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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Human Resources 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days but not later than 60 days 

after the date a notice of the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Child Care Commission intends to amend the rule cited as 10A 

NCAC 09 .2102. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Home/Child-Care-Commission 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2026 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  November 3, 2025 

Time:  11:30 a.m. 

Location:  1915 Health Services Way, Training Room A/B 

Raleigh NC 27607 and By WebEx 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The NC Child Care Commission 

("Commission") is proposing amendments to Rule 10A NCAC 09 

.2102 to further define "corporal punishment" and clarify 

discipline policy requirements for religious-sponsored child care 

facilities as defined in G.S. 110-91(10). These amendments aim to 

provide clear regulations for such facilities that opt to administer 

corporal punishment. The proposed parameters are intended to 

ensure compliance with statutory allowances and protect children 

from maltreatment. 

 

Although prohibited forms of discipline in child care centers and 

family child care homes are currently addressed in Rules 10A 

NCAC 09 .1803 and .1722, respectively, a specific definition for 

corporal punishment is not currently included in the rules 

applying to exempt religious-sponsored child care facilities. This 

lack of specificity regarding the allowable application of corporal 

punishment increases the risk of misapplication by a frustrated 

child care provider, thereby constituting physical discipline that 

meets the statutory definition of child maltreatment. 

 

Since 10A NCAC 09 .2102(e) explicitly states that, “A discipline 

policy that meets the requirements of this Rule shall not preclude 

the investigation of a complaint alleging inappropriate discipline 

of a child or child maltreatment as specified in G.S. 110-105.3,” 

the lack of additional clarification in the childcare rule 

specifically defining corporal punishment implies that any form 

of corporal punishment could be considered and investigated as 

child maltreatment. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Julie Peck, 2201 Mail Service 

Center, Raleigh, NC 27609; email julie.peck@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 14, 2025 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review:  If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 

the rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 09 - CHILD CARE RULES 

 

SECTION .2100 - RELIGIOUS-SPONSORED CHILD 

CARE CENTER REQUIREMENTS 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2102 USE OF CORPORAL 

PUNISHMENT 

(a)  Corporal punishment may be used in religious-sponsored 

child care facilities in accordance with G.S. 110-91(10), if: 

(1) the religious-sponsored child care facility files 

a notice with the Division stating that corporal 

punishment is part of the religious training of its 

program; and 

(2) the religious-sponsored child care facility states 

in its written policy of discipline that corporal 

punishment is part of the religious training of its 

program. 

(b)  The discipline policy shall state when corporal punishment is 

used, what type of punishment is used, and who will be 

administering the punishment. The discipline policy shall state 

that parents will be informed before and by the end of the day after 

their child has received corporal punishment and who will be 

administering the punishment. The facility shall comply with their 

written discipline policy. If administered by facility staff, corporal 

punishment shall be limited to one swat by the hand on the 

buttocks of a child over the child's normal mode of dress that does 
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not result in any mark that lasts more than two hours or bruising. 

A witness shall be present when corporal punishment is 

administered and shall be administered by the administrator or 

other designated staff member. A facility shall not administer 

corporal punishment more than once a day per child. The facility's 

administrator shall complete an incident report whenever corporal 

punishment is administered at the facility. 

(c)  The discipline policy shall be shared with all parents that have 

children enrolled at the facility and the facility shall provide 

parents a copy of the policy for their records. 

(d)  If the facility's discipline policy changes, the new policy shall 

be shared with parents 14 days prior to the change becoming 

effective. A copy of the revised discipline policy shall be 

submitted to the Division within 30 days of the effective date of 

the revised policy. 

(e)  A discipline policy that meets the requirements of this Rule 

shall not preclude the investigation of a complaint alleging 

inappropriate discipline of a child or child maltreatment as 

specified in G.S 110-105.3. 

 

Authority G.S. 110-91(10); 110-106. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Child Care Commission intends to repeal the rules cited as 10A 

NCAC 09 .2801, .2802, .2806, .2809, .2817-.2825, and .2827-

.2831. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 

on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Home/Child-Care-Commission 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2026 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  November 3, 2025 

Time:  11:30 am 

Location:  1915 Health Services Way, Training Room A/B 

Raleigh NC 27607 and by WebEx 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  This set of rules is being repealed 

by the NC Child Care Commission in response to the adoption of 

Child Care Rule 10A NCAC 09 Section .3200, following Session 

Laws 2023-40 and 2024-34 regarding the modernization of the 

state’s quality rating improvement system (QRIS). QRIS is based 

on a star-rating licensing system that applies to child care centers 

and family child care homes that meet all minimum child care 

requirements which include but are not limited to health and 

safety standards and those who voluntarily choose to meet higher 

standards. The proposed repeal of 10A NCAC 09 Section .2800 

removes former QRIS requirements which are no longer 

applicable to licensed child care facilities in North Carolina with 

the adoption of Section .3200 which became effective July 1, 2025. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Julie Peck, 2201 Mail Service 

Center, Raleigh, NC 27609; email julie.peck@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 14, 2025 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review:  If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 

the rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 09 - CHILD CARE RULES 

 

SECTION .2800 - TWO THROUGH FIVE STAR RATED 

LICENSES 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2801 SCOPE 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2802 APPLICATION FOR A TWO 

THROUGH FIVE STAR RATED LICENSE 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 

2011-145, s.10.7(b). 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2806 CAREGIVING ACTIVITIES FOR 

PRESCHOOL-AGED CHILDREN 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2809 ENHANCED SPACE 

REQUIREMENTS 

 

Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2817 ENHANCED PROGRAM 

STANDARDS FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS 

 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2818 ENHANCED STAFF/CHILD 

RATIOS FOR A RATED LICENSE FOR CHILD CARE 

CENTERS 

 

Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 143B-168.3. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2819 ENHANCED EDUCATION 

STANDARDS FOR ON-SITE ADMINISTRATORS FOR A 

RATED LICENSE FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2820 ENHANCED EDUCATION 

STANDARDS FOR LEAD TEACHERS FOR A RATED 

LICENSE FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2821 ENHANCED EDUCATION 

STANDARDS FOR TEACHERS FOR A RATED LICENSE 

FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3. 

10A NCAC 09 .2822 ENHANCED EDUCATION 

STANDARDS FOR PROGRAM COORDINATORS FOR A 

RATED LICENSE FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2823 ENHANCED EDUCATION 

STANDARDS FOR GROUP LEADERS AND ASSISTANT 

GROUP LEADERS FOR A RATED LICENSE FOR 

CHILD CARE CENTERS AND FOR CENTERS THAT 

PROVIDE CARE ONLY TO SCHOOL-AGE CHILDREN 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2824 ENHANCED EDUCATION 

STANDARDS FOR A RATED LICENSE FOR 

ADMINISTRATORS FOR CENTERS THAT PROVIDE 

CARE ONLY TO SCHOOL-AGE CHILDREN 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2825 ENHANCED EDUCATION 

STANDARDS FOR PROGRAM COORDINATORS FOR A 

RATED LICENSE FOR CENTERS THAT PROVIDE 

CARE ONLY TO SCHOOL-AGE CHILDREN 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2827 ENHANCED EDUCATION 

STANDARDS FOR OPERATORS FOR A RATED 

LICENSE FOR FAMILY CHILD CARE HOMES 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2828 ENHANCED PROGRAM 

STANDARDS FOR A RATED LICENSE FOR FAMILY 

CHILD CARE HOMES 

 

Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2829 QUALITY POINT OPTIONS 

 

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 

2011-145, s. 10.7(b). 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2830 MAINTAINING THE STAR 

RATING 

Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3. 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2831 HOW AN OPERATOR MAY 

REQUEST OR APPEAL A CHANGE IN RATING 

 

Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-168.3. 

 

 

TITLE 11 – DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Code Officials Qualification Board intends to amend the rules 

cited as 11 NCAC 08 .0706, and .0737-.0741. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c): 

https://www.ncosfm.gov/about/rules-and-legislative-

reports/rules#CodeOfficialsQualificationBoard-4075 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2026 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  October 13, 2025 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Office of the State Fire Marshal, 1429 Rock Quarry 

Road, Raleigh, NC 27610 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The Code Officials Qualification 

Board (COQB) recently adopted amendments to 11 NCAC 08 

.0706 and adopted 11 NCAC 08 .0737 through .0741 as new rules 

to implement a "dual track" certification system for code officials 

beginning January 1, 2025. This system provides a 

"grandfathering" period under which a Level I or Level II code 

official certified before January 1, 2025, is authorized to inspect 

different types of structures and systems than a Level I or II code 

official certified on or after that date. After the adoption of these 

rules, the Office of the State Fire Marshal (OSFM) - which 

provides staff support to the COQB - learned that its current 

certification database cannot accommodate this dual track 

certification structure. Specifically, the system cannot assign 

different scopes of inspection authority to inspectors with the 

same level designation based on their certification date. As a 

result, OSFM has been forced to manually track the certification 

scopes of newly certified inspectors. To address this matter, the 

COQB seeks to amend Rules 11 NCAC 08 .0706, .0737, .0738, 

.0739, .0740, and .0741 delay the implementation of the dual track 
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certification structure to January 1, 2027, to provide time for 

OSFM to design or procure a new certification database. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Kyle Heuser, 1429 Rock 

Quarry Road, Raleigh, NC 27610; phone (919)196-4701; email 

OSFM.rulemaking@ncdoi.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 16, 2025 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 08 - ENGINEERING AND BUILDING CODES 

DIVISION 

 

SECTION .0700 - QUALIFICATION BOARD-STANDARD 

CERTIFICATE 

 

11 NCAC 08 .0706 REQUIRED QUALIFICATIONS: 

TYPES AND LEVELS 

(a)  Qualification Levels: With respect to all types of code-

enforcement officials certified by the Board prior to January 1, 

2025, 2027, those with Level I, Level II, or Level III certificates 

shall be qualified to inspect and approve only those buildings 

limited by the occupancy classification for Fire inspectors and by 

the occupancy classification, number of stories, and square feet 

(sf) per floor area of buildings for Building, Electrical, 

Mechanical, and Plumbing inspectors, as shown in Subparagraphs 

(a)(1) and (a)(2) of this Rule. Code-enforcement officials certified 

for Level I and II shall be authorized to inspect and approve these 

buildings until December 31, 2030. 2032. Any code-enforcement 

official with a probationary Level I or Level II certificate, who 

earns a Standard Level I or Level II certificate between January 1, 

2025 2027 and December 31, 2030, 2032, shall be qualified to 

inspect and approve only those buildings shown in Subparagraphs 

(a)(1) and (a)(2) of this Rule until December 31, 2030. 2032. As 

of January 1, 2031, 2033, code- enforcement officials certified for 

Level I and Level II shall continue to be certified at those same 

levels but shall be qualified to inspect and approve only those 

types of buildings shown in Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule. 

Standard Level III certificates shall be authorized to inspect and 

approve the types of buildings shown in Subparagraph (a)(3) of 

this Rule indefinitely. 

(1) Fire inspectors shall be limited to occupancy 

classifications, Highrise, and plan review as 

follows, except all Levels include Business, 

Mercantile, Residential, and Utility and 

Miscellaneous: 

(A) Level I. Assembly (limited to 1 

story/20,000 sf), Factory Industrial F-

2, and Storage S-2. No Highrise or 

plan review. 

(B) Level II. Assembly, Educational, 

Factory Industrial F-1 and F-2, and 

Storage S-1 and S-2. Plan review. 

(C) Level III. Assembly, Educational, 

Factory Industrial F-1 and F-2, 

Hazardous, Institutional, and Storage 

S-1 and S-2. Highrise and plan review. 

(2) Building, Mechanical, Electrical and Plumbing 

inspectors shall be limited to occupancy 

classifications, number of stories, and square 

feet (sf) per floor as follows, except for any 

Level, there shall be no number of stories or 

square footage limit for one and two family 

dwellings and townhouses or Utility and 

Miscellaneous. 

(A) Level I. Single (1) story/7,500 sf, for 

Assembly, Education, Institutional, 

and Residential Multi-unit. Single (1) 

story/20,000 sf, for Business, Factory 

Industrial, Mercantile, and Storage. 

Single (1) story/3,000 sf, for 

Hazardous. 

(B) Level II. Single (1) story/10,000 sf, for 

Institutional; 20,000 sf, for Assembly, 

Education, and Hazardous; and, 

60,000 sf, for Business, Factory 

Industrial, and Mercantile. Multi- 

story: 2 stories, maximum 20,000 sf 

per floor for Education and 

Hazardous. Multi-story: 3 stories, 

maximum 10,000 sf per floor 

Institutional; and, unlimited sf 

Residential Multi- unit. Multi-story: 4 

stories, maximum 20,000 sf per floor 

for Business, Factory Industrial, and 

Mercantile. 

(C) Level III. Unlimited stories and sf per 

floor. 

(3) With respect to all types of code-enforcement 

officials officials, except fire inspectors, newly 

certified by the Board on or after January 1, 

2025, 2027, those with Level I, Level II, or 

Level III certificates are qualified to inspect and 
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approve buildings as follows except for any 

Level there shall be no number of stories or 

square footage limit for one and two family 

dwellings and townhouses or Utility and 

Miscellaneous: 

(A) Level I inspectors shall be qualified to 

perform code-enforcement official 

duties for residential buildings up to 

three stories in height with no more 

than four dwelling units subject to the 

limitations for the type of inspector. 

(B) Level II inspectors shall be qualified to 

perform code-enforcement official 

duties for commercial buildings 

subject to the limitations for the type 

of inspector. 

(C) Level III inspectors shall be qualified 

to perform code-enforcement official 

duties for any residential or 

commercial building or structure 

subject to the limitations for the type 

of inspector. 

(4) With respect to fire inspectors newly certified 

by the Board on or after January 1, 2027, those 

with Level I, Level II, or Level III certificates 

are qualified to inspect and approve buildings 

as provided in Rule .0741 of this Section. 

(b)  Whenever a provision of the rules in this Section requires a 

supporting letter (maximum of two per level) from a supervisor, 

the letter(s) shall be notarized, shall state the supervisor's 

qualifications (i.e., what type and level of certificate or license the 

supervisor holds), shall state that the applicant has worked under 

the supervisor's direct supervision for a specified period of time, 

and shall recommend certification of the applicant as a specified 

type and level of inspector upon satisfaction of other required 

qualifications. The supervisor shall describe the name, floor area, 

and number of stories of the buildings worked on by the applicant 

and shall describe the work performed by the applicant. 

(c)  References in the rules in this Section to professional engineer 

or licensed engineer means engineers licensed by the North 

Carolina State Board of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors 

pursuant to Chapter 89C of the North Carolina General Statutes. 

References in the rules in this Section to registered architect 

means architects licensed by the Board of Architecture pursuant 

to Chapter 83A of the North Carolina General Statutes. 

References to licensed building, residential, electrical, heating, 

plumbing, and fire sprinkler contractors means contractors 

licensed by the State Licensing Board for General Contractors, the 

North Carolina State Board of Examiners of Electrical 

Contractors, or the North Carolina State Board of Examiners of 

Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors, pursuant to 

Chapter 87 of the North Carolina General Statutes. References to 

licensed "building" contractors do not include licensed 

"residential" contractors. Specialty licenses issued by these 

occupational licensing boards are applicable as prescribed by the 

inspector type and level contained in this Section. Applicants with 

licenses from other states or countries must provide a copy of their 

license and documentation to prove that the requirements of the 

other state or country are at least equivalent to the statewide 

licensing requirements of North Carolina occupational licensing 

boards. 

(d)  Whenever a provision of the rules in this Section requires the 

possession of an occupational license other than those certificates 

that are issued by the Board, if that license is inactive, the 

applicant must provide documentation from the appropriate 

occupational licensing board to prove that the applicant 

previously held the license and that the license is currently 

inactive. 

(e)  Whenever a provision of the rules in this Section requires 

inspector experience on a minimum number of buildings or 

systems, the experience must include all the inspections typically 

performed by an inspector during construction of the building or 

system. Inspections do not have to be performed on the same 

building. 

(f)  Whenever a provision of the rules in this Section requires a 

high school education or other education and experience 

qualifications, the Board may approve equivalent qualifications. 

Whenever a provision of the Rules in this Section requires the 

possession of a diploma or degree from an accredited college, 

university, or trade school, accredited shall mean accreditation 

from a regional accrediting association, for example, Southern 

Association of Colleges and Schools. 

(g)  Every applicant for a standard certificate shall: 

(1) provide documentation that the applicant 

possesses a minimum of a high school 

education or a high school equivalency 

certificate; and 

(2) provide notarized certification by a city or 

county manager, clerk, or director of inspection 

department that the applicant will be 

performing "code enforcement", as defined in 

G.S. 143-151.8(a)(3), as an employee of or 

under contract with that city or county 

jurisdiction; or provide certification by the head 

of the Engineering and Building Codes 

Division of the North Carolina Office of State 

Fire Marshal that the applicant will be 

performing "code enforcement", as defined in 

G.S. 143-151.8(a)(3), for a state department or 

agency; and 

(3) make a passing grade of at least 70 percent on a 

law and administration course administered and 

taught by a Board-approved sponsor; and 

(4) make a passing grade of at least 70 percent on 

courses for certification in building, electrical, 

fire prevention, mechanical, or plumbing 

inspection at Levels I, II, or III, unless 

exempted by 11 NCAC 08 .0707. For the 

purpose of entry into the state examination, 

courses must be completed within five years of 

the exam in Subparagraph (g)(5) of this Rule. 

These courses shall be administered and taught 

by the North Carolina Office of State Fire 

Marshal and the North Carolina Community 

College System or other educational agencies 

accredited by a regional accrediting 

association; for example, Southern Association 

of Colleges and Schools; and 
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(5) make a passing grade of 70 percent on the state 

examination administered by the Board for each 

inspector type and level of certification, unless 

exempted by 11 NCAC 08.0707. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-151.12(1); 143-151.12(9); 143-151.13. 

 

11 NCAC 08 .0737 BUILDING INSPECTOR LEVEL 

I, II AND III 

(a)  A Building Inspector, Level I, (Residential) I (Residential), 

certified on or after January 1, 2027 shall be qualified to perform 

code-enforcement official duties for residential buildings up to 

three stories in height with no more than four dwelling units, in 

accordance with the provisions of the North Carolina Residential 

Code. 

(b)  A Building Inspector, Level II, II (Commercial), certified on 

or after January 1, 2027 shall be qualified to perform code-

enforcement official duties for commercial buildings up to four 

stories in height, except for hazardous and institutional occupancy 

classifications. 

(c)  A Building Inspector, Level III, shall be qualified to perform 

code-enforcement official duties for any residential or 

commercial building or structure occupancy classification. 

(d)  Building Inspectors, Levels I, II, or III certified on or before 

December 31, 2026 shall be qualified to perform code-

enforcement official duties for the types of structures described in 

Rule .0706(a)(2) of this Section until December 31, 2032. 

(d)(e)  Building Inspector, Level I. A standard certificate, 

Building Inspector, Level I, shall be issued to any applicant who 

complies with Rule .0706(b) through (g) of this Section and who 

provides documentation that the applicant possesses one of the 

following: 

(1) A license as a professional engineer, architect, 

residential or building contractor or a registered 

interior designer; 

(2) A one-year diploma in building construction 

from an accredited college or an equivalent 

apprenticeship or trade school program in 

building construction; 

(3) A two-year degree from an accredited college 

or university in building construction, 

electrical, mechanical, or plumbing contracting, 

construction management or engineering 

technology; 

(4) A four-year degree from an accredited college 

or university; 

(5) At least six months of residential inspection 

experience, with a probationary Level I 

building inspection certificate, on a minimum 

of two Level I buildings while working under 

the direct supervision of a standard certified 

building inspector I, II, or III, with a supporting 

letter from the applicant's supervisor which 

complies with of Rule .0706(b) of this Section; 

(6) At least one year of residential design, 

construction, or inspection experience on a 

minimum of two Level I buildings while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

licensed professional engineer, architect, or 

residential or building contractor, with a 

supporting letter from the applicant's supervisor 

which complies with Rule .0706(b) of this 

Section; 

(7) At least two years of residential design, 

construction, or inspection experience while 

working under a licensed residential contractor; 

(8) At least two years of experience as an owner, 

manager, supervisor, or qualifier, as that term is 

defined in G.S. 87-10(b), of a residential 

construction company, who has a license as a 

residential contractor, and who has construction 

experience on a minimum of two Level I 

buildings (this does not include a business 

partner providing monetary backing for the 

company); 

(9) At least two years of construction experience as 

a subcontractor or employee of a residential 

contractor in the building trades, or work in 

building construction, on a minimum of two 

Level I buildings and under the direct 

supervision of a licensed residential contractor 

who at that time had at least three years of 

experience; 

(10) At least one year of experience with a 

probationary Level I building inspection 

certificate inspecting residential construction 

on a minimum of two Level I buildings. 

(e)(f)  Building Inspector, Level II. A standard certificate, 

building inspector, Level II, shall be issued to any applicant who 

complies with Rule .0706(b) through (g) and who provides 

documentation that the applicant possesses one of the following: 

(1) A license as a professional engineer, architect, 

building contractor or registered interior 

designer; 

(2) A one-year diploma in building construction 

from an accredited college or an equivalent 

apprenticeship or trade school program in 

building construction; 

(3) A two-year degree from an accredited college 

or university in architecture, civil or 

architectural engineering, building 

construction, or construction management and 

at least one year of building design, 

construction, or inspection experience on a 

minimum of two Level II buildings while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

certified building inspector II or III, licensed 

engineer, architect, or building contractor; 

(4) A four-year degree from an accredited college 

or university and at least one year of design, 

construction, or inspection experience on a 

minimum of two Level II buildings while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

certified building inspector II or III, licensed 

professional engineer, architect, or building 

contractor; 

(5) At least six months of commercial inspection 

experience with a probationary Level II 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

40:06 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 15, 2025 

511 

building inspection certificate on a minimum of 

two Level II buildings while working under the 

direct supervision of a standard certified 

building inspector II or III, with a supporting 

letter from the applicant's supervisor which 

complies with Rule .0706(b) of this Section; 

(6) At least one year of commercial design, 

construction, or inspection experience on a 

minimum of two Level II buildings while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

licensed professional engineer, architect, or 

building contractor, with a supporting letter 

from the applicant's supervisor which complies 

with Rule .0706(b) of this Section; 

(7) At least two years of commercial building 

inspection experience including one year of 

inspection experience with a probationary 

Level II building inspection certificate on a 

minimum of two Level II buildings while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

certified building inspector II or III, with a 

supporting letter from the applicant's supervisor 

which complies with Rule .0706(b) of this 

Section; 

(8) At least two years of commercial building 

design, construction, or inspection experience 

on a minimum of two Level II buildings while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

licensed engineer, registered architect, or 

licensed intermediate or unlimited building 

contractor, with a supporting letter from the 

applicant's supervisor which complies with 

Rule .0706(b) of this Section; or 

(9) At least one year of experience with a 

probationary Level II building inspection 

certificate inspecting construction of a 

minimum of two Level II buildings. 

(f)(g)  Building Inspector, Level III. A standard certificate, 

building inspector, Level III, shall be issued to any applicant who 

complies with Rule .0706(b) through (g) of this Section and who 

provides documentation that the applicant possesses one of the 

following education and experience qualifications: 

(1) A license as a professional engineer, architect, 

or unlimited building contractor with design, 

construction, or inspection experience on a 

minimum of two Level III buildings and 

specialization in architecture, civil or 

architectural engineering, or fire protection 

engineering; 

(2) A four-year degree from an accredited college 

or university in architecture, civil or 

architectural engineering, building construction 

or construction management and at least one 

year of building design, construction, or 

inspection experience while working under the 

direct supervision of a certified building 

inspector III, licensed professional engineer, 

architect, or unlimited building contractor, at 

least at the level of supervisor in responsible 

charge of a minimum of two Level III 

buildings; 

(3) A two-year degree from an accredited college 

or university in architecture, civil or 

architectural engineering, building 

construction, or construction management and 

at least three years of building design, 

construction, or inspection experience while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

certified building inspector III, licensed 

professional engineer, architect, or unlimited 

building contractor with at least one year at the 

level of supervisor in responsible charge of a 

minimum of two Level III buildings; 

(4) At least four years of inspection experience 

including one year of building inspection 

experience with a probationary Level III 

building inspection certificate on a minimum of 

two Level III buildings while working under the 

direct supervision of a certified building 

inspector III, with a supporting letter from the 

applicant's supervisor which complies with 

Rule .0706(b) of this Section; 

(5) At least four years of building design, 

construction, or inspection experience while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

licensed engineer, architect, or unlimited 

building contractor, two years of which have 

been performed at the level of supervisor in 

responsible charge of a minimum of two Level 

III buildings with a supporting letter from the 

applicant's supervisor which complies with 

Rule .0706(b) of this Section; or 

(6) At least one year of experience with a 

probationary Level III building inspection 

certificate inspecting the construction of a 

minimum of two Level III buildings. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-151.12(1); 143-151.12(3); 143-151.13. 

 

11 NCAC 08 .0738 ELECTRICAL INSPECTOR 

LEVEL I, II AND III 

(a)  An Electrical Inspector, Level I, (Residential) I (Residential), 

certified on or after January 1, 2027, shall be qualified to perform 

code-enforcement official duties for electrical systems that serve 

individual residential dwelling units and equipment including its 

accessory structures and equipment, except for those systems 

described in Paragraph (b) or (c) of this Rule. 

(b)  An Electrical Inspector, Level II, (Commercial) II 

(Commercial), certified on or after January 1, 2027, shall be 

qualified to perform code-enforcement official duties for 

electrical systems that serve non-residential structures and 

equipment including common areas of multi-family residential 

structures, except for those systems described in Paragraph (a) or 

(c) of this Rule. 

(c)  An Electrical Inspector, Level III, (Special Systems) shall be 

qualified to perform code-enforcement official duties for any 

residential or commercial building or structure and the following 

special systems: 
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(1) Photovoltaic systems 

(2) Electrical power production facilities and 

equipment with a generating capacity of 5,000 

kW or greater. 

(d)  Electrical Inspectors, Levels I, II, or III certified on or before 

December 31, 2026 shall be qualified to perform code-

enforcement official duties for electrical systems that serve the 

types of structures described in Rule .0706(a)(2) of this Section 

until December 31, 2032. 

(d)(e)  Electrical Inspector, Level I. A standard certificate, 

electrical inspector, Level I, shall be issued to any applicant who 

complies with Rule .0706(b) through (g) of this Section and who 

provides documentation that the applicant possesses one of the 

following: 

(1) A one-year diploma in electrical construction 

from an accredited college or an equivalent 

apprenticeship or trade school program in 

electrical construction; 

(2) A four-year degree from an accredited college 

or university; 

(3) At least six months of electrical inspection 

experience with a probationary Level I 

electrical inspection certificate on a minimum 

of two Level I buildings while working under 

the direct supervision of a standard certified 

electrical inspector I or III, with a supporting 

letter from the applicant's supervisor which 

complies with Rule .0706(b) of this Section; 

(4) At least one year of electrical design, 

construction, or inspection experience on a 

minimum of two Level I buildings while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

licensed professional engineer or licensed 

electrical contractor, with a supporting letter 

from the applicant's supervisor which complies 

with Rule .0706(b) of this Section; 

(5) A restricted (one family dwelling) license or 

license as an electrical contractor; 

(6) At least two years of electrical installation or 

inspection experience while working under a 

licensed electrical contractor; or 

(7) At least one year of experience with a 

probationary Level I electrical inspection 

certificate inspecting electrical installations on 

a minimum of two Level I buildings. 

(e)(f)  Electrical Inspector, Level II. A standard certificate, 

electrical inspector, Level II, shall be issued to any applicant who 

complies with Rule .0706(b) through (g) of this Section and who 

provides documentation that the applicant possesses one of the 

following: 

(1) A license as a professional engineer; 

(2) A four-year degree from an accredited college 

or university in electrical engineering or 

electrical construction; 

(3) A four-year degree from an accredited college 

or university and at least two years of electrical 

design, construction, or inspection experience 

on a minimum of two Level II buildings while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

certified electrical inspector II or III, licensed 

engineer, or intermediate or unlimited licensed 

electrical contractor; 

(4) A two-year degree from an accredited college 

or university in electrical engineering or 

electrical construction and at least two years of 

electrical design, construction, or inspection 

experience on a minimum of two Level II 

buildings while working under the direct 

supervision of a certified electrical inspector II 

or III, licensed engineer, or intermediate or 

unlimited licensed electrical contractor; 

(5) An intermediate or unlimited license as an 

electrical contractor with experience on a 

minimum of two Level II buildings; 

(6) At least three years of electrical inspection 

experience including one year of inspection 

experience with a probationary Level II 

electrical inspection certificate on a minimum 

of two Level II buildings while working under 

the direct supervision of a certified electrical 

inspector II or III, with a supporting letter from 

the applicant's supervisor which complies with 

Rule .0706(b) of this Section 

(7) At least three years of electrical design, 

construction, or inspection experience on a 

minimum of two Level II buildings while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

licensed professional engineer or licensed 

intermediate or unlimited electrical contractor, 

with a supporting letter from the applicant's 

supervisor which complies Rule .0706(b) of 

this Section; or 

(8) At least one year of experience with a 

probationary Level II electrical inspection 

certificate inspecting electrical installations on 

a minimum of two Level II buildings. 

(f)(g)  Electrical Inspector, Level III. A standard certificate, 

electrical inspector, Level III, shall be issued to any applicant who 

complies with Rule .0706(b) through (g) of this Section and who 

provides documentation that the applicant possesses one of the 

following: 

(1) A license as a professional engineer with 

design, construction, or inspection experience 

on Level III buildings and specialization in 

electrical engineering; 

(2) A four-year degree from an accredited 

university in electrical engineering or electrical 

construction and at least one year of electrical 

design, installation, or inspection experience 

while working under the direct supervision of a 

certified electrical inspector III, licensed 

professional engineer, or licensed unlimited 

electrical contractor at least at the level of 

supervisor in responsible charge of a minimum 

of two Level III buildings; 

(3) A two-year degree from an accredited college 

or university in electrical engineering or 

electrical construction and at least three years of 
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electrical design, installation, or inspection 

experience while working under the direct 

supervision of a certified electrical inspector 

III, licensed professional engineer, or licensed 

unlimited electrical contractor with at least one 

year at the level of supervisor in responsible 

charge of a minimum of two Level III 

buildings; 

(4) An unlimited license as an electrical contractor 

with experience on a minimum of two Level III 

buildings; 

(5) At least four years of electrical inspection 

experience including one year of inspection 

experience with a probationary Level III 

electrical inspection certificate on a minimum 

of two Level III buildings while working under 

the direct supervision of a certified electrical 

inspector III, with a supporting letter from the 

applicant's supervisor which complies with 

Rule .0706(b) of this Section; 

(6) At least four years of electrical design, 

construction, or inspection experience while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

licensed professional engineer or licensed 

unlimited electrical contractor, two years of 

which have been performed at the level of 

supervisor in responsible charge of a minimum 

of two Level III buildings, with a supporting 

letter from the applicant's supervisor which 

complies with Rule .0706(b) of this Section; or 

(7) At least one year of experience with a 

probationary Level III electrical inspection 

certificate inspecting the electrical installations 

of a minimum of two Level III buildings. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-151.12(1); 143-151.12(3); 143-151.13. 

 

11 NCAC 08 .0739 MECHANICAL INSPECTOR 

LEVEL I, II AND III 

(a)  A Mechanical Inspector, Level I, I (Residential), certified on 

or after January 1, 2027, shall be qualified to perform code-

enforcement official duties in accordance with the provisions of 

the North Carolina Residential Code. 

(b)  A Mechanical Inspector, Level II, (Commercial) II 

(Commercial), certified on or after January 1, 2027, shall be 

qualified to perform code-enforcement official duties in 

accordance with the provisions of the North Carolina Mechanical 

Code, North Carolina Fuel Gas Code, and the North Carolina 

Energy Conservation Code. 

(c)  A Mechanical Inspector, Level III, shall be qualified to 

perform code-enforcement official duties in accordance with the 

provisions of the North Carolina Residential Code, North 

Carolina Mechanical Code, North Carolina Fuel Gas Code, and 

the North Carolina Energy Conservation Code for any residential 

or commercial building or structure. 

(d)  Mechanical Inspectors, Levels I, II, or III certified on or 

before December 31, 2026 shall be qualified to perform code-

enforcement official duties for the types of structures described in 

Rule .0706(a)(2) of this Section until December 31, 2032. 

(d)(e)  Mechanical Inspector, Level I. A standard certificate, 

mechanical inspector, Level I, shall be issued to any applicant 

who complies with Rule .0706(b) through (g) of this Section and 

who provides documentation that the applicant possesses one of 

the following: 

(1) A one-year diploma in mechanical construction 

from an accredited college or an equivalent 

apprenticeship or trade school program in 

mechanical construction; 

(2) A four-year degree from an accredited college 

or university; 

(3) At least six months of mechanical inspection 

experience with a probationary Level I 

mechanical inspection certificate on a 

minimum of two Level I buildings while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

standard certified mechanical inspector I or III, 

with a supporting letter from the applicant's 

supervisor which complies with Rule .0706(b) 

of this Section; 

(4) At least one year of mechanical design, 

construction, or inspection experience on a 

minimum of two Level I buildings while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

licensed professional engineer or licensed Class 

I mechanical contractor, with a supporting letter 

from the applicant's supervisor which complies 

with Rule .0706(b) of this Section; 

(5) An H-1, H-2, or H-3 Class I license as a 

mechanical contractor; 

(6) At least two years of mechanical installation or 

inspection experience while working under a 

Class I H-1, H-2, or H-3 licensed mechanical 

contractor; or 

(7) At least one year of experience with a 

probationary Level I mechanical inspection 

certificate inspecting mechanical installations 

on a minimum of two Level I buildings. 

(e)(f)  Mechanical Inspector, Level II. A standard certificate, 

mechanical inspector, Level II, shall be issued to any applicant 

who complies with Rule .0706(b) through (g) of this Section and 

who provides documentation that the applicant possesses one of 

the following: 

(1) A license as a professional engineer; 

(2) A four-year degree from an accredited college 

or university in mechanical engineering or 

mechanical construction; 

(3) A four-year degree from an accredited college 

or university and at least two years of 

mechanical design, construction, or inspection 

experience on a minimum of two Level II 

buildings while working under the direct 

supervision of a certified mechanical inspector 

II or III, licensed professional engineer, or 

licensed Class I mechanical contractor; 

(4) A two-year degree from an accredited college 

or university in mechanical engineering or 

mechanical construction and at least two years 

of mechanical design, construction, or 
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inspection experience on a minimum of two 

Level II buildings while working under the 

direct supervision of a certified mechanical 

inspector II or III, licensed professional 

engineer, or licensed Class I mechanical 

contractor; 

(5) An H-1, H-2, or H-3 Class I license as a 

mechanical contractor with experience on a 

minimum of two Level II buildings; 

(6) At least three years of mechanical inspection 

experience including one year of inspection 

experience with a probationary Level II 

mechanical inspection certificate on a 

minimum of two Level II buildings while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

certified mechanical inspector II or III, with a 

supporting letter from the applicant's supervisor 

which complies with Rule .0706(b) of this 

Section; 

(7) At least three years of mechanical design, 

construction, or inspection experience on a 

minimum of two Level II buildings while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

licensed professional engineer or licensed Class 

I H-1, H-2, or H-3 mechanical contractor, with 

a supporting letter from the applicant's 

supervisor which complies with Rule .0706(b) 

of this Section; or 

(8) At least one year of experience with a 

probationary Level II mechanical inspection 

certificate inspecting mechanical installations 

on a minimum of two Level II buildings. 

(f)(g)  Mechanical Inspector, Level III. A standard certificate, 

mechanical inspector, Level III shall be issued to any applicant 

who complies with Rule .0706(b) through (g) of this Section and 

who provides documentation that the applicant possesses one of 

the following: 

(1) A license as a professional engineer, with 

design, construction, or inspection experience 

on Level III buildings and specialization in 

mechanical engineering; 

(2) A four-year degree from an accredited 

university in mechanical engineering or 

mechanical construction and at least one year of 

mechanical design, installation, or inspection 

experience while working under the direct 

supervision of a certified mechanical inspector 

III, licensed professional engineer, or licensed 

Class I H-1, H-2, and H-3 mechanical 

contractor at least at the level of supervisor in 

responsible charge of a minimum of two Level 

III buildings; 

(3) A two-year degree from an accredited college 

or university in mechanical engineering or 

mechanical construction and at least three years 

of mechanical design, installation, or inspection 

experience while working under the direct 

supervision of a certified mechanical inspector 

III, licensed professional engineer, or licensed 

Class I H-1, H-2, and H-3 mechanical 

contractor with at least one year at the level of 

supervisor in responsible charge of a minimum 

of two Level III buildings; 

(4) H-1, H-2, and H-3 Class I licenses as a 

mechanical contractor with experience on a 

minimum of two Level III buildings; 

(5) At least four years of mechanical inspection 

experience including one year of inspection 

experience with a probationary Level III 

mechanical inspection certificate on a 

minimum of two Level III buildings while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

certified mechanical inspector III, with a 

supporting letter from the applicant's supervisor 

which complies with Rule .0706(b) of this 

Section; 

(6) At least four years of mechanical design, 

construction, or inspection experience while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

licensed professional engineer or licensed Class 

I H-1, H-2, and H-3 mechanical contractor, two 

years of which have been performed at the level 

of supervisor in responsible charge of a 

minimum of two Level III buildings, with a 

supporting letter from the applicant's supervisor 

which complies with Rule .0706(b) of this 

Section; or 

(7) At least one year of experience with a 

probationary Level III mechanical inspection 

certificate inspecting the mechanical 

installations of a minimum of two Level III 

buildings. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-151.12(1); 143-151.12(3); 143-151.13. 

 

11 NCAC 08 .0740 PLUMBING INSPECTOR LEVEL 

I, II AND III 

(a)  A Plumbing Inspector, Level I, I (Residential), certified on or 

after January 1, 2027 shall be qualified to perform code-

enforcement official duties for residential buildings up to three 

stories in height with no more than four dwelling units in 

accordance with the provisions of the North Carolina Residential 

Code, including NFPA 13D residential sprinkler systems. 

(b)  A Plumbing Inspector, Level II, II (Commercial), certified on 

or after January 1, 2027 shall be qualified to perform code-

enforcement official duties for commercial buildings up to four 

stories in height. 

(c)  A Plumbing Inspector, Level III, shall be qualified to perform 

code-enforcement official duties for any residential or 

commercial building or structure. 

(d)  Plumbing Inspectors, Levels I, II, or III certified on or before 

December 31, 2026 shall be qualified to perform code-

enforcement official duties for the types of structures described in 

Rule .0706(a)(2) of this Section until December 31, 2032. 

