspection of records;" 
(8) Part 1003, "Notification of Defects of Failures 

to Comply;" 
(9) Subpart A 1003.1, "Applicability;" 
(10) Subpart A 1003.2, "Defect in an electronic 

product;" 
(11) Subpart C 1003.21, "Notification by the 

manufacturer to affected persons;" 
(12) Part 1010, "Performance Standards for 

Electronic Products - General;" 
(13) Subpart A 1010.1, "Scope;" 
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(14) Subpart A 1010.2 (a),(b), and (d), 
"Certification;" 

(15) Subpart A 1010.3, "Identification;" 
(16) Subpart A 1010.4(a) and (d), "Variances;" 
(17) Part 1020, "Performance Standards for Ionizing 

Radiation Emitting Products;" 
(18) Section 1020.20, "Cold-cathode gas discharge 

tubes;" 
(19) Section 1020.30, "Diagnostic x-ray systems and 

their main components;" 
(20) Section 1020.31, "Radiographic equipment;" 
(21) Section 1020.32, "Fluoroscopic equipment;" 

and 
(22) Section 1020.33, "Computed tomography (CT) 

equipment." 
(c)  The regulations incorporated by reference in Paragraph (b) of 
this Rule are available free of charge at 
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/chapter-I/subchapter-J for 
Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (b)(22) of this Rule. 
(d)  Diagnostic radiation machines and their associated 
components used on humans and certified in accordance with 
Paragraph (b)(17) of this Rule shall be maintained to ensure 
compliance with standards in accordance with Paragraph (b) of 
this Rule. 
(e)  Radiation machines that do not meet the requirements of 
Paragraph (b)(1) of this Rule shall not be sold, installed, or used 
in this state prior to the agency completing a review of the 
radiation machine in accordance with Rule .0212(a) of this 
Chapter. 
(f)  All radiation machines shall meet the following additional 
requirements: 

(1) The tube housing shall remain stable during 
radiation exposures unless tube housing 
movement is a designed function of the 
radiation machine. 

(2) All position locking, holding, and centering 
devices on radiation machine components and 
systems shall function as intended by the 
manufacturer. 

(g)  Veterinary. Radiation machines used in veterinary medicine 
are exempt from Paragraph (c) of this Rule. The requirements of 
this paragraph shall apply only to veterinary medicine 
radiographic installations. Veterinary radiation machine 
installations shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) The protective tube housing shall be of the 
diagnostic type. 

(2) Diaphragms or cones shall be provided for 
collimating the useful beam to the area of the 
image receptor and shall provide the same 
degree of protection as is required in the 
housing. 

(3) The total filtration permanently in the useful 
beam shall not be less than 0.5 millimeters 
aluminum equivalent for machines operating up 
to 50 kVp, 1.5 millimeters aluminum equivalent 
for machines operating between 50-70 kVp, 
and 2.5 millimeters aluminum equivalent for 
machines operating above 70 kVp. 

(4) A device shall be provided to terminate the 
exposure after a preset time or exposure. 

(5) A dead-man type of exposure switch shall be 
provided, together with an electrical cord of 
sufficient length, so that the operator can stand 
out of the useful beam and at least six feet from 
the animal during all x-ray exposures or behind 
a protective barrier adequate to assure 
compliance with dose limit requirements of 
Rules .1601(a)(8) and .1601(a)(15) of this 
Chapter. 

 
Authority G.S. 104E-7. 
 
10A NCAC 15 .0608 THERAPEUTIC X-RAY 
INSTALLATIONS: LESS THAN ONE MEV 
 
Authority G.S. 104E-7;104E-12(a). 
 
10A NCAC 15 .0610 VETERINARY MEDICINE 
RADIOGRAPHIC INSTALLATIONS 
 
Authority G.S. 104E-7;104E-12(a). 
 
10A NCAC 15 .0611 COMPUTED TOMOGRAPHY 
(CT) X-RAY SYSTEMS 
 
Authority G.S. 104E-7;104E-11; 104E-12. 
 
 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 
 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission intends 
to amend the rules cited as 12 NCAC 10B .0403, and .0407. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
ncdoj.gov 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2025 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  September 2, 2025 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Location:  1700 Tryon Park Dr. Raleigh, NC 27610 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  12 NCAC 10B .0403 - This rule 
modifies the Probationary Certification requirements to allow the 
issuance of probationary certification prior to completion of 
BLET and adds clarifying language as to the authority of these 
officers to exercise the powers of a deputy sheriff until such 
training has been completed. 
12 NCAC 10B .0407 - This rule modifies the requirements for 
issuance of certification to a former sheriff by removing the 
requirement of serving for a minimum of four years if the former 
sheriff has specified qualifying conditions. 
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Comments may be submitted to:  Robin Pendergraft, 1700 
Tryon Park Dr., Raleigh, NC 27610; phone (919) 779-8213; email 
rpendergraft@ncdoj.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  October 14, 2025 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 
Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 
written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 
clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 
provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 
written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 
1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 
email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 
attorney at 984-236-1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 10 - SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 
 
SUBCHAPTER 10B - N.C. SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 
 

SECTION .0400 - CERTIFICATION OF JUSTICE 
OFFICERS 

 
12 NCAC 10B .0403 PROBATIONARY 
CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENT 
(a)  For certification as a deputy sheriff, the applicant must 
successfully complete Basic Law Enforcement Training as 
described in 12 NCAC 10B .0502 and 12 NCAC 09B .0205, and 
sheriff or detention officer, a Report of Appointment (Form F-4) 
must shall be submitted to the Division. For certification as a 
telecommunicator, a Report of Appointment (Form F-4T) shall be 
submitted to the Division. 
(b)  For certification as a detention officer, a Report of 
Appointment (Form F-4) must be submitted to the Division. 
(c)  For certification as a telecommunication officer, a Report of 
Appointment (Form F-4T) must be submitted to the Division. 
(d)(b)  Report of Appointment forms must shall be submitted to 
the Division by the employing agency no later than 10 days after 
the deputy sheriff has taken the Oath of Office, or the detention 
officer or the telecommunicator has been appointed. 

(e)(c)  The Division shall forward the justice officer's certification 
to the appointing employing agency. 
(f)(d)  No deputy sheriff or detention officer probationary 
certification shall be issued by the Division prior to the applicant 
meeting the conditions set forth in this Paragraph. As an 
additional requirement for probationary certification, the 
applicant shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) If the applicant for probationary certification is 
authorized by the sheriff to carry a firearm 
pursuant to the provisions of 12 NCAC 10B 
.2104, Rule .2104 of this Subchapter, the 
employing agency shall submit evidence of 
satisfactory completion of the employing 
agency's in-service firearms training and 
requalification qualification program pursuant 
to 12 NCAC 10B .2000 and .2100; Section 
.2100 of this Subchapter; or 

(2) If the applicant for probationary certification is 
not authorized by the sheriff to carry a firearm 
pursuant to the provisions of 12 NCAC 10B 
.2104, Rule .2104 of this Subchapter, the 
employing agency shall notify the Division, in 
writing, that the applicant is not authorized by 
the sheriff to carry a firearm. 

(e)  After documentation has been submitted to the Division 
pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this rule, a deputy sheriff who has not 
completed Basic Law Enforcement Training is only authorize to 
exercise the powers of a deputy sheriff when such action is: 

(1) While accompanied by and under the direct 
supervision of the sheriff or designee; or 

(2) While accompanied by and under the direct 
supervision of another deputy sheriff or law 
enforcement officer who has successfully 
completed Basic Law Enforcement Training; or 

(3) Necessary to: 
(A) Defend themselves or another from 

what the deputy sheriff believes to be 
imminent use of deadly force; or 

(B) Prevent serious bodily harm to 
themselves or another; or 

(C) Prevent the escape from custody a 
person the deputy sheriff believe is 
attempting to escape by means of a 
deadly weapon, or who by this 
conduct or any other means indicates 
an imminent threat of death or serious 
physical injury to injury to others 
unless apprehended without delay; or 
a convicted of a felony; or 

(4) Taken when the deputy sheriff has probable 
cause to believe in their presence: 
(A) a felony; or 
(B) a breach of the peace; or 
(C) a crime involving physical injury to 

another person; or 
(D) a crime involving theft or destruction 

of property is being committed. 
 
Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7. 
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12 NCAC 10B .0407 CERTIFICATION OF FORMER 
SHERIFF 
(a)  The Division shall issue a General Certification to any person 
as either a deputy sheriff, a detention officer, or telecommunicator 
who has previously served as an elected or appointed sheriff for a 
minimum of eight years, if the person: 

(1) applies to the Commission within one year of 
ceasing to serve as an elected or appointed 
sheriff; and 

(2) left the office of sheriff in good standing. 
(b)  The Division shall issue a General Certification to any person 
as either a deputy sheriff, a detention officer, or telecommunicator 
who has previously served as an elected or appointed sheriff for a 
minimum of four years, if the person: 

(1) applies to the Commission within one year of 
ceasing to serve as an elected or appointed 
sheriff; 

(2) held a General Certification as deputy sheriff, 
detention officer, or telecommunicator with the 
North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and 
Training Standards Commission or has held a 
General Certification as a sworn officer with 
the North Carolina Criminal Justice 
Commission, with a break in service not to 
exceed one year prior to serving as an elected 
or appointed sheriff; and 

(3) left the office of sheriff in good standing. 
(c)  In order for an officer to be certified under this Rule, the 
employing agency shall: 

(1) comply with the Report of Appointment form 
requirement of Rule .0403 of this Section; 

(2) submit to the Division, a copy of the Oath of 
Office for applicants requesting certification as 
a deputy sheriff; and 

(3) submit to the Division verification that the 
applicant meets the requirement of this Rule 
.0407(a)(2). 

 
Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7. 
 
 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 
QUALITY 

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Wildlife Resources Commission intends to adopt the rule cited as 
15A NCAC 10D .0295. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://www.ncwildlife.gov/hunting/regulations/proposed-
regulations 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2025 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  September 23, 2025 
Time:  2:00PM 
Location:  Virtual public hearing via Zoom, pre-registration is 
required: https://ncwildlife- 

org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_YzvznmTIQWq9j6gKo1
akLw or join by telephone toll free: (833) 568-8864, Webinar ID: 
160 056 5111 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed rule will establish 
Paynes Branch Game Land. Adding this property to the Game 
Land Program as a three day per week area will provide 
recreational opportunities for hunters, trappers, wildlife viewers, 
and other outdoor recreationists. Additionally, this rule will 
establish requirements related to deer seasons and prohibit 
horseback riding and target shooting. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, 
1701 Mail Center Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email 
regulations@ncwildlife.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  October 14, 2025 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 
Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 
written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 
clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 
provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 
written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 
1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 
email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 
attorney at 984-236-1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 
 

SUBCHAPTER 10D - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS 
 

SECTION .0200 - USE OF GAME LANDS 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0295 PAYNES BRANCH GAME LAND 
IN FORSYTH AND STOKES COUNTIES 
Paynes Branch Game Land is a Three Days per Week Area, in 
which the following applies: 

(1) Antlered or antlerless deer may be taken the 
first open day of the All Lawful Weapons 
Season for Deer With Visible Antlers through 
the second Wednesday thereafter. 
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(2) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(3) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Wildlife Resources Commission intends to amend the rule cited as 
15A NCAC 10F .0307. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://www.ncwildlife.gov/hunting/regulations/proposed-
regulations 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2025 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  September 25, 2025 
Time:  2:00PM 
Location:  Virtual public hearing via Zoom, pre-registration is 
required: https://ncwildlife-
org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_2qTvaWFVT76J2DTzJ5
D-lA or join by telephone toll free: (833) 568-8864, Webinar ID: 
161 368 6962 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  Wildlife Resources Commission 
staff were notified last fall of safety concerns and enforcement 
challenges surrounding vessel liveries on Lake Norman. Lack of 
regulations codified in Rule has made it difficult to enact and 
enforce regulations on vessel liveries, leading to lack of action 
against liveries and increased safety concerns among lake users. 
A temporary rule was adopted to address concerns during the 
boating season.  
 
Permanently codifying vessel livery safety requirements in Rule 
will clarify standards for livery companies, facilitate and 
streamline enforcement activities, and improve public safety. 
 
The proposed changes are identical to the temporary rule 
currently in effect and are identified with italicized text. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, 
1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email 
regulations@ncwildlife.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  October 14, 2025 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 
Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 
written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 
clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 
provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 
written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 
1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 
email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 
attorney at 984-236-1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 
 

SUBCHAPTER 10F - MOTORBOATS AND WATER 
SAFETY 

 
SECTION .0300 - LOCAL WATER SAFETY 

REGULATIONS 
 
15A NCAC 10F .0307 CATAWBA, IREDELL, 
LINCOLN, AND MECKLENBURG COUNTIES 
(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to Lake Norman in 
Catawba, Iredell, Lincoln, and Mecklenburg counties: 

(1) within 50 yards of the shoreline at Jetton Park 
in Mecklenburg County, from a point on the 
west side of the park at 35.47082 N, 80.90427 
W, south and around the point at 35.46703 N, 
80.90360 W, then northeast to a point at 
35.47262 N, 80.89727 W; 

(2) Bluff Point Cove in Cornelius shore to shore, 
east of a line from a point 50 yards west of the 
south shore of the cove mouth at 35.45327 N, 
80.89520 W to a point 50 yards west of the 
north shore of the cove mouth at 35.45487 N, 
80.89440 W; and 

(3) the cove immediately north of the inlet of Hager 
Creek in Iredell County, north of a line from a 
point on the north shore at 35.55760 N, 
80.94730 W southwest to a point on the island 
at the inlet of Hager Creek at 35.55695 N, 
80.94971 W, and east of a line from the same 
point on the island northwest to a point on the 
north shore at 35.55754 N, 80.95029 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 
no wake speed within the regulated areas described in Paragraph 
(a) of this Rule and as set forth in G.S. 75A-14.1. 
(c)  Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for the 
operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter any marked swimming 
area on the waters of Lake Norman. 
(d)(c)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The Lake Norman 
Marine Commission shall be the designated agency for placement 
and maintenance of navigational aids and regulatory markers on 
the waters of Lake Norman. 
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(d)  Vessel Liveries. Vessel liveries operating on Lake Norman 
shall conduct the following activities with each vessel renter prior 
to relinquishing control of the vessel: 

(1) a pre-rental vessel inspection to ensure that 
safety equipment required by Rule .0201 of this 
Subchapter is on board and accessible; and 

(2) provide and review instruction on safe 
operation of the vessel rented including review 
of navigation rules in G.S. 75A-6.1, operating 
restrictions in G.S. 75A-10, an electronic or 
waterproof navigational map of Lake Norman, 
and the U.S. Coast Guard's U.S. Aids to 
Navigation System pamphlet. 

