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This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.
Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6.

GENERAL

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice
a month and contains the following information
submitted for publication by a state agency:

(1)  temporary rules;

(2)  text of proposed rules;

(3)  text of permanent rules approved by the Rules
Review Commission;

(4)  emergency rules

(5)  Executive Orders of the Governor;

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney
General concerning changes in laws affecting
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by
G.S. 120-30.9H; and

(7)  other information the Codifier of Rules
determines to be helpful to the public.

COMPUTING TIME: In computing time in the schedule,
the day of publication of the North Carolina Register
is not included. The last day of the period so computed
is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State
holiday, in which event the period runs until the
preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or
State holiday.

FILING DEADLINES

ISSUE DATE: The Register is published on the first and
fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the
month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for
employees mandated by the State Human Resources
Commission. If the first or fifteenth of any month is a
Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees,
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be
published on the day of that month after the first or
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for
State employees.

LAST DAY FOR FILING: The last day for filing for any
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees.

NOTICE OF TEXT

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing
date shall be at least 15 days but not later than 60 days
after the date a notice of the hearing is published.

END OF REQUIRED COMMENT  PERIOD
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a
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by the last day of the next month.



IN ADDITION

NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
NOTICE OF FEE SCHEDULE ENACTED BY SESSION LAW 2025-63

Session Law 2026-63 repealed G.S. §§ 95-110.5(20), 95-111.4(19), and 95-120(9), the
Department’s authority to set fees in its rules. Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.7, the Department filed,
and the Codifier approved, the repeal and removal of fees promulgated pursuant to these repealed
statutes from the North Carolina Administrative Code.

The following fees were enacted by Session Law 2026-63 and became effective July 1, 2025:

Elevator Safety Act
Special Inspection Fee — Expedited $1,000
Temporary Limited Certificate for Construction Use Only; Less than 10 Floors ~ $200.00
Temporary Limited Certificate for Construction Use Only; 10 or More Floors $300.00

Reinspection Fee of Failed New and Repair/Alteration Inspections $1,000

Routine/Annual Elevator Inspections; Less than 10 Floors $200.00
Routine/Annual Elevator Inspections; 10 or More Floors $300.00
Routine/Annual Wheelchair Lift and Dumbwaiter Inspections $100.00
Routine/Annual Escalator and Moving Walk Inspections $500.00

Upon application to the Department for a new or alteration construction permit for a device subject
to this section, an applicant shall submit a permit application fee. The amount of the permit
application fee shall be the greater of (i) two hundred dollars ($200.00) or (ii) one percent (1%) of
the contract price for the alteration or installation of the device being permitted.

Amusement Device Safety Act

Advance Location Notice (ALN) Application Fee $25.00

Special Inspection Fee — Expedited $1,000

Amusement Major Ride Inspections $250.00
Amusement Return Trip Inspections $500.00
Holiday/Weekend Inspections $500.00
Kiddie Ride Inspections $100.00
Go Kart Inspections (per cart) $50.00

Go Kart Track Inspections $200.00
Amusement Rock Wall Inspections $100.00
Roller Coaster (permanent and portable) Inspections $500.00
Simulators $100.00
Bungee Trampoline Inspections $100.00
Water Slide Inspections $300.00
Train Inspections $250.00

Passenger Tramway Safety Act

Gondolas, Chairlifts, Inclined Railroad Inspections $500.00
J or T Bars and Conveyors Inspections $300.00
Rope Tow Inspections $200.00
40:07 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 1, 2025

592



IN ADDITION

North Carolina License and Theft Bureau

PUBLIC NOTICE

This serves as a notice pursuant to G.S. § 20-288 of a license application submission by a

manufacturer, factory branch, factory representative, distributor, distributor branch, or distributor

representative that has not been previously issued a license by the Division.
Applicant’s Name: CHAMPION HOME BUILDERS INC

Applicant’s Address:349 E RAILROAD ST, PEMBROKE, NC 28372
Application Date:8/26/2025

Names and titles of any individual listed on the application as an owner, partner, member or
officer of the applicant: TIMOTHY LARSON, PRES/CEO; LAURIE HOUGH,
CFO/TREASURER; LAUREL KRUEGER, SVP/GC/ SECRETARY; CHAMPION HOMES
INC
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IN ADDITION

North Carolina License and Theft Bureau
PUBLIC NOTICE

This serves as a notice pursuant to G.S. 8§ 20-288 of a license application submission by a
manufacturer, factory branch, factory representative, distributor, distributor branch, or
distributor representative that has not been previously issued a license by the Division.

Applicant’s Name: INTERSTATE TRAILERS, INC

Applicant’s Address: 1101 HERITAGE PKWY., MANSFIELD, TX 76063

Application Date: 08/25/2025

Names and titles of any individual listed on the application as an owner, partner, member
or officer of the applicant:

MATT LAWS, PRESIDENT/OFFICER
JOSH FLOWERS, VP/OFFICER

STEVEN FLOWERS, CEO/OFFICER
BRIAN SCHRODER, COO/OFFICER

SEAN HUTCHERSON, CFO/OFFICER
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The 20252026 Low-Income Housing Tax Credit Qualified Allocation Plan
For the State of North Carolina

IL SET-ASIDES, AWARD LIMITATIONS, AND COUNTY DESIGNATIONS.........ccccovvveeeee 5

A. REHABILITATION SET-ASIDE ..ottt et e e e es e ses e e nes st en s mnessens e 5

B. NEW CONSTRUCTION SET-ASIDES ......ccovitimirrsseiesrenisrsssesnsassss s sesssessassssssssssssssesasssnces 5

1 ‘GEOGRAPEIC REGTCINS sy vimseiss s ns simmss i s su o s sss s sieeis 5

2. REDEVELOPMENT PROJECTS ......oooeeeeeeeeetmeceeeeee et ee e s e e eamsssas s ames s ee s e ssnnsseeeeann 5

3. DISASTER RECOVERY 6

C. USDA RURAL DEVELOPMENT ........oveieerctesieteteceeiesrassessesesssssesesessssssesssesssessesssssnssssssssssssssens 76
D. NONPROFIT AND CHDO SET-ASIDES, NATIONAL HOUSING TRUST FUND, AND

CHOICE NEIGHBORHOODS IMPLEMENTATION SET-ASIDE......ccooiieieveirisecevece e 76

1. SET-ASIDES AND NATIONAL HOUSING TRUST FUND......cccurmmnmmnssmsmemni 716

(2) NONPIOTIL SEt-ASIAC . ...eueriet sttt ettt et ettt st 87

(D) CHIDO SEE-ASIAE ..oneveveeveeeceieereee s eeeses s sessseeseasseas s eensessessasssenssessensnsssnsssssennesensseesen 87

2. CHOICE NEIGHBORHOODS IMPLEMENTATION SET-ASIDE......ccccoooiviiceireeeceenn 87

E. PRINCIPAL AND PROJECT AWARD LIMITS ..o et se st e snes e ssanes 87

L. PRINCIPAL LINVITTS ocvusausususrsresvsssmssssnssesss s s ssss s s sss vos svi s doss sessossuaaass saviesnd 87

2. PROJECT LIMIT ..ottt ee e ens e s e en s es s m s et en s e ese e 98

3. AGENCY-DESIGNATED BASIS BOOST .....ooooieeeeeeeeeee et eee e 98

F. COUNTY AWARD LIMITS AND INCOME DESIGNATIONS ......ccoooiiiiviiieriice it 98

1. AWARD LIMITS e 98

(a) Rehabilitation and East, Central, and West Regions ......cccoveieiniiiiscinnse e 98

(D) MEtro REZIOM .....c.eerieriet ettt ce et e et en e e 98

2. INCOME DESIGNATIONS ...t ete et eee e eteee e eaeessssssnnse e s snesemsessnsensseeannean 98

G. OTHER AWARDS AND RETURNED ALLOCATIONS ..ottt siceiecee e 109

II1. DEADLINES, APPLICATION AND FEES...........cinissssnsens. 108
A. APPLICATION AND AWARD SCHEDULE ....ccooteeieeeerrree e e resres s s e senene s 109

B. APPLICATION, ALLOCATION, MONITORING, AND PENALTY FEES........cccoovienenee 1146
C. APPLICATION PROCESS AND REQUIREMENTS. ..ot 11468
IV. SELECTION CRITERIA AND THRESHOLD REQUIREMENTS.....ccoooviinininiiriiinnenns 12u
A. SITE AND MARKET EVALUATION.......covoiiiiiine. e 124
1. SITE EVALUATION (MAXIMUM 687+ POINTS v 1243

(a) General Site Requirements: ........cc.ccevceveceenncee. s 124

(b) Criteria for Site Score Evaluation:............ccoeueovoevericie e et 1341

(1) NEIGHBORHOOD CHARACTERISTICS (MAXIMUM 10 POINTS)...cccoovieiiiriens 134

(i) AMENITIES (MAXIMUM 49 POINTS)..oooooo oo 1312

(u1) SITE SUITABILITY (MAXIMUM 12 POINTS) v 1634

(iv) SITE NEGATIVE POINTS (NEGATIVE 3 POINTS).. 1715

2 NABRIGEY, ARIATEMEETE v cvorssvvvmantoniasosmesmusomssonsisses v svissvsva vk s s A ST TR 4S5 SRS o 1745

B. RENT AFFORDABILITY ..ottt sttt est e s e se e se s st sae e s e s neenee s 1816

20252026 QUALIFIED ALLOCATION PLAN
1 of 35

40:07 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 1, 2025
595




IN ADDITION

1. FEDERAT: RENTAL ASSISTANCE ..covimmcmmnssirssmssistisss i 18.
2. TENANT RENT LEVELS AND RPP (MAXIMUM 2 POINTS)... 18
3 INCOME ANVERAGING: i oot s smm v o b s s o A e e b sy 19
C. PROJECT DEVELOPMENT COSTS, RPP LIMITATIONS, AND WHLP........ccccovvvereerrnne 1947
1. MAXIMUM PROJECT DEVELOPMENT COSTS (NEGATIVE 10 POINTS).. A )
2. 'RESTRICTIONS ON RPP ANWIARIDS .ss:sssasssissassss nissssissasisssiissssssinsissaassmssasssssnsaasaassas ¢
3. WORKFORCE HOUSING LOAN PROGRAM (Subject to appropnahon)
4. 0 - : >
D. CAPABILITY OF THE PROJECT TEAM.......cciiieeieieirieieeeeenceeee e siesre s se e ene e s 22
1. DEVELOPMENT EXPERIENCE........
2. MANAGEMENT EXPERIENCE................
3. PROJECT TEAM DISQUALIFICATIONS ....
E. UNITMECAND PROIECT SIZE v oo s s s o e st s st ssaamnya 2321
E. SPECIAL GCRITERTA-AND TIEBREAKERS ..c..occumsmvumsmmsnsngisssmmesmmimmimiseiss 2422
1. ENERGY STAR CERTIFICATION .. v 2422
2. APPLICANT BONUS POINTS (MAXIMUM 2 POINTS) ..... 24
3. UNITS FOR THE MOBILITY IMPAIRED... v e 2422
4. "TARGETING PROGRANE: ;o cnmiissssimssstssssssn savssssussmas ssssstassisasagasinns e 2422
5. OLMSTEAD SETTLEMENT INITIATIVE (MAXIMUM 4 POINTS).....cccceoevuermerernnnen 2523
6. SECTION 1602 EXCHANGE PROJECTS (NEGATIVE 40 POINTS) ...cccovevieriinennne 2523
7. TIEBREAKER CRETERTIA i o ot o oo oo i s e sy S e oo oo 2523
@ DESIGN STANDARIDS coouastnie s s e s et s e s e e T S R 2624
1. THRESHOLD REQUIREMENTS ......cccccissinausasionsansassssssaarsassasssnsansissssnsanes e 2624
2. CRITERIA FOR SCORE EVALUATION (MAXIMUM 30 POINTS)..... e 2624
(A), SAUE LIAVOUE . csmimsussusgosusesinissansosssisns s issass s 53545555 5553854 545 53554043 H o4 30T B U AR ST S48 2624
(b): Quality of Designand CONSHTCHON «.xuusssvussismsmmisimissmiiasimssvinsssisivmeiziseidvsisses 2624
(C) AdAPIIVE REEUNE ucimmmssssms st s s s s ey s 2624
H. CRITERIA FOR SELECTION OF REHABILITATION PROJECTS ....ccccvceviinerenierereene 2724
1. GENERAL THRESHOLD REQUIREMENTS o 20
2. THRESHOLD DESIGN REQUIREMENTS ........cceotiiiriiirieiniiinee e s esesesesiesenen 27
2t IEVATLKTATIONICRETBRIA: .. cnsx v s sssssosmss st sy vis s s s aus ssounssssouse 2825
V. ALLOCATION OF BOND CAP.........cceueuee ST SRS Lo 27
A ORDEROF PRIORITY veissstsussisssssss s s s 5o oo s o ss s oo oo 2826
B:. BLIGIBILITY. EOR AMWARD oo s 0o i e e 0 o e s iy s oo v 2926
VL GENERAL REQUIREMENES i sveensssssonsruniossonsssnsosssmsssssssmmnsnsssemsssonie i poississamsseotosss 2927
A. GENERAL THRESHOLD REQUIREMENTS FOR PROJECT PROPOSALS ........ccccovvvunene 2927
1. PROJECTS WITH HISTORIC TAX CREDITS .....cooovieieeeeeeeceeecee e e 2027
2. NONPROFIT SET-ASIDE .....ccccccovvreneireiereannns e 2027
3. REQUIRED REPORTS......... . 3027
4. APPRAISALS................. . 3028
5. CONCENTRATION... 3028
6. DISPLACEMENT....... . 3028
7. FEASIBILITY ..cicusosasussesssnsss L3128
8 SMOKE-EREE EHIOUSTING: . ncuuussusoss ssesssssssssnsansssssassnississhasssnisssssssssshasassssaisssiusessinssssassing 3128
B. UNDERWRITING THRESHOLD REQUIREMENTS .......ccccooiiiieieniice e 3128
20252026 QUALIFIED ALLOCATION PLAN
20f35
40:07 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 1, 2025

596



IN ADDITION

1. LOAN UNDERWRITING STANDARDS........oooooeeereereereereeeesveseeseeseeseeeeesesseseesesseeseeseeseen 3129

2. :

5

4.

5. DEFERRED DEVELOPER FEES (NEGATIVE )

6. FINANCING COMMITMENT .....oooooooeoeoeeoeeeeeee oo

7. DEVELOPERFEES ..o

8. CONSULTING FEES.....

9. ARCHITECTS’ FEES........ooovvooeee

10. INVESTOR SERVICES FEES.................

11. PROJECT CONTINGENCY FUNDING

12. PROJECT OWNERSHIP.........ovooeooeeeeoeeeeeoeeeseee e e eseseeoeeseees e sessessesseeseeseeeseesseseeseessesesseees | 4

13. SECTION 8 PROJECT-BASED RENTAL ASSISTANCE ......oooovvooooooeeooeeeeeeeeeeeeee e 3431

14. WATER, SEWER, AND TAP FEES..........oovveoeeoeeooeroreooeeveereeeeseeseeseeeseseeeeeeeseeseeseeseeseeeeereen 3431

VII. POST-AWARD PROCESSES AND REQUIREMENTS............ccooeseesesueseesiesiasiesisissvssissis 3431

A. ALLOCATION TERMS AND REVOCATION .....oooooooooeeoseeseseeseeeesseesesseseesessessessessssesseesessien 3431
B. COMPLIANCE MONITORING ...ooooovoovooeooee oo eeeeeeeeeeeeseseessessseessessessesseseessssessessesessessesseene 3633

20252026 QUALIFIED ALLOCATION PLAN
3of 35

40:07 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 1, 2025
597




IN ADDITION

I. INTRODUCTION

The 20252026 Qualified Allocation Plan (the Plan) has been developed by the North Carolina Housing
Finance Agency (the Agency) as administrative agent for the North Carolina Federal Tax Reform
Allocation Committee (the Committee) in compliance with Section 42 of the Internal Revenue Code of
1986, as amended (the Code). For purposes of the Plan, the term “Agency” shall mean the Agency acting
on behalf of the Committee, unless otherwise provided.

The Plan was reviewed in one public hearing and met the other legal requirements prior to final adoption
by the Committee. The staff of the Agency was present at the hearing to take comments and answer
questions.

The Agency will only allocate low-income housing tax credits in compliance with the Plan. The Code
requires the Plan contain certain elements. These elements, and others added by the Committee, are listed
below.

A. Selection criteria to be used in determining the allocation of tax credits:
Project location and site suitability.

Market demand and local housing needs.

Serving the lowest income tenants.

Serving qualified tenants for the longest periods.

Design and quality of construction.

Financial structure and long-term viability.

Use of federal project-based rental assistance.

Use of mortgage subsidies.

Experience of development team and management agent(s).
Serving persons with disabilities and persons who are homeless.
Willingness to solicit referrals from public housing waiting lists.
Tenant populations of individuals with children.

Projects intended for eventual tenant ownership.

Projects that are part of a community redevelopment effort.
Energy efficiency.

Historic nature of the buildings.

B. Threshold, underwriting and process requirements.

C. Description of the Agency’s compliance monitoring program, including procedures to notify the
Internal Revenue Service of noncompliance with the requirements of the program.

In the process of administering the tax credit, Rental Production Program (RPP) and Workforce Housing
Loan Program (WHLP), the Agency will make decisions and interpretations regarding project
applications and the Plan. RPP and WHLP are state investments dedicated to making rental
developments financially feasible and more affordable for working families and seniors. Unless otherwise
stated, the Agency is entitled to the full discretion allowed by law in making all such decisions and
interpretations. The Agency reserves the right to amend, modify, or withdraw provisions contained in the
Plan that are inconsistent or in conflict with state or federal laws or regulations. In the event of a major:
natural disaster

pandemic / epidemic,

disruption in the financial markets, or

reduction in subsidy resources available, including tax credits, RPP, and WHLP funding

The Agency may disregard any section of the Plan, including point scoring and evaluation criteria, that
interferes with an appropriate response.

20252026 QUALIFIED ALLOCATION PLAN
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IN ADDITION

II. SET-ASIDES, AWARD LIMITATIONS, AND COUNTY DESIGNATIONS

The Agency will determine whether applications are eligible under Section II(A) or II(B). This Section II
only applies to 9% Tax Credit applications.

A. REHABILITATION SET-ASIDE

The Agency will award up to ten percent (10%) of tax credits available after forward commitments to
projects proposing rehabilitation of existing housing. The Agency may exceed this limitation to
completely fund a project request. In the event eligible requests exceed the amount available, the
Agency will determine awards based on the evaluation criteria in Section IV(H)(3). The maximum
award under this set-aside to any one Principal will be one project.

The following will be considered new construction under Section II(B) below:

e adaptive re-use projects,
e entirely vacant residential buildings,

e proposals to increase and/or substantially re-configure residential units.

B. NEW CONSTRUCTION SET-ASIDES

1. GEOGRAPHIC REGIONS

The Agency will award tax credits remaining after awards described above to new construction
projects, starting with those earning the highest scoring totals within each of the following four
geographic set-asides and continuing in descending score order through the last project that can
be fully funded. The Agency reserves the right to revise the available credits in each set-aside to

award the next highest scoring application statewide under Section II(G)(1).

West 16% Central 23% Metro 38% East 23%
Alexander  Lincoln Alamance Moore Buncombe Beaufort Jones
Alleghany ~ Macon Anson Orange Cumberland Bertie Lenoir
Ashe Madison Cabarrus Person Durham Bladen Martin
Avery McDowell Caswell Randolph Forsyth Brunswick  Nash
Burke Mitchell Chatham Richmond Guilford Camden New Hanover
Caldwell Polk Davidson Rockingham | Mecklenburg Carteret Northampton
Catawba Rutherford Davie Rowan Wake Chowan Onslow
Cherokee Surry Franklin Scotland Columbus  Pamlico
Clay Swain Granville Stanly Craven Pasquotank
Cleveland  Transylvania | Harnett Stokes Currituck Pender
Gaston Watauga Hoke Union Dare Perquimans
Graham Wilkes Iredell Vance Duplin Pitt
Haywood Yadkin Lee Warren Edgecombe Robeson
Henderson ~ Yancey Montgomery Gates Sampson
Jackson Greene Tyrrell

Halifax Washington
Hertford Wayne
Hyde Wilson
Johnston

2. REDEVELOPMENT PROJECTS

(a) If necessary, the Agency will adjust the awards under the Plan to ensure the overall allocation
results in awards for two (2) Redevelopment Projects. Specifically, tax credits that would
have been awarded to the lowest ranking project(s) that do(es) not meet the criteria below
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receive 1 bonus point. Additional point does not apply to counties listed under section
IV(F)(5)(b).

(d) Disaster Recovery Funds

In the event funds are available for the 2026 cycle. any new construction application in
the counties (or partial county) designated below agrees to accept CDBG-DR funds as
part of a tax credit award. Eligibility for the funds will require, at a minimum. not
undertaking any choice-limiting activity prior to successful completion of the U.S.
Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) environmental clearance review
as well as complying with Davis-Bacon wage requirements. Section 3 and other required
federal documentation. Terms will be determined by the Agency upon fund availability.

Alexander Clay Madison Transylvania
Alleghany Cleveland McDowell Watauga
Ashe Gaston Mecklenburg (zip | Wilkes

code 28214)

Avery Haywood Mitchell Yadkin
Buncombe Henderson Polk Yancey
Burke ackson Rutherford

Caldwell Lincoln Surry

Catawba Macon Swain

C. USDA RURAL DEVELOPMENT

Up to $750,000 will be awarded to one eligible rehabilitation project with existing U.S. Department
of Agriculture, Rural Development (RD) Section 515 financing and project-based rental assistance for
at least fifty percent (50%) of the units. This project will count towards the applicable set-asides and
limits. Other RD applications will be considered under the applicable set-asides.

D. NONPROFIT AND CHDO SET-ASIDES, NATIONAL HOUSING TRUST FUND, AND CHOICE
NEIGHBORHOODS IMPLEMENTATION SET-ASIDE

1:

SET-ASIDES AND NATIONAL HOUSING TRUST FUND

If necessary, the Agency will adjust the awards under the Plan to ensure that the overall allocation
results in:
e ten percent (10%) of the state’s federal tax credit ceiling being awarded to projects
involving tax-exempt organizations (nonprofits),
o fifteen percent (15%) of the Agency’s HOME funds being awarded to projects involving
Community Housing Development Organizations certified by the Agency (CHDOs) and
o all funds available from the National Housing Trust Fund have been awarded.

Specifically, tax credits that would have been awarded to the lowest ranking project(s) that do(es)
not fall into one of these categories will be awarded to the next highest ranking project(s) that
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do(es) until the overall allocation(s) reach(es) the necessary percentage(s). The Agency may
make such adjustment(s) in any set-aside.

(a) Nonprofit Set-Aside

To qualify as a nonprofit application, the project must either:
¢ not involve any for-profit Principals or
e comply with the material participation requirements of the Code, applicable federal
regulations and Section VI(A)2).

(b) CHDO Set-Aside

To qualify as a CHDO application,

¢ the project must meet the requirements of subsection (D)(1)(a) above and 24 CFR
92.300(a)(1),

¢ the Applicant, any Principal, or any affiliate must not undertake any choice-limiting
activity prior to successful completion of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) environmental clearance review, and

¢ the project and owner must comply with regulations regarding the federal CHDO set-
aside.

The Agency may determine the requirements of the federal CHDO set-aside have been or
will be met without implementing subsection (D)(1)(b).

(c) National Housing Trust Fund

To qualify for the National Housing Trust Fund, the project must:
o commit at least twenty-five percent (25%) of qualified low-income units will be
affordable to and occupied by households with incomes at or below thirty percent
(30%) of area median income. See Appendix G for additional information.

2. CHOICE NEIGHBORHOODS IMPLEMENTATION SET-ASIDE

The Agency will make a forward commitment of 20276 tax credits for no more than two
applications, and no more than one application per housing authority, provided such applications
meet all Plan requirements and are not awarded through the regular competition. To be eligible
under this set-aside the Agency must have approved the application for submission under this set-
aside prior to the preliminary application submission deadline. Any Public Housing Authority
involved in more than one application containing CNI funds will be required to indicate their
priority project.

E. PRINCIPAL AND PROJECT AWARD LIMITS

1. PRINCIPAL LIMITS

(a) The maximum awards to any one Principal will be a total of $2,600,000 in tax credits,
including all set-asides. New construction awards will be counted towards this limitation first
(in score order), then rehabilitation awards. No Principal can receive more than 2 new
construction awards.

(b) The Agency may further limit awards based on unforeseen circumstances.

(c) For purposes of the maximum allowed in this subsection (E)( 1), the Agency may determine
that a person or entity not included in an application is a Principal for the project. Such
determination would include consideration of relationships between the parties in previously
awarded projects and other common interests. Standard fee for service contract relationships
(such as accountants or attorneys) will not be considered.
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2. PROJECT LIMIT

The maximum award to any one project will be $1,300,000.

3. AGENCY-DESIGNATED BASIS BOOST

The Agency can boost the eligible basis of new construction projects committing to the targeting
in Section IV(B)(2) or that are located in an Opportunity Zone by up to ten percent (10%).
Counties located in Tropical StormHusricane Helene disaster areas are eligible to request up to
thirty percent (30%). Projects using the DDA or QCT basis increase are not eligible under this
section.

F. COUNTY AWARD LIMITS AND INCOME DESIGNATIONS

1. AWARD LIMITS
(a) Rehabilitation and East, Central, and West Regions

No county will be awarded more than one project under the rehabilitation set-aside. No
county will be awarded more than one project under the new construction set-aside

(b) Metro Region

The initial maximum award(s) for a county will be its percent share of the Metro region based
on population (see Appendix K), unless exceeding this amount is necessary to complete a
project request. If any tax credits remain, the Agency will make awards to the next highest
scoring application(s). -A county may receive one additional award, even if in excess of its
share. See Section II(B)(3)(b) for Buncombe County exception.

2. INCOME DESIGNATIONS

The Agency is responsible for designating each county as High, Moderate or Low Income. The
criteria used as a guide in making this determination was HUD’s FY 2023-2025 2024 Median
Family Income.

High Moderate Low
Brunswickuneembe Johnston Alamance Jones Alleghany  Lenoir
Buncomberunswiel Lincoln Alexander Fee Anson Martin
Cabarrus Madison Avery Macon Ashe Sfe el
Chatham Mecklenburg | Beaufort McDowell Aoy Montgomery
Currituck Moore Burke Mitchell Bertie Northampton
Dare New Hanover | Caldwell Nash Bladen Richmond
Durham Orange Camden Onslow Cherokee Robeson
Franklin Pender Carteret Pamlico Chowan Rutherford
Gaston Union Caswell Pasquotank | Slay P
Henderson Wake Catawba Perquimans Cleveland  Scotland
Iredell Watauga Clay Person Columbus  Sursy

Craven Pitt Duplin Tyrrell
Cumberland  Polk Graham Vance
Davidson Randolph Greene Warren
Davie Rockingham | Halifax Washington
Duplin Rowan Hertford Wavne
Edgecombe  Sampson Hyde Wilkes
Forsyth Stanly Jones b
Gates Stokes Lee

Granville Surry
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Guilford Swain
Harnett Transylvania
Haywood e
Hoke Wilson
Jackson Yadkin
Yancey

G. OTHER AWARDS AND RETURNED ALLOCATIONS

1:

The Agency may award tax credits remaining from the geographic set-asides to the next highest
scoring eligible new construction application(s) in the East, Central, and West regions and/or one
or more eligible rehabilitation applications. The Agency may also carry forward any amount of
tax credits to the next year.

An owner who received an award of 9% tax credits in 2023-2024 e=pries—is eligible to receive an
allocation of 20232026 tax credits equal to or less than the amount of the original tax credits
awarded to the project. The Owner must request an allocation of 20263 credits between
November 1, 20254 and December 31, 20254. -The allocation will not count against the
20252026 Principal limit. Any Owner that receive an allocation of 2025 credits will be allowed to
request an allocation of 2028 credits.

The following will apply to those owners requesting a new tax credit allocation:

e  Owners will retum their allocation for an allocation of 20262025 tax credits.

e Projects must comply with the requirements in the Qualified Allocation Plan for the original
allocation and all representations made in the original awarded application (unless otherwise
waived by the Agency).

e Any award of 9% tax credits allocated in2024-0r-later will be limited to one return of credits
for a new allocation.

e The project’s design is the same as approved at full application (other than changes approved
by the Agency).

e Projects seeking additional credits will need to re-apply in the 26252026 cycle.

The Agency may make a forward commitment of the next year’s tax credits in an amount
necessary to fully fund project(s) with a partial award or to any project application that was
submitted in a prior year if such application meets all the minimum requirements of the Plan. In
the event that credits are returned or the state receives credits from the national pool, the Agency
may elect to carry such credits forward, make an award to any project application (subject only to
the nonprofit set aside), or a combination of both.

III. DEADLINES, APPLICATION AND FEES

A. APPLICATION AND AWARD SCHEDULE

The following schedule will apply to the 20252026 application process for 9% Tax Credits and the
first round of tax-exempt bond volume and 4% Tax Credits.

January 167  Deadline for submission of preliminary applications (12:00 noon)
March 616 Market analysts will submit studies to the Agency and Applicants
March 20+ Notification of final site scores

March 204 Deadline for market-related project revisions (5:00 p.m.)

April 37 Deadline for the Agency and Applicant to receive the revised market study, if
applicable
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May 159 Deadline for full applications (12:00 noon)
August Notification of tax credit awards

The Agency will also accept tax-exempt bond volume and 4% Tax Credit applications any time
between May 1 and October 1-(5:00 p.m.). When a preliminary application has been submitted in
this timeframe, a schedule of milestones will be provided to the Applicant. The preliminary
application submission date will determine when those milestones occur which will follow a time
frame similar to the 9% Tax Credit round. The Agency will work with the Applicant to determine if
the project will receive 26252026 or 20276 volume cap. Full applications can be submitted no later
than January 89, 20276.

The Agency reserves the right to change the schedule to accommodate unforeseen circumstances.

B. APPLICATION, ALLOCATION, MONITORING, AND PENALTY FEES

1.

All Applicants are required to pay a nonrefundable fee of $6,200486 at the submission of the
preliminary application. This fee covers the cost of the market study or physical needs
assessment and a $1,500480 preliminary application processing fee (which will be assessed for
every electronic application submitted). The Agency may charge additional fee(s) to cover the
cost of direct contracting with other providers (such as appraisers).

All Applicants are required to pay a nonrefundable processing fee of $1,500480 upon submission
of the full application.

Entities receiving tax credit awards, including those involving tax-exempt bond volume, are
required to pay a nonrefundable allocation fee equal to 0.964% of the project’s total eligible

gualified basis.

The allocation fee will be due at the time of either the carryover allocation or bond volume award.

Failure to return the required documentation and fee by the date specified may result in
cancellation of the allocation. The Agency may assess other fees for additional monitoring
responsibilities.

Owners must pay a monitoring fee of $1,32000 per unit (includes all units, qualified,
unrestricted, and employee) prior to issuance of the project’s IRS Form 8609. Any project
utilizing income averaging or for which the Agency is the bond issuer must pay an additional
monitoring fee of $300 per unit.

If expenses for legal services are incurred by the Committee or Agency to correct mistakes of the
owner which jeopardize use of the tax credits, such legal costs will be paid by the owner in the
amount charged to the Committee or Agency.

The Agency may assess Applicants or owners a fee of up to $2,000 for each instance of failure to
comply with a written requirement, whether or not such requirement 1s in the Plan. The Agency
will not process applications or other documentation relating to any Principal who has an
outstanding balance of fees owed; such a delay in processing may result in disqualification of
application(s).

C. APPLICATION PROCESS AND REQUIREMENTS

1.

The Agency may require Applicants to submit any information, letter, or representation relating
to Plan requirements or point scoring as part of the application process.

Any failure to comply with an Agency request under subsection (C)(1) above or any
misrepresentation, false information or omission in any application document may result in
disqualification of that application and any other involving the same owner(s), Principal(s),
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consultant(s) and/or application preparer(s). Any misrepresentation, false information or
omission in the application document may also result in a revocation of a tax credit allocation.

(73]

Only one active application can be submitted per site (new construction or rehabilitation).

4. For any rehabilitation application proposing to combine multiple existing properties into one
property, the properties must be adjacent or not separated by more than one like parcel, or by
more than a road, street, stream, or other similar property.

5. No Principal or Applicant can be in the ownership entity of more than five (5) new construction
9% Tax Credit preliminary or full applications.

6. The Agency will notify the appropriate unit of government about the project after submission of
the full application.

7. For each application one individual or validly existing entity must be identified as the Applicant
and execute the preliminary and full applications. An entity may be one of the following:
(a) corporation, including nonprofits,
(b) limited partnership, or
(¢) limited liability company.

Only the identified Applicant will have the ability to make decisions with regard to that application
and be considered under Section IV(D)(1). The Applicant may enter into joint venture or other
agreements but the Agency will not be responsible for evaluating those documents to determine the
relative rights of the parties. If the application receives an award the Applicant must become a
managing member or general partner of the ownership entity.

IV. SELECTION CRITERIA AND THRESHOLD REQUIREMENTS

Applications must meet all applicable threshold requirements to be considered for award and funding.
Scoring and threshold determinations made in prior years are not binding on the Agency for the 26252026
cycle.

A. SITE AND MARKET EVALUATION

The Agency will not accept a full application where the preliminary application does not meet all site
and market threshold requirements.

1. SITE EVALUATION (MAXIMUM 68 POINTS)

(a) General Site Requirements:

(1) Sites must be sized to accommodate the number and type of units proposed. The
Applicant or a Principal must have site control by the preliminary application deadline as
evidenced by an option, contract or deed. The documentation of site control must include
a plot plan.

(11) Required zoning must be in place by the full application deadline, including
special/conditional use permits, and any other discretionary land use approval required
(includes all legislative or quasi-judicial decisions).

(111) Water and sewer must be available with adequate capacity to serve the site. Sites should
be accessed directly by existing paved, publicly maintained roads. If not, it will be the
owner’s responsibility to extend utilities and roads to the site. In such cases, the
Applicant must explain and budget for such plans and document the right to perform such
work.

20252026 QUALIFIED ALLOCATION PLAN
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(1v) All Te-be-elicible-forRPR funds—the preliminary applications must contain the Agency’s
“Notice of Real Property Acquisition” form. The form must be executed by all parties
before or at the same time as the option or contract.

(b) Criteria for Site Score Evaluation:

Site scores will be based on the following factors. Each will also serve as a threshold
requirement; the Agency may remove an application from consideration if the site is
sufficiently inadequate in one of the categories. An application must have a minimum total
score of 50 points.

(i) NEIGHBORHOOD CHARACTERISTICS (MAXIMUM 10 POINTS)

Good: 10 points if structures within a Half Mile are well maintained or the site qualifies
as a Redevelopment Project (see Section II(B)(2)(b))

Fair: 5 points if structures within a Half Mile are not well maintained and there are
visible signs of deterioration

Poor: 0 points if structures within a Half Mile are Blighted or have physical security
modifications (e.g. barbed wire fencing or bars on windows)

Half Mile: The half mile radius from the approximate center of the site (does not apply to
Amenities below).

Blighted: A structure that is abandoned, deteriorated substantially beyond normal wear
and tear, a public nuisance, or appears to violate minimum health and safety standards.

(i) AMENITIES (MAXIMUM 46 POINTS)

Other than applications with tribally-appropriated funds or near bus/transit stops
(described at the end of this subsection), points will be determined according to the
matrix below. For an amenity to be eligible for points, the application must include
documentation required by the Agency of meeting the applicable criteria. In all cases. the
chosen amenity must be open to the general public. have a physical location that offers
in-person services, and operating as of the preliminary application deadline with no
announced closing prior to the notification of final site scores.

Driving Distance in Miles

Primary Amenities

(maximum 26 points) <245 <2.5 <3235 <433
Grocery 12pts. 10 pts. 8 pts. 6 pts.
Shopping 7 pts. 6 pts. 5 pts. 4 pts.
Pharmacy 7 pts. 6 pts. 5 pts. 4 pts.
Secondary Amenities

(maximum 20 points) <25 <25 <325 <433
Other Primary Amenity 5 pts. 4 pts. 3pts. 2 pts.
Service 3 pts. 2 pts. 1 pt. 0 pts.
Healthcare 3 pts. 2 pts. 1 pt. 0 pts.
Public Facility 3 pts. 2 pts. 1pt. 0 pts.
Public School 3 pts. 2 pts. 1pt. 0 pts.
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Other Retail 3 pts. 2 pts. 1 pt. 0 pts.

Driving Distance in Miles. Small Town*

Primary Amenities

(maximum 26 points) <3.525 <43 <45 <5545
Grocery 12 pts. 10 pts. 8 pts. 6 pts.
Shopping 7 pts. 6 pts. 5 pts. 4 pts.
Pharmacy 7 pts. 6 pts. 5 pts. 4 pts.
Secondary Amenities <4.5

(maximum 20 points) <3.523 <43- R <5.543
Other Primary Amenity 5 pts. 4 pts. 3 pts. 2 pts.
Service 3 pts. 2 pts. 1 pt. 0 pts.
Healthcare 3 pts. 2 pts. 1 pt. 0 pts.
Public Facility 3 pts. 2 pts. 1pt. 0 pts.
Public School 3 pts. 2 pts. 1 pt. 0 pts.
Other Retail 3 pts. 2 pts. 1 pt. 0 pts.

* A Small Town is a municipality with a population of less than 10,000 people. The list
of town sizes can be found on the Office of State Budget and Management website at

https://demography.osbm.nc.gov/explore/dataset/2023-certified-population-estimates.
The Certified 2023 Population Estimates, Municipal Estimates — Alphabetically by
municipality will be used to determine a town’s population. -For municipalities listed in
multiple counties, the combined population will be used. -A site is not required to be
within the town limits to qualify but must have an address of a Small Town. -Any
application in an unincorporated town not appearing on the Small Town list but
recognized as a community must have Agency approval to be considered a Small Town
prior to the preliminary application deadline.

Only one establishment will count for each row under Primary and Secondary Amenities.
For example, an application for a site with a public park and library between twoene
peintfive (21-5) miles and two point five milestwe (2.52) miles will receive only 2 points
under Public Facility.