(d)(e)  Plumbing Inspector, Level I. A standard certificate, 

plumbing inspector, Level I, shall be issued to any applicant who 

complies with Rule .0706(b) through (g) of this Section and who 
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provides documentation that the applicant possesses one of the 

following: 

(1) A one-year diploma in plumbing construction 

from an accredited college or an equivalent 

apprenticeship or trade school program in 

plumbing construction; 

(2) A four-year degree from an accredited college 

or university; 

(3) At least six months of plumbing inspection 

experience with a probationary Level I 

plumbing inspection certificate on a minimum 

of two Level I buildings while working under 

the direct supervision of a standard certified 

plumbing inspector I or III, with a supporting 

letter from the applicant's supervisor which 

complies with Rule .0706(b) of this Section; 

(4) At least one year of plumbing design, 

construction, or inspection experience on a 

minimum of two Level I buildings while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

licensed professional engineer or licensed Class 

I plumbing contractor with a supporting letter 

from the applicant's supervisor which complies 

with Rule .0706(b) of this Section; 

(5) A Class I license as a plumbing contractor; 

(6) At least two years of plumbing installation or 

inspection experience while working under a 

licensed Class I plumbing contractor; or 

(7) At least one year of experience with a 

probationary Level I plumbing inspection 

certificate inspecting plumbing installations a 

minimum of two Level I buildings. 

(e)(f)  Plumbing Inspector, Level II. A standard certificate, 

plumbing inspector, Level II, shall be issued to any applicant who 

complies with Rule .0706(b) through (g) of this Section and who 

provides documentation that the applicant possesses one of the 

following: 

(1) A license as a professional engineer; 

(2) A four-year degree from an accredited college 

or university in mechanical engineering or 

mechanical or plumbing construction; 

(3) A four-year degree from an accredited college 

or university and at least two years of plumbing 

design, construction, or inspection experience 

on a minimum of two Level II buildings while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

certified plumbing inspector II or III, licensed 

professional engineer, or licensed Class I 

plumbing contractor; 

(4) A two-year degree from an accredited college 

or university in mechanical engineering or 

mechanical or plumbing construction and at 

least two years of plumbing design, 

construction, or inspection experience on a 

minimum of two Level II buildings while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

certified plumbing inspector II or III, licensed 

professional engineer, or licensed Class I 

plumbing contractor; 

(5) A Class I license as a plumbing contractor with 

experience on a minimum of two Level II 

buildings; 

(6) At least three years of plumbing inspection 

experience including one year of inspection 

experience with a probationary Level II 

plumbing inspection certificate on a minimum 

of two Level II buildings while working under 

the direct supervision of a certified plumbing 

inspector II or III, with a supporting letter from 

the applicant's supervisor which complies with 

Rule .0706(b) of this Section; 

(7) At least three years of plumbing design, 

construction, or inspection experience on a 

minimum of two Level II buildings while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

licensed professional engineer or licensed Class 

I plumbing contractor with a supporting letter 

from the applicant's supervisor which complies 

with Rule .0706(b) of this Section; or 

(8) At least one year of experience with a 

probationary Level II plumbing inspection 

certificate inspecting plumbing installations on 

a minimum of two Level II buildings. 

(f)(g)  Plumbing Inspector, Level III. A standard certificate, 

plumbing inspector, Level III shall be issued to any applicant who 

complies with Rule .0706(b) through (g) of this Section and who 

provides documentation that the applicant possesses one of the 

following: 

(1) A license as a professional engineer with 

design, construction, or inspection experience 

on Level III buildings and specialization in 

mechanical engineering; 

(2) A four-year degree from an accredited 

university in mechanical engineering or 

mechanical or plumbing construction and at 

least one year of plumbing design, installation, 

or inspection experience while working under 

the direct supervision of a certified plumbing 

inspector III, licensed professional engineer, or 

licensed Class I plumbing contractor at least at 

the level of supervisor in responsible charge of 

a minimum of two Level III buildings; 

(3) A two-year degree from an accredited college 

or university in mechanical engineering or 

plumbing construction and at least three years 

of plumbing design, installation, or inspection 

experience while working under the direct 

supervision of a certified plumbing inspector 

III, licensed professional engineer, or licensed 

Class I plumbing contractor, with at least one 

year at the level of supervisor in responsible 

charge of a minimum of two Level III 

buildings; 

(4) A Class I license as a plumbing contractor with 

experience on a minimum of two Level III 

buildings; 

(5) At least four years of plumbing inspection 

experience including one year of inspection 
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experience with a probationary Level III 

plumbing inspection certificate on a minimum 

of two Level III buildings while working under 

the direct supervision of a certified plumbing 

inspector III, with a supporting letter from the 

applicant's supervisor which complies with 

Rule .0706(b) of this Section; 

(6) At least four years of plumbing design, 

construction, or inspection experience while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

licensed professional engineer or licensed Class 

I plumbing contractor, two years of which have 

been performed at the level of supervisor in 

responsible charge of a minimum of two Level 

III buildings, with a supporting letter from the 

applicant's supervisor which complies with 

Rule .0706(b) of this Section; or 

(7) At least one year of experience with a 

probationary Level III plumbing inspection 

certificate inspecting the plumbing installations 

of a minimum of two Level III buildings. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-151.12(1); 143-151.12(3); 143-151.13. 

 

11 NCAC 08 .0741 FIRE INSPECTOR LEVEL I, II 

AND III 

(a)  A Fire Inspector, Level I, certified on or after January 1, 2027 

shall be qualified to perform code-enforcement official duties of 

operational permit issuance, field inspection, and related code 

enforcement activities for existing Assembly (limited to 1 story, 

20,000 sf), Business, Mercantile, Residential, Utility and 

Miscellaneous occupancies, and other existing facilities, 

premises, and structures within those occupancies as required. A 

Fire Inspector Level I is not authorized to conduct inspections on 

high-rise buildings, inspections on new construction, or plan 

review for any occupancy. 

(b)  A Fire Inspector, Level II, certified on or after January 1, 2027 

shall be qualified to perform code-enforcement official duties of 

plan review, permit issuance, field inspection, certificate of 

compliance and occupancy, change of occupancy and code-

enforcement activities for existing building occupancies and new 

construction. A Fire Inspector, Level II, is limited to Assembly, 

Business, Educational, Factory-Industrial, Mercantile, 

Residential, Storage, Utility and Miscellaneous, and other 

facilities, premises, and structures within those occupancies as 

required. A Fire Inspector, Level II, is not authorized to conduct 

plan review or inspections of high-rise buildings, institutional, or 

hazardous occupancies. 

(c)  A Fire Inspector, Level III, shall be qualified to perform code-

enforcement official duties of plan review, permit issuance, field 

inspection, certificate of compliance and occupancy, change of 

occupancy, and related code- enforcement activities for any 

existing or new occupancy classification and other facilities, 

premises, and structures within those occupancies as required. 

(d)  Fire Inspectors, Levels I, II, or III certified on or before 

December 31, 2026 shall be qualified to perform code-

enforcement official duties for the types of structures described in 

Rule .0706(a)(1) of this Section until December 31, 2032. 

(d)(e)  The level of certification required for buildings with 

multiple occupancy classifications shall be assigned based on the 

highest level required as indicated in Paragraphs (a) through (c) 

of this Rule. 

(e)(f)  Fire Inspector, Level I. A standard certificate, fire inspector, 

Level I, shall be issued to any applicant who complies with Rule 

.0706(b) through (g) of this Section and who provides 

documentation that the applicant possesses one of the following 

education and experience qualifications: 

(1) A one-year diploma in fire science from an 

accredited college or an equivalent certificate of 

completion from an apprenticeship or trade 

school program in fire science; 

(2) A four-year degree from an accredited college 

or university; 

(3) At least six months of fire inspection 

experience with a probationary Level I fire 

inspection certificate on a minimum of two 

Level I buildings while working under the 

direct supervision of a standard certified fire 

inspector Level I, II, or III, with a supporting 

letter from the applicant's supervisor which 

complies with Rule .0706(b) of this Section; 

(4) At least one year of fire protection design, 

construction, or inspection experience on a 

minimum of two Level I buildings while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

licensed professional engineer, licensed 

architect, or licensed building, electrical, or fire 

sprinkler contractor, with a supporting letter 

from the applicant's supervisor which complies 

with Rule .0706(b) of this Section; 

(5) A license as a fire sprinkler contractor; 

(6) At least two years of construction or inspection 

experience in fire protection systems while 

working under a licensed building, electrical, or 

fire sprinkler contractor; 

(7) At least one year of experience with a 

probationary Level I fire inspection certificate 

conducting fire inspections on a minimum of 

two Level I buildings; 

(8) At least four years of experience in fire 

suppression activities for a city, county, 

volunteer, or other governmental fire 

department; or 

(9) Firefighter Level II certification under the 

North Carolina State Fire and Rescue 

Commission with at least one year of fire 

inspection experience in Level I buildings. 

(f)(g)  Fire Inspector, Level II. A standard certificate, fire 

inspector, Level II, shall be issued to any applicant who complies 

with Rule .0706(b) through (g) of this Section and who provides 

documentation that the applicant possesses one of the following 

education and experience qualifications: 

(1) A license as a professional engineer or 

architect; 

(2) A four-year degree from an accredited college 

or university in architecture, civil or 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

40:06 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 15, 2025 

517 

architectural engineering, building 

construction, or fire science; 

(3) A four-year degree from an accredited college 

or university and at least two years of fire 

protection design, construction, or inspection 

experience on a minimum of two Level II 

buildings while working under the direct 

supervision of a certified fire inspector Level II 

or III, licensed professional engineer, architect, 

intermediate or unlimited licensed building 

contractor, or licensed fire sprinkler contractor; 

(4) A two-year degree from an accredited college 

or university in architecture, civil or 

architectural engineering, building 

construction, construction management or fire 

science and at least two years of fire protection 

design, construction, or inspection experience 

on a minimum of two Level II building fire 

protection systems while working under the 

direct supervision of a certified fire inspector 

Level II or III, licensed professional engineer, 

architect, intermediate or unlimited licensed 

building contractor, or licensed fire sprinkler 

contractor; 

(5) A license as a fire sprinkler contractor with 

experience on a minimum of two Level II 

buildings; 

(6) At least three years of fire inspection 

experience including at least one year of 

inspection experience with a probationary 

Level II fire inspection certificate on a 

minimum of two Level II buildings while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

certified fire inspector II or III, with a 

supporting letter from the applicant's supervisor 

which complies with Rule .0706(b) of this 

Section; 

(7) At least three years of fire protection system 

design, construction, or inspection experience 

on a minimum of two Level II buildings while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

licensed professional engineer, architect, 

licensed intermediate or unlimited building 

contractor, or licensed fire sprinkler contractor, 

with a supporting letter from the applicant's 

supervisor which complies with Rule .0706(b) 

of this Section; 

(8) At least one year of experience with a 

probationary Level II fire inspection certificate 

conducting fire inspections on a minimum of 

two Level II buildings; or 

(9) Completion of the basic, intermediate, and 

advanced classes of the North Carolina Fire 

Prevention School with at least three years of 

fire inspection experience in Level II buildings. 

(g)(h)  Fire Inspector, Level III. A standard certificate, fire 

inspector, Level III, shall be issued to any applicant who complies 

with Rule .0706(b) through (g) of this Section and who provides 

documentation that the applicant possesses one of the following 

education and experience qualifications: 

(1) A license as a professional engineer or architect 

with design, construction, or inspection 

experience on Level III buildings and 

specialization in architecture, civil or 

architectural engineering, or fire protection 

engineering; 

(2) A four-year degree from an accredited college 

or university in civil, architectural, construction 

management or fire protection engineering and 

at least one year of fire inspection experience 

while working under a certified fire inspector 

III, licensed professional engineer, architect, or 

licensed fire sprinkler contractor on a minimum 

of two Level III buildings; 

(3) A two-year degree from an accredited college 

or university in civil, architectural, or fire 

protection engineering and at least three years 

of fire protection design, installation, or 

inspection experience while working under the 

direct supervision of a certified fire inspector 

Level III, licensed professional engineer, 

architect, licensed unlimited building 

contractor, or licensed fire sprinkler contractor 

with at least one year in responsible charge of a 

minimum of two Level III buildings; 

(4) A license as a fire sprinkler contractor with 

experience on a minimum of two Level III 

buildings; 

(5) At least four years of fire inspection experience 

in fire protection systems including one year of 

inspection experience with a probationary 

Level III fire inspection certificate on a 

minimum of two Level III buildings while 

working under the direct supervision of a 

certified fire inspector Level III, with a 

supporting letter from the applicant's supervisor 

which complies with Rule .0706(b) of this 

Section; 

(6) At least four years of fire protection system 

design, construction, or inspection experience 

while working under the direct supervision of a 

licensed professional engineer, architect, 

licensed intermediate or unlimited building 

contractor, or licensed fire sprinkler contractor, 

two years of which have been performed at the 

level of supervisor in responsible charge of a 

minimum of two Level III buildings, with a 

supporting letter from the applicant's supervisor 

which complies with Rule .0706(b) of this 

Section; or 

(7) At least one year of experience with a 

probationary Level III fire inspection certificate 

conducting fire inspections on a minimum of 

two Level III buildings. 

Authority G.S. 143-151.12(1); 143-151.12(3); 143-151.13. 
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TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 

intends to amend the rules cited as 12 NCAC 09A .0204; 09B 

.0405; and 09E .0106. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-

justice/forms-and-publications 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 2, 2026 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  November 14, 2025 

Time:  10:00am 

Location:  Microsoft Teams.  Meeting information will be 

published on agency's website.  https://www.ncdoj.gov/law-

enforcement-training 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Update requirements for 

completion of annual firearms qualification, clarify requirements 

for completion of the Basic Law Enforcement Training course, 

and update actions that could result in suspension, revocation, or 

denial of criminal justice certification. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Michelle S. Schilling, 1700 

Tryon Park Drive, Raleigh, NC 27602; phone (919) 779-8205; 

email MSchilling@ncdoj.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 14, 2025 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 09 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09A - CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION 

AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .0200 - ENFORCEMENT OF RULES 

 

12 NCAC 09A .0204 SUSPENSION: REVOCATION: 

OR DENIAL OF CERTIFICATION 

(a)  The Commission shall revoke the certification of a criminal 

justice officer when the Commission finds that the officer has 

committed or been convicted of: 

(1) a felony offense; or 

(2) a criminal offense for which the authorized 

punishment included imprisonment for more 

than two years. 

(b)  The Commission may suspend, revoke, or deny the 

certification of a criminal justice officer when the Commission 

finds that the applicant for certification or the certified officer: 

(1) has not enrolled in and satisfactorily completed 

the required basic training course in its entirety 

within prescribed time periods relevant or 

applicable to a specified position or job title; 

(2) fails to meet or maintain one or more of the 

minimum employment standards required by 

12 NCAC 09B .0100 for the category of the 

officer's certification or fails to meet or 

maintain one or more of the minimum training 

standards required by 12 NCAC 09B .0200 or 

12 NCAC 09B .0400 for the category of the 

officer's certification; 

(3) has committed or been convicted of: 

(A) a criminal offense or unlawful act 

defined in 12 NCAC 09A .0103 as a 

Class B misdemeanor; or 

(B) four or more criminal offenses or 

unlawful acts defined in 12 NCAC 

09A .0103 as a Class A misdemeanor, 

each of which occurred after the date 

of initial certification; 

(4) has been discharged by a criminal justice 

agency for commission or conviction of: 

(A) a motor vehicle offense requiring the 

revocation of the officer's driver's 

license; or 

(B) any other offense involving moral 

turpitude; 

(5) has been discharged by a criminal justice 

agency because the officer lacks the mental or 

physical capabilities to properly fulfill the 

responsibilities of a criminal justice officer; 

(6) has knowingly made a material 

misrepresentation of any information required 

for certification or accreditation; 

(7) has knowingly and willfully, by any means of 

false pretense, deception, defraudation, 

misrepresentation or cheating whatsoever, 
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obtained or attempted to obtain credit, training 

or certification from the Commission; 

(8) has knowingly and willfully, by any means of 

false pretense, deception, defraudation, 

misrepresentation or cheating whatsoever, 

aided another person in obtaining or attempting 

to obtain credit, training or certification from 

the Commission; 

(9) has failed to make either of the notifications as 

required by 12 NCAC 09B .0101(13); 

(10) has been removed from office by decree of the 

Superior Court in accord with the provisions of 

G.S. 128-16 or has been removed from office 

by sentence of the court in accord with the 

provisions of G.S. 14-230; 

(11) fails to satisfactorily complete the minimum 

in-service training requirements as prescribed 

in 12 NCAC 09E; 

(12) has refused to submit to an applicant or lateral 

transferee drug screen as required by the rules 

in this Chapter, or has refused to submit to an 

in-service drug screen pursuant to the 

guidelines set forth in the Drug Screening 

Implementation Guide as required by the 

agency through which the officer is certified; 

(13) has produced a positive result on a drug screen 

reported to the Commission as specified in 12 

NCAC 09C .0310, where the positive result 

cannot be explained to the Commission's 

satisfaction; 

(14) has been denied certification or had 

certification suspended or revoked by the North 

Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training 

Standards Commission, the North Carolina 

Criminal Justice Education and Training 

Standards Commission; the North Carolina 

Company/Campus Police Program; or a similar 

North Carolina, out of state or federal 

approving, certifying or licensing agency; 

(15) has performed activities or duties for which 

certification by the Commission is required 

without having first obtained the appropriate 

certification; or 

(16) has been convicted of any offense proscribed by 

18 USC 922(g)(8) that would prohibit 

possession of a firearm or ammunition. 

ammunition; 

(17) has engaged in sexual activity, whether in 

uniform of the employing agency or out of 

uniform, 

(A) while on duty; 

(B) while on or off duty in a motor vehicle 

owned or under the control of a law 

enforcement agency; 

(C) while on or off duty on the premises 

operated by the employing criminal 

justice agency; 

(D) while in uniform of the employing 

agency in a public place; 

(E) with an employee with whom the 

person had at the time supervisory 

responsibilities; or 

(F) with a student who at the time is 

enrolled in a Commission-approved 

course in which the officer is an 

instructor, qualified assistant, or 

school director. 

For purposes of this subsection, sexual activity 

includes any act defined as a sexual act or 

sexual contact per G.S. 14 27.20 and includes 

vaginal intercourse; or 

(18) has been untruthful during a criminal or internal 

formal investigation conducted by a law 

enforcement agency or during an investigation 

for a rules violation conducted by the North 

Carolina Criminal Justice Standards Division, 

North Carolina Sheriffs' Standards Division or 

the North Carolina Company and Campus 

Police Administrator. 

(c)  Following suspension, revocation, or denial of the person's 

certification, the person may not remain employed or appointed 

as a criminal justice officer and the person may not exercise any 

authority of a criminal justice officer during a period for which 

the person's certification is suspended, revoked, or denied. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09B - STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL 

JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT: EDUCATION: AND 

TRAINING 

 

SECTION .0400 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

COMPLETION OF TRAINING 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0405 COMPLETION OF BASIC LAW 

ENFORCEMENT TRAINING COURSE 

(a)  Each delivery of a Commission-accredited Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course (BLET) includes all modules as 

specified in Rule .0205 of this Subchapter. Each trainee shall 

attend and satisfactorily complete the full course as specified in 

Paragraph Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule during a scheduled 

delivery. The school director may develop supplemental 

requirements as set forth in Rule .0202(a)(5) of this Subchapter, 

but may not add substantive courses, or change or expand the 

substance of the courses as set forth in Rule .0205 of this 

Subchapter for purposes of Commission credit. This Rule does 

not prevent the instruction on local agency rules or standards; 

however, such instruction shall not be considered or endorsed by 

the Commission for purposes of certification. The Director of the 

Standards Division shall issue prior written authorization for a 

specified trainee's limited enrollment in a subsequent delivery of 

the same course where the trainee provides evidence that: 

(1) the trainee attended and satisfactorily 

completed specified class hours and topics of 

BLET but through extended absence 

occasioned by illness, accident, emergency, or 

other good cause was absent for more than five 
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percent of the total class hours of the course 

offering; 

(2) the trainee was granted excused absences by the 

school director that did not exceed five percent 

of the total class hours for the course offering 

and the school director has obtained approval 

from the Standards Division pursuant to Rule 

.0404 of this Section for make up work to be 

completed in a subsequent enrollment; or 

(3) the trainee participated in a BLET course but 

had an identified deficiency in topical area or 

skill areas in no more than two of the specific 

topic areas incorporated in course content as 

prescribed under Rule .0205 of this Subchapter; 

For the purposes of this Rule, "limited enrollment" is defined as 

the requirement to complete the specific number of courses and 

course hours in which the trainee is deficient. The trainee who is 

deficient in more than two academic areas or motor skills shall be 

dismissed from the course delivery and shall be required to 

complete a subsequent training delivery in its entirety. 

For the purposes of this Rule, "limited enrollment" shall mean the 

requirement that a trainee complete only those specific courses 

and course hours in which the trainee is deficient. A trainee found 

deficient in more than two cognitive topical areas or motor skills 

shall be dismissed from the current training delivery and shall be 

required to complete the entire training delivery in a subsequent 

session. 

For the purposes of this Rule, "deficiency" shall mean the 

cognitive topical area or motor skills that the trainee did not 

complete and which must be remediated. 

(b)  The trainee shall demonstrate proficiency in the cognitive 

topical areas and motor skills academic tests by achieving a 

minimum score of 70 percent on each. each academic test. If a 

trainee scores below 70 percent on a cognitive topical area or 

motor skills each academic test, the trainee shall have one 

opportunity for reexamination. A trainee shall be allowed failure 

and reexamination in no more than seven cognitive topical areas 

and motor skills. Upon initial failure of an eighth cognitive topical 

area or motor skills test, the trainee shall not be allowed 

reexamination and shall be immediately dismissed from the 

course and shall be required to complete a subsequent delivery of 

BLET in its entirety. will focus on re-teaching the specific 

concepts and skills in the topical area(s) that a trainee fails to 

achieve a passing score, as follows: 

(1) a trainee who fails to achieve a passing score of 

70 percent on the first attempt shall have one 

opportunity for reexamination following 

remediation; 

(2) a trainee shall be allowed failure, remediation, 

and reexamination in no more than four topical 

area tests; 

(3) upon initial failure of a fifth topical area test, 

the trainee shall not be allowed remediation or 

reexamination and shall be immediately 

dismissed from the course and shall be required 

to complete a subsequent delivery of BLET in 

its entirety. 

(c)  A trainee who fails to achieve a minimum score of 70 percent 

on the reexamination of a cognitive topical area or motor skills 

test shall be considered deficient in the cognitive topical area or 

motor skill. A trainee who is deficient in no more than two 

cognitive topical areas and/or motor skills shall be eligible to 

remediate his or her deficiencies. Prior to remediating a cognitive 

topical area or motor skill, the School Director shall submit to the 

Division a Request for Deficiency Remediation, Form F-13, 

pursuant to 12 NCAC 09I .0103. The trainee shall: 

(1) complete the current course delivery and then 

shall be required to remediate the deficiency as 

a limited enrollee in a subsequent training 

course; or 

(2) remediate up to two deficiencies within the 

current delivery with the approval of the 

Division Director. 

(d)  The Director of the Division shall issue prior written 

authorization for a specified trainee's limited enrollment in a 

subsequent delivery of the same course where the trainee provides 

evidence that: 

(1) the trainee attended and satisfactorily 

completed specified class hours and topics of 

BLET but through extended absence 

occasioned by illness, accident, emergency, or 

other good cause was absent for more than five 

percent of the total class hours of the course 

offering; 

(2) the trainee was granted excused absences by the 

school director that did not exceed five percent 

of the total class hours for the course offering 

and the school director has obtained approval 

from the Standards Division pursuant to Rule 

.0404 of this Section for make up work to be 

completed in a subsequent enrollment; or 

(3) the trainee participated in a BLET course but is 

deficient in not more than two cognitive topical 

areas or motor skill areas. 

(c)(e)  An authorization of limited enrollment in a subsequent 

delivery of the BLET shall not be issued by the Standards 

Division unless in addition to the evidence required by Paragraphs 

Paragraph (a) through (d) of this Rule: 

(1) The school director of the previous course 

offering submits to the Standards Division a 

certification of the particular topics and class 

hours attended and satisfactorily completed by 

the trainee during the original enrollment; and 

(2) The school director makes written application 

to the Standards Division for authorization of 

the trainee's limited enrollment. 

(d)(f)  An authorization of limited enrollment in a subsequent 

course delivery permits the trainee to attend an offering of BLET 

commencing within 120 calendar days from the date of 

administration of the state comprehensive examination in the 

trainee's prior course delivery. 

(1) The trainee shall attend and complete in its 

entirety each cognitive topical area and/or 

motor skill identified by the school director as 

an area of trainee deficiency in the prior course 

participation with the exception of the "Officer 

Health and Wellness" topical area. 
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(2) The two options available for satisfying a 

deficiency in the "Officer Health and Wellness" 

topical area are: 

(A) the student shall be allowed to make 

up the deficiency at the original 

training site without enrolling in a 

subsequent delivery of BLET. Under 

this option, the student shall be given 

120 calendar days from the date that 

the comprehensive state examination 

was administered to the original BLET 

course in order to satisfy this 

deficiency. Students who select this 

option shall be allowed two attempts 

to complete the entire Police Officer 

Physical Abilities Test (POPAT) 

Course with a minimum of 24 hours of 

rest between attempts during the 120-

day period to satisfy the deficiency; or 

(B) the student shall be allowed to enroll 

in a subsequent delivery of BLET as a 

"limited enrollee." This delivery shall 

begin within 120 calendar days from 

the date that the comprehensive state 

examination was administered to the 

original BLET course in order to 

satisfy this deficiency. Students who 

select this option shall be allowed two 

attempts to complete the entire 

POPAT Course with a minimum of 24 

hours of rest between attempts during 

the delivery period of the subsequent 

BLET course. 

A certified "Officer Health and Wellness" 

Specialized Physical Fitness Instructor 

instructor is the only person qualified to 

administer and grade the fitness re-test. At the 

time of the re-test, the school director or the 

Qualified Assistant shall be present. 

(3) Following limited enrollment in the subsequent 

course offering, scheduled class attendance, 

and having received passing grades on all 

required topic and motor-skill tests, and having 

no deficiencies, the trainee shall be eligible for 

administration of the State comprehensive 

examination by the Commission, as set forth in 

Rule .0406 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09E - IN-SERVICE TRAINING 

PROGRAMS 

 

SECTION .0100 - LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER'S 

IN-SERVICE TRAINING PROGRAM 

 

12 NCAC 09E .0106 ANNUAL IN-SERVICE 

FIREARMS QUALIFICATION SPECIFICATIONS 

(a)  All certified law enforcement officers shall qualify for both 

day and night low-light use with their individual and each 

department-approved service handguns handgun at least once 

each calendar year. For the purpose of this specification, service 

handgun shall include any semi-automatic pistol or revolver. In 

addition to the requirements specified in Rule .0105 of this 

Subchapter, the course of fire shall not be less stringent than the 

"Basic Training Law Enforcement Officers" course requirements 

for firearms qualification. 

(b)  The Accuracy Qualification course of fire shall meet the 

following minimum requirements: 

(1) Day Accuracy Qualification: 

(A) No fewer than thirty rounds 

(B) Firing from the three, five, seven, ten, 

fifteen, and twenty-five yard lines 

shall consist of no more than the 

following percentage of shots at each 

yard line: 

(i) three yard line: 10 percent 

(ii) five yard line: 12 percent 

(iii) seven yard line: 30 percent  

(iv) ten yard line: 20 percent 

(v) fifteen yard line: 25 percent 

(vi) twenty-five yard line: 20 

percent 

(C) Firing at least two rounds from each of 

the following positions: 

(i) Standing 

(ii) Kneeling 

(iii) Barricade 

(D) Firing at least two rounds dominant 

hand only 

(E) Firing at least two rounds support hand 

only 

(F) Fire after drawing from the holster 

(G) At least one stage that includes a 

mandatory magazine change 

(2) Low-Light Accuracy Qualification: 

(A) No fewer than thirty rounds 

(B) Firing from the three, five, seven, ten, 

and fifteen yard lines shall consist of 

no more than the following percentage 

of shots at each yard line: 

(i) three yard line: 13 percent 

(ii) five yard line: 26 percent 

(iii) seven yard line: 24 percent 

(iv) ten yard line: 24 percent 

(v) fifteen yard line: 24 percent 

(C) Firing at least two rounds from the 

following positions: 

(i) Standing 

(ii) Kneeling 

(D) Firing at least two rounds dominant 

hand only 

(E) Firing at least two rounds support hand 

only 

(F) Firing after drawing from the holster 
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(G) At least one stage that includes a 

mandatory magazine change 

(H) At least one stage that includes the 

required use of a flashlight or weapon-

mounted light 

(I) At least one stage that includes the use 

of blue lights 

(J) At least one stage that includes the use 

of low-beam headlights and blue 

lights. 

(K) At least one stage that includes the use 

of headlights, blue lights, and all 

available lighting. 

(c)  All certified law enforcement officers shall successfully 

complete a Decision Making Qualification course for both day 

and low-light at least once each calendar year. 

(d)  The Decision Making Qualification course shall meet the 

following minimum requirements: 

(1) Day Decision Making Qualification: 

(A) No fewer than three decision points 

within the course 

(B) Required target discrimination 

decision (shoot/no-shoot) 

(C) Required articulation by the officer of 

a minimum of two decisions made 

during the course 

(D) Shall contain a detailed diagram of the 

decision-making course, with a 

written explanation of the course, and 

a scoring matrix outlining what 

constitutes passing and failing 

performance, which shall be 

maintained in an Annual Qualification 

file by the agency and made available 

for audit. 

(2) Low-Light Decision Making Qualification: 

(A) No fewer than three decision points 

within the course 

(B) Required target discrimination 

decision (shoot/no-shoot) 

(C) Required use of a flashlight, weapon 

mounted light, or other shooter-

controlled light source 

(D) Required articulation by the officer of 

a minimum of two decisions made 

during the course 

(E) Shall contain a detailed diagram of the 

decision-making course, with a 

written explanation of the course, and 

a scoring matrix outlining what 

constitutes passing and failing 

performance, which shall be 

maintained in an Annual Qualification 

file by the agency, and made available 

for audit 

(e)  If an officer's duty service handgun is replaced with another 

service handgun of the same make and model, the officer shall 

successfully complete the Day Accuracy Qualification qualify 

both day and night with the new service handgun within 15 days 

of issuance. 

(c)(f)  All certified law enforcement officers who are issued or 

authorized to use a shotgun, rifle, or automatic weapon shall 

qualify with each weapon respectively for both day and night low-

light use at least once each calendar year. 

(d)(g)  The accuracy qualifications courses required by 

Paragraphs (a) through (c) and (b) of this Rule shall be completed 

with duty equipment and duty ammunition or ballistic-equivalent 

ammunition, including lead-free ammunition that meets the same 

point of aim, point of impact, and felt recoil of the duty 

ammunition for all weapons. 

(e)(h)  All certified law enforcement officers who are issued or 

authorized to use a less-lethal weapon, that may also be classified 

as a firearm, shall qualify with each weapon respectively, in 

compliance with the manufacturers specifications or certification 

requirements. 

(i)  The accuracy qualifications and decision-making qualification 

courses required by Paragraphs (a) through (f) and (j) of this Rule, 

shall define low light for an outdoor range as beginning 30 

minutes after sunset, based on the time provided by the U.S. Naval 

Observatory chart for the date of qualification, specific to the 

location of the outdoor range. For an indoor range, transition to a 

low-light environment occurs by cutting off the lighting and is not 

defined by a specific time. 

(j)  Pursuant to G.S. 14-269 and HR 218, all All certified law 

enforcement officers who are authorized to carry an off-duty or 

secondary handguns handgun shall qualify with each such 

handgun consistent with the specifications outlined in Rules 

.0105(1) and .0106(a) and (h) of this Section. Paragraphs (a) and 

(b) of this rule. 

(f)(k)  To satisfy the training requirements for all in-service 

firearms accuracy qualifications, an officer shall attain at least 70 

80 percent accuracy with each weapon. 

(l)  To satisfy the requirements for all decision making 

qualification courses, an officer shall attain a passing score as 

outlined by the specific courses scoring matrix. 

(m)  Each Day Accuracy Qualification course and Low-Light 

Accuracy Qualification course: 

(1) Shall be completed successfully on a single day, 

once out of three attempts. 

(2) Failure to qualify within three attempts on a 

single day is deemed a failure. 

(3) Once qualification has begun, if an officer is 

unsuccessful at any qualification attempt and 

fails to complete three attempts in a single day, 

the officer is deemed to have failed to qualify. 

(4) No practice is allowed once qualification 

begins. Practice is not allowed until after the 

officer qualifies successfully or the third 

qualification attempt is completed. 

(5) Shall be completed with each weapon for which 

qualification is required 

(6) Each Qualification course may take place on 

different days; however, all three attempts to 

qualify for that course shall occur on that day. 

(7) Once an officer has failed to qualify in three 

attempts or failed to complete three attempts to 

qualify in a single day on any Qualification 
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course, Access to the weapon shall be restricted 

until such time the officer successfully qualifies 

with the weapon. The restriction is pursuant to 

Rule .0103 (4) and (5) of this Section. 

(n)  Each Day Decision Making Qualification course and Low-

Light Decision Making Qualification course: 

(1) Shall be completed successfully on a single day, 

once out of three attempts. 

(2) Failure to qualify within three attempts on a 

single day is deemed a failure. 

(3) Once qualification has begun, if an officer is 

unsuccessful at any qualification attempt and 

fails to complete three attempts in a single day, 

the officer is deemed to have failed to qualify. 

(4) No practice is allowed once qualification 

begins. Practice is not allowed until after the 

officer qualifies successfully or the third 

qualification attempt is completed. 

(5) Each qualification course may take place on 

different days; however, all three attempts to 

qualify for that course shall occur on that day. 

(6) Once an officer has failed to qualify in three 

attempts or failed to complete three attempts to 

qualify in a single day on any qualification 

course, Access to the weapon shall be restricted 

until such time the officer successfully qualifies 

with the weapon. The restriction is pursuant to 

Rule .0103 (4) and (5) of this Section. 

(g)  The qualifications required by Paragraphs (a) and (c) of this 

Rule shall be achieved at least once in a single day in no more 

than three attempts in a single day for each course of fire and for 

each weapon for which qualification is required. Individuals not 

qualifying in a single day for each course of fire or for a certain 

weapon for which qualification is required shall be deemed as 

having failed and Rule .0103(4) and (5) of this Section shall apply. 

(h)  The In-Service Firearms Qualification Manual as published 

by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as a guide 

for conducting the annual in-service firearms qualification. 

Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office of the 

agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27610 

and may be viewed and downloaded at no cost from the 

Academy's website at the following address: 

http://www.jus.state.nc.us/NCJA 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 

intends to repeal the rules cited as 12 NCAC 09B .0213, .0214, 

.0220-.0222, .0240, .0243-.0245, .0312; 09C .0212, .0608; 09D 

.0102, .0104-.0106, .0202, .0204-.0206; 09G .0602, and .0604-

.0606. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 

on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-

justice/forms-and-publications 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  February 1, 2026 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  November 14, 2025 

Time:  10:00am 

Location:  Microsoft Teams.  Meeting information will be 

published on agency's website.  https://ncdoj.gov/commission-

meeting-information/ 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Rules are either redundant to 

other rules or no longer needed due to termination of training 

program. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Michelle S. Schilling, 1700 

Tryon Park Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603; phone (919) 779-8205; 

email MSchilling@ncdoj.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 14, 2025 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 09 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS 

 

 

 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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SUBCHAPTER 09B - STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL 

JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT: EDUCATION: AND 

TRAINING 

 

SECTION .0200 – MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SCHOOLS AND CRIMINAL 

JUSTICE TRAINING PROGRAMS OR COURSES OF 

INSTRUCTION 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0213 CERTIFICATION TRAINING 

FOR RADAR/TIME-DISTANCE OPERATORS 

(a)  The radar/time-distance operator training course for law 

enforcement officers shall be designed to provide the trainee with 

the skills and knowledge to perform the function of a radar/time-

distance operator. This course shall be for a period not to exceed 

four consecutive weeks. If the Governor declares a State of 

Emergency pursuant to G.S. 166A-19.3(19), the Director of the 

Criminal Justice Standards Division shall allow additional breaks 

in a specific course delivery when the Director determines that 

doing so is necessary based on consideration of the following 

factors: 

(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or 

whether course initiation may be postponed; 

(2) The risk of harm to students that may be caused 

by continuation of the course; 

(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been 

or will likely be called to action to help address 

the State of Emergency; 

(4) The specific need for the waiver; and 

(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing 

a break in instruction. 

Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted 

on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law- enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/. The waivers granted pursuant to this 

Section shall only apply to courses that began during the effective 

period of the State of Emergency. 

(b)  Only employed or appointed personnel of a law enforcement 

agency may be enrolled in the radar and time-distance speed 

measurement instrument operator training course. Such a trainee 

shall not be certified as a radar and time-distance speed 

measurement instrument operator until the basic law enforcement 

training course has been completed and probationary or general 

law enforcement certification has been granted. Sheriffs, deputy 

sheriffs, and federal law enforcement personnel, including armed 

forces personnel, shall be allowed to participate in radar and time-

distance speed measurement instrument operator training courses 

on a space available basis at the discretion of the school director 

without having enrolled in or having completed the basic law 

enforcement training course and without being currently certified 

in a probationary status or holding general law enforcement 

certification. The radar/time-distance operator training course 

required for radar/time-distance operator certification shall 

include the topic areas and minimum number of hours as outlined 

in the Radar/Time-Distance Operator Training Course. To qualify 

for radar/time-distance operator certification, an applicant shall 

meet the minimum requirements as outlined in the Radar/Time-

Distance Operator Training Course and meet the requirements of 

12 NCAC 09B .0408 and .0409. 

(c)  The "Radar/Time-Distance Operator Training Course" as 

published by the North Carolina Justice Academy is to be applied 

as basic curriculum for the radar/time-distance operator training 

course for radar/time-distance instrument operators as 

administered by the Commission. Copies of this publication may 

be inspected at the office of the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tyron Park Drive 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following 

address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0214 CERTIFICATION TRAINING 

FOR TIME-DISTANCE OPERATORS 

(a)  The time-distance operator training course for law 

enforcement officers shall be designed to provide the trainee with 

the skills and knowledge to perform the function of a time-

distance operator. This course shall not exceed four consecutive 

weeks. If the Governor declares a State of Emergency pursuant to 

G.S. 166A-19.3(19), the Director of the Criminal Justice 

Standards Division shall allow additional breaks in a specific 

course delivery when the Director determines that doing so is 

necessary based on consideration of the following factors: 

(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or 

whether course initiation may be postponed; 

(2) The risk of harm to students that may be caused 

by continuation of the course; 

(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been 

or will likely be called to action to help address 

the State of Emergency; 

(4) The specific need for the waiver; and 

(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing 

a break in instruction. 

Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted 

on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law- enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/. The waivers granted pursuant to this 

Section shall only apply to courses that began during the effective 

period of the State of Emergency. 