Both parties shall sign and date documentation verifying 
adherence to these requirements on the date the rental begins. The 
vessel livery shall maintain a copy of this documentation for a 
period of two years from the date of rental which shall be made 
available to law enforcement officers upon request. The vessel 
renter shall have a copy of the documentation on the vessel and 
available for law enforcement upon demand during the term of the 
rental. 
 
Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 
G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Wildlife Resources Commission 
intends to adopt the rule cited as 15A NCAC 10G .0406, readopt 
with substantive changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10G .0402, 
.0405, and repeal through readoption the rules cited as 15A 
NCAC 10G .0401, and .0403. 
 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 
impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 
the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 
on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://www.ncwildlife.gov/hunting/regulations/proposed-
regulations 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2025 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  September 24, 2025 
Time:  2:00PM 
Location:  Virtual public hearing via Zoom, pre-registration is 
required: https://ncwildlife-
org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_tXDoObI6RR-bY7H6X-
atug or join by telephone toll free: (833) 568-8864, Webinar ID: 
161 077 0713 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The 10G rules were determined 
to be "necessary with substantive interest" as part of the period 
review and are required to be readopted. Proposed changes to 
Rules within 15A NCAC 10G .0400 provide minor updates to the 
program framework for Wildlife Service Agents. Highlights 
include updates to language throughout for improved clarity and 

conciseness, updates to wildlife service agent terms and 
conditions, and updates to the information and conditions 
required for application. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, 
1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email 
regulations@ncwildlife.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  October 14, 2025 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 
Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 
written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 
clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 
provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 
written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 
1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 
email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 
attorney at 984-236-1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 
 

SUBCHAPTER 10G - DISTRIBUTION AND SALE OF 
HUNTING: FISHING: AND TRAPPING LICENSE 

 
SECTION .0400 - WILDLIFE SERVICE AGENTS 

 
15A NCAC 10G .0401 PURPOSE OF WILDLIFE 
SERVICE AGENTS 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.1. 
 
15A NCAC 10G .0402 APPOINTMENT OF WILDLIFE 
SERVICE AGENTS 
(a)  Wildlife Service Agents are official license and vessel agents 
of the Commission who are authorized to issue hunting, fishing 
and other licenses, permits, applications, vessel registrations, and 
items pursuant to G.S. 113-270.1, the Wildlife Service Agent 
Agreement and the Rules of this Section. 
(b)  Any An individual authorized to act on behalf of a business 
operating from a fixed location in North Carolina may apply to 
the Commission for appointment as a Wildlife Service Agent by 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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completing an application provided by the Commission. Agent by 
completing the Wildlife Service Agent application available at 
ncwildlife.gov. Information required from the applicant shall 
include: 

(1) business name, physical address, email, county, 
phone number, agent type, description of 
services, and operational dates and hours; and 

(2) business owner name, address, date of birth, 
driver's license number, and length of business 
ownership. 

(b)  Application. Applications for Wildlife Service Agent 
appointment shall contain the business name, address, county 
agent contact information, bank account information, business 
hours, and any other information requested by the Commission 
that is reasonably necessary to determine the fitness of the 
applicant to serve as a Wildlife Service Agent. 
(d)(c)  Qualifications and Requirements. Applicants Business 
owners shall meet the following requirements to qualifications in 
order to be appointed qualify as a Wildlife Service Agent. Agent 
unless otherwise approved by the Executive Director or his or her 
designee to maintain adequate service to the public in a 
geographic area: 

(1) Businesses shall operate from a fixed location 
in North Carolina and shall sell a minimum of 
one thousand dollars ($1,000) in transaction 
sales annually. This minimum requirement may 
be waived by the Executive Director if he finds 
the applicant's services necessary to maintain 
adequate agent services to the public in that 
geographic area. 

(2)(1) An applicant shall have a minimum of one 
year's experience in operating the business for 
which the application is made or other 
equivalent business experience or training. 
experience; In those cases where other 
equivalent business experience or training is 
accepted in lieu of the minimum one year's 
experience, the applicant shall submit financial 
statements of the business so that the solvency 
of the business can be judged. 

(3)(2) Applicants shall provide a bank account for the 
purpose of transferring net proceeds from all 
Wildlife Service Agent transactions to the 
Commission's account in the State Treasury 
every week via an electronic transfer of funds. 
Commission; and 

(3) no criminal convictions for financial crimes 
within the five years prior to application. 

(d)  The qualifications as provided by Paragraphs (b) and (c) of 
this Rule shall be met prior to appointment. Failure to comply with 
the qualifications and requirements as provided by Paragraph (c) 
of this Rule, throughout the term of the appointment, may result 
in termination of the agent appointment. All agents are subject to 
monitoring of their performance by the Customer Support Section 
of the Commission. 
(d)  Upon approval of the application by the Commission, 
Wildlife Service Agents shall: 

(1) have a computer, printer and internet access at 
their business location; 

(2) provide a voided check or withdrawal slip for 
the bank account to be used to transfer funds to 
the Commission; 

(3) complete online training provided by the 
Commission or a contracted third-party vendor; 
and 

(4) sign and submit the Wildlife Service Agent 
Agreement. 

(e)  Wildlife Service Agent Agreements and appointments are 
non-transferable and valid only for the owner and business named 
on the executed agreement. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.1. 
 
15A NCAC 10G .0403 WILDLIFE SERVICE AGENT 
AGREEMENT 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.1. 
 
15A NCAC 10G .0405 WILDLIFE SERVICE AGENT 
TERMS AND CONDITIONS 
(a)  A Wildlife Service Agent's Agent shall comply with the 
following appointment and service is subject to the following 
terms and conditions: 

(1) Public Service. Wildlife Service Agents shall 
serve all persons individuals seeking assistance 
with matters related to the duties of a Wildlife 
Service Agent. Agent during regular business 
hours. 

(2) Training. New Wildlife Service Agents shall 
attend a training session at a location specified 
by the Commission prior to activation of agent 
status and prior to receiving any equipment or 
supplies from the Commission. transfer funds 
and records to the Commission as specified in 
the Wildlife Service Agent Agreement; 

(3) Activation of Agent Status. Upon completion of 
training and receipt of equipment and supplies, 
Wildlife Service Agents shall have their 
equipment set up and ready for operation 10 
days after the date they receive the equipment 
and supplies. 

(4)(3) Application. Each Wildlife Service Agent shall 
notify the Commission of any changes to the 
original application for appointment such as 
business name, address, agent contact 
information, bank account information, 
business hours and other information related to 
agent appointment, within five business days of 
it's the change. 

(5)(4) Business Change of Ownership, Location, or 
Management. If the ownership of the business, 
location or management changes, then the 
Agreement becomes null and void. Written 
provide written notice of any a change in 
business ownership, location, or management 
shall be sent to the Commission at least 10 
business days prior to the change along with an 
application for a new Wildlife Service 
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Agreement, if desired, pursuant to the rules in 
this Section. desired. 

(6)(5) maintain five thousand dollars ($5,000) in 
Agent transaction sales at the business location 
annually. Cancellation. A Wildlife Service 
Agent may cancel the Agreement at any time by 
sending written notice to the Commission. The 
Commission shall instruct resigning agents on 
the procedures for returning all equipment and 
supplies and to settle their account. Upon 
resignation of appointment as a Wildlife 
Service Agent, the former agent must return all 
consigned equipment and supplies to the 
Commission and settle the agent financial 
account within 10 days of the resignation 
letter's date. 

(b)  A Wildlife Service Agent may cancel the Agreement by 
sending written notice to the Commission. Consigned equipment 
and supplies shall be returned to the Commission and the financial 
account shall be settled within 10 business days of the date of 
resignation letter receipt. 
(b)  Suspension. The Commission shall temporarily suspend any 
Wildlife Service Agent appointment for: 

(1) Failure to deposit sufficient funds one or two 
times to cover the electronic transfer of funds 
each week. 

(2) Failure to operate as a public convenience as 
specified in the Agreement one or two times. 

(3) Failure to provide proper and correct 
information one or two times about wildlife 
transactions and related issues to customers as 
documented by customer complaints or agency 
inspections. 

(4) Failure to submit or return all required 
documentation for transactions as outlined in 
the Agreement one or two times. 

Temporary suspension is effective immediately upon 
communication of that fact to the Wildlife Service Agent. Such 
communication shall state the grounds for temporary suspension 
and that the agent may request a hearing within 5 working days if 
he contests the grounds for temporary suspension. If the initial 
notification is not in writing, it shall be followed by written notice 
of temporary suspension containing the same information. If the 
Commission determines it is necessary to protect State property, 
an employee of the Commission may enter the premises and 
impound all property and supplies issued or entitled to by the 
Commission such as equipment, moneys, record books, reports, 
license forms, other documents and materials pertinent to the 
agent being suspended. The Commission must make the 
impounded property, or copies of it, available to the agent during 
the period of temporary suspension. If a hearing is requested, it 
shall be before the Executive Director or his designee and shall be 
held at a location specified by the Executive Director. 
Temporary suspension remains in effect until the hearing. A 
temporary suspension may not last longer than 30 days, but 
additional suspensions may be imposed if, at the end of the 
suspension period, the agent has not corrected the deficiency or 
deficiencies that resulted in the suspension. A Wildlife Service 
Agent may at any time after a hearing appeal his suspension to the 

Commission. A new suspension shall comply with the provisions 
of this Paragraph. 
(c)  Termination. The Commission shall terminate any Wildlife 
Service Agent appointment for any of the deficiencies listed 
below unless it determines that such deficiency may be corrected, 
is not likely to be repeated during the term of the current 
agreement, and not maintaining the Agent Agreement will result 
in insufficient Commission services to the public in the area 
served by the Agent. Deficiencies that may result in termination 
include: 

(1) Failure to comply with the terms and conditions 
as outlined in the wildlife service agreement. 

(2) Failure to deposit sufficient funds three or more 
times to cover the electronic transfer of funds 
each week. 

(3) Failure to meet the minimum transaction sales 
requirement of one thousand dollars ($1,000) 
annually. 

(4) Failure to operate as a public convenience as 
specified in the Agreement three or more times. 

(5) Failure to provide proper and correct 
information three or more times about wildlife 
transactions and related issues to customers as 
documented by customer complaints or agency 
inspections. 

(6) Failure to submit or return all required 
documentation for transactions as outlined in 
the Agreement three or more times. 

Notice of termination of the appointment may be sent to the 
Wildlife Service Agent in lieu of or in addition to temporary 
suspension. The notice must state the grounds for termination of 
the appointment and the agent's right to a hearing if he has not 
previously been afforded one. If the appointment is to be 
terminated, the notice must state the effective date and hour of 
termination. If the agent has not been previously afforded a 
hearing, the agent is entitled to a hearing within 14 days before 
the Executive Director or his designee to be held at a location 
specified by the Executive Director. If the Executive Director 
upholds the decision to terminate the appointment, an agent may 
appeal his termination to the Commission. Pending the hearing 
and any appeal from it, the termination is held in abeyance, but no 
transaction may be made once the agent's termination effective 
date and time have passed. 
Upon termination of appointment as a Wildlife Service Agent, the 
former agent must return all consigned equipment and supplies to 
the Commission and settle the agent financial account within 10 
days of the date of receiving written notice from the Commission. 
Employees of the Commission may conduct inspections and 
audits when terminating an agent. 
The Executive Director or his designee holding any hearing under 
this Paragraph must keep a written record of evidence considered 
and findings made. Upon appeal to the Commission, the 
Commission Chairman or another presiding officer must cause 
such a written record of evidence and findings to be made and 
kept. 
No person denied appointment or whose appointment was 
terminated under this Paragraph may apply again for an 
appointment as a Wildlife Service Agent for two years. Upon 
application, the Commission may not grant the appointment as a 
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Wildlife Service Agent unless the applicant produces evidence, 
convincing to the Commission, that he meets all standards and 
qualifications and will comply with all requirements of statutes 
and rules pertaining to Wildlife Service Agents. 
(d)(c)  Use of customer identifying information. Customer 
identifying information for customers of the Commission is 
protected by G.S. 143-254.5. A Wildlife Service Agents Agent 
shall not use or disclose any customer identifying information 
specified in G.S. 143-254.5 to any third party without written 
authorization of from the Commission. Wildlife Service Agents 
shall not use such customer identifying information for any 
purpose other than the processing of Commission transactions 
requested by the customer. Failure to abide by provisions in this 
Paragraph is grounds for termination of the agency. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.1. 
 
15A NCAC 10G .0406 APPOINTMENT TERMINATION 
(a)  The Commission may audit Wildlife Service Agent 
transactions. Agents shall comply with Commission requests for 
records and information within 10 business days of the request. 
(b)  The Commission may suspend or terminate Wildlife Service 
Agent appointment for violation of provisions of G.S. 113-270.1, 
the rules of this Section, or the Wildlife Service Agent Agreement. 
The determination of whether to suspend or revoke appointment 
shall be based on the severity and frequency of the violation, and 
may include failure to: 

(1) operate as a public convenience as specified in 
the Agreement; 

(2) provide correct information about wildlife 
transactions to customers as documented by 
customer complaints or agency inspections; 

(3) submit or return required documentation for 
transactions; 

(4) comply with the terms and conditions specified 
in Rule .0405 of this Section; 

(5) deposit sufficient funds to cover electronic 
transfers; and 

(6) meet the five thousand dollar ($5,000) annual 
Agent transaction requirement. 