The driving distance will be the mileage as calculated by Google Maps and must be a
drivable route as of the preliminary application deadline. -The drivable route must be
shown in satellite view map format (written directions optional). -A photo of each
amenity must also be provided. The measurement will be:

e the point closest to the site entrance to or from

o the point closest to the amenity entrance.

Driveways, access easements, and other distances in excess of 500 feet between the
nearest residential building of the proposed project and road shown on Google Maps will
be included in the driving distance. -For scattered site projects, the measurement will be
from the location with the longest driving distance(s). -Scattered site is defined as
buildings on separate parcels, not connected by internal drive, and with separate
entrances. -A scattered site cannot have parcels separated by more than one like parcel, or
by more than a road, street, stream, or other similar property.
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The following establishments qualify as a Grocery:

The Fresh

The following establishments qualify as Shopping:

o

MarketGatlasr-Feood Walmart Neighborhood
Aldi Hopbon Lowes Foods Market

Galaxy Food
Bestway Grocery CentersTheFresh
Bi-Lo Mlarket Piggly Wigely | Walmart Supercenter
Bo’s Food Stores Harris Teeter Publix Weaver Street Market
Compare Foods Hopey & Company Red & White Wegomans
Earth Fare IGA Sav-Mor Whole Foods
Fairvalue Ingle’s Market Save-A-Lot
Family Foods Just Save Sprouts
Food Lion Kroger Super Target
Food Matters Market | Lidl Trader Joe’s

Big Lots Maxway Super Target

Dollar

Genera/DGX Ollie’s Bargain Outlet | Walmart

Dollar Tree Roses Walmart Supercenter
Family Dollar Roses Express

Fred’s Super Dollar | Target

To qualify as a Pharmacy, the establishment must have non-medical general merchandise
items for sale (not including pharmacies within hospitals. specialty or compounding only

pharmacies).

To qualify as a Secondary Amenity, the establishment must meet the applicable

requirement(s) below.

Other Primary Amenity: second Grocery, Shopping or Pharmacy (not used as

Primary Amenity)

Service:_restaurant, bank/credit union, or gas station with convenience store

Healthcare: hospital, urgent care business, general/family practice, or general dentist
(not to include orthodontist); does not include medical specialists or clinics within

pharmacies.

Public Facility (any of the following):

e public park owned and maintained by a local government containing, at a
minimum, playground equipment and/or walking/bike trails and listed on a
map, website, or other official means; a greenway or trailhead will qualify
with dedicated parking

e library operated by a local government open at least five days a week

o Senior Center, Recreation Center or Community Center: with scheduled
activities operated by a local government
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Public School:-non-alternative elementary, middle.-e+ high school (charter and magnet

public schools are eligible)

Other Retail: any Grocery or Shopping not listed as a Primary or Other Primary
Amenity; any strip shopping center or commercial hub located in the central business
districteentes -with a minimum of 4 operating establishments within a block and/or
strip center; any grocery or general merchandise establishment

A commitment of at least $250,000 in tribally-appropriated funds (including through the
Native American Housing Assistance and Self Determination Act) qualifies for 6 points,
not to exceed the total for subsection (ii). The commitment must meet the requirements of
Section VI(B)(6)(b) and be submitted as part of the preliminary application.

A bus/transit stop qualifies for 6 points, not to exceed the total for subsection (ii), if it is:
e inservice as of the preliminary application date,
e ata fixed location and has a covered waiting arca,
e served by a public transportation system six days a week, including for 10
consecutive hours on weekdays, and
o within 0.25 miles walking distance of the proposed project site entrance using
existing continuous sidewalks (excluding the proposed project site) and crosswalks.

A bus/transit stop qualifies for 2 points, not to exceed the total for subsection (ii), if all of
the above criteria are met except for a covered waiting area.

(1i1) SITE SUITABILITY (MAXIMUM 12 POINTS)

3 points if there is no Incompatible Use, which includes the following activities,
conditions, or uses within the distance ranges specified

Half Mile
e airports
e chemical or hazardous materials storage/disposal
e industrial or agricultural activities with environmental concerns (such as
odors or pollution)
commercial junk or salvage yards
landfills currently in operation
sources of excessive noise
wastewater treatment facilities

A parcel or right of way within 500 feet containing any of the following:
e adult entertainment establishment
e distribution facility
o factory or similar operation
e jail or prison
e large swamp
Any of the following within 250 feet of a proposed project building:
e clectrical utility substation, whether active or not
o frequently used railroad tracks (not to include passenger light rail)
o  hish-traffie-corridorroads with a posted speed limit of 55 mph or greater
(500 feet for an interstate)
e power transmission lines and tower

3 points if there are no negative features, design challenges, physical barriers, or other
unusual and problematic circumstances that would impede project construction or
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adversely affect future tenants, including but not limited to: power transmission lines
and towers, flood hazards, steep slopes, large boulders, ravines, year-round streams,
wetlands, and other similar features (for adaptive re-use projects: suitability for
residential use and difficulties posed by the building(s), such as limited parking,
environmental problems or the need for excessive demolition)

93]

points if the project would be visible to potential tenants using normal travel patterns
and is within 500 feet of a building that is currently in use for residential,
commercial, educational, or governmental purposes (excluding Blighted structures or
Incompatible Uses)

3 points if traffic controls allow for safe access to the site; for example limited sight
distance (blind curve) or having to cross three or more lanes of traffic going the same
direction when exiting the site would not receive points.

(iv) SITE NEGATIVE POINTS (NEGATIVE 3 POINTS)

Up to 3 points will be deducted from a site deemed to be unsuitable for housing. This
determination recognizes a site may meet all site evaluation scoring criteria but not be
suitable for housing regardless of having required zoning or local government support.

2. MARKET ANALYSIS

The Agency will administer the market study process based on this Section and the terms of
Appendix A (incorporated herein by reference).

(a)

The Agency will contract directly with market analysts to perform studies. Applicants may
interact with market analysts and will have an opportunity to revise their project (unit mix,
targeting). Any revisions must be submitted in writing to both the market analyst and to the
Agency, following the schedule in Section III(A), and will be binding on the Applicant for
the full application. Only one request for revisions by the Applicant will be allowed.

(b) The Agency will limit the number of projects awarded in the same application round to those

(©)

that it determines can be supported in the market.

The following four criteria are threshold requirements for new construction applications:

(1) the project’s capture rate,

(ii) the project’s absorption rate,

(i11) the vacancy rate at comparable properties (what qualifies as a comparable will vary based
on the circumstances), and

(iv) the project’s effect on existing or awarded properties with 9% Tax Credits or Agency
loans.

(d) Applicants may not increase the total number of units after submission of the preliminary

(e)

application. Unless 20232026 rent and income limits are released by the 9% preliminary
application deadline, 20254 rent and income limits must be used for the preliminary
application, market study, and any market study revision. Preliminary applications submitted
during the open bond cycle may use the current rent and income limits. After the deadline for
completing market-related project revisions Applicants may not increase:

(1) rents, irrespective of a decrease in utility allowances,

(ii) the number of income targeted units in any bedroom type, or

(iii) the number of units in any bedroom type.

The Agency is not bound by the conclusions or recommendations of the market analyst(s),
and will use its discretion in evaluating the criteria listed in this subsection (A)(2).
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(f) Projects may not give preferences to potential tenants based on:
(i) residing in the jurisdiction of a particular local government,
(1) having a particular disability, or
(iii) being part of a specific occupational group (e.g. artists).
(g) Age-restricted (senior) projects may not contain three or more bedroom units.

(h) No project can have more than four (4) income bands consisting of: 20%, 30%, 40%, 50%,
60%, 70%, 80% of areca median income, and market rate.

B. RENT AFFORDABILITY

1.

FEDERAL RENTAL ASSISTANCE

Applicants proposing to convert tenant-based Housing Choice Vouchers (Section 8) to a project-
based subsidy (pursuant to 24 CFR Part 983) must submit a letter from the issuing authority in a
form approved by the Agency. Conversion of vouchers will be treated similar to a funding source
under Section VI(B)(6)(¢); a project will be ineligible for an allocation if it does not meet
requirements set by the Agency as part of the application and award process. Such requirements
may involve the public housing authority’s (PHA’s) Annual Plan, selection policy, and approval
for advertising.

TENANT RENT LEVELS AND RPP (MAXIMUM 2 POINTS)
An application may earn points under one of the following scenarios:

(a) If the project is in a High Income county:

e 2 points will be awarded if at least twenty-five percent (25%) of qualified low-income
units will be affordable to and occupied by households with incomes at or below thirty
percent (30%) of area median income.

e 1 point will be awarded if at least fifteen percent (15%) of qualified low-income units
will be affordable to and occupied by households with incomes at or below thirty percent
(30%) of area median income.

(b) If the project is in a Moderate Income county:

e 2 points will be awarded if at least twenty-five percent (25%) of qualified low-income
units will be affordable to and occupied by households with incomes at or below forty
percent (40%) of area median income.

e 1 point will be awarded if at least fifteen percent (15%) of qualified low-income units
will be affordable to and occupied by households with incomes at or below forty percent
(40%) of area median income.

(c) If the project is in a Low Income county:

e 2 points will be awarded if at least twenty-five percent (25%) of qualified low-income
units will be affordable to and occupied by households with incomes at or below fifty
percent (50%) of areca median income.

e 1 point will be awarded if at least fifteen percent (15%) of qualified low-income units
will be affordable to and occupied by households with incomes at or below fifty percent
(50%) of area median income.

To qualify for an RPP loan, at least forty percent (40%) of qualified low-income units in a
project will be affordable to and occupied by households with incomes at or below fifty
percent (50%) of area medi_an income. Targeting in subsection (a), (b) or (c) above counts
towards this requirement. For additional information about the RPP, refer to Appendix G
(Rental Production Program Guidelines).
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3. INCOME AVERAGING

Only new construction projects and rehabilitation projects not subject to an existing Declaration
of Land Use Restrictive Covenants for Low-Income Housing Tax Credits are eligible to utilize
income averaging. Applicants electing to use income averaging must comply with the following:

(a) The income average for the property cannot exceed 60% of area median income,

(b) The income average for any bedroom type cannot exceed 60% of area median income,

(c) At least ten percent (10%) of qualified low-income units will be affordable to and occupied
by households with incomes at or below thirty percent (30%) of area median income.

(d) Market rate units are prohibited, and

(e) For projects with more than one building, Owners must select that each building is part of a
multiple building set-aside on line 8b in Part IT of IRS Form 8609.

C. PROJECT DEVELOPMENT COSTS, RPP LIMITATIONS, AND WHLP
1. MAXIMUM PROJECT DEVELOPMENT COSTS (NEGATIVE 10 POINTS)

(a) The Agency will assess negative points to applications listing more than the following in
lines 5 and 6 of the Project Development Costs (PDC) description, as outlined in Chart A
below. The point structure in Chart B will apply to the following:

o all units are detached single family houses or duplexes,
e serving persons with severe mobility impairments,
e development challenges resulting from being within or adjacent to a central business
district,
e public housing redevelopment projects, or
e building(s) with both steel and concrete construction and at least four stories of
housing.
The per-unit amount calculation includes all items covered by the construction contract,
ENERGY STAR, certifications for green programs, and any other costs not unique to the
specific proposal.
Chart A Chart B

$130,000 -10 $145,000 -10

(b) Total replacement costs must not exceed $280.000 per unit.

(cb)The Agency will review proposed costs for historic adaptive re-use projects and approve the
amount during the full application review process.

See Section VI(B) for other cost restrictions.

2. RESTRICTIONS ON RPP AWARDS

(a) Projects requesting RPP funds must submit the Agency’s “Notice of Real Property
Acquisition” form with the preliminary application and may not:

(i) request RPP funds in excess of the following amounts per unit: $15,000 in High Income
counties; $20,000 in Moderate Income counties; $25,000 in Low Income counties,

(i1) include market-rate units,
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(111) request less than $150,000 or more than $1,600,000 per project,

(iv) have a commitment of funds from a local government under terms that will result in more
repayment than determined under subsection (C)(2)(b) below,

(v) have a federally insured loan or one which would require the RPP loan to have a term of
more than 20 years or limits repayment, or

(vi) have a Principal or General Contractor listed on SAM.gov as being ineligible to receive
federal funds.

The maximum award of RPP funds to any one Principal will be a total of $3,200,000.
Requesting an RPP loan may result in an application being ineligible under Section
VI(B)(6)(e) if the Agency has inadequate funds.

(b) Projects may only request an RPP loan if the principal and interest payments for RPP and any
local government financing will be equal to the anticipated net operating income divided by
1.15, less conventional debt service:

Repayment of RPP and local government loans = (NOI / 1.15) — conventional debt service.

The amount of repayment will be split between the RPP loan and local government lenders
based on their relative percentage of loan amounts. For example:

RPP Loan =$400,000
Local government loan = $200,000

Year 1 Year 2 Year 3 Year 4

Anticipated amount available for $10.000 $8.000 $6.,000 $4,000
repayment

RPP principal and interest payments $6,667 $5,333 $4,000 $2,667

Local government P&I payments $3.333 $2,667 $2.000 $1,333

Lien position will be determined by loan amount: the larger loan will have the higher lien
position. For equal loan amounts, the local government will have the higher lien position.

(c) Loan payments made to the Applicant, any Principal, member or partner of the ownership
entity, or any affiliate thereof, will be taken out of cash flow remaining after RPP payments.

(d) An application may be ineligible for RPP funds due to one or more of the listed parties
(including but not limited to members/partners, general contractor, and management agent)
having failed to comply with the Agency’s requirements on a prior loan.

3.  WORKFORCE HOUSING LOAN PROGRAM (Subject to appropriation)

(a) Projects with 9% Tax Credits which meet the Agency’s loan criteria are eligible for WHLP.
As required under the legislation, these criteria support the financing of projects similar to
those created under G.S. 105-129.42.

(b) A loan will not be closed until the outstanding balance on the first-tier construction financing
exceeds the principal amount and the entire loan must be used to pay down a portion of the
then existing construction debt.
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(c) The terms will be zero percent (0%) interest, thirty year balloon (no payments). The Agency
will take all eligible sources into consideration in setting the amount. Fhefollowinspercent

of-elisible-basiswill-be-the-ealenlated-oan-ameunt: In no event will the loan amount exceed

the statutory maximum.

County Income StatutoryMaximum
Designation

High $500,000

Moderate $2.000,000

Low $3.000,000

Requesting a WHLP loan may result in an application being ineligible under Section VI(B)(6)(¢)
if the Agency has inadequate funds. The maximum award of WHLP funds to any one Principal

will be a total of $3,000,000.
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D. CAPABILITY OF THE PROJECT TEAM

L.

DEVELOPMENT EXPERIENCE

(a) To be eligible for an award of 9% Tax Credits, at least one Principal must have successfully
developed, operated and maintained in compliance either one (1) 9% Tax Credit project in
North Carolina or six (6) separate 9% Tax Credit projects totaling in excess of 200 units. The
project(s) must have been placed in service between January 1, 20176 and January 1, 20254.
Such Principal must:

(1) be identified in the preliminary application as the Applicant under Section III(C)(7),

(i) become a general partner or managing member of the ownership entity, and

(i11) remain responsible for overseeing the project and operation of the project for a period
of at least two (2) years after placed in service. The Agency will determine what
qualifies as successful and who can be considered as involved in a particular project.

(b) All owners and Principals must disclose all previous participation in the low-income housing
tax credit program. Additionally, owners and Principals that have participated in an out of
state tax credit allocation may be required to complete an Authorization for Release of
Information form.

(c) The Agency reserves the right to determine that a particular development team does not meet
the threshold requirement of subsection (D)(1)(a) due to differences between its prior work
and the proposed project. Particularly important in this evaluation is the type of subsidy
program used in the previous experience (such as tax-exempt bonds, RD).

MANAGEMENT EXPERIENCE

The management agent must be eligible to be on the Approved Management Company List. To
be Approved, the management agent must:

(a) have at least one similar tax credit project in their current portfolio,

(b) have a valid North Carolina real estate license and be registered with the North Carolina
Secretary of State as of the full application deadline (excluding public housing authorities),

(c) be requesting Key assistance timely and accurately (if applicable),

(d) be reporting in the Agency’s Rental Compliance Reporting System (RCRS) timely and
accurately (if applicable),

(e) have at least one staff person in a supervisory capacity with regard to the project who has
attended at least three Agency sponsored trainings within the past 12 months (currently
named Compliance 101, Advanced Compliance and DHHS Targeting and Key) as of the full
application, This requirement will only be reviewed at the end of the calendar year and

(f) have at least one staff person serving in a supervisory capacity with regard to the project who
has been certified as a tax credit compliance specialist.

Such certification must be from an organization approved by the Agency (see Appendix C).
None of the persons or entities serving as management agent may have in their portfolio a project
with material or uncorrected noncompliance beyond the cure period unless there is a plan of
action to address the issue(s). Any management agent found to have implemented a rent increase
on an existing tax credit property without the required Agency approval may be prohibited from
serving as management agent for an application. Should a management agent be removed from
the Approved Management Company list for failure to comply with the above requirements, and
the issue is not resolved following an opportunity to cure, the management agent will remain off
of the Approved Management list for a period of no less than one year. The management agent
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listed on the application must be retained by the ownership entity for at least two (2) years after
project completion, unless the Agency approves a change.

PROJECT TEAM DISQUALIFICATIONS

The Agency may disqualify any owner, Principal or management agent, who:

(78]

(a) has been debarred or received a limited denial of participation in the past ten years by any
federal or state agency from participating in any development program;

(b) within the past ten years has been in a bankruptey; an adverse fair housing settlement,
judgment or administrative determination; an adverse civil rights settlement, judgment or
administrative determination; or an adverse federal, state or local government proceeding and
settlement, judgment or administrative determination;

(c) has been in a mortgage default or arrearage of three months or more within the last five years
on any publicly subsidized project;

(d) has been involved within the past ten years in a project which previously received an
allocation of tax credits but failed to meet standards or requirements of the tax credit
allocation or failed to fulfill one of the representations contained in an application for tax
credits;

() has been found to be directly or indirectly responsible for any other project within the past
five years in which there is or was uncorrected noncompliance more than three months from
the date of notification by the Agency or any other state allocating agency;

(f) interferes with a tax credit application for which it is not an owner or Principal at a public
hearing or other official meeting;

g) has outstanding flags in HUD’s national 2530 National Participation system;

(h) has been involved in any project awarded tax credits after 2000 where there has been a
change in general partners or managing members during the last five years that the Agency
did not approve in writing beforehand;

(1) would be removed from the ownership of a project that is the subject of an application under
the rehabilitation set-aside in the current cycle;

(j) requested a qualified contract for a North Carolina tax credit property; or
(k) is not in good standing with the Agency.

A disqualification under this subsection (D)(3) will result in the individual or entity involved not
| being allowed to participate in the 20252026 cycle and removing from consideration any
application where they are identified.

E. UNIT MIX AND PROJECT SIZE

1. Ten (-10) points will be subtracted from any full application that includes market-rate units. This
penalty will not apply where either

o the rents for all market rate units are at least five percent (5%) higher than the maximum
allowed for a unit at 80% AMI and the market study indicates that such rents are feasible, or

o there 1s a commitment for a grant or no-payment financing equal to at least the amount of
foregone federal tax credit equity.

2. New construction 9% Tax Credit projects may not exceed the following:
¢ Metro Region - one hundred and twenty (120) units
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o Central, East, and West Regions - eighty-four (84) units.

%

3. New construction tax-exempt bond projects may not exceed two hundred (200) units unless
approved by the Agency prior to the preliminary application submission.

4. All new construction projects must have at least twenty-four (24) qualified low-income units.

The Agency reserves the right to waive the penalties and limitations in this Section IV(E) for
proposals that reduce low-income and minority concentration, including public housing projects,
and subsection (E)(2) for proposals that are within a transit station area as defined by the
Charlotte Region Transit Station Area Joint Development Principles and Policy Guidelines or

| adaptive re-use projects where made necessary by the building(s) physical structure.

F. SPECIAL CRITERIA AND TIEBREAKERS

1. ENERGY STAR CERTIFICATION

New construction residential buildings must achieve ENERGY STAR Multifamily New
Construction Program certification and comply with all energy efficiency standards as defined in
Appendix B (incorporated herein by reference). Adaptive re-use and rehabilitation projects must
comply to the extent doing so is economically feasible and as allowed by historic preservation
rules.

2. APPLICANT BONUS POINTS (MAXIMUM 2 POINTS)

An Applicant is entitled to two bonus points -as part of the full application submission. No
application can receive more than one bonus point. -No Principal or Applicant is entitled to more
than two bonus points for all applications in which they may be involved. —Should an Applicant
or Principal use more than 2 bonus points, the Agency will determine which application, if any,
receives the bonus point(s).

(Requirement outlined in Appendix B)

4. TARGETING PROGRAM

All projects will be required to target ten percent (10%) of the total units to persons with
disabilities and persons who are homeless. Projects with federal project-based rental assistance
must target at least five (5) units regardless of size. Projects that have targeted units under this
subsection are not required to provide onsite supportive services or a service coordinator.

Owners must submit the following documents, all of which are fully described in Appendix D
(incorporated herein by reference).

(a) Targeting Unit Agreement

(b) Owner Agreement to Participate (if applicable)

(c) Section 811 PRA Rental Assistance Contract (if applicable)
(d) Property Profile
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(e) Tenant Selection Plan
(f) Affirmative Fair Housing Marketing Plan
(g) Language Access Plan (if applicable)

These documents must be submitted to the Agency no later than the times specified in Appendix
D but in no case later than six months prior to the project’s placed in service date. The Agency
may set additional requirements, as needed. The requirements of this subsection (F)(4) may be
fully or partially waived to the extent the Agency determines they are not feasible.

OLMSTEAD SETTLEMENT INITIATIVE (MAXIMUM 4 POINTS)

(a) Projects proposing 1 bedroom units as a percentage of the total project units will be awarded
points based on the following:

7.5% of total units 1 point
10% of total units 2 points
15% of total units 3 points

Tax-exempt bond projects must contain 1 bedroom units totaling a minimum of 10% of total
project units.

(b) Projects proposed in the following DHHS priority counties will be awarded 1 point.

Alamance Gaston Orange
Buncombe Guilford* Pitt
Burke Henderson Robeson
Cabarrus Iredell Wake*
Cumberland* Mecklenburg* Wayne
Durham* New Hanover Wilson
Forsyth*

*These counties will no longer be listed as DHHS priority counties after the 2026 QAP cycle.

6. SECTION 1602 EXCHANGE PROJECTS (NEGATIVE 40 POINTS)

The Agency may deduct up to forty (-40) points from any application if the Applicant, any owner,
Principal or affiliate thereof is also involved in a Section 1602 Exchange project with uncorrected
material noncompliance.

TIEBREAKER CRITERIA

The following will be used to award tax credits in the event that the final scores of more than one
project are identical.

(a) First Tiebreaker: The county with the highest cost burden low income renters per 9% tax
credit unit funded over the last 5 years (see Appendix L) .

(b) Second Tiebreaker: The project with the highest number of total units at time of full
application submission. pes £ X R : ol arb—
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(c) Third Tiebreaker: The project with the lowest average income targeting at time of
preliminary application submission. Overall targeting may not increase more than five
percent (5%) as of the full application.

(d) Fourth Tiebreaker: Tenants with Children: Projects that can serve tenant populations with
children. Projects will qualify for this designation if at least twenty-five (25%) of the units
are three or four bedrooms. This tiebreaker will only apply where the market study shows a
clear demand for this population (as determined by the Agency).

(e) Fifth Tiebreaker: Tenant Ownership: Projects that are intended for eventual tenant
ownership. Such projects must utilize a detached single family site plan and building design
and have a business plan describing how the project will convert to tenant ownership at the
end of the 30-year compliance period.

In the event that a tie remains after considering the above ticbreakers, the project requesting the
least amount of federal tax credits will be awarded.

G. DESIGN STANDARDS

All proposed measures must be shown in the application to receive points.

1.

THRESHOLD REQUIREMENTS

The minimum threshold requirements for design are found in Appendix B (incorporated herein
by reference) and must be used for all projects receiving tax credits or RPP funding.

CRITERIA FOR SCORE EVALUATION (MAXIMUM 30 POINTS)

The Agency will determine points based on the following criteria as applied to the site drawings
submitted with the full application.

(a) Site Layout
The Agency will award up to 5 points based on its evaluation of the site layout. The
following characteristics will be considered.

(1) The location of residential buildings in relation to parking, site amenities, community
building, postal facilities and trash collection areas.

(i1) The degree to which site layout ensures a low, controlled traffic speed through the
project.
(b) Quality of Design and Construction
(The points in this subsection are mutually exclusive with Section IV(G)(2)(c) below.)

The Agency will award up to 25 points for new construction projects based on its evaluation
of the quality of the building design, and the materials and finishes specified. The following
characteristics will be considered:

(1) The extent to which the design uses multiple roof lines, gables, dormers and similar
elements to break up large roof sections.

(ii) The extent to which the design uses multiple types, styles, and colors of siding and brick
veneer to add visual appeal to the building elevations.

(1i1) The level of detail that is achieved through the use of porches, railings, and other exterior
features.

(iv) Use of brick veneer or masonry products on building exteriors.
(c) Adaptive Re-Use

(The points in this subsection are mutually exclusive with Section IV(G)(2)(b) above.)
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The Agency will award up to 25 points based on the following characteristics:

(i) The extent to which the building(s) fit with surrounding streetscape after adaptation or
have problems with orientation, sightlines, bulk and scale.

(1) Aesthetics after adaptation.

(iii) Presence of special design elements or architectural features that may not be physically or
financially available if new construction was introduced on the same site.

H. CRITERIA FOR SELECTION OF REHABILITATION PROJECTS

1:

GENERAL THRESHOLD REQUIREMENTS
To be eligible for an allocation under Section II(A), a project must:

(a) have either (i) received a tax credit allocation and be in the extended use period or (ii) federal
project-based rental assistance for at least thirty percent (30%) of the total units,

(b) have been placed in service on or before December 31, 201069,

(c) require rehabilitation expenses in excess of $ 50,000 per unit (as supported by a physical
needs assessment conducted or approved by the Agency),

(d) not have an acquisition cost in excess of sixty percent (60%) of the total replacement costs,
(e) not be feasible using tax-exempt bonds (as determined by the Agency),
(f) not have received an Agency loan in the last five years,

g) not be deteriorated to the point of requiring demolition,

(h) not have begun or completed a full debt restructuring under the Mark to Market process (or
any similar HUD program) within the last five years, and

(1) have total replacement costs of less than $190,000 per unit, including all Agency-required
rehabilitation work.

Rehabilitation expenses include hard construction costs directly attributable to the project,
excluding costs for a new community building, as calculated using lines 2 through 7 (less line 6)
in the PDC description.

THRESHOLD DESIGN REQUIREMENTS

In addition to the relevant sections of Appendix B (incorporated herein by reference), the Agency
will require owners to complete the following as appropriate for their project.

(a) Improve site amenities and common areas by upgrading or adding a freestanding community
building, making repairs and additions to landscaping, adding new site amenities such as
playgrounds, and repairing parking areas.

(b) Improve building exteriors by replacing deteriorated siding, replacing aged roofing, adding
gutters and downspouts, and adding new architectural features to improve appearance.

(¢) Upgrade unit interiors by replacing flooring, installing new cabinets and countertops,
replacing damaged interior doors, replacing light fixtures, and repainting units.

(d) Replace and upgrade mechanical systems and appliances including HVAC systems, water
heaters and plumbing fixtures, electrical panels, refrigerators, and ranges.

(e) Improve energy efficiency by replacing inefficient doors and windows, adding additional
insulation in attics, and upgrading the efficiency of mechanical systems and appliances.
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() Improve site and unit accessibility for persons with disabilities by making necessary
alterations at common areas, alterations at single story ground floor units, adding or
improving handicapped parking areas, and repairing or replacing sidewalks along accessible
routes.

EVALUATION CRITERIA

The Agency will evaluate applications under Section II(A) based on the following criteria, which
are listed in order of importance. Each one will serve both to determine awards and as a
threshold requirement; the Agency may remove an application from consideration if the proposal
is sufficiently inadequate in any of the categories. For purposes of making awards, the Agency
will not consider subsections (d) through (f) below if the outcome is determined by the criteria in
subsections (a) through (c).

(a) The Agency will give the highest priority to applications proposing to rehabilitate the most
distressed housing with a tax credit allocation, particularly buildings with accessibility or life,
health and safety problems.

(b) Applications will have a reduced likelihood of receiving an award of tax credits if the Agency
determines the property has not been properly maintained and any current owner will remain
part of the new ownership.

(c) Applications will have a reduced likelihood of being awarded tax credits to the extent that the
purpose is to subsidize an ownership transfer.

(d) Shortcomings in the above criteria will be mitigated to the extent that a tax credit allocation is
necessary to prevent (i) conversion of units to market rate rents or (ii) loss of government
resources (including past, present and future investments).

(¢) The Agency will give priority to applications that have mortgage subsidy resources
committed as part of the application.

(f) Applications will have priority to the extent that the rehabilitation improvements are a part of
a community revitalization plan or will benefit the surrounding community. However,
projects in severely distressed areas will have a reduced likelihood of being awarded tax
credits.

(g) Applications will have a reduced likelihood of being awarded tax credits based on the number
of tenants that would be permanently relocated (including market-rate).

(h) While the rehabilitation set-aside is not subject to any regional set-aside, the Agency will
consider the geographic distribution of this resource and will attempt to avoid a concentration
of awards in any one area of the state.

V. ALLOCATION OF BOND CAP

A. ORDER OF PRIORITY

The Committee will allocate the multifamily portion of the state’s tax-exempt bond authority in the
following order of priority:

1.
2:
3.

4.

Projects that serve as a component of an overall public housing revitalization effort.
Rehabilitation of existing rent restricted housing.
Rehabilitation of projects consisting of entirely market-rate units.

Adaptive re-use projects.
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5.

Other new construction projects.

Applications will only be allocated bond authority if there is enough remaining after awarding all
eligible applications in higher priority levels. Within each category, applications seeking the least
amount of authority per low-income unit will have priority.

B. ELIGIBILITY FOR AWARD

Except as otherwise indicated, owners of projects with tax-exempt bonds and 4% Tax Credits must
meet all requirements of the Plan. Even with an allocation of bond authority, projects must meet the
threshold requirements to be eligible for tax credits.

1. All projects must meet the requirements under Section IV(F)(4).

2. Rehabilitation applications must:

(a) have been placed in service on or before December 31, 201009,
(b) require rehabilitation expenses in excess of $30,000 per unit,
(c) not have an acquisition cost in excess of seventy percent (70%) of the total replacement costs,

(d) not have begun or completed a full debt restructuring under the Mark to Market process (or
any similar HUD program) within the last five years, and

(e) not be deteriorated to the point of requiring demolition.

3. The inducement resolution must be submitted with the full application.

4.

To be eligible for an award of tax-exempt bond volume, at least one Principal must have
successfully developed, operated and maintained in compliance either one 9% Tax Credit project
in North Carolina or one tax-exempt bond project in any state. The project must have been
placed in service between January 1, 20176 and January 1, 20254. Such Principal must:
be identified in the preliminary application as the Applicant under Section ITI(C)(7),
become a general partner or managing member of the ownership entity, and

remain responsible for overseeing the project and operation of the project for a period of
two (2) vears after placed in service.

The Agency will determine what qualifies as successful and who can be considered as involved in
a particular project.

VI. GENERAL REQUIREMENTS

A. GENERAL THRESHOLD REQUIREMENTS FOR PROJECT PROPOSALS

1.

PROJECTS WITH HISTORIC TAX CREDITS

Buildings either must be on the National Register of Historic Places or approved for the State
Historic Preservation Office’s study list at the time of the full application. Evidence of meeting
this requirement should be provided.

NONPROFIT SET-ASIDE

For purposes of being considered as a nonprofit sponsored application under Section II(D)(1)(a),
at least one nonprofit entity (or, where applicable, its qualified corporation) involved in a project
must:

(a) be qualified under Section 501(c)(3) or (4) of the Code,
(b) materially participate, as defined under federal law, in the acquisition, development,

ownership, and ongoing operation of the property for the entire compliance period,
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(c) have as one of its exempt purposes the fostering of low-income housing,
(d) be a managing member or general partner of the ownership entity.

The Agency reserves the right to make a determination that the nonprofit owner is not affiliated
with or controlled by a for-profit entity or entities other than a qualified corporation. There can be
no identity of interest between any nonprofit owner and for-profit entity, other than a qualified
corporation.

3. REQUIRED REPORTS
All projects involving use of existing structures must submit the following:

(a) For projects built prior to 1978, a hazardous material report which provides the results of
testing for asbestos containing materials, lead based paint, Polychlorinated Biphenyls (PCBs),
underground storage tanks, petroleum bulk storage tanks, Chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs), and
other hazardous materials. The testing must be performed by professionals licensed to do
hazardous materials testing. A report written by an architect or building contractor or
developer will not suffice. A plan and projected costs for removal of hazardous materials
must also be included.

(b) A report assessing the structural integrity of the building(s) being renovated from an architect
or engineer. Report must be dated no more than six (6) months from the full application
deadline.

(c) A current termite inspection report. Report must be dated no more than six (6) months from
the full application deadline.

4. APPRAISALS

The Agency will not allow the project budget to include more for land or lease costs than the
lesser of its appraised market value or the purchase or lease price. Applicants must submit with
the full application a real estate “as is™ appraisal that is a) dated no more than six (6) months from
the full application deadline, b) prepared by an independent, state certified appraiser and

¢) complies with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice. The appraisal must
encompass all parcels that comprise the project. Comparable properties used in the appraisal
must be in reasonable proximity to the project. The Agency may order an additional appraisal
with costs to be paid by the Applicant. Appraisals for rehabilitation and adaptive re-use projects
must break out the land and building values from the total value.

5. CONCENTRATION

Projects cannot be in areas of minority and low-income concentration (measured by comparing
the percentage of minority and low-income households in the site’s census tract with the
community overall). The Agency may make an exception for projects in economically distressed
areas which have community revitalization plans with public funds committed to support the
effort.

6. DISPLACEMENT

For rehabilitation projects and in every other instance of tenant displacement, including
temporary, the Applicant must supply with the full application a plan describing how displaced
persons will be relocated, including a description of the costs of relocation. The owner is
responsible for all relocation expenses, which must be included in the project’s development
budget. Owners must also comply with the Uniform Relocation Assistance and Real Property
Acquisition Policies Act of 1970, as revised in 49 C.F.R. Part 24.
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7. FEASIBILITY

The Agency will not allocate tax credits or RPP funding to applications that may have difficulty
being completed or operated for the compliance period. Examples include projects that may not
secure an equity investment or a Principal that has inadequate capacity to successfully carry out
the development process.

8. SMOKE-FREE HOUSING

Owners must prohibit smoking in all indoor common areas, individual living areas (including
patios and balconies), and within 25 feet of building entries or ventilation intakes. A non-smoking
clause must be included in the lease for each household.

B. UNDERWRITING THRESHOLD REQUIREMENTS

The following minimum financial underwriting requirements apply to all projects. Projects that
cannot meet these minimum requirements, as determined by the Agency, will not receive tax credits
or RPP funding. Any documentation required as part of the application must be dated and be within 6
months of the application deadline, unless otherwise stated.

1. LOAN UNDERWRITING STANDARDS

(a) Projects applying for tax credits only will be underwritten with rents escalating at two percent
(2%) and operating expenses escalating at three percent (3%).

(b) All projects will be underwritten assuming a constant seven percent (7%) vacancy and must
reflect a 1.15 Debt Coverage Ratio (DCR) for twenty (20) years.

(c) Applications requesting RPP funds must use current Low HOME rents for fifteen percent
(15%) of the total units (spread proportionally through all bedroom types) and may be
required to comply with HOME program requirements, including 42 U.S.C. 12701 et seq.,

24 C.F.R. Part 92 and all relevant administrative guidance. Projects awarded RPP funds must
also comply with the RPP Guidelines in Appendix G (incorporated herein by reference).

(d) The Agency may determine that the interest rate on a loan must be reduced where an
application shows an excessive amount accruing towards a balloon payment.

2. OPERATING EXPENSES

(a) New construction (excluding adaptive re-use): minimum of $4,200 per unit per year not
including taxes, reserves and resident support services.

(b) Renovation (includes rehabilitation and adaptive re-use): minimum of $4,400 per unit per
year not including taxes, reserves and resident support services. For projects with RD loans,
the operating expenses will be based upon the current RD approved operating budget.

[55]

EQUITY PRICING

(a) Projects will be underwritten using Applicants proposed equity pricing. Pricing above
$0.8387 will require a commitment letter from a syndicator or investor with as much detail as
1s possible. At a minimum, the letter should include the equity pricing, total capital
contribution amount, estimated pay-in schedule and any reserve requirements. Should an
Applicant receive an allocation of tax credits and fail to receive equity pricing at least equal to
the pricing used in the awarded application, any equity shortfall will be the responsibility of
the Applicant. The Agency will not approve an increase of the rents stated in the awarded
application to support additional debt to cover the equity shortfall.
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(b) Equity should be calculated net of any syndication fees. Bridge loan interest typically incurred
by the syndicator to enable an up front payment of equity should not be charged to the project
directly, but be reflected in the net payment of equity. Equity should be based on tax credits to
be used by the investor(s), excluding those allocated to the Principals unless these entities are
making an equity contribution in exchange for the tax credits.

4. RESERVES

(a) Operating Reserve: Required for all projects except those receiving loan funds from RD. The
operating reserve will be the greater of a) $1,500 per unit or b) six month’s debt service and
operating expenses (four months for tax-exempt bond projects), and must be maintained for
the duration of the extended use period.

The operating reserve can be funded by deferring the developer fees of the project. If this
method is utilized, the deferred amounts owed to the developer can only be repaid from cash
flow if all required replacement reserve deposits have been made. For tax credit projects
where no RPP loan applies, the operating reserve can be capitalized by an equity pay in up to
one year after certificate of occupancy is received. This will be monitored by the Agency.
This reserve must stay with the project at the time of investor exit.

(b) Replacement Reserve: All new construction projects must budget replacement reserves of
$250 per unit per year. Rehabilitation and adaptive re-use projects must budget replacement
reserves of $350 per unit per year. The replacement reserve must be capitalized from the
project’s operations, escalating by four percent (4%) annually. This reserve must stay with
the project at the time of investor exit.