(b)  Only employed or appointed personnel of a law enforcement 

agency may be enrolled in the time-distance speed measurement 

operator training course. Such a trainee shall not be certified as a 

time-distance speed measurement operator until the basic law 

enforcement training course has been completed and probationary 

or general law enforcement certification has been granted. 

Sheriffs, deputy sheriffs, and federal law enforcement personnel, 

including armed forces personnel, shall be allowed to participate 

in time-distance speed measurement operator training courses on 

a space available basis at the discretion of the school director 

without having enrolled in or having completed the basic law 

enforcement training course and without being currently certified 

in a probationary status or holding general law enforcement 

certification. The time-distance operator training course required 
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for time- distance operator certification shall include the topic 

areas and minimum number of hours as outlined in the Time- 

Distance Operator Training Course. To qualify for time-distance 

operator certification, an applicant shall meet the minimum 

requirements as outlined in the Time-Distance Operator Training 

Course and meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 09B .0408 and 

.0409. 

(c)  The "Time-Distance Operator Training Course" as published 

by the North Carolina Justice Academy is to be applied as basic 

curriculum for the time-distance operator training course for time-

distance operators as administered by the Commission. Copies of 

this publication may be inspected at the office of the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following 

address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0220 RE-CERTIFICATION COURSE 

FOR RADAR OPERATORS 

(a)  The radar operator re-certification training course shall be 

designed to provide the law enforcement officer with the skills 

and knowledge to continue to proficiently perform the function of 

a radar operator. This course shall be presented within a period 

not to exceed one week. 

(b)  Each applicant for a radar operator re-certification course 

shall meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 09C .0308(c) and (d). 

(c)  Federal law enforcement personnel shall be allowed to 

participate in radar operator re-certification courses at the 

discretion of the school director without meeting the requirements 

specified in 12 NCAC 09B .0220(b), but such personnel must 

have successfully completed one introductory level speed 

measurement instrument course that included instruction on 

operation of radar instruments. Courses that meet this requirement 

are described in 09B 

.0212, .0213, .0242, and .0244. 

(d)  The radar operator re-certification training course required for 

radar operator re-certification shall include the topic areas and 

number of hours as outlined in the Radar Operator Training 

Course. To qualify for radar operator re- certification, an applicant 

shall meet the requirements as outlined in the Radar Operator 

Training Course and meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 09B 

.0408 and .0409. 

(e)  The "Radar Operator Training Course" as published by the 

North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as basic 

curriculum for the radar operator re-certification training course 

for radar operators as administered by the Commission. Copies of 

this publication may be inspected at the office of the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

114 West Edenton Street 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following 

address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0221 RE-CERTIFICATION COURSE 

FOR RADAR/TIME-DISTANCE OPERATORS 

(a)  The radar/time-distance operator re-certification training 

course shall be designed to provide the law enforcement officer 

with the skills and knowledge to continue to proficiently perform 

the function of a radar/time-distance operator. This course shall 

be presented within a period not to exceed one week. 

(b)  Each applicant for a radar and time-distance operator re-

certification course shall meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 09C 

.0308(c) and (d). 

(c)  Federal law enforcement personnel shall be allowed to 

participate in radar and time-distance operator re-certification 

courses at the discretion of the school director without meeting 

the requirements specified in 12 NCAC 09B .0221(b), but such 

personnel must have successfully completed one or more 

introductory level speed measurement instrument courses that 

included instruction on operation of radar instruments and time-

distance instruments. Courses that meet this requirement are 

described in 12 NCAC 09B .0212, .0213, .0214, .0242, and 

.0244. 

(d)  The radar/time-distance operator re-certification training 

course required for radar/time-distance operator re- certification 

shall include the topic areas and number of hours as outlined in 

the Radar/Time-Distance Operator Training Course. To qualify 

for radar/time-distance operator re-certification, an applicant shall 

meet the requirements as outlined in the Radar/Time-Distance 

Operator Training Course and meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 

09B .0408 and .0409. 

(e)  The "Radar/Time-Distance Operator Training Course" as 

published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied 

as basic curriculum for the radar/time-distance operator re-

certification training course for radar/time-distance operators as 

administered by the Commission. Copies of this publication may 

be inspected at the office of the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

114 West Edenton Street 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following 

address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 
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12 NCAC 09B .0222 RE-CERTIFICATION COURSE 

FOR TIME-DISTANCE OPERATORS 

(a)  The time-distance operator re-certification training course 

shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and 

knowledge to continue to proficiently perform the function of a 

time-distance operator. This course shall be presented within a 

period not to exceed one week. 

(b)  Each applicant for a time-distance operator re-certification 

course shall meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 09C 

.0308(c) and (d). 

(c)  Federal law enforcement personnel shall be allowed to 

participate in time-distance operator re-certification courses at the 

discretion of the school director without meeting the requirements 

specified in 12 NCAC 09B 

.0222(b), but such personnel must have successfully completed 

one introductory level speed measurement instrument course that 

included instruction on operation of time-distance instruments. 

Courses that meet this requirement are described in 12 NCAC 09B 

.0213, .0214, .0242, and .0244. 

(d)  The time-distance operator re-certification training course 

required for time-distance operator re-certification shall include 

the topic areas and number of hours as outlined in the Time-

Distance Operator Training Course. To qualify for time-distance 

operator re-certification, an applicant shall meet the requirements 

as outlined in the Time- Distance Operator Training Course and 

meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 09B .0408 and .0409. 

(e)  The "Time-Distance Operator Training Course" as published 

by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as basic 

curriculum for the time-distance operator re-certification training 

course for time-distance operators as administered by the 

Commission. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the 

office of the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

114 West Edenton Street 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following 

address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0240 RE-CERTIFICATION TRAINING 

COURSE FOR LIDAR OPERATORS 

(a)  The Lidar Operator Re-Certification Training Course shall be 

designed to provide the law enforcement officer with the skills 

and knowledge to continue to proficiently perform the function of 

a lidar operator. This course shall be presented within a period not 

to exceed one week. 

(b)  Each applicant for a Lidar Operator Re-Certification Training 

Course shall meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 09C .0308(c) and 

(d). 

(c)  Federal law enforcement personnel shall be allowed to 

participate in Lidar Operator Re-Certification Training Courses at 

the discretion of the school director without meeting the 

requirements specified in 12 NCAC 09B 

.0238(b), but such personnel must have successfully completed 

one introductory level speed measurement instrument course that 

included instruction on operation of lidar instruments. Courses 

that meet this requirement are described in 09B.0238, .0242, and 

.0244. 

(d)  The Lidar Operator Re-Certification Training Course required 

for lidar operator re-certification shall include the topic areas and 

number of hours as outlined in the Lidar Operator Training 

Course. To qualify for lidar operator re- certification, an applicant 

shall meet the requirements as outlined in the Lidar Operator 

Training Course and meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 09B 

.0408 and .0409. 

(e)  The "Lidar Operator Training Course" as published by the 

North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as basic 

curriculum for the Lidar Operator Re-Certification Training 

Course for lidar operators as administered by the Commission. 

Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office of the 

agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

114 West Edenton Street 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following 

address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0243 RE-CERTIFICATION TRAINING 

COURSE FOR RADAR/LIDAR OPERATORS 

(a)  The Radar/Lidar Operator Re-Certification Training Course 

shall be designed to provide the law enforcement officer with the 

skills and knowledge to continue to proficiently perform the 

function of a radar and lidar operator. This course shall be 

presented within a period not to exceed one week. 

(b)  Each applicant for a Radar/Lidar Operator Re-Certification 

Training Course shall meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 09C 

.0308(c) and (d). 

(c)  Federal law enforcement personnel shall be allowed to 

participate in Radar/Lidar Operator Re-Certification Training 

Courses at the discretion of the school director without meeting 

the requirements specified in 12 NCAC 09B .0242(b), but such 

personnel must have successfully completed one or more 

introductory level speed measurement instrument courses that 

included instruction on operation of radar instruments and lidar 

instruments. Courses that meet this requirement are described in 

12 NCAC 09B .0212, .0213, .0237, .0242, and .0244. 

(d)  The Radar/Lidar Operator Re-Certification Training Course 

required for radar and lidar operator re-certification shall include 

the topic areas and number of hours as outlined in the Radar/Lidar 

Operator Training Course. To qualify for radar and lidar operator 

re-certification, an applicant shall meet the requirements as 

outlined in the Radar/Lidar Operator Training Course and meet 

the requirements of 12 NCAC 09B .0408 and .0409. 

(e)  The "Radar/Lidar Operator Training Course" as published by 

the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as basic 
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curriculum for the Radar/Lidar Operator Re-Certification 

Training Course for radar and lidar operators as administered by 

the Commission. Copies of this publication may be inspected at 

the office of the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

114 West Edenton Street 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following 

address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0244 CERTIFICATION TRAINING 

FOR RADAR/TIME-DISTANCE/LIDAR OPERATORS 

(a)  The radar/time-distance/lidar operator training course for law 

enforcement officers shall be designed to provide the trainee with 

the skills and knowledge to perform the function of a radar, time-

distance, and lidar operator. This course shall be for a period not 

to exceed four consecutive weeks. If the Governor declares a State 

of Emergency pursuant to G.S. 166A-19.3(19), the Director of the 

Criminal Justice Standards Division shall allow additional breaks 

in a specific course delivery when the Director determines that 

doing so is necessary based on consideration of the following 

factors: 

(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or 

whether course initiation may be postponed; 

(2) The risk of harm to students that may be caused 

by continuation of the course; 

(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been 

or will likely be called to action to help address 

the State of Emergency; 

(4) The specific need for the waiver; and 

(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing 

a break in instruction. 

Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted 

on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law- enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/. The waivers granted pursuant to this 

Section shall only apply to courses that began during the effective 

period of the State of Emergency. 

(b)  Only employed or appointed personnel of a law enforcement 

agency may be enrolled in the radar/time- distance/lidar speed 

measurement instrument operator training course. Such a trainee 

shall not be certified as a radar, time-distance, and lidar speed 

measurement instrument operator until the basic law enforcement 

training course has been completed and probationary or general 

law enforcement certification has been granted. Sheriffs, deputy 

sheriffs, and federal law enforcement personnel, including armed 

forces personnel, shall be allowed to participate in radar, time-

distance, and lidar speed measurement instrument operator 

training courses on a space available basis at the discretion of the 

school director without having enrolled in or having completed 

the basic law enforcement training course and without being 

currently certified in a probationary status or holding general law 

enforcement certification. The radar/time-distance/lidar operator 

training course required for radar, time-distance, and lidar 

operator certification shall include the topic areas and number of 

hours as outlined in The Radar/Time- Distance/Lidar Operator 

Training Course. To qualify for radar, time-distance, and lidar 

operator certification, an applicant shall meet the requirements as 

outlined in The Radar/Time-Distance/Lidar Operator Training 

Course and meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 09B .0408 and 

.0409. 

(c)  The "Radar/Time-Distance/Lidar Operator Training Course" 

as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be 

applied as basic curriculum for the radar/time-distance/lidar 

operator training course for radar, time-distance, and lidar 

instrument operators as administered by the Commission. Copies 

of this publication may be inspected at the office of the agency: 

 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following 

address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0245 RE-CERTIFICATION TRAINING 

COURSE FOR RADAR/TIME-DISTANCE/LIDAR 

OPERATORS 

(a)  The Radar/Time-Distance/Lidar Operator Re-Certification 

Training Course shall be designed to provide the law enforcement 

officer with the skills and knowledge to continue to proficiently 

perform the function of a radar, time- distance, and lidar operator. 

This course shall be presented within a period not to exceed one 

week. 

(b)  Each applicant for a Radar/Time-Distance/Lidar Operator Re-

Certification Training Course shall meet the requirements of 12 

NCAC 09C .0308(c) and (d). 

(c)  Federal law enforcement personnel shall be allowed to 

participate in Radar/Time-Distance/Lidar Operator Re- 

Certification Training Courses at the discretion of the school 

director without meeting the requirements specified in 12 NCAC 

09B .0243(b), but such personnel must have successfully 

completed one or more introductory level speed measurement 

instrument courses that included instruction on operation of radar 

instruments, time-distance instruments and lidar instruments. 

Courses that meet this requirement are described in 09B .0212, 

.0213, .0214, 

.0238, .0242, and .0244. 

(d)  The Radar/Time-Distance/Lidar Operator Re-Certification 

Training Course required for radar, time-distance, and lidar 

operator re-certification shall include the topic areas and number 

of hours as outlined in the Radar/Time- Distance/Lidar Operator 

Training Course. To qualify for radar, time-distance, and lidar 

operator re-certification, an applicant shall meet the requirements 

as outlined in the Radar/Time-Distance/Lidar Operator Training 
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Course and meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 09B .0408 and 

.0409. 

(e)  The "Radar/Time-Distance/Lidar Operator Training Course" 

as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be 

applied as basic curriculum for the Radar/Time-Distance/Lidar 

Operator Re-Certification Training Course for radar, time-

distance, and lidar operators as administered by the Commission. 

Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office of the 

agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

114 West Edenton Street 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following 

address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

SECTION .0300 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE INSTRUCTORS 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0312 INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION 

RENEWAL 

 

(a)  Individuals who hold Specialized Instructor certification may, 

for just cause, be granted an extension of the three-year period to 

teach the 12 hour minimum requirement, pursuant to Rule 

.0305(d) of this Subchapter. The Director may grant such 

extensions on a one-time basis only not to exceed 12 months. For 

purposes of this Rule, just cause means accident, illness, 

emergency, course cancellation, or other exceptional 

circumstances which precluded the instructor from fulfilling the 

teaching requirement. 

(b)  The Director may, for just cause, grant an extension of the 90-

day period in which an instructor's renewal application must be 

submitted as specified in 12 NCAC 09B .0305(d). Such extension, 

however, shall not exceed 12 months and shall not extend the 

instructor's certification period beyond its specified expiration 

period. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09C - ADMINISTRATION OF CRIMINAL 

JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS 

 

PROGRAM COULD NOT FIND SECTION RULE 

DOCUMENT IN CODE 

 

12 NCAC 09C .0212 POST-DELIVERY REPORT OF 

TRAINING COURSE PRESENTATION 

The Post-Delivery Report of Training Course Presentation (Form 

F-10B) is a form on which the School Director notifies the 

Commission of the completion of the Commission-accredited 

Basic Law Enforcement Training Course, together with the 

achievement and performance level attained by each enrolled 

trainee. The information requested includes a listing of each 

instructor used in delivering the training with topics presented, 

and the trainees' scores on each written, oral or motor-skill 

examination administered by the school. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

SECTION .0600 - EQUIPMENT AND PROCEDURES 

 

12 NCAC 09C .0608 SPEED-MEASURING 

INSTRUMENT OPERATING PROCEDURES 

The purpose of this Rule is to establish the requirements for 

operating speed-measuring instruments used by law enforcement 

officers to measure the speed of vehicles for enforcement of speed 

laws and regulations. All operating procedures shall conform with 

G.S. 8-50.2. The operating procedures for each specific Radar, 

Time-Distance, and Lidar speed-measuring instrument, as 

outlined in Appendix "C" of the Supplement for Speed 

Measurement Instrument Training Courses published by the 

North Carolina Justice Academy, are hereby incorporated by 

reference, and shall automatically include any later amendments 

and editions of the incorporated material as provided by G.S. 

150B-21.6. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the 

office of the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

114 West Edenton Street 

Old Education Building 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following 

address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

Authority G.S. 8-50.2; 17C-6. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09D – PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE 

PROGRAMS 

 

SECTION .0100 - LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS' 

PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE PROGRAM 

 

12 NCAC 09D .0102 GENERAL PROVISIONS 

(a)  In order to be eligible for one or more of the professional 

awards, an officer shall first meet the following preliminary 

qualifications: 

(1) The officer shall presently hold general law 

enforcement officer certification. A person 

serving under a probationary certification is not 

eligible for consideration. An officer subject to 

suspension or revocation proceedings or under 

investigation for possible decertification action 

by the Commission, the Company and Campus 

Police Program, or the North Carolina Sheriffs' 

Education and Training Standards Commission 

shall not be eligible for professional awards for 

the pendency of the proceeding; 
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(2) The officer shall be familiar with and subscribe 

to the Law Enforcement Code of Ethics; 

(3) The officer shall be a full-time, sworn, paid 

member of a law enforcement agency within 

the state; 

(4) Applicants shall be given credit for the 

satisfactory completion of all in-service law 

enforcement training which is not mandated by 

the Commission pursuant to 12 NCAC 09E 

.0105; 

(5) Applicants shall not be given credit for the 

satisfactory completion of Commission-

mandated Basic Law Enforcement Training 

courses; and 

(6) Full-time, paid employees of a law enforcement 

agency within the State who have successfully 

completed a Commission-accredited law 

enforcement officer basic training program and 

have previously held general law enforcement 

officer certification as specified in 

Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph, but are 

presently, by virtue of promotion or transfer, 

serving in non-sworn positions not subject to 

certification are eligible to participate in the 

professional certificate program. Eligibility for 

this exception requires continuous employment 

with the law enforcement agency from the date 

of promotion or transfer from a sworn, certified 

position to the date of application for a 

professional certificate. 

(b)  Awards are based upon a formula which combines formal 

education, law enforcement training, and actual experience as a 

law enforcement officer. Points are computed in the following 

manner: 

(1) Each semester hour of college credit shall equal 

one point and each quarter hour shall equal two-

thirds of a point; 

(2) Twenty classroom hours of Commission-

approved law enforcement training shall equal 

one point; and 

(3) Only experience as a full-time, sworn, paid 

member of a law enforcement agency or 

equivalent experience shall be acceptable for 

consideration. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09D .0104 INTERMEDIATE LAW ENFORCEMENT CERTIFICATE 

(a)  In addition to the qualifications set forth in Rule .0102(a) of this Subchapter, an applicant for the Intermediate Law Enforcement 

Certificate shall have acquired the following combination of educational points or degrees, law enforcement training points and years 

of full-time law enforcement experience as set out in Rule .0102(b) of this Section. 

 

Educational Degrees     AA/AS   AB/BS 

 

Years of Law 

Enforcement Experience  8 6 4  4   2 

Minimum Law 

Enforcement Training 

Points        16   8 

 

Minimum Total 

Education and Training 

Points    32 40 48  16   8 

 

(b)  Educational points claimed must be issued by institutions recognized by the United States Department of Education and the Council 

for Higher Education Accreditation. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09D .0105 ADVANCED LAW ENFORCEMENT CERTIFICATE 

(a)  In addition to the qualifications set forth in Rule .0102(a) of this Subchapter, an applicant for the Advanced Law Enforcement 

Certificate shall possess or be eligible to possess the Intermediate Law Enforcement Certificate and shall have acquired the following 

combination of educational points or degrees, law enforcement training points and years of full-time law enforcement experience as set 

out in Rule .0102(b) of this Section. 

 

Educational Degrees     AA/AS  AB/BS  GRAD./PRO. 

 

Years of Law 

Enforcement Experience  12 9  9  6  4 

 

Minimum Law 

Enforcement Training 
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Points       36  24  16 

 

Minimum Total 

Education and Training 

Points    48 60  36  24  16 

 

(b)  Educational points claimed must be issued by institutions recognized by the United States Department of Education and the Council 

for Higher Education Accreditation. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09D .0106 METHOD OF APPLICATION 

(a)  All applicants for an award of the intermediate and advanced 

certificates shall complete an "Application for Award of Law 

Enforcement Certificate." 

(b)  Documentation of education and training shall be provided by 

certified copies of transcripts, diplomas, Report of Training 

Course Completion, agency training records, or other verifying 

documents attached to the application. 

(c)  The applicant shall submit the Application for Award of Law 

Enforcement Certificate to the department head who shall attach 

a recommendation and forward the application to the 

Commission. Certificates will be issued to the department head 

for award to the applicant. 

(d)  Certificates and awards remain the property of the 

Commission and the Commission shall have the power to cancel 

or recall any certificate or award. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

SECTION .0200 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE OFFICERS' 

PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE PROGRAM 

 

12 NCAC 09D .0202 GENERAL PROVISIONS 

(a)  The officer shall presently hold general criminal justice officer 

certification. A person serving under a probationary certification 

is not eligible for consideration. An officer subject to suspension 

or revocation proceedings or under investigation for possible 

decertification action by the Commission, the Company and 

Campus Police Program, or the North Carolina Sheriffs' 

Education and Training Standards Commission shall not be 

eligible for professional awards for the pendency of the 

proceeding. 

(b)  The officer shall hold general certification with the 

Commission in the category of state youth services officer. 

(c)  The officer shall be a permanent, paid member of a criminal 

justice agency within the State. 

(d)  Permanent, paid employees of the Department of Public 

Safety, Division of Juvenile Justice, who have successfully 

completed a Commission-accredited criminal justice officer basic 

training program and have previously held general certification as 

specified in 12 NCAC 09B .0116 and 12 NCAC 09B .0117, but 

are presently, by virtue of promotion or transfer, serving in 

positions not subject to certification are eligible to participate in 

the professional certificate program. Eligibility for this exception 

requires continuous employment with the Department of Public 

Safety, Division of Juvenile Justice from the date of promotion or 

transfer from a certified position to the date of application for a 

professional certificate. 

(e)  Each semester hour of college credit shall equal one point and 

each quarter hour shall equal two-thirds of a point; 

(f)  Twenty classroom hours of Commission-approved criminal 

justice training shall equal one point; 

(g)  Only experience as a permanent, paid member of a criminal 

justice agency or the equivalent experience as determined by the 

Commission shall be acceptable of consideration. 

(c)  Separate sub-programs will be administered as follows: The 

Youth Services Certificate is appropriate for permanent, paid state 

youth services officers employed by the Department of Public 

Safety, Division of Juvenile Justice. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09D .0204 INTERMEDIATE CRIMINAL JUSTICE CERTIFICATE 

(a)  In addition to the qualifications set forth in Rule .0202(a) of this Subchapter, an applicant for the Intermediate Criminal Justice 

Certificate shall possess or be eligible to possess the Basic Criminal Justice Certificate and shall have acquired the following combination 

of educational points or degrees, criminal justice training points and years of criminal justice experience: 

 

Educational Degrees     AA/AS   AB/BS 

 

Years of Criminal 

Justice Experience 8 6 4  4   2 

 

Minimum Criminal 

Justice Training 

Points       15   10 

 

Minimum Total 

Education and Training 
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Points   30 60 90  15   10 

 

(b)  Educational points claimed must be issued by institutions recognized by the United States Department of Education and the Council 

of Higher Education Accreditation. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09D .0205 ADVANCED CRIMINAL JUSTICE CERTIFICATE 

(a)  In addition to the qualifications set forth in Rule .0202(a) of this Subchapter, an applicant for the Advanced Criminal Justice 

Certificate shall possess or be eligible to possess the Intermediate Criminal Justice Certificate and shall have acquired the following 

combinations of educational points or degrees, criminal justice training points and years of criminal justice experience: 

 

Educational Degrees   AA/AS AB/BS  GRAD./PRO. 

 

Years of Criminal 

Justice Experience 12 9 9 6  4 

 

Minimum Criminal 

Justice Training 

Points     25 15  10 

 

Minimum Total 

Education and Training 

Points   60 90 25 15  10 

 

(b)  Educational points claimed must be issued by institutions recognized by the United States Department of Education and the Council 

of Higher Education Accreditation. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09D .0206 METHOD OF APPLICATION 

(a)  All applicants for an award of the basic, intermediate or 

advanced certificates in each sub-program shall complete an 

"Application for Award of Criminal Justice Certificate." 

(b)  Documentation of education and training shall be provided by 

certified copies of transcripts, diplomas, Report of Training 

Course Completion, agency training records, or other verifying 

documents attached to the application. 

(c)  The applicant shall submit the "Application for Award of 

Criminal Justice Certificate" to his department head who shall 

attach his recommendation and forward the application to the 

Commission. Certificates will be issued to the Department head 

for award to the applicant. 

(d)  Certificates and awards remain the property of the 

Commission and the Commission shall have the power to cancel 

or recall any certificate or award. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09G - STANDARDS FOR CORRECTIONS 

EMPLOYMENT, TRAINING, AND CERTIFICATION 

 

SECTION .0600 - PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE 

PROGRAM 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0602 GENERAL PROVISIONS 

(a)  In order to be eligible for one or more of the professional 

awards, an officer shall first meet the following preliminary 

qualifications: 

(1) The officer shall hold a general correctional 

officer certification. A person serving under a 

probationary certification is not eligible for 

consideration. An officer subject to suspension 

or revocation proceedings or under 

investigation for possible decertification action 

by the Commission, the North Carolina 

Company Police Program, the North Carolina 

Campus Police Program, or the North Carolina 

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards 

Commission shall not be eligible for 

professional awards for the pendency of the 

proceeding. 

(2) The officer shall hold general certification with 

the Commission in one of the following 

categories: 

(A) correctional officer; or 

(B) probation/parole officer. 

(3) The officer shall be a permanent, full-time, paid 

employee of the Department of Public Safety, 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile 

Justice. 

(4) Permanent, paid employees of the Department 

of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction 

and Juvenile Justice who have completed a 

Commission-certified corrections officer basic 

training program and have previously held 

general certification as specified in 12 NCAC 

09G .0602(a)(1) and 12 NCAC 09G 
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.0602(a)(2), but are presently, by virtue of 

promotion or transfer, serving in positions not 

subject to certification are eligible to participate 

in the professional certificate program. 

Eligibility for this exception requires 

employment with the Department of Public 

Safety, Division of Adult Correction and 

Juvenile Justice from the date of promotion or 

transfer from a certified position to the date of 

application for a professional certificate. 

(b)  Awards are based upon a formula that combines formal 

education, corrections training, and actual experience as a 

corrections officer. Points are computed in the following manner: 

(1) each semester hour of college credit shall equal 

one point and each quarter hour shall equal two-

thirds of a point; 

(2) 20 classroom hours of Commission-approved 

corrections training shall equal one point; and 

(3) only experience as a permanent, paid employee 

of the Department of Public Safety, Division of 

Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice or the 

equivalent experience as determined by the 

Commission shall be acceptable of 

consideration. 

Point requirements for each award are described in 12 NCAC 09G 

.0604 and .0605. 

(c)  Certificates shall be awarded in an officer's area of expertise 

only. The State Corrections Certificate is appropriate for 

permanent, paid corrections employees employed by the 

Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and 

Juvenile Justice. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0604 INTERMEDIATE STATE CORRECTIONS CERTIFICATE 

(a)  In addition to the qualifications set forth in 12 NCAC 09G .0602(a) of this Section, an applicant for the Intermediate State Corrections 

Certificate shall possess or be eligible to possess the Basic State Corrections Certificate and shall have acquired the following 

combination of educational points or degrees, corrections training points and years of corrections experience: 

 

Educational Degrees    AA/AS   AB/BS 

Years of Corrections 

Experience  8 6 4 4   2 

Minimum Corrections 

Training 

Points      15   10 

Minimum Total 

Education and Training 

Points   30 60 90 15   10 

(b)  Educational points claimed shall have been earned at a technical institute, technical college, community college, junior college, 

college, or university accredited as such by the Department of Education of the state in which the institution is located, the appropriate 

regional accrediting body, or the state university of the state in which the institution is located. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0605 ADVANCED STATE CORRECTIONS CERTIFICATE 

(a)  In addition to the qualifications set forth in 12 NCAC 09G .0602(a) of this Section, an applicant for the Advanced State Corrections 

Certificate shall possess or be eligible to possess the Intermediate State Corrections Certificate and shall have acquired the following 

combinations of educational points or degrees, corrections training points and years of corrections experience: 

 

Educational Degrees   AA/AS  AB/BS  GRAD./PRO. 

Years of Corrections 

Experience  12 9 9  6  4 

Minimum Corrections 

Training 

Points   - - 25  15  10 

Minimum Total 

Education and Training 

Points   60 90 25  15  10 

(b)  Educational points claimed shall have been earned at a technical institute, technical college, community college, junior college, 

college, or university accredited as such by the Department of Education of the state in which the institution is located, the regional 

national accrediting body, or the state university of the state in which the institution is located. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 
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12 NCAC 09G .0606 METHOD OF APPLICATION 

(a)  All applicants for an award of the basic, intermediate, or 

advanced certificates in the professional certificate program shall 

complete an "Application for Award of State Corrections 

Certificate." 

(b)  Documentation of education and training shall be provided by 

certified copies of transcripts, diplomas, Report of Training 

Course Completion, agency training records, or other verifying 

documents attached to the application. 

(c)  The applicant shall submit the "Application for Award of State 

Corrections Certificate" to his department head who shall attach 

his recommendation and forward the application to the 

Commission. Certificates will be issued to the Department head 

for award to the applicant. 

(d)  Certificates and awards remain the property of the 

Commission, and the Commission shall have the power to cancel 

or recall any certificate or award. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 

intends to adopt the rules cited as 12 NCAC 09I .0101-.0107, and 

amend the rules cited as 12 NCAC 09B .0104, .0212, .0215, .0232, 

.0238, .0242, .0301, .0305, .0408, .0409, .0414, .0501; 09C .0308, 

.0311, .0601, .0607; 09D .0101, .0201; 09G .0205, .0311, and 

.0601. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-

justice/forms-and-publications 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  February 1, 2026 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  November 14, 2025 

Time:  10:00am 

Location:  Microsoft Teams.  Meeting information will be 

published on agency's website.  https://ncdoj.gov/law-

enforcement-training 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Technical changes, updating 

certification requirements for SMI Operators, creating a forms 

section, updating certification requirements for Juvenile Justice 

Officers, updating curriculum topics and hours of instruction for 

Compliance and Control Tactics Instructors, updating 

certification requirements for General Instructors, establishing 

lateral transfer criteria for Corrections Officers, and updating 

requirements for comprehensive state examinations. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Michelle S. Schilling, 1700 

Tryon Park Drive, Raleigh, NC 27602; phone (919) 779-8205; 

email MSchilling@ncdoj.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 14, 2025 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 09 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09B - STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL 

JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT: EDUCATION: AND 

TRAINING 

 

SECTION .0100 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0104 MEDICAL EXAMINATION 

(a)  Each applicant for certification or enrollment in a Commission 

approved Commission-approved basic law enforcement training 

course pursuant to Rule 12 NCAC 09B .0205, shall complete, 

sign, and date the Commission's Medical History Statement Form 

(F-1) and shall be examined by either a physician, physician 

assistant, or nurse practitioner who holds a current license in the 

United States to practice medicine, as issued by a state medical 

board, to help determine his or her fitness to carry out the physical 

requirements of the position of law enforcement officer. 

(b)  Prior to being examined, the applicant shall provide the 

examining physician, physician or nurse practitioner with: 

(1) the Medical History Statement Form (F-1), (F-

1), pursuant to 12 NCAC 09I .0105, which must 

be read, completed, and signed; and 

(2) the Instructions to Agency and Examiner for 

Completion of Medical Examination Report (F-

2A) Form (F-2), the Tuberculosis 

Questionnaire, Form (F-2A), and the Medical 

Examination Report Addendum, Form (F-2B), 

pursuant to 12 NCAC 09I .0105. 

(c)  The examining physician, physician's assistant, nurse 

practitioner, shall record the results of the examination on the 
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Medical Examination Report Form (F-2) and shall sign and date 

the form. The Medical Examination Report Form (F-2) shall 

contain the following information: 

(1) Name, date of birth, employing agency, height, 

weight, and last 4 digits of the Social Security 

Number for the person being examined; 

(2) Results of Vision Acuity; 

(3) Results of Hearing Acuity; 

(4) Results of Cardiovascular Examination; 

(5) Abnormal Findings; 

(6) Tuberculosis Risk Questionnaire; 

(7) Tuberculosis Symptom Questionnaire; and 

(8) Name, signature, and medical license number 

of examining medical professional. 

(d)  The Medical Examination Report Form (F-2) and (F-2), the 

Tuberculosis Questionnaire Form (F-2A), and the Medical 

History Statement Form (F-1) shall be valid for one year after the 

date the examination was conducted and shall be completed prior 

to: 

(1) the applicant's beginning the Commission 

approved basic law enforcement training 

course; and 

(2) the employing agency submission of 

application for certification to the Commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

 

SECTION .0200 – MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL JUSTICE SCHOOLS AND CRIMINAL JUSTICE 

TRAINING PROGRAMS OR COURSES OF INSTRUCTION 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0212 CERTIFICATION AND RE-CERTIFICATION TRAINING FOR RADAR OPERATORS 

(a)  The radar operator training course for law enforcement officers shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and 

knowledge to perform the function of a law enforcement radar operator. This course shall be for a period not to exceed four 

consecutive weeks. weeks and shall consist of a minimum of 30 hours of instruction, including the following topic areas and minimum 

hours for each: 

(1) Course Orientation 0.5 hours 

(2) Introduction to Radar Training 0.5 Hours 

(3) Speed Offenses and Speed Enforcement 2 Hours 

(4) Basic Principles of Radar Speed Measurement 5 Hours 

(5) Legal and Operational Considerations 4 Hours 

(6) Familiarization and Operation of Specific Radar Instruments 10 Hours 

(7) Courtroom Preparation 3 Hours 

(8) Motor-Skill Performance Testing 4 Hours 

(9) Course Review 1 Hour 

 

The number of hours required to complete each of the topic areas 

(6) Familiarization and Operation of Specific Radar Instruments 

and (8) Motor-Skill Performance Testing shall be based on the 

number of students and number of instructors to ensure a 

minimum ratio of one instructor per six students. weeks. If the 

Governor declares a State of Emergency pursuant to G.S. 166A- 

19.3(19), the Director of the Criminal Justice Standards Division 

shall allow additional breaks in a specific course delivery when 

the Director determines that doing so is necessary based on 

consideration of the following factors: 

(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or 

whether course initiation may be postponed; 

(2) The risk of harm to students that may be caused 

by continuation of the course; 

(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been 

or will likely be called to action to help address 

the State of Emergency; 

(4) The specific need for the waiver; and 

(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing 

a break in instruction. 

Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted 

on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law- enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/. The waivers granted pursuant to this 

Section shall only apply to courses that began during the 

effective period of the State of Emergency.  

(b)  Only employed those individuals currently certified as a law 

enforcement officer employed or appointed personnel of a law 

enforcement agency shall be enrolled in the radar operator 

training course. Such a trainee shall not be certified as a radar 

operator until the basic law enforcement training course has been 

completed and probationary or general law enforcement 

certification has been granted. Sheriffs, deputy sheriffs, and 

federal law enforcement personnel, including armed forces 

personnel, shall be allowed to participate in the radar operator 

training courses on a space available basis at the discretion of the 

school director without having enrolled in or having successfully 

completed the basic law enforcement training course and 

without being currently certified in a probationary status or hold 

general law enforcement certification. The radar operator 

training course required for radar operator certification shall 

include the topic areas and minimum number of hours as 

outlined in the Radar Operator Training Course. To qualify for 

radar operator certification, an applicant shall meet the minimum 

requirements as outlined in the Radar Operator Training Course 

and meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 09B .0408 and .0409. 

(c) The "Radar Operator Training Course" as published by the 

North Carolina Justice Academy is to be applied as basic 

curriculum for the radar operator training course for radar 

operators as administered by the Commission. Copies of this 

publication may be inspected at the office of the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 
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North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following 

address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

(c)  The radar operator re-certification training course shall be designed to provide the law enforcement officer with the skills and 

knowledge to continue to proficiently perform the functions of a radar operator. This course shall be presented within a period not to 

exceed one week and shall consist of a minimum of six hours of instruction, including the following topic areas and minimum hours for 

each: 

(1) Course Orientation 0.5 Hours 

(2) Legal and Operational Considerations 1.5 Hours 

(3) Motor-Skill Performance Testing 4 Hours 

 

The number of hours required to complete the Motor-Skill 

Performance Testing topic area shall be based on the number of 

students and number of instructors to ensure a minimum ratio of 

one instructor per six students. 

(d)  Trainees enrolled in a radar operator re-certification training 

course shall, at the time of enrollment, hold active radar operator 

certification or have previously held active radar operator 

certification within 12 months prior to the scheduled end date of 

the course. Federal law enforcement personnel shall be eligible to 

participate in radar operator re-certification training courses at the 

discretion of the school director without previously having held 

radar operator certification, but such personnel must have 

completed one introductory level speed measurement instrument 

course that included instruction on operation of radar instruments. 

Courses that meet this requirement include those described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule and those described in 12 NCAC 09B 

.0242(a). 

(e)  If the Governor declares a State of Emergency pursuant to 

G.S. 166A- 19.3(19), the Director of the Criminal Justice 

Standards Division shall allow additional breaks in a specific 

course delivery when the Director determines that doing so is 

necessary based on consideration of the following factors: 

(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or 

whether course initiation may be postponed; 

(2) The risk of harm to students that may be caused 

by the continuation of the course; 

(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been 

or will likely be called to action to help address 

the State of Emergency; 

(4) The specific need for the waiver; and 

(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing 

a break in instruction. 

Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted 

on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/. The waivers granted pursuant to this 

Section shall only apply to courses that began or were in progress 

during the effective period of the State of Emergency. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0215 SUPPLEMENTAL SMI 

TRAINING 

(a)  The supplemental speed measuring instrument (SMI) 

training course for law enforcement officers shall be designed to 

allow officers an opportunity to be certified on additional speed 

measuring measurement instruments not included on the officers' 

initial speed measuring measurement instrument certification. 

The course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the 

skills and knowledge to proficiently perform those tasks 

essential to function as an instructor or operator using the 

additional speed measuring instrument(s). 

(b)  Each applicant for supplemental speed measuring instrument 

training shall: 

(1) possess a valid radar radar, time-distance, or 

lidar speed measuring instrument instructor or 

operator certification as a result of successful 

completion of 12 NCAC 09B .0210, .0211, 

.0212, .0213, .0214, .0237, .0238, or .0242; 

.0242, or .0244; 

(2) present the endorsement of a Commission-

recognized Commission – certified school 

director or in-service training coordinator, or 

agency head or his or her designee by 

submitting form SMI-16, pursuant to 12 NCAC 

09I .0106(h). executive officer or his designee. 

 

 

(c)  The supplemental SMI training course required for certification on the additional instrument(s) shall include the topic areas and 

number of hours as outlined in the Supplemental SMI Training Course. To qualify for certification on the additional instrument(s) an 

applicant shall meet the requirements as outlined in the Supplemental SMI Training Course and meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 

09B .0409. consist of a minimum of 1.5 hours, including the following topic areas and minimum hours for each: 

(1) Course Orientation 0.5 hour 

(2) Familiarization & Operation of Specific SMI Instruments 0.5 hour 

(3) Motor Skills Testing (per instrument per student) 0.5 hour 
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(d)  To qualify for certification on an additional instrument, an 

applicant shall: 

(1) present a copy of the individual's active SMI 

operator or instructor certification, which lists 

the instruments and modes that the officer is 

certified to operate; 

(2) Demonstrate proficiency in the motor-skill and 

performance subject areas with the instrument 

as evidenced by completion of the 

Commission's SMI-1 form, SMI-1A form, or 

SMI-13 form pursuant to 12 NCAC 09I .0106; 

and 

(3) for individuals seeking certification with 

additional modes than those currently certified 

with, complete 240 minutes of supervised field 

practice for each additional mode. For dual 

antenna instruments, 120 of the 240 minutes 

must be completed using each antenna. 