(c)  Upon termination of appointment, a Wildlife Service Agent 
shall return consigned equipment and supplies to the Commission 
and settle the agent financial account within 10 business days of 
receipt of written of termination notice from the Commission. 
(d)  Individuals denied appointment or whose appointment is 
terminated shall not reapply for appointment for two years. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.1. 
 
 
TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 
 

CHAPTER 25 - INTERPRETER AND 
TRANSLITERATOR BOARD 

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board intends to amend 
the rule cited as 21 NCAC 25 .0202. 

 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://ncitlb.org/ 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2025 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  September 10, 2025 
Time:  10:00 AM 
Location:  
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87550997514?pwd=fUPAJxEx9c8bca
bxJhapZx4SMXwFBL.1 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  This proposed rule would add 
another pathway to licensure, the Utah assessment would be 
accepted for provisional and full licensure. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Caitlin Schwab, 701 
Exposition Place, Ste 206, Raleigh, NC 27615; email 
ncitlb@caphill.com 
 
Comment period ends:  October 14, 2025 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 
Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 
written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 
clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 
provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 
written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 
1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 
email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 
attorney at 984-236-1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
SECTION .0200 – LICENSING 

 
21 NCAC 25 .0202 THE APPLICATION PACKAGE 
AND REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE 
(a)  An applicant for licensure shall submit the following materials 
to the Board: 

(1) A completed, signed, and dated application; 
(2) A clear, two-inch by two-inch, passport-style 

photograph of the head and shoulders of the 
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applicant, made within two years of the date of 
application; 

(3) A legible, fully-completed finger print card 
obtained from a local law enforcement agency; 

(4) The applicant's signed, written consent to a 
criminal record check; 

(5) One or more cashier's checks, certified checks 
or money orders made payable to the North 
Carolina Interpreter and Transliterator 
Licensing Board in the amounts charged by the 
Department of Public Safety for all necessary 
local, State and federal criminal record checks; 
and 

(6) A cashier's check, certified check or money 
order made payable to the North Carolina 
Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board 
in the amount specified by Rule .0203 of this 
Section. 

(b)  Upon application to the Board and payment of the required 
fees under Rule .0203(a) of this Section, the Board shall grant an 
Applicant a full license as an interpreter or transliterator if the 
applicant meets all of the following qualifications: 

(1) Is 18 years of age or older. 
(2) Is of good moral character presumptively 

established by the applicant's eligibility under 
Rule .0302 of this Chapter. If the Board 
determines there is probable cause to question 
an applicant's moral character, and after notice 
to the applicant and a hearing, the Board shall 
deny a license if there is clear and convincing 
evidence the applicant lacks good moral 
character, including possessing the 
characteristics of honesty, maturity, discipline, 
attention to detail, and respect for the rights of 
others, as more fully discussed and interpreted 
in: In re Willis, 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E. 2d 771, 
appeal dismissed, 423 U.S. 976 (1975); State v. 
Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E. 2d 854 (1940); In 
re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E. 2d 174 (1989); 
In re Applicants for License, 143 N.C. 1, 55 
S.E. 635 (1906); In re Scott Dillingham's 
Application, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 
(1924); State v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 
S.E. 2d 647 (1983); and later court decisions. 

(3) Meets one of the following criteria: 
(A) Is nationally certified by the Registry 

of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc., 
(RID). 

(B) Holds a valid Testing, Evaluation and 
Certification Unit, Inc. (TECUnit) 
national certification in cued language 
transliteration. 

(C) Holds a current Cued Language 
Transliterator State Level Assessment 
(CLTSLA) level 3 or above 
classification. 

(D) Holds a Board for Evaluation of 
Interpreters (BEI) assessment of 
Advanced or above. 

(E) A Deaf Interpreter who holds a Board 
for Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) 
intermediary certificate level IV or 
above. 

(F) Holds a Utah Certified Interpreter 
certification of professional. 

(G) Holds a Utah Certified Deaf 
Interpreter certification. 

(c)  Upon application to the Board and payment of the required 
fees under Rule .0203(a) of this Section, the Board shall grant an 
Applicant a one-time provisional license as an interpreter or 
transliterator if the applicant meets all of the following 
qualifications: 

(1) Is 18 years of age or older. 
(2) Is of good moral character presumptively 

established by the applicant's eligibility under 
21 NCAC 25 .0302. If the Board determines 
there is probable cause to question an 
applicant's moral character, and after notice to 
the applicant and a hearing, the Board shall 
deny a license if there is clear and convincing 
evidence the applicant lacks good moral 
character, including possessing the 
characteristics of honesty, maturity, discipline, 
attention to detail, and respect for the rights of 
others, as more fully discussed and interpreted 
in: In re Willis, 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E. 2d 771, 
appeal dismissed, 423 U.S. 976 (1975); State v. 
Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E. 2d 854 (1940); In 
re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E. 2d 174 (1989); 
In re Applicants for License, 143 N.C. 1, 55 
S.E. 635 (1906); In re Scott Dillingham's 
Application, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 
(1924); State v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 
S.E. 2d 647 (1983); and later court decisions. 

(3) Completes two continuing education units 
approved by the Board. These units must be 
completed for each renewable year. 

(4) Holds at least a two-year associate degree in 
interpreting from a post-secondary institution 
and satisfies one the following: 
(A) Holds a quality assurance North 

Carolina Interpreter Classification 
System (NCICS) level C 
classification. 

(B) Holds a valid National Association of 
the Deaf (NAD) level 2 or 3 
certification. 

(C) Holds a current Educational 
Interpreter Performance Assessment 
(EIPA) level 3.5 or above 
classification. 

(D) Holds a Board for Evaluation of 
Interpreters (BEI) assessment of 
Basic. 

(E) A Deaf Interpreter who holds a Board 
for Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) 
intermediary certificate level III. 
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(F) Holds a Utah Certified Interpreter 
certification of novice. 

(d)  Upon application to the Board, payment of the required fees 
under Rule .0203(a) of this Section, and meeting the requirements 
for a provisional license under Subparagraphs (c)(1) and (2) of 
this Rule, the Board shall also issue a provisional license to any 
of the following categories of persons seeking a one-time 
provisional license: 

(1) A deaf interpreter who completes 16 hours of 
training in interpreting coursework or 
workshops provided by the North Carolina 
Division of Services for the Deaf and Hard of 
Hearing, including role and function or ethics, 
and 20 hours in the 12 months immediately 
preceding the date of application in the 
provision of interpreting services. 

(2) An oral interpreter who completes a total of 40 
hours of training in interpreting coursework or 
workshops related to oral interpreting. 

(3) A cued language transliterator who holds a 
current TECUnit Cued language Transliterator 
State Level Assessment (CLTSLA) level 2 or 
above classification. 

(4) A person providing interpreting or 
transliterating services who has a recognized 
credential from another state's licensing body in 
the field of interpreting or transliterating. 

(5) An interpreter or transliterator who has 
accumulated at least 200 hours per year in the 
provision of interpreting or transliterating 
services, in this State or another state, totaling 
at least 400 hours for the two years immediately 
preceding the date of the application. An 
applicant must provide documentation of hours 
when applying for a provisional license under 
this category, subject to verification by the 
Board. 

 
Authority G.S. 90D-6; 90D-7; 90D-10; S.L. 2002-182, s. 7, as 
amended by S.L. 2003-56. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

CHAPTER 56 - ENGINEERS AND SURVEYORS 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Board of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors intends to 
amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 56 .0501. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
www.ncbels.org 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2026 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  September 24, 2025 
Time:  9:00 am 
Location:  Board Office, 4601 Six Forks Rd, Ste 310, Raleigh, 
N.C. 27609 
 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The Board seeks to amend 21 
NCAC 56 .0501 to update definitions related to educational and 
experience requirements for licensure as a Professional Engineer 
as well as to eliminate a minimum experience requirement for full-
time engineering faculty members seeking licensure as a 
Professional Engineer. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  S. Wesley Tripp III, 4601 Six 
Forks Rd, Ste 310, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (919) 791-2000; 
email wtripp@ncbels.org 
 
Comment period ends:  October 14, 2025 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 
Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 
written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 
clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 
provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 
written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 
1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 
email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 
attorney at 984-236-1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
SECTION .0500 - PROFESSIONAL ENGINEER 

 
21 NCAC 56 .0501 REQUIREMENTS FOR 
LICENSING 
(a)  Education. Pursuant to G.S. 89C-13, The the Board shall 
consider the education of an applicant in determining eligibility 
for licensing certification as an Engineer Intern or licensure as a 
Professional Engineer. The Certain terms used by the Board for 
concerning the educational requirements found in G.S. 89C-
13(a1) G.S. 89C-13 to be eligible to be licensed as a Professional 
Engineer are defined as follows: 

(1) "Engineering curriculum of four or more years 
approved by the Board" is defined as "An 
EAC/ABET accredited program" is a program 
that has been accredited by the Engineering 
Accreditation Commission (EAC) of the 
Accreditation Board for Engineering and 
Technology (ABET). This program is 
incorporated by reference including subsequent 
amendments and editions. This material is 



 PROPOSED RULES 
 

 
40:04 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 15, 2025 

442 

available at www.abet.org/accreditation-
criteria-policies-documents/ at no cost, or for 
inspection at the office of the North Carolina 
Board of Examiners for Engineers and 
Surveyors. Copies may be obtained at the Board 
office at a cost of five dollars ($5.00) per copy. 
A list of accredited programs can be found on 
ABET's website at https://www.abet.org. 

(2) "Engineering or related science curriculum of 
four or more years other than ones approved by 
the Board" is defined as "An engineering 
curriculum or related science curriculum of four 
years or more" is a curriculum, although not 
accredited by ABET, of technical courses that 
contains engineering or scientific principles. 
This also includes a bachelor's degree in 
engineering technology, whether or not 
accredited by the Engineering Technology 
Accreditation Commission (ETAC) of ABET. 

(3) "A master's degree in engineering from an 
institution that offers EAC/ABET accredited 
programs" and "an earned doctoral degree in 
engineering from an institution that offers 
EAC/ABET accredited programs" are graduate 
degrees in engineering from an institution 
which offers EAC/ABET accredited 
undergraduate programs. 

(4) Educational programs "approved by the Board 
as being of satisfactory standing" include 
foreign degrees equivalent to the NCEES 
Engineering Education Standard. A copy of the 
applicable standard is available at 
https://ncees.org/ncees-services/credentials-
evaluations/. Foreign degrees shall be 
considered substantially equivalent only after 
the Board obtains an evaluation report from the 
Credentials Evaluations Service of the National 
Council of Examiners for Engineering and 
Surveying (NCEES) evaluating the foreign 
degree. 

(3) "Equivalent education satisfactory to the board" 
is defined as: 
(A) A graduate degree in Engineering 

from an institution where the same 
discipline undergraduate engineering 
program has been accredited by ABET 
(EAC) shall be considered equivalent 
to an engineering curriculum of four or 
more years approved by the Board. 

(B) A bachelor's degree in Engineering 
Technology, whether or not accredited 
by the Technology Accreditation 
Commission (TAC) of ABET, shall be 
considered equivalent to an 
engineering or related science 
curriculum of four or more years other 
than one approved by the Board. 

(C) Foreign degrees shall be considered 
equivalent only after receipt of an 

evaluation report that the degree is 
substantially equivalent to an 
EAC/ABET accredited engineering 
curriculum from the Center for 
Professional Engineering Education 
Services, an affiliate of the National 
Council of Examiners for Engineering 
and Surveying (NCEES), or from the 
American Association of Collegiate 
Registrars and Admissions Officers 
(AACRAO). The Board shall equate 
the degree to an EAC/ABET 
accredited engineering curriculum of 
four or more years approved by the 
Board in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this 
Rule if it receives a substantially 
equivalent evaluation. 

(b)  Experience. Pursuant to G.S. 89C-13, The the Board shall 
consider the experience of an applicant shall be considered in 
determining eligibility for certification as an Engineer Intern or 
licensure whether an applicant is eligible to be licensed as a 
Professional Engineer. 

(1) Required Experience. In evaluating the work 
experience required, experience, the Board 
shall consider the an applicant's total 
experience record and the its progressive nature 
of the record. nature. Experience shall be of a 
progressive engineering nature obtained after 
graduation from a program that meets the 
criteria set forth in G.S. 89C-13 and defined in 
Paragraph (a) of this Rule. Not less than half of 
required engineering experience shall be of a 
professional grade and character, and shall be 
performed under the responsible charge of a 
licensed Professional Engineer, or if not, the 
applicant shall submit a written explanation to 
the Board explaining why the experience 
should be considered acceptable. The Board 
shall approve the experience on a case-by-case 
basis if it is satisfied of the grade and character 
of the progressive experience. Experience 
gained under the technical supervision of an 
unlicensed individual shall be considered based 
upon the engineering education and experience 
credentials of the unlicensed supervisor. 
Experience gained in the armed services, 
typically while serving in an engineering or 
engineering related group, shall be accepted 
only if substantially equivalent to civilian work. 

(2) Definition. The word "progressive" in the terms 
"progressive nature of the record," "progressive 
engineering experience," "progressive land 
surveying," "progressive engineering nature," 
or "progressive experience on engineering 
projects" "Progressive experience" means 
requires that during the period of time provided 
as experience, that an applicant made a practical 
utilization of acquired knowledge and 
demonstrated continuous improvement, 
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growth, and development have been shown in 
the utilization of that knowledge as revealed in 
the complexity and technical detail of the work 
product or work record. The applicant shall 
show continuous assumption of greater 
individual responsibility for the work product 
over that period of time. The progressive 
experience on engineering projects shall be of a 
grade and a character that shows the Board that 
the applicant is competent to practice 
engineering. 