In both types of renovation projects mentioned above, the Agency reserves the right to
increase the required amount of annual replacement reserves if the Agency determines such
an increase is warranted after a detailed review of the project’s physical needs assessment.

For those projects receiving RD loan funds, the required funding of the replacement reserve
will be established, administered and approved by RD.

5. DEFERRED DEVELOPER FEES &EGATIRE 2P

Developer fees can be deferred to cover a gap in funding sources as long as:

(a) the entire amount will be paid within fifteen years and meets the standards required by the
IRS to stay in basis,

(b) the deferred portion does not exceed fifty percent (50%) of the total amount as of the full
application, and

(c) payment projections do not negatively impact the operation of the project.

Each of these will be determined by the Agency. Nonprofit organizations must include a
resolution from the Board of Directors allowing such a deferred payment obligation to the
project. The developer may not charge interest on the deferred amount in excess of the long term
AFR.

6. FINANCING COMMITMENT

(a) For all projects proposing private permanent financing, a letter of intent is required (see
Appendix E). This letter must be on lender’s letterhead, must clearly state the term of the
permanent loan is at least fifteen (15) years, how the interest rate will be indexed and the
current rate at the time of the letter, the amortization period, any prepayment penalties,
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anticipated security interest in the property, and lien position. The interest rate must be fixed
and no balloon payments may be due for fifteen years.

(b) For all projects proposing public permanent financing, binding commitments on lender’s
letterhead are required to be submitted by the full application deadline (see Appendix E).
Local governments also must identify the source of funding (e.g. HOME, trust fund). All
loans must have a fixed interest rate and no balloon payments for at least fifteen (15) years
after project completion. A binding commitment is defined as a letter, resolution or binding
contract from a unit of government. The same terms described for the letter of intent (using
the format approved by the Agency) from a private lender must be included in the
commitment.

(c) The Agency may request a letter from a construction lender documenting the loan amount,
interest rate, and any origination fees.

(d) Any Owner Investment listed as a source cannot exceed $10,000.

(e) Applications may only include one set of proposed funding sources; the Agency will not
consider multiple financial scenarios. A project will be ineligible for allocation if any of the
listed funding sources will not be available in an amount or under the terms described in the
application. The Agency may waive this limitation if the project otherwise demonstrates
financial feasibility. Project cash flow may not be used as a source of funds.

7. DEVELOPER FEES

(a) Developer fees shall be up to $24.000 23-000- per unit for new construction projects and
twenty-eight point five percent (28.5%) of PDC line item 4 for rehabilitation projects, both
being set at award.

(b) Contractor general requirements shall be limited to six percent (6%) of hard costs.

(¢) Contractor profit and overhead shall be limited to ten percent (10%) (8% profit, 2%
overhead) of total hard costs, including general requirements.

(d) Where an identity of interest exists between the owner and contractor, the contractor profit
and overhead shall be limited to eight percent (8%) (6% profit, 2% overhead).

8. CONSULTING FEES

The total amount of any consulting fees and developer fees shall be no more than the maximum
developer fee allowed to that project.

9. ARCHITECTS’ FEES

The architects’ fees, including design and inspection fees, shall be limited to three percent (3%)
of the total hard costs plus general requirements, overhead, profit and construction contingency
(total of lines 2 through 10 on the PDC description). This amount does not include engineering
costs.

10. INVESTOR SERVICES FEES

Investor services fees must be paid from net cash flow and not be calculated into the minimum
debt coverage ratio.

11. PROJECT CONTINGENCY FUNDING

All new construction projects shall have a hard cost contingency line item of five percent (5%) of
total hard costs, including general requirements, contractor profit and overhead. Rehabilitation
and adaptive re-use projects shall include a hard cost contingency line item of ten percent (10%)
of total hard costs.
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12.

14.

VIL

PROJECT OWNERSHIP

There must be common ownership between all units and buildings within a single project for the
duration of the compliance period.

. SECTION 8 PROJECT-BASED RENTAL ASSISTANCE

For all new construction projects that propose to utilize Section 8 project-based rental assistance,
the Agency will underwrite the rents according to the tax credit and HOME limits, unless the
Applicant can provide the HUD approved contract or a letter of commitment outlining payment
standards and terms for the project set forth by the governing body of the issuing agent. These
limits are based on data published annually by HUD

WATER, SEWER, AND TAP FEES

Any water, sewer, and tap fees charged to the project must be entered on a separate line item of
the PDC description. Applications must provide letters from local provider(s) documenting either
the amounts or if no fees will be charged.

POST-AWARD PROCESSES AND REQUIREMENTS

A. ALLOCATION TERMS AND REVOCATION

3

1. Atany time between award and issuance of IRS Form 8609, owners must have approval
from the Agency prior to:

(a) changing the anticipated or final sources (amount, terms, or provider), including equity;
(b) increasing the anticipated or final uses by more than two percent (2%);
(c) altering the designs approved by
the Agency at full application, or
local building code office,
including amenities, site layout, floor plans and elevations (Approved Design);
(d) starting construction, including sitework:
(e) increasing rents for new construction units;

(f) increasing rents for rehabilitation units above existing rents at time of award (rents shown in
the approved application can be instituted once rehabilitation is complete);

g) occupying units;

(h) any other change to the awarded application.

At its discretion, the Agency can request any documentation related to project costs. If an
increase in uses or design alteration is due to a local government requirement, owners do not need
prior approval but rather must provide the Agency with prompt written notice. Failure to comply
with a requirement of this subsection may result in a fine of up to $25,000, revocation of the
reservation or allocation, future disqualification under Section IV(D)(3) of any Principal
involved, or other recourse available to the Agency.

Ownership entities must submit a completed carryover agreement and expend at least ten percent
(10%) of the project’s reasonably expected basis, both by dates to be determined by the Agency.

IRS Form 8609 will not be issued until:
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An owner’s or project’s failure to comply with all such conditions without written authorization
from the Agency will entitle the Agency, in its discretion, to deem the allocation to be cancelled
by mutual consent. After any such cancellation, the owner will acknowledge that neither it nor
the project will have any right to claim tax credits pursuant to the allocation. The Agency
reserves the right, in its discretion, to modify or waive any such failed condition.

B. COMPLIANCE MONITORING

1. Owners must comply with Section 42 of the Code, IRS regulations, rulings, procedures, decisions
and notices, state statutes, the Fair Housing Act, state laws, local codes, Agency loan documents,
Appendix F (incorporated herein by reference), and any other legal requirements. The Agency
may treat any failure to do so as a violation of the Plan.

2. The Agency will adopt and revise standards, policies, procedures, and other requirements in
administering the tax credit program. Examples include training and online reporting. Owners
must comply with all such requirements regardless of whether or not they expressly appear in the
Plan or Appendix F. The Agency will have access to any project information, including physical
access to the property, all financial records and tenant information.

3. The Agency must approve all rent increases throughout the extended use period for properties
receiving Agency funding and/or tax credits (see Appendix F for more information on rents and
rent increases). In no event may rents exceed the published federal guidelines.

VIII. DEFINITIONS

The terms listed below will be defined in the Plan as indicated below regardless of capitalization, unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise. Terms used in the Plan but not defined below will have the same
meaning as under the Code and IRS regulations.

4% Tax Credit: Low-income housing tax credits available pursuant to Section 42(h)(4) of the Code.

9% Tax Credit: Low-income housing tax credits available for allocation under the state’s volume cap
pursuant to Section 42(h)(3) of the Code.

Affiliate: As to any person or entity (i) any entity of which a majority of the voting interest is owned by
such person or entity, (i1) any person or entity directly or indirectly controlling (10% or more) such person
or entity, (iil) any person or entity under direct or indirect common control with any such person or entity,
or (iv) any officer, director, employee, manager, stockholder (10% or more), partner or member of any
such person or entity or of any person or entity referred to in the preceding clauses (1), (i) or (iii).

Applicant: The entity considered under Section II(C)(7).

Choice-Limiting Activity: Includes leasing or disposition of real property and any activity that will result
in a physical change to the property, including acquisition, demolition, movement, rehabilitation,
conversion, repair, or construction.

Developer: Any individual or entity responsible for initiating and controlling the development process
and ensuring that all, or any material portion of all, phases of the development process are accomplished.
Furthermore, the developer is the individual or entity identified as such in the Ownership Entity
Agreement and any and all Development Fee Agreements.

Entity: Without limitation, any general partnership, limited partnership, limited liability company,
corporation, joint venture, trust, business trust, cooperative, association, public agency or other entity,
other than a human being.
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Management Agent: Individual(s) or Entity responsible for the day to day operations of the project,
which may or may not be related to the Owner(s) or ownership entity.

Market-Rate Units: Unuts that are not subject to tax credit restrictions; does not include manager units.

Material Participation: Involvement in the development and operation of the project on a basis which 1s
regular, continuous and substantial throughout the compliance period as defined in Code Sections 42 and
469(h) and the regulations promulgated thereunder.

Owner(s): Person(s) or entity(ies) that own an equity interest in the Ownership Entity.
Ownership Entitv: The ownership entity to which tax credits and/or any RPP loan funds will be awarded.

Person: Any individual or Entity, and the heirs, executors, administrators, legal representatives,
successors and assigns of such Person where the context so requires.

Person with a Disability: An adult who has a permanent physical or mental impairment which
substantially limits one or more major life activities as further defined in North Carolina’s Persons with
Disabilities Protection Act (N.C.G.S. § 168A-3 (7a)).

Person who is Homeless: An adult who is living in places not meant for habitation (such as streets, cars,
parks), emergency shelter, or in transitional or temporary housing but originally came from a place not
meant for habitation or emergency shelter.

Principal: Principal includes (1) all persons or entities who are or who will become partners or members
of the ownership entity, (2) all persons or entities whose affiliates are or who will become partners or
members of the ownership entity, (3) all persons or entities who directly or indirectly earn a portion of the
development fee for development services with respect to a project and/or earn any compensation for
development services rendered to such project, which compensation is funded directly or indirectly from
the development fee of such project, and such amount earned exceeds the lesser of twenty-five percent
(25%) of the development fee for such project or $100,000, and (4) all affiliates of such persons or
entities in clause (3) who directly or indirectly earn a portion of the development fee for development
services with respect to any project in the current year and/or earn any compensation for development
services rendered to any project in the current year, which compensation is funded directly or indirectly
from the development fee of any such project, and such amount earned exceeds the lesser of twenty-five
percent 25% of the development fee for such project or $100,000. For purposes of determining Principal
status the Agency may disregard multiple layers of pass-through or corporate entities. A partner or
member will not be a Principal where its only involvement is that of the tax credit equity investor.

Qualified Corporation: Any corporation if, at all times such corporation is in existence, 100% of the
stock of such corporation is held by a nonprofit organization that meets the requirements under Code
Section 42(h)(5).

Rental Production Program (RPP): Agency loan program for multifamily affordable rental housing.
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PROPOSED RULES

Statutory reference: G.S. 150B-21.2.

Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules. The agency
must accept written comments on any proposed rules for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the date of any public
hearing, whichever is longer. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, the agency must
publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days.

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission intends to readopt with
substantive changes the rules cited as 14B NCAC 15C .0401-
.0404, .0501-.0505, .0601-.0607.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
abc.nc.gov

Proposed Effective Date: February 1, 2026

Public Hearing:

Date: November 5, 2025

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: NC ABC Commission, Hearing Room, 400 East Tryon
Road, Raleigh, NC 27610

Reason for Proposed Action: Periodic review and readoption
pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A.

Comments may be submitted to: Renece C. Metz, 400 East
Tryon Road, Raleigh, NC 27610, (919)948-7919, email
rules@abc.nc.gov.

Comment period ends: December 1, 2025.

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.

CHAPTER 15 - ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL
COMMISSION

SUBCHAPTER 15C - INDUSTRY MEMBERS:
RETAIL/INDUSTRY MEMBER RELATIONSHIPS: SHIP
CHANDLERS: AIR CARRIERS: FUEL ALCOHOL

SECTION .0400 - STANDARDS OF IDENTITY FOR
WINE: CONTAINERS

14BNCAC 15C .0401 APPLICATION OF STANDARDS
Adlwines Wine produced, imported, bottled, or offered for sale in
this State shall meet the standards of identity preseribed-as—ef

- as identified in Subpart C
of 27 CFR Part 4, incorporated by reference including any
subsequent amendments and editions. The provisions of the CFR
may be accessed for free at https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-
27/chapter-I/subchapter-A/part-4/subpart-C.

- ; : ons-availoble

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-206(a); 18B-207.

14B NCAC 15C .0402 PROHIBITED PRACTICES

(a) Ih%pfedueﬁenrmpeﬁ&ﬁeﬂ—er—sa}%\wﬂ}m—this—&a%%e#&&y

| fard bed in ] Rusles. : A
substandard-wine-is-prohibited- Industry members are prohibited

from producing, importing, or selling in this State wine, or a
product designated under a wine category, that is imitation,
substandard, or fails to conform to the standards of these Rules.
(b) Imitation Wine. Imitation wine includes:

1) amy wine containing synthetic materials;

2) any wine made from a mixture of water with
residues—remaining containing residue after
thereugh pressing of grapes, fiuit fruit, or other
agricultural products;

] State funds affected ?3) 5 5 5

] Local funds affected or—other—characteristies—of—which—havebeen

] Substantial economic impact (>$1,000,000) aeguited-inwhelc-orin-partby-—treatmentwith

] Approved by OSBM methods—or-materials—of-any kind,—if the-taste;

X No fiscal note required aroma. color or other characteristios of normal
) od
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without-that-treatment; wine treated to acquire

of identity established in Subpart C of 27 CFR Part 4, incorporated

the taste, aroma, color, or characteristics of a

by reference including any subsequent amendments and editions.

class or type of wine that would occur without
treatment; or
@) any wine made from must concentrated at-any
timpe to more than 80 degrees (Balling).
(c) Substandard wine includes:
(1) any wine having with a volatile aetdity acidity,
calculated as acetic acid and exclusive of
sulphur dioxide, in excess of the maximum

preseribed-therefor established in these Rules;
2) any wine for—whiehne that does not have a

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-206(a); 18B-207.

14B NCAC 15C .0403 CONTAINERS

(a) Unsealed Container Prohibited. Exeept-as-permitted-byRule
-0307-of this-Subechapter,-the-sale-of Industry members shall not
sell wine in any an unsealed container, except as authorized by
14B NCAC 15C .0307, any a container eriginallydesigned
created for a product other than wine, or in any a container the
whose design or shape ef—which would tend—te mislead the

maximum volatile acidity is prescribed in these
Rules havinga shall have a maximum volatile
of sulphur—dioxide,—in—exeess acidity of 0.14
gram per 100 cubic centimeters (20 degrees
Centigrade);

3) any wine for-whieh with a standard of identity
is prescribed in these Rules that threugh
disease,—decomposition—or—otherwise fails to
have the composition, eelor-and-elean—inous
taste color, taste, and aroma of nermal wines
conforming to that standard;

@) wine ef-any—elass—or—type containing added
water water, or a sugar and water selutien
solution, in excess of the quantities expresshy
authorized for standard wine made—from—the
same-kind-orkinds-ofmaterials as prescribed in
these Rules;

(5) any wine containing monochloracetic acid or
any other substance erpreservative prohibited
by the United States Food and Drug
Administration or the Eederal-AleoholieTax
Unit; United States Department of the Treasury
Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau; or

(6) apy wine containing deleterious, harmful
harmful, or impure substances er-elements or an
improper balance of elements.

(d) Coined Names

Industry members are prohibited from identifying wine on labels
or in advertisements as a mixture of wine with other types of

consumer as-te-the-nature-of regarding the eentents-isprohibited:
contents.

Industry members shall not sell wine in containers that have, in

addition to the information required by 14B NCAC 15C .0304,

the blown, branded, or burned name or distinguishing mark of a
wine producer, importer, wholesaler, or bottler.

Authority G.S. 18B-206, 18B-207; 18B-1001.

14B NCAC 15C .0404
WINE

Alcohol law enforcement agents or officers may seize and dispose
of Imitation—substandard imitation, substandard, or misbranded
wine offered for sale in violation of the ABC laws-may-beseized

and-dispesed-of: laws.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-206(a); 18B-207; 18B-503.

SEIZURE OF SUBSTANDARD

SECTION .0500 - INDUSTRY MEMBERS: GENERAL
PROVISIONS

14B NCAC 15C .0501 INSPECTION OF PREMISES
Any A storage facility, warehouse warehouse, or office area
where malt-beverages—or-wine-are-stored-or alcoholic beverages
are manufactured or stored, or where records of purchases, sales
sales, or deliveries are maintained-shallbe-econsidered maintained,
are part of the licensed premises premises, and industry members
shall be-made make the entire premises available for inspection as
provided in G.S. 18B-502.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-502.

14B NCAC 15C .0502 RECORD KEEPING
REQUIREMENTS: SALES TICKETS

(a) In addition to records required te—be—kept by the North
Carolina Department of Revenue, all industry members shall
maintain on the licensed premises a—eepy—ef-every copies of
original sales tieket—er—receipt—thatrelates tickets or receipts

relating to sales of alcoholic beverage products, equipment,

alcoholic beverages or as a mixture of wines that have standards

advertising specialty items, or advertising novelties. Copies shall
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be in paper form or, if kept in electronic form, available to print
on paper. the-folowingform:

(b) Sales Ticket Required. Wholesalers or their salesmen shall, at
the time of each sale and delivery of malt beverages or wine to a
retailer, provide the following information on every retail sales

ticketthefollowinginformation: Lickets:

(D) date of sale;

2) name of establishment;

3) location;

@) quantity of each brand of malt beverages or
wine sold;

) unit price;

(6) total price;

@) amount received;

(®) invoice number; and

9) routeifapplieable: route number or name.
(c) Allsalesticketsshall-be-endorsed-at-the-time-ofsale by-the
retailer-or-authorized-agent-and-by-the-whelesaler-with-the-usual
stgnatare-of-each: At the time of sale, the retailer or authorized
agent and the wholesaler's salesman shall endorse the sales tickets

by signature.

(d) All-salestickets—shall- beretained-bythe—-whelesaler fora

period-of-three-years-and-shall befiled-alphabetically-by—sales
i . Wholesalers shall retain

sales tlckets for three years filed alphabetically, by sales route, or

by date of sale.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207.

14B NCAC 15C .0503 SANITATION
Allindustry Industry members shall maintain the premises and
surroundings in an-erderly—sanitary-manner- a manner to avoid

contamination or deterioration of alcoholic beverages the industry
member is authorized to produce or possess.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-206(a); 18B-207.

14B NCAC 15C .0504 OPERATION OF LICENSED
PREMISES: EMPLOYEES
No—industry—member—shall-do—any—of the following: Industry
members:
(1) shall not employ a person under-the-age-of less
than 18 years old erpermit-oralewsuch—a
person-to-work-in;-about-or-in-connection-with

(2) permit shall not allow intoxicated persons to
loiter-or-be-employed remain on the licensed
premises;

3) fail —te shall keep the premises elean;
wel-lightedand-in—anerderly—manner; clean
and lighted to avoid hazards to employees; or

@) operate—any—establishment —where—there—are
living-quarters-connceted-dircetly-thereto- shall

not use the premises as living quarters.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1003; 18B-1005.

14B NCAC 15C .0505
LOCATION

(a) The-holder-of-abrewery,—winery,—ordistilerypermit-shall
]55 ];] S5TOH ; Elg. y 'E'lf_a

brewery, winery, or distillery has a noncontiguous storage
location as authorized pursuant to G.S. $8B-1H260- 18B-1120, the
permittee shall notify the Commission of the authorization before
storing the products manufactured by the permittee at the
noncontiguous location. This notification shall be deemed a part
of the original permit application.

(b) The brewery, winery, or distillery Netification-shall-be-made

shall notify the Commission on a form appreved—by—the
Commission-thatrequires: requiring the following information:

(1) the permittee's name:

2) the business mailing address;

3) the permit number;

4 the principal location address;

5) the noncontiguous storage location address;

6) a diagram of the premises showing the exaet
locations—of entrances, exits, storage areas for
alcoholic beverages, and separate storage areas
for any other property or merchandise;

@) a copy of the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and
Trade Bureau approval of the noncontiguous
storage location; and

®) a copy of the Commission's Zoning and
Compliance  form  applicable to the

completed

OFF-SITE STORAGE

noncontiguous storage location,
pursuant to G.S. 18B-901(c).

(c) Thenoncontigu . 4 :
permittee The perm1ttee shall use the noncontlguous storage
location only for storage of alcoholic beverages manufactured by
the permittee and non-alcoholic beverage items owned by the
permittee. No-aleoholie-beverages-of-the The permittee shall be
stored not store alcoholic beverages in the same storage area with
other property or merchandise of the permittee or any other
person. The noncontiguous storage location shall be subject to
inspection pursuant to G.S. 18B-502 and Rule—-05601—ofthis
Seetion 14B NCAC 15C .0501.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-502; 18B-901; 18B-1120.

SECTION .0600 - SALES AND DELIVERIES OF MALT
BEVERAGES AND WINE

14B NCAC 15C 0601 APPROVED BRANDS ONLY

Wholesalers shall not sell aﬂy—pfeduet—ﬂ%a{—has—ﬁet—been alcohohc

beverages in this State unless approved by the Commission fer

salenthis-State: or as provided in 14B NCAC 15B .0216.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1005.

14B NCAC 15C .0602 SALES AND PURCHASE

RESTRICTIONS: RECORDS

(a) Al-malt-beverages;—unfortifiedwine,—andfortified—wine

intended-forsale-delivery;-orshipment-to-retatl permitteesin-the
holesaler's_desi ol . hall-be_deli | by il
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suppher—or—its—desienee—to—the—whelesaler: Suppliers, or their

designees, shall deliver malt beverages, unfortified wine, and
fortified wine, intended for sale, delivery, or shipment to retail
permittees, to the wholesaler assigned to the sales territory where
the retail permittee is located. The malt-beverages;—unfortified
wine,—andfortified—wine—deliveredto—the wholesaler shall be
unloaded unload the alcoholic beverages from the delivery
vehicle, placed-on-the-floerofthe place the delivery whelesaler's
permitted-premises-so-thatits where its entire weight is supported
by the wholesaler's floor, inventeried—inspeeted; inventory,
inspect, and werified verify the delivery for taxes—by—the
whelesaler- tax purposes. The provisions of this Paragraph do not
apply to products sold, delivered, or shipped pursuant to G.S.
18B-1101(7) or G.S. 18B-1104(a)(8).

(b) Ne-whelesalerof malt-beverages Malt beverage wholesalers
shall not sell malt beverages to any a person who does not hold a
retail or wholesale malt beverage permit, and ne-whelesalerof
wine wine wholesalers shall not sell any fortified wine or
unfortified wine to any a person who does not hold the-apprepriate
a retail or wholesale fortified or unfortified wine permit.
Hewever,—a A wholesaler may furnish or sell wine or malt
beverages to the wholesaler's employees for-the-sole-use-of-the
empleyees: pursuant to G.S. 18B-1101(4), 18B-1102(4), or 18B-
1104(a)(5).

(c) Ne-retail-malt-beverage-or-winepermittee Retail permittees

2) whether electronic copies of the invoices will
be accessible to law enforcement at the retail
location; and

3) whether the permittee agrees to make the
original invoices available on the licensed
premises to law enforcement within 48 hours of
the request by law enforcement.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1107; 18B-1109; 18B-
1113; 18B-1114.

14B NCAC 15C .0603
PROHIBITED

No-whelesaler-or-his-agents-or-employee A wholesaler shall not
. | ; » ] 5

delay, at the request of the retailer or for the benefit of the retailer,
the deposit of checks issued to the wholesaler by a retailer for

alcohohc beverages delivered to the retailer. Gheeks&ssued—by—the

HOLDING OF CHECKS

the-retailer-and When a retailer's payment to the wholesaler is

returned by the bank due to non-sufficient fands—shal—be
redepesited-promptlyfor-eolectionby-the-whelesaler: funds, the

wholesaler shall attempt to redeposit the check. If the check is

shall purchase malt beverages or wine only from anyene—eother
than a licensed wholesaler.

(d) AH holdi 1 emalt | . .
Retail permittees selling malt beverages or wine shall keep the
sales tickets and delivery receipts furnished-by—the—whelesaler;
pursuanttoRule-0502 of this Subehapter; required by 14B NCAC

%e—this—llafagfaplﬁi—shaﬂ—b%kep’e separate and apart from aH—eehef

nonalcoholic beverage records. Delivery receipts shall set-forth

state the terms of sale for-eachseparate per transaction between
theretatler-and-the-whelesaler and shall include for-each-separate

sale: the following:
(1) the date of sale;

2) the trade name of the retail establishment;

3) the location of the retail establishment;

4 the quantity of eaeh brand of malt beverages or
wine sold;

5) the unit price;

(6) the total price;

(7 the amount paid; and

®) the invoice or receipt number.
(e) The retailer shall keep retainfor-inspeetion copies of all sales
tickets and delivery receipts available for inspection on the
premises for three years.
(f) A retail permittee may maintain malt beverage and wine
invoices at one location, other than the licensed premises, upon
written application to and approval by the Ceommission:
Commission at permits@abc.nc.gov. When eonsidering
reviewing the application, the Commission shall consider the
following:

€)) whether—allpermits—are permits held by the

same applicant;

returned to the wholesaler a second time due to non-sufficient
funds, the wholesaler shall report the matter to the Commission
within 10 days- days of the second notice of non-sufficient funds.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1116(a)(3).

14B NCAC 15C .0604
SALE

COLLECTION OF AMOUNT OF

(a) Each-whelesaler Wholesalers shall collect the full amount of
the sale price in cash or bona fide check at the time of or prior to
delivery of alcoholic beverages to a retailer except as provided in
this Rule. Ne-whelesaler A wholesaler shall not extend credit fer
any—period—of time—to—any to a retailer who purchases malt

beverages or wine from him- the wholesaler.

" "

(b) Paragraph (a) does not apply to wholesaler GeHeeHeﬂs—fef
sales and deliveries upon military reservations;however,shallnet

be—required—at—the—time—of thetransaction- reservations or

installations.
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(c) A route salesman may accept one payment for all deliveries
made by-him on the same day to the same permittee if deliveries
are-made-te two or more of the permittee's retail premises en-the
same are on the salesman's route. Paymentin-such-easesshall-be
collected-by-the-salesmanfor-all-such The route salesman shall

collect payment for all permittee's deliveries no later than at the
last of permittee's stere-aceount stores on the route. Nothing—in
this Rule-shall be-construed-to-authorize-a A route salesman shall
not te collect payment from a permittee at an office location
unless the office is located on the premises where a delivery is
made.

For purposes of this Rule, the term "check" shall include the
electronic transfer of funds from a retailer to a wholesaler. Prior
to an electronic transfer of funds, the retailer and the wholesaler
shall execute a written agreement regarding the terms for

tubs, iee ice, and cups maybe-delivered with the kegsby=a
whelesalerto—a—consumer: kegs. Such-aceessories Accessories

may be left with a retailer only upen-thefilling of an-order froma
retailerwhe when the retailer has a specific and current order from
a consumer, and either the retailer will deliver or the purchaser
will pick up the kegs and aeeessories—are-to-be-delivered-by-the

retatterorpicked-up-by-the-consumer: accessorics. Nothingin-this
This Rule shall-be—ecenstrued—to—allow does not authorize a

wholesaler to loan or rent tubs or tapping accessories to a retater

foranyperiod-of time- retailer.
(d) KegDeposits—Any—deposit—charged by —abrewerto—a

retatler- If a brewery charges a wholesaler a deposit for a draft
malt beverage keg, the wholesaler shall charge and collect the

electronic transfer of funds for payment of alcoholic beverages,

deposit from the retailer when the keg is delivered to the retailer.

and shall include authorization for the wholesaler to initiate the
transfer after delivery of alcoholic beverages to the retailer. The
wholesaler shall initiate the electronic transfer of funds before the
end of the business day following the day of delivery. A retailer
shall be responsible for costs associated with the retailer's use of
electronic transfer of funds. This Rule shall not waive record
keeping requirements of 14B NCAC 15C .0502.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1116.

14B NCAC 15C .0605 PLATFORM SALES

Platform sales, when a wholesaler sells malt beverages or wine at

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1116.

14B NCAC 15C .0607 MALT BEVERAGE AND WINE
SHIPMENTS TO MILITARY BASES
No—industry—member—exeept Only a wholesaler with a permit
pursuant to G.S. 18B-1107 or G.S. 18B-1109 shall ship malt
beverages or wine directly to a United States military ernaval
reservation or installation within North Carolina. All malt

beverages and wine-intended-for-that-purpese to be delivered to

military reservations or installations shall be shipped to

wholesalers. Fhese-beverages The shipments shall come to rest
upon the warehouse floor of the whelesalers;-as-setforth-inRule

0602(a)-of thisSeetion;—whe-may-then wholesalers pursuant to
14B NCAC 15C .0602(a) before the wholesaler is authorized to

the wholesaler's premises to persons holding retail permits, are
authorized.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1107; 18B-1109.

14BNCAC 15C .0606 BRAUGHT DRAFT MALT
BEVERAGE SALES ACCESSORIES DELIVERIES

(a)

the A wholesaler shall transport th%beer draft malt beverages in
kegs to the premises of a licensed retailer. There—the The
wholesaler shall collect for the sale, and the retailer shall eemplete
and sign his the sales ticketwriting-on-it ticket and add the name
of the purchaser and the delivery address te-which-the-beer-is-te
be-delivered- for the draft malt beverages. If the purchaser of the
draught draft malt beverages beer can not transport the beer keg
or does not know how to set up and tap the beer, keg, the purchaser
he may request that the whelesaler—assisthim- wholesaler's
assistance. Upon receiving sueh a request; a request for assistance,
the wholesaler may deliver the beer keg from the retailer's
premises to the persen-and-place purchaser and delivery address
designated on the sales ticket. and-maysetitup-

(b) Assisting-Consumer—Upen-arrival-at At the designated place
of delivery, the wholesaler may set up the equipment, tap the keg
keg, and test to—see—that—it—is—working—properly- the keg is
functioning. The-whelesaler-may-pick-up-his-kegs-and-equipment
at-any-time:

(c) TeppingAecessories—Hand A wholesaler may deliver to a

consumer hand pumps, carbon dioxide cylinders, related gauges,

deliver them to United States military er—naval reservations or
installations within North Carolina.

Authority G.S. 18B- 100; 18B-109(b); 18B-207; 18B-1101(2);
18B-1102(2); 18B-1104(3); 18B-1113; 18B-1114.

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Coastal Resources Commission intends to amend the rule cited as
154 NCAC 07H .2302.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://www.deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/division-coastal-
management/coastal-resources-commission/crc-proposed-rules

Proposed Effective Date: May I, 2026

Public Hearing:

Date: October 20, 2025

Time: 5:00 p.m.

Location: NC Division of Coastal Management, 400 Commerce
Avenue, Morehead City, NC 28557

Reason for Proposed Action: /54 NCAC 07H .2302 contains
the procedures for applying for and complying with a General
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Permit for the replacement of existing bridges and culverts in
estuarine waters, public trust areas, and coastal wetlands. The
Coastal Resources Commission is proposing to revise 7H .2302
to correct an inadvertent change that was made to the rule during
the previous rule readoption process and to make minor updates
to formatting and wording. The revisions are necessary to
reinstate the two-year timeframe allowed for completion of a
bridge/culvert replacement project under the General Permit and
clarify application requirements.

Comments may be submitted to: Tancred Miller, 400
Commerce Avenue, Morehead City, NC 28557; email
crcrulemaking@deq.nc.gov

Comment period ends: December 1, 2025

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules
Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives
written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons
clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as
provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive
written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to
1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via
email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff
attorney at 984-236-1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

OXOXX

CHAPTER 07 - COASTAL MANAGEMENT
SUBCHAPTER 07H - STATE GUIDELINES FOR AREAS
OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONCERN

SECTION .2300 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR
REPLACEMENT OF EXISTING BRIDGES AND
CULVERTS IN ESTUARINE WATERS, ESTUARINE
AND PUBLIC TRUST SHORELINES, PUBLIC TRUST
AREAS, AND COASTAL WETLANDS

15A NCAC 07H .2302 APPROVAL PROCEDURES

(a) An applicant for a General Permit under this Subchapter shall
contact the Division of Coastal Management at the Regional
Office indicated on the map located at

https://ncdenr.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?i
d=1a5881ec85ca40679988982e¢02665b51 and request approval
for development as defined in G.S. 113A-130(5).
(b) The applicant shall provide:
€Y the site location, project narrative, dimensions
of the project area, and his—erher applicant's
name and address;
2) a dated plat(s) showing existing and proposed

development; and
confirmation that a written statement has been

obtained;—signed obtained and signed by the
adjacent riparian property owners, indicating
that they have no objections to the proposed
work; or

confirmation that the adjacent riparian property
owners have been notified by certified mail of
the proposed work. The notice shall instruct
adjacent riparian property owners to provide
any comments on the proposed development in
writing to the Division of Coastal Management
within 10 days of receipt of the notice and
indicate that no response by the adjacent
riparian property owners will be interpreted as
the adjacent riparian property owners having no
objection. Division staff shall review all
comments and determine, based on their
relevance to the potential impacts of the
proposed project, if the proposed project can be
approved by a General Permit. If Division staff
finds that the comments are worthy of more in-
depth review, the Division shall notify the
applicant that he or she must submit an
application for a major development permit.

(c) No work shall begin until an onsite meeting is held with the
applicant and a Division of Coastal Management representative to
review the proposed development. A permit to proceed with the
proposed development shall be issued if the Division
representative finds that the application meets all the requirements

of this Subchapter. Censtruction—permitted—under—this—Section

shat-be—completedwithin P20-days—of permitisstanecorsuch
permit-shall-expire: Construction authorized by this permit shall
be completed within two years of permit issuance or the permit
shall expire and a new permit shall be required to begin or
continue construction. If the applicant seeks a new permit under
this Section, the Division of Coastal Management shall re-
examine the proposed development to determine if the General
Permit may be reissued. Pursuant to G.S. 136-44.7B, permits
issued to the North Carolina Department of Transportation for
projects identified in the Transportation Improvement Program
shall not expire. Approval of individual projects shall be
acknowledged in writing by the Division of Coastal Management
and the applicant shall be provided with a copy of this General
Permit.

(d) Any modification or addition to the permitted project shall
require approval from the Division of Coastal Management.

203

4

Authority G.S. 1134-107; 1134-118.1; 1134-124.
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TITLE 16 - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
State Board of Education intends to amend the rule cited as 16
NCAC 06D .0508.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c¢):
https://www.dpi.nc.gov/about-dpi/state-board-
education/rulemaking--information

Proposed Effective Date: February 1, 2026

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be
requested in writing within 15 days of notice): Any member of the
public who wishes to request a public hearing may submit a
written request to the State Board of Education Rulemaking
Coordinator via email at ryan.collins@dpi.nc.gov.

Reason for Proposed Action: The North Carolina Read to
Achieve Program is part of the Excellent Public Schools Act,
which became law in July 2012 and was implemented in all North
Carolina public schools at the beginning of the 2013-2014 school
vear. This rule was first enacted in July 2014 to add additional
substantive and procedural requirements for public school units
as part of the program's implementation. The proposed
amendments further clarify various aspects of the rule and adjust
the due date for submitting alternative assessments to DPI.

Tonia Parrish, 6301 Mail
27699-6301;  email

Comments may be submitted to:
Service  Center,  Raleigh,  NC
tonia.parrish@dpi.nc.gov

Comment period ends: December 1, 2025

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules
Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives
written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons
clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as
provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive
written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to
1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via
email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff
attorney at 984-236-1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.

CHAPTER 06 - ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY
EDUCATION

SUBCHAPTER 06D - INSTRUCTION
SECTION .0500 - PROMOTION AND GRADUATION

16 NCAC 06D .0508
ACHIEVE PROGRAM
(a) The governing board of each public school unit shall adopt
retention and promotion policies for students in Grade 3 that are
consistent with Chapter 115C, Article 8, Part 1a of the General
Statutes.

(b) For the purpose of implementingthe requirements-of Chapter
H5CArtiele- 8- Part 1a-of the General Statutes; assessing reading
proficiency under G.S. 115C-83.7(b)(3), local school
administrative units shall utilize the alternative assessment
approved by the State Board of Education in accordance with G.S.
115C-83.3. Any alternative assessment approved by the SBE shall
include the requirements listed in G.S. 115C-83.6(b) and shall not
include the use of a "three-cueing system" as defined in G.S.
115C-83.3(9a).

(c) The board of directors for a charter school may use an

alternative assessment of its choice to satisfy-the-requirements-of

Chapter H5C-Article-8; Part ta-of the General Statutes; assess
reading proficiency under G.S. 115C-83.7(b)(3), provided that the

board of directors notifies the SBE of the assessment it intends to
use no later than Deeember August 1 of the school year in which
it intends to use the alternative assessment. The-board-of directors

shall-be-responsible-for-any-expenses-associated-with-utilization

of any—alternative—assessment—other—than—the SBE-approved
alternative-assessment: The provisions of this Paragraph shall also
apply to the following:

T - p l ¢ this Rule.chall al l

NORTH CAROLINA READ TO

) a local board of education, with respect to any
school under the local board's jurisdiction that
has been authorized to operate under the Restart
Model in accordance with 16 NCAC 06G
.0317.

2) a chancellor, with respect to any school

operated as a laboratory school under Chapter
116, Article 29A of the General Statutes, if the
chancellor accepts funding appropriated by the
General Assembly to support the Read to
Achieve program.
(d) The governing body of a public school unit shall be
responsible for any expenses associated with utilization of an
alternative assessment.
(e) For purposes of supplemental tutoring offered in accordance
with G.S. 115C-83.8(e), a student is identified as "retained twice"
if the student was retained once in Kindergarten, Grade 1, Grade
2, or Grade 3, and was retained again in Grade 3 either by
placement in a Grade 3 class or a combined Grades 3 and 4 class

L] State funds affected in which the student received Grade 3 instruction in reading.