(d)(e)  Adding additional instruments and modes to an 

individual's SMI operator or instructor certification shall not 

extend the certification period as prescribed in 12 NCAC 09B 

.0310 and 09C .0308. Certification as instructor or operator of 

the additional speed measuring instruments shall expire on 

midnight of the date of expiration of the instructor or operator 

certification referred to in 12 NCAC 09B .0215(b) and .0310(a). 

(e) The "Supplemental SMI Training Course" as published by 

the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as basic 

curriculum for the supplemental SMI training course for SMI 

instructors or operators as administered by the Commission. 

Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office of the 

agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

114 West Edenton Street 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following 

address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

(f) Commission-certified schools that are certified to offer the 

"Supplemental SMI Training Course" for Instructors are: The 

North Carolina Justice Academy. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0232 SPECIALIZED COMPLIANCE 

AND CONTROL TACTICS INSTRUCTOR TRAINING 

(a)  The instructor training course required for Specialized 

Compliance and Control Tactics Instructor Certification shall 

consist of a minimum of 29 27 hours of classroom instruction plus 

time required to complete the tasks associated with Compliance 

and Control Tactics Instructional Methods and Demonstration, 

presented during a continuous period of not more than two weeks. 

If the Governor declares a State of Emergency pursuant to G.S. 

166A-19.3(19), the Director of the Criminal Justice Standards 

Division shall allow breaks in a specific course delivery when the 

Director determines that doing so is necessary based on 

consideration of the following factors: 

(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or 

whether course initiation may be postponed; 

(2) The risk of harm to students that may be caused 

by continuation of the course; 

(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been 

or will likely be called to action to help address 

the State of Emergency; 

(4) The specific need for the waiver; and 

(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing 

a break in instruction. 

Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted 

on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law- enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/. The waivers granted pursuant to this 

Section shall only apply to courses that began during the effective 

period of the State of Emergency. 

(b)  Each Specialized Compliance and Control Tactics Instructor 

Training course shall provide the trainee with the skills and 

knowledge to perform the function of a criminal justice 

Specialized Compliance and Control Tactics Instructor in the 

Commission-accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training Course 

or a Law Enforcement Officers' Annual In-Service Training 

Program. 

(c)  Each applicant for Specialized Compliance and Control 

Tactics Instructor Training shall: 

(1) have completed the Instructor Training course, 

pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0209; 

(2) present a letter from a physician, physician 

assistant, or nurse practitioner, who holds a 

current license in the United States to practice 

medicine, as issued by a state medical board, 

stating the applicant's physical fitness to 

participate in the course; 

(3) present a written endorsement by either 

(A) a certified School Director indicating 

the student is qualified to instruct 

Compliance and Control Tactics in the 

Commission-accredited Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course; or 

(B) a Department Head, certified School 

Director, or In-Service Training 

Coordinator indicating the student 

may be utilized to instruct Compliance 

and Control Tactics for the Law 

Enforcement Officers' Annual In-

Service Training program; and 

(4) Within 365 days prior to enrollment in the 

Compliance and Control Tactics Instructor 

Training course the prospective student shall 

complete the following assessments 

administered by the North Carolina Justice 

Academy: 

(A) a qualification requiring the individual 

to demonstrate 100 percent 

proficiency on the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Compliance 

and Control Tactics; and 
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(B) achieve at least the 60th percentile on a 

physical fitness assessment. 

 

 

(d)  Each Specialized Compliance and Control Tactics Instructor Training course shall include the following identified topic areas and 

minimum instructional hours for each area: 

(1) Orientation 1 Hour 

(2) Response to Injury 4 Hours 2 Hours 

(3) Combat Conditioning 4 Hours 8 Hours 

(4) Safety Guidelines/Rules 2 Hours 1 Hour 

(5) Fundamentals of Professional Liability Legal Considerations for 4 Hours 2 Hours 

 Control Tactics Instructors 

(6) Practical Skills Enhancement 4 Hours 6 Hours 

(7) History of the Use of Force Training in NC 1 Hour 

(8) Student Instructional Practicum 6 Hours 4 Hours 

(9) BLET Lesson Plan Review 4 Hours 2 Hours 

(10) The School Director shall determine the number of hours required to complete the practical skills associated with 

Compliance and Control Tactics, Instructional Methods, and Demonstrations and be based on the number of enrolled 

students and number of instructors, pursuant to Rule .0202(b)(5) of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0238 CERTIFICATION AND RE-CERTIFICATION TRAINING FOR LIDAR OPERATORS 

(a)  The Lidar Operator Training Course for law enforcement officers shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and 

knowledge to perform the function of a law enforcement lidar operator. This course shall be for a period not to exceed four consecutive 

weeks. weeks, and shall consist of a minimum of 30 hours of instruction and shall include the following topic areas and minimum hours 

for each: 

(1) Course Orientation 0.5 Hours 

(2) Introduction to Lidar Training 0.5 Hours 

(3) Basic Principles of Lidar Speed Measurement 1 Hour 

(4) Legal and Operational Considerations 1 Hour 

(5) Familiarization and Operation of Specific Lidar Instruments 2 Hours 

(6) Courtroom Preparation 1 Hour 

(7) Motor-Skill Performance Testing 3 Hours 

(8) Course Review 1 Hour 

 

The number of hours required to complete each of the topic areas 

(5) Familiarization and Operation of Specific Lidar Instruments 

and (7) Motor-Skill Performance Testing shall be based on the 

number of students and number of instructors to ensure a 

minimum ratio of one instructor per six students. weeks. If the 

Governor declares a State of Emergency pursuant to G.S. 166A- 

19.3(19), the Director of the Criminal Justice Standards Division 

shall allow additional breaks in a specific course delivery when 

the Director determines that doing so is necessary based on 

consideration of the following factors: 

(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or 

whether course initiation may be postponed; 

(2) The risk of harm to students that may be caused 

by continuation of the course; 

(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been 

or will likely be called to action to help address 

the State of Emergency; 

(4) The specific need for the waiver; and 

(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing 

a break in instruction. 

Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted 

on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law- enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/. The waivers granted pursuant to this 

Section shall only apply to courses that began during the effective 

period of the State of Emergency. 

(b)  To be eligible for enrollment in the Lidar Operator Training 

Course, applicants shall meet the following requirements at the 

time of enrollment: 

(1) have completed a Commission-approved Basic 

Law Enforcement Training (BLET) Course; 

(2) hold active law enforcement certification; and 

(3) hold active radar operator certification or be 

enrolled in a radar operator training course or a 

radar operator re-certification training course as 

outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0212; or 

(4) hold active radar instructor certification or be 

enrolled in a radar instructor training course or 

a radar instructor re-certification training 

course as outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0210. 

Sheriffs, deputy sheriffs, and federal law enforcement personnel, 

including armed forces personnel, who do not meet these 

requirements shall be allowed to participate in a lidar operator 

training course at the discretion of the school director. 

(b) Only employed or appointed personnel of a law enforcement 

agency shall be enrolled in the Lidar Operator Training Course. 

Such a trainee shall not be certified as a lidar operator until the 

Basic Law Enforcement Training Course has been completed and 
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probationary or general law enforcement certification has been 

granted. Sheriffs, deputy sheriffs and federal law enforcement 

personnel, including armed forces personnel, shall be allowed to 

participate in the lidar operator training courses on a space 

available basis at the discretion of the school director without 

having enrolled in or having completed the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course and without being currently 

certified in a probationary status or holding general law 

enforcement certification. The Lidar Operator Training Course 

required for lidar operator certification shall include the topic 

areas and number of hours as outlined in the Lidar Operator 

Training Course. To qualify for lidar operator certification, an 

applicant shall meet the requirements as outlined in the Lidar 

Operator Training Course and meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 

09B .0408 and .0409. 

 

 

 

(c)  The Lidar Operator Re-Certification Training Course shall be designed to provide the law enforcement officer with the skills and 

knowledge to continue to perform the functions of a lidar operator. This course shall be presented within a period not to exceed one 

week and shall consist of a minimum of four hours of instruction, including the following topic areas and minimum hours for each: 

(1) Course Orientation 0.5 Hours 

(2) Legal and Operational Considerations 1 Hour 

(3) Motor-Skill Performance Testing 2.5 Hours 

 

The number of hours required to complete the Motor-Skill 

Performance Testing topic area shall be based on the number of 

students and the number of instructors to ensure a minimum ratio 

of one instructor per six students. 

(d)  To be eligible for enrollment in the Lidar Operator Re-

Certification Training Course, applicants shall meet the following 

requirements at the time of enrollment: 

(1) hold active law enforcement certification; 

(2) hold active lidar operator certification or have 

previously held active lidar operator 

certification within the 12 months prior to the 

scheduled end date of the course; and 

(3) hold active radar operator certification or be 

enrolled in a radar operator training course or a 

radar operator re-certification training course as 

outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0212. 

Federal law enforcement personnel who do not meet these 

requirements shall be eligible to participate in a lidar operator re-

certification course at the discretion of the school director, but 

such personnel must have completed one introductory-level speed 

measurement instrument course that included instruction on the 

operation of lidar instruments. Courses that meet this requirement 

include those described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule and those 

described in 12 NCAC 09B .0242(a). 

(e)  If the Governor declares a State of Emergency pursuant to 

G.S. 166A- 19.3(19), the Director of the Criminal Justice 

Standards Division shall allow additional breaks in a specific 

course delivery when the Director determines that doing so is 

necessary based on consideration of the following factors: 

(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or 

whether course initiation may be postponed; 

(2) The risk of harm to students that may be caused 

by continuation of the course; 

(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been 

or will likely be called to action to help address 

the State of Emergency; 

(4) The specific need for the waiver; and 

(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing 

a break in instruction. 

Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted 

on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law- enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/. The waivers granted pursuant to this 

Section shall only apply to courses that began or were in progress 

during the effective period of the State of Emergency. 

(c) The "Lidar Operator Training Course" as published by the 

North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as basic 

curriculum for the Lidar Operator Training Course for lidar 

operators as administered by the Commission. Copies of this 

publication may be inspected at the office of the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tyron Park Drive 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following 

address: North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0242 CERTIFICATION AND RE-CERTIFICATION TRAINING FOR RADAR/LIDAR OPERATORS 

(a)  The radar/lidar operator training course for law enforcement officers shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and 

knowledge to perform the function of a radar and lidar operator. This course shall be for a period not to exceed four consecutive 

weeks. weeks, and shall consist of a minimum of 36 hours of instruction and shall include the following topic areas and minimum 

hours for each: 

(1) Course Orientation 0.5 hours 

(2) Introduction to Radar/Lidar Training 0.5 Hours 

(3) Speed Offenses and Speed Enforcement 2 Hours 

(4) Basic Principles of Radar/Lidar Speed Measurement 6 Hours 

(5) Legal and Operational Considerations 5 Hours 
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(6) Familiarization and Operation of Specific Radar and Lidar Instruments 12 Hours 

(7) Courtroom Preparation 4 Hours 

(8) Motor-Skill Performance Testing 5 Hours 

(9) Course Review 1 Hour 

 

The number of hours required to complete each of the topic 

areas (6) Familiarization and Operation of Specific Radar and 

Lidar Instruments and (8) Motor-Skill Performance Testing shall 

be based on the number of students and number of instructors to 

ensure a minimum ratio of one instructor per six students. 

weeks. If the Governor declares a State of Emergency pursuant 

to G.S. 166A- 19.3(19), the Director of the Criminal Justice 

Standards Division shall allow additional breaks in a specific 

course delivery when the Director determines that doing so is 

necessary based on consideration of the following factors: 

(1)  Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course 

initiation may be postponed; 

(2) The risk of harm to students that may be caused 

by continuation of the course; 

(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been 

or will likely be called to action to help address 

the State of Emergency; 

(4) The specific need for the waiver; and 

(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing 

a break in instruction. 

Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted 

on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law- enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/. The waivers granted pursuant to this 

Section shall only apply to courses that began during the effective 

period of the State of Emergency. 

(b)  Only employed those individuals currently certified as a law 

enforcement officer or appointed personnel of a law enforcement 

agency may be enrolled in the radar/lidar speed measurement 

instrument operator training course. Such a trainee shall not be 

certified as a radar and lidar speed measurement instrument 

operator until the basic law enforcement training course has been 

completed and probationary or general law enforcement 

certification has been granted. Sheriffs, deputy sheriffs, and 

federal law enforcement personnel, including armed forces 

personnel, shall be allowed to participate in a radar/lidar speed 

measurement instrument operator training course courses on a 

space available basis at the discretion of the school director 

without having enrolled in or having completed the basic law 

enforcement training course and without being currently 

certified in a probationary status or holding general law 

enforcement certification. The radar/lidar operator training 

course required for radar and lidar operator certification shall 

include the topic areas and number of hours as outlined in the 

Radar/Lidar Operator Training Course. To qualify for radar and 

lidar operator certification, an applicant shall meet the 

requirements as outlined in the Radar/Lidar Operator Training 

Course and meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 09B .0408 and 

.0409. 

(c) The "Radar/Lidar Operator Training Course" as published by 

the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as basic 

curriculum for the radar/lidar operator training course for radar 

and lidar instrument operators as administered by the 

Commission. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the 

office of the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following 

address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

 

(c)  The Radar/Lidar Operator Re-Certification Training Course shall be designed to provide the law enforcement officer with the skills 

and knowledge to continue to proficiently perform the function of a radar and lidar operator. This course shall be presented within a 

period not to exceed one week and shall consist of a minimum of eight hours of instruction, including the following topic areas and 

minimum hours for each: 

(1) Course Orientation 0.5 Hours 

(2) Legal and Operational Considerations 2.5 Hours 

(3) Motor-Skill Performance Testing 5 Hours 

 

The number of hours required to complete the Motor-Skill 

Performance Testing topic area shall be based on the number of 

students and number of instructors to ensure a minimum ratio of 

one instructor per six students. 

(d)  To be eligible for enrollment in the Radar/Lidar Operator Re-

Certification Training Course, applicants shall meet the following 

requirements at the time of enrollment: 

(1) hold active radar operator certification or have 

previously held active radar operator 

certification within 12 months prior to the 

scheduled end date of the course; and 

(2) hold active lidar operator certification or have 

previously held active lidar operator 

certification within the 12 months prior to the 

scheduled end date of the course. 

Federal law enforcement personnel who do not meet these 

requirements shall be eligible to participate in a radar/lidar 

operator re-certification course at the discretion of the school 

director, but such personnel must have completed one or more 

introductory level speed measurement instrument course that 

included instruction on operation of radar instruments and lidar 

instruments. Courses that meet this requirement include those 
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described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, 12 NCAC 09B .0212(a), 

and 12 NCAC 09B .0238(a). 

(e)  If the Governor declares a State of Emergency pursuant to 

G.S. 166A- 19.3(19), the Director of the Criminal Justice 

Standards Division shall allow additional breaks in a specific 

course delivery when the Director determines that doing so is 

necessary based on consideration of the following factors: 

(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or 

whether course initiation may be postponed; 

(2) The risk of harm to students that may be caused 

by continuation of the course; 

(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been 

or will likely be called to action to help address 

the State of Emergency; 

(4) The specific need for the waiver; and 

(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing 

a break in instruction. 

Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted 

on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law- enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/. The waivers granted pursuant to this 

Section shall only apply to courses that began during the effective 

period of the State of Emergency. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

SECTION .0300 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE INSTRUCTORS 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0301 CERTIFICATION OF 

INSTRUCTORS 

(a)  A person participating in a Commission-certified 

Commission-approved criminal justice training course or 

program as an instructor, teacher, professor, lecturer, or other 

participant making presentations to the class shall first be certified 

by the Commission as an instructor. 

(b)  The Commission shall certify instructors under the following 

categories: General Instructor Certification, Specialized 

Instructor Certification, or Professional Lecturer Certification as 

outlined in Rules .0302, .0304 and .0306 of this Section. Instructor 

certification shall be granted on the basis of documented 

qualifications of experience, education, and training in 

accordance with the requirements of this Section and as stated on 

the applicant's Application for Instructor or Professional Lecturer 

Certification, F-12. F-12, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09I .0101. The 

Application for Instructor or Professional Lecturer F-12 shall 

contain: 

(1) name of applicant/instructor; 

(2) address, phone, email address, date of birth, 

age, last four of Social Security Number, and 

Acadis number; 

(3) current agency/firm, status (Retired, Civilian, 

Sworn), agency address, and business phone 

number; 

(4) type of instructor certification applying for; 

(5) supporting documents for specific certification 

sought; 

(6) highest education level, school attended, school 

location, and graduation date; 

(7) criminal justice experience; 

(8) signature of applicant/instructor; 

(9) school, course title, hours taught, course date(s) 

and whether course was a requirement of 

Mandatory In-Service Training; and 

(10) signature of certifying School Director or In-

Service Training Coordinator, school or 

agency, phone number, and email address. 

(c)  In addition to all other requirements of this Section, each 

instructor certified by the Commission to teach in a Commission-

certified Commission-approved course shall remain competent in 

his or her specialized areas. Such competence shall include 

remaining current in the instructor's area of expertise, which shall 

be demonstrated by attending and completing all updated 

instructor training courses required by the Commission. 

(d)  If a person certified as an instructor by the Commission has 

knowingly and willfully violated any provision or requirement of 

the rules in this Subchapter, the Commission shall take action to 

correct the violation and to ensure that the violation does not 

recur. The following action shall be taken by the Commission: 

(1) issue an oral warning and request for 

compliance; or 

(2) issue a written warning and request for 

compliance; or 

(3) issue an official written reprimand; or 

(4) suspend the individual's certification for no 

more than three years; or 

(5) revoke the individual's certification. 

(e)  The Commission shall deny, suspend, or revoke an instructor's 

certification when the Commission finds that the person: 

(1) has failed to meet and maintain any of the 

requirements for qualification; 

(2) has failed to remain competent in the person's 

areas of expertise; 

(3) has failed to deliver training in a manner 

consistent with the instructor lesson plans 

outlined in the Rules .0209 and .0205 of this 

Subchapter; 

(4) has demonstrated "unprofessional personal" 

conduct in the delivery of Commission 

approved or mandated training. For the 

purposes of this Subparagraph, unprofessional 

personal conduct is identified as: 

(A) job-related conduct that constitutes a 

violation of state or federal law; 

(B) a conviction or commission of a 

criminal offense, as set out in 12 

NCAC 09A .0204; 

(C) the willful violation of rules of this 

Chapter; 

(D) conduct that is detrimental to 

instruction in the Commission's 

mandated courses. Conduct is 

"detrimental to instruction" if the 

conduct is demeaning or disruptive to 

the learning environment; 

(E) the physical or verbal abuse of a client 

or student who the instructor is 

teaching or supervising; or 
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(F) falsification of an instructor 

application or other employment 

documentation; 

(5) is an instructor, School Director, or Qualified 

Assistant and is involved in the instruction of 

(for instructors) or oversight of (for School 

Directors and Qualified Assistants) a student 

with whom the instructor, School Director, or 

Qualified Assistant has a close personal 

relationship such as, familial, financial, dating, 

or sexual, even if consensual; and fails to take 

immediate and appropriate corrective action. 

Appropriate corrective action requires the 

instructor, School Director, or Qualified 

Assistant to notify his or her managing 

personnel in writing of the relationship and 

requires the instructor, School Director, or 

Qualified Assistant to stop instructing or 

overseeing the student with whom the 

relationship exists. The written notice to 

managing personnel shall be submitted to the 

Criminal Justice Standards Division within 10 

days upon receipt and shall include: 

(A) school/agency name; 

(B) name of course; 

(C) name of instructor, School Director, or 

Qualified Assistant; 

(D) name of student; 

(E) name of managing personnel; 

(F) nature of the relationship; and 

(G) explanation of action taken to ensure 

the named instructor, School Director, 

or Qualified Assistant is not in 

violation of this Rule; 

(6) has knowingly and willfully obtained or 

attempted to obtain instructor certification by 

deceit, fraud, or misrepresentation; 

(7) has failed to meet or maintain good moral 

character as defined in: In re Willis, 288 N.C. 1, 

215 S.E.2d 771, appeal dismissed, 423 U.S. 976 

(1975); State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E.2d 

854 (1940); In re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E. 

2d 174 (1989); In re Applicants for License, 

143 N.C. 1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); In re 

Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); 

State v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E.2d 647 

(1983); and later court decisions that cite these 

cases as authority, and as required to discharge 

the duties of a criminal justice instructor; 

(8) has failed to deliver training in a manner 

consistent with the Qualified Retired Law 

Enforcement Officers Firearms Qualification 

Certification Program as found in 12 NCAC 

09H .0102; 

(9) has knowingly and willfully aided or attempted 

to aid any person in obtaining qualification or 

certification under the Qualified Retired Law 

Enforcement Officers Firearms Qualification 

Certification Program by deceit, fraud, or 

misrepresentation; 

(10) has committed or been convicted of an offense 

that could result in the denial, suspension, or 

revocation of an officer's law enforcement 

certification, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09G .0504; 

09A .0204; or 

(11) has knowingly made a material 

misrepresentation of any information required 

for certification or accreditation. 

(f)  When a person certified as a criminal justice officer by the 

North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training 

Standards Commission (Commission), or the North Carolina 

Company/Campus Police Program, has been denied certification 

or had his or her certification suspended or revoked by a North 

Carolina, out of state or federal approving, certifying or licensing 

agency, the certified criminal justice officer shall report the 

suspension or revocation to the Criminal Justice Standards 

Division within five days. 

(g)  Any instructor whose criminal justice officer certification or 

power to make arrests is suspended or revoked by the federal 

government, State of North Carolina or any subdivisions thereof, 

or by any other State or any subdivisions thereof, shall report the 

suspension or revocation to the Commission within five days of 

the officer's receipt of notice of the revocation or suspension. 

(h)  Criminal justice officers certified as a General Instructor as 

outlined in this Rule shall have their general instructor 

certification automatically suspended or revoked for the same 

time period as his or her respective Commission criminal justice 

certification. The suspension or revocation of the general 

instructor certification shall also include suspension or revocation 

to any Commission recognized specialized or additional instructor 

certification, as outlined in Rule .0304 of this Section. 

(i)  Any applicant for instructor certification whose criminal 

justice officer certification or power to make arrests has been 

denied, suspended, or revoked at any time by the federal 

government, State of North Carolina or any subdivisions thereof, 

or by any other State or any subdivisions thereof, shall report the 

suspension or revocation to the Commission at the time the 

application is submitted. This requirement is not withstanding any 

subsequent reinstatement of the certification or power to make 

arrests. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0305 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF 

SPECIALIZED INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION 

(a)  An applicant meeting the requirements for Specialized 

Instructor Certification as set forth in Rule .0304 of this Section 

shall be issued a certification to expire three years from the date 

of issuance. The applicant shall apply for certification as a 

Specialized Instructor within 60 days after the date the applicant 

achieved a passing score on the state comprehensive exam for the 

respective Specialized Instructor training course. 

(b)  The instructor is required to instruct, within three years after 

Specialized Instructor Certification is issued, a minimum of 12 

hours in each of the topics for which Specialized Instructor 

Certification was granted, and that instruction was provided in a 

Commission-accredited Commission-approved basic training, 
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Specialized Instructor Training, Commission-recognized in-

service training course, or training course delivered pursuant to 12 

NCAC 10B .0601, .1302, or .2005. 

(c)  An application for renewal shall contain, in addition to the 

requirements listed in Rule .0304 of this Section, documentary 

evidence that the applicant has remained active in the instructional 

process during the previous three-year period. Such documentary 

evidence shall include the following: 

(1) proof that the applicant has, within the three-

year period preceding application for renewal, 

instructed at least 12 hours in each of the topics 

for which Specialized Instructor Certification 

was granted, and that instruction was provided 

in a Commission-accredited Commission-

approved basic training, Specialized Instructor 

Training, Commission-recognized in-service 

training course, or training course delivered 

pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0601, .1302, or 

.2005. Acceptable documentary evidence shall 

include official Commission records submitted 

by School Directors or In-Service Training 

Coordinators and written attestation 

certification from a School Director or In-

Service Training Coordinator; 

(2) proof that the applicant has, within the three-

year period preceding application for renewal, 

attended and completed all instructor updates 

that have been issued by the Commission. 

Acceptable documentary evidence shall include 

official Commission records submitted by 

School Directors or In-Service Training 

Coordinators, or copies of certificates of 

completion issued by the institution which 

provided the instructor updates; and 

(A) a favorable written recommendation 

from a School Director or In-Service 

Training Coordinator completed on an 

Application for Instructor and 

Professional Lecturer Certification 

Form (Form F-12)(Form F12), 

pursuant to 12 NCAC 09I .0102, 

stating the instructor taught at least 12 

hours in each of the topics for which 

Specialized Instructor Certification 

was granted. The teaching shall have 

been provided in a Commission-

accredited Commission-approved 

basic training, Specialized Instructor 

Training course, pursuant to Rule 12 

NCAC 09C .0401, Commission-

recognized in-service training course, 

or training course delivered pursuant 

to 12 NCAC 09F .0101, 12 NCAC 

09H, 12 NCAC 10B .0601, .1302, or 

.2005; .2005. The Application for 

Instructor and Professional Lecturer 

Certification (Form F-12) shall 

include the following: the applicant's 

name, address, phone, and email 

address; the type of certification 

applying for; the applicant's education 

level; the applicant's signature; the 

Commission-accredited school or 

agency where the training was 

delivered; and the signature of the 

recommending school director or in-

service training coordinator; 

(B) a favorable written evaluation by a 

School Director, Qualified Assistant, 

In-Service Training Coordinator, or 

another Specialized Instructor 

certified in the same specialized 

subject, based on an on-site classroom 

evaluation of a presentation by the 

instructor in a Commission-accredited 

basic training, Specialized Instructor 

Training, Commission-recognized in-

service training course, or in-service 

training course delivered pursuant to 

12 NCAC 10B .0601, .1302, or .2005 

during the three-year period of 

Specialized Instructor Certification. 

Such evaluation shall be presented 

certified on a Criminal Justice 

Instructor Evaluation Form F-16, 

pursuant to Rule .0202 of this 

Subchapter; Subchapter, and 12 

NCAC 09I .0102; 

(C) proof that the individual applying for 

renewal as a Specialized Firearms 

Instructor has achieved a minimum 

score of 92 on the day and night Basic 

Law Enforcement Training firearms 

qualification courses, administered by 

a certified Specialized Firearms 

Instructor, within the three-year period 

preceding the application for renewal; 

(D) proof that the individual applying for 

renewal as a Specialized Physical 

Fitness Instructor has passed the Basic 

Law Enforcement Training Police 

Officer Physical Abilities Test, 

administered by a certified Specialized 

Physical Fitness Instructor, within the 

three-year period preceding the 

application for renewal. 

(E) proof that the individual applying for 

renewal as a Specialized Driver 

Instructor has achieved the following 

minimum scores in accordance with 

the procedural and evaluative 

requirements listed in the "Course 

Description Packet (CDP) for Driver 

Instructor Certification Renewal" as 

published by the North Carolina 

Justice Academy within the three-year 

period preceding the application for 

renewal. The individual applying for 
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renewal must achieve a minimum 

score of 85 on two out of three 

attempts for the "Off-Set Lane 

Maneuver" and "Serpentine" courses 

during the daytime, a minimum score 

of 85 on two out of three attempts for 

the "Precision" course during both day 

and night evaluation, a score of "Pass" 

on two out of three attempts for each 

command for the "Evasive 

Action/Maneuver" course during the 

daytime, and a score of Pass on two 

out of three attempts in each direction 

for the "Fixed Radius Curve" course 

during the daytime. Evaluations will 

be administered by a certified 

Specialized Driving Instructor. 

(F) proof that the individual applying for 

renewal as a Specialized Subject 

Control Arrest Techniques Instructor 

or Compliance and Control 

Techniques Instructor (CCT) has 

satisfactorily completed the technique 

evaluations skills of the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training SCAT or CCT 

courses, course, administered by a 

certified Specialized SCAT or CCT 

Instructor, within the three-year period 

preceding the application for renewal. 

(3) Acceptable documentary evidence for proof of 

completion requirements as specified in Part 

(c)(2)(A)-(F) of this rule shall include the 

practical skill assessment submitted by School 

Directors or In-Service Training Coordinators 

and written attestation certification from a 

School Director or In-Service Training 

Coordinator; 

(d)  Certification as a Specialized Instructor in the Standard Field 

Sobriety Testing, First Responder, Physical Fitness, Explosive 

and Hazardous Materials, and Juvenile Justice Medical 

Emergencies topic areas as outlined in Rule .0304(e), (h), (k), and 

(l) of this Section shall remain in effect for 36 months from the 

date of issuance. During the 36 month term all non-Commission 

certificates required in Rule .0304(e), (h), (k), and (l) of this 

Section for Specialized Instructor certification in the Standard 

Field Sobriety Testing, First Responder, Physical Fitness, 

Explosive and Hazardous Materials, and Juvenile Justice Medical 

Emergencies topical areas shall be maintained. 

(e)  Individuals who hold Specialized Instructor certification may, 

for just cause, be granted an extension of the three-year period to 

teach the 12 hour minimum requirement, pursuant to Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule. The Director may grant such extensions on a one-

time basis only not to exceed 12 months. For purposes of this 

Rule, just cause means accident, illness, emergency, course 

cancellation, or other exceptional circumstances which precluded 

the instructor from fulfilling the teaching requirement. 

(f)  Upon expiration of their Specialized Instructor certification, 

instructors have 90 days to submit renewal documentation to the 

Division for review and approval. During this 90-day period, 

instructors are not permitted to teach any Commission-approved 

courses or blocks of instruction that require instruction by a 

Specialized Instructor. The Director may, for just cause, grant an 

extension of the 90-day period in which an instructor's renewal 

application must be submitted, however, such extension shall not 

exceed 12 months and shall not extend the instructor's 

certification period beyond its specified expiration period. 

(e)(g)  Those individuals who have previously held Specialized 

Instructor Certification and have not exceeded a three year time 

period from when his or her Specialized Instructor Certification 

expired are eligible to apply reapply for re-issuance of the 

previously held Specialized Instructor Certification. An 

application for re-issuance shall contain documentation that the 

applicant: 

(1) holds a current General Instructor certification; 

(2) has completed the pre-qualification skills 

assessment for that specialty; 

(3) has passed the state examination for that 

specialty with a minimum score of 75; and 

(4) has maintained non-Commission certificates 

required in Rule .0304(e), (h), (k), and (l) of this 

Section for Specialized Instructor certification 

in the Standard Field Sobriety Testing, First 

Responder, Physical Fitness, Explosive and 

Hazardous Materials, and Juvenile Justice 

Medical Emergencies topical areas. 

(f)(h)  Applicants for re-issuance of the Specialized Instructor 

Certification shall have one opportunity to pass the 

prequalification skills assessment and the state examination for 

that specialty. Should an applicant not achieve a passing score on 

either the prequalification skills assessment or the state 

examination for that specialty, the applicant shall complete the 

specific Specialized Instructor Course in its entirety. 

(g)(i)  Applicants whose Specialized Instructor Certification is 

suspended or revoked shall not qualify for re-issuance. The 

applicant shall complete the specific Specialized Instructor 

Course in its entirety. 

(h)(j)  After re-issuance of certification, the instructor shall 

complete eight hours of evaluated instruction in the specialty 

where re-issuance of certification is sought, as documented on an 

F-16 located on the agency's website: https://ncdoj.gov/law-

enforcement training/criminal-justice/forms-and-publications/. 

The eight hours of instruction shall be taught within 60 days of 

the Specialized Instructor Certification being reissued and 

evaluated by a Specialized Instructor certified in that specialty. 

Failure to complete the required eight hours of evaluated 

instruction will result in the reissued Specialized Instructor 

Certification being revoked. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

SECTION .0400 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

COMPLETION OF TRAINING 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0408 COMPREHENSIVE WRITTEN 

STATE EXAMINATION – BASIC SMI OPERATOR 

CERTIFICATION 

(a)  Within 60 days of the conclusion of the classroom 

instruction portion of a school's offering of any speed measuring 
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measurement instrument (SMI) operator course or re-

certification course, the Commission shall administer a 

comprehensive state written examination to each trainee who has 

completed all of the required course work. The examination 

shall be an objective test covering the topic areas contained in 

the certified course curriculum, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B 

.0212, .0238, and .0242. 

(b) A trainee of a radar, lidar, or radar/lidar operator training 

shall achieve a passing score on the comprehensive state 

examination upon answering a minimum of 70 percent of the 

questions correctly. A trainee who fails to achieve a passing 

score on a RADAR, LIDAR, or RADAR/LIDAR operator 

training comprehensive state examination shall be eligible to 

request re-examination with the following conditions: 

(1) The trainee must have achieved a minimum 

score of 60 percent on the initial 

examination; 

(2) The trainee's request for re-examination shall 

be made in writing on the Commission's 

Examination Request Form (F-23) pursuant 

to 12 NCAC 09B .0406(c), and shall be 

received by the Standards Division within 15 

days of the initial examination; 

(3) The trainee shall have, within 30 days of the 

date of initial examination, only one 

opportunity for re-examination; and 

(4) The student must have completed each 

motor-skill and performance area of the 

course curriculum. 

A trainee who fails to achieve the minimum passing score of 

70 percent on the re-examination, or who fails to achieve a 

minimum score of 60 percent on the initial examination, shall 

not be eligible for SMI operator certification until a subsequent 

SMI operator training course offering and examination are 

completed. 

(c)  A trainee of a RADAR operator re-certification, LIDAR 

operator re-certification, or RADAR/LIDAR operator re-

certification training course, pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule, shall achieve a passing score on the comprehensive state 

examination upon answering a minimum of 75 percent of the 

questions correctly. At the time a trainee fails to achieve the 

minimum passing score, the trainee's SMI operator 

certifications shall be immediately revoked, and the trainee 

shall not be eligible for re-certification until a subsequent SMI 

operator training course offering and further examination is 

completed. 

(b) The examination shall be an objective test covering the topic 

areas contained in the certified course curriculum. 

(c) The Commission's representative shall submit to the school 

director within five business days of the administration of the 

examination a report of the results of the test for each 

candidate for certification. 

(d) A trainee shall pass the operator training course as required 

in 12 NCAC 09B .0212, .0213, .0214, .0238, .0242, or .0244 

by achieving 70 percent correct answers. 

(e) An operator seeking recertification shall pass the operator 

training recertification course as specified in 12 NCAC 09B 

.0220, .0221, .0222 .0240, .0243, or .0245 by achieving 75 

percent correct answers. 

(f) A trainee who has participated in a scheduled delivery of a 

certified training course and has demonstrated 100 percent 

competence in each motor-skill or performance area of the 

course curriculum, but has failed to achieve a passing score, as 

specified in Paragraph (d) of this Rule, on the Commission's 

comprehensive written examination, may request the Director 

of the Standards Division to authorize a re-examination of the 

trainee under the following requirements: 

(1)  The trainee's request for re-examination shall be made in 

writing on the Commission's Re- Examination Request form, 

located on the agency's website: h 

ttp://www.ncdoj.gov/getdoc/b38b7eee-e311-4ec3-8f9c-

bd8fd58f6281/SMI-6-Reexam-6-11.aspx. The Re-Examination 

Request form shall be received by the Standards Division within 

30 days of the examination; 

(2) The trainee's request for re-examination shall 

include the favorable recommendation of the 

school director who administered the course; 

(3) A trainee shall have, within 60 days of the 

original examination, only one opportunity for 

re-examination and shall achieve a passing 

score on the subsequent examination; and 

(4) The trainee shall be notified by the Standards 

Division staff of a place, time, and date for re-

examination. 

(g) If the trainee fails to achieve the minimum score as 

specified in Paragraph (d) of this Rule on the re-examination, 

the trainee may not be recommended for certification and shall 

enroll and complete a subsequent course offering before further 

examination may be permitted. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0409 SATISFACTION OF TRAINING -

- SMI OPERATORS 

(a)  To satisfy the training requirements for operator 

certification, a trainee shall complete all of the following: 

(1) achieve a minimum score of 70 percent correct 

answers on the comprehensive state 

examination as outlined in 12 NCAC 09B 

.0408; comprehensive written examination, 

provided for in 12 NCAC 09B .0408(d); 

(2) demonstrate successful completion complete a 

Commission-approved of a certified offering of 

courses course as prescribed under 12 NCAC 

09B .0212(a), .0238(a), or .0242(a) as 

evidenced by a completed Post Delivery Form 

(F-10B) pursuant to 12 NCAC 09I .0102; .0212, 

.0213, .0214, .0215, .0238, .0242, or .0244 as 

shown by the certification of the school 

director; 

(3) demonstrate 100 percent proficiency in the 

motor-skill and performance subject areas as 

demonstrated to a certified Speed Measurement 

Instrument (SMI) instructor and further as 

evidenced on through documentation on the 

Commission's SMI-1 form for radar 

instruments and SMI-13 form for lidar 

instruments, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09I .0106; 
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SMI forms and by the subscribing instructor's 

certification of trainee competence; 

(4) present evidence showing prior North Carolina 

certification in a Commission-certified operator 

training course as prescribed in 12 NCAC 09B 

.0212 .0213, .0214, .0238, .0242, .0244 or 

present evidence showing prior certification 

that meets or exceeds North Carolina 

certification, or present evidence showing 

completion of 12 hours of supervised field 

practice within 90 days after completing a 

Commission-certified RADAR or 

RADAR/LIDAR operator training course as 

prescribed in 12 NCAC 09B .0212 and .0242. 

Evidence of completion shall consist of a 

completed SMI-15 form pursuant to 12 NCAC 

09I .0106. Individuals applying for SMI 

operator certification may request an extension 

of up to 12 months for the 90-day requirement 

to complete the 12 hours of supervised field 

practice. The Director shall grant the extension 

request upon a showing of just cause which, for 

the purposes of this rule includes, accident, 

illness, emergency, course cancellation, or 

other exceptional circumstance that prevents 

the applicant from completing the required 

supervised field practice time; .0213, .0242, 

.0244; and 

(5) Individuals shall be exempt from some or all of 

the 12 hours of supervised field practice upon 

presenting evidence of having completed the 

required supervised field practice, pursuant to 

Subparagraph (b)(5) of this Rule, at a prior date. 

Evidence shall include a completed SMI-14 

form, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09I .0106, and a 

copy of the individual's prior SMI operator or 

instructor certification which lists the 

instruments and modes which the officer is 

certified to operate. 

(5) Individuals applying for SMI operator 

certification may request an extension of the 90 

day requirement to complete the 12 hours of 

supervised field practice required pursuant to 

Subparagraph (a)(4) of this Rule. The requested 

extension shall not exceed 12 months. The 

Director shall grant the extension request upon 

a showing of just cause. For purposes of this 

Rule, "just cause" means an accident, illness, 

emergency, course cancellation, or other 

exceptional circumstance that prevents the 

applicant from completing the required 

supervised field practice time. 