(3) Credit for Experience. In evaluating 
progressive engineering experience, the Board 
shall give credit for experience in the following 
areas of work: 
(A) Graduate schooling or research in an 

engineering program resulting in 
award of a master's degree from an 
institution that offers EAC/ABET-
accredited programs – one year; 

(B) Graduate schooling or research in an 
engineering program resulting in 
award of an earned doctoral degree in 
engineering from an institution that 
offers EAC/ABET-accredited 
programs – two years, with or without 
a master's degree, but this includes the 
one year for the master's degree, if 
obtained; 

(C) Progressive land surveying - 
maximum two years; and 

(D) Teaching of engineering subjects at 
the university level in an engineering 
program offering a four-year or more 
degree approved by the Board. 

The Board shall not accept combinations of the categories in this 
Subparagraph as fulfilling all the necessary statutory experience 

requirements. Every applicant for licensure as a Professional 
Engineer, as part of the total experience requirement, shall show 
a minimum of one year experience of a progressive engineering 
nature in industry, government, or under a licensed Professional 
Engineer offering service to the public. 
Full-time engineering faculty members who teach in an 
engineering program offering a four-year or more degree 
approved by the Board may request and shall be granted waiver 
of the minimum one year experience in industry, government, or 
private practice if they demonstrate consulting or research work 
of at least one year's duration, which was pursued to completion 
of the project, and that is of a progressive engineering nature. The 
faculty applicant shall document the work to evidence that the 
work meets the Board's requirement. 

(4) An exception to the requirement in 
Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule that 
experience be obtained after graduation is for 
long-established practice of 20 years or more, 
as provided for in G.S. 89C-13(a3). 

(5) Other experience is considered if it is: 
(A) Experience obtained prior to 

graduation as part of an ABET 
accredited engineering program 
shown on the transcript, with a 
maximum credit of one year; or 

(B) Experience obtained in a foreign 
country that is performed under direct 
supervision of a Professional Engineer 
licensed with a member Board of the 
National Council of Examiners for 
Engineering and Surveying (NCEES). 

 
Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-13. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission on August 28, 2025 at 1711 New Hope 
Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 
Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 
instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address 
the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  
Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Jake Parker (1st Vice-Chair) 

John Hahn Paul Powell (2nd Vice-Chair) 
Jeff Hyde Wayne R. Boyles, III 

Wyatt Dixon, III Christopher Loutit 
Bill Nelson Randy Overton 

 
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Seth M. Ascher  984-236-1934 
Travis Wiggs  984-236-1929 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 August 28, 2025 October 30, 2025 
 September 25, 2025 November 20, 2025 

 
 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
Thursday, August 28, 2025, 10:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 
 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Oath of Office for Commissioners 

III. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

IV. Follow-up matters 
1. Private Protective Services Board - 14B NCAC 16 .0701, .0707, .0801, . 1203, .1301, .1307, .1401, 

.1501, .1502 (Ascher) 
2. Commission for Public Health - 15A NCAC 18C .1540 (Wiggs) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed June 21, 2025 through July 20, 2025 
1. State Board of Elections (Ascher) 
2. Department of Insurance (Wiggs) 
3. Department of Labor (Wiggs) 
4. Private Protective Services Board (Wiggs) 
5. Alarm Systems Licensing Board (Wiggs) 
6. State Board of Education (Wiggs) 
7. Licensing Board for General Contractors (Wiggs) 
8. Board of Dental Examiners (Wiggs) 
9. Office of Administrative Hearings  

VI. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting 

VII. Existing Rules Review  

• Review of Reports 
1. 02 NCAC 57 - Tobacco Trust Fund Commission (Ascher) 
2. 11 NCAC 05A, D, 07 - Office of State Fire Marshal (Wiggs) 
3. 11 NCAC 05B, C - Fire and Rescue Commission (Ascher) 
4. 15A NCAC 02G, 02I, 02L, 02N, 02O, 02P - Environmental Management Commission (Ascher) 
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5. 17 NCAC 04 - Department of Revenue (Wiggs) 
6. 19A NCAC 01, 04, 05, 06 - Department of Transportation (Wiggs) 
7. 21 NCAC 22 - Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters Board (Ascher) 
8. 21 NCAC 48 - Board of Physical Therapy Examiners (Wiggs) 

• Readoptions 

VIII. Commission Business 
• Proposed 2026 RRC meeting schedule 
• Closed session, to consult with attorneys regarding CRC v. RRC and CJETS v. RRC; and BRIAN 

LIEBMAN, in his official capacity as CODIFIER OF RULES 
• Next meeting: Thursday, September 25, 2025 

 
 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

June 21, 2025 through July 20, 2025 
 

ELECTIONS, STATE BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 21 are department rules concerning reporting (.0100) political committees and referendum 
committees (.0200); use of contributions (.0300); examinations (.0400); and disclosure requirements for media 
advertisements (.0500). 

Reporting of Independent Expenditures 
Amend* 

 08 NCAC 21 .0102 

Electronic Filing 
Amend* 

 08 NCAC 21 .0106 

Reporting Periods 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 21 .0108 

Inactive Status for a Candidate or Committee 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 21 .0204 

The rules in chapter 22 cover general rules for petitions (.0100); verification of petition (.0200); petitions to be recognized 
as a political party (.0300); petitions to be on the ballot as an unaffiliated candidate (.0400); petitions to qualify as a 
write-in candidate (.0500); petitions to be a candidate without the payment of a filing fee (.0600). 

Petitions 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 22 .0101 

Definitions 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 22 .0102 

Initiation of Petitions 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 22 .0103 

Petition Signature Sheets 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 22 .0104 

Petition Circulators 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 22 .0105 

Submission of Signature Sheets 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 22 .0106 

Copies of Signature Sheets and Return of Original... 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 22 .0107 

Petition Signature Verification by County Boards of Elect... 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 22 .0201 

Petition Signature Verification Determinations 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 22 .0202 
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Counting of Signatures Towards A Petition's Signature Req... 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 22 .0203 

New Party Petitions 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 22 .0301 

Prospective Party Name 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 22 .0302 

Changes in Prospective Party State Chair's Information 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 22 .0303 

Continuing A New Party Petition 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 22 .0304 

General Purpose and Intent of The New Party 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 22 .0305 

Sufficiency of New Party Elections 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 22 .0306 

Unaffiliated Candidate Petitions 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 22 .0401 

Processing Unaffiliated Candidate Petitions 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 22 .0402 

Write-In Candidate Petitions 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 22 .0501 

Processing Write-In Candidate 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 22 .0502 

In Lieu of Filing Fee Petition 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 22 .0601 

INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in chapter 24 cover general provisions (.0100). 

Definitions: License Application 
Adopt* 

 11 NCAC 24 .0101 

Fees 
Adopt* 

 11 NCAC 24 .0102 

Financial Statements 
Adopt* 

 11 NCAC 24 .0103 

Determination of Financial Responsibility 
Adopt* 

 11 NCAC 24 .0104 

Claim Processing by PBMs 
Adopt* 

 11 NCAC 24 .0105 

Payment of Claims 
Adopt* 

 11 NCAC 24 .0106 

General Administration 
Adopt* 

 11 NCAC 24 .0107 

Claims Processing 
Adopt* 

 11 NCAC 24 .0108 

LABOR, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in 01D cover human trafficking awareness (.0100). 

Training on Human Trafficking 
Adopt* 

 13 NCAC 01D .0101 

Human Trafficking Awareness Signage  13 NCAC 01D .0102 
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Adopt* 

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 16 are from the Private Protective Services Board and cover organization and general provisions 
(.0100); licenses and trainee permits (.0200); security guard patrol and guard dog service (.0300); private investigator: 
electronic countermeasures (.0400); polygraph (.0500); psychological stress evaluator (PSE) (.0600); unarmed security 
guard registration (.0700); armed security guard firearm registration permit (.0800); trainer certificate (.0900); recovery 
fund (.1000); training and supervision for private investigator associates (.1100); continuing education (.1300); armed 
armored car service guards firearm registration permit (.1400); close personal protection (.1500); digital forensics 
examiner (.1600); and training and supervision for digital forensics examiner (D.F.E) associates (.1700). 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0103 

Prohibited Acts 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0105 

Advertising 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0116 

Declaratory Ruling Procedures 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0117 

Experience Requirements for a Polygraph License 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0501 

Polygraph Trainee Permit Requirements 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0502 

Polygraph Examination Requirements 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0503 

ALARM SYSTEMS LICENSING BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 17 are from the N.C. Alarm Systems Licensing Board and cover the organization and general 
provisions (.0100); provisions for licensees (.0200); provisions for registrants (.0300); the recovery fund (.0400); and 
continuing education for licensees (.0500). 

Declaratory Ruling Procedures 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 17 .0109 

EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 6 cover elementary and secondary education including transportation, personnel, curriculum, 
textbooks, testing, students, public relations, and federal programs. The rules in Subchapter 6B concern the student 
transportation system. 

Local Rules And Regulations 
Readopt with Changes* 

 16 NCAC 06B .0103 

Supervisory And Safety Practices 
Readopt with Changes* 

 16 NCAC 06B .0107 

GENERAL CONTRACTORS, LICENSING BOARD FOR 

The rules in Subchapter 12A concern general provisions including organization and responsibilities of the board (.0100); 
licensing requirements (.0200); application procedure (.0300); examination (.0400); license (.0500); board disciplinary 
procedures (.0700); contested cases (.0800); and homeowners recovery fund (.0900). 

Classification 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12A .0202 
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Application for Licensure 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12A .0303 

Character References 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 12A .0308 

Improper Practice 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12A .0701 

The rules in Subchapter 12B concern the general provisions (.0100); providers (.0200); courses (.0300); and instructors 
(.0400) for continuing education. 

Renewal and Expiration of Instructor Approval 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12B .0402 

DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 16A concern the organization of the board of dental examiners. 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16A .0101 

The rules in Subchapter 16F concern professional corporations. 

Designation of Responsible Dentist Manager 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 16F .0111 

The rules in Subchapter 16V concern unprofessional conduct. 

Unprofessional Conduct by a Dentist, Practice Owner, or R... 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 16V .0103 

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS, OFFICE OF 

The rules in Chapter 3 are from the Hearings Division and cover procedure (.0100); mediated settlement conferences 
(.0200); simplified procedures for medicaid applicant and recipient repeals (.0400); and electronic filing (.0500). 

General 
Amend* 

 26 NCAC 03 .0101 

Definitions and Construction 
Amend* 

 26 NCAC 03 .0102 
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	Title 10A – Department of Health and Human Services
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Radiation Protection Commission intends to repeal the rule cited as 10A NCAC 15 .0611, readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 10A NCAC 15 .0601-...
	Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/n...
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/index.html
	Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2026
	Reason for Proposed Action:  The rules in 10A NCAC 15 regulate the use of radioactive materials and radiation machines in the State of North Carolina pursuant to G.S. 104E. Rules in Section .0600 of Chapter 15 regulate all registrants who use radiatio...
	Comment period ends:  November 3, 2025
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives wri...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	Chapter 15 - Radiation Protection
	SECTION .0600 - X-RAYS IN THE HEALING ARTS Radiation machines
	This Section establishes requirements for x-ay equipment by or under the supervision of an individual authorized by and licensed, in accordance with state statutes, to engage in the healing arts or veterinary medicine The provisions of this Section ar...
	(a)  Before installing a radiation machine for use, the registration process shall be initiated in accordance with Section .0200 of this Chapter.
	(b)  This Section applies to all facilities and service providers using radiation machines for the following:
	(1) educational facilities that provide clinical training;
	(2) human and veterinary use; and
	(3) non-human use, used for forensic medicine, or used by service providers for demonstration purposes.
	(4) service providers company who provide operators to end users.