] Local funds affected

] Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) Authority G.S. 115C-12; 115C-83.1; 115C-83.3; 115C-83.6;
L] Approved by OSBM 115C-83.7; 115C-83.74; 115C-83.8, 115C-83.10; 115C-174.11;
X No fiscal note required 115C-218.85.
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Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-
21.34(c)(2)g. that the State Board of Education intends to readopt
with substantive changes the rules cited as 16 NCAC 06H .0101-
.0104.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://www.dpi.nc.gov/about-dpi/state-board-
education/rulemaking--information

Proposed Effective Date: February 1, 2026

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be
requested in writing within 15 days of notice): Any member of the
public who wishes to request a public hearing may submit a
written request to the State Board of Education Rulemaking
Coordinator via email at ryan.collins@dpi.nc.gov.

Reason for Proposed Action: The North Carolina
Administrative Procedure Act requires the State Board of
Education to periodically review and re-adopt rules issued under
its authority to "make all needed rules and regulations" for the
operation of the public school system. N.C. Const. art. IX, Section
5. These rules govern the operation of federal programs in
general and school nutrition programs in particular. The rules
have been revised to reflect current law and State Board of
Education policy.

Comments may be submitted to:
Service  Center,  Raleigh,  NC
ryan.collins@dpi.nc.gov

Ryan Collins, 6301 Mail
27699-6301;  email

Comment period ends: December 1, 2025

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules
Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives
written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons
clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as
provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive
written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to
1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via
email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff
attorney at 984-236-1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

] Local funds affected

] Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)

] Approved by OSBM

X

No fiscal note required

CHAPTER 06 - ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY

16 NCAC 06H .0101

EDUCATION

SUBCHAPTER 06H - FEDERAL PROGRAMS

SECTION .0100 - OPERATION OF FEDERAL

PROGRAMS

DEFINITIONS

As used in this Subehapter: Subchapter, the following definitions

apply:

b}
2
3)

(€3]
B
(6

&0

0O

(10)

"Federal agency" is defined in 2 C.F.R. 200.1.
"Federal award" is defined in 2 C.F.R. 200.1.
"Federal financial assistance" is defined in 2
C.F.R. 200.1.

"Federal program" is defined in 2 C.F.R. 200.1.
"Free appropriate public education" (FAPE) or
"FAPE" is defined by»34-CER300-13- in 34
C.F.R. 300.101.

"Individualized education program" (HEP) or

"[EP" is defined by—34-CER300-340- in 34

C.F.R. 300.320.
"Least restrictive environment" ERE) or

"LRE" is defined by-34-CER-300-550—300-556-
in 34 C.F.R. 300.114.

"Local education agency" or "LEA" is defined
in 34 C.F.R. 303.28(a). For the purpose of
federal programs administered by the State
Board of Education, the term "LEA" includes
any public school unit, as defined in G.S. 115C-
5(7a), that is a subrecipient of a federal award.

"Parent" is defined by34-CER300-20- in 34
C.F.R. 300.30.

"Recipient" is defined in 2 C.F.R. 200.1. For the
purpose of federal programs administered by
the State Board of Education, "recipient"
includes a "grantee" as defined in 34 C.F.R.
77.1(c).

""State education agency" or "SEA" is defined in
34 C.F.R. 300.41. The State Board of Education
is the SEA for the State of North Carolina.
"Subaward" is defined in 2 C.F.R. 200.1.
"Subrecipient" is defined in 2 C.F.R. 200.1. For

the purpose of federal programs administered
by the State Board of Education, "subrecipient"
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includes a "subgrantee" as defined in 34 C.F.R.

subrecipient, the department SBE shall send the complaint to that

77.1(c).

Authority G.S. H3EH4L: 115C-106.3; 115C-107.2; 2 C.F.R.
200.1; 34 C.F.R. 300.28; 34 C.F.R. 300.30,; 34 C.F.R. 300.41; 34
C.F.R. 300.101; 34 CF.R. 300.114; 34 C.F.R. 320.

16 NCAC 06H .0102 OPERATION OF FEBERAL
CHILD NUTRITION PROGRAMS

Ega)] H]*e Eeﬁlaﬂ.mem ad*l““;*sre*s]m a]eee*.daﬂee with-applicable

authorized by-Congress-and-aceepted-by-the SBE-
) In administering child nutrition programs, the Department
will State Board of Education may reclaim andfer or withhold

funds from any LEA or pregram-spenserwhich subrecipient that
fails to comply with current federal regulations and state-pelicies

SBE—rules until the LEA or pregram—spenser subrecipient
complies.

Authority G.S. 115C-263; H3€264: 115C-409; 2_C.F.R.
200.339.

16 NCAC 06H .0103 COMPLAINT PROCEDURES
FOR FEDERAL PROGRAMS

(a) This Rule shall apply to federal programs of United States
federal agencies that provide federal awards administered by the
State Board of Education. The departmnent SBE shall receive,
review and resolve complaints for which no other procedures or
remedies are available: available by law or contract. These
complaints must shall involve the allegation that EEAs;anether
subgrantee-or-the-department the SBE, an LEA, or a subrecipient
has violated a federal statute, federal regulation or interpretive
rele- SBE rule governing a federal program. FhisRule-shall-affeet

these-federal educationprograms-listedin34-CER Part 76-
(b) Any persen{s) person who believes that grounds exist for
filing a complaint under Paragraph (a) of this Rule may file a
written complaint with the department: SBE. The complaint sust:
shall include the following:

(I)  be—signed—by—the—person(s)—making—it; The

signature of the complainant;
(2) i

shew—wheo—has—vielated—a—speeific—federal
requirement; The name of the party alleged to

subgrantee- subrecipient.
Thed inits di ion_all |

appearand-presentevidenee:

D(d) The department SBE shall review and issue a final written
resolution-of decision for each aceeptable complete complaint to
each party involved within 60 days of receipt, unless-it-finds-good
cause;—as—that-term—is—defined—in 26 NCAC-03 0118, for-an
extenston- The SBE may extend the time for issuing a final written
decision up to an additional 60 days if:

1) The complainant agrees to an extension; or

2) The SBE makes a finding good cause, as
defined in 26 NCAC .0118(a)(1), for an
extension.

€e)(e) The reselution final written decision shall include:

€Y a A summary of the faets-invelved; relevant and
material evidence;

2) astatermentolthe-federalrequirementinvehed:
Citations to the relevant federal statute(s),
federal regulation(s), and SBE rules;

3) the-department's-findings-of factand-a-summary
of the—evidence—it—econsidered; Findings of
material fact;

“4) the—department's—conelusions Conclusions of
law regarding each allegation and a summary of
its the reasons for them; those conclusions; and

5) the—department's An order for any technical

assistance,  negetiation  negotiation, or
corrective action that must occur and when

those actions must be taken.
() If a federal edueation program requires a subgrantee
subrecipient to develop and use a complaint procedure, the persen
complaining complainant may use either that the subrecipient's

procedure or the department's SBE procedure. If the persen
complainant uses the subgrantee's procedure, the person may

appeal that the subrecipient's final decision to the departmentSBE

within 30 days afterreeeivingit- of receipt.

Authority G.S. H3€H3; 115C-12(5); 15C-409; 34—ECFR-

662 7 CF.R. 210.18; 34 C.F.R. 76.770; 34 C.F.R. 300.149—
300.151.

have violated a federal statute, federal
regulation, or SBE rule;

3) tell how-the requirement-has-been—vielated; An
identification of the federal statute, federal
regulation, or SBE rule alleged to have been
violated by the party;

“4)
based: A detailed description of facts to support
the complaint; and
%) tel-what A description of the relief the persen
complainant is seeking.
. : D ’
'E}lll 1 : ].t. | l'lil
complaint-may -be-made-complete:
(d)(c) Thedepartmentshallsend-the-complainttostaff-forreview
and—respoense: If the complaint involves a subgrantee;

16 NCAC 06H .0104 CHILD NUTRITION
PROCEDURES SALE OF COMPETITIVE FOODS
National SchoolL b p liei | ard
follows:
@ | | Limited-tofood i

b followi Litions:
& Sponsers—mustoperate—all foodand
i .
”.g] | luncl 'gll 4l
school-food scrvice-department:
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pehiey:
(a) As used in this Rule, the following definitions shall apply:
[@0)] "Competitive food" is defined in 7 C.F.R.

210.11(a)(2).

2) "National School Lunch Program" is defined in
7C.FR.210.2.

3) "Nonprofit school food service" is defined in 7
CF.R.210.2.

4) "Nonprofit school food service account" is
defined in 7 C.F.R. 210.2.

(&) "School campus" is defined in 7 C.F.R.
210.11(a)(4).

(6) "School day" is defined in 7 C.F.R.
210.11(a)(5).

élb) Spsasf*s st use *eee] .ﬂatsif.‘*em child ;*H:“H]sﬁ pxel Erams fs*l

state-poliey-
(b) All competitive foods shall, at minimum, meet the general
nutrition standards established by 7 C.F.R. 210.11.

(¢)_Each LEA shall maintain records in accordance with 7 C.F.R.
210.11.

(d) Each LEA may sell competitive foods during the school day,
on the school campus, under the following conditions:

a All receipts from the sale of these items before
the cafeteria closes for the day shall be
deposited in the nonprofit school food service
account.

2) Adults may purchase individual food items
without purchasing a complete lunch.

(e) Instructional programs in culinary arts, which operate under
an approved Career and Technical Education plan and involve the
preparation and sale of foods to individuals other than students,
are not subject to this Rule.

(f) The State Board of Education may deny the opportunity to
participate in the National School Lunch Program to any LEA
which operates in violation of this Rule.

te)(g) No full-time public school employee is eligible for
part-time employment in nonprofit school food services.

td)(h) The only adults who may eat in the-scheolfoodservice
department nonprofit school food services are school employees,
personnel on official school business business, and invited local
patrons. These persons shall pay, as a minimum, the adult price
for lunch.

Authority G.S. 115C-263; 115C-264; 7 C.F.R. 210.11(b)(1).

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 10 - CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and
G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Board of Chiropractic
Examiners intends to amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 10 .0218,
readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 21 NCAC 10
0104, .0105, .0202- .0204, .0208- .0210, .0212, .0213, .0218
.0304, .03006, .0501, .0503, readopt without substantive changes
the rules cited as 21 NCAC 10 .0103, .0207, .0215-.0217, .0302,
.0303, .0305, .0401, .0403, .0406, .0504, .0706, .0708, .0709,
.0803 and repeal through readoption the rule cited as 21 NCAC
10.0211.
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Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it
impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless
the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available
on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed
for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be
published. The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://ncchiroboard.com

Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2026

Public Hearing:

Date: October 24, 2025

Time: 7:00 p.m.

Location:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88422044236 ?pwd=RNIaEy4gmGDT
JegubjWaAaBHLpyQCI.1 Meeting ID: 884 2204 4236 Passcode:
268443

Reason for Proposed Action: -2/ NCAC 10 .0104 - Establishes
the official seal of the Board

21 NCAC 10 .0105 - Implements an escrow account as required
by N.C. Gen. Stat. § 93B-2(d)

21 NCAC 10 .0202 - Establishes the application process for
individuals seeking initial licensure to practice chiropractic

21 NCAC 10 .0203-Establishes application process for
individuals seeking licensure to practice chiropractic by
reciprocity and establishes process by which applicants may sit
for examinations required for licensure

21 NCAC 10 .0204-Establishes the application process for
individuals seeking renewal of their license to practice
chiropractic

21 NCAC 10 .0208-Establishes minimum competencies for
applicant for licensure to engage in acupuncture in the practice
of chiropractic

21 NCAC 10 .0209-Defines the term “Nutritional supplements”
as that term is used in NC Gen Stat. § 90-151.1

21 NCAC 10 .0210-Establishes process by which individual-study
continuing education courses are approved by the Board

21 NCAC 10 .0211-Repeals regulation related to finance or
management services contracts between a licensee and a non-
licensee.

21 NCAC 10 .0212-Establishes the process by which medical
college credits may be accepted by the Board for licensure
eligibility

21 NCAC 10 .0213-Establishes the application process for
individual seeking certification as a chiropractic assistant

21 NCAC 10 .0218-Establishes the Board registration process for
licensees who supervise students pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 90-
142.1

21 NCAC 10 .0304-Establishes Board-recognized specialties
within the practice of chiropractic and the eligibility requirements
to publish a claim of specialization within the practice of
chiropractic

21 NCAC 10 .0306-Establishes Board-recognized non-diplomate
credentials within the practice of chiropractic and the eligibility
requirements to publish a claim of non-diplomate credentials
within the practice of chiropractic

21 NCAC 10 .0501-Establishes the process by which complaints
alleging violations of the laws governing chiropractic may be
filed with the Board

21 NCAC 10 .0503-Establishes the process by which complaints
alleging violations of the laws governing chiropractic may be
considered by the Board’s Disciplinary Review Committee

Comments may be submitted to: Dr. Joe Siragusa, 9121 Anson
Way, Suite 200, Raleigh, NC 27615; phone (704) 793-1342; email
dr. joe@ncchiroboard.com

Comment period ends: December 15, 2025

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules
Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives
written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons
clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as
provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1l). The Commission will receive
written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to
1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via
email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff
attorney at 984-236-1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.

] State funds affected

] Local funds affected

U] Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)

U] Approved by OSBM

X No fiscal note required

21 NCAC 10.0103 STRUCTURE OF BOARD
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

21 NCAC 10.0104 SEAL OF THE BOARD OF
CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS

(a) The official seal of the Board consists of two concentric
circles, with the werd-"Seal'inside Seal of the State of North
Carolina, as set forth in G.S. 147-2, comprising the inner circle
surrounded by the phrase "North Carolina Board of Chiropractic
Examiners, Organized May 5, 1917" in the area between the
circles.

(b) The Seal of the State of North Carolina, as set forth in G.S.
147-26, without alteration, has also been adopted for use by the

Beard-where-appropriate: Board.

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-156.
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21 NCAC 10 .0105 ESCROW ACCOUNT (10) whether the applicant has ever had a credential
(a) The Board shall maintain an escrow account at a federally denied, limited, reprimanded, suspended, or
insured bank for the temporary deposit of any fees received by the revoked and, if so, an explanation of the same;
Board during a period in which the Board's authority to expend 11 whether the applicant has ever been convicted
funds is suspended by operation of law. of a felony or misdemeanor under any laws and,
(b) At such time as the authority of the Board to expend funds is if so, the nature, date and jurisdiction of the
restored, the fees deposited in the escrow account shall be conviction;
transferred to the Board's general account. 12) whether any criminal charges or criminal
investigations, if known, are pending against
Authority G.S. 90-142; 93B-2: 93B-2(d). the applicant and if so, the details of said
charges or investigations;
SECTION .0200 - PRACTICE OF CHIROPRACTIC (13) whether any court, board, agency, or
professional organization regulating
21 NCAC 10.0202 APPLICATION FOR chiropractic has disciplined the applicant and, if
LICENSURE s0, an explanation of the same;
(a) General. Application for licensure to practice chiropractic 14) whether any charges are pending against the
pursuant to G.S. 90-143 shall be made in writing upon forms applicant before any court, board, agency, or
provide by the Board. Application forms and instructions may be professional organization regulating
found on the Board's website, www.ncchiroboard.com. chiropractic and, if so, an explanation of the
Applications not completed within 12 months following same;
submission to the Board shall be denied. All applications shall (15) whether the applicant ever has voluntarily given
contain the following: up any licensure privileges in order to avoid

a the applicant's name, residential address, phone formal disciplinary sanctions;
number, email address, and date of birth; (16) whether the applicant ever has been sanctioned

2) the social security number of the applicant; or suspended from participation in Medicare or

3) the applicant's educational history and degree Medicaid and, if so, an explanation of the same;
attainment; an whether the applicant ever has been denied

“4) character reference statements on forms membership in a professional association or, if
prescribed by the Board of three persons not admitted, ever been suspended or had
related to the applicant attesting to the membership not renewed due to a breach of
applicant's good moral character, two of which ethics and, if so, an explanation of the same;
must be submitted Board-licensed chiropractic (18) whether the applicant has had a malpractice
physicians in good standing with the Board; judgment entered against him or her and, if so,

5) the applicant's employment history; an explanation for the same;

(6) whether the applicant now has or has ever had 19 whether the applicant is certified by the Board
an addiction to, or dependency on, alcohol or or the National Board of Chiropractic
other controlled substances and, if so, an Examiners to practice Acupuncture;
explanation of the same; (20) A copy of the applicant's government-issued

(@A) whether the applicant ever has been under identification document, such as a driver's
clinical treatment for addiction to, or license or passport;
dependency on, alcohol or other controlled 21) A certified self-query response from the
substances and, if so, an explanation of the National Practitioner Data Bank ("NPDB") sent
same; directly to the Board regarding the applicant's

) whether the applicant has any physical, mental record with NPDB;
or emotional infirmities that could impair his or (22) the applicant's affirmation that:
her ability to practice chiropractic safely and, if (A) the applicant has read and will comply
s0, an explanation of the same; with Article 8 of Chapter 90 of the

9 whether the applicant has ever been certified, North Carolina General Statutes and
licensed, or registered to practice chiropractic the administrative rules promulgated
by the Board, by another occupational Board, by the Board, which are available on
or in another state/jurisdiction and, if so: the Board's website at
(A) whether the credential is in good https://ncchiroboard.com/;

standing; B) the information provided by the

B) in what state/jurisdiction was the applicant in the application is true;
credential issued; and ©) the applicant consents to a criminal

© the issuance date and expiration date history record check; and

of the credential. (D) the applicant has read and understands
the public notice statement on
employee misclassification that is set
40:07 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 1, 2025
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forth in the application and has
disclosed any investigations for
employee misclassification, and its
results, over the preceding 12-month
period, as prescribed by G.S. 143-789;

and
(23) the application fee, as prescribed in Paragraph

shall announce an examination date not less than 30 days in
advance and shall publish the date of upcoming examinations on
the Board's website, www.ncchiroboard.com. The Board shall
also individually notify each eligible applicant of the date of the
next examination after the applicant's non-refundable application
fee has been paid and the written application eempleted- pursuant
to Rule .0202 has been submitted to the Board.

(d) of this Rule.

te)(b) Deadlines for Filing Applications. Applications for the
North Carolina examination shall be received at the Board office
no later than 15 days before the rext-examination date on which
the applicant wishes to sit for examination, as provided in Rule

.0203(b) of this Section.

(c) Application Fee. A non-refundable application fee of three
hundred dollars ($300.00) shall accompany each application. This
fee may be pald by credlt card through the Board's websrte

aeeepted- www.ncchiroboard.com.

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-143; 90-143.1; 90-143.3; 90-145; 90-
146; 90-149.

21 NCAC 10.0203
EXAMINATION
(a) Eligibility. Only those applicants who meet the requirements
of this Rule and G.S. 90-143 or, in the case of reciprocity
applicants, G.S. 90-143.1, and who have submitted a written
application and paid the non-refundable application fee pursuant
to Rule 21 NCAC 10 .0202 shall be allowed to take the North
Carolina examination- examination set forth in G.S. 90-143(b).
Reciprocity applicants shall complete the following:

a completed the application set forth in 21 NCAC

10 .0202(a);
2) pay the application fee set forth in 21 NCAC 10

.0202(d);
A) pass the jurisprudence exam set forth in
Paragraph (g) of this Rule;
“4) comply with the requirements of G.S. 90-143.1;
and
) provide an attestation that the applicant meets
the requirements of G.S. 90-143.1.
(b) Dates of Examination. The North Carolina examination shall
be given at least four times during the calendar year. The Board

NORTH CAROLINA

(c) National Boards. Except as provided in Paragraph (e) of this
Rule, in order to take the North Carolina examination, an
applicant who has never been licensed in this State or who is not
a reciprocity applicant shall first achieve a score of 375 or higher
on Parts I-IV and the Physiotherapy examination given by the
National Board of Chiropractic Examiners.

(d) Report of Scores. The applicant shall arrange for his or her
test results from any National Board examination to be reported

to the Nerth—Carelina Board. Failure—to—comply—with—this
Paragraph-shall be-a-basisfor delaying-the-issuance-of alicense-

The Board shall not issue a license to an applicant for whom the
Board has not received official score reports showing passage of
the examination set forth in Paragraph (c) of this Rule provided
from the examination testing provider.

(e) Waiver of National Boards. Notwithstanding the requirements
of Paragraph (c) of this Rule, an applicant who submits National
Board examinations in conformity with the following schedule
shall not be disqualified from licensure in North Carolina:

@ 5 ] | L6 i .
college before b 1966 shathnotberequired
to—submit—a—score—from—any National Beard
An applicant who graduated from chiropractic
college between July 1, 1966 and June 30, 1986
shall be required to submit scores of 375 or
higher on National Board Part I, Part II, and the
elective examination termed "Physiotherapy,"”
but shall not be required to submit a score on
Part III (WCCE) or Part IV.

An applicant who graduated from chiropractic
college between July 1, 1986 and June 30, 1997
shall be required to submit scores of 375 or
higher on National Board Part I, Part II, the
elective examination termed "Physiotherapy,"
and Part I1I, but shall not be required to submit
a score on Part I'V.

In order to receive a license, an applicant who qualifies for a
waiver of any National Board score pursuant to Paragraph (e) of
this Rule shall take and pass the Special Purpose Examination for
Chiropractic ("SPEC") and the North Carolina Examination. An
applicant who qualifies for a waiver of any National Board score

&)

Q2

this-Chapter: must submit an application to the Board pursuant to
Rule .0202 of this Section.
(f) SPEC Examination. In order to take the North Carolina

examination, a_peerpmeyt:}#appheam—a—wawepappheaquqﬁsuam
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in name, address, specialty, employment circumstances, and
criminal convictions since the last renewal form was submitted to

- the the Board. The licentiate shall also note on the form any
following individuals must first take and pass the SPEC: professional development continuing education for which the
1 a reciprocity applicant; licentiate seeks credit pursuant to Rule .0210(d) of this Chapter.
2) a waiver applicant pursuant to Paragraph (e) of All renewal applications shall contain the following:
this Rule; and @) the applicant's name, residential address, phone
3) an_applicant previously licensed in this State number, email address, and date of birth;
whose license has been cancelled pursuant to 2) the social security number of the applicant;
G.S. 90-155 for more than 180 days, unless the 3) whether the applicant now has or has ever had

applicant has been engaged in continuous
licensed chiropractic practice in another state
within the United States for the three years
preceding the applicant's application to the
Board and has not been subject to any
disciplinary action impacting the applicant's
ability to engage in chiropractic practice. The
SPEC is administered by the National Board of
Chiropractic Examiners. The passing score
shall be 375 or higher. Reciprocity applicants
and waiver applicants pursuant to Paragraph (e)
of this Rule who have achieved a score of 375
or higher on Part IV of the National Board
examination shall not be required to take and
pass the SPEC prior to licensure.
(g) Nature of Examination. The North Carolina jurisprudence
examination shall be a test of an applicant's knowledge of North
Carolina chiropractic law and regulations. The passing grade shall
be 75 percent.

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-143; 90-143.1; 90-143.3; 90-144; 90-
145; 90-146.

21 NCAC 10.0204
LICENSE

(a) Initial Licensure. The initial license awarded to an applicant
who passed the examination shall be mailed to the address
appearing on the application form.

(b) Change of Contact Information. The licentiate shall inform
the Board of any change in his or her contact information.
Updated contact information shall be forwarded to the Board
office email at ncboce@ncchiroboard.com within 30 days after
any such change.

(¢) General. The renewal, inactivation, and restoration of a
license are governed by G.S. 90-155 and this Rule. A current
license that is not renewed shall be placed on inactive status on
January 30th of the following year. A licentiate desiring license
renewal shall submit to the Board, on or before the date of
inactivation, a completed license renewal form accompanied by
the renewal fee as provided in Paragraph (i) of this Rule. The
renewal fee shall only be paid through the Board's website,
www.ncchiroboard.com.

(d) License Renewal Notification and Form. On or before
December 1 of each year, the Board shall email to each licentiate,
at the licentiate's current email address on file with the Board,
license renewal instructions. The license renewal form with
instructions shall also be available at the Board's website,
www.ncchiroboard.com, or upon request at the Board's office. A
licentiate desiring license renewal shall note on the form changes

LICENSURE; RENEWAL OF

an addiction to, or dependency on, alcohol or
other controlled substances and, if so, an
explanation of the same;

“4) whether the applicant ever has been under
clinical treatment for addiction to, or
dependency on, alcohol or other controlled
substances and, if so, an explanation of the
same;

3 whether the applicant has any physical, mental
or emotional infirmities that could impair his or
her ability to practice chiropractic safely and, if
so, an explanation of the same;

(6) whether the applicant has ever been certified,
licensed, or registered to practice chiropractic
by the Board, by another occupational Board,
or in another state/jurisdiction; and if so:

(A) whether the credential is in good
standing;

(B) in _what state/jurisdiction was the
credential issued; and

©) the issuance date and expiration date
of the credential.

(@A) whether the applicant has ever had a credential
denied, limited, reprimanded, suspended. or
revoked and, if so, an explanation of the same;

) whether the applicant has ever been convicted
of a felony or misdemeanor under any laws
since the last renewal and, if so, the nature, date
and jurisdiction of the conviction;

9 whether any criminal charges or criminal
investigations, if known, are pending against
the applicant and if so, the details of said
charges or investigations;

(10) whether any court, board, agency, or
professional organization regulating
chiropractic has disciplined the applicant and, if
so, an explanation of the same;

an whether any charges are pending against the
applicant before any court, board, agency, or

professional organization regulating
chiropractic and, if so, an explanation of the
same;

(12) whether the applicant ever has voluntarily given
up _any licensure privileges in order to avoid
formal disciplinary sanctions;

(13) whether the applicant ever has been sanctioned
or suspended from participation in Medicare or
Medicaid and, if so, an explanation of the same;
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whether the applicant ever has been denied
membership in a professional association or, if
admitted, ever been suspended or had
membership not renewed due to a breach of
ethics and, if so, an explanation of the same;
whether the applicant has had a malpractice
judgment entered against him or her since his or
her last renewal and, if so, an explanation for
the same;
whether the applicant is certified by the Board
or the National Board of Chiropractic
Examiners to practice Acupuncture;
the applicant's affirmation that:
(A) the applicant has read and will comply
with Article 8 of Chapter 90 of the
North Carolina General Statutes and
the administrative rules promulgated
by the Board, which are available on
the Board's website at
https://ncchiroboard.com/;
(B) the information provided by the
applicant in the application is true;
the applicant consents to a criminal
history record check; and
the applicant has read and understands
the public notice statement on
employee misclassification that is set
forth in the application and has
disclosed any investigations for
employee misclassification, and its
results, over the preceding 12-month
period, as prescribed by G.S. 143-789;
and
the renewal fee, as prescribed in Paragraph (i)
of this Rule.
(e) Continuing Education. As used in G.S. 90-155, one "day" of
continuing education shall mean nine hours. Except as provided
in Paragraphs (f), (g) and (h) of this Rule, a licentiate seeking
license renewal shall obtain 18 hours (2 days) of Board-approved
continuing education each calendar year. At least 10 hours shall
be obtained by attending in-person or live on-line educational
sessions. Live online hours include the opportunity to interact
with the instructor in real-time. As many as eight hours may be
obtained in the manner set forth in Rule .0210 of this Section. The
Board shall not award credit for any continuing education hours
until the sponsor or licentiate submits to the Board the sponsor's
certificate of attendance or course completion.
(f) First-Year Continuing Education Exemptions. A licentiate
who was enrolled in chiropractic college at any time during the
year of initial licensure or a licentiate initially licensed after
September 1st of the current year shall be permitted to renew his
or her license for the ensuing year without obtaining continuing
education but shall be required to submit a license renewal form
and pay the renewal fee. In subsequent years, a licentiate shall not
be permitted to renew his or her license until the continuing
education requirements set forth in Paragraph (e) of this Rule are
satisfied.
(g) Hardship Waivers. A licentiate seeking a hardship waiver of
the continuing education requirement shall make written

a4)

(15)

a6)

an

B

©

as)

application to the Board no later than December 15th of the
current year explaining the nature and circumstances of the
hardship. Upon the applicant's showing that compliance with the
continuing education requirement poses an undue hardship, the
Board shall waive the requirement in whole or part or grant an
extension of time within which to comply. "Undue hardship" shall
include protracted medical illness, natural disaster, or extended
absence from the United States.

(h) Military Hardship. A licentiate who is serving in the Armed
Forces of the United States and to whom G.S. 93B-15(a) grants
an extension of time to pay a renewal fee shall also be granted an
identical extension of time to complete the continuing education
required for license renewal.

(i) Renewal Fee. A renewal fee in the maximum amount allowed
by G.S. 90-155 shall be paid by each licentiate applying for
renewal.

(j) Restoration of Inactive License. Evidence of Proficiency. In
order to provide evidence of proficiency, a former licentiate
whose license has been inactive for 180 or fewer days due to non-
compliance with G.S. 90-155 shall be re-examined and shall pay
the non-refundable application fee prescribed in Rule .0202(d) of
this Section and shall demonstrate compliance with continuing
education requirements. A former licentiate whose license has
been inactive for more than 180 days shall comply with Rule
.0203(f) of this Section in addition to this Paragraph. Payment of
the application fee shall not constitute payment of the
reinstatement fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) mandated by
G.S. 90-155.

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-145; 90-155; 90-148; 93B-15.

21 NCAC 10.0207 CONTINUING EDUCATION
SEMINARS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)

21 NCAC 10 .0208 ACUPUNCTURE
(a) In order to perform acupuncture, a licentiate or applicant for
licensure shall first certify to the Board that he or she has

onee-for-eredit: has met the eligibility requirements to sit for the

National Board of Chiropractic Examiners Acupuncture
Examination, as set forth by the National Board of Chiropractic

Examiners on its website at https:/www.mynbce.org/. To
perform acupuncture, a licentiate shall also take the National

Board of Chiropractic Examiners Acupuncture Examination and
receive a passing score of 375 or greater.
(b) Prior to performing acupuncture, a licentiate or applicant for
licensure must provide the Board with the following:
€8 An official transcript from an accredited
acupuncture program demonstrating
deseribed-in-this Rule; eligibility to sit for the
National Board of Chiropractic Examiners
Acupuncture Examination; and
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2) Proof of successful completion of the
acupuncture examination described in this
Rule.
(c) Licentiates holding an active license as of December 31, 2022
and who have received prior approval from the Board to perform
acupuncture are not required to meet the requirements of this rule.
However, if a licentiate grandfathered under this rule
subsequently allows his or her license to lapse or if the license is
subsequently subject to active suspension or placed in a status
other than active, the licentiate shall be required to comply with
this Rule before being permitted to perform acupuncture.

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-143; 90-151.

21 NCAC 10.0209 NUTRITIONAL SUPPLEMENTS
For the purpose of enforcing G.S. 90-151.1, the term Snutritional
supplements— "nutritional supplements" includes vitamins,
minerals, enzymes, dietary supplements, herbs, homeopathic and
naturopathic preparations, glandular extracts, food concentrates
and other natural agents. The term Snutritional-supplements—

"nutritional supplements" does not include controlled substanees-
substances as defined by G.S. 90-87(35).

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-151; 90-151.1; 90-154.

21 NCAC 10.0210 INDIVIDUAL-STUDY
CONTINUING EDUCATION

(a) Hours permitted. A doctor of chiropractic may obtain as many
as eight credit hours of continuing education each year by
successfully completing one or more individual-study courses
approved by the Board.

(b) Course approval. The criteria for Board approval of any
individual-study course are as follows:

(1) no practice-building or motivational courses
shall be approved,;
2) no course shall be approved that requires

participants, in order to utilize the information
presented, to purchase equipment or clinical
supplies available only through the course's
instructors, Sponsors, Or CO-sponsors;

3) each subject taught shall fall within the extent
and limitation of chiropractic licensure in this
State as provided in G.S. 90-151;

4 the subject matter shall be presented in a
manner comparable to instruction at
chiropractic colleges accredited by the Council
on Chiropractic Education;

(5) the sponsor shall have a method for recording
and verifying a doctor's participation expressed
in credit hours and fractions thereof, and the
sponsor shall assume responsibility for
submitting a certificate of participation to the
Board within 60 days after a doctor completes
the course;

(6) the course shall include one or more
examinations or other means of verifying that a
participating doctor has mastered the material
presented in the course.

(c) Sponsor's obligation. The sponsor shall provide suehk the

following information as to the Board deemsneeessaryte so that
the Board can evaluate the course according to the criteria set

forth in Paragraph (b) of thls Rua}e—meladmg—the—syl-l-&bus—a

1) the course syllabus;
2) a curriculum vitae for each instructor;
3) the method for verifying attendance; and

“4) the length of the course.

Failure to provide information required by the Board shall be a
basis for denying the course. The application process for obtaining
course approval is set forth in Rule .0207 of this Section.

(d) Professional development continuing education. A doctor of
chiropractic may obtain continuing education credit for
undertaking the professional development activities described in
this Paragraph. Credit shall be awarded based on the actual time
spent and shall not exceed two hours annually for all activities
combined. To apply for credit, the doctor shall report such
activities on his or her annual license renewal form as provided in

Rule .0205(c) of this Section. Approved professional
development activities shall include:
) reading scientific, peer-reviewed professional
journals; or
2) visiting vendor displays at professional

association conventions to become familiar

with trends in treatment technologies and new

products.
(e) Attendance at interstate regulatory meetings. A doctor of
chiropractic may obtain as many as 12 hours of continuing
education credit annually by attending morning and afternoon
sessions of a national meeting of the Federation of Chiropractic
Licensing Boards or morning and afternoon sessions of a meeting
of the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners.

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-151; 90-155.

21 NCAC 10 .0211 AGREEMENTS TO PROVIDE
FINANCE OR MANAGEMENT SERVICES

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-147; 90-157.3.

21 NCAC 10 .0212
TRANSFER CREDITS

MEDICAL COLLEGE

fb)(a) Declaration of Equivalency. Fe-the-extent-the-eurrietla-of
the-institutions-overlap;—the The Board deems a medical college
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approved by the Liaison Commission on Medical Education or
the Committee for the Accreditation of Canadian Medical Schools
or an osteopathic college approved by the American Osteopathic
Association to be the equivalent of a chiropractic college
accredited by the Council on Chiropractic Education.

e)(b) Counting Transfer Credits. For purposes of North Carolina
licensure, the Board shall count any and all hours earned by an
applicant at an—appreved a medical college as set forth in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule that have been accepted as transfer
credits by the applicant's chiropractic college.

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-143.

21 NCAC 10.0213
ASSISTANTS
(a) Designation. The Board shall classify Certified Chiropractic
Assistants as follows:

(1) Level 1 — Clinical

2) Level 2 — X-ray
For purposes of this Rule, a Certified Chiropractic Assistant —
Level 1 is the same as a "chiropractic clinical assistant" as defined
in G.S. 90-143.4(a). For purposes of this Rule, a Certified
Chiropractic Assistant — Level 2 is the same as a "diagnostic
imaging technician" as defined in G.S. 90-143.2 and may be
referred to as a "radiologic technologist", "X-ray tech", and "X-
ray technician."
(b) Application Procedure. Anyone seeking to be certified as a
Chiropractic Assistant shall submit an application found on the
Board's website at https://ncchiroboard.com. All applicants shall:

(1) Be at least 18 years of age;

CERTIFIED CHIROPRACTIC

2) Demonstrate that he or she graduated from high
school or the equivalent;

3) Possess good moral character as determined by
the Board; and

@) Submit an application fee of thirty-five dollars

$35-00)- ($35.00); and

5) Submit an application containing the following
information:

(A) the applicant's name, residential
address, phone number, email address,
and date of birth;

B) the applicant's educational history and
degree attainment;

(@) the applicant's employment history;

(D) whether the applicant now has or has
ever had an addiction to, or
dependency on, alcohol or other
controlled substances;

(E) whether the applicant has ever been
convicted of a felony under any laws;

3] whether any criminal charges or
criminal investigations, if known, are
pending against the applicant;

(€] the email address of a person, known

by but not related to the applicant, to
complete the Attestation of Good
Moral Character; and

(H) a copy of the applicant's government-
issued identification document, such
as a driver's license or passport.

(c) New Applicants — Level 1.

€Y Education. In addition to the requirements set
forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, new
applicants shall submit evidence of completion
of a clinical assistant education program at least
24 hours in length, of which at least 6 hours
shall be in-person didactic training with an
instructor or instructors who, based on
education and experience, are competent to
teach the portion of the curriculum they have
been assigned. Credit for online coursework
shall not exceed 18 hours, and all online
coursework shall precede didactic training. The
education program shall provide sufficient
instruction in the five subjects set forth in G.S.
90-143.4(c) to enable its graduates to satisfy all
applicable standards of care. To obtain approval
of an education program, the program sponsor
shall submit to the Board, at least 60 days prior
to the proposed starting date, all instructional
materials to be used in the program, including a
syllabus of the didactic training, and a
curriculum vitae for each instructor.

2) Examination. The proficiency examination for
new applicants shall assess both academic
knowledge and practical skills acquired through
education programs and shall be administered
at least four times per year on dates and at
locations to be announced by the Board at least
30 days in advance and published on the
Board's website at https://ncchiroboard.com.

teati tved:- The minimum passing
score on the examination is 75 percent.
(d) New Applicants — Level 2.

1) Education. In addition to the requirements set
forth in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule, new
applicants shall complete a radiological
technologist education program at least 50
hours in length, of which at least 6 hours shall
be in-person didactic training with an instructor
or instructors who, based on education and
experience, are competent to teach the portion
of the curriculum they have been assigned, and
completion of the practical requirement as set
forth in Subparagraph (d)(2) of this Rule. The
education program shall provide sufficient
instruction in the five subjects set forth in G.S.
90-143.2 to enable its graduates to satisfy all
applicable standards of care governing the
production of X-rays. To obtain approval of an
education program, the program sponsor shall
submit to the Board, at least 60 days prior to the
proposed starting date, all instructional
materials to be used in the program, including a
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syllabus of the didactic training and a

curriculum vitae for each instructor. Any

person registered as "active" with the American

Chiropractic ~ Registry  of  Radiologic

Technologists shall be deemed to have satisfied

the educational requirements of this Paragraph.
2) Practical Requirement. Upon completion of the

training set forth in Subparagraph (d)(1) of this

Rule, a person desiring certification as a

Certified Chiropractic Assistant — Level 2 shall

undergo a Practical Examination within six

months of completing the written examination,

whereby the person is evaluated by his or her

program  sponsor on the following

competencies  while  performing  x-ray

examinations under the in-person observation

of a sponsor for four different patients:

(A) Image quality;

(B) Marking sides of the body;

©) Technique input to controller;

(D) Tube/focal film distance;

(E) Bucky/tube alignment;

(F) Patient positioning;

(G) Gonad shielding;

(H) Ability to name additional views in the

series; and
) Collimation- Collimation;
[@))] Anatomy viewed; and

X Technique calculated for

measurement of patient.
The person must complete and score at least 64 total points on
each of the Thoracic Spine, Lumbar Spine, and Cervical Spine
Practical Examinations. The person shall submit written
documentation of the Practical evaluation on a form prescribed by
the Board that is available on the Board's website at

https://ncchiroboard.com/certified-chiropractic-assistant-level-2-
xray/.