(b)  Any trainee failing to achieve 100 percent proficiency in the 

motor-skill area may request written permission from the 

Director of the Standards Division for re-examination. The 

trainee's request for re-examination shall be made in writing and 

must be received by the Standards Division within 30 re-

examination within 15 days of the original examination. The 

trainee's request for re-examination shall consist of a completed 

F-23 Exam Admission Form, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09I .0102. 

include the favorable recommendation of the school director 

who administered the course. A trainee shall have, within 30 90 

days of the original examination, only one opportunity for 

motor-skill re-examination and must satisfactorily complete each 

identified area of deficiency on the original motor-skill 

examination. The trainee shall be notified by the Standards 

Division staff of a place, time and date for re-examination. If the 

trainee fails to achieve the prescribed score on the examination, 

the trainee's active SMI operator certifications shall be 

immediately revoked, and the trainee shall not be eligible 

recommended for certification or re-certification until a 

subsequent SMI operator training course offering is completed, 

as prescribed under 12 NCAC 09B .0212(a), .0238(a), or 

.0242(a) and further examination is completed. and shall enroll 

and complete a subsequent course offering in its entirety before 

further examination may be permitted. 

(c)  The 12 hours of supervised field practice shall be completed 

as follows: 

(1) Within 90 days after completing a RADAR 

training course as prescribed under 12 NCAC 

09B .0212, .0215, and .0242; 

(2) The trainee must conduct the 12 hours of field 

practice using the radar instrument with the 

most modes, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09C 

.0308(h), that the trainee is seeking 

certification to operate; 

(3) The trainee shall operate the police vehicle and 

the radar instrument while being supervised by 

a currently certified radar instructor or 

operator who is certified to operate the radar 

instrument used by the trainee during the field 

practice; 

(4) Speed measuring instruments shall not be used 

to enforce speed violations by the trainee or by 

the supervising radar operator or instructor 

during the 12 hours of field practice; 

(5) The 12 hours of field practice shall be 

completed according to the following time 

requirements: 

(A) for trainees seeking certification with 

a dual antenna unit and with 

stationary, moving-opposite direction, 

and moving-same direction modes: 

120 minutes in each mode while 

using the front antenna and 120 

minutes in each mode while using the 

rear antenna; 

(B) for trainees seeking certification with 

a dual antenna unit and with 

stationary and moving-opposite 

modes only: 180 minutes in each 

mode while using the front antenna 

and 180 minutes in each mode while 

using the rear antenna; 

(C) for trainees seeking certification with 

a dual antenna unit and with 

stationary mode only: 360 minutes in 

stationary mode while using the front 
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antenna and 360 minutes in stationary 

mode while using the rear antenna; 

(D) for trainees seeking certification with 

a single antenna unit and with 

stationary, moving-opposite direction, 

and moving-same direction modes: 

240 minutes in each mode while 

using the front antenna; 

(E) for trainees seeking certification with 

a single antenna unit and with 

stationary and moving-opposite 

modes only: 360 minutes in each 

mode while using the front antenna; 

or 

(F) for trainees seeking certification with 

a single antenna unit and with 

stationary mode only: 720 minutes in 

stationary mode while using the front 

antenna. 

(d)  To satisfy the training requirements for operator re-

certification, an operator seeking re-certification shall: 

(1) Achieve a score of 75 percent correct answers 

on the comprehensive written state examination 

provided for in 12 NCAC 09B .0408(c); 

.0408(e); 

(2) Complete a Commission-approved course, 

Demonstrate successful completion of a 

certified offering of courses prescribed under 

12 NCAC 09B .0210(d), .0212(c), .0237(d), 

.0238(c), or .0242(c) .0218, .0219, .0220, 

.0221, .0222, .0239, .0240, .0243, or .0245 as 

shown by presentation of a form F-10B, 

pursuant to 12 NCAC 09I .0102; the 

certification of the school director; and 

(3) Satisfy all motor-skill requirements as required 

in Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule; and Rule. 

(4) For individuals seeking certification to operate 

instruments with additional modes than 

currently or previously certified to operate, 

complete 240 minutes of supervised field 

practice for each additional mode. For dual 

antenna instruments, 120 of the 240 minutes 

must be completed using each antenna. 

(d) At the time a trainee seeking operator re-certification fails to 

achieve the prescribed requirements on the comprehensive 

written examination as specified in 12 NCAC 09B .0409(c)(1), 

certification of the officer automatically and immediately 

terminates and that officer shall not be re-certified until 

successful completion of a subsequent course offering as 

prescribed under either 12 NCAC 09B .0212, .0213, .0214, 

.0238, .0242, or .0244 before further examination is permitted. 

(e) At the time a trainee seeking operator re-certification fails to 

achieve the prescribed motor-skill requirements as specified in 

12 NCAC 09B .0409(c)(3), certification of the officer 

automatically and immediately terminates and that officer shall 

not be re-certified until successful completion of the required 

motor-skill testing. Provided, however, such an officer may 

request re-examination as prescribed in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule. 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0414 COMPREHENSIVE STATE 

EXAM – SPECIALIZED INSTRUCTOR TRAINING 

(a)  The Commission shall administer a comprehensive state 

examination within 60 days of the completed required course 

work for the following courses: 

(1) Specialized Firearms Instructor Training; 

(2) Specialized Driver Instructor Training; 

(3) Specialized Compliance and Control Tactics 

Instructor Training; 

(4) Specialized Physical Fitness Instructor 

Training; 

(5) Specialized Explosives and Hazardous 

Materials Emergencies Instructor Training; 

(6) Radar Instructor Training; 

(7) Criminal Justice Time-Distance/Speed 

Measurement Instrument (TD/SMI) Instructor 

Training; 

(8)(7) LIDAR Instructor Training; 

(9)(8) Re-Certification Training for Radar Instructors; 

and 

(10) Re-Certification Training for TD/SMI 

Instructors; and 

(11)(9) Re-Certification Training for LIDAR 

Instructors. 

(b)  The examination shall be an objective test covering the topic 

areas contained in the certified approved course curriculum. 

(c)  The Commission's representative shall submit to the school 

director within five business days of the administration of the 

examination a report of the results of the test for each trainee 

examined. 

(d)(c)  A trainee shall achieve a passing score on the 

comprehensive state examination if he or she achieves 75 80 

percent correct answers. 

(e)(d)  A trainee who has achieved a minimum score of 70 percent 

but below the passing score of 80 percent on the comprehensive 

state examination is eligible for a re-examination of the 

comprehensive state examination. 

(e)  Trainees enrolled in a RADAR or LIDAR Instructor Re-

Certification Course must achieve a minimum score of 80 percent 

on the comprehensive state examination. Those who do not meet 

this requirement are ineligible for a retest and must instead re-

enroll and complete the next available Speed Measuring 

Instrument Operator and Instructor courses corresponding to the 

certification they are seeking. 

(e)(f)  A trainee who fails to achieve a minimum score of 75 70 

percent on the Commission's comprehensive state examination 

shall enroll and complete a subsequent offering of the specialized 

instructor training course before further examination may be 

permitted. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

SECTION .0500 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SCHOOL DIRECTORS 
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12 NCAC 09B .0501 CERTIFICATION OF SCHOOL 

DIRECTORS 

(a)  Any person designated to act as, or who performs the duties 

of, a School Director in the delivery or presentation of a 

Commission-certified Commission-approved criminal justice 

training course shall be and continuously remain certified by the 

Commission as a school director. 

(b)  To qualify for initial certification as a School Director, an 

applicant shall: 

(1) hold current General Instructor certification as 

issued by the North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards 

Commission; 

(2) furnish documentary evidence to the Standards 

Division of high school, college, or university 

graduation as outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0106. 

(3) attend or must have attended the most current 

offering of the School Director's orientation as 

developed and presented by the Commission 

staff, otherwise an individual orientation with a 

staff member shall be required; and 

(4) submit a Form F-10 School Director/Qualified 

Assistant Application Application, pursuant to 

12 NCAC 09I .0104, to the Commission for the 

issuance of such certification. This application 

shall be executed by the executive officer of the 

institution or agency currently certified, 

accredited, or which may be seeking 

certification, accreditation by the Commission 

to make presentation of certified Commission-

approved training programs and for whom the 

applicant will be the designated School 

Director. The F-10 School Director/Qualified 

Assistant Application shall contain: 

(A) the name of the appointing institution 

or agency; 

(B) the name, date of birth, social security 

number (last 4 numbers), phone 

number, email, instructor certification 

number, location, and the date the 

applicant completed orientation 

training; 

(C) the applicant's educational 

background, specifically, the dates of 

attendance, the institution attended, 

and the degree or diploma attained 

from each institution; 

(D) the applicant's criminal justice 

experience, specifically, the agency 

for which the applicant worked, the 

applicant's duties in each position, and 

the dates of employment. The 

applicant shall have acquired four 

years of practical experience as a 

criminal justice officer or as an 

administrator or specialist in a field 

directly related to the criminal justice 

system. At least one year of the 

required four years experience must 

have been while actively participating 

in criminal justice training as a 

Commission certified instructor; 

(E) the signature of the applicant 

certifying the accuracy of the contents 

of the application, and 

(F) the signature of the appointing 

institution's executive officer 

signifying recommendation of an 

applicant to be a School Director; or 

(G) the signature of the School Director 

signifying recommendation of an 

applicant to be a Qualified Assistant. 

(c)  In addition to the requirements identified in Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule, to qualify for certification as a School Director in the 

presentation of the Criminal Justice Instructor Training Course, 

an applicant shall document completion of the Instructor Training 

Orientation presented by the North Carolina Justice Academy on 

delivery of instructor training course and student evaluations. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09C - ADMINISTRATION OF CRIMINAL 

JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS 

 

SECTION .0300 - CERTIFICATION OF CRIMINAL 

JUSTICE OFFICERS 

 

12 NCAC 09C .0308 SPEED MEASURING 

MEASUREMENT INSTRUMENT (SMI) OPERATORS 

CERTIFICATION PROGRAM 

(a) Every person employed Only those individuals currently 

certified as a law enforcement or appointed by the state or any 

political subdivision thereof as a law enforcement officer 

personnel of a law enforcement agency who uses a Speed 

Measuring Instrument for enforcement purposes shall hold 

certification from the Commission authorizing the officer to 

operate the speed measuring instrument. Certification in one or 

more categories reflects operational proficiency in the 

designated type(s) of approved equipment for which the trainee 

has been examined and tested. 

(b)  Standards Division staff shall issue SMI certification in one 

of the following categories: 

(1) RADAR operator speed measurement 

measuring instrument (SMI) certification or re-

certification requiring successful completion of 

the training program as required in 12 NCAC 

09B .0210, .0212, .0213, .0218, or .0242; .0220, 

.0221, .0242, .0243, .0244, or .0245; 

(2) time-distance speed measurement instrument 

operator certification or re-certification 

requiring successful completion of the training 

program as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0211, 

.0213, .0214, .0219, .0221, .0222, .0244, or 

.0245; 

(3)(2) LIDAR speed measurement instrument 

operator certification or re-certification 

requiring successful completion of the training 

program as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0237, 
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.0238, .0239, or .0242; .0240, .0242, .0243, 

.0244, or .0245. 

(c)  Certification in one or more categories reflects operational 

proficiency in the designated type(s) of approved equipment for 

which the trainee has been examined and tested. Such 

certification is for a three year period from the date of issue and 

re-certifications is for a three year period from the date of issue, 

unless sooner terminated by the Commission. The applicant shall 

meet the following requirements for SMI operator certification 

or re-certification within 90 days of the course completion: 

completion and upon the presentation of documentary evidence 

showing that the applicant: 

(1) have completed course requirements as 

outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0212, .0238, or 

.0242; 

(2) have passed the appropriate comprehensive 

state exam as prescribed in 12 NCAC 09B 

.0408; 

(3) have completed the 12 hours of field practice 

training as outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0409; 

and meet one of the following requirements: 

(A) hold active certification as a law 

enforcement officer; or 

(B) be employed as a sheriff, deputy 

sheriff, or other sworn appointee with 

arrest authority governed by the 

provisions of G.S. 17E and be in 

compliance with the employment and 

training standards as established by 

the North Carolina Sheriffs' 

Education and Training Standards 

Commission; 

(1) has successfully completed the training 

program as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0210, 

.0211, .0212, .0213, .0214, .0218, .0219, .0220, 

.0221, .0222, .0237, .0238, .0239, .0240, .0242, 

.0243, .0244, or .0245; and 

(2) has successfully completed a Commission-

certified basic law enforcement training course 

as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0400 and is 

currently certified in a probationary status or 

holds general law enforcement certification; or 

(3) if the applicant is a sheriff, deputy sheriff, or 

other sworn appointee with arrest authority 

governed by the provisions of G.S. 17E has met 

and is in compliance with the employment and 

training standards as established and made 

effective for such position by the North 

Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training 

Standards Commission. 

(d)  Certified SMI operators shall be notified by email via the 

North Carolina Justice Training and Certification portal by the 

Commission not less than 90 days prior to the expiration of 

certification. All applicants for re-certification shall successfully 

complete a Commission-approved re-certification course within 

12 months from the expiration of the previous certification. If re-

certification is not obtained within the 12 month period, 

successful completion of the appropriate operator training 

programs as required by 12 NCAC 09B .0409(a) shall be 

required to obtain operator certification. This prescribed 12 

month period shall not extend the operator certification period 

beyond its specified expiration date. When a re-certification 

course is successfully completed prior to the expiration of the 

previous certification, the new certification shall be issued by the 

Criminal Justice Standards Division effective upon the receipt 

and review by Division staff of the required documentation 

outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0409. of the Post-Delivery Report of 

Training Course Presentation. Operator re-certification shall be 

issued only to officers with active law enforcement certification. 

(e) Operator re-certification shall be issued only to officers with 

current law enforcement certification. 

(e)  If re-certification is not obtained within the prescribed 12-

month period, the officer is no longer eligible for re-certification 

and must meet the requirements of initial operator certification, 

including completion of a RADAR, LIDAR, or RADAR/LIDAR 

operator training course as outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0212(a), 

12 NCAC 09B .0238(a), and 12 NCAC 09B .0242(a). 

(f)  RADAR operator certification is valid for a three-year period 

from the date of issue. Re-certification is also valid for a three-

year period from the date of issue, unless sooner terminated by 

the Commission. 

(g)  LIDAR operator certification and re-certification shall only 

be issued when the applicant holds active RADAR operator 

certification. The expiration date of LIDAR operator 

certification and re-certification shall match the expiration date 

of the applicant's radar operator certification. 

(h)  An individual's SMI operator certification shall apply only 

to the instruments and modes of operation with which the 

individual has proven proficiency in the motor-skill and 

performance subject areas, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B 

.0409(a)(3), during an SMI operator course pursuant to 12 

NCAC 09B .0212, .0215, .0238, and .0242. Modes of operation 

include: stationary, moving-same direction, and moving-

opposite direction. 

(f)  All certifications issued pursuant to this Rule and the 

standards in effect between November 1, 1981 and July 1, 1982 

shall continue with full force and effect; however, said 

certifications are subject to the provisions of 12 NCAC 09C 

.0308(d) and (e). 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09C .0311 RECERTIFICATION 

FOLLOWING SEPARATION 

(a)  Previously certified juvenile court counselors, Chief Court 

Counselors, and juvenile justice officers with who have 

completed a minimum of one year of service with the North 

Carolina Department of Public Safety/Division of Juvenile Justice 

prior to separation and who have been separated from the North 

Carolina Department of Public Safety Safety/Division of Juvenile 

Justice for less than three years may have their certification 

reinstated to a probationary status following a reverification of 

employment standards as outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0116 and 

.0117, but .0117. These individuals shall be are exempt from the 

completion of job appropriate the basic training course as 

described in 12 NCAC 09B .0235 and .0236. .0236, provided the 

basic training was completed prior to separation. 
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(b)  Previously certified juvenile court counselors, Chief Court 

Counselors, and juvenile justice officers with who served less than 

one year with the North Carolina Department of Public 

Safety/Division of Juvenile Justice prior to separation and of 

service who have been separated from the North Carolina 

Department of Public Safety for less than two years may have 

their certification reinstated following a reverification of 

employment standards as outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0116 and 

.0117, .0117. These individuals and shall complete the job 

appropriate basic training course as described in 12 NCAC 09B 

.0235 and .0236. .0236 unless the basic training course was 

successfully completed prior to separation; and the training 

occurred within 12 months of reinstatement. 

(c)  Previously certified juvenile court counselors, Chief Court 

Counselors, and juvenile justice officers who have been separated 

from the North Carolina Department of Public Safety 

Safety/Division of Juvenile Justice for more than three years, 

regardless of the length of prior service, upon their return shall 

complete the verification of employment standards as outlined in 

12 NCAC 09B .0116 and .0117 and shall complete the job 

appropriate basic training course described in 12 NCAC 09B 

.0235 and .0236. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

SECTION .0600 - EQUIPMENT AND PROCEDURES 

 

12 NCAC 09C .0601 APPROVED SPEED-

MEASURING INSTRUMENTS 

(a)  Prior to approval as a speed-measuring instrument, the 

manufacturer of said instrument shall certify in writing to the 

Criminal Justice Standards Division that said instrument meets or 

exceeds the applicable standards set out in the "Model 

Performance Specifications for Police Traffic Radar Devices" as 

published by the National Highway Traffic Safety 

Administration, United States Department of Transportation (as 

in effect July 1, 1982) which is hereby incorporated by reference, 

and shall automatically include any later amendments and 

editions of the incorporated material as provided by G.S. 150B-

21.6. Copies of this publication may be obtained from the 

Department of Justice website: https://ncdoj.gov/law-

enforcement-training/criminal-justice/forms-and-publications/. 

(b)  All speed-measuring instruments shall be evaluated by 

representatives from the North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards Commission and the North 

Carolina Department of Public Safety. A summary of the findings 

shall be submitted in writing to the Criminal Justice Standards 

Division's Speed Measurement Instrument Program 

Administrator. 

The following procedures shall be adhered to for approval of 

speed-measuring instruments: 

(1) Prior to the inclusion as an approved speed-

measuring instrument, the manufacturer of said 

instrument shall certify in writing to the 

Criminal Justice Standards Division that said 

instrument meets or exceeds the applicable 

standards set out in the "Model Performance 

Specifications for Police Traffic Radar 

Devices" as published by the National Highway 

Traffic Safety Administration, United States 

Department of Transportation (as in effect July 

1, 1982) which is hereby incorporated by 

reference, and shall automatically include any 

later amendments and editions of the 

incorporated material as provided by G.S. 

150B-21.6. Copies of this publication may be 

inspected at the office of the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

114 West Edenton Street 

Old Education Building 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be obtained at no cost from the National Highway Traffic 

Safety Administration at the following address: 

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration 

400 Seventh Street, 

SW Washington, DC 20590 

The manufacturer shall provide evidence that the instrument 

meets or exceeds the applicable standards published by the 

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, United States 

Department of Transportation. 

(2) All speed-measuring instruments shall be 

evaluated by representatives from the North 

Carolina Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission and the North 

Carolina Department of Crime Control and 

Public Safety. A summary of the findings shall 

be submitted in writing to the Criminal Justice 

Standards Division's Speed Measurement 

Instrument Program Administrator. 

(3) A current list of all approved speed-measuring 

instruments shall be included in Appendix "A" 

of the Supplement for Speed Measurement 

Instrument Training Courses published by the 

North Carolina Justice Academy. 

(4) The "Speed-Measurement Instrument Operator 

Training Course Manuals" as published by the 

North Carolina Justice Academy shall be 

applied as the basic curriculum for the speed-

measuring instrument operator training courses 

for speed-measuring instrument operators as 

administered by the North Carolina Criminal 

Justice Education and Training Standards 

Commission. Copies of these publications may 

be inspected at the office of the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

114 West Edenton Street 

Old Education Building 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following 

address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 
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Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09C .0607 SPEED-MEASURING 

INSTRUMENT ACCURACY TEST TESTS AND 

OPERATIONAL PROCEDURES 

(a)  The purpose of this Rule is to establish the minimum 

requirements for accuracy testing methods and operational 

procedures for and test methods for determining the accuracy of 

speed-measuring instruments used by law enforcement agencies 

to measure the speed of vehicles for enforcement of speed laws 

and regulations. All requirements and tests shall conform with 

G.S. 8-50.2 and G.S. 17C-6. 

(b)  Each speed measuring instrument shall be tested for accuracy 

within a 12 month period prior to each use of the instrument for 

speed enforcement purposes. The results of the tests shall be 

recorded on Form SMI-9 for RADAR instruments and Form SMI-

12 for LIDAR instruments, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09I .0106. 

(c)  On a daily basis, speed measuring instruments must be 

calibrated and tested for accuracy by the certified SMI operator 

prior to using the instrument for speed enforcement purposes. The 

tests shall be conducted according to the recommendations of the 

instrument's manufacturer, and include tuning fork tests for each 

of the instrument's modes of operation. 

(d)  The daily operating procedures by SMI operators of each 

speed measuring instrument shall be in accordance with the 

instrument's manufacturer recommendations and conform with 

G.S. 8-50.2. 

(1) Accuracy test standard: 

(a)  Annual tests of all speed-measuring instruments shall be in 

conformance with G.S. 8- 50.2(c). The results of these tests shall 

be recorded on forms provided by the Commission. 

(b)  Daily tests of all speed-measuring instruments shall be in 

conformance with G.S. 8- 50.2(b)(4) and G.S. 17C-6(13). 

(2) Accuracy requirements and test methods: 

(a)  Annual: 

The annual tests for accuracy requirements for each specific 

Radar, Time-Distance, and Lidar speed-measuring instrument, as 

outlined in Appendix "B" of the Supplement for Speed 

Measurement Instrument Training Courses published by the 

North Carolina Justice Academy, are hereby incorporated by 

reference, and shall automatically include any later amendments 

and editions of the incorporated material as provided by G.S. 

150B-21.6. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the 

office of the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

114 West Edenton Street 

Old Education Building 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be obtained at a cost of seven dollars and twelve cents 

($7.12) from the Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

(b)  Daily: 

The daily tests for accuracy requirements for each specific Radar, 

Time-Distance, and Lidar speed-measuring instrument, as 

outlined in Appendix "C" of the Supplement for Speed 

Measurement Instrument Training Courses published by the 

North Carolina Justice Academy, are hereby incorporated by 

reference, and shall automatically include any later amendments 

and editions of the incorporated material as provided by G.S. 

150B-21.6. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the 

office of the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

114 West Edenton Street 

Old Education Building 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be obtained at a cost of seven dollars and twelve cents 

($7.12) from the Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

Authority G.S. 8-50.2; 17C-6. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09D – PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE 

PROGRAMS 

 

SECTION .0100 - LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS' 

PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE PROGRAM 

 

12 NCAC 09D .0101 LAW ENFORCEMENT 

PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE PROGRAM 

(a)  In order to recognize the level of competence of law 

enforcement officers serving the governmental criminal justice 

agencies within the state North Carolina, pursuant to G.S. 17C-

2(2), to foster increased interest in college education and 

professional law enforcement training programs, and to attract 

retain highly qualified individuals into a law enforcement career, 

the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training 

Standards Commission establishes the Law Enforcement Officers' 

Professional Certificate Program. This program is a method by 

which dedicated officers may receive statewide and nationwide 

recognition for education, professional training, and on-the-job 

experience. years of law enforcement service. 

(b)  Applicants who meet the qualifications set forth in this Rule 

are eligible to receive a Law Enforcement Officer's Professional 

Certificate. Based on the applicant's qualifications, this 

Professional Certificate is defined as either an Intermediate or 

Advanced Certificate. Advanced Certificates shall be approved by 

Commission vote at regularly scheduled meetings prior to being 

awarded. 

(c)  To be eligible for either Intermediate or Advanced 

Certificates, applicants shall meet the following qualifications: 

(1) The applicant shall be a full-time, sworn 

employee of a law enforcement agency within 

the State and hold general law enforcement 

certification pursuant to 12 NCAC 09C .0304; 

or 

(2) The applicant shall be a full-time employee of 

a law enforcement agency within the State, who 

has previously held general law enforcement 

officer certification pursuant to 12 NCAC 09C 

.0304 but is presently, by virtue of direct 
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promotion or transfer from the sworn law 

enforcement position, serving in a non-sworn 

position not subject to certification. 

(3) Applicants shall be in good standing with their 

employing agency at the date of application. 

(d)  An officer subject to suspension or revocation proceedings, 

probation subsequent to suspension or revocation proceedings, or 

is under investigation for possible decertification action by the 

Commission pursuant to 12 NCAC 09A .0206, the Company and 

Campus Police Program pursuant to either 12 NCAC 02I .0214 or 

12 NCAC 09J .0211, or the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education 

and Training Standards Commission pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B 

.0206 shall not be eligible for professional certificates for the 

pendency of the proceeding or the period of probation. 

(e)  Eligibility for either Intermediate or Advanced Certificates is 

based upon a formula which combines formal education, law 

enforcement training, and service as a law enforcement employee 

pursuant to Subparagraph (e)(4) of this Rule. Eligibility is 

computed in the following manner: 

(1) The applicant's highest educational degree will 

be given a point value. Graduate degrees will be 

worth 15 points, Bachelor's degrees will be 

worth 12 points, and Associate's degrees will be 

worth 7 points; 

(2) Each semester hour of college or university 

credit earned in pursuit of an educational degree 

not yet completed by the applicant shall equal 

one-tenth of a point, and each quarter hour of 

college or university credit earned shall equal 

one-fifteenth of a point. The total points earned 

in this manner shall not equal or exceed the 

number of points that would be given for the 

degree upon completion; 

(3) Twenty classroom or practical skills assessment 

hours of Commission-approved law 

enforcement training shall equal one point. No 

points shall be awarded for completing 

Commission-approved courses that are 

required to obtain or maintain law enforcement 

certification, including basic law enforcement 

training and in-service training courses. 

Additionally, no points will be awarded for the 

maintenance of specialized law enforcement 

training; 

(4) Each full year of service as a full-time 

employee of a North Carolina criminal justice 

agency, or equivalent service as determined by 

the Commission, shall fulfill a requisite year of 

creditable service. For the purposes of this 

Rule, "equivalent service" includes full-time, 

sworn employment within the State, out-of-

state, or with a federal law enforcement agency 

or the military police. 

(f)  Applicants for the Intermediate Law Enforcement Certificate 

shall have acquired a minimum of four years of full-time law 

enforcement service and a minimum of 30 total education and/or 

training points. 

(g)  Applicants for the Advanced Law Enforcement Certificate 

shall have acquired a minimum of nine years of full-time law 

enforcement service and a minimum of 60 total education and/or 

training points. 

(h)  All applicants for either Intermediate or Advanced 

Certificates shall submit a completed "Application for Award of 

Professional Certificate" Form F-6 (LE), pursuant to 12 NCAC 

09I .0107, to the employing agency in-service training 

coordinator or agency head of the applicant's employing agency. 

(i)  Documentary evidence of college or university graduation 

shall be submitted with the application pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B 

.0106. 

(j)  Documentation of training shall be provided to the Division 

by: 

(1) Training records signed by the employing 

agency in-service training coordinator or 

agency head; or 

(2) Providing certificates of completion indicating 

the number of training contact hours. 

(k)  Replacement certificates can be requested by a completed 

"Request for Replacement of Professional Certificate" Form F-7. 

An applicant shall have been previously awarded either an 

Intermediate or Advanced Certificate to be able to receive a 

replacement. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

SECTION .0200 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE OFFICERS' 

PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE PROGRAM 

 

SECTION .0200 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE OFFICERS' 

JUVENILE JUSTICE PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE 

PROGRAM 

 

12 NCAC 09D .0201 JUVENILE JUSTICE 

PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE PROGRAM 

(a)  In order to recognize the level of competence of criminal 

justice officers Juvenile Justice officers, court counselors, and 

chief court counselors serving the governmental agencies within 

the State employed by the North Carolina Department of Public 

Safety, Division of Juvenile Justice, pursuant to G.S. 17C-2 (2), 

to foster increased interest in college education and professional 

criminal justice training programs, and to attract retain highly 

qualified individuals into a criminal justice career, the North 

Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards 

Commission establishes the Juvenile Justice Professional 

Certificate Program. criminal justice officer's professional 

certificate program. This program is a method by which dedicated 

officers may receive statewide and nationwide recognition for 

education, professional training, and on-the-job experience years 

of Juvenile Justice service. 

(b)  Applicants who meet the qualifications set forth in this Rule 

are eligible to receive a Juvenile Justice Professional Certificate. 

Based on the applicant's qualifications, this Professional 

Certificate is defined as either an Intermediate or Advanced 

Certificate. Advanced Certificates shall be approved by 

Commission vote at regularly scheduled meetings prior to being 

awarded. 

(c)  To be eligible for either Intermediate or Advanced 

Certificates, applicants shall meet the following qualifications: 
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(1) The applicant shall be a full-time employee of 

the Division of Juvenile Justice and shall hold 

general Juvenile Justice Officer certification 

pursuant to 12 NCAC 09D .0117 or 09D .0116; 

or 

(2) The applicant shall have previously held the 

certification listed in Subparagraph (c)(1) of 

this Rule and, by virtue of direct promotion or 

transfer from a certified position, currently 

serve in a permanent, full-time position not 

subject to certification for the Division of 

Juvenile Justice; and 

(3) Applicants shall be in good standing with the 

Division of Juvenile Justice at the date of 

application. 

(d)  An applicant subject to suspension or revocation proceedings, 

probation subsequent to suspension or revocation proceedings, or 

is under investigation for possible decertification action by the 

Commission pursuant to 12 NCAC 09A .0206, the Company and 

Campus Police Program pursuant to either 12 NCAC 02I .0214 or 

12 NCAC 09J .0211, or the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education 

and Training Standards Commission pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B 

.0206 shall not be eligible for professional certificates for the 

pendency of the proceeding or the period of probation. 

(e)  Eligibility for Intermediate or Advanced Certificates is based 

upon a formula which combines formal education, Juvenile 

Justice training, and service as a Juvenile Justice employee 

pursuant to Subsection (4) of this Rule. Eligibility is computed in 

the following manner: 

(1) The applicant's highest educational degree will 

be given a point value. Graduate degrees will be 

worth 15 points, Bachelor's degrees will be 

worth 12 points, and Associate's degrees will be 

worth 7 points; 

(2) Each semester hour of college or university 

credit earned in pursuit of an educational degree 

not yet completed by the applicant shall equal 

one-tenth of a point, and each quarter hour of 

college or university credit earned shall equal 

one-fifteenth of a point. The total points earned 

in this manner shall not equal or exceed the 

number of points that would be given for the 

degree upon completion; 

(3) Twenty classroom or practical skills assessment 

hours of Commission-approved Juvenile 

Justice training shall equal one point. No points 

will be awarded for the maintenance of 

specialized Juvenile Justice training; 

(4) Each full year of service as a full-time 

employee of the Division of Juvenile Justice, or 

equivalent service as determined by the 

Commission shall fulfill a requisite year of 

creditable service. For the purposes of this 

Rule, "equivalent service" includes service in a 

permanent, full-time, paid position in a federal 

or out-of-state Juvenile Justice institution. 

(f)  Applicants for the Intermediate Juvenile Justice Certificate 

shall have acquired a minimum of four years of full-time Juvenile 

Justice service and a minimum of 30 total education and/or 

training points. 

(g)  Applicants for the Advanced Juvenile Justice Certificate shall 

have acquired a minimum of nine years of full-time criminal 

justice service and a minimum of 80 total education and/or 

training points. 

(h)  All applicants for either Intermediate or Advanced 

Certificates shall complete an "Application for Award of 

Professional Certificate" Form F-6 (DJJ), pursuant to 09I .0107, 

to the Division of Juvenile Justice agency head. 

(i)  Documentary evidence of college or university graduation 

shall be submitted with the application pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B 

.0106. 

(j)  Documentation of training shall be provided to the Division 

by: 

(1) Training records signed by the Division of 

Juvenile Justice agency head; or 

(2) Providing certificates of completion indicating 

the number of training contact hours. 

(k)  Replacement certificates can be requested by a completed 

"Request for Replacement of Professional Certificate" Form F-7, 

pursuant to 12 NCAC 09I .0107. An applicant shall have been 

previously awarded either an Intermediate or Advanced 

Certificate to be able to receive a replacement. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09G - STANDARDS FOR CORRECTIONS 

EMPLOYMENT, TRAINING, AND CERTIFICATION 

 

SECTION .0200 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CERTIFICATION OF CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS, 

PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS, AND 

PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS-SURVEILLANCE 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0205 MEDICAL EXAMINATION 

(a)  Each applicant for certification or enrollment in a basic 

correctional officer or probation/parole officer training course 

shall complete, sign, and date the Commission's Medical History 

Statement Form (F-1) and shall be examined by either a physician, 

physician assistant, or nurse practitioner who holds a current 

license in the United States to practice medicine, as issued by a 

state medical board, to help determine his or her fitness to carry 

out the physical requirements of the position of correctional 

officer or probation/parole officer as listed in the current job 

description provided by the North Carolina Department of Adult 

Correction. 

(b)  Prior to being examined, the applicant shall provide the 

examining physician, physician's assistant, or nurse practitioner 

with: 

(1) the Medical History Statement Form (F-1) 

which must be read, completed, and signed by 

the applicant; and 

(2) the Instructions to Agency and Examiner for 

Completion of Medical Examination Report (F-

2A) Form (F-2), the Tuberculosis 

Questionnaire Form (F-2A) and attached to the 

Medical Examination Report Addendum Form 

(F-2). (F-2B). The Instructions to Agency and 
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Examiner for Completion of Medical 

Examination Report (F-2A)(F-2) Form shall 

notify the examining physician, physician's 

assistant, or nurse practitioner that the "Medical 

Screening Guidelines for the Certification of 

Criminal Justice Officers in North Carolina" 

"Minimum Medical Qualifications for Law 

Enforcement Officers, Corrections Officers, 

Juvenile Justice Officers, Court Counselors, 

Chief Court Counselors, Detention Officers and 

Telecommunicators" as published by the North 

Carolina Department of Justice Criminal 

Justice Educations and Training Standards 

Commission is available at no cost at 

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/. 

(c)  The examining physician, physician's assistant, or nurse 

practitioner shall record the results of the examination on the 

Medical Examination Report Form (F-2) and shall sign and date 

the form. 

(d)  The Medical Examination Report Form (F-2)(F-2), the 

Tuberculosis Questionnaire Form (F-2A), and the Medical 

History Statement Form (F-1) shall be valid for one year after the 

date of the examination was conducted and shall be completed 

prior to: 

(1) the applicant's beginning the basic correctional 

officer or basic probation/parole officer training 

course, and 

(2) an agency's submission of application for 

certification to the Commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

SECTION .0300 - CERTIFICATION OF 

CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS, PROBATION/PAROLE 

OFFICERS, AND INSTRUCTORS 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0311 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF 

SPECIALIZED INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION 

(a)  An applicant meeting the requirements for Specialized 

Instructor Certification shall be issued a certification to expire 

three years from the date of issuance. The applicant shall apply 

for certification as a specialized instructor within 60 days from the 

date of completion of a specialized instructor course. 

(b)  Where certifications for both General Probationary Instructor 

and Specialized Instructor are issued on the same date, the 

instructor shall be required to instruct within three years after 

certification, a minimum of 12 hours in each of the topics for 

which Specialized Instructor Certification was granted in a 

Commission-accredited basic training, Specialized Instructor 

Training, Commission-recognized in-service training course, or 

training course delivered pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0601, .1302, 

or .2005. The instructor may satisfy the teaching requirement for 

the General Probationary Instructor certification by teaching any 

specialized topic for which certification has been issued. 

(c)  When Specialized Instructor Certification is issued during an 

existing period of General Probationary Instructor Certification 

the specialized instructor may satisfy the teaching requirement for 

the General Probationary Certification by teaching the specialized 

subject for which certification has been issued. 

(d)  The term of certification as a specialized instructor shall not 

exceed three years. An application for renewal shall contain, in 

addition to the requirements listed in Rule .0310 of this Section, 

documentary evidence that the applicant has remained active in 

the instructional process during the previous three-year period. 

Such documentary evidence shall include the following: 

(1) proof that the applicant has, within the three-

year period preceding application for renewal, 

instructed at least 12 hours in each of the topics 

for which Specialized Instructor Certification 

was granted, and that instruction was provided 

in a Commission-accredited basic training, 

Specialized Instructor Training, or 

Commission-recognized in-service training 

course. Acceptable documentary evidence shall 

include official Commission records submitted 

by School Directors or In-Service Training 

Coordinators, and written certification from a 

School Director or In-Service Training 

Coordinator; 

(2) proof that the applicant has, within the three-

year period preceding application for renewal, 

attended and completed all instructor updates 

that have been issued by the Commission. 

Acceptable documentary evidence shall include 

official Commission records submitted by 

School Directors or In-Service Training 

Coordinators, or copies of certificates of 

completion issued by the institution which 

provided the instructor updates; and 

(A) a favorable written recommendation 

from a School Director or In-Service 

Training Coordinator completed on a 

Commission Renewal of Instructor 

and Professional Lecturer 

Certification Form stating the 

instructor taught at least 12 hours in 

each of the topics for which 

Specialized Instructor Certification 

was granted. The teaching shall have 

been provided in a Commission-

accredited basic training, Specialized 

Instructor Training course, pursuant to 

Rule .0310 of this Section, or 

Commission-recognized in-service 

training course; 

(B) a favorable written evaluation by a 

School Director, Qualified Assistant, 

In-Service Training Coordinator, or 

another instructor certified in the same 

specialized subject, based on an on-

site classroom evaluation of a 

presentation by the instructor in a 

Commission-accredited basic training, 

Specialized Instructor Training, or 

Commission-recognized in-service 

training course, during the three-year 
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period of Specialized Instructor 

Certification. Such evaluation shall be 

certified on a Criminal Justice 

Instructor Evaluation Form F-16, 

located on the agency's website: 

http://www.ncdoj.gov/getdoc/c2eba6a

a-12bc-4303-bf4b-5fa0431ef5a1/F-

16-6-11.aspx. 

(C) has met the requirement set forth in 

Rule .0309(c) of this Section. 

(e)  The use of guest participants in a delivery of a Commission-

mandated training course pursuant to this Section shall be 

permissible. However, such guest participants are subject to the 

on-site supervision of a Commission-certified instructor and shall 

be authorized by the School Director. A guest participant shall be 

used only to complement the primary certified instructor of the 

block of instruction and shall not replace the primary instructor. 

(a)  An applicant meeting the requirements for Specialized 

Instructor Certification as set forth in Rule .0310 of this Section 

shall be issued a certification to expire three years from the date 

of issuance. The applicant shall apply for certification as a 

Specialized Instructor within 60 days after the date the applicant 

achieved a passing score on the state comprehensive exam for the 

respective Specialized Instructor training course. 

(b)  The instructor is required to instruct, within three years after 

Specialized Instructor Certification is issued, a minimum of 12 

hours in each of the topics for which Specialized Instructor 

Certification was granted, and that instruction was provided in a 

Commission-approved basic training, Specialized Instructor 

Training, Commission-recognized in-service training course, or 

training course delivered pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0601, .1302, 

or .2005. 