	(c) This Section provides additional requirements for the use of radiation machines by or under the supervision of a licensed practitioner authorized by and licensed, in accordance with state statutes, to practice medicine and provide professional ser...
	(d) This Section provides additional operator requirements to use a radiation machine.
	(e) The requirements of this Section are in addition to the provisions in Sections .0100, .0200, .1000, .1100, and .1600 of this Chapter.
	(a)  As used in this Section, the following definitions shall apply:
	(1) "Accessible surface" means the external surface of the enclosure or housing provided by the manufacturer.
	(2) "Added filter" means the filter added to the inherent filtration.
	(3) "Aluminum equivalent" means the thickness of aluminum, type 1100 alloy, affording the same attenuation, under specified conditions, as the material in question. The nominal composition of type 1100 aluminum alloy is 99.00 percent minimum aluminum ...
	(4) "Attenuation block" means a block or stack, having dimensions 20 cm by 20 cm by 3.8 cm, of type 1100 aluminum alloy or other materials having equivalent attenuation.
	(5) "Automatic exposure control" means a device which automatically controls one or more technique factors in order to obtain, at a preselected location(s), a required quantity of radiation. Phototimer is described separately.
	(6) "Beam axis" means a line from the source of x-rays through the centers of the x-ray fields.
	(7) "Beam-limiting device" means a device which provides a means to restrict the dimensions of the x-ray field.
	(8) "Cephalometric device" means a device intended for the radiographic visualization and measurement of the dimensions of the human head.
	(9) "Changeable filters" means any added filter which can be removed from the useful x-ray beam through any electronic, mechanical or physical process.
	(10) "Contact therapy system" means that the x-ray tube target is put within five centimeters of the surface being treated.
	(11) "Control panel" means that part of the x-ray control upon which are mounted the switches, knobs, pushbuttons and other hardware necessary for manually setting the technique factors.
	(12) "Cooling curve" means the graphical relationship between heat units stored and cooling time.
	(13) "Dead-man switch" means a switch so constructed that a circuit closing contact can be maintained only by continuous pressure on the switch by the operator.
	(14) "Diagnostic source assembly" means the tube housing assembly with a device attached.
	(15) "Diagnostic-type protective tube housing" means a tube housing so constructed that the leakage radiation measured at a distance of one meter from the source does not exceed 100 mR in one hour when the tube is operated at its leakage technique fac...
	(16) "Diagnostic x-ray system" means an x-ray system designed for irradiation of any part of the human body for the purpose of diagnosis or visualization.
	(17) "Direct scattered radiation" means that radiation which has been deviated in direction by materials irradiated by the useful beam.(See also scattered radiation).
	(18) "Entrance exposure rate" means the roentgens per unit time at the point where the center of the useful beam enters the patient.
	(19) "Exposure" means the quotient of dQ by dm where "dQ" is the absolute value of the total charge of the ions of one sign produced in air when all the electrons, negatrons and positrons, liberated by photons in a volume element of air having mass "d...
	(20) "Field emission equipment" means equipment which uses an x-ray tube in which electron emission from the cathode is due solely to the action of an electric field.
	(21) "Filter" means material placed in the useful beam to preferentially attenuate selected radiations.
	(22) "Fluoroscopic imaging assembly" means a subsystem in which x-ray photons produce a fluoroscopic image. It includes the image receptor(s) such as the image intensifier and spot-film device, electrical interlocks and structural material providing l...
	(23) "General purpose radiographic x-ray system" means any radiographic x-ray system which, by design, is not limited to radiographic examination of specific anatomical regions.
	(24) "Gonad shield" means a protective barrier used to reduce exposure to the testes or ovaries.
	(25) "Half-value layer (HVL)" means the thickness of specified material which attenuates the beam of radiation to an extent such that the exposure rate is reduced to one-half of its original value. In this definition the contribution of all scattered ...
	(26) "Healing arts mass screening" means the examination of human beings using x-rays for the detection or evaluation of health indications when such tests are not specifically and individually ordered by a licensed practitioner of the healing arts wh...
	(27) "Image intensifier" means a device, including housing, which converts an x-ray pattern into a corresponding light image of higher energy density.
	(28) "Image receptor" means any device, such as fluorescent screen or radiographic film, which transforms incident x-ray photons either into a visible image or into another form which can be made into a visible image by further transformations.
	(29) "Inherent filtration" means the filtration permanently in the useful beam; it includes the window of the x-ray tube and any permanent tube or source enclosure.
	(30) "Installation" means the act of physical movement of a radiographic system from one location to another in conjunction with a change of ownership.
	(31) "Lead equivalent" means the thickness of lead affording the same attenuation, under specified conditions, as the material in question.
	(32) "Leakage radiation" means radiation emanating from a diagnostic or therapeutic source assembly except for:
	(33) "Leakage technique factors" means the technique factors associated with the diagnostic or therapeutic source assembly (i.e., tube housing and beam limiting device) which are used in measuring leakage radiation. They are defined as follows:
	(34) "Light field" means that area of the intersection of the light beam from the beam-limiting device and one of the set of planes parallel to and including the plane of the image receptor, whose perimeter is the locus of points at which the illumina...
	(35) "Maximum line current" means the rms (root-mean-square) current in the supply line of an x-ray machine operating at its maximum rating.
	(36) "Mobile equipment" (see x-ray equipment).
	(37) "Peak tube potential" means the maximum value of the potential difference across the x-ray tube during an exposure.
	(38) "Phototimer" means a method for controlling radiation exposures to image receptors by the amount of radiation which reaches a radiation monitoring device(s). The radiation monitoring device(s) is part of an electronic circuit which controls the d...
	(39) "Portable equipment" (see x-ray equipment).
	(40) "Position indicating device (PID)" means a device on dental x-ray equipment used to indicate the beam position and to establish a definite source-skin distance. It may or may not incorporate or serve as a beam-limiting device.
	(41) "Primary protective barrier" means the material, excluding filters, placed in the useful beam, for radiation protection purposes, to reduce the radiation exposure.
	(42) "Protective apron" means an apron made of radiation attenuating materials used to reduce radiation exposure.
	(43) "Protective barrier" means a barrier of radiation attenuating material(s) used to reduce radiation exposure. Types of protective barriers are defined in other items of this Rule.
	(44) "Protective glove" means a glove made of radiation attenuating materials used to reduce radiation exposure.
	(45) "Qualified expert" means an individual who is registered pursuant to Rule .0205 of this Chapter.
	(46) "Radiograph" means an image receptor on which the image has been created directly or indirectly by an x-ray pattern and results in a permanent record.
	(47) "Radiographic imaging system" means any system whereby a permanent or semi-permanent image is recorded on an image receptor by the action of ionizing radiation.
	(48) "Rating" means the operating limits as specified by the component manufacturer.
	(49) "Recording" means producing a permanent form of an image resulting from x-ray photons such as film and video tape.
	(50) "Registrant", as used in this Section, means any person who owns or possesses and administratively controls an x-ray system which is used to deliberately expose humans or animals to the useful beam of the system and is required by the provisions ...
	(51) "Response time" means the time required for an instrument system to reach 90 percent of its final reading when the radiation-sensitive volume of the instrument system is exposed to a step change in radiation flux from zero sufficient to provide a...
	(52) "Scattered radiation" means radiation that, during passage through matter, has been deviated in direction. (See also "direct scattered radiation".)
	(53) "Secondary protective barrier" means a barrier sufficient to attenuate the stray radiation to the required degree.
	(54) "SID" means source-image receptor distance.
	(55) "Source" means the focal spot of the x-ray tube.
	(56) "Source-image receptor distance (SID)" means the distance from the source to the center of the input surface of the image receptor.
	(57) "Spot film" means a radiograph which is made during a fluoroscopic examination to permanently record conditions which exist during that fluoroscopic procedure.
	(58) "Stationary equipment" (see x-ray equipment).
	(59) "Stray radiation" means the sum of leakage and scattered radiation.
	(60) "Technique factors" means the conditions of operation. They are specified as follows:
	(61) "Therapeutic-type protective tube housing" means the tube housing with tube installed, and it includes high voltage and filament transformers and other appropriate elements when they are contained within that housing.
	(62) "Transportation equipment" means x-ray equipment which is installed in a vehicle or trailer.
	(63) "Tube" means an x-ray tube, unless otherwise specified.
	(64) "Tube housing assembly" means the tube housing with tube installed. It includes high-voltage and filament transformers and other appropriate elements when they are contained within the tube housing.
	(65) "Tube rating chart" means the set of curves which specify the rated limits of operation of the tube in terms of the technique factors.
	(66) "Useful beam" means the radiation which passes through the tube housing port and the aperture of the beam-limiting device when the exposure switch or timer is activated.
	(67) "Variable-aperture beam-limiting device" means a beam-limiting device which has capacity for stepless adjustment of the x-ray field size at the given SID.
	(68) "Visible area" means that portion of the input surface of the image receptor over which incident x-ray photons produce a visible image.
	(69) "X-ray control" means a device which controls input power to the x-ray high-voltage generator or the x-ray tube. It includes equipment such as timers, phototimers, automatic brightness stabilizers and similar devices which control the technique f...
	(70) "X-ray equipment" means an x-ray system, subsystem or component thereof.
	(71) "X-ray field" means that area of the intersection of the useful beam and any one of the set of planes parallel to and including the plane of the image receptor, whose perimeter is the locus of points at which the exposure rate is one-fourth of th...
	(72) "X-ray high-voltage generator" means a device which transforms electrical energy from the potential supplied by the x-ray control to the tube operating potential. The device may also include means for transforming alternating current to direct cu...
	(73) "X-ray system" means an assemblage of components for the controlled production of x-rays. It includes minimally an x-ray high-voltage generator, an x-ray control, a tube housing assembly, a beam-limiting device and the necessary supporting struct...
	(74) "X-ray subsystem" means any combination of two or more components of an x-ray system for which there are requirements specified in this Section.
	(75) "X-ray tube" means an electron tube which is designed for the conversion of electrical energy into x-ray energy.

	(b)  Other definitions applicable to this Section may be found in Sections .0100 and .0200 of this Chapter.
	In addition to definitions found in Rules .0104, .0607(b)(3), (18), and (19), .1001, and .1601 of this Chapter, the following definitions shall apply to this Section:
	(a)  Administrative controls
	(1) The registrant shall be responsible for directing the operation of the X-ray machines which he has registered with the agency. He or his agent shall assure that the following provisions are met in the operation of the X-ray machine(s):
	(2) The registrant shall maintain at least the following information for each X-ray machine:

	(b)  Plans Review. Prior to construction or structural modification, the floor plans and equipment arrangement of all installations utilizing X-rays for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes shall be reviewed by a qualified expert. The registrant shall s...
	(c)  Radiation Survey
	(1) For installations of X-ray equipment after the effective date of this Rule, an area radiation survey shall be performed within 30 days following initial operation of each radiation machine to show compliance with Rule .0604(b) of this Section. Thi...
	(2) Any modification to the X-ray room or adjacent areas which could increase the radiation dosage to any individual shall require a new survey.
	(3) Records of this survey shall be maintained in accordance with Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule.

	(a)  The registrant shall not allow the operation of a radiation machine for diagnostic imaging not meeting the requirements of Rule .0607(b) of this Section.
	(b)  Mobile or portable radiation machines shall only be used for radiation exposures where transferring the patient to a stationary radiation machine is impractical for medical reasons. The use of a mobile or portable radiation machine as the primary...
	(c)  If ordered by the agency, radiation machines are subject to impounding by an authorized representative of the agency in accordance with Rule .0107 of this Chapter.
	(d)  The registrant or their designee shall:
	(1) be responsible for directing the operation of the radiation machine(s) registered with the agency;
	(2) ensure the provisions of this Section are met during the operation of the radiation machine(s) under their control;
	(3) establish radiation protection procedures and make them readily available to individuals who operate the radiation machine(s);
	(4) ensure QC is performed if required by the manufacturer or registered service provider, in accordance with the instructions provided; and
	(5) establish procedures or provide equipment to operators to control the radiation area during radiographic exposures.

	(e)  Extraoral cephalometric, cone beam computed tomography (CBCT), and panoramic radiation machines designed for use in dental radiography or for facial diagnostic imaging and chiropractic or podiatry radiation machines shall meet shielding design re...
	(f)  Dental intraoral handheld radiation machine additional requirements for maintenance and evaluation:
	(1) Maintenance shall be performed by a registered service provider following the manufacturer's specifications.
	(2) The machine shall be evaluated by a registered service provider, in accordance with Section .0200 of this Chapter, after the unit is dropped, visibly damaged, or as requested by the agency. Machines with signs of visible damage, or as requested by...

	(g)  Cone Beam Computed Tomography (CBCT) radiation machine additional requirements for system performance evaluations:
	(1) Maintain documentation of the established standards, tolerances, and testing results.
	(2) Implement actions when the QC results are outside of the limits specified in the QC recommendations.
	(3) The CBCT radiation machine shall be evaluated by a registered service provider, in accordance with Section .0200 of this Chapter, within 30 days of:
	(4) The following information shall be readily available to CBCT operators:

	(h)  Dental Cone Beam Computed Tomography (CBCT) radiation machines shall not be used:
	(i)  The uses of Cone Beam CT, Veterinary CT, CT simulation, and attenuation correction shall be exempt from Paragraphs (j) and (k) of this Rule.
	(j)  Computed Tomography (CT) radiation machine shall meet the following additional requirements for system performance evaluations.
	(1) Performance evaluations of the CT X-ray system shall be performed by, or under the general supervision of, a CT QE who assumes responsibility for the evaluation.
	(2) The performance evaluation of a CT X-ray system shall be performed within 30 days of installation and at least every 14 months.
	(3) Performance evaluation standards and tolerances shall meet the manufacturer's specifications or standards and tolerances for the CT X-ray system from the American College of Radiology (ACR) incorporated herein by reference, including subsequent am...
	(4) The performance evaluation shall include the following, as applicable to the design of the scanner:
	(5) The performance evaluation shall also include the evaluation of radiation output and patient dose indices for the following clinical protocols, if performed:
	(6) Evaluation of radiation output shall be performed with a calibrated dosimetry system. The dosimetry system shall have been calibrated within the preceding two years by persons registered, in accordance with Section .0200 of this Chapter, to provid...
	(7) The performance evaluation shall be documented and maintained for inspection by the Agency. The documentation shall include the name of the CT QE performing or supervising and any other individuals participating in the evaluation under the general...

	(k)  Computed Tomography (CT) radiation machines shall meet the following additional requirements for routine quality control (QC)
	(1) A routine QC program for the CT radiation imaging system shall be developed by or have written approval by a CT QE and include:
	(2) The duties in the routine QC program, as described in Part (1) of this Paragraph, shall be conducted by individuals that meet the requirements of Rule .0604(j) of this Section, or individuals approved by the CT QE.
	(3) The routine QC shall be documented and maintained for inspection by the Agency. The records shall be retained for 14 months.

	(l)  Records shall be maintained by the registrant as follows:
	(1) For each radiation machine under the registrant's custody and control:
	(2) For each individual operating a radiation machine, the operator license, certification, or training documentation.

	(m)  Records shall be available for agency review during inspection.
	(a)  In addition to other requirements of this Section, all diagnostic x-ray systems shall meet the following requirements:
	(1) The control panel containing the main power switch shall bear the warning statement, legible and accessible to view: "WARNING: This x-ray unit may be dangerous to patient and operator unless safe exposure factors and operation instructions are obs...
	(2) Equivalent wording may be used on battery-powered generators; visual means shall be provided on the control panel to indicate whether the battery is in a state of charge adequate for proper operation.
	(3) The leakage radiation from the diagnostic source assembly measured at a distance of one meter in any direction from the source shall not exceed 100 millirem in one hour when the x-ray tube is operated at its leakage technique factors. Compliance s...
	(4) The radiation emitted by a component other than the diagnostic source assembly shall not exceed two millirem in one hour at five centimeters from any accessible surface of the component when it is operated in an assembled x-ray system under any co...
	(5) Beam Quality

	If it is necessary to determine such half-value layer at an x-ray tube potential which is not listed in the table, linear interpolation or extrapolation may be made. Positive means shall be provided to insure that at least the minimum filtration neede...
	Filtration Required versus Operating Voltage
	Minimum total filtration
	Operating Voltage (kVp)   (inherent plus added)
	(millimeters aluminum
	equivalent)
	Below 50    0.5 millimeters
	50 - 70     1.5 millimeters
	Above 70    2.5 millimeters
	(6) Where two or more radiographic tubes are controlled by one exposure switch, the tube or tubes which have been selected and their location shall be clearly indicated on the master control panel prior to initiation of the exposure.
	(7) The tube housing assembly supports shall be adjusted such that the tube housing assembly will remain stable during an exposure unless the tube housing movement is a design function of the x-ray system.
	(8) The location of the focal spot may be indicated on a readily visible area of the x-ray source housing in the plane parallel to the image receptor when the image receptor is perpendicular to the beam axis.
	(9) Technique Indicators

	(b)  Structural Shielding
	(1) For stationary diagnostic systems, except for intraoral dental systems which shall meet the requirements of Rule .0607(j) of this Section, structural shielding shall be provided to assure compliance with Rules .1604 and .1611 of this Chapter. The ...
	(2) When a mobile system is used routinely in one location, the structural shielding in that location shall meet the requirements for stationary diagnostic systems in Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule.