3) Examination. The competency examination
shall be administered at least three times per
year. The Board shall publish on its website,
https://ncchiroboard.com, the date, time, and
location of the examination at least 30 days in
advance. Ia—its—diseretion,—the—Board—may
the—number—of —applications—reeeived: The

minimum passing score is 75 percent.
(e) Reciprocity Applicants. A "reciprocity applicant" means an
applicant who is currently certified or registered as a clinical
assistant or X-ray technician in another state whose requirements
for certification or registration are substantially similar to or more
stringent than the requirements for certification in North Carolina.
A reciprocity applicant shall submit a copy of the applicant's
current certification or registration as a clinical assistant in a state
with which North Carolina reciprocates and shall also submit
written confirmation from the state's certifying authority or
registrar that the applicant is in good standing in that state.

Applicants for reciprocity shall pay the application fee set forth in
Rule .0803(a)(1) of this Chapter.

(f)  Certification Expiration and Renewal. Starting with
certifications issued or renewed on or after July 1, 2022, a
certificate of competency shall expire on June 30 of the second
year following the year in which it was issued unless otherwise
renewed. A Level 1 certificate holder seeking to renew shall
submit evidence that the applicant has completed six hours of
Board-approved continuing education. A Level 2 certificate
holder shall complete six hours of education applicable to a Level
1 renewal plus six hours in radiologic technology. A certificate of
attendance or completion issued by the course sponsor and filed
with the Board shall constitute prima facie evidence that the
applicant has completed the number of hours recited in the
certificate. The applicant shall pay to the Board a renewal fee in
the amount of fifty dollars ($50.00).

(g) Lapsed Certificates. If a certificate of competency has lapsed
due to non-renewal and the lapse does not exceed 60 days, the
certificate holder may obtain reinstatement by making up the
accrued deficiency in continuing education. If the lapse is greater
than 60 days, no make-up continuing education shall be required,
but the certificate holder shall re-take and pass the proficiency
examination for new applicants. Regardless of the length of lapse,
a certificate holder seeking reinstatement shall pay the renewal fee
set forth in Paragraph (f) of this Rule.

(h) Exemptions. Graduates of accredited chiropractic colleges
and students enrolled in accredited chiropractic colleges who are
serving college-sponsored preceptorships in North Carolina are
deemed by the Board to have satisfied all requirements imposed
by this Rule and shall be deemed competent to perform the duties
of a clinical assistant. Any person who qualifies for exemption
and who works as a clinical assistant in this state for more than
180 days shall submit the applicant pursuant to this Rule and note
the claim of exempt status. Exempt persons shall not be required
to pay a certification fee. For the purposes of this Rule,
"accredited" shall mean colleges accredited by the Council on
Chiropractic Education.

(i) Displaying Certificate. The holder of a Level 1 certificate
issued pursuant to this Rule shall display the certificate in the
chiropractic clinic in which the holder is employed in a location
where the certificate may be viewed by patients. The holder of a
Level 2 certificate issued pursuant to this Rule shall display the
certificate in the x-ray room of the chiropractic clinic in which the
holder is employed in a location where the certificate may be
viewed by patients.

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-143.2; 90-143.4; 90-154.3.

21 NCAC 10 .0215 PETITION FOR
PREDETERMINATION (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

21 NCAC 10 .0216 WAIVER (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

21 NCAC 10.0217 PROFESSIONAL ENTITIES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

21 NCAC 10.0218 PRECEPTORS
(a) Chiropractic physicians who supervise students pursuant to
G.S. 90-142.1 ("preceptors") shall provide the Board with the
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following information prior to commencing student supervision
on a form available on the Board's website:

(D Full name and license number of the preceptor;

2) Full name of student;

3) Chiropractic college in which student is
enrolled;

@) Expected date of graduation;

(5) Contact phone number and email for student;

(6) Start and end dates of preceptorship;

@) Address where preceptorship will take place;
and

(®) Acknowledgement by the preceptor that he/she
has read the statutes, rules and guidelines
regarding the preceptor role.

(b) The minimum requirements for a preceptor are as follows:

(1) Active license issued by the Board,

2) Licensure by the Board for at least five years
prior to submission of request to serve as a
preceptor;

3) No prior suspension of the preceptor's license,

active or stayed; and
@) No prior Board discipline of any kind within 10

years of commencing the preceptor-student

relationship.
(c) Preceptors shall supervise only one student at a time.
Preceptors shall obtain verbal consent from every patient who is
treated by the student prior to the student commencing treatment.
Preceptors shall document consent in the patient's record.

Authority G.S. 90-142(2); 90-142.1.
SECTION .0300 - RULES OF UNETHICAL CONDUCT

21 NCAC 10.0302 ETHICS OF ADVERTISING AND
PUBLICITY (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)

21 NCAC 10.0303 SOLICITATION OF AUTO
ACCIDENT VICTIMS (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

21 NCAC 10 .0304
SPECIALTIES
(a) Definitions. For purposes of this Rule, the following
definitions shall apply:

(1) Claim of Specialization: any use of the
designations listed in this Rule or any
representation stating or implying that, by
virtue of additional training, a licentiate
possesses greater expertise in any aspect of
health care than is possessed by chiropractic
physicians who have not had additional
training. The mere recitation of academic
degrees awarded to a licentiate does not
constitute a claim of specialization.

2) Publication: representations regarding any
claim of specialization made by a licentiate
which may include representations made in
advertising, whether printed or broadcast;

DESIGNATION OF

written ~ representations  appearing  on
professional  stationery, business cards,
curriculum vitae, or office signager—and-oral

signage.
(b) Recognized Specialties. The Board of Examiners recognizes

the specialties in the following fields of practice:
1) Chiropractic Orthopedics;
2) Chiropractic Radiologys;
3) Chiropractic Neurology;
) Chiropractic Internal Disorders;
®) Chiropractic Pediatrics;
6) Chiropractic Sports Injuries;
7 Chiropractic Nutrition; and
®) Chiropractic Rehabilitation: Rehabilitation; and
9 Chiropractic Acupuncture.
(c) Any licentiate wishing to request a specialty designation not
listed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall first submit a written
request to the Board and provide evidence that the designation
meets the criteria set forth in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. A
licentiate shall not publish the specialty designation until the
Board has approved, in writing, the specialty designation
requested.
(d) Criteria for approval. In order to publish a claim of
specialization as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule or upon
request of a specialty pursuant to Paragraph (c) of this Rule, a
licentiate shall demonstrate the following:
) Evidence of completion of a post-graduate
course of study in the specialty requested at
least 300 hours in length and offered by a
college approved by the Council on
Chiropractic Edueation; Education, provided
that the specialty of chiropractic acupuncture
only shall require evidence of successful
passage of the National Board of Chiropractic
Examiners Acupuncture Examination; and
2) Evidence that the licentiate has passed an
examination offered by a 501(c)(3)
organization whose testing for specialization is
recognized by the House of Delegates of the
American Chiropractic Association or an exam
deemed by the Board to be an equivalent.
(e) Claim of Specialty. Any published claim of specialization
outside the recognized specialties or any published claim of
specialization made by or at the behest of a licentiate who has not
satisfied all applicable provisions of this Rule constitutes false or
misleading advertising.

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-154; 90-154.2(5).

21 NCAC 10 .0305 PREPAID TREATMENT PLANS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

21 NCAC 10 .0306 PUBLICATION OF NON-
DIPLOMATE CREDENTIALS

(a) Scope of Rule. Any credential awarded to a licensee of the
Board upon completion of a healthcare-related educational

program shall be subject to this Rule except an-academic-degree
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ora—diplema a credential recognized pursuant to Rule .0304 of
this Section.

(b) Publication of Unrecognized Credentials Unlawful. It shall
constitute false-ormisteadingadvertisine—inviolation o G-S-90-
154y, a violation of the Rules of Ethics of Advertising and
Publicity pursuant to G.S. 90-154.2(5) for a licensee to publish a
credential that is not recognized by the Board. For purposes of this
Rule, "publication" includes representations made in a licensee's
print, broadcast or online advertisement, professional stationery,
business cards, and office signage.

(c) Criteria for Recognition. The criteria for recognition by the
Board of a credential subject to this Rule shall be as follows:

(1) the educational program leading to the
awarding of the credential is offered at the post-
doctor of chiropractic level;

2) for a chiropractic discipline, the educational
program is offered or sponsored by a
chiropractic college accredited by the Council
on Chiropractic Education;

3) for a discipline not unique to chiropractic, the
educational program is offered or sponsored by
a professional school or college accredited by
an agency that is the equivalent of the Council
on Chiropractic Education; and

on. Prog .
i If ’f & I’Et.ﬁtﬁ”;“l
conform-to-Rule-0208-of this- Chapter;-and

The educational program culminates in a final
examination that the candidate must pass to
earn the credential.

(d) Recognized Credentials. The following credentials are
recognized by the Board and may be published upon the
credentialed licensee's compliance with Paragraph (e) of this
Rule.

)4

(1) Certified Chiropractic Extremity Practitioner
(CCEP);

2) Certified Chiropractic Rehabilitation Doctor
(CCRD);

3) Certified  Chiropractic  Sports  Physician
(CCSP);

4 Chiropractic Certification in Spinal Trauma
(CCST);

(5) International Chiropractic Sports Physician
(ICSP); and

(6) Certificate in Acupuncture-Meridian Fherapy-
Therapy; and

(@A) Certification by the Academy Council of
Chiropractic Pediatrics (CACCP).

Any licensee wishing to publish a credential not listed in this
Paragraph shall first make written application to the Board and
provide evidence that the credential meets the criteria set forth in
Paragraph (c) of this Rule. The licensee shall not publish the
credential until receipt of Board recognition.
(e) Filing Certificates. A licensee shall not publish any
recognized credential until he or she files with the Board a copy
of the dated certificate or similar document signifying that the
licensee successfully completed all program requirements and
that the credential was awarded.

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-154.
SECTION .0400 - RULE-MAKING PROCEDURES

21 NCAC 10 .0401 PETITIONS FOR ADOPTION OF
RULES (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)

21 NCAC 10 .0403 ORAL PRESENTATIONS AT
PUBLIC RULE-MAKING HEARINGS (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

21 NCAC 10 .0406 DECLARATORY RULINGS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0500 - INVESTIGATION OF COMPLAINTS

21 NCAC 10 .0501 FILING COMPLAINTS

Any person who has reason to believe that a Doctor of
Chiropractic has violated the laws governing chiropractic may file
a complaint with the Board. Beard Anyone wishing to file a
complaint shall file a form with the Board office that contains the
following information:

@) the complainant's name and contact
information;

2) the name and contact information of the person
about which the complainant wishes to file the
complaint;

3) a narrative of the facts about which the
complainant wishes to complain; and

@) the complainant's signature and the date on

which the complaint is made.
The complaint form can be found on the Board's website at
https://ncchiroboard.com/complaint-filing-process.

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-154.

21 NCAC 10 .0503
PROBABLE CAUSE
(a) General. Complaint allegations that-ceuld-be that, if taken as
true, would considered violations of the Board's Practice Act,
based on the findings of the Investigative Report, shall be referred
to the Disciplinary Review Committee (DRC). The DRC shall
conduct an informal conference with the—party the licensee
identified in the complaint in order to consider the possibility of
resolving the complaint.
(b) Composition of the DRC. The DRC shall be composed of:
@) The Board Secretary; and
2) Either a former Board member or a licensee
from among those who, at any election held
pursuant to Rule .0103(c) of this Chapter, have
been elected nominees for Board membership
but not appointed to the Board. The Board
Secretary shall select the second DRC member.
(c) The Board Secretary shall preside over the conference.
(d) Action by the DRC. The DRC shall dispose of each complaint
charge as follows:
) Dismissal of the complaint with no action;
2) Non-Disciplinary Letter of Caution;

DETERMINATION OF
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3) Resolution by settlement; or

@) Scheduling for contested case hearing and
whether the case shall be set before either the
Board or an Administrative Law Judge in
accordance with G.S. 150B-40(e).

Authority G.S. 90-141; 90-142; 90-143; 90-154.

21 NCAC 10 .0504 DRUG TESTING (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

21 NCAC 10 .0706 CONDUCT OF BOARD
HEARING (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)

21 NCAC 10 .0708 CONTINUANCES FOR BOARD
HEARINGS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)

21 NCAC 10.0709 SUBPOENAS (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

21 NCAC 10 .0803 FEE SCHEDULE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

ok sk sk sk oskosko sk sk sk sk sk ok ok ok ok sk sk sk ok

CHAPTER 12 - GENERAL CONTRACTORS

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Licensing Board for General Contractors intends to amend the
rule cited as 21 NCAC 124 .0202.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://nclbgc.org/

Proposed Effective Date: March 1, 2026

Public Hearing:

Date: November 5, 2025

Time: 70:00 a.m.

Location:  North Carolina Licensing Board for General
Contractors, 5400 Creedmoor Road, Raleigh, NC 27612

Reason for Proposed Action: 2/ NCAC 124 .0202 To expand
the building classification to allow unlimited licensees to
construct "non-publicly maintained bridges" as authorized by
NCDPS, EMD.

Comments may be submitted to: Anna Baird Choi, 5400
Creedmoor Road, Raleigh, NC 27612, email
anna.choi@nclbgc.org

Comment period ends: December 1, 2025

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules
Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives

written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons
clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as
provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(bl). The Commission will receive
written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
letters via U.S. Malil, private courier service, or hand delivery to
1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via
email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff
attorney at 984-236-1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

SUBCHAPTER 12A - GENERAL PROVISIONS
SECTION .0200 - LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

21 NCAC 12A .0202 CLASSIFICATION
(a) A general contractor shall be certified in one of the following
five classifications:

1) Building Contractor. This classification covers
all building construction and demolition
activity including: commercial, industrial,
institutional, and all residential building
construction. It includes installation of solar
panels; parking decks; all site work, grading
and paving of parking lots, driveways,
sidewalks, and gutters; storm drainage,
retaining or screen walls, and hardware and
accessory structures; and indoor and outdoor
recreational facilities including natural and
artificial surface athletic fields, running tracks,
bleachers, and seating. It also covers work done

under the specialty classifications of
S(Concrete  Construction),  S(Insulation),
S(Interior  Construction), S(Marine and
Freshwater Construction), S(Masonry

Construction), S(Roofing), S(Metal Erection),
S(Swimming Pools), S(Asbestos), S(Wind
Turbine), and S(Sign/Billboard).

(A) For the purposes of providing disaster
relief assistance pursuant to a
declaration of a state of an emergency,
if a contractor who holds this
classification with an  unlimited
limitation as defined in G.S. 87-10(al)
and has been pre-qualified by the
North Carolina Department of Public

Safety, Emergency Management
Division, this classification also
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2)

)

“4)

includes construction of non-publicly
maintained bridges.

(B) For the purposes of this Rule, a
"declaration of a state of an
emergency" shall be defined as in
Chapter 166A, Article 1A, Part 4 of
the N.C. General Statutes.

© For the purposes of this Rule, a "non-
publicly maintained bridge" shall be
defined as a bridge that is not
maintained by the State, Federal
government, municipality, or county.

Residential Contractor. This classification

covers all construction and demolition activity

pertaining to the construction of residential
units that are required to conform to the

Residential Building Code adopted by the

Building Code Council pursuant to G.S. 143-

138; all site work, driveways, sidewalks, and

water and wastewater systems ancillary to the

aforementioned structures and improvements;
and the work done as part of such residential
units under the specialty classifications of

S(Insulation), S(Interior Construction),

S(Masonry Construction), S(Roofing),

S(Swimming Pools), and S(Asbestos). This

classification also covers the installation of

solar panels on residential units that are
required to conform to the residential building
code.

Highway Contractor. This classification covers

all highway construction activity including:

demolition, grading, paving of all types,
installation of exterior artificial athletic
surfaces, relocation of public and private utility
lines ancillary to a principal project, bridge
construction and repair, culvert construction
and repair, parking decks, sidewalks, curbs,
gutters and storm drainage. It also includes
installation and erection of guard rails, fencing,
signage, and ancillary highway hardware;
covers paving and grading of airport and
airfield runways, taxiways, and aprons,
including the installation of fencing, signage,
runway lighting and marking; and work done
under the specialty classifications of S(Boring
and Tunneling), S(Concrete Construction),

S(Marine and Freshwater Construction),
S(Railroad Construction), H(Grading and
Excavating), = S(Metal  Erection), and
S(Sign/Billboard).

Public Utilities Contractor. This classification
includes demolition and operations that are the
performance of construction work on water and
wastewater systems and on the
subclassifications of facilities set forth in G.S.
87-10(b)(3). The Board shall issue a license to
a public utilities contractor that is limited to any
of the subclassifications set forth in G.S. 87-

(&)

10(b)(3) for which the contractor qualifies. A
public utilities contractor license covers work
done under the specialty classifications of
S(Boring and Tunneling),
PU(Communications), PU(Fuel Distribution),
PU(Electrical-Ahead of Point of Delivery),
PU(Water Lines and Sewer Lines), PU(Water
Purification and Sewage Disposal), and
S(Swimming Pools).

Specialty Contractor. This classification covers

all construction operation and performance of

contract work outlined as follows:

(A) H(Grading and Excavating). This
classification covers the digging,
moving, and placing of materials
forming the surface of the earth,
excluding air and water, in such a
manner that the cut, fill, excavation,
grade, trench, backfill, or any similar
operation may be executed with the
use of hand and power tools and
machines used for these types of
digging, moving, and material placing.
It covers work on earthen dams and
the use of explosives used in
connection with all or any part of the
activities described in this
Subparagraph. It also includes
clearing and grubbing, and erosion
control activities.

B) S(Boring and Tunneling). This
classification covers the construction
of underground or underwater
passageways by digging or boring
through and under the earth's surface,
including the bracing and compacting
of such passageways to make them
safe for the purpose intended. It
includes preparation of the ground
surfaces at points of ingress and
egress.

©) PU (Communications). This
classification covers the demolition
and installation of the following:

(1) all types of pole lines, and
aerial and  underground
distribution cable for
telephone systems;

(i1) aerial and  underground

distribution cable for cable
TV and master antenna TV
systems capable of
transmitting R.F. signals;

(iii) underground conduit and
communication cable,
including fiber optic cable;
and

(iv) microwave
towers,

systems  and
including
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(D)

(E)

()

(G)

foundations and excavations
where required, when the
microwave systems are being
used for the purpose of
transmitting R.F. signals; and
installation of PCS or cellular
telephone towers and sites.
S(Concrete  Construction).  This
classification covers the construction,
demolition, and installation of
foundations, pre-cast silos, and other
concrete tanks or  receptacles,
prestressed components, and gunite
applications, but excludes bridges,
streets, sidewalks, curbs, gutters,
driveways, parking lots, and
highways.
PU(Electrical-Ahead of Point of
Delivery). This classification covers
the construction, installation,
alteration, maintenance, or repair of an
electrical wiring system, including
sub-stations or components thereof,
which is or is intended to be owned,
operated, and maintained by an
electric power supplier, such as a
public or private utility, a utility
cooperative, or any other properly
franchised electric power supplier, for
the purpose of furnishing electrical
services to one or more customers.
This classification includes the
construction of solar arrays.
PU(Fuel Distribution). This
classification covers the construction,
installation, alteration, maintenance,
or repair of systems for distribution of
petroleum fuels, petroleum distillates,
natural gas, chemicals, and slurries
through pipeline from one station to
another. It includes all excavating,
trenching, and  backfilling in
connection therewith. It covers the
installation, replacement, and removal
of above ground and below ground
fuel storage tanks.
PU(Water Lines and Sewer Lines).
This classification covers demolition
and construction work on water and
sewer mains, water service lines, and
house and building sewer lines, as
defined in the North Carolina State
Building Code, and covers water
storage tanks, lift stations, pumping
stations, and appurtenances to water
storage tanks, lift stations, and
pumping  stations. It includes
pavement patching, backfill, and
erosion control as part of construction.

(H)

@

™

(XK)

L)

PU(Water Purification and Sewage
Disposal). This classification covers
the demolition and performance of
construction work on water and
wastewater  systems; water and
wastewater treatment facilities; and all
site work, grading, and paving of
parking lots, driveways, sidewalks,
curbs, and gutters that are ancillary to
such construction of water and
wastewater treatment facilities. It
covers the work done under the
specialty classifications of S(Concrete
Construction), S(Insulation),
S(Interior Construction), S(Masonry
Construction),  S(Roofing), and
S(Metal Erection) as part of the work
on water and wastewater treatment
facilities.

S(Insulation).  This  classification
covers the installation, alteration, or
repair of materials classified as
insulating media used for the non-
mechanical control of temperatures in
the construction of residential and
commercial buildings. It does not
include the insulation of mechanical
equipment, and lines and piping that
are ancillary to the building.
S(Interior Construction). This
classification covers the installation
and demolition of acoustical ceiling
systems and panels, load bearing and
non-load bearing partitions, lathing
and plastering, flooring and finishing,
interior recreational surfaces, window
and door installation, and installation
of fixtures, cabinets, and millwork. It
includes the removal of asbestos and

replacement with non-toxic
substances.
S(Marine and Freshwater

Construction). This classification
covers all marine and freshwater
demolition and construction and repair
activities and all types of marine and
freshwater construction and
demolition in deep-water installations
and in harbors, inlets, sounds, bays,
channels, canals, rivers, lakes, ponds,
or any navigable waterway; it covers
dredging, construction, and
installation of pilings, piers, decks,
slips, docks, and bulkheads. It does not
include other structures that may be
constructed on docks, slips, and piers.
S(Masonry  Construction).  This
classification covers the demolition
and installation, with or without the
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(M)

N)

©)

use of mortar or adhesives, of the

following:

(i) brick, concrete block,
gypsum partition tile, pumice
block, or other lightweight
and facsimile units and
products common to the
masonry industry;

(i1) installation of fire
products  and
construction; and
installation of rough cut and
dressed stone, marble panels
and slate  units, and
installation of  structural
glazed tile or block, glass
brick or block, and solar
screen tile or block.

S(Railroad  Construction).  This

classification covers the demolition,

building, construction, and repair of
railroad lines including:

clay
refractory

(iii)

(1) the clearing and filling of
rights-of-way;
(i1) shaping, compacting, setting,

and stabilizing of road beds;
setting ties, tie plates, rails,
rail connectors, frogs, switch
plates, switches,  signal
markers, retaining walls,
dikes, fences, and gates; and
construction and repair of
tool sheds and platforms.
S(Roofing). This classification covers
the installation, demolition, and repair
of roofs and decks on residential,
commercial, industrial, and
institutional  structures  requiring
materials that form a water-tight and
weather-resistant surface. The term
"materials" for purposes of this
Subparagraph includes cedar, cement,
asbestos, clay tile and composition
shingles, all types of metal coverings,
wood shakes, single ply and built-up
roofing, protective and reflective roof
and deck coatings, sheet metal valleys,
flashings, gravel stops, gutters and
downspouts, and bituminous
waterproofing, including torch down
roof systems. Any insulation material
installed as a component of a torch
down roofing system shall be included
as work covered wunder this
classification.

S(Metal Erection). This classification
covers:

(iif)

(iv)

(P)

Q

and alteration of architectural
and structural shapes, plates,
tubing, pipe and bars, not
limited to steel or aluminum,
that are or may be used as
structural  members  for
buildings, equipment, and
structure; and

(ii) the layout, assembly and
erection by welding, bolting,
riveting, or fastening in any
manner metal products as
curtain walls, tanks of all

types, hoppers, structural
members  for  buildings,
towers, stairs, conveyor
frames, cranes and crane

runways, canopies, carports,
guard rails, signs, steel
scaffolding as a permanent
structure, rigging, flagpoles,
fences, steel and aluminum

siding, bleachers, fire
escapes, and seating for
stadiums, arenas, and
auditoriums.

S(Swimming Pools). This

classification covers the construction,
demolition, service, and repair of all
swimming pools. It includes:

) excavation and grading;
(i) construction of concrete,
gunite, fiberglass, metal-

walled with liner, steel-
walled with liner, and plastic-
type pools, pool decks, and
walkways, and tiling and
coping; and

(ii1) installation of all equipment
including pumps, filters, and
chemical feeders. It does not
include direct connections to
a sanitary sewer system or to
portable water lines, nor the
grounding and bonding of
any metal surfaces or the
making of any electrical
connections.

S(Asbestos).  This  classification

covers renovation or demolition

activities  involving the repair,
maintenance, removal, 1isolation,
encapsulation, or enclosure of

Regulated  Asbestos  Containing

Materials (RACM) for  any

commercial, industrial, or institutional
building, whether public or private. It

(1) the field fabrication, also covers all types of residential
demolition, erection, repair, building  construction  involving
NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER OCTOBER 1, 2025

653



PROPOSED RULES

(R)

S

RACM  during renovation or
demolition activities. This specialty is
required only when the cost of
asbestos activities as described herein
are equal to or exceed forty thousand
dollars ($40,000).

S(Wind Turbine). This classification
covers the construction, demolition,
installation, and repair of wind
turbines, wind generators, and wind
power units. It includes assembly of
blades, generator, turbine structures,
and towers. It also includes ancillary
foundation work, field fabrication of
metal equipment, and structural
support components.
S(Sign/Billboard). This classification
covers the construction, renovation,

installation, repair, erection, or
demolition of any structural signs or
billboards, as used in G.S. 136-128(3)
that are permanently annexed to real
property and as defined in Article 11
of Chapter 136 of the N.C. General
Statutes.

(b) An applicant may be licensed in more than one classification
of general contracting provided the applicant meets the
qualifications for the classifications, which includes passing the

examinations for the classification requested by the applicant. The
license granted to an applicant who meets the qualifications for
all of the classifications set forth in the rules of this Section shall

be designated "unclassified."

Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-4; 87-10.
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules. The rules
that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required
to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules. Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17.

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on August 28, 2025 Meeting.

REGISTER CITATION TO THE

NOTICE OF TEXT
ELECTIONS, STATE BOARD OF
Reporting of Independent Expenditures 08 NCAC 21 .0102 39:18 NCR
Electronic Filing 08 NCAC 21 .0106 39:18 NCR
Reporting Periods 08 NCAC 21 .0108 39:18 NCR
Inactive Status for a Candidate or Committee 08 NCAC 21 .0204 39:18 NCR
Petitions 08 NCAC 22 .0101 39:18 NCR
Definitions 08 NCAC 22 .0102* 39:18 NCR
Initiation of Petitions 08 NCAC 22 .0103* 39:18 NCR
Submission of Signature Sheets 08 NCAC 22 .0106* 39:18 NCR
Copies of Signature Sheets and Return of Original Signature... 08 NCAC 22 .0107* 39:18 NCR
Petition Signature Verification by County Boards of Elect... 08 NCAC 22 .0201 39:18 NCR
Petition Signature Verification Determinations 08 NCAC 22 .0202* 39:18 NCR
Counting of Signatures Towards a Petition's Signature Req... 08 NCAC 22 .0203* 39:18 NCR
New Party Petitions 08 NCAC 22 .0301 39:18 NCR
Prospective Party Name 08 NCAC 22 .0302 39:18 NCR
Changes in Prospective Party State Chair's Information 08 NCAC 22 .0303 39:18 NCR
Continuing A New Party Petition 08 NCAC 22 .0304* 39:18 NCR
Sufficiency of New Party Elections 08 NCAC 22 .0306* 39:18 NCR
Unaffiliated Candidate Petitions 08 NCAC 22 .0401 39:18 NCR
Processing Unaffiliated Candidate Petitions 08 NCAC 22 .0402 39:18 NCR
Write-In Candidate Petitions 08 NCAC 22 .0501 39:18 NCR
Processing Write-In Candidate 08 NCAC 22 .0502 39:18 NCR
In Lieu of Filing Fee Petition 08 NCAC 22 .0601 39:18 NCR
INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF
Definitions: License Application 11 NCAC 24 .0101* 39:16 NCR
Fees 11 NCAC 24 .0102 39:16 NCR
Financial Statements 11 NCAC 24 .0103 39:16 NCR
Determination of Financial Responsibility 11 NCAC 24 .0104 39:16 NCR
Claim Processing by PBMs 11 NCAC 24 .0105 39:16 NCR
Payment of Claims 11 NCAC 24 .0106 39:16 NCR
General Administration 11 NCAC 24 .0107 39:16 NCR
Claims Processing 11 NCAC 24 .0108 39:16 NCR
LABOR, DEPARTMENT OF
Training on Human Trafficking 13 NCAC 01D .0101  39:22 NCR
Human Trafficking Awareness Signage 13 NCAC 01D .0102 39:22 NCR
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PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD

Definitions

Prohibited Acts

Advertising

Declaratory Ruling Procedures

Experience Requirements for a Polygraph License
Polygraph Trainee Permit Requirements

Polygraph Examination Requirements

Training Requirements for Unarmed Security Guards
Accreditation Standards

Training Requirements for Unarmed Car Service Guards
Experience Requirements for a Close Personal Protection...
Training Requirements for Close Personal Protection License

ALARM SYSTEMS LICENSING BOARD
Declaratory Ruling Procedures

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR
Control of Per-And Polyfluoralkyl Substances

EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF
Local Rules and Regulations
Supervisory and Safety Practices

GENERAL CONTRACTORS, LICENSING BOARD FOR
Classification

Application for Licensure

Character References

Improper Practice

Renewal and Expiration of Instructor Approval

The following rules are subject to Legislative Review.

ELECTIONS, STATE BOARD OF

Petition Signature Sheets

Petition Circulators

General Purpose and Intent of The New Party

14B NCAC 16 .0103* 39:21 NCR
14BNCAC 16 .0105* 39:21 NCR
14B NCAC 16 .0116* 39:21 NCR
14BNCAC 16 .0117* 39:21 NCR
14BNCAC 16 .0501 39:21 NCR
14B NCAC 16 .0502* 39:21 NCR
14BNCAC 16 .0503 39:21 NCR
14B NCAC 16 .0707* 39:21 NCR
14BNCAC 16 .1203* 39:15NCR
14B NCAC 16 .1307* 39:15NCR
14BNCAC 16 .1501* 39:15 NCR
14BNCAC 16 .1502 39:15NCR
14B NCAC 17 .0109* 39:21 NCR
15A NCAC 18C .1540* 39:12 NCR
16 NCAC 06B .0103* 39:21 NCR
16 NCAC 06B .0107 39:21 NCR
21 NCAC 12A .0202* 39:17 NCR
21 NCAC 12A .0303* 39:17 NCR
21 NCAC 12A .0308* 39:17 NCR
21 NCAC 12A .0701* 39:17 NCR
21 NCAC 12B .0402* 39:17 NCR
08 NCAC 22 .0104* 39:18 NCR
08 NCAC 22 .0105* 39:18 NCR
08 NCAC 22 .0305 39:18 NCR

TITLE 08 - BOARD OF ELECTIONS

08 NCAC 21.0102
EXPENDITURES
(a) Once an individual as defined in G.S. 163-278.6(55), person
as defined in G.S. 163-278.6(72), or other entity required to report
independent expenditures under G.S. 163-278.12(a) has made
independent expenditures with a present actual or market value in
excess of one hundred dollars ($100.00) during an election as
defined in G.S. 163-278.6(30), the individual, person, or entity
shall report all independent expenditures, and any donations made

REPORTING OF INDEPENDENT

to further independent expenditures, with the following board of

elections:

)

@)

if the district of the candidate or ballot issue
supported or opposed is within one county, and
the candidate is not running for a legislative,
judicial, or district attorney office, the report
shall be filed with the county board of elections;
or

if the district of the candidate or ballot issue
supported or opposed extends to more than one
county, or the candidate is running for a
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legislative, judicial, or district attorney office,

the report shall be filed with the State Board.
(b) An independent expenditure filer is the individual, person, or
other entity making a reportable independent expenditure under
G.S. 163-278.12(a). If the independent expenditure filer is an
individual, the individual shall sign all reports. If the independent
expenditure filer is a person or other entity, an authorized officer
or an authorized representative of the person or entity shall sign
all reports.
(c) The independent expenditure filer shall file CRO-2210A
Independent Expenditure Report Cover, CRO-2210B Donations
to Further Independent Expenditures, and CRO-2210C Incurred
Costs of Independent Expenditures available on the State Board's
website, http://www.ncsbe.gov, unless the independent
expenditure filer files reports electronically consistent with 08
NCAC 21 .0106. Independent expenditure reports filed with the
county board of elections or the State Board shall include all of
the following:

(1) the independent expenditure filer's name and
mailing address;

(2) a phone number for the independent
expenditure filer;

3) if the independent expenditure filer is an

individual, the filer's principal occupation as
defined in G.S. 163-278.11(a)(1);

@) if the independent expenditure filer is a person
or entity, the principal place of business of the
person or entity;

(5) for each independent expenditure made:
(A) The name and mailing address of the
payee;

(B) The amount paid;

©) The date the expenditure was incurred,

(D) A description of the expenditure; and

(E) The name of the candidate, candidates
of an identified political party, or
referendum supported or opposed by
the independent expenditure;

(6) for each donation of more than one hundred
dollars ($100.00) that must be reported under
G.S. 163-278.12(f):

(A) the donor's name and mailing address;

(B) if the donor is an individual, the
donor's principal occupation as
defined in G.S. 163-278.11(a)(1);

©) if the donor is a person or entity, the
principal place of business of that
person or entity;

(D) the amount of the donation; and
(E) the date of the donation; and
@) a certification as to whether any expenditures

reported were made in concert or cooperation
with, or at the request or suggestion of, a
candidate, a candidate campaign committee as
defined in G.S. 163-278.38Z(3), a referendum
committee, the agent of a candidate, the agent
of a candidate campaign committee, or an agent
of a referendum committee.

(d) An independent expenditure filer that makes expenditures
with a present, actual, or market value in excess of five thousand
dollars ($5,000.00) during an election as defined in G.S. 163-
278.6(30) shall file independent expenditure reports electronically
consistent with 08 NCAC 21 .0106.

(e) For each independent expenditure report filed electronically,
the individual or an authorized officer or an authorized
representative of the independent expenditure filer shall sign and
file the Independent Expenditure Report Cover in accordance
with Paragraph (g) of this Rule.

(f) The independent expenditure filer shall complete and file
forms within the time period set forth in G.S. 163-278.12(d). An
independent expenditure filer that makes a reportable independent
expenditure within 10 days of an election, and has not previously
reported independent expenditures during the election the
independent expenditure affects, shall file reports no later than the
10th day after the independent expenditures exceed one hundred
dollars ($100.00). After the initial report, the independent
expenditure filer shall continue to file independent expenditure
reports according to the reporting schedule in G.S. 163-278.9 until
the end of the election. The final report for a given election shall
cover the period through the day of the election. If the independent
expenditure filer makes independent expenditures in support of or
in opposition to municipal candidates or municipal ballot issues,
the independent expenditure filer shall report all independent
expenditures according to the reporting schedule in Part 2 of
Article 22 A of Chapter 163 of the General Statutes.

(g) A report is considered filed either:

1) on the date it is received by hand-delivery
during regular business hours at the board of
elections office;

2) on the date it is postmarked to the board of
elections by the United States Postal Services
or marked with an equivalent marking by a
delivery service authorized by G.S. 1A-1, Rule
4; or

3) for an independent expenditure report filed
electronically pursuant to Paragraph (d) of this
Rule, on the date the completed and signed
report is emailed to the State Board of Elections
at campaign.reporting@ncsbe.gov.

(h) A report that is missing any of the information in Paragraph
(c) of this Rule shall not be considered filed in accordance with
G.S. 163-278.12(d).

(i) An independent expenditure filer that makes an expenditure
of five thousand dollars ($5,000) or more or receives a donation
of one thousand dollars ($1,000) or more before an election but
after the period covered by the last report due before that election,
shall file a 48-hour report with the State Board or county board of
elections using forms available on the State Board's website. An
independent expenditure filer that makes a reportable independent
expenditure within 10 days of an election, and has not previously
reported independent expenditures during the election the
independent expenditure affects, shall file 48-hour reports in
accordance with this Paragraph. A 48-hour report shall be made
using CRO-2210A Independent Expenditure Report Cover, CRO-
2210B Donations to Further Independent Expenditures, and
CRO-2210C Incurred Costs of Independent Expenditures. 48-
hour reports may be filed by fax or email.
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History Note:
278.22;

Eff- May 1, 2020;
Amended Eff. September 1, 2025, September 1, 2021.

Authority G.S. 163-278.12; 163-278.21; 163-

08 NCAC 21.0106 ELECTRONIC FILING
(a) All political committees required to file electronically
pursuant to G.S. 163-278.9(i) shall prepare disclosure reports
using either of the following:
1) the current version of the campaign finance
software made available by the North Carolina
State Board of Elections and available for
download on the State Board website; or
2) third party software only if that software can
generate reports that are capable of import into
the State Board's central database. The import
file formats and validation tool to assist in
verifying the format of import files shall be
available on the State Board's website.
(b) Reports generated by the State Board software or third-party
software shall be filed by e-mailing the generated .cfd file to
campaign.reporting@ncsbe.gov. State Board staff shall process
the .cfd file and send an e-mail to the political committee's
treasurer confirming receipt.
(c) Reports shall be filed on or before 11:59 p.m. of the business
day in which it is to be filed.
(d) For each disclosure report filed electronically, the treasurer
shall sign and file a CRO-1000 Disclosure Report Cover. The
Disclosure Report Cover shall report:

(1) the full name, mailing address, phone number,
and NC ID Number assigned to the political
committee;

(2) the report year, period start date, and period end
date for the report;

3) the full name of the treasurer during the period;

@) type of committee;

(5) type of report;

(6) account information;

(7 date filed; and

(8) an original signature and certification in

accordance with G.S. 163-278.32.
(e) A Disclosure Report Cover is considered filed:

(1) on the date it is received by hand-delivery
during regular business hours at the board of
elections office;

2) on the date it is postmarked to the board of
elections by the United States Postal Service or
marked with an equivalent marking by a
delivery service authorized by G.S. 1A-1, Rule
4; or

3) on the date the CRO-1000 Disclosure Report
Cover with a wvalid electronic signature is
emailed to campaign.reporting@ncsbe.gov.