(c)  An application for renewal shall contain, in addition to the 

requirements listed in Rule .0310 of this Section, documentary 

evidence that the applicant has remained active in the instructional 

process during the previous three-year period. Such documentary 

evidence shall include the following: 

(1) proof that the applicant has, within the three-

year period preceding application for renewal, 

instructed at least 12 hours in each of the topics 

for which Specialized Instructor Certification 

was granted, and that instruction was provided 

in a Commission-approved basic training, 

Specialized Instructor Training, Commission-

recognized in-service training course, or 

training course delivered pursuant to 12 NCAC 

10B .0601, .1302, or .2005. Acceptable 

documentary evidence shall include official 

Commission records submitted by School 

Directors or In-Service Training Coordinators 

and written attestation from a School Director 

or In-Service Training Coordinator; 

(2) proof that the applicant has, within the three-

year period preceding application for renewal, 

attended and completed all instructor updates 

that have been issued by the Commission. 

Acceptable documentary evidence shall include 

official Commission records submitted by 

School Directors or In-Service Training 

Coordinators, or copies of certificates of 

completion issued by the institution which 

provided the instructor updates; and 

(A) a favorable written recommendation 

from a School Director or In-Service 

Training Coordinator completed on an 

Application for Instructor and 

Professional Lecturer Certification 

Form (Form F-12), pursuant to 12 

NCAC 09I .0102 stating the instructor 

taught at least 12 hours in each of the 

topics for which Specialized Instructor 

Certification was granted. The 

teaching shall have been provided in a 

Commission-approved basic training, 

or Commission-recognized in-service 

training course, or training course 

delivered pursuant to 12 NCAC 09G 

.0411 or 09G .0412; 

(B) a favorable written evaluation by a 

School Director, Qualified Assistant, 

In-Service Training Coordinator, or 

another Specialized Instructor 

certified in the same specialized 

subject, based on an on-site classroom 

evaluation of a presentation by the 

instructor in a Commission-approved 

basic training, Specialized Instructor 

Training, Commission-recognized in-

service training course, or training 

course delivered, pursuant to 12 

NCAC 09G .0411 or 09G .0412, 

during the three-year period of 

Specialized Instructor Certification. 

Such evaluation shall be presented on 

a Criminal Justice Instructor 

Evaluation Form F-16, pursuant to 

Rule .0202 of this Subchapter and 12 

NCAC 09I .0102; 

(d)  Upon expiration of their Specialized Instructor certification, 

instructors have 90 days to submit renewal 

documentation to the Division for review and approval. During 

this 90-day period, instructors are not permitted to 

teach any Commission-approved courses or blocks of instruction 

that require instruction by a Specialized Instructor. The Director 

may, for just cause, grant an extension of the 90-day period in 

which an instructor's renewal application must be submitted, 

however, such extension shall not exceed 12 months and shall not 

extend the instructor's certification period beyond its specified 

expiration period. 

(e)  Individuals who hold Specialized Instructor certification may, 

for just cause, be granted an extension of the three-year period to 

teach the 12 hour minimum requirement, pursuant to Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule. The Director may grant such extensions on a one-

time basis only not to exceed 12 months. For purposes of this 

Rule, just cause means accident, illness, emergency, course 

cancellation, or other exceptional circumstances that precluded 

the instructor from fulfilling the teaching requirement. 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

40:06 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 15, 2025 

555 

(f)  Those individuals who have previously held Specialized 

Instructor Certification and have not exceeded a three year time 

period from when his or her Specialized Instructor Certification 

expired are eligible to apply for re-issuance of the previously held 

Specialized Instructor Certification. An application for re-

issuance shall contain documentation that the applicant: 

(1) holds a current General Instructor certification; 

(2) has completed the pre-qualification skills 

assessment for that specialty; and 

(3) has passed the state examination for that 

specialty with a minimum score of 75. 

(g)  Applicants for re-issuance of the Specialized Instructor 

Certification shall have one opportunity to pass the 

prequalification skills assessment and the state examination for 

that specialty. Should an applicant not achieve a passing score on 

either the prequalification skills assessment or the state 

examination for that specialty, the applicant shall complete the 

specific Specialized Instructor Course in its entirety. 

(h)  Applicants whose Specialized Instructor Certification is 

suspended or revoked shall not qualify for re-issuance. The 

applicant shall complete the specific Specialized Instructor 

Course in its entirety. 

(i)  After re-issuance of certification, the instructor shall complete 

eight hours of evaluated instruction in the specialty where re-

issuance of certification is sought, as documented on an F-16 

located on the agency's website: https://ncdoj.gov/law-

enforcement training/criminal-justice/forms-and-publications/. 

The eight hours of instruction shall be taught within 60 days of 

the Specialized Instructor Certification being reissued and 

evaluated by a Specialized Instructor certified in that specialty. 

Failure to complete the required eight hours of evaluated 

instruction will result in the reissued Specialized Instructor 

Certification being revoked. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

SECTION .0600 - PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE 

PROGRAM 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0601 PURPOSE STATE 

CORRECTIONS PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE 

PROGRAM 

(a)  In order to recognize the level of competence of corrections 

officers serving the within the State, pursuant to G.S. 17C-2 (2), 

to foster increased interest in college education and professional 

corrections training programs, and to retain highly qualified 

individuals into a corrections career, the North Carolina Criminal 

Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 

establishes the State Corrections Officer's Professional Certificate 

Program. This program is a method by which dedicated officers 

may receive statewide and nationwide recognition for education, 

professional training, and on-the-job experience years of 

corrections service. 

(b)  Applicants who meet the qualifications set forth in this Rule 

are eligible to receive a State Corrections Officer's Professional 

Certificate. Based on the applicant's qualifications, this 

Professional Certificate is defined as either an Intermediate or 

Advanced Certificate. Advanced Certificates shall be approved by 

Commission vote at regularly scheduled meetings prior to being 

awarded. 

(c)  To be eligible for either Intermediate or Advanced 

Certificates, applicants shall meet the following qualifications: 

(1) The applicant shall be a full-time employee of 

the North Carolina Department of Adult 

Correction (DAC), and shall hold general 

correctional officer certification, pursuant to 12 

NCAC 09G .0208, or probation/parole officer 

certification, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09G .0209; 

or 

(2) The applicant shall have previously held one of 

the certifications listed in Subparagraph (c)(1) 

of this Rule and, by virtue of direct promotion 

or transfer from a certified position, currently 

serve in a permanent, full-time position not 

subject to certification. 

(3) Applicants shall be in good standing with DAC 

at the date of application. 

(d)  An officer subject to suspension or revocation proceedings, 

probation subsequent to suspension or revocation proceedings, or 

is under investigation for possible decertification action by the 

Commission pursuant to 12 NCAC 09A .0206, the Company and 

Campus Police Program pursuant to either 12 NCAC 02I .0214 or 

12 NCAC 09J .0211, or the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education 

and Training Standards Commission pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B 

.0206 shall not be eligible for professional certificates for the 

pendency of the proceeding or the period of probation. 

(e)  Eligibility for Intermediate or Advanced Certificates is based 

upon a formula which combines formal education, correctional 

training, and service as a corrections pursuant to subsection 4 of 

this subparagraph. Eligibility is computed in the following 

manner: 

(1) The applicant's highest educational degree will 

be given a point value. Graduate degrees will be 

worth 15 points, Bachelor's degrees will be 

worth 12 points, and Associate's degrees will be 

worth 7 points; 

(2) Each semester hour of college or university 

credit earned in pursuit of an educational degree 

not yet completed by the applicant shall equal 

one-tenth of a point, and each quarter hour of 

college or university credit earned shall equal 

one-fifteenth of a point. The total points earned 

in this manner shall not equal or exceed the 

number of points that would be given for the 

degree upon completion; 

(3) Twenty classroom or practical skills assessment 

hours of Commission-approved criminal justice 

training shall equal one point. No points will be 

awarded for the maintenance of specialized 

criminal justice training; 

(4) Each full year of service as a full-time 

employee of the North Carolina Department of 

Adult Correction, or equivalent service as 

determined by the Commission shall fulfill a 

requisite year of creditable service. For the 

purposes of this Rule, "equivalent service" 

includes service in a permanent, full-time, paid 
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position in a federal or out-of-state correctional 

or criminal justice institution. 

(f)  Applicants for the Intermediate State Corrections Officer 

Certificate shall have acquired a minimum of four years of full-

time criminal justice service and a minimum of 30 total education 

and/or training points. 

(g)  Applicants for the Advanced State Corrections Officer 

Certificate shall have acquired a minimum of nine years of full-

time criminal justice service and a minimum of 80 total education 

and/or training points. 

(h)  All applicants for either Intermediate or Advanced 

Certificates shall complete an "Application for Award of 

Professional Certificate" Form F-6 (DAC), pursuant to 09I,0107, 

to the DAC training coordinator or agency head. 

(i)  Documentary evidence of college or university graduation 

shall be submitted with the application pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B 

.0106. 

(j)  Documentation of training shall be provided to the Division 

by: 

(1) Training records signed by the employing 

agency in-service training coordinator or 

agency head; or 

(2) Providing certificates of completion indicating 

the number of training contact hours. 

(j)  Replacement certificates can be requested by a completed 

"Request for Replacement of Professional Certificate" Form F-7. 

An applicant shall have been previously awarded either an 

Intermediate or Advanced Certificate to be able to receive a 

replacement. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09I – FORMS FOR CRIMINAL JUSTICE 

EMPLOYMENT: EDUCATION: AND TRAINING 

 

SECTION .0100 - FORMS FOR USE IN TRAINING 

PROGRAMS AND INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION 

 

12 NCAC 09I .0101 INSTRUCTOR AND 

PROFESSIONAL LECTURER CERTIFICATION FORMS 

(a)  The following are Commission-approved forms to be used by 

individuals applying for the initial or renewal of certification as 

an instructor or professional lecturer: 

(1) Form F-12 Application for Instructor or 

Professional Lecturer Certification shall 

contain the 

following information: 

(A) name of applicant/instructor; 

(B) address, phone, email address, date of 

birth, age, last four of Social Security 

Number, and Acadis number; 

(C) current agency/firm, status (Retired, 

Civilian, Sworn), agency address, and 

business phone number; 

(D) type of instructor certification 

applying for; 

(E) supporting documents for specific 

certification sought; 

(F) highest education level, school 

attended, school location, and 

graduation date; 

(G) criminal justice experience; 

(H) signature of applicant/instructor; 

(I) school, course title, hours taught, 

course date(s), and whether the course 

was a requirement of Mandatory In-

Service Training), and   

(J) signature of certifying School Director 

or In-Service Training Coordinator, 

school or agency, phone number, and 

email address. 

(2) Form F-16 Criminal Justice Instructor 

Evaluation shall contain the following 

information: 

(A) instructor's name, date of birth, and 

Acadis ID number; 

(B) evaluator's name, and Acadis ID 

number; 

(C) block of Instruction, date, location, 

and total hours of instruction; 

(D) scores for Instructional Ability and 

Strategies; and 

(E) Presentation Evaluation Criteria 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09I .0102 COURSE MANAGEMENT 

FORMS 

(a)  The following are Commission-approved forms to be used by 

certified School Directors instructors during the administration of 

Commission-approved courses: 

(1) Form F-10A, Pre-Delivery Report of Training 

Course Presentation, shall include the 

following: 

(A) Name of delivery site (academy); 

(B) Proposed Commission course being 

requested to administer; 

(C) Number of course hours; 

(D) Location of course delivery; 

(E) Commencement and completion 

dates; 

(F) Anticipated class size; 

(G) Names on all delivery site (academy) 

staff requiring Acadis access; and 

(H) Name and signature of certified 

School Director. 

(2) Form F-10B and Web Form F-10B, Post 

Delivery Report of Training Course 

Presentation, shall include the following: 

(A) Name of delivery site (academy); 

(B) Commission course administered; 

(C) Number of course hours; 

(D) Location of course delivery; 

(E) Commencement and completion 

dates; 

(F) Final class size; and 
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(G) Name and signature of certified 

School Director. 

(3) Form F-23, Commission Exam Admission 

Form shall include the following: 

(A) Course pre-delivery number, exam 

location and exam date; 

(B) First-Time Exam Admission 

information; 

(C) Re-Examination Admission 

information; 

(D) Name and signature of certified 

School Director; and 

(E) List of all trainees. 

(4) Web Form WF-6 CJ Standards Specialized 

Training Departure Report Courses, shall 

include the 

following: 

(A) Course name, course dates, and 

training location; 

(B) Departing student's name, date of 

birth, and academy ID #; and 

(C) Departure information. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09I .0103 BASIC LAW ENFORCEMENT 

TRAINING (BLET) COURSE FORMS 

(a)  The following are Commission-approved forms to be used by 

certified School Directors instructors during the administration of 

a Commission-approved Basic Law Enforcement Training 

(BLET) course: 

(1) Form F-13, Request for Deficiency 

Remediation, shall include the following: 

(A) Name of certified School Director and 

delivery site (academy); 

(B) Date of request, Pre-Delivery number, 

and state exam date; 

(C) Student's name and academy ID 

number; 

(D) Block of instruction and date(s) of 

deficiency; 

(E) Instructor's name and academy ID 

number; 

(F) Remediation location and date(s) of 

remediation; 

(G) Details of remediation plan; and 

(H) Signature of certified School Director. 

(2) Form F-14, Request for Limited Enrollment, 

shall include the following: 

(A) Name of certified School Director and 

delivery site (academy); 

(B) Date of request, Pre-Delivery number, 

and original BLET start date; 

(C) Student's name and academy ID 

number; 

(D) Block(s) of instruction for make-up 

training; and 

(E) Delivery site (academy) where make-

up training will be conducted. 

(3) Form F-17, Student Evaluation of Instructors, 

shall include the following: 

(A) Name of delivery site (academy); 

(B) Instructor's name; 

(C) Block of instruction and date; 

(D) Delivery of course material by 

instructor; and 

(E) Organization and presentation of 

delivery of instruction. 

(4) Form F-25, Criminal Record Conviction 

History for BLET shall include the following: 

(A) Agency name and address; 

(B) Applicant's full name and former 

names; 

(C) Applicant's address; and 

(D) Name and signature of Agency head. 

(5) Form F-26, BLET Student Absence Report, 

shall include the following: 

(A) School/academy name and class 

name; 

(B) Student's name and Acadis ID 

number; 

(C) Course topic and date; 

(D) Hours missed and made up; 

(E) Reason for missed time; 

(F) Student's and certified School 

Director's signature and date; and 

(G) Name of instructor conducting the 

make-up training. 

(6) Form F-32, BLET Request for Early 

Enrollment, shall include the following: 

(A) Name and signature of certified 

School Director and delivery site 

(academy); 

(B) Student's name and date of birth; and 

(C) BLET state date and date of state 

exam. 

(7) Web Form WF-1, BLET Student Injury Report, 

shall include the following: 

(A) Student's name, date of birth, and 

Acadis ID number; 

(B) Date and details of injury 

(C) Student's status (returned to training 

on same day or required hospital care; 

and 

(D) Email of School Director. 

(8) Web Form WF-2, BLET Departure Report, 

shall include the following: 

(A) Student's name and Acadis ID 

number; 

(B) Date, reason, and details of departure; 

and 

(C) Email of School Director. 

(9) Web Form WF-3, BLET Student Enrollment 

Questionnaire, shall include the following: 

(A) Student's demographic information; 

(B) Student's education information; 

(C) Military service information; and 

(D) Primary language. 
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(10) Web Form WF-4, BLET Student Course 

Completion Record, shall include the 

following: 

(A) Student's name, and Acadis #; 

(B) Student's gender; 

(C) Student's employment status on last 

day of class; 

(D) Student's hiring status with a law 

enforcement agency; and 

(E) Course completion information. 

(11) Web Form WF-13B, BLET Deficiency, Report 

of Completed Training, shall include the 

following: 

(A) Student's name and Acadis #; 

(B) Deficiency information; 

(C) Deficiency make-up information; 

(D) Date the deficiency remediation was 

completed; and 

(E) School Director's name, signature, and 

email address. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09I .0104 COMMISSION-ACCREDITED 

DELIVERY SITE ADMINISTRATION FORMS 

(a)  The following are Commission-approved forms to be used by 

Commission-accredited delivery sites to administer Commission-

approved courses: 

(1) Form F-10, School Director/Qualified Assistant 

Application, shall include the following: 

(A) the name of the appointing institution 

or agency; 

(B) the name, date of birth, social security 

number (last 4 numbers), phone 

number, email, instructor certification 

number, location, and the date the 

applicant completed orientation 

training; 

(C) the applicant's educational 

background, specifically, the dates of 

attendance, the institution attended, 

and the degree or diploma attained 

from each institution; 

(D) the applicant's criminal justice 

experience, specifically, the agency 

for which the applicant worked, the 

applicant's duties in each position, and 

the dates of employment. The 

applicant shall have acquired four 

years of practical experience as a 

criminal justice officer or as an 

administrator or specialist in a field 

directly related to the criminal justice 

system. At least one year of the 

required four years experience must 

have been while actively participating 

in criminal justice training as a 

Commission certified instructor; 

(E) the signature of the applicant 

certifying the accuracy of the contents 

of the application; 

(F) the signature of the appointing 

institution's executive officer 

signifying recommendation of an 

applicant to be a School Director; or 

(G) the signature of the School Director 

signifying recommendation of an 

applicant to be a Qualified Assistant. 

(2) Form F-10 (SA), Accreditation of Criminal 

Justice Schools, shall include the following: 

(A) the name of the requesting 

institution/agency; 

(B) the mailing address, phone number, 

and name of the institution head or 

executive officer; 

(C) the name, title or rank, address and 

phone number of the School Director 

(D) the type of Commission approved 

training course in which accreditation 

is being sought; 

(E) the type and location of all facilities to 

be used in administering the 

Commission-approved training 

course; and 

(F) the signature of the institution head or 

executive officer. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09I .0105 MEDICAL FORMS 

(a)  The following are Commission-approved forms to be used by 

agencies and Commission-accredited delivery sites during the 

application for criminal justice certification or Commission-

approved training course enrollment: 

(1) Form F-1, Medical History Statement, shall 

include the following: 

(A) Name, date of birth, address, 

telephone number; 

(B) Current medications, allergies, and 

past medical history; 

(C) Occupational history; and 

(D) Name and signature of a physician, 

physician assistant, or nurse 

practitioner who holds a current 

license in the United States to practice 

medicine, as issued by a state medical 

board. 

(2) Form F-2, Medical Examination Report, shall 

include the following: 

(A) Name, date of birth, employing 

agency, height, weight, and last 4 

digits of the Social 

Security Number for the person being 

examined; 

(B) Results of Vision Acuity; 

(C) Results of Hearing Acuity; 
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(D) Results of Cardiovascular 

Examination; 

(E) Certification that the individual being 

examined does or does not meet 

medical standards; 

and 

(F) Name, signature, and medical license 

number of the examining medical 

professional. 

(3) Form F-2A, Tuberculosis Questionnaire, shall 

include the following: 

(A) Name, date of birth, and employing 

agency of individual completing the 

form; 

(B) Tuberculosis Risk Questions and 

individual's response; and 

(C) Tuberculosis Symptoms Questions 

and individual's response. 

(4) Form F-2B, Medical Examination Report 

Addendum, shall include the following; 

(A) Name, date of birth, and employing 

agency of individual being examined; 

(B) Additional Exam Notes, if any; 

(C) Certification that the individual being 

examined does or does not meet 

medical standards; 

and 

(D) Name, signature, and medical license 

number of examining medical 

professional. 

(5) Form F-31, Request for Accommodation, shall 

include the following: 

(A) Name, signature, and date of birth of 

requesting student; 

(B) Accredited delivery site, and name of 

certified school director; 

(C) Reason for Accommodation; and 

(D) Proposed Accommodation. 

(6) Web Form WF-5 CJ Standards Specialized 

Training Student Injury Report for SMI, 

Instructor Courses, shall include the following: 

(A) Course name, course dates, and 

training location; 

(B) Injured student's name, date of birth, 

and academy ID #; and 

(C) Injury information. 

 

Authority G.S 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09I .0106 SPEED-MEASURING 

INSTRUMENT (SMI) FORMS 

(a)  The following are Commission-approved forms to be used by 

certified SMI instructors during the administration of speed 

measuring instrument courses: 

(1) Form SMI-1, Moving/Stationary RADAR 

Motor Skill Performance Test, shall include the 

following: 

(A) Trainee's full name, employing law 

enforcement agency, date of birth, 

Acadis ID number, email address, and 

phone number; 

(B) RADAR instrument being tested on 

and name of the instrument's 

manufacturer; 

(C) Modes being tested on; 

(D) Verification by the evaluating 

instructor that the trainee completed 

each step of the instrument sign-off, 

evidenced by the instructor's initials; 

(E) Timing and results of the trainee's 

motor skills testing; and 

(F) Name, Acadis ID number, and 

signature of each evaluating instructor 

verifying whether the trainee 

successfully completed the motor skill 

performance test. 

(2) Form SMI-1A, Moving/Stationary RADAR 

Motor Skill Performance Test Sign-Off, shall 

include the following: 

(A) Trainee's full name, employing law 

enforcement agency, date of birth, 

Acadis ID number, email address, and 

phone number; 

(B) RADAR instrument being tested on, 

and the name of the instrument's 

manufacturer; 

(C) Modes being tested on; 

(D) Verification by the evaluating 

instructor that the trainee completed 

each step of the instrument sign-off, 

evidenced by the instructor's initials; 

and 

(E) Name, Acadis ID number, and 

signature of each evaluating instructor 

verifying whether the trainee 

successfully completed the motor skill 

performance test. 

(3) Form SMI-13, Lidar Motor Skill Performance 

Test, shall include the following: 

(A) Trainee's full name, employing law 

enforcement agency, date of birth, 

Acadis ID number, email address, and 

phone number; 

(B) Lidar instrument being tested on and 

name of the instrument's 

manufacturer; 

(C) Verification by the evaluating 

instructor that the trainee completed 

each step of the instrument sign-off, 

evidenced by the instructor's initials; 

and 

(D) Name, Acadis ID number, and 

signature of each evaluating instructor 

verifying whether the trainee 

successfully completed the motor skill 

performance test. 
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(4) Form SMI-16, Written Endorsement to Attend 

Supplemental SMI Training, shall include the 

following: 

(A) Name, Acadis ID number, date of 

birth, email address, and employing 

law enforcement agency of each 

trainee enrolled in the course; 

(B) List of speed measuring instruments 

each trainee is currently certified to 

operate; 

(C) Dates and location of training; 

(D) Name, Acadis ID number, and 

signature of each instructor of the 

course; and 

(E) Name, employing agency, title, email 

address, phone number, and signature 

of School Director, agency head, 

agency head designee, or in-service 

training coordinator. 

(b)  The following are Commission-approved forms to be used by 

individuals applying for certification as a radar operator: 

(1) Form SMI-14, Trainee's Statement of Prior 

Radar Training, is a form to be filled out by a 

trainee enrolled in a radar or radar/lidar 

operator training course, as prescribed by 12 

NCAC 09B .0212(a) and .0242(a) who has 

previously been certified by the Commission as 

a radar operator. The trainee must sign and date 

the form prior to submission. The form shall 

also include the following: 

(A) Trainee's full name, Acadis ID 

number, date of birth, and employing 

law enforcement agency; 

(B) Name of the institution or agency at 

which the trainee received prior 

training; 

(C) Location where the prior radar training 

took place; and 

(D) End date and total hours of prior radar 

training. 

(2) Form SMI-15, SMI Operator Supervised Field 

Instruction/Practice Log, is a form to be 

completed by a trainee completing Supervised 

Field Practice within the 90 days following the 

completion of a SMI operator course. The form 

shall include the following: 

(A) Trainee's full name, employing law 

enforcement agency, Acadis ID 

number, email address, and phone 

number; 

(B) Dates and times of supervised field 

practice; 

(C) Name, Acadis ID number, and 

signature of each evaluator providing 

supervision; 

(D) Location and end date of the trainee's 

SMI operator course; 

(E) Name and modes of instrument used 

during the supervised field practice; 

(F) Total time of supervised field practice; 

and 

(G) Trainee's signature and date of form 

completion. 

(c)  The following are Commission-approved forms to be used 

during annual accuracy tests of speed measuring instruments: 

(1) Form SMI-9, Record of Radar Instrument 

Calibration and Accuracy Tests, shall include 

the following: 

(A) Agency or organization name; 

(B) Instrument model, manufacturer, 

serial number, modes, and features; 

(C) Accuracy and Standards tests results 

for the counter box, antennas, and 

tuning forks; and 

(D) Name, license or certification 

information, and signature of the 

testing technician verifying that the 

instrument passed the tests. 

(2) Form SMI-12, Record of Lidar Instrument 

Calibration and Accuracy Tests, shall include 

the following: 

(A) Agency or organization name; 

(B) Instrument model, manufacturer, 

serial number, modes, and features; 

(C) Accuracy and Standards tests results 

as indicated by Pass or Fail; and 

(D) Name, license or certification 

information, and signature of the 

testing technician verifying that the 

instrument passed the tests. 

 

Authority G.S. 8-50.2; 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09I .0107 PROFESSIONAL 

CERTIFICATES FORMS 

(a)  The following are Commission-approved forms to be used by 

individuals to apply for a new or replacement Professional 

Certificate: 

(1) Form 6 (LE), Application for Award of Law 

Enforcement Certificate, shall include the 

following: 

(A) Applicant's name, date of birth, last 

four digits of Social Security Number; 

(B) Applicant's address, phone, and email 

address; 

(C) Employing agency and agency 

address; 

(D) Type of award applying for; 

(E) Law enforcement experience 

(agencies and years of law 

enforcement experience); 

(F) Completed law enforcement training 

courses; 

(G) Level of college education; 

(H) Name and signature of applicant; and 

(I) Name and signature of agency head or 

In-Service Training Coordinator. 
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(2) Form 6 (DAC), Application for Award of 

Criminal Justice Certificate, shall include the 

following: 

(A) Applicant's name, date of birth, last 

four digits of Social Security Number; 

(B) Applicant's address, phone, and email 

address; 

(C) Employing agency and agency 

address; 

(D) Type of award applying for; 

(E) Criminal justice experience (agencies 

and years of criminal justice 

experience); 

(F) Completed criminal justice training 

courses; 

(G) Level of college education; 

(H) Name and signature of applicant; and 

(I) Name and signature of agency head or 

In-Service Training Coordinator. 

(3) Form 6 (DJJ), Application for Award of 

Juvenile Justice Certificate, shall include the 

following: 

(A) Applicant's name, date of birth, last 

four digits of Social Security Number; 

(B) Applicant's address, phone, and email 

address; 

(C) Employing agency and agency 

address; 

(D) Type of award applying for; 

(E) Juvenile justice experience (agencies 

and years of juvenile justice 

experience); 

(F) Completed juvenile justice training 

courses; 

(G) Level of college education; 

(H) Name and signature of applicant; and 

(I) Name and signature of agency head or 

In-Service Training Coordinator. 

(4) Form F-7, Request for Replacement of 

Professional Certificate, shall include the 

following: 

(A) Awardee's name, date of birth, and last 

four digits of Social Security Number; 

(B) Awardee's address, phone, and email 

address; 

(C) Type of replacement certificate; 

(D) Printed name and signature of 

awardee; and 

(E) Name and signature of agency head or 

In-Service Training Coordinator, if 

still employed at an agency. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Environmental Management Commission intends to amend the 

rules cited as 15A NCAC 02B .0206; and 02H .0107. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-

resources/water­resources-commissions/environmental-

management-commission/emc-proposed-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  March 1, 2026 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  November 5, 2025 

Time:  3:30 p.m. 

Location:  Archdale Building, Ground Floor Hearing Room - 512 

North Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27604 

 

Speaker registration and sign-in will begin at 3:00 p.m. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The Environmental Management 

Commission (EMC) and Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ), Division of Water Resources (DWR), have the 

responsibility to implement and enforce provisions of the federal 

Clean Water Act and have delegated permitting authority to 

implement the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

(NPDES) Program. The rule amendments are outlined in Session 

Law 2024-44 (s. 5.1) to allow domestic wastewater discharges to 

zero flow streams, which will align North Carolina with 

neighboring states. By providing an additional permitting option, 

this may provide additional opportunities for growth in these 

areas where the cost of piping to a higher flowing stream farther 

away was prohibitive. The Session Law also requires the EMC to 

adopt rules incorporating the amendments. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Karen Higgins, DEQ-DWR 

Planning Section, 1611 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-

1611; email publiccomments@deq.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 14, 2025 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 
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Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 02B - SURFACE WATER AND 

WETLAND STANDARDS 

 

SECTION .0200 - CLASSIFICATIONS AND WATER 

QUALITY STANDARDS APPLICABLE TO SURFACE 

WATERS AND WETLANDS OF NORTH CAROLINA 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0206 FLOW DESIGN CRITERIA FOR 

EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS 

(a)  For purposes of this Rule, the following definitions shall 

apply: 

(1) "1Q10" means the minimum average flow for a 

period of one day that has an average recurrence 

of once in ten years; 

(2) "7Q10" means the minimum average flow for a 

period of seven consecutive days that has an 

average recurrence of once in ten years; 

(3) "30Q2" means the minimum average flow for a 

period of 30 consecutive days that has an 

average recurrence of once in two years; 

(4) "Mean annual flow" means the same as "annual 

mean flow" as defined in 40 CFR 125.83. 

(5) The "Rational Method" estimates peak flow for 

a storm of interest as a function of a composite 

runoff coefficient, rainfall intensity for the 

storm of interest, and drainage area. 

(a)(b)  Water quality based effluent limitations shall be developed 

to allow appropriate frequency and duration of deviations from 

water quality standards so that the designated uses of receiving 

streams and downstream waters are protected. There are water 

quality standards for a number of categories of pollutants and to 

protect a range of water uses. For this reason, the appropriate 

frequency and duration of deviations from water quality standards 

shall not be the same for all pollutants. A flow design criterion 

shall be used in the development of water quality based effluent 

limitations as a simplified means of estimating the acceptable 

frequency and duration of deviations. More complex modeling 

techniques that the Director has determined on a case-by-case 

basis will protect the designated uses of receiving streams and 

downstream waters may be used to set effluent limitations based 

on frequency and duration criteria published by the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency and incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. Frequency and 

duration criteria published by the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency is available free of charge at: 

http://water.epa.gov/scitech/swguidance/standards/criteria/curren

t/index.cfm. 

(c)  Effluent Water quality based effluent limitations shall be 

developed using the following flow design criteria: 

(1) All standards except Except for toxic 

substances and aesthetics aesthetics, all water 

quality standards shall be protected using the 

7Q10 flow. minimum average flow for a period 

of seven consecutive days that has an average 

recurrence of once in ten years (7Q10 flow). 

Other governing flow strategies, such as 

varying discharges with the receiving stream's 

or downstream water's waters ability to 

assimilate wastes, may be designated by the 

Commission or its designee Director on a 

case-by-case basis if the discharger or permit 

applicant provides evidence that establishes 

that the alternative flow strategies will give 

equal or better protection for the of water 

quality standards standards. "Better protection 

for the water quality standards" means that such 

that deviations from the standard would be 

expected at the same or less frequently 

frequency than provided by using the 7Q10 

flow. 

(2) Toxic substances shall be protected as follows: 

(A) Toxic substance standards to protect 

aquatic life from chronic toxicity shall 

be protected using the 7Q10 flow. 

flow; 

(3)(B) Toxic substance standards to protect 

aquatic life from acute toxicity shall be 

protected using the 1Q10 flow. flow; 

(4) Toxic substance standards to protect human 

health shall be the following: 

(A)(C) Toxic substance The 7Q10 flow for 

standards to protect human health 

through the consumption of water, 

fish, and shellfish from 

noncarcinogens; noncarcinogens shall 

be protected using the 7Q10 flow; and 

(B)(D) The mean annual flow Toxic 

substance standards to protect human 

health from carcinogens through the 

consumption of water, fish, and 

shellfish from carcinogens shall be 

protected using the mean annual flow, 

unless site specific fish contamination 

concerns necessitate the use of an 

alternative design flow; flow. 

(5)(3) Aesthetic quality shall be protected using the 

30Q2 flow. minimum average flow for a period 

of 30 consecutive days that has an average 

recurrence of once in two years (30Q2 flow). 

More complex modeling techniques may also be used to set 

effluent limitations directly based on frequency and duration 

criteria published by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 

available free of charge at 

http://water.epa.gov/scitech/swguidance/standards/criteria/curren

t/index.cfm and incorporated by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, and the Commission or its designee has 

determined, on a case-by-case basis, that the techniques will 

protect the designated uses of receiving waters. 
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(b)(d)  If the stream flow is regulated, a minimum daily low flow 

may be used as a substitute for the 7Q10 flow, except in cases 

where there are acute toxicity concerns for aquatic life. In the 

cases For streams where there are acute toxicity concerns, an 

alternative low flow, such as the instantaneous minimum release, 

shall be approved used if the Director determines, on a 

case-by-case basis, that the designated uses of receiving streams 

and downstream waters are protected. 

(c)(e)  Flow design criteria shall be used to develop water quality 

based effluent limitations and in the design of wastewater 

treatment facilities. Deviations from a specific water quality 

standard resulting from discharges that are demonstrated to be in 

compliance with water quality based effluent limitations for that 

water quality standard shall not be a violation pursuant to G.S. 

143-215.6 143-215.6A when the actual stream flow is less than 

the design flow. 

(d)(f)  If the 7Q10 flow of the receiving stream is estimated to be 

zero, zero and the 30Q2 flow of the receiving stream is estimated 

to be greater than zero, then water quality based effluent 

limitations shall be assigned as follows: 

(1) If the 30Q2 flow is estimated to be greater than 

zero, effluent limitations for new New or 

expanded (additional) discharges of oxygen 

consuming waste shall be set at BOD5= 5 mg/l, 

NH3-N = 2 mg/l and DO = 6 mg/l, unless it is 

determined by the Director through modeling or 

other analysis that these limitations will not 

protect water quality standards. Requirements 

for existing discharges shall be determined on a 

case-by-case basis by the Director. More 

stringent limits shall be applied if violations of 

water quality standards are predicted to occur 

for a new or expanded discharge with the limits 

set pursuant to this Rule or if existing limits are 

determined to be inadequate to protect water 

quality standards. 

(2) If the 30Q2 and 7Q10 flows are both estimated 

to be zero, no new or expanded discharge of 

oxygen consuming waste shall be allowed. 

Requirements for existing discharges to streams 

where the 30Q2 and 7Q10 flows are both 

estimated to be zero shall be determined on a 

case-by-case basis. 

(3)(2) Other water quality standards shall be protected 

by requiring the discharge to meet the water 

quality standards set forth in this Subchapter, 

unless the Director determines that alternative 

limitations protect the designated uses of 

receiving streams and downstream waters. 

classified water uses. 

(3) Requirements for existing discharges shall be 

determined on a case-by-case basis by the 

Director. 

(g)  If the 7Q10 flow and the 30Q2 flow of the receiving streams 

are both estimated to be zero, then the following shall apply to 

new or expanded domestic wastewater discharges of oxygen 

consuming waste: 

(1) The proposed permitted flow for the wastewater 

discharge shall be lesser of: 

(A) No more than one-tenth of the flow 

generated by the one-year, 24-hour 

storm event based on the drainage area 

of the receiving stream at the 

discharge location and calculated 

using the Rational Method. The 

Rational Method shall be used to 

calculate the peak runoff for the one-

year, 24-hour precipitation event in 

cubic feet per second. The peak runoff 

shall then be divided by 10 and 

multiplied by 646,272 to convert the 

result to gallons per day of allowable 

discharge at the point studied; or 

(B) No more than two million gallons per 

day. 

(2) All wastewater discharges shall be directed to a 

system that utilizes low-energy methodologies 

prior to discharging to receiving streams at non-

erosive velocities, such as: 

(A) An infiltration system, which may 

include engineered materials to 

achieve higher rates of infiltration. 

Engineered materials shall have an 

ASTM gradation of fine to coarse 

grain sand and shall be angular to 

maintain structural integrity of the 

slope; 

(B) Constructed free-surface wetland with 

a hydraulic residence time of at least 

14 days; or 

(C) Other technologies that meet the 

standard of practice for NC Licensed 

Professional Engineers for such 

devices that provide a hydraulic 

residence time of at least 14 days. 

(3) Wastewater discharges to the receiving stream 

shall not exceed one cubic foot per second 

based on the average daily flow of the 

discharge. Wastewater discharges from 

multiple outfalls shall be at least 50 linear feet 

apart along the receiving streams. 

(4) No wastewater discharges shall be allowed to 

Class SA, SB, SC, WS-I, WS-II, WS-III, WS-

IV, WS-V, ORW or HQW waters. 

(5) For wastewater discharges to NSW waters, the 

Director may require additional modeling by 

the applicant. Additional allocation of flow 

shall be at the discretion of the Director. 

(6) In addition to any other effluent limits for any 

other parameters to ensure the permit does not 

violate any EPA-approved NC water quality 

standards, the following effluent limits shall 

apply: 

(A) Biological oxygen demand (BOD5) 

shall not exceed 5.0 mg/l monthly 

average; 

(B) NH3, 0.5 mg/l monthly average, 1.0 

mg/l daily maximum; 
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(C) Total nitrogen shall not exceed 4.0 

mg/l monthly average; 

(D) Total phosphorus, 1.0 mg/l monthly 

average, 2.0 mg/l daily maximum; 

(E) Fecal coliforms, 14 colonies/100ml or 

less; 

(F) Dissolved oxygen, 7.0 mg/l or greater; 

(G) Total suspended solids, 5.0 mg/l 

monthly average, 8mg/l daily 

maximum; and 

(H) Nitrate, 1.0 mg/l monthly average, 2.0 

mg/l daily maximum. 

The Director may impose different effluent 

limits than those set forth in Parts (A) through 

(H) in Subparagraph (g)(6) of this Rule to 

ensure that the permit does not violate any 

EPA-approved NC water quality standards. 

(7) The applicant shall demonstrate: 

(A) The proposed discharge meets the 

requirements in Subparagraphs (g)(1), 

(2), (3), and (4) of this Rule; 

(B) The proposed discharge is a domestic 

wastewater discharge as defined in 

Rule .0202 of this Subchapter; 

(C) When the receiving stream has 

naturally occurring low dissolved 

oxygen levels, the proposed discharge 

complies with G.S. 143-215.1(c7); 

(D) When the receiving stream does not 

have naturally occurring low 

dissolved oxygen levels, the proposed 

discharge does not reduce the 

dissolved oxygen levels of the 

receiving stream more than 0.1 mg/l 

below the approved modeled in-

stream dissolved oxygen level for the 

receiving stream at total permitted 

capacity for all discharges to such 

receiving stream. The applicant shall 

use a model utilized elsewhere in 

USEPA Region 4, such as the Streeter-

Phelps model used in the State of 

Alabama, and the selected model shall 

be approved by the Director as suitable 

for the particular discharge and 

receiving stream. 