	(a)  A radiation machine shall not be permitted for human, non-human, or veterinary use except when used in accordance with the operating requirements of Rule .0605 of this Section.
	(b)  Operators shall be trained in the operational features and safe use of the radiation machines used.
	(c)  Individuals who operate a radiation machine shall meet the requirements for the modality of use in Paragraphs (e),f),(g),(h),(i) or (j) of this Rule no later than 36 months after the effective date of this Rule.
	(d)  Individuals who operate a radiation machine for research purposes or for end-of-life imaging are exempt from the requirements in Paragraphs (e),(f),(g),(h),(i) or (j) of this Rule.
	(e)  The uses of Cone Beam CT, Veterinary CT, CT Simulation, and CT attenuation correction shall be exempt from the requirement in Subparagraph (i) of this Rule.
	(f)  Chiropractic
	(1) other than the chiropractor, individuals who operate a radiation machine for chiropractic patient care shall be certified by the North Carolina State Board of Chiropractic Examiners as a Certified Chiropractic Assistant – Level 2 in accordance wit...
	(2) be a Registered Technologist (RT) by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) with an active registration in Radiography (R); or
	(3) be enrolled in a training program for radiography, and under the personal supervision of an individual who meets the requirements of Subparagraphs (1) or (2) of this Paragraph.

	(g)  Dentistry
	(1) other than the dentist, individuals who operate dental radiation machines shall be a licensed dental hygienist;
	(2) shall meet radiography requirements for dental assistants as defined by the NC Board of Dental Examiners; or
	(3) shall be enrolled in a training program for radiography, and under the personal supervision of an individual who meets the requirements of Subparagraphs (1) or (2) of this Paragraph.

	(h)  Podiatry
	(1) other than the podiatrist, all podiatric radiation machine operators shall complete radiography training and pass an examination provided by the NC Foot and Ankle Society;
	(2) shall hold an active registration in Radiography (R) with the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT); or
	(3) shall be enrolled in a training program for radiography, and under the personal supervision of an individual who meets the requirements of Subparagraphs (1) or (2) of this Paragraph.

	(i)  Radiography and Fluoroscopy
	(1) Radiography
	(2) Fluoroscopy
	(3) Angiography

	(j)  Computed Tomography (CT)
	(1) individuals who operate a CT radiation machine for diagnostic imaging shall hold an active Computed Tomography (CT) registration with the ARRT; or
	(2) shall be enrolled in an accredited educational program and under the personal supervision of an individual who meets the requirements of Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph.

	(k)  Dual Energy X-Ray Absorptiometry (DEXA or DXA)
	(1) Individuals who operate a DEXA of DXA radiation machine for diagnostic measurement of bone density or body composition as ordered by a physician or APP shall be:
	(2) All individuals who operate a DEXA or DXA radiation machine shall receive training specific to the radiation machine used and training in basic principles of radiation protection prior to using the radiation machine.

	(l)  Veterinary Imaging
	(1) other than the veterinarian, all veterinary radiation machine operators shall be:
	(2) other than a veterinarian, all veterinary radiation machine operators shall be employed or engaged by a veterinarian or the owner of a veterinary facility registered in accordance with Section .0200 of this Chapter.

	(m)  For individuals other than radiologists, instruction and training to operate fluoroscopic and angiographic radiation machines by physicians and APPs shall include:
	(1) radiation quantities and units;
	(2) biological effects of ionizing radiation and recognition of symptoms of acute localized exposure;
	(3) radiation dose management and optimization of image quality; and
	(4) equipment features.

	(n)  Training records for each operator of a radiation machine shall be maintained and available for agency review during inspection.
	All fluoroscopic X-Ray systems shall meet the following requirements:
	(a)  Radiation machines shall only be operated by individuals who meet the operator requirements of Rule .0604 of this Section.
	(b)  Exposures of individuals to the primary beam:
	(1) Individuals shall not be exposed to the primary beam except for diagnostic imaging purposes. Such exposures shall have been authorized by a licensed practitioner as defined in Rule .0103(7) of this Chapter.
	(2) Students or candidates in training under the personal supervision of an individual that meets the requirements of Rule .0604 of this Chapter shall not be permitted to perform radiographic imaging unless such exposures have been authorized by a lic...
	(3) Deliberate exposure of an individual for training, demonstration, or other non-diagnostic imaging purposes is prohibited.
	(4) Radiation exposures for non-human use, used for forensic medicine, or by service providers for demonstration purposes are exempt from Subparagraphs (b)(1) and (2) of this Rule.

	(c)  The radiation exposure to the patient shall be the minimum exposure required to produce images of optimal diagnostic quality.
	(d)  Individuals who operate radiation machines shall:
	(1) be familiar with the radiation protection program procedures established in accordance with Rule .0603(d)(3) of this Section;
	(2) use collimation to limit the primary beam to the area of clinical interest or to the image receptor, whichever is smaller;
	(3) use technique factors and dose reduction technologies, according to patient sizes and clinical indication, to optimize patient dose while maintaining optimal image quality;
	(4) use mechanical holding devices, whenever medical circumstances permit, when a patient or image receptor must be provided with auxiliary support during a radiation exposure; and
	(5) control the area during radiation exposures.

	(e)  Except for dental handheld radiation machines, individuals who operate radiation machines shall not hold either the X-Ray tube housing or the collimating device during radiation exposures.
	(f)  No occupational worker shall be designated as the individual who always holds patients or image receptors during radiation exposures. Operators of veterinary radiation machines are exempt from this Rule.
	(g)  If a human holder is required, they shall be provided with instructions:
	(1) for supporting the patient during the radiation exposure;
	(2) to wear a lead apron equivalent to 0.25 mm or greater for protection from scatter radiation during the exposure; and
	(3) to avoid extremity exposure to the primary beam, or to wear protective gloves equivalent to 0.5 mm of lead or more.

	(h)  Except for Dual Energy X-Ray Absorptiometry (DEXA or DXA) and intraoral dental handheld radiation machine operators, only the professional staff and individuals required for the medical procedure or those in training shall be in the room of the p...
	(1) All individuals other than the patient being examined shall be:
	(2) When a mobile or portable radiation machine is used during radiographic or fluoroscopy exposures, patients other than the individual examined who cannot be removed from the room shall be protected from the scatter radiation by:

	(i)  CT operators shall have the following made readily accessible during the use of the CT radiation machine and while performing routine QC:
	(1) instructions on performing routine QC;
	(2) a schedule of routine QC;
	(3) any allowable variations set by the CT QE for the indicated parameters;
	(4) the results of the most recent routine QC completed on the system; and
	(5) established scanning protocols.

	(j)  Intraoral dental radiation machine operators shall use patient and film holding devices when the techniques permit.
	(k)  Intraoral dental handheld radiation machine operators shall ensure the following additional requirements are met:
	(1) When making an exposure, all individuals other than the patient undergoing the procedure remain at a distance greater than six feet from the patient.
	(2) Use an individual monitoring device. When protective apparel is required in accordance with Subparagraph (k)(3) of this Rule, the individual monitoring device shall be used in accordance with Paragraph (m) of this Rule.
	(3) Wear protective apparel of 0.25 mm or greater lead equivalent material when the backscatter shield is not parallel to the operator while making an exposure.

	(l)  Veterinary radiation machine operators shall ensure the following additional requirements are met.
	(1) A dead-man type of exposure switch shall be provided, tethered with a cord of a length so that the operator can stand out of the primary beam and six feet or greater from the animal during all X-Ray exposures or behind a protective barrier adequat...
	(2) No individual other than the operator shall be in the X-ray room while exposures are being made unless such an individual's assistance is required.

	(m)  When protective apparel or equipment is used and an individual monitoring device(s) is required, at least one such monitoring device shall be used as follows:
	(1) The individual monitoring device shall be worn at the collar, outside the apparel.
	(2) If protective equipment is used in place of protective apparel, the individual radiation monitoring device shall be worn on the torso.
	(3) A fetal monitoring device shall be worn at the waist. If protective apparel is worn, the individual radiation monitoring device shall be worn under the protective apparel at the waist.
	(4) The dose to the whole body shall be recorded in the reports in accordance with Rule .1601(a)(53) of this Chapter. If more than one device is used, each dose shall be identified with the area where the device was worn on the body.

	(a)  Unless specifically provided otherwise by the rules in this Chapter, the requirements in this Rule shall apply to all x-ray systems, except for fluoroscopic and dental intraoral x-ray systems. The useful beam of x-ray systems subject to provision...
	(1) General purpose stationary and mobile x-ray systems shall meet the following special requirements:
	(2) In addition to the requirements of Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule, all stationary x-ray systems, except equipment originally manufactured before the effective date of this Rule, shall meet the following requirements:
	(3) Radiographic equipment designed for only one image receptor size at a fixed SID shall be provided with means to limit the field at the plane of the image receptor to dimensions no greater than those of the image receptor and to align the center of...
	(4) Special purpose x-ray systems shall meet the following requirements:

	(b)  Radiation exposure control devices shall meet the following requirements:
	(1) Means shall be provided to terminate the exposure after a preset time interval, preset product of current and time, a preset number of pulses or a preset radiation exposure to the image receptor. In addition:
	(2) Control over x-ray exposures shall be in accordance with the following requirements:
	(3) When an automatic exposure control (e.g., phototimer) is provided the following requirements shall be met, except equipment originally manufactured before the effective date of this Rule:
	(4) When four timer tests are performed at identical timer setting equal to 5.0 seconds or less, the average time period (T) shall be greater than five times the difference between the maximum period (Tmax) and the minimum period (Tmin) in accordance ...

	T > 5(Tmax-Tmin)
	(c)  Source-skin or source-image receptor distance shall meet the following requirement:
	All radiographic systems shall be provided with a durable, securely fastened means to limit the source-skin distance to at least 30 centimeters. This is considered to be met when the collimator or cone provides the required limits.
	(d)  The exposure produced shall be reproducible to within the following criteria:
	When all technique factors are held constant, the coefficient of variation shall not exceed 0.10. This shall be deemed to be met if, when four exposures at identical technique factors are made, the value of the average exposure (E)is greater than five...
	E > 5(Emax-Emin)
	(e)  Standby radiation from capacitor energy storage equipment, when the exposure switch or timer is not activated, shall not exceed a rate of two milliroentgens per hour at five centimeters from any accessible surface of the diagnostic source assembl...
	(f)  Linearity
	(1) When the equipment allows a choice of x-ray tube current settings, the average ratios of exposure to the indicated milliampere-seconds product, i.e., mR/mAs, obtained at any two consecutive tube current settings shall not differ by more than 0.10 ...
	(2) Compliance shall be determined at the most commonly used mA stations by measuring mR/mAs at those stations and at one adjacent station to each.

	(g)  Timer accuracy
	(1) For indicated values of 0.10 seconds and above, the measured value shall be within plus or minus 15 percent of the indicated values for equipment manufactured before August 1, 1974.
	(2) For equipment manufactured after August 1, 1974, the deviation of measured values from indicated values shall not exceed the limits specified for that system by its manufacturer.

	(a)  Structural barriers shall be installed so that the dose limits of Rules .1601(a)(8) and .1601(a)(15) of this Chapter are not exceeded.
	(1) Stationary radiation machine systems shall be installed in areas with the following:
	(2) Intraoral dental handheld radiation machines shall be used in a controlled area, as defined in Rule .1601(a)(3) of this Chapter and controlled by separating adjacent uncontrolled areas six feet or greater from the patient.

	(b)  The exposure switch for radiation machines shall be installed meeting the following requirements:
	(1) Stationary radiation machine systems shall have the exposure switch permanently mounted:
	(2) Dental intraoral radiation machines shall have the exposure switch permanently installed so that the operator is required to be:
	(3) Mobile, portable, and veterinary radiation machines shall have an exposure switch that allows the operator to stand six feet or greater from the tube during radiation exposures.

	(c)  Stationary CT radiation machine operators shall maintain aural communication with the patient while the operator is required to remain behind a protective barrier at the control panel.
	(d)  Use of video monitors that do not have a direct power source is prohibited.
	(e)  Any mobile or portable radiation machine used in one location or used as a primary imaging system shall have structural shielding in that location that meets the requirements for stationary diagnostic radiation machines for stationary diagnostic ...
	(f)  An area radiation survey shall be performed for installations of radiation machines within 30 days following the initial use to show compliance with Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
	(1) This survey shall include:
	(2) Any modification that could increase the radiation dosage for any individual to the following shall require a new survey:
	(3) Area radiation survey records shall document compliance with dose limits in accordance with Rules .1601(a)(8) and (15) of this Chapter.
	(4) Records of the area radiation survey shall be maintained in accordance with Rule .0603(m) of this Section.

	(g)  Technique Charts or imaging protocols for each radiation machine not equipped with an operational anatomic programming or phototimer option shall be readily available to the operator of the radiation machine(s). If pediatric and adult patients ar...
	(1) patient's anatomical size;
	(2) technique factors to be used;
	(3) source to image receptor distance used; and
	(4) type of image receptor.

	(h)  Each area, as defined in Rule .1601(a)(3) of this Chapter, where a radiation machine is used shall be conspicuously posted with a sign, in accordance with the requirements of Rule .1601(a)(34) of this Chapter, bearing the words "CAUTION – RADIATI...
	(i)  Exemptions apply to the following:
	(1) intraoral dental radiation machines from Parts (a)(1)(A) and (C) of this Rule.
	(2) Dual Energy X-Ray Absorptiometry (DEXA or DXA) and veterinary radiation machines from Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule.
	(3) dental handheld radiation machines from Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule.
	(4) radiation machines used for intraoral, particle accelerators, or used for treatment planning from Paragraph (d) of this Rule; and
	(4) dental radiation machines from Subparagraph (g)(3) of this Rule.