(f) A committee that exceeds the reporting threshold in G.S. 163-
278.9(i) during an election cycle, and is required to start filing
electronically shall ensure that each contributor's reported sum-
to-date for the election cycle includes the sum of contribution

(g) A committee that is required to file electronically pursuant to
G.S. 163-278.9(i) and only files a paper report shall be deemed to
have failed to file and shall be subject to the procedures for
committees with missing reports in 08 NCAC 21 .0207.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 163-278.9; 163-278.21; 163-
278.22;

Eff. May 1, 2020;

Amended Eff, September 1, 2025.

08 NCAC 21.0108 REPORTING PERIODS

(a) The State Board shall post on the State Board's website the
period start date and period end date for each quarterly and
semiannual report that must be filed under G.S. 163-278.9 and for
each pre-referendum, final and annual report that must be filed
under G.8S. 163-278.9A.

(b) The treasurer shall not sign or file the report until 12:00 a.m.
the day after the period end date for each report.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 163-278.9; G.S. 163-278.21;
Eff. September 1, 2025.

08 NCAC 21 .0204 INACTIVE STATUS FOR A
CANDIDATE OR COMMITTEE

(a) If no contribution is received or expenditure made by or on
behalf of a candidate, political committee or referendum
committee during a period described in G.S. 163-278.9, G.S. 163-
278.9A or Part 2 of Article 22A, the treasurer shall file the
following with the board of elections:

1) A report that shows no contribution received or
expenditure made during the period described
in G.S. 163-278.9, G.S. 163-278.9A or Part 2 of
Article 22A; and

2) A signed certification that the candidate,
political committee or referendum committee
will receive no contributions and make no
expenditures while inactive and will resume
reporting when activity resumes.

(b) The signed certification in Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule
shall be filed within 15 calendar days of filing a qualifying report
under Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule.

(¢) Immediately after receiving a contribution or making an
expenditure, the treasurer shall be responsible for filing the next
report required by G.S. 163-278.9, G.S. 163-278.9A or Part 2 of
Article 22 A by the statutory due date. Any committee receipt, debt
or expenditure which would have been required to be reported on
an earlier report but for the committee's inactive status shall be
included in the next report required after activity resumes. Within
10 calendar days of receiving a contribution or making an
expenditure, the treasurer shall file a certification with the board
of elections notifying the board of the change in status.

(d) The disclosure of de minimis bank fees and postage for
mailing reports to the board of elections shall not prohibit a
committee from qualifying for inactive status under Paragraph (a)
of this Rule.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 163-278.21 and G.S. 163-278.10;

received before the political committee began filing Eff. September 1, 2025.
electronically.
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08 NCAC 22 .0101 PETITIONS
(a) The following types of petitions shall be governed by Sections
.0100 and .0200 of this Chapter:

(1) Petitions to be recognized as a political party
pursuant to G.S. 163-96.
2) Petitions to place a voter's name on a general

election ballot as an unaffiliated candidate
pursuant to G.S. 163-122 or G.S. 163-296.

3) Petitions to have write-in votes for a voter
counted in a general election pursuant to G.S.
163-123.

@) Petitions requesting that a voter be a candidate

in a political party's primary without the
payment of a filing fee pursuant to G.S. 163-
107.1.

5) Petitions seeking to place a candidate's name on
the ballot in a political party's primary for the
office of President of the United States pursuant
to G.S. 163-213.5.

(6) Petitions calling for any election or referendum
that are filed with a board of elections.

(b) When a county board of elections is required by law to verify
a petition on behalf of a local jurisdiction, but the petition is not
filed with the county board, the county board shall follow the
procedures in Section .0200 of this Chapter for verifying the
petition to the extent they do not conflict with the local
jurisdiction's applicable statute, local act, charter, or ordinance.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-96, 163-107.1;
163-122; 163-123; 163-213.5; 163-218; 163-219; 163-221; 163-
296;

Eff. September 1, 2025.

08 NCAC 22 .0102 DEFINITIONS
For purposes of this Chapter:

(1) "Board of elections" means the board of
elections, county or State, with jurisdiction over
a petitioner's petition.

2) "Election cycle" means the period of time
starting the day after the final canvass of the
most recent general election for the contest to
which the petition pertains. The election cycle
for a political party petition begins on the day
after the state canvass of the most recent general
election for governor.

3) "Entity" means those entities defined in G.S.
55-1-40(9)a. that are utilized by a petitioner to
conduct a petition with or on behalf of the
petitioner.

4) "Petition circulator" means any person
collecting signatures on a signature sheet in
support of a petition.

&) "Petition module" means the software module
provided by the State Board to the county
boards of elections for the purpose of
facilitating the review of a petition.

(6) "Petition request form" means the form
submitted to a board of elections by a petitioner
to initiate a petition.

@) "Petitioner" means any person, or their
designated representative, conducting a petition
in accordance with this Chapter.

®) "Signature certificate"” means the certificate
provided by a county board of elections
indicating the number of petition signers in the
county whose signature will count towards the
signature requirement for a petition.

O] "Signature sheet" means the document
provided by a board of elections that is used by
a petitioner to collect signatures in support of a
petition.

(10) "Signature verification" means the act of
comparing a petition signer's information and
signature on a signature sheet against the
county board's registration records to determine
whether the petition signer's information
matches the information of a registered voter,
the petition signer is qualified to sign the
petition, and the petition signer's signature
bears a reasonable resemblance to the matched
voter's signature.

(11) "Verified signature sheet" means a signature
sheet that has been submitted to a board of
elections, has been reviewed by a county board
official, and has a notation for each signature on
the sheet showing the official's determination
whether the signature will count towards the
signature requirement for the petition.

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-96; 163-107.1;
163-122; 163-123; 163-213.5; 163-218; 163-219; 163-221; 163-
296,

Eff. September 1, 2025.

08 NCAC 22.0103 INITIATION OF PETITIONS

(a) A petitioner shall initiate a petition by timely filing a
completed petition request form with the board of elections in
person, by mail, or by email. A copy of the request form may be
obtained from the State Board of Elections website
(https://www.ncsbe.gov/candidates/petitions). A petition request
form shall be considered timely filed with the board of elections
if it is filed during the election cycle and no later than the petition's
statutory deadline for submitting signature sheets for signature
verification.

(b) The petitioner shall include the following information on the
petition request form:

€8 First and last name of the petitioner and any
designated representative of the petitioner.
2) Residential address, mailing address, phone

number, and email address of the petitioner.
3) The petition type, as set forth in Rule .0101(a)
of this Section.
“) If the petition type is to form a political party as
identified in Rule .0101(a)(1) of this Section,
the name of the proposed political party, the
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first and last name, current residential address,
and current phone number of the state chair of
the proposed political party, and the first
statewide general election in which the
proposed political party desires to participate.

(5) If the petition type is one identified in Rule
.0101(a)(2), (3), (4), or (5) of this Section, the
jurisdiction or district of the contest.

(6) The manner in which the petitioner requests to
be provided a signature sheet template, whether
by in-person pickup, mail delivery, or email.

@) A signed acknowledgement that the petitioner
will be informed of the requirements in Chapter
163 of the North Carolina General Statutes and
this Chapter applicable to the petition.

(c) Within one business day of the receipt of a completed petition
request form, the board of elections shall write on the petition
request form the date the form was filed, the number of signatures
required to meet the signature threshold for the petition, and the
statutory deadline for submitting signature sheets for signature
verification, and then provide a copy of the request form to the
petitioner via email. The board of elections shall include with that
email written instructions for how the petitioner may access the
requirements in Chapter 163 of the North Carolina General
Statutes and this Chapter applicable to the petition.

(d) A petitioner registering with a board of elections a notice of
circulation of a petition calling for any election or referendum
pursuant to G.S. 163-218 shall do so by filing the petition request
form required by this Rule. The county board of elections shall
write on the request form the date on which the completed request
form was filed, which shall be the date of registration of the
petition, and then provide a copy of the request form to the
petitioner via email.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-96; 163-107.1;
163-122; 163-123; 163-213.5,; 163-218; 163-219; 163-221; 163-
296;

Eff. September 1, 2025.

08 NCAC 22.0104 PETITION SIGNATURE SHEETS
(a) Within one business day of the receipt of a completed petition
request form, the board of elections with which the form was filed
shall issue to the petitioner a signature sheet template for the
petition in the manner requested by the petitioner on the petition
request form.

(b) The signature sheet template shall include the following:

(1) a title identifying the type of petition and
applicable North Carolina General Statute
section;

2) any petition header required by law for that type

of petition, including designated areas for the
petitioner to fill in the required information;

3) a designated area for the petition circulator to
write their first and last name and sign an
affirmation that they witnessed the signing of
the signatures on the signature sheet;

@) the following statement: "It is illegal to sign the
name of another person to a petition. N.C.G.S.
§ 163-221.";

®) prompts for a petition signer to include their
printed first and last name, current residential
address (street number, street name, and zip
code), date of birth, signature, and date of

signature;

6) an identification of the board of elections where
the petitioner will file the petition;

7 a designated area for the board of elections

receiving the signature sheet to notate the
signature sheet with the date it is received at the
board of elections office and the batch and page
number assigned to it; and
(8) designated areas for the board of elections
receiving the signature sheet to notate the
board's determination of approval or
disapproval for each petition signature pursuant
to Rules .0201 and .0202 of this Chapter.
(c) If the petition type is to form a political party under Rule
.0101(a)(1) of this Section, the signature sheet shall include a
designated area for the petition signer to place their initials
indicating that they were informed of the general purpose and
intent of the new party.
(d) If the petition type is one identified in Rule .0101(b) of this
Section, and the board of elections is providing a template
signature sheet for a local jurisdiction, the board of elections shall
include on the template prompts for any additional information
required by the local jurisdiction's applicable statute, local act,
charter, or ordinance.
(e) The petitioner shall complete the information required by
Subparagraphs (b)(2) and (b)(6) of this Rule before collecting
signatures on that signature sheet. The board of elections may, at
the petitioner's request, complete this information on the
petitioner's behalf using the corresponding information provided
in the petition request form.
(f) A signature shall not be counted toward the signature
requirement for the petition if it is signed to a signature sheet that
does not either match the template issued to the petitioner or
contain the information required by this Rule.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-96;, 163-107.1;
163-122; 163-123; 163-213.5; 163-221; 163-296;
Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

08 NCAC 22 .0105 PETITION CIRCULATORS
(a) At the time a petitioner submits the first signature sheet in
support of their petition to the board of elections in accordance
with Rule .0106 of this Section, the petitioner shall provide to the
board of elections a written list identifying the petition circulators
who are collecting signatures on behalf of the petitioner. A
template list may be obtained from the State Board of Elections
website (https://www.ncsbe.gov/candidates/petitions). The list of
petition circulators shall include the following information for
each circulator:
€8 The circulator's first and last name, phone
number, residential address, and email address.
If the circulator does not have a phone number
or email address, the petitioner shall write
"N/A" for that information on the list.
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2) Whether the circulator was employed or
volunteered to circulate the petitions through an
entity, another group or organization, or the
petitioner. If the circulator was employed or
volunteered through an entity or another group
or organization, the list shall contain the name
of that entity, group, or organization.

3) Whether the circulator received compensation
based on the number of signatures obtained or
signature sheets submitted.

(b) Before a board of elections can take final action on a petition,
the petitioner shall provide the board of elections with a list of all
petition circulators for the petition or inform the board of elections
in writing that the already-submitted list contains the names of all
petition circulators for the petition.

(c) Prior to conducting activities in support of a petition in North
Carolina with or on behalf of a petitioner, a North Carolina entity
shall be registered with the North Carolina Secretary of State's
Office pursuant to the provisions of Chapters 55, 55A, 57D, or 59
of the North Carolina General Statutes applicable to that type of
entity. If the entity is organized under the laws of another state,
the foreign entity shall obtain a certificate of authority from the
Secretary of State pursuant to the provisions of Chapters 55, 55A,
57D, or 59 of the North Carolina General Statutes applicable to
that type of foreign entity.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-96; 163-107.1;
163-122; 163-123; 163-213.5; 163-221; 163-296,
Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

08 NCAC 22 .0106
SHEETS

(a) The petitioner shall submit to the board of elections the
original signature sheets completed in support of their petition by
in-person delivery or mail.

(b) When registered voters in more than one county may be
qualified to sign a petition, each signature sheet shall contain only
signatures collected from residents of the county identified in the
header of the petition. A county board of elections shall not be
required to conduct signature verification of the signatures on a
signature sheet with a different county identified in the header of
the petition.

(c) When a petitioner submits signature sheets to a board of
elections, the board staff receiving the signature sheet shall date
stamp each sheet, count the total number of signature sheets
submitted if multiple sheets are submitted, and provide the
petitioner with written confirmation of the total number of
signature sheets submitted on that date. Board staff shall also note
in the written confirmation the name of the person submitting the
signature sheets. Board staff shall not be required to count the
number of signatures on the submitted signature sheets before
providing the written confirmation required by this Paragraph.

SUBMISSION OF SIGNATURE

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-96;, 163-107.1;
163-122; 163-123; 163-213.5; 163-221; 163-296,
Eff. September 1, 2025.

08 NCAC 22 .0107 COPIES OF SIGNATURE
SHEETS AND RETURN OF ORIGINAL SIGNATURE
SHEETS

(a) After a board of elections has completed signature verification
of the signatures on the signature sheets, the petitioner may obtain
a copy of the signature sheets and a signature certificate by one of
the methods described in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. If the board
of elections is required by law to return the original signature
sheets to the petitioner, board staff shall inform the petitioner that
they may obtain the original sheets and a signature certificate by
one of the methods described in Paragraph (c) of this Rule.

(b) The board of elections shall provide the petitioner with a copy
of verified signature sheets and associated signature certificates
upon oral or written request by the petitioner. The petitioner shall
state by which of the following methods they elect to receive a
copy:

€Y In-person retrieval of a physical copy during
regular business hours. If a person other than
the petitioner's representative identified on the
petition request form will retrieve the copy
instead of the petitioner, then the petitioner
shall inform the board of elections, in writing,
of that person's first and last name and phone
number.

2) Mailing a physical copy to the mailing address
that is listed on the petition request form.

3) Emailing a digital copy to the email address that
is listed on the petition request form.

Before providing a copy of a signature sheet, board staff shall first
redact any confidential information not subject to public
disclosure under Chapters 132 and 163 of the North Carolina
General Statutes. A board of elections may charge for any
physical copies, in accordance with G.S. 132-6.2.

(c) When the board of elections is required by law to return the
original signature sheets and associated signature certificates to
the petitioner, the petitioner shall inform board staff orally or in
writing by which of the following methods they elect to receive
the originals:

1) In-person retrieval of the originals by the
petitioner during regular business hours. If a
person other than the petitioner's representative
identified on the petition request form will
retrieve the originals instead of the petitioner,
then the petitioner shall inform the board of
elections, in writing, of that person's first and
last name and phone number. Board staff shall
confirm the name and phone number of the
person retrieving the originals before providing
them.

2) Mailing the originals to the mailing address that
is listed on the petition request form. The
county board shall use a method of return that
documents the petitioner's receipt of the
originals.

No redactions shall be made by board staff to an original signature
sheet prior to its return to the petitioner or the petitioner's
designated representative.

(d) In addition to providing a copy or the original signature sheet
to the petitioner in accordance with this Rule, the board of
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elections shall provide the petitioner with a digital or physical
petition status report generated by the petition module upon oral
or written request by the petitioner. The petition status report shall
include the status assigned to each petition signer in accordance
with Rule .0202 of this Chapter.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-96; 163-107.1;
163-122; 163-123; 163-213.5; 163-221; 163-296,
Eff. September 1, 2025.

08 NCAC 22 .0201 PETITION SIGNATURE
VERIFICATION BY COUNTY BOARDS OF ELECTIONS
(a) A county board of elections official shall conduct signature
verification of completed original signature sheets in accordance
with this Rule. For the purposes of this Section, an official
includes the county board chair, or the county director of elections
or other county board staff member delegated the duty to conduct
signature verification.

(b) A petition signer's signature on a signature sheet shall count
towards the petition's signature requirement if the official
conducting signature verification determines that the petition
signer's signature bears a reasonable resemblance to a signature in
the official registration record of an identifiable registered voter
in the county whose corresponding information in the registration
record (including signatures) matches that provided on the
signature sheet, and the voter is qualified by law to sign the
petition. If a signer's date of birth listed on a signature sheet does
not align with that of a corresponding registered voter, that
signature shall not constitute a match. An official shall not omit a
petition signer from signature verification solely due to the
petition signer's use of initials, printed text, or a mark for their
signature.

(c) A reasonable resemblance in signatures is a similarity in
appearance such that an ordinary person would conclude that the
signature on the signature sheet is more likely than not the
signature of a registered voter. The official shall make this
determination based on a review of the following characteristics
of the signatures:

(1) the style of the signatures, including the use of
cursive or print;

2) spacing and proportions of letters in the
signatures;

3) spelling and punctuation used in the signatures,
including the use of initials;

4) size, curves, and loops of individual letters in
the signatures; and

(5) beginning and ending strokes in the signatures.

The official shall bear in mind that a person's signature can change
over time, that a person does not sign their name the same exact
way each time, and that signatures in voter registration records
can be created through digital methods which may appear
different than physical signatures created with a pen. If the
signature on the signature sheet does not bear a reasonable
resemblance to the most recent signature in the voter's registration
record, the official shall review at least one other signature in the
voter's registration record, if available, before making a final
reasonable resemblance determination for that petition signer. If
the petition signer has signed the signature sheet with their initials,
printed name, or a mark, the official shall determine whether the

petition signer's initials, printed name, or mark on the signature
sheet bears a reasonable resemblance to a signature, initials, or
mark in the matched voter's registration record.

(d) The official shall determine whether the petition signer is
qualified by law to sign the petition as of the date the signature
sheet is reviewed by the official. If the type of petition requires
residency within a specific county or district, the official shall not
determine that the petition signer is qualified to sign the petition
unless the address on the signature sheet and the address in the
voter's registration record are both within the required county or
district.

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-96; 163-107.1;
163-122; 163-123; 163-213.5; 163-221; 163-296;
Eff. September 1, 2025.

08 NCAC 22 .0202 PETITION SIGNATURE
VERIFICATION DETERMINATIONS

(a) An official conducting signature verification pursuant to Rule
.0201 of this Section shall notate on the original signature sheet
the official's determination whether each petition signer's
signature will count towards the signature requirement and shall
assign a status to each petition signer in the petition module in
accordance with this Rule.

(b) An official shall notate the signature sheet with a checkmark
and assign the status of "OK" in the petition module for each
petition signer whose signature will be counted because the
official confirmed that the petition signer is a registered voter
qualified to sign the petition.

(c) An official shall notate the signature sheet with an "X" and
assign one of the following statuses in the petition module for
each petition signer whose signature will not be counted for the
stated reason:

@) "Address Rejected" shall be used when the
petition signer's listed address is not a
recognized address in the county.

2) "Deceased" shall be used when the petition

signer matches to a registered voter in the
county who is in a removed registration status
due to death.

3) "Duplicate" shall be used when the official
determines that a petition signer has signed a
petition more than once and one of the
signatures has already been verified pursuant to
Rule .0201 of this Section.

4) "Illegible" shall be used when the official is
unable to read the petition signer's printed
information and signature such that the official
cannot perform a search for the voter in the
registration records.

®) "Incorrect County" shall be used when the
petition signer's listed address is a recognized
address in a county different from the county of
the official reviewing the signature sheet.

6) "Late Filing" shall be used when the signature
sheet was submitted to a board of elections after
the deadline prescribed by law.

@) "Moved" shall be used when the petition signer
matches to a person who is in a removed
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registration status due to moving outside of the

county.

() "No Record" shall be used when the petition
signer does not match to a registered voter in
the county.

9) "Not in District" shall be used when the petition

signer is not qualified by law to sign the petition
because their residential address is not within
the district to which the petition pertains.

(10) "Removed" shall be used when the petition
signer matches to a person in a removed
registration status for a reason other than death
or moving outside of the county.

(1D "Signature Missing" shall be used when the
petition signer failed to sign the signature sheet.

(12) "Signature Rejected" shall be used when the
petition signer's signature is determined to not
reasonably resemble a signature in the matched
registration record of the voter.

(13) "Wrong Party" shall be used when the petition
signer is not qualified by law to sign the petition
because they are not affiliated with the
necessary political party when party affiliation
is a required qualification to sign a petition in
lieu of paying a filing fee pursuant to G.S. 163-
107.1.

The automatic assignment of a status by the petition module to a
petition signer shall satisfy the official's requirement to assign a
status pursuant to this Paragraph.

(d) After the official has made notations on signature sheets in
accordance with this Rule, and before issuing a signature
certificate, board staff shall make an electronic copy of the
signature sheets and store the digital copy in the board's digital
file storage system, which may include a digital file storage
system maintained by the State Board. If the board of elections is
required by law to return the original signature sheets to the
petitioner, board staff shall perform this task before returning the
original signature sheets to the petitioner. The official shall issue
the signature certificate in accordance with the statute that is
applicable to the petition.

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-96, 163-107.1;
163-122; 163-123; 163-213.5; 163-221; 163-296,
Eff. September 1, 2025.

08 NCAC 22 .0203 COUNTING OF SIGNATURES
TOWARDS A PETITION'S SIGNATURE
REQUIREMENT

(a) A petition signer's signature shall not count towards the
signature requirement for the petition unless the official has
determined that the petition signer is a registered voter qualified
by law to sign the petition pursuant to Rule .0201 of this Section.
(b) If apetition signer signs a petition more than once, and one of
the signatures is verified pursuant to Rule .0201 of this Section,
no additional signature by that petition signer shall be counted
towards the signature requirement for the petition.

(c) No signature on a signature sheet for one petition shall be
counted towards the signature requirement for a different petition.
This Paragraph does not prevent a petitioner from conducting

more than one petition at the same time or the same petition signer
from signing multiple petitions.

(d) Only signatures collected during the current election cycle
pertaining to the petition shall be counted.

(e) No signature on a signature sheet without the petition
circulator's first and last name and signature in the area designated
for their name and affirmation shall be counted towards the
signature requirement for a petition.

(f) Only an original signature written by hand shall be counted
toward the signature requirement for a petition.

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-96; 163-107.1;
163-122; 163-123; 163-213.5; 163-221; 163-296;
Eff. September 1, 2025.

08 NCAC 22.0301 NEW PARTY PETITIONS
(a) This Section shall only apply to new party petitions.
(b) For the purposes of this Section:

€Y "New party petition" means a petition to be
recognized as a political party pursuant to G.S.
163-96.

2) "Prospective party" means a political party,

including its officers and organizers, seeking
recognition as a political party in the State
through a new party petition.

3) "Signature threshold requirement" means the
number of verified signatures necessary to meet
the signature threshold in G.S. 163-96(a)(2),
measured by the combined number of votes cast
for all candidates in the most recent general
election for Governor.

4) "Target election" means the first statewide
general election in which the proposed political
party desires to participate.

(c) For the purposes of this Chapter, the final action on a new
party petition shall be the State Board's decision whether to
recognize the petitioning party as a political party in North
Carolina pursuant to Rule .0306 of this Section.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-96,
Eff. September 1, 2025.

08 NCAC 22.0302 PROSPECTIVE PARTY NAME
(a) Within one business day of the filing of a petition request form
for a new party petition, State Board staff shall compare the name
of the prospective party against the names of the existing political
parties recognized in the State and proceed as follows:

@) If staff determines that the name of the
prospective party contains any word that
appears in the name of an existing political
party, staff shall inform the petitioner in writing
that the prospective party must choose a
different name in accordance with G.S. 163-
96(b).

2) If staff determines that the name of the
prospective party does not contain any word
that appears in the name of an existing political
party, staff shall refer the matter to the
Executive Director. The Executive Director
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shall determine whether the prospective party's
name is so similar to that of an existing political
party recognized in the State that voters will be
confused or misled in an election.
(b) When the Executive Director makes the determination
required under Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule, the
determination shall be transmitted in writing to the State Board.
The State Board will then act on the determination as follows:

(1) If, after two calendar days following the
transmission of the determination, no State
Board member has raised an oral or written
objection to the Executive Director's
determination, the determination shall become
effective.

2) If a State Board member raises an oral or
written objection to the Executive Director's
determination within two calendar days
following  the  transmission of  the
determination, the State Board shall decide the
matter at a public meeting.

(c) If the name of a prospective party is approved because it has
been determined that the name is not too similar to that of an
existing political party recognized in the State, State Board staff
shall inform the petitioner of that determination in writing and
proceed under Rule .0104 of this Chapter.

(d) If the name of a prospective party is rejected because it has
been determined that the name is too similar to that of an existing
political party recognized in the State, State Board staff shall
inform the petitioner of that determination in writing and that the
prospective party must choose a different name in accordance
with G.S. 163-96(b).

(e) A petitioner required to choose a different name for a
prospective party shall notify the State Board of the different
name by submitting a new petition request form.

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-96;
Eff. September 1, 2025.

08 NCAC 22 .0303 CHANGES IN PROSPECTIVE
PARTY STATE CHAIR'S INFORMATION

(a) The petitioner shall give the State Board written notice of any
change in the name, residential address, or phone number of the
prospective party's state chair that occurs after the petitioner has
submitted the petition request form. The written notice shall be
provided within five business days of the change and shall include
the changed information and the date upon which the change
occurred.

(b) State Board staff shall update the relevant information in the
petition module and notify the county boards of elections of the
change by email within five business days of receipt of the notice.
(c) The petitioner shall ensure the signature sheets for their
petition reflect the current name, residential address, and phone
number of the state chair when petition signers sign the signature
sheet. No signature signed to a signature sheet without the name
of the prospective party's state chair that is current as of the date
of the petition signer's signature shall be counted towards the
signature requirement for the petition.

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-96;

Eff. September 1, 2025.

08 NCAC 22 .0304
PETITION

(a) A prospective party that has not submitted the number of
verified signatures required to participate as a recognized political
party in the target election identified on the petition request form
by the deadline for doing so pursuant to G.S. 163-96 may submit
a written notice to the State Board that the prospective party wants
to change its target election. The petitioner shall provide this
notice by submitting a new petition request form that identifies
the next subsequent statewide general election as the new target
election. The notice shall be submitted no later than five business
days after the original deadline in G.S. 163-96 to file their petition
based on the prospective party's original target election. Only
those verified signatures that were gathered during the election
cycle for the petition may be counted for the petition under its new
target election.

(b) State Board staff shall notify the county boards of elections
of the continuance of the petition by email within five business
days of the receipt of the new petition request form with the new
target election.

CONTINUING A NEW PARTY

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-96;
Eff. September 1, 2025.

08 NCAC 22 .0305 GENERAL PURPOSE AND
INTENT OF THE NEW PARTY
(a) Within 10 business days of being issued the signature sheet
template under Rule .0104 of this Chapter, the petitioner shall
submit written documentation to the State Board demonstrating
how the petition circulators will inform a petition signer of the
prospective party's general purpose and intent when collecting
signatures. The petitioner may submit additional documentation
to the State Board regarding how the prospective party informed
petition signers of the prospective party's general purpose and
intent at any time before the State Board determines the
sufficiency of the new party petition.
(b) The documentation demonstrating how the petition
circulators will inform a petition signer of the general purpose and
intent may include, but is not limited to, any of the following:
1) training and instructional materials that will be
provided to petition circulators before they
begin collecting signatures;

2) scripts that petition circulators will use when
collecting signatures; or

3) a written statement that materials, such as
handouts, posters, and other promotional

materials, will be used by petition circulators
when collecting signatures.
(c) A county board shall not conduct signature verification of the
prospective party's signature sheets until the documentation
required under this Rule has been submitted to the State Board.

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-96;
Eff. Pending Legislative Review.
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08 NCAC 22 .0306
PETITIONS

(a) After submitting verified signature sheets and signature
certificates to the State Board, the petitioner shall notify the State
Board of the prospective party's desire for the State Board to
proceed with determining the sufficiency of its new party petition
by submitting a written notice by mail or email to the State Board.
The petitioner may submit any additional documentation that the
prospective party believes will aid the State Board in its
determination of the sufficiency of the new party petition.

(b) Within five business days of receiving the notice made
pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, State Board staff shall
begin reviewing the signature sheets, signature certificates, and
documentation that has been submitted by the prospective party
for completeness and compliance with this Chapter and Chapter
163 of the General Statutes. As part of this review, State Board
staff shall review a random sample of signature sheets using the
same standards required of county boards in Rule .0201 of this
Chapter. The random sample shall be of 1,000 verified signatures
selected from all signature sheets that were reviewed by county
boards. State Board staff shall thereafter prepare a report
summarizing staff's findings regarding the new party petition and
provide the completed report to the State Board. The report shall
include an analysis of whether the results of the review of the
random sample of signatures, when extrapolated to all verified
signatures for the petition, would impact whether the petitioner
has met the signature threshold requirement. This Paragraph shall
not prevent State Board staff from initiating this review prior to
receiving the notice from the petitioner.

(c) The State Board shall take the following into account when
determining the sufficiency of a new party petition:

(1) Whether the number of timely submitted,
verified signatures is sufficient to meet the
signature  threshold  requirement  and
congressional district signature requirement in
G.S. 163-96(a)(2).

(2) Whether the new party petition complied with
the general requirements for the conduct of
petitions in Section .0100 of this Chapter.

3) Whether the new party petition complied with
the specific requirements for the conduct of
new party petitions in this Section.

4) State Board staff's report prepared pursuant to
Paragraph (b) of this Rule.

(d) The State Board, when determining the sufficiency of a new
party petition, shall require that the petitioner provide additional
documentation regarding the conduct of the petition when the
chair or two members of the State Board conclude that the
documentation is likely to provide information that is both
relevant and material to the new party petition's compliance with
the requirements of G.S. 163-96 and this Chapter, the information
sought is not unnecessarily duplicative of documentation already
submitted by the petitioner, and the request is not likely to subject
the petitioner to undue burden, expense, or delay in the
consideration of their petition. The State Board shall inform the
petitioner of the requirement to provide additional documentation
in writing and shall serve the petitioner in the same manner as
allowed for service of subpoenas in the North Carolina Rules of
Civil Procedure.

SUFFICIENCY OF NEW PARTY

(e) The State Board's decision whether to recognize the
prospective party as a political party in North Carolina shall be
made in an open meeting by a majority vote of the State Board
members. The State Board shall recognize the prospective party
as a political party in North Carolina only if the State Board has
determined the petition is sufficient in accordance with G.S. 163-
96 and this Rule.

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-23; 163-96;
Eff. September 1, 2025.

08 NCAC 22 .0401
PETITIONS

(a) This Section shall apply to unaffiliated candidate petitions
only.

(b) For the purposes of this Section:

€Y "Prospective unaffiliated candidate" means the
petitioner seeking to have their name printed on
the general election ballot as an unaffiliated
candidate.

2) "Unaffiliated candidate petition" means a
petition to place a voter's name on a general
election ballot as an unaffiliated candidate
pursuant to G.S. 163-122 or G.S. 163-296.

(c) When an unaffiliated candidate petition is filed with the State
Board and a county board of elections is conducting signature
verification, a digital version of the signature sheet provided by
the State Board to the county board shall be considered an original
signature sheet for the purposes of signature verification under
Section .0200 of this Chapter.

(d) For the purposes of this Chapter, the final action on an
unaffiliated candidate petition shall be the board of elections'
notice to the prospective candidate pursuant to Rule .0402 of this
Section stating whether they have met the signature requirement
for their petition.

UNAFFILIATED CANDIDATE

History Note:  Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-122; 163-296;
Eff. September 1, 2025.

08 NCAC 22 .0402 PROCESSING UNAFFILIATED
CANDIDATE PETITIONS

(a) Within one business day of the receipt of a completed petition
request form for an unaffiliated candidate petition, the board of
elections shall inform the prospective unaffiliated candidate of the
constitutional and statutory qualifications for the office sought
and that the petition will be cancelled if the candidate does not
meet those qualifications when submitting the signature sheets for
their unaffiliated candidate petition.

(b) At the time of receipt of the first completed signature sheet
submitted in support of an unaffiliated candidate petition, the
board of elections shall inspect the registration records of the
prospective unaffiliated candidate's county and proceed under
G.S. 163-122(d). Before proceeding to cancel an unaffiliated
candidate petition, the board of elections shall provide the
prospective unaffiliated candidate with an opportunity to submit
a voter registration form so that their voter registration record
reflects their current qualifications for the office sought.

(c) Within five business days of the completion of signature
verification for an unaffiliated candidate petition, the board of
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elections with which the petition was filed shall issue a written
notice to the prospective unaffiliated candidate stating whether
the candidate has met the applicable signature requirement in G.S.
163-122.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-122; 163-296;
Eff. September 1, 2025.

08 NCAC 22 .0501
PETITIONS

(a) This Section shall apply to write-in candidate petitions only.
(b) For the purposes of this Section:

(D) "Declaration of intent form" means the
declaration of intent document required to be
submitted when filing a write-in candidate
petition pursuant to G.S. 163-123.

2) "Prospective write-in candidate" means the
petitioner seeking to have write-in votes for
them counted in a general election.

3) "Write-in candidate petition" means a petition
to have write-in votes for a voter counted in a
general election pursuant to G.S. 163-123.

(c) For the purposes of this Chapter, the final action on a write-in
candidate petition shall be the board of elections' notice to the
prospective candidate pursuant to Rule .0502 of this Section
stating whether the prospective candidate has met the
requirements for their petition.

WRITE-IN CANDIDATE

History Note:  Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-123;
Eff. September 1, 2025.

08 NCAC 22 .0502 PROCESSING WRITE-IN
CANDIDATE PETITIONS
(a) Within one business day of the receipt of a completed petition
request form for a write-in candidate petition, the board of
elections shall inform the prospective write-in candidate of the
constitutional and statutory qualifications for the office sought
and that the petition will be cancelled if the candidate does not
meet those qualifications when submitting the signature sheets for
their write-in candidate petition.
(b) The prospective write-in candidate shall submit a declaration
of intent form at the time of submitting the first completed
signature sheet in support of their write-in candidate petition. A
copy of the declaration of intent form may be obtained from the
State Board of Elections website
(https://www.ncsbe.gov/candidates/petitions).
(c) A board of elections in receipt of a write-in candidate petition
shall proceed as follows:
(1) If the write-in candidate petition is required to
be filed with a county board of elections under
G.S. 163-123, then at the time of the receipt of
the first completed signature sheet submitted in
support of the petition, the county board of
elections shall inspect the registration records
of the prospective write-in candidate's county
and proceed under G.S. 163-123(g).
(2) If the write-in candidate petition is required to
be filed with the State Board under G.S. 163-
123, then at the time of the receipt of the first

verified signature sheet submitted in support of
the petition, the State Board shall inspect the
registration records of the prospective write-in
candidate's county and proceed under G.S. 163-
123(g).
Before proceeding to cancel a write-in candidate petition, the
board of elections with which the petition was filed shall provide
the prospective write-in candidate with an opportunity to submit
a voter registration form so that their voter registration record
reflects their current qualifications for the office sought.
(d) Within five business days of the board of elections
determining whether a write-in candidate petition complies with
G.S. 163-123 and this Rule, the board of elections with which the
petition was filed shall issue a written notice to the prospective
write-in candidate stating whether the candidate has met the
requirements to have write-in votes for them counted in the
general election.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-123;
Eff. September 1, 2025.

08 NCAC 22 .0601
PETITION

(a) This Section shall apply to in lieu of filing fee petitions only.
(b) For the purposes of this Section:

) "Prospective candidate" means the petitioner
seeking to be a candidate in a political party's
primary without paying a filing fee.

2) "In lieu of filing fee petition" means a petition
requesting that a prospective candidate
participate in a political party's primary without
paying a filing fee pursuant to G.S. 163-107.1.

(c) For the purposes of this Chapter, the final action on an in lieu
of filing fee petition shall be the board of elections' notice to the
prospective candidate stating whether they have met the
requirements for their petition.

IN LIEU OF FILING FEE

History Note:  Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-107.1;
Eff. September 1, 2025.

TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

11 NCAC 24 .0101
APPLICATIONS
(a) The definitions contained in G.S. 58-56A-1, including
subsequent amendments, are incorporated into this Chapter by
reference.

(b) The following definitions apply in this Chapter:

DEFINITIONS: LICENSE

) "Control" means the term as defined in G.S. 58-
19-5(2).

2) "Insurance" means any coverage offered or
provided by an insurer.

3) "Material modification" means any material

change in a Pharmacy Benefits Manager
(PBM)'s ownership, control, or other fact or
circumstance affecting the PBM's qualification
for a license in this State.
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(c) The following items shall be filed in order to constitute a
complete application submission for initial or renewal PBM
licensure:

(1 Transmittal form;

2) A completed pharmacy benefits application
form as set forth in G.S. 58-56A-2(b);

3) Biographical form(s) completed by principal
officers;

4) All organizational documents of the PBM,
including any articles of incorporation, articles
of association, partnership agreement, trade
name certificate, or trust agreement, any other
applicable documents, and all amendments to
these documents;

(5) The bylaws, rules, regulations, or similar
documents regulating the internal affairs of the
PBM;

(6) Annual financial statements or reports for the

two most recent years that prove that the
applicant is solvent and any other information
the Commissioner may require in order to
review the current financial condition of the
applicant;

@) A general description of the business
operations, including information on staffing
levels and activities proposed in this State and
nationwide. The description must provide
details setting forth the PBM's capability for
providing a sufficient number of experienced
and qualified personnel in the areas of claims
processing and record keeping;

(®) A power of attorney duly executed by the PBM,
if not domiciled in North Carolina, appointing
the Commissioner as attorney for the PBM in
and for this State, upon whom process in any
legal action or proceeding against the PBM on
a cause of action arising in this State may be
served; and

9) Evidence of maintenance of a fidelity bond,
errors and omissions liability insurance or other
security.