(8) If an applicant requests less stringent effluent 

limits than those set forth in Subparagraph 

(g)(6) of this Rule, then the applicant shall 

conduct more complex modeling. The applicant 

shall use a model accepted elsewhere in 

USEPA Region 4 that is approved by the 

Director as suitable for the particular discharge 

and receiving stream. The modeling must 

demonstrate the requirement in Part (g)(7)(B) 

or (g)(7)(C) of this Rule, whichever is 

applicable, is met, and all EPA-approved NC 

water quality standards are protected. 

(9) Applicants shall provide either: 

(A) Mapping data from USGS; or 

(B) Mapping data prepared by an engineer 

of record licensed in the state of NC 

utilizing either USGS mapping data or 

other maps approved for use by the 

Director. 

(h)  If the 7Q10 flow and the 30Q2 flow of the receiving stream 

are both estimated to be zero, then new or expanded discharges of 

oxygen consuming waste that do not meet the criteria in Paragraph 

(g) of this Rule shall not be allowed. 

(i)  If the 7Q10 flow and the 30Q2 flow of the receiving stream 

are both estimated to be zero, then the requirements for existing 

discharges shall be determined on a case-by-case basis by the 

Director. 

(e)(j)  Receiving water flow statistics shall be estimated through 

consultation with the U.S. Geological Survey. Estimates for any 

given location may be based on actual flow data, modeling 

analyses, or other methods determined to be appropriate by the 

Commission or its designee. Director. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1(c7); 143-215.3(a)(1); SL 

2024-44 s. 5.1. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 02H - PROCEDURES FOR PERMITS: 

APPROVALS 

 

SECTION .0100 - POINT SOURCE DISCHARGES TO 

THE SURFACE WATERS 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0107 STAFF REVIEW AND 

EVALUATION 

(a)  The Director is authorized to accept applications for the 

Commission and shall refer all applications to the staff for review 

and evaluation. Additionally, the Director shall refer NPDES 

Permit applications for the discharge of waste into waters 

classified as sources of public water supply (WS classification) 

and shellfish waters classified SA to the Public Water Supply 

Section, Division of Water Resources, and the Shellfish 

Sanitation Program, Division of Marine Fisheries, respectively, 

both of the Department of Environmental Quality, and shall not 

take final action on such applications until receiving written 

confirmation that the proposed discharge is acceptable. 

(b)  The Director shall acknowledge receipt of an NPDES or 

Authorization to Construct permit application upon verifying that 

the application is administratively complete, that is, includes the 

completed and signed application forms specified in Rule 

.0105(a) of this Section, any necessary supplemental information, 

and any associated fees, in accordance with Rules .0105 and .0106 

of this Section. 

(1) If an application is not administratively 

complete, the Director shall either return the 

application to the applicant as incomplete or 

request the additional information required. If 

additional information is requested, the 

applicant shall be given up to 60 days to provide 

the information to make the application 

complete. 

(2) If technical review of the application reveals 

that additional information is necessary for staff 
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to evaluate the proposed discharge, the Director 

shall notify the applicant of the additional 

information required. The applicant may be 

given up to 60 days to provide the information 

to make the application complete.  

(3) If an application is submitted in accordance 

with 15A NCAC 02B .0206 (g), then the 

following shall also apply: 

(A) Within 30 days of the filing of an 

application for a wastewater discharge 

subject to 15A NCAC 02B .0206 (g), 

the Director shall determine whether 

or not the application is complete and 

notify the applicant accordingly. 

(B) If the Director determines an 

application is incomplete, the Director 

shall specify all such deficiencies in 

the notice to the applicant. 

(C) The applicant may file an amended 

application or supplemental 

information within 60 days to cure the 

deficiencies identified by the Director 

for the Director 's review. 

(c)  The staff shall review the application, supplemental 

information, and other pertinent information, such as monitoring 

data, compliance records, special studies, and water quality 

management plans, and shall make a tentative determination to 

issue, reissue, deny, modify, revoke, rescind, or deny the permit. 

(1) The staff shall conduct a site investigation of 

each facility prior to making its tentative 

determination regarding the NPDES permit. 

On-site investigations shall not be necessary for 

Authorization to Construct permits, activities 

covered under general permits, and renewal of 

individual permits when renewal does not 

require significant reevaluation of permit 

conditions such as to address expansion of 

treatment plant capacity, modification of the 

wastewater treatment process, or changes in the 

nature or source of wastewaters to be treated. 

(2) If the staff's tentative determination in 

Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph is to issue 

the permit, it shall if necessary make the 

following additional determinations in writing: 

(A) proposed effluent limitations for those 

pollutants proposed to be limited; 

(B) a proposed schedule of compliance, 

including interim dates and 

requirements, for meeting the 

proposed effluent limitations; and 

(C) a description of any other special 

conditions proposed in the draft 

permit. 

(3) The staff shall organize the determinations 

made pursuant to Subparagraphs (1) and (2) of 

this Paragraph into a draft permit. 

(d)  In the case of permits for which Notice of Intent is given in 

accordance with Rules .0105 and .0127 of this Section, a 

Certificate of Coverage under a general permit may be issued 

directly to the applicant in lieu of any other acknowledgment. If 

the discharge is not eligible for coverage under the general permit, 

or if the Notice of Intent is not complete and accompanied by the 

required application fee, the Notice of Intent shall be returned to 

the applicant with an explanation of the inadequacies. 

 

Authority G.S. 130-161; 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(4); 

143-215.1(a). 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 14 - COSMETIC ART EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners intends 

to readopt without substantive changes the rules cited as 21 

NCAC 14A .0101, .0104, .0401-.0404; 14B .0101, .0102, .0105, 

.0107, .0201, .0302, .0304-.0309, .0501-.0503, .0505, .0506, 

.0601, .0603, .0605, .0607, .0608; 14C .0101, .0103, .0201, .0203-

.0205, .0503, .0601, .0801-.0805, .0807, .0808, .0903, .0904, 

.0906-.0908; 14D .0101, .0103-.0105, .0302, .0303, .0305-.0310; 

14G .0103, .0116; 14H .0201, .0203, .0204, .0301-.0304, .0401-

.0404, .0501-.0504; 14I .0401; 14N .0102, .0103, .0107, .0110, 

.0111, .0115; 14P .0101, .0102, .0104-.0111, .0113, .0115-.0117; 

14R .0105; 14T .0101, .0102, .0201, .0301-.0305, .0401-.0404, 

.0501, .0502, .0601-.0617, .0701-.0703, .0705, .0706, .0802, 

.0803, and .0901. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published. The text of the rules are available on the OAH website: 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.nccosmeticarts.com/uploads/forms/Rules8-2025.pdf 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2026 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  September 30, 2025 

Time:  9:00am 

Location:  https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup- 

join/19%3ameeting_MjQ1MzY0ZTMtYzUyNS00OGFlLWE2ZD

YtMjJhNmQ4Njc3MDI2%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%

22%3a%22787b7dd2-dc22-468e-824e-

38787f4341d5%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%221c33f68a-8572-

4e9b-892c-17b15ac20ca0%22%7d 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Readoption of rules without 

substantive changes. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Stefanie Kuzdrall, 121 

Edinburgh South Dr Suite 209, Cary, NC 27511 

 

Comment period ends:  November 14, 2025 
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Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 14A – DEPARTMENTAL RULES 

 

SECTION .0100 – ORGANIZATION RULES 

 

21 NCAC 14A .0101 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14A .0104 ADDRESS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0400 - LICENSE WAIVER FOR ARMED 

FORCES 

 

21 NCAC 14A .0401 LICENSE WAIVER FOR ARMED 

FORCES (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14A .0402 DUPLICATE LICENSES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14A .0403 ADDITIONAL SALON CHAIRS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14A .0404 FEES (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SUBCHAPTER 14B - RULE-MAKING PROCEDURES 

 

SECTION .0100 - PETITIONS FOR RULE-MAKING 

 

21 NCAC 14B .0101 PETITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14B .0102 CONTENTS OF PETITIONS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14B .0105 GRANTING OR DENYING 

PETITIONS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14B .0107 FINAL DECISION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

SECTION .0200 - NOTICE 

 

21 NCAC 14B .0201 NOTICE TO PUBLIC 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0300 - HEARINGS 

 

21 NCAC 14B .0302 PROCEDURE FOR MAKING 

ORAL PRESENTATION AT HEARING (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14B .0304 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF A 

REQUEST TO MAKE AN ORAL PRESENTATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14B .0305 WRITTEN STATEMENT 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14B .0306 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14B .0307 CONTROL OF HEARINGS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14B .0308 REQUEST FOR STATEMENT 

ON ADOPTED RULE (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14B .0309 RECORDS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0500 - DECLARATORY RULINGS 

 

21 NCAC 14B .0501 REQUEST FOR DECLARATORY 

RULING (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14B .0502 CONTENTS OF REQUEST 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14B .0503 REFUSAL TO ISSUE 

DECLARATORY RULING (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14B .0505 PROCEDURE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14B .0506 CIRCUMSTANCES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0600 - FEES 

 

21 NCAC 14B .0601 COPYING CHARGES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14B .0603 POSTAGE AND HANDLING 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14B .0605 COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE 

FEE AND STAGGERED LICENSE RENEWAL 

SCHEDULE (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14B .0607 WAIVERS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14B .0608 COMPLAINTS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SUBCHAPTER 14C - CONTESTED CASES 
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SECTION .0100 - GENERAL RULES 

 

21 NCAC 14C .0101 ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14C .0103 PRESIDING OFFICER 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0200 - REQUEST FOR A HEARING 

 

21 NCAC 14C .0201 REQUEST (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14C .0203 WRITTEN REQUEST 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14C .0204 CONTENTS OF REQUEST 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14C .0205 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0500 – NOTICE 

 

21 NCAC 14C .0503 ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

ON NOTICES OF HEARINGS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0600 - WHO SHALL HEAR CONTESTED 

CASES 

 

21 NCAC 14C .0601 HEARING PANEL 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0800 - INTERVENTION 

 

21 NCAC 14C .0801 INTERVENTION OF RIGHT 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14C .0802 PERMISSIVE INTERVENTION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14C .0803 DISCRETIONARY 

INTERVENTION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14C .0804 ADVISABILITY (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14C .0805 WRITTEN MOTION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14C .0807 ALLOWANCE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14C .0808 DENIAL (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0900 - HEARING OFFICERS 

 

21 NCAC 14C .0903 BIAS OF BOARD MEMBER 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14C .0904 BIAS CLAIMED BY PARTY 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14C .0906 FILING AFFIDAVIT 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14C .0907 DISQUALIFICATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14C .0908 NEW HEARING (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SUBCHAPTER 14D - CONDUCT OF THE CONTESTED 

CASE 

 

SECTION .0100 - FAILURE TO APPEAR 

 

21 NCAC 14D .0101 PROCEEDING WITHOUT 

PARTY (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14D .0103 CONTINUANCES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14D .0104 PETITION TO REOPEN 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14D .0105 CRITERIA FOR REOPENING A 

CASE (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0300 - SUBPOENAS 

 

21 NCAC 14D .0302 ISSUANCE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14D .0303 SERVICE OF SUBPOENAS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14D .0305 OBJECTIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14D .0306 STATEMENT OF REASONS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14D .0307 SERVICE OF OBJECTIONS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14D .0308 RESPONSES TO OBJECTIONS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14D .0309 HEARINGS ON SUBPOENA 

CHALLENGES (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14D .0310 RULINGS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SUBCHAPTER 14G - REQUIREMENTS FOR THE 

ESTABLISHMENT OF COSMETIC ART SCHOOLS 

 

SECTION .0100 - PERMANENT FILES 

 

21 NCAC 14G .0103 SPACE REQUIREMENTS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14G .0116 RE-EVALUATION OF SCHOOLS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SUBCHAPTER 14H - SANITATION 

 

SECTION .0200 - SHOP LICENSING AND PHYSICAL 

DIMENSIONS 

 

21 NCAC 14H .0201 APPLICATION FOR SHOP 

LICENSE (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14H .0203 NEWLY ESTABLISHED SHOPS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
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21 NCAC 14H .0204 DIMENSIONS WITHIN 

COSMETIC ART SHOPS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0300 - COSMETIC ART SHOP AND 

EQUIPMENT 

 

21 NCAC 14H .0301 WATER (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14H .0302 VENTILATION AND LIGHT 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14H .0303 BATHROOM FACILITIES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14H .0304 EQUIPMENT (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0400 - INFECTION CONTROL PROCEDURES 

AND PRACTICES 

 

21 NCAC 14H .0401 LICENSEES AND STUDENTS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14H .0402 COSMETIC ART SHOPS AND 

SCHOOLS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14H .0403 DISINFECTION PROCEDURES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14H .0404 FIRST AID (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0500 - ENFORCEMENT, MAINTENANCE OF 

LICENSURE 

 

21 NCAC 14H .0501 INSPECTION OF COSMETIC 

ART SHOPS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14H .0502 FAILURE TO PERMIT 

INSPECTION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14H .0503 SANITARY RATINGS AND 

POSTING OF RATINGS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14H .0504 SYSTEMS OF GRADING 

BEAUTY ESTABLISHMENTS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SUBCHAPTER 14I - OPERATIONS OF SCHOOLS OF 

COSMETIC ART 

 

SECTION .0400 - LICENSURE OF INDIVIDUALS WHO 

HAVE BEEN CONVICTED OF A FELONY 

 

21 NCAC 14I .0401

 APPLICATION/LICENSURE/INDIVIDUALS 

WHO HAVE BEEN CONVICTED OF FELONY 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SUBCHAPTER 14N - EXAMINATIONS 

 

SECTION .0100 – GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

21 NCAC 14N .0102 INITIAL APPLICATIONS AND 

FEES (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14N .0103 GENERAL EXAMINATION 

INSTRUCTIONS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14N .0107 SPECIAL ARRANGEMENTS 

FOR DISABLED (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14N .0110 PASSING GRADES FOR 

EXAMINATION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14N .0111 NOTIFICATION OF 

EXAMINATION RESULTS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14N .0115 FULL TIME AND PART TIME 

EQUIVALENCY (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SUBCHAPTER 14P – CIVIL PENALTY 

 

SECTION .0100 – CIVIL PENALTY 

 

21 NCAC 14P .0101 SCHEDULE OF CIVIL 

PENALTIES (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14P .0102 QUALIFICATIONS FOR 

LICENSING TEACHERS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14P .0104 LICENSING OF COSMETIC 

ART SHOPS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14P .0105 RENEWALS; EXPIRED 

LICENSES; LICENSES REQUIRED (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14P .0106 LICENSES REQUIRED 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14P .0107 LICENSES TO BE POSTED 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14P .0108 REVOCATION OF LICENSES 

AND OTHER DISCIPLINARY MEASURES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14P .0109 INSPECTIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14P .0110 LICENSING OF BEAUTY 

SALONS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14P .0111 ESTABLISHMENT OF 

COSMETIC ART SCHOOLS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14P .0113 OPERATIONS OF SCHOOLS OF 

COSMETIC ART (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14P .0115 SANITARY RATINGS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14P .0116 CIVIL PENALTY PROCEDURES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
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21 NCAC 14P .0117 RULE COMPLIANCE AND 

ENFORCEMENT MEASURES (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SUBCHAPTER 14R – CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

SECTION .0100 – CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

21 NCAC 14R .0105 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SUBCHAPTER 14T – COSMETIC ART SCHOOLS 

 

SECTION .0100 - SCOPE AND SCHOOL APPLICATIONS 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0101 SCOPE AND DEFINITIONS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0102 NEW SCHOOL APPLICATIONS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0200 - PHYSICAL REQUIREMENTS FOR 

COSMETIC ART SCHOOLS 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0201 ALL COSMETIC ART SCHOOLS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0300 - SCHOOL EQUIPMENT AND SUPPLIES 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0301 EQUIPMENT FOR ALL 

COSMETIC ART SCHOOLS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0302 EQUIPMENT FOR 

COSMETOLOGY SCHOOLS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0303 EQUIPMENT FOR ESTHETICS 

SCHOOLS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0304 EQUIPMENT FOR 

MANICURING SCHOOLS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0305 EQUIPMENT FOR NATURAL 

HAIR CARE STYLING SCHOOLS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0400 - STUDENT EQUIPMENT 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0401 COSMETOLOGY AND 

APPRENTICE STUDENT EQUIPMENT (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0402 ESTHETICS STUDENT 

EQUIPMENT (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0403 MANICURING STUDENT 

EQUIPMENT (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0404 NATURAL HAIR CARE 

STYLING STUDENT EQUIPMENT (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0500 - RECORD KEEPING 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0501 SUBMISSION OF RECORDS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0502 PERMANENT RECORDS, 

FORMS, AND DOCUMENTATION (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0600 - CURRICULA 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0601 COSMETIC ART CURRICULA 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0602 COSMETOLOGY 

CURRICULUM (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0603 APPRENTICE COSMETOLOGY 

CURRICULUM (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0604 ESTHETICS CURRICULUM 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0605 MANICURING CURRICULUM 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0606 NATURAL HAIR CARE 

CURRICULUM (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0607 COSMETOLOGY TEACHER 

TRAINEE CURRICULUM (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0608 ESTHETIC TEACHER TRAINEE 

CURRICULUM (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0609 MANICURIST TEACHER 

TRAINEE CURRICULUM (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0610 NATURAL HAIR CARE 

TEACHER CURRICULUM (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0611 ONLINE INSTRUCTION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0612 INSTRUCTION GUIDELINES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0613 UNIFORMS AND 

IDENTIFICATION (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0614 INTERNSHIPS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0615 FIELD TRIPS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0616 ADDITIONAL HOURS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0617 TEACHER TRAINEES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0700 - SCHOOL LICENSURE, OPERATIONS, 

CLOSING AND RELOCATING SCHOOLS 
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21 NCAC 14T .0701 SCHOOL 

OPERATIONS/LICENSURE MAINTENANCE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0702 TRANSFER OF CREDIT 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0703 EXPIRATION OF STUDENT 

CREDIT (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0705 SCHOOL PERFORMANCE 

REQUIREMENTS (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0706 SCHOOL APPROVAL CHANGES 

AND SCHOOL CLOSING (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0800 – SCHOOL INSPECTIONS 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0802 SCHOOL INFECTION 

CONTROL GRADES (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

21 NCAC 14T .0803 SCHOOL INSPECTIONS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0900 – DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0901 SCHOOL PROBATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 34 - FUNERAL SERVICE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Funeral Service intends to amend the rules cited as 21 

NCAC 34A .0101, .0123, .0127; 34B .0104, .0110, .0126, .0202, 

.0401, .0414, .0507, .0508, .0510, .0605, .0613, .0615, .0703, 

.0706; 34D .0304, and repeal the rules cited as 21 NCAC 34B 

.0501; and 34C .0305. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 

on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncbfs.org/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  February 1, 2026 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  October 8, 2025 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  1033 Wade Ave, Ste 108, Raleigh, NC 27605 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  21 NCAC 34A .0101 – To provide 

the website address for the Board 

21 NCAC 34A .0123 – To update the information that a member 

of the public must submit to the Board to initiate a consumer 

complaint 

21 NCAC 34A .0127 – To update the manner in which documents 

may be submitted to the Board 

21 NCAC 34B .0104 – To clarify the manner in which trainees 

may notify the Board of a change of employment 

21 NCAC 34B .0110 – To update the information that trainees 

must submit on their monthly work reports to the Board 

21 NCAC 34B .0126 – To define the activities that must be 

performed during the course of a resident traineeship 

21 NCAC 34B .0202 – To update the information that applicants 

for exam eligibility and for individual licensure must submit to the 

Board 

21 NCAC 34B .0401 – To update the manner in which the public 

may receive notification of Board-approved CE courses. 

21 NCAC 34B .0414 – To eliminate references to continuing 

education offered by antiquated technology 

21 NCAC 34B .0501 – To repeal a separate application process 

for applicants residing outside of North Carolina. 

21 NCAC 34B .0507 – To clarify the annual renewal deadline for 

courtesy card holders 

21 NCAC 34B .0508 – To update the information that applicants 

for courtesy cards must submit to the Board 

21 NCAC 34B .0510 – To update the information that courtesy 

card holders must submit to the Board to renew a courtesy card 

21 NCAC 34B .0605 – To clarify the application process for a 

funeral establishment following a change of ownership 

21 NCAC 34B .0613 – To update the record retention schedule 

for disclosure statements held by funeral establishments 

21 NCAC 34B .0615 – To revise the requirements for corrections 

of violations following a funeral establishment inspection 

21 NCAC 34B .0703 – To clarify the requirements for disposal of 

refuse and ventilation in a preparation room within a funeral 

establishment. 

21 NCAC 34B .0706 – To update the information that must be 

submitted to the Board upon application for an embalming 

facility. 

21 NCAC 34C .0305 – To repeal duplicative language set forth in 

rule that now has been codified in statute, following enactment of 

S.L. 2025-76 

21 NCAC 34D .0304 – To clarify the information that must be 

provided to the Board following the transfer of preneed funeral 

funds from one financial institution to another 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Amy Acord, 1033 Wade Ave, 

Ste 108, Raleigh, NC 27605; phone (919) 733-9380; email 

aacord@ncbfs.org 

 

Comment period ends:  November 14, 2025 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review:  If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 

the rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 34A - BOARD FUNCTIONS 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

21 NCAC 34A .0101 AGENCY NAME AND ADDRESS 

The name of the agency promulgating the rules in this Chapter is 

the North Carolina Board of Funeral Service. As used in these 

Rules, the word "Board" shall refer to this agency. The office of 

the Board is located at 1033 Wade Avenue, Suite 108, Raleigh, 

North Carolina 27605. The Board's website address is ncbfs.org. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.22; 90-210.23(a). 

 

21 NCAC 34A .0123 CONSUMER COMPLAINT 

FORM 

The Board may provide consumer complaint forms. The 

complainant shall furnish the names and addresses of all parties 

involved, a description of the complaint, the signature of the 

complainant, and other information that the Board deems 

necessary as required by law. 

(a)  Initiation. Any individual with personal knowledge that any 

person has violated statutes or rules governed by the Board (the 

"Complainant') may file a complaint by submitting a complaint 

form through the Board's website, by emailing a complaint form 

to complaints@ncbfs.org, or by mailing a copy of the complaint 

to the Board's office. 

(b)  Form. The complaint shall contain a narrative of the acts or 

omissions about which the Complainant is concerned and shall be 

signed by the Complainant. The complaint shall include: 

(1) the name, address, email address, and telephone 

number of the Complainant; 

(2) the name and address of the person or business 

against which the complaint is made (the 

"Respondent"); 

(3) a statement of the facts that describe the 

allegations against the Respondent; 

(4) Complainant's attestation that: 

(A) the information in the complaint is true 

and accurate to the best of the 

Complainant's recollection; 

(B) the Complainant agrees to cooperate 

with the Board's investigation of the 

complaint by furnishing to the Board 

all pertinent or requested information 

and records in the Complainant's 

possession concerning the alleged 

misconduct of the Respondent; 

(C) the Complainant shall testify as a 

witness if a hearing is held concerning 

the alleged misconduct of the 

Respondent; 

(D) the Complainant understands his or 

her identity will be disclosed to the 

Respondent; 

(E) the Complainant understands that 

anonymous complaints will not be 

processed by the Board; 

(F) the Complainant understands that the 

Board cannot provide him or her with 

legal advice, cannot represent the 

Complainant or intervene on his or her 

behalf in court proceedings, and 

cannot provide any opinions or make 

any determinations regarding civil 

liability; 

(G) the Complainant understands that he 

or she should not wait for the Board's 

disposition of the complaint before 

pursuing any legal claim or seeking 

legal advice, if he or she believes that 

damages have been incurred because 

of an alleged act or omission by 

Respondent. 

(c)  The Board shall process complaints in accordance with 21 

NCAC 34A .0126. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a); 90-210.18(a); 90-210.25(e); 90-

210.134(a). 

 

21 NCAC 34A .0127 FILING SUBMISSION OF 

DOCUMENTS 

Any document that does not require a fingerprint card or the 

payment of a fee, or that does not pertain to elections to the N.C. 

Crematory Authority or to a resident traineeship, may be filed 

with the Board by U.S. mail, private courier service, facsimile, or 

hand delivery. All other documents must be filed by U.S. mail, 

private courier service, or hand delivery. Documents shall be 

considered filed submitted to the Board on the date of receipt by 

the Board or, if sent by U.S. mail or private courier service, on the 

date of postmark or date stamp used by the private courier 

respectively. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 34B - FUNERAL SERVICE 

 

SECTION .0100 - RESIDENT TRAINEES 

 

21 NCAC 34B .0104 CHANGE IN EMPLOYMENT 

Each resident trainee shall complete an application form 

prescribed by the Board prior to making any change in 

employment during the resident traineeship. The form shall be 

signed and dated by the resident trainee and shall require the 
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applicant resident trainee to furnish the name of the trainee, the 

former funeral establishment and supervisor, the dates of services 

with the former funeral establishment, the proposed funeral 

establishment and supervisor, the proposed effective date of the 

change, and any other information the Board deems necessary as 

determined by law. the reason for the change in employment. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a); 90-210.25(a)(4)c.. 

 

21 NCAC 34B .0110 WORK REPORTS AND 

CHECKLISTS 

(a)  Active resident trainees shall submit a work report to the 

Board every month on a form provided by the Board no later than 

the 10th day of the calendar month that immediately follows the 

month during which the work was performed. On the work report, 

the resident trainee shall provide: 

(1) The trainee's name and signature; name, trainee 

number, and email address; 

(2) The month during which the work was 

performed; 

(3) The number of hours worked during that 

month; 

(4) The name and address name, address, and 

permit number of the funeral establishment 

where the resident trainee is working; 

(5) A description of the work performed in the 

practice of funeral service during that month; 

(6) The name, license number, and notarized 

signature of the trainee's supervisor; and 

(7) The name, license number, and notarized 

signature of the licensed manager of the funeral 

establishment where the resident trainee is 

working. 

(b)  By signing the work report, the trainee's supervisor shall 

certify that the data contained in the report is correct. Neither the 

trainee nor the trainee's supervisor shall be permitted to amend or 

revise the work report after it is submitted to the Board. The Board 

shall not accept incomplete work reports and a trainee who fails 

to submit a complete work report by the due date shall be subject 

to the provisions of Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(c)  A late fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) shall be assessed 

against the trainee for each work report that is submitted to the 

Board after the due date. Following a trainee's first failure to 

timely submit a work report, the Board shall issue the trainee a 

letter that cautions against future non-compliance with this Rule. 

Following a trainee's second failure to timely submit a work 

report, the work set forth in the second untimely work report shall 

not be credited toward the certification of the trainee's resident 

traineeship. Following a trainee's third failure to timely submit a 

work report, the Board shall revoke the trainee's resident 

traineeship. 

(d)  Resident trainees shall maintain a checklist for each decedent 

for whom he or she performs funeral services on a form provided 

by the Board. The checklist shall contain the following 

information: 

(1) The name of the deceased person; 

(2) The date when the services were provided; 

(3) The trainee's name and signature; 

(4) A description of the funeral services provided; 

and 

(5) The supervisor's signature. 

(e)  Resident trainees shall maintain a list of the preneed funeral 

contracts with which the resident trainees participated. 

(f)  All documents and information set forth in this Rule shall be 

retained by the trainee until his or her traineeship requirement has 

been certified by the Board. During this time, the reports and 

information shall be subject to inspection by the Board or its 

authorized agent. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a); 90-210.23(d); 90-210.23(f); 90-

210.25(a)(4)e.; 90-210.25(a)(4)g.; 90-210.67(a); 90-210.69(a). 

 

21 NCAC 34B .0126 EMBALMING, FUNERAL 

DIRECTING AND FUNERAL SERVICE TRAINING 

(a)  To fulfill the requirements that funeral director and funeral 

service trainees shall substantially assist in directing at least 25 

funerals during their resident traineeship, such trainees shall, 

under supervision, assist in all of the components of "funeral 

directing," as defined in G.S. 90-210.20(f), but as limited by 21 

NCAC 34B .0103; and to G.S. 90-210.20(f). To achieve this end 

such trainees shall substantially assist in, in at least 25 cases, cases 

involving activities of arranging (whether performed at time of 

need or by assisting in preneed funeral planning activities or a 

combination) and, in and at least 25 cases, cases involving 

activities pertaining to the funeral ceremony and disposition of the 

body. To fulfill the requirements that embalming and funeral 

service trainees shall substantially assist in embalming at least 25 

bodies during their resident traineeship, such trainees shall, under 

supervision, substantially assist in all of the components of 

"embalming," as defined in G.S. 90-210.20(d). 

(b)  For purposes of this Rule, activities of arranging are defined 

as the following tasks: 

(1) At-need or preneed arranging, including all 

documents and records; 

(2) Imminent / pending death (hospice) arranging; 

(3) Observe sale of funeral service; 

(4) Prepare death notices / obituaries; 

(5) Ship-in / ship-out arrangements; 

(6) Prepare death certificates; 

(7) Secure permits, prepare VA or social security 

forms; 

(8) Witness / arrange cremation services; 

(9) Complete cremation authorization forms; 

(10) Identify authorizing agent or next-of-kin; and 

(11) Evaluate cases for medical examiner 

jurisdiction. 

(c)  For purposes of this Rule, activities of ceremony and 

disposition of the body are defined as the following task: 

(1) Assist with funeral or memorial or 

interment/committal ceremonies for casketed 

remains; 

(2) Assist with funeral or memorial or 

interment/committal ceremonies for cremated 

remains; 

(3) Receive visitors at viewing or funeral service; 

(4) Funeral procession and arrangement; and 

(5) Transport survivors and clergy. 
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(d)  For purposes of this Rules, embalming components are 

defined as the following tasks: 

(1) Setting features; 

(2) Mixing fluids; 

(3) Raising vessels and inserting tubes; 

(4) Injecting fluids; 

(5) Suturing incisions; 

(6) Cavity treatment; 

(7) Removal and disinfecting of body; 

(8) Positioning of body; 

(9) Restorative art treatment including hypodermic 

treatment; 

(10) Preparation of autopsied body including 

treatment of viscera; 

(11) Treatment of remains following organ and/or 

tissue donation; 

(12) Application of cosmetics; 

(13) Dressing and casketing; 

(14) Cleaning and disinfection of preparation room; 

and 

(15) Handling and/or disposing of biomedical waste. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.20(f); 90-210.23(a), (d), (f); 90-

210.25(a)(4); 90-210.67(a); 90-210.69(a). 

 

SECTION .0200 - EXAMINATIONS 

 

21 NCAC 34B .0202 APPLICATIONS 

(a)  Applicants to take the examination administered by the 

International Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards, 

Inc. ("ICFSEB") for a license shall apply to the Board upon forms 

to be furnished by the Board. The application must be verified by 

the applicant and received by the Board at least 30 days prior to 

the date of the examination. Applicants are ineligible to take the 

examination before completing their educational requirements. 

for examination registration through the ICFSEB website, 

available at https://theconferenceonline.org/apply-now/. 

(b)  If the applicant does not sit for all examinations within 12 

months of the filing date, the applicant forfeits the pending 

application and fee, and the applicant shall submit a new 

application and fee. Applications that are not completed within 

ninety (90) days following submission to the Board shall be 

denied. 

(c)  Applicants must submit an Exam Eligibility Form to the 

Board contemporaneously with their application for examination 

registration as set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. All Exam 

Eligibility Forms shall include: 

Applications that are not completed within ninety (90) days 

following submission to the Board shall be denied. 

(d)  Applicants must submit an Exam Eligibility Form to the 

Board contemporaneously with their application for examination 

registration as set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. All Exam 

Eligibility Forms shall include: 

(1) The applicant's full name, residential address, 

phone number, and email address; 

(2) The license type for which the applicant is 

seeking eligibility; 

(3) The name of each college or university attended 

by the applicant, the dates of attendance, and 

the graduation date and degree(s) obtained, if 

any; and 

(4) Whether the applicant has requested that a 

certified transcript from each college or 

university attended by the applicant be sent to 

the Board and, if so, the date on which the 

applicant ordered the transcript. 

(e)  Applications for licensure as a funeral service licensee, 

embalmer, or funeral director shall be made on applications 

available on the Board's website at ncbfs.org. Applications not 

completed within ninety (90) days following submission to the 

Board shall be denied. All applications for such licensure shall 

contain the following: 

(1) The applicant's full name, date of birth, place of 

birth, sex, and social security number; 

(2) The applicant's email address, residential 

address, mailing address, and phone number(s); 

(3) The name and address of the applicant's current 

employer and past employers over the three 

years preceding the application, to include the 

dates of employment and nature of the work 

performed by the applicant; 

(4) Whether the applicant is applying for a funeral 

service license, a funeral director license, or 

embalmer license; 

(5) The name of each college or university attended 

by the applicant, the dates of attendance, and 

the graduation date and degree(s) obtained, if 

any; 

(6) A certified transcript from each college or 

university at which the applicant attended 

courses toward his or her attainment of the 

educational degree required for the type of 

license sought, as set forth in G.S. 90-

210.25(a)(1), (2), (3); 

(7) Official score reports showing passage of the 

required examination for the type of licensure 

sought pursuant to G.S. 90-210.25(a)(1), (2), 

(3) that are provided to the Board by the 

examination testing provider; 

(8) Whether the applicant has ever been certified, 

licensed, or registered to practice funeral 

service by the Board or by another occupational 

licensing board and, if so, the type of credential, 

the jurisdiction of issuance, the issuance date, 

the expiration date, and any examinations taken 

to obtain the credential; 

(9) Whether the applicant ever has been denied a 

credential in another state and, if so, the 

jurisdiction and the reason for the denial of the 

credential; 

(10) Whether the applicant has been convicted of a 

felony or misdemeanor crime and, if so, a 

statement providing the jurisdiction, charge, 

date of disposition, and sentence imposed of 

each conviction; 

(11) Whether the applicant has any criminal charges 

currently pending and, if so, the nature of the 
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charge and the jurisdiction in which the charge 

is pending; 

(12) Whether the applicant has had an occupational 

or business license suspended or revoked by 

any local, state, or federal agency and, if so, a 

statement providing the reason for the action 

and the date, location, and circumstances of any 

violation that led to action against the license; 

(13) Whether any court, board, agency, or 

professional organization has found applicant 

guilty of misconduct, unprofessional conduct, 

dishonest or fraudulent practice, or incompetent 

practice and, if so, the tribunal and the date of 

the finding; 

(14) Whether the applicant has any charges pending 

before any court, board, agency, or professional 

organization for unprofessional conduct, 

dishonest or fraudulent practice, or incompetent 

practice and, if so, the tribunal in which the 

charge is pending; 

(15) Whether, within the preceding two years, the 

applicant has been the subject of any 

investigation for employee misclassification 

and, if so, the results of the investigation; 

(16) The applicant's notarized signature to certify 

that: 

(A) he or she has prepared the application 

and has read the answers; 

(B) the information provided in the 

application is true; 

(C) the applicant has read and understands 

the public notice statement on 

employee misclassification that is set 

forth in the application and has 

disclosed any investigations for 

employee misclassification, and its 

results, over the preceding two year 

period, as prescribed by G.S. 143-789; 

and 

(D) he or she understands that any 

credential issued shall be governed by 

the provisions of Article 13A, Chapter 

90 of the North Carolina General 

Statutes and the rules promulgated by 

the Board. 

(17) The application fee, as prescribed by G.S. 90-

210.28 and 21 NCAC 34A .0201. If the 

application fee is dishonored by the licensee's 

drawee bank for any reason, the Board shall 

suspend the license until the renewal fees and 

non-sufficient fund charges are paid. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a); 90-210.25(a)(1),(2),(3). 

 

SECTION .0400 – CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

Editor's Note: 21 NCAC 34B .0401 - .0405 was recodified from 

21 NCAC 34 .0501 - .0505 Eff. February 7, 1991. 

 

21 NCAC 34B .0401 ESTABLISHMENT AND 

APPROVAL OF COURSES 

The Board shall cause at least eight hours of continuing education 

courses to be offered to the licensees annually, either directly or 

through other organizations or persons procured for such purpose. 

The Board shall mail to each licensee for whose benefit the course 

is offered, at least 15 days prior to the date of enrollment, notice 

of the course and the amount of any registration fee to be charged. 

Information about Board-approved courses shall be posted on the 

Board's website at ncbfs.org. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a); 90-210.25(a)(5). 

 

21 NCAC 34B .0414 ACCREDITATION OF 

COMPUTER-BASED CE 

(a)  Effective for courses attended on or after January 1, 2009, a 

licensee may receive up to two hours of credit each year for 

participation in a course on CD-ROM or on-line. A CD-ROM 

course is an educational seminar on a compact disk that is 

accessed through the CD-ROM drive of the user's personal 

computer. An on-line course is an educational seminar available 

on a provider's website reached via the Internet. 

(b)  A licensee may apply up to two credit hours of computer-

based CE to a CE deficit from a preceding calendar year. A 

computer-based CE credit hour applied to a deficit from a 

preceding year will be included in calculating the maximum of 

two hours of computer-based CE allowed in the preceding 

calendar year. A licensee may carry over to the next calendar year 

no more than two credit hours of computer-based CE pursuant to 

21 NCAC 34B .0408. A credit hour carried-over pursuant to 21 

NCAC 34B .0408 shall not be included in calculating the two 

hours of computer-based CE allowed in any one calendar year. 

(c)(a)  To be accredited, a computer-based CE course must meet 

all of the conditions imposed by the rules in this Subchapter, 

except where otherwise noted, and be interactive, permitting the 

participant to communicate, via telephone, electronic mail, or a 

website bulletin board, with the presenter or other participants. 

(d)(b)  The sponsor of an on-line course must have a reliable 

method for recording and verifying attendance. The sponsor of a 

CD-ROM course must demonstrate that there is a reliable method 

for the user or the sponsor to record and verify participation in the 

course. A participant may log on and off of a computer-based CE 

course provided the total time spent participating in the course is 

equal to or exceeds the credit hours assigned to the program. A 

copy of the record of attendance must be forwarded to the Board 

within 30 days after a licensee completes his or her participation 

in the course. 

(e)(c)  After approval of a computer-based CE course, the sponsor 

may replay the computer-based CE course indefinitely until any 

change is made to the course content. Any modification to an 

approved computer-based CE course shall require the sponsor to 

submit a new application for approval but the sponsor may 

continue to show the previously approved version of the course. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a); 90-210.25(a)(5). 

 

SECTION .0500 - OUT-OF-STATE LICENSEES 
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Editor's Note: 21 NCAC 34B .0501 - .0510 was recodified from 

21 NCAC 34 .0601 - .0610 Eff. February 7, 1991. 

 

21 NCAC 34B .0501 APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a); 90-210.25(b)(1); 150B-11(1). 

 

21 NCAC 34B .0507 COURTESY CARDS 

Applications by out-of-state licensees for courtesy cards pursuant 

to G.S. 90-210.25(b)(3) shall be made upon forms to be furnished 

by the Board. Such cards shall be issued by license category 

corresponding to the license held by the applicant, shall be 

non-transferable, and shall be renewable from year to year. A 

courtesy card shall expire and terminate upon the suspension, 

revocation, forfeiture, expiration, or other termination of the 

holder's license issued by the licensing board of the other 

jurisdiction, or on the 31st day of December, December of each 

year, whichever shall first occur. The holder of a courtesy card 

shall be subject to the provisions of G.S. 90-210.25(e). The 

application must be verified by the applicant and the licensing 

board of the other jurisdiction and filed with the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a); 90-210.25(b)(3); 150B-11(1). 