	(a)  In addition to the provisions of Rules .0603 and .0605 of this Section, the requirements of this Rule apply to x-ray equipment and associated facilities used for dental radiography. Criteria for extraoral dental radiographic systems are covered i...
	(b)  X-ray systems designed for use with an intraoral image receptor shall be provided with means to limit source-skin distance to not less than:
	(1) 18 centimeters, if operated above 50 kilovolts peak; or
	(2) ten centimeters, if operated at or below 50 kilovolts peak.

	(c)  The size of the direct radiation beam shall be limited in accordance with the following rules:
	(1) Radiographic systems designed for use with an intraoral image receptor shall be provided with means to limit the x-ray beam such that:
	(2) Effective February 1, 1981, equipment manufactured prior to August 1974 shall be equipped with a lead line open position indicating device with at least 0.79 mm lead.

	(d)  The timing device shall comply with the following requirements:
	(1) Termination of the exposure after a preset interval;
	(2) Termination of exposure shall cause automatic resetting of the timer to its initial setting or to zero;
	(3) It shall not be possible to make an exposure when the timer is set to a zero or "off" position if either position is provided; and
	(4) When four timer tests are performed at identical timer settings equal to five seconds or less, the average time period (T) shall be greater than five times the difference between the maximum period (Tmax) and the minimum period (Tmin) in accordanc...

	T > 5(Tmax- Tmin)
	(5) Effective February 1, 1983, intraoral dental radiographic systems shall be equipped with an electronic timer.
	(6) Timer accuracy

	(e)  The exposure switch shall comply with the following requirements:
	(1) A control shall be incorporated into each x-ray system such that an exposure can be terminated at any time, except for exposures of one-half second or less.
	(2) Each x-ray control shall be located in such a way as to meet the following criteria:
	(3) For equipment manufactured after August 1, 1974, the x-ray control shall provide visual indication observable at or from the operator's protected position whenever x-rays are produced. In addition, a signal audible to the operator shall indicate t...

	(f)  The exposure produced shall be reproducible to within the following criteria:
	When all technique factors are held constant, the coefficient of variation shall not exceed 0.10. This shall be deemed to be met if, when four exposures at identical technique factors are made, the value of the average exposure (E) is greater than fiv...
	E > 5(Emax- Emin)
	(g)  Patient and film holding devices shall be used when the techniques permit.
	(h)  Neither the tube housing nor the position indicating device shall be hand-held during an exposure.
	(i)  Dental fluoroscopy without image intensification shall not be used.
	(j)  Structural shielding
	(1) All wall, floor and ceiling areas shall have protective barriers sufficient to meet the requirements of Rules .1604 and .1611 of this Chapter.
	(2) When intraoral x-ray systems are installed in adjacent rooms or areas, protective barriers as specified in Subparagraph (j)(1) of this Rule shall be provided between the rooms or areas.

	(a)  All radiation machines shall be:
	(1) registered with the agency in accordance with Rule .0203(a) of this Chapter; and
	(2) installed according to the manufacturer's specifications.

	(b)  Each diagnostic radiographic and fluoroscopic radiation machine and associated components shall comply with the following provisions of 21 CFR Subchapter J, Diagnostic x-ray systems and their major components, which are hereby incorporated by ref...
	(1) Part 1000, "General;"
	(2) Subpart A 1000.1, "General Provisions - General;"
	(3) Subpart A 1000.3(a) through (1), and (n) through (s), "Definitions;"
	(4) Subpart A 1000.15, "Examples of electronic products subject to the Radiation Control for Health and Safety Act of 1968;"
	(5) Part 1002, "Records and Reports;"
	(6) Subpart A 1002.1(a) and (c)(4), "Applicability;"
	(7) Subpart D 1002.31, "Preservation and inspection of records;"
	(8) Part 1003, "Notification of Defects of Failures to Comply;"
	(9) Subpart A 1003.1, "Applicability;"
	(10) Subpart A 1003.2, "Defect in an electronic product;"
	(11) Subpart C 1003.21, "Notification by the manufacturer to affected persons;"
	(12) Part 1010, "Performance Standards for Electronic Products - General;"
	(13) Subpart A 1010.1, "Scope;"
	(14) Subpart A 1010.2 (a),(b), and (d), "Certification;"
	(15) Subpart A 1010.3, "Identification;"
	(16) Subpart A 1010.4(a) and (d), "Variances;"
	(17) Part 1020, "Performance Standards for Ionizing Radiation Emitting Products;"
	(18) Section 1020.20, "Cold-cathode gas discharge tubes;"
	(19) Section 1020.30, "Diagnostic x-ray systems and their main components;"
	(20) Section 1020.31, "Radiographic equipment;"
	(21) Section 1020.32, "Fluoroscopic equipment;" and
	(22) Section 1020.33, "Computed tomography (CT) equipment."

	(c)  The regulations incorporated by reference in Paragraph (b) of this Rule are available free of charge at https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/chapter-I/subchapter-J for Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (b)(22) of this Rule.
	(d)  Diagnostic radiation machines and their associated components used on humans and certified in accordance with Paragraph (b)(17) of this Rule shall be maintained to ensure compliance with standards in accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule.
	(e)  Radiation machines that do not meet the requirements of Paragraph (b)(1) of this Rule shall not be sold, installed, or used in this state prior to the agency completing a review of the radiation machine in accordance with Rule .0212(a) of this Ch...
	(f)  All radiation machines shall meet the following additional requirements:
	(1) The tube housing shall remain stable during radiation exposures unless tube housing movement is a designed function of the radiation machine.
	(2) All position locking, holding, and centering devices on radiation machine components and systems shall function as intended by the manufacturer.

	(g)  Veterinary. Radiation machines used in veterinary medicine are exempt from Paragraph (c) of this Rule. The requirements of this paragraph shall apply only to veterinary medicine radiographic installations. Veterinary radiation machine installatio...
	(1) The protective tube housing shall be of the diagnostic type.
	(2) Diaphragms or cones shall be provided for collimating the useful beam to the area of the image receptor and shall provide the same degree of protection as is required in the housing.
	(3) The total filtration permanently in the useful beam shall not be less than 0.5 millimeters aluminum equivalent for machines operating up to 50 kVp, 1.5 millimeters aluminum equivalent for machines operating between 50-70 kVp, and 2.5 millimeters a...
	(4) A device shall be provided to terminate the exposure after a preset time or exposure.
	(5) A dead-man type of exposure switch shall be provided, together with an electrical cord of sufficient length, so that the operator can stand out of the useful beam and at least six feet from the animal during all x-ray exposures or behind a protect...



	Title 12 – Department of Justice
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission intends to amend the rules cited as 12 NCAC 10B .0403, and .0407.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  ncdoj.gov
	Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2025
	Reason for Proposed Action:  12 NCAC 10B .0403 - This rule modifies the Probationary Certification requirements to allow the issuance of probationary certification prior to completion of BLET and adds clarifying language as to the authority of these o...
	12 NCAC 10B .0407 - This rule modifies the requirements for issuance of certification to a former sheriff by removing the requirement of serving for a minimum of four years if the former sheriff has specified qualifying conditions.
	Comment period ends:  October 14, 2025
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives wri...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	Chapter 10 - Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission
	SUBCHAPTER 10B - N.C. SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION
	SECTION .0400 - CERTIFICATION OF JUSTICE OFFICERS
	(a)  For certification as a deputy sheriff, the applicant must successfully complete Basic Law Enforcement Training as described in 12 NCAC 10B .0502 and 12 NCAC 09B .0205, and sheriff or detention officer, a Report of Appointment (Form F-4) must shal...
	(b)  For certification as a detention officer, a Report of Appointment (Form F-4) must be submitted to the Division.
	(c)  For certification as a telecommunication officer, a Report of Appointment (Form F-4T) must be submitted to the Division.
	(d)(b)  Report of Appointment forms must shall be submitted to the Division by the employing agency no later than 10 days after the deputy sheriff has taken the Oath of Office, or the detention officer or the telecommunicator has been appointed.
	(e)(c)  The Division shall forward the justice officer's certification to the appointing employing agency.
	(f)(d)  No deputy sheriff or detention officer probationary certification shall be issued by the Division prior to the applicant meeting the conditions set forth in this Paragraph. As an additional requirement for probationary certification, the appli...
	(1) If the applicant for probationary certification is authorized by the sheriff to carry a firearm pursuant to the provisions of 12 NCAC 10B .2104, Rule .2104 of this Subchapter, the employing agency shall submit evidence of satisfactory completion o...
	(2) If the applicant for probationary certification is not authorized by the sheriff to carry a firearm pursuant to the provisions of 12 NCAC 10B .2104, Rule .2104 of this Subchapter, the employing agency shall notify the Division, in writing, that th...

	(e)  After documentation has been submitted to the Division pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this rule, a deputy sheriff who has not completed Basic Law Enforcement Training is only authorize to exercise the powers of a deputy sheriff when such action is:
	(1) While accompanied by and under the direct supervision of the sheriff or designee; or
	(2) While accompanied by and under the direct supervision of another deputy sheriff or law enforcement officer who has successfully completed Basic Law Enforcement Training; or
	(3) Necessary to:
	(4) Taken when the deputy sheriff has probable cause to believe in their presence:

	(a)  The Division shall issue a General Certification to any person as either a deputy sheriff, a detention officer, or telecommunicator who has previously served as an elected or appointed sheriff for a minimum of eight years, if the person:
	(1) applies to the Commission within one year of ceasing to serve as an elected or appointed sheriff; and
	(2) left the office of sheriff in good standing.

	(b)  The Division shall issue a General Certification to any person as either a deputy sheriff, a detention officer, or telecommunicator who has previously served as an elected or appointed sheriff for a minimum of four years, if the person:
	(1) applies to the Commission within one year of ceasing to serve as an elected or appointed sheriff;
	(2) held a General Certification as deputy sheriff, detention officer, or telecommunicator with the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission or has held a General Certification as a sworn officer with the North Carolina Cri...
	(3) left the office of sheriff in good standing.

	(c)  In order for an officer to be certified under this Rule, the employing agency shall:
	(1) comply with the Report of Appointment form requirement of Rule .0403 of this Section;
	(2) submit to the Division, a copy of the Oath of Office for applicants requesting certification as a deputy sheriff; and
	(3) submit to the Division verification that the applicant meets the requirement of this Rule .0407(a)(2).




	Title 15A – Department of Environmental Quality
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Wildlife Resources Commission intends to adopt the rule cited as 15A NCAC 10D .0295.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.ncwildlife.gov/hunting/regulations/proposed-regulations
	Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2025
	Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed rule will establish Paynes Branch Game Land. Adding this property to the Game Land Program as a three day per week area will provide recreational opportunities for hunters, trappers, wildlife viewers, and othe...
	Comment period ends:  October 14, 2025
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives wri...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	Chapter 10 - Wildlife Resources and Water Safety
	SUBCHAPTER 10D - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS
	SECTION .0200 - USE OF GAME LANDS
	Paynes Branch Game Land is a Three Days per Week Area, in which the following applies:
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Wildlife Resources Commission intends to amend the rule cited as 15A NCAC 10F .0307.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.ncwildlife.gov/hunting/regulations/proposed-regulations
	Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2025
	Reason for Proposed Action:  Wildlife Resources Commission staff were notified last fall of safety concerns and enforcement challenges surrounding vessel liveries on Lake Norman. Lack of regulations codified in Rule has made it difficult to enact and ...
	Permanently codifying vessel livery safety requirements in Rule will clarify standards for livery companies, facilitate and streamline enforcement activities, and improve public safety.
	The proposed changes are identical to the temporary rule currently in effect and are identified with italicized text.
	Comment period ends:  October 14, 2025
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives wri...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required



	Chapter 10 - Wildlife Resources and Water Safety
	SUBCHAPTER 10F - MOTORBOATS AND WATER SAFETY
	SECTION .0300 - LOCAL WATER SAFETY REGULATIONS
	(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to Lake Norman in Catawba, Iredell, Lincoln, and Mecklenburg counties:
	(1) within 50 yards of the shoreline at Jetton Park in Mecklenburg County, from a point on the west side of the park at 35.47082 N, 80.90427 W, south and around the point at 35.46703 N, 80.90360 W, then northeast to a point at 35.47262 N, 80.89727 W;
	(2) Bluff Point Cove in Cornelius shore to shore, east of a line from a point 50 yards west of the south shore of the cove mouth at 35.45327 N, 80.89520 W to a point 50 yards west of the north shore of the cove mouth at 35.45487 N, 80.89440 W; and
	(3) the cove immediately north of the inlet of Hager Creek in Iredell County, north of a line from a point on the north shore at 35.55760 N, 80.94730 W southwest to a point on the island at the inlet of Hager Creek at 35.55695 N, 80.94971 W, and east ...

	(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than no wake speed within the regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule and as set forth in G.S. 75A-14.1.
	(c)  Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for the operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter any marked swimming area on the waters of Lake Norman.
	(d)(c)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The Lake Norman Marine Commission shall be the designated agency for placement and maintenance of navigational aids and regulatory markers on the waters of Lake Norman.
	(d)  Vessel Liveries. Vessel liveries operating on Lake Norman shall conduct the following activities with each vessel renter prior to relinquishing control of the vessel:
	(1) a pre-rental vessel inspection to ensure that safety equipment required by Rule .0201 of this Subchapter is on board and accessible; and
	(2) provide and review instruction on safe operation of the vessel rented including review of navigation rules in G.S. 75A-6.1, operating restrictions in G.S. 75A-10, an electronic or waterproof navigational map of Lake Norman, and the U.S. Coast Guar...