(d) Each applicant shall make available for inspection by the
Commissioner copies of all contracts with insurers or other
persons using the services of the PBM.

(e) An applicant or PBM shall notify the Commissioner of any
material modification within 30 business days after the change.
(f) Copies of all forms may be obtained from the Department.

History Note:
564-2;
Eff. September 1, 2025.

Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-16-30; 58-19-5; 5§-

11 NCAC 24 .0102 FEES

Eff. September 1, 2025.

11 NCAC 24 .0103 FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

The financial statements required by 11 NCAC 24 .0101(c)(6)
shall include a balance sheet, a statement of operations, and a
statement of cash flows for the PBM's two most recent fiscal
years. Financial statements shall be prepared by an independent
certified public accountant. Financial statements of a PBM's
parent company are acceptable if those statements contain
consolidating schedules that include a breakout of the finances of
the PBM, and if the certified public accountant's opinion letter
does not disclaim association with the consolidating schedules.

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-2-205; 58-564-2;
Eff. September 1, 2025.

11 NCAC 24 .0104 DETERMINATION OF
FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY

In determining the financial responsibility of an applicant for a
PBM license, the Department shall require that an applicant be
solvent. In addition, the Department shall consider:

) Liquidity;

2) Any internal controls the applicant may have in
place to afford protection for benefit plans,
which may include the manner in which benefit
plan fund accounts are established; and

3) Segregation of duties.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-56A-2;
Eff. September 1, 2025.

11 NCAC 24 .0105 CLAIM PROCESSING BY PBMS
A PBM or an employee of a PBM does not have to have a license
to adjust insurance claims for an insurer with which the PBM has
a written agreement to provide claims processing services.

History Note:
2:
Eff. September 1, 2025.

Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-56A4-1(4); 58-56A4-

11 NCAC 24 .0106 PAYMENT OF CLAIMS

If claims filed with a PBM or insurer are not paid within 30 days
after receipt of the initial claim by the PBM or the insurer, the
PBM or the insurer shall at that time mail a claim status report to
the claimant.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-3-225; 58-56A4-2;
Eff. September 1, 2025.

11 NCAC 24 .0107
Every PBM shall:
€8 Establish a governing body that is authorized to
set policy for the organization.

GENERAL ADMINISTRATION

(a) The initial application fee for a PBM license shall be two 2) Maintain complete corporate records in a secure

thousand dollars ($2,000). and accessible location.

(b) The annual renewal fee for a PBM license shall be one 3) Employ a management information system that

thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500). is able to provide information on all areas of the
PBM operations.

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-564-2;
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4) Set internal policies and procedures for contract
management.
History Note:  Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-564-2;

Eff. September 1, 2025.

11 NCAC 24 .0108 CLAIMS PROCESSING

(a) Each PBM's claims processing service shall be supported by
a set of written policies, procedures, and performance standards
related to timeliness in payment of claims and its financial
operations.

(b) Each PBM shall develop and implement a claims processing
internal audit and a quality assurance program to monitor and
improve claims processing services.

(c) Each PBM shall be accessible to insureds, insurers, and
pharmacists by telephone to respond to inquiries about claims
payments.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 58-2-40;58-56A-1(4); 58-56A4-
2;

Eff. September 1, 2025.

TITLE 13 - DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

13 NCAC 01D .0101
TRAFFICKING
(a) Any individual required to complete the training required by
G.S. 130A-511(b) shall complete one of the following existing
training courses identified by the Department:
(1) Businesses Ending Slavery and Trafficking
("BEST"): "Inhospitable to Human
Trafficking;"
2) Protect All Children from Trafficking
("PACT"): "Your Role in Preventing Human
Trafficking: Recognize the Signs;"
3) PACT for Employees: "Recognize and
Respond: Addressing Human Trafficking in the
Hospitality Industry for Associates;"
@) PACT for Managers: "Recognize and Respond:
Addressing Human Trafficking in the
Hospitality Industry for Managers;"
(5) Unbound Now: "Identifying and Responding to
Human Trafficking: Commercial Lodging and
Hospitality Industry;" or
(6) Marriott International
Prevention Training.
(b) The Department shall provide links to register for each
training course on its website at www.labor.nc.gov.

TRAINING ON HUMAN

Human Trafficking

History Note:  Authority G.S. 1304-511;
Eff. September 1, 2025.

13 NCAC 01D .0102 HUMAN TRAFFICKING
AWARENESS SIGNAGE

(a) Displaying any sign including the following information shall
meet the requirements of G.S. 130A-511(c)(3):

@) the toll-free National Human Trafficking
Resource Hotline telephone number, 1-888-
373-7888;

2 the link for the National Human Trafficking
Hotline's website,
https://humantraffickinghotline.org/en;

3) the number to contact the National Human
Trafficking Hotline via text message, 233733;

“4) the teletypewriter number for the Human
Trafficking Resource Hotline, 711; and

®) the link for the National Human Trafficking
Hotline Web Chat,
https://humantraffickinghotline.org/en/chat.

(b) The Department shall make signs containing the information
in Paragraph (a) of this Rule available to the public at no cost.
These signs will be available for download on the Department's
website at www.labor.nc.gov.

(c) Displaying any awareness sign developed by the North
Carolina Human Trafficking Commission and available for
download at https://www.nccourts.gov/commissions/human-
trafficking-commission/human-trafficking-awareness-resource-
library#awareness-signs-9133 shall meet the requirements of G.S.
130A-511(c)(3).

History Note:  Authority G.S. 1304-511;
Eff. September 1, 2025.

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

14B NCAC 16 .0103 DEFINITIONS
In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 74C, the following
definitions shall apply throughout this Subchapter:

) "Advertising medium" means any form of
written, printed, broadcast or computer-based
advertising, or other promotional materials,
except a telephone directory listing for which
no additional advertising charge is made.

2) "Agency Head" means the Chair of the Board.

3) "Applicant" means any person, firm, or
corporation applying to the Board for a license,
trainee permit, registration, or firearms trainer
certificate.

@) "Armed Security Guard" means an individual
employed, full time or part time, by a contract
security company or a proprietary security
organization:

(a) who at any time wears, carries, or
possesses a firearm in the performance
of his or her duties; and

(b) whose principal duty is that of:

(1) an armed security guard,
officer, patrol, or watchman;
(i1) an armed armored car service
guard; or
(iii) an armed courier service
guard.
&) "Board" means the Private Protective Services

Board established by G.S. 74C.
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(6)

()

(®)
)

(10)

(11

(12)

(13)

(14)

(15)

(16)

"Branch Manager or Operator" means the
individual endowed with the responsibility and
liability for a branch office.

"Branch Office" means a separate but
dependent part of a central organization
engaged in the business of providing private
protective services established for the purpose
of extending the activities of the central
organization. The establishment of a telephone
number or mailing address in the company
name constitutes prima facie evidence of a
branch office. If an out-of-state person, firm,
association, or corporation opens an office in
North Carolina, the North Carolina office shall
be deemed the principal place of business and
shall have a resident licensed qualifying agent.
"Chair" means the Chair of the Private
Protective Services Board.

"Contract Security Company" means any
person, firm, association, or corporation
engaging in a private protective services
business as defined in G.S. 74C-3 that provides
the services on a contractual basis for a fee or
other valuable consideration to any other
person, firm, association, or corporation.
"Direct Supervision" means personal, face-to-
face contact and direction of the trainee's
activities on a frequent and reasonable basis
based upon the trainee's level of experience.
"Investigative Capacity" means any law
enforcement agency position for which the
majority of the duties include conducting
investigations and interviews, completing
reports, and testifying in courts, administrative
hearings, or military tribunals.

"Law Enforcement Officer" means a sworn
peace officer who has the power of arrest, and
who is an employee of the United States, any
state, or any political subdivision of a state.
"Licensee" means any person licensed to
perform private protective services in North
Carolina in accordance with G.S. 74C.
"Proprietary Security Organization" means any
person, firm, association, corporation, or
department that employs watchmen, security
guards or "officers," patrol personnel, or
couriers in connection with the business affairs
of the employer.

"Qualifying Agent" means the individual
licensee who is responsible for the private
protective services business. If the licensee
maintains an office in North Carolina, the
Qualifying Agent must be a resident of North
Carolina.

"Registered agent" means the individual
resident of North Carolina designated by the
business entity in lieu of the Qualifying Agent
as allowed by G.S. 74C-8(c)(1) who may be,

but is not required to be, the registered agent
required by G.S. 55D-30.
History Note:  Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 74C-8;
Eff. June 1, 1984;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2013; August 1, 1998, May 1, 1988; July
1, 1987;
Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0104 Eff. July 1,
2015;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020;
Amended Eff- September 1, 2025; January 1, 2023; March I,
2022.

14B NCAC 16 .0105 PROHIBITED ACTS

(a) In addition to the prohibited acts set forth elsewhere in these
Rules and in Chapter 74C of the General Statutes, any licensee,
trainee, registrant, or fircarms trainer who does any of the
following may have his or her license, trainee permit, registration,
or firearms trainer certificate revoked or suspended:

1) Displays, causes or allows to be displayed, or
has in his or her possession any cancelled,
revoked, suspended, fictitious, or fraudulently
altered license, trainee permit, registration
identification card, or firearms trainer
certificate, or any document simulating,
purporting to be, or purporting to have been
issued as a license, trainee permit, registration
identification card, or firearms trainer
certificate;

Lends his or her license, trainee permit,
registration identification card, or fircarms
trainer certificate to any person or allows the
use thereof by another;

Displays or represents any license, trainee
permit, registration identification card, or
firearms trainer certificate not issued to him or
her as being his or her license, trainee permit,
registration identification card, or firearms
trainer certificate; or

Includes in any advertisement a statement that
implies official state authorized certification or
approval other than this statement: "Licensed
by the Private Protective Services Board of the
State of North Carolina" and license number
required by 14B NCAC 16 .0116.

(b) In addition to the prohibited acts set forth elsewhere in these
Rules and in Chapter 74C of the General Statutes, it shall be
grounds for application denial or license registration suspension
or revocation for an applicant, licensee, trainee, registrant, or
trainer to make any false statement or give any false information
to a third party in connection with any criminal history record
check provided to the Board.

2

3

“

History Note: 74C-8.1;, 74C-12;
74C-16;

Eff. June 1, 1984,

Amended Eff- May 1, 2014, July 1, 1987,

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0106 Eff. July 1,

2015;

Authority G.S. 74C-5;
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Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020.
Amended Eff. September 1, 2025.

14B NCAC 16 .0116 ADVERTISING

Any advertisement of private protective services in any
advertising media, as defined in these Rules, shall include the
licensee's name and license number, whether or not a trade name
is used in advertising.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74C-5;
Eff. September 1, 2025.

14B NCAC 16 .0117
PROCEDURES

(a) All requests for declaratory rulings shall be in writing and
mailed to the Board at the Board's address.

(b) Each request for a declaratory ruling shall include the
following information:

DECLARATORY RULING

(1 the name and address of person requesting the
ruling;

2) the statute or rule to which the request relates;

3) a concise statement of the manner in which the

requesting person is aggrieved by the rule or
statute or its potential application to him or her;

4) names and addresses of additional third persons
known to the person aggrieved who may
possibly be affected by the requested ruling;

(5) a statement of all material facts;

(6) a statement whether or not the person aggrieved
is aware of any pending Board action or court
action that may bear on the applicability of the
statute or rule to the person's particular
situation; and

@) a statement of the arguments and legal authority
supporting the person's position on the
applicability of this statute or rule; and

The petitioner shall sign and verify the request before an officer
qualified to administer oaths that the information supplied in the
request is true and accurate.

(c) Within 30 days of receipt of a request for a declaratory ruling,
the Board shall determine whether a ruling is appropriate under
the facts stated.

(d) The Board shall proceed to issue a declaratory ruling when
the person requesting the rule shows that, with regard to the facts

irregularities in the Board's
proceedings.

(e) The Board shall not issue a declaratory ruling when the
petitioner's request is the subject of, or materially related to, an
investigation or audit by the Board or contested case before the
Board.

(f) When the Board determines for good cause that the issuance
of a declaratory ruling is unnecessary, the Board shall notify, in
writing, the person requesting the ruling, stating the reasons for
the denial of the request. The Board will ordinarily decline to issue
a declaratory ruling when:

rule-making

@) there has been a similar controlling factual
determination made by the Board;
2) the rule-making record shows that the factual

issues raised by the request were specifically
considered prior to, or at times of, adoption of
the rule;

3) the subject matter of the request is involved in
pending litigation in any state or federal court
in North Carolina, or pending legislation or
rulemaking;]

4) the request does not comply with the procedural
guidelines within Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this
Rule;

%) the Board has previously issued a declaratory
ruling on substantially similar facts;

(6) the Board has previously issued a final agency
decision in a contested case on substantially
similar facts;

@) the subject matter is one concerning which the
Board is without authority to make a decision
binding the Board or the petitioner;

®) the petitioner is not aggrieved by the rule or
statute in question or otherwise has no interest
in the subject matter of the request; or

) there is reason to believe that the petitioner or
some other person or entity materially
connected to the subject matter of the request is
acting in violation of the G.S. Chapter 74C or
the rules adopted by the Board.

The denial of the request is immediately subject to judicial review
in accordance with Article 4 of G.S. Chapter 150B.

(g) Prior to issuing a declaratory ruling, the Board may give
notice of the declaratory proceedings to any persons it deems
appropriate and may direct that fact-finding proceedings
appropriate to the circumstances of the particular request be
conducted by the Board. The proceedings may consist of written
submissions, an oral hearing, or other appropriate procedures. A
written ruling on the merits shall be issued within 45 days of the
decision to grant the request.

(h) If the Board finds evidence that the factors listed in
Subparagraphs (d)(1), (2), or (3) of this Rule exist or potentially
exist beyond the specific facts presented in a particular petition
for declaratory ruling, the Board shall consider rule-making
proceedings on the rule.

(i) A record of each declaratory ruling and the procedures
conducted therefor will be maintained by the Board. The record
will contain:

1) the request for a declaratory ruling;

presented:

(1) the rule or statute in question is unclear on its
face;

2) circumstances are so changed since the
adoption of a rule that a declaratory ruling is
warranted;

3) the factors specified in the request were not
given appropriate consideration by the Board at
the time the rule was adopted;

4 the rule or statute is unclear in its application to
the requesting person's facts; or

&) a fair question exists regarding the validity of
the rule because of an absence of authority for
the Board's adoption of the rule or other
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2) all written submissions filed in the request,
whether filed by the person requesting the
ruling or by any other person;

3) a record or summary of oral presentations, if
any; and

@) a copy of the declaratory ruling.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 150B-4;
Eff. September 1, 2025.

14B NCAC 16 .0501 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS
FOR A POLYGRAPH LICENSE
(a) In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this
Chapter, applicants for a polygraph license shall:
(1 successfully complete a course of instruction at
any polygraph school accredited by the
American Polygraph Association or approved
by the Board using standards established by the
American Polygraph Association; and
2) have a minimum of one year of verifiable
polygraph experience with verification or
certification of having conducted no less than
25 polygraph examinations; and
3) pass a 100 question written examination,
provide three sets of polygraph charts from
polygraph examinations conducted by the
applicant, successfully complete a performance
test of independent, blind chart scoring, and
successfully complete an oral examination
conducted by a panel of polygraph examiners
appointed by the Board; or
@) have a military occupational specialty and two
years of verifiable experience within the past
five years in the U.S. Armed Forces performing
polygraph examinations.
(b) In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this
Chapter, an applicant for a polygraph license who is the spouse of
an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces shall establish:
(1) the spouse holds a current license, certification,
or registration from another jurisdiction and the
other  jurisdiction's  requirements  are
substantially equivalent to or exceed the
Board's requirements; and
(2) the spouse has two years of verifiable
experience within the past five years
performing polygraph examinations.
(c) Applicants for a polygraph license may attempt to complete
the requirements in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule no more than
twice within a 12 month period. All portions of the licensing
process must be completed within that 12 month period.

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1984,
Amended Eff. May 1, 2014; October 1, 2013, July 1, 2009;
December 1, 1985;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0501 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Readopted Eff- August 1, 2020;

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 93B-15.1;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2025, September 1, 2024, February
1, 2022.

14B NCAC 16 .0502 POLYGRAPH TRAINEE
PERMIT REQUIREMENTS

In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this Chapter,
the following requirements shall apply to polygraph trainees:

1) Successfully complete a formal course of
instruction at any polygraph school approved
by the American Polygraph Association or
approved by the Board using standards
established by the American Polygraph
Association. A list of approved schools can be
found at: https://www.ncdps.gov/list-
polygraph-schools;

2) Be directly supervised by a North Carolina
licensed polygraph examiner;

3) Trainees who wish to apply for a license must
submit an application to the Board in
accordance with Rule .0201 of this Chapter.
Applicants meeting license qualifications
within one year of the issuance of a trainee
permit shall not be required to pay an additional
application fee; and

4) Any request for renewal of a trainee permit or
for issuance of a polygraph license shall be
accompanied by an evaluation report of the
trainee's performance submitted by the trainee's
supervisor.

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1984,
Amended Eff- May 1, 2014, December 1, 1985;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0502 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Readopted Eff- March 1, 2020;

Amended Eff- September 1, 2025.

Authority G.S. 74C-5;

14B NCAC 16 .0503
REQUIREMENTS
Polygraph licensees and trainees shall adhere to the following:

1) Obtain written consent from the individual to be
examined. The consent form shall be signed in
the presence of the examiner and shall include
a statement advising the examinee that he or she
may terminate the examination at any time.

2) A printed or reproducible electronic copy of
each chart collected, as well as documents
associated with the examination such as reports,
question sets, and signed consent forms, shall
be retained by the examiner for a minimum of
three years. The examiner shall record the
following information:

POLYGRAPH EXAMINATION

(a) the name of the examinee;

(b) the date of the examination;

(c) the type of examination;

(d) the time the examination started;
(e) the location of the examination; and
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® the name and license number of the
examiner.

This requirement may be completed by labeling

the beginning of the first printed chart by hand,

or by entering the information into the

electronic polygraph file.

3) The examiner shall give the examinee an
opportunity  prior to concluding the
examination to explain reactions on the charts.

4) The examiner shall not issue or permit an
employee to issue an examination report that is
misleading, biased, or falsified.

5) Each examination report shall be a factual,
impartial, and objective account of the pertinent
information developed during the examination
and the examiner's professional conclusion,
based upon the analysis of the charts.

(6) All questions considered for chart analysis shall
be documented in writing or an electronic
question set and shall be reviewed with the
examinee prior to any testing.

7 An examiner shall not make a conclusive verbal
or written examination report without having
administered two or more charts consisting of
the same questions.

() An examiner shall not inquire into the sexual
conduct or preferences of a person to whom a
polygraph examination is being given unless
pertinent to an alleged sex-related crime or
while conducting Post Conviction Sex Offender
Testing (POST), nor shall an examiner inquire
into the activities, affiliations, or beliefs on
religion, politics, or race, except where there is
relevancy to an investigation.

) Each chart shall be signed at the end of the chart
by the examinee and the examiner before the
end of the recording if using an analog
instrument. If an analog instrument is used, the
examiner shall retain printed and not electronic
copies of the charts for a minimum of three
years. Retaining reproducible electronic copies
of all charts noting the names of the examiner
and examinee as well as the date and time of
testing will also meet the requirements of this
Item.

(10) An examiner shall conduct no more than five
examinations in a 24 hour period.

(11) Each examiner shall keep a daily log of
examinations. The daily log of examinations
shall be maintained by the licensee for a
minimum of three years and shall be subject to
inspections by the Director or the Director's
designee between 8:00 am. — 5:00 p.m.
Monday through Friday.

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1984,
Amended Eff- May 1, 2014; December 1, 1987; July 1, 1987,
December 1, 1985,

Authority G.S. 74C-5;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0503 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020.

Amended Eff. September 1, 2025.

14B NCAC 16 .0707 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS
FOR UNARMED SECURITY GUARDS
(a) The basic unarmed security guard training course shall consist
of a minimum of 16 hours of classroom instruction including:
@) The Security Officer in North Carolina --
(minimum of one hour);

2) Legal Issues for Security Officers -- (minimum
of three hours);

3) Emergency Response -- (minimum of three
hours);

“4) Communications -- (minimum of two hours);

%) Patrol Procedures -- (minimum of three hours);

6) Note Taking and Report Writing -- (minimum
of three hours); and

7 Professional Conduct -- (minimum of one
hour).

(b) A minimum of four hours of instruction consisting of the
topics in Subparagraph (a)(1) and Subparagraph (a)(2) of this
Rule shall be completed before any security guard, including
probationary, is placed on a duty station. The 16 hour basic
unarmed security guard course shall be completed within 30 days
from the date of permanent, non-probationary employment.
(c) Training shall be conducted by a Board certified unarmed
security guard trainer. A Board created lesson plan covering the
training requirements in Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be used
by each trainer and a copy made available to each student during
instruction. The trainer may use other forms of media and training
materials to supplement the training requirements of Paragraph
(a) of this Rule.
(d) The 16 hours of training may be delivered in-person, in-
person remotely, synchronously on-line, or in a hybrid format
under the following conditions:
1) "In-Person" means an instructor physically
present in-person in a classroom setting with
students physically present in-person in a
classroom setting. This is considered traditional
in-person training. "In-Person remotely" means
an instructor delivering a course to students in
an in-person seated classroom while also
transmitting to another or multiple other
classrooms where students are in-person and
observing via video and sound technology.
Students must have the ability to have constant
audio and visual communication with the
instructor as the instructor is presenting.
"Synchronously on-line" means instruction
utilizing an on-line audio/video platform where
the instructor is teaching the course live to
students that are attending live and the
instructor and students have constant visual and
audio communication with each other
available. "Hybrid format" means instruction
utilizing both in-person classroom teaching as
well as synchronously on-line. The instruction
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is delivered by an instructor that is in-person in
a classroom with in-person seated students
while the instruction is also being delivered
simultaneously in an on-line live format where
on-line students have had the ability to have
constant audio and video communication with
the in-person students and instructor.

2) Each student is provided a copy of the unarmed
security guard training manual to use for the
duration of the 16 hour training course.

3) The technology used allows the trainer to see
the students and the students to see the trainer
in real time during the training.

4) All students are able to see and read the screen
or monitor, and they must be able to hear and
understand the audio presentation. All monitors
used in a classroom setting must be at least 32
inches.

(5) The technology used is of sufficient quality so
that the training audio and video is delivered
smoothly and without interruption.

(6) The total number of students receiving the in-
person or in-person remotely training at one
time does not exceed 35 students. There is no
size limitation for synchronous on-line training.

@) Any additional training beyond the Board
mandated training in the unarmed security
guard training manual is taught either before or
after the 16 hour unarmed security officer
training.

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-11; 74C-13(m),
Eff. January 1, 1990,

Amended Eff- June 1, 2009; November 1, 2006; June 1, 2004,
Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0707 Eff- July 1,
2015;

Readopted Eff- August 1, 2020,

Amended Eff. September 1, 2025; June 1, 2024, July 1, 2021.

14B NCAC 16 .1203 ACCREDITATION STANDARDS
(a) CE courses may obtain the approval of the Board by

2) The sub-committee shall review the course to
determine if the course is pertinent to the
industry, and if the course meets its stated
objectives or goals.

3) When the sub-committee completes its review,
it shall report to the Training and Education
Committee. The Training and Education
Committee shall review the course to determine
if the course is pertinent to the industry, and if
the course meets its stated objectives and goals.
The Training and Education Committee shall
then report the findings with a recommendation
of acceptance or denial to the Private Protective
Services Board.

(c) Upon receipt of the Training and Education Committee report,
the Private Protective Services Board shall determine by majority
vote if the course will be approved for continuing education
credits. In making its determination, the Board shall review the
course to determine if the course is pertinent to the industry, and
if the course meets its stated objectives or goals.

(d) Each approved course shall remain an approved course for
four years from the date of approval by the Board, unless the
course content changes or the course instructor changes.

(e) Trainers and instructors shall receive continuing education
credit of five hours for every actual teaching hour with an eight
hour cap of continuing education credit every two years.

(f) Colleges, universities, trade schools, and other degree granting
institutions shall be granted standing approval when the
institutions are accredited, certified, or approved by the
Department of Public Instruction or by a similar agency in another
state and the course is related to law, criminal justice, security
profession, finance, ethics, forensics, crime prevention, and
investigation. Approval is one credit hour per contact hour up to
the maximum 12 credit hours.

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-22;

Eff. February 1, 2010;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2011;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1303 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Emergency Amendment Eff. May 6, 2020,

submitting the following information to the Board for  Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020;
consideration: Temporary Amendment Eff. July 24, 2020;
(1) the nature and purpose of the course; Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. May 14, 2021;
(2) the course objectives or goals; Amended Eff. September 1, 2025; February 1, 2022; January 1,
3) the outline of the course, including the number 2022; July 1, 2021.
of training hours for each segment; and
4) the name of the instructor. 14B NCAC 16 .1307 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS
(b) The Board shall complete the following review: FOR UNARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARDS
(1) The matter shall be referred to the Training and (a) The basic unarmed armored car service guard course shall
Education Committee for the appointment of a consist of a minimum of 16 hours of classroom instruction
sub-committee that shall review the course including:
under consideration. The sub-committee shall @) The Security Officer in North Carolina —
consist of at least two industry members of the (minimum of one hour);
Training and Education Committee. Other 2) Legal Issues for Security Officers — (minimum
members of the sub-committee may be of three hours);
appointed at the discretion of the Training and 3) Professional Conduct — (minimum of one
Education Committee Chairman. hour);
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4) Armored Security Operations — (minimum of
five hours);

%) Emergency Responses — (minimum of three
hours); and

(6) Safe Driver Training — (minimum of three
hours);

(b) A minimum of four hours of classroom instruction consisting
of the topics in Subparagraph (a)(1) and Subparagraph (a)(2) of
this Rule shall be completed before any unarmed armored car
service guard, including probationary, is placed on a duty station.
The 16 hour basic unarmed armored car service guard course shall
be completed within 30 days from the date of permanent, non-
probationary employment. Unarmed armored car service guard
training is not transferable to qualify as unarmed security guard
training.
(¢) Training shall be conducted by a Board certified unarmed
trainer. A Board created lesson plan covering the training
requirements in Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be used by each
trainer and a copy made available to each student during
instruction. The trainer may use other forms of media and training
materials to supplement the training requirements of Paragraph
(a) of this Rule.
(d) The 16 hours of training may be delivered in-person, in-
person remotely, synchronously on-line, or in a hybrid format
under the following conditions:
(1) "In-person" means an instructor physically
present in-person in a classroom setting with
students physically present in-person in a
classroom setting. This is considered traditional
in-person training. "In-person remotely" means
an instructor delivering a course to students in
an in-person seated classroom while also
transmitting to another or multiple other
classrooms where students are in-person and
observing via video and sound technology.
Students must have the ability to have constant
audio and visual communication with the
instructor as the instructor is presenting.
"Synchronously on-line" means instruction
utilizing an on-line audio/video platform where
the instructor is teaching the course live to
students that are attending live and the
instructor and students have constant visual and
audio communication with each other
available. "Hybrid format" means instruction
utilizing both in-person classroom teaching as
well as synchronously on-line. The instruction
is delivered by an instructor that is in-person in
a classroom with in-person seated students
while the instruction is also being delivered
simultaneously in an on-line live format where
on-line students have had the ability to have
constant audio and video communication with
the in-person students and instructor.
2) Each student is given a copy of the Board
approved unarmed armored car service guard
training manual to use for the duration of the 16
hour training course.

3) The technology used allows the trainer to see
the students and the students to see the trainer
in real time during the training.

4 All students in each classroom are able to see
and read the screen or monitor, and they must
be able to hear and understand the audio
presentation. All monitors used in a classroom
setting must be at least 32 inches .

&) The technology used is of sufficient quality so
that the training audio and video is delivered
smoothly and without interruption.

(6) The total number of students receiving the in-
person or in-person remotely training at one
time does not exceed 35 students. There is no
size limitation for synchronous on-line training.

@) Any additional training beyond the Board
mandated training in the unarmed armored car
service guard training manual is taught either
before or after the 16 hour unarmed armored car
service guard training.

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5;

Eff. January 1, 2013;

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1407 Eff. July 1,
2015;

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020.

Amended Eff. September 1, 2025.

SECTION .1500 - CLOSE PERSONAL PROTECTION

14B NCAC 16 .1501 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS
FOR CLOSE PERSONAL PROTECTION LICENSE

(a) In addition to the requirements of G.S. 74C-8 and Section
.0200 of this Chapter, applicants for a close personal protection
license shall:

) establish three years of verifiable experience
while conducting close personal protection
services as set forth in G.S. 74C-3(a)(3a) with a
private person, firm, association, or corporation
within the last 10 years;

2) establish three years of verifiable experience
while conducting close personal protection
services as set forth in G.S. 74C-3(a)(3a) with
any federal, state, county or municipal law
enforcement agency, or other governmental
agency within the last 10 years;

3) establish a military occupational specialty and
two years of verifiable experience within the
past five years in the U.S. Armed Forces while
conducting close personal protection services
as set forth in G.S. 74C-3(a)(3a) while serving
in an official capacity; or

“4) have completed a course in close personal
protection approved by the Board given by a
school specializing in close personal protection
(or "executive protection") that consists of a
minimum of 40 hours of actual classroom and
practical instruction within the last two years as
required by Rule .1502 of this Chapter; and
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%) possess a valid basic first aid certificate and
CPR and AED certification from the American
Red Cross, American Heart Association,
American Safety and Health Institute, or
National Safety Council.

(b) In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this
Chapter, an applicant for a close personal protection license that
is the spouse of an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces
shall establish to the Board's satisfaction:

1) the applicant holds a current license,
certification, or registration from another
jurisdiction and the other jurisdiction's
requirements are substantially equivalent to or
exceed the Board's requirements; and

2) the applicant has two years verifiable
experience within the past five years while
conducting close personal protection as set
forth in in G.S. 74C-3(a)(3a) while serving in
an official capacity with any entity described in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5(2); 93B-15.1;
Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023,

Eff. November 1, 2023;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2025, September 1, 2024.

14B NCAC 16 .1502 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS
FOR CLOSE PERSONAL PROTECTION LICENSE

(a) Applicants for a close personal protection license who do not
have the experience set forth in Rule .1501(a)(1) through (3) or
(b)(1) and (2) of this Section shall complete a basic close personal
protection (or "executive protection") training course approved by
the Board within the previous 24 months of application. The
course shall consist of a minimum of 40 hours of classroom and
practical instruction including as a minimum:

(1) Fundamentals of personal protection, including
as a minimum mission planning, performing
site  surveys, route selection (primary,
secondary, etc.), medical evacuation, walking
formations (single, multiple, etc.),
communications  with  protectees, and
transitional movements (arrivals, departures,
plan changes, hasty movements, etc.) -
(minimum of 26 hours);

2) Practical exercises — (minimum of 12 hours);
and

3) Legal Issues, including the rules applicable to
each of the below blocks of instruction and this
Section and North Carolina's laws on use of
force, and the federal and State firearms law.
The three hour unarmed guard block of
instruction, set forth in 14B NCAC 16 .0707 if
performing services unarmed, or the four hour
armed guard block of instruction set forth in
14B NCAC 16 .0807(c)(1) if performing
services armed taught by a certified instructor
shall fulfill this requirement — (minimum of two
hours).

(b) In addition to the minimum classroom and practical
instruction required by Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the applicant
must possess a basic valid first aid certificate and CPR and AED
certification from the American Red Cross, American Heart
Association, American Safety and Health Institute, or National
Safety Council.

(c) Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule may be conducted remotely
as provided for by 14B NCAC 16 .0707(c).

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74C-5;
Temporary Adoption Eff. April 28, 2023,
Eff. September 1, 2025; November 1, 2023.
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14B NCAC 17 .0109
PROCEDURES

(a) All requests for declaratory rulings shall be in writing and
mailed to the Board at the Board's address.

(b) Each request for a declaratory ruling shall include the
following information:

DECLARATORY RULING

) the name and address of person requesting the
ruling;

2) the statute or rule to which the request relates;

3) a concise statement of the manner in which the

requesting person is aggrieved by the rule or
statute or its potential application to him or her;

@) names and addresses of additional third persons
known to the person aggrieved who may
possibly be affected by the requested ruling;

5) a statement of all material facts;

(6) a statement whether or not the person aggrieved
is aware of any pending Board action or court
action that may bear on the applicability of the
statute or rule to the person's particular
situation; and

@) a statement of the arguments and legal authority
supporting the person's position on the
applicability of this statute or rule; and

The petitioner shall sign and verify the request before an officer
qualified to administer oaths that the information supplied in the
request is true and accurate.

(c) Within 30 days of receipt of a request for a declaratory ruling,
the Board shall determine whether a ruling is appropriate under
the facts stated.

(d) The Board shall proceed to issue a declaratory ruling when
the person requesting the rule shows that, with regard to the facts

presented:

@) the rule or statute in question is unclear on its
face;

2) circumstances are so changed since the
adoption of a rule that a declaratory ruling is
warranted;

3) the factors specified in the request were not

given appropriate consideration by the Board at
the time the rule was adopted;

“) the rule or statute is unclear in its application to
the requesting person's facts; or
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%) a fair question exists regarding the validity of
the rule because of an absence of authority for
the Board's adoption of the rule or other
irregularities in the Board's rule-making
proceedings.

(e) The Board shall not issue a declaratory ruling when the
petitioner or his or her request is the subject of, or materially
related to, an investigation by the Board or contested case before
the Board.

(f) When the Board determines for good cause that the issuance
of a declaratory ruling is unnecessary, the Board shall notify, in
writing, the person requesting the ruling, stating the reasons for
the denial of the request. The Board will ordinarily decline to issue
a declaratory ruling when:

(1) there has been a similar controlling factual
determination made by the Board;
2) the rule-making record shows that the factual

issues raised by the request were specifically
considered prior to, or at the time of adoption of
the rule;

3) the subject matter of the request is involved in
pending litigation in any state or federal court
in North Carolina, or pending legislation or
rulemaking;

@) the request does not comply with the procedural
guidelines within Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this
Rule;

(5) the Board has previously issued a declaratory
ruling on substantially similar facts;

(6) the Board has previously issued a final agency
decision in a contested case on substantially
similar facts;

@) the subject matter is one concerning which the
Board is without authority to make a decision
binding the Board or the petitioner;

(®) the petitioner is not aggrieved by the rule or
statute in question or otherwise has no interest
in the subject matter of the request; or

9) there is reason to believe that the petitioner or
some other person or entity materially
connected to the subject matter of the request is
acting in violation of the G.S. Chapter 74C or
the rules adopted by the Board.

The denial of the request is immediately subject to judicial review
in accordance with Article 4 of G.S. Chapter 150B.

(g) Prior to issuing a declaratory ruling, the Board may give
notice of the declaratory proceedings to any persons it deems
appropriate and may direct that fact-finding proceedings
appropriate to the circumstances of the particular request be
conducted by the Board. The proceedings may consist of written
submissions, an oral hearing, or other appropriate procedures. A
written ruling on the merits shall be issued within 45 days of the
decision to grant the request.

(h) If the Board finds evidence that the factors listed in
Subparagraphs (d)(1), (2), or (3) of this Rule exist or potentially
exist beyond the specific facts presented in a particular petition
for declaratory ruling, the Board shall consider rule-making
proceedings on the rule.

(i) A record of each declaratory ruling and the procedures
conducted therefor will be maintained by the Board. The record
will contain:

€Y the request for a declaratory ruling;

2) all written submissions filed in the request,
whether filed by the person requesting the
ruling or by any other person;

3) a record or summary of oral presentations, if
any; and

“4) a copy of the declaratory ruling.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 150B-4;
Eff. September 1, 2025.

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY

15A NCAC 18C .1540 CONTROL OF PER- AND
POLYFLUOROALKYL SUBSTANCES

The provisions of 40 C.F.R. 141, Subpart Z — Control of Per- and
Polyfluoroalkyl Substances (PFAS) are hereby incorporated by
reference including any subsequent amendments and editions.
Copies for public inspection are available at no cost from the
United States Federal Register at
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2024/04/26/2024-
07773 /pfas-national-primary-drinking-water-regulation#p-amd-
25 or from the EPA's Drinking Water Hotline at 1-800-426-4791.

History Note: Authority G.S. 1304-315; 1304-320(c); P.L.
93-523, 40 C.F.R. 141;
Eff. September 1, 2025.

TITLE 16 - STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

16 NCAC 06B .0103 LOCAL POLICIES, RULES, AND
REGULATIONS FOR PUBLIC SCHOOL
TRANSPORTATION PROGRAMS

(a) Each local board of education shall adopt policies to assure
the safe, orderly, and efficient operation of the public school
transportation system under its jurisdiction and shall direct the
local school administrative unit to adopt rules and regulations to
implement those policies. These policies, rules, and regulations
shall address, at minimum, the following:

@) the use of school buses under G.S.
115C-242(5);

2) a uniform system of discipline on school buses;

3) a uniform procedure for the recruitment and
selection of school bus drivers;

“) procedures for relieving a bus driver of driving
duties;

®) passenger safety rules;

(6) responsibilities of school bus monitors; and

@) duties of local school administrative unit
personnel for the administration of the school
transportation program.
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(b) The local school administrative unit shall post to its website a
copy of all policies, rules, and regulations adopted in accordance
with this Rule.
History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-12(17); 115C-240;
Eff July 1, 1986;

Readoption Eff. September 1, 2025.

16 NCAC 06B .0107 EVALUATION OF PUBLIC
SCHOOL TRANSPORTATION PROGRAMS

Local school administrative units shall permit the Department of
Public Instruction to evaluate their public school transportation
programs, including the LSAU's supervisory and safety practices,
and shall comply with DPI requests for access to vehicles,

equipment, workspace, and information regarding those
programs.
History Note:  Authority G.S. 115C-127(17); 115C-240;

Eff July 1, 1986;
Amended Eff. July 1, 1994;
Readoption Eff. September 1, 2025.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 12 - GENERAL CONTRACTORS

21 NCAC 12A .0202 CLASSIFICATION
(a) A general contractor shall be certified in one of the following
five classifications:

(1) Building Contractor. This classification covers
all building construction and demolition
activity including: commercial, industrial,
institutional, and all residential building
construction. It includes installation of solar
panels; parking decks; all site work, grading
and paving of parking lots, driveways,
sidewalks, and gutters; storm drainage,
retaining or screen walls, and hardware and
accessory structures; and indoor and outdoor
recreational facilities including natural and
artificial surface athletic fields, running tracks,
bleachers, and seating. It also covers work done

under the specialty classifications of
S(Concrete  Construction),  S(Insulation),
S(Interior  Construction), S(Marine  and
Freshwater Construction), S(Masonry

Construction), S(Roofing), S(Metal Erection),
S(Swimming Pools), S(Asbestos), S(Wind
Turbine), and S(Sign/Billboard).