 

21 NCAC 34B .0508 APPLICATION FORM FOR 

COURTESY CARD 

Applications for a courtesy card shall be made on forms provided 

by the Board. The applicant shall furnish the applicant's 

photograph, name, address, and biographical data; courtesy card 

applied for, by license category; name and address of the licensing 

board where the applicant is licensed; the kind, license number, 

expiration date of licenses presently held; an agreement that the 

applicant will obey North Carolina statutes and rules governing 

funeral service; verification by the applicant; certification by the 

Secretary or other official of the licensing board of the other 

jurisdiction that the information concerning the applicant's 

licensure is correct; and any other information the Board deems 

necessary as required by law. available on the Board's website at 

ncbfs.org. Applications not completed within thirty (30) days 

following submission to the Board shall be denied. All 

applications for a courtesy card shall contain the following: 

(1) The applicant's full name, date of birth, place of 

birth, sex, and social security number; 

(2) The applicant's email address, residential 

address, mailing address, and phone number(s); 

(3) The name and address of the applicant's current 

employer; 

(4) Whether the applicant is applying for a funeral 

service license, a funeral director license, or 

embalmer courtesy card; 

(5) Whether the applicant currently holds a funeral 

service license, funeral director license, or 

embalmer license in any jurisdiction outside of 

North Carolina and if so, the name of the 

jurisdiction, the date that the license was issued, 

the license number, and the expiration date of 

the license; 

(6) Whether the applicant ever has been denied a 

credential in another state and, if so, the 

jurisdiction and the reason for the denial of the 

credential; 

(7) Whether the applicant has been convicted of a 

felony or misdemeanor crime and, if so, a 

statement providing the jurisdiction, charge, 

date of disposition, and sentence imposed of 

each conviction; 

(8) Whether the applicant has any criminal charges 

currently pending and, if so, the nature of the 

charge and the jurisdiction in which the charge 

is pending; 

(9) Whether the applicant has had an occupational 

or business license suspended or revoked by 

any local, state, or federal agency and, if so, a 

statement providing the reason for the action 

and the date, location, and circumstances of any 

violation that led to action against the license; 

(10) Whether any court, board, agency, or 

professional organization has found applicant 

guilty of misconduct, unprofessional conduct, 

dishonest or fraudulent practice, or incompetent 

practice and, if so, the tribunal and the date of 

the finding; 

(11) Whether the applicant has any charges pending 

before any court, board, agency, or professional 

organization for unprofessional conduct, 

dishonest or fraudulent practice, or incompetent 

practice and, if so, the tribunal in which the 

charge is pending; 

(12) Whether, within the preceding two years, the 

applicant has been the subject of any 

investigation for employee misclassification 

and, if so, the results of the investigation; 

(13) The applicant's notarized signature to certify 

that: 

(a) he or she has prepared the application 

and has read the answers; 

(b) the information provided in the 

application is true; 

(c) the applicant has read and understands 

the public notice statement on 

employee misclassification that is set 

forth in the application and has 

disclosed any investigations for 

employee misclassification, and its 

results, over the preceding two year 

period, as prescribed by G.S. 143-789; 

and 

(d) he or she understands that any 

credential issued shall be governed by 

the provisions of Article 13A, Chapter 

90 of the North Carolina General 

Statutes and the rules promulgated by 

the Board. 

(14) The application fee, as prescribed by G.S. 90-

210.28 and 21 NCAC 34A .0201. If the 

application fee is dishonored by the licensee's 

drawee bank for any reason, the Board shall 
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suspend the license until the renewal fees and 

non-sufficient fund charges are paid. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a); 90-210.25(b)(3). 

 

21 NCAC 34B .0510 COURTESY CARD RENEWAL 

FORM 

Applications for annual renewal of a courtesy card shall be made 

on forms provided by the Board. The form shall require the 

applicant to furnish the type of license privileges sought, changes 

to the applicant's name, address, telephone, place of employment, 

license expiration date, the signature of the applicant, affirmation 

that the applicant will abide by North Carolina law, verification, 

and any other information the Board deems necessary as required 

by law. available on the Board's website at ncbfs.org. All renewal 

applications for a courtesy card shall contain the following: 

(1) The applicant's full name, date of birth, place of 

birth, sex, and social security number; 

(2) The applicant's email address, residential 

address, mailing address, and phone number(s); 

(3) The name and address of the applicant's current 

employer; 

(4) Whether the applicant is applying for a funeral 

service license, a funeral director license, or 

embalmer courtesy card; 

(5) Whether the applicant currently holds a funeral 

service license, funeral director license, or 

embalmer license in any jurisdiction outside of 

North Carolina and if so, the name of the 

jurisdiction, the date that the license was issued, 

the license number, and the expiration date of 

the license; 

(6) Whether the applicant ever has been denied a 

credential in another state and, if so, the 

jurisdiction and the reason for the denial of the 

credential; 

(7) Whether the applicant has been convicted of a 

felony or misdemeanor crime since the last 

renewal and, if so, a statement providing the 

jurisdiction, charge, date of disposition, and 

sentence imposed of each conviction; 

(8) Whether the applicant has any criminal charges 

currently pending and, if so, the nature of the 

charge and the jurisdiction in which the charge 

is pending; 

(9) Whether the applicant has had an occupational 

or business license suspended or revoked by 

any local, state, or federal agency since the last 

renewal and, if so, a statement providing the 

reason for the action and the date, location, and 

circumstances of any violation that led to action 

against the license; 

(10) Whether any court, board, agency, or 

professional organization has found applicant 

guilty of misconduct, unprofessional conduct, 

dishonest or fraudulent practice, or incompetent 

practice since the last renewal and, if so, the 

tribunal and the date of the finding; 

(11) Whether the applicant has any charges pending 

before any court, board, agency, or professional 

organization for unprofessional conduct, 

dishonest or fraudulent practice, or incompetent 

practice and, if so, the tribunal in which the 

charge is pending; 

(12) Whether, since the last renewal, the applicant 

has been the subject of any investigation for 

employee misclassification and, if so, the 

results of the investigation; 

(13) The applicant's notarized signature to certify 

that: 

(a) he or she has prepared the application 

and has read the answers; 

(b) the information provided in the 

application is true; 

(c) the applicant has read and understands 

the public notice statement on 

employee misclassification that is set 

forth in the application and has 

disclosed any investigations for 

employee misclassification, and its 

results, over the preceding two year 

period, as prescribed by G.S. 143-789; 

and 

(d) he or she understands that any 

credential issued shall be governed by 

the provisions of Article 13A, Chapter 

90 of the North Carolina General 

Statutes and the rules promulgated by 

the Board. 

(14) The application fee, as prescribed by G.S. 90-

210.28 and 21 NCAC 34A .0201. If the 

application fee is dishonored by the licensee's 

drawee bank for any reason, the Board shall 

suspend the license until the renewal fees and 

non-sufficient fund charges are paid. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a); 90-210.25(b)(3). 

 

PROGRAM COULD NOT FIND SECTION RULE 

DOCUMENT IN CODE 

 

21 NCAC 34B .0605 PERMITS: TRANSFER OF 

OWNERSHIP OF ESTABLISHMENT 

Funeral establishment permits shall not be transferable. When the 

ownership of a funeral establishment changes, or when there has 

been a transfer of a majority of the common stock of the 

corporation owning a funeral establishment, as defined by G.S 90-

210.25(d)(5), a new application for an establishment permit shall 

be made to the Board within 30 days of said change of ownership 

or transfer. The applicable fee shall accompany the said 

application, as in the case of initial applications. on forms 

provided by the Board that are made available on the Board's 

website, ncbfs.org, within the timeframe set forth in G.S. 90-

210.25(d)(5). The application shall contain the information 

required by Paragraph (a) of 21 NCAC 34B .0608. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a),(e); 90-210.25(d)(5); 150B-11(1). 
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21 NCAC 34B .0613 DISCLOSURE STATEMENTS 

One copy of each disclosure statement, as required by G.S. 

90-210.25(e), shall be kept by the funeral establishment for a 

period of two three years and shall, during said period of time, be 

subject to inspection by the Board, its inspector or other duly 

authorized representative. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a),(d),(e); 90-210.25(e); 150B-11(1). 

 

21 NCAC 34B .0615 FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENT 

INSPECTION FORM 

The findings of all funeral establishment inspections shall be 

recorded and filed on report forms provided by the Board. The 

funeral establishment shall furnish the name and address of the 

establishment; names of the owner, manager, licensees and 

resident trainees; verification by the funeral establishment that 

any violations have been corrected, the date of the verification, 

and other information the Board deems necessary as required by 

law. Verifications by an official of the funeral establishment that 

any violations have been corrected must be received by the Board 

no later than seven days after the date for compliance. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a),(d),(e); 90-210.24. 

 

SECTION .0700 - PREPARATION OF DEAD BODIES 

 

21 NCAC 34B .0703 DISPOSAL OF REFUSE: 

VENTILATION 

Every preparation room shall be provided with proper and 

convenient receptacles for refuse, bandages, cotton and other 

waste materials and supplies, which shall be properly disposed of 

at the conclusion of each case, to the end that the public health 

may thereby be protected. embalming case. Every preparation 

room shall comply, with respect to ventilation, with state and local 

laws, ordinances and regulations. No obnoxious or deleterious 

odors shall be allowed to remain therein nor to enter into any other 

part of the premises of the funeral establishment or into any 

adjoining premises. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.23(a),(d),(e); 90-210.27A. 

 

21 NCAC 34B .0706 REGISTRATION OF 

EMBALMING FACILITY LOCATED OUTSIDE OF A 

FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENT 

(a)  An embalming facility located outside a funeral establishment 

shall comply with the requirements of G.S. 90-210.27A(a)(1) 

through (8) and all other applicable federal, state, or local laws 

and regulations. 

(b)  An embalming facility located outside a funeral establishment 

shall be registered either to a funeral establishment holding a 

permit from the Board or to a funeral service or embalmer licensee 

of the Board. Each embalming facility must be managed by an 

embalmer or funeral service licensee. A person managing an 

embalming facility may must also manage the funeral 

establishment location registering the facility. 

(c)  Applications to register an embalming facility located outside 

a funeral establishment shall be made on forms provided by the 

Board. Board that are available at the Board's website, ncbfs.org. 

The applicant shall furnish the address and telephone number of 

the facility; a description of the preparation room; the names and 

license numbers of all part-time and full-time licensees employed 

by the facility; the person or business entity owning the facility; 

the person managing the facility; a certification that the facility 

will not be used for any other purpose other than embalming or 

used for activities requiring a funeral establishment permit; and 

any other information the Board deems necessary as required by 

law. The the applicant shall verify the contents of the application 

before a notary public. 

(d)  Upon Board approval of the registration, the embalming 

facility may be used to embalm dead human bodies and shall not 

be used as a public accommodation. The owner of the facility 

must obtain a funeral establishment permit under G.S. 90-

210.25(d) if the facility is to be held out to the public, used as a 

public accommodation, or used to engage in any other activity 

defined as the practice of funeral service under G.S. 90-210.20(k) 

other than embalming. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.20(f),(h),(k); 90-210.23(a),(e); 

90-210.25(d1); 90-210.27A. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 34C - CREMATORIES 

 

SECTION .0300 - AUTHORIZATIONS, REPORTS, 

RECORDS 

 

21 NCAC 34C .0305 MONTHLY REPORTS 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.132; 90-210.134(a). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 34D - PRENEED FUNERAL CONTRACTS 

 

SECTION .0300 - OPERATIONS 

 

21 NCAC 34D .0304 TRANSFER OF TRUST FUNDS 

When, pursuant to G.S. 90-210.68(b), a preneed licensee directs a 

transfer of preneed funds to a substitute financial institution, the 

preneed license shall direct the financial institution which that is 

a party to the preneed funeral contract (the "original financial 

institution") to shall make the transfer directly and solely to the 

substitute financial institution and not mediately to the preneed 

licensee. The notification to the Board preneed licensee shall 

notify the Board within ten (10) days following said transfer as 

required by G.S. 90-210.68(b) and said notification shall be made 

on a form provided by the Board, which shall indicate the transfer 

of the funds by the financial institution and their acceptance by 

the substitute financial institution and the agreement of the 

substitute financial institution to be bound by the preneed funeral 

contract and, if the contract is revocable, certification that the 

licensee has notified the purchaser of the intended transfer. 

provide the following information: 

(1) The name, address, and license number of the 

preneed establishment serving as trustee for the 

preneed contract, along with the preneed 

contract identification number prescribed by 

the Board; 

(2) The name and address of the original financial 

institution, along with the account number in 

which the preneed funds are held; 
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(3) The name and address of the successor financial 

institution, along with the account number into 

which the preneed funds will be transferred; 

(4) The name of the preneed contract beneficiary 

and of the preneed contract purchaser and 

whether the purchaser of the preneed contract 

has been notified of the intended transfer of 

preneed funds, if the preneed contract is 

revocable; 

(5) The dated signature of the preneed licensee 

attesting to the request to transfer the preneed 

funds to a substitute financial institution 

(6) The dated signature of the representative of the 

original financial institution attesting to its 

payment of the preneed funds to the successor 

financial institution and the amount of preneed 

funds so transferred; and 

(7) The dated signature of the representative of the 

successor financial institution attesting to the 

amount of preneed funds received from the 

original financial institution and its receipt of 

the underlying preneed funeral contract, as well 

as its agreement to adhere to the provisions of 

General State Chapter 90, Article 13D, as it 

pertains to financial institutions. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-210.69(a); 90-210.68(b). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 53 - CLINICAL MENTAL HEALTH 

COUNSELORS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Licensed Clinical Mental Health Counselors intends to 

adopt the rules cited as 21 NCAC 53 .1001-.1006. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncblcmhc.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2026 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  A request for 

public hearing may be requested within 15 days of publication of 

these rules in the Register by submitting a request in writing to:  

Melonie Davis, PO Box 77819, Greensboro, NC  27417; 

ncfaq@ncblcmhc.org. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  All of these rules are proposed to 

establish requirements for an impaired professionals program. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Melonie Davis, PO Box 

77819, Greensboro, NC 27417; email ncfaq@ncblcmhc.org 

 

Comment period ends:  November 14, 2025 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons 

clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review 

Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as 

provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive 

written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to 

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via 

email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff 

attorney at 984-236-1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

PROGRAM COULD NOT FIND SECTION RULE 

DOCUMENT IN CODE 

 

SECTION .1000—IMPAIRED PROFESSIONALS 

PROGRAMS 

 

21 NCAC 53 .1001 DEFINITIONS 

(a)  The following definitions apply to this Section: 

(1) "Applicant" means a person who has submitted 

an application to the Board, paid the application 

fee, and received confirmation of receipt of the 

application from the Board. 

(2) "Board" means the North Carolina Board of 

Licensed Mental Health Counselors as defined 

in G.S. 90-330(1a). 

(3) "Former Licensee" means a person who 

formerly held a license issued by the Board and 

whose license was not permanently 

surrendered, revoked, or suspended. 

(4) "Impairment" means a condition or disorder 

caused by substance use, burnout, compassion 

fatigue, or other mental health issue that hinders 

professional competence or the ability to 

provide or supervise clinical mental health 

counseling services, or may lead to conduct 

constituting grounds for discipline as set forth 

in G.S. 90-340. 

(5) "Imminent danger" means any condition, 

disorder, conduct, or practice that poses a risk 

of death or serious physical, mental, or 

emotional harm if not abated. 

(6) "Independent Provider" means a mental health 

or medical provider that the Program has 

recommended as a service provider to a 
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Participant or a Potential Participant but is not 

employed by or affiliated with the Program. 

(7) "Licensee" means a person holding an active 

license issued by the Board. 

(8) "Monitoring" means oversight by Program 

staff, volunteers, and Independent Providers of 

Participant's compliance with a Recovery Plan, 

the purpose of which is to support the 

Participant's well-being, recovery from 

Impairment, and ability to practice clinical 

mental health counseling with reasonable skill 

and safety in accordance with G.S. 90-340. 

(9) "Participant" means a Licensee, Former 

Licensee, Potential Applicant, or an Applicant 

who has executed a Participation Agreement. 

(10) "Participation Agreement" means a written 

assessment, treatment, or monitoring contract 

or agreement between the Program and a 

Participant. 

(11) "Potential Applicant" means a person who has 

completed a qualifying graduate training 

program as defined in Rule .0701 of this 

Chapter and provides an attestation of their 

intention to apply for licensure by the Board 

within two years. The attestation form is 

available on the Board's website at 

https://www.ncblcmhc.org/Licensure/Applyin

g. 

(12) "Potential Participant" means a Licensee, 

Former Licensee, Potential Applicant, or an 

Applicant about whom information concerning 

suspected impairment has been provided to the 

Board or the Program, including an individual 

the Board has referred to the Program, or an 

individual who has self-referred to the Program. 

(13) "Program" means an impaired professionals 

program established by the Board or with 

whom the Board has an agreement or otherwise 

made arrangements to provide Screening and 

Monitoring to Potential Participants or 

Participants who have or may have an 

Impairment. 

(14) "Recovery Plan" means a comprehensive 

strategy to address a Participant's Impairment, 

including Monitoring and Recovery Services. 

(15) "Recovery Services" mean services provided to 

Participants or Potential Participants from 

Independent Providers, including assessment, 

substance testing, referrals, treatment, and 

follow-up care. 

(16) "Screening" means to meet with a Potential 

Participant, conduct an investigation of a 

Potential Participant, gather pertinent personal, 

professional, physical, and mental health 

information, and interview collateral sources, 

when necessary, to determine if a potential 

Impairment exists and, if so, provide 

recommendations for a Recovery Plan. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-334(l). 

 

21 NCAC 53 .1002 BOARD AGREEMENTS WITH 

PROGRAMS 

(a)  The Board may enter into agreements with Programs pursuant 

to G.S. 90-334. 

(b)  To meet the Board's requirements to enter into an agreement, 

a Program shall have staff, volunteers, policies, procedures, and 

other resources to provide the following services: 

(1) Performing Screening of Potential Participants 

and Monitoring of Participants; 

(2) Formulating and Implementing Recovery Plans 

for Participants; 

(3) Conducting evaluations and recommendations 

of Independent Providers of Recovery Services; 

(4) Maintaining the confidentiality of information, 

documentation, and records received 

concerning Potential Participants and 

Participants in accordance with Rule .1005 of 

this Section; 

(5) Submitting reports and information to the 

Board consistent with Rules .1004 and .1005 of 

this Section; and 

(6) Providing a process by which Participants and 

Potential Participants may challenge or appeal 

a determination by the Program regarding the 

Participant or Potential Participant. 

(c)  The Board shall conduct an annual review of the operations 

of any Program under an agreement to receive referrals of 

Potential Participants and Participants to determine the Program's 

compliance with the requirements in Paragraph (b) of this Rule 

and the Program's agreement with the Board. 

(d)  In connection with the annual review, the Program shall 

provide the Board with a report of an annual financial audit for 

the preceding year. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-334(l); 90-340. 

 

21 NCAC 53 .1003 PROGRAM OPERATIONS AND 

PROCEDURES FOR ALL PARTICIPANTS 

(a)  The Program may receive information about suspected 

Impairment of a Potential Participant through any of the following 

sources: 

(1) Referral by the Board, including as part of the 

application or disciplinary process; 

(2) Self-referral by the Potential Participant; and 

(3) Referral from physicians, counselors, other 

mental health professionals, family members, 

colleagues, co-workers, or other individuals or 

sources with direct or personal knowledge 

concerning a Potential Participant. 

(b)  Regardless of the source of the referral, the Program may 

investigate and conduct a Screening. 

(c)  The Program may consult with Independent Providers and 

treating mental health or medical providers in conducting a 

Screening. 

(d)  If the Program finds from the investigation or Screening that 

an Impairment likely exists, it may refer the Potential Participant 

for an assessment or treatment by an Independent Provider. 
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(e)  If Monitoring is recommended by the Program or an 

Independent Provider, the Program shall develop a Recovery Plan 

and request the Potential Participant to become a Participant. 

(f)  As part of the Program's Monitoring, Participants shall submit 

urine or other bodily specimens to the Program, as requested, to 

test for the presence of any substances that could indicate 

Impairment. 

(g)  Participants shall submit to periodic interviews with the 

Program staff or volunteers. The Program shall determine the 

frequency of personal interviews necessary to evaluate the 

Participant's Impairment and ability to practice clinical mental 

health counseling. 

(h)  Upon signing a Participation Agreement, Participant shall 

sign releases to authorize the disclosure or exchange of 

information or documentation about Participant's compliance 

with the Participation Agreement and Recovery Plan: 

(1) to the Board consistent with Rule .1005 of this 

Section; 

(2) between the Program, Independent Providers, 

and treating mental health or medical 

professionals; and 

(3) from employers or other individuals assigned to 

monitor Participant in the workplace. 

(i)  A Participant shall comply with the Participation Agreement. 

A Participant's failure to comply with the Participation Agreement 

shall be deemed a failure to cooperate with the Board and shall 

subject the Participant to disciplinary action or denial of licensure 

by the Board pursuant to G.S. 90-340(a)(7) and (15). 

 

Authority G.S. 90-334(l); G.S. 90-340. 

 

21 NCAC 53 .1004 PROGRAM OPERATIONS AND 

PROCEDURES FOR BOARD REFERRALS 

The following shall apply to Board referrals to the Program of 

Potential Participants who consent to the referral: 

(1) The Board may refer a Potential Participant to 

the Program if it receives, or obtains through an 

investigation or review, evidence or 

information of potential Impairment. The 

decision to refer a Potential Participant to the 

Program shall be made on a case-by-case basis 

based on the evidence or information received, 

and within the discretion of the Board. 

(2) Potential Participants shall cooperate with the 

Program, including: 

(a) executing all required releases or 

authorizations to exchange 

information about the Potential 

Participant between the Board, the 

Program, Independent Providers, and 

treating mental health or medical 

professionals; and 

(b) submitting to a Screening to determine 

if evidence exists to substantiate the 

potential Impairment. 

(3) The Program shall advise the Potential 

Participant and Board of the findings and 

recommendations from the Screening and the 

Potential Participant's cooperation with the 

Program or lack thereof. 

(4) The Program shall advise the Board as to the 

results and recommendations from assessments 

or treatment, including a recommendation for 

Monitoring. 

(5) In addition to Monitoring, the Board may 

require other conditions or stipulations from the 

Potential Participant to be included in the 

Participation Agreement. 

(6) The Program shall report to the Board if the 

Potential Participant fails to cooperate with the 

Program, including failing to sign a 

Participation Agreement, if requested by the 

Program. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-334(l); 90-340. 

 

21 NCAC 53 .1005 CONFIDENTIALITY 

(a)  The Program shall maintain records on all Potential 

Participants and Participants, and the records, including those 

obtained from Independent Providers, treating professionals, and 

other third parties concerning Potential Participants or 

Participants, shall remain confidential in accordance with G.S. 90-

340(f). 

(b)  Information and documentation received by the Program 

regarding a Potential Participant or Participant shall remain 

confidential and shall not be released to the Board, except as set 

forth in Rule .1004 of this Section, unless the Program determines 

that the Potential Participant or Participant: 

(1) constitutes an Imminent Danger to client care, 

the public, or himself or herself for any reason; 

(2) is unable to practice clinical mental health 

counseling with reasonable skill and safety 

consistent with G.S. 90-340(a)(11); or 

(3) refuses to cooperate with the Program, 

including failing to submit to assessment or 

treatment recommended by the Program or 

failing to comply with the terms of a 

Participation Agreement. 

(c)  Information and documentation about a Participant who meets 

any of the criteria of Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (b)(3) of this 

Rule shall be provided without delay to the Board along with 

evidence of the events leading to the report. 

(d)  Becoming a Participant or consenting to Screening by the 

Program shall not create a clinical or treatment relationship 

between the Program and Participants or Potential Participants. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-334(l); G.S. 90-340. 

 

21 NCAC 53. 1006 PERIODIC REPORTING OF 

ANONYMIZED INFORMATION TO THE BOARD  

(a)  On a quarterly and annual basis, and upon request by the 

Board, the Program shall provide to the Board reports of 

statistical, demographic, and other information collected through 

Program operations, which reports shall not identify Potential 

Participants or Participants. 
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(b)  The Program shall meet with the Board or a representative of 

the Board on a quarterly basis to discuss the report and the 

Program's operations over the quarter reported upon. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-334(l). 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission on September 25, 2025 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  

Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Jake Parker (1st Vice-Chair) 

John Hahn Paul Powell (2nd Vice-Chair) 
Jeff Hyde Wayne R. Boyles, III 

Wyatt Dixon, III Christopher Loutit 
Bill Nelson Randy Overton 

 
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Seth M. Ascher  984-236-1934 
Travis Wiggs  984-236-1929 
Christopher S. Miller 984-236-1935 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 September 25, 2025 November 20, 2025 
 October 30, 2025 December 18, 2025 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
Thursday, September 25, 2025, 10:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 
 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters 
1. Private Protective Services Board - 14B NCAC 16 .0701, .0801, .1301, .1401 (Ascher) 
2. Board of Dental Examiners -  21 NCAC 16A .0101; 16F .0111; 16V .0103 (Wiggs) 

IV. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed July 21, 2025 through August 20, 2025 
1. Radiation Protection Commission (Wiggs) 
2. Commission for Public Health (Ascher) 
3. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission (Wiggs) 
4. Boxing and Combat Sports Commission (Wiggs) 
5. Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission (Ascher) 

V. Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting 

VI. Existing Rules Review  

• Review of Reports 
1. 04 NCAC 15 – Commission of Navigation and Pilotage for the Cape Fear River and Bar (Ascher) 
2. 10A NCAC 63 – Commission for the Blind (Wiggs) 
3. 15A NCAC 18C – Commission for Public Health (Wiggs) 
4. 19A NCAC 02 – Department of Transportation (Ascher) 

• Readoptions 
1. 15A NCAC 08 - Water Pollution Control Systems Operators Certification Commission (Wiggs) 

VII. Commission Business 

• Election of Commission Officers 

• Closed session, to consult with attorneys regarding CRC v. RRC and CJETS v. RRC; and BRIAN LIEBMAN, in his 
official capacity as CODIFIER OF RULES 

• Next meeting: Thursday, October 30, 2025  
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Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

July 21, 2025 through August 20, 2025 
 

RADIATION PROTECTION COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 15 are from the Radiation Protection Commission and include general provisions (.0100); 
registration of radiation machines, facilities and services (.0200); licensing of radioactive material (.0300); industrial 
radiography x-ray machines (.0500); x-rays in the healing arts (.0600); use of radioactive sources in the healing arts 
(.0700); requirements for analytical x-ray equipment (.0800); requirements for particle accelerators (.0900); notices, 
instructions, reports and inspections (.1000); fees (.1100); land disposal of radioactive waste (.1200); requirements for 
wire-line service operators and subsurface-tracer studies (.1300); tanning facilities (.1400); and standards for protection 
against radiation (.1600). 

Registration of Radiation Machines: Facilities and Services 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0201 

Exemptions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0202 

Application for Registration Process: General Requirement... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0203 

Facility Responsibilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0204 

Service Provider Responsibilities 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0205 

Training and Educational Requirements to Provide Services 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0206 

Additional Requirements to Provide Services 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0207 

Out-of-State Radiation Machines and Radiation Generation ... 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0208 

Issuance of Notice of Registration 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0209 

Modifications: Revocation: Termination of Registrations 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0210 

Individual Responsible for Radiation Protection Requirement... 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0211 

Radiation Machines and Radiation Generating Devices That ... 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0212 

Additional Requirements/Registered Services 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0213 

Industrial Radiographic Operations of Electronic Radiation... 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0501 

Therapeutic X-Ray Installations: Less Than One Mev 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0608 

X-Ray and Electron Therapy Installations One Mev and Above 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0609 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0802 

Personnel Requirements 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0803 

Purpose and Scope 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0901 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

40:06 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 15, 2025 

584 

Licensing Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0902 

Requirements for Issuance of a License for Accelerators 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0903 

Limitations 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0904 

Shielding and Safety Design 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0905 

Controls and Interlock Systems 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0906 

Warning Devices 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0907 

Operating Procedures 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0908 

Radiation Monitoring Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0909 

Ventilation Systems 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 15 .0910 

Notices, Instructions, and Reports to Employees 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 15 .1001 

Standards for Protection Against Radiation 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 15 .1601 

Purpose and Scope 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 15 .1901 

Definitions 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 15 .1902 

General Administrative Requirements for Facilities Using ... 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 15 .1903 

General Technical Requirements for Facilities Using Therapeutic... 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 15 .1904 

Quality Management Program 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 15 .1905 

Therapeutic Radiation Machines Less Than 500 KEV 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 15 .1906 

Therapeutic Radiation Machines of 500 KEV and Above 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 15 .1907 

Calibration of Survey Instruments and Dosimetry Systems 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 15 .1908 

Shielding and Safety Design Requirements 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 15 .1909 

Other Use of Electronically-Produced Radiation to Deliver... 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 15 .1910 

Emerging Technologies 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 15 .1911 

Purpose and Scope 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 15 .2001 

Definitions 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 15 .2002 

General Administrative Requirements for Veterinary Facilities... 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 15 .2003 

General Technical Requirements for Veterinary Facilities ... 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 15 .2004 
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Quality Management Program 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 15 .2005 

Veterinary Therapeutic Radiation Machines Less Than 500 KEV 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 15 .2006 

Veterinary Therapeutic Radiation Machines of 500 KEV and ... 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 15 .2007 

Calibration of Survey Instruments and Dosimetry Systems 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 15 .2008 

Shielding and Safety Design Requirements 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 15 .2009 

Other Use of Electronically-Produced Radiation to Deliver... 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 15 .2010 

Emerging Technologies 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 15 .2011 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

The rules in Chapter 43 are from the Department of Health and Human Services and the Commission for Public Health 
and concern personal health. The rules in Subchapter 43D concern WIC/Nutrition including definitions (.0100); WIC 
program general information (.0200); selection of local WIC agencies (.0300); eligibility for WIC program participation 
(.0400); WIC program food package (.0500); WIC program nutrition education (.0600); WIC program food delivery 
system (.0700); WIC program administrative appeals (.0800); WIC program participant fair hearings (.0900); 
consultation services (.1000); and maternal and child health block grant nutrition program (.1200). 

Description 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0201 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0202 

References 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0203 

Contract with FNS 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0204 

Policies: Guidelines And Manuals 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0205 

Local WIC Agency Agreement and Budget 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0207 

Expansion of Local Wic Programs 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0304 

Participant Violations and Sanctions 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0410 

Dual Participation 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0411 

Supplemental Foods 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0501 

Issuance of Food Benefits 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0702 

Vendor Applicants 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0707 

Authorized Vendors 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0708 

Local WIC Agency 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0709 

Continuation of Participation  10A NCAC 43D .0804 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

40:06 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 15, 2025 

586 

Amend* 

General Conditions 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0902 

Notification Of The Right To a Fair Hearing 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0904 

Request For a Fair Hearing 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0905 

Denial Or Dismissal of a Request 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0906 

Continuation Of Benefits 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0907 

Notice of Hearing 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0908 

Hearing Officer 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0909 

Decision 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 43D .0911 

The rules in Chapter 48 establish the procedures and standards for local health department accreditation. The rules in 
Subchapter 48A establish the process for local health departments to become accredited including general provisions 
(.0100); and the accreditation process (.0200). 

Purpose 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48A .0101 

Definitions 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48A .0102 

Self-Assessment 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48A .0201 

Site Visit 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48A .0202 

Board Action 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48A .0203 

Informal Review Procedures 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48A .0204 

Re-Accreditation 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48A .0205 

The rules in Subchapter 48B establish the accreditation standards for local health departments including general 
provisions (.0100); the standards or benchmarks to monitor health status (.0200); diagnose and investigate health 
problems and health hazards in the community (.0300); inform, educate and empower people about health issues 
(.0400); mobilize community partnerships to identify and solve health problems (.0500); develop policies and plans that 
support individual and community health efforts (.0600); enforce laws and regulations that protect health and ensure 
safety (.0700); link people to personal health services to assure the provision of health care when otherwise unavailable 
(.0800); assure a competent public health workforce and personal health workforce (.0900); evaluate effectiveness, 
accessibility and quality of personal and population based health services (.1000); research for new insights and 
innovative solutions to health problems (.1100); provide facilities and administrative services (.1200) and provide 
governance (.1300). 

Purpose 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0101 

Definitions 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0102 

Accreditation Requirements 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0103 

Benchmark 1  10A NCAC 48B .0201 
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Repeal* 

Benchmark 2 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0202 

Benchmark 3 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0203 

Benchmark 4 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0301 

Benchmark 5 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0302 

Benchmark 6 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0303 

Benchmark 7 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0304 

Benchmark 8 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0305 

Benchmark 9 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0401 

Benchmark 10 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0402 

Benchmark 11 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0501 

Benchmark 12 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0502 

Benchmark 13 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0503 

Benchmark 14 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0601 

Benchmark 15 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0602 

Benchmark 16 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0701 

Benchmark 17 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0702 

Benchmark 18 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0703 

Benchmark 19 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0801 

Benchmark 20 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0802 

Benchmark 21 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0803 

Benchmark 22 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0804 

Benchmark 23 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0901 

Benchmark 24 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0902 

Benchmark 25 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0903 

Benchmark 26 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .0904 

Benchmark 27  10A NCAC 48B .1001 
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Repeal* 

Benchmark 28 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .1101 

Benchmark 29 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .1102 

Benchmark 30 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .1201 

Benchmark 31 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .1202 

Benchmark 32 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .1203 

Benchmark 33 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .1204 

Benchmark 34 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .1301 

Benchmark 35 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .1302 

Benchmark 36 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .1303 

Benchmark 37 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .1304 

Benchmark 38 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .1305 

Benchmark 39 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .1306 

Benchmark 40 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .1307 

Benchmark 41 
Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 48B .1308 

The rules in Subchapter 48C establish general provisions (.0100); 

Purpose 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 48C .0101 

Definitions 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 48C .0102 

Self-Assessment 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 48C .0201 

Site Visit 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 48C .0202 

Board Action 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 48C .0203 

Informal Review Procedures 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 48C .0204 

Applying for Accreditation 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 48C .0205 

The rules in Subchapter 48D establish general provisions (.0100); standards and activities (.0200). 

Accreditation Requirements 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 48D .0101 

Standard A: Assessment and Surveillance 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 48D .0201 

Standard B: Community Partnership Development  10A NCAC 48D .0202 
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Adopt* 

Standard C: Communications 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 48D .0203 

Standard D: Emergency Preparedness and Response 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 48D .0204 

Standard E: Structural and Social Determinants of Health 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 48D .0205 

Standard F: Organizational Workforce Development 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 48D .0206 

Standard G: Organizational Leadership, Governance, and Le... 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 48D .0207 

Standard H: Organizational Facilities 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 48D .0208 

Standard I: Organizational Finance and Informational Tech... 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 48D .0209 

Standard J: Accountability and Performance Management 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 48D .0210 

Standard K: Policy Development and Support 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 48D .0211 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 9 are from the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. This Commission 
has primary responsibility for setting statewide education, training, employment, and retention standards for criminal 
justice personnel (not including sheriffs). The rules in Subchapter 9B cover minimum standards for: employment (.0100); 
schools and training programs (.0200); criminal justice instructors (.0300); completion of training (.0400); school 
directors (.0500); and certification of post-secondary criminal justice education programs (.0600). 

Admission of Trainees 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0203 

Radar Instructor Training Course 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0210 

Time-Distance Instructor Training Course 
Repeal* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0211 

Re-Certification Training for Radar Instructors 
Repeal* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0218 

Re-Certification Training for Time-Distance Instructors 
Repeal* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0219 

Basic-Training - County Confinement Facility 
Repeal* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0224 

LIDAR Instructor Training Course 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0237 

Re-Certification Training for Lidar Instructors 
Repeal* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0239 

Terms and Conditions of General Instructor Certification 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0303 

Radar Instructor 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0308 

Time Distance Instructors 
Repeal* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0309 

Terms and Conditions - SMI Instructors 
Repeal* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0310 

Time Requirement for Completion of Training  12 NCAC 09B .0401 
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Repeal* 

Waiver of Completion of Training 
Repeal* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0402 

Satisfaction of Minimum Training - SMI Instructor 
Repeal* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0416 

The rules in Subchapter 9C concern the administration of criminal justice education and training standards including 
responsibilities of the criminal justice standards division (.0100); forms (.0200); certification of criminal justice officers 
(.0300); accreditation of criminal justice schools and training courses (.0400); minimum standards for accreditation of 
associate of applied science degree programs incorporating basic law enforcement training (.0500); and equipment and 
procedures (.0600). 

Agency Head Responsibilities: Critical Incident Reporting 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09C .0104 

The rules in Chapter 9 are from the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. The rules in 
Subchapter 9E relate to the law enforcement officers' in-service training program. 

Department Head Responsibilities: Annual In-Service Training 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09E .0103 

Completion of Annual In-Service Training 
Adopt* 

 12 NCAC 09E .0111 

The rules in Subchapter 9G are the standards for correction including scope, applicability and definitions (.0100); 
minimum standards for certification of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, and probation/parole officers-
intermediate (.0200); certification of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, probation/parole officers intermediate 
and instructors (.0300); minimum standards for training of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, and 
probation/parole officers-intermediate (.0400); enforcement of rules (.0500); professional certification program (.0600); 
and forms (.0700). 

Minimum Standards for Probation/Parole Officers 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09G .0209 

Recertification Following Separation 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09G .0305 

Lateral Transfers 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09G .0410 

The rules in Subchapter 9H concern the firearms qualification certification program for qualified retired law enforcement 
officers. 

Minimum Training Specifications 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09H .0102 

Instructors 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09H .0103 

Sanctions 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09H .0104 

Filing and Fees 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09H .0105 

BOXING AND COMBAT SPORTS COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 10 concern the boxing authority including purpose (.0100); drugs and foreign substances (.0200); 
physical examinations (.0300); permits, licensing and contracts (.0400); boxing (.0500); kickboxing (.0600); toughman 
(.0700); and mixed martial arts (.0800). 

Amateurs - Kickboxing 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 10 .0605 
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Amateur - Mixed Martial Arts 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 10 .0810 

OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH REVIEW COMMISSION 

N/A 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 24 NCAC 03 .0101 

Extensions of Time 
Amend* 

 24 NCAC 03 .0105 

Record Address 
Amend* 

 24 NCAC 03 .0106 

Service and Notice 
Amend* 

 24 NCAC 03 .0107 

Citation 
Amend* 

 24 NCAC 03 .0303 

 

 

 