	Both parties shall sign and date documentation verifying adherence to these requirements on the date the rental begins. The vessel livery shall maintain a copy of this documentation for a period of two years from the date of rental which shall be made...
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Wildlife Resources Commission intends to adopt the rule cited as 15A NCAC 10G .0406, readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10G .0402, ...
	Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/n...
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.ncwildlife.gov/hunting/regulations/proposed-regulations
	Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2025
	Reason for Proposed Action:  The 10G rules were determined to be "necessary with substantive interest" as part of the period review and are required to be readopted. Proposed changes to Rules within 15A NCAC 10G .0400 provide minor updates to the prog...
	Comment period ends:  October 14, 2025
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives wri...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required



	Chapter 10 - Wildlife Resources and Water Safety
	SUBCHAPTER 10G - DISTRIBUTION AND SALE OF HUNTING: FISHING: AND TRAPPING LICENSE
	SECTION .0400 - WILDLIFE SERVICE AGENTS
	(a)  Wildlife Service Agents are official license and vessel agents of the Commission who are authorized to issue hunting, fishing and other licenses, permits, applications, vessel registrations, and items pursuant to G.S. 113-270.1, the Wildlife Serv...
	(b)  Any An individual authorized to act on behalf of a business operating from a fixed location in North Carolina may apply to the Commission for appointment as a Wildlife Service Agent by completing an application provided by the Commission. Agent b...
	(1) business name, physical address, email, county, phone number, agent type, description of services, and operational dates and hours; and
	(2) business owner name, address, date of birth, driver's license number, and length of business ownership.

	(b)  Application. Applications for Wildlife Service Agent appointment shall contain the business name, address, county agent contact information, bank account information, business hours, and any other information requested by the Commission that is r...
	(d)(c)  Qualifications and Requirements. Applicants Business owners shall meet the following requirements to qualifications in order to be appointed qualify as a Wildlife Service Agent. Agent unless otherwise approved by the Executive Director or his ...
	(1) Businesses shall operate from a fixed location in North Carolina and shall sell a minimum of one thousand dollars ($1,000) in transaction sales annually. This minimum requirement may be waived by the Executive Director if he finds the applicant's ...
	(2)(1) An applicant shall have a minimum of one year's experience in operating the business for which the application is made or other equivalent business experience or training. experience; In those cases where other equivalent business experience or...
	(3)(2) Applicants shall provide a bank account for the purpose of transferring net proceeds from all Wildlife Service Agent transactions to the Commission's account in the State Treasury every week via an electronic transfer of funds. Commission; and
	(3) no criminal convictions for financial crimes within the five years prior to application.

	(d)  The qualifications as provided by Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule shall be met prior to appointment. Failure to comply with the qualifications and requirements as provided by Paragraph (c) of this Rule, throughout the term of the appointment,...
	(d)  Upon approval of the application by the Commission, Wildlife Service Agents shall:
	(1) have a computer, printer and internet access at their business location;
	(2) provide a voided check or withdrawal slip for the bank account to be used to transfer funds to the Commission;
	(3) complete online training provided by the Commission or a contracted third-party vendor; and
	(4) sign and submit the Wildlife Service Agent Agreement.

	(e)  Wildlife Service Agent Agreements and appointments are non-transferable and valid only for the owner and business named on the executed agreement.
	(a)  A Wildlife Service Agent's Agent shall comply with the following appointment and service is subject to the following terms and conditions:
	(1) Public Service. Wildlife Service Agents shall serve all persons individuals seeking assistance with matters related to the duties of a Wildlife Service Agent. Agent during regular business hours.
	(2) Training. New Wildlife Service Agents shall attend a training session at a location specified by the Commission prior to activation of agent status and prior to receiving any equipment or supplies from the Commission. transfer funds and records to...
	(3) Activation of Agent Status. Upon completion of training and receipt of equipment and supplies, Wildlife Service Agents shall have their equipment set up and ready for operation 10 days after the date they receive the equipment and supplies.
	(4)(3) Application. Each Wildlife Service Agent shall notify the Commission of any changes to the original application for appointment such as business name, address, agent contact information, bank account information, business hours and other inform...
	(5)(4) Business Change of Ownership, Location, or Management. If the ownership of the business, location or management changes, then the Agreement becomes null and void. Written provide written notice of any a change in business ownership, location, o...
	(6)(5) maintain five thousand dollars ($5,000) in Agent transaction sales at the business location annually. Cancellation. A Wildlife Service Agent may cancel the Agreement at any time by sending written notice to the Commission. The Commission shall ...

	(b)  A Wildlife Service Agent may cancel the Agreement by sending written notice to the Commission. Consigned equipment and supplies shall be returned to the Commission and the financial account shall be settled within 10 business days of the date of ...
	(b)  Suspension. The Commission shall temporarily suspend any Wildlife Service Agent appointment for:
	(1) Failure to deposit sufficient funds one or two times to cover the electronic transfer of funds each week.
	(2) Failure to operate as a public convenience as specified in the Agreement one or two times.
	(3) Failure to provide proper and correct information one or two times about wildlife transactions and related issues to customers as documented by customer complaints or agency inspections.
	(4) Failure to submit or return all required documentation for transactions as outlined in the Agreement one or two times.

	Temporary suspension is effective immediately upon communication of that fact to the Wildlife Service Agent. Such communication shall state the grounds for temporary suspension and that the agent may request a hearing within 5 working days if he conte...
	Temporary suspension remains in effect until the hearing. A temporary suspension may not last longer than 30 days, but additional suspensions may be imposed if, at the end of the suspension period, the agent has not corrected the deficiency or deficie...
	(c)  Termination. The Commission shall terminate any Wildlife Service Agent appointment for any of the deficiencies listed below unless it determines that such deficiency may be corrected, is not likely to be repeated during the term of the current ag...
	(1) Failure to comply with the terms and conditions as outlined in the wildlife service agreement.
	(2) Failure to deposit sufficient funds three or more times to cover the electronic transfer of funds each week.
	(3) Failure to meet the minimum transaction sales requirement of one thousand dollars ($1,000) annually.
	(4) Failure to operate as a public convenience as specified in the Agreement three or more times.
	(5) Failure to provide proper and correct information three or more times about wildlife transactions and related issues to customers as documented by customer complaints or agency inspections.
	(6) Failure to submit or return all required documentation for transactions as outlined in the Agreement three or more times.

	Notice of termination of the appointment may be sent to the Wildlife Service Agent in lieu of or in addition to temporary suspension. The notice must state the grounds for termination of the appointment and the agent's right to a hearing if he has not...
	Upon termination of appointment as a Wildlife Service Agent, the former agent must return all consigned equipment and supplies to the Commission and settle the agent financial account within 10 days of the date of receiving written notice from the Com...
	The Executive Director or his designee holding any hearing under this Paragraph must keep a written record of evidence considered and findings made. Upon appeal to the Commission, the Commission Chairman or another presiding officer must cause such a ...
	No person denied appointment or whose appointment was terminated under this Paragraph may apply again for an appointment as a Wildlife Service Agent for two years. Upon application, the Commission may not grant the appointment as a Wildlife Service Ag...
	(d)(c)  Use of customer identifying information. Customer identifying information for customers of the Commission is protected by G.S. 143-254.5. A Wildlife Service Agents Agent shall not use or disclose any customer identifying information specified ...
	(a)  The Commission may audit Wildlife Service Agent transactions. Agents shall comply with Commission requests for records and information within 10 business days of the request.
	(b)  The Commission may suspend or terminate Wildlife Service Agent appointment for violation of provisions of G.S. 113-270.1, the rules of this Section, or the Wildlife Service Agent Agreement. The determination of whether to suspend or revoke appoin...
	(1) operate as a public convenience as specified in the Agreement;
	(2) provide correct information about wildlife transactions to customers as documented by customer complaints or agency inspections;
	(3) submit or return required documentation for transactions;
	(4) comply with the terms and conditions specified in Rule .0405 of this Section;
	(5) deposit sufficient funds to cover electronic transfers; and
	(6) meet the five thousand dollar ($5,000) annual Agent transaction requirement.

	(c)  Upon termination of appointment, a Wildlife Service Agent shall return consigned equipment and supplies to the Commission and settle the agent financial account within 10 business days of receipt of written of termination notice from the Commission.
	(d)  Individuals denied appointment or whose appointment is terminated shall not reapply for appointment for two years.



	Title 21 - Occupational Licensing Boards and Commissions
	Chapter 25 - Interpreter and Transliterator Board
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board intends to amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 25 .0202.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://ncitlb.org/
	Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2025
	Reason for Proposed Action:  This proposed rule would add another pathway to licensure, the Utah assessment would be accepted for provisional and full licensure.
	Comment period ends:  October 14, 2025
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives wri...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required
	SECTION .0200 – LICENSING
	(a)  An applicant for licensure shall submit the following materials to the Board:
	(1) A completed, signed, and dated application;
	(2) A clear, two-inch by two-inch, passport-style photograph of the head and shoulders of the applicant, made within two years of the date of application;
	(3) A legible, fully-completed finger print card obtained from a local law enforcement agency;
	(4) The applicant's signed, written consent to a criminal record check;
	(5) One or more cashier's checks, certified checks or money orders made payable to the North Carolina Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board in the amounts charged by the Department of Public Safety for all necessary local, State and federal c...
	(6) A cashier's check, certified check or money order made payable to the North Carolina Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board in the amount specified by Rule .0203 of this Section.

	(b)  Upon application to the Board and payment of the required fees under Rule .0203(a) of this Section, the Board shall grant an Applicant a full license as an interpreter or transliterator if the applicant meets all of the following qualifications:
	(1) Is 18 years of age or older.
	(2) Is of good moral character presumptively established by the applicant's eligibility under Rule .0302 of this Chapter. If the Board determines there is probable cause to question an applicant's moral character, and after notice to the applicant and...
	(3) Meets one of the following criteria:

	(c)  Upon application to the Board and payment of the required fees under Rule .0203(a) of this Section, the Board shall grant an Applicant a one-time provisional license as an interpreter or transliterator if the applicant meets all of the following ...
	(1) Is 18 years of age or older.
	(2) Is of good moral character presumptively established by the applicant's eligibility under 21 NCAC 25 .0302. If the Board determines there is probable cause to question an applicant's moral character, and after notice to the applicant and a hearing...
	(3) Completes two continuing education units approved by the Board. These units must be completed for each renewable year.
	(4) Holds at least a two-year associate degree in interpreting from a post-secondary institution and satisfies one the following:

	(d)  Upon application to the Board, payment of the required fees under Rule .0203(a) of this Section, and meeting the requirements for a provisional license under Subparagraphs (c)(1) and (2) of this Rule, the Board shall also issue a provisional lice...
	(1) A deaf interpreter who completes 16 hours of training in interpreting coursework or workshops provided by the North Carolina Division of Services for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, including role and function or ethics, and 20 hours in the 12 month...
	(2) An oral interpreter who completes a total of 40 hours of training in interpreting coursework or workshops related to oral interpreting.
	(3) A cued language transliterator who holds a current TECUnit Cued language Transliterator State Level Assessment (CLTSLA) level 2 or above classification.
	(4) A person providing interpreting or transliterating services who has a recognized credential from another state's licensing body in the field of interpreting or transliterating.
	(5) An interpreter or transliterator who has accumulated at least 200 hours per year in the provision of interpreting or transliterating services, in this State or another state, totaling at least 400 hours for the two years immediately preceding the ...



	Chapter 56 - Engineers and Surveyors
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Board of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors intends to amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 56 .0501.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  www.ncbels.org
	Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2026
	Reason for Proposed Action:  The Board seeks to amend 21 NCAC 56 .0501 to update definitions related to educational and experience requirements for licensure as a Professional Engineer as well as to eliminate a minimum experience requirement for full-...
	Comment period ends:  October 14, 2025
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives wri...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required
	SECTION .0500 - PROFESSIONAL ENGINEER
	(a)  Education. Pursuant to G.S. 89C-13, The the Board shall consider the education of an applicant in determining eligibility for licensing certification as an Engineer Intern or licensure as a Professional Engineer. The Certain terms used by the Boa...
	(1) "Engineering curriculum of four or more years approved by the Board" is defined as "An EAC/ABET accredited program" is a program that has been accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission (EAC) of the Accreditation Board for Engineering ...
	(2) "Engineering or related science curriculum of four or more years other than ones approved by the Board" is defined as "An engineering curriculum or related science curriculum of four years or more" is a curriculum, although not accredited by ABET,...
	(3) "A master's degree in engineering from an institution that offers EAC/ABET accredited programs" and "an earned doctoral degree in engineering from an institution that offers EAC/ABET accredited programs" are graduate degrees in engineering from an...
	(4) Educational programs "approved by the Board as being of satisfactory standing" include foreign degrees equivalent to the NCEES Engineering Education Standard. A copy of the applicable standard is available at https://ncees.org/ncees-services/crede...
	(3) "Equivalent education satisfactory to the board" is defined as:

	(b)  Experience. Pursuant to G.S. 89C-13, The the Board shall consider the experience of an applicant shall be considered in determining eligibility for certification as an Engineer Intern or licensure whether an applicant is eligible to be licensed a...
	(1) Required Experience. In evaluating the work experience required, experience, the Board shall consider the an applicant's total experience record and the its progressive nature of the record. nature. Experience shall be of a progressive engineering...
	(2) Definition. The word "progressive" in the terms "progressive nature of the record," "progressive engineering experience," "progressive land surveying," "progressive engineering nature," or "progressive experience on engineering projects" "Progress...
	(3) Credit for Experience. In evaluating progressive engineering experience, the Board shall give credit for experience in the following areas of work:

	The Board shall not accept combinations of the categories in this Subparagraph as fulfilling all the necessary statutory experience requirements. Every applicant for licensure as a Professional Engineer, as part of the total experience requirement, sh...
	Full-time engineering faculty members who teach in an engineering program offering a four-year or more degree approved by the Board may request and shall be granted waiver of the minimum one year experience in industry, government, or private practice...
	(4) An exception to the requirement in Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule that experience be obtained after graduation is for long-established practice of 20 years or more, as provided for in G.S. 89C-13(a3).
	(5) Other experience is considered if it is:
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