2) Residential Contractor. This classification
covers all construction and demolition activity
pertaining to the construction of residential
units that are required to conform to the
Residential Building Code adopted by the
Building Code Council pursuant to G.S. 143-
138; all site work, driveways, sidewalks, and
water and wastewater systems ancillary to the

3

“

(&)

aforementioned structures and improvements;
and the work done as part of such residential
units under the specialty classifications of
S(Insulation), S(Interior Construction),
S(Masonry Construction), S(Roofing),
S(Swimming Pools), and S(Asbestos). This
classification also covers the installation of
solar panels on residential units that are
required to conform to the residential building
code.

Highway Contractor. This classification covers
all highway construction activity including:
demolition, grading, paving of all types,
installation of exterior artificial athletic
surfaces, relocation of public and private utility
lines ancillary to a principal project, bridge
construction and repair, culvert construction
and repair, parking decks, sidewalks, curbs,
gutters and storm drainage. It also includes
installation and erection of guard rails, fencing,
signage, and ancillary highway hardware;
covers paving and grading of airport and
airfield runways, taxiways, and aprons,
including the installation of fencing, signage,
runway lighting and marking; and work done
under the specialty classifications of S(Boring
and Tunneling), S(Concrete Construction),

S(Marine and Freshwater Construction),
S(Railroad Construction), H(Grading and
Excavating), = S(Metal  Erection), and
S(Sign/Billboard).

Public Utilities Contractor. This classification

includes demolition and operations that are the

performance of construction work on water and
wastewater systems and on the

subclassifications of facilities set forth in G.S.

87-10(b)(3). The Board shall issue a license to

a public utilities contractor that is limited to any

of the subclassifications set forth in G.S. 87-

10(b)(3) for which the contractor qualifies. A

public utilities contractor license covers work

done under the specialty classifications of

S(Boring and Tunneling),

PU(Communications), PU(Fuel Distribution),

PU(Electrical-Ahead of Point of Delivery),

PU(Water Lines and Sewer Lines), PU(Water

Purification and Sewage Disposal), and

S(Swimming Pools).

Specialty Contractor. This classification covers

all construction operation and performance of

contract work outlined as follows:

(A) H(Grading and Excavating). This
classification covers the digging,
moving, and placing of materials
forming the surface of the earth,
excluding air and water, in such a
manner that the cut, fill, excavation,
grade, trench, backfill, or any similar
operation may be executed with the
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(B

©

(D)

(E)

use of hand and power tools and
machines used for these types of
digging, moving, and material placing.
It covers work on earthen dams and
the wuse of explosives used in
connection with all or any part of the
activities described in this
Subparagraph. It also includes
clearing and grubbing, and erosion
control activities.
S(Boring and Tunneling). This
classification covers the construction
of underground or underwater
passageways by digging or boring
through and under the earth's surface,
including the bracing and compacting
of such passageways to make them
safe for the purpose intended. It
includes preparation of the ground
surfaces at points of ingress and
egress.

PU (Communications). This

classification covers the demolition

and installation of the following:

(1) all types of pole lines, and
aerial and  underground
distribution cable for
telephone systems;

(i1) aerial and  underground
distribution cable for cable
TV and master antenna TV
systems capable of
transmitting R.F. signals;

(iii) underground conduit and
communication cable,
including fiber optic cable;
and

(iv) microwave systems and
towers, including
foundations and excavations
where required, when the
microwave systems are being
used for the purpose of
transmitting R.F. signals; and
installation of PCS or cellular
telephone towers and sites.

S(Concrete  Construction).  This
classification covers the construction,
demolition, and installation of
foundations, pre-cast silos, and other
concrete  tanks or  receptacles,
prestressed components, and gunite
applications, but excludes bridges,
streets, sidewalks, curbs, gutters,
driveways, parking lots, and
highways.

PU(Electrical-Ahead of Point of

Delivery). This classification covers

the construction, installation,

(F)

(©)

(H)

alteration, maintenance, or repair of an
electrical wiring system, including
sub-stations or components thereof,
which is or is intended to be owned,
operated, and maintained by an
electric power supplier, such as a
public or private utility, a utility
cooperative, or any other properly
franchised electric power supplier, for
the purpose of furnishing electrical
services to one or more customers.
This classification includes the
construction of solar arrays.

PU(Fuel Distribution). This
classification covers the construction,
installation, alteration, maintenance,
or repair of systems for distribution of
petroleum fuels, petroleum distillates,
natural gas, chemicals, and slurries
through pipeline from one station to
another. It includes all excavating,
trenching, and  backfilling in
connection therewith. It covers the
installation, replacement, and removal
of above ground and below ground
fuel storage tanks.

PU(Water Lines and Sewer Lines).
This classification covers demolition
and construction work on water and
sewer mains, water service lines, and
house and building sewer lines, as
defined in the North Carolina State
Building Code, and covers water
storage tanks, lift stations, pumping
stations, and appurtenances to water
storage tanks, lift stations, and
pumping  stations. It includes
pavement patching, backfill, and
erosion control as part of construction.
PU(Water Purification and Sewage
Disposal). This classification covers
the demolition and performance of
construction work on water and
wastewater  systems; water and
wastewater treatment facilities; and all
site work, grading, and paving of
parking lots, driveways, sidewalks,
curbs, and gutters that are ancillary to
such construction of water and
wastewater treatment facilities. It
covers the work done under the
specialty classifications of S(Concrete
Construction), S(Insulation),
S(Interior Construction), S(Masonry
Construction), S(Roofing),  and
S(Metal Erection) as part of the work
on water and wastewater treatment
facilities.
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@

)

)

(L)

S(Insulation).  This classification
covers the installation, alteration, or
repair of materials classified as
insulating media used for the non-
mechanical control of temperatures in
the construction of residential and
commercial buildings. It does not
include the insulation of mechanical
equipment, and lines and piping that
are ancillary to the building.

S(Interior Construction). This
classification covers the installation
and demolition of acoustical ceiling
systems and panels, load bearing and
non-load bearing partitions, lathing
and plastering, flooring and finishing,
interior recreational surfaces, window
and door installation, and installation
of fixtures, cabinets, and millwork. It
includes the removal of asbestos and

replacement with non-toxic
substances.
S(Marine and Freshwater

Construction). This classification
covers all marine and freshwater
demolition and construction and repair
activities and all types of marine and
freshwater construction and
demolition in deep-water installations
and in harbors, inlets, sounds, bays,
channels, canals, rivers, lakes, ponds,
or any navigable waterway; it covers
dredging, construction, and
installation of pilings, piers, decks,
slips, docks, and bulkheads. It does not
include other structures that may be
constructed on docks, slips, and piers.

S(Masonry  Construction).  This

classification covers the demolition

and installation, with or without the
use of mortar or adhesives, of the
following:

(1) brick,  concrete  block,
gypsum partition tile, pumice
block, or other lightweight
and facsimile wunits and
products common to the
masonry industry;

(i1) installation of fire clay
products and refractory
construction; and

(ii1) installation of rough cut and
dressed stone, marble panels
and slate  units, and
installation of  structural
glazed tile or block, glass
brick or block, and solar
screen tile or block.

M)

)

©)

S(Railroad  Construction). This
classification covers the demolition,
building, construction, and repair of
railroad lines including:

1) the clearing and filling of
rights-of-way;

(i1) shaping, compacting, setting,
and stabilizing of road beds;

(iii) setting ties, tie plates, rails,

rail connectors, frogs, switch
plates, switches, signal
markers, retaining walls,
dikes, fences, and gates; and

(iv) construction and repair of
tool sheds and platforms.

S(Roofing). This classification covers
the installation, demolition, and repair
of roofs and decks on residential,
commercial, industrial, and
institutional  structures  requiring
materials that form a water-tight and
weather-resistant surface. The term
"materials" for purposes of this
Subparagraph includes cedar, cement,
asbestos, clay tile and composition
shingles, all types of metal coverings,
wood shakes, single ply and built-up
roofing, protective and reflective roof
and deck coatings, sheet metal valleys,
flashings, gravel stops, gutters and
downspouts, and bituminous
waterproofing, including torch down
roof systems. Any insulation material
installed as a component of a torch
down roofing system shall be included
as work covered wunder this
classification.

S(Metal Erection). This classification

covers:

(1) the field fabrication,
demolition, erection, repair,
and alteration of architectural
and structural shapes, plates,
tubing, pipe and bars, not
limited to steel or aluminum,
that are or may be used as
structural  members  for
buildings, equipment, and
structure; and

(i1) the layout, assembly and
erection by welding, bolting,
riveting, or fastening in any
manner metal products as
curtain walls, tanks of all
types, hoppers, structural
members  for  buildings,
towers, stairs, conveyor
frames, cranes and crane
runways, canopies, carports,
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guard rails, signs, steel
scaffolding as a permanent
structure, rigging, flagpoles,
fences, steel and aluminum

siding, bleachers, fire
escapes, and seating for
stadiums, arenas, and
auditoriums.

(P) S(Swimming Pools). This

classification covers the construction,
demolition, service, and repair of all
swimming pools. It includes:

6))] excavation and grading;
(i1) construction of concrete,
gunite, fiberglass, metal-

walled with liner, steel-
walled with liner, and plastic-
type pools, pool decks, and
walkways, and tiling and
coping; and

(ii1) installation of all equipment
including pumps, filters, and
chemical feeders. It does not
include direct connections to
a sanitary sewer system or to
portable water lines, nor the
grounding and bonding of
any metal surfaces or the
making of any electrical

connections.

Q) S(Asbestos).  This  classification
covers renovation or demolition
activities involving the repair,
maintenance, removal, isolation,
encapsulation, or enclosure of
Regulated  Asbestos  Containing
Materials (RACM) for any

commercial, industrial, or institutional
building, whether public or private. It
also covers all types of residential
building  construction  involving
RACM  during renovation or
demolition activities. This specialty is
required only when the cost of
asbestos activities as described herein
are equal to or exceed forty thousand
dollars ($40,000).

(R) S(Wind Turbine). This classification
covers the construction, demolition,
installation, and repair of wind
turbines, wind generators, and wind
power units. It includes assembly of
blades, generator, turbine structures,
and towers. It also includes ancillary
foundation work, field fabrication of
metal equipment, and structural
support components.

(S) S(Sign/Billboard). This classification
covers the construction, renovation,

installation, repair, erection, or
demolition of any structural signs or
billboards, as used in G.S. 136-128(3)
that are permanently annexed to real
property and as defined in Article 11
of Chapter 136 of the N.C. General
Statutes.
(b) An applicant may be licensed in more than one classification
of general contracting provided the applicant meets the
qualifications for the classifications, which includes passing the
examinations for the classification requested by the applicant. The
license granted to an applicant who meets the qualifications for
all of the classifications set forth in the rules of this Section shall
be designated "unclassified."

History Note:  Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-4; 87-10;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977,

Amended Eff. June 1, 1994, June 1, 1992; May 1, 1989; January
1, 1983;

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 18, 1997,

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; June 1, 2011; September 1, 2009,
April 1, 2004, April 1, 2003; August 1, 2002; April 1, 2001;
August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. July 23, 2016;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2019; April 1, 2018;

Recodified from 21 NCAC 12 .0202 Eff. January 2, 2020;
Amended Eff. September 1, 2025; December 1, 2023; January I,
2023; January 1, 2022.

21 NCAC 12A .0303 APPLICATION FOR
LICENSURE

(a) General. Applications for licensure shall contain the
following:

@) the Social Security Number of examinees and
qualifiers and tax identification numbers for
corporate applicants;

2) the applicant's contact information;

3) the name of business under which the licensee
will be operating, if any;

4) requested designation of license limitation and
classifications;

®) statements and supporting documentation about
all crimes of which the applicant has been
convicted;

6) certified copies of court records reflecting
information regarding all crimes of which the
applicant and qualifiers have been convicted;

7 statements and supporting documentation
indicating whether the applicant or qualifiers
has any disciplinary history with the Board or
any other occupational licensing, registration,
or certification agency;

®) statements and supporting documentation

establishing financial responsibility as required
by G.S. 87-10(a) and Rule .0204 of this
Subchapter;
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9 letters of reference as prescribed in Rule .0308
of this Subchapter; and
(10) the application fee as set forth in Rule .0304 of
this Subchapter.
(b) Criminal Background Check. In addition to the requirements
set forth above, all new applicants shall consent to criminal
background checks to be performed by a third-party vendor
identified by the Board. The cost of the background check shall
be paid directly to the vendor. The qualifiers of all new applicants
and any qualifier being added to an existing license shall submit
to the background check. Additionally, the following individuals
shall submit to the background check, based upon the entity or
person applying for the license:

(1) Sole proprietor license: The sole proprietor;

2) Corporation: The president;

3) Limited liability company: All managers and
members;

@) Partnerships ~ (including limited
partnerships): All partners.

(¢) Reciprocity. Applicants based on reciprocity shall submit with
the application form a copy of the applicant's license in the other
state, certified by the other state licensing board as being a copy
of a valid license. Applicants shall have taken and passed the
exam offered in the state from which they are seeking reciprocity,
or an examination offered by the National Association of State
Contractors Licensing Agencies (NASCLA). Applicants shall
also be required to take and pass the Board's North Carolina law,
rule, and building code examination prior to licensure.

liability

History Note:  Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-4; 87-10;

Eff. February 1, 1976,

Readopted Eff- September 26, 1977,

Amended Eff- May 1, 1989,

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff- July 23, 2016;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2019; April 1, 2018;

Recodified from 21 NCAC 12 .0303 Eff. January 2, 2020;
Amended Eff. September 1, 2025; January 1, 2023; March 1,
2022.

21 NCAC 12A .0308 CHARACTER REFERENCES
History Note: Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-10;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff- September 26, 1977,

Amended Eff- May 1, 1989,

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff- July 23, 2016;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2019;

Recodified from 21 NCAC 12 .0308 Eff. January 2, 2020;
Amended Eff. December 1, 2023;

Repealed Eff. September 1, 2025.

21 NCAC 12A .0701 IMPROPER PRACTICE

(a) Complaint. Any person who believes that a licensed general
contractor is in violation of the provisions of G.S. 87-11 may file
a complaint with the Board against a licensee, qualifier, or both
by setting forth in writing those charges and swearing to their
authenticity. The complaint shall be submitted to the Board and

include the complainant's contact information, project location,
and name of the licensee, qualifier, or both.
(b) Preliminary or Threshold Determination:

1) A complaint filed in accordance with G.S. 87-
11(al) shall be forwarded to a staff investigator
for investigation. Within 30 days, the Board
shall forward a written notice of the complaint
to the licensee and qualifier(s) against whom
the charge is made. The notice shall request a
response from the licensee and qualifier(s). The
Board shall send notice of the charge and of the
alleged facts or alleged conduct through the
Board's licensure portal and by email to the
address of the licensee and qualifier(s).

2) After the investigation is complete, the charge
shall be referred to the review committee. The
review committee shall consist of the following

individuals:
(A) one member of the Board;
B) the  Secretary-Treasurer or his

designee; and

©) a staff person agreed upon by the
individuals listed above.

3) Based upon the complaint and investigation, the
review committee shall recommend to the
Board that:

(A) The charge be dismissed;

B) When the charge is admitted as true by
the licensee and qualifier(s), the Board
accept the licensee's and qualifier(s")
admission of guilt and order the
licensee and qualifier(s) not to commit
in the future the act or acts admitted by
him to have been violated and not to
violate any of the acts of misconduct
specified in G.S. 87-11 at any time in
the future; or

©) The charge, whether admitted or
denied, be presented to the full Board
for a hearing and determination by the
Board on the merits of the charge in
accordance with the substantive and
procedural requirements of the
provisions of Section .0800 of this
Chapter and the provisions of G.S. 87-
11. Prior to the charge's being heard
and determined by the Board, it may
be resolved by consent order.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 87-4; 87-11; 150B-3; 150B-38;
Eff. February 1, 1976,

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977,

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014, June 1, 2011; April 1, 2006; April 1,
2003; May 1, 1989;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. July 23, 2016

Amended Eff- April 1, 2018,

Recodified from 21 NCAC 12 .0701 Eff. January 2, 2020;
Amended Eff. September 1, 2025.
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21 NCAC 12B .0402 RENEWAL AND EXPIRATION
OF INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL

(a) Board approval of instructors shall expire annually on
December 1 following issuance of Board approval.

(b) A provider offering courses shall file an application for a
previously approved instructor renewal no less than 30 days
immediately preceding expiration of approval. The instructor
renewal application shall include the instructor's:

(D) legal name, address, email address, and
telephone number;
2) general contractor's license number and

qualifier ID number, if applicable, and
instructor ID number assigned by the Board;

3) course name(s) and course number(s) for which
the provider is seeking approval as an
instructor; and

“) signature.
(c) In order to reinstate an instructor approval that has been
expired for less than one year, the former instructor shall meet the
requirements set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule.
(d) If an instructor approval has been expired for more than one
year, the provider shall file an application for initial instructor
approval pursuant to Rule .0401 of this Subchapter.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 87-10.2(d);
Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020;
Eff. September 1, 2020;

Amended Eff- September 1, 2025.

40:07

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

OCTOBER 1, 2025

682



RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission on August 28, 2025 at 1711 New Hope
Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC. Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the
Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners. Specific
instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850. Anyone wishing to address
the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2" business day before the meeting.
Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05.

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS

Appointed by Senate Appointed by House
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Jake Parker (15tVice-Chair)
John Hahn Paul Powell (2" Vice-Chair)
Jeff Hyde Wayne R. Boyles, I
Wyatt Dixon, llI Christopher Loutit
Bill Nelson Randy Overton
COMMISSION COUNSEL
Seth M. Ascher 984-236-1934
Travis Wiggs 984-236-1929

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES
October 30, 2025 December 18, 2025
November 20, 2025 January 29, 2026

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING
MINUTES
Augqgust 28, 2025

The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, August 28, 2025, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, and the meeting was streamed for the public via Webex.

Commissioners Wyatt Dixon, Ill, John S. Hahn, Jeff Hyde, Chris Loutit, Randy Overton, Bill Nelson, and Jake Parker were
present in the Commission Room.

Staff member Alexander Burgos, Commission Counsel Seth Ascher and Travis Wiggs were present in the room.
The meeting was called to order at 10:01 a.m. with 15t Vice Chair Parker presiding.

18t Vice Chair Parker introduced Administrative Law Judge Linda F. Nelson with the Office of Administrative Hearings to the
Commission.

Judge Nelson administered the Oath of Office to Commissioner Bill Nelson.

The 15t Vice Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a
duty to avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest.

The 18t Vice Chairman notified the Commissioners that the following items on the agenda would be taken up out of order at
the end of the agenda: Permanent Rules from the State Board of Elections and Board of Dental Examiners.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES
The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes from the July 30, 2025 meeting.
There were none, and the minutes were unanimously approved as distributed.

FOLLOW-UP MATTERS
Private Protective Services Board
14B NCAC 16 .0707, .1203, .1307, .1501, and .1502 were unanimously approved.
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The Commission voted to object to 14B NCAC 16 .0701, .0801, .1301, and .1401 consistent with the staff opinion dated
June 20, 2025 which states the agency failed to meet the standards in G.S. 150B-21.9(a)(2), and (4) because they required
a form that did not have its complete contents or substantive requirements prescribed by rule or statute in the staff opinion
dated June 20, 2025. See G.S. 150B-2(8a)d.

Jeff Gray, the rulemaking coordinator and general counsel for the agency, addressed the Commission.

Commission for Public Health
15A NCAC 18C .1540 was unanimously approved.

LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES)
State Board of Elections
The Commission voted to waive 26 NCAC 05 .0103 to extend the deadline to accept public comments.

08 NCAC 21 .0102, .0106, .0108, .0204; 22 .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0301,
.0302, .0303, .0304, .0305, .0306, .0401, .0402, .0501, .0502, and .0601 were unanimously approved.

Kevin Hayes, the Vice Chairman of the Constitution Party of North Carolina, addressed the Commission.
Anna Lee Dillon Ordoubadi, Co—Chair of the North Carolina Green Party, addressed the Commission.
Adam Steele, Assistant General Counsel with the agency, addressed the Commission.

In accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2), the Commission received over ten letters of objection requesting legislative review
and a delayed effective date for 08 NCAC 22 .0104, .0105, and .0305.

Department of Insurance
11 NCAC 24 .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107, and .0108 were unanimously approved.

Department of Labor
13 NCAC 01D .0101 and .0102 were unanimously approved.

Private Protective Services Board
14B NCAC 16 .0103, .0105, .0116, .0117, .0501, .0502, and .0503 were unanimously approved.

Alarm Systems Licensing Board
14B NCAC 17 .0109 was unanimously approved.

State Board of Education
16 NCAC 06B .0103 and .0107 were unanimously approved.

Licensing Board for General Contractors
21 NCAC 12A .0202, .0303, .0308, .0701, and 12B .0402 were unanimously approved.

Board of Dental Examiners

The Commission voted to object to 21 NCAC 16A.0101; 16F .0111, and 16V .0103 finding that the rules did not satisfy G.S.
150B-21.9(a). Specifically, the Commission objected to the rules pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.9(a)(1), (2), and (3).

Marcus C. Hewitt of Fox Rothschild LLP addressed the Commission.

Tom Fetzer of Strategic Partners addressed the Commission.

Michael Riccobene of Riccobene Associates Family Dentistry addressed the Commission.

Doug Brocker, with the Brocker Law firm, and representing the agency, addressed the Commission.

Office of Administrative Hearings
26 NCAC 03 .0101 and .0102 were withdrawn at the request of the agency. No action was required by the Commission.
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EXISTING RULES REVIEW
Tobacco Trust Fund Commission
02 NCAC 57 - The Commission unanimously approved the report as submitted by the agency.

Office of State Fire Marshal
11 NCAC 05A, 05D, 07 - The Commission unanimously approved the reports as submitted by the agency.

Fire and Rescue Commission
11 NCAC 05B, 05C - The Commission unanimously approved the reports as submitted by the agency.

Environmental Management Commission
15ANCAC 02G, 021, 02L, 02N, 020, 02P - The Commission unanimously approved the reports as submitted by the agency.

Department of Revenue
17 NCAC 04 - The Commission unanimously approved the report as submitted by the agency.

Department of Transportation
19A NCAC 01, 04, 05, 06 - The Commission unanimously approved the reports as submitted by the agency.

Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters Board
21 NCAC 22 - The Commission unanimously approved the report as submitted by the agency.

Board of Physical Therapy Examiners
21 NCAC 48 - The Commission unanimously approved the report as submitted by the agency.

Readoptions
Board of Agriculture

02 NCAC 31A, 31C, 39, 43, 53 - As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule the readoption of
these Rules no later than November 1, 2027, pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2).

Medical Care Commission
10A NCAC 13A, 13D — As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule the readoption of these Rules
no later than September 1, 2027 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2).

Agriculture Finance Authority
24 NCAC 02 - As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule the readoption of these Rules no later
than November 1, 2027, pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2).

COMMISSION BUSINESS
The Commission unanimously voted to approve the 2026 RRC meeting schedule.

At 12:15 p.m., upon a motion by the 15t Vice Chair and a second by Commissioner Overton, the Commission voted to call
the public meeting of the Rules Review Commission to enter into closed session pursuant to G.S. 143-318.11(a)(3)
regarding RC v. RRC and CJETS v. RRC.

At 12:37 p.m., the Commission reconvened its public meeting of the Rules Review Commission after concluding the closed
session. Commissioner Hyde did not return following the closed session.

The 15t Vice Chair announced that the Commission Election of Officers will be held at the next meeting.
The meeting adjourned at 12:36 p.m.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, September 25, 2025, at 10:00 a.m.

Alexander Burgos, Paralegal

Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission:
Jeanette Doran, Chair
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August 28, 2025
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Rules Review Commission Meeting August 28, 2025

Via WebEx
Name Agency
Tamika Jenkins DHHS
Dana McGhee ICNC
Devon Horine DHHS
Ashley Snyder Labor
Brian Liebman OAH
Amy Funderburk DOI
Ryan Collins DPI
Laura Rowe NC treasurer
Jessica Montie DEQ
Karen Higgins DEQ
Carla Rose Labor
Julie Ventaloro OSBM
Jennifer Everett DEQ
William Peaslee OAH
William Upchurch NCAGR
Anna Hayworth NCAGR
Julie Eddins OAH
Catherine Blum DEQ
Shanah Black DHHS

Eric Anderson
Catherine Lee
Anna Lee Dillon
Dena J Brown
Misty PM

Larry Ascher
Hope Ascher
Chris Miller
Ashley Ratliff
Gabby Decker
Dilcy Burton
Whitney Waldenberg
Sarah Sonnenberg
Kevin Hayes
Terra Gang
Elizabeth Pope
Alex Ward

John H Schaeffer
Connor rose
Anna Baird Choi
Renee Metz

lan LaBrie

Sherri Roycroft
James Nguyen

Hedrick Gardner

NCLBGC
DHHS

NCBAR
BCBSNC

DOJ

Brocker Law Firm

DOR
NCSWB
DOJ
DOJ

NCLBGC
ABC

Brocker Law Firm
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

August 29, 2025

Anna Hayworth
/i il to: Anna.Hayworth@ncagr.gov
Re: Readoption deadline for 02 NCAC 31A, 31C, 39, 43, 53

Dear Ms. Hayworth:

Attached to this letter is a list of rules subject to readoption pursuant to the periodic review and expiration
of existing rules as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.3A. After consultation with your agency, the Rules Review
Commission established a readoption date for these rules at the Rules Review Commission meeting on
June 26, 2025.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2), the rules listed in the attachment shall be readopted by the
agency no later than November 1, 2027.

If you have any questions regarding the Commission’s actions, please let me know.

Sincerely,

/s/ Travis Wiggs
Travis Wiggs
RRC Counsel

Melissa Owens Lassiter, Director John C. Evans
Chief Administrative Law Judge Senior Administrative Law Judge

An Equal Employment Opportunity Employer

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, NC 27609
Telephone: (984) 236-1850 | Facsimile: (984) 236-1871
www.oah.ne.gov
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RRC Determination: Necessary

02NCAC 31A.0101
02NCAC 31A.0102
02NCAC 31C.0101
02NCAC31C.0102
02NCAC 31C.0103
02NCAC 31C.0104
02NCAC 39.0101
02 NCAC 43A.0102
02NCAC 43B.0101
02 NCAC 43B.0102
02NCAC 43C.0101
02NCAC 43C.0102
02NCAC 43C.0103
02NCAC 43C.0104
02 NCAC 43C .0105
02 NCAC 43C.0106
02NCAC 43C.0107
02 NCAC 43C.0108
02NCAC 43D .0101
02 NCAC 43D .0102
02 NCAC 43D .0103
02NCAC 43D .0104
02 NCAC 43D .0105
02NCAC 43D .0106
02 NCAC 43E.0102
02NCAC 43E.0103
02NCAC 43E.0104
02 NCAC 43G .0101
02NCAC 43G .0102
02 NCAC 43G .0103
02 NCAC 43G .0105
02NCAC 43G .0106
02 NCAC 43L..0303
02 NCAC 43L .0306
02 NCAC 43L.0307
02 NCAC 43L .0308
02 NCAC 43L .0309
02 NCAC 43L.0310
02 NCAC 43L .0311
02 NCAC 43L..0312
02 NCAC 43L.0313

RRC DETERMINATION

PERIODIC RULE REVIEW

February 27, 2025

APO Review: April 30, 2025

Agriculture, Board of

Tota

02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02NCAC 43L
02NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L
02 NCAC 43L

1121

.0314
.0315
.0316
.0317
.0318
.0319
.0320
.0321
.0322
.0323
.0324
.0325
.0326

.0327

.0328
.0329

.0330

.0331

.0332

.0333
.0334
.0335
.0336
.0337
.0338
.0501

.0502
.0503
.0504
.0505
.0601

.0602
.0603
.0604
.0605
.0606
.0607
.0608
.0609
.0610
.0611

02 NCAC 43L .0612
02 NCAC 43L.0613
02NCAC 43L.0614
02NCAC 43L.0615
02 NCAC 43L.0616
02 NCAC 43L .0617
02NCAC 43L..0618
02NCAC 43L .0619
02 NCAC 43L .0620
02 NCAC 43L .0621
02 NCAC 43L .0622
02 NCAC 43L .0623
02 NCAC 43L .0624
02 NCAC 43L .0625
02 NCAC 43L .0626
02 NCAC 43L .0627
02NCAC 43L .0628
02 NCAC 43L .0629
02 NCAC 43L.0630
02 NCAC 43L .0631
02 NCAC 43L .0632
02 NCAC 43L .0634
02 NCAC 43L .0635
02 NCAC 43L .0636
02 NCAC 43L .0637
02 NCAC 43L.0638
02 NCAC 43L .0639
02 NCAC 43L .0640
02 NCAC 43L .0641
02 NCAC 43L..0642
02 NCAC 43L .0643
02 NCAC 43L .0644
02 NCAC 43L .0645
02 NCAC 43L .0646
02 NCAC 43L .0647
02 NCAC 43L .0648
02 NCAC 43L .0649
02 NCAC 43L .0650
02 NCAC 53.0101
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

August 28, 2025

Shanah Black, Medical Care Commission
Sent via email only to: shanah.black@dhhs.nc.gov

Re: Readoption deadline for 10A NCAC 13A, 13D
Dear Ms. Black,

Attached to this letter is a list of rules subject to readoption pursuant to the periodic review and expiration
of existing rules as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.3A. After consultation with your agency, the Rules Review
Commission established a readoption date for these rules at the August 28, 2025, Rules Review
Commission meeting.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2), the rules listed in the attachment shall be readopted by the agency no
later than September 1, 2027.

If you have any questions regarding the Commission’s actions, please let me know.
Sincerely,

/s/ Seth Ascher
Seth Ascher
Commission Counsel

Melissa Owens Lassiter, Director John C. Evans
Chief Administrative Law Judge Senior Administrative Law Judge

Ar Equal Employment Opportunity Employer

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, NC 27609
Telephone: (984) 236-1850 | Facsimile: (984) 236-1871

www.oah.ne.gov
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RRC DETERMINATION
PERIODIC RULE REVIEW
January 30, 2025
APO Review: April 02, 2025
Medical Care Commission

Total: 64

RRC Determination: Necessary

10ANCAC 13A.0101 10ANCAC 13D .
10ANCAC 13A.0201 10ANCAC13D.
10ANCAC 13A.0202 10ANCAC13D.
10ANCAC 13A.0203 10ANCAC 13D.
10A NCAC 13D .2001 10ANCAC13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2101 10ANCAC13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2102 10ANCAC13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2103 10ANCAC 13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2104 10ANCAC 13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2105 10ANCAC 13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2106 10ANCAC 13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2107 10ANCAC 13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2108 10ANCAC 13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2109 10ANCAC 13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2201 10ANCAC 13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2202 10ANCAC 13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2203 10ANCAC 13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2204 10ANCAC 13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2205 10ANCAC 13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2206 10ANCAC 13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2207 10ANCAC 13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2208 10ANCAC 13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2209 10ANCAC 13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2210 10ANCAC 13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2211 10ANCAC 13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2212 10ANCAC 13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2301 10ANCAC 13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2302 10ANCAC 13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2303 10ANCAC 13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2304 10ANCAC 13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2305 10ANCAC 13D.
10ANCAC 13D .2306 10ANCAC 13D.

2307
2308
2309
2401
2402
2501
2502
2503
2504
2601
2602
2603
2604
2605
2606
2607
2701
2801
2802
2901
2902
3003
3101
3102
3103
3104
3201
3202
3401
3402
3403
3404

40:07

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

OCTOBER 1, 2025

691



RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

August 29, 2025

Anna Hayworth

ia_ email to; Anna.Hayworth@ncagr.gov
Re: Readoption deadline for 24 NCAC 02

Dear Ms. Hayworth:

Attached to this letter is a list of rules subject to readoption pursuant to the periodic review and expiration
of existing rules as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.3A. After consultation with your agency, the Rules Review
Commission established a readoption date for these rules at the Rules Review Commission meeting on

June 26, 2025.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2), the rules listed in the attachment shall be readopted by the
agency no later than November 1, 2027.

If you have any questions regarding the Commission’s actions, please let me know.

Sincerely,

/s/ Travis Wiggs
Travis Wiggs
RRC Counsel

Melissa Owens Lassiter, Director John C. Evans
Chief Administrative Law Judge Senior Administrative Law Judge

An Equal Employment Opportunity Employer

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, NC 27609
Telephone: (984) 236-1850 | Facsimile: (984) 236-1871
www.oah.nc.gov
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RRC DETERMINATION
PERIODIC RULE REVIEW
February 27, 2025
APQ Review: April 30, 2025
Agricultural Finance Authority
Total: 6

RRC Determination: Necessary
24 NCAC 02A.0101
24 NCAC 02A.0102
24 NCAC 02A.0103
24 NCAC 02B.0101
24 NCAC 02B .0102
24 NCAC 02C .0101
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OATH OF OFFICE

Jfor the

Rules Review Commission

I, William W. “Bill” Nelson, do solemnly swear (affirm) that I will support the Constitution of the

United States.

1, William W. “Bill” Nelson, do solemnly swear (affirm) that I will be faithful and bear true
allegiance to the State of North Carolina, and to the constitutional powers and authorities which
are or may be established for the government thereof; and that I will endeavor to support, maintain
and defend the Constitution of said state, not inconsistent with the Constitution of the United

States.

I, William W. “Bill” Nelson, do solemnly swear (affirm) that I will well and truly execute the
duties of my office as a member of the Rules Review Commission according to the best of my
skill and ability, according to law, so help me God.

This 28" day of August, 2025.

WMW/\//

William W. Nelson

\Nﬂlk{? ﬁ/\v

Lmda F. Nelson
Administrative Law Judge

Sworn and subscribed before me this the RRUGIT
28" dag of August, 2025, % G SANY,
\\\G\Q, o) 0 7,
‘ N ~,
T< w0 TARYy ’:
\ J g Commission E =
‘}:i ( / W z,ﬂ-mw =
Angle Sanders PUBLIC T
Notary Public . é’\\“\
- : 7 couNCia
My Commission Expires: February 17, 2026 Sy
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LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES
August 28, 2025 Meeting
ELECTIONS, STATE BOARD OF

Reporting of Independent Expenditures 08 NCAC 21 .0102
Electronic Filing 08 NCAC 21 .0106
Reporting Periods 08 NCAC 21 .0108
Inactive Status for a Candidate or Committee 08 NCAC 21 .0204
Petitions 08 NCAC 22 .0101
Definitions 08 NCAC 22 .0102
Initiation of Petitions 08 NCAC 22 .0103
Petition Signature Sheets 08 NCAC 22 .0104
Petition Circulators 08 NCAC 22 .0105
Submission of Signature Sheets 08 NCAC 22 .0106
Copies of Signature Sheets and Return of Original Signature... 08 NCAC 22 .0107
Petition Signature Verification by County Boards of Elect... 08 NCAC 22 .0201
Petition Signature Verification Determinations 08 NCAC 22 .0202
Counting of Signatures Towards A Petition's Signature Req... 08 NCAC 22 .0203
New Party Petitions 08 NCAC 22 .0301
Prospective Party Name 08 NCAC 22 .0302
Changes in Prospective Party State Chair's Information 08 NCAC 22 .0303
Continuing A New Party Petition 08 NCAC 22 .0304
General Purpose and Intent of The New Party 08 NCAC 22 .0305
Sufficiency of New Party Elections 08 NCAC 22 .0306
Unaffiliated Candidate Petitions 08 NCAC 22 .0401
Processing Unaffiliated Candidate Petitions 08 NCAC 22 .0402
Write-In Candidate Petitions 08 NCAC 22 .0501
Processing Write-In Candidate 08 NCAC 22 .0502
In Lieu of Filing Fee Petition 08 NCAC 22 .0601

INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF

Definitions: License Application 11 NCAC 24 .0101
Fees 11 NCAC 24 .0102
Financial Statements 11 NCAC 24 .0103
Determination of Financial Responsibility 11 NCAC 24 .0104
Claim Processing by PBMs 11 NCAC 24 .0105
Payment of Claims 11 NCAC 24 .0106
General Administration 11 NCAC 24 .0107
Claims Processing 11 NCAC 24 .0108

LABOR, DEPARTMENT OF
Training on Human Trafficking 13 NCAC 01D .0101
Human Trafficking Awareness Signage 13 NCAC 01D .0102

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD

Definitions 14B NCAC 16 .0103
Prohibited Acts 14B NCAC 16 .0105
Advertising 14B NCAC 16 .0116
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Declaratory Ruling Procedures 14B NCAC 16 .0117
Experience Requirements for a Polygraph License 14B NCAC 16 .0501
Polygraph Trainee Permit Requirements 14B NCAC 16 .0502
Polygraph Examination Requirements 14B NCAC 16 .0503
Training Requirements for Unarmed Security Guards 14B NCAC 16 .0707
Accreditation Standards 14B NCAC 16 .1203
Training Requirements for Unarmed Car Service Guards 14B NCAC 16 .1307
Experience Requirements for a Close Personal Protection L... 14B NCAC 16 .1501
Training Requirements for Close Personal Protection License 14B NCAC 16 .1502

ALARM SYSTEMS LICENSING BOARD
Declaratory Ruling Procedures 14B NCAC 17 .0109

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR
Control of Per-And Polyfluoralkyl Substances 15A NCAC 18C .1540

EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF
Local Rules And Regulations 16 NCAC 06B .0103
Supervisory And Safety Practices 16 NCAC 06B .0107

GENERAL CONTRACTORS, LICENSING BOARD FOR

Classification 21 NCAC 12A .0202
Application for Licensure 21 NCAC 12A .0303
Character References 21 NCAC 12A .0308
Improper Practice 21 NCAC 12A .0701
Renewal and Expiration of Instructor Approval 21 NCAC 12B .0402
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